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Title 37 
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Editor’s Note:  Act 415 of the 2008 Regular Legislative Session recodified Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, commonly 

referred to as the “Insurance Code”. Rules and regulations promulgated or amended prior to January 1, 2009, may include 
references to former section numbers, particularly in Title 37 of the Louisiana Administrative Code. A useful statutory reference 

guide listing the “old to new” citations is included at the end of this title. 

Part I.  Risk Management 

Subpart 1.  Insurance and Related Matters 

 

Chapter 1. Underwriting 

§101. Underwriting 

A. All coverages which are self-insured by the Office of 

Risk Management are mandatory for all Louisiana state 

departments, agencies, boards, and commissions. 

B. If any department, agency, board, or commission 

requires or wishes to procure any insurance coverages which 

are not written through the Louisiana Self Insurance 

Program, request is to be made to the Office of Risk 

Management to procure said coverage. It is the responsibility 

of the department, agency, board, or commission to provide 

the underwriting information required to procure or 

underwrite the risk. 

C. All leases for real and movable property (including 

vehicles) which are entered into by any state department, 

agency, board, or commission are to be forwarded to the 

Office of Risk Management for review in compliance of 

insurance requirements. 

D. All inquiries regarding interpretation of insurance 

coverages are to be addressed to the underwriting unit and 

are to be in a written form. 

E. Boiler and machinery equipment at new locations are 

to be reported to the underwriting unit. 

F. Builder's risk projects are to be reported to the 

underwriting unit when the construction contract has been 

awarded or the "Notice to Proceed" has been issued. 

G. All newly constructed state-owned buildings are to be 

reported to the underwriting unit upon 

acceptance/completion. 

H. All newly acquired state-owned aircraft are to be 

reported to the underwriting unit immediately but in no 

event more than 30 days after acquisition. All newly leased 

or borrowed aircraft are to be reported to the underwriting 

unit immediately but in no event more than 30 days after 

possession or lease. 

I. Any newly acquired, constructed, leased, or borrowed 

airport or heliport facilities are to be reported to the 

underwriting unit before coverage will be effective. 

J. All newly acquired state-owned marine vessels which 

are over 26 feet in length are to be reported to the 

underwriting unit immediately but in no event more than  

30 days after acquisition. All newly leased or borrowed 

marine vessels which are over 26 feet in length are to be 

reported to the underwriting unit immediately but in no 

event more than 30 days after possession or lease. 

K. Applications for new crime policies are to be 

submitted to the underwriting unit. Coverage does not 

become effective until the insurance company has accepted 

the new risk. 

L. All departments, agencies, boards, and commissions 

are to provide the name, address, telephone number, and job 

title of the following: 

1. the department, agency, board, or commission head; 

2. the person(s) to receive insurance premium billings; 

3. the safety coordinator or person(s) responsible for 

loss prevention matters; 

4. the person(s) responsible for handling and 

disposition of claims matters; 

5. the person(s) responsible for reporting exposure 

information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:19 (January 1987), amended LR 31:61 (January 2005), LR 

32:1435 (August 2006). 

Chapter 3. Auditing and Statistics 

§301. Auditing and Statistics 

A. The exposure data requested by the Office of Risk 

Management (ORM) are to be submitted in a timely manner 

and in the form specified. The exposures may include, but 

are not limited to: 

1. payroll; 

2. maritime payroll; 

3. number of board and commission members; 

4. mileage of all licensed vehicles which are state-

owned or leased, and all mileage on personal vehicles driven 

in the course and scope of state employment; 

5. number of licensed vehicles; 
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6. acquisition or appraised value of property 

including, but not limited to, buildings, improvements, and 

inventory (includes contents, all equipment including mobile 

equipment and watercraft 26 feet and under), and boiler and 

machinery; 

7. medical malpractice exposures including, but not 

limited to, patient days, clinic visits, emergency room visits, 

number of residents/ interns, and miscellaneous categories; 

8. number of employees, and miscellaneous or special 

classes not falling within these definitions as required. 

B. Billed units are to allocate premiums to subunits if 

required. It is not the ORM's responsibility to provide 

breakdowns at a lower level than the level to which 

premiums were budgeted or billed. 

C. The Office of Risk Management is to receive 

immediate written notification of the abolishment, transfer, 

and/or merger of any department, agency, board or 

commission. 

D. The state agencies are to provide or allow access to 

ORM representatives to records or information necessary to 

the effective operation of the risk management program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:19 (January 1987), amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:62 (January 2005), LR 32:1436 (August 2006). 

Chapter 5. Billing 

§501. Billing and Collection of Insurance Premiums 

A. After an agency receives a billing invoice from the 

Office of Risk Management for payment of insurance 

premiums, the agency is to render payment in full within 30 

days from the billing date. 

B. Every agency shall timely pay premiums billed by the 

Office of Risk Management. In the event any agency fails to 

pay any premiums due the Office of Risk Management 

within 120 days of the effective date of the appropriated 

insurance coverages, the commissioner of administration 

may upon request by the Office of Risk Management draw a 

warrant against budgeted funds of any delinquent agency 

directing the treasurer to pay the Office of Risk Management 

for the unpaid premiums. If an agency is a non-depository 

agency, the commissioner of administration may direct the 

head of such agency to render payment of insurance 

premiums due and owing to the Office of Risk Management. 

C. All billing inquiries are to be directed to the Office of 

Risk Management, Accounting Unit, Accounts Receivable 

Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:20 (January 1987), amended LR 31:62 (January 2005), LR 

32:1436 (August 2006). 

Chapter 7. Reporting of Claims 

§701. Reporting of Property Damage Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states…"you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance coverage 

for damage to state-owned property which includes damage 

to buildings and improvements, contents, inventories, mobile 

equipment, heating and air conditioning systems, and marine 

hulls 26 feet and under. 

C. All claims for damage to property owned by the state 

are to be reported to the Office of Risk Management's 

Property Claim Unit in writing. If a loss or claim is serious 

in nature, it is to be reported by telephone to the Office of 

Risk Management's Property Claim Unit. 

D. Claims are to be submitted, in writing, to the Office of 

Risk Management, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E. Information required to be submitted when a claim is 

reported to the Office of Risk Management's Property Claim 

Unit includes the following: 

1. name of insured, location of property or unit; 

2. date of loss; 

3. description of loss; 

4. location of item, state building ID/property control 

tag number; 

5. size, model, and serial number of item, if 

applicable; 

6. name of person reporting claim, listing job title, and 

telephone number; and 

7. proof of ownership. 

F. After a loss has occurred, all property which has been 

damaged is to be protected against further damage and is to 

be made available for inspection by a claims adjuster 

assigned by the Office of Risk Management. 

G. If a loss occurs or a claim arises, the agency is not to 

assume any obligation or incur any expenses without 

authorization from the Office of Risk Management, but 

should act to protect property and minimize the loss. 

H. If repair or replacement is not accomplished within 36 

months of the loss date; or, if approval is not obtained from 

the commissioner of administration to use the funds for 
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some other purpose, or to extend the 36 month prescriptive 

period, the claim file will be closed. 

I. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management, Property Claims Unit for further handling. 

J. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspective of causing an 

accident are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:20 (January 1987), amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:62 (January 2005), LR 32:1436 (August 2006). 

§703. Reporting of Boiler and Machinery Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance coverage 

for bodily injury and third party property damage claims 

where such losses result from state-owned boiler and 

machinery equipment, and for property damage to state-

owned boiler and machinery equipment. 

C. All claims for damage to boiler and machinery 

equipment are to be reported to the Office of Risk 

Management's Property Claim Unit in writing. Any claim 

involving bodily injury is to be reported by telephone to the 

Office of Risk Management's Property Claims Unit. 

D. Claims are to be submitted in writing to the Office of 

Risk Management, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E. Information required to be submitted when a claim is 

reported to the Office of Risk Management's Property Claim 

Unit includes the following: 

1. name of insured, location of property or unit; 

2. date of loss; 

3. description of item, to include size, model, serial 

number, and tonnage or capacity; 

4. name, job title, and telephone number of person 

reporting claim; 

5. name and phone number of person to be contacted 

by adjuster assigned by ORM. 

F. After a loss has occurred, the property which has been 

damaged is to be protected against further damage and is to 

be made available for inspection by a claims adjuster. 

G. If replacement, repair, reconstruction, or rebuilding is 

not commenced within 36 months of the loss date for all 

state property losses; or if a claim remains inactive for 36 

months after replacement, repair, reconstruction or 

rebuilding is commenced; or if approval is not obtained from 

the commissioner of administration within the same period 

of time for expenditure of insurance proceeds for some other 

purpose, the claim file will be closed. 

H. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Property Claim Unit for further handling. 

I. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspective of causing an 

accident are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:20 (January 1987) amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:63 (January 2005), LR 32:1437 (August 2006). 

§705. Reporting of Comprehensive General Liability 

Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides comprehensive 

general liability coverage for bodily injury and property 

damage claims resulting from operations for which the 

agency could be held legally liable. 

C. All general liability claims are to be submitted, in 

writing, to the Office of Risk Management on a General 

Liability Claim Reporting Form or in a narrative format. The 

General Liability Claim Reporting Form can be found on the 

Office of Risk Management's web site, 

www.doa.louisiana.gov/orm. 

D. Claims are to be submitted, in writing, to the Office of 

Risk Management, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E. If a loss is serious in nature, it is to be reported by 

telephone to the Office of Risk Management for review to 

determine if coverage is applicable. 

F. Claims which are made against a state agency by a 

third party are to be submitted to the Office of Risk 
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Management for review to determine if coverage is 

applicable. 

G. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Claim Office for further handling. 

H. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 

are to be removed from service, retained and preserved as 

evidence. 

I. If a loss occurs or a claim arises the agency is not to 

assume any obligation or incur any expenses without 

authority from the Office of Risk Management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:20 (January 1987), amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:63 (January 2005), LR 32:1437 (August 2006). 

§707. Reporting of Worker's Compensation and 

Maritime Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance coverage 

for worker's compensation and maritime claims. 

C. All accidents or occupational diseases involving state 

employees while in the course and scope of their 

employment with the state are to be reported to the Office of 

Risk Management within five days from the date of injury or 

knowledge. The forms used for this purpose are the 

Employer's Report of Occupational Injury or Disease Form 

(E-1, completed at the time of the accident), and the Pre-

Existing Condition Form (E-2, which was completed when 

hired). The Office of Risk Management will accept 

electronic filing of the Employer's Report of Occupational 

Injury or Disease Form. Access www.doa.louisiana.gov/orm 

and click on Agency Claims Reporting System. 

D. Employer's Report of Occupational Injury or Disease 

Forms can be obtained from the Office of Risk 

Management's web address cited in the above paragraph. 

The Pre-Existing Condition Form can be obtained from the 

Office of Risk Management, Claims Section, P.O. Box 

91106, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9106. 

E. A copy of the Employer's Report of Occupational 

Injury or Disease Form and a copy of the Pre-Existing 

Condition Form for a claim in which lost time exceeds seven 

days, is to be submitted to the Office of Worker's 

Compensation Administration, P.O. Box 94040, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70804-9040 within 10 days of actual knowledge 

of injury or death. 

F. All Employer's Report of Occupational Injury or 

Disease Forms and Pre-existing Condition Forms are to be 

accurately and completely filled out. 

G. Information required to be submitted when a worker's 

compensation claim is reported on the Employer's Report of 

Occupational Injury or Disease Form includes: 

1. agency's location code number (located in a block 

below the Employer's Federal Tax I.D. Number); 

2. the occupation of the employee, inclusive of his/her 

classified or unclassified job title. A classified job title is to 

include the civil service job classification code number; 

3. an injured employee's weekly wages are to be 

reported on the Employer's Report of Occupational Injury or 

Disease Form. 

H. Information which is to be contained on the 

Preexisting Condition Form includes: 

1. complete name, age, Social Security Number, 

residential address, and civil service position being applied 

for; 

2. check list of possible pre-existing diseases, 

disabilities, and/or conditions before employment; 

3. description of particulars relative to any checked 

pre-existing permanent disabilities; 

4. name and address of employer at time of previous 

injury; 

5. witnessed and dated signature of applicant as to the 

completeness, accuracy, and validity of the information 

contained on the Pre-Existing Condition Form. 

I. If an injured employee returns to work after having 

lost time, the Office of Risk Management, Worker's 

Compensation Claims Unit, is to be notified immediately by 

telephone or electronic mail, and an Employer's 

Supplemental Report of Injury is to be submitted confirming 

the return to work date. Also, an Employer's Supplemental 

Report of Injury Form is to be submitted to the Office of 

Risk Management at any time the injured employee's work 

status changes. 

J. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to claims are to be forwarded 

immediately to the Office of Risk Management's Claim 

Office for further handling. 

K. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing any 

accident are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

L. Any claim paid by legislative appropriation is to be 

reported to the Office of Risk Management by 

Appropriations Control. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:21 (January 1987) amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

16:401 (May 1990), LR 31:64 (January 2005), LR 32:1438 (August 

2006). 

§709. Reporting of State Automobile Liability and 

Physical Damage Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance coverage 

for liability and physical damage to state-owned and leased 

licensed vehicles and excess liability coverage for 

employee's private automobiles while being operated with 

proper authorization during the course and scope of state 

employment. 

C. All claims for liability or physical damage to state-

owned and leased licensed vehicles are to be reported to the 

Office of Risk Management's Transportation Claims Unit in 

writing. If a loss involves property damage estimated at 

$5,000 or more or if a loss involves any bodily injury, the 

loss is to be reported by telephone to the Office of Risk 

Management Transportation Claims Unit. 

D. All claims are to be submitted to the Office of Risk 

Management, Transportation Unit, P.O. Box 91106, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70821-9106 on a DA 2041 (revised 12/98) 

accident report form. This form must be completed within 48 

hours after an automobile accident. These forms are 

available through DOA/Forms Management and the Office 

of Risk Management's web site, 

www.doa.louisiana.gov/orm. 

E. The Automobile Accident Form (DA 2041) must be 

completed and submitted to the Office of Risk Management, 

Transportation Unit, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106 or faxed to (225) 342-4470 within 48 hours 

after the accident occurred. 

F. Automobile accident reports are to be submitted with 

as much information as possible; however, if certain 

information is unavailable, the report is to still be submitted. 

Information which is unavailable can be obtained at a later 

date. 

G. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be submitted immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Claim Office for further handling. 

H. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 

are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

I. If a loss occurs or a claim arises, do not assume any 

obligation or incur any expenses without authority from the 

Office of Risk Management. 

J. If repair or replacement of a state vehicle is not 

completed within 12 months of the loss date, or if approval 

is not obtained from the commission of administration 

within the same period of time for expenditure of insurance 

proceeds for some other purpose, the claim file will be 

closed. 

K. More information relative to the reporting of state 

automobile liability and physical damage claims such as 

reimbursement of collision deductible on employees' 

personally-owned vehicle used on state business, towing of 

state vehicles, reduction of automobile liability limit in a 

special circumstance, rented motor vehicles and/or courtesy 

vehicles, and guidelines for in-house repairs to state owned 

licensed vehicles can be found on the Office of Risk 

Management's web site, www.doa.louisiana.gov/orm. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:21 (January 1987) amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:65 (January 2005), LR 32:1438 (August 2006). 

§711. Reporting of Aviation Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance coverage 

for aviation losses which includes liability and hull 

coverage. All claims are to be reported to the Office of Risk 

Management's Transportation Claims Unit. 

C. Claims are to be submitted within 48 hours after an 

accident/incident to the Office of Risk Management, 

Transportation Unit, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106 on the Aviation Accident Report form furnished 

by the Office of Risk Management. Please contact the 

transportation unit supervisor for these forms. 

D. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Transportation Claims Unit for further 

handling. 

E. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 
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are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

F. If a loss occurs or a claim arises, the agency is not to 

assume any obligations or incur any expenses without 

authority from the Office of Risk Management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:21 (January 1987) amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:65 (January 2005), LR 32:1438 (August 2006). 

§713. Reporting of Wet Marine Claims (Over 26 Feet) 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance for liability 

and hull damage for marine vessels over 26 feet in length. 

C. All claims involving vessels in excess of 26 feet are to 

be reported, in writing, to the Office of Risk Management's 

Transportation Unit. All bodily injury claims are to be 

reported by telephone to the Office of Risk Management's 

Transportation Unit. 

D. Claims are to be submitted in writing within 48 hours 

after an accident/incident to the Office of Risk Management, 

Transportation Unit, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E.1. Information required to be submitted when a claim is 

reported to the Office of Risk Management's Transportation 

Unit includes the following: 

a. complete description of vessel, including hull 

identification and coast guard certificate number; 

b. name of captain or master and passengers; 

c. exact location of incident; 

d. date and time of incident; 

e. names and addresses of third parties involved if 

known; 

f. description of damages; 

g. contact persons who can assist in investigation; 

h. circumstances surrounding and/or cause of 

accident. 

2. All accidents/incidents involving ferry boats are to 

be reported to the Office of Risk Management on the 

Department of Transportation (DOTD) accident report 

forms: DOTD 03-18-3023 for private vehicles and DOTD 

03-18-3024 for passenger(s) injured. 

F. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Transportation Claims Unit for further 

handling. 

G. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 

are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

H. If a loss occurs or a claim arises, the agency is not to 

assume any obligation or incur any expenses without 

authority from the Office of Risk Management. 

I. Refer to the Office of Risk Management's web site, 

www.doa.louisiana.gov/orm, for procedures for repairing 

water vessels (over 26 feet) covered by the commercial 

insurance market. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:21 (January 1987), amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:65 (January 2005), LR 32:1439 (August 2006). 

§715. Reporting of Bond and Crime Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides insurance coverage 

for bond and crime which includes performance, money and 

securities. All claims are to be reported, in writing, to the 

Office of Risk Management's Property Claims Unit, P.O. 

Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9106. 

C. Information required to be submitted includes the 

following: 

1. name of insured agency; 

2. date of loss; 

3. location of loss; 

4. circumstances surrounding the occurrence; 

5. approximate value of loss; and 

6. name of person reporting claim, listing job title and 

telephone number. 

D. Claims are to be submitted, in writing, to the Office of 

Risk Management, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 
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contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 

are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

F. If a loss occurs or a claim arises, the agency is not to 

assume any obligation or incur any expenses without 

authority from the Office of Risk Management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:22 (January 1987), amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:66 (January 2005), LR 32:1440 (August 2006). 

§717. Reporting of Medical Malpractice Liability 

Claims 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an "occurrence" or an offense which may 

result in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon 

as possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate 

the facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. Prior to July 1, 1988 the state of Louisiana provided 

medical malpractice coverage in accordance with the 

provision of R.S. 40:1299.39 which details coverage and 

liability provisions. Effective July 1, 1988, the state of 

Louisiana became self-insured for medical malpractice. 

Medical malpractice coverage is extended to state health 

care facilities and individuals acting in a professional 

capacity in providing health care services by or on behalf of 

the state, including medical, surgical, dental, or nursery 

treatment of patients. 

C. Coverage excludes the following: 

1. premises liability; 

2. bodily injury to employees arising out of 

employment by the insured; 

3. all obligations under worker's compensation or 

similar laws; and 

4. bodily injury in handling or maintenance of 

automobiles, aircraft, watercraft, or transportation of mobile 

equipment by an auto owned, operated, rented, or loaned to 

any insured. 

D. Claims are to be submitted, in writing, to the Office of 

Risk Management, P. O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E. If a loss is serious in nature, it is to be reported by 

telephone to the Office of Risk Management for review to 

determine if coverage is applicable. 

F. Claims which are made against a state agency by a 

third party are to be submitted to the Office of Risk 

Management for review to determine if coverage is 

applicable. 

G. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Medical Malpractice Claim Unit for further 

handling. 

H. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 

are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

I. If a loss occurs or a claim arises, the agency is not to 

assume any obligation or incur any expenses without 

authority from the Office of Risk Management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 13:22 (January 1987), amended LR 15:85 (February 1989), LR 

31:66 (January 2005), LR 32:1440 (August 2006). 

§719. Reporting of Road and Bridge Hazard Claims 

(Department of Transportation and 

Development) 

A. All claims must be reported as soon as possible, but 

no later than the prescription period outlined in Book III, 

Title 24, Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Civil Code. In most 

cases, prescription periods are one year. ORM will pay only 

for covered losses reported before one year from the date of 

the accident or discovery date. Policy language clearly 

states: "…you must see to it that we are notified as soon as 

practicable of an 'occurrence' or an offense which may result 

in a claim." Failure to report potential claims as soon as 

possible severely limits the ability of ORM to investigate the 

facts and may compromise the state's legal rights to 

subrogation from a responsible third party. 

B. The state of Louisiana provides road and bridge 

hazard liability coverage for bodily injury and property 

damage claims resulting from the establishment, design, 

construction, existence, ownership, maintenance, use, 

extension, improvement, repair, or regulation of any state 

bridge, tunnel, dam, street, road, highway, or expressway for 

which the agency could be held legally liable. 

C. All road and bridge hazard claims are to be submitted, 

in writing, to the Office of Risk Management on the 

DOTD/ORM Report of Road Hazard Incident form. Forms 

can be obtained from the Office of Risk Management's Road 

and Bridge Hazard Claims Unit or on the ORM web site, 

www.doa.louisiana.gov/orm. 

D. Claims are to be submitted, in writing, to the Office of 

Risk Management, P.O. Box 91106, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9106. 

E. If a loss is serious in nature, it is to be reported by 

telephone to the Office of Risk Management for review to 

determine if coverage is applicable. 

F. Claims which are made against a state agency by a 

third party are to be submitted to the Office of Risk 

Management for review to determine if coverage is 
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applicable. 

G. All lawsuits, demands, notices, summons, or other 

legal documents pertaining to a claim against a state agency 

are to be forwarded immediately to the Office of Risk 

Management's Claim Office for further handling. 

H. Any objects and/or products which may have caused, 

contributed to, or which are suspected of causing an accident 

are to be retained and preserved as evidence. 

I. If a loss or a claim arises, the agency is not to assume 

any obligation or incur any expenses without authority from 

the Office of Risk Management. 

J. It would be the responsibility of the district office of 

the Department of Transportation and Development to verify 

the following: 

1. that the alleged accident occurred on a state 

maintained highway/road; 

2. existence of the damage; 

3. whether the state had knowledge of the defect prior 

to the alleged accident; 

4. the existence of any contract which may exist 

between the state and any municipality, contractor or other 

party. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, 

Office of Risk Management, LR 15:85 (February 1989), amended 

LR 31:67 (January 2005), LR 32:1441 (August 2006). 

§721. Claims Unit Contacts 

A. For further information on reporting a claim or 

requesting information regarding a specific claim, contact 

the Office of Risk Management, in writing, at P.O. Box 

91106, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9106 or 

telephone the appropriate claims unit. 

Unit 

Contact the following 

Telephone Number(s) 

Claims-Administrative (225) 219-0012 or 

(225) 219-0168 

Property (225) 342-8399 

1. Buildings and Improvements. 
  Contents and equipment, excluding boiler and machinery. 

2. Boiler and Machinery 

3. Bonds and Crime 

Transportation (225) 342-8466 

1. Auto Liability 

2. Automobile Comprehensive and Collision 

3. Aviation 
4. Wet Marine 

General Liability-All Comprehensive General 

Liability (225) 342-8463 

Medical Malpractice (225) 342-8442 
(225) 219-0868 

Workers' Compensation     (225) 342-7390 or 

    (225) 342-8451 or 

    (225) 342-8458 or 
(318) 487-5411 

1. Statutory and Employer's Liability 

2. Maritime Compensation 

  

Unit 

Contact the following 

Telephone Number(s) 

Road and Bridge Hazards-All Road and Bridge 

Hazards 

    (225) 342-5441 or 

(225) 219-4846 

Subrogation (225) 342-8446 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 15:86 (February 1989), amended LR 31:67 (January 2005), LR 

32:1441 (August 2006). 

Chapter 9. Risk Analysis and Loss 

Prevention 

§901. Risk Analysis and Loss Prevention 

A. R.S. 39:1543 requires the development of a 

comprehensive loss prevention program, for implementation 

by all state agencies, including basic guidelines and 

standards of measurement. 

B. In order to fully comply with this statute a 

comprehensive loss prevention plan has been developed, and 

the following are to be implemented by every state 

department, agency, board, or commission that employs 15 

or more employees. 

Any Other Loss Prevention Program―developed by the 

Office of Risk Management, Loss Prevention Unit in 

conjunction with the Interagency Advisory Council for the 

prevention and reduction in accident events that may cause 

injury, illness, or property damage. 

Aviation Safety Program―program to provide a 

systematic method of screening, training, and accountability 

for employees and supervisors required to assign or operate 

state-owned aircraft in the scope of their employment. 

Driver Safety Program―program to provide a 

systematic method of screening, training, and accountability 

for employees and supervisors required to assign or drive 

state-owned vehicles or personal vehicles in the course and 

scope of their employment. 

Employee Training―training to establish a systematic 

method of training employees to perform the required tasks 

in a safe and efficient manner and to insure all employees 

receive periodic refresher training. 

Equipment Management Program―written loss 

prevention maintenance program to include, but not limited 

to, a history of each piece of equipment, designate 

responsibility, schedule of when maintenance is to be 

performed, list of equipment to be maintained, how 

maintenance is to be performed. 

First Aid―adoption of a first aid program which will 

provide a trained first aid person at each job site and shift. 

This policy covers all facilities and crews. 

Hazard Control Program―program to establish a 

systematic method of recognizing, evaluating, and 

controlling hazards prior to them producing injury, illness, or 
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property damage. 

Housekeeping Program―program to provide a method 

for systematically inspecting and eliminating safety and fire 

hazards that result from uncontrolled sources. To establish 

clearly defined areas of responsibility for orderliness and 

cleanliness through each state-owned or operated grounds 

and facilities. 

Inspections Program―a program to maintain a safe 

environment and control unsafe acts, roadway hazard 

inspection reports, and medical malpractice records. 

Investigation Program―a program to thoroughly 

investigate and identify, as soon as possible, the actual 

causes and contributing factors of losses in an attempt to 

prevent recurrences. 

Job Safety Analysis―a procedure to be used to review 

job methods and hazards that relate to the work 

environment. The job safety analysis should be performed 

on all tasks or processes that have a higher than normal rate 

of producing bodily injury or property damage. 

Management Policy Statement―an expression of 

management, philosophies and goals toward safety. 

Record Keeping―records to establish a procedure for 

the uniform development and maintenance of loss 

prevention and control documents to be retained for one 

year. This will include inspection reports, accident 

investigation reports, minutes of safety meetings, training 

records, boiler and machinery maintenance records, and/or 

conditions by regular and periodic facility equipment and 

roadway inspections. 

Responsibility for Safety in an Organization―a written 

document to clearly define supervisory responsibilities at all 

levels. 

Safety Meetings―meetings to be conducted by 

supervisors with employees on a quarterly basis, unless 

otherwise specified by ORM, to educate, inform, motivate 

and examine work practices for potentially unsafe acts that 

could produce bodily injury and provide a method to 

preclude recurrences. 

Safety Rules―general instructions developed by 

agencies regarding the employees' responsibilities. 

Water Vessel Operator Safety Program―program to 

provide a systematic method of screening, training, and 

accountability for employees and supervisors required to 

assign or operate state-owned water vessels in the scope of 

their employment. 

C. The minimum requirements are in no way intended to 

require revisions of existing safety plans which meet or 

exceed these minimum requirements. However, these 

existing plans are subject to the loss prevention unit for 

review and acceptance. 

D. The loss prevention unit will audit each department, 

agency, board, or commission to insure compliance of the 

development, implementation, and adherence to the 

program. Audits will be conducted once every three years 

with a re-certification review performed in subsequent years. 

The deadline for certification will be April 30 of each year 

for insurance premiums for the following fiscal year. Any 

agency, board or commission found to be in compliance with 

state law and loss prevention standards prescribed by the 

Office of Risk Management shall receive a credit to be 

applied to the agency's annual self-insured premium per line 

of insurance coverage, excluding the coverages for road 

hazards and medical malpractice, equal to 5 percent of the 

agency's total annual self-insured premium paid per line of 

coverage. An agency which has failed to receive certification 

after undergoing a loss prevention audit shall be liable for a 

penalty of 5 percent of the agency's total annual self-insured 

premium paid per line of coverage, excluding the coverages 

for road hazards and medical malpractice. Such compliance 

will be certified by major risk groups as follows: 

1. workers compensation―regular; 

2. workers compensation―maritime; 

3. general liability; 

4. auto liability and auto physical damage; 

5. property and inland marine; 

6. boiler and machinery; 

7. bond and crime risk; 

8. aviation; 

9. marine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 14:349 (June 1988), amended LR 15:86 (February 1989), LR 

31:68 (January 2005), LR 32:1442 (August 2006). 

Chapter 11. Rulemaking Petitions 

§1101. Submission of a Rulemaking Petition 

A. In accordance with R.S. 49:953(C)(1), any interested 

person may petition an agency to adopt a new rule, or to 

amend or repeal an existing rule. 

B. To petition an agency within the Division of 

Administration for changes to the agency’s current rules, or 

for the adoption of new rules within the agency’s purview, 

an interested person shall submit a written petition to the 

Division of Administration, Office of the Commissioner. The 

petition shall include: 

1. the petitioner's name and address; 

2. the name of the promulgating agency for the rule in 

question; 

3. specific text or a description of the proposed 

language desired for the adoption or amendment of a rule, or 

the specific rule and language identified for repeal; 

4. justification for the proposed action; and 

5. the petitioner's signature. 
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C. The rulemaking petition shall be submitted by 

certified mail and addressed to: 

 

Office of the Commissioner, Division of Administration 

Re: Rulemaking Petition 
P.O. Box 94095, Capital Station 

Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1535 and 49:953, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 46:333 (March 2020). 

§1103. Consideration of a Rulemaking Petition 

A. Upon receipt, a rulemaking petition shall be 

forwarded to the promulgating agency for review. 

B. Within 90 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, 

the agency shall either: 

1. initiate rulemaking procedures to adopt a new rule, 

or to amend or repeal an existing rule; or 

2. notify the petitioner in writing of the denial to 

proceed with rulemaking, stating the reason(s) therefore. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1535 and 49:953, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, 

LR 46:333 (March 2020). 
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Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part I.  Risk Management 

Subpart 2.  Worker's Compensation Fee Schedule 

 

Chapter 25. Fees 

§2501. Fee Schedule 

A. The director, Office of Risk Management, Division of 

Administration, pursuant to notice of intent published 

December 20, 1987, and pursuant to provisions of R.S. 

23:1034.2 and R.S. 39:1527 et seq., adopted effective April 

1, 1988 a fee schedule for medical, surgical, and hospital 

services due under the Louisiana Worker's Compensation 

Act, R.S. 23:1021-1361, and which arise in the state self-

insured worker's compensation cases. Effective, July 1, 

1994, the Office of Risk Management began utilizing the 

medical fee schedule promulgated by the Office of Workers' 

Compensation in accordance with R.S. 23:1034.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1527 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Office of Risk Management, LR 

14:148 (March 1988), amended LR 16:401 (May 1990), LR 31:69 

(January 2005), LR 32:1444 (August 2006). 
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Part III.  Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board 

Editor's Note:  Pursuant to the authority and direction of House Concurrent Resolution No. 84 of the 2015 Regular Session, the Louisiana State Law 

Institute reorganized and recodified Chapter 5 of Title 40.  However, all statutory references in the rules below conform to the Chapter 5 numbering 
scheme as it existed prior to the adoption of HCR No. 84 and the revision authority of the Louisiana State Law Institute.  

 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§101. Scope 

A. The rules of Part III provide for and govern the 

organization, administration, and defense of the Patient’s 

Compensation Fund (the fund or PCF) by the Louisiana 

Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board (the board), 

within the Division of Administration; the requirements and 

procedures for enrollment with the fund by qualified health 

care providers; the maintenance of required financial 

responsibility and continuing enrollment with the fund by 

enrolled health care providers; record keeping, accounting, 

and reporting of claims and claims data by the fund and 

enrolled health care providers; and defense of the fund and 

the payment of judgments, settlements and arbitration 

awards by the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:167 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2533 (October 2012). 

§103. Source and Authority 

A. These rules are promulgated by the board to provide 

for and implement its authority and responsibility to 

administer and defend the Patient’s Compensation Fund 

pursuant to the Louisiana Medical Malpractice Act (the Act), 

R.S. 40:1299.41-1299.48. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:167 (February 1992). 

§105. Patient’s Compensation Fund: Description 

A. The Patient’s Compensation Fund is a special fund 

established by R.S. 40:1299.44, funded by surcharges paid 

by private health care providers enrolled with the fund, to 

provide just compensation to patients suffering loss, 

damages, or expense as the result of professional malpractice 

in the provision of health care by health care providers 

enrolled with the fund, as provided by and subject to the 

limitations of R.S. 40:1299.42. Such fund, therefore, 

comprises monies held in trust as a custodial fund by the 

board for the use, benefit, and protection of medical 

malpractice claimants and the fund's private health care 

provider members. Responsibility and authority for 

administration and operation of the fund including, but not 

limited to, the evaluating, establishing reserves against, 

defending, and settling claims against the fund, establishing 

surcharge rates or rate changes on the basis of annual 

actuarial studies, and administering medical review panel 

proceedings under R.S. 40:1299.47, is vested in the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:167 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2534 (October 2012). 

§107. Purpose and Objective of Rules; Construction, 

Application 

A. These rules are adopted and promulgated to ensure 

that the Patient’s Compensation Fund is organized, 

administered, and operated on a financially and actuarially 

sound basis so as to achieve the purpose for which it was 

established, by providing that qualification for enrollment is 

based on sound and realistic standards of financial 

responsibility; that the fund and its surcharge rates are 

adequate for the risks assumed; that surcharges are timely 

collected; that surcharge rate filings are based on reasonably 

current and complete claims experience data; that actual and 

potential claims against the fund are timely reported; that 

reserves against claims are properly established; that the 

fund is properly defended against improper, unjustified, and 

excessive claims; and that the fund is responsible and 

accountable to the patients for whose benefit it exists and to 

its enrolled health care providers. These rules shall be 

construed, interpreted, and applied so as to achieve such 

purposes and objectives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:167 (February 1992). 

§109. General Definitions 

A. As used in these rules, the following terms shall have 

the meanings specified: 

1. Terminology Definitions 

Act―the Louisiana Medical Malpractice Act, Act 

1975, Number 817, as amended, R.S. 40:1299.41-1299.48. 

Board―the Louisiana Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board established pursuant to R.S. 40:1299.44 .D. 

Executive Director―the Executive Director of the 
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Louisiana Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, as 

designated, appointed, and delegated authority pursuant to 

§303. 

2. Coverage Definitions 

Claims-Made Coverage―a form of professional 

liability coverage which provides coverage for a claim 

arising from an incident which both occurred and was 

reported during the effective period of qualification with the 

fund. Provider must meet all requirements for continued 

qualification. 

Extended Reporting Endorsement―tail coverage. 

Occurrence Coverage―a form of professional 

liability coverage which provides coverage for a claim 

arising from an incident which occurred during the effective 

period of qualification, regardless of whether the provider 

was actively enrolled on the date on which the claim was 

reported. Provider must meet all requirements for continued 

qualification. 

Self-Insured Coverage―a form of professional 

liability coverage which provides coverage for a claim 

arising from an incident which occurred during the effective 

period of qualification, regardless of whether the provider 

was actively enrolled on the date on which the claim was 

reported. Provider must meet all requirements for continued 

qualification. 

Tail Coverage―an endorsement which, when 

purchased by a provider at the end of his claims-made 

coverage period, provides coverage for a claim arising from 

an incident which occurred during the effective period of 

enrollment but was reported following the termination of 

active enrollment. Provider must meet all requirements for 

continued qualification. 

3. Provider Definitions 

Enrolled Provider―an enrolled provider is one who 

has met the requirements for qualification in the Louisiana 

Patient’s Compensation Fund (including the financial 

responsibility requirements of R.S. 40:1299.42) who also: 

 i. is currently actively involved in medical 

practice and/or providing medical services in Louisiana; and 

 ii. has paid the appropriate surcharge for such 

practice to the fund for their current policy year. 

Qualified Provider―any provider who has met the 

statutory requirements for malpractice coverage with the 

Louisiana Patient’s Compensation Fund. As long as the 

financial responsibility requirements for continued 

qualification in the form prescribed by §§505-509 of these 

rules, as applicable, are met, a provider need not be currently 

enrolled in the PCF. 

4. General Definitions 

Accept or Collect―with reference to the acceptance 

or collection of payments of applicable surcharges for 

enrollment with the fund, such surcharges will be deemed to 

have been accepted or collected by the commercial 

professional health care liability insurance companies and 

approved self-insurance trust funds when the first agent, 

employee, representative, or other person acting or 

purporting to act on behalf of the insurer or the trust fund 

who has the responsibility to process such surcharges 

accepts delivery of same. 

Disability―for purposes of determining eligibility for 

the provisions of §715.D of these rules, the inability to 

continue the practice of medicine due to a permanent illness, 

injury, or physical impairment. However, for purposes of 

consideration for a waiver under the provisions of §715.C.3 

of these rules, disability may also include any permanent 

illness, injury, or physical impairment which prevents a 

provider from continuing the practice of his existing medical 

specialty, surgical class, or risk rating classification as 

provided in §705 of these rules, whether or not such 

disability prevents the provider from engaging in the active 

practice of medicine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:168 (February 1992), amended LR 23:68 (January 1997), LR 

29:344 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2534 (October 2012).  

§111. Interpretive Definitions 

A. As used in these rules and in the Act, the following 

terms are interpreted and deemed to have the meanings 

specified. 

Certified Nurse Assistant―a certified nurse aide 

certified by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 

Administrators, pursuant to R.S. 37:2504, as amended. 

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist―a registered 

nurse who administers any form of anesthetic to any person 

in Louisiana in accordance with the conditions specified by 

R.S. 37:930, as amended. 

Chiropractor―a person holding a license to engage in 

the practice of chiropractic in the state of Louisiana, 

pursuant to R.S. 37:2801-2830, as amended. 

Clinical Nurse Specialist—an advanced practice 

registered nurse educated in a recognized nursing specialty 

area who is certified according to the requirements of a 

nationally recognized certifying body and approved by the 

Louisiana State Board of Nursing, pursuant to R.S. 37:911-

935, as amended. 

Dentist―a person holding a license to engage in the 

practice of dentistry in the state of Louisiana, pursuant to 

R.S. 37:751-793, as amended. 

Licensed Practical Nurse―a person holding a license to 

engage in the practice of practical nursing in the state of 

Louisiana, pursuant to R.S. 37:961-979, as amended. 

Non-Profit Cancer Treatment Facility―a non-profit 

facility considered tax-exempt under §501(c)(3), Internal 

Revenue Code, pursuant to 26 U.S.C. §501(c)(3), for the 
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diagnosis and treatment of cancer or cancer-related diseases, 

whether or not such a facility is required to be licensed by 

this state. 

Nurse Midwife―a registered nurse certified by the 

Louisiana State Board of Nursing as a certified nurse 

midwife, pursuant to R.S. 37:3240-3257, as amended. 

Nurse Practitioner—an advanced practice registered 

nurse educated in a specified area of care and certified 

according to the requirements of a nationally recognized 

accrediting agency and approved by the Louisiana State 

Board of Nursing, pursuant to R.S. 37:911-935, as amended. 

Nursing Home―a private home, institution, building, 

residence or other place, licensed or provisionally licensed 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, pursuant to R.S. 

40:2009.2, as amended. 

Optometrist―a person holding a license to engage in 

the practice of optometry in the state of Louisiana, pursuant 

to R.S. 37:1041-1068, as amended. 

Person―an individual, natural person. 

Pharmacist―a person holding a certificate of 

registration issued by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 

pursuant to R.S. 37:1171-1183, as amended. 

Physical Therapist―a person holding a license to 

engage in the practice of physical therapy in the state of 

Louisiana, pursuant to R.S. 37:2401-2422, as amended. 

Podiatrist―a person holding a license to engage in the 

practice of podiatry in the state of Louisiana, pursuant to 

R.S. 37:611-628, as amended. 

Professional Corporation―any professional 

corporation a health care provider is authorized to form 

under the provisions of Title 12 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

Psychologist―a person holding a license to engage in 

the practice of psychology in the state of Louisiana, pursuant 

to R.S. 37:2351-2367, as amended. 

Registered Nurse―a person holding a license to engage 

in the practice of nursing in the state of Louisiana, pursuant 

to R.S. 37:911-935, as amended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:168 (February 1992), amended LR 29:344 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2534 (October 2012). 

§113. Severability 

A. If any provision of these rules, or the application or 

enforcement thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 

affect other provisions or applications of these rules which 

can be given effect without the invalid provisions or 

applications, and to this end the several provisions of these 

rules are hereby declared severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:168 (February 1992). 

Chapter 3. Organization, Functions, 

and Delegations of Authority 

§301. Board Organization 

A. Before taking office, each member of the board duly 

appointed by the governor shall subscribe before a notary 

public, and cause to be filed with the secretary of the board, 

an oath in substantially the following form: 

I HEREBY SOLEMNLY SWEAR AND AFFIRM that I 

accept the trust imposed on me as a member of the Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, and will perform the 
duties imposed on me as such by the laws of the state of 

Louisiana to the best of my ability and without partiality or 

favoritism to any constituency, group or interests which I may 
individually represent or with whom I may personally be 

associated. 

B. The board shall annually, at its first meeting following 

the first day of July of each year, elect from among its 

members as a chairman, a vice-chairman, and a secretary, 

each of whom shall serve in such office until their successors 

are duly elected. The board may elect a successor chairman 

or secretary at any time that the incumbent of such office 

resigns from such office or by death or disability becomes 

incapacitated from discharging the responsibilities of such 

office. 

C. Meetings of the board shall be noticed, convened, and 

held not less frequently than quarterly during each calendar 

year and otherwise at the call of the chairman or on the 

written petition for a meeting signed by not less than that 

number of board members constituting a quorum of the 

board. Meetings of the board shall be held on such date and 

at such time and place as may be designated by the 

chairman, or in default of designation by the chairman, by 

agreement of a quorum of the board. 

D. Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum 

for all purposes, including the call and conduct of meetings, 

the rulemaking functions of the board, and the exercise of all 

other powers and authorities conferred on the board by law. 

No member of the board may be represented by proxy at any 

meeting of the board or otherwise vote or act on or 

participate in the affairs of the board by proxy. Except as 

may be otherwise provided by law or by the policies of the 

board, all actions which the board is empowered by law to 

take shall be effected by vote of not less than a majority of 

the members of the board present at a meeting of the board 

at which a quorum is present. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation' Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:169 (February 1992). 

§302. Disability Accommodations 

A. A person with a disability is defined as any of the 

following: 
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1. a member of the public or the board with a 

disability recognized by the ADA; or 

2. a designated caregiver of such a person. 

B. The written public notice for an open meeting, as 

required by R.S. 42:19, includes the name, telephone 

number and email address of a board representative to whom 

a disability accommodation may be submitted. 

C. The requestor shall be provided with an 

accommodation, including the teleconference number and/or 

video conference link, for participation via electronic means 

as soon as possible following receipt of the request, but no 

later than the start of the scheduled meeting. 

D. Participation via electronic means (teleconference or 

video conference) by a board member who has requested a 

disability accommodation shall count for purposes of 

establishing quorum and voting. The presiding officer of the 

board shall ensure that the voting decision of any member of 

the board who participates via electronic means is clearly 

identified, recorded and included in the minutes of the 

meeting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3) and Act 393 of the 2023 Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 

Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 50:352 (March 

2024). 

§303. Executive Director of the Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board 

A. The position of executive director of the Louisiana 

Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board is hereby 

established by the board as an unclassified position. The 

executive director shall be employed by the board and, 

subject to other provisions of law respecting qualification for 

and maintenance of governmental employment, hold such 

office at the pleasure of the board. In addition to other 

qualifications required by law for such office, the executive 

director shall be at least 21 years of age, a graduate of an 

accredited post-secondary college or university, and have 

had prior professional experience and training in insurance 

and actuarial science as appropriate to the executive 

director's responsibilities pursuant to these rules. 

B. The executive director shall be responsible, and 

accountable to the board for the overall administration, 

operation, conservation, management, and defense of the 

fund to the extent of the responsibilities imposed on the 

board by the Act. Without limitation on the scope of such 

responsibility, the executive director shall be specifically 

responsible for: 

1. receiving and processing health care provider 

applications for enrollment with the fund; 

2. determining whether applicants for enrollment 

satisfy the standards of financial responsibility and possess 

the other qualifications for enrollment specified by these 

rules; 

3. timely collection of surcharges from, or paid by 

insurers on behalf of, enrolled health care providers; 

4. certification of enrollment upon the presentation of 

claims against health care providers enrolled with the fund; 

5. processing claims against enrolled health care 

providers and the fund in accordance with the Act and these 

rules; 

6. collection, accumulation, and maintenance of 

comprehensive historical claims experience data from 

enrolled health care providers and insurance companies 

providing professional liability coverage to health care 

providers in the state of Louisiana, in such form and array as 

may be necessary or appropriate to permit the fund's actuary 

to develop sound and appropriate surcharge rates for the 

fund; 

7. maintenance of accurate, current, and complete data 

on pending and concluded and closed claims against the 

fund; 

8. coordination of the defense and disposition of 

claims against the fund;  

9. payment of judgments, settlements, arbitration 

awards, and medical expenses; 

10. retention of an actuary for the fund in accordance 

with §701; 

11. preparation and submission, in conjunction with the 

PCF's actuary, of the annual actuarial study and indicated 

surcharge rates and rate changes, to the board; 

12. financial accounting for the fund in accordance 

with generally accepted accounting principles; 

13. development and submission of an annual budget 

and appropriation request as provided by §§1305-1307 of 

these rules; 

14. preparation and submission of such reports on the 

status, administration, and operation of the fund, and on the 

disposition of individual claims against the fund, as required 

by law or as directed by the board; and 

15. the discharge and performance of such other duties, 

responsibilities, functions, and activities as are expressly or 

impliedly imposed on the board by the Act or as specified by 

these rules. 

C. All authority for the administration and operation of 

the fund vested in the board by the Act is hereby delegated 

to the executive director. In the exercise of such authority, 

the executive director shall be accountable to, and subject to 

the superseding authority of, the board. 

D. Without limitation on the generality of the provision 

made by §307 for the payment of the expenses of 

administration and defense of the fund, the salary and 

employment benefits of the executive director and any 

expenses properly and lawfully incurred by the executive 

director in the performance of his duties under these rules 

shall be payable by the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
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40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:169 (February 1992), amended LR 29:344 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2535 (October 2012). 

§305. Fund Property 

A. The board is the custodian of all tangible and 

intangible property, assets, rights, and interests of the fund 

and the repository for all of the fund's records, files, 

information, and data. All furniture, fixtures, equipment, 

goods, supplies, files, records, information, data, computers, 

computer systems, software, and documentations, and any 

other tangible or intangible property, rights, or interests of 

whatsoever kind or nature purchased or acquired by, 

transferred or donated to, or developed or produced through 

the use of funds of the PCF, wheresoever or howsoever 

located or stored, shall be and remain the property of the 

fund. No property, rights, or interests of the fund shall be 

sold, transferred, assigned, or alienated by the fund except 

for compensation to the fund equal to or exceeding the 

reasonably estimated market value of any such property, 

rights, or interests and pursuant to the authorization of the 

executive director. 

B. The board shall annually conduct and record an 

inventory of all of the property, assets, rights, and interests 

of the fund and shall at all times maintain a current, accurate, 

and complete schedule of the property, assets, rights, and 

interests of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:170 (February 1992). 

§307. Expenses of Administration and Defense 

A. All expenses incurred for, by, or on behalf of the 

executive director or the board in their administration, 

operation, and defense of the fund, pursuant to the Act and 

these rules, shall be borne by the fund, subject to the 

provision of these rules governing budgeting, accounting, 

and appropriation requests. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:170 (February 1992). 

Chapter 5. Enrollment with the Fund 

§501. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of Chapter 5 provide for and govern the 

qualifications, conditions, and procedures requisite to 

enrollment with the fund, demonstration and maintenance of 

financial responsibility, and termination or cancellation of 

enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:170 (February 1992). 

§503. Basic Qualifications for Enrollment 

A. To be eligible for enrollment with the fund, a person, 

professional corporation, professional partnership, or 

institution shall: 

1. be a health care provider, as defined by the Act or 

by these rules, who or which is engaged in the provision of 

health care services within the state of Louisiana, and which 

is not organized solely or primarily for the purpose of 

qualifying for enrollment with the fund; 

2. demonstrate and maintain, to the satisfaction of and 

in the manner specified by the executive director and in 

accordance with the standards prescribed by §§503-511 

hereof, or as otherwise provided by law, financial 

responsibility for, and with respect to, malpractice or 

professional liability claims asserted against the person or 

institution; 

3. make application for enrollment upon forms 

prescribed and supplied by the executive director, pursuant 

to §513 of these rules; and 

4. pay the applicable surcharges to the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:170 (February 1992). 

§505. Financial Responsibility: Insurance 

A. A health care provider shall be deemed to have 

demonstrated the financial responsibility requisite to 

enrollment with the fund by submitting certification in the 

form of a certificate of insurance or policy declaration page 

that the health care provider is or will be insured on a 

specific date under a policy of insurance, insuring the health 

care provider against professional malpractice liability 

claims with indemnity limits of not less than $100,000, plus 

interest per claim, aggregate annual indemnity limits of not 

less than $300,000 plus interest for all claims arising or 

asserted within a 12-month policy period. 

B. To be acceptable as evidence of financial 

responsibility pursuant to §505, an insurance policy: 

1. must be issued: 

a. by an insurance company admitted to do business 

in this state; or 

b. by an unauthorized insurer which is on the list of 

approved unauthorized insurers maintained by the 

Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to R.S. 22:436 and 

which has: 

 i. a rating by A.M. Best and Co. of "A-" or 

higher; or 

 ii. a rating by Standard and Poor's of "AA-" or 

higher; or 

 iii. a rating by Moody's of "Aa" or higher; or 

c. by a risk retention group organized and operating 
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in this state pursuant to the Federal Liability Risk Retention 

Act of 1986, 15 U.S.C. 3901 et seq., and which has given 

notice of its operation within this state to the Commissioner 

of Insurance and is otherwise in compliance with the 

Louisiana Risk Retention Group Law, R.S. 22:481 et seq.; or  

d. by the Louisiana Residual Malpractice Insurance 

Authority, R.S. 40:1299.46; 

2. shall be of a form approved by the Commissioner 

of Insurance of the state of Louisiana and specifically 

approved by the executive director; 

3. must provide for the insurer's assumption of the 

defense of any covered claim, without limitation on the 

insurer's maximum obligation respecting the cost of defense; 

4. shall be nonassessable; 

5. shall not be subject to a retention or deductible 

payable by the insured health care provider, with respect to 

liability, costs of defense or claim adjustment expenses, in 

excess of $25,000, provided that an insurance policy 

provision which requires reimbursement of the insurer by 

the insured of indemnification and/or expenses and which 

provides that the insurer remains directly and primarily 

responsible to the patient for the amount thereof shall not be 

considered a retention and shall, in that regard, be deemed to 

satisfy the financial responsibility requirements of §505; and 

6. must, by provision or endorsement, obligate the 

insurer to give immediate notice to the executive director of 

cancellation, termination, or lapse of the policy, or of 

modification of the scope or limits of its coverage by 

endorsement or otherwise. 

C. The certification required by §505.A shall be issued 

and executed by an officer or authorized agent of the 

applicant health care provider's insurer and shall specifically 

identify the policyholder, the named insureds under such 

policy, the policy period, the limits of coverage, any 

exclusions, and any applicable deductible or uninsured 

retention. Upon request by the executive director, such 

certification shall be accompanied by a complete specimen 

copy of the applicable policy, or identification of the specific 

policy form if such form has previously been filed with and 

approved by the executive director. 

D. Upon request, the executive director shall advise 

applicants as to whether any specified policy form has been 

approved pursuant to §505, or provide a list of all policy 

forms so approved. 

E. The insurance coverage required by this rule to 

demonstrate the requisite financial responsibility for 

qualification with the fund shall be deemed to be continuing 

without a lapse in coverage by the fund, provided that the 

health care provider meets the premium payment conditions 

of the underlying coverage and timely meets the surcharge 

payment conditions of §§711-713 of these rules, as 

applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:170 (February 1992), amended LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 

23:68 (January 1997), LR 24:333 (February 1998), LR 30:1017 

(May 2004), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2535 (October 2012).  

§507. Financial Responsibility: Self-Insurance 

A. A health care provider shall be deemed to have 

demonstrated the financial responsibility requisite to 

enrollment with the fund by depositing with the board 

$125,000, in money or represented by irrevocable letters of 

credit, federally insured certificates of deposit, or in bonds, 

securities cash values of insurance, or other securities 

approved by the executive director of the principal value of 

not less than $125,000. All money, certificates of deposit, 

bonds or securities deposited pursuant to §507 shall be 

conditioned only for, dedicated exclusively to, and held in 

trust for the benefit and protection of and as security for the 

prompt payment of all malpractice claims arising or asserted 

against the health care provider. 

B. For purposes of §507, upon approval by the board of 

an application filed by the group, any group of health care 

providers organized to and actually practicing together or 

otherwise related by ownership, whether as a corporation, 

partnership, limited liability partnership or limited liability 

company, shall be deemed a single health care provider and 

shall not be required to post more than one deposit. Proof of 

such status may include a notarized copy of the articles of 

incorporation, partnership agreement, articles of 

organization, joint or consolidated entity tax returns, or other 

documents demonstrating the ownership relation among or 

between the members of the group, or other evidence which 

indicates that the members of the group actually practice 

together for the purpose of health care delivery. 

1. This proof of group status shall be submitted to the 

board: 

a. with the group's original application; 

b. within 30 days of any change in the group's 

status, organization, or membership; and 

c. within 10 calendar days of receipt of a written 

demand therefor from the board. 

2. It shall be insufficient for qualification under this 

rule if a group is organized solely or primarily for the 

purpose of qualifying for enrollment with the fund. 

C.1 The following bonds and securities shall be deemed 

approved by the board for purposes of the deposit required 

by §507: 

a. bonds or securities not in default as to principal 

or interest which are the direct obligations of, or which are 

secured or guaranteed as to principal and interest by full 

faith and credit of the United States, any state or territory of 

the United States, or the District of Columbia; 

b. government sponsored AAA rated securities 

which carry an implied guarantee from the United States 

Government; 
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c. bonds or evidence of indebtedness not in default 

as to principal or interest which are the direct obligations of, 

or which are secured or guaranteed as to principal and 

interest by the issuing body, the state, or political subdivision 

of this state, or any other state or territory of the United 

States or the District of Columbia; 

d. the bond of an authorized surety company 

engaged in business in the state of Louisiana which has an 

A.M. Best rating of A+ VIII or better. In addition, the 

company should meet the stated minimum rating criteria for 

two of the following rating services: 

 i. Standard and Poor AA; 

 ii. Duff and Phelps AA; 

 iii. Moody's Aa2; 

e. an unconditional letter of credit with an 

automatic renewal provision where the issuing bank carries a 

commercial paper rating of P-1 by Moody's and/or an A-1 by 

Standard and Poor; 

f. an escrow account in the name of Patient’s 

Compensation Fund where the issuing bank carries a 

commercial paper rating of P-1 by Moody's and/or an A-1 by 

Standard and Poor. 

2. In addition to the above, a health care provider may 

apply to the board for approval of any other security which, 

if approved by the board, shall constitute proof of financial 

responsibility. 

3. In addition to depositing the money or original 

instrument evidencing the approved security with the board, 

a self-insured health care provider shall be required to 

execute a pledge agreement prescribed and supplied by the 

executive director and to provide evidence that written 

notice, stating that the approved security will be pledged to 

the board pursuant to the terms of the pledge agreement, has 

been given to the issuing body. 

D. Money, accounts, certificates of deposit, or other 

approved insurance or securities deposited, pledged or 

assigned to the board pursuant to §507 shall not be assigned, 

transferred, sold, mortgaged, pledged, hypothecated or 

otherwise encumbered by the health care provider nor shall 

any such deposit, account, or certificate of deposit be subject 

to writ of attachment, sequestration, or execution except 

pursuant to a final judgment or court-approved settlement 

issued or made in connection with and arising out of a 

malpractice claim against the health care provider. 

E.1. To maintain financial responsibility for continuing 

enrollment or qualification with the fund, a self-insured 

health care provider shall at all times maintain the 

unimpaired principal value of the deposit provided for by 

§507 at not less than $125,000. The value of the health care 

provider's deposit shall be deemed impaired when any 

portion is seized or released pursuant to judicial process. 

2. In the event that a self-insured health care 

provider’s deposit provided for by §507 becomes impaired, 

the executive director shall give written notice of such 

impairment to the self-insured health care provider, and the 

self-insured health care provider shall, unless a longer period 

is provided for by the board, have five days from receipt of 

such notice to make such additional deposit as will restore 

the minimum deposit value prescribed by §507. A self-

insured health care provider’s enrollment with the fund shall 

terminate on and as of the later of the last day set by these 

rules or, if applicable, by the board, if the self-insured health 

care provider has not on or prior to such date restored the 

minimum deposit value prescribed by §507. In the case of 

multiple self-insured health care providers approved by the 

board to post one deposit, as set forth in §507.B, the 

enrollment with the fund of each member of the group or 

each related entity shall terminate on and as of the last day 

set by these rules or, if applicable, by the board, if the self-

insured health care provider has not on or prior to such date 

restored the minimum deposit value prescribed by §507. 

F. A self-insured health care provider shall, within 120 

days of receiving notice of a request for review of a 

malpractice claim, submit a report to the executive director 

of the anticipated exposure to the fund and the self-insured 

health care provider and containing sufficient details 

supporting the anticipated exposure. In addition, said self-

insured heath care provider shall provide updates to the 

executive director when significant changes in anticipated 

exposure occur. 

G. A self-insured health care provider who evidences 

financial responsibility pursuant to §507 may, upon 45 days 

prior written notice to the executive director, withdraw any 

portion of the deposit prescribed by §507 provided that, 

following such withdrawal, the value of the deposit shall not 

be impaired. 

H.1. A self-insured health care provider who has 

evidenced financial responsibility pursuant to §507 may 

withdraw the deposit prescribed by §507 upon authorization 

of the executive director. The security furnished as proof of 

financial responsibility, or a substitution which has been 

approved by the board, shall remain on deposit and pledged 

to the board during the term of the health care provider's 

enrollment as a self-insured health care provider with the 

fund and for the longer of a three-year period following 

termination of such enrollment or as long as any medical 

malpractice claim is pending, whether with the board or in a 

court of competent jurisdiction. After this time period, 

authorization may be given when the health care provider 

files with the executive director, not less than 30 days prior 

to the date such withdrawal is to be effected, a certificate 

signed by the health care provider, certifying: 

a. the date the health care provider terminated 

enrollment with the fund as a self-insured health care 

provider; 

b. that there are no medical malpractice claims 

pending with the board or in a court of competent 

jurisdiction; 

c. that there are no unpaid final judgments or 

settlements against or made by the health care provider in 

connection with or arising out of a malpractice claim; and 
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d. that there are no unasserted medical malpractice 

claims which are probable of assertion against the health 

care provider. 

2. Effective as of the date on which a self-insured 

health care provider's deposit is withdrawn pursuant to §507, 

the health care provider's enrollment and qualification with 

the fund shall be terminated. 

I. In the event that a health care provider’s deposit 

becomes impaired, he shall have 30 days to make such 

additional deposit as will restore the minimum deposit value 

prescribed by §507. A health care provider’s enrollment and 

qualification with the fund for all claims filed against the 

healthcare provider shall terminate on and as of the last day 

set by these Rules if the health care provider has not on, or 

prior to such date, restored the minimum deposit value 

prescribed by §507. In the case of multiple health care 

providers, as set forth in §507.B, the enrollment and 

qualification with the fund of each member of the group or 

each related entity for all claims filed against any or all of 

the members of the group or related entity shall terminate on 

and as of the last day set by these rules if the minimum 

deposit value prescribed by §507 has not been restored on or 

prior to such date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:171 (February 1992), amended LR 18:737 (July 1992), LR 

23:68 (January 1997), LR 29:344 (March 2003), amended by the 

Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 38:2535 (October 2012). 

§509. Financial Responsibility: Self-Insurance Trusts 

A. The shareholders of a professional corporation, the 

partners of a professional partnership, a solo practitioner, a 

health care provider institution, or a group of such 

institutions may demonstrate the financial responsibility 

requisite to enrollment with the fund by the establishment 

and maintenance of a financially and actuarially sound self-

insurance trust, approved by the executive director, and 

making and maintaining, on behalf of such trust as an entity, 

a deposit of not less than $125,000 in money or represented 

by irrevocable letters of credit, federally-insured certificates 

of deposit, or in bonds or securities approved by the 

executive director, of the principal value of not less than 

$125,000. 

B.1. The following bonds and securities shall be deemed 

approved by the board for purposes of the deposit required 

by §509: 

a. bonds or securities not in default as to principal 

or interest which are the direct obligations of, or which are 

secured or guaranteed as to principal and interest by full 

faith and credit of the United States, any state or territory of 

the United States, or the District of Columbia; 

b. government sponsored AAA rated securities 

which carry an implied guarantee from the United States 

Government; 

c. bonds or evidence of indebtedness not in default 

as to principal or interest which are the direct obligations of, 

or which are secured or guaranteed as to principal and 

interest by the issuing body, the state, or political subdivision 

of this state, or any other state or territory of the United 

States or the District of Columbia; 

d. the bond of an authorized surety company 

engaged in business in the state of Louisiana which has an 

A.M. Best rating of A+ VIII or better. In addition, the 

company should meet the stated minimum rating criteria for 

two of the following rating services: 

 i. Standard and Poor AA; 

 ii. Duff and Phelps AA; 

 iii. Moody's Aa2; 

e. an unconditional letter of credit with an 

automatic renewal provision where the issuing bank carries a 

commercial paper rating of P-1 by Moody's and/or an A-1 by 

Standard and Poor; 

f. an escrow account in the name of Patient’s 

Compensation Fund where the issuing bank carries a 

commercial paper rating of P-1 by Moody's and/or an A-1 by 

Standard and Poor. 

2. In addition to the above, a self-insurance trust may 

apply to the board for approval of any other security which, 

if approved by the board, shall constitute proof of financial 

responsibility. 

3. In addition to depositing the money or original 

instrument evidencing the approved security with the board, 

a self-insured trust shall be required to execute a pledge 

agreement prescribed and supplied by the executive director 

and to provide evidence that written notice, stating that the 

approved security will be pledged to the board pursuant to 

the terms of the pledge agreement, has been given to the 

issuing body. 

C. Money, accounts, certificates of deposit, or other 

approved insurance or securities deposited, pledged or 

assigned to the board pursuant to §509 shall not be assigned, 

transferred, sold, mortgaged, pledged, hypothecated or 

otherwise encumbered by the self-insurance trust nor shall 

any such deposit, account, or certificate of deposit be subject 

to writ of attachment, sequestration, or execution except 

pursuant to a final judgment or court-approved settlement 

issued or made in connection with and arising out of a 

malpractice claim against a member of the self-insurance 

trust. 

D.1. To maintain financial responsibility for continuing 

enrollment or qualification with the fund, a self-insurance 

trust shall at all times maintain the unimpaired principal 

value of the deposit provided for by §509 at not less than 

$125,000. The value of the self-insurance trust's deposit 

shall be deemed impaired when any portion is seized or 

released pursuant to judicial process. 

2. In the event that a self-insurance trust’s deposit 

provided for by §509 becomes impaired, the executive 
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director shall give written notice of such impairment to the 

self-insurance trust, and the self-insurance trust shall, unless 

a longer period is provided by the board, have 30 days from 

receipt of such notice to make such additional deposit as will 

restore the minimum deposit value prescribed by §509. The 

enrollment of each member of a self-insurance trust with the 

fund shall terminate on and as of the last day set by these 

rules or, if applicable, by the board, if the self-insurance trust 

has not on or prior to such date restored the minimum 

deposit value prescribed by §509.  

E. A self-insurance trust shall, within 120 days of one of 

its members receiving notice of a claim, submit a report of 

the anticipated exposure to the fund and the self-insurance 

trust and containing sufficient details supporting the 

anticipated exposure. In addition, the self-insurance trust 

shall provide updates to the executive director when 

significant changes in anticipated exposure occur.  

F. A self-insurance trust approved by the executive 

director as evidence of financial responsibility shall be 

treated the same as insurance, and each health care provider 

covered by such a self-insurance trust shall be considered to 

have evidenced financial responsibility as provided in §505. 

G. A self-insurance trust which evidences financial 

responsibility pursuant to §509 may, upon 45 days prior 

written notice to the executive director, withdraw any 

portion of the deposit prescribed by §509 provided that 

following such withdrawal, the value of the deposit shall not 

be impaired. 

H.1. A self-insurance trust which has evidenced 

financial responsibility pursuant to §509 may withdraw the 

deposit prescribed by §509 upon authorization of the 

executive director. The security furnished as proof of 

financial responsibility, or a substitution which has been 

approved by the board, shall remain on deposit and pledged 

to the board during the term of the trust's members' 

enrollments as self-insured health care providers with the 

fund and for the longer of a three-year period following 

termination of such enrollment or as long as any medical 

malpractice claim is pending against the trust or any of its 

members, whether with the board or in a court of competent 

jurisdiction. After this time period, authorization may be 

given when the trust files with the executive director, not 

less than 30 days prior to the date such withdrawal is to be 

effected, a certificate signed by the trustee of the trust, 

certifying: 

a. the date that the last remaining member(s) of the 

trust terminated enrollment with the fund as self-insured 

health care provider(s); 

b. that there are no medical malpractice claims 

against the trust or any of its members pending with the 

board or in a court of competent jurisdiction; 

c. that there are no unpaid final judgments or 

settlements against or made by the trust or any of its 

members in connection with or arising out of a malpractice 

claim; and 

d. that there are no unasserted medical malpractice 

claims which are probable of assertion against the trust or 

any of its members. 

2. Effective as of the date on which a self-insurance 

trust's deposit is withdrawn pursuant to §509, the trust 

members’ enrollment and qualification with the fund shall be 

terminated. 

I. Application to the executive director for approval of a 

self-insurance trust as evidence of financial responsibility 

shall include: 

1. identification of, by name, address, and category of 

each practitioner or each shareholder of an applicant 

professional corporation, each partner of an applicant 

professional partnership or each health care institution 

participating in the self-insurance trust; 

2. a certified copy of the self-insurance trust 

instrument and any related organizational or operational 

documents; 

J. The executive director shall approve of a self-

insurance trust if such trust meets the requirements of the 

Health Care Financing Administration's (HCFA) Medicare 

Provider Reimbursement Manual, Part 1, §2162.7, related to 

self-insurance trusts. Those standards shall not, however, be 

exclusive and the executive director may approve such other 

qualified self-insurance trusts as appropriate, although they 

do not meet those requirements. 

K. Each self-insurance trust approved by the executive 

director as evidence of financial responsibility pursuant to 

§509 shall be subject to audit or examination upon 

reasonable prior notice to the trustees thereof. Upon request 

by the executive director, each such trust shall, within 60 

days of the conclusion of its fiscal year, file with the 

executive director financial statements setting forth the 

financial condition of the trust at the last day of the 

preceding year and for the year then ended, audited or 

reviewed by an independent certified public accountant. 

L. Each self-insurance trust approved by the executive 

director as evidence of financial responsibility pursuant to 

§509 shall give written notice to the executive director 

within 10 days of any date that: 

1. the trust instrument or other organizational or 

operational documents are amended; or 

2. any participating member of the trust ceases to be a 

member or any new member begins participation with the 

trust 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:172 (February 1992), amended LR 18:737 (July 1992), LR 

23:69 (January 1997), LR 29:345 (March 2003), amended by the 

Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 38:2536 (October 2012). 

§511. Coverage: Partnerships and Professional 

Corporations 

A. When, and during the period that, each shareholder, 
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partner, member, agent, officer, or employee of a 

corporation, partnership, limited liability partnership, or 

limited liability company, who is eligible for qualification as 

a health care provider under the Act, and who is providing 

health care on behalf of such corporation, partnership, or 

limited liability company, is enrolled with the fund as a 

health care provider, having paid the applicable surcharges 

due the fund and demonstrated and maintained financial 

responsibility in accordance with the standards prescribed by 

§§503-511 for enrollment of such individual, such 

corporation, partnership, limited liability partnership, or 

limited liability company shall, without the payment of an 

additional surcharge, be deemed concurrently qualified and 

enrolled as a health care provider with the fund when, and 

during the period that such corporation, partnership, limited 

liability partnership, or limited liability company 

demonstrates and maintains financial responsibility in 

accordance with the standards prescribed by §§503-511. Any 

such corporation, partnership, limited liability partnership, or 

limited liability company which fails to provide proof of 

financial responsibility upon request of the fund after the 

filing of a request for review of a claim under R.S. 

40:1299.47 or after the filing of a lawsuit alleging medical 

malpractice, shall not be deemed concurrently qualified and 

enrolled as a health care provider under this Part. 

B. The corporation, partnership, limited liability 

partnership, or limited liability company shall furnish to the 

board, concurrently with its enrollment and renewal 

application, the name(s) of each shareholder, partner, 

member, agent, officer, or employee who is eligible for 

qualification and enrollment with the fund as a health care 

provider and evidence of its financial responsibility in 

accordance with the standards prescribed by §§503-511. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:173 (February 1992), amended LR 29:345 (March 2003), LR 

30:1017 (May 2004), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2538 (October 2012). 

§513. Enrollment Procedure 

A. Application for enrollment with the fund shall be 

made upon forms prescribed and supplied by the executive 

director. The executive director shall require that each 

applicant supply his or its proper legal name, the applicant's 

principal professional address, the address of other 

professional offices or places of practice of the applicant, the 

applicant's professional license, certification, or registration 

number, information relating to the nature and scope of the 

applicant's practice sufficient to identify the class or 

category of the practitioner, information on malpractice 

claims previously concluded or then pending against the 

applicant, and such other information as the executive 

director may prescribe. 

B. The application shall be accompanied by evidence of 

financial responsibility in the form prescribed by §§505-509 

of these rules, as applicable, and the applicable surcharge. 

C. If the executive director determines that an applicant 

is not eligible for enrollment with the fund, he shall notify 

the applicant within 15 days of receipt of the completed 

application. The applicant may, within 15 days of receipt of 

the notice, appeal the determination to the board by mailing 

notice of said appeal to the executive director If appealed 

timely, the matter shall be placed on the agenda of the next 

meeting of the board, at which time the board may hear such 

evidence as it deems appropriate and uphold or reverse the 

decision of the executive director. The decision of the board 

shall be final. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:173 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2538 (October 2012).  

§515. Certification of Enrollment 

A. Upon receipt and approval of a completed application 

(including evidence of financial responsibility pursuant to 

§505, §507 or §509) and payment of the applicable 

surcharge by or on behalf of the applicant health care 

provider, the executive director shall issue and deliver to the 

health care provider a certificate of enrollment with the fund, 

identifying the health care provider and specifying the 

effective date and term of such enrollment and the scope of 

the fund's coverage for that health care provider. 

B. Duplicate or additional certificates of enrollment shall 

be available to and upon the request of an enrolled health 

care provider or his or its attorney, or professional liability 

insurance underwriter when such certification is required to 

evidence enrollment or qualification with the fund in 

connection with an actual or proposed malpractice claim 

against the health care provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:173 (February 1992), amended LR 23:69 (January 1997), LR 

29:346 (March 2003), LR 30:1018 (May 2004), amended by the 

Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 38:2538 (October 2012). 

§517. Expiration, Renewal of Enrollment 

A. Enrollment with the fund expires: 

1. as to a health care provider evidencing financial 

responsibility by certification of insurance pursuant to §505 

of these rules, on and as of: 

a. the effective date and time of termination or 

cancellation of the policy of the health care provider's 

professional liability insurance coverage; or 

b. the last day of the applicable period for which the 

prior annual surcharge applied in the event that the annual 

surcharge for renewal coverage is not paid by the health care 

provider to the insurer on or before 30 days following the 

expiration of the prior enrollment period. 
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2. as to a health care provider evidencing financial 

responsibility pursuant to §§507-509 of these rules, on and 

as of: 

a. the effective date and time of termination, 

cancellation or impairment of the health care provider's 

financial responsibility; or 

b. the last day of the applicable period for which the 

prior annual surcharge applied in the event that the annual 

surcharge for renewal coverage is not paid by the health care 

provider to the board or to the self-insurance trust on or 

before 30 days following the expiration of the prior 

enrollment period. 

B. Enrollment with the fund must be annually renewed 

by each enrolled health care provider on or before expiration 

of the enrollment period by submitting to the executive 

director an application for renewal, upon forms supplied by 

the executive director, and payment of the applicable 

surcharge in accordance with the rules hereof providing for 

the fund's billing and collection of surcharges from insured 

and self-insured health care providers. Each insured health 

care provider shall cause the insurer to submit a certificate of 

insurance to the executive director along with the application 

for renewal. Each self-insured health care provider and each 

health care provider covered by a self-insurance trust shall 

submit, along with the application for renewal, original 

documents which indicate that the health care provider's 

deposit with the board is current and/or not in default. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:174 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003), 

repromulgated LR 29:579 (April 2003), amended by the Office of 

the Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation 

Fund Oversight Board, LR 38:2538 (October 2012). 

§519. Cancellation, Termination of Enrollment 

A. A health care provider’s enrollment with the fund for 

all claims filed against the healthcare provider shall be 

canceled and terminated:  

1. as to a health care provider evidencing financial 

responsibility by certification of insurance pursuant to §505 

of these rules, on and as the effective date of cancellation of 

the health care provider’s professional liability insurance 

coverage; 

2. as to a health care provider evidencing financial 

responsibility pursuant to §§507-509 of these rules, on and 

as of any date on which:  

a. the health care provider or self-insurance trust, as 

applicable, ceases to maintain financial responsibility in the 

amount and form prescribed by these rules; or 

b. the health care provider or self-insurance trust, as 

applicable, fails, within the allowed time after notice by the 

executive director, to provide additional security for 

financial responsibility when existing financial responsibility 

security is impaired all as provided in §§507-509 of these 

rules. 

3. on any date that the health care provider’s 

professional or institutional license, certification, or 

registration is suspended or revoked or that the health care 

provider ceases to be a health care provider as defined by the 

Act and these rules or otherwise ceases to be eligible for 

enrollment hereunder.  

B. Upon written notice to a health care provider, the 

executive director may cancel and terminate a health care 

provider’s enrollment with the fund, effective 30 days 

following the mailing by registered or certified mail, return 

receipt requested, or giving of such notice in the event that 

an enrolled health care provider has failed or refused to 

timely provide any reports or submit any information or data 

required to be reported or submitted by these rules, including 

but not limited to those provided for in §1101. If, within 30 

days of receipt of such a notice, a health care provider 

furnishes to the board any and all delinquent reports, 

information, and data, as specified by such notice, the health 

care provider’s enrollment with the fund may be continued 

in effect. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation 

Fund Oversight Board, LR 38:2539 (October 2012). 

Chapter 7. Surcharges 

§701. PCF Consulting Actuary 

A. In accordance with the provisions of law applicable to 

contracting for personal, professional, or consulting services, 

the board shall retain a qualified, competent, and 

independent consulting actuary to advise and consult the 

board on all aspects of the board's administration, operation, 

and defense of the fund which require application of the 

actuarial science. Each year, the board shall cause the 

consulting actuary to prepare an annual actuarial study 

required by the Act and these rules. An individual actuary 

contracted by the board, or a principal actuary assigned to 

the engagement and employed by a partnership, firm, or 

corporation contracted by the board, shall possess formal 

education and at least a baccalaureate degree in the actuarial 

sciences, shall be a full member of the Casualty Actuarial 

Society, and shall have had substantial prior experience in 

providing services as a consulting actuary to insurance 

companies underwriting professional health care liability 

insurance. 

B. The board's contract with a consulting actuary shall 

provide that the consulting actuary shall be responsible for: 

1. advising the executive director with respect to the 

necessary and proper content and form of claims experience 

data collected and maintained by the executive director; 

2. advising the executive director with respect to the 

establishment, maintenance, and adjustment of reserves on 

individual claims against the fund and the establishment, 

maintenance, and adjustment of reserves for incurred but not 

reported claims; 

3. performing actuarial analysis of claims experience 
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data collected and maintained by the executive director with 

respect to the fund, commercial professional liability 

insurers doing business in this state, self-insured health care 

providers, together, as necessary or appropriate, with 

regional or national professional health care liability claims 

experience data, and development, in consideration of the 

fund's allocated and unallocated expenses, its organization, 

administration, and legal and regulatory constraints, of a 

surcharge rate structure, rated and classified according to the 

several classes or risks against which the fund provides 

compensation, that shall reasonably ensure that the fund is 

sufficiently funded so as to be and remain financially and 

actuarially capable of providing the compensation for which 

it is organized; 

4. developing, in conjunction with the executive 

director, proposed surcharge rates and surcharge rate 

changes in accordance with the consulting actuary's actuarial 

analyses, for submission to the board; 

5. as requested by the executive director, personal 

presentation of proposed surcharge rates and surcharge rate 

changes at meetings of the board; and 

6. generally advising and consulting with the 

executive director on all actuarial questions affecting the 

board's administration, operation, and defense of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:174 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003), 

amended by the Division of Administration, Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2557 (November 

2010). 

§703. Annual Actuarial Study 

A. An actuarial study of the fund and the surcharge rate 

structure necessary and appropriate to ensure that it is and 

remains financially and actuarially sound shall be performed 

annually by the board's consulting actuary on the basis of an 

actuarial analysis of all relevant claims experience data 

collected and maintained by the board. 

B. In the performance of the board's annual actuarial 

study and the development of a financially sound and 

appropriate surcharge rate structure for the fund, the board's 

consulting actuary and the executive director shall accord 

the greatest weight to the claims experience of the fund and 

of commercial professional health care liability insurance 

underwriters and self-insurance funds with respect to the risk 

underwritten by such insurers and self-insurance funds in 

this state and as particularly reflected in such insurers' then 

most recent premium rate filings with the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance (LDOI) or such self-insurance 

funds' current rate structure and supporting data, provided, 

however, that such data shall be viewed in light of national 

claims experience data and provided further that the board's 

consulting actuary may place reliance on national claims 

experience data when, in the opinion of such actuary, claims 

experience within the state of Louisiana as to any class of 

risks provides an insufficient basis for reliance thereon for 

purposes of actuarial analysis or in calculating indicated 

surcharge rates. 

C. Without respect to the rate structure indicated by any 

annual actuarial study of the fund, no changes to surcharge 

rates or to the surcharge rate structure shall be approved by 

the board when the total assets of the fund could become less 

than the amount provided for in R.S. 40:1299.44(A)(6)(a) 

and (b). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 19:204 (February 1993), LR 

24:1111 (June 1998), amended by the Division of Administration, 

Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2557 

(November 2010). 

§705. Risk Rating 

A. Surcharge rates collected by the board shall be based 

on and classified according to the classes and categories of 

health care liability risks underwritten by the fund with 

respect to each class of health care practitioners and 

institutions eligible for enrollment with the fund. With 

regard to hospitals, surcharge rates collected by the board 

shall be based on the annual average number of occupied 

beds. Risk classifications and ratings adopted by the board 

shall be based on actuarial analysis of the claims experience 

of health care provider groups enrolled with the fund and 

equivalent data and practices of commercial insurance 

underwriters and self-insurance funds insuring such groups. 

Risk rating classifications for health care providers eligible 

for enrollment with the fund shall be based on Louisiana 

claims experience data, including the fund's own claims 

experience, unless the board's actuary affirmatively 

demonstrates that, as respects any class of provider, 

reasonably obtainable, competent, and credible Louisiana 

claims experience data provides an insufficient basis for 

such classifications under generally accepted insurance 

actuarial standards, in which case regional or national claims 

experience data and statistics relative to such classes of 

health care provider may be utilized. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003), 

amended by the Division of Administration, Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2557 (November 

2010). 

§707. Determination of Rates; Notice of Rates 

A. The board shall determine surcharge rates in a public 

meeting held pursuant to Louisiana’s open meetings laws 

based upon actuarial principles and reports, experience and 

prudent judgment of the board. The board shall provide 

written or electronic notice of the meeting at least 15 days in 

advance of the meeting and provide an opportunity for 

public comment at the meeting before determining surcharge 

rates. 

B. Within 30 days of the date on which the board 
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determines surcharges rates or rate changes, the executive 

director shall give notice of such rates or rate changes via the 

board’s website and any other means at the discretion of the 

executive director. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 24:1112 (June 1998), 

amended by the Division of Administration, Patient’s 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2558 (November 

2010). 

§709. Interim, Emergency Rates 

A. Interim or emergency surcharge rates or rate changes 

may be determined by the board at any time when the board, 

in consultation with its consulting actuary, determines that a 

new surcharge rate or rate changes are necessary. The board 

shall comply with the notice and comment provisions set 

forth in §707 prior to determining interim or emergency 

surcharge rates or rate changes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:176 (February 1992), amended by the Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

36:2558 (November 2010). 

§711. Payment of Surcharges: Insurers and Self-

Insurance Trusts 

A. Applicable surcharges for enrollment and 

qualification with the fund shall be collected on behalf of the 

board by commercial professional health care liability 

insurance companies and approved self-insurance trusts 

from insured health care providers electing to enroll and 

qualify with the fund. Such surcharges shall be collected by 

such insurers and trusts at the same time and on the same 

basis as such insurers' and trust's collection of premiums or 

contributions from such insureds. Surcharges collected by 

such insurers and trusts on behalf of the board shall be due 

and payable and remitted to the board by such insurers and 

trusts within 30 days from the date on which such surcharges 

are collected from any insured health care provider. 

B. Annual surcharges for initial PCF coverage for 

insured health care providers whose surcharges are collected 

by insurers and trusts for enrollment and qualification with 

the fund shall be due and payable to the collecting insurers 

and trusts on or before the date of initial PCF coverage. 

Annual surcharges for renewal coverage due the board by 

insured health care providers whose surcharges are collected 

by insurers and trusts for enrollment and qualification with 

the fund shall be due and payable to the collecting insurers 

and trusts on or before 30 days following the expiration of 

the prior enrollment period. Remittance of surcharges to the 

board by the insurers and trusts shall be made in such form 

and accompanied by records in such forms or on such forms 

as may be prescribed by the executive director so as to 

provide for proper accounting of remitted surcharges and the 

identity and class of health care providers on whose behalf 

such surcharges are remitted. Such insurers and funds 

remitting surcharges to the board shall certify to the board, at 

the time of remitting such surcharge to the board, the date 

that the surcharges were collected by them from the health 

care providers. The payment of surcharges by an approved 

self-insurance trust that does not collect premiums or 

contributions from insureds will be governed by §713 

hereof. 

C. Failure of the commercial professional health care 

liability insurers, agents of the insurer, risk manager, or 

surplus line agent, and approved self-insurance trust funds to 

remit payment within 30 days of collecting such annual 

surcharge may subject the commercial professional liability 

insurers, commercial insurance underwriters, and approved 

self-insurance trust funds to a penalty, the amount of which 

will be set by the board on an annual basis, not to exceed 12 

percent of the annual surcharge, and all reasonable attorney 

fees. Upon the failure of the commercial professional health 

care liability insurers, commercial insurance underwriters 

and approved self-insurance trust funds to remit as provided 

in §711, the board may institute legal proceedings to collect 

the surcharge, together with penalties, legal interest, and all 

reasonable attorney fees. 

D. If the instrument used to pay the surcharge is returned 

to the board by the payor institution and/or payment hereon 

is denied for any reason, the health care provider shall be 

notified thereof by the board. If the surcharge and any 

insufficient funds (NSF) charge incurred by the board is not 

paid in full by certified check, cashier's check, money order, 

or cash equivalent funds received by the board within 10 

calendar days of the provider's receipt of said notice, then 

the provider's coverage with the fund shall be terminated as 

of the end of the previous enrollment period. 

E. It is the purpose of §711 that insurers and approved 

self-insurance trust funds remit surcharges collected from 

their insured providers to the board timely. The timeliness of 

surcharge remittances to the board by insurers and approved 

self-insurance trust funds shall not affect the effective date 

of fund coverage. However, the failure of insured health care 

providers to timely remit applicable surcharges to insurers 

and approved self-insurance trust funds for renewal may 

result in lapses of coverage with the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 20:432 (April 1994), LR 

23:69 (January 1997), LR 29:346 (March 2003), amended by the 

Division of Administration, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight 

Board, LR 36:2558 (November 2010), amended by the Office of 

the Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation 

Fund Oversight Board, LR 38:2539 (October 2012). 

§713. Payment of Surcharges: Self-Insureds 

A. Not less than 60 days prior to the termination of 

enrollment of a health care provider, the executive director 

shall cause each self-insured health care provider enrolled 

with the fund and each self-insured health care provider 

having been approved for enrollment with the fund, to 
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receive a statement of surcharges due the fund by the health 

care provider for enrollment with the fund during the 

succeeding enrollment year. 

B. Annual surcharges for initial PCF coverage for self-

insured health care providers for enrollment and 

qualification with the fund shall be due and payable to the 

board on or before the date of initial PCF coverage. 

Surcharges due the board by self-insured health care 

providers for enrollment with the fund for an enrollment 

year shall be due and payable to the board on or before 30 

days following the expiration of the prior enrollment period. 

Remittance of surcharges to the board shall be made in such 

form and accompanied by records in such form or on such 

forms as may be prescribed by the executive director so as to 

provide for proper accounting of remitted surcharges and the 

identity and class of health care provider remitting 

surcharges. 

C. If the instrument used to pay the surcharge is returned 

to the board by the payor institution and/or payment hereon 

is denied for any reason, the health care provider shall be 

notified thereof by the board. If the surcharge and any 

insufficient funds (NSF) charge incurred by the board is not 

paid in full by certified check, cashier's check, money order, 

or cash equivalent funds received by the board within 10 

calendar days of the provider's receipt of said notice, then 

the provider's coverage with the fund shall be terminated as 

of the end of the previous enrollment period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 20:432 (April 1994), LR 

23:69 (January 1997), amended by the Division of Administration, 

Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2559 

(November 2010). 

§715. Amount of Surcharges; Form of Coverage; 

Conversions 

A. A health care provider qualified for enrollment by 

evidence of liability insurance pursuant to §505, or by 

evidence of participation in an approved self-insurance trust 

pursuant to §509, shall pay the most recently approved rate 

which is applicable to his provider type, years enrolled in the 

fund, and which most closely corresponds to the class and 

form of coverage of said primary liability insurance or self-

insurance trust. The form of coverage provided by the board 

shall be identical to that provided by the qualifying policy of 

insurance or self-insurance except where the policy conflicts 

with applicable law or regulation. 

B. A health care provider qualified for enrollment by 

evidence of self-insurance pursuant to §507 shall pay the 

most recently approve fund surcharge amount which is 

applicable to self-insured coverage and to his provider type. 

The form of coverage provided by the fund shall be self-

insured coverage as defined in §109.A of these rules. 

C.1. When a health care provider who had previously 

purchased claims-made coverage from the board elects to 

purchase occurrence coverage from or discontinue 

enrollment in the fund, he shall not have coverage afforded 

by the fund for any claims arising from acts or omissions 

occurring during the fund's claims-made coverage but 

asserted after the termination of the claims-made coverage 

unless he evidences financial responsibility for those claims 

either by purchasing an extended reporting endorsement or 

posting a deposit with the board pursuant to §507 and pays, 

on or before 45 days following the termination of the claims-

made coverage, the surcharge applicable to fund tail 

coverage for the corresponding claims-made period(s). 

2. When a health care provider who had previously 

purchased claims-made coverage from the board elects to 

purchase self-insured coverage from the fund, he shall not 

have coverage afforded for any claims arising from acts or 

omissions occurring during the fund's claims-made coverage 

but asserted after the termination of the claims-made 

coverage, unless he evidences financial responsibility for 

those claims either by purchasing an extended reporting 

endorsement or posting a second deposit with the board 

pursuant to §507 and pays, on or before 45 days following 

the termination of the claims-made coverage, the surcharge 

applicable to fund tail coverage for the corresponding 

claims-made period(s). 

3. In special circumstances, the executive director or 

board may, at its discretion, waive or defer the payment of 

an additional surcharge and allow tail coverage to a provider 

without the payment of the applicable surcharge. Each such 

case requires an individual written request for relief to the 

board, and will be decided on individual circumstances. The 

board's criteria for such decisions shall include, but not be 

limited to: 

a. the reason for such request; 

b. the length and basis of the provider's enrollment 

with the fund; 

c. the potential claims liability to the fund; 

d. the provider's intention to cease or continue to 

practice in Louisiana; and 

e. the potential effects if the fund refuses to allow 

such relief. 

D. When a health care provider who had previously 

purchased claims-made coverage from the fund permanently 

retires from the practice of medicine after 10 consecutive 

years of enrollment, or when an institutional provider and 

any successors who had previously purchased claims-made 

coverage from the fund permanently ceases to do business 

and/or practice medicine after 10 consecutive years of 

coverage, or when a health care provider who had previously 

purchased claims-made from the board dies or becomes 

permanently disabled, then the surcharge to the board for tail 

coverage for claims occurring during the existence of the 

fund claims-made coverage shall be considered to have been 

paid. However, continuous PCF coverage under this rule 

shall only apply if the affected provider or institution 

maintains continuous financial responsibility either through 

insurance coverage or submission of the security required 

for self-insurance under §507, including underlying 
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insurance tail coverage, for the primary $100,000 for each 

claim. Further, this rule shall only apply to the successor of 

an institutional provider to the extent that the predecessor 

business entity was enrolled, and only to the single business 

entity which had been previously enrolled. This rule shall 

not apply to other business entities of the successor provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

23:69 (January 1997), amended LR 29:347 (March 2003), LR 

30:1018 (May 2004), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2539 (October 2012). 

Chapter 9. Scope of Coverage 

§901. Effective Date 

A. A health care provider who qualifies for enrollment 

with the fund by demonstrating financial responsibility 

through professional liability insurance pursuant to §505 of 

these rules or by participation in an approved self-insurance 

trust pursuant to §509 of these rules, shall be deemed to 

become and be enrolled with the fund effective as of the date 

on which the surcharge payable by or on behalf of such 

health care provider is timely collected in accordance with 

§711 hereof and the applicable policies and procedures of 

the insurer or trust for premium payments. If such surcharge 

is not timely collected, the effective date of enrollment with 

the fund shall be the date on which such surcharge is paid to 

the fund, the insurer, agent or trust. 

B. A health care provider who qualifies for enrollment 

with the fund by demonstrating financial responsibility by 

self-insurance pursuant to §507 of these rules, shall be 

deemed to become and be enrolled with the fund effective as 

of the date on which the surcharge payable by or on behalf 

of such health care provider is timely collected by the board 

in accordance with §713 hereof. If such surcharge is not 

timely collected, the effective date of enrollment with the 

fund shall be the date on which such surcharge is collected 

or accepted by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 23:70 (January 1997), LR 

29:347 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2540 (October 2012). 

§903. Term of Enrollment 

A. The enrollment of a health care provider qualified for 

enrollment by evidence of liability insurance pursuant to 

§505 hereof shall expire on and as of the earlier of the date 

on which the policy period of the insurance policy 

evidencing such financial responsibility expires or not more 

than one year from the date on which such health care 

provider’s enrollment became effective. 

B. The enrollment of a health care provider qualified for 

enrollment by evidence of self-insurance pursuant to §507 

hereof shall expire not more than one year from the date on 

which such health care provider's enrollment became 

effective. 

C. The enrollment of a health care provider qualified for 

enrollment by evidence of participation in approved self-

insurance trust pursuant to §509 of these rules shall expire 

on and as of the earlier of the date on which the health care 

provider ceases to be a participating member of such trust or 

not more than one year from the date on which such health 

care provider's enrollment became effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:177 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2540 (October 2012).  

§905. Scope of Coverage: Insureds 

A. With respect to health care providers enrolled with the 

fund by evidence of liability insurance pursuant to §505 

hereof, subject to the limitation of liability prescribed by the 

Act, the fund shall be liable for compensation for claims 

asserted against the health care provider only within the 

scope of coverage afforded by, and subject to the limitations 

and exclusions of, the policy of professional liability 

insurance evidencing the health care provider's financial 

responsibility and subject to the payment of the applicable 

surcharges. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:177 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2541 (October 2012).  

§907. Scope of Coverage: Self-Insureds 

A. With respect to health care providers enrolled with the 

fund by evidence of self-insurance pursuant to §507 hereof, 

the fund shall be obligated to pay compensation to the extent 

provided by the Act only with respect to claims arising from 

an incident which occurred during the effective period of 

enrollment, regardless of whether the provider was actively 

enrolled on the date on which the claim was reported, so 

long as the provider continues to meet the financial 

responsibility requirements of R.S. 40:1299.42 for continued 

qualification. 

B. The fund's obligation for compensation shall extend 

to the vicarious liability of an enrolled health care provider 

for acts or omissions of any employee or agent of the 

provider when acting within the course and scope of his or 

her employment, except any employee individually eligible 

for enrollment with the fund employed by the health 

provider when such employed person is not enrolled with the 

fund. The fund's obligation for compensation does not and 

shall not extend to any liability or obligation of a health care 

provider, which the health care provider has assumed or 

undertaken by contract or agreement, to indemnify, defend 

or hold harmless any other person, firm or corporation. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:177 (February 1992), amended LR 23:70 (January 1997), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2541 (October 2012).  

§909. Scope of Coverage: Self-Insurance Trusts 

A. With respect to health care providers enrolled with the 

fund by evidence of participation in an approved self-

insurance trust pursuant to §509 hereof, subject to the 

limitation of liability prescribed by the Act, the fund shall be 

liable for compensation for claims asserted against the health 

care provider only within the scope of coverage afforded by, 

and subject to the limitations and exclusions of, the self-

insurance trust instrument evidencing the health care 

provider's financial responsibility and subject to the payment 

of the applicable surcharges. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:177 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2541 (October 2012). 

Chapter 11. Reporting 

§1101. Notice of Claims, Reserves, Proposed Settlement 

A. Within 90 days of the date on which a malpractice 

claim is asserted, or of the date on which a claim that may 

reasonably impact the fund becomes probable of assertion, 

against an enrolled health care provider, the health care 

provider, or the health care provider's liability insurer, shall 

give notice of such claim to the executive director, if the 

executive director has not previously received notice of the 

claim or medical review panel request. Such notice shall 

include identification of the person or persons asserting the 

claim, the nature of the claim, the circumstances surrounding 

and the date or dates of the occurrences giving rise to the 

claim. Such notice shall also advise of the name and address 

of the attorney at law, if any, retained by the health care 

provider or his or its insurer to represent the health care 

provider in defense of the claim. If an attorney has not been 

retained by the health care provider or insurer at the time of 

such notice, notice shall thereafter be given to the executive 

director within 10 days of the retention of an attorney to 

represent the health care provider. 

B. Upon the assertion of a claim that may reasonably 

exceed the limitation of liability afforded the health care 

provider under the Act against an insured health care 

provider enrolled with the fund or against a self-insured 

health care provider which establishes reserves against 

individual claims, the health care provider or his or its 

insurer, as the case may be, shall promptly give notice to the 

executive director of the amount of indemnity that has been 

established and allocated to the claim by the health care 

provider or insurer. Within 30 days of the adjustment or 

modification of any such reserve, a health care provider or 

insurer shall give notice of such adjustment or modification 

to the executive director. 

C. Each health care provider enrolled with the fund, or 

the insurer of an enrolled health care provider on behalf of 

such health care provider, shall give not less than 10 days 

prior written notice to the executive director of any proposed 

compromise or settlement of a malpractice claim asserted 

against the health care provider. 

D. Within 20 days of the receipt of a malpractice claim 

against an enrolled health care provider in the form of a 

lawsuit, the health care provider, or the health care provider's 

liability insurer, shall furnish a copy of the lawsuit to the 

PCF. The health care provider, or the health care provider's 

liability insurer, shall also furnish to the PCF within 20 days 

of receipt, a copy of all amending pleadings related to the 

lawsuit. In any civil action or proceeding in which a health 

care provider files a dilatory exception of prematurity 

pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure Article 926(A)(1), said 

health care provider shall send a copy of the exception and 

the petition for damages to the board, via certified mail, 

return receipt requested, concurrently with serving the 

parties to the civil action or proceeding. 

E. Upon filing a petition for damages in court for bodily 

injuries to or death of a patient on account of medical 

malpractice, the claimant shall send, by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, a copy of said petition for damages to the 

board. The claimant shall also provide written notice to the 

board of the trial date in such proceeding. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:177 (February 1992), amended LR 29:348 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2541 (October 2012).  

§1103. Claims Experience Reporting: Insurers, 

Institutions and Self-Insured 

A. On or before August 1 of each year, each insurance 

company, approved risk retention group, and approved self-

insurance trust fund then providing professional health care 

liability insurance to any health care providers enrolled with 

the fund, and each enrolled self-insured health care provider 

shall file with the fund, through the executive director, a 

summary of the health care liability claims experience of 

such health care provider or insurer fully developed for each 

of the most recently concluded 5 calendar years or for such 

fewer years as the health care provider or insurer has 

engaged in business in the state. Claims experience data 

filed by insurance companies shall include data for all health 

care providers insured by such insurer in the state and 

enrolled with the fund. 

B. The reports required by this rule shall contain such 

information and data and shall be made and filed upon and 

in accordance with such forms, instructions, and array as 

may be specified and supplied by the executive director, all 

of which shall be distributed to those required to report no 
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later than the preceding April 1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:178 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2542 (October 2012). 

§1105. Noncompliance; Failure to Report 

A. Noncompliance with the reporting and notice 

requirements prescribed by these rules shall be deemed 

adequate and sufficient legal grounds for the cancellation 

and termination of enrollment of any enrollee of the fund. 

The executive director shall give written notice via certified 

mail to any health care provider and if applicable, the insurer 

or trust which, being required to provide reports under these 

rules, fails to do so within the time specified. The enrollment 

of a health care provider who does not submit, or have 

submitted by his insurer, trust or legal representative, the 

required reports in proper form may be terminated 30 days 

following the mailing of such notice by the executive 

director if the health care provider has not before such date 

filed the required reports in proper form. 

B. Noncompliance with the reporting and notice 

requirements prescribed by these rules shall be deemed 

adequate and sufficient legal grounds for the cancellation 

and termination of the enrollment of any self-insured health 

care provider, approved risk retention group or  

self-insurance trust failing or refusing to report as required 

by these rules. The executive director shall give written 

notice by certified mail to any self-insured health care 

provider which, being required to provide reports under 

these rules, fails to do so within the time specified. The 

enrollment of a health care provider who does not submit the 

required reports in proper form may be terminated 30 days 

following the mailing of such notice by the executive 

director if the health care provider has not before such date 

filed the required reports in proper form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:178 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2542 (October 2012). 

§1107. Confidentiality 

A. All reports, notices, communications, information, 

records, and data made or given to the executive director, the 

board or to their agents or contractors pursuant to the 

provisions of Chapter 11 shall be deemed privileged and 

confidential by and in the possession of the executive 

director, the board and/or their agents and contractors, and 

unless ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction after a 

contradictory hearing, shall not be disclosed to any third 

party pursuant to request, subpoena, or otherwise without the 

express written authorization and consent of the person, 

office, or entity making or giving, or originally possessing 

any such reports, notices, communications, information, 

records, or data. This rule shall not, however, prohibit 

disclosure or publication after prior consent of the board of 

aggregated information or data from which information or 

data relative to individual health care providers may not be 

discerned. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:178 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2542 (October 2012). 

Chapter 13. Fund Data Collection, 

Maintenance; Accounting and 

Reporting 

§1301. Fund Data Collection, Maintenance 

A. All information and data collected by or reported to 

the board relating to the administration, operation, or 

defense of the fund shall be recorded and maintained by the 

board. All of such information and data shall, to the extent 

reasonably possible, be electronically computer database 

stored and maintained so as to be readily and efficiently 

accessible for utilization in the processing of applications for 

enrollment, in establishment and adjustment of claim 

reserves and reserves for incurred but not reported claims, in 

the preparation and analysis of claims experience data in 

connection with the development of surcharge rate filings, 

and in the defense of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:178 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2542 (October 2012). 

§1303. Fund Accounting 

A. The executive director shall be responsible for 

maintaining accounts and records for the board as may be 

necessary and appropriate to accurately reflect the financial 

condition of the fund on a continuing basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:178 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s’ Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2542 (October 2012). 

§1305. Annual Budget 

A. The executive director shall annually project revenue 

and expense budgets for the fund for the succeeding fiscal 

year in accordance with the provisions of  

R.S. 40:1299.44(A)(5)(f). Such budget shall reflect all 

revenues projected to be collected or received by or accruing 

to the fund during such fiscal year, together with the 

projected expenses of the administration, operation, and 

defense of the fund and satisfaction of its liabilities and 
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obligations. Such budgets shall be submitted to the board for 

its approval, and as approved by the board, submitted on or 

before the following January 1 to the joint legislative 

committee on the budget, Senate Judiciary A, House Civil 

Law and Procedures, Legislative Auditor, Division of 

Administration and the legislative fiscal office, in 

accordance with R.S. 40:1299.44(A)(5)(f). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:178 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2543 (October 2012). 

§1309. Periodic Reports 

A. The executive director shall prepare or cause to be 

prepared statements of the financial condition of the fund at 

least quarterly and shall post such reports on the board’s 

website. Such statement may be prepared, at the election of 

the executive director, in accordance with generally accepted 

accounting principles relating to accounting for 

governmental funds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:179 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2543 (October 2012).  

§1311. Annual Report 

A. Each year, the executive director shall cause to be 

prepared an annual statement of the financial condition of 

the fund, which statement shall be in the form of the annual 

report required to be filed by the Division of Administration 

and the Legislative Auditor. Such statement shall be 

submitted to the board, Division of Administration and the 

legislative auditor. Such statement shall be a public record 

and posted on the board’s website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:179 (February 1992), amended LR 19:204 (February 1993), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2543 (October 2012). 

Chapter 14. Medical Review Panels 

§1401. Procedure 

A. Except as otherwise provided by the Act, all 

malpractice claims against health care providers shall be 

reviewed by a medical review panel. The composition and 

operation of a medical review panel shall be in accordance 

with R.S. 40:1299.47. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

29:348 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2543 (October 2012). 

§1403. Malpractice Complaint 

A. A "request for review of a malpractice claim" or 

"malpractice complaint" shall contain, at a minimum: 

1. a request for the formation of a medical review 

panel; 

2. full name of only one patient for whom, or on 

whose behalf, the request for review is being filed; however, 

if the claim involves the care of a pregnant mother and her 

unborn child, then naming only the mother as the patient 

shall be sufficient; 

3. full name(s) of the claimant(s); 

4. full name(s) of defendant health care providers; 

5. date(s) of alleged malpractice; 

6. brief description of alleged malpractice as to each 

named defendant; and 

7. brief description of alleged injuries. 

B. The request for review of a malpractice claim shall be 

deemed filed on the date of receipt of the complaint stamped 

and certified by the board or on the date of mailing of the 

complaint if mailed to the board by certified or registered 

mail. 

C. Within 15 days of receiving a malpractice complaint, 

the board shall: 

1. confirm to the claimant that the malpractice 

complaint has been officially received and whether or not 

the named defendant(s) are qualified for the malpractice 

claim;  

2. notify all named defendant(s) that a malpractice 

complaint requesting the formation of a medical review 

panel has been filed against them and forward a copy of the 

malpractice complaint to each named defendant at his last 

and usual place of residence or his office; 

3. if the malpractice complaint does not contain all of 

the required information set forth in paragraph (A) of this 

section, notify the claimant(s) that the malpractice complaint 

has been received but does not comply with this section and 

indicate what additional information is required and a 

reasonable time limit for submitting such additional 

information; and 

4. notify the claimant(s) if verification of employment 

or renewal of fund coverage must be obtained for a named 

defendant health care provider for fund qualification to be 

determined. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

29:348 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2543 (October 2012). 
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§1405. Attorney Chairman 

A. An attorney chairman of a medical review panel is to 

be chosen by the parties according to  

R.S. 40:1299.47.(A)(2)(c). An attorney chairman must be 

selected within one year from the date the request for review 

of the claim was filed. If, after one year, an attorney 

chairman has not been secured, the board shall send notice 

by certified mail to the claimant or the claimant's attorney 

stating that the claim will be dismissed after 90 days if no 

attorney chairman is appointed. If no attorney chairman is 

selected within 90 days of the certified notice, the board 

shall dismiss the claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

29:348 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2544 (October 2012). 

Chapter 15. Defense of the Fund 

§1501. Claims Defense 

A. Through its executive director, the board shall be 

responsible for the administration and processing of claims 

against and legal defense of claims against the fund. The 

executive director shall be responsible, and accountable to 

the board, for coordination and management of defense of 

the fund against claims to the extent of the responsibilities 

imposed on the board by the Act. Without limitation on the 

scope of such responsibility, the executive director shall be 

responsible for: 

1. evaluating all malpractice claims made under the 

Act against enrolled health care providers to the potential 

liability of the fund; 

2. recommending, fixing, establishing, and 

periodically modifying, as required, appropriate reserves 

against claims made against enrolled health care providers or 

the fund, subject to the approval of the board; 

3. retaining, subject to qualifications and standards 

prescribed by the board, and supervising the services of 

attorneys at law to defend the fund against claims; 

4. review and approval of fee and costs statements for 

services rendered by attorneys at law retained to defend the 

fund, ensuring that such statements accurately reflect 

services reasonably necessary or appropriate to the defense 

of the fund; 

5. supervision and coordination of the defense of 

claims against or involving the fund by attorneys retained 

and representing enrolled health care providers; 

6. negotiating and recommending reasonable and 

appropriate compromises and settlements of the fund's 

liability respecting any claim against the fund; 

7. maintenance of current, accurate, and complete 

records and data on all pending and concluded claims 

against or involving the fund;  

8. retaining an appropriately qualified claims manager 

or principal assistant and delegating to such claims manager 

those duties and responsibilities as deemed appropriate by 

the executive director; and 

9. the discharge and performance of such other duties, 

responsibilities, functions, and activities as are delegated by 

the board. 

B. All authority for the defense of the fund vested in the 

board by the Act is hereby delegated to the executive 

director. In the exercise of such authority, the executive 

director shall be accountable to, and subject to the 

superseding authority of, the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:179 (February 1992), amended LR 29:348 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2544 (October 2012). 

§1503. Claims Accounting 

A. All expenses incurred in the legal defense, 

disposition, payment on individual claims, judgments, or 

settlements shall be accounted for and allocated among such 

respective claims.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:179 (February 1992), amended LR 29:348 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2544 (October 2012). 

§1505. Claim Reserves 

A. Within 30 days of receipt of notice of a claim against 

or potentially involving liability of the fund, the board may 

establish a reserve against such claim representing the total 

amount of compensation and compensation adjustment 

expenses which the fund is anticipated to be liable for and 

incur in respect of and allocable to such claim. Reserves 

respecting individual claims against the fund shall be 

established in consultation, as appropriate, with legal 

counsel representing the board with respect to such claim, 

with legal counsel for the enrolled health care providers 

against whom the claim is primarily asserted, and with 

claims personnel managing such claim for the commercial 

insurers of the enrolled health care providers against whom 

the claim is asserted. Reserves respecting individual claims 

against the fund shall be adjusted from time to time as 

changing circumstances or evaluations may warrant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:180 (February 1992), amended LR 29:349 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2544 (October 2012). 
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§1507. Settlement of Claims 

A. Claims against the fund may be compromised and 

settled upon the recommendation of the executive director 

and the approval of the board. The executive director shall, 

however, have authority, without the necessity of prior 

approval by the board, to compromise and settle any 

individual claim against the fund for an amount not 

exceeding $25,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:180 (February 1992), amended LR 29:349 (March 2003), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2544 (October 2012). 

§1509. Privileged Communications, Records 

A. All communications made and documents, records, 

and data developed between, by, or among the board, 

executive director, Office of Risk Management, PCF general 

counsel, the Attorney General or his representative, 

contracted legal counsel, and enrolled health care providers 

and their insurers respecting malpractice claims asserted 

against enrolled health care providers or the fund shall be 

deemed privileged and confidential and, unless so ordered 

by a court of competent jurisdiction after a contradictory 

hearing, shall not be disclosed to any third party pursuant to 

request, subpoena, or otherwise, without the express written 

authorization and consent of the person, office, or entity 

making any such communication or originally possessing 

any such documents, records, or data. This rule shall not, 

however, prohibit disclosure or publication by the board of 

aggregated information or data from which information or 

data relative to individual health care providers or individual 

claims may not be discerned. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:180 (February 1992), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2545 (October 2012). 

Chapter 19. Future Medical Care and 

Related Benefits 

§1901. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of Chapter 19 provide for and govern the 

administration and payment by the fund of future medical 

care and related benefits for patients deemed to be in need of 

future care and related benefits pursuant to a final judgment 

issued by a court of competent jurisdiction or agreed to in a 

settlement reached between a patient and the fund. 

B. The rules of Chapter 19 shall be applicable to all 

malpractice claims, including those brought under  

R.S. 40:1299.39. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1566 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1888 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2545 (October 2012). 

§1903. Definitions 

Administrative Hearinghearing held in response to a 

request or complaint by a patient in need of future medical 

care or his/her representative, that the fund has failed or 

refused to pay for medical care or related benefits. The 

hearing shall be conducted before at least three board 

members.  

Future Medical Care and Related Benefits―all reasonable 

medical, surgical, hospitalization, physical rehabilitation, 

and custodial services, and includes drugs, prosthetic 

devices, and other similar materials reasonably necessary in 

the provision of such services. The fund's obligation to 

provide these benefits or to reimburse the claimant for those 

benefits is limited to the lesser of the amount billed therefor 

or the maximum amount allowed under the reimbursement 

schedule. 

Reimbursement Schedule―the most recent reimbursement 

schedules promulgated by the Department of Labor, Office 

of Workers' Compensation pursuant to R.S. 23:1034.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1566 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1888 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2545 (October 2012). 

§1905. Obligation of the Fund 

A. The fund shall provide and/or fund the cost of all 

future medical care and related benefits in the amounts 

provided herein, after the date of the accident and continuing 

as long as medical or surgical attention is reasonably 

necessary, that are made necessary by the health care 

provider's malpractice, pursuant to a final judgment issued 

by a court of competent jurisdiction or as agreed to in a 

settlement reached between a patient and the fund, unless the 

patient refuses to allow the future medical care and related 

benefits to be furnished. 

B. The fund acknowledges that a court is required 

neither to choose the best medical treatment nor the most 

cost-efficient treatment for a patient. The intent of Chapter 

19 is to distinguish between those devices which are 

reasonably necessary to a patient's treatment and those 

which are devices of convenience or non-essential specialty 

items for a patient, and to provide for the maximum 

allowable reimbursement for those necessary future medical 

care and related benefits. However, the fund shall not pay for 

repairs for or replacement of durable medical equipment, 

vehicles or residential modifications or renovations. 

C. Pursuant to the Act, the board has been, expressly 

and/or implicitly, vested with the responsibility and authority 

for the management, administration, operation, and defense 
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of the fund and, as a prudent administrator, it must insure 

that all future medical care costs and related benefits are 

reasonable and commensurate with the usual and customary 

costs of such care in the patient's community. Therefore, the 

amount paid by the fund for future medical care and related 

benefits shall be the lesser of the amount billed for said care 

or benefit or the maximum amount allowed under the 

reimbursement schedule. 

D. Payments for future medical care and related benefits 

shall be paid by the fund without regard to the $500,000 

limitation imposed in R.S. 40:1299.42. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1566 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1888 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2545 (October 2012). 

§1907. Claims for Future Medical Care and Related 

Benefits 

A. A patient, who is deemed to be in need of future 

medical care and related benefits pursuant to a final 

judgment issued by a court of competent jurisdiction or as 

agreed to in a settlement reached between the patient and the 

fund, may make a claim to the fund through the board for 

future medical care and related benefits as incurred by the 

patient and made necessary by the health care provider's 

malpractice. 

B. If a patient's claim for future medical care and related 

benefits is disputed or payment of the amount thereof has 

been denied by the board, then the matter may be referred to 

the board for an administrative hearing. 

C.1. The following administrative hearing process shall 

be followed when such is requested by the claimant or the 

claimant’s representative. The claimant desiring to institute a 

hearing shall prepare and file with the board a complaint 

setting forth: 

a. the name and address of each respondent; 

b. a statement, in ordinary and concise language, of 

the facts upon which the complaint is based, together with 

supporting evidentiary material, including but not limited to, 

whenever applicable, particular reference to the statute or 

statutes, or rules, regulations, and orders that the claimant 

alleges have been violated. 

2. Such complaint will be sent to the general counsel 

for the board who will contact all parties to determine the 

date of the hearing. The hearing panel will consist of at least 

three board members. The parties may provide any evidence 

they deem necessary and may call witnesses to give 

testimony that bears upon the issues. A court reporter will be 

present to record the hearing and to administer the necessary 

oaths to any witnesses. Each party will be allowed to make a 

brief opening statement, present evidence and cross-exam 

any witnesses. The panel members will be allowed to ask 

questions of both parties and any witnesses. All parties will 

be allowed to make a closing statement. Following the 

closing statements, the panel members will meet in private 

to reach a decision. Findings of fact and decision of the 

panel will be put in written form and presented to the board 

in executive session for a final determination and vote. The 

final decision will be forwarded to the claimant or their 

representative and the fund’s counsel.  

3. Should the claimant or their representative disagree 

with the decision reached through the administrative hearing 

process, they may file a petition in the 19th judicial district 

court in accordance with §1931 of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1566 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2546 (October 2012). 

§1909. Attorneys; Medical Experts; Architects; 

Adjusters 

A.1. An attorney chosen to represent the fund pursuant 

to §1907 shall be an independent contractor, shall meet all 

applicable requirements for an outside contractor retained by 

the state of Louisiana, and shall be chosen by the executive 

director or his designee. The attorney shall be licensed to 

practice law in the state of Louisiana. 

2. Once a matter involving future medical care and 

related benefits is referred to an attorney, then the attorney 

shall be responsible for the matter to the extent of the 

assignment. The attorney shall issue status reports to the 

claims adjuster at least every 90 days until the matter is 

concluded. 

3. The attorney chosen to represent the fund may 

recommend any and all possible remedies to the fund and 

may hire or retain experts, subject to prior approval by the 

fund. The attorney shall utilize legal staff, including 

paralegals, nurse/paramedical personnel, clerks, and 

investigators, where necessary. With prior approval from the 

claims supervisor, the attorney may appoint a case manager 

in cases where no case manager has been appointed. 

B. Medical experts may be retained directly by the fund 

for evaluation, diagnosis, or with patient consent or by court 

order, for treatment of the patient. All medical experts 

retained by the fund shall be licensed or otherwise certified 

by the state of Louisiana. However, consulting physicians, 

licensed to practice in states other than Louisiana, may be 

retained by the fund only if they are board-certified in the 

applicable area of specialty. 

C. Architects with special expertise in medical facility 

design, contractors, and other building trade experts may be 

retained directly by the fund in future medical care cases 

involving issues of residential modifications or renovations. 

Architects retained by the fund shall be licensed by the state 

of Louisiana. Contractors retained by the fund shall be 

licensed or certified as general contractors by the state of 

Louisiana. Architects and contractors retained by the fund 
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shall also possess experience in the design and construction 

of medical facility and/or barrier free residences. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1566 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2546 (October 2012). 

§1911. Examinations; Notice Requirements 

A. The fund shall be entitled to have a patient submit to a 

physical or mental examination, by a health care provider of 

the fund's choice, from time to time, to determine the 

patient's continued need of future medical care and related 

benefits, or the level of medical care needed, subject to the 

following requirements. 

1. Notice, in writing, shall be delivered to or served 

upon the patient or the patient's counsel of record, specifying 

the time and place where the examination will be conducted. 

Delivery of the notice may be by certified mail or by hand 

delivery. Such notice shall be given at least 10 days prior to 

the time stated in the notice. 

2. The place at which the examination is to be 

conducted shall not involve an unreasonable amount of 

travel for the patient, considering all of the circumstances. 

3. It shall not be necessary for a patient who resides 

outside of Louisiana to come to this state for an examination, 

unless so ordered by the court. 

4. The examination shall be conducted by a health 

care provider licensed by the state of Louisiana or by the 

state wherein the patient resides. 

B. Examinations may not be required by the fund more 

frequently than at six-month intervals except that, upon 

application to the court having jurisdiction of the claim and 

for reasonable cause shown therefor, examinations within a 

shorter interval may be ordered. 

C. Within 30 days after the examination, the patient shall 

be compensated, by the party requesting the examination, for 

all necessary and reasonable expenses incidental to 

submitting to the examination, including the reasonable 

costs of travel, meals, lodging, or other direct expenses as 

provided elsewhere in these regulations. 

D. The patient shall be entitled to have a health care 

provider or an attorney of his choice, or both, present at the 

examination. The patient shall pay such health care provider 

or attorney himself. 

E. The patient shall be promptly furnished with a copy 

of the report of the examination made by the health care 

provider conducting the examination on behalf of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, 

LR19:1567 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2546 (October 2012). 

§1913. Choice of Health Care Provider 

A. A patient entitled to future medical care and related 

benefits, as determined under Chapter 19, shall be entitled to 

evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment by the health care 

providers of the patient's choice provided, however, that the 

health care provider rendering such evaluation, diagnosis, or 

treatment shall be licensed to practice medicine in Louisiana 

or by the state in which the patient resides. Notwithstanding 

the patient's right to choose his health care provider, the 

amount which the fund shall be required to pay or reimburse 

any healthcare provider shall be the lesser of the provider's 

billed amount or the reimbursement schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1567 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001). 

§1915. Psychological /Psychiatric Treatment and 

Counseling 

A. The fund will provide and/or fund, at the lesser of the 

billed amount or the maximum amount allowed under the 

reimbursement schedule, psychiatric/psychological testing, 

evaluation, diagnosis and treatment of a patient entitled to 

future medical care and related benefits, as determined under 

Chapter 19, where these medical services are reasonable and 

are made necessary by the health care provider's malpractice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1567 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001). 

§1917. Nursing Care; Sitter Care 

A. The fund will provide and/or fund, at the lesser of the 

billed amount or the maximum amount allowed under the 

reimbursement schedule, inpatient or outpatient nursing or 

sitter care when such care is required to provide reasonable 

medical, surgical, hospitalization, physical rehabilitation, or 

custodial services made necessary by the health care 

provider's malpractice, subject to the following limitations. 

1. All nursing or sitter care shall be specifically 

prescribed or ordered by a patient's treating health care 

provider. 

2. All nursing or sitter care shall be rendered by a 

licensed and/or qualified registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse or by a sitter, a member of the patient's 

family or household, or other person as specifically 

approved by the fund. 

3. There shall be a presumption that the person 

rendering nursing or sitter care is qualified if the treating 

health care provider issues a statement that that person is 

competent and qualified to render the nursing or sitter care 

required by the patient. 
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4. All claims for nursing or sitter care payments, 

including those for family members providing such care, 

must include a signed, detailed statement by the person 

rendering nursing or sitter care, setting forth the date, time, 

and type of care rendered to and for the patient. 

B.1. Providers of nursing or sitter care shall be funded, 

at the lesser of the billed amount or the maximum amount 

allowed under the reimbursement schedule. If the 

reimbursement schedule contains no applicable rate for such 

care, then the care shall be funded at the lesser of the billed 

amount or the usual and customary rate charged by similarly 

licensed or qualified healthcare providers in a patient's home 

state, city, or town. However, nursing or sitter care provided 

by members of the patient's family or household will be 

funded at a rate not to be less than the federal minimum 

hourly wage rate as may be revised from time to time 

regardless of the licensure or qualification of the provider. 

2. However, notwithstanding the foregoing, future 

nursing or sitter care provided by members of the patient's 

family or household will be funded at a rate not to exceed 

the equivalent of $6 per hour plus inflation at the annual 

consumer price index published by the United States Bureau 

of Labor Statistics for each year beginning in November 

2001. However, at no time will the hourly rate paid be below 

the federal minimum hourly wage rate as may be revised 

from time to time. 

C. The fund shall be entitled to periodic inspections or 

assessments of the physical environment in which the 

nursing or sitter care is being rendered. The fund may seek a 

judicial ruling to discontinue the payments for future 

medical care and related benefits if, upon inspection and 

recommendation of a licensed or qualified health care 

provider, it is determined that the physical environment in 

which the nursing or sitter care being rendered is inadequate 

or inappropriate and not in the best interest of the patient. 

D. The fund may seek a judicial ruling to discontinue the 

payments for future medical care and related benefits if, 

upon a physical or mental examination of the patient, 

pursuant to §1911, and recommendation of a licensed or 

qualified health care provider, it is determined that the 

nursing or sitter care being rendered is inadequate or 

inappropriate and not in the best interest of the patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1567 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2547 (October 2012). 

§1919. Treatment Protocol 

A. In cases where the future medical needs of the patient 

are so great that multi-disciplinary, long-term acute care is 

needed by the patient, and the patient and/or the patient's 

family, tutor, legal guardian or care givers are deemed to be 

incapable of determining what treatment is necessary, then 

the fund may retain a case manager to develop a treatment 

protocol for the patient. The patient, or the person legally 

responsible for the patient, will be provided with a copy of 

the written treatment protocol and will be asked to consent 

to the treatment or course of treatment proposed by the 

protocol prior to implementation of the protocol. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1568 (December 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2547 (October 2012). 

§1921. Vehicles 

A. The fund will provide and/or fund the cost of standard 

modified vehicles or specialized modified vehicles to 

patients entitled to receive future medical care and related 

benefits under §1921, when ownership and use of such 

vehicles are reasonably necessary in providing reasonable 

medical, surgical, hospitalization, physical rehabilitation, or 

custodial services made necessary by the health care 

provider's malpractice. The vehicles described herein are 

standard model, modified passenger vehicles of domestic 

manufacture or standard model, modified vans of domestic 

manufacture. Alternatively, and at the fund's option, the fund 

will provide and/or fund modifications to the patient's 

vehicle when such modifications are reasonably necessary in 

the provision of such services. 

B. The choice of vehicle, vendor of the vehicle, 

modifications thereto, and inclusion or exclusion of option 

items on these vehicles will be at the sole discretion of the 

fund. 

C. The fund will not provide nor fund the cost of any 

type of insurance for any such vehicle and will not provide 

nor fund the maintenance or operating costs on any vehicle 

modified by the fund or provided by the fund. The fund will 

fund repairs to the handicap modifications to the vehicle, 

unless such damage was intentional. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1568 (December 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2547 (October 2012). 

§1923. Ancillary Cost; Mileage 

A. The fund will reimburse a patient (or the patient's 

family or care givers) entitled to future medical care and 

related benefits under §1923 for actual out-of-pocket 

ancillary costs of medical treatment and/or care to the patient 

including, but not limited to, the actual costs of  

over-the-counter medicines and patient aids, the reasonable 

costs of hotel/motel accommodations and meals associated 

with physician appointments or treatment, when such costs 

are made necessary by the health care provider's malpractice. 

B.1. Vehicle Not Provided by the Fund. The fund will 

reimburse a patient (or the patient's family or care givers) 

entitled to future medical care and related benefits under 
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§1923 for actual mileage to and from physician 

appointments or treatment at a rate not to exceed $0.24 per 

mile or the current mileage rate allowance under applicable 

state guidelines. 

2. Vehicle Provided by the Fund 

a. Fund Reimbursement. Notwithstanding 

Paragraph B.1 or §1921.C, above, when the fund has 

furnished the vehicle to a patient, the fund will reimburse 

that patient (or that patient's family or care givers) who is 

entitled to future medical care and related benefits under 

§1923, for actual mileage to and from physician 

appointments or other testing or treatment, at a rate equal to 

50 percent of the then applicable mileage rate. 

b. Fund Credit for Non-Covered Usage. When the 

vehicle has been provided by the fund and the fund is 

required to reimburse for medically-related usage, the fund 

shall, however, be entitled to a credit, at the same mileage 

rate, for any use of the vehicle which is not eligible for 

reimbursement. 

C. The level of expense reimbursement pursuant to 

§1923 shall not exceed the maximum allowable expenses 

under applicable state guidelines set forth in the Travel 

Regulations, P.P.M. 49, Louisiana Register, Vol. 16, Number 

7, p. 582 or, in the case of reimbursement under Paragraph 

B.2 above, 50 percent of that amount. 

D. Patients shall provide actual receipts or signed 

statements verifying the reasonable mileage for odometer 

readings to receive reimbursements pursuant to §1923. 

Expenses for hotel /motel accommodations and meals 

associated with physician appointments or treatment shall 

not be reimbursed without prior approval by the fund. In 

addition, all such reimbursements shall be made in 

accordance with State Travel Regulations in force at the time 

of the travel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1568 (December 1993), amended LR 27:1889 (November 

2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 

Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

38:2547 (October 2012). 

§1925. Modifications/Renovations to Patient's 

Residence 

A. The fund will provide and/or fund the cost of 

modifications to a patient's residence which are reasonably 

necessary in providing reasonable medical, physical 

rehabilitation, and custodial services for the patient and 

which are made necessary by the health care provider's 

malpractice. The fund will not provide nor fund the cost of 

devices of convenience. 

B. Upon request by the patient and/or the patient's family 

or care givers for modifications, there will be a meeting with 

the claims manager to determine specifically what 

modifications should be made to the home. The claims 

manager and the architect chosen by the fund will then 

review the medical report(s), and then meet to determine 

what action will be taken as to the modifications of the 

home, within the specific guidelines listed below. 

1. The fund will provide and/or fund the cost of 

modifications or renovations to the patient's existing home 

including, but not limited to, modifications of lavatories, 

including handicap accessible toilets, showers, ramps for 

ingress and egress, expanded doorways, and expansion of 

rooms to accommodate medical devices required by the 

patient, which are reasonably necessary for the care and 

rehabilitation of the patient and in accordance with the 

American with Disabilities Act and other applicable 

handicap accessibility standards. 

2. All renovations and/or modifications will be 

designed and built with builders spec or similar grade 

materials from plans drawn and/or approved by an architect 

obtained by the fund. The fund will determine the amount to 

be paid by the fund based on the architect’s 

recommendations and proposals obtained from reputable 

contractors. Any deviations from this amount must be 

preapproved by the fund or borne by the patient or claimant, 

as applicable. 

3. When the fund has provided and/or funded 

modifications or renovations to the home where the patient 

resides, the fund shall retain no interest in that residence. 

Where the home is owned by the patient's parents, relatives, 

care givers, or guardian, the fund reserves the right to 

require the owners of the home to execute a promissory note, 

mortgage, or other instrument of security in favor of the 

patient in an amount equal to the increased value of the 

home, as determined by a qualified appraiser retained by the 

fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1568 (December 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2548 (October 2012). 

§1927. Testimony; Communications 

A. Any health care provider selected and paid by the 

fund who shall make or be present at an examination of the 

patient conducted pursuant to §1911 may be required to 

testify as to the conduct thereof and the findings so made. 

B. Communications made by the patient during the 

examination conducted pursuant to §1911 by the health care 

provider shall not be considered privileged. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1569 (December 1993). 

§1929. Fees and Costs 

A. The fund shall pay all reasonable fees and costs of 

examinations, including the costs and fees of expert 

witnesses in any proceeding, where termination of medical 

care and related benefits is sought. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1569 (December 1993). 

§1931. Attorney Fees 

A. Following the completion of the administrative 

hearing process hereunder, pursuant to its continuing 

jurisdiction, the district court, from which a final judgment 

has been issued in cases where future medical care and 

related benefits have been determined to be needed by a 

patient, shall award reasonable attorney fees to the patient's 

attorney if the court finds that the fund unreasonably failed 

to pay for medical care and related benefits within 30 days 

after submission of a claim for payment of such benefits. 

B. A patient and/or the patient's attorney shall not be 

entitled to attorney fees in any action to enforce rights 

pursuant to §1931.A if the patient fails or refuses to submit 

to examination in accordance with a notice and if the 

requirements of §1911 have been satisfied. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

19:1569 (December 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation Fund 

Oversight Board, LR 38:2548 (October 2012). 

Chapter 21. Rulemaking Petitions  

§2101. Submission of a Rulemaking Petition  

A. In accordance with R.S. 49:953(C)(1), any interested 

person may petition an agency to adopt a new rule, or to 

amend or repeal an existing rule. 

B. To petition the board for changes to the board’s 

current rules, or for the adoption of new rules within the 

board’s purview, an interested person shall submit a written 

petition to the board. The petition shall include: 

1. the petitioner’s name and address; 

2. the name of the promulgating agency for the rule in 

question; 

3. specific text or a description of the proposed 

language desired for the adoption or amendment of a rule, or 

the specific rule and language identified for repeal; 

4. justification for the proposed action; and  

5. the petitioner’s signature. 

C. The rulemaking petition shall be submitted by 

certified mail and addressed to: 

Louisiana Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board  

Attn: Mr. Kenneth H. Schnauder, Executive Director 
Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, Suite 2-300 

Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5343 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation 

Fund Oversight Board, LR 46:182 (February 2020). 

§2103. Consideration of a Rulemaking Petition 

A. Upon receipt, a rulemaking petition shall be 

forwarded to the board for review. 

B. Within 90 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, 

the board shall either: 

1. initiate rulemaking procedures to adopt a new rule, 

or to amend or repeal an existing rule; or 

2. notify the petitioner in writing of the denial to 

proceed with rulemaking, stating the reason(s) therefor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1231.4(D)(3), formerly R.S. 40:1299.44(D)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Patient’s Compensation 

Fund Oversight Board, LR 46:182 (February 2020). 
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Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part VII.  Motor Vehicles 

 

Chapter 1. Insurance 

Subchapter A. Self Insurance 

§101. Certificates of Self Insurance 

A. Place of Application. Applications for certificates of 

self-insurance shall be made at the Driver Management 

Bureau, 109 South Foster Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, or 

through the mail by writing to Department of Public Safety, 

Record Management Section, Self-Insurance Unit, Box 

64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896. 

B. Applications 

1. All applications for certificates of self-insurance 

shall be made on Form LC-75 or revisions thereof. In cases 

where the applicant has more than 25 vehicles registered in 

his name, the application shall be accompanied by the 

following items: 

a. a list of all vehicles registered in the name of the 

applicant including the make, model, year, vehicle 

identification number, and current license plate number; 

b. a financial statement of assets, liabilities, and net 

worth in sufficient detail to show that the applicant is 

possessed and will continue to be possessed of the ability to 

pay judgments. 

2. In cases where the applicant has 25 or fewer 

vehicles registered in his name, the application shall be 

accompanied, in addition to Subparagraphs a and b above, 

by the following items: 

a. a statement from the assessor in each parish 

wherein the applicant owns immovable property assessed in 

his name which statement shall include a description of the 

property, the assessed valuation thereof, and whether the 

property is subject to a homestead exemption; 

b. a mortgage certificate on each parcel of property 

listed in response to §101.B.2.a; 

c. an appraisal, in writing, of the fair market value 

of each parcel of property listed in response to §101.B.2.a, 

given by a person qualified to give appraisals in this state. 

C. Issuance. The department shall have 30 days from the 

date of filing of the application either to issue or deny the 

application. Failure to deny within that time shall be 

considered the same as issuance of the certificate. Issuance 

shall be evidenced by a written certificate signed by the 

secretary, or his designated representative, and mailed to the 

applicant at the address given on the application. 

D. Limitation on Issuance. No certificate shall be issued 

to any applicant whose net worth, as shown in the 

application, is less than the sum obtained by multiplying 

$10,000 by the number of vehicles registered in applicant's 

name and adding $5,000 thereto. 

E. Renewal. Every person to whom a certificate of  

self-insurance has been issued shall reapply annually, as 

provided above, on or before July 1, except that a parcel of 

property once having been appraised need not be reappraised 

more often than every five years. Failure to reapply timely or 

the filing of false information regarding the applicant's 

financial condition shall be grounds for cancellation of the 

certificate under §101.F. 

F. Cancellation. Upon not less than five days notice and 

a hearing pursuant to such notice, the Department of Public 

Safety may, upon reasonable grounds, cancel a certificate of 

self-insurance. Failure to pay a judgment within 30 days 

after such judgment shall have become final shall constitute 

a reasonable ground for the cancellation of a certificate of 

self-insurance. 

G. Hearings. Hearings called pursuant to §101.F, shall be 

conducted by the secretary or his designated representative 

in accordance with the administrative rules of the 

Department of Public Safety. 

H. Appeals. Any person whose application is denied or 

whose certificate is canceled may apply for judicial review 

as provided in R.S. 32:852. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1042. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 4:296 (August 1978). 
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Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part IX.  Agricultural Commodities 

 

Chapter 1. Self-Insurance Fund 

§101. Definitions 

A. As used in this Part: 

Applicant―any person, firm, corporation, or other legal 

entity seeking the issuance of a warehouse license, cotton 

merchant, or grain dealer license from the commission or a 

renewal thereof. 

Claim―a written notice and/or proof of loss which is 

filed with the Agricultural Commodity Commission Self-

Insurance Program. 

Claimant―any person or entity who, in writing, alleges 

a loss covered under the Agricultural Commodity 

Commission Self-Insurance Program. 

Fee―with respect to the self-insurance fund, means the 

charge imposed by the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities 

Commission for participation in the self-insurance program, 

as contemplated in R.S. 3:3410.1.C. 

Insurance―with respect to the self-insurance fund, 

means the amount of annual coverage the self-insurance 

program will provide to each warehouse and grain dealer 

licensee participating in the program. 

Licensee―any person holding or required to hold a 

license as warehouse or grain dealer issued by the 

commission. 

Loss―a licensee's failure to perform one or more legal 

obligations directly related to licensee's business, which 

failure results in damages to one or more producers, one or 

more holders of warehouse receipts, or the Commodities 

Credit Corporation. 

Self-Insurance Fund―that special fund created in the 

state treasury for the Agricultural Commodity Commission's 

fees or assessments collected by the commission for 

participation in the self-insurance fund. 

B. All other definitions given in R.S. 3:3402 and in the 

regulations are applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 

Commodities Commission, LR 13:234 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-

Consumer Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 

19:1303 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 

(April 1998). 

§103. The Fund 

A. There is hereby created, pursuant to the authority 

granted in R.S. 3:3410.1, a fund to be used for the purposes 

described in the following Subsection hereof, and said fund 

shall be known as the Agricultural Commodities 

Commission Self-Insurance Fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:234 (April 

1987), amended LR 19:1303 (October 1993). 

§105. Purpose 

A. The self-insurance fund is established to guarantee the 

faithful performance of all duties and obligations of licensed 

grain dealers, cotton merchants, and licensed warehouses to 

agricultural producers and holders of state warehouse 

receipts for agricultural commodities and previous holders of 

state warehouse receipts released in trust in order to have 

commodity shipped (open storage), included but not limited 

to Commodity Credit Corporation, banks and lien holders, 

provided however that this fund does not apply to federal 

warehouses with regard to the requirements for federal 

warehouse license and bond. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 

Commodities Commission, LR 13:234 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-

Consumer Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 

19:1303 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 

(April 1998). 

§107. Fees 

A. Fees for participation in said fund may be determined 

and announced annually by the commission, and the 

commission, in doing so, shall consider the self-insurance 

fund's experience and current market conditions affecting the 

financial status of licenses. 

B. Each applicant for a warehouse license and/or cotton 

merchant and/or a grain dealer license who participates in 

the self-insurance fund shall be assessed an annual fee for 

participation in the self-insurance program. Said fee must 

accompany the application for a license, and is not 

refundable unless the license application or renewal is 

denied and, in that event, the fee will be refunded on a pro 

rata basis with the commission retaining a proportionate 

amount for any period during which coverage was provided 

to the applicant. 

C. An applicant who does not pay said fee on or before 

April 30 of the new license year shall pay an additional sum 
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equal to 10 percent of the annual fee. 

D. The amount of the annual fee shall be $500 for a grain 

dealer or cotton merchant licensee. The annual fee for a 

warehouse licensee shall be determined first by calculating 

the amount of bond required of a license under R.S. 

3:34010.C and D. If the required bond is $25,000, then the 

fee shall be $135. If the required bond is over $25,000, then 

the fee shall be $135 plus $4 per each additional $1,000 of 

coverage required. 

E. Whenever the licensed warehouse capacity increases, 

the amount of the fee shall be amended to conform with the 

current licensed capacity of the facility or facilities covered 

by the fee. 

F. For licensees entering the self-insurance fund during 

the license year, the fee shall be based on a pro-rata basis for 

each month of coverage provided. 

G. The commission may require applicants who are 

participating in the self-insurance fund for the first time to 

pay two times the normal fee assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 

Commodities Commission, LR 13:234 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-

Consumer Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 

19:1304 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 

(April 1998). 

§109. Insurance Coverage 

A. Insurance coverage available to the user of a licensed 

operation shall be limited to the amount of the bond required 

by R.S. 3:3410 and/or R.S. 3:3411 and shall be accepted in 

lieu of said bond as follows. 

1. Each licensed grain dealer or cotton merchant shall 

be insured in the total aggregate amount of $50,000 for all 

claims in each licensed year. 

2. Each licensed warehouse shall be insured in an 

amount not less than $25,000 and not more than $500,000 in 

the total aggregate amount in each licensed year as follows: 

a. $0.20 per bushel for the first million bushels of 

licensed capacity; 

b. $0.15 per bushel for the second million bushels 

of licensed capacity; 

c. $0.10 per bushel for all bushels over two million. 

3. For purposes of §109, one CWT shall equal 2.22 

bushels, and one barrel shall equal 3.6 bushels. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 

Commodities Commission, LR 13:234 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 24:626 (April 1998). 

§111. Claim Provisions 

A. The monies in the Agricultural Commodities 

Commission Self-Insurance Fund shall be used solely for the 

administration and operation of this program of  

self-insurance. 

B. Any claimant who wishes to assert a claim must 

provide, under oath, written and notarized proof of a loss 

covered under this program within 30 days of the loss. 

C. Said written claim shall include the following 

information: 

1. name and address of claimant; 

2. name of the licensee(s) against whom claimant is 

asserting a loss; 

3. nature of the relationship and transaction between 

claimant and licensee(s); 

4. the date of the loss which shall be defined as the 

date on which claimant knew, or should have known, that a 

loss had occurred; 

5. the amount of the loss and how calculated; 

6. a concise explanation of the circumstances that 

precipitated the loss; 

7. copies of those documents relied upon by claimant 

as proof of said loss. 

D. Failure to furnish such proof of loss within the 

required time shall not invalidate nor reduce the claim if it 

was not reasonably possible to give proof within such time, 

provided such proof is furnished as soon as reasonably 

possible. 

E. Upon receipt of a proof of loss, the commission will 

receive the claim to determine whether it is covered under 

the program. The burden of proof to establish the loss shall 

be upon the claimant. 

F. Where any loss is or may be covered by other 

insurance or bond, the other insurance is primary and the 

commission may require the claimant to exhaust his 

remedies as to the other insurer before considering the 

payment of the claim. 

G. Once a proof of loss has been filed against a 

licensee(s), the commission may make a complete inspection 

of the licensee's physical facilities and the contents thereof, 

as well as an audit of all books and records of the licensee 

and/or claimant, subject to the confidentiality requirements 

of R.S. 3:3421. 

H. Once proof of loss has been filed against a licensee(s), 

any other claimants alleging a loss caused by said licensee(s) 

will have a period of 60 days within which to post and 

thereby file a written claim. The said 60-day period will 

begin to run upon publication by the commission of the 

notice of claim in the official local journal for legal notices, 

or the print publication with the highest circulation in the 

area serviced by the licensee. The purpose of said notice is to 

determine whether there are multiple claims, and in the 

event of multiple claims which exceed the amount of 

insurance, then the proceeds available for losses of said 
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licensee(s) will be prorated. 

I. The commission shall provide a notice, by published 

advertisement, in the official local journal for legal notices 

or the print publication with the highest circulation in the 

area serviced by the licensee of the failure of a warehouse 

and/or grain dealer licensee, and all claims pursuant thereto 

must be filed within 60 days of the published advertisement. 

J. The commissioner may, at his option, represent the 

producers and the patrons of a licensee in their claim against 

a licensee. 

K. When claims against different licenses are filed timely 

and approved by the commission and the aggregate amount 

claimed exceeds the amount in the fund, those claims filed 

first will be paid before other claims until the fund is 

exhausted. However, the commission may, for good cause 

shown, permit the payment of any claim or claims over a 

period of years as it shall determine. 

L. The fiscal year for the self-insurance fund shall be 

from July 1 through June 30 of each year. However, any 

claims received by the commission on or before August 15 

of any calendar year shall be deemed as a claim on the self-

insurance fund of the previous fiscal year. Claims against a 

licensee which are posted or received by the commission 

within 60 days of the advertisement of the first claim shall 

be considered as received on the same date as the first claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:234 (April 

1987), amended LR 19:1304 (October 1993). 

§113. Appeal Procedure 

A. Any decision of the commission to deny or grant a 

claim for payment from the fund may be appealed to the 

commission by the licensee or claimant by seeking an 

adjudicatory hearing to have said decision reconsidered by 

the commission in accordance with Chapter 13 of Title 49 of 

the Louisiana Revised Statutes, as well as all subsequent 

appeals therefrom, provided said appellant files with the 

commission a written notice of appeal within 30 days of the 

mailing of the decision of the commission to the affected 

party. 

B. Said notice of appeal shall contain an expressed 

statement of each and every basis upon which said appeal is 

sought and the hearing to consider same shall be limited 

accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:234 (April 

1987). 

§115. Subrogation 

A. Whenever a claim is paid by the commission from the 

self-insurance fund, the claimant, by accepting said 

payment, subrogates his rights to the commission up to the 

full amount of payment, and the commission shall have the 

right to recover such payments from any responsible person 

or entity as it shall determine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:234 (April 

1987). 

§117. Limit of Self-Insurance Fund 

A. The maximum amount necessary to sustain the self-

insurance fund is $10,000,000. When the self-insurance fund 

has $10,000,000 available for payment of claims, no further 

fees or assessment will be collected until said fund is 

reduced by payment of claims or as otherwise provided for 

herein, provided that every participant in the fund shall have 

paid fees into the fund for a minimum of 15 years before any 

such suspension of fees are applicable to said participant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:234 (April 

1987). 

§121. Participation in the Self-Insurance Fund 

A. Participation in the agricultural commodity 

commission self-insurance fund shall be voluntary; however, 

for good cause shown, the commission may require a 

licensee to provide other security, in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410(A) and/or R.S. 3:3411(F), in lieu of or in addition to 

participation in the self-insurance fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:235 (April 

1987). 

§123. Prohibited Acts: Criminal Penalties 

A. Any claimant who provides the commission with 

false information regarding an alleged loss may be denied 

payment of the claim on the basis alone. 

B. Any warehouse, cotton merchant or grain dealer 

licensee who intentionally provides the commission with 

false information regarding a claim, or regarding any other 

matters pertaining to the self-insurance program, shall be 

subject, upon conviction, to penalties for perjury established 

under R.S. 14:123. 

C. Any warehouse, cotton merchant, or grain dealer 

licensee who intentionally provides the commission with 

false information regarding a claim, or regarding any other 

matters pertaining to the self-insurance fund, shall be subject 

to a fine of up to $10,000, imprisonment for not more than 

10 years, or both, for each occurrence proven at a hearing 

conducted in accordance with Chapter 13 of Title 49 of the 

Revised Statutes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 

Commodities Commission, LR 13:234 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-

Consumer Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 
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19:1305 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:626 

(April 1998). 

§125. Validity of Rules 

A. If any part of this regulation is declared to be invalid 

for any reason by any court of competent jurisdiction, said 

declaration shall not affect the validity of any other part not 

so declared. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3410.1 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 13:236 (April 

1987). 

§127. Pending Litigation; Stay of Claims 

A. Where the commission finds that litigation is pending 

which could determine whether payment of a claim is due or 

to whom payment of a claim is due, the claim in question 

may be stayed until the judgment in said litigation has 

become final and definitive. The commission shall give 

notice of the stay to any claimants whose claims have been 

stayed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3405 and 3:3410.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated as LAC 7:XXVII. 14759 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-

Consumer Services, Agriculture Commodities Commission, LR 

17:955 (October 1991), repromulgated LR 19:1304 (October 1993). 
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Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part XI.  Rules 

 

Chapter 1. Rule Number 

3A―Advertisement of Medicare 

Supplement Insurance 

§101. Purpose 

A. The proper expansion of Medicare supplement 

insurance coverage is in the public interest. Appropriate 

advertising can broaden the distribution of insurance among 

those eligible for Medicare. Advertising can increase the 

awareness of beneficial forms of coverage and thereby 

encourage product competition. Advertising can also provide 

the insurance-buying public with the means by which it can 

compare the advantages of competing forms of coverage. 

B. Insurance advertising has become increasingly 

important in the years since the 1956 NAIC Rules Governing 

Advertisement of Accident and Sickness Insurance were 

developed. The increasing availability of coverage under 

group insurance plans and the advent of governmental 

benefit programs have complicated the decisions the 

insurance-buying public must make to avoid duplication of 

benefits and gaps in coverage. The consequent need for 

detailed information about insurance products is reflected in 

the requirements for disclosure established by the 1972 

NAIC Rules, as amended, Governing Advertisements of 

Accident and Sickness Insurance. This need for detailed 

disclosure is especially critical in helping to assure that 

individuals eligible for Medicare receive full and truthful 

advertising for Medicare supplement insurance. The NAIC 

has, therefore, determined that, while the 1972 NAIC Rules, 

as amended, Governing Advertisements of Accident and 

Sickness Insurance did address Medicare supplement 

insurance, these new Rules and Interpretive Guidelines 

addressed solely to Medicare supplement insurance 

advertising are needed to replace the previous 1972 Rules 

and Interpretive Guidelines with respect to Medicare 

supplement insurance advertising. 

C. Although modern insurance advertising patterns much 

of its design after advertising for other goods and service, 

the uniqueness of insurance as a product must always be 

kept in mind in developing advertising. This is particularly 

true with respect to Medicare supplement insurance 

advertising. By the time an insured discovers that a 

particular insurance product is unsuitable for his needs, it 

may be too late for him to return to the marketplace to find a 

more satisfactory product. 

D. The insurance-buying public should be afforded a 

means by which it can determine, in advance of purchase, 

the desirability of the competing insurance products 

proposed to be sold. This can be accomplished by 

advertising which accurately describes the advantages and 

disadvantages of the insurance product without either 

exaggerating the benefits or minimizing the limitations. 

Properly designed advertising can provide such description 

and disclosure without sacrificing the sales appeal which is 

essential to its usefulness to the insurance-buying public and 

the insurance business. The purpose of the new NAIC Rules 

Governing Advertisements of Medicare Supplement 

Insurance is to establish minimum criteria to assure proper 

and accurate description and disclosure. 

E. The purpose of this rule is to provide prospective 

purchasers with clear and unambiguous statements in the 

advertisements of Medicare supplement insurance; to assure 

the clear and truthful disclosure of the benefits, limitations 

and exclusions of policies sold as Medicare supplement 

insurance. This purpose is intended to be accomplished by 

the establishment of guidelines and permissible and 

impermissible standards of conduct in the advertising of 

Medicare supplement insurance in a manner which prevents 

unfair, deceptive, and misleading advertising and is 

conducive to accurate presentation and description to the 

insurance-buying public through the advertising media and 

material used by the insurance agents and companies. This 

rule is being amended to remove the requirement that 

insurers file a certificate of compliance in regards to 

advertisements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 43:1985 (October 2017). 

§103. Applicability 

A. This rule shall apply to any advertisement of 

Medicare supplement insurance as that term is defined 

herein, unless otherwise specified in these rules, which the 

insurer knows, or reasonably should know, is intended for 

presentation, distribution, or dissemination in this state when 

such presentation, distribution, or dissemination is made 

either directly or indirectly by or on behalf of an insurer, 

agent, broker, producer, or solicitor, as these terms are 

defined in the Insurance Code of this state. 

B. Every insurer shall establish, and at all times 

maintain, a system of control over the content, form, and 

method of dissemination of all of its Medicare supplement 

insurance advertisements. All such advertisements, 

regardless of by whom written, created, designed, or 

presented shall be the responsibility of the insurers 

benefiting directly or indirectly from their dissemination. 

C. Advertising materials which are reproduced in 

quantity shall be identified by form numbers or other 
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identifying means. Such identification shall be sufficient to 

distinguish an advertisement from any other advertising 

materials, policies, applications, or other materials used by 

the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§105. Definitions 

Advertisement― 

1.a. printed and published material, audiovisual 

material, and descriptive literature used by or on behalf of an 

insurer in direct mail, newspapers, magazines, radio scripts, 

TV scripts, billboards, and similar displays; 

b. descriptive literature and sales aids of all kinds 

issued by an insurer, agent, producer, broker, or solicitor for 

presentation to members of the insurance-buying public 

including, but not limited to, circulars, leaflets, booklets, 

depictions, illustrations, form letters, and lead generating 

devices of all kinds as herein defined; and 

c. prepared sales talks, presentations, and material 

for use by agents, brokers, producers, and solicitors whether 

prepared by the insurer of the agent, broker, producer, or 

solicitor. 

2. advertisement includes advertising material 

included with a policy when the policy is delivered and 

material used in the solicitation of renewals and 

reinstatements; 

3. advertisement does not include: 

a. material to be used solely for the training and 

education of an insurer's employees, agents, or brokers; 

b. material used in-house by insurers; 

c. communications within an insurer's own 

organization not intended for dissemination to the public; 

d. individual communications of a personal nature 

with current policyholders other than material urging such 

policyholders to increase or expand coverages; 

e. correspondence between a prospective group or 

blanket policyholder and an insurer in the course of 

negotiating a group or blanket contract; 

f. court approved material ordered by a court to be 

disseminated to policyholders; or 

g. a general announcement from a group or blanket 

policyholder to eligible individuals on an employment or 

membership list that a contract or program has been written 

or arranged; provided, the announcement must clearly 

indicate that it is preliminary to the issuance of a booklet. 

Certificate―any certificate issued under a group 

Medicare supplement policy, which certificate has been 

delivered or issued for delivery in this state. 

Exception―any provision in a policy whereby coverage 

for a specified hazard is entirely eliminated. It is a statement 

of a risk not assumed under the policy. 

Institutional Advertisement―an advertisement having as 

its sole purpose the promotion of the reader's, viewer's, or 

listener's interest in the concept of Medicare supplement 

insurance, or the promotion of the insurer as a seller of 

Medicare supplement insurance. 

Insurer―shall include any individual, corporation, 

association, partnership, reciprocal exchange, inter-insurer, 

Lloyds, fraternal benefit society, health maintenance 

organization, hospital service corporation, medical service 

corporation, prepaid health plan, and any other legal entity 

which is defined as an insurer in the Insurance Code of this 

state and is engaged in the advertisement of itself, or 

Medicare supplement insurance. 

Invitation to Contract―an advertisement which is neither 

an institutional advertisement nor an invitation to inquire. 

Invitation to Inquire―an advertisement having as its 

objective the creation of a desire to inquire further about 

Medicare supplement insurance which is limited to a brief 

description of coverage, and which shall contain a provision 

in the following or substantially similar form: 

"This policy has (exclusions) (limitations) (reductions of 

benefits) (terms under which the policy may be continued in 
force or discontinued). For costs and complete details of the 

coverage, call (or write) your insurance agent or the company 

(whichever is applicable)." 

Lead-Generating Device―any communication directed to 

the public which, regardless of form, content, or stated 

purpose, is intended to result in the compilation or 

qualification of a list containing names and other personal 

information to be used to solicit residents of this state for the 

purchase of Medicare supplement insurance. 

Limitation―any provision which restricts coverage under 

the policy, other than an exception or a reduction. 

Medicare―the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, Title 

XVIII of The Social Security Amendments of 1965 as Then 

Constituted or Later Amended, or Title 1, Part I of Public 

Law 89-97, as enacted by the Eighty-Ninth Congress of the 

United States of America, and popularly known as the 

"Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then constituted and 

any later amendments or substitutes thereof" or words of 

similar import. 

Medicare Supplement Insurance―a group or individual 

policy of accident and sickness insurance or a subscriber 

contract of hospital and medical service associations or 

health maintenance organizations which is advertised, 

marketed, or designed primarily as a supplement to 

reimbursements under Medicare for the hospital, medical, or 

surgical expenses of persons eligible for Medicare by reason 

of age. 

Person―any natural person, association, organization, 

partnership, trust, group, discretionary group, corporation, or 

any other entity. 

Reduction―any provision which reduces the amount of 

the benefit; a risk of loss is assumed but payment upon the 

occurrence of such loss is limited to some amount or period 

less than would be otherwise payable had such reduction not 
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been used. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§107. Method of Disclosure of Required Information 

A. All information required to be disclosed by this rule 

shall be set out conspicuously and in close conjunction with 

the statements to which such information relates or under 

appropriate captions of such prominence that it shall not be 

minimized, rendered obscure, or presented in an ambiguous 

manner or fashion or intermingled with the context of the 

advertisement so as to be confusing or misleading. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§109. Form and Content of Advertisements 

A. The format and content of a Medicare supplement 

insurance advertisement shall be sufficiently complete and 

clear to avoid deception or the capacity or tendency to 

mislead or deceive. Whether an advertisement has a capacity 

or tendency to mislead or deceive shall be determined by the 

department from the overall impression that the 

advertisement may be reasonably expected to create upon a 

person of average education or intelligence, within the 

segment of the public to which it is directed. 

B. Advertisements shall be truthful and not misleading in 

fact or in implication. Words or phrases whose meanings are 

clear only by implication or by the consumer's familiarity 

with insurance terminology shall not be used. 

C. An insurer must clearly identify its Medicare 

supplement insurance policy as an insurance policy. A policy 

trade name must be followed by the words, "...Insurance 

Policy," or similar words clearly identifying the fact that an 

insurance or health benefits product (in the case of health 

maintenance organizations, prepaid health plans, and other 

direct service organizations) is being offered. 

D. No insurer, agent, broker, producer, solicitor, or other 

person shall solicit a resident of this state for the purchase of 

Medicare supplement insurance in connection with, or as the 

result of the use of any advertisement by such person or any 

other person, where the advertisement: 

1. contains any misleading representation or 

misrepresentations, or is otherwise untrue, deceptive, or 

misleading with regard to the information imparted, the 

status, character, or representative capacity of such person or 

the true purpose of the advertisement; or 

2. otherwise violates the provisions of these rules. 

E. No insurer, agent, broker, solicitor, or other person 

shall solicit residents of this state for the purchase of 

Medicare supplement insurance through the use of a true or 

fictitious name which is deceptive or misleading with regard 

to the status, character, or proprietary of representative 

capacity of such person or the true purpose of the 

advertisement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§111. Advertisements of Benefits, Losses Covered, or 

Premiums Payable 

A. Deceptive Words, Phrases or Illustrations Prohibited 

1. No advertisement shall omit information or use 

words, phrases, statements, references, or illustrations if the 

omission of such information or use of such words, phrases, 

statements, references, or illustrations has the capacity, 

tendency, or effect of misleading or deceiving purchasers or 

prospective purchasers as to the nature or extent of any 

policy benefit payable, loss covered, or premium payable. 

The fact that the policy offered is made available to a 

prospective insured for inspection prior to consummation of 

the sale or an offer is made to refund the premium if the 

purchaser is not satisfied does not remedy misleading 

statements. 

2. No advertisements shall contain or use words or 

phrases such as "all," "full," "complete," "comprehensive," 

"unlimited," "up to," "as high as," "this policy will help fill 

some of the gaps that Medicare and your present insurance 

leave out," "this policy pays all that Medicare doesn't," or 

similar words and phrases, in a manner which exaggerates 

any benefit beyond the terms of the policy. 

3. An advertisement which also is an invitation to join 

an association, trust, or discretionary group must solicit 

insurance coverage on a separate and distinct application 

which requires separate signature for each application. The 

insurance program must be presented so as not to mislead or 

deceive the prospective members that they are purchasing 

insurance as well as applying for membership, if that is the 

case. 

4. An advertisement shall not contain descriptions of 

policy limitations, exceptions, or reductions worded in a 

positive manner to imply that it is a benefit, such as 

describing a waiting period as a benefit builder or stating, 

"even pre-existing conditions are covered after six months." 

Words and phrases used in an advertisement to describe such 

policy limitations, exceptions, and reductions shall fairly and 

accurately describe the negative features of such limitations, 

exceptions, and reductions of the policy offered. 

5. An advertisement of Medicare supplement 

insurance sold by direct response shall not state or imply that 

"because no insurance agent will call and no commissions 

will be paid to 'agents' that it is a low cost plan" or use other 

similar words or phrases because the cost of advertising and 

servicing such policies is a substantial cost in marketing by 

direct response. 

B. Exceptions, Reductions, and Limitations 

1. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract 

shall disclose those exceptions, reductions, and limitations 

affecting the basic provisions of the policy. 
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2. When a policy contains a waiting, elimination, 

probationary, or similar time period between the effective 

date of the policy and the effective date of coverage under 

the policy or a time period between the date a loss occurs 

and the date benefits begin to accrue for such loss, an 

advertisement which is subject to the requirements of the 

preceding paragraph shall disclose the existence of such 

periods. 

3. An advertisement shall not use the words "only," 

"just," "merely," "minimum," or similar words or phrases to 

describe the applicability of any exceptions and reductions, 

such as: "this policy is subject to the following minimum 

exceptions and reductions." 

C. Pre-Existing Conditions 

1. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract 

shall, in negative terms, disclose the extent to which any loss 

is not covered if the cause of such loss is traceable to a 

condition existing prior to the effective date of the policy. 

The use of the term pre-existing condition without an 

appropriate definition or description shall not be used. 

2. When a Medicare supplement insurance policy 

does not cover losses resulting from pre-existing conditions, 

no advertisement of the policy shall state or imply that the 

applicant's physical condition or medical history will not 

affect the issuance of the policy or payment of a claim 

thereunder. This prohibits the use of the phrase "no medical 

examination required" and phrases of similar import, but 

does not prohibit explaining automatic issue. If an insurer 

requires a medical examination for a specified policy, the 

advertisement shall disclose that a medical examination is 

required. 

3. When an advertisement contains an application 

form to be completed by the applicant and returned by mail, 

such application form shall contain a question or statement 

which reflects the pre-existing condition provisions of the 

policy immediately preceding the blank space for the 

applicant's signature. For example, such an application form 

shall contain a question or statement substantially as 

follows: 

a. Do you understand that this policy will not pay benefits 

during the first six months after the issue date for a disease or 

physical condition for which medical advice was given or 

treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 

within six months before the policy issue date? YES 

b. or substantially the following statement: 

I understand that the policy applied for will not pay benefits 

for any loss incurred during the first six (6) months after the 

issue date due to a disease or physical condition for which I 
received medical advice or for which treatment was 

recommended by, or received from, a physician within six (6) 

months before the issue date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§113. Necessity for Disclosing Policy Provisions 

Relating to Renewability, Cancellability, and 

Termination 

A. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract 

shall disclose the provisions relating to renewability, 

cancellability, and termination and any modification of 

benefits, losses covered, or premium because of age or for 

other reasons, in manner which shall not minimize or render 

obscure the qualifying conditions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§115. Testimonials or Endorsements by Third Parties 

A. Testimonials and endorsements used in 

advertisements must be genuine, represent the current 

opinion of the author, be applicable to the policy advertised, 

and be accurately reproduced. The insurer, in using a 

testimonial or endorsement, makes as its own all of the 

statements contained therein, and the advertisement, 

including such statement, is subject to all the provisions of 

these rules. When a testimonial or endorsement is used more 

than one year after it was originally given, a confirmation 

must be obtained. 

B. A person shall be deemed a spokesperson if the 

person making the testimonial or endorsement: 

1. has a financial interest in the insurer or a related 

entity as a stockholder, director, officer, employee, or 

otherwise; or 

2. has been formed by the insurer, is owned or 

controlled by the insurer, its employees, or the person or 

persons who own or control the insurer; or 

3. has any person in a policy-making position who is 

affiliated with the insurer in any of the above described 

capacities; or 

4. is in any way directly or indirectly compensated for 

making a testimonial or endorsement. 

C. The fact of a financial interest or the proprietary or 

representative capacity of a spokesperson shall be disclosed 

in an advertisement and shall be accomplished in the 

introductory portion of the testimonial or endorsement in the 

same form and with equal prominence thereto. If a 

spokesperson is directly or indirectly compensated for 

making a testimonial or endorsement, such fact shall be 

disclosed in the advertisement by language substantially as 

follows: "Paid Endorsement". The requirement of this 

disclosure may be fulfilled by use of the phrase, "Paid 

Endorsement," or words of similar import in a type style and 

size at least equal to that used for the spokesperson's name or 

the body of the testimonial or endorsement, whichever is 

larger. In the case of television or radio advertising, the 

required disclosure must be accomplished in the introductory 

portion of the advertisement and must be given prominence. 

D. The disclosure requirement of this rule shall not apply 

where the sole financial interest or compensation of a 

spokesperson, for all testimonials or endorsements made on 

behalf of the insurers, consists of the payment of union 

"scale" wages required by union rules, and if the payment is 

actually for such "scale" for TV or radio performances. 
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E. An advertisement shall not state or imply that an 

insurer or a Medicare supplement insurance policy has been 

approved or endorsed by any individual, group of 

individuals, society, association, or other organizations, 

unless such is the facts and unless any proprietary 

relationship between an organization and the insurer is 

disclosed. If the entity making the endorsement or 

testimonial has been formed by the insurer or is owned or 

controlled by the insurer or the person or persons who own 

or control the insurer, such fact shall be disclosed in the 

advertisement. If the insurer or an officer of the insurer 

formed or controls the association, or holds any  

policy-making position in the association, that fact must be 

disclosed. 

F. When a testimonial refers to benefits received under a 

Medicare supplement insurance policy, the specific claim 

date, including claim number, date of loss, and other 

pertinent information shall be retained by the insurer for 

inspection for a period of four years or until the filing of the 

next regular report of examination of the insurer, whichever 

is the longer period of time. The use of testimonials which 

do not correctly reflect the present practices of the insurer or 

which are not applicable to the policy or benefit being 

advertised is not permissible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§117. Use of Statistics 

A. An advertisement relating to the dollar amount of 

claims paid, the number of persons insured, or similar 

statistical information relating to any insurer or policy shall 

not use irrelevant facts, and shall not be used unless it 

accurately reflects all of the relevant facts. Such an 

advertisement shall not imply that such statistics are derived 

from a policy advertised unless such is the fact, and when 

applicable to other policies or plans, shall specifically so 

state. 

1. An advertisement shall specifically identify the 

Medicare supplement insurance policy to which statistics 

relate, and where statistics are given which are applicable to 

a different policy, it must be stated clearly that the data do 

not relate to the policy being advertised. 

2. An advertisement using statistics which describe an 

insurer, such as assets, corporate structure, financial 

standing, age, product lines, or relative position in the 

insurance business, may be irrelevant, and if used at all, 

must be used with extreme caution because of the potential 

for misleading the public. As a specific example, an 

advertisement for Medicare supplement insurance which 

refers to the amount of life insurance which the company has 

in force or the amounts paid out in life insurance benefits is 

not permissible unless the advertisement clearly indicates the 

amount paid out for each line of insurance. 

B. An advertisement shall not represent or imply that 

claim settlements by the insurer are liberal or generous, or 

use words of similar import, or state or imply that claim 

settlements are or will be beyond the actual terms of the 

contract. An unusual amount paid for a unique claim for the 

policy advertised is misleading and shall not be used. 

C. The source of any statistics used in an advertisement 

shall be identified in such advertisement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§119. Disparaging Comparisons and Statements 

A. An advertisement shall not directly or indirectly make 

unfair or incomplete comparisons of policies or benefits or 

comparisons of non-comparable policies of other insurers, 

and shall not disparage competitors, their policies, services, 

or business methods and shall not disparage or unfairly 

minimize competing methods of marketing insurance. 

1. An advertisement shall not contain statements such 

as "no red tape," or "here is all you do to receive benefits." 

2. Advertisements which state or imply that 

competing insurance coverages customarily contain certain 

exceptions, reductions, or limitations not contained in the 

advertised policies are unacceptable unless such exceptions, 

reductions, or limitations are contained in a substantial 

majority of such competing coverages. 

3. Advertisements which state or imply that an 

insurer's premiums are lower or that its loss ratios are higher 

because its organizational structure differs from that of 

competing insurers are unacceptable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§121. Jurisdictional Licensing and Status of Insurer 

A. An advertisement which is intended to be seen or 

heard beyond the limits of the jurisdiction in which the 

insurer is licensed shall not imply licensing beyond those 

limits. 

B. An advertisement shall not create the impression, 

directly or indirectly, that the insurer; its financial condition 

or status; or the payment of its claims; or the merits, 

desirability or advisability of its policy forms or kinds of 

plans of insurance are approved, endorsed, or accredited by 

any division or agency of this state or the United States 

government. 

C. An advertisement shall not imply that approval, 

endorsement, or accreditation of policy forms or advertising 

has been granted by any division or agency of the state or 

federal government. Approval of either policy forms or 

advertising shall not be used by an insurer to imply or state 

that a governmental agency has endorsed or recommended 

the insurer, its policies, advertising, or its financial 

conditions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§123. Identity of Insurer 

A. The name of the actual insurer shall be stated in all of 

its advertisements. The form number or numbers of the 

policy advertised shall be stated in an advertisement which is 

an invitation to contract. An advertisement shall not use a 

trade name, any insurance group designation, name of the 

parent company of the insurer, name of a particular division 

of the insurer, service mark, slogan, symbol, or other device 

which, with or without disclosing the name of the actual 

insurer, would have the capacity and tendency to mislead or 

deceive as to the true identity of the insurer. 

B. No advertisement shall use any combination of words, 

symbols, or physical materials which by their content, 

phraseology, shape, color, or other characteristics are so 

similar to combination of words, symbols or physical 

materials used by agencies of the federal government or of 

this state, or otherwise appear to be of such a nature that it 

tends to confuse or mislead prospective insureds into 

believing that the solicitation is in some manner connected 

with an agency of the municipal, state, or federal 

government. 

C. Advertisements, envelopes, or stationery which 

employ words, letters, initials, symbols, or other devices 

which are so similar to those used by governmental agencies 

or other insurers are not permitted if they may lead the 

public to believe: 

1. that the advertised coverages are somehow 

provided by, or are endorsed by, such governmental agencies 

or such other insurers; 

2. that the advertiser is the same as, is connected with, 

or is endorsed by such governmental agencies or such other 

insurers. 

D. No advertisement shall use the name of a state or 

political subdivision thereof in a policy name or description. 

E. No advertisement in the form of envelopes or 

stationery of any kind may use any names, service mark, 

slogan, symbol, or any device in such a manner that implies 

that the insurer or the policy advertised, or that any agent 

who may call upon the consumer in response to the 

advertisement is connected with a governmental agency, 

such as the Social Security Administration. 

F. No advertisement may incorporate the word Medicare 

in the title of the plan or policy being advertised unless, 

wherever it appears, said word is qualified by language 

differentiating it from Medicare. Such an advertisement, 

however shall not use the phrase, "_______________ 

Medicare Department of the _________________ Insurance 

Company," or language of similar import. 

G. No advertisement shall be used that fails to include 

the disclaimer to the effect of, "Not connected with or 

endorsed by the U.S. Government or the federal Medicare 

program." 

H. No advertisement may imply that the reader may lose 

a right or privilege or benefit under federal, state, or local 

law if he fails to respond to the advertisement. 

I. The use of letter, initials, or symbols of the corporate 

name or trademark that would have the tendency or capacity 

to mislead or deceive the public as to the true identity of the 

insurer is prohibited unless the true, correct, and complete 

name of the insurer is in close conjunction and in the same 

size type as the letter, initials, or symbols of the corporate 

name or trademark. 

J. The use of the name of an agency or "_____________ 

Underwriters" or "_____________ Plan" in type, size, and 

location so as to have the capacity and tendency to mislead 

or deceive as to the true identity of the insurer is prohibited. 

K. The use of an address so as to mislead or deceive as to 

true identity of the insurer, its location, or licensing status is 

prohibited. 

L. No insurer may use in the trade name of its insurance 

policy any terminology or words so similar to the name of a 

governmental agency or governmental program as to have 

the tendency to confuse, deceive, or mislead the prospective 

purchaser. 

M. All advertisements used by agents, producers, 

brokers, or solicitors of an insurer must have prior written 

approval of the insurer before they may be used. 

N. An agent who makes contact with a consumer, as a 

result of acquiring that consumer's name from a lead 

generating device, must disclose such fact in the initial 

contact with the consumer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§125. Group or Quasi-Group Implications 

A. An advertisement of a particular policy shall not state 

or imply that prospective insureds become group or  

quasi-group members covered under a group policy, and as 

such, enjoy special rates or underwriting privileges, unless 

such is the fact. 

B. This regulation prohibits the solicitation of a 

particular class, such as governmental employees, by use of 

advertisements which state or imply that their occupational 

status entitles them to reduced rates on a group or other basis 

when, in fact, the policy being advertised is sold only on an 

individual basis at regular rates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§127. Introductory, Initial or Special Offers 

A.1. An advertisement of an individual policy shall not 

directly, or by implication, represent that a contract or 

combination of contracts is an introductory, initial, or special 

offer, or that applicants will receive substantial advantages 

not available at a later date, or that the offer is available only 

to a specified group of individuals unless such is the fact. An 

advertisement shall not contain phrases describing an 

enrollment period as "special," "limited," or similar words or 
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phrases when the insurer uses such enrollment periods as the 

usual method of advertising Medicare supplement insurance. 

2. An enrollment period during which a particular 

insurance product may be purchased on an individual basis 

shall not be offered within this state unless there has been a 

lapse of not less than three months between the close of the 

immediately preceding enrollment period for the same 

product and the opening of the enrollment period. The 

advertisement shall indicate the date by which the applicant 

must mail the application, which shall be not less than 10 

days and not more than 40 days from the date that such 

enrollment period is advertised for the first time. This rule 

applies to all advertising media, (i.e., mail, newspapers, 

radio, television, magazines and periodicals), by any one 

insurer. It is not applicable to solicitations of employees or 

members of a particular group or association who otherwise 

would be eligible under specific provisions of the Insurance 

Code for group, blanket, or franchise insurance. The phrase, 

"any one insurer," includes all the affiliated companies of a 

group of insurance companies under common management 

or control. 

3. This rule prohibits any statement or implication to 

the effect that only a specific number of policies will be sold, 

or that a time is fixed for the discontinuance of the sale of 

the particular policy advertised because of special 

advantages available in the policy, unless such is the fact. 

4. The phrase, "a particular insurance product," in 

§127.A.2 means an insurance policy which provides 

substantially different benefits than those contained in any 

other policy. Different terms of renewability, an increase or 

decrease in the dollar amounts of benefits, an increase or 

decrease in any elimination period or waiting period from 

those available during an enrollment period for another 

policy shall not be sufficient to constitute the product being 

offered as a different product eligible for concurrent or 

overlapping enrollment periods. 

B. An advertisement shall not offer a policy which 

utilizes a reduced initial premium rate in a manner which 

overemphasizes the availability and the amount of the initial 

reduced premium. When an insurer charges an initial 

premium that differs in amount from the amount of the 

renewal premium payable on the same mode, the 

advertisement shall not display the amount of the reduced 

initial premium either more frequently or more prominently 

than the renewal premium, and both the initial reduced 

premium and the renewal premium must be stated in 

juxtaposition in each portion of the advertisement where the 

initial reduced premium appears. The term juxtaposition 

means side by side or immediately above or below. 

C. Special awards, such as a safe driver award shall not 

be used in connection with advertisements of Medicare 

supplement insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§129. Statements about an Insurer 

A. An advertisement shall not contain statements which 

are untrue in fact, or by implications, misleading with 

respect to the assets, corporate structure, financial standing, 

age, or relative position of the insurer in the insurance 

business. An advertisement shall not contain a 

recommendation by any commercial rating system unless it 

clearly indicates the purpose of the recommendation and the 

limitations of the scope and extent of the recommendation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§131. Enforcement Procedures 

A. Advertising File 

1. Each insurer shall maintain at its home or principal 

office a complete file containing every printed, published, or 

prepared advertisement of its individual policies and typical 

printed, published, or prepared advertisements of its blanket, 

franchise, and group policies hereafter disseminated in this 

or any other state, whether or not licensed in such other 

state, with a notation attached to each such advertisement 

which shall indicate the manner and extent of distribution 

and the form number of any policy advertised. Such file 

shall be available for inspection by this department. All such 

advertisements shall be maintained in said file for a period 

of either four years or until the filing of the next regular 

report of examination of the insurer, whichever is the longer 

period of time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 43:1985 (October 2017). 

§133. Severability Provision 

A. If any Section or portion of a Section of these rules, or 

the applicability thereof to any person or circumstance is 

held invalid by a court, the remainder of the rules, or the 

applicability of such provision to other persons or 

circumstances, shall not be affected thereby. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

§135. Effective Date 

A. This rule shall be effective upon final publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 43:1985 (October 2017). 

§137. Interpretive Guidelines for Rules Governing 

Advertisements of Medicare Supplement 

Insurance 

A. Disclosure is one of the principal objectives of the 
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rules and §137 states specifically that the rules shall assure 

truthful and adequate disclosure of all material and relevant 

information. The rules specifically prohibit some previous 

advertising techniques. 

B. These rules apply to any advertisement as that term is 

defined in §105, unless otherwise specified in the rules. 

These rules apply to group, blanket and individual Medicare 

supplement insurance advertisements. Certain distinctions, 

however, are applicable to these categories. Among them is 

the level of conversance with insurance, a factor which is 

covered by §109.A. 

C. The scope of the term advertisement extends to the 

use of all media for communications to the general public, to 

the use of all media for communications to specific members 

of the general public, and to use of all media for 

communications by agents, brokers, producers, and 

solicitors. 

D. A brief description of coverage in an invitation to 

inquire may consist of an explanation of Medicare benefits, 

minimum benefits, standards for Medicare supplement 

policies, the manner in which the advertised Medicare 

supplement insurance policy supplements the benefits of 

Medicare and meets or exceeds the minimum benefit 

requirements. An invitation to inquire shall not refer to cost 

or the maximum dollar amount of benefits payable. As with 

all Medicare supplement insurance advertisements, an 

invitation to inquire must not: 

1. employ devices which are designed to create undue 

anxiety in the minds of the elderly or excite fear of 

dependence upon relatives or charity; 

2. exaggerate the gaps in Medicare coverage; 

3. exaggerate the value of the benefits available under 

the advertised policy; 

4. otherwise violate the provisions of these rules. 

E.1. The rule permits the use of either of the following 

alternative methods of disclosure. 

a. The first alternative provides for the disclosure of 

exceptions, limitations, reductions, and other restrictions 

conspicuously and in close conjunction with the statements 

to which such information relates. This may be 

accomplished by disclosure in the description of the related 

benefits or in a paragraph set out in close conjunction with 

the description of policy benefits. 

b. The second alternative provides for the disclosure 

of exceptions, limitations, reductions, and other restrictions 

not in conjunction with the provisions describing policy 

benefits but under appropriate captions of such prominence 

that the information shall not be minimized, rendered 

obscure, or otherwise made to appear unimportant. The 

phrase, "under appropriate captions," means that the title 

must be accurately descriptive of the captioned material. 

Appropriate captions include the following: "Exceptions," 

"Exclusions," "Conditions not Covered," and "Exceptions 

and Reductions." The use of captions such as, or similar to, 

the following are not acceptable because they do not provide 

adequate notice of the significance of the material: "Extent 

of Coverage," "Only these Exclusions," or "Minimum 

Limitations." 

2. In considering whether an advertisement complies 

with the disclosure requirements of this rule, the rule must 

be applied in conjunction with the form and content 

standards contained in §107. 

F.1. The rule must be applied in conjunction with §101.E 

and §105 of the rules. The rule refers specifically to format 

and content of the advertisement and the overall impression 

created by the advertisement. This involves factors such as, 

but not limited to, the size, color, and prominence of type 

used to describe benefits. The word format means the 

arrangement of the text and the captions. 

2. The rule requires distinctly different advertisements 

for publication in newspapers or magazines of general 

circulation, as compared to scholarly, technical, or business 

journals and newspapers. Where an advertisement consists 

of more than one piece of material, each piece of material 

must, independently of all other pieces of material, conform 

to the disclosure requirements of this rule. 

G. The rule prohibits the use of incomplete statements 

and words or phrases which have the tendency or capacity to 

mislead or deceive because of the reader's unfamiliarity with 

insurance terminology. Therefore, words, phrases, and 

illustrations used in an advertisement must be clear and 

unambiguous. If the advertisement uses insurance 

terminology, sufficient description of a word, phrase, or 

illustration shall be provided by definition or description in 

the context of the advertisement. As implied in §137.F, 

distinctly different levels of comprehension to the 

subscribers of various publications may be anticipated. 

H. The rule prohibits the use of incomplete statements 

and words or phrases which create deception by omission or 

commission. The following examples are illustrations of the 

prohibitions created by the rule. 

1. An advertisement which describes any benefits that 

vary by age must disclose the fact. 

2. An advertisement that uses a phrase such as "no age 

limit" must disclose that premiums may vary by age or that 

benefits may vary by age, if such is the case. 

3. Advertisements, applications, requests for 

additional information, and similar materials are 

unacceptable if they state or imply that the recipient has 

been individually selected to be offered insurance, or has had 

his eligibility for such insurance individually determined in 

advance, when in fact the advertisement is directed to all 

persons in a group or to all persons whose names appear on 

a mailing list. 

4. Advertisements for group or franchise group plans 

which provide a common benefit or a common combination 

of benefits shall not imply that the insurance coverage is 

tailored or designed specifically for that group, unless such 

is the fact. 

5. It is unacceptable to use terms such as "enroll" or 
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"join" with reference to group or blanket insurance coverage 

when such is not the case. 

6. An advertisement which states or implies 

immediate coverage is provided is unacceptable, unless 

suitable administrative procedures exist so that the policy is 

issued within 15 working days after the application is 

received by the insurer. 

7. Applications, request forms for additional 

information, and similar related materials are unacceptable if 

they resemble paper currency, bonds, or stock certificates; or 

use any name, service mark, slogan, symbol, or any device 

in such a manner that implies that the insurer or the policy 

advertised is connected with a government agency, such as 

the Social Security Administration or the Department of 

Health and Human Services. 

8. An advertisement which uses the word, "plan," 

without identifying it as a Medicare supplement insurance 

policy is not permissible. 

9. An advertisement which implies in any manner that 

the prospective insured may realize a profit from obtaining 

Medicare supplement insurance is not permissible. 

10. An advertisement which fails to disclose any 

waiting or elimination periods is unacceptable. 

11. Examples of benefits payable under a policy shall 

not disclose only maximum benefits unless such maximum 

benefits are paid for loss from common or probable illnesses 

or accidents, rather than exceptional or rare illnesses or 

accidents or periods of confinement for such exceptional or 

rare accidents or illnesses. 

12. When a range of benefit levels is set forth in an 

advertisement, it must be made clear that the insured will 

receive only the benefit level written or printed in the policy 

selected and issued. 

13. Advertisements for policies whose premiums are 

modest because of their limited amount of benefits shall not 

describe premiums as "low," "low cost," "budget," or use 

qualifying words of similar import. This rule also prohibits 

the use of words such as "only" and "just" in conjunction 

with statements of premium amounts when used to imply a 

bargain. 

14. An advertisement which exaggerates the effects of 

statutorily mandated benefits or required policy provisions 

or which implies that such provisions are unique to the 

advertised policy is unacceptable. For example: the phrase, 

"Money Back Guarantee," is an exaggerated description of 

the 30-day right to examine the policy and is not acceptable. 

15. An advertisement which implies that a common 

type of policy or a combination of common benefits is 

"new," "unique," "a bonus," "a breakthrough," or is 

otherwise unusual is unacceptable. Also, the addition of a 

novel method of premium payment to an otherwise common 

plan of insurance does not render it new. 

16. An advertisement may not omit the word covered 

when referring to benefits payable under its policy. 

Continued reference to covered is not necessary where this 

fact has been prominently disclosed in the advertisement. 

17. An advertisement must state that benefits payable 

under the policy are based upon Medicare eligible expenses, 

if such is the case. 

18. An advertisement which fails to disclose that the 

definition of hospital does not include a nursing home, 

convalescent home or extended care facility, as the case may 

be, is unacceptable. 

19. A television, radio, mail, or newspaper 

advertisement, or lead generating device which is designed 

to produce leads either by use of a coupon, a request to write 

or to call the company, or a subsequent advertisement prior 

to contact must include information disclosing that an 

insurance agent may contact the applicant, if such is the fact. 

20. Advertisements for policies designed to supplement 

Medicare shall not employ devices which are designed to 

create undue anxiety in the minds of the elderly. Such 

phrases as "here is where most people over 65 learn about 

the gaps in Medicare," or "Medicare is great, but ... ," or 

which otherwise exaggerate the gaps in Medicare coverage 

are unacceptable. Phrases or devices which unduly excite 

fear of dependence upon relatives or charity are 

unacceptable. Phrases or devices which imply that long 

sicknesses or hospital stays are common among the elderly 

are unacceptable. 

21. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract 

implying that the coverage is supplemental to Medicare, if it 

does not explain the manner in which it is supplemental to 

Medicare coverage, is not acceptable. 

22. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract 

for Medicare supplement insurance is unacceptable if the 

advertisement: 

a. fails to disclose in clear language which of the 

Medicare benefits the policy is not designed to supplement, 

or if it otherwise implies that Medicare provides only those 

benefits which the policy is designed to supplement; 

b. describes the in-patient hospital coverage of 

Medicare as Medicare hospital, or Medicare Part A when 

the policy does not supplement the non-hospital or the 

psychiatric hospital benefits of Medicare Part A; 

c. fails to describe clearly the operation of the part 

or parts of Medicare which the policy is designed to 

supplement; or 

d. describes those Medicare benefits not 

supplemented by the policy in such a way as to minimize 

their importance relative to the Medicare benefits which are 

supplemented. 

23. Advertisements which indicate that a particular 

coverage or policy is exclusively for preferred risks or a 

particular segment of the population, or that particular 

segments of the population are acceptable risks, when such 

distinctions are not maintained in the issuance of policies, 

are not acceptable. 

24. Any advertisement which contains statements such 
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as "anyone can apply," or "anyone can join," other than that 

with respect to a guaranteed issue policy for which 

administrative procedures exist to assure that the policy is 

issued within a reasonable period of time after the 

application is received by the insurer, is unacceptable. 

25. Any advertisement which uses any phrase or term 

such as "here is all you do to apply," "simply," or "merely" 

to refer to the act of applying for a policy which is not a 

guaranteed issue policy is unacceptable, unless it refers to 

the fact that the application is subject to acceptance or 

approval by the insurer. 

26. Advertisements which state or imply that premiums 

will not be changed in the future are not acceptable, unless 

the advertised policies so provide. 

27. An advertisement which does not require the 

premium to accompany the application must not 

overemphasize that fact and must make the effective date of 

that coverage clear. 

28. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract 

which falls to disclose the amount of any deductible and/or 

the percentage of any co-insurance factor is not acceptable. 

I.1. The rule recognizes that certain words and phrases in 

advertising may have a tendency to mislead the public as to 

the extent of benefits under an advertised policy. 

Consequently, such terms (and those specified in the rules do 

not represent a comprehensive list , but only examples) must 

be used with caution to avoid any tendency to exaggerate 

benefits and must not be used unless the statement is literally 

true in every instance. The use of the following phrases, 

based on such terms, or having the same effect must be 

similarly restricted: "pays hospital, surgical, etc. bills," "pays 

dollars to offset the cost of medical care," "safeguards your 

standard of living," "pays full coverage," "pays complete 

coverage," or "pays for financial needs." Other phrases may 

or may not be acceptable, depending upon the nature of the 

coverage being advertised. 

2. The rule also prohibits words or phrases which 

exaggerate the effect of benefit payment on the insured's 

general well-being, such as "worry-free savings plan," 

"guaranteed savings," "financial peace of mind," and "you 

will never have to worry about hospital bills again." 

3. Advertisements which are an invitation to contract 

for policies designed to supplement Medicare benefits are 

unacceptable if they fail to disclose that no hospital 

confinement benefits will be payable for that portion of a 

Medicare benefit period for which Medicare pays all 

hospital confinement expenses (currently 60 days) other than 

the initial deductible, if the policy so provides. The length of 

said period must be stated in days. 

J. Explanations must not minimize nor describe 

restrictive provisions in a positive manner. Negative features 

must be accurately set forth. Any limitation on benefits 

precluding pre-existing conditions must also be restated 

under a caption concerning exclusions or limitations, 

notwithstanding that the pre-existing condition exclusion has 

been disclosed elsewhere in the advertisement. See §137.M, 

N, and O for additional comments on pre-existing 

conditions.) 

K. The rule should be applied in conjunction with §117. 

Phrases such as "we cut cost to the bone" or "we deal direct 

with you so our costs are lower" shall not be used. 

L.1. An advertisement which is an invitation to contract, 

as defined in §105, must recite the exceptions, reductions, 

and limitations, as required by the rule and in a manner 

consistent with §105. 

2. If an exception, reduction, or limitation is important 

enough to use in a policy, it is of sufficient importance that 

its existence in the policy should be referred to in the 

advertisement, regardless of whether it may also be the 

subject matter of a provision of the Uniform Individual 

Accident and Sickness Policy Provision Law. 

3. Some advertisements disclose exceptions, 

reductions, and limitations as required, but the advertisement 

is so lengthy that it obscures the disclosure. Where the 

length of an advertisement has this effect, special emphasis 

must be given by changing the format to show the 

restrictions in a manner which does not minimize, render 

obscure, or otherwise make them appear unimportant. 

M. The rule implements the objective of §111.C.1 by 

requiring in negative terms a description of the effect of a 

pre-existing condition exclusion because such an exclusion 

is a restriction on coverage. The subdivision also prohibits 

the use of the phrase pre-existing condition without an 

appropriate definition or description of the term and 

prohibits stating a reduction in the statutory time limit as an 

affirmative benefit. The words appropriate definition or 

description mean that the term pre-existing condition must 

be defined as it is used by the company's claims department. 

N. The phrase, "no health questions," or words of similar 

import shall not be used if the policy excludes pre-existing 

conditions. Use of a phrase such as "guaranteed issue" or 

"automatic issues" if a policy excludes pre-existing 

conditions for a certain period must be accompanied by a 

statement disclosing that fact in a manner which does not 

minimize, render obscure, or otherwise make it appear 

unimportant and is otherwise consistent with §105. 

O. Some states require approval of the application even 

when the application is not attached to the policy when 

issued. The rule does not change such a requirement. The 

text of this guideline should be modified to reflect the rule 

applicable in the particular state. 

P.1. Advertisements of cancelable Medicare supplement 

policies must state that the contract is cancelable or 

renewable, at the option of the company, as the case may be. 

With respect to noncancellable policies and guaranteed 

renewable policies, the policy provisions, with respect to 

renewability, must be set forth and defined where 

appropriate. 

2. The rule also requires a statement of the qualifying 

conditions which constitute limitations on the permanent 

nature of the coverage. These customarily fall into three 
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categories: 

a. age limits; 

b. reservation of a right to increase premiums; and 

c. the establishment of aggregate limits. 

For example: "noncancellable and guaranteed renewable" 

does not fulfill the requirements of the rule if the policy 
contains a terminal age. In such a case, a proper statement 

would be "non-cancelable and guaranteed renewable to age 

_______." If a guaranteed renewable policy reserves the right 
to increase premiums, the statement must be expanded into 

language similar to "guaranteed renewable to age ______ but 

the company reserves the right to increase premium rates on a 
class basis." If the contract contains an aggregate limit after 

which no further benefits are payable, the above statement 

must be amplified with the phrase, "subject to a maximum 
aggregate amount of $50,000," or similar language. A 

Medicare supplement insurance policy may have one or more 

of the three basic limitations, and an advertisement must 

describe each of those which the policy contains. Over 50 

percent of new individual policy issues are guaranteed 

renewable; therefore, the fact that a policy is guaranteed 

renewable shall not be exaggerated. 

3. An advertisement for a Medicare supplement 

insurance policy which provides for age step-rated premium 

rates based upon the policy year or the insured's attained age 

must disclose such rate increases and the times or ages at 

which such premium increases. 

Q. The rule must be applied in conjunction with §115 

and requires that all such statements must be genuine and 

not fictitious. Under the rule. the manufacturing, substantive 

editing, or "doctoring up" of a testimonial is clearly 

prohibited as being false and misleading to the  

insurance-buying public. However, language which would 

be unacceptable under these rules must be edited out of a 

testimonial. 

R. The rule requires that both approval or endorsement 

of a policy by an individual, group of individuals, society, 

association, or other organization be factual, and that any 

proprietary relationship between the sponsoring or endorsing 

organization and the insurer be disclosed. For example: if the 

dividend under an association group case is payable to the 

association, disclosure of that fact is required. Also, if the 

insurer or an officer of the insurer formed or controls the 

association, that fact must be disclosed. This guideline also 

applies to §115.E. 

S.1. An advertisement shall specifically identify the 

Medicare supplement insurance policy to which statistics 

relate, and where statistics are given which are applicable to 

a different policy, it must be stated clearly that the data does 

not relate to the policy being advertised. 

2. An advertisement which states the dollar amount of 

claims paid must also indicate the period over which such 

claims have been paid. 

3. If the term "loss ratio" is used, it shall be properly 

explained in the context of the advertisement, and unless the 

state has issued a regulation otherwise defining the term, it 

shall be calculated on the basis of premiums earned to losses 

incurred and shall not be on a yearly run-off basis. 

T. The rule does not require that statistics for this state 

be used since such statistics as hospital charges and average 

stays may vary from state to state. When nationwide 

statistics are used, such fact should be noted, unless the 

statistics on the particular point are substantially the same in 

a state to which the advertisement is directed. Statistics way 

only be used if they are current and credible. 

U. The rule prohibits disparaging, unfair, or incomplete 

comparisons of policies or benefits which would have a 

tendency to decline or mislead the public. The rule does not 

preclude the use of comparisons by health maintenance 

organizations, prepaid health plans, and other direct service 

organizations which describe the difference between their 

prepaid health benefits coverage and indemnity insurance 

coverage. 

V. The rule prohibits advertisements which imply that an 

insurer is licensed beyond the limits of those jurisdictions 

where it is actually licensed. An advertisement which 

contains testimonials from persons who reside in a state in 

which the insurer is not licensed or which refers to claims of 

persons residing in states in which the insurer is not licensed 

implies licensing in those states, and therefore, is in violation 

of this rule unless the advertisement states that the insurer is 

not licensed in those states. 

W.1 Although the rule permits a reference to an insurer 

being licensed in a state where the advertisement appears, it 

does not allow exaggeration of the fact of such licensing nor 

does it permit the suggestion that competing insurers may 

not be so licensed because, in most states, an insurer must be 

licensed in the state to which it directs its advertising. 

2. Terms such as "official" or words of similar import 

used to describe any policy or application form are not 

permissible because of the potential for deceiving or 

misleading the public. This guideline also applies to 

§119.A.3. 

X. The rule prohibits advertising representing that a 

product is offered on an introductory, initial, or special offer 

basis or otherwise which: 

1. will not be available later; or 

2. is available only to certain individuals, unless such 

is the fact. This rule prohibits the repetitive use of such 

advertisements. Where an insurer uses enrollment periods as 

the usual method of advertising these policies, the rule 

prohibits describing an enrollment period as a special 

opportunity or offer for the applicant. 

Y.1. The rule restricts the repetitive use of enrollment 

periods. The requirement of reasonable closing dates and 

waiting periods between enrollment periods was adopted to 

eliminate the abuses which formerly existed. This rule does 

not limit just the use of enrollment periods. It requires that a 

particular insurance product offered in an enrollment period 

through any advertising media, including the prepared 

presentations of agents, cannot be offered again in the state 

until (insert number) months from the close of the 

enrollment period. Thus, an insurer must choose whether to 

use enrollment periods or open enrollment for a product. 
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(See §137.Y.1) for the definition of a particular insurance 

product.) 

2. The rule does not prohibit multiple advertising 

during an enrollment period through any and all media 

published or transmitted within this state as long as the 

enrollment periods for all such advertisements have the same 

expiration date. 

3. The rule does not prohibit the solicitation of 

members of a group or association for the same product even 

though there has not been a lapse of (insert months) since the 

close of a preceding enrollment period which was open to 

the general public for the same product. 

4. The rule does not require separation by (insert 

number) months of enrollment periods for the same 

insurance product in this state if the advertising material is 

directed by an admitted insurer to persons by direct mail on 

the basis that a common relationship exists with an entity. 

Examples of such would be a bank and its depositors, a 

department store to its charge account customers, or an oil 

company to its credit card holders, and more than one of 

such organizations is sponsoring such insurance product at 

different times if providing such insurance under such a 

method is not otherwise prohibited by law. However, the 

(insert number) month rule does apply to one specific 

sponsor to the same persons in this state on the basis of their 

status as customers of that one specific entity only. 

Z. The rule defines the meaning of a particular 

insurance product in §137.Y.1 and prohibits advertising of 

products having minor variations such as different periods or 

different amounts of daily hospital indemnity benefits in a 

succession of enrollment periods. 

AA. The rule is closely related to the requirements of 

§115 concerning the use of statistics. The rule prohibits 

insurers which have been organized for only a brief period of 

time advertising that they are "old" and also prohibits 

emphasizing the size and magnitude of the insurer. Also, the 

occupations of the persons comprising the insurer's board of 

directors or the public's familiarity with their names or 

reputations is irrelevant and must not be emphasized. The 

preponderance of a particular occupation or profession 

among the board of directors of an insurer does not justify 

the advertisement of a plan of insurance offered to the 

general public as insurance designed or recommended by 

members of that occupation or profession. For example, it is 

unacceptable for an insurance company to advertise a policy 

offered to the general public as "the physicians' policy" or 

"the doctors' plan" simply because there is a preponderance 

of physicians or doctors on the board of directors of the 

insurer. The rule prohibits the use of recommendation of a 

commercial rating system unless the purpose, meaning, and 

limitations of the recommendation are clearly indicated. 

BB. The text of Subsection A is identical to the text of 

the first paragraph of the Enforcement Section of previous 

drafts of the rules, except the last sentence of the Subsection 

has been revised to require that the advertising file be 

maintained either for a period of four years (rather than three 

as previously) or until the next regular examination of the 

insurer, whichever is the longer period of time. 

CC. The rule is attached as an example of the text of a 

rule which may be used, at the option of the commissioner, 

in a state which reviews advertisements prior to use. The 

NAIC takes no position here on the question of whether 

direct response advertising material should be subject to 

prior review by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:224. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:67 (January 1991). 

Chapter 3. Rule Number 4―Interlocal 

Risk Management Agency 

§301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this amendment to Rule 4 is to 

provide for the expansion of the types of investments in 

which an Interlocal Risk Management Agency could invest 

to include selected investments permitted under R.S. 

33:2955 and to adopt provisions and uniform guidelines for 

their interpretation as authorized specifically by Act 462 of 

the 1979 Session of the Legislature. This Rule is designed to 

facilitate and implement the provisions of that Act. It is 

intended to supplement, not alter in any manner, the 

provisions of the Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990), 

amended, LR 46:1103 (August 2020). 

§303. Applicability 

A. These provisions shall be applicable to any and all 

entities which may be defined as an interlocal risk 

management agency by Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990), 
amended LR 46:1103 (August 2020). 

§304. Authority 

A. Rule 4 is promulgated by the commissioner pursuant 

to the authority granted under the Louisiana Insurance Code, 

R.S. 22:11, Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 

1979 Session of the Louisiana Legislature, R.S. 33:2955 and 

the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, R.S. 33:2955. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 16:621 (July 1990), 

amended LR 46:1103 (August 2020). 

§305. Definitions 

Certified Audit―an audit upon which the auditor 
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expresses his professional opinion that the accompanying 

statements present fairly the financial position of the self-

insurance fund in conformity with generally accepted 

accounting principles consistently applied, and accordingly, 

include such test of the accounting records and such other 

auditing procedures as considered necessary by such auditor. 

Contingent Liability―the amount that the interlocal risk 

management agency may be obligated to pay in excess of a 

given year's normal premium collected or on hand. 

Department―the Insurance Department of the State of 

Louisiana. 

Experience Modification―the applicable experience debit 

or credit promulgated in accordance with those experience 

rating plans filed by and approved for the National Council 

on Compensation Insurance or the Insurance Services 

Office. 

Fund―the interlocal risk management agency self-

insurers fund. 

Gross Premium―the premium determined by multiplying 

the payroll or other unit of exposure (segregated into the 

proper workmen's compensation job classification or general 

liability classification) times the appropriate manual rates. 

Loss Fund―the retention of risk sharing for an interlocal 

risk management agency under the terms of an aggregate 

excess contract or contracts. 

Manual Rate―for workmen's compensation purposes that 

rate filed by and approved for use in the state by the 

National Council on Compensation Insurance. For public 

liability exposure, the term means that rate filed by and 

approved for use by the Insurance Services Office. 

Net Safety Factor―any amount needed in a given fund 

year, in addition to current loss' reserves to fund future loss 

development. 

Normal Premium―the standard premium less any 

discount allowed. 

Service Agent―a business which contracts with an 

interlocal risk management agency for the purpose of 

providing all services necessary to place and maintain a 

group self-insurance program. 

Standard Premium―gross premium plus or minus 

applicable experience modification. 

Statutory Workmen's Compensation Benefit―those 

prescribed by Title 23, Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, 

as amended. 

Surplus―all other assets a fund may have on hand in 

excess of all loss reserves, actual and contingent liabilities, 

and net safety factors in all fund years. 

Trustee Fund―any monies and investment under the 

control of the board of trustees of a self-insurance fund 

which are not part of the loss fund or which are not required 

to pay claims. 

Trustees―the executive boards of the Louisiana 

Municipal Association or of the Police Jury Association of 

Louisiana, as the case may be, where those bodies have been 

designated in an intergovernmental agreement to administer 

an interlocal risk management agency or such members of 

such executive boards as do not decline to serve as trustees. 

In all other cases, trustee means a group of members elected 

by the interlocal risk management agency, for stated terms of 

office, to administer a group self-insurance fund and whose 

duties shall include responsibilities for approving 

applications for new members of such fund. A trustee shall 

not be an owner, officer, or employee of the service agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§307. Requirements Necessary to Obtain a Certificate 

of Authority as an Interlocal Risk Management 

Agency 

A. Evidence must be submitted to the Insurance 

Department that two or more local government subdivisions 

have made an executed agreement among themselves to 

form and become members of an interlocal risk management 

agency. 

B. Copies of the bylaws and other agreements must be 

submitted to the Insurance Department. 

C. A copy of the ordinance or other enabling Act that is 

adopted by the political subdivisions authorizing execution 

of an agreement to form an interlocal risk management 

agency must be submitted to the Department of Insurance. 

D. Each interlocal risk management agency must identify 

its agent for service of process to the Department of 

Insurance. 

E. Each fund must have an annual gross premium 

calculated in accordance with the applicable manual 

premium rate or rates, plus or minus applicable experience 

credits or debits, of not less than $200,000. 

F. An interlocal risk management agency must, at all 

times, maintain a contract or contracts of aggregate excess 

insurance of at least $5,000,000 as respects public liability 

claims if a fund is formed to self-insure public liability 

claims. 

G. An interlocal risk management agency must, at all 

times, maintain a contract or contracts of specific excess 

insurance as respects workmen's compensation claims. 

Those contracts must provide for statutory workmen's 

compensation benefits which shall include provisions for 

unlimited medical and rehabilitation expenses, except that 

interlocal risk management agencies that are in existence 

prior to September 1, 1980 shall be deemed to be in 

compliance with this rule provided a contract or contracts of 

specific excess insurance has been submitted with a limit of 

liability in the amount of at least $1,000,000. On the first 

renewal date following September 1, 1980, the exception 

shall not be applicable. 

H. Each interlocal risk management agency must provide 
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statutory workmen's compensation benefits. A contract or 

contracts of excess insurance as provided in §307.G shall be 

provided to secure payment of statutory workmen's 

compensation benefits. 

I. A copy of each contract of excess and aggregate 

insurance must be filed with the Department of Insurance. 

J. Each risk contract must contain a provision that the 

Department of Insurance will be notified not less than 30 

days in advance in the event of cancellation of the contract 

by action of either the interlocal risk management agency or 

the insurance company that issued the contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§309. Filing of Reports 

A. A certified audited financial statement must be 

submitted annually. That statement must contain a review of 

the interlocal risk management agency operations and 

general conditions by a certified independent casualty 

actuary. During the first two years of the existence of the 

interlocal risk management agency, the Commissioner of 

Insurance, or his chief examiner, may require periodic 

interim financial reports. Those reports may be required on a 

basis no more frequent than quarterly. 

B. That statement of financial condition must include a 

report of the outstanding workmen's compensation liabilities 

of the interlocal risk management agency and include details 

of the amount and source of all monies recoverable from any 

third party. 

C. Summary loss data shall be filed with the Department 

of Insurance on each fund member within 60 days after the 

evaluation date of the losses being reported in a manner 

acceptable to the Department of Insurance. 

D. Classified, audited, and properly limited payrolls and 

premium development on each fund member shall be 

submitted to the Insurance Department on acceptable forms 

within 60 days after the evaluation date of the summary loss 

information required in §309.C. 

E. All of the information required in §309.D shall be 

submitted using classification, payroll limitations, 

experience modification, and rate procedure of the National 

Council on Compensation Insurance, or in the case of public 

liability, those of Insurance Services Office, as filed and 

approved for use in this state. 

F. Failure or refusal of the interlocal risk management 

agency to file these reports in accordance with this rule shall 

be considered good cause to suspend or refuse renewal of 

the Certificate of Authority issued by the Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§311. Solvency or Risk Management Agencies; Trustee 

Responsibilities 

A. In order to insure the financial stability of the 

operations of each interlocal risk management agency, the 

board of trustees of each fund shall be responsible for all 

operations of the fund. The board of trustees of each agency 

shall take all necessary precautions to safeguard the assets of 

the fund or funds of such agency including: 

1. the designation of a fiscal agent or administrator, if 

not otherwise provided for by Act 462 of the 1979 Regular 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature to administer the 

financial affairs of the fund, which as obligee, shall furnish a 

fidelity bond, or acceptable substitute, to protect the fund 

against misappropriation or misuse of any monies or 

securities. The amount of the bond, or substitution therefor, 

shall be determined by the interlocal risk management 

agency subject to approval by the insurance department. 

Such fiscal agent or administrator shall not be an owner, 

officer, or employee of the service agent; 

2. retain control of all monies collected or disbursed 

from the fund or funds and shall segregate all monies into a 

claims fund and trustee fund. The amount allocated to the 

claims fund will be sufficient to cover payment of the entire 

aggregate loss fund, as defined in the aggregate excess 

insurance policy. Only disbursements that are credited 

toward the loss fund, as defined in the aggregate excess 

policy, will be made from the claims fund. All administration 

costs and other disbursements will be made from the trustee 

fund. The administrator of the fund shall establish a 

revolving fund for use by the authorized service agent, 

which will be replenished from time to time from the claims 

fund. The service agent and its employees shall be covered 

by a fidelity bond, with the interlocal risk management 

agency named as obligee in an amount sufficient to protect 

all monies placed in the revolving fund. Such bond and its 

amount shall be subject to approval by the insurance 

department; 

3. audit of the accounts and records are provided for 

in Act 462 of the 1979 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature; 

4. the board of trustees or its fiscal agent or 

administrator shall not utilize any of the monies collected as 

premiums for any purpose unrelated to workmen’s 

compensation or public liability purposes. Further, it shall 

not borrow any monies from the fund, or in the name of the 

fund, without advising the Department of Insurance of the 

nature and purpose of the loan and obtaining approval. The 

board of trustees may, at its discretion, invest any surplus 

monies not needed for current obligations, but such 

investments shall be limited to: 

a. direct United States Treasury obligations, the 

principal and interest of which are fully guaranteed by the 

government of the United States; 

b. bonds, debentures, notes, or other evidence of the 

indebtedness issued or guaranteed by federal agencies and 

provided such obligations are backed by the full faith and 
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credit of the United States of America, which obligations 

include but are not limited to: 

 i. U.S. Export-Import Bank; 

 ii. Farmers Home Administration; 

 iii. Federal Financing Bank; 

 iv. Federal Housing Administration Debentures; 

 v. General Services Administration; 

 vi. Government National Mortgage Association—

guaranteed mortgage-backed bonds and guaranteed pass-

through obligations; 

 vii. U.S. Maritime Administration—guaranteed 

Title XI financing; 

 viii. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 

Development. 

c. Bonds, debentures, notes, or other evidence of 

the indebtedness issued or guaranteed by U.S. government 

instrumentalities, which are federally sponsored, and such 

obligations include but are not limited to: 

 i. Federal Home Loan Bank System; 

 ii. Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation; 

 iii. Federal National Mortgage Association; 

 iv. Student Loan Marketing Association; 

 v. Resolution Funding Corporation. 

d. In no instance shall an interlocal risk 

management agency invest in obligations in Subparagraphs 

b and c of this Paragraph which are collateralized mortgage 

obligations that have been stripped into interest only or 

principal only obligations, inverse floaters, or structured 

notes. For the purposes of this Item, structured notes shall 

mean securities of U.S. government agencies, 

instrumentalities, or government-sponsored enterprises, 

which have been restructured, modified, and/or reissued by 

private entities. 

e. Bonds, debentures, notes, or other evidence of 

indebtedness issued by the state of Louisiana or any of its 

political subdivisions provided that the indebtedness shall 

have a long-term rating of Baa or higher by Moody’s 

Investors Service, a long-term rating of BBB- or higher by 

Standard and Poor’s or a long-term rating of BBB- or higher 

by Fitch, Inc. or a short-term rating of MIGI or VMIGI by 

Moody’s Investors Service, a short-term rating of A-1 or A-

1+ by Standard and Poor’s, or a short-term rating of F1 of 

F1+ by Fitch, Inc. 

f. Direct security repurchase agreements of any 

federal book entry only securities enumerated in 

Subparagraphs a, b, and c of this Paragraph. Direct security 

repurchase agreement means an agreement under which 

political subdivision buys, holds for a specified time, and 

then sells back those securities and obligations enumerated 

in Subparagraphs a, b, and c of this Paragraph. 

g. Time certificates of deposit of any bank 

domiciled or having a branch office in the state of Louisiana, 

savings accounts or shares of savings and loan associations 

and savings band, as defined by R.S. 6:703(16) or (17), or 

share accounts and share certificate accounts of federally or 

state-chartered credit unions issuing time certificates of 

deposit. Funds invested herein shall not exceed at any time 

the amount insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance 

Corporation in any one banking institution, or in any one 

savings and loan association, or National Credit Union 

Administration. 

h. Deposits in savings and loan associations and 

commercial banks shall be limited in this state, except in 

those instances where higher interest rates paid on deposits 

by such institutions in other states will provide better 

investment income and such deposits shall not exceed the 

federally insured amount in any one account, except that the 

federally insured amount on any one account may be 

exceeded if the amount involved in such an account does not 

exceed the greater of either of the two factors: 

 i. 5 percent of the combination of surplus and 

undivided profits and reserves, as currently reported for each 

bank in this state of in the banking division annual report of 

the Financial Institution Office of the Department of 

Commerce (banking control) or financial reports filed with 

the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Federal 

Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the Federal Reserve 

Bank of Atlanta; 

 ii. $500,000 per institution. 

i. Mutual or trust fund institutions which are 

registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission 

under the Securities Act of 1933 and the Investment Act of 

1940, and which have underlying investments consisting 

solely of and limited to securities of the United States 

government or its agencies. Investment of funds in such 

mutual or trust fund institutions shall be limited to 25 

percent of the monies considered available for investment as 

provided by this Section. 

j. Guaranteed investment contracts issued by a 

bank, financial institution, insurance company, or other 

entity having one of the two highest short-term rating 

categories of either Standard and Poor’s Corporation or 

Moody’s Investors Service, provided that no such 

investment may be made except in connection with a 

financing program for political subdivisions which financing 

program is approved by the state Bond Commission and 

offered by a public trust having the state as its beneficiary, 

provided further that no such investment shall be for a term 

longer than 18 months, and provided further that any such 

guaranteed investment contract shall contain a provision 

providing that in the event the issuer of the guaranteed 

investment contract is at any time no longer rated in either of 

the two highest short-term rating categories of Standard and 

Poor’s Corporation or Moody’s Investors Service, the 

investing unit of local government may either be released 

from the guaranteed investment contract without penalty, or 

be entitled to require that the guaranteed investment provider 
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collateralize the guaranteed investment contract with any 

bonds or other obligations which as to principal and interest 

constitute direct general obligations of, or are 

unconditionally guaranteed by, the United States of America, 

including obligations set forth in Subparagraphs a and b of 

this Paragraph to the extent unconditionally guaranteed by 

the United States of America. 

k. Investment grade commercial paper issued in the 

United States, traded in the United States markets, 

denominated in United States dollars, with a short-term 

rating of at least A-1 by Standard and Poor’s Financial 

Services LLC or P-1by Moody’s Investor Service, Inc. or the 

equivalent rating by a Nationally Recognized Statistical 

Rating Organization (NRSRO). 

l. Pre-approved first mortgage loans on commercial 

real estate owned by the fund administrator, located with the 

state of Louisiana, and occupied by the Fund or its trustees, 

administrator, or third [arty administrator. 

m. Bonds, debentures, notes, or other indebtedness 

issued by a state of the United States of America other than 

Louisiana or any such state’s political subdivisions provided 

that all of the following conditions are met. 

 i. The indebtedness shall have a long-term rating 

of A3 or higher by Moody’s Investors Service, a long-term 

rating of A- or higher by Standard and Poor’s or a long-term 

rating of A- or higher by Fitch, Inc., or a short-term rating of 

M1G1 of VM1G1 by Moody’s Investor’s Service, a short-

term rating of A-1 or A-1+ by Standard & Poor’s, or a short-

term rating of F1 or F1+ by Fitch, Inc. 

 ii. Prior to purchase of any such indebtedness and 

at all times during which such indebtedness is owned, the 

purchasing interlocal risk management agency retains the 

services of an investment advisor registered with the United 

States Securities and Exchange Commission; a trust 

department of an institution that is insured by the Federal 

Deposit Insurance Corporation, that exercised trust powers 

in Louisiana, and that has a main office or a bank branch in 

Louisiana; or a trust company that has offices in Louisiana, 

that is regulated by the Office of Financial Institutions or the 

applicable federal agency, and that owes a fiduciary duty to 

act solely in the best interest of the political subdivision. 

n. Bonds, debentures, notes or other indebtedness 

issued by domestic United States corporations provided that 

all of the following conditions are met. 

 i. The indebtedness shall have a long-term rating 

of Aa3 or higher by Moody’s Investors Service, a long-term 

rating of AA- or higher by Standard and Poor’s, or a long-

term rating of AA- or higher by Fitch Ratings, Inc. 

 ii. Prior to purchase of any such indebtedness and 

at all times during which such indebtedness is owned, the 

purchasing interlocal risk management agency retains the 

services of an investment advisor registered with the United 

States Securities and Exchange Commission; a trust 

department of an institution that is insured by the Federal 

Deposit Insurance Corporation, that exercised trust powers 

in Louisiana, and that has a main office or a bank branch in 

Louisiana; or a trust company that has offices in Louisiana, 

that is regulated by the Office of Financial Institutions or the 

applicable federal agency, and that owes a fiduciary duty to 

act solely in the best interest of the political subdivision. 

o. All interlocal risk management agencies shall 

develop and adopt an investment policy that details and 

clarifies investment objectives and the procedures and 

constraints necessary to reach those objectives. All such 

investment policies should: 

 i. reflect the mandate to manage funds prudently; 

 ii. place appropriate emphasis on the goals of 

safety of principal first, liquidity second, and yield third. 

B. The board of trustees may delegate authority for 

specific functions to the administrator of the self-insurers' 

fund. The functions which may be delegated include, but are 

not limited to, such matters as contracting with a service 

agent, determining the premium charged to and refunds 

payable to members, investing surplus monies subject to the 

restrictions set forth in §311.A.4, and approving applications 

for membership. All delegated authority shall be specifically 

defined in the written minutes of the trustees' meetings and 

shall be subject to final approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990), 
amended LR 46:1103 (August 2020). 

§313. Interlocal Risk Management Self-Insurance 

Funds; Advance Premium Discounts; Surplus 

Distribution; Deficit 

A. The trustees of any interlocal risk management 

agency shall not allow advance premium discounts to any 

member in excess of that allowed by the excess insurance 

underwriter, subject however, to a maximum of 15 percent 

of their standard premium. 

B. Any surplus monies for a fund year in excess of the 

amount necessary to fulfill all obligations under the 

Workmen's Compensation Act for that fund year, including a 

provision for claims incurred but not reported and related 

expenses, may be declared to be refundable by the trustees at 

any time, and the amount of such declaration shall be a fixed 

liability of the fund at the time of the declaration. The date 

of payment shall be as agreed by the trustees, except that 

surplus monies not needed to satisfy the loss fund 

requirements (i.e., trustees' funds), as established by the 

aggregate excess contract, may be refunded immediately 

after the end of the fund year, with the approval of the 

Commissioner of Insurance. The intent of this rule is to 

ensure that sufficient monies are retained in the funds to 

assure that the total assets are $200,000 greater than total 

liabilities for each fund year. 

C. In the event of a deficit in any fund year, the deficit 

shall be made up immediately from any of the following: 

1. unencumbered surplus from a fund year other than 
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the current fund year; 

2. trustees' funds; 

3. by assessment of the membership of the deficit 

fund year, if ordered; 

4. by such alternative method as the Commissioner of 

Insurance may approve; 

5. by reduction or elimination of the advance premium 

discount provided to members. 

D. The Commissioner of Insurance shall be notified 

before any transfer of unencumbered surplus funds and of 

any method utilized to eliminate a deficit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§315. Aggregate Excess Insurance, Interlocal Risk 

Management Agency; Self-Insurance 

A. No contract or policy of aggregate excess insurance 

shall be recognized in considering the ability of an applicant 

to indemnify the financial obligations of its members under 

the Workmen's Compensation Act, unless such contract or 

policy complies with all of the following: 

1. is issued by a casualty insurance company 

authorized to transact such business in this state, or a 

licensed resident surplus lines broker; 

2. is not cancellable or nonrenewable unless written 

notice by registered or certified mail is given to the other 

party to the policy and to the Commissioner of Insurance not 

less than 30 days before termination by the party desiring to 

cancel or not renew the policy; 

3. any contract or policy containing any type of 

commutation clause shall provide that any commutation 

effected thereunder shall not relieve the underwriter or 

underwriters of further liability in respect to claims and 

expenses unknown at the time of such commutation and 

which are subsequently reopened by or through a competent 

authority. If the underwriter proposes to settle their liability 

for future payments payable as compensation for accidents 

occurring during the term of the policy by the payment of a 

lump sum to the interlocal risk management agency, to be 

fixed as provided in the commutation clause of the policy, 

then not less than 30 days prior notice of such commutation 

shall be given to the Insurance Department by the 

underwriter(s) or its (their) agent by registered or certified 

mail. If any commutation is effected, then the Commissioner 

of Insurance shall have the right to direct that such sum be 

placed in trust for the benefit of the loss fund; 

4. all of the following shall be applied toward the 

reaching of the retention level in the aggregate excess 

contract: 

a. payments made by the employer; 

b. payments due and owing to claimants of the 

employers; 

c. payments made on behalf of the employers by 

any surety bond under a bond required by the Commissioner 

of Insurance; 

d. payments made by the Interlocal Risk 

Management Agency security fund; 

5. copies of the complete policy of aggregate excess 

insurance shall be filed with the Commissioner of Insurance, 

together with a certification that such policy fully complies 

with this rule and applicable statutes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§317. Servicing Interlocal Risk Management Agencies; 

Application; Requirements; Noncompliance 

A. Any individual, co-partnership, or corporation 

desiring to engage in the business of providing one or more 

services for an approved workmen's compensation program 

for an interlocal risk management agency shall apply to, and 

shall satisfy the Commissioner of Insurance that it has 

adequate facilities and competent staff within the state of 

Louisiana to service the self-insurance program in such a 

manner as to fulfill the employers' obligations under the 

Workmen's Compensation Act and any rules and regulations 

applicable thereto. Service may include, but is not limited to, 

claims adjusting, industrial safety engineering, underwriting, 

and the capacity to provide required reporting. 

B. Application for approval to act as a servicing agent 

for an interlocal risk management agency shall be made on 

the required form. The application shall contain answers to 

all questions propounded and shall be sworn to and approved 

before the service agent enters into a contract with an 

interlocal risk management agency. Applications for 

approval to act as a service agent shall be granted for a 

period of one year and shall be subject to renewal annually. 

C. If the service agent seeks approval to service claims, 

then proof shall be required that it has within its 

organization, or has contracted on a full-time basis with, at 

least one person who has the knowledge and experience 

necessary to handle claims involving the Workmen's 

Compensation Act and public liability. A résumé covering 

that person or person's background shall be attached to the 

application of the service agent. 

D. If the service agent seeks approval to provide 

underwriting services, then proof shall be required that it has 

within its organization, or has contracted on a full-time basis 

with at least one person who has the knowledge and 

experience necessary to provide underwriting services for 

workmen's compensation excess insurance and public 

liability coverage. A résumé covering that person or person's 

background shall be attached to the application of the service 

agent. 

E. If the service agent seeks approval to furnish safety 

engineering services, then proof shall be required that it has 

within its organization, or has contracted on a full-time basis 

with at least one person who has the knowledge and 
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background necessary to adequately provide industrial safety 

and health engineering services. 

F. The service agent shall maintain adequate staff, and 

the staff shall be authorized to act for the service agent on all 

matters covered by the Workmen's Compensation Act and 

rules and regulations applicable thereto. 

G. The service agent shall file copies of all contracts 

entered into with interlocal risk management agencies as 

they relate to the services to be performed. Such reports shall 

be kept confidential. The service agent will handle all 

claims, with dates of injury or disease, within the contract 

period until their conclusion, unless the service agent is 

relieved of that responsibility by a successor service agent. 

H. Failure to comply with the provisions of the 

Workmen's Compensation Act shall be considered good 

cause for withdrawal of the approval to act as a service 

agent. Thirty days notice of withdrawal shall be given, and 

notice shall be served, by certified or registered mail, upon 

all interested parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§319. Penalty for Non-Compliance 

A. Non-compliance with the provisions of this rule may 

result in suspension, revocation, or non-renewal of the 

Certificate of Authority issued by the Commissioner of 

Insurance pursuant to the provisions of Act 462 of the 1979 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

§321. Severability 

A. If any of the provisions of this rule are held invalid, 

such invalidity shall not affect other provisions which can be 

given effect with the invalid item, and to this end the 

provisions of this rule are hereby declared severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 2 of 1950 and Act 462 of the 1979 Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 16:621 (July 1990). 

Chapter 7. Rule Number 

10―Continuing Education 

§701. Authority 

A. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 

22:1678, R.S. 22:1702, 22:1708, and R.S. 22:1808.4.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2173 (July 2011) , 

amended LR 47:600 (May 2021). 

§703. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Rule is to protect the public, 

maintain high standards of professional competency in the 

insurance industry, and maintain and improve the insurance 

skills and knowledge of producers, adjusters, and insurance 

consultants licensed by the commissioner. This shall be 

accomplished by prescribing the following: 

1. minimum standards of continuing education in 

approved subjects that a licensee must periodically 

complete;  

2. procedures and standards for the approval of such 

education; and 

3. a procedure for establishing to the commissioner 

that continuing education requirements have been met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2173 (July 2011), 

repromulgated LR 47:600 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2762 

(November 2022). 

§705. Applicability and Scope 

A. This Rule applies to all natural persons who are 

licensed by the commissioner as producers for the lines of 

life, accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, bail 

bonds, personal lines or title and all adjusters and insurance 

consultants licensed by the commissioner. This Rule shall 

also apply to the providers of continuing education programs 

and instructors for such programs. 

B. The requirement for the completion of continuing 

education shall not apply to the following: 

1. nonresident licensees who have met the continuing 

education requirements in their home state. If a producer or 

adjuster is not required to take continuing education in his 

home state that producer or adjuster is not required to submit 

continuing education credits to renew his Louisiana license; 

2. an individual renewing a resident claims adjuster 

license for the first time after initial issuance. Thereafter the 

licensee shall be subject to all applicable continuing 

education requirements; 

3. an individual renewing a public adjuster license 

within one year of initial issuance; 

4. an individual licensed as an insurance producer 

who, on the date of renewal submission, is 65 years or older 

and who has at least 15 years of experience and who either: 

a. is no longer actively engaged in the insurance 

business as a producer and who is receiving social security 

benefits, if eligible; or 
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b. is actively engaged in the insurance business as a 

producer and who represents or operates through a licensed 

Louisiana insurer or insurance agency. 

C. Any person seeking an exemption to the continuing 

education requirements pursuant to the provisions of 

Paragraph B.4 above shall attest to his eligibility for the 

exemption on a form provided by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2173 (July 2011) , 

amended LR 47:600 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2762 (November 

2022). 

§707. Effective Date 

A. This Rule shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register.   

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2173 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:600 (May 2021). 

§709. Definitions 

A. As used in this Rule, unless the context otherwise 

requires, the following definitions shall be applicable. 

Adjuster―an individual who is licensed by the 

commissioner as a claims adjuster pursuant to the provisions 

of R.S. 22:1661-1678 or as a public adjuster pursuant to the 

provisions R.S. 22:1691-1708.  

Claims Adjuster―an individual who is licensed by the 

commissioner as a claims adjuster pursuant to the provisions 

of R.S. 22:1661-1678. 

Commissioner―the commissioner of insurance of 

Louisiana. 

Insurance Consultant―an individual licensed as an 

insurance consultant pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 

22:1808.1-1808.13.  

Insurance Producer or Producer―an individual who is 

licensed by the commissioner as an insurance producer 

pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 22:1541-1566. 

Licensee―an individual licensed as an insurance 

producer or insurance consultant for the lines of life, 

accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, bail 

bonds, personal lines, title, or as a claims adjuster or a public 

adjuster by the commissioner. 

Provider―an entity presenting a continuing education 

program. 

Public Adjuster―an individual who is licensed by the 

commissioner as a public adjuster pursuant to the provisions 

of R.S. 22:1691-1708. 

Renewal Period―the two years immediately preceding 

expiration of a producer or adjuster license. For the purposes 

of a newly issued license “renewal period” shall mean the 

time between the issuance of the license and the next 

scheduled expiration of the license. 

Self-Study―an internet, CD-ROM, DVD, or other 

computer based presentation or a correspondence course. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2173 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:600 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2762 (November 

2022). 

§711. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. As a condition of the renewal of a license, the 

continuing education provider or licensee must furnish the 

commissioner, prior to the license expiration date, proof of 

satisfactory completion of approved programs having the 

required minimum hours of continuing education credit. 

1. Insurance producers or insurance consultants licensed 

for one or more of the lines of life, accident and health or 

sickness, property, casualty or personal lines―24 hours. 

2. Insurance producers licensed for the line of bail 

bonds―12 hours. 

3. Insurance producers licensed for the line of 

title―12 hours. 

4. Adjuster license24 hours. 

B. The 24 hours of continuing education required for 

insurance producers or insurance consultants licensed for 

one or more of the lines of life, accident and health or 

sickness, property, casualty or personal lines shall include a 

minimum of three hours dedicated to the subject of ethics. 

C. The 24 hours of continuing education required for 

insurance producers or insurance consultants licensed for 

one or more of the lines of property, casualty or personal 

lines shall include a minimum of three hours dedicated to the 

subject of flood insurance. 

D. The 12 hours of continuing education required for 

insurance producers licensed for the line of title shall include 

a minimum of two hours related to state and federal 

consumer finance protection laws. 

E. The 12 hours of continuing education required for 

insurance producers for the line of bail shall include a 

minimum of six hours dedicated to the subject of bail 

enforcement as defined in the Code of Criminal Procedure 

Article 311. 

F. The 24 hours of continuing education required for 

adjusters shall include a minimum of three hours dedicated 

to the subject of ethics. 

G. An individual shall not sell, solicit or negotiate long-

term care insurance unless the individual is licensed as an 

insurance producer for one or more of the lines of life or 
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accident and health or sickness and has completed a one-

time training course of no less than eight hours and an 

ongoing training of no less than four hours every two years. 

H. Failure to fulfill the continuing education 

requirements prior to the filing date for license renewal shall 

cause the license to lapse. 

I. A license which has lapsed may not be reinstated until 

the licensee has complied with all continuing education 

requirements which would have applied had the license 

continued uninterrupted. 

J. Each program applied toward satisfaction of the 

continuing education requirement for a license shall be 

completed within the renewal period for which the credit is 

claimed except that an insurance producer licensed for one 

or more of the lines of life, accident and health or sickness, 

property, casualty, or personal lines may apply up to 10 

hours of approved instruction or self-study accumulated but 

not used for renewal during one renewal period to the 

continuing education requirements for the next renewal 

period. Continuing education credits dedicated to the subject 

of flood or ethics may be applied toward the next renewal 

period as general continuing education credit but may not be 

used to satisfy the minimum requirement for those subjects. 

K. No licensee may be granted credit for a program more 

than once during a 24-month period. 

L. Subject to the provisions of Subsection K above, a 

licensee who acts as an instructor for any program approved 

for continuing education credit by the commissioner shall 

receive the same number of hours as would be granted to a 

licensee taking and successfully completing the program. 

M. Licensees who successfully complete all prerequisites 

of a qualified graduate level national designation program 

and receive the designation shall earn 24 continuing 

education credit hours. 

N. Licensees who hold any combination of insurance 

producer, adjuster or insurance consultant licenses may 

receive credit applied to all license types for which the 

course is approved by the commissioner. 

O.1. Insurance producers who are members of state or 

national insurance associations may be granted up to four 

continuing education credits each renewal period for actively 

participating in a state or national insurance association in 

any of the following methods: 

a. attend a formal meeting of a state or national 

insurance association where a formal business program is 

presented and attendance is verified in a manner consistent 

with the provisions of this Rule; 

b. serve on the board of directors or a formal 

committee of a state or national chapter of the insurance 

association, and actively participate in the activities of the 

board or committee; 

c. participate in industry, regulatory, or legislative 

meetings held by or on behalf of a state or national chapter 

of the insurance association; or 

d. participate in other formal insurance business 

activities of a state or national chapter of the insurance 

association. 

2. To qualify for continuing education credit under 

this provision, members must participate in qualified 

activities as described in Paragraph O.1 of this Section. The 

state or national insurance association shall be responsible 

for verifying participation. Attendance at meetings which are 

otherwise approved for continuing education credit do not 

qualify under the terms of this provision. The state or 

national insurance association shall submit a formal request 

to the commissioner for approval of continuing education 

credits issued under the terms of this provision. The request 

shall include the name and Louisiana license number for all 

producers for whom credit is being requested and 

information on the completed activities including the dates, 

times and descriptions of those activities. Such requests shall 

be made to the commissioner no more than 365 days after 

completion of the activity and shall be made in increments 

of not less than one hour. The commissioner shall review the 

requests and grant credit to the producers only after 

determining that the request is consistent with the provisions 

of this Rule. 

3. Continuing education credit for membership in a 

bail bond association may only be applied towards renewal 

or reinstatement of an insurance producer license for the line 

of bail bonds. Continuing education credit for membership 

in a life, accident and health or sickness, property, or 

casualty type association may only be applied towards 

renewal or reinstatement of a similar insurance producer 

license unless the insurance producer is licensed for one or 

more of the lines of life or accident and health or sickness 

and licensed for one or more of the lines of property, 

casualty, or personal lines. 

4. Regardless of the number of state or national 

insurance associations in which an insurance producer 

actively participates, under no circumstances shall an 

insurance producer receive more than four credit hours per 

renewal period for such participation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2173 (July 2011) , 

amended LR 47:600 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2762 (November 

2022). 

§713. Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements 

A. A licensee who is unable to comply with continuing 

education requirements due to military service or some other 

extenuating circumstance, such as a long-term medical 

disability, may request a waiver of those requirements. Such 

request shall be submitted in writing to the commissioner 

and shall include such documentation to verify the request as 

the commissioner may reasonably require. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 
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Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2174 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:601 (May 2021). 

§715. Program Certification Requirements 

A. An application for certification of a continuing 

education program shall be submitted to the commissioner 

not less than 30 days prior to the expected use of the 

program. Each application shall be submitted electronically 

using the “CE Course Administration Module” of the 

Industry Access System or succeeding system and shall 

include: 

1. the full legal name and federal employer 

identification number (FEIN) of the provider of the 

continuing education program; 

2. an outline of the program including a list of 

resource material to be used, a copy of the textbook to be 

used, description of the training aids to be used, a detailed 

description of the program, a schedule of the program which 

clearly indicates the time spent on each subject for which 

credit is being requested and the cost of the program to each 

participant; 

3. a statement of the method used to determine the 

course has been completed and whether there has been a 

positive achievement of education on the part of the licensee 

participating in the program. Such method may be a written 

examination, a written report by the licensee, certification by 

the organization providing the program of the attendance or 

completion of the program by the licensee, or any other 

method approved by the commissioner as appropriate for the 

subject; 

4. if the program is not a self-study program, a 

schedule of locations where the instructional program will 

be offered, and a schedule of times and dates when the 

program will be offered. Any change in the schedule of 

locations, dates or times of program presentation shall be 

filed with the commissioner no less than three days prior to 

the scheduled beginning date of the program presentation; 

5. if the program is not a self-study program, the 

physical address, including room or suite number and a 

description of the facilities where the program will be 

presented. All facilities shall meet the requirements of §723 

of this Rule; 

6. if the program is a self-study program, a description 

of the measures used by the provider to verify identity of the 

participants;  

7. if the program is a self-study program, a description 

of the technical support available to participants including 

the business hours of the support and the proposed length of 

time for response by the provider to any inquiries; 

8. if the program is a self-study program, a description 

of the method used to prevent access to a course exam 

before review of the course material; 

9. if the program is a self-study program, a user ID 

and log-in credentials to permit the commissioner to view 

the program in the same environment under the same 

conditions that will be permitted for the participants. 

10. payment of all fees as required by R.S. 

22:821(B)(29). 

B. A provider may request that any program materials 

deemed proprietary or which contain trade secrets be 

maintained as confidential by the commissioner. All such 

requests must be made in strict compliance with the 

provisions of R.S. 44:3.2. 

C. The provider shall not allow credit for hours for any 

program work that is not conducted under the direct 

supervision of the program instructor at the approved facility 

during scheduled program presentation or completed by self-

study. 

D. Any material changes to information submitted to the 

commissioner in association with an application for 

certification of a continuing education program that has been 

approved by the commissioner must be submitted to the 

commissioner no less than 30 days prior to the scheduled 

beginning date of the program presentation. A material 

change shall include any of the following: 

1. change(s) to the instructors of the continuing 

education program; 

2. change(s) to the facility where the continuing 

education program will be presented; 

3. change(s) to the text books, resource material or 

training materials to be used in the continuing education 

program. 

E. The following general subjects are acceptable for 

certification as continuing education programs as long as 

they contribute to the knowledge and professional 

competence of a licensee and demonstrate a direct and 

specific application to insurance: 

1. insurance and risk management; 

2. insurance laws, regulations and ethics; 

3. programs in economics, business, management, 

computers, finance, taxes and laws which relate specifically 

to the insurance business; 

4. claims management and damage assessment; 

5. any other such subjects which may be related or 

that have a direct and specific application to the insurance 

industry and which contribute to the professional 

competence of a licensee. This may include but is not 

limited to subjects such as securities and finance. 

F. The following general subjects are not acceptable for 

certification as continuing education programs: 

1. any program used to prepare for taking an 

insurance or securities licensing examination; 

2. general computer programs not specifically related 

to the business of insurance or adjusting; 

3. motivational, psychology, communications, or sales 
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training programs; 

4. general business programs not specifically related 

to the business of insurance or adjusting; 

5. any program not directly and specifically applicable 

to the insurance or adjusting business. 

G. The commissioner shall not certify a continuing 

education program unless the program meets the following 

standards. 

1. The program must have significant intellectual or 

practical content to enhance and improve the insurance 

knowledge and professional competence of participants.  

2. The program must be developed by persons who 

are qualified in the subject matter and instructional design. 

3. The program content must be current and up to 

date. 

4. The program includes a means for evaluating the 

quality of the education provided. 

H. If a provider utilizes published program materials, 

including text books, outlines or other similar materials, 

each attendee must be provided with a complete original text 

of the material as part of the fee for the program. This text 

shall be retained by the attendee and shall not be returned or 

resold to the provider. No substitute texts, outlines, 

summaries or copyright infringement is permitted. 

I. A program may be certified for one or more of the 

following license types and credit shall be granted only to a 

licensee holding the type or types of license for which the 

program is approved: 

1. insurance producer and consultant―life; 

2. insurance producer and consultant―accident and 

health or sickness; 

3. insurance producer and consultant―property; 

4. insurance producer and consultant―casualty; 

5. insurance producer―personal lines; 

6. insurance producer―bail bond; 

7. insurance producer―title; 

8. adjuster. 

J. A provider shall not advertise or represent to any 

licensee that a continuing education program has been 

approved for credit prior to the issuance of such approval by 

the commissioner. No assertion of pending approval may be 

made unless the program has been submitted to the 

commissioner. 

K. Certification of a continuing education program shall 

expire three years from the date of certification. A provider 

may request renewal of the certification by submitting all 

information required by this section to the commissioner no 

less than 30 days prior to the expiration of the certification. 

L. No licensee shall receive credit for a program if the 

program is completed after expiration of the certification. 

The provider shall be responsible to notify any licensee who 

has purchased a program of the expiration of the program if 

it is not completed prior to expiration of the certification. 

M. A request for renewal of an internet-based self-study 

program shall include statistical information related to the 

program including the total number of Louisiana resident 

licensees who participated in the program in the previous 

three years and the average and median amount of time 

spent in the course environment by those licensees. In 

addition to the required information, the provider may also 

include information for all participants of the program. This 

information may be used by the commissioner in 

determining the appropriate number of credit hours to be 

awarded to the program upon renewal. 

N. A licensee may request credit for a seminar, 

conference or similar program that is not self-study and has 

not otherwise been submitted for approval to the 

commissioner by the provider. Such request shall be in 

writing and shall contain sufficient information for the 

commissioner to determine compliance of the program with 

the requirements of this Rule. In determining the eligibility 

of the program for credit, the commissioner may consider all 

of the following: 

1. Whether the seminar, conference or similar 

program occurred outside the boundaries of Louisiana. 

2. Whether the Department of Insurance of another 

state has granted approval of the program for continuing 

education credit for insurance producers, adjusters, or 

insurance consultants licensed in that state. 

3. Whether the information presented by the licensee 

is sufficient to determine the content of the program. 

4. Whether the licensee can provide sufficient 

evidence of participation in the program. Registration and 

payment of any fees is not prima facie evidence of 

participation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2175 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:602 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2763 (November 

2022). 

§717. Measurement of Credit Hours 

A. Credit hours for continuing education programs shall 

be determined by the commissioner in compliance with the 

provisions of this Rule.  

B. Credit for continuing education programs shall be 

given in full hours only. 

1. The number of credit hours for programs other than 

self-study shall be equivalent to the actual number of hours 

in the classroom instruction or participation. Each hourly 

period must include at least 50 minutes of continuous 
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instruction or participation. For this purpose, a one-day 

program will be granted eight hours credit if the total lapsed 

time is approximately eight hours and the total time of 

instruction is at least 400 minutes. 

2. The number of credit hours for self-study programs 

shall be determined by the commissioner upon considering 

the following: 

a. the complexity of the material covered in the 

program; 

b. the word count of the total program; 

c. statistical data on the length of time spent by 

participants in the program; 

d. the run time of any videos, animation or 

interactive exercises which are mandatory for completion of 

the program. 

C. University or college upper division credit or 

noncredit programs shall be evaluated as follows. 

1. Each semester system credit hour shall not exceed 

eight hours toward the requirement. 

2. Each quarter system credit hour shall not exceed 

four hours.  

D. The number of continuing education credit hours will 

be limited to a maximum of eight hours per day of 

instruction. The maximum number of continuing education 

credit hours that will be approved for any single program 

will be 24 credit hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2176 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:602 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2763 (November 

2022). 

§719. Provider Requirements 

A. Continuing education providers shall be one of the 

following; 

1. an insurance trade association; 

2. an insurance company admitted to do business in 

Louisiana; 

3. an accredited public or private college or 

university; 

4. an organization certified by the commissioner. 

B. An organization seeking to be certified by the 

commissioner shall submit an application to the 

commissioner on the forms he requires. The application shall 

include: 

1. the full, legal name and Federal Employer 

Identification number (FEIN) of the organization making 

application; 

2. the names and addresses of every officer, director, 

partner or member of the provider applicant; 

3. the names and addresses of every person owning, 

directly or indirectly, 10 percent or more of the provider 

applicant; 

4. the name, address and a description of the 

professional qualifications of the supervisory instructor of 

the provider applicant; 

5. the principal place of business of the provider 

applicant; 

6. certification from the provider applicant that all 

instructors presenting the program shall meet the 

requirements as set forth in this Rule; 

7. a general description of the types of continuing 

education programs presented by the provider applicant; 

8. a description of the qualifications and experience of 

the persons responsible for the creation of continuing 

education programs; 

9. the fee required by R.S. 22:821(B)(29); 

10. such other information as the commissioner may 

require to confirm compliance with this Rule. 

C. Every provider shall maintain a signed statement from 

each instructor describing the basis for the instructor’s 

qualifications and affirmation that the instructor shall 

comply with the requirements of this Rule. 

D. Every provider certified by the commissioner shall 

notify the commissioner of any material change in the 

information submitted with the application within 30 days of 

the effective date of the change. Every such notice shall 

include information comparable to that required with the 

initial application. A material change shall include, but not 

be limited to: 

1. a change of the name of the provider; 

2. a change in the address of the provider; 

3. a change of officer, director, partner or member of 

the provider; 

4. the merger of the provider; 

5. a change in ownership of 10 percent or more of the 

provider; 

6. a change in supervisory instructor of the provider. 

E. Every certification of a provider by the commissioner 

shall expire three years from the date of issuance and may be 

renewed by filing a renewal application as required by the 

commissioner not less than 90 days prior to expiration. 

F. If the certification of a provider expires without 

renewal or is rescinded or renewal refused, the 

commissioner’s approvals of continuing education programs 

presented by that provider shall be rescinded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 
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R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2176 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:603 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2763 (November 

2022). 

§721. Instructor Qualifications  

[Formerly §719] 

A. Every provider of a continuing education program 

shall designate an individual as a supervisory instructor. The 

supervisory instructor shall be responsible for the conduct of 

all other instructors or guest instructors and shall be 

responsible for assuring the quality of the instructional 

program. Every supervisory instructor shall have a minimum 

of five years of insurance experience and/or graduate level 

or professional education satisfactory to the commissioner. 

B. Nonsupervisory instructors shall meet at least one of 

the following criteria: 

1. have a minimum of three years experience as an 

insurance instructor with experience in the subject being 

taught; 

2. have been licensed for at least five years as a 

licensee of this state or another state; 

3. hold a national designation directly related to the 

subject matter being taught; 

4. be in a profession pertinent to the subject matter 

being taught. 

C. Special consideration may be granted by the 

commissioner where it is determined that the specific 

background of the instructor warrants consideration. 

D. Every instructor and supervisory instructor shall 

notify the provider and the commissioner of any of the 

following: 

1. any administrative action taken against the 

supervisory instructor or instructor for insurance related 

practices by any regulatory or governmental agency; 

2. any conviction or entry of a nolo contendere plea to 

any felony; 

3. participation in a pretrial diversion program 

pursuant to a felony charge; 

4. conviction of any misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude or public corruption on the part of the supervisory 

instructor or instructor.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2176 (July 2011) , 

amended LR 47:603 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2764 (November 

2022). 

§723. Training Facilities Requirements 

[Formerly §721] 

A. At a minimum, all training facilities shall: 

1. provide an atmosphere conducive to educational 

presentation, including good housekeeping, controlled 

environment as to heating and cooling, proper lighting and 

proper furnishings; 

2. be easily accessible and secure for the safety of the 

attendees; 

3. be dedicated for the exclusive use of the 

instructional program while in session; 

4. provide ready access to rest rooms and other 

facilities of human needs to the attendees; 

5. provide a proper layout to ensure that training aids, 

overhead viewing equipment and other such aids are easily 

visible by all attendees of the program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2176 (July 2011) , 

amended LR 47:604 (May 2021). 

§725. Authority of the Commissioner to Conduct On-

Site Review of Continuing Education Programs 

[Formerly §723] 

A. The commissioner or his designee shall have the 

authority to visit a training facility and review the provider's 

program at any time. Said visits may include the review of 

curriculum records, review of attendance records, and 

observation of instructional sessions in progress. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2177 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:604 (May 2021). 

§727. Program Completion 

[Formerly §725] 

A. Every provider shall maintain a list of all individuals 

who have successfully completed a continuing education 

program presented by that provider for a period of not less 

than five years from the date of course completion. The list 

shall contain the identification number assigned to the 

program by the commissioner and the name, and such 

distinct information as necessary to clearly identify all 

individuals who successfully completed the program and the 

date of completion of the course. Every provider shall 

submit a copy of the list to the commissioner within 15 

calendar days of program completion. 

B. Every provider shall also maintain electronic records 

of program completion in a format compatible with the 

commissioner’s specifications to facilitate the electronic 

reporting and transfer of attendance information from the 

provider to the commissioner. 

C. Every provider shall present a certificate of successful 

completion to each licensee who successfully completes the 
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continuing education program. This certificate shall be on a 

form acceptable to the commissioner and shall include the 

name of the licensee and the identification number assigned 

to the program by the commissioner. 

D. A provider may not provide credit unless the licensee 

has completed the full continuing education program. A 

licensee may not receive partial credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2177 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:604 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2764 (November 

2022). 

§729. Fees 

[Formerly §727] 

A. All applications submitted to the commissioner 

seeking certification of a continuing education program or 

provider shall be accompanied by the fee set forth in R.S. 

22:821(B)(29). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2177 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:604 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2764 (November 

2022). 

§731. Complaints  

[Formerly §729] 

A. The commissioner shall review all complaints lodged 

against a provider, supervisory instructor or instructors of a 

program. Every provider, supervisory instructor or instructor 

shall respond to an inquiry from the commissioner regarding 

a complaint within 30 days of receipt of such inquiry. Any 

disciplinary action required shall be taken by the 

commissioner in accordance with the Louisiana Insurance 

Code, specifically R.S. 22: 2191-2208. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2177 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:604 (May 2021). 

§733. Violations 

[Formerly §731] 

A. The commissioner may deny, suspend, rescind, or 

refuse to renew the certification of a continuing education 

program or provider should he find the program, the 

supervisory instructor, instructor or the provider of the 

program has violated any provision of this Rule or any 

applicable provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code or 

should he find that continued operation of the continuing 

education program is not in the best interest of the citizens of 

this state or the insurance buying public. 

B. Any denial, suspension, or rescission of the 

certification of a continuing education program shall comply 

with the provisions of R.S. 49:961. 

C. An aggrieved party affected by the commissioner’s 

decision, act, or order may demand a hearing in accordance 

with R.S. 22: 2191 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1547, R.S. 22:1573, R.S. 22:1673, R.S. 22:1678, 

R.S. 22:1702, R.S. 22:1708, R.S. 22:1808.4 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 37:2177 (July 2011), 

amended LR 47:604 (May 2021), amended LR 48:2764 (November 

2022). 

Chapter 9. Rule Number 

12―Transmission of Forms and 

Documents 

§901. Transmission of Forms and Documents Filed 

with the Department of Insurance 

A. All forms, documents, applications, filings, financial 

reports, and any and all other forms and types of documents 

required by law or voluntarily filed with the commissioner 

by any insurer or entity regulated by the commissioner shall 

be filed by depositing the same in the United States mail, 

postage prepaid, and/or with a private or commercial 

interstate carrier, and/or via electronic transmission. 

Payment of fees, including license fees, and premium taxes 

shall be exempt from this Rule. 

B. No document of any sort or kind described in §901.A 

will be accepted or received by the personnel of the 

department as having been filed with the department unless 

the same is transmitted to the department via the United 

States mail, a private or commercial interstate carrier, and/or 

electronic transmission. 

C. The department shall retain the envelope or other 

evidence of submission method attached to the document. 

D.1. Transmission of documents by private courier 

service without interstate service or by hand delivery is 

permissible as long as the documents are: 

a. subsequently mailed in the United States Postal 

Service or delivered to a private or commercial interstate 

carrier for shipping and received by the department on or 

before the twentieth day after receipt of the private courier 

delivery, or hand delivery; or 

b. sent via electronic transmission such that the 

transmission is received by the Department of Insurance on 

or before the twentieth day after receipt of the private 

courier delivery or hand delivery.  

2. A document received in accordance with §901 shall 

be deemed received on the date of the department’s receipt 

of the original private courier delivery without interstate 

service or hand delivery. Any departmental decision shall be 

based on the date of the initial private courier delivery or 
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hand delivery, and any stamp of approval shall be affixed to 

those documents. 

E. Notwithstanding §901.A through D, requests for 

public records shall be in accordance with procedures 

established for public records requests and record 

management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 17:1210 (December 

1991), amended LR 18:620 (June 1992), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29:41 

(January 2003), amended LR 45:63 (January 2019), LR 47:1330 

(September 2021). 

§903. Definitions 

A. The following terms used in Rule 12 have the 

meanings set forth below: 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

Private or Commercial Interstate Carrier—any person 

or entity engaged in the business of accepting documents for 

transportation and delivery between one State, Territory, 

Possession, or the District of Columbia and another State, 

Territory, Possession, or the District of Columbia. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1330 (September 

2021). 

Chapter 11. Rule Number 1―Rules of 

Practice and Procedure before the 

Commissioner of Insurance 

§1101. Definitions 

A. By reference, all of the definitions set forth and 

contained in R.S. 49:951 through R.S. 49:966, inclusive, and 

the Louisiana Insurance Code (Title 22, of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended) are incorporated 

herein, and for the purpose of hearings to be held hereunder, 

the following definitions shall prevail. 

Applicant―the applicant shall be the person, persons, 

firm, company, partnership, association, insurer or 

corporations, as well as the commissioner or department 

seeking relief before the Commissioner of Insurance. The 

term applicant may otherwise be styled petitioner or 

complainant. 

Commissioner―when used herein shall mean the 

Commissioner of Insurance, or his deputy, examiner or 

hearing officer appointed by him. 

Department―department shall, for all purposes herein, 

mean the Department of Insurance. 

Hearing―any contested case or any formal proceeding 

before the commissioner brought pursuant to any law of the 

state of Louisiana or rule or regulation of the commissioner, 

whether or not the same is adversary in nature. 

Respondent―the person, persons, firms, companies, 

partnerships, associations, insurers, or corporations, 

including the commissioner and the department against 

whom any proceeding or application for relief is brought. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1103. Commencement of Hearings 

A. All hearings initiated by an applicant other than the 

commissioner and those initiated by the commissioner for 

the purpose of promulgating rules or regulations, shall be 

commenced by filing of a written petition or complaint with 

the commissioner. Hearings initiated by the commissioner, 

except for promulgating of a rule or regulation, shall be 

commenced by the issuance of an order to show cause 

directed to the respondent, wherein shall be alleged the acts 

or omissions of acts claimed in violation of the law, or of 

any of the lawful rules, regulations or orders promulgated by 

the commissioner thereunder and by authority thereof. 

Hearings initiated by the commissioner for the purpose of 

adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule shall be in 

accordance with the requirements of R.S. 49:953(A)(1). The 

commissioner will maintain a list of persons who have made 

requests, in writing, for advance notice of such hearings, and 

will give notice by certified mail to such persons in 

accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1105. Petitions, Complaints or Orders 

A. The applicant desiring, or required by law, to institute 

a hearing shall prepare and file with the commissioner a 

petition, complaint or order to show cause setting forth: 

1. the name and address of each respondent; 

2. a statement, in ordinary and concise language, of 

the facts upon which the petition, complaint or order to show 

cause is based, together with supporting evidentiary material 

including, whenever applicable, particular reference to the 

statute or statutes, or rules, regulations, and orders that the 

applicant alleges have been violated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1107. Notice 

A. Upon the filing of a petition, order or complaint, or 

where rules and regulations are proposed for adoption by the 

commissioner, he shall issue a notice in conformity with the 

provisions of R.S. 49:955 and R.S. 22:1354.C whenever 

applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
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22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1109. Service of Notice 

A. Notice may be served, personally or by certified or 

registered mail, return receipt requested. Service of orders to 

show cause by the commissioner shall be made upon any 

officer of corporate parties at their domicile or principal 

offices. Reasonable notice shall be construed to mean 

service of notice at least 20 days prior to the date of the 

hearing, except where notice is given in connection with a 

hearing to adopt rules or regulations, in which event the 

provisions of R.S. 22:1354.C shall govern. Service by mail 

shall be deemed complete at the date of mailing. 

B. In addition to the notice above provided, the 

commissioner may, in his discretion, require additional 

notice to be given in such manner as he shall direct. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1111. Proof of Service 

A. There shall appear on all documents required to be 

served an acknowledgment of service or the following 

certificate. 

I hereby certify that I have this day served the foregoing document upon 

all parties of record in this proceeding (by delivering a copy thereof in 
person to_________________) (by mailing a copy thereof properly 

addressed, with postage prepaid, to ________). Dated at _____, this ____ 

day of______ 19____. 
 ______________________________________ 

Signature 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1113. Answer or Appearance 

A. A respondent may file his answer or other appearance 

on or before the date fixed for hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1115. Leave to Intervene Necessary 

A. Persons, other than the original parties to any 

proceeding, whose interests are to be directly and 

immediately affected by the proceeding, shall secure an 

order from the commissioner, or hearing officer appointed 

by him, granting leave to intervene before being allowed to 

participate; provided that the granting of leave to intervene 

in any matter or proceeding shall not be construed to be a 

finding or determination of the commissioner or the hearing 

officer for purposes of court review or appeal. 

B. Petitions for leave to intervene must be in writing and 

must clearly identify the proceeding in which it is sought to 

intervene. Such petition must set forth the name and address 

of the petitioner and contain a clear and concise statement of 

the direct and immediate interest of the petitioner in such 

proceeding, stating the manner in which such petitioner will 

be affected by such proceeding, outlining the matters and 

things relied upon by such petitioner as a basis for his 

request to intervene in such cause, and if affirmative relief is 

sought, the petition must contain a clear and concise 

statement of relief sought and the basis thereof, together 

with a statement as to the nature and quantity of evidence 

petitioner will present if such petition is granted. 

C. Petitions to intervene and proof of service of copies 

thereof on all other parties of record shall be filed not less 

than two days prior to the commencement of the hearing. 

Thereafter, such petition shall state a substantial reason for 

such delay. Otherwise, such petition will not be considered. 

If a petition to intervene shows direct and immediate interest 

in the subject matter of the proceeding or any part thereof 

and does not unduly broaden the issues, the commissioner 

may grant leave to intervene or otherwise appear in the 

proceeding with respect to the matters set out in the 

intervening petition, subject to such reasonable conditions as 

may be prescribed. If it appears during the course of a 

proceeding that an intervenor has no direct or immediate 

interest in the proceeding, and that the public interest does 

not require his participation therein, the commissioner may 

dismiss him from the proceeding. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1117. Docket 

A. When a hearing is instituted, it shall be assigned a 

number and entered with the date of its filing on a separate 

page of docket provided for such purpose. The department 

shall establish a separate file for each such docketed case, in 

which shall be systematically placed all papers, pleadings, 

documents, transcripts, evidence and exhibits pertaining 

thereto, and all such items shall have noted thereon the 

docket number assigned, and the date of filing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1119. Default in Answering or Appearing 

A. In the event of the failure of any respondent to answer 

or otherwise appear within the time allowed, and provided 

that the foregoing rules as to service have been complied 

with, the respondent or respondents so failing to answer or 

otherwise plead or to appear, shall be deemed to be in 

default, and the allegations of the complaint, petition, or 

order to show cause, as the case may be, together with the 

evidence to support the same, shall be entered into the record 

and may be taken as true and the order of the commissioner 

entered accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1121. Subpoenas 

A. As authorized by R.S. 49:956(5), and R.S. 22:1358.B, 

subpoenas for appearance and to produce books, papers, 

documents or exhibits will be issued by the commissioner 

upon written request of any party. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1123. Prehearing Conference 

A. The commissioner or hearing officer may, upon his 

own motion or upon the motion of any party of record, by 

giving seven days' prior written notice of the time and place 

to all parties of record, hold a prehearing conference for the 

purpose of: 

1. formulating or simplifying the issues; 

2. obtaining admissions of fact and of documents 

which will avoid unnecessary proof; 

3. arranging for the exchange of proposed exhibits or 

prepared expert testimony; 

4. limiting the number of witnesses; and 

5. considering such other matters which may expedite 

orderly conduct and disposition of the proceedings or 

settlement thereof. 

B. The action taken at such conference and all the 

agreements, admissions or stipulations made thereat by the 

parties concerned shall be made a part of the record and shall 

be approved by such parties. When so approved, such action 

will control the course of subsequent proceedings, unless 

otherwise stipulated by all parties of record with the consent 

of the commissioner or hearing officer. 

C. In any proceeding the commissioner or hearing officer 

may, in his discretion, call all parties together for a 

conference prior to the taking of testimony, or may recess 

the hearing for such conference. The commissioner or 

hearing officer shall state on the record the results of such 

conference. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1125. Hearing 

A. At the date, time and place of the hearing as having 

been set down by the commissioner, and in accordance with 

the notice given, the commissioner or hearing officer shall 

hear all matters presented. All issues and matters enumerated 

and described in the pleadings given shall be presented by 

the applicant. The commissioner may be represented by any 

member of his staff and all other parties may be represented, 

personally or by counsel, provided that such counsel be duly 

authorized to practice law in the state of Louisiana or is 

otherwise associated at the hearing with one or more 

attorneys authorized to practice law in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1127. Order of Procedure at Hearing 

A. As nearly as may be, hearings shall be conducted in 

accordance with the following order of procedure. 

1. The commissioner shall announce that the hearing 

is convened upon the call of the docket number and title of 

the matter and case to be heard, and thereupon the 

commissioner shall direct the reading into the record of the 

petition or formal notice given, together with appearances 

made by any respondent or respondents, and shall note, for 

the record, all subpoenas issued and the returns thereon and 

all appearances of record, including counsel of record. 

2. The applicant shall thereupon proceed to present his 

evidence. Witnesses may be cross-examined by the 

respondent or respondents. All exhibits offered by and on 

behalf of the applicant shall be marked by letters of the 

alphabet beginning with "A". 

3. The respondent or respondents shall, in the order of 

answers or appearances made, be heard in the same manner 

as the applicant's evidence, witnesses and exhibits have been 

heard and presented. Each respondent's exhibits shall be 

marked separately so as to identify the respective respondent 

and numbered commencing with the number "1". 

4. Opening statements may be permitted and rebuttal 

evidence presented at the discretion and order of the 

commissioner. 

5. Closing statements, at the conclusion of the 

presentation of evidence, may be made by the applicant and 

by the respondent. The time for oral argument may be 

limited by the commissioner. 

6. The commissioner or hearing officer may adjourn 

any hearing pursuant to R.S. 22:1356. 

7. After all proceedings have been concluded, the 

commissioner shall dismiss and excuse all witnesses and 

declare the hearing closed. Any party who may wish or 

desire to tender written briefs of law to the commissioner 

may do so within reasonable time limits fixed by the 

commissioner or hearing officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1129. Witnesses to be Sworn 

A. All persons testifying at any hearing before the 

commissioner shall stand and be administered the following 

oath by the commissioner: 

"Do you swear or affirm to tell the truth, the whole truth and 
nothing but the truth in this matter now being heard so help 

you God." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 



Title 37, Part XI 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 73 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1131. Rules of Pleading and Evidence 

A. Formal rules of pleading or evidence need not be 

observed at the hearing. 

B. On his own motion the commissioner or hearing 

officer may, and on request of a party he shall, order that the 

witnesses, other than parties, be excluded from the hearing 

or from a place where they can see or hear the proceedings, 

and refrain from discussing the facts of the case with anyone 

other than counsel in the case. In the interest of justice, he 

may exempt any witness from his order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1133. Attorneys 

A. The filing of an answer or other appearance by an 

attorney constitutes his appearance for the party for whom 

the pleading is filed. The commissioner shall be notified in 

writing of his withdrawal from any hearing. Any person 

appearing before the commissioner at a hearing in a 

representative capacity shall be precluded from examining or 

cross-examining any witness unless such person shall be an 

attorney licensed to practice law in the state of Louisiana, or 

a non-resident attorney associated with a Louisiana attorney 

qualified to practice law in the state of Louisiana. This rule 

shall not be construed to prohibit any person from 

representing himself in any hearing before the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1135. Stenographic Record of Hearing 

A. At the expense of and at the written request made not 

less than four days prior to the date set for the hearing by 

any person affected by the hearing the Commissioner of 

Insurance or the person designated by him to hold the 

hearing shall cause a full stenographic record of the 

proceedings to be made by a competent stenographic 

reporter, and if transcribed, such records shall be made a part 

of the record of the Commissioner of Insurance of the 

hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1137. Depositions 

A. In all contested cases coming before the 

commissioner, the taking of depositions and discovery shall 

be available to the parties in accordance with the provisions 

of R.S. 49:956 and C.C.P. Articles 1421 through 1515, 

inclusive. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1139. Decision, Findings of Fact and Conclusions of 

Law and Order 

A. The commissioner shall within 30 days after 

termination of hearing, make and enter his written order 

thereon containing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law. 

Such decision and order shall be filed in his office and will, 

without further action, become the decision and order of the 

commissioner. Forthwith upon entry and filing, the 

department shall, subject to §1139.D, send a copy by prepaid 

mail to each party, or their attorneys of record, to whom 

notice of the hearing was given or required to be given. 

B. The order shall contain: 

1. a concise statement of the action taken; 

2. the effective date of such action; 

3. a designation of the provisions of the Louisiana 

Insurance Code pursuant to which the action is taken; 

4. a concise statement of the findings of the 

Commissioner of Insurance in support of the action. 

C. An order on hearing may confirm, modify or nullify 

actions taken under an existing order, or may constitute the 

taking of any new action coming within the scope of the 

notice of such hearing. 

D. If notice of such hearing was given by publication as 

provided for in R.S. 22:1354, the Commissioner of 

Insurance may publish the order on hearing once each week 

for four successive weeks in the same newspapers in which 

such notice was published, the first such publication to be 

made as soon as possible after the date of the order. Such 

publication of the order on hearing shall be in lieu of the 

requirement that a copy of such order be given to each 

person as provided in §1139.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1141. Rehearings 

A. The commissioner may, upon motion therefor made 

within 10 days after service of a decision and order, order a 

rehearing upon such terms and conditions as he may deem 

just and proper if a petition for judicial review of the 

decision and order has not been filed. Such motion shall not 

be granted except upon a showing that there is additional 

evidence which is material and necessary and reasonably 

calculated to change the decision; that the decision or order 

is clearly contrary to the law and the evidence; that there is a 

showing that issues not previously considered ought to be 

examined in order to properly dispose of the matter; or there 

is other good ground for further consideration of the issues 

and the evidence in the public interest. The motion shall be 

supported by an affidavit of the moving party or his counsel 

showing with particularity the materiality and necessity of 

the additional evidence or other grounds above recited and 

the reason why such evidence was not introduced at the 

hearing or other grounds above recited. Upon rehearing, the 

commissioner may modify his decision and order as the 
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additional evidence or other grounds relied upon may 

warrant. The commissioner shall grant or deny a motion for 

rehearing within 10 days from his receipt of same. 

B. The petition of a party for rehearing, reconsideration, 

or review, and the order of the commissioner granting it, 

shall set forth the grounds which justify such action. Nothing 

in §1141 shall prevent rehearing, reopening or 

reconsideration of a matter of the commissioner in 

accordance with other statutory provisions applicable to such 

agency, or at any time, on the ground of fraud practiced by 

the prevailing party or of procurement of the order by 

perjured testimony or fictitious evidence. On 

reconsideration, reopening, or rehearing, the matter may be 

heard by the commissioner or it may be referred to a 

subordinate deciding officer. The hearing shall be confined 

to those grounds upon which the reconsideration, reopening, 

or rehearing was ordered. If an application for rehearing 

shall be timely filed, the period within which judicial review, 

under the applicable statute must be sought, shall run from 

the final disposition of such application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1143. Appeals to the District Court 

A. Appeals to the Nineteenth Judicial District Court from 

decisions of the commissioner are governed by R.S. 49:963 

and R.S. 49:964 and R.S. 22:1363-1365 inclusive. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1145. Transcript in Case on Appeal 

A. In the case of an appeal to the district court as 

provided in §1143, the party appealing shall secure and file a 

complete transcript of the testimony and all other evidence 

offered at the hearing, which transcript must be verified by 

the oath of the reporter who took the testimony as true and 

correct transcript of the testimony and all other evidence in 

the case. The compensation of the reporter for making the 

transcript of the testimony shall be borne by the party 

prosecuting such appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1147. Amendment of Rules 

A. These rules may be amended and any such 

amendments shall become effective as provided by R.S. 

49:953 and R.S. 49:954. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1149. Exclusions 

A. Nothing in these rules shall be construed to prohibit 

the commissioner from holding informal proceedings, 

hearings or conferences for the purpose of aiding the 

commissioner in ascertaining and determining facts 

necessary for the performance of his duties. Any person 

believing himself aggrieved by a determination made by the 

commissioner following an informal proceeding, hearing or 

conference, and who is otherwise entitled thereto, may, upon 

filing a petition or complaint pursuant to §1105 of these 

rules, obtain a full hearing or review upon the merits, which 

matter shall be heard and tried de novo. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1151. Declaratory Orders and Rulings, Judicial 

Review 

A. A person entitled to the same is granted the right to 

seek from the commissioner a declaratory order or ruling on 

the applicability of any statute or rule or order of the 

commissioner. Requests for such order or rule shall be in 

writing and shall disclose the necessity for such declaratory 

order or rule. The commissioner shall issue his order or rule 

within 30 days from his receipt of the request for the same. 

Pending the issuance of the commissioner's order, all further 

proceedings shall be stayed. 

B. The validity or applicability of a rule may be 

determined by an action for declaratory judgment in the 19th 

Judicial District Court as provided in R.S. 49:962, R.S. 

49:963 and R.S. 49:964. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1153. Forms 

A. No particular forms are prescribed, and formal rules 

of procedure are not required. All requests by any person for 

any action to be taken by the commissioner, including 

requests for repeal of the rules, shall be in writing. Whenever 

such request is for the promulgation or amendment of a rule, 

it shall be accompanied by a final draft of the proposed rule 

or amendment to a rule. Such requests may be transmitted 

through the mail or delivered in person to the commissioner 

or any member of his staff at his office in Baton Rouge, 

Louisiana. 

B. All pleadings which are filed by or on behalf of any 

person shall be in writing and the person filing the same 

shall certify that a copy of the same has been furnished to all 

parties to the hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

§1155. Supersedes All Prior Rules 

A. This Rule 1 supersedes any rules of procedure before 

the Commissioner of Insurance of the State of Louisiana 

previously promulgated. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:1351-1367. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, February 12, 1973. 

Chapter 13. Rule Number 

3―Advertisements of Accident and 

Sickness Insurance 

§1301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of these rules is to assure truthful and 

adequate disclosure of all material and relevant information 

in the advertising of accident and sickness insurance. This 

purpose is intended to be accomplished by the establishment 

of, and adherence to, certain minimum standards and 

guidelines of conduct in the advertising of accident and 

sickness insurance in a manner which prevents unfair 

competition among insurers and is conducive to the accurate 

presentation and description to the insurance buying public 

of a policy of such insurance offered through various 

advertising media. This rule is being amended to remove the 

requirement that insurers file a certificate of compliance in 

regards to advertisements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973, 

amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 43:1985 (October 2017). 

§1303. Applicability 

A. These rules shall apply to any accident and sickness 

insurance advertisement, as that term is hereinafter defined, 

intended for presentation, distribution or dissemination in 

this state when such presentation, distribution or 

dissemination is made either directly or indirectly by or on 

behalf of an insurer, agent, broker, or solicitor as those terms 

are defined in the Insurance Code of this state and these 

rules. 

B. Every insurer shall establish, and at all times, 

maintain a system of control over the content, form and 

method of dissemination of all advertisements of its policies. 

All such advertisements, regardless of by whom written, 

created, designed, or presented, shall be the responsibility of 

the insurer whose policies are so advertised. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1305. Definitions 

An Advertisement―for the purpose of these rules shall 

include: 

1. printed and published material, audio visual 

material, and descriptive literature of an insurer used in 

direct mail, newspapers, magazines, radio scripts, TV 

scripts, billboards and similar displays; and 

2. descriptive literature and sales aids of all kinds 

issued by an insurer, agent or broker for presentation to 

members of the insurance buying public including, but not 

limited to, circulars, leaflets, booklets, depictions, 

illustrations, and form letters; and 

3. prepared sales talks, presentations and material for 

use by agents, brokers and solicitors. 

Exception―for the purpose of these rules shall mean any 

provision in a policy whereby coverage for a specified 

hazard is entirely eliminated. It is a statement of a risk not 

assumed under the policy. 

Insurer―for the purpose of these rules shall include any 

individual, corporation, association, partnership, reciprocal 

exchange, inter-insurer, Lloyds, fraternal benefit society, 

health maintenance organization, and any other legal entity 

which is defined as an insuree in the Insurance Code of this 

state and is engaged in the advertisement of a policy as 

policy is herein defined. 

Limitation―for the purpose of these rules shall mean any 

provision which restricts coverage under the policy other 

than an exception or a reduction. 

Policy―for the purpose of these rules shall include any 

policy, plan, certificate, contract, agreement, statement of 

coverage, rider or endorsement which provides accident or 

sickness benefits, or medical, surgical or hospital expense 

benefits, whether on an indemnity, reimbursement, service 

or prepaid basis, except when issued in connection with 

another kind of insurance other than life, and except 

disability, waiver of premium and double indemnity benefits 

included in life insurance and annuity contracts. 

Reduction―for the purpose of these rules shall mean any 

provision which reduces the amount of the benefit; a risk of 

loss is assumed but payment upon the occurrence of such 

loss is limited to some amount or period less than would be 

otherwise payable had such reduction not been used. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1307. Method of Disclosure of Required Information 

A. All information required to be disclosed by these rules 

shall be set out conspicuously and in close conjunction with 

the statements to which such information relates or under 

appropriate captions of such prominence that it shall not be 

minimized, rendered obscure or presented in an ambiguous 

fashion or intermingled with the context of the 

advertisement so as to be confusing or misleading. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1309. Form and Content of Advertisements 

A. The format and content of an advertisement of an 

accident or sickness insurance policy shall be sufficiently 

complete and clear to avoid deception or the capacity or 

tendency to mislead or deceive. Whether an advertisement 

has a capacity or tendency to mislead or deceive shall be 

determined by the Commissioner of Insurance from the 
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overall impression that the advertisement may be reasonably 

expected to create upon a person of average education or 

intelligence, within segment of the public to which it is 

directed. 

B. Advertisements shall be truthful and not misleading in 

fact or in implication. Words or phrases, the meaning of 

which is clear only by implication or by familiarity with 

insurance terminology, shall not be used. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1311. Advertisements of Benefits Payable, Losses 

Covered or Premiums Payable 

A. Deceptive Words, Phrases or Illustrations Prohibited 

1. No advertisement shall omit information or use 

words, phrases, statements, references or illustrations if the 

omission of such information or use of such words, phrases, 

statements, references or illustrations has the capacity, 

tendency or effect of misleading or deceiving purchasers or 

prospective purchasers as to the nature or extent of any 

policy benefit payable, loss covered, or premium payable. 

The fact that the policy offered is made available to a 

prospective insured for inspection prior to consummation of 

the sale or an offer is made to refund the premium if the 

purchaser is not satisfied, does not remedy misleading 

statements. 

2. No advertisement shall contain or use words or 

phrases such as all, full, complete, comprehensive, 

unlimited, up to, as high as, this policy will help pay your 

hospital and surgical bills, this policy will help fill some of 

the gaps that Medicare and your present insurance leave out, 

this policy will help to replace your income (when used to 

express loss of time benefits); or similar words and phrases, 

in a manner which exaggerates any benefits beyond the 

terms of the policy, or which may lead the policyholder to 

expect payment of benefits which he is not likely to derive, 

except in very unusual circumstances. 

3. An advertisement shall not contain descriptions of a 

policy limitation, exception, or reduction, worded in a 

positive manner to imply that is a benefit, such as, 

describing a waiting period as a benefit builder, or stating 

even pre-existing conditions are covered after two years. 

Words and phrases used in an advertisement to describe such 

policy limitations, exceptions, and reductions shall fairly and 

accurately describe the negative features of such limitations, 

exceptions, and reductions of the policy offered. 

4. No advertisement of a benefit for which payment is 

conditional upon confinement in a hospital or similar facility 

shall use words or phrases such as extra cash, extra income, 

extra pay, or substantially similar words or phrases because 

such words and phrases have the capacity, tendency or effect 

of misleading the public into believing that the policy 

advertised will, in some way, enable them to make a profit 

from being hospitalized. 

5. No advertisement of a hospital or other similar 

facility confinement benefit shall advertise that the amount 

of the benefit is payable on a monthly or weekly basis when, 

in fact, the amount of the benefit payable is based upon a 

daily pro rata basis relating to the number of days of 

confinement unless such statements of such monthly or 

weekly benefit amounts are followed immediately by 

equally prominent statements of the benefit payable on a 

daily basis; for example, either of the following statements is 

acceptable: "$1,000.00 a month ($33.33 a day) or $33.33 a 

day ($1,000.00 a month)". When the policy contains a limit 

on the number of days of coverage provided, such limit must 

appear in the advertisement. 

6. No advertisement of a policy covering only one 

disease or a list of specified diseases shall imply coverage 

beyond the terms of the policy. Synonymous terms shall not 

be used to refer to any disease so as to imply broader 

coverage than is the fact. 

7. An advertisement for a policy providing benefits 

for specified illnesses only, such as cancer, or for specified 

accidents only, such as automobile accidents, shall clearly 

and conspicuously, in prominent type, state the limited 

nature of the policy. The statement shall be worded in 

language identical to, or substantially similar to. the 

following: "THIS IS A LIMITED POLICY"; "THIS IS A CANCER 

ONLY POLICY"; "THIS IS AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT ONLY 

POLICY". 

8. An advertisement of a direct response insurance 

product shall not imply that because "no insurance agent will 

call and no commissions will be paid to agents" that it is "a 

low cost plan," or use other similar words or phrases because 

the cost of advertising. and servicing such policies is a 

substantial cost in the marketing of a direct response 

insurance product. 

9. An advertisement for a policy specifically designed 

to augment benefits available under the Federal Medicare 

Act shall not exaggerate the policy benefits and shall clearly 

disclose in unmistakable language what Medicare benefits 

the policy is designed to complement, and what Medicare 

benefits the policy will not complement. No such 

advertisement shall use the term Medicare Supplement, or 

similar term, to describe the policy being offered unless the 

policy provides a benefit for those items that make up the 

deductible and related coinsurance amounts of Part A and 

Part B of the Federal Medicare Act. 

10. An advertisement that makes a reference to the 

policy benefits being paid directly to an insured is prohibited 

unless, in making such a reference, the advertisement 

includes a statement that the benefits will be paid directly to 

a hospital or any other provider of health care services if an 

assignment of the policy benefits has been made. 

B. Exceptions, Reductions and Limitations 

1. When an advertisement refers to either a dollar 

amount, or a period of time for which any benefit is payable, 

or the cost of the policy, or specific policy benefit, or the 

loss for which such benefit is payable, it shall also disclose 

those exceptions, reductions and limitations affecting the 

basic provisions of the policy without which the 
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advertisement would have the capacity or tendency to 

mislead or deceive. 

2. When a policy contains a waiting, elimination, 

probationary or similar time period between the effective 

date of the policy and the effective date of coverage under 

the policy or a time period between the date a loss occurs 

and the date benefits begin to accrue for such loss, an 

advertisement which is subject to the requirements of the 

preceding paragraph shall disclose the existence of such 

periods. 

3. An advertisement shall not use the words only, just, 

merely, minimum or similar words or phrases to describe the 

applicability of any exceptions and reductions, such as: 

"This policy is subject to the following minimum exceptions 

and reductions." 

C. Pre-Existing Conditions 

1. An advertisement which is subject to the 

requirements of §1309.B shall, in negative terms, disclose 

the extent to which any loss is not covered if the cause of 

such loss is traceable to a condition existing prior to the 

effective date of the policy. The use of the term pre-existing 

condition without an appropriate definition or description 

shall not be used. 

2. When a policy does not cover losses resulting from 

pre-existing conditions, no advertisement of the policy shall 

state or imply that the applicant's physical condition or 

medical history will not affect the issuance of the policy or 

payment of a claim thereunder. This rule prohibits the use of 

the phrase no medical examination required and phrases of 

similar import, but does not prohibit explaining automatic 

issue. If an insurer requires a medical examination for a 

specified policy, the advertisement shall disclose that a 

medical examination is required. 

3. When an advertisement contains an application 

form to be completed by the applicant and returned by mail 

for a direct response insurance product, such application 

form shall contain a question or statement which reflects the 

pre-existing condition provisions of the policy immediately 

preceding the blank space for the applicant's signature. For 

example, such an application form shall contain a question 

or statement substantially as follows: 

a. Do you understand that this policy will not pay benefits 

during the first ______ year(s) after the issue date for a disease 

or physical condition which you now have or have had in the 

past?      YES 

b. or substantially the following statement: 

I understand that the policy applied for will not pay benefits 

for any loss incurred during the first _____ year(s) after the 
issue date on account of disease or physical condition which I 

now have or have had in the past. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1313. Necessity for Disclosing Policy Provisions 

Relating to Renewability, Cancellability and 

Termination 

A. When an advertisement refers to either a dollar 

amount or a period of time for which any benefit is payable, 

or the cost of the policy, or specific policy benefit, or the 

loss for which such benefit is payable, it shall disclose the 

provisions relating to renewability, cancellability and 

termination and any modification of benefits, losses covered 

or premiums because of age or for other reasons, in a 

manner which shall not minimize or render obscure the 

qualifying conditions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1315. Testimonials or Endorsements by Third Parties 

A. Testimonials used in advertisements must be genuine, 

represent the current opinion of the author, be applicable to 

the policy advertised and be accurately reproduced. The 

insurer, in using a testimonial, makes as its own all of the 

statements contained therein, and the advertisements, 

including such statement, are subject to all the provisions of 

these rules. 

B. If the person making a testimonial, an endorsement or 

an appraisal has a financial interest in the insurer or a related 

entity as a stockholder, director, officer, employee, or 

otherwise, such fact shall be disclosed in the advertisement. 

If a person is compensated for making a testimonial, 

endorsement or appraisal, such fact shall be disclosed in the 

advertisement by language substantially as follows: "Paid 

Endorsement." This rule does not require disclosure of union 

scale wages required by union rules if the payment is 

actually for such scale for TV or radio performances. The 

payment of substantial amounts, directly or indirectly, for 

travel and entertainment for filming or recording of TV or 

radio advertisements, remove the filming or recording from 

the category of an unsolicited testimonial and require 

disclosure of such compensation. 

C. An advertisement shall not state or imply that an 

insurer or a policy has been approved or endorsed by any 

individual, group of individuals, society, association or other 

organizations, unless such is the fact, and unless any 

proprietary relationship between an organization and the 

insurer is disclosed. If the entity making the endorsement or 

testimonial has been formed by the insurer or is owned or 

controlled by the insurer or the person or persons who own 

or control the insurer, such fact shall be disclosed in the 

advertisement. 

D. When a testimonial refers to benefits received under a 

policy, the specific claim data, including claim number, date 

of loss, and other pertinent information, shall be retained by 

the insurer for inspection for a period of four years or until 

the filing of the next regular report on examination of the 

insurer, whichever is the longer period of time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1317. Use of Statistics 
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A. An advertisement relating to the dollar amounts of 

claims paid, the number of persons insured, or similar 

statistical information relating to any insurer or policy shall 

not use irrelevant facts, and shall not be used unless it 

accurately reflects all the relevant facts. Such an 

advertisement shall not imply that such statistics are derived 

from the policy advertised unless such is the fact, and when 

applicable to other policies or plans shall specifically so 

state. 

B. An advertisement shall not represent or imply that 

claim settlements by the insurer are liberal or generous, or 

use words of similar import, or that claim settlements are or 

will be beyond the actual terms of the contract. An unusual 

amount paid for a unique claim for the policy advertised is 

misleading and shall not be used. 

C. The source of any statistics used in an advertisement 

shall be identified in such advertisement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1319. Identification of Plan or Number of Policies 

A. When a choice of the amount of benefits is referred 

to, an advertisement shall disclose that the amount of 

benefits provided depends upon the plan selected and that 

the premium will vary with the amount of the benefits 

selected. 

B. When an advertisement refers to various benefits 

which may be contained in two or more policies, other than 

group master policies, the advertisement shall disclose that 

such benefits are provided only through a combination of 

such policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1321. Disparaging Comparisons and Statements 

A. An advertisement shall not directly or indirectly make 

unfair or incomplete comparisons of policies or benefits or 

comparisons of non-comparable policies of other insurers, 

and shall not disparage competitors, their policies, services 

or business methods, and shall not disparage or unfairly 

minimize competing methods of marketing insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1323. Jurisdictional Licensing and Status of Insurer 

A. An advertisement which is intended to be seen or 

heard beyond the limits of the jurisdiction in which the 

insurer is licensed shall not imply licensing beyond those 

limits. 

B. An advertisement shall not create the impression, 

directly or indirectly, that the insurer, its financial condition 

or status, or the payment of its claims, or the merits, 

desirability, or advisability or its policy forms or kinds or 

plans of insurance are approved, endorsed, or accredited by 

any division or agency of this state or the United States 

Government. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1325. Identity of Insurer 

A. The name of the actual insurer and the form number 

or numbers advertised shall be identified and made clear in 

all of its advertisements. An advertisement shall not use a 

trade name, any insurance group designation, name of the 

parent company of the insurer, name of a particular division 

of the insurer, service mark, slogan, symbol or other device 

which, without disclosing the name of the actual insurer, 

would have the capacity and tendency to mislead or deceive 

as to the true identity of the insurer. 

NOTE: The above Section does not require disclosure of a 
policy form number where the advertisement does not relate 

specifically to a particular policy or benefit, but is general in 

nature and would be regarded as Institutional Advertisement 

according to custom and usage. 

B. No advertisement shall use any combination of words, 

symbols, or physical materials which by their content, 

phraseology, shape, color, or other characteristics are so 

similar to combination of words, symbols or physical 

materials used by agencies of the federal government or of 

this state, or otherwise appear to be of such a nature that it 

tends to confuse or mislead prospective insureds into 

believing that the solicitation is in some manner connected 

with an agency of the municipal, state, or federal 

government. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1327. Group or Quasi-Group Implications 

A. An advertisement of a particular policy shall not state 

or imply that prospective insureds become group or  

quasi-group members covered under a group policy and as 

such enjoy special rates or underwriting privileges, unless 

such is the fact. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1329. Introductory, Initial or Special Offers 

A.1. An advertisement of an individual policy shall not 

directly or by implication represent that a contract or 

combination of contracts is an introductory, initial or special 

offer, or that applicants will receive substantial advantages 

not available at a later date, or that the offer is available only 

to a specified group of individuals, unless such is the fact. 

An advertisement shall not contain phrases describing an 

enrollment period as special, limited, or similar words or 

phrases when the insurer uses such enrollment periods as the 

usual method of advertising accident and sickness insurance. 
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2. An enrollment period during which a particular 

insurance product may be purchased on an individual basis 

shall not be offered within this state unless there has been a 

lapse of not less than three months between the close of the 

immediately preceding enrollment period for the same 

product and the opening of the new enrollment period. The 

advertisement shall indicate the date by which the applicant 

must mail the application which shall be not less than 10 

days and not more than 40 days from the date that such 

enrollment period is advertised for the first time. This rule 

applies to all advertising media, i.e., mail, newspapers, radio, 

television, magazines and periodicals, by any one insurer. It 

is inapplicable to solicitation, of employees or members of a 

particular group or association which otherwise would be 

eligible under specific provisions of the Insurance Code for 

group, blanket or franchise insurance. The phrase any one 

insurer includes all the affiliated companies of a group of 

insurance companies under common management or control. 

3. This rule prohibits any statement or implication to 

the effect that only a specific number of policies will be sold, 

or that a time is fixed for the discontinuance of the sale of 

the particular policy advertised because of special 

advantages available in the policy, unless such is the fact. 

4. The phrase a particular insurance product in 

§1329.A.2 means an insurance policy which provides 

substantially different benefits than those contained in any 

other policy. Different terms of renewability; an increase or 

decrease in the dollar amounts of benefits; an increase or 

decrease in any elimination period or waiting period from 

those available during an enrollment period for another 

policy shall not be sufficient to constitute the product being 

offered as a different product eligible for concurrent or 

overlapping enrollment periods. 

B. An advertisement shall not offer a policy which 

utilizes a reduced initial premium rate in a manner which 

overemphasizes the availability and the amount of the initial 

reduced premium. When an insurer charges an initial 

premium that differs in amount from the amount of the 

renewal premium payable on the same mode, the 

advertisement shall not display the amount of the reduced 

initial premium either more frequently or more prominently 

than the renewal premium and both the initial reduced 

premium and the renewal premium must be stated in 

juxtaposition in each portion of the advertisement where the 

initial reduced premium appears. 

C. Special awards, such as a safe drivers' award shall not 

be used in connection with advertisements of accident or 

accident and sickness insurance. 

D. An advertisement using terminology to indicate that a 

particular form of coverage is unlike any other form of 

coverage presently in existence is prohibited if similar plans 

and offers are available. 

E.1. An advertisement of an individual policy which 

provides an application or enrollment form shall contain a 

policy summary setting out the essential features of the 

policy that will be issued upon acceptance of an application 

by the insurer. Essential features must include language 

describing: 

a. benefits; 

b. renewability of policy; 

c. right of company to change premium; 

d. liability of company for pre-existing conditions; 

e. waiting periods for which no benefits are 

payable; 

f. reduction (if any) of benefits; 

g. exclusions. 

2. The policy summary shall be prominently displayed 

and readily distinguishable from all other portions of the 

advertisement. The policy summary shall explain the 

essential features of the policy in simple, concise and readily 

understandable language, as in the following example: 

POLICY SUMMARY 

(or other descriptive title) 

A. This policy provides $16.27 daily hospital benefits. 

B. This policy is guaranteed renewable to age 65. 

C. The insurance company can change the premium. 

D. Pre-existing conditions are not covered for the first two years. 

E. Benefits are payable from the first day of accidents and the 

eighth day of sickness. 

F. Benefits are reduced at age 65. 

G. This policy does not cover mental illness, alcoholism or drug 

addiction. 

H. (Other significant policy provisions.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1331. Statements about an Insurer 

A. An advertisement shall not contain statements which 

are untrue in fact, or by implication misleading, with respect 

to the assets, corporate structure, financial standing, age or 

relative position of the insurer in the insurance business. An 

advertisement shall not contain a recommendation by any 

commercial rating system unless it clearly indicates the 

purpose of the recommendation and the limitations of the 

scope and extent of the recommendation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1333. Enforcement Procedures 

A. Advertising File. Each insurer shall maintain at its 

home or principal office a complete file containing every 

printed, published or prepared advertisement of its 

individual policies and typical printed, published or prepared 

advertisements of its blanket, franchise and group policies 

hereafter disseminated in this or any other state whether or 

not licensed in such other state, with a notation attached to 
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each such advertisement which shall indicate the manner and 

extent of distribution and the form number of any policy 

advertised. Such file shall be subject to regular and 

periodical inspection by this department. All such 

advertisements shall be maintained in said file for a period 

of either four years or until the filing of the next regular 

report on examination of the insurer, whichever is the longer 

period of time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973, 

amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 43:1985 (October 2017). 

§1335. Severability Provision 

A. If any Section or portion of a Section of these rules, or 

the applicability thereof to any person or circumstance is 

held invalid by a court, the remainder of the rules, or the 

applicability of such provision to other persons or 

circumstances, shall not be affected thereby. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973. 

§1337. Effective Date 

A. This rule shall become effective upon final 

publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, November 1, 1973, 

amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 43:1985 (October 2017). 

Chapter 15. Rule Number 5―Unfair 

Trade Practices 

§1501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this rule is to accomplish a uniform 

application of Louisiana R.S. 22:1214.A(4), (8), and (9). It is 

intended to clarify those provisions of the Unfair Trade 

Practices Part of the Louisiana Insurance Code. (Title 22, 

Louisiana Revised Statute of 1950 as amended). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 6:283 (June 1980). 

§1503. Applicability 

A. These provisions shall be applicable to any persons 

directly or indirectly involved in the solicitation, negotiation 

and service of insurance contracts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 6:283 (June 1980). 

§1505. Definitions 

A. When used in this rule, the following words or terms 

have the meaning described in §1505. 

Confidential Information―information obtained by 

means of a confidential or fiduciary relationship and the 

existence of such relationship precludes the party in whom 

trust and confidence is placed from participating in profit or 

advantages resulting from the dealing as the parties to the 

relation. Specifically, information given a mortgagee 

pertaining to expiration date of insurance contracts and 

rating and coverages information is confidential information. 

Person―any individual, company, insurer, association, 

organization, reciprocal or interinsurance exchange, 

partnership, business, trust or corporation. 

Unfair Competition―the improper use of confidential 

information for competitive advantages. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 6:283 (June 1980). 

§1507. Rule 

A. It shall be an unfair trade practice for any person to 

engage in unfair competition by directly or indirectly using 

confidential information in the solicitation, negotiation, and 

service of insurance contracts, unless the disclosure of such 

information is authorized by the insured. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 6:283 (June 1980). 

Chapter 17. Rule Number 6―Vehicle 

Mechanical Breakdown Insurer 

§1701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this rule is to adopt provisions and 

uniform guidelines for their interpretation as authorized 

specifically by Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature. It is designed to facilitate and 

implement the provisions of that Act. It is intended to 

supplement and not alter in any manner certain provisions of 

the Act. A further purpose is to establish reasonable 

guidelines pertaining to reserves and the adequacy of those 

reserves, to maintain solvency as respects vehicle 

mechanical breakdown insurers doing business in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1703. Applicability 

A. Those provisions shall be applicable to any and all 

entities which may be defined as a vehicle mechanical 

breakdown insuree, under the provisions of Act 520 of the 

1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. The term 

shall include any person or other entity which receives any 

fee or compensation for administration of a mechanical 

breakdown program. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1705. Definitions 

A. When used in this rule, the following words or term 

have the meaning described in §1705. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance for the 

state of Louisiana. 

Insurer―any property or casualty insurer duly 

authorized to transact vehicle physical damage insurance in 

this state under provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code 

other than Sections 1800 through 1810. 

Vehicle Mechanical Breakdown Insurance Policy―any 

contract, agreement, or other instrument whereby a person 

other than the owner, seller, or lessor of a vehicle assumes 

the risk of and/or the expense portion thereof for the 

mechanical breakdown or mechanical failure of a motor 

vehicle and shall include those agreements commonly 

known as vehicle service agreements or extended warranty 

agreements. 

Vehicle Mechanical Breakdown Insurer―any person or 

organization, whether domestic, foreign or alien that issues 

or attempts to issue vehicle mechanical breakdown policies 

as defined herein. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1707. Qualifications 

A. Evidence must be submitted to the Commissioner of 

Insurance that the applicant is a solvent corporation, 

incorporated under the laws of Louisiana, or another state, 

district, territory or possession of the United States of 

America. That evidence must be submitted as required by 

Form VMB-1 furnished by the Commissioner of Insurance 

and must be to his satisfaction. 

B. The applicant shall furnish such proof as necessary to 

the commissioner that the directors and management of the 

company are competent and trustworthy and are capable of 

successfully managing its affairs in compliance with law. 

That information shall be submitted on form VMB-2 which 

is furnished by the commissioner. 

C. The applicant shall make the deposit required by 

Louisiana R.S. 22:1804. Should the applicant furnish a 

surety bond, it shall be in the style of Form VMB-4 which is 

furnished by the commissioner. Such bond must be written 

by a company that is lawfully authorized to transact surety 

insurance in this state. 

D. The applicant must complete and file form VMB-5, 

"Consent to Service and Appointment of Registered, 

Resident Agent" with the commissioner. The commissioner 

shall provide the applicable forms. 

E. No applicant shall be licensed unless it maintains 

reserves as required by §1709 of this rule. 

F. Upon meeting these requirements to the satisfaction 

of the commissioner, a certificate of authority to do business 

in this state will be issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1709. Reserves 

A. Reserving 

1. The reserve to be maintained on policies issued 

covering new vehicles shall be one which generates an 

unearned premium reserve of not less than the unearned 

premium reserve which is generated by applying the reverse 

sum of the digits earnings method to each policy issued 

covering a new vehicle. 

2. The reserve to be maintained on policies issued on 

used vehicles shall be a reserve of not less than the unearned 

premium reserve which is generated when the straight line or 

pro-rated earnings method is applied to each policy issued 

on a used vehicle. 

B. Premium Definition. In items §1709.A.1 and 2 the 

unearned premium reserves generated shall be those which 

are generated when the earnings method is applied to the net 

premium (after commissions to agents) received by the 

vehicle mechanical breakdown insurer. 

C. Reinsurance 

1. Should any vehicle mechanical breakdown insurer 

reinsure all or a portion of its risks through another 

insurance company, the sum of the reserves maintained by 

said reinsurance company (for the risk in question) and the 

reserves maintained by the vehicle mechanical breakdown 

insurer shall equal not less than the reserve required in 

§1709.A. Further, such reinsurance shall be admissible 

toward achieving required reserves only when said 

reinsurance is with a company or companies that are 

approved to do business in this state either as a domestic, 

admitted, or surplus lines insurer. 

2. The commissioner shall have the right to examine 

any reinsurance documents or agreements that may be made 

between vehicle mechanical breakdown insurers and any 

such approved company and shall have the power to secure 

such financial information as he deems necessary from said 

approved reinsurer. 

D. At such time as authority is requested to conduct the 

business of vehicle mechanical breakdown insurer, the 

applicant shall fully disclose the reserving method used or to 

be used by the vehicle mechanical breakdown insurer and 

shall also disclose any reinsurance agreements which are in 

existence. Further, if at any time during the conduct of 

business the mechanical breakdown insurer changes its 

method of reserving or alters its reinsurance arrangements, if 

any, written notice shall be given to the Insurance 

Commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
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22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1711. Reports 

A. Each vehicle mechanical breakdown insurer shall, on 

or before the fifteenth day of March of each year, submit to 

the commissioner a report signed by the president and 

secretary which shall certify the premiums received by said 

insurer for the proceeding year. That report shall be audited 

by a certified public accountant and shall be attested to by 

him. In conjunction with, and to be submitted at the same 

time, a complete audited financial statement on the 

mechanical breakdown insurer. Such audited financial 

statement shall fully disclose the reserving method used and 

any reinsurance arrangements in force. Additionally, the 

audited reports shall contain the following: 

1. auditor's report; 

2. balance sheet; 

3. statement of income and retained earnings; 

4. statement of shareholder's equity; 

5. statement of changes in financial position; 

6. notes to financial statements, which disclose all 

significant accounting practices. 

B. The accounting method used shall not allow for the 

deferring of acquisition costs, but shall recognize those costs 

in the period in which they were incurred. 

C. The audited statement required shall cover the 

operations of the mechanical breakdown insurer only. A 

statement of a holding company, or other parent company, 

which includes in it the operations of the mechanical 

breakdown insurer shall not be acceptable to the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1713. Penalty for Non-Compliance 

A. Non-compliance with the provisions of this rule may 

result in the suspension, revocation or non-renewal of the 

Certificate of Authority issued by the Commissioner of 

Insurance pursuant to the provisions of Act 520 of the 1978 

Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

§1715. Severability 

A. If any of the provisions of this rule are held invalid, 

such invalidity shall not effect other provisions which can be 

given effect without the invalid item and to this end 

provisions of this rule are hereby declared severed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and Act 520 of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 7:340 (July 1981). 

Chapter 21. Rule Number 8―A New 

Annuity Mortality Table for Use in 

Determining Reserve 

Liabilities for Annuities 

§2100. Authority 

A. This Rule is promulgated by the commissioner of 

insurance pursuant to R.S. 22:753 of the Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:2281 (December 

1998), amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 40:1702 (September 2014). 

§2101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Rule is to recognize the following 

mortality tables for use in determining the minimum 

standard of valuation for annuity and pure endowment 

contracts: the 1983 table "a," the 1983 group annuity 

mortality (1983 GAM) table, the annuity 2000 mortality 

table, the 2012 individual annuity reserving (2012 IAR) 

table, and the 1994 group annuity reserving (1994 GAR) 

table. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:1089 (November 

1985), amended LR 24:2281 (December 1998), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1702 

(September 2014). 

§2103. Definitions 

1983 GAM Table―that mortality table developed by the 

Society of Actuaries Committee on Annuities and adopted as 

a recognized mortality table for annuities in December 1983 

by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 

1983 Table “a”―that mortality table developed by the 

Society of Actuaries Committee to Recommend a New 

Mortality Basis for Individual Annuity Valuation and 

adopted as a recognized mortality table for annuities in June 

1982 by the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

1994 GAR Table―that mortality table developed by the 

Society of Actuaries Group Annuity Valuation Table Task 

Force. The 1994 GAR table is included in the report on 

pages 866-867 of volume XLVII of the Transactions of the 

Society of Actuaries (1995). 

2012 IAR Table―that generational mortality table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Committee on Life 

Insurance Research and containing rates, qx 2012+n, derived 

from a combination of the 2012 IAM period table and 

projection scale G2, using the methodology stated in §2106. 
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2012 Individual Annuity Mortality Period Life (2012 IAM 

Period) Table―the period table containing loaded mortality 

rates for calendar year 2012. This table contains rates, qx 

2012, developed by the Society of Actuaries Committee on 

Life Insurance Research and is shown in §2113.A and B. 

Annuity 2000 Mortality Table―that mortality table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Committee on Life 

Insurance Research. The annuity 2000 table is included in 

the report on page 240 of volume XLVII of the Transactions 

of the Society of Actuaries (1995). 

Generational Mortality Table―a mortality table 

containing a set of mortality rates that decrease for a given 

age from one year to the next based on a combination of a 

period table and a projection scale containing rates of 

mortality improvement. 

Period Table―a table of mortality rates applicable to a 

given calendar year (the period). 

Projection Scale G2 (Scale G2)―is a table of annual 

rates, G2x, of mortality improvement by age for projecting 

future mortality rates beyond calendar year 2012. This table 

was developed by the Society of Actuaries Committee on 

Life Insurance Research and is shown in §2113.C and D. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:1089 (November 

1985), amended LR 24:2281 (December 1998), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1702 

(September 2014). 

§2105. Individual Annuity for Pure Endowment 

Contracts 

A. Except as provided in Subsections B and C of this 

Section, the 1983 table "a" is recognized and approved as an 

individual annuity mortality table for valuation and, at the 

option of the company, may be used for purposes of 

determining the minimum standard of valuation for any 

individual annuity or pure endowment contract issued on or 

after September 7, 1979. 

B. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, 

either the 1983 table "a" or the annuity 2000 mortality table 

shall be used for determining the minimum standard of 

valuation for any individual annuity or pure endowment 

contract issued on or after January 1, 1987. 

C. Except as provided in Subsection D of this Section, 

the annuity 2000 mortality table shall be used for 

determining the minimum standard of valuation for any 

individual annuity or pure endowment contract issued on or 

after January 1, 1999. 

D. Except as provided in Subsection E of this Section, 

the 2012 IAR mortality table shall be used for determining 

the minimum standard of valuation for any individual 

annuity or pure endowment contract issued on or after 

January 1, 2015. 

E. The 1983 table "a" without projection is to be used for 

determining the minimum standards of valuation for an 

individual annuity or pure endowment contract issued on or 

after January 1, 1999, solely when the contract is based on 

life contingencies and is issued to fund periodic benefits 

arising from: 

1. settlements of various forms of claims pertaining to 

court settlements or out of court settlements from tort 

actions; 

2. settlements involving similar actions such as 

worker's compensation claims; or 

3. settlements of long term disability claims where a 

temporary or life annuity has been used in lieu of continuing 

disability payments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:1089 (November 

1985), amended LR 24:2281 (December 1998), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1703 

(September 2014). 

§2106. Application of the 2012 IAR Mortality Table 

A. In using the 2012 IAR mortality table, the mortality 

rate for a person age x in year (2012 + n) is calculated as 

follows: 

 
 

The resulting qx 
2012+n shall be rounded to three decimal places 

per 1,000, e.g., 0.741 deaths per 1,000. Also, the rounding 
shall occur according to the formula above, starting at the 

2012 period table rate. For example, for a male age 30, qx
2012= 

0.741. qx 
2013= 0.741 * (1 – 0.010) ^ 1 = 0.73359, which is 

rounded to 0.734. qx 
2014= 0.741 * (1 – 0.010) ^ 2 = 0.7262541, 

which is rounded to 0.726. A method leading to incorrect 
rounding would be to calculate qx 

2014 as qx 
2013 * (1 – 0.010), 

or 0.734 * 0.99 = 0.727. It is incorrect to use the already 
rounded qx 

2013 to calculate qx 
2014. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1703 (September 

2014). 

§2107. Group Annuity or Pure Endowment Contracts 

A. Except as provided in Subsections B and C of this 

Section, the 1983 GAM table, the 1983 table "a" and the 

1994 GAR table are recognized and approved as group 

annuity mortality tables for valuation and, at the option of 

the company, any one of these tables may be used for 

purposes of valuation for an annuity or pure endowment 

purchased on or after September 7, 1979 under a group 

annuity or pure endowment contract. 

B. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, 

either the 1983 GAM table or the 1994 GAR table shall be 

used for determining the minimum standard of valuation for 

any annuity or pure endowment purchased on or after 

January 1, 1987 under a group annuity or pure endowment 

contract. 

C. The 1994 GAR table shall be used for determining the 

minimum standard of valuation for any annuity or pure 
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endowment purchased on or after January 1, 1999 under a 

group annuity or pure endowment contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:1089 (November 

1985), amended LR 24:2281 (December 1998), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1703 

(September 2014). 

§2108. Application of the 1994 GAR Table 

A. In using the 1994 GAR table, the mortality rate for a 

person age x in year (1994 + n) is calculated as follows: 

qx 
1994+n = qx

1994 (1 - AAx ) 
n 

 

where the qx
1994s and AAxs are as specified in the 1994 GAR 

Table. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:2281 (December 

1998), amended by the Department of Insurance, Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 40:1703 (September 2014). 

§2109. Separability 

A. If any provision of this rule or its application to any 

person or circumstances is for any reason held to be invalid, 

the remainder of the regulation and the application of its 

provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:1089 (November 

1985), amended LR 24:2281 (December 1998), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1703 

(September 2014). 

§2111. Effective Date 

A. The effective date of this Rule is January 1, 2015. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:1089 (November 

1985), amended LR 24:2281 (December 1998), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1704 

(September 2014). 

 

 

§2113. Tables 

A. 2012 IAM Period Table, Female, Age nearest Birthday 

Age 1000 qx
2012 Age 1000 qx

2012 Age 1000 qx
2012 Age 1000 qx

2012 

0 1.621 30 0.300 60 3.460 90 88.377 

1 0.405 31 0.321 61 3.916 91 97.491 

2 0.259 32 0.338 62 4.409 92 107.269 

3 0.179 33 0.351 63 4.933 93 118.201 

4 0.137 34 0.365 64 5.507 94 130.969 

5 0.125 35 0.381 65 6.146 95 146.449 

6 0.117 36 0.402 66 6.551 96 163.908 

7 0.110 37 0.429 67 7.039 97 179.695 

8 0.095 38 0.463 68 7.628 98 196.151 

9 0.088 39 0.504 69 8.311 99 213.150 

10 0.085 40 0.552 70 9.074 100 230.722 

11 0.086 41 0.600 71 9.910 101 251.505 

12 0.094 42 0.650 72 10.827 102 273.007 

13 0.108 43 0.697 73 11.839 103 295.086 

14 0.131 44 0.740 74 12.974 104 317.591 

15 0.156 45 0.780 75 14.282 105 340.362 

16 0.179 46 0.825 76 15.799 106 362.371 

17 0.198 47 0.885 77 17.550 107 384.113 

18 0.211 48 0.964 78 19.582 108 400.000 

19 0.221 49 1.051 79 21.970 109 400.000 

20 0.228 50 1.161 80 24.821 110 400.000 

21 0.234 51 1.308 81 28.351 111 400.000 

22 0.240 52 1.460 82 32.509 112 400.000 

23 0.245 53 1.613 83 37.329 113 400.000 

24 0.247 54 1.774 84 42.830 114 400.000 

25 0.250 55 1.950 85 48.997 115 400.000 

26 0.256 56 2.154 86 55.774 116 400.000 

27 0.261 57 2.399 87 63.140 117 400.000 

28 0.270 58 2.700 88 71.066 118 400.000 

29 0.281 59 3.054 89 79.502 119 400.000 

            120 1000.000 
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B. 2012 IAM Period Table, Male, Age nearest Birthday 

 

Age 1000 qx
2012 Age 1000 qx

2012 Age 1000 qx
2012 Age 1000 qx

2012 

0 1.605 30 0.741 60 5.096 90 109.993 

1 0.401 31 0.751 61 5.614 91 123.119 

2 0.275 32 0.754 62 6.169 92 137.168 

3 0.229 33 0.756 63 6.759 93 152.171 

4 0.174 34 0.756 64 7.398 94 168.194 

5 0.168 35 0.756 65 8.106 95 185.260 

6 0.165 36 0.756 66 8.548 96 197.322 

7 0.159 37 0.756 67 9.076 97 214.751 

8 0.143 38 0.756 68 9.708 98 232.507 

9 0.129 39 0.800 69 10.463 99 250.397 

10 0.113 40 0.859 70 11.357 100 268.607 

11 0.111 41 0.926 71 12.418 101 290.016 

12 0.132 42 0.999 72 13.675 102 311.849 

13 0.169 43 1.069 73 15.150 103 333.962 

14 0.213 44 1.142 74 16.860 104 356.207 

15 0.254 45 1.219 75 18.815 105 380.000 

16 0.293 46 1.318 76 21.031 106 400.000 

17 0.328 47 1.454 77 23.540 107 400.000 

18 0.359 48 1.627 78 26.375 108 400.000 

19 0.387 49 1.829 79 29.572 109 400.000 

20 0.414 50 2.057 80 33.234 110 400.000 

21 0.443 51 2.302 81 37.533 111 400.000 

22 0.473 52 2.545 82 42.261 112 400.000 

23 0.513 53 2.779 83 47.441 113 400.000 

24 0.554 54 3.011 84 53.233 114 400.000 

25 0.602 55 3.254 85 59.855 115 400.000 

26 0.655 56 3.529 86 67.514 116 400.000 

27 0.688 57 3.845 87 76.340 117 400.000 

28 0.710 58 4.213 88 86.388 118 400.000 

29 0.727 59 4.631 89 97.634 119 400.000 

            120 1000.000 

 
C. Projection Scale G2, Female, Age nearest Birthday 

 

Age G2x Age G2x Age G2x Age G2x 

0 0.010 30 0.010 60 0.013 90 0.006 

1 0.010 31 0.010 61 0.013 91 0.006 

2 0.010 32 0.010 62 0.013 92 0.005 

3 0.010 33 0.010 63 0.013 93 0.005 

4 0.010 34 0.010 64 0.013 94 0.004 

5 0.010 35 0.010 65 0.013 95 0.004 

6 0.010 36 0.010 66 0.013 96 0.004 

7 0.010 37 0.010 67 0.013 97 0.003 

8 0.010 38 0.010 68 0.013 98 0.003 

9 0.010 39 0.010 69 0.013 99 0.002 

10 0.010 40 0.010 70 0.013 100 0.002 

11 0.010 41 0.010 71 0.013 101 0.002 

12 0.010 42 0.010 72 0.013 102 0.001 

13 0.010 43 0.010 73 0.013 103 0.001 

14 0.010 44 0.010 74 0.013 104 0.000 

15 0.010 45 0.010 75 0.013 105 0.000 

16 0.010 46 0.010 76 0.013 106 0.000 

17 0.010 47 0.010 77 0.013 107 0.000 

18 0.010 48 0.010 78 0.013 108 0.000 

19 0.010 49 0.010 79 0.013 109 0.000 

20 0.010 50 0.010 80 0.013 110 0.000 

21 0.010 51 0.010 81 0.012 111 0.000 

22 0.010 52 0.011 82 0.012 112 0.000 

23 0.010 53 0.011 83 0.011 113 0.000 

24 0.010 54 0.011 84 0.010 114 0.000 

25 0.010 55 0.012 85 0.010 115 0.000 

26 0.010 56 0.012 86 0.009 116 0.000 
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Age G2x Age G2x Age G2x Age G2x 

27 0.010 57 0.012 87 0.008 117 0.000 

28 0.010 58 0.012 88 0.007 118 0.000 

29 0.010 59 0.013 89 0.007 119 0.000 

            120 0.000 

 
D. Projection Scale G2, Male, Age nearest Birthday 

Age G2x Age G2x Age G2x Age G2x 

0 0.010 30 0.010 60 0.015 90 0.007 

1 0.010 31 0.010 61 0.015 91 0.007 

2 0.010 32 0.010 62 0.015 92 0.006 

3 0.010 33 0.010 63 0.015 93 0.005 

4 0.010 34 0.010 64 0.015 94 0.005 

5 0.010 35 0.010 65 0.015 95 0.004 

6 0.010 36 0.010 66 0.015 96 0.004 

7 0.010 37 0.010 67 0.015 97 0.003 

8 0.010 38 0.010 68 0.015 98 0.003 

9 0.010 39 0.010 69 0.015 99 0.002 

10 0.010 40 0.010 70 0.015 100 0.002 

11 0.010 41 0.010 71 0.015 101 0.002 

12 0.010 42 0.010 72 0.015 102 0.001 

13 0.010 43 0.010 73 0.015 103 0.001 

14 0.010 44 0.010 74 0.015 104 0.000 

15 0.010 45 0.010 75 0.015 105 0.000 

16 0.010 46 0.010 76 0.015 106 0.000 

17 0.010 47 0.010 77 0.015 107 0.000 

18 0.010 48 0.010 78 0.015 108 0.000 

19 0.010 49 0.010 79 0.015 109 0.000 

20 0.010 50 0.010 80 0.015 110 0.000 

21 0.010 51 0.011 81 0.014 111 0.000 

22 0.010 52 0.011 82 0.013 112 0.000 

23 0.010 53 0.012 83 0.013 113 0.000 

24 0.010 54 0.012 84 0.012 114 0.000 

25 0.010 55 0.013 85 0.011 115 0.000 

26 0.010 56 0.013 86 0.010 116 0.000 

27 0.010 57 0.014 87 0.009 117 0.000 

28 0.010 58 0.014 88 0.009 118 0.000 

29 0.010 59 0.015 89 0.008 119 0.000 

            120 0.000 

  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:1704 (September 

2014). 

Chapter 23. Rule 13―Special 

Assessment to Pay the Cost of 

Investigation, Enforcement, and 

Prosecution of Insurance Fraud 

Editor's Note: Refer to Act No. 369 of the 2001 Regular 

Legislative Session, Act 293 of the 2003 Regular Legislative 

Session; Act 1013 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session; 

and Act 193 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. 

§2301. Purposes 

A. The purpose of this rule is to implement the 

provisions of R.S. 40:1428 by assessing a fee on insurers to 

pay the cost of investigation, enforcement, public education 

and public awareness, and prosecution of insurance fraud in 

this state as more fully described in R.S. 40:1421-1429 and 

this rule. This rule shall be effective upon final publication 

in the Louisiana Register. 

B. The fees collected shall be used solely for the 

purposes of Subpart B of Part III of Chapter 6 of Title 40 of 

the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, comprised of R.S. 

40:1421 through 1429, entitled "Insurance Fraud 

Investigation Unit". 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 40:1428. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:323 (February 

2000), amended LR 45:64 (January 2019). 

§2303. Fee Assessment 

A. As authorized by R.S. 40:1428, and subject to the 

limitations provided therein and in this rule, there is hereby 

assessed an annual fee not to exceed 0.000375 multiplied 

times the direct premiums received by each insurer licensed 

by the Department of Insurance to conduct business in this 

state. 

B. The fee shall be assessed for each fiscal year, and 

shall be based on premiums received in the previous 

calendar year. The Commissioner of Insurance will notify 

insurers in writing of the fee assessment owed each fiscal 

year. 
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C. The total fees assessed for any year shall not exceed 

the amount necessary to pay the costs of investigation, 

enforcement, public education and public awareness, and 

prosecution of insurance fraud in this state by the programs 

to which funds are allocated in §2307 of this Rule. 

D. Prior to making the allocations specified in §2307 of 

this Rule, the Commissioner of Insurance is authorized to 

withhold the sum of $30,000 per year from the fees collected 

to defray the expenses of collection of the fees, enforcement 

of this Subpart, and operation of the Department of 

Insurance and shall withhold $187,000 to fund the 

Automobile Theft and Insurance Fraud Prevention Authority 

Dedicated Fund Account pursuant to R.S. 22:2134. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 40:1428. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:323 (February 

2000), amended LR 45:64 (January 2019), LR 50:526 (April 2024). 

§2305. Limitations on the Fee Assessment 

A. The fee shall not be assessed on premiums received 

on life insurance policies, annuities, credit insurance, crop 

and livestock insurance, federal flood insurance policies, 

reinsurance contracts, reinsurance agreements, or 

reinsurance claims transactions. The fee shall not be 

assessed on 50 percent of the premiums received on health 

and accident insurance policies. 

B. If the fee assessed for the previous year exceeds by 

five percent of the cumulative costs of the previous year of 

operating the insurance fraud programs to which the funds 

are allocated, the fee assessment for the next year shall be 

reduced by the amount of the excess in proportion to the 

assessment, however, any entity listed in §2307(A) of this 

Rule that expends its allocation shall receive at least the 

same allocation for the next year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 40:1428. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:323 (February 

2000), amended LR 45:64 (January 2019). 

§2307. Allocation of the Fee Assessment 

A. Except as otherwise provided in §2303.D of this rule, 

fees shall be allocated as follows. 

1. Seventy-five percent of the fees collected shall be 

allocated to the Insurance Fraud Investigation Unit within 

the Office of State Police. 

2. Fifteen percent of the fees collected shall be 

allocated to the Department of Justice to be used solely for 

the Insurance Fraud Support Unit. 

3. Ten percent of the fees collected shall be allocated 

to the Department of Insurance to be used solely for the 

Office of Insurance Fraud. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 40:1428. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:323 (February 

2000), amended LR 45:64 (January 2019), LR 50:526 (April 2024). 

§2309. Payment of the Fee Assessment 

A. The fee established in R.S. 40:1428 and in this rule 

shall be paid to the Commissioner of Insurance as required 

by R.S. 40:1428(B). 

B. After compliance with the requirements of Article 

VII, Section 9(B) of the Constitution of Louisiana relative to 

the Bond Security and Redemption Fund, an amount equal 

to that deposited as required by R.S. 40.1428 (C) shall be 

credited to the Insurance Fraud Investigation Dedication 

Fund Account in the state treasury. The monies shall be 

irrevocably dedicated and deposited in the insurance fraud 

investigation dedication fund account and shall be used 

solely as provided in R.S. 40:1428(A) and only in the 

amounts appropriated by the legislature. Monies in the fund 

shall be appropriated, administered, and used solely and 

exclusively for the purposes of the fraud unit, fraud support 

unit, office of insurance fraud, LATIFPA, and as further 

provided in R.S. 40:1428. All unexpended and 

unencumbered monies in this fund at the end of the fiscal 

year shall be refunded to each insurer licensed by the 

Department of Insurance to conduct business in this state 

assessed a fee pursuant to R.S. 40:1428 on a pro-rata basis 

based on each insurer’s proportionate share of the total fees 

collected pursuant to this Section.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2and R.S. 40:1428. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:323 (February 

2000), amended LR 45:64 (January 2019), LR 50:526 (April 2024). 

§2311. Fines 

A. The Commissioner of Insurance may levy a fine on 

any insurer who fails to pay the fee assessed pursuant to this 

Section when due. Such fine shall not exceed five percent of 

the fee per month; however, no fine shall be less than $100 

per month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 40:1428 and R.S. 40:1429. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:65 (January 2019). 

§2313. Sunset 

A. The special assessment for the automobile theft and 

insurance fraud prevention authority dedicated fund account 

as well as the insurance fraud investigation dedication fund 

account shall be null, void, and unenforceable on July 1, 

2024, unless legislative authorization for this rule is 

reenacted, amended, or re-promulgated prior to July 1, 2024. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 R.S. 40:1428 and R.S. 40:1429. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:323 (February 

2000), amended LR 45:65 (January 2019), amended LR 50:526 

(April 2024). 
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Chapter 1. Regulation 31―Holding 

Company 

§101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth rules and 

procedural requirements which the commissioner deems 

necessary to carry out the provisions of Act 294 of the 2012 

Regular Legislative Session to be comprised of R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27 of the Insurance Code. The information 

called for by this regulation is hereby declared to be 

necessary and appropriate in the public interest and for the 

protection of the policyholders in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1295 (July 2015), LR 42:1932 (November 

2016). 

§103. Severability Clause 

A. If any provision of this regulation, or the application 

thereof to any person or circumstance, is held invalid, such 

determination shall not affect other provisions or 

applications of this regulation which can be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application, and to that end 

the provisions of this regulation are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1295 (July 2015), LR 42:1932 (November 

2016). 

§105. Definitions 

A. For purposes of this Rule, the definitions detailed 

below shall apply. 

Executive Officerchief executive officer, chief 

operating officer, chief financial officer, treasurer, secretary, 

controller, and any other individual performing functions 

corresponding to those performed by the foregoing officers 

under whatever title. 

The Actthe Insurance Holding Company System 

Regulatory Act (R.S. 22:691.1-691.27). 

Ultimate Controlling Personthat person or persons 

who is not controlled by any other person. Person shall be 

defined pursuant to R.S. 22:691.2(7).  

B. Unless the context otherwise requires, other terms 

found in this regulation and in R.S. 22:691.2 are used as 

defined in the Act. Other nomenclature or terminology is 

according to the Insurance Code, or industry usage if not 

defined by the Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1295 (July 2015), LR 42:1933 (November 

2016). 

§107. Subsidiaries of Domestic Insurers 

A. The authority to invest in subsidiaries under R.S. 

22:691.3(B) is in addition to any authority to invest in 

subsidiaries which may be contained in any other provision 

of the Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1295 (July 2015). 

§109. Acquisition of Control―Statement Filing 

A. A person required to file a statement pursuant to R.S. 

22:691.4 shall furnish the required information on form A, 

hereby made a part of this regulation. Such person shall also 

furnish the required information on form E, hereby made a 

part of this regulation and described in §141 of this 

regulation. 

B. A person required to file a notice of change of control 

due to testate or intestate inheritance or by appointment as a 

succession representative shall submit the following to the 

commissioner within thirty days of the testate or intestate or 

appointment as a succession representative. 

1. A copy of the order appointing the succession 

representative, a copy of the judgment of possession 

transferring ownership, and any other such succession or 

inheritance documents as the commissioner may require. 

2. Such biographical information as the commissioner 

may require. 

3. Such other information as the commissioner may 

require. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015). 

§111. Amendments to Form A 
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A. The applicant shall promptly advise the commissioner 

of any changes in the information so furnished on Form A 

arising subsequent to the date upon which such information 

was furnished but prior to the commissioner’s disposition of 

the application. If change(s) to the Form A should occur after 

the commissioner’s approval of the application but prior to 

the closing date of the sale, the applicant shall be required to 

notify the commissioner in writing within 15 days of such 

change(s). Upon receipt of such notice of change(s), the 

commissioner has the option to modify or rescind his 

approval and may require a new hearing on the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015), LR 42:1933 (November 

2016). 

§113. Acquisition of Section 691.4(A)(4) Insurers 

A. If the person being acquired is deemed to be a 

domestic insurer solely because of the provisions of R.S. 

22:691.4(A)(4), the name of the domestic insurer on the 

cover page should be indicated as follows: 

1. "ABC Insurance Company, a subsidiary of XYZ 

Holding Company". 

B. Where an R.S. 22:691.4(A)(4) insurer is being 

acquired, references to "the insurer" contained in form A 

shall refer to both the domestic subsidiary insurer and the 

person being acquired. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015). 

§114. Pre-Acquisition Notification 

A. If a domestic insurer, including any person controlling 

a domestic insurer, is proposing a merger or acquisition 

pursuant to R.S. 22:691.4(A)(1), that person shall file a pre-

acquisition notification form, form E, which was developed 

pursuant to R.S. 22:691.5(C)(1). 

B. Additionally, if a non-domiciliary insurer licensed to 

do business in this state is proposing a merger or acquisition 

pursuant to R.S. 22:691.5, that person shall file a pre-

acquisition notification form, form E. No pre-acquisition 

notification form need be filed if the acquisition is beyond 

the scope of R.S. 22:691.5 as set forth in R.S. 

22:691.5(B)(2). 

C. In addition to the information required by form E, the 

commissioner may wish to require an expert opinion as to 

the competitive impact of the proposed acquisition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015). 

§115. Annual Registration of Insurers―Statement 

Filing 

A. An insurer required to file an annual registration 

statement pursuant of R.S. 22:691.6 shall furnish the 

required information on Form B, hereby made a part of this 

regulation. An ultimate controlling person (an individual) or 

persons (more than one individual) of a domestic insurer 

licensed and writing only in Louisiana may file an unaudited 

balance sheet in lieu of a reviewed financial statement.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015), LR 42:1933 (November 

2016). 

§117. Summary of Registration―Statement Filing 

A. An insurer required to file an annual registration 

statement pursuant to R.S. 22:691.6 is also required to 

furnish information required on form C, hereby made a part 

of this regulation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015). 

§119. Amendments to Form B 

A. An amendment to form B shall be filed within 15 

days after the end of any month in which there is a material 

change to the information provided in the annual registration 

statement. 

B. Amendments shall be filed in the form B format with 

only those items which are being amended reported. Each 

such amendment shall include at the top of the cover page 

"Amendment Number (insert number) to form B for (insert 

year)" and shall indicate the date of the change and not the 

date of the original filings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015). 

§121. Alternative and Consolidated Registrations 

A. Any authorized insurer may file a registration 

statement on behalf of any affiliated insurer or insurers 

which are required to register under R.S. 22:691.6. A 

registration statement may include information not required 

by the Act regarding any insurer in the insurance holding 

company system, even if such insurer is not authorized to do 

business in this state. In lieu of filing a registration statement 

on form B, the authorized insurer may file a copy of the 

registration statement or similar report which it is required to 

file in its state of domicile, provided: 

1. the statement or report contains substantially 

similar information required to be furnished on form B; and 
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2. the filing insurer is the principal insurance company 

in the insurance holding company system. 

B. The question of whether the filing insurer is the 

principal insurance company in the insurance holding 

company system is a question of fact, and an insurer filing a 

registration statement or report in lieu of form B on behalf of 

an affiliated insurer shall set forth a brief statement of facts 

which will substantiate the filing insurer's claim that it, in 

fact, is the principal insurer in the insurer holding company 

system. 

C. With the prior approval of the commissioner, an 

unauthorized insurer may follow any of the procedures 

which could be done by an authorized insurer under §121.A. 

D. Any insurer may take advantage of the provisions of 

R.S. 22:691.6(H) or (I) without obtaining the prior approval 

of the commissioner. The commissioner, however, reserves 

the right to require individual filings if he deems such filings 

necessary in the interest of clarity, ease of administration or 

the public good. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1296 (July 2015). 

§123. Disclaimers and Termination of Registration 

A. A disclaimer of affiliation or a request for termination 

of registration claiming that a person does not, or will not 

upon the taking of some proposed action, control another 

person (hereinafter referred to as the "subject") shall contain 

the following information: 

1. the number of authorized, issued, and outstanding 

voting securities of the subject; 

2. with respect to the person whose control is denied 

and all affiliates of such person, the number and percentage 

of shares of the subject's voting securities which are held of 

record or known to be beneficially owned, and the number 

of such shares concerning which there is a right to acquire, 

directly or indirectly; 

3. all material relationships and bases for affiliation 

between the subject and the person whose control is denied 

and all affiliates of such person; 

4. a statement explaining why such person should not 

be considered to control the subject. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1297 (July 2015). 

§125. Extraordinary Dividends and Other 

Distributions 

A. Requests for approval of extraordinary dividends or 

any other extraordinary distribution to shareholders shall 

include the following: 

1. the amount of the proposed dividend; 

2. the date established for payment of the dividend; 

3. a statement as to whether the dividend is to be in 

cash or other property, and if in property, a description 

thereof, its cost, and its fair market value together with an 

explanation of the basis for evaluation; 

4. a copy of the calculations determining that the 

proposed dividend is extraordinary. The work paper shall 

include the following information: 

a. the amounts, dates, and form of payment of all 

dividends or distributions (including regular dividends but 

excluding distributions of the insurers own securities) paid 

within the period of 12 consecutive months ending on the 

date fixed for payment of the proposed dividend for which 

approval is sought and commencing on the day after the 

same day of the same month in the last preceding year; 

b. surplus as regards policyholders (total capital and 

surplus) as of the thirty-first day of December next 

preceding; 

c. if the insurer is a life insurer, the net gain from 

operations for the 12-month period ending the thirty-first 

day of December next preceding; 

d. if the insurer is not a life insurer, the net income 

less realized capitalized gains for the 12-month period 

ending the thirty-first day of December next preceding and 

the two preceding 12-month periods; and 

e. if the insurer is not a life insurer, the dividends 

paid to stockholders, excluding distributions of the insurers 

own securities in the preceding two calendar years; 

5. a balance sheet and statement of income for the 

period intervening from the last annual statement filed with 

the commissioner and the end of the month preceding the 

month in which the request for dividend approval is 

submitted; and 

6. a brief statement as to the effect of the proposed 

dividend upon the insurers surplus and the reasonableness of 

surplus in relation to the insurer's outstanding liabilities and 

the adequacy of surplus relative to the insurer's financial 

needs. 

B. Subject to R.S. 22:691.7(B), each registered insurer 

shall report to the commissioner all dividends and other 

distributions to shareholders within 15 business days 

following the declaration thereof, including the same 

information required by Paragraph A.4. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1297 (July 2015). 

§126. Enterprise Risk Report 

A. The ultimate controlling person of an insurer required 

to file an enterprise risk report pursuant to R.S. 22:691.6(L) 
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shall furnish the required information on form F, hereby 

made a part of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:1297 (July 2015). 

§127. Adequacy of Surplus 

A. The factors set forth in R.S. 22:691.7(D) are not 

intended to be an exhaustive list. In determining the 

adequacy and the reasonableness of an insurer’s surplus, no 

single factor is necessarily controlling. The commissioner 

will instead consider the net effect of all of these factors plus 

other factors bearing on the financial condition of the 

insurer. In comparing the surplus maintained by other 

insurers, the commissioner will consider the extent to which 

each of these factors varies from company to company, and 

in determining the quality and liquidity of investments in 

subsidiaries, the commissioner will consider the individual 

subsidiary and may discount or disallow its valuation to the 

extent that the individual investments so warrant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1297 (July 2015). 

§128. Group Capital Calculation 

A. The lead state commissioner has the discretion to 

exempt the ultimate controlling person from filing the 

annual group capital calculation if the lead state 

commissioner makes a determination based upon that filing 

that the insurance holding company system meets all of the 

following criteria: 

1. has annual direct written and unaffiliated assumed 

premium (including international direct and assumed 

premium), but excluding premiums reinsured with the 

Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood 

Program, of less than $1,000,000,000; 

2. has no insurers within its holding company 

structure that are domiciled outside of the United States or 

one of its territories; 

3. has no banking, depository or other financial entity 

that is subject to an identified regulatory capital framework 

within its holding company structure; 

4. the holding company system attests that there are 

no material changes in the transactions between insurers and 

non-insurers in the group that have occurred since the last 

filing of the annual group capital; and 

5. the non-insurers within the holding company 

system do not pose a material financial risk to the insurer’s 

ability to honor policyholder obligations. 

B. Where an insurance holding company system has 

previously filed the annual group capital calculation at least 

once, the lead state commissioner has the discretion to 

accept in lieu of the group capital calculation a limited group 

capital filing if: 

1. the insurance holding company system has annual 

direct written and unaffiliated assumed premium (including 

international direct and assumed premium), but excluding 

premiums reinsured with the Federal Crop Insurance 

Corporation and Federal Flood Program, of less than 

$1,000,000,000; and all of the following additional criteria 

are met: 

a. has no insurers within its holding company 

structure that are domiciled outside of the United States or 

one of its territories; 

b. does not include a banking, depository or other 

financial entity that is subject to an identified regulatory 

capital framework; and 

c. the holding company system attests that there are 

no material changes in transactions between insurers and 

non-insurers in the group that have occurred since the last 

filing of the report to the lead state commissioner and the 

non-insurers within the holding company system do not pose 

a material financial risk to the insurers ability to honor 

policyholder obligations. 

C. For an insurance holding company that has previously 

met an exemption with respect to the group capital 

calculation pursuant to Subsection A or B, the lead state 

commissioner may require at any time the ultimate 

controlling person to file an annual group capital calculation, 

completed in accordance with the NAIC Group Capital 

Calculation Instructions, if any of the following criteria are 

met: 

1. any insurer within the insurance holding company 

system is in a Risk-Based Capital action level event as set 

forth in R.S. 22:611 et seq. and R.S. 22:631 et seq. or a 

similar standard for a non-U.S. insurer; or 

2. any insurer within the insurance holding company 

system meets one or more of the standards of an insurer 

deemed to be in hazardous financial condition as defined in 

§1305 and §1307 of Regulation 43; or 

3. any insurer within the insurance holding company 

system otherwise exhibits qualities of a troubled insurer as 

determined by the lead state commissioner based on unique 

circumstances including, but not limited to, the type and 

volume of business written, ownership and organizational 

structure, federal agency requests, and international 

supervisor requests. 

D. A non-U.S. jurisdiction is considered to “recognize 

and accept” the group capital calculation if it satisfies the 

following criteria: 

1. with respect to an insurance holding company 

system described in R.S. 22:691.6(M)(2)(d): 

a. the non-U.S. jurisdiction recognizes the U.S. 

state regulatory approach to group supervision and group 

capital, by providing confirmation by a competent regulatory 

authority, in such jurisdiction, that insurers and insurance 
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groups whose lead state is accredited by the NAIC under the 

NAIC Accreditation Program shall be subject only to 

worldwide prudential insurance group supervision including 

worldwide group governance, solvency and capital, and 

reporting, as applicable, by the lead state and will not be 

subject to group supervision, including worldwide group 

governance, solvency and capital, and reporting, at the level 

of the worldwide parent undertaking of the insurance or 

reinsurance group by the non-U.S. jurisdiction; or 

b. where no U.S. insurance groups operate in the 

non-U.S. jurisdiction, that non-U.S. jurisdiction indicates 

formally in writing to the lead state with a copy to the 

International Association of Insurance Supervisors that the 

group capital calculation is an acceptable international 

capital standard. This will serve as the documentation 

otherwise required in Subsection D.1.a. 

2. the non-U.S. jurisdiction provides confirmation by 

a competent regulatory authority in such jurisdiction that 

information regarding insurers and their parent, subsidiary, 

or affiliated entities, if applicable, shall be provided to the 

lead state commissioner in accordance with a memorandum 

of understanding or similar document between the 

commissioner and such jurisdiction, including but not 

limited to the International Association of Insurance 

Supervisors Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding or 

other multilateral memoranda of understanding coordinated 

by the NAIC. The commissioner shall determine, in 

consultation with the NAIC Committee Process, if the 

requirements of the information sharing agreements are in 

force. 

E. A list of non-U.S. jurisdictions that “recognize and 

accept” the group capital calculation will be published 

through the NAIC Committee Process: 

1. a list of jurisdictions that “recognize and accept” 

the group capital calculation pursuant to R.S. 

22:691.6(M)(2)(d), is published through the NAIC 

Committee Process to assist the lead state commissioner in 

determining which insurers shall file an annual group capital 

calculation. The list will clarify those situations in which a 

jurisdiction is exempted from filing under R.S. 

22:691.6(M)(2)(d). To assist with a determination under R.S. 

22:691.6(M)(3), the list will also identify whether a 

jurisdiction that is exempted under either R.S. 

22:691.6(M)(2)(c) or (d) requires a group capital filing for 

any U.S. based insurance group’s operations in that non-U.S. 

jurisdiction. 

2. for a non-U.S. jurisdiction where no U.S. insurance 

groups operate, the confirmation provided to meet the 

requirement of Subsection D.1.b will serve as support for 

recommendation to be published as a jurisdiction that 

“recognizes and accepts” the group capital calculation 

through the NAIC Committee Process. 

3. if the lead state commissioner makes a 

determination pursuant to R.S. 22:691.6(M)(2)(d) that 

differs from the NAIC List, the lead state commissioner shall 

provide thoroughly documented justification to the NAIC 

and other states. 

4. upon determination by the lead state commissioner 

that a non-U.S. jurisdiction no longer meets one or more of 

the requirements to “recognize and accept” the group capital 

calculation, the lead state commissioner may provide a 

recommendation to the NAIC that the non-U.S. jurisdiction 

be removed from the list of jurisdictions that “recognize and 

accepts” the group capital calculation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:611 et seq., R.S. 22:631 et seq., and R.S. 22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:488 (March 2023), 

amended LR 50:1281 (September 2024). 

§129. Transactions Subject to Prior Notice―Notice 

Filing 

A. An insurer required to give notice of a proposed 

transaction pursuant to R.S. 22:691.7 shall furnish the 

required information on form D, hereby made a part of this 

regulation. 

B. Agreements for cost sharing services and 

management services shall at a minimum and as applicable:  

1. identify the person providing services and the 

nature of such services;  

2. set forth the methods to allocate costs;  

3. require timely settlement, not less frequently than 

on a quarterly basis, and compliance with the requirements 

in the Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual;  

4. prohibit advancement of funds by the insurer to the 

affiliate except to pay for services defined in the agreement;  

5. state that the insurer will maintain oversight for 

functions provided to the insurer by the affiliate and that the 

insurer will monitor services annually for quality assurance;  

6. define records and data of the insurer to include all 

records and data developed or maintained under or related to 

the agreement that are otherwise the property of the insurer, 

in whatever form maintained, including, but not limited to, 

claims and claim files, policyholder lists, application files, 

litigation files, premium records, rate books, underwriting 

manuals, personnel records, financial records or similar 

records within the possession, custody or control of the 

affiliate;  

7. specify that all records and data of the insurer are 

and remain the property of the insurer and;  

a. are subject to control of the insurer; 

b. are identifiable; and 

c. are segregated from all other persons’ records and 

data or are readily capable of segregation at no additional 

cost to the insurer; 

8. state that all funds and invested assets of the insurer 

are the exclusive property of the insurer, held for the benefit 

of the insurer and are subject to the control of the insurer;  

9. include standards for termination of the agreement 

with and without cause;  
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10. include provisions for indemnification of the 

insurer in the event of gross negligence or willful 

misconduct on the part of the affiliate providing the services 

and for any actions by the affiliate that violate provisions of 

the agreement required in §129.B.11 through §129.B.15 of 

this regulation; 

11. specify that, if the insurer is placed in supervision, 

seizure, conservatorship or receivership pursuant to R.S. 

22:2001-2044 and R.S. 22:731-737:  

a. all of the rights of the insurer under the 

agreement extend to the receiver or commissioner to the 

extent permitted by R.S. 22:691.7; and  

b. all records and data of the insurer shall be 

identifiable and segregated from all other persons’ records 

and data or readily capable of segregation at no additional 

cost to the receiver or the commissioner;  

c. a complete set of records and data of the insurer 

will immediately be made available to the receiver or the 

commissioner, shall be made available in a usable format 

and shall be turned over to the receiver or commissioner 

immediately upon the receiver or the commissioner’s 

request, and the cost to transfer data to the receiver or the 

commissioner shall be fair and reasonable; and 

d. the affiliated person(s) will make available all 

employees essential to the operations of the insurer and the 

services associated therewith for the immediate continued 

performance of the essential services ordered or directed by 

the receiver or commissioner; 

12. specify that the affiliate has no automatic right to 

terminate the agreement if the insurer is placed into 

supervision, seizure, conservatorship or receivership 

pursuant to R.S. 22:2001-2044 and R.S. 22:731-737;  

13. specify that the affiliate will provide the essential 

services for a minimum period of time after termination of 

the agreement, if the insurer is placed into supervision, 

seizure, conservatorship or receivership pursuant to R.S. 

22:2001-2044 and R.S. 22:731-737, as ordered or directed 

by the receiver or commissioner. Performance of the 

essential services will continue to be provided without 

regard to pre-receivership unpaid fees, so long as the affiliate 

continues to receive timely payment for post-receivership 

services rendered, and unless released by the receiver, 

commissioner or supervising court; 

14. specify that the affiliate will continue to maintain 

any systems, programs, or other infrastructure 

notwithstanding supervision, a seizure, conservatorship or 

receivership pursuant to R.S. 22:2001-2044 and R.S. 22:731-

737, and will make them available to the receiver or 

commissioner as ordered or directed by the receiver or 

commissioner for so long as the affiliate continues to receive 

timely payment for post-receivership services rendered, and 

unless released by the receiver, commissioner, or supervising 

court; and 

15. specify that, in furtherance of the cooperation 

between the receiver and the affected guaranty association(s) 

and subject to the receiver’s authority over the insurer, if the 

insurer is placed into supervision, seizure, conservatorship or 

receivership pursuant to R.S. 22:2001-2044 and R.S. 22:731-

737, and portions of the insurer’s policies or contracts are 

eligible for coverage by one or more guaranty associations, 

the affiliate's commitments under §129.B.11 through 

§129.B.14 of this regulation will extend to such guaranty 

association(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27, R.S. 22:731-737, and R.S. 22:2001-2044. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1298 (July 2015), amended LR 49:489 

(March 2023). 

§131. Instructions for Forms A, B, C, D, E and F 

A. General Requirements 

1. Forms A, B, C, D, E and F are intended to be 

guides in the preparation of the statements required by R.S. 

22:691.4, 691.5, 691.6, and 691.7. They are not intended to 

be blank forms which are to be filled in. These statements 

filed shall contain the numbers and captions of all items, but 

the text of the items may be omitted provided the answers 

thereto are prepared in such a manner as to indicate clearly 

the scope and coverage of the items. All instructions, 

whether appearing under the items of the form or elsewhere 

therein, are to be omitted. Unless expressly provided 

otherwise, if any item is inapplicable or the answer thereto is 

in the negative, an appropriate statement to that effect shall 

be made. 

2. A complete copy of each statement, including 

exhibits and all other papers and documents filed as a part 

thereof, shall be filed with commissioner by U.S. Mail, or as 

provided by LAC 37:XI.Chapter 9, addressed to: Insurance 

Commissioner of the State of Louisiana, P.O. Box 94214, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214, Attention: (Chief Examiner). 

The statement shall be manually signed in the manner 

prescribed on the form. Unsigned copies shall be conformed. 

If the signature of any person is affixed pursuant to a power 

of attorney or other similar authority, a copy of such power 

of attorney or other authority shall also be filed with the 

statement. 

3. Statements should be prepared either electronically 

or on paper 8 1/2" x 11" in size and preferably bound at the 

top or the top left corner. Exhibits and financial statements, 

unless specifically prepared for the filing, may be submitted in 

their original size. All copies of any statement, financial 

statements, or exhibits shall be clear, easily readable, and 

suitable for photocopying. Debits in credit categories and 

credits in debit categories shall be designated so as to be 

clearly distinguishable as such on photocopies. Statements 

shall be in the English language and monetary values shall be 

stated in United States currency. If any exhibit or other paper 

or document filed with the statement is in a foreign language, 

it shall be accompanied by a translation into the English 

language and any monetary value shown in a foreign currency 

normally shall be converted into United States currency. 
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4. If an applicant requests a hearing on a consolidated 

basis under R.S. 22:691.4(E)(3), in addition to filing the 

form A with the commissioner, the applicant shall file a copy 

of form A with the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners in electronic form. 

B. Forms―Incorporation by Reference, Summaries, and 

Omissions 

1. Information required by an item of form A, form B, 

form D, form E or form F may be incorporated by reference 

in answer or partial answer to any other item. Information 

contained in any financial statement, annual report, proxy 

statement, statement filed with a governmental authority, or 

any other document may be incorporated by reference in 

answer or partial answer to any item of form A, form B, 

form D, form E or form F provided such document or paper 

is filed as an exhibit to the statement. Excerpts of documents 

may be filed as exhibits if the documents are extensive. 

Documents currently on file with the commissioner which 

were filed within three years need not to be attached as 

exhibits. References to information contained in exhibits or 

in documents already on file shall clearly identify the 

material and shall specifically indicate that such material is 

to be incorporated by reference in answer to the item. Matter 

shall not be incorporated by reference in any case where 

such incorporation would render the statement incomplete, 

unclear, or confusing. 

2. Where an item requires a summary or outline of the 

provisions of any document, only a brief statement shall be 

made as to the pertinent provisions of the document. In 

addition to such statement, the summary or outline may 

incorporate by reference particular parts of any exhibit or 

document currently on file with commissioner which was 

filed within three years and may be qualified in its entirety 

by such reference. In any case where two or more documents 

required to be filed as exhibits are substantially identical in 

all material respects except as to the parties thereto, the dates 

of execution, or other details, a copy of only one such 

documents need be filed with a schedule identifying the 

omitted documents and setting forth the material details in 

which such documents need be filed with a schedule 

identifying the omitted documents and setting forth the 

material details in which such documents differ from the 

documents a copy of which is filed. 

C. Forms―Information Unknown or Unavailable and 

Extension of Time to Furnish 

1. Information required need be given only insofar as 

it is known or reasonably available to the person filing the 

statement. If any required information is unknown and not 

reasonably available to the person filing, either because the 

obtaining thereof would involve unreasonable effort or 

expense, or because it rests peculiarly within the knowledge 

of another person not affiliated with the person filing, the 

information may be omitted, subject to the following 

conditions: 

a. the person filing shall give such information on 

the subject as it possesses or can acquire without 

unreasonable effort or expense, together with the sources 

thereof; and 

b. the person filing shall include a statement either 

showing that unreasonable effort or expense would be 

involved or indicating the absence of any affiliation with the 

person within whose knowledge the information rests and 

stating the result of a request made to such person for the 

information. 

2. If it is impractical to furnish any required 

information, document, or report at the time it is required to 

be filed, there may be filed with the commissioner as a 

separate document: 

a. identifying the information, document, or report 

in question; 

b. stating why the filing thereof at the time required 

is impractical; and 

c. requesting an extension of time for filing the 

information, document, or report to a specified date. The 

request for extension shall be deemed granted unless the 

commissioner within 30 days after receipt thereof enters an 

order denying the request. 

D. Forms―Additional Information and Exhibits. In 

addition to the information expressly required to be included 

in forms A, B, C, D, E or F there shall be added such other 

material information, if any, as may be necessary to make 

the information contained therein not misleading. The person 

filing may also file such exhibits as it may desire in addition 

to those expressly required by the statement. Such exhibits 

shall be so marked as to indicate clearly the subject matters 

to which they refer. Changes to forms A, B, C, D, E or F 

shall include on the top of the cover page the phrase: 

"Change Number (insert number) to" and shall indicate the 

date of the change and not the date of the original filing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.1-691.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1298 (July 2015), LR 50:1281 (September 

2024). 

 

§133. Form A―Acquisition of Control or Merger with a  

Domestic Insurer 

 

STATEMENT REGARDING THE ACQUISITION OF CONTROL OF OR MERGER WITH A DOMESTIC INSURER 

___________________________________ 
Name of Domestic Insurer 
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By 

___________________________________ 

Name of Acquiring Person (Applicant) 

Filed with the Insurance Department of  

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

(State of domicile of insurer being acquired) 

Dated: __________________________, 20 ____________ 

Name, Title, Address, and Telephone Number of Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence Concerning this Statement Should Be Addressed: 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

ITEM 1. INSURER AND METHOD OF ACQUISITION 

State the name and address of the domestic insurer to which this application relates and a brief description of how control is to be acquired. 

ITEM 2. IDENTITY AND BACKGROUND OF THE APPLICANT 

(a) State the name and address of the applicant seeking to acquire control over the insurer. 

(b) If the applicant is not an individual, state the nature of its business operations for the past five years or for such lesser period as such person 
and any predecessors thereof shall have been in existence. Provide a brief but informative description of the business intended to be done by the 

applicant and the applicant's subsidiaries. 

(c) Furnish a chart or listing clearly presenting the identities of the inter-relationships among the applicant and all affiliates of the applicant. No 
affiliate need be identified if its total assets are equal to less than 1/2 of 1 percent of the total assets of the ultimate controlling person affiliated 

with the applicant. Indicate in such chart or listing the percentage of voting securities of each such person which is owned or controlled by the 

applicant or by any other such person. If control of any person is maintained other than by the ownership or control of voting securities, indicate 
the basis of such control. As to each person specified in such chart or listing indicate the type of organization (e.g. corporation, trust, partnership) 

and the state or other jurisdiction of domicile. If court proceedings involving a reorganization or liquidation are pending with respect to any such 

person, indicate which person, and set forth the title of the court, nature of proceedings, and the date when commenced. 

ITEM 3. IDENTITY AND BACKGROUND OF INDIVIDUALS ASSOCIATED WITH THE APPLICANT 

On the biographical affidavit, include a third party background check, and state the following with respect to (1) the applicant if (s)he is an individual 

or (2) all persons who are directors, executive officers or owners of 10 percent or more of the voting securities of the applicant if the applicant is not 
an individual. 

(a) Name and business address; 

(b) Present principal business activity, occupation or employment, including position and office held, and the name, principal business, and 

address of any corporation or other organization in which such employment is carried on; 

(c) Material occupations, positions, offices, or employment during the last five years, giving the starting and ending dates of each and the name, 

principal business, and address of any business corporation or other organization in which each such occupation, position, office, or employment 
was carried on; if any such occupation, position, office or employment required licensing by or registration with any federal, state or municipal 

governmental agency, indicate such fact, the current status of such licensing or registration, and an explanation of any surrender, revocation, 

suspension, or disciplinary proceedings in connection therewith. 

(d) Whether or not such person has ever been convicted in a criminal proceeding (excluding minor traffic violations) during the last ten years 

and, if so, give the date, nature of conviction, name and location of court, and penalty imposed or other disposition of the case. 

ITEM 4. NATURE, SOURCE, AND AMOUNT OF CONSIDERATION 

(a) Describe the nature, source, and amount of funds or other considerations used or to be used in effecting the merger or other acquisition of 

control. If any part of the same is represented or is to be represented by funds or other consideration borrowed or otherwise obtained for the 

purpose of acquiring, holding, or trading securities, furnish a description of the transaction, the names of the parties thereto, the relationship, if any, 
between the borrower and the lender, the amounts borrowed or to be borrowed, and copies of all agreements, promissory notes, and security 

arrangements relating thereto. 

(b) Explain the criteria used in determining the nature and amount of such consideration. 

(c) If the source of the consideration is a loan made in the lender's ordinary course of business and if the applicant wishes the identity of the 

lender to remain confidential, he must specifically request that the identity be kept confidential. 

ITEM 5. FUTURE PLANS OF INSURER 

Describe any plans or proposals which the applicant may have to declare an extraordinary dividend, to liquidate such insurer, to sell its assets to or 

merge or consolidate it with any person or persons, or to make any other material change in its business operations or corporate structure or 

management. 

ITEM 6. VOTING SECURITIES TO BE ACQUIRED 

State the number of shares of the insurer's voting securities which the applicant, its affiliates and any person listed in Item 3 plan to acquire, and the 

terms of the offer, request, invitation, agreement or acquisition, and a statement as to the method by which the fairness of the proposal was arrived at. 

ITEM 7. OWNERSHIP OF VOTING SECURITIES 

State the amount of each class of any voting security of the insurer which is beneficially owned or concerning which there is a right to acquire 

beneficial ownership by the applicant, its affiliates, or any person listed in Item 3. 
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ITEM 8. CONTRACTS, ARRANGEMENTS, OR UNDERSTANDINGS WITH RESPECT TO VOTING SECURITIES OF THE INSURER 

Give a full description of any contracts, arrangements, or understandings with respect to any voting security of the insurer in which the applicant, its 

affiliates or any person listed in Item 3 is involved including, but not limited to, transfer of any of the securities, joint ventures, loan or option 
arrangements, puts or calls, guarantees of loans, guarantees against loss, or guarantees of profits, division of losses or profits, or the giving or 

withholding of proxies. Such description shall identify the persons with whom such contracts, arrangements, or understandings have been entered 

into. 

ITEM 9. RECENT PURCHASES OF VOTING SECURITIES 

Describe any purchases of any voting securities of the insurer by the applicant, its affiliates, or any person listed in Item 3 during the 12 calendar 

months preceding the filing of this statement. Include in such description the dates of purchase, the names of the purchasers, and the consideration 

paid or agreed to be paid therefor. State whether any such shares so purchased are hypothecated. 

ITEM 10. RECENT RECOMMENDATIONS TO PURCHASE 

Describe any recommendations to purchase any voting security of the insurer made by the applicant, its affiliates, or any person listed in Item 3, or by 
anyone based upon interviews or at the suggestion of the applicant, its affiliates, or any person listed in Item 3 during the 12 calendar months 

preceding the filing of this statement. 

ITEM 11. AGREEMENTS WITH BROKER-DEALERS 
Describe the terms of any agreement, contract, or understanding made with any broker-dealer as to solicitation of voting securities of the insurer for 

tender and the amount of any fees, commissions, or other compensation to be paid to broker-dealers with regard thereto. 

ITEM 12. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND EXHIBITS 

(a) Financial statements, exhibits, and three-year financial projections of the insurer(s) shall be attached to this statement as an appendix, but list 

under this item the financial statements and exhibits so attached. 

(b) The financial statements of the acquiring party shall include the annual financial statements for the preceding five fiscal years (or for such 
lesser period as such applicant and its affiliates and any predecessors thereof shall have been in existence), and similar information covering the 

period from the end of such person's last fiscal year, if such information is available. Such statements may be prepared on either an individual 

basis, or, unless the commissioner otherwise requires, on a consolidated basis if such consolidated statements are prepared in the usual course of 

business. In addition, the Commissioner may also request financial statements for any person identified in Item 2(c). 

Unless the commissioner permits otherwise, the annual financial statements of the applicant and the ultimate controlling person of the applicant 

shall be accompanied by the certificate of an independent certified public accountant to the effect that such statements present fairly the financial 
position of the applicant and the ultimate controlling person of the applicant and the results of their operations for the year then ended, in 

conformity with generally accepted accounting principles or with requirements of insurance or other accounting principles prescribed or permitted 

under law. If the applicant is an insurer who is actively engaged in the business of insurance, the financial statements need not be certified, 
provided they are based on the Annual Statement of such person filed with the insurance department of the person's domiciliary state and are in 

accordance with the requirements of insurance or other accounting principles prescribed or permitted under the law and regulations of such state. 

Unless the commissioner permits otherwise, any ultimate controlling person of the applicant who is an individual may file personal financial 
statements that are reviewed rather than audited by an independent certified public accountant. The review shall be conducted in accordance with 

standards for review of personal financial statements published in the Personal Financial Statements Guide by the American Institute of Certified 

Public Accountants. Personal financial statements shall be accompanied by the independent certified public accountant’s Standard Review Report 

stating that the accountant is not aware of any material modifications that should be made to the financial statements in order for the statements to 

be in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles. 

 An ultimate controlling person of the applicant who is an individual that does not prepare audited or reviewed financial statements in the 
ordinary course of business may submit a written waiver request to file a sworn unaudited balance sheet in lieu of an audited or reviewed financial 

statement. Note that the waiver pertains only to the requirement to file audited or reviewed financial statements. The requirement to file a sworn 

unaudited balance sheet cannot be waived. 

(c) File as exhibits copies of all tender offers for, requests or invitations for, tenders of, exchange offers for, and agreements to acquire or 

exchange any voting securities of the insurer and (if distributed) of additional soliciting materials relating thereto, any proposed employment, 

consultation, advisory, or management contracts concerning the insurer, annual reports to the stockholders of the insurer and the applicant for the 

last two fiscal years, and any additional documents or papers required by Form A or §131.A and 131.C of Regulation 31. 

ITEM 13. AGREEMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTERPRISE RISK MANAGEMENT 

Applicant agrees to provide, to the best of its knowledge and belief, the information required by Form F within 15 days after the end of the month in 

which the acquisition of control occurs. 

ITEM 14. SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION 

Signature and certification required as follows: 

SIGNATURE 

Pursuant to the requirements of R.S. 22:691.4, ___________ has caused this application to be duly signed on its behalf in the City/Parish of 
____________________________ and state of ___________________________ on the _____________ day of______________________________, 

20 _______. 

 
(SEAL)  

 

 
_____________________________________ 

Name of Applicant 

 
BY _________________________________________ 

(Name) (Title) 
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Attest: 

____________________________________________ 

(Signature of Officer) 
____________________________________________ 

(Title) 

 
CERTIFICATION 

 

The undersigned deposes and says that(s) he has duly executed the attached application dated , 20 __________, for and on behalf of 
_______________________________that (s)he is the _______________________ of such company that (s)he is authorized to execute and file such 

instrument. 

 
(Name of Applicant)      (Title of Officer) 

 

Deponent further says that (s)he is familiar with such instrument and the contents thereof, and that the facts therein set forth are true to the best of 
his/her knowledge, information, and belief. 

 

(Signature)______________________________ 
 

(Type or print name beneath) ______________________________ 

 

 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.6 and 22:691.11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1299 (July 2015), LR 42:1933 (November 

2016), LR 48:2146 (August 2022). 

 

 

§135. Form B―Annual Registration Statement 

 
INSURANCE HOLDING COMPANY SYSTEM ANNUAL REGISTRATION STATEMENT 

Filed with the Insurance Department of the 
State of ________________________ 

By 

_______________________________ 

(Name of Registrant) 

On Behalf of Following Insurance Companies 

Name Address 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date: _____________________, 20 _________ 

Name, Title, Address, and Telephone Number of Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence Concerning this Statement Should Be Addressed: 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________ 

ITEM 1. IDENTITY AND CONTROL OF REGISTRANT 

Furnish the exact name of each insurer registering or being registered (hereinafter called "the Registrant"), the home office address and principal 
executive offices of each; the date of which each Registrant became part of the insurance holding company system; and the method(s) by which 

control of each Registrant was acquired and is maintained. 

ITEM 2. ORGANIZATIONAL CHART 

Furnish a chart or listing clearly presenting the identities of and interrelationships among all affiliated persons within the insurance holding company 

system. No affiliate need be shown if its total assets are equal to less than 1/2 of 1 percent of the total assets of the ultimate controlling person within 
the insurance holding company system unless it has assets valued at or exceeding (insert amount). The chart or listing should show the percentage of 

each class of voting securities of each affiliate which is owned, directly or indirectly, by another affiliate. If control of any person within the system is 

maintained other than by the ownership or control of voting securities, indicate the basis of such control. As to each person specified in such chart or 

listing indicate the type of organization (e.g., corporation, trust, partnership) and the state or other jurisdiction of domicile. 

ITEM 3. THE ULTIMATE CONTROLLING PERSON 

As to the ultimate controlling person in the insurance holding company system furnish the following information: 

(a) Name 

(b) Home office address 
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(c) Principal executive office address 

(d) The organizational structure of the person, (i.e., corporation, partnership, individual, trust, etc.) 

(e) The principal business of the person 

(f) The name and address of any person who holds or owns 10 percent or more of any class of voting security, the class of such security, the 

number of shares held of record or known to be beneficially owned, and the percentage of class so held or owned. 

(g) If court proceedings involving a reorganization or liquidation are pending, indicate the title and location of the court, the nature of 

proceedings, and the date when commenced. 

ITEM 4. BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION 

If the ultimate controlling person is a corporation, an organization, a limited liability company, or other legal entity, furnish the following information 
for the directors and executive officers of the ultimate controlling person: the individual’s name and address, his or her principal occupation and all 

offices and positions held during the past five years, and any conviction of crimes other than minor traffic violations. If the ultimate controlling person 

is an individual, furnish the individual's name and address, his or her principal occupation and all offices and positions held during the past five years, 
and any conviction of crimes other than minor traffic violations. 

ITEM 5. TRANSACTIONS AND AGREEMENTS 

Briefly describe the following agreements in force; and transactions currently outstanding or which have occurred during the last calendar year 

between the Registrant and its affiliates: 

(1) loans, other investments, or purchases, sales, or exchanges of securities of the affiliates by the Registrant or of the Registrant by its affiliates; 

(2) purchases, sales, or exchanges of assets; 

(3) transactions not in the ordinary course of business; 

(4) guarantees or undertakings for the benefit of an affiliate which result in an actual contingent exposure of the Registrant's assets to liability, 

other than insurance contracts entered into in the ordinary course of the Registrant's business; 

(5) all management agreements, service contracts, and all cost-sharing arrangements; 

(6) reinsurance agreements; 

(7) dividends and other distributions to shareholders; 

(8) consolidated tax allocation agreements; and 

(9) any pledge of the Registrant's stock and/or of the stock of any subsidiary or controlling affiliate for a loan made to any member of the 

insurance holding company system. 

Sales, purchases, exchanges, loan or extensions of credit, investments or guarantees involving the amounts specified in R.S. 22:691.6(D) or less of 

the Registrant's admitted assets as of the thirty-first day of December next preceding, or such transactions as set forth below, shall not be deemed 

material. 

Sales, purchases, exchanges, loan or extensions of credit, investments or guarantees of less than $25,000 shall not be deemed material even if such 

transaction would otherwise be deemed material under the provisions of R.S.22:691.6(D). Additionally, transactions that fall between $25,000 and 

$250,000 shall not be deemed material unless such transaction involves .0075 of the admitted assets of the insurer as of the thirty-first day of 

December next preceding. 

The description shall be in a manner as to permit the proper evaluation thereof by the commissioner, and shall include at least the following: the 

nature and purpose of the transaction, the nature and amounts of any payments or transfers of assets between the parties, the identity of all parties 

to such transaction, and relationship of the affiliated parties to the Registrant. 

ITEM 6. LITIGATION OR ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS 

A brief description of any litigation or administrative proceedings of the following types, either then pending or concluded within the preceding 
fiscal year, to which the ultimate controlling person or any of its directors or executive officers was a party or of which the property of any such 

person is or was the subject; give the names of the parties and the court or agency in which such litigation or proceeding is or was pending: 

(a) Criminal prosecutions or administrative proceedings by any government agency or authority which may be relevant to the trustworthiness of 

any party thereto; and 

(b) Proceedings which may have a material effect upon the solvency or capital structure of the ultimate holding company including, but not 

necessarily limited to, bankruptcy, receivership, or other corporate reorganizations. 

ITEM 7. STATEMENT REGARDING PLAN OR SERIES OF TRANSACTIONS 

The insurer shall furnish a statement that transactions entered into since the filing of the prior year's annual registration statement are not part of a plan 

or series of like transactions, the purpose of which is to avoid statutory threshold amounts and the review that might otherwise occur. 

ITEM 8. FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND EXHIBITS 

(a) Financial statements and exhibits should be attached to this statement as an appendix, but list under this item the financial statements and 

exhibits so attached. 

(b) If the ultimate controlling person is a corporation, an organization, a limited liability company, or other legal entity, the financial statements 

shall include the annual financial statements of the ultimate controlling person in the holding company system as of the end of the person's latest 
fiscal year. Financial statements are required for an ultimate controlling person who is an individual as well as for a corporation or other type of 

business organization. If a holding company system includes more than one ultimate controlling person, annual financial statements are required 

for each ultimate controlling person. 

If at the time of the initial registration, the annual financial statements for the latest fiscal year are not available, annual statements for the previous 

fiscal year may be filed and similar financial information shall be filed for any subsequent period to the extent such information is available. Such 

financial statements may be prepared on either an individual basis, or unless the commissioner otherwise requires, on a consolidated basis if such 

consolidated statements are prepared in the usual course of business. 
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Other than with respect to the foregoing, such financial statement shall be filed in a standard form and format adopted by the National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners, unless an alternative form is accepted by the Commissioner. Documentation and financial statements filed with the 

Securities and Exchange Commission or audited GAAP financial statements shall be deemed to be an appropriate form and format. 

Unless the commissioner otherwise permits, the annual financial statements shall be accompanied by the certificate of an independent certified 

public accountant to the effect that the statements present fairly the financial position of the ultimate controlling person and the results of its 

operations for the year then ended, in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles or with requirements of insurance or other 
accounting principles prescribed or permitted under law. If the ultimate controlling person is an insurer which is actively engaged in the business 

of insurance, the annual financial statements need not be certified, provided they are based on the Annual Statement of the insurer’s domiciliary 

state and are in accordance with requirements of insurance or other accounting principles prescribed or permitted under the law and regulations of 

that state. 

Unless the commissioner otherwise permits, any ultimate controlling person who is an individual may file personal financial statements that are 

reviewed rather than audited by an independent certified public accountant. The review shall be conducted in accordance with standards for review 
of personal financial statements published in the Personal Financial Statements Guide by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

Personal financial statements shall be accompanied by the independent certified public accountant's Standard Review Report stating that the 

accountant is not aware of any material modifications that should be made to the financial statements in order for the statements to be in 

conformity with generally accepted accounting principles.  

An ultimate controlling person who is an individual may file a sworn unaudited balance sheet in lieu of an audited or reviewed financial statement 

if:  

  A. The Registrant is licensed and writing only in Louisiana, OR 

  B(1). The ultimate controlling person does not prepare audited or reviewed financial statements in the ordinary course of business, 

AND 

     (2) The Registrant’s premium volume as reported in its most recently filed annual statement is below the threshold of $300 million 

total direct and unaffiliated assumed premium, including international direct and assumed premium but excluding premiums reinsured with the 

Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and National Flood Insurance Program. 

 The requirement to file a sworn unaudited balance sheet in lieu of audited or reviewed financial statements cannot be waived. 

 Filing of an application for the waiver and receipt of a waiver letter are not necessary if either of the above eligibility criteria are satisfied. 

Notwithstanding an ultimate controlling person's eligibility for the waiver, the Louisiana Department of Insurance reserves the right to require 

audited or reviewed financial statements at any time. 

 An ultimate controlling person meeting criterion (B)(1) that controls an insurer reporting premium volume in its most recently filed annual 

statement equal to or above the threshold of $300 million total direct or assumed premium may submit a request for a waiver which will be 

evaluated on a case by case basis.  

(c) Exhibits shall include copies of the latest annual reports to shareholders of the ultimate controlling person and proxy material used by the 

ultimate controlling person; and any additional documents or papers required by Form B or §131.A and §131.C. 

ITEM 9. FORM C REQUIRED 

A Form C, Number Summary of Registration Statement, must be prepared and filed with this Form B. 

ITEM 10. SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION 

Signature and certification required as follows: 

SIGNATURE 

Pursuant to the requirements of R.S. 22:691.6, the Registrant has caused this annual registration statement to be duly 
signed on its behalf in the City/Parish of ___________________________, and State of ________________________on the _________day of 

____________________________, 20 _______. 

 
(SEAL) 

 

___________________________ 
  (Name of Registrant) 

___________________________ 

By (Name)                   (Title) 
 

Attest: 
__________________________ 

      (Signature of Officer) 

__________________________ 
(Title) 

 

CERTIFICATION 
The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed the attached annual registration statement dated _______________________, 

20________, for and on behalf of __________________________; that (s)he is the ____________________ of such company and that (s)he is 

authorized to execute and file such instrument. Deponent further says that (s)he is familiar with such instrument and the contents thereof, and the facts 
therein set forth are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information, and belief. 

 

(Signature)____________________________ 
 

(Type or print name beneath) ____________________________ 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.6 and 22:691.11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1301 (July 2015), LR 42:1935 (November 

2016), LR 48:2148 (August 2022). 

 

§137. Form C―Registration Statement Summary 

SUMMARY OF REGISTRATION STATEMENT 
Filed with the Insurance Department of the 

State of_____________________ 

 
By 

________________________________ 

(Name of Registrant) 

On Behalf of the Following Insurance Companies 

Name                          Address 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date: __________________________, 20________. 

Name, Title, Address and Telephone Number of Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence Concerning This Statement Should Be Addressed: 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Furnish a brief description of all items in the current annual registration statement which represent changes from the prior year's annual registration 
statement. The description shall be in a manner as to permit the proper evaluation thereof by the commissioner, and shall include specific references to 

Item numbers in the annual registration statement and to the terms contained therein. 

Changes occurring under Item 2 of Form B insofar as changes in the percentage of each class of voting securities held by each affiliate is 

concerned, need only be included where such changes are ones which result in ownership or holdings of' 10 percent or more of voting securities, loss 

or transfer of control, or acquisition or loss of partnership interest. 

Changes occurring under Item 4 of Form B need only be included where: an individual is, for the first time, made a director or executive officer of 

the ultimate controlling person; a director or executive officer terminates his or her responsibilities with the ultimate controlling person or in the event 

an individual is named president of the ultimate controlling person. 

If a transaction disclosed on the prior year's annual registration statement has been changed, the nature of such change shall be included. If a 

transaction disclosed on the prior year's annual registration statement has been effectuated, furnish the mode of completion and any flow of funds 

between affiliates resulting from the transaction. 

The insurer shall furnish a statement that transactions entered into since the filing of the prior year’s annual registration statement are not part of a 

plan or series of like transactions whose purpose it is to avoid statutory threshold amounts and the review that might otherwise occur. 

 

SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION 

Signature and certification required as follows: 

 SIGNATURE 
Pursuant to the requirements of RS. 22:691.6, the Registrant has caused this summary of registration statement to be duly signed on its behalf in the 

City/Parish of ____________________________and the State of ________________________on the ________ day of 

___________________________, 20_________. 

  

 

(SEAL) ________________________________  

                          (Name of Applicant) 

 

By ____________________________________ 
                        (Name)              (Title) 

 

Attest: 

_____________________________ 

(Signature of Officer) 

_____________________________ 
(Title) 

 CERTIFICATION 

The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed the attached summary of registration statement dated 
________________________ 20__________, for and on behalf of _________________________(Name of Company); that (s)he is the 

__________________________ (Title of Officer) of such company and that (s) he is authorized to execute and file such instrument. Deponent further 
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says that (s) he is familiar with such instrument and the contents thereof, and that the facts therein set forth are true to the best of his/her knowledge, 

information, and belief. 

 (Signature) __________________________ 

 (Type or print name beneath)__________________________ 

 

 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.6 and 22:691.11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1303 (July 2015). 

 

§139. Form D―Prior Notice of a Transaction 

PRIOR NOTICE OF A TRANSACTION 
Filed with the Insurance Department of the State of _______________ 

 

By 

______________________________________________ 
(Name of Registrant) 

On Behalf of Following Insurance Companies 

Name                         Address 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date: _____________________, 20_________. 

Name, Title, Address, and Telephone Number of Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence Concerning Statement Should Be Addressed: 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

ITEM 1. IDENTITY OF PARTIES TO TRANSACTION 

Furnish the following information for each of the parties to the transaction: 

(a) Name. 

(b) Home office address. 

(c) Principal executive office address. 
(d) The organizational structure, (i.e. corporation, partnership, individual, trust, etc.). 

(e) A description of the nature of the parties' business operations. 

(f) Relationship, if any, of other parties to the transaction to the insurer filing the notice, including any ownership or debtor/creditor interest 
by any other parties to the transaction in the insurer seeking approval, or by the insurer filing the notice in the affiliated parties. 

(g) Where the transaction is with a non-affiliate, the name(s) of the affiliate(s) which will receive, in whole or in substantial part, the 

proceeds of the transaction. 

ITEM 2. DESCRIPTION OF THE TRANSACTION 

Furnish the following information for each transaction for which notice is being given: 

(a) A statement as to whether notice is being given under R.S. 22:691.7(A)(2)(a)(b)(c)(d) or (e). 
(b) A statement of the nature of the transaction. 

(c) A statement of how the transaction meets the 'fair and reasonable' standard of R.S. 22:691.7(A)(1)(a); and 

(d) The proposed effective date of the transaction. 

ITEM 3. SALES, PURCHASES, EXCHANGES, LOANS, EXTENSIONS OF CREDIT, GUARANTEES OF INVESTMENTS 

Furnish a brief description of the amount and source of funds, securities, property or other consideration for the sale, purchase, exchange, loan, 

extension of credit, guarantee, or investment, whether any provision exists for purchase by the insurer filing notice, by any party to the transaction, or 
by any affiliate of the insurer filing notice, a description of the terms of any securities being received, if any, and a description of any other agreements 

relating to the transaction such as contracts or agreements for services, consulting agreements and the like. If the transaction involves other than cash, 

furnish a description of the consideration, its cost and its fair market value, together with an explanation of the basis for the evaluation. 

If the transaction involves a loan, extension of credit or a guarantee, furnish a description of the maximum amount which the insurer will be 

obligated to make available under such loan, extension of credit or guarantee, the date on which the credit or guarantee will terminate, and any 

provisions for the accrual of or deferral of interest. 

If the transaction involves an investment, guarantee, or other arrangement, state the time period during which the investment, guarantee, or other 

arrangement will remain in effect, together with any provisions for extensions or renewals of such investments, guarantees or arrangements. Furnish a 

brief statement as to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer's surplus. 

No notice need be given if the maximum amount which can at any time be outstanding or for which the insurer can be legally obligated under the 

loan, extension of credit or guarantee is less than (a) in the case of non-life insurers, the lesser of 3 percent of the insurer's admitted assets or 25 
percent of surplus as regards policyholders or, (b) in the case of life insurers, 3 percent of the insurer's admitted assets, each as of the thirty-first day of 

December next preceding. 

ITEM 4. LOANS OR EXTENSIONS OF CREDIT TO A NON-AFFILIATE 
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If the transaction involves a loan or extension of credit to any person who is not an affiliate, furnish a brief description of the agreement or 

understanding whereby the proceeds of the proposed transaction, in whole or in substantial part, are to be used to make loans or extensions of credit 

to, to purchase the assets of, or to make investments in any affiliate of the insurer making such loans or extensions of credit, and specify in what 
manner the proceeds are to be used to loan to, extend credit to, purchase assets of or make investments in any affiliate. Describe the amount and 

source of funds, securities, property, or other consideration for the loan or extension of credit and, if the transaction is one involving consideration 

other than cash, a description of its cost and its fair market value together with an explanation of the basis for evaluation. Furnish a brief statement as 

to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer's surplus. 

No notice need be given if the loan or extension of credit is one which equals less than, in the case of non-life insurers, the lesser of 3 percent of the 

insurer's admitted assets or 25 percent of surplus as regards policyholders or, with respect to life insurers, 3 percent of the insurer's admitted assets, 

each as of the thirty-first of December next preceding. 

ITEM 5. REINSURANCE 

If the transaction is a reinsurance agreement or modification thereto, as described in R.S. 22:691.7(A)(2)(c)(ii), or a reinsurance pooling agreement 
or modification thereto as described in R.S. 22:691.7(A)(2)(c)(i), furnish a description of the known and/or estimated amount of liability to be ceded 

and/or assumed in each calendar year, the period of time during which the agreement will be in effect, and a statement whether an agreement or 

understanding exists between the insurer and non-affiliate to the effect that any portion of the assets constituting the consideration for the agreement 
will be transferred to one or more of the insurer's affiliates. Furnish a brief description of the consideration involved in the transaction, and a brief 

statement as to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer's surplus. 

No notice need be given for reinsurance agreements or modifications thereto if the reinsurance premium or a change in the insurer's liabilities, or 
the projected reinsurance premium or change in the insurer’s liabilities in any of the next three years, in connection with the reinsurance agreement or 

modification thereto is less than 5 percent of the insurer's surplus as regards policyholders, as of the thirty-first day of December next preceding.  

Notice shall be given for all reinsurance pooling agreements including modifications thereto. 

  ITEM 6. MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS, SERVICE AGREEMENTS, AND COST-SHARING ARRANGEMENTS 

For management and service agreements, furnish: 

(a) A brief description of the managerial responsibilities, or services to be performed; 
(b) A brief description of the agreement, including a statement of its duration, together with brief descriptions of the basis for compensation 

and the terms under which payment or compensation is to be made. 

 
For cost-sharing arrangements, furnish: 

(a) A brief description of the purpose of the agreement; 

(b) A description of the period of time during which the agreement is to be in effect; 
(c) A brief description of each party’s expenses or costs covered by the agreement; 

(d) A brief description of the accounting basis to be used in calculating each party’s costs under the agreement; 

(e) A brief statement as to the effect of the transaction upon the insurer’s policyholder surplus; 
(f) A statement regarding the cost allocation methods that specifies whether proposed charges are based on “cost or market.” If market based, 

rationale for using market instead of cost, including justification for the company’s determination that amounts are fair and reasonable; and 

(g) A statement regarding compliance with the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedure Manual regarding expense allocation. 

ITEM 7. SIGNATURE AND CERTIFICATION 

Signature and certification required as follows: 

 SIGNATURE 
Pursuant to the requirements of R.S. 22:691.7, ___________________________ has caused this notice to be duly signed on its behalf in the 

City/Parish of _____________________________and State of ________________________on the __________day of _____________________, 

20_________. 

 

(SEAL) ________________________________ 
                          (Name of Applicant) 
 

By ____________________________________ 
                        (Name)              (Title) 

 

Attest: 

___________________________________ 

 (Signature of Officer) 

___________________________________ 

(Title) 

 CERTIFICATION 

The undersigned deposes and says that (s)he has duly executed the attached notice dated _____________________, 20_______, 

for and on behalf of _________________________________; that (s)he is the __________________________of such company  

(Name of Applicant)                (Title of Officer) 
and that (s)he is authorized to execute and file such instrument.  Deponent further says that (s)he is familiar with such instrument and the contents 

thereof, and that the facts therein set forth are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information, and belief. 

 (Signature)_________________________ 
 (Type or print name beneath) _________________________ 

 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.5 and 22:691.11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 18:274 (March 1992), 

amended LR 19:501 (April 1993), amended by the Office of the 

Commissioner, LR 41:1304 (July 2015). 
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§141. Form E―Pre-Acquisition Notification Form Regarding 

the Potential Competitive Impact of a Proposed Merger or 

Acquisition by a Non-Domiciliary Insurer Doing Business 

in this State or by a Domestic Insurer 

________________________________ 

(Name of Applicant) 

 
________________________________ 

(Name of Other Person Involved in Merger or Acquisition ) 

 

Filed with the Insurance Department of ______________ 

Dated: __________________________, 20________. 

 

Name, Title, Address and Telephone Number of person Completing This Statement: 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

ITEM 1. NAME AND ADDRESS 

State the names and addresses of the persons who hereby provide notice of their involvement in a pending acquisition or change in corporate 

control. 

ITEM 2. NAME AND ADDRESSES OF AFFILIATED COMPANIES 

State the names and addresses of the persons affiliated with those listed in Item 1. Describe their affiliations. 

ITEM 3. NATURE AND PURPOSE OF THE PROPOSED MERGER OR ACQUISITION 

State the nature and purpose of the proposed merger or acquisition. 

ITEM 4. NATURE OF BUSINESS 

State the nature of the business performed by each of the persons identified in response to Item 1 and Item 2. 

ITEM 5. MARKET AND MARKET SHARE 

State specifically what market and market share in each relevant insurance market the persons identified in Item 1 and Item 2 currently enjoy in this 

state. Provide historical market and market share data for each person identified in Item 1 and Item 2 for the past five years and identify the source of 
such data. Provide a determination as to whether the proposed acquisition or merger, if consummated, would violate the competitive standards of the 

state as stated in R.S. 22:691.5(D). If the proposed acquisition or merger would violate competitive standards, provide justification of why the 

acquisition or merger would not substantially lessen competition or create a monopoly in the state. 

For purposes of this question, market means direct written insurance premium in this state for a line of business as contained in the annual 

statement required to be filed by insurers licensed to do business in this state. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.5 and 22:691.11. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Insurance, 

Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:1306 (July 2015). 

§143. Form F―Enterprise Risk Report 

 

Filed with the Insurance Department of the 

State of _________________ 

 
By 

_______________________________ 

(Name of Registrant/Applicant) 
 

On Behalf of/Related to Following Insurance Companies 

Name                         Address 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Date: _____________________, 20 _________ 

Name, Title, Address, and Telephone Number of Individual to Whom Notices and Correspondence Concerning this Statement Should Be Addressed: 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

ITEM 1. ENTERPRISE RISK 
The Registrant/Applicant, to the best of its knowledge and belief, shall provide information regarding the following areas that could produce 

enterprise risk as defined in R.S. 22:691.2(4), provided such information is not disclosed in the Insurance Holding Company System Annual 

Registration Statement filed on behalf of itself or another insurer for which it is the ultimate controlling person: 
(a) Any material developments regarding strategy, internal audit findings, compliance or risk management affecting the insurance holding 

company system; 

(b) Acquisition or disposal of insurance entities and reallocating of existing financial or insurance entities within the insurance holding company 
system; 

(c) Any changes of shareholders of the insurance holding company system exceeding ten percent or more of voting securities; 

(d) Developments in various investigations, regulatory activities or litigation that may have a significant bearing or impact on the insurance 
holding company system; 

(e) Business plan of the insurance holding company system and summarized strategies for next 12 months; 

(f) Identification of material concerns of the insurance holding company system raised by supervisory college, if any, in last year; 
(g) Identification of insurance holding company system capital resources and material distribution patterns; 

(h) Identification of any negative movement, or discussions with rating agencies which may have caused, or may cause, potential negative 

movement in the credit ratings and individual insurer financial strength ratings assessment of the insurance holding company system (including both 
the rating score and outlook); 

(i) Information on corporate or parental guarantees throughout the holding company and the expected source of liquidity should such guarantees 

be called upon; and 
(j) Identification of any material activity or development of the insurance holding company system that, in the opinion of senior management, 

could adversely affect the insurance holding company system. 

The Registrant/Applicant may attach the appropriate form most recently filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, provided the 
Registrant/Applicant includes specific references to those areas listed in Item 1 for which the form provides responsive information. If the 

Registrant/Applicant is not domiciled in the U.S., it may attach its most recent public audited financial statement filed in its country of domicile, 

provided the Registrant/Applicant includes specific references to those areas listed in Item 1 for which the financial statement provides responsive 
information. 

ITEM 2: OBLIGATION TO REPORT. 

If the Registrant/Applicant has not disclosed any information pursuant to Item 1, the Registrant/Applicant shall include a statement affirming that, 
to the best of its knowledge and belief, it has not identified enterprise risk subject to disclosure pursuant to Item 1. 

 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:691.6 and 22:691.11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:1306 (July 2015).  

Chapter 2. Regulation 

104―Corporate Governance Annual 

Disclosure 

Editor’ Note:  The Louisiana Revised Statutes cited in both the 

text and the authority notes of  §§201, 203, 205, 207 and 209 
were changed by the Louisiana Law Institute subsequent to the 

original citations herein. The below table shows those newly-

designated citations. 

 

§201. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth rules and 

procedural requirements which the commissioner deems 

necessary to carry out the provisions of R.S. 22:691.51-

691.58 of the Insurance Code. The information called for by 

this regulation is hereby declared to be necessary and 

appropriate in the public interest and for the protection of the 

policyholders in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:691.51-691.58. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 41:2663 (December 

2015), amended LR 50:397 (March 2024). 

§203. Definitions 

Commissioner—commissioner of insurance for the state 

of Louisiana. 

Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure or CGAD—a 

confidential report filed by the insurer or insurance group 

compiled in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 

22:691.51-691.58 and Regulation 104. 

Insurance Group—those insurers and affiliates included 

within an insurance holding company system as defined in 

R.S. 22:691.2(8). 

Insurer—shall have the same meaning as set forth in R.S. 

22:46(14). For the purposes of this Subpart, a health 

maintenance organization as defined R.S. 22:242(6) shall 

also be considered an insurer. The term “insurer” shall not 

include agencies, authorities, or instrumentalities of the 

United States, its possessions and territories, the 

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, or 

a state or political subdivision of a state. 

Senior Management—any corporate officer responsible 

for reporting information to the board of directors at regular 

intervals or providing this information to shareholders or 

regulators and shall include, for example and without 

limitation, the chief executive officer (CEO), chief financial 

officer (CFO), chief operations officer (COO), chief 

procurement officer (CPO), Chief Legal Officer (CFO), 

chief information officer (CIO), chief technology officer 

(CTO), chief revenue officer (CRO), chief visionary officer 

(CVO), or any other “C” level executive. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:691.51-691.58. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 41:2663 (December 

2015), amended LR 50:397 (March 2024). 

Original Citations Redesignated Citations 

La. R.S. 22:691.31 – 22:691.38 La. R.S. 22:691.51 – 22:691.58 

La. R.S. 22:691.33 La. R.S. 22:691.53 

La. R.S. 22:691.34 La. R.S. 22:691.54 

La. R.S. 22:691.35.B La. R.S. 22:691.55.B 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 106 

§205. Filing Procedures 

A. An insurer, or the insurance group of which the 

insurer is a member, required to file a CGAD by R.S. 

22:691.53 shall, no later than June 1 of each calendar year, 

submit to the commission a CGAD that contains the 

information described in §207 of this regulation. 

B. The CGAD shall include a signature of the insurer’s 

or insurance group’s chief executive officer or corporate 

secretary attesting to the best of that individual’s belief and 

knowledge that the insurer or insurance group has 

implemented the corporate governance practices and that a 

copy of the CGAD has been provided to the insurer’s or 

insurance group’s board of directors (hereafter “board”) or 

the appropriate committee thereof.  

C. The insurer or insurance group shall have discretion 

regarding the appropriate format for providing the 

information required by these regulations and is permitted to 

customize the CGAD to provide the most relevant 

information necessary to permit the commission to gain an 

understanding of the corporate governance structure, policies 

and practices utilized by the insurer or insurance group.  

D. For purposes of completing the CGAD, the insurer or 

insurance group may choose to provide information on 

governance activities that occur at the ultimate controlling 

parent level, an intermediate holding company level and/or 

the individual legal entity level, depending upon how the 

insurer or insurance group has structured its system of 

corporate governance. The insurer or insurance group is 

encouraged to make the CGAD disclosures at the level at 

which the insurer’s or insurance group’s risk appetite is 

determined, or at which the earnings, capital, liquidity, 

operations, and reputation of the insurer are overseen 

collectively and at which the supervision of those factors are 

coordinated and exercised, or the level at which legal 

liability for failure of general corporate governance duties 

would be placed. If the insurer or insurance group 

determines the level of reporting based on these criteria, it 

shall indicate which of the three criteria was used to 

determine the level of reporting and explain any subsequent 

changes in level of reporting. 

E. Notwithstanding Subsection A of this Section, and as 

outlined in R.S. 22:691.53, if the CGAD is completed at the 

insurance group level, then it shall be filed with the lead 

state of the group as determined by the procedures outlined 

in the most recent Financial Analysis Handbook adopted by 

the NAIC. In these instances, a copy of the CGAD shall also 

be provided to the chief regulatory official of any state in 

which the insurance group has a domestic insurer, upon 

request.  

F. An insurer or insurance group may comply with this 

section by referencing other existing documents (e.g., ORSA 

Summary Report, Holding Company Form B or F Filings, 

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Proxy 

Statements, foreign regulatory reporting requirements, etc.) 

if the documents provide information that is comparable to 

the information described in §207. The insurer or insurance 

group shall clearly reference the location of the relevant 

information within the CGAD and attach the referenced 

document if it is not already filed or available to the 

regulator. 

G. Each year following the initial filing of the CGAD, 

the insurer or insurance group shall file an amended version 

of the previously filed CGAD indicating where changes 

have been made. If no changes were made in the information 

or activities reported by the insurer or insurance group, the 

filing shall so state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:691.51-691.58. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 41:2663 (December 

2015), amended LR 50:397 (March 2024). 

§207. Contents of Corporate Governance Annual 

Disclosure  

A. The insurer or insurance group shall be as descriptive 

as possible in completing the CGAD, with inclusion of 

attachments or example documents that are used in the 

governance process, since these may provide a means to 

demonstrate the strengths of their governance framework 

and practices. 

B. The CGAD shall describe the insurer’s or insurance 

group’s corporate governance framework and structure 

including consideration of the following. 

1. The board and various committees thereof 

ultimately responsible for overseeing the insurer or 

insurance group and the level(s) at which that oversight 

occurs (e.g., ultimate control level, intermediate holding 

company, legal entity, etc.). The insurer or insurance group 

shall describe and discuss the rationale for the current board 

size and structure; and  

2. The duties of the board and each of its significant 

committees and how they are governed (e.g., bylaws, 

charters, informal mandates, etc.), as well as how the board’s 

leadership is structured, including a discussion of the roles 

of chief executive officer (CEO) and chairman of the board 

within the organization. 

C. The insurer or insurance group shall describe the 

policies and practices of the most senior governing entity 

and significant committees thereof, including a discussion of 

the following factors: 

1. How the qualifications, expertise and experience of 

each board member meet the needs of the insurer or 

insurance group.  

2. How an appropriate amount of independence is 

maintained on the board and its significant committees.  

3. The number of meetings held by the board and its 

significant committees over the past year as well as 

information on director attendance. 

4. How the insurer or insurance group identifies, 

nominates and elects members to the board and its 

committees. The discussion should include, for example:  

a. whether a nomination committee is in place to 

identify and select individuals for consideration. 

b. whether term limits are placed on directors. 
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c. how the election and re-election processes 

function. 

d. whether a board diversity policy is in place and if 

so, how it functions.  

5. The processes in place for the board to evaluate its 

performance and the performance of its committees, as well 

as any recent measures taken to improve performance 

(including any board or committee training programs that 

have been put in place). 

D. The insurer or insurance group shall describe the 

policies and practices for directing senior management, 

including a description of the following factors: 

1. Any processes or practices (i.e., suitability 

standards) to determine whether officers and key persons in 

control functions have the appropriate background, 

experience and integrity to fulfill their prospective roles, 

including: 

a. identification of the specific positions for which 

suitability standards have been developed and a description 

of the standards employed.  

b. any changes in an officer’s or key person’s 

suitability as outlined by the insurer’s or insurance group’s 

standards and procedures to monitor and evaluate such 

changes.  

2. The insurer’s or insurance group’s code of business 

conduct and ethics, the discussion of which considers, for 

example: 

a. compliance with laws, rules, and regulations; and 

b. proactive reporting of any illegal or unethical 

behavior.  

3. The insurer’s or insurance group’s processes for 

performance evaluation, compensation and corrective action 

to ensure effective senior management throughout the 

organization, including a description of the general 

objectives of significant compensation programs and what 

the programs are designed to reward. The description shall 

include sufficient detail to allow the commissioner to 

understand how the organization ensures that compensation 

programs do not encourage and/or reward excessive risk 

taking. Elements to be discussed may include, for example: 

a. the board’s role in overseeing management 

compensation programs and practices.  

b. the various elements of compensation awarded in 

the insurer’s or insurance group’s compensation programs 

and how the insurer or insurance group determines and 

calculates the amount of each element of compensation paid;  

c. how compensation programs are related to both 

company and individual performance over time; 

d. whether compensation programs include risk 

adjustments and how those adjustments are incorporated into 

the programs for employees at different levels; 

e. any clawback provisions built into the programs 

to recover awards or payments if the performance measures 

upon which they are based are restated or otherwise 

adjusted; 

f. any other factors relevant in understanding how 

the insurer or insurance group monitors its compensation 

policies to determine whether its risk management objectives 

are met by incentivizing its employees. 

4. The insurer’s or insurance group’s plans for CEO 

and senior management succession. 

E. The insurer or insurance group shall describe the 

processes by which the board, its committees and senior 

management ensure an appropriate amount of oversight to 

the critical risk areas impacting the insurer’s business 

activities, including a discussion of: 

1. How oversight and management responsibilities are 

delegated between the board, its committees and senior 

management; 

2. How the board is kept informed of the insurer’s 

strategic plans, the associated risks, and steps that senior 

management is taking to monitor and manage those risks; 

3. How reporting responsibilities are organized for 

each critical risk area. The description should allow the 

commission to understand the frequency at which 

information on each critical risk area is reported to and 

reviewed by senior management and the board. This 

description may include, for example, the following critical 

risk areas of the insurer: 

a. Risk management processes (An ORSA 

Summary Report filer may refer to its ORSA Summary 

Report pursuant to the Risk Management and Own Risk and 

Solvency Assessment Model Act); 

b. actuarial function; 

c. investment decision-making processes; 

d. reinsurance decision-making processes; 

e. business strategy/finance decision-making 

processes; 

f. compliance function; 

g. financial reporting/internal auditing; and 

h. market conduct decision-making processes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:691.31-691.38. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 41:2664 (December 

2015). 

§209. Severability Clause 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 104 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 104 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

104 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:691.31-691.38. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 41:2665 (December 

2015). 

Chapter 3.  Regulation 32― 

Coordination of Benefits 

§301. Purpose and Applicability 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to: 

1. establish a uniform order of benefit determination 

under which plans pay claims; 

2. reduce duplication of benefits by permitting a 

reduction of the benefits to be paid by plans that, pursuant to 

rules established by this regulation, do not have to pay their 

benefits first; and 

3. provide greater efficiency in the processing of 

claims when a person is covered under more than one plan. 

B. This regulation applies to all plans which includes all 

accident and health products and health maintenance 

organization products that are issued on or after the effective 

date of this regulation. The effective date of this regulation is 

upon final publication, January 20, 2018. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

41:1095 (July 2016), LR 44:64 (January 2018). 

§303. Definitions 

A. As used in this regulation, these words and terms have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise. 

Allowable Expense―a health care service or expense 

including deductibles, coinsurance, or copayments that are 

covered in full or in part by any of the plans covering the 

person, except as set forth below or where a statute requires 

a different definition. This means that an expense or service 

or a portion of an expense or service that is not covered by 

any of the plans is not an allowable expense. 

a. The following are examples of expenses or 

services that are and are not an allowable expense. 

 i. If a covered person is confined in a private 

hospital room, the difference between the cost of a semi-

private room in the hospital and the private room, (unless the 

patient's stay in the private hospital room is medically 

necessary in terms of generally accepted medical practice, or 

one of the plans routinely provides coverage for private 

hospital rooms), is not an allowable expense. 

 ii. If a person is covered by two or more plans 

that compute their benefit payments on the basis of usual 

and customary fees, any amount in excess of the highest of 

the usual and customary fee for a specified benefit is not an 

allowable expense. 

 iii. If a person is covered by two or more plans 

that provide benefits or services on the basis of negotiated 

fees, any amount in excess of the highest of the negotiated 

fees is not an allowable expense. 

 iv. If a person is covered by one plan that 

calculates its benefits or services on the basis of usual and 

customary fees and another plan that provides its benefits or 

services on the basis of negotiated fees, the primary plan's 

payment arrangement shall be the allowable expense for all 

plans. 

b. The definition of allowable expense may exclude 

certain types of coverage or benefits such as dental care, 

vision care, prescription drug, or hearing aids. A plan that 

limits the application of COB to certain coverages or 

benefits may limit the definition of allowable expenses in its 

contract to services or expenses that are similar to the 

services or expenses that it provides. When COB is restricted 

to specific coverages or benefits in a contract, the definition 

of allowable expense shall include similar services or 

expenses to which COB applies. 

c. When a plan provides benefits in the form of 

services, the reasonable cash value of each service will be 

considered an allowable expense and a benefit paid. 

d. The amount of the reduction may be excluded 

from allowable expense when a covered person's benefits are 

reduced under a primary plan: 

 i. because the covered person does not comply 

with the plan provisions concerning second surgical opinions 

or pre-certification of admissions or services; or 

 ii. because the covered person has a lower benefit 

because he or she did not use a preferred provider. 

e. If the primary plan is a closed panel plan and the 

secondary plan is not a closed panel plan, the secondary plan 

shall pay or provide benefits as if it were primary when a 

covered person uses a nonpanel provider, except for 

emergency services or authorized referrals that are paid or 

provided by the primary plan.  

Birthdayrefers only to month and day in a calendar 

year and does not include the year in which the individual is 

born. 

Claima request that benefits of a plan be provided or 

paid. The benefits claimed may be in the form of: 

a. services (including supplies); 

b. payment for all or a portion of the expenses 

incurred; 

c. a combination of Subparagraphs a and b of this 

Paragraph; or 

d. an indemnification. 

Claim Determination Period or Plan Yeara period of 

not less than 12 consecutive months over which allowable 

expenses shall be compared with total benefits payable in the 

absence of COB to determine whether overinsurance exists 

and how much each plan will pay or provide. 

a. The claim determination period is usually a 
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calendar year, but a plan may use some other period of time 

that fits the coverage of the group or individual contract. A 

person is covered by a plan during a portion of a claim 

determination period if that person's coverage starts or ends 

during the claim determination period. 

b. As each claim is submitted, each plan determines 

its liability and pays or provides benefits based upon 

allowable expenses incurred to that point in the claim 

determination period. That determination is subject to 

adjustment as later allowable expenses are incurred in the 

same claim determination period. 

Closed Panel Plana plan that provides health benefits 

to covered persons primarily in the form of services through 

a panel of providers that have contracted with or are 

employed by the plan, and that excludes benefits for services 

provided by other providers, except in cases of emergency or 

referral by a panel member. 

Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 

1985 or COBRAcoverage provided under a right of 

continuation pursuant to federal law.  

Coordination of Benefits or COBa provision 

establishing an order in which plans pay their claims, and 

permitting secondary plans to reduce their benefits so that 

the combined benefits of all plans do not exceed total 

allowable expenses. 

Custodial Parent 

a. the parent awarded custody of a child by a court 

decree; or 

b. in the absence of a court decree, the parent with 

whom the child resides more than one half of the calendar 

year without regard to any temporary visitation. 

Group-Type Contracta contract that is not available to 

the general public and is obtained and maintained only 

because of membership in or a connection with a particular 

organization or group, including blanket coverage. Group-

type contract does not include an individually underwritten 

and issued guaranteed renewable policy even if the policy is 

purchased through payroll deduction at a premium savings 

to the insured since the insured would have the right to 

maintain or renew the policy independently of continued 

employment with the employer.  

High-Deductible Health Planthe meaning given the 

term under section 223 of the Internal Revenue Code of 

1986, as amended by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 

Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003.  

Hospital Indemnity Benefitsbenefits not related to 

expenses incurred. Hospital indemnity benefits does not 

include reimbursement-type benefits even if they are 

designed or administered to give the insured the right to 

elect indemnity-type benefits at the time of claim. 

Plana form of coverage with which coordination is 

allowed. Separate parts of a plan for members of a group 

that are provided through alternative contracts that are 

intended to be part of a coordinated package of benefits are 

considered one plan and there is no COB among the separate 

parts of the plan. If a plan coordinates benefits, its contract 

shall state the types of coverage that will be considered in 

applying the COB provision of that contract. Whether the 

contract uses the term “plan” or some other term such as 

“program,” the contractual definition may be no broader 

than the definition of “plan” in this subsection. The 

definition of “plan” in the model COB provision in 

Appendix A of §321 of this Chapter is an example. 

a. Plan includes: 

 i. group and nongroup insurance contracts and 

subscriber contracts; 

 ii. uninsured arrangements of group or group-type 

coverage; 

 iii. group and nongroup coverage through closed 

panel plans; 

 iv. group-type contracts; 

 v. the medical care components of long-term care 

contracts, such as skilled nursing care; 

 vi. the medical benefits coverage in automobile 

“no fault” and traditional automobile “fault” type contracts;  

 vii. Medicare or other governmental benefits, as 

permitted by law, except as provided in Subparagraph b of 

this Paragraph. That part of the definition of plan may be 

limited to the hospital, medical and surgical benefits of the 

governmental program; and 

 viii. group and nongroup insurance contracts and 

subscriber contracts that pay or reimburse for the cost of 

dental care. 

b. Plan does not include: 

 i. hospital indemnity coverage benefits or other 

fixed indemnity coverage; 

 ii. accident only coverage; 

 iii. specified disease or specified accident 

coverage; 

 iv. limited benefit health coverage as defined in 

R.S. 22:47(2)(c); 

 v. school accident-type coverages that cover 

students for accidents only, including athletic injuries, either 

on a 24-hour basis or on a “to and from school” basis; 

 vi. benefits provided in long-term care insurance 

policies for non-medical services, for example, personal 

care, adult day care, homemaker services, assistance with 

activities of daily living, respite care and custodial care or 

for contracts that pay a fixed daily benefit without regard to 

expenses incurred or the receipt of services; 

 vii. Medicare supplement policies; 

 viii. a state plan under Medicaid; or 

 ix. a governmental plan, which, by law, provides 

benefits that are in excess of those of any private insurance 

plan or other non-governmental plan. 

Policyholder or Subscriberthe primary insured named 
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in a nongroup insurance policy. 

Primary Plana plan whose benefits for a person’s 

health care coverage must be determined without taking the 

existence of any other plan into consideration. A plan is a 

primary plan if: 

a. the plan either has no order of benefit 

determination rules, or its rules differ from those permitted 

by this regulation; or 

b. all plans that cover the person use the order of 

benefit determination rules required by this regulation, and 

under those rules the plan determines its benefits first. 

Providera health care professional or health care 

facility. 

Secondary Plana plan that is not a primary plan.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1095 (July 2016), LR 44:64 (January 2018). 

§305. Use of Model COB Contract Provision 

A. Appendix A and Appendix B contain model COB 

provisions that shall be used in group and individual 

contracts or subscriber agreements. That use is subject to the 

provisions of Subsections B, C, and D of this Section and to 

the provisions of §307. 

B. Appendix B is a plain language description of the 

COB process that explains to the covered person how 

insurers will implement coordination of benefits. It is not 

intended to replace or change the provisions that are set forth 

in the contract. Its purpose is to explain the process by which 

the two (or more) plans will pay for or provide benefits, how 

the benefit reserve is accrued and how the covered person 

may use the benefit reserve. 

C. The COB provision contained in Appendix A and the 

plain language explanation in Appendix B do not have to use 

the specific words and format shown in §321, Appendix A, 

or §323, Appendix B. Changes may be made to fit the 

language and style of the rest of the group contract or to 

reflect differences among plans that provide services, that 

pay benefits for expenses incurred and that indemnify. No 

substantive changes are permitted. 

D. A COB provision may not be used that permits a plan 

to reduce its benefits on the basis that: 

1. another plan exists and the covered person did not 

enroll in that plan; 

2. a person is or could have been covered under 

another plan, except with respect to part B of Medicare; or 

3. a person has elected an option under another plan 

providing a lower level of benefits than another option that 

could have been elected. 

E. No plan may contain a provision that its benefits are 

“always excess” or “always secondary,” except in accord 

with the rules permitted by this regulation. 

F. Under the terms of a closed panel plan, benefits are 

not payable if the covered person does not use the services 

of a closed panel provider. In most instances, COB does not 

occur if a covered person is enrolled in two or more closed 

panel plans and obtains services from a provider in one of 

the closed panel plans because the other closed panel plan 

(the one whose providers were not used) has no liability. 

However, COB may occur during the claim determination 

period or plan year when the covered person receives 

emergency services that would have been covered by both 

plans. Then the secondary plan shall use the benefit reserve 

to pay any unpaid allowable expense. 

G. A simple statement advising consumers that they can 

request a copy in either paper form or electronic form of 

Appendix C, that provides an explanation for secondary 

plans on the purpose and use of the benefit reserve and how 

secondary plans calculate claims, shall be added in the 

coordination of benefit section or provision found in group 

and individual policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1097 (July 2016), LR 44:64 (January 2018). 

§307. Rules for Coordination of Benefits 

A. When a person is covered by two or more plans, the 

rules for determining the order of benefit payments are as 

follows. 

1. The primary plan shall pay or provide its benefits as 

if the secondary plan or plans did not exist. 

2. If the primary plan is a closed panel plan and the 

secondary plan is not a closed panel plan, the secondary plan 

shall pay or provide benefits as if it were the primary plan 

when a covered person uses a non-panel provider, except for 

emergency services or authorized referrals that are paid or 

provided by the primary plan. 

3. When multiple contracts providing coordinated 

coverage are treated as a single plan under this regulation, 

this section applies only to the plan as a whole, and 

coordination among the component contracts is governed by 

the terms of the contracts. if more than one carrier pays or 

provides benefits under the plan, the carrier designated as 

primary within the plan shall be responsible for the plan’s 

compliance with this regulation.  

4. If a person is covered by more than one secondary 

plan, the order of benefit determination rules of this 

regulation decide the order in which secondary plans 

benefits are determined in relation to each other. Each 

secondary plan shall take into consideration the benefits of 

the primary plan or plans and the benefits of any other plan, 

which, under the rules of this regulation, has its benefits 

determined before those of that secondary plan. 

5. Except as provided in Paragraph 2 of this 

Subsection, a plan that does not contain order of benefit 

determination provisions that are consistent with this 

regulation is always the primary plan unless the provisions 
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of both plans, regardless of the provisions of this Paragraph, 

state that the complying plan is primary. 

6. Coverage that is obtained by virtue of membership 

in a group and designed to supplement a part of a basic 

package of benefits may provide that the supplementary 

coverage shall be excess to any other parts of the plan 

provided by the contract holder. Examples of these types of 

situations are major medical coverages that are 

superimposed over base plan hospital and surgical benefits, 

and insurance type coverages that are written in connection 

with a closed panel plan to provide out-of-network benefits. 

B. A plan may take into consideration the benefits paid 

or provided by another plan only when, under the rules of 

this regulation, it is secondary to that other plan. 

C. Order of Benefit Determination. Each plan determines 

its order of benefits using the first of the following rules that 

applies: 

1. Non-Dependent or Dependent 

a. Subject to Subparagraph b of this Paragraph, the 

plan that covers the person other than as a dependent, for 

example as an employee, member, subscriber, policyholder 

or retiree, is the primary plan and the plan that covers the 

person as a dependent is the secondary plan. 

b. If the person is a Medicare beneficiary, and, as a 

result of the provisions of title XVIII of the Social Security 

Act and implementing regulations, Medicare is: 

 i. secondary to the plan covering the person as a 

dependent; and 

 ii. primary to the plan covering the person as 

other than a dependent (e.g. a retired employee). 

c. Then the order of benefits is reversed so that the 

plan covering the person as an employee, member, 

subscriber, policyholder or retiree is the secondary plan and 

the other plan covering the person as a dependent is the 

primary plan. 

2. Dependent Child Covered Under More Than One 

Plan. Unless there is a court decree stating otherwise, plans 

covering a dependent child shall determine the order of 

benefits as follows:  

a. For a dependent child whose parents are married 

or are living together, whether or not they have ever been 

married: 

 i. the plan of the parent whose birthday falls 

earlier in the calendar year is the primary plan; or  

 ii. if both parents have the same birthday, the plan 

that has covered the parent longest is the primary plan.  

b. For a dependent child whose parents are divorced 

or separated or are not living together, whether or not they 

have ever been married: 

 i. if a court decree states that one of the parents is 

responsible for the dependent child’s health care expenses or 

health care coverage and the plan of that parent has actual 

knowledge of those terms, that plan is primary. If the parent 

with responsibility has no health care coverage for the 

dependent child’s health care expenses, but that parent’s 

spouse does, that parent’s spouse’s plan is the primary plan. 

This item shall not apply with respect to any plan year 

during which benefits are paid or provided before the entity 

has actual knowledge of the court decree provision; 

 ii. if a court decree states that both parents are 

responsible for the dependent child’s health care expenses or 

health care coverage, the provisions of Subparagraph a of 

this Paragraph shall determine the order of benefits;  

 iii. if a court decree states that the parents have 

joint custody without specifying that one parent has 

responsibility for the health care expenses or health care 

coverage of the dependent child, the provisions of 

Subparagraph a of this Paragraph shall determine the order 

of benefits; or  

 iv. if there is no court decree allocating 

responsibility for the child’s health care expenses or health 

care coverage, the order of benefits for the child are as 

follows: 

(a). the plan covering the custodial parent; 

(b). the plan covering the custodial parent’s 

spouse; 

(c). the plan covering the non-custodial parent; 

and then 

(d). the plan covering the non-custodial parent’s 

spouse. 

c. For a dependent child covered under more than 

one plan of individuals who are not the parents of the child, 

the order of benefits shall be determined, as applicable, 

under Subparagraph a or b of this Paragraph as if those 

individuals were parents of the child.  

d. For a dependent child covered under spouse‘s 

plan 

 i. For a dependent child who has coverage under 

either or both parents’ plans and also has his or her own 

coverage as a dependent under a spouse’s plan, the rule in 

Paragraph 5 of this Subsection applies. 

 ii. In the event the dependent child’s coverage 

under the spouse’s plan began on the same date as the 

dependent child’s coverage under either or both parents’ 

plans, the order of benefits shall be determined by applying 

the birthday rule in Subparagraph a of this Paragraph to the 

dependent child’s parent(s) and the dependent’s spouse. 

3. Active Employee or Retired or Laid-Off Employee 

a. The plan that covers a person as an active 

employee that is, an employee who is neither laid off nor 

retired or as a dependent of an active employee is the 

primary plan. The plan covering that same person as a 

retired or laid-off employee or as a dependent of a retired or 

laid-off employee is the secondary plan.  

b. If the other plan does not have this rule, and as a 

result, the plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this 

rule is ignored.  
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c. This rule does not apply if the rule in Paragraph 1 

of this Subsection can determine the order of benefits. 

4. COBRA or State Continuation Coverage 

a. If a person whose coverage is provided pursuant 

to COBRA or under a right of continuation pursuant to state 

or other federal law is covered under another plan, the plan 

covering the person as an employee, member, subscriber or 

retiree or covering the person as a dependent of an 

employee, member, subscriber or retiree is the primary plan 

and the plan covering that same person pursuant to COBRA 

or under a right of continuation pursuant to state or other 

federal law is the secondary plan. 

b. If the other plan does not have this rule, and if, as 

a result, the plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this 

rule is ignored. 

c. This rule does not apply if the rule in Paragraph 1 

of this Subsection can determine the order of benefits 

5. Longer or Shorter Length of Coverage 

a. If the preceding rules do not determine the order 

of benefits, the plan that covered the person for the longer 

period of time is the primary plan and the plan that covered 

the person for the shorter period of time is the secondary 

plan. 

b. To determine the length of time a person has 

been covered under a plan, two successive plans shall be 

treated as one if the covered person was eligible under the 

second plan within 24 hours after coverage under the first 

plan ended. 

c. The start of a new plan does not include: 

 i. a change in the amount or scope of a plan’s 

benefits; 

 ii. a change in the entity that pays, provides or 

administers the plan’s benefits; or 

 iii. a change from one type of plan to another, such 

as, from a single employer plan to a multiple employer plan. 

d. The person’s length of time covered under a plan 

is measured from the person’s first date of coverage under 

that plan. If that date is not readily available for a group 

plan, the date the person first became a member of the group 

shall be used as the date from which to determine the length 

of time the person’s coverage under the present plan has 

been in force. 

6. If none of the preceding rules determines the order 

of benefits, the allowable expenses shall be shared equally 

between the plans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1098 (July 2016). 

§309. Procedure to be Followed by Secondary Plan  

A. When a plan is secondary, it shall reduce its benefits 

so that the total benefits paid or provided by all plans during 

a claim determination period or plan year are not more than 

100 percent of total allowable expenses as provided for in 

§303.A, Allowable Expense, a-e. The secondary plan shall 

calculate its savings by subtracting the allowable expense 

amount as provided for in §303.A, Allowable Expense, a-e 

that it paid as a secondary plan from the allowable expense 

amount provided for §303.A, Allowable Expense, a-e that it 

would have paid had it been primary. These savings shall be 

recorded as a benefit reserve for the covered person and 

shall be used by the secondary plan to pay any allowable 

expenses, not otherwise paid, that are incurred by the 

covered person during the claim determination period. (See 

Appendix C, Explanation for Secondary Plans on the 

Purpose and Use of the Benefit Reserve.) As each claim is 

submitted, the secondary plan must: 

1. determine its obligation, pursuant to its contract; 

2. determine whether a benefit reserve has been 

recorded for the covered person; and 

3. determine whether there are any unpaid allowable 

expenses during that claims determination period. 

B. If there is a benefit reserve, the secondary plan shall 

use the covered person's recorded benefit reserve to pay up 

to 100 percent of total allowable expenses as provided for in 

§303.A, Allowable Expense, a-e incurred during the claim 

determination period. At the end of the claim determination 

period the benefit reserve returns to zero. A new benefit 

reserve must be created for each new claim determination 

period. 

C. The benefits of the secondary plan shall be reduced 

when the sum of the benefits that would be payable for the 

allowable expenses as provided for in §303.A, Allowable 

Expense, a-e under the secondary plan in the absence of this 

COB provision and the benefits that would be payable for 

the allowable expenses as provided for in §303.A, Allowable 

Expense, a-e under the other plans, in the absence of 

provisions with a purpose like that of this COB provision, 

whether or not a claim is made, exceeds the allowable 

expenses in a claim determination period. In that case, the 

benefits of the secondary plan shall be reduced so that they 

and the benefits payable under the other plans do not total 

more than the allowable expenses as provided for in §303.A, 

Allowable Expense, a-e. 

1. When the benefits of a plan are reduced as 

described above, each benefit is reduced in proportion. It is 

then charged against any applicable benefit limit of the plan. 

2. The requirements of Paragraph 1 of this Subsection 

do not apply if the plan provides only one benefit, or may be 

altered to suit the coverage provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1099 (July 2016), LR 44:65 (January 2018). 

§311. Notice to Covered Persons 

A. Plan shall in its explanation of benefits provided to 

covered persons, include the following language. “If you are 
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covered by more than one health benefit plan, you should 

file all your claims with each plan.” Additionally, notice to 

obtain a copy of Appendix C, as provided for in LAC 

37:XIII.305.G, shall be added as part of the coordination of 

benefit section or provision found in an insurance contract or 

subscriber agreement. Appendix C will also be available on 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance’s website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1100 (July 2016), LR 44:65 (January 2018). 

§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

(Formerly §313) 

A. A secondary plan that provides benefits in the form of 

services may recover the reasonable cash value of the 

services from the primary plan, to the extent that benefits for 

the services are covered by the primary plan and have not 

already been paid or provided by the primary plan. Nothing 

in this provision shall be interpreted to require a plan to 

reimburse a covered person in cash for the value of services 

provided by a plan that provides benefits in the form of 

services. 

1. A plan with order of benefit determination rules 

that comply with this regulation (complying plan) may 

coordinate its benefits with a plan that is “excess” or 

“always secondary” or that uses order of benefit 

determination rules that are inconsistent with those 

contained in this regulation (non-complying plan) on the 

following basis: 

a. if the complying plan is the primary plan, it shall 

pay or provide its benefits first; 

b. if the complying plan is the secondary plan, it 

shall pay or provide its benefits first, but the amount of the 

benefits payable shall be determined as if the complying 

plan were the secondary plan. In such a situation, the 

payment shall be the limit of the complying plan’s liability; 

and 

c. if the non-complying plan does not provide the 

information needed by the complying plan to determine its 

benefits within a reasonable time after it is requested to do 

so, the complying plan shall assume that the benefits of the 

non-complying plan are identical to its own, and shall pay its 

benefits accordingly. If, within two years of payment, the 

complying plan receives information as to the actual benefits 

of the non-complying plan, it shall adjust payments 

accordingly. 

2. If the non-complying plan reduces its benefits so 

that the covered person receives less in benefits than the 

covered person would have received had the complying plan 

paid or provided its benefits as the secondary plan and the 

non-complying plan paid or provided its benefits as the 

primary plan, and governing state law allows the right of 

subrogation set forth below, then the complying plan shall 

advance to the covered person or on behalf of the covered 

person an amount equal to the difference. 

3. In no event shall the complying plan advance more 

than the complying plan would have paid had it been the 

primary plan less any amount it previously paid for the same 

expense or service. In consideration of the advance, the 

complying plan shall be subrogated to all rights of the 

covered person against the non-complying plan. The 

advance by the complying plan shall also be without 

prejudice to any claim it may have against a non-complying 

plan in the absence of subrogation. 

B. COB differs from subrogation. Provisions for one 

may be included in health care benefits contracts without 

compelling the inclusion or exclusion of the other. 

C. If the plans cannot agree on the order of benefits 

within 30 calendar days after the plans have received all of 

the information needed to pay the claim, the plans shall 

immediately pay the claim in equal shares and determine 

their relative liabilities following payment, except that no 

plan shall be required to pay more than it would have paid 

had it been the primary plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1100 (July 2016). 

§317. Severability Provision 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 32 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 32 to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provisions or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

32 and the applications to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 42:1100 (July 2016). 

§319. Effective Date for Existing Contracts 

(Formerly §315) 

A. A contract that provides health care benefits and that 

was issued before the effective date of this regulation shall 

be brought into compliance with this regulation, by January 

2019. 

B. This amended regulation is applicable to every group 

and individual contract or subscriber agreement that 

provides health care benefits and that is issued on or after the 

effective date of this regulation. The effective date of this 

regulation shall be upon final publication and all contracts 

that provide healthcare benefits issued after the effective 

date shall be brought into compliance by January 2019. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1100 (July 2016), LR 44:66 (January 2018). 
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§321. Appendix A―Model COB Contract Provisions 

(Formerly §317) 

A. Model COB Contract Provisions 
COORDINATION OF THIS CONTRACT’S BENEFITS 

WITH OTHER BENEFITS 

The Coordination of Benefits (COB) provision applies when a 
person has health care coverage under more than one Plan. Plan is 

defined below. 

The order of benefit determination rules govern the order in which 
each Plan will pay a claim for benefits. The Plan that pays first is 

called the Primary plan. The Primary plan must pay benefits in 

accordance with its policy terms without regard to the possibility 
that another Plan may cover some expenses. The Plan that pays 

after the Primary plan is the Secondary plan. The Secondary plan 

may reduce the benefits it pays so that payments from all Plans do 
not exceed 100% of the total Allowable expense as provided for in 

§303A.(a.-e.) of Regulation 32. 

DEFINITIONS 

A. A Plan is any of the following that provides benefits or 

services for medical or dental care or treatment. If separate 

contracts are used to provide coordinated coverage for members of 

a group, the separate contracts are considered parts of the same 

plan and there is no COB among those separate contracts. 

(1) Plan includes: group and nongroup insurance 

contracts, health maintenance organization (HMO) contracts, 
closed panel plans or other forms of group or group-type 

coverage (whether insured or uninsured); medical care 

components of long-term care contracts, such as skilled nursing 
care; medical benefits under group or individual automobile 

contracts; and Medicare or any other federal governmental plan, 

as permitted by law. 
(2) Plan does not include: hospital indemnity coverage 

or other fixed indemnity coverage; accident only coverage; 

specified disease or specified accident coverage; limited benefit 
health coverage, as defined by state law; school accident type 

coverage except those enumerated in LSA-R.S. 22:1000 A.3C; 

benefits for non-medical components of long-term care policies; 

Medicare supplement policies; Medicaid policies; or coverage 

under other federal governmental plans, unless permitted by 

law. 
Each contract for coverage under (1) or (2) is a separate Plan. If a 

Plan has two parts and COB rules apply only to one of the two, 

each of the parts is treated as a separate Plan. 
B. This plan means, in a COB provision, the part of the 

contract providing the health care benefits to which the COB 

provision applies and which may be reduced because of the 
benefits of other plans. Any other part of the contract providing 

health care benefits is separate from this plan. A contract may 

apply one COB provision to certain benefits, such as dental 
benefits, coordinating only with similar benefits, and may apply 

another COB provision to coordinate other benefits. 

C. The order of benefit determination rules determine whether 
This plan is a Primary plan or Secondary plan when the person has 

health care coverage under more than one Plan. When This plan is 
primary, it determines payment for its benefits first before those of 

any other Plan without considering any other Plan’s benefits. When 

This plan is secondary, it determines its benefits after those of 
another Plan and may reduce the benefits it pays so that all Plan 

benefits do not exceed 100% of the total Allowable expense. 

D. Allowable expense is a health care service or expense, 
including deductibles, coinsurance and copayments, that is covered 

in full or at least in part by any Plan covering the person. When a 

Plan provides benefits in the form of services, the reasonable cash 
value of each service will be considered an Allowable expense and 

a benefit paid. An expense or service that is not covered by any 

Plan covering the person is not an Allowable expense. 

The following are examples of expenses that are and are not an 

Allowable expenses:  

(1) The difference between the cost of a semi-private 

hospital room and a private hospital room is not an Allowable 

expense, unless one of the Plans provides coverage for private 

hospital room expenses. 
(2) If a person is covered by 2 or more Plans that 

compute their benefit payments on the basis of usual and 

customary fees or relative value schedule reimbursement 
methodology or other similar reimbursement methodology, any 

amount in excess of the highest reimbursement amount for a 

specific benefit is not an Allowable expense. 
(3) If a person is covered by 2 or more Plans that 

provide benefits or services on the basis of negotiated fees, an 

amount in excess of the highest of the negotiated fees is not an 
Allowable expense. 

(4) If a person is covered by one Plan that calculates its 

benefits or services on the basis of usual and customary fees or 
relative value schedule reimbursement methodology or other 

similar reimbursement methodology and another Plan that 

provides its benefits or services on the basis of negotiated fees, 
the Primary plan’s payment arrangement shall be the Allowable 

expense for all Plans.  

(5) The amount of any benefit reduction by the Primary 
plan because a covered person has failed to comply with the 

Plan provisions is not an Allowable expense. Examples of these 

types of plan provisions include second surgical opinions, 
precertification of admissions, and preferred provider 

arrangements. 

E. Closed panel plan is a Plan that provides health care 
benefits to covered persons primarily in the form of services 

through a panel of providers that have contracted with or are 

employed by the Plan, and that excludes coverage for services 
provided by other providers, except in cases of emergency or 

referral by a panel member. 

F. Custodial parent is the parent awarded custody by a court 
decree or, in the absence of a court decree, is the parent with whom 

the child resides more than one half of the calendar year excluding 

any temporary visitation. 

ORDER OF BENEFIT DETERMINATION RULES 

When a person is covered by two or more Plans, the rules for 

determining the order of benefit payments are as follows: 

A. The Primary plan pays or provides its benefits according to 
its terms of coverage and without regard to the benefits of under 

any other Plan. 

(1) Except as provided in Paragraph (2), a Plan that does 
not contain a coordination of benefits provision that is 

consistent with this regulation is always primary unless the 

provisions of both Plans state that the complying plan is 
primary. 

(2) Coverage that is obtained by virtue of membership in 

a group that is designed to supplement a part of a basic package 
of benefits and provides that this supplementary coverage shall 

be excess to any other parts of the Plan provided by the contract 
holder. Examples of these types of situations are major medical 

coverages that are superimposed over base plan hospital and 

surgical benefits, and insurance type coverages that are written 
in connection with a Closed panel plan to provide out-of-

network benefits. 

B. A Plan may consider the benefits paid or provided by 
another Plan in calculating payment of its benefits only when it is 

secondary to that other Plan. 

C. Each Plan determines its order of benefits using the first of 

the following rules that apply: 

(1) Non-Dependent or Dependent. The Plan that covers 

the person other than as a dependent, for example as an 
employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree is the 

Primary plan and the Plan that covers the person as a dependent 

is the Secondary plan. However, if the person is a Medicare 
beneficiary and, as a result of federal law, Medicare is 

secondary to the Plan covering the person as a dependent; and 

primary to the Plan covering the person as other than a 
dependent (e.g. a retired employee); then the order of benefits 

between the two Plans is reversed so that the Plan covering the 

person as an employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or 
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retiree is the Secondary plan and the other Plan is the Primary 

plan. 

(2) Dependent Child Covered Under More Than One 
Plan. Unless there is a court decree stating otherwise, when a 

dependent child is covered by more than one Plan the order of 

benefits is determined as follows: 
(a) For a dependent child whose parents are 

married or are living together, whether or not they have ever 

been married: 
The Plan of the parent whose birthday falls 

earlier in the calendar year is the Primary plan; or 

If both parents have the same birthday, the Plan 
that has covered the parent the longest is the Primary plan. 

(b) For a dependent child whose parents are 

divorced or separated or not living together, whether or not 
they have ever been married: 

(i) If a court decree states that one of the 

parents is responsible for the dependent child’s health care 
expenses or health care coverage and the Plan of that 

parent has actual knowledge of those terms, that Plan is 

primary. This rule applies to plan years commencing after 
the Plan is given notice of the court decree; 

(ii) If a court decree states that both parents 

are responsible for the dependent child’s health care 
expenses or health care coverage, the provisions of 

Subparagraph (a) above shall determine the order of 

benefits;  
(iii) If a court decree states that the parents 

have joint custody without specifying that one parent has 

responsibility for the health care expenses or health care 
coverage of the dependent child, the provisions of 

Subparagraph (a) above shall determine the order of 

benefits; or 
(iv) If there is no court decree allocating 

responsibility for the dependent child’s health care 

expenses or health care coverage, the order of benefits for 
the child are as follows: 

(a.) The Plan covering the Custodial 

parent; 
(b.) The Plan covering the spouse of the 

Custodial parent; 

(c.) The Plan covering the non-custodial 

parent; and then 

(d.) The Plan covering the spouse of the 

non-custodial parent. 
(c) For a dependent child covered under more 

than one Plan of individuals who are the parents of the child, 

the provisions of Subparagraph (a) or (b) above shall 
determine the order of benefits as if those individuals were 

the parents of the child. 
(d) For a dependent child covered under spouse‘s 

plan 

(i) For a dependent child who has coverage 
under either or both parents’ plans and also has his or her 

own coverage as a dependent under a spouse’s plan, the 

rule in Paragraph (5) applies. 
(ii) In the event the dependent child’s 

coverage under the spouse’s plan began on the same date 

as the dependent child’s coverage under either or both 
parents’ plans, the order of benefits shall be determined by 

applying the birthday rule in Subparagraph (a) to the 

dependent child’s parent(s) and the dependent’s spouse. 
(3) Active Employee or Retired or Laid-off Employee. 

The Plan that covers a person as an active employee, that is, an 

employee who is neither laid off nor retired, is the Primary plan. 
The Plan covering that same person as a retired or laid-off 

employee is the Secondary plan. The same would hold true if a 

person is a dependent of an active employee and that same 
person is a dependent of a retired or laid-off employee. If the 

other Plan does not have this rule, and as a result, the Plans do 

not agree on the order of benefits, this rule is ignored. This rule 
does not apply if the rule labeled D(1) can determine the order 

of benefits. 

(4) COBRA or State Continuation Coverage. If a person 
whose coverage is provided pursuant to COBRA or under a 

right of continuation provided by state or other federal law is 

covered under another Plan, the Plan covering the person as an 

employee, member, subscriber or retiree or covering the person 

as a dependent of an employee, member, subscriber or retiree is 

the Primary plan and the COBRA or state or other federal 
continuation coverage is the Secondary plan. If the other Plan 

does not have this rule, and as a result, the Plans do not agree on 

the order of benefits, this rule is ignored. This rule does not 
apply if the rule labeled D(1) can determine the order of 

benefits. 

(5) Longer or Shorter Length of Coverage. The Plan that 
covered the person as an employee, member, policyholder, 

subscriber or retiree longer is the Primary plan and the Plan that 

covered the person the shorter period of time is the Secondary 
plan. 

(6) If the preceding rules do not determine the order of 

benefits, the Allowable expenses shall be shared equally 
between the Plans meeting the definition of Plan. In addition, 

This plan will not pay more than it would have paid had it been 

the Primary plan. 

EFFECT ON THE BENEFITS OF THIS PLAN 

A. When this plan is secondary, it may reduce its benefits so 

that the total benefits paid or provided by all Plans during a plan 

year are not more than the total Allowable expenses. In 

determining the amount to be paid for any claim, the Secondary 

plan will calculate the benefits it would have paid in the absence of 

other health care coverage and apply that calculated amount to any 
Allowable expense under its Plan that is unpaid by the Primary 

plan. The Secondary plan may then reduce its payment by the 

amount so that, when combined with the amount paid by the 
Primary plan, the total benefits paid or provided by all Plans for 

the claim do not exceed the total Allowable expense for that claim. 

In addition, the Secondary plan shall credit to its plan deductible, 
coinsurance, copayments and any amounts it would have credited 

to its deductible in the absence of other health care coverage. 

B. If a covered person is enrolled in two or more Closed panel 
plans and if, for any reason, including the provision of service by a 

non-panel provider, benefits are not payable by one Closed panel 

plan, COB shall not apply between that Plan and other Closed 

panel plans. 

C. Effect on the Benefits of This Plan 

(1) When this plan is secondary, it may reduce its 
benefits so that the total benefits paid or provided by all plans 

during a plan year or claim determination period are not more 

than 100 percent of total allowable expenses. The difference 
between the benefit payments that this plan would have paid 

had it been the primary plan, and the benefit payments that it 

actually paid or provided shall be recorded as a benefit reserve 
for the covered person and used by this plan to pay any 

allowable expenses, not otherwise paid during the claim 

determination period. As each claim is submitted, this plan will: 
(a) determine its obligation to pay or provide 

benefits under its contract; 
(b) determine whether a benefit reserve has been 

recorded for the covered person; and 

(c) determine whether there are any unpaid 
allowable expenses during that claims determination period. 

(2) If there is a benefit reserve, the secondary plan will 

use the covered person's benefit reserve to pay up to 100 percent 
of total allowable expenses incurred during the claim 

determination period. At the end of the claims determination 

period, the benefit reserve returns to zero. A new benefit reserve 
must be created for each new claim determination period. 

(3) If a covered person is enrolled in two or more closed 

panel plans, and if for any reason, including the provision of 
service by a nonpanel provider, benefits are not payable by one 

closed panel plan, COB shall not apply between that plan and 

other closed panel plans. 

RIGHT TO RECEIVE AND RELEASE NEEDED 

INFORMATION 

Certain facts about health care coverage and services are needed 
to apply these COB rules and to determine benefits payable under 

This plan and other Plans. [Organization responsibility for COB 

administration] may get the facts it needs from or give them to 
other organizations or persons for the purpose of applying these 
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rules and determining benefits payable under This plan and other 

Plans covering the person claiming benefits. [Organization 

responsibility for COB administration] need not tell, or get the 
consent of, any person to do this. Each person claiming benefits 

under This plan must give [Organization responsibility for COB 

administration] any facts it needs to apply those rules and 
determine benefits payable. 

FACILITY OF PAYMENT 

A payment made under another Plan may include an amount that 
should have been paid under This plan. If it does, [Organization 

responsibility for COB administration] may pay that amount to the 

organization that made that payment. That amount will then be 
treated as though it were a benefit paid under This plan. 

[Organization responsibility for COB administration] will not have 

to pay that amount again. The term “payment made” includes 
providing benefits in the form of services, in which case “payment 

made” means the reasonable cash value of the benefits provided in 

the form of services. 

RIGHT OF RECOVERY 

If the amount of the payments made by [Organization responsible 

for COB administration] is more than it should have paid under 
this COB provision, it may recover the excess from one or more of 

the persons it has paid or for whom it has paid; or any other person 

or organization that may be responsible for the benefits or services 
provided for the covered person. The “amount of the payments 

made” includes the reasonable cash value of any benefits provided 

in the form of services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1101 (July 2016), LR 44:66 (January 2018). 

§323. Appendix B―Consumer Explanatory Booklet 

Coordination of Benefits 

(Formerly §319) 

A. Consumer Explanatory Booklet 

Coordination of Benefits 
COORDINATION OF BENEFITS 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 

This is a summary of only a few of the provisions of your 

health plan to help you understand coordination of benefits, 

which can be very complicated. This is not a complete 
description of all of the coordination rules and procedures, 

and does not change or replace the language contained in 

your insurance contract, which determines your benefits. 

Double Coverage 

It is common for family members to be covered by more than 
one health care plan. This happens, for example, when a husband 

and wife both work and choose to have family coverage through 

both employers. 
When you are covered by more than one health plan, state law 

permits your insurers to follow a procedure called “coordination of 

benefits” to determine how much each should pay when you have 
a claim. The goal is to make sure that the combined payments of 

all plans do not add up to more than your covered health care 

expenses. 
Coordination of benefits (COB) is complicated, and covers a 

wide variety of circumstances. This is only an outline of some of 

the most common ones. If your situation is not described, read 
your evidence of coverage or contact your state insurance 

department. 

Primary or Secondary? 

You will be asked to identify all the plans that cover members 
of your family. We need this information to determine whether we 

are the “primary” or “secondary” benefit payer. The primary plan 

always pays first when you have a claim. 
Any plan that does not contain your state’s COB rules will 

always be primary. 

When This Plan is Primary 

If you or a family member are covered under another plan in 

addition to this one, we will be primary when: 

Your Own Expenses 

 The claim is for your own health care expenses, unless you 

are covered by Medicare and both you and your spouse are 

retired. 

Your Spouse’s Expenses 

 The claim is for your spouse, who is covered by Medicare, 

and you are not both retired. 

Your Child’s Expenses 

 The claim is for the health care expenses of your child who is 

covered by this plan and 

 You are married and your birthday is earlier in the year than 

your spouse’s or you are living with another individual, 

regardless of whether or not you have ever been married to 

that individual, and your birthday is earlier than that other 

individual’s birthday. This is known as the “birthday rule”; 

or 

 You are separated or divorced and you have informed us of a 

court decree that makes you responsible for the child’s health 

care expenses; 

or 

 There is no court decree, but you have custody of the child. 

Other Situations 

We will be primary when any other provisions of state or 
federal law require us to be. 

How We Pay Claims When We Are Primary 

When we are the primary plan, we will pay the benefits in 
accordance with the terms of your contract, just as if you had no 

other health care coverage under any other plan. 

How We Pay Claims When We Are Secondary 

We will be secondary whenever the rules do not require us to be 

primary. 

How We Pay Claims When We Are Secondary 

When we are the secondary plan, we do not pay until after the 

primary plan has paid its benefits. We will then pay part or all of 

the allowable expenses left unpaid, as explained below. An 
“allowable expense” is a health care service or expense covered by 

one of the plans, including copayments, coinsurance and 

deductibles. 

 If there is a difference between the amount the plans allow, 

we will base our payment on the higher amount. However, if 
the primary plan has a contract with the provider, our 

combined payments will not be more than the contract calls 

for. Health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and preferred 
provider organizations (PPOs) usually have contracts with 

their providers. 

 We will determine our payment by subtracting the amount the 

primary plan paid from the amount we would have paid if we 

had been primary. We will use any savings to pay the balance 

of any unpaid allowable expenses covered by either plan. 

 If the primary plan covers similar kinds of health care 

expenses, but allows expenses that we do not cover, we will 
pay for those items as long as there is a balance in your 

benefit reserve, as explained below. 

 We will not pay an amount the primary plan did not cover 

because you did not follow its rules and procedures. For 

example, if your plan has reduced its benefit because you did 
not obtain pre-certification, as required by that plan, we will 

not pay the amount of the reduction, because it is not an 

allowable expense. 

 Benefit Reserve 
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 When we are secondary we often will pay less than we would 

have paid if we had been primary. Each time we "save" by 

paying less, we will put that savings into a benefit reserve. 
Each family member covered by this plan has a separate 

benefit reserve. We use the benefit reserve to pay allowable 

expenses that are covered only partially by both plans. To 
obtain a reimbursement, you must show us what the primary 

plan has paid so we can calculate the savings. To make sure 

you receive the full benefit or coordination, you should 
submit all claims to each of your plans. Savings can build up 

in your reserve for one year. At the end of the year any 

balance is erased, and a fresh benefit reserve begins for each 
person the next year as soon as there are savings on their 

claims. 

Questions about Coordination of Benefits? 

Contact Your State Insurance Department 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 17:67 (January 1991), 

amended LR 20:52 (January 1994), LR 23:415 (April 1997), LR 

42:1103 (July 2016), LR 44:66 (January 2018). 

§325. Appendix C―Explanation for Secondary Plans on the 

Purpose and Use of the Benefit Reserve 

A. Explanation for Secondary Plans on the Purpose and Use of 

the Benefit Reserve 

COORDINATION OF BENEFITS 

The purpose of coordination of benefits is to ensure that a covered 
person does not receive more than 100% of the total allowable expenses. 

Any plan that has been determined to be the secondary plan in accordance 

with this model regulation is  

permitted to reduce its benefits so that the total benefits paid by all plans 

during a claim determination period (a period of time not less than 12 

months, usually a calendar year or contract year) are not more than the total 

allowable expenses.  

The secondary plan usually saves money on claims due to the other plan 

paying first. The amount saved by the secondary plan must be used to pay 
allowable expenses which would not otherwise have been paid. To do this, 

secondary plans must establish a benefit reserve account for each covered 

person. The secondary plan puts the money saved on claims for the covered 
person into the benefit reserve account. This money is to be used to pay any 

portion of an allowable expense incurred by the covered person during a 

claim determination period by using the following procedure: 

 First, as each claim is received, the secondary plan 

determines how much it would have paid if it had been the 

primary plan.  

 Second, the secondary plan subtracts this amount from what 

it paid on the claim. 

 Third, the difference (or savings) between what the 

secondary plan paid and what it would have paid if it had 
been the primary plan is then placed in the benefit reserve 

account established for the covered person. 

 Lastly, as subsequent claims are submitted for the covered 

person, the secondary plan reviews previous claims and 

determines its obligation to pay for allowable expenses on 
those claims and pays on those claims to the extent savings 

are available in the covered person’s benefit reserve account. 

This includes claims that were previously applied to either 
plan’s deductible, coinsurance or copayment. For example, if 

the first claim incurred by the covered person was applied to 

both plans’ deductibles and the second claim incurred by a 
covered person was payable at 100% by both plans, the 

secondary plan must use the savings realized from the second 

claim to pay toward the first claim.  

The procedure outlined above is illustrated in the various claim examples 

that follow. For all of the examples, Plan A is the primary plan and Plan B is 

the secondary plan. Both plans have an 80 percent/20 percent coinsurance 

requirement. For illustrative purposes, Plan A has a $25 deductible and Plan 

B has a $100 deductible. Claims are assumed to have occurred in the same 

claim determination period and in consecutive order. 

Examples: 

Claim Number 1 

Actual Charge = $100 

Plan A 

$100 

-25 Deductible 

$75 

80 percent 

$60 Payable 

Plan B 

$100 

-100 Deductible 

$0 Payable 

Plan A must pay $60. Plan B makes no payment because it would 
have no liability under the terms of the policy if it had been primary. 

No money is available from the benefit reserve account. 

Claim Number 2 

Actual Charge = $5300 

Plan A 

$5300 

-0 Deductible 

$5300 

80 percent 

$4240 Payable 

Plan B 

$5300 

-0 Deductible 

$5300 

80 percent 

$4240 Payable 

The deductible on both plans was calculated in Claim #1. 
Deductibles will not apply from this claim forward. Plan A must pay 

$4240. Plan B must pay the difference between the actual charge and 

the amount paid by Plan A ($1060). Plan B must now establish a 
benefit reserve account. This amount, the savings, is calculated by 

subtracting the amount it paid from the amount it would have paid if 

primary ($4240-$1060=$3180). Now Plan B must go back to Claim #1 
and pay the $40 balance of that claim out of the benefit reserve 

account, leaving a balance in that account of $3140. 

Claim Number 3 

Actual Charge = $110 

Plan A 

$110 

80 percent 

$88 Payable 

Plan B 

$110 

80 percent 

$88 Payable 

Plan A pays $88. Plan B pays the difference of the actual charge and 

the amount paid by Plan A ($22). Plan B would have paid $88 if 

primary, but only paid $22, so the balance of the savings of $66 goes 
into the benefit reserve account, which now totals $3206. Plan B does 

not have to go back to any other prior claims to pay any incurred, but 

unpaid, allowable expenses, because there are none outstanding. So, 

the balance in the benefit reserve account remains unchanged at $3206. 

Claim Number 4 

Actual Charge = $1500 

Plan A 

$1300 RVS  

80 percent 

$1040 Payable 

Plan B 

$1100 RVS 

80 percent 

$880 Payable 

The insured is liable for the difference between the actual charge 
and the highest amount under the relative value schedule (RSV) 

reimbursement methodology ($200). Plan A pays $1040. Plan B pays 

the difference between the highest RSV amount and the amount paid 
by Plan A ($1300-$1040=$260). The benefit reserve account is 

increased by the difference between what Plan B would have paid if 

primary and the amount actually paid by Plan B ($880-$260=$620), for 

a new balance of $3826. 

Claim Number 5 

Actual Charge = $2295 for 51 visits 
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This claim involves spinal manipulation. Plan A provides up to 26 

visits per year on an 80 percent/20 percent basis. Total actual charge of 

$45 per visit is within RSV limits. 

Plan A 

$1170 RSV for 26 visits 

80 percent 

$936 Payable 

Plan B has no coverage for spinal 

manipulation. However, because 

Plan A has coverage under its policy, 
the claim is considered an allowable 

expense for the 26 visits. Plan B 

must pay the 20% coinsurance 
($234) amount for the 26 visits from 

the benefit reserve account, leaving a 

final balance of $3592. The 
remaining amount of $1125 for the 

additional 25 visits is not payable by 

either Plan A or Plan B because it is 
not considered an allowable expense 

under Plan A. Plan A pays benefits 

for only 26 visits per year. Again, 
Plan B has no coverage for spinal 

manipulation. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3.2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:67 (January 2018). 

Chapter 5. Regulation 33—Medicare 

Supplement Insurance Minimum 

Standards 

§501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to provide for the reasonable standardization of 

coverage and simplification of terms and benefits of 

Medicare supplement policies; 

2. to facilitate public understanding and comparison 

of such policies; 

3. to eliminate provisions contained in such policies 

which may be misleading or confusing in connection with 

the purchase of such policies or with the settlement of 

claims; and 

4. to provide for full disclosures in the sale of accident 

and sickness insurance coverages to persons eligible for 

Medicare. 

5. to incorporated Medigap policies that cover Part B 

deductibles to “newly eligible” Medicare beneficiaries 

defined as those individuals who: 

a. have attained age 65 on or after January 1, 2020; 

or 

b. first become eligible for Medicare due to age, 

disability or end-stage renal disease, on or after January 1, 

2020. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), LR 29:2434 (November 

2003), LR 31:2902 (November 2005), amended LR 44:2189 

(December 2018). 

§502. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in §§510, 

540, 545, 560 and 585, this regulation shall apply to: 

1. all Medicare supplement policies delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state on or after the effective date 

of this regulation; and 

2. all certificates issued under group Medicare 

supplement policies which certificates have been delivered 

or issued for delivery in this state. 

B. This regulation shall not apply to a policy or contract 

of one or more employers or labor organizations, or of the 

trustees of a fund established by one or more employers or 

labor organizations, or combination thereof, for employees 

or former employees, or a combination thereof, or for 

members or former members, or a combination thereof, of 

the labor organizations. 

C. Updating Regulation 33 to comply with Medicare 

Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), LR 29:2434 (November 

2003), LR 31:2902 (November 2005), amended LR 44:2189 

(December 2018). 

§503. Definitions 

A. For purpose of this regulation: 

1990 Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan, 

1990 Standardized Benefit Plan or 1990 Plan—a group or 

individual policy of Medicare supplement insurance issued 

on or after July 20, 1992 and with an effective date for 

coverage prior to June 1, 2010 and includes Medicare 

supplement insurance policies and certificates renewed on or 

after that date which are not replaced by the issuer at the 

request of the insured. 

2010 Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan, 

2010 Standardized Benefit Plan or 2010 Plan—a group or 

individual policy of Medicare supplement insurance issued 

with an effective date for coverage on or after June 1, 2010. 

Applicant— 

a. in the case of an individual Medicare supplement 

policy, the person who seeks to contract for insurance 

benefits; and 

b. in the case of a group Medicare supplement 

policy, the proposed certificateholder. 

Bankruptcy—when a Medicare advantage organization 

that is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed against it, a 

petition for declaration of bankruptcy and has ceased doing 

business in the state. 

Certificate—any certificate delivered or issued for 

delivery in this state under a group Medicare supplement 

policy. 

Certificate Form—the form on which the certificate is 

delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Insurance of the 
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state of Louisiana. 

Continuous Period of Creditable Coverage—the period 

during which an individual was covered by creditable 

coverage, if during the period of the coverage the individual 

had no breaks in coverage greater than 63 days. 

Creditable Coverage— 

a. with respect to an individual, coverage of the 

individual provided under any of the following: 

 i. a group health plan; 

 ii. health insurance coverage; 

 iii. Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social 

Security Act (Medicare); 

 iv. Title XIX of the Social Security Act 

(Medicaid), other than coverage consisting solely of benefits 

under Section 1928; 

 v. Chapter 55 of Title 10 United States Code 

(CHAMPUS); 

 vi. a medical care program of the Indian Health 

Service or of tribal organization; 

 vii. a state health benefits risk pool; 

 viii. a health plan offered under Chapter 89 of Title 

5 United States Code (Federal Employees Health Benefits 

Program); 

 ix. a public health plan as defined in federal 

regulation; and 

 x. a health benefit plan under Section 5(e) of the 

Peace Corps Act [22 United States Code 2504(e)]; 

b. creditable coverage shall not include one or 

more, or any combination, of the following: 

 i. coverage only for accident or disability income 

insurance, or any combination thereof; 

 ii. coverage issued as a supplement to liability 

insurance; 

 iii. liability insurance, including general liability 

insurance and automobile liability insurance; 

 iv. workers compensation or similar insurance; 

 v. automobile medical payment insurance; 

 vi. credit-only insurance; 

 vii. coverage for on-site medical clinics; and 

 viii. other similar insurance coverage, specified in 

federal regulations, under which benefits for medical care 

are secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits; 

c. creditable coverage shall not include the 

following benefits if they are provided under a separate 

policy, certificate or contract of insurance or are otherwise 

not an integral part of the plan: 

 i. limited scope dental or vision benefits; 

 ii. benefits for long-term care, nursing home care, 

home health care, community-based care, or any 

combination thereof; and 

 iii. such other similar, limited benefits as are 

specified in federal regulations; 

d. creditable coverage shall not include the 

following benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated 

benefits: 

 i. coverage only for a specified disease or illness; 

and 

 ii. hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity 

insurance; 

e. creditable coverage shall not include the 

following if it is offered as a separate policy, certificate or 

contract of insurance: 

 i. Medicare supplemental health insurance as 

defined under Section 1882(g)(1) of the Social Security Act; 

 ii. coverage supplemental to the coverage 

provided under Chapter 55 of Title 10, United States Code; 

and 

 iii. similar supplemental coverage provided to 

coverage under a group health plan. 

Employee Welfare Benefit Plan—a plan, fund or 

program of employee benefits as defined in 29 U.S.C. 

Section 1002 (Employee Retirement Income Security Act). 

Insolvency—inability to pay its obligations when they 

are due, or a condition when its admitted assets do not 

exceed its liabilities plus the greater of: 

a. any capital and surplus required by law for its 

organization; and 

b. the total par or stated value of its authorized and 

issued capital stock; 

c. for purposes of this Subsection, liabilities shall 

include but not be limited to reserves required by statute, by 

general regulations of the Department of Insurance or by 

specific requirements imposed by the commissioner upon a 

subject company at the time of admission or subsequent 

thereto. 

Issuer—insurance companies, fraternal benefit societies, 

health care service plans, health maintenance organizations, 

and any other entity authorized to deliver or issue for 

delivery in this state Medicare supplement policies or 

certificates. For purposes of §591.A.10.a. of this regulation, 

the term shall also include third party administrators, or any 

other person acting for or on behalf of such issuer. 

Medicare—the "Health Insurance for the Aged Act," 

Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 1965, as 

then constituted or later amended. 

Medicare Advantage Plan—a plan of coverage for 

health benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in Section 

1859 found in Title 42 U.S.C. 1395w-28(b)(1), and includes: 

a. coordinated care plans which provide health care 

services, including but not limited to health maintenance 
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organization plans (with or without a point-of-service 

option), plans offered by provider-sponsored organizations, 

and preferred provider organization plans; 

b. medical savings account plans coupled with a 

contribution into a Medicare advantage plan medical savings 

account; and 

c. Medicare advantage private fee-for-service plans. 

Medicare Supplement Policy—a group or individual 

policy of health insurance or a subscriber contract of hospital 

and medical service associations or health maintenance 

organizations, other than a policy issued pursuant to a 

contract under Section 1876 of the federal Social Security 

Act (42 U.S.C. Section 1395 et seq.) or an issued policy 

under a demonstration project specified in 42 U.S.C. 

§1395ss(g)(1), which is advertised, marketed or designed 

primarily as a supplement to reimbursements under 

Medicare for the hospital, medical or surgical expenses of 

persons eligible for Medicare. Medicare supplement policy 

does not include Medicare Advantage plans established 

under Medicare Part C, Outpatient Prescription Drug Plans 

established under Medicare Part D, or any Health Care 

Prepayment Plan (HCPP) that provides benefits pursuant to 

an agreement under §1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security 

Act. 

Policy Form—the form on which the policy is delivered 

or issued for delivery by the issuer. 

Pre-Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan, 

Pre-Standardized Benefit Plan or Pre-Standardized Plan—a 

group or individual policy of Medicare supplement 

insurance issued prior to July 20, 1992. 

Qualified Actuary—an actuary who is a member of 

either the Society of Actuaries or the American Academy of 

Actuaries. 

Secretary—the Secretary of the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2435 

(November 2003), LR 31:2902 (November 2005), LR 35:1115 

(June 2009), repromulgated LR 35:1247 (July 2009). 

§504. Policy Definitions and Terms 

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited 

or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 

policy or certificate unless the policy or certificate contains 

definitions or terms, which conform to the requirements of 

this Section. 

Accident, Accidental Injury, or Accidental Means—

defined to employ "result" language and shall not include 

words, which establish an accidental means test or use words 

such as "external, violent, visible wounds" or similar words 

or description or characterization. 

a. The definition shall not be more restrictive than 

the following. 

NOTE: "Injury or injuries for which benefits are provided 

means accidental bodily injury sustained by the insured person 

which is the direct result of an accident, independent of 
disease or bodily infirmity or any other cause, and occurs 

while insurance coverage is in force." 

b. The definition may provide that injuries shall not 

include injuries for which benefits are provided or available 

under any workers' compensation, employer's liability or 

similar law, or motor vehicle no-fault plan, unless prohibited 

by law. 

Benefit Period or Medicare Benefit Period—shall not be 

defined more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare 

program. 

Convalescent Nursing Home, Extended Care Facility, or 

Skilled Nursing Facility—shall not be defined more 

restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program. 

Health Care Expenses—for the purposes of §545, 

expenses of health maintenance organizations associated 

with the delivery of health care services, which expenses are 

analogous to incurred losses of insurers. 

Hospital—may be defined in relation to its status, 

facilities and available services or to reflect its accreditation 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, but not more restrictively than as defined in 

the Medicare program. 

Medicare—shall be defined in the policy and certificate. 

Medicare may be substantially defined as "The Health 

Insurance for the Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social 

Security Amendments of 1965 as Then Constituted or Later 

Amended," or "Title I, Part I of Public Law 89-97, as 

Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth Congress of the United States 

of America and popularly known as the Health Insurance for 

the Aged Act, as then constituted and any later amendments 

or substitutes thereof," or words of similar import. 

Medicare Eligible Expenses—expenses of the kinds 

covered by Medicare Parts A and B, to the extent recognized 

as reasonable and medically necessary by Medicare. 

Physician—shall not be defined more restrictively than 

as defined in the Medicare program. 

Sickness—shall not be defined to be more restrictive 

than the following. 

a. Sickness means illness or disease of an insured 

person which first manifests itself after the effective date of 

insurance and while the insurance is in force. 

b. The definition may be further modified to 

exclude sicknesses or diseases for which benefits are 

provided under any workers' compensation, occupational 

disease, employer's liability or similar law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1482 (August 1999), LR 29:2436 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2903 (November 2005). 

§505. Policy Provisions 
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A. Except for permitted preexisting condition clauses as 

described in §510.A.1.a, §515.A.1.a, and §516.A.1.a of this 

regulation, no policy or certificate may be advertised, 

solicited or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare 

supplement policy if the policy or certificate contains 

limitations or exclusions on coverage that are more 

restrictive than those of Medicare. 

B. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate may use 

waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits for 

specifically named or described preexisting diseases or 

physical conditions. 

C. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate in force 

in the state shall contain benefits, which duplicate benefits 

provided by Medicare. 

D.1. Subject to §§510.A.1(d), (e), and (g), and 515.A.1(d) 

and (e) of this regulation, a Medicare supplement policy 

with benefits for outpatient prescription drugs in existence 

prior to January 1, 2006 shall be renewed for current 

policyholders who do not enroll in Part D at the option of the 

policyholder. 

2. A Medicare supplement policy with benefits for 

outpatient prescription drugs shall not be issued after 

December 31, 2005. 

3. After December 31, 2005, a Medicare supplement 

policy with benefits for outpatient prescription drugs may 

not be renewed after the policyholder enrolls in Medicare 

Part D unless: 

a. the policy is modified to eliminate outpatient 

prescription coverage for expenses of outpatient prescription 

drugs incurred after the effective date of the individual’s 

coverage under a Part D plan; and 

b. premiums are adjusted to reflect the elimination 

of outpatient prescription drug coverage at the time of 

Medicare Part D enrollment, accounting for any claims paid, 

if applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999), LR 29:2436 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2904 (November 2005), LR 35:1115 (June 

2009). 

§506. Premium Increase Requirements 

A. Every insurer issuing or renewing a Medicare 

supplement policy shall notify the policyholder and each 

member of an association in writing at least 45 days before 

any premium increase. 

B. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 

have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 

policy or certificate stating in substance that the policyholder 

or certificateholder will be notified at least 45 days before 

any premium increase. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29:2437 (November 

2003), repromulgated LR 31:2904 (November 2005), amended LR 

35:1115 (June 2009). 

§510. Minimum Benefit Standards for Pre-

Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan 

Policies or Certificates Issued for Delivery Prior 

to July 20, 1992 

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited 

or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 

policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the following 

minimum standards. These are minimum standards and do 

not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or benefits 

which are not inconsistent with these standards. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 

to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 

addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 

six months from the effective date of coverage because it 

involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 

shall not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 

than a condition for which medical advice was given or 

treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 

within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 

different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 

under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 

with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible, 

copayment, or coinsurance amounts. Premiums may be 

modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. A noncancellable, guaranteed renewable, or 

noncancellable and guaranteed renewable Medicare 

supplement policy shall not: 

 i. provide for termination of coverage of a  

spouse solely because of the occurrence of an event 

specified for termination of coverage of the 

insured, other than the nonpayment of premium; or 

 ii. be cancelled or nonrenewed by the issuer 

solely on the grounds of deterioration of health. 

e.i. Except as authorized by the commissioner of 

this state, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate for any reason 

other than nonpayment of premium or material 

misrepresentation. 

 ii. If a group Medicare supplement insurance 

policy is terminated by the group policyholder and not 

replaced as provided in §510.A.1.e.iv, the issuer shall offer 

certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement policy. 

The issuer shall offer the certificateholder at least the 

following choices: 
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(a). an individual Medicare supplement policy 

currently offered by the issuer having comparable benefits to 

those contained in the terminated group Medicare 

supplement policy; and 

(b). an individual Medicare supplement policy 

which provides only such benefits as are required to meet 

the minimum standards as defined in §516.A.2 of this 

regulation; 

 (c). group contracts in force prior to the effective 

date of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 

1990 may have existing contractual obligations to continue 

benefits contained in the group contract. This Section is not 

intended to impair those obligations. 

 iii. If membership in a group is terminated, the 

issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 

opportunities described in §510.A.1.e.ii; or 

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 

the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 

group policy. 

 iv. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 

replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 

purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 

replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 

covered under the old group policy on its date of 

termination. Coverage under the new group policy shall not 

result in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would 

have been covered under the group policy being replaced. 

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 

which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 

extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 

policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous 

total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 

policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the maximum 

benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D benefits will not be 

considered in determining a continuous loss. 

g. If a Medicare supplement policy eliminates an 

outpatient prescription drug benefit as a result of 

requirements imposed by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 

Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003, the modified 

policy shall be deemed to satisfy the guaranteed renewal 

requirements of this Subsection. 

2. Minimum Benefit Standards 

a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 

from the sixty-first day through the ninetieth day in any 

Medicare benefit period; 

b. coverage for either all or none of the Medicare 

Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount; 

c. coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

incurred as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's 

lifetime hospital inpatient reserve days; 

d. upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital 

inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days, 

coverage of 90 percent of all Medicare Part A eligible 

expenses for hospitalization not covered by Medicare subject 

to a lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days; 

e. coverage under Medicare Part A for the 

reasonable cost of the first 3 pints of blood (or equivalent 

quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 

regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 

regulations or already paid for under Part B; 

f. coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the 

case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 

prospective payment system, the copayment amount, of 

Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 

hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year 

out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B 

deductibles ($183); 

g. effective January 1, 1990, coverage under 

Medicare Part B for the reasonable cost of the first 3 pints of 

blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as 

defined under federal regulations), unless replaced in 

accordance with federal regulations or already paid for under 

Part A, subject to the Medicare deductible amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1103 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2437 

(November 2003), LR 31:2905 (November 2005), LR 35:1115 

(June 2009), amended LR 44:2189 (December 2018). 

§515. Benefit Standards for 1990 Standardized 

Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan Policies or 

Certificates Issued for Delivery on or After July 

20, 1992 and with an Effective Date for 

Coverage Prior to June 1, 2010 

A. The following standards are applicable to all 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state on or after July 20, 1992 and 

with an effective date for coverage prior to June 1, 2010. No 

policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered 

or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 

policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit 

standards. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 

to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 

addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 

six months from the effective date of coverage because it 

involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 

may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 

than a condition for which medical advice was given or 

treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 

within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 

different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 
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c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 

under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 

with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible, co-

payment, or coinsurance amounts. Premiums may be 

modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

shall provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 

because of the occurrence of an event specified for 

termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 

nonpayment of premium. 

e. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be 

guaranteed renewable. 

 i. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the 

policy solely on the ground of health status of the individual. 

 ii. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the 

policy for any reason other than nonpayment of premium or 

material misrepresentation. 

 iii. If the Medicare supplement policy is 

terminated by the group policyholder and is not replaced as 

provided under §515.A.1.e.v, the issuer shall offer 

certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement policy 

which (at the option of the certificateholder): 

(a). provides for continuation of the benefits 

contained in the group policy; or 

(b). provides for benefits that otherwise meet the 

requirements of this Subsection. 

 iv. If an individual is a certificateholder in a group 

Medicare supplement policy and the individual terminates 

membership in the group, the issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 

opportunity described in §515.A.1.e.iii; or 

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 

the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 

group policy. 

 v. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 

replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 

purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 

replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 

covered under the old group policy on its date of 

termination. Coverage under the new policy shall not result 

in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have 

been covered under the group policy being replaced. 

 vi. If a Medicare supplement policy eliminates an 

outpatient prescription drug benefit as a result of 

requirements imposed by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 

Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, the modified 

policy shall be deemed to satisfy the guaranteed renewal 

requirements of this Paragraph. 

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 

which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 

extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 

policy was in force may be conditioned upon the continuous 

total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 

policy benefit period, if any, or payment of the maximum 

benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D benefits will not be 

considered in determining a continuous loss. 

g.i. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

shall provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or 

certificate shall be suspended at the request of the 

policyholder or certificateholder for the period (not to 

exceed 24 months), or upon discovery by the insurer that the 

policyholder or certificateholder has applied for and is 

determined to be entitled to medical assistance under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act, but only if the policyholder 

or certificateholder notifies the issuer of the policy or 

certificate within 90 days after the date the individual 

becomes entitled to assistance. 

 ii. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 

certificateholder loses entitlement to medical assistance, the 

policy or certificate shall be automatically reinstituted 

(effective as of the date of termination of such entitlement) 

as of the termination of entitlement if the policyholder or 

certificateholder provides notice of loss of entitlement within 

90 days after the date of loss and pays the premium 

attributable to the period, effective as of the date of 

termination of entitlement. 

 iii. Each Medicare supplement policy shall provide 

that benefits and premiums under the policy shall be 

suspended (for any period that may be provided by federal 

regulation) at the request of the policyholder if the 

policyholder is entitled to benefits under Section 226 (b) of 

the Social Security Act and is covered under a group health 

plan [as defined in Section 1862 (b)(1)(A)(v) of the Social 

Security Act]. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 

certificateholder loses coverage under the group health plan, 

the policy shall be automatically reinstituted (effective as of 

the date of loss of coverage) if the policyholder provides 

notice of loss of coverage within 90 days after the date of the 

loss and pays the premium attributable to the period, 

effective as of the date of termination of enrollment in the 

group health plan. 

 iv. Reinstitution of coverage as described in 

Clauses g.ii and iii: 

(a). shall not provide for any waiting period with 

respect to treatment of preexisting conditions; 

(b). shall provide for resumption of coverage that 

is substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the 

date of suspension. If the suspended Medicare supplement 

policy provided coverage for outpatient prescription drugs, 

reinstitution of the policy for Medicare Part D enrollees shall 

be without coverage for outpatient prescription drugs and 

shall otherwise provide substantially equivalent coverage to 

the coverage in effect before the date of suspension; and 

(c). shall provide for classification of premiums 

on terms at least as favorable to the policyholder or 

certificateholder as the premium classification terms that 

would have applied to the policyholder or certificateholder 

had the coverage not been suspended. 

h.i. If an issuer makes a written offer to the Medicare 

Supplement policyholders or certificateholders of one or 
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more of its plans, to exchange during a specified period from 

his or her 1990 Standardized plan (as described in §520 of 

this regulation) to a 2010 Standardized plan (as described in 

§521 of this regulation), the offer and subsequent exchange 

shall comply with the following requirements:  

 ii. An issuer need not provide justification to the 

commissioner if the insured replaces a 1990 Standardized 

policy or certificate with an issue age rated 2010 

Standardized policy or certificate at the insured’s original 

issue age and duration. If an insured’s policy or certificate to 

be replaced is priced on an issue age rate schedule at the 

time of such offer, the rate charged to the insured for the new 

exchanged policy shall recognize the policy reserve buildup, 

due to the pre-funding inherent in the use of an issue age rate 

basis, for the benefit of the insured. The method proposed to 

be used by an issuer must be filed with the commissioner in 

accordance with rate filing procedures prescribed by the 

commissioner. 

 iii. The rating class of the new policy or certificate 

shall be the class closest to the insured’s class of the replaced 

coverage. 

 iv. An issuer may not apply new pre-existing 

condition limitations or a new incontestability period to the 

new policy for those benefits contained in the exchanged 

1990 Standardized policy or certificate of the insured, but 

may apply pre-existing condition limitations of no more than 

six months to any added benefits contained in the new 2010 

Standardized policy or certificate not contained in the 

exchanged policy. 

 v. The new policy or certificate shall be offered to 

all policyholders or certificateholders within a given plan, 

except where the offer or issue would be in violation of state 

or federal law. 

2. Standards for Basic (Core) Benefits Common to 

Benefit Plans A-J. Every issuer shall make available a policy 

or certificate including only the following basic core 

package of benefits to each prospective insured. An issuer 

may make available to prospective insureds any of the other 

Medicare Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in addition to 

the basic core package, but not in lieu of it: 

a. coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 

from the sixty-first day through the ninetieth day in any 

Medicare benefit period; 

b. coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

incurred for hospitalization to the extent not covered by 

Medicare for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 

used; 

c. upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital 

inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days, 

coverage of 100 percent of the Medicare Part A eligible 

expenses for hospitalization paid at the applicable 

prospective payment system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate 

Medicare standard of payment, subject to a lifetime 

maximum benefit of an additional 365 days; 

d. coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the 

reasonable cost of the first 3 pints of blood (or equivalent 

quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 

regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 

regulations; 

e. coverage for the coinsurance amount (or, in the 

case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 

prospective payment system, the copayment amount) of 

Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 

hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B 

deductible. 

3. Standards for Additional Benefits. The following 

additional benefits shall be included in Medicare 

Supplement Benefit Plans "B" through "J" only as provided 

by §520 of this regulation. 

a. Medicare Part A Deductible—coverage for all of 

the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 

benefit period. 

b. Skilled Nursing Facility Care—coverage for the 

actual billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 

twenty-first day through the one hundredth day in a 

Medicare benefit period for post hospital skilled nursing 

facility care eligible under Medicare Part A. 

c. Medicare Part B Deductible—coverage for all of 

the Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year 

regardless of hospital confinement. 

d. Eighty percent of the Medicare Part B Excess 

Charges—coverage for 80 percent of the difference between 

the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed 

any charge limitation established by the Medicare program 

or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

e. One hundred percent of the Medicare Part B 

Excess Charges—coverage for all of the difference between 

the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed 

any charge limitation established by the Medicare program 

or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

f. Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit—

coverage for 50 percent of outpatient prescription drug 

charges, after a $250 calendar year deductible, to a 

maximum of $1,250 in benefits received by the insured per 

calendar year, to the extent not covered by Medicare. The 

outpatient prescription drug benefit may be included for sale 

or issuance in a Medicare supplement policy until January 1, 

2006. 

g. Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit—

coverage for 50 percent of outpatient prescription drug 

charges, after a $250 calendar year deductible to a maximum 

of $3,000 in benefits received by the insured per calendar 

year, to the extent not covered by Medicare. The outpatient 

prescription drug benefit may be included for sale or 

issuance in a Medicare supplement policy until January 1, 

2006. 

h. Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a 

Foreign Country—coverage to the extent not covered by 

Medicare for 80 percent of the billed charges for Medicare-

eligible expenses for medically necessary emergency 

hospital, physician, and medical care received in a foreign 
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country, which care would have been covered by Medicare if 

provided in the United States and which care began during 

the first 60 consecutive days of each trip outside the United 

States, subject to a calendar year deductible of $250, and a 

lifetime maximum benefit of $50,000. For purposes of this 

benefit, emergency care shall mean care needed immediately 

because of an injury or an illness of sudden and unexpected 

onset. 

i. Preventive Medical Care Benefit—coverage for 

the following preventive health services not covered by 

Medicare: 

 i. an annual clinical preventive medical history 

and physical examination that may include tests and services 

from Clause ii and patient education to address preventive 

health care measures; 

 ii. preventive screening tests or preventive 

services, the selection and frequency of which is determined 

to be medically appropriate by the attending physician. 

Reimbursement shall be for the actual charges up to 100 
percent of the Medicare-approved amount for each service, as 

if Medicare were to cover the service as identified in 

American Medical Association Current Procedural 
Terminology (AMA CPT) codes, to a maximum of $120 

annually under this benefit. This benefit shall not include 

payment for any procedure covered by Medicare. 

j. At-Home Recovery Benefit—coverage for 

services to provide short term, at-home assistance with 

activities of daily living for those recovering from an illness, 

injury, or surgery. 

 i. For purposes of this benefit, the following 

definitions shall apply: 

Activities of Daily Living—include, but are not 

limited to, bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, transferring, 

eating, ambulating, assistance with drugs that are normally 

self-administered, and changing bandages or other dressings. 

At-Home Recovery Visit—the period of a visit 

required to provide at home recovery care, without limit on 

the duration of the visit, except each consecutive four hours 

in a 24-hour period of services provided by a care provider is 

one visit. 

Care Provider—a duly qualified or licensed 

home health aide or homemaker, personal care aide or nurse 

provided through a licensed home health care agency or 

referred by a licensed referral agency or licensed nurses 

registry. 

Home—any place used by the insured as a place 

of residence, provided that such place would qualify as a 

residence for home health care services covered by 

Medicare. A hospital or skilled nursing facility shall not be 

considered the insured's place of residence. 

 ii. Coverage Requirements and Limitations 

(a). At-home recovery services provided must be 

primarily services, which assist in activities of daily living. 

(b). The insured's attending physician must 

certify that the specific type and frequency of at-home 

recovery services are necessary because of a condition for 

which a home care plan of treatment was approved by 

Medicare. 

(c). Coverage is limited to: 

  (i). no more than the number and type of at-

home recovery visits certified as necessary by the insured's 

attending physician. The total number of at-home recovery 

visits shall not exceed the number of Medicare approved 

home health care visits under a Medicare approved home 

care plan of treatment; 

  (ii). the actual charges for each visit up to a 

maximum reimbursement of $40 per visit; 

  (iii). $1,600 per calendar year; 

  (iv). seven visits in any one week; 

  (v). are furnished on a visiting basis in the 

insured's home; 

  (vi). services provided by a care provider as 

defined in this Section; 

  (vii). at-home recovery visits while the insured 

is covered under the policy or certificate and not otherwise 

excluded; 

  (viii). at-home recovery visits received during 

the period the insured is receiving Medicare approved home 

care services or no more than eight weeks after the service 

date of the last Medicare approved home health care visit. 

 iii. Coverage is excluded for: 

(a). home care visits paid for by Medicare or 

other government programs; and 

(b). care provided by family members, unpaid 

volunteers, or providers who are not care providers. 

4. Standards for Plans K and L 

a. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan 

"K" shall consist of the following: 

 i. coverage of 100 percent of the Part A hospital 

coinsurance amount for each day used from the sixty-first 

through the ninetieth day in any Medicare benefit period; 

 ii. coverage of 100 hundred percent of the Part A 

hospital coinsurance amount for each Medicare lifetime 

inpatient reserve day used from the ninety-first through the 

one hundred fiftieth day in any Medicare benefit period; 

 iii. upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital 

inpatient coverage, including the lifetime reserve days, 

coverage of 100 percent of the Medicare Part A eligible 

expenses for hospitalization paid at the applicable 

prospective payment system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate 

Medicare standard of payment, subject to a lifetime 

maximum benefit of an additional 365 days. The provider 

shall accept the issuer's payment as payment in full and may 

not bill the insured for any balance; 

 iv. Medicare Part A Deductible. Coverage for 50 

percent of the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible 

amount per benefit period until the out-of-pocket limitation 

is met as described in Clause x; 

 v. Skilled Nursing Facility Care. Coverage for 50 

percent of the coinsurance amount for each day used from 

the twenty-first day through the one hundredth day in a 
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Medicare benefit period for post-hospital skilled nursing 

facility care eligible under Medicare Part A until the out-of-

pocket limitation is met as described in Clause x; 

 vi. Hospice Care. Coverage for 50 percent of cost 

sharing for all Part A Medicare eligible expenses and respite 

care until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 

Clause x; 

 vii. Coverage for 50 percent, under Medicare Part 

A or B, of the reasonable cost of the first 3 pints of blood (or 

equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined 

under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance 

with federal regulations until the out-of-pocket limitation is 

met as described in Clause x; 

 viii. except for coverage provided in Clause xi 

below, coverage for 50 percent of the cost sharing otherwise 

applicable under Medicare Part B after the policyholder pays 

the Part B deductible until the out-of-pocket limitation is met 

as described in Clause x below; 

 ix. coverage of 100 percent of the cost sharing for 

Medicare Part B preventive services after the policyholder 

pays the Part B deductible; and 

 x. coverage of 100 percent of all cost sharing 

under Medicare Parts A and B for the balance of the calendar 

year after the individual has reached the out-of-pocket 

limitation on annual expenditures under Medicare Parts A 

and B of $4,000 in 2006, indexed each year by the 

appropriate inflation adjustment specified by the Secretary 

of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "L" 

shall consist of the following: 

a. the benefits described in Clauses a.i-iii; 

b. the benefit described in Clauses a.iv-viii, but 

substituting 75 percent for 50 percent; and 

c. the benefit described in Clause a.x but 

substituting $2000 for $4,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1104 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1484 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2438 

(November 2003), LR 31:2906 (November 2005), LR 35:1116 

(June 2009). 

§516. Benefit Standards for 2010 Standardized 

Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan Policies or 

Certificates Issued for Delivery with an Effective 

Date For Coverage on or after June 1, 2010 

A. The following standards are applicable to all 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state with an effective date for 

coverage on or after June 1, 2010. No policy or certificate 

may be advertised, solicited, delivered, or issued for delivery 

in this state as a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

unless it complies with these benefit standards. No issuer 

may offer any 1990 Standardized Medicare supplement 

benefit plan for sale on or after June 1, 2010. Benefit 

standards applicable to Medicare supplement policies and 

certificates issued with an effective date for coverage prior 

to June 1, 2010 remain subject to the requirements of §510, 

§515, §520, and §525. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 

to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 

addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 

six months from the effective date of coverage because it 

involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 

may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 

than a condition for which medical advice was given or 

treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 

within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 

different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 

under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 

with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible, co-

payment, or coinsurance amounts. Premiums may be 

modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

shall provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 

because of the occurrence of an event specified for 

termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 

nonpayment of premium. 

e. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be 

guaranteed renewable. 

 i. The issuer shall not cancel or non-renew the 

policy solely on the ground of health status of the 

individual. 

 ii. The issuer shall not cancel or non-renew the 

policy for any reason other than nonpayment of 

premium or material misrepresentation. 

 iii. If the Medicare supplement policy is 

terminated by the group policyholder and is not replaced as 

provided under §516.A.1.e.v. of this regulation, the issuer 

shall offer certificateholders an individual Medicare 

supplement policy which (at the option of the 

certificateholder): 

(a). provides for continuation of the benefits 

contained in the group policy; or 

(b). provides for benefits that otherwise meet the 

requirements of this Subsection. 

 iv. If an individual is a certificateholder in a group 

Medicare supplement policy and the individual terminates 

membership in the group, the issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 

opportunity described in §516.A.1.e.iii. of this regulation; or  

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 

the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 

group policy. 

 v. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 
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replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 

purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 

replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 

covered under the old group policy on its date of 

termination. Coverage under the new policy shall not result 

in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have 

been covered under the group policy being replaced.  

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 

which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 

extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 

policy was in force may be conditioned upon the continuous 

total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 

policy benefit period, if any, or payment of the maximum 

benefits. Receipt of Medicare Part D benefits will not be 

considered in determining a continuous loss. 

g.i. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 

provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or 

certificate shall be suspended at the request of the 

policyholder or certificateholder for the period (not to 

exceed 24 months) in which the policyholder or 

certificateholder has applied for and is determined to be 

entitled to medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act, but only if the policyholder or certificateholder 

notifies the issuer of the policy or certificate within 90 days 

after the date the individual becomes entitled to assistance. 

 ii. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 

certificateholder loses entitlement to medical 

assistance, the policy or certificate shall be automatically 

reinstituted (effective as of the date of termination of 

entitlement) as of the termination of entitlement if the 

policyholder or certificateholder provides notice of loss of 

entitlement within ninety (90) days after the date of loss and 

pays the premium attributable to the period, effective as of 

the date of termination of entitlement. 

 iii. Each Medicare supplement policy shall provide 

that benefits and premiums under the policy shall be 

suspended (for any period that may be provided by federal 

regulation) at the request of the policyholder if the 

policyholder is entitled to benefits under Section 226 (b) of 

the Social Security Act and is covered under a group health 

plan (as defined in Section 1862 (b)(1)(A)(v) of the Social 

Security Act). If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 

certificateholder loses coverage under the group health plan, 

the policy shall be automatically reinstituted (effective as of 

the date of loss of coverage) if the policyholder provides 

notice of loss of coverage within 90 days after the date of the 

loss. 

 iv. Reinstitution of coverages as described in 

Subparagraphs (ii) and (iii): 

(a). shall not provide for any waiting period with 

respect to treatment of preexisting conditions; 

(b). shall provide for resumption of coverage that 

is substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the 

date of suspension; and 

(c). shall provide for classification of premiums 

on terms at least as favorable to the policyholder or 

certificateholder as the premium classification terms that 

would have applied to the policyholder or certificateholder 

had the coverage not been suspended. 

2. Standards for Basic (Core) Benefits Common to 

Medicare Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans A, B, C, D, F, 

F with High Deductible, G, M and N. Every issuer of 

Medicare supplement insurance benefit plans shall make 

available a policy or certificate including only the following 

basic “core” package of benefits to each prospective insured. 

An issuer may make available to prospective insureds any of 

the other Medicare Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in 

addition to the basic core package, but not in lieu of it. 

a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 

from the sixty-first through the ninetieth day in any 

Medicare benefit period; 

b. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

incurred for hospitalization to the extent not covered by 

Medicare for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 

used; 

c. Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital 

inpatient coverage, including the lifetime reserve days, 

coverage of 100 percent of the Medicare Part A eligible 

expenses for hospitalization paid at the applicable 

prospective payment system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate 

Medicare standard of payment, subject to a lifetime 

maximum benefit of an additional 365 days. The provider 

shall accept the issuer’s payment as payment in full and may 

not bill the insured for any balance; 

d. Coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the 

reasonable cost of the first 3 pints of blood (or equivalent 

quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 

regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 

regulations; 

e. Coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the 

case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 

prospective payment system, the copayment amount, of 

Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 

hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B 

deductible; 

f. Hospice Care: Coverage of cost sharing for all 

Part A Medicare eligible hospice care and respite care 

expenses. 

3. Standards for Additional Benefits. The following 

additional benefits shall be included in Medicare supplement 

benefit Plans B, C, D, F, F with High Deductible, G, M, and 

N as provided by §521 of this regulation. 

a. Medicare Part A Deductible: Coverage for 100 

percent of the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible 

amount per benefit period.  

b. Medicare Part A Deductible: Coverage for 50 

percent of the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible 

amount per benefit period. 

c. Skilled Nursing Facility Care: Coverage for the 

actual billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 

twenty-first day through the one hundredth day in a 
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Medicare benefit period for post-hospital skilled nursing 

facility care eligible under Medicare Part A. 

d. Medicare Part B Deductible: Coverage for 100 

percent of the Medicare Part B deductible amount per 

calendar year regardless of hospital confinement. 

e. One Hundred Percent of the Medicare Part B 

Excess Charges: Coverage for all of the difference between 

the actual Medicare Part B charges as billed, not to exceed 

any charge limitation established by the Medicare program 

or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

f. Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a 

Foreign Country: Coverage to the extent not covered by 

Medicare for 80 percent of the billed charges for Medicare-

eligible expenses for medically necessary emergency 

hospital, physician and medical care received in a foreign 

country, which care would have been covered by Medicare if 

provided in the United States and which care began during 

the first 60 consecutive days of each trip outside the United 

States, subject to a calendar year deductible of $250, and a 

lifetime maximum benefit of $50,000. For purposes of this 

benefit, emergency care shall mean care needed immediately 

because of an injury or an illness of sudden and unexpected 

onset. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:1116 (June 2009). 

§520. Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans 

for 1990 Standardized Medicare Supplement 

Benefit Plan Policies or Certificates Issued for 

Delivery on or after July 20, 1992 and with an 

Effective Date for Coverage Prior to June 1, 

2010 

A. An issuer shall make available to each prospective 

policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or 

certificate form containing only the basic core benefits, as 

defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation. 

B. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 

supplement benefits other than those listed in this Section 

shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be 

permitted in §520.G and in §525 of this regulation. 

C. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, 

designation and format to the standard benefit plans "A" 

through "L" listed in this Subsection and conform to the 

definitions in §503 of this regulation. Each benefit shall be 

structured in accordance with the format provided in 

§§515.A.2 and 515.A.3 or 515.A.4 and list the benefits in 

the order shown in this Subsection. For purposes of this 

Section, "structure, language, and format" means style, 

arrangement and overall content of a benefit. 

D. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan 

designations required in Subsection C, other designations to 

the extent permitted by law. 

E. Make-Up of Benefit Plans 

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "A" 

shall be limited to the basic (core) benefits common to all 

benefit plans, as defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation. 

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "B" 

shall include only the following. The core benefit as defined 

in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 

deductible as defined in §515.A.3.a. 

3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "C" 

shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 

in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 

deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B 

deductible and medically necessary emergency care in a 

foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3.a, b, c and h, 

respectively. 

4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "D" 

shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 

in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 

deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary 

emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 

recovery benefit as defined in §515.A.3.a, b, h and j, 

respectively. 

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "E" 

shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 

in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 

deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary 

emergency care in a foreign country, and preventive medical 

care as defined in §515.A.3.a, b, h and i, respectively. 

6. Standardized Medical supplement benefit plan "F" 

shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 

in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 

deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, the Part B 

deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess 

charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a 

foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3.a, b, c, e and h, 

respectively. 

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 

deductible plan "F" shall include only the following: 100 

percent of covered expenses following the payment of the 

annual high deductible plan "F" deductible. The covered 

expenses include the core benefit as defined in §515.A.2 of 

this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 

nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, 100 

percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 

medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 

defined in §515.A.3.a, b, c, e and h, respectively. The annual 

high deductible plan "F" deductible shall consist of out-of-

pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services covered 

by the Medicare supplement plan "F" policy, and shall be in 

addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The annual 

high deductible Plan "F" deductible shall be $1,500 for 1998 

and 1999, and shall be based on the calendar year. It shall be 

adjusted annually thereafter by the secretary to reflect the 

change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers 

for the 12-month period ending with August of the preceding 

year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "G" 

shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
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in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 

deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 80 percent of the 

Medicare Part B excess charges, medically necessary 

emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 

recovery benefit as defined in §515.A.3.a, b, d, h and j, 

respectively. 

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "H" 

shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 

defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 

Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic 

outpatient prescription drug benefit, and medically necessary 

emergency care in a foreign country, as defined in 

§515.A.3.a, b, f and h, respectively. The outpatient 

prescription drug benefit shall not be included in a Medicare 

supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. 

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "I" 

shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 

defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 

Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100 percent 

of the Medicare Part B excess charges, basic outpatient 

prescription drug benefit, medically necessary emergency 

care in a foreign country and at-home recovery benefit as 

defined in §515.A.3.a, b, e, f, h and j, respectively. The 

outpatient prescription drug benefit shall not be included in a 

Medicare supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. 

11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "J" 

shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 

defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 

Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part 

B deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess 

charges, extended prescription drug benefit, medically 

necessary emergency care in a foreign country, preventive 

medical care and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 

§515.A.3.a, b, c, e, g, h, i and j, respectively. The outpatient 

prescription drug benefit shall not be included in a Medicare 

supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. 

12. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 

deductible plan "J" shall consist of only the following: 100 

percent of covered expenses following the payment of the 

annual high deductible plan "J" deductible. The covered 

expenses include the core benefit as defined in §515.A.2 of 

this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 

nursing facility care, Medicare Part B deductible, 100 

percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, extended 

outpatient prescription drug benefit, medically necessary 

emergency care in a foreign country, preventive medical care 

benefit and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 

§515.A.3.a, b, c, e, g, h, i and j, respectively. The annual 

high deductible plan "J" deductible shall consist of out-of-

pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services covered 

by the Medicare supplement plan "J" policy, and shall be in 

addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The annual 

deductible shall be $1,500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be 

based on a calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually 

thereafter by the secretary to reflect the change in the 

Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the  

12-month period ending with August of the preceding year, 

and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. The outpatient 

prescription drug benefit shall not be included in a Medicare 

supplement policy sold after December 31, 2005. 

F. Make-up of two Medicare supplement plans 

mandated by the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement 

and Modernization Act of 2003 (MMA); 

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "K" 

shall consist of only those benefits described in §515.A.4(1). 

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "L" 

shall consist of only those benefits described in §515.A.4(2). 

G. New or Innovative Benefits. An issuer may, with the 

prior approval of the commissioner, offer policies or 

certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to the 

benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise 

complies with the applicable standards. The new or 

innovative benefits may include benefits that are appropriate 

to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not 

otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered in a manner 

which is consistent with the goal of simplification of 

Medicare supplement policies. After December 31, 2005, the 

innovative benefit shall not include an outpatient 

prescription drug benefit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1106 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1487 (August 1999), LR 29:2440 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2909 (November 2005), repromulgated LR 

35:1118 (June 2009). 

§521. Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans 

for 2010 Standardized Medicare Supplement 

Benefit Plan Policies or Certificates Issued for 

Delivery with an Effective Date for Coverage on 

or after June 1, 2010 

A. The following standards are applicable to all 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state with an effective date for 

coverage on or after June 1, 2010. No policy or certificate 

may be advertised, solicited, delivered or issued for delivery 

in this state as a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

unless it complies with these benefit plan standards. Benefit 

plan standards applicable to Medicare supplement policies 

and certificates issued with an effective date for coverage 

before June 1, 2010 remain subject to the requirements of 

§510, §515, §520, and §525. 

1.a. An issuer shall make available to each prospective 

policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or 

certificate form containing only the basic (core) benefits, as 

defined in §516.A.2 of this regulation.  

b. If an issuer makes available any of the additional 

benefits described in §516.A.3, or offers standardized benefit 

Plans K or L (as described §521.A.5.h and i of this 

regulation), then the issuer shall make available to each 

prospective policyholder and certificateholder, in addition to 

a policy form or certificate form with only the basic (core) 

benefits as described in Subsection A.1.a. above, a policy 

form or certificate form containing either standardized 

benefit Plan C (as described in §521.A.5.c. of this 

regulation) or standardized benefit Plan F (as described in 

§521.A.5.e. of this regulation). 

2. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 

supplement benefits other than those listed in this Section 
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shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be 

permitted in §521.A.6. and in §525 of this regulation. 

3. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, 

language, designation and format to the standard benefit 

plans listed in this Subsection and conform to the definitions 

in §503 of this regulation. Each benefit shall be structured in 

accordance with the format provided in §516.A.2 and 

§516.A.3 of this regulation; or, in the case of plans K or L, 

in §521.A.5.h or i of this regulation and list the benefits in 

the order shown. For purposes of this Section, “structure, 

language, and format” means style, arrangement and overall 

content of a benefit. 

4. In addition to the benefit plan designations required 

in §521.A.3 of this Section, an issuer may use other 

designations to the extent permitted by law.  

5. Make-up of 2010 Standardized Benefit Plans: 

a. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan 

A shall include only the following: The basic (core) benefits 

as defined in §516.A.2. of this regulation. 

b. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan 

B shall include only the following: The basic (core) benefit 

as defined in §516.A.2. of this regulation, plus 100 percent 

of the Medicare Part A deductible as defined in §516.A.3.a. 

of this regulation. 

c. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan 

C shall include only the following: The basic (core) benefit 

as defined in §516.A.2. of this regulation, plus 100 percent 

of the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility 

care, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B deductible, and 

medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 

defined in §516.A.3.a, c, d, and f of this regulation, 

respectively. 

d. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan 

D shall include only the following: The basic (core) benefit 

(as defined in §516.A.2 of this regulation), plus 100 percent 

of the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility 

care, and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign 

country as defined in §516.A.3.a, c, and f of this regulation, 

respectively. 

e. Standardized Medicare supplement regular Plan 

F shall include only the following: The basic (core) benefit 

as defined in §516.A.2 of this regulation, plus 100 percent of 

the Medicare Part A deductible, the skilled nursing facility 

care, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B deductible, 100 

percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 

medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 

defined in §516.A.3.a, c, d, e, and f, respectively. 

f. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan F With 

High Deductible shall include only the following: 100 

percent of covered expenses following the payment of the 

annual deductible set forth in Subparagraph ii. 

 i. The basic (core) benefit as defined in §516.A.2 

of this regulation, plus 100 percent of the Medicare Part A 

deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100 percent of the 

Medicare Part B deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare 

Part B excess charges, and medically necessary emergency 

care in a foreign country as defined in §516.A.3.a, c, d, e, 

and f of this regulation, respectively. 

 ii. The annual deductible in Plan F With High 

Deductible shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other 

than premiums, for services covered by regular Plan F, and 

shall be in addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. 

The basis for the deductible shall be $1,500 and shall be 

adjusted annually from 1999 by the Secretary of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services to reflect the 

change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers 

for the 12-month period ending with August of the preceding 

year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

g. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan 

G shall include only the following: the basic (core) benefit 

as defined in §516.A.2 of this regulation, plus 100 percent of 

the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 

100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 

medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 

defined in §516.A.3.a, c, e, and f, respectively. Effective 

January 1, 2020, the standardized benefit plans described in 

§522.A.1.d. of this regulation (Redesignated Plan G High 

Deductible) may be offered to any individual who was 

eligible for Medicare prior to January 1, 2020. 

h. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan K is 

mandated by The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement 

and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall include only the 

following: 

 i. Part A Hospital Coinsurance Sixty-first through 

the Ninetieth Day: Coverage of 100 percent of the Part A 

hospital coinsurance amount for each day used from the 

sixty-first through the ninetieth day in any Medicare benefit 

period; 

 ii. Part A Hospital Coinsurance, Ninety-first 

through the One Hundredth Fiftieth Day: Coverage of 100 

percent of the Part A hospital coinsurance amount for each 

Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day used from the 

ninety-first through the one hundred fiftieth day in any 

Medicare benefit period; 

 iii. Part A Hospitalization After One Hundred Fifty 

Days: Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital inpatient 

coverage, including the lifetime reserve days, coverage of 

100 percent of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 

hospitalization paid at the applicable prospective payment 

system (PPS) rate, or other appropriate Medicare standard of 

payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an 

additional 365 days. The provider shall accept the issuer’s 

payment as payment in full and may not bill the insured for 

any balance; 

 iv. Medicare Part A Deductible: Coverage for 50 

percent of the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible 

amount per benefit period until the out-of-pocket limitation 

is met as described in Subparagraph x.; 

 v. Skilled Nursing Facility Care: Coverage for 50 

percent of the coinsurance amount for each day used from 

the twenty-first day through the one hundredth day in a 

Medicare benefit period for post-hospital skilled nursing 

facility care eligible under Medicare Part A until the out-of-

pocket limitation is met as described in Subparagraph x.; 
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 vi. Hospice Care: Coverage for 50 percent of cost 

sharing for all Part A Medicare eligible expenses and respite 

care until the out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in 

Subparagraph x.; 

 vii. Blood: Coverage for 50 percent, under 

Medicare Part A or B, of the reasonable cost of the first 3 

pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood 

cells, as defined under federal regulations) unless replaced in 

accordance with federal regulations until the out-of-pocket 

limitation is met as described in Subparagraph x.; 

 viii. Part B Cost Sharing: Except for coverage 

provided in Subparagraph (ix), coverage for 50 percent of 

the cost sharing otherwise applicable under Medicare Part B 

after the policyholder pays the Part B deductible until the 

out-of-pocket limitation is met as described in Subparagraph 

x.; 

 ix. Part B Preventive Services: Coverage of 100 

percent of the cost sharing for Medicare Part B preventive 

services after the policyholder pays the Part B deductible; 

and 

 x. Cost Sharing After Out-of-Pocket Limits: 

Coverage of 100 percent of all cost sharing under Medicare 

Parts A and B for the balance of the calendar year after the 

individual has reached the out-of-pocket limitation on annual 

expenditures under Medicare Parts A and B of $4000 in 

2006, indexed each year by the appropriate inflation 

adjustment specified by the Secretary of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

i. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan L is 

mandated by The Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement 

and Modernization Act of 2003, and shall include only the 

following: 

 i. the benefits described in Paragraphs 

§521.A.5.h.i., ii, iii and ix;  

 ii. the benefits described in Paragraphs 

§521.A.5.h.iv., v, vi, vii and viii, but substituting 75 percent 

for 50 percent; and 

 iii. the benefit described in Paragraph 

§521.A.5.h.x, but substituting $2000 for $4000. 

j. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan M shall 

include only the following: The basic (core) benefit as 

defined in §516.A.2 of this regulation, plus 50 percent of the 

Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, and 

medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 

defined in §516.A.3.b, c and f of this regulation, 

respectively. 

k. Standardized Medicare supplement Plan N shall 

include only the following: The basic (core) benefit as 

defined in §516.A.2 of this regulation, plus 100 percent of 

the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 

and medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country 

as defined in §516.A.3.a, c and f. of this regulation, 

respectively, with co-payments in the following amounts: 

 i. the lesser of $20 or the Medicare Part B 

coinsurance or co-payment for each covered health care 

provider office visit (including visits to medical specialists); 

and  

 ii. the lesser of $50 or the Medicare Part B 

coinsurance or co-payment for each covered emergency 

room visit, however, this copayment shall be waived if the 

insured is admitted to any hospital and the emergency visit is 

subsequently covered as a Medicare Part A expense. 

6. New or Innovative Benefits: An issuer may, with 

the prior approval of the commissioner, offer policies or 

certificates with new or innovative benefits, in addition to 

the standardized benefits provided in a policy or certificate 

that otherwise complies with the applicable standards. The 

new or innovative benefits shall include only benefits that 

are appropriate to Medicare supplement insurance, are new 

or innovative, are not otherwise available, and are cost-

effective. Approval of new or innovative benefits must not 

adversely impact the goal of Medicare supplement 

simplification. New or innovative benefits shall not include 

an outpatient prescription drug benefit. New or innovative 

benefits shall not be used to change or reduce benefits, 

including a change of any cost-sharing provision, in any 

standardized plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR:35:1118 (June 2009), 

amended LR 44:2189 (December 2018). 

§522. Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans 

for 2020 Standardized Medicare Supplement 

Benefit Plan Policies or Certificates Issued for 

Delivery to Individuals Newly Eligible for 

Medicare on or After January 1, 2020. 

A. The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act 

of 2015 (MACRA) requires the following standards are 

applicable to all Medicare supplement policies or certificates 

delivered or issued for delivery in this state to individuals 

newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. No 

policy or certificate that provides coverage of the Medicare 

Part B deductible may be advertised, solicited, delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 

policy or certificate to individuals newly eligible for 

Medicare on or after January 1, 2020. All policies must 

comply with the following benefit standards. Benefit plan 

standards applicable to Medicare supplement policies and 

certificates issued to individuals eligible for Medicare before 

January 1, 2020, remain subject to the requirements of 

Regulation 33.  

1. Benefit Requirements. The standards and 

requirements of §521 shall apply to all Medicare supplement 

policies or certificates delivered or issued for delivery to 

individuals newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 

1, 2020, with the following exceptions: 

a. standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan C 

is redesignated as Plan D and shall provide the benefits 

contained in §521.A.5.c of this regulation but shall not 

provide coverage for 100 percent or any portion of the 

Medicare Part B deductible.  

b. standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F 

is redesignated as Plan G and shall provide the benefits 
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contained in §521.A.5.e of this regulation but shall not 

provide coverage for 100 percent or any portion of the 

Medicare Part B deductible.  

c. standardized Medicare supplement benefit plans 

C, F, and F with high deductible may not be offered to 

individuals newly eligible for Medicare on or after January 

1, 2020.  

d. standardized Medicare supplement benefit Plan F 

with high deductible is redesignated as Plan G with high 

deductible and shall provide the benefits contained in 

§521.A.5.f of this regulation but shall not provide coverage 

for 100 percent or any portion of the Medicare Part B 

deductible; provided further that, the Medicare Part B 

deductible paid by the beneficiary shall be considered an 

out-of-pocket expense in meeting the annual high 

deductible. 

e. the reference to Plans C or F contained in 

§521.A.1.b. is deemed a reference to Plans D or G for 

purposes of this section. 

2. Applicability to Certain Individuals. This §522, 

applies to only individuals that are newly eligible for 

Medicare on or after January 1, 2020:  

a. by reason of attaining age 65 on or after January 

1, 2020; or  

b. by reason of entitlement to benefits under part A 

pursuant to section 226(b) or 226A of the Social Security 

Act, or who is deemed to be eligible for benefits under 

section 226(a) of the Social Security Act on or after January 

1, 2020.  

3. Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons. For purposes 

of §535.E., in the case of any individual newly eligible for 

Medicare on or after January 1, 2020, any reference to a 

Medicare supplement policy C or F (including F with high 

deductible) shall be deemed to be a reference to Medicare 

supplement policy D or G (including G with high 

deductible), respectively, that meet the requirements of this 

§522 A.1.  

4. Applicability to Waivered States. In the case of a 

State described in section 1882(p)(6) of the Social Security 

Act (“waivered” alternative simplification states) MACRA 

prohibits the coverage of the Medicare Part B deductible for 

any Medicare supplement policy sold or issued to an 

individual that is newly eligible for Medicare on or after 

January 1, 2020. 

5. Offer of Redesignated Plans to Individuals other 

than Newly Eligible. On or after January 1, 2020, the 

standardized benefit plans described in Subparagraph A.1.d, 

above may be offered to any individual who was eligible for 

Medicare prior to January 1, 2020, in addition to the 

standardized plans described in §521.A.5. of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR:2190 (December 2018). 

§525. Medicare Select Policies and Certificates 

A.1. This Section shall apply to Medicare select policies 

and certificates, as defined in this Section. 

2. No policy or certificate may be advertised as a 

Medicare select policy or certificate unless it meets the 

requirements of this Section. 

B. For the purposes of this Section: 

Complaint—any dissatisfaction expressed by an 

individual concerning a Medicare select issuer or its network 

providers. 

Grievance—dissatisfaction expressed in writing by an 

individual insured under a Medicare select policy or 

certificate with the administration, claims practices, or 

provision of services concerning a Medicare select issuer or 

its network providers. 

Medicare Select Issuer—an issuer offering, or seeking 

to offer, a Medicare select policy or certificate. 

Medicare Select Policy or Medicare Select Certificate—

respectively a Medicare supplement policy or certificate that 

contains restricted network provisions. 

Network Provider—a provider of health care, or a group 

of providers of health care, which has entered into a written 

agreement with the issuer to provide benefits insured under a 

Medicare select policy. 

Primary Residence―the policyholder's residence as 

listed on the policyholder's application for insurance or any 

other residence given by the policyholder to the issuer 

subsequent to the application date for the purpose of 

changing the policyholder's residence. 

Restricted Network Provision—any provision, which 

conditions the payment of benefits, in whole or in part, on 

the use of network providers. 

Service Area―the 50 mile geographical radius or area 

approved by the commissioner within which a policyholder's 

primary residence must be located in relation to an issuer's 

network provider and within which an issuer is authorized to 

offer a Medicare select policy. 

C. The commissioner may authorize an issuer to offer a 

Medicare select policy or certificate, pursuant to this Section 

and Section 4358 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 

(OBRA) of 1990 if the commissioner finds that the issuer 

has satisfied all of the requirements of this regulation. 

D.1. A Medicare select issuer shall not issue a Medicare 

select policy or certificate in this state until its plan of 

operation has been approved by the commissioner. 

2. After September 1, 2006, issuers shall be prohibited 

from selling new Medicare select policies to those persons 

whose primary residence is located outside of the issuer's 

service area. 

3. Medicare select issuers shall provide notice, within 

30 days after the publication of this rule, to all Medicare 

select policyholders that: 

a. if the policyholder changes his primary residence 

to a residence located outside of the issuer's service area: 
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 i. the policyholder shall have the right to convert 

his current Medicare select policy to a Medicare supplement 

policy; and 

 ii. the issuer cannot cancel the policyholder's 

Medicare select policy on the basis that the policyholder did 

not convert his Medicare select policy to a Medicare 

supplement policy; 

 iii. the terms of the policy shall govern with 

respect to benefits available to the policyholder after moving 

his primary residence outside of the service area; 

b. the policyholder may incur a penalty in the form 

of some or all of the benefits under the Medicare select 

policy not being payable if the policyholder requires medical 

services outside of the service area after the policyholder 

changes his primary residence to a residence located outside 

of the service area without converting his policy to a 

Medicare supplement policy. 

4. After October 1, 2006, upon the Medicare select 

issuer obtaining actual knowledge that a policyholder has 

changed his primary residence to a residence located outside 

of the service area, the issuer shall mail to the policyholder 

the same notice, or one substantially similar, required in the 

above Paragraph D.3. The issuer shall mail this notice within 

30 days after obtaining actual knowledge of the 

policyholder's change of residence. 

E. A Medicare select issuer shall file a proposed plan of 

operation with the commissioner in a format prescribed by 

the commissioner. The plan of operation shall contain at 

least the following information: 

1. evidence that all covered services that are subject to 

restricted network provisions are available and accessible 

through network providers, including a demonstration that: 

a. services can be provided by network providers 

with reasonable promptness with respect to geographic 

location, hours of operation and after-hour care. The hours 

of operation and availability of after-hour care shall reflect 

usual practice in the local area. Geographic availability shall 

reflect the usual travel times within the community; 

b. the number of network providers in the service 

area is sufficient, with respect to current and expected 

policyholders, either: 

 i. to deliver adequately all services that are 

subject to a restricted network provision; or 

 ii. to make appropriate referrals; 

c. there are written agreements and/or contracts 

with network providers describing specific responsibilities; 

d. emergency care is available 24 hours per day and 

seven days per week; 

e. in the case of covered services that are subject to 

a restricted network provision and are provided on a prepaid 

basis, there are written agreements and/or contracts with 

network providers prohibiting the providers from billing or 

otherwise seeking reimbursement from or recourse against 

any individual insured under a Medicare select policy or 

certificate. This Paragraph shall not apply to supplemental 

charges or coinsurance amounts as stated in the Medicare 

select policy or certificate; 

2. a statement or map providing a clear description of 

the service area; 

3. a detailed description and the method utilized by 

the Medicare select insurer of informing policyholders of the 

plan's service and features, including but not limited to, the 

plan's grievance procedures, its process for choosing and 

changing in-network providers, and the procedures for 

providing and approving emergency and specialty care; 

4. a description of the quality assurance program, 

including: 

a. the formal organizational structure; 

b. the written criteria for selection, retention and 

removal of network providers; and 

c. the procedures for evaluating quality of care 

provided by network providers, and the process to initiate 

corrective action when warranted; 

5. a list and description, by specialty, of the network 

providers, including the Medicare select issuer's procedures 

for making referrals within and outside its network; 

6. copies of the written information proposed to be 

used by the issuer to comply with §525.I; 

7. the listing of hospitals and the number of hospital 

beds available for the policyholders at an in-network 

hospital; 

8. any other information requested by the 

commissioner. 

F.1. A Medicare select issuer shall file for approval any 

proposed changes, material or otherwise, to the plan of 

operation or contracts, except for changes to the listing of 

network providers, with the commissioner prior to 

implementation of any changes. The removal or withdrawal 

of any hospital from a Medicare select issuer's network shall 

constitute a material change to the plan of operation or 

contract and shall be filed with the commissioner in 

accordance with the provisions of this Subsection. Changes 

shall be considered approved by the commissioner after 30 

days unless specifically disapproved. 

2. All filings of proposed changes, material or 

otherwise, to the plan of operation or contracts as required 

by this Section shall include, but not be limited to the 

following: 

a. the listing of hospitals and the number of hospital 

beds available for the policyholders at an in-network 

hospital; 

b. any other information requested by the 

commissioner. 

3. An updated list of network providers shall be filed 

with the commissioner at least quarterly. 

G. A Medicare select policy or certificate shall not 

restrict payment for covered services provided by  

non-network providers if: 
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1. the services are for symptoms requiring emergency 

care or are immediately required for an unforeseen illness, 

injury or a condition; and 

2. it is not reasonable to obtain such services through 

a network provider. 

H. A Medicare select policy or certificate shall provide 

payment for full coverage under the policy for covered 

services that are not available through network providers. 

I. A Medicare select issuer shall make full and fair 

disclosure, in writing, of the provisions, restrictions, and 

limitations of the Medicare select policy or certificate to 

each applicant. This disclosure shall include at least the 

following: 

1. an outline of coverage sufficient to permit the 

applicant to compare the coverage and premiums of the 

Medicare select policy or certificate with: 

a. other Medicare supplement policies or 

certificates offered by the issuer; and 

b. other Medicare select policies or certificates; 

2. a description (including address, phone number and 

hours of operation) of the network providers, including 

primary care physicians, specialty physicians, hospitals and 

other providers; 

3. a description of the restricted network provisions, 

including payments for coinsurance and deductibles when 

providers other than network providers are utilized. Except 

to the extent specified in the policy or certificate, expenses 

incurred when using out-of-network providers do not count 

toward the out-of-pocket annual limit contained in Plans K 

and L; 

4. a description of coverage for emergency and 

urgently needed care and other out-of-service area coverage; 

5. a description of limitations on referrals to restricted 

network providers and to other providers; 

6. a description of the policyholder's rights to 

purchase any other Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate otherwise offered by the issuer; 

7. a description of the Medicare select issuer's quality 

assurance program and grievance procedure. 

J. Prior to the sale of a Medicare select policy or 

certificate, a Medicare select issuer shall obtain from the 

applicant a signed and dated form stating that the applicant 

has received the information provided pursuant to 

Subsection I of this Section and that the applicant 

understands the restrictions of the Medicare select policy or 

certificate. 

K. A Medicare select issuer shall have and use 

procedures for hearing complaints and resolving written 

grievances from the subscribers. The procedures shall be 

aimed at mutual agreement for settlement and may include 

non-binding arbitration procedures. 

1. The grievance procedure shall be described in the 

policy and certificates and in the outline of coverage. 

2. At the time the policy or certificate is issued, the 

issuer shall provide detailed information to the policyholder 

describing how a grievance may be registered with the 

issuer. 

3. Grievances shall be considered in a timely manner 

and shall be transmitted to appropriate decision-makers who 

have authority to fully investigate the issue and take 

corrective action. 

4. If a grievance is found to be valid, corrective action 

shall be taken promptly. 

5. All concerned parties shall be notified about the 

results of a grievance. 

6. The issuer shall report no later than each March 31 

to the commissioner regarding its grievance procedure. The 

report shall be in a format prescribed by the commissioner 

and shall contain the number of grievances filed in the past 

year and a summary of the subject, nature and resolution of 

such grievances. 

L. At the time of initial purchase, a Medicare select 

issuer shall make available to each applicant for a Medicare 

select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate otherwise offered 

by the issuer. 

M.1. At the request of an individual insured under a 

Medicare select policy or certificate, a Medicare select issuer 

shall make available to the individual insured the 

opportunity to purchase a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate offered by the issuer which has comparable or 

lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted 

network provision. The issuer shall make such policies or 

certificates available without requiring evidence of 

insurability after the Medicare select policy or certificate has 

been in force for six months. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare 

supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have 

comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more 

significant benefits not included in the Medicare select 

policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this 

Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the 

Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for at-home recovery 

services or coverage for Part B excess charges. 

N. Medicare select policies and certificates shall provide 

for continuation of coverage in the event the Secretary of 

Health and Human Services determines that Medicare select 

policies and certificates issued pursuant to this Section 

should be discontinued due to either the failure of the 

Medicare Select Program to be reauthorized under law or its 

substantial amendment. 

1. Each Medicare select issuer shall make available to 

each individual insured under a Medicare select policy or 

certificate the opportunity to purchase any Medicare 

supplement policy or certificate offered by the issuer which 

has comparable or lesser benefits and which does not contain 

a restricted network provision. The issuer shall make the 

policies and certificates available without requiring evidence 

of insurability. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 135 

supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have 

comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more 

significant benefits not included in the Medicare select 

policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this 

Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the 

Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for at-home recovery 

services or coverage for Part B excess charges. 

O. A Medicare select issuer shall comply with reasonable 

requests for data made by state or federal agencies, including 

the United States Department of Health and Human 

Services, for the purpose of evaluating the Medicare Select 

Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1108 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1488 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2442 

(November 2003), LR 31:2910 (November 2005), LR 32:1462 

(August 2006), LR:35:1120 (June 2009). 

§530. Open Enrollment 

A. An issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance or 

effectiveness of any Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate available for sale in this state, nor discriminate in 

the pricing of a policy or certificate because of the health 

status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical 

condition of an applicant in the case of an application for a 

policy or certificate that is submitted prior to or during the 

six month period beginning with the first day of the first 

month in which an individual is enrolled for benefits under 

Medicare Part B. Each Medicare supplement policy and 

certificate currently available from an insurer shall be made 

available to all applicants who qualify under this Subsection 

without regard to age. 

B.1. If an applicant qualifies under Subsection A and 

submits an application during the time period referenced in 

Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a 

continuous period of creditable coverage of at least six 

months, the issuer shall not exclude benefits based on a 

preexisting condition. 

2. If the applicant qualifies under Subsection A and 

submits an application during the time period referenced in 

Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a 

continuous period of creditable coverage that is less than six 

months, the issuer shall reduce the period of any preexisting 

condition exclusion by the aggregate of the period of 

creditable coverage applicable to the applicant as of the 

enrollment date. The secretary shall specify the manner of 

the reduction under this Subsection. 

C. Except as provided in Subsection B and §§535 and 

590, Subsection A shall not be construed as preventing the 

exclusion of benefits under a policy, during the first six 

months, based on a preexisting condition for which the 

policyholder or certificateholder received treatment or was 

otherwise diagnosed during the six months before the 

coverage became effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999), LR 29:2444 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2912 (November 2005). 

§535. Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons  

A. Guaranteed Issue 

1. Eligible persons are those individuals described in 

Subsection B who seek to enroll under the policy during the 

period specified in Subsection C, and who submit evidence 

of the date of termination disenrollment, or Medicare Part D 

enrollment with the application for a Medicare supplement 

policy. 

2. With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall not 

deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of a 

Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection E that 

is offered and is available for issuance to new enrollees by 

the issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a 

Medicare supplement policy because of health status, claims 

experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and 

shall not impose an exclusion of benefits based on a 

preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement 

policy. 

B. Eligible Persons. An eligible person is an individual 

described in any of the following Paragraphs. 

1. The individual is enrolled under an employee 

welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits that 

supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan 

terminates, or the plan ceases to provide some or all such 

supplemental health benefits to the individual; or the 

individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit 

plan that is primary or secondary to Medicare and the plan 

terminates or the plan ceases to provide some or all health 

benefits to the individual or the individual leaves the plan. 

2. the individual is enrolled with a Medicare 

advantage organization under a Medicare advantage plan 

under Part C of Medicare, and any of the following 

circumstances apply, or the individual is 65 years of age or 

older and is enrolled with a Program of All-Inclusive Care 

for the Elderly (PACE) provider under Section 1894 of the 

Social Security Act, and there are circumstances similar to 

those described below that would permit discontinuance of 

the individual's enrollment with such provider if such 

individual were enrolled in a Medicare advantage plan: 

a. the certification of the organization or plan has 

been terminated, or the organization has terminated or 

otherwise discontinued providing the plan in the area in 

which the individual resides; 

b. the individual is no longer eligible to elect the 

plan because of a change in the individual's place of 

residence or other change in circumstances specified by the 

secretary, but not including termination of the individual's 

enrollment on the basis described in Section 1851(g)(3)(B) 

of the federal Social Security Act (where the individual has 

not paid premiums on a timely basis or has engaged in 

disruptive behavior as specified in standards under Section 

1856), or the plan is terminated for all individuals within a 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 136 

residence area; 

c. the individual demonstrates, in accordance with 

guidelines established by the secretary, that: 

 i. the organization offering the plan substantially 

violated a material provision of the organization's contract 

under this Part in relation to the individual, including the 

failure to provide an enrollee on a timely basis medically 

necessary care for which benefits are available under the 

plan or the failure to provide such covered care in 

accordance with applicable quality standards; or 

 ii. the organization, or agent or other entity acting 

on theorganization's behalf, materially misrepresented the 

plan's provisions in marketing the plan to the individual; or 

d. the individual meets such other exceptional 

conditions as the secretary may provide; 

3.a. the individual is enrolled with: 

 i. an eligible organization under a contract under 

Section 1876 of the Social Security Act (Medicare cost); 

 ii. a similar organization operating under 

demonstration project authority, effective for periods before 

April 1, 1999; 

 iii. an organization under an agreement under 

Section 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (health care 

prepayment plan); or 

 iv. an organization under a Medicare select policy; 

and 

b. pursuant to Subsection B.3.a.i, B.3.a.ii, and 

B.3.a.iii, the enrollment ceases under the same 

circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an 

individual's election of coverage under §535.B.2; or pursuant 

to Subsection B.3.a.iv, the enrollment ceases and 

discontinuance of an individual's election of coverage occurs 

due to one of the following: 

 i. the certification of the organization or plan has 

been terminated, or the organization has terminated or 

otherwise discontinued providing the plan in the area in 

which the individual resides; 

 ii. the individual is no longer eligible to elect the 

plan because of a change in the individual's place of 

residence or other change in circumstances specified by the 

commissioner, but not including termination of the 

individual's enrollment on the basis described in Section 

1851(g)(3)(B) of the federal Social Security Act (where the 

individual has not paid premiums on a timely basis or has 

engaged in disruptive behavior as specified in standards 

under Section 1856), or the plan is terminated for all 

individuals within a residence area;  

 iii. the individual demonstrates, in accordance 

with guidelines established by the commissioner, that:  

(a). the organization offering the plan 

substantially violated a material provision of the 

organization's contract(s) or plan of operation or the 

organization offering the plan made a material change or 

altered the organization's contract(s) or plan of operation that 

potentially impacts the individual under this Part or 

Regulation 33, including the failure to provide an enrollee 

on a timely basis medically necessary care for which 

benefits are available under the plan or the failure to provide 

such covered care in accordance with applicable quality or 

adequacy standards or failure to provide covered services in 

accordance with the plan of operation, including but not 

limited to the adequacy of a organization's provider 

network(s); or 

(b). the organization, or agent or other entity 

acting on the organization's behalf, materially 

misrepresented the plan's provisions in marketing the plan to 

the individual; or 

4. the individual is enrolled under a Medicare 

supplement policy and the enrollment ceases because: 

a.i. of the insolvency of the issuer or bankruptcy of 

the nonissuer organization; or 

 ii. of other involuntary termination of coverage or 

enrollment under the policy; 

b. the issuer of the policy substantially violated a 

material provision of the policy; or 

c. the issuer, or an agent or other entity acting on 

the issuer's behalf, materially misrepresented the policy's 

provisions in marketing the policy to the individual; 

5.a. the individual was enrolled under a Medicare 

supplement policy and terminates enrollment and 

subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any Medicare 

advantage organization under a Medicare advantage plan 

under Part C of Medicare, any eligible organization under a 

contract under Section 1876 of the Social Security Act 

(Medicare cost), any similar organization operating under 

demonstration project authority, any PACE provider under 

Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, or a Medicare select 

policy; and 

b. the subsequent enrollment under Subparagraph a 

is terminated by the enrollee during any period within the 

first 12 months of such subsequent enrollment [during which 

the enrollee is permitted to terminate such subsequent 

enrollment under Section 1851(e) of the federal Social 

Security Act]; or 

6. the individual, upon first becoming enrolled for 

benefits under Medicare Part B, enrolls in a Medicare 

advantage plan under Part C of Medicare, or with a PACE 

provider under Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, and 

disenrolls from the plan by not later 12 months after the 

effective date of enrollment; 

7. the individual enrolls in a Medicare Part D plan 

during the initial enrollment period and, at the time of 

enrollment in Part D, was enrolled under a Medicare 

supplement policy that covers outpatient prescription drugs 

and the individual terminates enrollment in the Medicare 

supplement policy and submits evidence of enrollment in 

Medicare Part D along with the application for a policy 

described in Paragraph E.4. 

C. Guaranteed Issue Time Periods 

1. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 
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B.1, the guaranteed issue period begins on the later of: 

a.  the date the individual receives a notice of 

termination or cessation of all supplemental health benefits 

(or, if a notice is not received, notice that a claim has been 

denied because of a termination or cessation); or 

b. the date that the applicable coverage terminates 

or ceases; and ends 63 days thereafter; 

2. in the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 

B.2, 3, 5 or 6 whose enrollment is terminated involuntarily, 

the guaranteed issue period begins on the date that the 

individual receives a notice of termination and ends 63 days 

after the date the applicable coverage is terminated; 

3. in the case of an individual described in 

Subparagraph B.4.a, the guaranteed issue period begins on 

the earlier of:  

a. the date that the individual receives a notice of 

termination, a notice of the issuer's bankruptcy or 

insolvency, or other such similar notice if any; and 

b. the date that the applicable coverage is 

terminated, and ends on the date that is 63 days after the date 

the coverage is terminated; 

4. in the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 

B.2, 4.b, 4.c, 5 or 6 who disenrolls voluntarily, the 

guaranteed issue period begins on the date that is 60 days 

before the effective date of the disenrollment and ends on the 

date that is 63 days after the effective date; 

5. in the case of an individual described in Paragraph 

B.7, the guaranteed issue period begins on the date the 

individual receives notice pursuant to Section 1882 (v)(2)(B) 

of the Social Security Act from the Medicare supplement 

issuer during the 60 period immediately preceding the initial 

Part D enrollment period and ends on the date that is 63 days 

after the effective date of the individual’s coverage under 

Medicare Part D; and 

6. in the case of an individual described in Subsection 

B but not described in the preceding provisions of this 

Subsection, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 

effective date of disenrollment and ends on the date that is 

63 days after the effective date. 

D. Extended Medigap Access for Interrupted Trial 

Periods 

1. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 

B.5 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 

Paragraph) whose enrollment with an organization or 

provider described in Subparagraph B.5.a is involuntarily 

terminated within the first 12 months of enrollment, and 

who, without an intervening enrollment, enrolls with another 

such organization or provider, the subsequent enrollment 

shall be deemed to be an initial enrollment described in 

§535.B.5; 

2. in the case of an individual described in Paragraph 

B.6 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 

Paragraph) who enrollment with a plan or in a program 

described in Paragraph B.6 is involuntarily terminated 

within the first 12 months of enrollment, and who, without 

an intervening enrollment, enrolls in another such plan or 

program, the subsequent enrollment shall be deemed to be 

an initial enrollment described in §535.B.6; and 

3. for purposes of Paragraphs B.5 and B.6, no 

enrollment of an individual with an organization or provider 

described in Subparagraph B.5.a, or with a plan or in a 

program described in Paragraph B.6, may be deemed to be 

an initial enrollment under this Paragraph after the two-year 

period beginning on the date on which the individual first 

enrolled with such an organization, provider, plan or 

program. 

E. Products to Which Eligible Persons Are Entitled. The 

Medicare supplement policy to which eligible persons are 

entitled under: 

1. §535.B.1.2.3 and 4 is a Medicare supplement policy 

which has a benefit package classified as Plan A, B, C, F 

(including F with a high deductible), K or L offered by any 

issuer; 

2.a. subject to Subparagraph b, §535.B.5 is the same 

Medicare supplement policy in which the individual was 

most recently previously enrolled, if available from the same 

issuer, or, if not so available, a policy described in §535.E.1; 

b. after December 31, 2005, if the individual was 

most recently enrolled in a Medicare supplement policy with 

an outpatient prescription drug benefit, a Medicare 

supplement policy described in this Subparagraph is: 

 i. the policy available from the same issuer but 

modified to remove outpatient prescription drug coverage; or 

 ii. at the election of the policyholder, an A, B, C, 

F (including F with a high deductible), K or L policy that is 

offered by any issuer; 

3. §535.B.6 shall include any Medicare supplement 

policy available by any issuer; 

4. §535.B.7 is a Medicare supplement policy that has 

a benefit package classified as Plan A, B, C, F (including F 

with a high deductible), K or L, and that is offered and is 

available for issuance to new enrollees by the same issuer 

that issued the individual's Medicare supplement policy with 

outpatient prescription drug coverage. 

F. Notification Provisions 

1. At the time of an event described in Subsection B 

of this Section because of which an individual loses 

coverage or benefits due to the termination of a contract or 

agreement, policy, or plan, the organization that terminates 

the contract or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy, 

or the administrator of the plan being terminated, 

respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 

under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of 

Medicare supplement policies under Subsection A. Such 

notice shall be communicated contemporaneously with the 

notification of termination. 

2. At the time of an event described in Subsection B 

of this Section because of which an individual ceases 

enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, 

the organization that offers the contract or agreement, 

regardless of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the 
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issuer offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan, 

respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 

under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of 

Medicare supplement policies under §535.A. Such notice 

shall be communicated within 10 working days of the issuer 

receiving notification of disenrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2444 

(November 2003), LR 31:2912 (November 2005), LR:35:1120 

(June 2009), amended LR 44:2190 (December 2018). 

§540. Standards for Claims Payment 

A. An issuer shall comply with Section 1882(c)(3) of the 

Social Security Act (as enacted by Section 4081(b)(2)(C) of 

the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) 

1987, Pub. L. No. 100-203) by: 

1. accepting a notice from a Medicare carrier on 

dually assigned claims submitted by participating physicians 

and suppliers as a claim for benefits in place of any other 

claim form otherwise required and making a payment 

determination on the basis of the information contained in 

that notice; 

2. notifying the participating physician or supplier and 

the beneficiary of the payment determination; 

3. paying the participating physician or supplier 

directly; 

4. furnishing, at the time of enrollment, each enrollee 

with a card listing the policy name, number, and a central 

mailing address to which notices from a Medicare carrier 

may be sent; 

5. paying user fees for claim notices that are 

transmitted electronically or otherwise; and 

6. providing to the Secretary of Health and Human 

Services, at least annually, a central mailing address to 

which all claims may be sent by Medicare carriers. 

B. Compliance with the requirements set forth in 

Subsection A above shall be certified on the Medicare 

supplement insurance experience reporting form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1111 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1491 (August 1999), LR 29:2446 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2914 (November 2005). 

§545. Loss Ratio Standards and Refund or Credit of 

Premium 

A. Loss Ratio Standards 

1.a. A Medicare supplement policy form or certificate 

form shall not be delivered or issued for delivery unless the 

policy form or certificate form can be expected, as estimated 

for the entire period for which rates are computed to provide 

coverage, to return to policyholders and certificateholders in 

the form of aggregate benefits (not including anticipated 

refunds or credits) provided under the policy form or 

certificate form: 

 i. at least 75 percent of the aggregate amount of 

premiums earned in the case of group policies; or 

 ii. at least 65 percent of the aggregate amount of 

premiums earned in the case of individual policies. 

b. The percentages for Clauses A.1.a.i and ii shall 

be calculated on the basis of incurred claims experience or 

incurred health care expenses where coverage is provided by 

a health maintenance organization on a service rather than 

reimbursement basis and earned premiums for the period 

and in accordance with accepted actuarial principles and 

practices. Incurred health care expenses where coverage is 

provided by a health maintenance organization shall not 

include: 

 i. home office and overhead costs; 

 ii. advertising costs; 

 iii. commissions and other acquisition costs; 

 iv. taxes; 

 v. capital costs; 

 vi. administrative costs; and 

 vii. claims processing costs. 

2. All filings of rates and rating schedules shall 

demonstrate that expected claims in relation to premiums 

comply with the requirements of this Section when 

combined with actual experience to date. Filings of rate 

revisions shall also demonstrate that the anticipated loss 

ratio over the entire future period for which the revised rates 

are computed to provide coverage can be expected to meet 

the appropriate loss ratio standards. 

3. For purposes of applying Paragraph A.1 of this 

Section and §550.D.3 only, policies issued as a result of 

solicitations of individuals through the mails or by mass 

media advertising (including both print and broadcast 

advertising) shall be deemed to be individual policies. 

4. For policies issued prior to January 20, 1991, 

expected claims in relation to premiums shall meet: 

a. the originally filed anticipated loss ratio when 

combined with the actual experience since inception; 

b. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from 

§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. when combined with actual experience 

beginning with January 1, 1998 to date; and 

c. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from 

§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. over the entire future period for which 

the rates are computed to provide coverage. 

B. Refund or Credit Calculation 

1. An issuer shall collect and file with the 

commissioner by May 31 of each year the data contained in 

the applicable reporting form contained in Appendix A for 

each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. 
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2. If, on the basis of the experience as reported, the 

benchmark ratio since inception (Ratio 1) exceeds the 

adjusted experience ratio since inception (Ratio 3), then a 

refund or credit calculation is required. The refund 

calculation shall be done on a statewide basis for each type 

in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. For 

purposes of the refund or credit calculation, experience on 

policies issued within the reporting year shall be excluded. 

3. For the purposes of this Section, policies or 

certificates issued prior to January 20, 1991, the issuer shall 

make the refund or credit calculation separately for all 

individual policies (including all group policies subject to an 

individual loss ratio standard when issued) combined and all 

other group policies combined for experience after January 

1, 1998. The first report shall be due by May 31, 2000. 

4. A refund or credit shall be made only when the 

benchmark loss ratio exceeds the adjusted experience loss 

ratio and the amount to be refunded or credited exceeds a de 

minimis level. The refund shall include interest from the end 

of the calendar year to the date of the refund or credit at a 

rate specified by the Secretary of Health and Human 

Services, but in no event shall it be less than the average rate 

of interest for 13-week treasury notes. A refund or credit 

against premiums due shall be made by September 30 

following the experience year upon which the refund or 

credit is based. 

C. Filing of Rates and Rating Schedules. All filings of 

rates and rating schedules shall demonstrate that expected 

claims in relation to premiums comply with the requirements 

of this Section when combined with actual experience to 

date. Filings of rate revisions shall also demonstrate that the 

anticipated loss ratio over the entire future period for which 

the revised rates are computed to provide coverage can be 

expected to meet the appropriate loss ratio standards. 

1. Each Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

form shall be accompanied, upon submission for approval, 

by an original and one copy of an actuarial memorandum. 

The memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a 

qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted 

actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 

least the information listed in the following Subparagraphs: 

a. the form number that the actuarial memorandum 

addresses; 

b. a brief description of benefits provided; 

c. a schedule of rates to be used; 

d. a certification that the anticipated lifetime loss 

ratio is at least 65 percent (for individual coverage) or at 

least 75 percent (for group coverage); 

e. a table of anticipated loss ratio experience for 

each year from issue over a reasonable number of years; 

f. a certification that the premiums are reasonable 

in relation to the benefits provided; and 

g. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 

h. any additional information requested by the 

commissioner. 

2. Subsequent rate adjustments filings, except for 

those rates filed solely due to a change in the Part A calendar 

year deductible, shall also provide an original and one copy 

of an actuarial memorandum, prepared, signed and dated by 

a qualified actuary, in accordance with generally accepted 

actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 

least the following: 

a. the form number addressed by the actuarial 

memorandum; 

b. a brief description of benefits provided; 

c. a schedule of rates before and after the rate 

change; 

d. a statement of the reason and basis for the rate 

change; 

e. a demonstration and certification by the qualified 

actuary showing that the past plus future expected 

experience after the rate change will result in an aggregate 

loss ratio equal to, or greater than, the required minimum 

aggregate loss ratio: 

 i. this rate change and demonstration shall be 

based on the experience of the named form in Louisiana 

only, if that experience is credible; 

 ii. the rate change and demonstration shall be 

based on experience of the named form nationwide, if the 

named form is used nationwide and the Louisiana 

experience is not credible, but the nationwide experience is 

credible; 

f. for policies or certificates in force less than three 

years, a demonstration shall be included to show that the 

third-year loss ratio is expected to be equal to, or greater 

than, the applicable percentage; 

g. a certification by the qualified actuary that the 

resulting premiums are reasonable in relation to the benefits 

provided; 

h. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 

i. any additional information requested by the 

commissioner. 

3.a. An issuer of Medicare supplement policies and 

certificates issued before or after the effective date of 

Regulation 33 (Revised, 1992) in this state shall file 

annually no later than December 31 its rates for the 

upcoming calendar year. Also, supporting documentation 

including ratios of incurred losses to earned premiums by 

policy duration shall be submitted for approval by the 

commissioner. The supporting documentation shall also 

demonstrate in accordance with actuarial standards of 

practice using reasonable assumptions that the appropriate 

loss ratio standards can be expected to be met over the entire 

period for which rates are computed. The demonstration 

shall exclude active life reserves. An expected third-year loss 

ratio which is greater than or equal to the applicable 

percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates 

in force less than three years. 

b. The filing for purposes of this Subsection shall 

contain all Medicare supplement plans issued by the issuer 
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and shall not include rate adjustments. An actuarial 

memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a 

qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted 

actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 

least the following: 

 i. the form number for each plan; 

 ii. plan type designation (for example: Plan A, 

Plan B, Pre -standardized); 

 iii. the rates for each plan; 

 iv. yearly loss ratios for each plan; 

 v. lifetime expected loss ratios for each plan; 

 vi. identify filing as "ANNUAL MEDICARE 

SUPPLEMENT FILING" on the face page of the 

memorandum; 

 vii. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 

 viii. any additional information requested by the 

commissioner. 

4. As soon as practicable, but prior to the effective 

date of enhancements in Medicare benefits, every issuer of 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates in this state 

shall file with the commissioner, in accordance with the 

applicable filing procedures of this state: 

a. appropriate premium adjustments necessary to 

produce loss ratios as anticipated for the current premium for 

the applicable policies or certificates. The supporting 

documents necessary to justify the adjustment shall 

accompany the filing; 

b. an issuer shall make premium adjustments 

necessary to produce an expected loss ratio under the policy 

or certificate to conform to minimum loss ratio standards for 

Medicare supplement policies and which are expected to 

result in a loss ratio at least as great as that originally 

anticipated in the rates used to produce current premiums by 

the issuer for the Medicare supplement policies or 

certificates. No premium adjustment which would modify 

the loss ratio experience under the policy other than the 

adjustments described herein shall be made with respect to a 

policy at any time other than upon its renewal date or 

anniversary date; 

c. if an issuer fails to make premium adjustments 

acceptable to the commissioner, the commissioner may order 

premium adjustments, refunds or premium credits deemed 

necessary to achieve the loss ratio required by this Section. 

5. Any appropriate riders, endorsements or policy 

forms needed to accomplish the Medicare supplement policy 

or certificate modifications necessary to eliminate benefit 

duplications with Medicare. The riders, endorsements or 

policy forms shall provide a clear description of the 

Medicare supplement benefits provided by the policy or 

certificate. 

D. Public Hearings. The commissioner may conduct a 

public hearing to gather information concerning a request by 

an issuer for an increase in a rate for a policy form or 

certificate form issued before or after the effective date of 

Regulation 33 as revised July 20, 1992 if the experience of 

the form for the previous reporting period is not in 

compliance with the applicable loss ratio standard. The 

determination of compliance is made without consideration 

of any refund or credit for the reporting period. Public notice 

of the hearing shall be furnished in a manner deemed 

appropriate by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1112 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1492 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2446 

(November 2003), LR 31:2915 (November 2005). 

§550. Filing and Approval of Policies and Certificates 

and Premium Rates 

A. An issuer shall not deliver or issue for delivery a 

policy or certificate to a resident of this state unless the 

policy form or certificate form has been filed with and 

approved by the commissioner in accordance with filing 

requirements and procedures prescribed by the 

commissioner. 

B. An issuer shall file any riders or amendments to 

policy or certificate forms to delete outpatient prescription 

drug benefits as required by the Medicare Prescription Drug, 

Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003 only with the 

commissioner in the state in which the policy or certificate 

was issued. 

C. An issuer shall not use or change premium rates for a 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate unless the rates, 

rating schedule and supporting documentation have been 

filed with and approved by the commissioner in accordance 

with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by 

the commissioner. 

D.1. Except as provided in Paragraph D.2 of this 

Section, an issuer shall not file for approval more than one 

form of a policy or certificate of each type for each standard 

Medicare supplement benefit plan. 

2. An issuer may offer, with the approval of the 

commissioner, up to four additional policy forms or 

certificate forms of the same type for the same standard 

Medicare supplement benefit plan, one for each of the 

following cases: 

a. the inclusion of new or innovative benefits; 

b. the addition of either direct response or agent 

marketing methods; 

c. the addition of either guaranteed issue or 

underwritten coverage; 

d. the offering of coverage to individuals eligible for 

Medicare by reason of disability. 

3. For the purposes of this Section, a type means an 

individual policy, a group policy, an individual Medicare 

select policy, or a group Medicare select policy. 

E.1. Except as provided in Subparagraph E.1.a, an issuer 

shall continue to make available for purchase any policy 

form or certificate form issued after the effective date of this 
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regulation that has been approved by the commissioner. A 

policy form or certificate form shall not be considered to be 

available for purchase unless the issuer has actively offered 

it for sale in the previous 12 months. 

a. An issuer may discontinue the availability of a 

policy form or certificate form if the issuer provides to the 

commissioner, in writing, its decision at least 30 days prior 

to discontinuing the availability of the form of the policy or 

certificate. After receipt of the notice by the commissioner, 

the issuer shall no longer offer for sale the policy form or 

certificate form in this state. 

b. An issuer that discontinues the availability of a 

policy form or certificate form pursuant to Subparagraph a 

shall not file for approval a new policy form or certificate 

form of the same type for the same standard Medicare 

supplement benefit plan as the discontinued form for a 

period of five years after the issuer provides notice to the 

commissioner of the discontinuance. The period of 

discontinuance may be reduced if the commissioner 

determines that a shorter period is appropriate. 

2. The sale or other transfer of Medicare supplement 

business to another issuer shall be considered a 

discontinuance for the purposes of this Subsection. 

3. A change in the rating structure or methodology 

shall be considered a discontinuance under Paragraph E.1 

unless the issuer complies with the following requirements. 

a. The issuer provides an actuarial memorandum, in 

a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner, 

describing the manner in which the revised rating 

methodology and resultant rates differ from the existing 

rating methodology and existing rates. 

b. The issuer does not subsequently put into effect a 

change of rates or rating factors that would cause the 

percentage differential between the discontinued and 

subsequent rates as described in the actuarial memorandum 

to change. The commissioner may approve a change to the 

differential, which is in the public interest. 

F.1. Except as provided in Paragraph F.2, the experience 

of all policy forms or certificate forms of the same type in a 

standard Medicare supplement benefit plan shall be 

combined for purposes of the refund or credit calculation 

prescribed in §545 of this regulation. 

2. Forms assumed under an assumption reinsurance 

agreement shall not be combined with the experience of 

other forms for purposes of the refund or credit calculation. 

G.1. An issuer that fails to implement an approved rate 

increase within six months after the approval date shall be 

prohibited from implementing such increase on future dates. 

The issuer shall notify the commissioner when any approved 

rate increase has not been implemented. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1113 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2448 

(November 2003), LR 31:2917 (November 2005). 

§555. Permitted Compensation Arrangements 

A. An issuer or other entity may provide commission or 

other compensation to an agent or other representative for 

the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only 

if the first year commission or other first year compensation 

is no more than 200 percent of the commission or other 

compensation paid for selling or servicing the policy or 

certificate in the second year or period. 

B. The commission or other compensation provided in 

subsequent (renewal) years must be the same as that 

provided in the second year or period and must be provided 

for no fewer than five renewal years. 

C. No issuer or other entity shall provide compensation 

to its agents or other producers, and no agent or producer 

shall receive compensation greater than the renewal 

compensation payable by the replacing issuer on renewal 

policies or certificates if an existing policy or certificate is 

replaced. 

D. For purposes of this Section, compensation includes 

pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration of any kind 

relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate 

including, but not limited to, bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards 

and finders fees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999), LR 29:2449 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2917 (November 2005). 

§560. Required Disclosure Provisions 

A. General Rules 

1. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 

include a renewal or continuation provision. The language or 

specifications of the provision shall be consistent with the 

type of contract issued. The provision shall be appropriately 

captioned and shall appear on the first page of the policy, 

and shall include any reservation by the issuer of the right to 

change premiums and any automatic renewal premium 

increases based on the policyholder's age. 

2. Except for riders or endorsements by which the 

issuer effectuates a request made in writing by the insured, 

exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare 

supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate 

benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all riders 

or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement policy 

after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal which 

reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the policy shall 

require a signed acceptance by the insured. After the date of 

policy or certificate issue, any rider or endorsement which 

increases benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase 

in premium during the policy term shall be agreed to, in 

writing, signed by the insured, unless the benefits are 

required by the minimum standards for Medicare 

supplement policies, or if the increased benefits or coverage 

is required by law. Where a separate additional premium is 

charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or 

endorsements, the premium charge shall be set forth in the 

policy. 

3. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall 
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not provide for the payment of benefits based on standards 

described as "usual and customary," "reasonable and 

customary" or words of similar import. 

4. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

contains any limitations with respect to preexisting 

conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate 

paragraph of the policy and be labeled as "Preexisting 

Condition Limitations." 

5. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 

have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 

policy or certificate stating in substance that the policyholder 

or certificateholder shall have the right to return the policy 

or certificate within 30 days of its delivery and to have the 

premium refunded if, after examination of the policy or 

certificate, the insured person is not satisfied for any reason. 

6.a. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or 

certificates which provide hospital or medical expense 

coverage on an expense incurred or indemnity basis to 

persons eligible for Medicare shall provide to those 

applicants a Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare in the form developed jointly by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners and CMS and in a 

type size no smaller than 12 point type. Delivery of the 

Guide shall be made whether or not the policies or 

certificates are advertised, solicited, or issued as Medicare 

supplement policies or certificates, as defined in this 

regulation. Except in the case of direct response issuers, 

delivery of the Guide shall be made to the applicant at the 

time of application, and acknowledgement of receipt of the 

Guide shall be obtained by the issuer. Direct response issuers 

shall deliver the Guide to the applicant upon request but not 

later than at the time the policy is delivered. 

b. For the purposes of this Section, form means the 

language, format, type size, type proportional spacing, bold 

character, and line spacing. 

B. Notice Requirements 

1. As soon as practicable, but no later than 30 days 

prior to the annual effective date of any Medicare benefit 

changes, an issuer shall notify its policyholders and 

certificateholders of modifications it has made to Medicare 

supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format 

acceptable to the commissioner. The notice shall: 

a. include a description of revisions to the Medicare 

program and a description of each modification made to the 

coverage provided under the Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate; and 

b. inform each policyholder or certificateholder as 

to when any premium adjustment is to be made due to 

changes in Medicare. 

2. The notice of benefit modifications and any 

premium adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear 

and simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension. 

3. The notices shall not contain or be accompanied by 

any solicitation. 

C. MMA Notice Requirements. Issuers shall comply 

with any notice requirements of the Medicare Prescription 

Drug, Improvement, and Modernization Act of 2003. 

D. Outline of Coverage Requirements for Medicare 

Supplement Policies 

1. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all 

applicants at the time application is presented to the 

prospective applicant and, except for direct response 

policies, shall obtain an acknowledgement of receipt of the 

outline from the applicant; and 

2. if an outline of coverage is provided at the time of 

application and the Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate is issued on a basis which would require revision 

of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage properly 

describing the policy or certificate shall accompany the 

policy or certificate when it is delivered and contain the 

following statement, in no less than 12 point type, 

immediately above the company name: 

"NOTICE: Read this outline of coverage carefully. It is not 

identical to the outline of coverage provided upon application 

and the coverage originally applied for has not been issued." 

3.a. the outline of coverage provided to applicants 

pursuant to this Section consists of four parts: 

 i. a cover page; 

 ii. premium information; 

 iii. disclosure pages; and 

 iv. charts displaying the features of all benefit 

plans available by the issuer; 

b. the outline of coverage shall be in the language 

and format prescribed below in no less than 12 point type. 

All plans A-L shall be shown on the cover page, and each 

Medicare supplement policy and certificate currently 

available by an issuer shall be prominently identified. 

Premium information for plans that are available shall be 

shown on the cover page or immediately following the cover 

page and shall be prominently displayed. The premium and 

mode shall be stated for all plans that are available to the 

prospective applicant. All possible premiums for the 

prospective applicant shall be illustrated; 

4. the following items shall be included in the outline 

of coverage in the order prescribed below. 
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Benefit Chart of Medicare Supplement Plans Sold for Effective Dates on or After June 1, 2010 

 This chart shows the benefits included in each of the standard Medicare supplement plans. Every company must make Plan “A” available. Some 

plans may not be available in Louisiana. 

Basic Benefits: 

• Hospitalization – Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional days after Medicare benefits end. 

• Medical Expenses – Part B coinsurance (generally 20% of Medicare-approved expenses) or copayments for hospital outpatient services. 
Plans K, L and N require insureds to pay a portion of Part B coinsurance or co-payments. 

• Blood – First three pints of blood each year. 

• Hospice – Part A coinsurance 
 

A B C D F F* G 

Basic, including 
100% Part B 

coinsurance 

Basic, including 
100% Part B 

coinsurance 

Basic, including 
100% Part B 

coinsurance 

Basic, including 
100% Part B 

coinsurance 

Basic, including 
100% Part B 

coinsurance* 

Basic, including 
100% Part B 

coinsurance 

          Skilled 

Nursing Facility  
Coinsurance 

Skilled 

Nursing Facility 
Coinsurance 

Skilled 

Nursing Facility 
Coinsurance 

Skilled 

Nursing Facility 
Coinsurance 

  Part A 

Deductible 

Part A 

Deductible 

Part A 

Deductible 

Part A 

Deductible 

Part A 

Deductible 

        Part B 

Deductible 

   Part B 

Deductible 

   

               Part B 
Excess 

(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 

(100%) 

        Foreign  

Travel Emergency 

Foreign 

Travel Emergency 

Foreign  

Travel Emergency 

Foreign  

Travel Emergency 

K L M N 

Hospitalization and 

preventive care paid at 
100%; other basic 

benefits paid at 50% 

Hospitalization and 

preventive care paid at 100%; 
other basic benefits paid at 

75% 

Basic, including 100% Part B 

coinsurance 

Basic, including 100% Part B coinsurance, 

except up to $20 copayment for office 
visit, and up to $50 copayment for ER 

50% Skilled Nursing 

Facility Coinsurance 

75% Skilled Nursing Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled Nursing Facility 

Coinsurance 

Skilled Nursing Facility Coinsurance 

50% Part A Deductible 75% Part A Deductible 50% Part A Deductible Part A Deductible 

        

        

    Foreign Travel Emergency Foreign Travel Emergency 

Out-of-pocket limit 

$[5240]; paid at 100% 

after limit reached 

Out-of-pocket limit $[2620]; 

paid at 100% after limit 

reached 

    

 

*Plan F also has an option called a high deductible Plan F.  This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a 
calendar year $[2240] deductible.  Benefits from high deductible plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses exceed $[2240].  Out-of-

pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy.  These expenses include the Medicare 

deductibles for Part A and Part B, but do not include the plan’s separate foreign travel emergency deductible. 

 

NOTICE [Boldface Type] 

This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs. 

[for agents:] 

Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected with Medicare. 

[for direct response:] 

[insert company's name] is not connected with Medicare. 

This outline of coverage does not give all the details of Medicare coverage. Contact your local Social Security Office or consult Medicare and You for 
more details. 

 

Benefit Chart of Medicare Supplement Plans Sold on or after January 1, 2020 

This chart shows the benefits included in each of the standard Medicare supplement plans. Some plans may not be available. Only applicants’ first 

eligible for Medicare before 2020 may purchase Plans C, F, and high deductible F.  

NOTE: A ✔MEANS 100% OF THE BENEFIT IS PAID. 

Benefits 

Plans Available to All Applicants 

Medicare first eligible 

before 2020 only 

A B D G1 K L M N C F1 

Medicare Part A coinsurance and 

hospital coverage (up to an 
additional 365 days after Medicare 

benefits are used up) 

✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 
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Benefits 

Plans Available to All Applicants 

Medicare first eligible 

before 2020 only 

A B D G1 K L M N C F1 

Medicare Part B 

coinsurance or 

Copayment 
✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ 

✔ 

copays apply
3

 
✔ ✔ 

Blood (first three pints) ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 

Part A hospice care coinsurance or 

copayment 
✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 

Skilled nursing facility 

coinsurance 
  ✔ ✔ 50% 75% ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part A deductible  ✔ ✔ ✔ 50% 75% 50% ✔ ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part B deductible         ✔ ✔ 

Medicare Part B excess 

charges 
   ✔     ✔ ✔ 

Foreign travel emergency (up to 

plan limits) 
  ✔ ✔   ✔ ✔ ✔ ✔ 

Out-of-pocket limit in 

[2018]
2
 

 
[$5,240]

2
 [$2,620]

2
 

  

 

1 PLANS F AND G ALSO HAVE A HIGH DEDUCTIBLE OPTION WHICH REQUIRE FIRST PAYING A PLAN DEDUCTIBLE OF [$2240] 
BEFORE THE PLAN BEGINS TO PAY. ONCE THE PLAN DEDUCTIBLE IS MET, THE PLAN PAYS 100% OF COVERED SERVICES FOR 

THE REST OF THE CALENDAR YEAR. HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN G DOES NOT COVER THE MEDICARE PART B DEDUCTIBLE. 

HOWEVER, HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLANS F AND G COUNT YOUR PAYMENT OF THE MEDICARE PART B DEDUCTIBLE TOWARD 

MEETING THE PLAN DEDUCTIBLE. 

2 PLANS K AND L PAY 100% OF COVERED SERVICES FOR THE REST OF THE CALENDAR YEAR ONCE YOU MEET THE OUT-OF-

POCKET YEARLY LIMIT. 

3 PLAN N PAYS 100% OF THE PART B COINSURANCE, EXCEPT FOR A CO-PAYMENT OF UP TO $20 FOR SOME OFFICE VISITS AND 

UP TO A $50 CO-PAYMENT FOR EMERGENCY ROOM VISITS THAT DO NOT RESULT IN AN INPATIENT ADMISSION. 

Plan A 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not 
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 

  
First 60 days 

 

 
 61st thru 90th day 

 

 
 91st day and after: 

 

 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 

 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

 
 --Additional 365 days 

 

 
 --Beyond the additional 365 days 

 
 

 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

 
All but $[335] a day  

 

 
 

All but $[670] a day 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
$0 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
$[335] a day  

 

 
 

 

$[670] a day 
 

 

 
100% of Medicare Eligible 

Expenses 

 
$0 

 
 

 

 
$[1340] (Part A deductible) 

 

 
$0 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
$0** 

 

 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements 

including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-

approved facility within 30 days after 

leaving the hospital 
 

First 20 days  
 

21st thru 100th day 

 
101st day and after 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

All approved amounts 
 

All but $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

Up to $[167.50] a day 

 
All costs 

Blood 

First 3 pints 

 
Additional amounts 

 

$0 

 
100% 

 

3 pints 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 
$0 
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Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's 

requirements, including a doctor's 
certification of terminal illness. 

 

All but very limited 

copayment/coinsurance for out-
patient drugs and inpatient respite 

care 

 

 

Medicare copayment/ 
Coinsurance 

 

 

$0 

**NOTE:  When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 

from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

Plan A 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible 
will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital 
and Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 

such as physician's services, inpatient and 

outpatient medical and surgical services and 
supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic 

tests, durable medical equipment, 

 
First $[183] of Medicare Approved Amounts* 

 

Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Generally, 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Generally, 20% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 

$0 

Part B Excess Charges 

(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 

All Costs 

Blood 

 
First 3 pints 

 

Next $[183] of Medicare Approved Amounts* 
 

Remainder of Medicare Approved  Amounts 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 
 

80% 

 

 
All Costs 

 

$0 
 

20% 

 

 
$0 

 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 
 

$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services—Tests for 

Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 
Plan A 

Parts A and B 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 
--Medically necessary skilled care services and 

medical supplies 

--Durable medical equipment 
 First $[183] of Medicare Approved 

Amounts* 

 Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 

 
100% 

 

 
$0 

 

80% 

 

 
$0 

 

 
$0 

 

20% 

 

 
$0 

 

 
$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 

$0 

 
Plan B 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not 

received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 
 

First 60 days 

  

61st thru 90th day 

 

91st day and after: 
 

 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 

 
 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

 

 --Additional 365 days 
 

--Beyond the additional 365 days 

 

 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 

 

All but $[670] a day 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 

 

 
$[1340] (Part A Deductible) 

 

$[335] a day 

 

$[670] a day 

 
 

 

 
 

100% of Medicare Eligible 

Expenses 
 

$0 

 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 

 

$0 
 

 

 
 

 

$0** 
 

All Costs 
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Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at least 3 

days and entered a Medicare-approved facility 

within 30 days after leaving the hospital 
 

First 20 days 

 
21st thru 100th day 

 

101st day and after 

 

 
 

 

 
 

All approved amounts 

 
All but $[167.50] a day 

 

$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
Up to $ [167.50] a day 

 

All costs 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 

 
Additional amounts 

 
 

$0 

 
100% 

 
 

3 pints 

 
$0 

 
 

$0 

 
$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including a doctor's certification of terminal 
illness 

All but very limited 

copayment/coinsurance for 

outpatient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 

Medicare 

Copayment 
/coinsurance 

 

$0 

 

**NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 
from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 
Plan B 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B deductible 
will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital 
and Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as 

physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 

medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, 

durable medical equipment 

 
First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 

Remainder of Medicare- Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Generally, 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Generally, 20% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

$0 

Part B Excess Charges  
(Above  Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 
 

Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 
Remainder of Medicare-Approved  Amounts 

 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

 

80% 

 

 

All Costs 
 

$0 

 
 

 

20% 

 

 

$0 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 
 

$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 

Tests for Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 
Plan B 

Parts A and B 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 
--Medically necessary skilled care services and 

medical supplies 

--Durable medical equipment 
  

First $[183] of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts* 
 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 
 

100% 

 
 

$0 

 
 

80% 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

$0 

 
 

20% 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 
 

$0 
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Plan C 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not 
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 

  
First 60 days 

 

61st thru 90th day 
 

91st day and after: 

  
--While using 60 lifetime reserve days 

 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

  Additional 365 days 
  

Beyond the additional 365 days 

 
 

 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 
 

All but $[670] a day 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

 

 
$[1340] (Part A Deductible) 

 

$[335] a day 
 

$[670] a day 

 
 

100% of Medicare Eligible 

Expenses 
 

$0 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

 

$0** 
 

All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including having been in a hospital for at least 

3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 

facility within 30 days after leaving the 
hospital. 

 

First 20 days 
 

21st thru 100th day 

 
101st day and after 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

All approved amounts 
 

All but $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Up to $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
All costs 

Blood 

 
First 3 pints 

 

Additional amounts 

 

 
$0 

 

100% 

 

 
3 pints 

 

$0 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's 

requirements, including a doctor's 

certification of terminal illness. 

 
All but very limited 

co-payment/coinsurance 

for out-patient drugs 

and inpatient respite 

Care 

 
Medicare co-payment/ 

coinsurance 

 

 
$0 

 

 

**NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 

from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 
Plan C 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B 
Deductible will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital 
and Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as 

physician's services, inpatient and outpatient 

medical and surgical services and supplies, 
physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, 

durable medical equipment, 

 

First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

$0 

 

Generally, 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 

Generally, 20% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

$0 

 

$0 

Part B Excess Charges 
(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

Blood 

 
First 3 pints 

 

Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 
 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

80% 

 

All Costs 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 
 

20% 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services— 

Tests for Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 148 

Plan C 

Parts A and B 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 

 

--Medically necessary skilled  care services 
and medical supplies 

 

--Durable medical equipment 
  

First $[183] of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

  

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

100% 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

 

80% 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 
 

 

20% 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

 

$0 

 
Plan C 

Other Benefits—Not Covered by Medicare 

Foreign Travel—Not Covered By Medicare 

Medically necessary emergency care services 

beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

 

First $250 each calendar year 
 

Remainder of Charges  

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

80% to a lifetime maximum 

benefit of $50,000 

 

 

 
 

 

$250 
 

20% and amounts over the 

$50,000 lifetime maximum 

 
Plan D 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and 

have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 
  

First 60 days 

  
 

61st thru 90th day 

 
 

91st day and after: 

 
--While using 60 lifetime reserve days 

 

--Once lifetime reserve days are used: 
 

---Additional 365 days 
 

---Beyond the additional 365 days 

 

 

 
 

All but $[1340]  

 
 

All but $[335] a day 

 
 

 

All but $[670] a day 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

$0 

 

 

 
 

$[1340] (Part A Deductible) 

 
$[335] a day 

 

 
 

 

$[670] a day 
 

 

 
 

100% of Medicare Eligible 
Expenses 

$0 

 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

$0 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
 

$0** 
 

All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 

least 3 days and entered a Medicare-

approved facility within 30 days after leaving 
the hospital 

 

First 20 days 
 

21st thru 100th day 

 
101st day and after 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

All approved amounts 
All but $[167.50] a day 

 

$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Up to $[167.50] a day 

 
 

$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

All costs 
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Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Blood 

 
First 3 pints 

 

Additional amounts 

 

 
$0 

 

100% 

 

 
3 pints 

 

$0 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including a doctor's certification of terminal 

illness. 

 
All but very limited co-payment/ 

coinsurance for out-patient drugs 

and inpatient respite care 

 
Medicare 

copayment/coinsurance 

 

 
$0 

 

 

**NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 
from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 
Plan D 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B 

Deductible will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the 

Hospital and Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 

such as physician's services, inpatient and 
outpatient medical and surgical services and 

supplies, physical and speech therapy, 

diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment, 
 

First $[183] of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts* 
 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

Generally, 80% 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

Generally, 20% 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 
 

$0 

Part B Excess Charges  
(Above  Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 
 

Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts* 
 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

80% 

 

 

All Costs 
 

$0 

 
 

20% 

 

 

$0 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 
 

$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services— 

Tests For Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 
Plan D (continued) 

Parts A and B 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 
  

--Medically necessary skilled care services 

and medical supplies 
 

--Durable medical equipment 

 
 First $[183] of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts* 

 
 Remainder of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts 

 

 
 

 

100% 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
 

80% 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
 

20% 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 

 
 

$0 
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Plan D 

Other Benefits—Not Covered by Medicare 

Foreign Travel—Not Covered by 

Medicare  

Medically necessary emergency care 

services beginning during the first 60 days 
of each trip outside the USA 

 

 First $250 each calendar year 
 

 Remainder of Charges  

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 

$50,000 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$250 
 

20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

 
Plan F or High Deductible Plan F 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

    *A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have 

 been out of the hospital and have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

[**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$2240] deductible. Benefits from 

the high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$2240]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that 
would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate 

foreign travel emergency deductible.] 

Services Medicare Pays 

[After You Pay [$2240] 

Deductible,**  

Plan Pays] 

[In Addition to [$2240] 

Deductible,**  

You Pay] 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general 

nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 

 

 First 60 days 
 

 61st thru 90th day 

 
 91st day and after: 

 

 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

 

 Additional 365 days 
 

 Beyond the additional 365 days 

 

 

 
 

 

All but $[1340]  
 

All but $[335] a day 

 
All but $[670] a day 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 

$[1340] (Part A Deductible) 
$[335] a day 

 

$[670] a day 
 

 

 
 

100% of Medicare Eligible 

Expenses 
 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including having been in a hospital for at 

least 3 days and entered a Medicare-

approved facility within 30 days after 
leaving the hospital 

 

  First 20 days 
 

 21st thru 100th day 

 
 101st day and after 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

All approved amounts 
 

All but $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Up to $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
All costs 

Blood 

 
First 3 pints 

 

Additional amounts 

 

 
$0 

 

100% 

 

 
3 pints 

 

$0 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including a doctor's certification of terminal 

illness. 

All but very limited co-
payment/coinsurance for out-

patient drugs and 

inpatient respite care 

 
Medicare co-

payment/coinsurance 

 

 
$0 

 

 

***NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 
from billing you for the balance on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan F or High Deductible Plan F (Continued) 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

    *Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B 
Deductible will have been met for the calendar year. 

 

[**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$2240] deductible. Benefits from 
the high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$2240]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that 

would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate 

foreign travel emergency deductible.] 

Services Medicare Pays 
[After You Pay $2240  

Deductible,** Plan Pays] 

[In Addition to $2240  

Deductible,** You Pay] 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital and 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as physician's 

services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical 

services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment, 

 

 First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 
 

  Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Generally, 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 
 

Generally, 20% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

Part B Excess Charges  
(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 100% $0 

Blood 

First 3 pints 

Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 
$0 

$0 
80% 

 
All Costs 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 
20% 

 
$0 

$0 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services— 

Tests For Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 
Plan F or High Deductible Plan F 

Parts A and B 

Services Medicare Pays 
After You Pay $2240 

Deductible,** 

Plan Pays 

In Addition to $2240  

Deductible,** 

You Pay 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 
 

 --Medically necessary skilled  care services and 
medical supplies 

 

 --Durable medical equipment 
 

 First $[183] of Medicare-Approved  Amounts* 

 
 Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 
 

100% 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
80% 

 

 
 

$0 
 

 

 
 

$[183] (Part B Deductible) 

 
20% 

 

 
 

$0 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 
Plan F or High Deductible Plan F (Continued) 

Other Benefits—Not Covered by Medicare 

Services Medicare Pays 

After You Pay $2240 

Deductible,** 

Plan Pays 

In Addition to $2240 

Deductible,** 

You Pay 

Foreign Travel—Not Covered by Medicare 

Medically necessary emergency care services 

beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

 

  First $250 each calendar year 

 

 Remainder of Charges  

 

 

 
 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 

$0 

 

80% to a lifetime maximum 

benefit of $50,000 

 

 

 
 

 

$250 

 

20% and amounts over 

the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 
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Plan G or High Deductible Plan G 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and 
have not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

 
[**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan G after you have paid a calendar year [$2240] deductible.  Benefits from the high 

deductible Plan G will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$2240]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible include expenses for the 
Medicare Part B deductible, and expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This does not include the plan’s separate foreign travel 

emergency deductible.] 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay 

$[2240]Deductible,** 

Plan Pays 

In Addition to $[2240] 

Deductible,** 

You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 

 
 First 60 days 

 

61st thru 90th day 
 

 91st day and after: 

 

 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 

 

 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 
 

  Additional 365 days 

 
Beyond the additional 365 days 

 
 

 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 
 

All but $[670] a day 

 

 

 

 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 
 

 

 
$[1340] (Part A Deductible) 

 

$[335] a day 
 

$ [670] a day 

 

 

 

 
100% of Medicare Eligible 

Expenses 

 
$0 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 

 

 

 
 

$0*** 

 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including having been in a hospital for at 
least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved 

facility within 30 days after leaving the 

hospital 
 

  First 20 days 
 

 21st thru 100th day 

 
 101st day and after 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

All approved amounts 
 

All but $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

Up to $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 
 

$0 

 
All costs 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 
 

Additional amounts 

 

 

$0 
 

100% 

 

 

3 pints 
 

$0 

 

 

$0 
 

$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 
including a doctor's certification of terminal 

illness. 

 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance for out-

patient drugs and inpatient 

respite care 

 

Medicare 
co-payment/coinsurance 

 

 

$0 
 

 

***NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 
from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 

Plan G or High Deductible Plan G  

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B 

Deductible will have been met for the calendar year. 

 

[**This high deductible plan pays the same benefits as Plan G after you have paid a calendar year [$2240] deductible.  Benefits from the high 

deductible Plan G will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$2240]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible include expenses for the 
Medicare Part B deductible, and expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. This does not include the plan’s separate foreign travel 

emergency deductible.] 
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Services Medicare Pays 

After you Pay $[2240] 

Deductibles, ** 

Plan Pays 

In Addition to $[2240] 

Deductible, ** 

You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital and 

Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as physician's 

services, inpatient and outpatient medical and 
surgical services and supplies, physical and speech 

therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical 

equipment, 
 

  First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 
  Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
Generally, 80% 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 
Generally, 20% 

 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$[183] (Unless Part B Deductible 

has been met)] 
$0 

Part B Excess Charges  
(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
$0 

 
100% 

 
$0 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 

 
Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 

80% 

 
 

All Costs 

 
$0 

 

20% 

 
 

$0 

 
$[183] (Unless Part B Deductible 

has been met) 

$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services—Tests For 
Diagnostic Services 

 
100% 

 
$0 

 
$0 

 
Plan G or High Deductible Plan G 

Parts A and B 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 

 --Medically necessary skilled care services and 

medical supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 

 First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

100% 
 

$0 

80% 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

20% 

 
 

 

$0 
$[183] (Unless Part B 

Deductible has been met) 

$0 

 
Other Benefits—Not Covered by Medicare 

Foreign Travel--Not Covered by Medicare  

Medically necessary emergency 

care services beginning during the first 60 days of 
each trip outside the USA 

 

  First $250 each calendar year 
 

 Remainder of Charges  

 

 

 
 

$0 

 
$0 

 

 

 
 

$0 

 
80% to a lifetime maximum 

benefit of $50,000 

 

 

 
 

$250 

 
20% and amounts over the 

$50,000 lifetime maximum 

 
Plan K 

    *You will pay half the cost-sharing of some covered services until you reach the annual out-of-pocket limit of $[5240] each calendar year. The 

amounts that count toward your annual limit are noted with diamonds (♦) in the chart below. Once you reach the annual limit, the plan pays 100% 
of your Medicare co-payment and coinsurance for the rest of the calendar year.  However, this limit does NOT include charges from your provider 

that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the amount 

charged by your provider and the amount paid by Medicare for the item or service. 
 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

 **A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have 
not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Hospitalization** 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and 

miscellaneous services and supplies 

 
  First 60 days 

 

  61st thru 90th day 
 

  91st day and after: 

 

 
 

 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 
 

All but $[670] a day 

 

 
 

 

 
$[670] (50% of Part A 

deductible) 

$ [335] a day 
 

$ [670] a day 

 

 
 

 

 
$[670] (50% of Part A 

deductible)♦ 

$0 
 

$0 
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Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

  --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 

 
  --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

 

  --Additional 365 days 
 

  --Beyond the additional 365 days 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 

100% of Medicare eligible 
expenses 

 

$0 

 

 
$0*** 

 

All costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care** 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, including 
having been in a hospital for at least 3 days and 

entered a Medicare-approved facility within 30 days 

after leaving the hospital  
 

  First 20 days 

 
 

 21st thru 100th day 

 
 

 101st day and after 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

All approved amounts 

 

 

All but $[167.50] a day 

 
 

$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 

 

Up to $[83.75] a day (50% 

of Part A Coinsurance) 
$0 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

$0 

 

 

Up to $[83.75] a day (50% of 

Part A Coinsurance) ♦ 
All costs 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 

 
Additional amounts 

 
 

$0 

 
100% 

 
 

50% 

 
$0 

 
 

50%♦ 

 
$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, including 

a doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

 

All but very limited 

copayment/coinsurance 
for outpatient drugs and 

inpatient respite care  

 

50% of co-

payment/coinsurance 
 

 

50% of Medicare  

co-payment/coinsurance ♦ 

***NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 

from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 
Plan K 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

****Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B deductible 
will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital and 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as Physician's 

services, inpatient and outpatient medical and 

surgical services and supplies, physical and speech 
therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical 

equipment, 

 
 First $[183] of Medicare Approved 

Amounts**** 

 
 Preventive Benefits for Medicare covered 

services 

 

 Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Generally 80%  or more of 

Medicare approved amounts 

 

Generally 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Remainder of Medicare 

approved amounts 

 

Generally 10% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$[183] (Part B deductible)**** ♦ 
 

All costs above Medicare 

approved amounts 

 

Generally 10% ♦ 

Part B Excess Charges 

(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) 
 
$0 

 
$0 

All costs (and they do not count 
toward annual out-of-pocket 

limit of $[5240])* 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 

 

Next $[183] of Medicare Approved 
   Amounts**** 

 

Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 
 

 

 
Generally 80% 

 

 
50% 

 

$0 
 

 

 
Generally 10% 

 

 
50%♦ 

 

$[183] (Part B deductible)**** ♦ 
 

 

Generally 10% ♦ 
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Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Clinical Laboratory Services— 

Tests For Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

*This plan limits your annual out-of-pocket payments for Medicare-approved amounts to $ [5240] per year. However, this limit does NOT include 

charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this 

difference in the amount charged by your provider and the amount paid by Medicare for the item or service. 
 

Plan K 

Parts A and B 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 

 

--Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

 

--Durable medical equipment 
 

    First $[183] of Medicare Approved 

Amounts***** 
 

   Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

100% 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

80% 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

10% 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
 

 

$[183] (Part B deductible) ♦ 
 

10%♦ 

*****Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare. 

 
Plan L 

*You will pay one-fourth of the cost-sharing of some covered services until you reach the annual out-of-pocket limit of $[2620] each calendar year. 
The amounts that count toward your annual limit are noted with diamonds (♦) in the chart below. Once you reach the annual limit, the plan pays 

100% of your Medicare co-payment and coinsurance for the rest of the calendar year. However, this limit does NOT include charges from your 

provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this difference in the 
amount charged by your provider and the amount paid by Medicare for the item or service. 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

**A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have 
not received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Hospitalization** 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and 
miscellaneous services and supplies 

 

 First 60 days 

 

 61st thru 90th day 

 
 91st day and after: 

 

--While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 

--Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

 
--Additional 365 days 

 

--Beyond the additional 365 days 

 

 
 

 

All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 

 
 

 

All but $[670] a day 
 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 

 
 

$[1005] (75% of Part A 

deductible) 

 

$[335] a day 

 
 

 

$[670] a day 
 

 

100% of Medicare eligible 
expenses 

 

$0 

 

 
 

$[335] (25% of Part A 

deductible)♦ 

 

$0 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
$0*** 

 

All costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care** 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, including 

having been in a hospital for at least 3 days and 
entered a Medicare-approved facility within 30 

days after leaving the hospital  

 
 First 20 days 

 

 21st thru 100th day 
 

 101st day and after 

 

 

 
 

 

 
All approved amounts 

 

All but $[167.50] a day 
 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Up to $[125.63] a day (75% 
of Part A Coinsurance) 

$0  

 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Up to $[41.8] a day (25% of 
Part A Coinsurance) ♦ 

All costs 

Blood 

 

First 3 pints 

 

Additional amounts 

 

 
$0 

 

100% 

 

 
75% 

 

$0 

 

 
25%♦ 

 

$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including a doctor's certification of terminal illness. 

All but very limited 
copayment/coinsurance 

for outpatient drugs and 

inpatient respite care 

 
 

75% of co-

payment/coinsurance  

 
 

25% of co-

payment/coinsurance♦  
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***NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited 

from billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

Plan L 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

****Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B deductible 
will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital and 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as Physician's 

services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical 

services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment, 

 

First $[183] of Medicare Approved Amounts**** 
 

 

Preventive Benefits for Medicare covered services 
 

 

 
 

Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
Generally 80%  or more of 

Medicare approved amounts 

 
Generally 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

 
Remainder of Medicare 

approved amounts  

 
 

Generally 15% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$[183] (Part B deductible)**** ♦ 
 

 

All costs above Medicare 
approved amounts 

 

 
 

Generally 5% ♦ 

Part B Excess Charges 

(Above Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 $0 

All costs (and they do not count 

toward annual out-of-pocket 
limit of $[2620])* 

Blood 

First 3 pints 
 

Next $[183] of Medicare Approved Amounts**** 

 
Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
 

Generally 80% 

 

75% 
 

$0 

 
 

Generally 15% 

 

25%♦ 
 

$[183] (Part B deductible) ♦ 

 
Generally 5%♦ 

Clinical Laboratory Services— 
Tests For Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

*This plan limits your annual out-of-pocket payments for Medicare-approved amounts to $[2620] per year. However, this limit does NOT include 

charges from your provider that exceed Medicare-approved amounts (these are called "Excess Charges") and you will be responsible for paying this 

difference in the amount charged by your provider and the amount paid by Medicare for the item or service. 

 

 
Plan L 

Parts A and B 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay* 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 
 

--Medically necessary skilled care services and medical 

supplies 
 

--Durable medical equipment First $[183] of Medicare 

Approved Amounts***** 
 

Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 

 
 

100% 

 
 

$0 

 
 

80% 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

$0 

 
 

15% 

 

 
 

$0 

 
 

$[183] (Part B deductible) ♦ 

 
5% ♦ 

*****Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare. 
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Plan M 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not 

received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 

 First 60 days 
 

61st thru 90th day 

 
91st day and after: 

 

 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 

Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

--Additional 365 days 
 

--Beyond the additional 365 days 

 
 

 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 
 

 

 
All but $[670] a day 

 

$0 
 

 

$0 

 
 

 

$[670] (50% of Part A 
deductible) 

 

$[335] a day 
 

 

 
$[670] a day 

 

100% of Medicare Eligible 
Expenses 

 

$0 

 
 

 

$[670] (50% of Part A 
deductible) 

 

$0 
 

 

 
$0 

 

$0** 
 

 

All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including having been in a hospital for at 

least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 

leaving the hospital 

  First 20 days 
 

    21st thru 100th day 

 
    101st day and after 

 
 

 

 
 

 

All approved amounts 
 

All but $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Up to $[167.50] a day 

 
$0 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
All costs 

Blood 

First 3 pints 
 

Additional amounts 

 

$0 
 

100% 

 

3 pints 
 

$0 

 

$0 
 

$0 

Hospice care 

You must meet Medicare’s requirements, 
including a doctor’s certification of terminal 

illness.  

All but very limited co-

payment/coinsurance for outpatient 
drugs and 

inpatient respite care 

 

Medicare co-
payment/coinsurance 

 

$0 

**NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time, the hospital is prohibited from 

billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 
Plan M 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B deductible will 
have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the Hospital and 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, such as physician's services, 

inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical services and 

supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, 
durable medical equipment 

 

First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 
  

Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Generally 80% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

Generally 20% 

 
 

 

 
 

 

$[183] (Part B deductible) 
 

$0 

Part B Excess Charges  
(Above  Medicare-Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

Blood 

First 3 pints 

 

Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 

Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 
80% 

 

All Costs 
 

$0 

 
20% 

 

$0 
 

$ [183] (Part B deductible) 

 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services—Tests For Diagnostic 

Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 
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Parts A and B 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 

 

Medically necessary skilled care services and medical 
supplies 

 

---Durable medical equipment 
 

---First $[183] of Medicare-Approved Amounts* 

 
---Remainder of Medicare Approved Amounts 

 
 

 

 
100% 

 

 
 

$0 

 
80% 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
 

$0 

 
20% 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

 
 

$[183] (Part B deductible) 

 
$0 

 
Other Benefits—Not Covered by Medicare 

Foreign Travel--Not Covered by Medicare 

Medically necessary emergency care services 

beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

 

First $250 each calendar year 
 

Remainder of Charges  

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 

$0 
 

80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 

$50,000 

 

 

 
 

 

$250 
 

20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

 
Plan N 

Medicare (Part A)—Hospital Services—Per Benefit Period 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not 

received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Hospitalization* 

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing 

and miscellaneous services and supplies 
 

First 60 days 
 

61st thru 90th day 

  

91st day and after: 

 

 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 

Once lifetime reserve days are used: 

--Additional 365 days 
 

--Beyond the additional 365 days 

 

 

 
 

 
All but $[1340]  

 

All but $[335] a day 

 

All but $[670] a day 

 
 

 

$0 
 

 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 
$[1340] (Part A deductible) 

 

$[335] a day 

 

 

 
$[670] a day 

 

100% of Medicare Eligible 
Expenses 

 

$0 

 

 

 
 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 

 

 
$0 

 

$0** 
 

 

All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's requirements, 

including having been in a hospital for at 

least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after 

leaving the hospital 

 
First 20 days 

 

21st thru 100th day 

 

101st day and after 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
All approved amounts 

 

All but $[167.50] a  day 

 

$0 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

Up to $ [167.50] a day 

 

$0 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 

 

All costs 

Blood 

First 3 pints 

 

Additional amounts 

 
$0 

 

100% 

 
3 pints 

 

$0 

 
$0 

 

$0 

Hospice Care 

You must meet Medicare’s requirements, 

including a doctor’s certification of terminal 

illness.  

All but very limited co-
payment/coinsurance for outpatient 

drugs and 

inpatient respite care 

 
Medicare co-

payment/coinsurance 

 
$0 

**NOTE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount 

Medicare would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time, the hospital is prohibited from 
billing you for the balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan N (continued) 

Medicare (Part B)—Medical Services—Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $[183] of Medicare-approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B deductible 
will have been met for the calendar year. 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Medical Expenses—In or Out of the 

Hospital and Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, inpatient and 

outpatient medical and surgical services and 

supplies, physical and speech therapy, 
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment 

 
First $[183] of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts* 

  
Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

$0 

 
Generally 80% 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

$0 

 
Balance, other than up to $20 per 

office visit and up to $50 per 

emergency room visit.  The co-
payment of up to $50 is waived if the 

insured is admitted to any hospital 

and the emergency visit is covered as 
a Medicare Part A expense. 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

$[183] (Part B 

deductible) 
Up to $20 per office 

visit and up to $50 per 

emergency room visit.  
The co-payment of up 

to $50 is waived if the 

insured is admitted to 
any hospital and the 

emergency visit is 

covered as a Medicare 
Part A expense. 

Part B Excess Charges  
(Above  Medicare Approved Amounts) $0 $0 All Costs 

Blood 

First 3 pints 

 
Next $[183] of Medicare-Approved 

Amounts* 

 
Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

$0 

 
$0 

 

 
 

80% 

 

All Costs 

 
$0 

 

 
 

20% 

 

$0 

 
$[183] (Part B 

deductible) 

 
 

$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services—Tests for 

Diagnostic Services 

 

100% 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 
Parts A and B 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 

Medicare Approved Services 

Medically necessary skilled care services and 
medical supplies 

Durable medical equipment 

-First $[183] of Medicare-Approved 
Amounts* 

-Remainder of Medicare-Approved Amounts 

 

 

 
100% 

 

$0 
 

80% 

 

 

 
$0 

 

$0 
 

20% 

 

 

 
$0 

$[183] (Part B 

deductible) 
 

$0 

 
Plan N (continued) 

Other Benefits—Not Covered by Medicare 

Foreign Travel – Not Covered By Medicare 

Medically necessary emergency care services 

beginning during the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 

  

First $250 each calendar year 

 

Remainder of Charges  

 
 

 
 

 

$0 

 

$0 

 
 

 
 

 

$0 

 

80% to a lifetime maximum benefit 

of $50,000 

 
 

 
 

 

$250 

 

20% and amounts over 

the $50,000 lifetime 
maximum 

 

E. Notice Regarding Policies or Certificates Which Are 

Not Medicare Supplement Policies 

1. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or 

certificate, other than a Medicare supplement policy; a 

policy issued pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of 

the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. §1395 et seq.), 

disability income policy; or other policy identified in §502.B 

of this regulation, issued for delivery in this state to persons 

eligible for Medicare shall notify insureds under the policy 

that the policy is not a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to 

the first page of the outline of coverage delivered to insureds 

under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is delivered, to 

the first page of the policy, or certificate delivered to 

insureds. The notice shall be in no less than 12 point type 

and shall contain the following language: 
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"This [policy or certificate] is not a Medicare supplement 
[policy or contract]. If you are eligible for Medicare, review 

the Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare 

available from the company." 

2. Applications provided to persons eligible for 

Medicare for the health insurance policies or certificates 

described in Paragraph E.1 shall disclose, using the 

applicable statement in §598, Appendix C, the extent to 

which the policy duplicates Medicare. The disclosure 

statement shall be provided as a part of, or together with, the 

application for the policy or certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective, January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1495 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2449 

(November 2003), LR 31:2918 (November 2005), LR 35:1121 

(June 2009), LR 44:2190 (December 2018), repromulgated LR 

45:46 (January 2019). 

§565. Requirements for Application Forms and 

Replacement Coverage 

A. Application forms shall include the following 

questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of 

the date of the application, the applicant currently has 

Medicare supplement, Medicare Advantage, Medicaid 

coverage, or any other health insurance policy or certificate 

in force or whether a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate is intended to replace any other accident and 

sickness policy or certificate presently in force. A 

supplementary application or other form to be signed by the 

applicant and agent containing such questions and 

statements may be used. 

B. An application for a Medicare supplement policy 

shall not be combined with an application for any other type 

of insurance coverage. The application may not make 

reference to or include questions regarding other types of 

insurance coverage except for those questions specifically 

required under this Section. 

1. [Statements] 

a. You do not need more than one Medicare 

supplement policy. 

b. If you purchase this policy, you may want to 

evaluate your existing health coverage and decide if you 

need multiple coverages. 

c. You may be eligible for benefits under Medicaid 

and may not need a Medicare supplement policy. 

d. If after purchasing this policy, you become 

eligible for Medicaid, the benefits and premiums under your 

Medicare supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, 

during your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid for 24 

months. You must request this suspension within 90 days of 

becoming eligible for Medicaid. If you are no longer entitled 

to Medicaid, your suspended Medicare supplement policy 

or, if that is no longer available, a substantially equivalent 

policy will be reinstituted if requested within 90 days of 

losing Medicaid eligibility. If the Medicare supplement 

policy provided coverage for outpatient prescription drugs 

and you enrolled in Medicare Part D while your policy was 

suspended, the reinstituted policy will not have outpatient 

prescription drug coverage, but will otherwise be 

substantially equivalent to your coverage before the date of 

the suspension. 

e. If you are eligible for, and have enrolled in a 

Medicare supplement policy by reason of disability and you 

later become covered by an employer or union-based group 

health plan, the benefits and premiums under your Medicare 

supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, while you 

are covered under the employer or union-based group health 

plan. If you suspend your Medicare supplement policy under 

these circumstances, and later lose your employer or union-

based group health plan, your suspended Medicare 

supplement policy (or, if that is no longer available, a 

substantially equivalent policy) will be reinstituted if 

requested within 90 days of losing your employer or union-

based group health plan. If the Medicare supplement policy 

provided coverage for outpatient prescription drugs and you 

enrolled in Medicare Part D while your policy was 

suspended, the reinstituted policy will not have outpatient 

prescription drug coverage, but will otherwise be 

substantially equivalent to your coverage before the date of 

the suspension. 

f. Counseling services may be available in your 

state to provide advice concerning your purchase of 

Medicare supplement insurance and concerning medical 

assistance through the state Medicaid program, including 

benefits as a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a 

Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB). 

2. [Questions] 

a. If you lost or are losing other health insurance 

coverage and received a notice from your prior insurer 

saying you were eligible for guaranteed issue of a Medicare 

supplement insurance policy, or that you had certain rights to 

buy such a policy, you may be guaranteed acceptance in one 

or more of our Medicare supplement plans. Please include a 

copy of the notice from your prior insurer with your 

application. Please answer all questions. [Please mark Yes or 

No below with an "X"] 

 i. To the best of your knowledge: 

(a).  Did you turn age 65 in the last 6 months? 

Yes____  No____ 

(b).  Did you enroll in Medicare Part B in the last  

6 months? Yes____  No____ 

(c).If yes, what is the effective date? 

_______________ 

 ii. Are you covered for medical assistance through the 

state Medicaid program? Yes____ No____  

If yes: 

[NOTE TO APPLICANT: If you are participating in a 
"Spend-Down Program" and have not met your "Share of 

Cost," please answer NO to this question.] 

(a). Will Medicaid pay your premiums for this 

Medicare supplement policy?  Yes____  No____ 

(b). Do you receive any benefits from Medicaid 
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OTHER THAN payments toward your Medicare Part B 

premium?  Yes____  No____ 

 iii.(a). If you had coverage from any Medicare plan other 

than original Medicare within the past 63 days (for example, a 
Medicare Advantage plan, or a Medicare HMO or PPO), fill in 

your start and end dates below. If you are still covered under 

this plan, leave "END" blank. 

START __/__/__ END __/__/__ 

(b). If you are still covered under the Medicare plan, 

do you intend to replace your current coverage with this new 

Medicare supplement policy?  Yes____  No____ 

(c). Was this your first time in this type of Medicare 

plan?  Yes____  No____ 

(d). Did you drop a Medicare supplement policy to 

enroll in the Medicare plan?  Yes____  No____ 

 iv.(a). Do you have another Medicare supplement policy in 

force?  Yes____  No____ 

(b). If so, with what company, and what plan do you 

have [optional for Direct Mailers]? 

_______________________________________________ 

(c). If so, do you intend to replace your current 

Medicare supplement policy with this policy? Yes____ 

No____ 

 v. Have you had coverage under any other health 

insurance within the past 63 days? (For example, an employer, 

union, or individual plan)  Yes____  No____ 

(a). If so, with what company and what kind of 

policy?  _________________________________________ 

________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________ 

(b). What are your dates of coverage under the other 

policy?  START __/__/__ END __/__/__ 

(If you are still covered under the other policy, leave "END" 

blank.) 

C. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies 

they have sold to the applicant: 

1. list policies sold which are still in force; 

2. list policies sold in the past five years, which are no 

longer in force. 

D. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the 

application or supplemental form, signed by the applicant, 

and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the 

applicant by the insurer upon delivery of the policy. 

E. Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement 

of Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer, other than a 

direct response issuer, or its agent, shall furnish the 

applicant, prior to issuance or delivery of the Medicare 

supplement policy or certificate, a notice regarding 

replacement of Medicare supplement coverage. One copy of 

the notice, signed by the applicant and the agent, except 

where the coverage is sold without an agent, shall be 

provided to the applicant and an additional signed copy shall 

be retained by the issuer. A direct response issuer shall 

deliver to the applicant, at the time of the issuance of the 

policy, the notice regarding replacement of Medicare 

supplement coverage. 

F. The notice required by Subsection E above for an 

issuer shall be provided in substantially the following form 

in no less than 12 point type. 

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT 

OF MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

OR MEDICARE ADVANTAGE 

[Insurance company's name and address] 

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT 

TO YOU IN THE FUTURE. 

According to [your application] [information you have furnished], you 
intend to terminate existing Medicare supplement or Medicare Advantage 

insurance and replace it with a policy to be issued by [Company Name] 

Insurance Company. Your new policy will provide 30 days within which 

you may decide without cost whether you desire to keep the policy. 

You should review this new coverage carefully. Compare it with all 

accident and sickness coverage you now have. If, after due consideration, 
you find that purchase of this Medicare supplement coverage is a wise 

decision, you should terminate your present Medicare supplement or 

Medicare Advantage coverage. You should evaluate the need for other 

accident and sickness coverage you have that may duplicate this policy. 

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY ISSUER, AGENT  

[BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]: 

I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance coverage. To 

the best of my knowledge, this Medicare supplement policy will not 

duplicate your existing Medicare supplement or, if applicable, Medicare 
advantage coverage because you intend to terminate your existing Medicare 

supplement coverage or leave your Medicare advantage plan. The 

replacement policy is being purchased for the following reason (check one): 

_____ Additional benefits. 

_____ No change in benefit, but lower premiums. 

_____ Fewer benefits and lower premiums. 

_____ My plan has outpatient prescription drug coverage and I am 

enrolling in Part D. 

_____ Disenrollment from a Medicare advantage plan. Please explain 

reason for disenrollment. [optional only for Direct Mailers.] 

________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________ 

Other. (please specify) _____________________________________ 

________________________________________________________ 

1. Note: If the issuer of the Medicare supplement policy being applied 

for does not, or is otherwise prohibited from imposing pre-existing 

condition limitations, please skip to Statement 2 below. Health conditions 
which you may presently have (preexisting conditions) may not be 

immediately or fully covered under the new policy. This could result in 

denial or delay of a claim for benefits under the new policy, whereas a 

similar claim might have been payable under your present policy. 

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or certificate may 

not contain new preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods 

or probationary periods. The insurer will waive any time periods applicable 

to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods, or 

probationary periods in the new policy (or coverage) to the extent such time 

was spent (depleted) under the original policy. 

3. If, you still wish to terminate your present policy and replace it with 

new coverage, be certain to truthfully and completely answer all questions 
on the application concerning your medical and health history. Failure to 

include all material medical information on an application may provide a 

basis for the company to deny any future claims and to refund your 
premium as though your policy had never been in force. After the 

application has been completed and before you sign it, review it carefully to 

be certain that all information has been properly recorded. [If the policy or 

certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.] 

Do not cancel your present policy until you have received your new 
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policy and are sure that you want to keep it. 

______________________________________________________ 

(Signature of Agent, Broker or Other Representative)* 

[Typed Name and Address of Issuer, Agent or Broker] 

______________________________________________________ 

(Applicant's Signature) 

______________________________________________________ 

(Date) 

*Signature not required for direct response sales. 

G. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the replacement notice 

(applicable to preexisting conditions) may be deleted by an 

issuer if the replacement does not involve application of a 

new preexisting condition limitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1130 (June 1999). 

repromulgated LR 25:1510 (August 1999), LR 29:2474 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2937 (November 2005), LR:35:1135 (June 

2009). 

§570. Filing Requirements for Advertising 

A. An issuer shall provide a copy of any Medicare 

supplement advertisement intended for use in this state 

whether through written, radio or television medium to the 

commissioner of insurance of this state for review and 

approval by the commissioner to the extent permitted under 

the Insurance Code, particularly under R.S. 22:1215. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2939 (November 2005). 

§575. Standards for Marketing 

A. An issuer, directly or through its producers, shall: 

1. establish marketing procedures to assure that any 

comparison of policies by its agents or other producers will 

be fair and accurate; 

2. establish marketing procedures to assure excessive 

insurance is not sold or issued; 

3. display prominently by type, stamp or other 

appropriate means, on the first page of the policy the 

following: 

"Notice to buyer: This policy may not cover all of your 

medical expenses;" 

4. inquire and otherwise make every reasonable effort 

to identify whether a prospective applicant or enrollee for 

Medicare supplement insurance already has accident and 

sickness insurance and the types and amounts of any such 

insurance; 

5. establish auditable procedures for verifying 

compliance with this Subsection A. 

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in Louisiana 

Revised Statutes 22:1211 et seq. the following acts and 

practices are prohibited. 

1. Twisting. Making any misleading representation or 

incomplete or fraudulent comparison of any insurance 

policies or insurers for the purpose of inducing, or tending to 

induce, any person to lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate, 

retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or convert any insurance 

policy or to take out a policy of insurance with another 

insurer. 

2. High Pressure Tactics. Employing any method of 

marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the 

purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether 

explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or 

recommend the purchase of insurance. 

3. Cold Lead Advertising. Making use directly or 

indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to disclose 

in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of 

marketing is solicitation of insurance and that contact will be 

made by an insurance agent or insurance company. 

C. The terms Medicare Supplement, Medigap, Medicare 

Wrap-Around and words of similar import shall not be used 

unless the policy is issued in compliance with this 

regulation. 

D. No insurer providing Medicare supplement insurance 

in this state shall allow its agent to accept premiums except 

by check, money order, or bank draft made payable to the 

insurer. If payment in cash is made, the agent must leave the 

insurer's official receipt with the insured or the person 

paying the premium on behalf of the insured. This receipt 

shall bind the insurer for the monies received by the agent. 

Under this Section, the agent is prohibited from accepting 

checks, money orders and/or bank drafts payable to the 

agent or his agency. The agent is not to leave any receipt 

other than the insurer's for premium paid in cash. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2939 (November 2005). 

§580. Appropriateness of Recommended Purchase and 

Excessive Insurance 

A. In recommending the purchase or replacement of any 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate an agent shall 

make reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of 

a recommended purchase or replacement. 

B. Any sale of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate that will provide an individual more than one 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate is prohibited. 

C. An issuer shall not issue a Medicare supplement 

policy or certificate to an individual enrolled in Medicare 

Part C (Medicare Advantage) unless the effective date of the 

coverage is after the termination date of the individual's  
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Part C coverage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2939 (November 2005). 

§585. Reporting of Multiple Policies 

A. On or before March 1 of each year, an issuer shall 

report the following information for every individual 

resident of this state for which the issuer has in force more 

than one Medicare supplement policy or certificate: 

1. policy and certificate number; and 

2. date of issuance. 

B. The items set forth above must be grouped by 

individual policyholder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2939 (November 2005). 

§590. Prohibition against Preexisting Conditions, 

Waiting Periods, Elimination Periods and 

Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or 

Certificates 

A. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate, 

the replacing issuer shall waive any time periods applicable 

to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination 

periods and probationary periods in the new Medicare 

supplement policy or certificate to the extent such time was 

spent under the original policy. 

B. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate 

which has been in effect for at least six months, the replacing 

policy shall not provide any time period applicable to 

preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods 

and probationary periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2477 (November 

2003), LR 31:2940 (November 2005). 

§591. Prohibition Against Use of Genetic Information 

and Requests for Genetic Testing 

A. This Section applies to all policies with policy years 

beginning on or after May 21, 2009. 

1. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate; 

a.. shall not deny or condition the issuance or 

effectiveness of the policy or certificate (including the 

imposition of any exclusion of benefits under the policy 

based on a pre-existing condition) on the basis of the genetic 

information with respect to such individual; and 

b. shall not discriminate in the pricing of the policy 

or certificate (including the adjustment of premium rates) of 

an individual on the basis of the genetic information with 

respect to such individual. 

2. Nothing in Subsection A.1 shall be construed to 

limit the ability of an issuer, to the extent otherwise 

permitted by law, from 

a. denying or conditioning the issuance or 

effectiveness of the policy or certificate or increasing the 

premium for a group based on the manifestation of a disease 

or disorder of an insured or applicant; or 

b. increasing the premium for any policy issued to 

an individual based on the manifestation of a disease or 

disorder of an individual who is covered under the policy (in 

such case, the manifestation of a disease or disorder in one 

individual cannot also be used as genetic information about 

other group members and to further increase the premium 

for the group). 

3. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall not request or require an individual or a 

family member of such individual to undergo a genetic test.  

4. Subsection A.3 shall not be construed to preclude 

an issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate from 

obtaining and using the results of a genetic test in making a 

determination regarding payment (as defined for the 

purposes of applying the regulations promulgated under Part 

C of Title XI and Section 264 of the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, as may be 

revised from time to time) and consistent with Subsection 

A.1. 

5. For purposes of carrying out Subsection A.4, an 

issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate may 

request only the minimum amount of information necessary 

to accomplish the intended purpose. 

6. Notwithstanding Subsection A.3, an issuer of a 

Medicare supplement policy may request, but not require, 

that an individual or a family member of such individual 

undergo a genetic test if each of the following conditions is 

met: 

a. The request is made pursuant to research that 

complies with Part 46 of Title 45, Code of Federal 

Regulations, or equivalent federal regulations, and any 

applicable state or local law or regulations for the protection 

of human subjects in research. 

b. The issuer clearly indicates to each individual, or 

in the case of a minor child, to the legal guardian of such 

child, to whom the request is made that: 

 i. compliance with the request is voluntary; and 

 ii.  non-compliance will have no effect on 

enrollment status or premium or contribution amounts. 

c. No genetic information collected or acquired 

under this Subsection shall be used for underwriting, 

determination of eligibility to enroll or maintain enrollment 
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status, premium rates, or the issuance, renewal, or 

replacement of a policy or certificate. 

d. The issuer notifies the secretary in writing that 

the issuer is conducting activities pursuant to the exception 

provided for under this Subsection, including a description 

of the activities conducted. 

e. The issuer complies with such other conditions as 

the secretary may by regulation require for activities 

conducted under this Subsection.  

7. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall not request, require, or purchase genetic 

information for underwriting purposes. 

8. An issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall not request, require, or purchase genetic 

information with respect to any individual prior to such 

individual’s enrollment under the policy in connection with 

such enrollment. 

9. If an issuer of a Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate obtains genetic information incidental to the 

requesting, requiring, or purchasing of other information 

concerning any individual, such request, requirement, or 

purchase shall not be considered a violation of Subsection 

A.8 if such request, requirement, or purchase is not in 

violation of Subsection A.7. 

10. For the purposes of this Section only:  

a. Issuer of a Medicare Supplement Policy or 

Certificate—includes third-party administrator, or other 

person acting for or on behalf of such issuer. 

b. Family Member—with respect to an individual, 

any other individual who is a first-degree, second-degree, 

third-degree, or fourth-degree relative of such individual. 

c. Genetic Information—with respect to any 

individual, information about such individual’s genetic tests, 

the genetic tests of family members of such individual, and 

the manifestation of a disease or disorder in family members 

of such individual. Such term includes, with respect to any 

individual, any request for, or receipt of, genetic services, or 

participation in clinical research which includes genetic 

services, by such individual or any family member of such 

individual. Any reference to genetic information concerning 

an individual or family member of an individual, who is a 

pregnant woman, includes genetic information of any fetus 

carried by such pregnant woman, or with respect to an 

individual or family member utilizing reproductive 

technology, includes genetic information of any embryo 

legally held by an individual or family member. The term 

genetic information does not include information about the 

sex or age of any individual. 

d. Genetic Services—a genetic test, genetic 

counseling (including obtaining, interpreting, or assessing 

genetic information), or genetic education. 

e. Genetic Test—an analysis of human DNA, RNA, 

chromosomes, proteins, or metabolites, that detect 

genotypes, mutations, or chromosomal changes. The term 

“genetic test” does not mean an analysis of proteins or 

metabolites that does not detect genotypes, mutations, or 

chromosomal changes; or an analysis of proteins or 

metabolites that is directly related to a manifested disease, 

disorder, or pathological condition that could reasonably be 

detected by a health care professional with appropriate 

training and expertise in the field of medicine involved. 

f. Underwriting Purposes— 

 i. rules for, or determination of, eligibility 

(including enrollment and continued eligibility) for benefits 

under the policy; 

 ii. the computation of premium or contribution 

amounts under the policy; 

 iii. the application of any pre-existing condition 

exclusion under the policy; and 

 iv. other activities related to the creation, renewal, 

or replacement of a contract of health insurance or health 

benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:1135 (June 2009). 

§595. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation, or the 

application to any person or circumstance, is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

provisions or applications of this regulation which can be 

given effect without the invalid section or provision or 

application, and for these purposes the Sections and 

provisions or this regulation, and the applications, are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999), LR 29:2477 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2940 (November 2005). 

 

§596. Appendix A—Calculation Forms 

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION 

FORM FOR CALENDAR YEAR    

Type1  __________________________________  SMSBP2  _______________________________________  

For the State of ___________________________  Company Name  _________________________________  

NAIC Group Code ________________________  NAIC Company Code  _____________________________  
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Address ________________________________  Person Completing Exhibit  _________________________  

Title ___________________________________  Telephone Number  _______________________________  

 
 

LINE  (a) 

Earned Premium3
 

(b) 
Incurred Claims4

 

1. Current Year's Experience   
 a. Total (all policy years)   
 b. Current year's issues5

   
 c. Net (for reporting purposes = 1a-1b   

2. Past Year's Experience (all policy years)   
 

3. 
Total Experience 
(Net Current Year + Past Year) 

  

4. Refunds Last Year (Excluding Interest)  
5. Previous Since Inception (Excluding Interest)  
6. Refunds Since Inception (Excluding Interest)  
7. Benchmark Ratio Since Inception (wee worksheet for Ratio 1)  

 
 

8. 

Experienced Ratio Since Inception (Ratio 2) 
Total Actual Incurred Claims (line 3, col. b) 

Total Earned Prem. (line 3, col. a)-Refunds Since Inception    (line 6) 

 

 
 

9. 

Life Years Exposed Since Inception 
If the Experienced Ratio is less than the Benchmark Ratio, and 
there are more than 500 life years exposure, then proceed to calculation of refund. 

 

10. Tolerance Permitted (obtained from credibility table)  
 

 

Medicare Supplement Credibility Table 

Life Years Exposed 

Since Inception Tolerance 

10,000+ 0.0% 

5,000 – 9,999 5.0% 

2,500 – 4,999 7.5% 

1,000 – 2,499 10.0% 

500 - 999 15.0% 

If less than 500, no credibility. 

1. Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or 

Group Medicare Select Only. 

2. "SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement 
Benefit Plan—Use "P" for pre-standardized plans. 

3. Includes Modal Loadings and Fees Charged 
4. Excludes Active Life Reserves 

5. This is to be used as "Issue Year Earned Premium" for 

Year 1 of next year's "Worksheet for Calculation of 
Benchmark Ratio" 

 

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM 

FOR CALENDAR YEAR 

Type1 ________________________  SMSBP2  __________________  

For the State of_________________ Company Name _____________  
NAIC Group Code______________ NAIC Company Code  ________  

Address  ________________________________________________  

Person Completing Exhibit  _________________________________  

Title ___________________ Telephone Number  ________________  

 

11 
Adjustment to Incurred Claims for Credibility Ratio 
3 = Ratio 2 + Tolerance 

 

 

If Ratio 3 is more than Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1), a refund or 

credit to premium is not required. 
If Ratio 3 is less than the Benchmark Ratio, then proceed. 

 

 
 

12. 

Adjusted Incurred Claims 
(Total Earned Premiums (Line 3, col. a) - Refund 
Since Inception (line 6)] x Ratio 3 (line 11) 

 

 

 
 

13. 

Refund = 
Total Earned Premiums (line 3, col. a) - Refunds 

Since Inception (line 6) - [Adjusted Incurred 

Claims (line 12) / Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1)] 
 

 

 
If the amount on line 13 is less than .005 times the annualized 

premium in force as of December 31 of the reporting year, then no 

refund is made. Otherwise, the amount on line 13 is to refunded or 
credited, a description of the refund or credit against premiums to 

be used must be attached to this form. 

 
I certify that the above information and calculations are true and 

accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

  _____________________________________  

     Signature 
  _____________________________________  

     Name—Please Type 

  _____________________________________  
     Title 

  _____________________________________  

     Date 
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REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF BENCHMARK 

RATIO SINCE INCEPTION FOR GROUP POLICIES 

FOR CALENDAR YEAR    

 

Type1  __________________________________  SMSBP2  _______________________________________  

For the State of ___________________________  Company Name  _________________________________  

NAIC Group Code ________________________  NAIC Company Code  _____________________________  

Address ________________________________  Person Completing Exhibit  _________________________  

Title ___________________________________  Telephone Number  _______________________________  
 

 

(a)3
 (b)4

 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5
 

 

Year 
Earned 

Premiu

m 

 

Factor 

 

(b)x(c) 
Cumulativ

e Loss 

Ratio 

 

(d)x(e) 

 

Factor 

 

(b)x(g) 
Cumulativ

e Loss 

Ratio 

 

(h)x(i) 
Policy 

Year Loss 

Ratio 1  2.770  0.507  0.000  0.000  0.46 

2  4.175  0.567  0.000  0.000  0.63 

3  4.175  0.567  1.194  0.759  0.75 

4  4.175  0.567  2.245  0.771  0.77 

5  4.175  0.567  3.170  0.782  0.80 

6  4.175  0.567  3.998  0.792  0.82 

7  4.175  0.567  4.754  0.802  0.84 

8  4.175  0.567  5.445  0.811  0.87 

9  4.175  0.567  6.075  0.818  0.88 

10  4.175  0.567  6.650  0.824  0.88 

11  4.175  0.567  7.176  0.828  0.88 

12  4.175  0.567  7.655  0.831  0.88 

13  4.175  0.567  8.093  0.834  0.89 

14  4.175  0.567  8.493  0.837  0.89 

15+6
  4.175  0.567  8.684  0.838  0.89 

Total:   (k):  (l):  (m):  (n):  
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (l + n)/(k + m):    

 
 

1Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for pre-standardized plans 
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; 

Year 2 is 1989, etc.) 
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium earned during that year for policies issued in that year. 
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the 
cumulative loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for informational purposes only. 

6To include the earned premium for all years prior to as well as the 15th year prior to the current year. 
 

REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF BENCHMARK  

RATIO SINCE INCEPTION FOR INDIVIDUAL POLICIES 

FOR CALENDAR YEAR    __________ 

 

Type1  __________________________________  SMSBP2  _______________________________________  

For the State of ___________________________  Company Name  _________________________________  

NAIC Group Code ________________________  NAIC Company Code  _____________________________  

Address ________________________________  Person Completing Exhibit  _________________________  

Title ___________________________________  Telephone Number  _______________________________  

 
 

(a)3
 (b)4

 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5
 

Year 

Earned 

Premium Factor (b)x(c) 

Cumulative 

Loss Ratio (d)x(e) Factor (b)x(g) 

Cumulative 

Loss Ratio (h)x(i) 

Policy Year 

Loss Ratio 

1  2.770  0.442  0.000  0.000  0.40 

2  4.175  0.493  0.000  0.000  0.55 

3  4.175  0.493  1.194  0.659  0.65 

4  4.175  0.493  2.245  0.669  0.67 

5  4.175  0.493  3.170  0.678  0.69 

6  4.175  0.493  3.998  0.686  0.71 

7  4.175  0.493  4.754  0.695  0.73 

8  4.175  0.493  5.445  0.702  0.75 

9  4.175  0.493  6.075  0.708  0.76 

10  4.175  0.493  6.650  0.713  0.76 

11  4.175  0.493  7.176  0.717  0.76 

12  4.175  0.493  7.655  0.720  0.77 

13  4.175  0.493  8.093  0.723  0.77 

14  4.175  0.493  8.493  0.725  0.77 
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15+6
  4.175  0.493  8.684  0.725  0.77 

Total:   (k):  (l):  (m):  (n):  
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (l + n)/(k + m):    

1Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for pre-standardized plans 
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; 

Year 2 is 1989, etc.) 
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium earned during that year for policies issued in that year. 
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in 
the cumulative loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for informational purposes only. 

6To include the earned premium for all years prior to as well as the 15th year prior to the current year. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999), LR 29:2478 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2941 (November 2005), amended LR 

44:2208 (December 2018). 

§597. Appendix B—Medicare Supplement Policies 

Reporting Form 

 

FORM FOR REPORTING 

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICIES 

 

Company Name: _________________________________  

Address:  _______________________________________  

Phone Number:  _________________________________  

Due: March 1, annually 

The purpose of this form is to report the following information 

on each resident of this state who has in force more than one 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate. The information is 

to be grouped by individual policyholder. 

 

Policy and  

Certificate # 

Date of  

Issuance 

   

    

    

    
 

________________________________________ 

Signature 

________________________________________ 

Name and Title (please type) 

________________________________________ 

Date 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999), LR 29:2482 (November 

2003), LR 31:2943 (November 2005). 

§598. Appendix C—Disclosure Statements 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS 

Instructions for Use of the Disclosure Statements for Health Insurance 

Policies Sold to Medicare Beneficiaries that Duplicate Medicare 

1. Section 1882(d) of the federal Social Security Act [42 
U.S.C. 1395ss] prohibits the sale of a health insurance 

policy (the term policy includes certificates) to Medicare 

beneficiaries that duplicates Medicare benefits unless it 

will pay benefits without regard to a beneficiary's other 
health coverage and it includes the prescribed disclosure 

statement on or together with the application for the 

policy. 
2. All types of health insurance policies that duplicate 

Medicare shall include one of the attached disclosure 

statements, according to the particular policy type 
involved, on the application or together with the 

application. The disclosure statement may not vary from 

the attached statements in terms of language or format 
(type size, type proportional spacing, bold character, line 

spacing, and usage of boxes around text). 

3. State law and federal law prohibits insurers from selling a 
Medicare supplement policy to a person that already has a 

Medicare supplement policy except as a replacement 

policy. 
4. Property/casualty and life insurance policies are not 

considered health insurance. 

5. Disability income policies are not considered to provide 
benefits that duplicate Medicare. 

6. Long-term care insurance policies that coordinate with 
Medicare and other health insurance are not considered to 

provide benefits that duplicate Medicare. 

7. The federal law does not pre-empt state laws that are more 
stringent than the federal requirements. 

8. The federal law does not pre-empt existing state form 

filing requirements. 
9. Section 1882 of the federal Social Security Act was 

amended in Subsection (d)(3)(A) to allow for alternative 

disclosure statements. The disclosure statements already 
in Appendix C remain. Carriers may use either disclosure 

statement with the requisite insurance product. However, 

carriers should use either the original disclosure 
statements or the alternative disclosure statements and not 

use both simultaneously. 

[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide 

benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.] 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE  

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

This is not a Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the 

policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that result 
from accidental injury. It does not pay your Medicare 

deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 

supplement insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 

 hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated 

in the policy 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 
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Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 
supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 

insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide 

benefits for specified limited services.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the 
policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific services 

listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles 

or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement 

insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 

 any of the services covered by the policy are also 

covered by Medicare 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 

insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Original disclosure statement for policies that reimburse 

expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified 
impairments. This includes expense-incurred cancer, specified 

disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit 

reimbursement to named medical conditions.] 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the 

policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only when 

you are treated for one of the specific diseases or health 

conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare 

deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 

supplement insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 

 hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated 

in the policy 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 
supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 

insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Original disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed dollar 

amounts for specified diseases or other specified impairments. 
This includes cancer, specified disease, and other health 

insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or specific 

payment based on diagnosis of the conditions named in the 

policy.] 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your 
expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the 

specific diseases or health conditions named in the policy. It 

does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is 

not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits because 

Medicare generally pays for most of the expenses for the 

diagnosis and treatment of the specific conditions or 

diagnoses named in the policy. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 
supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Original disclosure statement for indemnity policies and other 

policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding 

long-term care policies.] 

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 
 

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your 
expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It does 

not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a 

substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 

 any expenses or services covered by the policy are also 

covered by Medicare 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
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Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 hospice 

 other approved items and services 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 
supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 
your state insurance department or state [health] 

insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide 

benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity 

basis] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 
 

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you 

meet the conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed 
amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet other policy 

conditions. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or 

coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement 

insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 

 any expenses or services covered by the policy are also 

covered by Medicare; or 

 it pays the fixed dollar amount stated in the policy and 

Medicare covers the same event 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 
already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 
insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Original disclosure statement for other health insurance 

policies not specifically identified in the preceding 
statements.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 
 

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the 
conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare 

deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 

supplement insurance. 

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 

 the benefits stated in the policy and coverage for the 

same event is provided by Medicare 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide 

benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the 
policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that result 

from accidental injury. It does not pay your Medicare 

deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 

supplement insurance. 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 
already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 
insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 

insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide 

benefits for specified limited services.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits under this policy. 
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This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the 

policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific services 

listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles 
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 

Supplement insurance. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 
already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 
insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 

insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 
[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that reimburse 

expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified 

impairments. This includes expense-incurred cancer, specified 
disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit 
reimbursement to named medical conditions.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. Medicare 

generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the 

policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only when 

you are treated for one of the specific diseases or health 
conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare 

deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 

supplement insurance. 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed 

dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified 

impairments. This includes cancer, specified disease, and other 

health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or 

specific payment based on diagnosis of the conditions named 

in the policy.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits under this policy. 

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your 

expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the 

specific diseases or health conditions named in the policy. It 

does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is 
not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Alternative disclosure statement for indemnity policies and 

other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, 

excluding long-term care policies.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 

This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your 
expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It does 

not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a 

substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 
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Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, 

contact your state insurance department or state 

[health] insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide 

benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity 

basis] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 

This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you 

meet the conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed 
amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet other policy 

conditions. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or 

coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement 
insurance. 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 

supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 
Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

[Alternative disclosure statement for other health insurance 

policies not specifically identified in the preceding 
statements.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 
 

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also 

trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 

This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the 

conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare 
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 
supplement insurance. 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary 

services regardless of the reason you need them. These 

include: 

 hospitalization 

 physician services 

 hospice 

 [outpatient prescription drugs if you are enrolled in 

Medicare Part D] 

 other approved items and services 

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other 

health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under 

Medicare or other insurance. 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you 

already have. 

√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare 
supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health 

Insurance for People with Medicare, available from the 

insurance company. 

√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact 

your state insurance department or state [health] 
insurance [assistance] program [SHIP]. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999), LR 29:2483 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:2944 (November 2005). 

§599. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1111 (re-designated from LSA-R.S. 22:224 pursuant to Acts 

2008, No. 415, effective January 1, 2009) and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1142 (June 1999), 

repromulgated LR 25:1522 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2497 

(November 2003), LR 31:2948 (November 2005), LR 35:1136 

(June 2009), amended LR 44:2210 (December 2018). 

Chapter 9. Regulation 40―Summary 

Document and Disclaimer and Notice 

of Noncoverage 

§901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 40 is to implement the 

Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 

Law as set forth in R.S. 22:2081 et seq., which is designed to 

protect covered persons against the risk of insurer 

insolvencies under certain life, health, or annuity policies or 

contracts. 

B. The purpose of the documents, designated in §903 as 

exhibit A and exhibit B, is to give notice to the insurance-

buying consumer that the Louisiana Life and Health 

Insurance Guaranty Association Law includes restrictions as 

to coverage, and in some instances excludes coverage for 

certain types of policies or contracts, and includes 

substantial limitations as to the amounts which may be 

reimbursed in the event of the insolvency of the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 11, and 2098. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:620 (June 1992), 

amended LR 18:1401 (December 1992), amended LR 42:1938 

(November 2016). 

§903. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 40 applies to the Louisiana Life and 

Health Insurance Guaranty Association (LLHIGA) as 

created by R.S. 22:2085 and its member insurers as defined 

by R.S. 22:2084. 
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B. Exhibit A, which follows hereto and is made a part 

hereof, sets forth the form and content of the summary 

document, as approved by the commissioner of insurance, 

summarizes the coverage provided by the Louisiana Life and 

Health Insurance Guaranty Association Law, and includes a 

disclaimer statement which is to be placed conspicuously on 

the front of the summary document. Pursuant to R.S. 

22:2098(B), the summary document with the disclaimer is to 

be delivered with each life, health, or annuity policy or 

contract, described in R.S. 22:2083(B)(1), issued or 

delivered in Louisiana. 

C. Exhibit B, which follows hereto and is made a part 

hereof, sets forth the notice of noncoverage required by R.S. 

22:2098(D). It is required to be delivered with each life, 

health, or annuity policy or contract described in R.S. 

22:2083(B)(1) and excluded from coverage under R.S. 

22:2083(B)(2). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 11, and 2098. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:620 (June 1992), 

amended LR 18:1401 (December 1992), amended LR 42:1938 

(November 2016). 

§905. Form and Content 

A. The summary document and disclaimer shall be in a 

form which complies with §907, exhibit A, which follows 

hereto and forms a part of Regulation 40. 

B. The notice of noncoverage shall be in a form which 

complies with §909, exhibit B, which follows hereto and 

forms a part of Regulation 40. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 11 and 2098. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:620 (June 1992), 

amended LR 18:1401 (December 1992), amended LR 42:1938 

(November 2016).  

§907. Exhibit A―Summary of the Louisiana Life and 

Health Insurance Guaranty Association Act and 

Notice Concerning Coverage Limitations and 

Exclusions 

A. Residents of Louisiana who purchase life insurance, 

annuities, or health insurance should know that the insurance 

companies licensed in this state to write these types of 

insurance are required by law to be members of LLHIGA. 

The purpose of LLHIGA is to assure that policyholders will 

be protected, within limits, in the unlikely event that a 

member insurer becomes financially unable to meet its 

obligations. If this happens, LLHIGA will assess its other 

member insurance companies for the money to pay the 

claims of insured persons who live in this state, and in some 

cases, to keep coverage in force. However, the valuable extra 

protection provided by these insurers through LLHIGA is 

limited. As noted in the disclaimer below, this protection is 

not a substitute for consumers' care in selecting companies 

that are well-managed and financially stable. 

B. Except as provided in R.S. 22:2098(D), when an 

insurer delivers a policy or contract described in R.S. 

22:2083(B)(1), then prior to or at the time of delivery, the 

disclaimer notice described in R.S. 22:2098(C) and approved 

by the commissioner, shall be given separately to the policy 

or contract holder: 

Disclaimer 

 
The Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 

Association provides coverage of claims under some types of 

policies if the insurer becomes impaired or insolvent. 
COVERAGE MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE FOR YOUR 

POLICY. Even if coverage is provided, there are significant 

limits and exclusions. Coverage is generally conditioned upon 
residence in this state. Other conditions may also preclude 

coverage. 

 
Insurance companies and insurance agents are prohibited by 

law from using the existence of the association or its coverage 

to sell you an insurance policy. 
You should not rely on the availability of coverage under the 

Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 

when selecting an insurer. 
 

The Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 

Association or the Department of Insurance will respond to 
any questions you may have which are not answered by this 

document. 
 

LLHIGA Department of Insurance 

P.O. Drawer 44126 P. O. Box 94214 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214 

 

C. The state law that provides for this safety-net 

coverage is called the Louisiana Life and Health Insurance 

Guaranty Association Law (the law), and is set forth at R.S. 

22:2081 et seq. The following is a brief summary of this 

law's coverages, exclusions and limits. This summary does 

not cover all provisions of the law; nor does it in any way 

change any person's rights or obligations under the law or 

the rights or obligations of LLHIGA. 

D. Generally, individuals will be protected by the Life 

and Health Insurance Guaranty Association if they live in 

this state and hold a direct non-group life, health, or annuity 

policy or contract, a certificate under a direct group policy or 

contract for a supplemental contract to any of these, or an 

unallocated annuity contract, issued by an insurer authorized 

to conduct business in Louisiana. The beneficiaries, payees 

or assignees of insured persons may also be protected as 

well even if they live in another state unless they are 

afforded coverage by the guaranty association of another 

state, or other circumstances described under the law are 

applicable. 

E. Exclusions from Coverage 

1. A person who holds a direct non-group life, health, 

or annuity policy or contract, a certificate under a direct 

group policy or contract for a supplemental contract to any 

of these, or an unallocated annuity contract is not protected 

by LLHIGA if: 

a. he is eligible for protection under the laws of 

another state (This may occur when the insolvent insurer 

was incorporated in another state whose guaranty association 

protects insureds who live outside that state.); 

b. the insurer was not authorized to do business in 

this state; 

c. his policy was issued by a profit or nonprofit 
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hospital or medical service organization, an HMO, a 

fraternal benefit society, a mandatory state pooling plan, a 

mutual assessment company or similar plan in which the 

policyholder is subject to future assessments, an insurance 

exchange, an organization that issues charitable gift 

annuities as is defined in R.S. 22:952(A)(3), or any entity 

similar to any of these. 

2. LLHIGA also does not provide coverage for: 

a. any policy or portion of a policy which is not 

guaranteed by the insurer or for which the individual has 

assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by 

prospectus; 

b. any policy of reinsurance (unless an assumption 

certificate was issued); 

c. interest rate or crediting rate yields, or similar 

factors employed in calculating changes in value, that 

exceed an average rate; 

d. dividends, premium refunds, or similar fees or 

allowances described under the Law; 

e. credits given in connection with the 

administration of a policy by a group contract holder; 

f. employers', associations’ or similar entities’ plans 

to the extent they are self-funded (that is, not insured by an 

insurance company, even if an insurance company 

administers them) or uninsured; 

g. unallocated annuity contracts (which give rights 

to group contract holders, not individuals), except 

unallocated annuity contracts and defined contribution 

government plans qualified under section 403(b) of the 

United States Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C. §403(b)). 

h. an obligation that does not arise under the 

express written terms of the policy or contract issued by the 

insurer to the policy owner or contract owner, including but 

not limited to, claims described under the law; 

i. a policy or contract providing any hospital, 

medical, prescription drug or other health care benefits 

pursuant to “Medicare Part C coverage” or “Medicare Part D 

coverage” and any regulations issued pursuant to those parts; 

j. interest or other changes in value to be 

determined by the use of an index or other external 

references but which have not been credited to the policy or 

contract or as to which the policy or contract owner’s rights 

are subject to forfeiture, as of the date the member insurer 

becomes an impaired or insolvent insurer, whichever is 

earlier. 

F. Limits on Amounts of Coverage 

1. The Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 

Association Law also limits the amount that LLHIGA is 

obligated to pay out.  

2. The benefits for which LLHIGA may become liable 

shall in no event exceed the lesser of the following. 

a. LLHIGA cannot pay more than what the 

insurance company would owe under a policy or contract if 

it were not an impaired or an insolvent insurer. 

b. For any one insured life, regardless of the 

number of policies or contracts there are with the same 

company, LLHIGA will pay a maximum of $300,000 in life 

insurance death benefits, but not more than $100,000 in net 

cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values for life 

insurance.  

c. For any one insured life, regardless of the 

number of policies or contracts there are with the same 

company, LLHIGA will pay a maximum of $500,000 in 

health insurance benefits, and LLHIGA will pay a maximum 

of $250,000 in present value of annuities, including net cash 

surrender and net cash withdrawal values.  

3. In no event, regardless of the number of policies 

and contracts there were with the same company, and no 

matter how many different types of coverages, LLHIGA 

shall not be liable to expend more than $500,000 in the 

aggregate with respect to any one individual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 11 and 2098. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:620 (June 1992), 

amended LR 18:1401 (December 1992), amended LR 42:1938 

(November 2016). 

§909. Exhibit B―Notice of Noncoverage 

A. When an insurer or agent delivers a policy or contract 

described in R.S. 22:2083(B)(1) that is excluded from 

coverage by R.S. 22:2083(B)(2), then prior to or at the time 

of such delivery, the following notice shall be given 

separately to the policy or contract holder: 

The Policy Or Contract You Are Purchasing Is Not Covered 

By The Louisiana Life And Health Insurance Guaranty 
Association. 

 

Coverage is specifically excluded by law for the type of policy 
or contract you are purchasing. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 11 and 2098. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:620 (June 1992), 

amended LR 18:1401 (December 1992), amended LR 42:1940 

(November 2016). 

§911. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 40 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 40 to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

40 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 11 and 2098. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 42:1940 (November 

2016). 

Chapter 11. Regulation 42―Group 
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Self-Insurance Funds 

Editor’s Note: In the 1995 Louisiana legislative regular 
session, Act 703 enacted Subpart J of Part I of Chapter 10 of 

Title 23 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, to be 
comprised of R.S. 23:1195 through 1200.1, and repealed R.S. 

23:1191 through 1194, relative to group self-insurance funds. 

In the 2007 Louisiana legislative regular session, Act 384 
enacted R.S. 23:1191 to provide definitions. In Regulation 42, 

any reference in the authority note to R.S. 23:1193 should be 
replaced with 23:1200.1 and any reference in the body of 

Regulation 42 to R.S. 23:1191, 1192, 1193 and 1194 should 

be replaced with R.S. 23:1195 et seq.  

§1101. Definitions 

A. When used in this regulation, the following words or 

terms shall have the following meaning. 

Administrator―an individual, partnership, or 

corporation engaged by a group self-insurance fund to carry 

out the policies of the trustees of the fund and to provide 

day-to-day management of the fund. 

Aggregate Losses―the amount of all claims, including 

reserves for loss development and losses incurred but not 

reported, which exceeds the loss fund. 

Contingent Liability—the amount that a group self-

insurance fund may be obligated to pay in excess of a given 

fund year’s normal premium collected or on hand. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Fiscal Agent―an individual, partnership, or corporation 

engaged by a group self-insurance fund to carry out the 

fiscal policies of the fund, invest and disburse assets, and 

oversee the financial matters of the fund. An administrator 

may be a fiscal agent. 

Gross Premium―premium determined by multiplying 

the payroll (segregated into the proper workers' 

compensation job classifications) by the manual premium 

rates approved by the commissioner. 

Group Self-Insurance Fund or Fund―employers who 

enter into agreements to pool their workers compensation 

liabilities in accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes 

23:1195. 

Incurred but not Reported Reserves―a reserve 

established which estimates the incurred loss of claims 

whose existence is unknown by the fund or claims which 

have been reported but not recorded on the books of the 

fund. 

Insolvency—the condition existing when the fund’s 

liabilities before member distribution payable or dividend 

payable are greater than the fund’s assets determined in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles as 

delineated in the fund’s financial statement audited by an 

independent certified public accountant. For the purposes of 

determining insolvency, assets will not include intangible 

property, such as patents, trade names, or goodwill. 

Loss Development―the change in incurred loss from 

one point in time to another. 

Loss Development Reserve―any amount needed in a 

given fund year, in addition to current loss reserves, to fund 

future loss development. 

Loss Fund―the retention under the terms of an 

aggregate excess contract, or if no aggregate excess is 

purchased, the amount remaining from normal premium in 

each fund year after all necessary expenses are paid. 

Normal Premium―standard premium less allowed 

discount. 

Qualified Actuary—a person who: 

a. meets the basic education, experience and 

continuing education requirements of the Specific 

Qualification Standard for Statements of Actuarial Opinion, 

NAIC Property and Casualty Annual Statement, as set forth 

in the Qualification Standards for Actuaries Issuing 

Statements of Actuarial Opinion in the United States (U.S. 

Qualifications Standards), promulgated by the American 

Academy of Actuaries (Academy) and as adopted in Chapter 

161 of this Part; 

b. has obtained and maintains an Accepted Actuarial 

Designation; and 

c. is a member of a professional actuarial 

association that requires adherence to the same Code of 

Professional Conduct promulgated by the Academy, requires 

adherence to the U.S. Qualification Standards, and 

participates in the Actuarial Board for Counseling and 

Discipline when its members are practicing in the U.S. 

Standard Premium―gross premium adjusted by 

experience modifiers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), amended LR 47:52 (January 2021), LR 49:267 (February 

2023). 

§1103. Application to Create a Group Self-Insurance 

Fund 

A. All applications to create a group self-insurance fund 

shall meet the requirements of Louisiana Revised Statutes 

Title 23, §1195 et seq., any other applicable laws of the state 

of Louisiana, and this regulation. 

B. Applications shall be made in writing on a form 

provided by the department. 

C. Applications shall be submitted to the department at 

least 90 days prior to the effective date for establishment of a 

fund. Any application submitted with less than 90 days 

remaining before the desired effective date, or which does 

not contain answers to all questions, or which is not sworn to 

and subscribed before a notary public, or which does not 

contain all required documents, statements, reports, and 

required information, may be returned without review by the 

department. 

D. All applications shall be accompanied by: 

1. a properly completed indemnity agreement in a 

form acceptable to the department, pursuant to §1111 of this 

regulation; 
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2. security as required by Louisiana Revised Statutes 

Title 23, §1195 et seq. and this regulation; 

3. copies of acceptable excess insurance or 

reinsurance policies, pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes 

Title 23, §1195 et seq. and this regulation; 

4. a bond covering each third party administrator, 

pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1195 et 

seq.; 

5. a certification from a designated depository 

attesting to the amount of monies on hand; 

6. copies of the fund bylaws and trust agreement or 

other governance documents; 

7. individual application of each member of the fund 

applying for membership in the fund on the effective date of 

the fund, and copies of their executed indemnity agreements; 

8. evidence of financial strength and liquidity of the 

members dated as of the date of the filing of the application 

to satisfy the financial strength and liquidity requirements of 

Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1195 et seq. and this 

regulation; 

9. proof that the fund shall have the minimum annual 

earned normal premium as specified in Louisiana Revised 

Statutes Title 23, §1195 et seq.; 

10. the current annual report or financial statement of 

any casualty insurance company providing excess or 

reinsurance coverage for the fund, which meets the 

requirements of Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1195 

et seq. if such statement is not already on file with the 

department; 

11. the name, address, and telephone number of the 

attorney representing the fund, of the qualified actuary for 

the fund, and of the certified public accountant who will be 

auditing the annual financial statements of the fund, as well 

as evidence of appointment of each by the fund; 

12. the domicile address in this state where the books 

and records of the fund will be maintained, and the state 

from which the fund will be administered; 

13. proof of advance payment to the fund by each 

initial member of the fund of not less than 25 percent of that 

member's first year estimated annual earned normal 

premium; 

14. a feasibility study, or other analysis, prepared by a 

qualified actuary utilizing actual loss history of the initial 

members of the fund; 

15. pro forma financial statements projecting the first 

three years of operations of the fund based upon a feasibility 

study or other analysis prepared by a qualified actuary, 

pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1195 et 

seq. and §5(A) hereof. Such pro forma financial statements 

shall include a pro forma balance sheet, income statement, 

and statement of cash flow. Each shall be prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles; 

16. a copy of the fund's premium billing policy 

indicating whether the premium payments to the fund will be 

paid by members annually, monthly, quarterly, or any 

combination thereof. 

E. Upon receipt of the application and other required 

materials, the department will review the application and 

will request any additional information which is required in 

a letter to the applicant. 

F. Failure to meet any of the criteria or provide needed 

information shall be grounds for denial of the application. 

G. Within 45 days of receipt of all requested information, 

the commissioner shall issue a decision approving or 

denying the application, or shall extend his time for review. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:267 (February 2023). 

§1105. Conditions for Retaining the Self-Insurance 

Privilege  

A. The certificate of authority shall be continuous until 

revoked or suspended by the department, or until it is 

voluntarily surrendered by the fund. 

B. All funds shall be required to submit the following 

documents and reports: 

1. annual financial statements certified by an 

independent certified public accountant pursuant to §1107.B 

hereof; 

2. estimated breakdown of policy year expenses 

pursuant to §1107.D hereof; 

3. annual actuarial reports prepared by a qualified 

actuary; 

4. changes in items required to be furnished under 

§1103.D.1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, and 12 within 10 days of the 

effective date of such change; 

5. any other documents permitted or required by 

regulation or statute. 

C. All funds shall maintain a combined net worth of their 

members sufficient to pay all claims. 

D. Each fund shall notify the commissioner, within 10 

days of receiving knowledge thereof, of any claim, whether 

such claim is in litigation or otherwise, against the fund 

which, if the claimant is successful, would create an 

obligation of the fund to pay in excess of 50 percent of the 

fund's specific self-insured retention or $125,000, whichever 

is less. 

E. The commissioner may prescribe the format and 

frequency of other reports which may include, but shall not 

be limited to, payroll audit reports, summary loss reports, 

and quarterly financial statements. 

F. The commissioner may require periodic proof that the 

fund is complying with the applicable laws, rules, 

regulations, and directives of the Department of Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 
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1992), LR 49:268 (February 2023). 

§1107. Financial and Actuarial Reports for Group Self-

Insurance Funds 

A. Each fund shall submit a current financial statement, 

audited by an independent certified public accountant, of at 

least two members showing, at the inception of the fund, a 

combined net worth of a minimum of $1,000,000, current 

financial statements of all other members, a combined ratio 

of current assets to current liabilities of more than one to 

one, a combined working capital of an amount establishing 

financial strength and liquidity of the members to pay 

normal compensation claims promptly, and showing 

evidence of the financial ability of the group to meet its 

obligations. An annual financial statement audited by an 

independent certified public accountant or a financial 

statement properly certified by an officer, owner, or partner 

for all members joining the fund after the inception date 

shall be submitted to the commissioner until such time as an 

annual financial statement audited by an independent 

certified public accountant is available for the fund as a 

whole. Thereafter, the filing of member financial statements 

with the department is no longer required. In no event shall 

the cumulative net worth or ratio of the current assets to 

current liabilities of all members be less than that required in 

this Subsection 

B. An annual financial statement audited by an 

independent certified public accountant shall be due 

annually within six months of the close of the fiscal year of 

the fund, unless an extension is granted by the 

commissioner, on a form acceptable to the commissioner. 

C. Actuarial reviews shall be made by a qualified 

actuary. Actuarial reports shall be due and filed at the same 

time as the fund's annual financial statement, except as 

otherwise provided by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:268 (February 2023). 

§1109. Excess Insurance Requirements for Group Self-

Insurance Funds 

A. All funds shall maintain specific excess insurance or 

reinsurance in the amount of at least $2,000,000 per 

occurrence and aggregate excess insurance or reinsurance of 

at least $2,000,000. 

B. For the purposes of §1109, no loss fund shall be less 

than 70 percent of earned normal premium without the 

approval of the commissioner. 

C. The commissioner shall deny the use of a retention 

requested by a fund if he finds: 

1. that the higher retention will have a significant 

adverse effect on the financial condition of the fund; or 

2. that the fund is unable to establish reserves using 

monies from: 

a. premium earned during the year the loss was 

incurred; or 

b. investment earnings from the year in which the 

loss was incurred; or 

c. from future investment earnings on the specific 

loss reserve. 

D. Each fund shall provide security for aggregate losses 

by selecting one of the following alternatives: 

1. purchasing an acceptable aggregate excess policy; 

2. upon approval of the commissioner, post a cash 

security deposit in the amount of $1,000,000 or 20 percent 

of annual standard premium, whichever is greater; or 

3. if the fund has been in operation at least 60 months, 

upon approval of the commissioner, establish an actuarially 

sound reserve for aggregate losses. 

E. If the option in §1109.G.2 is selected, a fund, upon 

approval of the commissioner, may self-insure part of its 

aggregate limit by posting as a cash security deposit for the 

amount which is self-insured. 

F. If a fund receives permission to provide security for 

its aggregate losses by establishing an aggregate reserve, the 

fund shall comply with the following requirements. 

1. At least 60 days prior to the beginning of each 

policy year for which an aggregate reserve will be 

established, the fund shall submit a plan for that year. 

Approval of the plan by the commissioner shall be required 

before an aggregate reserve may be established for the next 

policy year. 

2. Within six months after the end of each fund year, 

the fund shall submit an actuarial review, by a qualified 

actuary, of its aggregate reserve for each fund year whose 

aggregate losses are guaranteed by the reserve. 

3. Along with the actuarial review, the fund shall 

provide financial information which sets forth the financial 

position of the aggregate reserve. 

4. In actuarially determining the amount of ultimate 

loss, the fund and its actuary may take into account current 

or future recoveries from any aggregate or specific excess 

contract, if such contract complies with this regulation. 

G. The commissioner may: 

1. reject an actuarial review or financial report which 

does not comply with the requirements of §1109.L. If this 

occurs, the commissioner may, at the expense of the fund, 

conduct his own actuarial or financial review, or, upon 

request of the fund, allow the fund to submit another 

actuarial or financial report, subject to the commissioner's 

approval of the party preparing the report; 

2. for good cause, order a fund to cease using an 

aggregate reserve for securing its aggregate losses. Good 

cause shall include a finding that the aggregate reserve is 

actuarially unsound, that the fund is insolvent, that the fund 

will lack sufficient liquidity to run off its claims without 

reliance on future premium income, or that the fund has 

failed to comply with the provisions of this regulation; 

3. in the event that the fund's aggregate reserve, or 

reserves, is actuarially unsound, order the fund to take such 
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corrective action as necessary to make the reserve actuarially 

sound. 

H. If a fund receives approval of its plan to use an 

aggregate reserve to provide security for its aggregate losses, 

then: 

1. payment of dividends from premium in a fund year 

shall not be requested or approved for that fund year as long 

as any claims reserves, reserves for loss development, or 

reserves for losses incurred but not reported (IBNR) are 

unfunded by actual cash reserves; 

2. no dividends shall be requested or approved from 

investment earnings unless the aggregate reserves for all 

years are actuarially sound, taking into account future 

contributions, and aggregate excess insurance; 

3. advance premium discounts and all expenses 

unnecessary for the fund to meet its obligations will be 

reduced or eliminated, if necessary, to provide funds to make 

an aggregate reserve actuarially sound; 

4. amounts actuarially determined to be necessary for 

the reserves for loss development and IBNR shall be a part 

of the fund's security deposit requirement; 

5. no premium from a year prior to the year for which 

the aggregate reserve is established may be allocated to fund 

an aggregate reserve until 12 months after the close of the 

prior year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023), repromulgated LR 49:490 

(March 2023). 

§1111. Indemnity Agreement 

A. Each self-insurance fund member shall enter into an 

indemnity agreement jointly and severally binding the self-

insurance fund and each member thereof to comply with the 

provisions of the applicable Louisiana Revised Statutes and 

rules, regulations, and directives of the Department of 

Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1113. Rates and Reporting of Rates 

A. Each fund shall file rates on an actuarially justified 

class code basis with the department and may use the rates 

90 days after filing, unless the department disapproves the 

use of such rates within the 90-day period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1115. Authorized Investments for Group Self-

Insurance Funds 

A. Amounts not needed for current obligations may be 

invested by the board of trustees in deposits in federally 

insured banks or savings and loan associations or in direct 

obligations of the United States government or direct 

obligations of the state of Louisiana, or in any other 

investments permissible under R.S. 23:1196.1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1117. Premium Audit 

A. All self-insurance funds shall determine the normal 

premium due from each member in each policy year based 

on actual audited payroll. Audits shall consist of physical on-

site audits, mail self-audits, telephone audits, or virtual 

audits. The requirements set forth herein shall apply to the 

fund and its present or former members. Funds shall be 

responsible for compliance with this Subsection by either an 

independent payroll audit firm or by the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1119. Board of Trustees 

A. Except upon approval of the commissioner, the fund's 

administrator, service company, or any owner, officer, 

employee of, or any other person affiliated with, such 

administrator or service company shall not serve on the 

board of trustees of the fund. 

B. All trustees shall be residents of this state or officers 

of corporations authorized to do business in this state. 

C. The board of trustees of each group shall ensure that 

all claims are paid promptly and take all necessary 

precautions to safeguard the assets of the group, including 

all of the following: 

1. maintain responsibility for all monies collected or 

disbursed from the group and segregate all monies into a 

claims fund account and an administrative fund account. At 

least 70 percent of the premium, as determined by the 

commissioner, shall be designated for the sole purpose of 

paying claims, allocated claims expenses, and special fund 

contributions, including second injury and other loss related 

funds. This shall be called the claims fund account. The 

remaining net premium shall be designated for the payment 

of taxes, general regulatory fees, assessments, and 

administrative costs. This shall be called the administrative 

fund account. The commissioner may approve an 

administrative fund account of more than 30 percent and a 

claims fund account of less than 70 percent only if the group 

shows to the commissioner's satisfaction that: 

a. more than 30 percent is needed for an effective 

safety and loss control program; or 

b. the group's aggregate excess insurance attaches at 

less than 70 percent; 

2. maintain minutes of its meetings; 
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3. designate an administrator to carry out the policies 

established by the board of trustees and to provide day-to-

day management of the group, and delineate in the written 

minutes of its meetings the areas of authority it delegates to 

the administrator; 

4. retain an independent certified public accountant to 

prepare the statement of financial condition required by 

§1107.A and B hereof; 

5. the trustees shall cause to be adopted a set of by-

laws or shall enter into a trust agreement which shall govern 

the operation of the fund. 

D. The board of trustees shall not: 

1. extend credit to individual members for payment of 

a premium, except pursuant to payment plans approved by 

the commissioner; 

2. borrow any monies from the group or in the name 

of the group, except in the ordinary course of business, 

without first obtaining prior approval from the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1193. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992). 

§1121. Group Membership; Termination, Liability 

A. An employer joining a fund after the group has been 

issued a certificate of approval shall: 

1. submit an application for membership to the board 

of trustees or its administrator; and 

2. enter into the indemnity agreement required by 

§1103.C.l hereof. Membership shall take effect no earlier 

than each member's date of approval. The application for 

membership and its approval shall be maintained as 

permanent records of the board of trustees. 

B. Individual members of a group shall be subject to 

cancellation by the group's cancellation policy. In addition, 

individual members may elect to terminate their 

participation in the group. 

C. The group shall pay all workers' compensation 

benefits for which each member incurs liability during its 

period of membership. A member who elects to terminate its 

membership or is canceled by a group remains liable jointly 

and in solido for claims of the group and its members which 

were incurred during the canceled or terminated member's 

period of membership. 

D. A group member is not relieved of its workers' 

compensation liabilities incurred during its period of 

membership except through payment by the group or the 

member of required workers' compensation benefits. 

E. The insolvency or bankruptcy of a member does not 

relieve the group or any other member of liability for the 

payment of any worker's compensation benefits incurred 

during the insolvent or bankrupt member's period of 

membership. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1123. Service Companies 

A. All service companies must file a request for approval 

by the commissioner and have a letter or certificate of 

approval from the commissioner prior to engaging in any 

service to a fund. All service companies performing services 

for group self-insurance funds on the effective date of this 

regulation shall file the request for approval and receive the 

letter or certificate of approval from the commissioner not 

later than March 1, 1993. The commissioner may request 

any information deemed necessary to establish the ability 

and financial strength of the service company to perform the 

required functions. 

B. Except upon approval of the commissioner: 

1. no service company or its employees, officers, or 

directors shall be an employee, officer, or director of, or 

have either a direct or indirect financial interest in, an 

administrator; and 

2. no administrator or its employees, officers, or 

directors shall be an employee, officer, or director of, or 

have either a direct or indirect financial interest in, a service 

company. 

C. The service contract shall state that, unless the 

commissioner approves otherwise, the service company shall 

handle, to their conclusion, all claims and other obligations 

incurred during the contract period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1193. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992). 

§1125. Licensing of Agents 

A. Any person soliciting membership for a fund must be 

licensed by the commissioner as a property and casualty 

agent; provided, however, that employees of a bona fide 

trade or professional association which has established a 

fund shall not be required to be so licensed if such 

solicitation is not the primary duty of such employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1193. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992). 

§1127. Deficits and Insolvencies 

A. In the event that a fund is insolvent, the fund shall file 

a written plan within 60 days, signed by the board of 

trustees, detailing the means by which the fund intends to 

eliminate the insolvency. The means of eliminating the 

insolvency may include an assessment of the members of the 

fund. The fund shall also include the timetable for 

implementation and requirements for reporting to the 

department. Within 30 days of receiving the plan, the 

department shall review the plan and notify the fund of the 

approval or disapproval of the plan. 
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B. If the department disapproves a plan submitted by the 

fund or determines that a fund is not implementing a plan in 

accordance with the plan terms, the department shall notify 

the fund in writing of such decision or determination. 

C. If the fund fails to file a plan to eliminate an 

insolvency, or should the department notify a fund that a 

plan has been disapproved or that the fund is not 

implementing the plan according to the plan, the department 

shall have the following powers and authority in addition to 

any other powers and authority granted under law: 

1. The department may order the fund to immediately 

levy an assessment upon its members that will eliminate the 

insolvency. 

2. If the fund fails or refuses to assess its members, the 

department may levy an assessment upon fund members in 

the name of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1129. Review of Rate Determination 

A. Funds shall provide reasonable means whereby any 

member aggrieved by the application of the fund's rating 

system may, in writing, request a review of the manner in 

which such rating system has been applied in connection 

with the coverage afforded. The fund shall have 30 days 

from receipt to grant or deny the request, in writing. If the 

fund rejects such request or fails to grant or reject such 

request within such 30-day period, the member may, within 

30 days following the expiration of such 30-day period, 

appeal to the commissioner, who, after a hearing held upon 

not less than 10 days' written notice to the member and to 

the fund, may affirm, modify, or reverse such action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), LR 49:269 (February 2023). 

§1131. Cease and Desist Orders and Other Penalties 

A.1. The 

department shall have authority to issue cease and desist 

orders and suspend or revoke the certificate of authority of 

any fund which the department determines is not in 

compliance. 

2. Upon finding, after notice and opportunity for a 

hearing, that any person or group has violated any cease and 

desist order, the commissioner may revoke the group's 

certificate of authority. 

B. Upon the determination that a fund failed to comply 

with any provision of R.S. 23:1195-1200.17, any rule or 

regulation promulgated by the department or orders or 

directives issued by the commissioner, the department may 

levy a fine of up to $2,000 for each violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), amended LR 49:270 (February 2023). 

§1133. Revocation of Certificate of Authority 

A. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the 

commissioner may revoke a group's certificate of authority 

if: 

1. the group is found to be insolvent; 

2. the group fails to pay any premium tax, regulatory 

fee, or assessment, or special fund contribution imposed 

upon it; 

3. the group fails to comply with any of the provisions 

of this regulation, or with any lawful order of the 

commissioner within the time prescribed; 

4. the certificate of authority issued to the group was 

obtained by fraud; 

5. there was a material misrepresentation in the 

application for the certificate of authority; or 

6. the group or its administrator has misappropriated, 

converted, illegally withheld, or refused to pay over upon 

proper demand any monies held in a fiduciary capacity that 

belong to a member, an employee of a member, or another 

person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1193. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992). 

§1135. Examinations 

A. The commissioner shall examine, not less frequently 

than once every five years, and at any other time when an 

examination is necessary in the opinion of the commissioner, 

all group self-insurance funds established pursuant to R.S. 

23:1191 et seq. The expenses of such examinations shall be 

paid by the fund being examined. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1200.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 

1992), amended LR 49:270 (February 2023). 

Chapter 13. Regulation Number 

43―Companies in Hazardous 

Financial Condition 

§1301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 43 is to set forth the 

standards which the commissioner of insurance 

("commissioner") may use for identifying insurers found to 

be in such condition as to render the continuance of their 

business hazardous to their policyholders, creditors, or the 

general public. 

B. Regulation 43 shall not be interpreted to limit the 

powers granted the commissioner by any laws or parts of 

laws of this state, nor shall Regulation 43 be interpreted to 

supersede any laws or parts of laws of this state. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1408 (December 

1992), amended LR 39:3302 (December 2013). 

§1303. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 43, the following terms shall 

have the respective meaning hereinafter set forth. 

Controlas defined in R.S. 22:691.2(3). 

Personas defined in R.S. 22:691.2(7). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1408 (December 

1992), amended LR 39:3302 (December 2013). 

§1305. Standards 

A. The following standards, either singly or a 

combination of two or more, may be considered by the 

commissioner to determine whether the continued operation 

of any insurer transacting an insurance business in this state 

might be deemed to be hazardous to their policyholders, 

creditors, or the general public. The commissioner may 

consider: 

1. adverse findings reported in financial condition and 

market conduct examination reports, audit reports, and 

actuarial opinions, reports or summaries; 

2. the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners insurance regulatory information system and 

its other financial analysis solvency tools and reports; 

3. the ratios of commission expense, general insurance 

expense, policy benefits, and reserve increases as to annual 

premium and net investment income which could lead to an 

impairment of capital and surplus; 

4. the ability of an assuming reinsurer to perform and 

whether the insurer’s reinsurance program provides 

sufficient protection for the insurer’s remaining surplus after 

taking into account the insurer’s cash flow and the classes of 

business written as well as the financial condition of the 

assuming reinsurer; 

5. whether the insurer’s operating loss in the last 12-

month period or any shorter period of time, including but not 

limited to net capital gain or loss, change in non-admitted 

assets, and cash dividends paid to shareholders, is greater 

than 50 percent of the insurer’s remaining surplus as regards 

policyholders in excess of the minimum required; 

6. whether the insurer's operating loss in the last 12-

month period or any shorter period of time, excluding net 

capital gains, is greater than 20 percent of the insurer's 

remaining surplus as regards policyholders in excess of the 

minimum required; 

7. whether a reinsurer, obligor or any entity within the 

insurer’s insurance holding company system, is insolvent, 

threatened with insolvency or delinquent in payment of its 

monetary or other obligations, and which in the opinion of 

the commissioner may affect the solvency of the insurer; 

8. contingent liabilities, pledges or guaranties which 

either individually or collectively involve a total amount 

which in the opinion of the commissioner may affect the 

solvency of the insurer; 

9. whether any “person” in “control” of an insurer is 

delinquent in the transmitting to, or payment of, net 

premiums to the insurer; 

10. the age and collectibility of receivables; 

11. whether the management of an insurer, including 

officers, directors, or any other person who directly or 

indirectly controls the operation of such insurer, fails to 

possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness, and 

reputation deemed necessary to serve the insurer in such 

position; 

12. whether management of an insurer has failed to 

respond to inquiries relative to the condition of the insurer or 

has furnished false and misleading information concerning 

an inquiry; 

13. whether management of an insurer either has filed 

any false or misleading sworn financial statement, or has 

released any false or misleading financial statement to 

lending institutions or to the general public, or has made a 

false or misleading entry, or has omitted an entry of material 

amount in the books of the insurer; 

14. whether the insurer has grown so rapidly and to 

such an extent that it lacks adequate financial and 

administrative capacity to meet its obligations in a timely 

manner; or 

15. whether management has established reserves that 

do not comply with minimum standards established by state 

insurance laws, regulations, statutory accounting standards, 

sound actuarial principles and standards of practice; 

16. whether management persistently engages in 

material under reserving that results in adverse development; 

17. whether transactions among affiliates, subsidiaries 

or controlling persons for which the insurer receives assets 

or capital gains, or both, do not provide sufficient value, 

liquidity or diversity to assure the insurer's ability to meet its 

outstanding obligations as they mature; 

18. whether the insurer has made adequate provision, 

according to presently accepted actuarial standards of 

practice, for the anticipated cash flows required by the 

contractual obligations and related expenses of the insurer, 

when considered in light of the assets held by the insurer 

with respect to such reserves and related actuarial items 

including, but not limited to, the investment earnings on 

such assets, and the considerations anticipated to be received 

and retained under such policies and contracts; 

19. whether the insurer has failed to meet financial and 

holding company filing requirements in the absence of a 

reason satisfactory to the commissioner; 

20. any other finding determined by the commissioner 

to be hazardous to the insurer’s policyholders, creditors, or 

the general public; 
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21. whether the insurer has experienced or will 

experience in the foreseeable future cash flow or liquidity 

problems. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and 22.220 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1408 (December 

1992), amended LR 39:3303 (December 2013), amended by the 

Department of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1498 

(October 2024). 

§1307. Commissioner's Authority 

A. For the purposes of making a determination of an 

insurer's financial condition under this regulation, the 

commissioner may: 

1. disregard any credit or amount receivable resulting 

from transactions with a reinsurer which is insolvent, 

impaired, or otherwise subject to a delinquency proceeding; 

2. make appropriate adjustments including 

disallowance to asset values attributable to investments in or 

transactions with parents, subsidiaries or affiliates consistent 

with the NAIC Accounting Practices And Procedures 

Manual, state laws and regulations; 

3. refuse to recognize the stated value of accounts 

receivable if the ability to collect receivables is highly 

speculative in view of the age of the account or the financial 

condition of the debtor; or 

4. increase the insurer’s liability in an amount equal to 

any contingent liability, pledge, or guarantee not otherwise 

included if there is a substantial risk that the insurer will be 

called upon to meet the obligation undertaken within the 

next 12 month period. 

B. If the commissioner determines that the continued 

operation of the insurer licensed to transact business in this 

state may be hazardous to its policyholders, creditors, or the 

general public, then the commissioner may, upon such 

determination, issue an order requiring the insurer to: 

1. reduce the total amount of present and potential 

liability for policy benefits by reinsurance; 

2. reduce, suspend, or limit the volume of business 

being accepted or renewed; 

3. reduce general insurance and commission expenses 

by specified methods; 

4. increase the insurer's capital and surplus; 

5. suspend or limit the declaration and payment of 

dividends by an insurer to its stockholders or to its 

policyholders; 

6. file reports in a form acceptable to the 

commissioner concerning the market value of an insurer's 

assets; 

7. limit or withdraw from certain investments or 

discontinue certain investment practices to the extent the 

commissioner deems necessary; 

8. document the adequacy of premium rates in relation 

to the risks insured; or 

9. file, in addition to regular annual statements, 

interim financial reports on the form adopted by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners or on such format 

as promulgated by the commissioner; 

10. correct corporate governance practice deficiencies, 

and adopt and utilize governance practices acceptable to the 

commissioner. 

11. provide a business plan to the commissioner in 

order to continue to transact business in the state. 

12. notwithstanding any other provision of law limiting 

the frequency or amount of premium rate adjustments, adjust 

rates for any non-life insurance product written by the 

insurer that the commissioner considers necessary to 

improve the financial condition of the insurer. 

C. If the insurer is a foreign insurer the order issued by 

the commissioner may be limited to the extent provided by 

statute. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1408 (December 

1992), amended LR 39:3303 (December 2013). 

§1309. Administrative Review 

A. An insurer subject to an order under Subsection 

1307.B may request an administrative hearing to review that 

order pursuant to R.S. 22:2191. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 39:3303 (December 

2013). 

§1311. Judicial Review 

A. An insurer aggrieved by a final decision pursuant to 

an administrative hearing under R.S.22:2191 shall be 

entitled to judicial review in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of Subsections 

1309.A and 1311.A, nothing shall preclude the 

commissioner from initiating judicial proceedings in 

conservation, rehabilitation, or liquidation proceedings or 

any other delinquency proceedings, however designated 

under the laws of the state, regardless of whether the 

commissioner has previously initiated any regulatory action 

against the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 39:3304 (December 

2013). 

§1313. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 43 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 43 to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 
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without the invalid section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

43 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 39:3304 (December 

2013). 

§1315. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 43 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 39:3304 (December 

2013). 

Chapter 15. Regulation 44― 

Accelerated Benefits 

§1501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to regulate 

accelerated benefit provisions of individual and group life 

insurance policies and to provide required standards of 

disclosure. This regulation shall apply to all accelerated 

benefits provisions of individual and group life insurance 

policies except those subject to the Long-Term Care 

Insurance Model Act, issued or delivered in this state, on or 

after the effective date of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1503. Definitions 

Accelerated Benefits covered under this 

regulation―benefits payable under a life insurance contract: 

1. to a policy owner or certificate holder, during the 

lifetime of the insured, in anticipation of death or upon the 

occurrence of specified life-threatening or catastrophic 

conditions, as defined by the policy or rider; and 

2. which reduce the death benefit otherwise payable 

under the life insurance contract; and 

3. which are payable upon the occurrence of a single 

qualifying event which results in the payment of a benefit 

amount fixed at the time of acceleration. 

Qualifying Event―includes one or more of the following: 

1. a medical condition which would result in a 

drastically limited life span as specified in the contract, for 

example, 24 months or less; or 

2. a medical condition which has required or requires 

extraordinary medical intervention, such as, but not limited 

to, major organ transplant or continuous artificial life 

support, without which the insured would die; or 

3. any condition which usually requires continuous 

confinement in an eligible institution, as defined in the 

contract, if the insured is expected to remain there for the 

rest of his or her life; or 

4. a medical condition which would, in the absence of 

extensive or extraordinary medical treatment, result in a 

drastically limited life span. Such conditions may include, 

but are not limited to, one or more of he following: 

a. coronary artery disease resulting in an acute 

infarction or requiring surgery; 

b. permanent neurological deficit resulting from 

cerebral vascular accident; 

c. end stage renal failure; 

d. Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome; or 

e. other medical conditions which the commissioner 

shall approve for any particular filing; or 

5. other qualifying events which the commissioner 

shall approve for any particular filing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1505. Type of Product 

A. Accelerated benefit riders and life insurance policies 

with accelerated benefit provisions are primarily mortality 

risks rather than morbidity risks. They are life insurance 

benefits subject to R.S. 22:161-181; 22:191-197; and the 

applicable portions of Part XIV, (22:611-672). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1507. Assignee/Beneficiary 

A. Prior to the payment of the accelerated benefit, the 

insurer is required to obtain from any assignee or irrevocable 

beneficiary a signed acknowledgment of concurrence for 

payout. If the insurer making the accelerated benefit is itself 

the assignee under the policy, no such acknowledgment is 

required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1509. Criteria for Payment 

A. Lump Sum Settlement Option Required. Contract 

payment options shall include the option to take the benefit 

as a lump sum. The benefit shall not be made available as an 

annuity contingent upon the life of the insured. 

B. Restrictions on Use of Proceeds. No restrictions are 

permitted on the use of the proceeds. 

C. Accidental Death Benefit Provision. If any death 

benefit remains after payment of an accelerated benefit, the 

accidental death benefit provision, if any, in the policy or 

rider shall not be affected by the payment of the accelerated 
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benefit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1511. Disclosures 

A. Descriptive Title. The terminology accelerated benefit 

shall be included in the descriptive title. Products regulated 

under this regulation shall not be described or marketed as 

long-term care insurance or as providing long-term care 

benefits. 

B. Tax Consequences. A disclosure statement is required 

at the time of application for the policy or rider and at the 

time the accelerated benefit payment request is submitted 

that receipt of these accelerated benefits may be taxable and 

that assistance should be sought from a personal tax advisor. 

The disclosure statement shall be prominently displayed on 

the first page of the policy or rider and any other related 

documents. 

C. Solicitations 

1. A written disclosure including, but not necessarily 

limited to, a brief description of the accelerated benefit and 

definitions of the conditions or occurrences triggering 

payment of the benefits shall be given to the applicant. The 

description shall include an explanation of any effect of the 

payment of a benefit on the policy's cash value, 

accumulation account, death benefit, premium, policy loans 

and policy liens. 

a. In the case of agent solicited insurance, the agent 

shall provide the disclosure form to the applicant prior to or 

concurrently with the application. Acknowledgment of the 

disclosure shall be signed by the applicant and writing agent. 

b. In the case of a solicitation by direct response 

methods, the insurer shall provide disclosure form to the 

applicant at the time the policy is delivered, with a notice 

that a full premium refund shall be received if policy is 

returned to the company within the free look period. 

c. In the case of group insurance policies, the 

disclosure form shall be contained as part of the certificate 

of coverage or any related document furnished by the insurer 

for the certificate holder. 

2. If there is a premium or cost of insurance charge, 

the insurer shall give the applicant a generic illustration 

numerically demonstrating any effect of the payment of a 

benefit on the policy's cash value, accumulation account, 

death benefit, premium, policy loans and policy liens. 

a. In the case of agent solicited insurance, the agent 

shall provide the illustration to the applicant prior to or 

concurrently with the application. 

b. In the case of a solicitation by direct response 

methods, the insurer shall provide the illustration to the 

applicant at the time the policy is delivered. 

c. In the case of group insurance policies, the 

disclosure form shall be contained as part of the certificate 

of coverage or any related document furnished by the insurer 

for the certificate holder. 

3. Disclosure of Premium Charge 

a. Insurers with financing options other than as 

described in §1519.A.2 and 3 of this regulation shall disclose 

to the policy owner any premium or cost of insurance charge 

for the accelerated benefit. These insurers shall make a 

reasonable effort to assure that the certificate holder is aware 

of any additional premium or cost of insurance charge if the 

certificate holder is required to pay such charge. 

b. Insurers shall furnish an actuarial demonstration 

to the state insurance department when filing the product 

disclosing the method of arriving at their cost for the 

accelerated benefit. 

c. Disclosure of Administrative Expense Charge. 

The insurer shall disclose to the policy owner any 

administrative expense charge. The insurer shall make a 

reasonable effort to assure that the certificate holder is aware 

of any administrative expense charge if the certificate holder 

is required to pay such charge. 

D. Effect of the Benefit Payment. When a policy owner 

or certificate holder requests an acceleration, the insurer 

shall send a statement to the policy owner or certificate 

holder and irrevocable beneficiary showing any effect that 

the payment of the accelerated benefit will have on the 

policy's cash value, accumulation account, death benefit, 

premium, policy loans and policy liens. The statement shall 

disclose that receipt of accelerated benefit payments may 

adversely affect the recipient's eligibility for Medicaid or 

other government benefits or entitlements. In addition, 

receipt of an accelerated benefit payment may be taxable and 

assistance should be sought from a personal tax advisor. 

When a previous disclosure statement becomes invalid as a 

result of an acceleration of the death benefit, the insurer shall 

send a revised disclosure statement to the policy owner or 

certificate holder and irrevocable beneficiary. When the 

insurer agrees to accelerate death benefits, the insurer shall 

issue an amended schedule page to the policyholder or notify 

the certificate holder under a group policy to reflect any new, 

reduced in-force face amount of the contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1513. Effective Date of the Accelerated Benefits 

A. The accelerated benefit provision shall be effective 

for accidents on the effective date of the policy or rider. The 

accelerated benefit provision shall be effective for illness no 

more than 30 days following the effective date of the policy 

or rider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1515. Waiver of Premiums 
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A. The insurer may offer a waiver of premium for the 

accelerated benefit provision in the absence of a regular 

waiver of premium provision being in effect. At the time the 

benefit is claimed, the insurer shall explain any continuing 

premium requirement to keep the policy in force. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1517. Discrimination 

A. Insurers shall not unfairly discriminate among 

insureds with differing qualifying events covered under the 

policy or among insureds with similar qualifying events 

covered under the policy. Insurers shall not apply further 

conditions on the payment of the accelerated benefits other 

than those conditions specified in the policy or rider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1519. Actuarial Standards 

A. Financing Options 

1. The insurer may require a premium charge or cost 

of insurance charge for the accelerated benefit. These 

charges shall be based on sound actuarial principles. In the 

case of group insurance, the additional cost may also be 

reflected in the experience rating. 

2. The insurer may pay a present value of the face 

amount. The calculation shall be based on any applicable 

actuarial discount appropriate to the policy design. The 

interest rate or interest rate methodology used in the 

calculation shall be based on sound actuarial principles and 

disclosed in the contract or actuarial memorandum. The 

maximum interest rate used shall be no greater than the 

greater of: 

a. the current yield on 90 day treasury bills; or 

b. the current maximum statutory adjustable policy 

loan interest rate. 

3. The insurer may accrue an interest charge on the 

amount of the accelerated benefits. The interest rate or 

interest rate methodology used in the calculation shall be 

based on sound actuarial principles and disclosed in the 

contract or actuarial memorandum. The maximum interest 

rate used shall be no greater than the greater of: 

a. the current yield on 90 day treasury bills; or 

b. the current maximum statutory adjustable policy 

loan interest rate. The interest rate accrued on the portion of 

the lien which is equal in amount to the cash value of the 

contract at the time of the benefit acceleration shall be no 

more than the policy loan interest rate stated in the contract. 

B. Effect on Cash Value 

1. Except as provided in §1519.B.2, when an 

accelerated benefit is payable, there shall be no more than a 

pro rata reduction in the cash value based on the percentage 

of death benefits accelerated to produce the accelerated 

benefit payment. 

2. Alternatively, the payment of accelerated benefits, 

any administrative expense charges, any future premiums 

and any accrued interest can be considered a lien against the 

death benefit of the policy or rider, and the access to the cash 

value may be restricted to any excess of the cash value over 

the sum of any other outstanding loans and the lien. Future 

access to additional policy loans could also be limited to any 

excess of the cash value over the sum of the lien and any 

other outstanding policy loans. 

C. Effect of Any Outstanding Policy Loans on 

Accelerated Death Benefit Payment. When payment of an 

accelerated benefit results in a pro rata reduction in the cash 

value, the payment may not be applied toward repaying an 

amount greater than a pro rata portion of any outstanding 

policy loans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1521. Actuarial Disclosure and Reserves 

A. Actuarial Memorandum. A qualified actuary should 

describe the accelerated benefits, the risks, the expected 

costs and the calculation of statutory reserves in an actuarial 

memorandum accompanying each state filing. The insurer 

shall maintain in its files descriptions of the bases and 

procedures used to calculate benefits payable under these 

provisions. These descriptions shall be made available for 

examination by the commissioner upon request. 

B. Reserves 

1. When benefits are provided through the 

acceleration of benefits under group or individual life 

policies or riders to such policies, policy reserves shall be 

determined in accordance with the Standard Valuation Law. 

All valuation assumptions used in constructing the reserves 

shall be determined as appropriate for statutory valuation 

purposes by a member in good standing of the American 

Academy of Actuaries. Mortality tables and interest 

currently recognized for life insurance reserves by the NAIC 

may be used as well as appropriate assumptions for the other 

provisions incorporated in the policy form. The actuary must 

follow both actuarial standards and certification for good 

and sufficient reserves. Reserves in the aggregate should be 

sufficient to cover: 

a. policies upon which no claim has yet arisen; 

b. policies upon which an accelerated claim has 

arisen. 

2. For policies and certificates which provide 

actuarially equivalent benefits, no additional reserves need 

to be established. 

3. Policy liens and policy loans, including accrued 

interest, represent assets of the company for statutory 

reporting purposes. For any policy on which the policy lien 

exceeds the policy's statutory reserve liability such excess 
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must be held as a non-admitted asset. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

§1523. Filing Requirement 

A. The filing and prior approval of forms containing an 

accelerated benefit is required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:644. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1409 (December 

1992). 

Chapter 17. Regulation 45―Filing of 

Affirmative Action Plans 

§1701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement R.S. 

22:33(A)(1), which requires an insurer to file an affirmative 

action plan upon the violation of a cease and desist order 

issued by the commissioner after hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:32 and 22:33 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1581 (December 

1993), LR 46:1688 (December 2020). 

§1703. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation applies to any insurer that is called for 

hearing before the commissioner for violating Chapter 1, 

Part I, Subpart C of the Insurance Code (Equal Opportunity 

in Insurance) and found to be in violation of a cease and 

desist order issued in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 

22:33(A). It sets forth the minimum content and procedures 

for the filing of an affirmative action plan by an insurer who 

violates Chapter 1, Part I, Subpart C of the Insurance Code, 

and who then violates a cease and desist order issued by the 

commissioner after hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:32 and 22:33 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1581 (December 

1993), LR 46:1688 (December 2020). 

§1705. Content and Procedure 

A. The commissioner shall notify an insurer of its 

violation of a cease and desist order issued pursuant to 

Chapter 1, Part I, Subpart C of the Insurance Code by 

certified U.S. mail, return receipt requested. Said notification 

shall also direct the insurer to file an affirmative action plan. 

B. The notice shall require the insurer to file its plan 

within 20 days of receipt of the notice. 

C. The insurer shall file its plan by means of the U.S. 

mail, and it shall contain the minimum requirements stated 

in R.S. 22:33(C)(4)(a) and (b). 

D. The insurer shall address the plan to the attention of 

the Division of Diversity and Opportunity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:32 and 22:33 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1581 (December 

1993), LR 46:1688 (December 2020). 

§1707. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:32 and 22:33 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1581 (December 

1993), LR 46:1688 (December 2020). 

Chapter 19. Regulation 46―Long-

Term Care Insurance 

§1901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement R.S. 

22:1181-1191, Long-Term Care Insurance Act, to promote 

the public interest; to promote the availability of long-term 

care insurance coverage; to protect applicants for long-term 

care insurance, as defined, from unfair or deceptive sales or 

enrollment practices; to facilitate public understanding and 

comparison of long-term care insurance coverages; and to 

facilitate flexibility and innovation in the development of 

long-term care insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:462 (February 

2005), LR 31:462 (February 2005), LR 43:1394 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1903. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, this 

regulation applies to all long-term care insurance policies, 

including qualified long-term care contracts and life 

insurance policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care 

delivered, or issued for delivery, in this state on or after 

February 20, 2005, by insurers; fraternal benefit societies; 

nonprofit health, hospital and medical service corporations; 

prepaid health plans; health maintenance organizations; and 

all similar organizations to the extent they are authorized to 

issue life or health insurance. Certain provisions of this 

regulation apply only to qualified long-term care insurance 

contracts as noted. Renewal policies shall comply with this 

regulation as amended. 

B. Additionally, this regulation is intended to apply to 

policies having indemnity benefits that are triggered by 

activities of daily living and sold as disability income 

insurance, if: 

1. the benefits of the disability income policy are 

dependent upon or vary in amount based on the receipt of 

long-term care services; 
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2. the disability income policy is advertised, marketed 

or offered as insurance for long-term care services; or 

3. benefits under the policy may commence after the 

policyholder has reached Social Security's normal retirement 

age unless benefits are designed to replace lost income or 

pay for specific expenses other than long-term care services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1736(A), 22:1736(E), 22:1738(C), 22:1739, and 22:1740. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:462 (February 

2005). 

§1905. Definitions 

A. For the purpose of this regulation, the terms 

applicant, certificate, commissioner, group long-term care 

insurance, long-term care insurance, policy, and qualified 

long-term care insurance shall have the meanings set forth 

in R.S. 22:1184. In addition, the following definitions will 

apply. 

Benefit Trigger—for the purposes of independent 

review, a contractual provision in the insured’s policy of 

long-term care insurance conditioning the payment of 

benefits on a determination of the insured’s ability to 

perform activities of daily living and on cognitive 

impairment. For purposes of a tax-qualified long-term care 

insurance contract, as defined in section 7702B of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, “benefit 

trigger” shall include a determination by a licensed health 

care practitioner that an insured is a chronically ill 

individual. 

Exceptional Increase― 

a. only those increases filed by an insurer as 

exceptional for which the commissioner determines the need 

for the premium rate increase is justified: 

 i. due to changes in laws or regulations 

applicable to long-term care coverage in this state; or 

 ii. due to increased and unexpected utilization that 

affects the majority of insurers of similar products; 

b. except as provided in §1937, exceptional 

increases are subject to the same requirements as other 

premium rate schedule increases; 

c. the commissioner may request a review by an 

independent actuary or a professional actuarial body of the 

basis for a request that an increase be considered an 

exceptional increase; 

d. the commissioner, in determining that the 

necessary basis for an exceptional increase exists, shall also 

determine any potential offsets to higher claims costs. 

Incidental (as used in §1937.J)―that the value of the 

long-term care benefits provided is less than 10 percent of 

the total value of the benefits provided over the life of the 

policy. These values shall be measured as of the date of 

issue. 

Independent Review Organization—an organization that 

conducts independent reviews of long-term care benefit 

trigger decisions. 

Licensed Health Care Professional—an individual 

qualified by education and experience in an appropriate 

field, to determine, by record review, an insured’s actual 

functional or cognitive impairment. 

Qualified Actuary―a member in good standing of the 

American Academy of Actuaries. 

Similar Policy Forms—all of the long-term care 

insurance policies and certificates issued by an insurer in the 

same long-term care benefit classification as the policy form 

being considered. Certificates of groups that meet the 

definition in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a) are not considered similar to 

certificates or policies otherwise issued as long-term care 

insurance, but are similar to other comparable certificates 

with the same long-term care benefit classifications. For 

purposes of determining similar policy forms, long-term care 

benefit classifications are defined as follows: institutional 

long-term care benefits only, non-institutional long-term care 

benefits only, or comprehensive long-term care benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:462 (February 

2005), LR 43:1394 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1907. Policy Definitions 

A.1. No long-term care insurance policy delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state shall use the terms set forth 

below, unless the terms are defined in the policy and the 

definitions satisfy the following requirements. 

Activities of Daily Living―at least bathing, 

continence, dressing, eating, toileting, and transferring. 

Acute Condition―that the individual is medically 

unstable. Such an individual requires frequent monitoring by 

medical professionals, such as physicians and registered 

nurses, in order to maintain his or her health status. 

Adult Day Care—a program for six or more 

individuals, of social and health-related services provided 

during the day in a community group setting for the purpose 

of supporting adults who are frail, impaired and elderly, or 

have other disabilities and who can benefit from care in a 

group setting outside the home. 

Bathing―washing oneself by sponge bath; or in 

either a tub or shower, including the task of getting into or 

out of the tub or shower. 

Cognitive Impairment―a deficiency in a person's 

short or long-term memory, orientation as to person, place, 

and time, deductive or abstract reasoning, or judgment as it 

relates to safety awareness. 

Continence―the ability to maintain control of bowel 

and bladder function; or, when unable to maintain control of 

bowel or bladder function, the ability to perform associated 

personal hygiene (including caring for catheter or colostomy 

bag). 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 187 

Dressing―putting on and taking off all items of 

clothing and any necessary braces, fasteners, or artificial 

limbs. 

Eating―feeding oneself by getting food into the body 

from a receptacle (such as a plate, cup, or table) or by 

feeding tube or intravenously. 

Hands-On Assistance―physical assistance (minimal, 

moderate, or maximal) without which the individual would 

not be able to perform the activity of daily living. 

Home Health Care Services—medical and 

nonmedical services provided in their residences to persons 

who are ill, have a disability, or have an infirmity. Such 

services may include homemaker services, assistance with 

activities of daily living, and respite care services. 

Medicare―"the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, 

Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 1965 as 

Then Constituted or Later Amended," or "Title I, Part I of 

Public Law 89-97, as Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth Congress 

of the United States of America and popularly known as the 

Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then constituted, and 

any later amendments or substitutes thereof," or words of 

similar import. 

Mental or Nervous Disorder―shall not be defined to 

include more than neurosis, psychoneurosis, psychopathy, 

psychosis, or mental or emotional disease or disorder. 

Personal Care―the provision of hands-on services to 

assist an individual with activities of daily living. 

Skilled Nursing Care, Personal Care, Home Care, 

Specialized Care, Assisted Living Care, and Other 

Services—shall be defined in relation to the level of skill 

required, the nature of the care, and the setting in which care 

must be delivered. 

Toileting―getting to and from the toilet, getting on 

and off the toilet, and performing associated personal 

hygiene. 

Transferring―moving into or out of a bed, chair, or 

wheelchair. 

2. All providers of services including, but not limited 

to, Skilled Nursing Facility, Extended Care Facility, 

Intermediate Care Facility, Convalescent Nursing Home, 

Personal Care Facility, and Home Care Agency―shall be 

defined in relation to the services and facilities required to 

be available and the licensure or degree status of those 

providing or supervising the services. The definition may 

require that the provider be appropriately licensed or 

certified. 

B. All providers of services including, but not limited to, 

skilled nursing facility, extended care facility, convalescent 

nursing home, personal care facility, specialized care 

providers, assisted living facility, and home care agency 

shall be defined in relation to the services and facilities 

required to be available and the licensure, certification, 

registration, or degree status of those providing or 

supervising the services. When the definition requires that 

the provider be appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered, it shall also state what requirements a provider 

must meet in lieu of licensure, certification, or registration 

when the state in which the service is to be furnished does 

not require a provider of these services to be licensed, 

certified, registered, or when the state licenses, certifies, or 

registers the provider of services under another name. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:976 (August 1997), LR 43:1394 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018), amended LR 45:279 (February 2019). 

§1909. Policy Practices and Provisions 

A. Renewability. The terms guaranteed renewable and 

noncancellable shall not be used in any individual long-term 

care insurance policy without further explanatory language 

in accordance with the disclosure requirements of §1913 of 

this regulation. 

1. A policy issued to an individual shall not contain 

renewal provisions other than guaranteed renewable or 

noncancellable. 

2. The term guaranteed renewable may be used only 

when the insured has the right to continue the long-term care 

insurance in force by the timely payment of premiums and 

when the insurer has no unilateral right to make any change 

in any provision of the policy or rider while the insurance is 

in force, and cannot decline to renew, except that rates may 

be revised by the insurer on a class basis. 

3. The term noncancellable may be used only when 

the insured has the right to continue the long-term care 

insurance in force by the timely payment of premiums, 

during which period the insurer has no right to unilaterally 

make any change in any provision of the insurance or in the 

premium rate. 

4. The term level premium may only be used when the 

insurer does not have the right to change the premium. 

5. In addition to the other requirements of §1909.A, a 

qualified long-term insurance contract shall be guaranteed 

renewable, within the meaning of Section 7702B(b)(1)(C) of 

the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. 

B. Limitations and Exclusions. A policy may not be 

delivered or issued for delivery in this state as long-term 

care insurance if such policy limits or excludes coverage by 

type of illness, treatment, medical condition, or accident, 

except as follows: 

1. preexisting conditions or diseases; 

2. mental or nervous disorders; however, this shall not 

permit exclusion or limitation of benefits on the basis of 

Alzheimer's Disease; 

3. alcoholism and drug addiction; 

4. illness, treatment, or medical condition arising out 

of: 

a. war or act of war (whether declared or 

undeclared); 

b. participation in a felony, riot, or insurrection; 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 188 

c. service in the armed forces or units auxiliary 

thereto; 

d. suicide (sane or insane), attempted suicide, or 

intentionally self-inflicted injury; or 

e. aviation (this exclusion applies only to non-fare 

paying passengers); 

5. treatment provided in a government facility (unless 

otherwise required by law); services for which benefits are 

available under Medicare or other governmental program 

(except Medicaid), any state or federal workers' 

compensation, employer's liability, or occupational disease 

law, or any motor vehicle no-fault law; services provided by 

a member of the covered person's immediate family, and 

services for which no charge is normally made in the 

absence of insurance; 

6. expenses for services or items available or paid 

under another long-term care insurance or health insurance 

policy; 

7. in the case of a qualified long-term care insurance 

contract, expenses for services or items to the extent that the 

expenses are reimbursable under Title XVIII of the Social 

Security Act or would be so reimbursable but for the 

application of a deductible or coinsurance amount; 

8. Subsection 1909.B is not intended to prohibit 

exclusions and limitations by type of provider or territorial 

limitations. 

a. Subsection 1909.B is not intended to prohibit 

exclusions and limitations by type of provider. However, no 

long-term care issuer may deny a claim because services are 

provided in a state other than the state of policy issued under 

the following conditions: 

 i. when the state other than the state of policy 

issue does not have the provider licensing, certification, or 

registration required in the policy, but where the provider 

satisfies the policy requirements outlined for providers in 

lieu of licensure, certification, or registration; or 

 ii. when the state other than the state of policy 

issue licenses, certifies, or registers the provider under 

another name. 

b. For purposes of §1909.B.8: 

 i. state of policy issue—the state in which the 

individual policy or certificate was originally issued. 

9. Subsection 1909.B is not intended to prohibit 

territorial limitations. 

C. Extension of Benefits. Termination of long-term care 

insurance shall be without prejudice to any benefits payable 

for institutionalization, if such institutionalization began 

while the long-term care insurance was in force and 

continues without interruption after termination. Such 

extension of benefits beyond the period the long-term care 

insurance was in force may be limited to the duration of the 

benefit period, if any, or to payment of the maximum 

benefits and may be subject to any policy waiting period, 

and all other applicable provisions of the policy. 

D. Continuation or Conversion 

1. Group long-term care insurance issued in this state 

on or after the effective date of §1909 shall provide covered 

individuals with a basis for continuation or conversion of 

coverage. 

2. For the purposes of §1909, a basis for continuation 

of coverage means a policy provision which maintains 

coverage under the existing group policy when such 

coverage would otherwise terminate and which is subject 

only to the continued timely payment of premium, when 

due. Group policies which restrict provision of benefits and 

services to, or contain incentives to use certain providers 

and/or facilities may provide continuation benefits which are 

substantially equivalent to the benefits of the existing group 

policy. The commissioner shall make a determination as to 

the substantial equivalency of benefits, and in doing so, shall 

take into consideration the differences between managed 

care and non-managed care plans including, but not limited 

to, provider system arrangements, service availability, 

benefit levels, and administrative complexity. 

3. For the purposes of §1909, a basis for conversion of 

coverage means a policy provision that an individual whose 

coverage under the group policy would otherwise terminate 

or has been terminated for any reason, including 

discontinuance of the group policy in its entirety or with 

respect to an insured class, and who has been continuously 

insured under the group policy (and any group policy which 

it replaced), for at least six months immediately prior to 

termination, shall be entitled to the issuance of a converted 

policy by the insurer under whose group policy he or she is 

covered, without evidence of insurability. 

4. For the purposes of §1909, converted policy means 

an individual policy of long-term care insurance providing 

benefits identical to or benefits determined by the 

commissioner to be substantially equivalent to or in excess 

of those provided under the group policy from which 

conversion is made. Where the group policy from which 

conversion is made restricts provision of benefits and 

services to, or contains incentives to use certain providers 

and/or facilities, the commissioner, in making a 

determination as to the substantial equivalency of benefits, 

shall take into consideration the differences between 

managed care and non-managed care plans including, but 

not limited to, provider system arrangements, service 

availability, benefit levels, and administrative complexity. 

5. Written application for the converted policy shall be 

made, and the first premium due, if any, shall be paid as 

directed by the insurer not later than 31 days after 

termination of coverage under the group policy. The 

converted policy shall be issued effective on the day 

following the termination of coverage under the group 

policy, and shall be renewable annually. 

6. Unless the group policy from which conversion is 

made replaced previous group coverage, the premium for the 

converted policy shall be calculated on the basis of the 

insured's age at inception of coverage under the group policy 

from which conversion is made. Where the group policy 

from which conversion is made replaced previous group 

coverage, the premium for the converted policy shall be 
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calculated on the basis of the insured's age at inception of 

coverage under the group policy replaced. 

7. Continuation of coverage or issuance of a converted 

policy shall be mandatory, except where: 

a. termination of group coverage resulted from an 

individual's failure to make any required payment of 

premium or contribution when due; or 

b. the terminating coverage is replaced not later 

than 31 days after termination by group coverage effective 

on the day following the termination of coverage: 

 i. providing benefits identical to or benefits 

determined by the commissioner to be substantially 

equivalent to or in excess of those provided by the 

terminating coverage; and 

 ii. the premium for which is calculated in a 

manner consistent with the requirements of §1909.D.6. 

8. Notwithstanding any other provision of §1909, a 

converted policy issued to an individual who, at the time of 

conversion, is covered by another long-term care insurance 

policy which provides benefits on the basis of incurred 

expenses, may contain a provision which results in a 

reduction of benefits payable if the benefits provided under 

the additional coverage, together with the full benefits 

provided by the converted policy, would result in payment of 

more than 100 percent of incurred expenses. Such provision 

shall only be included in the converted policy if the 

converted policy also provides for a premium decrease or 

refund which reflects the reduction in benefits payable. 

9. The converted policy may provide that the benefits 

payable under the converted policy, together with the 

benefits payable under the group policy from which 

conversion is made, shall not exceed those that would have 

been payable had the individual's coverage under the group 

policy remained in force and effect. 

10. Notwithstanding any other provision of §1909, any 

insured individual whose eligibility for group long-term care 

coverage is based upon his or her relationship to another 

person shall be entitled to continuation of coverage under the 

group policy upon termination of the qualifying relationship 

by death or dissolution of marriage. 

11. For the purposes of §1909, a managed-care plan is 

a health care or assisted living arrangement designed to 

coordinate patient care or control costs through utilization 

review, case management, or use of specific provider 

networks. 

E. Discontinuance and Replacement. If a group long-

term care policy is replaced by another group long-term care 

policy issued to the same policyholder, the succeeding 

insurer shall offer coverage to all persons covered under the 

previous group policy on its date of termination. Coverage 

provided or offered to individuals by the insurer and 

premiums charged to persons under the new group policy: 

1. shall not result in any exclusion for pre-existing 

conditions that would have been covered under the group 

policy being replaced; and 

2. shall not vary or otherwise depend on the 

individual's health or disability status, claim experience, or 

use of long-term care services. 

F.1. The premium charged to an insured shall not increase 

due to either: 

a. the increasing age of the insured at ages beyond 

65; or 

b. the duration the insured has been covered under 

the policy. 

2. The purchase of additional coverage shall not be 

considered a premium rate increase, but for purposes of the 

calculation required under §1955, the portion of the 

premium attributable to the additional coverage shall be 

added to and considered part of the initial annual premium. 

3. A reduction in benefits shall not be considered a 

premium change, but for purposes of the calculation required 

under §1955, the initial annual premium shall be based on 

the reduced benefits. 

G. Electronic Enrollment for Group Policies 

1. In the case of a group defined in R.S. 

22:1184(4)(a), any requirement that a signature of an insured 

be obtained by a producer or insurer shall be deemed 

satisfied if: 

a. the consent is obtained by telephonic or 

electronic enrollment by the group policyholder or insurer. A 

verification of enrollment information shall be provided to 

the enrollee; 

b. the telephonic or electronic enrollment provides 

necessary and reasonable safeguards to assure the accuracy, 

retention and prompt retrieval of records; and 

c. the telephonic or electronic enrollment provides 

necessary and reasonable safeguards to assure that the 

confidentiality of individually identifiable information and 

"privileged information" as defined by applicable state or 

federal law, is maintained. 

2. The insurer shall make available, upon request of 

the commissioner, records that will demonstrate the insurer’s 

ability to confirm enrollment and coverage amounts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:462 (February 

2005), LR 43:1395 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1911. Unintentional Lapse 

A. Each insurer offering long-term care insurance shall, 

as a protection against unintentional lapse, comply with the 

following. 

1. Notice before Lapse or Termination 

a. No individual long-term care policy or certificate 

shall be issued until the insurer has received from the 

applicant either a written designation of at least one person, 

in addition to the applicant, who is to receive notice of lapse 

or termination of the policy or certificate for nonpayment of 

premium or a written waiver, dated and signed by the 
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applicant, electing not to designate additional persons to 

receive notice. The applicant has the right to designate at 

least one person who is to receive the notice of termination, 

in addition to the insured. Designation shall not constitute 

acceptance of any liability on the third party for services 

provided to the insured. The form used for the written 

designation must provide space clearly designated for listing 

at least one person. The designation shall include each 

person's full name and home address. In the case of an 

applicant who elects not to designate an additional person, 

the waiver shall state: 

"Protection against unintended lapse. I understand that I 
have the right to designate at least one person other than 

myself to receive notice of lapse or termination of this long-

term care insurance policy for nonpayment of premium. I 
understand that notice will not be given until 30 days after a 

premium is due and unpaid. I elect NOT to designate a person 

to receive this notice." 

b. The insurer shall notify the insured of the right to 

change this written designation, no less often than once 

every two years. 

c. When the policyholder or certificateholder pays 

premium for a long-term care insurance policy or certificate 

through a payroll or pension deduction plan, the 

requirements contained in §1911.A.1.a need not be met until 

60 days after the policyholder or certificateholder is no 

longer on such a payment plan. The application or 

enrollment form for such policies or certificates shall clearly 

indicate the payment plan selected by the applicant. 

d. Lapse or Termination for Nonpayment of 

Premium. No individual long-term care policy or certificate 

shall lapse or be terminated for nonpayment of premium 

unless the insurer, at least 30 days before the effective date 

of the lapse or termination, has given notice to the insured 

and to those persons designated pursuant to §1911.A.1.a, at 

the address provided by the insured for purposes of receiving 

notice of lapse or termination. Notice shall be given by first 

class United States mail, postage prepaid; and notice may 

not be given until 30 days after a premium is due and 

unpaid. Notice shall be deemed to have been given as of five 

days after the date of mailing. 

B. Reinstatement. In addition to the requirement in 

§1911.A.1, a long-term care insurance policy or certificate 

shall include a provision which provides for reinstatement of 

coverage, in the event of lapse, if the insurer is provided 

proof that the policyholder or certificateholder was 

cognitively impaired or had a loss of functional capacity 

before the grace period contained in the policy expired. This 

option shall be available to the insured, if requested within 

five months after termination, and shall allow for the 

collection of past due premium where appropriate. The 

standard of proof of cognitive impairment or loss of 

functional capacity shall not be more stringent than the 

benefit eligibility criteria on cognitive impairment or the loss 

of functional capacity contained in the policy and certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1736(A), 22:1736(E), 22:1738(C), 22:1739, and 22:1740. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:978 (August 1997), LR 31:464 (February 

2005). 

§1913. Required Disclosure Provisions 

A. Renewability. Individual long-term care insurance 

policies shall contain a renewability provision. 

1. The provision shall be appropriately captioned, 

shall appear on the first page of the policy, and shall clearly 

state that the coverage is guaranteed renewable or 

noncancellable. This provision shall not apply to policies 

which do not contain a renewability provision, and under 

which the right to nonrenew is reserved solely to the 

policyholder. 

2. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate, 

other than one where the insurer does not have the right to 

change the premium, shall include a statement that premium 

rates may change. 

B. Riders and Endorsements. Except for riders or 

endorsements by which the insurer effectuates a request 

made, in writing, by the insured under an individual long-

term care insurance policy, all riders or endorsements added 

to an individual long-term care insurance policy after date of 

issue or at reinstatement or renewal which reduce or 

eliminate benefits or coverage in the policy shall require 

signed acceptance by the individual insured. After the date 

of policy issue, any rider or endorsement which increases 

benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase in premium 

during the policy term must be agreed to, in writing and 

signed by the insured, except if the increased benefits or 

coverage are required by law. Where a separate additional 

premium is charged for benefits provided in connection with 

riders or endorsements, such premium charge shall be set 

forth in the policy, rider, or endorsement. 

C. Payment of Benefits. A long-term care insurance 

policy which provides for the payment of benefits based on 

standards described as usual and customary, reasonable and 

customary or words of similar import shall include a 

definition of such terms and an explanation of such terms in 

its accompanying outline of coverage. 

D. Limitations. If a long-term care insurance policy or 

certificate contains any limitations with respect to pre-

existing conditions, such limitations shall appear as a 

separate paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall be 

labeled as "Pre-Existing Condition Limitations." 

E. Other Limitations or Conditions on Eligibility for 

Benefits. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate 

containing post confinement, post-acute care, or recuperative 

benefits shall set forth a description of such limitations or 

conditions, including any required number of days of 

confinement, in a separate paragraph of the policy or 

certificate and shall clearly label such paragraph, 

"Limitations or Conditions on Eligibility for Benefits." 

F. Disclosure of Tax Consequences. With regard to life 

insurance policies which provide an accelerated benefit for 

long-term care, a disclosure statement is required at the time 

of application for the policy or rider, and at the time the 

accelerated benefit payment request is submitted, that receipt 

of these accelerated benefits may be taxable, and that 

assistance should be sought from a personal tax advisor. The 
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disclosure statement shall be prominently displayed on the 

first page of the policy or rider and any other related 

documents. §1913.F shall not apply to qualified long-term 

care insurance contracts. 

G. Benefit Triggers. Activities of daily living and 

cognitive impairment shall be used to measure an insured's 

need for long-term care and shall be described in the policy 

or certificate in a separate provision and shall be labeled 

"Eligibility for the Payment of Benefits." Any additional 

benefit triggers shall also be explained in this provision. If 

these triggers differ for different benefits, explanation of the 

trigger shall accompany each benefit description. If an 

attending physician or other specified person must certify a 

certain level of functional dependency in order to be eligible 

for benefits, this too shall be specified. 

H. A qualified long-term care insurance contract shall 

include a disclosure statement in the policy, and in the 

outline of coverage as contained in §1963 that the policy is 

intended to be a qualified long-term care insurance contract 

under section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 

1986, as amended. 

I. A nonqualified long-term care insurance contract shall 

include a disclosure statement in the policy and in the 

outline of coverage as contained in §1963 that the policy is 

not intended to be a qualified long-term care insurance 

contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:978 (August 1997), LR 31:465 (February 

2005), LR 43:1395 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1915. Required Disclosure of Rating Practices to 

Consumers 

A. This Section shall apply as follows. 

1. Except as provided in §1915.A.2, §1915 applies to 

any long-term care policy or certificate issued in this state on 

or after August 19, 2005. 

2. For certificates issued on or after the effective date 

of this amended regulation under a group long-term care 

insurance policy as defined in R.S. 22:1184(4), which policy 

was in force at the time this amended regulation became 

effective, the provisions of §1915 shall apply on the policy 

anniversary following February 19, 2006. 

B. Other than policies for which no applicable premium 

rate or rate schedule increases can be made, insurers shall 

provide all of the information listed in §1915.B to the 

applicant at the time of application or enrollment, unless the 

method of application does not allow for delivery at that 

time. In such a case, an insurer shall provide all of the 

information listed in §1915 to the applicant no later than at 

the time of delivery of the policy or certificate: 

1. a statement that the policy may be subject to rate 

increases in the future; 

2. an explanation of potential future premium rate 

revisions, and the policyholder's or certificateholder's option 

in the event of a premium rate revision; 

3. the premium rate or rate schedules applicable to the 

applicant that will be in effect until a request is made for an 

increase; 

4. a general explanation for applying premium rate or 

rate schedule adjustments that shall include: 

a. a description of when premium rate or rate 

schedule adjustments will be effective (e.g., next anniversary 

date, next billing date, etc.); and 

b. the right to a revised premium rate or rate 

schedule as provided in §1915.B.3 if the premium rate or 

rate schedule is changed; 

5.a. information regarding each premium rate increase 

on this policy form or similar policy forms over the past 10 

years for this state or any other state that, at a minimum, 

identifies: 

 i. the policy forms for which premium rates have 

been increased; 

 ii. the calendar years when the form was available 

for purchase; and 

 iii. the amount or percent of each increase. The 

percentage may be expressed as a percentage of the premium 

rate prior to the increase, and may also be expressed as 

minimum and maximum percentages if the rate increase is 

variable by rating characteristics; 

b. the insurer may, in a fair manner, provide 

additional explanatory information related to the rate 

increases; 

c. an insurer shall have the right to exclude from the 

disclosure premium rate increases that only apply to blocks 

of business acquired from other nonaffiliated insurers or the 

long-term care policies acquired from other nonaffiliated 

insurers when those increases occurred prior to the 

acquisition; 

d. if an acquiring insurer files for a rate increase on 

a long-term care policy form acquired from nonaffiliated 

insurers or a block of policy forms acquired from 

nonaffiliated insurers on or before the later of the effective 

date of §1915 or the end of a 24-month period following the 

acquisition of the block or policies, the acquiring insurer 

may exclude that rate increase from the disclosure. However, 

the nonaffiliated selling company shall include the 

disclosure of that rate increase in accordance with 

§1915.B.5.a of this Paragraph; 

e. if the acquiring insurer in §1915.B.5.d above files 

for a subsequent rate increase, even within the 24-month 

period, on the same policy form acquired from nonaffiliated 

insurers or block of policy forms acquired from nonaffiliated 

insurers referenced in §1915.B.5.d, the acquiring insurer 

shall make all disclosures required by §1915.B.5, including 

disclosure of the earlier rate increase referenced in 

§1915.B.5.d. 

C. An applicant shall sign an acknowledgement at the 

time of application, unless the method of application does 

not allow for signature at that time, that the insurer made the 
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disclosure required under §1915.B.1 and 5. If due to the 

method of application the applicant cannot sign an 

acknowledgement at the time of application, the applicant 

shall sign no later than at the time of delivery of the policy 

or certificate. 

D. An insurer shall use the forms in Appendices B and F 

to comply with the requirements of §1915.B and §1915.C of 

this Section. 

E. An insurer shall provide notice of an upcoming 

premium rate schedule increase to all policyholders or 

certificateholders, if applicable, at least 45 days prior to the 

implementation of the premium rate schedule increase by the 

insurer. The notice shall include the information required by 

§1915.B when the rate increase is implemented. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:465 (February 

2005), amended LR 43:1395 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 

2018). 

§1917. Initial Filing Requirements 

A. This Section applies to any long-term care policy 

issued in this state on or after August 19, 2005, except that 

§1917.B.2.d and §1917.B.3 apply to any long-term care 

policy issued in this state on or after January 1, 2018. 

B. An insurer shall provide the information listed in 

§1917.B to the commissioner 45 days prior to making a 

long-term care insurance form available for sale: 

1. a copy of the disclosure documents required in 

§1915; and 

2. an actuarial certification consisting of at least the 

following: 

a. a statement that the initial premium rate schedule 

is sufficient to cover anticipated costs under moderately 

adverse experience and that the premium rate schedule is 

reasonably expected to be sustainable over the life of the 

form with no future premium increases anticipated; 

b. a statement that the policy design and coverage 

provided have been reviewed and taken into consideration; 

c. a statement that the underwriting and claims 

adjudication processes have been reviewed and taken into 

consideration; 

d. a statement that the premiums contain at least the 

minimum margin for moderately adverse experience defined 

in §1917.B.2.d.i or the specification of and justification for a 

lower margin as required by §1917.B.2.d.ii: 

 i. a composite margin shall not be less than 10 

percent of lifetime claims; 

 ii. a composite margin that is less than 10 percent 

may be justified in uncommon circumstances. The proposed 

amount, full justification of the proposed amount, and 

methods to monitor developing experience that would be the 

basis for withdrawal of approval for such lower margins 

must be submitted; 

 iii. a composite margin lower than otherwise 

considered appropriate for the stand-alone long-term care 

policy may be justified for long-term care benefits provided 

through a life policy or an annuity contract. Such lower 

composite margin, if utilized, shall be justified by 

appropriate actuarial demonstration addressing margins and 

volatility when considering the entirety of the product; 

 iv. a greater margin may be appropriate in 

circumstances where the company has less credible 

experience to support its assumptions used to determine the 

premium rates; 

e.i. a statement that the premium rate schedule is not 

less than the premium rate schedule for existing similar 

policy forms also available from the insurer except for 

reasonable differences attributable to benefits; or 

 ii. a comparison of the premium schedules for 

similar policy forms that are currently available from the 

insurer with an explanation of the differences. 

f. a statement that reserve requirements have been 

reviewed and considered. Support for this statement shall 

include: 

 i. sufficient detail or sample calculations 

provided so as to have a complete depiction of the reserve 

amounts to be held; and 

 ii. a statement that the difference between the 

gross premium and the net valuation premium for renewal 

years is sufficient to cover expected renewal expenses; or if 

such a statement cannot be made, a complete description of 

the situations where this does not occur. An aggregate 

distribution of anticipated issues may be used as long as the 

underlying gross premiums maintain a reasonably consistent 

relationship.  

3. An actuarial memorandum prepared, dated, and 

signed by a member of the Academy of Actuaries shall be 

included and shall address and support each specific item 

required as part of the actuarial certification and provide at 

least the following information: 

a. an explanation of the review performed by the 

actuary prior to marking the statements in §1917.B.2.b and 

§1917.B.2.c; 

b. a complete description of pricing 

assumptions; 

c. sources and levels of margins incorporated into 

the gross premiums that are the basis for the statement in 

§1917.B.2.a of the actuarial certification and an explanation 

of the analysis and testing performed in determining the 

sufficiency of the margins. Deviations in margins between 

ages, sexes, plans, or states shall be clearly described. 

Deviations in margins required to be described are other than 

those produced utilizing generally accepted actuarial 

methods for smoothing and interpolating gross premium 

scales; and 

d. a demonstration that the gross premiums include 

the minimum composite margin specified in §1917.B.2.d. 

C. In any review of the actuarial certification and 

actuarial memorandum, the commissioner may request 

review by an actuary with experience in long-term care 
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pricing who is independent of the company. In the event the 

commissioner asks for additional information as a result of 

any review, the period in §1917.B does not include the 

period during which the insurer is preparing the requested 

information.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:466 (February 

2005), amended LR 43:1395 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 

2018). 

§1919. Requirements to Offer Inflation Protection 

A. No insurer may offer a long-term care insurance 

policy unless the insurer also offers to the policyholder, in 

addition to any other inflation protection, the option to 

purchase a policy that provides for benefit levels to increase 

with benefit maximums or reasonable durations which are 

meaningful to account for reasonably anticipated increases 

in the costs of long-term care services covered by the policy. 

Insurers must offer to each policyholder, at the time of 

purchase, the option to purchase a policy with an inflation 

protection feature no less favorable than one of the 

following: 

1. increases benefit levels annually in a manner so that 

the increases are compounded annually at a rate not less than 

5 percent; 

2. guarantees the insured individual the right to 

periodically increase benefit levels without providing 

evidence of insurability or health status, so long as the 

option for the previous period has not been declined. The 

amount of the additional benefit shall be no less than the 

difference between the existing policy benefit and that 

benefit compounded annually at a rate of at least 5 percent 

for the period beginning with the purchase of the existing 

benefit and extending until the year in which the offer is 

made; or 

3. covers a specified percentage of actual or 

reasonable charges and does not include a maximum 

specified indemnity amount or limit. 

B. Where the policy is issued to a group, the required 

offer in §1919.A shall be made to the group policyholder; 

except, if the policy is issued to a group defined in R.S. 

22:1184(4)(d), other than to a continuing care retirement 

community, the offering shall be made to each proposed 

certificateholder. 

C. The offer in §1919.A shall not be required of life 

insurance policies or riders containing accelerated long-term 

care benefits. 

D.1. Insurers shall include the following information in 

or with the outline of coverage: 

a. a graphic comparison of the benefit levels of a 

policy that increases benefits over the policy period with a 

policy that does not increase benefits. The graphic 

comparison shall show benefit levels over at least a 20-year 

period; 

b. any expected premium increases or additional 

premiums to pay for automatic or optional benefit increases. 

2. An insurer may use a reasonable hypothetical, or a 

graphic demonstration, for the purposes of this disclosure. 

E. Inflation protection benefit increases, under a policy 

which contains such benefits, shall continue without regard 

to an insured's age, claim status, or claim history, or the 

length of time the person has been insured under the policy. 

F. An offer of inflation protection which provides for 

automatic benefit increases shall include an offer of a 

premium which the insurer expects to remain constant. Such 

offer shall disclose, in a conspicuous manner, that the 

premium may change in the future, unless the premium is 

guaranteed to remain constant. 

G.1. Inflation protection, as provided in §1919.A.1, shall 

be included in a long-term care insurance policy unless an 

insurer obtains a rejection of inflation protection, signed by 

the policyholder, as required in §1919.G.1. The rejection 

may be either in the application or on a separate form. 

2. The rejection shall be considered a part of the 

application and shall state: 

I have reviewed the outline of coverage and the graphs that 

compare the benefits and premiums of this policy with and 
without inflation protection. Specifically, I have reviewed 

Plans ______, and I reject inflation protection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1156 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:467 (February 

2005), LR 43:1396 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1921. Prohibition against Post-Claim Underwriting 

(Formerly §1915) 

A. All applications for long-term care insurance policies 

or certificates, except those which are guaranteed issue, shall 

contain clear and unambiguous questions designed to 

ascertain the health condition of the applicant. 

B.1. If an application for long-term care insurance 

contains a question which asks whether the applicant has had 

medication prescribed by a physician, it must also ask the 

applicant to list the medication that has been prescribed. 

2. If the medications listed in such application were 

known by the insurer, or should have been known at the time 

of application, to be directly related to a medical condition 

for which coverage would otherwise be denied, then the 

policy or certificate shall not be rescinded for that condition. 

C. Except for policies or certificates which are 

guaranteed issue: 

1. the following language shall be set out 

conspicuously, and in close conjunction with the applicant's 

signature block, on an application for a long-term care 

insurance policy or certificate: 

CAUTION: If your answers on this application are incorrect or 
untrue, [company] has the right to deny benefits or rescind 

your policy; 

2. the following language, or language substantially 
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similar to the following, shall be set out conspicuously on 

the long-term care insurance policy or certificate at the time 

of delivery: 

CAUTION: The issuance of this long-term care insurance 

[policy] [certificate] is based upon your responses to the 
questions on your application. A copy of your [application] 

[enrollment form] [is enclosed] [was retained by you when 

you applied]. If your answers are incorrect or untrue, the 
company has the right to deny benefits or rescind your policy. 

The best time to clear up any questions is now, before a claim 

arises! If, for any reason, any of your answers are incorrect, 
contact the company at this address: [insert address]; 

3. prior to issuance of a long-term care policy or 

certificate to an applicant age 80 or older, the insurer shall 

obtain one of the following: 

a. a report of a physical examination; 

b. an assessment of functional capacity; 

c. an attending physician's statement; or 

d. copies of medical records. 

D. A copy of the completed application or enrollment 

form (whichever is applicable) shall be delivered to the 

insured no later than at the time of delivery of the policy or 

certificate, unless it was retained by the applicant at the time 

of application. 

E. Every insurer or other entity selling or issuing long-

term care insurance benefits shall maintain a record of all 

policy or certificate rescissions, both state and countrywide, 

except those which the insured voluntarily effectuated, and 

shall annually furnish this information to the insurance 

commissioner in the format prescribed by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners in §1969, 

Appendix A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:467 (February 

2005), LR 43:1396 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1923. Minimum Standards for Home Health and 

Community Care Benefits in Long-Term Care 

Insurance Policies 

(Formerly §1917) 

A. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate shall 

not, if it provides benefits for home health care or 

community care services, limit or exclude benefits: 

1. by requiring that the insured or claimant would 

need care in a skilled nursing facility if home health care 

services were not provided; 

2. by requiring that the insured or claimant first, or 

simultaneously, receive nursing or therapeutic services, or 

both, in a home, community, or institutional setting before 

home health care services are covered; 

3. by limiting eligible services to services provided by 

registered nurses or licensed practical nurses; 

4. by requiring that a nurse or therapist provide 

services covered by the policy that can be provided by a 

home health aide, or other licensed or certified home care 

worker acting within the scope of his or her licensure or 

certification; 

5. by excluding coverage for personal care services 

provided by a home health aide; 

6. by requiring that the provision of home health care 

services be at a level of certification or licensure greater than 

that required by the eligible service; 

7. by requiring that the insured or claimant have an 

acute condition before home health care services are 

covered; 

8. by limiting benefits to services provided by 

Medicare-certified agencies or providers; 

9. by excluding coverage for adult day care services. 

B. A long-term care insurance policy or certificate, if it 

provides for home health or community care services, shall 

provide total home health or community care coverage that 

is a dollar amount equivalent to at least one-half of one 

year's coverage available for nursing home benefits under 

the policy or certificate, at the time covered home health or 

community care services are being received. This 

requirement shall not apply to policies or certificates issued 

to residents of continuing care retirement communities. 

C. Home health care coverage may be applied to the 

non-home health care benefits provided in the policy or 

certificate when determining maximum coverage under the 

terms of the policy or certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1158 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:982 (August 1997), repromulgated LR 

31:467 (February 2005), amended LR 43:1396 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1925. Requirements for Application Forms and 

Replacement Coverage 

(Formerly §1921) 

A. Application forms shall include the following 

questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of 

the date of the application, the applicant has another long-

term care insurance policy or certificate in force or whether 

a long-term care policy or certificate is intended to replace 

any other accident and sickness or long-term care policy or 

certificate presently in force. A supplementary application or 

other form to be signed by the applicant and producer, 

except where the coverage is sold without a producer, 

containing such questions may be used. With regard to a 

replacement policy issued to a group defined by R.S. 

22:1184(4)(a), the following questions may be modified only 

to the extent necessary to elicit information about health or 

long-term care insurance policies other than the group policy 

being replaced, provided that the certificateholder has been 

notified of the replacement: 

1. Do you have another long-term care insurance 

policy or certificate in force (including health care service 

contract, health maintenance organization contract)? 

2. Did you have another long-term care insurance 
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policy or certificate in force during the last 12 months? 

a. If so, with which company? 

b. If that policy lapsed, when did it lapse? 

3. Are you covered by Medicaid? 

4. Do you intend to replace any of your medical or 

health insurance coverage with this policy (certificate)? 

B. Producers shall list any other health insurance policies 

they have sold to the applicant. 

1. List policies sold which are still in force. 

2. List policies sold in the past five years which are no 

longer in force. 

C. Solicitations Other than Direct Response. Upon 

determining that a sale will involve replacement, an insurer, 

other than an insurer using direct response solicitation 

methods, or its producer, shall furnish the applicant, prior to 

issuance or delivery of the individual long-term care 

insurance policy, a notice regarding replacement of accident 

and sickness or long-term care coverage. One copy of such 

notice shall be retained by the applicant, and an additional 

copy signed by the applicant shall be retained by the insurer. 

The required notice shall be provided in the following 

manner. 

NOTICE TO APPLICANT 

 REGARDING REPLACEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL ACCIDENT  

AND SICKNESS OR LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 
[Insurance company's name and address] 

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO YOU IN THE FUTURE. 

According to [your application] [information you have 

furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing 
accident and sickness or long-term care insurance and replace 

it with an individual long-term care insurance policy to be 

issued by [company name] Insurance Company. Your new 

policy provides thirty (30) days within which you may decide, 

without cost, whether you desire to keep the policy. For your 

own information and protection, you should be aware of and 
seriously consider certain factors which may affect the 

insurance protection available to you under the new policy. 

You should review this new coverage carefully, comparing it 
with all accident and sickness or long-term care insurance 

coverage you now have, and terminate your present policy 

only if, after due consideration, you find that purchase of this 

long-term care coverage is a wise decision. 

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY PRODUCER  

[BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]: 

(Use additional sheets, as necessary.) 

I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance 
coverage. I believe the replacement of insurance involved in 

this transaction materially improves your position. My 

conclusion has taken into account the following 

considerations, which I call to your attention: 

1. Health conditions which you may presently have (pre-

existing conditions) may not be immediately or fully 

covered under the new policy. This could result in denial or 
delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, whereas 

a similar claim might have been payable under your present 

policy. 

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or 
certificate may not contain new pre-existing conditions or 

probationary periods. The insurer will waive any time 

periods applicable to pre-existing conditions or 
probationary periods in the new policy (or coverage) for 

similar benefits to the extent such time was spent (depleted) 

under the original policy. 

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care insurance 

coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of your 

present insurer or its producer regarding the proposed 

replacement of your present policy. This is not only your 
right, but it is also in your best interest to make sure you 

understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing 

your present coverage. 

4. If, after due consideration, you still wish to terminate your 
present policy and replace it with new coverage, be certain 

to truthfully and completely answer all questions on the 

application concerning your medical health history. Failure 
to include all material medical information on an 

application may provide a basis for the company to deny 

any future claims and to refund your premium as though 
your policy had never been in force. After the application 

has been completed and before your sign it, reread it 

carefully to be certain that all information has been 

properly recorded. 

____________________________________________ 

(Signature of Producer, Broker or Other Representative) 

[Typed Name and Address of Producer or Broker] 

The above "Notice to Applicant" was delivered to me on: 

_________________________   _______________________ 

  (Applicant's Signature) (Date) 

D. Direct Response Solicitations. Insurers using direct 

response solicitation methods shall deliver a notice regarding 

replacement of accident and sickness or long-term care 

coverage to the applicant upon issuance of the policy. The 

required notice shall be provided in the following manner: 

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT OF ACCIDENT  

AND SICKNESS OR LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 
[Insurance company's name and address] 

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO YOU IN THE FUTURE. 

According to [your application] [information you have 
furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing 

accident and sickness or long-term care insurance and replace 

it with the long-term care insurance policy delivered herewith 
issued by [company name] Insurance Company. Your new 

policy provides thirty (30) days within which you may decide, 

without cost, whether you desire to keep the policy. For your 
own information and protection, you should be aware of and 

seriously consider certain factors which may affect the 

insurance protection available to you under the new policy. 
You should review this new coverage carefully, comparing it 

with all accident and sickness or long-term care insurance 

coverage you now have, and terminate your present policy 
only if, after due consideration, you find that purchase of this 

long-term care coverage is a wise decision. 

1. Health conditions which you may presently have (pre-

existing conditions) may not be immediately or fully 
covered under the new policy. This could result in denial or 

delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, whereas 

a similar claim might have been payable under your present 

policy. 

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or 

certificate may not contain new pre-existing conditions or 

probationary periods. Your insurer will waive any time 
periods applicable to pre-existing conditions or 

probationary periods in the new policy (or coverage) for 

similar benefits to the extent such time was spent (depleted) 

under the original policy. 

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care insurance 

coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of your 

present insurer or its producer regarding the proposed 
replacement of your present policy. This is not only your 

right, but it is also in your best interest to make sure you 

understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing 

your present coverage. 

4. [To be included only if the application is attached to the 

policy.] If, after due consideration, you still wish to 

terminate your present policy and replace it with new 
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coverage, read the copy of the application attached to your 

new policy and be sure that all questions are answered fully 

and correctly. Omissions or misstatements in the 
application could cause an otherwise valid claim to be 

denied. Carefully check the application and write to 

[company name and address] within thirty (30) days if any 
information is not correct and complete, or if any past 

medical history has been left out of the application. 

__________________________________________ 

(Company Name) 

E. Where replacement is intended, the replacing insurer 

shall notify, in writing, the existing insurer of the proposed 

replacement. The existing policy shall be identified by the 

insurer, name of the insured, and policy number or address, 

including zip code. Such notice shall be made within five 

working days from the date the application is received by the 

insurer or the date the policy is issued, whichever is sooner. 

F. Life Insurance policies that accelerate benefits for 

long-term care shall comply with this Section if the policy 

being replaced is a long-term care insurance policy. If the 

policy being replaced is a life insurance policy, the insurer 

shall comply with the replacement requirements of 

Regulation 70. If a life insurance policy that accelerates 

benefits for long-term care is replaced by another such 

policy, the replacing insurer shall comply with both the long-

term care and the life insurance replacement requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:468 (February 

2005), LR 43:1396 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1927. Reporting Requirements 

(Formerly §1923) 

A. Every insurer shall maintain records for each 

producer of that producer's amount of replacement sales as a 

percentage of the producer's total annual sales and the 

amount of lapses of long-term care insurance policies sold 

by the producer as a percentage of the producer's total 

annual sales. 

B. Each insurer shall report annually, by June 30, the 10 

percent of its producers with the greatest percentages of 

lapses and replacements, as measured by §1927.A (§1969, 

Appendix G). 

C. Reported replacement and lapse rates do not alone 

constitute a violation of insurance laws or necessarily imply 

wrongdoing. The reports are for the purpose of reviewing 

more closely producer activities regarding the sale of  

long-term care insurance. 

D. Every insurer shall report annually, by June 30, the 

number of lapsed policies as a percentage of its total annual 

sales and as a percentage of its total number of policies in 

force as of the end of the preceding calendar year (§1969, 

Appendix G). 

E. Every insurer shall report annually, by June 30, the 

number of replacement policies sold as a percentage of its 

total annual sales and as a percentage of its total number of 

policies in force as of the preceding calendar year (§1969, 

Appendix G). 

F. Every insurer shall report annually, by June 30, for 

qualified long-term care insurance contracts, the number of 

claims denied for each class of business, expressed as a 

percentage of claims denied (§1969, Appendix E). 

G. For purposes of §1927: 

1. policy means only long-term care insurance; and 

2. subject to §1927.G.3, claim means a request for a 

payment of benefits under an in force policy regardless of 

whether the benefit claimed is covered under the policy or 

any terms or conditions of the policy have been met; 

3. denied means the insurer refuses to pay a claim for 

any reason other than for claims not paid for failure to meet 

the waiting period or because of an applicable preexisting 

condition; and 

4. report means on a statewide basis. 

H. Reports required under this Section shall be filed with 

the commissioner. 

I. Annual rate certification requirements 

1. Section 1927.I applies to any long-term care policy 

issued in this state on or after January 1, 2018. 

2. The following annual submission requirements 

apply subsequent to initial rate filings for individual long-

term care insurance policies made under §1927: 

a. an actuarial certification prepared, dated, and 

signed by a member of the American Academy of Actuaries 

who provides the information shall be included and shall 

provide at least the following information: 

 i. a statement of the sufficiency of the current 

premium rate schedule including: 

(a). for the rate schedules currently marketed: 

 (i). the premium rate schedule continues to be 

sufficient to cover anticipated costs under moderately 

adverse experience and that the premium rate schedule is 

reasonably expected to be sustainable over the life of the 

form with no future premium increases anticipated; or 

 (ii). if the above statement cannot be made, a 

statement that margins for moderately adverse experience 

may no longer be sufficient. In this situation, the insurer 

shall provide to the commissioner, within 60 days of the date 

the actuarial certification is submitted to the commissioner, a 

plan of action, including a time frame, for the re-

establishment of adequate margins for moderately adverse 

experience so that the ultimate premium rate schedule would 

be reasonably expected to be sustainable over the future life 

of the form with no future premium increases anticipated. 

Failure to submit a plan of action to the commissioner within 

60 days or to comply with the time frame stated in the plan 

of action constitutes grounds for the commissioner to 

withdraw or modify approval of the form for future sales 

pursuant to R.S. 22:972; 

(b). for the rate schedules that are no longer 

marketed: 

 (i). that premium rate schedule continues to be 

sufficient to cover anticipated costs under best estimate 
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assumptions; or 

 (ii). that the premium rate schedule may no 

longer be sufficient. In this situation the insurer shall provide 

to the commissioner, within 60 days of the date the actuarial 

certification is submitted to the commissioner, a plan of 

action, including a time frame, for the re-establishment of 

adequate margins for moderately adverse experience; 

 ii. a description of the review performed that led 

to the statement; 

b. an actuarial memorandum dated and signed by a 

member of the American Academy of Actuaries who 

prepares the information shall be prepared to support the 

actuarial certification and provide at least the following 

information: 

 i. a detailed explanation of the data sources and 

review performed by the actuary prior to making the 

statement in §1927.I.2.a; 

 ii. a complete description of experience 

assumptions and their relationship to the initial pricing 

assumptions; 

 iii. a description of the credibility of the 

experience data; 

 iv. an explanation of the analysis and testing 

performed in determining the current presence of margins; 

c. the actuarial certification required pursuant to 

§1927.I.2.a must be based on calendar year data and 

submitted annually no later than May 1 of each year starting 

in the second year following the year in which the initial rate 

schedules are first used. The actuarial memorandum required 

pursuant to §1927.I.2.b must be submitted at least once 

every three years with the certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:469 (February 

2005), LR 43:1397 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1929. Licensing 

(Formerly §1925) 

A. A producer is not authorized to market, sell, solicit, or 

negotiate with respect to long-term care except as authorized 

by R.S. 22:1543 and R.S. 22:1547(A)(1) and (2). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:470 (February 

2005), LR 43:1397 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1933. Reserve Standards 

(Formerly §1929) 

A. When long-term care benefits are provided through 

the acceleration of benefits under group or individual life 

policies or riders to such policies, policy reserves for the 

benefits shall be determined in accordance with R.S. 22:751, 

R.S. 22:752, and R.S. 22:753. Claim reserves shall also be 

established in the case when the policy or rider is in claim 

status. 

B. Reserves for policies and riders subject to §1933.B 

should be based on the multiple decrement model, utilizing 

all relevant decrements except for voluntary termination 

rates. Single decrement approximations are acceptable if the 

calculation produces essentially similar reserves, if the 

reserve is clearly more conservative, or if the reserve is 

immaterial. The calculations may take into account the 

reduction in life insurance benefits due to the payment of 

long-term care benefits. However, in no event shall the 

reserves for the long-term care benefit and the life insurance 

benefit be less than the reserves for the life insurance 

benefit, assuming no long-term care benefit. 

C.1. In the development and calculation of reserves for 

policies and riders subject to §1933.C, due regard shall be 

given to the applicable policy provisions, marketing 

methods, administrative procedures, and all other 

considerations which have an impact on projected claim 

costs including, but not limited to, the following: 

a. definition of insured events; 

b. covered long-term care facilities; 

c. existence of home convalescence care coverage; 

d. definition of facilities; 

e. existence or absence of barriers to eligibility; 

f. premium waiver provision; 

g. renewability; 

h. ability to raise premiums; 

i. marketing method; 

j. underwriting procedures; 

k. claims adjustment procedures; 

l. waiting period; 

m. maximum benefit; 

n. availability of eligible facilities; 

o. margins in claim costs; 

p. optional nature of benefit; 

q. delay in eligibility for benefit; 

r. inflation protection provisions; and 

s. guaranteed insurability option. 

2. Any applicable valuation morbidity table shall be 

certified as appropriate as a statutory valuation table by a 

member of the American Academy of Actuaries. 

D. When long-term care benefits are provided other than 

as in §1933.A, reserves shall be determined in accordance 

with prevailing NAIC actuarial standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:470 (February 

2005), LR 43:1397 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 
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§1935. Loss Ratio 

(Formerly §1931) 

A. This Section shall apply to all long-term care 

insurance policies or certificates except those covered under 

§1917, §1937, and §1939. 

B. Benefits under long-term care insurance policies shall 

be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums, provided the 

expected loss ratio is at least 60 percent, calculated in a 

manner which provides for adequate reserving of the  

long-term care insurance risk. In evaluating the expected 

loss ratio, due consideration shall be given to all relevant 

factors, including: 

1. statistical credibility of incurred claims experience 

and earned premiums; 

2. the period for which rates are computed to provide 

coverage; 

3. experienced and projected trends; 

4. concentration of experience within early policy 

duration; 

5. expected claim fluctuation; 

6. experience refunds, adjustments, or dividends; 

7. renewability features; 

8. all appropriate expense factors; 

9. interest; 

10. experimental nature of the coverage; 

11. policy reserves; 

12. mix of business by risk classification; and 

13. product features such as long elimination periods, 

high deductibles, and high maximum limits. 

C. Section 1935.B shall not apply to life insurance 

policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care. A life 

insurance policy that funds long-term care benefits entirely 

by accelerating the death benefit is considered to provide 

reasonable benefits in relation to premiums paid, if the 

policy complies with all of the following provisions: 

1. the interest credited internally to determine cash 

value accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-term 

care set forth in the policy; 

2. the portion of the policy that provides life insurance 

benefits meets the nonforfeiture requirements of R.S. 

22:936; 

3. the policy meets the disclosure requirements of R.S. 

22:1186(H), (I) and (J); 

4. any policy illustration that meets the applicable 

requirements of Regulation 55; and 

5. an actuarial memorandum is filed with the 

insurance department that includes: 

a. a description of the basis on which the long-term 

care rates were determined; 

b. a description of the basis for the reserves; 

c. a summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on ages 

of issuance; 

d. a description and a table of each actuarial 

assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must include 

percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any; 

e. a description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives; 

f. the estimated average annual premium per policy 

and the average issue age; 

g. a statement as to whether underwriting is 

performed at the time of application. The statement shall 

indicate whether underwriting is used and, if used, the 

statement shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 

any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 

occurs; and 

h. a description of the effect of the long-term care 

policy provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture 

values and reserves on the underlying life insurance policy, 

both for active lives and those in long-term care claim status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:470 (February 

2005), LR 43:1398 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1937. Premium Rate Schedule Increases 

A. This Section shall apply as follows. 

1. Except as provided in §1937.A.2, §1937 applies to 

any long-term care policy or certificate issued in this state on 

or after August 19, 2005 and prior to January 1, 2018. 

2. For certificates issued on or after the effective date 

of this amended regulation under a group long-term care 

insurance policy as defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a), which 

policy was in force at the time this amended regulation 

became effective, the provisions of §1937 shall apply on the 

policy anniversary following February 19, 2006. 

B. An insurer shall request approval of a pending 

premium rate schedule increase, including an exceptional 

increase, to the commissioner at least 45 days prior to the 

notice to the policyholders and shall include: 

1. information required by §1915; 

2. certification by a qualified actuary that: 

a. if the requested premium rate schedule increase 

is implemented and the underlying assumptions, which 

reflect moderately adverse conditions, are realized, no 

further premium rate schedule increases are anticipated; 
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b. the premium rate filing is in compliance with the 

provisions of §1937; 

c. the insurer may request a premium rate schedule 

increase less than what is required under §1937, and the 

commissioner may approve such premium rate schedule 

increase, without submissions of the certification in 

§1937.B.2.a, if the actuarial memorandum discloses the 

premium rate schedule increase necessary to make the 

certification required under §1937.B.2.a, the premium rate 

schedule increase filing satisfies all other requirements of 

§1937 and is, in the opinion of the commissioner, in the best 

interest of policyholders; 

3. an actuarial memorandum justifying the rate 

schedule change request that includes: 

a. lifetime projections of earned premiums and 

incurred claims based on the filed premium rate schedule 

increase; and the method and assumptions used in 

determining the projected values, including reflection of any 

assumptions that deviate from those used for pricing other 

forms currently available for sale; 

 i. annual values for the five years preceding and 

the three years following the valuation date shall be provided 

separately; 

 ii. the projections shall include the development 

of the lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate increase is an 

exceptional increase; 

 iii. the projections shall demonstrate compliance 

with §1937.C; and 

 iv. for exceptional increases: 

(a). the projected experience should be limited to 

the increases in claims expenses attributable to the approved 

reasons for the exceptional increase; and 

(b). in the event the commissioner determines as 

provided in §1905 that offsets may exist, the insurer shall 

use appropriate net projected experience; 

b. disclosure of how reserves have been 

incorporated in this rate increase whenever the rate increase 

will trigger contingent benefit upon lapse; 

c. disclosure of the analysis performed to determine 

why a rate adjustment is necessary, which pricing 

assumptions were not realized and why, and what other 

actions taken by the company have been relied on by the 

actuary; 

d. a statement that policy design, underwriting and 

claims adjudication practices have been taken into 

consideration; 

e. in the event that it is necessary to maintain 

consistent premium rates for new certificates and certificates 

receiving a rate increase, the insurer will need to file 

composite rates reflecting projections of new certificates; 

and 

f. a demonstration that actual and projected costs 

exceed costs anticipated at the time of initial pricing under 

moderately adverse experience and that the composite 

margin specified in §1917.B.2.d is projected to be 

exhausted; 

4. a statement that renewal premium rate schedules 

are not greater than new business premium rate schedules 

except for differences attributable to benefits, unless 

sufficient justification is provided to the commissioner; and 

5. sufficient information for review and approval of 

the premium rate schedule increase by the commissioner. 

C. All premium rate schedule increases shall be 

determined in accordance with the following requirements: 

1. exceptional increases shall provide that 70 percent 

of the present value of projected additional premiums from 

the exceptional increase will be returned to policyholders in 

benefits; 

2. premium rate schedule increases shall be calculated 

such that the sum of the accumulated value of incurred 

claims, without the inclusion of active life reserves, and the 

present value of future projected incurred claims, without the 

inclusion of active life reserves, will not be less than the sum 

of the following: 

a. the accumulated value of the initial earned 

premium times 58 percent; 

b. 85 percent of the accumulated value of prior 

premium rate schedule increases on an earned basis; 

c. the present value of future projected initial 

earned premiums times 58 percent; and 

d. 85 percent of the present value of future 

projected premiums not in §1937.C.2.c on an earned basis; 

3. in the event that a policy form has both exceptional 

and other increases, the values in §1937.C.2.b and d will 

also include 70 percent for exceptional rate increase 

amounts; and 

4. all present and accumulated values used to 

determine rate increases shall use the maximum valuation 

interest rate for contract reserves as defined annually under 

R.S. 22:753. The actuary shall disclose as part of the 

actuarial memorandum the use of any appropriate averages. 

D. For each rate increase that is implemented, the insurer 

shall file for approval by the commissioner updated 

projections, as defined in §1937.B.3.a, annually for the next 

three years and include a comparison of actual results to 

projected values. The commissioner may extend the period 

to greater than three years if actual results are not consistent 

with projected values from prior projections. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in §1937.K, the 

projections required by §1937.D shall be provided to the 

policyholder in lieu of filing with the commissioner. 

E. If any premium rate in the revised premium rate 

schedule is greater than 200 percent of the comparable rate 

in the initial premium schedule, lifetime projections, as 

defined in §1937.B.3.a, shall be filed for approval by the 

commissioner every five years following the end of the 

required period in §1937.D. For group insurance policies 

that meet the conditions in §1937.K, the projections required 

by §1937.E shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of 

filing with the commissioner. 
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F.1. If the commissioner has determined that the actual 

experience following a rate increase does not adequately 

match the projected experience and that the current 

projections under moderately adverse conditions 

demonstrate that incurred claims will not exceed proportions 

of premiums specified in §1937.C, the commissioner may 

require the insurer to implement any of the following: 

a. premium rate schedule adjustments; or 

b. other measures to reduce the difference between 

the projected and actual experience. 

2. In determining whether the actual experience 

adequately matches the projected experience, consideration 

should be given to §1937.B.3.e, if applicable. 

G. If the majority of the policies or certificates to which 

the increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent 

benefit upon lapse, the insurer shall file: 

1. a plan, subject to commissioner approval, for 

improved administration or claims processing designed to 

eliminate the potential for further deterioration of the policy 

form requiring further premium rate schedule increases, or 

both, or to demonstrate that appropriate administration and 

claims processing have been implemented or are in effect; 

otherwise the commissioner may impose the condition in 

§1937.H; and 

2. the original anticipated lifetime loss ratio, and the 

premium rate schedule increase that would have been 

calculated according to §1937.C had the greater of the 

original anticipated lifetime loss ratio or 58 percent been 

used in the calculations described in §1937.C.2.a and c. 

H.1. For a rate increase filing that meets the following 

criteria, the commissioner shall review, for all policies 

included in the filing, the projected lapse rates and past lapse 

rates during the 12 months following each increase to 

determine if significant adverse lapsation has occurred or is 

anticipated: 

a. the rate increase is not the first rate increase 

requested for the specific policy form or forms; 

b. the rate increase is not an exceptional increase; 

and 

c. the majority of the policies or certificates to 

which the increase is applicable are eligible for the 

contingent benefit upon lapse. 

2. In the event significant adverse lapsation has 

occurred, is anticipated in the filing or is evidenced in the 

actual results as presented in the updated projections 

provided by the insurer following the requested rate 

increase, the commissioner may determine that a rate spiral 

exists. Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, 

the commissioner may require the insurer to offer, without 

underwriting, to all in force insureds subject to the rate 

increase the option to replace existing coverage with one or 

more reasonably comparable products being offered by the 

insurer or its affiliates. 

a. The offer shall: 

 i. be subject to the approval of the commissioner; 

 ii. be based on actuarially sound principles, but 

not be based on attained age; and 

 iii. provide that maximum benefits under any new 

policy accepted by an insured shall be reduced by 

comparable benefits already paid under the existing policy. 

b. The insurer shall maintain the experience of all 

the replacement insureds separate from the experience of 

insureds originally issued the policy forms. In the event of a 

request for a rate increase on the policy form, the rate 

increase shall be limited to the lesser of: 

 i. the maximum rate increase determined based 

on the combined experience; and 

 ii. the maximum rate increase determined based 

only on the experience of the insureds originally issued the 

form plus 10 percent. 

I. If the commissioner determines that the insurer has 

exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 

premium rates for long-term care insurance, the 

commissioner may, in addition to the provisions of §1937.H 

of this Section, prohibit the insurer from either of the 

following: 

1. filing and marketing comparable coverage for a 

period of up to five years; or 

2. offering all other similar coverages and limiting 

marketing of new applications to the products subject to 

recent premium rate schedule increases. 

J. Section 1937.A through I shall not apply to policies 

for which the long-term care benefits provided by the policy 

are incidental, as defined in §1905, if the policy complies 

with all of the following provisions: 

1. the interest credited internally to determine cash 

value accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-term 

care set forth in the policy; 

2. the portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

nonforfeiture requirements as applicable in any of the 

following: 

a. R.S. 22:936; 

b. R.S. 22:952; and 

c. R.S. 22:914; 

3. the policy meets the disclosure requirements of R.S. 

22:1186(H), (I), and (J); 

4. the portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

requirements as applicable in the following: 

a. policy illustrations as required by Regulation 55; 

b. disclosure requirements in Regulation 28; 

5. an actuarial memorandum is filed with the 

insurance department that includes: 

a. a description of the basis on which the long-term 

care rates were determined; 
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b. a description of the basis for the reserves; 

c. a summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on ages 

of issuance; 

d. a description and a table of each actuarial 

assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must include 

percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any; 

e. a description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives; 

f. the estimated average annual premium per policy 

and the average issue age; 

g. a statement as to whether underwriting is 

performed at the time of application. The statement shall 

indicate whether underwriting is used and, if used, the 

statement shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 

any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 

occurs; and 

h. a description of the effect of the long-term care 

policy provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture 

values and reserves on the underlying insurance policy, both 

for active lives and those in long-term care claim status. 

K. Section 1937.F and §1937.H shall not apply to group 

insurance policies as defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a) where: 

1. the policies insure 250 or more persons and the 

policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees of a 

single employer; or 

2. the policyholder, and not the certificateholders, 

pays a material portion of the premium, which shall not be 

less than 20 percent of the total premium for the group in the 

calendar year prior to the year a rate increase is filed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:471 (February 

2005), amended LR 43:1398 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 

2018). 

§1939. Premium Rate Schedule Increases for Policies 

Subject to Loss Ratio Limits Related to Original 

Filings 

A. Section 1939 shall apply as follows. 

1. Except as provided in §1939.A.2, §1939 applies to 

any long-term care policy or certificate issued in this state on 

or after January 1, 2018. 

2. For certificates issued on or after the effective date 

of this amended regulation under a group long-term care 

insurance policy as defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a), which 

policy was in force at the time this amended regulation 

became effective, the provisions of §1939 shall apply on the 

policy anniversary following January 1, 2018. 

B. An insurer shall request approval of a pending 

premium rate schedule increase, including an exceptional 

increase, to the commissioner at least 45 days prior to the 

notice to the policyholders and shall include: 

1. information required by §1915; 

2. certification by a qualified actuary that: 

a. if the requested premium rate schedule increase 

is implemented and the underlying assumptions, which 

reflect moderately adverse conditions, are realized, no 

further premium rate schedule increases are anticipated; 

b. the premium rate filing is in compliance with the 

provisions of §1939; 

c. the insurer may request a premium rate schedule 

increase less than what is required under §1939 and the 

commissioner may approve such premium rate schedule 

increase, without submissions of the certification in 

§1939.B.2.a, if the actuarial memorandum discloses the 

premium rate schedule increase necessary to make the 

certification required under §1939.B.2.a, the premium rate 

schedule increase filing satisfies all other requirements of 

§1939 and is, in the opinion of the commissioner, in the best 

interest of policyholders; 

3. an actuarial memorandum justifying the rate 

schedule change request that includes: 

a. lifetime projections of earned premiums and 

incurred claims based on the filed premium rate schedule 

increase; and the method and assumptions used in 

determining the projected values, including reflection of any 

assumptions that deviate from those used for pricing other 

forms currently available for sale: 

 i. annual values for the five years preceding and 

the three years following the valuation date shall be provided 

separately; 

 ii. the projections shall include the development 

of the lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate increase is an 

exceptional increase; 

 iii. the projections shall demonstrate compliance 

with §1939.C; and 

 iv. for exceptional increases: 

(a). the projected experience should be limited to 

the increases in claims expenses attributable to the approved 

reasons for the exceptional increase; and 

(b). in the event the commissioner determines as 

provided in §1905 that offsets may exist, the insurer shall 

use appropriate net projected experience; 

b. disclosure of how reserves have been 

incorporated in this rate increase whenever the rate increase 

will trigger contingent benefit upon lapse; 

c. disclosure of the analysis performed to determine 

why a rate adjustment is necessary, which pricing 

assumptions were not realized and why, and what other 

actions taken by the company have been relied on by the 

actuary; 
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d. a statement that policy design, underwriting, and 

claims adjudication practices have been taken into 

consideration; 

e. in the event that it is necessary to maintain 

consistent premium rates for new certificates and certificates 

receiving a rate increase, the insurer will need to file 

composite rates reflecting projections of new certificates; 

and 

f. a demonstration that actual and projected costs 

exceed costs anticipated at the time of initial pricing under 

moderately adverse experience and that the composite 

margin specified in §1917.B.2.d is projected to be 

exhausted; 

4. a statement that renewal premium rate schedules 

are not greater than new business premium rate schedules 

except for differences attributable to benefits, unless 

sufficient justification is provided to the commissioner; and 

5. sufficient information for review and approval of 

the premium rate schedule increase by the commissioner. 

C. All premium rate schedule increases shall be 

determined in accordance with the following requirements: 

1. exceptional increases shall provide that 70 percent 

of the present value of projected additional premiums from 

the exceptional increase will be returned to policyholders in 

benefits; 

2. premium rate schedule increases shall be calculated 

such that the sum of the lesser of the accumulated value of 

incurred claims, without the inclusion of active life reserves, 

or the accumulated value of historic expected claims, 

without the inclusion of active life reserves, plus the present 

value of the future expected incurred claims, projected 

without the inclusion of active life reserves, will not be less 

than the sum of the following: 

a. the accumulated value of the initial earned 

premium times the greater of 58 percent and the lifetime loss 

ratio consistent with the original filing including margins for 

moderately adverse experience; 

b. 85 percent of the accumulated value of prior 

premium rate schedule increases on an earned basis; 

c. the present value of future projected initial 

earned premiums times the greater of 58 percent and the 

lifetime loss ratio consistent with the original filing 

including margins for moderately adverse experience; and 

d. 85 percent of the present value of future 

projected premiums not in §1939.C.2.c on an earned basis; 

3. expected claims shall be calculated based on the 

original filing assumptions assumed until new assumptions 

are filed as part of a rate increase. New assumptions shall be 

used for all periods beyond each requested effective date of a 

rate increase. Expected claims are calculated for each 

calendar year based on the in-force at the beginning of the 

calendar year. Expected claims shall include margins for 

moderately adverse experience; either amounts included in 

the claims that were used to determine the lifetime loss ratio 

consistent with the original filing or as modified in any rate 

increase filing; 

4. in the event that a policy form has both exceptional 

and other increases, the values in §1939.C.2.b and d will 

also include 70 percent for exceptional rate increase 

amounts; and 

5. all present and accumulated values used to 

determine rate increases, including the lifetime loss ratio 

consistent with the original filing reflecting margins for 

moderately adverse experience, shall use the maximum 

valuation interest rate for contract reserves as defined 

annually under R.S. 22:753. The actuary shall disclose as 

part of the actuarial memorandum the use of any appropriate 

averages. 

D. For each rate increase that is implemented, the insurer 

shall file for approval by the commissioner updated 

projections, as defined in §1939.B.3.a, annually for the next 

three years and include a comparison of actual results to 

projected values. The commissioner may extend the period 

to greater than three years if actual results are not consistent 

with projected values from prior projections. For group 

insurance policies that meet the conditions in §1939.K, the 

projections required by §1939.D shall be provided to the 

policyholder in lieu of filing with the commissioner. 

E. If any premium rate in the revised premium rate 

schedule is greater than 200 percent of the comparable rate 

in the initial premium schedule, lifetime projections, as 

defined in §1939.B.3.a, shall be filed for approval by the 

commissioner every five years following the end of the 

required period in §1939.D. For group insurance policies 

that meet the conditions in §1939.K, the projections required 

by §1939.E shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of 

filing with the commissioner. 

F.1. If the commissioner has determined that the actual 

experience following a rate increase does not adequately 

match the projected experience and that the current 

projections under moderately adverse conditions 

demonstrate that incurred claims will not exceed proportions 

of premiums specified in §1939.C, the commissioner may 

require the insurer to implement any of the following: 

a. premium rate schedule adjustments; or 

b. other measures to reduce the difference between 

the projected and actual experience. 

2. In determining whether the actual experience 

adequately matches the projected experience, consideration 

should be given to §1939.B.3.e, if applicable. 

G. If the majority of the policies or certificates to which 

the increase is applicable are eligible for the contingent 

benefit upon lapse, the insurer shall file a plan, subject to 

commissioner approval, for improved administration or 

claims processing designed to eliminate the potential for 

further deterioration of the policy form requiring further 

premium rate schedule increases, or both, or to demonstrate 

that appropriate administration and claims processing have 

been implemented or are in effect; otherwise the 

commissioner may impose the condition in §1939.H.1-2. 

H.1. For a rate increase filing that meets the following 
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criteria, the commissioner shall review, for all policies 

included in the filing, the projected lapse rates and past lapse 

rates during the 12 months following each increase to 

determine if significant adverse lapsation has occurred or is 

anticipated: 

a. the rate increase is not the first rate increase 

requested for the specific policy form or forms; 

b. the rate increase is not an exceptional increase; 

and 

c. the majority of the policies or certificates to 

which the increase is applicable are eligible for the 

contingent benefit upon lapse. 

2. In the event significant adverse lapsation has 

occurred, is anticipated in the filing or is evidenced in the 

actual results as presented in the updated projections 

provided by the insurer following the requested rate 

increase, the commissioner may determine that a rate spiral 

exists. Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, 

the commissioner may require the insurer to offer, without 

underwriting, to all in force insureds subject to the rate 

increase the option to replace existing coverage with one or 

more reasonably comparable products being offered by the 

insurer or its affiliates. 

a. The offer shall: 

 i. be subject to the approval of the commissioner; 

 ii. be based on actuarially sound principles, but 

not be based on attained age; and 

 iii. provide that maximum benefits under any new 

policy accepted by an insured shall be reduced by 

comparable benefits already paid under the existing policy. 

b. The insurer shall maintain the experience of all 

the replacement insureds separate from the experience of 

insureds originally issued the policy forms. In the event of a 

request for a rate increase on the policy form, the rate 

increase shall be limited to the lesser of: 

 i. the maximum rate increase determined based 

on the combined experience; and 

 ii. the maximum rate increase determined based 

only on the experience of the insureds originally issued the 

form plus 10 percent. 

I. If the commissioner determines that the insurer has 

exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 

premium rates for long-term care insurance, the 

commissioner may, in addition to the provisions of 

§1939.H.1-2, prohibit the insurer from either of the following: 

1. filing and marketing comparable coverage for a 

period of up to five years; or 

2. offering all other similar coverages and limiting 

marketing of new applications to the products subject to 

recent premium rate schedule increases. 

J. Section 1939.A through I shall not apply to policies 

for which the long-term care benefits provided by the policy 

are incidental, as defined in §1905, if the policy complies 

with all of the following provisions: 

1. the interest credited internally to determine cash 

value accumulations, including long-term care, if any, are 

guaranteed not to be less than the minimum guaranteed 

interest rate for cash value accumulations without long-term 

care set forth in the policy; 

2. the portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

nonforfeiture requirements as applicable in any of the 

following: 

a. R.S. 22:936; 

b. R.S. 22:952; and 

c. R.S. 22:914; 

3. the policy meets the disclosure requirements of R.S. 

22:1186(H), (I), and (J); 

4. the portion of the policy that provides insurance 

benefits other than long-term care coverage meets the 

requirements as applicable in the following: 

a. policy illustrations as required by Regulation 55; 

b. disclosure requirements in Regulation 28; 

5. an actuarial memorandum is filed with the 

insurance department that includes: 

a. a description of the basis on which the long-term 

care rates were determined; 

b. a description of the basis for the reserves; 

c. a summary of the type of policy, benefits, 

renewability, general marketing method, and limits on ages 

of issuance; 

d. a description and a table of each actuarial 

assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must include 

percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per unit of 

benefits, if any; 

e. a description and a table of the anticipated policy 

reserves and additional reserves to be held in each future 

year for active lives; 

f. the estimated average annual premium per policy 

and the average issue age; 

g. a statement as to whether underwriting is 

performed at the time of application. The statement shall 

indicate whether underwriting is used and, if used, the 

statement shall include a description of the type or types of 

underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 

functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 

policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 

any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 

occurs; and 

h. a description of the effect of the long-term care 

policy provision on the required premiums, nonforfeiture 

values and reserves on the underlying insurance policy, both 

for active lives and those in long-term care claim status. 

K. Section 1939.F and H shall not apply to group 
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insurance policies as defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a) where: 

1. the policies insure 250 or more persons and the 

policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees of a 

single employer; or 

2. the policyholder, and not the certificate holders, 

pays a material portion of the premium, which shall not be 

less than 20 percent of the total premium for the group in the 

calendar year prior to the year a rate increase is filed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22: 1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:1398 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1941. Filing Requirement 

(Formerly §1939) 

A. Prior to a long-term care insurer or other similar 

organization offering group long-term care insurance to a 

resident of this state, pursuant to R.S. 22:1185, it shall file 

with the commissioner evidence that the group meets the 

requirements of R.S. 22:1184(4)(d); and such insurers shall 

file for approval any group policy or certificate to be offered 

to residents of this state, regardless of from where it was 

issued or delivered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:473 (February 

2005), LR 43:1401 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1943. Filing Requirements for Advertising 

(Formerly §1941) 

A. Every insurer, health care service plan, or other entity 

providing long-term care insurance or benefits in this state 

shall provide a copy of any long-term care insurance 

advertisement intended for use in this state, whether through 

written, radio, or television medium, to the commissioner of 

insurance of this state for review or approval by the 

commissioner to the extent it may be required under state 

law. In addition, all advertisements shall be retained by the 

insurer, health care service plan, or other entity for at least 

three years from the date the advertisement was first used. 

B. The commissioner may exempt from these 

requirements any advertising form or material when, in the 

commissioner's opinion, this requirement may not be 

reasonably applied. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), repromulgated LR 

31:473 (February 2005), amended LR 43:1401 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1945. Standards for Marketing 

(Formerly §1943) 

A. Every insurer, health care service plan, or other entity 

marketing long-term care insurance coverage in this state, 

directly or through its producers, shall: 

1. establish marketing procedures and producer 

training requirements to assure that:  

a. any marketing activities, including any 

comparison of policies by its producers or other producers 

will be fair and accurate; and 

b. excessive insurance is not sold or issued; 

2. display prominently by type, stamp, or other 

appropriate means, on the first page of the outline of 

coverage and policy the following: 

Notice to Buyer: This policy may not cover all of the costs 

associated with long-term care incurred by the buyer during 
the period of coverage. The buyer is advised to review 

carefully all policy limitations. 

3. provide copies of the disclosure forms required in 

§1915.D (Appendices B and F) to the applicant; 

4. inquire, and otherwise make every reasonable effort 

to identify, whether a prospective applicant or enrollee for 

long-term care insurance already has accident and sickness, 

or long-term care insurance and the types and amounts of 

any such insurance, except that in the case of qualified long-

term care insurance contracts, an inquiry into whether a 

prospective applicant or enrollee for long-term care 

insurance has accident and sickness insurance is not 

required; 

5. establish auditable procedures for verifying 

compliance with §1945.A; 

6. if the state in which the policy or certificate is to be 

delivered or issued for delivery has a senior insurance 

counseling program, approved by the commissioner, the 

insurer shall, at solicitation, provide written notice to the 

prospective policyholder and certificateholder that such a 

program is available and the name, address and telephone 

number of the program; 

7. for long-term care health insurance policies and 

certificates, use the terms noncancellable or level premium 

only when the policy or certificate conforms to §1909.A.3 of 

this regulation; 

8. provide an explanation of contingent benefit upon 

lapse provided in §1955.D.3 and, if applicable, the 

additional contingent benefit upon lapse provided to policies 

with fixed or limited premium paying periods in §1955.D.4. 

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in R.S. 22:1961 

et seq., the following acts and practices are prohibited. 

Cold Lead Advertising―making use directly, or 

indirectly, of any method of marketing which fails to 

disclose, in a conspicuous manner, that a purpose of the 

method of marketing is solicitation of insurance and that 

contact will be made by an insurance producer or insurance 

company. 

High Pressure Tactics―employing any method of 

marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the 

purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether 

explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or 

recommend the purchase of insurance. 

Misrepresentation―misrepresenting a material fact in 
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selling or offering to sell a long-term care insurance policy. 

Twisting―knowingly making any misleading 

representation or incomplete or fraudulent comparison of 

any insurance policies or insurers for the purpose of 

inducing, or tending to induce, any person to lapse, forfeit, 

surrender, terminate, retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or 

convert any insurance policy or to take out a policy of 

insurance with another insurer. 

C.1. With respect to the obligations set forth in 

§1945.C.1, the primary responsibility of an association, as 

defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(b), when endorsing or selling 

long-term care insurance shall be to educate its members 

concerning long-term care issues, in general, so that its 

members can make informed decisions. Associations shall 

provide objective information regarding long-term care 

insurance policies or certificates endorsed or sold by such 

associations to ensure that members of such associations 

receive a balanced and complete explanation of the features 

in the policies or certificates that are being endorsed or sold. 

2. The insurer shall file with the insurance department 

the following material: 

a. the policy and certificate; 

b. a corresponding outline of coverage; and 

c. all advertisements requested by the insurance 

department. 

3. The association shall disclose in any long-term care 

insurance solicitation: 

a. the specific nature and amount of the 

compensation arrangements (including all fees, 

commissions, administrative fees and other forms of 

financial support) that the association receives from 

endorsement or sale of the policy or certificate to its 

members; and 

b. a brief description of the process under which the 

policies, and the insurer issuing the policies, were selected. 

4. If the association and the insurer have interlocking 

directorates or trustee arrangements, the association shall 

disclose that fact to its members. 

5. The board of directors of associations selling or 

endorsing long-term care insurance policies or certificates 

shall review and approve the insurance policies as well as 

the compensation arrangements made with the insurer. 

6.a. The association shall also: 

 i. at the time of the association's decision to 

endorse, engage the services of a person with expertise in 

long-term care insurance, not affiliated with the insurer, to 

conduct an examination of the policies, including its 

benefits, features, and rates and update the examination 

thereafter in the event of material change; 

 ii. actively monitor the marketing efforts of the 

insurer and its producers; and 

 iii. review and approve all marketing materials or 

other insurance communications used to promote sales or 

sent to members regarding the policies or certificates. 

b. Clauses 1945.C.6.a.i-iii shall not apply to 

qualified long-term care insurance contracts. 

7. No group long-term care insurance policy or 

certificate may be issued to an association unless the insurer 

files with the state insurance department the information 

required in §1945.C. 

8. The insurer shall not issue a long-term care policy 

or certificate to an association or continue to market such a 

policy or certificate unless the insurer certifies annually that 

the association has complied with the requirements set forth 

in §1945.C. 

9. Failure to comply with the filing and certification 

requirements of §1943 constitutes an unfair trade practice in 

violation of R.S. 22:1961 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:475 (February 

2005), LR 43:1402 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018), 

repromulgated LR 44:784 (April 2018). 

§1947. Suitability 

(Formerly §1945) 

A. Section 1947 shall not apply to life insurance policies 

that accelerate benefits for long-term care. 

B. Every insurer, health care service plan, or other entity 

marketing long-term care insurance (the issuer) shall: 

1. develop and use suitability standards to determine 

whether the purchase or replacement of long-term care 

insurance is appropriate for the needs of the applicant; 

2. train its producers in the use of its suitability 

standards; and 

3. maintain a copy of its suitability standards and 

make them available for inspection, upon request, by the 

commissioner. 

C.1. To determine whether the applicant meets the 

standards developed by the issuer, the producer and issuer 

shall develop procedures that take the following into 

consideration: 

a. the ability to pay for the proposed coverage and 

other pertinent financial information related to the purchase 

of the coverage; 

b. the applicant's goals or needs with respect to 

long-term care and the advantages and disadvantages of 

insurance to meet these goals or needs; and 

c. the values, benefits, and costs of the applicant's 

existing insurance, if any, when compared to the values, 

benefits, and costs of the recommended purchase or 

replacement. 

2. The issuer, and where a producer is involved, the 

producer shall make reasonable efforts to obtain the 

information set out in §1947.C.1. The efforts shall include 

presentation to the applicant at, or prior to, application the 
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“Long-Term Care Insurance Personal Worksheet.” The 

personal worksheet used by the issuer shall contain, at a 

minimum, the information in the format contained in 

§1969.B, Appendix B, in not less than 12-point type. The 

issuer may request the applicant to provide additional 

information to comply with its suitability standards. A copy 

of the issuer's personal worksheet shall be filed with the 

commissioner. 

3. A completed personal worksheet shall be returned 

to the issuer prior to the issuer's consideration of the 

applicant for coverage, except the personal worksheet need 

not be returned for sales of employer group long-term care 

insurance to employees and their spouses. 

4. The sale or dissemination outside the company or 

agency by the issuer or producer of information obtained 

through the personal worksheet in §1969.B, Appendix B, is 

prohibited. 

D. The issuer shall use the suitability standards it has 

developed, pursuant to §1947, in determining whether 

issuing long-term care insurance coverage to an applicant is 

appropriate. 

E. Producers shall use the suitability standards 

developed by the issuer in marketing long-term care 

insurance. 

F. At the same time as the personal worksheet is 

provided to the applicant, the disclosure form entitled 

“Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term 

Care Insurance” shall be provided. The form shall be in the 

format contained in §1969.C, Appendix C, in not less than 

12-point type. 

G. If the issuer determines that the applicant does not 

meet its financial suitability standards, or if the applicant has 

declined to provide the information, the issuer may reject the 

application. In the alternative, the issuer shall send the 

applicant a letter similar to §1969.D, Appendix D. However, 

if the applicant has declined to provide financial 

information, the issuer may use some other method to verify 

the applicant's intent. Either the applicant's returned letter or 

a record of the alternative method of verification shall be 

made part of the applicant's file. 

H. The issuer shall report annually to the commissioner 

the total number of applications received from residents of 

this state, the number of those who declined to provide 

information on the personal worksheet, the number of 

applicants who did not meet the suitability standards, and the 

number of those who chose to confirm after receiving a 

suitability letter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:475 (February 

2005), LR 43:1402 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1949. Prohibition against Pre-Existing Conditions and 

Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or 

Certificates 

(Formerly §1947) 

A. If a long-term care insurance policy or certificate 

replaces another long-term care policy or certificate, the 

replacing insurer shall waive any time periods applicable to 

pre-existing conditions and probationary periods in the new 

long-term care policy for similar benefits, to the extent that 

similar exclusions have been satisfied under the original 

policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), repromulgated LR 

31:475 (February 2005), LR 43:1403 (July 2017) (effective January 

1, 2018). 

§1951. Availability of New Services or Providers 

A. An insurer shall notify policyholders of the 

availability of a new long-term care policy series that 

provides coverage for new long-term care services or 

providers material in nature and not previously available 

through the insurer to the general public. The notice shall be 

provided within 12 months of the date that the new policy 

series is made available for sale in this state. 

B. Notwithstanding §1951.A above, notification is not 

required for any policy issued prior to the effective date of 

§1951 or to any policyholder or certificateholder who is 

currently eligible for benefits, within an elimination period 

or on a claim, or who previously had been in claim status, or 

who would not be eligible to apply for coverage due to issue 

age limitations under the new policy. The insurer may 

require that policyholders meet all eligibility requirements, 

including underwriting and payment of the required 

premium to add such new services or providers. 

C. The insurer shall make the new coverage available in 

one of the following ways: 

1. by adding a rider to the existing policy and 

charging a separate premium for the new rider based on the 

insured’s attained age; 

2. by exchanging the existing policy or certificate for 

one with an issue age based on the present age of the insured 

and recognizing past insured status by granting premium 

credits toward the premiums for the new policy or 

certificate. The premium credits shall be based on premiums 

paid or reserves held for the prior policy or certificate; 

3. by exchanging the existing policy or certificate for 

a new policy or certificate in which consideration for past 

insured status shall be recognized by setting the premium for 

the new policy or certificate at the issue age of the policy or 

certificate being exchanged. The cost for the new policy or 

certificate may recognize the difference in reserves between 

the new policy or certificate and the original policy or 

certificate; or 

4. by an alternative program developed by the insurer 

that meets the intent of §1951 if the program is filed with 

and approved by the commissioner. 

D. An insurer is not required to notify policyholders of a 

new proprietary policy series created and filed for use in a 

limited distribution channel. For purposes of §1951.D, 
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“limited distribution channel” means through a discrete 

entity, such as a financial institution or brokerage, for which 

specialized products are available that are not available for 

sale to the general public. Policyholders that purchased such 

a new proprietary policy shall be notified when a new long-

term care policy series that provides coverage for new long-

term care services or providers material in nature is made 

available to that limited distribution channel. 

E. Policies issued pursuant to §1951 shall be considered 

exchanges and not replacements. These exchanges shall not 

be subject to §1925 and §1947 and the reporting 

requirements of §1927.A through E. 

F. Where the policy is offered through an employer, 

labor organization, professional, trade, or occupational 

association, the required notification in §1951.A above shall 

be made to the offering entity. However, if the policy is 

issued to a group defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(d), the 

notification shall be made to each certificateholder. 

G. Nothing in §1951 shall prohibit an insurer from 

offering any policy, rider, certificate, or coverage change to 

any policyholder or certificateholder. However, upon 

request, any policyholder may apply for currently available 

coverage that includes the new services or providers. The 

insurer may require that policyholders meet all eligibility 

requirements, including underwriting and payment of the 

required premium to add such new services or providers. 

H. Section 1951 does not apply to life insurance policies 

or riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22: 1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:1403 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1953. Right to Reduce Coverage and Lower Premiums 

A.1. Every long-term care insurance policy and certificate 

shall include a provision that allows the policyholder or 

certificateholder to reduce coverage and lower the policy or 

certificate premium in at least one of the following ways: 

a. reducing the maximum benefits; or 

b. reducing the daily, weekly or monthly benefit 

amount. 

2. The insurer may also offer other reduction options 

that are consistent with the policy or certificate design or the 

carrier’s administrative processes.  

3. In the event the reduction in coverage involves the 

reduction or elimination of the inflation protection provision, 

the insurer shall allow the policyholder or certificateholder 

to continue the benefit amount in effect at the time of the 

reduction. 

B. The provision shall include a description of the 

process for requesting and implementing a reduction in 

coverage. 

C. The premium for the reduced coverage shall: 

1. be based on the same age and underwriting class 

used to determine the premium for the coverage currently in 

force; and 

2. be consistent with the approved rate table. 

D. The insurer may limit any reduction in coverage to 

plans or options available for that policy form or certificate 

and to those for which benefits will be available after 

consideration of claims paid or payable. 

E. If a policy or certificate is about to lapse, the insurer 

shall provide a written reminder to the policyholder or 

certificateholder of his or her right to reduce coverage and 

premiums in the notice required by §1911.A.l.d. 

F. Section 1953 does not apply to life insurance policies 

or riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits. 

G. The requirements of §1953.A through F shall apply to 

any long-term care policy issued in this state on or after 

January 1, 2018. 

H. A premium increase notice required by §1915.E shall 

include: 

1. an offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the 

current coverage consistent with the requirements of §1953;  

2. a disclosure stating that all options available to the 

policyholder or certificateholder may not be of equal value; 

and 

3. in the case of a partnership policy or certificate, a 

disclosure that some benefit reduction options may result in 

a loss in partnership status that may reduce policyholder or 

certificateholder protections. 

I. The requirements of §1953.H shall apply to any rate 

increase implemented in this state on or after January 1, 

2018. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22: 1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:1404 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1955. Nonforfeiture Benefit Requirement 

(Formerly §1949) 

A. Section 1955 does not apply to life insurance policies 

or riders containing accelerated long-term care benefits. 

B. To comply with the requirement to offer a 

nonforfeiture benefit pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 

22:1188:  

1. a policy or certificate offered with nonforfeiture 

benefits shall have coverage elements, eligibility, benefit 

triggers and benefit length that are the same as coverage to 

be issued without nonforfeiture benefits. The nonforfeiture 

benefit included in the offer shall be the benefit described in 

§1955.E; and 

2. the offer shall be in writing if the nonforfeiture 

benefit is not otherwise described in the outline of coverage 

or other materials given to the prospective policyholder. 

C. If the offer required to be made under R.S. 22:1188 is 

rejected, the insurer shall provide the contingent benefit 

upon lapse described in §1955. Even if this offer is accepted 
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for a policy with a fixed or limited premium paying period, 

the contingent benefit on lapse in §1955.D.4 shall still apply. 

D.1. After rejection of the offer required under R.S. 

22:1188, for individual and group policies without 

nonforfeiture benefits issued after the effective date of 

§1955, the insurer shall provide a contingent benefit upon 

lapse. 

2. In the event a group policyholder elects to make the 

nonforfeiture benefit an option to the certificateholder, a 

certificate shall provide either the nonforfeiture benefit or 

the contingent benefit upon lapse. 

3. A contingent benefit on lapse shall be triggered 

every time an insurer increases the premium rates to a level 

which results in a cumulative increase of the annual 

premium equal to or exceeding the percentage of the 

insured's initial annual premium set forth below based on the 

insured's issue age, and the policy or certificate lapses within 

120 days of the due date of the premium so increased. 

Unless otherwise required, policyholders shall be notified at 

least 45 days prior to the due date of the premium reflecting 

the rate increase. 

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase 

Issue Age Percent Increase over Initial Premium 

29 and under 200% 

30-34 190% 

35-39 170% 

40-44 150% 

45-49 130% 

50-54 110% 

55-59 90% 

60 70% 

61 66% 

62 62% 

63 58% 

64 54% 

65 50% 

66 48% 

67 46% 

68 44% 

69 42% 

70 40% 

71 38% 

72 36% 

73 34% 

74 32% 

75 30% 

76 28% 

77 26% 

78 24% 

79 22% 

80 20% 

81 19% 

82 18% 

83 17% 

84 16% 

85 15% 

86 14% 

87 13% 

88 12% 

89 11% 

90 and over 10% 

 

4.a. A contingent benefit on lapse shall also be 

triggered for policies with a fixed or limited premium paying 

period every time an insurer increases the premium rates to a 

level that results in a cumulative increase of the annual 

premium equal to or exceeding the percentage of the 

insured’s initial annual premium set forth below based on the 

insured’s issue age, the policy or certificate lapses within 

120 days of the due date of the premium so increased, and 

the ratio in §1955.D.6.b is 40 percent or more. Unless 

otherwise required, policyholders shall be notified at least 45 

days prior to the due date of the premium reflecting the rate 

increase.  

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase 

Issue Age Percent Increase over Initial Premium 

Under 65 50% 

65-80 30% 

Over 80 10% 

 
b. This provision shall be in addition to the 

contingent benefit provided by §1955.D.3 above and, where 

both are triggered, the benefit provided shall be at the option 

of the insured. 

5. On or before the effective date of a substantial 

premium increase as defined in §1955.D.3, the insurer shall: 

a. offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the 

current coverage consistent with the requirements of §1953 

so that required premium payments are not increased; 

b. offer to convert the coverage to a paid-up status 

with a shortened benefit period in accordance with the terms 

of §1955.E. This option may be elected at any time during 

the 120-day period referenced in §1955.D.3; and 

c. notify the policyholder or certificateholder that a 

default or lapse at any time during the 120-day period 

referenced in §1955.D.3 shall be deemed to be the election 

of the offer to convert in §1955.D.5.b above unless the 

automatic option in §1955.D.6.c applies. 

6. On or before the effective date of a substantial 

premium increase as defined in §1955.D.4 above, the insurer 

shall: 

a. offer to reduce policy benefits provided by the 

current coverage consistent with the requirements of §1953 

so that required premium payments are not increased; 

b. offer to convert the coverage to a paid-up status 

where the amount payable for each benefit is 90 percent of 

the amount payable in effect immediately prior to lapse 

times the ratio of the number of completed months of paid 

premiums divided by the number of months in the premium 

paying period. This option may be elected at any time during 

the 120-day period reference in §1955.D.4; and 

c. notify the policyholder or certificateholder that a 

default or lapse at any time during the 120-day period 

referenced in §1955.D.4 shall be deemed to be the election 

of the offer to convert in §1955.D.6.b above if the ratio is 40 

percent or more.  

7. For any long-term care policy issued in this state on 

or after January 1, 2018: 

a. in the event the policy or certificate was issued at 

least 20 years prior to the effective date of the increase, a 
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value of 0 percent shall be used in place of all values in the 

above table; and 

b. values above 100 percent in the table in 

§1955.D.3 above shall be reduced to 100 percent. 

E. Benefits continued as nonforfeiture benefits, 

including contingent benefits upon lapse in accordance with 

§1955.D.3 but not §1955.D.4, are described in §1955.E. 

1. For purposes of §1955.E, attained age rating is 

defined as a schedule of premiums, starting from the issue 

date, which increases with increasing age at least 1 percent 

per year prior to age 50, and at least 3 percent per year 

beyond age 50. 

2. For purposes of §1955.E, the nonforfeiture benefit 

shall be a shortened benefit period providing paid-up long-

term care insurance coverage after lapse. The same benefits 

(amounts and frequency in effect at the time of lapse but not 

increased thereafter) will be payable for a qualifying claim, 

but the lifetime maximum dollars or days of benefits shall be 

determined as specified in §1955.E.3. 

3. The standard nonforfeiture credit will be equal to 

100 percent of the sum of all premiums paid, including the 

premiums paid prior to any changes in benefits. The insurer 

may offer additional shortened benefit period options, as 

long as the benefits for each duration equal or exceed the 

standard nonforfeiture credit for that duration. However, the 

minimum nonforfeiture credit shall not be less than 30 times 

the daily nursing home benefit at the time of lapse. In either 

event, the calculation of the nonforfeiture credit is subject to 

the limitation of §1955.F. 

4.a. The nonforfeiture benefit shall begin not later than 

the end of the third year following the policy or certificate 

issue date. The contingent benefit upon lapse shall be 

effective during the first three years as well as thereafter. 

b. Notwithstanding §1955.E.4.a, for a policy or 

certificate with attained age rating, the nonforfeiture benefit 

shall begin on the earlier of: 

 i. the end of the tenth year following the policy 

or certificate issue date; or 

 ii. the end of the second year following the date 

the policy or certificate is no longer subject to attained age 

rating. 

5. Nonforfeiture credits may be used for all care and 

services qualifying for benefits under the terms of the policy 

or certificate, up to the limits specified in the policy or 

certificate. 

F. All benefits paid by the insurer while the policy or 

certificate is in premium paying status and in the paid up 

status will not exceed the maximum benefits which would 

have been payable if the policy or certificate had remained 

in premium paying status. 

G. There shall be no difference in the minimum 

nonforfeiture benefits, as required under §1955, for group 

and individual policies. 

H. The requirements set forth in §1955 shall be effective 

January 1, 1999 and shall apply as follows. 

1. Except as provided in §1955.H.2 and §1955.H.3 

below, the provisions of §1955 apply to any long-term care 

policy issued in this state on or after the effective date of this 

amended regulation. 

2. For certificates issued on or after the effective date 

of §1955, under a group long-term care insurance policy, as 

defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a), which policy was in force at 

the time this amended regulation became effective, the 

provisions of §1955 shall not apply. 

3. The last sentence in §1955.C and §1955.D.4 and 

§1955.D.6 shall apply to any long-term care insurance 

policy or certificate issued in this state after January 1, 2018, 

except new certificates on a group policy as defined in R.S. 

22:1184(4)(a) after July 1, 2018. 

I. Premiums charged for a policy or certificate 

containing nonforfeiture benefits or a contingent benefit on 

lapse shall be subject to the loss ratio requirements of §1935, 

§1937, or §1939, whichever is applicable, treating the policy 

as a whole. 

J. To determine whether contingent nonforfeiture upon 

lapse provisions are triggered under §1955.D.3 or 

§1955.D.4, a replacing insurer that purchased or otherwise 

assumed a block or blocks of long-term care insurance 

policies from another insurer shall calculate the percentage 

increase based on the initial annual premium paid by the 

insured when the policy was first purchased from the 

original insurer. 

K. A nonforfeiture benefit for qualified long-term care 

insurance contracts that are level premium contracts shall be 

offered that meets the following requirements: 

1. the nonforfeiture provision shall be appropriately 

captioned; 

2. the nonforfeiture provision shall provide that the 

amount of the benefit available in the event of a default in 

the payment of any premiums, and the amount of the benefit 

may be adjusted subsequent to being initially granted only as 

necessary to reflect changes in claims, persistency, and 

interest, as reflected in changes in rates for premium paying 

contracts approved by the commissioner for the same 

contract form; and 

3. the nonforfeiture provision shall provide at least 

one of the following: 

a. reduced paid-up insurance; 

b. extended term insurance; 

c. shortened benefit period; or 

d. other similar offerings approved by the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:475 (February 

2005), LR 43:1404 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 
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§1957. Standards for Benefit Triggers 

(Formerly §1951) 

A. A long-term care insurance policy shall condition the 

payment of benefits on a determination of the insured's 

ability to perform activities of daily living and on cognitive 

impairment. Eligibility for the payment of benefits shall not 

be more restrictive than requiring either a deficiency in the 

ability to perform not more than three of the activities of 

daily living or the presence of cognitive impairment. 

B.1. Activities of daily living shall include at least the 

following as defined in §1907 and in the policy: 

a. bathing; 

b. continence; 

c. dressing; 

d. eating; 

e. toileting; and 

f. transferring. 

2. Insurers may use activities of daily living to trigger 

covered benefits in addition to those contained in §1957.B.1, 

as long as they are defined in the policy. 

C. An insurer may use additional provisions for the 

determination of when benefits are payable under a policy or 

certificate; however the provisions shall not restrict, and are 

not in lieu of, the requirements contained in §1957.A-B. 

D. For purposes of §1957, the determination of a 

deficiency shall not be more restrictive than: 

1. requiring the hands-on assistance of another person 

to perform the prescribed activities of daily living; or 

2. if the deficiency is due to the presence of a 

cognitive impairment, supervision or verbal cueing by 

another person is needed in order to protect the insured or 

others. 

E. Assessments of activities of daily living and cognitive 

impairment shall be performed by licensed or certified 

professionals, such as physicians, nurses, or social workers. 

F. Long-term care insurance policies shall include a 

clear description of the process for appealing and resolving 

benefit determinations. 

G. The requirements set forth in §1957 shall be effective 

January 1, 1999 and shall apply as follows. 

1. Except as provided in §1957.G.2, the provisions of 

§1957 apply to a long-term care policy issued in this state on 

or after the effective date of the amended regulation. 

2. For certificates issued on or after the effective date 

of §1957, under a group long-term care insurance policy, as 

defined in R.S. 22:1184(4)(a) that was in force at the time 

this amended regulation became effective, the provisions of 

§1957 shall not apply. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), repromulgated LR 

31:477 (February 2005), amended LR 43:1406 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1959. Additional Standards for Benefit Triggers for 

Qualified Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts  

(Formerly §1953) 

A. For purposes of this Section the following definitions 

apply. 

1. Qualified long-term care services means services 

that meet the requirements of Section 7702B(c)(1) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, as follows: 

necessary diagnostic, preventive, therapeutic, curative, 

treatment, mitigation and rehabilitative services, and 

maintenance or personal care services which are required by 

a chronically ill individual, and are provided pursuant to a 

plan of care prescribed by a licensed health care practitioner. 

2.a. Chronically ill individual has the meaning 

prescribed for this term by Section 7702B(c)(2) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. Under this 

provision, a chronically ill individual means any individual 

who has been certified by a licensed health care practitioner 

as: 

 i. being unable to perform (without substantial 

assistance from another individual) at least two activities of 

daily living for a period of at least 90 days due to a loss of 

functional capacity; or 

 ii. requiring substantial supervision to protect the 

individual from threats to health and safety due to severe 

cognitive impairment. 

b. The term chronically ill individual shall not 

include an individual otherwise meeting these requirements 

unless within the preceding 12-month period a licensed 

health care practitioner has certified that the individual 

meets these requirements. 

3. Licensed health care practitioner means a 

physician, as defined in section 1861(r)(1) of the Social 

Security Act, a registered professional nurse, licensed social 

worker or other individual who meets requirements 

prescribed by the secretary of the treasury. 

4. Maintenance or personal care services means any 

care the primary purpose of which is the provision of needed 

assistance with any of the disabilities as a result of which the 

individual is a chronically ill individual (including the 

protection from threats to health and safety due to severe 

cognitive impairment). 

B. A qualified long-term care insurance contract shall 

pay only for qualified long-term care services received by a 

chronically ill individual provided pursuant to a plan of care 

prescribed by a licensed health care practitioner. 

C. A qualified long-term care insurance contract shall 

condition the payment of benefits on a determination of the 

insured's ability to perform activities of daily living for an 

expected period of at least 90 days due to a loss of functional 

capacity or to severe cognitive impairment. 

D. Certifications regarding activities of daily living and 
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cognitive impairment required pursuant to §1959.C shall be 

performed by the following licensed or certified 

professionals: physicians, registered professional nurses, 

licensed social workers, or other individuals who meet 

requirements prescribed by the secretary of the treasury. 

E. Certifications required pursuant to §1959.C may be 

performed by a licensed health care professional at the 

direction of the carrier as is reasonably necessary with 

respect to a specific claim, except that when a licensed 

health care practitioner has certified that an insured is unable 

to perform activities of daily living for an expected period of 

at least 90 days due to a loss of functional capacity and the 

insured is in claim status, the certification may not be 

rescinded and additional certifications may not be performed 

until after the expiration of the 90-day period. 

F. Qualified long-term care contracts shall include a 

clear description of the process for appealing and resolving 

disputes with respect to benefit determinations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:477 (February 

2005), LR 43:1406 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1961. Appealing an Insurer’s Determination That the 

Benefit Trigger is Not Met 

A. For purposes of §1961, “authorized representative” is 

authorized to act as the covered person’s personal 

representative within the meaning of 45 CFR 164.502(g) 

promulgated by the secretary of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services under the administrative 

simplification provisions of the Health Insurance Portability 

and Accountability Act and means the 

following:  

1. a person to whom a covered person has given 

express written consent to represent the covered person in an 

external review; 

2. a person authorized by law to provide substituted 

consent for a covered person; or 

3. a family member of the covered person or the 

covered person’s treating health care professional only when 

the covered person is unable to provide consent. 

B. If an insurer determines that the benefit trigger of a 

long-term care insurance policy has not been met, it shall 

provide a clear, written notice to the insured and the 

insured’s authorized representation, if applicable, of all of 

the following: 

1. the reason that the insurer determined that the 

insured’s benefit trigger has not been met; 

2. the insured’s right to internal appeal in accordance 

with §1961.C, and the right to submit new or additional 

information relating to the benefit trigger denial with the 

appeal request; and 

3. the insured’s right, after exhaustion of the insurer’s 

internal appeal process, to have the benefit trigger 

determination reviewed under the independent review 

process in accordance with §1961.D. 

C. Internal Appeal. The insured or the insured’s 

authorized representative may appeal the insurer’s adverse 

benefit trigger determination by sending a written request to 

the insurer, along with any additional supporting 

information, within 120 calendar days after the insured and 

the insured’s authorized representative, if applicable, 

receives the insurer’s benefit determination notice. The 

internal appeal shall be considered by an individual or group 

of individuals designated by the insurer, provided that the 

individual or individuals making the internal appeal decision 

may not be the same individual or individuals who made the 

initial benefit determination. The internal appeal shall be 

completed and written notice of the internal appeal decision 

shall be sent to the insured and the insured’s authorized 

representative, if applicable, within 30 calendar days of the 

insurer’s receipt of all necessary information upon which a 

final determination can be made. 

1. If the insurer’s original determination is upheld 

upon internal appeal, the notice of the internal appeal 

decision shall describe any additional internal appeal rights 

offered by the insurer. Nothing herein shall require the 

insurer to offer any internal appeal rights other than those 

described in §1961.C.  

2. If the insurer’s original determination is upheld 

after the internal appeal process has been exhausted, and 

new or additional information has not been provided to the 

insurer, the insurer shall provide a written description of the 

insured’s right to request an independent review of the 

benefit determination as described in §1961.D to the insured 

and the insured’s authorized representative, if applicable. 

3. As part of the written description of the insured’s 

right to request an independent review, an insurer shall 

include the following, or substantially equivalent, language: 

“We have determined that the benefit eligibility criteria 

(“benefit trigger”) of your [policy] [certificate] has not been 

met. You may have the right to an independent review of our 

decision conducted by long-term care professionals who are 

not associated with us. Please send a written request for 

independent review to us at [address]. You must inform us, 

in writing, of your election to have this decision reviewed 

within 120 days of receipt of this letter. Listed below are the 

names and contact information of the independent review 

organizations approved by your state insurance 

commissioner’s office to conduct long-term care insurance 

benefit eligibility reviews. If you wish to request an 

independent review, please choose one of the listed 

organizations and include its name with your request for 

independent review. If you elect independent review but do 

not choose an independent review organization with your 

request, we will choose one of the independent review 

organizations for you and refer the request for independent 

review to it.” 

4. If the insurer does not believe the benefit trigger 

decision is eligible for independent review, the insurer shall 

inform the insured and the insured’s authorized 

representative, if applicable, and include in the notice the 

reasons for its determination of independent review 

ineligibility. 
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5. The appeal process described in §1961.C is not 

deemed to be a “new service or provider” as referenced in 

§1951, Availability of New Services or Providers, and 

therefore does not trigger the notice requirements of §1951. 

D. Independent Review of Benefit Trigger Determination 

1. Request. The insured or the insured’s authorized 

representative may request an independent review of the 

insured’s benefit trigger determination after the internal 

appeal process outlined in §1961.C has been exhausted. A 

written request for independent review may be made by the 

insured or the insured’s authorized representative to the 

insurer within 120 calendar days after the insurer’s written 

notice of the final internal appeal decision is received by the 

insured and the insured’s authorized representative, if 

applicable. 

2. Cost. The cost of the independent review shall be 

borne by the insurer. 

3. Independent Review Process 

a. Within five business days of reviewing a written 

request for independent review, the insurer shall refer the 

request to the independent review organization that the 

insured or the insured’s authorized representative has chosen 

from the list of approved organizations the insurer has 

provided to the insured. If the insured or the insured’s 

authorized representative does not choose an approved 

independent review organization to perform the review, the 

insurer shall choose an independent review organization 

approved by the state. The insurer shall vary its selection of 

authorized independent review organizations on a rotating 

basis. 

b. The insurer shall refer the request for 

independent review of a benefit trigger determination to an 

independent review organization subject to the following: 

 i. the independent review organization shall be 

on a list of approved independent review organizations that 

satisfy the requirements of a qualified long-term care 

insurance independent review organization contained in 

§1961; 

 ii. the independent review organization shall not 

have any conflicts of interest with the insured, the insured’s 

authorized representative, if applicable, or the insurer; and 

 iii. such review shall be limited to the information 

or documentation provided to and considered by the insurer 

in making its determination, including any information or 

documentation considered as part of the internal appeal 

process. 

c. If the insured or the insured’s authorized 

representative has new or additional information not 

previously provided to the insurer, whether submitted to the 

insurer or the independent review organization, such 

information shall first be considered in the internal review 

process, as set forth in §1961.C. 

 i. While this information is being reviewed by 

the insurer, the independent review organization shall 

suspend its review and the time period for review is 

suspended until the insurer completes its review. 

 ii. The insurer shall complete its review of the 

information and provide written notice of the results of the 

review to the insured and the insured’s authorized 

representative, if applicable, and the independent review 

organization within five business days of the insurer’s 

receipt of such new or additional information. 

 iii. If the insurer maintains its denial after such 

review, the independent review organization shall continue 

its review and render its decision within the time period 

specified in §1961.D.3.i below. If the insurer overturns its 

decision following its review, the independent review 

request shall be considered withdrawn. 

d. The insurer shall acknowledge in writing to the 

insured and the insured’s authorized representative, if 

applicable, that the request for independent review has been 

received, accepted, and forwarded to an independent review 

organization for review. Such notice will include the name 

and address of the independent review organization.  

e. Within five business days of receipt of the 

request for independent review, the independent review 

organization assigned pursuant to §1961.D.3 shall notify the 

insured and the insured’s authorized representative, if 

applicable, and the insurer that it has accepted the 

independent review request and identify the type of licensed 

health care professional assigned to the review. The assigned 

independent review organization shall include in the notice a 

statement that the insured or the insured’s authorized 

representative may submit in writing to the independent 

review organization within seven days following the date of 

receipt of the notice of additional information and 

supporting documentation that the independent review 

organization should consider when conducting its review. 

f. The independent review organization shall 

review all of the information and documents received 

pursuant to §1961.D.3.e that has been provided to the 

independent review organization. The independent review 

organization shall provide copies of any documentation or 

information provided by the insured or the insured’s 

authorized representative to the insurer for its review, if it is 

not part of the information or documentation submitted by 

the insurer to the independent review organization. The 

insurer shall review the information and provide its analysis 

of the new information in accordance with the §1961.D.3.h. 

g. The insured or the insured’s authorized 

representative may submit, at any time, new or additional 

information not previously provided to the insurer but 

pertinent to the benefit trigger denial. The insurer shall 

consider such information and affirm or overturn its benefit 

trigger determination. If the insurer affirms its benefit trigger 

determination, the insurer shall promptly provide such new 

or additional information to the independent review 

organization for its review, along with the insurer’s analysis 

of such information. 

h. If the insurer overturns its benefit trigger 

determination: 

 i. the insurer shall provide notice to the 
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independent review organization and the insured and the 

insured’s authorized representative, if applicable, of its 

decision; and 

 ii. the independent review process shall 

immediately cease. 

i. The independent review organization shall 

provide to the insured and the insured’s authorized 

representative, if applicable, and the insurer written notice of 

its decision, within 30 calendar days from receipt of the 

referral referenced in §1961.D.3.b. If the independent review 

organization overturns the insurer’s decision, it shall: 

 i. establish the precise date within the specific 

period of time under review that the benefit trigger was 

deemed to have been met; 

 ii. specify the specific period of time under 

review for which the insurer declined eligibility but during 

which the independent review organization deemed the 

benefit trigger to have been met; and 

 iii. for tax-qualified long-term care insurance 

contracts, provide a certification (made only by a licensed 

health care practitioner as defined in section 7702B(c)(4) of 

the Internal Revenue Code) that the insured is a chronically 

ill individual. 

j. The decision of the independent review 

organization with respect to whether the insured met the 

benefit trigger will be final and binding on the insurer. 

k. The independent review organization’s 

determination shall be used solely to establish liability for 

benefit trigger decisions and is intended to be admissible in 

any proceeding only to the extent it establishes the eligibility 

of benefits payable. 

l. Nothing in §1961 shall restrict the insured’s right 

to submit a new request for benefit trigger determination 

after the independent review decision, should the 

independent review organization uphold the insurer’s 

decision. 

m. The insurance department shall utilize the criteria 

set forth in §1969.H, Appendix H, Guidelines for Long-Term 

Care Independent Review Entities, in certifying or 

approving entities to review long-term care insurance benefit 

trigger decisions. 

n. The commissioner shall maintain and 

periodically update a list of approved independent review 

organizations. 

E. Approval of Long-Term Care Insurance Independent 

Review Organizations. The commissioner shall approve a 

qualified long-term care insurance independent review 

organization, provided the independent review organization 

demonstrates to the satisfaction of the commissioner that it is 

unbiased and meets the following qualifications. 

1. Have on staff, or contract with, a qualified and 

licensed health care professional in an appropriate field for 

determining an insured’s functional or cognitive impairment 

(e.g. physical therapy, occupational therapy, neurology, 

physical medicine, and rehabilitation) to conduct the review. 

2. Neither it nor any of its licensed health care 

professionals may, in any manner, be related to or affiliated 

with an entity that previously provided medical care to the 

insured. 

3. Utilize a licensed health care professional who is 

not an employee of the insurer or related in any manner to 

the insured. 

4. Neither it nor its licensed health care professional 

who conducts the reviews may receive compensation of any 

type that is dependent on the outcome of the review. 

5. Be state approved to conduct such reviews if the 

state requires such approvals. 

6. Provide a description of the fees to be charged by it 

for independent reviews of a long-term care insurance 

benefit trigger decision. Such fees shall be reasonable and 

customary for the type of long-term care insurance benefit 

trigger decision under review. 

7. Provide the name of the medical director or health 

care professional responsible for the supervision and 

oversight of the independent review procedure. 

8. Have on staff, or contract with, a licensed health 

care practitioner, as defined by Section 7702B(c)(4) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, who is 

qualified to certify that an individual is chronically ill for 

purposes of a qualified long-term care insurance contract. 

F. Maintenance of Records and Reporting Obligations 

by Independent Review Organizations. Each approved 

independent review organization shall comply with the 

following: 

1. maintain written documentation establishing the 

date it receives a request for independent review, the date 

each review is conducted, the resolution, the date such 

resolution was communicated to the insurer and the insured, 

the name and professional status of the reviewer conducting 

such review in an easily accessible and retrievable format for 

the year in which it received the information, plus two 

calendar years; 

2. be able to document measures taken to 

appropriately safeguard the confidentiality of such records 

and prevent unauthorized use and disclosures in accordance 

with applicable federal and state law; 

3. report annually to the commissioner, by June 30, in 

the aggregate and for each long-term care insurer all of the 

following: 

a. the total number of requests received for 

independent review of long-term care benefit trigger 

decisions; 

b. the total number of reviews conducted and the 

resolution of such reviews (i.e., the number of reviews 

which upheld or overturned the long-term care insurer’s 

determination that the benefit trigger was not met); 

c. the number of reviews withdrawn prior to 

review; 

d. the percentage of reviews conducted within the 
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prescribed timeframe set forth in §1961.D.3.i; and 

e. such other information the commissioner may 

require. 

4. Report immediately to the commissioner any 

change in its status which would cause it to cease meeting 

any of the qualifications required of an independent review 

organization performing independent reviews of long-term 

care benefit trigger decisions. 

G. Additional Rights. Nothing contained in this Section 

shall limit the ability of an insurer to assert any rights an 

insurer may have under the policy related to: 

1. an insured’s misrepresentation; 

2. changes in the insured’s benefit eligibility; and 

3. terms, conditions, and exclusions of the policy, 

other than failure to meet the benefit trigger. 

H. Applicability. The requirements of §1961 apply to a 

benefit trigger request made under a long-term care 

insurance policy on or after July 1, 2018. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:1407 (July 2017) 

(effective January 1, 2018). 

§1963. Standard Format Outline of Coverage 

(Formerly §1955) 

A. Section 1963 of the regulation implements, interprets, 

and makes specific the provisions of R.S. 22:1186(G) in 

prescribing a standard format and the content of an outline 

of coverage. 

B. The outline of coverage shall be a free-standing 

document, using no smaller than 10-point type. 

C. The outline of coverage shall contain no material of 

an advertising nature. 

D. Text that is capitalized or underscored in the standard 

format outline of coverage may be emphasized by other 

means that provide prominence equivalent to the 

capitalization or underscoring. 

E. Use of the text and sequence of text of the standard 

format outline of coverage is mandatory, unless otherwise 

specifically indicated. 

F. Format for outline of coverage: 

[COMPANY NAME] 
[ADDRESS―CITY AND STATE] 

[TELEPHONE NUMBER] 

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 
OUTLINE OF COVERAGE 

[Policy Number or Group Master 

Policy and Certificate Number] 

[Except for policies or certificates which are guaranteed issue, 
the following caution statement, or language substantially 

similar, must appear as follows in the outline of coverage.] 

 CAUTION: The issuance of this long-term care insurance 
[policy] [certificate] is based upon your responses to the 

questions on your application. A copy of your [application] 

[enrollment form] [is enclosed] [was retained by you when 
you applied]. If your answers are incorrect or untrue, the 

company has the right to deny benefits or rescind your policy. 

The best time to clear up any questions is now, before a claim 

arises! If, for any reason, any of your answers are incorrect, 
contact the company at this address: [insert address] 

1. This policy is [an individual policy of insurance] ([a 

group policy] which was issued in the [indicate 
jurisdiction in which group policy was issued]). 

2. PURPOSE OF OUTLINE OF COVERAGE. This outline of 

coverage provides a very brief description of the 
important features of the policy. You should compare this 

outline of coverage to outlines of coverage for other 

policies available to you. This is not an insurance 
contract, but only a summary of coverage. Only the 

individual or group policy contains governing contractual 

provisions. This means that the policy or group policy sets 
forth in detail the rights and obligations of both you and 

the insurance company. Therefore, if you purchase this 

coverage, or any other coverage, it is important that you 

READ YOUR POLICY (OR CERTIFICATE) CAREFULLY! 
3. FEDERAL TAX CONSEQUENCES. 

(a) This [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] is intended to be a 
federally tax-qualified long-term care insurance contract 

under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 

1986, as amended. 
OR 

(b) Federal Tax Implications of this [POLICY] 

[CERTIFICATE]. This [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] is 
not intended to be a federally tax-qualified long-term care 

insurance contract under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986 as amended. Benefits received 
under the [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] may be taxable as 

income. 

4. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR CERTIFICATE  

MAY BE CONTINUED IN FORCE OR DISCONTINUED. 

(a) [For long-term care health insurance policies or 

certificates describe one of the following permissible 
policy renewability provisions: 

 (1) Policies and certificates that are guaranteed 

renewable shall contain the following statement:] 

RENEWABILITY: THIS POLICY [CERTIFICATE] IS 

GUARANTEED RENEWABLE. This means you have the 

right, subject to the terms of your policy, [certificate] to 

continue this policy as long as you pay your premiums on 

time. [company name] cannot change any of the terms of your 

policy on its own, except that, in the future, IT MAY 

INCREASE THE PREMIUM YOU PAY. 

 (2) [Policies and certificates that are 

noncancellable shall contain the following statement:] 

RENEWABILITY: THIS POLICY [CERTIFICATE] IS 

NONCANCELLABLE. This means that you have the right, 
subject to the terms of your policy, to continue this policy as 

long as you pay your premiums on time. [company name] 

cannot change any of the terms of your policy on its own and 
cannot change the premium you currently pay. However, if 

your policy contains an inflation protection feature where you 

choose to increase your benefits, [Company Name] may 
increase your premium at that time for those additional 

benefits. 

(b) [For group coverage, specifically describe 
continuation/conversion provisions applicable to the 

certificate and group policy;] 

(c) [Describe waiver of premium provisions or state that 
there are not such provisions;] 

5. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE COMPANY MAY CHANGE 

PREMIUMS. 
 [In bold type larger than the maximum type required to be 

used for the other provisions of the outline of coverage, state 

whether or not the company has a right to change the 
premium, and if a right exists, describe clearly and concisely 

each circumstance under which the premium may change.] 

6. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR CERTIFICATE 

MAY BE RETURNED AND PREMIUM REFUNDED. 
(a) [Provide a brief description of the right to 

return―"free look" provision of the policy.] 
(b) [Include a statement that the policy either does or 

does not contain provisions providing for a refund or 

partial refund of premium upon the death of an insured or 
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surrender of the policy or certificate. If the policy contains 

such provisions, include a description of them.] 

7. THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT COVERAGE. If you 
are eligible for Medicare, review the Medicare 

Supplement Buyer's Guide available from the insurance 

company. 
(a) [For producers] Neither [insert company name] nor 

its producers represent Medicare, the federal government 

or any state government. 
(b) [For direct response] [insert company name] is not 

representing Medicare, the federal government or any 

state government. 
8. LONG-TERM CARE COVERAGE. Policies of this category 

are designed to provide coverage for one or more 

necEssary or medically necessary diagnostic, preventive, 
therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, or personal care 

services, provided in a setting other than an acute care 

unit of a hospital, such as in a nursing home, in the 
community or in the home. This policy provides coverage 

in the form of a fixed dollar indemnity benefit for covered 

long-term care expenses, subject to policy [limitations] 
[waiting periods] and [coinsurance] requirements. 

[Modify this paragraph if the policy is not an indemnity 

policy.] 
9. BENEFITS PROVIDED BY THIS POLICY. 

(a) [Covered services, related deductible(s), waiting 

periods, elimination periods and benefit maximums.] 
(b) [Institutional benefits, by skill level.] 

(c) [Noninstitutional benefits, by skill level.] 

(d) Eligibility for Payment of Benefits 
[Activities of daily living and cognitive impairment shall 

be used to measure an insured's need for long-term care 

and must be defined and described as part of the outline 
of coverage.] 

[Any additional benefit triggers must also be explained. If 

these triggers differ for different benefits, explanation of 
the triggers should accompany each benefit description. If 

an attending physician or other specified person must 

certify a certain level of functional dependency in order to 
be eligible for benefits, this too must be specified.] 

10. LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS. 

[Describe: 

(a) Pre-existing conditions; 

(b) Noneligible facilities and provider; 

(c) Noneligible levels of care (e.g., unlicensed providers, 
care or treatment provided by a family member, etc.); 

(d) Exclusions and exceptions; 

(e) Limitations.] 
[This Section should provide a brief specific description 

of any policy provisions which limit, exclude, restrict, 
reduce, delay, or in any other manner operate to qualify 

payment of the benefits described in Number 9 above.] 

 THIS POLICY MAY NOT COVER ALL THE EXPENSES 

ASSOCIATED WITH YOUR LONG-TERM CARE NEEDS. 

11. RELATIONSHIP OF COST OF CARE AND BENEFITS. 

Because the costs of long-term care services will likely 
increase over time, you should consider whether and how 

the benefits of this plan may be adjusted. [As applicable, 

indicate the following: 
(a) That the benefit level will not increase over time; 

(b) Any automatic benefit adjustment provisions; 

(c) Whether the insured will be guaranteed the option to 
buy additional benefits and the basis upon which benefits 

will be increased over time if not by a specified amount or 

percentage; 
(d) If there is such a guarantee, include whether 

additional underwriting or health screening will be 

required, the frequency and amounts of the upgrade 
options, and any significant restrictions or limitations; 

(e) And finally, describe whether there will be any 

additional premium charge imposed, and how that is to be 
calculated.] 

12. ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE AND OTHER ORGANIC BRAIN 

DISORDERS. 
[State that the policy provides coverage for insureds 

clinically diagnosed as having Alzheimer's disease or 

related degenerative and dementing illnesses. Specifically 

describe each benefit screen or other policy provision 

which provides preconditions to the availability of policy 

benefits for such an insured.] 
13. PREMIUM. 

[(a) State the total annual premium for the policy; 

(b) If the premium varies with an applicant's choice 
among benefit options, indicate the portion of annual 

premium which corresponds to each benefit option.] 

14. ADDITIONAL FEATURES. 
[(a) Indicate if medical underwriting is used; 

(b) Describe other important features.] 

15. CONTACT THE STATE SENIOR HEALTH INSURANCE 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM IF YOU HAVE GENERAL QUESTIONS 

REGARDING LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE. CONTACT THE 

INSURANCE COMPANY IF YOU HAVE SPECIFIC QUESTIONS 

REGARDING YOUR LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE POLICY 

OR CERTIFICATE. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:478 (February 

2005), LR 43:1410 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1965. Requirement to Deliver Shopper's Guide 

(Formerly §1957) 

A. A long-term care insurance shopper's guide in the 

format developed by the NAIC, or a guide developed or 

approved by the commissioner, shall be provided to all 

prospective applicants of a long-term care insurance policy 

or certificate. 

1. In the case of producer solicitations, a producer 

must deliver the shopper’s guide prior to the presentation of 

an application or enrollment form. 

2. In the case of direct response solicitations, the 

shopper’s guide must be presented in conjunction with any 

application or enrollment form. 

B. Life insurance policies or riders containing 

accelerated long-term care benefits are not required to 

furnish the above-referenced guide, but shall furnish the 

policy summary required under R.S. 22:1186(I). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190.. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:480 (February 

2005), LR 43:1411 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 

§1967. Penalties 

(Formerly §1959) 

A. In addition to any other penalties provided by the law, 

any insurer and any producer found to have violated any 

requirement of this state relating to the regulation of long-

term care insurance or the marketing of such insurance shall 

be subject to a fine of up to three times the amount of any 

commissions paid for each policy involved in the violation 

or up to $10,000, whichever is greater. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 

1993), amended LR 23:975 (August 1997), LR 31:480 (February 

2005), LR 43:1411 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 2018). 
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§1969. Appendices (Formerly 1961) 

A. Appendix A 

RESCISSION REPORTING FORM FOR 

LONG-TERM CARE POLICIES 

FOR THE STATE OF LOUISIANA 

FOR THE REPORTING YEAR 20[   ] 

Company Name: _______________________________ 
Address: ____________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________ 

Phone Number: _______________________________ 

Due:  March 1 annually 

Instructions: 

 The purpose of this form is to report all rescissions of 
long-term care insurance policies or certificates. Those 

rescissions voluntarily effectuated by an insured are not 

required to be included in this report. Please furnish one form 

per rescission. 

Policy 

Form 

Number 

Policy and 

Certificate 

Number 

Name  

of 

Insured 

Date of 

Policy 

Issuance 

Date/s 

Claim/s 

Submitted 

Date of 

Rescission 

            

 

Detailed reason for rescission: 
__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________
__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________

__________________________________________________ 

______________________________________ 

Signature 
______________________________________ 

Name and Title (please type) 

______________________________________ 

Date 

B. Appendix B 

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 

PERSONAL WORKSHEET 

 People buy long-term care insurance for many reasons. 

Some don’t want to use their own assets to pay for long-term 

care. Some buy insurance to make sure they can choose the 
type of care they get. Others don't want their family to have to 

pay for care or don't want to go on Medicaid. But long-term 

care insurance may be expensive, and may not be right for 
everyone. 

 By state law the insurance company must fill out part of 

the information on this worksheet and ask you to fill out the 
rest to help you and the company decide if you should buy this 

policy. 

PREMIUM INFORMATION 

Policy Form Numbers 

_________________________________________ 

The premium for the coverage you are considering will be [$ 
_________per month, or $________ per year.] [a one-time 

single premium of $_________.] 

Type of Policy (noncancellable/guaranteed renewable): 

______________ 

The Company's Right to Increase Premiums: 

______________________ 

[The company cannot raise your rates on this policy.] [The 

company has a right to increase premiums on this policy form 
in the future, provided it raises rates for all policies in the 

same class in this state.] [Insurers shall use appropriate 

bracketed statement. Rate guarantees shall not be shown on 
this form.] 

Rate Increase History 

The company has sold long-term care insurance since [year] 

and has sold this policy since [year]. [The company has never 

raised its rates for any long-term care policy it has sold in this 

state or any other state.] [The company has not raised its rates 
for this policy form or similar policy forms in this state or any 

other state in the last 10 years.] [The company has raised its 

premium rates on this policy form or similar policy forms in 
the last 10 years. Following is a summary of the rate 

increases.] 

Questions Related to Your Income 

How will you pay each year's premiums? 

 From my Income  From my Savings/Investments 

 My Family will Pay 
What is your annual income? (check one) 

 Under $10,000  $[10-20,000]  $[20-30,000] 

 $[30-50,000]  Over $50,000 
How do you expect your income to change over the next 10 

years? (check one) 

 No change  Increase  Decrease 
If you will be paying premiums with money received only from 

your own income, a rule of thumb is that you may not be able 

to afford this policy if the premiums will be more than 7 
percent of your income. 

Will you buy inflation protection? (check one)    Yes    No 

If not, have you considered how you will pay for the 
difference between future costs and your daily benefit 

amount? 

 From my Income  From my Savings/Investments 
 My Family will Pay 

The national average annual cost of care in [insert year] was 

[insert $ amount], but this figure varies across the country. In 
ten years the national average annual cost would be about 

[insert $ amount] if costs increase 5% annually. 

What elimination period are you considering? 
Number of days ______ Approximate cost $_______ for that 

period of care. 

How are you planning to pay for your care during the 
elimination period? (check one) 

 From my Income  From my Savings/Investments 

 My Family will Pay 
[ Have you considered whether you could afford to keep 

this policy if the premiums went up, for example, by 20%?] 

Questions Related to Your Savings and Investments 

Not counting your home, about how much are all of your 

assets (your savings and investments) worth? (check one) 

Under $20,000  $20,000-$30,000  $30,000-$50,000 
Over $50,000 

How do you expect your assets to change over the next ten 

years? (check one) 
 Stay about the same  Increase  Decrease 

If you are buying this policy to protect your assets and your 
assets are less than $30,000, you may wish to consider other 

options for financing your long-term care. 

Disclosure Statement 

 The answers to the questions above describe my 
financial situation. 

or 

 I choose not to complete this information. 
 (Check one.) 

 I acknowledge that the carrier and/or its producer 

(below) has reviewed this form with me including 

the premium, premium rate increase history and 
potential for premium increases in the future. [For 

direct mail situations, use the following: I 
acknowledge that I have reviewed this form 

including the premium, premium rate increase 

history and potential for premium increases in the 
future.] I understand the above disclosures. I 

understand that the rates for this policy may 

increase in the future. (This box must be checked). 

Signed:___________________ ____________________ 
 (Applicant) (Date) 

 [  I explained to the applicant the importance of completing 

this information.] 
Signed:___________________ ____________________ 
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 (Producer) (Date) 

Producer's Printed Name:_____________________________] 

[In order for us to process your application, please return this 
signed statement to [name of company], along with your 

application.] 

[My producer has advised me that this policy does not seem to 
be suitable for me. However, I still want the company to 

consider my application. 

Signed:___________________ ___________________] 
 (Applicant) (Date) 

The company may contact you to verify your answers. 

C. Appendix C 

THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW BEFORE 

YOU BUY LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 

Long-Term 

Care 

Insurance 

 A long-term care insurance policy may 

pay most of the costs for your care in a 

nursing home. Many policies also pay for 

care at home or other community settings. 
Since policies can vary in coverage, you 

should read this policy and make sure you 

understand what it covers before you buy 

it. 

   [You should not buy this insurance policy 

unless you can afford to pay the 

premiums every year.] [Remember that 

the company can increase premiums in 
the future.] 

   The personal worksheet includes 

questions designed to help you and the 

company determine whether this policy is 

suitable for your needs. 

Medicare  Medicare does not pay for most long-term 

care. 

Medicaid  Medicaid will generally pay for long-term 

care if you have very little income and 

few assets. You probably should not buy 
this policy if you are now eligible for 

Medicaid. 

   Many people become eligible for 

Medicaid after they have used up their 

own financial resources by paying for 
long-term care services. 

   When Medicaid pays your spouse's 

nursing home bills, you are allowed to 
keep your house and furniture, a living 

allowance, and some of your joint assets. 

   Your choice of long-term care services 

may be limited if you are receiving 

Medicaid. To learn more about Medicaid, 
contact your local or state Medicaid 

agency. 

Shopper's 

Guide 
 Make sure the insurance company or 

producer gives you a copy of a book 

called the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners' "Shopper's 

Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance." 

Read it carefully. If you have decided to 
apply for long-term care insurance, you 

have the right to return the policy within 

30 days and get back any premium you 
have paid if you are dissatisfied for any 

reason or choose not to purchase the 

policy. 

Counseling  Free counseling and additional 

information about long-term care 
insurance are available through your 

state's insurance counseling program. 

Contact your state insurance department 
or department on aging for more 

information about the senior health 

insurance counseling program in your 
state. 

Facilities  Some long-term care insurance contracts 

provide for benefit payments in certain 

facilities only if they are licensed or 
certified, such as in assisted living 

centers. However, not all states regulate 

these facilities in the same way. Also, 
many people move into a different state 

from where they purchased their long-

term care insurance policy. Read the 
policy carefully to determine what types 

of facilities qualify for benefit payments, 

and to determine that payment for a 
covered service will be made if you move 

to a state that has a different licensing 

scheme for facilities than the one in which 
you purchased the policy.  

 
D. Appendix D 

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 

SUITABILITY LETTER 

Dear [Applicant]: 

 Your recent application for long-term care insurance 
included a "personal worksheet," which asked questions about 

your finances and your reasons for buying long-term care 

insurance. For your protection, state law requires us to 
consider this information when we review your application, to 

avoid selling a policy to those who may not need coverage. 

 [Your answers indicate that long-term care insurance may 
not meet your financial needs. We suggest that you review the 

information provided along with your application, including 

the booklet "Shopper's Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance" 
and the page titled "Things You Should Know Before Buying 

Long-Term Care Insurance." Your state insurance department 

also has information about long-term care insurance and may 
be able to refer you to a counselor free of charge who can help 

you decide whether to buy this policy.] 

[You chose not to provide any 
financial information for us to review.] 

 We have suspended our final review of your application. If, 

after careful consideration, you still believe this policy is what 

you want, check the appropriate box below and return this 

letter to us within the next 60 days. We will then continue 
reviewing your application and issue a policy if you meet our 

medical standards. 

 If we do not hear from you within the next 60 days, we will 
close your file and not issue you a policy. You should 

understand that you will not have any coverage until we hear 

back from you, approve your application and issue you a 
policy. 

 Please check one box and return in the enclosed envelope. 

□ Yes, [although my worksheet indicates that long-term 
care insurance may not be a suitable purchase,] I wish 

to purchase this coverage. Please resume review of my 

application. 
□ No. I have decided not to buy a policy at this time. 

________________________ _______________________ 

 Applicant Signature Date 

Please return to [issuer] at [address] by [date]. 

E. Appendix E 

CLAIMS DENIAL REPORTING FORM 

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 

For the State of __________________________ 

For the Reporting Year of _________________ 

Company Name: _________________ Due: June 30 annually 
Company Address: _________________________________ 

__________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________ 
Company NAIC Number: _____________________________ 

Contact Person: __________ Phone Number:______________ 
Line of Business: _______ Individual _______ Group ______ 

Instructions 

The purpose of this form is to report all long-term care claim 
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denials under in force long-term care insurance policies. 

Indicate the manner of reporting by checking one of the boxes 

below: 

 Per claimant – counts each individual who makes one or a 

series of claim requests. 

 Per transaction – counts each claim payment request.  

"Denied" means a claim that is not paid for any reason 
other than for claims not paid for failure to meet the 

waiting period or because of an applicable preexisting 

condition. It does not include a request for payment that is 
in excess of the applicable contractual limits. 

Inforce Data 

      State 

Data 

Nationwide 

Data1 

   Total Number of Inforce 

Policies [Certificates] as of 

December 31s 

      

 
Claims and Denial Data 

      State 

Data 

Nationwide 

Data1 

 1 Total Number of Long-Term 

Care Claims Reported 

      

 2 Total Number of Long-Term 

Care Claims Denied/Not Paid 

      

 3 Number of Claims Not Paid due 

to Preexisting Condition 
Exclusion 

      

 4 Number of Claims Not Paid due 

to Waiting (Elimination) Period 

Not Met 

      

 5 Net Number of Long-Term 

Care Claims Denied for 

Reporting Purposes (Line 2 
Minus Line 3 Minus Line 4) 

      

 6 Percentage of Long-Term Care 

Claims Denied of Those 

Reported (Line 5 Divided By 
Line 1) 

      

 7 Number of Long-Term Care 

Claim Denied due to: 

      

 8  Long-Term Care Services Not 

Covered under the Policy2 

      

 9  Provider/Facility Not 

Qualified under the Policy3 

      

10  Benefit Eligibility Criteria Not 

Met4 

      

11  Other       

1. The nationwide data may be viewed as a more 
representative and credible indicator where the data for 

claims reported and denied for your state are small in 

number. 
2. Example―home health care claim filed under a nursing 

home only policy. 

3. Example―a facility that does not meet the minimum level 
of care requirements or the licensing requirements as 

outlined in the policy. 

4. Examples―a benefit trigger not met, certification by a 

licensed health care practitioner not provided, no plan of 

care. 

F. Appendix F 

Instructions: 

This form provides information to the applicant regarding 

premium rate schedules, rate schedule adjustments, potential 
rate revisions, and policyholder options in the event of a rate 

increase. 

Insurers shall provide all of the following information to 

the applicant: 

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 

POTENTIAL RATE INCREASE DISCLOSURE FORM 

 

1. [Premium Rate] [Premium Rate Schedules]: [Premium 

rate] [Premium rate schedules] that [is][are] applicable to 

you and that will be in effect until a request is made and 

[filed][approved] for an increase [is][are] [on the 

application][$_____]) 
2. The [premium] [premium rate schedule] for this 

policy [will be shown on the schedule page of] [will be 

attached to] your policy. 

3. Rate Schedule Adjustments: 

The company will provide a description of when premium 

rate or rate schedule adjustments will be effective (e.g., 
next anniversary date, next billing date, etc.) (fill in the 

blank): __________________. 

4. Potential Rate Revisions: 

This policy is Guaranteed Renewable. This means that 

the rates for this product may be increased in the future. 

Your rates can NOT be increased due to your increasing 
age or declining health, but your rates may go up based on 

the experience of all policyholders with a policy similar to 

yours. 

If you receive a premium rate or premium rate 

schedule increase in the future, you will be notified of 

the new premium amount and you will be able to 

exercise at least one of the following options: 

 Pay the increased premium and continue your policy 

in force as is. 

 Reduce your poliy benefits to a level such that your 

premiums will not increase. (Subject to state law 
minimum standards.) 

 Exercise your nonforfeiture option if purchased. (This 

option is available for purchase for an additional 

premium.) 

 Exercise your contingent nonforfeiture rights.* (This 

option may be available if you do not purchase a 

separate nonforfeiture option.) 
Turn the Page 

*Contingent Nonforfeiture 

If the premium rate for your policy goes up in the future and 
you didn’t buy a nonforfeiture option, you may be eligible for 

contingent nonforfeiture. Here's how to tell if you are eligible: 

You will keep some long-term care insurance coverage, if: 

 Your premium after the increase exceeds your original 

premium by the percentage shown (or more) in the 

following table; and 

 You lapse (not pay more premiums) within 120 days of 

the increase. 
 The amount of coverage (i.e., new lifetime maximum benefit 

amount) you will keep will equal the total amount of 

premiums you’ve paid since your policy was first issued. If 
you have already received benefits under the policy, so that 

the remaining maximum benefit amount is less than the total 

amount of premiums you’ve paid, the amount of coverage will 
be that remaining amount. 

 Except for this reduced lifetime maximum benefit amount, 

all other policy benefits will remain at the levels attained at the 
time of the lapse and will not increase thereafter. 

 Should you choose this Contingent Nonforfeiture option, 

your policy, with this reduced maximum benefit amount, will 
be considered “paid-up” with no further premiums due. 

Example: 

 You bought the policy at age 65 and paid the $1,000 

annual premium for 10 years, so you have paid a total of 

$10,000 in premium. 

 In the eleventh year, you receive a rate increase of 50%, 

or $500 for a new annual premium of $1,500, and you 
decide to lapse the policy (not pay any more premiums). 

 Your "paid-up" policy benefits are $10,000 (provided you 

have a least $10,000 of benefits remaining under your 

policy.) 

Turn the Page 

Contingent Nonforfeiture 

Cumulative Premium Increase over Initial Premium 

That qualifies for Contingent Nonforfeiture 

(Percentage increase is cumulative from date of original 

issue. It does NOT represent a one-time increase.) 
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Issue Age 

Percent Increase Over 

Initial Premium 

29 and under 200% 

30-34 190% 

35-39 170% 

40-44 150% 

45-49 130% 

50-54 110% 

55-59 90% 

60 70% 

61 66% 

62 62% 

63 58% 

64 54% 

65 50% 

66 48% 

67 46% 

68 44% 

69 42% 

70 40% 

71 38% 

72 36% 

73 34% 

74 32% 

75 30% 

76 28% 

77 26% 

78 24% 

79 22% 

80 20% 

81 19% 

82 18% 

83 17% 

84 16% 

85 15% 

86 14% 

87 13% 

88 12% 

89 11% 

90 and over 10% 

 

[The following contingent nonforfeiture disclosure need only 
be included for those limited pay policies to which §1955.D.4 

and §1955.D.6 are applicable.  

 In addition to the contingent nonforfeiture benefits described 
above, the following reduced “paid-up” contingent 

nonforfeiture benefit is an option in all policies that have a 

fixed or limited premium payment period, even if you selected 
a nonforfeiture benefit when you bought your policy. If both 

the reduced “paid-up” benefit AND the contingent benefit 
described above are triggered by the same rate increase, you 

can choose either of the two benefits. 

 You are eligible for the reduced “paid-up” contingent 
nonforfeiture benefit when all three conditions shown below 

are met: 

1. The premium you are required to pay after the increase 
exceeds your original premium by the same percentage or 

more shown in the chart below; 

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase 

Issue Age Percent Increase Over Initial Premium 

Under 65 50% 

65-80 30% 

Over 80 10% 

 
2. You stop paying your premiums within 120 days of when 

the premium increase took effect; AND 

3. The ration of the number of months you already paid 
premiums is 40% or more than the number of months you 

originally agreed to pay. 

If you exercise this option your coverage will be converted to 
reduced “paid-up” status. That means there will be no 

additional premiums required. Your benefits will change in the 

following ways: 

a. The total lifetime amount of benefits your reduced paid 

up policy will provide can be determined by 
multiplying 90% of the lifetime benefit amount at the 

time the policy becomes paid up by the ratio of the 

number of months you already paid premiums to the 
number of months you agreed to pay them.  

b. The daily benefit amounts you purchased will also be 

adjusted by the same ratio.  
If you purchased lifetime benefits, only the daily benefit 

amounts you purchased will be adjusted by the applicable 

ratio. 

Example: 

 You bought the policy at age 65 with an annual premium 

payable for 10 years. 

 In the sixth year, you receive a rate increase of 35% and 

you decide to stop paying premiums. 

 Because you have already paid 50% of your total 

premium payments and that is more than the 40% ratio, 
your “paid-up” policy benefits are .45 (.90 times .50) 

times the total benefit amount that was in effect when you 

stopped paying your premiums. If you purchased inflation 
protection, it will not continue to apply to the benefits in 

the reduced “paid-up” policy.  

G. Appendix G 

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 

REPLACEMENT AND LAPSE REPORTING FORM 

For  the State of _______ For the Reporting Year of ________ 
Company Name: ______________ Due: June 30 annually 

Company Address: ______ Company NAIC Number: _____ 

Contact Person: ____________ Phone Number: (____)______ 

Instructions 

The purpose of this form is to report on a statewide basis 

information regarding long-term care insurance policy 
replacements and lapses. Specifically, every insurer shall 

maintain records for each producer on that producer's 

amount of long-term care insurance replacement sales as a 
percent of the producer's total annual sales and the amount of 

lapses of long-term care insurance policies sold by the 

producer as a percent of the producer’s total annual sales. 
The tables below should be used to report the ten percent 

(10%) of the insurer's producers with the greatest 

percentages of replacements and lapses. 
 

Listing of the 10% of Producers with the Greatest 

Percentage of Replacements 

 

Producer's 

Name 

Number of 

Policies 

Sold By 

This 

Producer 

Number of 

Policies 

Replaced By 

This 

Producer 

Number of 

Replacements 

As % of 

Number Sold 

By This 

Producer 

 

  

 

  

 

  

   

 

Listing of the 10% of Producers with the Greatest 

Percentage of Lapses 

 

Producer's 

Name 

Number of 

Policies 

Sold By 

This 

Producer 

Number of 

Policies 

Lapsed By 

This 

Producer 

Number of 

Lapses As % 

of Number  

Sold By This 

Producer 

 
 

  

 
  

 
  

   

 

Company Totals 

Percentage of Replacement Policies Sold to Total Annual 

Sales ____% 
Percentage of Replacement Policies Sold to Policies In Force  

(as of the end of the preceding calendar year) ____% 

Percentage of Lapsed Policies to Total Annual Sales ____% 
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Percentage of Lapsed Policies to Policies In Force (as of the 

end of the preceding calendar year) ____% 

H. Appendix H 

GUIDELINE FOR LONG-TERM 

CARE INDEPENDENT REVIEW ENTITIES 

In order for an organization to qualify as an independent review 
organization for long-term care insurance benefit trigger 

decisions, it shall comply with all of the following: 

a. The independent review organization shall ensure 
that all health care professionals on its staff and with whom it 

contracts to provide benefit trigger determination reviews hold a 

current unrestricted license or certification to practice a health 

care profession in the United States. 

b. The independent review organization shall ensure 

that any health care professional on its staff with whom it 
contracts to provide benefit trigger determination reviews who 

is a physician holds a current certification by a recognized 

American medical specialty board in a specialty appropriate for 

determining an insured’s functional or cognitive impairment. 

c. The independent review organization shall ensure 

that any health care professional on its staff with whom it 
contracts to provide benefit trigger determination reviews who 

is not a physician holds a current certification in the specialty in 

which that person is licensed, by a recognized American 
specialty board in a specialty appropriate for determining an 

insured’s functional or cognitive impairment. 

d. The independent review organization shall ensure 

that all health care professionals on its staff and with whom it 

contracts to provide benefit trigger determination reviews have 
no history of disciplinary actions or sanctions including, but not 

limited to, the loss of staff privileges or any participation 

restriction taken or pending by any hospital or state or federal 

government regulatory agency. 

e. The independent review organization shall ensure 

that neither it, nor any of its employees, agents, or licensed 
health care professionals utilized for benefit trigger 

determination reviews receives compensation of any type that is 

dependent on the outcome of the review. 

f. The independent review organization shall ensure 

that neither it, nor any of its employees, agents, or licensed 

health care professionals it utilized for benefit trigger 
determination reviews are in any manner related to, employed 

by, or affiliated with the insurer, insured, or with a person who 

previously provided medical care or long-term care services to 

the insured. 

g. The independent review organization shall provide a 

description of the qualifications of the reviewers retained to 
conduct independent review of long-term care insurance benefit 

trigger decisions, including the reviewer’s current and past 

employment history, practice affiliations, and a description of 
past experience with decisions relating to long-term care, 

functional capacity, dependency in activities of daily living, or 

in assessing cognitive impairment. Specifically, with regard to 

reviews of tax qualified long-term care insurance contracts, it 

must demonstrate the ability to assess the severity of cognitive 

impairment requiring substantial supervision to protect the 
individual from harm or with assessing deficits in the ability to 

perform without substantial assistance from another person at 

least two activities of daily living for a period of at least 90 days 

due to a loss of functional capacity. 

h. This independent review organization shall provide a 

description of the procedures employed to ensure that reviewers 
conducting independent reviews are appropriately licensed or 

registered; trained in the principles, procedures, and standards 

of the independent review organization; and knowledgeable 
about the functional or cognitive impairments associated with 

the diagnosis and disease staging processes, including expected 

duration of such impairment, which is the subject of the 

independent review. 

i. The independent review organization shall provide 

the number of reviewers retained by the independent review 

organization and a description of the areas of expertise available 
from such reviewers and the types of cases such reviewers are 

qualified to review (e.g. assessment of cognitive impairment or 

inability to perform activities of daily living due to a loss of 

functional capacity). 

j. The independent review organizations shall provide 

a description of the policies and procedures employed to protect 
confidentiality of protected health information, in accordance 

with federal and state law. 

k. The independent review organization shall provide a 

description of its quality assurance program. 

l. The independent review organization shall provide 

the names of all corporations and organizations owned or 
controlled by the independent review organization or which own 

or control the organization, and the nature and extent of any 

such ownership or control. The independent review organization 
shall ensure that neither it, nor any of its employees, agents, or 

licensed health care professionals utilized are not a subsidiary 

of, or owned or controlled by, an insurer or by a trade 

association of insurers of which the insured is a member.  

m. The independent review organization shall provide 

the names and résumés of all directors, officers, and executives 

of the independent review organization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:480 (February 

2005), amended LR 43:1412 (July 2017) (effective January 1, 

2018). 

Chapter 21. Regulation 47―Actuarial 

Opinion and Memorandum 

Regulation 

§2101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to prescribe: 

1. requirements for statements of actuarial opinion 

that are to be submitted in accordance with R.S. 22:752, and 

for memoranda in support thereof; 

2. rules applicable to the appointment of an appointed 

actuary; and 

3. guidance as to the meaning of "adequacy of 

reserves." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:162.1 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2543 (October 

2005), amended LR 50:1282 (September 2024). 

§2103. Authority 

A. This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the Commissioner of Insurance of the State of 

Louisiana under R.S. 22:752. This regulation will take effect 

for annual statements for the year 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:162.1 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2543 (October 
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2005), amended LR 50:1282 (September 2024). 

§2105. Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to all life insurance 

companies and fraternal benefit societies doing business in 

this state and to all life insurance companies and fraternal 

benefit societies that are authorized to reinsure life 

insurance, annuities or accident and health insurance 

business in this state. This regulation shall be applied in a 

manner that allows the appointed actuary to utilize his or her 

professional judgment in performing the asset analysis and 

developing the actuarial opinion and supporting memoranda, 

consistent with relevant actuarial standards of practice. 

However, the commissioner shall have the authority to 

specify methods of actuarial analysis particular to a 

company's business profile and may include specific 

actuarial methods and assumptions including, where 

appropriate, simplified actuarial methods and assumptions, 

when, in the commissioner's judgment, such specifications 

are necessary, or sufficient, to meet the objective of 

rendering an acceptable opinion as to the adequacy of the 

reserves and related items. 

B. This regulation shall be applicable to all annual 

statements filed with the office of the commissioner after the 

effective date of this regulation. A statement of opinion on 

the adequacy of the reserves and related actuarial items 

based on an asset adequacy analysis in accordance with 

§2111 of this regulation, and a memorandum in support 

thereof in accordance with §2113 of this regulation, shall be 

required each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:162.1 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2543 (October 

2005). 

§2107. Definitions 

Actuarial Opinion—the opinion of an appointed actuary 

regarding the adequacy of the reserves and related actuarial 

items based on an asset adequacy analysis in accordance 

with §2111 of this regulation and with applicable Actuarial 

Standards of Practice. 

Actuarial Standards Board—the board established by the 

American Academy of Actuaries to develop and promulgate 

standards of actuarial practice. 

Annual Statement—that statement required by Section 

R.S. 22:571 of the Insurance Law to be filed by the company 

with the office of the commissioner annually. 

Appointed Actuary—an individual who is appointed or 

retained in accordance with the requirements set forth in 

§2109.C. of this regulation to provide the actuarial opinion 

and supporting memorandum as required by R.S. 22:752. 

Asset Adequacy Analysis—an analysis that meets the 

standards and other requirements referred to in §2109.D of 

this regulation. 

Commissioner—the commissioner of insurance of 

Louisiana. 

Company—a life insurance company, fraternal benefit 

society or reinsurer subject to the provisions of this 

regulation. 

Qualified Actuary—an individual who meets the 

requirements set forth in §2109.B of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:162.1 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2544 (October 

2005), amended LR 50:1282 (September 2024). 

§2109. General Requirements 

A. Submission of Statement of Actuarial Opinion  

1. There is to be included on or attached to Page 1 of 

the annual statement for each year beginning with the year in 

which this regulation becomes effective the statement of an 

appointed actuary, entitled "Statement of Actuarial Opinion," 

setting forth an opinion relating to reserves and related 

actuarial items held in support of policies and contracts, in 

accordance with §2111 of this regulation. 

2. Upon written request by the company, the 

commissioner may grant an extension of the date for 

submission of the statement of actuarial opinion. 

B. Qualified Actuary. A "qualified actuary" is an 

individual who: 

1. is a member in good standing of the American 

Academy of Actuaries; 

2. is qualified to sign statements of actuarial opinion 

for life and health insurance company annual statements in 

accordance with the American Academy of Actuaries 

qualification standards for actuaries signing such statements; 

3. is familiar with the valuation requirements 

applicable to life and health insurance companies; 

4. has not been found by the commissioner (or if so 

found has subsequently been reinstated as a qualified 

actuary), following appropriate notice and hearing to have: 

a. violated any provision of, or any obligation 

imposed by, the insurance law or other law in the course of 

his or her dealings as a qualified actuary; 

b. been found guilty of fraudulent or dishonest 

practices; 

c. demonstrated his or her incompetency, lack of 

cooperation, or untrustworthiness to act as a qualified 

actuary; 

d. submitted to the commissioner during the past 

five years, pursuant to this regulation, an actuarial opinion or 

memorandum that the commissioner rejected because it did 

not meet the provisions of this regulation including 

standards set by the Actuarial Standards Board; or 

e. resigned or been removed as an actuary within 

the past five years as a result of acts or omissions indicated 

in any adverse report on examination or as a result of failure 

to adhere to generally acceptable actuarial standards; and 

5. has not failed to notify the commissioner of any 
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action taken by any commissioner of any other state similar 

to that under Paragraph 4 above. 

C. Appointed Actuary. An "appointed actuary" is a 

qualified actuary who is appointed or retained to prepare the 

Statement of Actuarial Opinion required by this regulation, 

either directly by or by the authority of the board of directors 

through an executive officer of the company other than the 

qualified actuary. The company shall give the commissioner 

timely written notice of the name, title (and, in the case of a 

consulting actuary, the name of the firm) and manner of 

appointment or retention of each person appointed or 

retained by the company as an appointed actuary and shall 

state in the notice that the person meets the requirements set 

forth in Subsection B. Once notice is furnished, no further 

notice is required with respect to this person, provided that 

the company shall give the commissioner timely written 

notice in the event the actuary ceases to be appointed or 

retained as an appointed actuary or to meet the requirements 

set forth in Subsection B. If any person appointed or retained 

as an appointed actuary replaces a previously appointed 

actuary, the notice shall so state and give the reasons for 

replacement. 

D. Standards for Asset Adequacy Analysis. The asset 

adequacy analysis required by this regulation: 

1. shall conform to the Standards of Practice as 

promulgated from time to time by the Actuarial Standards 

Board and on any additional standards under this regulation, 

which standards are to form the basis of the statement of 

actuarial opinion in accordance with this regulation; and 

2. shall be based on methods of analysis as are 

deemed appropriate for such purposes by the Actuarial 

Standards Board; 

3. shall comply with the commissioner's specific 

method of actuarial analysis when the commissioner has 

specified a method of actuarial analysis to be in effect for a 

particular company. When a conflict exists between a 

commissioner specified method of actuarial analysis and the 

standards of Paragraphs 1 and 2, the commissioner's specific 

method of actuarial analysis prevails. 

E. Liabilities to be Covered 

1. Under authority of R.S. 22:752, the statement of 

actuarial opinion shall apply to all in force business on the 

statement date, whether directly issued or assumed, 

regardless of when or where issued, e.g., reserves of Exhibits 

5, 6 and 7, and claim liabilities in Exhibit 8, Part I and 

equivalent items in the separate account statement or 

statements. 

2. If the appointed actuary determines as the result of 

asset adequacy analysis that a reserve should be held in 

addition to the aggregate reserve held by the company and 

calculated in accordance with methods set forth in the 

Standard Valuation Law, the company shall establish the 

additional reserve. 

3. Additional reserves established under Paragraph 2 

above and deemed not necessary in subsequent years may be 

released. Any amounts released shall be disclosed in the 

actuarial opinion for the applicable year. The release of such 

reserves would not be deemed an adoption of a lower 

standard of valuation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:162.1 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2544 (October 

2005), amended LR 50:1283 (September 2024). 

§2111. Statement of Actuarial Opinion Based on an 

Asset Adequacy Analysis 

A. General Description. The statement of actuarial 

opinion submitted in accordance with this Section shall 

consist of: 

1. a paragraph identifying the appointed actuary and 

his or her qualifications (see Paragraph B.1); 

2. a scope paragraph identifying the subjects on which 

an opinion is to be expressed and describing the scope of the 

appointed actuary's work, including a tabulation delineating 

the reserves and related actuarial items that have been 

analyzed for asset adequacy and the method of analysis, (see 

Paragraph B.2) and identifying the reserves and related 

actuarial items covered by the opinion that have not been so 

analyzed; 

3. a reliance paragraph describing those areas, if any, 

where the appointed actuary has deferred to other experts in 

developing data, procedures or assumptions, (e.g., 

anticipated cash flows from currently owned assets, 

including variation in cash flows according to economic 

scenarios (see Paragraph B.3), supported by a statement of 

each such expert in the form prescribed by Subsection E; 

and 

4. an opinion paragraph expressing the appointed 

actuary’s opinion with respect to the adequacy of the 

supporting assets to mature the liabilities (see Paragraph 

B.6); 

5. one or more additional paragraphs will be needed in 

individual company cases as follows: 

a. if the appointed actuary considers it necessary to 

state a qualification of his or her opinion; 

b. if the appointed actuary must disclose an 

inconsistency in the method of analysis or basis of asset 

allocation used at the prior opinion date with that used for 

this opinion; 

c. if the appointed actuary must disclose whether 

additional reserves as of the prior opinion date are released 

as of this opinion date, and the extent of the release; 

d. if the appointed actuary chooses to add a 

paragraph briefly describing the assumptions that form the 

basis for the actuarial opinion. 

B. Recommended Language. The following paragraphs 

are to be included in the statement of actuarial opinion in 

accordance with this section. Language is that which in 

typical circumstances should be included in a statement of 

actuarial opinion. The language may be modified as needed 
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to meet the circumstances of a particular case, but the 

appointed actuary should use language that clearly expresses 

his or her professional judgment. However, in any event the 

opinion shall retain all pertinent aspects of the language 

provided in this Section. 

1. The opening paragraph should generally indicate 

the appointed actuary's relationship to the company and his 

or her qualifications to sign the opinion. 

a. For a company actuary, the opening paragraph of 

the actuarial opinion should include a statement such as: 

"I, [name], am [title] of [insurance company name] and a 
member of the American Academy of Actuaries. I was 

appointed by, or by the authority of, the Board of Directors of 

said insurer to render this opinion as stated in the letter to the 
commissioner dated [insert date]. I meet the Academy 

qualification standards for rendering the opinion and am 

familiar with the valuation requirements applicable to life and 
health insurance companies." 

b. For a consulting actuary, the opening paragraph 

should include a statement such as: 

"I, [name], a member of the American Academy of Actuaries, 
am associated with the firm of [name of consulting firm]. I 

have been appointed by, or by the authority of, the Board of 

Directors of [name of company] to render this opinion as 
stated in the letter to the commissioner dated [insert date]. I 

meet the Academy qualification standards for rendering the 

opinion and am familiar with the valuation requirements 
applicable to life and health insurance companies." 

2. The scope paragraph should include a statement 

such as: 

"I have examined the actuarial assumptions and actuarial 
methods used in determining reserves and related actuarial 

items listed below, as shown in the annual statement of the 

company, as prepared for filing with state regulatory officials, 

as of December 31, 20[ ]. Tabulated below are those reserves 

and related actuarial items which have been subjected to asset 

adequacy analysis." 
 

Asset Adequacy Tested Amounts—Reserves and Liabilities 

Statement Item 

Formula 

Reserves 

(1) 

Additional 

Actuarial 

Reserves 

(a) (2) 

Analysis 

Method 

(b) 

Other 

Amount 

(3) 

Total 

Amount 

(1)+(2)+

(3) (4) 

Exhibit 5 

A Life Insurance 
              

B Annuities                

C Supplementary 

Contracts 

Involving Life 

Contingencies 

               

D Accidental 

Death Benefit 

               

E Disability – 

Active 

               

F Disability – 

Disabled 

               

G Miscellaneous                

Total (Exhibit 5 

Item 1, Page 3) 

               

Exhibit 6 

A Active Life 

Reserve 

               

B Claim Reserve                

Total (Exhibit 6 

Item 2, Page 3) 

               

Exhibit 7 

Premium and 

Other Deposit 

Funds (Column 5, 

Line 14) 

               

Asset Adequacy Tested Amounts—Reserves and Liabilities 

Statement Item 

Formula 

Reserves 

(1) 

Additional 

Actuarial 

Reserves 

(a) (2) 

Analysis 

Method 

(b) 

Other 

Amount 

(3) 

Total 

Amount 

(1)+(2)+

(3) (4) 

Guaranteed Interest 

Contracts 

(Column 2, Line 

14) 

               

Other 

(Column 6, Line 

14) 

               

Supplemental 

Contracts and 

Annuities Certain 

(Column 3, Line 

14) 

               

Dividend 

Accumulations 

or Refunds 

(Column 4, Line 

14) 

               

Total Exhibit 7 

(Column 1, Line 

14) 

               

Exhibit 8, Part 1 

1 Life 

(Page 3, Line 

4.1) 

               

2 Health 

(Page 3, Line 4.2) 

               

Total Exhibit 8, 

Part 1 

               

Separate Accounts 

(Page 3 of the 

Annual Statement 

of the Separate 

Accounts, Lines 1, 

2, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3) 

               

TOTAL 

RESERVES 

               

 
IMR (General Account, Page ___ Line ___)    

(Separate Accounts, Page ___ Line ___)    

AVR (Page ___ Line ___) (c) 

Net Deferred and Uncollected Premium    

Notes: 

a. The additional actuarial reserves are the reserves 

established under Paragraph 2 of Section 2109.E. 

b. The appointed actuary should indicate the method of 

analysis, determined in accordance with the standards for 

asset adequacy analysis referred to in Section 2109.D of 
this regulation, by means of symbols that should be 

defined in footnotes to the table. 

c. Allocated amount of Asset Valuation Reserve (AVR). 

3. If the appointed actuary has relied on other experts 

to develop certain portions of the analysis, the reliance 

paragraph should include a statement such as: 

"I have relied on [name], [title] for [e.g., "anticipated cash 

flows from currently owned assets, including variations in 

cash flows according to economic scenarios" or "certain 

critical aspects of the analysis performed in conjunction with 
forming my opinion"], as certified in the attached statement. I 

have reviewed the information relied upon for 

reasonableness." 
A statement of reliance on other experts should be 

accompanied by a statement by each of the experts in the form 

prescribed by §2111.E. 

4. If the appointed actuary has examined the 

underlying asset and liability records, the reliance paragraph 

should include a statement such as: 

"My examination included such review of the actuarial 

assumptions and actuarial methods and of the underlying basic 

asset and liability records and such tests of the actuarial 
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calculations as I considered necessary. I also reconciled the 

underlying basic asset and liability records to [exhibits and 

schedules listed as applicable] of the company's current annual 
statement." 

5. If the appointed actuary has not examined the 

underlying records, but has relied upon data (e.g., listings 

and summaries of policies in force or asset records) prepared 

by the company, the reliance paragraph should include a 

statement such as: 

"In forming my opinion on [specify types of reserves] I relied 

upon data prepared by [name and title of company officer 
certifying in force records or other data] as certified in the 

attached statements. I evaluated that data for reasonableness 

and consistency. I also reconciled that data to [exhibits and 
schedules to be listed as applicable] of the company's current 

annual statement. In other respects, my examination included 

review of the actuarial assumptions and actuarial methods 
used and tests of the calculations I considered necessary." 

The section shall be accompanied by a statement by each 

person relied upon in the form prescribed by Subsection E. 

6. The opinion paragraph should include a statement 

such as: 

"In my opinion the reserves and related actuarial values 

concerning the statement items identified above: 

a. are computed in accordance with presently accepted 

actuarial standards consistently applied and are fairly stated, in 

accordance with sound actuarial principles; 

b. are based on actuarial assumptions that produce 

reserves at least as great as those called for in any contract 
provision as to reserve basis and method, and are in 

accordance with all other contract provisions; 

c. meet the requirements of the Insurance Law and 
Regulation of the state of [state of domicile]; and are at least 

as great as the minimum aggregate amounts required by the 

state in which this statement is filed; 

d. are computed on the basis of assumptions consistent 

with those used in computing the corresponding items in the 

annual statement of the preceding year-end (with any 

exceptions noted below); and 

e. include provision for all actuarial reserves and 

related statement items which ought to be established. 

The reserves and related items, when considered in light of 

the assets held by the company with respect to such reserves 

and related actuarial items including, but not limited to, the 
investment earnings on the assets, and the considerations 

anticipated to be received and retained under the policies and 

contracts, make adequate provision, according to presently 
accepted actuarial standards of practice, for the anticipated 

cash flows required by the contractual obligations and related 

expenses of the company. (At the discretion of the 
commissioner, this language may be omitted for an opinion 

filed on behalf of a company doing business only in this state 

and in no other state.) 

The actuarial methods, considerations and analyses used in 

forming my opinion conform to the appropriate Standards of 

Practice as promulgated by the Actuarial Standards Board, 

which standards form the basis of this statement of opinion. 

This opinion is updated annually as required by statute. To 

the best of my knowledge, there have been no material 
changes from the applicable date of the annual statement to 

the date of the rendering of this opinion which should be 

considered in reviewing this opinion. 

or 

The following material changes which occurred between 

the date of the statement for which this opinion is applicable 
and the date of this opinion should be considered in reviewing 

this opinion: (Describe the change or changes.) 

Note: Choose one of the above two paragraphs, whichever is 

applicable. 

The impact of unanticipated events subsequent to the date of 

this opinion is beyond the scope of this opinion. The analysis 
of asset adequacy portion of this opinion should be viewed 

recognizing that the company' future experience may not 

follow all the assumptions used in the analysis. 
 

__________________________________ 

Signature of Appointed Actuary 
 

__________________________________ 
Address of Appointed Actuary 

 

__________________________________ 
Telephone Number of Appointed Actuary 

 

__________________________________ 
Date" 

C. Assumptions for New Issues 

1. The adoption for new issues or new claims or other 

new liabilities of an actuarial assumption that differs from a 

corresponding assumption used for prior new issues or new 

claims or other new liabilities is not a change in actuarial 

assumptions within the meaning of this §2111. 

D. Adverse Opinions 

1. If the appointed actuary is unable to form an 

opinion, then he or she shall refuse to issue a statement of 

actuarial opinion. If the appointed actuary's opinion is 

adverse or qualified, then he or she shall issue an adverse or 

qualified actuarial opinion explicitly stating the reasons for 

the opinion. This statement should follow the scope 

paragraph and precede the opinion paragraph. 

E. Reliance on Information Furnished by Other Persons 

1. If the appointed actuary relies on the certification of 

others on matters concerning the accuracy or completeness 

of any data underlying the actuarial opinion, or the 

appropriateness of any other information used by the 

appointed actuary in forming the actuarial opinion, the 

actuarial opinion should so indicate the persons the actuary 

is relying upon and a precise identification of the items 

subject to reliance. In addition, the persons on whom the 

appointed actuary relies shall provide a certification that 

precisely identifies the items on which the person is 

providing information and a statement as to the accuracy, 

completeness or reasonableness, as applicable, of the items. 

This certification shall include the signature, title, company, 

address and telephone number of the person rendering the 

certification, as well as the date on which it is signed. 

F. Alternate Option 

1. The commissioner may provide an alternative filing 

option for single state domestic insurance companies that 

allows for the preparation of an alternative form of opinion. 

The commissioner shall provide specific criteria for such an 

alternative filing option and instructions for the associated 

testing and documentation. However, all multi-state 

domestic insurance companies are subject to the standard 

asset adequacy analysis requirement. 
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2. The Standard Valuation Law gives the 

commissioner broad authority to accept the valuation of a 

foreign insurer when that valuation meets the requirements 

applicable to a company domiciled in this state in the 

aggregate. As an alternative to the requirements of 

Subsection B.6.c of this Section, the commissioner may 

make one or more of the following additional approaches 

available to the opining actuary. 

a. A statement that the reserves "meet the 

requirements of the insurance laws and regulations of the 

state of [state of domicile] and the formal written standards 

and conditions of this state for filing an opinion based on the 

law of the state of domicile." If the commissioner chooses to 

allow this alternative, a formal written list of standards and 

conditions shall be made available. If a company chooses to 

use this alternative, the standards and conditions in effect on 

July 1 of a calendar year shall apply to statements for that 

calendar year, and they shall remain in effect until they are 

revised or revoked. If no list is available, this alternative is 

not available. 

b. Statement that the reserves "meet the 

requirements of the insurance laws and regulations of the 

state of [state of domicile] and I have verified that the 

company’s request to file an opinion based on the law of the 

state of domicile has been approved and that any conditions 

required by the commissioner for approval of that request 

have been met." If the commissioner chooses to allow this 

alternative, a formal written statement of such allowance 

shall be issued no later than March 31 of the year it is first 

effective. It shall remain valid until rescinded or modified by 

the commissioner. The rescission or modifications shall be 

issued no later than March 31 of the year they are first 

effective. Subsequent to that statement being issued, if a 

company chooses to use this alternative, the company shall 

file a request to do so, along with justification for its use, no 

later than April 30 of the year of the opinion to be filed. The 

request shall be deemed approved on October 1 of that year 

if the commissioner has not denied the request by that date. 

c. A statement that the reserves "meet the 

requirements of the insurance laws and regulations of the 

state of [state of domicile] and I have submitted the required 

comparison as specified by this state." 

 i. If the commissioner chooses to allow this 

alternative, a formal written list of products (to be added to 

the table in Clause ii below) for which the required 

comparison shall be provided will be published. If a 

company chooses to use this alternative, the list in effect on 

July 1 of a calendar year shall apply to statements for that 

calendar year, and it shall remain in effect until it is revised 

or revoked. If no list is available, this alternative is not 

available. 

 ii. If a company desires to use this alternative, the 

appointed actuary shall provide a comparison of the gross 

nationwide reserves held to the gross nationwide reserves 

that would be held under NAIC codification standards. 

Gross nationwide reserves are the total reserves calculated 

for the total company in force business directly sold and 

assumed, indifferent to the state in which the risk resides, 

without reduction for reinsurance ceded. The information 

provided shall be at least: 

(1) 

Product 

Type 

(2) 

Death Benefit 

or Account 

Value 

(3) 

Reserves 

Held 

(4) 

Codification 

Reserves 

(5) 

Codification 

Standard 

          

          

 iii. The information listed shall include all 

products identified by either the state of filing or any other 

states subscribing to this alternative. 

 iv. If there is no codification standard for the type 

of product or risk in force or if the codification standard does 

not directly address the type of product or risk in force, the 

appointed actuary shall provide detailed disclosure of the 

specific method and assumptions used in determining the 

reserves held. 

 v. The comparison provided by the company is to 

be kept confidential to the same extent and under the same 

conditions as the actuarial memorandum. 

3. Notwithstanding the above, the commissioner may 

reject an opinion based on the laws and regulations of the 

state of domicile and require an opinion based on the laws of 

this state. If a company is unable to provide the opinion 

within 60 days of the request or such other period of time 

determined by the commissioner after consultation with the 

company, the commissioner may contract an independent 

actuary at the company's expense to prepare and file the 

opinion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:752 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2545 (October 

2005), amended LR 37:598 (February 2011), amended LR 50:1283 

(September 2024). 

§2113. Description of Actuarial Memorandum 

Including an Asset Adequacy Analysis and 

Regulatory Asset Adequacy Issues Summary 

A. General 

1. In accordance with R.S. 22:752, the appointed 

actuary shall prepare a memorandum to the company 

describing the analysis done in support of his or her opinion 

regarding the reserves. The memorandum shall be made 

available for examination by the commissioner upon his or 

her request but shall be returned to the company after such 

examination and shall not be considered a record of the 

insurance department or subject to automatic filing with the 

commissioner. 

2. In preparing the memorandum, the appointed 

actuary may rely on, and include as a part of his or her own 

memorandum, memoranda prepared and signed by other 

actuaries who are qualified within the meaning of §2109.B 

of this regulation, with respect to the areas covered in such 

memoranda, and so state in their memoranda. 

3. If the commissioner requests a memorandum and 

no such memorandum exists or if the commissioner finds 
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that the analysis described in the memorandum fails to meet 

the standards of the actuarial standards board or the 

standards and requirements of this regulation, the 

commissioner may designate a qualified actuary to review 

the opinion and prepare such supporting memorandum as is 

required for review. The reasonable and necessary expense 

of the independent review shall be paid by the company but 

shall be directed and controlled by the commissioner. 

4. The reviewing actuary shall have the same status as 

an examiner for purposes of obtaining data from the 

company and the work papers and documentation of the 

reviewing actuary shall be retained by the commissioner; 

provided, however, that any information provided by the 

company to the reviewing actuary and included in the work 

papers shall be considered as material provided by the 

company to the commissioner and shall be kept confidential 

to the same extent as is prescribed by law with respect to 

other material provided by the company to the commissioner 

pursuant to the statute governing this regulation. The 

reviewing actuary shall not be an employee of a consulting 

firm involved with the preparation of any prior 

memorandum or opinion for the insurer pursuant to this 

regulation for any one of the current year or the preceding 

three years. 

5. In accordance with R.S. 22:752, the appointed 

actuary shall prepare a regulatory asset adequacy issues 

summary, the contents of which are specified in Subsection 

C. The regulatory asset adequacy issues summary will be 

submitted no later than March 15 of the year following the 

year for which a statement of actuarial opinion based on 

asset adequacy is required. The regulatory asset adequacy 

issues summary is to be kept confidential to the same extent 

and under the same conditions as the actuarial memorandum. 

B. Details of the Memorandum Section Documenting 

Asset Adequacy Analysis 

1. When the opinion provided under the domestic 

company alternative filing option as referred to in §2111.F.1, 

then an alternative memorandum shall be prepared in 

accordance with specific instructions of the commissioner 

and the company shall be exempt from the requirements of 

§2113, otherwise, the memorandum shall demonstrate that 

the analysis has been done in accordance with the standards 

for asset adequacy referred to in §2109.D of this regulation 

and any additional standards under this regulation. It shall 

specify: 

a. for reserves: 

 i. product descriptions including market 

description, underwriting and other aspects of a risk profile 

and the specific risks the appointed actuary deems 

significant; 

 ii. source of liability in force; 

 iii. reserve method and basis; 

 iv. investment reserves; 

 v. reinsurance arrangements; 

 vi. identification of any explicit or implied 

guarantees made by the general account in support of 

benefits provided through a separate account or under a 

separate account policy or contract and the methods used by 

the appointed actuary to provide for the guarantees in the 

asset adequacy analysis; 

 vii. documentation of assumptions to test reserves 

for the following: 

(a). lapse rates (both base and excess); 

(b). interest crediting rate strategy; 

(c). mortality; 

(d). policyholder dividend strategy; 

(e). competitor or market interest rate; 

(f). annuitization rates; 

(g). commissions and expenses; and 

(h). morbidity; 

The documentation of the assumptions shall be such that an 
actuary reviewing the actuarial memorandum could form a 

conclusion as to the reasonableness of the assumptions. 

2. for assets: 

a. portfolio descriptions, including a risk profile 

disclosing the quality, distribution and types of assets; 

b. investment and disinvestment assumptions; 

c. source of asset data; 

d. asset valuation bases; and 

e. documentation of assumptions made for: 

 i. default costs; 

 ii. bond call function; 

 iii. mortgage prepayment function; 

 iv. determining market value for assets sold due to 

disinvestment strategy; and 

 v. determining yield on assets acquired through 

the investment strategy; 

The documentation of the assumptions shall be such that an 

actuary reviewing the actuarial memorandum could form a 

conclusion as to the reasonableness of the assumptions. 

3. for the analysis basis: 

a. methodology; 

b. rationale for inclusion or exclusion of different 

blocks of business and how pertinent risks were analyzed; 

c. rationale for degree of rigor in analyzing different 

blocks of business (include in the rationale the level of 

"materiality" that was used in determining how rigorously to 

analyze different blocks of business); 

d. criteria for determining asset adequacy (include 

in the criteria the precise basis for determining if assets are 

adequate to cover reserves under "moderately adverse 

conditions" or other conditions as specified in relevant 

actuarial standards of practice); and 

e. whether the impact of federal income taxes was 

considered and the method of treating reinsurance in the 

asset adequacy analysis; 

4. summary of material changes in methods, 
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procedures, or assumptions from prior year's asset adequacy 

analysis; 

5. summary of results; and 

6. conclusions. 

C. Details of the Regulatory Asset Adequacy Issues 

Summary 

1. The regulatory asset adequacy issues summary 

shall include: 

a. descriptions of the scenarios tested (including 

whether those scenarios are stochastic or deterministic) and 

the sensitivity testing done relative to those scenarios. If 

negative ending surplus results under certain tests in the 

aggregate, the actuary should describe those tests and the 

amount of additional reserve as of the valuation date which, 

if held, would eliminate the negative aggregate surplus 

values. Ending surplus values shall be determined by either 

extending the projection period until the in force and 

associated assets and liabilities at the end of the projection 

period are immaterial or by adjusting the surplus amount at 

the end of the projection period by an amount that 

appropriately estimates the value that can reasonably be 

expected to arise from the assets and liabilities remaining in 

force; 

b. the extent to which the appointed actuary uses 

assumptions in the asset adequacy analysis that are 

materially different than the assumptions used in the 

previous asset adequacy analysis; 

c. the amount of reserves and the identity of the 

product lines that had been subjected to asset adequacy 

analysis in the prior opinion but were not subject to analysis 

for the current opinion; 

d. comments on any interim results that may be of 

significant concern to the appointed actuary; 

e. the methods used by the actuary to recognize the 

impact of reinsurance on the company's cash flows, 

including both assets and liabilities, under each of the 

scenarios tested; and 

f. whether the actuary has been satisfied that all 

options whether explicit or embedded, in any asset or 

liability (including but not limited to those affecting cash 

flows embedded in fixed income securities) and equity-like 

features in any investments have been appropriately 

considered in the asset adequacy analysis. 

2. The regulatory asset adequacy issues summary 

shall contain the name of the company for which the 

regulatory asset adequacy issues summary is being supplied 

and shall be signed and dated by the appointed actuary 

rendering the actuarial opinion. 

D. Conformity to Standards of Practice. The 

memorandum shall include a statement: 

"Actuarial methods, considerations and analyses used in the 
preparation of this memorandum conform to the appropriate 

Standards of Practice as promulgated by the Actuarial 

Standards Board, which standards form the basis for this 
memorandum." 

E. Use of Assets Supporting the Interest Maintenance 

Reserve and the Asset Valuation Reserve 

1. An appropriate allocation of assets in the amount of 

the interest maintenance reserve (IMR), whether positive or 

negative, shall be used in any asset adequacy analysis. 

Analysis of risks regarding asset default may include an 

appropriate allocation of assets supporting the asset 

valuation reserve (AVR); these AVR assets may not be 

applied for any other risks with respect to reserve adequacy. 

Analysis of these and other risks may include assets 

supporting other mandatory or voluntary reserves available 

to the extent not used for risk analysis and reserve support. 

2. The amount of the assets used for the AVR shall be 

disclosed in the table of reserves and liabilities of the 

opinion and in the memorandum. The method used for 

selecting particular assets or allocated portions of assets 

shall be disclosed in the memorandum. 

F. Documentation. The appointed actuary shall retain on 

file, for at least seven years, sufficient documentation so that 

it will be possible to determine the procedures followed, the 

analyses performed, the bases for assumptions and the 

results obtained. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:162.1 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2548 (October 

2005), amended LR 50:1284 (September 2024). 

Chapter 25. Regulation 49―Billing 

Audit Guidelines 

§2501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to provide for the 

reasonable standardization of statewide billing audit 

guidelines for health care providers and payers; and to 

provide for related matters. These rules are based, at least in 

part, on the National Health Care Billing Audit Guidelines 

and variances in order to comply with R.S. 22:12. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2503. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to health care providers 

and payers. The provider and/or payer involved in the billing 

audit shall be responsible for the conduct and results of the 

billing audit, whether conducted by an employee or by 

contract with another firm. This means that the provider and 

payer shall: 

1. exercise proper supervision of the process to ensure 

that the audit is conducted according to the spirit of the 

regulations set forth here; 

2. be aware of the actions being undertaken by the 

auditor in connection with the billing audit and its related 

activities; and 

3. take prompt remedial action if inappropriate 
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behavior by the auditor is discovered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2505. Definitions 

A. For purposes of this regulation: 

Ambulatory Surgical Center―ambulatory surgical 

center as defined in R.S. 40:2133(A). 

Billing Audit―a process to determine whether data in a 

provider's medical record documents or supports services 

listed on a provider's bill. Billing audit does not mean a 

review of medical necessity of services provided, cost or 

pricing policy of a facility, and adjustments for "usual and 

customary". 

Health Record which Shall Mean Medical Record―any 

compilation of charts, records, reports, documents, and other 

memoranda prepared by a health care provider, wherever 

located, to record or indicate the past or present condition, 

sickness, or disease, and treatment rendered, physical or 

mental, of a patient. 

Historic Error Rate―the average error found during all 

audits conducted by external qualified billing auditors during 

the preceding calendar year. It shall be calculated by totaling 

the net adjustments made to all accounts audited by external 

qualified billing auditors during that year and dividing that 

total by the total amount claimed by the audited party to be 

due on those accounts immediately preceding the audit. This 

calculation results is an average error rate for all externally 

audited cases expressed as a percentage. 

Hospital―hospital as defined in R.S. 40:2102(A). 

Patient―a natural person who receives or should have 

received health care from a health care provider, under a 

contract, expressed or implied. 

Qualified Billing Auditor―a person employed by a 

corporation or firm that is recognized as competent to 

perform or coordinate billing audits and that has explicit 

policies and procedures protecting the confidentiality of all 

the patient information in their possession and disposal of 

this information. 

Unbilled Charges―the volume of services indicated on 

a bill is less than the volume identified in a provider's health 

record documentation; also known as undercharges. 

Unsupported or Undocumented Charges―the volume 

of services indicated on a bill exceeds the total volume 

identified in a provider's health record documentation; also 

known as overcharges. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2507. Qualifications of Auditors and Audit 

Coordinators 

A. All persons performing billing audits, as well as 

persons functioning as provider audit coordinators, shall 

have appropriate knowledge, experience, and/or expertise in 

a number of areas of health care including, but not limited 

to, the following areas: 

1. format and content of the health record as well as 

other forms of medical/clinical documentation; 

2. generally accepted auditing principles and practices 

as they may apply to billing audits; 

3. billing claims forms, including the UB-82 and UB 

92, the HCFA 1500, and charging and billing procedures; 

4. all state and federal regulations concerning the use, 

disclosure, and confidentiality of all patient records; and 

5. specific critical care units, specialty areas, and/or 

ancillary units involved in a particular audit. 

B. Providers or payers who encounter audit personnel 

who do not meet these qualifications shall immediately 

contact the auditor's firm or sponsoring party, but may not 

request information unrelated to the areas listed in §2507.A. 

C. Audit personnel shall be able to work with a variety 

of health care personnel and patients. They shall always 

conduct themselves in an acceptable, professional manner 

and adhere to ethical standards, confidentiality requirements, 

and objectivity. They shall completely document their 

findings and problems. 

D. All unsupported or unbilled charges identified in the 

course of an audit must be documented in the audit report by 

the auditor. Individual audit personnel shall not be placed in 

a situation through their remuneration, benefits, contingency 

fees, or other instructions that would call their findings into 

question. In other words, compensation of audit personnel 

shall be structured so that it does not create any incentives to 

produce questionable audit findings. Providers or payers 

who encounter an individual who appears to be involved in a 

conflict of interest shall contact the appropriate management 

of the sponsoring organization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2509. Notification of Audit 

A. Payers and providers shall make every effort to 

resolve billing inquiries directly. To support this process, the 

name and contact telephone number (and/or facsimile 

number) of each payer or provider representative shall be 

exchanged no later than the time of billing for a provider and 

the point of first inquiry by a payer. 

B. If a satisfactory resolution of the questions 

surrounding the bill is not achieved by payer and provider 

representatives, then a full audit process may be initiated by 

the payer. 

C. Generally, billing audits require documentation from 

or review of a patient's health record and other similar 

medical/clinical documentation. Health records exist 

primarily to ensure continuity of care for a patient; therefore, 

the use of a patient's record for an audit must be secondary 

to its use in patient care. 
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D. To alleviate the potential conflict with clinical uses of 

the health record and to reduce the cost of conducting a 

necessary audit, all payer billing audits shall begin with a 

notification to the provider of an intent to audit. Notification 

of the provider by the qualified billing auditor shall occur no 

later than four months following receipt of the final bill by 

the payer. Once notified, the provider shall respond to the 

qualified billing auditor within one month with a schedule 

for the conduct of the audit. The qualified billing auditor 

shall complete the audit within six months of receipt of the 

final bill by the payer. When there is a substantial and 

continuing relationship between a payer and a provider, this 

relationship may warrant a notification, response, and audit 

schedule other than that outlined herein. Also, each party 

shall make reasonable provisions to accommodate 

circumstances in which the schedule specified herein cannot 

be met by the other party. 

E. All billing audits shall be conducted "on site." 

F. All requests, whether telephonically or written, for 

billing audits shall include the following information: 

1. the basis of the payer's intent to conduct an audit on 

a particular bill or group of bills (when the intent is to audit 

only specific charges or portions of the bill(s), this 

information should be included in the notification request); 

2. name of the patient; 

3. admit and discharge dates; 

4. name of the auditor and the name of the audit firm; 

5. medical record number and provider's patient 

account number; and 

6. whom to contact at the payer institution and, if 

applicable, at the agent institution to discuss this request and 

schedule the audit. 

G. Providers who cannot accommodate an audit request 

that conforms with these guidelines shall explain why the 

request cannot be met by the provider in a reasonable period 

of time. Auditors shall group audits to increase efficiency 

whenever possible. 

1. If a provider believes an auditor will have problems 

accessing records, the provider shall notify the auditor prior 

to the scheduled date of audit. Providers shall supply the 

auditor/payer with any information that could affect the 

efficiency of the audit once the auditor is on site. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2511. Provider Audit Coordinators 

A. Providers shall designate an individual to coordinate 

all billing audit activities. An audit coordinator shall have 

the same qualifications as an auditor (see §2507, 

Qualifications of Auditors and Audit Coordinators). Duties 

of an audit coordinator include, but are not limited to, the 

coordination of the following areas: 

1. scheduling an audit; 

2. advising other provider personnel/departments of a 

pending audit; 

3. ensure that the condition of admission is part of the 

medical record; 

4. verifying that the auditor is an authorized 

representative of the payer; 

5. gathering the necessary documents for the audit; 

6. coordinating auditor requests for information, space 

in which to conduct an audit, and access to records and 

provider personnel; 

7. orienting auditors to hospital audit procedures, 

record documentation conventions, and billing practices; 

8. acting as a liaison between the auditor and other 

hospital personnel; 

9. conducting an exit interview with the auditor to 

answer questions and review audit findings; 

10. reviewing the auditor's final written report and 

following up on any charges still in dispute; 

11. arranging for payment as applicable; and 

12. arranging for any required adjustment to bills or 

refunds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2513. Conditions and Scheduling of Audits 

A. In order to have a fair, efficient, and effective audit 

process, providers and payer auditors shall adhere to the 

following requirements: 

1. whatever the original intended purpose of the 

billing audit, all parties shall agree to recognize, record, or 

present any identified unsupported or unbilled charges 

discovered by the audit parties; 

2. late billing shall not be precluded by the scheduling 

of an audit; 

3. the parties involved in the audit shall mutually 

agree to set and adhere to a predetermined time frame for the 

resolution of any discrepancies, questions, or errors that 

surface in the audit; 

4. an exit conference and a written report shall be part 

of each audit. If the provider waives the exit conference, the 

auditor shall note that action in the written report. The 

specific content of the final report shall be restricted to those 

parties involved in the audit; 

5. if the provider decides to contest the findings, the 

auditor shall be informed immediately; 

6. once both parties agree to the audit findings, audit 

results are final; 

7. all personnel involved shall maintain a professional 

courteous manner and resolve all misunderstandings 

amicably; and 

8. at times, the audit will note ongoing problems 
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either with the billing or documentation process. When this 

situation occurs, and it cannot be corrected as part of the exit 

process, the management of the provider or payer 

organization shall be contacted to identify the situation and 

take appropriate steps to resolve the identified problem. 

Parties to an audit shall eliminate ongoing problems or 

questions whenever possible as part of the audit process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2515. Confidentiality and Authorizations 

A. All parties to a billing audit shall comply with all 

federal and state laws and any contractual agreements 

regarding the confidentiality of patient information. 

B. The release of medical records requires authorization 

from the patient. Such authorization shall be provided for in 

the condition of admission, or equivalent statement, 

procured by the hospital or ambulatory surgical center upon 

admission of the patient. If no such statement is obtained, an 

authorization for a billing audit shall be required. 

Authorization need not be specific to the insurer or auditor 

conducting the audit. 

C. Such authorization shall be obtained by the billing 

audit firm or payer and shall include: 

1. the name of the payer, and if applicable, the name 

of the audit firm that is to receive the information; 

2. the name of the institution that is to release the 

information; 

3. the full name, birth date, and address of the patient 

whose records are to be released; 

4. the extent or nature of the information to be 

released, with inclusive dates of treatment; and 

5. the provider's patient account number; and 

6. the signature of the patient or his legal 

representative and the date the consent is signed. 

D. A patient's assignment of benefits shall include a 

presumption of authorization to review records. 

E. The audit coordinator or medical records 

representative shall confirm for the audit representative that 

a condition of admission statement is available for the 

particular audit that needs scheduling. 

F. The provider will inform the requestor, on a timely 

basis, if there are any federal or state laws prohibiting or 

restricting review of the medical record and if there are 

institutional confidentiality policies and procedure affecting 

the review. These institutional confidentiality policies shall 

not be specifically oriented in order to delay an external 

audit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2517. Documentation 

A. Verification of charges will include the investigation 

of whether or not: 

1. charges are reported on the bill accurately; 

2. services are documented in health or other 

appropriate records as having been rendered to the patient; 

and 

3. services were delivered by the institution in 

compliance with the physician's plan of treatment. (In 

appropriate situations, professional staff may provide 

supplies or follow procedures that are in accordance with 

established institutional policies, procedures, or professional 

licensure standards. Many procedures include items that are 

not specifically documented in a record but are referenced in 

medical or clinical policies. All such policies should be 

reviewed, approved, and documented as required by the 

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care 

Organizations or other accreditation of health care 

organizations or other accreditation agencies. Policies should 

be available for review by the auditor.) 

B. The health record documents clinical data on 

diagnoses, treatments, and outcomes. It was not designed to 

be a billing document. A patient health record generally 

documents pertinent information related to care. The health 

record may not back up each individual charge on the patient 

bill. Other signed documentation for services provided to the 

patient may exist within the provider's ancillary departments 

in the form of department treatment logs, daily records, 

individual service/order tickets, and other documents. 

C. Auditors may have to review a number of other 

documents to determine valid charges. Auditors must 

recognize that these sources of information are accepted as 

reasonable evidence that the services ordered by the 

physician were actually provided to the patient. Providers 

must ensure that proper policies and procedures exist to 

specify what documentation and authorization must be in the 

health record and in the ancillary records and/or logs. These 

procedures document that services have been properly 

ordered for and delivered to patients. When sources other 

than the health record are providing such documentation, the 

provider shall notify the auditor and make those sources 

available to the auditor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

§2519. Fees and Payments 

A. Payment of a bill shall be made promptly and shall 

not be delayed by an audit process. Payment on a submitted 

bill from a third party payer shall be based on amounts billed 

and covered by the patient's benefit plan. 

B. Billing audits shall be made in accordance with one of 

the following three audit fee and payment schedules: 

1. a $100 audit fee shall be paid by the auditor to the 

audited party. Such audited party shall not require payment 

greater than 100 percent of the audited party's submitted bill 

minus such party's historic error rate; 
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2. in those instances where the audited party has had 

less than 12 audits in a calendar year, the error rate shall be 

set by mutual agreement between the audited party and the 

qualified billing auditor; and when the parties cannot agree, 

then the historic error rate shall be presumed to be 7 percent; 

and 

3. the $100 fee shall be waived in the following 

scenarios: 

a. payment of 100 percent of the covered benefit 

plan has been made; or 

b. the on site audit commencement date exceeds 60 

days from the date of the request for audit; or 

c. audit fees are not required or are otherwise being 

waived. 

C. Each provider's billing audit coordinator shall 

maintain a log containing the results of all audits performed 

by external qualified billing auditors in the preceding 24 

months. In cases where the log is not complete for the past 

24 months, the error rate shall be set by mutual agreement 

between the audited party and the qualified billing auditor; 

and when the parties cannot agree, then the historic error rate 

shall be presumed to be seven percent. 

D. The audit log shall contain the amount billed 

immediately preceding the audit, and net adjustment 

resulting from the audit, the name, address, and phone 

number of the audit firm conducting the audit, and the name 

of the qualified billing auditor who performed the audit. 

Audits whose results are in dispute and audits ordered by the 

provider and conducted by its own or contracted audit 

organization shall not be included in the audit log. The audit 

log shall be available at all times during regular business 

hours for inspection by any qualified billing auditor. 

E. Audit fees, if needed, are to be paid upon 

commencement of the on site billing audit. Any payment 

identified in the audit results that is owed to either party by 

the other shall be settled by the audit parties within a 

reasonable period of time-not to exceed 30 days after 

completion of the audit unless the two parties agree 

otherwise. 

F. Neither the provider nor the qualified billing auditor 

shall require a billing, or re-billing, or refund request 

following final audit determination, but all findings shall be 

netted, and the final result will be due by the relevant party 

without additional billing. 

G. Photocopying and duplication charges shall be paid in 

accordance with R.S. 40:1299.96. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

664 of the 1993 Regular Legislative Session and R.S. 22:12. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:311 (March 1994). 

Chapter 31. Regulation 53―Basic 

Health Insurance Plan Pilot Program 

§3101. Purposes 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to provide for the 

implementation of the Louisiana Basic Health Insurance 

Plan Pilot Program (LA Health); and to provide for related 

matters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3103. Applicability and Scope 

A. These regulations shall apply to all insurance carriers, 

health maintenance organizations, employers, health care 

providers and individuals that apply to cover or to be 

covered by the Louisiana Basic Health Insurance Pilot 

Program (LA Health). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3105. Definitions 

A. For purposes of this regulation: 

Accidental Injury―bodily injury sustained as the result 

of an unforeseen event and which is the direct reason for 

receiving care and treatment (independent of disease, bodily 

infirmity or any other cause). Such care shall occur while 

coverage under the pilot is in force. It does not include 

injuries for which benefits are provided under any workers' 

compensation, employers' liability, or for which another 

party is liable under automobile, property and casualty, and 

other coverage. 

Admission―begins the first day an insured becomes a 

registered hospital inpatient and continues until insured is 

discharged from the facility. 

Adult―an individual who is greater than 24 but less 

than 65 years of age. 

Applicant―an individual who applies for coverage 

under the LA Health Plan. 

Authorized Carrier―the health insurance carrier or 

health maintenance organization licensed and in compliance 

with the Louisiana Insurance Code certified by the 

department to offer the LA Health Plan. 

Benefit Payment―the amount the authorized carrier will 

pay for covered services. See §§3127-3133 of this 

regulation. 

Benefit Period―one year, also referred to as year or 

calendar year. The benefit period does not begin before the 

insured's effective date. The benefit period does not continue 

after the insured's coverage ends. 

Clinic―a facility for the diagnosis, care and treatment 

of outpatients.  

Commissioner―the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance.  



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 232 

Co-Payment―the cost-sharing fee charged to an insured 

under LA Health as specified in the contract between the 

authorized carrier for LA Health and the insured.  

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Dependent― 

a. the spouse and all unmarried children under the 

age of 24; 

b. children include natural children, legally adopted 

children and step-children. Also included are children (or 

children of a spouse) for whom an insured has legal 

responsibility resulting from a valid court decree. Foster 

children that an insured expects to raise to adulthood and 

that live with an insured in a regular parent-child 

relationship are considered children; 

c. students who are unmarried children who have 

not yet attained the age of 24 and who are enrolled as 

fulltime students and who are dependent upon the primary 

insured; 

d. mentally retarded or physically handicapped 

children remain covered to age 21 at which time they are 

eligible for their own individual coverage; 

e. a child's coverage ends when any of the 

following occurs: 

 i. marriage or attaining age 21 (whichever comes 

first); 

 ii. termination of an insured's coverage under the 

LA Health Plan; or 

 iii. if a child over age 21 no longer qualifies as a 

full-time student. 

Effective Date―the date an applicant becomes eligible 

for coverage under an authorized carrier for the LA Health 

Plan. 

Hospital―an institution, licensed by the state, which: 

a. provides inpatient services and is compensated 

by or on behalf of its patients; 

b. primarily provides medical and surgical facilities 

to diagnose, treat and care for the injured or sick; 

c. has a staff of physicians licensed to practice 

medicine by the Louisiana State Board of Medical 

Examiners; 

d. provides nursing care by registered nurses or:  

NOTE: The term hospital does not mean: 
1. an extended care facility, nursing home, community based 

care, or group home; 
2. a place of rest; 

3. a facility for the aged; 

4. a custodial institution whose primary purpose is to furnish 
food, shelter, training, or unskilled or nonmedical services; or  

5. an institution for exceptional or handicapped children. 

licensed practical nurses on duty 24-hours-a-day. 

Insurance Producer or Producer― an individual who is 

licensed by the commissioner as an insurance producer 

pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 22:1541-1566. 

Insured―an individual domiciled in this state who is 

eligible to receive benefits from an authorized carrier under 

the LA Health Plan.  

LA Health―the Louisiana Basic Health Insurance Plan 

Pilot Program. 

Louisiana Insurance Code―Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Mental and Nervous Disorders―includes (whether 

organic or nonorganic, whether of biological, nonbiological, 

genetic, chemical, or nonchemical origin, and irrespective of 

cause, basis or inducement) mental disorders, mental 

illnesses, psychiatric illnesses, mental conditions and 

psychiatric conditions. This includes, but is not limited to, 

psychoses, neurotic disorders, schizophrenic disorders, 

affective disorders, personality disorders and psychological 

or behavioral abnormalities associated with transient or 

permanent dysfunction of the brain or related neurohormonal 

systems. This is intended to include disorders, conditions, 

and illnesses listed in Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders (DSM-IIIR).  

Minor Dependent―a dependent under the age of 24.  

Non-Smoker―an individual who has not smoked 

cigarettes, cigars, pipes or other substances within the past 

year. 

Participating Hospital―a hospital located in Louisiana 

which has concluded a written agreement with, and in form 

approved by, an authorized carrier under the LA Health Plan.  

Participating Provider―a licensed health care provider 

who has concluded an agreement with, and in form approved 

by, an authorized carrier under the LA Health Plan to serve 

those insured by LA Health.  

Pilot Plan―a plan that provides an insured with health 

insurance under the LA Health program and is governed by 

R.S. 22:2241-2247 and authorized by the commissioner.  

Pilot Program―the program of health insurance which 

is authorized by R.S. 22:2241-2247.  

Provider―includes any discipline licensed by the state 

of Louisiana to provide and be directly reimbursed for 

services covered by the LA Health Plan including, but not 

limited to, the following:  

a. doctor of medicine (M.D.) legally entitled to 

practice medicine and perform surgery by the Louisiana 

State Board of Medical Examiners;  

b. doctor of chiropractic (D.C.) legally entitled to 

practice chiropractic services;  

c. doctor of podiatric medicine (D.P.M.) legally 

entitled to practice podiatry;  

d. all providers shall be licensed by the state of 

Louisiana.  

Semiprivate Room―a hospital room which has 2, 3, or 

4 beds.  
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Service Area―that part of the state of Louisiana in 

which the authorized carrier is applying to offer or is 

offering the pilot plan.  

Skilled Nursing Care―care required, while recovering 

from an illness or injury, which is received in a skilled 

nursing facility. This care requires a level of care or services 

less than that in a hospital, but more than could be given in 

the patient's home or in a nursing home not certified as a 

skilled nursing facility.  

Smoker―an individual who has smoked cigarettes, 

cigars, pipes or other substances within the past year or who 

is currently smoking cigarettes, cigars, pipes or other 

substances. 

Utilization Review―a function performed by an 

authorized carrier under the LA Health Plan or an entity 

selected by the carrier to review and approve whether the 

services provided, or to be provided, are medically necessary 

including, but not limited to, whether acute hospitalization, 

length of stay, outpatient care, or diagnostic services are 

appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:490 (March 2023). 

§3107. Pilot Plan in General 

A. An authorized carrier under the LA Health Plan shall 

deliver coverage for the plan through a fully insured 

individual health insurance policy or health maintenance 

organization membership plan. Each authorized carrier shall 

design the plan to minimize the cost of delivery and 

administration of the plan and medical services for covered 

benefits. 

B. An authorized carrier may provide coverage to 

individuals or their dependents or both. However, an 

authorized carrier may offer coverage for all adults or all 

children, or the individual's entire family. 

C. An authorized carrier may accept partial payment for 

individuals enrolled under the LA Health Plan from such 

individual's employers; however, such payment shall not be 

considered to be part of that employer's group health 

insurance if the employer offers other health insurance. 

Furthermore, such payment by an employer shall not change 

the status of the coverage. It remains an individual policy. 

D. Employers who agree to make partial payment for 

individuals enrolled under the LA Health Plan may be 

authorized by the enrolled employee to deduct insurance 

premiums for the plan. Such a payroll deduction shall not be 

construed to alter the plan's status as an individual insurance 

policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3109. Pilot Plan Authorized Carrier 

A. An authorized carrier shall be responsible for the 

operation of the LA Health Plan for which it has been 

certified to operate. 

B. An authorized carrier shall be authorized to 

participate in the LA Health Plan by entering into a pilot 

plan agreement with the commissioner. The agreement shall 

incorporate the application procedure for health and accident 

insurance policy forms and shall not be authorized until such 

policy forms have been approved. Such approval shall 

include any revisions to the application which are agreed 

upon by the commissioner and the authorized carrier. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq.. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3111. Application Process 

A. An applicant to become an authorized carrier shall 

apply for authorization to operate a LA Health Plan by 

submitting an application to the commissioner. The applicant 

shall provide at least the following information: 

1. the name of the carrier and a description of its role 

in funding, insuring, and operating the pilot plan; 

2. a full description of how the pilot plan will operate, 

including plan benefits, coverage limitations, premiums, 

provider networks, managed care provisions, and 

administrative procedures of the plan; 

3. a listing of participating providers by service 

category and geographic service area; 

4. a draft of all materials describing the LA Health 

Plan that are intended for distribution to insured members; 

5. a description of the financial and organizational 

resources supporting the pilot plan. 

B. Applications submitted to the commissioner's office 

will, furthermore, be judged on their ability to attain the 

intent of the LA Health Plan according to the following 

criteria: 

1. their ability to guarantee issue of the LA Health 

Plan to the eligible population; 

2. their ability to provide the LA Health Plan as a 

community rated product; 

3. their ability to provide the LA Health Plan at 

premium amounts which are significantly lower than 

premium amounts for standard market policies of health and 

accident insurance; 

4. their ability to implement cost containment 

features; 

5. the degree to which their plan of benefits under the 

LA Health Plan emphasizes primary health care services 

designed to prevent the need for more expensive health care 

services; and 

6. variance beneficial to the eligible LA Health 
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population from the minimum standards established for the 

LA Health Plan's benefits outlined in §§3127-3133 of this 

regulation. 

C. Applications may be submitted to the commissioner's 

office on or after the effective date of this regulation. 

Applications received before the effective date shall be 

subject to any revisions required by changes in this 

regulation. Applications received in the commissioner's 

office after 90 days of the effective date of this regulation 

will not be considered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3113. Authorization of Pilot Plan 

A. The commissioner shall have sole discretion 

regarding the authorization of carriers under the LA Health 

Plan. Applications will be evaluated by the commissioner in 

order of their receipt. The commissioner shall have sole 

discretion in determining if an application is complete. 

Within 30 days of receiving a complete application, but in 

no event prior to the effective date of this regulation, the 

commissioner shall provide a written notice of findings to 

the applying carrier. That notice shall: 

1. specify approval or rejection of the application and 

the grounds for that decision; or 

2. specify additional information which is needed to 

clarify the application and a deadline for submitting that 

information. Within 30 days of receiving timely additional 

information, the commissioner shall provide a written notice 

of findings as described in §3113.A.1. If the additional 

information is not provided by the deadline, the application 

shall be rejected. 

B. In evaluating and authorizing carriers under the LA 

Health Plan, the commissioner may consider, but not be 

limited to, the following criteria: 

1. the extent to which the plan helps the pilot program 

achieve a diversity of participants and plan designs; 

2. the potential of the plan to fulfill the objectives of 

the pilot; 

3. the financial and organizational resources of the 

carrier; 

4. the ability of the plan to meet the evaluation criteria 

described in §3117 of this regulation; 

5. the resources available within the department to 

regulate the pilot program. 

C. The LA Health Plan shall not be issued or delivered to 

an applicant for the plan until a copy of the form is filed and 

approved by the commissioner. The commissioner shall 

review these forms in accordance with the Louisiana 

Insurance Code. 

D. Each authorized carrier in the pilot plan shall file with 

the commissioner the rates, rating plans, and rating systems 

that will be applicable to the LA Health Plan. 

E. The commissioner, in accordance with the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, may make, or cause to be made, an 

examination of the books and records of the authorized 

carrier of the LA Health Plan as the commissioner deems 

necessary to ensure compliance with these regulations and 

the pilot plan agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:492 (March 2023). 

§3115. Revocation of an Authorized Carrier's Authority 

A. The commissioner may revoke the authority of an 

authorized carrier at any time if, in the judgement of the 

commissioner, one or more of the following, or similar, 

conditions exist: 

1. the authorized carrier's plan does not comply with 

R.S. 22:2241-2247 or the Louisiana Insurance Code;  

2. an authorized carrier becomes subject to suspension 

or revocation of its certificate or authority under the 

Louisiana Insurance Code; 

3. the authorized carrier's plan is deficient regarding 

timeliness, accuracy, customer service, or other 

administrative practices; 

4. the authorized carrier's plan does not meet the 

evaluation requirements or reporting requirements described 

in §3117 of this regulation; 

5. a breach of the plan of the authorized carrier 

agreement occurs; 

6. the successful operation of the plan of the 

authorized carrier is jeopardized by a weakness in the 

financial or operational status of the authorized carrier. 

B. The commissioner shall provide written notice to the 

authorized carrier in advance of any revocation. 

C. In providing notice, the commissioner shall specify 

the concerns at issue and shall request a written statement 

for the authorized carrier, to be provided within 15 days of 

the date of notice, describing how they propose to remedy 

the concerns. 

D. Upon completion of review of the proposed remedy, 

the commissioner shall provide a written response which: 

1. approves the remedy; or 

2. requests additional information; or 

3. provides notice of the proposed revocation of the 

carrier's authority to participate in the pilot plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:492 (March 2023). 

§3117. Evaluation and Reporting Requirements 

A. Each plan shall be evaluated by the commissioner on 
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its ability to enhance the delivery and improve the cost 

effectiveness of medical services for the insured. This 

evaluation shall compare the results of the plan's coverage. 

The criteria and methodology for this evaluation shall be 

determined by the commissioner, with prior advice of the 

authorized carrier. An authorized carrier shall agree to 

participate in the evaluation process as a condition of 

operating under the LA Health Plan. 

B. An authorized carrier shall provide the following 

reports to the commissioner: 

1. a written overview of plan results for each six 

months of plan operations. The report shall outline the 

operating results of the plan, including significant issues 

which arose and the responding actions taken by the plan 

and shall specify the number of insured and a demographic 

breakdown of those enrolled, the premiums collected, and 

utilization reports. The report shall be compiled after each 

six-month period of plan operation and shall be mailed to the 

commissioner by the twentieth day of the subsequent month; 

2. all reports required in accordance with §3117.A. 

C. Nothing in this rule shall be construed to limit the 

commissioner's authority to require information from an 

authorized carrier as necessary to monitor the carrier's 

compliance with the requirements of the LA Health Plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3119. Premium Taxes 

A. Premium taxes required under R.S. 22:842 shall be 

imposed on an authorized carrier. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:492 (March 2023). 

§3121. Guaranty Association 

A. All applicable assessments for the Louisiana Life and 

Health Insurance Guaranty Association shall be imposed on 

an authorized carrier in accordance with R.S. 22:2081-2099. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:492 (March 2023). 

§3123. Health Insurance Producers 

A. For purposes of serving a LA Health Plan policy or 

soliciting prospective insureds for such a policy, insurance 

producers licensed for the line of accident and health or 

sickness shall be deemed to be servicing and soliciting 

within the scope of their license, pursuant to R.S. 22:1541-

1547 and 22:255 of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:492 (March 2023). 

§3125. Eligibility 

A. Eligibility for coverage and the effective date for an 

insured shall be determined by the authorized carrier after an 

applicant has returned the application for coverage to the 

authorized carrier and has been approved by said carrier. 

Eligibility for the LA Health Plan is limited to Louisiana 

residents with income levels below 250 percent of the 

federal poverty level. Individuals with major medical 

accident and health insurance coverage, individuals who are 

eligible for coverage under the Medicaid or Medicare 

programs, and those who have voluntarily canceled their 

accident and health insurance coverage during the last six 

months are not eligible under the LA Health Plan. The only 

exception to this requirement is for those individual eligible 

who are without coverage because their coverage furnished 

in accordance with R.S. 22:1046, group health continuation 

coverage, has expired; or for those individual eligibles with 

significantly reduced coverage through benefit riders or 

limitations. 

B. Eligible adults may choose to purchase coverage only 

for themselves or all their children, or the entire family. 

C. Unmarried eligible dependent children are eligible for 

coverage to age 21. Those children who are full-time 

students (after high school) in an institution of higher 

learning may remain covered to age 24. Such children shall 

be dependents under federal income tax laws. 

D. A newborn child or an adopted child is covered, 

subject to §3125.E, from the moment of birth or date of 

assumption of legal responsibility to age 21, unless married 

before age 21, in the case of a family enrolled. The child's 

coverage is no different than that of the primary insured 

adult. An additional premium payment is required. 

E. A newborn child or an adopted child of an enrolled 

individual is automatically covered for 31 days only in the 

case of an individual enrolled. In order for a newborn child 

or an adopted child to receive coverage past the thirty-first 

day, the enrolled individual shall complete an application 

form and pay the necessary premium for plan coverage. 

F. If an eligible individual does not apply for coverage 

under the plan for himself or any eligible dependent, then 

application may be made later. If such individual is approved 

for coverage, the effective date of coverage will be the next 

month following approval of the application and payment of 

the necessary coverage. 

G. Insureds may reduce the number of individuals 

covered at any time by submitting a change of coverage 

form. Such changes become effective on the due date of the 

LA Health Plan contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:492 (March 2023). 

§3127. Benefits 

A. The LA Health Plan is a basic health insurance plan 

providing primary and preventive health care services. 

Health care services are to be furnished by participating 

hospitals, clinics, and health care providers who have agreed 

to provide services under the LA Health Plan. An authorized 

carrier shall supply insured individuals under the LA Health 

Plan with a list of participating providers. 

B. No requirement of the Louisiana Insurance Code 

relating to minimum required policy benefits, other than the 

minimum standards contained in this regulation or in R.S. 

22:2241-2247, shall apply to the LA Health Plan, its 

insureds, or the authorized carrier. 

C. The benefits provided by the LA Health Plan are 

payable for services provided by a participating provider 

only. LA Health Plan insureds shall receive care from a 

participating provider. No coverage is provided with any 

other providers. Insureds shall pay in full for care they 

receive if the provider they utilize is not a participating 

provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§3129. Hospital Services 

A. The LA Health Plan provides for the following 

minimum or their actuarial equivalent inpatient hospital 

services: 

1. 15 days of hospital inpatient care (hospital/medical) 

per calendar year. A $50 per day co-payment is required; 

2. surgical procedures and related expenses are 

covered up to a maximum of $5,000 per insured per calendar 

year. A $50 per surgical procedure co-payment is required; 

3. the LA Health Plan will pay for covered expenses 

incurred for services in a participating hospital for the 

following services based on the limitations above; 

a. daily room, board, and general nursing care at the 

semiprivate rate charged by the participating hospital; 

b. confinement in an intensive care or coronary care 

unit with such payment being in lieu of expenses covered 

under §3129.A.3.a; 

c. services and supplies furnished by the 

participating hospital which are necessary for inpatient 

medical care and treatment, including diagnostic x-ray and 

lab services; 

4. maternity care; 

5. newborn nursery care from the moment of birth; 

6. medical care and treatment by a participating 

provider while confined as an inpatient in a hospital; 

7. radiological services by a licensed radiologist while 

confined as an inpatient in a hospital; 

8. radiation therapy. 

B. The LA Health Plan provides for the following 

minimum or their actuarial equivalent outpatient hospital 

services: 

1. the LA Health Plan shall pay covered expenses 

incurred for outpatient diagnostic services for pre-admission 

tests, diagnostic X-ray and laboratory services at a 

participating facility. The outpatient benefit is limited to 

$1,000 per insured per calendar year; 

2. payment of outpatient hospital services is 

prohibited on the date of admission or during an admitted 

stay in a hospital as an inpatient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3131. Emergency Room Benefits 

A. The LA Health Plan provides for the following 

emergency room benefits: 

1. outpatient health care received in the emergency 

room of a participating hospital is covered, limited to a 

maximum of $1,500 per insured per calendar year. This 

benefit is subject to an $85 co-payment per visit; 

2. the co-payment of $85 per visit shall be waived if 

such a visit is followed by an admission to the participating 

hospital for the care of the illness or injury for which the 

person was treated in the emergency room. 

B. An insured receiving emergency room care resulting 

from an illness or injury outside the service area of the 

authorized carrier shall have benefits of 50 percent of those 

for services received at a participating hospital. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3133. Provider Services 

A. The LA Health Plan provides for the following 

minimum, or their actuarial equivalent, primary health care 

provider services. 

1. The LA Health Plan will provide for health care 

provider services, with such care including the general 

treatment of illness and diagnostic studies used to diagnose 

the cause of an illness. 

2. All care received by a LA Health insured shall be 

related to the cause or symptom of the insured's illness or 

injury. Payment will not be made for care and treatment 

which is not deemed medically necessary. 

3. Participating provider office visits are subject to a 

$10 per visit co-payment. Covered services in the 

participating provider's office include: 
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a. laboratory and x-ray services; 

b. immunizations for children under age 19; 

c. prenatal care visits. Only one co-payment for all 

visits shall be charged if the participating provider bills in 

one lump sum; 

d. an annual physical exam. 

4. Fees for X-ray and laboratory tests made on an 

outpatient basis for diagnosis or treatment of an illness are 

covered when ordered by a participating provider. This 

benefit has a $1,000 calendar year maximum and is subject 

to the insured paying either $5 co-payment or a maximum of 

10 percent of the charge up to a maximum of $1,100 per 

calendar year. The authorized carrier shall specify which 

option is to be taken in applying to participate in the LA 

Health Plan. 

5. Surgical and related expenses are covered under the 

LA Health Plan up to a maximum of $5,000 per insured per 

calendar year. A $50 per surgical procedure co-payment is 

required. 

6. Maternity care is a covered service subject to the 

following co-payment requirements: 

a. normal vaginal delivery―$50 co-payment; 

b. Cesarean delivery―$100 co-payment; 

c. if hospitalization follows delivery, the $50 per 

day inpatient co-payment shall apply. 

B. Outpatient mental health care services provided by a 

provider licensed to diagnose and treat mental and nervous 

disorders are covered when provided by a participating 

provider up to a maximum of $1,000 per calendar year with 

a $10 per visit co-payment. 

C. Benefits for the following services are paid subject to 

the benefits listed in the regulation: 

1. use of a participating hospital operating and 

treatment rooms and equipment; 

2. diagnostic X-rays, laboratory procedures and 

medical diagnostic procedures used to determine the cause 

of an illness when performed within 14 days prior to 

participating hospital admission. 

D. Benefits shall be provided for mammograms. A $5 per 

screening co-payment is required when performed by a 

participating provider and performed with the following 

frequency: 

1. once as a base line mammogram for any female 

between 35 and 40 years of age; 

2. once every two years for any female between 40 

and 50 years of age; 

3. once every year for any female age 50 or above; 

and  

4. when recommended by a participating provider for 

a female at risk. Female at risk means a female: 

a. who has a personal history of breast cancer; 

b. who has a personal history of biopsy proven 

benign breast disease; 

c. whose grandmother, mother, sister, or daughter 

has had breast cancer; or 

d. who has not given birth prior to age 30. 

E. Benefits are provided for one pap smear examination 

per year when performed upon recommendation of a 

participating provider. A $5 per examination co-payment is 

required. 

F. Benefits are provided for annual prostate antigen tests 

for covered males who are 45 years of age or older; or 

covered males who are 40 years of age or older, if ordered 

by a participating provider. A $5 per test co-payment is 

required. 

G. Benefits are provided for colon cancer screening 

when ordered by a participating provider. A $5 per screening 

co-payment is required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3135. Limitations 

A. Pre-Existing Conditions 

1. Until coverage for an insured enrolled in the LA 

Health Plan has been in force for 12 consecutive months, 

benefits for services to be paid to an authorized carrier shall 

not be available for any illness, injury, or other condition for 

which: 

a. the existence of symptoms which would cause an 

ordinarily prudent person to seek diagnosis, care, or 

treatment, or a condition for which medical advice or 

treatment was recommended by or received from a provider 

of health care services within six months preceding the 

effective date of coverage of an individual insured. 

2. Maternity benefits are available to an insured only 

if the date of conception occurred after the effective date of 

coverage under the LA Health Plan. 

3. No coverage is available to inpatient hospital 

admissions which begin before an insured's effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3137. Exclusions 

A. There is no benefit provided for the following: 

1. any treatment or care not received from a 

participating hospital or participating provider; 

2. private duty nursing; 

3. prescription drugs (outpatient) or over-the-counter 
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medicines. However, outpatient prescriptions may be 

covered by an additional rider to the LA Health Plan; 

4. inpatient treatment or counseling for mental and 

nervous disorders; 

5. care for any condition or injury recognized as a 

compensable loss through any workers' compensation, 

occupational disease, or similar law; 

6. any disease or injury resulting from a war, declared 

or not, or resulting from any military duty; 

7. any item, service, supply, or care not specifically 

listed as a benefit under the LA Health Plan; 

8. care given by a medical department or clinic run by 

an insured's employer; 

9. hospitalization and related services or care rendered 

if primarily for diagnostic studies; 

10. care of corns, bunions (except capsular or related 

surgery), callouses, nails of the feet (except surgical 

removal), flat feet, fallen arches, weak feet, chronic foot 

strain or symptomatic complaints related to the feet; 

11. admission or continued hospital stay for care not 

medically required on an inpatient basis; 

12. skilled nursing care; 

13. eyeglasses, contact lenses, hearing aids, hearing 

devices, or cochlear implants, and related examinations and 

services; 

14. charges for convenience items during a hospital 

admission; 

15. custodial care, rest cures, or travel expenses, even if 

recommended for health reasons by a physician; 

16. care, supplies, or equipment not medically 

necessary for the treatment of injury or illness; 

17. cosmetic or reconstructive surgery except to restore 

function of any body area which has been altered by disease, 

trauma, congenital/developmental anomalies, or previous 

therapeutic processes; 

18. care prescribed and supervised by other than a 

participating provider; 

19. dental care and treatment by a dentists or a health 

care provider, including dental surgery, dental appliances, 

dental prostheses such as crowns, bridges, or dentures; 

implants, orthodontic care, operative restoration of teeth 

(fillings); dental extractions (except impacted teeth); 

endontic care; apicoectomies, treatment of dental caries, 

gingivitis, or periodontal surgery, vestibuloplasties, 

alveoloplasties, dental procedures involving teeth and their 

bone or tissue supporting structures; frenulectomy; 

temporomandibular joint syndrome (TMJ), including related 

appliances; or other dental procedures. Except for the 

following treatments which shall be reimbursable at the 

levels specified in §3133 of this regulation: 

a. to correct traumatic injuries which occur while 

the insured is covered under the LA Health Plan; or 

b. to correct congenital defects of a child born under 

and who remains covered under the LA Health Plan; or 

c. for the extraction of impacted teeth after the 

required waiting period has been met; 

20. surgical or medical care for obesity, weight 

reduction, or dietary control; 

21. surgical or medical treatment to modify the sex of 

an individual or services related to the treatment for 

impotence or other sexual dysfunctions or inadequacies; 

22. professional ambulance service; 

23. hair transplants, hair pieces, wigs, wig 

maintenance, or prescriptions or medications related to hair 

growth; 

24. advice or consultation given by any form of 

telecommunication; 

25. services and supplies which are experimental or 

investigational in nature; 

26. charges for failure to keep a scheduled visit or 

charges for completion of claim forms; charges for physician 

or hospital standby services; charges for holiday or overtime 

rates; 

27. outpatient speech, occupational, cardiac 

rehabilitation, or physical therapy; 

28. outpatient use of durable medical equipment; 

29. radial keratotomy; and surgery, services, or supplies 

for the surgical correction of nearsightedness and/or 

astigmatism; 

30. services related to or performed in conjunction with 

artificial insemination, in vitro fertilization or infertility; 

31. biofeedback, recreational, or educational therapy, or 

other forms of self-care or self-help training and any related 

diagnostic testing; 

32. services for conditions related to austic disease of 

childhood, hyperkinetic syndromes, learning disabilities, 

behavioral problems, or mental retardation; 

33. charges for treatment of a physical injury resulting 

from suicide or a suicide attempt, sane or insane; 

34. intentionally self-inflicted injury; 

35. injuries received while committing a crime. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3139. Outpatient Prescription Rider 

A. An authorized carrier may offer as rider to the LA 

Health Plan coverage for outpatient prescription drugs that 

includes a minimal co-payment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

§3141. Premium Maximums, Method for Calculating 

A. Premiums charged for the LA Health pilot plans shall 

be based on the average standard rate charged by the five 

largest health and accident insurers offering individual 

coverage in the state, as identified by the Louisiana Health 

Insurance Association's annual survey in accordance to R.S. 

22:1213.E.3. Annual survey results may be obtained from 

the department. For the purpose of calculating the maximum 

premiums as established in §3141.B of this regulation, 

insurers shall use the premiums identified in the Louisiana 

Health Insurance Association's Plan "A" and shall use the 

strict average of male and female rates. 

B. Premium rates shall be community rated within each 

service area, but may vary according to an enrolled 

individual's status, (i.e., adult or minor dependent and 

smoker or nonsmoker), as established in §3141.B.1-3 of this 

regulation. 

1. Adult individual rates shall be based on a per unit 

basis. Each individual's premium rate enrolled in the plan 

shall be no more than 60 percent of the strict average of the 

average individual standard rate charges for adults as 

identified in §3141.A of this regulation. 

2. For the purpose of establishing the premium rate 

for minor dependents, there shall be one rate regardless of 

the number of minor dependents enrolled under each plan 

policy. The premium rate for minor dependents shall be no 

more than 60 percent of the average individual standard 

charged for children as identified in §3141.A of this 

regulation. 

3. Rates may vary according to an individual's status 

as either a smoker or nonsmoker. For those individuals 

enrolled in the plan as a smoker, premium rates identified in 

§3141 shall be based on the average individual standard rate 

charged for smokers as identified in §3141. For those 

individuals enrolled in the plan as a nonsmoker, premium 

rates identified in §3141 shall be based on the average 

individual standard rate charge for nonsmokers as identified 

in §3141.A of this regulation. 

4. Where a sliding scale is utilized for setting an 

individual or family's premium payment amount (including 

any contribution which may be made by an employer), the 

maximum payment amount for the highest income level 

cannot exceed the upper limits established under §3141.B.1-

3 of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§3143. Payment of Benefits 

A. An insured under the LA Health Plan is entitled to 

benefits for covered services as specified in this regulation 

and in the contract between an authorized carrier and the 

insured. 

B. Benefits will be provided only if covered services are 

prescribed by or performed by or under the direct 

supervision of a participating provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§3145. General Provisions 

A. All premium payments for coverage are due in 

advance. Monthly premium payments are for a complete 

month of coverage. There are no refunds and any 

cancellations will be effective on the first day of the month 

for which a premium has not been paid. 

B. Any insured under the LA Health Plan may be 

considered for reinstatement within six months of 

termination, no matter what the reason prior coverage was 

terminated. 

C. If coverage is terminated due to lack of payments, the 

insured may reapply for coverage within 90 days and pay 

any premiums still due. 

D. An insured under the LA Health Plan may renew 

coverage by payment of the necessary premiums to the 

authorized carrier by the due date. 

E. An authorized carrier may change the amount of 

monthly premium for the LA Health Plan in compliance with 

the Louisiana Insurance Code. Payment by the insured of the 

new rate is sufficient to indicate acceptance of the new rate.  

F. The LA Health Plan shall be governed by the laws 

and regulations of the state of Louisiana and specifically 

those of the LA Health Plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994), amended LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§3147. Termination of Coverage 

A. An insured's spouse who would otherwise lose 

coverage due to a divorce or death is automatically eligible 

for coverage in his or her name. 

B. Coverage for any child terminates the last day of the 

month during which such child is no longer eligible for 

coverage under the LA Health Plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:2241-2247, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 20:1012 (September 

1994). 

Chapter 33. Regulation 55―Life 

Insurance Illustrations 

§3301. Purpose 
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A. The purpose of this regulation is to provide rules for 

life insurance policy illustrations that will protect consumers 

and foster consumer education. The regulation provides 

illustration formats, prescribes standards to be followed 

when illustrations are used, and specifies the disclosures that 

are required in connection with illustrations for policies not 

excluded herein. The goals of this regulation are to ensure 

that illustrations do not mislead purchasers of life insurance 

and to make illustrations more understandable. Insurers will, 

as far as possible, eliminate the use of footnotes and caveats 

and define terms used in the illustration in language that 

would be understood by a typical person within the segment 

of the public to which the illustration is directed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3303. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation applies to all group and individual life 

insurance policies and certificates except: 

1. variable life insurance; 

2. individual and group annuity contracts; 

3. credit life insurance; or 

4. life insurance policies with no illustrated death 

benefits on any individual exceeding $10,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3305. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this regulation: 

Actuarial Standards Board―the board established by 

the American Academy of Actuaries to develop and 

promulgate standards of actuarial practice. 

Contract Premium―the gross premium that is required 

to be paid under a fixed premium policy, including the 

premium for a rider for which benefits are shown in the 

illustration. 

Currently Payable Scale―a scale of non-guaranteed 

elements in effect for a policy form as of the preparation 

date of the illustration or declared to become effective within 

the next 95 days. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Disciplined Current Scale―a scale of non-guaranteed 

elements constituting a limit on illustrations currently being 

illustrated by an insurer that is reasonably based on actual 

recent historical experience, as certified annually by an 

illustration actuary designated by the insurer. Further 

guidance in determining the disciplined current scale as 

contained in standards established by the Actuarial Standards 

Board may be relied upon if the standards: 

a. are consistent with all provisions of this 

regulation; 

b. limit a disciplined current scale to reflect only 

actions that have already been taken or events that have 

already occurred; 

c. do not permit a disciplined current scale to 

include any projected trends of improvements in experience 

or any assumed improvements in experience beyond the 

illustration date; and 

d. do not permit assumed expenses to be less than 

minimum assumed expenses. 

Generic Name―a short title descriptive of the policy 

being illustrated such as "whole life," "term life" or "flexible 

premium adjustable life." 

Guaranteed Elements and Non-Guaranteed Elements― 

a. Guaranteed Elements―the premiums, benefits, 

values, credits, or charges under a policy of life insurance 

that are guaranteed and determined at issue. 

b. Non-Guaranteed Elements―the premiums, 

benefits, values, credits, or charges under a policy of life 

insurance that are not guaranteed or not determined at issue. 

Illustrated Scale―a scale of non-guaranteed elements 

currently being illustrated that is not more favorable to the 

policy owner than the lesser of: 

a. the disciplined current scale; or 

b. the currently payable scale. 

Illustration―a presentation or depiction that includes 

non-guaranteed elements of a policy of life insurance over a 

period of years and that is one of the three types defined 

below. 

a. Basic Illustration―a ledger or proposal used in 

the sale of a life insurance policy that shows both guaranteed 

and non-guaranteed elements. 

b. In Force Illustration―an illustration furnished at 

any time after the policy that it depicts has been in force for 

one year or more. 

c. Supplemental Illustration―an illustration 

furnished in addition to a basic illustration that meets the 

applicable requirements of this regulation, and that may be 

presented in a format differing from the basic illustration, 

but may only depict a scale of non-guaranteed elements that 

is permitted in a basic illustration. 

Illustration Actuary―an actuary meeting the 

requirements of §3319 who certifies to illustrations based on 

the standard of practice promulgated by the Actuarial 

Standards Board. 

Lapse-Supported Illustration―an illustration of a policy 

form failing the test of self-supporting as defined in this 

regulation, under a modified persistency rate assumption 

using persistency rates underlying the disciplined current 

scale for the first five years and 100 percent policy 

persistency thereafter. 

Minimum Assumed Expenses― 

a. the minimum expenses that may be used in the 

calculation of the disciplined current scale for a policy form. 

The insurer may choose to designate each year the method 
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of determining assumed expenses for all policy forms from 

the following: 

 i. fully allocated expenses; 

 ii. marginal expenses; and 

 iii. a generally recognized expense table based on 

fully allocated expenses representing a significant portion of 

insurance companies and approved by the department. 

b. Marginal expenses may be used only if greater 

than a generally recognized expense table. If no generally 

recognized expense table is approved, fully allocated 

expenses must be used. 

Non-Term Group Life―a group policy or individual 

policies of life insurance issued to members of an employer 

group or other permitted group where: 

a. every plan of coverage was selected by the 

employer or other group representative; 

b. some portion of the premium is paid by the group 

or through payroll deduction; and 

c. group underwriting or simplified underwriting is 

used. 

Policy Owner―the owner named in the policy or the 

certificate holder in the case of a group policy. 

Premium Outlay―the amount of premium assumed to 

be paid by the policy owner or other premium payer out-of-

pocket.  

Self-Supporting Illustration―an illustration of a policy 

form for which it can be demonstrated that, when using 

experience assumptions underlying the disciplined current 

scale, for all illustrated points in time on or after the 15 

policy anniversary or the 20 policy anniversary for second-

or-later-to-die policies (or upon policy expiration, if sooner), 

the accumulated value of all policy cash flows equals or 

exceeds the total policy owner value available. For this 

purpose, policy owner value will include cash surrender 

values and any other illustrated benefit amounts available at 

the policy owner's election. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3307. Policies to be Illustrated 

A. Each insurer marketing policies to which this 

regulation is applicable shall notify the department whether 

a policy form is to be marketed with or without an 

illustration. For all policy forms being actively marketed on 

the effective date of this regulation, the insurer shall identify, 

in writing, those forms and whether or not an illustration will 

be used with them. For policy forms filed after the effective 

date of this regulation, the identification shall be made at the 

time of filing. Any previous identification may be changed 

by notice to the department. 

B. If the insurer identifies a policy form as one to be 

marketed without an illustration, any use of an illustration 

for any policy using that form prior to the first policy 

anniversary is prohibited. 

C. If a policy form is identified by the insurer as one to 

be marketed with an illustration, a basic illustration prepared 

and delivered in accordance with this regulation is required, 

except that a basic illustration need not be provided to 

individual members of a group or to individuals insured 

under multiple lives coverage issued to a single applicant 

unless the coverage is marketed to these individuals. The 

illustration furnished an applicant for a group life insurance 

policy or policies issued to a single applicant on multiple 

lives may be either an individual or composite illustration 

representative of the coverage on the lives of members of the 

group or the multiple lives covered. 

D. Potential enrollees of non-term group life subject to 

this regulation shall be furnished a quotation with the 

enrollment materials. The quotation shall show potential 

policy values for sample ages and policy years on a 

guaranteed and non-guaranteed basis appropriate to the 

group and the coverage. This quotation shall not be 

considered an illustration for purposes of this regulation, but 

all information provided shall be consistent with the 

illustrated scale. A basic illustration shall be provided at 

delivery of the certificate to enrollees for non-term group life 

who enroll for more than the minimum premium necessary 

to provide pure death benefit protection. In addition, the 

insurer shall make a basic illustration available to any non-

term group life enrollee who requests it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3309. General Rules and Prohibitions 

A. An illustration used in the sale of a life insurance 

policy shall satisfy the applicable requirements of this 

regulation, be clearly labeled "life insurance illustration" and 

contain the following basic information: 

1. name of insurer; 

2. name and business address of producer or insurer's 

authorized representative, if any; 

3. name, age, and sex of proposed insured, except 

where a composite illustration is permitted under this 

regulation; 

4. underwriting or rating classification upon which the 

illustration is based; 

5. generic name of policy, the company product name, 

if different, and form number; 

6. initial death benefit; and 

7. dividend option election or application of non-

guaranteed elements, if applicable. 

B. When using an illustration in the sale of a life 

insurance policy, an insurer or its producers or other 

authorized representatives shall not: 

1. represent the policy as anything other than a life 

insurance policy; 

2. use or describe non-guaranteed elements in a 
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manner that is misleading or has the capacity or tendency to 

mislead; 

3. state or imply that the payment or amount of non-

guaranteed elements is guaranteed; 

4. use an illustration that does not comply with the 

requirements of this regulation; 

5. use an illustration that at any policy duration 

depicts policy performance more favorable to the policy 

owner than that produced by the illustrated scale of the 

insurer whose policy is being illustrated; 

6. provide an applicant with an incomplete 

illustration; 

7. represent in any way that premium payments will 

not be required for each year of the policy in order to 

maintain the illustrated death benefits, unless that is the fact; 

8. use the term "vanish" or "vanishing premium," or a 

similar term that implies the policy becomes paid up, to 

describe a plan for using non-guaranteed elements to pay a 

portion of future premiums; 

9. except for policies that can never develop 

nonforfeiture values, use an illustration that is "lapse-

supported"; or 

10. use an illustration that is not "self-supporting." 

C. If an interest rate used to determine the illustrated 

non-guaranteed elements is shown, it shall not be greater 

than the earned interest rate underlying the disciplined 

current scale. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3311. Standards for Basic Illustrations 

A. Format. A basic illustration shall conform with the 

following requirements. 

1. The illustration shall be labeled with the date on 

which it was prepared. 

2. Each page, including any explanatory notes or 

pages, shall be numbered and show its relationship to the 

total number of pages in the illustration (e.g., the fourth page 

of a seven-page illustration shall be labeled "page 4 of 7 

pages"). 

3. The assumed dates of payment receipt and benefit 

pay-out within a policy year shall be clearly identified. 

4. If the age of the proposed insured is shown as a 

component of the tabular detail, it shall be issue age plus the 

numbers of years the policy is assumed to have been in 

force. 

5. The assumed payments on which the illustrated 

benefits and values are based shall be identified as premium 

outlay or contract premium, as applicable. For policies that 

do not require a specific contract premium, the illustrated 

payments shall be identified as premium outlay. 

6. Guaranteed death benefits and values available 

upon surrender, if any, for the illustrated premium outlay or 

contract premium shall be shown and clearly labeled 

guaranteed. 

7. If the illustration shows any non-guaranteed 

elements, they cannot be based on a scale more favorable to 

the policy owner than the insurer's illustrated scale at any 

duration. These elements shall be clearly labeled non-

guaranteed. 

8. The guaranteed elements, if any, shall be shown 

before corresponding non-guaranteed elements and shall be 

specifically referred to on any page of an illustration that 

shows or describes only the non-guaranteed elements (e.g., 

"see page one for guaranteed elements.") 

9. The account or accumulation value of a policy, if 

shown, shall be identified by the name this value is given in 

the policy being illustrated and shown in close proximity to 

the corresponding value available upon surrender. 

10. The value available upon surrender shall be 

identified by the name this value is given in the policy being 

illustrated and shall be the amount available to the policy 

owner in a lump sum after deduction of surrender charges, 

policy loans and policy loan interest, as applicable. 

11. Illustrations may show policy benefits and values in 

graphic or chart form in addition to the tabular form. 

12. Any illustration of non-guaranteed elements shall 

be accompanied by a statement indicating that: 

a. the benefits and values are not guaranteed; 

b. the assumptions on which they are based are 

subject to change by the insurer; and 

c. actual results may be more or less favorable. 

13. If the illustration shows that the premium payer 

may have the option to allow policy charges to be paid using 

non-guaranteed values, the illustration must clearly disclose 

that a charge continues to be required and that, depending on 

actual results, the premium payer may need to continue or 

resume premium outlays. Similar disclosure shall be made 

for premium outlay of lesser amounts or shorter durations 

than the contract premium. If a contract premium is due, the 

premium outlay display shall not be left blank or show zero 

unless accompanied by an asterisk or similar mark to draw 

attention to the fact that the policy is not paid up. 

14. If the applicant plans to use dividends or policy 

values, guaranteed or non-guaranteed, to pay all or a portion 

of the contract premium or policy charges, or for any other 

purpose, the illustration may reflect those plans and the 

impact on future policy benefits and values. 

B. Narrative Summary. A basic illustration shall include 

the following: 

1. a brief description of the policy being illustrated, 

including a statement that it is a life insurance policy; 

2. a brief description of the premium outlay or 

contract premium, as applicable, for the policy. For a policy 

that does not require payment of a specific contract 

premium, the illustration shall show the premium outlay that 

must be paid to guarantee coverage for the term of the 

contract, subject to maximum premiums allowable to qualify 

as a life insurance policy under the applicable provisions of 

the Internal Revenue Code; 
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3. a brief description of any policy features, riders or 

options, guaranteed or non-guaranteed, shown in the basic 

illustration and the impact they may have on the benefits and 

values of the policy; 

4. identification and a brief definition of column 

headings and key terms used in the illustration; and 

5. a statement containing in substance the following: 

"This illustration assumes that the currently illustrated 

nonguaranteed elements will continue unchanged for all years 

shown. This is not likely to occur, and actual results may be 

more or less favorable than those shown." 

C. Numeric Summary 

1. Following the narrative summary, a basic 

illustration shall include a numeric summary of the death 

benefits and values and the premium outlay and contract 

premium, as applicable. For a policy that provides for a 

contract premium, the guaranteed death benefits and values 

shall be based on the contract premium. This summary shall 

be shown for at least policy years 5, 10 and 20 and at age 70, 

if applicable, on the three bases shown below. For multiple 

life policies the summary shall show policy years 5, 10, 20 

and 30: 

a. policy guarantees; 

b. insurer's illustrated scale; 

c. insurer's illustrated scale used but with the non-

guaranteed elements reduced as follows: 

 i. dividends at 50 percent of the dividends 

contained in the illustrated scale used; 

 ii. non-guaranteed credited interest at rates that 

are the average of the guaranteed rates and the rates 

contained in the illustrated scale used; and 

 iii. all non-guaranteed charges including, but not 

limited to, term insurance charges, mortality and expense 

charges at rates that are the average of the guaranteed rates 

and the rates contained in the illustrated scale used. 

2. In addition, if coverage would cease prior to policy 

maturity or age 100, the year in which coverage ceases shall 

be identified for each of the three bases. 

D. Statements. Statements substantially similar to the 

following shall be included on the same page as the numeric 

summary and signed by the applicant, or the policy owner in 

the case of an illustration provided at time of delivery, as 

required in this regulation. 

1. A statement to be signed and dated by the applicant 

or policy owner reading as follows: 

"I have received a copy of this illustration and understand that 

any non-guaranteed elements illustrated are subject to change 
and could be either higher or lower. The agent has told me 

they are not guaranteed." 

2. A statement to be signed and dated by the insurance 

producer or other authorized representative of the insurer 

reading as follows: 

"I certify that this illustration has been presented to the 

applicant and that I have explained that any non-guaranteed 

elements illustrated are subject to change. I have made no 

statements that are inconsistent with the illustration." 

E. Tabular Detail 

1. A basic illustration shall include the following for 

at least each policy year from 1 to 10 and for every fifth 

policy year thereafter ending at age 100, policy maturity or 

final expiration; and except for term insurance beyond the 

twentieth year, for any year in which the premium outlay and 

contract premium, if applicable, is to change: 

a. the premium outlay and mode the applicant plans 

to pay and the contract premium, as applicable; 

b. the corresponding guaranteed death benefit, as 

provided in the policy; and 

c. the corresponding guaranteed value available 

upon surrender, as provided in the policy. 

2. For a policy that provides for a contract premium, 

the guaranteed death benefit and value available upon 

surrender shall correspond to the contract premium. 

3. Non-guaranteed elements may be shown, if 

described in the contract. In the case of an illustration for a 

policy on which the insurer intends to credit terminal 

dividends, they may be shown if the insurer's current 

practice is to pay terminal dividends. If any non-guaranteed 

elements are shown, they must be shown at the same 

durations as the corresponding guaranteed elements, if any. 

If no guaranteed benefit or value is available at any duration 

for which a non-guaranteed benefit or value is shown, a zero 

shall be displayed in the guaranteed column. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3313. Standards for Supplemental Illustrations 

A. A supplemental illustration may be provided so long 

as: 

1. it is appended to, accompanied by, or preceded by a 

basic illustration that complies with this regulation; 

2. the non-guaranteed elements shown are not more 

favorable to the policy owner than the corresponding 

elements, based on the scale used in the basic illustration; 

3. it contains the same statement required of a basic 

illustration that non-guaranteed elements are not guaranteed; 

and 

4. for a policy that has a contract premium, the 

contract premium underlying the supplemental illustration is 

equal to the contract premium shown in the basic 

illustration. For policies that do not require a contract 

premium, the premium outlay underlying the supplemental 

illustration shall be equal to the premium outlay shown in 

the basic illustration. 

B. The supplemental illustration shall include a notice 

referring to the basic illustration for guaranteed elements and 

other important information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 244 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3315. Delivery of Illustrations and Record Retention 

A.1. If a basic illustration is used by an insurance 

producer or other authorized representative of the insurer in 

the sale of a life insurance policy and the policy is applied 

for as illustrated, a copy of that illustration, signed in 

accordance with this regulation, shall be submitted to the 

insurer at the time of policy application. A copy shall also be 

provided to the applicant. 

2. If the policy is issued other than as applied for, a 

revised basic illustration, conforming to the policy as issued, 

shall be sent with the policy. The revised illustration shall 

conform to the requirements of this regulation, shall be 

labeled "Revised Illustration" and shall be signed and dated 

by the applicant or policy owner and producer or other 

authorized representative of the insurer no later than the time 

the policy is delivered. A copy shall be provided to the 

insurer and the policy owner. 

B.1. If no illustration is used by an insurance producer 

or other authorized representative in the sale of a life 

insurance policy or if the policy is applied for other than as 

illustrated, the producer or representative shall certify to that 

effect, in writing, on a form provided by the insurer. On the 

same form the applicant shall acknowledge that no 

illustration conforming to the policy applied for was 

provided and shall further acknowledge an understanding 

that an illustration conforming to the policy, as issued, will 

be provided no later than at the time of policy delivery. This 

form shall be submitted to the insurer at the time of policy 

application. 

2. If the policy is issued, a basic illustration 

conforming to the policy, as issued, shall be sent with the 

policy and signed no later than the time the policy is 

delivered. A copy shall be provided to the insurer and the 

policy owner. 

C. If the basic illustration or revised illustration is sent to 

the applicant or policy owner by mail from the insurer, it 

shall include instructions for the applicant or policy owner to 

sign the duplicate copy of the numeric summary page of the 

illustration for the policy issued and return the signed copy 

to the insurer. The insurer's obligation under §3315.C shall 

be satisfied if it can demonstrate that it has made a diligent 

effort to secure a signed copy of the numeric summary page. 

The requirement to make a diligent effort shall be deemed 

satisfied if the insurer includes in the mailing a self-

addressed postage prepaid envelope with instructions for the 

return of the signed numeric summary page. 

D. A copy of the basic illustration and a revised basic 

illustration, if any, signed as applicable, along with any 

certification that either no illustration was used or that the 

policy was applied for other than as illustrated, shall be 

retained by the insurer until three years after the policy is no 

longer in force. A copy need not be retained if no policy is 

issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3317. Annual Report; Notice to Policy Owners 

A. In the case of a policy designated as one for which 

illustrations will be used, the insurer shall provide each 

policy owner with an annual report on the status of the 

policy that shall contain at least the following information. 

1. For universal life policies, the report shall include 

the following: 

a. the beginning and ending date of the current 

report period; 

b. the policy value at the end of the previous report 

period and at the end of the current report period; 

c. the total amounts that have been credited or 

debited to the policy value during the current report period, 

identifying each by type (e.g., interest, mortality, expense 

and riders); 

d. the current death benefit at the end of the current 

report period on each life covered by the policy; 

e. the net cash surrender value of the policy as of 

the end of the current report period; 

f. the amount of outstanding loans, if any, as of the 

end of the current report period; and 

g. for fixed premium policies: 

 i. if, assuming guaranteed interest, mortality and 

expense loads, and continued scheduled premium payments, 

the policy's net cash surrender value is such that it would not 

maintain insurance in force until the end of the next 

reporting period, a notice to this effect shall be included in 

the report; or 

h. for flexible premium policies: 

 i. if, assuming guaranteed interest, mortality and 

expense loads, the policy's net cash surrender value will not 

maintain insurance in force until the end of the next 

reporting period unless further premium payments are made, 

a notice to this effect shall be included in the report. 

2. For all other policies, where applicable: 

a. current death benefit; 

b. annual contract premium; 

c. current cash surrender value; 

d. current dividend; 

e. application of current dividend; and 

f. amount of outstanding loan. 

3. Insurers writing life insurance policies that do not 

build nonforfeiture values shall only be required to provide 

an annual report with respect to these policies for those years 

when a change has been made to nonguaranteed policy 

elements by the insurer. 

B. If the annual report does not include an in-force 

illustration, it shall contain the following notice displayed 

prominently: 

"Important Policy Owner Notice: You should consider 
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requesting more detailed information about your policy to 

understand how it may perform in the future. You should not 

consider replacement of your policy or make changes in your 
coverage without requesting a current illustration. You may 

annually request, without charge, such an illustration by 

calling [insurer's phone number], writing to [insurer's name] at 
[insurer's address] or contacting your agent. If you do not 

receive a current illustration of your policy within 30 days 

from your request, you should contact your state insurance 

department." 

The insurer may vary the sequential order of the methods 

for obtaining an in force illustration.  

C. Upon the request of the policy owner, the insurer shall 

furnish an in-force illustration of current and future benefits 

and values based on the insurer's present illustrated scale. 

This illustration shall comply with the requirements of 

§§3309.A.-B and 3311.A and E. No signature or other 

acknowledgment of receipt of this illustration shall be 

required. 

D. If an adverse change in non-guaranteed elements that 

could affect the policy has been made by the insurer since 

the last annual report, the annual report shall contain a notice 

of that fact and the nature of the change prominently 

displayed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3319. Annual Certifications 

A. The board of directors of each insurer shall appoint 

one or more illustration actuaries. 

B. The illustration actuary shall certify that the 

disciplined current scale used in illustrations is in conformity 

with the Actuarial Standard of Practice for Compliance with 

the NAIC Model Regulation on Life Insurance Illustrations 

promulgated by the Actuarial Standards Board, and that the 

illustrated scales used in insurer-authorized illustrations meet 

the requirements of this regulation. 

C. The illustration actuary shall: 

1. be a member in good standing of the American 

Academy of Actuaries; 

2. be familiar with the standard of practice regarding 

life insurance policy illustrations; 

3. not have been found by the department, following 

appropriate notice and hearing, to have: 

a. violated any provision of, or any obligation 

imposed by, the insurance law or other law in the course of 

his or her dealings as an illustration actuary; 

b. been found guilty of fraudulent or dishonest 

practices; 

c. demonstrated his or her incompetence, lack of 

cooperation, or untrustworthiness to act as an illustration 

actuary; or 

d. resigned or been removed as an illustration 

actuary within the past five years as a result of acts or 

omissions indicated in any adverse report on examination or 

as a result of a failure to adhere to generally acceptable 

actuarial standards; 

4. promptly notify the department of any action taken 

by a department of another state similar to that under 

§3319.C.3; 

5. disclose in the annual certification whether, since 

the last certification, a currently payable scale applicable for 

business issued within the previous five years and within the 

scope of the certification has been reduced for reasons other 

than changes in the experience factors underlying the 

disciplined current scale. If non-guaranteed elements 

illustrated for new policies are not consistent with those 

illustrated for similar in-force policies, this must be 

disclosed in the annual certification. If non-guaranteed 

elements illustrated for both new and in-force policies are 

not consistent with the nonguaranteed elements actually 

being paid, charged, or credited to the same or similar forms, 

this must be disclosed in the annual certification; and 

6. disclose in the annual certification the method used 

to allocate overhead expenses for all illustrations: 

a. fully allocated expenses; 

b. marginal expenses; or 

c. a generally recognized expense table based on 

fully allocated expenses representing a significant portion of 

insurance companies and approved by the department. 

D.1. The illustration actuary shall file a certification with 

the board and with the department: 

a. annually for all policy forms for which 

illustrations are used; and  

b. before a new policy form is illustrated. 

2. If an error in a previous certification is discovered, 

the illustration actuary shall notify the board of directors of 

the insurer and the department promptly. 

E. If an illustration actuary is unable to certify the scale 

for any policy form illustration the insurer intends to use, the 

actuary shall notify the board of directors of the insurer and 

the department promptly of his or her inability to certify. 

F. A responsible officer of the insurer, other than the 

illustration actuary, shall certify annually: 

1. that the illustration formats meet the requirements 

of this regulation and that the scales used in insurer-

authorized illustrations are those scales certified by the 

illustration actuary; and 

2. that the company has provided its agents with 

information about the expense allocation method used by the 

company in its illustrations and disclosed as required in 

§3319.C.6. 

G. The annual certifications shall be provided to the 

department each year by a date determined by the insurer. 

H. If an insurer changes the illustration actuary 

responsible for all or a portion of the company's policy 

forms, the insurer shall notify the department of that fact 

promptly and disclose the reason for the change. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3321. Severability 

A. If any provision of this regulation, or its application to 

any person or circumstance, is, for any reason, held to be 

invalid by any court of law, the remainder of the regulation 

and its application to other persons or circumstances shall 

not be affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

§3323. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective July 1, 1997 

and shall apply to policies sold on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:984 (October 1996). 

Chapter 35. Regulation 56―Credit for 

Reinsurance 

§3501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth rules and 

procedural requirements that the commissioner deems 

necessary to carry out the provisions on credit for 

reinsurance, R.S. 22:651 et seq. The actions and information 

required by this regulation are hereby declared to be 

necessary and appropriate in the public interest and for the 

protection of the ceding insurers in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11 and 651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1807 (July 2013). 

§3503. Severability 

A. If any provision or item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 

affect other provisions, items, or applications of the 

regulation which can be given effect without the invalid 

provision, item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11 and 651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended by Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent 

Resolution Number 135 of the 2001 Regular Session, LR 27:1102 

(July 2001), LR 39:1808 (July 2013).  

§3505. Credit for Reinsurance―Reinsurer Authorized 

in this State 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:651(B), the commissioner shall 

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to 

an assuming insurer that was authorized in this state as of 

any date on which statutory financial statement credit for 

reinsurance is claimed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11 and 651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1808 (July 2013).  

§3507. Credit for Reinsurance―Accredited Reinsurer 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:651(C) the commissioner shall 

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to 

an assuming insurer that is accredited as a reinsurer in this 

state as of the date on which statutory financial statement 

credit for reinsurance is claimed. An accredited reinsurer 

shall: 

1. file a properly executed Form AR-1 (§3527.B) as 

evidence of its submission to this state’s jurisdiction and to 

the authority of the commissioner to examine its books and 

records; 

2. file with the commissioner a certified copy of a 

certificate of authority or other acceptable evidence that it is 

licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one 

state, or, in the case of a United States branch of an alien-

assuming insurer, is entered through and licensed to transact 

insurance or reinsurance in at least one state; 

3. file annually with the commissioner a copy of its 

annual statement filed with the insurance department of its 

state of domicile or, in the case of an alien assuming insurer, 

with the state through which it is entered and in which it is 

licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance, and a copy of 

its most recent audited financial statement; and 

4. maintain a surplus as regards policyholders in an 

amount not less than $20,000,000, or obtain the affirmative 

approval of the commissioner upon a finding that it has 

adequate financial capacity to meet its reinsurance 

obligations and is otherwise qualified to assume reinsurance 

from domestic insurers.  

B. If the commissioner determines that the assuming 

insurer has failed to meet or maintain any of these 

qualifications, the commissioner may upon written notice 

and opportunity for hearing, suspend or revoke the 

accreditation. Credit shall not be allowed a domestic ceding 

insurer under this Section if the assuming insurer’s 

accreditation has been revoked by the commissioner, or if 

the reinsurance was ceded while the assuming insurer’s 

accreditation was under suspension by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1808 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1313 

(September 2021). 

§3509. Credit for Reinsurance―Reinsurer Maintaining 

Trust Funds 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:651(D), the commissioner shall 

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to 

an assuming insurer which, as of any date on which statutory 

financial statement credit for reinsurance is claimed, and 

thereafter for so long as credit for reinsurance is claimed, 

maintains a trust fund in an amount prescribed below in a 

qualified United States financial institution as defined in 

R.S. 22:653(B), for the payment of the valid claims of its 

United States domiciled ceding insurers, their assigns and 
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successors in interest. The assuming insurer shall report 

annually to the commissioner substantially the same 

information as that required to be reported on the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) annual 

statement form by authorized insurers, to enable the 

commissioner to determine the sufficiency of the trust fund. 

B. The following requirements apply to the following 

categories of assuming insurer. 

1. The trust fund for a single assuming insurer shall 

consist of funds in trust in an amount not less than the 

assuming insurer’s liabilities attributable to reinsurance 

ceded by United States domiciled insurers, and in addition, 

the assuming insurer shall maintain a trusteed surplus of not 

less than $20,000,000, except as provided in §3509.B.2. 

2. At any time after the assuming insurer has 

permanently discontinued underwriting new business 

secured by the trust for at least three full years, the 

commissioner with principal regulatory oversight of the trust 

may authorize a reduction in the required trusteed surplus, 

but only after a finding, based on an assessment of the risk, 

that the new required surplus level is adequate for the 

protection of United States ceding insurers, policyholders 

and claimants in light of reasonably foreseeable adverse loss 

development. The risk assessment may involve an actuarial 

review, including an independent analysis of reserves and 

cash flows, and shall consider all material risk factors, 

including when applicable the lines of business involved, the 

stability of the incurred loss estimates and the effect of the 

surplus requirements on the assuming insurer’s liquidity or 

solvency. The minimum required trusteed surplus may not 

be reduced to an amount less than 30 percent of the 

assuming insurer’s liabilities attributable to reinsurance 

ceded by United States ceding insurers covered by the trust. 

3. In the case of a group including incorporated and 

individual unincorporated underwriters: 

a. the trust fund shall consist of: 

 i. for reinsurance ceded under reinsurance 

agreements with an inception, amendment or renewal date 

on or after January 1, 1993, funds in trust in an amount not 

less than the respective underwriters’ several liabilities 

attributable to business ceded by United States domiciled 

ceding insurers to any underwriter of the group; 

 ii. for reinsurance ceded under reinsurance 

agreements with an inception date on or before December 

31, 1992, and not amended or renewed after that date, 

notwithstanding the other provisions of this regulation, funds 

in trust in an amount not less than the respective 

underwriters’ several insurance and reinsurance liabilities 

attributable to business written in the United States; and 

 iii. in addition to these trusts, the group shall 

maintain a trusteed surplus of which $100,000,000 shall be 

held jointly for the benefit of the United States domiciled 

ceding insurers of any member of the group for all the years 

of account; 

b. the incorporated members of the group shall not 

be engaged in any business other than underwriting as a 

member of the group and shall be subject to the same level 

of regulation and solvency control by the group’s 

domiciliary regulator as are the unincorporated members. 

The group shall, within 90 days after its financial statements 

are due to be filed with the group’s domiciliary regulator, 

provide to the commissioner: 

 i. an annual certification by the group’s 

domiciliary regulator of the solvency of each underwriter 

member of the group; or 

 ii. if a certification is unavailable, a financial 

statement, prepared by independent public accountants, of 

each underwriter member of the group.  

4. In the case of a group of incorporated insurers 

under common administration, whose members possess 

aggregate policyholders surplus of $10,000,000,000 

(calculated and reported in substantially the same manner as 

prescribed by the annual statement instructions and 

Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual of the NAIC) 

and which has continuously transacted an insurance business 

outside the United States for at least three years immediately 

prior to making application for accreditation. 

a. The trust fund shall: 

 i. consist of funds in trust in an amount not less 

than the assuming insurers’ several liabilities attributable to 

business ceded by United States domiciled ceding insurers to 

any members of the group pursuant to reinsurance contracts 

issued in the name of such group;  

 ii. maintain a joint trusteed surplus of which 

$100,000,000 shall be held jointly for the benefit of United 

States domiciled ceding insurers of any member of the 

group; and  

 iii. file a properly executed Form AR-1 (§3527.B) 

as evidence of the submission to the authority of the 

commissioner to examine the books and records of any of its 

members and shall certify that any member examined will 

bear the expense of any such examination. 

b. Within 90 days after the statements are due to be 

filed with the group’s domiciliary regulator, the group shall 

file with the commissioner an annual certification of each 

underwriter member’s solvency by the member’s 

domiciliary regulators, and financial statements, prepared by 

independent public accountants, of each underwriter member 

of the group. 

C. Credit for reinsurance shall not be granted unless the 

form of the trust and any amendments to the trust have been 

approved by either the commissioner of the state where the 

trust is domiciled or the commissioner of another state who, 

pursuant to the terms of the trust instrument, has accepted 

responsibility for regulatory oversight of the trust. The form 

of the trust and any trust amendments also shall be filed with 

the commissioner of every state in which the ceding insurer 

beneficiaries of the trust are domiciled.  

1. The trust instrument shall provide that: 

a. contested claims shall be valid and enforceable 

out of funds in trust to the extent remaining unsatisfied 30 
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days after entry of the final order of any court of competent 

jurisdiction in the United States; 

b. legal title to the assets of the trust shall be vested 

in the trustee for the benefit of the grantor’s United States 

ceding insurers, their assigns and successors in interest; 

c. the trust shall be subject to examination as 

determined by the commissioner; 

d. the trust shall remain in effect for as long as the 

assuming insurer, or any member or former member of a 

group of insurers, shall have outstanding obligations under 

reinsurance agreements subject to the trust; and 

e. no later than February 28 of each year the trustee 

of the trust shall report to the commissioner in writing 

setting forth the balance in the trust and listing the trust’s 

investments at the preceding year-end, and shall certify the 

date of termination of the trust, if so planned, or certify that 

the trust shall not expire prior to the following December 31. 

2. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it contains 

an amount less than the amount required by §3509.C or if 

the grantor of the trust has been declared insolvent or placed 

into receivership, rehabilitation, liquidation or similar 

proceedings under the laws of its state or country of 

domicile, the trustee shall comply with an order of the 

commissioner with regulatory oversight over the trust or 

with an order of a court of competent jurisdiction directing 

the trustee to transfer to the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight over the trust or other designated receiver all of the 

assets of the trust fund. 

a. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall 

be filed with and valued by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight over the trust in accordance with the 

laws of the state in which the trust is domiciled applicable to 

the liquidation of domestic insurance companies. 

b. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

over the trust determines that the assets of the trust fund or 

any part thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the 

United States beneficiaries of the trust, the commissioner 

with regulatory oversight over the trust shall return the 

assets, or any part thereof, to the trustee for distribution in 

accordance with the trust agreement. 

c. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise 

available to it under United States law that is inconsistent 

with this provision. 

D. For purposes of this section, the term liabilities shall 

mean the assuming insurer’s gross liabilities attributable to 

reinsurance ceded by United States domiciled insurers 

excluding liabilities that are otherwise secured by acceptable 

means, and, shall include: 

1. for business ceded by domestic insurers authorized 

to write accident and health, and property and casualty 

insurance: 

a. losses and allocated loss expenses paid by the 

ceding insurer, recoverable from the assuming insurer; 

b. reserves for losses reported and outstanding; 

c. reserves for losses incurred but not reported; 

d. reserves for allocated loss expenses; and 

e. unearned premiums; 

2. for business ceded by domestic insurers authorized 

to write life, health and annuity insurance: 

a. aggregate reserves for life policies and contracts 

net of policy loans and net due and deferred premiums; 

b. aggregate reserves for accident and health 

policies; 

c. deposit funds and other liabilities without life or 

disability contingencies; and 

d. liabilities for policy and contract claims. 

E. Assets deposited in trusts established pursuant to R.S. 

22:651 and §3509 of this regulation shall be valued 

according to their current fair market value and shall consist 

only of cash in United States dollars, certificates of deposit 

issued by a United States financial institution as defined in 

R.S. 22:653(A), clean, irrevocable, unconditional and 

“evergreen” letters of credit issued or confirmed by a 

qualified United States financial institution, as defined in 

R.S. 22:653(A), and investments of the type specified in 

§3509.E of this regulation, but investments in or issued by 

an entity controlling, controlled by or under common control 

with either the grantor or beneficiary of the trust shall not 

exceed 5 percent of total investments. No more than 20 

percent of the total of the investments in the trust may be 

foreign investments authorized under §3509.E.1.e, E.3, E.6.b 

or E.7, and no more than 10 percent of the total of the 

investments in the trust may be securities denominated in 

foreign currencies. For purposes of applying the preceding 

sentence, a depository receipt denominated in United States 

dollars and representing rights conferred by a foreign 

security shall be classified as a foreign investment 

denominated in a foreign currency. The assets of a trust 

established to satisfy the requirements of R.S. 22:651 shall 

be invested only as follows. 

1. Government obligations that are not in default as to 

principal or interest, that are valid and legally authorized and 

that are issued, assumed or guaranteed by: 

a. the United States or by any agency or 

instrumentality of the United States; 

b. a state of the United States; 

c. a territory, possession or other governmental unit 

of the United States;  

d. an agency or instrumentality of a governmental 

unit referred to in §3509.E.1.b-c if the obligations shall be 

by law (statutory of otherwise) payable, as to both principal 

and interest, from taxes levied or by law required to be 

levied or from adequate special revenues pledged or 

otherwise appropriated or by law required to be provided for 

making these payments, but shall not be obligations eligible 

for investment under this paragraph if payable solely out of 

special assessments on properties benefited by local 

improvements; or 
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e. the government of any other country that is a 

member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 

Development and whose government obligations are rated A 

or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency recognized 

by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC. 

2. Obligations that are issued in the United States, or 

that are dollar denominated and issued in a non-United 

States market, by a solvent United States institution (other 

than an insurance company) or that are assumed or 

guaranteed by a solvent United States institution (other than 

an insurance company) and that are not in default as to 

principal or interest if the obligations: 

a. are rated A or higher (or the equivalent) by a 

securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC, or if not so rated, are similar 

in structure and other material respects to other obligations 

of the same institution that are so rated; 

b. are insured by at least one authorized insurer 

(other than the investing insurer or a parent, subsidiary or 

affiliate of the investing insurer) licensed to insure 

obligations in this state and, after considering the insurance, 

are rated AAA (or the equivalent) by a securities rating 

agency recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the 

NAIC; or 

c. have been designated as class one or class two by 

the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC. 

3. Obligations issued, assumed or guaranteed by a 

solvent non-United States institution chartered in a country 

that is a member of the Organization for Economic 

Cooperation and Development or obligations of United 

States corporations issued in a non-United States currency, 

provided that in either case the obligations are rated A or 

higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by 

the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC. 

4. An investment made pursuant to the provisions of 

§3509.E.1-3 shall be subject to the following additional 

limitations: 

a. an investment in or loan upon the obligations of 

an institution other than an institution that issues mortgage-

related securities shall not exceed 5 percent of the assets of 

the trust; 

b. an investment in any one mortgage-related 

security shall not exceed 5 percent of the assets of the trust; 

c. the aggregate total investment in mortgage-

related securities shall not exceed 25 percent of the assets of 

the trust; and 

d. preferred or guaranteed shares issued or 

guaranteed by a solvent United States institution are 

permissible investments if all of the institution’s obligations 

are eligible as investments under §3509.E.2.a and E.2.c, but 

shall not exceed 2 percent of the assets of the trust. 

5. As used in this regulation: 

Mortgage-Related Security—an obligation that is 

rated AA or higher (or the equivalent) by a securities rating 

agency recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the 

NAIC and that either: 

 i. represents ownership of one or more 

promissory notes or certificates of interest or participation in 

the notes (including any rights designed to assure servicing 

of, or the receipt or timeliness of receipt by the holders of 

the notes, certificates, or participation of amounts payable 

under, the notes, certificates or participation), that: 

(a). are directly secured by a first lien on a single 

parcel of real estate, including stock allocated to a dwelling 

unit in a residential cooperative housing corporation, upon 

which is located a dwelling or mixed residential and 

commercial structure, or on a residential manufactured home 

as defined in 42 U.S.C. §5402(6), whether the manufactured 

home is considered real or personal property under the laws 

of the state in which it is located; and 

(b). were originated by a savings and loan 

association, savings bank, commercial bank, credit union, 

insurance company, or similar institution that is supervised 

and examined by a federal or state housing authority, or by a 

mortgagee approved by the secretary of Housing and Urban 

Development pursuant to 12 U.S.C.§§1709 and 1715-b, or, 

where the notes involve a lien on the manufactured home, by 

an institution or by a financial institution approved for 

insurance by the secretary of Housing and Urban 

Development pursuant to 12 U.S.C. §1703; or 

 ii. is secured by one or more promissory notes or 

certificates of deposit or participations in the notes (with or 

without recourse to the insurer of the notes) and, by its 

terms, provides for payments of principal in relation to 

payments, or reasonable projections of payments, or notes 

meeting the requirements of §3509.E.5.a.i.(a)-(b); 

Promissory Note—when used in connection with a 

manufactured home, shall also include a loan, advance or 

credit sale as evidenced by a retail installment sales contract 

or other instrument. 

6. Equity Interests 

a. Investments in common shares or partnership 

interests of a solvent United States institution are permissible 

if: 

 i. its obligations and preferred shares, if any, are 

eligible as investments under §3509.E; and 

 ii. the equity interests of the institution (except an 

insurance company) are registered on a national securities 

exchange as provided in the Securities Exchange Act of 

1934, 15 U.S.C. §§ 78a to 78kk, or otherwise registered 

pursuant to that Act, and if otherwise registered, price 

quotations for them are furnished through a nationwide 

automated quotations system approved by the Financial 

Industry Regulatory Authority, or successor organization. A 

trust shall not invest in equity interests under this Paragraph 

an amount exceeding 1 percent of the assets of the trust even 

though the equity interests are not so registered and are not 

issued by an insurance company; 

b. investments in common shares of a solvent 

institution organized under the laws of a country that is a 

member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 
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Development, if: 

 i. all its obligations are rated A or higher, or the 

equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC; and 

 ii. the equity interests of the institution are 

registered on a securities exchange regulated by the 

government of a country that is a member of the 

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development; 

c. an investment in or loan upon any one 

institution’s outstanding equity interests shall not exceed 1 

percent of the assets of the trust. The cost of an investment 

in equity interests made pursuant to this paragraph, when 

added to the aggregate cost of other investments in equity 

interests then held pursuant to this Paragraph, shall not 

exceed 10 percent of the assets in the trust; 

7. Obligations issued, assumed or guaranteed by a 

multinational development bank, provided the obligations 

are rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC. 

8. Investment Companies 

a. Securities of an investment company registered 

pursuant to the Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 U.S.C. 

§80a, are permissible investments if the investment 

company: 

 i. Invests at least 90 percent of its assets in the 

types of securities that qualify as an investment under 

§3509.E.1-3 or invests in securities that are determined by 

the commissioner to be substantively similar to the types of 

securities set forth in §3509.E.1-3; or 

 ii. Invests at least 90 percent of its assets in the 

types of equity interests that qualify as an investment under 

§3509.E.6.a. 

b. Investments made by a trust in investment 

companies under this Paragraph shall not exceed the 

following limitations: 

 i. an investment in an investment company 

qualifying under §3509.E.8.a.i shall not exceed 10 percent of 

the assets in the trust and the aggregate amount of 

investment in qualifying investment companies shall not 

exceed 25 percent of the assets in the trust; and 

 ii. investments in an investment company 

qualifying under §3509.E.8.a.ii shall not exceed 5 percent of 

the assets in the trust and the aggregate amount of 

investment in qualifying investment companies shall be 

included when calculating the permissible aggregate value of 

equity interests pursuant to §3509.E.6.a. 

9. Letters of Credit 

a. In order for a letter of credit to qualify as an asset 

of the trust, the trustee shall have the right and the obligation 

pursuant to the deed of trust or some other binding 

agreement (as duly approved by the commissioner), to 

immediately draw down the full amount of the letter of 

credit and hold the proceeds in trust for the beneficiaries of 

the trust if the letter of credit will otherwise expire without 

being renewed or replaced.  

b. The trust agreement shall provide that the trustee 

shall be liable for its negligence, willful misconduct or lack 

of good faith. The failure of the trustee to draw against the 

letter of credit in circumstances where such draw would be 

required shall be deemed to be negligence and/or willful 

misconduct. 

F. A specific security provided to a ceding insurer by an 

assuming insurer pursuant to §3513 shall be applied, until 

exhausted, to the payment of liabilities of the assuming 

insurer to the ceding insurer holding the specific security 

prior to, and as a condition precedent for, presentation of a 

claim by the ceding insurer for payment by a trustee of a 

trust established by the assuming insurer pursuant to this 

Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1808 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1313 

(September 2021). 

§3510. Credit for Reinsurance––Certified Reinsurers 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:651(E), the commissioner shall 

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to 

an assuming insurer that has been certified as a reinsurer in 

this state at all times for which statutory financial statement 

credit for reinsurance is claimed under this section. The 

credit allowed shall be based upon the security held by or on 

behalf of the ceding insurer in accordance with a rating 

assigned to the certified reinsurer by the commissioner. The 

security shall be in a form consistent with the provisions of 

R.S. 22:651(E) and 652 and §§3517, 3519 or 3521 of this 

regulation. The amount of security required in order for full 

credit to be allowed shall correspond with the following 

requirements. 

1. Ratings/Security Required 

Ratings Security Required 

Secure - 1 0 percent 

Secure - 2 10 percent 

Secure - 3 20 percent 

Secure - 4 50 percent 

Secure - 5 75 percent 

Vulnerable - 6 100 percent 

 

2. Affiliated reinsurance transactions shall receive the 

same opportunity for reduced security requirements as all 

other reinsurance transactions. 

3. The commissioner shall require the certified 

reinsurer to post 100 percent, for the benefit of the ceding 

insurer or its estate, security upon the entry of an order of 

rehabilitation, liquidation or conservation against the ceding 

insurer. 

4. In order to facilitate the prompt payment of claims, 

a certified reinsurer shall not be required to post security for 
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catastrophe recoverables for a period of one year from the 

date of the first instance of a liability reserve entry by the 

ceding company as a result of a loss from a catastrophic 

occurrence as recognized by the commissioner. The one year 

deferral period is contingent upon the certified reinsurer 

continuing to pay claims in a timely manner. Reinsurance 

recoverables for only the following lines of business as 

reported on the NAIC annual financial statement related 

specifically to the catastrophic occurrence will be included 

in the deferral: 

a. line 1: fire; 

b. line 2: allied lines; 

c. line 3: farmowners multiple peril; 

d. line 4: homeowners multiple peril; 

e. line 5: commercial multiple peril; 

f. line 9: inland marine; 

g. line 12: earthquake; 

h. line 21: auto physical damage. 

5. Credit for reinsurance under this Section shall apply 

only to reinsurance contracts entered into or renewed on or 

after the effective date of the certification of the assuming 

insurer. Any reinsurance contract entered into prior to the 

effective date of the certification of the assuming insurer that 

is subsequently amended after the effective date of the 

certification of the assuming insurer, or a new reinsurance 

contract, covering any risk for which collateral was provided 

previously, shall only be subject to this section with respect 

to losses incurred and reserves reported from and after the 

effective date of the amendment or new contract.  

6. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the parties to a 

reinsurance agreement from agreeing to provisions 

establishing security requirements that exceed the minimum 

security requirements established for certified reinsurers 

under this Section. 

B. Certification Procedure 

1. The commissioner shall post notice on the 

Department of Insurance website promptly upon receipt of 

any application for certification, including instructions on 

how members of the public may respond to the application. 

The commissioner may not take final action on the 

application until at least 30 days after posting the notice 

required by this Paragraph. 

2. The commissioner shall issue written notice to an 

assuming insurer that has made application and been 

approved as a certified reinsurer. Included in such notice 

shall be the rating assigned the certified reinsurer in 

accordance with §3510.A. The commissioner shall publish a 

list of all certified reinsurers and their ratings.  

3. In order to be eligible for certification, the 

assuming insurer shall meet the following requirements. 

a. The assuming insurer must be domiciled and 

licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in a qualified 

jurisdiction, as determined by the commissioner pursuant to 

§3510.C.  

b. The assuming insurer must maintain capital and 

surplus, or its equivalent, of no less than $250,000,000 

calculated in accordance with §3510.B.4.h. This requirement 

may also be satisfied by an association including 

incorporated and individual unincorporated underwriters 

having minimum capital and surplus equivalents (net of 

liabilities) of at least $250,000,000 and a central fund 

containing a balance of at least $250,000,000. 

c. The assuming insurer must maintain financial 

strength ratings from two or more rating agencies deemed 

acceptable by the commissioner. These ratings shall be based 

on interactive communication between the rating agency and 

the assuming insurer and shall not be based solely on 

publicly available information. These financial strength 

ratings will be one factor used by the commissioner in 

determining the rating that is assigned to the assuming 

insurer. Acceptable rating agencies include the following: 

 i. Standard and Poor’s; 

 ii. Moody’s Investors Service; 

 iii. Fitch Ratings; 

 iv. A.M. Best Company; or 

 v. any other nationally recognized statistical 

rating organization. 

d. The certified reinsurer must comply with any 

other requirements reasonably imposed by the 

commissioner. 

4. Each certified reinsurer shall be rated on a legal 

entity basis, with due consideration being given to the group 

rating where appropriate, except that an association 

including incorporated and individual unincorporated 

underwriters that has been approved to do business as a 

single certified reinsurer may be evaluated on the basis of its 

group rating. The commissioner’s evaluation may consider a 

variety of factors including the following: 

a. the commissioner may consider a reinsurer’s 

financial strength rating from an acceptable rating agency. 

The maximum rating that a certified reinsurer may be 

assigned will correspond to its financial strength rating as 

outlined in the table below. The commissioner shall use the 

lowest financial strength rating received from an approved 

rating agency in establishing the maximum rating of a 

certified reinsurer. A failure to obtain or maintain at least two 

financial strength ratings from acceptable rating agencies 

will result in loss of eligibility for certification.

 

Ratings Best S&P Moody’s Fitch 

Secure-1 A++ AAA Aaa AAA 

Secure-2 A+ AA+, AA, AA- Aa1, Aa2, Aa3 AA+, AA, AA- 

Secure-3 A A+, A A1, A2 A+, A 
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Secure-4 A- A- A3 A- 

Secure-5 B++, B+ BBB+, BBB, BBB- Baa1, Baa2, Baa3 BBB+, BBB, BBB- 

Vulnerable-6 
B, B-C++, C+, 

C, C-, D, E, F 

BB+, BB, BB-, 

B+, B, B-, CCC, CC, C, D, R 

Ba1, Ba2, Ba3, 

B1, B2, B3, Caa, Ca, C 

BB+, BB, BB-, 

B+, B, B-, CCC+, CC, CCC-, DD 

 

b. the commissioner may consider the business 

practices of the reinsurer in dealing with its ceding insurers, 

including its record of compliance with reinsurance 

contractual terms and obligations; 

c. for reinsurers domiciled in the United States, the 

commissioner may review the most recent applicable NAIC 

annual statement blank, either schedule F (for 

property/casualty reinsurers) or schedule S (for life and 

health reinsurers); 

d. for reinsurers not domiciled in the United States, 

the commissioner may review annually Form CR-F (for 

property/casualty reinsurers) or Form CR-S (for life and 

health reinsurers); 

e. the commissioner may consider the reputation of 

the reinsurer for prompt payment of claims under 

reinsurance agreements, based on an analysis of ceding 

insurers’ schedule F reporting of overdue reinsurance 

recoverables, including the proportion of obligations that are 

more than 90 days past due or are in dispute, with specific 

attention given to obligations payable to companies that are 

in administrative supervision or receivership; 

f. the commissioner may consider regulatory 

actions against the reinsurer; 

g. the commissioner may consider the report of the 

independent auditor on the financial statements of the 

insurance enterprise, on the basis described in §3510.B.4.h; 

h. for certified reinsurers not domiciled in the 

United States, the commissioner may consider audited 

financial statements, regulatory filings, and actuarial opinion 

(as filed with the non-United States jurisdiction supervisor, 

with a translation into English). Upon the initial application 

for certification, the commissioner will consider audited 

financial statements for the last two years filed with its non-

United States jurisdiction supervisor; 

i. the liquidation priority of obligations to a ceding 

insurer in the certified reinsurer’s domiciliary jurisdiction in 

the context of an insolvency proceeding; 

j. a certified reinsurer’s participation in any solvent 

scheme of arrangement, or similar procedure, which 

involves United States ceding insurers. The commissioner 

shall receive prior notice from a certified reinsurer that 

proposes participation by the certified reinsurer in a solvent 

scheme of arrangement; and  

k. any other information deemed relevant by the 

commissioner. 

5. Based on the analysis conducted under §3510.B.4.e 

of a certified reinsurer’s reputation for prompt payment of 

claims, the commissioner may make appropriate adjustments 

in the security the certified reinsurer is required to post to 

protect its liabilities to United States ceding insurers, 

provided that the commissioner shall, at a minimum, 

increase the security the certified reinsurer is required to post 

by one rating level under §3510.B.4.a if the commissioner 

finds that: 

a. more than 15 percent of the certified reinsurer’s 

ceding insurance clients have overdue reinsurance 

recoverables on paid losses of 90 days or more which are not 

in dispute and which exceed $100,000 for each cedent; or 

b. the aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverables 

on paid losses which are not in dispute that are overdue by 

90 days or more exceeds $50,000,000. 

6. The assuming insurer must submit a properly 

executed Form CR-1 (§3527.C) as evidence of its 

submission to the jurisdiction of this state, appointment of 

the commissioner as an agent for service of process in this 

state, and agreement to provide security for 100 percent of 

the assuming insurer’s liabilities attributable to reinsurance 

ceded by United States ceding insurers if it resists 

enforcement of a final United States judgment. The 

commissioner shall not certify any assuming insurer that is 

domiciled in a jurisdiction that the commissioner has 

determined does not adequately and promptly enforce final 

United States judgments or arbitration awards. 

7. The certified reinsurer must agree to meet 

applicable information filing requirements as determined by 

the commissioner, both with respect to an initial application 

for certification and on an ongoing basis. All information 

submitted by certified reinsurers which is not otherwise 

exempt from disclosure shall be public under the Public 

Records Law, R.S. 44:1.1 et seq. The applicable information 

filing requirements are, as follows: 

a. notification within 10 days of any regulatory 

actions taken against the certified reinsurer, any change in 

the provisions of its domiciliary license or any change in 

rating by an approved rating agency, including a statement 

describing such changes and the reasons therefore; 

b. annually, Form CR-F or CR-S, as applicable; 

c. annually, the report of the independent auditor on 

the financial statements of the insurance enterprise, on the 

basis described in §3510.B.7.d;  

d. annually, the most recent audited financial 

statements, regulatory filings, and actuarial opinion (as filed 

with the certified reinsurer’s supervisor, with a translation 

into English). Upon the initial certification, audited financial 

statements for the last two years filed with the certified 

reinsurer’s supervisor; 

e. at least annually, an updated list of all disputed 

and overdue reinsurance claims regarding reinsurance 

assumed from United States domestic ceding insurers; 

f. a certification from the certified reinsurer’s 
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domestic regulator that the certified reinsurer is in good 

standing and maintains capital in excess of the jurisdiction’s 

highest regulatory action level; and 

g. any other information that the commissioner may 

reasonably require. 

8. Change in Rating or Revocation of Certification 

a. In the case of a downgrade by a rating agency or 

other disqualifying circumstance, the commissioner shall 

upon written notice assign a new rating to the certified 

reinsurer in accordance with the requirements of 

§3510.B.4.a.  

b. The commissioner shall have the authority to 

suspend, revoke, or otherwise modify a certified reinsurer’s 

certification at any time if the certified reinsurer fails to meet 

its obligations or security requirements under this section, or 

if other financial or operating results of the certified 

reinsurer, or documented significant delays in payment by 

the certified reinsurer, lead the commissioner to reconsider 

the certified reinsurer’s ability or willingness to meet its 

contractual obligations. 

c. If the rating of a certified reinsurer is upgraded 

by the commissioner, the certified reinsurer may meet the 

security requirements applicable to its new rating on a 

prospective basis, but the commissioner shall require the 

certified reinsurer to post security under the previously 

applicable security requirements as to all contracts in force 

on or before the effective date of the upgraded rating. If the 

rating of a certified reinsurer is downgraded by the 

commissioner, the commissioner shall require the certified 

reinsurer to meet the security requirements applicable to its 

new rating for all business it has assumed as a certified 

reinsurer. 

d. Upon revocation of the certification of a certified 

reinsurer by the commissioner, the assuming insurer shall be 

required to post security in accordance with §3515 in order 

for the ceding insurer to continue to take credit for 

reinsurance ceded to the assuming insurer. If funds continue 

to be held in trust in accordance with §3509, the 

commissioner may allow additional credit equal to the 

ceding insurer’s pro rata share of such funds, discounted to 

reflect the risk of uncollectibility and anticipated expenses of 

trust administration. Notwithstanding the change of a 

certified reinsurer’s rating or revocation of its certification, a 

domestic insurer that has ceded reinsurance to that certified 

reinsurer may not be denied credit for reinsurance for a 

period of three months for all reinsurance ceded to that 

certified reinsurer, unless the reinsurance is found by the 

commissioner to be at high risk of uncollectibility. 

C. Qualified Jurisdictions 

1. If, upon conducting an evaluation under this 

Section with respect to the reinsurance supervisory system 

of any non-United States assuming insurer, the 

commissioner determines that the jurisdiction qualifies to be 

recognized as a qualified jurisdiction, the commissioner 

shall publish notice and evidence of such recognition in an 

appropriate manner. The commissioner may establish a 

procedure to withdraw recognition of those jurisdictions that 

are no longer qualified. 

2. In order to determine whether the domiciliary 

jurisdiction of a non-United States assuming insurer is 

eligible to be recognized as a qualified jurisdiction, the 

commissioner shall evaluate the reinsurance supervisory 

system of the non-United States jurisdiction, both initially 

and on an ongoing basis, and consider the rights, benefits 

and the extent of reciprocal recognition afforded by the non-

United States jurisdiction to reinsurers licensed and 

domiciled in the United States. The commissioner shall 

determine the appropriate approach for evaluating the 

qualifications of such jurisdictions, and create and publish a 

list of jurisdictions whose reinsurers may be approved by the 

commissioner as eligible for certification. A qualified 

jurisdiction must agree to share information and cooperate 

with the commissioner with respect to all certified reinsurers 

domiciled within that jurisdiction. Additional factors to be 

considered in determining whether to recognize a qualified 

jurisdiction, in the discretion of the commissioner include, 

but are not limited to, the following: 

a. the framework under which the assuming insurer 

is regulated; 

b. the structure and authority of the domiciliary 

regulator with regard to solvency regulation requirements 

and financial surveillance; 

c. the substance of financial and operating standards 

for assuming insurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction; 

d. the form and substance of financial reports 

required to be filed or made publicly available by reinsurers 

in the domiciliary jurisdiction and the accounting principles 

used; 

e. the domiciliary regulator’s willingness to 

cooperate with United States regulators in general and the 

commissioner in particular; 

f. the history of performance by assuming insurers 

in the domiciliary jurisdiction; 

g. any documented evidence of substantial 

problems with the enforcement of final United States 

judgments in the domiciliary jurisdiction. A jurisdiction will 

not be considered to be a qualified jurisdiction if the 

commissioner has determined that it does not adequately and 

promptly enforce final United States judgments or 

arbitration awards; 

h. any relevant international standards or guidance 

with respect to mutual recognition of reinsurance 

supervision adopted by the International Association of 

Insurance Supervisors or successor organization; 

i. any other matters deemed relevant by the 

commissioner.  

3. A list of qualified jurisdictions shall be published 

through the NAIC committee process. The commissioner 

shall consider this list in determining qualified jurisdictions. 

If the commissioner approves a jurisdiction as qualified that 

does not appear on the list of qualified jurisdictions, the 

commissioner shall provide thoroughly documented 
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justification with respect to the criteria provided under 

§3510.C.2.a-i.  

4. United States jurisdictions that meet the 

requirements for accreditation under the NAIC financial 

standards and accreditation program shall be recognized as 

qualified jurisdictions. 

D. Recognition of Certification Issued by an NAIC 

Accredited Jurisdiction 

1. If an applicant for certification has been certified as a 

reinsurer in an NAIC accredited jurisdiction, the 

commissioner has the discretion to defer to that jurisdiction’s 

certification, and to defer to the rating assigned by that 

jurisdiction, if the assuming insurer submits a properly 

executed Form CR-1 (§3527.C) and such additional 

information as the commissioner requires. The assuming 

insurer shall be considered to be a certified reinsurer in this 

state. 

2. Any change in the certified reinsurer’s status or 

rating in the other jurisdiction shall apply automatically in 

this state as of the date it takes effect in the other 

jurisdiction. The certified reinsurer shall notify the 

commissioner of any change in its status or rating within 10 

days after receiving notice of the change. 

3. The commissioner may withdraw recognition of the 

other jurisdiction’s rating at any time and assign a new rating 

in accordance with §3510.B.7.a. 

4. The commissioner may withdraw recognition of the 

other jurisdiction’s certification at any time, with written 

notice to the certified reinsurer. Unless the commissioner 

suspends or revokes the certified reinsurer’s certification in 

accordance with §3510.B.7.b, the certified reinsurer’s 

certification shall remain in good standing in this state for a 

period of three months, which shall be extended if additional 

time is necessary to consider the assuming insurer’s 

application for certification in this state. 

E. Mandatory Funding Clause. In addition to the clauses 

required under §3523, reinsurance contracts entered into or 

renewed under this section shall include a proper funding 

clause, which requires the certified reinsurer to provide and 

maintain security in an amount sufficient to avoid the 

imposition of any financial statement penalty on the ceding 

insurer under this section for reinsurance ceded to the 

certified reinsurer. 

F. The commissioner shall comply with all reporting and 

notification requirements that may be established by the 

NAIC with respect to certified reinsurers and qualified 

jurisdictions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 39:1811 (July 2013), 

amended LR 47:1313 (September 2021). 

§3511. Credit for Reinsurance—Reciprocal 

Jurisdictions 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:651F, the commissioner shall 

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to 

an assuming insurer that is licensed to write reinsurance by, 

and has its head office or is domiciled in, a reciprocal 

jurisdiction, and which meets the other requirements of this 

regulation. 

B. A “reciprocal jurisdiction” is a jurisdiction, as 

designated by the commissioner pursuant to §3511. D, that 

meets one of the following: 

1. a non-United States jurisdiction that is subject to an 

in-force covered agreement with the United States, each 

within its legal authority, or, in the case of a covered 

agreement between the United States and the European 

Union, is a member state of the European Union. For 

purposes of §3511, a “covered agreement” is an agreement 

entered into pursuant to the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform 

and Consumer Protection Act, 31 U.S.C. §§ 313 and 314, 

that is currently in effect or in a period of provisional 

application and addresses the elimination, under specified 

conditions, of collateral requirements as a condition for 

entering into any reinsurance agreement with a ceding 

insurer domiciled in this state or for allowing the ceding 

insurer to recognize credit for reinsurance;  

2. a United States jurisdiction that meets the 

requirements for accreditation under the NAIC financial 

standards and accreditation program; or 

3. a qualified jurisdiction, as determined by the 

commissioner pursuant to R.S. 22:651E(3) and §3510.C, 

which is not otherwise described in paragraph (1) or (2) 

above and which the commissioner determines meets all of 

the following additional requirements: 

a. provides that an insurer which has its head office 

or is domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction shall receive 

credit for reinsurance ceded to a United States-domiciled 

assuming insurer in the same manner as credit for 

reinsurance is received for reinsurance assumed by insurers 

domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction; 

b. does not require a United States-domiciled 

assuming insurer to establish or maintain a local presence as 

a condition for entering into a reinsurance agreement with 

any ceding insurer subject to regulation by the non-United 

States jurisdiction or as a condition to allow the ceding 

insurer to recognize credit for such reinsurance; 

c. recognizes the United States state regulatory 

approach to group supervision and group capital, by 

providing written confirmation by a competent regulatory 

authority, in such qualified jurisdiction, that insurers and 

insurance groups that are domiciled or maintain their 

headquarters in this state or another jurisdiction accredited 

by the NAIC shall be subject only to worldwide prudential 

insurance group supervision including worldwide group 

governance, solvency and capital, and reporting, as 

applicable, by the commissioner or the commissioner of the 

domiciliary state and will not be subject to group supervision 

at the level of the worldwide parent undertaking of the 

insurance or reinsurance group by the qualified jurisdiction; 

and 

d. provides written confirmation by a competent 

regulatory authority in such qualified jurisdiction that 
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information regarding insurers and their parent, subsidiary, 

or affiliated entities, if applicable, shall be provided to the 

commissioner in accordance with a memorandum of 

understanding or similar document between the 

commissioner and such qualified jurisdiction, including but 

not limited to the International Association of Insurance 

Supervisors Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding or 

other multilateral memoranda of understanding coordinated 

by the NAIC.  

C. Credit shall be allowed when the reinsurance is ceded 

from an insurer domiciled in this state to an assuming 

insurer meeting each of the conditions set forth below.  

1. The assuming insurer must be licensed to transact 

reinsurance by, and have its head office or be domiciled in, a 

reciprocal jurisdiction. 

2. The assuming insurer must have and maintain on an 

ongoing basis minimum capital and surplus, or its 

equivalent, calculated on at least an annual basis as of the 

preceding December 31 or at the annual date otherwise 

statutorily reported to the reciprocal jurisdiction, and 

confirmed as set forth in §3511.C.7 according to the 

methodology of its domiciliary jurisdiction, in the following 

amounts: 

a. no less than $250,000,000; or 

b. if the assuming insurer is an association, 

including incorporated and individual unincorporated 

underwriters:  

 i. minimum capital and surplus equivalents (net 

of liabilities) or own funds of the equivalent of at least 

$250,000,000; and  

 ii. a central fund containing a balance of the 

equivalent of at least $250,000,000. 

3. The assuming insurer must have and maintain on an 

ongoing basis a minimum solvency or capital ratio, as 

applicable, as follows: 

a. if the assuming insurer has its head office or is 

domiciled in a reciprocal jurisdiction as defined in 

§3511.B.1, the ratio specified in the applicable covered 

agreement; 

b. if the assuming insurer is domiciled in a 

reciprocal jurisdiction as defined in §3511.B.2 a risk-based 

capital (RBC) ratio of 300 percent of the authorized control 

level, calculated in accordance with the formula developed 

by the NAIC; or 

c. if the assuming insurer is domiciled in a 

reciprocal jurisdiction as defined in §3511.B.3, after 

consultation with the reciprocal jurisdiction and considering 

any recommendations published through the NAIC 

committee process, such solvency or capital ratio as the 

commissioner determines to be an effective measure of 

solvency. 

4. The assuming insurer must agree to and provide 

adequate assurance, in the form of a properly executed Form 

RJ-1 (§3527.D), of its agreement to the following:  

a. The assuming insurer must agree to provide 

prompt written notice and explanation to the commissioner 

if it falls below the minimum requirements set forth in 

§3511.C.2 or §3511.C.3, or if any regulatory action is taken 

against it for serious noncompliance with applicable law. 

b. The assuming insurer must consent in writing to 

the jurisdiction of the courts of this state and to the 

appointment of the commissioner as agent for service of 

process.  

 i. The commissioner may also require that such 

consent be provided and included in each reinsurance 

agreement under the commissioner’s jurisdiction.  

 ii. Nothing in this provision shall limit or in any 

way alter the capacity of parties to a reinsurance agreement 

to agree to alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, except 

to the extent such agreements are unenforceable under 

applicable insolvency or delinquency laws. 

c. The assuming insurer must consent in writing to 

pay all final judgments, wherever enforcement is sought, 

obtained by a ceding insurer, that have been declared 

enforceable in the territory where the judgment was 

obtained.  

d. Each reinsurance agreement must include a 

provision requiring the assuming insurer to provide security 

in an amount equal to 100 percent of the assuming insurer’s 

liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded pursuant to that 

agreement if the assuming insurer resists enforcement of a 

final judgment that is enforceable under the law of the 

jurisdiction in which it was obtained or a properly 

enforceable arbitration award, whether obtained by the 

ceding insurer or by its legal successor on behalf of its 

estate, if applicable. 

e. The assuming insurer must confirm that it is not 

presently participating in any solvent scheme of 

arrangement, which involves this state’s ceding insurers, and 

agrees to notify the ceding insurer and the commissioner and 

to provide 100 percent security to the ceding insurer 

consistent with the terms of the scheme, should the assuming 

insurer enter into such a solvent scheme of arrangement. 

Such security shall be in a form consistent with the 

provisions of R.S. 22:651(E) and 652 and §§ 3517, 3519 or 

3521 of this regulation. For purposes of this regulation, the 

term solvent scheme of arrangement means a foreign or alien 

statutory or regulatory compromise procedure subject to 

requisite majority creditor approval and judicial sanction in 

the assuming insurer’s home jurisdiction either to finally 

commute liabilities of duly noticed classed members or 

creditors of a solvent debtor, or to reorganize or restructure 

the debts and obligations of a solvent debtor on a final basis, 

and which may be subject to judicial recognition and 

enforcement of the arrangement by a governing authority 

outside the ceding insurer’s home jurisdiction. 

f. The assuming insurer must agree in writing to 

meet the applicable information filing requirements as set 

forth in §3511.C.5. 

5. The assuming insurer or its legal successor must 

provide, if requested by the commissioner, on behalf of itself 
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and any legal predecessors, the following documentation to 

the commissioner: 

a. for the two years preceding entry into the 

reinsurance agreement and on an annual basis thereafter, the 

assuming insurer’s annual audited financial statements, in 

accordance with the applicable law of the jurisdiction of its 

head office or domiciliary jurisdiction, as applicable, 

including the external audit report;  

b. for the two years preceding entry into the 

reinsurance agreement, the solvency and financial condition 

report or actuarial opinion, if filed with the assuming 

insurer’s supervisor;  

c. prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and 

not more than semi-annually thereafter, an updated list of all 

disputed and overdue reinsurance claims outstanding for 90 

days or more, regarding reinsurance assumed from ceding 

insurers domiciled in the United States; and 

d. prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and 

not more than semi-annually thereafter, information 

regarding the assuming insurer’s assumed reinsurance by 

ceding insurer, ceded reinsurance by the assuming insurer, 

and reinsurance recoverable on paid and unpaid losses by the 

assuming insurer to allow for the evaluation of the criteria 

set forth in §3511.C.6.  

6. The assuming insurer must maintain a practice of 

prompt payment of claims under reinsurance agreements. 

The lack of prompt payment will be evidenced if any of the 

following criteria is met:  

a. More than 15 percent of the reinsurance 

recoverables from the assuming insurer are overdue and in 

dispute as reported to the commissioner;  

b. More than 15 percent of the assuming insurer’s 

ceding insurers or reinsurers have overdue reinsurance 

recoverable on paid losses of 90 days or more which are not 

in dispute and which exceed for each ceding insurer 

$100,000, or as otherwise specified in a covered agreement; 

or  

c. The aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverable 

on paid losses which are not in dispute, but are overdue by 

90 days or more, exceeds $50,000,000, or as otherwise 

specified in a covered agreement.  

7. The assuming insurer’s supervisory authority must 

confirm to the commissioner on an annual basis that the 

assuming insurer complies with the requirements set forth in 

§3511.C.2-3. 

8. Nothing in this provision precludes an assuming 

insurer from providing the commissioner with information 

on a voluntary basis.  

D. The commissioner shall timely create and publish a 

list of reciprocal jurisdictions.  

1. A list of reciprocal jurisdictions is published 

through the NAIC committee process. The commissioner’s 

list shall include any reciprocal jurisdiction as defined under 

§3511.B.1-2, and shall consider any other reciprocal 

jurisdiction included on the NAIC list. The commissioner 

may approve a jurisdiction that does not appear on the NAIC 

list of reciprocal jurisdictions as provided by applicable law, 

regulation, or in accordance with criteria published through 

the NAIC committee process. 

2. The commissioner may remove a jurisdiction from 

the list of reciprocal jurisdictions upon a determination that 

the jurisdiction no longer meets one or more of the 

requirements of a reciprocal jurisdiction, as provided by 

applicable law, regulation, or in accordance with a process 

published through the NAIC committee process, except that 

the commissioner shall not remove from the list a reciprocal 

jurisdiction as defined under §3511.B.1-.2. Upon removal of 

a reciprocal jurisdiction from this list credit for reinsurance 

ceded to an assuming insurer domiciled in that jurisdiction 

shall be allowed, if otherwise allowed pursuant to R.S. 

22:651 et seq.  

E. The commissioner shall timely create and publish a 

list of assuming insurers that have satisfied the conditions set 

forth in this section and to which cessions shall be granted 

credit in accordance with this section.  

1. If an NAIC accredited jurisdiction has determined 

that the conditions set forth in §3511.C have been met, the 

commissioner has the discretion to defer to that jurisdiction’s 

determination, and add such assuming insurer to the list of 

assuming insurers to which cessions shall be granted credit 

in accordance with this subsection. The commissioner may 

accept financial documentation filed with another NAIC 

accredited jurisdiction or with the NAIC in satisfaction of 

the requirements of §3511.C. 

2. When requesting that the commissioner defer to 

another NAIC accredited jurisdiction’s determination, an 

assuming insurer must submit a properly executed Form RJ-

1 (§3527.D) and additional information as the commissioner 

may require. A state that has received such a request will 

notify other states through the NAIC committee process and 

provide relevant information with respect to the 

determination of eligibility. 

F. If the commissioner determines that an assuming 

insurer no longer meets one or more of the requirements 

under this section, the commissioner may revoke or suspend 

the eligibility of the assuming insurer for recognition under 

this section.  

1. While an assuming insurer’s eligibility is 

suspended, no reinsurance agreement issued, amended or 

renewed after the effective date of the suspension qualifies 

for credit except to the extent that the assuming insurer’s 

obligations under the contract are secured in accordance 

with §3515. 

2. If an assuming insurer’s eligibility is revoked, no 

credit for reinsurance may be granted after the effective date 

of the revocation with respect to any reinsurance agreements 

entered into by the assuming insurer, including reinsurance 

agreements entered into prior to the date of revocation, 

except to the extent that the assuming insurer’s obligations 

under the contract are secured in a form acceptable to the 

commissioner and consistent with the provisions of §3515. 
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G. Before denying statement credit or imposing a 

requirement to post security with respect to §3511.F or 

adopting any similar requirement that will have substantially 

the same regulatory impact as security, the commissioner 

shall: 

1. communicate with the ceding insurer, the assuming 

insurer, and the assuming insurer’s supervisory authority that 

the assuming insurer no longer satisfies one of the conditions 

listed in §3511.C; 

2. provide the assuming insurer with 30 days from the 

initial communication to submit a plan to remedy the defect, 

and 90 days from the initial communication to remedy the 

defect, except in exceptional circumstances in which a 

shorter period is necessary for policyholder and other 

consumer protection;  

3. after the expiration of 90 days or less, as set out in 

§3511.G.2, if the commissioner determines that no or 

insufficient action was taken by the assuming insurer, the 

commissioner may impose any of the requirements as set out 

in this Subsection; and  

4. provide a written explanation to the assuming 

insurer of any of the requirements set out in this Subsection. 

H. If subject to a legal process of rehabilitation, 

liquidation or conservation, as applicable, the ceding insurer, 

or its representative, may seek and, if determined 

appropriate by the court in which the proceedings are 

pending, may obtain an order requiring that the assuming 

insurer post security for all outstanding liabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1314 (September 

2021). 

§3513. Credit for Reinsurance Required by Law 

[Formerly §3511] 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:651(G), the commissioner shall 

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to 

an assuming insurer not meeting the requirements of R.S. 

22:651(B), (C), (D), (E) or (F) but only as to the insurance of 

risks located in jurisdictions where the reinsurance is 

required by the applicable law or regulation of that 

jurisdiction. As used in §3513: 

Jurisdictionstate, district or territory of the United 

States and any lawful national government. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1815 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1317 

(September 2021). 

§3515. Reduction from Liability for Reinsurance Ceded 

to an Unauthorized Assuming Insurer  

[Formerly §3513] 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:652, the commissioner shall allow 

a reduction from liability for reinsurance ceded by a 

domestic insurer to an assuming insurer not meeting the 

requirements of R.S. 22:651 in an amount not exceeding the 

liabilities carried by the ceding insurer. The reduction shall 

be in the amount of funds held by or on behalf of the ceding 

insurer, including funds held in trust for the exclusive benefit 

of the ceding insurer, under a reinsurance contract with such 

assuming insurer as security for the payment of obligations 

under the reinsurance contract. The security shall be held in 

the United States subject to withdrawal solely by, and under 

the exclusive control of, the ceding insurer or, in the case of 

a trust, held in a qualified United States financial institution 

as defined in R.S. 22:653(B). This security may be in the 

form of any of the following: 

1. cash; 

2. securities listed by the Securities Valuation Office 

of the NAIC, including those deemed exempt from filing as 

defined by the purposes and procedures manual of the 

Securities and Valuation Office, and qualifying as admitted 

assets; 

3. clean, irrevocable, unconditional and evergreen 

letters of credit issued or confirmed by a qualified United 

States financial institution, as defined in R.S. 22:653(A), 

effective no later than December 31 of the year for which 

filing is being made, and in the possession of, or in trust for, 

the ceding insurer on or before the filing date of its annual 

statement. Letters of credit meeting applicable standards of 

issuer acceptability as of the dates of their issuance (or 

confirmation) shall, notwithstanding the issuing (or 

confirming) institution’s subsequent failure to meet 

applicable standards of issuer acceptability, continue to be 

acceptable as security until their expiration, extension, 

renewal, modification or amendment, whichever first occurs; 

or 

4. any other form of security acceptable to the 

commissioner. 

B. An admitted asset or a reduction from liability for 

reinsurance ceded to an unauthorized assuming insurer 

pursuant to §3515.A shall be allowed only when the 

requirements of §3523 and the applicable portions of 

§§3517, 3519 or 3521 have been satisfied. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1815 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1317 

(Septemebr 2021). 

§3517. Trust Agreements Qualified under §3515 

[Formerly §3515] 

A. As used in §3517: 

Beneficiary―the entity for whose sole benefit the trust 

has been established and any successor of the beneficiary by 

operation of law. If a court of law appoints a successor in 

interest to the named beneficiary, then the named beneficiary 

includes, and is limited to, the court appointed domiciliary 

receiver (including conservator, rehabilitator, or liquidator). 

Grantor―the entity that has established a trust for the 

sole benefit of the beneficiary. When established in 
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conjunction with a reinsurance agreement, the grantor is the 

unlicensed, unaccredited assuming insurer. 

Obligations―as used in §3517.B.11, means: 

a. reinsured losses and allocated loss expenses paid 

by the ceding company, but not recovered from the assuming 

insurer;  

b. reserves for reinsured losses reported and 

outstanding;  

c. reserves for reinsured losses incurred but not 

reported; and  

d. reserves for allocated reinsured loss expenses and 

unearned premiums. 

B. Required Conditions 

1. The trust agreement shall be entered into between 

the beneficiary, the grantor and a trustee, which shall be a 

qualified United States financial institution as defined in 

R.S. 22:653(B). 

2. The trust agreement shall create a trust account into 

which assets shall be deposited. 

3. All assets in the trust account shall be held by the 

trustee at the trustee’s office in the United States. 

4. The trust agreement shall provide that: 

a. the beneficiary shall have the right to withdraw 

assets from the trust account at any time, without notice to 

the grantor, subject only to written notice from the 

beneficiary to the trustee; 

b. no other statement or document is required to be 

presented to withdraw assets, except that the beneficiary 

may be required to acknowledge receipt of withdrawn 

assets; 

c. it is not subject to any conditions or 

qualifications outside of the trust agreement; and 

d. it shall not contain references to any other 

agreements or documents except as provided for in 

§3517.B.11-12. 

5. The trust agreement shall be established for the sole 

benefit of the beneficiary. 

6. The trust agreement shall require the trustee to: 

a. receive assets and hold all assets in a safe place; 

b. determine that all assets are in such form that the 

beneficiary, or the trustee upon direction by the beneficiary, 

may whenever necessary negotiate any such assets, without 

consent or signature from the grantor or any other person or 

entity; 

c. furnish to the grantor and the beneficiary a 

statement of all assets in the trust account upon its inception 

and at intervals no less frequent than the end of each 

calendar quarter; 

d. notify the grantor and the beneficiary within 10 

days, of any deposits to or withdrawals from the trust 

account; 

e. upon written demand of the beneficiary, 

immediately take any and all steps necessary to transfer 

absolutely and unequivocally all right, title and interest in 

the assets held in the trust account to the beneficiary and 

deliver physical custody of the assets to the beneficiary; and 

f. allow no substitutions or withdrawals of assets 

from the trust account, except on written instructions from 

the beneficiary, except that the trustee may, without the 

consent of but with notice to the beneficiary, upon call or 

maturity of any trust asset, withdraw such asset upon 

condition that the proceeds are paid into the trust account. 

7. The trust agreement shall provide that at least 30 

days, but not more than 45 days, prior to termination of the 

trust account, written notification of termination shall be 

delivered by the trustee to the beneficiary. 

8. The trust agreement shall be made subject to and 

governed by the laws of the state in which the trust is 

domiciled. 

9. The trust agreement shall prohibit invasion of the 

trust corpus for the purpose of paying commission to, or 

reimbursing the expenses of, the trustee. In order for a letter 

of credit to qualify as an asset of the trust, the trustee shall 

have the right and the obligation pursuant to the deed of trust 

or some other binding agreement (as duly approved by the 

commissioner), to immediately draw down the full amount 

of the letter of credit and hold the proceeds in trust for the 

beneficiaries of the trust if the letter of credit will otherwise 

expire without being renewed or replaced. 

10. The trust agreement shall provide that the trustee 

shall be liable for its negligence, willful misconduct or lack 

of good faith. The failure of the trustee to draw against the 

letter of credit in circumstances where such draw would be 

required shall be deemed to be negligence and/or willful 

misconduct. 

11. Notwithstanding other provisions of this regulation, 

when a trust agreement is established in conjunction with a 

reinsurance agreement covering risks other than life, 

annuities and accident and health, where it is customary 

practice to provide a trust agreement for a specific purpose, 

the trust agreement may provide that the ceding insurer shall 

undertake to use and apply amounts drawn upon the trust 

account, without diminution because of the insolvency of the 

ceding insurer or the assuming insurer, only for the 

following purposes: 

a. to pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for the 

assuming insurer’s share under the specific reinsurance 

agreement regarding any losses and allocated loss expenses 

paid by the ceding insurer, but not recovered from the 

assuming insurer, or for unearned premiums due to the 

ceding insurer if not otherwise paid by the assuming insurer; 

b. to make payment to the assuming insurer of any 

amounts held in the trust account that exceed 102 percent of 

the actual amount required to fund the assuming insurer’s 

obligations under the specific reinsurance agreement; or 

c. where the ceding insurer has received notification 

of termination of the trust account and where the assuming 
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insurer’s entire obligations under the specific reinsurance 

agreement remain unliquidated and undischarged 10 days 

prior to the termination date, to withdraw amounts equal to 

the obligations and deposit those amounts in a separate 

account, in the name of the ceding insurer in any qualified 

United States financial institution as defined in R.S. 

22:653(B) apart from its general assets, in trust for such uses 

and purposes specified in §3517.B.11.a-b as may remain 

executory after such withdrawal and for any period after the 

termination date. 

12. Notwithstanding other provisions of this regulation, 

when a trust agreement is established to meet the 

requirements of §3515 in conjunction with a reinsurance 

agreement covering life, annuities or accident and health 

risks, where it is customary to provide a trust agreement for 

a specific purpose, the trust agreement may provide that the 

ceding insurer shall undertake to use and apply amounts 

drawn upon the trust account, without diminution because of 

the insolvency of the ceding insurer or the assuming insurer, 

only for the following purposes: 

a. to pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for: 

 i. the assuming insurer’s share under the specific 

reinsurance agreement of premiums returned, but not yet 

recovered from the assuming insurer, to the owners of 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement on 

account of cancellations of the policies; and 

 ii. the assuming insurer’s share under the specific 

reinsurance agreement of surrenders and benefits or losses 

paid by the ceding insurer, but not yet recovered from the 

assuming insurer, under the terms and provisions of the 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement; 

b. to pay to the assuming insurer amounts held in 

the trust account in excess of the amount necessary to secure 

the credit or reduction from liability for reinsurance taken by 

the ceding insurer; or 

c. where the ceding insurer has received notification 

of termination of the trust and where the assuming insurer’s 

entire obligations under the specific reinsurance agreement 

remain unliquidated and undischarged 10 days prior to the 

termination date, to withdraw amounts equal to the assuming 

insurer’s share of liabilities, to the extent that the liabilities 

have not yet been funded by the assuming insurer, and 

deposit those amounts in a separate account, in the name of 

the ceding insurer in any qualified United States financial 

institution apart from its general assets, in trust for the uses 

and purposes specified in §3517.B.12.a-b as may remain 

executory after withdrawal and for any period after the 

termination date. 

13. Either the reinsurance agreement or the trust 

agreement must stipulate that assets deposited in the trust 

account shall be valued according to their current fair market 

value and shall consist only of cash in United States dollars, 

certificates of deposit issued by a United States bank and 

payable in United States dollars, and investments permitted 

by the Louisiana Insurance Code or any combination of the 

above, provided investments in or issued by an entity 

controlling, controlled by or under common control with 

either the grantor or the beneficiary of the trust shall not 

exceed 5 percent of total investments. The agreement may 

further specify the types of investments to be deposited. If 

the reinsurance agreement covers life, annuities or accident 

and health risks, then the provisions required by this 

paragraph must be included in the reinsurance agreement. 

C. Permitted Conditions 

1. The trust agreement may provide that the trustee 

may resign upon delivery of a written notice of resignation, 

effective not less than 90 days after the beneficiary and 

grantor receive the notice and that the trustee may be 

removed by the grantor by delivery to the trustee and the 

beneficiary of a written notice of removal, effective not less 

than 90 days after the trustee and the beneficiary receive the 

notice, provided that no such resignation or removal shall be 

effective until a successor trustee has been duly appointed 

and approved by the beneficiary and the grantor and all 

assets in the trust have been duly transferred to the new 

trustee. 

2. The grantor may have the full and unqualified right 

to vote any shares of stock in the trust account and to receive 

from time to time payments of any dividends or interest 

upon any shares of stock or obligations included in the trust 

account. Any interest or dividends shall be either forwarded 

promptly upon receipt to the grantor or deposited in a 

separate account established in the grantor’s name. 

3. The trustee may be given authority to invest, and 

accept substitutions of, any funds in the account, provided 

that no investment or substitution shall be made without 

prior approval of the beneficiary, unless the trust agreement 

specifies categories of investments acceptable to the 

beneficiary and authorizes the trustee to invest funds and to 

accept substitutions that the trustee determines are at least 

equal in current fair market value to the assets withdrawn 

and that are consistent with the restrictions in §3517.D.1.b. 

4. The trust agreement may provide that the 

beneficiary may at any time designate a party to which all or 

part of the trust assets are to be transferred. Transfer may be 

conditioned upon the trustee receiving, prior to or 

simultaneously, other specified assets. 

5. The trust agreement may provide that, upon 

termination of the trust account, all assets not previously 

withdrawn by the beneficiary shall, with written approval by 

the beneficiary, be delivered over to the grantor. 

D. Additional Conditions Applicable to Reinsurance 

Agreements 

1. A reinsurance agreement may contain provisions 

that: 

a. require the assuming insurer to enter into a trust 

agreement and to establish a trust account for the benefit of 

the ceding insurer, and specifying what the agreement is to 

cover; 

b. require the assuming insurer, prior to depositing 

assets with the trustee, to execute assignments or 

endorsements in blank, or to transfer legal title to the trustee 

of all shares, obligations or any other assets requiring 
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assignments, in order that the ceding insurer, or the trustee 

upon the direction of the ceding insurer, may whenever 

necessary negotiate these assets without consent or signature 

from the assuming insurer or any other entity; 

c. require that all settlements of account between 

the ceding insurer and the assuming insurer be made in cash 

or its equivalent; and 

d. stipulate that the assuming insurer and the ceding 

insurer agree that the assets in the trust account, established 

pursuant to the provisions of the reinsurance agreement, may 

be withdrawn by the ceding insurer at any time, 

notwithstanding any other provisions in the reinsurance 

agreement, and shall be utilized and applied by the ceding 

insurer or its successors in interest by operation of law, 

including without limitation any liquidator, rehabilitator, 

receiver or conservator of such company, without diminution 

because of insolvency on the part of the ceding insurer or the 

assuming insurer, only for the following purposes: 

 i. to pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for: 

(a). the assuming insurer’s share under the 

specific reinsurance agreement of premiums returned, but 

not yet recovered from the assuming insurer, to the owners 

of policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement 

because of cancellations of such policies; 

(b). the assuming insurer’s share of surrenders 

and benefits or losses paid by the ceding insurer pursuant to 

the provisions of the policies reinsured under the reinsurance 

agreement; and 

(c). any other amounts necessary to secure the 

credit or reduction from liability for reinsurance taken by the 

ceding insurer; 

 ii. to make payment to the assuming insurer of 

amounts held in the trust account in excess of the amount 

necessary to secure the credit or reduction from liability for 

reinsurance taken by the ceding insurer. 

2. The reinsurance agreement also may contain 

provisions that: 

a. give the assuming insurer the right to seek 

approval from the ceding insurer, which shall not be 

unreasonably or arbitrarily withheld, to withdraw from the 

trust account all or any part of the trust assets and transfer 

those assets to the assuming insurer, provided: 

 i. the assuming insurer shall, at the time of 

withdrawal, replace the withdrawn assets with other 

qualified assets having a current fair market value equal to 

the market value of the assets withdrawn so as to maintain at 

all times the deposit in the required amount; or 

 ii. after withdrawal and transfer, the current fair 

market value of the trust account is no less than 102 percent 

of the required amount; 

b. provide for the return of any amount withdrawn 

in excess of the actual amounts required for §3517.D.1.e and 

interest payments at a rate not in excess of the prime rate of 

interest on such amounts; 

c. permit the award by any arbitration panel or court 

of competent jurisdiction of: 

 i. interest at a rate different from that provided in 

§3517.D.2.b; 

 ii. court or arbitration costs; 

 iii. attorney’s fees; and 

 iv. any other reasonable expenses. 

E. A trust agreement may be used to reduce any liability 

for reinsurance ceded to an unauthorized assuming insurer in 

financial statements required to be filed with this department 

in compliance with the provisions of this regulation when 

established on or before the date of filing of the financial 

statement of the ceding insurer. Further, the reduction for the 

existence of an acceptable trust account may be up to the 

current fair market value of acceptable assets available to be 

withdrawn from the trust account at that time, but such 

reduction shall be no greater than the specific obligations 

under the reinsurance agreement that the trust account was 

established to secure. 

F. Notwithstanding the effective date of this regulation, 

any trust agreement or underlying reinsurance agreement in 

existence prior to September 1, 2013 will continue to be 

acceptable until August 30, 2014, after which date the 

agreements will have to fully comply with this regulation for 

the trust agreement to be acceptable. 

G. The failure of any trust agreement to specifically 

identify the beneficiary as defined in §3517.A shall not be 

construed to affect any actions or rights that the 

commissioner may take or possess pursuant to the provisions 

of the laws of this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1816 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1317 

(September 2021). 

§3519. Letters of Credit Qualified under §3515  

[Formerly §3517] 

A. The letter of credit must be clean, irrevocable, 

unconditional and issued or confirmed by a qualified United 

States financial institution as defined in R.S. 22:653(A). The 

letter of credit shall contain an issue date and expiration date 

and shall stipulate that the beneficiary need only draw a 

sight draft under the letter of credit and present it to obtain 

funds and that no other document need be presented. The 

letter of credit also shall indicate that it is not subject to any 

condition or qualifications outside of the letter of credit. In 

addition, the letter of credit itself shall not contain reference 

to any other agreements, documents or entities, except as 

provided in §3519.H.1. As used in §3519: 

Beneficiarythe domestic insurer for whose benefit the 

letter of credit has been established and any successor of the 

beneficiary by operation of law. If a court of law appoints a 

successor in interest to the named beneficiary, then the 

named beneficiary includes, and is limited to, the court 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 261 

appointed domiciliary receiver (including conservator, 

rehabilitator, or liquidator). 

B. The heading of the letter of credit may include a 

boxed section containing the name of the applicant and other 

appropriate notations to provide a reference for the letter of 

credit. The boxed section shall be clearly marked to indicate 

that such information is for internal identification purposes 

only. 

C. The letter of credit shall contain a statement to the 

effect that the obligation of the qualified United States 

financial institution under the letter of credit is in no way 

contingent upon reimbursement with respect thereto. 

D. The term of the letter of credit shall be for at least one 

year and shall contain an “evergreen clause” that prevents 

the expiration of the letter of credit without due notice from 

the issuer. The “evergreen clause” shall provide for a period 

of no less than 30 days notice prior to expiration date or 

nonrenewal. 

E. The letter of credit shall state whether it is subject to 

and governed by the laws of this state or the Uniform 

Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits of the 

International Chamber of Commerce Publication 600 (UCP 

600) or International Standby Practices of the International 

Chamber of Commerce Publication 590 (ISP98), or any 

successor publication, and all drafts drawn thereunder shall 

be presentable at an office in the United States of a qualified 

United States financial institution. 

F. If the letter of credit is made subject to the Uniform 

Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits of the 

International Chamber of Commerce Publication 600 (UCP 

600) International Standby Practices of the International 

Chamber of Commerce Publication 590 (ISP98) or any 

successor publication, then the letter of credit shall 

specifically address and provide for an extension of time to 

draw against the letter of credit in the event that one or more 

of the occurrences specified in Article 36 of Publication 600 

or any other successor publication, occur. 

G. If the letter of credit is issued by a financial institution 

authorized to issue letters of credit, other than a qualified 

United States financial institution as described in §3519.A, 

then the following additional requirements shall be met: 

1. the issuing financial institution shall formally 

designate the confirming qualified United States financial 

institution as its agent for the receipt and payment of the 

drafts; and 

2. the “evergreen clause” shall provide for 30 days 

notice prior to expiration date for nonrenewal. 

H. Reinsurance Agreement Provisions 

1. The reinsurance agreement in conjunction with 

which the letter of credit is obtained may contain provisions 

that: 

a. require the assuming insurer to provide letters of 

credit to the ceding insurer and specify what they are to 

cover; 

b. stipulate that the assuming insurer and ceding 

insurer agree that the letter of credit provided by the 

assuming insurer pursuant to the provisions of the 

reinsurance agreement may be drawn upon at any time, 

notwithstanding any other provisions in the agreement, and 

shall be utilized by the ceding insurer or its successors in 

interest only for one or more of the following reasons: 

 i. to pay or reimburse the ceding insurer for: 

(a). the assuming insurer’s share under the 

specific reinsurance agreement of premiums returned, but 

not yet recovered from the assuming insurers, to the owners 

of policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement on 

account of cancellations of such policies; 

(b). the assuming insurer’s share, under the 

specific reinsurance agreement, of surrenders and benefits or 

losses paid by the ceding insurer, but not yet recovered from 

the assuming insurers, under the terms and provisions of the 

policies reinsured under the reinsurance agreement; and 

(c). any other amounts necessary to secure the 

credit or reduction from liability for reinsurance taken by the 

ceding insurer; 

 ii. where the letter of credit will expire without 

renewal or be reduced or replaced by a letter of credit for a 

reduced amount and where the assuming insurer’s entire 

obligations under the reinsurance agreement remain 

unliquidated and undischarged 10 days prior to the 

termination date, to withdraw amounts equal to the assuming 

insurer’s share of the liabilities, to the extent that the 

liabilities have not yet been funded by the assuming insurer 

and exceed the amount of any reduced or replacement letter 

of credit, and deposit those amounts in a separate account in 

the name of the ceding insurer in a qualified United States 

financial institution apart from its general assets, in trust for 

such uses and purposes specified in §3519.H.1.b.i as may 

remain after withdrawal and for any period after the 

termination date; 

c. all of the provisions of §3519.H.1 shall be 

applied without diminution because of insolvency on the 

part of the ceding insurer or assuming insurer. 

2. Nothing contained §3519.H.1 shall preclude the 

ceding insurer and assuming insurer from providing for: 

a. an interest payment, at a rate not in excess of the 

prime rate of interest, on the amounts held pursuant to 

§3519.H.1.b; or 

b. the return of any amounts drawn down on the 

letters of credit in excess of the actual amounts required for 

the above or any amounts that are subsequently determined 

not to be due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1818 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1320 

(September 2021). 

§3521. Other Security  

[Formerly §3519] 
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A. A ceding insurer may take credit for unencumbered 

funds withheld by the ceding insurer in the United States 

subject to withdrawal solely by the ceding insurer and under 

its exclusive control.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1819 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1321 

(September 2021). 

§3523. Reinsurance Contract  

[Formerly §3521] 

A. Credit will not be granted, nor an asset or reduction 

from liability allowed, to a ceding insurer for reinsurance 

effected with assuming insurers meeting the requirements of 

§§3505, 3507, 3509, 3510, or 3513 or otherwise in 

compliance with R.S. 22:651 after the adoption of this 

regulation unless the reinsurance agreement includes: 

1. a proper insolvency clause, which stipulates that 

reinsurance is payable directly to the liquidator or successor 

without diminution regardless of the status of the ceding 

company, pursuant to R.S. 22:651(I)(2); 

2. a provision pursuant to R.S. 22:651(H)(1)(a)(i) 

whereby the assuming insurer, if an unauthorized assuming 

insurer, has submitted to the jurisdiction of the alternative 

dispute resolution panel or court of competent jurisdiction 

within the United States, has agreed to comply with all 

requirements necessary to give the court or panel 

jurisdiction, has designated an agent upon whom service of 

process may be effected, and has agreed to abide by the final 

decision of the court or panel; and  

3. a proper reinsurance intermediary clause, if 

applicable, which stipulates that the credit risk for the 

intermediary is carried by the assuming insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1819 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1321 

(September 2021). 

§3525. Agreements Requiring Approval  

[Formerly §3523] 

A. The following kinds of reinsurance agreements shall 

not be entered into by any domestic insurer unless they are 

first submitted to the commissioner of insurance for his 

written approval, who shall approve the same if the terms 

thereof do not injuriously affect the rights of policyholders 

of any of the insurers parties thereto: 

1. agreements of reinsurance of any life insurer other 

than agreements made in the ordinary course of business 

covering reinsurance of individual lives or joint lives under 

reinsurance agreements relating to current business; or 

2. agreements whereby any insurer, other than a life 

insurer, cedes any existing outstanding reserves to an insurer 

not authorized to transact business in this state, or cedes to 

any insurer or insurers at one time, or during a period of six 

consecutive months more than 20 percent of the total amount 

of its outstanding reserves, not including in either case 

premiums ceded by agreements made in the ordinary course 

of business covering the reinsurance of individual risks 

under reinsurance relating to current business. 

B. If the commissioner of insurance refuses to approve 

any such agreement submitted for his approval, he shall 

grant the insurer a hearing upon request. 

C. In addition to the requirements of §3525.A, the 

commissioner may require that any reinsurance agreement 

must be approved, in writing, by the commissioner when the 

agreement is between a Louisiana domestic insurer and a 

nonadmitted or unauthorized assuming insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1819 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1321 

(September 2021). 

§3527. Contracts Affected  

[Formerly §3525] 

A. All new and renewal reinsurance transactions entered 

into after December 31, 2013 shall conform to the 

requirements of the Act and this regulation if credit is to be 

given to the ceding insurer for such reinsurance. 

B. Form AR-1 

FORM AR-1 

CERTIFICATE OF ASSUMING INSURER 

I______________________________, _____________________________ 

 (name of officer) (title of officer) 

of 

______________________________, _____________________________ 

 (“Assuming Insurer”), the (name of assuming insurer) 

assuming insurer under a reinsurance agreement with one or more insurers 

domiciled in Louisiana, hereby certify that Assuming Insurer: 

1. Submits to the jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction in 
Louisiana for the adjudication of any issues arising out of the reinsurance 

agreement, agrees to comply with all requirements necessary to give such 

court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision of such court or any 
appellate court in the event of an appeal. Nothing in this paragraph 

constitutes or should be understood to constitute a waiver of Assuming 

Insurer’s rights to commence an action in any court of competent 
jurisdiction in the United States, to remove an action to a United States 

District Court, or to seek a transfer of a case to another court as permitted 

by the laws of the United States or of any state in the United States. This 
paragraph is not intended to conflict with or override the obligation of the 

parties to the reinsurance agreement to arbitrate their disputes if such an 

obligation is created in the agreement. 

2. Designates the Commissioner of Insurance of Louisiana as its lawful 

attorney upon whom may be served any lawful process in any action, suit or 

proceeding arising out of the reinsurance agreement instituted by or on 

behalf of the ceding insurer. 

3. Submits to the authority of the Commissioner of Insurance of 
Louisiana to examine its books and records and agrees to bear the expense 

of any such examination. 

4. Submits with this form a current list of insurers domiciled in 
Louisiana reinsured by Assuming Insurer and undertakes to submit 

additions to or deletions from the list to the Insurance Commissioner at least 

once per calendar quarter. 
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Dated: ___________   __________________________________________ 

 (name of assuming insurer) 

BY: _______________________   _______________________________ 

 (name of officer) (title of officer) 

 

C. Form CR-1 

FORM CR-1 

CERTIFICATE OF CERTIFIED REINSURER 

I______________________________, _____________________________ 

 (name of officer) (title of officer) 

of 

______________________________, _____________________________ 

 (“Assuming Insurer”), the (name of assuming insurer) 

assuming insurer under a reinsurance agreement with one or more insurers 

domiciled in Louisiana, in order to be considered for approval in Louisiana, 

hereby certify that Assuming Insurer: 

1. Submits to the jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction in 

Louisiana for the adjudication of any issues arising out of the reinsurance 
agreement, agrees to comply with all requirements necessary to give such 

court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision of such court or any 

appellate court in the event of an appeal. Nothing in this paragraph 
constitutes or should be understood to constitute a waiver of Assuming 

Insurer’s rights to commence an action in any court of competent 

jurisdiction in the United States, to remove an action to a United States 
District Court, or to seek a transfer of a case to another court as permitted 

by the laws of the United States or of any state in the United States. This 

paragraph is not intended to conflict with or override the obligation of the 
parties to the reinsurance agreement to arbitrate their disputes if such an 

obligation is created in the agreement. 

2. Designates the Commissioner of Insurance of Louisiana as its lawful 
attorney upon whom may be served any lawful process in any action, suit or 

proceeding arising out of the reinsurance agreement instituted by or on 

behalf of the ceding insurer. 

3. Agrees to provide security in an amount equal to 100 percent of 

liabilities attributable to United States ceding insurers if it resists 

enforcement of a final United States judgment or properly enforceable 

arbitration award. 

4. Agrees to provide notification within 10 days of any regulatory 

actions taken against it, any change in the provisions of its domiciliary 
license or any change in its rating by an approved rating agency, including a 

statement describing such changes and the reasons therefore. 

5. Agrees to annually file information comparable to relevant 
provisions of the NAIC financial statement for use by insurance markets in 

accordance with LAC 37:XIII.3510.B.7.d.  

6. Agrees to annually file the report of the independent auditor on the 

financial statements of the insurance enterprise. 

7. Agrees to annually file audited financial statements, regulatory 

filings, and actuarial opinion in accordance with LAC 37:XIII.3510.B.7.d. 

8. Agrees to annually file an updated list of all disputed and overdue 

reinsurance claims regarding reinsurance assumed from United States 

domestic ceding insurers. 

9. Is in good standing as an insurer or reinsurer with the supervisor of 

its domiciliary jurisdiction. 

 

Dated: ___________   __________________________________________ 

 (name of assuming insurer) 

BY: _______________________   _______________________________ 

 (name of officer) (title of officer) 

 

D. Form RJ-1 

FORM RJ-1 

CERTIFICATE OF REINSURER DOMICILED  

IN RECIPROCAL JURISDICTION 

I______________________________, _____________________________ 

 (name of officer) (title of officer) 

of _______________________________________________, the assuming  

(name of assuming insurer) 

insurer under a reinsurance agreement with one or more insurers domiciled  

in _________________, in order to be considered for approval in this state, 

 (name of state) 

hereby certify that ___________________________ (“Assuming Insurer”): 

 (name of assuming insurer) 

 
1. Submits to the jurisdiction of any court of competent jurisdiction in 

Louisiana for the adjudication of any issues arising out of the reinsurance 

agreement, agrees to comply with all requirements necessary to give such 
court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision of such court or any 

appellate court in the event of an appeal. The assuming insurer agrees that it 

will include such consent in each reinsurance agreement, if requested by the 
commissioner. Nothing in this paragraph constitutes or should be 

understood to constitute a waiver of assuming insurer’s rights to commence 

an action in any court of competent jurisdiction in the United States, to 
remove an action to a United States District Court, or to seek a transfer of a 

case to another court as permitted by the laws of the United States or of any 

state in the United States. This paragraph is not intended to conflict with or 
override the obligation of the parties to the reinsurance agreement to 

arbitrate their disputes if such an obligation is created in the agreement, 

except to the extent such agreements are unenforceable under applicable 

insolvency or delinquency laws. 

2. Designates the Insurance Commissioner of Louisiana as its lawful 
attorney upon whom may be served any lawful process in any action, suit or 

proceeding in this state arising out of the reinsurance agreement instituted 

by or on behalf of the ceding insurer.  

3. Agrees to pay all final judgments, wherever enforcement is sought, 

obtained by a ceding insurer, that have been declared enforceable in the 

territory where the judgment was obtained.  

4. Agrees to provide prompt written notice and explanation if it falls 

below the minimum capital and surplus or capital or surplus ratio, or if any 

regulatory action is taken against it for serious noncompliance with 

applicable law. 

5. Confirms that it is not presently participating in any solvent scheme 

of arrangement, which involves insurers domiciled in Louisiana. If the 
assuming insurer enters into such an arrangement, the assuming insurer 

agrees to notify the ceding insurer and the commissioner, and to provide 

100% security to the ceding insurer consistent with the terms of the scheme. 

6. Agrees that in each reinsurance agreement it will provide security in 

an amount equal to 100% of the assuming insurer’s liabilities attributable to 

reinsurance ceded pursuant to that agreement if the assuming insurer resists 

enforcement of a final United States judgment, that is enforceable under the 

law of the territory in which it was obtained, or a properly enforceable 

arbitration award whether obtained by the ceding insurer or by its resolution 

estate, if applicable. 

7. Agrees to provide the documentation in accordance with §3511.C.5, 

if requested by the commissioner. 

 

Dated: ___________   __________________________________________ 

 (name of assuming insurer) 

BY: _______________________   _______________________________ 

 (name of officer) (title of officer) 
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E. Form CR-F 

Form CR-F - PART 1 

Assumed Reinsurance as of December 31, Current Year (000 Omitted) 

 

 

 

Form CR-F – PART 2 

Ceded Reinsurance as of December 31, Current Year (000 Omitted) 
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F. Form CR-S 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Sections 2(E), 11, 651 and 661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995), amended LR 39:1820 (July 2013), amended LR 47:1321 

(September 2021). 

Chapter 37. Regulation 57―Life and 

Health Reinsurance Agreements 

§3701. Preamble 

A. The Department of Insurance recognizes that insurers 

possessing a certificate of authority routinely enter into 

reinsurance agreements that yield legitimate relief to the 

ceding insurer from strain to surplus. 

B. However, it is improper for an insurer possessing a 

certificate of authority in the capacity of ceding insurer, to 

enter into reinsurance agreements for the principal purpose 

of producing significant surplus aid for the ceding insurer, 

typically on a temporary basis, while not transferring all of 

the significant risks inherent in the business being reinsured. 

In substance or effect, the expected potential liability to the 

ceding insurer remains basically unchanged by the 

reinsurance transaction, notwithstanding certain risk 

elements in the reinsurance agreement, such as catastrophic 

mortality or extraordinary survival. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Section 2(H), 3 and 947. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995). 

§3703. Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to all domestic life and 

accident and health insurers and to all other life and accident 

and health insurers which possess a certificate of authority 

and which are not subject to a substantially similar 

regulation in their domiciliary state. This regulation shall 

also similarly apply to property and casualty insurers which 

possess a certificate of authority with respect to their 

accident and health business. This regulation shall not apply 

to assumption reinsurance, yearly renewable term 

reinsurance or certain nonproportional reinsurance such as 

stop loss or catastrophe reinsurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Section 2(H), 3 and 947. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995). 

§3705. Accounting Requirements 

A. No insurer subject to this regulation shall, for 

reinsurance ceded, reduce any liability or establish any asset 

in any financial statement filed with the department if, by the 

terms of the reinsurance agreement, in substance or effect, 

any of the following conditions exist: 

1. renewal expense allowances provided, or to be 

provided, to the ceding insurer by the reinsurer in any 

accounting period, are not sufficient to cover anticipated 

allocable renewal expenses of the ceding insurer on the 

portion of the business reinsured, unless a liability is 

established for the present value of the shortfall (using 

assumptions equal to the applicable statutory reserve basis 

on the business reinsured). Those expenses include 

commissions, premium taxes, and direct expenses including, 

but not limited to, billing, valuation, claims, and 

maintenance expected by the company at the time the 

business is reinsured; 

2. the ceding insurer can be deprived of surplus or 

assets at the reinsurer's option or automatically upon the 

occurrence of some event, such as the insolvency of the 

ceding insurer, except that termination of the reinsurance 

agreement by the reinsurer for nonpayment of reinsurance 

premiums or other amounts due, such as modified 

coinsurance reserve adjustments, interest and adjustments on 

funds withheld, and tax reimbursements, shall not be 

considered to be such a deprivation of surplus or assets; 

3. the ceding insurer is required to reimburse the 

reinsurer for negative experience under the reinsurance 

agreement, except that neither offsetting experience refunds 

against current and prior years' losses under the agreement 

nor payment by the ceding insurer of an amount equal to the 

current and prior years' losses under the agreement upon 

voluntary termination of in-force reinsurance by the ceding 

insurer shall be considered such a reimbursement to the 

reinsurer for negative experience. Voluntary termination 

does not include situations where termination occurs because 

of unreasonable provisions which allow the reinsurer to 

reduce its risk under the agreement. An example of such a 

provision is the right of the reinsurer to increase reinsurance 

premiums or risk and expense charges to excessive levels 

forcing the ceding company to prematurely terminate the 

reinsurance treaty; 

4. the ceding insurer must, at specific points in time 

scheduled in the agreement, terminate or automatically 

recapture all or part of the reinsurance ceded; 

5. the reinsurance agreement involves the possible 

payment by the ceding insurer to the reinsurer of amounts 

other than from income realized from the reinsured policies. 

For example, it is improper for a ceding company to pay 

reinsurance premiums, or other fees or charges to a reinsurer 

which are greater than the direct premiums collected by the 

ceding company; 

6. the treaty does not transfer all of the significant risk 

inherent in the business being reinsured. The following table 

identifies, for a representative sampling of products or type 

of business, the risks which are considered to be significant. 

For products not specifically included, the risks determined 

to be significant shall be consistent with this table. 

Risk Categories 

a. Morbidity   

b. Mortality   

c. Lapse This is the risk that a policy will voluntarily 

terminate prior to the recoupment of a 

statutory surplus strain experienced at issue 
of the policy. 
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Risk Categories 

d. Credit Quality 

(C1) 

This is the risk that invested assets 

supporting the reinsured business will 

decrease in value. The main hazards are that 
assets will default or that there will be a 

decrease in earning power. It excludes 

market value declines due to changes in 
interest rate. 

e. Reinvestment 

(C3) 

This is the risk that interest rates will fall 

and funds reinvested (coupon payments or 

monies received upon asset maturity or call) 
will therefore earn less than expected. If 

asset durations are less than liability 
durations, the mismatch will increase. 

f. Disintermediation 

(C3) 

This is the risk that interest rates rise and 

policy loans and surrenders increase or 

maturing contracts do not renew at 
anticipated rates of renewal. If asset 

durations are greater than the liability 

durations, the mismatch will increase.  

  Policyholders will move their funds into 

new products offering higher rates. The 

company may have to sell assets at a loss to 

provide for these withdrawals. 

 
Risk Category 

+―Significant 

0―Insignificant 

A B C D E F 

Health Insurance―other than LTC/LTD* + 0 + 0 0 0 

Health Insurance―LTC/LTD* + 0 + + + 0 

Immediate Annuities 0 + 0 + + 0 

Single Premium Deferred Annuities 0 0 + + + + 

Flexible Premium Deferred Annuities 0 0 + + + + 

Guaranteed Interest Contracts 0 0 0 + + + 

Other Annuity Deposit Business 0 0 + + + + 

Single Premium Whole Life 0 + + + + + 

Traditional Non-Par Permanent 0 + + + + + 

Traditional Non-Par Term 0 + + 0 0 0 

Traditional Par Permanent 0 + + + + + 

Traditional Par Term 0 + + 0 0 0 

Adjustable Premium Permanent 0 + + + + + 

Indeterminate Premium Permanent 0 + + + + + 

Universal Life Flexible Premium 0 + + + + + 

Universal Life Fixed Premium 0 + + + + + 

Universal Life Fixed Premium 
dump-in premiums allowed 

0 + + + + + 

* LTC = Long Term Care Insurance 

   LTD = Long Term Disability Insurance 

7.a. The credit quality, reinvestment, or 

disintermediation risk is significant for the business 

reinsured, and the ceding company does not (other than for 

the classes of business excepted in §3705.A.7.b either 

transfer the underlying assets to the reinsurer or legally 

segregate such assets in a trust or escrow account or 

otherwise establish a mechanism satisfactory to the 

commissioner which legally segregates, by contract or 

contract provision, the underlying assets. 

b. Notwithstanding the requirements of 

§3705.A.7.a, the assets supporting the reserves for the 

following classes of business and any classes of business 

which do not have a significant credit quality, reinvestment 

or disintermediation risk may be held by the ceding 

company without segregation of such assets: 

Health Insurance-LTC/LTD 

Traditional Non-Par Permanent 

Traditional Par Permanent 

Adjustable Premium Permanent 

Indeterminate Premium Permanent 

Universal Life Fixed Premium  

(no lump-in premiums allowed) 

 i. The associated formula for determining the 

reserve interest rate adjustment must use a formula which 

reflects the ceding company's investment earnings and 

incorporates all realized and unrealized gains and losses 

reflected in the statutory statement. The following is an 

acceptable formula: 

Rate = 2 (I + CG) 

X + Y - I - CG 

where: 

  I    is the net investment income; 

CG  is capital gains less capital losses; 

 X   is the current year cash and invested assets; 

  Y   is the same as X but for the prior year. 

8. Settlements are made less frequently than quarterly 

or payments due from the reinsurer are not made in cash 

within 90 days of the settlement date. 

9. The ceding insurer is required to make 

representations or warranties not reasonably related to the 

business being reinsured. 

10. The ceding insurer is required to make 

representations or warranties about future performance of 

the business being reinsured. 

11. The reinsurance agreement is entered into for the 

principal purpose of producing significant surplus aid for the 

ceding insurer, typically on a temporary basis, while not 

transferring all of the significant risks inherent in the 

business reinsured, and in substance or effect, the expected 

potential liability to the ceding insurer remains basically 

unchanged. 

B. Notwithstanding §3705.A, an insurer subject to this 

regulation may, with the prior approval of the commissioner, 

take such reserve credit or establish such asset as the 

commissioner may deem consistent with the Louisiana 

Insurance Code and rules and regulations of the department, 

including actuarial interpretations or standards adopted by 

the department. 

C.1. Agreements entered into after the effective date of 

this regulation which involve the reinsurance of business 

issued prior to the effective date of the agreements, along 

with any subsequent amendments thereto, shall be filed by 

the ceding company with the commissioner within 30 days 

from its date of execution. Each filing shall include data 

detailing the financial impact of the transaction. The ceding 

insurer's actuary who signs the financial statement actuarial 

opinion with respect to valuation of reserves shall consider 

this regulation and any applicable actuarial standards of 

practice when determining the proper credit in financial 

statements filed with this department. The actuary should 

maintain adequate documentation and be prepared upon 

request to describe the actuarial work performed for 
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inclusion in the financial statements and to demonstrate that 

such work conforms to this regulation. 

2. Any increase in surplus net of federal income tax 

resulting from arrangements described in §3705.C.1 shall be 

identified separately on the insurer's statutory financial 

statement as a surplus item (aggregate write-ins for gains 

and losses in surplus in the Capital and Surplus Account, 

page 4 of the annual statement) and recognition of the 

surplus increase as income shall be reflected on a net of tax 

basis in the "Reinsurance ceded" line, page 4 of the annual 

statement as earnings emerge from the business reinsured. 

a. For example, on the last day of calendar year N, 

company XYZ pays a $20 million initial commission and 

expense allowance to company ABC for reinsuring an 

existing block of business. Assuming a 34 percent tax rate, 

the net increase in surplus at inception is $13.2 million ($20 

million - $6.8 million) which is reported on the "Aggregate 

write-ins for gains and losses in surplus" line in the Capital 

and Surplus account. Six million, eight hundred thousand 

dollars ($6.8) (34 percent of $20 million) is reported as 

income on the "Commissions and expense allowances on 

reinsurance ceded" line of the Summary of Operations. 

b. At the end of year N+1 the business has earned 

$4 million. ABC has paid $.5 million in profit and risk 

charges in arrears for the year and has received a $1 million 

experience refund. Company ABC's annual statement would 

report $1.65 million (66 percent of [$4 million - $1 million - 

$.5 million] up to a maximum of $13.2 million) on the 

"Commissions and expense allowance on reinsurance ceded" 

line of the Summary of Operations, and -$1.65 million on 

the "Aggregate write-ins for gains and losses in surplus" line 

of the Capital and Surplus account. The experience refund 

would be reported separately as a miscellaneous income 

item in the Summary of Operations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Section 2(H), 3 and 947. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995). 

§3707. Written Agreements 

A. No reinsurance agreement or amendment to any 

agreement may be used to reduce any liability or to establish 

any asset in any financial statement filed with the 

department, unless the agreement, amendment, or a binding 

letter of intent has been duly executed by both parties no 

later than the "as of date" of the financial statement. 

B. In the case of a letter of intent, a reinsurance 

agreement or an amendment to a reinsurance agreement 

must be executed within a reasonable period of time, not 

exceeding 90 days from the execution date of the letter of 

intent, in order for credit to be granted for the reinsurance 

ceded. 

C. The reinsurance agreement shall contain provisions 

which provide that: 

1. the agreement shall constitute the entire agreement 

between the parties with respect to the business being 

reinsured thereunder and that there are no understandings 

between the parties other than as expressed in the agreement; 

and 

2. any change or modification to the agreement shall 

be null and void unless made by amendment to the 

agreement and signed by both parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Section 2(H), 3 and 947. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995). 

§3709. Existing Agreements 

A. Insurers subject to this regulation shall reduce to zero 

by December 31, 1995 any reserve credits or assets 

established with respect to reinsurance agreements entered 

into prior to the effective date of this regulation which, under 

the provisions of this regulation, would not be entitled to 

recognition of the reserve credits or assets; provided, 

however, that the reinsurance agreements shall have been in 

compliance with laws or regulations in existence 

immediately preceding the effective date of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Section 2(H), 3 and 947. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995). 

§3711. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective November 20, 

1995. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22, Section 2(H), 3 and 947. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 21:1246 (November 

1995). 

Chapter 39. Regulation 58―Viatical 

Settlements 

§3901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 58 is to set forth certain 

requirements related to viatical settlements including but not 

limited to licensure of life and/or annuity insurance 

producers and the filing of the annual report required under 

Title 22, the Louisiana Insurance Code, specifically R.S. 

22:1795.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2451 (November 

2009). 

§3903. Authority 

A. Regulation 58 is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the Commissioner of Insurance of the state of 

Louisiana under R.S. 22:11, and R.S. 22:1804. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
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et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2452 (November 

2009). 

§3905. Life and/or Annuity Producers Acting as 

Brokers 

A. A life insurance producer licensed in Louisiana who 

wishes to operate as a viatical settlement broker shall notify 

the Commissioner of Insurance, in writing, of his intent to 

act as a viatical settlement broker prior to acting as a broker. 

The notice shall include: 

1. the full name and life insurance producer number of 

the entity which will be acting as a viatical settlement 

broker; 

2. if a corporation, partnership, limited liability 

company or other non-natural person the full name and 

individual license number of each person in the entity which 

will be acting as a viatical settlement broker on behalf of the 

entity; 

3. the notice shall be signed by the licensed producer, 

if a natural person or, if a corporation, partnership, limited 

liability or other non-natural person, an authorized officer or 

other such representative of the entity. 

B. Pursuant to R.S. 22:1792.A(1) any person licensed as 

a life and/or annuity producer acting as viatical settlement 

broker shall be subject to all provisions of this Part 

applicable to a licensed viatical settlement broker until such 

time as that producer has notified the department, in writing, 

of his intent to no longer act as a viatical settlement broker. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2452 (November 

2009). 

§3907. Annual Reports 

A. Regulation 58 shall be applicable to all annual reports 

filed with the department after the effective date of 

Regulation 58. 

B. The following entities are required to file an annual 

report: 

1. viatical settlement providers; 

2. viatical settlement brokers and all licensed 

insurance producers acting as viatical settlement brokers 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1792 A.(1); and 

3. viatical settlement investment agents. 

C. An annual report shall be filed regardless of whether 

there were any transactions to report from the previous year. 

D. Annual reports shall be filed on or before March 1 of 

each year for the period of January 1 to December 31 of the 

previous calendar year. 

1. Only transactions involving Louisiana viators shall 

be reported. 

2. All annual reports shall be on forms provided by 

the commissioner. 

E. Each annual report shall be certified as true and 

correct and shall be sworn before a notary public either by 

the licensee if a natural person, or if the licensee is a 

corporation, partnership, limited liability or other non-

natural person by two authorized officers or other such 

representatives of the entity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2452 (November 

2009). 

§3909. Viatical Settlement Provider Annual Report 

A. The Viatical Settlement Provider Annual Report shall 

include the following information for each policy viaticated 

in the reporting year. 

1. The date the viatical contract was entered into 

which shall be the date on which the viator and the viatical 

settlement provider agreed to the final terms of the contract. 

2. The full legal name of each person who acted as a 

viatical settlement broker in the transaction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2452 (November 

2009). 

§3911. Viatical Settlement Broker Annual Report 

A. The viatical settlement broker annual report shall 

include the following information for each transaction in 

which the licensee acted as a viatical settlement broker. 

1. The date the viatical contract was entered into 

which shall be the date on which the viator and the viatical 

settlement provider agreed to the final terms of the contract. 

2. The full, legal name of the viatical settlement 

provider(s) that purchased the policy. 

3. The full legal name(s) of each person who acted as 

a viatical settlement broker in the transaction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2452 (November 

2009). 

§3913. Viatical Settlement Investment Agent Annual 

Report 

A. The viatical settlement investment agent annual report 

shall include the following information: 

1. the full name of all viatical settlement providers for 

which funding was sought; 

2. the total amount of funding secured for each 
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viatical settlement provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2452 (November 

2009). 

§3915. Notice of Regulatory Action 

A. Any licensee under this part (including a licensed life 

insurance producer acting as a viatical settlement broker) 

shall notify the commissioner of any regulatory action 

against the entity in any state within 60 days of the final 

disposition of such regulatory action. 

B. Regulatory Action—shall include any fines, 

revocations, and suspensions imposed by a state or federal 

agency. Regulatory actions shall also include any consent 

agreements, stipulations, or other such agreements with any 

state or federal agency initiated as a result of allegations of 

wrong-doing or regulatory or legal infractions regardless of 

whether or not any wrongdoing was admitted by the 

licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2453 (November 

2009). 

§3917. Minimum Financial Requirements 

A. Any viatical settlement provider licensed under this 

part shall be at the time of initial licensure and at all times 

thereafter be a solvent entity. Failure to maintain the 

required financial solvency shall be grounds for any 

appropriate action by the commissioner including, but not 

limited to, the immediate issuance of a cease and desist order 

and/or a summary suspension, or the revocation of the 

applicable license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2453 (November 

2009). 

§3919. Notification of Change of Information 

A. Every viatical settlement provider, viatical 

settlement broker or viatical settlement investment agent 

shall notify the commissioner, in writing, of any changes to 

the information submitted in association with the 

application. This notification shall be made within 60 days 

following the effective date of the change. Every such 

notification must contain the appropriate documents as 

indicated below. 

1. For an amendment to the articles of incorporation 

or other organizational documents, the notice must include a 

copy of the amended articles certified as true and correct by 

the proper domiciliary state official. 

2. For a change in the officers, directors, or natural 

persons owning 10 percent or more (directly or indirectly), 

partners, members, designated employees or other 

individuals responsible for the conduct of affairs of the 

applicant, the notice shall contain a completed biographical 

affidavit for each and every new individual named to such a 

position. The biographical affidavit shall be on a form 

approved by the commissioner. 

3. For a change in ownership of 10 percent or more 

(directly or indirectly) where the new owner is not a natural 

person, the notice shall contain a detailed description of the 

corporate organizational/ownership structure of the entity, its 

parent company and all affiliates. This description should 

include an organizational chart showing the ownership 

percentages for any persons owning 10 percent or more of all 

affiliated entities up to and including the ultimate controlling 

person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1804, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:2453 (November 

2009). 

Chapter 41. Regulation 60― 

Advertising of Life Insurance 

§4101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth minimum 

standards and guidelines to assure a full and truthful 

disclosure to the public of all material and relevant 

information in the advertising of life insurance policies and 

annuity contracts. This rule is being amended to remove the 

requirement that insurers file a certificate of compliance in 

regards to advertisements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1224 (December 

1996), amended LR 44:1448 (August 2018). 

§4103. Definitions 

Advertisement― 

1. material designed to create public interest in life 

insurance or annuities or in an insurer, or in an insurance 

producer; or to induce the public to purchase, increase, 

modify, reinstate, borrow on, surrender, replace, or retain a 

policy including: 

a. printed and published material, audiovisual 

material, and descriptive literature of an insurer or insurance 

producer used in direct mail, newspapers, magazines, radio 

and television scripts, billboards, similar displays, the 

Internet or any other mass communication media; 

b. descriptive literature and sales aids of all kinds, 

authored by the insurer, its insurance producers, or third 

parties, issued, distributed, or used by such insurer or 

insurance producer including, but not limited to, circulars, 

leaflets, booklets, web pages, depictions, illustrations, and 

form letters; 
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c. material used for the recruitment, training, and 

education of an insurer's insurance producers which is 

designed to be used or is used to induce the public to 

purchase, increase, modify, reinstate, borrow on, surrender, 

replace, or retain a policy; 

d. prepared sales talks, presentations, and material 

for use by insurance producers. 

2. Advertisement, for the purpose of these rules shall 

not include: 

a. communications or materials used within an 

insurer's own organization and not intended for 

dissemination to the public; 

b. communications with policyholders other than 

material urging policyholders to purchase, increase, modify, 

reinstate, or retain a policy; 

c. a general announcement from a group or blanket 

policyholder to eligible individuals on an employment or 

membership list that a policy or program has been written or 

arranged; provided the announcement clearly indicates that it 

is preliminary to the issuance of a booklet explaining the 

proposed coverage. 

Department or Department of Insurance―the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance. 

Determinable Policy Elements―elements that are derived 

from processes or methods that are guaranteed at issue and 

not subject to company discretion, but where the values or 

amounts cannot be determined until some point after issue. 

These elements include the premiums, credited interest rates 

(including any bonus), benefits, values, non-interest based 

credits, charges or elements of formulas used to determine 

any of these. These elements may be described as guaranteed 

but not determined at issue. An element is considered 

determinable if it was calculated from underlying 

determinable policy elements only, or from both 

determinable and guaranteed policy elements. 

Guaranteed Policy Elements―the premiums, benefits, 

values, credits or charges under a policy, or elements of 

formulas used to determine any of these that are guaranteed 

and determined at issue. 

Insurance Producer―a person (as defined in R.S. 

22:1212.D) solicits, negotiates, effects, procures, delivers, 

renews, continues, or binds policies of insurance for risks 

residing, located, or intended for issuance in this state. 

Insurer―includes any individual, corporation, association, 

partnership, reciprocal exchange, inter-insurer, Lloyd's, 

Fraternal Benefit Society, and any other legal entity which is 

defined as an insurer in the Louisiana Insurance Code or 

issues life insurance or annuities in this state and is engaged 

in the advertisement of a policy. 

Nonguaranteed Policy Elements―the premiums, credited 

interest rates (including any bonus) benefits, values, non-

interest based credits, charges, or elements that are subject to 

company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An 

element is considered nonguaranteed if any of the 

underlying nonguaranteed elements are used in its 

calculation. Policy includes any policy, plan, certificate, 

including a fraternal benefit certificate, contract, agreement, 

statement of coverage, rider, or endorsement which provides 

for life insurance or annuity benefits. 

Policy―includes any policy, plan, certificate, including a 

fraternal benefit certificate, contract, agreement, statement of 

coverage, rider, or endorsement which provides for life 

insurance or annuity benefits. 

Pre-Need Funeral Contract or Prearrangement―an 

agreement by or for an individual before the individual's 

death relating to the purchase or provision of specific funeral 

or cemetery merchandise or services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2363 (November 2002). 

§4105. Applicability 

A. These rules shall apply to any life insurance or 

annuity advertisement intended for dissemination in this 

state. In variable contracts where disclosure requirements are 

established pursuant to federal regulation, this regulation 

shall be interpreted so as to eliminate conflict with federal 

regulation. 

B. Every insurer shall establish, and at all times 

maintain, a system of control over the content, form, and 

method of dissemination of all advertisements of its policies. 

A system of control shall include regular and routine 

notification, at least once a year, to producers and others 

authorized by the insurer to disseminate advertisements of 

the requirement and procedures for company approval prior 

to the use of any advertisements that is not furnished by the 

insurer and that clearly sets forth within the notice the most 

serious consequence of not obtaining the required prior 

approval. All such advertisements, regardless of by whom 

written, created, designed, or presented, shall be the 

responsibility of the insurer, as well as the producer who 

created or presented the advertisement, provided the insurer 

shall not be responsible for advertisements that are published 

in violation of written procedures or guidelines of the 

insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2364 (November 2002). 

§4107. Form and Content of Advertisements 

A. Advertisements shall be truthful and not misleading in 

fact or by implication. The form and content of an 

advertisement of a policy shall be sufficiently complete and 

clear so as to avoid deception. It shall not have the capacity 

or tendency to mislead or deceive. 

B. No advertisement shall use the terms investment, 

investment plan, founder's plan, charter plan, deposit, 

expansion plan, profit, profits, profit sharing, interest plan, 
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savings, savings plan, private pension plan, retirement plan 

or other similar terms in connection with a policy in a 

context or under such circumstances or conditions as to have 

the capacity or tendency to mislead a purchaser or 

prospective purchaser of such policy to believe that he will 

receive, or that it is possible that he will receive, something 

other than a policy or some benefit not available to other 

persons of the same class and equal expectation of life. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2364 (November 2002). 

§4109. Disclosure Requirements 

A. The information required to be disclosed by these 

rules shall not be minimized, rendered obscure, or presented 

in an ambiguous fashion or intermingled with the text of the 

advertisement so as to be confusing or misleading. 

B. No advertisement shall omit material information or 

use words, phrases, statements, references, or illustrations if 

such omission or such use has the capacity, tendency, or 

effect of misleading or deceiving purchasers or prospective 

purchasers as to the nature or extent of any policy benefit 

payable, loss covered, premium payable, or state or federal 

tax consequences. The fact that the policy offered is made 

available to a prospective insured for inspection prior to 

consummation of the sale, or an offer is made to refund the 

premium if the purchaser is not satisfied, does not remedy 

misleading statements. 

C. In the event an advertisement uses Non-Medical, No 

Medical Examination Required, or similar terms where issue 

is not guaranteed, such items shall be accompanied by a 

further disclosure, of equal prominence and in juxtaposition 

thereto, to the effect that issuance of the policy may depend 

upon the answers to the health questions set forth in the 

application. 

D. An advertisement shall not use as the name or title of 

a life insurance policy any phrase which does not include the 

words life insurance unless accompanied by other language 

clearly indicating it is life insurance. An advertisement shall 

not use as the name or title of an annuity contract any phrase 

that does not include the word annuity unless accompanied 

by other language clearly indicating it is an annuity. An 

annuity advertisement shall not refer to an annuity as a CD 

annuity, or deceptively compare an annuity to a certificate of 

deposit. 

E. An advertisement shall prominently describe the type 

of policy advertised. 

F. An advertisement of an insurance policy marketed by 

direct response techniques shall not state or imply that 

because there is no insurance producer or commission 

involved there will be a cost saving to prospective 

purchasers unless such is the fact. No such cost savings may 

be stated or implied without justification satisfactory to the 

Department of Insurance prior to use. 

G. An advertisement for a life insurance policy 

containing graded or modified benefits shall prominently 

display any limitation of benefits. If the premium is level 

and coverage decreases or increases with age or duration, 

such fact shall be prominently disclosed. An advertisement 

of or for a life insurance policy under which the death 

benefit varies with the length of time the policy has been in 

force shall accurately describe and clearly call attention to 

the amount of minimum death benefit under the policy. 

H. An advertisement for the types of policies described 

in §4109.F and G shall not use the words inexpensive, low 

cost, or other phrase or words of similar import when such 

policies are being marketed to persons who are 50 years of 

age or older, where the policy is guaranteed issue. 

I. Premiums 

1. An advertisement for a policy with nonlevel 

premiums shall prominently describe the premium changes. 

2. An advertisement in which the insurer describes a 

policy where it reserves the right to change the amount of 

the premium during the policy term, but which does not 

prominently describe this feature, is deemed to be deceptive 

and misleading and is prohibited. 

3. An advertisement shall not contain a statement or 

representation that premiums paid for a life insurance policy 

can be withdrawn under the terms of the policy. Reference 

may be made to amounts paid into an advance premium 

fund, which are intended to pay premiums at a future time, 

to the effect that they may be withdrawn under the 

conditions of the prepayment agreement. Reference may 

also be made to withdrawal rights under any unconditional 

premium refund offer. 

4. An advertisement which represents a pure 

endowment benefit as a profit or return on the premium paid 

rather than as a policy benefit for which a specific premium 

is paid is deemed to be deceptive and misleading and is 

prohibited. 

5. An advertisement shall not represent in any way 

that premium payments will not be required for each year of 

the policy in order to maintain the illustrated death benefits, 

unless that is the fact. 

6. An advertisement shall not use the term "vanish" or 

"vanishing premium," or a similar term that implies the 

policy becomes paid up, to describe a plan using 

nonguaranteed elements to pay a portion of future premiums. 

J. Analogies between a life insurance policy's cash 

values and savings accounts or other investments and 

between premium payments and contributions to savings 

accounts or other investments must be complete and 

accurate. An advertisement shall not emphasize the 

investment or tax features of a life insurance policy to such a 

degree that the advertisement would mislead the purchaser 

to believe the policy is anything other than life insurance. 

K. An advertisement shall not state or imply in any way 

that interest charged on a policy loan or the reduction of 

death benefits by the amount of outstanding policy loans is 

unfair, inequitable, or in any manner an incorrect or 
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improper practice. 

L. If nonforfeiture values are shown in any 

advertisement, the values must be shown either for the entire 

amount of the basic life policy death benefit or for each 

$1,000 of initial death benefit. 

M. The words free, no cost, without cost, no additional 

cost, at no extra cost, or words of similar import shall not be 

used with respect to any benefit or service being made 

available with a policy unless true. If there is no charge to 

the insured, then the identity of the payor must be 

prominently disclosed. An advertisement may specify the 

charge for a benefit or a service or may state that a charge is 

included in the premium or use other appropriate language. 

N. No insurance producer may use terms such as 

financial planner, investment advisor, financial consultant, 

or financial counseling in such a way as to imply that he or 

she is generally engaged in an advisory business in which 

compensation is unrelated to sales, unless such actually is 

the case. This provision is not intended to preclude persons 

who hold some form of formal recognized financial planning 

or consultant designation from using this designation even 

when they are only selling insurance. This provision also is 

not intended to preclude persons who are members of a 

recognized trade or professional association having such 

terms as part of its name from citing membership, providing 

that a person citing membership, if authorized only to sell 

insurance products, shall disclose that fact. This provision 

does not permit persons to charge an additional fee for 

services that are customarily associated with the solicitation, 

negotiation or servicing of policies. 

O. Nonguaranteed Policy Elements 

1. An advertisement shall not utilize or describe 

nonguaranteed policy elements in a manner which is 

misleading or has the capacity or tendency to mislead. 

2. An advertisement shall not state or imply that the 

payment or amount of nonguaranteed policy elements is 

guaranteed. If nonguaranteed policy elements are illustrated, 

they must be based on the insurer's current scale, and the 

illustration must contain a statement to the effect that they 

are not to be construed as guarantees or estimates of 

amounts to be paid in the future. 

3. An advertisement that includes any illustrations or 

statements containing or based upon nonguaranteed 

elements shall set forth, with equal prominence, comparable 

illustrations or statements containing or based upon the 

guaranteed elements. 

4. If an advertisement refers to any nonguaranteed 

policy element, it shall indicate that the insurer reserves the 

right to change any such element at any time and for any 

reason. However, if an insurer has agreed to limit this right 

in any way; such as, for example, if it has agreed to change 

these elements only at certain intervals or only if there is a 

change in the insurer's current or anticipated experience, the 

advertisement may indicate any such limitation on the 

insurer's right. 

5. An advertisement shall not refer to dividends as Tax 

Free or use words of similar import, unless the tax treatment 

of dividends is fully explained and the nature of the dividend 

as a return of premium is indicated clearly. 

6. An advertisement shall not use or describe 

determinable policy elements in a manner that is misleading 

or has the capacity or tendency to mislead. 

7. An advertisement may describe determinable policy 

elements as guaranteed but not determinable at issue. This 

description should include an explanation of how these 

elements operate, and their limitations, if any. 

8. An advertisement may not state or imply that 

illustrated dividends under either or both a participating 

policy or pure endowment will be or can be sufficient at any 

future time to assure without the future payment of 

premiums, the receipt of benefits, such as a paid-up policy, 

unless the advertisement clearly and precisely explains the 

benefits or coverage provided at that time and the conditions 

required for that to occur. 

P. An advertisement shall not state that a purchaser of a 

policy will share in or receive a stated percentage or portion 

of the earnings on the general account assets of the company. 

Q. Testimonials, Appraisals, Analysis, or Endorsements 

by Third Parties 

1. Testimonials, appraisals or analysis used in 

advertisements must be genuine; represent the current 

opinion of the author; be applicable to the policy advertised, 

if any; and be accurately reproduced with sufficient 

completeness to avoid misleading or deceiving prospective 

insureds as to the nature or scope of the testimonial, 

appraisal, analysis or endorsement. In using testimonials, 

appraisals, or analysis the insurer or insurance producer 

makes as its own all of the statements contained therein, and 

such statements are subject to all the provisions of these 

rules. 

2. If the individual making a testimonial, appraisal, 

analysis, or an endorsement has a financial interest in the 

insurer or a related entity as a stockholder, director, officer, 

employee, or otherwise, or receives any benefit directly or 

indirectly other than required union scale wages, such fact 

shall be prominently disclosed in the advertisement. 

3. An advertisement shall not state or imply that an 

insurer or a policy has been approved or endorsed by a group 

of individuals, society, association, or other organization 

unless such is the fact and unless any proprietary 

relationship between an organization and the insurer is 

disclosed. If the entity making the endorsement or 

testimonial is owned, controlled, or managed by the insurer, 

or receives any payment or other consideration from the 

insurer for making such endorsement or testimonial, such 

fact shall be disclosed in the advertisement. 

4. When an endorsement refers to benefits received 

under a policy for a specific claim, the claim date, including 

claim number, date of loss and other pertinent information 

shall be retained by the insurer for inspection for a period of 

five years after the discontinuance of its use or publication. 

R. An advertisement shall not contain statistical 
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information relating to any insurer or policy unless it 

accurately reflects recent and relevant facts. The source of 

any such statistics used in an advertisement shall be 

identified therein. 

S. Policies Sold to Students 

1. The envelope in which insurance solicitation 

material is contained may be addressed to the parents of 

students. The address may not include any combination of 

words which imply that the correspondence is from a school, 

college, university or other education or training institution 

nor may it imply that the institution has endorsed the 

material or supplied the insurer with information about the 

student unless such is a correct and truthful statement. 

2. All advertisements including, but not limited to, 

informational flyers used in the solicitation of insurance 

must be identified clearly as coming form an insurer or 

insurance producer, if such is the case, and these entities 

must be clearly identified as such. 

3. The return address on the envelope may not imply 

that the soliciting insurer or insurance producer is affiliated 

with university, college, school, or other educational or 

training institution, unless true. 

T. Introductory, Initial or Special Offers and Enrollment 

Periods 

1. An advertisement of an individual policy or 

combination of such policies shall not state or imply that 

such policy or combination of such policies is an 

introductory, initial, or special offer, or that applicants will 

receive substantial advantages not available at a later date, or 

that the offer is available only to a specified group of 

individuals, unless such is the fact. An advertisement shall 

not describe an enrollment period as "special" or "limited" or 

use similar words or phrases in describing it when the 

insurer uses successive enrollment periods as its usual 

method of marketing its policies. 

2. An advertisement shall not state or imply that only 

a specific number of policies will be sold, or that a time is 

fixed for the discontinuance of the sale of the particular 

policy advertised because of special advantages available in 

the policy. 

3. An advertisement shall not offer a policy which 

utilizes a reduced initial premium rate in a manner which 

overemphasizes the availability and the amount of the 

reduced initial premium. A reduced initial or first year 

premium may not be described as constituting free insurance 

for a period of time. When an insurer charges an initial 

premium that differs in amount from the amount of the 

renewal premium payable on the same mode, all references 

to the reduced initial premium shall be followed by an 

asterisk or other appropriate symbol which refers the reader 

to that specific portion of the advertisement which contains 

the full rate schedule for the policy being advertised. 

4. An enrollment period during which a particular 

insurance policy may be purchased on an individual basis 

shall not be offered within this state unless there has been a 

lapse of not less than six months between the close of the 

immediately preceding enrollment period for the same 

policy and the opening of the new enrollment period. The 

advertisement shall specify the date by which the applicant 

must mail the application, which shall be not less than 10 

days and not more than 40 days from the date on which such 

enrollment period is advertised for the first time. This rule 

applies to all advertising media, e.g., mail, newspapers, 

radio, television, magazines, and periodicals, by any one 

insurer or insurance producer. The phrase Any One Insurer 

includes all the affiliated companies of a group of insurance 

companies under common management or control. This rule 

does not apply to the use of a termination or cutoff date 

beyond which an individual application for a guaranteed 

issue policy will not be accepted by an insurer in those 

instances where the application has been sent to the 

applicant in response to his request. It is also inapplicable to 

solicitations of employees or members of a particular group 

or association which otherwise would be eligible under 

specified provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code for 

group, blanket, or franchise insurance. In cases where an 

insurance product is marketed on a direct mail basis to 

prospective insureds by reason of some common relationship 

with a sponsoring organization, this rule shall be applied 

separately to each sponsoring organization. 

U. An advertisement of a particular policy shall not state 

or imply that prospective insureds shall be or become 

members of a special class, group, or quasi-group and as 

such enjoy special rates, dividends, or underwriting 

privileges, unless such is the fact. 

V. An advertisement shall not make unfair or incomplete 

comparisons of policies, benefits, dividends or rates of other 

insurers. An advertisement shall not disparage other insurers, 

insurance producers, policies, services, or methods of 

marketing. 

W. For individual deferred annuity products or deposit 

funds, the following shall apply. 

1. Any illustrations or statements containing or based 

upon interest rates higher than the guaranteed accumulation 

interest rates shall likewise set forth with equal prominence 

comparable illustrations or statements containing or based 

upon the guaranteed accumulation interest rates. Such higher 

interest rates shall not be greater than those currently being 

credited by the company, unless such higher rates have been 

publicly declared by the company with an effective date for 

new issues not more than three months subsequent to the 

date of declaration. 

2. If an advertisement states the net premium 

accumulation interest rate, whether guaranteed or not, it 

shall also disclose in close proximity thereto, and with equal 

prominence, the actual relationship between the gross and 

the net premiums. 

3. If any contract does not provide a cash surrender 

benefit prior to commencement of payment of any annuity 

benefits, any illustrations or statements concerning such 

contract shall prominently state that cash surrender benefits 

are not provided. 

4. Any illustrations, depictions or statements 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 278 

containing or based on determinable policy elements shall 

likewise set forth with equal prominence comparable 

illustrations, depictions or statements containing or based on 

guaranteed policy elements. 

X. An advertisement of a life insurance policy or annuity 

that illustrates nonguaranteed values shall only do so in 

accordance with current applicable state law relative to 

illustrating such values for life and annuity contracts. 

Y. An advertisement for the solicitation or sale of a  

pre-need funeral contract or prearrangement, as defined in 

§4103.H, which is funded or to be funded by a life insurance 

policy or annuity contract shall adequately disclose the 

following: 

1. the fact that a life insurance policy or annuity 

contract is involved or being used to fund a prearrangement, 

as defined in §4103.H; and 

2. the nature of the relationship among the insurance 

producers, the provider of the funeral or cemetery 

merchandise or services, the administrator and any other 

person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2364 (November 2002). 

§4111. Identity of Insurer 

A. The name of the insurer shall be clearly identified in 

all advertisements, and if any specific individual policy is 

advertised, it shall be identified either by form number or 

other appropriate description. If an application is a part of 

the advertisement, the name of the insurer shall be shown on 

the application. However, if an advertisement contains a 

listing of rates or features that is a composite of several 

different policies or contracts of different insurers, the 

advertisement shall so state, shall indicate, if applicable, that 

not all policies or contracts on which the composite is based 

may be available in all states, and shall provide a rating of 

the lowest rated insurer and reference the rating agency, but 

need not identify each insurer. If an advertisement identifies 

the issuing insurers, insurance issuer ratings need not be 

stated. An advertisement shall not use a trade name, an 

insurance group designation, name of the parent company of 

the insurer, name of a particular division of the insurer, 

service mark, slogan, symbol, or other device or reference 

without disclosing the name of the insurer, if the 

advertisement would have the capacity or tendency to 

mislead or deceive as to the true identity of the insurer or 

create the impression that a company other than the insurer 

would have any responsibility for the financial obligation 

under a policy. 

B. No advertisement shall use any combination of words, 

symbols, or physical materials which, by their content, 

phraseology, shape, color, or other characteristics are so 

similar to a combination of words, symbols, or physical 

materials used by a governmental program or agency or 

otherwise appear to be of such a nature that they tend to 

mislead prospective insureds into believing that the 

solicitation is in some manner connected with such 

governmental program or agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1228 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2365 (November 2002). 

§4113. Jurisdictional Licensing and Status of Insurer 

A. An advertisement which is intended to be seen or 

heard beyond the limits of the jurisdiction in which the 

insurer is licensed shall not imply licensing beyond such 

limits. 

B. An advertisement may state that an insurer or 

insurance producer is licensed in the state where the 

advertisement appears, provided it does not exaggerate such 

fact or suggest or imply that competing insurers or insurance 

producers may not be so licensed. 

C. An advertisement shall not create the impression that 

the insurer, its financial condition or status, the payment of 

its claims or the merits, desirability, or advisability of its 

policy forms or kinds of plans of insurance are 

recommended or endorsed by a governmental entity. 

However, where a governmental entity has recommended or 

endorsed a policy form or plan, such fact may be stated if the 

entity authorizes its recommendation or endorsement to be 

used in an advertisement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1224 (December 

1996). 

§4115. Statements about the Insurer 

A. An advertisement shall not contain statements, 

pictures or illustrations which are false or misleading, in fact 

or by implication, with respect to the assets, liabilities, 

insurance in force, corporate structure, financial condition, 

age or relative position of the insurer in the insurance 

business. An advertisement shall not contain a 

recommendation by any commercial rating system unless it 

clearly defines the scope and extent of the recommendation, 

including but not limited to, placement of insurer's rating in 

the hierarchy of the rating system cited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1228 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2366 (November 2002). 

§4117. Enforcement Procedures 

A. Each insurer shall maintain at its home or principal 

office a complete file containing a specimen copy of every 

printed, published, or prepared advertisement of its 

individual policies and specimen copies of typical printed, 

published or prepared advertisements of its blanket, 

franchise, and group policies, hereafter disseminated in this 

state, with a notation indicating the manner and extent of 

distribution and the form number of any policy 

advertisement. Such file shall be subject to inspection by this 
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department. All such advertisements shall be maintained in 

said file for a period of either four years or until the filing of 

the next regular report on the examination of the insurer, 

whichever is the longer period of time. 

B. If the department determines that an advertisement 

has the capacity or tendency to mislead or deceive the 

public, the department may require an insurer or insurance 

producer to submit all or any part of the advertising material 

for review or approval prior to use. 

C. In addition to any other penalties provided by the 

laws of this state, an insurer or producer that violates a 

requirement of this regulation shall be guilty of a violation 

of Part XXVI, Unfair Trade Practices, of the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, which regulates the trade practices on the 

business of insurance by defining and providing for the 

determination of all acts, methods, and practices which 

constitute unfair methods of competition and unfair or 

deceptive acts and practices in this state, and to prohibit the 

same. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1228 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2366 (November 2002), LR 44:1448 

(August 2018). 

§4119. Conflict with Other Rules 

A. It is not intended that these rules conflict with or 

supersede any rules currently in force or subsequently 

adopted in this state governing specific aspect of the sale or 

replacement of life insurance including, but not limited to, 

rules dealing with life insurance cost comparison indices, 

deceptive practices in the sale of life insurance, and 

replacement of life insurance policies. Consequently, no 

disclosure required under any such rules shall be deemed to 

be an advertisement within the meaning of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1224 (December 

1996). 

§4121. Severability 

A. If any Section, term or provision of this rule shall be 

adjudged invalid for any reason, such judgment shall not 

affect, impair or invalidate any other Section, term or 

provision of this rule, and the remaining Sections, terms and 

provisions shall be and remain in full force and effect. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

Title 22, Section 3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1224 (December 

1996). 

§4123. Effective Date 

A. This revised regulation shall become effective upon 

final publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to 

any life insurance or annuity advertisement intended for 

dissemination in this state on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1229 (December 

1996), amended LR 28:2366 (November 2002). 

Chapter 45. Regulation 

63―Prohibitions on the Use of 

Medical Information and Genetic Test 

Results 

§4501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish the 

statutory prohibitions on the use of medical information 

including pregnancy tests, genetic tests and related genetic 

test information by health insurers, third-party 

administrators, and insurance agents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:10, 22:2014, 22:2002(7), 22:214(22) and (23), 22:213.6, 

and 22:213.7 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998). 

§4503. Authority 

A. This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the Commissioner of Insurance under R.S. 22:11, 

22:971, 22:258, 22:242(7), 22:1964(22) and (23), 22:1022, 

and 22:1023 of the Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:971, 22:258, 22:242(7), 22:1964(22) and (23), 22:1022, 

and 22:1023 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998), 

amended LR 46:360 (March 2020). 

§4505. Definitions 

Collection―obtaining a DNA sample or samples for the 

purpose of determining inherited or individual 

characteristics that can be utilized to predict the 

development of medical conditions in the future. Collection 

shall not mean diagnostic or medical treatment information 

about an existing medical condition or the prior medical 

condition of a person applying for or being covered by a 

health benefit plan. 

Compulsory Disclosure―any disclosure of genetic 

information mandated or required by federal or state law in 

connection with a judicial, legislative, or administrative 

proceeding. 

DNA―deoxyribonucleic acid including mitochondrial 

DNA, complementary DNA, as well as any DNA derived 

from ribonucleic acid (RNA). DNA shall not mean any 

medical procedure or test utilized in the practice of medicine 

for the purpose of diagnosing or treating a medical illness or 

health related condition. 

Disclose―to convey or to provide access to genetic 

information to a person other than the individual. 

Family―includes an individual's blood relatives and any 

legal relatives, including a spouse or adopted child, who may 

have a material interest in the genetic information of the 
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individual. For purposes of providing individual or group 

health care coverage, the term family shall not be used to 

prevent the collection of reasonable medical information 

about individuals applying for health insurance coverage to 

perform medical underwriting based on existing or past 

medical conditions of those persons being insured, except 

genetic information as defined herein. 

Family History/Pedigree―the medical history of blood 

relatives of an individual that is used to predict the 

possibility of developing a medical condition in the future. 

The term shall not include the medical history of an insured 

or applicant for coverage under a health benefit plan. 

Genetic Analysis―the process of characterizing genetic 

information from a human tissue sample and does not 

include the performance of medical tests, including but not 

limited to blood tests, in the diagnosis or treatment of a 

medical condition. 

Genetic Characteristic―any gene or chromosome, or 

alteration thereof, that is scientifically or medically believed 

to cause a disease, disorder, or syndrome, or to be associated 

with a statistically significant increased risk of development 

of a disease, disorder or syndrome. The term shall not apply 

to identification or disclosure of an individual's gender for 

the purposes of obtaining or maintaining insurance or 

establishing insurance rates. 

Genetic Information—all information about genes, gene 

products, inherited characteristics, or family history/pedigree 

that is expressed in common language and  

1. Genetic Information shall include each of the 

following: 

a. an individual’s genetic test; 

b. the genetic tests of the family members of an 

individual; 

c. the manifestation of a disease or disorder in 

family members of an individual;  

d. with respect to an individual or family member of 

an individual who is a pregnant woman, genetic information 

of any fetus or embryo carried by such pregnant woman; and 

with respect to an individual or family member of an 

individual utilizing an assisted reproductive technology, 

genetic information of any embryo legally held by the 

individual or family member.  

2. Genetic Information does not include the medical 

history of an individual insured or applicant for health care 

coverage and shall not mean information about the sex or 

age of any individual. 

Genetic Services—a genetic test, genetic counseling, 

including obtaining, interpreting, or assessing genetic 

information, or genetic education. 

Genetic Test—any test for determining the presence or 

absence of genetic characteristics in an individual, including 

tests of nucleic acids, such as DNA, RNA, and 

mitochondrial DNA, chromosomes, or proteins in order to 

diagnose or identify a genetic characteristic or that detects 

genotypes, mutation, or chromosomal changes. The 

determination of a genetic characteristic shall not include 

any diagnosis of the presence of disease, disability, or other 

existing medical condition. Genetic test shall not mean an 

analysis of proteins or metabolites that either: 

1. does not detect genotypes, mutations, or 

chromosomal changes; 

2. is directly related to a manifested disease, disorder, 

or pathological condition that could be reasonably detected 

by a health care professional with appropriate training and 

expertise in the field of medicine involved.  

Health Benefit Plan―any health insurance policy, plan, or 

health maintenance organization subscriber agreement 

issued for delivery in this state under a valid certificate of 

authority and does not include life, disability income, or 

long-term care insurance. 

Individual―the source of a human tissue sample from 

which a DNA sample is extracted or genetic information is 

characterized. 

Individual Identifier―a name, address, Social Security 

number, health insurance identification number, or similar 

information by which the identity of an individual can be 

determined with reasonable accuracy, either directly or by 

reference to other available information. Such term does not 

include characters, numbers, or codes assigned to an 

individual or a DNA sample that cannot singly be used to 

identify an individual. 

Insurer—any hospital, health, or medical expense 

insurance policy, hospital or medical service contract, 

employee welfare benefit plan, health and accident insurance 

policy, or any other insurance contract of this type, including 

a group insurance plan, or any policy of group, family group, 

blanket, or association health and accident insurance, a self-

insurance plan, health maintenance organization, and 

preferred provider organization, including insurance agents 

and third-party administrators, which delivers or issues for 

delivery in this state an insurance policy or plan. The term 

insurer does not include any individual or entity that does 

not hold a valid certificate of authority to issue, for delivery 

in this state, an insurance policy or plan. A certificate of 

authority to issue an insurance policy or plan for delivery 

shall not include a license or certificate to act as a preferred 

provider organization, insurance agent, or third-party 

administrator. 

Person―all persons other than the individual or 

authorized agent acting on behalf of the individual, who is 

the source of a tissue sample and shall include a family, 

corporation, partnership, association, joint venture, 

government, governmental subdivision or agency, and any 

other legal or commercial entity. This shall not prevent any 

licensed insurance agent duly authorized to act on behalf of 

the individual, from completing and submitting health 

insurance application documents required to apply for 

coverage under a health policy or plan. 

Research―scientific investigation that includes 

systematic development and testing of hypotheses for the 
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purpose of increasing knowledge. 

Storage―retention of a DNA sample or of genetic 

information for an extended period of time after the initial 

testing process. The term does not include medical history 

information about insureds or persons applying for coverage 

under a health benefit plan. 

Underwriting Purposes—rules for or determination of 

eligibility, including enrollment and continued eligibility, for 

benefits under the plan or coverage; the computation of 

premium or contribution amounts under the plan or 

coverage; and other activities related to the creation, 

renewal, or replacement of a contract or policy issued by an 

insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:971, 22:258, 22:242(7), 22:1964(22) and (23), 22:1022, 

and 22:1023 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998), 

amended LR 46:361 (March 2020). 

§4507. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of this regulation apply to all issuers of health 

care policies or contracts of insurance, or health maintenance 

organization subscriber agreements issued for delivery in the 

state of Louisiana. The requirements of this regulation shall 

not impinge upon the normal practice of medicine or 

reasonable medical evaluation of an individual's medical 

history for the purpose of providing or maintaining health 

insurance coverage. The requirements of this regulation 

address the use of medical information, including use of 

genetic tests, and genetic information for the purpose of 

issuing, renewing, or establishing premiums for health 

coverage. The provisions of this regulation do not apply to 

any actions of an insurer or third parties dealing with an 

insurer taken in the ordinary course of business in 

connection with the sale, issuance or administration of a life, 

disability income, long-term care, or critical illness 

insurance policy. For the purpose of this Section, “critical 

illness” insurance policy shall mean health insurance 

providing a principle sum of benefit following diagnosis of 

specifically named perils.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:971, 22:258, 22:242(7), 22:1964(22) and (23), 22:1022, 

and 22:1023 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998), 

amended LR 46:361 (March 2020). 

§4509. Prohibitions on the Use of Pregnancy Test 

Results 

A. Any insurer shall be authorized to request medical 

information that verifies the pregnancy of an insured or 

individual applying for coverage under a health benefit plan. 

The results of any prenatal test, other than the determination 

of pregnancy, shall not be used as the basis to: 

1. terminate, restrict, limit, or otherwise apply 

conditions to the coverage under the policy or plan, or 

restrict the sale of the policy or plan in force; 

2. cancel or refuse to renew the coverage under the 

policy or plan in force; 

3. deny coverage or exclude an individual or family 

member from coverage under the policy or plan in force; 

4. impose a rider that excludes coverage for certain 

benefits or services under the policy or plan in force; 

5. establish differentials in premium rates or cost 

sharing for coverage under the policy or plan in force; 

6. otherwise discriminate against an insured individual 

or insured family member in the provision of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:10, 22:2014, 22:2002(7), 22:214(22) and (23), 22:213.6, 

and 22:213.7 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1121 (June 1998). 

§4511. Requirements for Release of Genetic Test and 

Related Medical Information 

A. A general authorization for the release of medical 

records or medical information shall not be construed as an 

authorization for disclosure of genetic information. No 

insurer shall seek to obtain genetic information from an 

insured or applicant or from a DNA sample, without first 

obtaining written informed consent from the individual or 

authorized representative. To be valid, an authorization to 

disclose the results of a genetic test shall: 

1. be in writing, signed by the individual and dated on 

the date of such signature; 

2. identify the person permitted to make the 

disclosure; 

3. describe the specific genetic information to be 

disclosed; 

4. identify the person to whom the information is to be 

disclosed; 

5. describe with specificity the purpose for which the 

disclosure is being made; 

6. state the date upon which the authorization will 

expire, which in no event shall be more than 60 days after 

the date of the authorization; 

7. include a statement that the authorization is subject 

to revocation at any time before the disclosure is actually 

made or the individual is made aware of the details of the 

genetic information; 

8. include a statement that the authorization shall be 

invalid if used for any purpose other than the described 

purpose for which the disclosure is made. 

B. A copy of the authorization shall be provided to the 

individual. An individual may revoke or amend the 

authorization in whole or in part, at any time. In complying 

with the provisions of this Section, the record holder is 

responsible for assuring only authorized information is 

released to insurers with respect to medical records that 

contain genetic information. The requirements of this 
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Section shall not act to impede or otherwise impinge upon 

the ability of the patient's attending physician to provide 

appropriate and medically necessary treatment or diagnosis 

of a medical condition. Nothing in this Section shall exempt 

a covered entity from the requirements of the Health 

Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 

pertaining to the collection, use, or disclosure of genetic 

information, which for purposes of the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, is defined as 

"health information" under 42 U.S.C. §1320d(4)(b) and 42 

U.S.C. §1320d-9. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:10, 22:2014, 22:2002(7), 22:214(22) and (23), 22:213.6, 

and 22:213.7 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998), 

amended LR 46:361 (March 2020). 

§4513. Prohibitions on the Use of Medical Information 

and Genetic Test Results 

A. No insurer shall require an applicant for coverage 

under a policy or plan, or an individual or family member 

who is presently covered under a policy or plan, to be the 

subject of a genetic test, release genetic test information, or 

to be subjected to questions relating to the medical 

conditions of persons not being insured under such policy or 

plan. 

B. All insurers shall, in the application or enrollment 

information required to be provided by the insurer to each 

applicant concerning a policy or plan, include a written 

statement disclosing the rights of the applicant. Such 

statements shall be printed in 10-point type or greater with a 

heading in all capital letters that states: YOUR RIGHTS 

REGARDING THE RELEASE AND USE OF GENETIC 

INFORMATION. Disclosure statements must be approved by 

the Department of Insurance as complying with the 

requirements of R.S. 22:1023 prior to utilization. 

C.1. No insurer shall request, require, or purchase genetic 

information either: 

a. of an individual or family member of an 

individual for underwriting purposes. 

b. with respect to any individual or family member 

of an individual prior to such individual’s enrollment under 

the plan or coverage in connection with such enrollment.  

2. If an insurer offering health insurance coverage in 

the individual or group market obtains genetic information 

incidental to the requesting, requiring, or purchasing of other 

information concerning any individual, such request, 

requirement, or purchase shall not be considered a violation 

of Subparagraph 1.b. of this Subsection if such request, 

requirement, or purchase is not in violation of Subparagraph 

1.a. of this Subsection. 

D.1. No insurer shall request or require that an individual, 

a family member of such individual, or a group member 

undergo a genetic test.  

2. Paragraph 1 of this Subsection shall not be 

construed to limit the authority of a health care professional 

who is providing health care services to an individual to 

request that such individual undergo a genetic test.  

E.1. No insurer shall establish rules for eligibility, 

including continued eligibility, of any individual or an 

individual’s family member to enroll or continue enrollment 

based on genetic information.  

2. Nothing in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection or in 

Subparagraphs C.1.a and b of this Section shall be construed 

to preclude an insurer from establishing rules for eligibility 

for an individual to enroll in individual health insurance 

coverage based on the manifestation of a disease or disorder 

in that individual or in a family member of such individual 

where such family member is covered under the policy that 

covers such individual.  

F.1. No insurer shall impose any preexisting condition 

exclusion on the basis of genetic information of an 

individual, family member of an individual, or group 

member.  

2. Nothing in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection or in 

Subparagraphs C.1.a. and b. of this Section shall be 

construed to preclude an insurer offering coverage in the 

individual market from imposing any preexisting condition 

exclusion for an individual with respect to health insurance 

coverage on the basis of a manifestation of a disease or 

disorder in that individual. 

G.1. No insurer shall adjust premium or contribution 

amounts for an individual or group health plan on the basis 

of genetic information concerning the individual or a family 

member of the individual. 

2. Nothing in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection shall be 

construed to preclude an insurer offering health insurance 

coverage in the individual market from adjusting premium 

or contribution amounts for an individual on the basis of a 

manifestation of a disease or disorder in that individual, or in 

a family member of such individual where such family 

member is covered under the policy that covers such 

individual. In such case, the manifestation of a disease or 

disorder in one individual cannot also be used as genetic 

information about other individuals covered under the policy 

issued to such individual and to further increase premium or 

contribution amounts. 

3. Nothing in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection shall be 

construed to preclude an insurer offering health insurance 

coverage in connection with a group health plan from 

increasing the premium for an employer based upon the 

manifestation of a disease or disorder of an individual who is 

enrolled in the plan. In such case, the manifestation of a 

disease or disorder in one individual cannot also be used as 

genetic information about other group members and to 

further increase the premium for the employer. 

H.1. Nothing in Paragraph D.1 of this Subsection shall be 

construed to preclude an insurer offering health insurance 

coverage in the individual or group market from obtaining 

and using the results of a genetic test in making a 

determination regarding payment, as such term is defined for 

the purposes of applying the regulations promulgated by the 
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secretary of the United States Department of Health and 

Human Services under Part C of Title XI of the Social 

Security Act and Section 264 of the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996, consistent with 

Subsections E and F of this Subsection. 

2. For purposes of Paragraph 1 of this Subsection, an 

insurer offering health insurance coverage in the individual 

or group market may request only the minimum amount of 

information necessary to accomplish the intended purpose. 

I. Notwithstanding Paragraph D.1 of this Subsection, an 

insurer offering health insurance coverage in the individual 

or group market may request, but not require, that an 

individual, family member of an individual, or a group 

member undergo a genetic test if each of the following 

conditions is met. 

1. The request is made pursuant to research that 

complies with Part 46 of Title 45, Code of Federal 

Regulations, or equivalent federal regulations, and any 

applicable state or local law or regulations for the protection 

of human subjects in research. 

2. The insurer clearly indicates to each individual, or 

in the case of a minor child, to the legal guardian of such 

child, to whom the request is made both that: 

a. compliance with the request is voluntary; 

b. noncompliance will have no effect on enrollment 

status or premium, or contribution amounts. 

3. No genetic information collected or acquired under 

this Subsection shall be used for underwriting purposes. 

4. The insurer notifies the secretary of the United 

States Department of Health and Human Services in writing 

that the issuer is conducting activities pursuant to the 

exception provided for under this Subsection, including a 

description of the activities conducted. 

5. The insurer complies with such other conditions as 

the secretary of the United States Department of Health and 

Human Services may by regulation require for activities 

conducted under this Subsection. 

J. The results of any genetic test, including genetic test 

information, shall not be used as the basis to: 

1. terminate, restrict, limit, or otherwise apply 

conditions to the coverage of an individual or family 

member under the policy or plan, or restrict the sale of the 

policy or plan to an individual or family member; 

2. cancel or refuse to renew the coverage of an 

individual or family member under the policy or plan; 

3. deny coverage or exclude an individual or family 

member from coverage under the policy or plan; 

4. impose a rider that excludes coverage for certain 

benefits or services under the policy or plan; 

5. establish differentials in premium rates or cost 

sharing for coverage under the policy or plan; 

6. otherwise discriminate against an individual or 

family member in the provision of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:10, 22:2014, 22:2002(7), 22:214(22) and (23), 22:213.6, 

and 22:213.7 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998), 

amended LR 46:362 (March 2020). 

§4515. General Provisions 

A. The requirements of this Section shall not apply to the 

genetic information obtained: 

1. by a state, parish, municipal, or federal law 

enforcement agency for the purposes of establishing the 

identity of a person in the course of a criminal investigation 

or prosecution; 

2. to determine paternity; 

3. to determine the identity of deceased individuals; 

4. for anonymous research where the identity of the 

subject will not be released because it is confidential; 

 5. pursuant to newborn screening requirements 

established by state or federal law; 

6. as authorized by federal law for the identification of 

persons; 

7. by the Department of Social Services or by a court 

having juvenile jurisdiction as set forth in Children's Code 

Article 302 for the purposes of child protection 

investigations or neglect proceedings. 

8. For treatment, payment, and healthcare operations 

by an insurer consistent with the federal Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act and its related 

regulations.  

9. For maintenance of information by an insurer in 

accordance with record retention requirements.  

B. An applicant/insured's genetic information is the 

property of the applicant/insured. No person shall retain 

genetic information without first obtaining authorization 

from the applicant/insured or a duly authorized 

representative, unless retention is: 

1. for the purposes of a criminal or death investigation 

or criminal or juvenile proceeding; 

2. to determine paternity. 

C. For purposes of R.S. 22:1023, any person who acts 

without proper authorization to collect a DNA sample for 

analysis, or willfully discloses genetic information without 

obtaining permission from the individual or patient as 

required under this regulation, shall be liable to the 

individual for each such violation in an amount equal to: 

1. any actual damages sustained as a result of the 

unauthorized collection, storage, analysis, or disclosure, or 

$50,000, whichever is greater; 

2. treble damages, in any case where such a violation 

resulted in profit or monetary gain; 
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3. the costs of the action together with reasonable 

attorney fees as determined by the court, in the case of a 

successful action to enforce any liability under R.S. 22:1023. 

D. Any person who, either through a request, the use of 

persuasion, under threat, or under a promise of a reward, 

willfully induces another to collect, store or analyze a DNA 

sample in violation; or willfully collects, stores, or analyzes 

a DNA sample; or willfully discloses genetic information in 

violation of R.S. 22:1023 shall be liable to the individual for 

each such violation in an amount equal to: 

1. any actual damages sustained as a result of the 

collection, analysis, or disclosure, or $100,000, whichever is 

greater; 

2. the costs of the action together with reasonable 

attorney fees as determined by the court, in the case of a 

successful action under R.S. 22:1023. 

E. The discrimination against an insured in the issuance, 

payment of benefits, withholding of coverage, cancellation, 

or nonrenewal of a policy, contract, plan or program based 

upon the results of a genetic test, receipt of genetic 

information, or a prenatal test other than one used for the 

determination of pregnancy shall be treated as an unfair or 

deceptive act or practice in the business of insurance under 

R.S. 22:1964. 

F. This regulation became effective June 20, 1998; 

however, the amendments to this regulation will become 

effective upon final publication in the Louisiana Register.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:971, 22:258, 22:242(7), 22:1964(22) and (23), 22:1022, 

and 22:1023 of the Insurance Code. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1120 (June 1998), 

amended LR 46:363 (March 2020). 

Chapter 47. Regulation 64―Vehicle 

Mechanical Breakdown Insurers 

Cancellation Provisions 

§4701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement 

standard cancellation requirements in all vehicle mechanical 

breakdown contracts, and to ensure that all such contracts 

(hereafter sometimes referred to as "policies") issued, 

delivered or used in Louisiana are drafted in a more 

consistent and streamlined manner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998). 

§4703. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated under the authority 

granted the commissioner by R.S. 22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998). 

§4705. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to all vehicle mechanical 

breakdown contracts that are in force and to insurers issuing, 

for delivery or use, vehicle mechanical breakdown contracts 

in Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998). 

§4707. Cancellation Standards 

A. The following standards shall govern the 

requirements for the cancellation provisions of vehicle 

mechanical breakdown contracts. 

1. All Mechanical Breakdown Insurance contracts 

having terms of greater than six months shall be cancelable 

and refundable upon request of the insured. 

2. The refund method to be used shall be the sum of 

the digits (Rule of 78s) or a refund method that will be more 

favorable to the insured. 

3. The return factor is determined by the number of 

unused months or the number of unused miles, and shall be 

based on the full premium (including commissions) paid by 

the insured. 

a. The number of months shall mean the number of 

months from the effective date of the policy until the 

expiration date of the policy. 

b. The number of miles shall mean the sum of the 

number of miles on the odometer at the time of purchase and 

the policy mileage limit. 

4. A cancellation fee, not to exceed $50, may be 

charged, provided such fee is disclosed to the purchaser at 

the time of policy purchase. 

5. The method of refund and any cancellation fee, 

shall be fully disclosed to the insured at or before the time of 

policy purchase by having such information printed in the 

policy form and the policy application, which shall be 

agreed to in writing, by the insured. 

6. In calculating any refund requested by the insured, 

no deduction shall be allowed for any claim that has been 

paid under the contract being canceled. 

7. If cancellation is requested in writing by the insured 

within 30 days from the date of purchase, full refund, minus 

the cancellation fee, if any, shall be made. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998). 

§4709. Failure to Comply 

A. In addition to any other penalties provided by the 

Louisiana Insurance Code relating to the regulation of 

Vehicle Mechanical Breakdown (VMB) insurers, any VMB 

insurer found to have violated the requirements of this 

regulation, may be issued a cease and desist order pursuant 
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to R.S. 22:1810. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998). 

§4711. Severability 

A. If any provision of item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 

affect other provisions, items, or applications of the 

regulation which can be given effect without the invalid 

provisions, item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998), 

amended by Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution 

Number 135 of the 2001 Regular Session, LR 27:1102 (July 2001). 

§4713. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall take effect on June 20, 1998. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1811, R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 24:1123 (June 1998). 

Chapter 49. Regulation 65―Bail Bond 

Licensing 

Requirements/Bounty Hunter 

§4901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish licensing 

guidelines and other requirements for persons engaging in 

the apprehension or surrender of a bail bond principal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:706 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1326 (September 2021). 

§4903. Definitions 

A. The following terms when used in this Chapter shall 

have the following meanings. 

Bail Bond Producer—a person who holds an insurance 

producer license for the line of bail bonds and engages in the 

apprehension or surrender of persons who are released on 

bail or who failed to appear at any stage of the proceedings 

to answer the charge before the court in which they may be 

prosecuted.  

Bail Enforcement—the apprehension or surrender of a 

principal who is released on bail or who has failed to appear 

at any stage of the proceedings to answer the charge before 

the court in which they may be prosecuted. For the purposes 

of this regulation, bail enforcement shall include those 

activities commonly known as bail recovery, fugitive 

recovery or bounty hunting. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Insurer—any domestic, foreign or alien insurance 

corporation or association engaged in the business of 

insurance or suretyship which has qualified to transact surety 

business in this state. 

Surrender—as defined by the L.A.-CCRP Article 311. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1327 (September 2021). 

§4905. Bail Enforcement License Requirements for 

Louisiana 

A. In order to engage in, transact, or assist in bail 

enforcement, a person must be a duly licensed bail bond 

producer pursuant to Chapter 5 of Part I of the Louisiana 

Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1328 (September 2021). 

§4907. Non-Resident Bail Enforcement Requirements 

A. Bail enforcement persons from other states must be 

licensed bail bond producers in the state where the bond was 

written or otherwise be duly authorized to transact bail 

enforcement in that state and shall act in association with a 

local bail bond producer duly licensed by the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1327 (September 2021). 

§4909. Non-Resident Bail Enforcement Procedure and 

Notification Requirements 

A. In order for a bail enforcement person from another 

state to transact a surrender or apprehension of a principal in 

Louisiana, the following shall be done. 

1. Before conducting a surrender or an apprehension 

of a principal, a bail enforcement person from another state 

shall notify local law enforcement. 

2. A bail enforcement person from another state must 

have in their possession certified copies of material needed 

to identify the principal. Said materials shall be: 

a. a judgement of bond forfeiture or court order of 

failure to appear and/or certified copy of the bond and/or the 

agent's duly executed copy of the contract; 

b. a photograph of the principal; and 
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c. documentation reflecting that person is duly 

authorized to transact bail enforcement by the state where 

the bond was written. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1327 (September 2021). 

§4911. In State Bail Enforcement Procedure and 

Notification Requirement 

A. In order to engage in bail enforcement, the following 

shall be done. 

1. Before conducting a bail enforcement, the bail bond 

producer shall notify local law enforcement in the parish or 

city where the principal is sought unless exigent 

circumstances exist. 

2. The bail bond producer shall be required to wear 

identifying clothing while conducting bail enforcement in a 

private residence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:707 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1327 (September 2021). 

§4913. Prohibited Acts 

A. No licensed bail bond producer shall improperly 

withhold, misappropriate, fail to timely remit premiums and 

reports of bonds written, or convert to one's own use any 

monies belonging to principals, sureties and underwriters, or 

others possessed in the course of the business of insurance. 

B. No licensed bail bond producer shall perform bail 

enforcement in pursuit of any principal released on bail for 

nonpayment of premium. The surrender of a principal in 

violation of this subsection shall entitle the principal to the 

return of any premium paid. 

C. No licensed bail bond producer shall remove or have 

removed any bail bond power of attorney from the clerk of 

court or sheriff. 

D. No licensed bail bond producer shall transact or 

engage in bail enforcement with the assistance of an 

unlicensed person.  

E. Commercial sureties will need to comply with the 

requirements of R.S. 22:1441. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:708 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1327 (September 2021). 

§4915. Enforcement of Regulation 

A. The commissioner is vested with the authority to 

enforce this regulation. The department may conduct 

investigations or request other state, parish or local officials 

to conduct investigations. 

B.1. Violations of this Section are governed by Part I of 

Chapter 5 (Producers) and Part IV of Chapter 7 (Unfair 

Trade Practices) of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

2. The commissioner shall impose penalties, sanctions 

or fines as delineated in Part I of Chapter 5 and Part IV of 

Chapter 7 of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

C. The commissioner may promulgate such rules and 

regulations as may be deemed necessary for the enforcement 

of this regulation. The department shall impose penalties, 

sanctions or fines as delineated in the Louisiana Insurance 

Code and collect such fines as necessary for the enforcement 

of such rules and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:708 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1327 (September 2021). 

§4917. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective on final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:13, 22:822, 22:1211, 22:1441, 22:1443, 22:1543, 

22:1547, and 22:1556. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 25:708 (April 1999), 

amended LR 47:1328 (September 2021). 

Chapter 51. Regulation 

66―Requirements for Officers, 

Directors, and Trustees of Domestic 

Regulated Entities 

§5101. Authority 

A. Regulation 66 is promulgated pursuant to the 

authority vested in the commissioner under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:795 (April 2014). 

§5103. Purpose 

[Formerly §5101] 

A. The purpose of Regulation 66 is to require that 

officers, directors and trustees of domestic regulated entities, 

as herein defined, file biographical and other applicable, 

relevant, and appropriate information with the commissioner 

for review and approval. The purpose of this review and 

approval is to determine and ensure that a domestic 

regulated entity continues to meet minimum standards with 

regard to its officers, directors, and trustees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:78 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:795 (April 2014). 

§5105. Scope and Applicability 

[Formerly §5113] 

A. Regulation 66, as amended, shall apply to all 

individuals serving as an officer, director, or trustee of a 

domestic regulated entity and to all individuals nominated or 

otherwise suggested for such positions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:79 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:795 (April 2014). 

§5107. Definitions 

[Formerly §5103] 

A. For the purpose of Regulation 66, the following 

definitions shall be applicable. 

Directorperson(s) designated in the articles of 

incorporation, by-laws, or other organizational documents as 

such, and person(s) designated, elected, or appointed by any 

other name or title to act as director(s), and their 

successor(s). 

Domestic Regulated Entityany Louisiana domiciled 

entity which is required to obtain a license or certificate of 

authority from or register with the commissioner. This 

definition shall include, but is not limited to, all domestic 

regulated entities such as stock and mutual insurers, 

domestic captive insurers, mutual holding companies, non-

profit funeral service associations, domestic service insurers, 

reciprocal insurers, Lloyd’s plans, fraternal benefit societies, 

viatical settlement providers, viatical settlement investment 

agents, viatical settlement brokers, vehicle mechanical 

breakdown insurers, property residual value insurers, health 

maintenance organizations, risk indemnification trusts, third 

party administrators, interlocal risk management agencies, or 

any plan of self-insurance providing health and accident or 

workers compensation coverage to employees of two or 

more employers. This term shall not include motor vehicle 

rental insurers, insurance agencies, brokers, managing 

general agents, producers, reinsurance intermediary brokers, 

claims adjusters, public adjusters, or insurance producers 

acting as viatical settlement brokers pursuant to R.S. 

22:1792(A)(1). 

Officera president, vice-president, treasurer, secretary, 

controller, actuary, partner, and any other person who 

performs for the domestic regulated entity a part of the 

substantive functions corresponding to those performed by 

the foregoing officers. Officer shall also include the 

administrator of a plan of self-insurance providing health 

and accident or workers’ compensation coverage to 

employees of two or more employers or a risk 

indemnification trust. 

Trusteethe trustee of a trust, which provides health 

and accident or workers’ compensation coverage to 

employees of two or more employers or of a risk 

indemnification trust. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:78 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:795 (April 2014). 

§5109. Review of Officers, Directors and Trustees by 

Commissioner Required 

[Formerly §5105] 

A. No person shall serve as an officer, director, or trustee 

of a domestic regulated entity who has not first submitted 

the information required by §5111 to the commissioner or to 

whom, after review of the information required by §5111, 

the commissioner has refused to issue a letter of no 

objection. 

B. No domestic regulated entity may elect, appoint or 

otherwise accept as an officer, director, or trustee any 

individual who has failed to submit the information required 

by §5111 to the commissioner or to whom, after review of 

the information required by §5111, the commissioner has 

refused to issue a letter of no objection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:78 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:796 (April 2014). 

§5111. Procedure for Requesting Letter of No Objection 

from Commissioner 

[Formerly §5107] 

A. Each person elected, appointed or who otherwise 

becomes an officer, director or trustee of a domestic 

regulated entity shall, within 30 days of being elected, 

appointed, or otherwise chosen, submit to the commissioner 

a request for a letter of no objection regarding his service in 

that capacity. The request shall be made by the domestic 

regulated entity, in writing, in a form approved by the 

commissioner. 

B. Each request for a letter of no objection shall include: 

1. a biographical affidavit;  

2. a third party background verification; 

3. fingerprints submitted by card or electronic means;  

4. a statement from the domestic regulated entity 

indicating the position for which the individual has been 

elected, appointed, or otherwise chosen;  

5. a sworn statement from the individual confirming 

that he has no conflict of interest which would interfere with 

his service in the position or confirmation from the domestic 

regulated entity that the individual has disclosed any 

conflicts to that entity and that the entity has waived any 

such conflicts; and 

6. a true copy of an acceptance of trust, an oath of 

office, or other such document signed by the individual. The 
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form of these documents shall include a sworn statement that 

the individual agrees to abide by and direct the activities of 

the domestic regulated entity in compliance with all 

applicable provisions of the statutory and regulatory laws of 

Louisiana. 

C. The commissioner may request additional information 

to determine the competence, experience, and integrity of 

the individual and to ensure that the individual will not 

jeopardize the policyholders, members of the domestic 

regulated entity, or of the public. 

D. The fingerprint card and any criminal background 

information obtained pursuant to Regulation 66 shall be 

maintained by the fraud section of the department as 

confidential and shall not be subject to public disclosure 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1929. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:79 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:796 (April 2014). 

§5113. Conditions for Refusal of Letter of No Objection 

[Formerly §5109] 

A. The commissioner may refuse to issue a letter of no 

objection if he finds: 

1. the competence, experience, and integrity of the 

individual are such that it would not be in the best interest of 

policyholders, members or clients of the domestic regulated 

entity, or of the public to allow the person to serve in the 

proposed position; 

2. the individual has been convicted of, has pled guilty 

or nolo contendere to, or has participated in a pretrial 

diversion program pursuant to any charge of any felony or 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, public corruption, 

or a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust; 

3. the individual knowingly makes a materially false 

statement or omission of material information in the request 

for a letter of no objection; 

4. any other reason now or hereinafter as applicable 

statutes and regulations may provide. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:79 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:796 (April 2014). 

§5115. Waiver of Submission of Biographical and Other 

Applicable, Relevant, and Appropriate 

Information 

[Formerly §5111] 

A. The commissioner may waive the requirement that an 

individual submit a biographical affidavit, third party 

background verification, and fingerprint card under the 

following conditions: 

1. the individual has served as an officer, director, or 

trustee of a domestic regulated entity for a period of five 

consecutive years; or 

2. the individual has received a letter of no objection 

from the commissioner within one year of being elected, 

appointed, or otherwise chosen as an officer, director, or 

trustee, and the individual has attested to the fact that no 

material change has occurred in the biographical and other 

applicable, relevant, and appropriate information submitted 

in support of that request. 

B. Individuals who qualify for a waiver of the 

submission of the biographical and other applicable, 

relevant, and appropriate information must submit a true 

copy of the conflict of interest statement required by 

§5111.B.5, and the acceptance of trust, oath of office, or 

other such document signed by the individual, witnessed, 

and notarized, as required by §5111.B.6. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:79 (January 1999), 

amended LR 40:796 (April 2014). 

§5117. Rescission of Letter of No Objection  

A. The commissioner may rescind a letter of no 

objection if he finds that the individual submitted materially 

false information or omitted any material information in 

association with the request for a letter of no objection, or if 

subsequent events occur that cause the commissioner to 

question the competence, experience, and integrity of the 

individual, or if the individual has been convicted of, has 

pled guilty or nolo contendere to, or has participated in a 

pretrial diversion program pursuant to any charge of any 

felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, public 

corruption, or a felony involving dishonesty or breach of 

trust. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:797 (April 2014). 

§5119. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 66, as amended, shall become effective on 

April 20, 2014.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 372, 392, 467, 1772, 1804, 1922, and 2198, R.S. 

23:1200.1, and R.S. 33:1348 and 1358. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:797 (April 2014). 

Chapter 53. Regulation 62―Managed 

Care Contracting Requirements 

§5301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish the 

reasonable authority and obligation of managed care 

organizations related to provider contracts under Acts 1485 

and 897 of the 1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
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Legislature. The provisions of R.S. 40:1300.125 and R.S. 

40:1300.145 establish the legislative intent for qualifying 

rural hospitals, and their practicing physicians, to be allowed 

to participate in the health care delivery systems of managed 

care organizations. These statutes also establish the intent of 

the legislature that managed care organizations provide 

reasonable reimbursement for the services provided by 

qualifying rural hospitals and the physicians who practice at 

these hospitals. 

B. Act 897 of the 1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature amends Titles 40 and 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes to prohibit managed care organizations 

from using incentive arrangements that impede, impair, or 

otherwise diminish the ability of a plan member or enrollee 

to receive appropriate and necessary medical care and 

treatment. These statutes also establish the legislative intent 

that any prohibitions on the authority of an insurer to 

contract for delivery of health benefits through capitation or 

shared risk arrangements be limited to non-compliant 

incentive arrangements. To carry out the intent of the 

legislation and assure full compliance with the provisions of 

these Acts, this regulation establishes reasonable contracting 

requirements that are applicable to managed care 

organizations and assures uniformity in application of terms 

and conditions for participation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1853 (October 

1999). 

§5303. Definitions 

Accreditation/Certification―a hospital that is accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care 

Organizations (JCAHO) or Medicare certified for provision 

of acute care hospital services. 

Community―the parish in which a qualifying rural 

hospital is located. 

Discriminate―to apply a payment methodology that 

relies upon terms and conditions that are more restrictive 

than those terms and conditions applicable to non-rural 

hospitals or their practicing physicians in a region which 

result unreasonable payment to a qualifying rural hospital or 

physician practicing in such hospitals. A payment 

methodology that results in reimbursement to a qualifying 

rural hospital or practicing physician that is equal to or 

greater than the reimbursement to non-rural participating 

hospitals or physicians in the region, shall be considered 

non-discriminating. 

Employee―a person employed directly by a managed care 

organization and does not include any contract, temporary, 

or other type of employment arrangement. 

Geographic Area―a parish. 

Health Benefit Plan―any health insurance policy, plan, or 

health maintenance organization subscriber agreement, 

issued for delivery in this state under a valid certificate of 

authority by an entity authorized by law to bear risk for the 

payment of health care services. 

Health Care Provider―a physician duly licensed to 

practice medicine by the Louisiana State Board of Medical 

Examiners, or other health care professional duly licensed in 

Louisiana, or an acute care hospital licensed to provide 

medical care in this state. The term shall also mean any legal 

entity or organization formed for the primary purpose of 

providing medical or health care services and provides such 

services directly or through its participants. 

Incentive Arrangement―any payment or contractual 

obligation included in a general payment plan, capitation 

contract, shared risk arrangement, or other agreement 

between a managed care organization and a health care 

provider that is tied to utilization of covered benefits. 

Managed Care Organization―a health maintenance 

organization or other entity authorized by law to bear risk for 

the payment of health care services that holds a valid 

certificate of authority to issue for delivery in this state a 

health benefit plan. 

Pass Through Payments―any funds or payments received 

by a managed care organization for the purpose of 

reimbursing the cost of services provided by a health care 

provider, that are not covered by the health care provider's 

contract, including but not limited to research grants, and 

federal payments for indigent care. 

Payment Differential―a difference in the amount paid to a 

health care provider resulting from negotiations to establish 

a capitation, risk sharing, or other payment arrangement that 

is based on financial incentives necessary to establish 

medical services within a geographic area of the state. 

Practicing―a physician licensed to practice medicine by 

the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners who has 

established his/her practice in the geographic area where the 

rural hospital is located, maintains active hospital staff 

privileges, and provides medical treatment in said hospital 

on a weekly basis. The term shall also include any physician 

whose participation is essential to provision of services 

covered under a rural hospital's contract with a managed care 

organization or treatment of enrollees admitted to the 

hospital, provided such services are appropriate and within 

the scope of the hospital's accreditation/certification. The 

term does not include physicians who are merely affiliated, 

or associated with a rural hospital or any physician whose 

participation is essential to treatment of enrollees admitted to 

the hospital based on the unreasonable refusal of a hospital 

to utilize another physician available through the managed 

care organization who is qualified to provide the needed 

medical services to the patient. 

Region―a group of parishes designated by a managed 

care organization for establishing reimbursement amounts 

for payment of practicing health care providers. A managed 

care organization may follow congressional districts or such 

other reasonable grouping of contiguous parishes in 

establishing regions. In establishing regions, a managed care 

organization shall include all parishes of the state and limit 

the total number of regions to seven. In no event shall any 
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regional configuration be established that acts to 

discriminate unfairly against qualifying rural hospitals or 

their practicing physicians. 

Rural Hospital―a hospital qualifying to participate in a 

Health Maintenance Organization under the requirements of 

Part L of Chapter 5 of Title 40 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950, comprised of R.S. 40:1300.115. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1853 (October 

1999). 

§5305. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of this regulation apply to all managed care 

organizations holding valid certificates of authority to issue 

for delivery in this state, an insurance policy, plan, or health 

maintenance organization subscriber agreement. This 

regulation addresses the requirements of R.S. 40:1300.115 

regarding contracts with rural hospitals and their practicing 

physicians and establishes standards for participation in a 

managed care organization. The provisions of this regulation 

require managed care organizations to provide covered 

medical benefits either directly, or through contractual 

agreements with health care providers. A contractual 

agreement between a managed care organization and a 

health care provider shall require the health care provider to 

either: 

1. provide covered medical services directly; or 

2. in conjunction with other health care providers who 

are required, under contract or other arrangement, to meet 

the same statutory and regulatory requirements applicable to 

health maintenance organization contracts with health care 

providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1854 (October 

1999). 

§5307. Provider Contracting Requirements 

A. R.S. 40:1300.115 requires managed care 

organizations to accept qualifying rural hospitals, and their 

practicing physicians who meet specific statutory criteria, as 

providers of health care subject to the terms and conditions 

that are no more restrictive than applicable to other 

hospitals. This requirement applies in every parish where a 

managed care organization holding a valid certificate of 

authority issued by the Louisiana Department of Insurance, 

has policies, subscriber agreements, or contracts for delivery 

of benefits in effect. R.S. 22:2016.E. requires all hospitals 

and health care providers utilized by health maintenance 

organizations to be licensed under applicable state law. R.S. 

22:2021 prohibits health maintenance organizations from 

adopting or utilizing administrative treatment guidelines that 

fall below the appropriate standard of care. Additionally, 

R.S. 22:2019 prohibits the utilization of a certificate of 

authority by any person other than the organization or entity 

issued said certificate. 

1. All contracts for delivery of covered medical 

services shall be between the managed care organization and 

a health care provider, except contracts with other insurers 

for provision of health coverage. A managed care 

organization is only authorized to contract for delivery of 

health care services with one or more health care providers. 

Contracts with brokers, agents, or any entity other than a 

health care provider for the provision of covered medical 

services are prohibited. A managed care organization may 

allow health care providers to utilize other health care 

providers under contract with the managed care 

organization. 

2. A managed care organization shall limit the medical 

services included under a health care provider contract to 

those for which the health care provider is qualified and 

reasonably capable of providing. 

3. A managed care organization shall not adopt or 

utilize payment standards for health care providers that: 

a. require or induce by incentive or payment, the 

delivery of inappropriate medical care or treatment services; 

b. allow the provision of inappropriate or 

unnecessary medical procedures or treatment services; 

c. allow health care providers to perform, for 

payment, medical or treatment services for which they are 

not qualified; 

d. include an incentive or specific payment made 

directly or indirectly, in any form, to a health care provider 

as an inducement to deny, reduce, limit, or delay specific, 

medically necessary, and appropriate services provided with 

respect to a specific insured or groups of insureds with 

similar medical conditions. 

4. In any review of the terms and conditions of a 

health care provider's contract conducted by the Department 

of Insurance, the contract shall not be subject to disclosure to 

any other health care provider without the expressed written 

consent of the parties to such contract, except as otherwise 

allowed by law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1854 (October 

1999). 

§5309. Requirements for Inclusion of Rural Hospitals 

A. Managed Care Organizations Utilizing a Staff Model 

Approach 

1. Any managed care organization that directly 

provides health care services to insureds exclusively through 

its employees and wholly owned facilities that are duly 

licensed to provide such health care services, are not 

required to contract with qualifying rural hospitals except: 
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a. in any geographic area where the managed care 

organization has insufficient staff and/or facilities to provide 

the plan of benefits to insureds; 

b. for health care services available in the insureds 

community that are not readily accessible through the 

managed care organization within a reasonable distance of 

the community; 

c. for other covered services available in the 

insureds community that are not readily accessible through 

the managed care organization within a reasonable distance 

of the community; 

d. in a geographic area where the managed care 

organization utilizes public or private staff or hospitals to 

furnish health care services. 

B. General Managed Care Organization Requirements. A 

qualifying rural hospital shall be allowed to contract for 

provision of medical services to insureds or enrollees of a 

managed care organization who reside in the community 

where the hospital is located, and can reasonably be 

expected to utilize the hospital for provision of one or more 

medical services included in the contract. A qualifying rural 

hospital shall also be allowed to contract for provision of 

medical services to other insureds or enrollees of a managed 

care organization, if the qualifying hospital is located in a 

parish that is serviced by such managed care organization. 

The terms and conditions for participation by a qualifying 

rural hospital shall be no more restrictive than those 

normally applied to other participating hospitals in the 

region of the state where the rural hospital is located. Where 

the managed care organization offers the majority of 

participating hospitals a choice in contracting on a capitated 

or non-capitated basis, the same choice shall be available to 

qualifying rural hospital. In no event shall a managed care 

organization be required to make any special, enhanced, or 

extraordinary payment to a qualifying rural hospital based 

on its rural designation other than pass through payments. 

Additionally, a managed care organization is expressly 

prohibited from applying any factor, weight, or other 

adjustment that acts to reduce payment for medical services 

provided by a qualifying rural hospital based on its 

designation as a rural hospital. 

C. Capitation Contracting Requirements 

1. In establishment of capitation based pricing 

mechanisms or risk sharing arrangements, a managed care 

organization is authorized to use reasonable criteria that 

includes the scope of services available at the hospital and 

patient volume. A managed care organization may consider 

the amount and scope of services being included under such 

contractual arrangements in negotiating reimbursement 

amounts. However, in no instance shall a managed care 

organization base reimbursement on the exclusion of one or 

more qualifying rural hospitals or otherwise limiting enrollee 

access to appropriate medical care from such hospitals that 

are located in the community where the enrollee or plan 

member resides. 

2. A managed care organization shall be authorized to 

use payment differentials to establish a network of providers 

in a geographic area. A managed care organization shall be 

authorized to exclude application of such payment 

differentials to a qualifying rural hospital unless such 

payment differentials are being offered to other hospitals in 

the same geographic area. In no instance shall a managed 

care organization be prohibited from offering payment 

differentials to a qualifying rural hospital to gain access to 

health care providers in a geographic area. 

D. Other Contracting Requirements. Managed care 

organizations shall not discriminate against qualifying rural 

hospitals in establishing or utilizing pricing mechanisms. In 

no event shall a managed care organization establish 

payment rates or reimbursement systems that discriminate 

on the basis of a hospital's designation as a qualifying rural 

hospital. Modifiers, outliers, or weighting factors applicable 

to payments made to such qualifying rural hospitals on the 

basis of diagnosis, diagnosis for related groups (DRGs), 

procedure, procedure code, per diem, length of stay, or 

services rendered, shall not discriminate against qualifying 

rural hospitals, or be used to prevent participation by such 

hospitals or have this effect. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1855 (October 

1999). 

§5311. Requirements for Inclusion of Physicians 

Practicing in Qualifying Rural Hospitals 

A. General Managed Care Organization Requirements. A 

physician licensed to practice medicine by the Louisiana 

Board of State Medical Examiners, practicing in a qualifying 

rural hospital that has a health care provider contract with a 

managed care organization for provision of hospital services 

included under its accreditation/certification, shall be 

allowed to enter into a health care provider contract for 

provision of medical services to insureds or enrollees of the 

plan, policy, or subscriber agreement. The terms of the 

health care provider contract shall be no more restrictive 

than the terms and conditions offered to other health care 

providers who deliver the same services or benefits to 

insureds or enrollees of the managed care organization in the 

state, or applicable region of the state where the physician 

participates in a qualifying rural hospital. Where the 

managed care organization offers the majority of 

participating physicians a choice in contracting on a 

capitated or non-capitated basis, the same choice shall be 

available to a physician practicing in qualifying rural 

hospital. In no event shall a managed care organization be 

required to make any special, enhanced, or extraordinary 

payment to a physician practicing in a qualifying rural 

hospital based on the rural designation of the physician's 

practice. Additionally, a managed care organization is 

expressly prohibited from applying any factor, weight, or 

other adjustment that acts to reduce payment for medical 

services provided by a physician practicing in a qualifying 

rural hospital based on the rural designation of the 

physician's practice. 
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B. Capitation Contracting Requirements 

1. In establishment of capitation based pricing 

mechanisms or risk sharing arrangements, a managed care 

organization is authorized to use reasonable criteria that 

includes the scope of services available from the physician 

and patient volume. A managed care organization may 

consider the amount and scope of services being included 

under such contractual arrangements in negotiating 

reimbursement amounts. 

2. A managed care organization shall be authorized to 

use payment differentials to gain access to physicians in a 

geographic area. A managed care organization shall not be 

required to include in a health care provider contract, any 

amount that can be reasonably documented as resulting from 

application of a payment differential that is not applicable to 

the majority of participating physicians within a geographic 

area of the state who provide the same services to plan 

members. 

C. Other Contracting Requirements. Managed care 

organizations shall not discriminate against physicians 

practicing in qualifying rural hospitals in establishing or 

utilizing pricing mechanisms. In no event shall a managed 

care organization establish payment rates or reimbursement 

systems that discriminate on the basis of a physician's 

designation as a practicing physician in a qualifying rural 

hospital or have that effect. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1855 (October 

1999). 

§5313. General Provisions 

A. No health care provider contract entered into by a 

managed care organization shall include any provision or 

requirement that directly, or indirectly acts to transfer the 

organization's certificate of authority. A managed care 

organization shall not be relieved from performance of all 

required obligations under Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950 by any contract or agreement with a health 

care provider. 

B. Managed care organizations shall assure that all 

contracts issued on or after July 1, 1998 are in full 

compliance with the requirements of this regulation. All 

other contracts shall be brought into compliance upon 

renewal, amendment, or revision, but in no event later than 

December 31, 1999. 

C. Qualifying rural hospitals and their practicing 

physicians shall be subject to the same administrative 

procedures and remedies as any other complainant who files 

a valid complaint with the Department of Insurance. 

Managed care organizations found to be violating the 

requirements of this regulation shall be considered to be 

engaging in unfair trade practices as defined under R.S. 

§1214(12). All administrative remedies for any aggrieved 

party shall be governed by the provisions of Part XXIX of 

Chapter 1, of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 

1950 comprised of §§1351-1367. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 22, 

R.S. 22:3, R.S. 22:215.18, 22:2006, 22:2014, 22:2018, 22:2019, 

22:2021 and 22:2022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1856 (October 

1999). 

Chapter 60. Regulation 74―Payment 

of Health Coverage Claims 

§6001. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 

statutory requirements of health insurance issuers under Title 

22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. Title 22 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 establishes the statutory 

requirements for payment of claims by health insurance 

issuers serving residents of Louisiana. The statutory 

requirements establish the intent of the legislature to assure 

that residents with health care coverage are not billed for 

liabilities of health insurance. 

B. To carry out the intent of the legislature and assure 

full compliance with the provisions of applicable statutory 

requirements, this regulation sets forth the standards for 

payment of claims by health insurance issuers and 

supercedes current regulations on uniform claim forms. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2006 (September 

2000). 

§6003. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of this regulation apply to all health insurance 

coverage issued for delivery in the state of Louisiana that is 

otherwise subject to the statutory requirements of Part VI-D 

of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 

1950. The requirements of this regulation apply to all 

preferred provider organization contracts as required under 

the provisions of R.S. 40:2203.1(E) of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950. The requirements of this regulation shall 

also apply to the State Employees Group Benefits Program 

as required under R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2006 (September 

2000). 

§6005. Claim Payments―Definitions 

Claim―a request that covered benefits of a health 

insurance issuer be provided or paid for services that have 

been provided. The benefits claimed may be in the form of 

covered services, supplies, payment for all or a portion, of 

expenses incurred a combination of covered services, 
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supplies and expenses incurred, or indemnification for all or 

a portion of actual losses. 

Claimant―covered person, an authorized representative, 

or other entity filing a clean claim that is entitled to receive 

reimbursement from a health insurance issuer for covered 

benefits. 

Clean Claim―a correctly completed standardized claim 

form as required under the Department of Insurance, 

Regulation 48. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance. 

Contracted Medical Services―services provided by a 

state licensed, certified, or state registered provider of health 

care services, treatment, or supplies, including but not 

limited to those entities defined in R.S. 40:2203.1 that have 

entered into a contract or agreement with a health insurance 

issuer to provide such services, treatment or supplies to an 

individual enrollee or insured. 

Covered Benefits―benefits available to a member, 

subscriber or insured under an insurance policy, benefit plan, 

or other contract for coverage of health care benefits. The 

term also includes any medical services or equipment that is 

provided to a covered person under an assignment of 

benefits, when such assignment is authorized by law and the 

terms of an insurance policy or contract of coverage issued 

by a health insurance issuer. 

Covered Person―an insured, enrollee, member, or 

subscriber. In the case of a minor, the term includes an 

insured or legal guardian authorized to act in the best interest 

of such minor and therefore is acting on behalf of such 

covered person. 

Date Upon Which a Clean Claim is Received―the date 

the uniform claim form is received by the health insurance 

issuer or its legal agent. For health insurance issuer 

examinations, the department will use the postmark date of 

claims to determine if the date of receipt reasonably reflects 

the date claims are actually received by health insurance 

issuers. 

Department―the Department of Insurance. 

Electronic Claim―the transmission of data for purposes 

of payment of covered medical services in an electronic data 

format specified by a health insurance issuer and approved 

by the department. 

Health Insurance Coverage―benefits consisting of 

medical care provided directly, through insurance or 

reimbursement, or otherwise and including items and 

services paid for as medical care under any hospital or 

medical service policy or certificate, hospital or medical 

service plan contract, preferred provider organization 

agreement, or health maintenance organization contract 

offered by a health insurance issuer that is subject to the 

requirements of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Health Insurance Issuer―an insurance company, 

including a health maintenance organization, as defined and 

licensed pursuant to Part XII of Chapter 2 of Title 22, unless 

preempted as an employee benefit plan covered by the 

provisions of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act 

of 1974. The term shall also include the State Employees 

Group Benefits Program as required under R.S. 

22:230.4(A)(4) and preferred provider organizations as 

required under R.S. 40:2203. 

Just and Reasonable Grounds Such as Would Put a 

Reasonable and Prudent Businessman on His Guard―an 

articulable set of facts, as opposed to mere speculation or 

assumption, that fully complies with established 

jurisprudence. For health insurance issuer examinations, the 

department will reasonably determine whether denials are 

based on an articulable set of facts. 

Non-Contracted Medical Services―services provided by 

a state-licensed, certified, or state-registered provider of 

health care services, treatment, or supplies, including but not 

limited to those entities defined in R.S. 40:1299.41(A)(1) 

that have no contract or agreement with a health insurance 

issuer to provide such services, treatment or supplies to an 

individual enrollee or insured. 

Paid―the date the claim is adjudicated and any amount 

due and payable is released by the health insurance issuer. 

Any difference between the date of adjudication and the date 

the payment is released is required to be documented in the 

health insurance issuer's claim handling procedures filed 

with the department. 

Prohibited Billing Activities―the demand for payment of 

medical services from a covered person for covered benefits 

that are payable under the terms of a provider agreement 

with a health insurance issuer that is in effect. 

Uniform Claim―a standardized claim form as required 

under the Department of Insurance, Regulation 48. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2007 (September 

2000). 

§6007. Nonelectronic Claim Submission Standards 

A. Contracted Medical Services 

1. Any claim submitted by a contracted health care 

provider within 45 days of the date of service or discharge 

shall be paid to the claimant not more than 45 days from the 

date upon which a clean claim is received by a health 

insurance issuer or its legal agent, for an allowable expense 

on behalf of a covered person, unless just and reasonable 

grounds such as would put a reasonable and prudent 

businessman on his guard exist. 

2. Any claim submitted by a health care provider 

more than 45 days after the date of service or discharge or 

resubmitted because the original claim was incomplete or 

incorrect shall be paid to the claimant not more than 60 days 

from the date upon which a clean claim is received by a 

health insurance issuer or its legal agent, unless just and 

reasonable grounds such as would put a reasonable and 

prudent businessman on his guard exist. 
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B. Non-Contracted Medical Services 

1. Any claim for health insurance coverage benefits, 

whether submitted for payment by a covered person or by 

the health care provider rendering covered medical services 

that are not otherwise payable to the provider under a 

medical service contract with the health insurance issuer, 

shall be paid to the claimant not more than 30 days from the 

date upon which a clean claim is received by a health 

insurance issuer or its legal agent, unless just and reasonable 

grounds such as would put a reasonable and prudent 

businessman on his guard exist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2007 (September 

2000). 

§6009. Electronic Claim Submission Standards 

A. Any clean claim for a covered benefit payable to or 

on behalf of a covered person submitted by a contracted 

health care provider as an electronic claim shall be paid to 

the claimant not more than 25 days from the date upon 

which a clean claim form is received by the health insurance 

issuer or its legal agent, unless just and reasonable grounds 

such as would put a reasonable and prudent businessman on 

his guard exist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2008 (September 

2000). 

§6011. Thirty-Day Payment Standard 

A. A health insurance issuer may elect to utilize a 30-day 

payment standard for compliance with the requirements of 

§§6007 and 6009 following provision of written notice to the 

Office of Health Insurance who shall provide notice of such 

changes. Health insurance issuers may cancel this election 

upon provision of written notice to the Office of Health 

Insurance. Any health insurance issuer electing to utilize a 

30 day payment standard shall continue to meet all other 

requirements of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2008 (September 

2000). 

§6013. Claim Handling Procedures 

A. Health insurance issuers shall have appropriate 

handling procedures approved by the department for the 

acceptance of various claim submissions. Health insurance 

issuer claim handling procedures shall be filed with the 

Office of Health Insurance for review and approval. Such 

procedures shall include: 

1. a process for documenting the date of actual receipt 

of claims. Health insurance issuers shall include appropriate 

safeguards to assure claims are appropriately classified and 

directed to the appropriate claims staff for review. The 

procedures shall include a process for documenting 

complaints regarding lost claims and appropriate corrective 

action protocols; 

2. a process for reviewing claims for accuracy and 

acceptability. Health insurance issuers shall document their 

review process that includes procedures to verify compliance 

with uniform claim handling procedures. The procedures 

shall document the reasonable period of time taken to 

completely review each claim for completeness. The process 

and average timeframe utilized by the health insurance 

issuer shall be described in sufficient detail to document the 

average time required to determine if a uniform claim form 

has been correctly completed. For any claim that is found to 

be incomplete or otherwise not payable, the health insurance 

issuer shall provide specific written notice to the claimant 

within two days of all known reasons that the claim cannot 

be processed for payment within a reasonable period of time 

from the date of reviewing such claim for completeness. The 

procedures shall assure that the health insurance issuer 

prohibits the offsetting of claim payments for any other 

party, except as specifically provided by law, or with the 

expressed written consent of the claimant or by the 

contracted medical services provider contract. Except as 

required under R.S. 40:2010, a health insurance issuer whose 

policies or contracts of coverage do not allow benefit 

assignment shall be authorized to reject claims that are 

incorrectly completed as assigned claims; 

3. a process for reporting all claims rejected by the 

health insurance issuer and the reason for such rejection. 

B. Late Payment Procedures. Health insurance issuers 

shall establish appropriate procedures approved by the 

department to assure that any claimant who is not paid 

within the time frames specified in this regulation receives a 

late payment adjustment equal to 1 percent of the amount 

due at the time the claim is paid. For any period greater than 

25 days following the time frames specified in this 

regulation, the health insurance issuer shall pay to the 

claimant an additional late payment adjustment equal to  

1 percent of the unpaid balance due for each month or partial 

month that such claim or any portion of the claim remains 

unpaid. 

C. Compliant Procedures. The health insurance issuer's 

procedures shall include a process for insureds or enrollees 

to file complaints regarding provider demands for amounts 

owed by health insurance issuers. The procedures shall 

include all actions that will be taken by the health insurance 

issuer to address non-compliant providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2008 (September 

2000). 

§6015. Limitations on Claim Filing and Audits 

A. Health insurance issuers that limit the period of time 

that a claim may be filed for payment of benefits shall have 

the same limited period of time following payment of such 

claims to perform any review or audit for purposes of 

reconsidering the validity of such claims. For example, 

where a health insurance issuer limits the period for filing a 

claim for benefits to 12 months, then the health insurance 

issuer shall be limited to 12 months from the date of 

payment to perform any review or audit of the claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2008 (September 

2000). 

§6017. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:250.35, to implement and enforce the following provisions 

R.S. 22:230.4(A)(4), Part VI-D of Chapter 1 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, and R.S. 40:2203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:2009 (September 

2000). 

Chapter 62. Regulation 

103Utilization Review 

Organizations and Independent 

Review Organizations 

§6201. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to establish the standards and criteria for the 

structure and operation of utilization review and benefit 

determination processes designed to facilitate ongoing 

assessment and management of health care services; 

2. to provide the standards for the establishment and 

maintenance of procedures by health insurance issuers to 

assure that covered persons have the opportunity for the 

appropriate resolution of internal and external appeals; and  

3. to provide uniform standards for the establishment 

and maintenance of an internal claims and appeals process 

and external review procedures to assure that covered 

persons have the opportunity for an independent review of 

an adverse determination or final adverse determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2173 (October 2015). 

§6203. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation applies to all utilization review 

organizations, independent review organizations, health 

insurance issuers and health maintenance organizations that 

are doing business and acting as a utilization review 

organization or independent review organization in the state 

of Louisiana or who are seeking to do business as a 

utilization review organization or independent review 

organization in the state of Louisiana, as well as to health 

insurance issuers when they are a party to an external review 

request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2173 (October 2015). 

§6205. Authorization or Licensure as a URO 

A. No health insurance issuer or entity acting on behalf 

of or as an agent of a health insurance issuer shall act as a 

utilization review organization unless licensed to do so by 

the commissioner. The license shall become effective upon 

approval by the commissioner and shall remain in effect, 

unless suspended or revoked by an action of the 

commissioner. 

B. Entities who are not health insurance issuers but who 

are seeking to become licensed as a URO must complete 

and submit an application packet to the commissioner. The 

packet must include the application on the form approved 

and provided by the commissioner, payment of the initial fee 

per R.S. 22:821(B)(36) and all supporting documentation. 

Failure to submit all required documentation may result in 

processing delays or disapproval of the application. To 

obtain a copy of the URO application, visit 

www.ldi.la.gov/industry/company-licensing/application-

forms. 

C. Entities who are health insurance issuers and hold a 

valid certificate of authority in this state are not required to 

complete an application. However, the following 

documentation must be submitted to the commissioner: 

1. a general description of the operation of the URO, 

including a statement that the URO does not engage in the 

practice of medicine nor acts to impinge or encumber the 

independent medical judgment of treating physicians or 

providers; 

2. a copy of the URO’s program description or 

procedures manual; 

3. a sample copy of any contract, absent fees charged, 

for making utilization review determinations that is entered 

into with another health insurance issuer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2173 (October 2015). 

§6207. Approval of Independent Review Organizations 

(IRO)  

A. The commissioner must approve eligible IROs prior 

to their conducting external reviews or acting in the capacity 

of an IRO. However, no organization shall be approved as an 
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IRO or added to the list of approved IROs until it has 

submitted for approval a completed application packet and 

proof of accreditation by a nationally recognized private 

accrediting body that maintains accreditation standards 

equivalent to or higher than the minimum qualifications set 

forth in R.S. 22:2441. If the commissioner does not approve 

an IRO, the IRO will be notified of the disapproval in 

writing.  

B. The application packet must include the application 

completed on the form approved and provided by the 

commissioner, payment of the initial fee per R.S. 

22:821(B)(37) and all supporting documentation as outlined 

in the application. Failure to submit all required 

documentation may result in processing delays or 

disapproval of the application. To obtain a copy of the IRO 

application, visit www.ldi.la.gov/industry/company-

licensing/application-forms. 

C. IRO approvals are effective for two years from the 

date of approval. A request for re-approval must be 

submitted on the application form that has been approved by 

the commissioner and shall be accompanied by the 

applicable fee. Re-approval applications must be submitted 

not less than 60 days prior to the expiration of the most 

current approval. 

D. If an approved IRO’s specialty changes at any point 

during the two-year period, the IRO must inform the LDI of 

this change in writing within seven business days of such 

change. 

E. The commissioner will maintain and update the list of 

approved IROs. However, the commissioner may also 

revoke approval prior to the expiration of the two-year term, 

should it be determined that the IRO has lost its 

accreditation or no longer meets the minimum requirements 

under R.S. 22:2441. In such case, the IRO will be removed 

from the list of IROs and must cease conducting reviews. 

Any reviews that are pending for review by an IRO that has 

been removed from the list may be reassigned by the 

commissioner to another IRO.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2173 (October 2015). 

§6209. Requesting an External Review 

A. All requests for external review must be made by the 

health insurance issuer through the IRO review request 

module, which can be accessed via the industry access link 

on the LDI’s website: www.ldi.la.gov. When a covered 

person or his authorized representative requests an external 

review, the health insurance issuer shall notify the LDI by 

entering this request via the link. The request must be 

entered even if the health insurance issuer determines the 

request is ineligible for review. 

B. If the covered person or his authorized representative 

requests an external review, but the health insurance issuer 

determines that the request is not complete, the health 

insurance issuer shall notify the LDI through the IRO review 

request module described in §6209.A by completing the field 

indicating that the covered person’s or his authorized 

representative’s request is incomplete and stating with 

specificity the information or materials needed to make the 

request complete. Such notice shall be provided to the LDI 

within five business days following the date of receipt of the 

external review request from the covered person or his 

authorized representative pursuant to R.S. 22:2436. 

C. If the covered person or his authorized representative 

requests an external review, but the health insurance issuer 

denies the request as being ineligible pursuant to R.S. 

22:2436(B), the covered person or his authorized 

representative may appeal in writing to the commissioner. 

The health insurance issuer and the covered person or his 

authorized representative both may submit additional 

documentation, such as the policy to verify coverage 

limitations as well as dates of coverage, documentation of 

service dates, etc., to help establish why the denial should be 

upheld or reversed. However, no medical or protected health 

information should be submitted to the commissioner for 

this review, unless such information is determinative of the 

issue in the appeal. 

D. Upon receipt of an appeal of a health insurance 

issuer’s eligibility determination, the LDI may contact the 

health insurance issuer’s designated contact to request 

additional information, if necessary. Therefore, all health 

insurance issuers should ensure that the designated contact’s 

information is regularly updated in the industry access 

portal, as all electronic communications, including 

assignment of a case to an IRO, reporting of an IRO’s 

external review results, reporting of the commissioner’s 

decision on eligibility for an external review, etc., will be 

sent automatically to the designated contact of record that is 

on file with the LDI. 

E. To facilitate notice of the right to appeal a 

determination of ineligibility to the commissioner, the health 

insurance issuer shall include the reason for ineligibility, as 

well as the following language (or language that is 

substantially similar), in its notice to the covered person. 

“[Name of health insurance issuer] has determined that your 

request for an independent external review of your adverse 
determination does not meet the eligibility requirements for 

independent external reviews because [reason]. However, 
[name of health insurance issuer]’s determination that you are 

ineligible for an external review may be appealed to the 

Commissioner of Insurance, who has the authority to reverse 
[name of health insurance issuer]’s decision and order an 

independent external review of your adverse determination. If 

you wish to appeal this decision, you should go to the 
following website: https://ldi.la.gov/OnlineServices/ 

IROConsumerAppeals. 

Once you access the website, enter your last name and case 
number where instructed. Following verification of your name 

and case number, you will be able to enter the reasons you 

believe your adverse determination should be eligible for an 
independent external review. If you have questions or if you or 

your authorized representative is unable to access the website, 

you may contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance by 
email at ConsumerAppeals@ldi.la.gov or by telephone at 

(225) 342-1355. Your case number is _______.” 
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1. Health insurance issuers must also upload a copy of 

the adverse determination letter when reporting external 

review requests that have been deemed ineligible. 

F. If the covered person or his authorized representative 

requests an external review and the health insurance issuer 

does not deny the request as being ineligible or if the 

commissioner reverses a request that the health insurance 

issuer had deemed ineligible for external review, the health 

insurance issuer must submit the request to the LDI for 

assignment of an external review by using the IRO review 

request form which can be located on the LDI website, 

www.ldi.la.gov via the industry access portal. 

G. When completing the IRO review request form, the 

health insurance issuer must enter the following information: 

1. covered person’s name; 

2. covered person’s contact information (address, 

telephone, email address, fax); 

3. name of covered person’s authorized representative 

(if applicable); 

4. authorized representative’s contact information (if 

applicable); 

5. policy/contract number; 

6. name of primary care doctor or specialist; 

7. type of specialty; 

8. type of appeal requested: medical, rescission or 

experimental; 

9. type of appeal requested: standard or expedited; 

10. result of request: eligible or ineligible. 

H. Once the case has been assigned, neither the covered 

person nor the health insurance issuer may request the case 

be reassigned to another IRO, as all IRO assignments are 

final, unless reassignment is necessary pursuant to §6211.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2436 and R.S. 22:2452. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2174 (October 2015), 

amended LR 49:899 (May 2023). 

§6211. Assignment of Cases to IRO for External Review 

A. When an external review is requested and deemed 

eligible for review, the commissioner will randomly assign 

that case to an approved IRO for an external review. 

B. IROs will be notified of a case assignment via email, 

which will also include the external review case number 

specific to the case. To access the case via the industry 

access portal, click on the link that will be provided in the 

notice of assignment email.  

C. To open and access the case file, click on the “View” 

button next to the case number. From there, the IRO will 

have access to the insured’s contact information, or the 

insured’s authorized representative’s contact information, 

and supporting documentation for review. The IRO will also 

enter on this screen its final decision to either uphold or 

reverse the adverse determination. When the IRO submits its 

decision in the case, it will receive a confirmation message 

that the decision was successfully submitted. 

D. Notification of the case assignment will also be given 

to the covered person and the health insurance issuer, and 

will include the name and contact information of the IRO to 

whom the case has been assigned.  

E. Reassignment of an external review may occur only 

when:  

1. there exists a conflict of interest pursuant to R.S. 

22:2441(D). If a conflict exists, the LDI must be informed of 

such conflict via the industry access link; 

2. the IRO is not qualified to perform the type of 

review requested;  

3. the IRO loses its accreditation; or  

4. the IRO fails to meet the minimum requirements as 

set forth in R.S. 22:2441. 

F. Should an IRO reassignment be necessary, the 

commissioner will immediately and randomly reassign 

another IRO to conduct the review.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2174 (October 2015). 

§6213. Annual Reporting 

A. UROs and/or health insurance issuers acting as UROs 

must submit an annual report to the commissioner by March 

1 of each year, unless otherwise informed by the 

commissioner. The report must be submitted on the form 

supplied by the Office of Health Insurance. If a report is not 

filed on the form provided, the report will not be accepted. A 

report filing fee shall be due from any URO other than a 

health insurance issuer, per R.S. 22:821(B)(36). 

B. IROs must submit an annual report to the 

commissioner by March 1 of each year, unless otherwise 

informed by the commissioner. The report must be submitted 

on the form supplied by the Office of Health Insurance. If a 

report is not filed on the form provided, the report will not 

be accepted. The submission must be accompanied by the 

annual report filing fee, per R.S. 22:821(B)(37). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2175 (October 2015). 

§6215. Confidentiality 

A. All health insurance issuers must annually certify in 

writing that their utilization review program or the 

utilization review program of their designated URO 

complies with all state and federal laws regarding 

confidentiality and reporting. The certification shall be made 

on a form supplied by the Office of Health Insurance by 

March 1 of each year. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2175 (October 2015). 

§6217. Severability 

A. If any provision or item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 

affect other provisions, items, or applications of the 

regulation that can be given effect without the invalid 

provision, item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2175 (October 2015). 

§6219. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2452.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 41:2175 (October 2015). 

 Chapter 71. Regulation 24―Proxies, 

Consents and Authorizations of 

Domestic Stock Insurers 

§7101. Application of Regulation 

A. This regulation is applicable to each domestic stock 

insurer which has any class of equity security held of record 

by one hundred or more persons; provided, however, that 

this regulation shall not apply to any insurer if 95 percent or 

more of its equity securities are owned or controlled by a 

parent or an affiliated insurer and the remaining securities 

are held of record by less than five hundred persons. A 

domestic stock insurer which files with the Securities and 

Exchange Commission forms of proxies, consents and 

authorizations complying with the requirements of the 

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and the 

applicable regulations promulgated thereunder, shall be 

exempt from the provisions of this regulation with respect to 

any class of securities subject to SEC jurisdiction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7103. Proxies, Consents and Authorizations 

A. No domestic stock insurer, or any director, officer or 

employee of such insurer subject to §7101, or any other 

person, shall solicit, or permit the use of his name to solicit, 

by mail or otherwise, any proxy, consent or authorization in 

respect of any class of equity security of such insurer held of 

record by one hundred or more persons in contravention of 

this regulation and §§7123 and 7125, Schedules A and B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7105. Disclosure of Equivalent Information 

A. Unless proxies, consents or authorizations in respect 

of any class of equity security of a domestic insurer subject 

to §7101 hereof are solicited by or on behalf of the 

management of such insurer from the holders of record of 

such security in accordance with this regulation and the 

Schedules hereunder prior to any annual or other meeting of 

such security holders, such insurer shall, in accordance with 

this regulation and such further regulations as the 

commissioner may adopt, file with the commissioner and 

transmit to all security holders of record information 

substantially equivalent to the information which would be 

required to be transmitted if a solicitation were made. Such 

insurer shall transmit a written information statement 

containing the information specified in §7109.D to every 

security holder who is entitled to vote in regard to any matter 

to be acted upon at the meeting and from whom a proxy is 

not solicited on behalf of the management of the insurer; 

provided, that in the case of a class of securities in 

unregistered or bearer form such statement need be 

transmitted only to those security holders whose names and 

addresses are known to the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7107. Definitions 

A. The definitions and instructions set out in Schedule 

SIS, as promulgated by the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners, shall be applicable for purposes 

of this regulation. 

Solicit and Solicitation―for purposes of this regulation 

shall include: 

a. any request for a proxy, whether or not 

accompanied by or included in a form of proxy; or 

b. any request to execute or not to execute, or to 

revote, a proxy; 

c. the furnishing of a proxy or other communication 

to security holders under circumstances reasonably 

calculated to result in the procurement, withholding or 

revocation of a proxy. 

Solicit and Solicitation―shall not include: 

a. any solicitation by a person in respect of equity 

security of which he is the beneficial owner; 

b. action by a broker or other person in respect to 

equity security carried in his name or in the name of his 

nominee in forwarding to the beneficial owner of such 

equity security soliciting material received from the 

company, or impartially instructing such beneficial owner to 

forward a proxy to the person, if any, to whom the beneficial 

owner desires to give a proxy, or impartially requesting 

instructions from the beneficial owner with respect to the 

authority to be conferred by the proxy and stating that a 
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proxy will be given if the instructions are received by a 

certain date; 

c. the furnishing of a form of proxy to a security 

holder upon the unsolicited request of such security holder, 

or the performance by any person of ministerial acts on 

behalf of a person soliciting a proxy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965. 

§7109. Information to Be Furnished to Security Holders 

A. No solicitation subject to this regulation shall be made 

unless each person solicited is concurrently furnished or has 

previously been furnished with a written proxy statement 

containing the information specified in §7123. 

B. If the solicitation is made on behalf of the 

management of the insurer and relates to in annual meeting 

of security holders at which directors are to be elected, each 

proxy statement furnished pursuant to §7109.A shall be 

accompanied or preceded by an annual report (in 

preliminary or final form) to such security holders 

containing such financial statements for the last fiscal year 

as are referred to in Schedule SIS under the heading 

"Financial Reporting to Security Holders". Subject to the 

foregoing requirements with respect to financial statements, 

the annual report to security holders may be in any form 

deemed suitable by the management. 

C. Two copies of each report sent to the security holders 

pursuant to §7109 shall be mailed to the commissioner not 

later than the date on which such report is first sent or given 

to security holders or the date on which preliminary copies 

of solicitation material are filed with the commissioner 

pursuant to §7113.A, whichever date is later. 

D. If no solicitation is being made by management of the 

insurer with respect to any annual or other meeting, such 

insurer shall mail to every security holder of record at least 

twenty days prior to the meeting date, an information 

statement as required by §7109.C, containing the 

information called for by §7123, other than §7123.A, C, and 

D, which would be applicable to any matter to be acted upon 

at the meeting if proxies were to be solicited in connection 

with the meeting. If such information statement relates to an 

annual meeting at which directors are to be elected, it shall 

be accompanied by an annual report to such security holders 

in the form provided in §7109.B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7111. Requirements as to Proxy 

A. The form of proxy shall: 

1. indicate in bold-face type whether or not the proxy 

is solicited on behalf of the management; 

2. provide a specifically designated blank space for 

dating the proxy; and 

3. identify clearly and impartially each matter or 

group of related matters intended to be acted upon, whether 

proposed by the management, or security holders. No 

reference need be made to proposals as to which 

discretionary authority is conferred pursuant to §7111.C. 

B.1. Means shall be provided in the proxy for the person 

solicited to specify by ballot a choice between approval or 

disapproval of each matter or group of related matters 

referred to therein, other than elections to office. A proxy 

may confer discretionary authority with respect to matters as 

to which a choice is not so specified if the form of proxy 

states in bold-face type how it is intended to vote the shares 

or authorization represented by the proxy in each such case. 

2. A form of proxy which provides both for elections 

to office and for action on other specified matters shall be 

prepared so as to clearly provide, by a box or otherwise, 

means by which the security holder may withhold authority 

to vote for elections to office. Any such form of proxy which 

is executed by the security holder in such manner as not to 

withhold authority to vote for elections to office shall be 

deemed to grant such authority, provided the form of proxy 

so states in bold-face type. 

C. A proxy may confer discretionary authority with 

respect to other matters which may come before the meeting, 

provided the persons on whose behalf the solicitation is 

made are not aware a reasonable time prior to the time the 

solicitation is made that any other matters are to be 

presented for action at the meeting and provided further 

"that a specific statement to that effect is made in the proxy 

statement or in the form of proxy. (A proxy may also confer 

discretionary authority with respect to any proposal omitted 

from the proxy statement and form of proxy pursuant to 

§7115.)* 

D. No proxy shall confer authority: 

1. to vote for the election of any person to any office 

for which a bona fide nominee is not named in the proxy 

statement; or 

2. to vote at any annual meeting other than the next 

annual meeting (or any adjournment thereof) to be held after 

the date on which the proxy statement and form of proxy are 

first sent or given to security holders. 

E. The proxy statement or form of proxy shall provide, 

subject to reasonable specified conditions, that the proxy 

will be voted and that where the person solicited specifies by 

means of ballot provided pursuant to §7111.B a choice with 

respect to any matter to be acted upon, the vote will be in 

accordance with the specifications so made. 

F. The information included in the proxy statement or 

information statement shall be clearly presented and the 

statements made shall be divided into groups according to 

subject matter, with appropriate headings. All printed proxy 

statements or information statements shall be clearly and 

legibly presented. 

*To be used only if Section Eight is adopted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
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22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7113. Material Required to be Filed 

A. Two preliminary copies of the information statement 

or the proxy statement and form of proxy and any other 

soliciting material to be furnished to security holders 

concurrently therewith shall be filed with the commissioner 

at least 10 days prior to the date definitive copies of such 

material are first sent or given to security holders, or such 

shorter period prior to that date as the commissioner may 

authorize upon a showing of good cause therefor. 

B. Two preliminary copies of any additional soliciting 

material relating to the same meeting or subject matter to be 

furnished to security holders subsequent to the proxy 

statements shall be filed with the commissioner at least two 

days (exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays or holidays) prior to 

the date copies of this material are first sent or given to 

security holders or a shorter period prior to such date as the 

commissioner may authorize upon a showing of good cause 

therefor. 

C. Two definitive copies of the information statement or 

the proxy statement, form of proxy and all other soliciting 

material, in the form in which this material is furnished to 

security holders, shall be filed with, or mailed for filing to, 

the commissioner not later than the date such material is first 

sent or given to the security holder. 

D. Where any information statement or proxy statement, 

form of proxy or other material filed pursuant to these rules 

is amended or revised, two of the copies shall be marked to 

clearly show such changes. 

E. Copies of replies to inquiries from security holders 

requesting further information and copies of 

communications which do no more than request that forms 

of proxy theretofore solicited be signed and returned need 

not be filed pursuant to §7113. 

F. Notwithstanding the provisions of §7113.A and B and 

of §7121.E, copies of soliciting material in the form of 

speeches, press releases and radio or television scripts may, 

but need not, be filed with the commissioner prior to use or 

publication. Definitive copies, however, shall be filed with 

or mailed for filing to the commissioner as required by 

§7113.C not later than the date such material is used or 

published. The provisions of §7113.A and B and §7121.E 

shall apply, however, to any reprints or reproductions of all 

or any part of such material. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7115. Proposals of Stockholders 

(This Section would provide a procedure for presentation of 
security holder proposals where the insurance supervisory 

official deems the state's corporate or other laws do not 
provide satisfactory methods for such presentation. It was 

agreed that a decision on its inclusion in the regulations be 
postponed until this June, 1965 meeting and that, in the 

meantime, the subject be given further study.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7117. False or Misleading Statements 

A. No proxy statement, form of proxy, notice of meeting, 

information statement, or other communication, written or 

oral, subject to this regulation, shall contain any statement 

which at the time and in the light of the circumstances under 

which it is made, is false or misleading with respect to any 

material fact, or which omits to state any material fact 

necessary in order to make the statements therein not false or 

misleading or necessary to correct any statement in any 

earlier communication with respect to the same meeting or 

subject matter which has become false or misleading. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7119. Prohibition of Certain Solicitations 

A. No person making a solicitation which is subject to 

this regulation shall solicit any undated or postdated proxy 

or any proxy which provides that it shall be deemed to be 

dated as of any date subsequent to the date on which it is 

signed by the security holder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965. 

§7121. Special Provisions Applicable to Election 

Contest 

A. Applicability. This Section shall apply to any 

solicitation subject to this regulation by any person or group 

for the purpose of opposing a solicitation subject to this 

regulation by any other person or group with respect to the 

election or removal of directors at any annual or special 

meeting of security holders. 

B. Participant or Participant in a Solicitation 

1. For purposes of this Section the terms participant 

and participant in a solicitation include: 

a. the insurer; 

b. any director of the insurer, and any nominee for 

whose election as a director proxies are solicited; 

c. any other person, acting alone or with one or 

more other persons, committees or groups, in organizing, 

directing or financing the solicitation. 

2. For the purposes of §7121 the terms participant and 

participant in a solicitation do not include: 

a. a bank, broker or dealer who, in the ordinary 

course of business, lends money or executes orders for the 
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purchase or sale of equity security and who is not otherwise 

a participant; 

b. any person or organization retained or employed 

by a participant to solicit security holders or any person who 

merely transmits proxy soliciting materials or performs 

ministerial or clerical duties; 

c. any person employed in the capacity of attorney, 

accountant, or advertising, public relations or financial 

adviser, and whose activities are limited to the performance 

of his duties in the course of such employment; 

d. any person regularly employed as an officer or 

employee of the insurer or any of its subsidiaries or affiliates 

who is not otherwise a participant; or 

e. any officer or director of, or any person regularly 

employed by any other participant, if such officer, director, 

or employee is not otherwise a participant. 

C. Filing of Information Required by §7125, Schedule B 

1. No solicitation subject to §7121 shall be made by 

any person other than the management of an insurer unless 

at least five business days prior thereto, or such shorter 

period as the commissioner may authorize upon a showing 

of good cause therefor, there has been filed, with the 

commissioner by or on behalf of each participant in such 

solicitation, a statement, in duplicate, containing the 

information specified by §7125, Schedule B, and a copy of 

any material proposed to be distributed to security holders in 

furtherance of such solicitation. Where preliminary copies of 

any materials are filed, distribution to security holders 

should be deferred until the commissioner's comments have 

been received and complied with. 

2. Within five business days after a solicitation subject 

to §7121 is made by the management of an insurer, or such 

longer period as the commissioner may authorize upon a 

showing of good cause therefor, there shall be filed with the 

commissioner by or on behalf of each participant in such 

solicitation, other than the insurer, and by or on behalf of 

each management nominee for director, a statement, in 

duplicate, containing the information specified by §7125, 

Schedule B. 

3. If any solicitation on behalf of management or any 

other person has been made, or if proxy material is ready for 

distribution, prior to a solicitation subject to §7121 in 

opposition thereto, a statement, in duplicate, containing the 

information specified in §7125, Schedule B shall be filed 

with the commissioner by or on behalf of each participant in 

such prior solicitation, other than the insurer, as soon as 

reasonably practicable after the commencement of the 

solicitation in opposition thereto. 

4. If, subsequent to the filing of the statements 

required by §7121.C.1, 2, and 3, additional persons become 

participants in a solicitation subject to this rule, there shall 

be filed with the commissioner by or on behalf of each such 

person, a statement, in duplicate, containing the information 

specified by §7125, Schedule B, within three business days 

after such person becomes a participant, or such longer 

period as the department may authorize upon a showing of 

good cause therefor. 

5. If any material change occurs in the facts reported 

in any statement filed by or on behalf of any participant, an 

appropriate amendment to such statement shall be filed 

promptly with the commissioner. 

6. Each statement and amendment thereto filed 

pursuant to §7121.C.6 shall be part of the public files of the 

commissioner. 

D. Solicitations Prior to Furnishing Required Written 

Proxy Statement 

1. Notwithstanding the provisions of §7109.A, a 

solicitation subject to §7121 may be made prior to furnishing 

security holders a written proxy statement containing the 

information specified in §7123, Schedule A with respect to 

such solicitation, provided that: 

a. the statements required by §7121.C are filed by 

or on behalf of each participant in such solicitation; 

b. no form of proxy is furnished to security holders 

prior to the time the written proxy statement required by 

§7109.A is furnished to such persons; provided, however, 

that §7121.D.1.b shall not apply where a proxy statement 

then meeting the requirements of §7123, Schedule A has 

been furnished to security holders; 

c. at least the information specified in §7121.C.2 

and 3 of the statements required by §7121.C to be filed by 

each participant, or an appropriate summary thereof, are 

included in each communication sent or given to security 

holders in connection with the solicitation; 

d. a written proxy statement containing the 

information specified in §7123, Schedule A with respect to a 

solicitation is sent or given security holders at the earliest 

practicable date. 

E. Solicitations Prior to Furnishing Required Written 

Proxy Statement―Filing Requirements 

1. Two copies of any soliciting material proposed to 

be sent or given to security holders prior to the furnishing of 

the written proxy statement required by §7109.A shall be 

filed with the commissioner in preliminary form at least five 

business days prior to the date definitive copies of such 

material are first sent or given to such persons, or shorter 

period as the commissioner may authorize upon a showing 

of good cause therefor. 

F. Application of §7121 to Report 

1. Notwithstanding the provisions of §7109.B and C, 

two copies of any portion of the report referred to in 

§7109.B which comments upon or refers to any solicitation 

subject to §7121, or to any participant in any such 

solicitation, other than the solicitation by the management, 

shall be filed with the commissioner as proxy material 

subject to this regulation. Such portion of the report shall be 

filed with the commissioner in preliminary form at least five 

business days prior to the date copies of the report are first 

sent or given to security holders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965. 

§7123. Schedule A―Information Required in Proxy 

Statement 

A. Revocability of Proxy 

1. State whether or not the person giving the proxy 

has the power to revoke it. If the right of revocation before 

the proxy is exercised is limited or is subject to compliance 

with any formal procedure, briefly describe such limitation 

or procedure. 

B. Dissenters' Right of Appraisal 

1. Outline briefly the rights of appraisal or similar 

rights of dissenting security holders with respect to any 

matter to be acted upon and indicate any statutory procedure 

required to be followed by such security holders in order to 

perfect their rights. Where such rights may be exercised only 

within a limited time after the date of the adoption of a 

proposal, the filing of a charter amendment, or other similar 

act, state whether the person solicited will be notified of 

such date. 

C. Persons Making Solicitations Not Subject to §7121 

1. If the solicitation is made by the management of the 

insurer, so state. Give the name of any director of the insurer 

who has informed the management, in writing, that he 

intends to oppose any action intended to be taken by the 

management and indicate the action which he intends to 

oppose. 

2. If the solicitation is made otherwise than by the 

management of the insurer, state the names and addresses of 

the persons by whom and on whose behalf it is made and the 

names and addresses of the persons by whom the cost of 

solicitation has been or will be borne, directly or indirectly. 

3. If the solicitation is to be made by specially 

engaged employees or paid solicitors, state: 

a. the material features of any contract or 

arrangement for such solicitation and identify the parties; 

and 

b. the cost or anticipated cost thereof. 

D. Interest of Certain Persons in Matters to Be Acted 

Upon 

1. Describe briefly any substantial interest, direct or 

indirect, by security holders or otherwise, of any director, 

nominee for election for director, officer and, if the 

solicitation is made otherwise than on behalf of 

management, each person on whose behalf the solicitation is 

made, in any matter to be acted upon other than elections to 

office. 

E. Voting Securities 

1. State, as to each class of voting equity security of 

the insurer entitled to be voted at the meeting, the number of 

shares outstanding and the number of votes to which each 

class is entitled. 

2. Give the date as of which the record list of security 

holders entitled to vote at the meeting will be determined. If 

the right to vote is not limited to security holders of record 

on that date, indicate the conditions under which other 

security holders may be entitled to vote. 

3. If action is to be taken with respect to the election 

of directors and if the persons solicited have cumulative 

voting rights, make a statement that they have such rights 

and state briefly the conditions precedent to the exercise 

thereof. 

F. Nominees and Directors 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to the election 

of directors, furnish the following information, in tabular 

form to the extent practicable, with respect to each person 

nominated for election as a director and each other person 

whose term of office as a director will continue after the 

meeting. 

a. Name each such person, state when his term of 

office or the term of office for which he is a nominee will 

expire, and all other positions and offices with the insurer 

presently held by him, and indicate which persons are 

nominees for election as directors at the meeting. 

b. State his present principal occupation or 

employment and give the name and principal business of any 

corporation or other organization in which such employment 

is carried on. Furnish similar information as to all of his 

principal occupations or employments during the last five 

years, unless he is now a director and was elected to his 

present term of office by a vote of security holders at a 

meeting for which proxies were solicited under this 

regulation. 

c. If he is or has previously been a director of the 

insurer, state the period or periods during which he has 

served as such. 

d. State, as of the most recent practicable date, the 

approximate amount of each class of stock of the insurer or 

any of its parents, subsidiaries or affiliates other than 

directors' qualifying shares, beneficially owned directly or 

indirectly by him. If he is not the beneficial owner of any 

such equity securities make a statement to that effect. 

G. Remuneration and Other Transactions with 

Management and Others 

1. Furnish the information reported or required in item 

one of Schedule SIS under the heading "Information 

Regarding Management and Directors" if action is to be 

taken with respect to: 

a. the election of directors; 

b. any remuneration plan, contract or arrangement 

in which any director, nominee for election as a director, or 

officer of the insurer will participate; 

c. any pension or retirement plan in which any such 

person will participate; or 

d. the granting of extension to any such person of 

any options, warrants or rights to purchase any equity 

securities, other than warrants or rights issued to security 

holders, as such, on a pro rata basis. If the solicitation is 

made on behalf of persons other than the management, 
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information shall be furnished only as to Item IA of the 

aforesaid heading of Schedule SIS. 

H. Bonus, Profit Sharing and Other Remuneration Plans 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to any bonus, 

profit sharing, or other remuneration plan, of the insurer 

furnish the following information: 

a. a brief description of the material features of the 

plan, each class of persons who will participate therein, the 

approximate number of persons in each such class, and the 

basis of such participation; 

b. the amounts which would have been distributable 

under the plan during the last calendar year to: 

 i. each person named in item §7123.G; 

 ii. directors and officers as a group; and 

 iii. to all other employees as a group, if the plan 

had been in effect; 

c. if the plan to be acted upon may be amended 

(other than by a vote of security holders) in a manner which 

would materially increase the cost thereof to the insurer or 

materially alter the allocation of the benefits as between the 

groups specified in §7123.H.1.b, the nature of such 

amendments should be specified. 

I. Pension and Retirement Plans 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to any pension 

or retirement plan of the insurer, furnish the following 

information: 

a. a brief description of the material features of the 

plan, each class of persons who will participate therein, the 

approximate number of persons in each such class, and the 

basis of such participation; 

b. state: 

 i. the approximate total amount necessary to fund 

the plan with respect to past services, the period over which 

such amount is to be paid, and the estimated annual 

payments necessary to pay the total amount over such 

period; 

 ii. the estimated annual payment to be made with 

respect to current services; and 

 iii. the amount of such annual payments to be 

made for the benefit of: 

(a). each person named in §7123.G; 

(b). directors and officers as a group; and 

(c). employees as a group; 

c. if the plan to be acted upon may be amended 

(other than by a vote of security holders) in a manner which 

would materially increase the cost thereof to the insurer or 

materially alter the allocation of the benefits as between the 

groups specified in §7123.I.b.iii the nature of such 

amendments should be specified. 

J. Options, Warrants, or Rights 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to the granting 

or extension of any options, warrants or rights (all referred to 

herein as "warrants") to purchase stock of the insurer or any 

subsidiary or affiliate, other than warrants issued to all 

security holders on a pro rata basis, furnish the following 

information: 

a. the title and amount of equity security called for 

or to be called for, the prices, expiration dates and other 

material conditions upon which the warrants may be 

exercised, the consideration received or to be received by the 

insurer, subsidiary or affiliate for the granting or extension 

of the warrants and the market value of the equity security 

called for or to be called for by the warrants, as of the latest 

practicable date; 

b. if known, state separately the amount of equity 

security called for or to be called for by warrants received or 

to be received by the following persons, naming each such 

person: 

 i. each person named in §7123.G; and 

 ii. each other person who will be entitled to 

acquire 5 percent or more of the equity security called for or 

to be called for by such warrants; 

c. if known, state also the total amount of equity 

security called for or to be called for by such warrants, 

received or to be received by all directors and officers of the 

company as a group and all employees, without naming 

them. 

K. Authorization or Issuance of Stock 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to the 

authorization or issuance of any equity security of the 

insurer furnish the title, amount and description of the equity 

security to be authorized or issued. 

2. If the shares of equity security are other than 

additional shares or common equity security of a class 

outstanding, furnish a brief summary of the following, if 

applicable: 

a. dividend; 

b. voting; 

c. liquidation; 

d. preemptive and conversion rights; 

e. redemption and sinking fund provisions; 

f. interest rate and date of maturity. 

3. If the shares of equity security to be authorized or 

issued are other than additional shares of common equity 

security of a class outstanding, the commissioner may 

require financial statements comparable to those contained 

in the annual report. 

L. Mergers, Consolidations, Acquisitions and Similar 

Matters 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to a merger, 

consolidation, acquisition, or similar matter, furnish in brief 

outline the following information: 

a. the rights of appraisal or similar rights of 
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dissenters with respect to any matters to be acted upon. 

Indicate any procedure required to be followed by dissenting 

security holders in order to perfect such rights; 

b. the material features of the plan or agreement; 

c. the business done by the company to be acquired 

or whose assets are being acquired; 

d. if available, the high and low sales prices for 

each quarterly period within two years; 

e. the percentage of outstanding shares which must 

approve the transaction before it is consummated. 

2. For each company involved in a merger, 

consolidation or acquisition, the following financial 

statements should be furnished: 

a. a comparative balance sheet as of the close of the 

last two fiscal years; 

b. a comparative statement of operating income and 

expenses for each of the last two fiscal years and, as a 

continuation of each statement, a statement of earnings per 

share after related taxes and cash dividends paid per share; 

c. a pro forma combined balance sheet and income 

and expenses statement for the last fiscal year giving effect 

to the necessary adjustments with respect to the resulting 

company. 

M. Restatement of Accounts 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to the 

restatement of any asset, capital, or surplus of the insurer, 

furnish the following information. 

a. State the nature of the restatement and the date as 

of which is to be effective. 

b. Outline briefly the reasons for the restatement 

and for the selection of the particular effective date. 

c. State the name and amount of each account 

affected by the restatement and the effect of the restatement 

thereon. 

N. Matters Not Required to Be Submitted 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to any matter 

which is not required to be submitted to a vote of security 

holders, state the nature of such matter, the reason for 

submitting it to a vote of security holders and what action is 

intended to be taken by the management in the event of a 

negative vote on the matter by the security holders. 

O. Amendment of Charter, By-Laws, or Other 

Documents 

1. If action is to be taken with respect to any 

amendment of the insurer's charter, by-laws or other 

documents as to which information is not required above, 

state briefly the reasons for and general effect of such 

amendment and the vote needed for its approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7125. Schedule B―Information to Be Included in 

Statements Filed by or on Behalf of a Participant 

(other than the insurer) in a Proxy Solicitation in 

an Election Contest 

A. Insurer. State the name and address of the insurer. 

B. Identity and Background 

1. State the following: 

a. your name and business address; 

b. your present principal occupation or employment 

and the name, principal business and address of any 

corporation or other organization in which such employment 

is carried on. 

2. State the following: 

a. your residence address; 

b. information as to all material occupations, 

positions, offices or employments during the last 10 years, 

giving starting and ending dates of each and the name, 

principal business and address of any business corporation 

or other business organization in which each such 

occupation, position, office or employment was carried on. 

3. State whether or not you are or have been a 

participant in any other proxy contest involving this 

company or other companies within the past 10 years. If so, 

identify the principals, the subject matter and your 

relationship to the parties and the outcome. 

4. State whether or not, during the past 10 years, you 

have been convicted in a criminal proceeding (excluding 

traffic violations or similar misdemeanors) and, if so, give 

dates, nature of conviction, name and location of court, and 

penalty imposed or other disposition of the case. A negative 

answer to this sub-item need not be included in the proxy 

statement or other proxy soliciting material. 

C. Interest in Equity Security of the Insurer 

1. State the amount of each class of equity security of 

the insurer which you own beneficially, directly or indirectly. 

2. State the amount of each class of equity security of 

the insurer which you own of record but not beneficially. 

3. State with respect to the equity security specified in 

§7125.C.1 and 2, the amounts acquired within the past two 

years, the dates of acquisition and the amounts acquired on 

each date. 

4. If any part of the purchase price or market value of 

any of the equity security specified in §7125.C.3 is 

represented by funds borrowed or otherwise obtained for the 

purpose of acquiring or holding such equity security, so state 

and indicate the amount of the indebtedness as of the latest 

practicable date. If such funds were borrowed or obtained 

otherwise than pursuant to a margin account or bank loan in 

the regular course of business of a bank, broker or dealer, 

briefly describe the transaction, and state the names of the 
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parties. 

5. State whether or not you are a party to any 

contracts, arrangements or understandings with any person 

with respect to any equity security of the insurer including, 

but not limited to, joint ventures, loan or option 

arrangements, puts or calls, guarantees against loss or 

guarantees of profits, division of losses or profits, or the 

giving or withholding of proxies. If so name the persons 

with whom such contracts, arrangements, or understanding 

exist and give the details thereof. 

6. State the amount of equity security of the insurer 

owned beneficially, directly or indirectly, by each of your 

associates and the name and address of each such associate. 

7. State the amount of each class of equity security of 

any parent, subsidiary or affiliate of the insurer which you 

own beneficially, directly or indirectly. 

D. Further Matters 

1. Describe the time and circumstances under which 

you became a participant in the solicitation and state the 

nature and extent of your activities or proposed activities as 

a participant. 

2. Describe briefly, and where practicable state the 

approximate amount of, any material interest, direct or 

indirect, of yourself and of each of your associates in any 

material transactions since the beginning of the company's 

last fiscal year, or in any material proposed transactions, to 

which the company or any of its subsidiaries or affiliates was 

or is to be a party. 

3.a. State whether or not you or any of your 

associates have any arrangement or understanding with any 

person: 

 i. with respect to any future employment by the 

insurer or its subsidiaries or affiliates; or 

 ii. with respect to any future transactions to which 

the insurer or any of its subsidiaries or affiliates will or may 

be a party. 

b. If so, describe such arrangement or 

understanding and state the names of the parties thereto. 

E. Signature 

1. The statement shall be dated and signed in the 

following manner: 

I certify that the statements made in this statement are true, 

complete, and correct, to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

______________________   _____________________________ 

(Date)         (Signature of Participant or 

Authorized Representative) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1525 and 22:1533. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, March 17, 1965, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

Chapter 73. Regulation 25―Sale of 

Stock to Public; Stock Options 

§7301. Sale of Stock; Stock Options 

A. No new old line legal reserve life insurance company 

will be registered to sell stock to the public unless at least 

$1,000,000 is sold. 

B. No new industrial life insurance company will be 

registered to sell stock to the public unless at least $300,000 

is sold. 

C. At least 100 percent of the proceeds of the sale of 

stock must be placed in escrow until either of the above 

amounts has been sold or until the expiration of one year 

from the date of original registration. 

D. No company will be registered with a par value of 

less than $1 per share. 

E. Stock options must comply with "Restricted Stock 

Options" under the Internal Revenue Code, and such options 

can not exceed 10 percent of the total outstanding shares 

after the sale to the public. 

F. All officers, directors, incorporators or promoters of 

insurance companies must pay at least 85 percent of the 

public offering price into the company. No stock may be 

subscribed for at par by such individuals and then a public 

offering made at a price considerably in excess of par. 

G. No stock of an insurance company, whether original 

or secondary, can be sold to pay off a personal loan of the 

holder thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, May 28, 1964. 

Chapter 75. Regulation 27―Insider 

Trading of Equity Securities of a 

Domestic Stock Insurance Company 

Subchapter A. General Application 

§7501. Definitions 

Act―Act 8 of the 1966 Legislature of Louisiana. 

Class―all securities of an insurer which are of 

substantially similar character and the holders of which 

enjoy substantially similar rights and privileges. 

Equity Security―any stock or similar security; or any 

voting trust certificate or certificate of deposit for such a 

security; or any security convertible, with or without 

consideration into such a security, or carrying any warrant or 

right to subscribe to or purchase such a security; or any such 

warrant or right. 

Insurer―any domestic stock insurance company, with an 

equity security subject to the provisions of Act 8 of the 1966 

Legislature of Louisiana and not exempt thereunder. 

Officer―a president, vice president, treasurer, actuary, 

secretary, controller and any other person who performs for 

the insurer functions corresponding to those performed by 

the foregoing officers. 
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Securities Held of Record― 

1. for the purpose of determining whether the equity 

securities of an insurer are held of record by 100 or more 

persons, securities shall be deemed to be held of record by 

each person who is identified as the owner of such securities 

on records of security holders maintained by or on behalf of 

the insurer, subject to the following: 

a. in any case where the records of security holders 

have not been maintained in accordance with accepted 

practice, any additional person who would be identified as 

such an owner on such records if they had been maintained 

in accordance with accepted practice shall be included as a 

holder of record; 

b. securities identified as held of record by a 

corporation, a partnership, a trust whether or not the trustees 

are named, or other organization shall be included as so held 

by one person; 

c. securities identified as held of record by one or 

more persons as trustees, executors, guardians, custodians or 

in other fiduciary capacities with respect to a single trust, 

estate or account shall be included as held of record by one 

person; 

d. securities held by two or more persons as  

co-owners shall be included as held by one person; 

e. each outstanding unregistered or bearer 

certificate shall be included as held of record by a separate 

person, except to the extent that the insurer can establish 

that, if such securities were registered, they would be held of 

record, under the provisions of this rule, by a lesser number 

of persons; 

f. securities registered in substantially similar 

names where the insurer has reason to believe because of the 

address or other indications that such names represent the 

same person, may be included as held of record by one 

person; 

2. notwithstanding Paragraph 1 of this definition: 

a. securities held, to the knowledge of the insurer, 

subject to a voting trust, deposit agreement or similar 

arrangement shall be included as held of record by the 

record holders of the voting trust certificates, certificates of 

deposit receipts or similar evidences of interest in such 

securities; provided, however, that the insurer may rely in 

good faith on such information as is received in response to 

its request from a nonaffiliated insurer of the certificates or 

evidences of interest; 

b. if the insurer knows or has reason to know that 

the form of holding securities of record is used primarily to 

circumvent the provisions of the Act, the beneficial owners 

of such securities shall be deemed to be the record owners 

thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7503. Transactions Exempted from the Operation of 

Section 1526 of the Act 

A. Any acquisition or disposition of any equity security 

by a director or officer of an insurer within six months prior 

to the date on which the Act shall first become applicable 

with respect to the equity securities of such insurer shall not 

be subject to the operation of Section 1526 of the Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967.  

Subchapter B. Regulations under 

Section 1525 of the Act 

§7509. Filing of Statements 

A. Initial statements of beneficial ownership of equity 

securities required by Section 1525 of the Act shall be filed 

on Form A, §7561. Statements of changes in such beneficial 

ownership required by Section 1525 shall be filed on Form 

B, §7563. All such statements shall be prepared and filed in 

accordance with the requirements of the applicable form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7511. Ownership of More than 10 Percent of an Equity 

Security 

A. In determining, for the purpose of Section 1525 of the 

Act whether a person is the beneficial owner, directly or 

indirectly, of more than 10 percent of any class of any equity 

security, such class shall be deemed to consist of the total 

amount of such class outstanding, exclusive of any securities 

of such class held by or for the account of the insurer or a 

subsidiary of the insurer; except that for the purpose of 

determining percentage ownership of voting trust certificates 

or certificates of deposit for equity securities, the class of 

voting trust certificates or certificates of deposit shall be 

deemed to consist of the amount of voting trust certificates 

or certificates of deposit issuable with respect to the total 

amount of outstanding equity securities of the class which 

may be deposited under the voting trust agreement or deposit 

agreement in question, whether or not all of such 

outstanding securities have been so deposited. For the 

purpose of §7511 a person acting in good faith may rely on 

the information contained in the latest Convention Form 

Statement filed with the commissioner with respect to the 

amount of securities of a class outstanding or in the case of 

voting trust certificates or certificates of deposit the amount 

thereof issuable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7513. Disclaimer of Beneficial Ownership 
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A. Any person filing a statement may expressly declare 

therein that the filing of such statement shall not be 

construed as an admission that such person is, for the 

purpose of the Act, the beneficial owner of any equity 

securities covered by the statement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7515. Exemptions from Sections 1525 and 1526 of the 

Act 

A. During the period of 12 months following their 

appointment and qualification, securities held by the 

following persons shall be exempt from Sections 1525 and 

1526 of the Act: 

1. executors or administrators of the estate of a 

decedent; 

2. guardians or committees for an incompetent; and 

3. receivers, trustees in bankruptcy, assignees for the 

benefit of creditors, conservators, liquidating agents, and 

other similar persons duly authorized by law to administer 

the estate or assets of other persons. 

B. After the 12-month period following their 

appointment or qualification the foregoing persons shall be 

required to file reports with respect to the securities held by 

the estates which they administer under Section 1525 of the 

Act and shall be liable for profits realized from trading in 

such securities pursuant to Section 1526 of the Act only 

when the estate being administered is a beneficial owner of 

more than 10 percent of any class of equity security of an 

insurer subject to the Act. 

C. Securities reacquired by or for the account of an 

insurer and held by it for its account shall be exempt from 

Sections 1525 and 1526 during the time they are held by the 

insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7517. Exemption from the Act of Securities Purchased 

or Sold by Odd-Lot Dealers 

A. Securities purchased or sold by an odd-lot dealer: 

1. in odd lots so far as reasonably necessary to carry 

on odd-lot transactions; or 

2. in round lots to offset odd-lot transactions 

previously or simultaneously executed or reasonably 

anticipated in the usual course of business, shall be exempt 

from the provisions of the Act with respect to participation 

by such odd-lot dealer in such transactions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7519. Certain Transactions Subject to Section 1525 of 

the Act 

A. The acquisition or disposition of any transferable 

option, put, call, spread or straddle shall be deemed such a 

change in the beneficial ownership of the security to which 

such privilege relates as to require the filing of a statement 

reflecting the acquisition or disposition of such privilege. 

Nothing in §7519, however, shall exempt any person from 

filing the statements required upon the exercise of such 

option, put, call, spread or straddle. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7521. Ownership of Securities Held in Trust 

A. Beneficial ownership of a security for the purpose of 

Section 1525 shall include: 

1. the ownership of securities as a trustee where either 

the trustee or members of his immediate family have a 

vested interest in the income or corpus of the trust; 

2. the ownership of a vested beneficial interest in a 

trust; and 

3. the ownership of securities as a settlor of a trust in 

which the settlor has the power to revoke the trust without 

obtaining the consent of all the beneficiaries. 

B. Except as provided in §7521.C, beneficial ownership 

of securities solely as a settlor or beneficiary of a trust shall 

be exempt from the provisions of Section 1525 where less 

than 20 percent in market value of the securities having a 

readily ascertainable market value held by such trust, 

determined as of the end of the preceding fiscal year of the 

trust, consists of equity securities with respect to which 

reports would otherwise be required. Exemption is likewise 

accorded from Section 1525 with respect to any obligation 

which would otherwise be imposed solely by reason of 

ownership as settlor or beneficiary of securities held in trust, 

where the ownership, acquisition, or disposition of such 

securities by the trust is made without prior approval by the 

settlor or beneficiary. No exemption pursuant to §7521 shall, 

however, be acquired or lost solely as a result of changes in 

the value of the trust assets during any fiscal year or during 

any time when there is no transaction by the trust in the 

securities otherwise subject to the reporting requirements of 

Section 1525. 

C. In the event that 10 per cent of any class of any equity 

security of an insurer is held in a trust, that trust and the 

trustees thereof as such shall be deemed a person required to 

file the reports specified in Section 1525 of the Act. 

D. Not more than one report need be filed to report any 

holdings or with respect to any transaction in securities held 

by a trust, regardless of the number of officers, directors or 

10 percent stockholders who are either trustees, settlors, or 

beneficiaries of a trust, provided that the report filed shall 

disclose the names of all trustees, settlors and beneficiaries 

who are officers, directors or 10 percent stockholders. A 

person having an interest only as a beneficiary of a trust 

shall not be required to file any such report so long as he 
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relies in good faith upon an understanding that the trustee of 

such trust will file whatever reports might otherwise be 

required of such beneficiary. 

E.1. As used in §7521 the immediate family of a trustee 

means: 

a. a son or daughter of the trustee, or a descendant 

of either; 

b. a stepson or stepdaughter of the trustee; 

c. the father or mother of the trustee, or an ancestor 

of either; 

d. a stepfather or stepmother of the trustee; 

e. a spouse of the trustee. 

2. For the purpose of determining whether any of the 

foregoing relations exists, a legally adopted child of a person 

shall be considered a child of such person by blood. 

F. In determining, for the purposes of Section 1525 of 

the Act, whether a person is the beneficial owner, directly or 

indirectly, of more than 10 percent of any class of any equity 

security, the interest of such person in the remainder of a 

trust shall be excluded from the computation. 

G. No report shall be required by any person, whether or 

not otherwise subject to the requirement of filing reports 

under Section 1525, with respect to his indirect interest in 

portfolio securities held by: 

1. a pension or retirement plan holding securities of an 

insurer whose employees generally are the beneficiaries of 

the plan; 

2. a business trust with over 25 beneficiaries. 

H. Nothing in §7521 shall be deemed to impose any 

duties or liabilities with respect to reporting any transaction 

of holding prior to its effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7523. Exemption for Small Transactions 

A. Any acquisition of securities shall be exempt from 

Section 1525 where: 

1. the person effecting the acquisition does not within 

six months thereafter effect any disposition, otherwise than 

by way of gift, of securities of the same class; and 

2. the person effecting such acquisition does not 

participate in acquisitions or in dispositions of securities of 

the same class having a total market value in excess of 

$3,000 for any six months' period during which the 

acquisition occurs. 

B. Any acquisition or disposition of securities by way of 

gift, where the total amount of such gifts does not exceed 

$3,000 in market value for any six months' period, shall be 

exempt from Section 1525 and may be excluded from the 

computations prescribed in §7523.A.2. 

C. Any person exempted by §7523.A or B shall include 

in the first report filed by him after a transaction within the 

exemption a statement showing his acquisitions and 

dispositions for each six months' period or portion thereof 

which has elapsed since his last filing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7525. Exemption from Section 1526 of the Act of 

Transactions which Need Not Be Reported 

under Section 1525 

A. Any transaction which has been or shall be exempted 

from the requirements of Section 1525 of the Act shall, 

insofar as it is otherwise subject to the provisions of Section 

1526, be likewise exempted from Section 1526. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967.  

Subchapter C. Regulations under 

Section 1526 of the Act 

§7531. Exemption from Section 1526 of Certain 

Transactions Effected in Connection with a 

Distribution 

A. Any transaction of purchase and sale, or sale and 

purchase, of a security which is effected in connection with 

the distribution of a substantial block of securities shall be 

exempt from the provisions of Section 1526 of the Act, to 

the extent specified in §7531 as not comprehended within 

the purpose of said Section of the Act, upon the following 

conditions: 

1. the person effecting the transaction is engaged in 

the business of distributing securities and is participating in 

good faith, in the ordinary course of such business, in the 

distribution of such block of securities; 

2. the security involved in the transaction is: 

a. a part of such block of securities and is acquired 

by the person effecting the transaction, with a view to the 

distribution thereof, from the insurer or other person on 

whose behalf such securities are being distributed or from a 

person who is participating in good faith in the distribution 

of such block of securities; or 

b. a security purchased in good faith by or for the 

account of the person effecting the transaction for the 

purpose of stabilizing the market price of securities of the 

class being distributed or to cover an over-allotment or other 

short position created in connection with such distribution; 

and 

3. other persons not within the purview of Section 

1526 of the Act are participating in the distribution of such 

block of securities on terms at least as favorable as those on 

which such person is participating and to an extent at least 

equal to the aggregate participation of all persons exempted 
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from the provisions of Section 1526 of the Act by §7531. 

However, the performance of the functions of manager of a 

distributing group and the receipt of a bona fide payment for 

performing such functions shall not preclude an exemption 

which would otherwise be available under §7531. 

B. The exemption of a transaction pursuant to §7531 

with respect to the participation therein of one party thereto 

shall not render such transaction exempt with respect to 

participation of any other party therein unless such other 

party also meets the conditions of §7531. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7533. Exemption from Section 1526 of Acquisitions of 

Shares of Stock and Stock Options under 

Certain Stock Bonus, Stock Option or Similar 

Plans 

A. Any acquisition of shares of stock (other than stock 

acquired upon the exercise of an option, warrant or right) 

pursuant to a stock bonus, profit sharing, retirement, 

incentive, thrift, savings or similar plan, or any acquisition 

of a qualified or a restricted stock option pursuant to a 

qualified or a restricted stock option plan, or a stock option 

pursuant to an employee stock purchase plan, by a director 

or officer of an insurer issuing such stock or stock option 

shall be exempt from the operations of Section 1526 of the 

Act if the plan meets the following conditions. 

1. The plan has been approved, directly or indirectly: 

a. by the affirmative votes of the holders of a 

majority of the securities of such insurer present, or 

represented, and entitled to vote at a meeting duly held in 

accordance with the applicable laws of the state of 

Louisiana; or 

b. by the written consent of the holders of a 

majority of the securities of such insurer entitled to vote; 

provided, however, that if such vote or written consent was 

not solicited substantially in accordance with the proxy rules 

and regulations prescribed by the Commissioner of 

Insurance in effect at the time of such vote or written 

consent, the insurer shall furnish, in writing, to the holders of 

record of the securities entitled to vote for the plan 

substantially the same information concerning the plan 

which would be required by any such rules and regulations 

so prescribed and in effect at the time such information is 

furnished, if proxies to be voted with respect to the approval 

or disapproval of the plan were then being solicited, on or 

prior to the date of the first annual meeting of security 

holders held subsequent to the later of: 

 i. the date the Act first applies to such insurer; or 

 ii. the acquisition of an equity security for which 

exemption is claimed. Such written information may be 

furnished by mail to the last known address of the security 

holders of record within 30 days prior to the date of mailing. 

Four copies of such written information shall be filed with, 

or mailed for filing to the commissioner not later than the 

date on which it is first sent or given to security holders of 

the insurer. For the purposes of this Paragraph, the term 

insurer includes a predecessor corporation if the plan or 

obligations to participate thereunder were assumed by the 

insurer in connection with the succession. 

2. If the selection of any director or officer of the 

insurer to whom stock may be allocated or to whom 

qualified, restricted or employee stock purchase plan stock 

options may be granted pursuant to the plan, or the 

determination of the number or maximum number of shares 

of stock which may be allocated to any such director or 

officer or which may be covered by qualified, restricted or 

employee stock purchase plan stock options granted to any 

such director or officer, is subject to the discretion of any 

person, then such discretion shall be exercised only as 

follows. 

a. With respect to the participation of directors: 

 i. by the board of directors of the insurer, a 

majority of which board and a majority of the directors 

acting in the matter are disinterested persons; 

 ii. by, or only in accordance with the 

recommendations of, a committee of three or more persons 

having full authority to act in the matter, all of the members 

of which committee are disinterested persons; or 

 iii. otherwise in accordance with the plan, if the 

plan: 

(a). specifies the number or maximum number of 

shares of stock which directors may acquire or which may 

be subject to qualified, restricted or employee stock purchase 

plan stock options granted to directors and the terms upon 

which, and the times at which, or the periods within which, 

such stock may be acquired or such options may be acquired 

and exercised; or 

(b). sets forth, by formula or otherwise, effective 

and determinable limitations with respect to the foregoing 

based upon earnings of the insurer, dividends paid, 

compensation received by participants, option prices, market 

value of shares, outstanding shares or percentages thereof 

outstanding from time to time, or similar factors. 

b. With respect to the participation of officers who 

are not directors: 

 i. by the board of directors of the insurer or a 

committee of three or more directors; or 

 ii. by, or only in accordance with the 

recommendations of, a committee of three or more persons 

having full authority to act in the matter, all of the members 

of which committee are disinterested persons. 

c. For the purpose of §7533.A.2, a director or 

committee member shall be deemed to be a disinterested 

person only if such person is not at the time such discretion 

is exercised eligible and has not at any time within one year 

prior thereto been eligible for selection as a person to whom 

stock may be allocated or to whom qualified, restricted or 

employee stock purchase plan stock options may be granted 

pursuant to the plan or any other plan of the insurer or any of 
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its affiliates entitling the participants therein to acquire stock 

of qualified, restricted or employee stock purchase plan 

stock options of the insurer or any of its affiliates. 

d. The provisions of §7533.A.2 shall not apply with 

respect to any option granted, or other equity security 

acquired, prior to the date that Sections 1525, 1526 and 1527 

of the Act first become applicable with respect to any class 

of equity securities of any insurer. 

3. As to each participant, or as to all participants, the 

plan effectively limits the aggregate dollar amount or the 

aggregate number of shares of stock which may be allocated, 

or which may be subject to qualified, restricted, or employee 

stock purchase plan stock options granted, pursuant to the 

plan. The limitations may be established on an annual basis, 

or for the duration of the plan, whether or not the plan has a 

fixed termination date; and may be determined either by 

fixed or maximum dollar amounts or fixed or maximum 

numbers of shares or by formulas based upon earnings of the 

insurer, dividends paid, compensation received by 

participants, option prices, market value of shares, 

outstanding shares or percentages thereof outstanding from 

time to time, or similar factors which will result in an 

effective and determinable limitation. Such limitations may 

be subject to any provisions for adjustment of the plan or of 

stock allocable or options outstanding thereunder to prevent 

dilution or enlargement of rights. 

4. Unless the context otherwise requires, all terms 

used in §7533 shall have the same meaning as in the Act and 

in Subchapter A of these regulations. In addition, the 

following definitions apply. 

Exercise of an Option, Warrant or Right―contained 

in the parenthetical clause of §7533.A shall not include: 

 i. the making of any election to receive under any 

plan an award of compensation in the form of stock or 

credits therefor, provided that such election is made prior to 

the making of the award, and provided further that such 

election is irrevocable until at least six months after 

termination of employment; 

 ii. the subsequent crediting of such stock; 

 iii. the making of any election as to a time for 

delivery of such stock after termination of employment, 

provided that such election is made at least six months prior 

to any such delivery; 

 iv. the fulfillment of any condition to the absolute 

right to receive such stock; or 

 v. the acceptance of certificates for shares of such 

stock. 

Plan―includes any plan, whether or not set forth in 

any formal written document or documents and whether or 

not approved in its entirety at one time. 

Qualified Stock Option and Employee Stock Purchase 

Plan that are set forth in Sections 422 and 423 of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, are to be 

applied to those terms where used in §7533. 

Restricted Stock Option―as defined in Section 424(b) 

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended, shall be 

applied to that term as used in §7533, provided, however, 

that for the purposes of §7533 an option which meets all of 

the conditions of that Section, other than the date of issuance 

shall be deemed to be a restricted stock option. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7535. Exemption from Section 1526 of Certain 

Transactions in which Securities Are Received 

by Redeeming other Securities 

A. Any acquisition of an equity security (other than a 

convertible security or right to purchase a security) by a 

director or officer of the insurer issuing such security shall 

be exempt from the operation of Section 2 of the Act upon 

condition that: 

1. the equity security is acquired by way of 

redemption of another security of an insurer substantially all 

of whose assets other than cash (or government bonds) 

consist of securities of the insurer issuing the equity security 

so acquired, and which: 

a. represented substantially and in practical effect a 

stated or readily ascertainable amount of such equity 

security; 

b. had a value which was substantially determined 

by the value of such equity security; and 

c. conferred upon the holder the right to receive 

such equity security without the payment of any 

consideration other than the security redeemed; 

2. no security of the same class as the security 

redeemed was acquired by the director or officer within six 

months prior to such redemption or is acquired within six 

months after such redemption; 

3. the insurer issuing the equity security acquired has 

recognized the applicability of §7535.A.1 by appropriate 

corporate action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7537. Exemption of Long-Term Profits Incident to 

Sales within Six Months of the Exercise of an 

Option 

A. To the extent specified in §7537.B, the commissioner 

hereby exempts as not comprehended within the purposes of 

Section 1526 of the Act any transaction or transactions 

involving the purchase and sale, or sale and purchase, of any 

equity security where such purchase is pursuant to the 

exercise of an option or similar right either: 

1. acquired more than six months before its exercise; 

or 
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2. acquired pursuant to the terms of an employment 

contract entered into more than six months before its 

exercise. 

B. In respect of transactions specified in §7537.A the 

profits inuring to the insurer shall not exceed the difference 

between the proceeds of sale and the lowest market price of 

any security of the same class within six months before or 

after the date of sale. Nothing in §7537 shall be deemed to 

enlarge the amount of profit which would inure to such 

insurer in the absence of §7537. 

C. The commissioner also hereby exempts, as not 

comprehended within the purposes of Section 1526 of the 

Act, the disposition of a security, purchased in a transaction 

specified in §7537.A, pursuant to a plan or agreement for 

merger or consolidation, or reclassification of the insurer's 

securities, or for the exchange of its securities for the 

securities of another person which has acquired its assets, or 

which is in control, as defined in Section 368(c) of the 

Internal Revenue Code of 1954, of a person which has 

acquired its assets, where the terms of such plan or 

agreement are binding upon all stockholders of the insurer 

except to the extent that dissenting stockholders may be 

entitled, under statutory provisions or provisions contained 

in the certificate of incorporation, to receive the appraised or 

fair value of their holdings. 

D. The exemptions provided by §7537 shall not apply to 

any transaction made unlawful by Section 1527 of the Act or 

by any rules and regulations thereunder. 

E. The burden of establishing market price of a security 

for the purpose of §7537 shall rest upon the person claiming 

the exemption. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7539. Exemption from Section 1526 of Certain 

Acquisitions and Dispositions of Securities 

Pursuant to Merger or Consolidations 

A. The following transactions shall be exempt from the 

provisions of Section 1526 of the Act as not comprehended 

within the purpose of said Section. 

1. The acquisition of a security of an insurer, pursuant 

to a merger or consolidation, in exchange for a security of a 

company which, prior to said merger or consolidation, 

owned 85 percent or more of the equity securities of all other 

companies involved in the merger or consolidation except, in 

the case of consolidation, the resulting company. 

2. The disposition of a security, pursuant to a merger 

or consolidation of an insurer which, prior to said merger or 

consolidation, owned 85 percent or more of the equity 

securities of all other companies involved in the merger or 

consolidation except, in the case of consolidation, the 

resulting company. 

3. The acquisition of a security of an insurer, pursuant 

to a merger or consolidation, in exchange for a security of a 

company which, prior to said merger or consolidation, held 

over 85 percent of the combined assets of all the companies 

undergoing merger or consolidation, computed according to 

their book values prior to the merger or consolidation as 

determined by reference to their most recent available 

financial statements for a 12-month period prior to the 

merger or consolidation. 

4. The disposition of a security, pursuant to a merger 

or consolidation, of an insurer which, prior to said merger or 

consolidation, held over 85 percent of the combined assets 

of all the companies undergoing merger or consolidation, 

computed according to their book values prior to merger or 

consolidation, as determined by reference to their most 

recent available financial statements for a 12-month period 

prior to the merger or consolidation. 

B. A merger within the meaning of §7539 shall include 

the sale or purchase of substantially all the assets of one 

insurer by another in exchange for stock which is then 

distributed to the security holders of the insurer which sold 

its assets. 

C. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if an officer, director 

or stockholder shall make any purchase (other than a 

purchase exempted by §7539) of a security in any company 

involved in the merger or consolidation and any sale (other 

than a sale exempted by §7539) of a security in any other 

company involved in the merger or consolidation within any 

period of less than six months during which the merger or 

consolidation took place, the exemption provided by §7539 

shall be unavailable to such officer, director, or stockholder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7541. Exemption from Section Two of Certain 

Securities Received upon Surrender of Similar 

Equity Securities 

A. Any acquisition or disposition of an equity security 

involved in the deposit of such security under, or the 

withdrawal of such security from, a voting trust or deposit 

agreement, and the acquisition or disposition in connection 

therewith of the certificate representing such security, shall 

be exempt from the operation of Section 2 of the Act if 

substantially all of the assets held under the voting trust or 

deposit agreement immediately after the deposit or 

immediately prior to the withdrawal, as the case may be, 

consisted of equity securities of the same class as the 

security deposited or withdrawn; provided, however, that 

§7541 shall not apply to the extent that there shall have been 

either: 

1. a purchase of an equity security of the class 

deposited and a sale of any certificate representing an equity 

security of such class; or 

2. a sale of an equity security of the class deposited 

and a purchase of any certificate representing an equity 

security of such class (otherwise than in a transaction 

involved in such deposit or withdrawal or in a transaction 

exempted by any other provision of the regulations under 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 312 

Section 2 of the Act) within a period of less than six months, 

which includes the date of the deposit or withdrawal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7543. Exemption from Section Two of Certain 

Transactions Involving an Exchange of Similar 

Securities 

A. Any acquisition or disposition of an equity security 

involved in the conversion of an equity security which, by its 

terms or pursuant to the terms of the insurer's charter or 

other governing instruments, is convertible immediately or 

after a stated period of time into another equity security of 

the same insurer, shall be exempt from the operation of 

Section 2 of the Act; provided, however, that §7543 shall not 

apply to the extent that there shall have been either: 

1. a purchase of any equity security of the class 

convertible (including any acquisition of or change in a 

conversion privilege) and a sale of any equity security of the 

class issuable upon conversion; or 

2. a sale of any equity security of the class convertible 

and any purchase of any equity security issuable upon 

conversion (otherwise than in a transaction involved in such 

conversion or in a transaction exempted by any other 

provision of the regulations under Section 2 of the Act) 

within a period of less than six months, which includes the 

date of conversion. 

B.  For the purpose of §7543, an equity security shall not 

be deemed to be acquired or disposed of upon conversion of 

an equity security if the terms of the equity security 

converted require the payment or entail the receipt, in 

connection with such conversion, of cash or other property 

(other than equity securities involved in the conversion) 

equal in value at the time of conversion to more than 15 

percent of the value of the equity security issued upon 

conversion. 

C. For the purpose of §7543, an equity security shall be 

deemed convertible if it is convertible at the option of the 

holder or of some other person or by operation of the terms 

of the security or the governing instruments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967.  

Subchapter D. Regulations under 

Section 1527 of the Act 

§7549. Exemption of Certain Securities from Section 

1527 of the Act 

A. Any security shall be exempt from the operation of 

Section 1527 of the Act to the extent necessary to render 

lawful under such Section the execution by a broker of an 

order for an account in which he has no direct or indirect 

interest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7551. Exemption from Section 1527 of the Act of 

Certain Transactions Effected in Connection 

with a Distribution 

A. Any security shall be exempt from the operation of 

Section 1527 of the Act to the extent necessary to render 

lawful under such Section any sale made by or on behalf of a 

dealer in connection with a distribution of a substantial block 

of securities, upon the following conditions. 

1. The sale is represented by an over-allotment in 

which the dealer is participating as a member of an 

underwriting group, or the dealer or a person acting on his 

behalf intends, in good faith, to offset such sale with a 

security to be acquired by or on behalf of the dealer as a 

participant in an underwriting, selling or soliciting-dealer 

group of which the dealer is a member at the time of the 

sale, whether or not the security to be so acquired is subject 

to a prior offering to existing security holders or some other 

class of persons. 

2. Other persons not within the purview of Section 

1527 of the Act are participating in the distribution of such 

block of securities on terms at least as favorable as those on 

which such dealer is participating and to an extent at least 

equal to the aggregate participation of all persons exempted 

from the provisions of Section 1527 of the Act by §7551. 

However, the performance of the functions of manager of a 

distributing group and the receipt of a bona fide payment for 

performing such functions shall not preclude an exemption 

which would otherwise be available under §7551. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7553. Exemption from Section 1527 of the Act of Sales 

of Securities to be Acquired 

A. Whenever any person is entitled, as an incident to his 

ownership of an issued security and without the payment of 

consideration, to receive another security "when issued" or 

"when distributed", the security to be acquired shall be 

exempt from the operation of Section 1527, provided that: 

1. the sale is made subject to the same conditions as 

those attaching to the right of acquisition; and 

2. such person exercises reasonable diligence to 

deliver such security to the purchaser promptly after his right 

of acquisition matures; and 

3. such person reports the sale on the appropriate form 

for reporting transactions by persons subject to Section 1525 

of the Act. 

B. Section 7553 shall not be construed as exempting 

transactions involving both a sale of a security "when 

issued" or "when distributed" and a sale of the security by 
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virtue of which the seller expects to receive the "when-

issued" or "when-distributed" security, if the two 

transactions combined result in a sale of more units than the 

aggregate of those owned by the seller plus those to be 

received by him pursuant to his right of acquisition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

Subchapter E. Regulation under 

Section 1529 of the Act 

§7559. Arbitrage Transactions under Section 1529 of 

the Act 

A. It shall be unlawful for any director or officer of an 

insurer to effect any foreign or domestic arbitrage 

transaction in any equity security of such insurer, unless he 

shall include such transaction in the statements required by 

Section 1525 of the Act and shall account to such insurer for 

the profits arising from such transaction, as provided in 

Section 1526 thereof. The provisions of Section 1527 shall 

not apply to such arbitrage transactions. The provisions of 

the Act shall not apply to any bona fide foreign or domestic 

arbitrage transaction insofar as it is effected by any person 

other than such director or officer of the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7561. Form A 

A. Instructions 

1. Persons Required to File Statements 

a. A statement on this form is required to be filed by 

every person who is directly or indirectly the beneficial 

owner of more than 10 percent of any equity security of a 

domestic stock insurance company, or who is a director or an 

officer of such a company. 

2. When Statements Are to Be Filed 

a. Persons who hold any of the relationships 

specified in §7561.A.1.a are required to file a statement by 

July 1, 1966, or within 10 days after assuming such 

relationship, whichever date is later. 

b. Statements are not deemed to have been filed 

with the commissioner until they have actually been 

received by him. 

3. Where Statements Are to Be Filed 

a. One signed copy of each statement shall be filed 

with the Commissioner of Insurance, P. 0. Box 44214, Baton 

Rouge, Louisiana. 

4. Separate Statement for Each Company 

a. A separate statement shall be filed with respect to 

the securities of each company. 

5. Relationship of Reporting Person to Company 

a. Indicate clearly the relationship of the reporting 

person to the company, for example, "Director", "Director 

and Vice President", "Beneficial owner of more than  

10 percent of the company's common stock", etc. 

6. Date as of which Beneficial Ownership Is to Be 

Given 

a. The information as to beneficial ownership of 

securities shall be given as of July 1, 1966, or in the case of 

persons who subsequently assume any of the relationships 

specified in §7561.A.1.a, as of the date that relationship was 

assumed. 

7. Title of Security 

a. The statement of the title of a security shall be 

such as clearly to identify the security, even though there 

may be only one class, for example, "Class A Common 

Stock", "Common Stock", etc. 

8. Nature of Ownership 

a. Under "Nature of Ownership", state whether 

ownership of the securities is "direct" or "indirect". If the 

ownership is indirect (i.e., through a partnership, 

corporation, trust or other entity) indicate, in a footnote or 

other appropriate manner, the name or identity of the 

medium through which the securities are indirectly owned. 

The fact that securities are held in the name of a broker or 

other nominee does not, of itself, constitute indirect 

ownership. Securities owned indirectly shall be reported on 

separate lines from those owned directly and also from those 

owned through a different type of indirect ownership. 

9. Statement of Amount Owned 

a. In stating the amount of securities beneficially 

owned, give the face amount of debt securities or the number 

of shares or other units of other securities. In the case of 

securities owned indirectly, the entire amount of securities 

owned by the partnership, corporation, trust or other entity 

shall be stated. The person whose ownership is reported 

may, if he so desires, also indicate in a footnote or other 

appropriate manner, the extent of his interest in the 

partnership, corporation, trust or other entity. 

10. Inclusion of Additional Information. A statement 

may include any additional information or explanation 

deemed relevant by the person filing the statement. 

11. Signature. If the statement is filed for a corporation, 

partnership, trust, etc., the name of the organization shall 

appear over the signature of the officer or other person 

authorized to sign the statement. If the statement is filed for 

an individual, it shall be signed by him or specifically on his 

behalf by a person authorized to sign for him. 
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B. Form 

STATE OF LOUISIANA 

COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE 

BATON ROUGE 

DUDLEY A. GUGLIELMO 

COMMISSIONER 

FORM A 

INITIAL STATEMENT OF BENEFICIAL OWNERSHIP OF SECURITIES 

Filed pursuant to Act         Eight        of 1966 

 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________

_________________ 
(Name of Insurance Company) 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
(Name of person whose ownership is required) 

 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 (Business address of such person: street, city, zone, state) 

Relationship of such person to company named above.  (See instruction 5.) 

_____________________________________________________ 

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________
________________ 

Date of event which requires the filing of this statement.  (See instruction 6.)   
___________________________________________________ 

 
 

SECURITIES BENEFICIALLY OWNED 

TITLE OF SECURITY 
(See instruction 7) 

NATURE OF OWNERSHIP 
(See instruction 8) 

AMOUNT OWNED  
(See instruction 9) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

REMARKS: (See instruction 9.)  I affirm under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is full, true 

and correct. 

   
 
 

Date of Statement______________________      ________________________________________________ 

(Signature) 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

§7563. Form B 

A. Instructions 

1. Persons Required to File Statements 

a. Statements on this form are required to be filed 

by every person who at any time during any calendar month 

was directly or indirectly the beneficial owner of more than 

10 percent of any class of equity security of a domestic stock 

insurance company, or a director or officer of the company 

which is the issuer of such securities, and who during such 

month had any change in his beneficial ownership of any 

class of equity security of such company. 

2. When Statements Are to Be Filed 

a. Statements are required to be filed on or before 

the tenth day after the end of each month in which any 

change in beneficial ownership has occurred. Statements are 

not deemed to have been filed with the commissioner until 

they have actually been received by him. 

3. Where Statements Are to Be Filed 

a. One signed copy of each statement shall be filed 

with the Commissioner of Insurance, P. 0. Box 44214, Baton 

Rouge, Louisiana. 

4. Separate Statement for Each Company 

a. A separate statement shall be filed with respect to 

the securities of each company. 

5. Relationship of Reporting Person to Company 

a. Indicate clearly the relationship of the reporting 

person to the company, for example, "Director", "Director 

and Vice President", "Beneficial owner of more than  

10 percent of the company's common stock", etc. 

6. Transactions and Holdings to Be Reported 

a. Every transaction shall be reported even though 

purchases and sales during the month are equal or the 

change involves only the nature of ownership, for example, 

from direct to indirect ownership. Beneficial ownership at 

the end of the month of all classes of securities required to 

be reported shall be shown even though there has been no 

change during the month in the ownership of securities of 

one or more classes. 

7. Title of Security 

a. The statement of the title of the security shall be 

such as clearly to identify the security even though there 

may be only one class, for example, "Class A Common 

Stock", "Common Stock", etc. 

8. Date of Transaction 

a. The exact date (month, day and year) of each 

transaction shall be stated opposite the amount involved in 

the transaction. 

9. Statement of Amounts of Securities 

a. In stating the amount of the securities acquired, 

disposed of, or beneficially owned, give the face amount of 

debt securities or the number of shares or other units of other 

securities. In the case of securities owned indirectly (i.e., 

through a partnership, corporation, trust or other entity) the 

entire amount of securities involved in the transaction or 

owned by the partnership, corporation, trust or other entity 

shall be stated. The person whose ownership is reported 

may, if he so desires, also indicate in a footnote or other 

appropriate manner, the extent of his interest in the 

transaction or holdings of the partnership, corporation, trust 

or other entity. 

10. Nature of Ownership 

a. Under "Nature of Ownership", state whether 

ownership of the securities is "direct" or "indirect". If the 

ownership is indirect (i.e., through a partnership, 

corporation, trust or other entity) indicate in a footnote or 

other appropriate manner, the name or identity of the 

medium through which the securities are indirectly owned. 

The fact that securities are held in the name of a broker or 

other nominee does not, of itself, constitute indirect 

ownership. Securities owned indirectly shall be reported on 

separate lines from those owned directly and from those 

owned through a different type of indirect ownership. 

11. Character of Transaction 

a. If the transaction was with the issuer of the 

securities, so state. If it involved the purchase of securities 

through the exercise of options, so state and give the 

exercise price per share. If any other purchase or sale was 

effected otherwise than in the open market, that fact shall be 

indicated. If the transaction was not a purchase or sale, 

indicate its character (for example, gift, 5 percent stock 

dividend, etc.), as the case may be. The foregoing 

information may be appropriately set forth in the table or 

under "Remarks" at the end of the table. 

12. Inclusion of Additional Information 

a. A statement may include any additional 

information or explanation deemed relevant by the person 

filing the statement. 

13. Signature 

a. If the statement is filed for a corporation, 

partnership, trust, etc., the name of the organization shall 

appear over the signature of the officer or other person 

authorized to sign the statement. If the statement is filed for 

an individual, it shall be signed by him or specifically on his 

behalf by a person authorized to sign for him. 
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B. Form 

STATE OF LOUISIANA 

 COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE INSIDER TRADING 

 BATON ROUGE 

DUDLEY A. GUGLIELMO 
COMMISSIONER 

  

FORM B 

 STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN BENEFICIAL OWNERSHIP OF SECURITIES 

 Filed pursuant to Act        Eight       of 1966 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 (Name of insurance company) 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 (Name of person whose ownership is required) 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 (Business address of such person: street, city, zone, state) 

Relationship of such person to company named above.  (See instruction 5) _________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  

 

 Statement for Calendar Month of ____________________, 20______ 

 CHANGES DURING MONTH AND MONTH-END OWNERSHIP (See instruction 6.) 

TITLE OF 

SECURITY 
(See instruction 7) 

DATE OF 

TRANSACTION 
(See instruction 8) 

AMOUNT BOUGHT  

or otherwise 

acquired 
(See instruction 9) 

AMOUNT SOLD  

or otherwise disposed of  
(See instruction 9) 

NATURE OF  

OWNERSHIP  
(See instruction 10) 

AMOUNT OWNED  

beneficially at end of month  
(See instruction 9) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

REMARKS:  (See instructions 11 and 12)             I affirm under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is full, true, and correct. 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Date of Statement_________________________________ 

 

       
(Signature)_______________________________________ 

 

 

________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, July 1, 1966, amended 

April 1, 1967. 

 

Chapter 77. Regulation 28―Variable 

Contract Regulation 
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§7700. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted and promulgated by the 

Department of Insurance pursuant to the authority granted 

by R.S. 22: 781 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. This regulation replaces and repeals the 

regulation of similar purpose which took effect on January 1, 

1969. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:67 (January 1998), amended LR 35:2781 (December 2009). 

§7701. Definition 

Company―any insurer which possesses a certificate of 

authority to conduct life insurance business or annuity 

business in the state of Louisiana. 

Contract on a Variable Basis or Variable Contract―any 

policy or contract which provides for annuity benefits which 

may vary according to the investment experience of any 

separate account or accounts maintained by the insurer as to 

such policy or contract, as provided for in R.S. 22: 781. 

Producer―any person, corporation, partnership, or 

other legal entity which, under the laws of this state, is 

licensed as an insurance producer. 

Variable Contract Producer―a producer who shall sell 

or offer to sell any contract on a variable basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:67 (January 1998), amended LR 35:2781 (December 2009). 

§7703. Qualification of Insurance Companies to Issue 

Variable Contracts 

A. No company shall deliver or issue for delivery 

variable contracts within this state unless the company is 

appropriately licensed for life insurance for the issuance of 

variable life insurance products or the annuity line for 

issuance of variable annuity contracts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:68 (January 1998), amended LR 35:2782 (December 2009). 

§7705. Separate Account or Separate Accounts 

A. A domestic company issuing variable contracts shall 

establish one or more separate accounts pursuant to R.S. 

22:781. 

1. Unless otherwise approved by the commissioner, 

assets allocated to a separate account shall be valued at their 

market value on the date of valuation or, if there is no readily 

available market, then as provided under the terms of the 

contract or the rules or other written agreement applicable to 

such separate account, provided that the portion of the assets 

of such separate account equal to the company's reserve 

liability with regard to the benefits guaranteed as to amount 

and duration, and funds guaranteed as to principal amount or 

stated rate of interest shall be valued in accordance with the 

rules otherwise applicable to the company's asset. 

2. If and to the extent so provided under the applicable 

contracts, that portion of the assets of any such separate 

account equal to the reserves and other contract liabilities 

with respect to such account shall not be chargeable with 

liabilities arising out of any other business the company may 

conduct. 

3.a. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a 

company may: 

 i. with respect to any separate account registered 

with the Securities and Exchange Commission as a unit 

investment trust, exercise voting rights in connection with 

any securities of a regulated investment company registered 

under the Investment Company Act of 1940 and held in such 

separate accounts in accordance with instructions from 

persons having interests in such accounts ratably, as 

determined by the company; or 

 ii. with respect to any separate account registered 

with the Securities and Exchange Commission as a 

management investment company, establish for such account 

a committee, board, or other body, the members of which 

may or may not be otherwise affiliated with such company 

and may be elected to such membership by the vote of 

persons having interests in such account ratably, as 

determined by the company. Such committee, board, or other 

body may have the power, exercisable alone or in 

conjunction with others, to manage such separate account 

and the investment of its assets. 

b. A company, committee, board, or other body may 

make such other provisions in respect to any such separate 

account as may be deemed appropriate to facilitate 

compliance with requirements of any federal or state law 

now or hereafter in effect, provided that the commissioner 

approves such provisions as not hazardous to the public or 

the company's policyholders in this state. 

4. No sale, exchange, or other transfer of assets may 

be made by a company between any of its separate accounts 

or between any other investment account and one or more of 

its separate accounts unless, in case of a transfer into a 

separate account, such transfer is made solely to establish 

the account or to support the operation of the contracts with 

respect to the separate account to which the transfer is made, 

and unless such transfer, whether into or from a separate 

account, is made: 

a. by a transfer of cash; or 

b. by a transfer of securities having a valuation 

which could be readily determined in the marketplace, and 

provided that such transfer of securities is approved by the 

commissioner. The commissioner may authorize other 

transfers among such accounts if, in his opinion, such 

transfers would not be inequitable. 

5. The company shall maintain in each such separate 

account assets with a value at least equal to the reserves and 

other contract liabilities with respect to such account, except 

as may otherwise be approved by the commissioner. 
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6. Rules under any provision of R.S. 22: 781 or any 

regulation applicable to the officers and directors of 

insurance companies with respect to conflicts of interest 

shall also apply to members of any separate account's 

committee, board, or other similar body. No officers or 

directors of such company nor any member of the 

committee, board, or separate account shall receive directly 

or indirectly any commission or any other compensation 

with respect to the purchase or sale of assets of such separate 

account. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:68 (January 1998), amended LR 35:2782 (December 2009). 

§7707. Filing of Contracts 

A. The filing requirements applicable to variable 

contracts shall be those filing requirements otherwise 

applicable under existing statutes and regulations of this 

state with respect to individual and group life insurance and 

annuity contract form filings, to the extent appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:69 (January 1998). 

§7709. Contracts Providing for Variable Benefits 

A. Any variable contract delivered or issued for delivery 

in this state shall contain a statement of the essential features 

of the procedures to be followed by the insurance company 

in determining the dollar amount of benefits. Any such 

contract providing benefits which vary during the payment 

period, including a group contract and any certificate issued 

thereunder, shall state that the periodic payments will vary to 

reflect investment experience and shall contain, on its first 

page, a clear statement to the effect that the periodic 

payments thereunder are on a variable basis. Any such 

contract which provides values which are vested in an 

annuitant under an individual contract or in the holder of a 

certificate under a group contract prior to the 

commencement of the payment period, which values will 

vary to reflect investment experience, shall state that such 

values are on the variable basis. Any certificate issued under 

a group contract providing such variable values shall also 

contain the statements required by the preceding sentence. If 

any such contract provides such variable periodic payments, 

as well as such variable values, the statements required by 

the preceding sentences may be combined. 

B. Illustrations of benefits payable under any variable 

contract shall not include projections of past investment 

experience into the future or attempted predictions of future 

investment experience, provided that nothing contained 

herein is intended to prohibit use of hypothetical assumed 

rates of return to illustrate possible levels of annuity 

payments. 

C.1. Any individual variable annuity contract delivered 

or issued for delivery in this state shall stipulate the 

investment increment factors to be used in computing the 

dollar amount of variable benefits or other contractual 

payments or values thereunder, and may guarantee that 

expenses and/or mortality results shall not adversely affect 

such dollar amounts. If not guaranteed, the expense and 

mortality factors shall also be stipulated in the contract. 

2. In computing the dollar amount of variable benefits 

or other contractual payments or values under an individual 

variable annuity contract: 

a. the annual net investment increment assumption 

shall not exceed 5 percent, except with the approval of the 

commissioner; 

b. to the extent that the level of benefits may be 

affected by future mortality results, the mortality factor shall 

be determined from the Annuity Mortality Table for 1949, 

Ultimate, or any modification of that table not having a 

higher mortality rate at any age, or, if approved by the 

commissioner, from another table. 

3. Expense, as used in this Subsection, may exclude 

some or all taxes, as stipulated in the contract. 

4. Variable annuity contracts delivered or issued for 

delivery in this state may include as an incidental benefits 

provision for payment on death during the deferred period of 

an amount not in excess of the greater of the sum of the 

premiums or stipulated payments paid under the contract or 

the value of the contract at the time of death; such provisions 

will not be deemed to be contracts of life insurance and 

therefore not subject to the provisions of the Insurance Law 

governing life insurance. Provision for any other benefit on 

death during the deferred period will be subject to such 

insurance provisions. 

5. The reserve liability for variable annuities shall be 

established pursuant to the requirements of the standard 

valuation law, in accordance with actuarial procedures that 

recognize the variable nature of the benefits provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:69 (January 1998), amended LR 35:2782 (December 2009). 

§7711. Required Reports 

A. Any company issuing individual variable contracts 

providing benefits in variable amounts shall mail to the 

contract holder, at least once in each contract year after the 

first, at his last address known to the company, a statement 

or statements reporting the investments held in the separate 

account, and in the case of contracts under which payments 

have not yet commenced, a statement reporting as of a date 

not more than four months previous to the date of mailing: 

1. the number of accumulation units credited to such 

contracts and the dollar value of a unit; or 

2. the value of the contract holder's account. 

B. The company shall submit annually to the insurance 

commissioner a statement of the business of its separate 

account or accounts in such form as may be prescribed by 

the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:69 (January 1998). 

§7713. Foreign Companies 

A. If the law or regulation in the place of domicile of a 

foreign company provides a degree of protection to the 

policyholders and the public which is substantially equal to 

that provided by these regulations, the commissioner, to the 

extent deemed appropriate by him in his discretion, may 

consider compliance with such law or regulation as 

compliance with these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:69 (January 1998). 

§7715. Licensing of Agents and Other Persons 

A.1. No producer shall be eligible to sell or offer for sale 

a contract on a variable basis unless, prior to making any 

solicitation or sale of such a contract, that producer presents 

evidence of satisfactorily passing one of the following 

written examinations upon securities and variable contracts 

and is afterwards duly licensed to sell variable annuities in 

this state: 

a. any state securities examination accepted by the 

Securities and Exchange Commission; 

b. the National Association of Securities Dealers, 

Inc. examination for principals or examination for 

qualification as a registered representative; 

c. the various securities examinations required by 

the New York Stock Exchange, the American Stock 

Exchange, the Pacific Stock Exchange, or any other 

registered national securities exchange; 

d. the Securities and Exchange Commission test 

given pursuant to 15 U.S.C. 78o(b)(7) of the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934. 

2. Any producer who participates only in the sale or 

offering for sale of variable contracts that are not registered 

under the Federal Securities Act of 1933 need not be 

licensed as a variable contract producer. 

3. Any producer applying for a license as a variable 

contract producer shall do so by filing an application. All 

applications for a license shall be in writing on uniform 

forms prescribed by the Commissioner of Insurance. 

4. Any producer who participates only in the sale or 

offering for sale of variable annuity contracts need not be 

licensed as a life producer also. All other licensing 

requirements continue to apply. 

B. Any applicant for license as a variable contract 

producer shall present evidence that the applicant is 

currently registered with the Federal Securities and 

Exchange Commission as a broker-dealer or is currently 

associated with a broker-dealer and has met qualification 

requirements with respect to such association. 

C. Except as modified by this regulation, refer to Title 22 

Chapter 5 and the Insurance Regulations of this Department 

governing the licensing of life insurance producers. 

D. Any person licensed in this state as a variable contract 

producer shall immediately report to the commissioner: 

1. any suspension or revocation of the producer’s 

variable contract license or life insurance license, if so 

licensed, in any other state or territory of the United States; 

2. the imposition of any disciplinary sanctions 

(including the suspension or expulsion from membership, 

suspension or revocation of or denial of registration) 

imposed upon him/her by the National Securities Exchange, 

The National Securities Association, or any federal, state, or 

territorial agency with jurisdiction over securities or 

contracts on a variable basis; 

3. any judgment or injunction entered against him/her 

on the basis of conduct deemed to have involved fraud, 

deceit, misrepresentation, or violation of any insurance or 

securities law or regulation. 

E. The commissioner may reject any application or 

suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew any producer's variable 

contract license upon any ground that would bar such 

applicant or such producer from being licensed to sell life 

insurance contracts in this state. The rules governing any 

proceeding relating to the suspension or revocation of an 

producer's life insurance license shall also govern any 

proceeding for suspension or revocation of an producer's 

variable contract license. 

F. A variable contract license shall be renewed 

biannually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1500 of the Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, January 1969, amended LR 

24:69 (January 1998), LR 35:2782 (December 2009). 

Chapter 81. Regulation 

30―Certificates of Insurance 

Coverage 

§8101. Certificates of Insurance 

A. It has come to the attention of this department that 

certificates of insurance for automobile and general liability 

insurance are being issued by companies or their agents. 

Certificates of insurance are documents, including electronic 

records, that many large corporations require persons or 

contractors employed by them to furnish to prove that they 

have insurance. 

B. Some of these certificates purport to alter, amend, or 

extend the coverage provided by the referenced insurance 

policy in violation of R.S. 22:890.  

C. Therefore, in order to avoid any misunderstanding of 

the effect of any certificate of insurance prepared and issued 

by an insurance company or its agent, any such certificate 

must contain the following or similar language: 

This certificate of insurance neither affirmatively nor 
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negatively alters, amends, or extends the coverage afforded by 

Policy Number ___________ issued by _____________. 

D. Companies shall inform their agents of the contents of 

this regulation. Please acknowledge receipt of this regulation 

promptly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:890. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, April 23, 1969, amended 

LR 46:1687 (December 2020). 

§8102. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 30, as amended, shall become effective 

upon final promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and R.S. 22:890. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 46:1687 (December 

2020). 

Chapter 83. Regulation 35―Variable 

Life Insurance Model Regulation 

§8301. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 35: 

Affiliate of an Insurer―any person, directly or 

indirectly, controlling, controlled by, or under common 

control with such insurer; any person who regularly 

furnishes investment advice to such insurer with respect to 

its separate accounts for which a specific fee or commission 

is charged; or any director, officer, partner, or employee of 

any such insurer, controlling or controlled person, or person 

providing investment advice or any member of the 

immediate family of such person. 

Agent―any person, corporation, partnership, or other 

legal entity which is licensed by this state as a life insurance 

agent. 

Assumed Investment Rate―the rate of investment return 

which would be required to be credited to a variable life 

insurance policy, after deduction of charges for taxes, 

investment expenses, and mortality and expense guarantees 

to maintain the variable death benefit equal at all times to the 

amount of death benefit, other than incidental insurance 

benefits, which would be payable under the plan of 

insurance if the death benefit did not vary according to the 

investment experience of the separate account. 

Benefit Base―the amount to which the net investment 

return is applied. 

Commissioner―the Insurance Commissioner of this 

state. 

Control (including the terms controlling, controlled by, 

and under common control with)―the possession, direct or 

indirect, of the power to direct or cause the direction of the 

management and policies of a person, whether through the 

ownership of voting securities, by contract other than a 

commercial contract for goods or non-management services, 

or otherwise, unless the power is the result of an official 

position with or corporate office held by the person. Control 

shall be presumed to exist if any person, directly or 

indirectly, owns, controls, holds with power to vote, or holds 

proxies representing more than 10 percent of the voting 

securities of any other person. This presumption may be 

rebutted by a showing made to the satisfaction of the 

commissioner that control does not exist in fact. The 

commissioner may determine, after furnishing all persons in 

interest notice and opportunity to be heard and making 

specific findings of fact to support such determination, that 

control exists in fact, notwithstanding the absence of a 

presumption to that effect. 

Flexible Premium Policy―any variable life insurance 

policy other than a scheduled premium policy as specified in 

the definition of scheduled premium policy. 

General Account―all assets of the insurer other than 

assets in separate accounts established pursuant to Section 

1500 of the insurance laws of this state, or pursuant to the 

corresponding Section of the insurance laws of the state of 

domicile of a foreign or alien insurer, whether or not for 

variable life insurance. 

Incidental Insurance Benefit―all insurance benefits in a 

variable life insurance policy, other than the variable death 

benefit and the minimum death benefit, including but not 

limited to, accidental death and dismemberment benefits, 

disability benefits, guaranteed insurability options, family 

income, or term, riders. 

May―is permissive. 

Minimum Death Benefit―the amount of the guaranteed 

death benefit, other than incidental insurance benefits, 

payable under a variable life insurance policy, regardless of 

the investment performance of the separate account. 

Net Investment Return―the rate of investment return in 

a separate account to be applied to the benefit base. 

Person―an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, trust, or fund. 

Policy Processing Day―the day on which charges 

authorized in the policy are deducted from the policy's cash 

value. 

Scheduled Premium Policy―any variable life insurance 

policy under which both the amount and timing of premium 

payments are fixed by the insurer. 

Separate Account―a separate account established 

pursuant to Section 1500 of the Insurance Laws of this state 

or pursuant to the corresponding Section of the Insurance 

Laws of the state of domicile of a foreign or alien insurer. 

Shall―is mandatory. 

Variable Death Benefit―the amount of the death 

benefit, other than incidental insurance benefits, payable 

under a variable life insurance policy dependent on the 

investment performance of the separate account, which the 

insurer would have to pay in the absence of any minimum 

death benefit. 

Variable Life Insurance Policy―any individual policy 
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which provides for life insurance the amount or duration of 

which varies according to the investment experience of any 

separate account or accounts established and maintained by 

the insurer as to such policy, pursuant to Section 1500 of the 

Insurance Laws of this state or pursuant to the corresponding 

Section of the Insurance Laws of the state of domicile of a 

foreign or alien insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:694 (July 1985). 

§8303. Qualification of Insurer to Issue Variable Life 

Insurance 

A. The following requirements are applicable to all 

insurers either seeking authority to issue variable life 

insurance in this state or having authority to issue variable 

life insurance in this state. 

1. Licensing and Approval to Do Business in This 

State 

a. An insurer shall not deliver or issue for delivery 

in this state any variable life insurance policy unless: 

 i. the insurer is licensed or organized to do a life 

insurance business in this state; 

 ii. the insurer has obtained the written approval of 

the commissioner for the issuance of variable life insurance 

policies in this state. The commissioner shall grant such 

written approval only after he has found that: 

(a). the plan of operation for the issuance of 

variable life insurance policies is not unsound; 

(b). the general character, reputation, and 

experience of the management and those persons or firms 

proposed to supply consulting, investment, administrative, or 

custodial services to the insurer are such as to reasonably 

assure competent operation of the variable life insurance 

business of the insurer in this state; and 

(c). the present and foreseeable future financial 

condition of the insurer and its method of operation in 

connection with the issuance of such policies is not likely to 

render its operation hazardous to the public or its 

policyholders in this state. The commissioner shall consider, 

among other things: 

  (i). the history of operation and financial 

condition of the insurer; 

  (ii). the qualifications, fitness, character, 

responsibility, reputation, and experience of the officers and 

directors and other management of the insurer and those 

persons or firms proposed to supply consulting, investment, 

administrative, or custodial services to the insurer; 

  (iii). the applicable law and regulations under 

which the insurer is authorized in its state of domicile to 

issue variable life insurance policies. The state of entry of an 

alien insurer shall be deemed its state of domicile for this 

purpose; and 

  (iv). if the insurer is a subsidiary of, or is 

affiliated by common management or ownership with 

another company, its relationship to such other company and 

the degree to which the requesting insurer, as well as the 

other company, meet these standards. 

2. Filing for Approval to Do Business in This State 

a. The commissioner may, at his discretion, require 

that an insurer, before it delivers or issues for delivery any 

variable life insurance policy in this state, file with this 

department the following information for the consideration 

of the commissioner in making the determination required 

by §8303.A.1: 

 i. copies of and a general description of the 

variable life insurance policies it intends to issue; 

 ii. a general description of the methods of 

operation of the variable life insurance business of the 

insurer, including methods of distribution of policies and the 

names of those persons or firms proposed to supply 

consulting, investment, administrative, custodial or 

distribution services to the insurer; 

 iii. with respect to any separate account 

maintained by an insurer for any variable life insurance 

policy, a statement of the investment policy the issuer 

intends to follow for the investment of the assets held in 

such separate account, and a statement of procedures for 

changing such investment policy. The statement of 

investment policy shall include a description of the 

investment objectives intended for the separate account; 

 iv. a description of any investment advisory 

services contemplated as required by §8309.A.10; 

 v. a copy of the statutes and regulations of the 

state of domicile of the insurer under which it is authorized 

to issue variable life insurance policies; and 

 vi. biographical data with respect to officers and 

directors of the insurer on the National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners Uniform Biographical Data Form; 

and 

 vii. a statement of the insurer's actuary describing 

the mortality and expense risks which the insurer will bear 

under the policy. 

3. Standards of Suitability 

a. Every insurer seeking approval to enter into the 

variable life insurance business in this state shall establish 

and maintain a written statement specifying the Standards of 

Suitability to be used by the insurer. Such Standards of 

Suitability shall specify that no recommendations shall be 

made to an applicant to purchase a variable life insurance 

policy and that no variable life insurance policy shall be 

issued in the absence of reasonable grounds to believe that 

the purchase of such policy is not unsuitable for such 

applicant on the basis of information furnished after 

reasonable inquiry of such applicant concerning the 

applicant's insurance and investment objectives, financial 

situation and needs, and any other information known to the 

insurer or to the agent making the recommendation. 
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4. Use of Sales Materials 

a. An insurer authorized to transact variable life 

insurance business in this state shall not use any sales 

material, advertising material, or descriptive literature or 

other materials of any kind in connection with its variable 

life insurance business in this state which is false, 

misleading, deceptive, or inaccurate. 

5. Requirements Applicable to Contractual Services 

a. Any material contract between an insurer and 

suppliers of consulting, investment, administrative, sales, 

marketing, custodial, or other services with respect to 

variable life insurance operations shall be in writing and 

provide that the supplier of such services shall furnish the 

commissioner with any information or reports in connection 

with such services which the commissioner may request in 

order to ascertain whether the variable life insurance 

operations of the insurer are being conducted in a manner 

consistent with these regulations and any other applicable 

law or regulations. 

6. Reports to the Commissioner 

a. Any insurer authorized to transact the business of 

variable life insurance in this state shall submit to the 

commissioner, in addition to any other materials which may 

be required by this regulation or any other applicable laws or 

regulations: 

 i. an annual statement of the business of its 

separate account or accounts in such form as may be 

prescribed by the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners; and 

 ii. prior to the use in this state any information 

furnished to applicants as provided for in §8311; and 

 iii. prior to the use in this state, the form of any of 

the reports to policyholders, as provided for in §8315; and 

 iv. such additional information concerning its 

variable life insurance operations or its separate accounts as 

the commissioner shall deem necessary. 

b. Any material submitted to the commissioner 

under §8303.A.6 shall be disapproved if it is found to be 

false, misleading, deceptive, or inaccurate in any material 

respect and, if previously distributed, the commissioner shall 

require the distribution of amended material. 

7. Authority of Commissioner to Disapprove 

a. Any material required to be filed with and 

approved by the commissioner shall be subject to 

disapproval if at any time it is found by him not to comply 

with the standards established by Regulation 35. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:695 (July 1985). 

§8305. Insurance Policy Requirements 

A. Policy Qualification. The commissioner shall not 

approve any variable life insurance form filed pursuant to 

Regulation 35 unless it conforms to the requirements of 

§8305. 

1. Filing of Variable Life Insurance Policies 

a. All variable life insurance policies, and all riders, 

endorsements, applications and other documents which are 

to be attached to and made a part of the policy and which 

relate to the variable nature of the policy, shall be filed with 

the commissioner and approved by him prior to delivery or 

issuance for delivery in this state. 

 i. The procedures and requirements for such 

filing and approval shall be, to the extent appropriate and not 

inconsistent with Regulation 35, the same as those otherwise 

applicable to other life insurance policies. 

 ii. The commissioner may approve variable life 

insurance policies and related forms with provisions the 

commissioner deems to be not less favorable to the 

policyholder and the beneficiary than those required by 

Regulation 35. 

2. Mandatory Policy Benefit and Design 

Requirements 

a. Variable life insurance policies delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state shall comply with the 

following minimum requirements. 

 i. Mortality and expense risks shall be borne by 

the insurer. The mortality and expense charges shall be 

subject to the maximums stated in the contract. 

 ii. For scheduled premium policies, a minimum 

death benefit shall be provided in an amount at least equal to 

the initial face amount of the policy so long as premiums are 

duly paid (subject to the provisions of §8305.A.4); 

 iii. The policy shall reflect the investment 

experience of one or more separate accounts established and 

maintained by the insurer. The insurer must demonstrate that 

the variable life insurance policy is actuarially sound. 

 iv. Each variable life insurance policy shall be 

credited with the full amount of the net investment return 

applied to the benefit base. 

 v. Any changes in variable death benefits of each 

variable life insurance policy shall be determined at least 

annually. 

 vi. The cash value of each variable life insurance 

policy shall be determined at least monthly. The method of 

computation of cash values and other non-forfeiture benefits, 

as described either in the policy or in a statement filed with 

the commissioner of the state in which the policy is 

delivered, or issued for delivery, shall be in accordance with 

actuarial procedures that recognize the variable nature of the 

policy. The method of computation must be such that, if the 

net investment return credited to the policy at all times from 

the date of issue should be equal to the assumed investment 

rate with premiums and benefits determined accordingly 

under the terms of the policy, then the resulting cash values 

and other non-forfeiture benefits must be at least equal to the 

minimum values required by Section 168 of the Insurance 
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Laws of this state for a general account policy with such 

premiums and benefits. The assumed investment rate shall 

not exceed the maximum interest rate permitted under the 

Standard Non-Forfeiture Law of this state. If the policy does 

not contain an assumed investment rate this demonstration 

shall be based on the maximum interest rate permitted under 

the Standard Non-forfeiture Law. The method of 

computation may disregard incidental minimum guarantees 

as to the dollar amounts payable. Incidental minimum 

guarantees include, for example, but are not to be limited to, 

a guarantee that the amount payable at death or maturity 

shall be at least equal to the amount that otherwise would 

have been payable if the net investment return credited to the 

policy at all times from the date of issue had been equal to 

the assumed investment rate. 

 vii. The computation of values required for each 

variable life insurance policy may be based upon such 

reasonable and necessary approximations as are acceptable 

to the commissioner. 

3. Mandatory Policy Provisions 

a. Every variable life insurance policy filed for 

approval in this state shall contain at least the following. 

 i. The cover page or pages corresponding to the 

cover pages of each such policy shall contain: 

(a). a prominent statement in either contrasting 

color or in boldface type that the amount or duration of death 

benefits may be variable or fixed under specified conditions; 

(b). a prominent statement in either contrasting 

color or in boldface type that cash values may increase or 

decrease in accordance with the experience of the separate 

account subject to any specified minimum guarantees; 

(c). a statement describing any minimum death 

benefit required pursuant to §8305.A.2.a.ii; 

(d). the method, or a reference to the policy 

provision which describes the method, for determining the 

amount of insurance payable at death; 

(e). to the extent permitted by state law, a 

captioned provision that the policyholder may return the 

variable life insurance policy within 10 days of receipt of the 

policy by the policyholder, and receive a refund equal to the 

sum of: 

  (i). the difference between the premiums paid 

including any policy fees or other charges and the amounts 

allocated to any separate accounts under the policy; and 

  (ii). the value of the amounts allocated to any 

separate accounts under the policy, on the date the returned 

policy is received by the insurer or its agent. Until such time 

as state law authorizes the return of payments as calculated 

in the preceding sentence, the amount of the refund shall be 

the total of all premium payments for such policy; 

(f). such other items as are currently required for 

fixed benefit life insurance policies and which are not 

inconsistent with Regulation 35. 

 ii.(a). For scheduled premium policies, a provision 

for a grace period of not less than 31 days from the premium 

due date which shall provide that where the premium is paid 

within the grace period, policy values will be the same, 

except for the deduction of any overdue premium, as if the 

premium were paid on or before the due date. 

(b). For flexible premium policies, a provision 

for a grace period beginning on the policy processing day 

when the total charges authorized by the policy that are 

necessary to keep the policy in force until the next policy 

processing day exceed the amounts available under the 

policy to pay such charges in accordance with the terms of 

the policy. Such grace period shall end on a date not less 

than 61 days after the mailing date of the Report to 

Policyholders required by §8315.A.3. 

  (i). The death benefit payable during the 

grace period will equal the death benefit in effect 

immediately prior to such period less any overdue charges. If 

the policy processing days occur monthly, the insurer may 

require the payment of not more than three times the charges 

which were due on the policy processing day on which the 

amounts available under the policy were insufficient to pay 

all charges authorized by the policy that are necessary to 

keep such policy in force until the next policy processing 

day. 

 iii. For scheduled premium policies, a provision 

that the policy will be reinstated at any time within two years 

from the date of default upon the written application of the 

insured and evidence of insurability, including good health, 

satisfactory to the insurer, unless the cash surrender value 

has been paid or the period of extended insurance has 

expired, upon the payment of any outstanding indebtedness 

arising subsequent to the end of the grace period following 

the date of default together with accrued interest thereon to 

the date of reinstatement and payment of an amount not 

exceeding the greater of: 

(a). all overdue premiums with interest at a rate 

not exceeding 6 percent per annum compounded annually 

and any indebtedness in effect at the end of the grace period 

following the date of default with interest at a rate as 

provided in Section 170.1; 

(b). 110 percent of the increase in cash value 

resulting from reinstatement plus all overdue premiums for 

incidental insurance benefits with interest at a rate not 

exceeding 6 percent per annum compounded annually. 

 iv. A full description of the benefit base and of the 

method of calculation and application of any factors used to 

adjust variable benefits under the policy. 

 v. A provision designating the separate account to 

be used and stating that: 

(a). the assets of such separate account shall be 

available to cover the liabilities of the general account of the 

insurer only to the extent that the assets of the separate 

account exceed the liabilities of the separate account arising 

under the variable life insurance policies supported by the 

separate account; 
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(b). the assets of such separate account shall be 

valued at least as often as any policy benefits vary but at 

least monthly. 

 vi. A provision specifying what documents 

constitute the entire insurance contract under state law. 

 vii. A designation of the officers who are 

empowered to make an agreement or representation on 

behalf of the insurer and an indication that statements by the 

insured, or on his behalf, shall be considered as 

representations and not warranties. 

 viii. An identification of the owner of the insurance 

contract. 

 ix. A provision setting forth conditions or 

requirements as to the designation, or change of designation, 

of a beneficiary and a provision for disbursement of benefits 

in the absence of a beneficiary designation. 

 x. A statement of any conditions or requirements 

concerning the assignment of the policy. 

 xi. A description of any adjustments in policy 

values to be made in the event of misstatement of age or sex 

of the insured. 

 xii. A provision that the policy shall be 

incontestable by the insurer after it has been in force for two 

years during the lifetime of the insured, provided, however, 

that any increase in the amount of the policy's death benefits 

subsequent to the policy issue date, which increase occurred 

upon a new application or request of the owner and was 

subject to satisfactory proof of the insured's insurability, 

shall be incontestable after any such increase has been in 

force, during the lifetime of the insured, for two years from 

the date of issue of such increase. 

 xiii. A provision stating that the investment policy 

of the separate account shall not be changed without the 

approval of the Insurance Commissioner of the state of 

domicile of the insurer, and that the approval process is on 

file with the commissioner of this state. 

 xiv. A provision that payment of variable death 

benefits in excess of any minimum death benefits, cash 

values, policy loans, or partial withdrawals (except when 

used to pay premiums) or partial surrenders may be deferred: 

(a). for up to six months from the date of request, 

if such payments are based on policy values which do not 

depend on the investment performance of the separate 

account; or 

(b). otherwise, for any period during which the 

New York Stock Exchange is closed for trading (except for 

normal holiday closing) or when the Securities and 

Exchange Commission has determined that a state of 

emergency exists which may make such payment 

impractical. 

 xv. If settlement options are provided, at least one 

such option shall be provided on a fixed basis only. 

 xvi. A description of the basis for computing the 

cash value and the surrender value under the policy shall be 

included. 

 xvii. Premiums or charges for incidental insurance 

benefits shall be stated separately. 

 xviii. Any other policy provision required by this 

regulation. 

 xix. Such other items as are currently required for 

fixed benefit life insurance policies and are not inconsistent 

with this regulation. 

 xx. A provision for non-forfeiture insurance 

benefits. The insurer may establish a reasonable minimum 

cash value below which any non-forfeiture insurance options 

will not be available. 

4. Policy Loan Provisions 

a. Every variable life insurance policy, other than 

term insurance policies and pure endowment policies, 

delivered or issued for delivery in this state shall contain 

provisions which are not less favorable to the policyholder 

than the following: 

 i. a provision for policy loans after the policy has 

been in force for two full years which provides the 

following: 

(a). at least 75 percent of the policy's cash 

surrender value may be borrowed; 

(b). the amount borrowed shall bear interest at a 

rate not t exceed that permitted by state insurance law; 

(c). any indebtedness shall be deducted from the 

proceeds payable on death; 

(d). any indebtedness shall be deducted from the 

cash surrender value upon surrender or in determining any 

non-forfeiture benefit; 

(e). for scheduled premium policies, whenever 

the indebtedness exceeds the cash surrender value, the 

insurer shall give notice of any intent to cancel the policy if 

the excess indebtedness is not repaid within 31 days after the 

date of mailing of such notice. For flexible premium 

policies, whenever the total charges authorized by the policy 

that are necessary to keep the policy in force until the next 

following processing day exceed the amounts available 

under the policy to pay such charges, a report must be sent to 

the policyholder containing the information specified by 

§8315.A.3; 

(f). the policy may provide that if, at any time, 

so long as premiums are duly paid, the variable death benefit 

is less than it would have been if no loan or withdrawal had 

ever been made, the policyholder may increase such variable 

death benefit up to what it would have been if there had been 

no loan or withdrawal by paying an amount, not exceeding 

110 percent of the corresponding increase, in cash value and 

by furnishing such evidence of insurability as the insurer 

may request; 

(g). the policy may specify a reasonable 

minimum amount which may be borrowed at any time but 
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such minimum shall not apply to any automatic premium 

loan provision; 

(h). no policy loan provision is required if the 

policy is under extended insurance non-forfeiture option; 

(i). the policy loan provisions shall be 

constructed so that variable life insurance policyholders who 

have not exercised such provisions are not disadvantaged by 

the exercise thereof; 

(j). amounts paid to the policyholders upon the 

exercise of any policy loan provision shall be withdrawn 

from the separate account and shall be returned to the 

separate account upon repayment except that a stock insurer 

may provide the amounts for policy loans from the general 

account. 

5. Other Policy Provisions 

a. The following provision may in substance be 

included in a variable life insurance policy or related form 

delivered or issued for delivery in this state: 

 i. an exclusion for suicide within two years of the 

issue date of the policy; provided, however, that to the extent 

of the increased death benefits only, the policy may provide 

an exclusion for suicide within two years of any increase in 

death benefits which results from an application of the 

owner subsequent to the policy issue date; 

 ii. incidental insurance benefits may be offered on 

a fixed or variable basis; 

 iii. policies issued on a participating basis shall 

offer to pay dividend amounts in cash. In addition, such 

policies may offer the following dividend options: 

(a). the amount of the dividend may be credited 

against premium payments; 

(b). the amount of the dividend may be applied 

to provide amounts of additional fixed or variable benefit 

life insurance; 

(c). the amount of the dividend may be deposited 

in the general account at a specified minimum rate of 

interest; 

(d). the amount of the dividend may be applied 

to provide paid-up amounts of fixed benefit one-year term 

insurance; 

(e). the amount of the dividend may be deposited 

as a variable deposit in a separate account; 

 iv. a provision allowing the policyholder to elect, 

in writing, in the application for the policy or thereafter an 

automatic premium loan on a basis not less favorable than 

that required of policy loans under §8305.A.4, except that a 

restriction that no more than two consecutive premiums can 

be paid under this provision may be imposed; 

 v. a provision allowing the policyholder to make 

partial withdrawals; 

 vi. any other policy provision approved by the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:696 (July 1985). 

§8307. Reserve Liabilities for Variable Life Insurance 

A. Reserve liabilities for variable life insurance policies 

shall be established under the Standard Valuation Law in 

accordance with actuarial procedures that recognize the 

variable nature of the benefits provided and any mortality 

guarantees. 

B. For scheduled premium policies, reserve liabilities for 

the guaranteed minimum death benefit shall be the reserve 

needed to provide for the contingency of death occurring 

when the guaranteed minimum death benefit exceeds the 

death benefit that would be paid in the absence of the 

guarantee, and shall be maintained in the general account of 

the insurer and shall be not less than the greater of the 

following minimum reserves: 

1. the aggregate total of the term costs, if any, 

covering a period of one full year from the valuation date, of 

the guarantee on each variable life insurance contract, 

assuming an immediate one-third depreciation in the current 

value of the assets of the separate account followed by a net 

investment return equal to the assumed investment rate; or 

2. the aggregate total of the attained age level reserves 

on each variable life insurance contract. The attained age 

level reserve on each variable life insurance contract shall 

not be less than zero and shall equal the residue, as described 

in §8307.B.2.a, of the prior year's attained age level reserve 

on the contract, with any such residue, increased or 

decreased by a payment computed on an attained age basis, 

as described in §8307.B.2.b: 

a. the residue of the prior year's attained age level 

reserve on each variable life insurance contract shall not be 

less than zero and shall be determined by adding interest at 

the valuation interest rate to such prior years' reserve, 

deducting the tabular claims based on the excess, if any, of 

the guaranteed minimum death benefit over the death benefit 

that would be payable in the absence of such guarantee, and 

dividing the net result by the tabular probability of survival. 

The excess referred to in the preceding sentence shall be 

based on the actual level of death benefits that would have 

been in effect during the preceding year in the absence of the 

guarantee, taking appropriate account of the reserve 

assumptions regarding the distribution of death claim 

payments over the year; 

b. the payment referred to in §8307.B.2 shall be 

computed so that the present value of a level payment of that 

amount each year over the future premium paying period of 

the contract is equal to (A) minus (B) minus (C), where (A) 

is the present value of the future guaranteed minimum death 

benefits, (B) is the present value of the future death benefits 

that would be payable in the absence of such guarantee, and 

(C) is any residue, as described in §8307.B.2.a, of the prior 

year's attained age level reserve on such variable life 

insurance contract. If the contract is paid-up, the payment 

shall equal (A) minus (B) minus (C). The amounts of future 

death benefits referred to in (B) shall be computed assuming 
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a net investment return of the separate account which may 

differ from the assumed investment rate and/or the valuation 

interest rate but in no event may exceed the maximum 

interest rate permitted for the valuation of life contracts; 

3. the valuation interest rate and mortality table used 

in computing the two minimum reserves described in (a) and 

(b) above shall conform to permissible standards for the 

valuation of life insurance contracts. In determining such 

minimum reserve, the company may employ suitable 

approximations and estimates, including but not limited to 

groupings and averages. 

C. For flexible premium policies, reserve liabilities for 

any guaranteed minimum death benefit shall be maintained 

in the general account of the insurer and shall be not less 

than the aggregate total of the term costs, if any, covering the 

period provided for in the guarantee not otherwise provided 

for by the reserves held in the separate account assuming an 

immediate one-third depreciation in the current value of the 

assets of the separate account followed by a net investment 

return equal to the valuation interest rate. 

1. The valuation interest rate and mortality table used 

in computing this additional reserve, if any, shall conform to 

permissible standards for the valuation of life insurance 

contracts. In determining such minimum reserve, the 

company may employ suitable approximations and estimates 

including, but not limited to, groupings and averages. 

D. Reserve liabilities for all fixed incidental insurance 

benefits and any guarantees associated with variable 

incidental insurance benefits shall be maintained in the 

general account and reserve liabilities for all variable aspects 

of the variable incidental insurance benefits shall be 

maintained in a separate account, in amounts determined in 

accordance with the actuarial procedures appropriate to such 

benefit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:698 (July 1985). 

§8309. Separate Accounts 

A. The following requirements apply to the 

establishment and administration of variable life insurance 

separate accounts by any domestic insurer. 

1. Establishment and Administration of Separate 

Accounts 

a. Any domestic insurer issuing variable life 

insurance shall establish one or more separate accounts 

pursuant to Section 1500 of the Insurance Laws of this state. 

 i. If no law or other regulation provides for the 

custody of separate account assets and if such insurer is not 

the custodian of such separate account assets, all contracts 

for custody of such assets shall be in writing and the 

commissioner shall have authority to review and approve of 

both the terms of any such contract and the proposed 

custodian prior to the transfer of custody. 

 ii. Such insurer shall not, without the prior written 

approval of the commissioner, employ in any material 

connection with the handling of separate account asset any 

person who: 

(a). within the last 10 years has been convicted 

of any felony or a misdemeanor arising out of such person's 

conduct involving embezzlement, fraudulent conversion, or 

misappropriation of funds or securities or involving violation 

of Section 1341, 1342, or 1343 of Title 18, United States 

Code; or 

(b). within the last 10 years has been found by 

any state regulatory authority to have violated or has 

acknowledged violation of any provision of any state 

insurance law involving fraud, deceit, or knowing 

misrepresentation; or 

(c). within the last 10 years has been found by 

federal or state regulatory authorities to have violated or has 

acknowledged violation of any provision of federal or state 

securities laws involving fraud, deceit, or knowing 

misrepresentation. 

 iii. All persons with access to the cash, securities, 

or other assets of the separate account shall be under bond in 

the amount of not less than a value indexed to the NAIC 

fidelity bonding recommendations regarding personnel 

handling general account assets. 

 iv. The assets of such separate accounts shall be 

valued at least as often as variable benefits are determined 

but in any event at least monthly. 

2. Amounts in the Separate Account 

a. The insurer shall maintain in each separate 

account assets with a value at least equal to the greater of the 

valuation reserves for the variable portion of the variable life 

insurance policies or the benefit base for such policies. 

3. Investments by the Separate Account 

a. No sale, exchange, or other transfer of assets may 

be made by an insurer or any of its affiliates between any of 

its separate accounts or between any other investment 

account and one or more of its separate accounts unless: 

 i. in case of a transfer into a separate account, 

such transfer is made solely to establish the account or to 

support the operation of the policies with respect to the 

separate account to which the transfer is made; and 

 ii. such transfer, whether into or from a separate 

account, is made by a transfer of cash; but other assets may 

be transferred if approved by the commissioner in advance. 

b. The separate account shall have sufficient net 

investment income and readily marketable assets to meet 

anticipated withdrawals under policies funded by the 

account. 

4. Limitations on Ownership 

a. A separate account shall not purchase or 

otherwise acquire the securities of any issuer, other than 

securities issued or guaranteed as to principal and interest by 

the United States, if immediately after such purchase or 

acquisition the value of such investment, together with prior 

investments of such account in such security valued as 
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required by these regulations, would exceed 10 percent of 

the value of the assets of the separate account. The 

commissioner may waive this limitation, in writing, if he 

believes such waiver will not render the operation of the 

separate account hazardous to the public or the policyholders 

in this state. 

b. No separate account shall purchase or otherwise 

acquire the voting securities of any issuer if, as a result of 

such acquisition, the insurer and its separate accounts, in the 

aggregate, will own more than 10 percent of the total issued 

and outstanding voting securities of such issuer. The 

commissioner may waive this limitation, in writing, if he 

believes such waiver will not render the operation of the 

separate account hazardous to the public or the policyholders 

in this state or jeopardize the independent operation of the 

issuer of such securities. 

c. The percentage limitation specified in 

§8309.A.4.a shall not be construed to preclude the 

investment of the assets of separate accounts in shares of 

investment companies registered pursuant to the Investment 

Company Act of 1940 or other pools of investment assets if 

the investments and investment policies of such investment 

companies or asset pools comply substantially with the 

provisions of §8309.A.3 and other applicable portions of 

Regulation 35. 

5. Valuation of Separate Account Assets 

a. Investments of the separate account shall be 

valued at their market value on the date of valuation, or at 

amortized cost if it approximates market value. 

6. Separate Account Investment Policy 

a. The investment policy of a separate account 

operated by a domestic insurer filed under §8303.A.2.a.iii 

shall not be changed without first filing such change with the 

Insurance Commissioner. 

 i. Any change filed pursuant to §8309 shall be 

effective 60 days after the date it was filed with the 

commissioner, unless the commissioner notifies the insurer 

before the end of such 60-day period of his disapproval of 

the proposed change. At any time the commissioner may, 

after notice and public hearing, disapprove any change that 

has become effective pursuant to §8309. 

 ii. The commissioner may disapprove the change 

if he determined that the change would be detrimental to the 

interests of the policyholders participating in such separate 

account. 

7. Charges against Separate Account 

a. The insurer must disclose, in writing, prior to or 

contemporaneously with delivery of the policy, all charges 

that may be made against the separate account including, but 

not limited to, the following: 

 i. taxes or reserves for taxes attributable to 

investment gains and income of the separate account; 

 ii. actual cost of reasonable brokerage fees and 

similar direct acquisition and sale costs incurred in the 

purchase or sale of separate account assets; 

 iii. actuarially determined costs of insurance 

(tabular costs) and the release of separate account liabilities; 

 iv. charges for administrative expenses and 

investment management expenses, including internal costs 

attributable to the investment management of assets of the 

separate account; 

 v. a charge, at a rate specified in the policy, for 

mortality and expense guarantees; 

 vi. any amounts in excess of those required to be 

held in the separate accounts; 

 vii. charges for incidental insurance benefits. 

8. Standards of Conduct 

a. Every insurer seeking approval to enter into the 

variable life insurance business in this state shall adopt by 

formal action of its Board of Directors a written statement 

specifying the Standards of Conduct of the insurer, its 

officers, directors, employees, and affiliates with respect to 

the purchase or sale of investments of separate accounts. 

Such Standards of Conduct shall be binding on the insurer 

and those to whom it refers. A code or codes of ethics 

meeting the requirements of Section 17j under the 

Investment Company Act of 1940 and applicable rules and 

regulations thereunder shall satisfy the provisions of §8309. 

9. Conflicts of Interest 

a. Rules under any provision of the Insurance Laws 

of this state or any regulation applicable to the officers and 

directors of insurance companies with respect to conflicts of 

interest shall also apply to members of any separate 

account's committee or other similar body. 

10. Investment Advisory Services to a Separate 

Account 

a. An insurer shall not enter into a contract under 

which any person undertakes, for a fee, to regularly furnish 

investment advice to such insurer with respect to its separate 

accounts maintained for variable life insurance policies 

unless: 

 i. the person providing such advice is registered 

as an investment adviser under the Investment Advisers Act 

of 1940; or 

 ii. the person providing such advice is an 

investment manager under the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974 with respect to the assets of each 

employee benefit plan allocated to the separate account; or 

 iii. the insurer has filed with the commissioner and 

continues to file annually the following information and 

statements concerning the proposed adviser: 

(a). the name and form of organization, state of 

organization, and its principal place of business; 

(b). the names and addresses of its partners, 

officers, directors, and persons performing similar functions 

or, if such an investment advisor be an individual, of such 
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individual; 

(c). a written Standard of Conduct complying in 

substance with the requirements of §8309.A.8, which has 

been adopted by the investment adviser and is applicable to 

the investment adviser, his officers, directors, and affiliates; 

(d). a statement provided by the proposed adviser 

as to whether the adviser or any person associated therewith: 

  (i). has been convicted within 10 years of any 

felony or misdemeanor arising out of such person's conduct 

as an employee, salesman, officer or director or an insurance 

company, a banker, an insurance agent, a securities broker, 

or an investment adviser involving embezzlement, 

fraudulent conversion, or misappropriation of funds or 

securities, or involving the violation of Sections 1341, 1342, 

or 1343 of Title 18 of United States Code; 

  (ii). has been permanently or temporarily 

enjoined by order, judgment, or decree of any court of 

competent jurisdiction from acting as an investment adviser, 

underwriter, broker, or dealer, or as an affiliated person or as 

an employee of any investment company, bank, or insurance 

company, or from engaging in or continuing any conduct or 

practice in connection with any such activity; 

  (iii). has been found by federal or state 

regulatory authorities to have willfully violated or have 

acknowledged willful violation of any provision of federal 

or state securities laws or state insurance laws or of any rule 

or regulation under any such laws; or 

  (iv). has been censured, denied an investment 

adviser registration, had a registration as an investment 

adviser revoked or suspended, or been barred or suspended 

from being associated with an investment adviser by order of 

federal or state regulatory authorities; and 

 iv. such investment advisory contract shall be in 

writing and provide that it may be terminated by the insurer 

without penalty to the insurer or the separate account upon 

no more than 60 days' written notice to the investment 

adviser. 

b. The commissioner may, after notice and 

opportunity for hearing, by order require such investment 

advisory contract to be terminated if he deems continued 

operation thereunder to be hazardous to the public or the 

insurer's policyholders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:699 (July 1985). 

§8311. Information Furnished to Applicants 

A. An insurer delivering or issuing for delivery in this 

state any variable life insurance policies shall deliver to the 

applicant for the policy, and obtain a written 

acknowledgment of receipt from such applicant coincident 

with or prior to the execution of the application, the 

following information. The requirements of §8311 shall be 

deemed to have been satisfied to the extent that a disclosure 

containing information required by §8311 is delivered, either 

in the form of: 

1. a prospectus included in the requirements of the 

Securities Act of 1933 and which was declared effective by 

the Securities and Exchange Commission; or 

2. all information and reports required by the 

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 if the 

policies are exempted from the registration requirements of 

the Securities Act of 1933 pursuant to Section 3(a)(2) 

thereof: 

a. a summary explanation, in non-technical terms, 

of the principal features of the policy, including a description 

of the manner in which the variable benefits will reflect the 

investment experience of the separate account and the 

factors which affect such variation. Such explanation must 

include notices of the provision required by 

§8305.A.3.a.i.(e) and §8305.A.3.a.vi; 

b. a statement of the investment policy of the 

separate account, including: 

 i. a description of the investment objectives 

intended for the separate account and the principal types of 

investments intended to be made; and 

 ii. any restriction or limitations on the manner in 

which the operations of the separate account are intended to 

be conducted; 

c. a statement of the net investment return of the 

separate account for each of the last ten years or such lesser 

period as the separate account has been in existence; 

d. a statement of the charges levied against the 

separate account during the previous year; 

e. a summary of the method to be used in valuing 

assets held by the separate account; 

f. a summary of the federal income tax aspects of 

the policy applicable to the insured, the policyholder and the 

beneficiary; 

g. illustrations of benefits payable under the 

variable life insurance contract. Such illustrations shall be 

prepared by the insurer and shall not include projections of 

past investment experience into the future or attempted 

predictions of future investment experience, provided that 

nothing contained herein prohibits use of hypothetical 

assumed rates of return to illustrate possible levels of 

benefits if it is made clear that such assumed rates are 

hypothetical only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:701 (July 1985). 

§8313. Applications 

A. The application for a variable life insurance policy 

shall contain: 

1. a prominent statement that the death benefit may be 

variable or fixed under specified conditions; 

2. a prominent statement that cash values may 

increase or decrease in accordance with the experience of the 
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separate account (subject to any specified minimum 

guarantees); 

3. questions designed to elicit information which 

enables the insurer to determine the suitability of variable 

life insurance for the applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:701 (July 1985). 

§8315. Reports to Policyholders 

A. Any insurer delivering or issuing for delivery in this 

state any variable life insurance policies shall mail to each 

variable life insurance policyholder at his or her last known 

address the following reports. 

1. Within 30 days after each anniversary of the policy, 

a statement or statements of the cash surrender value, death 

benefit, any partial withdrawal or policy loan, any interest 

charge, any optional payments allowed pursuant to 

§8305.A.4 under the policy computed as of the policy 

anniversary date. Provided, however, that such statement 

may be furnished within 30 days after a specified date in 

each policy year so long as the information contained therein 

is computed as of a date not more than 60 days prior to the 

mailing of such notice. This statement shall state that, in 

accordance with the investment experience of the separate 

account, the cash values and the variable death benefit may 

increase or decrease, and shall prominently identify any 

value described therein which may be recomputed prior to 

the next statement required by §8315. If the policy 

guarantees that the variable death benefit on the next policy 

anniversary date will not be less than the variable death 

benefit specified in such statement, the statement shall be 

modified to so indicate. For flexible premium policies, the 

report must contain a reconciliation of the change since the 

previous report in cash value and cash surrender value, if 

different, because of payments made (less deductions for 

expense charges), withdrawals, investment experience, 

insurance charges and any other charges made against the 

cash value. In addition, the report must show the projected 

cash value and cash surrender value, if different, as of one 

year from the end of the period covered by the report 

assuming that: 

a. planned periodic premiums, if any, are paid as 

scheduled; 

b. guaranteed costs of insurance are deducted; and 

c. the net investment return is equal to the 

guaranteed rate or, in the absence of a guaranteed rate, is not 

greater than zero. If the projected value is less than zero, a 

warning message must be included that states that the policy 

may be in danger of terminating without value in the next  

12 months unless additional premium is paid. 

2. Annually, a statement or statements including: 

a. a summary of the financial statement of the 

separate account based on the annual statement last filed 

with the commissioner; 

b. the net investment return of the separate account 

for the last year and, for each year after the first, a 

comparison of the investment rate of the separate account 

during the last year with the investment rate during prior 

years, up to a total of not less than five years, when 

available; 

c. a list of investments held by the separate account 

as of a date not earlier than the end of the last year for which 

an annual statement was filed with the commissioner; 

d. any charges levied against the separate account 

during the previous year; 

e. a statement of any change, since the last report, 

in the investment objective and orientation of the separate 

account, in any investment restriction or material 

quantitative or qualitative investment requirement applicable 

to the separate account or in the investment adviser of the 

separate account. 

3. For flexible premium policies, a report must be sent 

to the policyholder if the amounts available under the policy 

on any policy processing day to pay the charges authorized 

by the policy are less than the amount necessary to keep the 

policy in force until the next following policy processing 

day. The report must indicate the minimum payment 

required under the terms of the policy to keep it in force and 

the length of the grace period for payment of such amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:701 (July 1985). 

§8317. Foreign Companies 

A. If the law or regulation in the place of domicile of a 

foreign company provides a degree of protection to the 

policyholders and the public which is substantially similar to 

that provided by these regulations, the commissioner, to the 

extent deemed appropriate by him in his discretion, may 

consider compliance with such law or regulation as 

compliance with these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:702 (July 1985). 

§8319. Life Insurance 

A. Qualification to Sell Variable Life Insurance 

1. No person may sell or offer for sale in this state any 

variable life insurance policy unless such person is an agent 

and has filed with the commissioner, in a form satisfactory 

to the commissioner, evidence that such person holds any 

license or authorization which may be required for the 

solicitation or sale of variable life insurance. 

2. Any examination administered by the department 

for the purpose of determining the eligibility of any person 

for licensing as an agent shall, after the effective date of this 

regulation, include such questions concerning the history, 

purpose, regulation, and sale of variable life insurance as the 

commissioner deems appropriate. 

B. Reports of Disciplinary Actions. Any person qualified 
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in this state under §8319 to sell or offer to sell variable life 

insurance shall immediately report to the commissioner: 

1. any suspension or revocation of his agent's license 

in any other state or territory of the United States; 

2. the imposition of any disciplinary sanction, 

including suspension or expulsion from membership, 

suspension, or revocation of or denial of registration, 

imposed upon him by any national securities exchange, or 

national securities association, or any federal, state, or 

territorial agency with jurisdiction over securities or variable 

life insurance; 

3. any judgment or injunction entered against him on 

the basis of conduct deemed to have involved fraud, deceit, 

misrepresentation, or violation of any insurance or securities 

law or regulation. 

C. Refusal to Qualify Agent to Sell Variable Life 

Insurance: Suspension, Revocation, or Nonrenewal of 

Qualification 

1. The commissioner may reject any application or 

suspend or revoke or refuse to renew any agent's 

qualification under §8319 to sell or offer to sell variable life 

insurance upon any ground that would bar such applicant or 

such agent from being licensed to sell other life insurance 

contracts in this state. The rules governing any proceeding 

relating to the suspension or revocation of an agent's license 

shall also govern any proceeding for suspension or 

revocation of an agent's qualification to sell to offer to sell 

variable life insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:702 (July 1985). 

§8321. Severability 

A. If any provision of item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 

affect other provisions, items, or applications of the 

regulation which can be given effect without the invalid 

provisions, item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 of the Insurance Laws of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:702 (July 1985), 

amended by Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution 

Number 135 of the 2001 Regular Session, LR 27:1102 (July 2001). 

Chapter 85. Regulation 36―Universal 

Life Insurance Model Regulation 

§8501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to supplement 

existing regulations on life insurance policies in order to 

accommodate the development and issuance of universal life 

insurance plans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985).  

§8503. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 36: 

Cash Surrender Value―the Net Cash Surrender Value 

plus any amounts outstanding as policy loans. 

Commissioner―the Insurance Commissioner of this 

state. 

Fixed Premium Universal Life Insurance Policy―a 

universal life insurance policy other than a flexible premium 

universal life insurance policy. 

Flexible Premium Universal Life Insurance Policy―a 

universal life insurance policy which permits the 

policyowner to vary, independently of each other, the 

amount or timing of one or more premium payments or the 

amount of insurance. 

Interest-Indexed Universal Life Insurance Policy―any 

universal life insurance policy where the interest credits are 

linked to an external referent. 

May―is permissive. 

Net Cash Surrender Value―the maximum amount 

payable to the policyowner upon surrender. 

Policy Value―the amount to which separately identified 

interest credits and mortality, expense, or other charges are 

made under a universal life insurance policy. 

Shall―is mandatory. 

Universal Life Insurance Policy―any individual life 

insurance policy under the provisions of which separately 

identified interest credits (other than in connection with 

dividend accumulations, premium deposit funds, or other 

supplementary accounts) and mortality and expense charges 

are made to the policy. A universal life insurance policy may 

provide for other credits and charges, such as charges for the 

cost of benefits provided by rider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985).  

§8505. Scope 

A. This regulation encompasses all individual universal 

life insurance policies except those policies defined under 

Article 11, Section 19 of the NAIC Model Variable Life 

Insurance Regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985). 

§8507. Valuation 

A. Requirements 

1. The minimum valuation standard for universal life 

insurance policies shall be the Commissioners Reserve 

Valuation Method, as described below for such policies, and 

the tables and interest rates specified below. The terminal 

reserve for the basic policy and any benefits and/or riders for 
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which premiums are not paid separately as of any policy 

anniversary shall be equal to the net level premium reserves 

less (C) and (D), where: 

a. reserves by the net level premium method shall 

be equal to: 

((A)-(B))r 

where: 

(A), (B), and "r" are as defined below: 

(A) is the present value of all future guaranteed benefits at 

the date of valuation. 

(B) is the quantity:   

x

PVFB

ä

    äx+t 

where: 

 PVFB is the present value of all benefits guaranteed at issue 

assuming future Guaranteed Maturity Premiums are paid by 
the policyowner and taking into account all guarantees 

contained in the policy or declared by the insurer. 

 ä
x and ä

x+t are present values of an annuity of one per year 

payable on policy anniversaries beginning at ages x and x+t, 
respectively, and continuing until the highest attained age at 

which a premium may be paid under the policy. The letter "x" 

is defined as the issue age and the letter "t" is defined as the 

duration of the policy. 

The Guaranteed Maturity Premium for flexible premium 

universal life insurance policies shall be that level gross 

premium, paid at issue and periodically thereafter over the 
period during which premiums are allowed to be paid, which 

will mature the policy on the latest maturity date, if any, 
permitted under the policy (otherwise at the highest age in the 

valuation mortality table), for an amount which is in 

accordance with the policy structure.1 The Guaranteed 
Maturity Premium for fixed premium universal life insurance 

policies shall be the premium defined in the policy which at 

issue provides the minimum policy guarantees.2 

The letter "r" 

is equal to one, unless the policy is a flexible premium 

policy and the policy value is less than the Guaranteed 

Maturity Fund, in which case "r" is the ratio of the policy 

value to the Guaranteed Maturity Fund. 

The Guaranteed Maturity Fund at any duration is the 

amount which, together with future Guaranteed Maturity 

Premiums, will mature the policy based on all policy 

guarantees at issue. 

(C) is the quantity ((a)-(b) ä
x+tr where (a)-(b) is as 

described in Section Four of the Standard Valuation 

Law, as amended in 1980 for the plan of insurance 
defined at issue by the Guaranteed Maturity Premiums 

and all guarantees contained in the policy or declared 

by the insurer. 

ä
x+t and äx are defined in (B) above. 

(D) is the sum of any additional quantities analogous to (C) 
which arise because of structural changes3 in the 

policy, with each such quantity being determined on a 

basis consistent with that of (C) using the maturity 

date in effect at the time of the change. 

The Guaranteed Maturity Premium, the Guaranteed 

Maturity Fund and (B) above shall be recalculated to reflect 
any structural changes in the policy. This recalculation shall be 

done in a manner consistent with the descriptions above. 

b. Future guaranteed benefits are determined by: 

 i. projecting the greater of the Guaranteed 

Maturity Fund and the policy value, taking into account 

future Guaranteed Maturity Premiums, if any, and using all 

guarantees of interest, mortality, expense deductions, etc., 

contained in the policy or declared by the insurer; and 

 ii. taking into account any benefits guaranteed in 

the policy or by declaration which do not depend on the 

policy value. 

c. All present values shall be determined using: 

 i. an interest rate (or rates) specified by the 

Standard Valuation Law (as amended in 1980) for policies 

issued in the same year; 

 ii. the mortality rates specified by the Standard 

Valuation Law, as amended in 1980 for policies issued in the 

same year or contained in such other table as may be 

approved by the Commissioner for this purpose; and 

 iii. any other tables needed to value supplementary 

benefits provided by a rider which is being valued together 

with the policy. 

1The maturity amount shall be the initial death benefit where 
the death benefit is level over the lifetime of the policy 

except for the existence of a minimum-death-benefit 

corridor, or, shall be the specified amount where the death 
benefit equals a specified amount plus the policy value or 

cash surrender value except for the existence of a minimum-

death-benefit corridor. 
2The Guaranteed Maturity Premium for both flexible and fixed 

premium policies shall be adjusted for death benefit 

corridors provided by the policy. The Guaranteed Maturity 
Premium may be less than the premium necessary to pay all 

charges. This can especially happen in the first year for 

policies with large first year expense charges. 
3Structural changes are those changes which are separate from 

the automatic workings of the policy. Such changes usually 

would be initiated by the policyowner and include changes 

in the guaranteed benefits, changes in latest maturity date, or 

changes in allowable premium payment period. 

B. Alternative Minimum Reserves 

1. If, in any policy year, the Guaranteed Maturity 

Premium on any universal life insurance policy is less than 

the valuation net premium for such policy, calculated by the 

valuation method actually used in calculating the reserve 

thereon but using the minimum valuation standards of 

mortality and rate of interest, the minimum reserve required 

for such contract shall be the greater of Subparagraphs a or 

b. 

a. The reserve calculated according to the method, 

the mortality table, and the rate of interest actually used. 

b. The reserve calculated according to the method 

actually used but using the minimum valuation standards of 

mortality and rate of interest and replacing the valuation net 

premium by the Guaranteed Maturity Premium in each 

policy year for which the valuation net premium exceeds the 

Guaranteed Maturity Premium. 

2. For universal life insurance reserves on a net level 

premium basis, the valuation net premium is: 

x

PVFB

ä

 

3. and for reserves on a Commissioner's Reserve 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 332 

Valuation Method, the valuation net premium is: 

xä

(b)-(a)
  

ä


x

PVFB . 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985). 

§8509. Nonforfeiture 

A. Minimum Cash Surrender Values for Flexible 

Premium Universal Life Insurance Policies 

1. Minimum cash surrender values for flexible 

premium universal life insurance policies shall be 

determined separately for the basic policy and any benefits 

and riders for which premiums are paid separately. The 

following requirements pertain to a basic policy and any 

benefits and riders for which premiums are not paid 

separately. 

2. The minimum cash surrender value (before 

adjustment for indebtedness and dividend credits) available 

on a date as of which interest is credited to the policy shall 

be equal to the accumulation to that date as of which interest 

is credited to the policy shall be equal to the accumulation to 

that date of the premiums paid minus the accumulations to 

that date of: 

a. the benefit charges; 

b. the averaged administrative expense charges for 

the first policy year and any insurance increase years; 

c. actual administrative expense charges for other 

years; 

d. initial and additional acquisition expense charges 

not exceeding the initial or additional expense allowances, 

respectively; 

e. any service charges actually made (excluding 

charges for cash surrender or election of a paid-up 

nonforfeiture benefit); and 

f. any deductions made for partial withdrawals; all 

accumulations being at the actual rate or rates of interest at 

which interest credits have been made unconditionally to the 

policy (or have been made conditionally, but for which the 

conditions have since been met), and minus any unamortized 

unused initial and additional expense allowances. 

3. Interest on the premiums and on all charges referred 

to in §8509.A.2.a-f shall be accumulated from and to such 

dates as are consistent with the manner in which interest is 

credited in determining the policy value. 

4. The benefit charges shall include the charges made 

for mortality and any charges made for riders or 

supplementary benefits for which premiums are not paid 

separately. If benefit charges are substantially level by 

duration and develop low or no cash values, then the 

commissioner shall have the right to require higher cash 

values unless the insurer provides adequate justification that 

the cash values are appropriate in relation to the policy's 

other characteristics.4 

5. The administrative expense charges shall include 

charges per premium payment, charges per dollar of 

premium paid, periodic charges per thousand dollars of 

insurance, periodic per policy charges, and any other charges 

permitted by the policy to be imposed without regard to the 

policyowner's request for services. 

6. The averaged administrative expense charges for 

any year shall be those which would have been imposed in 

that year if the charge rate or rates for each transaction or 

period within the year had been equal to the arithmetic 

average of the corresponding charge rates which the policy 

states will be imposed in policy years 2 through 20 in 

determining the policy value. 

7. The initial acquisition expense charges shall be the 

excess of the expense charges, other than service charges 

actually made in the first policy year over the averaged 

administrative expense charges for that year. Additional 

acquisition expense charges shall be the excess of the 

expense charges, other than service charges, actually made 

in an insurance-increase year over the averaged 

administrative expense charges for that year. An insurance-

increase year shall be the year beginning on the date of 

increase in the amount of insurance by policyowner request 

(or by the terms of the policy). 

8. Service charges shall include charges permitted by 

the policy to be imposed as the result of a policyowner's 

request for a service by the insurer (such as the furnishing of 

future benefit illustrations) or of special transactions. 

9. The initial expense allowance shall be the 

allowance provided by [Items (ii), (iii) and (iv) of Section 5] 

or by [Items (ii) and (iii) of Section 5-c(l)], as applicable, of 

the Standard Non-Forfeiture Law for Life Insurance, as 

amended in 1980 for a fixed premium, fixed benefit 

endowment policy with a face amount equal to the initial 

face amount of the flexible premium universal life insurance 

policy, with level premiums paid annually until the highest 

attained age at which a premium may be paid under the 

flexible premium universal life insurance policy, and 

maturing on the latest maturity date permitted under the 

policy, if any, otherwise at the highest age in the valuation 

mortality table. The unused initial expense allowance shall 

be the excess, if any, of the initial expense allowance over 

the initial acquisition expense charges, as defined above. 

10. If the amount of insurance is subsequently 

increased upon request of the policyowner (or by the terms 

of the policy), an additional expense allowance and an 

unused additional expense allowance shall be determined on 

a basis consistent with the above and with [Section 5-c(5) of 

the Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life Insurance, as 

amended in 1980, using the face amount and the latest 

maturity date permitted at that time under the policy. 

11. The unamortized unused initial expense allowance 

during the policy year beginning on the policy anniversary at 

age x + t (where "x" is the same issue age) shall be the 

unused initial expense allowance multiplied by: 
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x

x t

ä

ä   

where: 

 äx + t and äx + t and äx are present values of an 

annuity of one per year payable on policy anniversaries 

beginning at ages x + t and x, respectively, and continuing 

until the highest attained age at which a premium may be 

paid under the policy, both on the mortality and interest 

bases guaranteed in the policy. An unamortized unused 

additional expense allowance shall be the unused additional 

expense allowance multiplied by a similar ratio of annuities, 

with äx replaced by an annuity beginning on the date as of 

which the additional expense allowance was determined. 

4Because this product is still developing, it is recommended 

that benefit charges not be restricted and regulatory treatment 

of cash values be limited to that contained in this Section for 
several reasons. 

  First, further restrictions would limit the development of the 

product. 
  Second, added restrictions would discourage insurers from 

reducing non-guaranteed current benefit charges because 

such reductions could require reduced future benefit charges 
that could be financially unsound for the insurer. 

  Third, market pressures will encourage insurers to limit 

benefit charges. 

B. Minimum Cash Surrender Values for Fixed Premium 

Universal Life Insurance Policies 

1. For fixed premium universal life insurance policies, 

the minimum cash surrender values shall be determined 

separately for the basic policy and any benefits and riders for 

which premiums are paid separately. The following 

requirements pertain to a basic policy and any benefits and 

riders for which premiums are not paid separately. 

a. The minimum cash surrender value (before 

adjustment for indebtedness and dividend credits) available 

on a date as of which interest is credited to the policy shall 

be equal to: 

((A)-(B)-(C)-(D)) 

where: 

(A) is the present value of all future guaranteed benefits. 

(B) is the present value of future adjusted premiums. The 

adjusted premiums are calculated as described in 
(Sections 5 and 5-a or in Paragraph (1) of Section 5-c], 

as applicable, of the Standard Nonforfeiture Law for 
Life Insurance, as amended in 1980. If Section 5-c, 

Paragraph (1) is applicable, the nonforfeiture net level 

premium is equal to the quantity: 

x

PVFB

ä
 

where: 

 PVFB is the present value of a benefits guaranteed at issue 

assuming future premiums are paid by the policyowner and all 

guarantees contained in the policy or declared by the insurer. 

äx  is the present value of an annuity of one per year 

payable on policy anniversaries beginning at age x and 
continuing until the highest attained age at which a 

premium may be paid under the policy. 

(C) is the present value of any quantities analogous to the 
nonforfeiture net level premium which arise because 

of guarantees declared by the insurer after the issue 

date of the policy. äx shall be replaced by an annuity 
beginning on the date as of which the declaration 

became effective and payable until the end of the 

period covered by the declaration. 

(D)  is the sum of any quantities analogous to (B) which 

arise because of structural changes5 in the policy. 

b. Future guaranteed benefits are determined by: 

 i. projecting the policy value taking into account 

future premiums, if any, and using all guarantees of interest, 

mortality, expense deductions, etc., contained in the policy 

or declared by the insurer; and 

 ii. taking into account any benefits guaranteed in 

the policy or by declaration which do not depend on the 

policy value. 

c. All present values shall be determined using: 

 i. an interest rate (or rates) specified by the 

Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life Insurance, as amended 

in 1980 for policies issued in the same year; and 

 ii. the mortality rates specified by the Standard 

Nonforfeiture Law for Life Insurance, as amended in 1980 

for policies issued in the same year or contained in such 

other table as may be approved by the commissioner for this 

purpose. 

5See Footnote 3 (§8507) 

C. Minimum Paid-Up Nonforfeiture Benefits 

1. If a universal life insurance policy provides for the 

optional election of a paid-up nonforfeiture benefit, it shall 

be such that its present value shall be at least equal to the 

cash surrender value provided for by the policy on the 

effective date of the election. The present value shall be 

based on mortality and interest standards at least as 

favorable to the policyowner as: 

a. in the case of a flexible premium universal life 

insurance policy, the mortality and interest basis guaranteed 

in the policy for determining the policy value; or  

b.  in the case of fixed premium policy the mortality 

and interest standards permitted for paid-up nonforfeiture 

benefits by the Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life 

Insurance, as amended in 1980. In lieu of the paid-up 

nonforfeiture benefit, the insurer may substitute, upon proper 

request not later than 60 days after the due date of the 

premium in default, an actuarially equivalent alternative 

paid-up nonforfeiture benefit which provides a greater 

amount or longer period of death benefits, or, if applicable, a 

greater amount or earlier payment of endowment benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985).  

§8511. Mandatory Policy Provisions 

A. The policy shall provide the following. 
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1. Periodic Disclosure to Policyowner 

a. The policy shall provide that the policyowner 

will be sent, without charge, at least annually, a report which 

will serve to keep such policyowner advised as to the status 

of the policy. The end of the current report period must be 

not more than three months previous to the date of the 

mailing of the report. Specific requirements of this report are 

detailed in §8515. 

2. Illustrative Reports 

a. The policy shall provide for an illustrative report 

which will be sent to the policyowner upon request. 

Minimum requirements of such report are the same as those 

set forth in §8513. The insurer may charge the policyowner a 

reasonable fee for providing the report. 

3. Policy Guarantees 

a. The policy shall provide guarantees of minimum 

interest credits and maximum mortality and expense charges. 

All values and data shown in the policy shall be based on 

guarantees. No figures based on nonguarantees shall be 

included in the policy. 

4. Calculation of Cash Surrender Values 

a. The policy shall contain at least a general 

description of the calculation of cash surrender values 

including the following information: 

 i. the guaranteed maximum expense charges and 

loads; 

 ii. any limitation on the crediting of additional 

interest. Interest credits shall not remain conditional for a 

period longer than 24 months; 

 iii. the guaranteed minimum rate or rates of 

interest; 

 iv. the guaranteed maximum mortality charges; 

 v. any other guaranteed charges; 

 vi. any surrender or partial withdrawal charges. 

5. Changes in Basic Coverage 

a. If the policyowner has the right to change the 

basic coverage, any limitation on the amount or timing of 

such change shall be stated in the policy. If the policyowner 

has the right to increase the basic coverage, the policy shall 

state whether a new period of contestability and/or suicide is 

applicable to the additional coverage. 

6. Grace Period and Lapse 

a. The policy shall provide for written notice to be 

sent to the policyowner's last known address at least 30 days 

prior to termination of coverage. 

b. A flexible premium policy shall provide for a 

grace period of at least 30 days (or as required by state 

statute) after lapse. Unless otherwise defined in the policy, 

lapse shall occur on that date on which the net cash 

surrender value first equals zero. 

7. Misstatement of Age or Sex. If there is a 

misstatement of age or sex in the policy, the amount of the 

death benefit shall be that which would be purchased by the 

most recent mortality charge at the correct age or sex. The 

commissioner may approve other methods which are 

deemed satisfactory. 

8. Maturity Date. If a policy provides for a maturity 

date, end date, or similar date, then the policy shall also 

contain a statement, in close proximity to that date, that it is 

possible that coverage may not continue to the maturity date 

even if scheduled premiums are paid in a timely manner, if 

such is the case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985).  

§8513. Disclosure Requirements 

A. In connection with any advertising, solicitation, 

negotiation, or procurement of a universal life insurance 

policy: 

1. any statement of policy cost factors or benefits shall 

contain: 

a. the corresponding guaranteed policy cost factors 

or benefits, clearly identified; 

b. a statement explaining the nonguaranteed nature 

of any current interest rates, charges, or other fees applied to 

the policy, including the insurer's rights to alter any of these 

factors; 

c. any limitations on the crediting of interest, 

including identification of those portions of the policy to 

which a specified interest rate shall be credited. 

2. Any illustration of the policy value shall be 

accompanied by the corresponding net cash surrender value. 

3. Any statement regarding the crediting of a specific 

current interest rate shall also contain the frequency and 

timing by which such rate is determined. 

4. If any statement refers to the policy being interest-

indexed, the index shall be described. In addition, a 

description shall be given of the frequency and timing of 

determining the interest rate and of any adjustments made to 

the index in arriving at the interest rate credited under the 

policy. 

5. Any illustrated benefits based upon nonguaranteed 

interest, mortality, or expense factors shall be accompanied 

by a statement indicating that these benefits are not 

guaranteed. 

6. If the guaranteed cost factors or initial policy cost 

factor assumptions would result in policy values becoming 

exhausted prior to the policy's maturity date, such fact shall 

be disclosed, including notice that coverage will terminate 

under such circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985).  

§8515. Periodic Disclosure to Policyowner 

A. Requirements 

1. The policy shall provide that the policyowner will 

be sent, without charge, at least annually, a report which will 

serve to keep such policyowner advised of the status of the 

policy. The end of the current report period shall be not more 

than three months previous to the date of the mailing of the 

report. 

2. Such report shall include the following: 

a. the beginning and end of the current report 

period; 

b. the policy value at the end of the previous report 

period and at the end of the current report period; 

c. the total amounts which have been credited or 

debited to the policy value during the current report period, 

identifying each by type (e.g., interest, mortality, expense 

and riders); 

d. the current death benefit at the end of the current 

report period on each life covered by the policy; 

e. the net cash surrender value of the policy as of 

the end of the current report period; 

f. the amount of outstanding loans, if any, as of the 

end of the current report period; 

g. for fixed premium policies: if, assuming 

guaranteed interest, mortality and expense loads and 

continued scheduled premium payments, the policy's net 

cash surrender value is such that it would not maintain 

insurance in force until the end of the next reporting period, 

a notice to this effect shall be included in the report; 

h. for flexible premium policies: If, assuming 

guaranteed interest, mortality and expense loads, the policy's 

net cash surrender value will not maintain insurance in force 

until the end of the next reporting period unless further 

premium payments are made, a notice to this effect shall be 

included in the report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985).  

§8517. Interest-Indexed Universal Life Insurance 

Policies 

A. Initial Filing Requirements 

1. The following information shall be submitted in 

connection with any filing of interest-indexed universal life 

insurance policies (interest-indexed policies). All such 

information received shall be treated confidentially to the 

extent permitted by law: 

a. a description of how the interest credits are 

determined, including: 

 i. a description of the index; 

 ii. the relationship between the value of the index 

and the actual interest rate to be credited; 

 iii. the frequency and timing of determining the 

interest rate; 

 iv. the allocation of interest credits, if more than 

one rate of interest applies to different portion of the policy 

value; 

b. the insurer's investment policy, which includes a 

description of the following: 

 i. how the insurer addressed the reinvestment 

risks; 

 ii. how the insurer plans to address the risk of 

capital loss on cash outflows; 

 iii. how the insurer plans to address the risk that 

appropriate investments may not be available or not 

available in sufficient quantities; 

 iv. how the insurer plans to address the risk that 

the indexed interest rate may fall below the minimum 

contractual interest rate guaranteed in the policy; 

 v. the amount and type of assets currently held for 

interest indexed policies; 

 vi. the amount and type of assets expected to be 

acquired in the future; 

c. if policies are linked to an index for a specified 

period less than to the maturity date of the policy, a 

description of the method used (or currently contemplated) 

to determine interest credits upon the expiration of such 

period; 

d. a description of any interest guarantee in addition 

to or in lieu of the index; 

e. a description of any maximum premium 

limitations and the condition under which they apply. 

B. Additional Filing Requirements 

1. Annually, every insurer shall submit a statement of 

actuarial opinion by the insurer's actuary similar to the 

example contained in §8517.C. 

2. Annually, every insurer shall submit a description 

of the amount and type of assets currently held by the insurer 

with respect to its interest-indexed policies. 

3. Prior to implementation, every domestic insurer 

shall submit a description of any material change in the 

insurer's investment strategy or method of determining the 

interest credits. A change is considered to be material if it 

would affect the form or definition of the index (i.e., any 

change in the information supplied in §8517.A) or if it 

would significantly change the amount or type of assets held 

for interest-indexed policies. 

C. Statement of Actuarial Opinion for Interest-Indexed 

Universal Life Insurance Policies 
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I ______________ am _____________________________ 

   (Name)                  (Position or Relationship to Insurer) 

for the XYZ Life Insurance Company (The Insurer) in the 

state of ______________________________. 

              (State of Domicile of Insurer) 

I am a member of the American Academy of Actuaries 

(or if not, state other qualifications to sign annual statement 

actuarial opinions). 

I have examined the interest-indexed universal life 
insurance policies of the Insurer in force as of December 

31, ____, encompassing ________ number of policies and 

$__________ of insurance in force. 

I have considered the provisions of the policies. I have 
considered any reinsurance agreements pertaining to such 

policies, the characteristics of the identified assets and the 

investment policy adopted by the Insurer as they affect 
future insurance and investment cash flows under such 

policies and related assets. My examination included such 

tests and calculations as I considered necessary to form an 

opinion concerning the insurance and investment cash flows 

arising from the policies and related assets. 

I relied on the investment policy of the Insurer and on 
projected investment cash flows as provided by Chief 

Investment Officer of the Insurer.6 

The tests were conducted under various assumptions as 

to future interest rates, and particular attention was given to 
those provisions and characteristics that might cause future 

insurance and investment cash flows to vary with changes 

in the level of prevailing interest rates. 

In my opinion, the anticipated insurance and investment 
cash flows referred to above make good and sufficient 

provision for the contractual obligations of the Insurer 

under these insurance policies. 

____________________________ 

Signature of Actuary 

6If the actuary does not choose to rely on an investment 
officer for the projected investment cash flows, this 

statement should be modified to show the extent of the 

actuary's reliance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Title 

22, Section 2 and Title 36, Section 682 of the Insurance Laws of the 

State of Louisiana. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 11:690 (July 1985). 

Chapter 89. Regulation 

70―Replacement of Life Insurance 

and Annuities 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§8901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to regulate the activities of insurers and producers 

with respect to the replacement of existing life insurance and 

annuities; 

2. to protect the interests of life insurance and annuity 

purchasers by establishing minimum standards of conduct to 

be observed in replacement or financed purchase 

transactions. It will: 

a. assure that purchasers receive information with 

which a decision can be made in his or her own best interest; 

b. reduce the opportunity for misrepresentation and 

incomplete disclosure; and  

c. establish penalties for failure to comply with 

requirements of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1300 (June 2000). 

§8903. Definitions 

Direct-Response Solicitation―a solicitation through a 

sponsoring or endorsing entity or individual solicitation 

solely through mails, telephone, the internet or other mass 

communication media. 

Electronic Means―relating to sales presentations 

conducted by a producer utilizing technology having 

electrical, digital, magnetic, wireless, optical, 

electromagnetic, or similar capabilities where all signatures 

are obtained via electronic signature technology. 

Existing Contract―an individual annuity contract in 

force, including a contract that is within an unconditional 

refund period. 

Existing Insurer―the insurance company whose policy or 

contract is or will be changed or affected in a manner 

described within the definition of replacement. 

Existing Policy―an individual life insurance policy in 

force, including a policy under a binding or conditional 

receipt or a policy that is within an unconditional refund 

period. 

Financed Purchase―the purchase of a new policy 

involving the actual or intended use of funds obtained by the 

withdrawal or surrender of, or by borrowing from values of 

an existing policy to pay all or part of any premium due on a 

new policy. For purposes of a regulatory review of an 

individual transaction only, if a withdrawal, surrender, or 

borrowing involving the policy values of an existing policy 

is used to pay premiums on a new policy owned by the same 

policyholder and issued by the same company, within four 

months before or 13 months after the effective date of the 

new policy, it will be deemed prima facie evidence of the 

policyholder's intent to finance the purchase of the new 

policy with existing policy values. This prima facie standard 

is not intended to increase or decrease the monitoring 

obligations contained in §8909.A.5 of this regulation. 

Illustration―a presentation or depiction that includes 

non-guaranteed elements of a policy of life insurance over a 

period of years as defined in Regulation 55 of the 

Department of Insurance. 

Policy Summary―for the purposes of this regulation, 

means: 

1. for policies or contracts other than universal life 

policies, a written statement regarding a policy or contract 

which shall contain, to the extent applicable, but need not be 
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limited to, the following information: current death benefit; 

annual contract premium; current cash surrender value; 

current dividend; application of current dividend; and 

amount of outstanding loan; 

2. for universal life policies, a written statement that 

shall contain at least the following information: 

a. the beginning and end date of the current report 

period; 

b. the policy value at the end of the previous report 

period and at the end of the current report period; 

c. the total amounts that have been credited or 

debited to the policy value during the current report period, 

identifying each by type (e.g., interest, mortality, expense 

and riders); 

d. the current death benefit at the end of the current 

report period on each life covered by the policy; 

e. the net cash surrender value of the policy as of 

the end of the current report period; and 

f. the amount of outstanding loans, if any, as of the 

end of the current report period. 

Producer―for the purposes of this regulation, means 

agents and brokers. 

Registered Contract―a variable annuity contract or 

variable life insurance policy subject to the prospectus 

delivery requirements of the Securities Act of 1933. 

Replacement―a transaction in which a new policy or 

contract is to be purchased, and it is known or should be 

known to the proposing producer, or to the proposing insurer 

if there is no producer, that by reason of the transaction, an 

existing policy or contract has been or is to be: 

1. lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially 

surrendered, assigned to the replacing insurer or otherwise 

terminated; or 

2. converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued 

as extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by 

the use of non-forfeiture benefits or other policy values; or 

3. amended so as to effect either a reduction in 

benefits or in the term for which coverage would otherwise 

remain in force or for which benefits would be paid; or 

4. reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 

5. used in a financed purchase. 

Replacing Insurer―the insurance company that issues or 

proposes to issue a new policy or contract that replaces an 

existing policy or contract or is a financed purchase. 

Sales Material―a sales illustration and any other written, 

printed or electronically presented information created, or 

completed or provided by the company or producer and used 

in the presentation to the policy or contract owner related to 

the policy or contract purchased. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1300 (June 2000), 

amended LR 28:1596 (July 2002). 

§8905. Exemptions 

Editor's Note: The Revised Statute cited in §8905.A.11 has 

been repealed. The new citation is R.S. 22:1141(C)(2). 

A. Unless otherwise specifically included, this regulation 

shall not apply to transactions involving: 

1. credit life insurance; 

2. group life insurance or group annuities where there 

is no direct solicitation of individuals by an insurance 

producer. Direct solicitation shall not include any group 

meeting held by an insurance producer solely for the purpose 

of educating or enrolling individuals or, when initiated by an 

individual member of the group, assisting with the selection 

of investment options offered by a single provider in 

connection with enrolling that individual. Group life 

insurance or group annuity certificates marketed through 

direct response solicitation shall be subject to the provisions 

of §8915; 

3. group and/or individual life insurance and annuities 

used to fund pre-arranged funeral contracts; 

4. an application to the existing insurer that issued the 

existing policy or contract when a contractual change or a 

conversion privilege is being exercised, or when the existing 

policy or contract is being replaced by the same insurer 

pursuant to a program filed with and approved by the 

Commissioner of Insurance; 

5. proposed life insurance that is to replace life 

insurance under a binding or conditional receipt issued by 

the same company; 

6.a. policies or contracts used to fund: 

 i. an employee pension or welfare benefit plan 

that is covered by the Employee Retirement and Income 

Security Act (ERISA); 

 ii. a plan described by Sections 401(a), 401(k) or 

403(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, where the plan, for 

purposes of ERISA, is established or maintained by an 

employer; 

 iii. a governmental or church plan defined in 

Section 414, a governmental or church welfare benefit plan, 

or a deferred compensation plan of a state or local 

government or tax exempt organization under Section 457 of 

the Internal Revenue Code; or 

 iv. a nonqualified deferred compensation 

arrangement established or maintained by an employer or 

plan sponsor; 

b. notwithstanding Subparagraph 6.a of this 

Subsection, this regulation shall apply to policies or 

contracts used to fund any plan or arrangement that is 

funded solely by contributions an employee elects to make, 

whether on a pre-tax or after-tax basis, and where the 

insurance company has been notified that plan participants 

may choose from among two or more annuity providers or 

policy providers and there is a direct solicitation of an 
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individual employee by an insurance producer for the 

purchase of a contract or policy. As used in this Subsection, 

direct solicitation shall not include any group meeting held 

by an insurance producer solely for the purpose of educating 

individuals about the plan or arrangement or enrolling 

individuals in the plan or arrangement; or, when initiated by 

an individual employee, assisting with the selection of 

investment options offered by a single provider in 

connection with enrolling that individual employee; 

7. where new coverage is provided under a life 

insurance policy or contract and the cost is borne wholly by 

the insured's employer or by an association of which the 

insured is a member; or 

8. existing life insurance that is a non-convertible term 

life insurance policy that will expire in five years or less and 

cannot be renewed; 

9. immediate annuities that are purchased with 

proceeds from an existing contract. Immediate annuities 

purchased with proceeds from an existing policy are not 

exempted from the requirements of this regulation; 

10. structured settlement annuities; 

B. Registered contracts shall be exempt from the 

requirements of §8911.A.3 and §8913.B with respect to the 

provision of illustrations or policy summaries; however, 

premium or contract contribution amounts and identification 

of the appropriate prospectus or offering circular shall be 

required instead. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:910 and R.S. 22:1141(C)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1301 (June 2000), 

amended LR 45:1775 (December 2019). 

§8907. Duties of Producers 

A. A producer who initiates an application shall submit 

to the insurer, with or as part of the application, a statement 

signed by both the applicant and the producer as to whether 

the applicant has existing policies or contracts. 

1. If the applicant indicates that there are no existing 

policies or contracts, then the producer's duties with respect 

to replacement are complete. 

2. If the applicant indicates that there are existing 

policies or contracts, the producer shall present and read to 

the applicant, not later than at the time of taking the 

application, a notice regarding replacements in the form as 

described in Appendix A or other substantially similar form 

approved by the Commissioner of Insurance; provided, 

however, no approval shall be required when amendments to 

the notice are limited to the omission of references not 

applicable to the product being sold or replaced. The notice 

shall be signed by both the applicant and the producer 

attesting that the notice has been read aloud by the producer 

or that the applicant did not wish the notice to be read aloud 

and that it was left with the applicant. 

3. Notwithstanding Paragraph A.2 above, when the 

sales presentation is conducted by electronic means and all 

signatures are obtained via electronic signature technology, 

the meaning of "at the time of taking the application" shall 

be extended to allow for the Producer's submission of 

electronic information to the company. The requirements of 

Paragraph A.2 are deemed met when a copy of the required 

replacement notice electronically signed at the presentation 

is provided to the applicant within two business days 

following submission of the case to the company. In no 

event shall the time for providing the notice exceed five 

business days from the date the applicant signed the 

application. 

B. The notice shall list all life insurance policies or 

annuities proposed to be replaced, properly identified by the 

name of the insurer, the insured or annuitant, and the policy 

or contract number if available; and shall include a statement 

as to whether each policy or contract will be replaced or 

whether a policy will be used as a source of financing for the 

new policy or contract. If a policy or contract number has 

not been issued by the existing insurer, then alternative 

identification, such as an application or receipt number, shall 

be listed. 

C. In connection with a replacement transaction, the 

producer shall leave with the applicant the original or a copy 

of all sales material at the time an application for a new 

policy or contract is completed. Electronically presented 

sales material shall be provided to the policyholder in 

printed form no later than at the time of policy or contract 

delivery. 

D. Except as provided in §8911.C, in connection with a 

replacement transaction, the producer shall submit to the 

insurer to which an application for a policy or contract is 

presented, a copy of each document required by this Section, 

a statement identifying any preprinted or electronically 

presented company approved sales materials used, and 

copies of any individualized sales materials, including any 

illustrations related to the specific policy or contract 

purchased. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1301 (June 2000), 

amended LR 28:1597 (July 2002). 

§8909. Duties of Insurers that Use Producers 

A. Insurers shall maintain a system of supervision and 

control to insure compliance with the requirements of this 

regulation, including at least the following: 

1. informing its producers of the requirements of this 

regulation and incorporate the requirements of this 

regulation into all relevant producer training manuals 

prepared by the insurer; 

2. providing its producers a written statement of the 

company's position with respect to the acceptability of 

replacements and giving guidance to its producers as to the 

appropriateness of these transactions; 

3. a system to review the appropriateness of each 

replacement transaction that the producer does not indicate 
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is in accord with Paragraph 2 above; 

4. procedures to confirm that the requirements of this 

regulation have been met; and 

5. procedures to detect transactions that are 

replacements of existing policies or contracts by the existing 

insurer, but that have not been reported as such by the 

applicant or producer. Compliance with this Subsection may 

include, but shall not be limited to, systematic customer 

surveys, interviews, confirmation letters, or programs of 

internal monitoring. 

B. Insurers shall have the capacity to monitor each 

producer's life insurance policy and annuity contract 

replacements for that insurer, and shall produce, upon 

request, and make such records available to the Department 

of Insurance. The capacity to monitor shall include the 

ability to produce records for each producer's: 

1. life replacements, including financed purchases, as 

a percentage of the producer's total annual sales for life 

insurance; 

2. number of lapses of policies by the producer as a 

percentage of the producer's total annual sales for life 

insurance; 

3. annuity contract replacements as a percentage of 

the producer's total annual annuity contract sales; 

4. number of transactions that are unreported 

replacements of existing policies or contracts by the existing 

insurer detected by the company's monitoring system as 

required by Paragraph A.5 of this Section; and 

5. replacements, indexed by replacing producer and 

existing insurer. 

C. Insurers shall: 

1. require with or as a part of each application for life 

insurance or an annuity, a signed statement by both the 

applicant and the producer as to whether the applicant has 

existing policies or contracts; 

2. if there is indication of existing policies or 

contracts: 

a. require with each application for life insurance or 

an annuity a completed notice regarding replacements as 

contained in Appendix A; 

b. be able to produce completed and signed copies 

of the notice regarding replacements for at least five years 

after the termination or expiration of the proposed policy or 

contract; 

c. provide the applicant a hard copy of the required 

replacement notice within two business days following a 

producer's submission of case conducted by electronic 

means. In order to show compliance with §8907.A.2 and 3, 

the provision must occur no later than five business days 

from the date of applicant's signing the application. 

3. in connection with a replacement transaction, be 

able to produce copies of any sales material as required by 

§8907.D, the basic illustration and any supplemental 

illustrations related to the specific policy or contract which is 

purchased and the producer's and applicant's signed 

statements with respect to financing and replacement for at 

least five years after the termination or expiration of the 

proposed policy or contract; 

4. ascertain that the sales material and illustrations 

required by §8907.D of this regulation meet the 

requirements of this regulation and are complete and 

accurate for the proposed policy or contract; and 

5. if an application does not meet the requirements of 

this regulation, notify the producer and applicant and fulfill 

the outstanding requirements; 

6. records required to be retained by this regulation 

may be maintained in paper, photograph, microprocess, 

magnetic, mechanical or electronic media or by any process 

which accurately reproduces the actual document. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1302 (June 2000), 

amended LR 28:1597 (July 2002). 

§8911. Duties of Replacing Insurers that Use Producers 

A. Where a replacement is involved in the transaction, 

the replacing insurer shall: 

1. verify that the required forms are received and are 

in compliance with this regulation; 

2. notify any other existing insurer that may be 

affected by the proposed replacement within five business 

days of receipt of a completed application indicating 

replacement or when the replacement is identified if not 

indicated on the application; 

3. mail a copy of the available illustration or policy 

summary for the proposed policy or available disclosure 

document for the proposed contract within five business 

days of a request from an existing insurer; 

4. be able to produce copies of the notification 

regarding replacement required in §8907.B, indexed by 

producer, for at least five years or until the next regular 

examination by the insurance department of its state of 

domicile, whichever is later; and 

5. provide to the policy or contract owner notice of the 

right to return the policy or contract within 30 days of the 

delivery of the contract and receive an unconditional full 

refund of all premiums or considerations paid, including any 

policy fees or charges or, in the case of a variable or market 

value adjustment policy or contract, a payment of the cash 

surrender value provided under the policy or contract plus 

the fees and other charges deducted from the gross 

premiums or considerations or imposed under such policy or 

contract; such notice may be included in Appendix A or C. 

B. In transactions where the replacing insurer and the 

existing insurer are the same or subsidiaries or affiliates 

under common ownership or control, the insurer shall allow 

credit for the period of time that has elapsed under the 
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replaced policy's or contract's incontestability and suicide 

period up to the face amount of the existing policy or 

contract. With regard to financed purchases the credit may 

be limited to the amount the face amount of the existing 

policy is reduced by the use of existing policy values to fund 

the new policy or contract. 

C. If an insurer prohibits the use of sales material other 

than that approved by the company, as an alternative to the 

requirements of §8907.D, the insurer may: 

1. require with each application a statement signed by 

the producer that: 

a. represents that the producer used only company-

approved sales material; and 

b. states that copies of all sales material were left 

with the applicant in accordance with §8907.C; and 

2. within 10 days of the issuance of the policy or 

contract: 

a. notify the applicant by letter or verbal 

communication by a person having duties separate from the 

marketing area of the insurer, that the producer has 

represented that copies of all sales material have been left 

with the applicant in accordance with §8907.C; 

b. provide the applicant with a toll free number to 

contact company personnel involved in the compliance 

function if such is not the case; and 

c. stress the importance of retaining copies of the 

sales material for future reference; and 

3. be able to produce a copy of the letter or other 

verification in the policy file for at least five years after the 

termination or expiration of the policy or contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1302 (June 2000). 

§8913. Duties of the Existing Insurer 

A. Where a replacement is involved in the transaction, 

the existing insurer shall: 

1. retain and be able to produce all replacement 

notifications received, indexed by replacing insurer, for at 

least five years or until the conclusion of the next regular 

examination conducted by the insurance department of its 

state of domicile, whichever is later; 

2. send a letter to the policy or contract owner of the 

right to receive information regarding the existing policy or 

contract values including, if available, an in force illustration 

or policy summary if an in force illustration cannot be 

produced within five business days of receipt of a notice that 

an existing policy or contract is being replaced. The 

information shall be provided within five business days of 

receipt of the request from the policy or contract owner; 

3. upon receipt of a request to borrow, surrender or 

withdraw any policy values, send to the applicant a notice, 

advising the policy owner that the release of policy values 

may affect the guaranteed elements, non-guaranteed 

elements, face amount or surrender value of the policy from 

which the values are released. The notice shall be sent 

separate from the check if the check is sent to anyone other 

than the policy owner. In the case of consecutive automatic 

premium loans, the insurer is only required to send the 

notice at the time of the first loan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1303 (June 2000). 

§8915. Duties of Insurers with Respect to Direct 

Response Solicitations 

A. In the case of an application that is initiated as a result 

of a direct response solicitation, the insurer shall require, 

with or as part of each completed application for a policy or 

contract, a statement asking whether the applicant, by 

applying for the proposed policy or contract, intends to 

replace, discontinue or change an existing policy or contract. 

If the applicant indicates a replacement or change is not 

intended or if the applicant fails to respond to the statement, 

the insurer shall send the applicant, with the policy or 

contract, a notice regarding replacement, as provided in 

Appendix B, or other substantially similar form approved by 

the Commissioner of Insurance. 

B. If the insurer has proposed the replacement or if the 

applicant indicates a replacement is intended and the insurer 

continues with the replacement, the insurer shall: 

1. provide to applicants or prospective applicants, 

with the policy or contract, a notice as provided in Appendix 

C, or other substantially similar form approved by the 

Commissioner of Insurance. In these instances the insurer 

may delete the references to the producer, including the 

producer's signature, and references not applicable to the 

product being sold or replaced, without having to obtain 

approval of the form from the Commissioner of Insurance. 

The insurer's obligation to obtain the applicant's signature 

shall be satisfied if the insurer can demonstrate that it has 

made a diligent effort to secure a signed copy of the notice 

referred to in this Paragraph. The requirement to make a 

diligent effort shall be deemed satisfied if the insurer 

includes in the mailing a self-addressed postage prepaid 

envelope with instructions for the return of the signed notice 

referred to in this Section; and 

2. comply with the requirements of §8911.A.2 and A.3 

if the applicant furnishes the names of the existing insurers, 

and shall comply with the requirements of §8911.A.4, 

§8911.A.5 and §8911.B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1303 (June 2000). 

§8917. Violations and Penalties 

A. Any failure to comply with this regulation shall be 

considered a violation of R.S. 22:1964. Examples of 

violations include: 

1. any deceptive or misleading information set forth in 
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sales material; or 

2. failing to ask the applicant in completing the 

application the pertinent questions regarding the possibility 

of financing or replacement; or 

3. the intentional incorrect recording of an answer; or 

4. advising an applicant to respond negatively to any 

question regarding replacement in order to prevent notice to 

the existing insurer; or 

5. advising a policy or contract owner to write directly 

to the company in such a way as to attempt to obscure the 

identity of the replacing producer or company; 

6. the company's failure to provide the applicant a 

hard copy of the required replacement notice within two 

business days following the submission of a case conducted 

by electronic means. All such provisions must occur no later 

than five business days from the date of applicant's signing 

the application. 

B. Policy and contract owners have the right to replace 

existing life insurance policies or annuity contracts after 

indicating in or as a part of applications for new coverage 

that replacement is not their intention; however, patterns of 

such action by policy or contract owners of the same 

producer shall be deemed prima facie evidence of the 

producer's knowledge that replacement was intended in 

connection with the identified transactions, and these 

patterns of action shall be deemed prima facie evidence of 

the producer's intent to violate this regulation. 

C. Where it is determined that the requirements of this 

regulation have not been met, the replacing insurer shall 

provide to the policy owner either an in force illustration, if 

available, or a policy summary for the replacement policy, or 

available disclosure document for the replacement contract 

and the appropriate notice regarding replacements in 

Appendix A or C. 

D. Violations of this regulation shall subject the violators 

to penalties as provided by R.S. 22:1969, 1970, and any 

other applicable provisions of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:910. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, LR 26:1304 

(June 2000), amended LR 28:1597 (July 2002), amended LR 

45:1775 (December 2019). 

§8919. Effective Date 

A. Except for the provisions contained in §8909, this 

regulation shall be effective July 1, 2000. The provisions 

contained in §8909 shall be effective and take effect on 

January 1, 2001. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1304 (June 2000). 

§8921. Appendix A―Replacement Notice 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: 

REPLACEMENT OF LIFE INSURANCE OR ANNUITIES 

(NOTE: This document must be signed by the applicant and 

the producer, if there is one, and a copy left with the 

applicant). 

You are contemplating the purchase of a life insurance 

policy or annuity contract. In some cases this purchase may 

involve discontinuing or changing an existing policy or 
contract. If so, a replacement is occurring. Financed purchases 

are also considered replacements. 

A replacement occurs when a new policy or contract is 
purchased and, in connection with the sale, you discontinue 

making premium payments on an existing policy or contract, 

or an existing policy or contract is surrendered, forfeited, 
assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated or 

used in a financed purchase. 

A financed purchase occurs when the purchase of a new 
life insurance policy involves the use of funds obtained by the 

withdrawal or surrender of or by borrowing some or all of the 

policy values, including accumulated dividends, of an existing 

policy to pay all or part of any premium or payment due on the 

new policy. A financed purchase is a replacement. 

You should carefully consider whether a replacement is in 

your best interest. You will pay acquisition costs and there 
may be surrender costs deducted from your policy or contract. 

You may be able to make changes to your existing policy or 
contract to meet your insurance needs at less cost. A financed 

purchase will reduce the value of your existing policy and may 

reduce the amount paid upon the death of the insured. 

We want you to understand the effects of replacements 
before you make your purchase decision and ask that you 

answer the following questions and consider the questions on 

the back of this form. 

1. Are you considering discontinuing making premium 
payments, surrendering, forfeiting, assigning to the 

insurer, or otherwise terminating your existing 

policy or contract?  ___ YES   ___ NO 

2. Are you considering using funds from your existing 

policies or contracts to pay premiums due on the 

new policy or contract? ___ YES   ___ NO 

If you answered "yes" to either of the above questions, list 

each existing policy or contract you are contemplating 
replacing (include the name of the insurer, the insured or 

annuitant, and the policy or contract number if available) and 

whether each policy or contract will be replaced or used as a 

source of financing: 

INSURER 

NAME 

CONTRACT OR 

POLICY # 

INSURED OR 

ANNUITANT 

REPLACED (R) OR 

FINANCING (F) 

1. 

2. 

3. 

Make sure you know the facts. Contact your existing 

company or its agent for information about the old policy or 

contract. If you request one, an in force illustration, policy 

summary or available disclosure documents must be sent to 

you by the existing insurer. Ask for and retain all sales 
material used by the agent in the sales presentation. Be sure 

that you are making an informed decision. 

The existing policy or contract is being replaced because. 

I certify that the responses herein are, to the best of my 

knowledge, accurate: 

________________________________ __________ 

Applicant's Signature and Printed Name Date 

________________________________ __________ 

Producer's Signature and Printed Name Date 
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I do not want this notice read aloud to me. __________ 
(Applicants must initial only if they do not want the notice 

read aloud.) 

A replacement may not be in your best interest, or your 
decision could be a good one. You should make a careful 

comparison of the costs and benefits of your existing policy or 

contract and the proposed policy or contract. One way to do 
this is to ask the company or agent that sold you your existing 

policy or contract to provide you with information concerning 

your existing policy or contract. This may include an 
illustration of how your existing policy or contract is working 

now and how it would perform in the future based on certain 

assumptions. Illustrations should not, however, be used as a 
sole basis to compare policies or contracts. You should discuss 

the following with your agent to determine whether 

replacement or financing your purchase makes sense: 

PREMIUMS: 

__ Are they affordable? 

__ Could they change? 

__ You're older—are premiums higher for the proposed 

new policy? 

__ How long will you have to pay premiums on the 

new policy? On the old policy? 

POLICY VALUES: 

__ New policies usually take longer to build cash 

values and to pay dividends. 

__ Acquisition costs for the old policy may have been 

paid; you will incur costs for the new one. 

__ What surrender charges do the policies have? 

__ What expense and sales charges will you pay on the 

new policy? 

__ Does the new policy provide more insurance 

coverage? 

INSURABILITY: 

__ If your health has changed since you bought your 

old policy, the new one could cost you more, or you 

could be turned down. 

__ You may need a medical exam for a new policy. 

__ Claims on most new policies for up to the first two 

years can be denied based on inaccurate statements. 

__ Suicide limitations may begin anew on the new 

coverage. 

IF YOU ARE KEEPING THE OLD POLICY AS WELL AS 

THE NEW POLICY: 

__ How are premiums for both policies being paid? 

__ How will the premiums on your existing policy be 

affected? 

__ Will a loan be deducted from death benefits? 

__ What values from the old policy are being used to 

pay premiums? 

IF YOU ARE SURRENDERING AN ANNUITY OR 

INTEREST SENSITIVE LIFE PRODUCT: 

__ Will you pay surrender charges on your old 

contract? 

__ What are the interest rate guarantees for the new 

contract? 

__ Have you compared the contract charges or other 

policy expenses? 

OTHER ISSUES TO CONSIDER FOR ALL 

TRANSACTIONS: 

__ What are the tax consequences of buying the new 

policy? 

__ Is this a tax free exchange? (See your tax advisor.) 

__ Is there a benefit from favorable "grand-fathered" 
treatment of the old policy under the federal tax 

code? 

__ Will the existing insurer be willing to modify the old 

policy? 

__ How does the quality and financial stability of the 

new company compare with your existing company? 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1304 (June 2000), 

repromulgated LR 26:1482 (July 2000). 

§8923. Appendix B―Replacement Notice 

NOTICE REGARDING REPLACEMENT 

REPLACING YOUR LIFE INSURANCE POLICY OR ANNUITY 

Are you thinking about buying a new life insurance policy 
or annuity and discontinuing or changing an existing one? If 

you are, your decision could be a good one―or a mistake. You 

will not know for sure unless you make a careful comparison 
of your existing benefits and the proposed policy or contract's 

benefits. 

Make sure you understand the facts. You should ask the 
company or agent that sold you your existing policy or 

contract to give you information about it. 

Hear both sides before you decide. This way you can be 

sure you are making a decision that is in your best interest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:1305 (June 2000). 

§8925. Appendix C―Replacement Notice 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: 

REPLACEMENT OF LIFE INSURANCE OR ANNUITIES 

You are contemplating the purchase of a life insurance 

policy or annuity contract. In some cases this purchase may 

involve discontinuing or changing an existing policy or 
contract. If so, a replacement is occurring. Financed purchases 

are also considered replacements. 

A replacement occurs when a new policy or contract is 
purchased and, in connection with the sale, you discontinue 

making premium payments on an existing policy or contract, 

or an existing policy or contract is surrendered, forfeited, 
assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated or 

used in a financed purchase. 

A financed purchase occurs when the purchase of a new life 

insurance policy involves the use of funds obtained by the 
withdrawal or surrender of or by borrowing some or all of the 

policy values, including accumulated dividends, of an existing 

policy, to pay all or part of any premium or payment due on 

the new policy. A financed purchase is a replacement. 

You should carefully consider whether a replacement is in 

your best interests. You will pay acquisition costs and there 

may be surrender costs deducted from your policy or contract. 
You may be able to make changes to your existing policy or 

contract to meet your insurance needs at less cost. A financed 

purchase will reduce the value of your existing policy and may 

reduce the amount paid upon the death of the insured. 

We want you to understand the effects of replacements and 

ask that you answer the following questions and consider the 
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questions on the back of this form. 

1. Are you considering discontinuing making premium 
payments, surrendering, forfeiting, assigning to the 

insurer, or otherwise terminating your existing 

policy or contract?  ___ YES ___ NO 

2. Are you considering using funds from your existing 
policies or contracts to pay premiums due on the 

new policy or contract? ___ YES ___ NO 

Please list each existing policy or contract you are 

contemplating replacing (include the name of the insurer, the 
insured, and the policy or contract number if available) and 

whether each policy or contract will be replaced or used as a 

source of financing: 

 

INSURER 

NAME 

CONTRACT  

OR POLICY # 

INSURED OR 

ANNUITANT 

REPLACED (R) OR 

FINANCING (F) 

1. 

2. 

3. 

Make sure you know the facts. Contact your existing 
company or its agent for information about the old policy or 

contract. If you request one, an in force illustration, policy 

summary or available disclosure documents must be sent to 
you by the existing insurer. Ask for and retain all sales 

material used by the agent in sales presentation. Be sure that 

you are making an informed decision. 

I certify that the responses herein are, to the best of my 

knowledge, accurate: 

________________________________ _________ 

Applicant's Signature and Printed Name Date 

A replacement may not be in your best interest, or your 

decision could be a good one. You should make a careful 
comparison of the costs and benefits of your existing policy or 

contract and the proposed policy or contract. One way to do 

this is to ask the company or agent that sold you your existing 

policy or contract to provide you with information concerning 

your existing policy or contract. This may include an 

illustration of how your existing policy or contract is working 
now and how it would perform in the future based on certain 

assumptions. Illustrations should not, however, be used as a 

sole basis to compare policies or contracts. You should discuss 
the following with your agent to determine whether 

replacement or financing your purchase makes sense: 

PREMIUMS: 

__ Are they affordable? 

__ Could they change? 

__ You're older—are premiums higher for the proposed 

new policy? 

__ How long will you have to pay premiums on the 

new policy? On the old policy? 

POLICY VALUES: 

__ New policies usually take longer to build cash 

values and to pay dividends. 

__ Acquisition costs for the old policy may have been 

paid; you will incur costs for the new one. 

__ What surrender charges do the policies have? 

__ What expense and sales charges will you pay on the 

new policy? 

__ Does the new policy provide more insurance 

coverage? 

INSURABILITY: 

__ If your health has changed since you bought your 
old policy, the new one could cost you more, or you 

could be turned down. 

__ You may need a medical exam for a new policy. 

__ Claims on most new policies for up to the first two 

years can be denied based on inaccurate statements. 

__ Suicide limitations may begin anew on the new 

coverage. 

IF YOU ARE KEEPING THE OLD POLICY AS WELL AS 

THE NEW POLICY: 

__ How are premiums for both policies being paid? 

__ How will the premiums on your existing policy be 

affected? 

__ Will a loan be deducted from death benefits? 

__ What values from the old policy are being used to 

pay premiums? 

IF YOU ARE SURRENDERING AN ANNUITY OR 

INTEREST SENSITIVE LIFE PRODUCT: 

__ Will you pay surrender charges on your old 

contract? 

__ What are the interest rate guarantees for the new 

contract? 

__ Have you compared the contract charges or other 

policy expenses? 

OTHER ISSUES TO CONSIDER FOR ALL 

TRANSACTIONS: 

__ What are the tax consequences of buying the new 

policy? 

__ Is this a tax free exchange? (See your tax advisor.) 

__ Is there a benefit from favorable "grand-fathered" 

treatment of the old policy under the federal tax 

code? 

__ Will the existing insurer be willing to modify the old 

policy? 

__ How does the quality and financial stability of the 

new company compare with your existing company? 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:644.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner Insurance, LR 26:1305 

(June 2000). 

Chapter 90. Regulation 

72―Commercial Lines Insurance 

Policy Form Deregulation 

§9001. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 22:861.F. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:861.F. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:500 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45:1776 (December 2019). 

§9003. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to allow for more 

flexibility in the placement of insurance with large 
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commercial risks within the parameters of the admitted 

market by establishing an exemption from the form filing, 

review and approval requirements of the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, and to adopt the initial definition of an 

"exempt commercial policyholder". The exemption 

implemented under this regulation is predicated upon the 

continued existence of an open and competitive market and 

the good faith of insurers in carrying out the fiduciary 

obligations owed to their insureds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:861.F. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:500 (March 2000) , 

amended LR 45:1776 (December 2019). 

§9005. Scope and Applicability 

A. This regulation applies to all authorized insurers 

engaged in the business of writing commercial risk property 

and casualty insurance in this state. 

B. This regulation governs the circumstances under 

which an insurer may issue an insurance policy to a 

policyholder without first filing the forms with and obtaining 

approval of the Commissioner of Insurance. 

C. The exemption granted by this regulation is limited in 

scope to certain commercial risk insurance issued to special 

commercial entities as provided for in §§9011 and 9013 of 

this regulation, respectively.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3., R.S. 22:620.F. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:500 (March 2000). 

§9007. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation is held 

invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other Sections or 

provisions which can be given effect without the invalid 

Section or provision, and for this purpose the Sections and 

provisions of this regulation are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:620.F. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:500 (March 2000). 

§9009. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this regulation the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Affiliated Group―two or more persons who are owned 

or controlled directly or indirectly though one or more 

intermediaries by, or are under common control with, the 

person specified (i.e., the named insured) and includes a 

subsidiary.  

Authorized Insurer―shall have the meaning found in 

R.S. 22:46(3). 

Commercial Risk―any kind of risk that is not a 

personal risk.  

Commissioner―the commissioner of insurance for the 

state of Louisiana. 

Competitive Market―a market in which a reasonable 

degree of competition exists or which has not been found to 

be in violation of R.S. 22:1961 et seq. In determining 

whether a reasonable degree of competition exists within a 

line of insurance, the commissioner shall consider the 

following factors: 

a. the number of insurers available to write the 

coverage; 

b. market shares of the leading writers and the 

changes in market shares over a reasonable period of time; 

c. existence of financial or economic barriers that 

could prevent new firms from entering the market; 

d. measures of market concentration and changes of 

market concentration over time; 

e. whether long-term profitability for insurers in the 

market is reasonable in relation to industries of comparable 

business risk; and 

f. the relationship of insurers' cost to revenue over a 

reasonable period of time. 

Insurer―shall have the meaning found in R.S. 

22:46(10). 

Person―any individual, company, insurer, association, 

organization, reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange, 

partnership, business, trust, limited liability company, or 

corporation. 

Personal Risk―homeowners, tenants, private passenger 

nonfleet automobile, mobile home and other property and 

casualty insurance for personal, family or household needs. 

State―the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:861.F. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:500 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45:1776 (December 2019). 

§9011. Types of Coverage Exempt from Form Filing 

and Approval 

A. All kinds of commercial property and casualty 

insurance, including but not limited to Commercial Property, 

Boiler and Machinery, Commercial Auto, General Liability, 

Directors and Officers, Business Owners and Inland Marine 

insurance, written on commercial risks are exempt from the 

form filing and approval provisions of R.S. 22:861 if the 

policy is issued to an exempt commercial policyholder as 

defined in §9013 of this regulation, except for the following 

kinds: 

1. worker's compensation and employer's liability 

insurance; 

2. professional liability insurance. 

B. The exemption provided for in this Section only 

applies to policy forms. Rate and rule filings must be made 

with the commissioner as required by law. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:861.F, and R.S. 22:1456. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:501 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45: 1776 (December 2019). 

§9013. Special Commercial Entities 

A. Special Commercial Entity―a person who meets the 

criteria for an exempt commercial policyholder. 

B. An Exempt Commercial Policyholder―any person 

who applies for or procures commercial risk insurance, of 

the kinds provided for in §9011, and meets the following 

criteria: 

1. has and maintains aggregate annual commercial 

insurance premiums, excluding worker's compensation and 

employer's liability, and professional liability insurance 

premiums, of more than $200,000 in the preceding fiscal 

year. In determining whether this threshold has been met, 

premiums paid to one or more insurers are to be added 

together to reach the total aggregate; 

2. at the time the policy is issued the policyholder 

must have: 

a. if a single company not less than 50 employees; 

b. if a member of an affiliated group not less than 

100 employees collectively; 

c. if a municipality a population of not less than 

50,000; and 

d. if a public entity an operating budget of not less 

than $20 million for the most recently completed calendar or 

fiscal year whichever applies; 

3. has signed the certification form as provided for in 

§9015.B of this regulation. 

C. Beginning January 1, 2001, the criteria in Subsection 

B of this Section must be reviewed on an annual basis by the 

commissioner for the purposes of determining whether the 

criteria should be modified. The review must be completed 

on or before the thirty-first day of March. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, and R.S. 22:861.F. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:501 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45:1776 (December 2019). 

§9015. Disclosure Requirements and Certification Form 

A. When soliciting, negotiating or procuring a policy of 

insurance with an exempt commercial policyholder the agent 

or broker, or the insurer in cases of direct placement, shall 

disclose to the policyholder and the policyholder's risk 

manager, if any, on a form created by the insurer, that a 

policy form may be used which is exempt from the form 

filing requirements of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

B. When a policy of insurance is issued or delivered to 

an exempt commercial policyholder, the insurance agent or 

broker, or the insurer in cases of direct placement, shall 

obtain from the policyholder a written certification on the 

form prescribed below. The certification form must be in not 

less than 10-point type, and it must be dated and signed by a 

senior officer or manager of the policyholder and the 

policyholder's risk manager, if any. 

Louisiana Certification of  

Exempt Commercial Policyholder Status 

Pursuant to Louisiana Regulation 72 

The undersigned ________________________________, 

(the Insured) certifies to ____________________________ 

(the Insurer) that the Insured meets the criteria below and is an 
Exempt Commercial Policyholder under Louisiana law. The 

Insurer may issue a commercial risk insurance policy to an 

Exempt Commercial Policyholder without filing the policy 
form with the Louisiana Department of Insurance and the 

Insurer by signing below certifies that it has the necessary 

expertise to negotiate its own policy language. The policy 
must still comply with Louisiana law, and complaints or 

questions about compliance may be directed to the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance (1-800-259-5300). 

In order to be an Exempt Commercial Policyholder, the 

Insured must: 

1. Execute this Certification Form and return it to the 

Insurer. 

2. Acquire the insurance policy through an insurance 

agent licensed in Louisiana. 

3. Meet the following requirements: 

__  Have and maintain aggregate annual commercial risk 

insurance premiums, excluding workers 
compensation and employer's liability and 

professional liability insurance premiums of more 

than two hundred thousand ($200,000) dollars in the 
preceding fiscal year. In determining whether this 

threshold has been met, premiums paid to one or 

more insurers are to be added together to reach the 

total aggregate. 

__  At the time the policy is issued the policyholder must 

have (a) if a single company not less than fifty (50) 
employees; (b) if a member of an affiliated group not 

less than one hundred (100) employees collectively; 

(c) if a municipality a population of not less than 
fifty thousand (50,000); and, (d) if a public entity an 

operating budget of not less than twenty 

($20,000,000) million dollars for the most recently 

completed calendar or fiscal year whichever applies. 

Signed:_______________________________________ 

Date:_________________________________________ 

Printed:_______________________________________ 

Title:_________________________________________ 

Risk Manager:_________________________________ 

C. The disclosure notice and certification form required 

by this Section shall be effective for the life of the policy or 

policies, including renewals, unless the deductible, or policy 

limits or coverage is significantly modified, in which case a 

new certification form must be executed. 

D. A copy of the certification form shall be maintained 

by the insurer and by the producing agent or broker in the 

policyholder's record for a period of five years from the date 

of issuance of the insurance policy or renewal policy if at 

renewal a new certification form is executed. The insurer or 

producing agent or broker shall make such certification 

forms available for examination by the commissioner or any 

person acting on behalf of the commissioner. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:861.F, R.S. 22:1961 et seq., and R.S. 

22:1981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:501 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45:1776 (December 2019). 

§9017. Requirements for Maintaining Records 

A. Any insurer who places insurance with an exempt 

commercial policyholder, pursuant to this regulation, shall 

maintain a record on the exempt commercial policyholder. 

The record shall contain, in addition to the certification 

form, the following information: 

1. any data, statistics, rates, rating plans, rating 

systems and underwriting rules used in underwriting and 

issuing such policies; 

2. a copy of the policy with date of issuance clearly 

marked; 

3. annual experience data on each risk insured, 

including but not limited to: 

a. written premiums; 

b. written premiums at a manual rate; 

c. paid losses; 

d. outstanding losses; 

e. loss adjustment expenses; 

f. underwriting expenses; 

g. underwriting profits; and 

h. profits from contingencies; and 

4. a record of all complaints including the date the 

complaint was made, the name of the complainant, the 

nature of the complaint and the final resolution. 

B. The record required by this Section may be kept in 

electronic or written form and shall be maintained by the 

insurer for a period of five years from the date of issuance of 

the insurance policy or renewal policy if a new certification 

form is required pursuant to §9015.C. Upon request, the 

insurer shall produce such record for examination by the 

commissioner or any person acting on behalf of the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:1961 et seq., and R.S. 22:1981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:502 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45: 1777 (December 2019). 

§9019. Exempt Policy Forms  

A. Commercial risk property and casualty policy forms 

which would otherwise have to be filed with and approved 

by the commissioner are exempt from this requirement if 

issued to an exempt commercial policyholder. The 

exemption of the policy form from the requirement that it be 

filed with and approved by the commissioner is not to be 

taken by an insurer to mean that an insurance contract 

confected by the use of such a policy form, or policy forms, 

may in any manner be inconsistent with the statutory law of 

this state or public policy as expressed by the courts of this 

state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:861, and R.S. 22:1961 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:502 (March 2000), 

amended LR 45:1777 (December 2019). 

§9021. Penalties for Failure to Comply 

A. The exemption created by this regulation is a limited 

one and insurers must strictly comply with the conditions 

creating the exemption. Failure to comply with the 

regulation by any person subject to its provisions, after 

proper notice, may result in the imposition of such penalties 

as are authorized by law. An aggrieved party affected by the 

commissioner's decision, act, or order may demand a hearing 

in accordance with R.S. 22:2191 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:18, R.S. 22:861, R.S. 22:1961 et seq., and 

R.S. 22:1554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:502 (March 2000) , 

amended LR 45:1777 (December 2019). 

Chapter 91. Regulation 68―Patient 

Rights under Health Insurance 

Coverage in Louisiana 

§9101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to clarify the rights 

of insureds and requirements for health insurance coverage 

approved under Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 

1950. Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 

establishes the statutory requirements that health insurance 

coverage must meet to be issued for delivery in Louisiana. 

The statutory requirements also establish the intent of the 

legislature to afford patients with health insurance coverage, 

basic rights to access covered benefits without undue delays 

or denials based on arbitrary determinations of medical 

necessity. The statutory requirements also establish the 

legislative intent to prohibit the use of a health insurance 

coverage requirement or procedure that impinges on the 

ability of the insured patient to receive appropriate medical 

advice and/or treatment from a health care provider. 

B. To carry out the intent of the legislature and assure 

full compliance with the provisions of applicable statutory 

requirements, this regulation sets forth the patient rights 

under health insurance coverage policies or plans issued for 

delivery in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:2014 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:324 (February 

2000). 

§9103. Definitions 

Emergency Medical Condition―the sudden and, 

unexpected onset of a health condition that requires 

immediate medical attention, where failure to provide such 

medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in 
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death, permanent disability, serious impairment to bodily 

functions, serious dysfunction of a bodily organ or part, or 

could place the person's health in serious jeopardy. 

Formal Managed Care Plan―basic health coverage 

provided by a Health Maintenance Organization licensed to 

operate in Louisiana. The term does not include health 

insurance coverage that does not meet the same quality 

standards that are applied to Health Maintenance 

Organizations. The term does not apply to any health 

insurance coverage or employer benefit plan that advertises 

or markets coverage as "managed care" but is not required to 

comply with the statutory consumer protections required of 

formal managed care plans operated by Health Maintenance 

Organizations in Louisiana. 

Geographic Area―a parish. 

Health Care Professional―a physician duly licensed to 

practice medicine by the Louisiana State Board of Medical 

Examiners, or other health care professional duly licensed, 

certified, or registered as appropriate in Louisiana, or an 

acute care hospital licensed to provide medical care in this 

state. 

Health Insurance Coverage―benefits consisting of 

medical care, provided directly, through insurance or 

reimbursement, or otherwise and including items and 

services paid for as medical care, under any hospital or 

medical service policy or certificate, hospital or medical 

service plan contract, preferred provider organization, or 

health maintenance organization contract. This term shall not 

mean limited benefit insurance as defined in R.S. 

22:6(2)(b)(i) or any short term health insurance exempt from 

guaranteed renewal by PL 102-191, the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996. 

Incentive Arrangement―any payment or contractual 

obligation included in a general payment plan, capitation 

contract, shared risk arrangement, or other agreement 

between a managed care organization and a health care 

provider that is tied to utilization of covered benefits. 

Managed Care Plan―has the same meaning as set forth 

under R.S. 22:215.18A(3) and (4). This includes health 

insurance policies and health maintenance organization 

coverage. The term does not include supplemental insurance 

or limited benefit coverage for out of pocket expenses that is 

exempt from being classified as creditable coverage under 

Part of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Service Area―the geographic area or areas of the state 

served by a managed care plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:2014 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:324 (February 

2000). 

§9105. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of this regulation apply to all health insurance 

coverage issued for delivery in the state of Louisiana that is 

otherwise subject to the statutory requirements of Part VI-C 

of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 

1950. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:2014 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:324 (February 

2000). 

§9107. Patient Rights under Policies or Plans of Health 

Insurance Coverage 

A. Prohibition on the Use of Gag Clauses―Applies to 

HMO Coverage. Patients have a right to talk freely with 

health care professionals about their health, medical 

conditions, and any treatment options that are available, 

including those not covered by their health plan. R.S. 

22:215.18(B) prohibits a managed care plan from adopting 

any requirement that interferes with the ability of a health 

care professional to communicate with a patient regarding 

his or her health care. This statutory protection also includes 

communications regarding treatment options and medical 

alternatives, or other coverage arrangements. The managed 

care plan is only allowed to prohibit a health care 

professional from soliciting alternative coverage 

arrangements for the purpose of securing financial gain by 

the health care professional. 

B. Prohibition on Incentives to Restrict, Delay or Deny 

Medically Necessary Care―Applies to HMO and Major 

Medical Insurance Coverage. Patients have a right to receive 

medically necessary and appropriate services covered under 

a managed care plan. R.S. 22:215.19 prohibits managed care 

plans from offering any financial incentives to health care 

professionals to deny, reduce, limit, or delay specific, 

medically necessary, and appropriate services. 

C. Holding Managed Care Plans Liable for their Actions, 

Omissions, or Activities―Applies to HMO and Major 

Medical Insurance Coverage. Managed care plans are 

responsible for their actions, activities or omissions that 

result in harm to the patient. R.S. 22:215.18(G) prohibits 

managed care plans from transferring their liability related to 

activities, actions or omissions of the plan to a health care 

professional treating the insured. This right does not relieve 

health care professionals of their responsibilities to 

appropriately practice within the scope of license, 

certification, or registration. 

D. Guaranteed Direct Access to Obstetricians/ 

Gynecologists―Applies to HMO and Major Medical 

Insurance Coverage. Women have a right to see an 

Obstetrician or Gynecologist for routine care. R.S. 22:215.17 

requires health insurance coverage to include direct access to 

these health care professionals without prior authorization. 

In addition, health insurance coverage is required to include 

up to two annual routine visits and follow up treatment 

within 60 days of either visit if a related condition is 

diagnosed or treated during the visits. This requirement also 

applies to pregnancy related care if covered by the policy or 

plan. 

E. Requirement for Appropriate Access to Covered 

Medical Services―Applies to HMO Coverage 
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1. Formal managed care plans operated by health 

maintenance organizations are required to maintain an 

adequate number of health care professionals to serve plan 

participants. Covered services must be provided within a 

reasonable period of time once ordered or prescribed. R.S. 

22:2004, 2005, 2013, 2016, and 2021 establish requirements 

for HMO plans to document that their networks of primary 

care physicians and specialists are adequate. HMOs are 

allowed to use point of service options to expand networks 

and assure access to plan participants. 

2. Other health insurance coverage is only allowed to 

offer managed care as a coverage option. These plans must 

offer traditional payment of medical claims based on the 

terms of the policy for deductibles and co-insurance. 

F. Confidentiality of Medical Records―Applies to 

HMO Coverage 

1. Any data or information pertaining to the diagnosis, 

treatment, or health of any enrollee or potential enrollee 

obtained from such persons or from any provider by any 

formal managed care plan shall be held in confidence and 

shall not be disclosed to any person except: 

a. to the extent that it may be necessary to carry out 

the purposes of operating a formal managed care plan as 

permitted by law; 

b. upon the express consent of the enrollee or 

potential enrollee; 

c. pursuant to statute or court order for the 

production of evidence or the discovery thereof; 

d. in the event of a claim or litigation between such 

person and the formal managed care plan wherein such data 

or information is pertinent. 

2. A formal managed care plan shall be entitled to 

claim any statutory privileges against such disclosure which 

the provider who furnished such information to the formal 

managed care plan is entitled. 

G. Prohibit Unreasonable Denial of Emergency 

Care―Applies to HMO and Major Medical Insurance 

Coverage 

1. Any managed care plan that includes emergency 

medical services shall provide coverage and shall 

subsequently pay health care professionals for emergency 

medical services provided to a covered patient who presents 

himself/herself with an emergency medical condition. 

2. No health insurance plan shall retrospectively deny 

or reduce payment to health care professionals for 

emergency medical services of a covered patient even if it is 

determined that the emergency medical condition initially 

presented is later identified through screening not to be an 

actual emergency, except in the following cases: 

a. material misrepresentation, fraud, omission, or 

clerical error; 

b. any payment reductions due to applicable co-

payments, co-insurance, or deductibles that may be the 

responsibility of the covered patient; 

c. cases in which the covered patient does not meet 

the emergency medical condition definition, unless the 

covered patient has been referred to the emergency 

department by the insured's primary care physician or other 

agent acting on behalf of the health insurance plan. 

H. Appeal/Grievance Procedures for Denials of 

Coverage―Applies to HMO and Major Medical Insurance 

Coverage 

1. Formal managed care plans operated by health 

maintenance organizations are required to have an 

administrative appeal or grievance process for patients. R.S. 

22:2022 requires these plans to submit their 

appeal/grievance procedures to the Department of Insurance 

to verify the process or procedures used are reasonable and 

meet the intent of the statute. 

2. In addition, where any insured patient is denied 

benefits under a health insurance coverage plan, a request 

can be made to the Department of Insurance for 

investigation of the denial. Where the denial is valid, the 

insured is so notified. Where the denial is erroneous, the 

health insurance coverage plan is required to institute 

corrective action and may be subject to fines and penalties if 

a statutory violation has occurred. 

I. Guaranteed Continuation of Group 

Insurance―Applies to HMO and Major Medical Insurance 

Coverage 

1. R.S. 22:215.13 guarantees Louisiana residents who 

lose their eligibility for coverage under a group health 

insurance policy or plan, the right to maintain such coverage 

in force for up to 12 months. This guaranteed continuation of 

group health insurance does not include accident only 

coverage, specific disease coverage, limited benefit coverage 

for dental, vision care or any benefits provided in addition to 

the basic hospital, surgical, or major medical benefits of the 

policy. This means that additional or optional insurance 

coverage purchased is not guaranteed to be provided during 

this 12-month continuation period. This continuation of 

group coverage right is guaranteed for up to one year so long 

as the following conditions are met: 

a. the individual is not eligible for any other group 

health coverage plan or government sponsored health plan, 

such as Medicare and Medicaid; 

b. the individual timely pays the full monthly 

premium to keep coverage in force; 

c. the individual was not terminated from coverage 

for fraud or failure to pay any required contribution for the 

group insurance, and continues to meet the group policy's 

terms and conditions other than membership in that original 

group; 

d. all dependents covered under the group policy or 

plan continue to be covered; 

e. the group policy has not been terminated or the 

employer has withdrawn participation in a multiple 

employer group policy; and 
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f. the individual continues to reside within the 

service area of the plan in the event that such group coverage 

is provided by a Health Maintenance Organization. 

2. This right is not automatic and requires the 

employee or member who is losing coverage to make a 

written election of continuation on a form furnished by the 

group policyholder and pay for the first month's coverage 

prior to the date that coverage is being terminated. Written 

notification of termination must be provided to the 

individual in advance to allow election of this right. 

3. Special continuation rights are provided to a 

surviving spouse of an individual who was covered by a 

group health insurance policy or plan at the time of death 

and is age 55 or older. Under Louisiana law the surviving 

spouse is guaranteed the right to continue such group 

coverage in effect until eligible for any other group 

coverage. The surviving spouse is also allowed to provide 

coverage to all dependents that were covered under the 

deceased spouse's policy or plan at the time of death so long 

as they remain eligible under the policy. 

J. Guaranteed Renewal of Health Insurance 

Coverage―Applies to HMO and Major Medical Insurance 

Coverage 

1. Under Louisiana law, once health insurance 

coverage has been purchased, the insurer cannot cancel the 

coverage unless one of the following conditions exists: 

a. failure to pay premiums or contributions in 

accordance with the terms of the policy; 

b. failure to comply with a material plan provision 

relating to employer contribution or group participation 

rules; 

c. performance of an act or practice that constitutes 

fraud or the intentional misrepresentation of a material fact 

under the terms of coverage; 

d. the policyholder no longer resides, lives, or 

works in the service area in the event the coverage is 

provided under a formal managed care plan operated by a 

Health Maintenance Organization; 

e. the policyholder's coverage is purchased through 

a bona-fide association plan and the policyholder is no 

longer eligible to participate in such association; 

f. the insurance company is no longer offering the 

type of coverage purchased and offers to replace the policy 

with any other type of similar coverage being marketed 

within 90 days of renewal; or 

g. the insurance company is leaving the market and 

will no longer be selling any group and/or individual health 

insurance products in Louisiana for a period of at least five 

years. In such instances the insurer must give each 

policyholder 180 days advance notice in writing before the 

policy is terminated. All termination notices must be filed 

and approved by the Department of Insurance prior to 

issuance. 

K. Limits on Preexisting Medical Condition Exclusions 

from Coverage―Applies to HMO and Major Medical 

Insurance Coverage. Under Louisiana law, a health 

insurance plan is allowed to exclude medical conditions 

from coverage for a limited period of time. All policies now 

being sold are prohibited from excluding coverage for 

preexisting medical conditions for more than 12 months. 

Regardless of the type of coverage (group or individual), 

health plans are not allowed to apply an exclusion of 

coverage based on a preexisting medical condition for more 

than 12 months. 

1. Group Coverage. The medical conditions that can 

be excluded from coverage are limited to those that were 

diagnosed or treated during the six month period prior to the 

day coverage begins under the policy. Any condition that 

was not being treated during the prior six months cannot be 

excluded from coverage. 

2. Individual Coverage. The medical conditions that 

can be excluded from coverage are limited to those that were 

diagnosed, treated or reasonably should have been treated 

during the 12 month period prior to the day coverage begins 

under the policy. Any condition that was not diagnosed, 

treated, or reasonably should have been treated during the 

prior 12 months cannot be excluded from coverage. 

L. Guaranteed Portability Protections―Applies to HMO 

and Major Medical Insurance Coverage 

1. Individuals who are moving their health coverage 

from one employment situation to another or from one group 

plan to another are guaranteed the following rights provided 

they have enrolled in the new plan within 63 days of 

termination from the prior plan: 

a. if the new plan imposes a 12-month preexisting 

exclusionary period, the individual must be given one 

month's credit for each month of continuous coverage under 

the prior plan. If the individual had 12 or more months of 

continuous coverage under the prior plan, the preexisting 

exclusionary period has been satisfied. If the individual had 

six months of continuous coverage under the prior plan, the 

preexisting exclusionary period is reduced by six months; 

b. if the new employer imposes an exclusionary or 

waiting period for employees before coverage can begin, 

such periods do not count as a break in coverage for 

applying portability rights; 

c. during any exclusionary or waiting period, no 

premiums can be charged to the individual; 

d. during any exclusionary or waiting period the 

individual may maintain their prior coverage if eligible 

under state continuation of coverage rights, federal COBRA 

rights, or through purchase of an individual policy; 

e. individuals, who had at least 18 months of prior 

coverage under a group plan, have exhausted or are not 

eligible for state continuation rights or COBRA rights, are 

guaranteed access to individual health insurance coverage 

through the Louisiana Health Insurance Association. 

2. Any Louisiana resident who has individual health 

insurance coverage is guaranteed credit for prior individual 

coverage when replacing coverage if the insurance plan is 
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applying the prior insurance policy's lifetime benefit usage 

against the replacement policy. Residents can waive credit 

for prior coverage to avoid any reduction in the lifetime 

benefit limit of the replacement coverage. However, state 

law no longer allows the sale of any policy of insurance that 

excludes coverage in excess of 18 months. 

M. Prohibiting Discrimination against Individuals Based 

on Health Status―Applies to HMO and Major Medical 

Insurance Coverage 

1. State and federal law prohibit any group health 

coverage plan from discriminating against individuals based 

on their health status. This means that an individual's 

medical status cannot be used to determine eligibility to join 

a group health plan with certain exceptions. Plans are 

specifically prohibited from adopting any rules for eligibility 

or continued eligibility based on any of the following health 

status related factors: 

a. health status; 

b. medical condition, including both physical and 

mental illness; 

c. claims experience; 

d. receipt of health care; 

e. medical history; 

f. genetic information; 

g. evidence of insurability, including conditions 

arising out of acts of domestic violence; and 

h. disability. 

2. A plan's rules for eligibility to enroll under a plan 

also include rules defining any applicable waiting periods 

for such enrollment. This means that the plan may only 

apply exclusionary or waiting period uniformly based on 

date of hire for all eligible employees. No exclusionary or 

waiting periods are allowed after coverage begins and 

premiums are being collected from the insured. 

N. Prohibition on Use of Prenatal and Genetic Tests by 

Health Insurance Plans―Applies to HMO and Major 

Medical Insurance Coverage. State law prohibits health 

insurance plans from requiring any individual to take genetic 

tests or prenatal tests prior to being offered coverage. Plans 

are also prohibited from requesting release of any genetic or 

prenatal test results or using such information in the 

determination of benefits or rates for an insured. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:325 (February 

2000). 

§9109. Patient Responsibilities 

A. Under Louisiana law, formal managed care plans 

operated by health maintenance organizations are held to a 

higher standard than other health insurance coverage plans 

that include managed care options. All materials provided by 

a health insurance coverage plan should be carefully 

reviewed prior to making a purchasing decision. Managed 

care requirements under each health insurance coverage plan 

may vary significantly. For this reason, all patient 

requirements should be carefully reviewed to assure there is 

no misunderstanding regarding how medical coverage will 

be provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:2014. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 26:327 (February 

2000). 

Chapter 95. Regulation 81―Military 

Personnel―Automobile Liability 

Insurance Premium Discount  

and Insurer Premium  

Tax Credit Program  

§9501. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 22:11 and 

22:1482. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005), 

amended LR 46:1572 (November 2020). 

§9503. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2004, No. 770 of the Louisiana 

Legislature, Regular Session, as well as to implement the 

amendment thereto as set forth in Acts 2005, No. 408 of the 

Louisiana Legislature, Regular Session. The original law 

created an insurance premium discount program for active 

military personnel based in Louisiana. The amendment 

creates a program whereby an insurer is entitled to a tax 

credit against the premium taxes imposed under R.S. 22:838 

and R.S. 22:831 for the amount of the military discount 

provided to qualified active military personnel for the 

liability portion of their personal automobile liability policy. 

Both laws require the commissioner to adopt a regulation to 

implement the military discount program and to develop 

procedures for an insurer to follow to claim a tax credit and 

for other related matters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 20, 

2005), amended LR 32:94 (January 2006), LR 46:1572 (November 

2020). 

§9505. Scope and Applicability 

A. This regulation applies to all motor vehicle insurers 

authorized to engage in the business of writing personal 

automobile liability insurance in this state. It is also 

applicable to any personal automobile liability insurance 

policy purchased in this state from an authorized insurer by 

active military personnel based in Louisiana to cover 

personal motor vehicles owned and/or insured by such active 

military personnel. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 20, 

2005), amended LR 32:94 (January 2006). 

§9507. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation is held 

invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other Sections of 

provisions which can be given effect without the invalid 

Section or provision. For this purpose the Sections and 

provisions of this regulation are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 

§9509. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this regulation the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise.  

Active Military Personnel— 

a. a single or married person who is based in this 

state and serving on full time active duty status in the 

military as a member of:  

 i. the Army, Navy, Marine Corps or Air Force; or 

 ii. the Reserve or National Guard; or 

 iii. the Coast Guard.  

b. Active Military Personnel who are deployed out-

of-state or overseas whose spouse and dependents remain in 

this state shall be considered as based in this state for 

purposes of receiving the discount provided by R.S. 22:1482 

and §9515 of this regulation.  

AMP―active military personnel. 

Authorized Insurer―shall have the meaning found in 

R.S. 22:46(3), hereinafter “insurer.” 

Automobile Liability Insurance Policy―a policy of 

insurance acquired in this state, insuring personal motor 

vehicles of the types described in R.S. 22:1266(A)(1)(a)-(b), 

and motorcycles of the types described in R.S. 32:1252(30), 

which provides coverage for bodily injury and property 

damage liability, medical payments and uninsured motorists 

coverage as provided in R.S. 22:1266(A)(2). Golf carts, go-

carts, off-road vehicles, all-terrain vehicles and other similar 

motorized vehicles are not motor vehicles for the purposes 

of R.S. 22:1266(A)(1)(a)-(b) and are not motorcycles for the 

purposes of R.S. 32:1252(30).  

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance for the 

state of Louisiana.  

Direct Written Premium―the premium charged by an 

insurer as consideration for an automobile liability insurance 

policy.  

Insured―the individual who qualifies as active military 

personnel. The spouse and/or any dependents who are under 

the age of 18 or unmarried full-time students under the age 

of 24 who are insured under the same policy as the active 

military personnel are also included in this definition.  

LDI―the Louisiana Department of Insurance.  

Named Insured―the person identified as such on the 

policy.  

State―the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005), 

amended LR 32:94 (January 2006), LR 46:1572 (November 2020). 

§9511. Calculation of the Premium Discount; Proof of 

Eligibility  

A. All insurers shall grant a discount equal to 25 percent 

of the premium charged for an automobile liability insurance 

policy. The discount shall apply to new and renewal business 

if the named insured retains the status of active military 

personnel as defined in Regulation 81. For calculation 

purposes the discount shall only be applied to the premium 

charged for bodily injury and property damage liability, 

medical payments and uninsured motorists coverage as per 

R.S. 22:1266(A)(2) and shall include, but shall not be 

limited to, all fixed expenses, variable expenses, and policy 

fees. For interim policy changes, the discount mandated by 

this Subsection shall be applied on a pro-rata basis in the 

same manner as similar discount programs, such as good-

student discounts, are applied by an insurer.  

B. The initial obligation to demonstrate eligibility for the 

premium discount rests with the AMP. Thus, prior to an 

insurer applying the premium discount mandated by R.S. 

22:1482(A), the AMP shall provide to the insurer a properly 

executed Louisiana Application for Military Discount on the 

current form approved by the LDI.  

C. An insurer who obtains from an AMP a properly 

executed Louisiana application for military discount shall be 

eligible for a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is 

entitled to claim a tax credit against the premium taxes 

levied pursuant to R.S. 22:838 and 831.  

D. An insurer shall be barred from claiming the benefit 

of the rebuttable presumption if the insurer knew or should 

have known that the AMP provided false or fraudulent 

information on the Louisiana application for military 

discount and/or the insurer fails, neglects or refuses to report 

said false or fraudulent information regarding the AMP to 

the LDI.  

E. The initial Louisiana Application for Military 

Discount shall be properly executed by the AMP and 

delivered to the insurer. The insurer is required to maintain 

the original and all subsequent renewals on file for 

inspection, verification and audit by the LDI to ensure that 

the AMP is entitled to the premium discount mandated by 

R.S. 22:1482(A).  

F. Active military personnel who is deployed out-of-

state or overseas and who is:  
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1. single, shall be considered as based in this state for 

purposes of receiving the discount provided by R.S. 22:1482 

and §9515 of this regulation; or  

2. married, and has a spouse and dependents who 

remain in this state, shall be considered as based in this state 

for purposes of receiving the discount provided by R.S. 

22:1482 and §9515 of this regulation; or  

3. is single, and who has dependents who remain in 

this state, shall be considered as based in this state for 

purposes of receiving the discount provided by R.S. 22:1482 

and §9515 of this regulation. 

G. If single or married AMP are deployed out-of-state or 

overseas, the insurer is authorized to accept the "Louisiana 

Application for Military Discount" if it is properly filled out 

by any one of the persons who is in a filial relationship to the 

AMP, to wit: spouse, mother, or father, or any brother, sister, 

aunt or uncle who has attained the age of majority. 

H. Although it is the obligation of the AMP to 

demonstrate eligibility for the premium discount, an insurer 

has the obligation to act with due diligence with regard to 

the premium discount program. In furtherance of this due 

diligence obligation, the insurer may request additional 

documentation or proof from an AMP to determine initial or 

continuing eligibility for the discount if the insurer has a 

legitimate concern with regard to the authenticity or 

accuracy of any of the information provided by the AMP. 

I. At each renewal AMP shall be required to re-execute 

the Louisiana Application for Military Discount in all 

respects as required by Regulation 81. 

J. The Louisiana Application for Military Discount that 

must be properly executed by the AMP is set forth in §9519, 

Louisiana Application for Military Discount―Appendix, of 

this regulation and is incorporated herein as if set forth 

herein in extenso. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005), 

amended LR 32:94 (January 2006), LR 33:1661 (August 2007), LR 

46:1572 (November 2020). 

§9513. Requests for Tax Credit; Documentation; 

Dispute Resolution 

A. The tax credit authorized by R.S. 22:1482(B), as 

amended, will be requested by an insurer on an annual 

calendar year basis. The tax credit will be calculated based 

upon direct written premium. An insurer is eligible to 

receive a tax credit against the premium tax levied pursuant 

to R.S. 22:838 and R.S. 22:831 if it is an authorized insurer 

and the insurer makes a timely request for the tax credit.  

B. Insurers seeking a tax credit shall submit a request for 

premium tax credit to the LDI in accordance with the 

reporting schedule for premium taxes levied pursuant to R.S. 

22:838 and 831 as set forth in the reporting form(s) designed 

by the commissioner. Insurers shall submit the information 

required to be maintained by §9515.B of this regulation. A 

premium tax filing with the tax credit authorized hereunder 

that does not include the proof required by this regulation 

will be considered untimely.  

C. If the commissioner approves the premium tax filing 

as being both timely filed and containing all proof required 

by this regulation, there shall be a rebuttable presumption in 

favor of the insurer that the insurer is entitled to the tax 

credit against the premium taxes levied pursuant to R.S. 

22:838 and R.S. 22:831. 

D. The commissioner may disapprove a tax credit either 

in whole to the extent that the entire premium tax filing is 

defective, untimely or improperly documented, or in part to 

the extent that one portion of the premium tax filing is 

defective, untimely or improper, but the other portion of the 

premium tax filing is in compliance with §9513 of this 

regulation. The commissioner shall use the following criteria 

with regard to the disapproval, in whole or in part, of a 

premium tax filing, to wit: 

1. the premium tax filing is submitted late, unless the 

insurer can show good cause for the delay; 

2. the premium tax filing is incomplete or required 

documents are missing; 

3. the premium tax filing is excessive because a 

military discount was given to a person who was not eligible 

to receive said military discount. 

E. As explained above, if the commissioner disapproves, 

in whole or in part, a tax credit filed by an insurer, he shall 

give written notice to the insurer, stating the grounds for 

disapproval. The notice shall be sent to the address shown on 

the records of the LDI. An insurer shall have 30 days from 

the date of the notice to dispute the disapproval by the 

commissioner. If, within this initial 30-day period the insurer 

can demonstrate, in writing to the commissioner, good cause 

for not being able to provide the required documents to 

dispute the disapproval, the commissioner may grant one 60-

day extension to dispute the disapproval by the 

commissioner. No other extensions shall be granted. Any 

documents submitted by the insurer in rebuttal to the 

commissioner's disapproval notice shall be verified as true 

and accurate by an officer of the insurer.  

F. Within 30 days of submission of the verified rebuttal, 

the commissioner shall enter an order either approving or 

disapproving, in whole or in part, the request by the insurer 

for a tax credit against the premium taxes levied pursuant to 

R.S. 22:838 and R.S. 22:831. 

1. If the tax credit is approved, in whole or in part, the 

commissioner shall grant to the insurer the amount of the tax 

credit so approved by the commissioner. 

2. If the tax credit is disapproved in its entirety, the 

commissioner shall enter an order denying the entirety of the 

requested tax credit. The commissioner's order of 

disapproval shall be given, in writing, to the insurer by 

certified mail, return receipt requested. Any demand for a 

hearing shall be filed by an insurer with the commissioner 

within 30 days after mailing of notice of the order of 
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disapproval to the insurer’s last known address or within 30 

days after the delivery of notice of the order of disapproval 

to the insurer, as provided for by R.S. 22:2191. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:674 (March 2005), 

amended LR 32:95 (January 2006), LR 46:1573 (November 2020). 

§9515. Recordkeeping; Annual Report 

A. An insurer issuing an automobile liability insurance 

policy to an individual who qualifies for the military 

discount program shall maintain the following records:  

1. the items obtained in compliance with §9511 of this 

regulation;  

2. a copy of the declarations page for each policy for 

which a tax credit is sought.  

B. The request for the tax credit shall be made on a 

form(s) designed by the commissioner. The request for the 

tax credit form shall require, among other things, that the 

insurer provide the following information to the LDI with 

regard to the personal automobile liability insurance 

coverage issued to an AMP and that this information be 

provided to the LDI in either an electronic format as per R.S. 

22:42 or written format.  

1. A detailed listing of all policies for which the tax 

credit is sought. The listing shall include, at a minimum:  

 

a. the policy number of each policy; 

b. the effective date of the policy; 

c. the term of the policy; 

d. the gross direct written premium prior to 

application of the military discount; 

e. the net direct written premium for the liability 

coverages of the automobile liability insurance policy prior 

to application of the military discount; and 

f. the dollar value of the applicable military 

discount as applied to the amount set forth in Section 

9515.B.1.e above. 

2. The total number of policies written on active 

military personnel. 

3. The total gross direct written premium prior to 

application of the military discount. 

4. The total net direct written premium following 

application of the military discount. 

5. The total end-of-year tax credit sought relative to 

the military discount. 

C. The insurer shall keep the records required by this 

section in either electronic or written form and the records 

shall be maintained by the insurer for a period of five years 

from the date of issuance of the insurance policy to which 

the military discount has been applied. Upon request, the 

insurer shall produce such records for examination or audit 

by the commissioner or any person acting on behalf of the 

commissioner. The records required by this section shall be 

considered confidential pursuant to R.S. 22:1983 and R.S. 

22:1984 and are exempt from the Public Records Act found 

at R.S. 44:4.  

D. The tax credit filed by an insurer shall cover the 

calendar year ending December 31 and shall be filed on or 

before March 1 of each year thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:674 (March 20, 

2005), amended LR 32:96 (January 2006), LR 46:1574 (November 

2020). 

§9517. Overpayments; Collection Proceedings; Fines 

and Hearings 

A. If an insurer is examined or audited by the 

commissioner and it is determined that the insurer received a 

tax credit in excess of the amount actually due and owing, 

then the commissioner shall have authority to order the 

insurer to refund the overpayment to the commissioner. The 

commissioner shall promptly notify his staff of his 

determination and provide his staff with a copy of his order. 

B. The commissioner shall have standing to institute 

legal proceedings to collect the amount of any tax credit 

overpayment and any such proceedings shall be brought in 

the Nineteenth Judicial District Court. The commissioner's 

order shall be prima facie proof of the amount due and 

owing. If legal proceedings are instituted, the commissioner 

shall be entitled to an additional 20 percent of the amount of 

the tax credit overpayment found to be due and owing for 

the cost of collection. 

C. An insurer's failure or refusal to refund a tax credit 

overpayment shall constitute grounds for the commissioner 

to suspend the insurer's certificate of authority, or to impose 

a fine not to exceed 10 percent of the tax credit overpayment 

or $2,500, whichever is more, or both. Any demand for a 

hearing shall be filed by an insurer with the commissioner 

within 30 days after mailing of notice of the order of 

disapproval to the insurer’s last known address or within 30 

days after the delivery of notice of the order of disapproval 

to the insurer, as provided for by R.S. 22:2191. 

D. No insurer shall be allowed to withdraw from the 

state or have its certificate of authority canceled if it has 

outstanding tax credit overpayments. 

E. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed as a 

limitation on any powers or duties otherwise vested in the 

commissioner by operation of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:675 (March 20, 

2005), amended LR 32:96 (January 2006), LR 46:1574 (November 

2020). 

§9519. Louisiana Application for Military 

Discount―Appendix  

LOUISIANA APPLICATION FOR MILITARY DISCOUNT 
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____________________________    ______________________________ 

 Name of Insurance Company    Policy No. or Application No. 

 

READ THIS DOCUMENT CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING. If you 
have any questions about this “Louisiana Application For Military 

Discount” form ask your agent for an explanation or contact the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance at (800) 259-5300 or (225) 342-5900. 

You must complete all sections on this form. If the spouse or dependent 

sections are not applicable, you must check the N/A box next to the 

associated fields. 

_____________________________________          __________________ 

Full Name of Active Military Personnel     Date 

_______________________________      __________________________ 

Date of Birth              Home Phone 

____________________________________________________________ 

Home Address 

__________________________ ⁪ N/A        __________________ ⁪ N/A 

Name of Spouse           Spouse Date of Birth  

(if not applicable, check N/A)      (if not applicable, check N/A) 

 

______________________________________________________ ⁪ N/A 

Full Name and Date of Birth of Licensed Dependents  

(if not applicable, check N/A) 

 

⁪ Copy of Permanent Change of Station (PCS) Orders attached 

 

OR 

 

⁪ Permanent Change of Station (PCS) Orders previously submitted 

 

The undersigned hereby certifies that he/she is on active duty and 

permanently based in Louisiana and qualifies as "active military personnel" 

(AMP) as defined by LSA-R.S. 22:1482 and Regulation 81, and is eligible 
for the military discount set forth in LSA-R.S. 22:1482 for personal 

automobile liability insurance policy. The AMP further certifies that the 

information provided in this "Louisiana Application For Military Discount" 
form is true and correct and that he/she will promptly notify his/her 

automobile insurer of any change in the above information. The AMP 

acknowledges that any false, fraudulent or misleading statement may 
subject him/her to civil and criminal penalties, including those penalties set 

forth in LSA-R.S. 22:1924, and any applicable provisions of Title 14, the 

Louisiana Criminal Code. 

______________________________  _____________________________ 

Signature of Active Military     Print Name of Active Military  

  Personnel (AMP)          Personnel (AMP) 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:97 (January 2006), 

amended LR 33:1662 (August 2007), LR 35:2783 (December 

2009). 

§9521. Effective Date; Implementation 

A. This regulation, as amended, shall take effect on 

January 1, 2021. Insurers shall take steps to timely 

implement the military discount program so that it is 

available for all new and renewal business effective January 

1, 2021.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:675 (March 20, 

2005), amended LR 32:98 (January 2006), LR 46:1574 (November 

2020). 

Chapter 99. Regulation 76―Privacy 

of Consumer 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§9901. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 49:953(B) 

and R.S. 22:2 which charges the commissioner of insurance 

with the duty to enforce and administer all of the provisions 

of the Insurance Code, the purpose of which is to regulate 

the business of insurance in all of its phases in the public 

interest. Sections 501(b) and 505(a)(6) of the Gramm-Leach-

Bliley Act specifically designate the Department of 

Insurance as the agency to establish the appropriate 

standards covering any person engaged in providing 

insurance under state law and the Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, which provides for certain annual 

privacy reporting exemptions. R.S. 22:11 and R.S. 22:1595 

grants the commissioner of insurance authority to 

promulgate rules and regulations as are necessary for the 

implementation of the provisions of title R.S. 22:1604 

specifically refers to the protection of the interests of 

insurance policyholders in this state with respect to financial 

institution insurance sales, and R.S. 22:1595 grants the 

commissioner of insurance authority to promulgate rules and 

regulations as may be necessary to effectuate the provisions 

of chapter 5, financial institution sales, in title 22.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:534 (March 2017). 

§9903. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to govern the 

treatment of nonpublic personal financial information about 

individuals by all licensees of the state insurance 

department. This regulation: 

1. requires a licensee to provide notice to individuals 

about its privacy policies and practices; 

2. describes the conditions under which a licensee 

may disclose nonpublic personal financial information about 

individuals to affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties; and 

3. provides methods for individuals to prevent a 

licensee from disclosing that information. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054, and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001). 

§9905. Scope and Applicability 

A. This regulation applies to: 

1. nonpublic personal financial information about 

individuals who obtain or are claimants or beneficiaries of 

products or services primarily for personal, family or 

household purposes from licensees. This regulation does not 

apply to information about companies or about individuals 

who obtain products or services for business, commercial or 

agricultural purposes; and 

B. Compliance. A licensee domiciled in this state that is 

in compliance with this regulation in a state that has not 

enacted laws or regulations that meet the requirements of 

Title V of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (PL 102-106) may 

nonetheless be deemed to be in compliance with Title V of 

the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act in such other state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001). 

§9907. Rule of Construction 

A. The examples in this regulation and the sample 

clauses in Appendix A of this regulation are not exclusive. 

Compliance with an example or use of a sample clause, to 

the extent applicable, constitutes compliance with this 

regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001). 

§9909. Definitions 

A. As used in this regulation, unless the context requires 

otherwise: 

Affiliate―any company that controls, is controlled by or 

is under common control with another company. 

Clear and Conspicuous―that a notice is reasonably 

understandable and designed to call attention to the nature 

and significance of the information in the notice. Examples: 

a. Reasonably Understandable―a licensee makes 

its notice reasonably understandable if it: 

 i. presents the information in the notice in clear, 

concise sentences, paragraphs, and sections; 

 ii. uses short explanatory sentences or bullet lists 

whenever possible; 

 iii. uses definite, concrete, everyday words and 

active voice whenever possible; 

 iv. avoids multiple negatives; 

 v. avoids legal and highly technical business 

terminology whenever possible; and 

 vi. avoids explanations that are imprecise and 

readily subject to different interpretations; 

b. Designed to Call Attention―a licensee designs 

its notice to call attention to the nature and significance of 

the information in it if the licensee: 

 i. uses a plain-language heading to call attention 

to the notice; 

 ii. uses a typeface and type size that are easy to 

read; 

 iii. provides wide margins and ample line spacing; 

 iv. uses boldface or italics for key words; and 

 v. in a form that combines the licensee's notice 

with other information, uses distinctive type size, style, and 

graphic devices, such as shading or sidebars; 

c. Notices on Web Sites―if a licensee provides a 

notice on a web page, the licensee designs its notice to call 

attention to the nature and significance of the information in 

it if the licensee uses text or visual cues to encourage 

scrolling down the page if necessary to view the entire 

notice and ensure that other elements on the web site (such 

as text, graphics, hyperlinks or sound) do not distract 

attention from the notice, and the licensee either: 

 i. places the notice on a screen that consumers 

frequently access, such as a page on which transactions are 

conducted; or 

 ii. places a link on a screen that consumers 

frequently access, such as a page on which transactions are 

conducted that connects directly to the notice and is labeled 

appropriately to convey the importance, nature and 

relevance of the notice. 

Collect―to obtain information that the licensee 

organizes or can retrieve by the name of an individual or by 

identifying number, symbol or other identifying particular 

assigned to the individual, irrespective of the source of the 

underlying information. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance. 

Company―any natural person, partnership, corporation, 

association, business, trust, unincorporated organization, or 

other form of business enterprise, plural or singular, as the 

case demands. 

Consumer―an individual who seeks to obtain, obtains 

or has obtained an insurance product or service from a 

licensee that is to be used primarily for personal, family or 

household purposes, and about whom the licensee has 

nonpublic personal information, or that individual's legal 

representative. Examples: 

a. an individual who provides nonpublic personal 

information to a licensee in connection with obtaining or 

seeking to obtain financial, investment or economic advisory 

services relating to an insurance product or service is a 

consumer regardless of whether the licensee establishes an 

ongoing advisory relationship; 
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b. an applicant for insurance prior to the inception 

of insurance coverage is a licensee's consumer; 

c. an individual who is a consumer of another 

financial institution is not a licensee's consumer solely 

because the licensee is acting as agent for, or provides 

processing or other services to, that financial institution; 

d. an individual is a licensee's consumer if: 

 i.(a). the individual is a beneficiary of a life 

insurance policy underwritten by the licensee; 

(b). the individual is a claimant under an 

insurance policy issued by the licensee; 

(c). the individual is an insured or an annuitant 

under an insurance policy or an annuity, respectively, issued 

by the licensee; or 

(d). the individual is a mortgagor of a mortgage 

covered under a mortgage insurance policy; and 

 ii. the licensee discloses nonpublic personal 

financial information about the individual to a nonaffiliated 

third party other than as permitted under §§9929, 9931 and 

9933 of this regulation; 

e. provided that the licensee provides the initial, 

annual and revised notices under §§9911, 9913 and 9919 of 

this regulation to the plan sponsor, group or blanket 

insurance policyholder or group annuity contract holder, and 

further provided that the licensee does not disclose to a 

nonaffiliated third party nonpublic personal financial 

information about such an individual other than as permitted 

under §§9929, 9931 and 9933 of this regulation, an 

individual is not the consumer of the licensee solely because 

he or she is: 

 i. a participant or a beneficiary of an employee 

benefit plan that the licensee administers or sponsors or for 

which the licensee acts as a trustee, insurer or fiduciary; 

 ii. covered under a group or blanket insurance 

policy or group annuity contract issued by the licensee; or 

f. in no event shall the individuals, solely by virtue 

of the status described in Subparagraph e.i through iii above, 

be deemed to be customers for purposes of this regulation; 

g. an individual is not a licensee's consumer solely 

because he or she is a beneficiary of a trust for which the 

licensee is a trustee; 

h. an individual is not a licensee's consumer solely 

because he or she has designated the licensee as trustee for a 

trust. 

Consumer Reporting Agency―has the same meaning as 

in Section 603(f) of the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 

U.S.C. 1681a(f)). 

Control― 

a. ownership, control or power to vote 25 percent or 

more of the outstanding shares of any class of voting 

security of the company, directly or indirectly, or acting 

through one or more other persons; 

b. control in any manner over the election of a 

majority of the directors, trustees or general partners (or 

individuals exercising similar functions) of the company; or 

c. the power to exercise, directly or indirectly, a 

controlling influence over the management or policies of the 

company, as the commissioner determines. 

Customer―a consumer who has a customer relationship 

with a licensee. 

Customer Relationship―a continuing relationship 

between a consumer and a licensee under which the licensee 

provides one or more insurance products or services to the 

consumer that are to be used primarily for personal, family 

or household purposes. Examples: 

a. a consumer has a continuing relationship with a 

licensee if: 

 i. the consumer is a current policyholder of an 

insurance product issued by or through the licensee; or 

 ii. the consumer obtains financial, investment or 

economic advisory services relating to an insurance product 

or service from the licensee for a fee; 

b. a consumer does not have a continuing 

relationship with a licensee if: 

 i. the consumer applies for insurance but does not 

purchase the insurance; 

 ii. the licensee sells the consumer airline travel 

insurance in an isolated transaction; 

 iii. the individual is no longer a current 

policyholder of an insurance product or no longer obtains 

insurance services with or through the licensee; 

 iv. the consumer is a beneficiary or claimant under 

a policy and has submitted a claim under a policy choosing a 

settlement option involving an ongoing relationship with the 

licensee; 

 v. the consumer is a beneficiary or a claimant 

under a policy and has submitted a claim under that policy 

choosing a lump sum settlement option; 

 vi. the customer's policy is lapsed, expired, or 

otherwise inactive or dormant under the licensee's business 

practices, and the licensee has not communicated with the 

customer about the relationship for a period of 12 

consecutive months, other than annual privacy notices, 

material required by law or regulation, communication at the 

direction of a state or federal authority, or promotional 

materials; 

 vii. the individual is an insured or an annuitant 

under an insurance policy or annuity, respectively, but is not 

the policyholder or owner of the insurance policy or annuity; 

or 

 viii. for the purposes of this regulation, the 

individual's last known address according to the licensee's 

records is deemed invalid. An address of record is deemed 

invalid if mail sent to that address by the licensee has been 
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returned by the postal authorities as undeliverable and if 

subsequent attempts by the licensee to obtain a current valid 

address for the individual have been unsuccessful. 

Financial Institution―for the purposes of this 

regulation means any institution the business of which is 

engaging in activities that are financial in nature or 

incidental to such financial activities as described in Section 

4(k) of the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956 (12 U.S.C. 

1843(k)). Financial institution does not include: 

a. any person or entity with respect to any financial 

activity that is subject to the jurisdiction of the Commodity 

Futures Trading Commission under the Commodity 

Exchange Act (7 U.S.C. 1 et seq.); 

b. the Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation or 

any entity charged and operating under the Farm Credit Act 

of 1971 (12 U.S.C. 2001 et seq.); or 

c. institutions chartered by Congress specifically to 

engage in securitizations, secondary market sales (including 

sales of servicing rights) or similar transactions related to a 

transaction of a consumer, as long as the institutions do not 

sell or transfer nonpublic personal information to a 

nonaffiliated third party. 

Financial Product or Service―any product or service 

that a financial holding company could offer by engaging in 

an activity that is financial in nature or incidental to such a 

financial activity under Section 4(k) of the Bank Holding 

Company Act of 1956 (12 U.S.C. 1843(k)). 

a. Financial Service―includes a financial 

institution's evaluation or brokerage of information that the 

financial institution collects in connection with a request or 

an application from a consumer for a financial product or 

service. 

Insurance Product or Service―any product or service 

that is offered by a licensee pursuant to the insurance laws of 

this state. 

a. Insurance Service―includes a licensee's 

evaluation, brokerage or distribution of information that the 

licensee collects in connection with a request or an 

application from a consumer for an insurance product or 

service. 

Licensee―all licensed insurers, producers and other 

persons licensed or required to be licensed, or authorized or 

required to be authorized, or registered or required to be 

registered with the Commissioner of Insurance. 

a. Producers include persons required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to sell, solicit or negotiate 

insurance, including, but not limited to agents, brokers, 

solicitors and surplus lines brokers. 

b. A licensee is not subject to the notice and opt out 

requirements for: 

 i. nonpublic personal financial information set 

forth in Subchapters A, B, C; and D of this regulation if the 

licensee is an employee, agent or other representative of 

another licensee ("the principal") and: 

(a). the principal otherwise complies with, and 

provides the notices required by, the provisions of this 

regulation; and 

(b). the licensee does not disclose any nonpublic 

personal information to any person other than the principal 

or its affiliates in a manner permitted by this regulation. 

c.i. Subject to Clause i, licensee shall also include an 

unauthorized insurer that accepts business placed through a 

licensed surplus lines broker in this state, but only in regard 

to the surplus lines placements placed pursuant to R.S. 

22:1248, et seq. of this state's laws. 

 ii. A surplus lines broker or unauthorized insurer 

shall be deemed to be in compliance with the notice and opt 

out requirements for nonpublic personal financial 

information set forth in Subchapters A, B, C and D of this 

regulation provided: 

(a). the broker or insurer does not disclose 

nonpublic personal information of a consumer or a customer 

to nonaffiliated third parties for any purpose, including joint 

servicing or marketing under §9929 of this regulation, 

except as permitted by §9931 or §9933 of this regulation; 

and 

(b). the broker or insurer delivers a notice to the 

consumer at the time a customer relationship is established 

on which the following is printed in 16-point type: 

PRIVACY NOTICE 

NEITHER THE U.S. BROKERS THAT HANDLED THIS 

INSURANCE NOR THE INSURERS THAT HAVE 
UNDERWRITTEN THIS INSURANCE WILL DISCLOSE 

NONPUBLIC PERSONAL INFORMATION CONCERNING 

THE BUYER TO NONAFFILIATES OF THE BROKERS 

OR INSURERS EXCEPT AS PERMITTED BY LAW. 

Nonaffiliated Third Party―any person except: 

a. a licensee's affiliate; or 

b. a person employed jointly by a licensee and any 

company that is not the licensee's affiliate (but nonaffiliated 

third party includes the other company that jointly employs 

the person); 

c. nonaffiliated third party includes any company 

that is an affiliate solely by virtue of the direct or indirect 

ownership or control of the company by the licensee or its 

affiliate in conducting merchant banking or investment 

banking activities of the type described in Section 4(k)(4)(H) 

or insurance company investment activities of the type 

described in Section 4(k)(4)(I) of the federal Bank Holding 

Company Act (12 U.S.C. 1843(k)(4)(H) and (I)). 

Nonpublic Personal Financial Information― 

a. personally identifiable financial information; and 

b. any list, description or other grouping of 

consumers (and publicly available information pertaining to 

them) that is derived using any personally identifiable 

financial information that is not publicly available; 

c. nonpublic personal financial information does 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 358 

not include: 

 i. health information; 

 ii. publicly available information, except as 

included on a list described in Paragraph b of this Section; or 

 iii. any list, description or other grouping of 

consumers (and publicly available information pertaining to 

them) that is derived without using any personally 

identifiable financial information that is not publicly 

available; 

d. examples of lists: 

 i. nonpublic personal financial information 

includes any list of individuals' names and street addresses 

that is derived in whole or in part using personally 

identifiable financial information that is not publicly 

available, such as account numbers; 

 ii. nonpublic personal financial information does 

not include any list of individuals' names and addresses that 

contains only publicly available information, is not derived 

in whole or in part using personally identifiable financial 

information that is not publicly available, and is not 

disclosed in a manner that indicates that any of the 

individuals on the list is a consumer of a financial institution. 

Nonpublic Personal Information―nonpublic personal 

financial information. 

Opt Out― 

a. any direction by the consumer that the licensee 

not disclose nonpublic personal financial information about 

the consumer to a non affiliated third party, other than as 

permitted by §§9929, 9931,and 9933.  

Personally Identifiable Financial Information―any 

information: 

a. a consumer provides to a licensee to obtain an 

insurance product or service from the licensee; 

b. about a consumer resulting from a transaction 

involving an insurance product or service between a licensee 

and a consumer; or 

c. the licensee otherwise obtains about a consumer 

in connection with providing an insurance product or service 

to that consumer; 

d. examples: 

 i. information included. Personally identifiable 

financial information includes: 

(a). information a consumer provides to a 

licensee on an application to obtain an insurance product or 

service; 

(b). account balance information and payment 

history; 

(c). the fact that an individual is or has been one 

of the licensee's customers or has obtained an insurance 

product or service from the licensee; 

(d). any information about the licensee's 

consumer if it is disclosed in a manner that indicates that the 

individual is or has been the licensee's consumer; 

(e). any information that a consumer provides to 

a licensee or that the licensee or its agent otherwise obtains 

in connection with collecting on a loan or servicing a loan; 

(f). any information the licensee collects through 

an Internet cookie (an information-collecting device from a 

web server); and 

(g) information from a consumer report; 

 ii. information not included. Personally 

identifiable financial information does not include: 

(a). health information; 

(b). a list of names and addresses of customers of 

an entity that is not a financial institution; and 

(c). information that does not identify a 

consumer, such as aggregate information or blind data that 

does not contain personal identifiers such as account 

numbers, names or addresses. 

Publicly Available Information―any information that a 

licensee has a reasonable basis to believe is lawfully made 

available to the general public from: 

a. federal, state or local government records; 

b. widely distributed media; or 

c. disclosures to the general public that are required 

to be made by federal, state or local law; 

d. reasonable basis. A licensee has a reasonable 

basis to believe that information is lawfully made available 

to the general public if the licensee has taken steps to 

determine: 

 i. that the information is of the type that is 

available to the general public; and 

 ii. whether an individual can direct that the 

information not be made available to the general public and, 

if so, that the licensee's consumer has not done so; 

e. examples: 

 i. government records. Publicly available 

information in government records includes information in 

government real estate records and security interest filings; 

 ii. widely distributed media. Publicly available 

information from widely distributed media includes 

information from a telephone book, a television or radio 

program, a newspaper or a web site that is available to the 

general public on an unrestricted basis. A web site is not 

restricted merely because an Internet service provider or a 

site operator requires a fee or a password, so long as access 

is available to the general public; 

f. reasonable basis: 

 i. a licensee has a reasonable basis to believe that 

mortgage information is lawfully made available to the 

general public if the licensee has determined that the 

information is of the type included on the public record in 

the jurisdiction where the mortgage would be recorded; 

 ii. a licensee has a reasonable basis to believe that 

an individual's telephone number is lawfully made available 
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to the general public if the licensee has located the telephone 

number in the telephone book or the consumer has informed 

you that the telephone number is not unlisted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3053, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley 

Act, Public Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001). 

Subchapter B. Privacy and Opt_Out 

Notices for Financial Information 

§9911. Initial Privacy Notice to Consumers Required 

A. Initial Notice Requirement. A licensee shall provide a 

clear and conspicuous notice that accurately reflects its 

privacy policies and practices to: 

1. Customer. An individual who becomes the 

licensee's customer, not later than when the licensee 

establishes a customer relationship, except as provided in 

Subsection E of this Section; and 

2. Consumer. A consumer, before the licensee 

discloses any nonpublic personal financial information about 

the consumer to any nonaffiliated third party, if the licensee 

makes a disclosure other than as authorized by §§9931 and 

9933. 

B. When initial notice to a consumer is not required. A 

licensee is not required to provide an initial notice to a 

consumer under Paragraph A.2 of this Section if: 

1. the licensee does not disclose any nonpublic 

personal financial information about the consumer to any 

nonaffiliated third party, other than as authorized by §§9931 

and 9933, and the licensee does not have a customer 

relationship with the consumer; or 

2. a notice has been provided by an affiliated licensee, 

as long as the notice clearly identifies all licensees to whom 

the notice applies and is accurate with respect to the licensee 

and the other institutions. 

C. When the Licensee Establishes a Customer 

Relationship 

1. General Rule. A licensee establishes a customer 

relationship at the time the licensee and the consumer enter 

into a continuing relationship. 

2. Examples of Establishing Customer Relationship. A 

licensee establishes a customer relationship when the 

consumer: 

a. becomes a policyholder of a licensee that is an 

insurer when the insurer delivers an insurance policy or 

contract to the consumer, or in the case of a licensee that is 

an insurance producer or insurance broker, obtains insurance 

through that licensee; or 

b. agrees to obtain financial, economic or 

investment advisory services relating to insurance products 

or services for a fee from the licensee. 

D. Existing Customers. When an existing customer 

obtains a new insurance product or service from a licensee 

that is to be used primarily for personal, family or household 

purposes, the licensee satisfies the initial notice requirements 

of Subsection A of this Section as follows: 

1. the licensee may provide a revised policy notice, 

under §9919, that covers the customer's new insurance 

product or service; or 

2. if the initial, revised or annual notice that the 

licensee most recently provided to that customer was 

accurate with respect to the new insurance product or 

service, the licensee does not need to provide a new privacy 

notice under Subsection A of this Section. 

E. Exceptions to Allow Subsequent Delivery of Notice 

1. A licensee may provide the initial notice required 

by Paragraph A.1 of this Section within a reasonable time 

after the licensee establishes a customer relationship if: 

a. establishing the customer relationship is not at 

the customer's election; or 

b. providing notice not later than when the licensee 

establishes a customer relationship would substantially delay 

the customer's transaction and the customer agrees to receive 

the notice at a later time. 

2. Examples of Exceptions 

a. Not at Customer's Election. Establishing a 

customer relationship is not at the customer's election if a 

licensee acquires or is assigned a customer's policy from 

another financial institution or residual market mechanism 

and the customer does not have a choice about the licensee's 

acquisition or assignment. 

b. Substantial Delay of Customer's Transaction. 

Providing notice not later than when a licensee establishes a 

customer relationship would substantially delay the 

customer's transaction when the licensee and the individual 

agree over the telephone to enter into a customer relationship 

involving prompt delivery of the insurance product or 

service. 

c. No Substantial Delay of Customer's Transaction. 

Providing notice not later than when a licensee establishes a 

customer relationship would not substantially delay the 

customer's transaction when the relationship is initiated in 

person at the licensee's office or through other means by 

which the customer may view the notice, such as on a web 

site. 

F. Delivery. When a licensee is required to deliver an 

initial privacy notice by this Section, the licensee shall 

deliver it according to §9921. If the licensee uses a short-

form initial notice for non-customers according to §9915.D, 

the licensee may deliver its privacy notice according to 

§9915.D.3. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:551 (April 2001). 

§9913. Annual Privacy Notice to Customers Required 
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A.1. General Rule. A licensee shall provide a clear and 

conspicuous notice to customers that accurately reflects its 

privacy policies and practices not less than annually during 

the continuation of the customer relationship. Annually 

means at least once in any period of 12 consecutive months 

during which that relationship exists. A licensee may define 

the 12 consecutive-month period, but the licensee shall apply 

it to the customer on a consistent basis. 

2. Example. A licensee provides a notice annually if it 

defines the 12 consecutive-month period as a calendar year 

and provides the annual notice to the customer once in each 

calendar year following the calendar year in which the 

licensee provided the initial notice. For example, if a 

customer opens an account on any day of Year 1, the 

licensee shall provide an annual notice to that customer by 

December 31 of Year 2. 

B.1. Termination of Customer Relationship. A licensee is 

not required to provide an annual notice to a former 

customer. A former customer is an individual with whom a 

licensee no longer has a continuing relationship. 

2. Examples 

a. A licensee no longer has a continuing 

relationship with an individual if the individual no longer is 

a current policyholder of an insurance product or no longer 

obtains insurance services with or through the licensee. 

b. A licensee no longer has a continuing 

relationship with an individual if the individual's policy is 

lapsed, expired or otherwise inactive or dormant under the 

licensee's business practices, and the licensee has not 

communicated with the customer about the relationship for a 

period of 12 consecutive months, other than to provide 

annual privacy notices, material required by law or 

regulation, or promotional materials. 

c. For the purposes of this regulation, a licensee no 

longer has a continuing relationship with an individual if the 

individual's last known address according to the licensee's 

records is deemed invalid. An address of record is deemed 

invalid if mail sent to that address by the licensee has been 

returned by the postal authorities as undeliverable and if 

subsequent attempts by the licensee to obtain a current valid 

address for the individual have been unsuccessful. 

d. A licensee no longer has a continuing 

relationship with a customer in the case of providing real 

estate settlement services, at the time the customer 

completes execution of all documents related to the real 

estate closing, payment for those services has been received, 

or the licensee has completed all of its responsibilities with 

respect to the settlement, including filing documents on the 

public record, whichever is later. 

C. Delivery. When a licensee is required by this Section 

to deliver an annual privacy notice, the licensee shall deliver 

it according to §9921. 

D. Exemption from Annual Privacy Notice. A licensee 

that: 

1. provides nonpublic personal information to 

nonaffiliated third parties only in accordance with 

Emergency Rule 31, Regulation 76 and R.S. 22:1591-R.S. 

22:1605; and 

2. has not changed is policies and practices with 

regard to disclosing nonpublic personal information from the 

policies and practices that were disclosed in the most recent 

disclosure sent to consumers in accordance with this Section, 

shall not be required to provide an annual disclosure under 

this Section until such time as the licensee fails to comply 

with any criteria described in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this 

Subsection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:552 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 

§9915. Information to be Included in Privacy Notices 

A. General Rule. The initial, annual and revised privacy 

notices that a licensee provides under §§9911, 9913 and 

9919 shall include each of the following items of 

information, in addition to any other information the licensee 

wishes to provide, that applies to the licensee and to the 

consumers to whom the licensee sends its privacy notice: 

1. the categories of nonpublic personal financial 

information that the licensee collects; 

2. the categories of nonpublic personal financial 

information that the licensee discloses; 

3. the categories of affiliates and nonaffiliated third 

parties to whom the licensee discloses nonpublic personal 

financial information, other than those parties to whom the 

licensee discloses information under §§9931 and 9933; 

4. the categories of nonpublic personal financial 

information about the licensee's former customers that the 

licensee discloses and the categories of affiliates and 

nonaffiliated third parties to whom the licensee discloses 

nonpublic personal financial information about the licensee's 

former customers, other than those parties to whom the 

licensee discloses information under §§9931 and 9933; 

5. if a licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial 

information to a nonaffiliated third party under §9929 (and 

no other exception in §§9931 and 9933 applies to that 

disclosure), a separate description of the categories of 

information the licensee discloses and the categories of third 

parties with whom the licensee has contracted; 

6. an explanation of the consumer's right under §9923 

to opt out of the disclosure of nonpublic personal financial 

information to nonaffiliated third parties, including the 

methods by which the consumer may exercise that right at 

that time; 

7. any disclosures that the licensee makes under 

Section 603(d)(2)(A)(iii) of the federal Fair Credit Reporting 

Act (15 U.S.C. 1681a(d)(2)(A)(iii)) (that is, notices 

regarding the ability to opt out of disclosures of information 

among affiliates); 
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8. the licensee's policies and practices with respect to 

protecting the confidentiality and security of nonpublic 

personal information; and 

9. any disclosure that the licensee makes under 

Subsection B of this Section. 

B. Description of Parties Subject to Exceptions. If a 

licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial information 

as authorized under §§9931 and 9933, the licensee is not 

required to list those exceptions in the initial or annual 

privacy notices required by §§9911 and 9913. When 

describing the categories of parties to whom disclosure is 

made, the licensee is required to state only that it makes 

disclosures to other affiliated or nonaffiliated third parties, as 

applicable, as permitted by law. 

C. Examples 

1. Categories of nonpublic personal financial 

information that the licensee collects. A licensee satisfies the 

requirement to categorize the nonpublic personal financial 

information it collects if the licensee categorizes it according 

to the source of the information, as applicable: 

a. information from the consumer; 

b. information about the consumer's transactions 

with the licensee or its affiliates; 

c. information about the consumer's transactions 

with nonaffiliated third parties; and 

d. information from a consumer reporting agency. 

2. Categories of Nonpublic Personal Financial 

Information a Licensee Discloses 

a. A licensee satisfies the requirement to categorize 

nonpublic personal financial information it discloses if the 

licensee categorizes the information according to source, as 

described in Subsection C.1 of this Section, as applicable, 

and provides a few examples to illustrate the types of 

information in each category. These might include: 

 i. information from the consumer, including 

application information, such as assets and income and 

identifying information, such as name, address and Social 

Security number; 

 ii. transaction information, such as information 

about balances, payment history and parties to the 

transaction; and 

 iii. information from consumer reports, such as a 

consumer's creditworthiness and credit history. 

b. A licensee does not adequately categorize the 

information that it discloses if the licensee uses only general 

terms, such as transaction information about the consumer. 

c. If a licensee reserves the right to disclose all of 

the nonpublic personal financial information about 

consumers that it collects, the licensee may simply state that 

fact without describing the categories or examples of 

nonpublic personal information that the licensee discloses. 

3. Categories of Affiliates and Nonaffiliated Third 

Parties to whom the Licensee Discloses 

a. A licensee satisfies the requirement to categorize 

the affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties to which the 

licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial information 

about consumers if the licensee identifies the types of 

businesses in which they engage. 

b. Types of businesses may be described by general 

terms only if the licensee uses a few illustrative examples of 

significant lines of business. For example, a licensee may 

use the term financial products or services if it includes 

appropriate examples of significant lines of businesses, such 

as life insurer, automobile insurer, consumer banking or 

securities brokerage. 

c. A licensee also may categorize the affiliates and 

nonaffiliated third parties to which it discloses nonpublic 

personal financial information about consumers using more 

detailed categories. 

4. Disclosures under Exception for Service Providers 

and Joint Marketers. If a licensee discloses nonpublic 

personal financial information under the exception in §9929 

to a nonaffiliated third party to market products or services 

that it offers alone or jointly with another financial 

institution, the licensee satisfies the disclosure requirement 

of Paragraph A.5 of this Section if it: 

a. lists the categories of nonpublic personal 

financial information it discloses, using the same categories 

and examples the licensee used to meet the requirements of 

Paragraph A2. of this Section, as applicable; and 

b. states whether the third party is: 

 i. a service provider that performs marketing 

services on the licensee's behalf or on behalf of the licensee 

and another financial institution; or 

 ii. a financial institution with whom the licensee 

has a joint marketing agreement. 

5. Simplified Notices. If a licensee does not disclose, 

and does not wish to reserve the right to disclose, nonpublic 

personal financial information about customers or former 

customers to affiliates or nonaffiliated third parties except as 

authorized under §§9931 and 9933, the licensee may simply 

state that fact, in addition to the information it shall provide 

under Paragraphs A.1, A.8, A.9, and Subsection B of this 

Section. 

6. Confidentiality and Security. A licensee describes 

its policies and practices with respect to protecting the 

confidentiality and security of nonpublic personal financial 

information if it does both of the following: 

a. describes in general terms who is authorized to 

have access to the information; and 

b. states whether the licensee has security practices 

and procedures in place to ensure the confidentiality of the 

information in accordance with the licensee's policy. The 

licensee is not required to describe technical information 

about the safeguards it uses. 

D. Short-Form Initial Notice with Opt Out Notice for 

Non-Customers 

1. A licensee may satisfy the initial notice 
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requirements in §§9911.A.2 and 9917.C for a consumer who 

is not a customer by providing a short-form initial notice at 

the same time as the licensee delivers an opt out notice as 

required in §9917. 

2. A short-form initial notice shall: 

a. be clear and conspicuous; 

b. state that the licensee's privacy notice is available 

upon request; and 

c. explain a reasonable means by which the 

consumer may obtain that notice. 

3. The licensee shall deliver its short-form initial 

notice according to §9921. The licensee is not required to 

deliver its privacy notice with its short-form initial notice. 

The licensee instead may simply provide the consumer a 

reasonable means to obtain its privacy notice. If a consumer 

who receives the licensee's short-form notice requests the 

licensee's privacy notice, the licensee shall deliver its 

privacy notice according to §9921. 

4. Examples of Obtaining Privacy Notice. The 

licensee provides a reasonable means by which a consumer 

may obtain a copy of its privacy notice if the licensee: 

a. provides a toll-free telephone number that the 

consumer may call to request the notice; or 

b. for a consumer who conducts business in person 

at the licensee's office, maintains copies of the notice on 

hand that the licensee provides to the consumer immediately 

upon request. 

E. Future Disclosures. The licensee's notice may include: 

1. categories of nonpublic personal financial 

information that the licensee reserves the right to disclose in 

the future, but does not currently disclose; and 

2. categories of affiliates or nonaffiliated third parties 

to whom the licensee reserves the right in the future to 

disclose, but to whom the licensee does not currently 

disclose, nonpublic personal financial information. 

F. Sample Clauses. Sample clauses illustrating some of 

the notice content required by this Section are included in 

Appendix A of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:553 (April 2001). 

§9917. Form of Opt Out Notice to Consumers and Opt 

Out Methods 

A.1. Form of Opt Out Notice. If a licensee is required to 

provide an opt out notice under §9923, it shall provide a 

clear and conspicuous notice to each of its consumers that 

accurately explains the right to opt out under that Section. 

The notice shall state: 

a. that the licensee discloses or reserves the right to 

disclose nonpublic personal financial information about its 

consumer to a nonaffiliated third party; 

b. that the consumer has the right to opt out of that 

disclosure; and 

c. a reasonable means by which the consumer may 

exercise the opt out right. 

2. Examples 

a. Adequate Opt Out Notice. A licensee provides 

adequate notice that the consumer can opt out of the 

disclosure of nonpublic personal financial information to a 

nonaffiliated third party if the licensee: 

 i. identifies all of the categories of nonpublic 

personal financial information that it discloses or reserves 

the right to disclose, and all of the categories of nonaffiliated 

third parties to which the licensee discloses the information, 

as described in §9915.A.2 and 3, and states that the 

consumer can opt out of the disclosure of that information; 

and 

 ii. identifies the insurance products or services 

that the consumer obtains from the licensee, either singly or 

jointly, to which the opt out direction would apply. 

b. Reasonable Opt Out Means. A licensee provides 

a reasonable means to exercise an opt out right if it: 

 i. designates check-off boxes in a prominent 

position on the relevant forms with the opt out notice; 

 ii. includes a reply form together with the opt out 

notice; 

 iii. provides an electronic means to opt out, such 

as a form that can be sent via electronic mail or a process at 

the licensee's web site, if the consumer agrees to the 

electronic delivery of information; or 

 iv. provides a toll-free telephone number that 

consumers may call to opt out. 

c. Unreasonable Opt Out Means. A licensee does 

not provide a reasonable means of opting out if: 

 i. the only means of opting out is for the 

consumer to write his or her own letter to exercise that opt 

out right; or 

 ii. the only means of opting out as described in 

any notice subsequent to the initial notice is to use a check-

off box that the licensee provided with the initial notice but 

did not include with the subsequent notice. 

d. Specific Opt Out Means. A licensee may require 

each consumer to opt out through a specific means, as long 

as that means is reasonable for that consumer. 

B. Same Form as Initial Notice Permitted. A licensee 

may provide the opt out notice together with or on the same 

written or electronic form as the initial notice the licensee 

provides in accordance with §9911. 

C. Initial Notice Required When Opt Out Notice 

Delivered Subsequent to Initial Notice. If a licensee provides 

the opt out notice later than required for the initial notice in 

accordance with §9911, the licensee shall also include a 

copy of the initial notice with the opt out notice in writing 

or, if the consumer agrees, electronically. 
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D. Joint Relationships 

1. If two or more consumers jointly obtain an 

insurance product or service from a licensee, the licensee 

may provide a single opt out notice. The licensee's opt out 

notice shall explain how the licensee will treat an opt out 

direction by a joint consumer (as explained in Paragraph 5 of 

this Subsection). 

2. Any of the joint consumers may exercise the right 

to opt out. The licensee may either: 

a. treat an opt out direction by a joint consumer as 

applying to all of the associated joint consumers; or 

b. permit each joint consumer to opt out separately. 

3. If a licensee permits each joint consumer to opt out 

separately, the licensee shall permit one of the joint 

consumers to opt out on behalf of all of the joint consumers. 

4. A licensee may not require all joint consumers to 

opt out before it implements any opt out direction. 

5. Example. If John and Mary are both named 

policyholders on a homeowner's insurance policy issued by a 

licensee and the licensee sends policy statements to John's 

address, the licensee may do any of the following, but it 

shall explain in its opt out notice which opt out policy the 

licensee will follow: 

a. send a single opt out notice to John's address, but 

the licensee shall accept an opt out direction from either 

John or Mary; 

b. treat an opt out direction by either John or Mary 

as applying to the entire policy. If the licensee does so and 

John opts out, the licensee may not require Mary to opt out 

as well before implementing John's opt out direction; 

c. permit John and Mary to make different opt out 

directions. If the licensee does so: 

 i. it shall permit John and Mary to opt out for 

each other; 

 ii. if both opt out, the licensee shall permit both of 

them to notify it in a single response (such as on a form or 

through a telephone call); and 

 iii. if John opts out and Mary does not, the 

licensee may only disclose nonpublic personal financial 

information about Mary, but not about John and not about 

John and Mary jointly. 

E. Time to Comply with Opt Out. A licensee shall 

comply with a consumer's opt out direction as soon as 

reasonably practicable after the licensee receives it. 

F. Continuing Right to Opt Out. A consumer may 

exercise the right to opt out at any time. 

G. Duration of Consumer's Opt Out Direction. 

1. A consumer's direction to opt out under this Section 

is effective until the consumer revokes it in writing or, if the 

consumer agrees, electronically. 

2. When a customer relationship terminates, the 

customer's opt out direction continues to apply to the 

nonpublic personal financial information that the licensee 

collected during or related to that relationship. If the 

individual subsequently establishes a new customer 

relationship with the licensee, the opt out direction that 

applied to the former relationship does not apply to the new 

relationship. 

H. Delivery. When a licensee is required to deliver an opt 

out notice by this Section, the licensee shall deliver it 

according to §9921. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:554 (April 2001).  

§9919. Revised Privacy Notices 

A. General Rule. Except as otherwise authorized in this 

regulation, a licensee shall not, directly or through an 

affiliate, disclose any nonpublic personal financial 

information about a consumer to a nonaffiliated third party 

other than as described in the initial notice that the licensee 

provided to that consumer under §9911, unless: 

1. the licensee has provided to the consumer a clear 

and conspicuous revised notice that accurately describes its 

policies and practices; 

2. the licensee has provided to the consumer a new opt 

out notice; 

3. the licensee has given the consumer a reasonable 

opportunity, before the licensee discloses the information to 

the nonaffiliated third party, to opt out of the disclosure; and 

4. the consumer does not opt out. 

B. Examples 

1. Except as otherwise permitted by §§9929, 9931, 

and 9933, a licensee shall provide a revised notice before it: 

a. discloses a new category of nonpublic personal 

financial information to any nonaffiliated third party; 

b. discloses nonpublic personal financial 

information to a new category of nonaffiliated third party; or 

c. discloses nonpublic personal financial 

information about a former customer to a nonaffiliated third 

party, if that former customer has not had the opportunity to 

exercise an opt out right regarding that disclosure. 

2. A revised notice is not required if the licensee 

discloses nonpublic personal financial information to a new 

nonaffiliated third party that the licensee adequately 

described in its prior notice. 

C. Delivery. When a licensee is required to deliver a 

revised privacy notice by this Section, the licensee shall 

deliver it according to §9921. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:555 (April 2001). 

§9921. Delivery 

A. How to Provide Notices. A licensee shall provide any 

notices that this regulation requires so that each consumer 

can reasonably be expected to receive actual notice in 

writing or, if the consumer agrees, electronically. 

B.1. Examples of Reasonable Expectation of Actual 

Notice. A licensee may reasonably expect that a consumer 

will receive actual notice if the licensee: 

a. hand-delivers a printed copy of the notice to the 

consumer; 

b. mails a printed copy of the notice to the last 

known address of the consumer separately, or in a policy, 

billing or other written communication; 

c. for a consumer who conducts transactions 

electronically, posts the notice on the electronic site and 

requires the consumer to acknowledge receipt of the notice 

as a necessary step to obtaining a particular insurance 

product or service; 

d. for an isolated transaction with a consumer, such 

as the licensee providing an insurance quote or selling the 

consumer travel insurance, posts the notice and requires the 

consumer to acknowledge receipt of the notice as a 

necessary step to obtaining the particular insurance product 

or service. 

2. Examples of Unreasonable Expectation of Actual 

Notice. A licensee may not, however, reasonably expect that 

a consumer will receive actual notice of its privacy policies 

and practices if it: 

a. only posts a sign in its office or generally 

publishes advertisements of its privacy policies and 

practices; or 

b. sends the notice via electronic mail to a consumer 

who does not obtain an insurance product or service from 

the licensee electronically. 

C. Annual Notices Only. A licensee may reasonably 

expect that a customer will receive actual notice of the 

licensee's annual privacy notice if: 

1. the customer uses the licensee's web site to access 

insurance products and services electronically and agrees to 

receive notices at the web site and the licensee posts its 

current privacy notice continuously in a clear and 

conspicuous manner on the web site; or 

2. the customer has requested that the licensee refrain 

from sending any information regarding the customer 

relationship, and the licensee's current privacy notice 

remains available to the customer upon request. 

D. Oral Description of Notice Insufficient. A licensee 

may not provide any notice required by this regulation solely 

by orally explaining the notice, either in person or over the 

telephone. 

E. Retention or Accessibility of Notices for Customers 

1. For customers only, a licensee shall provide the 

initial notice required by §9911.A.1, the annual notice 

required by §9913.A, and the revised notice required by 

§9919 so that the customer can retain them or obtain them 

later in writing or, if the customer agrees, electronically. 

2. Examples of Retention or Accessibility. A licensee 

provides a privacy notice to the customer so that the 

customer can retain it or obtain it later if the licensee: 

a. hand-delivers a printed copy of the notice to the 

customer; 

b. mails a printed copy of the notice to the last 

known address of the customer; or 

c. makes its current privacy notice available on a 

web site (or a link to another web site) for the customer who 

obtains an insurance product or service electronically and 

agrees to receive the notice at the web site. 

F. Joint Notice with Other Financial Institutions. A 

licensee may provide a joint notice from the licensee and 

one or more of its affiliates or other financial institutions, as 

identified in the notice, as long as the notice is accurate with 

respect to the licensee and the other institutions. A licensee 

also may provide a notice on behalf of another financial 

institution. 

G. Joint Relationships. If two or more consumers jointly 

obtain an insurance product or service from a licensee, the 

licensee may satisfy the initial, annual and revised notice 

requirements of §§9911, 9913 and 9919, respectively, by 

providing one notice to those consumers jointly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:556 (April 2001). 

Subchapter C. Limits on Disclosures 

of Financial Information 

§9923. Limits on Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal 

Financial Information to Nonaffiliated Third 

Parties 

A.1. Conditions for Disclosure. Except as otherwise 

authorized in this regulation, a licensee may not, directly or 

through any affiliate, disclose any nonpublic personal 

financial information about a consumer to a nonaffiliated 

third party unless: 

a. the licensee has provided to the consumer an 

initial notice as required under §9911; 

b. the licensee has provided to the consumer an opt 

out notice as required in §9917; 

c. the licensee has given the consumer a reasonable 

opportunity, before it discloses the information to the 

nonaffiliated third party, to opt out of the disclosure; and 

d. the consumer does not opt out. 

2. Examples of Reasonable Opportunity to Opt Out. A 

licensee provides a consumer with a reasonable opportunity 

to opt out if: 
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a. by mail. The licensee mails the notices required 

in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection to the consumer and allows 

the consumer to opt out by mailing a form, calling a toll-free 

telephone number or any other reasonable means within 30 

days from the date the licensee mailed the notices; 

b. by electronic means. A customer opens an on-line 

account with a licensee and agrees to receive the notices 

required in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection electronically, and 

the licensee allows the customer to opt out by any 

reasonable means within 30 days after the date that the 

customer acknowledges receipt of the notices in conjunction 

with opening the account; 

c. isolated transaction with consumer. For an 

isolated transaction such as providing the consumer with an 

insurance quote, a licensee provides the consumer with a 

reasonable opportunity to opt out if the licensee provides the 

notices required in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection at the time 

of the transaction and requests that the consumer decide, as a 

necessary part of the transaction, whether to opt out before 

completing the transaction. 

B. Application of Opt Out to All Consumers and All 

Nonpublic Personal Financial Information 

1. A licensee shall comply with this Section, 

regardless of whether the licensee and the consumer have 

established a customer relationship. 

2. Unless a licensee complies with this Section, the 

licensee may not, directly or through any affiliate, disclose 

any nonpublic personal financial information about a 

consumer that the licensee has collected, regardless of 

whether the licensee collected it before or after receiving the 

direction to opt out from the consumer. 

C. Partial Opt Out. A licensee may allow a consumer to 

select certain nonpublic personal financial information or 

certain nonaffiliated third parties with respect to which the 

consumer wishes to opt out. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:556 (April 2001). 

§9925. Limits on Re-Disclosure and Reuse of Nonpublic 

Personal Financial Information 

A.1. Information the Licensee Receives under an 

Exception. If a licensee receives nonpublic personal 

financial information from a nonaffiliated financial 

institution under an exception in §§9931 or 9933 of this 

regulation, the licensee's disclosure and use of that 

information is limited as follows: 

a. the licensee may disclose the information to the 

affiliates of the financial institution from which the licensee 

received the information; 

b. the licensee may disclose the information to its 

affiliates, but the licensee's affiliates may, in turn, disclose 

and use the information only to the extent that the licensee 

may disclose and use the information; and 

c. the licensee may disclose and use the information 

pursuant to an exception in §§9931 or 9933 of this 

regulation, in the ordinary course of business to carry out the 

activity covered by the exception under which the licensee 

received the information. 

2. Example. If a licensee receives information from a 

nonaffiliated financial institution for claims settlement 

purposes, the licensee may disclose the information for fraud 

prevention, or in response to a properly authorized 

subpoena. The licensee may not disclose that information to 

a third party for marketing purposes or use that information 

for its own marketing purposes. 

B.1. Information a Licensee Receives Outside of an 

Exception. If a licensee receives nonpublic personal 

financial information from a nonaffiliated financial 

institution other than under an exception in §§9931 or 9933 

of this regulation, the licensee may disclose the information 

only: 

a. to the affiliates of the financial institution from 

which the licensee received the information; 

b. to its affiliates, but its affiliates may, in turn, 

disclose the information only to the extent that the licensee 

may disclose the information; and 

c. to any other person, if the disclosure would be 

lawful if made directly to that person by the financial 

institution from which the licensee received the information. 

2. Example. If a licensee obtains a customer list from 

a nonaffiliated financial institution outside of the exceptions 

in §§9931 or 9933: 

a. the licensee may use that list for its own 

purposes; and 

b. the licensee may disclose that list to another 

nonaffiliated third party only if the financial institution from 

which the licensee purchased the list could have lawfully 

disclosed the list to that third party. That is, the licensee may 

disclose the list in accordance with the privacy policy of the 

financial institution from which the licensee received the list, 

as limited by the opt out direction of each consumer whose 

nonpublic personal financial information the licensee intends 

to disclose, and the licensee may disclose the list in 

accordance with an exception in §§9931 or 9933, such as to 

the licensee's attorneys or accountants. 

C. Information a Licensee Discloses under an Exception. 

If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal financial 

information to a nonaffiliated third party under an exception 

in §§9931 or 9933 of this regulation, the third party may 

disclose and use that information only as follows: 

1. the third party may disclose the information to the 

licensee's affiliates; 

2. the third party may disclose the information to its 

affiliates, but its affiliates may, in turn, disclose and use the 

information only to the extent that the third party may 

disclose and use the information; and 

3. the third party may disclose and use the information 

pursuant to an exception in §§9931 or 9933 in the ordinary 

course of business to carry out the activity covered by the 

exception under which it received the information. 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 366 

D. Information a Licensee Discloses Outside of an 

Exception. If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal 

financial information to a nonaffiliated third party other than 

under an exception in §§9931 or 9933 of this regulation, the 

third party may disclose the information only: 

1. to the licensee's affiliates; 

2. to the third party's affiliates, but the third party's 

affiliates, in turn, may disclose the information only to the 

extent the third party can disclose the information; and 

3. to any other person, if the disclosure would be 

lawful if the licensee made it directly to that person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:557 (April 2001). 

§9927. Limits on Sharing Account Number Information 

for Marketing Purposes 

A. General Prohibition on Disclosure of Account 

Numbers. A licensee shall not, directly or through an 

affiliate, disclose, other than to a consumer reporting agency, 

a policy number or similar form of access number or access 

code for a consumer's policy or transaction account to any 

nonaffiliated third party for use in telemarketing, direct mail 

marketing or other marketing through electronic mail to the 

consumer. 

B. Exceptions. Subsection A of this Section does not 

apply if a licensee discloses a policy number or similar form 

of access number or access code: 

1. to the licensee's service provider solely in order to 

perform marketing for the licensee's own products or 

services, as long as the service provider is not authorized to 

directly initiate charges to the account; 

2. to a licensee who is a producer solely in order to 

perform marketing for the licensee's own products or 

services; or 

3. to a participant in an affinity or similar program 

where the participants in the program are identified to the 

customer when the customer enters into the program. 

C. Examples 

1. Policy Number. A policy number, or similar form of 

access number or access code, does not include a number or 

code in an encrypted form, as long as the licensee does not 

provide the recipient with a means to decode the number or 

code. 

2. Policy or Transaction Account. For the purposes of 

this Section, a policy or transaction account is an account 

other than a deposit account or a credit card account. A 

policy or transaction account does not include an account to 

which third parties cannot initiate charges. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:557 (April 2001). 

Subchapter D. Exceptions to Limits 

on Disclosures of Financial 

Information 

§9929. Exception to Opt Out Requirements for 

Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal Financial 

Information for Service Providers and Joint 

Marketing 

A. General Rule 

1. The opt out requirements in §§9917 and 9923 do 

not apply when a licensee provides nonpublic personal 

financial information to a nonaffiliated third party to perform 

services for the licensee or functions on the licensee's behalf, 

if the licensee: 

a. provides the initial notice in accordance with 

§9911; and 

b. enters into a contractual agreement with the third 

party that prohibits the third party from disclosing or using 

the information other than to carry out the purposes for 

which the licensee disclosed the information, including use 

under an exception in §§9931 or 9933 in the ordinary course 

of business to carry out those purposes. 

2. Example. If a licensee discloses nonpublic personal 

financial information under this Section to a financial 

institution with which the licensee performs joint marketing, 

the licensee's contractual agreement with that institution 

meets the requirements of Subparagraph 1.b of this 

Subsection if it prohibits the institution from disclosing or 

using the nonpublic personal financial information except as 

necessary to carry out the joint marketing or under an 

exception in §9931 or §9933 in the ordinary course of 

business to carry out that joint marketing. 

B. Service may include joint marketing. The services a 

nonaffiliated third party performs for a licensee under 

Subsection A of this Section may include marketing of the 

licensee's own products or services or marketing of financial 

products or services offered pursuant to joint agreements 

between the licensee and one or more financial institutions. 

C. Definition of Joint Agreement. For purposes of this 

Section, joint agreement means a written contract pursuant 

to which a licensee and one or more financial institutions 

jointly offer, endorse or sponsor a financial product or 

service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:558 (April 2001). 

§9931. Exceptions to Notice and Opt Out Requirements 

for Disclosure of Nonpublic Personal Financial 

Information for Processing and Servicing 

Transactions 

A. Exceptions for Processing Transactions at Consumer's 

Request. The requirements for initial notice in §9911.A.2, 
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the opt out in §§9917 and 9923, and service providers and 

joint marketing in §9929 do not apply if the licensee 

discloses nonpublic personal financial information as 

necessary to effect, administer or enforce a transaction that a 

consumer requests or authorizes, or in connection with: 

1. servicing or processing an insurance product or 

service that a consumer requests or authorizes; 

2. maintaining or servicing the consumer's account 

with a licensee, or with another entity as part of a private 

label credit card program or other extension of credit on 

behalf of such entity; 

3. a proposed or actual securitization, secondary 

market sale (including sales of servicing rights) or similar 

transaction related to a transaction of the consumer; or 

4. reinsurance or stop loss or excess loss insurance. 

B. Necessary to Effect, Administer or Enforce a 

Transaction―that the disclosure is: 

1. required, or is one of the lawful or appropriate 

methods, to enforce the licensee's rights or the rights of other 

persons engaged in carrying out the financial transaction or 

providing the product or service; or 

2. required, or is a usual, appropriate or acceptable 

method: 

a. to carry out the transaction or the product or 

service business of which the transaction is a part, and 

record, service or maintain the consumer's account in the 

ordinary course of providing the insurance product or 

service; 

b. to administer or service benefits or claims 

relating to the transaction or the product or service business 

of which it is a part; 

c. to provide a confirmation, statement or other 

record of the transaction, or information on the status or 

value of the insurance product or service to the consumer or 

the consumer's agent or broker; 

d. to accrue or recognize incentives or bonuses 

associated with the transaction that are provided by a 

licensee or any other party; 

e. to underwrite insurance at the consumer's request 

or for any of the following purposes as they relate to a 

consumer's insurance: account administration, reporting, 

investigating or preventing fraud or material 

misrepresentation, processing premium payments, 

processing insurance claims, administering insurance 

benefits (including utilization review activities), 

participating in research projects or as otherwise required or 

specifically permitted by federal or state law; or 

f. in connection with: 

 i. authorization, settlement, billing, processing, 

clearing, transferring, reconciling or collection of amounts 

charged, debited or otherwise paid using a debit, credit or 

other payment card, check or account number, or by other 

payment means; 

 ii. the transfer of receivables, accounts or interests 

therein; or 

 iii. the audit of debit, credit or other payment 

information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:558 (April 2001). 

§9933. Other Exceptions to Notice and Opt Out 

Requirements for Disclosure of Nonpublic 

Personal Financial Information 

A. Exceptions to Opt Out Requirements. The 

requirements for initial notice to consumers in §9911A.2, the 

opt out in §§9917 and 9923, and service providers and joint 

marketing in §9929 do not apply when a licensee discloses 

nonpublic personal financial information: 

1. with the consent or at the direction of the consumer, 

provided that the consumer has not revoked the consent or 

direction; 

2.a. to protect the confidentiality or security of a 

licensee's records pertaining to the consumer, service, 

product or transaction; 

b. to protect against or prevent actual or potential 

fraud or unauthorized transactions; 

c. for required institutional risk control or for 

resolving consumer disputes or inquiries; 

d. to persons holding a legal or beneficial interest 

relating to the consumer; or 

e. to persons acting in a fiduciary or representative 

capacity on behalf of the consumer; 

3. to provide information to an insurance rate advisory 

organizations for the purpose of gathering statistical rate 

making information, guaranty funds or agencies that are 

rating a licensee, persons that are assessing the licensee's 

compliance with industry standards, and the licensee's 

attorneys, accountants and auditors; 

4. to the extent specifically permitted or required 

under other provisions of law and in accordance with the 

federal Right to Financial Privacy Act of 1978 (12 U.S.C. 

3401 et seq.), to law enforcement agencies (including the 

Federal Reserve Board, Office of the Comptroller of the 

Currency, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Office of 

Thrift Supervision, National Credit Union Administration, 

the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Secretary of 

the Treasury, with respect to 31 U.S.C. Chapter 53, 

Subchapter II (Records and Reports on Monetary 

Instruments and Transactions) and 12 U.S.C. Chapter 21 

(Financial Record keeping), the Commissioner of Insurance, 

and the Federal Trade Commission), self-regulatory 

organizations or for an investigation on a matter related to 

public safety; 

5.a. to a consumer reporting agency in accordance 

with the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. 1681 

et seq.); or 
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b. from a consumer report reported by a consumer 

reporting agency; 

6. actual sale, merger, transfer or exchange of all or a 

portion of a business or operating unit if the disclosure of 

nonpublic personal financial information concerns solely 

consumers of the business or unit; 

7.a. to comply with federal, state or local laws, rules 

and other applicable legal requirements; 

b. to comply with a properly authorized civil, 

criminal or regulatory investigation, or subpoena or 

summons by federal, state or local authorities; 

c. to respond to judicial process or government 

regulatory authorities having jurisdiction over a licensee for 

examination, compliance or other purposes as authorized by 

law; or 

8. for purposes related to the replacement of a group 

benefit plan, a group health plan, a group welfare plan; 

9. for purposes related to: 

a. an order of rehabilitation or liquidation pursuant 

to R.S. 22:731 et seq.; 

b. any other provision of law which authorizes the 

Commissioner of Insurance to take over, rehabilitate, 

liquidate, or wind up the affairs of a licensee. 

B. Example of Revocation of Consent. A consumer may 

revoke consent by subsequently exercising the right to opt 

out of future disclosures of nonpublic personal information 

as permitted under §9917.F. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:3052, 22:3054 22:731, et seq. and Gramm-Leach-

Bliley Act, Public Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:559 (April 2001). 

Subchapter E. Additional Provisions 

§9945. Protection of Existing Requirements 

A. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to 

modify, limit or supersede the operation of the federal Fair 

Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. 1681 et seq.) or of 

Louisiana Revised Statutes Sections 22:1474, 23:1200.3 or 

22:3063, and no inference shall be drawn on the basis of the 

provisions of this regulation regarding whether information 

is transaction or experience information under Section 603 

of the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1474, 22:3052, 22:3054, 22:3063, 23:1200.3, 

Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public Law 106-102–Nov. 12, 1999, 15 

U.S.C. 1681, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:559 (April 2001). 

§9947. Nondiscrimination 

A. A licensee shall not unfairly discriminate against any 

consumer or customer because that consumer or customer 

has opted out from the disclosure of his or her nonpublic 

personal financial information pursuant to the provisions of 

this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1214, 22:2020, 22:3052, 22:3054, and 22:3063. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:559 (April 2001). 

§9949. Violations and Penalties 

A. Any failure to comply with this regulation shall be 

considered a violation of R.S. 22:1214, et seq. 

B. Violations of this regulation shall subject the violators 

to penalties as provided in R.S. 22:1217, 22:1217.1, and any 

other applicable provisions of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1214, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:559 (April 2001). 

§9951. Severability 

A. If any provision or item of Regulation 79 or the 

Emergency Rule 31, or the application thereof, is held 

invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items or applications of Regulation 79 or Emergency Rule 

31 which can be given effect without the invalid provision, 

item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:560 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 

§9953. Effective Date 

A. This Rule shall be effective upon adoption. 

B.1. Notice Requirement for Consumers who are the 

Licensee's Customers on the Compliance Date. By July 1, 

2001, a licensee shall provide an initial notice, as required 

by Section 5, to consumers who are the licensee's customers 

on July 1, 2001. 

2. Example. A licensee provides an initial notice to 

consumers who are its customers on July 1, 2001, if, by that 

date, the licensee has established a system for providing an 

initial notice to all new customers and has mailed the initial 

notice to all the licensee's existing customers. 

C. Two-Year Grandfathering of Service Agreements. 

Until July 1, 2002, a contract that a licensee has entered into 

with a nonaffiliated third party to perform services for the 

licensee or functions on the licensee's behalf satisfies the 

provisions of §9929.A.1.b of this regulation, even if the 

contract does not include a requirement that the third party 

maintain the confidentiality of nonpublic personal 

information, as long as the licensee entered into the 

agreement on or before July 1, 2000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:560 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 369 

§9955. Appendix A―Sample Clauses 

A. Licensees, including a group of financial holding 

company affiliates that use a common privacy notice, may 

use the following sample clauses, if the clause is accurate for 

each institution that uses the notice. (Note that disclosure of 

certain information, such as assets, income and information 

from a consumer reporting agency, may give rise to 

obligations under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, such 

as a requirement to permit a consumer to opt out of 

disclosures to affiliates or designation as a consumer 

reporting agency if disclosures are made to nonaffiliated 

third parties.) 

A-1―Categories of Information a Licensee Collects 

(All Institutions) 

A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the 

requirement of §9915.A.1 to describe the categories of 

nonpublic personal information the licensee collects. 

Sample Clause A-1: 
We collect nonpublic personal information about you from 

the following sources: 

• Information we receive from you on applications or other 

forms; 

• Information about your transactions with us, our affiliates 

or others; and 

• Information we receive from a consumer reporting agency. 

A-2–Categories of Information a Licensee Discloses 

(Institutions that Disclose Outside of the Exceptions) 

A licensee may use one of these clauses, as applicable, to 

meet the requirement of §9915.A.2 to describe the categories 

of nonpublic personal information the licensee discloses. 

The licensee may use these clauses if it discloses nonpublic 

personal information other than as permitted by the 

exceptions in §§9929, 9931 and 9933. 

Sample Clause A-2, Alternative 1: 

We may disclose the following kinds of nonpublic 

personal information about you: 

• Information we receive from you on applications or other 

forms, such as (provide illustrative examples, such as 

"your name, address, Social Security number, assets, 

income, and beneficiaries"); 

• Information about your transactions with us, our affiliates 

or others, such as (provide illustrative examples, such as 

"your policy coverage, premiums, and payment history"); 

and 

• Information we receive from a consumer reporting agency, 

such as (provide illustrative examples, such as "your 

creditworthiness and credit history"). 

Sample Clause A-2, Alternative 2: 

We may disclose all of the information that we collect, as 

described (describe location in the notice, such as “above” or 

"below"). 

A-3–Categories of Information a Licensee Discloses 

and Parties to whom the Licensee Discloses  

(Institutions that Do Not Disclose  

Outside of the Exceptions) 

A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the 

requirements of §9915.A.2, 3, and 4 to describe the 

categories of nonpublic personal information about 

customers and former customers that the licensee discloses 

and the categories of affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties 

to whom the licensee discloses. A licensee may use this 

clause if the licensee does not disclose nonpublic personal 

information to any party, other than as permitted by the 

exceptions in §§9931 and 9933. 

Sample Clause A-3: 

We do not disclose any nonpublic personal information 

about our customers or former customers to anyone, except 

as permitted by law. 

A-4–Categories of Parties to whom a Licensee Discloses 

(Institutions that Disclose outside of the Exceptions) 

A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the 

requirement of §9915.A.3 to describe the categories of 

affiliates and nonaffiliated third parties to whom the licensee 

discloses nonpublic personal information. This clause may 

be used if the licensee discloses nonpublic personal 

information other than as permitted by the exceptions in 

§§9929, 9931 and 9933, as well as when permitted by the 

exceptions in §§9931 and 9933. 

Sample Clause A-4: 

We may disclose nonpublic personal information about 

you to the following types of third parties: 

• Financial service providers, such as (provide illustrative 

examples, such as "life insurers, automobile insurers, 

mortgage bankers, securities broker-dealers, and insurance 

agents"); 

• Non-financial companies, such as (provide illustrative 

examples, such as "retailers, direct marketers, airlines, and 

publishers"); and 

• Others, such as (provide illustrative examples, such as 

"non-profit organizations"). 

We may also disclose nonpublic personal information 

about you to nonaffiliated third parties as permitted by law. 

A-5–Service Provider/Joint Marketing Exception 

A licensee may use one of these clauses, as applicable, to 

meet the requirements of §9915.A.5 related to the exception 

for service providers and joint marketers in §9929. If a 

licensee discloses nonpublic personal information under this 

exception, the licensee shall describe the categories of 

nonpublic personal information the licensee discloses and 

the categories of third parties with which the licensee has 

contracted. 

Sample Clause A-5, Alternative 1: 

We may disclose the following information to companies 

that perform marketing services on our behalf or to other 

financial institutions with which we have joint marketing 

agreements: 
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• Information we receive from you on applications or other 

forms, such as (provide illustrative examples, such as 

"your name, address, Social Security number, assets, 

income, and beneficiaries"); 

• Information about your transactions with us, our affiliates 

or others, such as (provide illustrative examples, such as 

"your policy coverage, premium, and payment history"); 

and 

• Information we receive from a consumer reporting agency, 

such as (provide illustrative examples, such as "your 

creditworthiness and credit history"). 

Sample Clause A-5, Alternative 2: 

We may disclose all of the information we collect, as 

described (describe location in the notice, such as "above" or 

"below") to companies that perform marketing services on 

our behalf or to other financial institutions with whom we 

have joint marketing agreements. 

A-6–Explanation of Opt Out Right  

(Institutions that Disclose outside of the Exceptions) 

A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the 

requirement of §9915A.6 to provide an explanation of the 

consumer's right to opt out of the disclosure of nonpublic 

personal information to nonaffiliated third parties, including 

the method(s) by which the consumer may exercise that 

right. The licensee may use this clause if the licensee 

discloses nonpublic personal information other than as 

permitted by the exceptions in §§9929, 9931 and 9933. 

Sample Clause A-6: 

If you prefer that we not disclose nonpublic personal 

information about you to nonaffiliated third parties, you may 

opt out of those disclosures, that is, you may direct us not to 

make those disclosures (other than disclosures permitted by 

law). If you wish to opt out of disclosures to nonaffiliated 

third parties, you may [describe a reasonable means of 

opting out, such as "call the following toll-free number: 

(insert number)"]. 

A-7–Confidentiality and Security (All Institutions) 

A licensee may use this clause, as applicable, to meet the 

requirement of §9915.A.8 to describe its policies and 

practices with respect to protecting the confidentiality and 

security of nonpublic personal information. 

Sample Clause A-7: 

We restrict access to nonpublic personal information about 

you to (provide an appropriate description, such as "those 

employees who need to know that information to provide 

products or services to you"). We maintain physical, 

electronic, and procedural safeguards that comply with 

federal regulations to guard your nonpublic personal 

information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 3 

and Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public Law 106-102-Nov. 12, 1999. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:560 (April 2001). 

Chapter 101. Regulation 78―Policy 

Form Filing Requirements 

§10101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to provide for the uniform and practicable 

administration of the form filing, review and approval 

requirements of the Louisiana Insurance Code; 

2. to clarify the provisions of R.S. 22:861(B); 

3. to protect the interests of insurance consumers and 

the public through improvements to the form filing, review 

and approval processes; and 

4. to assist all insurers doing business in the state of 

Louisiana in complying with the form filing, review and 

approval requirements of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S.22:861, R.S. 22:862 and R.S 22:974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2539 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:101 (January 2007), LR 42:1940 

(November 2016). 

§10103. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 22:11. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and Directive 169. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2539 (December 

2002), amended LR 42:1940 (November 2016). 

§10105. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation applies to all insurers doing business 

in the state of Louisiana subject to the form filing, review 

and approval provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S. 22:861, R.S. 22:862 and R.S. 22:974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2539 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:101 (January 2007), LR 42:1940 

(November 2016). 

§10107. Filing and Review of Health Insurance Policy 

Forms and Related Matters 

A. Definitions. As used in this Section, the following 

terms shall have the meaning or definition as indicated 

herein. 

Affirmative Approvaldepartment approval, as a result 

of the department taking action, following compliance 

review of a complete filing, or a filing pursuant to 

Subsection D hereof. 

Associationan organization legally formed for 

purposes other than the procurement of insurance and, 

depending upon the particular insurance products in 

question, meeting the requirements of R.S. 22:1000 

A(1)(a)(iv), or R.S. 22:1061(5)(b), or R.S. 22:1184(4), 

whichever is applicable. 

Benchmark Plana basic insurance policy form 
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establishing the essential health benefits required of every 

plan sold in Louisiana under the Patient Protection and 

Affordable Care Act (Pub. L. 111-148), as amended by the 

Health Care and Education and Reconciliation Act of 2010 

(Pub. L. 111-152), together referred to as the Affordable 

Care Act.  

Basic Insurance Policy Forman insurance contractual 

agreement delineating the terms, provisions and conditions 

of a particular insurance product. It includes certificates of 

coverage and any other evidence of coverage, subscriber 

agreements, application forms where written application is 

required and is to be attached to the policy or be a part of the 

contract, and any life or health and accident rider or 

endorsement form. It does not include policies, riders, or 

endorsements designed, at the request of the individual 

policyholder, contract holder, or certificate holder, to 

delineate insurance coverage upon a particular subject or 

which relate to the manner of distribution of benefits or to 

the reservation of rights and benefits under such policy. 

Certification of Compliancecertification by an 

insurer, executed by an officer or authorized representative 

of the insurer on a form prescribed by the department, that 

upon knowledge and belief a filing is complete and in 

compliance with all applicable statutes, and rules and 

regulations promulgated by the department. A certification 

of compliance must be included with any filing for certified 

approval. 

Certified Approvalapproval on the basis of an 

expedited review by the department of a complete filing 

based upon the inclusion of a statement of compliance and a 

certification of compliance, executed by an officer or 

authorized representative of the filing insurer on a form 

prescribed by the department. The department shall by 

directive determine those specific types of coverages and 

particular types of contracts for which the certified approval 

procedure is either required or available at the option of the 

insurer. 

Commissionerthe commissioner of insurance of the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Complete Filingthe filing of a single insurance 

product, including any required filing fees; a basic insurance 

policy form, application form and supplemental application 

form, if any, to be attached to the policy or be a part of the 

contract; any life or health and accident rider or endorsement 

forms; all items required under Subsection C hereof, 

"General Filing Requirements," and any other requirements 

as may be set forth in the applicable statement of 

compliance. 

Compliance Audita retrospective review conducted by 

the department of previously approved basic insurance 

policy forms to determine compliance with applicable law. 

Compliance Reviewdepartment review of a filing 

made pursuant to this Section to determine either that the 

filing is in compliance with all applicable statutes, rules and 

regulations, or that the filing should be disapproved for 

noncompliance. 

Deemed Approvalapproval of a complete filing based 

upon notice, as provided herein, made to the department by 

the filing insurer, following expiration of the specific time 

periods as provided herein, where affirmative approval has 

not been granted and the filing has not been disapproved by 

the department. 

Departmentthe Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Endorsementa written agreement attached to an 

insurance product to add or subtract coverage, or otherwise 

modify the product. 

Insurance Producta basic insurance policy form 

delineating the terms, provisions and conditions of a specific 

type of coverage under a particular type of contract. 

Insurerevery person engaged in the business of 

making contracts of insurance, as further defined in R.S. 

22:46(10). As used in this Section, insurer shall also include 

fraternal benefit societies and health maintenance 

organizations. 

Method of Marketingmarketing either through 

independent or captive agents; telephone, electronic mail or 

direct mail solicitation; groups, organizations, associations 

or trusts; and/or the internet. 

Optional Endorsement or Ridera form used to permit 

policyholders, certificate holders, or enrollees to obtain 

supplemental benefits.  

Required Filing Feethe fee assessed per product or 

filing pursuant to state insurance law. 

Rideran endorsement to an insurance product that 

modifies clauses and provisions of the product, including 

adding or excluding coverage. 

Statement of Compliancea form prescribed by the 

department, detailing the requirements specific to a 

particular form of coverage and contract type. 

Trusta fund established by an employer, two or more 

employers in the same industry, one or more labor unions, an 

association, multiple associations, or to a multiple employer 

trust established by an insurer on behalf of participating 

employers, pursuant to a trust instrument which transfers 

title to property and/or funds to one or more trustees to be 

administered as fiduciaries for the benefit of others, pursuant 

to R.S. 22:1000. All participating employers and employees 

must have the same statutory protections that would apply if 

such policy was purchased by the employer directly from the 

insurer. 

B. Filing Required 

1. Pursuant to R.S. 22:861(A), no basic insurance 

policy form, other than fidelity or surety bond forms, or 

application form where written application is required and is 

to be attached to the policy or be a part of the contract, or 

printed rider or endorsement form, shall be issued, delivered, 

or used in this state unless and until it has been filed with 

and approved by the commissioner. This requirement also 

applies to any group health or accident insurance policy 
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covering residents of Louisiana, regardless of where issued 

or delivered. Every page of each such form including rider 

and endorsement forms filed with the department must be 

identified by a form number in the lower left corner of the 

page. 

2. A filing description must accompany every filing, 

describing the items included in the filing, the insurance 

product type for which the filing is being made, and the 

method of marketing to be used for the product. For non-

electronic paper filings, this description must be satisfied by 

the submission of a completed transmittal document.  

C. General Filing Requirements  

1. The department shall designate, by directive, those 

insurance products which must be filed pursuant to the 

requirements for certified approval as set forth in Subsection 

F hereof, “Time Periods and Requirements for Certified 

Approval of Policy Form Filings.” A directive issued 

pursuant to this Subsection may also designate those 

insurance products which may, at the discretion of the 

insurer, be filed either pursuant to said requirements for 

certified approval, or as ordinary filings subject to review as 

set forth in Subsection E hereof. All insurance products not 

so designated shall be filed pursuant to the requirements for 

compliance review as set forth in Subsection E hereof, 

"Time Periods and Requirements for Compliance Review of 

Basic Insurance Policy Forms." 

2. Other than as specified in Subsection D hereof, 

“Exceptions,” only complete filings will be accepted, 

whether by mail or as otherwise authorized. In order for the 

department to conduct a proper compliance review or 

compliance audit of an insurance product, all items 

associated therewith must be included. A filing will be 

determined incomplete and will be disapproved if it does not 

contain all applicable items. 

a. All filings of an insurance product must include, 

in final wording, the following items: 

 i. required filing fee, per insurance product, per 

insurance company; 

 ii. statement of compliance for said product; 

 iii. policy forms filed for approval; 

 iv. application form; 

 v. rider or endorsement forms; 

 vi. copies of any sample identification card 

intended for issue to covered persons;  

 vii. initial premium rates, classification of risks, 

and actuarial memoranda; and 

 viii. self-addressed, stamped envelope of sufficient 

size for use in returning the company's set of the policy 

forms filed, unless filed electronically.  

b. Filings of policy forms for one or more 

standardized Medicare supplement insurance plans, or one 

or more standardized Medicare select insurance plans, shall 

be considered a filing of one insurance product per insurer. 

Such filings must include, in final wording, the following 

items: 

 i. required filing fee, per insurance product, per 

insurance company; 

 ii. required filing fee for premium rates, rating 

schedule and supporting documentation; and required filing 

fee for advertisements; 

 iii. statement of compliance for said product; 

 iv. policy forms filed for approval; 

 v. outline of coverage; 

 vi. application form; 

 vii. replacement notice; 

 viii. rider or endorsement forms; 

 ix. proposed plan of operation, as set forth in 

Regulation 33, Section 525.E for Medicare select insurance 

plans; 

 x. premium rates, rating schedule, and supporting 

documentation; 

 xi. any new related advertising as defined in rule 

3A, Section 105, including any required filing fee for said 

advertising. 

c. Filings of policy forms for long-term care 

insurance must include, in final wording, the following 

items: 

 i. required filing fee, per insurance product, per 

insurance company; 

 ii. statement of compliance for said product; 

 iii. policy forms filed for approval; 

 iv. outline of coverage; 

 v. application form; 

 vi. replacement notice; 

 vii. rider or endorsement forms; 

 viii. premium rates and classification of risks; 

 ix. personal worksheet, as per Regulation 46, 

Appendix B;  

 x. disclosure, as per Regulation 46, Appendix C; 

 xi. suitability letter, as per Regulation 46, 

Appendix D;  

 xii. any new related advertising as defined in rule 

3, Section 1305; and  

 xiii. if not filed electronically, a stamped, self-

addressed envelope of sufficient size for use in returning the 

company's set of the policy forms filed. 

d. Filings of all group insurance products must 

include the group master contract, individual certificates or 

subscriber agreements or other statements of coverage, 
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group application, individual enrollment forms, and any 

conversion insurance policy and application for conversion, 

if offered under the group master contract. 

e. Filings of group health and accident products 

intended for issuance to an association are limited to 

associations as defined herein and must include the 

association's constitution, by-laws, membership application, 

membership agreement and brochure of membership 

benefits other than the insurance products offered. 

f. Filings of group health and accident products 

intended for issuance to a trust are limited to trusts 

established by one or more employers, trusts established by 

one or more labor unions, a trust established by an 

association, a multiple association trust established by an 

insurer on behalf of participating associations, or a multiple 

employer trust established by an insurer on behalf of 

participating employers, and must include the trust 

agreement, articles of incorporation or other instrument 

creating the trust, and member adoption agreement. If the 

trust was established by an association or a multiple 

association trust, the filing must include the information 

described in Subparagraph C.2.e hereof. 

g. When a new benchmark plan is selected for 

implementation in Louisiana pursuant to applicable federal 

regulations, a complete product filing is required of each 

health insurance issuer that offers health insurance plans that 

are required to provide the essential health benefits 

categories. 

h. Any insurer choosing to include variable material 

or information in any policy form must attempt to set forth 

the range of variable material or information in the policy 

form itself. Each section of a policy form that is variable 

must be identified as variable and shall be enclosed in square 

brackets. Whether the variable material or information be 

varying language, text, data, and/or ranges of values, the 

variable portion of the form filing must contain or describe 

in detail all the variations of material or information that 

could be placed in an insurance plan or policy form. The 

variable material or information must be described as clearly 

as possible and include all possible specific alternatives.  

i. If it is necessary to provide an explanation of or 

additional information regarding the range of variability 

contained in the form, then a separate Statement of 

Variability that complies with the following regarding form, 

content and submission must be submitted. the statement of 

variability must provide an explanation of all permissible 

variations of material or information that could be used in an 

insurance plan or policy form offered to policyholders or 

enrollees that is derived from the product filing. Whether the 

variable material or information be varying language, text, 

data, and/or ranges of values, the statement of variability 

must contain or describe in detail all the variations of 

material or information that could be placed in an insurance 

plan or policy form. The variable material or information 

must be described as clearly as possible and include all 

possible specific alternatives.  

j. Use of any material or information that does not 

reflect the variable material or information bracketed in the 

policy form and/or described in the statement of variability 

constitutes use of an unapproved policy form.  

k. After approval of a policy form containing 

variable material or information, an insurer may not submit 

an “informational filing” changing its variable material or 

information or the Statement of Variability as this constitutes 

changing a form without approval. Because the variable 

material or information and/or statement of variability alters 

the contents of the policy forms, changes to a statement of 

variability must be submitted as an amendatory filing and 

reviewed.  

l. Any insurer that uses variable material or 

information in its policy form and/or that uses a Statement of 

Variability must ensure the following. 

 i. The final form issued to the consumer will not 

contain variable material or information in brackets. 

 ii. Any variable material or information included 

in the policy forms or in the statement of variability will be 

effective only for policy forms issued or amended after the 

approval of such variable material or information. 

 iii. The use of variable material or information will 

be administered in a uniform and non-discriminatory manner 

and will not result in unfair discrimination. 

 iv. Only material or information included in the 

policy form or explained in the statement of variability will 

be allowed to be used on the referenced forms received by 

consumers. 

 v. Any changes to variable material or 

information in the product form filing must be submitted for 

approval prior to implementation. 

D. Exceptions. Exceptions to the requirements for a 

complete filing may be allowed at the discretion of the 

department, subject to the conditions stated herein, for the 

following policy forms. 

1. Application forms or enrollment forms to be used 

with a particular insurance product, or with multiple 

insurance products, provided that the policy form filings and 

dates approved are identified for each previously approved 

product with which the application form or enrollment form 

will henceforth be used, and the application form or 

enrollment form is included with any subsequently filed 

basic insurance policy forms as needed to constitute a 

complete filing. No filing fees will be required for these 

filings. 

2. Identification Cards. No filing fees will be required 

for these filings. 

3. Medicare Supplement Advertising. Such filings 

must include statutory filing fees. 

4. Long-Term Care Advertising. No filing fees will be 

required for these filings. 

5. Filings of amendatory riders, endorsements, or 

optional endorsements or riders are permitted where the 
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insurance product to be altered was originally certified or 

granted affirmative approval in SERFF.  

a. Such filings must include: 

 i. specimen copies of the pertinent previously 

approved or certified forms with the specific terms and 

provisions being amended, underlined in red or similarly 

emphasized; 

 ii. the state tracking number assigned by the 

department and/or the SERFF tracking number for each of 

the previously approved or certified forms;  

 iii. the date of approval of each previously 

approved or certified forms; 

 iv. the form number for each previously approved 

policy form to which the amendatory filing applies; 

 v. a statement of variability if the previously 

approved or certified forms contains variable material or 

information. The statement of variability shall include a 

clear description of the parameters or values of any variable 

material or information as required herein at Subparagraph 

C.2.h. 

b. Such filings must also include an affidavit, on a 

form prescribed by the department, affirming that the 

insurance product, if amended by rider or endorsement as 

requested, will be fully compliant with all pertinent statutes 

and regulations. Premium rates, classification of risks, and 

actuarial memoranda are not required with such filings. 

c. Such filings must include statutory filing fees in 

accordance with the most current fee schedule applicable to 

such filings, as set forth by the Louisiana Legislature. 

6. Filings of amendatory riders, endorsements, or 

optional endorsements or riders, as needed to bring into 

compliance with law any existing insurance products that 

have been previously certified or granted affirmative 

approval and are currently in force but are no longer being 

marketed, must include specimen copies of the previously 

approved or certified forms, the state tracking number 

assigned by the department and/or the SERFF tracking 

number for each of the previously approved or certified 

forms, the dates previously approved or certified, and the 

specific terms and provisions being amended, underlined in 

red or similarly emphasized. Premium rates, classification of 

risks, and actuarial memoranda are not required with such 

filings. The filing description shall advise that the previously 

approved or certified form is no longer being marketed. 

Such filings must include statutory filing fees for 

standardized plans in accordance with the most current fee 

schedule applicable to such filings, as set forth by the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

7. Medicare Supplement Rate Filings. Such filings 

must clearly indicate the percentage of increase in rates for 

each standardized plan and existing pre-standardized plan. 

Such filings must include statutory filing fees for 

standardized plans in accordance with the most current fee 

schedule applicable to such filings, as set forth by the 

Louisiana Legislature. 

8. Exclusionary riders pursuant to R.S. 22:1072(C); 

provided that the policy form filings, the state tracking 

numbers assigned by the department and/or the SERFF 

tracking numbers and dates approved are identified for each 

previously approved product with which the exclusionary 

rider form will henceforth be used. No filing fees will be 

required for these filings. The exclusionary rider form shall 

be included with any subsequently filed basic insurance 

policy forms as needed to constitute a complete filing.  

9. Assumption certificates, which must be filed with a 

copy of the assumption agreement, letter of domiciliary state 

approval, information fully identifying the block of business 

being assumed, the number of covered lives residing in the 

state of Louisiana to be affected by the assumption, and the 

effective date of the assumption. No filing fees will be 

required for these filings. 

10. Following approval of a complete filing of a 

Medicare supplement insurance product, subsequent filings 

by the same insurer of standardized plans of insurance of the 

same type do not require inclusion of associated forms such 

as the replacement notice or plan of operation, unless 

changes have been made or the plan of operation has 

changed. No filing fees will be required for any of the above 

associated forms. However, subsequent filings of an outline 

of coverage will require a filing fee in accordance with the 

most current fee schedule applicable to such filings, as set 

forth by the Louisiana Legislature. 

11. Following approval of a complete filing of a long-

term care insurance product, subsequent filings by the same 

insurer of other long-term care products do not require 

inclusion of associated forms such as the replacement notice, 

personal worksheet, disclosure notice and suitability letter, 

unless changes have been made. No filing fees will be 

required for any of the above associated forms. However, 

subsequent filings of an outline of coverage will require a 

filing fee in accordance with the most current fee schedule 

applicable to such filings, as set forth by the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

12. Forms for lines of insurance or insurance products 

specifically exempted pursuant to statute. 

13. Filings of riders or endorsements as needed to 

evidence that the requirements contained in title 22 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes are covered for Louisiana 

residents that are enrolled in a group plan offered by a 

policyholder located outside of Louisiana who has obtained 

such group coverage from a health and accident insurer 

subject to the jurisdiction of another state. Such filings must 

include specimen copies of the complete product forms, 

including any amendments, that are approved or certified for 

use by the other state, document(s) that evidence approval or 

certification of the complete product forms by the other 

state, and the date(s) of the other state’s approval or 

certification. The specimen copies of the complete product 

forms shall include premium rates, classification of risks, 

and actuarial memoranda. Such filings must include required 

filing fees for policy forms or subscriber agreements in 

accordance with the most current fee schedule applicable to 
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such filings, as set forth by the Louisiana Legislature.  

E. Time Periods and Requirements for Compliance 

Review of Basic Insurance Policy Forms 

1. The time periods stated in this Section do not begin 

until the date a complete filing, or a filing pursuant to 

Subsection D hereof, "Exceptions," is received by the 

department.  

2. If a filing is incomplete, notice of disapproval in 

accordance with R.S. 22:862(6) will be issued for failure to 

comply with the requirements of this regulation. 

3. A basic insurance policy form must be submitted to 

the department in accordance with the "general filing 

requirements" of this Section no less than 60 days in 

advance of planned issuance, delivery or use. 

4. If affirmatively approved by order of the 

commissioner prior to expiration of the 60-day period 

allowed for department review of a filing, the policy forms 

filed may be used on or after the date approved. 

5. If disapproved, the policy forms filed may not be 

used. 

6. At the expiration of 60 days, if no order has been 

issued affirmatively approving or disapproving a filing, the 

insurer shall submit written notice to the department if the 

filing has been deemed approved on a specific date, or 

advise when the filing is withdrawn from consideration. 

Such date specified by the insurer shall be on or after day 61, 

but not earlier than the 60-day expiration period. Such 

written notice shall be sent to the department within 30 days 

after the expiration of the 60-day period clearly stating the 

date deemed approved or withdrawn from consideration and 

the anticipated date to be used by the insurer (if different 

from the date deemed approved). Deemed approval shall not 

be effective until the insurer has so notified the 

commissioner, by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

7. The commissioner may send written notice prior to 

expiration of the initial 60-day period extending the time 

allowed for approval or disapproval by an additional 15 

days. 

a. If affirmatively approved by order of the 

commissioner prior to expiration of the 15-day extended 

period allowed for department review, the policy forms filed 

may be used on or after the date approved. 

b. At the expiration of the 15-day extended period, 

if no order has been issued affirmatively approving or 

disapproving the policy form filing, the insurer shall submit 

written notice to the department if the policy form filing has 

been deemed approved on a specific date, or advise when the 

policy form filing is withdrawn from consideration. Such 

date specified by the insurer shall be on or after day 61 

referred to in Paragraph E.6 or day 76, but not earlier than 

the 60-day expiration period. Such written notice shall be 

sent to the department within 30 days after the expiration of 

the 15-day extended period, clearly stating the date deemed 

approved or withdrawn from consideration and the 

anticipated date to be used by the insurer (if different from 

the date deemed approved). Deemed approval shall not be 

effective until the insurer has so notified the commissioner, 

by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

F. Time Periods and Requirements for Certified 

Approval of Policy Form Filings 

1. The department will make available statements of 

compliance setting forth the statutory and regulatory 

requirements specific to the various forms of coverage and 

contract types, as well as certification of compliance forms. 

2. A policy form filing submitted for certified 

approval must include the following documents: 

a. statement of compliance applicable to the form of 

coverage and contract type being submitted; 

b. signed and dated Certification of Compliance; 

c. all other items as set forth in Paragraph C.2 

hereof. 

3. If the filing is incomplete, notice of disapproval in 

accordance with R.S. 22:862(6) will be issued for failure to 

comply with the requirements of this regulation. 

4. At the expiration of 15 days from acknowledged 

receipt of a filing by the department, if no order has been 

issued affirming certified approval or disapproving the 

policy form filing, the insurer shall submit written notice to 

the department if the policy form filing has been deemed 

approved on a specific date, or advise when the policy form 

filing is withdrawn from consideration. Such date specified 

by the insurer shall be on or after day 16, but not earlier than 

the 15-day expiration period. Such written notice shall be 

sent to the department within 30 days after the expiration of 

the 15-day period clearly stating the date deemed approved 

or withdrawn from consideration and the anticipated date to 

be used by the insurer (if different from the date deemed 

approved). Deemed approval shall not be effective until the 

insurer has so notified the commissioner, by certified 

mail/return receipt requested. 

5. No insurer, through an officer or authorized 

representative, shall file a certification of compliance 

containing false attestations, or from which material facts or 

information have been omitted. In the event that the 

department subsequently learns that a certification of 

compliance contains any inaccuracies, false attestations, or 

material omissions, approval of the subject forms may be 

withdrawn, and the insurer may be subjected to the 

provisions of Subsection I hereof. 

G. Resubmission of Filings 

1. When submitting revised forms in response to an 

order of disapproval, or withdrawal of approval, whether 

issued pursuant to Subsection E, Subsection F or Subsection 

I hereof, the revised forms will constitute a new filing, must 

comply with all provisions of this Section for such a filing, 

and, in addition to the required filing fee, must include: 

a. an outline of the proposed revisions, referencing 

the specific sections and page numbers for each form being 

revised; 
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b. a restatement of the form with all necessary 

revisions, as set forth in the prior order of disapproval, 

underlined in red or similarly emphasized; and 

c. a copy of the prior order of disapproval, or 

withdrawal of approval, issued by the commissioner on the 

previous filing. 

2. When submitting revisions to previously approved 

forms, the revised forms will constitute a new filing, must be 

a complete filing as set forth in Subsection C hereof, 

"General Filing Requirements" and, in addition to the 

required filing fee, must include: 

a. a copy of the previously approved form; 

b. an outline of the proposed revisions, referencing 

the specific sections and page numbers for each previously 

approved form being revised; 

c. a restatement of the form, with all proposed 

revisions underlined in red or similarly emphasized; and 

d. a copy of the prior order of approval, issued by 

the commissioner on the previous filing. 

3. When a previously approved form has been 

rewritten, it must be assigned a unique form number, and 

such form must be filed as an original filing.  

H. Compliance and Audits 

1. Approval of a basic insurance policy form does not 

assure perpetual compliance. Following subsequent changes 

in applicable law, insurers shall revise and file updated 

insurance products, or amendatory riders or endorsements 

where appropriate, with the department for approval as 

required to maintain continuous compliance with the current 

requirements of law. This provision shall apply to all new 

business issued, or in-force business renewed, following any 

such subsequent changes in applicable law, or as otherwise 

expressed by the Louisiana Legislature. 

2. A retrospective review process is utilized to verify 

compliance of approved filings and to assure that all 

approved filings remain in compliance with currently 

applicable law. Compliance audits may be conducted by 

random selection, prompted by complaints filed with the 

department or requests for information made by the 

department, or performed during the course of examinations 

conducted by the department. 

3. Insurers shall notify the department in writing to 

advise when a previously approved basic insurance policy 

form will no longer be marketed in this state and is being 

permanently withdrawn from the market. Such notification 

shall also advise whether or not coverage issued in this state 

under the policy form remains in force and whether or not 

such existing business will continue to be renewed. The 

notification shall provide the policy form numbers being 

discontinued and dates originally approved by the 

department. 

I. Withdrawal of Approval and Corrective Action 

1. The department shall withdraw any affirmative 

approval of a filing previously granted, or withdraw any 

approval of a filing previously deemed approved by an 

insurer, if the department determines that any of the reasons 

for disapproval as stated in R.S. 22:862 apply to the filing in 

question. The notice of withdrawal of approval by the 

department shall state that such withdrawal of approval is 

effective 30 days after receipt of such notice by the affected 

insurer or immediately where there has been a violation of 

the Louisiana Insurance Code that results in irreparable 

injury, loss, or damage and injunctive relief is necessary. In 

the event injunctive relief is granted to the department, the 

insurer or its duly authorized representative shall be enjoined 

or restrained from engaging in any prohibitory activity set 

forth in the injunctive order or judgment rendered by a court 

of competent jurisdiction. 

a. Prior to withdrawing approval of a filing 

previously granted, the department will notify the affected 

insurer in writing of the alleged violation or irregularity. 

That insurer will then have 15 days to show that the disputed 

forms are in compliance with the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

If the affected insurer is unable to show compliance, the 

department will then proceed with issuing the notice of 

withdrawal of approval. 

b. The affected insurer may request a hearing on the 

withdrawal of approval, in accordance with the provisions of 

Subsection J of this Chapter. The request for hearing must be 

made to the Department of Insurance, pursuant to R.S. 

22:2191. 

c. Upon receipt by the department of a timely 

request for a hearing, the 30-day notice period precedent to 

withdrawal of approval being effective shall be suspended 

for the duration of the hearing process, and shall 

recommence upon the date of a ruling adverse to the insurer 

requesting the hearing, unless injunctive relief has been 

requested and granted to the department by a court of 

competent jurisdiction. Such suspension of the notice of 

withdrawal of approval shall be applicable to Paragraphs I.2, 

3, 4 and 5 hereof. 

2. Upon receipt of the notice of withdrawal of 

approval by the department, the affected insurer must: 

a. immediately amend its procedures to assure that 

all in-force business is properly administered in accordance 

with the findings stated in the department's withdrawal of 

approval; 

b. immediately review and ascertain any negative 

impact upon covered persons caused directly or indirectly by 

non-compliant provisions of the forms for which department 

approval has been withdrawn; and 

c. immediately review other products being 

marketed by the insurer to assure that they do not contain 

such non-compliant provisions. 

3. Within 30 days of receipt of the notice of 

withdrawal of approval by the department, a corrective 

action plan must be submitted to the department by the 

affected insurer. The corrective action plan must include the 

following. 
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a. If the affected product will no longer be 

marketed, amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms to 

affect any in-force business written utilizing the non-

compliant forms, correcting all areas of non-compliance as 

stated in the withdrawal of approval by the department; and 

a prototype of the notice to be utilized in notifying any 

affected policyholders of the changes to their existing 

coverage. 

b. If the insurer desires to continue marketing the 

affected product, both: 

 i. a complete filing of properly revised forms in 

accordance with Paragraph G.1 hereof; and 

 ii. amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms 

to affect any in-force business written utilizing the non-

compliant forms, correcting all areas of non-compliance as 

stated in the withdrawal of approval by the department; and 

a prototype of the notice to be utilized in notifying any 

affected policyholders of the changes to their existing 

coverage. 

c. Where such a required change can be clearly 

explained to prospective policyholders through amendatory 

endorsement forms or rider forms, such approval shall not 

extend to any reprinting of such forms. 

4. Thirty days following receipt of the notice by the 

affected insurer, of withdrawal of approval by the 

department, an affected product shall not be issued by the 

insurer, except in accordance with a corrective action plan 

approved by the department. The insurer has the obligation 

to timely notify its marketing force, or to otherwise adjust its 

business operations, accordingly. In the event the affected 

insurer issues the product without approval from the 

department, and injunctive relief is necessary and granted to 

the department, the insurer or its duly authorized 

representative shall be enjoined or restrained from engaging 

in any prohibitory activity set forth in the injunctive order or 

judgment rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

5. The department may, in its discretion, extend the 

30-day period for approval of a corrective action plan, upon 

the written request of the affected insurer and for good cause 

shown. In the event such an extension is granted, the date by 

which the insurer must cease issuing the affected product, 

except in accordance with a corrective action plan approved 

by the department, shall likewise be so extended. 

6. Failure to timely respond as required herein shall 

result in a formal investigation to establish the extent of 

statutory violations, followed by an administrative hearing to 

determine appropriate sanctions against the insurer. 

7. Where the department fails to respond to a 

corrective action plan filed by an insurer, or takes no action 

whatsoever regarding such plan, the insurer may deem the 

subject corrective action plan approved at the expiration of 

the 30-day period for approval by the department. 

J. Appeals and Hearings  

1. Any person aggrieved by a failure to approve any 

filing, or the disapproval of any filing, or the withdrawal of 

approval of any filing, or any related action taken by the 

department pursuant to this Section, may request an 

administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of 

Chapter 12 of title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

Pursuant to R.S. 22:2191, any demand must be in writing, 

must specify in what respects the person is aggrieved and the 

grounds upon which relief should be granted at the hearing, 

and must be made within 30 days after the failure to approve 

any filing, notice of disapproval of any filing, or the notice 

of withdrawal of approval of any filing when such notice is 

mailed to the aggrieved party at his last known address or 

delivered to the aggrieved party.  

K. Maintenance of Records; Alteration of Forms 

Prohibited 

1. Every person filing policy forms, or related forms, 

for approval by the department shall maintain the original set 

of any and all forms as returned by the department, along 

with all related correspondence and transmittal documents 

from the department. Alternatively, images of such 

documents may be maintained in electronic/digital form. 

Such files shall be available for inspection by the department 

upon request, and must be maintained for a period of five 

years after the forms have been withdrawn from the market 

in accordance with Paragraph H.3 hereof and no coverage 

issued on risks in this state utilizing such forms remains in 

force. 

2. The alteration of, or any change to, any such form 

approved by the department is prohibited. Any such altered 

or changed form shall be submitted to the department as a 

new filing, and shall comply with all provisions of this 

Section applicable to a new filing. This Subsection shall not 

apply to typographical corrections and format improvements 

that do not affect the terms, provisions or clarity of the 

product. 

3. A change of company name or logo, a change of 

address, and changes in listed officers do not require a new 

filing of forms when the department is otherwise properly 

notified of such change, and a copy of such notification is 

maintained on file by the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S. 22:861, R.S. 22:862 and R.S. 22:974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2539 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:101 (January 2007), LR 42:1940 

(November 2016), LR 44:2210 (December 2018), effective January 

1, 2019. 

§10109. Filing and Review of Life and Annuity Insurance 

Policy Forms and Related Matters 

A. Definitions. As used in this Section, the following 

terms shall have the meaning or definition as indicated 

herein. 

Affirmative Approvaldepartment approval, as a result 

of the department taking action, following compliance 

review of a complete filing, or a filing pursuant to 

Subsection D hereof. 

Amendatory Endorsement―a written agreement 
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attached to or stamped on an insurance product to add or 

subtract coverage, or otherwise modify the product. 

Amendatory Rider―a written document that is attached 

to an insurance product that adds to or changes information 

in the original document. 

Association―an organization which has been formed 

for purposes other than procuring insurance for the members 

or employees. 

Basic Insurance Policy Form―an insurance contractual 

agreement delineating the terms, provisions and conditions 

of a particular insurance or annuity product. It includes 

certificates of coverage, application forms where written 

application is required and is to be attached to the policy or 

be a part of the contract, and any life or health and accident 

rider or endorsement form. It does not include policies, 

riders, or endorsements designed, at the request of the 

individual policyholder, contract holder, or certificate holder, 

to delineate insurance coverage upon a particular subject or 

which relate to the manner of distribution of benefits or to 

the reservation of rights and benefits under such policy. 

Certification of Compliance―certification by an 

insurer, executed by an officer or authorized representative 

of the insurer on a form prescribed by the department, that 

upon knowledge and belief a filing is complete and in 

compliance with all applicable statutes, and rules and 

regulations promulgated by the department. A certification 

of compliance must be included with any filing for certified 

approval. 

Certified Approval―approval on the basis of an 

expedited review by the department of a complete filing 

based upon the inclusion of a statement of compliance and a 

certification of compliance, executed by an officer or 

authorized representative of the filing insurer on forms 

prescribed by the department. The department shall by 

directive determine those specific types of coverage and 

particular types of contracts for which the certified approval 

procedure is either required or available at the option of the 

insurer. 

Commissioner―the commissioner of insurance of the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Complete Filing―the filing of a single insurance 

product, including any required filing fees; a basic insurance 

policy form, application form and supplemental application 

form, if any, to be attached to the policy or be a part of the 

contract; any life or health and accident rider or endorsement 

forms; all items required under Subsection C hereof, 

"General Filing Requirements," and any other requirements 

as may be set forth in the applicable statement of 

compliance. 

Compliance Audit―a retrospective review conducted by 

the department of previously approved basic insurance 

policy forms to determine compliance with applicable law. 

Compliance Review―department review of a filing 

made pursuant to this Section to determine either that the 

filing is in compliance with all applicable statutes, rules and 

regulations, or that the filing should be disapproved for 

noncompliance. 

Deemed Approval―approval of a complete filing based 

upon notice, as provided herein, made to the department by 

the filing insurer, following expiration of the specific time 

periods as provided herein, where affirmative approval has 

not been granted and the filing has not been disapproved by 

the department. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Endorsement―a written agreement attached to an 

insurance product to add or subtract coverage, or otherwise 

modify the product. 

Insurance Product―a basic insurance policy form 

delineating the terms, provisions and conditions of a specific 

type of coverage under a particular type of contract. 

Insurer―every person engaged in the business of 

making contracts of insurance, as further defined in R.S. 

22:46(10). As used in this Section, insurer shall also include 

fraternal benefit societies. 

Method of Marketing―marketing either through 

independent or captive agents; telephone, electronic mail or 

direct mail solicitation; groups, organizations, associations 

or trusts; and/or the internet. 

Optional Endorsement or Ridera form used to permits 

policyholders, certificate holders, or enrollees to obtain 

supplemental benefits.  

Required Filing Fee―the fee assessed per product or 

filing pursuant to R.S. 22:821(11)(a). 

Rider―an endorsement to an insurance product that 

modifies clauses and provisions of the product, including 

adding or excluding coverage. 

Statement of Compliance―a form prescribed by the 

department detailing the requirements specific to a particular 

form of coverage and contract type. 

Trust―a fund established by an insurer on behalf of 

participating employers, provided all participating 

employers and employees have the same statutory 

protections that would apply if such policy were purchased 

by the employer directly from the insurer, pursuant to R.S. 

22:941(A)(1).  

B. Filing Required 

1. Pursuant to R.S. 22:861(A), no basic insurance 

policy form, other than fidelity or surety bond forms, or 

application form where written application is required and is 

to be attached to the policy or be a part of the contract, or 

printed rider or endorsement form, shall be issued, delivered, 

or used in this state unless and until it has been filed with 

and approved by the commissioner. This requirement applies 

to any group life insurance policy or annuity covering 

residents of Louisiana where issued or delivered in 

Louisiana. Every page of each such form including rider and 

endorsement forms filed with the department must be 

identified by a form number in the lower left corner of the 
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page. 

2. A filing description must accompany every filing, 

describing the items included in the filing, the insurance or 

annuity product for which the filing is being made, and the 

method of marketing to be used for the product. For non-

electronic paper filings, this description must be satisfied by 

the submission of a completed life and annuity transmittal 

document. If the filing includes health insurance to be 

offered as an optional benefit under the base life insurance 

contract, the appropriate statement of compliance for said 

health insurance product must be completed and submitted.  

C. General Filing Requirements  

1. The department shall designate, by directive, those 

insurance or annuity products which must be filed pursuant 

to the requirements for certified approval as set forth in 

Subsection F hereof, "Time Periods and Requirements for 

Certified Approval of Policy Form Filings." A directive 

issued pursuant to this Subsection may also designate those 

insurance or annuity products which may, at the discretion of 

the insurer, be filed either pursuant to said requirements for 

certified approval, or as ordinary filings subject to review as 

set forth in Subsection E hereof. All insurance or annuity 

products not so designated shall be filed pursuant to the 

requirements for compliance review as set forth in 

Subsection E hereof, "Time Periods and Requirements for 

Compliance Review of Basic Insurance Policy Forms." 

2. Other than as specified in Subsection D hereof, 

"Exceptions," only complete filings will be accepted, 

whether by mail or as otherwise authorized. In order for the 

department to conduct a proper compliance review or 

compliance audit of an insurance or annuity product, all 

items associated therewith must be included. A filing will be 

determined incomplete and will be disapproved if it does not 

contain all applicable items. 

a. All filings of individual life insurance or annuity 

products must include, in final wording, the following items: 

 i. required filing fee, per insurance or annuity 

product, per company; 

 ii. statement of compliance for said product; 

 iii. policy forms filed for approval; 

 iv. application form; 

 v. rider or endorsement forms; 

 vi. actuarial memorandum describing the statutory 

reserves and non-forfeiture values that will be used for each 

plan of insurance; and 

 vii. life illustrations, if illustrated. 

 viii. self-addressed, stamped envelope of sufficient 

size for use in returning the company’s set of policy forms 

filed, unless filed electronically. 

b. Filings of all group life and annuity products 

must include, in final wording, the following: 

 i. required filing fee, per insurance or annuity 

product, per insurance company; 

 ii. statement of compliance for said product; 

 iii. group master contract; 

 iv. individual certificate; 

 v. group application; 

 vi. rider or endorsement forms; 

 vii. employee/member enrollment forms; and 

 viii. an actuarial memorandum describing the 

statutory reserves and non-forfeiture values that will be used 

for each plan of insurance. 

 ix. self-addressed, stamped envelope of sufficient 

size for use in returning the company’s set of policy forms 

filed, unless filed electronically. 

c. Filings of group life and annuity products 

intended for issuance to an association are limited to 

associations as defined herein, and must include the 

association's constitution, by-laws, membership application, 

membership agreement and brochure of membership 

benefits other than the insurance products offered. 

d. Filings of group life and annuity products 

intended for issuance to a trust are limited to trusts 

established by an insurer on behalf of a participating 

employer or association and must include the trust 

agreement, articles of incorporation or other instrument 

creating the trust, and member adoption agreement. If the 

trust was established by an association, the filing must 

include the information described in Subparagraph C.2.c 

hereof. This Subsection shall not apply to trusts established 

by qualified or government pension plans. 

e. Any insurer choosing to include variable material 

or information in any policy form must attempt to set forth 

the range of variable material or information in the policy 

form itself. Each section of a policy form that is variable 

must be identified as variable and should be enclosed in 

square brackets. Whether the variable material or 

information be varying language, text, data, and/or ranges of 

values, the variable portion of the form filing must contain 

or describe in detail all the variations of material or 

information that could be placed in an insurance plan or 

policy form. The variable material or information must be 

described as clearly as possible and include all specific 

alternatives where possible.  

f. If it is necessary to provide an explanation of or 

additional information regarding the range of variability 

contained in the form, then a separate statement of 

variability that complies with the following regarding form, 

content and submission must be submitted. The statement of 

variability must provide an explanation of all permissible 

variations of material or information that could be used in an 

insurance plan or policy form offered to policyholders or 

enrollees that is derived from the product filing. Whether the 

variable material or information be varying language, text, 

data, and/or ranges of values, the statement of variability 

must contain or describe in detail all the variations of 
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material or information that could be placed in an insurance 

plan or policy form. The variable material or information 

must be described as clearly as possible and include all 

specific alternatives where possible.  

g. Use of any material or information that does not 

reflect the variable material or information bracketed in the 

policy form and/or described in the statement of variability 

constitutes use of an unapproved policy form.  

h. After approval of a policy form containing 

variable material or information, an insurer may not submit 

an “informational filing” changing its variable material or 

information or the statement of variability as this constitutes 

changing a form without approval. Because the variable 

material or information and/or statement of variability alters 

the contents of the policy forms, changes to a statement of 

variability must be submitted as an amendatory filing and 

reviewed.  

i. Any insurer that uses variable material or 

information in its policy form and/or that uses a statement of 

variability must ensure the following: 

 i. The final form issued to the consumer will not 

contain variable material or information in brackets. 

 ii. Any variable material or information included 

in the policy forms or in the statement of variability will be 

effective only for policy forms issued or amended after the 

approval of such variable material or information. 

 iii. The use of variable material or information will 

be administered in a uniform and non-discriminatory manner 

and will not result in unfair discrimination. 

 iv. Only material or information included in the 

policy form or explained in the statement of variability will 

be allowed to be used on the referenced forms received by 

consumers. 

 v. Any changes to variable material or 

information in the product form filing will be submitted for 

approval prior to implementation. 

D. Exceptions. Exceptions to the requirements for a 

complete filing may be allowed at the discretion of the 

department, subject to the conditions stated herein, for the 

following policy forms. 

1. Application forms or enrollment forms to be used 

with a particular insurance or annuity product, or with 

multiple insurance or annuity products, provided that the 

policy form filings and dates approved are identified for 

each previously approved product with which the application 

form or enrollment form will henceforth be used and, the 

application form or enrollment form is included with any 

subsequently filed basic insurance or annuity policy forms as 

needed to constitute a complete filing. No filings fees will be 

required for these filings. 

2. Assumption certificates, which must be filed in 

duplicate, with a single copy of the assumption agreement, 

letter of domiciliary state approval, information fully 

identifying the block of business being assumed, the number 

of covered lives residing in the state of Louisiana to be 

affected by the assumption, and the effective date of the 

assumption. No filing fees will be required for these filings. 

3. Filings of riders, amendatory riders, endorsements, 

and revisions to schedule pages are permitted where the 

insurance product to be altered was originally certified or 

granted affirmative approval in SERFF. 

a. Such filings must include: 

 i. specimen copies of the pertinent previously 

approved or certified forms with the specific terms and 

provisions being amended, underlined in red or similarly 

emphasized; 

 ii. the state tracking number assigned by the 

department and/or SERFF tracking number for each of the 

pertinent previously approved or certified forms; 

 iii. where necessary, a statement of variability, that 

shall include a clear description of the parameters or values 

of any variable material or information; 

 iv. the date of approval; and 

 v. the form number for each previously approved 

policy form for which the amendment applies. 

b. Such filings must also include an affidavit, on a 

form prescribed by the department, affirming that the 

insurance product, if amended by rider or endorsement as 

requested, will be fully compliant with all pertinent statutes 

and regulations. Actuarial memorandums are not required 

with such filings. 

c. Such filings must include statutory filing fees in 

accordance with the most current fee schedule applicable to 

such filings, as set forth by the Louisiana Legislature.  

4. Filings of amendatory riders or endorsements as 

needed to bring into compliance with law any existing 

insurance or annuity products that have been previously 

approved and are currently in force but are no longer being 

marketed. 

a. Such filings must include: 

 i. specimen copies of the previously approved 

forms; 

 ii. the state tracking number assigned by the 

department and/or the SERFF tracking number for each of 

the pertinent previously approved or certified forms and the 

dates previously approved;  

 iii. the specific terms and provisions being 

amended, underlined in red or otherwise noted; 

 iv.  where necessary, a statement of variability that 

shall include a clear description of the parameters or values 

of any variable material or information;  

 v.  the filing description shall advise that the 

previously approved form is no longer being marketed; and; 

 vi.  the filings must include statutory filing fees in 

accordance with the most current fee schedule applicable to 
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such filings, as set forth by the Louisiana Legislature. 

5. Filings of optional rider forms or optional 

endorsement forms affecting previously approved or 

certified life insurance or annuity products must include: 

a. the state tracking number assigned by the 

department and/or the SERFF tracking number for each 

previously approved or certified forms with which the rider 

forms or endorsement forms will be used; 

b. where necessary, a statement of variability that 

shall include a clear description of the parameters or values 

of any variable material or information;  

c. the statutory filing fees in accordance with the 

most current fee schedule applicable to such filings, as set 

forth by the Louisiana Legislature.  

6. Forms for lines of insurance or insurance products 

specifically exempted pursuant to statute. 

E. Time Periods and Requirements for Compliance 

Review of Basic Insurance Policy Forms 

1. The time periods stated in this Section do not begin 

until the date a complete filing, or a filing pursuant to 

Subsection D hereof, "Exceptions," is received by the 

department. 

2. If a filing is incomplete, notice of disapproval in 

accordance with R.S. 22:862(6) will be issued for failure to 

comply with the requirements of this regulation. 

3. A basic insurance policy form must be submitted to 

the department in accordance with the general filing 

requirements of this Section no less than 45 days in advance 

of planned issuance, delivery or use. 

4. If affirmatively approved by order of the 

commissioner prior to expiration of the 45-day period 

allowed for department review of a filing, the policy forms 

filed may be used on or after the date approved. 

5. If disapproved, the policy forms filed may not be 

used.  

6. At the expiration of 45 days, if no order has been 

issued affirmatively approving or disapproving a filing, the 

insurer shall submit written notice to the department if the 

filing has been deemed approved on a specific date, or 

advise when the filing is withdrawn from consideration. 

Such date specified by the insurer shall be on or after day 46, 

but no earlier than the 45-day expiration period. Such 

written notice shall be sent to the department within 30 days 

after the expiration of the 45-day period clearly stating the 

date deemed approved or withdrawn from consideration and 

the anticipated date to be used by the insurer (if different 

from the date deemed approved). Deemed approval shall not 

be effective until the insurer has so notified the 

commissioner, by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

7. The commissioner may send written notice prior to 

expiration of the initial 45-day period extending the time 

allowed for approval or disapproval by an additional 15 

days. 

a. If affirmatively approved by order of the 

commissioner prior to expiration of the 15-day extended 

period allowed for department review, the policy forms filed 

may be used on or after the date approved. 

b. At the expiration of the 15-day extended period, 

if no order has been issued affirmatively approving or 

disapproving the policy form filing, the insurer shall submit 

written notice to the department if the policy form filing has 

been deemed approved on a specific date, or advise when the 

policy form filing is withdrawn from consideration. Such 

date specified by the insurer shall be on or after day 46 

referred to in Paragraph E.6 or day 61 but no earlier than the 

45-day expiration period. Such written notice shall be sent to 

the department within 30 days after the expiration of the 15-

day extended period, clearly stating the date deemed 

approved or withdrawn from consideration and the 

anticipated date to be used by the insurer (if different from 

the date deemed approved). Deemed approval shall not be 

effective until the insurer has so notified the commissioner, 

by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

F. Time Periods and Requirements for Certified 

Approval of Policy Form Filings 

1. The department will make available statements of 

compliance setting forth the statutory and regulatory 

requirements specific to the various forms of coverage and 

contract types, as well as certification of compliance forms. 

2. A policy form filing submitted for certified 

approval must include the following documents: 

a. statement of compliance applicable to the form of 

coverage and contract type being submitted; 

b. signed and dated certification of compliance; 

c. all other items as set forth in Paragraph C.2 

hereof. 

3. If the filing is incomplete, notice of disapproval in 

accordance with R.S. 22:862(6) will be issued for failure to 

comply with the requirements of this regulation. 

4. At the expiration of 15 days from acknowledged 

receipt of a filing by the department, if no order has been 

issued affirming certified approval or disapproving the 

policy form filing, the insurer shall submit written notice to 

the department if the policy form filing has been deemed 

approved on a specific date, or advise when the policy form 

filing is withdrawn from consideration. Such date specified 

by the insurer shall be on or after day 16, but no earlier than 

the 15-day expiration period. Such written notice shall be 

sent to the department within 30 days after the expiration of 

the 15-day period clearly stating the date deemed approved 

or withdrawn from consideration and the anticipated date to 

be used by the insurer (if different from the date deemed 

approved). Deemed approval shall not be effective until the 

insurer has so notified the commissioner, by certified 

mail/return receipt requested. 

5. No insurer, through an officer or authorized 

representative, shall file a certification of compliance 

containing false attestations, or from which material facts or 
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information have been omitted. In the event that the 

department subsequently learns that a certification of 

compliance contains any inaccuracies, false attestations, or 

material omissions, approval of the subject forms may be 

withdrawn, and the insurer may be subjected to the 

provisions of Subsection I hereof. 

G. Resubmission of Filings 

1. When submitting revised forms in response to an 

order of disapproval, or withdrawal of approval, whether 

issued pursuant to Subsection E, Subsection F or Subsection 

I hereof, the revised forms will constitute a new filing, must 

be a complete filing as set forth in Subsection C hereof, 

"General Filing Requirements" and, in addition to the 

required filing fee, must include: 

a. an outline of the proposed revisions, referencing 

the specific sections and page numbers for each form being 

revised; 

b. a restatement of the form with all necessary 

revisions, as set forth in the prior order of disapproval, 

underlined in red or similarly emphasized; and 

c. a copy of the prior order of disapproval, or 

withdrawal of approval, issued by the commissioner on the 

previous filing. 

2. When submitting revisions to previously approved 

forms, the revised forms will constitute a new filing, must be 

a complete filing as set forth in Subsection C hereof, 

"General Filing Requirements" and, in addition to the 

required filing fee, must include: 

a. a copy of the previously approved form; 

b. an outline of the proposed revisions, referencing 

the specific sections and page numbers for each previously 

approved form being revised; 

c. a restatement of the form, with all proposed 

revisions underlined in red or similarly emphasized; and 

d. a copy of the prior order of approval, issued by 

the commissioner on the previous filing. 

3. When a previously approved form has been 

rewritten, it must be assigned a unique form number, and 

such form must be filed as an original filing. 

H. Compliance and Audits 

1. Approval of a basic insurance policy form does not 

assure perpetual compliance. Following subsequent changes 

in applicable law, insurers shall revise and file updated 

insurance products, or amendatory riders or endorsements 

where appropriate, with the department for approval as 

required to maintain continuous compliance with the current 

requirements of law. This provision shall apply to all new 

business issued, or in-force business renewed, following any 

such subsequent changes in applicable law, or as otherwise 

expressed by the Louisiana Legislature. 

2. A retrospective review process is utilized to verify 

compliance of approved filings and to assure that all 

approved filings remain in compliance with currently 

applicable law. Compliance audits may be conducted by 

random selection, prompted by complaints filed with the 

department or requests for information made by the 

department, or performed during the course of examinations 

conducted by the department. 

3. Insurers shall notify the department in writing to 

advise when a previously approved basic insurance policy 

form will no longer be marketed in this state and is being 

permanently withdrawn from the market. Such notification 

shall also advise whether or not coverage issued in this state 

under the policy form remains in force and whether or not 

such existing business will continue to be renewed. The 

notification shall provide the policy form numbers being 

discontinued and dates originally approved by this 

department. 

I. Withdrawal of Approval and Corrective Action 

1. The department shall withdraw any affirmative 

approval of a filing previously granted, or withdraw any 

approval of a filing previously deemed approved by an 

insurer, if the department determines that any of the reasons 

for disapproval as stated in R.S. 22:862 apply to the filing in 

question. The notice of withdrawal of approval by the 

department shall state that such withdrawal of approval is 

effective 30 days after receipt of such notice by the affected 

insurer or immediately where there has been a violation of 

the Louisiana Insurance Code that results in irreparable 

injury, loss, or damage and injunctive relief is necessary. In 

the event injunctive relief is granted to the department, the 

insurer or its duly authorized representative shall be enjoined 

or restrained from engaging in any prohibitory activity set 

forth in the injunctive order or judgment rendered by a court 

of competent jurisdiction. 

a. Prior to withdrawing approval of a filing 

previously granted, the department will notify the affected 

insurer in writing of the alleged violation or irregularity. 

That insurer will then have 15 days to show that the disputed 

forms are in compliance with the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

If the affected insurer is unable to show compliance, the 

department will then proceed with issuing the notice of 

withdrawal of approval. 

b. The affected insurer may request a hearing on the 

withdrawal of approval, in accordance with the provisions of 

Subsection J of this Chapter. The request for hearing must be 

made to the Department of Insurance, pursuant to R.S. 

22:2191. 

c. Upon receipt by the department of a timely 

request for a hearing, the 30-day notice period precedent to 

withdrawal of approval being effective shall be suspended 

for the duration of the hearing process, and shall 

recommence upon the date of a ruling adverse to the insurer 

requesting the hearing, unless injunctive relief has been 

requested and granted to the department by a court of 

competent jurisdiction. Such suspension of the notice of 

withdrawal of approval shall be applicable to Paragraphs I.2, 

3, 4 and 5 hereof. 
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2. Upon receipt of the notice of withdrawal of 

approval by the department, the affected insurer must: 

a. immediately amend its procedures to assure that 

all in-force business is properly administered in accordance 

with the findings stated in the department's withdrawal of 

approval; 

b. immediately review and ascertain any negative 

impact upon covered persons caused directly or indirectly by 

non-compliant provisions of the forms for which department 

approval has been withdrawn; and 

c. immediately review other products being 

marketed by the insurer to assure that they do not contain 

such non-compliant provisions. 

3. Within 30 days of receipt of the notice of 

withdrawal of approval by the department, a corrective 

action plan must be submitted to the department by the 

affected insurer. The corrective action plan must include the 

following. 

a. If the affected product will no longer be 

marketed, amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms to 

affect any in-force business written utilizing the non-

compliant forms, correcting all areas of non-compliance as 

stated in the withdrawal of approval by the department; and 

a prototype of the notice to be utilized in notifying any 

affected policyholders of the changes to their existing 

coverage. 

b. If the insurer desires to continue marketing the 

affected product, both: 

 i. a complete filing of properly revised forms in 

accordance with Paragraph G.1 hereof; and 

 ii. amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms 

to affect any in-force business written utilizing the non-

compliant forms, correcting all areas of non-compliance as 

stated in the withdrawal of approval by the department; and 

a prototype of the notice to be utilized in notifying any 

affected policyholders of the changes to their existing 

coverage. 

c. Where such a required change can be clearly 

explained to prospective policyholders through amendatory 

endorsement forms or rider forms, an insurer may request 

department approval to utilize its existing inventory of the 

policy forms in question subject to the incorporation of 

approved amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms. 

Such approval shall not extend to any reprinting of such 

forms. 

4. Thirty days following receipt of the notice by the 

affected insurer, of withdrawal of approval by the 

department, an affected product shall not be issued by the 

insurer, except in accordance with a corrective action plan 

approved by the department. The insurer has the obligation 

to timely notify its marketing force, or to otherwise adjust its 

business operations, accordingly. In the event the affected 

insurer issues the product without approval from the 

department, and injunctive relief is necessary and granted to 

the department, the insurer or its duly authorized 

representative shall be enjoined or restrained from engaging 

in any prohibitory activity set forth in the injunctive order or 

judgment rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

5. The department may, in its discretion, extend the 

30-day period for approval of a corrective action plan, upon 

the written request of the affected insurer and for good cause 

shown. In the event such an extension is granted, the date by 

which the insurer must cease issuing the affected product, 

except in accordance with a corrective action plan approved 

by the department, shall likewise be so extended. 

6. Failure to timely respond as required herein shall 

result in a formal investigation to establish the extent of 

statutory violations, followed by an administrative hearing to 

determine appropriate sanctions against the insurer. 

7. Where the department fails to respond to a 

corrective action plan filed by an insurer, or takes no action 

whatsoever regarding such plan, the insurer may deem the 

subject corrective action plan approved at the expiration of 

the 30-day period for approval by the department. 

J. Appeals and Hearings  

1. Any person aggrieved by a failure to approve any 

filing, or the disapproval of any filing, or the withdrawal of 

approval of any filing, or any related action taken by the 

department pursuant to this Section, may request an 

administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of 

Chapter 12 of title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

Pursuant to R.S. 22:2191, any demand must be in writing, 

must specify in what respects the person is aggrieved and the 

grounds upon which relief should be granted at the hearing, 

and must be made within 30 days after the failure to approve 

any filing, notice of disapproval of any filing, or the notice 

of withdrawal of approval of any filing when such notice is 

mailed to the aggrieved party at his last known address or 

delivered to the aggrieved party.   

K. Maintenance of Records; Alteration of Forms 

Prohibited 

1. Every person filing policy forms, or related forms, 

for approval by the department shall maintain the original set 

of any and all forms as returned by the department, along 

with all related correspondence and transmittal documents 

from the department. Alternatively, images of such 

documents may be maintained in electronic/digital form. 

Such files shall be available for inspection by the department 

upon request, and must be maintained for a period of five 

years after the forms have been withdrawn from the market 

in accordance with Paragraph H.3 hereof and no coverage 

issued on risks in this state utilizing such forms remains in 

force. 

2. The alteration of, or any change to, any such form 

approved by the department is prohibited. Any such altered 

or changed form shall be submitted to the department as a 

new filing, and shall comply with all provisions of this 

Section applicable to a new filing. This Subsection shall not 

apply to typographical corrections and format improvements 

that do not affect the terms, provisions or clarity of the 

product. 
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3. A change of company name or logo, a change of 

address, and changes in listed officers do not require a new 

filing of forms when the department is otherwise properly 

notified of such change, and a copy of such notification is 

maintained on file by the insurer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S.22:861 and R.S. 22:862. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2544 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:105 (January 2007), LR 42:1947 

(November 2016), amended LR 44:2210 (December 2018), 

effective January 1, 2019. 

§10113. Filing and Review of Property and Casualty 

Insurance Policy Forms and Related Matters 

A. Definitions. As used in this Section, the following 

terms shall have the meaning or definition as indicated 

herein. 

Affirmative Approval―department approval, as a result 

of the department taking action, following compliance 

review of a complete filing, or a filing pursuant to 

Subsection D hereof. 

Basic Insurance Policy Form―an insurance contractual 

agreement delineating the terms, provisions and conditions 

of a particular insurance product. It includes endorsements, 

and application forms where written application is required 

and is to be attached to the policy or be a part of the contract. 

It does not include policies, riders, or endorsements 

designed, at the request of the individual policyholder, 

contract holder, or certificate holder, to delineate insurance 

coverage upon a particular subject or which relate to the 

manner of distribution of benefits or to the reservation of 

rights and benefits under such policy. 

Certification of Compliance―certification by an 

insurer, executed by an officer or authorized representative 

of the insurer on a form prescribed by the department, that 

upon knowledge and belief a filing is complete and in 

compliance with all applicable statutes, and rules and 

regulations promulgated by the department. A certification 

of compliance must be included with any filing for certified 

approval. 

Certified Approval―approval on the basis of an 

expedited review by the department of a complete filing 

based upon the inclusion of a statement of compliance and a 

certification of compliance, executed by an officer or 

authorized representative of the filing insurer on forms 

prescribed by the department. The department shall by 

directive determine those specific types of coverage and 

particular types of contracts for which the certified approval 

procedure is either required or available at the option of the 

insurer. 

Commissioner―the commissioner of insurance of the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Complete Filing―the filing of a single insurance 

product, including any required filing fees; a basic insurance 

policy form, application form to be attached to the policy or 

be a part of the contract; all items required under Subsection 

C hereof, "General Filing Requirements," and any other 

requirements as may be set forth in the applicable statement 

of compliance. 

Compliance Audit―a retrospective review conducted by 

the department of previously approved basic insurance 

policy forms to determine compliance with applicable law. 

Compliance Review―department review of a filing 

made pursuant to this Section to determine either that the 

filing is in compliance with all applicable statutes, rules and 

regulations, or that the filing should be disapproved for 

noncompliance. 

Deemed Approval―approval of a complete filing based 

upon notice, as provided herein, made to the department by 

the filing insurer, following expiration of the specific time 

periods as provided herein, where affirmative approval has 

not been granted and the filing has not been disapproved by 

the department. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Endorsement―a written agreement attached to an 

insurance product to add or subtract coverage, or otherwise 

modify the product. 

Filing Organization―an entity authorized by the 

Commissioner to act as an advisory or rating organization on 

behalf of its members and subscribers. 

Insurance Product―a basic insurance policy form 

delineating the terms, provisions and conditions of a specific 

type of coverage under a particular type of contract, or a 

basic insurance policy form which combines more than one 

line of business within one policy form at a single premium. 

Insurer―every person engaged in the business of 

making contracts of insurance, as further defined in R.S. 

22:46(10). 

Method of Marketing―marketing either through 

independent or captive agents; telephone, electronic mail or 

direct mail solicitation; groups, organizations, associations 

or trusts; and/or the Internet. 

Rate/Rule Approval―a department notice addressed to 

an insurer granting authorization to implement or revise 

rates and/or rules on a specified date. 

Required Filing Fee―the fee assessed per product or 

filing pursuant to state insurance law. 

Rider―an endorsement to an insurance product that 

modifies clauses and provisions of the product, including 

adding or excluding coverage. 

Statement of Compliance―a form prescribed by the 

department detailing the requirements specific to a particular 

form of coverage and contract type. 

B. Filing Required 

1. Pursuant to R.S. 22:861(A), no basic insurance 

policy form, other than fidelity or surety bond forms, or 

application form where written application is required and is 

to be attached to the policy or be a part of the contract, or 
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printed rider or endorsement form, shall be issued, delivered, 

or used in this state unless and until it has been filed with 

and approved by the commissioner. Every page of each such 

form including rider and endorsement forms filed with the 

department must be identified by a form number in the lower 

left corner of the page. 

2. A filing description must accompany every filing, 

describing the items included in the filing, the insurance 

product for which the filing is being made, and the method 

of marketing to be used for the product For non-electronic 

paper filings, this description must be satisfied by the 

submission of a completed transmittal document. 

C. General Filing Requirements 

1. The department shall designate, by directive, those 

insurance products which must be filed pursuant to the 

requirements for certified approval as set forth in Subsection 

F hereof, "Time Periods and Requirements for Certified 

Approval of Policy Form Filings," and those insurance 

products which may, at the discretion of the insurer, be filed 

pursuant to said requirements. All insurance products not so 

designated shall be filed pursuant to the requirements for 

compliance review as set forth in Subsection E hereof, 

"Time Periods and Requirements for Compliance Review of 

Policy Form Filings." Filing organizations are excepted from 

the mandatory provisions relative to certified approval and 

may, at their option, make filings pursuant to Subsection E 

hereof. 

2. Only complete filings will be accepted, whether by 

mail or as otherwise authorized. In order for the department 

to conduct a proper compliance review or compliance audit 

of an insurance product, all items associated therewith must 

be included. A filing of a basic insurance policy form will be 

determined incomplete and will be disapproved if it does not 

contain all applicable items. 

a. All filings of an insurance product must include, 

in final wording, the following items, in order: 

 i. required filing fee, per product, per insurance 

company; or required filing fee per endorsement filing; per 

insurance company;  

 ii. forms filed for approval; 

 iii. statement of compliance for said product; 

 iv. explanation of any rate/rule impact, with a 

copy of any rate/rule approval letters issued by the 

department; if none, so state; 

 v. duplicate set of the policy forms filing, as filed 

for approval, unless filed electronically; 

 vi. self-addressed, stamped envelope of sufficient 

size for use in returning the company's set of the policy 

forms filed, unless filed electronically. 

b. Any insurer choosing to include variable 

provisions in any policy form must set forth prospective 

options of the proposed variable text in the submitted policy 

form. Each section of a policy form that is variable must be 

identified as variable and should be enclosed in brackets. 

The variable text or provisions must be described as clearly 

as possible and include all specific possible alternatives. 

c. If it is necessary to provide an explanation of or 

any additional information regarding the range of variability 

contained in the form, then a separate statement of 

variability must be submitted. A statement of variability 

must provide an explanation of all permissible variations of 

text or provision that could be used in a policy form offered 

to policyholders or certificate holders. A statement of 

variability must also describe in detail all variations of text 

or provisions that could be placed in a policy form. The 

variable text or language must be described as clearly as 

possible and include all specific possible alternatives. 

d. Use of any text or language that does not reflect 

the variable text or provision submitted and approved by the 

department constitutes use of an unapproved policy form. 

Any changes to a statement of variability must be submitted 

to the department as a new filing along with the policy 

form(s) being amended. 

3. An insurer may elect to adopt forms submitted by a 

filing organization, or have a filing organization file forms 

on its behalf. An insurer may request an effective date later 

than the effective date of the filing by the filing organization. 

Such adoptions, whether delayed or not, must be requested 

by letter. The Forms and Compliance Division staff of the 

department will verify that the insurer is a member or 

subscriber of the filing organization, and that the forms 

being adopted have been approved by the department. 

a. Adoptions, including delayed adoptions, are filed 

for informational purposes only, but the request will be 

denied if the forms proposed for adoption are not approved 

by the department. To receive an acknowledgement of filing, 

the insurer's request must contain the following items, in 

order: 

 i. required filing fee, per adoption of each 

advisory organization's reference or item filing, per 

insurance company whether or not delayed; 

 ii. reference to the filing organization's 

designation/item number; 

 iii. line of business; 

 iv. name of the program; and 

 v. stamped, self-addressed envelope of sufficient 

size for use in returning the insurer's cover letter bearing the 

department's stamp of acknowledgement, or disapproval of 

an adoption, unless filed electronically. 

b. An insurer may elect to non-adopt forms 

submitted by a filing organization. Non-adoptions are filed 

for informational purposes only, and must be submitted by 

the insurer. To receive an acknowledgement of the 

informational letter, it must contain the following items, in 

order: 

 i. reference to the filing organization's 

identification/code number; 

 ii. line of business; 
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 iii. name of the program; and 

 iv. stamped, self-addressed envelope of sufficient 

size for use in returning the insurer's cover letter bearing the 

department's stamp of acknowledgement. 

D. Exceptions. Exceptions to the requirements for a 

complete filing may be allowed at the discretion of the 

department, subject to the conditions stated herein, for the 

following policy forms: 

1. informational filings, submitted for 

acknowledgement, for fidelity and surety bond forms as 

exempted by R.S. 22:861 A(1), and ocean marine and 

foreign trade insurances as exempted by R.S. 22:851(A). No 

filing fees will be required for these filings.  

2. filings for certain commercial lines, exempted 

pursuant to the commercial deregulation laws set by 

Regulation 72; 

3. application forms or enrollment forms to be used 

with a particular insurance product, or with multiple 

insurance products, provided that the policy form filings and 

dates approved are identified for each previously approved 

product with which the application form will henceforth be 

used, and the application form is included with any 

subsequently filed basic insurance policy forms as needed to 

constitute a complete filing. No filing fees will be required 

for these filings; 

4. forms for lines of insurance or insurance products 

specifically exempted pursuant to statute. 

5. riders or endorsements. Filings of amendatory 

riders or endorsements are permitted where the insurance 

product to be altered was originally certified or granted 

affirmative approval. 

a. Such filings must include either: 

 i. specimen copies of the pertinent previously 

approved or certified forms, the dates previously approved 

or certified, and the specific terms and provisions being 

amended, underlined in red or similarly emphasized; or 

 ii. a detailed list that includes: 

(a). the department's form filing number; 

(b). date of approval; and 

(c). the form number for each previously 

approved policy form for which the amendment applies. 

b. The rider or endorsement forms shall be included 

with any subsequently filed basic insurance policy forms as 

needed to constitute a complete filing. 

c. Such filings must include statutory filing fees in 

accordance with the most current fee schedule applicable to 

such filings, as set forth by the Louisiana Legislature. 

E. Time Periods and Requirements for Compliance 

Review of Policy Form Filings 

1. The time periods stated in this Section do not begin 

until the date a complete filing, or a filing pursuant to 

Subsection D hereof, "Exceptions," is received by the 

department.  

2. If a filing is incomplete, notice of disapproval in 

accordance with R.S. 22:862(6) will be issued for failure to 

comply with the requirements of this regulation. 

3. A basic insurance policy form must be submitted to 

the department in accordance with the "General Filing 

Requirements" of this Section no less than 45 days in 

advance of planned issuance, delivery or use. 

4. If affirmatively approved by order of the 

commissioner prior to expiration of the 45-day period 

allowed for department review of a filing, the policy forms 

filed may be used on or after the date approved. 

5. If disapproved, the policy forms filed may not be 

used. 

6. At the expiration of 45 days, if no order has been 

issued affirmatively approving or disapproving a filing, the 

insurer shall submit written notice to the department if the 

filing has been deemed approved on a specific date, or 

advise when the filing is withdrawn from consideration. 

Such date specified by the insurer shall be on or after day 46, 

but not earlier than the 45-day expiration period. Such 

written notice shall be sent to the department within 30 days 

after the expiration of the 45-day period clearly stating the 

date deemed approved or withdrawn from consideration and 

the anticipated date to be used by the insurer (if different 

from the date deemed approved). Deemed approval shall not 

be effective until the insurer has so notified the 

commissioner, by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

7. The commissioner may send written notice prior to 

expiration of the initial 45-day period extending the time 

allowed for approval or disapproval by an additional 15 

days. 

a. If affirmatively approved by order of the 

commissioner prior to expiration of the 15-day extended 

period allowed for department review, the policy forms filed 

may be used on or after the date approved. 

b. At the expiration of the 15-day extended period, 

if no order has been issued affirmatively approving or 

disapproving the policy form filing, the insurer shall submit 

written notice to the department if the policy form filing has 

been deemed approved on a specific date or, advise when the 

policy form filing is withdrawn from consideration. Such 

date specified by the insurer shall be on or after day 46 

referred to in Paragraph E.6 or day 61, but not earlier than 

the 45 day expiration period. Such written notice shall be 

sent to the department within 30 days after the expiration of 

the 15-day extended period, clearly stating the date deemed 

approved or withdrawn from consideration and the 

anticipated date to be used by the insurer (if different from 

the date deemed approved. Deemed approval shall not be 

effective until the insurer has so notified the commissioner, 

by certified mail/return receipt requested. 

F. Time Periods and Requirements for Certified 

Approval of Policy Form Filings 
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1. The department will make available statements of 

compliance setting forth the statutory and regulatory 

requirements specific to the various forms of coverage and 

contract types, as well as certification of compliance forms: 

2. A policy form filing submitted for certified 

approval must include the following documents: 

a. statement of compliance applicable to the form of 

coverage and contract type being submitted; 

b. signed and dated certification of compliance; 

c. all other items as set forth in Paragraph C.2 

hereof. 

3. If the filing is incomplete, notice of disapproval in 

accordance with R.S. 22:862(6) will be issued for failure to 

comply with the requirements of this regulation. 

4. At the expiration of 15 days from acknowledged 

receipt of a filing by the department, if no order has been 

issued affirming certified approval or disapproving the 

policy form filing, the insurer shall submit written notice to 

the department if the policy form filing has been deemed 

approved on a specific date, or advise when the policy form 

filing is withdrawn from consideration. Such date specified 

by the insurer shall be on or after day 16, but no earlier than 

the 15-day expiration period. Such written notice shall be 

sent to the department within 30 days after the expiration of 

the 15-day period clearly stating the date deemed approved 

or withdrawn from consideration and the anticipated date to 

be used by the insurer (if different from the date deemed 

approved). Deemed approval shall not be effective until the 

insurer has so notified the commissioner, by certified 

mail/return receipt requested. 

5. No insurer, through an officer or authorized 

representative, shall file a certification of compliance 

containing false attestations or from which material facts or 

information have been omitted. In the event that the 

department subsequently learns that a certification of 

compliance contains any inaccuracies, false attestations, or 

material omissions, approval of the subject forms may be 

withdrawn, and the insurer may be subjected to the 

provisions of Subsection I hereof. 

G. Resubmission of Filings 

1. When submitting revised forms in response to an 

order of disapproval, or withdrawal of approval, whether 

issued pursuant to Subsection E, Subsection F or Subsection 

I hereof, the revised forms will constitute a new filing, must 

comply with all provisions of this Section for such a filing, 

and, in addition to the required filing fee, must include: 

a. an outline of the proposed revisions, referencing 

the specific sections and page numbers for each form being 

revised; 

b. a restatement of the form with all necessary 

revisions, as set forth in the prior order of disapproval, 

underlined in red or similarly emphasized; and 

c. a copy of the prior order of disapproval, or 

withdrawal of approval, issued by the commissioner on the 

previous filing. 

2. When submitting revisions to previously approved 

forms, the revised forms will constitute a new filing, must be 

a complete filing as set forth in Subsection C hereof, 

"General Filing Requirements" and, in addition to the 

required filing fee, must include: 

a. a copy of the previously approved form; 

b. an outline of the proposed revisions, referencing 

the specific sections and page numbers for each previously 

approved form being revised; 

c. a restatement of the form, with all proposed 

revisions underlined in red or similarly emphasized; and 

d. a copy of the prior order of approval, issued by 

the commissioner on the previous filing. 

3. When a previously approved form has been 

rewritten, it must be assigned a unique form number, and 

such form must be filed as an original filing. 

H. Compliance and Audits 

1. Approval of a basic insurance policy form does not 

assure perpetual compliance. Following subsequent changes 

in applicable law, insurers shall revise and file updated 

insurance products, or amendatory riders or endorsements 

where appropriate, with the department for approval as 

required to maintain continuous compliance with the current 

requirements of law. This provision shall apply to all new 

business issued, or in-force business renewed, following any 

such subsequent changes in applicable law, or as otherwise 

expressed by the Louisiana Legislature. 

2. A retrospective review process is utilized to verify 

compliance of approved filings and to assure that all 

approved filings remain in compliance with currently 

applicable law. Compliance audits may be conducted by 

random selection, prompted by complaints filed with the 

department or requests for information made by the 

department, or performed during the course of examinations 

conducted by the department. 

3. Insurers shall notify the department in writing to 

advise when a previously approved basic insurance policy 

form will no longer be marketed in this state and is being 

permanently withdrawn from the market. Such notification 

shall be sent at a minimum 60 days prior to the market end 

date and shall also advise whether or not coverage issued in 

this state under the policy form remains in force and whether 

or not such existing business will continue to be renewed. 

The notification shall provide the policy form numbers being 

discontinued and dates originally approved by this 

department.  

I. Withdrawal of Approval and Corrective Action 

1. The department shall withdraw any affirmative 

approval of a filing previously granted, or withdraw any 

approval of a filing previously deemed approved by an 

insurer, if the department determines that any of the reasons 

for disapproval as stated in R.S. 22:862 apply to the filing in 

question. The notice of withdrawal of approval by the 
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department shall state that such withdrawal of approval is 

effective 30 days after receipt of such notice by the affected 

insurer or immediately where there has been a violation of 

the Louisiana Insurance Code that results in irreparable 

injury, loss, or damage and injunctive relief is necessary. In 

the event injunctive relief is granted to the department, the 

insurer or its duly authorized representative shall be enjoined 

or restrained from engaging in any prohibitory activity set 

forth in the injunctive order or judgment rendered by a court 

of competent jurisdiction. 

a. Prior to withdrawing approval of a filing 

previously granted, the department will notify the affected 

insurer in writing of the alleged violation or irregularity. 

That insurer will then have 15 days to show that the disputed 

forms are in compliance with the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

If the affected insurer is unable to show compliance, the 

department will then proceed with issuing the notice of 

withdrawal of approval. 

b. The affected insurer may request a hearing on the 

withdrawal of approval, in accordance with the provisions of 

Subsection J of this Chapter. The request for hearing must be 

made to the Department of Insurance, pursuant to R.S. 

22:2191. 

c. Upon receipt by the department of a timely 

request for a hearing, the 30-day notice period precedent to 

withdrawal of approval being effective shall be suspended 

for the duration of the hearing process, and shall 

recommence upon the date of a ruling adverse to the insurer 

requesting the hearing, unless injunctive relief has been 

requested and granted to the department by a court of 

competent jurisdiction. Such suspension of the notice of 

withdrawal of approval shall be applicable to Paragraphs I.2, 

3, 4, and 5 hereof. 

2. Upon receipt of the notice of withdrawal of 

approval by the department, the affected insurer must: 

a. immediately amend its procedures to assure that 

all in-force business is properly administered in accordance 

with the findings stated in the department's withdrawal of 

approval; 

b. immediately review and ascertain any negative 

impact upon covered persons caused directly or indirectly by 

non-compliant provisions of the forms for which department 

approval has been withdrawn; and 

c. immediately review other products being 

marketed by the insurer to assure that they do not contain 

such non-compliant provisions. 

3. Within 30 days of receipt of the notice of 

withdrawal of approval by the department, a corrective 

action plan must be submitted to the department by the 

affected insurer. The corrective action plan must include the 

following. 

a. If the affected product will no longer be 

marketed, amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms to 

affect any in-force business written utilizing the non-

compliant forms, correcting all areas of non-compliance as 

stated in the withdrawal of approval by the department; and 

a prototype of the notice to be utilized in notifying any 

affected policyholders of the changes to their existing 

coverage. 

b. If the insurer desires to continue marketing the 

affected product, both: 

 i. a complete filing of properly revised forms in 

accordance with Paragraph G.1 hereof; and 

 ii. amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms 

to affect any in-force business written utilizing the non-

compliant forms, correcting all areas of non-compliance as 

stated in the withdrawal of approval by the department; and 

a prototype of the notice to be utilized in notifying any 

affected policyholders of the changes to their existing 

coverage. 

c. Where such a required change can be clearly 

explained to prospective policyholders through amendatory 

endorsement forms or rider forms, an insurer may request 

department approval to utilize its existing inventory of the 

policy forms in question subject to the incorporation of 

approved amendatory endorsement forms or rider forms. 

Such approval shall not extend to any reprinting of such 

forms. 

4. Thirty days following receipt of the notice by the 

affected insurer, of withdrawal of approval by the 

department, an affected product shall not be issued by the 

insurer, except in accordance with a corrective action plan 

approved by the department. The insurer has the obligation 

to timely notify its marketing force, or to otherwise adjust its 

business operations, accordingly. In the event the affected 

insurer issues the product without approval from the 

department, and injunctive relief is necessary and granted to 

the department, the insurer or its duly authorized 

representative shall be enjoined or restrained from engaging 

in any prohibitory activity set forth in the injunctive order or 

judgment rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

5. The department may, in its discretion, extend the 

30-day period for approval of a corrective action plan, upon 

the written request of the affected insurer and for good cause 

shown. In the event such an extension is granted, the date by 

which the insurer must cease issuing the affected product, 

except in accordance with a corrective action plan approved 

by the department, shall likewise be so extended. 

6. Failure to timely respond as required herein shall 

result in a formal investigation to establish the extent of 

statutory violations, followed by an administrative hearing to 

determine appropriate sanctions against the insurer. 

7. Where the department fails to respond to a 

corrective action plan filed by an insurer, or takes no action 

whatsoever regarding such plan, the insurer may deem the 

subject corrective action plan approved at the expiration of 

the 30-day period for approval by the department. 

J. Appeals and Hearings 

1. Any person aggrieved by a failure to approve any 

filing, or the disapproval of any filing, or the withdrawal of 
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approval of any filing, or any related action taken by the 

department pursuant to this Section, may request an 

administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of 

Chapter 12 of title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

Pursuant to R.S. 22:2191, any demand must be in writing, 

must specify in what respects the person is aggrieved and the 

grounds upon which relief should be granted at the hearing, 

and must be made within 30 days after the failure to approve 

any filing, notice of disapproval of any filing, or the notice 

of withdrawal of approval of any filing when such notice is 

mailed to the aggrieved party at his last known address or 

delivered to the aggrieved party.   

K. Maintenance of Records; Alteration of Forms 

Prohibited 

1. Every person filing policy forms, or related forms, 

for approval by the department shall maintain the original set 

of any and all forms as returned by the department, along 

with all related correspondence and transmittal documents 

from the department. Alternatively, images of such 

documents may be maintained in electronic/digital form. 

Such files shall be available for inspection by the department 

upon request, and must be maintained for a period of five 

years after the forms have been withdrawn from the market 

in accordance with Paragraph H.3 hereof, and no coverage 

issued on risks in this state utilizing such forms remains in 

force. 

2. The alteration of, or any change to, any such form 

approved by the department is prohibited. Any such altered 

or changed form shall be submitted to the department as a 

new filing, and shall comply with all provisions of this 

Section applicable to a new filing. This Subsection shall not 

apply to typographical corrections and format improvements 

that do not affect the terms, provisions or clarity of the 

product. 

3. A change of company name or logo, a change of 

address, and changes in listed officers do not require a new 

filing of forms when the department is otherwise properly 

notified of such change, and a copy of such notification is 

maintained on file by the insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S. 22:861 and R.S. 22:862. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2548 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:108 (January 2007), LR 42:1952 

(November 2016), amended LR 44:2211 (December 2018), 

effective January 1, 2019. 

§10115. Penalties 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:44, "False or Fraudulent Material 

Information," in accordance with all provisions thereof, and 

specifically applicable to all documents required by this 

regulation. 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to intentionally 

and knowingly supply false or fraudulent material 

information pertaining to any document or statement 

required by the department. 

2. Whoever violates the provisions of this Section 

shall be imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more 

than five years, or fined not more than $5,000, or both. 

B. Pursuant to R.S. 22:1964(12), in accordance with all 

provisions thereof, any violation of a prohibitory provision 

of this regulation shall constitute an unfair trade practice, 

and, after proper notice and hearing as specified by statute, 

may subject the insurer and its officer(s) or representative(s) 

to: 

1. The provisions of R.S. 22:1969, including: 

a. payment of a monetary penalty of not more than 

$1,000 for each and every act or violation, but not to exceed 

an aggregate penalty of $100,000 unless the person knew or 

reasonably should have known he was in violation of 

applicable law, in which case the penalty shall be not more 

than $25,000 for each and every act or violation, but not to 

exceed an aggregate penalty of $250,000 in any six-month 

period; and 

b. suspension or revocation of the license of the 

person if he knew or reasonably should have known he was 

in violation of applicable law. 

2. The provisions of R.S. 22:1970, including: 

a. a monetary penalty of not more than $25,000 for 

each and every act or violation, not to exceed an aggregate 

of $250,000; and 

b. suspension or revocation of such person's license 

or certificate of authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S. 22:861, R.S. 22:862 and R.S. 22:974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2552 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:110 (January 2007), LR 42:1957 

(November 2016). 

§10117. Severability 

A. If any provision of this regulation, or its application to 

any person or circumstance, is held invalid, such 

determination shall not affect other provisions or 

applications of this regulation which can be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application, and to that end, 

the provisions of this regulation are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S. 22:861, R.S. 22:862 and R.S. 22:974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2552 (December 

2002), amended LR 33:111 (January 2007), LR 42:1957 

(November 2016). 

§10119. Effective Date  

[Formerly Section 10117] 

A. This regulation became effective January 1, 2003; 

however, the amendments to this regulation will become 

effective January 1, 2019. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, Directive 169, R.S. 22:861, R.S. 22:862 and R.S. 22:974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 28:2552 (December 
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2002), amended LR 33:111 (January 2007), LR 42:1957 

(November 2016), LR 44:2211 (December 2018). 

Chapter 103. Regulation 79―Limited 

Licensing for Motor Vehicle Rental 

Companies 

§10301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to implement the qualifications and procedures for 

licensing motor vehicle rental or leasing companies to sell or 

offer insurance in conjunction with the rental of a vehicle; 

2. to govern the transactions of selling travel or 

automobile related products or coverage in conjunction with 

and incidental to the rental of vehicles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:932 (April 2005). 

§10303. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this regulation the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance. 

Department―the Department of Insurance. 

Detailed Plan of Operation or Plan―a comprehensive 

overview of the licensee's rental business pursuit in so far as 

it is regulated by the Department of Insurance. This 

information will supplement the restricted license 

application and will be on forms provided by the 

department. 

Limited Licensee―a person or entity authorized to sell 

certain coverage relating to the rental of vehicles pursuant to 

the provisions of Part XVII of Chapter 2 of Title 22 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Part―Part XVII of Chapter 2 of Title 22 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, comprised of R.S. 

22:2101 through 2112. 

Rental Agreement―any written agreement setting forth 

the terms and conditions governing the use of a vehicle 

provided by the rental company for rental or lease. 

Rental Company―any person or entity in the business 

of providing primarily private passenger vehicles to the 

public under a rental agreement for a period not to exceed 90 

days. 

Rental Period―the term of the rental agreement. 

Renter―any person or entity obtaining the use of a 

vehicle from a rental company under the terms of a rental 

agreement for a period not to exceed 90 days. 

Vehicle or Rental Vehicle―a motor vehicle of the 

private passenger type including passenger vans, minivans 

and sport utility vehicles, and of the cargo type including but 

not limited to cargo vans, pickup trucks and trucks with a 

gross vehicle weight of less than 26,000 pounds and which 

do not require the operator to possess a commercial driver's 

license. 

a. Pursuant to R.S. 32:408B, Classes of licenses, 

this provision includes as a "vehicle" or "rental vehicle" 

those motor vehicles which require the operator to possess a 

Class "D" Chauffeur's License. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:932 (April 2005). 

§10305. Issuance of Limited License―in General 

A. Prior to approval, an applicant for a limited license 

issued to a motor vehicle rental company or franchisee of a 

motor rental company shall at a minimum: 

1. submit an application on forms prescribed by the 

commissioner; 

2. pay the applicable fee required by this Part; 

3. provide a detailed plan of operation pursuant to 

§10307.B of this regulation; 

4. provide an insurance sales material disclosure 

pursuant to §10307.C of this regulation;  

5. provide a training program or syllabus and train all 

employees pursuant to §10307.D of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:932 (April 2005). 

§10307. Limited Licensing; Application, Supplements, 

Requirements  

A. Applicants for a rental company limited license shall 

apply to the Commissioner of Insurance on forms 

established by the commissioner. The application may 

request any information deemed necessary by the 

commissioner, including but not limited to the following: 

1. the applicant's corporate, firm, or other business 

entity name, the business address and telephone number of 

the principal place of business and the business address and 

telephone number of each additional location at which the 

applicant will transact business under the license; 

2. all assumed business names and other names under 

which the applicant will engage in business under the 

license; 

3. the names of the employees, its agents, members, 

partners, officers, directors and stockholders of the applicant 

personally engaged in this state in soliciting or negotiating 

insurance in conjunction with the rental of a vehicle;  

4. a declaration by the applicant that the applicant: 

a. is competent and trustworthy; 

b. intends to act in good faith; 
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c. has a good business reputation; 

d. has the appropriate experience, training or 

education that qualifies the applicant for the license applied 

for;  

e. has or will train all employees to be involved in 

the sale, offering, or negotiation of coverage prior to their 

conducting such activities with members of the public; 

5. the application shall be signed by an officer of the 

applicant. 

B. The application for this limited license shall be 

supplemented by a detailed plan of operation to be submitted 

on forms prescribed by the commissioner, which shall 

request information deemed necessary, including but not 

limited to: 

1. name of any appointing insurer(s), if applicable; 

2. the lines of business the applicant intends to write; 

including: 

a. personal accident insurance; 

b. liability; 

c. personal effects; 

d. roadside assistance; 

e. emergency sickness; or 

f. any other travel or auto related coverage in 

connection with or incidental to rental transaction; 

3. a list of all business locations within Louisiana 

from which business will be conducted under the license. 

C. The application for this limited license shall be 

supplemented with a copy of the licensee's proposed 

Insurance Sales Material Disclosure as required by the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, which at a minimum shall: 

1. be received by the department prior to its use and 

be subject to approval by the department; 

2. summarize clearly and correctly, the material terms 

of coverage offered to renters, including the identity of 

insurer(s), if applicable; 

3. disclose that policies offered by the rental company 

may provide a duplication of coverage already provided by a 

renter's personal automobile insurance policy, homeowner's 

insurance policy, personal liability insurance policy, or other 

source of coverage; 

4. state that purchasing the kinds of coverage 

specified in this Part is not required when renting a vehicle; 

5. describe the claims filing process.  

D. The application for this limited license shall be 

supplemented with a copy of the licensee's proposed training 

program or syllabus as required by the Louisiana Insurance 

Code. The training program required by this Part shall: 

1. be received by the department prior to its use and 

be subject to approval by the department; 

2. include basic instruction about the kinds of 

coverage offered under the license;  

3. include the following items: 

a. renters of vehicles are not required to purchase 

the coverage offered through the licensee as a condition of 

renting a vehicle; 

b. renters must be informed that coverage offered 

by the licensee may duplicate existing coverage of the renter 

and that the renter should consult with his or her insurance 

producer if the renter has any questions about existing 

coverage; 

c. the rental period of the rental agreement can not 

exceed 90 consecutive days; 

d. claims procedures; 

e. the identity of any insurance company providing 

coverage offered by the licensee; 

f. evidence of coverage in the rental agreement 

must be disclosed to every renter who elects to purchase 

such coverage; 

g. employees of the licensee are not authorized to 

evaluate a renter's existing coverage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:932 (April 2005). 

§10309. Renewals 

A. A limited license expires on the last day of the month 

in which the second anniversary of the initial issuance 

occurs. Thereafter, the limited license shall expire on the 

second anniversary following each renewal. 

B. Prior to expiration, the licensee shall notify the 

commissioner of its intention to continue the license on 

forms provided by the commissioner and shall submit the 

applicable renewal fee as set forth in this Part. Late filings 

will be assessed a late fee as authorized by R.S. 22:1078. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:933 (April 2005). 

§10311. Limitations of License 

A. The rental company licensed pursuant to this Part may 

offer or sell insurance only in connection with and incidental 

to the rental of vehicles, whether at the rental office or by 

pre-selection of coverage in a master, corporate, individual, 

or group rental agreement, in any of the following general 

categories: 

1. personal accident insurance covering the risks of 

travel including but not limited to accident and health 

insurance that provides coverage, as applicable, to renters 

and other rental vehicle occupants for accidental death or 

dismemberment and reimbursement for medical expenses 

resulting from an accident that occurs during the rental 

period; 
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2. liability insurance that provides coverage, as 

applicable, to renters and other authorized drivers of rental 

vehicles for liability arising from the operation of the rental 

vehicle; 

3. personal effects insurance that provides coverage, 

as applicable, to renters and other vehicle occupants for the 

loss of or damage to personal effects that occurs during the 

rental period; 

4. roadside assistance and emergency sickness 

protection programs; 

5. any other travel or automobile-related coverage that 

a rental company offers in connection with and incidental to 

the rental of vehicles. 

B. A limited license issued under this Part shall also 

authorize any employee of the limited licensee to act 

individually on behalf, and under the supervision of, the 

limited licensee with respect to the kinds of coverage 

specified in this Part. 

1. The limited licensee shall keep a list of all persons 

who are authorized or who are selling insurance as provided 

herein. The list shall be produced to the commissioner within 

two weeks of written demand from the commissioner. 

C. No limited licensee under this Part shall advertise, 

represent, or otherwise hold itself or any of its employees or 

agents out as licensed insurers or insurance producers. 

1. The sale of insurance not in conjunction with a 

rental transaction is prohibited by the provisions of Part 

XVII of Chapter 2 of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950, §2101 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:933 (April 2005). 

§10313. Insurance Charges 

A. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Part or 

any rule adopted by the commissioner, a limited licensee 

pursuant to Part XVII of Chapter 2 of Title 22 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, §2101 et seq., shall not 

be required to treat monies collected from renters purchasing 

such insurance when renting vehicles as funds received in a 

fiduciary capacity, provided that the charges for coverage 

shall be itemized and be ancillary to a rental transaction. The 

sale of insurance not in conjunction with a rental transaction 

is prohibited by the provisions of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:934 (April 2005). 

§10315. Penalties for Violations 

A. In the event that any provision of Part XVII of 

Chapter 2 of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 

1950, §2101 et seq., or other applicable provision of this 

Title is violated by a limited licensee, the commissioner may 

revoke, suspend, refuse to renew, or levy a fine not to exceed 

$1,000 for each violation, up to $100,000 in the aggregate 

for all violations in a calendar year per limited licensee, or 

impose such other penalty as the commissioner may deem 

necessary or convenient to carry out the purpose of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:934 (April 2005). 

§10317. Applicability  

A. All limited licensees under Part XVII of Chapter 2 of 

Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, §2101 et. 

seq shall be subject to all other applicable provisions of this 

Title unless specifically exempted by Part XVII of Chapter 2 

of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, §2101 

et. seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 31:934 (April 2005). 

§10319. Severability 

A. If any provision or item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held to be invalid, such invalidity shall 

not affect other provisions, items, or applications of the 

regulation, which can be given effect without the invalid 

provisions, item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:2112, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 31:934 (April 2005).  

Chapter 105. Regulation Number 

83―Domestic Insurer's Use of 

Custodial Agreements and the  

Use of Clearing Corporations 

§10501. Definitions 

A. When used in this regulation, the term: 

Agent―a national bank, state bank, trust company or 

broker/dealer that maintains an account in its name in a 

clearing corporation or that is a member of the Federal 

Reserve System and through which a custodian participates 

in a clearing corporation, including the Treasury/Reserve 

Automated Debt Entry Securities System (TRADES) or 

treasury direct systems, except that with respect to securities 

issued by institutions organized or existing under the laws of 

a foreign country or securities used to meet the deposit 

requirements pursuant to the laws of a foreign country as a 

condition of doing business therein, agent may include a 

corporation that is organized or existing under the laws of a 

foreign country and that is legally qualified under those laws 

to accept custody of securities. 

Clearing Corporation―a corporation, as defined in 
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Section 8-102(a)(5) of the Uniform Commercial Code, that 

is organized for the purpose of effecting transactions in 

securities by computerized book-entry, except that with 

respect to securities issued by institutions organized or 

existing under the laws of a foreign country or securities 

used to meet the deposit requirements pursuant to the laws 

of a foreign country as a condition of doing business therein, 

clearing corporation may include a corporation that is 

organized or existing under the laws of a foreign country and 

which is legally qualified under those laws to effect 

transactions in securities by computerized book-entry. 

Clearing corporation also includes "Treasury/Reserve 

Automated Debt Entry Securities System" and "Treasury 

Direct" book-entry securities systems established pursuant to 

31 U.S.C. §3100 et seq., 12 U.S.C. pt. 391 and 5 U.S.C. pt. 

301. 

Custodian― 

a. a national bank, state bank or trust company that 

shall at all times during which it acts as a custodian pursuant 

to this regulation be no less than adequately capitalized as 

determined by the standards adopted by United States 

banking regulators and that is regulated by either state 

banking laws or is a member of the Federal Reserve System 

and that is legally qualified to accept custody of securities in 

accordance with the standards set forth below, except that 

with respect to securities issued by institutions organized or 

existing under the laws of a foreign country, or securities 

used to meet the deposit requirements pursuant to the laws 

of a foreign country as a condition of doing business therein, 

custodian may include a bank or trust company incorporated 

or organized under the laws of a country other than the 

United States that is regulated as such by that country's 

government or an agency thereof that shall at all times 

during which it acts as a custodian pursuant to this 

regulation be no less than adequately capitalized as 

determined by the standards adopted by international 

banking authorities and that is legally qualified to accept 

custody of securities; or 

b. a broker/dealer that shall be a member of the 

National Association of Security Dealers, registered with 

and subject to jurisdiction of the Securities and Exchange 

Commission, maintains membership in the Securities 

Investor Protection Corporation, has an agency office in this 

state and has a tangible net worth equal to or greater than 

$250,000,000. 

Custodied Securities―securities held by the custodian 

or its agent or in a clearing corporation, including the 

Treasury/Reserve Automated Debt Equity Securities System 

(TRADES) or treasury direct systems. 

Securities' Certificate―has the same meaning as that 

defined in Section 8-102(a)(16) of the Uniform Commercial 

Code. 

Security―has the same meaning as that defined in 

Section 8-102(a)(15) of the Uniform Commercial Code. 

Tangible Net Worth―shareholders equity, less 

intangible assets, as reported in the broker/dealer's most 

recent annual or transition report pursuant to Section 13 or 

15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (S.E.C. Form 

10-K) filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. 

Treasury/Reserve Automated Debt Entry Securities 

System (TRADES) and Treasury Direct―the book entry 

securities systems established pursuant to 31 U.S.C. §3100 

et seq., 12 U.S.C. pt. 391 and 5 U.S.C. pt. 301. The 

operation of TRADES and treasury direct are subject to 31 

C.F.R. pt. 357 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

342 of the 2004 Louisiana Regular Legislative Session; R.S. 

22:39(D); and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:1092 (May 2005). 

§10503. Custody Agreement; Requirements 

A. An insurance company may, by written agreement 

with a custodian, provide for the custody of its securities 

with that custodian. The securities that are the subject of the 

agreement may be held by the custodian or its agent or in a 

clearing corporation. 

B. The agreement shall be in writing and shall be 

authorized by a resolution of the board of directors of the 

insurance company or of an authorized committee of the 

board. The terms of the agreement shall comply with the 

following. 

1. Securities' certificates held by the custodian shall be 

held separate from the securities' certificates of the custodian 

and of all of its other customers. 

2. Securities held indirectly by the custodian and 

securities in a clearing corporation shall be separately 

identified on the custodian's official records as being owned 

by the insurance company. The records shall identify which 

securities are held by the custodian or by its agent and which 

securities are in a clearing corporation. If the securities are in 

a clearing corporation, the records shall also identify where 

the securities are and if in a clearing corporation, the name 

of the clearing corporation and if through an agent, the name 

of the agent. 

3. All custodied securities that are registered shall be 

registered in the name of the company or in the name of a 

nominee of the company or in the name of the custodian or 

its nominee or, if in a clearing corporation, in the name of 

the clearing corporation or its nominee. 

4. Custodied securities shall be held subject to the 

instructions of the insurance company and shall be 

withdrawable upon the demand of the insurance company, 

except that custodied securities used to meet the deposit 

requirements set forth in Section 22:1021 of this insurance 

law shall, to the extent required by that Section, be under the 

control of the Louisiana Department of Insurance and shall 

not be withdrawn by the insurance company without the 

approval of the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

5. The custodian shall be required to send or cause to 

be sent to the insurance company a confirmation of all 

transfers of custodied securities to or from the account of the 
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insurance company. In addition, the custodian shall be 

required to furnish no less than monthly the insurance 

company with reports of holdings of custodied securities at 

times and containing information reasonably requested by 

the insurance company. If applicable, the custodian's trust 

committee's annual reports of its review of the insurer's trust 

accounts shall also be provided to the insurer. Reports and 

verifications may be transmitted in electronic or paper form. 

6. During the course of the custodian's regular 

business hours, an officer or employee of the insurance 

company, an independent accountant selected by the 

insurance company and a representative of an appropriate 

regulatory body shall be entitled to examine, on the premises 

of the custodian, the custodian's records relating to custodied 

securities, but only upon furnishing the custodian with 

written instructions to that effect from an appropriate officer 

of the insurance company. 

7. The custodian and its agents shall be required to 

maintain and make available to the insurance company as it 

may reasonably request: 

a. reports which they receive from a clearing 

corporation on their respective systems of internal 

accounting control; and 

b. reports prepared by outside auditors on the 

custodians or its agent's internal accounting control of 

custodied securities. 

8. The custodian shall maintain records sufficient to 

determine and verify information relating to custodied 

securities that may be reported in the insurance company's 

annual statement and supporting schedules and information 

required in an audit of the financial statements of the 

insurance company. 

9. The custodian shall provide, upon written request 

from an appropriate officer of the insurance company, the 

appropriate affidavits, substantially in the form attached to 

this regulation, with respect to custodied securities. 

10. A national bank, state bank or trust company shall 

secure and maintain insurance protection in an adequate 

amount covering the bank's or trust company's duties and 

activities as custodian for the insurer's assets, and shall state 

in the custody agreement that protection is in compliance 

with the requirements of the custodian's banking regulator. A 

broker/dealer shall secure and maintain insurance protection 

for each insurance company's custodied securities in excess 

of that provided by the Securities Investor Protection 

Corporation in an amount equal to or greater than the market 

value of each respective insurance company's custodied 

securities. The commissioner may determine whether the 

type of insurance is appropriate and the amount of coverage 

is adequate. 

11. The custodian shall be obligated to indemnify the 

insurance company for any loss of custodied securities 

occasioned by the negligence or dishonesty of the 

custodian's officers or employees, or burglary, robbery, 

holdup, theft or mysterious disappearance, including loss by 

damage or destruction. 

12. In the event that there is a loss of custodied 

securities for which the custodian shall be obligated to 

indemnify the insurance company as provided in Paragraph 

11 above, the custodian shall promptly replace the securities 

or the value thereof and the value of any loss of rights or 

privileges resulting from the loss of securities. Such 

indemnification does not apply to nor protect against losses 

from any change in the market value of custodied securities. 

13. The agreement may provide that the custodian will 

not be liable for a failure to take an action required under the 

agreement in the event and to the extent that the taking of 

the action is prevented or delayed by war (whether declared 

or not and including existing wars), revolution, insurrection, 

riot, civil commotion, act of God, accident, fire, explosion, 

stoppage of labor, strikes or other differences with 

employees, laws, regulations, orders or other acts of any 

governmental authority, or any other cause whatever beyond 

its reasonable control. 

14. In the event that the custodian gains entry in a 

clearing corporation through an agent, there shall be an 

agreement between the custodian and the agent under which 

the agent shall be subject to the same liability for loss of 

custodied securities as the custodian. However, if the agent 

shall be subject to regulation under the laws of a jurisdiction 

that is different from the jurisdiction the laws of which 

regulate the custodian, the commissioner of insurance of the 

state of domicile of the insurance company may accept a 

standard of liability applicable to the agent that is different 

from the standard of liability applicable to the custodian. 

15. The custodian shall provide written notification to 

the insurer's domiciliary commissioner if the custodial 

agreement with the insurer has been terminated or if 100 

percent of the account assets in any one custody account 

have been withdrawn. This notification shall be remitted to 

the insurance commissioner within three business days of 

the receipt by the custodian of the insurer's written notice of 

termination or within three business days of the withdrawal 

of 100 percent of the account assets. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

342 of the 2004 Louisiana Regular Legislative Session; R.S. 

22:39(D).; and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:1093 (May 2005). 

§10505. Deposit with Affiliates; Requirements 

A. Nothing in this regulation shall prevent an insurance 

company from depositing securities with another insurance 

company with which the depositing insurance company is 

affiliated, provided that the securities are deposited pursuant 

to a written agreement authorized by the board of directors 

of the depositing insurance company or an authorized 

committee thereof and that the receiving insurance company 

is organized under the laws of one of the states of the United 

States of America or of the District of Columbia. If the 

respective states of domicile of the depositing and receiving 

insurance companies are not the same, the depositing 

insurance company shall have given notice of the deposit to 

the insurance commissioner in the state of its domicile and 
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the insurance commissioner shall not have objected to it 

within 30 days of the receipt of the notice. 

B. The terms of the agreement shall comply with the 

following. 

1. The insurance company receiving the deposit shall 

maintain records adequate to identify and verify the 

securities belonging to the depositing insurance company. 

2. The receiving insurance company shall allow 

representatives of an appropriate regulatory body to examine 

records relating to securities held subject to the agreement. 

3. The depositing insurance company may authorize 

the receiving insurance company: 

a. to hold the securities of the depositing insurance 

company in bulk, in certificates issued in the name of the 

receiving insurance company or its nominee, and to 

commingle them with securities owned by other affiliates of 

the receiving insurance company; and 

b. to provide for the securities to be held by a 

custodian, including the custodian of securities of the 

receiving insurance company or in a clearing corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

342 of the 2004 Louisiana Regular Legislative Session; R.S. 

22:39(D).; and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:1094 (May 2005). 

§10507. Custodian Affidavit―Form A 

CUSTODIAN AFFIDAVIT 

(For use by a custodian where securities entrusted to its 

care have not been redeposited elsewhere.) 

STATE OF __________________________ ) 

                 ) ss. 

COUNTY OF ________________________ ) 

_____________________________, being duly sworn 

deposes and says that he or she is ____________________ of 

_____________________________________, a corporation 
organized under and pursuant to the laws of the 

_________________ with the principal place of business at 

____________________________ (hereinafter called the 

"corporation"): 

That his or her duties involve supervision of activities as 

custodian and records relating thereto; 

That the corporation is custodian for certain securities of 

_________________________________________ having a 

place of business at _____________________________ 
_______________________ (hereinafter called the "insurance 

company") pursuant to an agreement between the corporation 

and the insurance company; 

That the schedule attached hereto is a true and complete 

statement of securities (other than those caused to be deposited 
with The Depository Trust Company or like entity or a Federal 

Reserve Bank under the TRADES or Treasury Direct systems) 

which were in the custody of the corporation for the account 
of the insurance company as of the close of business on 

________________________; that, unless otherwise indicated 

on the schedule, the next maturing and all subsequent coupons 
were then either attached to coupon bonds or in the process of 

collection; and that, unless otherwise shown on the schedule, 

all such securities were in bearer form or in registered form in 

the name of the insurance company or its nominee or of the 
corporation or its nominee, or were in the process of being 

registered in such form; 

That the corporation as custodian has the responsibility for 

the safekeeping of such securities as that responsibility is 
specifically set forth in the agreement between the corporation 

as custodian and the insurance company; and 

That, to the best of his or her knowledge and belief, unless 

otherwise shown on the schedule, the securities were the 
property of the insurance company and were free of all liens, 

claims or encumbrances whatsoever. 

Subscribed and sworn to 

before me this _____ day 

of ______________, 20____ 

_______________________________ (L.S.) 

Vice President [or other authorized officer] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

342 of the 2004 Louisiana Regular Legislative Session; R.S. 

22:39(D).; and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:1095 (May 2005). 

§10509. Custodian Affidavit―Form B 

CUSTODIAN AFFIDAVIT 
(For use in instances where a custodian corporation maintains 
securities on deposit with the Depository Trust Company or 

like entity.) 

 

STATE OF __________________________ ) 

                 ) ss. 

COUNTY OF ________________________ ) 

________________________________, being duly sworn 

deposes and says that he or she is ____________________ of 

_________________________, a corporation organized under 
and pursuant to the laws of the __________________ with the 

principal place of business at __________________________ 

(hereinafter called the "corporation"): 

That his or her duties involve supervision of activities of 

the corporation as custodian and records relating thereto; 

That the corporation is custodian for certain securities of 
__________________________ having a place of business at 

_____________________ _________________________ 

(hereinafter called the "insurance company") pursuant to an 
agreement between the corporation and the insurance 

company; 

That the corporation has caused certain of such securities to 
be deposited with _______________________________ and 

that the schedule attached hereto is a true and complete 

statement of the securities of the insurance company of which 
the corporation was custodian as of the close of business on 

____________________________________, and which were 

so deposited on such date; 

That the corporation as custodian has the responsibility for 

the safekeeping of the securities both in the possession of the 
corporation or deposited with ________________________ as 

is specifically set forth in the agreement between the 

corporation as custodian and the insurance company; and 

That, to the best of his or her knowledge and belief, unless 

otherwise shown on the schedule, the securities were the 

property of the insurance company and were free of all liens, 

claims or encumbrances whatsoever. 
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Subscribed and sworn to 

before me this _____ day 

of ______________, 20____ 

_______________________________ (L.S.) 

Vice President [or other authorized officer] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

342 of the 2004 Louisiana Regular Legislative Session; R.S. 

22:39(D).; and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:1095 (May 2005). 

§10511. Custodian Affidavit―Form C 

CUSTODIAN AFFIDAVIT 
(For use where ownership is evidenced by book entry at a 

Federal Reserve Bank.) 

 

STATE OF __________________________ ) 

                 ) ss. 

COUNTY OF ________________________ ) 

_______________________________________, being 

duly sworn deposes and says that he or she is _____________ 
of _______________________________________________, 

a corporation organized under and pursuant to the laws of the 

__________________________ with the principal place of 
business at _________________________________________ 

(hereinafter called the "corporation"): 

That his or her duties involve supervision of activities of 

the corporation as custodian and records relating thereto; 

That the corporation is custodian for certain securities of 

______________________________________ with a place of 
business at __________________________ (hereinafter called 

the "insurance company") pursuant to an agreement between 

the corporation and the insurance company; 

That it has caused certain securities to be credited to its 

book entry account with the Federal Reserve Bank of 

________________________________________ under the 
TRADES or Treasury Direct systems; and that the schedule 

attached hereto is a true and complete statement of the 

securities of the insurance company of which the corporation 
was custodian as of the close of business on 

________________, which were in a "general" book entry 

account maintained in the name of the corporation on the 
books and records of the Federal Reserve Bank of 

_______________________ at such date; 

That the corporation has the responsibility for the 
safekeeping of such securities both in the possession of the 

corporation or in the "general" book entry account as is 

specifically set forth in the agreement between the corporation 

as custodian and the insurance company; and 

That, to the best of his or her knowledge and belief, unless 

otherwise shown on the schedule, the securities were the 
property of the insurance company and were free of all liens, 

claims or encumbrances whatsoever. 

Subscribed and sworn to 

before me this _____ day 

of ______________, 20____ 

_______________________________ (L.S.) 

Vice President [or other authorized officer] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

342 of the 2004 Louisiana Regular Legislative Session; R.S. 

22:39(D).; and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:1095 (May 2005). 

Chapter 107. Regulation Number 

84―Recognition and Use of the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table in Determining 

Minimum Reserve Liabilities and 

Nonforfeiture Benefits 

§10701. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated by the commissioner 

of insurance pursuant to authority granted under the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, Title 22, §22:1 et seq., 

particularly the Standard Valuation Law, see Title 22, §753 

and the Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life Insurance, see 

Title 22 §936. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2541 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2296 (September 2022). 

§10703. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to recognize, permit 

and prescribe the use of the applicable Commissioners 

Standard Ordinary (CSO) Mortality Table in accordance 

with R.S. 22:753 (the Standard Valuation Law for Life 

Insurance), R.S. 22:936 (the Standard Nonforfeiture Law for 

Life Insurance) and Sections 10909.A and Sections 10909.B 

of Regulation 85. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2541 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2296 (September 2022). 

§10705. Definitions 

2001 CSO Mortality Table—that mortality table, 

consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female 

lives, developed by the American Academy of Actuaries 

CSO Task Force from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Individual Life 

Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, and adopted by 

the NAIC in December 2002. The 2001 CSO Mortality 

Table is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd 

Quarter 2002). Unless the context indicates otherwise, the 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form 

of that table and the select and ultimate form of that table 

and includes both the smoker and nonsmoker mortality 

tables and the composite mortality tables. It also includes 

both the age-nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of 

the mortality tables. 

2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)—that mortality table 

consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives from the 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 397 

2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)—that mortality table 

consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives from the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

Composite Mortality Tables—mortality tables with rates of 

mortality that do not distinguish between smokers and 

nonsmokers. 

Smoker and Nonsmoker Mortality Tables—mortality tables 

with separate rates of mortality for smokers and nonsmokers. 

Valuation Manual—manual of valuation instructions as 

adopted by NAIC that sets forth the minimum reserve and 

related requirements for jurisdictions where the Standard 

Valuation Law or legislation including substantially similar 

terms and provisions has been enacted. The purpose of the 

VM-20 is to assign the appropriate CSO mortality table and 

interest rate for use in determining the minimum 

nonforfeiture standard for life insurance policies issued on or 

after the operative date of the applicable Valuation Manual 

as authorized and superseded by applicable state 

requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2541 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2296 (September 2022). 

§10707. CSO Mortality Tables 

A. At the election of the company for any one or more 

specified plans of insurance and subject to the conditions 

stated in this regulation, the 2001 CSO Mortality Table may 

be used as the minimum standard for policies issued on or 

after January 1, 2005 and before the date specified in 

Subsection B to which R.S. 22:753, R.S. 22:936 and 

Sections 10909.A and B of Regulation 85 are applicable. If 

the company elects to use the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, it 

shall do so for both valuation and nonforfeiture purposes. 

Notwithstanding the preceding, the commissioner may 

specify restrictions on the use of this table for certain 

categories of life insurance for which the use of this table's 

mortality assumption is not representative of the business' 

underlying mortality experience. 

B. Subject to the conditions stated in this regulation, the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table shall be used in determining 

minimum standards for policies issued January 1, 2009 

through December 31, 2016, to which R.S. 22:753, R.S. 

22:936 and Sections 10909.A and B of Regulation 85 are 

applicable. 

C. Subject to the conditions stated in this regulation, 

either the 2001 CSO Mortality Table or the 2017 CSO 

Mortality Table may be used in determining the minimum 

standards for policies issued January 1, 2017 through 

December 31, 2019, to which R.S. 22:753, R.S. 22:936 and 

Sections 10909.A and B of Regulation 85 are applicable. 

D. Subject to the conditions stated in this regulation, 

minimum standards for policies issued on or after January 1, 

2020 shall be determined using the mortality table in the 

Valuation Manual adopted by the NAIC at the time of 

issuance of the policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2542 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2296 (September 2022). 

§10709. Conditions 

A. For each plan of insurance with separate rates for 

smokers and nonsmokers an insurer may use: 

1. composite mortality tables to determine minimum 

reserve liabilities and minimum cash surrender values and 

amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits; 

2. smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables to 

determine the valuation net premiums and additional 

minimum reserves, if any, required by R.S. 22:753 and use 

composite mortality tables to determine the basic minimum 

reserves, minimum cash surrender values and amounts of 

paid-up nonforfeiture benefits; or 

3. smoker and nonsmoker mortality to determine 

minimum reserve liabilities and minimum cash surrender 

values and amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits. 

B. For plans of insurance without separate rates for 

smokers and nonsmokers the composite mortality tables 

shall be used. 

C. For the purpose of determining minimum reserve 

liabilities and minimum cash surrender values and amounts 

of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits, the 2001 CSO Mortality 

Table, or its successor table adopted by the NAIC and 

detailed in VM-20, may, at the option of the company for 

each plan of insurance, be used in its ultimate or select and 

ultimate form, subject to the restrictions of Section 10911 of 

Regulation 85 relative to use of the select and ultimate form. 

D. When the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, or its successor 

table adopted by the NAIC and detailed in VM-20, is the 

minimum reserve standard for any plan for a company, the 

actuarial opinion in the annual statement filed with the 

commissioner shall be based on an asset adequacy analysis 

as specified in §2109.A.1 of Regulation 47 of the Louisiana 

Insurance Regulations. A commissioner may exempt a 

company from this requirement if it only does business in 

this state and in no other state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2542 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2296 (September 2022). 

§10711. Applicability of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table 

or Its Successor Table to Regulation 85 

A. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table, or its successor table 

adopted by the NAIC and detailed in VM-20, may be used in 

applying Regulation 85 in the following manner, subject to 

the transition dates for use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, 
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or its successor table adopted by the NAIC and detailed in 

VM-20, in §10707 of this regulation. 

1. Section 10905.A.(2).(b). The net level reserve 

premium is based on the ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table, or its successor table adopted by the 

NAIC and detailed in VM-20. 

2. Section 10907. All calculations are made using the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table, or its successor table adopted by 

the NAIC and detailed in VM-20, and, if elected, the 

optional minimum mortality standard for deficiency reserves 

stipulated in §10909.B of this regulation. The value of 

"qx+k+t+1" is the valuation mortality rate for deficiency 

reserves in policy year k+t, using the unmodified select 

mortality rates if modified select mortality rates are used in 

the computation of deficiency reserves. 

3. Section 10909.A. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table, 

or its successor table adopted by the NAIC and detailed in 

VM-20, is the minimum standard for basic reserves. 

4. Section 10909.B. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table, 

or its successor table adopted by the NAIC and detailed in 

VM-20, is the minimum standard for deficiency reserves. If 

select mortality rates are used, they may be multiplied by X 

percent for durations in the first segment, subject to the 

conditions specified in §10909.B.3.a. through i. In 

demonstrating compliance with those conditions, the 

demonstrations may not combine the results of tests that 

utilize the 1980 CSO Mortality Table with those tests that 

utilize the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, or its successor table 

adopted by the NAIC and detailed in VM-20, unless the 

combination is explicitly required by regulation or necessary 

to be in compliance with relevant actuarial standards of 

practice. 

5. Section 10911.C. The valuation mortality table used 

in determining the tabular cost of insurance shall be the 

ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 CSO Mortality Table, or 

its successor table adopted by the NAIC and detailed in VM-

20. 

6. Section 10911.E.4. The calculations specified in 

§10911.E shall use the ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table or its successor table adopted by the 

NAIC and detailed in VM-20. 

7. Section 10911.F.4. The calculations specified in 

§10911.F shall use the ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table or its successor table adopted by the 

NAIC and detailed in VM-20. 

8. Section 10911.G.2. The calculations specified in 

§10911.G shall use the ultimate mortality rates in the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table or its successor table adopted by the 

NAIC and detailed in VM-20. 

9. Section 10913.A.1.b. The one-year valuation 

premium shall be calculated using the ultimate mortality 

rates in the 2001 CSO Mortality Table or its successor table 

adopted by the NAIC and detailed in VM-20. 

B. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to expand 

the applicability of Regulation 85 to include life insurance 

policies exempted under §10905.A of Regulation 85. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2542 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2297 (September 2022). 

§10713. Gender-Blended Tables 

A. For any ordinary life insurance policy delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state on and after January 1, 2005, 

through December 31, 2016, that utilizes the same premium 

rates and charges for male and female lives or is issued in 

circumstances where applicable law does not permit 

distinctions on the basis of gender, a mortality table that is a 

blend of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table (M) and the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table (F) may, at the option of the company 

for each plan of insurance, be substituted for the 2001 CSO 

Mortality Table for use in determining minimum cash 

surrender values and amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture 

benefits. No change in minimum valuation standards is 

implied by this Subsection of the regulation. 

B. For any ordinary life insurance policy delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state on and after January 1, 2017, 

until the operative date of VM-20 as established by the 

NAIC, that utilizes the same premium rates and charges for 

male and female lives or is issued in circumstances where 

applicable law does not permit distinctions on the basis of 

gender, a mortality table that is a blend of the 2017 CSO 

Mortality Table (M) and the 2017 CSO Mortality Table (F) 

may, at the option of the company for each plan of 

insurance, be substituted for the 2017 CSO Mortality Table 

for use in determining minimum cash surrender values and 

amounts of paid-up nonforfeiture benefits. No change in 

minimum valuation standards is implied by this Subsection 

of the regulation. 

C. For any ordinary life insurance policy delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state on and after the operative 

date of VM-20 as established by the NAIC, that utilizes the 

same premium rates and charges for male and female lives 

or is issued in circumstances where applicable law does not 

permit distinctions on the basis of gender, a mortality table 

that is prescribed in VM-20 that is a blend of the prescribed 

mortality tables male and female rates may, at the option of 

the company for each plan of insurance, be substituted for 

the prescribed mortality table for use in determining 

minimum cash surrender values and amounts of paid-up 

nonforfeiture benefits. No change in minimum valuation 

standards is implied by this Subsection of the regulation. 

D. The company may choose from among the blended 

tables developed by the American Academy of Actuaries 

CSO Task Force and adopted by the NAIC in December 

2002. 

E. It shall not, in and of itself, be a violation of R.S. 

22:1211 et seq. for an insurer to issue the same kind of 

policy of life insurance on both a sex-distinct and sex-neutral 

basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
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R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2543 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2297 (September 2022). 

§10715. Separability 

A. If any provision of this regulation or its application to 

any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 

invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the application 

of the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not 

be affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2543 (October 

2005). 

§10717. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall take effect upon final publication 

in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, 22:753, 22:936 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2543 (October 

2005), amended LR 48:2298 (September 2022). 

Chapter 109. Regulation Number 

85―Valuation of Life Insurance 

Policies 

§10901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to provide: 

1. tables of select mortality factors and rules for their 

use; 

2. rules concerning a minimum standard for the 

valuation of plans with nonlevel premiums or benefits; and 

3. rules concerning a minimum standard for the 

valuation of plans with secondary guarantees. 

B. The method for calculating basic reserves defined in 

this regulation will constitute the commissioners' reserve 

valuation method for policies to which this regulation is 

applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2550 (October 

2005). 

§10903. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated by the commissioner 

of insurance pursuant to authority granted under the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, Title 22, Section 22:1 et seq., 

particularly the Standard Valuation Law, see Title 22, 

§163.B.1.a and the Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life 

Insurance, see Title 22 §168.G.(8)(f).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2550 (October 

2005). 

§10905. Applicability 

A. This regulation shall apply to all life insurance 

policies, with or without nonforfeiture values, issued on or 

after the effective date of this regulation, subject to the 

following exceptions and conditions. 

1. Exceptions 

a. This regulation shall not apply to any individual 

life insurance policy issued on or after the effective date of 

this regulation if the policy is issued in accordance with and 

as a result of the exercise of a reentry provision contained in 

the original life insurance policy of the same or greater face 

amount, issued before the effective date of this regulation, 

that guarantees the premium rates of the new policy. This 

regulation also shall not apply to subsequent policies issued 

as a result of the exercise of such a provision, or a derivation 

of the provision, in the new policy. 

b. This regulation shall not apply to any universal 

life policy that meets all the following requirements: 

 i. secondary guarantee period, if any, is five years 

or less; 

 ii. specified premium for the secondary guarantee 

period is not less than the net level reserve premium for the 

secondary guarantee period based on the CSO valuation 

tables as defined in §10907 and the applicable valuation 

interest rate; and 

 iii. the initial surrender charge is not less than 100 

percent of the first year annualized specified premium for 

the secondary guarantee period. 

c. This regulation shall not apply to any variable 

life insurance policy that provides for life insurance, the 

amount or duration of which varies according to the 

investment experience of any separate account or accounts. 

d. This regulation shall not apply to any variable 

universal life insurance policy that provides for life 

insurance, the amount or duration of which varies according 

to the investment experience of any separate account or 

accounts. 

e. This regulation shall not apply to a group life 

insurance certificate unless the certificate provides for a 

stated or implied schedule of maximum gross premiums 

required in order to continue coverage in force for a period 

in excess of one year. 

2. Conditions 

a. Calculation of the minimum valuation standard 

for policies with guaranteed nonlevel gross premiums or 

guaranteed nonlevel benefits (other than universal life 

policies), or both, shall be in accordance with the provisions 

of §10911. 
b. Calculation of the minimum valuation standard 

for flexible premium and fixed premium universal life 

insurance policies, that contain provisions resulting in the 
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ability of a policyholder to keep a policy in force over a 

secondary guarantee period shall be in accordance with the 

provisions of §10913. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2550 (October 

2005). 

§10907. Definitions 

A. For purposes of this regulation: 

Basic Reserves―reserves calculated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:163.B.(4)(a). 

Contract Segmentation Method― 

a. the method of dividing the period from issue to 

mandatory expiration of a policy into successive segments, 

with the length of each segment being defined as the period 

from the end of the prior segment (from policy inception, for 

the first segment) to the end of the latest policy year as 

determined below. All calculations are made using the 1980 

CSO valuation tables, as defined in this Section, (or any 

other valuation mortality table adopted by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) after the 

effective date of this regulation and promulgated by 

regulation by the commissioner for this purpose), and, if 

elected, the optional minimum mortality standard for 

deficiency reserves stipulated in §10909.B of this regulation; 

b. the length of a particular contract segment shall 

be set equal to the minimum of the value t for which Gt is 

greater than Rt (if Gt never exceeds Rt the segment length is 

deemed to be the number of years from the beginning of the 

segment to the mandatory expiration date of the policy), 

where Gt and Rt are defined as follows: 

GPx+k+t 

Gt = __________ 

GPx+k+t-1 

where: 

x = original issue age; 

k = the number of years from the date of issue to 

the beginning of the segment; 

t = 1, 2, ...; t is reset to 1 at the beginning of 

each segment; 

GPx+k+t-1 = Guaranteed gross premium per thousand of 

face amount for year t of the segment, ignoring policy fees 

only if level for the premium paying period of the policy. 

qx+k+t 

Rt = __________,  However, Rt may be increased or 

qx+k+t-1   decreased by one percent in any policy year, at the 

company's option, but Rt shall not be less than one; 

where: 

x, k and t are as defined above, and 

qx+k+t-1 = valuation mortality rate for deficiency 

reserves in policy year k+t but using the mortality of 

§10909B.2 if §10909B.3 is elected for deficiency 

reserves. 

However, if GPx+k+t is greater than 0 and GPx+k+t-1 is equal to 0, 

Gt shall be deemed to be 1000. If GPx+k+t and GPx+k+t-1 are both 

equal to 0, Gt shall be deemed to be 0. 

Deficiency Reserves―the excess, if greater than zero, 

of: 

a. minimum reserves calculated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:163.B.(8)(a); over 

b. basic reserves. 

Guaranteed Gross Premiums―the premiums under a 

policy of life insurance that are guaranteed and determined 

at issue. 

Maximum Valuation Interest Rates―the interest rates 

defined in R.S. 22:163.B.(3)(a) are to be used in determining 

the minimum standard for the valuation of life insurance 

policies. 

1980 CSO Valuation Tables―the Commissioners 1980 

Standard Ordinary Mortality Table (1980 CSO Table) 

without 10-year selection factors, incorporated into the 1980 

amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation Law, and 

variations of the 1980 CSO Table approved by the NAIC, 

such as the smoker and nonsmoker versions approved in 

December 1983. 

Scheduled Gross Premium―the smallest illustrated 

gross premium at issue for other than universal life insurance 

policies. For universal life insurance policies, scheduled 

gross premium means the smallest specified premium 

described in §10913.A.3, if any, or else the minimum 

premium described in §10913.A.4. 

Segmented Reserves―reserves calculated using 

segments produced by the contract segmentation method, 

equal to the present value of all future guaranteed benefits 

less the present value of all future net premiums to the 

mandatory expiration of a policy, where the net premiums 

within each segment are a uniform percentage of the 

respective guaranteed gross premiums within the segment. 

The uniform percentage for each segment is such that, at the 

beginning of the segment, the present value of the net 

premiums within the segment equals: 

a. the present value of the death benefits within the 

segment; plus 

b. the present value of any unusual guaranteed cash 

value (see §10911.D) occurring at the end of the segment; 

less 

c. any unusual guaranteed cash value occurring at 

the start of the segment; plus 

d. for the first segment only, the excess of the 

Clause i over Clause ii, as follows: 

 i. a net level annual premium equal to the present 

value, at the date of issue, of the benefits provided for in the 

first segment after the first policy year, divided by the 

present value, at the date of issue, of an annuity of one per 
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year payable on the first and each subsequent anniversary 

within the first segment on which a premium falls due. 

However, the net level annual premium shall not exceed the 

net level annual premium on the 19-year premium whole life 

plan of insurance of the same renewal year equivalent level 

amount at an age one year higher than the age at issue of the 

policy; 

 ii. a net one year term premium for the benefits 

provided for in the first policy year; 

e. the length of each segment is determined by the 

contract segmentation method, as defined in this Section; 

f. the interest rates used in the present value 

calculations for any policy may not exceed the maximum 

valuation interest rate, determined with a guarantee duration 

equal to the sum of the lengths of all segments of the policy; 

g. for both basic reserves and deficiency reserves 

computed by the segmented method, present values shall 

include future benefits and net premiums in the current 

segment and in all subsequent segments. 

Tabular Cost of Insurance―the net single premium at 

the beginning of a policy year for one-year term insurance in 

the amount of the guaranteed death benefit in that policy 

year. 

Ten-Year Select Factors―the select factors adopted 

with the 1980 amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation 

Law. 

Unitary Reserves― 

a. the present value of all future guaranteed benefits 

less the present value of all future modified net premiums, 

where: 

 i. guaranteed benefits and modified net premiums 

are considered to the mandatory expiration of the policy; and 

 ii. modified net premiums are a uniform 

percentage of the respective guaranteed gross premiums, 

where the uniform percentage is such that, at issue, the 

present value of the net premiums equals the present value 

of all death benefits and pure endowments, plus the excess 

of Subclause (a) over Subclause (b), as follows: 

(a). a net level annual premium equal to the 

present value, at the date of issue, of the benefits provided 

for after the first policy year, divided by the present value, at 

the date of issue, of an annuity of one per year payable on 

the first and each subsequent anniversary of the policy on 

which a premium falls due. However, the net level annual 

premium shall not exceed the net level annual premium on 

the 19-year premium whole life plan of insurance of the 

same renewal year equivalent level amount at an age one 

year higher than the age at issue of the policy; 

(b). a net one year term premium for the benefits 

provided for in the first policy year; 

b. the interest rates used in the present value 

calculations for any policy may not exceed the maximum 

valuation interest rate, determined with a guarantee duration 

equal to the length from issue to the mandatory expiration of 

the policy. 

Universal Life Insurance Policy―any individual life 

insurance policy under the provisions of which separately 

identified interest credits (other than in connection with 

dividend accumulations, premium deposit funds, or other 

supplementary accounts) and mortality or expense charges 

are made to the policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2550 (October 

2005). 

§10909. General Calculation Requirements for Basic 

Reserves and Premium Deficiency Reserves 

A. At the election of the company for any one or more 

specified plans of life insurance, the minimum mortality 

standard for basic reserves may be calculated using the 1980 

CSO valuation tables with select mortality factors (or any 

other valuation mortality table adopted by the NAIC after 

the effective date of this regulation and promulgated by 

regulation by the commissioner for this purpose). If select 

mortality factors are elected, they may be: 

1. the 10-year select mortality factors incorporated 

into the 1980 amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation 

Law; 

2. the select mortality factors in §10915; or 

3. any other table of select mortality factors adopted 

by the NAIC after the effective date of this regulation and 

promulgated by regulation by the commissioner for the 

purpose of calculating basic reserves. 

B. Deficiency reserves, if any, are calculated for each 

policy as the excess, if greater than zero, of the quantity A 

over the basic reserve. The quantity A is obtained by 

recalculating the basic reserve for the policy using 

guaranteed gross premiums instead of net premiums when 

the guaranteed gross premiums are less than the 

corresponding net premiums. At the election of the company 

for any one or more specified plans of insurance, the 

quantity A and the corresponding net premiums used in the 

determination of quantity A may be based upon the 1980 

CSO valuation tables with select mortality factors (or any 

subsequent valuation mortality table adopted by the NAIC 

once promulgated by regulation by the commissioner). If 

select mortality factors are elected, they may be: 

1. the 10-year select mortality factors incorporated 

into the 1980 amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation 

Law; 

2. the select mortality factors in §10915 of this 

regulation; 

3. for durations in the first segment, X percent of the 

select mortality factors in §10915, subject to the following: 

a. X may vary by policy year, policy form, 

underwriting classification, issue age, or any other policy 

factor expected to affect mortality experience; 
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b. X is such that, when using the valuation interest 

rate used for basic reserves, Clause i is greater than or equal 

to Clause ii: 

 i. the actuarial present value of future death 

benefits, calculated using the mortality rates resulting from 

the application of X; 

 ii. the actuarial present value of future death 

benefits calculated using anticipated mortality experience 

without recognition of mortality improvement beyond the 

valuation date; 

c. X is such that the mortality rates resulting from 

the application of X are at least as great as the anticipated 

mortality experience, without recognition of mortality 

improvement beyond the valuation date, in each of the first 

five years after the valuation date;  

d. the appointed actuary shall increase X at any 

valuation date where it is necessary to continue to meet all 

the requirements of Paragraph B.3; 

e. the appointed actuary may decrease X at any 

valuation date as long as X continues to meet all the 

requirements of Paragraph B.3; and 

f. the appointed actuary shall specifically take into 

account the adverse effect on expected mortality and 

lapsation of any anticipated or actual increase in gross 

premiums; 

g. if X is less than 100 percent at any duration for 

any policy, the following requirements shall be met: 

 i. the appointed actuary shall annually prepare an 

actuarial opinion and memorandum for the company in 

conformance with the requirements of §2111 of Regulation 

47;  

 ii The appointed actuary shall disclose, in the 

Regulatory Asset Adequacy Issues Summary, the impact of 

the insufficiency of assets to support the payment of benefits 

and expenses and the establishment of statutory reserves 

during one or more interim periods; and 

 iii. the appointed actuary shall annually opine for 

all policies subject to this regulation as to whether the 

mortality rates resulting from the application of X meet the 

requirements of Paragraph B.3. This opinion shall be 

supported by an actuarial report, subject to appropriate 

Actuarial Standards of Practice promulgated by the Actuarial 

Standards Board of the American Academy of Actuaries. 

The X factors shall reflect anticipated future mortality, 

without recognition of mortality improvement beyond the 

valuation date, taking into account relevant emerging 

experience; 

4. any other table of select mortality factors adopted 

by the NAIC after the effective date of this regulation and 

promulgated by regulation by the commissioner for the 

purpose of calculating deficiency reserves. 

C. This Subsection applies to both basic reserves and 

deficiency reserves. Any set of select mortality factors may 

be used only for the first segment. However, if the first 

segment is less than 10 years, the appropriate 10-year select 

mortality factors incorporated into the 1980 amendments to 

the NAIC Standard Valuation Law may be used thereafter 

through the tenth policy year from the date of issue. 

D. In determining basic reserves or deficiency reserves, 

guaranteed gross premiums without policy fees may be used 

where the calculation involves the guaranteed gross 

premium but only if the policy fee is a level dollar amount 

after the first policy year. In determining deficiency reserves, 

policy fees may be included in guaranteed gross premiums, 

even if not included in the actual calculation of basic 

reserves. 

E. Reserves for policies that have changes to guaranteed 

gross premiums, guaranteed benefits, guaranteed charges, or 

guaranteed credits that are unilaterally made by the insurer 

after issue and that are effective for more than one year after 

the date of the change shall be the greatest of the following: 

1. reserves calculated ignoring the guarantee; 

2. reserves assuming the guarantee was made at issue; 

and 

3. reserves assuming that the policy was issued on the 

date of the guarantee. 

F. The commissioner may require that the company 

document the extent of the adequacy of reserves for 

specified blocks, including but not limited to policies issued 

prior to the effective date of this regulation. This 

documentation may include a demonstration of the extent to 

which aggregation with other non-specified blocks of 

business is relied upon in the formation of the appointed 

actuary opinion pursuant to and consistent with the 

requirements of §2111.A.2 of Regulation 47. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2552 (October 

2005), amended LR 50:1160 (August 2024). 

§10911. Calculation of Minimum Valuation Standard for 

Policies with Guaranteed Nonlevel Gross 

Premiums or Guaranteed Nonlevel Benefits 

(Other than Universal Life Policies) 

A. Basic Reserves. Basic reserves shall be calculated as 

the greater of the segmented reserves and the unitary 

reserves. Both the segmented reserves and the unitary 

reserves for any policy shall use the same valuation 

mortality table and selection factors. At the option of the 

insurer, in calculating segmented reserves and net premiums, 

either of the adjustments described in Paragraph 1 or 2 

below may be made. 

1. Treat the unitary reserve, if greater than zero, 

applicable at the end of each segment as a pure endowment 

and subtract the unitary reserve, if greater than zero, 

applicable at the beginning of each segment from the present 

value of guaranteed life insurance and endowment benefits 

for each segment. 
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2. Treat the guaranteed cash surrender value, if greater 

than zero, applicable at the end of each segment as a pure 

endowment; and subtract the guaranteed cash surrender 

value, if greater than zero, applicable at the beginning of 

each segment from the present value of guaranteed life 

insurance and endowment benefits for each segment. 

B. Deficiency Reserves 

1. The deficiency reserve at any duration shall be 

calculated: 

a. on a unitary basis if the corresponding basic 

reserve determined by Subsection A is unitary; 

b. on a segmented basis if the corresponding basic 

reserve determined by Subsection A is segmented; or 

c. on the segmented basis if the corresponding basic 

reserve determined by Subsection A is equal to both the 

segmented reserve and the unitary reserve. 

2. This Subsection shall apply to any policy for which 

the guaranteed gross premium at any duration is less than the 

corresponding modified net premium calculated by the 

method used in determining the basic reserves, but using the 

minimum valuation standards of mortality (specified in 

§10909.B) and rate of interest. 

3. Deficiency reserves, if any, shall be calculated for 

each policy as the excess if greater than zero, for the current 

and all remaining periods, of the quantity A over the basic 

reserve, where A is obtained as indicated in §10909.B. 

4. For deficiency reserves determined on a segmented 

basis, the quantity A is determined using segment lengths 

equal to those determined for segmented basic reserves. 

C. Minimum Value. Basic reserves may not be less than 

the tabular cost of insurance for the balance of the policy 

year, if mean reserves are used. Basic reserves may not be 

less than the tabular cost of insurance for the balance of the 

current modal period or to the paid-to-date, if later, but not 

beyond the next policy anniversary, if mid-terminal reserves 

are used. The tabular cost of insurance shall use the same 

valuation mortality table and interest rates as that used for 

the calculation of the segmented reserves. However, if select 

mortality factors are used, they shall be the 10-year select 

factors incorporated into the 1980 amendments of the NAIC 

Standard Valuation Law. In no case may total reserves 

(including basic reserves, deficiency reserves and any 

reserves held for supplemental benefits that would expire 

upon contract termination) be less than the amount that the 

policy-owner would receive (including the cash surrender 

value of the supplemental benefits, if any, referred to above), 

exclusive of any deduction for policy loans, upon 

termination of the policy. 

D. Unusual Pattern of Guaranteed Cash Surrender Values 

1. For any policy with an unusual pattern of 

guaranteed cash surrender values, the reserves actually held 

prior to the first unusual guaranteed cash surrender value 

shall not be less than the reserves calculated by treating the 

first unusual guaranteed cash surrender value as a pure 

endowment and treating the policy as an n year policy 

providing term insurance plus a pure endowment equal to 

the unusual cash surrender value, where n is the number of 

years from the date of issue to the date the unusual cash 

surrender value is scheduled. 

2. The reserves actually held subsequent to any 

unusual guaranteed cash surrender value shall not be less 

than the reserves calculated by treating the policy as an n 

year policy providing term insurance plus a pure endowment 

equal to the next unusual guaranteed cash surrender value, 

and treating any unusual guaranteed cash surrender value at 

the end of the prior segment as a net single premium, where: 

a. n is the number of years from the date of the last 

unusual guaranteed cash surrender value prior to the 

valuation date to the earlier of: 

 i. the date of the next unusual guaranteed cash 

surrender value, if any, that is scheduled after the valuation 

date; or 

 ii. the mandatory expiration date of the policy; 

and 

b. the net premium for a given year during the n 

year period is equal to the product of the net to gross ratio 

and the respective gross premium; and 

c. the net to gross ratio is equal to Clause i divided 

by Clause ii as follows: 

 i. the present value, at the beginning of the n year 

period, of death benefits payable during the n year period 

plus the present value, at the beginning of the n year period, 

of the next unusual guaranteed cash surrender value, if any, 

minus the amount of the last unusual guaranteed cash 

surrender value, if any, scheduled at the beginning of the n 

year period; 

 ii. the present value, at the beginning of the n year 

period, of the scheduled gross premiums payable during the 

n year period. 

3. For purposes of this Subsection, a policy is 

considered to have an unusual pattern of guaranteed cash 

surrender values if any future guaranteed cash surrender 

value exceeds the prior year's guaranteed cash surrender 

value by more than the sum of: 

a. 110 percent of the scheduled gross premium for 

that year; 

b. 110 percent of one year's accrued interest on the 

sum of the prior year's guaranteed cash surrender value and 

the scheduled gross premium using the nonforfeiture interest 

rate used for calculating policy guaranteed cash surrender 

values; and 

c. 5 percent of the first policy year surrender 

charge, if any. 

E. Optional Exemption for Yearly Renewable Term 

Reinsurance. At the option of the company, the following 

approach for reserves on YRT reinsurance may be used. 

1. Calculate the valuation net premium for each future 
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policy year as the tabular cost of insurance for that future 

year. 

2. Basic reserves shall never be less than the tabular 

cost of insurance for the appropriate period, as defined in 

Subsection C. 

3. Deficiency Reserves 

a. For each policy year, calculate the excess, if 

greater than zero, of the valuation net premium over the 

respective maximum guaranteed gross premium. 

b. Deficiency reserves shall never be less than the 

sum of the present values, at the date of valuation, of the 

excesses determined in accordance with Subparagraph a 

above. 

4. For purposes of this subsection, the calculations use 

the maximum valuation interest rate and the 1980 CSO 

mortality tables with or without 10-year select mortality 

factors, or any other table adopted after the effective date of 

this regulation by the NAIC and promulgated by regulation 

by the commissioner for this purpose. 

5. A reinsurance agreement shall be considered YRT 

reinsurance for purposes of this Subsection if only the 

mortality risk is reinsured. 

6. If the assuming company chooses this optional 

exemption, the ceding company's reinsurance reserve credit 

shall be limited to the amount of reserve held by the 

assuming company for the affected policies. 

F. Optional Exemption for Attained-Age-Based Yearly 

Renewable Term Life Insurance Policies. At the option of 

the company, the following approach for reserves for 

attained-age-based YRT life insurance policies may be used. 

1. Calculate the valuation net premium for each future 

policy year as the tabular cost of insurance for that future 

year. 

2. Basic reserves shall never be less than the tabular 

cost of insurance for the appropriate period, as defined in 

§10911.C. 

3. Deficiency Reserves 

a. For each policy year, calculate the excess, if 

greater than zero, of the valuation net premium over the 

respective maximum guaranteed gross premium. 

b. Deficiency reserves shall never be less than the 

sum of the present values, at the date of valuation, of the 

excesses determined in accordance with Subparagraph a 

above. 

4. For purposes of this subsection, the calculations use 

the maximum valuation interest rate and the 1980 CSO 

valuation tables with or without 10-year select mortality 

factors, or any other table adopted after the effective date of 

this regulation by the NAIC and promulgated by regulation 

by the commissioner for this purpose. 

5. A policy shall be considered an attained-age-based 

YRT life insurance policy for purposes of this Subsection if: 

a. the premium rates (on both the initial current 

premium scale and the guaranteed maximum premium scale) 

are based upon the attained age of the insured such that the 

rate for any given policy at a given attained age of the 

insured is independent of the year the policy was issued; and 

b. the premium rates (on both the initial current 

premium scale and the guaranteed maximum premium scale) 

are the same as the premium rates for policies covering all 

insureds of the same sex, risk class, plan of insurance and 

attained age. 

6. For policies that become attained-age-based YRT 

policies after an initial period of coverage, the approach of 

this subsection may be used after the initial period if: 

a. the initial period is constant for all insureds of the 

same sex, risk class and plan of insurance; or 

b. the initial period runs to a common attained age 

for all insureds of the same sex, risk class and plan of 

insurance; and 

c. after the initial period of coverage, the policy 

meets the conditions of Paragraph 5 above. 

7. If this election is made, this approach shall be 

applied in determining reserves for all attained-age-based 

YRT life insurance policies issued on or after the effective 

date of this regulation. 

G. Exemption from Unitary Reserves for Certain n-Year 

Renewable Term Life Insurance Polices. Unitary basic 

reserves and unitary deficiency reserves need not be 

calculated for a policy if the following conditions are met: 

1. the policy consists of a series of n-year periods, 

including the first period and all renewal periods, where n is 

the same for each period, except that for the final renewal 

period, n may be truncated or extended to reach the expiry 

age, provided that this final renewal period is less than 10 

years and less than twice the size of the earlier n-year 

periods, and for each period, the premium rates on both the 

initial current premium scale and the guaranteed maximum 

premium scale are level; 

2. the guaranteed gross premiums in all n-year periods 

are not less than the corresponding net premiums based upon 

the 1980 CSO Table with or without the 10-year select 

mortality factors; and 

3. there are no cash surrender values in any policy 

year. 

H. Exemption from Unitary Reserves for Certain 

Juvenile Policies. Unitary basic reserves and unitary 

deficiency reserves need not be calculated for a policy if the 

following conditions are met, based upon the initial current 

premium scale at issue: 

1. at issue, the insured is age 24 or younger; 

2. until the insured reaches the end of the juvenile 

period, which shall occur at or before age 25, the gross 

premiums and death benefits are level, and there are no cash 

surrender values; and 

3. after the end of the juvenile period, gross premiums 

are level for the remainder of the premium paying period, 
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and death benefits are level for the remainder of the life of 

the policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2553 (October 

2005). 

§10913. Calculation of Minimum Valuation Standard for 

Flexible Premium and Fixed Premium Universal 

Life Insurance Policies that Contain Provisions 

Resulting in the Ability of a Policy Owner to 

Keep a Policy in Force over a Secondary 

Guarantee Period 

A. General 

1. Policies with a secondary guarantee include: 

a. a policy with a guarantee that the policy will 

remain in force at the original schedule of benefits, subject 

only to the payment of specified premiums; 

b. a policy in which the minimum premium at any 

duration is less than the corresponding one year valuation 

premium, calculated using the maximum valuation interest 

rate and the 1980 CSO valuation tables with or without  

10-year select mortality factors, or any other table adopted 

after the effective date of this regulation by the NAIC and 

promulgated by regulation by the commissioner for this 

purpose; or 

c. a policy with any combination of Subparagraph a 

and b. 

2. A secondary guarantee period is the period for 

which the policy is guaranteed to remain in force subject 

only to a secondary guarantee. When a policy contains more 

than one secondary guarantee, the minimum reserve shall be 

the greatest of the respective minimum reserves at that 

valuation date of each unexpired secondary guarantee, 

ignoring all other secondary guarantees. Secondary 

guarantees that are unilaterally changed by the insurer after 

issue shall be considered to have been made at issue. 

Reserves described in Subsections B and C below shall be 

recalculated from issue to reflect these changes. 

3. Specified premiums mean the premiums specified 

in the policy, the payment of which guarantees that the 

policy will remain in force at the original schedule of 

benefits, but which otherwise would be insufficient to keep 

the policy in force in the absence of the guarantee if 

maximum mortality and expense charges and minimum 

interest credits were made and any applicable surrender 

charges were assessed. 

4. For purposes of this Section, the minimum 

premium for any policy year is the premium that, when paid 

into a policy with a zero account value at the beginning of 

the policy year, produces a zero account value at the end of 

the policy year. The minimum premium calculation shall use 

the policy cost factors (including mortality charges, loads 

and expense charges) and the interest crediting rate, which 

are all guaranteed at issue. 

5. The one-year valuation premium means the net 

one-year premium based upon the original schedule of 

benefits for a given policy year. The one-year valuation 

premiums for all policy years are calculated at issue. The 

select mortality factors defined in §10909.B.2, 3, and 4 may 

not be used to calculate the one-year valuation premiums. 

6. The one-year valuation premium should reflect the 

frequency of fund processing, as well as the distribution of 

deaths assumption employed in the calculation of the 

monthly mortality charges to the fund. 

B. Basic Reserves for the Secondary Guarantees. Basic 

reserves for the secondary guarantees shall be the segmented 

reserves for the secondary guarantee period. In calculating 

the segments and the segmented reserves, the gross 

premiums shall be set equal to the specified premiums, if 

any, or otherwise to the minimum premiums, that keep the 

policy in force and the segments will be determined 

according to the contract segmentation method as defined in 

§10907. 

C. Deficiency Reserves for the Secondary Guarantees. 

Deficiency reserves, if any, for the secondary guarantees 

shall be calculated for the secondary guarantee period in the 

same manner as described in §10911.B with gross premiums 

set equal to the specified premiums, if any, or otherwise to 

the minimum premiums that keep the policy in force. 

D. Minimum Reserves. The minimum reserves during 

the secondary guarantee period are the greater of: 

1. the basic reserves for the secondary guarantee plus 

the deficiency reserve, if any, for the secondary guarantees; 

or 

2. the minimum reserves required by other rules or 

regulations governing universal life plans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2555 (October 

2005). 

§10915. Select Mortality Factors―Appendix 

A. This appendix contains tables of select mortality 

factors that are the bases to which the respective percentage 

of §§10909.A2, 10909.B.2 and 10909.B.3 are applied. 

B. The six tables of select mortality factors contained 

herein include: 

1. male aggregate; 

2. male nonsmoker; 

3. male smoker; 

4. female aggregate; 

5. female nonsmoker; and 

6. female smoker. 
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C. These tables apply to both age last birthday and age 

nearest birthday mortality tables. 

D. For sex-blended mortality tables, compute select 

mortality factors in the same proportion as the underlying 

mortality. For example, for the 1980 CSO-B Table, the 

calculated select mortality factors are 80 percent of the 

appropriate male table in this Appendix, plus 20 percent of 

the appropriate female table in this Appendix. 

 

Select Mortality Factors 

Male, Aggregate 

 Issue                                                                                     Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

0-15 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

16 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

17 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

18 96 98 98 99 99 100 100 90 92 92 92 92 93 93 96 97 98 98 99 100 

19 83 84 84 87 87 87 79 79 79 81 81 82 82 82 85 88 91 94 97 100 

20 69 71 71 74 74 69 69 67 69 70 71 71 71 71 74 79 84 90 95 100 

21 66 68 69 71 66 66 67 66 67 70 70 70 70 71 71 77 83 88 94 100 

22 65 66 66 63 63 64 64 64 65 68 68 68 68 69 71 77 83 88 94 100 

23 62 63 59 60 62 62 63 63 64 65 65 67 67 69 70 76 82 88 94 100 

24 60 56 56 59 59 60 61 61 61 64 64 64 66 67 70 76 82 88 94 100 

25 52 53 55 56 58 58 60 60 60 63 62 63 64 67 69 75 81 88 94 100 

26 51 52 55 56 58 58 57 61 61 62 63 64 66 69 66 73 80 86 93 100 

27 51 52 55 57 58 60 61 61 60 63 63 64 67 66 67 74 80 87 93 100 

28 49 51 56 58 60 60 61 62 62 63 64 66 65 66 68 74 81 87 94 100 

29 49 51 56 58 60 61 62 62 62 64 64 62 66 67 70 76 82 88 94 100 

30 49 50 56 58 60 60 62 63 63 64 62 63 67 68 71 77 83 88 94 100 

31 47 50 56 58 60 62 63 64 64 62 63 66 68 70 72 78 83 89 94 100 

32 46 49 56 59 60 62 63 66 62 63 66 67 70 72 73 78 84 89 95 100 

33 43 49 56 59 62 63 64 62 65 66 67 70 72 73 75 80 85 90 95 100 

34 42 47 56 60 62 63 61 63 66 67 70 71 73 75 76 81 86 90 95 100 

35 40 47 56 60 63 61 62 65 67 68 71 73 74 76 76 81 86 90 95 100 

36 38 42 56 60 59 61 63 65 67 68 70 72 74 76 77 82 86 91 95 100 

37 38 45 56 57 61 62 63 65 67 68 70 72 74 76 76 81 86 90 95 100 

38 37 44 53 58 61 62 65 66 67 69 69 73 75 76 77 82 86 91 95 100 

39 37 41 53 58 62 63 65 65 66 68 69 72 74 76 76 81 86 90 95 100 

40 34 40 53 58 62 63 65 65 66 68 68 71 75 76 77 82 86 91 95 100 

41 34 41 53 58 62 63 65 64 64 66 68 70 74 76 77 82 86 91 95 100 

42 34 43 53 58 61 62 63 63 63 64 66 69 72 75 77 82 86 91 95 100 

43 34 43 54 59 60 61 63 62 62 64 66 67 72 74 77 82 86 91 95 100 

44 34 44 54 58 59 60 61 60 61 62 64 67 71 74 77 82 86 91 95 100 

45 34 45 53 58 59 60 60 60 59 60 63 66 71 74 77 82 86 91 95 100 

46 31 43 52 56 57 58 59 59 59 60 63 67 71 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

47 32 42 50 53 55 56 57 58 59 60 65 68 71 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

48 32 41 47 52 54 56 57 57 57 61 65 68 72 73 74 79 84 90 95 100 

49 30 40 46 49 52 54 55 56 57 61 66 69 72 73 74 79 84 90 95 100 

50 30 38 44 47 51 53 54 56 57 61 66 71 72 73 75 80 85 90 95 100 

51 28 37 42 46 49 53 54 56 57 61 66 71 72 73 75 80 85 90 95 100 

52 28 35 41 45 49 51 54 56 57 61 66 71 72 74 75 80 85 90 100 100 

53 27 35 39 44 48 51 53 55 57 61 67 71 74 75 76 81 86 100 100 100 

54 27 33 38 44 48 50 53 55 57 61 67 72 74 75 76 81 100 100 100 100 

55 25 32 37 43 47 50 53 55 57 61 68 72 74 75 78 100 100 100 100 100 

56 25 32 37 43 47 49 51 54 56 61 67 70 73 74 100 100 100 100 100 100 

57 24 31 38 43 47 49 51 54 56 59 66 69 72 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

58 24 31 38 43 48 48 50 53 56 59 64 67 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

59 23 30 39 43 48 48 51 53 55 58 63 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

60 23 30 39 43 48 47 50 52 53 57 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

61 23 30 39 43 49 49 50 52 53 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

62 23 30 39 44 49 49 51 52 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

63 22 30 39 45 50 50 52 75 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

64 22 30 39 45 50 51 75 75 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

65 22 30 39 45 50 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

66 22 30 39 45 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

67 22 30 39 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

68 23 32 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

69 23 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

70 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

71 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 407 

Male, Aggregate 

 Issue                                                                                     Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

72 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

73 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

74 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

75 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

76 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

77 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

78 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

79 48 52 55 60 60 65 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

80 48 52 55 60 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

81 48 52 55 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

82 48 52 55 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

83 48 52 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

84 48 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

85+ 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

 
Male, Non-Smoker 

Issue                                                                                     Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

0-15 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

16 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

17 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

18 93 95 96 98 99 100 100 90 92 92 92 92 95 95 96 97 98 98 99 100 

19 80 81 83 86 87 87 79 79 79 81 81 82 83 83 86 89 92 94 97 100 

20 65 68 69 72 74 69 69 67 69 70 71 71 72 72 75 80 85 90 95 100 

21 63 66 68 71 66 66 67 66 67 70 70 70 71 71 73 78 84 89 95 100 

22 62 65 66 62 63 64 64 64 67 68 68 68 70 70 73 78 84 89 95 100 

23 60 62 58 60 62 62 63 63 64 67 68 68 67 69 71 77 83 88 94 100 

24 59 55 56 58 59 60 61 61 63 65 67 66 66 69 71 77 83 88 94 100 

25 52 53 55 56 58 58 60 60 61 64 64 64 64 67 70 76 82 88 94 100 

26 51 53 55 56 58 60 61 61 61 63 64 64 66 69 67 74 80 87 93 100 

27 51 52 55 58 60 60 61 61 62 63 64 66 67 66 67 74 80 87 93 100 

28 49 52 57 58 60 61 63 62 62 64 66 66 63 66 68 74 81 87 94 100 

29 49 51 57 60 61 61 62 62 63 64 66 63 65 67 68 74 81 87 94 100 

30 49 51 57 60 61 62 63 63 63 64 62 63 66 68 70 76 82 88 94 100 

31 47 50 57 60 60 62 63 64 64 62 63 65 67 70 71 77 83 88 94 100 

32 46 50 57 60 62 63 64 64 62 63 65 66 68 71 72 78 83 89 94 100 

33 45 49 56 60 62 63 64 62 63 65 66 68 71 73 74 79 84 90 95 100 

34 43 48 56 62 63 64 62 62 65 66 67 70 72 74 74 79 84 90 95 100 

35 41 47 56 62 63 61 62 63 66 67 68 70 72 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

36 40 47 56 62 59 61 62 63 66 67 68 70 72 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

37 38 45 56 58 59 61 62 63 66 67 67 69 71 73 74 79 84 90 95 100 

38 38 45 53 58 61 62 63 65 65 67 68 70 72 74 73 78 84 89 95 100 

39 37 41 53 58 61 62 63 64 65 67 68 70 71 73 73 78 84 89 95 100 

40 34 41 53 58 61 62 63 64 64 66 67 69 71 73 72 78 83 89 94 100 

41 34 41 53 58 61 61 62 62 63 65 65 67 69 71 71 77 83 88 94 100 

42 34 43 53 58 60 61 62 61 61 63 64 66 67 69 71 77 83 88 94 100 

43 32 43 53 58 60 61 60 60 60 60 62 64 66 68 69 75 81 88 94 100 

44 32 44 52 57 59 60 60 59 59 58 60 62 65 67 69 75 81 88 94 100 

45 32 44 52 57 59 60 59 57 57 57 59 61 63 66 68 74 81 87 94 100 

46 32 42 50 54 56 57 57 56 55 56 59 61 63 65 67 74 80 87 93 100 

47 30 40 48 52 54 55 55 54 54 55 59 61 62 63 66 73 80 86 93 100 

48 30 40 46 49 51 52 53 53 54 55 57 61 62 63 63 70 78 85 93 100 

49 29 39 43 48 50 51 50 51 53 54 57 61 61 62 62 70 77 85 92 100 

50 29 37 42 45 47 48 49 50 51 54 57 61 61 61 61 69 77 84 92 100 

51 27 35 40 43 45 47 48 50 51 53 57 60 61 61 62 70 77 85 92 100 

52 27 34 39 42 44 45 48 49 50 53 56 60 60 62 62 70 77 85 100 100 

53 25 31 37 41 44 45 47 49 50 51 56 59 61 61 62 70 77 100 100 100 

54 25 30 36 39 43 44 47 48 49 51 55 59 59 61 62 70 100 100 100 100 

55 24 29 35 38 42 43 45 48 49 50 56 58 59 61 62 100 100 100 100 100 

56 23 29 35 38 42 42 44 47 48 50 55 57 58 59 100 100 100 100 100 100 

57 23 28 35 38 42 42 43 45 47 49 53 55 56 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

58 22 28 33 37 41 41 43 45 45 47 51 53 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

59 22 26 33 37 41 41 42 44 44 46 50 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

60 20 26 33 37 41 40 41 42 42 45 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

61 20 26 33 37 41 40 41 42 42 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 408 

Male, Non-Smoker 

Issue                                                                                     Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

62 19 25 32 38 40 40 41 42 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

63 19 25 33 36 40 40 41 75 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

64 18 24 32 36 39 40 75 75 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

65 18 24 32 36 39 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

66 18 24 32 36 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

67 18 24 32 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

68 18 24 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

69 18 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

70 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

71 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

72 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

73 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

74 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

75 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

76 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

77 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

78 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

79 48 52 55 60 60 65 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

80 48 52 55 60 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

81 48 52 55 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

82 48 52 55 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

83 48 52 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

84 48 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

85+ 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

 

Male, Smoker 

Issue                                                                                        Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

0-15 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

16 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

17 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

18 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

19 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

20 98 100 100 100 100 100 100 99 99 99 100 99 99 99 100 100 100 100 100 100 

21 95 98 99 100 95 96 96 95 96 97 97 96 96 96 96 97 98 98 99 100 

22 92 95 96 90 90 93 93 92 93 95 95 93 93 92 93 94 96 97 99 100 

23 90 92 85 88 88 89 89 89 90 90 90 90 89 90 92 94 95 97 98 100 

24 87 81 82 85 84 86 88 86 86 88 88 86 86 88 89 91 93 96 98 100 

25 77 78 79 82 81 83 83 82 83 85 84 84 84 85 86 89 92 94 97 100 

26 75 77 79 82 82 83 83 82 83 84 84 84 84 85 81 85 89 92 96 100 

27 73 75 78 82 82 83 83 82 82 82 82 84 84 80 81 85 89 92 96 100 

28 71 73 79 82 81 82 83 81 81 82 82 82 80 80 81 85 89 92 96 100 

29 69 72 78 81 81 82 82 81 81 81 81 77 80 80 81 85 89 92 96 100 

30 68 71 78 81 81 81 82 81 81 81 76 77 80 80 81 85 89 92 96 100 

31 65 70 77 81 79 81 82 81 81 76 77 79 81 81 83 86 90 93 97 100 

32 63 67 77 78 79 81 81 81 76 77 77 80 83 83 85 88 91 94 97 100 

33 60 65 74 78 79 79 81 76 77 77 79 80 83 85 85 88 91 94 97 100 

34 57 62 74 77 79 79 75 76 77 79 79 81 83 85 87 90 92 95 97 100 

35 53 60 73 77 79 75 75 76 77 79 80 82 84 86 88 90 93 95 98 100 

36 52 59 71 75 74 75 75 76 77 79 79 81 83 85 87 90 92 95 97 100 

37 49 58 70 71 74 74 75 76 77 78 79 81 84 86 86 89 92 94 97 100 

38 48 55 66 70 72 74 74 75 76 78 79 81 83 85 87 90 92 95 97 100 

39 45 50 65 70 72 72 74 74 75 77 79 81 84 86 86 89 92 94 97 100 

40 41 49 63 68 71 72 73 74 74 76 78 80 83 85 86 89 92 94 97 100 

41 40 49 63 68 71 72 72 72 73 75 76 78 81 84 85 88 91 94 97 100 

42 40 49 62 68 70 71 71 71 71 73 75 76 81 83 85 88 91 94 97 100 

43 39 50 62 67 69 69 70 70 70 71 73 76 79 83 85 88 91 94 97 100 

44 39 50 60 66 68 69 68 69 69 69 71 74 79 81 85 88 91 94 97 100 

45 37 50 60 66 68 68 68 67 67 67 69 73 78 81 85 88 91 94 97 100 

46 37 48 58 63 65 67 66 66 66 67 71 74 78 81 84 87 90 94 97 100 

47 36 47 55 61 63 64 64 64 65 67 71 75 79 81 84 87 90 94 97 100 

48 35 46 53 58 60 62 63 63 65 67 72 75 79 81 83 86 90 93 97 100 

49 34 45 51 56 58 59 61 62 63 67 72 77 80 81 83 86 90 93 97 100 

50 34 43 49 53 55 57 60 61 63 67 73 78 80 81 81 85 89 92 96 100 

51 32 42 47 52 55 57 60 61 63 67 73 78 80 83 84 87 90 94 97 100 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 409 

Male, Smoker 

Issue                                                                                        Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

52 32 40 46 50 54 56 60 61 63 67 73 78 81 84 85 88 91 94 100 100 

53 30 37 44 49 54 56 59 61 65 67 74 79 83 85 87 90 92 100 100 100 

54 30 36 43 48 53 55 59 61 65 67 74 80 84 85 89 91 100 100 100 100 

55 29 35 42 47 53 55 59 61 65 67 75 80 84 86 90 100 100 100 100 100 

56 28 35 42 47 53 55 57 60 63 68 74 79 83 85 100 100 100 100 100 100 

57 28 35 42 47 53 54 57 60 64 67 74 78 81 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

58 26 33 43 48 54 54 56 59 63 67 73 78 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

59 26 33 43 48 54 53 57 59 63 66 73 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

60 25 33 43 48 54 53 56 58 62 66 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

61 25 33 43 49 55 55 57 59 63 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

62 25 33 43 50 56 56 58 61 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

63 24 33 45 51 56 56 59 75 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

64 24 34 45 51 57 57 75 75 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

65 24 34 45 52 57 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

66 24 35 45 53 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

67 25 35 45 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

68 25 36 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

69 27 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

70 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

71 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

72 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

73 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

74 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

75 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

76 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

77 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

78 48 52 55 60 60 65 70 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

79 48 52 55 60 60 65 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

80 48 52 55 60 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

81 48 52 55 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

82 48 52 55 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

83 48 52 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

84 48 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

85+ 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

 

Female, Aggregate 

Issue                                                                                       Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

0-15 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

16 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

17 99 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 93 95 96 97 97 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

18 83 83 84 84 84 84 86 78 78 79 82 84 85 88 88 90 93 95 98 100 

19 65 66 68 68 68 68 63 63 64 66 69 71 72 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

20 48 50 51 51 51 47 48 48 49 51 56 57 58 61 63 70 78 85 93 100 

21 47 48 50 51 47 47 48 49 51 53 57 60 61 64 64 71 78 86 93 100 

22 44 47 48 45 47 47 48 49 53 54 60 61 63 64 66 73 80 86 93 100 

23 42 45 44 45 47 47 49 51 53 54 61 64 64 67 69 75 81 88 94 100 

24 39 40 42 44 47 47 50 51 54 56 64 64 66 69 70 76 82 88 94 100 

25 34 38 41 44 47 47 50 53 56 57 64 67 69 71 73 78 84 89 95 100 

26 34 38 41 45 49 49 51 56 58 59 66 69 70 73 70 76 82 88 94 100 

27 34 38 41 47 50 51 54 57 59 60 69 70 73 70 71 77 83 88 94 100 

28 34 37 43 47 53 53 56 59 62 63 70 73 70 72 74 79 84 90 95 100 

29 34 38 43 49 54 56 58 60 63 64 73 70 72 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

30 35 38 43 50 56 56 59 63 66 67 70 71 74 75 76 81 86 90 95 100 

31 35 38 43 51 56 58 60 64 67 65 71 72 74 75 76 81 86 90 95 100 

32 35 39 45 51 56 59 63 66 65 66 72 72 75 76 76 81 86 90 95 100 

33 36 39 44 52 58 62 64 65 66 67 72 74 75 76 76 81 86 90 95 100 

34 36 40 45 52 58 63 63 66 67 68 74 74 76 76 76 81 86 90 95 100 

35 36 40 45 53 59 61 65 67 68 70 75 74 75 76 75 80 85 90 95 100 

36 36 40 45 53 55 62 65 67 68 70 74 74 74 75 75 80 85 90 95 100 

37 36 41 47 52 57 62 65 67 68 69 72 72 73 75 74 79 84 90 95 100 

38 34 41 44 52 57 63 66 68 69 70 72 71 72 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

39 34 40 45 53 58 63 66 68 69 69 70 70 70 73 74 79 84 90 95 100 

40 32 40 45 53 58 65 65 67 68 69 70 69 70 73 73 78 84 89 95 100 

41 32 40 45 53 57 63 64 67 68 68 69 69 69 73 74 79 84 90 95 100 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 410 

Female, Aggregate 

Issue                                                                                       Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

42 32 40 45 52 56 61 63 65 66 68 69 68 70 74 75 80 85 90 95 100 

43 31 39 45 51 55 59 61 65 65 66 68 69 69 74 77 82 86 91 95 100 

44 31 39 45 50 54 58 61 63 64 66 67 68 71 75 78 82 87 91 96 100 

45 31 38 44 49 53 56 59 62 63 65 67 68 71 77 79 83 87 92 96 100 

46 29 37 43 48 51 54 59 62 63 65 67 69 71 77 78 82 87 91 96 100 

47 28 35 41 46 49 54 57 61 62 66 68 69 71 77 77 82 86 91 95 100 

48 28 35 41 44 49 52 57 61 63 66 68 71 72 75 77 82 86 91 95 100 

49 26 34 39 43 47 52 55 61 63 67 69 71 72 75 75 80 85 90 95 100 

50 25 32 38 41 46 50 55 61 63 67 69 72 72 75 74 79 84 90 95 100 

51 25 32 38 41 45 50 55 61 63 66 68 69 71 74 74 79 84 90 95 100 

52 23 30 36 41 45 51 56 61 62 65 66 68 68 73 73 78 84 89 100 100 

53 23 30 36 41 47 51 56 61 62 63 65 66 68 72 72 78 83 100 100 100 

54 22 29 35 41 47 53 57 61 61 62 62 66 66 69 70 76 100 100 100 100 

55 22 29 35 41 47 53 57 61 61 61 62 63 64 68 69 100 100 100 100 100 

56 22 29 35 41 45 51 56 59 60 61 62 63 64 67 100 100 100 100 100 100 

57 22 29 35 41 45 50 54 56 58 59 61 62 63 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

58 22 30 36 41 44 49 53 56 57 57 61 62 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

59 22 30 36 41 44 48 51 53 55 56 59 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

60 22 30 36 41 43 47 50 51 53 55 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

61 22 29 35 39 42 46 49 50 52 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

62 20 28 33 39 41 45 47 49 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

63 20 28 33 38 41 44 46 80 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

64 19 27 32 36 40 42 80 80 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

65 19 25 30 35 39 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

66 19 25 30 35 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

67 19 25 30 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

68 19 25 68 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

69 19 64 68 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

70 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

71 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

72 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

73 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

74 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

75 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

76 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

77 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

78 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

79 60 60 64 68 68 72 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

80 60 60 64 68 68 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

81 60 60 64 68 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

82 60 60 64 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

83 60 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

84 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

85+ 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

 

Female, Non-Smoker 

Issue                                                                                      Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

0-15 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

16 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

17 96 98 98 98 98 99 99 99 92 92 93 95 95 97 99 99 99 100 100 100 

18 78 80 80 80 80 81 81 74 75 75 78 79 82 83 85 88 91 94 97 100 

19 60 62 63 63 63 65 59 59 60 60 64 67 67 70 72 78 83 89 94 100 

20 42 44 45 45 45 42 42 42 45 45 50 51 53 56 58 66 75 83 92 100 

21 41 42 44 45 41 42 42 44 47 47 51 53 54 57 59 67 75 84 92 100 

22 39 41 44 41 41 42 44 45 49 49 54 56 57 58 60 68 76 84 92 100 

23 38 41 38 40 41 42 44 46 49 50 56 57 58 60 62 70 77 85 92 100 

24 36 36 38 40 41 42 46 47 50 51 58 59 60 62 63 70 78 85 93 100 

25 32 34 37 40 41 43 46 49 51 53 59 60 62 63 64 71 78 86 93 100 

26 32 34 37 41 43 45 47 50 53 53 60 62 63 64 62 70 77 85 92 100 

27 32 34 38 43 46 47 49 51 53 55 62 63 64 62 62 70 77 85 92 100 

28 30 34 39 43 47 49 51 53 56 58 63 63 61 62 63 70 78 85 93 100 

29 30 35 40 45 50 51 52 55 58 59 64 61 62 63 63 70 78 85 93 100 

30 31 35 40 46 51 52 53 56 59 60 62 62 63 65 65 72 79 86 93 100 

31 31 35 40 46 51 53 55 58 60 58 62 62 63 65 65 72 79 86 93 100 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 411 

Female, Non-Smoker 

Issue                                                                                      Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

32 32 35 40 45 51 53 56 59 57 58 62 63 63 65 64 71 78 86 93 100 

33 32 36 41 47 52 55 58 55 58 59 63 63 65 65 65 72 79 86 93 100 

34 33 36 41 47 52 55 55 57 58 59 63 65 64 65 64 71 78 86 93 100 

35 33 36 41 47 52 53 57 58 59 61 63 64 64 64 64 71 78 86 93 100 

36 33 36 41 47 49 53 57 58 59 61 63 64 63 64 63 70 78 85 93 100 

37 32 36 41 44 49 53 57 58 59 60 62 62 61 62 63 70 78 85 93 100 

38 32 37 39 45 50 54 57 58 60 60 61 61 61 62 61 69 77 84 92 100 

39 30 35 39 45 50 54 57 58 60 59 60 60 59 60 61 69 77 84 92 100 

40 28 35 39 45 50 54 56 57 59 59 60 59 59 59 60 68 76 84 92 100 

41 28 35 39 45 49 52 55 55 58 57 58 59 58 59 60 68 76 84 92 100 

42 27 35 39 44 49 52 54 55 56 57 57 57 58 60 61 69 77 84 92 100 

43 27 34 39 44 47 50 53 53 55 55 56 57 56 60 61 69 77 84 92 100 

44 26 34 38 42 47 50 52 53 54 55 55 55 56 61 62 70 77 85 92 100 

45 26 33 38 42 45 48 51 51 52 53 54 55 56 61 62 70 77 85 92 100 

46 24 32 37 40 43 47 49 51 52 53 54 55 56 60 61 69 77 84 92 100 

47 24 30 35 39 42 45 47 49 51 53 54 55 56 59 60 68 76 84 92 100 

48 23 30 35 37 40 44 47 49 50 53 54 55 55 59 57 66 74 83 91 100 

49 23 29 33 35 39 42 45 48 50 53 54 55 55 57 56 65 74 82 91 100 

50 21 27 32 34 37 41 44 48 50 53 54 55 55 56 55 64 73 82 91 100 

51 21 26 30 34 37 41 44 48 49 51 53 53 54 55 55 64 73 82 91 100 

52 20 25 30 33 37 41 44 47 48 50 50 51 51 55 53 62 72 81 100 100 

53 19 24 29 32 37 41 43 47 48 48 49 49 51 52 52 62 71 100 100 100 

54 18 24 29 32 37 41 43 45 47 47 47 49 49 51 51 61 100 100 100 100 

55 18 23 28 32 37 41 43 45 45 45 46 46 47 50 50 100 100 100 100 100 

56 18 23 28 32 36 39 42 44 44 45 46 46 46 49 100 100 100 100 100 100 

57 18 23 28 31 35 38 41 42 44 44 45 45 46 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

58 17 23 26 31 35 36 38 41 41 42 45 45 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

59 17 23 26 30 33 35 38 39 40 41 44 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

60 17 23 26 30 32 34 36 38 39 40 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

61 17 22 25 29 32 33 35 36 38 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

62 16 22 25 28 30 32 34 35 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

63 16 20 24 28 30 32 34 80 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

64 14 21 24 27 29 30 80 80 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

65 15 19 23 25 28 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

66 15 19 23 25 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

67 15 19 22 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

68 13 18 68 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

69 13 64 68 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

70 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

71 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

72 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

73 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

74 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

75 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

76 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

77 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

78 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

79 60 60 64 68 68 72 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

80 60 60 64 68 68 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

81 60 60 64 68 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

82 60 60 64 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

83 60 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

84 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

85+ 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

 

Female, Smoker 

Issue                                                                                        Duration 

Age 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20+ 

0-15 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

16 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

17 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

18 99 100 100 100 100 100 100 95 96 97 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

19 87 89 92 92 92 92 84 84 86 86 92 93 95 96 99 99 99 100 100 100 

20 74 77 80 80 80 73 73 73 75 77 83 83 86 88 90 92 94 96 98 100 

21 71 74 78 78 71 71 73 74 77 79 85 86 88 89 90 92 94 96 98 100 



INSURANCE 
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Female, Smoker 

Issue                                                                                        Duration 

22 68 71 75 70 71 71 73 74 78 79 88 90 89 89 92 94 95 97 98 100 

23 65 69 67 70 70 70 73 77 79 81 89 90 90 92 92 94 95 97 98 100 

24 62 60 64 69 70 70 74 77 79 81 92 90 92 93 93 94 96 97 99 100 

25 53 58 63 67 69 70 74 78 81 82 92 93 93 95 95 96 97 98 99 100 

26 53 58 63 69 71 72 75 79 82 82 93 93 95 96 90 92 94 96 98 100 

27 52 56 63 70 74 74 78 81 82 84 93 95 95 90 90 92 94 96 98 100 

28 52 56 64 71 75 77 79 82 85 86 95 95 90 92 92 94 95 97 98 100 

29 51 56 64 71 78 78 81 84 86 88 95 90 90 92 92 94 95 97 98 100 

30 51 56 64 72 79 79 82 85 88 89 90 90 92 93 93 94 96 97 99 100 

31 51 56 64 72 78 81 84 84 88 84 90 90 92 93 93 94 96 97 99 100 

32 51 56 64 71 78 81 85 86 84 85 90 90 92 94 93 94 96 97 99 100 

33 51 57 62 71 78 82 85 83 84 85 90 92 93 93 93 94 96 97 99 100 

34 51 56 62 71 78 82 81 83 85 86 90 92 92 94 93 94 96 97 99 100 

35 51 56 62 71 78 79 83 84 85 86 90 91 91 93 93 94 96 97 99 100 

36 49 56 62 71 74 79 83 84 85 86 90 90 91 93 92 94 95 97 98 100 

37 48 55 62 67 74 79 83 84 85 86 89 90 89 92 91 93 95 96 98 100 

38 47 55 57 66 72 77 81 84 86 86 87 88 88 90 91 93 95 96 98 100 

39 45 50 57 66 72 77 81 83 85 86 86 87 86 89 90 92 94 96 98 100 

40 41 50 57 66 72 77 81 83 84 85 86 86 86 89 89 91 93 96 98 100 

41 40 50 57 65 71 76 79 81 83 84 85 86 85 89 90 92 94 96 98 100 

42 40 49 57 65 69 74 77 80 82 83 84 85 86 90 92 94 95 97 98 100 

43 39 49 55 63 69 73 76 78 80 82 83 84 85 92 93 94 96 97 99 100 

44 39 48 55 62 67 71 75 78 80 80 82 84 86 93 96 97 98 98 99 100 

45 37 47 55 61 65 70 73 76 78 80 81 84 86 94 97 98 98 99 99 100 

46 36 46 53 59 63 68 71 75 77 79 83 85 86 93 96 97 98 98 99 100 

47 34 44 51 57 62 66 70 75 77 80 83 85 86 93 94 95 96 98 99 100 

48 34 44 50 54 60 64 69 74 77 80 84 86 87 92 92 94 95 97 98 100 

49 33 42 48 53 58 63 68 74 77 81 84 86 87 92 91 93 95 96 98 100 

50 31 41 46 51 57 61 67 74 77 81 85 87 87 91 90 92 94 96 98 100 

51 30 39 45 51 56 61 67 74 75 80 83 85 85 90 90 92 94 96 98 100 

52 29 38 45 50 56 62 68 74 75 79 81 83 84 90 90 92 94 96 100 100 

53 28 37 43 49 57 62 68 73 74 77 79 81 83 89 89 91 93 100 100 100 

54 28 36 43 49 57 63 69 73 74 75 78 80 81 87 89 91 100 100 100 100 

55 26 35 42 49 57 63 69 73 73 74 76 78 79 86 87 100 100 100 100 100 

56 26 35 42 49 56 62 67 71 72 74 76 78 79 85 100 100 100 100 100 100 

57 26 35 42 49 55 61 66 69 72 73 76 78 79 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

58 28 36 43 49 55 59 63 68 69 72 76 78 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

59 28 36 43 49 54 57 63 67 68 70 76 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

60 28 36 43 49 53 57 61 64 67 69 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

61 26 35 42 48 52 56 59 63 66 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

62 26 33 41 47 51 55 58 62 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

63 25 33 41 46 51 55 57 80 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

64 25 33 40 45 50 53 80 80 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

65 24 32 39 44 49 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

66 24 32 39 44 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

67 24 32 39 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

68 24 32 68 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

69 24 64 68 72 72 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

70 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

71 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

72 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

73 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

74 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

75 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

76 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 80 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

77 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

78 60 60 64 68 68 72 75 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

79 60 60 64 68 68 72 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

80 60 60 64 68 68 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

81 60 60 64 68 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

82 60 60 64 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

83 60 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

84 60 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

85+ 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 

NOTES: 

Legislative History (all references are to the Proceedings of the NAIC). 
1994 Proc. 4th Quarter 17, 26, 653, 1098, 1126-1159 (adopted). 
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1998 Proc. 4th Quarter 15-16, 17, 608, 978, 1126-1148 (amended and reprinted). 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2556 (October 

2005). 

§10917. Effective Date 

A. The proposed effective date for this regulation is 

November 1, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2566 (October 

2005). 

Chapter 111. Regulation 

86―Dependent Coverage of Newborn 

Children in the Group and Individual 

Market 

§11101. Authority 

A. This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the commissioner under the provisions of R.S. 

49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 22:3 and 

22:250.2(E)(2)(b) and (c), and R.S. 22:250.4.F, and 

22:250.11.E and 22:250.15.A, regarding the coverage of a 

newborn child as a dependent in the group and individual 

health insurance market and to provide for related matters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2259 (September 

2005). 

§11103. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish 

reasonable requirements and standards for the processing of 

such coverage by health insurance issuers that assures 

compliance with state requirements under Title 22 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. More 

specifically, this regulation is necessary to implement and 

enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 

R.S. 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E and 22:250.15.A of Part 

VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2260 (September 

2005). 

§11105. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of this regulation shall apply to health 

insurance issuers, including health maintenance 

organizations, as required pursuant to R.S. 22:2001 et seq., 

of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2260 (September 

2005). 

§11107. Definitions 

A. As used in this regulation, these terms shall have the 

following meaning. 

Cancellation for Nonpayment of Premium―the 

cancellation of coverage for a newborn child who was added 

as a dependent due to the nonpayment of the applicable 

premium adjustment for the additional coverage for the 

newborn child within the time frames established by law or 

in this regulation. 

Effective Date of Birth―the date of the moment of live 

birth of a newborn child. 

Eligibility Provisions―a newborn child who meets the 

requirements set forth in the State Plan Medical Assistance 

under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

Health Care Facility―a facility or institution providing 

health care services including, but not limited to, a hospital 

(specifically including a neonatal special care unit) or other 

licensed inpatient center, ambulatory surgical or treatment 

center, diagnostic, laboratory, or imaging center, or 

rehabilitation or other therapeutic health setting. 

Health Care Provider―a physician or other health care 

practitioner licensed, certified or registered to perform 

specified health care services consistent with state law. 

Health Insurance Issuer―an insurance company, 

including a health maintenance organization as defined and 

licensed to engage in the business of insurance under Part 

XII of Chapter 2 of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes, unless preempted as a qualified employee benefit 

plan under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 

1974. 

Newborn Child―an infant from the time of birth 

through and until such time as the infant is discharged from 

a health care facility to his or her home. 

Non-Qualifying Newborn Child―a newborn child who 

does not meet the eligibility requirements of the State Plan 

Medical Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security 

Act. 

Notice of Cancellation―the written notice sent from the 

health insurance issuer to the Secretary of the Department of 
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Health and Hospitals by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, with regard to the cancellation of coverage for a 

newborn child. This notice of cancellation may, as a 

courtesy, also be sent via electronic means to the Secretary 

of the Department of Health and Hospitals; however, such 

electronic notice shall not satisfy the notice requirement set 

forth in the enabling statute that requires the notice of 

cancellation be sent by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, to the Secretary of the Department of Health and 

Hospitals. 

Qualifying Newborn Child―a newborn child who meets 

the eligibility provisions of the State Plan Medical 

Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2260 (September 

2005). 

§11109. Enrollment Notification Procedures for a 

Qualifying Newborn Child 

A. Upon notification of the birth of a newborn child who 

is potentially eligible under Title XIX of the Social Security 

Act, the health insurance issuer shall be required to: 

1. verify that dependant coverage is available for the 

newborn child or make a determination that no coverage is 

available for the newborn child; 

2. make a determination of the benefit limits with 

regard to the newborn child; 

3. make a determination of any additional premium, if 

applicable, that may be due in order to provide dependent 

coverage for the newborn child; and 

4. designate a point of contact (which may be a 

specific position), with telephone number and physical 

address, to represent the health insurance issuer to facilitate 

all matters relative to the newborn child. 

B. Upon notification of the birth of a newborn child who 

is potentially eligible under Title XIX of the Social Security 

Act, the health insurance issuer shall be required to notify 

the following persons: 

1. with regard to an individual policy, the 

policyholder; 

2. with regard to a group policy, both the employer 

and the employee; 

3. with regard to either an individual policy or a group 

policy, the health care facility that rendered any medical 

service to the newborn child from the moment of birth until 

such time as the infant is discharged from said health care 

facility to his or her home. 

C. The notification that the health insurance issuer is 

required to send to the persons referred to in Subsection B 

above shall include the following information: 

1. verification as to whether the health plan provides 

coverage under which the newborn child could be enrolled 

as a dependent or, if such coverage is not available under the 

health care plan, an explanation of why such coverage is not 

available; 

2. the additional amount of premium due, if any, in 

order to provide dependent coverage for the newborn child; 

3. designate a point of contact (which may be a 

specific position), with telephone number and physical 

address, to represent the health insurance issuer to facilitate 

all matters relative to the newborn child; and 

4. statement to the policyholder under an individual 

policy or the employee and employer under a group plan that 

additional information is needed by the health insurance 

issuer. A health insurance issuer may request that the 

signature of the policyholder of an individual policy or 

employee and employer under a group plan be on the 

enrollment form. However, the failure of the policyholder or 

employee or employer, as applicable, to place a signature on 

the enrollment form shall not be a requirement for the 

enrollment of the newborn child, as the newborn child is 

enrolled as a matter of law. 

D. The health insurance issuer shall be required to 

provide 90 days written notice to the Secretary of the 

Department of Health and Hospitals prior to the cancellation 

of health coverage for a potential qualifying newborn child. 

This notice shall provide the following documents and/or 

information: 

1. the group identification/policy number or the 

individual identification/policy number, as applicable, 

including, but not limited to, the major medical 

identification number and the prescription drug 

identification number; 

2. summary of benefits, including, but not limited to, 

an itemization of all covered benefits and applicable co-

payments and deductibles; 

3. amount of additional premium due in order to 

provide dependent coverage for the newborn child, 

including, but not limited to, the total premium (month or 

portion of a month) due to effectuate coverage for the 

newborn child from the date of birth; 

4. the name(s) of the member subscriber of the 

newborn child, including, but not limited to, the name(s) of 

any and all other dependent(s) and the effective date of 

coverage for each person(s) named as a dependent; 

5. designate a point of contact (which may be a 

specific position), with telephone number and physical 

address, to represent the health insurance issuer to facilitate 

all matters relative to the newborn child. 

E. Additionally, no later than three days after the mailing 

of the written notice to the Secretary of the Department of 

Health and Hospitals referred to in Subsection D above, the 

health insurance issuer shall provide the same documents 

and/or information to any and all health care facilities and 

any and all health care providers who, prior to or on the date 

of the notice of cancellation, have either: 

1. submitted a claim to the health insurance issuer for 
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health care services rendered to the newborn child; or 

2. provided notice to the health insurance issuer that it 

is rendering or has rendered health care services to the 

newborn child. 

F. The Secretary of the Department of Health and 

Hospitals shall have 90 days, commencing the day after the 

secretary receives the written notice, via certified mail, 

return receipt requested, from the health insurance issuer as 

provided in Subsection D above, to pay the applicable 

additional premium attributable to the newborn child to 

retain the newborn child as a covered dependent under the 

policy of health insurance. 

G. If that portion of the applicable additional premium 

attributable to the newborn child being retained as a covered 

dependent under the policy of health insurance remains 

unpaid after the expiration of the 90 day written notice time 

period referred to in Subsection E above to the Secretary of 

Department of Health and Hospitals, the health insurance 

issuer may thereafter cancel the dependent coverage for the 

newborn child effective as of the date of birth of the 

newborn child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2260 (September 

2005). 

§11111. Procedures for a Non-Qualifying Newborn Child 

A. The health insurance issuer shall be required to 

comply with the provisions of the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 with regard to the 

enrollment procedures relative to dependent coverage for a 

non-qualifying newborn child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2261 (September 

2005). 

§11113. Timely Payment of Claims 

A. In cases where the time for the payment of a claim 

may be effected by the requirements of R.S. 22:250.4 et seq., 

such requirements shall be considered "just and reasonable 

grounds" for a health insurance issuer to delay in the 

payment of a claim pursuant to R.S. 22:250.31 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2261 (September 

2005). 

§11115. Sanctions 

A. A health insurance issuer that does not comply with 

any of the time limits for action or notice set forth in this 

regulation, or who does not provide all of the information 

required in this regulation, shall be subject to the sanctions 

set forth in R.S. 22:1457. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2261 (September 

2005). 

§11117. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of this regulation to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of this 

regulation and the application to any persons or 

circumstances are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2262 (September 

2005). 

§11119. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall be effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to implement and enforce the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.2.E.(2)(b) and (c), and 22:250.4.F, and 22:250.11.E, and 

22:250.15.A of Part VI-C of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2262 (September 

2005). 

Chapter 113. Regulation 88—

Standardization of Health Benefits 

and Compliance Requirements for 

LaChoice 

§11301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to implement the statutory requirements in 

establishing pilot health insurance programs to increase 

access to affordable health insurance for small employers 

and for individuals pursuant to R.S. 22:244 et seq., of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950; and 

2. to carry out the intent of the Legislature and assure 

full compliance with the applicable statutory provisions by 

establishing procedures for the standardization of health 
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benefits and compliance requirements. This program and the 

applicable statutory authority relating thereto shall be 

referred to hereinafter as "LaChoice." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2948 (November 

2005). 

§11303. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of this regulation shall apply to health 

insurance issuers that choose to offer health insurance under 

the provisions of LaChoice as required pursuant to R.S. 

22:244 et seq., of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2948 (November 

2005). 

§11305. Eligibility, Benefits and Underwriting Criteria 

A. In order to participate in LaChoice, employers must 

not have provided group health insurance coverage to their 

employees for at least six months from the date the last 

policy of insurance was terminated or nonrenewed. 

B. The commissioner of insurance shall have the 

authority via regulation to alter the above time period in 

accordance with R.S. 22:246(1). 

C. In order to participate in LaChoice, a health insurance 

issuer shall be required to file all proposed health insurance 

policy forms with the Department of Insurance for review 

and approval. Such policies shall be in compliance with 

Regulation 78. A statement of compliance is not required. 

D. Policies issued pursuant to the provisions of LaChoice 

shall be exempted from all state benefit mandates, including 

but not limited to those mandates contained in R.S. 

22:213.2.A, R.S.22:215.1.B, R.S.22:215.8, R.S. 22:215.10, 

R.S. 22:215.11.A, R.S. 22:215.11.B, R.S. 22:215.14, R.S. 

22:215.15, R.S. 22:215.16, R.S. 22:215.20, R.S. 22:215.21, 

R.S. 22:215.22, R.S. 22:215.24, R.S. 22:228.7, R.S. 

22:230.4, R.S. 22:669, R.S. 22:2004.1 and R.S. 22:2004.2. 

E. All such health insurance coverage shall meet the 

requirements of Part VI-C of Title 22 except as specifically 

enumerated by statute or regulation. Any waiting period 

imposed shall be in compliance with Part VI-C of Title 22. 

F. Policies issued pursuant to the provisions of LaChoice 

shall be exempted from R.S. 22:250.4(F)(1), (2) and (3), and 

R.S. 22:250.15(A)(2), (3), (4) and (5) unless dependent 

coverage is offered pursuant to LaChoice policies. If 

dependent coverage is offered, the provisions of R.S. 

22:250.4(F)(1), (2) and (3), and R.S. 22:250.15(A)(2), (3), 

(4) and (5) shall apply to LaChoice policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2948 (November 

2005). 

§11307. Participation Requirement 

A. The health insurance issuer shall provide to the 

Department of Health and Hospitals through electronic 

means via a current ANSI X12N 834 transaction format 

pursuant to the HIPAA transactions and code sets 

requirements, an initial enrollment roster for each employer 

group listing employees who are to be covered by the health 

insurance issuer. 

B. The initial enrollment roster for each employer group 

will include all employees who are to be covered by the 

health insurance issuer regardless of whether or not the 

employee is eligible for the LaChoice premium subsidy 

pursuant to §11311. 

C. The health insurance issuer shall provide monthly 

employee update transactions to the Department of Health 

and Hospitals using the 834 transaction format to indicate 

changes in insurance coverage for employees eligible for the 

LaChoice premium subsidy pursuant to §11311. Such 

changes shall include but not be limited to: changes in 

coverage, terminations from coverage and changes to 

employee demographics. 

D. If an employee is to be covered in an employer group 

by the health insurance issuer and the employee was not 

included in the initial enrollment roster, the health insurance 

issuer shall include the employee in a monthly employee 

update transaction regardless of whether or not the employee 

is eligible for the LaChoice premium subsidy pursuant to 

§11311. 

E. The health insurance issuer shall provide a monthly 

report to the Department of Insurance indicating the count of 

all insured or members covered under LaChoice for each 

employer group. Such list shall include the following 

categories: 

1. a list of current employers enrolled in the program; 

2. the number of insured or members who are 

receiving the subsidy pursuant to §11311; 

3. the number of insured or members who are not 

receiving the subsidy pursuant to §11311. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2948 (November 

2005). 

§11309. Underwriting Criteria for Health Insurance 

Issuer 

A. Underwriting criteria shall comply with the provisions 

in Title 22 and shall be subject to actuarial review and 

approval by the Department of Insurance, pursuant to R.S. 

22:246(6). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
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22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2949 (November 

2005). 

§11311. Criteria for Public Subsidy 

A. To be eligible for the LaChoice premium subsidy, an 

employee of a qualified employer that opts to provide 

LaChoice must make application and have household 

income levels at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty 

level as established by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and 

Accountability (HIFA) Demonstration Project. Eligibility for 

the subsidy shall be determined by the Medicaid agency. 

Implementation of this provision shall be contingent upon 

the approval of the HIFA demonstration project by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2949 (November 

2005). 

§11313. Enforcement Provisions 

A. The commissioner of insurance shall have the 

authority to disapprove a policy submitted pursuant to 

LaChoice in accordance with R.S. 22:621 that fails to 

comply with the provisions of any statute or regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2949 (November 

2005). 

§11315. Financial Statement Requirements 

A. The following requirement is applicable only to 

health insurance issuers that offer LaChoice policies. Such 

health insurance issuers shall be required to report LaChoice 

business in a supplemental worksheet to the annual 

statement in a format to be provided by the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2949 (November 

2005). 

§11317. Discontinuation of Product Type 

A. When a health insurer issuer decides to discontinue 

offering policies pursuant to the LaChoice program, R.S. 

22:250.7(C)(1)(a),(b),(c) and (d) shall be applicable in the 

discontinuation of such product. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2949 (November 

2005). 

§11319. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of this regulation to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of this 

regulation and the application to any persons or 

circumstance are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:245(C)(3) to implement and enforce the following 

provisions: R.S. 22:244, 22:245, and 22:246, Part VI-B. of Chapter 

One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2949 (November 

2005). 

Chapter 115. Regulation 

90―Payment of Pharmacy and 

Pharmacist Claims 

§11501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 90 is to implement R.S. 

22:250.51-62 relative to the making of the prompt and 

correct payment for prescription drugs, other products and 

supplies, and pharmacist services covered under insurance or 

other contracts that provide for pharmacy benefits. It is the 

intent of the legislature that payments for covered 

prescription drugs, other products and supplies, and 

pharmacist services provided by pharmacists and pharmacies 

are paid timely. It is also the intent of the legislature that the 

provisions of this Part shall be interpreted to achieve these 

ends. Additionally, these statutory provisions establish the 

intent of the legislature to assure that pharmacists and 

pharmacies who submit claims for covered prescription 

drugs, other products and supplies, and pharmacist services 

are paid timely and payments are based on calculations that 

reflect nationally recognized pricing references such as 

average wholesale price and maximum allowable cost. 

B. To carry out the intent of the legislature and assure 

full compliance with the applicable statutory provisions, this 

regulation sets forth the standards for payment of claims for 

prescription drugs, pharmaceutical products and pharmacists 

services on behalf of health insurance issuers including, 

health maintenance organizations, to pharmacies and 

pharmacists and supersedes current regulations on uniform 

claim forms. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1662 (August 2007). 
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§11503. Scope and Applicability 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided, the 

requirements of Regulation 90 apply to all health insurance 

issuers including health maintenance organizations that offer 

coverage in their insurance contracts for pharmacy services 

in accordance with the statutory requirements of Part VI-F of 

Chapter One of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 

1950, R.S. 22:250.51 et seq. Additionally, Regulation 90 

applies to all contracts between a pharmacist and/or, 

pharmacy and/or a health insurance issuer, its agent, or any 

other party responsible for reimbursement for prescription 

drugs, other products and supplies, and pharmacist services. 

Any and all contracts entered into after July 1, 2005 shall be 

required to be in compliance with R.S. 22:250.51 et seq. 

Additionally, Regulation 90 shall apply to all contracts in 

existence prior to July 1, 2005. Regulation 90 shall include 

but not be limited to those contracts that contain any 

automatic renewal provisions, renewal provisions that renew 

if not otherwise notified by a party, any provision that allows 

a party the opportunity to opt out of the contract, evergreen 

contracts, or rollover contracts and therefore these contracts 

shall be required to come into compliance. Regulation 90 

shall apply to all contracts as enumerated above as of the 

first renewal date, first opt out date, first rollover date or first 

annual anniversary on or after July 1, 2005. 

B. Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in any 

contract, evergreen contract, rollover contract or any 

agreement or contract that contains any automatic renewal 

provision, renewal provision that renews if not otherwise 

notified by a party or any provision that allows a party the 

opportunity to opt out of the contract, any and all contracts 

shall comply with Regulation 90 as of January 1, 2008. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1663 (August 2007). 

§11505. Definitions 

Agent―a person or entity designated by a health 

insurance issuer to act on behalf of, or in place of, a health 

insurance issuer for purposes of the payment and 

adjudication of claims for prescription drugs, other products 

and supplies, and pharmacist services. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance 

Covered Benefits―benefits available to a covered person 

under an insurance policy, benefit plan, or other contract for 

coverage of pharmacy benefits which also includes any 

covered prescription drugs, other products and supplies, and 

pharmacist services. The term shall not include prescription 

drug benefits offered through and regulated by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Covered Person―an insured, enrollee, member, or 

subscriber. In the case of a minor, the term includes an 

insured or legal guardian authorized to act in the best interest 

of such minor and therefore acts on behalf of the covered 

person. 

Date upon Which a Correctly Completed Uniform Claim 

Is Furnished―the date the non-electronic uniform claim 

form is received by the health insurance issuer, health 

maintenance organization, its agent or other party that makes 

payment directly to the pharmacy, pharmacist, insured, 

member, subscriber, or enrollee. For health insurance issuer 

examinations, the department will use the postmark date of 

claims to determine if the date of receipt reasonably reflects 

the date claims are actually received by the health insurance 

issuers. 

Date upon Which an Electronic Claim Is Adjudicate―the 

date an electronic claim is determined to be payable by the 

health insurance issuer, its agent or other party that makes 

payment directly to the pharmacy, pharmacist, insured, 

member, subscriber, or enrollee. For health insurance issuer 

examinations, the department will review the date the 

electronic claim was submitted and adjudicated by health 

insurance issuers. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Evergreen Contract―includes but is not limited to the 

following: 

1. a contract for an initial fixed term that contains a 

provision extending the terms of the existing contract 

beyond its expiration date, for a definite or indefinite period 

of time, and is terminable at the option of a party with notice 

provided to the other party within a specified period of time; 

2. perpetual agreements that contain an initial fixed 

term and terminable only by written notice from a party 

given within a specified period of time; 

3. a contract with an initial term that is extended 

beyond its expiration date and terminable only by written 

notice from a party; 

4. a contract that continues in perpetuity for either a 

definite or indefinite period of time that is terminable at the 

option of a party after giving required notice; 

5. a contract with an initial term that is extended 

beyond its expiration date and continues in perpetuity until 

its duration specified in the contract or terminable only by 

written notice from a party. 

Just and Reasonable Grounds Such as Would Put a 

Reasonable and Prudent Businessman on His Guard―an 

articulable set of facts, as opposed to mere speculation or 

assumption, that fully complies with established 

jurisprudence. For health insurance issuer examinations, the 

department will reasonably determine whether denials are 

based on an articulable set of facts. 

Rollover―includes but is not limited to the following: 

1. a contract for an initial fixed term that expires and 

is on or after expiration of the original fixed term, rolled 

over by affirmative action of a party to form a new contract 

or amend the existing contract for an additional period of 

time; 

2. a contract that is formed or amended by affirmative 

action of a party on or after the expiration date of the 

existing contract; 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 419 

3. a contract that can be rolled over by affirmative 

action of a party at any time after the existing contract's 

original terms or any extension of it that was entered into 

prior to (or after) its original expiration date; 

4. an existing contract with specific terms that expire 

and is extended by affirmative action taken by a party to the 

contract, after the expiration or extension of the existing 

contract, to either form a new contract or amend the contract 

for an additional specified term; 

5. an existing contract with specific terms that expire 

and is extended by affirmative action taken by a party to the 

contract, after expiration of the existing contract, to either 

form or amend the contract for an additional specified term. 

Paid Date―the date a claim is adjudicated and any 

amount due and payable is released by the health insurance 

issuer, its agent, or other third party that makes payment 

directly to the pharmacy, pharmacist, member, enrollee, 

subscriber or policyholder. Any difference between the date 

of adjudication and the date the payment is released is 

required to be documented in the health insurance issuer's 

claim handling procedures filed with the department. 

Prohibited Billing Activities―those activities outlined in 

R.S. 22:250.41 et seq. 

Uniform Claim Forms--are forms prescribed by the 

department and shall include the National Uniform Bill-82 

(UB-82) or its successor for appropriate hospital services, 

and the current Health Care Financing Administration Form 

1500 or its successor for physical and other appropriate 

professional services. If, after consultation with insurers, 

providers, and consumer groups, the commissioner 

determines that the state assignable portions of either form 

should be revised, he shall make a revision request to the 

State Uniform Bill Implementation Committee and if 

approved, prescribe the use of the revised form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1663 (August 2007). 

§11507. Claim Handling Procedures for Non-Electronic 

Claims 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:250.53.B, health insurance issuers 

or health maintenance organizations are required to submit 

to the Department, for approval, a "Prompt Payment 

Procedures Plan for Non-Electronic Pharmacy Claims" 

detailing statutory compliance for the receipt, acceptance, 

processing, payment of non-electronic claims and 

procedures in place to ensure compliance with R.S. 

22:250.41 et seq. The Prompt Payment Procedures Plan for 

Non-Electronic Pharmacy Claims shall include, but not be 

limited to, the following: 

1. a process for documenting the date of actual receipt 

of non-electronic claims; and 

2. a process for reviewing non-electronic claims for 

accuracy and acceptability. 

B. The filing of the Prompt Payment Procedures Plan for 

Non-Electronic Pharmacy Claims document shall indicate 

compliance by a health insurance issuer or health 

maintenance organization with the filing requirements of 

R.S. 22:250.53. However, such documentation shall still be 

subject to review and disapproval at any time such 

documentation is deemed to be not in compliance with the 

substantive requirements of R.S. 22:250.53. 

C. Health insurance issuers and health maintenance 

organizations are required to submit to the department their 

current claims address and to advise the department, in 

writing, of any change of the claims address. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1664 (August 2007). 

§11509. Claim Handling Procedures for Electronic 

Claims 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:250.54, health insurance issuers 

and health maintenance organizations are required to submit 

to the department, for approval, a "Prompt Payment 

Procedures Plan for Electronic Pharmacy Claims" detailing 

statutory compliance for the receipt, acceptance, processing, 

payment of electronic claims and procedures in place to 

ensure compliance with R.S. 22:250.54 et seq. The "Prompt 

Payment Procedures Plan for Electronic Pharmacy Claims" 

shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. a process for electronically dating the time and date 

of actual receipt of electronic claims; 

2. a process for reviewing electronic review of 

transmitted claims for accuracy and acceptability; and 

3. a process for reporting all claims rejected during 

electronic transmission and the reason for the rejection. 

B. Health insurance issuers and health maintenance 

organizations are required to submit to the department their 

current claims address and to advise the department, in 

writing, of any change of the claims address. 

C. The filing of the "Prompt Payment Procedures Plan 

for Electronic Pharmacy Claims" document shall indicate 

compliance by a health insurance issuer and health 

maintenance organization with the filing requirements of 

R.S. 22:250.54. However, such documentation shall still be 

subject to review and disapproval at any time such 

documentation is deemed to not be in compliance with the 

substantive requirements of R.S. 22:250.54. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1664 (August 2007). 

§11511. State of Emergency  

A. Pursuant to any Executive Order issued by the 

governor transferring authority to the department on matters 

pertaining to insurance, and pursuant to the plenary authority 

vested in the commissioner under Title 22, the department 

shall be authorized to issue emergency regulations during a 

state of emergency that suspends and/or interrupts any of the 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 420 

provisions found in Title 22 or take any or all such action 

that the commissioner deems necessary in reference to 

provisions in Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 22:3 

and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1664 (August 2007). 

§11513. Severability Clause 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 90 or its 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

sections or provisions that can be given effect without the 

invalid sections or provisions or application, and for these 

purposes, the Sections or provisions of this regulation and 

the application to any person or circumstance shall be 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1664 (August 2007). 

§11515. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 90 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and 22:250.61. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:1665 (August 2007). 

Chapter 117. Regulation Number 

89—Suitability in Annuity 

Transactions 

§11701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to require producers, 

as defined in this regulation, to act in the best interest of the 

consumer when making a sale or recommendation of an 

annuity and to require insurers to establish and maintain a 

system to supervise annuity recommendations and sales so 

that the insurance needs and financial objectives of 

consumers at the time of the transaction are effectively 

addressed. 

B. Nothing herein shall be construed to create or imply a 

private cause of action for a violation of this regulation or to 

subject a producer to civil liability under the best interest 

standard of care outlined in §11711 or under standards 

governing the conduct of a fiduciary or a fiduciary 

relationship. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:759 (June 2019), amended LR 50:1284 

(September 2024). 

§11703. Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to any sale or 

recommendation of an annuity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:759 (June 2019), amended LR 50: 1284 

(September 2024). 

§11705. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated under the authority of 

R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:919, and R.S. 22:1576(B)(10). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:759 (June 2019), amended LR 50: 1284 

(September 2024). 

§11707. Exemptions 

A. Unless otherwise specifically included, this regulation 

shall not apply to transactions involving: 

1. direct response solicitations where there is no 

recommendation based on information collected from the 

consumer pursuant to this regulation;  

2. contracts used to fund:  

a. an employee pension or welfare benefit plan that 

is covered by the Employee Retirement and Income Security 

Act (ERISA);  

b. a plan described by Sections 401(a), 401(k), 

403(b), 408(k) or 408(p) of the Internal Revenue Code 

(IRC), as amended, if established or maintained by an 

employer;  

c. a government or church plan defined in Section 

414 of the IRC, a government or church welfare benefit 

plan, or a deferred compensation plan of a state or local 

government or tax-exempt organization under Section 457 of 

the IRC; or 

d. a nonqualified deferred compensation 

arrangement established or maintained by an employer or 

plan sponsor;  

3. settlements of or assumptions of liabilities 

associated with personal injury litigation or any dispute or 

claim resolution process; or 

4. formal prepaid funeral contracts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:759 (June 2019), amended LR 50: 1284 

(September 2024). 

§11709. Definitions 
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Annuity—an annuity that is an insurance product under 

state law that is individually solicited, whether the product is 

classified as an individual or group annuity. 

Cash Compensation—any discount, concession fee, 

service fee, commission, sales charge, loan, override, or cash 

benefit received by a producer in connection with the 

recommendation or sale of an annuity from an insurer, 

intermediary, or directly from the consumer. 

Consumer Profile Information—information that is 

reasonably appropriate to determine whether a 

recommendation addresses the consumer’s financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives, 

including, at a minimum, the following: 

1. age; 

2. annual income; 

3. financial situation and needs, including debts and 

other obligations; 

4. financial experience; 

5. insurance needs; 

6. financial objectives; 

7. intended use of the annuity; 

8. financial time horizon; 

9. existing assets or financial products, including 

investment, annuity, and insurance holdings; 

10. liquidity needs; 

11. liquid net worth; 

12. risk tolerance, including, but not limited to, 

willingness to accept non-guaranteed elements in the 

annuity; 

13. financial resources used to fund the annuity; and 

14. tax status. 

Continuing Education Credit or CE credit—continuing 

education credit as required by the Department. 

Continuing Education Provider or CE Provider—an 

individual or entity that is approved to offer continuing 

education courses pursuant to Regulation 89. 

Department—The Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

FINRA—the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority or a 

succeeding agency. 

Insurer—a company required to be licensed under the 

laws of this state to provide insurance products, including 

annuities. 

Intermediary—an entity contracted directly with an 

insurer or with another entity contracted with an insurer to 

facilitate the sale of the insurer’s annuities by producers. 

Material Conflict of Interest—a financial interest of the 

producer in the sale of an annuity that a reasonable person 

would expect to influence the impartiality of a 

recommendation. Material Conflict of Interest does not 

include cash compensation or non-cash compensation. 

Non-Cash Compensation—any form of compensation that 

is not cash compensation, including, but not limited to, 

health insurance, office rent, office support, and retirement 

benefits. 

Non-Guaranteed Elements—the premiums, credited 

interest rates (including any bonus), benefits, values, 

dividends, non-interest-based credits, charges, or elements of 

formulas used to determine any of these, that are subject to 

company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An 

element is considered non-guaranteed if any of the 

underlying non-guaranteed elements are used in its 

calculation. 

Producer—a person or entity required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate 

insurance, including annuities. For purposes of this 

regulation, producer includes an insurer where no producer 

is involved. 

Recommendation―advice provided by a producer to an 

individual consumer that was intended to result or does 

result in a purchase, an exchange, or a replacement of an 

annuity in accordance with that advice. Recommendation 

does not include general communication to the public, 

generalized customer services assistance or administrative 

support, general educational information and tools, 

prospectuses, or other product and sales material. 

Replacement―a transaction in which an annuity is to be 

purchased, and it is known or should be known to the 

proposing producer, or to the proposing insurer, whether or 

not a producer is involved, that by reason of the transaction, 

an existing annuity or other insurance policy has been or is 

to be any of the following: 

1. lapsed, forfeited, surrendered, or partially 

surrendered, assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise 

terminated; 

2. converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued 

as extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by 

the use of nonforfeiture benefits, or other policy values; 

3. amended so as to effect either a reduction in 

benefits or in the term for which coverage would otherwise 

remain in force or for which benefits would be paid; 

4. reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 

5. used in a financed purchase. 

SEC—The United States Securities and Exchange 

Commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:759 (June 2019), amended LR 50: 1284 

(September 2024). 
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11711. Duties of Insurers and Producers 

A. Best Interest Obligations. A producer, when making a 

sale or recommendation of an annuity, shall act in the best 

interest of the consumer under the circumstances known at 

the time the recommendation is made, without placing the 

producer’s or the insurer’s financial interest ahead of the 

consumer’s interest. A producer has acted in the best interest 

of the consumer if they have satisfied the following 

obligations regarding care, disclosure, conflict of interest 

and documentation: 

1.a. Care Obligation. The producer, in making a sale or 

recommendation, shall exercise reasonable diligence, care, 

and skill to: 

 i. know the consumer’s financial situation, 

insurance needs, and financial objectives; 

 ii. understand the available recommendation 

options after making a reasonable inquiry into options 

available to the producer; 

 iii. have a reasonable basis to believe the 

recommended option effectively addresses the consumer’s 

financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives 

over the life of the product, as evaluated in light of the 

consumer profile information; and 

 iv. communicate the basis of the recommendation. 

b. The requirements under Subparagraph a. of this 

Paragraph include making reasonable efforts to obtain 

consumer profile information from the consumer prior to the 

sale or recommendation of an annuity. 

c. The requirements under Subparagraph a. of this 

Paragraph require a producer to consider the types of 

products the producer is authorized and licensed to 

recommend or sell that address the consumer’s financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives. This 

does not require analysis or consideration of any products 

outside the authority and license of the producer or other 

possible alternative products or strategies available in the 

market at the time of the sale or recommendation. Producers 

shall be held to standards applicable to producers with 

similar authority and licensure. 

d. The requirements under this Subsection do not 

create a fiduciary obligation or relationship and only create a 

regulatory obligation as established in this regulation. 

e. The consumer profile information, characteristics 

of the insurer, and product costs, rates, benefits, and features 

are those factors generally relevant in making a 

determination whether an annuity effectively addresses the 

consumer’s financial situation, insurance needs, and 

financial objectives, but the level of importance of each 

factor under the care obligation of this Paragraph may vary 

depending on the facts and circumstances of a particular 

case. However, each factor may not be considered in 

isolation. 

f. The requirements under Subparagraph a. of this 

Paragraph include having a reasonable basis to believe the 

consumer would benefit from certain features of the annuity, 

such as annuitization, death or living benefit, or other 

insurance-related features.  

g. The requirements under Subparagraph a. of this 

Paragraph apply to the particular annuity as a whole and the 

underlying subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the 

time of purchase or exchange of an annuity, and riders, and 

similar product enhancements, if any. 

h. The requirements under Subparagraph a. of this 

Paragraph do not mean that the annuity with the lowest one-

time or multiple occurrence compensation structure shall 

necessarily be recommended.  

i. The requirements under Subparagraph a. of this 

Paragraph do not mean the producer has ongoing monitoring 

obligations under the care obligation under this Paragraph, 

although such an obligation may be separately owed under 

the terms of a fiduciary, consulting, investment advising, or 

financial planning agreement between the consumer and the 

producer. 

j. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an 

annuity, the producer shall consider the whole transaction, 

which includes taking into consideration whether: 

 i. the consumer will incur a surrender charge, be 

subject to the commencement of a new surrender period, 

lose existing benefits, such as death, living, or other 

contractual benefits, or be subject to increased fees, 

investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar 

product enhancements; 

 ii. the replacing product would substantially 

benefit the consumer in comparison to the replaced product 

over the life of the product; and 

 iii. the consumer has had another annuity 

exchange or replacement and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 60 months. 

k. Nothing in this regulation should be construed to 

require a producer to obtain any license other than a 

producer license with the appropriate line of authority to 

sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in this state, including but 

not limited to, any securities license, in order to fulfill the 

duties and obligations contained in this regulation; provided 

the producer does not give advice or provide services that 

are otherwise subject to securities laws or engage in any 

other activity requiring other professional licenses. 

2. Disclosure Obligation. 

a. Prior to the recommendation or sale of an 

annuity, the producer shall prominently disclose to the 

consumer on a form substantially similar to Appendix A: 

 i. a description of the scope and terms of the 

relationship with the consumer and the role of the producer 

in the transaction; 

 ii. an affirmative statement on whether the 

producer is licensed and authorized to sell the following 

products: 
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(a). fixed annuities; 

(b). fixed indexed annuities; 

(c). variable annuities; 

(d). life insurance; 

(e). mutual funds; 

(f). stocks and bonds; and 

(g). certificates of deposit; 

 iii. an affirmative statement describing the insurers 

the producer is authorized, contracted (or appointed), or 

otherwise able to sell insurance products for, using the 

following descriptions: 

(a). from one insurer; 

(b). from two or more insurers; or 

(c). from two or more insurers although 

primarily contracted with one insurer. 

 iv. a description of the sources and types of cash 

compensation and non-cash compensation to be received by 

the producer, including whether the producer is to be 

compensated for the sale of a recommended annuity by 

commission as part of premium or other remuneration 

received from the insurer, intermediary or other producer or 

by fee as a result of a contract for advice or consulting 

services; and 

 v. a notice of the consumer’s right to request 

additional information regarding cash compensation 

described in Subparagraph b. of this Paragraph; 

b. Upon request of the consumer or the consumer’s 

designated representative, the producer shall disclose: 

 i. a reasonable estimate of the amount of cash 

compensation to be received by the producer, which may be 

stated as a range of amounts or percentages; and 

 ii. whether the cash compensation is a one-time or 

multiple occurrence amount, and if a multiple occurrence 

amount, the frequency and amount of the occurrence, which 

may be stated as a range of amounts or percentages; and 

c. Prior to or at the time of the recommendation or 

sale of an annuity, the producer shall have a reasonable basis 

to believe the consumer has been informed of various 

features of the annuity, such as the potential surrender period 

and surrender charge, potential tax penalty if the consumer 

sells, exchanges, surrenders, or annuitizes the annuity, 

mortality and expense fees, investment advisory fees, any 

annual fees, potential charges for and features of riders or 

other options of the annuity, limitations on interest returns, 

potential changes in non-guaranteed elements of the annuity, 

insurance, and investment components and market risk. 

3. Conflict of Interest Obligation. A producer shall 

identify and avoid or reasonably manage and disclose 

material conflicts of interest, including material conflicts of 

interest related to an ownership interest. 

4. Documentation Obligation. A producer shall at the 

time of recommendation or sale: 

a. make a written record of any recommendation 

and the basis for the recommendation subject to this 

regulation; 

b. obtain a consumer-signed statement on a form 

substantially similar to Appendix B documenting: 

 i. a customer’s refusal to provide the consumer 

profile information, if any; and  

 ii. a customer’s understanding of the ramifications 

of not providing his or her consumer profile information or 

providing insufficient consumer profile information; and 

c. obtain a consumer-signed statement on a form 

substantially similar to Appendix C acknowledging the 

annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not based 

on the producer’s recommendation. 

5. Application of the Best Interest Obligation. Any 

requirement applicable to a producer under this Subsection 

shall apply to every producer who has exercised material 

control or influence in the making of a sale or 

recommendation and has received direct compensation as a 

result of the recommendation or sale, regardless of whether 

the producer has had any direct contact with the consumer. 

Activities such as providing or delivering marketing or 

educational materials, product wholesaling or other back-

office product support, and general supervision of a producer 

do not, in and of themselves, constitute material control or 

influence. 

B. Transactions Not Based on a Recommendation. 

l. Except as provided under Paragraph 2., a producer 

shall have no obligation to a consumer under Paragraph A.1. 

related to any annuity transaction if: 

a. no recommendation is made; 

b. a recommendation was made and was later found 

to have been prepared based on materially inaccurate 

information provided by the consumer; 

c. a consumer refuses to provide relevant consumer 

profile information and the annuity transaction is not 

recommended; or 

d. a consumer decides to enter into an annuity 

transaction that is not based on a recommendation of the 

producer. 

2. An insurer’s issuance of an annuity subject to 

Paragraph 1 shall be reasonable under all circumstances 

actually known to the insurer at the time the annuity is 

issued. 

C. Supervision System 

1. Except as permitted under Subsection B., an insurer 

may not issue an annuity recommended to a consumer unless 

there is a reasonable basis to believe the annuity would 

effectively address the particular consumer’s financial 
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situation, insurance needs and financial objectives based on 

the consumer’s consumer profile information. 

2. An insurer shall establish and maintain a 

supervision system that is reasonably designed to achieve 

the insurer’s and its producers’ compliance with this 

regulation, including, but not limited to, the following: 

a. the insurer shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to inform its insurance producers of 

the requirements of this regulation and shall incorporate the 

requirements of this regulation into relevant producer 

training manuals; 

b. the insurer shall establish and maintain standards 

for insurance producer product training and shall establish 

and maintain reasonable procedures to require its insurance 

producers to comply with the requirements of §11712. 

c. the insurer shall provide product-specific training 

and training materials that explain all material features of its 

annuity products to its producers; 

d. the insurer shall establish and maintain 

procedures for the review of each recommendation prior to 

issuance of an annuity that is designed to ensure there is a 

reasonable basis to determine that the recommended annuity 

would effectively address the particular consumer’s financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives. Such 

review procedures may apply a screening system for the 

purpose of identifying selected transactions for additional 

review and may be accomplished electronically or through 

other means including, but not limited to, physical review. 

Such an electronic or other system may be designed to 

require additional review only of those transactions 

identified for additional review by the selection criteria; 

e. the insurer shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to detect recommendations that are 

not in compliance with Subsections A., B., D., and E. This 

may include but is not limited to, confirmation of the 

consumer’s consumer profile information, systematic 

customer surveys, producer and consumer interviews, 

confirmation letters, producer statements or attestations, and 

programs of internal monitoring. Nothing in this 

Subparagraph prevents an insurer from complying with this 

Subparagraph by applying sampling procedures, or by 

confirming the consumer profile information or other 

required information under this Section after issuance or 

delivery of the annuity; 

f. the insurer shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to assess, prior to or upon issuance or 

delivery of an annuity, whether a producer has provided to 

the consumer the information required to be provided under 

this Section; 

g. the insurer shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to identify and address suspicious 

consumer refusals to provide consumer profile information; 

h. the insurer shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to identify and eliminate any sales 

contests, sales quotas, bonuses, and non-cash compensation 

that are based on the sales of specific annuities within a 

limited period of time. The requirements of this 

Subparagraph are not intended to prohibit the receipt of 

health insurance, office rent, office support, retirement 

benefits, or other employee benefits by employees as long as 

those benefits are not based upon the volume of sales of a 

specific annuity within a limited period of time; and 

i. the insurer shall annually provide a written report 

to senior management, including the senior manager 

responsible for audit functions, which details a review with 

appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine the 

effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions 

found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if any. 

3.a. Nothing in this Subsection restricts an insurer from 

contracting for performance of a function (including 

maintenance of procedures) required under this Subsection. 

An insurer is responsible for taking appropriate corrective 

action and may be subject to sanctions and penalties 

pursuant to §11713 regardless of whether the insurer 

contracts for performance of a function and regardless of the 

insurer's compliance with Subparagraph b of this Paragraph. 

b. An insurer's supervision system under this 

Subsection shall include supervision of contractual 

performance under this Subsection. This includes, but is not 

limited to, the following: 

 i. monitoring and, as appropriate, conducting 

audits to assure that the contracted function is properly 

performed; and 

 ii. annually obtaining a certification from a senior 

manager who has responsibility for the contracted function 

that the manager has a reasonable basis to represent, and 

does represent, that the function is properly performed. 

4. An insurer is not required to include in its system of 

supervision: 

a. a producer's recommendations to consumers of 

products other than the annuities offered by the insurer; or 

b. consideration of or comparison to options 

available to the producer or compensation relating to those 

options other than annuities or other products offered by the 

insurer. 

D. Prohibited Practices. Neither a producer nor an 

insurer shall dissuade, or attempt to dissuade, a consumer 

from: 

1. truthfully responding to an insurer's request for 

confirmation of suitability information; 

2. filing a complaint; or 

3. cooperating with the investigation of a complaint. 

E. Safe Harbor 

1. Recommendations and sales of annuities made in 

compliance with comparable standards shall satisfy the 

requirements under this regulation. This Subsection applies 

to all recommendations and sales of annuities made by 

financial professionals in compliance with business rules, 
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controls, and procedures that satisfy a comparable standard 

even if such standard would not otherwise apply to the 

product, sale, or recommendation at issue. However, nothing 

in this Subsection shall limit the insurance commissioner's 

ability to investigate and enforce the provisions of this 

regulation. 

2. Nothing in Paragraph 1. shall limit the insurer’s 

obligation to comply with §11711.C.1, although the insurer 

may base its analysis on information received from either the 

financial professional or the entity supervising the financial 

professional. 

3. For Paragraph 1 to apply, an insurer shall: 

a. monitor the relevant conduct of the financial 

professional seeking to rely on Paragraph 1. or the entity 

responsible for supervising the financial professional, such 

as the financial professional’s broker-dealer or an investment 

adviser registered under federal or state securities laws using 

information collected in the normal course of an insurer's 

business; and 

b. provide to the entity responsible for supervising 

the financial professional seeking to rely on Paragraph 1., 

such as the financial professional’s broker-dealer or 

investment adviser registered under federal or state securities 

laws, information and reports that are reasonably appropriate 

to assist such entity to maintain its supervision system. 

4. For purposes of this Subsection, “financial 

professional” means a producer that is regulated and acting 

as: 

a. a broker-dealer registered under federal or state 

securities laws or a registered representative of a broker-

dealer; 

b. an investment adviser registered under federal or 

state securities laws or an investment adviser representative 

associated with the federal or state registered investment 

adviser; or 

c. a plan fiduciary under Section 3(21) of ERISA or 

fiduciary under Section 4975(e)(3) of the IRC or any 

amendments or successor statutes thereto. 

5. For purposes of this Subsection, “comparable 

standards” means: 

a. with respect to broker-dealers and registered 

representatives of broker-dealers, applicable SEC and 

FINRA rules pertaining to best interest obligations and 

supervision of annuity recommendations and sales, 

including, but not limited to, regulation Best Interest and any 

amendments or successor regulations thereto; 

b. with respect to investment advisers registered 

under federal or state securities laws or investment adviser 

representatives, the fiduciary duties and all other 

requirements imposed on such investment advisers or 

investment adviser representatives by contract or under the 

Investment Advisers Act of 1940 or applicable state 

securities law, including, but not limited to, the Form ADV 

and interpretations; and 

c. with respect to plan fiduciaries or fiduciaries, the 

duties, obligations, prohibitions, and all other requirements 

attendant to such status under ERISA or the IRC and any 

amendments or successor statutes thereto. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:760 (June 2019), amended LR 50:1285 

(September 2024). 

§11712. Producer Training 

A. A producer shall not solicit the sale of an annuity 

product unless the producer has adequate knowledge of the 

product to recommend the annuity and the producer is in 

compliance with the insurer’s standards for product training. 

A producer may rely on insurer-provided product-specific 

training standards and materials to comply with this Section. 

B.1.a. A producer who engages in the sale of annuity 

products shall complete a one-time, four-credit training 

course approved by the department and provided by a 

department-approved education provider. 

b. Producers who hold a life insurance line of 

authority on the effective date of this regulation and who 

desire to sell annuities shall complete the requirements of 

this Subsection within six months after the effective date of 

this regulation. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line 

of authority on or after the effective date of this regulation 

may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity 

training course required under this Subsection has been 

completed. 

2. The minimum length of the training required under 

this Subsection shall be sufficient to qualify for at least four 

CE credits but may be longer. 

3. The training required under this Subsection shall 

include information on the following topics: 

a. the types of annuities and various classifications 

of annuities; 

b. identification of the parties to an annuity; 

c. how product-specific annuity contract features 

affect consumers; 

d. the application of income taxation of qualified 

and non-qualified annuities; 

e. the primary uses of annuities; and 

f. appropriate standard of conduct, sales practices, 

replacement and disclosure requirements. 

4. Providers of courses intended to comply with this 

Subsection shall cover all topics listed in the prescribed 

outline and shall not present any marketing information or 

provide training on sales techniques or provide specific 

information about a particular insurer’s products. Additional 

topics may be offered in conjunction with and in addition to 

the required outline. 
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5. A provider of an annuity training course intended to 

comply with this Subsection shall register as a CE provider 

in this state and comply with the rules and guidelines 

applicable to producer continuing education courses as set 

forth in this regulation. 

6. A producer who has completed an annuity training 

course approved by the department prior to the effective date 

of this regulation shall, within six months, complete either: 

a. a new four-credit training course approved by the 

department after the effective date of this regulation; or 

b. an additional one-time, one-credit training course 

approved by the department and provided by a department-

approved education provider on appropriate sales practices, 

replacement, and disclosure requirements under this 

regulation. 

7. Annuity training courses may be conducted and 

completed by classroom or self-study methods in accordance 

with this regulation. 

8. Providers of annuity training shall comply with the 

reporting requirements and shall issue certificates of 

completion in accordance with this regulation. 

9. The satisfaction of the training requirements of 

another state that are substantially similar to the provisions 

of this Subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the training 

requirements of this Subsection in this state. 

10. The satisfaction of the components of the training 

requirements of any course or courses with components 

substantially similar to the provisions of this Subsection 

shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements of this 

Subsection in this state. 

11. An insurer shall verify that a producer has 

completed the annuity training course required under this 

Subsection before allowing the producer to sell an annuity 

product for that insurer. An insurer may satisfy its 

responsibility under this Subsection by obtaining certificates 

of completion of the training course or obtaining reports 

provided by commissioner-sponsored database systems or 

vendors or from a reasonably reliable commercial database 

vendor that has a reporting arrangement with approved 

insurance education providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1288 (September 

2024). 

§11713. Compliance Mitigation; Penalties 

A. An insurer is responsible for compliance with this 

regulation. If a violation occurs, either because of the action 

or inaction of the insurer or its producer, the Department 

may order: 

1. an insurer to take reasonably appropriate corrective 

action for any consumer harmed by a failure to comply with 

this regulation by the insurer, an entity contracted to perform 

the insurer’s supervisory duties, or by the producer; 

2. a general agency, independent agency, or producer 

to take reasonably appropriate corrective action for any 

consumer harmed by the producer's violation of this 

regulation; and 

3. appropriate penalties and sanctions. 

B. Any applicable penalty for a violation of this 

regulation may be reduced or eliminated if corrective action 

for the consumer was taken promptly after a violation was 

discovered or the violation was not part of a pattern or 

practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:761 (June 2019), amended LR 50:1289 

(September 2024). 

§11715. Recordkeeping 

A. Insurers, general agents, independent agencies and 

producers shall maintain or be able to make available to the 

commissioner records of the information collected from the 

consumer, disclosures made to the consumer, including 

summaries of oral disclosures, and other information used in 

making the recommendations that were the basis for 

insurance transactions for 5 years after the insurance 

transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer is 

permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain 

documentation on behalf of a producer. 

B. Records required to be maintained by this regulation 

may be maintained in paper, photographic, microprocess, 

magnetic, mechanical or electronic media or by any process 

that accurately reproduces the actual document. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), amended LR 45:761 (June 2019), amended LR 50:1289 

(September 2024). 

§11717. Severability 

A. If any provision or item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held to be invalid, such invalidity shall 

not affect other provisions, items, or applications of the 

regulation, which can be given effect without the invalid 

provisions, item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 

2006), repromulgated LR 45:761 (June 2019), amended LR 

50:1289 (September 2024). 
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§11719. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 89, as amended, shall become effective 

upon final promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:761 (June 2019), 

amended LR 50:1290 (September 2024). 

§11721. Appendices 

A. Insurance Agent (Producer) Disclosure for Annuities 

 

APPENDIX A 

INSURANCE AGENT (PRODUCER)  

DISCLOSURE FOR ANNUITIES 

 

Do Not Sign Unless You Have Read and Understand  

the Information in this Form 

 

Date: 

 

INSURANCE AGENT (PRODUCER) INFORMATION  

(“Me”, “I”, “My”) 

 

First Name: Last Name:  

Business\Agency Name:  Website: 

Business Mailing Address: 

Business Telephone Number: 

Email Address: 

National Producer Number in [state]: 

 

CUSTOMER INFORMATION (“You”, “Your”) 

 

First Name: Last Name: 

 

What Types of Products Can I Sell You? 

 

I am licensed to sell annuities to You in accordance with state law. If I 
recommend that You buy an annuity, it means I believe that it 

effectively meets Your financial situation, insurance needs, and 
financial objectives. Other financial products, such as life insurance 

or stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, also may meet Your needs. 

 

I offer the following products: 

 

 Fixed or Fixed Indexed Annuities 

 Variable Annuities 

 Life Insurance 

 

I need a separate license to provide advice about or to sell non-

insurance financial products. I have checked below any non-insurance 

financial products that I am licensed and authorized to provide advice 

about or to sell. 

 

 Mutual Funds 

 Stocks/Bonds 

 Certificates of Deposits 

 

Whose Annuities Can I Sell to You? 

 

I am authorized to sell: 

 

Annuities from Only One 

(1) Insurer 

Annuities from Two or More 

Insurers 

Annuities from Two or 

More Insurers although I 

primarily sell annuities 

from: 

 

 

How I’m Paid for My Work: 

 

It’s important for You to understand how I’m paid for My work. 
Depending on the particular annuity You purchase, I may be paid a 

commission or a fee. Commissions are generally paid to Me by the 

insurance company while fees are generally paid to Me by You. If You 

have questions about how I’m paid, please ask Me. 

 

Depending on the particular annuity You buy, I will or may be paid 

cash compensation as follows: 

 Commission, which is usually paid by the insurance company 

or other sources. If other sources, describe: 

 Fees (such as a fixed amount, an hourly rate, or a percentage of 

your payment), are usually paid directly by the customer. 

Other (Describe): 

 

If you have questions about the above compensation I will be paid 

for this transaction, please ask Me. 

 

I may also receive other indirect compensation resulting from this 
transaction (sometimes called “non-cash” compensation), such as 

health or retirement benefits, office rent and support, or other 

incentives from the insurance company or other sources. 

 

Drafting Note: This disclosure may be adapted to fit the particular 

business model of the producer. As an example, if the producer only 
receives commission or only receives a fee from the consumer, the 

disclosure may be refined to fit that particular situation. This form is 

intended to provide an example of how to communicate producer 
compensation, but compliance with the regulation may also be 

achieved with a more precise disclosure, including a written consulting, 

advising, or financial planning agreement. 

 

Drafting Note: The acknowledgement and signature should be in 

immediate proximity to the disclosure language. 

 

By signing below, You acknowledge that You have read and 

understand the information provided to You in this document. 
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Customer Signature 

 

Date 

 

Agent (Producer) Signature 

 

Date 

 

B. Consumer Refusal to Provide Information 

 

APPENDIX B 

CONSUMER REFUSAL TO PROVIDE INFORMATION 

 

Do Not Sign Unless You Have Read and Understand the Information 

in this Form 

Why are You being given this form? 

 

You’re buying a financial product – an annuity. 

 

To recommend a product that effectively meets Your needs, 
objectives, and situation, the agent, broker, or company needs 

information about You, Your financial situation, insurance needs, and 

financial objectives. 

 

If You sign this form, it means You have not given the agent, broker, 
or company some or all the information needed to decide if the 

annuity effectively meets Your needs, objectives, and situation. You 

may lose protections under the Insurance Code of [this state] if You 

sign this form or provide inaccurate information. 

 

Statement of Purchaser: 

 

 I REFUSE to provide this information at this time. 

 I have chosen to provide LIMITED information at this time. 

 

Customer Signature 

 

Date 

C. Consumer Decision to Purchase an Annuity Not 

Based on a Recommendation 

 

APPENDIX C 

Consumer Decision to Purchase an Annuity NOT  

Based on a Recommendation 

 

Do Not Sign This Form Unless You  

Have Read and Understand It. 

 

Why are You being given this form? You are buying a financial 

product – an annuity. 

 

To recommend a product that effectively meets Your needs, 

objectives, and situation, the agent, broker, or company has the 

responsibility to learn about You, Your financial situation, insurance 

needs, and financial objectives. 

 

If You sign this form, it means You know that You’re buying an 

annuity that was not recommended. 

 

Statement of Purchaser: 

 

I understand that I am buying an annuity, but the agent, broker, or 

company did not recommend that I buy it. If I buy it without a 

recommendation, I understand I may lose protections under the 

Insurance Code of [this state]. 

 

Customer Signature 

 

Date 

 

Agent/Producer Signature 

 

Date 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:919, 22:1576, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1290 (September 

2024). 

Chapter 119. Regulation Number 

91―The Recognition of Preferred 

Mortality Tables for Use in 

Determining Minimum Reserve 

Liabilities 

§11901. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated by the Commissioner 

of Insurance pursuant to authority granted under the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, Title 22, §22:1 et seq., 

particularly the Standard Valuation Law, see Title 22, 

§163.B.(1)(a) and Subsections 10909.A and B of Regulation 

85. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:464 (March 2007). 

§11903. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to recognize, permit 

and prescribe the use of mortality tables that reflect 

differences in mortality between preferred and standard lives 

in determining minimum reserve liabilities in accordance 
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with Title 22, §163.B.(1)(a) and Subsections 10909.A and B 

of Regulation 85. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:464 (March 2007). 

§11905. Definitions 

A. For purposes of this regulation: 

2001 CSO Mortality Table―that mortality table, 

consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female 

lives, developed by the American Academy of Actuaries 

CSO Task Force from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Individual Life 

Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, and adopted by 

the NAIC in December 2002. The 2001 CSO Mortality 

Table is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd 

Quarter 2002) and supplemented by the 2001 CSO Preferred 

Class Structure Mortality Table defined below in Subsection 

B. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the "2001 CSO 

Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form of that table 

and the select and ultimate form of that table and includes 

both the smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables and the 

composite mortality tables. It also includes both the age-

nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of the mortality 

tables. Mortality tables in the 2001 CSO Mortality Table 

include the following. 

2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)―that mortality table 

consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives from the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)―that mortality table 

consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives from the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

Composite Mortality Tables―mortality tables with rates 

of mortality that do not distinguish between smokers and 

nonsmokers. 

Smoker and Nonsmoker Mortality Tables―mortality 

tables with separate rates of mortality for smokers and 

nonsmokers. 

B. 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality 

Table―mortality tables with separate rates of mortality for 

Super Preferred Nonsmokers, Preferred Nonsmokers, 

Residual Standard Nonsmokers, Preferred Smokers, and 

Residual Standard Smoker splits of the 2001 CSO 

Nonsmoker and Smoker tables as adopted by the NAIC at 

the September 2006 national meeting and published in the 

NAIC Proceedings (Third Quarter 2006). Unless the context 

indicates otherwise, the "2001 CSO Preferred Class 

Structure Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form of 

that table and the select and ultimate form of that table. It 

includes both the smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables. It 

includes both the male and female mortality tables and the 

gender composite mortality tables. It also includes both the 

age-nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of the 

mortality table. 

C. Statistical Agent―an entity with proven systems for 

protecting the confidentiality of individual insured and 

insurer information; demonstrated resources for and history 

of ongoing electronic communications and data transfer 

ensuring data integrity with insurers, which are its members 

or subscribers; and a history of and means for aggregation of 

data and accurate promulgation of the experience 

modifications in a timely manner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:464 (March 2007). 

§11907. 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Table 

A. At the election of the company, for each calendar year 

of issue, for any one or more specified plans of insurance 

and subject to satisfying the conditions stated in this 

regulation, the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 

Mortality Table may be substituted in place of the 2001 CSO 

Smoker or Nonsmoker Mortality Table as the minimum 

valuation standard for policies issued on or after January 1, 

2007. No such election shall be made until the company 

demonstrates at least 20 percent of the business to be valued 

on this table is in one or more of the preferred classes. A 

table from the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality 

Table used in place of a 2001 CSO Mortality Table, pursuant 

to the requirements of this rule, will be treated as part of the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table only for purposes of reserve 

valuation pursuant to the requirements of the NAIC model 

regulation, "Recognition of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table 

for Use in Determining Minimum Reserve Liabilities and 

Nonforfeiture Benefits Model Regulation." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:465 (March 2007). 

§11909. Conditions 

A. For each plan of insurance with separate rates for 

preferred and standard nonsmoker lives, an insurer may use 

the super preferred nonsmoker, preferred nonsmoker, and 

residual standard nonsmoker tables to substitute for the 

nonsmoker mortality table found in the 2001 CSO Mortality 

Table to determine minimum reserves. At the time of 

election and annually thereafter, except for business valued 

under the residual standard nonsmoker table, the appointed 

actuary shall certify that: 

1. the present value of death benefits over the next  

10 years after the valuation date, using the anticipated 

mortality experience without recognition of mortality 

improvement beyond the valuation date for each class, is 

less than the present value of death benefits using the 

valuation basic table corresponding to the valuation table 

being used for that class; 

2. the present value of death benefits over the future 

life of the contracts, using anticipated mortality experience 

without recognition of mortality improvement beyond the 
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valuation date for each class, is less than the present value of 

death benefits using the valuation basic table corresponding 

to the valuation table being used for that class. 

B. For each plan of insurance with separate rates for 

preferred and standard smoker lives, an insurer may use the 

preferred smoker and residual standard smoker tables to 

substitute for the smoker mortality table found in the 2001 

CSO Mortality Table to determine minimum reserves. At the 

time of election and annually thereafter, for business valued 

under the preferred smoker table, the appointed actuary shall 

certify that: 

1. the present value of death benefits over the next  

10 years after the valuation date, using the anticipated 

mortality experience without recognition of mortality 

improvement beyond the valuation date for each class, is 

less than the present value of death benefits using the 

preferred smoker valuation basic table corresponding to the 

valuation table being used for that class; 

2. the present value of death benefits over the future 

life of the contracts, using anticipated mortality experience 

without recognition of mortality improvement beyond the 

valuation date for each class, is less than the present value of 

death benefits using the preferred smoker valuation basic 

table. 

C. Unless exempted by the commissioner, every 

authorized insurer using the 2001 CSO Preferred Class 

Structure Table shall annually file with the commissioner, 

with the NAIC, or with a statistical agent designated by the 

NAIC and acceptable to the commissioner, statistical reports 

showing mortality and such other information as the 

commissioner may deem necessary or expedient for the 

administration of the provisions of this regulation. The form 

of the reports shall be established by the commissioner or 

the commissioner may require the use of a form established 

by the NAIC or by a statistical agent designated by the 

NAIC and acceptable to the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:465 (March 2007). 

§11911. Separability 

A. If any provision of this regulation or its application to 

any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 

invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the application 

of the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not 

be affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:466 (March 2007). 

§11913. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective on the date of 

its final publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:466 (March 2007). 

Chapter 121. Regulation 87—

Louisiana Citizens Property 

Insurance Corporation Producer 

Binding Requirements  

§12101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 87 is to establish 

standards, guidelines, and requirements for licensed and 

qualified insurance producers to have binding authority to 

write applications of property and casualty insurance for the 

FAIR Plan and the Coastal Plan issued by the Louisiana 

Citizens Property Insurance Corporation. Regulation 87 also 

sets forth standards and procedures regarding the application 

process for use by such insurance producers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1430.22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1872 (September 2007). 

§12103. Authority 

A. Regulation 87 is promulgated by the Board of 

Directors of the Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance 

Corporation, pursuant to the authority granted under the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, Title 22, R.S. 22:2313. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1872 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1530 (October 2021). 

§12105. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 87 applies to all insurance producers who 

are eligible to sell insurance policies issued by Louisiana 

Citizens Property Insurance Corporation pursuant to R.S. 

22:2313(A), and that have applied to the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation and have met the 

qualifications for binding authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1872 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1530 (October 2021). 

§12107. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 87, the following 

terms shall have the meaning or definition as indicated 

herein. 

Binding Authority―the ability of a duly licensed 

insurance producer, who has adequate errors and omission 

insurance, and has completed a training course offered by 

Citizens, to issue a policy of property and casualty insurance 

in the FAIR Plan and Coastal Plan that imposes liability 

upon Citizens. A licensed producer must meet all 

requirements for binding authority set forth in Regulation 87 
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and must have applied to and have been authorized by 

Citizens to qualify for binding authority. 

Citizens (when capitalized)―the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, and includes the residual 

market insurance programs known as the "Coastal Plan" and 

the "FAIR Plan." 

Coastal Plan―the successor to that program established 

by Act 35 of the 1970 Regular Session to provide a residual 

market for adequate insurance on property in the coastal 

areas of the state, now available as a program of Citizens. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance of the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

E.P.I.C.—the Citizens policy management and claim 

computer system or its successor. 

FAIR Plan―the successor to that program established 

by Act 424 of the 1992 Regular Session, and designated as 

the "Fair Access to Insurance Requirements Plan" to provide 

a residual market for adequate insurance on property in the 

state, now available as a program of Citizens. 

Insurance Producer―a person required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate 

insurance, and includes all persons or business entities 

otherwise referred to in the Louisiana Insurance Code as 

"insurance agent" or "agent," or "insurance broker" or 

"broker," or "insurance solicitor" or "solicitor," or "surplus 

lines broker." 

Procedural Error―an error in an insurance application 

to bind property and casualty coverage with Citizens that 

does not materially affect the underwriting risk or rise to the 

level of a material misrepresentation that does not rise to the 

level of a substantive error. 

Producer Subscriber Agreement―a contractual 

agreement delineating the terms, provisions and conditions 

permitting insurance producers and/or producer agencies to 

bind coverage and write property and casualty insurance 

issued by Citizens through the FAIR Plan and the Coastal 

Plan. 

Substantive Error―an error in an application to bind 

property and casualty insurance coverage with Citizens that 

materially affects the underwriting risk or rises to the level 

of a material misrepresentation. 

Unlicensed Employee―a person hired by an insurance 

producer who performs administrative or clerical duties 

authorized by such insurance producer relative to an 

insurance application, but does not possess an insurance 

producer license and is not authorized to sell, solicit, or 

negotiate a contract of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1873 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1530 (October 2021). 

§12109. Licensing 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:12, no person shall be authorized 

to transact or shall transact the business of insurance in the 

state of Louisiana without complying with the provisions of 

the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

B. Except as otherwise provided in R.S. 22:1544(B) and 

22:1562(C)(1), no person shall act as or hold himself out to 

be an insurance producer unless licensed by the department 

as required by R.S. 22:1543. 

C. In accordance with R.S. 22:1543(B), an insurance 

producer is not authorized to sell, solicit, make an 

application for, procure, or place for others any policies for 

any lines of insurance as to which the insurance producer is 

not qualified and duly licensed in the state of Louisiana. 

D. Citizens acknowledges that the granting of an 

insurance producer license is within the sole province of the 

department and nothing in Regulation 87 shall be construed 

or intended to confer upon Citizens any right to the licensure 

of any insurance producer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1873 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1530 (October 2021). 

§12111. Qualifications for Binding Authority 

A. In order to bind coverage for the FAIR Plan and the 

Coastal Plan through Citizens, each duly licensed insurance 

producer must meet the following requirements: 

1. maintain errors and omission insurance in the 

minimum amount of $1 million per occurrence and  

$1 million annual aggregate; 

2. complete any previously approved and required 

Citizens education seminar, as well as review and follow all 

training documents, rules, and guidelines provided on 

Citizens’ website; 

3. demonstrate experience writing property and 

casualty insurance in Louisiana and maintain an in-force 

book of residential and/or commercial property insurance 

business in the lines of insurance offered by Citizens; 

4. have a valid insurance producer license issued by 

the department; 

5. submit to Citizens a completed application 

warranting compliance with applicable requirements 

established by Citizens; 

6. submit to Citizens a properly executed producer 

subscriber agreement; and 

7. demonstrate compliance with all terms and 

conditions set forth in the producer subscriber agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1873 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1530 (October 2021). 

§12113. Procedures to Implement Binding Authority 

A. The insurance producer shall list all unlicensed 
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employees that shall have access to the E.P.I.C. system in 

order for the insurance producer to bind property and 

casualty insurance coverage for their clients with Citizens. 

B. If the insurance producer is an insurance agency, it 

shall list each unlicensed employee or insurance producer 

that shall have access to the E.P.I.C. system in order for the 

insurance producer to bind property and casualty insurance 

coverage for their clients with Citizens. 

C. Each insurance producer, whether an individual or an 

agency, shall assign an administrator who shall have the 

responsibility and authority to add and/or delete unlicensed 

employees, including insurance producers, who have been 

authorized to access the E.P.I.C. system. The administrator 

shall provide each unlicensed employee, including insurance 

producers, an E.P.I.C. system access code, and the 

administrator and insurance producer shall select a secure 

password to access the E.P.I.C. system. The administrator 

shall be responsible for managing the E.P.I.C. system 

interface with the insurance producer, whether an individual 

or an agency, and maintaining up-to- date information in the 

E.P.I.C. system. 

D. Citizens will publish and maintain technical computer 

system requirements for the E.P.I.C. system. Instructions for 

using the E.P.I.C. system will be available on a web site 

created and maintained by Citizens. Insurance producers are 

responsible for ensuring that their computer systems and 

internal resources meet the technical computer system 

requirements and that their unlicensed employees, including 

insurance producers if an insurance agency, are properly 

trained on the use of the E.P.I.C. system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1873 (September  

2007),amended LR 47:1530 (October 2021). 

§12115. Procedures for Application to Bind Coverage 

A. The insurance producer shall complete and submit the 

on-line application for property and casualty insurance 

coverage to Citizens and shall comply with all requirements 

of the application process that have been established by 

Citizens. 

B. The insurance producer authorized to bind coverage 

with Citizens on the E.P.I.C. system shall provide a valid 

Louisiana property and casualty insurance producer license 

number issued by the department in each application for 

property and casualty coverage with Citizens utilizing the 

E.P.I.C. system. The administrator shall be responsible for 

maintaining an up-to-date list of insurance producers with 

the current insurance producer license number issued by the 

department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1874 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1531 (October 2021). 

§12117. Education and Training 

A. Each authorized insurance producer and each 

authorized employee of an insurance producer shall attend 

any certified continuing education seminar that may be 

required by Citizens in order to maintain their binding 

authority. Citizens will provide appropriate notice to 

authorized insurance producers should a continuing 

education requirement be identified. 

B. Each new insurance producer and each employee of a 

new insurance producer shall attend any previously 

approved and required Citizens education seminar, as well as 

review and follow all training documents, rules and 

guidelines provided on Citizens’ website. As a prerequisite 

for authorization to bind coverage, new producers and 

existing producers must comply with this Regulation 87. 

C. Any insurance producer who is authorized by and 

conducting business with Citizens on the date Regulation 87 

becomes final shall have until December 31, 2008 to 

complete the educational requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1874 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1531 (October 2021). 

§12119. Errors and Omission Insurance 

A. Each insurance producer, including the insurance 

agency if applicable, must provide documentary proof to 

Citizens that it has met and is carrying a required minimum 

of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 annual 

aggregate of professional liability coverage at the time of 

application for binding authority. Proof of professional 

liability coverage shall include, at a minimum, 

documentation that verifies the liability insurer, the amount 

of coverage and the duration of coverage. The administrator 

of the insurance producer shall update this proof of 

professional liability coverage in the E.P.I.C. system each 

year in advance of the expiration date of the coverage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1874 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1531 (October 2021). 

§12121. Underwriting Requirements 

A. Each insurance producer, including a producer who is 

an insurance agency, who has authority to bind coverage 

with Citizens is responsible to ensure that each producer and 

unlicensed employee properly follows all of the 

underwriting procedures established by Citizens. Any 

insurance producer who attempts to bind coverage with 

Citizens and fails to follow the underwriting procedures that 

have been established by Citizens shall be subject to the 

action that Citizens is authorized to take, including the 

suspension and termination of binding authority privileges, 

as prescribed in Section 12125. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1430.22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1874 (September 2007). 
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§12123. Premium Payments Requirements 

A. An insurance producer shall submit to Citizens an 

electronic payment, via the E.P.I.C. system, of the $65 non-

refundable application fee in order to receive a coverage 

confirmation letter. The policyholder, or the producer or 

mortgage company on behalf of the policyholder, has 14 

days from the effective date of the coverage confirmation 

Letter to submit a minimum payment of 25 percent of the 

quoted policy premium plus 100 percent of all policy fees 

and taxes. If the minimum payment is not received by 

Citizens by the fourteenth day, the quote will expire. The 

E.P.I.C. system will allow payment electronically with either 

a credit card or an electronic transfer of funds (ETF). Both 

methods require a completed Funds Authorization Form to 

be submitted to Citizens via the E.P.I.C. system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1874 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1531 (October 2021). 

§12125. Suspension and Termination of Binding 

Authority 

A. Citizens has the authority to suspend or terminate the 

binding authority privileges of an insurance producer if 

Citizens determines that the insurance producer has failed to 

adhere to proper underwriting and binding procedures that 

have been established by Citizens. 

B. An insurance producer who demonstrates a consistent 

practice of submitting multiple procedural errors on 

applications to bind coverage with Citizens may have his 

binding authority privileges suspended for a period of not 

more than 12 months and until such time as Citizens has 

determined that the subject insurance producer has taken the 

actions required by Citizens to rectify the procedural errors. 

C. An insurance producer who, during a 12 month 

period, commits a substantive error in five or more 

applications to bind coverage with Citizens may have his 

binding authority privileges suspended for a period of not 

more than 12 months and until such time as Citizens has 

determined that the subject insurance producer has taken the 

actions required by Citizens to rectify the substantive errors. 

D. An unlicensed employee who demonstrates a 

consistent pattern of submitting procedural errors or 

substantive errors on applications to bind coverage with 

Citizens may be denied the right to access the E.P.I.C. 

system on behalf of the insurance producer until such time 

as Citizens has determined that the subject unlicensed 

employee has taken the actions required by Citizens to 

rectify the errors. The insurance producer, and if applicable 

an insurance agency, who is responsible for the unlicensed 

employee who has been sanctioned herein shall be subject to 

suspension or termination of the binding authority privileges 

as deemed appropriate by Citizens pursuant to the guidelines 

set forth in Subsections B, C, E and F. 

E. An insurance agency, whose producers and/or 

unlicensed employees, demonstrate a consistent practice of 

submitting applications to bind coverage with Citizens that 

contain substantive errors that materially affect the 

underwriting risk of any contract of property and casualty 

insurance issued, or to be issued, by Citizens may have all 

binding authority privileges terminated for a period of not 

more than 12 months and until such time as Citizens has 

determined that the subject insurance producer has taken the 

actions required by Citizens to rectify the substantive errors. 

After the expiration of the termination period, the insurance 

producer may apply for reinstatement. Reinstatement shall 

be at the sole discretion of Citizens and may be subject to 

any additional training or educational requirements imposed 

by Citizens. 

F. An insurance producer who has been determined by 

Citizens to have knowingly or intentionally engaged in 

fraudulent conduct or committed an act of fraud in or 

relative to an application to bind coverage with Citizens 

shall have all binding authority privileges terminated and 

shall not be eligible for reinstatement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2313 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1875 (September 2007), 

amended LR 47:1531 (October 2021). 

§12127. Appeals 

A. An insurance producer aggrieved by any action taken 

by the chief executive officer of Citizens relative to the 

suspension or termination of their binding authority 

privileges shall have the right to file a written appeal to the 

board of directors of Citizens. The written appeal shall be 

filed within 30 days of the date of the adverse action taken 

by the chief executive officer of Citizens against the 

aggrieved party. The written appeal shall set forth, in detail, 

each and every reason why the aggrieved party is entitled to 

the relief requested, including any documents, papers and 

things tendered in support thereof. The board of directors of 

Citizens may conduct a hearing or may consider the matter 

as being submitted on the merits. The board of directors of 

Citizens shall render a decision within 90 days after the date 

of the lodging of a timely and complete appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1430.22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1875 (September 2007). 

§12129. Referral for Regulatory Action 

A. Citizens reserves the right to refer any matter 

involving Regulation 87 to the department for any legal 

action authorized under the Louisiana Insurance Code, 

including, but not limited to, fine, probation, suspension or 

revocation of the insurance producer license issued by the 

department to the insurance producer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1430.22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1875 (September 2007). 

§12131. Severability 
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A. If any provision of Regulation 87 or its application to 

any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity 

shall not affect other provisions or applications of 

Regulation 87 which can be given effect without the invalid 

provision or application, and to that end, the provisions of 

Regulation 87 are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1430.22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1875 (September 2007). 

§12133. Effective Date  

A. Regulation 87 shall become effective on the date of 

the publication of the final Rule in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1430.22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Citizens 

Property Insurance Corporation, LR 33:1875 (September 2007). 

Chapter 125. Regulation 92―Military 

Sales Practices 

§12501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth standards 

to protect active duty service members of the United States 

Armed Forces from dishonest and predatory insurance sales 

practices by declaring certain identified practices to be false, 

misleading, deceptive or unfair. 

B. Nothing herein shall be construed to create or imply a 

private cause of action for a violation of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2457 (November 

2007). 

§12503. Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply only to the solicitation or 

sale of any life insurance or annuity product by an insurer or 

insurance producer to an active duty service member of the 

United States Armed Forces. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2457 (November 

2007). 

§12505. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated by the Commissioner 

of Insurance pursuant to authority granted under the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, Title 22, §22:1 et seq., 

particularly 22:3, and the Unfair Trade Practices Law, see 

Title 22, §1211, and specifically §1214.(1)(a). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2457 (November 

2007). 

§12507. Exemptions 

A. This regulation shall not apply to solicitations or sales 

involving: 

1. credit insurance; 

2. group life insurance or group annuities where there 

is no in-person, face-to-face solicitation of individuals by an 

insurance producer or where the contract or certificate does 

not include a side fund; 

3. an application to the existing insurer that issued the 

existing policy or contract when a contractual change or a 

conversion privilege is being exercised; or, when the 

existing policy or contract is being replaced by the same 

insurer pursuant to a program filed with and approved by the 

commissioner; or, when a term conversion privilege is 

exercised among corporate affiliates; 

4. individual stand-alone health policies, including 

disability income policies; 

5. contracts offered by Servicemembers' Group Life 

Insurance (SGLI) or Veterans' Group Life Insurance (VGLI), 

as authorized by 38 U.S.C. Section 1965 et seq.; 

6. life insurance contracts offered through or by a non-

profit military association, qualifying under Section 501(c) 

(23) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), and which are not 

underwritten by an insurer; or 

7. contracts used to fund: 

a. an employee pension or welfare benefit plan that 

is covered by the Employee Retirement and Income Security 

Act (ERISA); 

b. a plan described by Sections 401(a), 401(k), 

403(b), 408(k) or 408(p) of the IRC, as amended, if 

established or maintained by an employer; 

c. a government or church plan defined in Section 

414 of the IRC, a government or church welfare benefit 

plan, or a deferred compensation plan of a state or local 

government or tax exempt organization under Section 457 of 

the IRC; 

d. a nonqualified deferred compensation 

arrangement established or maintained by an employer or 

plan sponsor; 

e. settlements of or assumptions of liabilities 

associated with personal injury litigation or any dispute or 

claim resolution process; or 

f. prearranged funeral contracts. 

B. Nothing herein shall be construed to abrogate the 

ability of nonprofit organizations (and/or other 

organizations) to educate members of the United States 

Armed Forces in accordance with Department of Defense 

DOD Instruction 1344.07―Personal Commercial 

Solicitation on DOD Installations or successor directive. 

C. For purposes of this regulation, general 

advertisements, direct mail and internet marketing shall not 
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constitute "solicitation." Telephone marketing shall not 

constitute "solicitation" provided the caller explicitly and 

conspicuously discloses that the product concerned is life 

insurance and makes no statements that avoid a clear and 

unequivocal statement that life insurance is the subject 

matter of the solicitation. Provided however, nothing in this 

Subsection shall be construed to exempt an insurer or 

insurance producer from this regulation in any in-person, 

face-to-face meeting established as a result of the 

"solicitation" exemptions identified in this Subsection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2457 (November 

2007). 

§12509. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this regulation the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Active Duty―full-time duty in the active military 

service of the United States and includes members of the 

reserve component (National Guard and Reserve) while 

serving under published orders for active duty or full-time 

training. The term does not include members of the reserve 

component who are performing active duty or active duty for 

training under military calls or orders specifying periods of 

less than 31 calendar days. 

Department of Defense (DOD) Personnel―all active 

duty service members and all civilian employees, including 

nonappropriated fund employees and special government 

employees, of the Department of Defense. 

Door to Door―a solicitation or sales method whereby 

an insurance producer proceeds randomly or selectively 

from household to household without prior specific 

appointment. 

General Advertisement―an advertisement having as its 

sole purpose the promotion of the reader's or viewer's 

interest in the concept of insurance, or the promotion of the 

insurer or the insurance producer. 

Insurer―an insurance company required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to provide life insurance 

products, including annuities. 

Insurance Producer―a person required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to sell, solicit or negotiate life 

insurance, including annuities. 

Known or Knowingly―depending on its use herein, the 

insurance producer or insurer had actual awareness, or in the 

exercise of ordinary care should have known, at the time of 

the act or practice complained of, that the person solicited: 

a. is a service member; or 

b. is a service member with a pay grade of E-4 or 

below. 

Life Insurance―insurance coverage on human lives 

including benefits of endowment and annuities, and may 

include benefits in the event of death or dismemberment by 

accident and benefits for disability income and unless 

otherwise specifically excluded, includes individually issued 

annuities. 

Military Installation―any federally owned, leased, or 

operated base, reservation, post, camp, building, or other 

facility to which service members are assigned for duty, 

including barracks, transient housing, and family quarters. 

MyPay―a Defense Finance and Accounting Service 

(DFAS) web-based system that enables service members to 

process certain discretionary pay transactions or provide 

updates to personal information data elements without using 

paper forms. 

Service Member―any active duty officer 

(commissioned and warrant) or enlisted member of the 

United States Armed Forces. 

Side Fund―a fund or reserve that is part of or otherwise 

attached to a life insurance policy (excluding individually 

issued annuities) by rider, endorsement or other mechanism 

which accumulates premium or deposits with interest or by 

other means. The term does not include: 

a. accumulated value or cash value or secondary 

guarantees provided by a universal life policy; 

b. cash values provided by a whole life policy 

which are subject to standard nonforfeiture law for life 

insurance; or 

c. a premium deposit fund which: 

 i. contains only premiums paid in advance which 

accumulate at interest; 

 ii. imposes no penalty for withdrawal; 

 iii. does not permit funding beyond future required 

premiums; 

 iv. is not marketed or intended as an investment; 

and 

 v. does not carry a commission, either paid or 

calculated. 

Specific Appointment―a prearranged appointment 

agreed upon by both parties and definite as to place and 

time. 

United States Armed Forces―all components of the 

Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2457 (November 

2007). 

§12511. Practices Declared False, Misleading, Deceptive 

or Unfair on a Military Installation 

A. The following acts or practices when committed on a 

military installation by an insurer or insurance producer with 
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respect to the in-person, face-to-face solicitation of life 

insurance are declared to be false, misleading, deceptive or 

unfair: 

1. knowingly soliciting the purchase of any life 

insurance product "door to door" or without first establishing 

a specific appointment for each meeting with the prospective 

purchaser; 

2. soliciting service members in a group or "mass" 

audience or in a "captive" audience where attendance is not 

voluntary; 

3. knowingly making appointments with or soliciting 

service members during their normally scheduled duty 

hours; 

4. making appointments with or soliciting service 

members in barracks, day rooms, unit areas, or transient 

personnel housing or other areas where the installation 

commander has prohibited solicitation; 

5. soliciting the sale of life insurance without first 

obtaining permission from the installation commander or the 

commander's designee; 

6. posting unauthorized bulletins, notices or 

advertisements; 

7. failing to present DD Form 2885, Personal 

Commercial Solicitation Evaluation, to service members 

solicited or encouraging service members solicited not to 

complete or submit a DD Form 2885; 

8. knowingly accepting an application for life 

insurance or issuing a policy of life insurance on the life of 

an enlisted member of the United States Armed Forces 

without first obtaining for the insurer's files a completed 

copy of any required form which confirms that the applicant 

has received counseling or fulfilled any other similar 

requirement for the sale of life insurance established by 

regulations, directives or rules of the DOD or any branch of 

the Armed Forces. 

B. The following acts or practices when committed on a 

military installation by an insurer or insurance producer 

constitute corrupt practices, improper influences or 

inducements and are declared to be false, misleading, 

deceptive or unfair:  

1. using DOD personnel, directly or indirectly, as a 

representative or agent in any official or business capacity 

with or without compensation with respect to the solicitation 

or sale of life insurance to service members;  

2. using an insurance producer to participate in any 

United States Armed Forces sponsored education or 

orientation program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2458 (November 

2007). 

§12513. Practices Declared False, Misleading, Deceptive 

or Unfair Regardless of Location 

A. The following acts or practices by an insurer or 

insurance producer constitute corrupt practices, improper 

influences or inducements and are declared to be false, 

misleading, deceptive or unfair: 

1. submitting, processing or assisting in the 

submission or processing of any allotment form or similar 

device used by the United States Armed Forces to direct a 

service member's pay to a third party for the purchase of life 

insurance. The foregoing includes, but is not limited to, 

using or assisting in using a service member's "MyPay" 

account or other similar internet or electronic medium for 

such purposes. This Subsection does not prohibit assisting a 

service member by providing insurer or premium 

information necessary to complete any allotment form; 

2. knowingly receiving funds from a service member 

for the payment of premium from a depository institution 

with which the service member has no formal banking 

relationship. For purposes of this Section, a formal banking 

relationship is established when the depository institution: 

a. provides the service member a deposit agreement 

and periodic statements and makes the disclosures required 

by the Truth in Savings Act, 12 U.S.C., §4301 et seq. and the 

regulations promulgated thereunder; and 

b. permits the service member to make deposits and 

withdrawals unrelated to the payment or processing of 

insurance premiums; 

3. employing any device or method or entering into 

any agreement whereby funds received from a service 

member by allotment for the payment of insurance 

premiums are identified on the service member's Leave and 

Earnings Statement or equivalent or successor form as 

"Savings" or "Checking" and where the service member has 

no formal banking relationship as defined in §12513.A.2; 

4. entering into any agreement with a depository 

institution for the purpose of receiving funds from a service 

member whereby the depository institution, with or without 

compensation, agrees to accept direct deposits from a service 

member with whom it has no formal banking relationship; 

5. using DOD personnel, directly or indirectly, as a 

representative or agent in any official or unofficial capacity 

with or without compensation with respect to the solicitation 

or sale of life insurance to service members who are junior 

in rank or grade, or to the family members of such 

personnel; 

6. offering or giving anything of value, directly or 

indirectly, to DOD personnel to procure their assistance in 

encouraging, assisting or facilitating the solicitation or sale 

of life insurance to another service member; 

7. knowingly offering or giving anything of value to a 

service member with a pay grade of E-4 or below for his or 

her attendance to any event where an application for life 

insurance is solicited; 

8. advising a service member with a pay grade of E-4 
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or below to change his or her income tax withholding or 

state of legal residence for the sole purpose of increasing 

disposable income to purchase life insurance. 

B. The following acts or practices by an insurer or 

insurance producer lead to confusion regarding source, 

sponsorship, approval or affiliation and are declared to be 

false, misleading, deceptive or unfair. 

1. Making any representation, or using any device, 

title, descriptive name or identifier that has the tendency or 

capacity to confuse or mislead a service member into 

believing that the insurer, insurance producer or product 

offered is affiliated, connected or associated with, endorsed, 

sponsored, sanctioned or recommended by the U.S. 

Government, the United States Armed Forces, or any state or 

federal agency or government entity. Examples of prohibited 

insurance producer titles include, but are not limited to, 

"Battalion Insurance Counselor," "Unit Insurance Advisor," 

"Servicemen's Group Life Insurance Conversion Consultant" 

or "Veteran's Benefits Counselor." 

2. Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit a 

person from using a professional designation awarded after 

the successful completion of a course of instruction in the 

business of insurance by an accredited institution of higher 

learning. Such designations include, but are not limited to, 

Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), Chartered Financial 

Consultant (ChFC), Certified Financial Planner (CFP), 

Master of Science in Financial Services (MSFS), or Masters 

of Science Financial Planning (MS). 

3. Soliciting the purchase of any life insurance 

product through the use of or in conjunction with any third 

party organization that promotes the welfare of or assists 

members of the United States Armed Forces in a manner that 

has the tendency or capacity to confuse or mislead a service 

member into believing that either the insurer, insurance 

producer or insurance product is affiliated, connected or 

associated with, endorsed, sponsored, sanctioned or 

recommended by the U.S. Government, or the United States 

Armed Forces. 

C. The following acts or practices by an insurer or 

insurance producer lead to confusion regarding premiums, 

costs or investment returns and are declared to be false, 

misleading, deceptive or unfair: 

1. using or describing the credited interest rate on a 

life insurance policy in a manner that implies that the 

credited interest rate is a net return on premium paid; 

2. excluding individually issued annuities, 

misrepresenting the mortality costs of a life insurance 

product, including stating or implying that the product "costs 

nothing" or is "free." 

D. The following acts or practices by an insurer or 

insurance producer regarding SGLI or VGLI are declared to 

be false, misleading, deceptive or unfair: 

1. making any representation regarding the 

availability, suitability, amount, cost, exclusions or 

limitations to coverage provided to a service member or 

dependents by SGLI or VGLI, which is false, misleading or 

deceptive; 

2. making any representation regarding conversion 

requirements, including the costs of coverage, or exclusions 

or limitations to coverage of SGLI or VGLI to private 

insurers which is false, misleading or deceptive; 

3. suggesting, recommending or encouraging a service 

member to cancel or terminate his or her SGLI policy or 

issuing a life insurance policy which replaces an existing 

SGLI policy unless the replacement shall take effect upon or 

after the service member's separation from the United States 

Armed Forces. 

E. The following acts or practices by an insurer and or 

insurance producer regarding disclosure are declared to be 

false, misleading, deceptive or unfair: 

1. deploying, using or contracting for any lead 

generating materials designed exclusively for use with 

service members that do not clearly and conspicuously 

disclose that the recipient will be contacted by an insurance 

producer, if that is the case, for the purpose of soliciting the 

purchase of life insurance; 

2. failing to disclose that a solicitation for the sale of 

life insurance will be made when establishing a specific 

appointment for an in-person, face-to-face meeting with a 

prospective purchaser; 

3. excluding individually issued annuities, failing to 

clearly and conspicuously disclose the fact that the product 

being sold is life insurance; 

4. failing to make, at the time of sale or offer to an 

individual known to be a service member, the written 

disclosures required by Section 10 of the "Military Personnel 

Financial Services Protection Act," Pub. L. No. 109-290, 

p.16; 

5. excluding individually issued annuities, when the 

sale is conducted in-person face-to-face with an individual 

known to be a service member, failing to provide the 

applicant at the time the application is taken: 

a. an explanation of any free look period with 

instructions on how to cancel if a policy is issued; and 

b. either a copy of the application or a written 

disclosure. The copy of the application or the written 

disclosure shall clearly and concisely set out the type of life 

insurance, the death benefit applied for and its expected first 

year cost. A basic illustration that meets the requirements of 

the department's Regulation 55, "Life Insurance 

Illustrations" shall be deemed sufficient to meet this 

requirement for a written disclosure. 

F. The following acts or practices by an insurer or 

insurance producer with respect to the sale of certain life 

insurance products are declared to be false, misleading, 

deceptive or unfair: 

1. excluding individually issued annuities, 

recommending the purchase of any life insurance product 

which includes a side fund to a service member in pay 
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grades E-4 and below unless the insurer has reasonable 

grounds for believing that the life insurance death benefit, 

standing alone, is suitable; 

2. offering for sale or selling a life insurance product 

which includes a side fund to a service member in pay 

grades E-4 and below who is currently enrolled in SGLI, is 

presumed unsuitable unless, after the completion of a needs 

assessment, the insurer demonstrates that the applicant's 

SGLI death benefit, together with any other military survivor 

benefits, savings and investments, survivor income, and 

other life insurance are insufficient to meet the applicant's 

insurable needs for life insurance: 

a. "insurable needs" are the risks associated with 

premature death taking into consideration the financial 

obligations and immediate and future cash needs of the 

applicant's estate and/or survivors or dependents; 

b. "other military survivor benefits" include, but are 

not limited to: the Death Gratuity, Funeral Reimbursement, 

Transition Assistance, Survivor and Dependents' Educational 

Assistance, Dependency and Indemnity Compensation, 

TRICARE Healthcare benefits, Survivor Housing Benefits 

and Allowances, Federal Income Tax Forgiveness, and 

Social Security Survivor Benefits; 

3. excluding individually issued annuities, offering for 

sale or selling any life insurance contract which includes a 

side fund: 

a. unless interest credited accrues from the date of 

deposit to the date of withdrawal and permits withdrawals 

without limit or penalty; 

b. unless the applicant has been provided with a 

schedule of effective rates of return based upon cash flows 

of the combined product. For this disclosure, the effective 

rate of return will consider all premiums and cash 

contributions made by the policyholder and all cash 

accumulations and cash surrender values available to the 

policyholder in addition to life insurance coverage. This 

schedule will be provided for at least each policy year from 

one to 10 and for every fifth policy year thereafter ending at 

age 100, policy maturity or final expiration; and 

c. which by default diverts or transfers funds 

accumulated in the side fund to pay, reduce or offset any 

premiums due; 

4. excluding individually issued annuities, offering for 

sale or selling any life insurance contract which after 

considering all policy benefits, including but not limited to 

endowment, return of premium or persistency, does not 

comply with standard nonforfeiture law for life insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2459 (November 

2007). 

§12515. Severability 

A. If any provision of these Sections or the application 

thereof to any person or circumstance is held invalid for any 

reason, the invalidity shall not affect the other provisions or 

any other application of these Sections which can be given 

effect without the invalid provisions or application. To this 

end all provisions of these Sections are declared to be 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2460 (November 

2007). 

§12517. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to acts 

or practices committed on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:1211, 22:1214; and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 33:2460 (November 

2007). 

Chapter 127. Regulation Number 

94—Premium Adjustments for 

Compliance with Building Codes and 

Damage Mitigation 

§12701. Authority 

A. Regulation 94 is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the commissioner pursuant to the provisions of 

R.S. 49:953 et seq., of the Administrative Procedure Act; 

R.S. 22:3 and R.S. 22:1426. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12703. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 94 is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2007, No. 323 of the Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, which mandates that insurers 

provide an actuarially justified premium discount for 

insureds who build or retrofit a structure to comply with the 

State Uniform Construction Code and/or install mitigation 

improvements or retrofit their property utilizing construction 

techniques demonstrated to reduce the amount of loss from a 

windstorm or hurricane. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12705. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 94 applies to authorized property and 

casualty insurers required to submit rates and rating plans for 

residential property insurance to the Louisiana Department 

of Insurance. 
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B. Regulation 94 does apply to modular homes. 

C. Regulation 94 does not apply to commercial 

properties or commercial residential properties with three or 

more units. 

D. Regulation 94 does not apply to approved 

unauthorized insurers, i.e., surplus lines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12707. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 94, these terms shall have the 

following meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

Certification Form—a form prepared by an insurer, 

approved by the department, and subsequently completed 

and signed by the insured, wherein the insured attests to the 

implementation of specific mitigation items which the 

insurer recognizes in its rating plan for providing an 

actuarially justified premium discount under R.S. 22:1426. 

Department—Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Discount Plan—the criteria and items utilized by an 

insurer to determine or otherwise compute an actuarially 

justified discount, credit, rate differential, adjustment in 

deductible, or any other adjustment to reduce the insurance 

premium for an eligible insured under R.S. 22:1426. 

Qualified Professional—a building code enforcement 

officer, registered architect, registered engineer, or a 

registered third-party provider authorized by the Louisiana 

State Uniform Construction Code Council to perform 

building inspections. 

Residential Property Insurance—fire and extended 

coverage insurance or homeowners insurance for a one-or 

two-family owner-occupied premises, but does not include 

insurance policies written to cover manufactured homes or 

mobile homes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12709. Rate Filings 

A. All residential property insurers shall include their 

plan for actuarially justified discounts in their first rate filing 

made with the department after March 31, 2008. Every 

residential property insurer shall make a new rate filing with 

the department in accordance with R.S. 22:1426 on or before 

January 1, 2009. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12711. Discount Plan Standards 

A. A discount plan submitted to the department should 

consider wind mitigation studies conducted by other states 

and may consider other alternative studies found acceptable 

by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12713. Mitigation Improvements and Construction 

Considered for Actuarially Justified Discounts 

A. In determining actuarially justified discounts, an 

insurer shall consider the following mitigation 

improvements and/or construction techniques that have been 

demonstrated to reduce the amount of loss from windstorm 

or hurricane: 

1. building design code; 

2. roof bracing; 

3. secondary water barriers; 

4. opening protection; 

5. roof to wall strength; 

6. roof deck attachment; 

7. roof covering and roof covering performance; 

8. wall-to-floor-to-foundation strength; 

9. window, door, and skylight strength; and 

10. other mitigation improvements and/or construction 

techniques that the insurer has determined can reduce the 

risk of loss due to wind. 

B. Discounts displayed in the insurer's rate and rule 

manual should reflect the interdependence of mitigation 

improvements and/or construction techniques required by 

the insurer to qualify for an actuarially justified discount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:90 (January 2008). 

§12715. Form Filing; Notice to Insureds 

A. The Model Certification Form in §12721, Appendix A 

provides the minimum mitigation items and construction 

techniques that must be considered for actuarially justified 

discounts. 

B. Any insurer that intends to supplement the Model 

Certification Form with additional mitigation items and 

construction techniques for actuarially justified discounts 

shall submit the supplemented certification form to the 

department for approval prior to use. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:91 (January 2008). 

§12717. Proof of Eligibility  

A. The insured has the obligation to provide the insurer 

with the appropriate documentation to verify eligibility for 

an actuarially justified discount under the provisions of R.S. 

22:1426 and Regulation 94. The insurer may require that the 

insured provide the insurer with the following: 

1. a properly completed certification form that is 
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executed by a qualified professional and that meets the 

minimum standards of the Model Certification Form in 

§12721, Appendix A to Regulation 94; and 

2. appropriate documentation demonstrating 

compliance with the State Uniform Construction Code; 

and/or 

3. appropriate documentation attesting to the 

mitigation improvements made by the insured that reduce 

the amount of loss from a windstorm or hurricane. 

B. An insurer may require the following or other 

documentation to satisfy the requirements of Paragraphs A.2 

and A.3: 

1. permits; 

2. certificates of occupancy; 

3. inspection reports; or 

4. receipts. 

C. The insurer may request additional documentation or 

proof from an insured, or an inspection of the property, if the 

insurer has a justifiable basis to question the authenticity or 

accuracy of any of the information or documentation 

provided by the insured. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:91 (January 2008). 

§12719. Notice to Producers; Information for Insureds 

A. In furtherance of Regulation 94, each insurer shall be 

responsible to ensure that its producers and authorized 

representatives are knowledgeable and prepared to properly 

inform insureds about the actuarially justified discounts 

available for insureds who build or retrofit a structure to 

comply with the State Uniform Construction Code and/or 

install mitigation improvements or retrofit their property 

utilizing construction techniques demonstrated to reduce the 

amount of loss from a windstorm or hurricane. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:91 (January 2008). 

§12721. Appendix A―Louisiana Hurricane Loss 

Mitigation Survey Form 

Louisiana Hurricane Loss Mitigation Survey Form 

Instructions:    The homeowner/policyholder shall complete 
Section I.  A qualified inspector shall complete Section II and 

sign Section III. 

Section I: Insured Information  

Applicant's/Insured's Name             

___________________________ 

Location Address*  

___________________________ 

___________________________ 

Applicant's / Insured's phone number  

   (___) ________________  

Home or Business Phone Indicator – H  or  B 

The inspection shall be conducted on each occupiable 

dwelling on the policy. This survey form does not pertain 

to accessory structures such as detached garages, storage 

sheds, barns, etc. Please circle the appropriate answer to 

each question. 

Section II: Inspection Survey 

1) BUILDING CODE: To what building or residential code 

was the dwelling constructed? 

A) Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 
B) Certified by IBHS as a Fortified for Safer Living 

structure and built above the requirements of the 

Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

C) Neither of the above; built to another code (specify) 
 ________________________________ 

D) Unknown, unidentified, or no code 

 2) BASIC DESIGN WIND SPEED: What was the Basic 

Design Wind Speed used to design and construct the 

dwelling?  

(if in fastest mile speed, convert to 3-second gust) 
A) Less than or equal to 90-mph (3-second gust) 

B) Greater than 90-mph and less than or equal to 100-mph 

(3-second gust) 
C) Greater than 100-mph and less than or equal to 110-mph 

(3-second gust) 

D) Greater than 110-mph and less than or equal to 120-mph 
(3-second gust)  

E) Greater than 120-mph and less than or equal to 130-mph 

(3-second gust) 
F) Greater than 130-mph and less than or equal to 140-mph 

(3-second gust) 
G) Greater than 140-mph and less than or equal to 150-mph 

(3-second gust) 

H) Greater than or equal to150-mph (3-second gust) 
I) Unknown, unidentified, or no Basic Wind Speed 

3) EXPOSURE CATEGORY: What Exposure Category was 

used to design and construct the dwelling? (as defined by 
ASCE 7) 

A 

B 
C 

D 

Unknown, unidentified, or no Exposure Category 

4) SECONDARY ROOF WATER INTRUSION SYSTEM: Is 

there a complete secondary roof water intrusion system 

installed over all dwelling roof areas? 

Y) Yes, on all roof areas 

N) No 

U) Unknown or Unidentified 

5) EXTENT OF WIND BORNE DEBRIS PROTECTION: 

To what extent do the building envelope openings have 

wind borne debris protection - either protected with 

external protection devices or deemed impact-resistant 

through building code approved impact testing? 

(Building envelope openings include, but are not limited to: 
windows, swinging doors, sliding doors, garage doors, 

skylights, and door sidelights.) 

A) All Openings―All building envelope openings with and 
without glass/glazing, including garage doors (if garage doors 

exist on dwelling or if no garage door exists on dwelling), 

have wind borne debris protection. 
B) All Openings (except garage doors)―All building 

envelope openings with and without glass/glazing, excluding 

garage doors (if garage doors exist on dwelling), have wind 

borne debris protection. 

C) All Glass/Glazed Openings and Some Openings without 

Glazing―All building envelope openings with glass/glazing 
and some building openings 

without glass/glazing, excluding 

garage doors, have wind borne 
debris protection. 

D) Only Glass/Glazed 

Openings―All building envelope 
openings with glass/glazing have 

wind borne debris protection. 

E) Some Glass/Glazed Openings―Some building envelope 
openings with glass/glazing have wind borne debris 

protection, but not all. 

F) No wind borne debris protection is provided on any 
glass/glazed building envelope openings. 

To be completed by Insurer: 

Insurer:  _______________ 

Policy Number: _________ 

Policy type: ____________ 

Agent:  ________________ 
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U) Unknown or unidentified 

6) TYPE OF WIND BORNE DEBRIS PROTECTION: What 

is the weakest form of wind borne debris protection used 

on the structure? (listed in descending order from strongest 
to weakest) 

A) Building envelope opening products: 

Have passed the following cyclic loading and windborne 
debris impact tests – [ASTM E 1886 and ASTM E 1996 

(Missiles D or E)] or [Miami-Dade TAS 201 and TAS 203] or 

[ANSI/DASMA 115 for garage doors only]; and are approved 
by and included in the State of Florida Product Approval 

System or the Miami-Dade Code Compliance Office Product 
Approval System; or 

Are protected with an external protection device that has 

passed the following cyclic loading and windborne debris 
impact tests – [ASTM E 1886 and ASTM E 1996 (Missiles D 

or E)] or [Miami-Dade TAS 201 and TAS 203]; and are 

approved by and included in the State of Florida Product 
Approval System or the Miami-Dade Code Compliance Office 
Product Approval System. 

B) External protection devices that cannot be identified as 

meeting the requirements in Answer A. 

C) Wood structural panels (plywood or OSB) 
U) Unknown or unidentified 

X) Not applicable because there is no wind borne debris 
protection. 

7) ROOF GEOMETRY:  What is the roof shape(s)? (Porches 

or carports that are not structurally connected to the main 

roof system are not considered in the roof geometry 

determination) 

A) Total Hip Roof Hip roof covering  entire structure 
B) Partial Hip Roof Hip  roof   with  no  other   roof  shapes 

  greater   than  50%  of  any  major

 wall length 
O) Other Any other roof shape or combination of 

  roof shapes including hip, gable, flat, 

  gambrel,   mansard,   and   other roof 
  shapes 

8) ROOF COVERING SYSTEM: If predominant roof 

covering on the dwelling is asphalt shingles, have the 

asphalt shingles passed either ASTM D3161 (Class F) or 

ASTM D7158 (Class G or H)? 

Y) Yes 
N) No 

U) Unknown or unidentified 

X) Not applicable because predominant roof covering is not 
asphalt shingles 

9) AGE OF ROOF COVERING: In what year was the roof 

covering installed? 

A) __________ (YYYY) 

U) Unknown 

10) PREDOMINANT ROOF DECK MATERIAL & 

ATTACHMENT: What are the predominant roof deck 

material and its attachment to the dwelling structure 

below? 

Type of Roof Deck:  ________________________________ 

Size and Type of Fastener: ___________________________ 

Spacing of Fasteners:  _______________________________ 

11) ROOF-WALL CONNECTION TYPE: What is the 

weakest form of Roof-Wall Connector used on the 

dwelling?  (listed in descending order from strongest to 
weakest) 

A) Double Wraps 

B) Single Wraps 
C) Clips 

D) Toenails 

E) None 
X) Not applicable as roof deck is metal roof deck (pan type), 

precast concrete panels, or poured-in-place concrete 

U) Unknown or Unidentified 

12) GABLE ROOF BRACING: Are the gable roof structure 

bracing members and system designed and installed in 

accordance to the Louisiana State Uniform Construction 

Code? 

Y) Yes 

N) No 
X) Does not apply because there are no gable or gambrel 

 roof shapes 

U) Unknown or Unidentified 

13) FOUNDATION RESTRAINT: Are the floor-to-

foundation connections designed and installed in 

accordance to the Louisiana State Uniform Construction 

Code? 

Y) Yes 

N) No 
U) Unknown or Unidentified 

 Section III - To be completed by a Qualified Professional 

as specified below: 

I certify that I am a Building Code Enforcement Officer, or a 

Third-Party Provider, as defined by Louisiana Revised 

Statute or applicable Administrative Rule.  I am registered 
with the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code Council 

and authorized, by that registry, to perform residential 

building inspections for compliance with the Louisiana State 
Uniform Construction Code.  I have conducted an inspection 

of the structure, and reviewed all construction documents and 

building product specifications necessary to accurately 

answer the questions in this inspection survey, and certify 

that, to the best of my knowledge, all questions are answered 
truthfully and correctly. 

Name (please print): ________________________________ 
Firm name: _______________________________________ 

Title (vendor, owner, officer, or partner):  _______________ 

State of Louisiana license number:  ____________________ 
Signature: ___________________________  Date ________ 

Insureds' Signatures: _________________     Date ________ 

                       __________________   Date ________ 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:91 (January 2008). 

§12723. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of this regulation to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of this 

regulation and the application to any persons or 

circumstances are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:92 (January 2008). 

§12725. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. This regulation shall 

apply to all newly filed rates filed after March 31, 2008. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1426. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:93 (January 2008). 

Chapter 129. Regulation Number 

95―Public Fire Protection Grading 

Board of Review 

§12901. Purpose 
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A. The purpose of Regulation 95 is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2006, No. 809, Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature which mandates that a board of review 

be established within the Department of Insurance to review 

a public fire protection grading issued by the Property 

Insurance Association of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:664 (April 2008). 

§12903. Scope 

A. Regulation 95 sets forth the procedures for review of 

a public fire protection grading issued by the Property 

Insurance Association of Louisiana, R.S. 22:1405.1 through 

22:1405.3. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:664 (April 2008). 

§12905. Authority 

A. Regulation 95 is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to the 

provisions of R.S. 49:953 et seq., of the Administrative 

Procedure Act; R.S. 22:3, and specifically 22:1405(J) and 

1405.1 through 1405.3. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:664 (April 2008). 

§12907. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 95, these terms shall 

have the meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

Board—board of review established by the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance to review a public fire protection 

grading issued by the Property Insurance Association of 

Louisiana pursuant to R.S. 22:1405.1.A. 

Commissioner—Commissioner of Insurance. 

Fire Chief—the highest ranking (appointed, elected, or 

designated) fire fighter in a fire protection district or other 

recognized fire protection agency. For the purposes of this 

regulation and other than §12907, Definitions, the term fire 

chief shall be inclusive of the term fire chief's designee. 

Fire Chief's Designee—that individual who is 

designated, in writing by the fire chief to the commissioner, 

as an individual authorized to request a review of a public 

fire protection grading issued by the PIAL. 

Fire Protection District—a municipal fire department or 

a state recognized fire service organization graded by the 

PIAL. 

PIAL—Property Insurance Association of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:664 (April 2008). 

§12909. Eligibility to Request Review 

A. A fire chief shall have authority to request a review of 

a public fire protection grading issued by the PIAL if the 

following requirements of R.S. 22:1405.2 have been 

satisfied: 

1. the fire chief has attended the Professional Grading 

Assistance Program class, or has attended a class on fire 

suppression grading schedule sponsored by the Louisiana 

Fire Chief's Association or the Louisiana State Fireman's 

Association, or has attended a training seminar related to fire 

suppression grading that has been approved by either the 

Property Insurance Association of Louisiana or the 

Louisiana State University Fire and Emergency Training 

Institute; and 

2. the fire chief sent a dispute letter to PIAL within 60 

days of receipt of PIAL's public fire protection grading that 

specifically identified the fire chief's reasons for 

disagreement with PIAL's grading. 

B. Upon receipt of the fire chief's dispute letter of a 

public fire protection grading, PIAL has 60 days to respond 

in writing to the fire chief. The PIAL response to the dispute 

letter shall specifically address each reason for a fire chief's 

disagreement with the public fire protection grading. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S 

22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:664 (April 2008). 

§12911. Request for Hearing 

A. The fire chief shall make a written request for board 

review of the public fire protection grading to the 

commissioner within 60 days of PIAL's written response to 

the fire chief's dispute letter. 

B If PIAL fails to provide a written response to the fire 

chief's dispute letter of a public fire protection grading 

within 60 days of receipt of the dispute letter, the fire chief 

shall make a written request to the commissioner within 10 

days of the expiration of the 60 day deadline for PIAL's 

response to the fire chief's dispute letter, for board review of 

the public fire protection grading. 

C. The fire chief's written request for board review shall 

include, but not be limited to: 

1. documentation that the fire chief or his designee 

has attended one of the classes listed in §12909.A.1; 

2. a copy of the fire chief's dispute letter sent to PIAL 

with certified/registered mail post marks as referenced in 

§12923; 

3. documentation used to support the fire chief's 

dispute of the public fire protection grading; 
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4. a copy of the initial questionnaire and other 

paperwork relevant to the dispute sent to PIAL by the fire 

chief; 

5. a copy of the public fire protection grading report 

issued by PIAL for the fire protection district that is the 

subject of the request for the review with certified/registered 

mail post marks as referenced in §12923; 

6. a copy of PIAL's written response to the fire chief's 

dispute letter, with certified/registered mail postmarks as 

referenced in §12923. If PIAL failed to respond to the fire 

chief's dispute letter, the fire chief shall include a statement 

to that effect; and 

7. a copy of the fire chief's written request for review 

sent to the commissioner, with certified/registered mail 

postmarks as referenced in §12923. 

D. The board may request additional information and 

documentation from either PIAL or the fire chief prior to the 

hearing. 

E. The board shall have the authority to suspend a 

detrimental change in a public fire protection grading from 

the date a proper request for review is received until 

appropriate board action is completed and a written decision 

has been issued by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:665 (April 2008). 

§12913. Hearing 

A. The board shall convene a hearing within 90 days 

after a request for review of a public fire protection grading 

has been properly submitted. 

B. The board shall hold the hearing in the public fire 

protection district for which a request for review has been 

filed. 

C. The fire chief shall provide a convenient forum to 

conduct the hearing in the public fire protection district that 

is the subject of the review. 

D. All testimony presented to the board during a hearing 

shall be conducted under oath. 

E. A transcript shall be taken of all testimony provided 

in a hearing or rehearing. 

F. The board shall have 90 days following the hearing to 

render its decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:665 (April 2008). 

§12915. Standard of Review 

A. The board shall determine whether the public fire 

protection grading issued by the PIAL was proper according 

to PIAL guidelines in use at the time the disputed public fire 

protection grading was performed. 

B. The board's evaluation of the public fire protection 

grading issued by PIAL shall include information provided 

to the board pursuant to §12911.C as well as all testimony 

presented at the hearing or rehearing. 

C. Within 10 days following a written request by the 

board, PIAL shall provide to the board all records relating to 

the grading of the public fire protection district that is the 

subject matter of the pending review including but not 

limited to: 

1. a copy of all information provided to PIAL by the 

fire chief at the time the disputed grading of the subject fire 

protection district was performed; 

2. a complete copy of PIAL's public fire protection 

grading procedures and guidelines used to grade the subject 

fire protection district at the time the disputed grading was 

performed; 

3. a copy of PIAL's public fire protection grading 

notice of results sent to the fire chief, with 

certified/registered mail postmarks as referenced in §12923; 

4. a copy of the fire chief's dispute letter sent to PIAL, 

with certified/registered mail postmarks as referenced in 

§12923; 

5. a copy of PIAL's written response to the fire chief's 

dispute letter, with certified/registered mail postmarks as 

referenced in §12923. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:665 (April 2008). 

§12917. Rehearing  

A. The fire chief and PIAL shall both have the right to 

request that the board reconsider its decision made pursuant 

to section §12911 through §12915. 

B. The request for rehearing of a board decision made 

pursuant to section §12911 through §12915 shall be made in 

writing to the commissioner within 10 days after receipt of a 

written decision of the board. The request for rehearing shall 

state the grounds upon which a rehearing should be granted. 

C. The commissioner shall transmit the rehearing request 

to the board within 10 days of receipt. 

D. The board shall have 60 days from the receipt of a 

request for rehearing to make its decision to grant or deny 

the rehearing request. 

E. The board shall give notice of its written decision to 

grant or deny a rehearing to both the fire chief and PIAL. 

F. If the board grants the rehearing request, the board 

shall convene the rehearing within 90 days after granting the 

request for rehearing. 

G. A rehearing shall be held at the Louisiana Department 

of Insurance. 

H. The board may request additional information and 

documentation from either PIAL or the fire chief prior to a 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 444 

rehearing. 

I. A transcript shall be taken of all testimony provided 

in a rehearing. 

J. The board shall have 90 days following the rehearing 

to render its decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:665 (April 2008). 

§12919. Decisions by the Board of Review; Effective Date 

A. The board shall transmit its written decision to both 

PIAL and the fire chief within 90 days of the completion of a 

hearing or rehearing. 

B. The decision of the board shall instruct PIAL to: 

1. reevaluate the disputed public fire protection 

grading for the subject fire protection district in accordance 

with the board's decision and instructions; or 

2. impose the disputed public fire protection grading 

for the fire protection district. 

C. The board's decision shall include written reasons for 

its decision. 

D. Three members of the board shall constitute a 

quorum. 

E. The vote of each member participating shall be 

recorded. 

F. The chairman shall only vote in the event of a tie. 

G. The decision of the board shall become effective 10 

business days following the date it was rendered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:666 (April 2008). 

§12921. Notice 

A. The board shall provide public notice of a public fire 

protection grading review hearing or rehearing 10 business 

days prior to the hearing. This notice shall provide the time, 

date, and location of the public fire protection review 

hearing or rehearing. 

B. Notice shall be published on the department's website 

and in a publication commonly circulated in the disputed fire 

protection district or other official journal for the municipal 

fire district or recognized fire protection agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:666 (April 2008). 

§12923. Certified/Registered Mail 

A. For the purposes of this regulation, select 

correspondence underlying a board review of a public fire 

protection grading shall be made in writing and sent by 

certified/registered mail. 

B. The following correspondence requires 

certified/registered post marks: 

1. PIAL's original written notice of results of a public 

fire protection grading or original written notice of results of 

a change to an existing public fire protection grading; 

2. the fire chief's written dispute letter to PIAL 

regarding PIAL's public fire protection grading; 

3. PIAL's written response to the fire chief’s dispute 

letter; 

4. the fire chief's written request for board review sent 

to the commissioner; 

5. the board's written decision rendered after a hearing 

or rehearing; 

6. a fire chief's or PIAL's written request for rehearing 

sent to the commissioner; 

7. the board's written decision to either grant or deny a 

rehearing; 

8. the board's written request to PIAL for all records 

relating to the grading of the public fire protection district 

that is the subject of the review. 

C. In the event that documents submitted are not in 

compliance with the certified/registered mail requirements in 

§12923.B, the board shall, based on the facts and 

circumstances, determine whether each document was 

originally transmitted and received in compliance with 

§12909 and 12911. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:666 (April 2008). 

§12925. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to acts 

or practices committed on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S 22:1405(J), 1405.1, 1405.2, 1405.3, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:666 (April 2008). 

Chapter 131. Regulation Number 

96―Prescribed Minimum Statutory 

Reserve Liability and Nonforfeiture 

Standard for Preneed Life Insurance 

§13101. Authority 

A. Regulation 96 is promulgated by the Commissioner of 

Insurance pursuant to authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, Title 22, R.S. 22:1 et seq., particularly the 

Standard Valuation Law, R.S. 22:163.B.(1)(a) and the 

Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life Insurance, R.S. 
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22:168.G.(8)(f). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2193 (October 

2008). 

§13103. Scope 

A. Regulation 96 applies to preneed life insurance 

policies as defined in §13107 of this regulation. Any 

discrepancy as to whether a particular insurance contract 

meets the definition of preneed life insurance as it pertains to 

this regulation will be resolved by the Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2193 (October 

2008). 

§13105. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 96 is to establish the 1980 

Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) Life Insurance 

Valuation Mortality Table, defined in §13107, as the required 

minimum statutory reserve valuation and nonforfeiture value 

standard for preneed life insurance policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2193 (October 

2008). 

§13107. Definitions 

2001 CSO Mortality Table―that mortality table, 

consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female 

lives, developed by the American Academy of Actuaries 

CSO Task Force from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Individual Life 

Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, and adopted by 

the NAIC in December 2002. The 2001 CSO Mortality 

Table is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd 

Quarter 2002). Unless the context indicates otherwise, the 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form 

of that table and the select and ultimate form of that table 

and includes both the smoker and nonsmoker mortality 

tables and the composite mortality tables. It also includes 

both the age-nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of 

the mortality tables. 

Home Service Contracts―those life insurance policies 

and certificates issued by a company that has a home service 

marketing distribution system as defined under Title 22, the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S 22: 1141.C(2). These policies 

have generally lower life insurance policy face amounts with 

simplified issue and non-medically underwritten features. 

The proceeds of these policies are usually used to pay burial 

and other funeral expenses. 

Preneed Life Insurance―for purposes of this regulation, 

is any life insurance policy or certificate that is issued in 

combination with, in support of, with an assignment to, or as 

a guarantee for a prearrangement agreement for goods and 

services to be provided at the time of, and immediately 

following, the death of the insured. Goods and services may 

include, but are not limited to, embalming, cremation, body 

preparation, viewing or visitation, coffin or urn, memorial 

stone, and transportation of the deceased. For the purpose of 

this regulation preneed life insurance shall include home 

service contracts and other similarly underwritten life 

insurance policies and certificates. 

Ultimate 1980 CSO―the Commissioners' 1980 Standard 

Ordinary Life Valuation Mortality Tables (1980 CSO) 

without 10-year selection factors, incorporated into the 1980 

amendments to the NAIC Standard Valuation Law approved 

in December 1983. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2193 (October 

2008). 

§13109. Minimum Valuation Mortality Standards 

A. For preneed life insurance policies, as defined in 

§13107, the mortality standard to be used to determine the 

minimum statutory reserve liabilities and nonforfeiture 

values for both male and female insureds shall be the 

Ultimate 1980 CSO. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2193 (October 

2008). 

§13111. Minimum Valuation Interest Rate Standards 

A. The minimum statutory valuation interest rate 

standard used in the valuation of preneed life insurance shall 

be the calendar year statutory valuation interest rates as 

defined in Title 22, the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 

22:163.B.(1). 

B. The minimum statutory interest rate standard used in 

the determination of nonforfeiture values for preneed life 

insurance shall be the calendar year statutory nonforfeiture 

interest rates as defined in Title 22, the Louisiana Insurance 

Code, R.S. 22:168.G.(9). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2193 (October 

2008). 

§13113. Minimum Valuation Method Standards 

A. The standard method used to determine the minimum 

statutory reserve for preneed life insurance shall be the 

method defined in Title 22, the Louisiana Insurance Code, 

R.S. 22:163.B.(4)(a). 

B. The standard method used to determine the minimum 

nonforfeiture values for preneed life insurance shall be the 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 446 

method defined in Title 22, the Louisiana Insurance Code, 

R.S. 22:168.G.(1). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2194 (October 

2008). 

§13115. Transition Rules 

A. For preneed life insurance policies issued on or after 

the effective date of Regulation 96, and before January 1, 

2012, the 2001 CSO may be used as the minimum statutory 

standard for reserves, and the minimum standard for 

nonforfeiture benefits, for both male and female insured 

lives. 

B. If an insurer elects to use the 2001 CSO as a 

minimum statutory standard for any preneed life insurance 

policy, issued on or after the effective date of this regulation 

and before January 1, 2012, the insurer shall provide, as a 

part of the actuarial opinion memorandum submitted in 

support of the company’s asset adequacy testing, an annual 

written notification to the domiciliary commissioner. The 

notification shall include: 

1. a complete list of all preneed life insurance policy 

forms that use the 2001 CSO as a minimum standard; 

2. a certification signed by the appointed actuary 

stating that the reserve methodology employed by the 

company in determining reserves for the preneed life 

insurance policies issued on or after the effective date of this 

regulation and using the 2001 CSO as a minimum statutory 

standard, develops adequate reserves (For the purposes of 

this certification, the preneed life insurance policies using 

the 2001 CSO as a minimum statutory standard cannot be 

aggregated with any other policies.); and 

3. supporting information regarding the adequacy of 

reserves for preneed life insurance policies issued after the 

effective date of this regulation and using the 2001 CSO as a 

minimum statutory reserve standard. 

C. Preneed life insurance policies issued on or after 

January 1, 2012, must use the Ultimate 1980 CSO in the 

calculation of minimum statutory reserves and nonforfeiture 

values. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2194 (October 

2008). 

§13117. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 96 will become effective upon 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register and will be 

applicable to preneed life insurance policies, as specified in 

§13103, issued on or after January 1, 2009. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3, 22:163, 22:168 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 34:2194 (October 

2008). 

Chapter 133. Regulation Number 

97—Vehicle Tracking Systems 

§13301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 97 is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2008, No. 132 of the Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature which mandates that the 

Department of Insurance promulgate rules and regulations 

giving further definition of vehicle tracking systems as they 

relate to motor vehicle liability and physical damage 

insurance rate reductions for motor vehicles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:957 (May 2009). 

§13303. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 97 shall apply to rate filings applied for by 

an insurer and approved by the commissioner on motor 

vehicle liability and physical damage insurance for coverage 

of any motor vehicle equipped with a vehicle tracking 

system which aids in the recovery of stolen vehicles. 

B. The definition of a vehicle tracking system provided 

herein shall give interpretation and guidance to insurers 

offering rate reductions as authorized by the commissioner 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1457(E). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:957 (May 2009). 

§13305. Authority 

A. Regulation 97 is promulgated by the commissioner 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., particularly R.S. 22:11, 

and specifically R.S. 22:1457(E). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:958 (May 2009). 

§13307. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 97 these terms shall 

have the meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner—Commissioner of Insurance. 

Insurer—any authorized insurance company which 

possesses a certificate of authority issued by the 

Commissioner to write motor vehicle liability and physical 

damage insurance business in the state of Louisiana. 

Vehicle Tracking System—an electronic device, unit or 

system installed in a motor vehicle that is accessible after 

that motor vehicle is stolen. When accessed, the electronic 

device, unit or system shall be capable of transmitting 

information regarding the location of the stolen motor 

vehicle to applicable and appropriate law enforcement 
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officials or private entities to assist in the recovery of the 

stolen motor vehicle. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:958 (May 2009). 

§13309. Rate Reduction for Vehicle Tracking System 

A. Upon application by an insurer, an actuarially 

justified rate reduction for the installation of a vehicle 

tracking system shall be approved by the commissioner, in 

accordance with law. The rate reduction filed by the insurer 

shall apply to either motor vehicle liability coverage or 

physical damage insurance coverage, or both coverages, as 

approved by the commissioner, and shall reduce the 

insurance premium of any motor vehicle when the motor 

vehicle is equipped with a vehicle tracking system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:958 (May 2009). 

§13311. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 97 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to acts 

or practices committed on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:958 (May 2009). 

§13313. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 97 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 97 to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

97 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1457. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:958 (May 2009). 

Chapter 135. Regulation Number 

93―Named Storm and Hurricane 

Deductibles 
§13501. Authority 

A. Regulation 93 is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the commissioner pursuant to the provisions of 

R.S. 49:953 et seq., of the Administrative Procedure Act; 

R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:675 (April 2009). 

§13503. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 93 is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2008, No. 854 of the Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, which allows an insurer to make a 

filing to deviate from the requirements of R.S.22:1333(C) 

and 22:1265(D) concerning deductibles for named storms 

and hurricanes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:675 (April 2009). 

§13505. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 93 applies to authorized property and 

casualty insurers required to submit rates and rating plans for 

residential property insurance to the Louisiana Department 

of Insurance. 

B. Regulation 93 applies to approved unauthorized 

insurers, i.e., surplus lines. 

C. Regulation 93 applies to modular homes. 

D. Regulation 93 does not apply to commercial 

properties or commercial residential properties with three or 

more units. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:675 (April 2009). 

§13507. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 93, these terms shall have the 

following meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner―the Commissioner of Insurance for the 

State of Louisiana. 

Department―Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Deductible―a named storm or hurricane deductible as 

defined in a policy of homeowners’ insurance. 

Homeowners Insurance―a policy of insurance on a 

one- or two-family owner-occupied premises, which 

combines fire and allied lines with any one or more perils of 

casualty, liability, or other types of insurance within one 

policy form at a single premium, where the insurer's liability 

for damage to the premises under said policy is determined 

with reference to the replacement value of the premises, but 

does not include insurance policies written to cover 

manufactured homes or mobile homes. 

New Business―the issuance of a new policy of 

homeowners' insurance. 

Region―a designated and contiguous geographic area 

of the state identified by an insurer for the purpose of 

establishing regional deductibles pursuant to R.S. 

22:1333(D) and R.S. 22:1265(F). 

Regional Deductible―a specified named storm 

deductible or hurricane deductible established by an insurer 

for a particular region. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:675 (April 2009). 

§13509. Business Plan for Authorized Property and 

Casualty Insurers; Approved Unauthorized 

Insurers 

A. Any authorized property and casualty insurer that 

makes a filing pursuant to R.S. 22:1464 for authorization to 

deviate from the requirements of R.S.22:1333(C) and 

22:1265(D) concerning deductibles for named storms and 

hurricanes shall file with the Commissioner a business plan 

setting forth the insurer's plan to write new business in the 

state of Louisiana. The business plan shall include, but not 

be limited to the following: 

1. a written description of each proposed region for 

which mandated, minimum regional deductibles will vary; 

2. a statewide graphic representation of each proposed 

region for which mandated, minimum regional deductibles 

will vary; 

3. the proposed mandated minimum regional 

deductible for each proposed region; 

4. for each region where the proposed regional 

deductible differs from the existing deductible, the insurer 

shall indicate in the business plan the methods by which it 

intends to write new business; 

5. for each region where the proposed regional 

deductible is the same as the existing deductible, the insurer 

shall make a statement to that effect; 

6. for the most recent quarter available, the number of 

policies in force and premium in force (at current rate level) 

in each proposed region, categorized by the current 

deductible on the policy; 

7. for the most recent quarter available and 

categorized by the current deductible on the policy, the 

number of policies in force in each proposed region expected 

to be rolled to the proposed mandated minimum regional 

deductible; 

8. for the most recent quarter available and 

categorized by the current deductible on the policy, the 

premium in force (at current rate level) adjusted to reflect 

the proposed mandated minimum regional deductible; 

9. for the most recent quarter available and 

categorized by the current deductible on the policy, the 

difference between the current and the expected premium, 

represented in both premium dollars and percentage change 

from the policy premiums before policies are rolled to the 

proposed mandated minimum regional deductibles; and 

10. for each proposed mandated minimum regional 

deductible, the premium credit associated with selected 

regional deductible. 

B. Any approved unauthorized insurer (i.e. surplus lines) 

seeking authorization to deviate from the requirements of 

R.S.22:1333(C) and 22:1265(D) concerning deductibles for 

named storms and hurricanes shall file with the 

Commissioner a business plan setting forth the insurer's plan 

to write new business in the state of Louisiana. The business 

plan shall include, but not be limited to the following: 

1. a written description of each proposed region for 

which mandated, minimum regional deductibles will vary; 

2. a statewide graphic representation of each proposed 

region for which mandated, minimum regional deductibles 

will vary; 

3. the proposed mandated minimum regional 

deductible for each proposed region; 

4. for each region where the proposed regional 

deductible differs from the existing deductible, the insurer 

shall indicate in the business plan the methods by which it 

intends to write new business; 

5. for each region where the proposed regional 

deductible is the same as the existing deductible, the insurer 

shall make a statement to that effect; 

6. for the most recent quarter available and 

categorized by the current deductible on the policy, the 

number of policies in force in each proposed region expected 

to be rolled to the proposed mandated minimum regional 

deductible. 

C. The business plan submitted by an insurer may 

include documentation or information setting forth why 

writing new business in a particular region may not be in the 

best interest of the insurer’s policyholders. Factors to be 

considered in determining whether writing new business is 

not in the best interest of the insurer's policyholders may 

include but not be limited to the following: 

1. the insurer's total market share based on the 

insurer's total written premium in the particular region or 

area; 

2. the insurer's total market share based on the 

insurer's total written premium in the state; 

3. the insurer's probable maximum loss (PML) based 

on the amount of risk the insurer has written in the state; 

4. the insurer's total homeowners insurance policies in 

force in the particular region or area; 

5. the insurer's total homeowners insurance policies in 

force in the state; 

6. whether the rate filing and deductible are needed to 

ensure the insurer's ability to meet its ongoing obligations to 

its policyholders; 

7. whether the rate filing and deductible are needed to 

ensure the insurer has adequate loss reserves; 

8. whether the rate filing and deductible are needed to 

ensure the insurer's ability to remain competitive in the 

market; 

9. whether the rate filing and deductible are needed to 

ensure the insurer's ability to adequately manage its business 

and the risk it has assumed; and 

10. any other factors that the Commissioner determines 

are applicable, relevant, and appropriate. 

D. Any business plan, documentation or information 

filed pursuant to subsections A, B, or C of this Section shall 

be considered proprietary or trade secret pursuant to the 
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provisions of R.S. 44:3.2 and the Uniform Trade Secrets Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:675 (April 2009). 

§13511. Rescission 

A. The Commissioner may subsequently rescind his 

approval of any filing made pursuant to this Subsection if 

the insurer fails to write new business in accordance with the 

business plan filed with and approved by the Commissioner 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

B. If a filing made pursuant to R.S. 22:1333(D) and 

22:1265(F) has been approved and in effect for at least 180 

days, any rescission by the Commissioner shall set forth the 

date when such rescission shall be effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:676 (April 2009). 

§13513. Notification to Insured of Premium Savings 

A. Any insurer receiving approval to deviate from the 

requirements of R.S. 22:1333(C) and 22:1265(D) concerning 

deductibles for named storms and hurricanes as a result of a 

filing made pursuant to Regulation 93 and R.S. 22:1333(D) 

and 22:1265(F) shall itemize and notify the insured of the 

premium savings associated with the new deductible by 

indicating the dollar amount of the premium savings on the 

renewal notice or as a separate insert with the renewal 

notice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:676 (April 2009). 

§13515. Multiple Deductibles 

A. Any homeowners policy of insurance that contains 

any provision that would apply more than one deductible to 

a loss resulting from any single incident covered by the 

policy shall be null and void and unenforceable as contrary 

to public policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:676 (April 2009). 

§13517. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 93 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 93 to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

93 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:676 (April 2009). 

§13519. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 93 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 to enforce the provisions of R.S. 22:1333(D) and 22:1265(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 35:677 (April 2009). 

 

Chapter 137. Regulation 98—Annual 

Financial Reporting 

§13701. Authority 

A. Regulation 98 is promulgated by the Commissioner of 

Insurance (commissioner) of the Louisiana Department of 

Insurance (department) pursuant to authority granted under 

the Louisiana Insurance Code Title 22, R.S. 22:1 et seq., the 

"Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et seq. more 

particularly R.S. 22:675. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2454 (November 

2009). 

§13703. Purpose and Scope 

A. The purpose of Regulation 98 is to improve the 

surveillance of the financial condition of insurers by the 

department by requiring: 

1. an annual audit of financial statements reporting the 

financial position and the results of operations of insurers by 

independent certified public accountants; 

2. the communication of internal control related 

matters noted in an audit; and  

3. a management's report of internal control over 

financial reporting. 

B. Every insurer as defined by §13705 shall be subject to 

Regulation 98. Insurers having direct premiums written in 

this state of less than $1,000,000 in any calendar year and 

fewer than 1,000 policyholders or certificate holders of 

direct written policies nationwide at the end of the calendar 

year shall be exempt from Regulation 98 for that calendar 

year unless the commissioner makes a specific finding that 

compliance is necessary for the commissioner to carry out 

statutory responsibilities. Insurers having assumed premiums 

pursuant to contracts and/or treaties of reinsurance of 

$1,000,000 or more will not be exempt. 

C. Foreign or alien insurers filing the audited financial 

report in another state, pursuant to that state's requirement 

for the filing of audited financial reports, which has been 

found by the commissioner to be substantially similar to the 

requirements herein, are exempt from §13707-§13725 of 

Regulation 98 if: 
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1. a copy of the audited financial report, 

communication of internal control related matters noted in 

an audit, and the accountant's letter of qualifications that are 

filed with the other state are filed with the commissioner in 

accordance with the filing dates specified in §13707, §13721 

and §13723 of Regulation 98 respectively. Canadian insurers 

may submit accountants’ reports as filed with the Office of 

the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, Canada; 

2. a copy of any notification of adverse financial 

condition report filed with another state is filed with the 

commissioner within the time specified in §13719 of 

Regulation 98. 

D. Foreign or alien insurers required to file 

management's report of internal control over financial 

reporting in another state are exempt from filing the report in 

the state of Louisiana provided the other state has 

substantially similar reporting requirements and the report is 

filed with the commissioner of the other state within the time 

specified. 

E. Regulation 98 shall not prohibit, preclude or in any 

way limit the commissioner of insurance from ordering or 

conducting or performing examinations of insurers under the 

rules and regulations of the Department of Insurance, and 

the practices and procedures of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2454 (November 

2009). 

§13705. Definitions 

A. The terms and definitions contained herein are 

intended to provide definitional guidance as the terms are 

used within Regulation 98. 

Accountant or Independent Certified Public 

Accountant—an independent certified public accountant or 

accounting firm in good standing with the American Institute 

of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and in all states in 

which he or she is licensed to practice; for Canadian and 

British companies, the term(s) means a Canadian-chartered 

or British-chartered accountant. 

Affiliate Of, or Person Affiliated with a Specific 

Person—a person that directly, or indirectly through one or 

more intermediaries, controls, or is controlled by, or is under 

common control with, the person specified. 

Audit Committee—a committee or equivalent body 

established by the board of directors of an entity for the 

purpose of overseeing the accounting and financial reporting 

processes of an insurer or group of insurers, the internal 

audit function of an insurer or group of insurers (if 

applicable), and external audits of financial statements of the 

insurer or group of insurers. The audit committee of any 

entity that controls a group of insurers may be deemed to be 

the audit committee for one or more of these controlled 

insurers solely for the purposes of Regulation 98 at the 

election of the controlling person. Refer to §13727.A.6 for 

exercising this election. If an audit committee is not 

designated by the insurer, the insurer's entire board of 

directors shall constitute the audit committee. 

Audited Financial Report—includes those items 

specified in §13709 of Regulation 98. 

Commissioner—Commissioner of Insurance of the state 

of Louisiana unless otherwise indicated. 

Department—Louisiana Department of Insurance unless 

otherwise indicated. 

Group of Insurers—those licensed insurers included in 

the reporting requirements Insurance Holding Company 

System Regulatory Act, R.S. 22:691 et seq., or a set of 

insurers as identified by management for the purpose of 

assessing the effectiveness of internal control over financial 

reporting. 

Indemnification—an agreement of indemnity or a 

release from liability where the intent or effect is to shift or 

limit in any manner the potential liability of the person or 

firm for failure to adhere to applicable auditing or 

professional standards, whether or not resulting in part from 

knowing of other misrepresentations made by the insurer or 

its representatives. 

Independent Board Member—as defined or described in 

§13727.A.3. 

Insurer—a licensed insurer as defined in R.S. 22:46(10) 

or an authorized insurer as defined in R.S. 22:46(3). 

Internal Audit Function—a person or persons that 

provide independent, objective and reasonable assurance 

designed to add value and improve an organization’s 

operations and accomplish its objectives by bringing a 

systematic, disciplined approach to evaluate and improve the 

effectiveness of risk management, control and governance 

processes. 

Internal Control over Financial Reporting—a process 

effected by an entity's board of directors, management and 

other personnel designed to provide reasonable assurance 

regarding the reliability of the financial statements, i.e., 

those items specified in §13709.B.2 through §13709.B.7 of 

Regulation 98 and includes those policies and procedures 

that: 

a. pertain to the maintenance of records that, in 

reasonable detail, accurately and fairly reflect the 

transactions and dispositions of assets; 

b. provide reasonable assurance that transactions are 

recorded as necessary to permit preparation of the financial 

statements, i.e., those items specified in §13709.B.2 through 

§13709.B.7 of Regulation 98 and that receipts and 

expenditures are being made only in accordance with 

authorizations of management and directors; and 

c. provide reasonable assurance regarding prevention 

or timely detection of unauthorized acquisition, use or 

disposition of assets that could have a material effect on the 

financial statements, i.e., those items specified in 
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§13709.B.2 through §13709.B.7 of Regulation 98. 

NAIC—National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

SEC—the United States Securities and Exchange 

Commission. 

Section 404—Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 

2002 and the SEC's rules and regulations promulgated 

thereunder. 

Section 404 Report—management's report on "internal 

control over financial reporting" as defined by the SEC and 

the related attestation report of the independent certified 

public accountant as described or defined in §13705 of 

Regulation 98. 

SOX Compliant Entity—an entity that either is required 

to be compliant with, or voluntarily is compliant with, all of 

the following provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002: 

a. the preapproval requirements of Section 201 

(Section 10A(i) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934); 

b. the audit committee independence requirements 

of Section 301 (Section 10A(m)(3) of the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934); and 

c. the internal control over financial reporting 

requirements of Section 404 (Item 308 of SEC Regulation S-

K). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2454 (November 

2009), amended LR 46:35 (January 2020). 

§13707. General Requirements Related to Filing and 

Extensions for Filing of Annual Audited 

Financial Reports and Audit Committee 

Appointments 

A. All insurers shall have an annual audit by an 

independent certified public accountant and shall file an 

audited financial report with the commissioner on or before 

June 1 for the year ended December 31 immediately 

preceding. The commissioner may require an insurer to file 

an Audited financial report earlier than June 1 upon giving 

90 days advance notice to the insurer. 

B. Extensions of the June 1 filing date may be granted by 

the commissioner for 30 day periods upon a showing by the 

insurer and its independent certified public accountant of the 

reasons for requesting an extension and determination by the 

commissioner of good cause for an extension. The request 

for extension must be submitted in writing not less than 10 

days prior to the due date and must contain sufficient detail 

to permit the commissioner to make an informed decision 

with respect to the requested extension. 

C. If an extension is granted in accordance with the 

provisions in Subsection B of this Section, a similar 

extension of 30 days is granted to the filing of management's 

report of internal control over financial reporting. 

D. Every insurer required to file an annual audited 

financial report pursuant to Regulation 98 shall designate a 

group of individuals as constituting its audit committee, as 

defined in §13705 of Regulation 98. The audit committee of 

an entity that controls an insurer may be deemed to be the 

insurer's audit committee for purposes of Regulation 98 at 

the election of the controlling person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2455 (November 

2009). 

§13709. Contents of Annual Audited Financial Report 

A. The annual audited financial report shall report the 

financial position of the insurer as of the end of the most 

recent calendar year and the results of its operations, cash 

flows and changes in capital and surplus for the year then 

ended in conformity with statutory accounting practices 

prescribed, or otherwise permitted, by the department of 

insurance of the state of domicile. 

B. The annual audited financial report shall include the 

following: 

1. report of independent certified public accountant; 

2. balance sheet reporting admitted assets, liabilities, 

capital and surplus; 

3. statement of operations; 

4. statement of cash flow; 

5. statement of changes in capital and surplus; 

6. notes to financial statements. 

These notes shall be those required by the appropriate 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) 
Annual Statement Instructions and the NAIC Accounting 

Practices and Procedures Manual. The notes shall include a 

reconciliation of differences, if any, between the audited 
statutory financial statements and the annual statement filed 

pursuant to R.S. 22:571 and 22:252 with a written description 

of the nature of these differences. 

C. The financial statements included in the audited 

financial report shall be prepared in a form and using 

language and groupings substantially the same as the 

relevant sections of the annual statement of the insurer filed 

with the commissioner, and the financial statement shall be 

comparative, presenting the amounts as of December 31 of 

the current year and the amounts as of the immediately 

preceding December 31. However, in the first year in which 

an insurer is required to file an audited financial report, the 

comparative data may be omitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2455 (November 
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2009). 

§13711. Designation of Independent Certified Public 

Accountant 

A. Each insurer required by Regulation 98 to file an 

annual audited financial report must within 60 days after 

becoming subject to the requirement, register with the 

commissioner in writing the name and address of the 

independent certified public accountant or accounting firm 

retained to conduct the annual audit set forth in Regulation 

98. Insurers not retaining an independent certified public 

accountant on the effective date of Regulation 98 shall 

register the name and address of their retained independent 

certified public accountant not less than six months before 

the date when the first audited financial report is to be filed. 

B. The insurer shall obtain a letter from the accountant 

and file a copy with the commissioner stating that the 

accountant is aware of the provisions of the insurance code 

and the regulations of the insurance department of the state 

of domicile that relate to accounting and financial matters 

and affirming that the accountant will express his or her 

opinion on the financial statements in terms of their 

conformity to the statutory accounting practices prescribed 

or otherwise permitted by that insurance department, 

specifying such exceptions as he or she may believe 

appropriate. 

C. If an accountant who was the accountant for the 

immediately preceding filed audited financial report is 

dismissed or resigns, the insurer shall within five business 

days notify the commissioner of this event. The insurer shall 

also furnish the commissioner with a separate letter within 

10 business days of the above notification stating whether in 

the 24 months preceding such event there were any 

disagreements with the former accountant on any matter of 

accounting principles or practices, financial statement 

disclosure, or auditing scope or procedure as well as which 

disagreements, if not resolved to the satisfaction of the 

former accountant, would have caused him or her to make 

reference to the subject matter of the disagreement in 

connection with his or her opinion. The disagreements 

required to be reported in response to this Section include 

both those resolved to the former accountant's satisfaction 

and those not resolved to the former accountant's 

satisfaction. 

D. Disagreements contemplated by this Section are those 

that occur at the decision-making level, i.e., between 

personnel of the insurer responsible for presentation of its 

financial statements and personnel of the accounting firm 

responsible for rendering its report. The insurer shall also 

request in writing that the former accountant furnish a letter 

addressed to the insurer stating whether the accountant 

agrees with the statements contained in the insurer's letter 

and, if not, stating the reasons for which he or she does not 

agree; and the insurer shall furnish the responsive letter from 

the former accountant to the commissioner together with its 

own. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2456 (November 

2009). 

§13713. Qualifications of Independent Certified Public 

Accountant 

A. The commissioner shall not recognize a person or 

firm as a qualified independent certified public accountant if 

the person or firm: 

1. is not in good standing with the AICPA and in all 

states in which the accountant is licensed to practice, or, for 

a Canadian or British company, that is not a chartered 

accountant; or 

2. has either directly or indirectly entered into an 

agreement of indemnity or release from liability, collectively 

referred to as indemnification, with respect to the audit of the 

insurer. 

B. Except as otherwise provided in Regulation 98, the 

commissioner shall recognize an independent certified 

public accountant as qualified as long as he or she conforms 

to the standards of his or her profession, as contained in the 

Code of Professional Ethics of the AICPA and Rules and 

Regulations and Code of Ethics and Rules of Professional 

Conduct of the State Board of Certified Public Accountants 

of Louisiana and the Society of Louisiana Certified Public 

Accountants, or similar code. 

C. A qualified independent certified public accountant 

may enter into an agreement with an insurer to have disputes 

relating to an audit resolved by mediation or arbitration. 

However, in the event of a delinquency proceeding 

commenced against the insurer under R.S. 22:2001 et seq., 

the mediation or arbitration provisions shall operate at the 

option of the statutory successor. 

D.1. The lead or coordinating audit partner having 

primary responsibility for the audit may not act in that 

capacity for more than five consecutive years. The person 

shall be disqualified from acting in that or a similar capacity 

for the same company or its insurance subsidiaries or 

affiliates for a period of five consecutive years. An insurer 

may make application to the commissioner for relief from 

the above rotation requirement on the basis of unusual 

circumstances. This application should be made at least 30 

days before the end of the calendar year. The commissioner 

may consider the following factors in determining if the 

relief should be granted: 

a. number of partners, expertise of the partners or 

the number of insurance clients in the currently registered 

firm; 

b. premium volume of the insurer; or 

c. number of jurisdictions in which the insurer 

transacts business. 

2. The insurer shall file, with its annual statement 

filing, the approval for relief from §13713.D.1 with the 

states that it is licensed in or doing business in and with the 



Title 37, Part XIII 

  Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 453 

NAIC. If the nondomestic state accepts electronic filing with 

the NAIC, the insurer shall file the approval in an electronic 

format acceptable to the NAIC. 

E. The commissioner shall neither recognize as a 

qualified independent certified public accountant, nor accept 

an annual audited financial report, prepared in whole or in 

part by, a natural person who: 

1. has been convicted of fraud, bribery, a violation of 

the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act, 18 

U.S.C. Sections 1961 to 1968, or any dishonest conduct or 

practices under federal or state law; 

2. has been found to have violated the insurance laws 

of this state with respect to any previous reports submitted 

under Regulation 98; or 

3. has demonstrated a pattern or practice of failing to 

detect or disclose material information in previous reports 

filed under the provisions of Regulation 98. 

F. The insurer, as provided in accordance with the 

requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., may request a hearing to determine whether 

an independent certified public accountant is qualified. 

G.1. The commissioner shall not recognize as a qualified 

independent certified public accountant, nor accept an 

annual audited financial report, prepared in whole or in part 

by an accountant who provides to an insurer, 

contemporaneously with the audit, the following non-audit 

services: 

a. bookkeeping or other services related to the 

accounting records or financial statements of the insurer; 

b. financial information systems and design and 

implementation; 

c. appraisal or valuation services, fairness opinions, 

or contribution-in-kind reports; 

d. actuarially-oriented advisory services involving 

the determination of amounts recorded in the financial 

statements. The accountant may assist an insurer in 

understanding the methods, assumptions and input used in 

the determination of amounts recorded in the financial 

statement only if it is reasonable to conclude that the 

services provided will not be subject to audit procedures 

during an audit of the insurer's financial statements. An 

accountant’s actuary may also issue an actuarial opinion or 

certification (opinion) on an insurer's reserves if the 

following conditions have been met: 

i. neither the accountant nor the accountant's 

actuary has performed any management functions or made 

any management decisions; 

 ii. the insurer has competent personnel or engages 

a third party actuary to estimate the reserves for which 

management takes responsibility; and 

 iii. the accountant's actuary tests the 

reasonableness of the reserves after the insurer's 

management has determined the amount of the reserves; 

e. internal audit outsourcing services; 

f. management functions or human resources; 

g. broker or dealer, investment adviser, or 

investment banking services; 

h.  legal services or expert services unrelated to the 

audit; or 

i. any other services that the commissioner 

determines, by regulation, are impermissible. 

2. In general, the principles of independence with 

respect to services provided by the qualified independent 

certified public accountant are largely predicated on three 

basic principles, violations of which would impair the 

accountant's independence. The principles are that the 

accountant cannot function in the role of management, 

cannot audit his or her own work, and cannot serve in an 

advocacy role for the insurer. 

H. Insurers having direct written and assumed premiums 

of less than $100,000,000 in any calendar year may request 

an exemption from §13713.G.1. The insurer shall file with 

the commissioner a written statement discussing the reasons 

why the insurer should be exempt from these provisions. If 

the commissioner finds, upon review of this statement, that 

compliance with Regulation 98 would constitute a financial 

or organizational hardship upon the insurer, an exemption 

may be granted. 

I. A qualified independent certified public accountant 

who performs the audit may engage in other non-audit 

services, including tax services, that are not described in 

§13713.G.1 or that do not conflict with §13713.G.2, only if 

the activity is approved in advance by the audit committee in 

accordance with §13713.J. 

J. All auditing services and non-audit services provided 

to an insurer by the qualified independent certified public 

accountant of the insurer shall be preapproved by the audit 

committee The preapproval requirement is waived with 

respect to non-audit services if the insurer is a SOX 

Compliant Entity or a direct or indirect wholly-owned 

subsidiary of a SOX Compliant Entity or: 

1. the aggregate amount of all such non-audit services 

provided to the insurer constitutes not more than  

5 percent of the total amount of fees paid by the insurer to its 

qualified independent certified public accountant during the 

fiscal year in which the non-audit services are provided; 

2. the services were not recognized by the insurer at 

the time of the engagement to be non-audit services; and 

3. the services are promptly brought to the attention of 

the audit committee and approved prior to the completion of 

the audit by the audit committee or by one or more members 

of the audit committee who are the members of the board of 

directors to whom authority to grant such approvals has been 

delegated by the audit committee. 

K. The audit committee may delegate to one or more 

designated members of the audit committee the authority to 

grant the preapprovals required by §13713.J. The decisions 

of any member to whom this authority is delegated shall be 
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presented to the full audit committee at each of its scheduled 

meetings. 

L.1. The commissioner shall not recognize an independent 

certified public accountant as qualified for a particular 

insurer if a member of the board, president, chief executive 

officer, controller, chief financial officer, chief accounting 

officer, or any person serving in an equivalent position for 

that insurer, was employed by the independent certified 

public accountant and participated in the audit of that insurer 

during the one-year period preceding the date that the most 

current statutory opinion is due. Paragraph L.1 shall only 

apply to partners and senior managers involved in the audit. 

An insurer may make application to the commissioner for 

relief from the above requirement on the basis of unusual 

circumstances. 

2. The insurer shall file, with its annual statement 

filing, the approval for relief from §13713.L.1 with the states 

that it is licensed in or doing business in and with the NAIC. 

If the non-domestic state accepts electronic filing with the 

NAIC, the insurer shall file the approval in an electronic 

format acceptable to the NAIC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2456 (November 

2009), amended LR 46:36 (January 2020). 

§13715. Consolidated or Combined Audits 

A. An insurer may make written application to the 

commissioner for approval to file audited consolidated or 

combined financial statements in lieu of separate annual 

audited financial statements if the insurer is part of a group 

of insurance companies that utilizes a pooling or 100 percent 

reinsurance agreement that affects the solvency and integrity 

of the insurer's reserves and the insurer cedes all of its direct 

and assumed business to the pool. In such cases, a columnar 

consolidating or combining worksheet shall be filed with the 

report, as follows: 

1. amounts shown on the consolidated or combined 

audited financial report shall be shown on the worksheet; 

2. amounts for each insurer subject to this Section 

shall be stated separately; 

3. noninsurance operations may be shown on the 

worksheet on a combined or individual basis; 

4. explanations of consolidating and eliminating 

entries shall be included; and 

5. a reconciliation shall be included of any differences 

between the amounts shown in the individual insurer 

columns of the worksheet and comparable amounts shown 

on the annual statements of the insurers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2458 (November 

2009). 

§13717. Scope of Audit and Report of Independent 

Certified Public Accountant 

A. Financial statements furnished pursuant to §13709 

shall be examined by the independent certified public 

accountant. The audit of the insurer's financial statements 

shall be conducted in accordance with generally accepted 

auditing standards. In accordance with AU Section 319 of 

the Professional Standards of the AICPA, Consideration of 

Internal Control in a Financial Statement Audit, the 

independent certified public accountant should obtain an 

understanding of internal control sufficient to plan the audit. 

To the extent required by AU 319, for those insurers required 

to file a Management's Report of Internal Control over 

Financial Reporting pursuant to §13731, the independent 

certified public accountant should consider (as that term is 

defined in Statement on Auditing Standards (SAS) No. 102, 

Defining Professional Requirements in Statements on 

Auditing Standards or its replacement) the most recently 

available report in planning and performing the audit of the 

statutory financial statements. Consideration shall be given 

to the procedures illustrated in the Financial Condition 

Examiners Handbook promulgated by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners as the independent 

certified public accountant deems necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2458 (November 

2009). 

§13719. Notification of Adverse Financial Condition 

A. The insurer required to furnish the annual audited 

financial report shall require the independent certified public 

accountant to report, in writing, within five business days to 

the board of directors or its audit committee any 

determination by the independent certified public accountant 

that the insurer has materially misstated its financial 

condition as reported to the commissioner as of the balance 

sheet date currently under audit or that the insurer does not 

meet the minimum capital and surplus requirement of the 

Louisiana Insurance Code as of that date. An insurer that has 

received a report pursuant to this paragraph shall forward a 

copy of the report to the commissioner within five business 

days of receipt of the report and shall provide the 

independent certified public accountant making the report 

with evidence of the report being furnished to the 

commissioner. If the independent certified public accountant 

fails to receive the evidence within the required five business 

day period, the independent certified public accountant shall 

furnish the commissioner a copy of its report within the next 

five business days. 

B. No independent certified public accountant shall be 

liable in any manner to any person for any statement made in 

connection with the above paragraph if the statement is 

made in good faith in compliance with §13719.A. 

C. If the accountant, subsequent to the date of the 

audited financial report filed pursuant to Regulation 98, 
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becomes aware of facts that might have affected his or her 

report, the commissioner reiterates herein the obligation of 

the accountant to take such action as prescribed in Volume 1, 

Section AU 561 of the Professional Standards of the AICPA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2458 (November 

2009). 

§13721. Communication of Internal Control Related 

Matters Noted in an Audit 

A. In addition to the annual audited financial report, each 

insurer shall furnish the commissioner with a written 

communication as to any unremediated material weaknesses 

in its internal control over financial reporting noted during 

the audit. Such communication shall be prepared by the 

accountant within 60 days after the filing of the annual 

audited financial report and shall contain a description of 

any unremediated material weakness as the term material 

weakness is defined by Statement on Auditing Standard 112, 

Communication of Internal Control Related Matters 

Identified in an Audit, or its replacement, including 

subsequent statements on auditing standards that may be 

issued requiring communications of internal control related 

matters identified in an audit to the audit committee or 

others charged with governance as of December 31 

immediately preceding so as to coincide with the audited 

financial report discussed in §13707.A in the insurer's 

internal control over financial reporting noted by the 

accountant during the course of their audit of the financial 

statements. If no unremediated material weaknesses were 

noted, the communication should so state. 

B. The insurer is required to provide a description of 

remedial actions taken or proposed to correct unremediated 

material weaknesses, if the actions are not described in the 

accountant's communication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2458 (November 

2009). 

§13723. Accountant's Letter of Qualifications 

A. The accountant shall furnish the insurer in connection 

with, and for inclusion in, the filing of the annual audited 

financial report, a letter stating: 

1. that the accountant is independent with respect to 

the insurer and conforms to the standards of his or her 

profession as contained in the Code of Professional Ethics 

and pronouncements of the AICPA and the Rules of 

Professional Conduct of the State Board of Certified Public 

Accountants of Louisiana and the Society of Louisiana 

Certified Public Accountants, or similar code; 

2. the background and experience in general, and the 

experience in audits of insurers of the staff assigned to the 

engagement and whether each is an independent certified 

public accountant. Nothing within Regulation 98 shall be 

construed as prohibiting the accountant from utilizing such 

staff as he or she deems appropriate where use is consistent 

with the standards prescribed by generally accepted auditing 

standards; 

3. that the accountant understands the annual audited 

financial report and his opinion thereon will be filed in 

compliance with Regulation 98 and that the commissioner 

will be relying on this information in the monitoring and 

regulation of the financial position of insurers; 

4. that the accountant consents to the requirements of 

§13725 of Regulation 98 and that the accountant consents 

and agrees to make available for review by the 

commissioner , or the commissioner's designee or appointed 

agent, the workpapers, as defined in §13725; 

5. a representation that the accountant is properly 

licensed by an appropriate state licensing authority and is a 

member in good standing in the AICPA; and 

6. a representation that the accountant is in 

compliance with the requirements of §13713 of Regulation 

98. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2459 (November 

2009). 

§13725. Definition, Availability and Maintenance of 

Independent Certified Public Accountants 

Workpapers 

A. Workpapers are the records kept by the independent 

certified public accountant of the procedures followed, the 

tests performed, the information obtained, and the 

conclusions reached pertinent to the accountant's audit of the 

financial statements of an insurer. Accordingly, workpapers 

may include audit planning documentation, work programs, 

analyses, memoranda, letters of confirmation and 

representation, abstracts of company documents and 

schedules or commentaries prepared or obtained by the 

independent certified public accountant in the course of his 

or her audit of the financial statements of an insurer and 

which support the accountant's opinion. 

B. Every insurer required to file an audited financial 

report pursuant to Regulation 98, shall require the 

accountant to make available for review by department of 

insurance examiners, all workpapers prepared in the conduct 

of the accountant's audit and any communications related to 

the audit between the accountant and the insurer, at the 

offices of the insurer, at the department of insurance or at 

any other reasonable place designated by the commissioner. 

The insurer shall require that the accountant retain the audit 

workpapers and communications until the department of 

insurance has filed a report on examination covering the 

period of the audit but no longer than seven years from the 

date of the audit report. 
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C. In the conduct of the aforementioned periodic review 

by department of insurance examiners, it shall be agreed that 

photocopies or electronic copies of pertinent audit 

workpapers may be made and retained by the department. 

Such reviews by the department examiners shall be 

considered investigations and all working papers and 

communications obtained during the course of such 

investigations shall be afforded the same confidentiality as 

other examination workpapers generated by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2459 (November 

2009). 

§13727. Requirements for Audit Committees 

A. This Section shall not apply to foreign or alien 

insurers licensed in this state or an insurer that is a SOX 

Compliant Entity or a direct or indirect wholly-owned 

subsidiary of a SOX Compliant Entity. 

1. The audit committee shall be directly responsible 

for the appointment, compensation and oversight of the work 

of any accountant including resolution of disagreements 

between management and the accountant regarding financial 

reporting for the purpose of preparing or issuing the audited 

financial report or related work pursuant to Regulation 98. 

Each accountant shall report directly to the audit committee. 

2. The audit committee of an insurer or group of 

insurers shall be responsible for overseeing the insurer’s 

internal audit function and granting the person or persons 

performing the function suitable authority and resources to 

fulfill their responsibilities if required by §13728 of this 

Regulation. 

3. Each member of the audit committee shall be a 

member of the board of directors of the insurer or a member 

of the board of directors of an entity elected pursuant to 

§13727.A.6 and as defined by §13705. 

4. In order to be considered independent for purposes 

of this Section, a member of the audit committee may not, 

other than in his or her capacity as a member of the audit 

committee, the board of directors, or any other board 

committee, accept any consulting, advisory or other 

compensatory fee from the entity or be an affiliated person 

of the entity or any subsidiary thereof. However, if law 

requires board participation by otherwise non-independent 

members, that law shall prevail and such members may 

participate in the audit committee and be designated as 

independent for audit committee purposes, unless they are an 

officer or employee of the insurer or one of its affiliates. 

5. If a member of the audit committee ceases to be 

independent for reasons outside the member's reasonable 

control, that person, with notice by the responsible entity to 

the department, may remain an audit committee member of 

the responsible entity until the earlier of the next annual 

meeting of the responsible entity or one year from the 

occurrence of the event that caused the member to no longer 

be independent. 

6. To exercise the election of the controlling person to 

designate the audit committee for purposes of Regulation 98, 

the ultimate controlling person shall provide written notice 

to the commissioners of the affected insurers. Notification 

shall be made timely prior to the issuance of the statutory 

audit report and include a description of the basis for the 

election. The election can be changed through notice to the 

commissioner by the insurer, which shall include a 

description of the basis for the change. The election shall 

remain in effect for perpetuity, until rescinded. 

7. The audit committee shall require the accountant 

that performs any audit for an insurer required by Regulation 

98 to timely report to the audit committee in accordance 

with the requirements of SAS 61, Communication with audit 

committees, or its replacement as well as subsequent 

statements on auditing standards that may be issued 

requiring communications to audit committees or others 

charged with governance including: 

a. all significant accounting policies and material 

permitted practices; 

b. all material alternative treatments of financial 

information within statutory accounting principles that have 

been discussed with management officials of the insurer, 

ramifications of the use of the alternative disclosures and 

treatments, and the treatment preferred by the accountant; 

and 

c. other material written communications between 

the accountant and the management of the insurer, such as 

any management letter or schedule of unadjusted 

differences. 

8. If an insurer is a member of an insurance holding 

company system, the reports required by §13727.A.7 may be 

provided to the audit committee on an aggregate basis for 

insurers in the holding company system, provided that any 

substantial differences among insurers in the system are 

identified to the audit committee. 

9. The proportion of independent audit committee 

members shall meet or exceed the following criteria. 

Prior Calendar Year Direct Written and Assumed Premiums 

$0 - $300,000,000 
Over $300,000,000 

-$500,000,000 Over $500,000,000 

No minimum 

requirements. See 

also Note A and B. 

Majority  

(50% or more) of 

members shall be 

independent. See 

also Note A and B. 

Supermajority of 

members  

(75% or more) shall 

be independent.  

See also Note A. 

Note A: The commissioner has authority afforded by state law 

to require the entity's board to enact improvements to the 
independence of the audit committee membership if the 

insurer is in a Risk Based Capital (RBC) action level event, 

meets one or more of the standards of an insurer deemed to be 
in hazardous financial condition, or otherwise exhibits 

qualities of a troubled insurer. 

Note B: All insurers with less than $500,000,000 in prior year 
direct written and assumed premiums are encouraged to 

structure their audit committees with at least a supermajority 

of independent audit committee members. 
Note C: Prior calendar year direct written and assumed 
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premiums shall be the combined total of direct premiums and 
assumed premiums from non-affiliates for the reporting 

entities. 

 

10. An insurer with direct written and assumed 

premium, excluding premiums reinsured with the Federal 

Crop Insurance Corporation and the Federal Flood Program, 

of less than $500,000,000 may make application to the 

commissioner for a waiver from the §13727 requirements 

based upon hardship. The insurer shall file, with its annual 

statement filing, the approval for relief from §13727 with the 

states that it is licensed in or doing business in and with the 

NAIC. If the non-domestic state accepts electronic filing 

with the NAIC, the insurer shall file the approval in an 

electronic format acceptable to the NAIC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2459 (November 

2009), amended LR 46:36 (January 2020). 

§13728. Internal Audit Function Requirements 

A. Exemption. An insurer is exempt from the 

requirements of this Section if: 

1. the insurer has annual direct written and 

unaffiliated assumed premium, including international direct 

and assumed premium but excluding premiums reinsured 

with the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal 

Flood Program, less than $500,000,000; and 

2. if the insurer is a member of a group of insurers, the 

group has annual direct written and unaffiliated assumed 

premium including international direct and assumed 

premium, but excluding premiums reinsured with the 

Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and Federal Flood 

Program, less than $1,000,000,000. 

NOTE:  An insurer or group of insurers exempt from the 

requirements of this Section is encouraged, but not required, to 
conduct a review of the insurer business type, sources of 

capital, and other risk factors to determine whether an internal 

audit function is warranted. The potential benefits of an 
internal audit function should be assessed and compared 

against the estimated costs. 

 

B. Function. The insurer or group of insurers shall 

establish an internal audit function providing independent, 

objective and reasonable assurance to the audit committee 

and insurer management regarding the insurer’s governance, 

risk management and internal controls. This assurance shall 

be provided by performing general and specific audits, 

reviews and tests and by employing other techniques 

deemed necessary to protect assets, evaluate control 

effectiveness and efficiency, and evaluate compliance with 

policies and regulations. 

C. Independence. In order to ensure that internal auditors 

remain objective, the internal audit function must be 

organizationally independent. Specifically, the internal audit 

function will not defer ultimate judgment on audit matters to 

others, and shall appoint an individual to head the internal 

audit function who will have direct and unrestricted access 

to the board of directors. Organizational independence does 

not preclude dual-reporting relationships. 

D. Reporting. The head of the internal Audit function 

shall report to the audit committee regularly, but no less than 

annually, on the periodic audit plan, factors that may 

adversely impact the internal audit function’s independence 

or effectiveness, material findings from completed audits 

and the appropriateness of corrective actions implemented 

by management as a result of audit findings. 

E. Additional Requirements. If an insurer is a member of 

an insurance holding company system or included in a group 

of insurers, the insurer may satisfy the internal audit function 

requirements set forth in this section at the ultimate 

controlling parent level, an intermediate holding company 

level or the individual legal entity level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the “Audited Financial Reports Law” R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:37 (January 2020). 

§13729. Conduct of Insurer in Connection with the 

Preparation of Required Reports and 

Documents 

A. No director or officer of an insurer shall, directly or 

indirectly: 

1. make or cause to be made a materially false or 

misleading statement to an accountant in connection with 

any audit, review or communication required under 

Regulation 98; or 

2. omit to state, or cause another person to omit to 

state, any material fact necessary in order to make 

statements made, in light of the circumstances under which 

the statements were made, not misleading to an accountant 

in connection with any audit, review or communication 

required under Regulation 98. 

B. No officer or director of an insurer, or any other 

person acting under the direction thereof, shall directly or 

indirectly take any action to coerce, manipulate, mislead or 

fraudulently influence any accountant engaged in the 

performance of an audit pursuant to Regulation 98 if that 

person knew or should have known that the action, if 

successful, could result in rendering the insurer’s financial 

statements materially misleading. 

C. For purposes of Subsection B of this Section, actions 

that, “if successful, could result in rendering the insurer's 

financial statements materially misleading” include but are 

not limited to actions taken at any time with respect to the 

professional engagement period to coerce, manipulate, 

mislead or fraudulently influence an accountant: 

1. to issue or reissue a report on an insurer's financial 

statements that is not warranted in the circumstances due to 

material violations of statutory accounting principles 

prescribed by the commissioner, generally accepted auditing 
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standards, or other professional or regulatory standards; 

2. to not perform audit, review or other procedures 

required by generally accepted auditing standards or other 

professional standards; 

3. to not withdraw an issued report; or 

4. to not communicate matters to an insurer's audit 

committee. 

D. If the commissioner believes that the company or any 

other person has not materially complied with Regulation 98 

or any request, order and/or directive promulgated 

hereunder, after notice and opportunity to be heard, the 

commissioner may impose sanctions, including cease and 

desist orders, the levy of a civil fine as authorized by law, 

the suspension or revocation of Insurer' Certificate of 

Authority and the referral by the commissioner of this matter 

to the proper law enforcement and prosecutorial agencies 

pursuant to R.S. 22:11 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2460 (November 

2009). 

§13731. Management's Report of Internal Control over 

Financial Reporting 

A. Every insurer required to file an audited financial 

report pursuant to Regulation 98 that has annual direct 

written and assumed premiums of $500,000,000 or more, 

excluding premiums reinsured with the Federal Crop 

Insurance Corporation and the Federal Flood Program, shall 

prepare a report of the insurer's or group of insurers' internal 

control over financial reporting, as these terms are defined in 

§13705. The report shall be filed with the commissioner 

along with the communication of internal control related 

matters noted in an audit described under §13721 

management’s report of internal control over financial 

reporting shall be as of December 31 immediately preceding. 

B. Notwithstanding the premium threshold in Subsection 

A of this Section, the commissioner may require an insurer 

to file management's report of internal control over financial 

reporting if the insurer is in any RBC level event, or is 

deemed to be in hazardous financial condition. 

C. An insurer or a group of insurers that are directly 

subject to Section 404; part of a holding company system 

whose parent is directly subject to Section 404; not directly 

subject to Section 404 but is a SOX Compliant Entity; or a 

member of a holding company system whose parent is not 

directly subject to Section 404 but is a SOX Compliant 

Entity may file its or its parent's Section 404 report and an 

addendum in satisfaction of this §13731 requirement 

provided that those internal controls of the insurer or group 

of insurers having a material impact on the preparation of 

the insurer's or group of insurers' audited statutory financial 

statements those items included in Section §13709.B.2 

through §13709.B.7 of Regulation 98 were included in the 

scope of the Section 404 Report. 

D. The addendum shall be a positive statement by 

management that there are no material processes with 

respect to the preparation of the insurer's or group of 

insurers' audited statutory financial statements those items 

included in §13709.B.2 through §13709.B.7 of Regulation 

98 excluded from the Section 404 Report. If there are 

internal controls of the insurer or group of insurers that have 

a material impact on the preparation of the insurer's or group 

of insurers' audited statutory financial statements and those 

internal controls were not included in the scope of the 

Section 404 Report, the insurer or group of insurers may 

either file a §13731 report, or the Section 404 Report and a 

§13731 report for those internal controls that have a material 

impact on the preparation of the insurer's or group of 

insurers' audited statutory financial statements not covered 

by the Section 404 Report. 

E. Management's Report of Internal Control over 

Financial Reporting shall include: 

1. a statement that management is responsible for 

establishing and maintaining adequate internal control over 

financial reporting; 

2. a statement that management has established 

internal control over financial reporting and an assertion, to 

the best of management's knowledge and belief, after 

diligent inquiry, as to whether its internal control over 

financial reporting is effective to provide reasonable 

assurance regarding the reliability of financial statements in 

accordance with statutory accounting principles; 

3. a statement that briefly describes the approach or 

processes by which management evaluated the effectiveness 

of its internal control over financial reporting; 

4. a statement that briefly describes the scope of work 

that is included and whether any internal controls were 

excluded; 

5. disclosure of any unremediated material 

weaknesses in the internal control over financial reporting 

identified by management as of December 31 immediately 

preceding. Management is not permitted to conclude that the 

internal control over financial reporting is effective to 

provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability of 

financial statements in accordance with statutory accounting 

principles if there is one or more unremediated material 

weaknesses in its internal control over financial reporting; 

6. a statement regarding the inherent limitations of 

internal control systems; and 

7. signatures of the chief executive officer and the 

chief financial officer or equivalent position/title. 

F. Management shall document and make available upon 

financial condition examination the basis upon which its 

assertions, required in Subsection E of this Section, are 

made. Management may base its assertions, in part, upon its 

review, monitoring and testing of internal controls 

undertaken in the normal course of its activities. 
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1. Management shall have discretion as to the nature 

of the internal control framework used, and the nature and 

extent of documentation, in order to make its assertion in a 

cost effective manner and, as such, may include assembly of 

or reference to existing documentation. 

2. Management's report on internal control over 

financial reporting, required by Subsection A of this Section, 

and any documentation provided in support thereof during 

the course of a financial condition examination, shall be kept 

confidential by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2461 (November 

2009). 

§13733. Exemptions and Effective Dates 

A. Upon written application of any insurer, the 

commissioner may grant an exemption from compliance 

with any and all provisions of Regulation 98 if the 

commissioner finds, upon review of the application, that 

compliance with Regulation 98 would constitute a financial 

or organizational hardship upon the insurer. An exemption 

may be granted at any time and from time to time for a 

specified period or periods. Within 10 days from a denial of 

an insurer's written request for an exemption from 

Regulation 98, the insurer may request in writing a hearing 

on its application for an exemption. The hearing shall be 

held in accordance with the regulations of the department 

pertaining to Division of Administrative Law hearing 

procedures. 

B. Domestic insurers retaining a certified public 

accountant on the effective date of Regulation 98 who 

qualify as independent shall comply with Regulation 98 for 

the year ending December 31, 2010 and each year thereafter 

unless the commissioner permits otherwise. 

C. All domestic insurers shall retain a certified public 

accountant on the effective date of Regulation 98 who 

qualifies as independent unless the commissioner permits 

otherwise. All requests for an exemption from the 

requirement shall be made in writing to the department, and 

the commissioner shall have the authority to grant an 

exemption pursuant to R.S. 22:674. 

D. Foreign insurers shall comply with Regulation 98 for 

the year ending December 31, 2010 and each year thereafter, 

unless the commissioner permits otherwise. 

E. The requirements of §13713.D shall be in effect for 

audits of the year beginning January 1, 2010 and thereafter. 

F. The requirements of §13727 are to be in effect 

January 1, 2010. An insurer or group of insurers that is not 

required to have independent audit committee members or 

only a majority of independent audit committee members as 

opposed to a supermajority because the total written and 

assumed premium is below the threshold and subsequently 

becomes subject to one of the independence requirements 

due to changes in premium shall have one year following the 

year the threshold is exceeded but not earlier than January 1, 

2010 to comply with the independence requirements. 

Likewise, an insurer that becomes subject to one of the 

independence requirements as a result of a business 

combination shall have one calendar year following the date 

of acquisition or combination to comply with the 

independence requirements. 

G. The requirements of §13731 and other modified 

sections, except for §13727 previously covered, are effective 

beginning with the reporting period ending December 31, 

2010 and each year thereafter. An insurer or group of 

insurers that is not required to file a report because the total 

written premium is below the threshold and subsequently 

becomes subject to the reporting requirements shall have 

two years following the year the threshold is exceeded but 

not earlier than December 31, 2010 to file a report. 

Likewise, an insurer acquired in a business combination 

shall have two calendar years following the date of 

acquisition or combination to comply with the reporting 

requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2462 (November 

2009). 

§13735. Canadian and British Companies 

A. In the case of Canadian and British insurers, the 

annual audited financial report shall be defined as the annual 

statement of total business on the form filed by such 

companies with their supervision authority duly audited by 

an independent chartered accountant. 

B. For such insurers, the letter required in §13711.B 

shall state that the accountant is aware of the requirements 

relating to the annual audited financial report filed with the 

commissioner pursuant to §13707 and shall affirm that the 

opinion expressed is in conformity with those requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2462 (November 

2009). 

§13737. Severability Provision 

A. If any Section or portion of a Section of Regulation 

98 or its applicability to any person or circumstance is held 

invalid by a court, the remainder of the regulation or the 

applicability of the provision to other persons or 

circumstances shall not be affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

R.S. 22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 

et seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2462 (November 
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2009). 

§13739. Effective Date  

A. Regulation 98 shall become effective upon 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1 et seq., the "Audited Financial Reports Law" R.S. 22:671 et 

seq., more particularly R.S. 22:675 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act. R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner LR 35:2462 (November 

2009).  

Chapter 141. Regulation 

100―Coverage of Prescription Drugs 

through a Drug Formulary 

§14101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 100 is to implement Act 

350 of the 2011 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature pertaining to the coverage of prescription drugs 

through a drug formulary as set forth in R.S. 22:1060.1 et 

seq. which provides for the continuation of drug coverage 

and notice to enrollees regarding drug formularies covered 

by a health insurance issuer as well as any modifications 

made thereto. The purpose of Regulation 100 is to clarify the 

requirements and notice forms now mandated by law.  

B. The purpose of the amendment to Regulation 100 is 

to update the Regulation to account for the notice 

requirements that were added to R.S. 22:1068(D)(3) and 

R.S. 22:1074(D)(3) by Act No. 217 of the 2021 Regular 

Session that a health insurance issuer must follow when 

modifying certain drug coverages offered in the group and 

individual markets. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, R.S. 1068(D) and R.S. 22:1074(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1027 (April 2012), 

amended LR 45:1207 (September 2019), repromulgated LR 45: 

1778 (December 2019), amended LR 48:2298 (September 2022). 

§14103. Authority 

A. Regulation 100 is promulgated pursuant to the 

authority granted in R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:1068F and R.S. 

22:1074F. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22:1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1027 (April 2012). 

§14105. Applicability and Scope  

A. Regulation 100 applies to all health insurance issuers 

as well as health maintenance organizations as defined by 

R.S.22:1060.1(6). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22:1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1027 (April 2012). 

§14107. Definitions 

A. Definitions. As used in Regulation 100, the following 

terms shall have the meaning or definition as indicated 

herein. 

Commissioner—commissioner of insurance for the state 

of Louisiana. 

Enrollee—any individual, including a dependent, who is 

enrolled or insured by a health insurance issuer under a 

health benefit plan. 

Policy Forman insurance contractual agreement 

delineating the terms, provisions and conditions of a 

particular insurance product. It includes certificates of 

coverage and any other evidence of coverage, subscriber 

agreements or application forms where written application is 

required and is to be attached to the policy or be a part of the 

contract, and any health and accident or health maintenance 

organization rider or endorsement form.  

Particular Product—a basic insurance policy form 

delineating the terms, provisions and conditions of a specific 

type of coverage under a particular type of contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22:1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1027 (April 2012). 

§14109. Required Notices 

A. There shall be three different and distinct types of 

notice that a health insurance issuer is required to provide to 

every applicable enrollee. Each notice shall be filed with and 

approved by the Department of Insurance prior to use in 

Louisiana. 

B. Notice and Disclosure of Drug Formulary Pursuant to 

R.S. 22:1060.2(A)(1)(e). A health insurance issuer shall file 

a “Notice and Disclosure of Drug Formulary” form with the 

Department of Insurance as a part of its coverage 

documentation. The “Notice and Disclosure of Drug 

Formulary” shall contain all of the information enumerated 

in R.S. 22:1060.2. A health insurance issuer shall submit this 

form for approval by the commissioner. Once the form is 

approved by the commissioner, the health insurance issuer 

shall only utilize said form. A health insurance issuer shall 

maintain written evidence such as a record, report or data 

compilation of enrollees who request disclosure or 

information about any specific drug that is included in a 

formulary. The written evidence such as a record, report, or 

data compilation shall include the name of the enrollee, the 

date of request, the date of response by the health insurance 

issuer and the specific drug requested. A health insurance 

issuer shall provide a copy of the written evidence such as a 

record, report or data compilation as described herein to the 

commissioner within 15 days of written request by the 

commissioner. 

C. Notice that Enrollee Has Right to Continuation of 

Coverage Pursuant to R.S. 22:1060.3. A health insurance 

issuer shall notify an enrollee as a part of coverage 

documentation that the enrollee shall have the right to 
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continue the coverage of any prescription drug that was 

approved or covered by the health insurance issuer, and that 

the coverage of such prescription drug shall be at the 

contracted benefit level until the renewal of the enrollee’s 

current plan. A health insurance issuer shall maintain written 

evidence such as a record, report or data compilation of 

enrollees who request continuation of coverage and the 

name of the specific drug. The written evidence such as a 

record, report, or data compilation shall include the name of 

the enrollee, the date of request, the date of response by the 

health insurance issuer and the name of the specific drug 

requested. A health insurance issuer shall provide a copy of 

the written evidence such as a record, report or data 

compilation as described herein to the commissioner within 

15 days of written request by the commissioner. 

D. Notice of Modification-Group Market Pursuant to 

R.S. 22:1068(D)(3) and Individual Market Pursuant to R.S. 

22:1074(D)(3). A “Notice of Modification of Benefit 

Coverage or Drug Coverage of a Particular Product” form is 

required to contain the information required in R.S. 

22:1068(D)(3) and 22:1074(D)(3). Such form used by a 

health insurance issuer shall be approved by the 

commissioner and no form may be used until approved by 

the commissioner. For group policies, such notice shall be 

delivered to the affected covered small group or large group 

employer and all enrollees at the last known address no later 

than the sixtieth day before any modification of benefit 

coverage or drug coverage of a particular product is to 

become effective. For individual policies, such notice shall 

be delivered to each affected individual at the last known 

address no later than the sixtieth day before any modification 

of benefit coverage or drug coverage of a particular product 

is to become effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22:1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1027 (April 2012). 

§14111. Requirements for the Modification Affecting 

Drug Coverage 

A. A modification affecting drug coverage shall mean 

any of the following: 

1. removing a drug from a formulary; 

2. adding a requirement that an enrollee receive prior 

authorization for a drug; 

3. imposing or altering a quantity limit for a drug; 

4. imposing a step-therapy restriction for a drug; 

5. moving a drug to a higher cost-sharing tier, unless a 

generic alternative is available. 

B. A health insurance issuer shall notify the 

commissioner in writing of a modification affecting drug 

coverage 75 days prior to the renewal date of the policy form 

as to those modifications enumerated in R.S. 22:1061(5) and 

set forth in § 14111.A herein. A health insurance issuer shall 

provide the notice of modification affecting drug coverage as 

provided for in R.S. 22:1068(D)(3) and R.S. 22:1074(D)(3) 

and shall only modify the policy or contract of insurance at 

the renewal of the policy or contract of insurance.  

C. A modification of drug coverage for any drug 

increasing over $300 per prescription or refill with an 

increase in the wholesale acquisition cost of at least 25% in 

the prior 365 days may occur at any time provided that 30-

day notice of the modification of coverage is given. The 30-

day notice of the modification of coverage shall include 

information on the health insurance issuer’s process for an 

enrollee’s physician to request an exception from the health 

insurance issuer’s modification of drug coverage for 

purposes of continuity of care of the patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, R.S. 1068(D) and R.S. 22:1074(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1028 (April 2012), 

amended LR 45:1207 (September 2019), repromulgated LR 

45:1778 (December 2019), amended LR 48:2298 (September 

2022). 

§14113. Enrollee’s Right to Appeal Adverse 

Determination 

A. The refusal of a health insurance issuer to provide 

benefits to an enrollee for a prescription drug is an adverse 

determination for the purposes of Subpart F of Part III of 

Chapter 4 of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1121 et 

seq., relative to medical necessity review organizations, if 

each of the following conditions is met. 

1. The drug is not included in a drug formulary used 

by the health benefit plan. 

2. The enrollee’s physician or other authorized 

prescriber has determined the drug is medically necessary. 

B. An enrollee may appeal the adverse determination 

pursuant to subpart F of part III of chapter 4 of the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1121 et seq., relative to medical 

necessity review organizations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22:1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1028 (April 2012). 

§14115. Requirements for Modifying a Group Insurance 

Product 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:1068, a health insurance issuer 

may modify its drug coverage offered to a group health plan 

if each of the following conditions is met. 

1. The modification occurs at the time of coverage 

renewal. 

2. The modification is approved by the commissioner. 

However, modification affecting drug coverage as defined in 

R.S. 22:1061(5)(y) and found in §14111.A. of this regulation 

shall not require approval by the commissioner.  

3. The modification is consistent with state law. 

4. The modification is effective on a uniform basis 

among all small or large employers covered by that group 

health plan. 
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5. The health insurance issuer, on the form approved 

by the Department of Insurance, notifies the small or large 

employer group and each enrollee therein of the 

modification no later than the sixtieth day before the date the 

modification is to become effective. 

6. As an exception to the requirement that a 

modification must occur at the time of coverage renewal, 

modification of drug coverage for any drug increasing over 

$300 per prescription or refill with an increase in the 

wholesale acquisition cost of at least 25 percent in the prior 

365 days may occur at any time provided that 30-day notice 

of the modification of coverage is given. The 30-day notice 

of the modification of coverage shall include information on 

the health insurance issuer’s process for an enrollee’s 

physician to request an exception from the health insurance 

issuer’s modification of drug coverage for purposes of 

continuity of care of the patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, R.S. 1068(D) and R.S. 22:1074(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1028 (April 2012), 

amended LR 45:1207 (September 2019), repromulgated LR 45: 

1778 (December 2019), amended LR 48:2298 (September 2022). 

§14117. Requirements for Modifying an Individual 

Insurance Product 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:1074, a health insurance issuer 

may modify its drug coverage offered to individuals if each 

of the following conditions is met. 

1. The modification occurs at the time of coverage 

renewal. 

2. The modification is approved by the commissioner. 

However, modification affecting drug coverage as defined in 

R.S. 22:1061(5)(y) and found in §14111.A. of this regulation 

shall not require approval by the commissioner.  

3. The modification is consistent with state law. 

4. The modification is effective on a uniform basis 

among all individuals with that policy form. 

5. The health insurance issuer, on a form approved by 

the Department of Insurance, notifies each affected 

individual of the modification no later than the sixtieth day 

before the date the modification is to become effective. 

6. As an exception to the requirement that a 

modification must occur at the time of coverage renewal, 

modification of drug coverage for any drug increasing over 

$300 per prescription or refill with an increase in the 

wholesale acquisition cost of at least 25 percent in the prior 

365 days may occur at any time provided that 30-day notice 

of the modification of coverage is given. The 30-day notice 

of the modification of coverage shall include information on 

the health insurance issuer’s process for an enrollee’s 

physician to request an exception from the health insurance 

issuer’s modification of drug coverage for purposes of 

continuity of care of the patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11, R.S. 1068(D) and R.S. 22:1074(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1028 (April 2012), 

amended LR 45:1207 (September 2019), repromulgated LR 

45:1779 (December 2019), amended LR 48:2298 (September 

2022). 

§14119. Modification Affecting Drug Coverage 

A. To facilitate the ability of the commissioner to comply 

with his statutory duty, the commissioner shall have the 

authority to enter into a contract with any person or entity he 

deems applicable, relevant and/or appropriate to provide 

advice and/or make a recommendation to the commissioner.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22: 1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 38:1028 (April 2012), 

amended 45:1207 (September 2019) , repromulgated LR 45: 1779 

(December 2019). 

§14120. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall be effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1068(F) and R.S. 22:1074(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1208 (September 

2019), repromulgated LR 45: 1779 (December 2019). 

Chapter 145. Regulation Number 

102—Approved Assurance 

Organizations 

§14501. Purpose and Intent 

A. The purpose and intent of Regulation 102 is to 

exercise the authority and fulfill the duties and 

responsibilities of the commissioner with respect to the 

continued regulation of professional employer organizations 

(“PEOs”). Regulation 102 delineates the qualifications of 

approved assurance organizations, the duties and 

responsibilities of approved assurance organizations, the 

methods by which approved assurance organizations may 

file electronic submissions on behalf of a professional 

employer organization with the department, and provides for 

related matters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2592 (December 

2014). 

§14503. Authority 

A. Regulation 102 is promulgated pursuant to the 

authority of the commissioner under R.S.22:11, R.S. 

22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and pursuant to the authority and 

powers granted by law to the commissioner and the 

department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, R.S. 22:1984, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
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Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2592 (December 

2014). 

§14505. Applicability and Scope  

A. Regulation 102 applies to any assurance organization 

that transacts business on behalf of a professional employer 

organization authorized to operate in the state of Louisiana. 

A professional employer organization shall not be required 

to utilize the services of an approved assurance organization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2592 (December 

2014). 

§14507. Qualifications for Approval of an Assurance 

Organization 

A. Any assurance organization that intends to be 

approved by the commissioner for authorization to transact 

business on behalf of a professional employer organization 

in the state of Louisiana shall apply for and obtain the 

approval of the commissioner. 

B. To be considered for approval, the assurance 

organization shall submit a written request for approval to 

the commissioner which shall include: 

1. evidence that the assurance organization is 

independent and has an established program for the 

accreditation and financial assurance of a professional 

employer organization; 

2. evidence that the assurance organization has 

documented qualifications, standards, procedures and 

financial assurance acceptable to the commissioner to certify 

the qualifications of a professional employer organization; 

3. the agreement of the assurance organization to 

provide the information, compliance monitoring services, 

and level of financial assurance acceptable to the 

commissioner and to share with the department in a timely 

manner the information and supporting documentation 

provided to the assurance organization by a professional 

employer organization that equals or exceeds the 

requirements for registration or renewal of registration under 

R.S. 22:1741 through R.S. 22:1751; and 

4. the agreement of the assurance organization that it 

will use a comprehensive online application, quarterly 

compliance reporting, and an ongoing compliance 

monitoring process for PEO accreditation that ensures that: 

a. the PEO is owned and operated by controlling 

persons with a history of honesty, law abidance, and 

responsible financial dealings both personally and in 

business; 

b. the PEO and all related entities under common 

control are financially solvent and have positive working 

capital sufficient to sustain operations; and  

c. the PEO and all related PEO entities meet the 

assurance organization’s ethical, financial, and operational 

standards, including compliance with applicable state and 

federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2592 (December 

2014). 

§14509. Requirements for an Approved Assurance 

Organization to Represent a Professional 

Employer Organization  

A. For each professional employer organization that 

chooses to be represented by an approved assurance 

organization, the approved assurance organization shall 

submit to the department an application, executed by the 

professional employer organization, requesting that the 

assurance organization be permitted to transact business on 

behalf of the professional employer organization. Such 

application shall: 

1. authorize the approved assurance organization to 

share with the department the application and compliance 

reporting information required under R.S. 22:1741 through 

R.S. 22:1751 that has been provided to the assurance 

organization by the professional employer organization; 

2. authorize the department to accept information 

provided by the professional employer organization to the 

assurance organization to facilitate the registration or 

renewal of registration of the professional employer 

organization; 

3. provide the certification of the professional 

employer organization, attesting that the information 

provided by the assurance organization to the department is 

true and complete and that the professional employer 

organization is in full and complete compliance with all 

requirements of R.S. 22:1741 through R.S. 22:1751; and 

4. provide the certification of the assurance 

organization that the professional employer organization is 

in compliance with the standards and procedures of the 

assurance organization, which equals or exceeds the 

requirements of R.S. 22:1741 through R.S. 22:1751, and that 

the professional employer organization is qualified for 

registration or renewal of registration under R.S. 22:1741 

through R.S. 22:1751.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2592 (December 

2014). 

§14511. Duties and Responsibilities of an Approved 

Assurance Organization 

A. An assurance organization that has been approved by 

the commissioner shall obtain authorization from the 

accredited professional employer organization and shall 

release to the department confidential information in support 

of each accredited professional employer organization’s 
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initial registration and/or renewal registration, including but 

not limited to the following information: 

1. basic information of the applicant professional 

employer organization to include: 

a. the name(s) of all professional employer 

organization entities under common control; 

b. the address of the domicile, headquarters and 

principal place of business of the professional employer 

organization; 

c. the physical location of all of the professional 

employer organization’s office(s) or place(s) of business in 

Louisiana and elsewhere; 

d. current contact information for the professional 

employer organization’s clients that are doing business in 

Louisiana; 

e. cross guarantees of all relevant entities; and 

f. copy of surety bonds providing coverage to the 

professional employer organization; 

2. basic information regarding the name, address, 

telephone number and facsimile number of the controlling 

person(s) of the applicant professional employer 

organization; 

3. pursuant to R.S. 22:1984, financial information of 

the applicant professional employer organization, including, 

but not limited to:  

a. current fiscal/calendar year end audited financial 

statements;  

b. a spreadsheet demonstrating the prior 

fiscal/calendar year end audited financial information and 

year-to-date calendar quarter updates, if available, including 

current assets and liabilities, net worth, net worth ratio, 

working capital, and net income for each stated period; and 

c. quarterly certifications by an independent 

certified professional accountant of the timely payment of 

state and federal payroll taxes, insurance premiums, and 

contributions to employee retirement plans for the most 

recent calendar quarter and prior five calendar quarters; 

4. basic insurance information on the applicant 

professional employer organization’s worker’s compensation 

coverage; 

5. basic insurance information on the applicant 

professional employer organization’s health insurance 

coverage; and 

6. certification that the applicant professional 

employer organization is in compliance with the assurance 

organization’s accreditation standards and procedures. 

B. An assurance organization that has been approved by 

the commissioner shall also obtain authorization from the 

accredited professional employer organization and shall 

release to the department confidential information on behalf 

of the applicant with respect to any compliance reporting 

requirement of the department pursuant to R.S. 22:1984, 

including without limitation, any reporting initiated at the 

request of the department. This section shall apply to any 

and all communications of any nature by the assurance 

organization, its agents, employees, or other designated 

representatives, that contain the confidential information 

transmitted to the department in support of the initial or 

renewal registration of the applicant professional employer 

organization as well as any other response provided to 

satisfy any inquiry made by the department. 

C. An assurance organization approved by the 

commissioner shall provide written notice to the department 

within 10 business days of a determination by the assurance 

organization that the professional employer organization: 

1. fails to meet the qualifications for registration under 

R.S. 22:1741 through R.S. 22:1751; or 

2. fails to meet the qualifications for accreditation or 

certification by the assurance organization. 

D. An assurance organization approved by the 

commissioner shall submit all required information through 

secure internet server, or as otherwise directed by the 

department. 

E. An assurance organization approved by the 

commissioner shall comply with all time periods, application 

instructions, and other requests or directives made by the 

department. 

F. An approved assurance organization shall provide the 

department such information that may be necessary and 

proper for the execution of the powers and duties of the 

department pursuant to this Regulation 102 and the 

Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, R.S. 22:1984, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2593 (December 

2014). 

§14513. Duration of Approval of an Assurance 

Organization 

A. Provided the approved assurance organization 

remains in compliance with Regulation 102, the approval 

issued by the commissioner to an assurance organization 

shall remain in effect until the assurance organization 

withdraws from the state or until approval is suspended or 

revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2594 (December 

2014). 

§14515. Duties of Commissioner 

A. Upon the approval of an assurance organization, the 

commissioner shall: 

1. issue a letter to the assurance organization notifying 

it that it meets the requirements of Regulation 102; and 
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2. include the assurance organization on the list of 

approved assurance organizations that is maintained by the 

department. 

B. In the event that an approved assurance organization 

no longer meets the requirements of Regulation 102, the 

commissioner may suspend or revoke such approval and 

conduct a detailed review of all information provided by the 

assurance organization on behalf of each professional 

employer organization that was registered based upon that 

assurance organization’s certification. The commissioner 

will notify each such professional employer organization in 

writing of any deficiencies that have been found, and each 

such professional employer organization shall be given 60 

days to correct any deficiencies as may be required to 

maintain its registration. 

C. Authorization by the department of an assurance 

organization to act on behalf of the professional employer 

organization, in complying with the registration 

requirements of R.S. 22:1748 and R.S. 22:1751, or for any 

other reason, shall not limit or change the department’s 

authority to register or terminate registration of a 

professional employer organization, or to investigate, 

enforce or take any regulatory action pursuant to any 

applicable, relevant, and appropriate provision of Regulation 

102 or the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

D. In the event of the failure of any professional 

employer organization which is registered pursuant to the 

certification of an approved assurance organization to 

comply with any provision of R.S. 22:1741 through R.S. 

22:1751 or Regulation 102, the department shall provide the 

assurance organization 30 days written notice prior to taking 

action against any bond provided by the assurance 

organization to allow the assurance organization to 

otherwise cure the default or pay the claim before a claim is 

filed against any bond. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2594 (December 

2014). 

§14517. Severability 

A. If any provision of Regulation 102 or its application 

to any person or entity or any circumstance of its application 

is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other 

provisions or applications of Regulation 102 which can be 

given effect without the invalid provision or application, and 

to that end, the provisions of Regulation 102 are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2594 (December 

2014). 

§14519. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective on January 1, 

2015 after final publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1750, R.S. 22:1751, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 40:2594 (December 

2014). 

Chapter 149. Regulation Number 

106—Replacement of Limited Benefit 

Insurance Policies 

§14901. Purpose 

A. Regulation 106 implements the provisions of Act 844, 

of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 

specifically R.S. 22:1964(27) which mandates that the 

Department of Insurance promulgate rules and/or regulations 

addressing the replacement of limited benefit insurance 

policies as defined in R.S. 22:47(2)(c). 

B. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to regulate the activities of insurers and producers 

with respect to the replacement of limited benefit insurance 

policies; 

2. to protect the interests of limited benefit insurance 

policy purchasers by establishing minimum standards of 

conduct to be observed in a replacement transaction. It will: 

a. assure that purchasers receive information with 

which a decision can be made in his or her own best interest; 

b. reduce deliberate use of misrepresentation or 

false statements in the sale of limited benefit replacement 

policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2009 (November 

2018). 

§14903. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 106 shall apply to transactions in the 

individual market involving existing limited benefit polices 

and the new sale of limited benefit insurance policies where 

it is known or should be known to the producer, or to the 

insurer if there is no producer that the sale of the limited 

benefit insurance policy will result in the replacement of an 

existing policy.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2009 (November 

2018). 

§14905. Authority 

A. Regulation 106 is promulgated by the commissioner 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., particularly R.S. 22:11, 

and specifically R.S. 22:1964(27). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2009 (November 

2018). 

§14907. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 106 the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Insurance of the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Existing Policy—an in-force limited benefit insurance 

policy or contract of insurance. 

Insurer—as defined in R.S. 22:1962(C). 

Limited Benefit Policy—any health and accident 

insurance policy designed, advertised, and marketed to 

supplement major medical insurance that includes accident-

only, the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the 

Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS), dental, disability income, 

fixed indemnity, long-term care, Medicare supplement, 

specified disease, vision, and any other health and accident 

insurance, other than basic hospital expense, basic medical-

surgical expense, or other major medical insurance or as 

defined in R.S. 22:47(2)(c). 

Producer—a person required to be licensed under the 

laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance and 

includes all persons or business entities otherwise referred to 

in the Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes as 

“insurance agent”, “agent”, “insurance broker”, “broker”, 

“insurance solicitor”, “solicitor”, or “surplus lines broker”. 

Replacement—a transaction in which a new policy or 

contract of insurance is to be purchased, and it is known or 

should be known to the producer, or to the proposing insurer 

if there is no producer, that by reason of the transaction, an 

existing policy or contract of insurance has been or is to be 

lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or otherwise terminated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2009 (November 

2018). 

§14909. Exemptions 

A. Unless otherwise specifically included, this regulation 

shall not apply to transactions involving: 

1. group and blanket group limited benefit policies; 

2. medicare supplement policies; 

3. long term care policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2009 (November 

2018). 

§14911. Duties of Insurers and Producers 

A. An application form submitted by an insurer or his 

producer for a limited benefits policy shall include a 

question designed to elicit information as to whether the 

insurance to be issued is intended to replace any other 

limited benefit insurance policy presently in force.  

1. If the applicant indicates that there are no existing 

policies to be replaced, then the producer’s and insurer’s 

duties with respect to replacement are complete. 

2. If the applicant indicates that there are existing 

policies, the producer shall present to the applicant, not later 

than at the time of taking the application, a notice regarding 

replacements in the form notice as described in Appendix A 

or such other form notice provided by the insurer and 

approved by the Commissioner of Insurance. The notice 

shall be signed by the applicant attesting that the notice has 

been received by the applicant and that the applicant 

understands that he/she is replacing an existing policy. 

3. Notwithstanding Paragraph A.2 of this Section, 

when the sales presentation is conducted by electronic 

means and all signatures are obtained via electronic 

signature technology, the meaning of “at the time of taking 

the application” shall be extended to allow for the producer’s 

submission of electronic information to the insurer. The 

requirements of Paragraph A.2 of this Section are deemed 

met when a copy of the required replacement notice 

electronically signed at the presentation is provided to the 

applicant within five business days following submission of 

the policy or contract of insurance to the insurer. The notice 

may be provided to the applicant by electronic means 

exclusively only if the applicant has chosen the option to 

receive it exclusively by electronic means. In no event shall 

the time for providing the notice exceed seven business days 

from the date the applicant signed the application.  

B. In connection with a replacement transaction, the 

producer shall submit to the insurer to which an application 

for a policy is presented, a copy of each document required 

by this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2009 (November 

2018). 

§14913. Duties of Direct Response Insurers  

A. Direct response insurers shall deliver to the applicant, 

upon acceptance of the application and prior to the issuance 

of the policy, the notice described in Appendix B or other 

substantially similar form notice approved by the 

Commissioner of Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2010 (November 

2018). 

§14915. Violations and Penalties  

A. Any failure to comply with this regulation shall be 

considered a violation of R.S. 22:1964. Violations of this 

regulation shall subject the violators to penalties as provided 

by R.S. 22:1969, 1970 and any other applicable provisions 
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of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2010 (November 

2018). 

§14917. Effective Date  

A. Regulation 106 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to any 

act or practice committed on or after the effective date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2010 (November 

2018). 

§14919. Severability  

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 106 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 106 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

106 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2010 (November 

2018). 

§14921. Appendix A—Notice Required by §14911.A.2 

Notice to Applicant Regarding Replacement of  

Limited Benefit Insurance 

According to [your application] [information you have furnished], you 
intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing limited benefit insurance and 

replace it with a policy to be issued by [insert company name] Insurance 

Company. For your own information and protection, you should be aware of 
and seriously consider certain factors that may affect the insurance 

protection available to you under the new policy. 

1. Health conditions which you may presently have, (preexisting 
conditions) may not be immediately or fully covered under the new policy. 

This could result in denial or delay of a claim for benefits present under the 

new policy, whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your 

present policy. 

2. You may wish to secure the advice of your present insurer or its 

producer regarding the proposed replacement of your present policy. This is 

not only your right but it is also in your best interests to make sure you 

understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing your present 

coverage. 

3. If, after due consideration, you still wish to terminate your 

present policy and replace it with new coverage, be certain to truthfully and 

completely answer all questions on the application concerning your 
medical/health history. Failure to include all material medical information 

on an application may provide a basis for the company to deny any future 

claims and to refund your premium as though your policy had never been in 
force. After the application has been completed and before you sign it, 

reread it carefully to be certain that all information has been properly 

recorded. 

4. ______ By checking this blank, I agree to receive this notice 

exclusively by electronic means only. 

The above “Notice to Applicant” was delivered to me on: 

___________ 

Applicant’s Signature 

________________________________________ 

Date ________________________ 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2010 (November 

2018). 

§14923. Appendix B—Notice Required by §14913.A 

Notice to Applicant Regarding Replacement of  

Limited Benefit Insurance 

According to [your application] [information you have furnished], you 
intend to lapse or otherwise terminate existing limited benefit insurance and 

replace it with a policy to be issued by [insert company name] Insurance 

Company. Your new policy provides thirty days within which you may 

decide without cost whether you desire to keep the policy. For your own 

information and protection, you should be aware of and seriously consider 

certain factors that may affect the insurance protection available to you 

under the new policy. 

1. Health conditions which you may presently have, (preexisting 

conditions) may not be immediately or fully covered under the new policy. 
This could result in denial or delay of a claim for benefits present under the 

new policy, whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your 

present policy. 

2. You may wish to secure the advice of your present insurer or its 

producer regarding the proposed replacement of your present policy. This is 

not only your right but it is also in your best interests to make sure you 
understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing your present 

coverage. 

3. If, after due consideration, you still wish to terminate your 
present policy and replace it with new coverage, be certain to truthfully and 

completely answer all questions on the application concerning your 

medical/health history. Failure to include all material medical information 
on an application may provide a basis for the company to deny any future 

claims and to refund your premium as though your policy had never been in 

force. After the application has been completed and before you sign it, 
reread it carefully to be certain that all information has been properly 

recorded. 

[Company Name] _________________________________ 

Date Mailed or Provided to Applicant  _________________ 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1964 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2010 (November 

2018). 

Chapter 151. Regulation 

108Investigation of Discrimination 

Complaints 

§15101. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated by the commissioner 

of insurance pursuant to authority granted under subpart C of 

chapter 1 of title 22 of the Revised Statutes (R.S. 22:31 et 

seq., “equal opportunity in insurance”), which provides the 

following: 

1. the Department of Insurance Division of Diversity 

and Opportunity shall review all complaints alleging a 

violation of the provisions of R.S. 22:31 et seq.; 
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2. the commissioner of insurance shall promulgate 

rules and regulations to implement R.S. 22:31 et seq.; and 

3. the commissioner of insurance shall promulgate 

rules and regulations necessary for the enforcement of R.S. 

22:35.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2189 (November 

2017). 

§15103. Purpose, Scope, and Applicability 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 

provisions of R.S. 22:31 et seq., which prohibit 

discrimination within the business of insurance, mandate the 

review and disposition of all complaints alleging a violation 

of R.S. 22:31 et seq., and require the commissioner to 

promulgate rules and regulations to implement R.S. 22:31 et 

seq. 

B. This regulation sets forth procedures through which 

complaints concerning the following types of discrimination 

shall be received and investigated:  

1. employment discrimination prohibited by Part IV of 

Chapter 3-A of Title 23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), as provided in 

R.S. 22:31(C) and R.S. 22:33; and 

2. pursuant to R.S. 22:34, the making or permitting of 

any unfair discrimination in favor of particular persons or 

between insureds or subjects of insurance having 

substantially like insuring risk and exposure factors or 

expense elements: 

a. in the terms or conditions of any insurance 

contract;  

b. in the rate or amount of premium charged 

therefor; 

c. in the benefits payable thereunder; or 

d. in any other rights or privileges accruing 

thereunder; 

e. Paragraph B.2 of this Section shall not prohibit 

fair discrimination by a life insurer as between individuals 

having unequal life expectancies; 

3. pursuant to R.S. 22:35, the refusal to issue or the 

failure to renew any policy or contract of property and 

casualty insurance to a person, solely because of the race of 

the applicant or the economic condition of the area in which 

the property sought to be insured is located, unless such 

refusal to issue or failure to renew is based on sound 

actuarial principles or is related to actual experience.  

C. Every insurer transacting business in this state shall 

be subject to this regulation. 

D. This regulation shall not preclude or in any way limit 

the personal rights of action of any person against any 

insurer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2189 (November 

2017). 

§15105. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this regulation, these terms shall 

have the meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

Affirmative Action Plan—a document that contains a 

stated purpose of the insurer to foster equal opportunities for 

minorities and the delineation of active steps and efforts by 

the insurer reasonably calculated to achieve the stated 

purpose.  

Department—Department of Insurance. 

Individual—a natural person. 

Insurer—as defined in R.S. 22:46. 

Person—any individual, company, insurer, association, 

organization, reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange, 

partnership, business, trust, limited liability company, or 

corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 

2017). 

§15107. Eligibility; Filing a Complaint 

A. Any person may file a complaint regarding any action 

taken by an insurer that is alleged to be the result of an 

insurer’s engagement in discrimination as described in 

§15103.B of this Part. Complaints may be filed by mail, 

facsimile, or by using the department’s consumer complaint 

form, available upon request from the department or on the 

department’s website.  

B. Every complaint alleging unlawful discrimination as 

described in §15103.B of this Part shall be filed for review 

with the department in written form within one year of the 

date the discrimination alleged was known or should have 

been known to the complainant.  

C. Each written complaint shall state specifically the 

discrimination alleged to have occurred, in sufficient detail 

to enable the Division of Diversity and Opportunity to 

understand what occurred, when it occurred, and the basis of 

the alleged discrimination. The complaint should also 

contain the names and other identifying information of each 

party involved and any other supporting documentation 

relevant to the complaint.  

D. When a complaint is filed by a producer, a claims 

adjuster, or employee of an insurer, the commissioner shall 

not disclose to the insurer the identity of the complainant 

without his or her consent. If it is determined that such 

disclosure is required for an administrative proceeding or 

other court proceeding based upon the findings of the 

investigation, or if such disclosure is in the interest of due 

process and necessary to the insurer’s investigation of the 
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complaint, then the commissioner shall notify the 

complainant prior to disclosure of his or her identity.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 

2017). 

§15109. Notification of Insurer; Responses of Insurer 

A. After receipt of a complaint, the Division of Diversity 

and Opportunity shall notify the insurer against whom the 

complaint was filed. Notice to the insurer shall state the 

nature of the complaint and shall request that the insurer file 

a written response to the allegations of discrimination. The 

Division of Diversity and opportunity shall submit such 

notice to the contact person designated by the insurer to 

respond to inquiries from minority groups pursuant to R.S. 

22:31(A)(2). 

B. Within 20 days of receipt of the notice of complaint, 

unless provided an extension of time by the division, the 

insurer shall file a written response to the allegations. The 

insurer’s response shall be filed by mail, facsimile, or 

electronically. The response filed by the insurer shall 

respond to each complaint of discrimination alleged to have 

occurred. As part of the response, the insurer may submit 

any affirmative action plan that was in effect at the time of 

the alleged violation.  

C. Failure of the insurer to respond timely shall result in 

a fine pursuant to R.S. 22:1995.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 

2017). 

§15111. Investigation; Findings 

A. The Division of Diversity and Opportunity shall 

consider any affirmative action plan submitted to it, along 

with any other pertinent information submitted to it, in 

investigating complaints alleging employment 

discrimination prohibited by part IV of chapter 3-A of title 

23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.) 

B. Following the completion of its review of a properly 

filed complaint, the receipt of the insurer’s response, and any 

further investigation the department requires, the Division of 

Diversity and Opportunity shall issue its finding to the 

commissioner.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 

2017). 

§15113. Enforcement; Sanctions 

A. In the event the Division of Diversity and Opportunity 

finds an apparent violation of R.S. 22:31 et seq., the 

commissioner may apply penalties as provided for in the 

Insurance Code. 

1. for employment discrimination prohibited by part 

IV of chapter 3-A of title 23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), the 

commissioner may issue a cease and desist order and other 

penalties, as provided in R.S. 22:33; 

2. for violations of R.S. 22:35, the commissioner shall 

fine the insurer $10,000 for each occurrence, as provided for 

in R.S. 22:35; or 

3. for violations of R.S. 22:34, the commissioner shall 

issue a cease and desist order and other penalties as provided 

for in R.S. 22:1969 and 1970. 

B. In lieu of taking action against an insurer alleged to 

have engaged in employment discrimination prohibited by 

part IV of chapter 3-A of title 23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), the 

commissioner may advise the complainant to file a 

complaint with the federal Equal Employment Opportunity 

Commission or the Louisiana Commission on Human 

Rights. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 

2017). 

§15115. Administrative Hearing 

A. Prior to the imposition of a penalty or sanction for an 

apparent violation of R.S. 22:31 et seq., an aggrieved party 

affected by a decision, act, or order of the commissioner may 

make a written demand for a hearing in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2191 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 

2017). 

§15117. Violations Reported by Employees; Retaliation 

by Insurer Prohibited 

A. This regulation shall not preclude or in any way limit 

the applicability of R.S. 22:14(A), which prohibits any 

insurer transacting business in this state from penalizing any 

of its employees for reporting to the commissioner or other 

appropriate authorities, in good faith, a suspected violation 

of the Insurance Code, including discrimination prohibited 

by R.S. 22:31 et seq. As provided in R.S. 22:14(A), 

penalizing shall include the following: 

1. discharging, disciplining, demoting, transferring, or 

otherwise discriminating against an employee of the insurer; 

2. reducing the benefits, pay, or work privileges of the 

employee of the insurer; 

3. preparing a negative work performance evaluation 

of an employee of the insurer; 

4. threatening to take any of the above actions.  

B. This regulation shall not preclude or in any way limit 

the applicability of R.S. 22:14(C), which provides that any 

employee who makes a written sworn report on the activities 

of an insurer is not subject to civil liability for making the 
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report and no civil cause of action may arise against the 

employee for making the report. This immunity shall apply 

provided that the information available to the employee 

would support a reasonable belief that the activity, policy, or 

practice reported violates the Insurance Code, a rule, or the 

law, or impairs or endangers the solvency of the insurer. No 

such immunity shall apply to any report that is fraudulent or 

made in bad faith. Employees who intentionally make 

fraudulent reports or make reports in bad faith shall be guilty 

of the crime of false swearing and subject to the penalties 

provided for in R.S. 14:125. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 

2017). 

§15119. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 108 or its 

application to any persons or circumstances is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 108 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 

2017). 

Chapter 153. Regulation 

107Homeowner and 

Fire/Commercial Insurance Policy 

Disclosure Forms 

§15301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 107 is to repromulgate the 

fire/commercial insurance policy disclosure form contained 

in Appendix A and to amend the homeowners insurance 

policy disclosure forms contained in Appendices B and C 

developed by the commissioner of insurance for use by all 

property and casualty insurers issuing, delivering or 

renewing homeowners and fire/commercial insurance 

policies that provide coverage for damages to property in 

Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:530 (March 2017) , 

amended LR 45: 1779 (December 2019). 

§15303. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 107 shall be applicable to all property and 

casualty insurers for all new fire/commercial policies and 

homeowner policies and all renewals of existing 

fire/commercial policies and homeowner policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:530 (March 2017), 

amended LR 45: 1779 (December 2019). 

§15305. Disclosure Forms 

A. Every property and casualty insurer issuing, 

delivering or renewing homeowners or fire/commercial 

insurance policies that provide coverage for damage to 

property in Louisiana shall present to the insured as an insert 

in the front of the policy upon issuance, delivery or renewal 

the appropriate disclosure form. 

B. Formatting Instructions. The text of the disclosure 

form should be formatted as shown in the applicable 

appendix in bold type of not less than a fourteen-point font. 

C. Appendix A contains the form that sets forth the 

disclosures required by R.S. 22:1319 for use by all property 

and casualty insurers issuing fire/commercial policies 

covering property in Louisiana. 

D. Appendix B contains the form that sets forth the 

disclosures required by R.S. 22:1332(B)(1)-(6) and (8) for 

use by all property and casualty insurers issuing homeowner 

policies covering property in Louisiana. 

E. Appendix C contains the form that sets forth the 

disclosures required by R.S. 22:1332(B)(1)-(8) for use by all 

property and casualty insurers issuing homeowner policies 

covering property in Louisiana that use claims that do not 

exceed the policy deductible and that do not result in a 

payment either to the insured or on behalf of the insured to 

increase the cost of the policy premium in the future or as 

part of the basis for cancellation of a policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017), 

amended LR 45:1779 (December 2019). 

§15307. Amendment 

A. The commissioner of insurance reserves the right to 

amend, modify, alter or rescind all or any portion of 

Regulation 107. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017), 

amended LR 45:1780 (December 2019). 

§15309. Severability Clause 

A. If any provision of Regulation 107, or the application 

thereof to any circumstance, is held invalid, such 

determination shall not affect other provisions or 

applications of Regulation 107 which can be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application, and to that end 

the provisions of Regulation 107 are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017), 

amended LR 45: 1780 (December 2019). 
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§15311. Effective Date 

A. The forms previously promulgated in Appendices B 

and C shall continue in use until May 30, 2020. 

B. The amendments to Appendices B and C shall be used 

for all new and renewal policies issued or renewed on or 

after May 30, 2020.  

C. The form previously promulgated in Appendix A 

remains unchanged and shall continue in full force and effect 

until amended, modified, altered or rescinded by the 

commissioner of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017), 

amended LR 45: 1780 (December 2019). 

§15313. Appendices 

A. Appendix A 

 

Important Information Required by  

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 

Fire Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary  
(other than Homeowners) 

Or 
Commercial Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 

This form is promulgated pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1319 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 

DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 

OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY. 
INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT. THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 

POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 

OBLIGATIONS. 

 

**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  
COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 

 
COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID (La. R.S. 

22:1319(B)(1)) 

 
[INSERT PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 
Deductibles (La. R.S. 22:1319(B)(3)) 

This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to 

claims for damages. When applicable, a deductible will be 
subtracted from your total claim and you will be paid the balance 

subject to applicable coverage limits. 
 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 

your deductible. Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
details. 

 

NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 
deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 

named storm] as defined in the policy.   
 

Separate Deductible  

Examples—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 
 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible applying 
to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under your policy:   

 

The insurer shall comply with La. R.S. 22:1319 B(3) by selecting either 
option A or B below: 

 
A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 

hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 
under the policy. The standardized example shall set forth a 

separate loss for each coverage included in the policy for which a 

premium has been paid. The total of all losses combined shall 

exceed by at least ten percent (10%) the applicable deductible(s) so 

that the example demonstrates a net payment to the insured. 
 

B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDI if 
this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 

deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 

loss under the policy: 
 

The following assumes no co-insurance penalty and a 2% 
hurricane, wind, or named storm deductible. The amounts of 

loss to the damaged property are $50,000 (building) and 

$20,000 (business personal property).    
 

Limits of insurance on building $ 100,000 
 

Total amount of building loss $ 50,000 

Less 2% deductible ($100,000 X .02) $ 2,000 
Net payment to insured for building loss $ 48,000 

 
Limits of insurance on the business personal property $ 50,000 

 

Total amount of business personal property loss $ 20,000 
Less 2% deductible ($50,000 X .02)  - $ 1,000 

Net payment to insured for business personal  
property loss $ 19,000 

 

Total net payment to insured for building and business  
personal property loss ($48,000 + $19,000) $ 67,000 

 
TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 

WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 

PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 
 

Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy (La. R.S. 22:1319(B)(2)) 
 

FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 

caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss. Flood water 

includes, but is not limited to, storm surge, waves, tidal water, 

overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 

 
 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 

Insurance Program (NFIP). NFIP flood insurance may provide 
coverage for damage to your dwelling or building and/or contents 

subject to the coverage limits and terms of the policy. 

 
 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 

policy, from this or another insurer, if the amount of the primary 
flood insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 

 

• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 

 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 
this policy. 

 
** FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS REFER TO 

YOUR POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS ON TERMS AND 

PROVISIONS ** 

 
B. Appendix B 

 
Important Information Required by 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 

Homeowners Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 
This form is promulgated pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(1)-(6) and (8) 

 

THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 
DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
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OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY. 
INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT. THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 

POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 

OBLIGATIONS. 

 

**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  
COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 

 
COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID (La. R.S. 

22:1332(B)(1)) 

 
[INSERT PERSONAL PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 
Example: 

Coverage A .................................................................Dwelling 

Coverage B ..................................................... Other Structures 
Coverage C ................................................... Personal Property 

Coverage D ............................................................ Loss of Use 
Coverage E ................................................... Personal Liability 

Coverage F ................................................... Medical Payments 

 
Deductibles(La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(5) and (6)) 

 
This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to 

claims for damages. When applicable, a deductible will be 

subtracted from your total claim and you will be paid the balance 
subject to applicable coverage limits. 

 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 
your deductible. Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

details. 

 
NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 

deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 
named storm] as defined in the policy.  

 

Separate Deductible Example—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 
 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible applying 
to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under your policy: 

 

The insurer shall comply with La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(6) by 

selecting and inserting either option A or B below: 

A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 
hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 

under the policy. The standardized example shall set forth a 

separate loss under each of Coverage A, B, C and D and the total 
of all losses combined shall exceed by at least ten percent (10%) 

the applicable deductible so that there shall be a net payment to the 
insured. 

 

B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDI if 
this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 

deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 
loss under the policy: 

 

If the total insured value of the dwelling or Coverage A is 
$200,000 and you have a 2% hurricane, wind, or named storm 

deductible, then your hurricane, wind or named storm 

deductible would be $200,000.00 X .02 = $4,000.00. 

Losses: 

Coverage A – Dwelling ............................................... $15,000 
Coverage B – Other Structures .................................... $  2,500 

Coverage C – Personal Property .................................. $  3,000 

Coverage D – Loss of Use ........................................... $  2,000 
Total amount of all losses ............................................ $22,500 

Less 2% hurricane, wind or named  

storm deductible ........................................................ $  4,000 
Net payment to insured ................................................ $18,500 

 
TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 

WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 

PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 
 

Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(2)) 
 

FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 

caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss. Flood water 

includes but is not limited to storm surge, waves, tidal water, 

overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 
 

 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 
Insurance Program (NFIP). NFIP flood insurance may provide 

coverage for damage to your dwelling and/or contents subject to the 

coverage limits and terms of the policy. 
 

 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 
policy from this or another insurer if the amount of the primary flood 

insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 

 

• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 

 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 

this policy. 

 

** FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS REFER TO 

YOUR POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS ON TERMS AND 
PROVISIONS ** 

 

Claim Filing Process (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(3)) 
 

There may be time limitations for filing a claim and filing of a 
satisfactory proof of loss. There may also be time limitations for 

repairing and replacing damaged property that could cause you to not 

recover the replacement cost for the insured loss of your property, if 
applicable. 

 
Payment of Claims (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(3)) 

 

Depending on the terms of the insurance policy, some losses may be 
based on actual cash value (ACV) and other losses based on 

replacement cost (RC). 
 

• ACV is the amount needed to repair or replace the 

damaged or destroyed property, minus the depreciation. 

• RC involves the initial payment of actual cash value 
(ACV) of a loss, and the subsequent payment of the 

additional amount that is actually and necessarily expended 

to repair or replace the damaged or destroyed property. 
 

**Refer to your policy for the terms and conditions describing 
how a particular loss is to be paid. 

 

Payment and Adjustment of Claims (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(4)) 
 

Pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1892 and 22:1973, except in the case of 
catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss adjustment of a 

property damage claim and/or a claim for reasonable medical 

expenses within fourteen (14) days after notification of loss by the 
claimant. 

 
In the case of catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss 

adjustment of a property damage claim within thirty (30) days after 

notification of loss by the claimant unless the Commissioner of 
Insurance promulgates a rule to extend the time period for initiating a 

loss adjustment for damages arising from a presidentially declared 
emergency or disaster or a gubernatorially declared emergency or 

disaster for up to an additional thirty (30) days. Thereafter, one 

additional extension of the period of time for initiating a loss 
adjustment may be allowed by the Commissioner of Insurance if 

approved by the Senate Committee on Insurance and the House 
Committee on Insurance. 

 

All insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage 
claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after the 

receipt of satisfactory proof of loss of that claim. 
 

Failure to make such payment within thirty (30) days after receipt of 
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such satisfactory written proofs and demand thereof or failure to 
make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a 

third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a satisfactory 

proof of loss of that claim may result in a late penalty against the 

insurer in addition to the payment of the claim. 

 
If the insurer is found to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable 

cause in settling any property damage claim, the insurer must pay the 
insured, in addition to the amount of the loss, fifty percent (50%) 

damages on the amount found to be due from the insurer to the 

insured, or one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), whichever is greater, as 
well as attorney fees and costs, if applicable. 

 
Reduction in Premium for Improvements or Modifications to Property (La. 

R.S. 22:1332(B)(8)) 

 
Certain improvements or modifications to your property, such as 

adding storm shutters, modifying the roof design, and improving the 
roof covering, may reduce your premium. Contact your insurance 

producer or insurer for complete details on qualifying improvements 

or modifications. For further guidance and assistance, see Regulation 
94—Premium Adjustments for Compliance with Building Codes and 

Damage Mitigation, found at LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 127. 

 
C. Appendix C 

 
Important Information Required by 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 

Homeowners Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 

This form is promulgated pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1)-(8) 
 

THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 
DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 

OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY. 

INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT. THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 
POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 

OBLIGATIONS. 
 

**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  

COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 
 

COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID  
(La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(1)) 

 

[INSERT PERSONAL PROPERTY COVERAGES] 
 

Example: 
Coverage A .................................................................Dwelling 

Coverage B ..................................................... Other Structures 

Coverage C ................................................... Personal Property 
Coverage D ............................................................ Loss of Use 

Coverage E ................................................... Personal Liability 
Coverage F ................................................... Medical Payments 

 

Deductibles (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(5), (6) and (7)) 
 

This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to claims for 

damages. When applicable, a deductible will be subtracted from your total 

claim and you will be paid the balance subject to applicable coverage limits. 

 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 
your deductible. Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

details. 

• If you file a claim that does not exceed the policy 
deductible and that does not result in a payment either to you 

or on your behalf, that claim may be used to increase the cost 
of your policy’s premium in the future or as part of the basis 

for cancellation of your policy. 

 
NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 

deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 
named storm] as defined in the policy.  

 
Separate Deductible Example—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 

 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible 

applying to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under 

your policy: 
 

The insurer shall comply with La. R.S. 22:1332 B(6) by selecting and 
inserting either option A or B below: 

 

A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 
hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 

under the policy. The standardized example shall set forth a 
separate loss under each of Coverage A, B, C and D and the total 

of all losses combined shall exceed by at least ten percent (10%) 

the applicable deductible so that there shall be a net payment to the 
insured. 

 
B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDI if 

this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 

deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 
loss under the policy: 

 
If the total insured value of the dwelling or Coverage A is 

$200,000.00 and you have a 2% hurricane, wind, or named storm 

deductible, then your hurricane, wind or named storm deductible 
would be $200,000.00 X .02 = $4,000.00. 

 

Losses: 
Coverage A – Dwelling ................................................ $15,000 

Coverage B – Other Structures ..................................... $  2,500 

Coverage C – Personal Property ................................... $  3,000 
Coverage D – Loss of Use ............................................ $  2,000 

Total amount of all losses ............................................. $22,500 

Less 2% hurricane, wind or named storm  
deductible ................................................................ $  4,000 

Net payment to insured ................................................ $18,500 
 

TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 

WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 
PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 

 
Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy(La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(2)) 

 

FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 
caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss. Flood water 

includes but is not limited to storm surge, waves, tidal water, 
overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 

 

 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 
Insurance Program (NFIP). NFIP flood insurance may provide 

coverage for damage to your dwelling and/or contents subject to the 
coverage limits and terms of the policy. 

 

 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 
policy from this or another insurer if the amount of the primary flood 

insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 
 

• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 

 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 

this policy. 
 

**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS 

REFER TO YOUR POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS 
ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS ** 

 
Claim Filing Process (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(3)) 

There may be time limitations for filing a claim and filing of a 

satisfactory proof of loss. There may also be time limitations for 
repairing and replacing damaged property that could cause you to not 

recover the replacement cost for the insured loss of your property, if 
applicable. 
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Payment of Claims(La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(3)) 
 

Depending on the terms of the insurance policy, some losses may be 

based on actual cash value (ACV) and other losses based on 

replacement cost (RC). 

 

• ACV is the amount needed to repair or replace the 

damaged or destroyed property, minus the depreciation. 

• RC involves the initial payment of actual cash value 

(ACV) of a loss, and the subsequent payment of the 
additional amount that is actually and necessarily expended 

to repair or replace the damaged or destroyed property. 
**Refer to your policy for the terms and conditions 

describing how a particular loss is to be paid. 

 
Payment and Adjustment of Claims (La. R.S. 22:1332(B)(4)) 

 
Pursuant to La. R.S. 22:1892 and 22:1973, except in the case of 

catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss adjustment of a 

property damage claim and/or a claim for reasonable medical 
expenses within fourteen (14) days after notification of loss by the 

claimant. 

 

In the case of catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss 

adjustment of a property damage claim within thirty (30) days after 
notification of loss by the claimant unless the Commissioner of 

Insurance promulgates a rule to extend the time period for initiating a 
loss adjustment for damages arising from a presidentially declared 

emergency or disaster or a gubernatorially declared emergency or 

disaster for up to an additional thirty (30) days. Thereafter, one 
additional extension of the period of time for initiating a loss 

adjustment may be allowed by the Commissioner of Insurance if 
approved by the Senate Committee on Insurance and the House 

Committee on Insurance. 

 
All insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage 

claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after the 
receipt of satisfactory proof of loss of that claim. 

 

Failure to make such payment within thirty (30) days after receipt of 
such satisfactory written proofs and demand thereof or failure to 

make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a 
third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a satisfactory 

proof of loss of that claim may result in a late penalty against the 

insurer in addition to the payment of the claim. 
 

If the insurer is found to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable 
cause in settling any property damage claim, the insurer must pay the 

insured, in addition to the amount of the loss, fifty percent (50%) 

damages on the amount found to be due from the insurer to the 
insured, or one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), whichever is greater, as 

well as attorney fees and costs, if applicable. 
 

Reduction in Premium for Improvements or Modifications to Property (La. 

R.S. 22:1332(B)(8)) 
 

Certain improvements or modifications to your property, such as 
adding storm shutters, modifying the roof design, and improving the 

roof covering, may reduce your premium. Contact your insurance 

producer or insurer for complete details on qualifying improvements 

or modifications. For further guidance and assistance, see Regulation 

94—Premium Adjustments for Compliance with Building Codes and 
Damage Mitigation, found at LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 127. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319, and 22:1332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017), 

amended LR 45:1780 (December 2019). 

Chapter 155. Regulation Number 

109—Producer, Adjuster and Related 

Licenses 

§15501. Purpose 

A. Regulation 109 implements the provisions of Act 154, 

of the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 

specifically R.S. 22:821(B)(3) and 22:1546(B)(1)(a), in 

addition to 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 22:1545, 22:1554, 

22:1558, 22:1563, 22:1671, 22:1694, 22:1808.8 and 22:1922 

which provide for the licensing of insurance producers, 

claims adjusters, public adjusters, insurance consultants and 

business entities acting as producers. Regulation 109 

implements the provisions of Act 226, of the 2019 Regular 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature, specifically R.S. 

22:821(B)(3)(b) which provides for renewal dates for 

insurance producer appointments. 

B. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. to set forth requirements and procedures for 

applying for and maintaining a license as an insurance 

producer, claims adjuster, public adjuster, insurance 

consultant and business entity acting as a producer; 

2. to set forth the time periods for expiration and 

renewal of insurance licenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1558, 22:1678, 22:1708 22:1808.8 

and 22:1922 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:68 (January 2018), 

amended LR 47:745 (June 2021). 

§15503. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 109 shall apply to all persons and all 

business entities seeking licensure or who hold a license as 

an insurance producer, claims adjuster, public adjuster or 

insurance consultant.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1558, 22:1563, 22:1678, 22:1708, 

22:1808.8 and 22:1922 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:68 (January 2018). 

§15505. Authority 

A. Regulation 109 is promulgated by the commissioner 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., particularly R.S. 22:11, 

and specifically R.S. 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 

22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 22:691.2(3), 22:1545, 22:1550, 

22:1554, 22:1558, 22:1563, 22:1678, 22:1708, 22:1808.8 

and 22:1922. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:691.2(3), 22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1558, 22:1563, 

22:1678, 22:1708, 22:1808.8, 22:1922 and 22:1929(A) and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:69 (January 2018). 
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§15507. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 109 the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Applicanta person making application to the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance to obtain an insurance 

producer, claims adjuster, public adjuster or insurance 

consultant license. 

Business Entityas defined in R.S. 22:1542(2). 

Claims Adjusteras defined in R.S. 22:1661(1). 

Commissionerthe commissioner of insurance of the 

Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Controlas defined in R.S. 22:691.2(3). 

Insurance Consultantas defined in R.S. 22:1808.1(B). 

Insurance Licensea license granted by the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance to do business as an insurance 

producer, claims adjuster, public adjuster or insurance 

consultant. 

Insurance Produceras defined in R.S. 22:1542(6). 

Public Adjusteras defined in R.S. 22:1692(7). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:255, 22:691.2(3), 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 

22:1547(C)(1), 22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1678, 22:1708 and 

22:1808.8 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:69 (January 2018). 

§15509. Licensing Application 

A. Every application for an insurance license shall be 

made on a form required by the commissioner and shall 

include all such information the commissioner deems 

necessary to determine compliance with the applicable 

statutes. 

B. Complete application shall include all of the 

following: 

1. a completed application form as required by the 

commissioner; 

2. all documentation deemed necessary to explain any 

responses in the application form; 

3. a passing examination score for each of the lines for 

which the application was made if an examination is 

required; 

4. evidence that the individual’s fingerprints have 

been submitted in compliance with the applicable provisions 

of the Louisiana Insurance Code; 

5. any documents deemed necessary to verify the 

information contained in an application. 

C. The commissioner may close as incomplete any 

application which the applicant fails to complete within 90 

days of initial submission. 

D. During review of a pending application, the applicant 

shall notify the commissioner of any changes to the 

information set forth in the application within five days of 

the date of such change. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1678, 22:1708, 22:1808.8, 22:1922 

and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:69 (January 2018). 

§15511. Examinations 

A. Scheduling of examinations shall be as follows. 

1. An applicant for a type of license for which an 

examination is required may schedule and sit for the 

examination prior to making application to the commissioner 

for such insurance license. 

2. An individual seeking licensure for the bail bond 

line of authority shall complete the Bail Bond 

Apprenticeship Program as required by R.S. 22:1574 and 

provide evidence of such completion to the commissioner 

prior to scheduling or sitting for the examination. 

B. Any required pre-licensing education must be 

completed before scheduling an examination. Proof of 

successful completion of pre-licensing requirements shall be 

provided to the commissioner or testing vendor prior to 

scheduling an examination. 

C. An applicant for a line of authority for which an 

examination is required shall submit a completed application 

for that line within 365 days of passing the examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1574, 22:1678, 22:1708, 22:1808.8, 

and 22:1922 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:69 (January 2018). 

§15513. Fingerprinting  

A. An individual making application for a resident 

insurance license shall submit a full set of fingerprints as 

required by the applicable provisions of the Louisiana 

Insurance Code. The fingerprints shall be submitted in the 

manner required by the commissioner. 

B. The commissioner may require that any individual 

who is an officer, director, partner, member or who controls 

an applicant that is a business entity submit a full set of 

fingerprints in a manner required by the commissioner. 

C. The applicant shall supply any additional information 

requested by the commissioner to clarify or explain findings 

of the criminal history obtained using the fingerprint or other 

search.  

D. The commissioner may require that any applicant 

who fails to provide a completed application within 90 days 

of receipt of a criminal background check resubmit 

fingerprints in the manner required by the commissioner. 



INSURANCE 

Louisiana Administrative Code June 2025 476 

E. All communication regarding the results of a criminal 

background check shall be only with the applicant or his 

authorized legal representative. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1678, 22:1708, 22:1808.8, 

22:1922(C) and 22:1929(A) and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:69 (January 2018). 

§15515. License Expiration and Renewal 

A. Insurance licenses shall expire in the following 

manner. 

1. An individual insurance license where the last 

number of the license is an even number shall expire on the 

last date of the birth month of the individual in even-

numbered years. 

2. An individual insurance license where the last 

number of the license is an odd number shall expire on the 

last date of the birth month of the individual in odd-

numbered years. 

3. A business entity license where the last number is 

an even number shall expire on March 31 in even-numbered 

years. 

4. A business entity license where the last number is 

an odd number shall expire on March 31 in odd-numbered 

years. 

B. A renewal application may be submitted up to 90 days 

prior to expiration of the license provided all requirements 

for renewal of the license have been met. 

C. A licensee may choose to renew only some of the 

specific lines of an insurance license. Submission of such a 

renewal shall be considered cancellation of the lines not 

included in the renewal. The lines so cancelled may be 

reactivated within two years of cancellation by submitting an 

application to add the lines, including the fee required by 

R.S. 22:821(B)(3), and evidence that the licensee has met 

the continuing education required to maintain the lines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1678, 22:1708 and 22:1808.8 and 

the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:70 (January 2018). 

§15517. Expiration of Producer Appointments 

A. Individual insurance producer appointments shall 

expire on January 1 of each year. Business entity producer 

appointments shall expire on August 1 of each year. 

Appointments shall be renewed by payment of the renewal 

fee. The commissioner shall issue a renewal invoice for all 

active appointments to insurers at least 30 days prior to the 

appointment expiration date in a manner determined by the 

commissioner. Failure to timely pay the renewal fee invoice 

shall result in the expiration of the appointments. 

B. The insurer shall terminate any appointments that it 

does not wish to renew prior to the issuance of the renewal 

invoice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1558, 22:1678, 22:1708 and 

22:1808.8 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:70 (January 2018), 

amended LR 47:745 (June 2021). 

§15519. Reporting of Administrative Actions 

A. Every person who holds an insurance license shall 

report to the commissioner all administrative actions within 

30 days of the final disposition of the action in the manner 

required by the commissioner. The report shall include a 

copy of the order, consent agreement, stipulation or other 

relevant legal documents. 

B. “Administrative actions” shall include any fines, 

revocations, suspensions or surrender of a license or 

registration in lieu of such actions imposed by any state or 

federal agency or any non-governmental entity with 

regulatory oversight of a license or registration. It shall also 

include any consent agreements, stipulations or other such 

agreement with any state or federal agency or non-

governmental entity with regulatory oversight of a license or 

registration initiated as a result of allegations of wrongdoing 

or regulatory or legal infractions regardless of whether or not 

any wrongdoing was admitted by the licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:1547(C)(1), 22:255, 

22:1545, 22:1550, 22:1554, 22:1558, 22:1563, 22:1678, 22:1708 

and 22:1808.8 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:70 (January 2018). 

§15521. Violations and Penalties 

A. Any failure to comply with this regulation shall be 

considered a violation of R.S. 22:1543, 22:1554, 22:1558, 

22:1563, 22:1574, 22:1663, 22:1693, 22:1808.1 and 

22:1808.8. Violations of this regulation shall subject the 

violators to penalties as provided by R.S. 22:1554, 22:1672, 

22:1700 and 22:1808.12(B) and any other applicable 

provisions of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:255, 22:1545, 22:1550, 

22:1554, 22:1563, 22:1678, 22:1708, 22:1808.8 and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:70 (January 2018). 

§15523. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 109 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to any 

act or practice committed on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:255, 22:1545, 22:1550, 

22:1678, 22:1708 and 22:1808.8 and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:70 (January 2018). 

§15525. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 109 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 109 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

109 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821(B)(3), 22:1546(B)(1)(a), 22:255, 22:1545, 22:1550, 

22:1678, 22:1708 and 22:1808.8 and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:70 (January 2018). 

Chapter 157. Regulation 

110―Declaratory Orders 

§15701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 110 is to define 

declaratory orders and to provide for the filing and prompt 

disposition of declaratory orders, as authorized by R.S. 

49:962.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2011 

(November 2018). 

§15703. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 110, the following terms shall 

have the meanings specified. 

Commissioner—the commissioner of the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Declaratory Order―a written statement issued by the 

department at the request of a person regulated by the 

department as to the applicability of any statutory provision 

or of any rule or order of the agency. 

Litigation―involvement in any civil, criminal, 

administrative, regulatory, or disciplinary proceeding or 

action.  

Person―any individual, company, insurer, association, 

organization, reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange, 

partnership, business, trust, limited liability company, or 

corporation regulated by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2011 

(November 2018). 

§15705. Declaratory Orders, Generally 

A. A declaratory order is not an agency rule or regulation 

but shall have the same status as a final agency decision or 

an order in an adjudicated case. 

B. A declaratory order shall have effect only upon the 

person requesting it and the commissioner and shall continue 

in effect unless a subsequent bulletin, advisory letter, 

directive, rule/regulation, court case, or statute supersedes it, 

or until the commissioner rescinds it. If a declaratory order is 

superseded or rescinded, such action shall have effect 

prospectively only, and the declaratory order shall cease to 

be effective as of 30 days after the date of the action that 

superseded or rescinded it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2011 

(November 2018). 

§15707. Disposal of Petitions; Form; Reasons to Issue or 

not Issue Declaratory Orders  

A. The commissioner shall decide within 60 days after 

the filing of a petition for a declaratory order whether to 

accept or reject the petition.  

B.  A petition for a declaratory order shall be submitted 

in writing to the commissioner, in the manner specified on 

the department’s website, by a person regulated by the 

department or the person’s legal representative. Petitions 

shall contain the following information: 

1. the title of the petition (e.g., “Petition for 

Declaratory Order”); 

2. the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person regulated by the department requesting the 

declaratory order; 

3. a power of attorney or mandate, if the person is 

represented by a third party; 

4. specific questions to be answered or issues to be 

addressed;  

5. complete statement of all relevant facts;  

6. citations to or copies of relevant statutes, 

rules/regulations, or orders of the department at issue, and, if 

the petitioner takes a specific position on the issue, the 

arguments, reasons, and provisions of law supporting such 

position;  

7. copies of all relevant documents; and  

8. a signed statement stating to the best of the person’s 

knowledge: 

a. whether the person requesting the declaratory 

order has the same issue under examination or review with 

the department or any other insurance regulator;  

b. whether the person requesting the declaratory 

order has been notified in writing that an examination with 

the department or any other insurance regulator is pending;  
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c. whether the person requesting the declaratory 

order is litigating the issue in the state of Louisiana or is 

aware of the person’s involvement in litigation on the same 

issue in other jurisdictions;  

d. whether the department or any other insurance 

regulator has previously issued a declaratory order or ruling, 

no-action letter, or similar declaratory statement on the same 

issue (with a copy attached); 

e. whether the attorney general has been, or will be, 

requested to issue an opinion concerning the issue prior to 

the issuance of the declaratory order; and  

f. that, prior to the issuance of a declaratory order, 

if the requesting person is notified of a pending examination 

by the department or any other insurance regulator, the 

requesting person will notify the commissioner of the 

pending examination.  

C. A petition for a declaratory order may not be used to 

delay or interrupt an examination.  

D. Reasons for issuing a declaratory order may include 

but not be limited to: 

1. it has been requested by a person regulated by the 

department, or the person's representative who has a power 

of attorney or mandate; and  

2. the law and rules/regulations or department’s orders 

are not clear. 

E. Reasons for not issuing a declaratory order may 

include but not be limited to: 

1. the law and rules/regulations or department’s orders 

are clear; 

2. a rule/regulation would be more appropriate under 

the Administrative Procedure Act; 

3. the inquiry concerns alternative fact scenarios, 

speculative or supposed facts, or purely hypothetical 

situations; 

4. the inquiry concerns matters scheduled for an 

examination or currently involved in an examination, appeal, 

or litigation; 

5. the inquiry concerns an issue that is being litigated 

or may be litigated in the near future; 

6. the request is incomplete because it does not 

contain all of the information required by §15707.B; 

7. the request can best be handled by another means, 

such as through issuance of a bulletin, advisory letter, 

directive, or rule/regulation; or 

8. the requesting person withdraws the request at any 

point prior to issuance of the declaratory order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2011 

(November 2018). 

§15709. Rescissions 

A. The commissioner reserves the right to change 

positions reflected in prior declaratory orders. If a 

declaratory order is rescinded due to a change in the 

commissioner’s position, the rescinded declaratory order 

ceases to be effective as of 30 days after the date of the 

rescission.  

B. If a declaratory order is rescinded and is subsequently 

reissued due to a change in the commissioner’s position, the 

rescinded declaratory order ceases to be effective as of 30 

days after the date of the rescission, and the reissued 

declaratory order shall be effective as of the effective date of 

the rescission.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2012 

(November 2018). 

§15711. Confidential or Privileged Treatment 

A. The commissioner shall maintain as confidential or 

privileged any documents, materials, or other information 

submitted with or included in a petition for a declaratory 

order that are required to be maintained as confidential or 

privileged pursuant to any provision of Title 22 of the 

Revised Statutes, any exception to the Public Records Law 

(R.S. 44:1 et seq.), or any applicable federal law.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2012 

(November 2018). 

§15713. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 110 shall become effective upon 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2012 

(November 2018). 

§15715. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 110 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 110 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provision or application, and, 

for these purposes, the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

110 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2(E) and 49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 44:2012 

(November 2018). 
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Chapter 159. Regulation Number 

111—Consent to Rate 

§15901. Purpose 

A. Regulation 111 implements the provisions of R.S. 

22:1464.E, which authorizes the commissioner to approve an 

application by an insurer to impose upon an insured a rate in 

excess of the insurer’s filed and previously approved rates 

for a specific risk, provided the insurer complies with certain 

obligations and provides certain information and 

documentation to the commissioner in order for the 

commissioner to approve the consent to rate application. 

B. The purpose of Regulation 111 is: 

1. to regulate the activities of insurers by setting forth 

the process for the filing and review of a consent to rate 

application and specifying the information and 

documentation that must accompany such application; and 

2. to protect the interests of insureds who are the 

subject of a consent to rate request from an insurer by 

delineating the nature and type of information and 

documentation that an insured shall receive from the insurer 

in order for the insured to make an informed decision as to 

whether it is in the insured’s best interest to consent to such 

excess rate, and to reduce or eliminate the use of misleading 

or confusing information when an insurer requests that the 

insured consent to a rate in excess of the rate otherwise filed 

and approved for use. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2212 (December 

2018). 

§15903. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 111 shall apply to any consent to rate 

application made by any insurer for any property and 

casualty insurance policy written or issued for delivery in 

Louisiana, or for any risk located in Louisiana, in which the 

insurer seeks to obtain the approval of the commissioner to 

charge a rate in excess of the rate provided in a filing 

otherwise applicable. Regulation 111 does not apply to 

individually rated excess insurance coverages as specified in 

R.S. 22:1464.A(1).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2212 (December 

2018). 

§15905. Authority 

A. Regulation 111 is promulgated by the commissioner 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., specifically R.S. 22:11 

and R.S. 22:1473. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2212 (December 

2018). 

§15907. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 111, the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Consent to Rate—an agreement between the insured 

and the insurer based on information provided by the insurer 

that insurance coverage will be provided for a specific risk at 

an excess rate, as defined herein. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Excess Rate—a rate that is more than the manual rate 

that the commissioner has previously approved for the 

insurance program. For the purposes of Regulation 111, “rate 

in excess” has the same meaning as “excess rate”. 

Insurance Program—every manual, minimum, class 

rate, rating schedule, or rating plan and every other rating 

rule and every modification of any of the foregoing which an 

insurer proposes to use in the calculation of a premium to be 

charged for a policy. 

Insurer—an insurer with a certificate of authority or 

license issued under provisions of the Louisiana Insurance 

Code. 

Manual Rate—an approved rate for an insurance 

program. 

Policy—an insurance contract providing property and 

casualty insurance coverage for a Louisiana insured or for 

property located in Louisiana. 

Premium—all sums charged, received, or deposited as 

consideration for the purchase or continuation of insurance 

for a definitely stated term, and shall include any 

assessment, membership, policy, survey, inspection, service 

or similar fee or charge made by an insurer as a part of the 

consideration for the purchase or continuance of insurance, 

as defined in R.S. 22:46(13). 

Rate—that cost of insurance per exposure unit, whether 

expressed as a single number or as a prospective loss cost, 

with an adjustment to account for the treatment of loss 

adjustment expenses, expenses, profit, and variation in 

expected future loss experience, prior to any application of 

individual risk variations based on actual past loss or 

expense considerations, and does not include minimum 

premiums.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2212 (December 

2018). 
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§15909. Procedure for Insurer to Use in a Consent to 

Rate Application 

A. An insurer seeking the approval of the commissioner 

to charge an insured a rate in excess of the manual rate for 

property and casualty insurance coverage shall file a consent 

to rate application with the commissioner within 45 calendar 

days of the effective date of the policy. 

B. The consent to rate application made by the insurer 

shall comply with the requirements of §15913 of Regulation 

111. 

C. The commissioner shall have 45 calendar days to 

review the consent to rate application, pursuant to R.S. 

22:1451.C(1). The 45 day period for review shall commence 

once the commissioner has received the insurer’s complete 

consent to rate application. 

D. Any consent to rate application not received by the 

commissioner within 45 calendar days of the effective date 

of the policy shall be disapproved by the commissioner. 

E. If a consent to rate application is disapproved by the 

commissioner, then the insurer shall follow the requirements 

set forth in §15911 of Regulation 111. 

F. If a consent to rate application filed timely is 

approved by the commissioner, the insurer may proceed to 

implement the excess rate in accordance with the approved 

consent to rate application. 

G. If the commissioner has not acted on a timely filed 

consent to rate application and the commissioner has not 

advised the insurer in writing of any objections with regard 

to the consent to rate application or that such application is 

incomplete within 45 days of the commissioner’s receipt of 

same, the insurer may proceed as outlined in R.S. 

22:1451.C(2). 

H. Renewal of any policy at an excess rate shall require 

that the insurer submit a new consent to rate application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2212 (December 

2018). 

§15911. Coverage Obligations Imposed on the Insurer 

upon Disapproval 

A. If an insurer’s consent to rate application under 

Regulation 111 is disapproved for any reason, then the 

premium charged to the insured shall revert to the approved 

manual rate for the duration of the policy term, and the 

insurer shall refund the difference between the excess rate 

and the approved manual rate to the insured. Coverage shall 

still be binding on the insured and insurer for the duration of 

the policy. The insurer shall have 30 days from the date of 

the commissioner’s disapproval of the consent to rate 

application to refund any monies due to the insured. 

B. If an insurer’s consent to rate application under 

Regulation 111 is disapproved for any reason, then the 

insurer may, within 10 calendar days from the 

commissioner’s disapproval, exercise one of the following 

options. 

1. The insurer may cancel the policy and shall provide 

the insured with not less than 60 days’ written notice of the 

insurer’s intent to cancel the policy. 

2. The insurer may enter into a new policy with the 

insured and submit a new, subsequent consent to rate 

application. However, if a new, subsequent consent to rate 

application is submitted, the insurer will be required to 

utilize the approved manual rate provided in such new, 

subsequent consent to rate application and will not be able to 

implement the requested excess rate until such new, 

subsequent consent to rate application is approved by the 

commissioner. 

3. An insurer may appeal the disapproval of a consent 

to rate application as set forth in R.S. 22:1451.C(1).  

C. After a consent to rate application has been 

disapproved, if the commissioner approves a new, 

subsequent consent to rate application, the excess rate so 

approved shall be implemented on a prospective basis from 

the date of approval for the duration of the policy term. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2213 (December 

2018). 

§15913. Documentation Required from the Insurer  

A. An insurer seeking the approval of the commissioner 

pursuant to a consent to rate application for any property and 

casualty insurance coverage shall file with the commissioner 

a written application packet, which shall contain the 

following documentation. 

1. The consent to rate application shall set forth the 

full name of the insurer, the full name and title of the person 

filing such application on behalf of the insurer, the physical 

and mailing addresses of the insurer, email address, 

telephone number, and facsimile number of the insurer. 

2. If the consent to rate application is submitted in 

paper form, a stamped, self-addressed return envelope. 

3. An original of the consent to rate application signed 

by both the insurer and the insured, which must set forth the 

following information: 

a. name of the insurer; 

b. name of the insured; 

c. the line of business; 

d. if applicable, the sub-line or program under 

which the policy is being written; 

e. the policy number; 

f. the policy effective dates (the first and last dates 

on which the policy is effective); 
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g. documentation setting forth in detail the 

calculation of the premium using the manual rates; 

h. documentation setting forth in detail the 

calculation of the premium using the consent to rate process; 

i. the written explanation that was provided by the 

insurer to the insured setting forth in detail the reason(s) why 

the insured did not qualify for the insurer’s manual rates and 

was subjected to the consent to rate process; and 

j. a copy of any other documentation that the 

insurer provided to the insured. 

B. The commissioner may request additional information 

and/or documentation as he deems necessary. In accordance 

with R.S. 22:1451.C(2), the commissioner shall make the 

final determination as to what constitutes a complete 

application under Regulation 111. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2213 (December 

2018). 

§15915. Severability  

A. If any section or provision of Regulation 111 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held to be 

invalid, such invalidity or determination shall not affect 

other Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 

111 to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

111 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2213 (December 

2018). 

§15917. Effective Date  

A. Regulation 111 shall become effective on January 1, 

2019. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1464, R.S. 22:1473, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 44:2214 (December 

2018). 

Chapter 161. Regulation 112—

Adoption of NAIC Handbooks, 

Guidelines, Forms, and Instructions 

§16101. NAIC Handbooks, Guidelines, Forms, and 

Instructions Incorporated by Reference 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to identify and to 

incorporate by reference the current edition of handbooks, 

guidelines, forms, and instructions adopted by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and 

referenced in the Louisiana Insurance Code.  

B. The following NAIC handbooks, guidelines, forms, 

and instructions are hereby adopted and incorporated by 

reference: 

1. The Financial Condition Examiner’s Handbook, 

2023 edition. 

2. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Instructions, 

Property and Casualty, 2023 edition. 

3. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Instructions, 

Life, Accident, and Health, 2023 edition. 

4. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Instructions, 

Health, 2023 edition. 

5. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Instructions, 

Title, 2023 edition. 

6. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Instructions, 

Fraternal, 2023 edition. 

7. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Blanks, 

Property and Casualty, 2023 edition. 

8. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Blanks, Life, 

Accident, and Health, 2023 edition. 

9. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Blanks, 

Health, 2023 edition. 

10. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Blanks, Title, 

2023 edition. 

11. The Annual and Quarterly Statement Blanks, 

Fraternal, 2023 edition. 

12. The Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual, 

2023 edition. 

13. The Financial Analysis Handbook, 2023 edition. 

14. The Own Risk and Solvency Assessment Guidance 

Manual, 2023 edition. 

15. The Purposes and Procedures Manual of the NAIC 

Investment Analysis Office, 2023 edition. 

16. The Risk-Based Capital Forecasting and 

Instructions, 2023 edition. 

17. The Market Regulation Handbook, 2023 edition. 

C. The commissioner of insurance shall utilize the 

handbooks, guidelines, forms, and instructions incorporated 

by reference as necessary for the administration of the 

provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code, so long as the 

provisions of those publications are consistent with the 

Louisiana Insurance Code.  

D. A copy of these handbooks, guidelines, forms, and 

instructions may be obtained from: 

1. the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners, at http://www.naic.org; 
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2. the Louisiana Department of Insurance, Poydras 

Building, 1702 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; or 

3. the Louisiana Office of the State Register, 1201 N. 

Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 619(B), 640(B), 675, 661(A), 691.11, 691.54, and 

1804. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 45:1208 (September 

2019), amended LR 46:993 (July 2020), LR 47:1328 (September 

2021), amended LR 48:2299 (September 2022), amended LR 

49:1410 (August 2023), LR 51:73 (January 2025). 

§16103. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 112 shall become effective upon final 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 586(G), 619(B), 640(B), 675, 661(A), 691.11, 691.54, 

and 1804. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 45:1208 (September 

2019). 

§16105. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 112 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 112 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid Section or provision or application, and, 

for these purposes, the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

112 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 258, 586(G), 619(B), 640(B), 675, 661(A), 691.11, 691.54, 

and 1804. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 45:1208 (September 

2019). 

Chapter 163. Regulation Number 

113— Registration of Catastrophe 

Claims Adjusters  

§16301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 

1. To establish the procedure to register claims 

adjusters in the event of a catastrophe or an emergency 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1667 and 22:1678. 

2. To set forth the time periods for expiration or 

extension of catastrophe or emergency adjuster registration 

and to set forth penalties pursuant to R.S. 22:1672. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667, 22:1672 and 22:1678 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1081 (August 2019). 

§16303. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 113 shall apply to all adjusters employed 

or retained by an insurer and brought into the state for the 

purpose of investigating or making adjustment of losses 

resulting from a catastrophe or an emergency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667 and 22:1678 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1081 (August 2019). 

§16305. Authority 

A. Regulation 113 is promulgated by the commissioner 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:11, 22:821, 22:1667, 22:1672 and 

22:1678 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821, 22:1667, 22:1672 and 22:1678 and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1081 (August 2019). 

§16307. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 113 the following 

terms are defined as follows: 

Adjuster—an individual who investigates or adjusts 

losses on behalf of an insurer as an independent contractor 

or as an employee of:  

a. an adjustment bureau;  

b. an association;  

c. a property and casualty producer;  

d. an independent contractor;  

e. an insurer; or  

f. a managing general agent. 

Catastrophe Adjuster—those adjusters employed or 

retained by an insurer and brought into this state for the 

purpose of investigating or making adjustments of losses 

resulting from a catastrophe or an emergency. 

Catastrophe/Emergency—a significant event declared 

by the governor or determined by the commissioner that 

causes widespread property damage or loss. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Insurance of the 

State of Louisiana. 

Insurer—any type of insurer, whether authorized or 

unauthorized, conducting business in this state.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667, and 22:1678 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1081 (August 2019). 
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§16309. Designation of a Catastrophe/Emergency 

A. Insurers shall be authorized to utilize catastrophe 

adjusters in the event of emergencies declared by the 

governor of this state pursuant to R.S. 29:724 and for any 

other event which the commissioner has determined to have 

caused widespread property damage or loss. 

B. If not otherwise declared by the governor or 

determined by the commissioner, an insurer may request that 

the commissioner authorize the use of catastrophe adjusters 

by making a written request to the commissioner. 

C. The written request shall include the date, geographic 

area within the state and a description of the event along 

with any factors which the insurer believes justifies such a 

declaration. 

D. Upon approval of the catastrophe/emergency by the 

commissioner, the event shall be entered in the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance on-line system for registration of 

catastrophe adjusters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667, and 22:1678 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1082 (August 2019). 

§16311. Registration Procedure 

A. No license shall be required for an individual who is 

employed or retained for a particular event by an insurer and 

brought into this state specifically for the purpose of 

investigating or making adjustments of losses resulting from 

a catastrophe or an emergency.  

B. Prior to utilizing the services of a catastrophe adjuster, 

insurers shall register the individual as follows: 

1. Access the department’s online system for 

catastrophe adjuster registration; 

2. Provide the following information: 

a. the specific catastrophe/emergency for which the 

registration is active; 

b. full name of the individual catastrophe adjuster; 

c. Social Security Number or National Producer 

Number of the individual catastrophe adjuster; 

d. the name, mailing address, email address and 

phone number of the individual with the insurer responsible 

for the registration of catastrophe adjusters; and 

e. any additional information deemed necessary by 

the commissioner. 

3. Submit the required fee to the commissioner 

pursuant to R.S. 22:821 within 10 days of the submission of 

the registration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821, 22:1667, and 22:1678 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1082 (August 2019). 

§16313. Registration Expiration and Extension 

A. A catastrophe adjuster registration is effective upon 

submission provided fees are received within ten days. A 

registration shall be valid for a period not to exceed 180 

days. 

B. The commissioner may extend the registration’s 

effective period for an additional ninety days upon the 

receipt of the insurer’s written request for such an extension. 

The request must be submitted no later than 15 days prior to 

the expiration of the registration. The commissioner shall 

provide his written approval or denial of an extension 

request.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:821, 22:1667 and 22:1678 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1082 (August 2019). 

§16315. Violations and Penalties  

A. The commissioner may, without notice and hearing, 

revoke the privileges of an individual registered as a 

catastrophe adjuster for the grounds specified in R.S. 

22:1672. 

B. Any notice of revocation shall be sent to the 

employing or retaining insurer. The notice shall be sent to 

the insurer in accordance with R.S. 49:961. The revocation 

shall be effective as of the date of the notice of revocation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667, 22:1672 and 22:1678 and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1082 (August 2019). 

§16317. Effective Date  

A. Regulation 113 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to any 

act or practice committed on or after the effective date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667 and 22:1678 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1082 (August 2019). 

§16319. Severability  

A. If any section or provision of Regulation 113 or the 

application to any individual or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 113 to 

any individuals or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the sections and provisions of Regulation 

113 and the application to any individuals or circumstances 

are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1667 and 22:1678 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45:1082 (August 2019). 
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Chapter 167. Regulation Number 

115—Title Insurance Record 

Retention  

§16701. Purpose 

A. Regulation 115 implements the provisions of R.S. 

22:533 which provides that the department may prescribe 

the specific record entries and documents to be kept by 

licensed title insurers and licensed title insurance producers 

and the retention period of said records. 

B. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth the length 

of time that licensed title insurers and licensed title insurance 

producers shall maintain sufficient records of their affairs, 

including evidence of the examination of title and 

determination of insurability and records of its escrow 

operations and escrow accounts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1329 (September 

2021). 

§16703. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 115 shall apply to all licensed title insurers 

and licensed title insurance producers in the State of 

Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1330 (September 

2021). 

§16705. Authority 

A. Regulation 115 is promulgated by the commissioner 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, 

including R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:68, R.S. 22:526, R.S. 22:533, 

and R.S. 22:535. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:68, 22:526, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1330 (September 

2021). 

§16707. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 115 the following 

terms are defined as follows: 

Commissioner—the commissioner of Insurance for the 

state of Louisiana.  

Title Insurance Producer—a person authorized on 

behalf of the title insurer to issue title insurance reports or 

policies.  

Title Insurer—a company authorized under the laws of 

this state to transact the business of title insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:512, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1329 (September 

2021). 

§16709. Record Retention 

A. Every title insurer and title insurance producer shall 

retain sufficient records of its affairs, including evidence of 

the examination of title and determination of insurability and 

records of its escrow operations and escrow accounts, for a 

period of ten years. The ten-year period shall commence on 

the date of the act of sale or transfer of the underlying 

property or the date that the initial file on the subject 

property was opened, whichever is later. 

B. Title insurers and title insurance producers may cause 

any or all books, records, documents, accounts, and 

vouchers to be photographed, reproduced on film, or 

maintained electronically in electronic data processing 

equipment in such a manner that their financial condition, 

affairs, and operations can be ascertained and compliance 

with the law can be determined by the department. Any 

photographs, microphotographs, optical imaging, electronic, 

or film reproductions of any original books, records, 

documents, accounts, and vouchers shall for all purposes be 

considered the same as the originals thereof and a transcript, 

exemplification, or certified copy of any such photograph, 

microphotograph, optical imaging, electronic, or film 

reproduction shall for all purposes be deemed to be a 

transcript, exemplification, or certified copy of the original.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:68, 22:526, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1330 (September 

2021). 

§16711. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 115 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to any 

act or practice committed on or after the effective date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1329 (September 

2021). 

§16713. Severability 

A. If any section or provision of Regulation 115 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 115 

to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the sections and provisions of Regulation 

115 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:533, 22:535, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1329 (September 

2021). 

Chapter 169. Regulation 116—Stop-

Loss or Excess Policies of Insurance 

§16901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2001, No. 273 of the Louisiana 

Legislature, Regular Session, as well as to implement the 

amendments thereto as set forth in Acts 2003, No. 140 of the 

Louisiana Legislature, Regular Session, Acts 2007, No. 80 

of the Louisiana Legislature, Regular Session, and Acts 

2010, No. 375 of the Louisiana Legislature, Regular Session.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:698 (May 2020). 

§16903. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to employers that sponsor 

group health plans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:698 (May 2020). 

§16905. Definitions 

Group Health Plan—an employee welfare benefit plan as 

defined in Section 3(1) of the Employee Retirement Income 

Security Act of 1974 (29 U.S.C. 1002(1)) to the extent that 

the plan provides medical care as defined in this regulation 

and including items and services paid for as medical care for 

employees or their dependents, as defined under the terms of 

the plan, directly or through insurance, reimbursement, or 

otherwise, or only to a multiple employer welfare 

arrangement that is a self-insurer and does not include those 

multiple employer welfare arrangements that meet the 

definition in 29 U.S.C. 1002(40).  

Medical Care—amounts paid for the diagnosis, cure, 

mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease, or amounts 

paid for the purpose of affecting any stricture or function of 

the body; transportation primarily for and essential to such 

medical care; and amounts paid for insurance covering such 

medical care, as defined in R.S. 22:1061(1)(b).  

Paid Contract Basis—allows claims incurred under a 

“group health plan” during the contract period of a stop-loss 

or excess policy to be paid during the policy’s twelve-month 

contract period.  

Run-In Contract Basis—allows for reimbursement of 

claims incurred under a group health plan during a stated 

period prior to the effective date of the twelve-month 

contract period of a stop-loss or excess policy and paid 

during the twelve-month contract period. 

Run-Out Contract Basis—allows for reimbursement of 

claims incurred under a group health plan during the stated 

twelve-month contract period and paid within a stated period 

extending at least 90 days after expiration of the twelve-

month contract period. 

Self-Insurance Plan—any contract, plan, trust, 

arrangement, or other agreement which is established or 

maintained to offer or provide health care services, 

indemnification, or payment for health care services, or 

health and accident benefits to employees of two or more 

employers, but which is not fully insured. Any such contract, 

plan, trust, arrangement, or agreement shall be deemed fully 

insured only if said services, indemnification, payment, or 

benefits are guaranteed under a contract or policy of health 

insurance issued by an insurer authorized to transact 

business in this state. The term self-insurance plan shall not 

include any arrangement or trust formed under Subpart J of 

Part I of Chapter 10 of Title 23 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950 (R.S. 23:1191 et seq.), single employer 

plans, plans exempt from the state insurance laws under the 

provisions of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act 

of 1974 (29 U.S.C. 1001 et seq.), except as provided in R.S. 

22:463, the Office of Group Benefits, plans of political 

subdivisions, health maintenance organizations regulated 

under the Health Management Organization Act, R.S. 22:241 

et seq., plans regulated under R.S. 33:1342, 1343, 1346, or 

1349, and plans otherwise regulated as insured plans under 

this Title. A plan of a fraternal benefit society or a labor 

organization shall not be considered a self-insurance plan for 

the purposes of this Subpart to the extent that such plan 

provides health and accident benefits to its members and any 

of their dependents that are supplemental to those of an 

employer-provided plan.  

Self-Insured Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangement—a 

multiple employer welfare arrangement as defined in 29 

U.S.C. § 1002(40). 

Self-Insurer—any entity that makes, provides, or issues a 

self-insurance plan and is licensed by the LDI. 

Stop-Loss or Excess Policy/Policies—insurance covering 

the losses of an insured above a specific amount or a self-

insurer for losses over a stated amount. 

Terminal Liability—group health plan that provides an 

extra ninety days of protection upon termination of the Run-

out contract period.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:698 (May 2020). 

§16907. Eligible Claims 

A. Stop-loss or excess policies are required to contain a 

provision that eligible claims incurred under the group 

health plan during the initial contract period shall be 

covered, provided that proof of payment of the eligible 
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claims by the group health plan is furnished to the stop-loss 

or excess insurer within ninety days after the expiration of 

the stop-loss or excess policy or any later period that is 

provided in the contract or stop-loss or excess policy.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:698 (May 2020). 

§16909. Available Claims Incurred and Paid Contract 

Bases 

A. The following claims incurred and paid contract bases 

are available to suit the needs of diverse employers 

sponsoring group health plans: 

1. paid as defined in Section 16903; 

2. run-in as defined in Section 16903; 

3. run-out as defined in Section 16903; 

4. terminal liability as defined in Section 16903. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:699 (May 2020). 

§16911 Policy Form Requirements 

A. Stop loss or excess policy forms intended to cover the 

losses of a group health plan must include the following 

requirements. 

1. Eligible claims incurred under the group health plan 

during the initial contract period will be covered, as long as 

the “group health plan” submits to the stop loss or excess 

insurer proof of payment of the eligible claim within 90 days 

after the expiration of the policy, or within any longer period 

that is provided in the contract or policy. 

2. All applications for stop-loss or excess coverage 

must include the option to purchase a policy providing 

coverage on a run-out contract basis. A run-out contract 

basis extends the claims paid period for at least 90 days 

beyond expiration of the twelve-month contract term, the 

period within which claims incurred during the contract term 

must be submitted and paid.  

3. All applications for stop-loss or excess insurance 

coverage that include the option to purchase a policy 

providing coverage restricted to claims both incurred and 

paid during the contract term must contain a form for 

acceptance or rejection of the ninety-day extension for 

claims to be submitted and paid, i.e., run-out coverage. To 

reject such offer, the applicant and the writing producer must 

both sign and date the application or a supplemental 

application form containing disclosures such as the 

following. 

a. “It is hereby agreed and understood that the stop-

loss [excess] insurance contract selected does not provide 

reimbursement to the plan sponsor for any expenses incurred 

under the “group health plan” prior to the beginning of the 

contract period for stop-loss [excess] insurance or for any 

expenses paid after expiration of the contract period. Only 

eligible expenses that are both incurred under the group 

health plan and paid by the group health plan within the 

twelve-month contract period for stop-loss [excess] 

insurance are reimbursable under the contract selected.” 

4. All applications for stop-loss or excess insurance 

including options to purchase a policy providing coverage 

on a run-in or a paid contract basis must contain a form for 

acceptance or rejection. To reject such offer, the applicant 

and the writing producer must both sign and date the 

application or a supplemental application containing a 

disclosure such as the following. 

a. “It is hereby agreed and understood that the stop-

loss [excess] insurance contract selected does not provide 

reimbursement to the plan sponsor for any expenses that are 

not paid by the group health plan within the current contract 

period, unless the policy is subsequently renewed. Only 

eligible expenses that are both incurred and paid by the 

group health plan within the stated contract period are 

reimbursable under the contract selected.” 

5. If offered, provisions for terminal liability coverage 

must extend the period for payment of claims under the 

group health plan by at least an additional 90 days from 

termination of the run-out coverage period allowed for 

incurred claims. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:699 (May 2020). 

§16913. Reinsurance/Health Insurance 

A. Stop-loss or excess insurance shall not be equivalent 

to reinsurance, nor shall it be referred to as a contract or 

policy of health insurance under R.S. 22:452(1)(a).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:699 (May 2020). 

§16915. Due Diligence 

A. Stop loss or excess insurers shall exercise due 

diligence in ascertaining the legitimacy or authority of the 

underlying group health plan before issuing coverage. This 

shall include but not be limited to ensuring that the 

underlying plan is not a self-insured multiple employer 

welfare arrangement pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §1002(40), 

unless the underlying plan is authorized to do business in 

this state as a self-insurer and meets the requirements of R.S. 

22:452.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:699 (May 2020). 
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§16917. Additional Requirements for Stop-Loss or 

Excess Insurance 

A. Stop loss or excess insurance issued to a self-

insurance plan must meet the following requirements. 

1. The plan must include a provision stating that 

aggregate stop-loss or excess coverage and specific stop-loss 

or excess coverage may only be provided by an insurer 

licensed to do business in the state of Louisiana. 

2. The stop-loss or excess policies must contain 

provisions to cover incurred, unpaid claims liability in the 

event of plan termination.  

3. The stop-loss or excess insurer shall bear the risk of 

coverage for any employer participating in the self-insurance 

plan that becomes insolvent with outstanding contributions 

due.  

4. The stop-loss or excess insurer shall provide 

coverage with rates not subject to adjustment by the stop-

loss or excess insurer during the first 12 months of coverage, 

unless:  

a. there is a change in the benefits provided under 

the group health plan; and/or 

b. enrollment under the group health plan changes 

by at least 10 percent. 

5. A stop loss or excess insurer must submit its 

proposed stop-loss or excess policy to the Commissioner of 

the Department of Insurance for review at least 30 days prior 

to the proposed self-insurance plan’s effective date and at 

least 30 days prior to any subsequent renewal date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:699 (May 2020). 

§16919. Severability 

A. If any provision of this regulation, or the applicability 

thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other 

provisions, items, or applications of the regulation which can 

be given effect without the invalid provision, item, or 

application.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:700 (May 2020). 

§16921. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 116 shall become effective upon final 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, in accordance with R.S. 

22:2 and 22:883.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 46:700 (May 2020). 

Chapter 175. Regulation Number 

117—Submission of Contact 

Information for Risk Bearing Entities 

§17501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish a 

procedure for the submission of required contact information 

for risk-bearing entities, to set a specific date and method for 

submission of the annual filing of the contact information, to 

establish the procedure and time limitation to notify the 

commissioner of a change in the contact information that 

was provided with the annual filing, and to provide for 

penalties for the failure to timely make the annual filing or to 

submit a notice of change in the contact information to the 

commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1646 (November 

2021). 

§17503. Definitions 

A. The following terms when used in this Chapter shall 

have the following meanings: 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Risk-Bearing Entity—any entity included in R.S. 22:48. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1646 (November 

2021). 

§17505. Required Contacts  

A. The following shall be required contacts for each risk-

bearing entity: 

1. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 

response to consumer complaints filed with the department; 

2. an individual responsible for the receipt of rules, 

regulations or other directives from the commissioner; 

3. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 

response to inquiries from the department regarding the 

financial condition of the entity; 

4. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 

response to inquiries from the department regarding tax 

payments; 

5. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 

response to inquiries from the department regarding data 

security and data breaches; 
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6. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 

response to inquiries from the department in the event of a 

catastrophe or disaster; 

7. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 

response to inquiries from the department regarding market 

conduct issues. 

B. The risk-bearing entity may designate more than one 

individual to meet any one of the requirements of this 

section.  

C. The risk-bearing entity may designate one individual 

as its primary contact to satisfy any one or more of the 

required contact requirements. 

D. If the phone number provided is a general phone 

number of the risk-bearing entity, the contact information 

submitted shall include the extension of the individual. 

E. The commissioner may provide additional contact 

types for which a risk-bearing entity may submit contact 

information to facilitate communication with the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1646 (November 

2021). 

§17507. Annual Notification of Contact Information 

A. No later than March 1st annually, every risk-bearing 

entity conducting business in Louisiana shall provide notice 

to the commissioner that sets forth the name, mailing 

address, phone number, and electronic mail address for each 

required contact as set forth above in §17505. 

B. This notice shall be made electronically using the 

department’s industry access system or any subsequent 

program provided by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1646 (November 

2021). 

§17509. Notice of Change of Contact Information 

A. Every risk-bearing entity shall notify the 

commissioner within 30 days of any change in the contact 

information that was provided with the annual filing. 

B. The notification of change may be made by using the 

department’s industry access system or through an electronic 

filing of a uniform notification created by the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1647 (November 

2021). 

§17511. Violations 

A. Failure to provide notice to the commissioner of the 

required contact information on or before March 1st or to 

provide a notification of change to the commissioner within 

30 days of any change in the contact information may be 

determined by the commissioner to be a violation of R.S. 

22:41.2 and may result in or subject a risk-bearing entity to 

penalties pursuant to R.S. 22:18 or 22:337(A)(5). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1647 (November 

2021). 

Chapter 177. Regulation Number 

119—Issuance of Consent or a Waiver 

Pursuant to R.S. 22:1554 

§17701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish a 

procedure by which an insurance producer may request 

consent or a waiver to employ or to otherwise associate with 

his business an individual engaged in the business of 

insurance who has been convicted of a felony in accordance 

with R.S. 22:1554(A)(18); prescribe the duration and 

transferability of consent or a waiver issued to an insurance 

producer; provide for the applicability of 18 U.S.C. 

§1033(e)(B)(2); and provide for the penalties imposed for 

failure to comply with this regulation in accordance with 

R.S. 22:1554A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1878 (December 

2021). 

§17703. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 119 shall apply to all insurance producers 

licensed in Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1879 (December 

2021). 

§17705. Definitions 

A. Strictly for the purposes of Regulation 119, the 

following terms are defined as follows:  

Business of Insurance—the writing of insurance or the 

reinsuring of risks by an insurance producer, including all 

acts necessary or incidental to such writing or reinsuring, 

and the activities of persons who act as, or are, officers, 

directors, agents, or employees of producers, or who are 

other persons authorized to act on behalf of such persons. 
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Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Convicted—having been found guilty of a felony by a 

judge or jury, having entered a felony plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere or no contest, or having been given felony 

probation, a suspended sentence, or a fine, regardless of 

whether the record is expunged. 

Employee—an individual who has established an 

employment relationship as a W-2 employee or as a 1099 

independent contractor. 

Insurance License—a document issued by the 

commissioner authorizing a person to act as an insurance 

producer issued pursuant to Title 22. 

Insurance Producer—a person required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate 

insurance, and includes all persons or business entities 

otherwise referred to as "insurance agent" or "agent," or 

"insurance broker" or "broker," or "insurance solicitor" or 

"solicitor," or "surplus lines broker" pursuant to R.S. 

22:1542(6). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1879 (December 

2021). 

§17707. Procedure to Request Consent or a Waiver 

Pursuant to R.S. 22:1554 

A. The commissioner may place on probation, suspend, 

revoke, or refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate an insurance 

producer license, or may levy a fine not to exceed five 

hundred dollars if an insurance producer, without the 

consent of or a waiver from the commissioner, has employed 

or has allowed to associate with his business, in any manner, 

any person engaged in the business of insurance who has 

been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state or any 

other state or territory, the District of Columbia, the United 

States, or any foreign country.  

B. In order to ensure compliance with R.S. 

22:1554(A)(18), insurance producers should screen potential 

employees by performing a background check. 

C. An insurance producer requesting consent or a waiver 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1554(A)(18) shall do so in writing in a 

form approved by the commissioner. Such request shall 

include: 

1. the employee’s name, job title and date of birth;  

2. the employee’s date of employment; 

3. a detailed description of the employee’s job duties; 

4. a statement from the employee explaining the facts 

and circumstances of the conviction; 

5. a bill of information or other charging documents, 

court minutes, sentencing documents, and proof of 

successful completion of sentence for the felony 

conviction(s); 

6. any other information deemed necessary by the 

commissioner. 

D. The decision to grant or deny a request for consent or 

a waiver shall be issued in writing to the requesting 

employer. 

E. The commissioner may deny consent or a waiver if he 

finds: 

1. the competence, experience or integrity of the 

employee are such that it would not be in the best interest of 

clients of the employer or the public to allow the individual 

to be employed in the business of insurance; 

2. the employing insurance producer or the employee 

knowingly makes a materially false statement or omission of 

material information in the request; or 

3. any other reason, now or hereinafter, as provided 

for in applicable statutes and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1879 (December 

2021). 

§17709. Duration and Transferability  

A. Consent or a waiver issued pursuant to R.S. 

22:1554(A)(18) shall be issued solely to the employing 

insurance producer and shall remain in effect during the 

employment of the individual with the insurance producer. 

However, such consent or waiver may be rescinded if the 

employee is found to have subsequently committed an act 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1554(A)(7), or it is found that the 

request for consent or a waiver contained materially false 

information or omitted material information. 

B. Consent or a waiver shall not be transferred to another 

employer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1879 (December 

2021). 

§17711. Applicability of 18 U.S.C. §1033 

A. An individual who has been convicted of a felony 

involving dishonesty or breach of trust shall be required to 

request written consent from the commissioner to engage in 

the business of insurance or participate in such business 

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §1033(e)(B)(2). 

B. The employing insurance producer of an individual 

who obtained written consent pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 

§1033(e)(B)(2) is required to obtain a waiver pursuant to 

R.S. 22:1554(A)(18). However, an employer is not required 

to submit the documents enumerated in §17707.C.5. of 
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Regulation 119 if the employee has an active license in this 

state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1879 (December 

2021). 

§17713. Violations and Penalties 

A. The commissioner may impose penalties in 

accordance with R.S. 22:1554(A) for failure to comply with 

this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1880 (December 

2021). 

§17715. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1880 (December 

2021). 

§17717. Severability 

A. The provisions of this Subpart are severable. If any 

provision or item of this Subpart, or application thereof, is 

held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items, or applications of this Subpart, which are to be given 

effect without the invalid provision, item, or application of 

the Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1554, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47:1880 (December 

2021). 

Chapter 179. Regulation 118—

Requirements in the Event of a 

Declared Emergency 

§17901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 118 is: 

1. to establish requirements and set forth the 

procedure for the commissioner to implement rules and 

regulations on the business of insurance in the event of a 

declared emergency or public health emergency pursuant to 

the authority granted in La. R.S. 22:11(C); 

2. to provide for a process for supplementing existing 

rules and regulations with emergency rules and regulations 

particular to the unique needs of a declared emergency or 

public health emergency; 

3. to set forth the model requirements to be 

implemented in the event of a declared emergency or public 

health emergency having such effect as necessitates 

intervention by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1532 (October 

2021). 

§17903. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 118 shall apply to any and all insurers, 

health maintenance organizations, producers, all other 

entities regulated by the Louisiana Department of Insurance, 

health care providers, and individuals and to any and all 

kinds of insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1532 (October 

2021). 

§17905. Definitions 

A. As used in this Regulation 118, the following terms 

shall have the meanings specified. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of the Louisiana 

Department of Insurance. 

Declaration of Emergency—an executive order or 

proclamation by the governor declaring a disaster or state of 

emergency pursuant to R.S. 29:724 or a public health 

emergency pursuant to R.S. 29:766. 

Declared Emergency—a disaster or state of emergency 

declared by the governor pursuant to R.S. 29:724 or a public 

health emergency declared by the governor pursuant to R.S. 

29:766. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Insurer—every person or entity engaged in the business 

of making contracts of insurance, other than a fraternal 

benefit society, as defined in R.S. 22:46(10), and any other 

person or entity doing business in Louisiana and/or regulated 

by the commissioner. 

Standing Rule—model language to be used for 

emergency rules to be promulgated by the department 

pursuant to Title 22 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

comprising the rules and regulations specified in §17913 

through 17961 of this Regulation 118.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1532 (October 

2021). 

§17907. Emergency Powers, Generally 

A. In the event of a declared emergency, the 

commissioner may issue an Emergency Rule to govern the 

business of insurance. Such Emergency Rule shall include, 

but not be limited to, the following: 
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1. provide for the implementation of the standing rule, 

including specification of any sections which are not to be 

implemented during the declared emergency; 

2. provide for any requirements to be imposed in 

addition to the standing rule during the declared emergency; 

3. specify the geographic area to which the 

Emergency Rule applies; 

4. specify the duration for which the Emergency Rule 

applies, including an effective date which shall not precede 

the date of declaration of emergency. 

B. The commissioner may promulgate additional 

Emergency Rules pursuant to the authority granted to the 

commissioner by Title 22 and the Administrative Procedure 

Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1532 (October 

2021). 

§17909. Effect of Emergency Rule Implementing 

Standing Rule 

A. The effect of the commissioner’s issuance of an 

Emergency Rule providing for the implementation of the 

standing rule shall be to incorporate by reference each 

element of the standing rule except for those sections 

expressly specified to not be implemented during the 

declared emergency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1532 (October 

2021). 

§17911. Application of Subsequent Sections 

A. Sections 17913 through 17961 of this Chapter 

comprise the standing rule and shall have no effect except as 

specified in any Emergency Rule promulgated pursuant to 

§17907. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1533 (October 

2021). 

§17913. Benefits, Entitlements, Protections and 

Applicable Parishes 

A. The benefits, entitlements and protections of the 

Emergency Rule shall be applicable to insureds, 

policyholders, members, subscribers, enrollees and 

certificate holders (hereinafter “insureds”) who, as of 12:01 

a.m. on the effective date of the Emergency Rule, have an 

insurance policy, insurance contract, or certificate of 

coverage for any of the kinds of insurance enumerated in 

§17915, as delineated below, and who meet one of the 

following criteria. 

1. Any person who, as of the effective date of the 

Emergency Rule, resided in the geographic area specified in 

the Emergency Rule. Said person is entitled to the 

protections of the Emergency Rule for the kinds of insurance 

enumerated in §17915.A and B. 

2. For the kinds of insurance enumerated in §17915.B, 

any person whose primary place of employment was in, or 

whose permanent employer had assigned said person to a 

business located in the geographic area specified in 

§17913.A.1, shall be eligible for the benefits, entitlements 

and protections of the Emergency Rule if said person 

verifies such employment status by written documentation to 

his health insurance issuer. No health insurance issuer shall 

unreasonably withhold eligibility to insureds upon receipt of 

such written documentation. 

3. For the kinds of insurance enumerated in §17915.A, 

any insured who does not reside in the geographic area 

specified in §17913.A.1, but has filed with an authorized 

insurer or surplus lines insurer a notice of loss on a property 

claim for damage caused by the disaster or emergency and 

its aftermath to property located in the geographic area 

specified in §17913.A, shall be entitled to contact the insurer 

and request the benefits, entitlements, and protections of the 

Emergency Rule. These insurers are directed to work with 

their insureds who have filed a notice of loss on a property 

claim for damage caused by the disaster or emergency and 

its aftermath and provide accommodation as applicable, 

relevant and appropriate.  

B. The Emergency Rule shall apply to any authorized 

insurer as defined in R.S. 22:46(3) operating in Louisiana, 

and to any approved unauthorized insurer, eligible 

unauthorized insurer, or domestic surplus lines insurer as 

defined in R.S. 22:46(17.1) operating in Louisiana 

(sometimes hereinafter referred to as a surplus lines insurer).  

C. The Emergency Rule shall apply to every health and 

accident insurer, health maintenance organization (HMO), 

managed care organization (MCO), preferred provider 

organization (PPO), pharmacy benefit manager (PBM), and 

third party administrator (TPA) acting on behalf of a health 

insurance issuer, HMO, MCO, PPO, and any and all other 

insurance related entities licensed by the commissioner or 

doing business in Louisiana (collectively known as “health 

insurance issuers”). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1533 (October 

2021). 

§17915. Applicability and Scope 

A. The Emergency Rule shall apply to any and all kinds 

of insurance set forth in R.S. 22:47, including, but not 

limited to, life, vehicle, liability, workers’ compensation, 

burglary and forgery, fidelity, title, fire and allied lines, 

steam boiler and sprinkler leakage, crop, marine and 

transportation, miscellaneous, homeowners’, credit life, 

credit health and accident, credit property and casualty, 

annuity, surety, and industrial fire. The applicability of the 

Emergency Rule to health and accident insurance is 

specified in §17915.B. 
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B. The Emergency Rule shall apply to any and all kinds 

of health and accident insurance, including, but not limited 

to, group and individual health and accident insurance, 

limited benefit insurance, Medicare supplement insurance, 

Medicare select insurance, HMOs, PPOs, MCOs except 

those subject only to licensure and financial solvency 

regulation pursuant to R.S. 22:1016, excess loss insurance, 

stop loss insurance, disability income insurance, short-term 

health insurance, long-term care insurance, and any and all 

other health insurance. 

C. Sections 17917 and 17929.B & C of the Emergency 

Rule shall apply to only those kinds of insurance provided 

for in §17915.A and those types of insurers specified in 

§17913.B.  

D. Sections 17925, 17931, 17933, 17937, 17939.A, 

17943, 17945, and 17947 of the Emergency Rule shall apply 

only to those kinds of insurance provided for in §17915.B 

and those health insurance issuers specified in §17913.C. 

E. All provisions of the Emergency Rule not expressly 

limited in §17915.C and D shall apply to all types of insurers 

and all kinds of insurance as defined in §17913 and §17915.  

F. Nothing in §17915 shall be interpreted to apply the 

provisions of the Emergency Rule to policies of insurance 

issued for the benefit of insureds not subject to the benefits, 

entitlements, and protections enumerated in §17913. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1533 (October 

2021). 

§17917. Cancellation, Nonrenewal, and 

Nonreinstatement  

A. The Emergency Rule hereby suspends any notice of 

cancellation, notice of nonrenewal, nonreinstatement or any 

other notice related to any of the types of insurance 

enumerated in §17915 that was in force and effect at 12:01 

a.m. on the effective date of the Emergency Rule, and any 

such notice shall be null and void and have no force or 

effect. Furthermore, any such notice shall be reissued de 

novo to the insured in accordance with existing statutory 

requirements after the expiration of the Emergency Rule. 

B. Insurers may issue a notice of cancellation for 

nonpayment of premium during the pendency of the 

Emergency Rule. When any such notice is issued during the 

pendency of the Emergency Rule, the applicable notice 

period required by statute or the policy may begin to run, but 

in no event may the insurer cancel the insurance policy for 

nonpayment of premium until after the expiration of the 

Emergency Rule. 

C. No policy shall be cancelled or nonrenewed solely 

because of a claim that is filed during, or is caused by, the 

disaster or emergency or its aftermath. 

D. Unless otherwise expressly authorized in writing by 

the commissioner, the cancellation, nonrenewal or 

nonreinstatement of any insurance policy related to any of 

the types of insurance enumerated in §17915 is hereby 

suspended and shall not be allowed until after the expiration 

of the Emergency Rule as provided for in §17961. 

E. All cancellation, nonrenewal, or nonreinstatement 

provisions, including, but not limited to, R.S. 22:272, 

22:887, 22:977, 22:978, 22:1068, 22:1074, 22:1266, 

22:1267, and 22:1335 are hereby suspended, except to the 

extent such provisions apply to acts or practices constituting 

fraud or intentional misrepresentations of material fact. 

F. As set forth in §17949, the Emergency Rule shall not 

prevent an insurer from cancelling or terminating an 

insurance policy for fraud or material misrepresentation on 

the part of the insured. 

G. Any temporary postponement of cancellation or 

nonrenewal pursuant to the Emergency Rule shall not remain 

in effect beyond 60 days unless presented by the 

commissioner to the Senate Insurance Committee and House 

Insurance Committee for review and approval by either 

committee prior to any extension. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1533 (October 

2021). 

§17919. Renewal 

A. The renewal conditions of all kinds of insurance 

enumerated in §17915 that are subject to renewal after the 

effective date of the Emergency Rule are suspended and 

shall be deferred until the expiration of the Emergency Rule 

as provided for in §17961. All policies subject to renewal 

after the effective date of the Emergency Rule shall continue 

in full force and effect at the previously established premium 

until the expiration of the Emergency Rule as provided for in 

§17961. The previously established premium for renewals 

by authorized insurers shall be based on the rate structure, 

rating plan and manual rules that are approved by the 

commissioner, regardless of whether their effective date was 

before or during the Emergency Rule. The previously 

established premium by authorized insurers for renewals of 

commercial deregulated insurance policies shall be based on 

the rate structure, rating plan and manual rules set forth in 

any filing submitted to the commissioner before or during 

the Emergency Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1534 (October 

2021). 

§17921. Written Request for Cancellation by Insured 

A. Except as provided for in §17949 herein, a 

cancellation shall not occur prior to the expiration of the 

Emergency Rule unless upon the documented written 

request or written consent of the insured. This written 

consent may be in electronic format. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1534 (October 

2021). 

§17923. New Policies 

A. The Emergency Rule shall not apply to any new 

insurance policy for any of the kinds of insurance 

enumerated in §17915 if said insurance policy is issued on 

or after the effective date of the Emergency Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1534 (October 

2021). 

§17925. Claims Notification 

A. All claims notification procedures, including, but not 

limited to, R.S. 22:975(A)(3)-(5), Regulation 33, and 

Regulation 74, are suspended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1534 (October 

2021). 

§17927. Premium Offset 

A. All insurers subject to the Emergency Rule receiving 

a claim from an insured owing a premium may offset the 

premium owed by the insured against any claim payment 

made to the insured under the insurance policy. §17927 shall 

not apply to health insurance issuers as defined in §17913.C. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1534 (October 

2021). 

§17929. Obligation of Insured to Pay Premium 

A. Unless otherwise cancelled in accordance with the 

provisions of §17921 herein, nothing in the Emergency Rule 

shall be construed to exempt or excuse an insured from the 

obligation to pay the premiums otherwise due for actual 

insurance coverage provided.  

B. Those insureds entitled to the benefits, entitlements 

and protections of the Emergency Rule are advised that this 

suspension is not a waiver, but only an extension or grace 

period to facilitate payment of the premium. 

C. Insurers are directed to work with and assist their 

affected insureds who reside in the impacted parishes with 

the payment of the premium that would have become due 

during this moratorium period by either establishing for the 

insured a payment plan for the unpaid premium or providing 

to the insured a further extension for the payment of the 

unpaid premium. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1534 (October 

2021). 

§17931. Timely Payment of Health Claims 

A. Only to the extent necessary to permit the pending of 

claims during a premium payment delinquency by the 

insured, the provisions of R.S. 22:1832-1834 and Regulation 

74 related to timely payment of claims are hereby 

suspended. 

B. For any policy of insurance described in §17915.B 

which, as a result of nonpayment of premium, would be 

subject to cancellation or termination but for the suspension 

ordered in §17917, the health insurance issuer may pend all 

claims for services rendered to the insured for the remainder 

of the suspension provided for in §17917 until the health 

insurance issuer receives the delinquent premium payment 

or until such time the health insurance issuer is subsequently 

entitled to cancel or terminate the policy for nonpayment of 

premium. 

C. The health insurance issuer shall notify providers of 

the possibility for denied claims when an insured is in the 

grace period. 

D. Once a health insurance issuer receives the delinquent 

premium payment during the grace period, all pending 

claims associated with the time period to which such 

payment applies shall be processed and adjudicated. The 

health insurance issuer shall notify the health care provider 

that the claim is no longer pending and is being processed 

and adjudicated for payment. Furthermore, the suspension 

provided for in §17931.A shall be automatically lifted and 

all applicable timely payment requirements reinstated upon 

the date of the payment of premium. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17933. Nonpayment of Health Claims 

A. In the event a health insurance issuer pends a claim, 

as permitted pursuant to §17931, and is subsequently entitled 

to cancel or terminate a policy for nonpayment of premium, 

the health insurance issuer shall pay any remaining claims 

for which payment is required under §17931.B. The health 

insurance issuer may deny payment on pended claims for 

services rendered to the insured during the period of 

nonpayment after the first month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17935. Insured’s Obligation to Cooperate in Claim 

Process 

A. The Emergency Rule shall not relieve an insured who 

has filed a claim before or during the pendency of the 

Emergency Rule from compliance with the insured’s 

obligation to provide information and cooperate in the claim 

adjustment process relative to the claim. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17937. Physician Credentialing 

A. The commissioner hereby suspends physician 

credentialing pursuant to R.S. 22:1009 such that there are no 

credentialing requirements with regard to any and all 

licensed physicians who provide medical services to 

insureds identified in §17913.A or §17913.B between 12:01 

a.m. on the effective date of the Emergency Rule and the 

expiration of the Emergency Rule as provided for in §17961. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17939. New Rate or Premium 

A. For all health insurance issuers specified in §17913.C, 

any rate increases that were to take effect after the effective 

date of the Emergency Rule are suspended and shall be 

deferred until the expiration of the Emergency Rule as 

provided for in §17961. 

B. For all other insurers, as specified in §17913.B, the 

Emergency Rule shall not affect the right of any insurer to 

file for and/or implement a new rate or premium for any 

insurance policy for the types of insurance enumerated in 

§17915.A if the new rate or premium has been approved by 

the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17941. Imposition of Interest, Penalty, or Other Charge 

A. The commissioner hereby suspends the imposition of 

any interest, penalty, or other charge and declares that no 

interest, penalty, or other charge shall accrue or be assessed 

against any insured as the result of the suspensions ordered 

in the Emergency Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17943. Continuation of Health Coverage 

A. The commissioner hereby suspends R.S. 22:1046. In 

furtherance thereof, a health insurance issuer who has issued 

a group health insurance policy shall provide to all members 

or certificate holders under said group policy the option for 

the continuation of coverage, which said option shall begin 

on the day after the end the expiration of the Emergency 

Rule as provided for in §17961. This section is only 

applicable in those situations where the employer to whom 

the group policy had been issued remains in business and 

continues to offer said group health insurance to active 

employees for the duration of the Emergency Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17945. Prescription Drug Coverage 

A. Health insurance issuers shall allow insured 

individuals to obtain refills of their prescriptions even if the 

prescription was recently filled, consistent with approval 

from patients’ health care providers and/or pharmacists. This 

provision does not apply to prescription drugs with a high 

likelihood of abuse, such as opioids that are restricted to 7-

day prescriptions. 

B. The commissioner hereby suspends any provisions in 

the Louisiana Insurance Code which place restrictions on 

replacement prescriptions pertaining to mail order 

prescriptions. Mail order prescriptions shall be mailed to an 

alternate address if requested by the insured. 

C. All health insurance issuers shall waive any and all 

restrictions relative to out-of-network access to pharmacy 

services or prescriptions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1535 (October 

2021). 

§17947. Telemedicine Access 

A. Health insurance issuers shall waive any coverage 

limitations restricting telemedicine access to providers 

included within a plan’s telemedicine network. 

B. Health insurance issuers shall waive any requirement 

that the patient and provider have a prior relationship in 

order to have services delivered through telemedicine. 

C. Health insurance issuers shall cover mental health 

services provided by telemedicine consultation to the same 

extent the services would be covered if provided through an 

in-person consultation. This shall not be interpreted to 

require coverage of telemedicine services that cannot be 

appropriately provided remotely. 

D. Health insurance issuers shall waive any requirement 

limiting coverage to provider-to-provider consultations only 

and shall cover telemedicine consultations between a patient 

and a provider to the extent the same services would be 

covered if provided in person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17949. Fraud or Material Misrepresentation 

A. The Emergency Rule shall not prevent an insurer 

from cancelling or terminating an insurance policy for fraud 

or material misrepresentation on the part of the insured. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17951. Exemption from Compliance 

A. Notwithstanding any other provision contained 

herein, the commissioner may exempt any insurer from 

compliance with the Emergency Rule upon a written request 

by the insurer setting forth in detail each and every reason 

for the exemption and then only if the commissioner 

determines that compliance with the Emergency Rule may 

be reasonably expected to result in said insurer being subject 

to undue hardship, impairment, or insolvency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17953. Sanctions for Violations 

A. The commissioner retains the authority to enforce 

violations of the Emergency Rule. Accordingly, any insurer 

enumerated in the Emergency Rule or any other entity doing 

business in Louisiana and/or regulated by the commissioner 

who violates any provision of the Emergency Rule shall be 

subject to regulatory action by the commissioner under any 

applicable provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17955. Sixty Day Period to Initiate Adjustment of 

Property Claims 

A. In accordance with R.S. 22:1892(A)(3), the disaster or 

emergency and its aftermath qualifies as a catastrophic loss 

event that requires insurers to initiate loss adjustment of a 

property damage claim within 30 days after notification of 

loss by the insured.  

B. In furtherance of R.S. 22:1892(A)(3), the severity of 

the devastation caused by the disaster or emergency and its 

aftermath qualifies for an additional 30 days for insurers to 

initiate loss adjustment of a property claim after notification 

of loss by the insured.  

C. Therefore, insurers shall have a total of 60 days to 

initiate loss adjustment of a property damage claim after 

notification of loss by the insured. 

D. This declaration is based on the representation that the 

additional time period is necessary due to the large volume 

of claims resulting directly from the disaster or emergency 

and its aftermath, and with the admonition that insurers will 

promptly identify, evaluate, and resolve these claims. 

Insurers must continue to provide timely service to their 

insureds by promptly acknowledging receipt of claims and 

making appropriate assignments for the adjustment of 

claims. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17957. Authority 

A. The commissioner reserves the right to extend or 

rescind all or any portion of the Emergency Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17959. Severability Clause of Emergency Rule 

A. If any section or provision of the Emergency Rule or 

its application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect any other 

section or provision or the application of the Emergency 

Rule to any person or circumstance that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the sections and provisions of the 

Emergency Rule and the application to any persons or 

circumstances are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1536 (October 

2021). 

§17961. Effective Date of Emergency Rule 

A. The Emergency Rule shall become effective at 12:01 

a.m. on the effective date specified and shall continue in full 

force and effect until either 11:59 p.m. on the cessation date 

of the Governor’s declaration of emergency, inclusive of any 

renewal thereof, or the termination date specified in the 

Emergency Rule, inclusive of any renewal thereof approved 

pursuant to the requirement in R.S. 22:11(C), whichever 

occurs first. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1537 (October 

2021). 

§17963. Severability of Regulation 118 

A. If any provision of this regulation, or the applicability 

thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other 

provisions, items, or applications of the regulation which can 

be given effect without the invalid provision, item, or 

application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1537 (October 

2021). 

§17965. Effective Date of Regulation 118 

A. Regulation 118 shall become effective upon final 

promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Commissioner of Insurance, LR 47:1537 (October 

2021). 

Chapter 181. Regulation Number 

120—Administrative and Agency 

Proceedings Instituted  

against a License 

§18101. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated on behalf of the 

Department of Insurance by the Commissioner of Insurance 

pursuant to the authority granted under Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18103. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish 

procedures for governing the institution of administrative 

and agency proceedings resulting in administrative action 

with respect to a license in accordance with R.S. 22:2191, et 

seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18105. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 120 sets forth procedures and time delays 

that govern the institution of administrative and agency 

proceedings resulting in administrative action instituted 

against any licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18107. Severability 

A. The provisions of this Subpart are severable. If any 

provision or item of this Subpart, or application thereof, is 

held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items, or applications of this Subpart which are to be given 

effect without the invalid provision, item, or application of 

the Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 30:2834 (December 

2004), amended LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18109. Definitions 

A. Strictly for purposes of Regulation 120, the following 

terms are defined as follows. 

Administrative Proceedings—proceedings in an 

administrative tribunal adjudicated by an administrative law 

judge and conducted in accordance with Chapter 12 of the 

Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:2191, et seq. and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

Agency Proceedings—proceedings instituted or 

conducted by the Commissioner of Insurance. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Insurance, his 

deputy, or the Department of Insurance, as appropriate. 

License—any and all authorizations, certificates of 

authority, licenses, registrations, or other written 

instruments, acknowledgements, or statutory decrees, 

establishing that a person or entity is authorized to conduct 

the business of insurance in accordance with Title 22. 

Licensee—all persons and entities issued a “license” by 

the Department of Insurance or otherwise authorized by 

statute to conduct the business of insurance in this state. 

Additionally, the term licensee, as used in this regulation, 

includes approved unauthorized insurers, as defined in 

Chapter 2 of the Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18111. Actions against License; Notice of Wrongful 

Conduct; Opportunity to Show Compliance 

A. Prior to the institution of an agency proceeding 

regarding the revocation, suspension, annulment, or 

withdrawal of a license, the commissioner shall give the 

licensee notice of the wrongful conduct alleged and an 

opportunity to show compliance with all lawful requirements 

for the retention of the license in accordance with R.S. 

49:950 et seq. The notice of wrongful conduct shall be in 

writing, mailed or delivered personally to the licensee at the 

last known address or principal place of business identified 

in the department’s database for the licensee, and it must 

include the particulars set forth under Subpart B. herein. 

B. The notice of wrongful conduct shall include a 

statement of the legal authority and alleged facts or conduct 

under which the department’s enforcement action is based. 

The notice of wrongful conduct shall also include references 

to the applicable provisions of Title 22 and regulations 

promulgated by the department, and it shall advise the 

licensee of the opportunity to show compliance with all 

lawful requirements for retention of the license. 

C. The licensee shall have 20 calendar days from the 

mailing or personal delivery of the notice of wrongful 

conduct by the commissioner to demonstrate compliance 

with all lawful requirements for retention of the license as 

specified in the notice of wrongful conduct, unless the 
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commissioner determines that an extension of time is 

warranted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18113. Notice of Regulatory Action 

A. If the licensee fails to demonstrate compliance with 

all lawful requirements of Title 22 for retention of the 

license to the satisfaction of the commissioner within 20 

calendar days of the mailing or personal service of the notice 

of wrongful conduct, or within any extension of time 

approved by the commissioner, a notice of regulatory action 

may be issued. The notice shall be in writing and issued via 

mail or by personal delivery to the last known address or 

principal place of business identified in the department’s 

database for the licensee. The revocation, suspension, 

annulment, or withdrawal of a license shall take effect 10 

calendar days from the date of issuance of the notice of 

regulatory action, unless otherwise provided in Title 22. The 

licensee shall have the right to timely demand an 

administrative hearing to contest the notice of regulatory 

action in accordance with R.S. 22:2191, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1105 (April 2022). 

§18115. Notice of Summary Suspension or Order 

A. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 

regulation, if the commissioner finds that the public health, 

safety, or welfare of Louisiana citizens imperatively requires 

emergency action, the commissioner may issue a notice of 

summary suspension or order to the licensee, setting forth 

the basis for such a finding. The notice of summary 

suspension or order shall be in writing, mailed or delivered 

personally to the licensee at the last known address or 

principal place of business identified in the department’s 

database for the licensee, and it may be issued while agency 

proceedings for license revocation or other adverse actions 

authorized by R.S. 49:961(C) are pending, unless otherwise 

provided in Title 22. The licensee shall have the right to 

timely demand an administrative hearing to contest the 

notice of summary suspension or order in accordance with 

R.S. 22:2191, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1106 (April 2022). 

§18117. Stay of Action 

A. A demand for an administrative hearing shall not 

operate as an automatic stay of any order issued by the 

commissioner or any action taken or proposed to be taken by 

the commissioner unless such relief is granted by the 

Division of Administrative Law pursuant to R.S. 22:2204 

and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, or as 

otherwise provided in Title 22. All demands for hearing and 

requests for a stay of action shall be filed in accordance with 

Chapter 12 of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:2191, 

et seq. and held in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2204, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1106 (April 2022). 

§18119. Effective Date  

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:18, 22:2191, et seq., and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1106 (April 2022). 

Chapter 182. Regulation  

Number 126—Louisiana  

Fortify Homes Program 

§18201. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 126 is to set forth rules 

and requirements governing the administration of the 

Louisiana Fortify Homes Program (LFHP) and eligibility 

criteria for LFHP grants in accordance with Act No. 554 of 

the 2022 Regular Session.  

B. The purpose of the amendment to Regulation 126 is 

to provide additional clarification with respect to the 

administration of the LFHP in accordance with Act No. 554 

of the 2022 Regular Session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:698 (April 2023), 

amended LR 50:1499 (October 2024). 

§18202. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 126, the following terms shall 

have the meanings herein specified. 

1. Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

2. FORTIFIED—a program of IBHS. 

3. FORTIFIED Home Evaluator—an independent, 

third party who has completed the FORTIFIED training 

requirements and is certified by the Insurance Institute for 

Business and Home Safety (IBHS) as a home evaluator who 

can verify that a home meets the FORTIFIED roof standard. 

Homeowners can find a list of certified home evaluators at 

www.ldi.la.gov/fortifyhomes. 

4. Good Cause—sufficient and verifiable grounds for 

waiving a requirement in the grant application process. 
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5. Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety 

(IBHS)—a non-profit research and communications 

organization of the property and casualty insurance industry 

that defines the FORTIFIED roof standard for homes, 

information for which can be found at 

www.fortifiedhome.org. 

6. Lottery Process—the random process by which an 

applicant is selected for the LFHP. 

7. Louisiana Fortify Homes Program (LFHP)—a 

program, enacted by Act No. 554 of the 2022 Regular 

Session, administered by the commissioner, to make 

financial grants to retrofit roofs of insured property, as 

defined in R.S. 22:1483(C)(9), with a homestead exemption 

utilizing construction techniques demonstrated to reduce 

losses caused by a hurricane, tornado, or other catastrophic 

windstorm event and that meet or exceed the IBHS 

FORTIFIED roof standard, information for which can be 

found at www.ldi.la.gov/fortifyhomes. 

8. National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)—a 

federal program enacted by the National Flood Insurance 

Act of 1968 (Title XIII of P.L. 90-448, as amended, 42 

U.S.C. §§4001, et seq.) to provide greater access to primary 

flood insurance, mitigate flood risks, and reduce federal 

expenditures pertaining to flood-related disaster assistance. 

As part of its efforts to minimize flood damage and reduce 

repair costs, the NFIP designates flood zones and flood 

maps, which illustrate a community’s flood risks. Additional 

information regarding the NFIP or flood zones and maps can 

be found at www.floodsmart.gov. 

9. Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)—an area 

having special flood, mudflow, or flood-related erosion 

hazards on a Flood Hazard Boundary Map or a Flood 

Insurance Rate Map as shown on the Federal Emergency 

Management Agency’s website. The SFHA is the area where 

the NFIP’s floodplain management regulations must be 

enforced and the area where the mandatory purchase of 

flood insurance applies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:699 (April 2023), 

amended LR 50:1499 (October 2024). 

§18203. Contractor Eligibility Requirements and 

Conflicts of Interest 

A. Contractor Eligibility Requirements. To be eligible to 

work as a LFHP contractor (LFHP-approved contractor), the 

contractor must meet all of the following program 

requirements: 

1. submit and maintain a current copy of all 

certificates, licenses, and proof of insurance coverages with 

the LFHP; 

2. hold a valid residential license or home 

improvement registration issued by the Louisiana State 

Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) and must be in 

good standing with the LSLBC; 

3. hold any other valid state or jurisdictional business 

licenses or work permits required by law in Louisiana; 

4. maintain a general liability policy with $1,000,000 

in liability coverage; 

5. maintain a workers’ compensation policy in 

compliance with Louisiana law; 

6. provide a FORTIFIED certification issued by the 

IBHS or its successor; 

7. be listed on the IBHS Directory as an approved 

contractor at www.fortifiedproviders.com; 

8. comply with all regulatory and tax laws regulating 

businesses in the state of Louisiana; 

9. maintain internet access and have a valid, active 

email address on file with the LFHP for communication with 

the LFHP; 

10. avoid conflicts of interest in any work performed 

on projects funded by LFHP grants; and 

11. agree to follow the LFHP procedures and rules as 

established by the commissioner. 

B. Contractor Conflicts of Interest 

1. LFHP-approved contractors may not possess a 

financial interest in any project for which they perform work 

toward a FORTIFIED designation other than for payment on 

behalf of the homeowner by the LFHP. 

2. LFHP-approved contractors cannot be the home 

evaluator for a FORTIFIED designation on any project 

funded by LFHP grants. 

3. The LFHP-approved contractor is responsible for 

reporting to the LFHP any potential conflicts of interest 

before work commences on any job funded by LFHP grants. 

C. The LFHP may remove a contractor from the list of 

LFHP-approved contractors at any time upon a finding that 

the contractor failed to meet any of the program 

requirements listed in Regulation 126. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:699 (April 2023), 

amended LR 50:1499 (October 2024). 

§18204. Home Evaluator Eligibility Requirements and 

Conflicts of Interest 

A. Home Evaluator Eligibility Requirements. To be 

eligible to work on the LFHP, a home evaluator must meet 

all of the following program requirements: 

1. submit and maintain a copy of all current program 

certificates with the LFHP; 

2. be in good standing with the IBHS and maintain an 

active certification as a FORTIFIED home evaluator, issued 

by the IBHS or its successor; 

3. possess all necessary business licenses to perform 

the work required; 
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4. comply with all regulatory and tax laws regulating 

businesses in the state of Louisiana; and 

5. avoid conflicts of interest in any work performed 

on projects funded by LFHP grants. 

B. Home Evaluator Conflicts of Interest 

1. Home evaluators may not possess a financial 

interest in any project for which they inspect for 

FORTIFIED designation purposes in connection with the 

LFHP. 

2. Home evaluators cannot be contractors or suppliers 

of any materials, products, or systems installed in any home 

they inspect for FORTIFIED designation purposes for the 

LFHP. 

3. Home evaluators cannot be a sales agent for any 

home being designated for the LFHP program. 

4. Home evaluators have a duty to inform the LFHP of 

any potential conflicts of interest before commencing 

inspections on any job funded by LFHP grants. 

C. The LFHP may remove a home evaluator from the list 

of eligible certified evaluators at any time upon a finding 

that the home evaluator failed to meet any of the program 

requirements listed in Regulation 126. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:699 (April 2023), 

amended LR 50:1500 (October 2024). 

§18205. LFHP Grants 

A. Grant Eligibility. To be eligible for a LFHP grant, an 

applicant must meet the following requirements: 

1. The home must be a residence with a homestead 

exemption that is not a condominium or mobile home. 

2. The home must be in good repair unless damaged 

by a hurricane, non-hurricane wind, or hail.  

3. The homeowner, with the assistance of an LFHP-

approved contractor and home evaluator, must fortify the 

home’s roof to meet or exceed the IBHS FORTIFIED roof 

standard. 

4. The homeowner must provide the LFHP proof of a 

wind insurance policy on the home. Additionally, if the 

home is in a designated SFHA, the homeowner must provide 

the LFHP proof of a flood insurance policy on the home. 

5. The homeowner must obtain and pay for all permits 

required by law or ordinance for the construction. 

6. The homeowner must arrange and pay for 

inspections required by law or ordinance and the terms of 

the grant, which shall include inspection pursuant to R.S. 

22:1483(C)(3). 

7. The work must comply with applicable building 

codes.  

8. Unless granted an extension by the commissioner, 

the LFHP project must be completed within 90 days from 

the date of the notification issued by the commissioner that 

the applicant is eligible to proceed with the grant process. 

Notice will be delivered to the applicant through electronic 

means. Failure to timely complete the LFHP project may 

result in a forfeiture of the grant. 

9. The commissioner may grant a homeowner an 

extension of time to complete the LFHP project if an 

extension is timely requested in writing and the homeowner 

provides sufficient proof that extenuating circumstances 

caused or will likely cause delays in the completion of the 

LFHP. Whether to grant or deny a request for an extension of 

time shall be subject to the commissioner’s sole discretion. 

B. Grant Application Process 

1. To apply for an LFHP grant, a homeowner must 

complete and submit an online grant application to the 

LFHP. The online grant application portal will be accessible 

via www.ldi.la.gov/fortifyhomes. 

2. Unless otherwise notified by the commissioner, the 

homeowner will be responsible for paying for a certified 

home evaluator of the homeowner’s choice to provide an 

IBHS home review evaluation on the home seeking to be 

fortified. A list of certified home evaluators can be found at 

www.ldi.la.gov/fortifyhomes. 

3. The home evaluator shall determine whether the 

home meets a minimum structural standard on a pass-or-fail 

basis before identifying all improvements required to meet 

the IBHS FORTIFIED roof standard. Thereafter, the home 

evaluator shall submit a report to the LFHP for approval. 

4. The homeowner must access the LFHP online 

application portal and obtain bids from not less than three 

LFHP-approved contractors of their choice to improve the 

home to meet the IBHS FORTIFIED roof standard. The 

commissioner may waive the minimum number of bids 

required for the application to reflect the number of 

contractors available in the area or for other good cause 

shown. A list of eligible contractors can be found at 

www.ldi.la.gov/fortifyhomes. 

C. Awarding of Grants. The LFHP will award grants 

through a lottery process, subject to the availability of 

funding. The LFHP will review all applications for 

completeness and perform appropriate audits to verify the 

accuracy of the information in the application and whether 

the applicant meets the eligibility criteria. Applicants will 

have 30 days from selection in the lottery process to provide 

information to verify eligibility. LFHP-approved contractors 

may not begin work on a home until selected by the 

applicant and the bid process is complete. The LFHP may 

extend the time for review and approval of applications as it 

deems necessary. The LFHP will notify an applicant if the 

time for review and approval of the application has been 

extended. 

D. Maximum Grant Award. The amount of a grant award 

shall be equivalent to the actual cost of retrofitting the roof 

to comply with the IBHS FORTIFIED roof standard, not to 
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exceed $10,000. The commissioner may periodically update 

the amount of the grant award. 

E. Release of Funds. Grant funds will only be released 

on behalf of an approved applicant once an IBHS 

FORTIFIED certificate has been issued for the home. Funds 

will be paid by the LFHP, on behalf of the homeowner, 

directly to the contractor who performed the work to fortify 

the roof. 

F. Grant Award Process 

1. Once the LFHP approves the grant application, the 

homeowner may contract with an LFHP-approved contractor 

to fortify the home. Once the LFHP-approved contractor 

completes the fortification work on the home, they must 

submit a copy of the signed contract to the LFHP with a final 

invoice. The final invoice must include written verification 

that the work was completed to the FORTIFIED roof 

standard and that the total invoiced amount does not include 

any costs or fees incurred by the contractor for those items 

identified in R.S. 22:1483.1(B). 

2. The home evaluator will perform all required 

evaluations to confirm that the LFHP-approved contractor 

completed the work according to the IBHS FORTIFIED roof 

standard. The IBHS will review the evaluation and 

determine whether to issue a FORTIFIED designation, 

which is a written certificate that the home meets the 

FORTIFIED roof standard. 

3. The LFHP will pay the LFHP-approved 

contractor’s costs covered by the grant, and the homeowner 

shall pay the remaining costs to the LFHP-approved 

contractor. 

4. The LFHP reserves the right to conduct random 

inspections. 

5. To timely manage the processing of grant 

applications or to meet funding limitations, the LFHP may 

establish specific periods when it will accept grant 

applications. 

G. The commissioner may create pilot projects as needed 

to establish a sustainable distribution system of the program 

in any geographic area within the State of Louisiana. 

H. Coordination with Other Funding Sources 

1. Applicants shall report any funds received or 

anticipated from insurance, disaster relief, or other sources 

to ensure that the grant only covers actual costs. 

2. Insurers shall not reduce settlement payments based 

on the payment or an LFHP grant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:700 (April 2023), 

amended LR 50:1500 (October 2024). 

§18206. Severability 

A. If any rule or portion of a rule or its applicability to 

any person or circumstance is held invalid by any court, the 

remainder of this Chapter or the applicability of the 

provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:701 (April 2023). 

§18207. Effective Date  

A. Regulation 126, as amended, shall be effective upon 

final publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and R.S. 22:1483.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1501 (October 

2024). 

Chapter 183. Regulation Number 

121—Term and Universal Life 

Insurance Reserve Financing 

§18301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to set forth rules and 

procedural requirements to establish uniform, national 

standards governing reserve financing arrangements 

pertaining to life insurance policies containing guaranteed 

nonlevel gross premiums, guaranteed nonlevel benefits and 

universal life insurance policies with secondary guarantees 

and to ensure that, with respect to each such financing 

arrangement, funds consisting of primary security and other 

security, as defined in §18305, are held by or on behalf of 

ceding insurers in the forms and amounts required herein. In 

general, reinsurance ceded for reserve financing purposes 

has one or more of the following characteristics: some or all 

of the assets used to secure the reinsurance treaty or to 

capitalize the reinsurer  

1. are issued by the ceding insurer or its affiliates; or  

2. are not unconditionally available to satisfy the 

general account obligations of the ceding insurer; or  

3. create a reimbursement, indemnification, or other 

similar obligation on the part of the ceding insurer or any of 

its affiliates (other than a payment obligation under a 

derivative contract acquired in the normal course and used to 

support and hedge liabilities pertaining to the actual risks in 

the policies ceded pursuant to the reinsurance treaty). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1583 (June 2022). 

§18303. Applicability 

A. This regulation shall apply to reinsurance treaties that 

cede liabilities pertaining to covered policies, as that term is 

defined in §18305, issued by any life insurance company 

domiciled in this state. This regulation and Regulation 56 

shall both apply to such reinsurance treaties, provided that in 

the event of a direct conflict between the provisions of this 
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regulation and Regulation 56, the provisions of this 

regulation shall apply, but only to the extent of the conflict. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1584 (June 2022). 

§18305. Definitions 

A. Strictly for the purposes of Regulation 121, the 

following terms are defined as follows. 

Actuarial Method—the methodology used to determine 

the required level of primary security, as described in 

§18309.A. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Covered Policies—subject to the exemptions described 

in §18307, covered policies, other than grandfathered 

policies, of the following policy types: 

a. life insurance policies with guaranteed nonlevel 

gross premiums and/or guaranteed nonlevel benefits, except 

for flexible premium universal life insurance policies; or 

b. flexible premium universal life insurance policies 

with provisions resulting in the ability of a policyholder to 

keep a policy in force over a secondary guarantee period. 

Grandfathered Policies—policies of the types described 

in the definition of covered policies that were: 

a. issued prior to January 1, 2015; and 

b. ceded, as of December 31, 2014, as part of a 

reinsurance treaty that would not have met one of the 

exemptions set forth in §18307 had that section then been in 

effect. 

Noncovered Policies—any policy that does not meet the 

definition of covered policies, including grandfathered 

policies. 

Other Security—any security acceptable to the 

commissioner other than security meeting the definition of 

primary security. 

Primary Security—includes the following forms of 

security: 

a. cash meeting the requirements of R.S. 22:652 

b. securities listed by the Securities Valuation 

Office meeting the requirements of R.S. 22:652, but 

excluding any synthetic letter of credit, contingent note, 

credit-linked note, or other similar security that operates in a 

manner similar to a letter of credit, and excluding any 

securities issued by the ceding insurer or any of its affiliates; 

and 

c. for security held in connection with funds-

withheld and modified coinsurance reinsurance treaties: 

 i. commercial loans in good standing of CM3 

quality and higher; 

 ii. policy loans; and 

 iii. derivatives acquired in the normal course and 

used to support and hedge liabilities pertaining to the actual 

risks in the policies ceded pursuant to the reinsurance treaty. 

Required Level of Primary Security—the dollar amount 

determined by applying the actuarial method to the risks 

ceded with respect to covered policies, but not more than the 

total reserve ceded. 

Valuation Manual—the valuation manual adopted by 

the NAIC as described in R.S. 22:753(C)(2)(a), with all 

amendments adopted by the NAIC that are effective for the 

financial statement date on which credit for reinsurance is 

claimed. 

VM-20—"Requirements for Principle-Based Reserves 

for Life Products," including all relevant definitions, from 

the valuation manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1584 (June 2022). 

§18307. Exemptions 

A. This regulation does not apply to the situations 

described in Paragraphs 1-7. 

1. Reinsurance of: 

a. policies that satisfy the criteria for exemption set 

forth in §10911.F and §10911.G of Regulation 85 and that 

are issued before the later of: 

 i. September 1, 2022; and 

 ii. the date on which the ceding insurer begins to 

apply the provisions of VM-20 to establish the ceded 

policies' statutory reserves, but in no event later than January 

1, 2020; 

b. portions of policies that satisfy the criteria for 

exemption set forth in §10911.E of Regulation 85 and that 

are issued before the later of: 

 i. September 1, 2022; and 

 ii. the date on which the ceding insurer begins to 

apply the provisions of VM-20 to establish the ceded 

policies' statutory reserves, but in no event later than January 

1, 2020; 

c. any universal life policy that meets all of the 

following requirements: 

 i. secondary guarantee period, if any, is five years 

or less; 

 ii. specified premium for the secondary guarantee 

period is not less than the net level reserve premium for the 

secondary guarantee period based on the Commissioners 

Standard Ordinary (CSO) valuation tables and valuation 

interest rate applicable to the issue year of the policy; and 
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 iii. the initial surrender charge is not less than 100 

percent of the first year annualized specified premium for 

the secondary guarantee period; 

d. credit life insurance; 

e. any variable life insurance policy that provides 

for life insurance, the amount or duration of which varies 

according to the investment experience of any separate 

account or accounts; or 

f. any group life insurance certificate unless the 

certificate provides for a stated or implied schedule of 

maximum gross premiums required in order to continue 

coverage in force for a period in excess of one year. 

2. Reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that 

meets the applicable requirements of R.S.22:651(D); or 

3. Reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that 

meets the applicable requirements of R.S.22:651(B) or (C), 

and that, in addition: 

a. prepares statutory financial statements in 

compliance with the NAIC Accounting Practices and 

Procedures Manual, without any departures from NAIC 

statutory accounting practices and procedures pertaining to 

the admissibility or valuation of assets or liabilities that 

increase the assuming insurer's reported surplus and are 

material enough that they need to be disclosed in the 

financial statement of the assuming insurer pursuant to 

Statement of Statutory Accounting Principles No. 1 (SSAP 

1); and 

b. is not in a company action level event, regulatory 

action level event, authorized control level event, or 

mandatory control level event as those terms are defined in 

R.S. 22:613 through 22:616 when its risk-based capital 

(RBC) is calculated in accordance with the life risk-based 

capital report including overview and instructions for 

companies, as the same may be amended by the NAIC from 

time to time, without deviation; or 

4. reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that meets 

the applicable requirements of R.S.22:651(B) or (C), and 

that, in addition: 

a. is not an affiliate, as that term is defined in R.S. 

22:691.2(1), of: 

 i. the insurer ceding the business to the assuming 

insurer; or 

 ii. any insurer that directly or indirectly ceded the 

business to that ceding insurer; 

b. prepares statutory financial statements in 

compliance with the NAIC Accounting Practices and 

Procedures Manual; 

c. is both: 

 i. licensed or accredited in at least 10 states 

(including its state of domicile), and 

 ii. not licensed in any state as a captive, special 

purpose vehicle, special purpose financial captive, special 

purpose life reinsurance company, limited purpose 

subsidiary, or any other similar licensing regime; and 

d. is not, or would not be, below 500 percent of the 

authorized control level RBC as that term is defined in R.S. 

22:611(8)(a) when its RBC is calculated in accordance with 

the life risk-based capital report including overview and 

instructions for companies, as the same may be amended by 

the NAIC from time to time, without deviation, and without 

recognition of any departures from NAIC statutory 

accounting practices and procedures pertaining to the 

admission or valuation of assets or liabilities that increase 

the assuming insurer's reported surplus; or 

5. reinsurance ceded to an assuming insurer that meets 

the requirements of R.S. 22:661(B)(4); or  

6. reinsurance not otherwise exempt under 

Subsections A through E if the commissioner, after 

consulting with the NAIC Financial Analysis Working 

Group (FAWG) or other group of regulators designated by 

the NAIC, as applicable, determines under all the facts and 

circumstances that all of the following apply: 

a. the risks are clearly outside of the intent and 

purpose of this regulation, as described in §18301 above; 

b. the risks are included within the scope of this 

regulation only as a technicality; and 

c. the application of this regulation to those risks is 

not necessary to provide appropriate protection to 

policyholders. The commissioner shall publicly disclose any 

decision made pursuant to §18307.F to exempt a reinsurance 

treaty from this regulation, as well as the general basis 

therefor (including a summary description of the treaty); or 

7. meets the conditions set forth in R.S. 22:651(F) in 

this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1584 (June 2022). 

§18309. The Actuarial Method 

A. The actuarial method to establish the required level of 

primary security for each reinsurance treaty subject to this 

regulation shall be VM-20, applied on a treaty-by-treaty 

basis, including all relevant definitions, from the valuation 

manual as then in effect, applied as follows. 

1. For covered policies described in covered policies 

(a) in §18305, the actuarial method is the greater of the 

deterministic reserve or the net premium reserve (NPR) 

regardless of whether the criteria for exemption testing can 

be met. However, if the covered policies do not meet the 

requirements of the stochastic reserve exclusion test in the 

valuation manual, then the actuarial method is the greatest of 

the deterministic reserve, the stochastic reserve, or the NPR. 

In addition, if such covered policies are reinsured in a 

reinsurance treaty that also contains covered policies 

described in covered policies (b) in §18305, the ceding 

insurer may elect to instead use Paragraph 2 below as the 
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actuarial method for the entire reinsurance agreement. 

Whether Paragraph 1 or 2 are used, the actuarial method 

must comply with any requirements or restrictions that the 

valuation manual imposes when aggregating these policy 

types for purposes of principle-based reserve calculations. 

2. For covered policies described in covered policies 

(b) in §18305, the actuarial method is the greatest of the 

deterministic reserve, the stochastic reserve, or the NPR 

regardless of whether the criteria for exemption testing can 

be met. 

3. Except as provided in Paragraph 4 below, the 

actuarial method is to be applied on a gross basis to all risks 

with respect to the covered policies as originally issued or 

assumed by the ceding insurer. 

4. If the reinsurance treaty cedes less than 100 percent 

of the risk with respect to the covered policies then the 

required level of primary security may be reduced as 

follows. 

a. If a reinsurance treaty cedes only a quota share of 

some or all of the risks pertaining to the covered policies, the 

required level of primary security, as well as any adjustment 

under Subparagraph (c) below, may be reduced to a pro rata 

portion in accordance with the percentage of the risk ceded; 

b. If the reinsurance treaty in a nonexempt 

arrangement cedes only the risks pertaining to a secondary 

guarantee, the required level of primary security may be 

reduced by an amount determined by applying the actuarial 

method on a gross basis to all risks, other than risks related 

to the secondary guarantee, pertaining to the covered 

policies, except that for covered policies for which the 

ceding insurer did not elect to apply the provisions of VM-

20 to establish statutory reserves, the required level of 

primary security may be reduced by the statutory reserve 

retained by the ceding insurer on those covered policies, 

where the retained reserve of those covered policies should 

be reflective of any reduction pursuant to the cession of 

mortality risk on a yearly renewable term basis in an exempt 

arrangement; 

c. If a portion of the covered policy risk is ceded to 

another reinsurer on a yearly renewable term basis in an 

exempt arrangement, the required level of primary security 

may be reduced by the amount resulting by applying the 

actuarial method including the reinsurance section of VM-20 

to the portion of the covered policy risks ceded in the 

exempt arrangement, except that for covered policies issued 

prior to January 1, 2017, this adjustment is not to exceed 

[cx/2 * number of reinsurance premiums per year] where cx  
is calculated using the same mortality table used in 

calculating the net premium reserve; and 

d. For any other treaty ceding a portion of risk to a 

different reinsurer, including but not limited to stop loss, 

excess of loss, and other nonproportional reinsurance 

treaties, there will be no reduction in the required level of 

primary security. 

NOTE: It is possible for any combination of Subparagraphs a, b, c, and d 

above to apply. Such adjustments to the required level of primary security 

will be done in the sequence that accurately reflects the portion of the risk 
ceded via the treaty. The ceding insurer should document the rationale and 

steps taken to accomplish the adjustments to the required level of primary 

security due to the cession of less than 100 percent of the risk. 

The adjustments for other reinsurance will be made only with respect to 

reinsurance treaties entered into directly by the ceding insurer. The ceding 

insurer will make no adjustment as a result of a retrocession treaty entered 

into by the assuming insurers. 

5. In no event will the required level of primary 

security resulting from application of the actuarial method 

exceed the amount of statutory reserves ceded. 

6. If the ceding insurer cedes risks with respect to 

covered policies, including any riders, in more than one 

reinsurance treaty subject to this regulation, in no event will 

the aggregate required level of primary security for those 

reinsurance treaties be less than the required level of primary 

security calculated using the actuarial method as if all risks 

ceded in those treaties were ceded in a single treaty subject 

to this regulation. 

7. If a reinsurance treaty subject to this regulation 

cedes risk on both covered and noncovered policies, credit 

for the ceded reserves shall be determined as follows: 

a. The actuarial method shall be used to determine 

the required level of primary security for the covered 

policies, and §18311 shall be used to determine the 

reinsurance credit for the covered policy reserves; and 

b. Credit for the noncovered policy reserves shall be 

granted only to the extent that security, in addition to the 

security held to satisfy the requirements of Subparagraph a, 

is held by or on behalf of the ceding insurer in accordance 

with R.S. 22:651 and R.S. 22:652. Any primary security 

used to meet the requirements of this Subparagraph may not 

be used to satisfy the required level of primary security for 

the covered policies. 

B. For the purposes of both calculating the required level 

of primary security pursuant to the actuarial method and 

determining the amount of primary security and other 

security, as applicable, held by or on behalf of the ceding 

insurer, the following shall apply: 

1. for assets, including any such assets held in trust, 

that would be admitted under the NAIC Accounting 

Practices and Procedures Manual if they were held by the 

ceding insurer, the valuations are to be determined according 

to statutory accounting procedures as if such assets were 

held in the ceding insurer's general account and without 

taking into consideration the effect of any prescribed or 

permitted practices; and 

2. for all other assets, the valuations are to be those 

that were assigned to the assets for the purpose of 

determining the amount of reserve credit taken. In addition, 

the asset spread tables and asset default cost tables required 

by VM-20 shall be included in the actuarial method if 

adopted by the NAIC Life Actuarial (A) Task Force no later 

than the December 31st on or immediately preceding the 

valuation date for which the required level of primary 

security is being calculated. The tables of asset spreads and 
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asset default costs shall be incorporated into the actuarial 

method in the manner specified in VM-20. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1585 (June 2022). 

§18311. Requirements Applicable to Covered Policies to 

Obtain Credit for Reinsurance; Opportunity for 

Remediation 

A. Subject to the exemptions described in §18307 and 

the provisions of Subsection B, credit for reinsurance shall 

be allowed with respect to ceded liabilities pertaining to 

covered policies pursuant to R.S. 22:651 and R.S. 22:652 if, 

and only if, in addition to all other requirements imposed by 

law or regulation, the following requirements are met on a 

treaty-by-treaty basis: 

1. the ceding insurer's statutory policy reserves with 

respect to the covered policies are established in full and in 

accordance with the applicable requirements of R.S. 22:753 

and related regulations and actuarial guidelines, and credit 

claimed for any reinsurance treaty subject to this regulation 

does not exceed the proportionate share of those reserves 

ceded under the contract; and 

2. the ceding insurer determines the required level of 

primary security with respect to each reinsurance treaty 

subject to this regulation and provides support for its 

calculation as determined to be acceptable to the 

commissioner; and 

3. funds consisting of primary security, in an amount 

at least equal to the required level of primary security, are 

held by or on behalf of the ceding insurer, as security under 

the reinsurance treaty within the meaning of R.S. 22:652, on 

a funds withheld, trust, or modified coinsurance basis; 

4. funds consisting of other security, in an amount at 

least equal to any portion of the statutory reserves as to 

which primary security is not held pursuant to Paragraph 3 

above, are held by or on behalf of the ceding insurer as 

security under the reinsurance treaty within the meaning of 

R.S. 22:652; and 

5. any trust used to satisfy the requirements of §18311 

shall comply with all of the conditions and qualifications of 

§3517 of Regulation 56, except that: 

a. funds consisting of primary security or other 

security held in trust, shall for the purposes identified in 

§18309.B, be valued according to the valuation rules set 

forth in §18309.B, as applicable; and 

b. there are no affiliate investment limitations with 

respect to any security held in such trust if such security is 

not needed to satisfy the requirements of Subsection A.3; 

and 

c. the reinsurance treaty must prohibit withdrawals 

or substitutions of trust assets that would leave the fair 

market value of the primary security within the trust (when 

aggregated with primary security outside the trust that is 

held by or on behalf of the ceding insurer in the manner 

required by Subsection A.3) below 102 percent of the level 

required by Subsection A.3 at the time of the withdrawal or 

substitution; and 

d. the determination of reserve credit under §3517.E 

of Regulation 56 shall be determined according to the 

valuation rules set forth in §18309.B, as applicable; and 

6. the reinsurance treaty has been approved by the 

commissioner. 

B. Requirements at Inception Date and on an On-Going 

Basis; Remediation 

1. The requirements of Subsection A must be satisfied 

as of the date that risks under covered policies are ceded if 

such date is on or after September 1, 2022, and on an 

ongoing basis thereafter. Under no circumstances shall a 

ceding insurer take or consent to any action or series of 

actions that would result in a deficiency under Subsection 

A.3 or A.4 with respect to any reinsurance treaty under 

which covered policies have been ceded, and in the event 

that a ceding insurer becomes aware at any time that such a 

deficiency exists, it shall use its best efforts to arrange for 

the deficiency to be eliminated as expeditiously as possible. 

2. Prior to the due date of each quarterly or annual 

statement, each life insurance company that has ceded 

reinsurance within the scope of §18303 shall perform an 

analysis, on a treaty-by-treaty basis, to determine, as to each 

reinsurance treaty under which covered policies have been 

ceded, whether as of the end of the immediately preceding 

calendar quarter (the valuation date) the requirements of 

Subsection A.3 or A.4 were satisfied. The ceding insurer 

shall establish a liability equal to the excess of the credit for 

reinsurance taken over the amount of primary security 

actually held pursuant to Subsection A.3, unless either: 

a. the requirements of Subsection A.3 or A.4 were 

fully satisfied as of the valuation date as to such reinsurance 

treaty; or 

b. any deficiency has been eliminated before the 

due date of the quarterly or annual statement to which the 

valuation date relates through the addition of primary 

security and/or other security, as the case may be, in such 

amount and in such form as would have caused the 

requirements of Subsection A.3 or A.4 to be fully satisfied as 

of the valuation date. 

3. Nothing in Subsection B.2 shall be construed to 

allow a ceding company to maintain any deficiency under 

subdivision Subsection A.3 or A.4 for any period of time 

longer than is reasonably necessary to eliminate it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1586 (June 2022). 

§18313. Severability 

A. If any provision of this regulation is held invalid, the 

remainder shall not be affected. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1587 (June 2022). 

§18315. Prohibition against Avoidance 

A. No insurer that has covered policies to which this 

regulation applies, as set forth in §18303, shall take any 

action or series of actions, or enter into any transaction, 

arrangement, or series of transactions or arrangements if the 

purpose of such action, transaction, arrangement, or series 

thereof is to avoid the requirements of this regulation, or to 

circumvent its purpose and intent, as set forth in §18301. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1587 (June 2022). 

§18317. Effective Date  

A. This regulation shall become effective September 1, 

2022 and shall pertain to all covered policies in force as of 

and after that date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:651, 22:652, 22:661, 22:753, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:1588 (June 2022). 

Chapter 185. Regulation Number 

122—Roles and Responsibilities of 

Pharmacy Benefit Managers and 

Pharmacy Services Administrative 

Organizations 

§18501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to define the roles 

and responsibilities solely within the purview of pharmacy 

benefit managers and pharmacy services administrative 

organizations as required by R.S. 22:1660.9(C). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1641(8), R.S. 22:1655, R.S. 22:1660.1(B)(1), R.S. 

22:1660.8, R.S. 22:1660.9(C) and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2299 (September 

2022). 

§18503. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 122 shall apply to all pharmacy benefit 

managers and pharmacy services administrative 

organizations licensed in Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1641(8), R.S. 22:1655, R.S. 22:1660.1(B)(1), R.S. 

22:1660.8, R.S. 22:1660.9(C) and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2300 (September 

2022). 

§18505. Definitions 

Pharmacy Benefit Manager—a person, business, or other 

entity and any wholly or partially owned or controlled 

subsidiary of such entity that either directly or through an 

intermediary manages or administers the prescription drug 

and device portion of one or more health benefit plans on 

behalf of a third party, including insurers, plan sponsors, 

insurance companies, unions, and health maintenance 

organizations, in accordance with a pharmacy benefit 

management plan. The management or administration of a 

plan may include but is not limited to review, processing of 

drug prior authorization requests, adjudication of appeals 

and grievances related to the prescription drug benefit, 

contracting with network pharmacies, and controlling the 

cost of covered prescription drugs. 

Pharmacy Services Administrative Organization—an 

entity that provides a contracted pharmacy with 

administrative, contracting, or payment services relating to 

prescription drug benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1641(8), R.S. 22:1655, R.S. 22:1660.1(B)(1), R.S. 

22:1660.8, R.S. 22:1660.9(C) and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2300 (September 

2022). 

§18507. Roles and Responsibilities of Pharmacy Benefit 

Managers 

A. The roles and responsibilities solely within the 

purview of pharmacy benefit managers are as follows:  

1. administering prescription drug plans for health 

plan sponsors;  

2. formulary and benefit design support and 

management; 

3. establishing reimbursement rates and making 

payments on behalf of health plan sponsors; 

4. establishing and managing pharmacy networks to 

ensure network adequacy on behalf of health plans; 

5. performing drug utilization management; 

6. administering disease management and drug 

adherence programs; and 

7. negotiating rebates and discounts from drug 

manufacturers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1641(8), R.S. 22:1655, R.S. 22:1660.1(B)(1), R.S. 

22:1660.8, R.S. 22:1660.9(C) and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2300 (September 

2022). 
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§18509. Roles and Responsibilities of Pharmacy Services 

Administrative Organizations 

A. The roles and responsibilities solely within the 

purview of pharmacy services administrative organizations 

are as follows: 

1. negotiating contracts, drug reimbursement rates, 

payments, and audit terms on behalf of pharmacy clients 

with pharmacy benefit managers; 

2. billing and collecting payments from payers on 

behalf of pharmacies; 

3. using contractual agreements to develop networks 

of member pharmacies. These agreements generally 

authorize pharmacy services administrative organizations to 

interact with third-party payers and pharmacy benefit 

managers; 

4. negotiating access for pharmacies to networks and 

patients; 

5. facilitating the purchase of prescription drugs and 

other medical products from drug manufacturers and 

providing for delivery to pharmacies for dispensing; and 

6. assisting pharmacy clients with business strategy, 

pricing appeals, claims reconciliation, and certification and 

credentialing requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1641(8), R.S. 22:1655, R.S. 22:1660.1(B)(1), R.S. 

22:1660.8, R.S. 22:1660.9(C) and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2300 (September 

2022). 

§18511. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:1641(8), R.S. 22:1655, R.S. 22:1660.1(B)(1), R.S. 

22:1660.8, R.S. 22:1660.9(C) and the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2300 (September 

2022). 

Chapter 187. Regulation 123—

Producer Responsibility for Bail Bond 

Collateral 

§18701. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated on behalf of the 

Department of Insurance by the Commissioner of Insurance 

pursuant to the authority granted under Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2985 (December 

2022). 

§18703. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish and 

identify the responsibilities of an insurance producer 

licensed for the line of bail bonds with respect to collateral 

accepted and held by the producer pursuant to a written bail 

bond collateral agreement.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2985 (December 

2022). 

§18705. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 123 sets forth requirements related to bail 

bond collateral agreements and identifies the responsibilities 

of a bail bond producer with respect to any collateral 

received as part of a bail bond transaction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2985 (December 

2022). 

§18707. Severability 

A. The provisions of this Subpart are severable. If any 

provision or item of this Subpart, or application thereof, is 

held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items, or applications of this Subpart which are to be given 

effect without the invalid provision, item, or application of 

the Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

R.S. 22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2986 (December 

2022). 

§18709. Definitions 

A. These terms when used in this Chapter shall have the 

following meanings. 

Bail—the security given by a person to assure a 

defendant’s appearance before the proper criminal court 

whenever required.  

Bail Bond Producer—any person, corporation, or 

partnership which holds an insurance license and has a 

contract and an appointment from an insurer licensed and 

authorized to provide surety in Louisiana. 

Bail Bond Transaction—a transaction between a bail 

bond producer or agency and defendant or person on behalf 

of defendant to secure collateral, premiums, and fees for 

securing the release of a defendant and guaranteeing a set 

sum of money to the court if the defendant fails to appear in 

criminal court when required. Furthermore, a bail bond 

transaction includes the solicitation and inducement, 

preliminary negotiation, and effectuation of a contract of 

surety insurance and matters related thereto, all in 

connection with the defendant’s release. 
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Collateral—anything of value, including money, 

personal property, or real property, which is accepted by a 

bail bond producer as security against potential losses 

arising from a contract of surety and is utilized as part of a 

bail bond transaction. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Fiduciary—a person who holds a thing in trust for 

another, such as a trustee; a person holding the character of a 

trustee, or a character analogous to that of a trustee, with 

respect to the trust and confidence involved in it and the 

scrupulous good faith and candor which it requires; a person 

having the duty, created by his undertaking, to act primarily 

for another's benefit in matters connected with such 

undertaking. 

Forfeiture—the issuance of a judgment of bond 

forfeiture resulting from a defendant’s failure to appear in 

court when required or to otherwise comply with any court 

ordered conditions of release as contemplated in the Code of 

Criminal Procedure. 

Insurance Producer—a person required to be licensed 

under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate 

insurance, and includes all persons or business entities 

otherwise referred to in Title 22 of the Louisiana Insurance 

Code as insurance agent or agent, or insurance broker or 

broker, or insurance solicitor or solicitor, or surplus lines 

broker. 

Surety—an insurer licensed and authorized to provide 

surety in Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2986 (December 

2022). 

§18711. Necessity of a Written Agreement for Collateral 

A. All agreements concerning collateral must be in 

writing. 

B. Written collateral agreements shall not contain any 

provision that is contrary to the requirements of this 

regulation or to those set forth in any law in Louisiana 

regarding bail bonds. 

C. Written collateral agreements must include the full 

name of the person pledging the collateral, the full name of 

the defendant to be released, an accurate and sufficiently 

detailed description of the collateral, the bond amount, the 

power of attorney number, and such other information as 

necessary to specify the bail bond related to the collateral 

agreement. 

D. A copy of the written collateral agreement and a 

written receipt for the collateral shall be provided to the 

person offering the collateral at the time of the transaction. 

E. Written collateral agreements must also contain 

assurances that the collateral will not be used by the bail 

bond producer or surety for personal benefit or gain and that 

the collateral will be returned in the same condition as 

pledged. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2986 (December 

2022). 

§18713. Requirements for Collateral 

A. A bail bond producer or surety that accepts collateral 

as security for a bail bond shall comply with all of the 

following requirements: 

1. For a bail bond producer or surety to accept 

collateral, the person pledging the collateral must have 

voluntarily pledged it at the time of the bail bond transaction 

and execution of the written collateral agreement. The intent 

to pledge collateral to secure the defendant’s release must be 

clearly stated and verified by the signature of the person 

pledging the collateral. 

2. The collateral shall be received and held in the 

surety’s name by the bail bond producer or surety in a 

fiduciary capacity. 

3. The collateral must be reasonable in relation to the 

face amount of the bond, and the collateral’s value must be 

determined before the collateral agreement is executed. 

4. The bail bond producer or surety shall keep and 

maintain collateral separate and apart from any other funds 

or assets. 

5. It shall be a prohibited act pursuant to R.S. 22:1562 

for any bail bond producer or surety to use any collateral for 

personal benefit or gain, or to fail to return the collateral to 

the person pledging it in the same condition as received by 

the bail bond producer or surety.  

6. The bail bond producer or surety shall provide the 

person pledging the collateral a written receipt for the 

collateral received. The written receipt must include a 

detailed and specific description of the collateral, the full 

name of the person pledging the collateral, the full name of 

the defendant, the date of the bond, the approximate value of 

any non-cash collateral, and the specific amount of cash or 

other collateral. 

7. If the parties to the collateral agreement 

subsequently agree to substitute other things of value as 

collateral, the substitution must be reflected in a new written 

collateral agreement, and the bail bond producer or surety 

must issue a new written receipt to the person pledging the 

substituted collateral. 

8. The bail bond producer or surety shall return the 

collateral to the person who pledged the collateral not more 

than 30 days after the bail obligation is discharged in 

accordance with article 331 of the Code of Criminal 

Procedure. 
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B. If a forfeiture of the bail bond occurs, the bail bond 

producer or surety shall provide the person who pledged the 

collateral 10 days written notice from the date that a 

judgment of bond forfeiture is signed of the bail bond 

producer or surety’s intent to take possession of the 

collateral deposit to satisfy the forfeiture. The notice shall be 

sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the last 

known address of the person who pledged the collateral. If 

the collateral received by a bail bond producer is in excess of 

the bail forfeited, the bail bond producer or surety shall 

return the excess to the person who pledged the collateral 

within 30 days from the date a judgment of bond forfeiture is 

satisfied, less any verifiable and appropriate administrative 

expenses specifically provided for in Section 18715 below. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, C.Cr.P. art 311, et 

seq, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2986 (December 

2022). 

§18715. Deductions from Collateral 

A. Only the premium amounts, fees, and expenses 

authorized pursuant to R.S. 22:1443, or as otherwise 

permitted in accordance with applicable state law, shall be 

recoverable by any bail bond producer or surety. No fee or 

other charge of any nature shall be deducted from the 

collateral due or charged in association with the storage or 

keeping of the collateral by the bail bond producer or surety. 

B. A documented and itemized list of any such fees or 

expenses shall be given to the person who pledged the 

collateral. A copy of such documentation and itemization 

shall also be available to the Commissioner upon his request.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2987 (December 

2022). 

§18717. Violations 

A. Failure to comply with the provisions of this 

regulation may be determined by the Commissioner to be a 

violation of R.S. 22:1562, and the violator shall be subject to 

penalties pursuant to R.S. 22:1554. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2987 (December 

2022). 

§18719. Effective Date  

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1542, 22:1547, 22:1554, 22:1562, and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 48:2987 (December 

2022). 

Chapter 189. Regulation Number 

125—Insure Louisiana Incentive 

Program 

§18901. Purpose 

A. The purpose and intent of Regulation 125 is to 

exercise the authority and carry out the duties and 

responsibilities of the commissioner for implementation and 

regulation of the Insure Louisiana Incentive Program, 

hereinafter referred to as the "Incentive Program". 

Regulation 125 sets forth rules and procedural requirements 

which the commissioner deems necessary for participation in 

the Incentive Program by qualified property insurers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:270 (February 

2023). 

§18903. Authority 

A. Regulation 125 is promulgated pursuant to the 

authority and responsibility delegated to the commissioner 

under R.S. 22:2361 through 2371, Act No. 1 and Act No. 2 

of the 2023 Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature, and pursuant to the general powers granted by 

law to the commissioner and the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

No. 1 of the 2023 Extraordinary Session and Act No. 2 of the 2023 

Extraordinary Session, R.S. 22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:270 (February 

2023), amended LR 49:1088 (June 2023). 

§18905. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 125 shall apply to all authorized insurers 

as defined in R.S. 22:46(3) operating and writing insurance 

for residential and commercial properties in the state, and to 

any approved unauthorized insurer as defined in R.S. 

22:46(2) operating and writing insurance for residential and 

commercial properties in the state, eligible unauthorized 

insurer as defined in R.S. 22:46(10) operating and writing 

insurance for residential and commercial properties in the 

state, or domestic surplus lines insurer as provided for in 

R.S. 22:436.1 operating and writing insurance for residential 

and commercial properties in the state and collectively 

referred to as a surplus lines insurer as defined in R.S. 

22:46(27).  

B. Regulation 125 governs all aspects of the Incentive 

Program including, but not limited to, the invitation and 

application process for grants, the qualifications of grantees, 

the award of grants, the use of grant funds, the reporting 

requirements for grantees, the requirements for matching 

capital funds, the requirements for minimum capital and 

surplus, the requirements for earned capital, the 

requirements for default, and other regulation and 

administration of the Incentive Program. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

No. 1 of the 2023 Extraordinary Session and Act No. 2 of the 2023 

Extraordinary Session, R.S. 22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:270 (February 

2023), amended LR 49:1088 (June 2023). 

§18907. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 125, the following 

terms are defined as follows:  

Authorized Insurer—an insurer with a certificate of 

authority in Louisiana. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Insurance of the 

state of Louisiana.  

Department—the Department of Insurance of the state 

of Louisiana.  

Domestic Insurer—an insurer formed under the laws of 

the state of Louisiana that has been authorized by the 

department to sell insurance products in the state of 

Louisiana.  

Earning Period―the timeframe, including any 

extension granted by the commissioner, in which the grantee 

can earn 20 percent or the pro rata share of the grant award.  

Grantee—a property insurer to whom a grant is made 

from the Incentive Program Fund.  

Incentive Program (where capitalized)—the Insure 

Louisiana Incentive Program as created, authorized and 

administered pursuant to R.S. 22:2361 et seq., and 

Regulation 125.  

Incentive Program Fund (where capitalized)—the 

Insure Louisiana Incentive Fund established and created 

pursuant to R.S. 22:2371 and Regulation 125. 

Legal Interest—interest at the rate fixed in R.S. 

13:4202. 

Net Written Premiums—the total premiums, exclusive 

of assessments and other charges, paid by policyholders to 

an insurer for policies that comply with Regulation 125, 

minus any return premiums or other premium credits due 

policyholders, as defined in R.S. 22:2369(A). Premium 

received from participation in the depopulation or take-out 

program of Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance 

Corporation shall be included in net premiums written. 

Newly Allocated Insurer Capital—capital committed by 

an insurer to match any grant funds received from the 

Incentive Program Fund. 

Reporting Period—the financial statement reporting 

date of March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 

of each respective year in the Incentive Program. 

Surplus Lines Insurer—an insurer without a certificate 

of authority that meets the eligibility criteria of R.S. 

22:435(A)(2) and (B) and from which a licensed surplus 

lines broker may procure insurance under the provisions of 

R.S. 22:432. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:271 (February 

2023). 

§18909. Matching Capital Grants 

A. From funds appropriated by the legislature for the 

Incentive Program Fund established and created in the state 

treasury under R.S. 22:2371, the commissioner may grant 

matching capital funds to qualified property insurers in 

accordance with the requirements of R.S. 22:2361 through 

2371 and Regulation 125. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:271 (February 

2023). 

§18911. Public Invitation for Grant Applications 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 22:2361 et seq., and Regulation 125, 

the commissioner shall issue an initial public invitation to 

property insurers to submit applications for grants under the 

Incentive Program. 

B. The invitation shall be published for at least a 30-day 

period on the department's web site and in state and national 

insurance journals and publications as the commissioner 

deems appropriate.  

C. The invitation shall describe the Incentive Program 

and provide general information about the grant application 

process.  

D. The invitation shall set a deadline for receipt of grant 

applications. All grant applications should be submitted to 

the department either by certified mail, return receipt 

requested, actual delivery by a commercial interstate courier, 

or electronic mail. Failure to timely submit a grant 

application may render the property insurer ineligible to 

participate in the Incentive Program. However, for good 

cause shown, the commissioner may extend the deadline and 

consider applications received after the deadline or give a 

property insurer the opportunity to cure a non-substantive 

deficiency in the application.  

E. In the event that all monies in the Incentive Program 

Fund are not allocated in response to the first invitation, the 

commissioner may issue a second invitation for grant 

applications in the form and pursuant to the procedures 

utilized for the first invitation. 

F. In the event that all monies in the Incentive Program 

Fund are not allocated in response to the second invitation, 

the commissioner may issue a third invitation for grant 

applications in the form and pursuant to the procedures 

utilized for the first and second invitations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:271 (February 

2023). 

§18913. Applications 

A. The department shall provide an application form to 

be fully completed by grant applicants. The application form 

may be revised by the department as it deems appropriate.  

B. The grant application shall require the property 

insurer to designate a point of contact with a telephone 

number, email address and physical address to represent the 

property insurer on all matters pertaining to the grant process 

and the Incentive Program.  

C. The grant application shall be filed 

contemporaneously with the application for licensure with 

the department by a surplus lines insurer. The application for 

licensure expresses the applicant's intent to become licensed 

in this state as an authorized insurer and, if specifically 

requested in writing by the grant applicant in the application 

for licensure, will be processed contingent upon approval of 

the allocation of a grant award.  

D. Only fully completed grant applications or those 

deemed acceptable by the commissioner shall be considered 

for a grant award.  

E. The grant application shall be submitted to the 

department's Office of Financial Solvency, as outlined in the 

invitations issued under §18911. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:271 (February 

2023). 

§18915. Qualifications for Applying for Grant Funds 

A. Minimum Solvency Requirements. Grants shall be 

made only to property insurers who initially satisfy and 

thereafter maintain the following minimum solvency 

requirements:  

1. capital and surplus in an amount not less than 

$10,000,000;  

2. a property insurer with a financial strength rating 

that meets the following requirements: 

a. AM Best Company “B+” or better; or 

b. Demotech, Inc. “A” or better; or 

c. AM Best Company “A” or better for licensed 

surplus lines insurers. 

NOTE: Property insurers rated by more than one rating 

company need only meet one of the rating requirements. 

3. risk-based capital ratio of 400 percent at the initial 

grant award, which shall be maintained during the property 

insurer’s participation in the Incentive Program; and  

4. sufficient reinsurance to demonstrate that its 

reinsurance program is sufficient for the amount of business 

to be written pursuant to the Incentive Program.  

B. Certificate of Authority  

1. A property insurer must have an existing certificate 

of authority in Louisiana for the line or lines of insurance 

that the property insurer applicant will write pursuant to the 

Incentive Program or documentation that an application for 

such licensure has been filed with the Company Licensing 

Division of the department contemporaneous with the filing 

of the grant application.  

C. Satisfactory Prior Experience  

1. Grants shall be made only to property insurers with 

satisfactory prior experience in writing property insurance or 

to new property insurers whose management has satisfactory 

experience in property insurance. The grant application shall 

accurately disclose the prior experience of property insurers 

and their management. The commissioner may request 

additional information from the applicant property insurer 

and conduct such investigation of prior experience as the 

commissioner deems appropriate.  

2. The commissioner shall determine whether an 

applicant property insurer has adequate or satisfactory prior 

experience.  

D. Other Requirements  

1. Applicant shall maintain premium to surplus ratio, 

net of reinsurance, no greater than 3 to 1. 

2. Applicant shall not insure more than 10 percent of 

its surplus in any one risk pursuant to R.S. 22:573. 

3. Applicant shall maintain gross premium to surplus 

ratio no greater than 8 to 1. 

4. Without prior approval of the commissioner, 

applicant shall not write more than 15 percent of the net 

written premiums in any one parish. 

5. Applicant shall make a commitment of capital of 

not less than two million dollars to write property insurance 

in this state that complies with the requirements of R.S. 

22:2369 and §18923 of Regulation 125. Grants from the 

Incentive Program Fund shall match the newly allocated 

property insurer capital funds at a ratio of one dollar of 

allocated property insurer capital funds for each dollar of 

state capital grant funds.  

E. Notwithstanding any provision of law, regulation or 

rule to the contrary, the following are ineligible to receive 

any portion of funds from the Incentive Program Fund: 

1. Any insurance company or property insurer with an 

officer, director, or controlling shareholder who was an 

officer, director, or controlling shareholder of an insurance 

company or property insurer licensed in Louisiana that filed 

for bankruptcy or was declared insolvent. 

2. Any insurance company or property insurer whose 

parent company controlled all or part of an insurance 

company or property insurer licensed in Louisiana that filed 

for bankruptcy or was declared insolvent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

No. 1 of the 2023 Extraordinary Session and Act No. 2 of the 2023 
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Extraordinary Session, R.S. 22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:272 (February 

2023), amended LR 49:1088 (June 2023). 

§18917. Award and Allocation of Grants 

A. Subject to the requirements of this Section, to carry 

out the purpose and intent of the Incentive Program, the 

commissioner shall award and allocate grants as the 

commissioner deems appropriate among qualified property 

insurers who have applied for grants. The commissioner has 

the discretion to create an advisory committee to assist in the 

analysis of grant applications. If created, the advisory 

committee will be composed of up to five members, 

designated to serve thereon by the commissioner. 

B. The factors considered in awarding grants shall 

include, but are not limited to, the following:  

1. the financial strength and satisfactory prior 

experience of the applicant;  

2. the ability of the applicant to invest new capital and 

to comply with the other requirements of the grant;  

3. the potential of the applicant for providing property 

insurance as required by the Incentive Program at reasonable 

and competitive rates, particularly for property owners in the 

following Louisiana parishes: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, 

Assumption, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, East Baton 

Rouge, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Iberia, Iberville, 

Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, Livingston, 

Orleans, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Sabine, St. Bernard, 

St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. 

Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, 

Terrebonne, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, West Baton 

Rouge, and West Feliciana;  

4. the marketing and claims handling capability and 

experience of the applicant, and particularly its ability to 

market property insurance in the parishes listed in 

§18917.B.3 and to handle future claims that may arise;  

5. the applicant's longevity in the Incentive Program, 

including a statement or plan of operation by the applicant 

demonstrating its intent to remain in this state following the 

completion of the Incentive Program;  

6. the current licensure of the applicant where 

preference and priority will be given to those admitted 

property insurers that are currently licensed to do business in 

this state for the line or lines of business that are the subject 

of the grant; and  

7. any other factors that the commissioner deems 

applicable, relevant and appropriate in carrying out the 

purpose and intent of the Incentive Program.  

C. For grant applications in response to the initial 

invitation, the commissioner shall not allocate individual 

grants of less than $2,000,000 nor in excess of $10,000,000.  

D. For the initial allocation of grants only, the 

commissioner shall allocate at least 20 percent of the total 

amount available for grants to domestic property insurers 

unless the commissioner has not received sufficient 

applications from qualified domestic property insurers to 

allocate such sum.  

E. If the commissioner issues a second invitation for 

grant application, the commissioner shall not allocate 

individual grants of less than $2,000,000 nor in excess of 

$10,000,000. Property insurers who have been allocated a 

grant in response to the first invitation may apply for and 

receive an additional grant, provided the total of the grants to 

a property insurer does not exceed $10,000,000. 

F. If the commissioner issues a third invitation for grant 

application, the commissioner shall not allocate individual 

grants of less than $2,000,000 nor in excess of $10,000,000. 

Property insurers who have been allocated a grant in 

response to the first or second invitations may apply for and 

receive an additional grant, provided the total of the grants to 

a property insurer does not exceed $10,000,000. 

1. Grants made pursuant to a third invitation may be 

made to property insurers providing coverage against 

damage to an existing dwelling. Such grant shall be made 

only as to those policies transferred from an existing 

dwelling to a new dwelling, provided the risk of catastrophe 

associated with the new dwelling is the same as or no greater 

than the level of risk of catastrophe associated with the 

existing dwelling. 

2. Grants shall also be made under the provisions of 

this Subsection to any property insurer that was forced to 

reduce coverage, or drop coverage entirely, on existing 

dwellings in order that the property insurer maintain its 

financial stability or solvency. A grant made pursuant to this 

Paragraph shall be contingent on the property insurer 

reinstating such former coverage or better coverage on the 

existing dwellings. 

G. In no event shall the total amount of the grant to a 

property insurer exceed 20 percent of that property insurer's 

capital and surplus as reported to and verified by the 

department.  

H. Prior to the award of any grant pursuant to the 

provisions of this Chapter, the grant shall be subject to the 

review and approval of the Joint Legislative Committee on 

the Budget. The commissioner shall provide written notice 

to the committee of the grant awards that have been 

approved. Upon written approval by the committee, the 

commissioner will be authorized to award the grant and 

deliver the amount of the grant to the grantee from monies in 

the Incentive Program Fund. 

I. In the event that monies remain in the Incentive 

Program Fund after allocations pursuant to the third 

invitation, the commissioner shall cause all remaining 

monies to be returned to the state general fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:272 (February 

2023). 

§18919. Authorized Insurers 

A. A surplus lines insurer may apply for a grant, 

provided that the surplus lines insurer shall, 

contemporaneously with the grant application, file an 

application for licensure with the department for the line or 

lines of insurance for which it must be authorized and 

licensed to write for a grant award. If specifically requested 

in writing by the grant applicant in the application for 

licensure, such application will be processed contingent 

upon approval of a grant award.  

B. A surplus lines insurer must obtain a certificate of 

authority to do business in Louisiana as an authorized 

insurer before it may actually receive grant funding.  

C. If the surplus lines insurer does not apply timely to be 

admitted or subsequently is not approved for a certificate of 

authority, the surplus lines insurer shall not be entitled to 

receive a grant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:273 (February 

2023). 

§18921. Certification of Deposit 

A. Within 10 days of receipt of any Incentive Program 

Funds, the grantee shall provide to the commissioner written 

certification signed by two principal officers of the grantee 

that the Incentive Program Funds have been deposited in an 

account held in the name of the grantee and pledged to the 

department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:273 (February 

2023). 

§18923. Property Insurance Requirements 

A. The grantee shall write new property insurance in 

Louisiana of the types described in R.S. 22:2369 and this 

Section of Regulation 125 with net written premiums of at 

least a ratio of $2 of premium for each $1 of the total of 

newly allocated property insurer capital combined with the 

grant from the Incentive Program Fund. Thus, if the grantee 

allocates $2,000,000 in capital and receives a matching state 

grant of $2,000,000, the grantee must write property 

insurance in Louisiana with net premiums of at least 

$8,000,000. 

B. To comply with the requirements of the grant, new 

property insurance written by the grantee shall be residential, 

commercial, mono-line, or package property insurance 

policies in this state and shall include coverage for wind and 

hail with limits equal to the limits provided for other perils 

insured under such policies.  

C. The net written premium requirements of this Section 

shall be satisfied only by new property insurance coverages 

reported on the Annual Statement State Page filed with the 

department under lines 1 (Fire), 2.1 (Allied Lines), 3 

(Farmowners), 4 (Homeowners), or 5.1 (Commercial Multi-

peril Non-liability). 

D. Grantees shall also comply with the following.  

1. In the first 24 months after receipt of matching 

capital fund grants, the grantee shall write at least 50 percent 

of the net written premiums for policyholders whose insured 

property is located in the parishes listed in §18917.B.3. The 

grantee shall maintain this net written premium ratio over 

five years to fully earn the matching capital fund grant in 

accordance with R.S. 22:2370 unless an extension has been 

granted by the commissioner under R.S. 22:2370.B or 

§18929.C of Regulation 125. 

2. The net written premium ratio of §18923.D.1 

applies only to the net minimum premium required under 

§18923.A. Thus, the grantee may write additional Louisiana 

property coverage without regard to the ratio required by 

§18923.D.1. 

E. The requirements of the grant that must be satisfied 

by the grantee are illustrated by the following example 

assuming a grant of $2,000,000.  

1. Example  

a. The grantee is awarded a $2,000,000 grant. 

Within 10 days of receipt of the grant of Incentive Program 

Funds, the grantee must match the grant with newly 

allocated capital funds of at least $2,000,000 and provide 

written certification of compliance to the department. In the 

first 24 months after receipt of the grant, the grantee must 

write property insurance in Louisiana with net written 

premiums of at least $8,000,000. In the first 24 months after 

receipt of the grant, the grantee must write at least 

$4,000,000 of the net written premiums for policyholders 

whose insured property is located in the parishes listed in 

§18917.B.3. Grantees shall maintain this net written 

premium ratio over five years to fully earn the matching 

capital fund grant in accordance with R.S. 22:2370. 

Compliance with the requirements for the second year and 

for each succeeding year must be demonstrated on the 

grantee's annual reports. 

F. Grantees shall also satisfy the requirements for 

licensing, form filings, rate filings, and any other applicable 

provisions contained in Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:273 (February 

2023). 

§18925. Funding Schedule 

A. Unless expedited funding is requested by the grantee 

and authorized by the commissioner, a grant that has been 

fully approved shall be funded on the next regular quarterly 
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period thereafter, i.e., January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 

1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:274 (February 

2023). 

§18927. Reporting Requirements 

A. Grantee shall segregate and report any grants received 

on the line titled "Aggregate Write-In for Special Surplus 

Funds" in the NAIC Annual and Quarterly Statement Blanks.  

B. Grantee shall report annually by March 1 and 

quarterly by May 15, August 15, and November 15 of each 

year on a form acceptable to the commissioner the following 

information for the preceding year and quarter ends:  

1. the amount of premium written by parish under the 

Incentive Program;  

2. the amount of premium by parish associated with 

properties located in the parishes listed in §18917.B.3. 

3. the amount of premium by parish taken-out from 

the Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance Corporation. 

4. the amount of premium by parish, including and in 

addition to that written under the Incentive Program. 

C. Grantee shall report quarterly May 15, August 15, and 

November 15 and annually by June 1, detail on the 

catastrophe reinsurance program maintained, including 

premium to surplus ratio, net of reinsurance, gross premium 

to surplus ratio, detail on the catastrophe reinsurance 

program maintained by grantee, including retentions, limits, 

reinstatements, as well as the current ratings of each 

reinsurer. In addition, the report shall contain the modeled 

Probable Maximum Loss for a 1 in 50, 1 in 100, 1 in 150, 1 

in 200 and 1 in 250 event, including the models and versions 

utilized. 

1. Within 30 days of the end of each reporting period, 

the Department shall aggregate all responses and submit 

them as a report to the legislature. 

D. Grantee shall report quarterly by May 15, August 15, 

and November 15 risk-based capital for the preceding 

quarter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

No. 1 of the 2023 Extraordinary Session and Act No. 2 of the 2023 

Extraordinary Session, R.S. 22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:274 (February 

2023), amended LR 49:1089 (June 2023). 

§18929. Compliance 

A. The commissioner shall conduct an examination 

under R.S. 22:1981, financial analysis under R.S. 22:1984 

and/or investigation annually, or more often as the 

commissioner deems necessary to determine the grantee's 

compliance with the requirements of the grant, as per R.S. 

22:2361 et seq., and Regulation 125. In addition to the 

requirements of R.S. 22:2361 et seq., the department may 

require such reports and/or conduct such examinations, 

financial analysis or investigations as the commissioner 

deems necessary to verify compliance with the property 

insurance requirements set forth in the Incentive Program 

and Regulation 125.  

B. The commissioner shall submit annual and quarterly 

reports on the Incentive Program to the House Committee on 

Appropriations, the Senate Committee on Finance, and the 

House and Senate Committees on Insurance containing 

information for the preceding year and quarter, respectively, 

detailing the following: 

1. the amount of premium written by parish and by 

grantee under the Incentive Program; 

2. the amount of premium by parish and by grantee 

associated with the property located in the parishes listed in 

§18917.B.3; 

3. the amount of premium by parish and by grantee 

taken-out from the Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance 

Corporation; and  

4. the total amount of premium for each grantee by 

parish, including the premium written under the Incentive 

Program. 

C. If the commissioner determines that a grantee has 

complied with the terms of the grant, the commissioner shall 

notify the grantee in writing that the grantee has earned the 

20 percent portion of the grant pursuant to R.S. 22:2370.  

D. If the commissioner determines that the grantee 

shows promise of future compliance, the commissioner may 

grant an extension of not more than one year to a grantee 

who has failed to satisfy all requirements of the grant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

No. 1 of the 2023 Extraordinary Session and Act No. 2 of the 2023 

Extraordinary Session, R.S. 22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:274 (February 

2023), amended LR 49:1089 (June 2023). 

§18930. Monitoring 

A. The commissioner shall expedite the approval of 

certificates of authority, rate filings, form filings, and other 

necessary regulatory approvals of qualified insurers to 

facilitate the underwriting of new policies pursuant to the 

Incentive Program. 

B. The commissioner shall monitor the financial 

solvency of grantees by evaluating the adequacy of insurer 

reinsurance programs using catastrophe model stress tests of 

the grantee’s book of business. 

C. The commissioner shall take any action necessary to 

ensure that grantees remain financially solvent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

No. 1 of the 2023 Extraordinary Session and Act No. 2 of the 2023 
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Extraordinary Session, R.S. 22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1089 (June 2023). 

§18931. Earned Capital 

A. A grantee who has received a grant is entitled to earn 

the grant at the rate of 20 percent per earning period for the 

last 12 months of that earning period in which the grantee is 

in compliance with the requirements of R.S. 22:2361 et seq., 

and Regulation 125, such that the grantee may earn the 

entire grant after five years of full compliance with the 

requirements.  

B. The grantee may begin to earn the grant from the 

reporting period in which the grantee first demonstrates that 

its net written premiums have reached compliance with all 

requirements of §18923.D.1. The grantee will earn 20 

percent of the grant in each 12-month period thereafter in 

which the grantee demonstrates that it has maintained 

compliance with all requirements for net written premiums. 

Thus, if in compliance with §18923.D.1, the grantee may 

begin to earn the grant at the end of the first year.  

C. Upon verification of the net written premium 

requirements during the preceding 12 months, the 

commissioner will issue written declaration that the grantee 

has earned 20 percent of the grant or a pro rata share thereof 

awarded to the grantee. No funds may be earned by the 

grantee until it receives official notification from the 

commissioner.  

D. If the grantee does not meet the grant requirements 

during any year but shows promise of future compliance 

based on good cause having been demonstrated, the 

commissioner may extend the period of time from five years 

in order for the grantee to earn the entire grant. The 

extension may be granted for up to one year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:274 (February 

2023). 

§18933. Declaration of Default 

A. The commissioner may declare a grantee in default of 

the requirements for a grant should it be found that any of 

the following exists:  

1. The grantee fails at any time to meet the specific 

minimum requirements of §18915.A.1-4. The commissioner 

may take into consideration the effects of the Incentive 

Program, including efforts demonstrated by the grantee, 

when monitoring compliance with this criteria.  

2. The grantee fails to maintain a certificate of 

authority for the line or lines of insurance written pursuant to 

the grant program.  

3. The grantee fails to meet the specific requirements 

of §18923.  

4. The grantee fails to comply with any other 

applicable provisions of R.S. 22:2361 et seq., or Regulation 

125. 

B. If the commissioner determines that the grantee is in 

default, the commissioner shall notify the grantee in writing 

of such default. Any grantee declared in default by the 

commissioner shall have 30 days from the date of the 

declaration of default to request reconsideration by the 

commissioner. The written request for reconsideration shall 

set forth, in detail, each and every reason why the grantee is 

entitled to the relief requested, including any documents 

tendered in support thereof. The commissioner shall have 30 

days from the mailing of the request for reconsideration to 

review it and render a decision. The commissioner's decision 

upon reconsideration may be appealed to the division of 

administrative law in accordance with R.S. 22:2191 et seq. 

Unless modified on reconsideration or appeal, the default is 

effective from the date of the original declaration, and the 

grantee shall not be eligible to continue its participation in 

the Incentive Program unless the default is for failure to 

meet the requirements referenced in §18933.A.3.  

C. The grantee in default is liable for and shall repay all 

grant funds that have not been earned by the grantee, plus 

legal interest as defined in R.S. 13:4202(B) from the date of 

the commissioner's default declaration. In the event of 

default, a portion of the grant award for the current year may 

be earned on a pro rata basis to give credit for premiums 

written under the Incentive Program. Repayment on a pro 

rata basis shall be determined using a method prescribed by 

the commissioner. If a request for reconsideration is not 

timely made, repayment is due upon the expiration of 30 

days from the declaration of default. If a request for 

reconsideration is timely made and denied, repayment is due 

within 10 days of the denial of the reconsideration request. 

D.1. In determining the pro rata earnings, the 

commissioner shall divide the actual amount of written 

premiums by the amount required to be written under the 

Incentive Program, in each of the following categories:  

a. policyholders whose insured property is located 

in the parishes listed in §18917.B.3; and 

b. the total amount of net premiums written by the 

grantee under the Incentive Program. 

2. Each category is weighted equally at 50 percent, 

and credit shall be given based on the percentage of 

premiums written per category. The resulting factor is then 

multiplied by 50 percent of the amount the grantee is entitled 

to earn per category for each year of compliance under the 

Incentive Program (earned capital). The factor shall not 

exceed 1.00 for additional writings in any category. The sum 

of all categories shall equal the pro rata amount earned by 

the grantee. 

E. The requirements for earning on a pro rata basis are 

illustrated by the following example assuming a grant of 

$5,000,000, presuming a maximum earned capital of 

$1,000,000 (20 percent per year entitlement assuming full 

compliance), and the grantee is declared in default. 
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Example: [The required amounts of premium for each of the 
two categories are listed in the table below under 

“Requirement.” Each requirement equates to 50% of the 

earned capital for the earning period or $500,000. The 
“Actual” column represents the actual amount of writings by 

the grantee. The “Factor” column is the actual amount of 

writings divided by the requirement in each category. The 
“Earned” column represents the factor multiplied by $500,000. 

Thus, under this example, the amount of money earned by the 

grantee on a pro rata basis is $775,000.] 

 

Category Requirement Weight Actual Factor Earned 

Total Net Written 
Premium 

$20,000,000 
50 

percent 
$15,000,000 .75 $375,000 

Parishes listed in 

§18917.B.3 
$10,000,000 

50 

percent 
$8,000,000 .80 $400,000 

  Total: $775,000 

 
F. The commissioner may institute legal action to 

recover all sums due by the grantee in default in the 

Nineteenth Judicial District Court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:275 (February 

2023). 

§18935. Cooperative Endeavor Agreements 

A. In furtherance of R.S. 22:2361 et seq., and in 

accordance with R.S. 22:2363.A, the grantee shall execute a 

cooperative endeavor agreement with and in a form 

prescribed by the commissioner subject to approval by the 

Office of State Procurement of the Division of 

Administration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:276 (February 

2023). 

§18937. Severability 

A. If any provision of Regulation 125 or its application 

to any person or circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity 

shall not affect other provisions or applications of 

Regulation 125 that can be given effect without the invalid 

provision or application, and to that end, the provisions of 

Regulation 125 are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:276 (February 

2023). 

§18939. Confidentiality 

A. Any and all records, documents and information 

associated with the Incentive Program that are deemed 

confidential or privileged pursuant to R.S. 44:1 et seq., Title 

22 or any state or federal law will remain confidential or 

privileged. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:276 (February 

2023). 

§18941. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:2361 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:276 (February 

2023). 

Chapter 191. Regulation 124—

Catastrophe Claims Process 

Disclosure Form-Guide 

§19101. Authority 

A. Regulation 124 is promulgated on behalf of the 

Department by the Commissioner pursuant to the authority 

granted under the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:11, and 

as specifically required in accordance with R.S. 22:1897. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§19103. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 124 is to implement the 

provisions of Acts 2022, No. 80 of the Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, which mandate that the 

Department promulgate rules and regulations for a 

catastrophe claims process disclosure form-guide that 

includes, but is not limited to, the particulars specified in 

R.S. 22:1897(A)(1) – (12). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§19105. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 124 applies to all property and casualty 

insurers settling a property insurance claim arising out of a 

state of emergency declared by the governor pursuant to R.S. 

29:724. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:493 (March 2023). 

§19107. Definitions 

A. These terms when used in this Chapter shall have the 

following meanings: 
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Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Disclosure Form-Guide—the catastrophe claims process 

disclosure form referenced in R.S. 22:1897. 

Governor—the governor of the state of Louisiana. 

Insurer(s)—property and casualty insurer(s) licensed to 

conduct business in the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

§19109. Disclosure Form-Guide 

A. Whenever a state of emergency is declared by the 

governor in accordance with R.S. 29:724, an insurer must 

provide a disclosure form-guide to all policyholders 

asserting a claim for damages occasioned by the disaster or 

catastrophic event made the subject of the governor’s 

emergency declaration. 

B. The disclosure form-guide was created by the 

department in accordance with the particulars set forth in 

R.S. 22:1897(A)(1)-(12) and thereafter issued by bulletin to 

all property and casualty insurers licensed in this state. 

C. The disclosure form-guide has been uploaded to the 

department’s website, at www.ldi.la.gov, and insurers are 

authorized to access and download it as needed to comply 

with Regulation 124 and with the statutory requirements set 

forth in R.S. 22:1897. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

§19111. Date and Method of Delivery  

A. The insurer shall send the disclosure form-guide to 

the policyholder on the date that the adjuster commences an 

initial investigation of the claim. 

B. The insurer may deliver the disclosure form-guide to 

the policyholder by United States mail, electronic delivery, 

or hand-delivery. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

§19113. Proof of Timely Delivery 

A. Delivery by Mail. If the disclosure form-guide is sent 

to a policyholder via United States mail, proof of such 

mailing shall be sufficient evidence to establish delivery of 

the disclosure form-guide, provided it reflects the date of the 

mailing and the policyholder. 

B. Electronic Delivery. If the disclosure form-guide is 

sent to a policyholder via email, the email delivery receipt 

or, if none, a copy of the as-sent email, shall be sufficient 

evidence to establish delivery of the disclosure form-guide, 

provided the delivery receipt or email reflects the date of the 

electronic mailing and the policyholder. 

C. Hand-Delivery. If the disclosure form-guide is hand-

delivered to a policyholder, the representative of the insurer 

perfecting delivery must complete and sign a Certificate of 

Hand-Delivery, verifying pertinent details related to the 

delivery of the disclosure form-guide, including the date and 

location of the delivery, the name of the person accepting the 

delivery, and the name of the policyholder. Appendix A sets 

forth the Certificate of Hand-Delivery form insurers must 

use when opting to hand-deliver the disclosure form-guide to 

a policyholder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

§19115. Severability Clause 

A. The provisions of this Subpart are severable. If any 

provision or item of this Subpart, or application thereof, is 

held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items, or applications of this Subpart, which are to be given 

effect without the invalid provision, item, or application of 

the Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

§19117. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 124 shall become effective upon 

publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

§19119. Appendix A—Certificate Of Hand-Delivery 

CATASTROPHE CLAIMS PROCESS DISCLOSURE FORM-GUIDE 

I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that on the _____ 

day of _____________, 20____, I appeared at: 

(Physical address): _____________________________ 

_____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________, 

and personally hand-delivered a true and complete copy of the 

Catastrophe Claims Process Disclosure Form-Guide to: 

(Name of recipient): _____________________________ 

Delivery of this disclosure form-guide was made in 

connection with the following policy of insurance: 
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(Policy number): ______________________________ 

(Policyholder): _________________________________ 

(Printed Name): _______________________________ 

(Signature): ____________________________________ 

(Date signed): __________________________________ 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:1897, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:494 (March 2023). 

Chapter 193. Regulation Number 

128—Louisiana Agriculture 

Transportation Group Self-Insurance 

Funds 

§19301. Definitions 

A. When used in this regulation, the following words or 

terms shall have the following meaning. 

Contingent Liability—the amount that a group self-

insurance fund may be obligated to pay in excess of a given 

fund year’s normal premium collected or on hand. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Group Self-Insurance Fund or Fund—employers who 

enter into agreements to pool their automobile liabilities for 

timber transportation vehicles, agriculture transportation 

vehicles, or a combination of both types of vehicles in 

accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes 3:4351.2. 

Members Distribution Payable/Surplus―assets of a 

group self-insurance fund in excess of loss reserves, actual 

and contingent liabilities and loss development reserves in 

all fund years. 

Surplus—assets of a group self-insurance fund in excess 

of loss reserves, actual and contingent liabilities and loss 

development reserves in all fund years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4351.9(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1411 (August 2023). 

§19303. Excess Insurance or Reinsurance 

A. All funds shall maintain specific excess insurance or 

reinsurance in the amount of at least $2,000,000 per 

occurrence and aggregate excess insurance or reinsurance of 

at least $2,000,000. 

B. The maximum retention allowed for the fund’s 

specific excess policy shall be approved by the department. 

1. A fund shall submit a feasibility study prepared by 

a qualified actuary which analyzes the impact the specific 

retention on the fund. 

2. No fund shall secure a retention which in the 

commissioner's opinion is not actuarially sound. 

3. The commissioner shall deny the use of a retention 

if he finds that the higher retention will have a significant 

adverse effect on the financial condition of the fund. 

C. The fund shall secure an aggregate limit of at least 20 

percent of the annual premium of the fund for the term of the 

policy. The retention of the aggregate policy shall be subject 

to the approval of the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4351.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1411 (August 2023), 

amended LR 50:1853 (December 2024). 

§19305. Financial and Actuarial Reports 

A. At inception, each fund shall either: 

1. Provide evidence satisfactory to the commissioner 

that it possesses surplus in excess of $1,000,000, or 

2. Submit a current audited financial statement, 

audited by an independent certified public accountant, of at 

least two members showing, at the inception of the fund, a 

combined net worth of a minimum of $1,000,000, current 

financial statements of all other members, a combined ratio 

of current assets to current liabilities of more than one to 

one, a combined working capital of an amount establishing 

financial strength and liquidity of the members to pay 

normal compensation claims promptly, and showing 

evidence of the financial ability of the group to meet its 

obligations. An audited or a financial statement properly 

certified by an officer, owner, or partner for all members 

joining the fund after the inception date shall be submitted to 

the commissioner until such time as an audited financial 

statement is available for the fund as a whole. Thereafter, the 

filing of member financial statements with the department is 

no longer required. In no event shall the cumulative net 

worth or ratio of the current assets to current liabilities of all 

members be less than that required in this Subsection. 

B. An annual financial statement audited by an 

independent certified public accountant shall be due 

annually within six months of the close of the fiscal year of 

the fund, unless an extension is granted by the 

commissioner.  

C. In lieu of an audited financial statement, the 

department may require that the fund submit necessary 

financial documents in a form and manner approved by the 

department to verify the combined net worth of those 

members or principals.  

D. Actual reviews shall be made by a qualified actuary. 

Actuarial reports shall be due and filed at the same time as 

the fund’s annual financial statement, except as otherwise 

provided by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4351.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1411 (August 2023), 

amended LR 50:1853 (December 2024). 
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§19307. Insolvencies 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 3:4351.9(D)(1), a fund subject to 

delinquency proceedings shall be governed by the applicable 

provisions of R.S. 22:731, et seq., pertaining to 

administrative supervisions, or the applicable provisions of 

R. S. 22:2001, et seq., pertaining to receivership, that are not 

inconsistent with the provisions of R. S. 3:4351.1, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4351.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1412 (August 2023). 

§19309. Cease and Desist Orders and Other Penalties 

A.1. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the 

commissioner may issue an order requiring a person or 

group to cease and desist from engaging in an act or practice 

found to be not in compliance with R.S. 3:4351, et seq. or 

with any rule promulgated by the department pursuant to the 

Administrative Procedure Act or order or directive issued by 

the department. Any cease and desist order issued under this 

Section may include a prohibition against the fund writing 

any new or renewal business. 

2. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the 

commissioner may suspend or revoke the certificate of 

authority of the fund found to be not in compliance with R.S. 

3:4351, et seq. or with any rule promulgated by the 

department pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act or 

order or directive issued by the department. 

B. Upon the determination that the fund failed to comply 

with any provision of R.S. 3.4351 et seq., any rule or 

regulation promulgated by the department, or orders or 

directed issued by the commissioner, the department may 

levy a fine of up to $2,000 for each violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4351.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1409 (August 2023), 

amended LR 50:1853 (December 2024). 

§19311. Examinations 

A. The commissioner shall examine, not less frequently 

than once every five years, and at any other time when an 

examination is necessary in the opinion of the commissioner, 

all group self-insurance funds established pursuant to R.S. 

3:4351 et seq. The reasonable expenses of such 

examinations shall be paid by the fund being examined. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4351.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:1412 (August 2023). 

Chapter 195. Regulation 127—The 

Hurricane Property Insurance Claim 

Alternate Dispute Resolution Program 

§19501. Authority 

A. Regulation 127 is promulgated on behalf of the 

Department of Insurance by the Commissioner of Insurance 

pursuant to the authority granted under the Louisiana 

Insurance Code, R.S. 22:11, and as specifically instructed in 

accordance with R.S. 22:2657. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023). 

§19503. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 127 is to establish rules 

and regulations pertaining to the hurricane mediation 

program, codified at R.S. 22:2651, et seq., in accordance 

with Act 591 of the 2022 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023). 

§19505. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 127 applies to all property and casualty 

insurers of residential property situated in a geographical 

area that is included in a state of emergency declaration 

issued by the governor of Louisiana in response to a 

hurricane, named storm, or named windstorm event. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023). 

§19507. Definitions 

A. These terms when used in this Chapter shall have the 

following meanings. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Disclosure Notice—a written notification issued by 

insurers to insureds disclosing the existence of the hurricane 

mediation program as required in R.S. 22:2656. 

Governor—the governor of the state of Louisiana. 

Hurricane Mediation Program—the “Hurricane 

Property Insurance Claim Alternate Dispute Resolution 

Program” set forth in Chapter 22 of Title 22 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes of 1950, at R.S. 22:2651, et seq. 

Mediation Firm—an entity or person that has elected to 

participate in the hurricane mediation program, complies 

with all requirements set forth in R.S. 22:2654, meets the 

qualifications set forth in R.S. 9:4106, and is listed as an 

approved mediation firm on the department’s website. 

Parties—the insured and insurer, collectively. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023). 

§19509. Nature and Purpose of the Hurricane Mediation 

Program  

A. The hurricane mediation program was enacted in 

response to a demonstrated need for effective, fair, and 

timely handling of residential property insurance claims for 

residential properties damaged by a hurricane, named storm, 

or named windstorm event. 

B. The hurricane mediation program is voluntary and 

provides for a non-adversarial alternative dispute resolution 

procedure designed to give insurers and insureds a way to 

resolve disputed residential property insurance claims in a 

timely and low-cost manner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023). 

§19511. Participation in the Hurricane Mediation 

Program 

A. Every insured may request mediation involving a 

residential property insurance claim, provided such claim: 

1. arises from a hurricane, named storm, or named 

windstorm event that results in the governor declaring a state 

of emergency in accordance with R.S. 29:724, 

2. is for damages to residential property that is 

situated within a geographical area included in the 

governor’s state of emergency declaration, and 

3. involves disputed amounts of up to $150,000. 

Parties may agree to mediate and be subject to the provisions 

of R.S. 22:2651, et seq. for disputed amounts that exceed 

$150,000. 

B. Once the parties agree to mediate a damage claim in 

dispute through the hurricane mediation program, the 

insured must contact one of the participating mediation firms 

listed on the department’s website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:900 (May 2023). 

§19513. Mediation Firm Requirements for Participating 

in the Hurricane Mediation Program 

A. Every mediation firm that elects to participate in the 

hurricane mediation program shall: 

1. contact the department within ten calendar days 

regarding any change involving its official name, contact 

information, municipal address, electronic mail address, 

telephone number, and mediation qualification status, 

2. give written notice to the parties within five 

business days after receiving the mediation assignment, 

3. set the matter for mediation to occur within 30 days 

from the date the mediation assignment is received, 

4. conduct the mediation in accordance with the 

standards of professional conduct for mediation adopted by 

the American Bar Association pursuant to R.S. 9:4107, 

5. establish and describe the mediation procedures to 

be followed, 

6. conduct in-person mediations statewide in a 

metropolitan statistical area and at an office or business 

location to be selected by the mediation firm, and 

7. provide advanced notification as needed to 

accommodate a party’s request to participate in the 

mediation remotely via telephone, video conference, or other 

similar electronic means. 

B. Mediation firms may meet with the parties separately 

as needed to stimulate communications, promote meaningful 

negotiations, and to otherwise encourage settlement of the 

disputed claims. 

C. Mediation sessions shall be conducted in accordance 

with the time limitations articulated in R.S. 22:2654(A)(10). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:901 (May 2023). 

§19515. Costs Associated With the Hurricane Mediation 

Program 

A. Once an insured has contacted a participating 

mediation firm that is listed on the department’s website, the 

mediation firm shall submit its proposed mediation rate for 

approval to the department’s Property and Casualty 

Division, which will examine the proposed rate to confirm 

that it is reasonable in accordance with the prevailing 

mediation rates for the location where the residential 

property insurance claim arises. 

B. Mediation costs shall be the responsibility of the 

insurer in accordance with R.S. 22:2655.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:901 (May 2023). 

§19517. Notification of the Hurricane Mediation 

Program 

A. Whenever a hurricane, named storm, or named 

windstorm event results in the governor declaring a state of 

emergency in accordance with R.S. 29:724, an insurer shall 

prepare and deliver a disclosure notice to all insureds who 

have filed a covered residential property insurance claim for 

property situated within the geographical area included in 

the state of emergency declaration. 

B. The insurer must deliver a disclosure notice to the 

insured prior to conducting an initial investigation of the 

insured’s residential property insurance claim. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:901 (May 2023). 

§19519. Authorized Methods of Delivering a Disclosure 

Notice 

A. A disclosure notice shall be delivered to the insured in 

a manner specified in R.S. 22:2656.A, which specifically 

authorizes delivery via United States mail, electronic mail, 

or by hand-delivery. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:901 (May 2023). 

§19521. Proof That Disclosure Notice Was Timely 

Delivered 

A. Delivery by Mail. If a disclosure notice is sent to the 

insured via United States mail, proof of such mailing shall 

be sufficient evidence to establish delivery of the disclosure 

notice, provided it reflects the date of the mailing and the 

name of the insured. 

B. Electronic Delivery. If a disclosure notice is sent to 

the insured via email, the email delivery receipt or, if none, a 

copy of the as-sent email, shall be sufficient evidence to 

establish delivery of the disclosure notice, provided the 

delivery receipt or email reflects the date of the electronic 

mailing and the name of the insured. 

C. Hand-Delivery. If a disclosure notice is hand-

delivered to the insured, the representative of the insurer 

perfecting delivery must complete and sign a certificate of 

hand-delivery, verifying pertinent details related to the 

delivery of the disclosure notice, including the date and 

location of the delivery, the name of the person accepting the 

delivery, and the name of the insured. Insurers may use the 

“Certificate of Hand-Delivery” form set forth in Appendix A 

of this Regulation, or insurers may create and use a 

substantially similar form to verify delivery details provided 

it complies with all requirements of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:901 (May 2023). 

§19523. Severability Clause 

A. The provisions of this Subpart are severable. If any 

provision or item of this Subpart, or application thereof, is 

held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items, or applications of this Subpart, which are to be given 

effect without the invalid provision, item, or application of 

the Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:901 (May 2023). 

§19525. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 127 shall become effective upon 

publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:902 (May 2023). 

§19527. Appendix A 

 

CERTIFICATE OF HAND-DELIVERY 

HURRICANE MEDIATION PROGRAM  

DISCLOSURE NOTICE 
 

I hereby certify that on the ____ day of __________, 20____, 

I appeared at: 

(Physical address): 

___________________________________ 

___________________________________ 

___________________________________, 

and personally hand-delivered a true and complete copy of the 

hurricane mediation program disclosure notice to: 

(Name of recipient): 

_____________________________________ 

Delivery of this disclosure notice was made in connection with 

the following policy of insurance: 

(Policy number): 

_____________________________________ 

(Insured): 

_____________________________________ 

(Printed name): 

_____________________________________ 

(Signature): 

_____________________________________ 

(Date signed): 

_____________________________________ 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:11, 22:2651, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 49:902 (May 2023). 
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Chapter 197. Regulation Number 

129—Surplus Lines Insurance Refund 

or Credit of Gross Premium Taxes  

§19701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to define the 

requirements to receive a surplus line insurance refund for 

taxes paid on gross premium received by the Department of 

Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 22:439. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1291 (September 

2024). 

§19703. Applicability and Scope 

A. Regulation 129 shall apply to impositions of a tax of 

four and eighty-five one hundredths of one percent per 

annum on the gross premium without regard to the location 

of the covered property, risk, or exposure for all insurance 

placed through a Louisiana licensed surplus lines broker 

with a surplus lines insurer or other unauthorized insurer and 

for which Louisiana is the home state of the policyholder as 

defined in R.S. 22:46.  

B. The refund or credit shall only apply to Louisiana 

licensed surplus lines brokers.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 22:439. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50: 1291 (September 

2024). 

§19707. Authorization of Refunds or Credit 

A. For the purpose of this Chapter, a refund or credit of 

gross premium taxes is authorized when there is a payment 

of tax when none was due.  

B. The commissioner may make a refund or credit of 

each payment where it is determined that the payment was 

the result of an error, omission, or a mistake of fact of 

consequence to the determination of the tax liability, whether 

on the part of the taxpayer or the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 22:439. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50: 1291 (September 

2024). 

§19709. Prescription Period of Refund or Credits 

A. After three years from the 31st day of December of 

the year in which the tax became due or after one year from 

the date the tax was paid, whichever is the later, no refund or 

credit for a payment shall be made unless the commissioner 

has been notified of a claim for credit or refund by the 

taxpayer claiming such credit or refund before the expiration 

of said three-year or one-year period. The maximum amount 

which shall be refunded or credited shall be the amount paid 

within said three-year or one-year period.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 22:439. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50: 1291 (September 

2024). 

§19711. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 22:439. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1292 (September 

2024). 

Chapter 199. Regulation Number 

130—Insurance Premium Tax Credits 

for Retaliatory Taxes Paid by Certain 

Domestic Insurers 

§19901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 

provisions of Act No. 428 of the 2023 Regular Session. The 

law creates an insurance premium tax refundable credit for 

retaliatory taxes paid by certain domestic insurers.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:836, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1501 (October 

2024). 

§19903. Applicability and Scope 

A. This regulation applies to Louisiana domestic insurers 

that are authorized to write and do write insurance in 

Louisiana on an admitted basis and in at least one other state 

on an admitted basis as of July 1, 2023. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:836, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1501 (October 

2024). 

§19905. Definitions 

Commissioner—the commissioner of insurance for the 

State of Louisiana. 

LDI—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:836, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1501 (October 

2024). 
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§19907. Calculation of the Refundable Credit; Proof of 

Credit; Affidavit 

A. Domestic admitted insurers who have paid retaliatory 

tax based on premiums written in the preceding year shall 

provide evidence of the retaliatory taxes paid to other states 

along with Form 836. Evidence may consist of tax returns, 

invoices, copies of checks, or other documents that support 

the payment of the retaliatory taxes. Form 836 will be due 

by April 15th of each year.  

B. Within 60 days after receiving all applications of the 

retaliatory credits, the LDI shall issue a refund for the 

retaliatory amounts paid by the domestic insurer. The 

maximum amount of refundable credits shall not exceed 

nine million dollars per fiscal year for the total of all 

domestic insurers claiming credits. If the total amount of 

refundable credits claimed by all eligible domestic insurers 

exceeds nine million dollars, the refunds shall be made on a 

pro rata basis to the eligible domestic insurers based upon 

the proportion of the total amount paid by each domestic 

insurer for the preceding year. 

C. An affidavit must be included with Form 836 

certifying the commissioner that the domestic insurer will 

use the retaliatory credit refund monies exclusively for 

Louisiana-specific purposes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:836, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1501 (October 

2024). 

§19909. Request for Refundable Tax Credit; Dispute 

Resolution 

A. Domestic insurers seeking a refundable tax credit 

shall submit a request to the LDI pursuant to R.S.22:836 on 

Form 836 which shall be designed by the commissioner. The 

request shall be submitted no later than April 15th of each 

year. The commissioner may disapprove a tax credit either in 

whole or in part if the required supporting documents are 

missing. 

B. If the commissioner disapproves in whole or in part, a 

refundable tax credit filed by a domestic insurer, he shall 

give written notice to the domestic insurer, stating grounds 

for disapproval. The notice shall be sent to the address 

shown on the records of the LDI. The insurer shall have 30 

days to dispute the disapproval of the commissioner or 

supply the missing documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:836, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1502 (October 

2024). 

§19911. Effective Date; Implementation 

A. This regulation shall take effect on January 1, 2024. 

The initial applications for the refundable retaliatory tax 

credits must be filed by April 15, 2025. This regulation 

sunsets December 31, 2029. The last applications for the 

refundable tax credits must be filed by April 15, 2030, for 

the year of 2029.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, R.S. 22:836, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 50:1502 (October 

2024). 

Chapter 201. Regulation Number 

132—Louisiana Churches and 

Nonprofit Religious Organizations 

Self-Insured Fund 

§20101. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of Regulation 125, the following 

terms are defined as follows:  

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Insurance of the 

state of Louisiana. 

Department—the Department of Insurance of the state of 

Louisiana. 

Fund—the self-insurance fund established pursuant to 

R.S. 12:1851 et seq. to provide property insurance for 

churches and nonprofit religious organizations and shall be 

known as the Louisiana Churches and Nonprofit Religious 

Organizations Self-Insured Fund. 

Insolvency—the condition existing when the fund’s 

liabilities are greater than the fund’s assets as determined in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles as 

delineated in the fund’s financial statement audited by an 

independent certified public accountant and calculated 

before a member’s distribution is payable or before a 

dividend is declared. 

Members Distribution Payable/Surplus―assets of the 

fund in excess of loss reserves, actual and contingent 

liabilities and loss development reserves in all fund years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 12:1851 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:74 (January 2025). 

§20103. Excess Insurance or Reinsurance 

A. The fund shall maintain excess insurance or 

reinsurance in the amount approved by the commissioner, 

based on an actuarially sound catastrophe model that limits 

the fund’s exposure on any one loss occurrence to 20 percent 

of its members distribution payable/surplus or an amount 

authorized by the commissioner. 

1. The fund shall submit a feasibility study prepared 

by a qualified actuary which analyzes the impact the specific 

retention on the fund. 

2. No fund shall secure a retention which in the 

commissioner's opinion is not actuarially sound. 
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3. The commissioner shall deny the use of a retention 

if he finds that the higher retention will have a significant 

adverse effect on the financial condition of the fund. 

B. The excess insurance or reinsurance coverage shall 

provide for one or more reinstatements. 

C. All excess insurance or reinsurance agreements shall 

be approved by the department prior to execution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 12:1851 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:74 (January 2025). 

§20105. Financial and Actuarial Reports 

A. At inception and thereafter, the fund shall either: 

1. Provide evidence satisfactory to the commissioner 

that it possesses surplus in excess of $3,000,000, or 

2. Submit a current audited financial statement, 

audited by an independent certified public accountant, of at 

least two members showing, at the inception of the fund, a 

combined net worth of a minimum of $1,000,000, current 

financial statements of all other members, a combined ratio 

of current assets to current liabilities of more than one to 

one, a combined working capital of an amount establishing 

financial strength and liquidity of the members to pay 

normal compensation claims promptly, and showing 

evidence of the financial ability of the group to meet its 

obligations. An audited or a financial statement properly 

certified by an officer, owner, or partner for all members 

joining the fund after the inception date shall be submitted to 

the commissioner until such time as an audited financial 

statement is available for the fund as a whole. Thereafter, the 

filing of member financial statements with the department is 

no longer required. In no event shall the cumulative net 

worth or ratio of the current assets to current liabilities of all 

members be less than that required in this Subsection. 

B. An annual financial statement audited by an 

independent certified public accountant shall be due 

annually within six months of the close of the fiscal year of 

the fund, unless an extension is granted by the 

commissioner. 

C. Actuarial reviews shall be made by a qualified 

actuary. Actuarial reports shall be due and filed at the same 

time as the fund’s annual financial statement, except as 

otherwise provided by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 12:1851 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:74 (January 2025). 

§20107. Insolvencies 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 12:1862(D)(1), the fund is subject to 

delinquency proceedings that shall be governed by the 

applicable provisions of R.S. 22:731, et seq., pertaining to 

administrative supervisions, or the applicable provisions of 

R.S. 22:2001, et seq., pertaining to receivership, that are not 

inconsistent with the provisions of R.S. 12:1851, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 12:1851 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:75 (January 2025). 

§20109. Cease and Desist Orders and Other Penalties 

A.1 After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the 

commissioner may issue an order requiring a person or 

group to cease and desist from engaging in an act or practice 

found to be not in compliance with R.S. 12:1851, et seq. or 

with any rule promulgated by the department pursuant to the 

Administrative Procedure Act or order or directive issued by 

the department. Any cease and desist order issued under this 

Section may include a prohibition against the fund writing 

any new or renewal business. 

2. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the 

commissioner may suspend or revoke the certificate of 

authority of the fund found to be not in compliance with R.S. 

12:1851, et seq. or with any rule promulgated by the 

department pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act or 

order or directive issued by the department. 

B. Upon the determination that the fund failed to comply 

with any provision of R.S. 12:1851 et seq., any rule or 

regulation promulgated by the department, or orders or 

directives issued by the commissioner, the department may 

levy a fine of up to $2,000 for each violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 12:1851 et seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:75 (January 2025). 

Chapter 202. Regulation Number 

131—Plan for Nonrenewal or 

Cancellation of Homeowners Policies 

in Effect and Renewed for More Than 

Three Years 

§20201. Authority 

A. Regulation 131 is issued pursuant to the authority 

vested in the commissioner pursuant to the provisions of Act 

2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature and in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. R.S. 22:11, and 

22:1265(F). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 

§20203. Purpose 

A. The purpose of Regulation 131 is to implement the 

provisions of Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session of the 
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Louisiana Legislature, which allows an insurer to notify the 

commissioner of its plan to nonrenew or cancel up to five 

percent of its insureds’ homeowners policies in a calendar 

year that have been in effect for at least three years on or 

before August 1, 2024, for any reason and to request the 

commissioner’s approval of a plan to nonrenew or cancel 

more than five percent of its insureds’ homeowners policies 

in a calendar year that have been in effect for three years or 

more on or before August 1, 2024. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 

§20205. Scope and Applicability 

A. Regulation 131 requires insurers providing property, 

casualty, or liability insurance to submit a plan for 

nonrenewal or cancellation of certain homeowners’ policies 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1265(L) to the Louisiana Department of 

Insurance. 

B. Regulation 131 only applies to insurers seeking to 

comply with the provisions of R.S. 22:1265(L). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:803 (June 2025). 

§20207. Definitions 

A. As used in Regulation 131, these terms shall have 

the following meaning ascribed herein unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

Homeowners Insurance—a policy of insurance on a one- 

or two-family owner-occupied premises, which combines 

fire and allied lines with any one or more perils of casualty, 

liability, or other types of insurance within one policy form 

at a single premium, where the insurer's liability for damage 

to the premises under said policy is determined with 

reference to the replacement value of the premises.  

Homeowners Policies—shall mean for purposes of this 

regulation, policies of homeowners insurance that have been 

in effect for more than three years on or before August 1, 

2024. 

Nonrenewal or Cancellation Date—the termination date 

of an insured’s policy of homeowners insurance. 

Insured―customers owning homeowners policies as 

provided for in R.S. 22:1265. 

Insurer—any insurer that provides property, casualty, and 

liability insurance in the state of Louisiana. 

Not In The Public Interest—means the imposition of a 

plan to cancel or nonrenew up to 5 percent of homeowners 

policies that has an outsized impact on a specific coastal 

geographic area, zip code, or parish. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:804 (June 2025). 

§20209. Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation 

A. Any insurer that makes a filing pursuant to R.S. 

22:1265(L) for the nonrenewal or cancellation of up to five 

percent or for more than five percent of its insureds’ 

homeowners policies in Louisiana in a calendar year shall 

file with the commissioner a Plan for Nonrenewal or 

Cancellation setting forth the insurer's plan in the state of 

Louisiana. A Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation shall not 

include a nonrenewal or cancellation of more than 5 percent 

of the insurer’s homeowners’ policies in force in any one 

parish that is subject to the “3-year rule”, unless authorized 

by the commissioner under Paragraph C of this section. The 

commissioner shall have the discretion to disapprove any 

Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation up to five percent if 

deemed to not be in the public interest. Approval by the 

commissioner is required for a Plan for Nonrenewal or 

Cancellation requesting more than 5 percent of its insureds’ 

homeowners’ policies in any one parish in Louisiana in a 

calendar year. An insurer shall only send a notice of 

nonrenewal or cancellation to an insured on or after January 

1, 2025. The commissioner shall provide written approval to 

the insurer. The Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation shall 

include, but not be limited to the following: 

1. a listing of the physical addresses, types of policies, 

zip code and parishes for the properties that will be the 

subject of the requested nonrenewal or cancellation process; 

2. data submitted through a LDI portal or link to such 

data by parish representing each proposed parish and zip 

code affected by the nonrenewal or cancellation, along with 

the deductible amount. The data shall pinpoint all proposed 

homeowners policies to be nonrenewed or cancelled and 

demonstrate compliance with the requirement that no more 

than 5 percent of the insurer’s homeowners policies in force 

in any one parish that is subject to the “3 year rule” and a 

listing of those homeowners policies that may be 

nonrenewed or cancelled; 

3. a policy count of all active homeowners policies 

meeting the eligibility criteria under the current “3-year 

rule” concept, including policy inception date and 

nonrenewal or cancellation date. The policy count and a 

percentage of the amount of homeowners policies being 

nonrenewed or cancelled shall be presented on a statewide 

basis, as well as a per parish basis and zip code basis; 

4. the coverage A limits or residential coverage limit 

for each property risk that will be the subject of the 

requested nonrenewal or cancellation; 
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5. a listing of homeowners policies inception date, 

nonrenewal or cancellation dates for all homeowners 

policies, premium amount, that will be subject to the non-

renewal or cancellation; 

6. a mathematical breakdown that illustrates 

compliance with the requirement that no more than 5 percent 

of the insurer’s homeowners policies in force in any one 

parish that is subject to the “3-year rule” and a listing of 

homeowners’ policies that may be nonrenewed or cancelled; 

7. the insurer's total homeowners policies in force in 

the particular zip code and parish; 

8. the insurer's total homeowners policies in force in 

the state; 

9. the insurer's premium by state and by parish as a 

percentage of the insurer’s total written premium in the state; 

and 

10. any other factors that the commissioner determines 

are applicable, relevant, and appropriate. 

B. Any business plan, documentation or information 

filed pursuant to Regulation 131 shall be considered 

proprietary or trade secret pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 

44:3.2 and the Uniform Trade Secrets Act pursuant to 

Chapter 13-A of Title 51 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 

of 1950 shall be applicable to any business plan, 

documentation or information. 

C. Subject to the review and approval of the 

commissioner, an insurer may submit a request to non-renew 

more than 5 percent in any parish. In determining whether to 

grant the request, the commissioner will consider the impact 

of the request on the insurer’s risk and financial profile, the 

ability of the insurer to maintain or expand its operations, the 

cost of reinsurance and such other factors as the insurer shall 

submit or the commissioner shall deem necessary for the 

evaluation of the request to determine its overall impact on 

the insurance market. The commissioner will approve or 

reject any request within thirty days of submission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:804 (June 2025). 

§20211. Rescission 

A. The commissioner may rescind his approval of any 

Plan for Nonrenewal or Cancellation filing made pursuant to 

this Regulation if it is subsequently determined that the 

insurer made any material misrepresentation in its 

submission, or if the insurer violates the statutory 

prohibitions against discrimination contained in provisions 

of R.S. 22:34, R.S. 22:35(A), R.S. 22:1964, or if the insurer 

violates any provision of Title 22 through the 

implementation of its approved plan. 

B. The commissioner shall set forth the date when such 

rescission shall be effective and such other terms as are 

necessary to effectuate a rescission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:804 (June 2025). 

§20213. Enforcement 

A. The commissioner may take any and all 

administrative action provided in Title 22 whenever an 

insurer is found to be in violation of R.S. 22:34, R.S. 

22:35(A), R.S. 22:1964, or any provision of law pursuant to 

Title 22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, R.S. 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:805 (June 2025). 

§20215. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 131 shall become effective upon final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:805 (June 2025). 

§20217. Severability 

A. If any section or provision of Regulation 131 or the 

application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, 

such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 

sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 131 to 

any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 

without the invalid section or provision or application, and 

for these purposes the Sections and provisions of Regulation 

131 and the application to any persons or circumstances are 

severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, R.S. 22:11, 22:1265, Act 2024, No. 9 of the Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 51:805 (June 2025). 
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R.S. 22:250.33  R.S. 22:1833 

R.S. 22:250.34  R.S. 22:1834 

R.S. 22:250.35  R.S. 22:1835 

R.S. 22:250.36  R.S. 22:1836 

R.S. 22:250.37  R.S. 22:1837 

R.S. 22:250.38  R.S. 22:1838 

R.S. 22:250.41  R.S. 22:1871 

R.S. 22:250.42  R.S. 22:1872 

R.S. 22:250.43  R.S. 22:1873 

R.S. 22:250.44  R.S. 22:1874 

R.S. 22:250.45  R.S. 22:1875 

R.S. 22:250.46  R.S. 22:1876 

R.S. 22:250.47  R.S. 22:1877 

R.S. 22:250.48  R.S. 22:1878 

R.S. 22:250.51  R.S. 22:1851 

R.S. 22:250.52  R.S. 22:1852 

R.S. 22:250.53  R.S. 22:1853 

R.S. 22:250.54  R.S. 22:1854 

R.S. 22:250.55  R.S. 22:1855 

R.S. 22:250.56  R.S. 22:1856 

R.S. 22:250.57  R.S. 22:1857 

R.S. 22:250.58  R.S. 22:1858 

R.S. 22:250.59  R.S. 22:1859 

R.S. 22:250.60  R.S. 22:1860 

R.S. 22:250.61  R.S. 22:1861 

R.S. 22:250.62  R.S. 22:1862 

R.S. 22:251  R.S. 22:141 

R.S. 22:252  R.S. 22:142 

R.S. 22:253  R.S. 22:143 

R.S. 22:254  R.S. 22:144 

R.S. 22:255  R.S. 22:145 

R.S. 22:256  R.S. 22:146 

R.S. 22:257  R.S. 22:147 

R.S. 22:258  R.S. 22:148 

R.S. 22:259  R.S. 22:149 

R.S. 22:260  R.S. 22:150 

R.S. 22:291  R.S. 22:131 

R.S. 22:292  R.S. 22:132 

R.S. 22:293  R.S. 22:133 

R.S. 22:294  R.S. 22:134 

R.S. 22:295  R.S. 22:135 

R.S. 22:331  R.S. 22:191 

R.S. 22:332  R.S. 22:192 

R.S. 22:333  R.S. 22:193 

R.S. 22:334  R.S. 22:194 

R.S. 22:335  R.S. 22:195 

R.S. 22:336  R.S. 22:196 

R.S. 22:337  R.S. 22:197 

R.S. 22:338  R.S. 22:198 

R.S. 22:339  R.S. 22:199 

R.S. 22:340  R.S. 22:200 

R.S. 22:341  R.S. 22:201 

R.S. 22:342  R.S. 22:202 

R.S. 22:343  R.S. 22:203 
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R.S. 22:344  R.S. 22:204 

R.S. 22:345  R.S. 22:205 

R.S. 22:346  R.S. 22:206 

R.S. 22:347  R.S. 22:207 

R.S. 22:348  R.S. 22:208 

R.S. 22:349  R.S. 22:209 

R.S. 22:350  R.S. 22:210 

R.S. 22:351  R.S. 22:211 

R.S. 22:352  R.S. 22:212 

R.S. 22:353  R.S. 22:213 

R.S. 22:354  R.S. 22:214 

R.S. 22:355  R.S. 22:215 

R.S. 22:356  R.S. 22:216 

R.S. 22:391   Repealed 

R.S. 22:392   Repealed 

R.S. 22:393   Repealed 

R.S. 22:394   Repealed 

R.S. 22:395   Repealed 

R.S. 22:396   Repealed 

R.S. 22:397   Repealed 

R.S. 22:421  R.S. 22:1221 

R.S. 22:422  R.S. 22:1222 

R.S. 22:431  R.S. 22:161 

R.S. 22:432  R.S. 22:162 

R.S. 22:433  R.S. 22:163 

R.S. 22:434  R.S. 22:164 

R.S. 22:435  R.S. 22:165 

R.S. 22:437  R.S. 22:166 

R.S. 22:438  R.S. 22:167 

R.S. 22:439  R.S. 22:168 

R.S. 22:440  R.S. 22:169 

R.S. 22:441  R.S. 22:170 

R.S. 22:442  R.S. 22:171 

R.S. 22:443  R.S. 22:172 

R.S. 22:444  R.S. 22:173 

R.S. 22:445  R.S. 22:174 

R.S. 22:446  R.S. 22:175 

R.S. 22:447  R.S. 22:176 

R.S. 22:448  R.S. 22:177 

R.S. 22:449  R.S. 22:178 

R.S. 22:450  R.S. 22:179 

R.S. 22:451  R.S. 22:180 

R.S. 22:452  R.S. 22:181 

R.S. 22:453  R.S. 22:182 

R.S. 22:454  R.S. 22:183 

R.S. 22:455  R.S. 22:184 

R.S. 22:456  R.S. 22:185 

R.S. 22:541  R.S. 22:281 

R.S. 22:542  R.S. 22:282 

R.S. 22:543  R.S. 22:283 

R.S. 22:544  R.S. 22:284 

R.S. 22:545  R.S. 22:285 

R.S. 22:546  R.S. 22:286 

R.S. 22:547  R.S. 22:287 

R.S. 22:548  R.S. 22:288 

R.S. 22:549  R.S. 22:289 
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R.S. 22:550  R.S. 22:290 

R.S. 22:551  R.S. 22:291 

R.S. 22:552  R.S. 22:292 

R.S. 22:553  R.S. 22:293 

R.S. 22:554  R.S. 22:294 

R.S. 22:555  R.S. 22:295 

R.S. 22:556  R.S. 22:296 

R.S. 22:557  R.S. 22:297 

R.S. 22:558  R.S. 22:298 

R.S. 22:559  R.S. 22:299 

R.S. 22:560  R.S. 22:300 

R.S. 22:561  R.S. 22:301 

R.S. 22:562  R.S. 22:302 

R.S. 22:563  R.S. 22:303 

R.S. 22:564  R.S. 22:304 

R.S. 22:565  R.S. 22:305 

R.S. 22:566  R.S. 22:306 

R.S. 22:567  R.S. 22:307 

R.S. 22:568  R.S. 22:308 

R.S. 22:569  R.S. 22:309 

R.S. 22:570  R.S. 22:310 

R.S. 22:571  R.S. 22:311 

R.S. 22:572  R.S. 22:312 

R.S. 22:574  R.S. 22:313 

R.S. 22:575  R.S. 22:314 

R.S. 22:576  R.S. 22:315 

R.S. 22:577  R.S. 22:316 

R.S. 22:578  R.S. 22:317 

R.S. 22:611  R.S. 22:851 

R.S. 22:612  R.S. 22:852 

R.S. 22:613  R.S. 22:901 

R.S. 22:614  R.S. 22:853 

R.S. 22:614.1  R.S. 22:902 

R.S. 22:615  R.S. 22:854 

R.S. 22:616  R.S. 22:856 

R.S. 22:616.1  R.S. 22:858 

R.S. 22:617  R.S. 22:859 

R.S. 22:618  R.S. 22:857 

R.S. 22:619  R.S. 22:860 

R.S. 22:620  R.S. 22:861 

R.S. 22:621  R.S. 22:862 

R.S. 22:622  R.S. 22:974 

R.S. 22:622.1  R.S. 22:1281 

R.S. 22:622.2  R.S. 22:1282 

R.S. 22:622.3  R.S. 22:1283 

R.S. 22:623  R.S. 22:863 

R.S. 22:624  R.S. 22:864 

R.S. 22:625  R.S. 22:865 

R.S. 22:626  R.S. 22:866 

R.S. 22:627  R.S. 22:855 

R.S. 22:628  R.S. 22:867 

R.S. 22:629  R.S. 22:868 

R.S. 22:630  R.S. 22:869 

R.S. 22:631  R.S. 22:870 

R.S. 22:632  R.S. 22:1555 

R.S. 22:633  R.S. 22:872 
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R.S. 22:634  R.S. 22:873 

R.S. 22:635  R.S. 22:1261 

R.S. 22:635.1  R.S. 22:1285 

R.S. 22:635.2  R.S. 22:1286 

R.S. 22:635.3  R.S. 22:1333 

R.S. 22:635.4  R.S. 22:1334 

R.S. 22:636  R.S. 22:887 

R.S. 22:636.1  R.S. 22:1266 

R.S. 22:636.2  R.S. 22:1265 

R.S. 22:636.3  R.S. 22:888 

R.S. 22:636.4  R.S. 22:1267 

R.S. 22:636.5  R.S. 22:889 

R.S. 22:636.6  R.S. 22:1335 

R.S. 22:636.7  R.S. 22:1891 

R.S. 22:636.8  R.S. 22:1287 

R.S. 22:637.1  R.S. 22:1268 

R.S. 22:637  R.S. 22:885 

R.S. 22:638  R.S. 22:886 

R.S. 22:639  R.S. 22:1262 

R.S. 22:640  R.S. 22:874 

R.S. 22:641  R.S. 22:875 

R.S. 22:642  R.S. 22:876 

R.S. 22:643  R.S. 22:877 

R.S. 22:644  R.S. 22:909 

R.S. 22:644.1  R.S. 22:910 

R.S. 22:645  R.S. 22:911 

R.S. 22:646  R.S. 22:1015 

R.S. 22:647  R.S. 22:912 

R.S. 22:648  R.S. 22:913 

R.S. 22:649  R.S. 22:944 

R.S. 22:650  R.S. 22:878 

R.S. 22:651  R.S. 22:879 

R.S. 22:652  R.S. 22:34 

R.S. 22:652.1  R.S. 22:1097 

R.S. 22:652.2  R.S. 22:1288 

R.S. 22:652.3  R.S. 22:945 

R.S. 22:652.4  R.S. 22:35 

R.S. 22:653  R.S. 22:880 

R.S. 22:654  R.S. 22:881 

R.S. 22:655  R.S. 22:1269 

R.S. 22:656  R.S. 22:1811 

R.S. 22:657  R.S. 22:1821 

R.S. 22:658  R.S. 22:1892 

R.S. 22:658.1  R.S. 22:1441 

R.S. 22:658.2  R.S. 22:1893 

R.S. 22:658.3  R.S. 22:1894 

R.S. 22:659  R.S. 22:1823 

R.S. 22:660  R.S. 22:1442 

R.S. 22:661  R.S. 22:1290 

R.S. 22:662  R.S. 22:996 

R.S. 22:663  R.S. 22:994 

R.S. 22:664  R.S. 22:997 

R.S. 22:665  R.S. 22:998 

R.S. 22:666  R.S. 22:882 

R.S. 22:667  R.S. 22:1270 

R.S. 22:667.1  R.S. 22:1331 
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R.S. 22:668  R.S. 22:995 

R.S. 22:669  R.S. 22:1043 

R.S. 22:669.1  R.S. 22:1051 

R.S. 22:670  R.S. 22:1263 

R.S. 22:671  R.S. 22:1291 

R.S. 22:672  R.S. 22:1292 

R.S. 22:673  R.S. 22:1297 

R.S. 22:674  R.S. 22:1822 

R.S. 22:675  R.S. 22:883 

R.S. 22:676  R.S. 22:1293 

R.S. 22:680  R.S. 22:1295 

R.S. 22:681  R.S. 22:1296 

R.S. 22:682  R.S. 22:1264 

R.S. 22:691  R.S. 22:1311 

R.S. 22:691.1  R.S. 22:1312 

R.S. 22:691.2  R.S. 22:1313 

R.S. 22:692  R.S. 22:1314 

R.S. 22:692.1  R.S. 22:1315 

R.S. 22:693  R.S. 22:1316 

R.S. 22:694  R.S. 22:1317 

R.S. 22:695  R.S. 22:1318 

R.S. 22:696  R.S. 22:1319 

R.S. 22:732  R.S. 22:2001 

R.S. 22:732.1  R.S. 22:2002 

R.S. 22:732.2  R.S. 22:2003 

R.S. 22:732.3  R.S. 22:2004 

R.S. 22:733  R.S. 22:2005 

R.S. 22:734  R.S. 22:2006 

R.S. 22:734.1  R.S. 22:2007 

R.S. 22:735  R.S. 22:2008 

R.S. 22:736  R.S. 22:2009 

R.S. 22:737  R.S. 22:2010 

R.S. 22:737.1  R.S. 22:2011 

R.S. 22:737.2  R.S. 22:2012 

R.S. 22:738  R.S. 22:2013 

R.S. 22:739  R.S. 22:2014 

R.S. 22:739.1  R.S. 22:2015 

R.S. 22:740  R.S. 22:2016 

R.S. 22:741  R.S. 22:73 

R.S. 22:742  R.S. 22:2017 

R.S. 22:743  R.S. 22:2018 

R.S. 22:744  R.S. 22:2019 

R.S. 22:745  R.S. 22:2020 

R.S. 22:745.1  R.S. 22:2021 

R.S. 22:745.2  R.S. 22:2022 

R.S. 22:745.3  R.S. 22:2023 

R.S. 22:745.4  R.S. 22:2024 

R.S. 22:746  R.S. 22:2025 

R.S. 22:747  R.S. 22:2026 

R.S. 22:748  R.S. 22:2027 

R.S. 22:749  R.S. 22:2028 

R.S. 22:750  R.S. 22:2029 

R.S. 22:751  R.S. 22:2030 

R.S. 22:752  R.S. 22:2031 

R.S. 22:753  R.S. 22:2032 

R.S. 22:754  R.S. 22:2033 
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R.S. 22:755  R.S. 22:2034 

R.S. 22:756  R.S. 22:2035 

R.S. 22:756.1  R.S. 22:2036 

R.S. 22:756.2  R.S. 22:2037 

R.S. 22:757  R.S. 22:2038 

R.S. 22:758  R.S. 22:2039 

R.S. 22:759  R.S. 22:2040 

R.S. 22:760  R.S. 22:2041 

R.S. 22:761  R.S. 22:2042 

R.S. 22:762  R.S. 22:2043 

R.S. 22:763  R.S. 22:2044 

R.S. 22:764  R.S. 22:96 

R.S. 22:768  R.S. 22:731 

R.S. 22:769  R.S. 22:732 

R.S. 22:770  R.S. 22:733 

R.S. 22:771  R.S. 22:734 

R.S. 22:772  R.S. 22:735 

R.S. 22:773  R.S. 22:736 

R.S. 22:774  R.S. 22:737 

R.S. 22:801  R.S. 22:71 

R.S. 22:806  R.S. 22:72 

R.S. 22:820  R.S. 22:231 

R.S. 22:821  R.S. 22:232 

R.S. 22:822  R.S. 22:236 

R.S. 22:823  R.S. 22:236.1 

R.S. 22:824  R.S. 22:236.2 

R.S. 22:825  R.S. 22:236.3 

R.S. 22:826  R.S. 22:236.4 

R.S. 22:827  R.S. 22:236.5 

R.S. 22:828  R.S. 22:236.6 

R.S. 22:829  R.S. 22:236.7 

R.S. 22:830  R.S. 22:236.8 

R.S. 22:831  R.S. 22:236.9 

R.S. 22:832  R.S. 22:236.10 

R.S. 22:833  R.S. 22:236.11 

R.S. 22:841  R.S. 22:581 

R.S. 22:842  R.S. 22:582 

R.S. 22:843  R.S. 22:583 

R.S. 22:844  R.S. 22:584 

R.S. 22:844.1  R.S. 22:585 

R.S. 22:844.2  R.S. 22:586 

R.S. 22:844.3  R.S. 22:587 

R.S. 22:845  R.S. 22:588 

R.S. 22:846  R.S. 22:589 

R.S. 22:847  R.S. 22:590 

R.S. 22:848  R.S. 22:591 

R.S. 22:849  R.S. 22:592 

R.S. 22:850  R.S. 22:593 

R.S. 22:851  R.S. 22:594 

R.S. 22:852  R.S. 22:595 

R.S. 22:853  R.S. 22:596 

R.S. 22:854  R.S. 22:597 

R.S. 22:855  R.S. 22:598 

R.S. 22:856  R.S. 22:599 

R.S. 22:857  R.S. 22:600 

R.S. 22:858  R.S. 22:601 
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R.S. 22:860  R.S. 22:611 

R.S. 22:861  R.S. 22:612 

R.S. 22:862  R.S. 22:613 

R.S. 22:863  R.S. 22:614 

R.S. 22:864  R.S. 22:615 

R.S. 22:865  R.S. 22:616 

R.S. 22:866  R.S. 22:617 

R.S. 22:867  R.S. 22:618 

R.S. 22:868  R.S. 22:619 

R.S. 22:869  R.S. 22:620 

R.S. 22:891  R.S. 22:761 

R.S. 22:891.1  R.S. 22:762 

R.S. 22:892  R.S. 22:763 

R.S. 22:893  R.S. 22:764 

R.S. 22:894  R.S. 22:765 

R.S. 22:895  R.S. 22:766 

R.S. 22:900  R.S. 22:767 

R.S. 22:901  R.S. 22:768 

R.S. 22:902  R.S. 22:769 

R.S. 22:903  R.S. 22:770 

R.S. 22:904  R.S. 22:771 

R.S. 22:941  R.S. 22:651 

R.S. 22:941.1  R.S. 22:652 

R.S. 22:941.2  R.S. 22:653 

R.S. 22:941.3  R.S. 22:654 

R.S. 22:941.4  R.S. 22:655 

R.S. 22:942  R.S. 22:656 

R.S. 22:943  R.S. 22:657 

R.S. 22:944  R.S. 22:658 

R.S. 22:945  R.S. 22:659 

R.S. 22:946  R.S. 22:660 

R.S. 22:947  R.S. 22:661 

R.S. 22:981  R.S. 22:331 

R.S. 22:982  R.S. 22:332 

R.S. 22:983  R.S. 22:333 

R.S. 22:984  R.S. 22:334 

R.S. 22:985  R.S. 22:335 

R.S. 22:986  R.S. 22:336 

R.S. 22:987  R.S. 22:337 

R.S. 22:988  R.S. 22:338 

R.S. 22:989  R.S. 22:339 

R.S. 22:990.1  R.S. 22:340.1 

R.S. 22:991  R.S. 22:341 

R.S. 22:1001  R.S. 22:691 

R.S. 22:1002  R.S. 22:692 

R.S. 22:1003  R.S. 22:693 

R.S. 22:1004  R.S. 22:694 

R.S. 22:1004.1  R.S. 22:695 

R.S. 22:1004.2  R.S. 22:696 

R.S. 22:1004.3  R.S. 22:697 

R.S. 22:1004.4  R.S. 22:698 

R.S. 22:1004.5  R.S. 22:699 

R.S. 22:1004.6  R.S. 22:700 

R.S. 22:1004.7  R.S. 22:701 

R.S. 22:1004.8  R.S. 22:702 

R.S. 22:1005  R.S. 22:703 
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R.S. 22:1006  R.S. 22:704 

R.S. 22:1007  R.S. 22:705 

R.S. 22:1008  R.S. 22:706 

R.S. 22:1009  R.S. 22:707 

R.S. 22:1010  R.S. 22:708 

R.S. 22:1011  R.S. 22:709 

R.S. 22:1012  R.S. 22:710 

R.S. 22:1013  R.S. 22:711 

R.S. 22:1014  R.S. 22:712 

R.S. 22:1015  R.S. 22:713 

R.S. 22:1021  R.S. 22:801 

R.S. 22:1022  R.S. 22:802 

R.S. 22:1023  R.S. 22:803 

R.S. 22:1024  R.S. 22:804 

R.S. 22:1025  R.S. 22:805 

R.S. 22:1026  R.S. 22:806 

R.S. 22:1027  R.S. 22:807 

R.S. 22:1028  R.S. 22:808 

R.S. 22:1029  R.S. 22:809 

R.S. 22:1061  R.S. 22:838 

R.S. 22:1062  R.S. 22:842 

R.S. 22:1065  R.S. 22:831 

R.S. 22:1065.1  R.S. 22:822 

R.S. 22:1066  R.S. 22:843 

R.S. 22:1067  R.S. 22:844 

R.S. 22:1068  R.S. 22:832 

R.S. 22:1069  R.S. 22:791 

R.S. 22:1070  R.S. 22:792 

R.S. 22:1071  R.S. 22:845 

R.S. 22:1072  R.S. 22:846 

R.S. 22:1073  R.S. 22:793 

R.S. 22:1074  R.S. 22:794 

R.S. 22:1075  R.S. 22:795 

R.S. 22:1076  R.S. 22:833 

R.S. 22:1076.1  R.S. 22:834 

R.S. 22:1077  R.S. 22:835 

R.S. 22:1078  R.S. 22:821 

R.S. 22:1079  R.S. 22:836 

R.S. 22:1080  R.S. 22:837 

R.S. 22:1081  R.S. 22:796 

R.S. 22:1131  R.S. 22:1541 

R.S. 22:1132  R.S. 22:1542 

R.S. 22:1133  R.S. 22:1543 

R.S. 22:1134  R.S. 22:1544 

R.S. 22:1135  R.S. 22:1545 

R.S. 22:1136  R.S. 22:1546 

R.S. 22:1137  R.S. 22:1547 

R.S. 22:1138  R.S. 22:1548 

R.S. 22:1138.1  R.S. 22:1549 

R.S. 22:1138.2  R.S. 22:1550 

R.S. 22:1139  R.S. 22:1551 

R.S. 22:1140  R.S. 22:1552 

R.S. 22:1141  R.S. 22:1553 

R.S. 22:1142  R.S. 22:1554 

R.S. 22:1142.1  R.S. 22:1556 

R.S. 22:1143  R.S. 22:1557 
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R.S. 22:1144  R.S. 22:1558 

R.S. 22:1145  R.S. 22:1559 

R.S. 22:1146  R.S. 22:1560 

R.S. 22:1147  R.S. 22:1561 

R.S. 22:1148  R.S. 22:1562 

R.S. 22:1149  R.S. 22:1563 

R.S. 22:1150  R.S. 22:1564 

R.S. 22:1151  R.S. 22:1565 

R.S. 22:1191  R.S. 22:1571 

R.S. 22:1192  R.S. 22:1572 

R.S. 22:1193  R.S. 22:1573 

R.S. 22:1194  R.S. 22:2141 

R.S. 22:1194.1  R.S. 22:2142 

R.S. 22:1194.2  R.S. 22:2143 

R.S. 22:1194.3  R.S. 22:2144 

R.S. 22:1194.4  R.S. 22:2145 

R.S. 22:1194.5  R.S. 22:2146 

R.S. 22:1194.6  R.S. 22:2147 

R.S. 22:1194.7  R.S. 22:2148 

R.S. 22:1201  R.S. 22:1621 

R.S. 22:1202  R.S. 22:1622 

R.S. 22:1203  R.S. 22:1623 

R.S. 22:1204  R.S. 22:1624 

R.S. 22:1205  R.S. 22:1625 

R.S. 22:1206  R.S. 22:1626 

R.S. 22:1207  R.S. 22:1627 

R.S. 22:1210.1  R.S. 22:551 

R.S. 22:1210.2  R.S. 22:552 

R.S. 22:1210.3  R.S. 22:553 

R.S. 22:1210.4  R.S. 22:554 

R.S. 22:1210.5  R.S. 22:555 

R.S. 22:1210.6  R.S. 22:556 

R.S. 22:1210.20  R.S. 22:1721 

R.S. 22:1210.21  R.S. 22:1722 

R.S. 22:1210.22  R.S. 22:1723 

R.S. 22:1210.23  R.S. 22:1724 

R.S. 22:1210.24  R.S. 22:1725 

R.S. 22:1210.25  R.S. 22:1726 

R.S. 22:1210.26  R.S. 22:1727 

R.S. 22:1210.27  R.S. 22:1728 

R.S. 22:1210.28  R.S. 22:1729 

R.S. 22:1210.29  R.S. 22:1730 

R.S. 22:1210.30  R.S. 22:1731 

R.S. 22:1210.31  R.S. 22:1732 

R.S. 22:1210.51  R.S. 22:1741 

R.S. 22:1210.52  R.S. 22:1742 

R.S. 22:1210.53  R.S. 22:1743 

R.S. 22:1210.54  R.S. 22:1744 

R.S. 22:1210.55  R.S. 22:1745 

R.S. 22:1210.56  R.S. 22:1746 

R.S. 22:1210.57  R.S. 22:1747 

R.S. 22:1210.58  R.S. 22:1748 

R.S. 22:1210.59  R.S. 22:1749 

R.S. 22:1210.60  R.S. 22:1750 

R.S. 22:1210.61  R.S. 22:1751 

R.S. 22:1210.71  R.S. 22:1661 

Former Section Redesignated Section 

R.S. 22:1210.72  R.S. 22:1662 

R.S. 22:1210.73  R.S. 22:1663 

R.S. 22:1210.74  R.S. 22:1664 

R.S. 22:1210.75  R.S. 22:1665 

R.S. 22:1210.76  R.S. 22:1666 

R.S. 22:1210.77  R.S. 22:1667 

R.S. 22:1210.78  R.S. 22:1668 

R.S. 22:1210.79  R.S. 22:1669 

R.S. 22:1210.80  R.S. 22:1670 

R.S. 22:1210.81  R.S. 22:1671 

R.S. 22:1210.82  R.S. 22:1672 

R.S. 22:1210.83  R.S. 22:1673 

R.S. 22:1210.84  R.S. 22:1674 

R.S. 22:1210.85 R.S. 22:1676 

R.S. 22:1210.86  R.S. 22:1677 

R.S. 22:1210.87  R.S. 22:1678 

R.S. 22:1210.91  R.S. 22:1691 

R.S. 22:1210.92  R.S. 22:1692 

R.S. 22:1210.93  R.S. 22:1693 

R.S. 22:1210.94  R.S. 22:1694 

R.S. 22:1210.95  R.S. 22:1695 

R.S. 22:1210.96  R.S. 22:1696 

R.S. 22:1210.97  R.S. 22:1697 

R.S. 22:1210.98  R.S. 22:1698 

R.S. 22:1210.99  R.S. 22:1699 

R.S. 22:1210.100  R.S. 22:1700 

R.S. 22:1210.101  R.S. 22:1701 

R.S. 22:1210.102  R.S. 22:1702 

R.S. 22:1210.103  R.S. 22:1703 

R.S. 22:1210.104  R.S. 22:1704 

R.S. 22:1210.105  R.S. 22:1705 

R.S. 22:1210.106  R.S. 22:1706 

R.S. 22:1210.107  R.S. 22:1707 

R.S. 22:1210.108  R.S. 22:1708 

R.S. 22:1211  R.S. 22:1961 

R.S. 22:1212  R.S. 22:1962 

R.S. 22:1213  R.S. 22:1963 

R.S. 22:1214  R.S. 22:1964 

R.S. 22:1214.1  R.S. 22:1965 

R.S. 22:1214.2  R.S. 22:1966 

R.S. 22:1215  R.S. 22:1967 

R.S. 22:1216  R.S. 22:1968 

R.S. 22:1217  R.S. 22:1969 

R.S. 22:1217.1  R.S. 22:1970 

R.S. 22:1218  R.S. 22:1971 

R.S. 22:1219  R.S. 22:1972 

R.S. 22:1220  R.S. 22:1973 

R.S. 22:1231  R.S. 22:1941 

R.S. 22:1232  R.S. 22:1942 

R.S. 22:1233  R.S. 22:1943 

R.S. 22:1234  R.S. 22:1944 

R.S. 22:1235  R.S. 22:1945 

R.S. 22:1241  R.S. 22:1921 

R.S. 22:1241.1  R.S. 22:1922 

R.S. 22:1242  R.S. 22:1923 

R.S. 22:1243  R.S. 22:1924 
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R.S. 22:1244  R.S. 22:1925 

R.S. 22:1245  R.S. 22:1926 

R.S. 22:1246  R.S. 22:1927 

R.S. 22:1247  R.S. 22:1928 

R.S. 22:1247.1  R.S. 22:1929 

R.S. 22:1248  R.S. 22:1901 

R.S. 22:1248  R.S. 22:431 

R.S. 22:1249  R.S. 22:1902 

R.S. 22:1249.1  R.S. 22:1903 

R.S. 22:1250  R.S. 22:1904 

R.S. 22:1251  R.S. 22:1905 

R.S. 22:1252  R.S. 22:1906 

R.S. 22:1253  R.S. 22:1907 

R.S. 22:1254  R.S. 22:1908 

R.S. 22:1255  R.S. 22:1909 

R.S. 22:1256  R.S. 22:1910 

R.S. 22:1257  R.S. 22:432 

R.S. 22:1258  R.S. 22:433 

R.S. 22:1259  R.S. 22:434 

R.S. 22:1262  R.S. 22:435 

R.S. 22:1262.1  R.S. 22:436 

R.S. 22:1263  R.S. 22:437 

R.S. 22:1263.1  R.S. 22:438 

R.S. 22:1265  R.S. 22:439 

R.S. 22:1266  R.S. 22:440 

R.S. 22:1267  R.S. 22:441 

R.S. 22:1268  R.S. 22:442 

R.S. 22:1269  R.S. 22:443 

R.S. 22:1270  R.S. 22:444 

R.S. 22:1271  R.S. 22:445 

R.S. 22:1301  R.S. 22:1981 

R.S. 22:1301.1  R.S. 22:1982 

R.S. 22:1302  R.S. 22:1983 

R.S. 22:1303  R.S. 22:1984 

R.S. 22:1304  R.S. 22:1985 

R.S. 22:1305  R.S. 22:1986 

R.S. 22:1306  R.S. 22:1987 

R.S. 22:1307  R.S. 22:1988 

R.S. 22:1308  R.S. 22:1989 

R.S. 22:1309  R.S. 22:1990 

R.S. 22:1310  R.S. 22:1991 

R.S. 22:1311  R.S. 22:1992 

R.S. 22:1314  R.S. 22:1993 

R.S. 22:1315  R.S. 22:1994 

R.S. 22:1316  R.S. 22:1995 

R.S. 22:1321  R.S. 22:671 

R.S. 22:1322  R.S. 22:672 

R.S. 22:1323  R.S. 22:673 

R.S. 22:1324  R.S. 22:674 

R.S. 22:1325  R.S. 22:675 

R.S. 22:1351  R.S. 22:2191 

R.S. 22:1352  R.S. 22:2192 

R.S. 22:1353  R.S. 22:2193 

R.S. 22:1354  R.S. 22:2194 

R.S. 22:1355  R.S. 22:2195 

R.S. 22:1356  R.S. 22:2196 

Former Section Redesignated Section 

R.S. 22:1357  R.S. 22:2197 

R.S. 22:1358  R.S. 22:2198 

R.S. 22:1359  R.S. 22:2199 

R.S. 22:1360  R.S. 22:2200 

R.S. 22:1361  R.S. 22:2201 

R.S. 22:1362  R.S. 22:2202 

R.S. 22:1363  R.S. 22:2203 

R.S. 22:1364  R.S. 22:2204 

R.S. 22:1365  R.S. 22:2205 

R.S. 22:1366  R.S. 22:2206 

R.S. 22:1367  R.S. 22:2207 

R.S. 22:1368  R.S. 22:2208 

R.S. 22:1375  R.S. 22:2051 

R.S. 22:1376  R.S. 22:2052 

R.S. 22:1377  R.S. 22:2053 

R.S. 22:1378  R.S. 22:2054 

R.S. 22:1379  R.S. 22:2055 

R.S. 22:1380  R.S. 22:2056 

R.S. 22:1381  R.S. 22:2057 

R.S. 22:1382  R.S. 22:2058 

R.S. 22:1383  R.S. 22:2059 

R.S. 22:1384  R.S. 22:2060 

R.S. 22:1385  R.S. 22:2061 

R.S. 22:1386  R.S. 22:2062 

R.S. 22:1387  R.S. 22:2063 

R.S. 22:1388  R.S. 22:2064 

R.S. 22:1389  R.S. 22:2065 

R.S. 22:1390  R.S. 22:2066 

R.S. 22:1391  R.S. 22:2067 

R.S. 22:1392  R.S. 22:2068 

R.S. 22:1393  R.S. 22:2069 

R.S. 22:1394  R.S. 22:2070 

R.S. 22:1395.1  R.S. 22:2081 

R.S. 22:1395.2  R.S. 22:2082 

R.S. 22:1395.3  R.S. 22:2083 

R.S. 22:1395.4  R.S. 22:2084 

R.S. 22:1395.5  R.S. 22:2085 

R.S. 22:1395.6  R.S. 22:2086 

R.S. 22:1395.7  R.S. 22:2087 

R.S. 22:1395.8  R.S. 22:2088 

R.S. 22:1395.9  R.S. 22:2089 

R.S. 22:1395.10  R.S. 22:2090 

R.S. 22:1395.11  R.S. 22:2091 

R.S. 22:1395.12  R.S. 22:2092 

R.S. 22:1395.13  R.S. 22:2093 

R.S. 22:1395.14  R.S. 22:2094 

R.S. 22:1395.15  R.S. 22:2095 

R.S. 22:1395.16  R.S. 22:2096 

R.S. 22:1395.17  R.S. 22:2097 

R.S. 22:1395.18  R.S. 22:2098 

R.S. 22:1395.19  R.S. 22:2099 

R.S. 22:1401  R.S. 22:1451 

R.S. 22:1402  R.S. 22:1452 

R.S. 22:1402.1  R.S. 22:1453 

R.S. 22:1402.2  R.S. 22:1454 

R.S. 22:1402.3  R.S. 22:1455 
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R.S. 22:1403  R.S. 22:1456 

R.S. 22:1404  R.S. 22:1457 

R.S. 22:1404.1  R.S. 22:1458 

R.S. 22:1404.2  R.S. 22:1459 

R.S. 22:1404.3  R.S. 22:1443 

R.S. 22:1405  R.S. 22:1460 

R.S. 22:1405.1  R.S. 22:1461 

R.S. 22:1405.2  R.S. 22:1462 

R.S. 22:1405.3  R.S. 22:1463 

R.S. 22:1407  R.S. 22:1464 

R.S. 22:1408  R.S. 22:1465 

R.S. 22:1409  R.S. 22:1466 

R.S. 22:1409.1  R.S. 22:1467 

R.S. 22:1410  R.S. 22:1468 

R.S. 22:1411  R.S. 22:1469 

R.S. 22:1412  R.S. 22:1470 

R.S. 22:1413  R.S. 22:1471 

R.S. 22:1414  R.S. 22:1472 

R.S. 22:1415  R.S. 22:1473 

R.S. 22:1416  R.S. 22:1474 

R.S. 22:1417  R.S. 22:1475 

R.S. 22:1419  R.S. 22:1476 

R.S. 22:1421  R.S. 22:1477 

R.S. 22:1422  R.S. 22:1478 

R.S. 22:1422.1  R.S. 22:1479 

R.S. 22:1423  R.S. 22:1480 

R.S. 22:1424  R.S. 22:1481 

R.S. 22:1425  R.S. 22:1482 

R.S. 22:1425.1  R.S. 22:1482.1 

R.S. 22:1426  R.S. 22:1483 

R.S. 22:1430  R.S. 22:2291 

R.S. 22:1430.1  R.S. 22:2292 

R.S. 22:1430.2  R.S. 22:2293 

R.S. 22:1430.3  R.S. 22:2294 

R.S. 22:1430.4  R.S. 22:2295 

R.S. 22:1430.5  R.S. 22:2296 

R.S. 22:1430.6  R.S. 22:2297 

R.S. 22:1430.7  R.S. 22:2298 

R.S. 22:1430.8  R.S. 22:2299 

R.S. 22:1430.9  R.S. 22:2300 

R.S. 22:1430.10  R.S. 22:2301 

R.S. 22:1430.11  R.S. 22:2302 

R.S. 22:1430.12  R.S. 22:2303 

R.S. 22:1430.13  R.S. 22:2304 

R.S. 22:1430.14  R.S. 22:2305 

R.S. 22:1430.15  R.S. 22:2306 

R.S. 22:1430.16  R.S. 22:2307 

R.S. 22:1430.17  R.S. 22:2308 

R.S. 22:1430.18  R.S. 22:2309 

R.S. 22:1430.19  R.S. 22:2310 

R.S. 22:1430.20  R.S. 22:2311 

R.S. 22:1430.21  R.S. 22:2312 

R.S. 22:1430.22  R.S. 22:2313 

R.S. 22:1430.23  R.S. 22:2314 

R.S. 22:1430.24  R.S. 22:2315 

R.S. 22:1430.25  R.S. 22:2316 

Former Section Redesignated Section 

R.S. 22:1441  R.S. 22:2321 

R.S. 22:1441.1  R.S. 22:2322 

R.S. 22:1441.2  R.S. 22:2323 

R.S. 22:1441.3  R.S. 22:2324 

R.S. 22:1441.4  R.S. 22:2325 

R.S. 22:1441.5  R.S. 22:2326 

R.S. 22:1441.6  R.S. 22:2327 

R.S. 22:1441.7  R.S. 22:2328 

R.S. 22:1441.8  R.S. 22:2329 

R.S. 22:1441.9  R.S. 22:2330 

R.S. 22:1441.10  R.S. 22:2331 

R.S. 22:1441.11  R.S. 22:2332 

R.S. 22:1441.12  R.S. 22:2333 

R.S. 22:1441.13  R.S. 22:2334 

R.S. 22:1441.14  R.S. 22:2335 

R.S. 22:1441.15  R.S. 22:2336 

R.S. 22:1441.16  R.S. 22:2337 

R.S. 22:1441.17  R.S. 22:2338 

R.S. 22:1441.18  R.S. 22:2339 

R.S. 22:1441.19  R.S. 22:2340 

R.S. 22:1441.20  R.S. 22:2341 

R.S. 22:1441.21  R.S. 22:2342 

R.S. 22:1441.22  R.S. 22:2343 

R.S. 22:1441.23  R.S. 22:1244 

R.S. 22:1441.24  R.S. 22:2345 

R.S. 22:1441.25  R.S. 22:2346 

R.S. 22:1441.26  R.S. 22:2347 

R.S. 22:1446  R.S. 22:15 

R.S. 22:1447  R.S. 22:16 

R.S. 22:1450.1  R.S. 22:2271 

R.S. 22:1450.2  R.S. 22:2272 

R.S. 22:1450.4  R.S. 22:2273 

R.S. 22:1450.5  R.S. 22:2274 

R.S. 22:1450.6  R.S. 22:2275 

R.S. 22:1450.7  R.S. 22:2276 

R.S. 22:1450.8  R.S. 22:2277 

R.S. 22:1450.21  R.S. 22:1231 

R.S. 22:1450.22  R.S. 22:1232 

R.S. 22:1450.23  R.S. 22:1233 

R.S. 22:1450.51  R.S. 22:2381 

R.S. 22:1450.52  R.S. 22:2382 

R.S. 22:1451  R.S. 22:571 

R.S. 22:1451.3  R.S. 22:574 

R.S. 22:1452  R.S. 22:21 

R.S. 22:1453  R.S. 22:1675 

R.S. 22:1454  R.S. 22:22 

R.S. 22:1455  R.S. 22:41 

R.S. 22:1456  R.S. 22:17 

R.S. 22:1457  R.S. 22:18 

R.S. 22:1458  R.S. 22:19 

R.S. 22:1459  R.S. 22:20 

R.S. 22:1460  R.S. 22:871 

R.S. 22:1461  R.S. 22:70 

R.S. 22:1461.1  R.S. 22:1486 

R.S. 22:1462.1  R.S. 22:44 

R.S. 22:1464  R.S. 22:1484 
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R.S. 22:1464.1  R.S. 22:1485 

R.S. 22:1465  R.S. 22:1294 

R.S. 22:1466  R.S. 22:1284 

R.S. 22:1467  R.S. 22:43 

R.S. 22:1468  R.S. 22:45 

R.S. 22:1469  R.S. 22:572 

R.S. 22:1470  R.S. 22:573 

R.S. 22:1471  R.S. 22:1336 

R.S. 22:1471.1  R.S. 22:1895 

R.S. 22:1472  R.S. 22:1289 

R.S. 22:1473  R.S. 22:1487 

R.S. 22:1474  R.S. 22:23 

R.S. 22:1475  R.S. 22:24 

R.S. 22:1476  R.S. 22:1896 

R.S. 22:1477  R.S. 22:1332 

R.S. 22:1478  R.S. 22:1271 

R.S. 22:1479  R.S. 22:724 

R.S. 22:1481  R.S. 22:1501 

R.S. 22:1482  R.S. 22:1502 

R.S. 22:1483  R.S. 22:1503 

R.S. 22:1484  R.S. 22:1504 

R.S. 22:1485  R.S. 22:1505 

R.S. 22:1486  R.S. 22:1506 

R.S. 22:1487  R.S. 22:1507 

R.S. 22:1488  R.S. 22:1508 

R.S. 22:1489  R.S. 22:1509 

R.S. 22:1490  R.S. 22:1510 

R.S. 22:1491  R.S. 22:1511 

R.S. 22:1492  R.S. 22:1512 

R.S. 22:1493  R.S. 22:1513 

R.S. 22:1494  R.S. 22:1514 

R.S. 22:1500(A-J)  R.S. 22:781 

R.S. 22:1500(K)  R.S. 22:914 

R.S. 22:1510  R.S. 22:1151 

R.S. 22:1511  R.S. 22:1152 

R.S. 22:1512  R.S. 22:1153 

R.S. 22:1513  R.S. 22:1154 

R.S. 22:1514  R.S. 22:1581 

R.S. 22:1514.1  R.S. 22:1582 

R.S. 22:1514.2  R.S. 22:1583 

R.S. 22:1514.3  R.S. 22:1584 

R.S. 22:1514.4  R.S. 22:1585 

R.S. 22:1521  R.S. 22:915 

R.S. 22:1523  R.S. 22:1946 

R.S. 22:1524  R.S. 22:714 

R.S. 22:1525  R.S. 22:715 

R.S. 22:1526  R.S. 22:716 

R.S. 22:1527  R.S. 22:717 

R.S. 22:1528  R.S. 22:718 

R.S. 22:1529  R.S. 22:719 

R.S. 22:1530  R.S. 22:720 

R.S. 22:1531  R.S. 22:49 

R.S. 22:1531.1  R.S. 22:1155 

R.S. 22:1532  R.S. 22:722 

R.S. 22:1533  R.S. 22:723 

R.S. 22:1535  R.S. 22:991 

Former Section Redesignated Section 

R.S. 22:1551  R.S. 22:2111 

R.S. 22:1552  R.S. 22:2112 

R.S. 22:1553  R.S. 22:2113 

R.S. 22:1554  R.S. 22:2114 

R.S. 22:1555  R.S. 22:2115 

R.S. 22:1556  R.S. 22:2116 

R.S. 22:1557  R.S. 22:2117 

R.S. 22:1558  R.S. 22:2118 

R.S. 22:1559  R.S. 22:2119 

R.S. 22:1560  R.S. 22:2120 

R.S. 22:1580  R.S. 22:342 

R.S. 22:1581  R.S. 22:343 

R.S. 22:1582  R.S. 22:344 

R.S. 22:1583  R.S. 22:345 

R.S. 22:1584  R.S. 22:346 

R.S. 22:1585  R.S. 22:347 

R.S. 22:1586  R.S. 22:348 

R.S. 22:1587  R.S. 22:349 

R.S. 22:1661  R.S. 22:839 

R.S. 22:1662  R.S. 22:840 

R.S. 22:1663  R.S. 22:841 

R.S. 22:1731  R.S. 22:1181 

R.S. 22:1732  R.S. 22:1182 

R.S. 22:1733  R.S. 22:1183 

R.S. 22:1734  R.S. 22:1184 

R.S. 22:1735  R.S. 22:1185 

R.S. 22:1736  R.S. 22:1186 

R.S. 22:1737  R.S. 22:1187 

R.S. 22:1738  R.S. 22:1188 

R.S. 22:1739  R.S. 22:1189 

R.S. 22:1740  R.S. 22:1190 

R.S. 22:1741  R.S. 22:1191 

R.S. 22:1800  R.S. 22:361 

R.S. 22:1801  R.S. 22:362 

R.S. 22:1802  R.S. 22:363 

R.S. 22:1803  R.S. 22:364 

R.S. 22:1804  R.S. 22:365 

R.S. 22:1805  R.S. 22:366 

R.S. 22:1806  R.S. 22:367 

R.S. 22:1807  R.S. 22:368 

R.S. 22:1807.1  R.S. 22:368.1 

R.S. 22:1808  R.S. 22:369 

R.S. 22:1809  R.S. 22:370 

R.S. 22:1810  R.S. 22:371 

R.S. 22:1811  R.S. 22:372 

R.S. 22:1812  R.S. 22:373 

R.S. 22:1900  R.S. 22:381 

R.S. 22:1901  R.S. 22:382 

R.S. 22:1902  R.S. 22:383 

R.S. 22:1903  R.S. 22:384 

R.S. 22:1904  R.S. 22:385 

R.S. 22:1905  R.S. 22:386 

R.S. 22:1906  R.S. 22:387 

R.S. 22:1907  R.S. 22:388 

R.S. 22:1907.1  R.S. 22:388.1 

R.S. 22:1908  R.S. 22:389 
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R.S. 22:1909  R.S. 22:390 

R.S. 22:1910  R.S. 22:391 

R.S. 22:1911  R.S. 22:392 

R.S. 22:1912  R.S. 22:393 

R.S. 22:1921  R.S. 22:31 

R.S. 22:1922  R.S. 22:32 

R.S. 22:1923  R.S. 22:33 

R.S. 22:1931   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1932   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1933   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1934   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1935   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1936   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1937   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1938   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1939   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1940   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1941   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1942   Repealed 

R.S. 22:1943   Repealed 

R.S. 22:2001  R.S. 22:241 

R.S. 22:2002  R.S. 22:242 

R.S. 22:2003  R.S. 22:243 

R.S. 22:2004  R.S. 22:244 

R.S. 22:2004.1  R.S. 22:245 

R.S. 22:2004.2  R.S. 22:246 

R.S. 22:2004.3  R.S. 22:247 

R.S. 22:2005  R.S. 22:248 

R.S. 22:2006  R.S. 22:249 

R.S. 22:2007  R.S. 22:250 

R.S. 22:2007.1  R.S. 22:251 

R.S. 22:2008  R.S. 22:252 

R.S. 22:2009  R.S. 22:253 

R.S. 22:2010  R.S. 22:254 

R.S. 22:2011  R.S. 22:255 

R.S. 22:2012  R.S. 22:256 

R.S. 22:2013  R.S. 22:257 

R.S. 22:2014  R.S. 22:258 

R.S. 22:2015  R.S. 22:259 

R.S. 22:2016  R.S. 22:260 

R.S. 22:2016.1  R.S. 22:261 

R.S. 22:2017  R.S. 22:262 

R.S. 22:2018  R.S. 22:263 

R.S. 22:2019  R.S. 22:264 

R.S. 22:2020  R.S. 22:265 

R.S. 22:2021  R.S. 22:266 

R.S. 22:2022  R.S. 22:267 

R.S. 22:2023  R.S. 22:268 

R.S. 22:2024  R.S. 22:269 

R.S. 22:2025  R.S. 22:270 

R.S. 22:2026  R.S. 22:271 

R.S. 22:2027  R.S. 22:272 

R.S. 22:2028  R.S. 22:1161 

R.S. 22:2029  R.S. 22:1162 

R.S. 22:2030  R.S. 22:1163 

R.S. 22:2031  R.S. 22:1164 

Former Section Redesignated Section 

R.S. 22:2032  R.S. 22:1165 

R.S. 22:2033  R.S. 22:1166 

R.S. 22:2034  R.S. 22:1167 

R.S. 22:2036.1  R.S. 22:631 

R.S. 22:2036.2  R.S. 22:632 

R.S. 22:2036.3  R.S. 22:633 

R.S. 22:2036.4  R.S. 22:634 

R.S. 22:2036.5  R.S. 22:635 

R.S. 22:2036.6  R.S. 22:636 

R.S. 22:2036.7  R.S. 22:637 

R.S. 22:2036.8  R.S. 22:638 

R.S. 22:2036.9  R.S. 22:639 

R.S. 22:2036.10  R.S. 22:640 

R.S. 22:2036.11  R.S. 22:641 

R.S. 22:2036.12  R.S. 22:642 

R.S. 22:2041  R.S. 22:401 

R.S. 22:2042  R.S. 22:402 

R.S. 22:2043  R.S. 22:403 

R.S. 22:2044  R.S. 22:404 

R.S. 22:2045  R.S. 22:405 

R.S. 22:2046  R.S. 22:406 

R.S. 22:2047  R.S. 22:407 

R.S. 22:2048  R.S. 22:408 

R.S. 22:2049  R.S. 22:409 

R.S. 22:2050  R.S. 22:410 

R.S. 22:2051  R.S. 22:411 

R.S. 22:2052  R.S. 22:412 

R.S. 22:2053  R.S. 22:413 

R.S. 22:2054  R.S. 22:414 

R.S. 22:2055  R.S. 22:415 

R.S. 22:2056  R.S. 22:416 

R.S. 22:2057  R.S. 22:417 

R.S. 22:2058  R.S. 22:418 

R.S. 22:2059  R.S. 22:419 

R.S. 22:2071  R.S. 22:481 

R.S. 22:2072  R.S. 22:482 

R.S. 22:2073  R.S. 22:483 

R.S. 22:2074  R.S. 22:484 

R.S. 22:2074.1  R.S. 22:485 

R.S. 22:2075  R.S. 22:486 

R.S. 22:2076  R.S. 22:487 

R.S. 22:2077  R.S. 22:488 

R.S. 22:2078  R.S. 22:489 

R.S. 22:2078.1  R.S. 22:490 

R.S. 22:2079  R.S. 22:491 

R.S. 22:2080  R.S. 22:492 

R.S. 22:2081  R.S. 22:493 

R.S. 22:2082  R.S. 22:494 

R.S. 22:2083  R.S. 22:495 

R.S. 22:2084  R.S. 22:496 

R.S. 22:2085  R.S. 22:497 

R.S. 22:2086  R.S. 22:498 

R.S. 22:2091.1  R.S. 22:1521 

R.S. 22:2091.2  R.S. 22:1522 

R.S. 22:2091.3  R.S. 22:1523 

R.S. 22:2091.4  R.S. 22:1524 
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R.S. 22:2091.5  R.S. 22:1525 

R.S. 22:2091.6  R.S. 22:1526 

R.S. 22:2091.7  R.S. 22:1527 

R.S. 22:2091.8  R.S. 22:1528 

R.S. 22:2091.9  R.S. 22:1529 

R.S. 22:2091.10  R.S. 22:1530 

R.S. 22:2092.1  R.S. 22:511 

R.S. 22:2092.2  R.S. 22:512 

R.S. 22:2092.3  R.S. 22:513 

R.S. 22:2092.4  R.S. 22:514 

R.S. 22:2092.5  R.S. 22:515 

R.S. 22:2092.5.1  R.S. 22:516 

R.S. 22:2092.6  R.S. 22:517 

R.S. 22:2092.6.1  R.S. 22:518 

R.S. 22:2092.7  R.S. 22:519 

R.S. 22:2092.8  R.S. 22:520 

R.S. 22:2092.8.1  R.S. 22:521 

R.S. 22:2092.8.2  R.S. 22:522 

R.S. 22:2092.8.3  R.S. 22:523 

R.S. 22:2092.8.4  R.S. 22:524 

R.S. 22:2092.8.5  R.S. 22:525 

R.S. 22:2092.9  R.S. 22:526 

R.S. 22:2092.9.1  R.S. 22:527 

R.S. 22:2092.9.2  R.S. 22:528 

R.S. 22:2092.9.3  R.S. 22:529 

R.S. 22:2092.9.4  R.S. 22:530 

R.S. 22:2092.10  R.S. 22:531 

R.S. 22:2092.11  R.S. 22:532 

R.S. 22:2092.12  R.S. 22:533 

R.S. 22:2092.13  R.S. 22:534 

R.S. 22:2092.14  R.S. 22:535 

R.S. 22:2092.15  R.S. 22:536 

R.S. 22:2092.16  R.S. 22:537 

R.S. 22:2101  R.S. 22:1761 

R.S. 22:2102  R.S. 22:1762 

R.S. 22:2103  R.S. 22:1763 

R.S. 22:2104  R.S. 22:1764 

R.S. 22:2105  R.S. 22:1765 

R.S. 22:2106  R.S. 22:1766 

R.S. 22:2107  R.S. 22:1767 

R.S. 22:2108  R.S. 22:1768 

R.S. 22:2109  R.S. 22:1769 

R.S. 22:2110  R.S. 22:1770 

R.S. 22:2111  R.S. 22:1771 

R.S. 22:2112  R.S. 22:1772 

R.S. 22:3001  R.S. 22:451 

R.S. 22:3002  R.S. 22:452 

R.S. 22:3003  R.S. 22:453 

R.S. 22:3004  R.S. 22:454 

R.S. 22:3005  R.S. 22:455 

R.S. 22:3006  R.S. 22:456 

R.S. 22:3007  R.S. 22:457 

R.S. 22:3008  R.S. 22:458 

R.S. 22:3009  R.S. 22:459 

R.S. 22:3010  R.S. 22:460 

R.S. 22:3011  R.S. 22:461 

Former Section Redesignated Section 

R.S. 22:3012  R.S. 22:462 

R.S. 22:3013  R.S. 22:463 

R.S. 22:3014  R.S. 22:464 

R.S. 22:3015  R.S. 22:465 

R.S. 22:3016  R.S. 22:466 

R.S. 22:3017  R.S. 22:467 

R.S. 22:3018  R.S. 22:468 

R.S. 22:3018.1  R.S. 22:469 

R.S. 22:3021  R.S. 22:2181 

R.S. 22:3022  R.S. 22:2182 

R.S. 22:3031  R.S. 22:1641 

R.S. 22:3032  R.S. 22:1642 

R.S. 22:3033  R.S. 22:1643 

R.S. 22:3034  R.S. 22:1644 

R.S. 22:3035  R.S. 22:1645 

R.S. 22:3036  R.S. 22:1646 

R.S. 22:3037  R.S. 22:1647 

R.S. 22:3038  R.S. 22:1648 

R.S. 22:3039  R.S. 22:1649 

R.S. 22:3040  R.S. 22:1650 

R.S. 22:3041  R.S. 22:1651 

R.S. 22:3042  R.S. 22:1652 

R.S. 22:3043  R.S. 22:1653 

R.S. 22:3044  R.S. 22:1654 

R.S. 22:3045  R.S. 22:1655 

R.S. 22:3046  R.S. 22:1656 

R.S. 22:3051  R.S. 22:1591 

R.S. 22:3052  R.S. 22:1592 

R.S. 22:3053  R.S. 22:1593 

R.S. 22:3053.1  R.S. 22:1594 

R.S. 22:3054  R.S. 22:1595 

R.S. 22:3055  R.S. 22:1596 

R.S. 22:3056  R.S. 22:1597 

R.S. 22:3057  R.S. 22:1598 

R.S. 22:3058  R.S. 22:1599 

R.S. 22:3059  R.S. 22:1600 

R.S. 22:3060  R.S. 22:1601 

R.S. 22:3061  R.S. 22:1602 

R.S. 22:3062  R.S. 22:1603 

R.S. 22:3063  R.S. 22:1604 

R.S. 22:3065  R.S. 22:1605 

R.S. 22:3070  R.S. 22:1121 

R.S. 22:3071  R.S. 22:1122 

R.S. 22:3072  R.S. 22:1123 

R.S. 22:3073  R.S. 22:1124 

R.S. 22:3074  R.S. 22:1125 

R.S. 22:3075  R.S. 22:1126 

R.S. 22:3076  R.S. 22:1127 

R.S. 22:3077  R.S. 22:1128 

R.S. 22:3078  R.S. 22:1129 

R.S. 22:3079  R.S. 22:1130 

R.S. 22:3080 R.S. 22:1131 

R.S. 22:3081  R.S. 22:1132 

R.S. 22:3082  R.S. 22:1133 

R.S. 22:3083  R.S. 22:1134 

R.S. 22:3084  R.S. 22:1135 
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R.S. 22:3085  R.S. 22:1136 

R.S. 22:3086  R.S. 22:1137 

R.S. 22:3087  R.S. 22:1138 

R.S. 22:3088  R.S. 22:1139 

R.S. 22:3089  R.S. 22:1140 

R.S. 22:3090  R.S. 22:1141 

R.S. 22:3091  R.S. 22:1142 

R.S. 22:3092  R.S. 22:1143 

R.S. 22:3093  R.S. 22:1144 

R.S. 22:3101  R.S. 22:1241 

R.S. 22:3102  R.S. 22:1243 

R.S. 22:3103  R.S. 22:1244 

R.S. 22:3104  R.S. 22:1245 

R.S. 22:3105  R.S. 22:1246 

R.S. 22:3106  R.S. 22:1247 

R.S. 22:3107  R.S. 22:1248 

R.S. 22:3108  R.S. 22:1249 

R.S. 22:3109  R.S. 22:1250 

R.S. 22:3110  R.S. 22:1251 
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R.S. 22:3111  R.S. 22:1252 

R.S. 22:3112  R.S. 22:1242 

R.S. 22:3201  R.S. 22:2131 

R.S. 22:3202  R.S. 22:2132 

R.S. 22:3203  R.S. 22:2133 

R.S. 22:3204  R.S. 22:2134 

R.S. 22:3205  R.S. 22:2135 

R.S. 22:3301  R.S. 22:2361 

R.S. 22:3302 R.S. 22:2362 

R.S. 22:3303  R.S. 22:2363 

R.S. 22:3304  R.S. 22:2364 

R.S. 22:3305  R.S. 22:2365 

R.S. 22:3306  R.S. 22:2366 

R.S. 22:3307  R.S. 22:2367 

R.S. 22:3308  R.S. 22:2368 

R.S. 22:3309  R.S. 22:2369 

R.S. 22:3310  R.S. 22:2370 

R.S. 22:3311  R.S. 22:2371 

R.S. 22:3312  R.S. 22:2372 

 

 


