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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

Part 1. Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and Agencies Thereunder

Chapter 1.Reserved for General
Provisions

Chapter 3.Special Powers and Duties

Subchapter A. Seismic Exploration
8301. Regulations

A. In order to protect, conserve, and replenish the
wildlife of the state of Louisiana, including all aquatic life,
and pursuant to the authority conferred by Article 1X,
Section 7 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, R.S. 30:212
et seq., and R.S. 36:609; the following rules shall form and
after promulgation date, govern any exploration work
involving the discharge of explosives and other energy
sources in the state of Louisiana for geophysical exploration.

1. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, pursuant
to its constitutional and statutory authority, hereby
designates how geophysical exploration work shall be
conducted insofar as it relates to the fish, seafood, aquatic
life, oysters, wildlife and water bottoms of the state. No
geophysical exploration work shall commence without the
approval of the secretary of the department or his designee.
The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is hereby
authorized and directed to enforce and administer these
regulations with full power and authority to take all
appropriate actions to ensure proper administration and
compliance.

2. Application(s) for permission to operate shall be
made by letter giving the names of the parishes where the
geophysical exploration is to be conducted. Written
permission to operate shall be valid for a period of one year
from date of approval, unless otherwise specified. In order to
obtain and maintain permission to operate, an applicant shall
furnish the department a surety bond in the amount of no
less than $100,000 per project from a bonding company
licensed to do business in the state of Louisiana and to
whom A.M. Best and Company has given an "B+/7" or
better rating. Bond forms may be obtained from the
department. The bond shall be filed by the applicant prior to
issuance of any permission to operate. Said bond shall
guarantee payment of all inspector fees, all compensation for
damage to public lands, and water bottoms (including,
without limitation, damages for failure to remove equipment
and trash), oysters, fish and other aquatic life, and/or other
natural resources, man-made canals, bulkheads, rights-of-
way and structures for which said applicant may be legally
liable, and which may be suffered by the state of Louisiana.
The bond shall also guarantee any and all fees in whole and
in part for services rendered by the department and its
offices in accordance with regulations of the Department of

Wildlife and Fisheries or the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission and all applicable penalties, and any other
liabilities to the state of Louisiana incurred by the applicant
during the geophysical operations. Applicants must also
supply the department with proof of general liability
insurance in the amount of $2,000,000. The policy must be
issued by an insurer approved by the department, and
specifically cover all damage to land, water bottoms, oysters,
fish and other aquatic life, or other natural resources, man-
made canals, bulkheads, rights-of-way, and other structures
for which permittee may be legally liable. In addition,
permittees applying for a renewal of the letter of permission
to operate must have demonstrated a record of sound
business practices by making timely payments of seismic
fees to the department, and by being in complete compliance
with the department's regulations including those regulations
requiring notifications and timely submission of seismic
exploration data daily reports.

3.a. The department may, after 10 working days written
notice to permittee, suspend or cancel the seismic letter of
permission to operate granted pursuant hereto for failure by
the permittee, to make timely payment to the department for
obligations owed to the state of Louisiana for the following:

i.  any compensation for damage to public lands,
water bottoms, oysters, fish and other aquatic life, or other
natural resources, man-made canals, bulkheads, rights-of-
way and structures for which said permittee may be legally
liable;

ii. any fees for services rendered by LDWF
personnel in overseeing geophysical exploration; and

iii.  any applicable penalties.

b. The permittee shall be entitled to a hearing upon
written request, made within the 10 working day notice
period, to the secretary or his designee, to review the
circumstances prompting the department to suspend or
cancel his letter of permission to operate. This hearing shall
be held as soon as practicable.

B. Authorization, Written Comments and Public
Hearing. Prior to the granting of authorization by the
Department, the permittee shall:

1. submit a detailed project description along with a
map of the exact project location and geographic extent (an
ESRI shapefile projected in NAD 83, UTM is preferred) for
comparison with department databases of threatened,
endangered, or sensitive wildlife and fisheries resources and
a similar map on an 8.5 inch x 11 inch page.

2. pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, hold
not less than one public hearing in the vicinity of the seismic
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operation to receive comments and recommendations from
government agencies, property owners, lessees, residents,
and all interested parties. The permittee shall give its first
notice at least 30 days prior to the hearing;

a. Maps, as provided to the department in
connection with the authorization request and information
designating the permittee's contact persons during the
geophysical operations, shall be made available to the public
for review at this meeting.

3. notices referred to in this Section will be published
in the official journal of each parish in which the seismic
operation is located in four separate issues. Additional
notices should be posted in or on appropriate public places
in the area of operations at the direction of the department;

4. the permittee shall notify each parish governing
authority of the hearing by letter to its chief executive
officer;

5. the permittee shall provide all interested parties and
the public, the opportunity to submit written comment on the
seismic operation;

6. the comment period shall begin with the first
publication in any official parish journal;

7. the comment period shall end upon adjournment of
the final public hearing.

C. Department shall make a decision whether to grant or
deny the authorization within 30 days after the adjournment
of the final hearing.

D. Denial of Authorization. The department shall deny
an authorization of the seismic operation if, after a full and
thorough evaluation, the department finds that the proposed
or alternative use would unreasonably injure fish, seafood,
aquatic life, oysters, wildlife or other living natural resources
of the state, or their habitats.

E. Authorization Conditions
1. Inissuing any authorization, the department may:

a. require conditions in the use and may require that
appropriate steps be taken to minimize and/or offset the
detrimental effects on the natural and physical features and
resources as a condition to the granting of the authorization.

F. Final Decision. The final decision by the department
on any seismic operations shall:

1. beinthe form of a written report;
2. be part of the record of the decision;
3. include an evaluation of potential impacts; and

4. give full and meaningful consideration and
appropriate weight to the comments from the state and local
government authorities, interested parties and the public.

G. Modification and Revocation. The department may
modify or revoke an authorization for any adjudicated
violation of the authorization conditions, the statutes or these
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regulations or intentional misrepresentation of a material fact
on the permit application or authorization request.

H. Appeals of Final Decision. Any person who is denied
an authorization by the department may challenge the
department’s decision in an administrative hearing pursuant
to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act.

I.  Permittees shall notify the department before
beginning any geophysical exploration on a "Notification of
Beginning of Seismic Operations” furnished by the
department. The permittee shall provide the department with
the names and telephone numbers of appropriate designated
contact persons. The "Notification of Beginning of Seismic
Operations" shall be accompanied by a map on an 8.5 inch x
11 inch page showing the outline of the project or line. The
permittee also shall furnish the department with a certified
copy of the information filed with the appropriate parish
clerk of court in accordance with R.S. 30:217. The permittee
shall submit notification to the department of interruption or
cessation of work. If a change in the prospect or line is
necessary, the permittee will provide a new plat indicating
the change. If a change on the prospect or line affects
different properties, or leasehold interests, the permittee will
provide a new plat indicating the new prospect or line, and
no work will begin until this change has been furnished to
the department and the department has reviewed it with
regard to threatened, endangered, or sensitive wildlife and
fisheries resources. The granting of permission to operate
does not give the permittee the right to trespass on, or
conduct activities on private properties, nor does it relieve
the permittee of the responsibility for damages to private
property.

J. Each geophysical exploration crew working in the
state of Louisiana shall always be under the supervision of
the department. A seismic inspector may be present during
the shooting operations of the permittee to which he or she is
assigned.

1. The department representative shall have access to
all records, including without limitation, shot point location
maps, and shooters' logs and tracings, but only to the extent
necessary to determine compliance with these regulations.
Any and all proprietary or confidential information viewed
or obtained by any department representative or seismic
inspector shall be maintained in strict confidence as
mandated for disclosures of seismic data under R.S. 30:215.
No permittee shall be required to submit to the department
any document or thing containing such confidential,
proprietary information, if such document would, thereby,
become a public record.

2. The party chief or party manager shall instruct the
members of his party as to the requirements of these rules
and regulations, and to the duty and authority of the
department and the seismic inspector.

3. The party chief or party manager shall furnish the
department’s representative with whatever reasonable and
appropriate transportation is needed to allow him to visit the
working areas and shall transport the department’s
representative to whatever locations he or she requests. The
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department acknowledges that, when the permittee is
providing transportation for the seismic inspector or other
representative of the department under these regulations or
other applicable law, that the permittee is fulfilling a state
mandated function and shall not be responsible, in any way,
for any decisions, instructions, actions, or omissions of such
seismic inspector or other department representative.

4. The seismic inspector has the right to suspend any
particular operation (e.g., surveying, drilling, shooting, or
picking up equipment) or any portion of an operation, if it
violates the department’s rules and regulations.

a.  Written notice of violations shall be provided to
the permittee's designated contact person as soon as
practicable. Corrective action taken by the permittee and
approved by the department should dissolve the order for
suspension issued by the seismic inspector.

b. The permittee may request a hearing from the
secretary or his designee to review the circumstances of any
suspension of geophysical survey activities. This hearing
shall be convened as soon as practicable, but in any event
within 10 working days after the written request for a
hearing. The department shall provide the permittee with due
notice and the opportunity to participate.

5. The department recognizes that conflicts may arise
from time to time between parties regarding access to and
use of public waters, water bottoms, public lands and natural
resources. In the event that such conflicts cannot be
otherwise resolved, the department may, at the discretion of
the secretary or his designee, restrict, regulate, or suspend
such potentially or actually conflicting activities as may be
necessary to provide reasonable and safe access to said
public resources. The department shall provide the
permittee's designated contact person at least five working
days written notice prior to any suspension, restriction, or
regulation of geophysical survey operations due to user
conflicts. The permittee may request a hearing from the
secretary or his designee to review the circumstances of the
department's restriction, regulation or suspension of
geophysical activities. This hearing shall be convened as
soon as practicable, but at any event within 10 working days
after written request for a hearing. The department shall
provide all interested parties with due notice and opportunity
to participate.

6. No seismic inspector shall have the right to release
any permittee from the obligations imposed by these rules
and regulations. Variances from these regulations may be
granted by the department only after written application by
the permittee setting forth reasons therefore. The release,
signed by the secretary or his designee, will designate the
particular area and rule affected, and the procedures to be
followed in lieu of any established rule. The secretary or his
designee may provide this information to appropriate
interested parties upon request.

K. The permittee must make a separate report for each
day, whether or not shooting is in progress. Daily reports
must furnish complete information as indicated by the report

form, and must be signed by the party chief or party
manager.

L. No geophysical exploration work shall be conducted
on any wildlife refuge, waterfowl refuge, Louisiana
designated scenic river, game preserve, fish preserve or
hatchery, or public oyster seed ground reservation without
written permission from the department through the division
in charge of such refuge, preserve, river, hatchery, public
oyster seed ground or reservation. While operating on any
wildlife refuge, waterfowl refuge, Louisiana designated
scenic river, game preserve, fish preserve or hatchery or
public oyster seed ground or reservation, the permittee must
abide by all rules and regulations of said area, in addition to
these seismic regulations to the extent they apply.

M. Boats, marsh buggies, airboats, or other types of
marsh vehicles, when used, must be used so as to cause the
minimum disturbance or damage to the lands, water
bottoms, and wildlife and fisheries resources thereon. When
working on wildlife management areas, wildlife refuges,
Louisiana designated scenic rivers, fish preserves or
hatcheries, or public oyster seed grounds or reservations, the
permittee will coordinate with the supervisor in charge of the
area as to rules of the area. Rules, regulations and fees may
vary from one such area to another.

N. No marsh buggies shall have contact with any oyster
reef or bed, including state-owned natural reefs, nor shall
any explosives or other energy sources be discharged within
250 feet of any oyster reef or bed, including any state-owned
natural reefs, without permission from the lessee of the reef
or bed, and the department. The department will review all
projects in designated public oyster seed grounds and
reservations.

O. Geophysical permittees are required to furnish an
oyster lease plat to each affected oyster lessee showing the
proposed number of shot points on line and their proposed
location. Geophysical permittees are required to furnish
notice to oyster lease applicants of the proposed crossing of
water bottoms for which said applicant has applied for an
oyster lease, provided said application(s) has been plotted on
the departments map(s).

P. All pipe used in geophysical operations must be
removed to at least 6 feet below the surface of the ground, or
6 feet below the bottom in water areas, before finally leaving
the shot point. No pipes shall be left unattended on land or in
water.

Q. All parties using pipe in water areas must have clearly
welded or stamped at each end of each joint the name or
abbreviation of the name of the permittee using the pipe. All
equipment including cables, boxes, geophones, staff poles,
anchors, buoys, etc., must be permanently tagged with the
name of the permittee. All 2 x 2's used for survey lines must
be clearly stamped with the name of the permittee using the
stakes at approximately 3-foot intervals. These stakes must
be removed immediately upon completion of the project. All
cane poles must be removed immediately upon completion
of the project. Anchors shall be marked, stamped, or tagged
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to identify the permittee who deployed them, and shall be
secured to an appropriately marked buoy, vessel, or float.

R. Permittees shall comply with the U.S. Coast Guard
and/or the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers' rules and
regulations for marking and lighting material and/or
equipment in navigable waters. In addition, all survey buoys
used in geophysical operations should be colored fluorescent
green (or other approved color) to mark receivers, and
fluorescent orange (or other approved color) to mark the
source line or shot line as well as show the name of the
permittee. All such floats in areas of seismic operations shall
use floating line.

S. No explosives shall be discharged knowingly within
1,000 feet of a boat without notice being given to such boat
so that it may move from the area.

T. Permittees shall not be assessed any special permit
fees to conduct geophysical survey operations on water
bottoms designated as public oyster seed grounds or
reservations, but shall comply with the provisions and
conditions of any applicable Coastal Use Permit issued
pursuant to R.S. 49:214.30, including any requirement to
perform a water bottom assessment or provide
mitigation/compensation for damages to any oyster seed
ground or reservation. The department may utilize a portion
of the funds received from geophysical and geological
survey activity occurring on state lands, including water
bottoms, under the provisions of R.S. 30:212(D) and funds
received under the provisions of R.S. 30:136.1(D), for
purposes of planting cultch, rehabilitating areas damaged by
seismic operations, and as mitigation for any other damage
to the coastal area. The determination of the amount to be
used shall be based upon the amount of geophysical and
geological survey activity occurring on any designated
oyster seed ground or reservation and the need for such
restoration.

U. Persistent gas and water discharges caused by drilling
or shooting operations of seismic crews will be stopped
immediately by the permittee.

V. Explosive charges or multiple charges in the same
shot hole in excess of 50 pounds shall not be used except
pursuant to express written authorization from the secretary
or his designee. Requests for the use of such charges and
other variances from the charge sizes, hole depths, and/or
setback requirements must be made in writing, giving the
reasons why such charges are needed, the particulars of
charge sizes, hole depths, patterns of deployment, and
setback from potentially sensitive environments. Such
requests should be addressed to the department. Variances
shall not be unreasonably withheld or delayed. All
documents submitted to the department in connection with
requests for variances shall be public records; therefore, any
confidential proprietary information required for review of a
variance request may be submitted orally or by
demonstrative presentation referenced in the written
application, but the underlying confidential information shall
not be disclosed in the written request filed with the
department. The permittee may request a hearing to review
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all determinations, decisions, and regulations imposed with
regard to requested variances, as set forth in 8301.J.4.b
above. The secretary or his designee may provide this
information to appropriate interested parties upon request.

W.1. Minimum required depth of charges shall be as
follows for shots detonated in holes.

Minimum
Weight of Charge Required Depth

1 pound or less 10 feet

Charges of 1 pound or less may only be used in upland areas. In addition,
the hole must be tamped before shooting and the charge must be shot on
the same day it is placed.

Between 1 pound and 2 pounds 25 feet
2 pounds up to 5 pounds 40 feet
5 pounds up to 20 pounds 60 feet
20 pounds up to 30 pounds 70 feet
30 pounds up to 40 pounds 100 feet
40 pounds up to 50 pounds 120 feet

No part of the charge shall be above minimum required depth.

2. The use of suspended charges as energy sources is
prohibited unless a variance is granted by the secretary or his
designee. If permitted, the secretary or his designee shall
then set forth requirements to minimize the effect on wildlife
and fisheries resources.

X. Detonation of seismic explosive charges will be
allowed only during daylight hours. Variances to this rule
may be requested as set forth in §301.V. Permittees shall
notify the department of 24 hour airgun operations prior to
beginning such operations. The department may, after
review of the details of such night operations and areas
affected thereby, impose additional restrictions, regulations
or requirements upon such operations as may be reasonable
and necessary for the protection of public waters, water
bottoms, lands, and wildlife. No shooting will be allowed in
heavy fog. The permittee may request a hearing to review all
determinations, decisions, and regulations imposed with
regard to night operations and weather conditions, as
provided for in §301.J.4.b.

Y. In accordance with good industry practice, permittee
shall, after drilling and loading shot holes, backfill holes
with cuttings or another material authorized by the
department, and place the shot hole plug near the surface to
avoid wash-in.

Z. All equipment including boxes, cables, staff poles,
poles, anchors, etc., must be cleared from project areas
before the permittee leaves the area. The permittee shall
confirm in writing to the department that all its equipment,
materials, and refuse have been cleared from the project
area. Said letter of confirmation shall be a public record.
Variances from this rule may be granted by the department if
accompanied by a written request from an affected
landowner or agency. The secretary or his designee may
provide this information to appropriate interested parties
upon request.

AA. A fee of $135 per day will be charged to geophysical
permittees. All payments will be made by the permittees
directly to the department on or before the fifteenth of each
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month. No payments are to be made to the seismic
inspectors.  Seismic inspectors shall make and the
department shall maintain written records of the inspectors'
work in connection with each geophysical project,
identifying the date, time, location, nature of the inspector's
work, and the permittee involved.

BB. All geophysical permittees conducting operations
shall exercise reasonable precaution and act in accordance
with approved and accepted methods to prevent destruction
of, or injury to the fish, oysters, shrimp and other aquatic
life, wildlife or other living natural resources of the state of
Louisiana, or their habitats.

CC. Any violation of these or other rules promulgated by
the commission or the department for the regulation of
geophysical operations, or the refusal of any permittee or its
employees to comply fully with all orders and requirements
which may be made by authorized personnel of the
department at the time the exploration is conducted, or any
attempt to unduly influence any seismic inspector to abstain
from the enforcement of these regulations shall constitute
cause for suspension or cancellation of the "permission to
operate”, cessation of all exploration work, and
disqualification of the party chief, party manager, field
manager, and/or the permittee involved from future
operations in this state. The permittee may request a hearing
from the secretary or his designee to review the particular
circumstances prompting the department to suspend or
cancel his letter of permission to operate per the provisions
of 8301.J.4.b.

DD. These rules and regulations supersede all other rules
and regulations issued prior to this date, and are subject to
change by the department and the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:212, R.S. 30:214, R.S. 30:215, R.S. 30:216, R.S. 36:609 and
R.S. 56:30.4.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
4:300 (August 1978), amended LR 10:410 (May 1984), LR 13:115
(February 1987), LR 18:509 (May 1992), LR 25:321 (February
1999), LR 49:1270 (July 2023).

Subchapter B. Enforcement

8305. Responsibilities and Powers of Enforcement
Officers

A. Responsibilities of the Chief of the Enforcement
Division and Law Enforcement Officers

1. The chief of the Enforcement Division of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries shall be responsible for
the adherence to and implementation of these regulations
and the rules of evidence relating to seizures and criminal
prosecution.

2. In any investigation or arrest where objects (guns,
nets, traps, boats, motors, or other evidence) are vital to the
case and necessary for prosecution they will be seized, and
properly tagged. Receipts are to be issued for seized items.
All seized equipment shall be turned in immediately to the

Enforcement Division regional supervisor who shall be
responsible for maintaining records and providing secure
storage. However, the agent seizing any gun, net, boat,
motor, or other evidence is responsible if the items seized are
lost, stolen, or damaged while in his possession. All gear
including, but not limited to boats, motors, guns, nets,
trawls, vehicles, lights, and traps when found abandoned or
unattended and used in violation of law shall be seized and
turned in to the department immediately. Any game birds,
game quadrupeds, game fish, commercial fish, nongame
quadrupeds, and endangered and protected species seized in
connection with abandoned or unattended equipment shall
be disposed of in accordance with the following procedures.

3. The department, through the Enforcement Division,
shall maintain records of all seizures, forfeitures, and
releases and shall obtain an appropriate receipt from the
possessor or owner of any quadruped, fish, bird, net, trap,
gun, boat, light or other equipment, or the proceeds from the
sale thereof, that is released by the department.

4. Any release of the above based upon a withdrawal
or nolle pros of the charges shall require a certified copy of
the said withdrawal or nolle pros to be filed with the chief of
the Enforcement Division before the seized items can be
released.

5. All proceeds from any sale of any quadruped, fish,
bird, or equipment which is not ordered returned to the
possessor or owner thereof shall be deposited in the
Conservation Fund unless otherwise provided by statute or
Deed of Donation, subject to a reasonable administrative
cost to be retained by the agency selling on behalf of the
department.

B. Perishable Evidence and Live Animals
1. Perishable Evidence

a. Game Quadrupeds, Game Birds, Outlaw Birds,
Game Fish, and Commercial Fish Which Cannot Be Sold

i. All game quadrupeds, game birds, outlaw
birds, game fish and commercial fish which, because of
illegal size or other factors, cannot be sold, which are seized
by agents, officers or employees of the department, or other
peace officers of the state, shall be donated to charitable
organizations, or persons receiving social welfare benefits
(i.e., food stamps or aid to families with dependent children).
Donations to persons receiving social welfare benefits shall
be subject to applicable laws and regulations governing
possession limits. If donation is not possible, then the
reasons therefor shall be reflected in the case report, and the
seized animals shall be destroyed.

ii.  The officer, agent, or employee donating game
quadrupeds, game birds or game fish shall obtain a receipt
(Form ED-16) which shall be attached to the offense report
of the violation in which the quadrupeds or fish were seized.
Additionally, where donations are made to persons receiving
social welfare benefits, the officer, agent or employee shall
also attach documentary evidence of the person's eligibility
for said benefits.

b. Commercial Fish and Nongame Quadrupeds
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i.  All commercial fish of legal size and nongame
quadrupeds, when seized by agents, officers or employees of
the department, or other peace officers of the state shall be
sold, whenever possible, by the officer making the seizure.

ii. The officer shall obtain three bids from
licensed dealers, if and when possible, and shall sell to the
highest bidder.

iii.  The offense report of the violation in which the
fish and nongame quadrupeds were seized shall reflect the
names of the companies, the amounts of the bids and the
names of the persons making the bids. The money recovered
from such sale shall be delivered to the chief of the
Enforcement Division and kept in escrow by the department
until final disposition of the criminal charges. In the event
the arresting and seizing officer cannot obtain a sale, the
commercial fish and nongame quadrupeds will be donated in
accordance with the provisions of Subparagraph B.l.a
above, or held by the department until it is no longer needed
for prosecution, at which time it shall be destroyed or
disposed of as the secretary of the department shall
determine.

c. Oysters and Menhaden. Oysters and menhaden or
other herring-like fishes shall be disposed of in accordance
with the provisions of R.S. 56:58(C) and (D).

d. Protected or Endangered Species. Protected or
endangered species shall be retained, or an evidentiary
sample in accordance with Subparagraph B.1l.e below shall
be retained, until the case is resolved and it is no longer
needed for evidence, at which time it shall be donated for
scientific or educational purposes as determined by the
secretary. If no such donation is possible, it shall be
destroyed.

e. Evidentiary Sample. With regard to all perishable
evidence upon which criminal charges are pending and
which is to be donated or sold in accordance with
Subparagraphs B.1.a, b or ¢ above, the following procedure
shall be employed prior to the sale or donation.

i.  Remove tag, and keep an evidentiary sample to
be destroyed or donated in accordance with Subparagraph
B.1.d above upon disposition of case.

ii.  Take pictures of entire lot of seizure.

f.  Unfitness for Human Consumption. Should the
seizing officers have reason to believe that the seized
animal(s) is unfit for human consumption, then it shall not
be sold or donated (except for scientific or educational
purposes) and shall be destroyed.

2. Live Animals. All live quadrupeds, live birds or live
fish seized in connection with violation shall be returned to
its wild habitat or the waters of the state of Louisiana, if
possible. If this is not possible or feasible for reasons as
determined by the chief of the Enforcement Division, or for
biological reasons as determined by department staff, the
live quadrupeds, live birds and live fish confiscated and
seized shall be donated by the department to zoos or other
appropriate educational and scientific research institutions,
or at the discretion of the secretary in accordance with the
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provisions of Clause B.1.a.i. If donation is not appropriate
then said animals shall be destroyed.

C. Nets, Traps, Guns, Boats, Lights and Other
Equipment

1. General Provisions

a. All nets, traps, guns, boats, lights and other
equipment shall be held as evidence by the department until
there is a final disposition of the charges or until ordered
released by the court with jurisdiction of the violation. Said
release or order shall be in writing and directed to the
secretary of the department. All such equipment which has
been forfeited, or which is unclaimed or unreleased for a
period of three years, shall be sold at public auction to the
highest bidder; provided, however, that if the equipment is
of illegal specifications or if the chief of the Enforcement
Division determines that sale is not economically feasible
because of the value of the items, transportation costs or
other factors, then said equipment shall be destroyed or shall
be used in accordance with Paragraph C.2, in the secretary's
discretion.

b. Equipment of illegal specifications is that which
by design, size, length, mesh size, material composition or
construction cannot be lawfully used for the taking of
quadrupeds, birds, fish or other resources in the state of
Louisiana.

2. Use of Equipment by Department Personnel. All
seized nets, traps, guns, boats, lights and other equipment
which the department has held for three years, or which has
been forfeited to the department or the commission, may be
used by department personnel as determined by the
secretary, including, but not limited to, enforcement,
research and educational purposes such as displays and
hunter's education. This disposition and use may be
exercised in lieu of sale when the secretary determines that it
is in the best interest of the department.

3. Unattended Nets. All unattended nets which remain
unclaimed for a period of 30 days shall be sold, used or
destroyed in accordance with the above provisions.

4. Rods, Reels, Tackle and Nets. In addition to the
other allowable methods of disposal provided for in this
Subsection, and notwithstanding any other provisions of this
Subsection, all rods, reels, fishing poles, tackle and nets
may, upon the passage or occurrence of all pertinent time
periods or events provided for in Subparagraph C.1.a supra,
be donated to bona fide charitable organizations, youth
groups or schools. This disposition may be exercised in lieu
of other dispositions when the secretary determines it is in
the best interest of the department.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:60.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:554 (July 1989), amended LR 29:2516 (November 2003).

8307. Reserve Enforcement Agents

A. General
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1. R.S. 56:69.9 provides for the commissioning of
retired wildlife enforcement agents as reserve enforcement
agents in order to supplement the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries law enforcement program. Reserve agents
bring with them experience and skills not normally found in
entry-level, full time agents. Reserve agents may be assigned
to law enforcement related functions, community service
functions and may also be used as a resource in emergencies
and large-scale special events.

2. Reserve agents may be called upon to perform the
same duties and accept the same hazards and responsibilities
as full-time wildlife enforcement agents. Educational level,
experience, physical condition, and other selection criteria
applicable to full-time agents apply equally to reserve
agents.

3. Only retired wildlife enforcement agents who
retired under the provisions of R.S. 11:582 shall qualify to
become reserve wildlife enforcement agents. Eligibility for
initial application shall be from the official date of
retirement. There shall be no more than 50 active
commissioned reserve agents. The chief of the enforcement
division may make recommendations to the secretary of the
department concerning commissioning of reserve agents.
The secretary of the department may commission qualified
reserve agents and shall have authority to revoke reserve
agent commissions at any time. No commission shall be
issued for a period greater than one year but may be renewed
annually upon satisfactory completion of training
requirement as provided by R.S. 56:69.7 and policy and
procedure.

B. Work Performance and Training Requirements

1. Commissioned reserve agents shall have the powers
of and may function as a wildlife enforcement agent when
under the direct supervision of a full time employed wildlife
enforcement agent. Commissioned reserve agents are
prohibited from taking enforcement action unless under the
direct supervision of, and accompanied by, a wildlife
enforcement agent. This prohibition shall not preclude
reserve agents from performing activities such as
surveillance, hunter/boater education training, and public
outreach when unaccompanied by a wildlife agent, as long
as all activities are under the direction of a wildlife
enforcement agent. Reserve agents shall serve at the
direction of the regional or section supervisor and may be
assigned monthly in accordance with desired needs.

2. Reserve agents are limited in their enforcement
authority and may not directly issue citations or make
arrests, but can only assist wildlife agents in these duties.
Reserve agents may serve as witnesses in any court
proceeding relevant to their role as a commissioned reserve
agent.

3. The provisions of Chapter 10 of Title 23 of the
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, pertaining to worker's
compensation, shall not apply to reserve agents. A reserve
agent will be required to sign a statement attesting that he
has read and understands these rules and the conditions of
his being commissioned as a reserve agent. He shall also

provide evidence of insurance coverage for personal health
and accident insurance. The department shall provide
comprehensive general liability insurance, including
personal injury coverage for third parties.

4. Serving as a reserve agent is a purely voluntary
undertaking and no person commissioned under these
provisions shall receive any compensation whatsoever for
time or expenses incurred while in training or while in the
performance of his/her duties as a reserve agent. The
department may provide each reserve agent with a uniform;
however such uniform shall identify the reserve agent as
being reserve.

5. Reserve enforcement agents shall be required to
maintain refresher training annually on fish and wildlife law,
regulations, and rules, POST firearms re-qualification, use of
force and any other statutorily required training for full time
law enforcement officers performing like functions. The
enforcement division may provide such training for reserve
enforcement agents. Qualifying standards shall be identical
to those of regular officers.

6. Reserve enforcement agents shall be required to
comply with all provisions of Title 56 and other state and
federal law as applicable.

C. Cases for Revocation of Commissions

1. Cases for revocation of reserve commissions shall
include but shall not be limited to situations where:

a. the reserve agent is convicted of a felony, a
misdemeanor, or any wildlife or fishery violation;

b. the reserve agent fails to perform as required by
his supervising wildlife agent;

c. the reserve agent receives an unfavorable
recommendation from his supervisor;

d. the reserve agent fails to maintain the minimum
insurance coverage as provided in R.S. 56:69.12. It shall be
the responsibility of the reserve agent to provide proof
annually of personal health and injury insurance. The chief
of enforcement shall maintain copies of such insurance in
each reserve agent's file. Insurance information shall be
forwarded to the department's human resources section;

e. the reserve agent fails to comply with any other
rule or requirement the secretary or chief of enforcement
may require;

f. a reserve agent violates departmental or
enforcement division policy;

g. a reserve agent engages in misconduct or
insubordination.

2. It shall be the responsibility of the regional captain
or section supervisor to monitor and maintain records on all
reserve enforcement agents assigned to perform duties
within their respective jurisdictions, insure compliance with
policies and procedures and report through the chain of
command of any violations thereof.
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3. The chief of enforcement shall also maintain a file
on all active reserve agents, which shall include
documentation required to maintain active status as a reserve
agent.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:69.13.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Secretary, LR 32:646 (April
2006).

8309. Wildlife Violator Compact
A. Definitions

1. Asused in this compact, unless the context requires
otherwise:

Citation—any summons, complaint, summons and
complaint, ticket, penalty assessment, or other official
document issued to a person by a wildlife officer or other
peace officer for a wildlife violation which contains an order
requiring the person to respond.

Collateral—any cash or other security deposited to
secure an appearance for trial in connection with the
issuance by a wildlife officer or other peace officer of a
citation for a wildlife violation.

Compliance—with respect to a citation means the act
of answering a citation through an appearance in a court or
tribunal, or through the payment of fines, costs, and
surcharges, if any.

Conviction—a conviction, including any court
conviction, for any offense related to the preservation,
protection, management, or restoration of wildlife which is
prohibited by state statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or
administrative rule, and such conviction shall also include
the forfeiture of any bail, bond, or other security deposited to
secure appearance by a person charged with having
committed any such offense, the payment of a penalty
assessment, a plea of nolo contendere and the imposition of
a deferred or suspended sentence by the court.

Court—a court of law, including magistrate's court
and the justice of the peace court.

Home State—the state of primary residence of a
person.

Issuing State—the participating state which issues a
wildlife citation to the violator.

License—any license, permit, or other public
document which conveys to the person to whom it was
issued the privilege of pursuing, possessing, or taking any
wildlife regulated by statute, law, regulation, ordinance, or
administrative rule of a participating state.

Licensing Authority—the department or division
within each participating state which is authorized by law to
issue or approve licenses or permits to hunt, fish, trap, or
possess wildlife.

Participating  State—any state which enacts
legislation to become a member of this wildlife compact.
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Personal Recoghizance—an agreement by a person
made at the time of issuance of the wildlife citation that such
person will comply with the terms of the citation.

State—any state, territory, or possession of the United
States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of
Puerto Rico, the Provinces of Canada, and other countries.

Suspension—any revocation, denial, or withdrawal of
any or all license privileges, including the privilege to apply
for, purchase, or exercise the benefits conferred by any
license.

Terms of the Citation—those conditions and options
expressly stated upon the citation.

Wildlife—all species of animals including, but not
limited to, mammals, birds, fish, reptiles, amphibians,
mollusks, and crustaceans, which are defined as "wildlife"
and are protected or otherwise regulated by statute, law,
regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule in a
participating state. Species included in the definition of
"wildlife" vary from state to state and determination of
whether a species is "wildlife" for the purposes of this
compact shall be based on local law.

Wildlife Law—any statute, law, regulation, ordinance,
or administrative rule developed and enacted for the
management of wildlife resources and the uses thereof.

Wildlife Officer—any individual authorized by a
participating state to issue a citation for a wildlife violation.

Wildlife Violation—any cited violation of a statute,
law, regulation, ordinance, or administrative rule developed
and enacted for the management of wildlife resources and
the uses thereof.

B. Procedures for Issuing State

1. When issuing a citation for a wildlife violation, a
wildlife officer shall issue a citation to any person whose
primary residence is in a participating state in the same
manner as though the person were a resident of the issuing
state and shall not require such person to post collateral to
secure appearance, subject to the exceptions noted in
Paragraph 2 of this Subsection, if the officer receives the
recognizance of such person that he will comply with the
terms of the citation.

2. Personal recognizance is acceptable:

a. if not prohibited by local law, issuing agency
policy, procedure or regulation, or by the compact manual;
and

b. if the violator provides adequate proof of
identification to the wildlife officer.

3. Upon conviction or failure of a person to comply
with the terms of a wildlife citation, the appropriate official
shall report the conviction or failure to comply to the
licensing authority of the participating state in which the
wildlife citation was issued. The report shall be made in
accordance with procedures specified by the issuing state
and shall contain information as specified in the compact
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manual as minimum requirements for effective processing
by the home state.

4. Upon receipt of the report of conviction or
noncompliance pursuant to paragraph 3 of this subsection,
the licensing authority of the issuing state shall transmit to
the licensing authority of the home state of the violator the
information in form and content as prescribed in the compact
manual.

C. Procedure for Home State

1. Upon receipt of a report from the licensing
authority of the issuing state reporting the failure of a
violator to comply with the terms of a citation, the licensing
authority of the home state shall notify the violator and shall
initiate a suspension action in accordance with the home
state's suspension procedures and shall suspend the violator's
license privileges until satisfactory evidence of compliance
with the terms of the wildlife citation has been furnished by
the issuing state to the home state licensing authority. All
member states may honor a suspension based on failure to
comply. Due process safeguards will be accorded.

2. Upon receipt of a report of conviction from the
licensing authority of the issuing state, the licensing
authority of the home state shall enter such conviction in its
records and shall treat such conviction as though it occurred
in the home state for the purposes of the suspension of
license privileges.

3. The licensing authority of the home state shall
maintain a record of actions taken and shall make reports to
issuing states as provided in the compact manual.

D. Reciprocal Recognition of Suspension

1. All participating states shall recognize the
suspension of license privileges of any person by any
participating state as though the violation resulting in the
suspension had occurred in their state and could have been
the basis for suspension of license privileges in their state.

2. [Each participating state shall communicate
suspension information to other participating states in form
and content as contained in the compact manual.

E. Applicability of Other Laws

1. Except as expressly required by provisions of this
compact, nothing herein shall be construed to affect the right
of any participating state to apply any of its laws relating to
license privileges to any person or circumstance or to
invalidate or prevent any agreement or other cooperative
arrangement between a participating state and a
nonparticipating state concerning wildlife law enforcement.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:69.21-R.S. 56:69.31.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
35:2858 (December 2009).

Subchapter C. Hunter Safety
Program

§312. Hunter Education Program Certification Policy

A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission shall be the
sole authority for establishing minimum requirements for
certification of student and volunteer instructors and for the
overall administration of the Louisiana Hunter Education
Program. The Louisiana Hunter Education Program shall
meet the minimum performance guidelines for the basic
hunter education course as set forth by the International
Hunter Education Association-USA Hunter Education
Standards.

B. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries shall
maintain an electronic database of all students and active
instructors who have successfully met the requirements for
certification.

C. Requirements for hunter education student
certification shall be as follows:

1. Provide at least the following information:
a. legal name;
b. date of birth;
c. state of residency;

d. State-issued driver’s license or identification
number or last four digits of social security humber;

e. physical and mailing address;

f. a valid email address for purposes of electronic
document delivery.

2. Demonstrate sufficient knowledge and
understanding of safe hunting practices, firearm safety, and
conservation principles by successfully completing one of
the following courses:

a. For classroom based hunter education course:

i. attend the required classroom instruction as
approved by the Louisiana Hunter Education Program;

ii.  successfully complete a written exam prepared
by the Louisiana Hunter Education Program;

iii.  demonstrate the ability to safely handle hunting
firearms

b. For computer based hunter education course:

i. complete the required computer based hunter
education instruction as approved by the Louisiana Hunter
Education Program;

ii.  successfully complete a computer based exam
prepared by the Louisiana Hunter Education Program.

c. For blended computer based and field day
combination course:
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i. complete the required computer based hunter
education instruction as approved by the Louisiana Hunter
Education Program;

ii.  successfully complete a computer based exam
prepared by the Louisiana Hunter Education Program;

iii.  successfully complete the required field day
instruction as approved by the Louisiana Hunter Education
Program.

D. Requirements for bowhunter education certification
shall be as follows:

1. successfully complete the required bowhunter
education course as approved by the Louisiana Hunter
Education Program in accordance with the National
Bowhunter Education Foundation standards;

E. Upon successful completion of any of the approved
courses, LDWF shall provide credentials documenting
course completion.

F. Minimum age for certification in all courses within
the Louisiana Hunter Education Program shall be as follows:

1. classroom based hunter education course—age 10;
2. computer based hunter education course—age 16;

3. blended computer based and field day combination
course—age 10.

G. All persons’ ages 10 and 11 who are hunter education
certified, while hunting in the state of Louisiana, are to be
accompanied by and under the direct supervision of a person
who is 18 years of age or older and has a valid hunting
license or proof of successful completion of a hunter
education course approved by the department in order for
that certification to be valid. Direct supervision means that
the person being supervised shall be within normal audible
voice proximity and in direct line of sight of the supervising
adult at all times.

H. Requirements for volunteer instructor certification
shall be as follows:

1. complete a minimum of 12 hours of classroom,
field, and/or computer based instruction as approved by the
Louisiana Hunter Education Program;

2. pass a written exam prepared by the Louisiana
Hunter Education Program;

3. demonstrate the ability to lead students through
exercises that exhibit the safe handling of hunting firearms;
and

4. upon successful completion of instructor training,
candidates shall be certified for an initial two-year period.
Recertification shall be contingent on continued
participation in the Louisiana Hunter Education Program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:699.3

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
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33:1396 (July 2007), amended LR 46:1613 (November 2020), LR
48:1107 (April 2022).

Subchapter D. Wildlife Values

Guidelines for Determining Fish and Wildlife
Values

8313.

A. The following are the guidelines utilized by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries in determining fish and
wildlife values.

1. With respect to fish and shellfish species, the
American Fisheries Society publishes hatchery values
reflecting estimated costs involved in rearing various
freshwater and saltwater fish. These figures, adjusted by the
Consumer Price Index; current data relating to expenditures
of both sport and commercial fishermen relating to the
animal or species which, directly or indirectly, result in
revenues being generated for the state; ex-vessel commercial
prices, as reported by the National Marine Fisheries Service
and the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Trip Ticket
Program; estimated costs involved in the capture, purchase,
transportation and release of species of fish; the current
commercial retail selling price of living replacement
animals; and, the current commercial selling price of meat
and/or other products which are derived from the animal and
traded in commerce, shall be considered by the department
in formulating its recommendations concerning valuation.

2. With respect to avian species, existing information
and estimated costs involved in the capture, purchase,
transportation and release of species of birds; cost to
purchase replacement animals from other states or
jurisdictions; the costs to zoos and other zoological
institutions to raise and maintain like animals; the current
commercial retail selling price of meat and/or other products
which are derived from the animal and traded in commerce;
and, the expenditures of sportsmen and others relating to the
animal or species which, directly or indirectly, result in
revenue being generated for the state, shall be considered by
the department in formulating its recommendations
concerning valuation.

3. With respect to mammal species, estimated costs
involved in the capture, purchase, transportation, and release
of species of mammals; pelt values; costs to zoos and other
zoological institutions to raise and maintain like animals; the
current commercial retail selling price of meat and/or other
products which are derived from the animal and traded in
commerce; and the expenditures of sportsmen and others
relating to the animal of species which, directly or indirectly,
result in revenue being generated for the state, shall be
considered by the department in formulating its
recommendations concerning valuation.

4. With respect to reptiles and amphibian species, the
estimated costs involved in the capture, purchase,
transportation and release of species of reptiles and
amphibians; pelt or hide values, costs to zoos and other
zoological institutions to raise and maintain the animal; the
current commercial retail selling price of meat and/or other
products which are derived from the animal and traded in
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commerce; and the expenditures of hunters, trappers, and
recreational sportsmen with respect to the animal or species
which, directly or indirectly, result in revenues being
generated for the state shall be considered by the department
in formulating its recommendations concerning valuation.

5. Certain species are highly prized because of their
rarity or may have a high intangible perceived value placed
on the animal or species by the public. Other species have an
intrinsically high value because they are threatened or
endangered. In addition to the guidelines set forth above, the
department shall, with respect to these rare and/or threatened
and/or endangered species which might have limited
commercial value but which possess a high intangible,
intrinsic, aesthetic, ecological, or biological value, consider
those factors when determining its recommendations with
respect to valuation.

6. Not all the criteria set forth in the guidelines above
will be applicable to each particular series and each criterion
or factor shall be considered by the department only insofar
as it is applicable to each particular species.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:40.1-40.9.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:200 (March 1989), amended LR 37:2434 (August 2011).

§315. Fish and Wildlife Values

A. All fish and wildlife species found within, or taken
from the state have value, regardless of whether a specific
value is provided herein. If a specific value is not provided
for in this Section, that species is not deemed to be without
value and its value may be determined.

B. Fish and Wildlife Values

1. Game Mammals and Game Birds

Deer ,Quality* $2,033.29
Deer, Non-Quality $1,624.61
Squirrels $20.32
Rabbits $31.71
Turkeys $1,539.37
Ducks $26.61
Geese $51.58
Coots $14.63
Gallinules and Rails $22.02
Snipe $19.94
Quail $43.01
Woodcock $59.81
Doves $14.27

1 Quality deer defined as buck with at least eight total
points, minimum spread of 13.5 inches and minimum beam
length of 16.5 inches using the Boone and Crockett Scoring
system defined in Measuring and Scoring North American Big
Game Trophies; Third Edition, by Nesbitt, William H. and
Wright, Philip L., updated by Buckner, Eldon L., Byers, C.
Randall, and Reneau, Jack, 2009.

2. Non-Game Animals

Raptors (Birds) $87.03
Other Birds $17.41
Frogs $6.12/b.
Turtles $ 3.87/lb.

11

Snakes, Other $9.00
Pine Snakes $ 150.00
Salamanders $5.00
Alligator (Eggs) $ 13.00/egg
Alligator, Other Than Albino $375.80
(Whole, Skin, or Meat?)

Mink $6.87
Fox $18.15
Muskrat $2.95
Raccoon $27.75
Otter $23.77
Bobcat $27.04
Marine Mammals $3,481.19
Other Mammals, Excluding $17.41
Outlawed Quadrupeds

2 For alligator meat, 23 pounds of deboned meat and 35
pounds of bone in carcass meat shall equate to one alligator.
Civil restitution penalty amounts for illegal possession of
alligator meat, absent the presence of other parts of the
animal(s), shall be based on the weight of the meat, with the
weight rounded up to the next number of whole alligators.

3. Federally Listed Threatened and Endangered
Species®

Reptiles (Adult
or Young)

Reptiles (Eggs)
Birds (Adult or

$4,351.49/animal

$4,351.49/violation
$4,351.49/animal

Young)

Birds (Eggs) $4,351.49/violation
Mammals $4,351.49/animal
Invertebrates $4,351.49/violation
Fish $4,351.49/animal
Amphibians $4,351.49/animal

3 See LAC 76:1.317 for a list of Threatened or Endangered
Species.

4. Species of Special Concern

Fish

Prohibited fish species as

found in LAC 76:V11.145,

LAC 76:VI1.337.A, and LAC
76:V11.357.B.4 excluding species

listed in LAC 76:1.317. $2,175.75/animal

Birds
Bald Eagle $4,351.49/animal
Brown Pelican $4,351.49/animal
Peregrine Falcon $4,351.49/animal
Mammals
Black Bear $10,000.00/animal
Cougars (Felis concolor couguar) $4,351.49/animal
Reptiles

Albino Alligator | $4,351.49/animal

5. All Fish Not Listed Elsewhere in This Rule

Marine Fish
Freshwater Fish

$1.14/Ib.
$0.62/Ib.

6. Recreational and Commercial Fishes

Value per Individual
Species Group Fish
Drum, Red $26.47
Spotted Seatrout $28.97
Snapper, Red $28.69
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Value per Individual

Species Group Fish
White Trout* $3.89
Flounder $16.08
Croaker $4.61
Bass, Largemouth $13.43
Bluegill $0.91
Crappies $5.37
Paddlefish® $341.72

4 Sand Seatrout and Silver Seatrout® For Paddlefish roe,
4.75 pounds of roe shall equate to one Paddlefish. Civil
restitution penalty amounts for illegal possession of Paddlefish
roe, absent the presence of other parts of the animal(s), shall
be based on the weight of the roe, with the weight rounded up
to the next number of whole Paddlefish.

7. Commercial Fish Species

Species Group Value/Lb®
Amberjacks $2.35
Other Jacks $1.34
Barracuda $1.54
Bonito, Atlantic $0.69
Bowfin’ $2.01
Buffalo $0.58
Butterfish $0.40
Carp $0.25
Catfish, Channel $1.16
Catfish, Sea $0.61
Catfish, Freshwater $0.97
Cobia $4.29
Crab, Blue $1.53
Crab, Stone $5.74
Crawfish, Wild $1.38
Dolphin (Fish) $1.83
Driftfish $2.75
Drum, Black $1.54
Drum, Freshwater $0.32
Eel, Freshwater $2.09
Gar $1.74
Grouper, Gag $5.32
Grouper, Yellowedge $6.38
Grouper, Other, Hinds and
Grunts $4.38
Kingfish and Whiting $0.85
Mackerel, King $2.97
Mackerel, Spanish $1.42
Menhaden $0.11
Mullet® $1.00
Qilfish and Escolar $1.47
Qyster (in-shell weight) $0.45
Pompano $6.35
Porgy $1.94
Shad $0.40
Shark, Shortfin Mako $1.52
Sharks, Other and Rays $0.62
Sheepshead $0.62
Shrimp $2.57
Snapper, Other $3.97
Squid $0.72
Swordfish $3.82
Tilefishes $3.06
Triggerfish $2.13
Tripletail $1.85
Tuna, Albacore $1.31
Tuna, Bigeye $5.76
Tuna, Blackfin $0.64
Tuna, Bluefin $8.80
Tuna, Other $0.78
Tuna, Yellowfin $6.84
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Species Group Value/Lb®
Wahoo $1.78

& All values listed are for whole form weight. When fish are
not in whole form, the conversion factors set out in Section
316, following, shall be applied to convert their product form
weight to whole form weight. If product form weight to whole
form weight conversion factor is not available for a particular
species and is thus not listed in Section 316, any data that is
collected in a scientific method to allow estimation of the
conversion factor from product form weight to whole form
weight for that species shall be allowed to be used to
determine civil restitution value for product form.” For bowfin
roe, weight of the roe should be multiplied by 1/.12 to convert
the roe to whole bowfin weight.® For mullet roe, weight of the
roe should be multiplied by 1/.18 to convert the roe to whole
mullet weight.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:40.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
16:39 (January 1990), amended LR 18:290 (March 1992), LR
37:2435 (August 2011).

8316. Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversions

A. With respect to fish and shellfish species, the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Trip Ticket Program
uses conversion factors to convert the weight of different
product forms of species to their whole form weight. Those
conversion factors, as enumerated below, shall be used to
convert the weight of fish and shellfish species not in whole
form to whole form weight for the purpose of assigning civil
restitution penalty values for commercial fish and shellfish
species.

B. Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversion Factors

Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversion Factors
Meat
Gutted and Headed, (Fillet,
or Steaked, or Pieces, or
Fish and Shellfish | Gutted Cleaned, or Tubed Chunks)
Amberjack,
Greater 1.04 1.24 3.14
Amberjack, Lesser 1.04 1.24 3.14
Angelfish 111 1.33 2.86
Barracuda 1.11 1.33 2.86
Bigeye, Other 1.04 1.24 1.79
Bigeye, Short 1.04 1.24 1.79
Bluefish 1.09 1.43
Bonito, Atlantic 1.15 1.52 3.03
Bowfin 1.14 1.45 2.33
Brotula, Bearded 1.12 1.39 3.70
Buffalofish 1.11 1.54 3.12
Bulleye 1.04 1.24 1.79
Bullheads 1.14 1.45 2.86
Carp, Bighead 1.04 1.72 3.57
Carp, Common 111 1.54 3.12
Carp, Grass 1.04 1.72 3.57
Carp, Silver 1.04 1.72 3.57
Catfish, Blue 1.14 1.45 2.86
Catfish, Channel 1.14 1.45 2.86
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Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversion Factors

Meat
Gutted and Headed, (Fillet,
or Steaked, or Pieces, or
Fish and Shellfish | Gutted Cleaned, or Tubed Chunks)
Catfish, Flathead 114 1.45 2.86
Catfish,
Gafftopsail 1.12 1.39 3.70
Catfish, Hardhead 1.12 1.39 3.70
Chubs 1.04 1.24 1.79
Cobia 1.04 1.24
Crab, Blue 1.25 6.00
Crawfish 6.67
Creole Fish 1.04 1.24 1.79
Dogfish, Other 1.20 1.39 3.33
Dogfish, Spiny 1.20 1.39 3.33
Dolphin 1.20 1.39 3.33
Driftfish, Black 111 1.54 2.86
Drum, Black 1.14 1.64 2.86
Eel, Freshwater 1.01 1.04
Eel, Conger 1.11 1.25 2.22
Eel, Moray 1.11 1.25 2.22
Escolar 1.15 1.52 2.86
Gar, Aligator 1.04 1.33 2.86
Gar, Longnose 1.04 1.33 2.86
Gar, Shortnose 1.04 1.33 2.86
Gar, Spotted 1.04 1.33 2.86
Garfish, Other 1.04 1.33 2.86
Gaspergou 1.17 1.79 2.56
Graysby 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper, Black 1.18 143 2.63
Grouper, Gag 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper, Marbled 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper, Misty 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper, Nassau 1.18 143 2.63
Grouper, Red 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper, Snowy 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper, Warsaw 1.18 143 2.63
Grouper,
Yellowedge 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper,
Yellowfin 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grouper,
Yellowmouth 1.18 1.43 2.63
Grunts 1.18 1.43 2.63
Hake 1.12 1.39 3.70
Hind, Red 1.18 143 2.63
Hind, Rock 1.18 1.43 2.63
Hind, Speckled 1.18 1.43 2.63
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Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversion Factors

Meat
Gutted and Headed, (Fillet,
or Steaked, or Pieces, or

Fish and Shellfish | Gutted Cleaned, or Tubed Chunks)
Jack, Almaco 1.04 1.24 1.79
Jack, Bar 1.04 1.24 1.79
Jack, Black 1.04 1.24 1.79
Jack, Cravelle 1.04 1.24 1.79
Jack, Horse-Eye 1.04 1.24 1.79
Mackerel, King 1.04 1.33 2.86
Mackerel, Spanish 1.15 1.52 3.03
Mooneye 1.04
Moonfish 1.04
Mullet, Striped 1.14 1.45 2.86
Qilfish 111 154 2.86
Opah 1.04 1.24 1.79
Other Freshwater
Finfish Species 1.14 1.33 3.03
Other Saltwater
Finfish Species 1.14 1.33 3.03
Oyster 16.23
Parrotfish 1.04 1.24 1.79
Pinfish 111 154
Pomfrets 1.04 1.24 1.79
Pompano, African 1.04 1.20 2.63
Pompano, Florida 1.04 1.20 2.63
Porgy, Jolthead 1.04 1.24
Porgy, Knobbed 1.04 1.24
Porgy, Red 1.04 1.24
Porgy, Whitebone 1.04 1.24
Rainbow Runner 1.04 1.24 3.14
Rover, Crimson 1.04 1.24 1.79
Rudderfish 1.12
Rudderfish,
Banded 1.04 1.24 3.14
Runner, Blue 1.09 1.43 3.14
Scamp 1.18 1.43 2.63
Scorpionfish,
Longsnout 1.04 1.24 1.79
Scorpionfish,
Other 1.04 1.24 1.79
Scorpionfish,
Spiny Cheek 1.04 1.24 1.79
Scorpionfish,
Spotted 1.04 1.24 1.79
Sculpins 1.12 2.57 5.00
Seabass, Bank 1.04 1.24 1.79
Seabass, Black 1.04 1.24 1.79
Seabass, Longtail 1.04 1.24 1.79
Shark, Bignose 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Blacknose 1.20 1.39 3.33
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Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversion Factors

Meat
Gutted and Headed, (Fillet,
or Steaked, or Pieces, or
Fish and Shellfish | Gutted Cleaned, or Tubed Chunks)
Shark, Blacktip 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Blue 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Bull 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Dusky 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Finetooth 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark,
Hammerhead 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Lemon 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Longfin
Mako 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Night 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Porbeagle 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Sand Tiger 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Sandbar 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Shortfin
Mako 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Silky 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Spinner 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, Tiger 1.20 1.39 3.33
Shark, White 1.20 1.39 3.33
Sharks, Other 1.20 1.39 3.33
Sharks, Other
Large Coastal 1.20 1.39 3.33
Sharks, Other
Small Coastal 1.20 1.39 3.33
Sharks, Thresher 1.20 1.39 3.33
Sheepshead 1.17 1.54 4.00
Shrimp, Brown 1.61 1.61
Shrimp, Pink 1.60 1.60
Shrimp, River 1.67 1.67
Shrimp, Rock 1.67 1.67
Shrimp, Royal Red 1.80 1.80
Shrimp, Seabob 1.53 1.53
Shrimp,
Trachypenaeus 1.61 1.61
Shrimp, White 1.54 1.54
Snapper, Black 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Blackfin 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Cubera 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Dog 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Gray 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Lane 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper,
Mahogany 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Mutton 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Queen 1.11 154 3.12
Snapper, Silk 1.11 1.54 3.12
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Fish and Shellfish Product Form Conversion Factors
Meat
Gutted and Headed, (Fillet,
or Steaked, or Pieces, or
Fish and Shellfish | Gutted Cleaned, or Tubed Chunks)
Snapper,
Vermilion 1.11 1.54 3.12
Snapper,
Yellowtail 111 154 3.12
Soapfish 1.18 1.43 2.63
Spadefish 1.11 1.54
Spanish Flag 1.04 1.24 1.79
Spot 1.04 1.72 3.57
Squirrelfish 1.14 1.24 1.79
Stingrays, Other 1.12
Sunfishes, Ocean 1.04 1.72 3.57
Swordfish 1.20 1.33 3.33
Tilefish, Blackline 1.12 1.39 2.94
Tilefish, Blueline 1.12 1.39 2.94
Tilefish, Goldface 1.12 1.39 2.94
Tilefish, Other 1.12 1.39 2.94
Tilefish, Sand 1.12 1.39 2.94
Triggerfish, Gray 1.04 1.72 3.57
Triggerfish, Ocean 1.04 1.72 3.57
Triggerfish, Queen 1.04 1.72 3.57
Tripletail 1.18 1.43
Tuna, Albacore 1.11 1.33 2.86
Tuna, Bigeye 1.25 1.25 3.03
Tuna, Blackfin 1.25 1.25 3.03
Tuna, Bluefin 1.18 1.25 3.03
Tuna, Little Tunny 1.18 1.25 3.03
Tuna, Skipjack 1.18 1.33 3.03
Tuna, Yellowfin 111 1.25 3.03
Wahoo 1.18 1.43 2.86
Wenchman 111 1.54 3.12
Whiting 1.14 1.45 2.86

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:40.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
37:2436 (August 2011).

Subchapter E. Louisiana Natural
Heritage

8317. Threatened and Endangered Species

A. The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries hereby determines that those species designated as
endangered or threatened pursuant to the Federal
Endangered Species Act (ESA) of 1973 (87 Stat. 884, as
amended; 16 U.S.C. 1531 et seq.), are designated as such by
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service at 50 CFR 17.11. Based
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upon the above determination, said species, which are
enumerated below, are deemed to be endangered or
threatened species under the provisions of Louisiana Revised
Statutes title 56, chapter 8, part IV.

1. Invertebrates

Pink Mucket Lampsilis abrupta E
Louisiana Pearlshell Margaritifera hembeli T
Fat Pocketbook Potamilus capax E
Inflated Heelsplitter Potamilus inflatus T
Rabbitsfoot Quadrula cylindrica T
2. Fish

Gulf Sturgeon Acipenser oxyrinchus desotoi T
Pallid Sturgeon Scaphirhynchus albus E
Smalltooth Sawfish Pristis pectinata E
3. Amphibians

Dusky Gopher Frog | Lithobates sevosus | E
4. Reptiles (including eggs

Loggerhead Sea Turtle Caretta caretta T
Green Sea Turtle Chelonia mydas T
Hawksbill Sea Turtle Eretmochelys imbricata E
Kemp's Ridley Sea Turtle Lepidochelys kempii E
Leatherback Sea Turtle Dermochelys coriacea E
Ringed Map Turtle Graptemys oculifera T
Gopher Tortoise Gopherus polyphemus T
Black Pinesnake Pituophis melanoleucus lodingi T
Louisiana Pinesnake Pituophis ruthveni T
5.  Birds (including eggs)

Whooping Crane Grus americana E
Piping Plover Charadrius melodus T
Red Knot Calidris canutus rufa T
Interior Least Tern Sternula antillarum athalassos E
Red-cockaded Woodpecker Picoides borealis E
6. Mammals

West Indian Manatee Trichechus manatus T
Northern Long-eared Bat Myotis septentrionalis T
Sperm Whale Physeter macrocephalus E
Florida Panther Felis concolor coryi E
7. Plants

American Chaffseed Schwalbea americana E
Earth-fruit Geocarpon minimum T
Louisiana Quillwort Isoetes louisianensis E
Pondberry Lindera melissifolia E

E = Endangered; T = Threatened

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1904.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Wildlife, LR 15:1099 (December
1989), amended LR 18:877 (August 1992), LR 37:2438 (August
2011), LR 44:798 (April 2018), LR 46:193 (February 2020).

8318. Natural Areas Dedication and Servitudes

A. Background. In 1987, by an Act of the Louisiana
State Legislature (Acts 1987, No. 324, 81, effective July 6,
1987), the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
(LDWF) was named as the state agency responsible for
administering the Louisiana Natural Areas Registry. A
subsequent state legislative Act established the Wildlife
Habitat and Natural Heritage Trust to manage funds for the
purpose of acquiring and properly managing natural areas in
Louisiana (Acts 1988, No. 492, §1, effective July 9, 1988).
The Louisiana Natural Areas Registry provides official state
recognition of natural heritage values on land parcels where
they occur. A voluntary registration agreement adds a
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measure of protection, and servitudes or dedication of a
Natural Areas Preserve provides secure protection.

B. Purpose. The primary purpose of dedicated nature
preserves and conservation servitudes is to permanently
protect high quality examples of Louisiana’s natural heritage
through land acquisition or perpetual easements by LDWF.
To "dedicate" a property is defined as the transfer to LDWF
of property rights in any natural area to be held for the
citizens of Louisiana to protect the natural heritage values of
the property.

C. Objectives. The primary objective of the Louisiana
Natural Heritage Program (LNHP) is to assure that each
species of conservation concern and each natural community
type tracked by LNHP is adequately represented at securely
protected sites. This can be accomplished by dedication of
the property or through conservation servitudes that duly
protect the property.

D. General Guidelines

1. A request for a dedication or servitude may be
initiated by any party (LDWEF, other state or federal agency,
landowner, non-government organization, or other interested
parties), and must be submitted to LNHP in writing and must
include a justification, general information on the property
and specific location and boundary map.

2. LNHP will review initial requests, and determine if
proposed sites are eligible for dedication or servitude. LNHP
will recommend only those properties that support rare plant
or animal species, or an exemplary natural community
type(s).

E. Specific Requirements

1. To begin the dedication or servitude process, a site
is first evaluated by means of a comprehensive field
survey(s) conducted by LNHP. These baseline results should
include a general description of the natural communities
present on the site specifying size (in acres or hectares),
condition, plant species composition, and community
structure. Other site data should include topography, soils,
rare plant and animal species present, any disturbances to the
site (anthropogenic or natural), current management, and
status of the landscape surrounding the site. Evaluations that
depend on seasonal opportunities for study (i.e.,
determination of the presence or absence of a particular
species that is only evident during certain seasons of the year
or within a limited time frame) may extend the survey
period. A general description of the site boundaries,
photographs of key areas within the property, management
considerations and assessment factors mentioned above, are
all documented in the survey.

2. LDWEF shall accept only those areas determined to
be high quality for dedication or servitudes. LDWF's
determination will take into consideration information from
the site survey, biodiversity of the site, numbers and quality
of rare species and/or natural communities, whether the
species and natural communities present are protected
elsewhere within the state, previous land-use and its impacts
to the site, any invasive species present and any other
relevant biological or management factors.
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3. LDWEF shall not accept any portion of a property
for natural areas dedication or servitude that currently has
pine plantations with off-site timber, homesites, extensive
livestock grazing, agricultural farms, or industrial or
commercial uses unless LDWF determines that the site can
be reclaimed and restored to natural conditions.

4. A Natural Areas Preserve Committee within LDWF
composed of staff from the Office of Wildlife, and such
other staff as is appropriate will review all pertinent
information to make a determination of whether the site
qualifies for natural areas dedication or servitude.

5. If the committee finds that dedication of the area as
a Natural Areas Preserve or servitude to be appropriate and
feasible, then the landowners of the proposed dedicated
nature preserve/servitude and the LDWF Natural Areas
Preserve Committee will work together to formulate the
deed of dedication. The landowner is responsible for the land
survey to determine the property appraisal, and agrees to
subordinate any mortgages or deeds of trust affecting the
property. The dedication or servitude agreement will contain
a legal description of the boundaries of the site, specify the
natural heritage values the agreement is designed to protect,
and detail any financial provisions and any other
considerations as needed. Additional documents may
accompany the dedication or servitude agreement as
required to meet the needs of the agency or other parties.

6. The landowner(s) who is transferring ownership or
donating a servitude to LDWF is responsible for obtaining
professional advice as they so desire.

7. LDWEF shall notify adjacent landowners in writing
of the dedicated preserve or servitude and measures to
protect it, at a minimum through publication in the official
parish journal(s) of the parish(es) in which the property is
located. LDWF is also responsible for any associated costs
of this notification.

8. LDWTF shall monitor each natural areas dedicated
preserve and servitude annually to assess its condition and
ensure that there have been no violations of the agreement.
The monitor shall inspect the preserve/servitude,
documenting current conditions, and identifying and
documenting any violations of the agreement.

9. A management plan shall be developed by LNHP
for each dedication and servitude that includes a property
description (location, geology, physiography, hydrology, and
soils), biological conditions, land use history and current
conditions (hydrology, natural communities, logging,
invasive and off-site species, trespassing), management
objectives, and the management activities with specific
natural community and species management related actions.
The plan should delineate a detailed management scheme
with the primary purpose to guide maintenance and/or
restoration of native species and natural communities while
integrating appropriate human use without compromising
ecological integrity.

10. The Natural Areas Preserve Committee shall review
and approve the management plan and any amendments.
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Amendments to the original servitude agreement or preserve
management plan may be accepted by the committee only if
the amendments will not negatively impact the overall
natural heritage values present on the property.

11. Dedicated preserve/servitude signs shall be posted
at each entrance and along its boundary at or near 100-yard
intervals.

12. The LDWF Natural Areas Preserve Committee
shall review each dedicated preserve and servitude
management plan every 5 vyears to ensure adequate
protection and/or restoration efforts are being followed.

13. Penalties and enforcement. LDWF will arrange
meetings with the servitude owner and/or adjacent
landowners as necessary to discuss any violations of the
preserve or servitude agreement. Reparation by the violator
shall be documented, course of action agreed on, deadline
for compliance determined, all parties informed of required
restoration action and compliance deadline, and any
restoration work is inspected and documented.

14. Servitudes may be transferred to another qualified
organization or agency if LDWF is no longer able to meet its
servitude stewardship responsibilities.

F. Additional Information. For more information on
Natural Areas Dedication and Conservation Servitudes,
contact the following office:

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Louisiana Natural Heritage Program
P.O. Box 98000

Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1869.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
35:501 (March 2009).

Subchapter F. Confidential Fishery
Data

Confidentiality of Commercial and For-Hire
Industry Landing Data

A. Confidentiality. All data collected or otherwise
obtained by personnel or contractors of the Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries or members of the
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission in the course of their
duties and other landings data collected by personnel or
contractors of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries or members of the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission are confidential, and are not to be divulged,
except in aggregate form, to any person except employees or
contractors of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries or members of the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric
Administration, National Marine Fisheries  Service
(NOAA/NMFS) whose duties require this information,
except as permitted by law or court order. Aggregate form,
with respect to data, shall mean data or information
submitted by three or more persons that have been summed
or assembled in such a manner so as not to reveal, directly or

8310.
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indirectly, the identity or business of any such person.
Neither employees nor contractors of the Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries nor members of the
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission will voluntarily release
confidential information to another person, firm, or state or
federal agencies, except NOAA/NMFS as stated above, and
to the extent possible, will oppose other agency and
congressional subpoenas to obtain confidential information.

B. Neither the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries nor its contractors nor members of the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission will disclose confidential statistics
under court order without specific approval by the State
Attorney General's Office. Employees or contractors of the
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries or members
of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission who have access
to confidential statistics shall be subject to the provisions
and penalties for unauthorized disclosure.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:345.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 16:38
(January 1990), amended LR 35:702 (April 2009).

8321. Records; Confidentiality

A. All fishery dependent data (that is, only data collected
from individuals or firms) collected or otherwise obtained by
personnel or instrumentalities of the Louisiana Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries or members of the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission in the course of their duties are
confidential and are not to be divulged, except in aggregate
form, to any person except employees or instrumentalities of
the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries or
members of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission or the
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National
Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA/NMFS), or Legislative
Committees and their staffs, whose duties require this
information, except as authorized by law or court order. For
the purposes of this rule fishery dependent data shall be data
collected under authority of Part VI of Title 56 of the
Revised Statutes except the names, addresses, and license
numbers of licensed fishermen. Aggregate form, with respect
to data, shall mean data or information submitted by three or
more persons that have been summed or assembled in such a
manner so as not to reveal, directly or indirectly, the identity
or business of any such person. Neither employees nor
instrumentalities of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries nor members of the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission shall release confidential information to
another person, firm, or state or federal agencies, except
NOAA/NMFS as stated above or state agencies authorized
through written agreements with the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries that have comparable confidentiality
provisions, and to the extent possible, will oppose other
agency and congressional subpoenas to obtain confidential
information. Neither the Louisiana Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries nor its instrumentalities nor members of the
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, nor Legislative
Committees and their staffs, will disclose confidential
statistics under court order without specific approval by the
State Attorney General's Office. These rules and regulations
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provide for compliance with all procedures set forth by the
United States Department of Commerce, or its agencies or
instrumentalities, for the confidentiality of fishing statistics
collected from individuals or firms by that department, its
agencies or instrumentalities. Employees or instrumentalities
of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries or
members of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission who
have access to confidential statistics shall be subject to the
provisions and penalties for unauthorized disclosure.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:301.4.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
18:82 (January 1992), amended LR 35:702 (April 2009).

Subchapter H. Electronic Licenses
Issuance

8327. Recreational Electronic Licensing

A. In accordance with Act 164 of the 1998 first
Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries hereby
establishes rules for electronic licenses issuance within the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, providing regulations
and qualification criteria of license vendors, criteria to
accept or reject applications or suspend the licensee, and
establish effective license authorization numbers.

B. The department may enter into contracts to acquire
electronic methods for issuing hunting and recreational
fishing licenses within the state purchasing regulations.

C. Effective June 1, 2000, all recreational licenses
previously issued by non-electronic methods, shall be
available through electronic issuing methods pursuant to
these rules.

D. The secretary of the department shall have the
authority to enter into contracts with license issuing agents
(license vendors) for the purpose of distribution of electronic
licenses. Licensing vendors shall be required to execute a
contract provided by the department which shall, at a
minimum:

1. provide for a security deposit(s) by the vendor for
electronic issuing equipment;

2. provide the mechanisms by which the electronic
issuance and transfer of license fees shall be accomplished;

3. provide for compensation of licensing vendors in an
amount not to exceed $0.50 per license privilege, to be
retained by the license vendor from license fees collected;

4. provide for other terms and conditions to be
fulfilled by license vendors.

E. To qualify to become a license vendor, an applicant
must complete the application, providing all required
supporting documentation, sign a contract with the
department, and pay security deposit(s) for equipment.

F. To remain qualified, a licensing vendor must abide by
all terms and conditions of the contract executed with the
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department. Failure to do so may result in suspension of
authority to participate in the program and subject the
offender to other penalties as provided by law.

G. Funding for the electronic license system shall be
provided from grants, license fees and other sources
provided by law.

H. All payments for licenses sold shall be paid by bank
transfer. The department shall specify the type of bank
transfer(s) permitted.

I.  Any vendor whose bank account is not sufficiently
funded for three consecutive weeks, will be suspended from
selling licenses until all funds due to the department have
been satisfied. If any balance due from a suspended vendor
is not paid within 60 days of written notification from the
department, the vendor shall be dropped from the program,
any balance due will be turned over for collection.

J.  License vendors may only issue licenses to applicants
who meet the requirements as set forth in R.S. 56, and who
provide the required identification and documentation for the
license.

K. Licensees who purchase licenses by telephone or
Internet will be issued an effective license number
(authorization number) that shall be effective immediately,
or in accordance to dates provided therein, and will be valid
for up to 14 days.

L. Out-of-state licensees obtaining privileges by
electronic methods shall have in their possession picture
identification issued by an agency of a state or the federal
government. Louisiana residents shall possess identification
as required in R.S. 56:8(12). R.S. 56:8(60.1) requires that the
appropriate identification be in possession at all times when
engaging in the activity for which the license was issued.

M. The secretary shall have the authority to provide for
the implementation of lottery-type issues through electronic
methods as provided herein.

N. An applicant for a hunting or a fishing license who
owes civil penalties pursuant to R.S. 56:31 et seq., and R.S.
56:40 et seq., shall, after decision and after appeal delay has
run, be marked in the license issuance system(s) in a manner
so as to deny the purchase of hunting or fishing licenses until
all civil penalties have been paid in full. In addition, any
applicant, or payee on behalf of an applicant, who has an
unpaid check returned by the bank for any reason shall be
marked in the license issuance system(s) in a manner to deny
the purchase of hunting and fishing licenses until all such
fees and NSF charges have been paid in full.

O. If any provision of these regulations is held invalid,
such invalidity shall not affect the other provisions of these
regulations which can be given effect without the invalid
provisions, and to this end the provisions of these
regulations are hereby declared severable.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6(21) and R.S. 56:641.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Management and Finance, LR
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24:505 (March 1998), amended by Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 26:1078 (May
2000), amended by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of
Management and Finance, LR 27:1243 (August 2001), amended by
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission, LR 28:354 (February 2002), LR 28:2570 (December
2002), LR 31:1103 (May 2005), repromulgated LR 31:1345 (June
2005).

§328.  Electronic Vessel and Motor Registration and

Titling
A. The secretary shall have authority to enter into
contracts to acquire electronic methods to register and title

vessels and outboard motors within the state purchasing
regulations.

B. Such functions may be included as a component of
the recreational hunting and fishing license point of sale
system and performed by the same vendor, or may be
contracted as an electronic certificate system specific for
vessels and outboard motors separate from the recreational
licensing platform.

C. The electronic collection of vessel or outboard motor
certificate applications and fees collected pursuant thereto
shall be in addition to the ability to apply for such
certificates in person at the Baton Rouge headquarters, or via
U.S. mail. In addition to any electronic special certificate
agent contract, the secretary may contract with other special
certificate agent brick-and-mortar facilities throughout the
state, as he deems necessary to perform registration and
titling for vessels and outboard motors.

D. The secretary may authorize, by contract, a
transactional convenience fee for each online certificate
transaction conducted by the electronic special certificate
agent to be retained by the electronic special certificate
agent. Such fee shall not exceed $12 per certificate. The
convenience fee shall be in addition to any registration or
title certificate fees collected and shall be retained by the
electronic special certificate agent.

E. Prior to collection of any applications for registration
or title and any associated fees, the electronic special
certificate agent shall execute and furnish to the department
a good and sufficient surety bond with a surety company
qualified to do business as a surety in Louisiana. The sum of
the bond shall be determined by the secretary, but shall be
not less than $10,000, but shall not exceed $100,000. The
bond shall be in the name of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries as obligee and remain in full force and effect for
the entire term of the contract. If the electronic special
certificate agent timely files all applications delivered to
such certificate agent for filing and remits all fees and taxes
collected, then the obligation of the surety shall be void.
Should the electronic special certificate agent fail to timely
file certificate applications, remit fees or taxes collected, or
otherwise fail to meet the conditions of the contract, the
department may file a claim against the bond for all costs
associated with the claim, including any actual investigatory
costs or attorney fees incurred.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
34:851.37 and R.S. 56:6(21).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
49:704 (April 2023).

Subchapter I.Special Licenses and
License Fee Waivers

8331. Special Disability Fishing and Hunting Licenses

A. In lieu of recreational basic fishing and recreational
saltwater fishing licenses and in lieu of basic hunting, deer,
turkey, and duck hunting licenses, and WMA access permit,
the department may issue a Disabled/Special Needs Hunting
and Fishing license to residents who qualify as
developmentally disabled as defined in R.S. 28:751 and who
meet all other legal requirements to obtain a hunting license.
Developmentally disabled may include, but is not limited to
mental retardation, cerebral palsy, downs syndrome, spina
bifida, and multiple sclerosis.

1. Special disability licenses shall be issued annually
and will be exempt from license fees.

2. Anyone fishing with a special disability fishing
license must be accompanied by a validly licensed
fisherman. Anyone hunting with a special disability hunting
license must be accompanied by a validly licensed hunter.

3. All special disability fishing and hunting licenses
shall be issued from the Baton Rouge headquarters location.

4. To qualify for special disability licenses an
applicant must submit to the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries, the following:

a. avalid Louisiana driver's license or identification
card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles;

b. a completed application
Developmentally Disabled License(s);

form for

c. proof that applicant has resided in Louisiana
consecutively for the immediate 12 months prior to making
application as required by the department (i.e., resident
driver's license of guardian or care giver, voter's registration
card, vehicle registration, certification by guardian or care
giver, etc.).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:3000(J)(1).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
31:1104 (May 2005), repromulgated LR 31:1346 (June 2005),
amended LR 49:512 (March 2023).

8333. Charitable Organizations, Youth Groups and
Schools; Fee Waivers

A. In lieu of recreational basic fishing and recreational
saltwater fishing licenses the secretary may issue a letter of
waiver of fees for fishing to members of bona fide charitable
organizations, youth groups or schools. For the purpose of
hunting, the secretary may issue a letter of waiver of license
fees for hunting to members of bona fide charitable
organizations, youth groups or schools who meet all other
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legal requirements to obtain a hunting license, which will
include basic hunting, deer, turkey, Louisiana duck license
and WMA access permit.

B. Evidence of such status shall be demonstrated to the
satisfaction of the secretary.

C. Each letter authorizing a waiver of fees under this
provision shall be valid for a period not to exceed three
consecutive days.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:641.2 and R.S. 56:3000(J)(1).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
31:1104 (May 2005), repromulgated LR 31:1346 (June 2005),
amended LR 49:512 (March 2023).

§337.  Special Permits: Publicly-Operated Residential
Psychiatric Facilities

A. In lieu of a license which authorizes a person to take
and possess freshwater fish for recreational purposes, the
department may issue a Special Residential Facility Fishing
Permit for the benefit of persons who reside at publicly-
operated residential psychiatric facilities.

1. Special Residential Facility Fishing Permits shall
be issued annually and will be exempt from license fees.

2. Anyone fishing under a Special Residential Facility
Fishing Permit must do so only on the grounds of the
facility.

3. All Special Residential Facility Fishing Permits
shall be issued from the Baton Rouge Headquarters location.

4. To qualify for a Special Residential Facility Fishing
Permit, the qualifying facility must submit to the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries a completed application form for
the Special Residential Facility Fishing Permit(s).

5. The permit shall be in the name of the facility, and
shall entitle all residential patients of the facility to fish on
the grounds of the facility for a period of one year from date
of issuance.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:302.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
35:1912 (September 2009).

Subchapter J. Placing of Advertising
or Sponsorship Signs on Department

Assets
8339.  Advertising or Sponsorship Signs on
Department Assets
A. Purpose

1. The purpose of this Rule is to establish procedures
and guidelines within the department for allowing certain
limited types of advertising and sponsorship signs on high-
visibility assets owned or controlled by the department to
raise revenue to defray costs of departmental services
associated with communication, educational, and extension
activities or to recognize sponsorship partners.
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2. The display of advertising or sponsorship signs on
departmental assets shall not constitute an endorsement by
the department of any of the products, services or messages
of the advertiser or sponsor.

3. Advertisement or sponsorship signs may be placed

on immovable property, improvements on immovable
property, vehicles, vessels, and other assets of the
department, including but not Ilimited to websites,

pamphlets, brochures, and other outreach, communications,
and educational materials.

B. Solicitation, Selection and Contracting

1. The department may issue solicitations to secure
contracts to determine the market potential for
advertisements or sponsorships or to place advertisements or
sponsorship signs on department assets.

2. The solicitation responses will be reviewed by a
committee appointed by the secretary, and the most suitable
proposals, as determined by the committee, may be selected.

3. The committee has the discretion to make
reasonable recommendations to the secretary concerning the
types of advertising or sponsorship signs that may be
displayed utilizing the criteria established herein.

4. The secretary shall have final discretion regarding
which recommendations and solicitations are selected.
Selections shall be made for those advertisements or
sponsorships that do not impact or infringe upon the image
or reputation of the department.

5. The department may limit the number and type of
assets available for advertising or sponsorship displays.

6. The department may limit the authorization to
advertise or place sponsorship signs among the department’s
divisions, sections, programs and initiatives.

7. The department may limit the terms and conditions
of the contract with an advertiser or sponsor.

C. Guidelines for Content for and

Sponsorship Signs

Advertising

1. Only commercial advertising or sponsorships will
be accepted. The advertisement or sponsorship content shall
only include content that promotes or informs a commercial
transaction.

2. No content promoting illegal activity or obscene,
vulgar or offensive conduct shall be allowed.

3. No content that demeans or disparages individuals
or groups shall be allowed.

4. No political or religious advertising or sponsorships
shall be allowed.

5. No advertising or sponsorship signs of adult
oriented products shall be allowed. Advertising or
sponsorship signs of firearms and other means authorized in
the lawful taking of game in Louisiana, however, may be
allowed.
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6. The advertising or sponsorships should not be so
controversial that it can promote vandalism of advertising or
sponsorship materials and associated departmental property.

D. Guidelines for Placement
Sponsorship Signs on Assets

of Advertising or

1. Advertising or sponsorship signs shall not be placed
in a manner that could interfere or confuse as to the
identification of department’s ownership or control of the
asset.

2. On vehicles, vessels, and other assets of the
department traditionally utilized in the transport of personnel
or equipment, advertising or sponsorships signs may be
placed on the inside or the outside of equipment. However,
the signage shall not be erected in such a manner that it
impedes the asset’s safe utilization and operation.

a. Advertising or sponsorship signs shall not be
allowed on vehicles, vessels, and other assets traditionally
utilized in the transport of personnel and equipment that are
under the control or operation of the enforcement division.

3. For advertising or sponsorship signs which require
a power source, such as electronics or LED lighting, the
advertiser or sponsor will be required by the department to
submit and maintain detailed plans and provisions. The use
of the powered advertising or sponsorship devices shall not
have any adverse effect on the safety and functionality of the

asset. If the safety and functionality of the asset is
compromised after installation, the signage shall be
removed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S. 56:13

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
42:444 (March 2016).

Chapter 5.Seafood Promotion and
Marketing Board

§501.

A. The specific location of the principal office of the
Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board as a part
of the Office of the Secretary of the Department of Culture,
Recreation and Tourism shall be in Baton Rouge, Louisiana
as established by title 56 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.

Bylaws

B. The board, at its discretion, may from time to time,
hold meetings at any other location within the state of
Louisiana after proper notice.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015).

8503. Meetings
A. Regular Meetings. The regular meetings of the board

shall be as set at any regular or special meeting by resolution
adopted by a majority of the members present.
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B. Special Meetings

1. Special meetings of the board may be called by the
chairman, at his discretion, and shall be called by the
chairman upon written request of any eight members. The
notice of each special meeting shall state the purpose for
which it is called, and only those matters shall be considered
that have been included in the call, unless the board agrees
to take up other matters by unanimous vote.

2. The chairman shall cause written notices of the
time and place of special meetings to be emailed, to each
member, at the addresses as they appear in the records of the
board, in accordance with the open meetings law.

C. Quorum; Minutes

1. The attendance of eight members at any regular
meeting shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of all
business.

2. Minutes will be available to board members not
later than the next regular meeting.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015).

8505.  Election of Officers and Appointments

A. Officers shall be elected annually at the first regular
meeting held in the third quarter of each state fiscal year, at
which the members shall elect, from among their own
number, a chairman, a vice-chairman, who shall also be the
chairman-elect, and a secretary-treasurer to hold office for
one year, or until their successors are elected. No member
shall be elected as an officer until such member has served at
least one year on the board.

B. In case a vacancy shall occur among the elected
officers, due to death, resignation, or other cause, an election
shall be held, at a regular or special meeting, to fill the
vacant office for the unexpired portion of the term.

C. No member elected chairman shall serve consecutive
terms and no member may serve as chairman more than two
terms. No chairman shall serve as vice-chairman in the term
following his term as chairman.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015).

8507.

A. The powers and duties of the chairman shall be:

Duties of the Chairman

1. to preside as chairman at al meetings of the board,
with the right to vote on all motions;
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2. to see that the laws of the state, pertaining to the
purposes and functions, of the board, the motions of the
board and its policies are faithfully observed and executed;

3. to call special meetings of the board, at his
discretion, or upon the written request of eight members;

4. to establish committees and appoint members
thereof, at his discretion, as he deems necessary to carry out
the business of the board;

5. to serve as an ex-officio member of all committees;

6. to perform such other duties as are usually
incumbent upon the chairman of the Seafood Promotion and
Marketing Board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015).

§509. Duties of the Vice-Chairman

A. Whenever the chairman is absent from any regularly
scheduled meeting, his duties shall be performed by the
vice-chairman. Whenever the chairman is absent from a
special meeting called by him, upon his own initiative, or
upon written request of eight board members, his duties shall
be performed by the vice-chairman. The vice-chairman may
not assume the duties of the chairman for the purpose of
calling a special meeting when the chairman is temporarily
absent from the state, or when the chairman is temporarily
incapacitated through illness, or otherwise, unless the
chairman or eight members, direct the vice-chairman to
assume the office of chairman for the purpose of calling such
special meeting.

B. Whenever the chairman's absence from the state, or
his incapacity due to illness, prevents him from handling
routine, but necessary board business, at times other than at
board meetings, such business shall be handled by the vice-
chairman.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in
56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015).

§511. Duties of Secretary-Treasurer

A. To serve as chairman of Finance Committee.

accordance R.S.

B. To perform such other duties that are usually
incumbent on the secretary-treasurer of the Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the
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Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015).

§513. Board Committees

A. The following named committees shall be permanent
standing committees. All members shall be appointed by the
chairman and shall serve at his pleasure. Additional
committees may be added by a majority vote of the board
members at a regular or special meeting.

B. The standing committees of the board are:

1. executive, which shall consist of the elected officers
of the board;

2. finance;

3. marketing;

4. legislative; and
5. education.

C. The member appointed in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2(A)(2)(g) to serve as a marketing specialist shall
chair the marketing committee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015).

8515.  Order of Business

A. The chairman of the board, in consultation with the
executive director, shall prepare and submit to the board an
agenda covering the items of business to be considered and
acted upon at each meeting of the board. The agenda shall be
submitted to the board seven days before a regular meeting.
The board may consider such matters as may properly be
brought before it.

B. In accordance with R.S. 42:14(D), the board shall
provide an opportunity for public comment at any point in
the meeting prior to action on an agenda item upon which a
vote is to be taken. Public comment is restricted to matters
included on the agenda. Public comment is limited to three
minutes for each speaker on each matter unless additional
time is allowed by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015).

8517. Rules of Order
A. Robert's Rules of Order shall be the parliamentary

authority for all matters of procedures of this board not
otherwise covered in these bylaws.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.3.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985).

8519. Amendment of Bylaws

A. Amendments to these bylaws may be adopted at any
regular meeting of the board by a majority vote of the board
members present at the meeting. However, no such alteration
or amendment shall be considered unless:

1. notice of the intention to amend the bylaws shall
have been given in writing at a previous meeting of the
board; and

2. adraft of the proposed amendment shall have been
sent to each member of the board at least 48 hours in
advance of the meeting at which the action of such alteration
or amendment is to be taken.

B. In accordance with R.S. 56:578.2, the amendments
adopted by the board shall be amended or promulgated by
rule in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015).

§520. Election

A. The election of the chairman, vice-chairman,
secretary-treasurer will be held at the first regular meeting
held in the third quarter of each state fiscal year.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015).

8521. Disqualification

A. The board, by a two-thirds vote of the members
present, may remove a member for cause, including but not
limited to abandonment of office, conviction of a felony, or a
plea of nolo contendere thereto, malfeasance, or gross
misconduct in office.

B. A board member may be deemed to have abandoned
his office upon failure to attend any three consecutive board
meetings or any three meetings in a calendar year, unless the
absence was excused by the chairman in response to the
member’s request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S.
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood

Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015).
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Chapter 7. Louisiana Wild Seafood
Certification Program

8701. Declaration of Policy, Purposes, and Intent

A. In order to establish a certification program for
Louisiana wild fish, as defined in R.S. 56:8, and for
Louisiana wild seafood products, including wild-caught
shrimp, which are taken, harvested, or landed in Louisiana,
pursuant to the authority conferred by R.S. 56:578.15; the
following rules in this Chapter shall govern any work related
to the Louisiana Wild Seafood Certification Program
(LWSCP).

B. For the purpose of this Chapter, the following will be
defined as:

Commingled—to cause to blend together, mix or
combine; particularly as it applies to mixing non-certified
seafood with LWSCP products;

Landed—taken and brought ashore;

LDAF—Louisiana Department of Agriculture and
Forestry;

LDHH—Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals;

LDWF—Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries;

LWSCP—Louisiana  Wild  Seafood Certification
Program;

Origin Test—method of verifying product was taken
from the Gulf of Mexico or Louisiana waters;

Packaged—product that is contained in a closed and
sealed package or container for sale which contains product
labeling and designated weight, count, or volume;

Processed—any method of preparing fish or fish
products for market including drying to a point
ofdehydration, canning, salting, freezing, breading, or
cooking for immediate consumption, but not simple packing
of fresh fish in a sack, bag, package, crate, box, lug or vat
for transport or holding.

C. Policy

1. Participation in the LWSCP is voluntary and
limited to those individuals or entities meeting the following
criteria:

a. must possess one of the following resident or
non-resident Louisiana licenses:

i.  commercial fisherman's license;
ii.  senior commercial license;
iii.  fresh products dealer license;
iv.  seafood wholesale/retail dealer;

v.  seafood retail dealer;
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b. wholesale/retail dealers must have their facility
located within Louisiana. Retailers are not required to have
their facility located within Louisiana;

c. eligible participants not requiring an LDWF
license include in-state restaurants or grocers who only sell
seafood that is fully prepared by cooking for immediate
consumption by the consumer, and all out-of-state retailers;

i. LDWF may issue an LWSCP wholesale/retail
dealer permit to docks and landings that do not possess the
required LDHH permit. The LWSCP permit shall be issued
on the condition that the LDHH permit is obtained by
January 1 2015.

d. must possess and be in compliance with all other
state and federal permits, licenses, and laws regarding the
buying, acquiring, or handling, from any person, by any
means whatsoever, any species of fish or seafood products,
whether fresh, frozen, processed, or unprocessed, for sale or
resale, whether on a commission basis or otherwise.
Including but not limited to any LDWF, LDHH or LDAF
permits regulations;

e. if required, retailers and restaurants which meet
the supply chain verification requirements as specified in
8704 of this Chapter.

2. Product considered eligible to possess the LWSCP
logo must meet the following criteria:

a. eligible wild seafood includes crab, oysters,
freshwater finfish, saltwater finfish, crawfish, and shrimp.
Seafood must be wild-caught, taken from Louisiana waters
or from the Gulf of Mexico and any other adjacent state
waters, and landed in Louisiana. Farmed and/or aquaculture
products are excluded from program participation;

b. seafood must be taken by a Louisiana licensed
commercial fishermen. Seafood must be landed in Louisiana
and either be sold under a LWSCP-participating fresh
products dealer license, or be purchased and/or physically
acquired by a wholesale/retail seafood dealer participating in
the LWSCP. Transfer of product throughout the supply chain
must be between LWSCP participants until the product has
been placed in a sealed and LWSCP-labeled retail
packaging;

c. seafood commingled with any other seafood that
does not meet the above requirements, domestic or foreign,
shall be prohibited from possessing the LWSCP label;

d. seafood products that are properly registered as
required by 8704 of this Chapter.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.15 and R.S. 56:23.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of the Secretary, LR 38:1999 (August
2012), amended by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 39:1062 (April 2013), LR
40:804 (April 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1390 (July 2014).

§703.  Application and Permitting Process
A. Excluding commercial fishermen, each person
wishing to participate in the LWSCP must apply for and
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receive a permit. Only one permit shall be issued per
location or LDWF license. Permits are non-transferable, and
shall only be valid for the location or LDWF license listed
on the permit.

B. Commercial fishermen will be automatically eligible
to participate in the LWSCP by possessing a valid Louisiana
commercial fisherman license or senior commercial license.

C. There shall be four types of permits issued.

1. Fresh Products Dealer Licensee. Anyone that
applies using a Louisiana Fresh Products Dealer License
shall be classified under this permit type.

2. Wholesale/Retail Dealer. Any dock/landing, dealer,
processor, vehicle, or other person that applies using a
Louisiana wholesale/retail dealer’s license shall be classified
under this permit type.

3. Retail Dealer—inside Louisiana. Any Louisiana-
based seafood market, grocer, restaurant, or vehicle that
applies as a retailer, or other person that applies using a
Louisiana retail dealer’s license shall be classified under this
permit type.

4. Retail Dealer—outside of Louisiana. Any out-of-
state seafood market, grocer, restaurant, vehicle, or other
person that applies as a retailer shall be classified under this
permit type.

D. Permits are valid for 1 year and expire 12 months
from the date of permit approval.

E. No person shall sell, barter, trade, or exchange, or
attempt to sell, barter, trade, or exchange LWSCP labeled
seafood, or use the LWSCP logo for promotional and/or
marketing purposes without possessing a valid LWSCP
permit.

1. A permit is not required for persons selling
prepackaged LWSCP labeled products.

F.  Applications shall only be submitted by the individual
named on the license under which the application is being
made. In cases where the named individual is a business,
applications shall be submitted by the business’s registered
agent, officers, or designated employee.

G. New applications shall be accompanied by a
certificate of completion showing the individual nhamed on
the application completed the initial program training.
Retailers are exempt from the program training
requirements.

H. Applications for the LWSCP shall be accepted at any
time of the year. Applicants must show proof of having
acquired all necessary licenses and permits. All information
requested must be provided before the application is
processed and a permit issued.

I.  All applicants shall be notified of their permit status
by mail at the address listed on their application.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.15, R.S. 56:23, and 56:301.4.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of the Secretary, LR 38:2000 (August
2012), amended by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 40:2616 (December 2014).

8704. Product Registration and Supply Chain
Verification

A. Seafood or seafood products that are packaged for
retail sale shall be registered with LDWF. No packaged retail
seafood product shall possess the LWSCP logo unless it has
been registered. Seafood products which are produced,
packaged, and sold exclusively at the location of retail sale
shall be exempt from the registration requirement.

1. Applications for product registration shall only be
submitted by the person who owns the brand.

2. Product registrations are valid for 1 year and expire
12 months from the date of registration.

3. Applications for product registration shall be
accepted at any time of the year.

4. Persons applying to register a product shall submit
to LDWF the following information:

a. the brand name of the product to be registered,;
b. the person who owns the brand name listed;
c. the person who packages the product;

d. species or species group indicated on product
packaging;

e. invoices from the previous three months showing
LWSCP-certified seafood purchases specific to the product
being registered from a vendor who possesses an LWSCP
permit. Exceptions to invoice submission requirements may
be considered on a case-by-case basis for the following
reasons:

i.  bulk purchases;

ii.  purchases from a vendor who has applied for,
but does not yet possess an LWSCP permit, upon application
approval and issuance of an LWSCP permit to the vendor;

f. photo or image of package containing product
brand and name.

5. When a person registering a product does not
directly purchase the seafood to be used in the product, the
packager of the product may submit invoices to satisfy the
invoice submission requirements of this Subsection.

B. Retailers and restaurants selling and/or serving
unpackaged seafood, prepared or not prepared, who wish to
identify such seafood with the LWSCP logo shall provide, at
the time of initial application, invoices from the previous
three months showing LWSCP-certified seafood purchases
from a vendor who possesses an LWSCP permit at the time
of their application.

1. At each annual permit renewal thereafter, invoices
meeting these provisions from 6 months out of the last 12
months shall be submitted.
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2. Exceptions to invoice submission requirements may
be considered on a case-by-case basis for the following
reasons:

a. bulk purchases;

b. purchases from a vendor who has applied for, but
does not yet possess an LWSCP permit, upon application
approval and issuance of an LWSCP permit to the vendor;

c. persons possessing an LWSCP less than 12
months at the time or renewal.

C. Invoices required under the provisions of this Section
shall not be required to disclose pricing information. Pricing
information may be redacted, so long as the remainder of the
invoice remains unaltered and intact. Invoices provided
under the provisions of this Section are for verification
purposes only and the only record to be maintained shall be
a digital image of the submitted invoice. With the exception
of invoice date, LDWF shall not enter information contained
on submitted invoices into any database or other electronic
format whatsoever. Invoices submitted under the provisions
of this Section shall be considered fisheries-dependent data
under LAC 76:1.321.F and held confidential and shall not be
subject to public records requests.

D. Persons participating in an LDWF-approved
electronic traceability program and who allow LDWF access
for verification purposes shall be exempt from all invoice
submission provisions of this Section.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.15 and R.S. 56:23.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
40:805 (April 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1391 (July 2014).

8705. Logo Use Guidelines and Standards

A. Logo use is restricted to fresh products dealers
wholesale/retail dealers, and retailers that have a valid
LWSCP permit

B. The "Certified Authentic Louisiana Wild Seafood"
trademark (the "logo," shown below) shall only be used in
accordance with the certification standards filed with the
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The
logo shall only be used by participants in the LWSCP who
are in compliance with the program rules and regulations.
Further, the logo shall only be used on or in connection with
product which complies with the program rules and
regulations. Product and associated paperwork/records
bearing the logo, or with which the logo is used, must be
made available for inspection upon request.
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C. AIl uses of the logo must adhere to the specific
guidelines filed with the USPTO.

D. Only the electronic logo files that are made available
to LWSCP participants for download may be used to create
the logo. Further, LWSCP participants must follow these
additional guidelines.

1. The logo shall not be used on top of complex
visuals or photography that bars readability.

2. The logo’s proportions shall not be changed in any
way and shall always remain 1.78 times as wide as it is tall.

3. The minimum size of the logo on product
packaging shall be 0.73 inches tall by 1.3 inches wide.

4. No photocopy of the logo shall be used on any
materials.

5. Labels using the logo shall have a clear or white
background. Labels shall only be professionally printed with
indelible ink on moisture-proof, cold-temperature adhesive
material. Non-adhesive paper for labels shall not be used.

E. The following are allowable uses for this logo by
program participants:

1. printing of the logo directly on LWSCP product
packaging;

2. printing of the logo on adhesive labels to be
attached to LWSCP product packaging;

3. use on promotional materials featuring LWSCP
product (e.g. table tents, recipe cards, point-of-sale signage,
etc.), or their participation in the LWSCP program;

4. use on restaurant menus to designate items using
LWSCP product;

5. print and television advertising promoting the
participant’s use of LWSCP product or their participation in
the LWSCP program;

6. fresh product displays in retail/grocery venues with
"ice picks" or other signage clearly identifying LWSCP
product;

7. on-site signage such as banners and posters
promoting LWSCP product availability;

8. use on websites, mobile applications, and other
digital mediums that promote the participant’s use of
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LWSCP product or their participation in the LWSCP
program;

9. printing or distribution by packaging distributor of
packaging material with the LWSCP logo, to any persons
who are not in the program shall be deemed a violation of
this Section.

F.  When the logo is used to represent product in a retail
location or menu items in a restaurant location, each location
must clearly identify which product or menu items are
LWSCP products.

G. When the LWSCP logo is utilized for general
marketing purposes as described in Paragraphs 3, 5, 7, and 8
of Subsection E, and when it is not associated with a
specifically named product, one of following statements
must appear immediately below the LWSCP logo:

1. "Ask us about our certified products;” or
2. "Ask us about our certified menu items."

a. Similar alternative statements may be approved
by LDWF on a case-by-case basis upon request.

H. The secretary may authorize use of the logo in
materials promoting the LWSCP.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.15 and R.S. 56:23.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of the Secretary, LR 38:2000 (August
2012), amended by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 40:805 (April 2014),
repromulgated LR 40:1392 (July 2014).

§707. Operations

A. Purchasing and/or transferring of seafood intended for
use in the LWSCP.

1. Commercial fishermen intending to sell or transfer
seafood for use in the LWSCP shall be responsible for
ensuring that the seafood was taken legally from Louisiana
waters or the waters of the Gulf of Mexico and either sold
under a LWSCP participating fresh products dealer license,
or landed at and sold to a wholesale/retail dealer possessing
a LWSCP permit.

2. Wholesale/retail dealers possessing a permit and
intending to, purchase, sell, transfer or exchange seafood for
use in the LWSCP, which is labeled with the programs logo
shall be responsible for ensuring LWSCP labeled/destined
seafood is sourced from and sold/transferred to parties that
meet the minimum requirements of the program.

3. Retail dealers possessing a permit and intending to
purchase, sell, transfer, or exchange unpackaged seafood for
use in the LWSCP label shall be responsible for ensuring
that the seafood is supplied by a wholesale/retail dealer who
possesses a LWSCP permit and that the product meets the
minimum requirements of the program.

4. LWSCP seafood must remain segregated from non-
program seafood throughout the supply chain and must be
marked or labeled with "LWSCP" or the program logo at all
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times. Seafood which is processed must be processed
separately from non-program seafood.

5. A website shall be made available to all LWSCP
participants to allow them to verify the permit status of
potential suppliers and buyers. Participants are required to
share their contact information with other participants for
verification purposes via the previously mentioned website.
Participants may also contact LDWF designee to verify
someone's permit status.

B. Packaging, Repackaging, and Unpacking

1. No person shall package or repackage seafood
intended to be sold under the LWSCP name and/or labeled
with the LWSCP logo without possessing a LWSCP permit.

2. All packaging and repackaging of LWSCP seafood
shall take place in Louisiana

3. Repackaged LWSCP seafood shall not be mixed
with seafood not meeting LWSCP requirements. Doing so
shall constitute a commingling program violation.

4. Packaged products labeled with the LWSCP logo
may be sold by persons not possessing a permit provided the
product remains in its original packaging until sold to the
consumer.

5. No person shall sell, barter, trade, or exchange, or
attempt to sell, barter, trade, or exchange unpackaged
seafood under the LWSCP name and logo without
possessing a LWSCP permit.

C. Notwithstanding all other provisions of law regarding
record keeping and reporting requirements for the sale,
trade, or bartering of seafood persons possessing a
wholesale/retail dealer permit or retail dealer permit shall
adhere to the following requirements regarding record
keeping as they pertain to seafood sold under the LWSCP.

1. Seafood sold or attempted to be sold under the
LWSCP name or logo must be designated as such on all
records, invoices, bills of lading, and transfer documents
using "LWSCP."

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.15 and R.S. 56:23.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of the Secretary, LR 38:2001 (August
2012).

§7009.

A. Upon submission of permit application, LDWF shall
validate the applicant’s required licenses and permits and
check for any LWSCP related convictions. Any violations
found shall be treated in a manner consistent with Section E
of this provision

B. Program applicable LDWF, LDHH, and LDAF
violations shall be reported to LWSCP program monitors on
a regular basis. Any convictions found shall be treated in a
manner consistent with Section E of this provision.

Monitoring and Enforcement

C. Product containing the LWSCP label, and all required
records associated with such product, must be made
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available upon request of any LDWF, LDAF, or LDHH
agent for inspection and sampling to ensure certification
standards are being followed. Failure to comply shall result
in removal of the product from the market
[R.S. 56:578.15(B)] and shall be considered a record
keeping violation as described in Section E of this provision.

D. Product samples may be taken to conduct DNA or
protein based country of origin tests. Discovery of any
foreign product shall be considered as commingling under
Section E of this provision and may result in fines and
penalties notwithstanding those associated with LWSCP.

E. LWSCP Violations

1. Any violation of the above LWSCP program rules
shall constitute a class 1 violation under the authority of R.S.
56:23. The provisions of this Section do not exempt any
person from other laws, rules, regulation, and license
requirements for this or other jurisdictions.

2. If any required licenses or permits (LDWF, LDAF,
LDHH) are revoked or temporarily suspended, the
participant shall be automatically removed from the LWSCP
and shall not be able to use the LWSCP logo. When the
license(s) or permit(s) are reinstated, participant can be
reinstated into the LWSCP via the renewal application
process.

3.a. The following program violations involving
LWSCP-labeled seafood products shall result in its seizure:

i. commingling non-certified seafood with

certified seafood;

ii. intentional
seafood;

misrepresentation of program

iii. any trademark infringement practices with
LWSCP trademark and trade name;

iv.  fraudulent trip tickets and/or record keeping;
and

v.  short weight violations.

b. Any seizures or forfeitures of LWSCP-labeled
seafood product or materials shall be disposed of in
accordance with LAC 76:1.305.B.

4. The department shall not issue a permit or register a
product to any person convicted of the following offenses
for the specified length of time from date of conviction.

Offense Ineligible Period
Commingling non-certified seafood into
certified program packaging 36 months
Misrepresentation of program seafood 36 months
Any trademark infringement practices
with LWSCP trademark and trade name 36 months
Falsification or lack of trip tickets or other
sales records, invoices, or bills of lading
required by the program 36 months
Submission of fraudulent LWSCP
application 36 months

First offense 12 months;

Short weights second offense 36 months
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Offense Ineligible Period

First offense 12 months;

Scale tampering second offense 36 months

First offense 12 months;
second offense 36 months

Not adhering to labeling guidelines

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:578.15, R.S. 56:23, and 56:301.4.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of the Secretary, LR 38:2001 (August
2012), repromulgated LR 38:2566 (October 2012), amended by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission, LR 40:805 (April 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1392
(July 2014).

Chapter 9. Louisiana Outdoors
Forever Program

8901. Program Overview

A. The purpose of this program is to provide funding for
outdoor conservation projects in the state of Louisiana. The
Louisiana Outdoors Forever Program (“Program™) is
established within the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
(“LDWEF”).

B. The program’s Project Selection Board shall govern
the program and make all final determinations regarding the
selection of projects for funding under the Program.

C. The program’s Technical Advisory Board shall review
and evaluate applications in accordance with the criteria
established herein and provide their assessments to the
Project Selection Board for consideration and funding.

D. The Louisiana Outdoors Forever Fund shall fund
administration of the program and the conservation projects
selected for funding under the program. Once projects are
selected, all correspondence, reimbursements, and reporting
will be coordinated through LDWF. The Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries shall be responsible for administrative
implementation of the program, including correspondence
with prospective and selected applicants, disbursement of
funds, and performance monitoring, and may charge direct
administrative costs incurred associated with the program to
the Louisiana Outdoors Forever Fund.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1934.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Louisiana Outdoors Forever Program
Project Selection Board and Technical Advisory Board, LR 49:507
(March 2023).

§903. Applicant and Program Eligibility
A. State agencies, political subdivisions of the state,
including local government authorities, and

nongovernmental organizations working in coordination
with public agencies are eligible to apply to the program for
funding.

B. The following types of projects are eligible for
funding:

1. land conservation of important natural
including fish and wildlife habitat;

areas,
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2. water quality projects related to land conservation
or land management, including those lands that protect
drinking water supplies;

3. working land, farms, and forested land;

4. recreational properties related to important natural
areas and public use;

5. historic properties adjacent to or integral to habitat
restoration or enhancement.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1934.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Louisiana Outdoors Forever Program
Project Selection Board and Technical Advisory Board, LR 49:507
(March 2023).

§905. Application Process

A. The Project Selection Board will solicit grant
submission cycles each year, contingent upon availability of
funding. The program has a two-phase approach to the grant
process; a pre-application and a full application.

B. Pre-Application Process

1. Pre-application serves as the basis for determining
project eligibility. All eligible projects will be invited to
submit a full application. Full applications are fundamentally
comprised of weighted grading criteria, which shall
accumulate a total score reviewable by Technical Advisory
Board. Scored and ranked full applications will be submitted
to the Project Selection Board.

2. Upon the direction of the Project Selection Board,
LDWEF shall publish a request for proposals on its website
www.wlif.louisiana.gov/page/louisiana-outdoors-forever for
a period of 60 days.

3. Pre-application submissions shall be submitted via
online application forms prescribed by LDWF and available
at  www.wlif.louisiana.gov/page/louisiana-outdoors-forever.
Pre-applications can be a maximum of seven pages. All pre-
applications must include the following:

a. Cover Letter—This official letter is the
instrument demonstrating support and authority to submit a
pre-application, signed by a ranking authorizing
representative of the entity (board chairperson, parish
president, commissioner, mayor, etc.). It must be on official
letterhead.

b. project title;

C. project category/categories;
d. project location;

e. project map;

f. project description including benefits related to
project category and surrounding community/state;

g. generalized project budget worksheet;
h. responses to each of the evaluation criteria:

i. total project cost;
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ii. total funding requested;

iili.  match commitment(s)—including
status—committed or potential, and source;

type,

iv.  accordance/non-conflict with existing state,
local, and federal plans (list which plan(s);

v.  timeline—time to complete, time to realization
of conservations benefits, and whether the project could be
completed by the close of this funding cycle;

i. estimated or actual appraisal (if applicable, in
addition to the seven-page limit on letters of maximum);

j.  optional documentation (not counted towards the
seven page limit on pre-applications);

i. letter of support;

ii. letter of financial commitment from sponsors
and partners;

4. Pre-Application Evaluation Criteria

a. Pre-applications will be reviewed by the
Technical Advisory Board on the below evaluation criteria.
Applicants that meet the criteria will be invited to complete
a full application. Applicants should be sure their pre-
application contains enough information for reviewers to
consider all criteria.

Applicant Partner (mark affiliation):

Local governing authority

Political subdivision of the state

State agency

Non-government organization working with public agency

Local governing authority

Project Category (mark all that apply):

Land conservation of important natural areas, including fish
and wildlife habitat

Water quality projects related to land conservation or land
management, including those lands that protect drinking water
supplies

Conservation project on working land, farms, and forested
land

Conservation project on recreational properties related to
important natural areas and public use

Conservation project on historic properties adjacent to or
integral to habitat restoration or enhancement

Considerations

Is the total cost outlined in the pre-application? (Y/N)

Does the pre-application describe funding or other type of
match? (Y/N)

Does the pre-application describe how the project will provide
benefits into the future? (Y/N)

Does the project align with any state plan? (Y/N)

Is the project contiguous with other conservation properties?
(Y/N)

Is the project in an underserved area or an area of designated
need? (Y/N)




Title 76, Part |

Does the proposal contain a schedule for timely completion?
(YIN)

Is there a plan for maintenance and management of the project
(sustainability through time)? (Y/N)

C. Full Application Process

1. Applicants who submit a complete and accurate
pre-application that clearly meets the expectations set forth
in the evaluation criteria will receive an invitation to
complete a full application.

2. The application serves as a mechanism in gathering
more detailed project elements, detailed surveys and
reviews, and items that only apply to applicants who are
invited to submit a full application.

3. Items submitted in the pre-application may not be
revised, updated or amended, due to the competitive nature
of the program. If an item must be revised, the Technical
Advisory Board will determine if a Project Agreement
Amendment or a resubmission of a new pre-application
would be required.

4. All applications shall contain the following items:

a. responses to each of the evaluation criteria:
applicants should provide further details on how the
proposed project meets the evaluation criteria;

b. application cover letter: this official letter is the
instrument denoting support and authority to submit an
application, signed by a ranking authorizing representative
of the entity (board chairperson, commissioner, mayor, etc.).
It must be on official letterhead;

c. detailed project budget worksheet: this budget
shall include all items depicted in the pre-application stage,
although a higher level of detail is required. It should show
units of measure/piece count estimates, cost per unit, proper
names of materials, etc.;

d. project description: this is a detailed narrative
describing the entire scope of the project, including location
vicinity map, acreage, purpose, need, and all Louisiana
Outdoors Forever funded project elements. Applicants
should focus on describing the elements and activities
receiving funding, rather than convincing narrative content.
Applicants should also describe the ability of the project to
be scaled up or down;

e. project implementation schedule: a schedule
outlining the timeline and occurrence of each major project
milestone and limited to a project period;

f. landowner letter of support: a letter by willing
seller or contract of sale will be accepted in lieu of the
landowner letter of support.

5. Applications shall contain the following items if
applicable:

a. photos and photo key map: applicants should
submit various photos of the key components of the project
receiving funding. If photos supplied were taken on the
project site, a map of the project site must be included
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showing the relative location of each photograph taken. Each
location is to be numbered corresponding to the
photograph’s number, and an arrow pointing in the direction
of viewing from the photographer’s perspective. No more
than two photos per page are to be uploaded to the online
application;

b. project plans: proposed project plans should be
included when relevant;

6. project specific items: These items are not required
for a project to be considered by the Technical Advisory
Board for the scoring and ranking phase of the application
process. If a project is approved by the project by the Project
Selection Board, the applicant will receive a pre-approval
and is given 12 months to submit needed or requested
documents to LDWF. These documents must be in line with
the pre and full application in order to receive a final
approval;

a. environmental review documents: the
environmental review ensures that any impact upon any
assisted site is in accordance with State and Federal
regulations;

b. site engineering plans (if engineering is a part of
the proposed project): site engineering plans depicting
locations of elements within the site and distances to scale,
and uploaded to the application where requested, will be
required for building or site development projects;

c. evidence of property ownership: the acquisitive
deed whereby the landowner acquired ownership of the
property on which the project will take place, and evidence
of payment of ad valorem taxes for the past three years.
Legal title opinion preferred;

d. full narrative appraisal: a full narrative appraisal
prepared by a licensed MAI appraiser (if applicable, i.e.
projects which include an acquisition of real property
interests);

e. partnership commitment: any application that is
part of another grant award that has not been received at the
time of application submission will receive a pre-approval
letter if their projected is approved by the Project Selection
Board until they produce the approved grant agreement.

7. The Technical Advisory Board can mandate an
applicant include any project specific item they deem
necessary to ensure a project meets the claimed benefits of
the pre and full application.

8. Applications must be submitted by midnight on the
prescribed deadline date. All applications are reviewed by
the Technical Advisory Board to verify application
completeness. Applicants who are unable to meet all
requirements for a complete application by the deadline may
be granted an extension by the Technical Advisory Board.

9. All complete applications approved by the Project
Selection board will be contacted by LDWF to schedule a
mandatory Financial Workshop to explain and review the
reimbursement process and documentation required for
reporting, monitoring and reimbursements. Upon attending
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the financial workshop, both parties will sign a project
agreement and a notice to proceed will be issued by the
department.

10. Any application containing a Project Specific Item
that was part of the full application package but received a
pre-approval letter will have 12 months to submit those
items to the department. Upon receipt and approval by the
department, LDWF will schedule a mandatory Financial
Workshop with grantees to explain and review the
reimbursement process and documentation required for
reporting, monitoring and reimbursements. Upon attending
the financial workshop, both parties will sign a project
agreement and a notice to proceed will be issued by the
department.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1934.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Louisiana Outdoors Forever Program
Project Selection Board and Technical Advisory Board, LR 49:507
(March 2023).

§907. Evaluation Criteria Scoring

A. All applications will be reviewed in light of the
questions below.

1. Question 1—Project Needs and Benefits (max 50
points). Does this project provide specific and clearly
identified needs and benefits? Project benefits considered
can include the following:

a. Outdoor Recreational Opportunity

i.  Criteria Question: Does this project provide
new or enhanced recreational access to parks/green
space/natural environment (for fishing, hiking, hunting,
canoeing, or other?

ii.  Criteria Details: Applicant should list any new
or enhanced recreational access provided by this project.

iii.  Criteria Question: Will this project provide
outdoor nature-based recreational opportunities?

iv.  Criteria Details: Applicant must list all nature-
based outdoor recreation opportunities provided by the
acquisition or development of this property.

b. Cultural and Historical Value

i. Criteria Question: Does this project provide
conservation on or adjacent to a historical site or site of
cultural significance?

ii.  Criteria Details: Applicant must describe how
the project provides conservation on or near the historical
site or site of cultural significance.

iii.  Criteria Question: Does this project include the
acquisition or stewardship of land with a cultural or
historical value?

iv.  Criteria Details: Applicant must demonstrate
how the property has local, regional or state-wide cultural
and/or historical value and describe how this project adds to
or enriches that value.
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c. Water Quality

i.  Criteria Question: Does this project provide
improvement of impaired water quality or protection of
water quality in healthy waters that meet or exceed water
quality standards, including drinking water supplies?

ii.  Criteria Details: Applicant should describe how
the project provides improvement of water quality or
protection.

d. Ecological Value

i.  Criteria Question: Does this project provide
enhancement or conservation of important natural areas,
including fish and wildlife habitat and corridors?

ii.  Criteria Details: Applicant must describe how
the project provides enhancement or conservation of
important natural areas.

iii.  Criteria Question: Does the project provide
conservation of soil, water, or other natural resources on
working lands?

iv.  Criteria Details: Applicant must demonstrate
how the project provides conservation of soil, water, or other
natural resources related to working lands.

v.  Criteria Question: Does this project include the
acquisition or stewardship of land with a significant
ecological, conservation, restoration, or natural resource
sustainability value?

vi.  Criteria Details: Applicant must demonstrate
the significant ecological value of the project including, but
not limited to, native plant and animal species of a
conservation concern; and/or the critical importance of the
habitat, particularly those that include a stream buffer.

e. Contiguous

i. Criteria Question: Is the proposed project
contiguous with other conservation properties (including but
not limited to local, state or federal parks and forests,
conservation easements, scenic rivers or other important
properties)?

ii. Criteria Details: Applicants project should
demonstrate that the project is contiguous with other
conservation properties.

f.  Future Benefits

i.  Criteria Question: Does this project satisfy
specific and clearly identified benefits into the future and
how they meet the desired project category?

ii.  Criteria Details: Describe how elements within
your proposal meet a project category from the program.
Clearly identify your project’s anticipated lifespan and how
it will yield benefits for Louisiana into the future.

g. Stewardship

i.  Criteria Question: Will this project promote the
stewardship of natural resources?
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ii.  Criteria Details: Applicant must demonstrate
how this project will promote effective conservation and
sustainable practices, protect the scenic or unique natural
features present and visibility of such, assist the property in
remaining relevant to the community, and encourage
visitation and participation by providing a safe recreational
experience for future generations.

2. Question 2—Partnerships (max 10 points)

a. Criteria Question: Is there a measurable value
added to this project through cooperation with external
partners?

b. Criteria Details: Applicant must describe the
contribution of all partnerships and provide documentation
of close participation of all entities. Applicant must identify
the scope and participation level of each entity, including
donations, cash or materials, volunteer/staff hours or
professional services provided.

c. Required Documents: Letters of commitment
must be uploaded for each partnership. Letters of
commitment must specify the value of each partnership.

d. Note: Any cash, donations, etc. detailed in
commitment letters must be included in the Project Budget
Worksheet.

3. Question 3—Underserved Area or Area of

Designated Need (max 10 points)

a. Criteria Question: Does this project satisfy
specific and clearly identified needs within an underserved
area or area of designated need?

b. Criteria Details: The pre-application should
describe if and how the project will benefit an underserved
area or area of designated need.

4. Question 4—Funding or Matching Funds (max 10
points)

a. Criteria Question: What amount or percentage of
matching funds or in-kind match will be provided?

b. Question Details: Applicant must identify the
amount or percentage of matching funds or in-kind match
that they will provide, including the source of funds.

c. All matching funds or in-kind match must be
included and highlighted as such in the Project Budget
Worksheet. Written documentation of monetary investments
or in-kind match must be provided in the form of letters of
contribution.

5. Question 5—Local, State, Regional, or Federal
Plans (max 5 points)

a. Criteria Question: Does this project coincide
with, build upon or add value to any existing local, state,
regional, or federal plan?

b. Criteria Details: Applicant must cite the relevant
local, state, regional, or federal plan and the project’s
alignment to the plan.

6. Question 6—Timely Completion (max 5 points)
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a. Criteria Question: What is the estimated schedule
for completion?

b. Criteria Details: Any application that is postured
to be ready to begin may be assigned points for having a
high likelihood of timely completion.

7. Question 7—Economic

(max 5 points)

Development/Benefits

a. Criteria Question: Will this project create
opportunities to enhance the local, regional and/or statewide
economy?

b. Criteria Details: Applicant must demonstrate how
the project will benefit the local, regional, and/or statewide
economy. The applicant may provide the following to show
the positive impact of this project beyond the local or host
community: current comprehensive plan; parish or local
stakeholder work plans; resource inventory; NRI data;
current recreation master plan; current county or regional
master plan; current trail system plan; State Comprehensive
Outdoor Recreation Plan; current capital improvements plan,
current regional water plan and/or land use management
plan; recorded public hearing minutes; supporting
documentation from the Chamber of Commerce; letters from
local business(es) or economic development organizations;
etc.

c. The information provided should describe job
creation, ecosystem services, recreational use income,
enhancements to rural economies as quantified by
agricultural economics, and other related economic benefits
expected to result from this project, if applicable.

NOTE: The purpose of this question is to advance local,
regional, or statewide significant economic impacts, in order
to continue to sustain the local, regional, or statewide
economic base, as well as diversify those respective drivers.
Applicants may submit local, regional, or statewide planning
documents as proof.

8. Question 8—Maintenance (max 5 points)

a. Criteria Question: What is the maintenance and
management plan for the project?

b. Criteria Details: Describe the maintenance and
management plan in place for the project, or how a plan will
be developed before project completion. The information
provided should showcase sustainability through time.
Maintenance plans may include but are not limited to RMS
level or other site specific conservation plans.

c. Criteria Question: Do you have a plan and budget
to maintain, manage, and secure this property for multiple
years of commitment beyond the project completion date?

d. Criteria Details: Applicant must provide an
approved applicable maintenance, management, and security
plan that shows multi-year of commitment beyond the
project completion date. These commitments must address
monetary support as well as address a credible timeline.

Scoring Criteria Points

Project Needs and Benefits 50
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Partnerships 10
Underserved Areas or Areas of Designated Need 10
Funding or Matching Funds 10
Local, State, Regional, or Federal Plans 5
Timely Completion 5
Economic Development/Benefits 5
Maintenance 5
Total 100

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1934.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Louisiana Outdoors Forever Program
Project Selection Board and Technical Advisory Board, LR 49:509
(March 2023).

8909. Grant Recipient Requirements
A. Term

1. Grant recipients will have up to 24 months to
complete the approved project from the date of the mutually
signed project agreement and the issuance of a notice to
proceed. Any variance or extensions must be formally
requested via a project agreement amendment, extension
request, or change of scope request. All formal requests will
be reviewed by the Technical Advisory Board and approved
by the Chairperson of the Project Selection Board. No
reimbursable costs shall be incurred beyond 24 months after
the notice to proceed has been issued, or the period for
which an amendment or extension has been granted,
whichever is later.

B. Reporting Requirements
1. Quarterly Progress Reports

a. Once a project agreement is signed, the grantee
shall report on the progress of the project, on a quarterly
basis as follows:

i.  period beginning January 1, ending March 31:
report is due April 30;

ii. period beginning April 1, ending June 30:
report is due July 31;

iii.  period beginning July 1, ending September 30:
report is due October 31;

iv.  period beginning October 1, ending December
31: report is due January 31.

b. Grantees are required to submit quarterly
progress reports to LDWF to ensure that LDWF is aware of
the project’s progress. Quarterly progress reports can be
accessed and filled out on
www.wlf.louisiana.gov/page/louisiana-outdoors-forever. The
progress report shall summarize the work accomplished to
date, any issues arising with the project, an estimated
percentage of project completion, and an estimate of funds
to be expended over the next quarter. Photos or other
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documents are required in communicating the status of the
project.

2. Final Reports

a. Grantees must inform LDWF that their project is
complete by submitting a final report and mark it as “final”
prior to the expiration of the project period. The final report
serves as notice that the grantee has completed the project in
compliance with applicable regulations and must include:

i. digital images of all
elements which received funding;

ii. indication that the project is complete,
accessible, and open to the public, if applicable;

iii. documentation that all corrective items
identified during the final on-site inspection have been
completed. This may require an additional final inspection
prior to close out;

completed project

iv.  official As-built drawings in .pdf format;

v.  for acquisitions only—An updated property
deed with required protective language and recording stamp
from the local jurisdiction’s parish clerk’s office;

vi.  final reimbursement request marked as “Final”;
vii.  authorizing officer’s signature.

b. LDWEF staff will inspect all completed projects.
Final payments shall not be made until final documentation
is received and approved, and the project has been inspected
and verified as complete.

C. Reimbursement Requests

1. Payment of grant funds is on a reimbursement
basis. Accurate and comprehensive documentation of project
costs is critical. Applicants will be required to submit to
LDWF a reimbursement request as well as detailed
documentation (e.g. proof-of-purchase, proof-of-payment,
force account details, etc.) prior to reimbursement. All
reporting responsibilities in addition to reimbursement
requests shall be adhered to throughout the entirety of the
project.

2. Grantees may request reimbursements at any time,
although it is recommended that requests are submitted at
least quarterly. LDWF will generally make payment in less
than 30 days after a reimbursement request has been
approved. Reimbursement requests are based on actual
project expenditures that align with the grantee’s project
agreement, including the approved project application scope
and budget.

3. Adequate supporting documentation for all
expenses is required with each request, including but not
limited to:

a. proof of payment, including payment for match
items;

b. invoices;

c. donation and in-kind documentation;
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d. documentation of procurement/bidding process;
e. photos (optional);

f. additional supporting documentation to process a
reimbursement as needed.

4. Partial Billings. A partial billing is considered to be
a request made before the project is completed. Total partial
billings may not exceed 90 percent of the total grant amount.
10 percent of the total approved grant amount held as a
retainer.

5. Final Billing. Final billing shall be made when the
project’s scope of work is complete, all required
documentation has been submitted and approved, and the
project is open to the public, if applicable. Grantees must
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submit a final reimbursement request and identify any
remaining unneeded surplus balance via an attached memo.
project agreement amendment requests submitted to LDWF
in an effort to utilize surplus funds shall not be considered
for approval. Only those items as submitted in the original
budget and scope are eligible for reimbursement, per the
project agreement. Once a project has been closed,
remaining funds are no longer obligated and LDWF cannot
make additional payments.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
1934.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Louisiana Outdoors Forever Program
Project Selection Board and Technical Advisory Board, LR 49:510
(March 2023).
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Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

Part 11l. Game and Fish Preserves and Sanctuaries

Chapter 1.Responsibilities, Duties,
and Regulations
8101. Nature Trails on Wildlife Management Areas

A. Cutting, breaking or collecting leaves, plants, etc., is
absolutely prohibited. The commission will however,
provide educational groups conducting sponsored field trips
into the area with a written permit to collect leaves and other
plant material for permanent study collections. All such
permitted collections will be made from the wildlife
management area away from the marked trail. No one is
authorized to give you oral permission to collect.

B. No Picnicking on the Trail. This does not apply to the
parking area, however, no garbage disposal will be provided
and you should take your own trash back to an authorized
disposal area.

C. No horses, bikes, or motorized vehicles are permitted
on the nature trail.

D. No dogs or firearms permitted except as specified in
wildlife management area regulations.

E. Hunting Seasons Use. Some kind of hunting season is
open on the area usually from the first Saturday in October
until mid-January, and a turkey season is usually held during
portions of March and April. During squirrel and turkey
seasons, it is directed that you not use the trail before
9:30 a.m. During the gun hunting season for deer you need
to wear the highly visible hunter orange outer garments that
are required as a safety measure for deer hunters. See
hunting, fishing and trapping regulations published annually
by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission.

F. Penalty. Whoever violates the foregoing rules and
regulations for each offense, shall be prosecuted and subject
to penalties under R.S. 56:764.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:109.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
3:323 (July 1977).

8103. Mineral Operations on the State Wildlife Refuge

A. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has
adopted, via resolution of the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission, the following rules and regulations governing
mineral operations on the State Wildlife Refuge.

1. No oil, oily fluids, drilling muds, oil field brine, or
other pollutants shall be permitted to be discharged into any
canals or marshes from any installation, barge, watercraft, or
other fixtures. Any discharge of such fluids shall be directed
into disposal wells unless otherwise permitted by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Department of
Natural Resources.
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2. Tank batteries shall be constructed on all lands to
conform with rules and regulations of the Department of
Natural Resources and Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
particularly with reference to construction and maintenance
of leveed fire walls. Inspection reports on the condition of
pipes and pipeline carriers shall be prepared and submitted
to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and Department
of Natural Resources twice annually. All pipelines must be
buried at least 3 feet deep in push ditches that must be back
filled upon installation.

3. All rules and regulations of Louisiana Stream
Control Commission shall be strictly observed by the lessee.

4. Flares may be burned only during daylight hours
unless shown to be absolutely necessary at night. All flares
shall be burned into a pit. Flares will be burned only with the
permission of the Department of Natural Resources and
under the supervision of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries and the Department of Natural Resources.

5. Any damages incurred by lessee, by his operations,
to levees, water control structures, bulkheads and other
facilities owned and operated by the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries shall be restored to original condition by
lessee.

6. Access to or on the leased premises for drilling and
production operations shall be by marine equipment in Lake
Fearman, Portage Lake and Bayou Fearman and elsewhere
on the refuge by road. The dredging of canals through the
marshes is prohibited. Access construction plans will be
approved by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries in
advance of beginning operations.

7. All road beds shall be constructed from staggered
borrow pits. These shall be evenly alternated on each side
of the road bed and each individual pit shall not exceed
300 feet in length and 40 feet in width. A minimum of
15 feet of berm shall be maintained between the road bed
and edge of borrow pit. Drainage and water control will be
provided for by means of asbestos bonded culverts with drop
gates under all roadbeds unless otherwise directed by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Department of
Natural Resources. Navigable canals and waterways shall
not be blocked on the refuge. All road and canal construction
plans must first be approved by the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries and the Department of Natural Resources
before construction begins.

8. In order to prevent excessive access construction in
the preserve, lessee agrees that if the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries and the Department of Natural Resources
determine that an access route shall be used by a third party
lessee then said route shall be used jointly upon the payment
of a fair and proportionate share of the cost and maintenance
by the third party lessee.
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9. Should lessee commit any act which shall be
complained of as a violation of the act of donation for the
State Wildlife Refuge or its transferee or assignee, said
lessee shall immediately correct said violation upon being
notified.

10. Bank erosion control shall be provided for in using
any existing canals. No existing canals shall be used without
prior approval of Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

11. No telephone, telegraph or powerlines shall be
constructed above marsh level without prior approval of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Department of
Natural Resources. All development sites will be kept clean
and free of debris or litter. Abandoned well sites will be
restored to original condition.

12. Lessee shall comply with all rules and regulations
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and Department
of Natural Resources for the protection of game and wildlife,
and particularly no hunting, fishing or any other activity
harmful to wildlife shall be permitted on any part of the
leased land or any other part of the refuge.

13. All requirements and conditions contained in the
deed by which the said game preserve area was donated to
the state of Louisiana, shall be fully and strictly complied
with.

14. Unless approval is first obtained from the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, no tank batteries,
rigging or other permanent structure shall be installed within
2,000 feet of the main headquarters or within a distance that
may prove damaging to any of the wood, concrete or steel
water control structures on the area.

15. The willful or continued violation of any of the
aforesaid regulations shall constitute cause for revocation of
the lease.

16. All development not otherwise specified above
shall be subject to approval of Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries and the Department of Natural Resources.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:5 and R.S. 56:799.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
3:297 (June 1977).

8105. Road Use Changes
A. Purpose. The changes to go into effect this fall are
being made to improve hunter access and reduce

maintenance costs while continuing to provide adequate
access to harvest the available sources.

B. Overview

Seven Wildlife Management Areas Affected
Total ATV Trails [ 83 miles
Changes
Roads converted to ATV trails 68.25 miles
Red River WMA—Converted to ATV (District 1V) 20.5 miles
Three Rivers WMA—Converted to ATV  (District 1V) 9.0 miles
Saline WMA—Converted to ATV (District 1V) 16.5 miles
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Seven Wildlife Management Areas Affected

Boeuf WMA—Converted to ATV (District 1V) 11.0 miles
Spring Bayou WMA—Converted to ATV (District 1V) 5.5 miles
Grassy Lake WMA—Converted to ATV  (District 1V) 2.75 miles

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:950.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
13:670 (November 1987).

§107. Collection of Mayhaw Fruit

A. All persons gathering mayhaw fruit on wildlife
management areas (WMA) for commercial or home
consumption shall abide by the following rules and
regulations.

1. Everyone must abide by all rules and regulations in
effect on the WMA.

2. Access routes and vehicle use must conform to
rules and regulations established for the respective WMA.

3. Damage to mayhaw trees (trunk and branch) and
surrounding vegetation is prohibited.

4. The use of mechanical harvesters, including
shakers, is prohibited.
5. Mayhaw harvest is prohibited on wildlife

management areas when turkey seasons are in progress.

6. Persons may only take 5 gallons per person per day
for home consumption. Collecting in excess of 5 gallons per
person per day is defined as a commercial activity. Anyone
wishing to collect in commercial quantities must obtain a
permit from the district office and notify the department as
to where collection will take place.

7. If the department deems that collection of mayhaw
is detrimental to a specific area then the department may
close that portion to all mayhaw collection.

B. These rules are being implemented to allow for
harvesting of the fruit and still protect the resource for future
use.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:115 and HB 976 of the 1991 Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
18:290 (March 1992).

8109. Trail Rides on Wildlife Management Areas
(WMAS)

A. Organized trail rides are not consistent with the
purpose and operations of wildlife management areas or
refuges owned by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
and/or state of Louisiana and shall not be permitted. No
special permits or exemptions to existing rules shall be
issued by the department for organized trail rides on wildlife
management areas or refuges managed by the department
under lease from other parties.

B. For the purposes of this rule, an Organized Trail Ride
shall include but not be limited to:
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1. any gathering where participants tender a fee or
donation to any entity other than the department to
participate in a group activity such as all terrain vehicle
riding, horseback riding, or wagon riding; or

2. any event whose primary purpose is the use of trails
that is advertised in any way to attract participants; or

3. any event involving the use of trails at which there
are vendors selling commodities whether such commodities
are sold for profit or not; or

4. any organized event or gathering of individuals
involving any manner of conveyance or conveyances to be
used on the WMA that causes excessive damage to roads,
trails, or to the habitat.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:109, 115, 752, 754, 763, 782 and 785.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
21:1268 (November 1995).

8111.  Access and Permits

A. A valid wildlife management area (WMA) access
permit or license conveying an equivalent privilege shall be
required for use of department-administered lands including
wildlife refuges and wildlife management and habitat
conservation areas. Persons under eighteen years of age are
exempt from this requirement.

B. Self-Clearing Permits. A self-clearing permit is
required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, bird
watching, sightseeing, etc.) on department-administered
lands including wildlife refuges, except for the Rockefeller
Wildlife Refuge and the Marsh Island Wildlife Refuge, and
wildlife management and habitat conservation areas. The
self-clearing permit will consist of two portions: check in,
check out. All persons must either check in/check out
electronically through the department WMA/public land
self-clearing permit app/Internet Web Portal or obtain a self-
clearing permit from an information station. Users may
check in one day in advance of use. Users that check in by
electronic means are required to possess proof of check in
and must check out within 24 hours. If utilizing paper self-
clearing permits from an information station, check in
portion must be completed and put in a permit box before
each day's activity. The check-out portion must be carried by
each person while on the properties and must be completed
and put in a permit box immediately upon exiting the
properties.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:5 and R.S. 56:109.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
48:1590 (June 2022), amended by House Concurrent Resolution
No. 3 of the 2023 Regular Session, LR 49:1183 (June 2023).

8113. Prohibited Activities

A. Operation of drones or unmanned aerial vehicles
(UAV) is prohibited on department-administered lands
including wildlife refuges and wildlife management and
habitat conservation areas.
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B. Airboats, aircraft, personal watercraft, “mud crawling
vessels” (commonly referred to as crawfish combines which
use paddle wheels for locomotion) and hovercraft are
prohibited on all department-administered lands including
wildlife refuges and wildlife management and habitat
conservation areas.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:5 and R.S. 56:109.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
48:1590 (June 2022).

Chapter 3.Particular Game and Fish
Preserves, Wildlife Management
Areas, Refuges and Conservation

Areas

8301. Atchafalaya Delta Wildlife Management Area

A. Whereas, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has
for several months considered the establishment of a major
wildlife management area in Atchafalaya Bay south of
Morgan City; and

B. whereas, a major delta marshland is in the process of
forming in the bay as a result of sedimentation from the
Atchafalaya River; and

C. whereas, the new delta marsh will become one of the
most important wildlife areas along the Gulf Coast; and

D. whereas, tens of thousands of ducks and geese and
large numbers of other forms of wildlife are already utilizing
the 10,000 acres of marshes and mud flats that have formed
in the bay; and

E. whereas, the delta is increasing in size at a rate of
600 or 700 acres per year and is expected to extend outward
to Pointe au Fer Island by the end of this century; and

F. whereas, the establishment of a wildlife management
area would afford protection for the wildlife resources and
habitat in the bay area while at the same time providing the
people of Louisiana with a public area where hunting,
fishing, and other forms of outdoor recreation can be
enjoyed; and

G. whereas, the Louisiana Legislature during the regular
1977 session enacted a statute providing for the
establishment of a wildlife management area in this location;
now,

H. therefore be it resolved that the Louisiana Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission does hereby authorize and
empower the Secretary of the Department of Natural
Resources to initiate and sign any and all documents
necessary to the establishment of the 125,000-acre
Atchafalaya Delta Wildlife Management Area; now,

I. be it further resolved any outstanding leases that may
have been previously issued from lands in this area will be
honored.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:781.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
3:346 (August 1977).

§305. Lake Bistineau

A. Whereas, intensive use by persons boating,
swimming, skiing and fishing on Lake Bistineau is creating
conditions hazardous to the users of this lake; and

B. whereas, the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission has been delegated administrative authority
over Lake Bistineau;

C. therefore be it resolved, the following rules and
regulations are adopted and are to become effective January
1, 1976.

1. The discharging of rifles or handguns into, across,
or upon Lake Bistineau is prohibited.

2. Water skiing will be allowed in designated areas
only. These areas will be marked as ski areas and are as
follows:

a.  main channel as marked,;
b. man-made ski road;
c. Hard Pond;
d. Blue Pond;
e. Catfish Pond;
f. Gregg Lake;
g. Shreveport Pond;
h. Teal Slough.
3. Ski Platforms

a. No new permanent ski platforms may be
constructed. All existing structures will be removed within
one calendar year. All ski platforms will be of a floating
nature and will not be permanently attached to trees (nails,
spikes, etc.).

b. Name and address of platform owner or owners
will be attached to platform for identification purposes.
Parking of platforms in an area does not give owner
exclusive rights to usage of this section of the lake.
Platforms may not be parked in a manner which will
obstruct normal boat traffic.

4. Piers and boat houses extending into Lake
Bistineau will be approved by the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission prior to construction.

5. Gill Nets, Flag Nets, and Trammel Nets Size
Restrictions. All flag nets, gill nets, and trammel nets must
be at least 4-inch square mesh or 8-inch stretch.

6. Duck Blinds. All new duck blind construction will
be of a floating nature. Attaching blinds to trees using nails,
spikes, or any device driven into the tree is prohibited.

Louisiana Administrative Code January 2024

38

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:802.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
1:413 (September 1975).

§307. Bundick Lake Dam
A. Prohibition of Motorized Vehicles

1. Whereas, the driving of vehicles, motorbikes, and
three-wheelers, on the levee of Bundick Lake Dam has
caused ruts, holes, elimination of grass, and washing away
of the levee; and

2. whereas, the Beauregard Parish Police Jury and
concerned citizens of Beauregard Parish have requested the
Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to prohibit
motorized vehicles on the dam levee in order to prevent
damage to the levee;

3. therefore, be it resolved, the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission does hereby prohibit the driving of
motorized vehicles on the Bundick Lake Dam Levee; and

4. De it further resolved, that signs be erected denoting
this prohibition and that agents of the enforcement division
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforce this
regulation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:802.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
8:524 (October 1982).

8309. Rockefeller Wildlife Refuge
A. Visitor Regulations

1. The visiting season on the Rockefeller Wildlife
Refuge will extend from March 1 to December 1 throughout
the refuge except in those restricted areas designated to
prohibit interference with research and management
activities. Use of Humble Canal, Joseph Harbor Bayou,
Headquarters Canal, East End Road and Locks, Union
Producing Canal, Deep Lake, East End Boundary Canal, and
Rollover Bayou shall be year round. In addition to this
access, sport fishermen shall be permitted to enter the refuge
from the Gulf side in Pigeon Bayou, Big Constance Bayou,
Little Constance Bayou. Access through these bayous will be
permitted only as far inland as the existing water control
structures. The remainder of the refuge shall be restricted
during the winter months and will be closed to all
trespassing.

2. Use of the refuge will be allowed from official
sunrise until official sunset. This includes access routes
through the refuge.

3. Overnight camping is prohibited.

4. Hunting, pursuing, Kkilling, molesting or
intentionally disturbing any type of wildlife by the public is
prohibited. This does not prohibit the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries from carrying out harvest programs for certain
types of wildlife as specified in the Deed of Donation and/or
Memorandum of Agreement.
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5. Trawling on the refuge is prohibited. Trotlines, jug
lines, trammel and gill nets and traps are prohibited. All
commercial fishing and use of any commercial fishing gear
on the refuge is prohibited. Twenty-five pounds of shrimp
(heads on) per boat or vehicle per day is allowed during the
inside open shrimp season as established by the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission. Ten pounds of shrimp (heads on) for
bait purposes may be caught during the closed season.
Shrimp may be harvested only by cast net on the refuge and
only for sport fishing or home consumption use.

6. Crawfish may be harvested from the open portion
of the refuge and 100 pounds per boat or vehicle is allowed
per day. Set nets may be used but must be attended and
removed from the refuge daily. No commercial harvest is
allowed.

7. Crabs may be harvested from the open portion of
the refuge and 12 dozen crabs are allowed per boat or
vehicle per day.

8. Oysters may be harvested by tonging (properly
licensed) or by hand collection from the natural reefs. One
gallon per boat or vehicle per day is allowed and oysters
must be opened at the reef and the shells returned to the reef.
Taking of oysters on the reef is dependent upon Department
of Health and Hospitals' approval and may be closed at any
time by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

9. The burning of the marsh by the public is
prohibited. Water control structures shall not be tampered
with or altered by anyone other than employees of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

10. Bringing firearms, bows and arrows, liquor and
controlled dangerous substances (drugs) onto the refuge is
prohibited. All boats and vehicles are subject to search by all
authorized employees of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries at anytime.

11. Speed boat racing and water skiing are prohibited.
All boat traffic shall honor no wake zones and shall keep
wave wash to a minimum. Pulling boats over or around
levees, dams or water control structures is prohibited.

12. No littering is allowed. Visitors must remove their
litter or place litter in appropriate litter disposal sites.
Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs and wild plants
without prior approval is prohibited.

13. Commercial fishing gear or trawls shall not be
permitted in possession while participating in sport fishing
on refuge. Commercial fishing gear may be in possession for
nonstop access directly across refuge or for safe harbor only.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
4:340 (September 1978), amended LR 9:691 (October 1983), LR
15:100 (February 1989).

8310. Marsh Island Wildlife Refuge

A. \Visitor Regulations
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1. Use of the refuge will be allowed from official
sunrise to official sunset. This includes access routes through
the refuge.

2. Overnight camping is prohibited.

3. Hunting, pursuing, killing, molesting or
intentionally disturbing any type of wildlife by the public is
prohibited. This does not prohibit the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries from carrying out harvest programs for certain
types of wildlife as specified in the Deed of Donation and/or
Memorandum of Agreement.

4. Trawling on the refuge is prohibited. Trotlines, jug
lines, trammel and gill nets and traps are prohibited. All
commercial fishing and use of any commercial fishing gear
on the refuge is prohibited. Twenty-five pounds of shrimp
(heads on) per boat or vehicle per day is allowed during the
inside open shrimp season as established by the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission. Ten pounds of shrimp (heads on) for
bait purposes may be caught during the closed season.
Shrimp may be harvested only by cast net on the refuge and
only for sport fishing or home consumption use.

5. Crawfish may be harvested from the open portion
of the refuge and 100 pounds per boat or vehicle is allowed
per day. Set nets may be used but must be attended and
removed from the refuge daily. No commercial harvest is
allowed.

6. Crabs may be harvested from the open portion of
the refuge and 12 dozen crabs are allowed per boat or
vehicle per day. No commercial harvest is allowed.

7. Oysters may be harvested by tonging (properly
licensed) or by hand collection from the natural reefs. One
gallon per boat or vehicle per day is allowed and oysters
must be opened at the reef and the shells returned to the reef.
Taking of oysters on the reef is dependent upon Department
of Health and Hospitals' approval and may be closed at any
time by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

8. The burning of the marsh by the public is
prohibited. Water control structures shall not be tampered
with or altered by anyone other than employees of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

9. Bringing firearms, bows and arrows, liquor and
controlled dangerous substances (drugs) onto the refuge is
prohibited. All boats and vehicles are subject to search by all
authorized employees of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries at anytime.

10. Speed boat racing and water skiing are prohibited.
All boat traffic shall honor no wake zones and shall keep
wave wash to a minimum. Pulling boats over or around
levees, dams or water control structures is prohibited. The
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries may further restrict
specified areas of the refuge from public access or use.

11. No littering is allowed. Visitors must remove their
litter or place litter in appropriate litter disposal sites.
Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs and wild plants
without prior approval is prohibited.
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12. Commercial fishing gear or trawls shall not be
permitted in possession while participating in sport fishing
on refuge. Commercial fishing gear may be in possession for
nonstop access directly across refuge or for safe harbor only.

13. Enforcement officials shall have the duty and the
right to restrict access to the island, even for the purpose
herein enumerated, whenever the circumstances exist that
such access may impair the primary purpose of the island as
a wildlife refuge and sanctuary.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:101 (February 1989).

8316.  St. Tammany Wildlife Refuge Mineral Lease

A. Whereas, the State Mineral Board has received an
application for a mineral lease on the 1,300-acre St.
Tammany Wildlife Refuge which is owned and operated by
the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission; and

B. whereas, the Mineral Board has requested that the
commission provide appropriate rules and regulations for
inclusion in the advertisement for bids and also in any
mineral lease that may be issued on this property; and

C. whereas, this refuge occupies a long narrow strip of
marshland bordering the north shore of Lake Pontchartrain;
and

D. whereas, a study of the area has revealed that mineral
operations under appropriate regulations could be conducted
without damage to the surface of the refuge; now

E. therefore be it resolved that the following rules and
regulations are hereby adopted by the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission to be used for the purpose of
controlling any mineral operations that may take place on,
under, or adjacent to the refuge boundaries.

1. No drilling and production operation or canals shall
be permitted on the surface area.

2. All drilling shall be by directional means from Lake
Pontchartrain or from adjacent land or waters along the
boundary of the refuge.

3. Drilling and production activities in Lake
Pontchartrain shall be restricted for a distance of 500 feet
along the entire refuge boundary. Access to directional
drilling locations in Lake Pontchartrain shall be by most
direct route from deep water to prevent excessive damage to
aquatic vegetation and erosion to shoal area and shoreline.

4. Lessee shall comply with all rules and regulations
of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, and the State Mineral Board for the
protection of game and wildlife, and particularly no hunting,
fishing, or any other activity harmful to wildlife shall be
permitted on any part of the leased land or any other part of
the refuge.
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5. All development not otherwise specified above
shall be subject to approval of the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries and the State Mineral Board.

6. All of the state and federal pollution control
regulations shall be adhered to.

7. The willful or continued violation of any of the
aforesaid regulations shall constitute cause for revocation of
the lease.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
3:212 (April 1977).

§318. Fontainebleau State Park, Hunting Prohibition

A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission took action at
its June 6, 1986 meeting in Baton Rouge, Louisiana to
prohibit hunting on all private lands within the
Fontainebleau State Park in St. Tammany Parish. The
proposal was recommended by the Division of State Parks
and adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and
becomes effective on publication in the Louisiana Register.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:3, 56:115, and 56:123(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
12:603 (September 1986).

§323.  State Wildlife and Paul J. Rainey Refuges
A. Visitor Regulations for State Wildlife Refuge

1. Use of the refuge will be allowed from official
sunrise to official sunset. This includes access routes through
the refuge.

2. Overnight camping is prohibited.

3. Hunting, pursuing, killing, molesting or
intentionally disturbing any type of wildlife by the public is
prohibited. This does not prohibit the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries from carrying out harvest programs for certain
types of wildlife as specified in the deed of donation.

4. Commercial and recreational trawling on the refuge
is prohibited. Recreational trotlines, jug lines, trammel nets,
gill nets, hoop nets and fish and crab traps are prohibited. All
commercial fishing and use of any commercial fishing gear
on the refuge is prohibited. Twenty-five pounds of shrimp
(heads on) per boat or vehicle per day is allowed during the
inside open shrimp season as established by the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission. Ten pounds of shrimp (heads on) for
bait purposes may be caught during the closed season.
Shrimp may be harvested only by cast net on the refuge and
only for sport fishing or home consumption use. Containers
are required to receive cast net catches to prevent littering
and for safety purposes.

5. Crawfish may be harvested from the open portion
of the refuge and 100 pounds per boat or vehicle is allowed
per day. Set nets may be used but must be attended and
removed from the refuge daily. No commercial harvest is
allowed.
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6. Crabs may be harvested from the open portion of
the refuge; and 12 dozen crabs are allowed per boat or
vehicle per day. A maximum of 12 crab nets is allowed per
boat or vehicle. No commercial harvest is allowed.

7. Oysters may be harvested by tonging (properly
licensed) or by hand collection from the natural reefs. One
gallon per boat or vehicle per day is allowed and oysters
must be opened at the reef and the shells returned to the reef.
Taking of oysters on the reef is dependent upon Department
of Health and Hospitals' approval and may be closed at any
time by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

8. The burning of the marsh by the public is
prohibited. Water control structures shall not be tampered
with or altered by anyone other than employees of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

9. Bringing firearms, bows and arrows, liquor and
controlled dangerous substances (drugs) onto the refuge is
prohibited. Personal companion animals (e.g., dogs) are
restricted to boats or vehicles unless prior approval is
obtained from the refuge supervisor. Upon probable cause a
violation has occurred, all boats and vehicles are subject to
search by all authorized employees of the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries.

10. Speed boat racing, airboats, hovercraft, jet skis, and
water skiing are prohibited. All boat traffic shall honor no
wake zones and shall keep wave wash to a minimum.
Pulling boats over or around levees, dams or water control
structures is prohibited. The Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries may further restrict specified areas of the refuge
from public access or use.

11. No littering is allowed. Visitors must remove their
litter or place litter in appropriate litter disposal sites.
Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs and wild plants
without prior approval is prohibited.

12. Commercial fishing gear or trawls shall not be
permitted in possession while participating in sport fishing
on the refuge. Commercial fishing gear may be in possession
for nonstop access directly across refuge or for safe harbor
only.

13. Department officials and enforcement officers shall
have the duty and the right to restrict access to the refuge,
even for the purpose herein enumerated, whenever the
circumstances exist that such access may impair the primary
purpose of the refuge as a wildlife refuge and sanctuary.

14. Violation of any part of this Subsection constitutes
a Class 2 violation.

B. Visitor Regulations for Paul J. Rainey Refuge of the
National Audubon Society

1. All visitors must be accompanied by a
representative of the National Audubon Society.

2. Trespassing, hunting, pursuing, killing, molesting,
fishing or intentionally disturbing any type of wildlife by the
public is prohibited. This does not prohibit the National
Audubon Society from carrying out harvest programs for
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certain types of wildlife as specified in the Deed of
Donation.

3. Possessing firearms, bows and arrows, liquor and
controlled dangerous substances (drugs) on the refuge is
prohibited.

4. Upon probable cause a violation has occurred, all
boats and vehicles are subject to search by all authorized
employees of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

5. Department officials and enforcement officers shall
have the duty and the right to restrict access to the refuge,
even for the purpose herein enumerated, whenever the
circumstances exist that such access may impair the primary
purpose of the refuge as a wildlife refuge and sanctuary.

6. Violation of any part of this Subsection constitutes
a Class 2 violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq., and R.S. 56:763.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 21:194
(February 1995).

8325. Waddill Wildlife Refuge

A. Purpose. Waddill Wildlife Refuge will be actively
managed as a wildlife educational and learning area for
youth groups, nonconsumptive users, and as a hunter safety
and aquatic education training center. The following rules
and regulations concerning the management, protection and
utilization of this refuge have been adopted by the Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission. Failure to comply with these
regulations will subject the individual to citation and/or
expulsion from the refuge.

B. General

1. Access to the refuge will only be allowed through
the front entrance bordering Flannery Road. All visitors will
sign the register at the front office. A group of individuals
may have a representative sign for the group by indicating
the number in the group. Individuals less than 16 years of
age must be accompanied and supervised by a person
18 years of age or older.

2. \hicles are allowed only in designated areas and
must park in provided spaces. ATVs, trail bikes, horses and
mules are strictly prohibited. Restricted areas will be
established for specific activities and visitors will not enter
these areas unless they are part of the specific activity
allowing access to that area.

3. All dogs are prohibited unless participating in a
department-sponsored  activity, such as a retriever
demonstration during an educational activity. All dogs
running at large are prohibited; and the owner or handler of
said dogs will be held liable for any personal injury or
property damage, and will be subject to criminal citation.

4. Citizens are cautioned that by entering the refuge
they or their vehicles may be subject to license checks,
inspections and searches. Wildlife officers will have the duty
and right to restrict access to the refuge as necessary.
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5. Refuge hours will be set by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries (hereinafter "department™) and will be
posted at the entrance. All visitors will abide by the posted
hours. Educational activities may be held outside the normal
open hours of the refuge by prior arrangement and
permission of the department. All participants of these
activities will confine their use of the refuge to the
designated area of the activity.

6. Hunting, pursuing, killing, molesting, or
intentionally disturbing any type of wildlife is prohibited,
provided that the department may conduct activities
necessary to properly manage wildlife on the area.

7. Camping is prohibited, provided that the
department is authorized to establish and maintain specific
camping areas for use by organized groups under policy
established by the department. If areas are established, they
will not be used by the public.

8. Littering is prohibited. Visitors must remove their
litter or place litter in appropriate litter disposal containers.

9. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, flowers, or
wild plants is strictly prohibited.

10. The possession of firearms, bows, liquor and
controlled dangerous substances on the refuge is prohibited,;
provided, however, that the department is authorized to
construct, maintain and operate ranges, in which case,
shotguns and bows will be permitted under guidelines
developed by the department; and, further provided that the
prohibition on the possession of firearms shall not apply to
duly authorized law enforcement officers.

11. Access to all nature trails is limited to pedestrians
only. No vehicles, ATVs, trail bikes, horses or mules are
allowed. Individuals utilizing the nature trails must remain
on the designated trail. No picnicking is allowed on the
trails. All trash must be disposed of in designated litter
containers.

12. Individual groups may submit written requests to
reserve a specific part of the refuge for a special group
event. The remaining unreserved portion of the refuge shall
be open to the public.

13. Violation of any part of this Section constitutes a
Class 2 violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq., and 56:1009.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 22:861
(September 1996), amended LR 23:1538 (November 1997).

8329. Spanish Lake State Game and Fishing Preserve
A. General
1. Parking is restricted to designated parking areas.

2. ATVs (three wheelers and four wheelers) and
motorbikes are prohibited on the levee.

3. Discharge of any firearms on the levees is

prohibited.
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4. Overnight camping is prohibited, except by special
permit issued by Spanish Lake Game and Fishing Preserve
Commission for supervised groups only.

5. No trapping of furbearing animals, except by
special permit issued by the Louisiana Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6, R.S. 56:721 et seq., R.S. 56:801 and R.S. 36:610.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
23:872 (July 1997), amended LR 30:1734 (August 2004), LR
35:968 (May 2009), LR 40:1117 (June 2014).

8331. Isles Dernieres Barrier Islands Refuge
A. Regulations for Isles Dernieres Barrier Islands Refuge

1. Regulations for Wine Island, East Island, Trinity
Island, Whiskey Island, and Raccoon Island

a. Public access by any means to the exposed land
areas, wetlands and interior waterways of these islands is
prohibited. Requests to access exposed land areas, wetlands
and interior waterways shall be considered on a case-by-case
basis and may be permitted by the secretary or his designee
in the interest of conducting research on fauna and flora, of
advancing educational pursuits related to barrier islands, or
of planning and implementing island restoration projects.

b. Disturbing, injuring, collecting, or attempting to
disturb, injure, or collect any flora, fauna, or other property
is prohibited, unless expressly permitted in writing by the
secretary or his designee for the uses provided for in
Subparagraph 1.a. above.

c. Boat traffic is allowed adjacent to the islands in
the open waters of the Gulf and bays; however, boat traffic is
prohibited in waterways extending into the interior of the
islands or within any land-locked open waters or wetlands of
the islands.

d. Fishing from boats along the shore and wade
fishing in the surf areas of the islands is allowed.

e. Littering on the islands or in Louisiana waters or
wetlands is prohibited.

f. Proposals to conduct oil and gas activities,
including seismic exploration, shall be considered on a case-
by-case basis and may be permitted by the secretary or his
designee, consistent with provisions of the Act of Donation
executed by the Louisiana Land and Exploration Company
on July 24, 1997.

B. Violation of any provision of these regulations shall
be considered a Class 2 violation, as described in R.S.
56:115(D), 56:764, and 56:787.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6(18), R.S. 56:109, and R.S. 56:781 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
25:1657 (September 1999), amended LR 48:1590 (June 2022).
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§333.

A. That portion of the St. Martin-Lafayette Fish and
Game Preserve, particularly the following described portion
of Lake Martin, St. Martin Parish is hereby closed to all
boating traffic, both motorized and non-motorized, said
closure to remain in effect each year from February 15
through July 31 inclusive. The closed zone is described as
follows.

St. Martin-Lafayette Fish and Game Preserve

1. All that certain property containing 131.94 acres
more or less located in Section 31, Township 9 South, Range
6 East and Section 6, Township 10 South, Range 6 East,
St. Martin Parish, Louisiana described as follows:

a. beginning at a point on the lake's edge located N
1 degree 59 minutes E a distance of 330 ft from a 4" x 4"
concrete post, the post having State Plane Coordinates
Louisiana South of X = 1819303.09 ft, Y = 561651.02 ft;
thence N 1 degree 59 minutes E a distance of 1100 ft; thence
S 88 degrees 1 minute E a distance of 2320 ft; thence S 36
degrees 54 minutes 58 seconds E a distance of 500 ft; thence
S 1 degree 59 minutes W a distance of 2350 ft; thence N 88
degrees 1 minute W a distance of 660 ft; thence S 1 degree
59 minutes W a distance of 1320 ft; thence N 88 degrees 1
minute W a distance of 660 ft; thence N 1 degree 59 minutes
E a distance of 2970 ft; thence N 88 degrees 1 minute W a
distance of 1320 ft to the point of beginning.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:610C and R.S. 56:1861 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 27:868 (June
2001).

§335.

A. The following rules and regulations concerning the
management, protection and harvest of wildlife have been
officially approved and adopted by the Louisiana Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Sections
109 and 799.5 of Title 56. Failure to comply with these
regulations will subject the individual to citation and/or
expulsion from the conservation area.

White Lake Wetlands Conservation Area

B. Citizens are cautioned that by entering the White
Lake Wetlands Conservation Area (WCA) managed by
LDWEF, they are subject to inspections of themselves and/or
their wvehicles for game, fish and/or license checks,
inspections, and searches.

C. The White Lake WCA seasons may be altered or
closed anytime by the department secretary in emergency
situations (flood, fire, or other critical circumstances).

D. Portions of the White Lake WCA are leased for
various purposes, including, but not limited to, hunting,
agriculture, grazing, trapping, and other surface activities
and subsurface activities, including oil and gas operations.
Lessees, oil and gas operator's, and their employees, agents,
invitees, licensees, will adhere to the terms and conditions
outlined in their prospective leases and agreements. In
addition lessees and all others entering onto the White Lake
WCA will adhere to the following rules and regulations.
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1. White Lake WCA is a Restricted Use Area meaning
that all persons other than employees of the Department or
Lessee's, oil and gas operators, their employees, agents,
invitees, licensees, will not be allowed to access the White
Lake WCA unless they are participating in a lottery activity,
a non-consumptive activity, or some other Wildlife and
Fisheries sponsored or coordinated event. To participate in
lottery or non-consumptive activities, please review the
information provided below for each activity.

E. Dumping garbage or trash on White Lake WCA is
prohibited. Garbage and trash shall be properly disposed of
in designated locations if provided.

F. Disorderly conduct or hunting under the influence of
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances
is prohibited.

G. Except for those rights granted under existing leases,
damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, hard mast (acorn,
pecans, etc.), wild plants, and non-game wildlife (including
reptiles and amphibians) is prohibited without the prior
approval from the White Lake WCA Manager or from the
secretary.

H. Burning of the marsh is prohibited. Lessee may
request special permission to do control burning, which must
be approved by the White Lake WCA Manager or the
Secretary.

I.  Free ranging livestock prohibited.

J. Nature Trails. Trails shall be limited to pedestrians
only. No vehicles, ATV's, horses, mules, bicycles, etc.
allowed unless approved by the White Lake WCA Manager.
Removal of vegetation (standing or down) or other natural
material is prohibited.

K. Permits and Licenses

1. All persons shall be responsible for obtaining and
possessing the proper license or licenses for the activities
they will be engaged in when on the White Lake WCA.
Proper identification and licenses must be readily available
and presented to Wildlife and Fisheries personnel upon
request. Licenses will not be available for purchase on site.

2. Special Note: A WMA permit will not be required
to hunt on the White Lake WCA.

3. Permits will be issued to lottery fishermen and
those individuals must carry their permit on their person
while on the White Lake WCA. No permits will be issued to
lottery hunters since those hunts are daily hunts and are
coordinated and accompanied by Wildlife and Fisheries
personnel.

L. Firearms

1. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber,
magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms are not
allowed in or on vehicles, boats under power, motorcycles,
ATVs, ATCs while on the WCA except by wildlife
enforcement agents and employees or contract guides
working for the department at White Lake.
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2. Firearms may not be carried on any area before or
after permitted hours except by authorized trappers, lessees,
wildlife enforcement agents and employees or contract
guides working for the department at White Lake.

3. Firearms and bows and arrows are not allowed on
the WCA during closed seasons. Exceptions are made for
authorized lessees and individuals participating in
coordinated shooting activities on the White Lake Skeet
Range and Sporting Clay Course, wildlife enforcement
agents and employees or contract guides working for the
department at White Lake.

4. Center-fire rifles and handguns larger than .22
caliber rim fire, shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or
F steel shot cannot be carried onto the WCA except by
authorized trappers, lessees, wildlife enforcement agents and
employees or contract guides working for the department at
White Lake.

5. Target shooting and other forms of practice
shooting are prohibited. Exceptions are made for authorized
lessees and individuals participating in coordinated shooting
activities on the White Lake Skeet Range and Sporting Clay
Course.

M. Waterfowl hunting is prohibited after noon on all
portions of the White Lake WCA, including those areas
which are leased for hunting purposes.

N. Commercial Activities. Commercial activities are
prohibited without prior approval from White Lake WCA
Manager and the secretary or unless otherwise specified.

O. Camping. Camping on the White Lake WCA,
including trailers, houseboats, recreational vehicles and
tents, is prohibited unless otherwise approved by the White
Lake WCA Manager and the secretary or unless otherwise
specified.

P. Consumptive Activities. The general framework for
public use of consumptive resources of the White Lake
Wetlands Conservation Area Management Plan is as follows:

Activities Season Cost
Alligators
Wild Alligator Harvest LDWEF Season | 40% of public bid
Alligator Egg Collection June & July | Public bid
Waterfowl
Teal Lottery Hunts LDWF Season | $250 per hunt with

a maximum of

2 persons per blind
Youth/Physically Challenged | First Weekend | No cost
Hunts

Marsh Lottery Hunts

LDWEF Season | $350 per hunt with
a maximum of
2 persons per blind
$225 per hunt with
a maximum of

3 persons per blind

Rice Lottery Hunts LDWF Season

Group Hunts LDWEF Season | $30,000 per group
Fishing March 15- $40 per permit
August 15

1. The number/quantity of alligators, eggs, hunters,
groups and permits for the above activities shall be
established annually based upon biological and technical
data presented by the department to the board.
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2. Commission members, and their immediate
families, are prohibited from participating in any
consumptive activities on the White Lake Wetlands
Conservation Area, including lottery and group hunts and
lottery fishing.

3. Currently all public hunting and fishing activities
are done through a lottery system. Except for lessee's and
their invited guest, no person may enter onto the White Lake
W(CA for the purpose of hunting or fishing unless they have
applied and been selected for one of the lotteries offered.
Lottery activities include, but may not be limited to, the
following: Fishing Lottery, Teal Hunting Lottery, Waterfowl
Marsh Hunting Lottery, Waterfowl Rice Field Hunting
Lottery, Waterfowl Youth Hunting Lottery, Waterfowl Group
Hunting Lottery. Details on these Lottery activities can be
found seasonally, on the LDWF website
www.wlif.louisiana.gov. For more information contact the
White Lake WCA Manager at 337-479-1894.

4. In addition to the Rules already mentioned, the
following special Rules apply for the below lottery activities.
These special Rules are subject to change each year and will
be attached to the lottery applications when advertised on the
LDWF website.

a. Fishing Lottery

i.  Fishing will be allowed in the Florence Canal
and Oil Field Location Canals off of the Florence Canal
only.

ii.  There will be no fishing in any of the marsh
areas or in the main Camp Canal or other areas that are
marked "NO FISHING".

iii.  All boats will be limited to a maximum of 40
horsepower motor.

iv.  All "No Wake" signs must be obeyed.
v.  Fishing must be done from boat only.

vi. Rod and reel sport fishing only (no archery
fishing, trot lines, jug lines etc.).

vii.  Holder of the permit must be present (permit
not transferable).

viii.  There will be no boat launching from the
White Lake properties. (Permittee must utilize public boat
launch.)

ix.  Permit holder must have permit and boat decal.

X.  Any violations of Louisiana boating or fishing
regulations or any rule violations will result in immediate
termination of permit.

xi.  Permittee will not be allowed to enter onto the
White Lake WCA until sunrise and must exit the property by
sunset.

xii.  No firearms allowed on premises.
b. Teal Lottery Hunts

i. The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries has established a lottery waterfowl (teal) hunt on
White Lake property that has the potential to provide
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excellent waterfowl hunting. Hunts will be restricted to
persons selected by lottery and will be limited to 2
persons/unit. All hunters will hunt as a group with a guide.
No splitting up will be allowed. The primary purpose of
these hunts is to provide a quality experience. Strict
adherence to the following rules and regulations will be
required to ensure a safe and enjoyable hunt.

(a). Safety is first and foremost in everyone's
mind. No loaded firearms except while hunting in the blind.
However, a hunter shall be allowed to carry a loaded firearm
outside the blind to dispatch and retrieve wounded
waterfowl. Take every precaution to have a safe and
enjoyable hunt.

(b). Selected participants must arrive at the
designated site by 5 a.m. Anyone arriving after 5 a.m. will
not be allowed to enter the area. Hunting will end no later
than 9 a.m.

(c). Guides and hunt area (blind) will be assigned
the morning of the hunt.

(d). Access will be provided to a designated
parking area. Transportation from the parking area to the site
will be provided.

(e). Each hunter shall have appropriate licenses
(basic license, state duck stamp, federal duck stamp, and HIP
certification) prior to arrival. No licenses will be available at
the hunting site. Licenses will be checked at the same time
permits are reviewed. No one will be allowed in a hunting
area without the proper lottery permit.

(f). Legal firearms, as specified in the hunting
regulations pamphlet, except no 10 gauge shotguns will be
allowed.

(9). Persons engaging in "sky busting" will be
asked to leave.

(h). No dogs will be allowed.

(i). Hunters will be responsible for removing all
litter from the area and surrounding areas.

(i)- No alcoholic beverages will be permitted on
the premises.

c. Marsh Waterfowl Lottery Hunt

i. The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries has established a lottery waterfowl marsh hunt on
White Lake property that has the potential to provide
excellent waterfowl hunting. Hunts will be restricted to
persons selected by lottery and will be limited to 2
persons/unit. All hunters will hunt as a group with a guide.
No splitting up will be allowed. The primary purpose of
these hunts is to provide a quality experience. Strict
adherence to the following rules and regulations will be
required to ensure a safe and enjoyable hunt.

(a). Safety is first and foremost in everyone’s
mind. No loaded firearms except while hunting in the blind.
However, a hunter shall be allowed to carry a loaded firearm
outside the blind to dispatch and retrieve wounded

45

waterfowl. Take every precaution to have a safe and
enjoyable hunt.

(b). Selected participants must arrive at the
designated site by the time specified in your notification
letter. Anyone arriving after that time will not be allowed to
enter the area. Hunting will begin in the morning at legal
shooting time and will end no later than 9 a.m.

(c). Guides and hunt area (blind) will be assigned
the morning of the hunt.

(d). Access will be provided to a designated
parking area. Access from the parking area to the site will be
provided.

(e). Each hunter shall have appropriate licenses
(basic license, state duck stamp, federal duck stamp, and HIP
certification) prior to arrival. No licenses will be available at
the hunting site. Licenses will be checked at the same time
permits are reviewed. No one will be allowed in a hunting
area without the proper lottery permit.

(f). Legal firearms, as specified in the hunting
regulations pamphlet, except no 10 gauge shotguns will be
allowed.

(9). Persons engaging in "sky busting" will be
asked to leave.

(h). No dogs will be allowed.

(i). Hunters will be required to report their total
kill in writing at the end of the hunt.

(J)- Hunters will also be responsible for
removing all litter from the area and surrounding areas.

(K). No alcoholic beverages will be permitted on
the premises.

d. Rice Field Waterfowl Lottery Hunt

i. The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries has established a lottery waterfowl (rice field) hunt
on White Lake property that has the potential to provide
excellent waterfowl hunting. Hunts will be restricted to
persons selected by a lottery and will be limited to 3
persons/unit. Blinds and decoys are provided; however, no
guides will be provided for the rice field hunts. No splitting
up will be allowed. The primary purpose of these hunts is to
provide a quality experience. Strict adherence to the
following rules and regulations will be required to ensure a
safe and enjoyable hunt.

(a). Safety is first and foremost in everyone's
mind. No loaded firearms except while hunting in the blind.
However, a hunter shall be allowed to carry a loaded firearm
outside the blind to dispatch and retrieve wounded
waterfowl. Take every precaution to have a safe and
enjoyable hunt.

(b). Selected participants must arrive at the
designated site by the time specified in the notification letter.
Anyone arriving after that time will not be allowed to enter
the area. Hunting will begin in the morning at legal shooting
time and will end no later than 9:30 a.m.
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(c). Hunters will be required to stay in blind
during hunt except to retrieve birds.

(d). Access will be provided to a designated
parking area. Transportation to and from the parking area to
the blinds will be provided. Selected participants may be
required to walk a minimum of 200 yards across a flooded
rice field carrying their gear.

(e). Each hunter shall have appropriate licenses
(basic license, state duck stamp, federal duck stamp, and HIP
certification) prior to arrival. No licenses will be available at
the hunting site. Licenses will be checked at the same time
permits are reviewed. No one will be allowed in a hunting
area without the proper lottery permit.

(f). Legal firearms, as specified in the hunting
regulations pamphlet, except no 10 gauge shotguns will be
allowed.

(9). Persons engaging in "sky busting™ will be
asked to leave.

(h). Retrieving dogs will be allowed but only one
dog per blind.

(i). Hunters will be required to report their total
kill in writing at the end of the hunt.

(j). Hunters will be responsible for removing all
litter from the area and surrounding areas.

(k). No alcoholic beverages will be permitted on
the premises.

e. Youth Waterfowl Hunt Lottery

i. The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries has established a guided lottery youth waterfowl
hunt on White Lake property that has the potential to provide
excellent waterfowl hunting. Hunts will be restricted to
persons selected by a lottery with one person being selected
from each of 7 geographical regions of the state and one
person being selected from the state at large. The hunt will
be limited to 2 persons/unit (a youth under the age of 16 and
a parent or guardian). All hunters will hunt with a guide. The
primary purpose of these hunts is to provide a quality
experience for young waterfowl hunters. Strict adherence to
the following rules and regulations will be required to ensure
a safe and enjoyable hunt.

(). Safety is first and foremost in everyone's
mind. No loaded firearms except while hunting in the blind.
However, a hunter shall be allowed to carry a loaded firearm
outside the blind to dispatch and retrieve wounded
waterfowl. Take every precaution to have a safe and
enjoyable hunt.

(b). Selected participants must arrive at the
designated site outlined on your notification letter by 5:15
a.m. Anyone arriving after 5:15 a.m. will not be allowed to
enter the area. Hunting will end no later than 9 a.m.

(c). Guide and blind assignments will be made
the morning of the hunt.
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(d). Access will be provided to a designated
parking area. Transportation from the parking area to the site
will be provided.

(e). Legal firearms, as specified in the hunting
regulations pamphlet, except no 10 gauge shotguns will be
allowed.

(f). Persons engaging in "sky busting" will be
asked to leave.

(9). No retrievers/dogs will be allowed.

(h). Hunters will be responsible for removing all
litter from the area.

(i). Only hunters under the age of 16 will be
allowed to possess and shoot a firearm.

(i)- Hunters should be familiar with the firearm
they will be shooting and be capable of handling it in a safe
manner.

Q. Other Hunting Activities. There are currently no other
public hunting opportunities available on the White Lake
WCA. This includes deer hunting and all other game birds
and animals.

R. Non-Consumptive Activities—Schedule of Costs for
Public Use of Facilities for Non-Consumptive Activities.

1. Daily Use

a. $300—includes one day use of lodge for
meetings with nothing provided (for up to 15 people,
weekdays only).

b. $300 + $10/person—includes one day use of
lodge for meetings with coffee, cold drinks and bottled water
provided.

c. $300 + $20/person—includes one day use of
lodge for meetings with coffee, cold drinks, bottled water
and lunch provided. The lunch provided will consist of a
sandwich tray and chips or something similar. It will not
include a hot lunch.

d. Exemptions from Cost. When a state, federal or
local agency or university conducts research or educational
activities in cooperation with the department, or conducts
activities of benefit to White Lake or the department, the
above costs shall be exempt. Costs for food and drink ($10
per person for drinks, $20 per person per meal) may be
assessed.

2. Overnight Use

a. $400 + $25/person/night—includes overnight
stay at lodge with nothing provided except linens. (For up to
12 people, weekdays only).

b. $400 + $35/person/night—includes overnight
stay at lodge with coffee, cold drinks, bottled water and
linens provided.

c. $900 + $35/person/night—includes overnight
stay at lodge with coffee, cold drinks, bottled water, meals
(breakfast, lunch and supper) and linens provided.

d. Exemptions from Cost. When a state, federal or
local agency or university conducts research or educational
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activities in cooperation with the department, or conducts
activities of benefit to White Lake or the department, the
above costs shall be exempt. Costs for food and drink ($10
per person for drinks, $20 per person per meal) may be
assessed.

e. Exemptions from all costs apply to all persons
invited by the department to department sponsored events
related to education, conservation or fish or wildlife related
issues.

3. Skeet Range

a. $10/person/25 clay pigeons.

b. $15/person/25 clay pigeons, 25 shotgun shells
provided.

c. Exemptions from all costs apply to all persons
invited by the department to department sponsored events
related to education, conservation or fish or wildlife related
issues.

4, Boat Tour

a. $10/person/ride—limited to authorized function
attendees.

b. Exemptions from Cost. When a state, federal or
local agency or university conducts research or educational
activities in cooperation with the department, or conducts
activities of benefit to White Lake or the department, the
above costs shall be exempt. Costs for food and drink ($10
per person for drinks, $20 per person per meal) may be
assessed.

5. Use of facilities is subject to availability as well as
staff availability and other scheduled events on the area. The
facilities shall not be made available for political fundraisers.

6. The department shall determine appropriate
insurance or indemnity requirements for use of the facilities.

7. The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
establishes dates each year for the use of White Lake WCA
facilities, located within the WCA in Vermilion Parish, for
non-consumptive  group activities including nature
photography, bird watching, educational field trips, and
business retreats. These dates and more information about
the facilities available and associated costs will be posted on
the LDWF website on or around the first of each year. The
website address is www.wilf.louisiana.gov. On the home
page click on the hunting tab located near the top of the page
and then click on White Lake WCA for information.

8. The primary purpose of non-consumptive access to
White Lake WCA is to provide a quality experience within a
unique environment preserved as fish and wildlife habitat.

9. In addition to the Rules already mentioned, the
following special Rules apply to the non-consumptive
activities. These special Rules are subject to change each
year and may be revised on the website posting. Strict
adherence to all rules and regulations will be required to
ensure a safe and enjoyable experience.

a. Safety is a primary consideration. All visitors
must adhere to posted safety rules and directions provided
by site staff while on the property.
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b. Access will be provided to a designated parking
area.

c. Boat transportation to and from the site will be
provided as part of the day use and overnight use access.
Group participants must arrive at the White Lake WCA boat
dock at the designated departure time (9 a.m. for day use;
and no later than 4 p.m. for overnight use). The site boat
dock is located at the southernmost end of Highway 91,
south of Gueydan.

d. Boat guides for boat tours and biologists for
lecture sessions must be requested in advance of the group's
arrival on site.

e. No firearms may be brought on to the WCA
unless authorized by LDWF.

f.  Visitors must adhere to no littering rules on site.

g. All group use dates must be requested at least
two weeks in advance.

h.  Adeposit of $100 is required to reserve a date on
the non-consumptive schedule.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act
613 of the 2004 Regular Legislative Session.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
33:538 (March 2007), amended LR 33:1882 (September 2007), LR
35:707 (April 2009), LR 48:1590 (June 2022).

8337.  Elmer’s Island Wildlife Refuge

A. Visitor Regulations for Elmer’s Island Wildlife
Refuge

1. Use of the refuge will be permitted from thirty
minutes before official sunrise to thirty minutes after official
sunset. This includes any land access routes to the refuge.
No person or vehicle shall remain on the Elmer’s Island
Wildlife Refuge or any land access routes during the period
from 30 minutes after official sunset to 30 minutes before
sunrise.

2. No person shall possess any glass bottles, glass
drink containers or other glass products on Elmer’s Island
Wildlife Refuge.

3. The secretary of the department may restrict access
to the refuge whenever circumstances exist such that
restrictions are necessary to protect the refuge or the public
from harm. No person shall enter onto or be on the grounds
of Elmer’s Island Wildlife Refuge during a restricted access
period; or alternatively shall do so only in accordance with
restrictions set forth by the secretary.

4. No person shall discharge or fire any firearms
including muzzleloaders, or bows and arrows or crossbows
on Elmer’s Island.

5. No person shall commercially fish, conduct any
guiding service, hunt, pursue, Kill, molest or intentionally
disturb any type of wildlife on the refuge, except for the
legal recreational harvest of living aquatic resources.

6. No person shall be in areas marked as restricted by
signs posted by the department.
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7. No person shall operate any vehicles in a restricted
area. No person shall operate a vehicle in an unsafe or
careless manner as to endanger life or property or at any
speed in excess of five miles per hour.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6, R.S. 56:109, R.S. 56:109.2, R.S. 56:763 and R.S. 56:781 et
seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
36:1280 (June 2010), amended LR 48:1590 (June 2022).

8339.  Queen Bess Island Wildlife Refuge
A. Regulations for Queen Bess Island Wildlife Refuge:

1. Public access by any means to the exposed land
areas, breakwaters and areas between land and breakwaters
is prohibited. Requests to access the refuge shall be
considered on a case-by-case basis and may be permitted by
the secretary or his designee in the interest of conducting
research on fauna and flora, of advancing educational
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pursuits related to bird islands, or of planning and
implementing island restoration projects.

2. Disturbing, injuring, collecting, or attempting to
disturb, injure, or collect any flora, fauna, natural debris, or
other property is prohibited, unless expressly permitted in
writing by the secretary or his designee for the uses provided
for in Paragraph 1 above.

3. Littering on the refuge or in Louisiana waters or
wetlands is prohibited.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6, R.S. 56:109, R.S. 56:109.2, R.S. 56:763 and R.S. 56:781 et
seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
46:705 (May 2020), amended LR 48:1591 (June 2022).
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Part V. Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds

Chapter 1.Wild Quadrupeds

8103. Field Trials on Wildlife Management Areas

A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby
authorize field trials by recognized bird dog association to be
held on selected wildlife management areas but only under
the following conditions.

1. The season framework for conducting field trials
involving the use of bird dogs is from October 1 through
March 30 of each year. Specific season dates, however, will
be set annually, management area by management area.

2. No trial will be allowed during managed deer hunts
or opening weekends of other deer gun seasons.

3. No shooting of wild bobwhites will be allowed
during the closed quail season.

4. Pen-reared bobwhites cannot be used for field trial
purposes without first obtaining health certification as
prescribed by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission.
Failure of bobwhite to pass the certification will result in the
postponement (cancellation) of the field trial.

5.  Applications must be submitted well in advance (a
period established by the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission) by field trial associations specifying the date
and precise location for the proposed field trial.

6. Only two trials per field trial organization will be
allowed each season.

7. Applications will be approved only after the field
trial association has met these conditions.

8. All bobwhites released for field trial purposes must
be banded with a numbered band furnished by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. A list of the band
numbers of birds released and birds recovered as well as any
unused bands must be returned to the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries within two weeks after a field trial is held.

9. All pen-reared bobwhites can be inspected by
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries personnel for evidence
of diseases before they are released on the wildlife
management areas for field trial purposes. Evidence of
diseased birds can result in the cancellation of the field trial.

10. Applications received for the Fort Polk Wildlife
Management Area must be approved by the U.S. Army.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:141.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
2:459 (December 1976), amended LR 14:364 (June 1988).
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8105. Pen-Reared Bobwhite Health Certification
Procedures
A. The Louisiana \eterinary Medical Diagnostic

Laboratory (LVMDL) will perform health evaluations on the
sample of live pen-reared bobwhites. A 5 percent sample, not
to be less than five birds, must be delivered (shipped or
otherwise) live with the completed Batch Case History Form
to the LVMDL on Mondays by 9 a.m. at least five but not
more than 10 working days prior to the field trial. Testing
requires five working days.

B. Items tested for include but are not limited to:
Avian Pox;

Capillaria;

Coccidia;

Cryptosporidia;
Ectoparasites;

Hetarakis spp.;
Histomoniasis;
Mycoplasma gallisepticum;
Pullorum;

10. Typhoid.

C. Any positive tests (except nonpathenogenic
ectoparasites) will result in the rejection of the use of that
batch of birds. No trial utilizing pen-reared bobwhites can be
conducted without health certification. Failure of samples to
pass certification will result in the postponement
(cancellation) of a trial.

© o N o ok wDdhE

D. The fee for the diagnostic test is $27 per five birds
(%5.40 each) and is payable to the LVMDL in advance.

E. Mailing Address and Telephone. Louisiana Veterinary
Medical Diagnostic Laboratory, Box 16570-A, Baton Rouge,
LA 70893, (225) 346-3193.

F.  Location. Louisiana Veterinary Medical Diagnostic
Laboratory, School of Veterinary Medicine, LSU Campus,
Baton Rouge, (Corner of South Stadium and River Road).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:141.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
2:459 (December 1976), amended LR 14:365 (June 1988).

§107.

A. This commission regulation established general
requirements, minimum pen specifications and animals that
will be permitted under the game breeder's license to read as
follows.

Game Breeder's License
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B. Minimum Pen Specifications and Requirements for
Game Quadrupeds and Birds. The pen dimensions and
specifications described herein are minimum requirements
for permanent exhibit and commercial facilities. It must be
emphasized that these are minimum standards and the
optimum conditions for most animals would include
dimensions several times greater than those cited. Game
breeders should also recognize and provide for any unique
requirements of the species they possess. In addition to the
following pen specifications, all pens must have adequate
sanitation as well as appropriate feeding and watering
facilities.

1. Waterfowl (ducks, geese, swans and coots endemic
to North America)

a. Ducks and Coots

i. Exhibit Purposes—100 square feet with
25 percent in water area for up to four birds; increase pen
size by 25 square feet for each additional bird with
one-fourth of this increase being in water area.

ii.  Commercial Operation—up to 6 weeks old;
1 square foot per duck; over 6 weeks old; 3 square feet per
duck.

b. Geese—150 square feet per goose.

2. Doves (order columbiformes endemic to North
America except rock dove, i.e., domestic pigeon)

a. Single Bird—3 feet by 2 feet by 5 feet high.

b. Community Group—Iarge enough to fly or at
least 8 feet in diameter.

3. Game Birds (ringneck pheasant, chukar, and
various quail, grouse and partridge endemic to North
America)

a. Exhibit Purposes—20 square feet per bird.
b. Commercial Operation:

i. quail: 1-10 days old—9 chicks per square foot;
10 days-6 weeks old—6 chicks per square foot; 6 weeks and
older—3 birds per square foot; 1 breeding pair per square
foot;

NOTE: If only pharaoh quail are to be kept, then the game
breeder's license is not required.

ii.  pheasants and chukar, grouse and partridge—
1-10 days old—®6 chicks per square foot; 10 days-6 weeks
old—4 chicks per square foot; 6-14 weeks old—1 bird per
4 square feet; 1 breeding pair per 8 square feet.

4. Wild Turkeys* (license will not be issued). It is
unlawful to take from the wild or possess in captivity any
live wild turkeys or their eggs. No pen-raised turkeys from
within or without the state shall be liberated (released)
within the state.

5. Hawk, Falcons. Refer to federal raptor facilities
specifications.
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6. Squirrels (gray, fox, red, flying and others endemic
to North America)

a. Single Animal—3 feet long by 3 feet wide by
4 feet high.

b. Additional Animals—add 6 inches more in length
per additional animal; several limbs, nest box.

c. Due to the inherent tendency of these animals to
bite people, it is further required that applicants provide a
certificate of good health from a licensed veterinarian stating
that the squirrels do not show symptoms of rabies.

7. Rabbits (cottontail, swamp and wild hares endemic
to North America)

a. Single Animal—6 feet long by 3 feet wide by
3 feet high; gnawing logs; den or retreat.

b. Additional Animals—add 1 foot in length per
animal.

8. Whitetail Deer or Other North American Deer

a. Except as specified herein, licenses will not be
issued. Licenses will not be issued unless pens are
completed and complete applications are received in the
Wildlife Division Baton Rouge Office by 4:30 p.m. October
4, 2002. Pens must be inspected before a license will be
issued. If at the time of inspection, pens do not meet the
requirements of this rule, a license will not be issued and the
application will not be reconsidered. Persons with valid
licenses issued prior to this prohibition will be
"grandfathered” and licenses may be renewed if all
requirements are met. Licenses cannot be transferred beyond
immediate family (father, mother, brother, sister, husband,
wife, son and daughter). A license may be transferred to an
immediate family member only if the pen remains in the
original location. Qualified zoos, educational institutions and
scientific organizations may be exempted on a case by case
basis.

b. No license will be issued in metropolitan or
urban areas. A rural environment is required to keep these
animals. Qualified zoos, educational institutions and
scientific organizations will be exempted on a case by case
basis.

c. Single Animal—5,000 square feet paddock or
corral (for example—50 feet wide x 100 feet long); increase
corral size by 2,500 square feet for each additional animal,
shelter required. Pen site must be well drained so as to
prevent extended periods of standing water.

d. Materials—Chain link or other satisfactory
woven wire, 12 gauge minimum, 8 feet high minimum.
Welded wire is not acceptable.

e. Licensed game breeders are required to report all
deaths of deer to a regional Wildlife Division Office within
48 hours of the time of death and preserve the carcass as
instructed by the Wildlife Division, but are encouraged to
report the death sooner if possible.
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9. EIk* (license will not be issued). Single
Animal—5,000 square feet paddock or corral; increase
corral size by 50 percent for each additional animal; barn,
shaded or protected area attached to or adjoining corral
fence, 9 gauge chain link or woven wire; 8 feet high. Welded
wire is not acceptable.

a. Regulation of elk is under jurisdiction of the
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry by Act 41
of the 1992 Legislative Session.

*NOTE: Valid game breeder's license holders for these
species legally possessed prior to October 1, 1988, will be
"grandfathered" and renewed annually until existing captive
animals expire, or are legally transferred out of state or to a
suitable public facility. No additional animals may be
acquired. This position by the department is necessary due to
the ability of these animals to cause serious physical injury to
the owner or other innocent bystanders and/or their potential
to transmit disease to wildlife or livestock. Qualified
educational institutions, municipal zoos or scientific
organizations will be exempted to this provision on a case-
by-case basis.

10. Other Game Quadrupeds and Birds. Other game
quadrupeds and birds endemic to North America may not be
kept without approval of the Wildlife Division. Pen
specifications for animals not listed will be developed by the
Wildlife Division as needed.

C. General Requirements
1. General Rules

a. Game quadrupeds and birds cannot be taken from
the wild, nor can domesticated game quadrupeds or birds be
released into the wild except as provided on licensed hunting
preserves, and as provided by valid bird-dog training permit,
field trial permit or federal falconry permit.

b. Game breeders can only keep those classes of
animals for which they have been approved. If an applicant
desires to keep additional classes of animals, the facilities
for those animals must be approved prior to obtaining the
new animals.

2. Application Requirements

a. A game breeder's license must be issued before
any game quadrupeds (deer, rabbits, squirrels, etc.) are
obtained. In the case of game birds, waterfowl, or doves a
buyer has 30 days after acquisition of the first bird to either
apply for a license or slaughter all the birds. In either case,
the buyer must possess a valid bill of sale containing the
seller's permit number, date of sale, and number of birds
sold. The buyer cannot resell live birds until a game
breeder's license is obtained. If the application for a game
breeder's license is denied, the applicant must dispose of any
birds in possession as instructed by the department.

b. An applicant or licensee must comply with pen
specifications. Applicants for waterfowl, doves, game birds,
squirrels and rabbits must submit a form verifying their
facilities meet or exceed the described pen specifications.
Their facilities may require inspection at the biologist's
discretion. All pens built for raising deer, birds of prey and
potentially dangerous animals are required to be inspected
prior to issuance of a license.
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c. All applicants for a game breeder's license for
deer and potentially dangerous animals must submit:

i. a signed waiver statement holding the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and its employees
harmless for liability as a result of issuing a game breeder's
license. Licenses will only be issued to those applicants who
are willing to accept full responsibility and liability for any
damages or injuries resulting from their animals or activities
as a licensed game breeder of domesticated wildlife in
Louisiana;

ii.  awritten plan of action for the recapture of an
escaped animal must be submitted and approved by the
department before the application is processed. The plan of
action should include:

(a). equipment;
(b). personnel;
(c). recovery techniques; and

(d). method of mitigation payments for damages
caused by the escaped animal.

d. This information is necessary because the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries will not provide these
services.

3. Records and Inspections

a. All applicants and licensees are required to have
a bill of sale for each animal acquired. Except for sales of
game birds, waterfowl, or doves of 10 or fewer birds per
buyer, per 24-hour period, license holders must keep records
of all animals sold or transferred including names and
addresses of persons to whom they were sold or transferred.
An annual report detailing animals in possession and all
transactions must be submitted annually with license
renewal application.

b. License holders must allow inspections of
premises by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries employees
for purposes of enforcing these regulations. Inspections may
be unannounced and may include but are not limited to,
pens, stalls, holding facilities, records, and examination of
animals as necessary to determine health and/or
identification of species.

4. Hunting. Hunting or killing of confined deer or
other big game animals held under a game breeder's license
by individuals other than the licensee must conform to all
hunting regulations including season and hunting license
requirements for the area in which the animals are confined.
A game breeder licensee may at any time, during daylight
hours, kill a confined deer or other big game animal at the
licensee's own facility.

5. Administrative Fees. An inspection fee of $50 will
be assessed when a pen is inspected as part of the application
process as required for birds of prey, deer and potentially
dangerous animals. A license renewal processing fee of $5
will be assessed annually. These fees are in addition to the
$25 required for the game breeder's license.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:171.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
14:631 (September 1988), amended LR 18:1134 (October 1992),
LR 21:1355 (December 1995), LR 29:196 (February 2003).

8111.  Rules and Regulations for Participation in the
Deer Management Assistance Program

A. The following rules and regulations shall govern the
Deer Management Assistance Program.

1. Application Procedure

a. Application for enrollment of a new cooperator
in the Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) must
be submitted to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries by
August 1. Application for the renewal enrollment of an
active cooperator must be submitted to the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries annually by September 1. Except
lands enrolling in Tier 1 DMAP within 5 miles of a Chronic
Wasting Disease (CWD) detection may enroll at any time
during the current season.

b. Applicants will select from 1 of 4 levels of
DMAP participation. Level 1 participation is limited to
qualifying clubs of 1000 acres or more, unless the property
is 40 acres or more and located within 5 miles of a CWD
detection, and will require collection of complete harvest
data, including jaw bone removal, weights, antler
measurements, and checking females for lactation. Level 1
participation may require the submission of CWD samples,
per the Department’s discretion, for properties within 5 miles
of a CWD detection. Issuance of both antlered and antlerless
tags will be mandatory. Level 2 participation is limited to
clubs with 500 acres or more and will also require collection
of complete harvest data. Antlerless tags only will be issued
unless antlered tags are specifically requested and needed to
meet harvest objectives. Level 3 participation will be for
tracts of 40 acres or larger, and only require recording the
total number of male and female deer harvested. Only
antlerless tags are available. Licensed deer farmers
authorized to hunt deer by Department of Agriculture and
Forestry and Department of Wildlife and Fisheries are
eligible to participate in this level. Level 4 participation will
only require recording the total number of male and female
deer harvested and is only available for nuisance deer issues
such as crop or lawn depredation. Only antlerless tags will
be issued. There is no acreage minimum for level 4.

c. Each application for a new cooperator must be
accompanied by a legal description of lands to be enrolled
and a map of the property. Renewal applications must be
accompanied by a legal description and map only if the
boundaries of the enrolled property have changed from
records on file from the previous hunting season. This
information will remain on file in the appropriate ecoregion
field office.

d. Fee schedule:

i. tier 1—fee dependent on acreage and distance
to a CWD detection:
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(a). 1,000-1,500 acres—$250;

(b). 1,501-10,000 acres—$300;
(c). 10,001-20,000 acres—$500;
(d). 20,001-50,000 acres—$1,500;
(e). 50,001-75,000 acres—$2,500;

(f). >75,000 acres—$3,750 minimum,
negotiated;

to be

(9). 40 acres or more and within 5 miles of a
CWD detection—no fee;

ii. tier 2—fee dependent on acreage:
(a). 500-1,500 acres—$150;
(b). 1,501-10,000 acres—$200;
(c). 10,001-20,000 acres—$500;
(d). 20,001-50,000 acres—%$1,500;
(e). 50,001-75,000 acres—$2,500;

(f). >75,000 acres—$3,750 minimum, to be
negotiated,;

iii.  tier 3—fee dependent on acreage:
(a). 40-500 acres—$100;
(b). 501-1,500 acres—$150;
(c). 1,501-10,000 acres—$200;
(d). 10,001-20,000 acres—$500;
(e). 20,001-50,000 acres—%$1,500;
(f). 50,001-75,000 acres—$2,500;

(9). >75,000 acres—$%$3,750 minimum, to be
negotiated,;

iv.  tier 4—no acreage minimum, no fee.

e. DMAP fees must be paid to the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries Fiscal Section prior to September 15.

f.  An agreement must be completed and signed by
the official representative of the cooperator and submitted to
the appropriate ecoregion field office for approval. This
agreement must be completed and signed annually.

g. Entrances and public road frontage of lands
enrolled in DMAP shall be clearly marked and posted with
DMAP signs in compliance with R.S. 56:110 and the
provisions of R.S. 56:110 are only applicable to property
enrolled in DMAP. DMAP signs shall be removed if the land
is no longer enrolled in DMAP. Rules and regulations for
compliance with R.S. 56:110 are as follows.

i.  The color of DMAP signs shall be orange. The
words “DMAP” and “posted” shall be printed on the sign in
letters no less than four inches in height. Signs may be
constructed of any material and minimum size is 11% inches
X 11% inches.
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ii.  Signs will be placed at 1000-foot intervals
along any public road frontage and at all points of ingress
and egress used by motorized vehicles to access the
property.

h. By enrolling in the DMAP, cooperators agree to
allow department personnel access to their lands for
management surveys, investigation of violations and other
inspections deemed appropriate by the department. The
person listed on the DMAP application as the contact person
will serve as the liaison between the DMAP cooperator and
the department.

i.  Each cooperator that enrolls in DMAP is strongly
encouraged to provide keys or lock combinations annually to
the enforcement division of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries for access to main entrances of the DMAP
property. Provision of keys is voluntary. However, the
cooperator’s compliance will ensure that DMAP enrolled
properties will be properly and regularly patrolled.

j. Large acreage ownerships (>10,000 acres) may
further act as cooperators and enroll additional non-
contiguous tracts of land deemed sub-cooperators. Sub-
cooperators shall be defined by the large acreage ownerships
lease agreements. Non-contiguous sub-cooperator lands
enrolled by large acreage ownerships will have the legal
description and a map included for those parcels enrolled as
sub-cooperators. Sub-cooperators shall be subject to the
same requirements, rules and regulations as cooperators.

k. The department may grant season extensions to
hunt deer with any legal weapon, up to either 15 days prior
to or after the established season framework for the regular
deer area season, if requested by the DMAP level 1
cooperator in order to fulfill property-specific objectives and
goals if biological reasons and limitations exist that support
such extensions. Additionally, the department may grant
season extensions to hunt rabbits and squirrels by any legal
means for up to 10 days after the established rabbit and
squirrel season framework, if requested by the DMAP level
1 cooperator in order to fulfill property-specific objectives
and goals if biological reasons and limitations exist that
support such extensions.

2. Tags

a. A prescribed number of special tags will be
provided by the department to each cooperator/sub-
cooperator in DMAP to affix to deer taken as specified by
the program participation level. These tags shall be used
during all seasons. Tags are only authorized on DMAP lands
for which the tags were issued.

b. Each hunter must have a tag in his possession
while hunting on DMAP land in order to harvest an
antlerless deer (or antlered deer if antlered deer tags are
issued). Antlerless deer may be harvested any day of the deer
season on property enrolled in DMAP provided a DMAP tag
is possessed by the hunter at time of harvest. The tag shall be
attached through the hock in such a manner that it cannot be
removed before the deer is transported. The DMAP tag will
remain with the deer so long as the deer is kept in the camp
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or field, is enroute to the domicile of its possessor, or until it
has been stored at the domicile of its possessor, or divided at
a cold storage facility and has become identifiable as food
rather than as wild game. The DMAP number shall be
recorded on the possession tag of the deer or any part of the
animal when divided and properly tagged.

c. DMAP tagged antlered or antlerless deer
harvested on property enrolled in DMAP do not count in the
daily or season bag limit.

d. All unused tags shall be returned 30 days after
the close of the season to the ecoregion field office which
issued the tags.

3. Records

a. Cooperators/sub-cooperators are responsible for
keeping accurate records on forms provided by the
department for all deer harvested on lands enrolled in the
program. Mandatory information includes tag number, sex
of deer, date of kill, name of person taking the deer, LDWF
i.d. number and biological data (age, weight, antler
measurements, lactation) as deemed essential by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Deer Section.
Biological data collection must meet quality standards
established by the Deer Section. Documentation of
mandatory information shall be kept daily by the
cooperator/sub-cooperator. Additional information may be
requested depending on management goals of the
cooperator/sub-cooperator.

b. Information on deer harvested shall be submitted
30 days after the close of the season to the ecoregion field
office handling the particular cooperator/sub-cooperator.

c. The contact person shall provide this
documentation of harvested deer to the department upon
request. Cooperators/sub-cooperators who do not have a
field camp will be given 48 hours to provide this requested
documentation.

B. Suspension and cancellation of DMAP

Cooperators/Sub-Cooperators

1. Failure of the cooperator/sub-cooperator to follow
these rules and regulations may result in suspension and
cancellation of the program on those lands involved. Failure
to make a good faith attempt to follow harvest
recommendations may also result in suspension and
cancellation of the program.

a. Suspension of cooperator/sub-cooperator from
DMAP. Suspension of the cooperator/sub-cooperator from
DMAP, including forfeiture of unused tags, will occur
immediately for any misuse of tags, failure to tag any
antlerless deer, or failure to submit records to the department
for examination in a timely fashion. Suspension of the
cooperator/sub-cooperator, including forfeiture of unused
tags, may also occur immediately if other DMAP rules or
wildlife regulations are violated. Upon suspension of the
cooperator/sub-cooperator from DMAP, the contact person
may request a Department of Wildlife and Fisheries hearing
within 10 working days to appeal said suspension.
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Cooperation by the DMAP cooperator/sub-cooperator with
the investigation of the violation will be taken into account
by the department when considering cancellation of the
program following a suspension for any of the above listed
reasons. The cooperator/sub-cooperator may be allowed to
continue with the program on a probational status if, in the
judgment of the department, the facts relevant to a
suspension do not warrant cancellation.

b. Cancellation of cooperator/sub-cooperator from
DMAP. Cancellation of a cooperator/sub-cooperator from
DMAP may occur following a guilty plea or conviction for a
DMAP rule or regulation violation by any individual or
member hunting on the land enrolled in DMAP. The
cooperator/sub-cooperator may not be allowed to participate
in DMAP for one year following the cancellation for such
guilty pleas or conviction. Upon cancellation of the
cooperator/sub-cooperator from DMAP, the contact person
may request an administrative hearing within 10 working
days to appeal said cancellation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:110.1 and R.S. 56:115.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
17:204 (February 1991), amended LR 25:1656 (September 1999),
LR 26:2011 (September 2000), LR 30:2496 (November 2004), LR
34:1427 (July 2008), LR 35:1910 (September 2009), LR 37:2187
(July 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2753 (September 2011),
amended LR 39:2292 (August 2013), LR 41:1123 (June 2015), LR
46:704 (May 2020), LR 47:605 (May 2021), LR 49:1568
(September 2023).

8113.  Fox/Coyote Hunting Preserve, Purchase and
Sale of Live Foxes and Coyotes, Permitting Year-
Round Coyote Trapping
A. Purpose. These regulations are to govern the

purchasing, selling and holding in captivity of live foxes and
coyotes for chasing with hounds. These regulations will
prohibit the importation and exportation of any species of
foxes or coyotes to or from Louisiana in an effort to prevent
possible disease and parasite contamination of native wild
canids. Humans are subject to infection with the liver being
the most common site of larval growth. The infection is
termed alveolar hydatid disease (AHD). The number of
deaths per number of infected individuals has been 50-75
percent. These regulations are also enacted to allow the sport
of fox/coyote hunting with dogs within enclosed areas. The
regulations provide general rules including licensing,
permits, fees, live trapping, sale and purchase of animals,
holding cage requirements, enclosure requirements,
acclimation requirements and report requirements.

B. Definitions

Acclimation Pen—an area which is built within or
adjacent to fox/coyote hunting preserves which will contain
game and exclude hounds and which will allow game to
become acclimated to an enclosed environment.

Bill of Sale—receipt showing the amount of game
purchased, the date of purchase, and the person from whom
the game was purchased.
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Bona Fide Resident—any person who has resided in the
state of Louisiana continuously during the 12 months
immediately prior to the date on which he applies for any
license and who has manifested his intent to remain in this
state by establishing Louisiana as his legal domicile as
demonstrated with all of the following, as applicable.

a. If registered to vote, he is registered to vote in
Louisiana.

b. If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in
possession of a Louisiana registration for that vehicle.

c. If owning a motor vehicle located within
Louisiana, he is in possession of a Louisiana registration for
that vehicle.

d. If earning an income, he has filed a Louisiana
state income tax return and has complied with state income
tax laws and regulations.

e. As to a corporation or other legal entity, a
resident shall be any which is incorporated or otherwise
organized under and subject to the laws of Louisiana, and as
to which the principal place of business and more than
50 percent of the offices, partners, or employees are
domiciled in Louisiana.

Box Trap—a drop-door type of trap that upon the
game's entry into the device encloses and detains the game.

Closed Season—that period of time of the calendar year
not specifically included in the open season.

Department—the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries.

Enclosure—(see fox/coyote hunting preserve).

Fox/Coyote Hunting Preserve—an area which is
completely enclosed by adequate fencing to contain game
and hounds which is built and maintained for the purpose of
training or chasing game with hounds.

Fox/Coyote Hunting Preserve Operator—anyone acting
as an agent of the owner in caring for or managing the
maintenance and/or business of the preserve.

Game—any red fox or grey fox or coyote stocked in a
fox/coyote hunting preserve for the purpose of dog training
and/or chasing with hounds.

Hunting Preserve Owner—anyone who legally has
possession or has legally leased property on which the
enclosure is established.

LDWF-Approved Applicant—a person who has no Class
3 or greater wildlife or fish violations during the past three
years, who has a minimum of two years of trapping
experience and who is at least 15 years old.

Landowner—any person who owns land on which traps
are set.

Licensee—any bona fide resident and lawful holder of
an effective license duly issued under the authority of the
department.
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Nongame Quadruped—alligators, beavers, bobcats,
coyotes, grey foxes, minks, muskrats, nutrias, opossums,
otters, raccoons, red foxes, skunks and other wild
quadrupeds valuable for their furs or skins.

Nongame Quadruped Breeder—any person properly
licensed to engage in the business of raising, exhibiting and
selling nongame quadrupeds.

Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor—any person properly
licensed to engage in the business of raising and/or
exhibiting nongame quadrupeds.

Nontarget Animal—any animal other than red fox, grey
fox or coyote.

Permittee—any person who has obtained a valid permit
from the department for trapping coyotes during the closed
season.

Person—includes any individual person, association,
corporation, partnership, or other legal entity recognized by
law.

Possess—in its different tenses, the act of having in
possession or control, keeping, detaining, restraining,
holding as owner, or as agent, bailee, or custodian for
another.

Raising—the production of red fox, grey fox, or coyotes
in controlled environmental conditions or in outside
facilities.

Rearing—(see raising).

Relaxing Lock—Iocking device on a share that loosens
and tightens in response to the game's action.

Resident—(see bona fide resident).

Snare—wire device wused for

quadrupeds.

Soft Catch™—trap (manufactured by Woodstream
Corporation), no modifications.

taking nongame

Take—in its different tenses, the attempt or act of
hooking, pursuing, netting, capturing, snaring, trapping,
shooting, hunting, wounding, or killing by any means or
device.

Transport—in its different tenses, the act of shipping,
attempting to ship, receiving or delivering for shipment,
transporting, conveying, carrying, or exporting by air, land,
or water, or by any means whatsoever.

Trap—any device used
quadrupeds or fish.

in the capture of birds,

Trapper—any person properly licensed by the
department engaged in the trapping of nongame quadrupeds.

C. Licenses, Permits and Fees. The licenses and fees
required for activities authorized by these regulations are as
prescribed under provisions of Title 56.

1. An annual special permit may be issued to a
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries approved applicant
[authority granted by Louisiana laws pertaining to Wildlife
and Fisheries, R.S. 56:123(C)] for the trapping of coyotes
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only, outside of the annual trapping season. In order for the
permittee to sell live coyotes, he must also possess a
nongame quadruped breeder's license (R.S. 56:262.1) and a
valid trapping license;

2. A nongame quadruped exhibitor's license may be
issued permitting the applicant to breed and/or exhibit such
animals provided he meets the rules and regulations of the
department;

3. A nongame quadruped breeder license may be
issued permitting the applicant to breed, propagate, exhibit,
and sell such animals alive.

D. General Rules

1. No person shall take, possess, purchase or sell live
foxes or coyotes, except as provided in these regulations and
R.S. Title 56.

2. No person shall hold in captivity any live foxes or
coyotes, except as provided in these regulations and R.S.
Title 56.

3. Fox/coyote hunting preserves shall be of a type and
construction such that it will insure the normal containment
of foxes, coyotes and hounds.

4. Fox/coyote hunting preserves shall contain an
adequate number of escape areas which are houndproof.
These may be provided by maintaining thickets, brush piles,
windrows, or where natural cover is insufficient, by
providing manmade escapes such as culverts or houndproof
feeding stations.

5. Licensees shall be required to make available to the
game:

uncontaminated and
growth and

a. food that is palatable,
nutritionally adequate to ensure normal
maintenance;

b. water which is fresh, uncontaminated and

available at all times.

6. No person shall transport, possess, purchase or sell
any live foxes or coyotes taken outside the state of
Louisiana. Live foxes and coyotes obtained from outside the
state of Louisiana prior to the enacted date of these
regulations and in possession of properly licensed persons
shall be exempt.

7. No person shall transport from the state or offer for
sale out of state any live foxes or coyotes.

8. Acclimation pens shall be constructed adjacent to
or within an enclosure to insure the containment of foxes
and coyotes and the exclusion of hounds. This requirement
may be waived for "training enclosures” or in enclosures
where running is discontinued for a minimum of two weeks
while foxes/coyotes adjust to the enclosure environment.

9. No person may engage in the business of raising or
exhibiting or otherwise possessing fox or coyotes for the
purpose of operating a fox/coyote hunting preserve unless he
or she has acquired and possesses a valid nongame
quadruped breeder or exhibitor license.
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10. A licensed trapper may offer for sale such live
animals to any licensed nongame quadruped breeder or
exhibitor during the open trapping season. During any such
transactions, a bill of sale must be provided by the trapper to
the nongame breeder or exhibitor and retained for a period
of one year.

11. Permittees (trapping coyotes during the closed
trapping season) will be required to use only either a padded
(4 9/16-6 1/2 inch inside jaw width at hinge posts), offset,
laminated or wide (4 5/8-6 3/8 inch inside jaw width at hinge
posts) or unmodified (5 inch inside jaw width at hinge posts)
foot-hold trap, or a box-type trap, or a cable restraint with a
relaxing lock.

12. Permittees trapping coyotes during the closed
trapping season and licensed as a nongame quadruped
breeder may offer for sale such coyotes. During any such
transaction, a bill of sale must be provided by the seller to
the purchaser and retained for a period of one year by the
purchaser.

13. It shall be unlawful to trap coyotes during the
closed trapping season without a permit issued by the
department.

14. Permittees will be required to check traps daily.

15. Permittees will be required to have in possession
written permission from the landowners or lessee where
traps are set.

16. Permittees shall release all nontarget species in a
manner so as to keep stress or injury minimal.

17. It shall be unlawful to sell native wild foxes or
coyotes outside the state of Louisiana.

18. Trappers and permittees who hold game for more
than one day for sale shall confine animals at a rate of no
more than one fox per 9 square feet and one coyote per
17 square feet. The cage must be high enough for each
animal to easily sit or stand. The cage must be escape-proof
and offer protection from adverse weather.

19. Fox/coyote hunting preserves shall be exempt from
the commission action which prohibits the running of
coyotes during the open turkey season.

20. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has the
authority to conduct disease investigations at any time and,
pending the results of the disease investigations, has the
authority to quarantine fox/coyote hunting preserves if
deemed necessary. The department also has the authority to
prohibit the release of animals that are diseased or have been
exposed to diseased animals.

21. Neurological or sick animals shall be humanely
euthanized and shall not be moved or sold in an effort to
prevent the spread of disease. Licensees shall be required to
immediately report to the department the occurrence of any
disease contracted by captive fox or coyotes. These diseases
include but are not limited to rabies, canine distemper,
sarcoptic mange or Echinococcus infections.
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22. Animals held under any non-game quadruped
breeder, non-game quadruped exhibitor, or coyote trapping
license shall not be physically altered, except for medical
treatment by a Louisiana licensed veterinarian, or mutilated
in any way.

E. Report Requirements

1. Report forms provided by the department must be
completed and filed with the department by all persons who
have been issued a nongame quadruped breeder or exhibitor
license or who have been issued a special permit allowing
the trapping of coyotes only in the closed season in
accordance with this Subsection. Reports shall include but
not be limited to the information specified in R.S.
56:262.1(d). Failure to complete these forms properly and
completely will result in nonrenewal of the nongame
quadruped breeder or exhibitor license.

2. All licensed nongame quadruped exhibitors will be
required to include information regarding numbers of
animals by species in captivity, number of known losses
(death or escape), number of animals by species purchased
and the sources of game purchases.

3. All licensed nongame quadruped breeders will be
required to include information regarding numbers of
animals by species in captivity, numbers of losses, numbers
of animals by species purchased and the sources of game
purchases, and number of sales by species and the person
who bought the game.

F. Penalty for Violation. Violation of these regulations
will be a Class 2 violation with the following exceptions.

1. Violation of the license requirements for nongame
quadruped breeders and nongame quadruped exhibitors shall
be a Class 3 violation (see §113.C.1, 2, 3 and D.2. of this
Chapter).

2. Violation of the reporting requirements shall be a
Class 3 violation (see 8113E.1-3 of this Chapter).

3. Violation of the regulations pertaining to import of
foxes and/or coyotes into the state or export of foxes and/or
coyotes from the state shall be a Class 4 violation (see
§113.D.6-7 of this Chapter).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:262.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
17:205 (February 1991), amended LR 49:512 (March 2023), LR
49:1568 (September 2023).

§115.  Possession of Potentially Dangerous Wild
Quadrupeds, Big Exotic Cats, and Non-Human
Primates

A. This commission finds that possession of certain
potentially dangerous quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-
human primates poses significant hazards to public safety
and health, is detrimental to the welfare of the animals, and
may have negative impacts on conservation and recovery of
some threatened and endangered species.
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1. The size and strength of such animals in concert
with their natural and unpredictable and/or predatory nature
can result in severe injury or death when an attack upon a
human occurs. Often such attacks are unprovoked and a
person other than the owner, often a child, is the victim.
Furthermore, there is no approved rabies vaccine for such
animals, so even minor scratches and injuries inflicted upon
humans or other animals could be deadly.

2. Responsible possession of these potentially
dangerous wild quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-human
primates necessitates that they be confined in secure
facilities. Prolonged confinement is by its nature stressful to
these animals and proper long-term care by experienced
persons is essential to the health and welfare of these
animals and to society.

3. Certain of these animals are listed as endangered
species and others are so similar in appearance to
endangered subspecies as to make practical distinction
difficult. This similarity of appearance may provide a means
to market illegally obtained endangered animals and can
limit the effective enforcement of endangered species laws.

B. This commission regulation prohibits importation and
private possession, and otherwise regulates certain wild
quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-human primates as
provided herein.

C.1. Except as provided herein, it shall be unlawful to
import into, possess, purchase or sell within the state of
Louisiana, by any means whatsoever including but not
limited to transactions conducted via the internet, any of the
following species or its subspecies of live wild quadrupeds,
big exotic cats, or non-human primates, domesticated or
otherwise (hereinafter "listed animals"):

a. black bear (Ursus americanus);
b. grizzly bear (Ursus arctos);

c. polar bear (Ursus maritimus);
d. red wolf (Canis rufus);

e. gray wolf (Canis lupus);

f.  wolf dog hybrid (Canis lupus or Canis rufus x
Canis familiarus);

g. all non-human primates;
h. the following big exotic cats:

i. tigers;

ii. lions;
iii.  leopards (including, but not limited to snow

leopard and clouded leopard);

iv.  jaguars;

v.  cheetahs;
vi.  cougars or mountain lions (Felis concolor);

vii.  all subspecies of the above listed exotic cats;
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viii.  hybrids resulting from cross breeding of the
above listed exotic cats.

2. Holders of a potentially dangerous wild quadruped
permit allowing possession of any listed animal, where the
permit is valid on the effective date of this regulation, will be
"grandfathered" and the permit will be renewed annually
until existing permitted captive animals expire, or are legally
transferred out of state, or are transferred to a suitable
facility. No additional listed animals may be acquired by any
means whatsoever, including breeding.

D.1. Wolf-Dog Hybrids. The prohibition against wolf-
dog hybrids expired January 1, 1997. Persons are cautioned
that local ordinances or other state regulations may prohibit
possession of these animals. Any animal which appears
indistinguishable from a wolf, or is in any way represented
to be a wolf shall be considered to be a wolf in the absence
of bona fide documentation to the contrary.

E. Exempted Entities. The following organizations and
entities shall be exempt from this regulation, including
permitting:

1. zoos accredited or certified by the American Zoo
and Aquarium Association (AZA) and the Zoo of Acadiana
so long as it meets the American Zoo and Aquarium
Association standards for enclosures;

2. research facilities as defined in the Animal Welfare
Act as found in the United States Code title 7, chapter 54,
82132(e), including but not limited to the University of
Louisiana at Lafayette Primate Center, the Tulane National
Primate Research Center, and Chimp Haven, Inc., located in
Shreveport, LA; and

3. any person transporting any listed animal through
the state if the transit time is not more than 24 hours and the
animal is at all times maintained within a confinement
sufficient to prevent escape and contact with the public.
Exhibiting the listed animal, in any manner, is prohibited,;

4. circuses, limited to those temporarily in this state,
offering varied performances by live animals, clowns, and
acrobats for public entertainment, and which are
incorporated class C licensees under chapter | of title 9 of
the Code of Federal Regulations. Notwithstanding the
above, circuses do not include entertainment that includes
any listed animal in any type of wrestling, photography
opportunity with a patron, or an activity in which any listed
animal and a patron are in close contact with each other;

5. Louisiana colleges or universities, for possession of
a big exotic cat of the species traditionally kept by that
college or university as a school mascot, after proper
documentation to the department that the college or
university has consistently over the years possessed a big
exotic cat as its mascot.

F. Permitted Entities. The following organizations and
entities may be exempted from this regulation after applying
for and receiving a permit from the department to possess
any listed animal under the following conditions:
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1. other zoos and educational institutions not covered
under Paragraphs E.1-2 above. The secretary shall determine
whether to issue a permit and any conditions for the permit
on a case by case basis. A zoo, for purposes of this
Subsection, is defined as a publicly or municipally owned
permanent institution which owns and maintains multiple
species of wildlife, under the direction of at least one full-
time professional staff member who possesses an
appropriate body of knowledge and experience in zoological
park management, provides its animals with appropriate
care, exhibits the animals to the public on a regular basis,
and has as its primary mission the exhibition, conservation,
and preservation of animals in an educational and scientific
manner:

a. any entity that has submitted to the department
on or before July 1, 2014 an application as an other zoo or
educational institution under this Subsection shall not be
required to be publicly or municipally owned. Should a
permit be granted under this exception, future permits shall
be likewise exempted, provided that a permit had been
issued for the immediately preceding year;

2. animal sanctuaries accredited or certified by the
American Zoo and Aquarium Association (AZA). Permitted
sanctuaries are prohibited from exhibiting, breeding, or
selling any listed animal. Listed animals must be surgically
sterilized or separately housed to prevent breeding. Listed
animals must be housed in such a manner as to prevent
public contact and in compliance with the enclosure rules
provided herein in Subsection 1. Permitted animal
sanctuaries are prohibited from transporting these animals to
any public building or place where they may come into
contact with the public including, but not limited to schools,
hospitals, malls, private residences, or other commercial or
retail establishments.

G. Non-Human Primates

1. As provided below, the following individuals may
be exempted from this regulation after applying for and
receiving a permit from the department to possess a non-
human primate. The permit will be for one year and must be
renewed annually under the following conditions:

a. an individual who legally possesses one or more
non-human primates immediately prior to the effective date
of this regulation and who can prove legal ownership is
authorized to keep those non-human primates but is
prohibited from acquiring any additional non-human
primates by any means whatsoever, including breeding;

b. the individuals listed in this Subsection must
annually apply for and receive a permit from the department.
The permit application shall include:

i. the name, address, telephone number, and date
of birth of applicant;

ii. a description of each non-human primate
applicant possesses, including the scientific name, sex, age,
color, weight, and any distinguishing marks;
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iii. a photograph of each non-human primate and
its permanent enclosure;

iv.  the physical location where the non-human
primate is to be kept;

v. proof of legal ownership. (Proof of legal
ownership includes original purchase documents, veterinary
records, or other documentation, acceptable to the
department demonstrating ownership);

vi.  the microchip or tattoo number of each non-
human primate;

vii. a health certificate signed by a licensed
veterinarian within one year prior to the date of the
application stating that the animal is free of all symptoms of
contagious and/or infectious diseases at the time of the
examination and that all appropriate tests and preventative
measures have been performed as deemed necessary by the
veterinarian;

viii.  a signed release statement, on a form provided
by the department, agreeing to abide by permit terms and to
cooperate with LDWF personnel;

ix. asigned agreement, on a form provided by the
department, indemnifying and holding harmless the state,
department, and other applicable public agencies and
employees, including agents, contractors, and the general
public from any claims for damages resulting from the non-
human primate(s);

X. a signed agreement that the permittee will be
responsible for any and all costs associated with the escape,
capture, and disposition of the non-human primate(s);

c. the department shall only accept applications for
possession of non-human primates from individuals who
have not previously possessed a permit until June 30, 2015.
Thereafter, permits will only be issued for the possession of
non-human primates to those individuals who were
permitted in the immediately preceding year and who meet
all applicable requirements of this Section.

2. Permittee must allow inspections of premises by
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries employees for
purposes of enforcing these regulations. Inspections may be
unannounced, and may include, but are not limited to,
pens,stalls, holding facilities, records, and examination of
animals necessary to determine species identification, sex,
age, health, and/or implanted microchip number.

3. Permit holders must house their non-human
primates in such a manner as to prevent public contact and
are prohibited from transporting their non-human primate to
any public building or place where the public may come into
contact with the non-human primate, including, but not
limited to schools, hospitals or malls.

4. Permit holders must have their non-human primates
examined annually by a licensed veterinarian to insure that
the animal is free of all symptoms of contagious and/or
infectious diseases at the time of examination and all
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appropriate tests and preventative measures have been
performed as deemed necessary by the veterinarian.

5. Permit holders are required to report any escapes to
the department within 24 hours of discovery of the escape.

6. Permit holders are required to submit any changes
to the permit information provided in the permit application
within 30 days of the date those changes take effect or the
permit will be considered invalid.

H. Big Exotic Cats. A person who has continually
possessed in Louisiana an exotic cat listed in Subparagraph
C.1.h. above on August 15, 2006 (the effective date of Act
715 of the Regular Session of 2006) and who obtained the
exotic cat by lawful means may continue to possess the
exotic cat under the following conditions.

1. No more than one exotic cat meeting this Rule will
be permitted. Additional exotic cats cannot be acquired by
any means whatsoever, including breeding.

2. A permit will only be issued to the individual who
owns the exotic cat or to an individual who is a designee of
the owner, where the owner is not an individual. If the
permittee is a designee, the individual must agree to comply
with all requirements of the permit and these rules.

3. The individuals listed in this Subsection must
annually apply for and receive a permit from the department.
The permit application shall be on a form provided by the
department and require:

a. the name, address, telephone number, driver's
license number, and date of birth of applicant;

b. a description of the exotic cat applicant
possesses, including the scientific name, sex, age, color,
weight, and any distinguishing marks;

c. one or more photographs of the exotic cat and its
permanent enclosure;

d. the physical location where the exotic cat is to be
kept;

e. proof of ownership of the exotic cat on August
15, 2006. Proof of ownership includes original purchase
documents, veterinary records, or other documentation,
acceptable to the department, demonstrating ownership;

f.  the microchip number of the exotic cat;

g. a health certificate signed by a licensed
veterinarian within one year prior to the date of the
application. The certificate shall include the name, address,
and license number of the examining veterinarian;

h. a written plan for the quick and safe recapture or
destruction in the event of the escape of the exotic cat listed
in the permit. This plan must also be filed with the local
sheriff's department, and police department if applicable;

i. statement that permittee has legal authority to
possess weapons and/or other equipment necessary to carry
out the plan provided in Subparagraph H.2.h;
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j.  signed agreement, on a form provided by the
department, indemnifying and holding harmless the state,
department, and other applicable public agencies and
employees, including agents, contractors, and the general
public from any claims for damages resulting from the
permitted exotic cat;

k. signed agreement that the permittee will be
responsible for any and all costs associated with the escape,
capture, and disposition of the permitted exotic cat;

I.  proof of liability insurance from an A-rated or
higher insurance company in the amount of $100,000, valid
and effective continuously for the entire permit term. The
policy shall specifically include a provision requiring notice
from the carrier to the secretary of the department a
minimum of 30 days prior to cancellation of the policy.

4. Permittee or designee must live on the premises or
permittee and designees must provide continuous on-site
monitoring of the exotic cat. Designee(s) must have the
ability to carry out all requirements of the permittee.

5. Permittee must allow inspections of premises by
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries employees for
purposes of enforcing these regulations. Inspections may be
unannounced, and may include, but are not limited to, pens,
stalls, holding facilities, records, and examination of animals
necessary to determine species identification, sex, age,
health, and/or implanted microchip number.

6. A weapon capable of destroying the animal and a
long range delivery method for chemical immobilization
shall be kept on the premises at all times. Additionally, the
applicant shall provide a signed statement from a licensed
veterinarian identifying a designated veterinarian who will
be on-call and available at all times to deliver chemical
immobilization in the event of an escape.

7. Clearly legible signs, approved by the department,
shall be posted and displayed at each possible entrance onto
the premises where the permitted exotic cat is located. The
signs shall clearly state "Danger, Wild Animal On Premises"
with letters of a size and font easily readable from 30 feet
away.

8. The permitted exotic cat must be implanted with a
microchip by or under the supervision of a licensed
veterinarian.

9. The permitted exotic cat must remain in its
enclosure on the property listed in the permit at all times and
cannot be removed from the enclosure for any reason.
However, the exotic cat may be removed for proper medical
care for medical emergencies or medical procedures, but
only under the direction of a licensed veterinarian.

10. Permittee must notify the department, the local
sheriff's department, and police department if applicable,
immediately upon discovery that the permitted exotic cat is
no longer in its enclosure.

11. Permittee must notify the department prior to any
disposition of the permitted exotic cat, including
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transportation out-of-state. The department reserves the right
to supervise and accompany any such disposition.

12. The permitted exotic cat must be kept in a sanitary
and safe condition and may not be kept in a manner that
results in the maltreatment or neglect of the exotic cat. This
includes, but is not limited to:

a. drinking water must be provided in clean
containers, pools must be cleaned as needed to ensure good
water quality, enclosures must have adequate surface water
drainage, and hard floor surfaces must be regularly scrubbed
and disinfected;

b. food must be unspoiled and not contaminated,
and be of a type and quantity sufficient to meet the
nutritional requirements of the permitted exotic cat;

c. fecal and food waste must be removed from
enclosures daily and disposed of in a manner that prevents
noxious odors and insect and other pests;

d. sufficient shaded areas must be available.

13. In addition to complying with this regulation,
permittee must comply with any and all applicable federal,
other state, or local law, rule, regulation, ordinance, permit,
or other permission. Failure to comply with any such law,
rule, regulation, ordinance, permit, or other permission may
constitute a violation of this regulation.

I.  Enclosure Requirements.
requirements are as follows:

Minimum pen/enclosure

1. bears:

a. single animal: 25 feet long x 12 feet wide x 10
feet high, covered roof;

b. pair: 30 feet long x 15 feet wide x 10 feet high,
covered roof;

c. materials: chain link 9 gauge minimum;
d. safety perimeter rail;

e. pool: 6 feet x 4 feet x 18 inches deep with
facilities for spraying or wetting bear(s);

2. wolf:

a. 15 feet long x 8 feet wide x 6 feet high per
animal, covered roof;

b. secluded den area: 4 feet x 4 feet for each animal,
c. materials: chain link wire or equivalent;
d. safety perimeter rail;

3. big exotic cats:

a. enclosures shall be constructed and covered at
the top with nine gauge steel chain link or equivalent, with
tension bars and metal clamps;

b. enclosures must be well braced and securely
fastened to the floor or ground and shall utilize metal clamps
or braces of equivalent strength as that proscribed for cage
construction;
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c. enclosures shall be secured by at least two sets of
doors, so that the first door must be closed before the second
door is opened. The inside door to the animal enclosure must
open in. These doors must remain locked at all times when
unattended. The doors must be designed so that the frame,
hasps and locks are of sufficient strength to restrain the
exotic cat;

d. a perimeter fence of at least 8 feet in height
(secondary barrier) and located a minimum of 5 feet from
the enclosure sufficient to prevent unauthorized entry or
direct physical contact with the exotic cat;

e. the mesh size and/or distance between bars for all
enclosures and fences shall be sufficiently small to prevent
escape and/or direct physical contact with the exotic cat;

f. enclosures shall include a den area or other
connected housing unit in which the exotic cat may be
secured for the safe servicing and cleaning of the remaining
enclosure. This area shall be constructed with steel,
reinforced cinder block, or concrete sufficient to withstand
damage from high winds, hard rains, hail, and other natural
phenomenon.

J.  Penalty for Violation. Unless another penalty is
provided by law, violation of these regulations will be a class
two violation as defined in title 56 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes. In addition, upon conviction for violation of these
regulations, any license/permit may be revoked and the
quadrupeds or other animals seized in connection with the
violation will be forfeited.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6(31), R.S. 56:115, R.S. 56:171, and R.S. 56:1904(F).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
21:1356 (December 1995), amended LR 32:647 (April 2006), LR
33:1153 (June 2007), amended by House Concurrent Resolution 6
of the 2012 Regular Legislative Session, LR 38:1459 (June 2012),
amended by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission, LR 40:2616 (December 2014), LR 41:152
(January 2015).

8117.  Deer and Elk Importation
A. Definitions

Elk or Red Deer—any animal of the species Cervus
elaphus.

Mule Deer or Black-Tailed Deer—any animal of the
species Odocoileus hemionus.

White-Tailed Deer—any animal of the
Odocoileus virginianus.

species

B. No person shall import, transport or cause to be
imported or transported live white-tailed deer, mule deer, or
black-tailed deer (hereinafter "deer"), into or through the
state of Louisiana. No person shall import, transport or cause
to be imported or transported, live elk or red deer
(hereinafter "elk") into or through Louisiana in violation of
any Imposition of Quarantine by the Louisiana Livestock
Sanitary Board. Any person transporting deer or elk between
licensed facilities within the state must notify the



Title 76, Part V

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and provide
information as required by the department prior to departure
from the source facility and again upon arrival at the
destination facility. A transport identification number will be
issued upon providing the required information prior to
departure. Transport of deer or elk between licensed
facilities without a valid transport identification number is
prohibited. Notification must be made to the Enforcement
Division at (800) 442-2511. All deer or elk imported or
transported into or through this state in violation of the
provisions of this ban shall be seized and disposed of in
accordance with Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries rules and regulations.

C. No person shall receive or possess deer or elk
imported or transported in violation of this rule. Any person
accepting delivery or taking possession of deer or elk from
another person has a duty to review and maintain bills of
sale, bills of lading, invoices, and all other documents which
indicate the source of the deer or elk.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
R.S. 56:6(10), (13) and (15), R.S. 56:20, R.S. 56:112, R.S. 56:116.1
and R.S. 56:171 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
24:1140 (June 1998), repromulgated LR 24:1325 (July 1998),
amended LR 28:2206 (October 2002), LR 31:2269 (September
2005).

8119. Cervid Carcass Importation
A. Definitions

Cervid—any animal of the family Cervidae including,
but not limited to, white-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, moose,
caribou, fallow deer, axis deer, sika deer, red deer and
reindeer.

B. No person shall import, transport or possess any
cervid carcass or part of a cervid carcass originating outside
of Louisiana except for: meat that is cut and wrapped; meat
that has been boned out; quarters or other portions of meat
with no part of the spinal column or head attached, antlers,
clean skull plates with antlers, cleaned skulls without tissue
attached, capes, tanned hides, finished taxidermy mounts
and cleaned cervid teeth. This restriction shall also prohibit
transport of any cervid carcass or part of a cervid carcass
originating from Louisiana lands east of the Mississippi
River in East Carroll, Madison, Tensas and Concordia
Parishes to any other part of the state, unless it is transported
in the manner prescribed herein. Any and all bones shall be
disposed of in a manner where its final destination is at an
approved landfill or equivalent.

C. Approved parts or deboned meat transported from
other states must be legally possessed from the state it was
taken. Approved parts and deboned meat from other states
must contain a possession tag with the hunter’s name, out-
of-state license number (if required), address, species, date
and location (county and state) of harvest. All cervids
transported into or through this state in violation of the
provisions of this ban shall be seized and disposed of in
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accordance with Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
R.S. 56:6(10), (13) and (15), R.S. 56:20, R.S. 56:112, R.S. 56:116.1
and R.S. 56:171 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
43:344 (February 2017), amended LR 45:933 (July 2019).

8121. Disposal of lllegal Live Deer and Elk
A. Definitions

Elk or Red Deer—any animal of the species Cervus
elaphus.

Mule Deer or Black-Tailed Deer—any animal of the
species Odocoileus hemionus.

White-Tailed Deer—any animal of the
Odocoileus virginianus.

species

B. White-tailed deer, mule deer, black-tailed deer, elk, or
red deer imported into Louisiana in violation of Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission (LWFC) rules or state statutes shall be
euthanized by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries (LDWF), or its designee, in a manner conforming
to the 2000 Report of the AVMA Panel on Euthanasia. At the
discretion of the LDWF, white-tailed deer originating from
within Louisiana and possessed in violation of LWFC rules
or state statutes, may be euthanized in a manner conforming
to the 2000 Report of the AVMA Panel on Euthanasia, or
placed with a licensed game breeder in accordance with
LDWEF guidelines. Certainty of origin, confinement history,
and age will be among the factors considered by LDWF in
making a determination regarding disposition of white-tailed
deer originating from within Louisiana. White-tailed deer
placed with licensed game breeders shall remain in
confinement for their entire lives and shall not be released
into the wild.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
R.S. 56:6(10), (13) and (15), R.S. 56:20, R.S. 56:112, R.S. 56:116.1
and R.S. 56:171 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
28:2207 (October 2002).

8123. Coastwide Nutria Control Program

A. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby
establish regulations governing participation in the
Coastwide Nutria Control Program. The administrative
responsibility for this program shall rest with the
Department Secretary; the Assistant Secretary, Office of
Wildlife; and the Fur and Refuge Division.

1. The Coastwide Nutria Control Program objective is
to provide economic incentive, through an incentive
payment to participants, to encourage the harvest of up to
400,000 nutria annually from coastal Louisiana. The
incentive payment shall be the amount set by the Coastal
Wetlands Planning, Protection and Restoration Act
(CWPPRA) Task Force. For the purpose of this program,
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coastal Louisiana is bounded on the north by Interstate 10
from the Louisiana-Texas line to Baton Rouge, Interstate 12
from Baton Rouge to Slidell, and Interstate 10 to the
Louisiana-Mississippi line.

2. Participant Application Process

a. Participants must acquire a valid Louisiana
trapping license.

b. Participants must submit a completed nutria
control program participant application to the department or
its contractor.

c. To be considered complete, the application must
contain the following information:

i. name;
ii. address;
iii.  telephone number;

iv.  Social Security number, and trapping license
number of applicant;

v.  tax receipt and a description of property to be
trapped/hunted (acres, parish, township, range, section);

vi. name, address,
landowner (private or public);

and telephone number of

vii.  signature of participant; and

viii.  signature of landowner or designated
representative indicating permission to hunt or trap nutria on
the described property.

d. For applications determined to be complete and
valid, the participant will be notified by mail that his/her
registration is finalized and a nutria control program
registration number will be issued.

e. The participant must indicate if an assistant will
be delivering tails on his behalf to a collection center and the
participant must provide the name of the assistant(s) on the
application.

f.  Applications submitted to the department or its
contractor by October 1 shall be processed by the opening of
trapping season. Applications submitted to the department or
its contractor after October 1 shall be processed in the order
received.

g. Applications listing only waterbodies, without
signature of an adjacent landowner or designated
representative, shall be considered incomplete.

h. Applications determined to be incomplete or
invalid will be returned to the applicant with an explanation
as to why registration could not be finalized.

3. Harvest of Nutria

a. Participants must possess a valid trapping license
and a nutria control program registration number.
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b. Only nutria harvested during the open trapping
season, from coastal Louisiana and taken from property
permitted can be included in this program.

c. Nutria may be taken by any legal method except
that if taken with a shotgun, steel shot must be used.

d. Participants are required to remove carcasses
from the trapping/hunting area or if carcasses are not sold
whole, they must be placed in such a manner as to prohibit
feeding on the carcasses by birds, including southern bald
eagles. Carcasses may be buried, placed in heavy overhead
vegetation or concealed by any other means necessary to
prevent consumption by birds.

4. Collection of Nutria Tails for Payment

a. Collection stations will be established across
coastal Louisiana by the department or its contractor.

b. Evidence of nutria harvested shall be in the form
of delivering severed nutria tails to a collection station
during a designated period. Collections will begin on or
about November 20. Specific dates and times of collections
will be established and advertised for each station.

c. Participant or a designated assistant must present
the nutria control registration number and proper
identification to the department contractor.

d. Participant or designated assistant shall present to
the department contractor only fresh or well-preserved (iced,
frozen, salted) nutria tails in a manner that allows counting
of individual tails (e.g., tails cannot be frozen together in a
block). Only whole tails, greater than 7 inches in length will
be accepted.

e. Participant shall declare parish, section,
township, and range in coastal Louisiana where animals
were taken and indicate method of take and carcass use.
Tails from animals taken from outside of the participants
permitted property shall not qualify for payment in this
program.

f. Participant shall sign the receipt/voucher
provided by the department contractor to acknowledge
number of tails presented and accuracy of information
provided.

5. Violation of any part of these regulations is a Class
2 violation and conviction may result in disqualification
from the program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:115.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
28:2205 (October 2002), amended LR 33:297 (February 2007).

8125.  Control of Nuisance Wild Quadrupeds

A. This rule applies only to the control of the wild
quadrupeds listed below and only when they are
conclusively proven to be creating a nuisance or causing
damage to property. The burden of establishing that the
animal in question is causing the property damage shall rest
with the property owner.
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B. The following wild quadrupeds may be taken year-
round without permit by the property owner or his designee,
with written landowner permission, but only by trapping or
shooting during legal daylight hours:

1. coyote;
armadillo;

nutria;

2

3

4. beaver,;
5. skunks; and
6

opossums.

C. Squirrels, rabbits, foxes, bobcats, mink, otter,
muskrat, raccoons and any of the other species listed above
may be trapped alive and relocated to suitable habitat
without permit provided the following conditions are met.

1. Written permission is obtained from the property
owner where the animals are to be released and such written
permission is carried in possession while transport and
release activities are taking place.

2. Animals are treated in a responsible and humane
manner and released within 12 hours of capture.

D. Traps shall be set in such a manner that provides the
trapped animal protection from harassment from dogs and
other animals and direct sun exposure.

E. Nuisance animals listed above may be so controlled
by the property owner or his designee with written
landowner permission, to prevent further damage.

F.  Property owners must comply with all additional local
laws and/or municipal ordinances governing the shooting or
trapping of wildlife or discharge of firearms.

G. No animal taken under this provision or parts thereof
shall be sold. A valid trapping license is required to sell or
pelt nuisance furbearers during the open trapping season.

H. No species taken under the provisions of this rule
shall be kept in possession for a period of time exceeding 12
hours.

I.  This Rule has no application to any species of bird as
birds are the subject of other state and federal laws, rules and
regulations.

J. Game animals, other than squirrels and rabbits, may
only be taken by hunting during the open season under the
conditions set forth under Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes and the rules and regulations of the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries.

K. A permit may be issued to landowners or their
designees to take white-tailed deer during the closed season
when deer are causing substantial damage to commercial
agricultural crops or orchards. Crops or orchards of less than
5 acres will not be considered for permits unless alternative
exclusionary methods, including electric fencing, have been
attempted and proven unsuccessful. Loss of 25 percent or
more of the expected production or value of a crop must be
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documented by a Louisiana Department of Agriculture and
Forestry crop specialist or Louisiana State University
Cooperative Extension Service agent. Emergency deer
removal permits may be issued by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries Wildlife Division with approval by the Deer
Program Manager and Enforcement Division. Landowners
or their designees may take only the number of deer
recommended by a Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
biologist and specified on the permit. Only antlerless or
unbranched antlered deer are legal for removal. All deer
taken under this permit must be tagged in a manner specified
on the permit before being moved from the site of the Kkill.
Deer may only be taken during daylight hours and all deer
meat will be salvaged and donated to a recipient or
charitable organization approved by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries. Biological samples may be requested
by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries biologists for
research and health monitoring purposes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
56:6(10) and (15), R.S. 56:112 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
28:2570 (December 2002), repromulgated LR 29:51 (January
2003), LR 35:703 (April 2009).

§126. Outlaw Quadruped, Nutria and Beaver
Night Take Permits

A. Purpose—to establish rules and regulations for the
take of outlaw quadrupeds, nutria and beaver during the
nighttime hours (one-half hour after official sunset to one-
half hour before official sunrise) from September 1 of each
year, through the last day of February of the next year.

B. Permits

1. On private property, the landowner, or his lessee or
agent with written permission from the landowner may
obtain a permit authorizing the take of outlaw quadrupeds,
nutria, or beaver during nighttime hours from September 1
through the last day of February of the next year.

2. Permit applications shall be completed on forms
provided by the department, with all required information
including but not limited to: applicants name, date of birth,
contact information, date of application, parish information
for applicant, landowner, and location of property subject to
the permit, map, acreage, legal description, landowner’s
expressed authorization to allow night take for these species
and any other information required by the department for the
proper administration of the permit issuance. Any change of
information requires the submission of a new permit
application. Applications must be submitted to the regional
enforcement office in which the property is located or to the
wildlife  permits coordinator at the Baton Rouge
headquarters.

3. Permits may be issued during business hours by the
wildlife enforcement captain located in the applicable
regional enforcement office, or by electronic means at the
discretion of the department.

Louisiana Administrative Code January 2024



WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

4. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year
beginning July 1 and terminating on June 30 of the following
year. Permits may be renewed annually without additional
application upon submission of the annual report and
affirmation of the permittee’s desire to renew, so long as the
permittee has adhered to the rules of the permit and all
information contained in the application remains accurate.
The permit may be terminated by the permittee, landowner,
or lessee at any time. The department may terminate any
permit at any time for a violation of any regulation
associated with the permit or for any violation of law
committed during the participation by any person during the
permitted activity. The department may also terminate
permits for biological issues or specific enforcement
concerns that may arise.

5. Permits are not transferrable and are only valid for
the property for which they were issued.

6. No person shall be issued or obtain a permit if they
have been convicted of class 3 or greater wildlife violation
within a five-year period or have been prohibited in any way
from legally participating in a hunting activity.

C. General Rules

1. Permit holders may take or authorize the take of
outlaw quadrupeds, nutria or beaver during nighttime hours
on private property for which the permit was issued from
(one-half hour after official sunset to one-half hour before
official sunrise) during the dates of September 1 through the
last day of February of the next year.

2. Permittees are responsible for all participants and
actions of such which take place as authorized by this
permit.

3. Permittees and any participant shall not trespass or
commit any other violations of law while conducting
activities authorized by the permit.

4. No person shall be allowed to participate or be
present during activities authorized by the permit if
convicted of a class 3 or greater wildlife violation within the
previous five years or if they have any other prohibition
which would prevent the legal use of a firearm or
participation in a hunting activity. Such participation will be
considered a violation of the permit regulations.

5. Outlaw quadrupeds, nutria and beaver may be taken
by any means of take authorized by R.S. 56.

6. The original permit or copy thereof issued by the
department shall be with any permittee participating in
activities under the authority of the permit.

7. Permittees shall notify the department's law
enforcement 24-hour dispatch at (800) 442-2511 prior to
engaging in activities authorized under the permit and
identify each individual who will be participating in any way
with activities authorized by the permit and permit number.
Upon notification, the permittee shall be issued a
confirmation number for the notification.
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8. A report of activities which took place under this
permit shall be required to be submitted to the department by
June 30 of each year on official forms provided or as
otherwise approved for this purpose by LDWF, and consist
of:

a. name, permit number, and signature of permit
holder;

b. number of outlaw quadrupeds (coyotes,
armadillos, feral hogs), nutria and beavers killed under the
permit during year.

9. Permittees hereby indemnify and hold harmless the
state, department, and other applicable public agencies and
employees and accept full responsibility and liability for any
damages or injuries that occur during or as a result of
activities related to the permit issued herein.

D. Penalties for Violation

1. If any person is found to be in violation of any
provision of this Section, except for the reporting
requirements as prescribed by Paragraph C.8 of this Section,
or any other law during activities authorized by the permit
issued pursuant to this Section, the permit shall immediately
be voided and such permit shall not be reissued and shall
remain void unless there is an acquittal for the offense
committed.

2. Persons found in violation of rules and regulations
contained herein or any other laws shall be subject to the
same penalties as authorized by law as if no permit was
issued, in addition, violation of these regulations will be a
class 2 violation as defined in R.S. 56:32.

3. Persons failing to provide the annual report shall
not be subject to the penalty and provisions herein. Any such
person failing to comply with the annual report as prescribed
by Paragraph C.8 of this Section shall not be reissued a
permit until the reporting requirement under Paragraph C.8
of this Section is submitted to the department.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:112, 56:115, and 56:116.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
42:1692 (October 2016).

8127.  Nuisance Wildlife Control Operator Program
A. Purpose

1. The purpose of this Section is to establish
guidelines for the permitting of Nuisance Wildlife Control
Operators (NWCO’s) and the procedures to be used by the
NWCO’s in controlling nuisance wildlife.

2. NWCO’s are defined as individuals who offer
commercial services for the control of nuisance wildlife.

B. Permits

1. All NWCOs must have a valid NWCO permit
issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries (LDWF) in their possession while engaged in
nuisance wildlife control activities. NWCO permits are
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issued only to individuals and each individual engaged in
NWCO activities must possess a NWCO permit issued in
his/her name. This rule does not provide for or authorize any
NWCO to name a subpermittee.

2. In addition to the NWCO permit, all NWCOs must
possess a valid Louisiana trapping license and valid
Louisiana basic hunting license (or equivalent) in their
possession while engaged in nuisance wildlife control
activities. Additionally, any NWCO servicing non-protected
reptile and amphibian nuisance calls must possess a valid
basic fishing license or equivalent.

3. NWCO permits will be issued on a calendar year
basis (January 1-December 31) and must be renewed
annually.

C. Permit Requirements
1. All applicants must be 18 years of age or older.

2. The applicant must achieve a minimum score of 80
percent on the LDWF NWCO examination. The examination
shall consist of questions relating to wildlife biology and
behavior, nuisance animal control methods and procedures,
and nuisance wildlife control laws, rules and regulations.
Any applicant who fails to pass the examination may take
another examination no earlier than 30 days from the date of
the prior examination. Applicants may not attempt to take
the NWCO examination more than three times per calendar
year.

3. Anyone who has been convicted of a Class Il or
greater wildlife violation in Louisiana, or the equivalent in
another state within the past three years, or has been
convicted of a felony in Louisiana or another state, shall not
be eligible for a NWCO permit. Also, any person whose
hunting or trapping license privileges have been revoked and
is prohibited from hunting and trapping in Louisiana shall
not be allowed to possess or operate under the authority of a
NWCO permit.

4. All applicants must attend a LDWF sponsored
NWCO training class prior to or within 6 months of
receiving their permit. A class registration charge may be
applied. Those NWCOs with valid permits at the time this
rule becomes effective will have one year from the effective
date of amended regulations to complete the training class
requirement. All NWCOs are required to attend six hours of
LDWF approved continuing education every three years
after attending the NWCO training class. Failure to attend
the training class or obtain the six hours of LDWF approved
continuing education every three years will result in
revocation of the NWCO permit.

D. Exemptions

1. Employees of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Louisiana Department of Agriculture and
Forestry, Louisiana Department of Transportation and
Development, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and
USDA/APHIS/Wildlife Services are exempt from all
NWCO permit requirements while they are on duty and
carrying out official business of their respective agency.
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Also, city, parish, or local municipal government employees
assigned to animal control duties are exempt from permit
requirements while on duty and carrying out official
business of their respective agency. It is recommended that
exempted agencies adopt a policy requiring euthanasia of all
skunks, raccoons, feral hogs, coyotes, and nutria. Animals
that are not euthanized may not be released on LDWF
owned or managed land such as wildlife management areas
or refuges and may not be sold, bartered or exchanged.

E. Reporting and Renewal Requirements

1. All nuisance wildlife complaints that result in a site
visit by a NWCO must be fully documented on Nuisance
Wildlife Complaint Forms or in a format provided by
LDWF.

2. Nuisance Wildlife Complaint Forms for the permit
period must be submitted to the LDWF no later than 30 days
following the expiration of the permit and NWCO permits
will not be renewed until these forms are received. Reports
will cover the period from December 1 of the prior license
year to November 30 of the current license year. However,
the 30 day grace period that follows expiration of the
NWCO permit, applies to report filing only and does not
authorize NWCOs to engage in nuisance wildlife control
activities without a current NWCO permit.

3. Any NWCO who does not submit his/her report by
the 30th day after the expiration date of the permit, or who
submits a false or materially incomplete report shall be
issued a citation for violation of Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission rules and regulations. If the citation
does not result in a conviction, plea of guilty, or plea of no
contest, the NWCO will be considered for reapplication
upon receipt of the late Nuisance Wildlife Complaint
Form(s).

4. Report forms must be current and shall be available
for inspection at all times by Wildlife Enforcement Agents or
any other authorized representatives of the department.
NWCOs must maintain copies of all Nuisance Wildlife
Complaint Forms for three years.

F.  Procedures and Guidelines

1. The NWCO permit authorizes the holder to capture,
euthanize or relocate designated species of wildlife by safe
and effective means at any time of the year and without
limits provided the operator is acting on a valid, documented
wildlife complaint.

2. The following procedures and guidelines for
NWCO permittees shall be in effect to establish what species
of wildlife may be taken under the authority of this permit,
the legal methods that may be used to take nuisance wildlife
under the authority of this permit, and the legal methods of
disposing of nuisance wildlife.

a. Only wildlife damage or nuisance complaints
affecting humans and/or their property are considered valid
complaints. Complaints involving conflicts between two or
more species of wildlife are not valid nuisance wildlife
complaints.
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b. NWCO permittees are only authorized to live
trap and relocate, live trap and euthanize, or lethally trap the
following species when such action is warranted by a valid
nuisance wildlife complaint: armadillo, beaver, bobcat,
coyote, feral hogs, fox, mink, muskrat, nutria, opossum,
otter, rabbit, raccoon, squirrel (including flying squirrel) and
skunk. NWCO permittees are only authorized to live trap
and relocate, live trap and euthanize, or lethally trap reptiles
and amphibians that are not protected by federal law.
Nuisance birds may be controlled as provided by existing
law. Bats may be controlled by exclusion or by capture and
relocation only. Bats shall not be controlled by any lethal
methods. It is recommended all NWCOs working with bats
complete the Bat Conservation International (BCI)
professional excluders’ course available on-line.

c. The NWCO permit does NOT authorize the
capture and/or handling of white-tailed deer, bears, wild
turkeys or alligators.

d. The sale, trade, barter, gifting or retention of any
wildlife or part thereof taken under the authority of a NWCO
permit is prohibited except that furbearers taken during the
open trapping season may be sold as provided by law.
Additionally, individuals wishing to trap coyotes outside of
open trapping season may do so with the purchase of an
annual special permit which may be issued to a Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries approved applicant for
the trapping of coyotes only, outside of the annual trapping
season. In order for the permittee to sell live coyotes he must
also possess a nongame quadruped breeders license (R.S.
56:262.1) and a valid trapping license.

e. NWCO permittees must follow all state and
federal laws, rules and regulations that apply to the taking of
wildlife, with the exception of season dates and bag limits,
except as otherwise provided in this section.

f.  All wildlife taken under a NWCO permit shall be
taken and disposed of in a manner to ensure safe and
effective handling and/or euthanasia. Acceptable carcass
disposal options include deep burial (four feet), incineration,
and sanitary landfills. Disposal of carcasses must be in
compliance with all local codes and ordinances. Euthanasia
of a captured animal is to be performed under the guidelines
adopted by the American Veterinary Medical Association
(AVMA).

g. Traps or other capture devices set for live capture
(including leg hold traps) shall be checked a minimum of
once every 24 hours and all animals removed. Traps
intended to result in immediate death must be checked a
minimum of once every 48 hours. All traps and other capture
devices shall be marked with permanent tags bearing the
telephone number and LDWF issued permit number of the
NWCO.

h. Only legal methods of take, as provided by
existing law, shall be authorized under the NWCO permit. In
addition to legal traps and snares, nets and capture by hand
are authorized.
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i.  All traps and other capture devices shall be set
in a manner that:

ii.  will minimize the risk to non-target animals;

iii.  will minimize the risk to the public and to pets;
and

iv.  are out of the view of the general public.

j. The NWCO permit does not authorize the use of
firearms, except that nutria, beaver, coyotes, armadillos and
feral hogs where legal, may be taken as provided by existing
law. Firearms may also be used in accordance with the
American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)
guidelines on euthanasia. Discharge of any firearms shall be
subject to all state, parish and municipal restrictions and
ordinances.

k.  When relocation is authorized, the NWCO may
have the wildlife in possession for no more than 24 hours
unless specifically authorized by the department.

. Wildlife that is relocated shall be released at least
five miles outside of any city limit and must be released
within the state of Louisiana.

m. Wildlife shall not be released on private land
without written permission of the landowner or landowner
designee.

n.  Wildlife shall not be released on public land
without first obtaining written permission from the
governmental entity owning or administering the release
property.

0. Captured wildlife that appears to be sick or
injured shall not be relocated. NWCOs must contact the
appropriate LDWF regional office for instructions regarding
sick wildlife. Injured animals may be delivered to a licensed
rehabilitator or euthanized in accordance with AVMA
guidelines.

p. Raccoons, skunks, feral hogs, coyotes and nutria
shall not be relocated and shall be euthanized, within 12
hours of capture, in accordance with the current AVMA
guidelines on euthanasia.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
R.S. 56:6 (10) and (15), and R.S. 56:112 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
30:2080 (September 2004), amended LR 36:75 (January 2010).

§129. Fur Trapping Seasons

A. Season Dates. The statewide open trapping season for
nongame quadrupeds shall open on November 20 and close
on March 31. The secretary shall be authorized to close,
extend, delay, or reopen the season as biologically
justifiable.

B. Bobcat and Otter Tagging Requirements

1. To obtain federal approval to export bobcat and
river otter out of the United States, the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries is required to ensure that only
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Louisiana trapped river otter and bobcat are tagged with
Louisiana export tags. To accomplish this, a special
possession tag will be made available to fur buyers, fur
dealers and trappers.

2. A blue tag for river otter and a red tag for bobcat
must be filled out by the trapper at the time the pelt is sold.
The information required includes trapper name, trapper
license number, parish caught in and date trapped. No bobcat
or river otter pelts shall be purchased from a trapper or be in
the possession of a fur buyer without a possession tag until
they are submitted to the department in exchange for export
tags. Dealers shall not purchase bobcat or river otter pelts
without an accompanying possession tag.

3. No bobcat or river otter pelt shall be shipped from
the state without an export tag attached. Dealers will obtain
export tags for bobcat and river otter by providing the
department with one completed possession tag for each pelt
to be shipped from the state. It shall be illegal to falsify
possession tags or attach Louisiana export tags to out-of-
state bobcat and river otter pelts. Once possession tags have
been received and counted by department personnel, export
tags will be mailed immediately. Trappers shipping bobcat
and river otter out-of-state must provide completed
possession tags to the department in order to receive export
tags.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in
R.S. 56:6(10) and R.S. 56:259(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
33:1882 (September 2007), amended LR 34:1639 (August 2008).

§130. Feral Hog Trapping

A. Feral hogs may be trapped in cage or corral traps
year-round by holders of a valid basic hunting license. Feral
hogs may be captured by use of snares year-round by holders
of a valid trapping license.

accordance  with

B. Cage or corral traps must have an opening in the top
of the trap that is no smaller than 22 inches x 22 inches or 25
inches in diameter.

C. Feral hogs shall not be transported alive unless done
so by a feral swine authorized transporter registered with the
Board of Animal Health of the Louisiana Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, who has proof of said registration
in his/her possession.

1. Feral hogs being transported in violation of this
Rule will be confiscated and disposed of in accordance with
LDWF policy.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:20, R.S. 56:34, R.S. 56:56, R.S. 56:115 and R.S. 56:116.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
38:1997 (August 2012), amended LR 44:929 (May 2018).

§131. Wildlife Rehabilitation Program
A. Purpose

1. The purpose of this Section is to establish rules for
the permitting and operation of wildlife rehabilitators.
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B. Definitions

Rabies Vector Species (RVS)—mammalian species
defined by Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
(LDWF) as potential carriers of the rabies virus including,
but not limited to the following:

a. raccoons;
b. foxes;

c. coyotes;

d. skunks; and
e. bats.

Subpermittee—person authorized to conduct
rehabilitation activities under the supervisory responsibility
of a wildlife rehabilitator.

Supervisory Responsibility—to direct actions and accept
responsibility for the actions of a named individual engaged
in wildlife rehabilitation activities.

Wildlife Rehabilitation—activity that provides housing,
treatment and temporary care of injured and/or orphaned
indigenous animals with the goal of subsequent release of
those healthy animals to appropriate habitats in the wild.

Wildlife Rehabilitator—a person who is permitted by

the LDWF to engage in the practice of wildlife
rehabilitation.
C. Permits

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to keep, hold or
possess in captivity any sick, injured or orphaned wildlife
(except fish) or otherwise engage in wildlife rehabilitation
without first obtaining at no charge, a LDWF Wildlife
Rehabilitation Permit (WRP). In addition to the WRP, a
United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
rehabilitation permit must be in possession to rehabilitate
species covered by the Migratory Bird Treaty Act or
Endangered Species Act.

2. A WRP authorizes the permittee to transport;
temporarily possess; rehabilitate; transfer to a practicing
veterinarian or another wildlife rehabilitator for treatment or
euthanasia; release; or euthanize an injured, diseased,
disabled, orphaned or otherwise debilitated live wildlife
specified on their permit. Animals held under a WRP shall
not be displayed for educational purposes or otherwise
displayed or exposed to the public unless that individual
animal has been permitted by LDWF or USFWS for that
purpose.

D. Exemptions

1. Employees of the LDWF are exempt from all state
wildlife rehabilitation permit requirements while they are on
duty.

2. Licensed veterinarians are exempted, provided they
are treating an animal under the authorization of a wildlife
rehabilitator or LDWF employee, or are treating an animal
taken in from the public, provided the animal is released into
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an appropriate habitat or accepted by a wildlife rehabilitator
within 72 hours after receiving.

E. Permit Requirements
1. All applicants must be 18 years of age or older.

2. Anyone who has been convicted of a Class Il or
greater wildlife violation in Louisiana, or the equivalent in
another state within the past five years, or has been
convicted of a felony in Louisiana or another state, shall not
be eligible for a WRP.

3. All applicants must complete a WRP application,
liability release, and financial responsibility statement.

4. Prior to licensure or renewal, all applicants must
show proof of completion of a LDWF-approved wildlife
rehabilitation course and must be currently certified under
the approved organization’s guidelines. Failure to provide
proof of successful completion of the course and subsequent
continuing education requirements will result in non-
licensure or revocation of the WRP.

5. All applicants must provide verification of having
access to veterinary services by submitting a Statement of
Veterinary Support Form provided by LDWF.

6. All facilities where animals will be housed or
maintained will be inspected by LDWF prior to receiving a
WRP.

F. General Rules

1. The WRP will not exempt the holder from
regulations of other state, federal, parish or municipal
governments or agencies.

2. Sale of any animal held under a WRP is prohibited.

3. No animal held under a WRP may be used for
human consumption, unless specifically approved.

4. No Louisiana S1-ranked species may be held under
a WRP, without written authorization from the LDWF
Wildlife Division.

5. No animal intended for wildlife rehabilitation may
be imported into or exported out of the state of Louisiana
without written authorization by LDWF Wildlife Division.

6. The WRP does not authorize the possession of
white-tail deer, bears, wild turkeys or alligators unless
specifically stated on the permit.

7. Request for an Extension

a.  WRP holders shall not possess a non-migratory
bird for more than 90 days, other injured wildlife longer than
45 days, or other orphaned wildlife no longer than required
to prepare the animal for release, but not to exceed 120 days,
except that a permit holder may submit a written request for
extension of possession if:

i. the specified animal will likely be releasable
after the time frame listed above but is currently non-
releasable because of biological reasons; or
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ii. a licensed veterinarian determines, due to
medical reasons, the animal requires additional rehabilitation
time.

b. All extension requests should include a proposed
release date and be submitted in writing to LDWF Wildlife
Division. The permit holder may continue to house the
specified animal while LDWF is reviewing the request.
LDWEF will provide a written response and include specific
dates and instructions regarding disposition of the animal.

8.  WRP holders must ensure that animals are exposed
to minimal handling and other human contact, except as
necessary to maintain sanitary conditions, provide food and
water, provide medical care, and prepare the animal for
release.

9. Animals that are determined medically non-
releasable by a licensed veterinarian, exhibit signs of
adjusted life in captivity and pose minimum zoonotic disease
potential may be considered for educational animal
designation. A LDWF Special Purpose and Possession
permit application must be submitted to LDWF Wildlife
Division by the end of the 90 day rehabilitation period to be
considered for educational animal status.

10. All WRPs shall expire on December 31 of the year
of issue unless otherwise noted.

11. Permits are non-transferable but may include up to
five listed subpermittees. Subpermittees are authorized to
transport, house, and provide care for animals away from the
wildlife rehabilitation facility. A person caring for animals at
the wildlife rehabilitation facility is not required to be a
subpermittee. WRP holders desiring to add subpermittees,
must submit a subpermittee application form. Subpermittee
forms will only be accepted by the LDWF at the original
time of permitting, renewal and during June 1-30 each year.
Individuals may be removed as subpermittees at any time of
the year. A subpermittee removal form must be submitted.
All subpermittees:

a. must be 18 years of age or older;

b. are exempt from the testing requirement but are
subject to all other rules governing WRP holders including
animal housing and care requirements;

c. must work under the direction and supervision of
the WRP holder;

d. may be removed at any time by the supervising
WRP holder or LDWF and in such cases must surrender any
animals to the WRP holder or LDWF,;

e. must have a valid subpermittee permit on the
premises where animals are housed if animals are housed
away from the supervising WRP holder’s facility; and

f.  must not transport or possess RVS species away
from the supervising WRP holder’s facility.

12. WRP holders are subject to non-renewal or
revocation of their WRP if LDWF determines that any of
their listed subpermittees are not properly supervised or fail
to abide by applicable WRP rules.
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13. LDWEF provides no financial or material assistance
to wildlife rehabilitators.

14. Euthanasia of any animal held under a WRP is to be
performed under the guidelines adopted by the American
Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).

15. Animals held under a WRP shall not be released on
private land without written permission of the landowner or
landowner designee. Licensed rehabilitators shall keep on
file for perpetuity, an original document signed by the
landowner, permitting the licensed rehabilitator to release
animals upon their property. This document should include
the name, address and phone number of the landowner, the
physical location of the property, the size of the property (in
acres), and the duration of the permission to release
rehabilitated animals there. This document shall be presented
upon request for review by LDWF personnel. A copy of all
landowner permission documents shall be submitted to
LDWF with the annual WRP report.

16. Animals held under a WRP shall not be released on
public land without first obtaining written permission from
the governmental entity owning or administering the
property.

17. All permitted animals and facilities in which they
are housed shall be maintained within the minimum
standards as provided by the National Wildlife Rehabilitators
Association  (NWRA) and International  Wildlife
Rehabilitation Council (IWRC) publication of Minimum
Standards for Wildlife Rehabilitation.

18. It is strongly recommended that any wildlife
rehabilitator working with rabies vector species receive pre-
exposure rabies immunization.

G. Reporting and Renewal Requirements

1. Al animals held under a WRP must be fully
documented on Wildlife Rehabilitation Report Form
provided by LDWF.

2. A permanent record of each animal admitted by a
permitted rehabilitator must be maintained. This record
should include the name, address, phone number and email
address of the person finding the animal, species, age, sex,
date of admission, treatment performed, method of
euthanasia if performed or date and location of release.
These records must be maintained in perpetuity and must be
available for inspection by LDWF personnel.

3. Wildlife Rehabilitation Report Forms for the permit
period must be submitted to the LDWF no later than 30 days
following the expiration of the permit and the WRP will not
be renewed until these forms are received. Reports will
cover the period from December 1 of the prior license year
to November 30 of the current license year. Any wildlife
rehabilitator who does not submit his/her report by the
thirtieth day after the expiration date of the WRP, or who
submits a false or materially incomplete report intentionally
may be issued a citation for violation of Louisiana Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission rules and regulations. If the
citation does not result in a conviction, plea of guilty, or plea
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of no contest, the wildlife rehabilitator may be considered
for reapplication upon receipt of the late wildlife
rehabilitation form(s).

4. Report forms must be current and shall be available
for inspection at all times by Wildlife Enforcement Agents or
any other authorized representatives of the department.

5. Upon expiration of a WRP and if the WRP has not
been renewed, all animals held under the permit must be
disposed of by transferring to a currently licensed WRP,
released into the wild, or euthanized.

H. Penalties
1. Violations of this Rule constitute a Class 2 offense.

2. Violation of these Rules may result in citation
and/or revocation of the WRP.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
R.S. 56:6 (10), and (15), and R.S. 56:115.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
36:852 (April 2010), amended LR 37:602 (February 2011).

8133.  Film/Entertainment Industry Animal Permit
A. Purpose

1. The purpose of this Section is to establish
regulations for the possession, purchase, and educational
exhibition of Louisiana wildlife to be used in the movie,
film, entertainment, and educational industry. These
regulations provide and establish general rules regarding
permit requirements, fees, animal origin, purchase and use of
animals, holding pen specifications, travel enclosure
requirements, and reporting requirements.

B. Definitions

Bill of Sale—an itemized invoice or receipt on a
legitimate business form from a licensed business showing
the animal purchased, the date of purchase, and the signature
and contact information for the person selling the animal

Bona Fide Resident—any person who has resided in the
state of Louisiana continuously during the 12 months
immediately prior to the date on which he applies for this
permit and who has manifested his intent to remain in this
state by establishing Louisiana as his legal domicile as
demonstrated with all of the following, as applicable.

a. If registered to vote, he is registered to vote in
Louisiana.

b. If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in
possession of a valid Louisiana driver’s license

c. If owning a motor vehicle located within
Louisiana, he is in possession of a Louisiana registration for
that vehicle.

d. If earning an income, he has filed a Louisiana
state income tax return and has complied with state income
tax laws and regulations.
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Department or LDWF—the Louisiana Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries.

Escape Plan—a written plan of actions, individuals, and
equipment to be utilized by the permittee in the event that
any permitted animal escapes from confinement, either at the
permanent holding facility of the permittee, while the animal
is in transport, or when the animal is being utilized in a
public venue or at any type of film/entertainment industry
location.

Film/Entertainment Industry—live or recorded activity
or events of a temporary nature involving scripted and/or
unscripted dialogue and/or action for the purpose of
amusement, marketing, promoting, entertainment, or
education. Includes audio, video, film, streaming, and live
performances on constructed sets, at studios, or on location.
Does not include rodeos, zoos, or circuses.

Game Breeder—a person who possesses a valid game
breeder permit from LDWF.

Humane Care—care of animals including, but not
limited to, the provision of adequate heat, ventilation,
sanitary shelter, and wholesome and adequate food and
water, consistent with the normal requirements and feeding
habits of the animal’s size, species, and breed. Inhumane
care includes any act, omission, or neglect, which causes
unjustifiable physical pain, suffering, or death to any living
animal.

LDWF-Approved Applicant—an individual who has had
no felony convictions, no major wildlife or fisheries
violations during the past 3 years, who has a minimum of 5
years of verifiable film/entertainment industry experience,
and who is at least 21 years old. Verifiable experience
requires a resume detailing at least 5 years of professional,
documented animal training for film/entertainment industry
activities within the previous 10 years.

Louisiana Wildlife—all tetrapod species, excluding
domestic dogs (Canis familiaris) and domestic cats (Felis
catus), with a presently or historically free-ranging,
reproducing population within the state boundary of
Louisiana. For migratory wildlife, timing of reproduction
does not necessarily have to occur within Louisiana to be
considered Louisiana wildlife.

Nongame Quadruped Breeder—a person who possesses
a valid nongame quadruped breeder permit from LDWF.

Permittee—any individual who has obtained a valid
film/entertainment industry permit from LDWF.

Person—unless specifically provided for otherwise, the
term person, for any person required to be licensed pursuant
to this part, shall mean an individual and shall not include
any type of association, corporation, partnership, or other
type of legal entity recognized by law.

Possess—in its different tenses, the act of having in
possession or control, keeping, detaining, restraining,
holding as owner, or as agent, or custodian for another.
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Rabies Vector Species—mammalian species defined by
LDWEF as potential carriers of the rabies virus including, but
not limited to, raccoons, foxes, coyotes, skunks, and bats.

Subpermittee—person authorized to conduct activities
under the supervisory responsibility of an individual who
possesses a current and valid film/entertainment industry
animal permit.

Supervisory Responsibility—to direct actions and accept
responsibility for the actions of a named individual engaged
in film/entertainment industry animal permit activities.

Take—in its different tenses, the attempt or act of
hooking, pursuing, netting, capturing, snaring, trapping,
shooting, hunting, wounding, or killing by any means or
device.

Transport—in its different tenses, the act of shipping,
attempting to ship, receiving or delivering for shipment,
transporting, conveying, carrying, or exporting by air, land,
or water, or by any means whatsoever.

C. Permits

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to keep, hold or
possess in captivity any Louisiana wildlife intended for use
in the film/entertainment industry or otherwise solicit or
engage in providing Louisiana wildlife to the
film/entertainment  industry without first obtaining a
film/entertainment industry animal (FEIA) permit from
LDWEF.

2. A film/entertainment industry animal permit
authorizes the permittee to transport, possess, trade, barter,
or transfer Louisiana wildlife for any permitted, legal
purpose relative to that animal’s film/entertainment industry
use, training, or physical welfare. Except, no rabies vector
species may be traded, bartered, or transferred, either
temporarily or otherwise, to any out of state location or
individual.

3. Possession of an FEIA permit does not exempt the
permit holder from other local, state, or federal permit
requirements, including, but not limited to, obtaining a valid
United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) permit to
possess or provide film/entertainment industry animals
which are currently listed in the Migratory Bird Treaty Act,
Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act, or the Endangered
Species Act.

4. No Louisiana wildlife species may be possessed by
the applicant prior to a FEIA permit being granted by
LDWEF, unless those animals were legally and previously
possessed by the applicant.

D. Permit Requirements

1. Application for a film/entertainment industry
animal permit shall be made on an official application form
provided by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. FEIA
permits will expire on December 31 of each year, and a
renewal request should be received by that date.

2. An applicant for this permit must be a bona fide
Louisiana resident who has a minimum of 5 years of
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verifiable film/entertainment industry experience, and who is
at least 21 years old. Verifiable experience requires a resume
detailing at least 5 years of professional, documented animal
training for film/entertainment industry activities within the
previous 10 years. This verifiable resume must be submitted
as part of the application.

3. An applicant for a FEIA permit must provide
verification of having access to veterinary services provided
by a Louisiana licensed veterinarian by submitting a
statement of veterinary support form provided by LDWF.

4. All facilities where animals will be housed,
maintained, or trained shall be inspected by LDWF prior to
issuance of an initial FEIA permit.

5. Anyone who has been convicted of a class Il or
greater wildlife violation in Louisiana, or the equivalent in
another state within the past five years, or has been
convicted of a felony in Louisiana or another state, shall not
be eligible for a FEIA permit.

6. An applicant must possess a U.S. Department of
Agriculture Animal Welfare Act class C license and submit a
copy of this license as part of the application for an FEIA
permit.

7. The application must contain a proposed animal
inventory list including species and number of animals to be
possessed under the permit. Once a FEIA permit has been
granted by LDWEF, the applicant must submit and maintain a
revised, up to date animal inventory list to LDWF within 48
hours of changes (additions or deletions) to the animal
inventory list, as detailed below.

8. The application must contain a written escape plan
as defined above. The escape plan shall contain a permanent
written log sheet that describes each escape event.

9. The application must contain a signed waiver
statement holding the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
and its employees harmless for liability as a result of issuing
an FEIA permit. FEIA permits will only be issued to those
applicants who are willing to accept full responsibility and
liability for any damages or injuries resulting from their
animals or from any injuries that occur during educational or
entertainment activities relating to the FEIA permit.

E. General Rules

1. This permit is valid only for Louisiana wildlife
species.

2. Potentially dangerous quadrupeds, big exotic cats,
and non-human primates, as listed in R.S. 56:6 and LAC
76.V.1.115 are specifically prohibited from being permitted
under this permit, and cannot be possessed by an FEIA
permittee.

3. Louisiana  wildlife  permitted under these
regulations cannot be taken from the wild by the permittee,
and cannot be released back into the wild. Permitted animals
must have been obtained from a licensed trapper, a licensed
game breeder, or a licensed nongame quadruped breeder.
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The source of each permitted animal must be verifiable via a
bill of sale or sales invoice.

4. Rabies vector species shall be vaccinated by a
licensed veterinarian with a killed rabies vaccine, and proof
of such vaccination shall be retained by the permittee in the
permanent records of that animal. Annual renewal of rabies
vaccinations is required for any permitted rabies vector
species animal.

5. Each permitted animal must have an official health
certificate signed by a Louisiana licensed veterinarian. This
health certificate shall reference a specific microchip
identification tag that has been surgically implanted into the
animal by the licensed veterinarian. Veterinary health
inspections on any and all animals possessed under the
film/entertainment industry animal permit must be
performed at least annually.

6. Per LAC 76:V.1.113.D.6, no person shall transport,
possess, purchase, or sell any live coyotes or foxes taken
outside the state of Louisiana. Therefore, any live coyote or
live fox submitted for permitting under these
film/entertainment industry animal permit regulations must
have been taken from within the state of Louisiana. Proof of
Louisiana origin (bill of sale or sales invoice from a licensed
Louisiana trapper or nongame quadruped breeder) must be
kept on file by the permittee during the life of the animal,
and made available for inspection when requested by an
authorized LDWF representative.

7. Permittee must allow inspections of premises by
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries employees for
purposes of enforcing these regulations. Inspections may be
unannounced and may include, but are not limited to, pens,
stalls, holding facilities, records, and examination of animals
as necessary to determine species identification, sex, health
and/or implanted microchip number.

8. Whenever an animal is present, humane care must
be provided in all FEIA facilities, film/entertainment
industry locations and Venues, public
entertainment/educational venues, permanent and temporary
housing enclosures, and during transport.

9. Animals held under this permit may be utilized in
the film/entertainment industry, displayed for educational
purposes, or otherwise displayed in a public
entertainment/educational venue provided that the specific
animal(s) being displayed is included in the most current
animal inventory list submitted to LDWF by the applicant.
Except, no animal may be used in any type of wrestling,
photography opportunity with a patron, or any activity which
allows physical contact between the animal and the general
public.

10. Permitted animals may be displayed at public
entertainment or educational venues by the permitee or his
or her subpermitees outside of a secure enclosure provided
that these animals are under constant control and immediate
physical constraint of the permitee or subpermitee, such
constraint precluding any chance of escape or physical
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contact, intentional or accidental, with an audience member
or individual other than the permitee or a subpermitee.

11. Holding Pens and Enclosure Requirements

a. FEIA permittees should recognize and provide
for any unique requirements of the species they possess.
Permitted animals must be kept in a sanitary and safe
condition and may not be kept or utilized in a manner that
results in the maltreatment or neglect of the permitted
animal.

b. FEIA permitted facilities and enclosures must
provide adequate quantities of palatable food that is
nutritiously sufficient to ensure normal growth and body
maintenance.

c. FEIA permitted facilities and enclosures must
provide adequate water which is fresh, uncontaminated, and
available at all times. Drinking water must be provided in
clean containers on a daily basis, unless the unique
requirements of the permitted animal requires additional
drinking water be made available. Enclosures must have
adequate surface water drainage, and hard floor surfaces
must be scrubbed and disinfected as needed.

d. Fecal and food waste must be removed from
enclosures daily and disposed of in a manner that prevents
noxious odors and insect infestations.

e. FEIA permitted enclosures must provide
adequate space for movement, postural adjustments, and
resting places. The pen dimensions and specifications
described herein are minimum requirements for permanent
enclosure and exhibit facilities. These are minimum
standards, and the optimum conditions for most animals
would include dimensions several times greater than those
cited:

i. waterfowl (ducks, geese, swans and coots
endemic to or migratory through Louisiana):

(@). ducks and coots—100 square feet with 25
percent in water area for up to four birds; increase pen size
by 25 square feet for each additional bird with one-fourth of
this increase being in water area;

(b). geese—150 square feet per goose;

ii. doves (order columbiformes endemic to
Louisiana except rock dove, i.e., domestic pigeon):

(). single bird—3 feet by 2 feet by 5 feet high;

(b). community group—Iarge enough to fly or
at least 8 feet in diameter;

iii. game birds (ringneck pheasant, chukar, and
bobwhite quail endemic to Louisiana), 20 square feet per
bird,;

iv.  hawks, falcons—refer to federal raptor
facilities specifications and LDWF falconry regulations;

v.  squirrels (gray, fox,

endemic to Louisiana):

and flying squirrels
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(@). single animal—3 feet by 3 feet by 4 feet
high;

(b). additional squirrels—add 6 inches per
animal to total cage length per additional animal; enclosures
must contain tree trunks, limbs, and vines for climbing and a
nest or den box for sleeping;

vi.  rabbits (cottontail and swamp rabbits endemic
to Louisiana):

(a). single animal—6 feet by 3 feet by 3 feet high
with gnawing logs and a sleeping den or nest box;

(b). additional rabbits—add 1 foot per animal to
total cage length;

vii.  muskrat, opossum, mink—3 feet by 3 feet by 2
feet high with a den box for sleeping;

viii.  nutria, raccoon, skunk—4 feet by 4 feet by 2
feet high with a den box for sleeping (raccoon and skunk), a
dirt mound for burrow digging (nutria), aquatic
habitat for nutria and/or tree branches, trunks, limbs, and
vines for climbing (raccoon);

ix. foxes, bobcats, beavers, otters—10 feet by 10
feet x 3 feet high with a den box for sleeping (fox and
bobcat), scratching post and elevated perch (bobcat), and
appropriate aquatic (swimming) habitat for beavers and
otters;

X.  coyotes—12 feet by 12 feet by 3 feet with a
den box for sleeping;

xi.  lizards—minimum cage size shall be based
relative to the length of the body and tail, and shall be at
least 1.5 times that length on the longest side, 1 times on its
shortest side, and 1.2 times in height;

xii.  snakes—minimum cage size shall be based
relative to the length of the body and tail, and shall be % that
length on its longest side, 1/3 that length on its
shortest side and in height;

xiii.  turtles and tortoises—minimum cage or
aquarium size shall be based on straight-line shell length,
and shall be 5 times that length on its longest side, 3 times
on its shortest side, and 2 times in height. Aquaria must
contain a basking platform.

F. Reporting and Renewal Requirements

1. An annual report of activities completed under this
permit shall be required when submitting a request for
permit renewal. This annual report shall be completed on
official forms provided for this purpose by LDWF.

2. Application for renewal must contain copies of any
and all USDA Animal Welfare Act inspections performed
during the previous year. Proof of current USDA class C
license must also accompany renewal application.

3. Certificate of veterinary inspection or other proof of
veterinary health examinations for any and all animals kept
under this permit must be submitted with renewal
application.
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4. Escape plan log sheet covering the previous year’s
activities must accompany renewal application.

5. A report detailing injuries to permitee or
subpermitees involving an animal kept under this permit, or
an injury to any animal kept under this permit during the
previous Yyear must accompany renewal application.
Reportable injuries include those occurring during housing
at primary facility, transport, at temporary housing facilities,
and during film/entertainment industry activities. Report
must contain narrative describing circumstances surrounding
the injury, identification of remedial measures, conclusive
identification of animal(s) involved, and disposition of said
animals. For the permitee or subpermitees, a reportable
injury includes a bite, scratch, or claw wounding, no matter
how minor, or any other type of injury requiring first aid or
more serious medical intervention. For an animal kept under
this permit, a reportable injury is one that causes
unjustifiable physical pain, suffering, or death to any living
animal, including, but not limited to, any wound, bite,
broken bone, damage to organ or tissue, or environment-
related stress that requires first aid, veterinary attention,
euthanasia, or removal from availability for use in
film/entertainment industry activities.

6. At least 24 hours prior to transporting any
permitted animal to a film/entertainment industry venue,
public entertainment/educational venue or job location, the
FEIA permittee shall notify LDWF with details of the job or
appearance. These details shall include date, location, type
of job, duration of job, travel times, specific animals
involved, the permitee or subpermitee involved, and any
overnight housing/caging facilities to be used. Contact
information for the agent or contractor should also be
included.

7. Written notification of any animal escape must be
submitted to LDWF within 48 hours of detection of the
escape event. A copy of the escape log sheet shall be
considered proper and sufficient notification. This
notification must include date, time, location, the species of
animal that escaped, a description of actions taken to recover
the escaped animal, and the outcome of the event. Repeated
escapes (more than three per year) may result in suspension
of the permit until remedial solutions are added to the escape
plan. Failure to notify LDWF within the 48 hour time frame
of any animal escape may result in immediate and/or
permanent loss of this permit.

8. Once an FEIA permit has been granted by LDWF,
the permittee shall submit and maintain an up to date
accurate written inventory list of animals in possession. This
inventory list shall include species, sex, and microchip
number of specific animals that are actually in possession of
the permittee. Individual animals must be identifiable
through microchip implantation. Permitee shall maintain
records of microchip numbers and make such records
available to LDWF upon demand. LDWF must be notified
in writing within 48 hours of any changes (either additions
or deletions) to this animal inventory list. Deletions must be
justified and contain the disposition of the animal. Additions
must contain a bill of sale documenting the source of the
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animal. Alterations to the list of species being kept by a
permitee are subject to approval at the discretion of LDWF,
and may require re-inspection of facilities. Failure to
maintain an accurate, up to date animal inventory list and
submit this list to LDWF in a timely basis may subject the
permittee to loss or suspension of this permit.

9. Any injury (bite, scratch, or claw wounding, no
matter how minor, or any other type of injury requiring first
aid or more serious medical intervention), accidentally or
otherwise incurred by an audience member or any individual
of the general public, that is caused by an animal possessed
by an FEIA permit holder shall be immediately reported in
writing to LDWF within 48 hours of the occurrence. Such
injuries may subject the permittee to loss of the FEIA permit.

10. Any injury (bite, scratch, or claw wounding, no
matter how minor, or any other type of injury requiring first
aid or more serious medical intervention), accidentally or
otherwise incurred by an audience member or any individual
of the general public, that is caused by an unpermitted
animal or an animal that was not specifically listed in the
permittee’s most recent animal inventory list, may result in
immediate and permanent loss of this permit.

11. Any unreported injury (bite, scratch, or claw
wounding, no matter how minor, or any other type of injury
requiring first aid or more serious medical intervention),
accidentally or otherwise incurred by an audience member
or any individual of the general public, that is caused by a
permitted or unpermitted animal may result in immediate
and permanent loss of this permit and possible criminal
prosecution.

G. Penalties for Violation

1. Unless another penalty is provided by law, violation
of these regulations will be a class two violation as defined
in title 56 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. In addition,
upon conviction for violation of these regulations, the FEIA
permit associated with the facility or permittee may be
revoked, and all animals housed within the facility may be
seized by LDWF and forfeited.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:105(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
40:1947 (October 2014).

8135.  Aerial Feral Hog Control Permits
A. Purpose

1. The purpose of this Section is to establish
regulations concerning the use of aircraft to aid in the
control of feral hogs. The regulations provide and establish
general rules regarding permit requirements, reporting
requirements, landowner authorization, and safety training.

B. Definitions

Aerial Hog Control Permit—a permit issued by LDWF
to locate, pursue, take, harass, or kill feral hogs by using an
aircraft.
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Applicant—An individual, partnership, or corporation
who files an application for an aerial hog control permit.

Department or LDWF—the Louisiana Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries.

Gunner—an individual who uses a firearm to shoot or
attempt to shoot feral hogs pursuant to an aerial hog control
permit.

Landowners Authorization—signed consent from the
landowner or the landowner’s agent.

Observer—any person other than the pilot or gunner
who is on board an aircraft while feral hog
control. measures are being taken pursuant to an

aerial hog control permit.

Permittee—any individual who has obtained a valid
aerial hog control permit.

Pilot—an individual who pilots an aircraft to locate,
pursue, take, harass, or kill feral hogs pursuant to an aerial
hog control permit.

Possess—in its different tenses, the act of having in
possession or control, keeping, detaining, restraining,
holding as owner, or as agent, bailee, or custodian for
another.

Qualified Landowner or Landowner’s Authorized
Agent—a person who contracts to be a gunner or observer
and who has not:

a. been convicted of a class Il or greater wildlife
violation in Louisiana, or the equivalent in another state
within the past five years;

b. been convicted of a felony in Louisiana or
another state; or

c. been convicted of a violation of 16 U.S.C.
§83371-3378 (the Lacey Act).

Take—in its different tenses, the attempt or act of
hooking, pursuing, netting, capturing, snaring, trapping,
shooting, hunting, wounding, or killing by any means or
device.

C. Permits

1. An aerial feral hog control (AFHC) permit
authorizes the permittee to utilize a helicopter to locate,
pursue, take, harass, or kill feral hogs.

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a
helicopter to locate, pursue, take, harass, or kill feral hogs
without an AFHC permit.

3. Possession of an AFHC permit does not exempt the
permit holder from other local, state, or federal rules, laws,
or permit requirements.

4. Permits are not transferrable.

D. Permit Requirements
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1. Application for an aerial feral hog control (AFHC)
permit shall be made on an official application form
provided by the department. AFHC permits will be valid for
the calendar year in which issued and will expire on
December 31 of each year.

2. A permit may be issued in the name of an
individual, partnership, or corporation for named pilots to
locate, pursue, take, harass, or kill feral hogs by the use of an
aircraft.

3. Application for a permit shall include:
a. name, address, and phone number of applicant;

b. if applicant is an individual, the birth date,
federal aviation administration (FAA) certificate number,
and driver’s license number of the applicant;

C. name, address, driver’s license number, FAA
license number, and date of birth for each individual pilot;
and

d. make, model, color, and registration number of
each aircraft to be used.

4. Anyone who has been convicted of a class Il or
greater wildlife violation in Louisiana, or the equivalent in
another state within the past five years, has been convicted
of a felony in Louisiana or another state, or been convicted
of a violation of 16 U.S.C. §83371-3378 (the Lacey Act)
shall not be eligible for an AFHC permit.

5. The application must contain a signed waiver
statement holding the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
and its employees harmless for liability as a result of issuing
an AFHC permit. AFHC permits will only be issued to those
applicants who are willing to accept full responsibility and
liability for any damages or injuries that occur during or as a
result of activities related to the AFHC permit.

E. Landowner’s Authorization

1. Prior to participation in permitted activities, a
permit holder must submit to LDWF a landowner’s
authorization form (LOA) for each contiguous and non-
contiguous piece of property on which feral hog control
activities will be performed.

2. A landowner’s authorization form will be made on
an official application form provided by the department and
shall include:

a. the name, mailing address, driver’s license
number, and phone number of the landowner;

b. the name, mailing address, driver’s license
number, and phone number of the authorized landowner’s
agent, if applicable;

c. the name and permit number of the permittee;

d. a description and specific location of the

property, including acreage; and

e. justification for why feral
controlled by use of a helicopter.

hogs should be
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3. A landowner’s authorization for feral hog control
will be valid for the duration of the permit, unless:

a. that permit expires without renewal or is
revoked;

b. the landowner’s authorization specifies a time
limit; or

c. the landowner requests in writing to LDWF and
the permittee that authorization be withdrawn.

4. Asingle LOA form may be submitted by a group of
landowners or by an association on behalf of such
landowners. In the case of a group submission, the
landowner’s authorization form must have an attached list of
participating landowner names, phone numbers, mailing
addresses, physical addresses of the properties, and acreages
for each participating landowner. The justification for
control will be for the entirety of the properties listed on the
form.

5. Property outlined in an LOA must exceed 1000
acres to be eligible for feral hog control activities under an
AFHC permit.

6. If a LOA is approved by LDWF, a unique control
number will be issued to identify the property and LOA in
permit activities.

7. AFHC permit activities may not commence on a
property until a LOA control number has been assigned by
LDWF and received by the permittee.

F. Landowner’s Authorization to Appoint Subagents

1. A permittee may contract with a qualified
landowner or landowner’s authorized agent to act as a
gunner or observer in the location, pursuit, taking, harassing
or killing of feral hogs from a helicopter, provided that the
permittee possesses a valid, properly obtained LOA
describing the activity.

2. A landowner with a valid LOA number can allow
an AFHC permit holder to appoint subagents to act as
gunners or observers during permit activities, provided that
the landowner or the landowner’s authorized agent has
completed a landowner’s authorization to appoint subagents
(LAAS) form. Such forms shall be made on an official
application form provided by the department and shall
include:

a. the name, mailing address, and phone number of
the landowner;

b. the name, mailing address, and phone number of
the authorized landowner’s agent, if applicable;

c. the name and permit number of the permittee;
d. LOA number;

e. physical address of the property referenced by
the LOA number;

f. signatures and dates of agreement to the terms by
the landowner or landowner’s authorized agent and the
permittee; and
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g. time limit for the LAAS, if desired.

3. LAAS forms will be valid for the duration of the
permit, unless:

a. that permit expires without renewal or is

revoked;
b. if the LAAS specifies a time limit; or

c. if a landowner requests in writing to the
permittee that authorization be withdrawn.

4. AFHC permit holders will be responsible for
completion of LAAS forms, and will maintain completed
LAAS forms in perpetuity.

5. LAAS forms will be made available for inspection
upon demand by LDWF personnel.

G. General Rules

1. A holder of an AFHC permit is authorized to
engage in feral hog control by the use of an aircraft only on
land described in the landowner’s authorization (LOA).

2. The AFHC permit shall be carried in the aircraft
when performing feral hog control activities using an
aircraft.

3. The permit is only valid for the taking of feral hogs
from a helicopter. Taking any wildlife or animals other than
feral hogs is strictly prohibited.

4. Apilot of an aircraft used for feral hog control must
maintain a daily flight log and report as detailed below. The
daily flight log must be up-to-date and made available for
inspection upon demand of LDWF employees.

5. A pilot of an aircraft must possess and maintain a
valid pilot’s license as required by the FAA.

6. All pilots and permittees must comply with FAA
regulations for the specific type of aircraft listed in the
permit.

7. The permit holder may only use an aircraft to take
feral hogs that are causing verifiable damage to land,
structures, crops, water, or livestock, domestic animals, or
human life.

8. An AFHC permit holder may only take feral hogs
that are located on property outlined in the LOA. It is
prohibited to fire shots over property not included in the
LOA. It is prohibited to fire upon, haze, harass, or track any
animals, including feral hogs, located on property not listed
in the LOA.

9. Any activities performed under this permit must
occur during daylight hours, from one half hour before
official sunrise to one half hour after official sunset.

10. An AFHC permit is not to be used for sport
hunting.

11. All observers and gunners must successfully
complete a four hour safety training held by the permittee
prior to participating in AFHC permit activities. Safety
training must include aspects of:
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a. aircraft safety procedures;

b. target and non-target animal identification;
c. firearm safety;

d. emergency procedures.

12. Attendance at a safety training course will allow a
gunner or observer to participate in AFHC permit activities
for 90 days after successfully completing the class.

13. Permittee must report violations of these
regulations by pilots, observers, gunners, or ground
personnel during AFHC activities to LDWF within 24 hours
of occurrence of the violation.

14. Any unreported violation of AFHC regulations by a
pilot, gunner, or observer may result in immediate and
permanent loss of this permit and possible criminal
prosecution.

H. Reporting and Renewal Requirements

1. A report of activities completed under this permit
shall be required within 30 days of the end of each calendar
quarter. Additionally, a report of activities completed under
this permit shall be required when submitting a request for
permit renewal or upon termination of the permit. This
report shall be completed on official forms provided for this
purpose by LDWEF, and consist of daily flight log sheets,
showing:

a. name, permit number, and signature of permit
holder;
b. number of feral hogs managed under the permit;

c. landowner’s authorization control number issued
by LDWF;

d. dates of flight;

e. time of day an authorized flight begins and is
completed,;

f.  type of management taken by use of aircraft;

g. name, pilot’s license number, and signature of
pilot;

h. name and address of gunner(s) and observer(s);

i. date that safety training was successfully
completed by observer(s) and gunner(s).

2. Application for renewal of an AFHC permit must
be submitted to LDWF no later than 45 days prior to
expiration of the permit and AFHC permits will not be
renewed until all renewal requirements are received.

3. If no flights were taken during the calendar quarter,
a negative daily flight log and report must be submitted to
LDWEF.

I. Penalties for Violation. Unless another penalty is
provided by law, violation of these regulations will be a class
two violation as defined in title 56 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes. In addition, upon conviction for violation of these
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regulations, the AFHC permit associated with the permittee
may be revoked.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:112(B).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
40:2282 (November 2014).

8137. Rules and Regulations for Chronic Wasting
Disease Control Areas
A. Definitions

Cervid—any animal of the family Cervidae including,
but not limited to, white-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, moose,
caribou “reindeer”, fallow deer, axis deer, sika deer, and red
deer.

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)—Neurodegenerative
disease found in most deer species, including white-tailed
deer, mule deer, elk, red deer, moose, and caribou. It is
infectious, always fatal, and has no treatment. CWD is part
of a group of diseases know as transmissible spongiform
encephalopathies (TSEs) and is similar to BSE (mad cow
disease) in cattle and scrapie in sheep. These diseases cause
irreversible damage to brain tissue, which leads to excessive
salivation, neurological symptoms, emaciation, and death of
the animal.

Control Area—LDWEF designated area consisting of the
CWD infectious zone and buffer zone where mitigation
measures and regulations are applied to curb further spread
of the disease. The control area shall be listed on the LDWF
website.

LDWF—The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries.

B. Baiting, placement of bait, or hunting over bait is
prohibited within a LDWF designated CWD control area. It
is the responsibility of hunters to check their hunting area for
bait prior to each hunt. A baited area is an area on which salt,
grain, or other feed has been placed, exposed, deposited,
distributed, or scattered, if that salt, grain, or other feed
could serve as a lure or attractant for wild quadrupeds or
wild birds via ingestion. The use of approved bait not
normally ingested by deer for feral hog trapping will still be
allowed.

C. The export of any cervid carcass or part of a cervid
carcass originating within a LDWF designated CWD control
area is prohibited, except for: meat that is cut and wrapped;
meat that has been boned out; quarters or other portions of
meat with no part of the spinal column or head attached,
antlers, clean skull plates with antlers, cleaned skulls without
tissue attached, capes, tanned hides, finished taxidermy
mounts, and cleaned cervid teeth.

D. Approved parts transported out of the CWD control
area must be legally possessed. Approved parts must contain
a possession tag with the hunter’s name, address, LDWF
license number, parish of harvest, date of harvest, and sex of
deer. All cervid parts transported out of the control area that
are in violation of the provisions of this ban shall be seized
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and disposed of in accordance with the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission and Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries rules.

E. Prior to the 2022-23 deer hunting season, LDWF is
directed to determine whether there is sufficient capacity to
perform taxidermy services for cervids taken within the
control area and report those findings to the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission. If it is determined that there is
insufficient capacity to provide adequate taxidermy services
for cervids harvested within the control area, LDWF shall
establish a permitting system to be in effect no later than the
opening of the 2022-23 deer hunting season to allow for
uncleaned cervid heads to be transported out of the control
area solely for taxidermy purposes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article 1X, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5,
R.S. 56:6(10), (13) and (15), R.S. 56:20, R.S. 56:112, R.S. 56:116.1
and R.S. 56:171 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
48:2190 (August 2022).

Chapter 3.Wild Birds

8301. Falconry

A. The Louisiana falconry regulations pertain to the use
of native raptors (Accipitriformes—vultures, osprey, Kites,
harriers, accipiters, buteos, and eagles;
Falconiformes—caracaras and falcons; and
Strigiformes—owils) that are protected under the Migratory
Bird Treaty Act, and exotic raptors, for purposes of falconry.
No person may possess wild or captive bred raptors for the
purpose of falconry without a valid permit as provided in
these regulations.

B. Definitions

Aerie—the nest of an eagle or other bird of prey, built
in a high inaccessible place such as a cliff face.

Department—Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries.

Eyass—a young raptor that is still in the nest.

Falcone—a person with a valid Louisiana game
breeder’s license for falconry or a person with a valid
falconry license/permit from another state.

Hack—temporary release of a falconry raptor to the
wild for purposes of conditioning and training.

Hybrid—offspring produced from the cross-breeding of
two or more species of raptors or offspring of cross-bred
raptors.

Imping—using a feather to repair or replace a broken
feather of a raptor.

Imprinted Raptor—a raptor that was hand-raised from
two weeks of age, or younger, until it has fledged; it is
considered an imprint for the duration of its life.
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Molting Weight—the heavier, non-hunting weight of a
raptor, when the weight is not reduced for training and
hunting.

Passage Bird—a raptor that has left the nest and is less
than one year of age.

Permit—Louisiana game breeder’s license for falconry.

Sponsor—a general or master falconer with a valid
Louisiana falconry license who is at least 18 years old and
has at least 2 years of experience at the general falconer
level who agrees to supervise the training of an apprentice
falconer.

Take—to trap or capture a wild raptor, including
removal of a nestling from a nest or aerie.

USFWS—U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Wild Raptor—a species of native raptor that originated
in the wild. No matter how long the bird is held in captivity,
or whether it was transferred to another licensee, it remains a
wild bird. However, for purposes of wild take restrictions,
the department does not consider the raptor to be taken from
the wild by any subsequent licensee to whom it is legally
transferred.

C. Types of Permits, Requirements and Responsibilities
1. Apprentice Permit

a. Apprentice falconers must be at least 16 years of
age.

b. An apprentice falconer under 18 years of age
must have a parent or legal guardian sign the application,
attesting that he or she is legally responsible for the
permittee’s activities.

c. An apprentice falconry applicant must have a
letter from a sponsor, stating that he or she will assist the
apprentice with learning about the husbandry and training of
raptors held for falconry, relevant laws and regulations and
deciding what species of raptor is appropriate for the
apprentice.

d. Apprentice falconry applicants must correctly
answer at least 80 percent of the questions on the falconry
exam to qualify for a license. The applicant’s facilities and
equipment must pass an inspection before obtaining a bird.

e. Apprentice falconers may possess no more than
one raptor for use in falconry, even if the permittee has a
falconry permit issued in another state.

f.  Apprentice falconers may take a wild raptor of
any species except, a bald eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus),
a white-tailed eagle (Haliaeetus albicilla), a Steller's sea-
eagle (Haliaeetus pelagicus), a golden eagle (Aquila
chrysaetos), a swallow-tailed kite (Elanoides forficatus), a
Swainson’s hawk (Buteo swainsoni), a peregrine falcon
(Falco peregrinus), a flammulated owl (Otus flammeolus),
an elf owl (Micrathene whitneyi), a short-eared owl (Asio
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flammeus) or any federally listed endangered or threatened
species.

g. Apprentice falconers may possess any
Accipitriform, Falconiform, or Strigiform raptor species,
including wild, captive-bred, or hybrid individuals, except a
federally listed threatened or endangered species or a bald
eagle, a white-tailed eagle, a Steller's sea-eagle, a golden
eagle, or a swallow-tailed kite.

h. Apprentice falconers do not need to capture their
own wild raptor; a raptor can be transferred to an apprentice
falconer by another falconer.

i. Apprentice falconers may only take raptors less
than one year old, except nestlings may not be taken.

j- Apprentice falconers may not possess a raptor
taken from the wild as a nestling.

k. Apprentice falconers may not possess a raptor
that is imprinted on humans.

I.  Apprentice falconers may take passage birds
from September 1-February 28 only.

2. General Permit

a. General falconers must be at least 16 years of
age.

b. A general permit applicant under 18 years of age
must have a parent or legal guardian sign the application,
attesting that he or she is legally responsible for the
permittee’s activities.

c. General permit applicants must submit a
document from a general falconer or master falconer
(preferably the applicant’s sponsor) stating that the applicant
has practiced falconry at the apprentice level or equivalent
for at least two years, including maintaining, training, flying,
and hunting the raptor(s) for at least four months in each
year. That practice may include capture and release of
falconry raptors.

d. General permit falconry applicants may not
substitute any falconry school or education program to
shorten the period of two years at the apprentice level.

e. General falconers may take and possess any
Accipitriform, Falconiform, or Strigiform raptor except a
bald eagle, a white-tailed eagle, a Steller's sea-eagle, a
golden eagle, a swallow-tailed kite. Except peregrine falcons
may only be taken by general falconers in possession of a
valid peregrine falcon trapping permit.

NOTE: The number of peregrine falcon trapping permits is
very limited. Additional regulations apply to the take and
possession of federally listed threatened and endangered
species.

f. General falconers may wuse captive-bred
individuals and hybrids of the species authorized for
possession.

g. General falconers may possess no more than
three raptors, even if the licensee has falconry permit issued
in another state.
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h. General falconers may remove nestlings from a
nest or aerie, provided at least one nestling is left inside the
nest or aerie.

i. General falconers may take passage birds, except
peregrine falcons, from September 1-February 28 only and
eyasses year-round. General falconers may take an American
kestrel (Falco sparverius) or a great horned owl (Bubo
virginianus) of any age from the wild from September 1-
February 28 only. Peregrine falcons (passage birds only)
may be taken by general falconers in possession of a valid
peregrine falcon trapping permit from September 20-
October 20 only.

3. Master Permit

a. Master permit applicants must have practiced
falconry with his or her raptor(s) at the general falconer level
for at least five years.

b. Master falconers may take and possess any
Accipitriform, Falconiform, or Strigiform raptor except a
bald eagle or a swallow-tailed kite. Except peregrine falcons
may only be taken by master falconers in possession of a
valid peregrine falcon trapping permit.

NOTE: The number of peregrine falcon trapping permits is
very limited. Additional regulations apply to take and
possession of federally listed endangered and threatened
Species.

c. Master falconers may take and possess a golden
eagle, a white-tailed eagle, or a Steller's sea-eagle after
obtaining authorization for eagles and sea-eagles from the
department.

d. Master falconers may possess captive-bred
individuals or hybrids of species authorized for possession.

e. Master falconers may possess ho more than five
wild raptors even if the licensee has a falconry permit issued
in another state.

f. Master falconers may possess any number of
captive-bred raptors, but must train them in the pursuit of
wild game and use them in hunting.

g. Master falconers may remove nestlings from a
nest or aerie provided at least one nestling is left inside the
nest or aerie.

h. Master falconers may take passage birds, except
peregrine falcons, from September 1-February 28 only and
eyasses year-round. Master falconers may take an American
kestrel or a great horned owl of any age from the wild from
September 1-Februay 28 only. Peregrine falcons (passage
birds only) may be taken by master falconers in possession
of a valid peregrine falcon trapping permit from September
20-October 20 only.

4. Nonresident Permit

a. A non-resident falconer who resides in Louisiana
for more than 120 consecutive days but who does not intend
to establish residency must obtain a nonresident falconry
license.
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b. Non-resident falconers shall possess a valid
falconry permit or license from his or her state of residence.
A copy of this permit or license shall be submitted with the
non-resident falconry permit application.

c. Non-resident falconers may not import or possess
more raptors than allowed by their state of residence.

d. Non-resident falconers may not take more than
two raptors in Louisiana during the calendar year.

e. Raptors taken from the wild in Louisiana must be
species the non-resident falconer is authorized to possess in
their state of residence, except peregrine falcons may not be
taken in Louisiana by non-resident falconers.

f.  While in Louisiana, non-resident falconers must
keep their raptors in facilities that have passed the Louisiana
falconry facility inspection.

g. Non-resident falconers may take passage birds,
except peregrine falcons, from September 1-February 28
only.

h. Non-resident falconers at the general or master
level may take eyasses year-round, provided at least one
nestling is left in the nest or aerie.

5. Raptor Propagator Permit. A Louisiana game
breeder’s license for falconry and a USFWS raptor
propagation permit must be obtained to legally propagate
raptors in Louisiana. Properly permitted propagators:

a. shall comply with federal raptor propagation
regulations and reporting requirements;

b. shall obtain written authorization from the
department before taking wild raptors or eggs;

c. shall submit a Louisiana raptor harvest report
form (available on the department website) to the
department within 10 days of taking a raptor or raptor egg in
Louisiana;

d. may take and possess any Accipitriform,
Falconiform or Strigiform raptor except a bald eagle, a
golden eagle, or a swallow-tailed kite. Except peregrine
falcons may only be taken by general or master falconers in
possession of a valid peregrine falcon trapping permit;

NOTE: The number of peregrine falcon trapping permits is
very limited. Additional regulations apply to take and
possession of federally listed endangered and threatened
species.
e. may possess captive-bred individuals or hybrids
of species authorized for possession;

f.  may possess any number of wild or captive-bred
raptors;

g. may remove eggs or nestlings from a nest or
aerie provided at least one egg or nestling is left;

h. may take passage birds, except peregrine falcons,
from September 1-February 28 and eggs and eyasses year-
round. May take an American kestrel or a great horned owl
of any age from the wild from September 1-February 28
only. Peregrine falcons (passage birds only) may be taken
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September 20-October 20 only by general or master
falconers in possession of a valid peregrine falcon trapping
permit;

i. may take no more than two raptors or eggs from
the wild in the calendar year;

j. may possess and propagate federally threatened
or endangered raptor species only if authorized by the
USFWS Regional Migratory Bird Permit Office to do so;

k. may take a raptor listed by the USFWS as
endangered or threatened from the wild for propagation
purposes only if authorized by the department and in
possession of a USFWS endangered species permit
authorizing this activity;

. may use falconry training or conditioning
practices such as, but not limited to, creance (tethered)
flying, lures, balloons, or kites in training or conditioning
captive-bred progeny of raptors legally possessed,;

m. may use captive-bred offspring less than one year
old for falconry as a means of training progeny of raptors
legally possessed.

6. Temporary Permit

a. Non-U.S. residents with experience in falconry
must correctly answer at least 80 percent of the questions on
the Louisiana falconry exam to qualify for a permit. The
department will review the applicant’s documented
experience and issue a falconry permit consistent with that
experience. The falconer’s facilities and equipment must
pass an inspection before the falconer obtains a bird.

b. Temporary permit holders may fly legally
imported falconry raptors provided the raptors are exported
when the falconer leaves the U.S., and that two functioning
radio transmitters are attached when the raptors are flown
free.

c. Temporary permit holders may not take a raptor
from the wild for use in falconry.

7. Taking Falconry Raptors to Another Country to use
in Falconry Activities

a. A Louisiana falconry permittee may export
legally possessed falconry birds to another country to use in
falconry in accordance with the regulations of the
destination country and all state and federal regulations
governing import/export.

8. Updating a Falconry Permit after a Move

a. A falconer who moves to a new state, tribe or
territory with falconry birds must inform the falconry
regulatory authorities in each jurisdiction of the address
change within 30 days.

b. A falconer moving from another state to
Louisiana with the intent to establish residency must obtain a
Louisiana falconry permit with 120 days. The falconer may
bring his or her lawfully possessed birds into the state in the
interim.
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9. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Falconry Permit

a. If a falconer’s permit has lapsed for fewer than
five years, it may be reinstated at the level the falconer held
previously if he or she provides proof of certification at that
level.

b. If a permit has lapsed for five years or longer, it
may be reinstated at the level previously held if the applicant
correctly answers at least 80 percent of the questions on the
falconry test and the applicant’s facilities and equipment
pass an inspection before the permit is reinstated and before
possessing a bird.

10. Permit to practice falconry at an appropriate level
for experienced falconers who are new residents in the
United States.

a. U.S. residents with falconry experience in
another country may be issued a falconry permit
commensurate with documented experience if appropriate
documentation is provided detailing the applicant’s
experience, the applicant correctly answers at least 80
percent of the questions on the Louisiana falconry test, and
the applicant’s facilities and equipment pass an inspection
before a permit is issued.

D. Facilities for Housing Raptors

1. Raptors held under falconry permit shall be kept in
humane and healthful conditions. Housing facilities shall
provide protection from adverse weather, predators and
domestic animals.

2. All raptor housing facilities must pass an inspection
by department personnel or others authorized by the
department before a license will be issued.

3. Each facility must have at least one suitable perch
for each raptor and at least one opening for sunlight.

4. Untethered raptors may be held in the same facility
if they are at molting weight and compatible with each other.

5. Raptor housing facilities must provide enough
room for the raptor to fly if untethered or, if tethered, to fully
extend its wings or bate without damaging its feathers or
contacting other raptors.

6. Facilities must contain a suitable water container,
and fresh, clean water shall be provided unless weather, a
medical condition, or other circumstance requires the
temporary denial of water.

7. Asingle facility that meets the requirements of both
indoor and outdoor facilities is acceptable.

8. An indoor facility must be large enough to allow
easy access for the care and feeding of raptors housed
therein. If raptors are free-lofted, all walls that are not solid
must be protected on the inside. Suitable materials may
include vertical bars spaced narrower than the width of the
body of the smallest raptor housed in the enclosure.
However, heavy-duty netting or other such materials may be
used to cover the walls or roof of the enclosure. Acceptable
indoor facilities include shelf perch enclosures where raptors
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are tethered side by side. Other innovative housing systems
are acceptable if they provide the enclosed raptors with
protection and maintain healthy feathers. If falconry raptors
are housed inside the home, the falconer does not need to
modify windows or other openings of the structure provided
the raptor is kept tethered.

9. An outdoor facility must be totally enclosed, and
may be made of heavy-gauge wire, chain-link fencing,
heavy-duty plastic mesh, slats, pipe, wood, or other suitable
material. It must be covered and have at least a covered
perch to protect a raptor held in it from predators and
weather. The facility must be large enough that the bird
cannot strike the enclosure when flying from the perch.

10. A falconer shall notify the department within five
business days of relocating a raptor housing facility to a new
location.

11. A falconer shall allow department personnel to
inspect the facilities and/or raptors without advance notice.

E. Falconry Facilities on Property not owned by the
Licensee

1. Falconry facilities may be on property owned by
another person. Regardless of location, falconry facilities
must meet the requirements described in this Rule.

2. If the facilities are on property owned by another
person, the licensee must submit a signed and dated
statement from the property owner authorizing department
personnel to inspect the facilities and/or raptors without
advance notice.

F.  Equipment

1. At the time of the facility inspection, each applicant
shall have in possession the following equipment:

a. at least one pair of jesses constructed of pliable,
high-quality leather or suitable synthetic material, or
materials and equipment to make them;

b. at least one flexible, weather-resistant leash and
one strong swivel of acceptable falconry design;

c. at least one weathering-area perch of acceptable
design for each raptor;

d. asuitable bath container;

e. a reliable scale or balance suitable for weighing
the raptors, graduated in increments of not more than 1/5
ounce or 5 grams.

2. When being transported, a falconry raptor must
have a suitable perch and protection from extreme
temperatures, wind and excessive disturbance.

G. Care of Falconry Raptors by another Falconry
Licensee. Any falconer may care for the birds of another
falconer at either falconer’s facilities. The falconer providing
the care must be given a signed and dated statement from the
owner of the birds describing the time period of temporary
care and what activities are authorized. The falconer
providing the care must also be given a copy of the USFWS
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Form 3-186A showing that the absent owner is the possessor
of the raptors. Temporary care may not exceed 120
consecutive calendar days. Under extenuating circumstances
such as illness, military service or family emergency, the
department may authorize indefinite extension of temporary
care.

H. Care of Falconry Raptors by Someone without a
Falconry License

1. A person without a falconry permit may care for a
licensed falconer’s raptors at the licensee’s facilities for up
to 45 consecutive days. The raptors must remain in the
facilities and the caretaker may not fly them for any reason.
Care may be extended indefinitely under extenuating
circumstances such as illness, military service or family
emergency if authorized in writing by the department.

I.  Transfer of Falconry Raptors if a Licensee Dies

1. A surviving spouse, executor, administrator, or
other legal representative of a deceased falconer may
transfer any bird held by the deceased falconer to another
falconer within 90 days of the death of the falconer. After 90
days, disposition is at the discretion of the department.

J. Banding or Tagging Raptors used in Falconry

1. If a falconer takes a northern goshawk (Accipiter
gentilis), Harris's hawk (Parabuteo unicinctus), peregrine
falcon, or gyrfalcon (Falco rusticolus) from the wild or
acquires one from a rehabilitator, the raptor must be banded
with a permanent, non-reusable, numbered USFWS leg band
provided by the department upon request. Falconers may
purchase and implant an ISO (International Organization for
Standardization) compliant (134.2 kHz) microchip in
addition to the band. The falconer must report the band
number when reporting acquisition of the bird. Within 10
days from the day on which the bird is taken from the wild,
it must be reported by entering the required information,
including band number, in the electronic database on the
appropriate USFWS website. A falconer may request an
appropriate band in advance of any effort to capture a raptor.
A raptor captured from the wild may not be banded with a
seamless numbered band.

2. A raptor bred in captivity must be banded with a
seamless metal band. If a seamless band is lost or removed
from a captive bred bird, it must be reported within 10 days
and a request made for a non-reusable USFWS replacement
band. Immediately upon re-banding the bird, the required
information, including the band number, must be entered
into the electronic database on the appropriate USFWS
website.

3. If a band must be removed or is lost from a wild
raptor, the falconer must report this removal or loss to the
department within 5 days and request a non-reusable
replacement band. The falconer must file an electronic report
within 10 days of re-banding at the USFWS website.

4. Birds with documented health or injury problems
caused by bands may be exempted in writing from banding
by the department once documentation is reviewed. If an
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exemption is issued, the falconer must keep the written
exemption it in his/her possession when flying or
transporting the exempted bird. If that bird is a wild northern
goshawk, Harris’s hawk, peregrine falcon, or gyrfalcon, the
band must be replaced with an ISO-compliant (134 kHz)
microchip obtained from the department.

5. Raptor bands shall not be altered, defaced or
counterfeited except that a falconer may remove the rear tab
and smooth the surface without affecting the integrity or
numbering of the band.

K. Additional Regulations on Taking, Transporting and
Possessing of Raptors for Falconry

1. A falconer who resides in another state may take
raptors from the wild in Louisiana if he or she has in
possession a valid falconry permit/license from his or her
state of residence and if the falconer abides by all Louisiana
and federal falconry regulations. If a raptor is taken in
Louisiana, the non-resident falconer must complete a
Louisiana raptor harvest report form (available on the
department web site) and submit it to the department within
10 days of acquiring the raptor. Non-resident falconers may
not take peregrine falcons, bald eagles or swallow-tailed
kites in Louisiana.

2. A falconer shall not intentionally capture a raptor
that he or she is not authorized to possess. Any bird captured
that is not authorized for possession shall be released
immediately at the site of capture.

3. Falconers who capture raptors that are wearing
research bands, research markings or transmitters shall
report all band numbers and other markings to the USGS
Bird Banding Laboratory.

4. Any falconer is authorized to capture a raptor
trapped inside a building. The bird shall be released
immediately into the wild unless it is sick or injured, in
which case it shall be transferred to a licensed rehabilitator
within 24 hours.

5. A falconer may recapture any raptor wearing
falconry equipment and return it to the proper owner. A
captured raptor that is wearing falconry equipment must be
reported to the department within five days. It does not count
against the permittee’s take or possession limit while
temporarily in possession.

6. Take of raptors from the wild shall be reported
electronically within 10 days by entering the required
information into the electronic database via the appropriate
USFWS website.

7. Falconers must abide by state, tribal, territorial, and
federal laws and restrictions regarding take, possession, and
transfer or loss of any wild raptor.

8. No permittee may take more than two raptors from
the wild per calendar year for use in falconry.

9. General and master falconers may take no more
than one bird of a federally threatened species from the wild
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each year. A valid federal endangered species permit must be
obtained prior to taking a threatened bird.

10. If a permittee is present at the capture site for the
taking of a raptor from the wild, even if another person
actually captures the bird, the permittee is considered the
person who removes the bird from the wild and must report
the take by entering the required information into the
electronic database via the appropriate USFWS website,
within 10 days of the capture of the bird. This will count as
one of the two wild raptors the permittee is allowed to take
within the calendar year.

11. Ageneral or master falconer may take a raptor from
the wild for another licensee who is not present during the
taking, report the acquisition, and then transfer it to the other
licensee. The general or master falconer who removed the
raptor from the wild must report the take within 10 days,
even if it was promptly transferred to another permittee. This
will count as one of the two wild raptors that the falconer
who took the bird is allowed during that calendar year.

12. A falconer may acquire a raptor from a licensed
rehabilitator if the falconer is authorized to possess that
species of bird. A raptor acquired from a rehabilitator will
count as a raptor taken from the wild and shall be reported
within five days of acquisition.

13. A raptor injured during capture may be kept and
properly reported as a falconry acquisition within 10 days of
capture and treated by a veterinarian or licensed wildlife
rehabilitator. Alternatively, the raptor may be turned over to
a veterinarian, wildlife rehabilitator or department biologist
if he or she agrees to accept it, in which case it will not count
against the falconer’s take or possession limit. In either case,
the falconer who captured the bird is responsible for the
costs of care and rehabilitation of the bird.

14. Any time a permittee acquires, transfers, re-bands
or microchips a raptor or has a raptor stolen or loses a raptor
to the wild and does not recapture it within 30 days, or a
raptor dies, the change must be properly reported via the
USFWS website within 10 days.

15. Falconers may transfer, sell, purchase or barter
captive bred raptors that are marked with seamless bands to
other licensees who are authorized to possess them.
Falconers may not purchase, sell, trade or barter wild raptors
or captive bred raptors not marked with seamless bands, but
they may transfer them to other permittees.

16. Falconers may transfer wild raptors to other
falconers authorized to possess them.

17. A falconer may transfer a wild raptor to other
permit types after the bird has been used in falconry for two
years (or one year for a sharp-shinned hawk—Accipiter
striatus), a Cooper’s hawk (Accipiter cooperii), a merlin
(Falco columbarius), or an American kestrel. The falconer
must provide a copy of the 3-186-A form documenting the
transfer to the federal migratory bird permit office that
administers the other permit type in addition to filing an
electronic report. Falconers may transfer a wild raptor to
another permit type in less time, provided the bird has been
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injured, is no longer suitable for use in falconry, and the case
is documented in writing by a veterinarian or properly
permitted wildlife rehabilitator. Copies of the 3-186-A and
the letter from the veterinarian or rehabilitator must be
submitted to the federal office that administers that permit
type in addition to filing an electronic report.

18. Falconry raptors may be wused for captive
propagation without transferring them to a federal raptor
propagation permit provided the birds are banded and used
for this purpose fewer than eight months in a year and that
the person propagating the raptors possesses a federal raptor
propagation permit.

19. The theft of a raptor from a permittee must be
reported to the department and to the USFWS regional law
enforcement office within 48 hours of discovery of the theft
of the bird.

20. Falconers must keep copies of all electronic
database submissions documenting take, transfer, loss, re-
banding or microchipping of each falconry raptor for five
years after the bird was transferred, lost or died.

21. Falconers must carry legible copies of their
falconry permits with them whenever conducting falconry
activities away from their falconry facilities. This includes
trapping, transporting, flying, working or hunting with
raptors and traveling through other states, tribal lands, or
territories. Falconers from other states may transport their
raptors through Louisiana without any additional permits as
long as they have legible copies of their falconry
permits/licenses in their possession. Falconers residing in
other states may bring their raptors to Louisiana for
educational purposes without any additional permits as long
as they are in Louisiana less than 120 consecutive days and
have a valid falconry permit/license in their possession.

22. Falconers hunting with raptors in Louisiana must
abide by applicable hunting regulations including possession
of hunting licenses, stamps, and permits.

L. Hybrids. When flown free, including when at hack, a
hybrid raptor must have attached at least two functioning
radio transmitters for use in locating the bird.

M. Use of Eagles in Falconry

1. With authorization for eagles from the department,
master falconers may possess up to a total of three eagles of
the following species: golden eagle, white-tailed eagle, or
Steller's sea-eagle. A golden eagle, white-tailed eagle, or
Stellar’s sea-eagle counts as a bird to be included under the
falconer’s possession limit. Master falconers who wish to
possess native eagles or sea-eagles for use in falconry must
request and receive written authorization for eagles or sea-
eagles prior to obtaining one and must submit the following
documentation:

a. a letter detailing experience in handling large
raptors, including information about the species handled and
the type and duration of the activity;

b. at least two letters of reference from people with
experience handling and/or flying large raptors such as
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eagles, sea-eagles, ferruginous hawks (Buteo regalis),
northern goshawks, or great horned owls. Each must contain
a concise history of the author's experience with large
raptors, which can include, but is not limited to, handling of
raptors held by zoos, rehabilitating large raptors, or scientific
studies involving large raptors. Each letter must also assess
the falconer’s ability to care for eagles or sea-eagles and fly
them in falconry.

2. A master falconer authorized by the department to
possess a golden eagle may capture one under the provisions
in 50 CFR 21.29 and 50 CFR 22 for taking a golden eagle
for falconry.

N. Releasing Raptors into the Wild

1. Wild raptors may be permanently released at any
time.

2. No hybrids or exotics of any kind may be
permanently released in Louisiana.

3. Captive-bred raptors may be permanently released
to the wild only with written authorization from the
department and only after a suitable hacking period in a
suitable location and at an appropriate time of year. The
seamless band must be left on the bird. The release must be
properly reported to the department and to the USFWS
within 10 days of the permanent release.

O. Hacking. General and master falconers may hack
falconry raptors. Hacking is not allowed near a nesting area
of a federally threatened or endangered animal or in any
location where the raptor is likely to harm a federally listed
threatened or endangered animal. Falconers may contact the
department for information on nesting locations of federal
listed species prior to hacking any falconry raptor.

P. Use of Native Raptors in Conservation Education
Programs

1. General and master falconers may use their birds in
conservation education programs presented in public venues.
Apprentice falconers may do so only when supervised by a
general or master falconer.

2. Fees may be charged for such educational programs
but only to the extent necessary to recover costs for
participating.

3. Education programs must relate to the biology,
ecological roles and conservation needs of raptors and other
migratory birds.

Q. Other Educational uses of Native Raptors

1. Falconers may allow their birds to be photographed
or filmed to make movies or other sources of information on
the practice of falconry or on the biology, ecological roles
and conservation needs of raptors and other migratory birds
but may not be paid for doing so.

2. Falconers may not use their birds to make movies,
commercials or engage in other commercial ventures that are
not related to falconry.
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3. Falconers may use their birds to promote or endorse
products or endeavors related to falconry provided the
falconer is not paid or otherwise compensated for such
usage.

R. Assisting in the Rehabilitation of Raptors. General
and master falconers may assist properly licensed migratory
bird rehabilitators in preparing rehabilitated raptors for
permanent release to the wild. While doing so, the falconer
may keep the bird in his or her facility while the bird
remains on the rehabilitator’s permit. The rehabilitator must
provide the falconer with a document that identifies the bird
and states that the falconer is assisting in the bird’s
rehabilitation. All rehabilitation raptors shall be released or
returned to the rehabilitator within 180 days, unless written
authorization is obtained from the department to condition
them for a longer period.

S. Abatement Activities. Master falconers must have a
valid federal abatement permit to use raptors in abatement
activities. General falconers may do so only as a sub-
permittee of the holder of the abatement permit.

T. Additional Falconry Practices

1. Falconry practices, such as, but not limited to, the
use of creance flying, lures, balloons, or kites in training or
conditioning falconry raptors is permissible.

2. Falconry birds may be used to take any bird species
for which a depredation order is in place in accordance with
the conditions of the applicable depredation order. The
falconer must not be paid or otherwise compensated for
doing so.

U. Accidental Take of Prey. If a prey item is killed by a
falconry bird unintentionally, including an animal taken
outside of a regular hunting season, the falconer may allow
the raptor to feed on the kill in the field, but the animal may
not be taken into possession. Accidental take of any
federally listed threatened or endangered species must be
reported to the USFWS Ecological Services field office and
the department.

V. Possession and Disposition of Molted Feathers

1. Falconers may possess flight feathers for each
raptor species in possession or previously held.

2. Falconers may receive flight feathers from other
falconers, wildlife rehabilitators or propagators in the United
States and may give feathers to them or to other permittees
allowed to possess them. Feathers may not be bought, sold
or bartered. When the licensee’s permit expires or is
revoked, all remaining feathers shall be donated to someone
authorized to possess feathers or destroyed. Molted
primaries, secondaries and rectrices from golden eagles must
be collected and either retained or sent to the National Eagle
Repository.

W. Disposition of Carcasses. The carcass of a falconry
bird may be donated to someone authorized to possess it. If
the bird was banded or microchipped prior to its death, the
bird may be kept so the feathers are available for imping.
The carcass may be mounted by a taxidermist for use in
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conservation programs. The band or microchip must remain
in place. Carcasses not kept or donated shall be burned,
buried or otherwise destroyed. Golden eagle carcasses must
be sent to the National Eagle Repository.

X. Penalties. Violation of this rule constitutes a class 2
violation as provided in R.S. 56:115. Additionally, a person
who is convicted of a violation of these rules may be
ineligible for a falconry permit for a period of up to three
years from the date of the conviction.

Y. Falconers are also responsible for conducting their
activities in accordance with federal regulations that apply to
falconry and are found in 50 CFR 21.29.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
4:299 (August 1978), amended LR 39:120 (January 2013).

8305. Hunting Preserve Regulations

A. As provided by R.S. 56:651, the department may
issue a license to operate hunting preserves. Hunting
preserves are to be operated under the following regulations.

1. Application Requirements

a. Application shall be made in writing on forms
provided by the department.

b. Applicant must provide proof of ownership or
verification of exclusive hunting rights from the landowner
of the property the hunting preserve is to be operated. This is
to be returned with the application.

c. All applicants, including applicants for renewal
as required by the department, must provide a written
operational plan detailing the type(s) of birds to be released,
the methods(s) and time of release, and location(s) of
release. A description of hunting activities that occur or are
likely to occur on the preserve and surrounding property
must also be included. In the case of hunting preserves
approved to utilize mallards, a map must be included in the
operational plan which indicates the release site, water areas,
and shooting areas. A license will not be issued until the
operational plan has been approved by the department.
Deviation from the approved operational plan is permitted
only with written consent of the department.

d. The department may revoke/deny any hunting
preserve license for failure to comply with any fish or
wildlife laws, for reasons relating to disease or public health,
for deviation from an approved operational plan, or for
failure to abide by the rules and regulations established for
this hunting preserve program. Revocation/denial shall be
for a minimum of one entire hunting preserve season.

e. New applications must be received prior to
August 1 for operation during the forthcoming hunting
preserve season.

2. Suitability of Area for Use as a Hunting Preserve

a. No license for a hunting preserve shall be issued
until an on-site investigation has been completed by the

Louisiana Administrative Code January 2024

84

department and the department has determined that the
property is suitable for the purpose of the proposed hunting
preserve. The department shall base its determination on
whether or not the proposed shooting area will cause
conflicts with wild migratory game bird hunting, or be in
violation of state and federal regulations concerning the
feeding of migratory waterfowl or the use of live decoys,
that the establishment of the shooting area will be in the
public interest, and that the operation of a hunting preserve
at the location specified in the application will not have a
detrimental effect upon wild migratory or resident game
birds.

b. No license shall be issued for any hunting
preserve situated on a marsh, lake, river or any other place
where there are concentrations of wild waterfowl or if its
operations are likely to result in attracting such
concentrations of wild waterfowl.

c. No hunting preserve using mallards shall be
located within five miles of any wildlife area with significant
waterfowl concentrations owned or leased by the state or
federal government or by non-profit conservation
organizations.

d. Licenses for hunting preserves using mallards
will not be issued in the coastal zone, defined as that area
south of 1-10 from the Texas state line to Baton Rouge, south
of 1-12 from Baton Rouge to Slidell and south of 1-10 from
Slidell to the Mississippi state line.

e.i. No license shall be issued for the use of
pheasants on any hunting preserve situated within areas with
medium to high turkey populations. Except, a conditional
license for the use of pheasants may be issued provided the
applicant/licensee agrees to and adheres to the following.

(@). The pheasant flock must be free of
Heterakis gallinarum, the vector for Histomonas meleagridis
which can cause blackhead disease in wild turkeys.

(b). Department biologists or other authorized
personnel must be granted access to all pheasant pens
without advance notice to collect biological samples for
Heterakis gallinarum testing.

(c). If greater than 10 percent of the samples
indicate the presence of Heterakis gallinarum, pheasant
releases must immediately stop and cannot resume until the
flock is treated and subsequent testing by the department
indicates that no greater than 10 percent of the samples are
positive for Heterakis gallinarum.

(d). Use of drugs to control Heterakis
gallinarum must adhere to drug withdrawal times as
established under federal guidelines.

ii. In areas with low turkey populations and low
potential for expansion, pheasants may be used without
condition. This determination will be made at the local level
by a department biologist in consultation with the wild
turkey program leader.

f. The licensee is responsible for notifying the
department of changes in activities or conditions that may
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affect the suitability of the property for a hunting preserve. If
at any time, the department determines that activities or
conditions on the hunting preserve or surrounding property
make the property unsuitable for a hunting preserve, or that
continued operation of the hunting preserve is not consistent
with these regulations, the department may immediately
revoke the hunting preserve license, or require modification
of the operational plan.

g. Applicants and licensees are advised that hunting
preserve licenses are issued following a review and
recommendations by department staff. Licenses are issued
on an annual basis for a 12-month term only. Changing
conditions, including those such as climatic, biological, and
land use, which may be beyond the control of the
applicant/licensee, may result in certain applications not
being granted, or licenses not being renewed. Annual
renewal of hunting preserve licenses cannot be assured and
applicants/licensees are cautioned to take these factors into
consideration when making any investments or
commitments which may relate to the continued issuance of
a hunting preserve license.

3. Types of Releases Allowed

a. The use of mallards on hunting preserves is
limited to those operations whereby domestic mallards are
released in a controlled fashion to proceed over positioned
shooters in their flight path. No direct releases of any species
of domesticated waterfowl into the wild for any sporting
purposes or for any reasons are permitted within the state.

b. Quail may be released after September 1 on
hunting preserves for the purpose of providing coveys for
hunting. Pheasants and chukars may not be released on
hunting preserves more than one day prior to a scheduled
hunt. No direct releases of domesticated game birds,
including but not limited to quail, pheasants and chukars,
into the wild for purpose of population establishment are
permitted within the state.

c. All quail and mallards must be banded in
accordance with R.S. 56:654(4) prior to release.

4. Inspection of Permitted Areas and Domesticated
Game Birds

a. Applicant must provide proof that the birds to be
released originated from a source flock participating in the
National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) within 365 days
prior to release and have not been in contact with birds from
non-NPIP sources.

b. The premises of game bird production facilities
and/or holding pens may be inspected by the department or
by a designated agent for assessment of health of birds and
sanitation of facilities. General pen requirements must
conform to those adopted by the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission for game breeders.

c. Accurate records of animal husbandry and
mortality must be maintained at production/holding facilities
and will be subject to periodic inspection by the department.
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d. Every person who brings or causes to be brought
into this state live domestically reared game birds for
shooting purposes must comply with Livestock Sanitary
Board regulations on livestock, poultry, and wild animals
(R.S. 7:11705, 11767 and 11789). A copy of the health
certificate must also be forwarded to the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries within 10 days for each shipment of
birds. Any shipment of birds not accompanied by a health
certificate shall be destroyed or returned to the place of
origin by the importer at his sole cost and responsibility.

5. Hunting Licenses Requirements. A basic hunting
license or hunting preserve license is required of all persons
hunting on hunting preserves. In addition, a Louisiana
Waterfowl Hunting License (formerly known as a state duck
stamp) is required as provided by law of all persons taking
or hunting mallards on any hunting preserves.

6. Season Dates. The season during which shooting
will be permitted shall be set by the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission. The current season is fixed for the
period of October 1 through April 30.

7. Shooting Hours. Shooting hours for hunting
preserves shall be set by the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission. The current hours are one-half hour before
sunrise to sunset.

8. Methods of take:

a. shotguns 10 gauge or smaller capable of holding
no more than three shells in the magazine and chamber
combined; nontoxic shot is required for hunting mallards on
hunting preserves approved for use of mallards;

b. muzzle-loading shotguns;
c. falconry;
d. archery equipment.

B. Existing state laws R.S. 56:651-659 and federal law
50 CFR 21:13 address bird banding, bird identification, bird
transportation, reports and records and other issues.
Compliance with these state and federal laws are mandatory.
Hunting and taking of wild migratory and wild resident
game birds on licensed hunting preserves must conform to
all state and federal hunting regulations, including, but not
limited to: non-toxic shot requirements, federal duck stamp
requirements, live decoy prohibition, seasons and bag limits.

C. Changes in Rules. The Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission, Louisiana Department of Agriculture
and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service may from time to
time make changes in these rules and it is the responsibility
of the licensee to apprise himself of any changes and to
abide by them.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:651-659.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
18:1136 (October 1992), amended LR 28:1033 (May 2002), LR
36:2291 (October 2010).
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8309. Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp 1989

Art Competition Rules and Procedures

Editor's Note: In §309.1, contact Larry Reynolds, instead of
Robert Helm.*

A. Background. In 1988, the Louisiana State Legislature
authorized the Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp
Program to generate revenues for conservation and
enhancement of waterfowl, protection and acquisition of
valuable wetland habitats, and other worthy projects that
benefit Louisiana's ducks and geese. Income is derived from
the sale of state duck stamps to hunters aged 16 and over,
who are required to have a stamp for waterfowl hunting in
Louisiana, as well as from the sale of limited edition art
reproductions of the design. Stamps and prints are sold to
collectors nationwide via normal retail sales outlets. The
state will receive royalties from the sale of prints and
revenue from the sale of duck stamps.

B. Purpose. The primary purpose of the Louisiana
Waterfowl Conservation Stamp Program is to produce
revenue for needed waterfowl conservation and
enhancement projects.

C. Objectives

1. Obtain the highest quality work of art that will most
accurately and eminently portray waterfowl species and will
have broad appeal to art collectors.

2. Provide a nationwide opportunity for waterfowl
hunters, viewers, and art collectors to contribute financial
support for waterfowl conservation and enhancement
programs in Louisiana.

D. General Guidelines

1. By tradition, most waterfowl conservation stamp art
is highly realistic in style, exhibiting extensive detail in
anatomy, plumage, and the natural setting. Although artists
are free to submit any composition that they desire, highly
stylized or unusual designs may be viewed as too
incongruous by series collectors or may limit the breadth of
appeal among print buyers.

2. Akey aspect of duck stamp art is the strength of the
composition and dominance of the featured bird(s). Because
the final image will be 6 1/2 inches by 9 inches on the print
and only 1 3/8 inches by 2 inches on the stamp, lighting,
spatial arrangement and colors should provide a clean,
attractive composition at both scales.

E. Specific Requirements

1. The subject of the 1989 Louisiana Waterfowl
Conservation Stamp and Print will be the Blue-Winged Teal.

2. The design must be a full-color, realistic rendering
of Blue-winged Teal. The setting must be identifiable as
Louisiana and appropriate to the natural habitat of the
species.

3. The image must be horizontal, 13 inches by
18 inches and bear no signature or other marks that would
identify the artist.
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4. The design must be original, never have been
published, and not have been entered in competition for any
Federal or State Waterfowl Stamp Program.

5. There is no restriction on media or substrate, but
the department will not be responsible for damage or
deterioration of pastels or other sensitive, unstable materials.

6. Each artist may enter only one design in the 1989
stamp competition. A winning artist may not compete for
two successive years following his selection year.

7. Works must be matted in white to outside
dimensions of 18 1/2 inches by 23 inches and should be
loosely covered with acetate or other protective overleaf, but
must not be framed or covered with glass.

8. A card on the back of each entry must list the
artist's name, mailing address and phone number. A brief
summary of the artist's background and credit should be
enclosed.

9. All entries must be shipped in sturdy reusable
containers bearing a legible return address, at the expense of
the sender. Return shipping will be to the point of origin,
unless requested otherwise, at the department's expense. The
department will be held harmless for loss or damage during
shipment.

10. All entries must be available for inclusion in public
exhibits for one year from the close of competition. Entries
not judged to be in the top selections may be returned
sooner. The department reserves the right to photograph all
entries for purposes of documentation, promotion, and
education. The winning entry will be retained by the
department.

F. Judging Criteria and Selection Procedures. The
winning design will be selected by a panel of five judges
who have expertise in waterfowl biology, artistic methods
and expression. Judges will be selected by the Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Louisiana Art
Council. Judging will be done in three stages as follows:

1. the panel will screen and evaluate all entries and
will select the top 30 entries;

2. the panel will reevaluate these 30 selected entries in
detail to select three designs which will become finalists;
and

3. the finalists will be required to submit a detailed
production and marketing plan (see §313) to be evaluated
along with the design to determine the winning entry. The art
production and marketing plans will be evaluated by the
department using the assistance of independent production
and marketing experts. Preliminary judging will be
completed on or about December 1, 1988. If the Louisiana
Legislature amends Act 632, which created the Louisiana
Waterfowl Conservation Stamp and Print Program, to place
the responsibility for the reproduction, distribution and
marketing of the stamps and prints with the department
instead of the artist, the panel of five judges will select the
winning art design. The artist of the winning design will then
be required to enter into a contract with the publisher
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selected by the department. All art works will be scored on
the following criteria:

a. accuracy of the form, size, proportion, posture,
and colors of the bird(s);

b. level and accuracy of detail in plumage, eyes,
feet, bill, etc.;

c. appropriateness, accuracy, and detail in depiction
of the bird's habitat;

d. attractiveness and creativity of the composition,
regarding spatial balance, lighting, and harmony of subject
and background;

e. visual appeal and suitability for reproduction at
both the print and stamp scales.

G. Eligibility. This art competition is open to all artists
who are 18 years of age or older and domiciled in Louisiana
except employees of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries and members of their immediate families. An artist
is considered to be domiciled in Louisiana if he has resided
within the state for a period of 12 months immediately
preceding submission of his art work, provided that such
person has shown his intent to remain in this state as
demonstrated by compliance with all of the following, as
applicable.

1. If registered to vote, he is registered to vote in
Louisiana.

2. If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in
possession of a Louisiana driver's license.

3. If owning a motor vehicle located within Louisiana,
he is in possession of a Louisiana registration for that
vehicle.

4. If earning an income, he has filed a Louisiana state
income tax return and has complied with state income tax
laws and regulations.

H. Entry Procedures and Deadlines

1. Entries must be prepared and shipped according to
the specific requirements listed above. All entries must be
received by 4:30 p.m. on November 14, 1988 at the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 2000 Quail Drive,
Baton Rouge, LA 70808, Attn.: Louisiana Waterfowl
Conservation Stamp Program.

2. Entries will not be considered complete without a
signed and notarized Artist Agreement (8311) and a $50
entrance fee received by the deadline.

3. Entries may be hand-delivered, sent via U.S. Mail,
or by express parcel service. Senders are advised to obtain
adequate shipping insurance on their entries.

I.  Additional Information. For more information on the
Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp Program and the
art competition, contact the following office:

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
P.O. Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000
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Attn: Robert Helm*
(225) 765-2358

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:105 (February 1989).

§311. 1989 Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp
Artist Agreement

A. | hereby agree to the following terms and conditions
if my original design is selected for the 1989 Louisiana
Waterfowl Conservation Stamp and Art Print.

1. If my original art work is selected as one of the top
designs in the final judging, | agree to submit a complete and
detailed production and marketing plan for the prints and
stamps to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries within
45 days after notification. The department's guidelines for
the production and marketing plan are attached. The top
finalists will then be evaluated again, and an overall winning
entry selected.

2. Upon selection of my original design and
associated production and marketing plan as the winning
entry, the original work of art and any and all reproduction
rights to the design become the property of the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries. The department will use the design
to produce the 1989 Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation
Stamp, limited edition art prints, commemorative
medallions, and any reproductions it deems necessary and
appropriate for purposes of documentation, promotion, and
education.

3. If the Louisiana Legislature amends Act 632, which
created the Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp and
Print Program, to place the responsibility for the
reproduction, distribution and marketing of the stamps and
prints with the department instead of the artist, | agree to
enter into a contract with the publisher selected by the
department within 15 days after notification.

4. | hereby affirm that my original design of my own
creation, has not been copied in whole or part from any
published works of art, has not been previously entered in
any federal or state waterfowl conservation stamp
competition, and has not been published. | understand that
all compensation may be forfeited if these conditions are not
met.

5. | affirm that | am an artist legally domiciled in the
state of Louisiana.

6. | have enclosed a nonrefundable entrance fee of $50
paid by cashier's check, certified check or money order made
payable to: Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

B. | have read and agree to the terms and conditions of
this Artist Agreement.
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Artist's Signature Date
Mailing Address Telephone
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of ,

Notary Public

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:106 (February 1989).

8313.  Guidelines for Production and Marketing
Plan—1989 Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation
Stamp and Art Print Program

A. All prospective contractors are required to carefully
review the following minimum requirements for design,
production, marketing, and project administration for the
1989 Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp and Art Print
Program.

1. Publisher's Responsibilities

a. Design Arrangements. Bidders responding must
agree to produce and market the design selected by the
department for the 1989 stamp and print. Upon selection of
the design, the original art work and all reproduction rights
will become the property of the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries. The contractor shall supply the department with
two print size photos or stamp prints suitable for copyright
application within 60 days after the contract is awarded.
Within 15 days of contract award, the successful bidder is
required to contract with the winning artist for services and
compensation specified below and must file a copy of the
contract with the department:

i. participate in the quality control process of
stamp, art print, and medallion production to ensure accurate
design reproduction, sharpness, and color balance;

ii.  participate in trade shows, promotional tours in
Louisiana, and other appropriate appearances;

iii.  sign the original work of art and the required
number of stamps, and sign and number all limited edition
prints; and

iv.  produce hand-rendered, full-color remarques
on the executive edition prints and any other prints
authorized by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries;

v.  the state reserves the right to intervene in any
disputes between the artist and contractor. All payments and
compensation to the artist for this project are the
responsibility of the contractor and shall be as follows:

(@). $3 per art print for the first 5,000 sold;

(b). $4 per art print number for the second 5,000
sold;

(c). $5 per art print in excess of 10,000;

(d). $40 per color remarque (executive and artist
proof edition);
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(e). $0.25 per signed stamp.

2. Contract. The successful bidder will be required to
enter into a contract with the department for a period not to
exceed three years with an option to renew. Details
established in these guidelines are for the 1989-90
Conservation Stamp and Print Program. However, all bids
should include proposals for the term of the contract.
Specific details concerning advertising, marketing, etc.,
proposed for the second and third year may differ from that
proposed for the first year. Contractors must submit
proposals to the department no later than December 16,
1988.

3. Production of Stamps. A copy of the keyline and a
kromalin proof of the stamp design will be delivered to the
department for review. On or before June 1, 1989, the
contractor will be required to deliver to the department
without charge a minimum of 339,970 stamps, produced,
printed, and packaged according to the following
specifications.

a. Stock should be 70# White English finish (matte)
or an equivalent quality stock specified by the department.
Printing ink should be four-color process on the front side
and PMS 421 (gray) on the back side. Printing should be
high quality—133 line press or better.

b. Stamp size will be 1 3/8-inch by 2 inches.
Perforations will be pinhole with 14 pinholes per inch on all
four sides of the stamps.

c. Printing will be two sides, head to head. Four
full-size final press sheets will be provided to the department
as soon as available. Press sheets will not be gummed,
numbered, or perforated.

d. A minimum of 79,980 stamps will be produced in
2,666 sheets of 30 stamps each. Each sheet is to be serially
numbered from 0001 to 2666 in each corner of the selvage
area to form plate blocks. Each stamp is to be consecutively
numbered from 00001 to 79980 with numbers printed on the
back in black ink. This stamp shall be printed with a price of
$5.

e. A minimum of 39,990 stamps will be produced in
1,333 sheets of 30 stamps each. Each sheet is to be serially
numbered from 2667 to 4000 in each corner of the selvage
area to form plate blocks. Each stamp is to be consecutively
numbered from 79981 to 119971 with numbers printed on
the back in black ink. This stamp shall be printed with a
price of $7.50.

f.  Aminimum of 20,000 stamps will be produced in
manifold sets with address cards for license vendors. Each
manifold set will contain a sheet of five stamps with
perforated address stubs. Each book shall contain two
manifold sets or 10 stamps per book. The size, indicated
price and quality of these stamps must be the same as those
produced in sheets for collectors (Subparagraph e above),
and they must be numbered consecutively with stamps
produced in sheets. Each manifold set will include a cover
sheet.
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g. A minimum of 200,000 stamps will be produced
in manifold sets with address cards for license vendors. Each
manifold set will contain a sheet of five stamps with
perforated address stub. Each book shall contain two
manifold sets or 10 stamps per book. The size and quality of
these stamps must be the same as those produced in sheets
for collectors (Subparagraph d above), and they must be
numbered consecutively with stamps produced in sheets.
Each manifold set will include a cover sheet colored
differently than Subparagraph f.

h. Costs of producing stamp manifold sets, over and
above the costs of printing the stamps, shall be borne by the
state, through a deduction from the contractor's final royalty
payment to the state. The proposal shall include the name of
the subcontract printer and the cost to the department for
these manifold sets.

i. Any overage or misprinted stamps must be
destroyed by shredding. An affidavit by the printer as to
disposition of stamps shall be provided to the department.

j.  Sheets of 30 stamps will be packaged or boxed in
hundreds, slip-sheeted to prevent sticking, with the lowest
sheet number at the top of the package. All packages will be
marked to show the sheet numbers and stamp numbers. All
shipping and insurance charges are the responsibility of the
contractor. Shipping must be by a qualified shipper to ensure
against loss or delays in delivery.

k. The printing process may be monitored by a
representative of the department. Delivery of the printing
plates is to be made by the printer directly to the department
upon completion of press run and acceptance of stamps by
the department.

4. Sale of Stamps

a. Except as provided, it is the intention of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to have exclusive
rights for the sale of all stamps, and no more stamps than are
specified in the negotiated contract shall be printed except
upon written order from the department.

b. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries will
reserve resident and nonresident stamps specifically for the
purpose of accompanying the limited edition prints. The
contractor must state in the proposal the quantity of stamps
desired.

c. Aresident and nonresident stamp will be sold by
the contractor with all art prints and also sold separately to
collectors. Stamps will be purchased from the department by
the contractor for the sum of $5 for a resident stamp and
$7.50 for a nonresident stamp payable in accordance with
the terms of the negotiated contract. The contractor will
dispense both stamps with the print. However, payment for
the stamps will not be required in advance but it will be
allowable to include stamp payments with royalties paid to
the department.

5. Production of Prints

a. The contractor will have exclusive rights to
reproduce the design submitted, as allowed by the contract,
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and to market prints only in the following editions and
priced as indicated.

i.  Regular Edition—numbered, signed by artist.

Maximum Retail Price $135

Minimum Royalty to Department per Print Sold $ 35

ii. Medallion Edition—numbered, signed by
artist, with gold-plated medallion.

Maximum Retail Price $300

Minimum Royalty to Department per Print Sold $ 65

iii.  Executive Edition—numbered, signed by artist,
artist remarque, with gold-plated medallion. Artist shall
include schedule for delivery of remarqued edition.

$450
$ 75

Maximum Retail Price
Minimum Royalty to Department per Print Sold

iv.  Conservation Edition—numbered separately,
signed by artist, labeled as "Conservation Edition." This
edition will be provided at no cost to the department for
promotional purposes.

v.  Artist Proof—edition size, pricing scale and
royalty to the department must be included on the proposal.

b. The department shall receive from the publisher
an irrevocable bond in the amount of $500,000 to insure
royalty payments for the three-year period of the contract.
This bond will be required at the time the contract is
awarded.

c. The edition sizes (Regular, Medallion, and
Executive Editions) may be preset or time limited. On or
about November 1, 1989, after the deadline for receipt of
distributor orders, all unsold prints shall be destroyed and a
letter shall be sent to the department certifying the total
number of prints sold in each print edition. However, at least
200 prints should be retained as replacements in the regular
edition and not less than 50 prints for the medallion issue.
These prints will be returned to the state by mid-1990. The
publisher will be responsible for replacing these prints for a
reasonable time. Upon request the contractor will provide
distributors and dealers a copy of that letter. If the contractor
elects to propose a preset edition, edition size shall be stated
in the proposal. The department will retain all other
reproduction rights. Any other proposed editions or use of
the image on products to be sold to the public must be
specified in the proposal.

d. The overall size of the print must be at least
12 inches by 14 inches with an image size of at least
6 1/2 inches by 9 inches.

e. The contractor will purchase a resident and
nonresident stamp from the department to accompany each
print. The lowest numbered prints will be provided to
Louisiana dealers. The contractor will provide the
department with a registry of purchasers of the 1989 stamps
and prints.
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6. Advertising and Marketing. The success of the
stamp and print program depends on a broad, effective
network of distributors and dealers to maintain and increase
sales. The contractor should provide in his plan the
following—cooperative advertising and dealer incentives,
distributor-dealer marketing plan, pricing and volume
discounts, and marketing aids for dealers (e.g., counter
display cards, ads). Although the department has no desire to
exercise control over distributors or urge divulgence of their
competitive strategies, the department is interested in the
effort the contractor proposes to make to promote the
program as distributors.

a. Advertising. The contractor will be responsible
for conducting an aggressive nationwide advertising and
marketing campaign for the prints and stamps. An
advertising schedule shall be included as part of the
marketing proposal. All costs associated with the campaign
will be the responsibility of the contractor. The contractor
will establish a common release date for the first release of
advertising material by all distributors. The campaign should
include:

i.  Direct Nationwide Magazine Advertising. The
contractor will advertise prints and stamps nationally and
regionally in magazines to include, but not limited to—
Ducks Unlimited, Wildfowl, Southern Outdoors, Fin and
Feather (Full Circulation), Wildlife Art News, Collectors
Mart, Stamp Collector, and Stamp Work. An advertising
schedule, including magazine issue, size of ads, and costs
must be included with the proposal. The schedule will be a
part of the negotiated contract. The ads will be
professionally designed and proof of advertising must be
submitted as part of the contractor's monthly reports to the
department;

ii. Direct Local Newspaper Advertising. The
contractor will advertise locally in Louisiana newspapers.
An advertising schedule, including anticipated size of ads,
name of newspaper and frequency of advertising should be
included with the proposal. The schedule will be a part of the
negotiated contract. Publications will include, but not be
limited to—Times Picayune, The Advocate, Shreveport
Journal, Alexandria Town Talk, Lake Charles Press,
Lafayette Daily Advertiser, Monroe News Star World. These
advertisements will identify dealers and ads will be aimed at
educating collectors and directing them to their local source
of prints.

b. Marketing Plan. The contractor will develop and
describe a detailed marketing plan in the proposal that
includes at least the following elements.

i. List of Proposed Distributors. The proposal
should list all national and Louisiana distributors expected to
market prints and stamps, as well as describe the criteria for
qualification as a distributor.

ii. The Publisher-Distributor Agreement.
Provisions of this agreement should ensure that the
distributors:

(a). make timely payments;
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(b). advertise and provide verification;
(c). provide dealer incentives;

(d). make all payments due the department
payable directly to the contractor. Any nonpayment by
distributors shall not release the contractor from the liability
of royalty payments.

iili.  Price Distribution for Products. The proposal
should include a schedule of retail, wholesale, and
distributor prices for each edition of prints, posters, or other
products to be sold to the public.

iv.  Distributor Discounts and Incentives. The
proposal should describe any volume discounts and
advertising credits to distributors that would escalate
according to the number of prints ordered. In addition, the
proposal should describe a cooperative program with
participating Louisiana dealers that would provide them with
national advertising at no cost. Such a program would
encourage greater dealer participation in marketing the
Louisiana waterfowl conservation stamp and print.

v. Mailing and Press Releases. The contractor
will produce press releases for national media and conduct
periodic mailings to distributors to provide promotional
support, transmit news on the status of sales, and inform
dealers of the purpose of the program, the nature of the
design subject, and artist's background.

vi.  Artist Appearances and Trade Shows. The
proposal should list a schedule of artist appearances, in
Louisiana and elsewhere, as well as any trade shows where
the design and program will be promoted.

vii.  Other Marketing Methods. The proposal
should describe any innovative or expanded marketing
approaches (e.g., telemarketing, catalog sales) that will be
used to promote sales and the program.

c. Marketing Aids. The contractor will produce
marketing aids, available to distributors at cost and, as
specified, to the department at no charge, including:

i. press proofs—full-size color prints (stamped
"Sample Not for Sale™) with facsimile of stamp; 30 for the
department;

ii.  full-color mailers—to be 8 1/2 inches by 11
inches in size with information about the print, department
program, and artist; minimum of 125,000 total, 500 for the
department. Department approval required;

iii. black and white glossy photos—for use in
advertising campaigns and press releases;

iv.  posters:

(@). 1,500 posters, 18 inches by 24 inches,
specifically designed for hunting license vendors, to be
distributed by the department. Department approval
required;

(b). quality art posters of the same size designed
to promote the print and stamp program; 100 to the
department. Posters may be given to distributors and dealers
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free of charge for promotional purposes. The state will
receive a royalty on each poster sold after the first 2,000;

v.  artist information fliers.
7. Administration

a. The contractor is required to submit monthly
progress reports to the department, including a summary of
marketing activity and outlook for sales, reports of any
problems encountered with the program, subcontractors, or
distributors, and documentation such as ad tear sheets, fliers,
and inventory records.

b. The contractor must be able to cover all expenses
up front for advertising, printing, and other financial
obligations and meet the proposed time table for the
negotiated contract. Any anticipated support from the
department must be detailed in the proposal and agreed to in
negotiations.

c. The department expects to receive a royalty on
each print sold on the sale of any art posters and
supplemental products.

d. The contractor will be required to provide the
department with an accounting of all production and
disposition of products.

e. If full payment is not made, the contractor shall
be required to remit the payment to the department together
with penalty at a rate of 18 percent per annum from the date
due through the date of the final payment.

f.  All payments will be remitted to the department
no later than April 1, 1990. A proposed schedule of
payments must be included in the proposal.

B. Project Schedule. The following is a proposed time
schedule for this contract including due dates of

deliverables.
Date

Announcement of Art Contest 09/14/88
Art Work Submitted by 11/14/88
Selection of Winner 11/17/88
Contract Awarded 01/15/89
Delivery of Press Proofs 04/01/89
Delivery of Keyline and Kromalin Proof of Stamp

Design to Department 04/01/89
Beginning of Advertising Campaign 04/01/89
Delivery of Final Stamp Press Sheets 05/01/89
Printing of Art Prints 05/01/89
Delivery of All Stamps and Printing Plates 06/01/89
Delivery of Conservation Edition Prints 08/15/89

Distribution of all Executive Edition Prints *

End of Sale of Art Prints 09/30/89
Begin Distribution of All Regular and Medallion Prints 11/15/89
Return of Original Art Work and Delivery of Printing

Plates 02/01/90
Submission of Audit and Final Report 04/01/90
Final Payments to Department 04/01/90
Submission of Progress Reports monthly

* Negotiable but no later than January 30, 1990

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq.

91

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:106 (February 1989).

8315. Proposal Content and Format

A. Proposals should be complete without being
unnecessarily costly or lengthy. Failure to provide necessary
information could result in rejection of the proposal;
supplemental information will not necessarily be requested.
The format and content should closely reflect the following
outline.

1. Aletter of transmittal containing the complete name
and address of the contractor; name, mailing address, and
telephone number of the contact for the proposal; a
statement of corporate commitment to the project; names of
subcontractors; and a statement confirming that the proposal
will remain valid for at least 90 days.

2. Atitle page showing:

1989 Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp
and Art Print Program

(Contractor's Name)
(Date)
3. Table of Contents

4. Summary. Proposer's understanding of the
Waterfowl Conservation Stamp Program and a statement
explaining why his proposal should be selected.

5. Methodology. A detailed description of the
proposer's approach to accomplishing the tasks described in
the guidelines. At a minimum, the description should
include:

a. stamp production information, including
processes, materials and specifications of the stamp, and
proposed delivery dates of the camera-ready design,
kromalin proofs and completed stamps;

b. print  production information, including
processes, materials and specifications of the print,
packaging and handling methods, and proposed delivery
dates of all editions;

c. description, specifications and production
information on any supplemental products to be sold, such
as pins, posters, Christmas cards, etc.;

d. advertising information, including the proposed
outlets and time schedule for advertising, examples of
advertisements and promotional materials to be used, and
marketing programs to be developed specifically for this
contract;

e. marketing plan, including list of distributors,
distributor agreement, pricing structure, volume and
advertising discounts, mailings and press releases, artist
appearances and trade shows, and special marketing efforts
in Louisiana;

f.  marketing aids available to distributors, including
exhibits of fliers, counter display cards, press proofs, posters
and ads;
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g. proposed project schedule, as in time schedule in
guidelines and dates for deliverables to the department.

6. Personnel and Organization

a. Organizational chart of all persons, joint
contractors, and subcontractors involved in the project,
showing lines of authority and categories of responsibilities.

b. Résumés of the contractor's key personnel,
reflecting their experience in similar projects, duties in
regard to this project, and commitments to other projects
during the performance period of this project.

c. Summaries of subcontractor's capabilities,
experience in similar projects, and their expected
commitment of time and facilities to this project.

d. Summary of the contractor's corporate experience
and performance record, including samples of previous
work, participation and role in other stamp/print programs
(e.g., publisher, distribution, dealer), references, and other
materials relevant to evaluating the contractor's ability to
perform.

e. The department reserves the right to contact and
interview persons or firms involved in production and
marketing of the stamps and prints.

f.  Acurrent corporate financial report, statement on
proposed financing for this program, if applicable, and
proposed source and methods of accounting and independent
audit.

7. Budget

a. Summary of all anticipated costs and a complete
description of expenses considered as administration,
overhead and indirect costs. Any distributor discounts or
incentives should be clearly identified. If the publisher will
also act as a distributor, a separate accounting of anticipated
distributor costs must be submitted.

b. Summary of all income, including gross income
from projected sales, cost recovery from distributors on
promotional aids, and any other income or subsidies.

c. Projected revenues to the artist, the department
and others, describing how revenues are calculated, forms of
payment and critical assumptions.

d. Schedule of payments
affecting the schedule.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
15:109 (February 1989).

8321. Bird Dog Training Areas

A. Purpose. Bird dog training areas (BDTA) are
established to afford users of wildlife management areas
(WMA) and other public land an opportunity to train
pointing dogs and flushing retrievers or spaniels with live
released birds. The BDTA is not intended to serve as a
hunting preserve. The following regulations are adopted to
ensure that users of the BDTA utilize the area as intended,

and circumstances
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and to minimize the potential for negative impacts on
wildlife.

B. Establishment and Posting. BDTAs may be
established on any WMA or other public land with written
consent of the managing agency. Portions of the
WMA/public  land without significant wild quail
populations, and where wildlife will not be negatively
impacted are suitable for establishment of BDTAs. BDTAs
must be marked with signs and/or paint clearly indicating the
boundaries.

C. Permits and Licenses. Each person using the BDTA
for dog training must have a valid self-clearing permit in
his/her possession while engaged in dog training on the
BDTA. Said permit must indicate the number and species of
birds released for training purposes in the comments section.
For purposes of this rule, a person or party will be
considered to be engaged in dog training if they possess or
release live bobwhite quail, mallards or pigeons at any time,
or if they are present on the BDTA with pointing dogs,
spaniels or retrievers during the time quail, woodcock, dove
or waterfowl season is closed on the WMA/public land. All
users of the BDTA must comply with the WMA/public land
self-clearing permit requirements. Any person who takes or
attempts to take released or wild bobwhite quail, mallards or
pigeons on the BDTA must comply with applicable hunting
license and WMA/public land permit requirements.

D. Dogs. Only recognizable breeds of pointing dogs,
spaniels, and retrievers may be trained on the BDTA. All
dogs must wear a collar or tag imprinted with the name and
phone number of the owner or trainer. Trainers shall not
knowingly allow or encourage their dogs to pursue rabbits,
raccoons, or other wildlife.

E. Birds. Only bobwhite quail, mallards or pigeons may
be released for dog training activities on the BDTA.
However, use of pigeons and mallards may be prohibited on
specific BDTAs. Bobwhite quail, mallards and pigeons may
only be released within the boundaries of the BDTA.
Bobwhite quail, mallards and pigeons may be shot in
conjunction with dog training activities. When WMA/public
land hunting seasons are closed, only bobwhite quail,
mallards and pigeons may be taken and possessed. When the
WMA/public land quail, waterfowl or woodcock hunting
season is closed, bobwhite quail, mallards and pigeons may
only be shot within the boundaries of the BDTA. No more
than 6 quail or mallards per day may be released, taken, or
possessed per permittee. Wild quail may be taken on the
BDTA at any time the BDTA is open to dog training and
must be included in the 6-bird limit. There is no limit on the
number of pigeons that may be taken, released, or possessed.
All mallards must be toe-clipped, or fitted with a seamless
band, or otherwise marked in accordance with federal
regulations. Pigeons are not required to be banded. Persons
in possession of live bobwhite quail or mallards must have a
valid game breeders license or bill of sale from a licensed
game breeder.

F. Firearms. When the WMA/public land hunting
seasons are closed, only shotguns with shells containing shot
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not larger than lead size 8 or steel size 6 are permitted on the
BDTA. Mallards may only be taken with steel or other
approved non-toxic shot. Firearms must be encased or
broken down upon entering and leaving the BDTA when the
WMA hunting seasons are closed. Pistols capable of firing
only blanks are also permitted.

G. Seasons. Unless specified, BDTAs are open to dog
training all year. Closure periods may be adopted for some
BDTAs. Such closure periods will be noted in the Louisiana
Hunting Regulations brochure.

H. Hunter Orange Requirements. Persons engaged in dog
training on BDTAs during WMA hunting seasons must
comply with WMA/public land hunter orange requirements.

I.  Wildlife Management Area/Pubic Land Regulations.
Except as provided herein, all rules and hunting seasons
applicable to the WMA/public land on which the BDTA is
located are also applicable to the BDTA. Additional
regulations may be adopted for some BDTAs and will be
listed for each BDTA within the Louisiana Hunting
Regulations brochure.

J.  Violation of Rules. A person who is convicted or
enters a guilty plea for violation of any provision of this rule
shall be guilty of a class 2 violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:109(B), R.S. 56:115, and R.S. 56:141(C).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
31:2268 (September 2005), amended LR 33:1152 (June 2007), LR
40:1534 (August 2014).

8323. Mourning Dove Hunting Zones

A. For the purposes of this Section, the term dove refers
to the following species, and only the following species:
mourning doves, white-winged doves, Eurasian collared-
doves, and ringed-turtle doves.

B. The state shall be divided into North and South
Mourning Dove Hunting Zones by the following boundary:
Beginning at the Texas-Louisiana border on La. Highway
12; thence east along La. Highway 12 to its intersection with
U.S. Highway 190; thence east along U.S. Highway 190 to
its intersection with Interstate 12; thence east along
Interstate 12 to its intersection with Interstate 10; thence east
along Interstate 10 to the Mississippi state line.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:115.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 33:1687
(August 2007).

Chapter 7. Alligators

§701.  Alligator Regulations

A. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby
establish regulations governing the harvest of wild
populations of alligators and alligator eggs, raising and
propagation of farmed alligators, tanning of skins and
regulations governing the selling of hides, alligator parts and
farm raised alligators. The administrative responsibility for
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these alligator programs shall rest with the department
secretary; the assistant secretary, Office of Wildlife; and the
Coastal and Nongame Resources Division.

1. Purpose. These regulations are to govern the taking,
possession, selling, raising and propagation of alligators
statewide, both in the wild and in captivity. They are enacted
to prevent depletion or waste, while enhancing utilization of
this renewable resource. These regulations are based upon
scientific study and population monitoring and are consistent
with federal requirements to qualify alligators and alligator
parts from Louisiana for international export under the
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of
Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). Alligators in Louisiana are
not endangered but their similarity of appearance to
endangered crocodilian species requires controls on
commerce to minimize illegal trafficking of these species
and to regulate and maintain the wild population of
alligators. These regulations provide rules to enhance
alligator farming operations; establish the methods of
alligator harvest; establish minimum facility requirements
for alligator farming; regulate commerce in alligators, eggs
and parts; streamline necessary reporting requirements; and,
establish a regulated nuisance alligator control program.

2. Definitions. The following words and phrases for
purposes of these regulations shall have the meaning
ascribed to them in this Section, unless the context wherein
the particular word or phrase is used clearly indicates a
different meaning.

Alligato—American
mississippiensis).

alligator (Alligator

Alligator Egg Collection Permit—a permit issued by
the department allowing for the collection of alligator eggs
on designated properties described as part of the permit. The
permit will be signed by the secretary or his designee, the
permittee and the landowner/land manager.

Alligator Farm (nongame quadruped)—an enclosed
area, constructed so as to prevent the ingress and egress of
alligators from surrounding public or private lands or waters
and meeting other specifications and requirements set by the
department, where alligators are bred, propagated, or raised
as a commercial enterprise under controlled conditions.
Alligator farm also includes alligator ranching wherein eggs
are collected from the wild, and raised, pursuant to
departmental license or permit.

Alligator Farmer—a properly licensed person who
raises alligators under controlled conditions which prohibit
free movement of the animals onto and off of the farm or
controlled area, or who collects and sells wild alligator eggs,
and who may harvest alligators under the supervision of the
department. An alligator farmer must possess a valid
nongame quadruped breeder's license.

Alligator Hide Tag—an official
numbered tag issued by the department.

CITES serially
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Alligator Hunter—a properly licensed resident or
nonresident person who takes wild alligators. Alligator
hunters are divided into five classes:

i. commercial—anyone who is a bona fide
resident licensed by the department to take wild alligators
after having filed application(s) approved by the department
which authorizes the issuance of alligator hide tags to him;

ii.  helper—anyone who is a bona fide resident
licensed by the department to act as an authorized agent of a
commercial or nonresident landowner alligator hunter(s) in
conducting alligator harvest activities. The helper may hunt
independently of the commercial or nonresident landowner
alligator hunter(s) he is assigned to assist. The helper’s
license must bear the name and license number of the
commercial or nonresident landowner alligator hunter(s)
authorizing the licensing of the helper;

iii. sport—anyone who is licensed by the
department and guided by a commercial, nonresident
landowner or helper alligator hunter(s) during alligator
harvest activities; alligator hide tags cannot be issued to a
sport license holder. Sport license holders may be a bona
fide resident or a nonresident;

iv. nuisance—a bona fide resident licensed
alligator hunter who is contracted or otherwise selected by
the department to remove designated nuisance alligators and
who can be assigned alligator hide tags by the department;

V.  nonresident landowner—anyone who is a
nonresident licensed by the department to take wild
alligators on his own property located within Louisiana, after
having filed an application(s) approved by the department
which authorizes the issuance of alligator hide tags to him.

Alligator Part—any part of the carcass of an alligator,
except the hide and includes the bony dorsum plates, if
detached from the tagged alligator hide.

Alligator Parts Dealer—any properly licensed person
who deals in alligator parts other than hides and who:

i. buys unprocessed alligator parts from an
alligator hunter, another parts dealer, or an alligator farmer
for the purpose of resale; or

ii. manufactures within the state nonedible

alligator parts into a finished product; or

iii.  purchases unprocessed alligator meat or

processes alligator meat for wholesale or retail sale.

Alligator Parts Retaile—any properly licensed
person who purchases for retail sale finished alligator parts
made from parts other than hides.

Alligator Shipping Label—a serially numbered green
label issued by the department required on each shipment of
alligators being transported out of the state.

Alligator Skin or Hide—whole or partial alligator
skins, flanks, chalecos and bellies (including those bellies
attached to or separated from the tail portion of the alligator
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skin). Once the tail portion of the skin is separated from the
flanks, chaleco and belly, the tail is considered an alligator
part.

Alligator Tail—includes the tail portion of the
alligator skin once it is separated from the flanks, chaleco
and belly. For the purposes of this Subsection, the alligator
tail is considered an alligator part.

Bona Fide Resident—

i. any person who has resided in the state of
Louisiana continuously during the twelve months
immediately prior to the date on which he applies for any
license and who has manifested his intent to remain in this
state by establishing Louisiana as his legal domicile, as
demonstrated with all of the following, as applicable:

(a). if registered to vote, he is registered to vote
in Louisiana;

(b). if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in
possession of a Louisiana driver's license;

(c). if owning a motor vehicle located within
Louisiana, he is in possession of a Louisiana registration for
that vehicle;

(d). if earning an income, he has filed a
Louisiana state income tax return and has complied with
state income tax laws and regulations;

ii. as to a corporation or other legal entity, a
resident shall be any which is incorporated or otherwise
organized under and subject to the laws of Louisiana, and as
to which the principal place of business and more than 50
percent of the officers, partners, or employees are domiciled
in Louisiana.

Closed Season—that period of time of a calendar year
not specifically included in the open season.

Commission—the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission.

Common Carrier—any agency or person transporting
passengers or property of any description for hire.

Confiscation—the exercise of a right under the police
power wherein property is seized and held pending court
order if the seized material is nonperishable, or disposed of
without judicial intervention if perishable.

Consumer—estaurants and other places where
alligator, fish, shrimp, or other aquatic life is prepared for
human consumption; or any person using alligator, fish,
shrimp, or other aquatic life for bait or personal
consumption.

Department—the Louisiana Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries.

Designated Collection Agent—anyone who is
permitted by the department to assist an alligator egg
collection permittee during alligator egg collection.



Title 76, Part V

Dressing, Dressed Skins or Dressed Furs—see

tanning.

Finished Alligator Part—any nonedible alligator part
that has been completely processed from parts other than
hides for retail sale.

Fur Buyer—anyone who buys whole nongame
quadrupeds for the purpose of pelting, carcasses of fur
bearing animals, raw furs or skins from fur trappers, alligator
hunters, alligator farmers, fur buyers, or fur dealers and who
sells to another fur buyer or fur dealer within the confines of
the state or to a nonresident fur dealer licensed by the state
of Louisiana in interstate commerce, or who acts as an agent
of another fur buyer or fur dealer in this state in such
purchase or sale. Fur buyers are divided into two classes,
resident and nonresident. Resident fur buyers are those who
are bona fide residents of this state. All others are
nonresident fur buyers.

Fur Dealer—anyone who deals in whole nongame
quadrupeds for the purpose of pelting, carcasses of fur-
bearing animals, raw furs and skins and who:

i. buys from a fur trapper, alligator hunter, or
alligator farmer, either directly or indirectly, and ships or
exports from this state, either directly or indirectly, the raw
furs and skins so bought; or

ii.  buys from a fur buyer or other fur dealer and
exports from this state the raw furs and skins so bought; or

iii. buys from a fur trapper, alligator hunter,
alligator farmer, fur buyer, or other dealer and sells such raw
furs and skins for manufacturing into a finished product in
this state; or

iv.  manufactures such furs and skins into a
finished product in this state, buying directly from a fur
trapper, alligator hunter, alligator farmer, fur buyer, or fur
dealer; or

v.  transports raw furs or skins into this state for
the purpose of sale within the state. Fur dealers are divided
into two classes, resident and nonresident. Resident fur
dealers are those who are bona fide residents of this state.
All others are nonresident fur dealers;

vi. converts raw alligator skins through the
tanning process into finished or partially finished leather
and/or converts raw (green or dried) fur pelts into dressed
furs ready for manufacturing.

Hatchling—a young of the year alligator which is less
than 23 inches in length.

Hide—see pelt.

Hook—any curved or bent device attached to a line or
pole for the purpose of taking alligators.

Hunt—in different tenses, attempting to take.

Incubator—an apparatus designed and used for the
primary purpose of incubating alligator eggs.
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Land Manager—any authorized who

represents the landowner.

person

Landowner—any person who owns land which the
department has designated as alligator habitat.

Licensee—any resident or nonresident lawful holder
of an effective license duly issued under the authority of the
department.

Nongame Quadruped—alligators, beavers, bobcats,
coyotes, gray foxes, minks, muskrats, nutrias, opossums,
otters, raccoons, red foxes, skunks, and other wild
quadrupeds valuable for their furs or skins.

Nongame Quadruped Breeder—a person properly
licensed to engage in the business of raising, exhibiting and
selling nongame quadrupeds on alligator or fur farms.

Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor—a person properly
licensed to engage in the business of raising and/or
exhibiting nongame quadrupeds.

Nonresident—any person who is not a bona fide
resident as that term is defined by R.S. 56:8.

Nuisance Alligator—a specific (particular) alligator
that poses a threat to human life or property.

Open Season—that period of time set by the
Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, during which
wild alligators or their eggs may be lawfully taken.

Out-of-State Shipping Seal—a special locking device
or seal supplied by the department and placed on or across a
shipping container by department personnel prior to shipping
out of state.

Out-Of-State  Shipping Tag—an official, serially
numbered tag, yellow in color, issued by the department
required on each shipment of alligator hides shipped out of
state.

Part—for purposes of this Section, a part is a division
of a Subsection.

Pelt—the skin or hide of a quadruped.

Pelting—removing the skin and/or fur of a quadruped
in such a manner as to render it marketable.

Person—includes any individual person, association,
corporation, partnership, or other legal entity recognized by
law.

Pithing—insertion of a rod into the foramen magnum
of the alligator followed by four to six circular motions of
such rod to destroy the brain.

Pole Hunting—the act of taking an alligator from a
den with a hook pole or snagging device of any type and
includes using such devices to induce an alligator to move
from a den prior to taking.

Possess—in its different tenses, the act of having in
possession or control, keeping, detaining, restraining, or
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holding as owner, or as agent, bailee, or custodian for
another.

Processed Alligator Part—any part (and its resulting
products) that has been removed from a legally taken
alligator and for commercial purposes converted into a
finished alligator part, or meat prepared and packaged for
retail sale.

Propagation—the holding of live alligators for
production of offspring.

Raising—the production of alligators under
controlled environmental conditions or in outside facilities.

Rearing—see raising.
Resident—see bona fide resident.

Secretary—the secretary of the Louisiana Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries.

Skin—see pelt.

Slaughter—Xkilling farm-raised alligators for the
purpose of harvesting commodities such as meat, hides, or
parts.

Take—in its different tenses, the attempt or act of
hooking, pursuing, netting, capturing, snaring, trapping,
shooting, hunting, wounding, or Killing by any means or
device.

Tanning—the conversion of alligator skins or fur pelts
into an intermediate or finished form and includes the
following: crust tanning alligator leather, dyeing alligator
leather, glazing alligator leather, tanning fur pelts, shearing
fur pelts, and dyeing fur pelts, and includes the dressing of
skins and furs.

Transport—in its different tenses, the act of shipping,
attempting to ship, receiving or delivering for shipment,
transporting, conveying, carrying, or exporting by air, land,
or water, or by any means whatsoever.

Wildlife—all species of wild vertebrates.

Wildlife Management Area—any area set aside,
maintained, and supervised by the department for the
purpose of managing and harvesting wild birds, wild
quadrupeds, fish and other aquatic life under controlled
conditions to afford maximum public hunting and fishing
opportunity.

Wildlife Refuge—any area set aside and designated by
the department as a refuge on which wild birds and animals
are protected. Control of certain forms of wildlife may be
conducted by the department.

3. General Rules

a. No person shall take, possess, purchase or sell
alligators, alligator eggs, alligator hides, alligator parts, or
goods manufactured from alligators, except as provided in
these regulations and R.S. title 56.
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b. Each alligator, alligator hide, alligator egg, or
alligator part taken or possessed in violation of these
regulations shall constitute a separate offense.

c. Alligators or hides of alligators harvested in
Louisiana shall be tagged in accordance with provisions as
prescribed in Subparagraph A.6.e of this Section and
deviation from those requirements shall be a violation and
subject hides to confiscation. Violation of this Subparagraph
is a class four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

d. Pole hunting is prohibited. It is legal for a hunter
to retrieve a shot alligator with a hook pole or to retrieve
with a hook pole an alligator taken on a hook and line.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

e. An alligator hunter must possess on his person
one or more current alligator hide tags issued for the
property on which he is hunting; and if participating in a
joint hunting operation at least one licensed hunter needs to
possess current hide tags issued for the property on which
they are hunting among a group of licensed hunters who are
physically present in the same location. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class two violation as described in R.S.
title 56.

f.  No person shall release any alligator from any
taking device for any purpose without first dispatching the
alligator, except as provided in Subparagraph A.5.e. After
the alligator is removed from the taking device the hide tag
shall be properly attached immediately upon possession.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

g. Taking or collection of any wild alligator
illegally is strictly prohibited. Violation of this Subparagraph
is a Class Four violation for each alligator taken as described
in R.S. Title 56. All alligators taken in violation of this
Subparagraph shall be confiscated and in addition to all
other penalties provided herein, all alligator licenses of any
type held by the offender(s) shall be revoked for a period of
three calendar years. If violation(s) of this Subparagraph
involves a farm operation, no alligators shall be raised or
propagated on the offender's facilities for a period of three
calendar years. Any live alligator(s) confiscated pertinent to
any violation of this Subparagraph must be returned to the
wild when appropriate. Selection of the release site and time
of year of the release shall be accomplished only after
consultation with and in agreement with biological staff of
Coastal and Nongame Resources Division.

h. The shipment of alligator eggs out of state is
prohibited except where special scientific permits have been
obtained in advance from the department which specify all
such shipments. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

i. No person, firm, or corporation shall transport
into this state or possess whole alligator(s) with skin on,
alligator parts or alligator skins/hides unless that person,
firm or corporation is a Louisiana licensed alligator parts
dealer or fur dealer and is in immediate possession of an
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alligator parts dealer’s license or fur dealer’s license, except
that a copy of such license shall be sufficient during
transportation only. Persons, firms or corporations violating
this Subparagraph shall be subject to the penalties as
provided in R.S. title 56:34, a class four violation; except
that when such a violation involves alligator parts only, such
offenses shall be subject to the penalties as provided in R.S.
title 56:32, a class two violation.

joItis unlawful to ship alligator eggs into the state
of Louisiana unless they are to be used for department
sponsored scientific studies and these shipments shall have
prior written department approval. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class four violation as described in R.S.
title 56.

k. The shipment of live alligators or alligator eggs
out of the United States is strictly prohibited unless they are
used for department sponsored scientific studies with an
accompanying authorization signed by the secretary. The
transfer of ownership of live alligators out of their natural
range for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.
However, this Subparagraph does not prohibit a licensed
Louisiana alligator farm from raising alligators of Louisiana
origin in a nonrange state provided the nonrange farm is in
complete compliance with all applicable state(s) and federal
regulations. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

I.  An alligator hunter or alligator farmer may give
alligator parts to anyone for personal use. Any part of an
alligator shall have affixed thereto the name, address, date,
hide tag number, and the license number of the person
donating the alligator part(s). This information shall be
legibly written in pen or pencil on any piece of paper or
cardboard or any material which is attached to the part(s) or
to the container enclosing the part or parts. This information
must remain affixed until the part(s) has been stored at the
domicile of the possessor. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

m.i. R.S. 56:280, passed in the Regular Session of the
1992 Louisiana Legislature established a state policy which
protects white or albino alligators and except under
department permit prohibits the taking of white or albino
alligators from the wild.

ii.  Conditions under which any alligator that is
white or albino may be taken from the wild and under
official department permit include:

(@). landowners or licensed alligator farmers or
ranching operators may capture live and unharmed a white
or albino alligator for its own protection. All such instances
of possession shall be reported immediately to the
department;

(b). any white or albino alligator hatchling
produced from wild collected eggs authorized by a
department alligator egg collection permit will remain in the
possession of such licensed operators. Any white or albino
hatchling must be reported immediately upon hatching to the
department on a standard activity report form;
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(c). any person who intentionally takes from the
wild any alligator that is white or albino by hook and line
shall immediately report its presence and location to the
department. Department personnel of the Coastal and
Nongame Resources Division will on a case by case basis
determine the disposition of any such white or albino
alligator which is unintentionally hooked.

iili.  Any white or albino hatchling produced from a
licensed breeding pen will remain in the possession of such
licensed operators but must be reported immediately upon
hatching to the department on a standard activity report.

iv. It shall be a violation if any person
intentionally takes from the wild any alligator that is white
or albino by any means.

v.  Violation of R.S. 56:280 shall subject the
violator to a fine of not less than $10,000 and imprisonment
for not less than 6 months or more than 12 months, or both.

n. Alligator meat and parts may be shipped in
containers that are sealed and the parts identified to the
CITES tag of origin. A fully executed alligator hunter,
farmer, or parts dealer alligator parts sale or transaction form
and shipping manifest shall meet the U.S. Fish and Wildlife
Service parts identification requirements, provided such
form(s) is/are prominently attached to the outside of each
shipping container. Alligator meat/parts shipped to another
state must meet applicable state/federal requirements of the
receiving state. Alligator meat/parts exported from the
United States must meet the requirements of the U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service as well as those of the receiving
country. Alligator skulls being exported shall carry a “tag”
containing the CITES tag number and the hunter’s name and
license number. The skull must also be physically marked
with the number of the original CITES tag used for the hide
of the individual alligator. Violation of this Subparagraph is
a class three violation as described in R.S. title 56.

0. For the purpose of bona fide educational or
promotional functions, including but not limited to school
activities, civic groups, fairs and festivals within the state of
Louisiana, an alligator farmer/rancher or his designee may
transport his own live farm alligators or alligator eggs to
such function without the need for a special permit from the
department while in possession of a valid nongame
quadruped breeder’s or exhibitor’s license or copy thereof.
Such farmer/rancher shall not barter, trade, exchange or
attempt to barter, trade or exchange live alligator(s) or
alligator eggs while transporting to/or attending such
function.

4. Licenses, Permits and Fees

a.i. The licenses and fees required for activities
authorized by these regulations are as prescribed under
provisions of R.S. title 56, or as prescribed in these
regulations, and are:

(a). Resident
(including commercial,
classes)—$25;

License
nuisance

Hunter’s
sport and

Alligator
helper,
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(b). Nonresident Alligator Hunter’s License

(including landowner and sport classes)—$150;

(c). Resident Fur Buyer’s License—$55 (except
for license years 2022 and 2023, in which the fee will be
$40);

(d). Nonresident Fur Buyer’s License—$215
(except for license years 2022 and 2023, in which the fee
will be $157.50);

(e). Resident Fur Dealer’s License—$400
(except for license years 2022 and 2023, in which the fee
will be $275;

(f). Nonresident Fur Dealer’s License—$800
(except for license years 2022 and 2023, in which the fee
will be $550);

(9). Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor’s
License—$20 (except for license years 2022 and 2023, in
which the fee will be $15);

(h). Nongame Quadruped Breeder’s
License—$50 (except for license years 2022 and 2023, in
which the fee will be $37.50);

(). Alligator Parts Dealer License—$105
(except for license years 2022 and 2023, in which the fee
will be $77.50;

(). Alligator Parts Retailer License—$10
(except for license years 2022 and 2023, in which the fee
will be $7.50);

(k). Alligator Hide Tag Fee—$4 for each
alligator hide tag, except for license year 2023, in which the
fee for each alligator hide tag shall be $3;

(I). $4 for each whole alligator leaving the state
as alligator shipping label fee;

(m). $25 for a designated agent collection permit.

ii.  All license types prescribed above except
nongame quadruped exhibitor and breeder and resident and
nonresident alligator hunter expire annually on June 30.
Nongame quadruped exhibitor and breeder and resident and
nonresident alligator hunter licenses expire annually on
December 31.

b. No person may take, attempt to take, or possess a
wild alligator in this state during the open season for taking
wild alligators unless he or she has acquired and possesses
an alligator hunter's license. An alligator hunter must have in
possession a valid alligator hunter license to take or sell
alligators, their skins, or parts. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class three violation as described in R.S.
title 56.

c. No person may engage in the business of buying
alligators for the purpose of skinning or buying and selling
alligator skins unless he has acquired a resident or
nonresident fur buyers license. No resident or nonresident
fur buyer shall ship furs, alligators, or alligator skins out of
state. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three violation
as described in R.S. title 56.
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d. No person may engage in the business of buying
alligators for the purpose of skinning or buying and selling
alligator skins or shipping alligator skins out of state or
tanning alligator skins within the state unless he has acquired
a resident or nonresident fur dealers license. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class three violation.

e. No person may engage in the business of raising
and/or exhibiting alligators unless he or she has acquired and
possesses a valid nongame quadruped exhibitor license.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

f.  No person may engage in the business of raising,
breeding, collecting and selling alligator eggs from the wild,
propagating, exhibiting and selling alligators alive or selling
their parts, and killing and transporting them and selling
their skins and carcasses unless he or she has acquired and
possesses a valid nongame quadruped breeder license and
complies with Paragraphs A.14 and 15 of this Section.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

g. No person shall engage in the business of buying
and selling unprocessed alligator parts unless he has
acquired and possesses a valid alligator parts dealer license.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

h. Each retailer purchasing for retail sale, finished
alligator parts made from parts other than hides, shall secure
from the department an alligator parts retailer license prior to
commencing business. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

i. No person shall remove and possess alligator
eggs from wild nests unless he has acquired and possesses a
valid nongame quadruped breeder license or a valid
designated agent collection permit and also has in his
possession a valid alligator egg collection permit. Egg
collection permits will only be issued to those persons who
demonstrate competency in egg collection and handling,
have necessary equipment accessible and comply with all
department requirements as described in Paragraph A.14 of
this Section. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

j. No person shall ship or transport alligators out of
the state without first applying for and receiving an alligator
shipping label which shall be affixed to each shipment of
alligators and is properly completed and validated by
department personnel. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
class three violation as described in R.S. title 56.

k. Every alligator hunter or alligator farmer
shipping or transporting his own catch of alligator skins out
of state is liable for the alligator hide tag fee, and shall apply
for an official out of state shipping tag to be attached to the
shipment and shall pay the alligator hide tag fee. Violation of
this Subparagraph is a class two violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

I.  Valid holders of alligator hunter license,
nongame quadruped breeder license, fur dealers license and
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alligator parts dealer license must comply with the receiving
state/country requirements and with federal licensing,
tagging and permit requirements to engage in interstate and
international commerce involving alligators, alligator hides,
alligator parts and fully manufactured alligator hide
products. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

5.  Wild Harvest Methods

a. Alligators taken from the wild may be removed
from hook and line, and other legal capture devices which
may be used, only during daylight hours, between official
sunrise and official sunset. Violation of this Subparagraph is
a class four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

b. There are no size restrictions on wild alligators
taken during the general open season.

c.i. Legal methods for taking alligators in the wild
are as follows:

(). hook and line;

(b). long (including compound) bow and barbed
arrow; and

(c). firearms (the possession of shotguns is
prohibited while hunting or taking wild alligators; except as
authorized by the department for taking of nuisance
alligators by nuisance alligator hunters).

ii.  Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

d. Hooks and arrows may be used only when a line
of at least 300-pound test is securely attached to the hook or
head of the arrow in such a manner to prevent separation
from the hook or head until the carcass is retrieved. The
other end of the line must be attached to a stationary or
floating object capable of maintaining the line above water
when an alligator is attached. Violation of this Subparagraph
is a class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

e. Alligator hunters shall inspect their hooks and
lines and remove captured alligators daily. All hooks and
lines shall be removed when an alligator hunter's quota is
reached. In the event an alligator is hooked and the hunter's
quota has been reached the hunter must release the alligator
in the most humane method possible. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class two violation as described in R.S.
title 56.

f. Baited hooks and lines may be set no more than
24 hours prior to the general open season and shall be
removed no later than sunset of the last day of the open
season. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

g. No person possessing alligator hide tags issued
for privately-owned land or water may take alligators on
adjacent publicly-owned water unless the taking device is
anchored to privately-owned land or the person is on
privately-owned land when the taking occurs, provided that
any alligator captured on a legal taking device that is
anchored to privately-owned land or held by a person on
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privately-owned land may be dispatched from a floating
craft on public water. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

h. A person possessing alligator hide tags for
publicly-owned areas may take alligators by legal means
from a floating craft on public water for which the tags are
issued.

6. Alligator Hide Tag Procurement and Tagging
Requirements

a. Alligator hide tags may be obtained as follows
and only to properly licensed alligator hunters and nongame
quadruped breeders.

b. Landowners, Land Managers and Hunters. Upon
application to the department on forms provided for tag
issuance, applications for alligator tag allotments will be
taken annually beginning June 1. For alligator hunters
submitting applications with new/additional properties,
applications are due by August 20; for alligator hunters
submitting an application for property previously hunted,
applications are due by the day before the season opens.

i. Maximum tag issuance to individual
landowners, land managers, or their hunters shall be
determined solely by the department. Landowners, land
managers, or their hunters shall certify total acreage owned
or represented on a form prescribed by the department at the
time of application. The location and acreage of the property
must be provided which includes parish, township, range
and section delineation figures.

ii. Land managers and hunters must present a
signed document from the landowner verifying their
selection to represent that landowner and the total acreage
represented to obtain hide tags.

iii.  Alligator hide tags shall be issued to licensed
alligator hunters without charge. Numbered alligator hide
tags shall only be issued in the name of the license holder
and are nontransferable. All unused alligator tags shall be
returned within 15 days following the close of the season.

c. Alligator Farmers. Alligator hide tags shall be
issued to properly licensed alligator farmers without charge
upon request at any time at least two weeks prior to
scheduled harvesting, subject to verification of available
stock by department personnel. All unused alligator tags
shall be returned to the department within 15 days following
the last day of the year that issued tags are valid.

d. If an alligator hunter is cited for hunting
alligators out of season, or at night, or on property other than
that for which hide tags were issued, all unused hide tags
and alligators in possession shall be confiscated and the
violator's alligator hunting license shall be revoked.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

e. A hide tag shall be properly attached and locked
using the tag's locking device in the alligator's tail
immediately upon possession by an alligator hunter.
Alligator farmers, fur buyers and fur dealers may wait until
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farm raised alligators are skinned prior to tagging, but under
no circumstances can the tag be attached using the locking
device more than 48 hours after dispatching the alligator
during the open wild alligator harvest season, or more than
seven days after dispatching the alligator outside of the open
wild alligator harvest season. Live or dead farm raised
alligators may be transported with their accompanying tags
from a licensed alligator farm to a licensed processing
facility, however each shipment shall be accompanied with
the exact number of alligator hide tags. In the event that an
alligator tag contains a factory defect rendering it unusable
for the purpose intended or becomes detached from an
alligator or hide, the tag must be reattached to the tail of the
alligator/hide. The department will be responsible for the
replacement of reattached tags prior to shipping out-of-state
or prior to tanning within the state. It shall be unlawful to tag
or attempt to tag an alligator with a tag that has been locked
prior to the taking. Locked tags may be replaced upon
request at the discretion of the department. The alteration of
hide tags is strictly prohibited and will result in the
confiscation of all tags and alligators/hides and the
revocation of the violator's alligator hunting license.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

f. In the event that an alligator hide tag cannot be
located when in the possession of a buyer/dealer, then the
following procedure shall be followed.

i.  Following discovery of an untagged alligator
or alligator hide by the buyer/dealer, they shall notify the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Coastal and Nongame
Resources Division within 24 hours and the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries will place a state tagging device on
the alligator or alligator hide.

ii.  Upon discovery of an untagged alligator or
alligator hide by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
personnel, such personnel shall place a state tagging device
on the alligator or alligator hide.

iii.  The state tagged alligator or alligator hide will
remain in the possession of the buyer/dealer following the
placement of the state tagging device until such time as the
hide tag is located or until December 31 of that year,
whichever comes first. Upon presentation of the missing
hide tag and the corresponding buyer/dealer record which
documents a match between the tag number and the
alligator/hide being held, and if the Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries then confirms that such tag number has not
been previously shipped, the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries shall attach a replacement alligator hide tag.

iv. If the buyer/dealer does not locate the missing
hide tag following the placement of the State tagging device
by the end of the allotted time period but is able to identify
the tag number on a Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
issued or approved buyer/dealer record which documents a
match between the tag number and the skin being held, and
if the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries then confirms
that subject tag number has not been previously shipped, the
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Department of Wildlife and Fisheries may, in its discretion,
issue a replacement alligator hide tag.

v.  The failure of the buyer/dealer to produce the
correct hide tag and/or correct documentation by the end of
the allotted time period shall constitute a violation of this
Subparagraph.

vi.  The previous or subsequent attachment to an
alligator or alligator hide of the missing hide tag as
described above shall constitute a violation of this
Subparagraph.

vii.  Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

7. Open Season, Open Areas, and Quotas
a. Open seasons are as follows.

i.  The state shall be divided into the east and west
alligator hunting zones by the following boundary:
Beginning at the southwestern most part of Point Au Fer
Island thence north along the western boundary of
Terrebonne Parish to the Atchafalaya River, thence north
along the Atchafalaya River to the East Atchafalaya
Protection Levee, thence north along the East Atchafalaya
Protection Levee, to Interstate 10, thence east along
Interstate 10 to Interstate 12, thence east along Interstate 12
to Interstate 55, thence north along Interstate 55 to the
Mississippi state line. The season for taking alligators in the
wild shall open on the last Wednesday of August in the East
Zone and the first Wednesday of September in the West
Zone and will remain open for 60 days thereafter in each
zone. The secretary shall be authorized to close, extend,
delay, or reopen the season as biologically justifiable.

ii.  Nuisance control hunters may take nuisance
alligators at any time as prescribed by the department. An
individual landowner may be issued landowner nuisance
tags for minimal acreage of isolated parcels of non-
contiguous wetlands and harvest alligators at any time
prescribed by the department.

iii.  Farm raised alligators may be taken at any time
following the issuance of hide tags by the department.

iv.  The open season for collection of alligator eggs
from the wild shall be from May 15-September 1 of each
calendar year. Violation of this Clause is a class four
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

b. The open areas are as follows.

i. For the general open season, those areas
designated by the biological staff of the department as
alligator habitat and which can sustain an alligator harvest.

ii. The department may select public lakes and
lands for an experimental alligator hunting program. The
harvest will be controlled by a tag allotment for each lake as
determined by department personnel. Applicants for public
lake hunting must be 16 years of age or older. Applications
must be received by the date specified on the annual
application form. A public drawing will be held to select
hunters. An alligator hunter can receive tags for and hunt on
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only one public lake per season. The tag quota for each lake
and hunter will be established by the biological staff of the
department. Alligator tags issued on public lakes and lands
are nontransferable.

iii.  Wild alligators in the remainder of the state
may be taken only under provisions as prescribed by the
department.

iv.  The open alligator egg collection season shall
include those areas designated by the biological staff of the
department as alligator habitat which can sustain an egg
collection harvest and egg quotas will be determined by
department biologists.

c. The daily and season quota is equal to the
number of valid alligator hide tags that a licensed alligator
hunter possesses. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

d. Harvest rates will be calculated annually by
department personnel based on biological data. Alligator
hide tag allotments will be established prior to issuance of
alligator hunting licenses.

8. Possession

a. No person shall possess alligators or alligator
hides in Louisiana without valid official tags properly
attached in the tail using the locking device as prescribed in
Subsection A.6.e. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

b. Alligator farmers may request hide tags or
shipping labels from the department to be used on farm-
raised alligators that have died and may hold those alligators
in freezers until receipt of the requested hide tags or
shipping labels. These alligators may be held in freezers for
a maximum of 60 days prior to disposal. All farm raised
alligators 24 inches and greater in length that die may be
skinned and tagged with an alligator hide tag within 48
hours of death during the open wild alligator harvest season,
or within 7 days of death outside of the open wild alligator
harvest season. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
three violation as described in R.S. title 56.

c. No person other than a licensed alligator hunter,
licensed alligator farmer, licensed fur buyer or licensed fur
dealer may possess a tagged or labeled alligator, a tagged
raw or salted hide of an alligator at any time, provided that
legally documented tagged or labeled alligators or tagged
hides may be possessed without license while in transit, or
during processing for tanning or taxidermy. However,
properly tagged and documented alligators or hides may be
stored at any location at the owner's discretion. Violation of
this Subparagraph is a class four violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

d. No person other than a licensed alligator farmer
or licensed nongame quadruped exhibitor shall possess live
alligators at any time other than by a permit issued by the
department upon request for use in displays and educational
purposes, and by holders of valid department issued permits
for scientific purposes. Live, farm raised alligators and their

101

accompanying alligator hide tags may be held for processing
by a properly licensed alligator skinning facility without a
license or permit. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

e. No person other than a licensed alligator farmer
or licensed nongame quadruped exhibitor shall possess
alligator eggs at any time other than department permitted
designated collection agents assisting a licensed and
permitted alligator farmer during wild egg collection, or a
holder of a valid department issued permit for scientific
purposes. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

f. Any alligators hatched from scientific permits
issued by the department shall be returned to the wild under
departmental supervision following completion of the
research project. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

9. Importation, Exportation, Purchase, and Sale

a. Live alligators may be brought into the state only
if the person, firm or corporation bringing the alligators into
the state has obtained written permission from the
department. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

b.i. All alligators, alligator hides (raw or salted), or
parts of alligators possessed, sold, purchased, exported,
imported, or brought into the state from another state shall
be accompanied by documented evidence that they were
lawfully taken. Documented evidence shall consist of, but
not be limited to:

(a). a resource user license or permit number
allowing the taking of alligators and tags or other
identification required by the state or country of origin shall
be firmly attached to the alligator, alligator hide, or parts of
alligators; and

(b). a tag or label is affixed to the outside of any
package or container of alligators, alligator hides, or
alligator parts that specifies type of contents, indicates
quantity contained, and lists applicable license or permit
numbers.

ii.  Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

c. Purchases of alligators, alligator hides, alligator
eggs, and alligator parts are restricted as follows.

i. A licensed alligator hunter may not purchase
alligators or alligator hides from anyone.

ii. A licensed fur buyer may purchase whole
alligators or alligator hides from a Louisiana licensed
alligator hunter, licensed alligator farmer, licensed fur dealer,
or another fur buyer.

iili. A licensed fur dealer may purchase whole
alligators or alligator hides from a licensed alligator hunter,
licensed alligator farmer, fur buyer or another fur dealer.
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iv. A licensed alligator farmer may purchase live
alligators only from another licensed alligator farmer (with a
department-approved alligator transfer authorization permit)
or the department.

v. An alligator farmer may purchase alligator
eggs only from another alligator farmer, a landowner/land
manager (with an approved department alligator egg
collection permit), or the department.

vi. A licensed alligator parts dealer may purchase
alligator parts from a licensed alligator hunter, alligator
farmer, another alligator parts dealer, or the department.

vii.  Alicensed alligator parts retailer may purchase
finished alligator parts for retail sales.

d. Sales of alligators, alligator eggs, and alligator
parts are restricted as follows.

i.  Alicensed alligator hunter may sell alligators,
alligator hides, or alligator parts taken by the licensee during
the general open season to anyone who may legally
purchase.

ii.  Alicensed alligator farmer may sell alligators,
alligator eggs, alligator hides, or alligator parts to anyone
who may legally purchase. The sale of alligator eggs or live
alligators shall only occur following the issuance of a
transfer authorization permit. Application for the permit
shall be made at least two weeks prior to the transfer.

iii.  Alicensed fur buyer may sell whole alligators
or alligator hides to a fur dealer or another fur buyer within
the confines of the state.

iv.  Alicensed fur dealer may sell whole alligators
or alligator hides to anyone who may legally purchase.

V. A licensed alligator parts dealer may sell
alligator parts, other than hides, to anyone.

vi. A licensed alligator parts retailer may sell
finished alligator parts to anyone.

e. Legally tagged and documented alligators,
alligator hides, and parts of alligators taken in Louisiana
may be shipped out of state or exported by alligator hunters,
alligator farmers, fur dealers and alligator parts dealers
subject to Paragraph A.11 of this Section (relating to report
requirements) provided that no live alligators or eggs
originating in Louisiana may be exported outside of their
natural range without specific department authorization and
the concurrence of the United States Fish and Wildlife
Service, to be used only for scientific purposes. Violation of
this Subparagraph is a class three violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

f. A special permit is required of anyone who sells
alligator eggs, or live alligators. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class four violation as described in R.S.
title 56.

10. Nuisance Alligator Control
a. Nuisance alligator hunters will be selected by the
department with proper screening by enforcement personnel

Louisiana Administrative Code January 2024

102

in the region of appointment. Selection may be based upon
recommendations received from the local governing body.
Applicants with prior alligator hunting violations will be
rejected.

b. Nuisance alligator hunters shall purchase a valid
alligator hunter license and are bound by all laws, rules and
regulations governing alligator hunting with the exception
that nuisance alligators may be taken at anytime.

c. Nuisance alligator complaints will be verified by
department personnel prior to being approved for removal.

d. Tags will be issued without charge to nuisance
alligator hunters. Nuisance alligator hunters will attempt to
catch nuisance alligators and relocate to natural habitat
selected by the department. It is unlawful for any nuisance
alligator captured alive to be sold or otherwise disposed of
on an alligator farm. Alligators and alligator parts taken
under these provisions may be retained and sold by the
nuisance alligator hunter as any other legally taken wild
alligator or alligator part. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
class four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

e. Nuisance alligator hunters may take alligators by
any means prescribed by the department. Failure to comply
with departmental instructions may result in immediate
termination of the individual's participation in the nuisance
alligator program. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

11. Report Requirements

a. Report forms provided by or approved by the
department must be completed and filed with the department
by all persons who have been issued an alligator hunter's
license, fur buyer's license, fur dealer's license, nongame
quadruped exhibitor's license, hongame quadruped breeder's
license, alligator parts dealer's license, or alligator egg
collection permit in accordance with this Paragraph. Reports
shall include but not be limited to the information specified
in this Paragraph.

b.i. Alligator hunters receiving hide tags from the
department are responsible for disposition of all issued tags
and must:

(@). complete an official alligator parts
transaction form furnished by or approved by the department
for each alligator part transaction. These forms shall be
submitted to the department at the end of the calendar year;

(b). complete an official lost tag form, furnished
by the department for any hide tags lost or stolen. These
forms shall be submitted to the department within 15 days
following the close of the season. Lost or stolen tags will not
be replaced;

ii. All unused tags must be returned to the
department within 15 days following the close of the season;

iili.  Each licensed alligator hunter disposing of one
or more tagged alligators or alligator skins deemed to be of
no value, must:
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(a). remove the CITES alligator tag(s) from each
alligator/alligator skin at the time of disposal;

(b). return to the department all CITES alligator
tags removed from disposed of alligators/alligator skins
within 15 days following the close of the season;

(c). provide the department total lengths by
corresponding CITES tag number of each alligator/alligator
skin so disposed of within 15 days following the close of the
season.

iv.  The department must be notified of any trophy
skins not sold to commercial buyers or dealers within 30
days following the close of the season, on official forms
provided by or approved by the department.

v.  Each licensed alligator hunter selling alligator
parts to a person or a restaurant shall provide that person
with a bill of sale for each transaction.

vi. All records of commercial transactions
involving alligator parts by alligator hunters shall be
available for inspection by the department.

vii.  The alligator hide tag fee shall be collected by
the department from the alligator hunter who is shipping his
own alligators or raw alligator skins, or who intends to
custom tan, or use for taxidermy, the alligators or raw skins.

viii.  Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

c. Anuisance alligator hunter shall comply with the
same report requirements as a commercial alligator hunter
and complete any other reports required by the department.
Violation of this requirement shall result in immediate
termination of nuisance alligator hunter status. Violation of
this Subparagraph is a class two violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

d.i. Alligator farmers receiving hide tags from the
department are responsible for disposition of all issued tags
and must:

(@). complete an official alligator parts
transaction form, furnished by or approved by the
department for each alligator parts transaction. These forms
shall be submitted to the department along with the annual
report. Violation of this Clause is a class two violation as
described in R.S. title 56;

(b). complete an official lost tag form, furnished
by the department, for any hide tags lost or stolen. These
forms shall be submitted to the department within 15 days
following the last day of the year that issued tags are valid.
Violation of this Clause is a class two violation as described
in R.S. title 56.

ii.  All unused hide tags must be returned to the
department within 15 days following the last day of the year
that issued tags are valid. Violation of this Clause is a class
two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

iii.  Each alligator farmer in possession of one or
more tagged farm alligator skins deemed to be of no value,
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must notify the department of the tag number and belly
width of each farm alligator skin and must arrange for
delivery of the farm alligator skin(s) to the department.
Department personnel will remove the CITES alligator tags
and dispose of the farm alligator skins. Violation of this
Clause is a class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

iv.  Each alligator farmer in possession of one or
more tagged farm alligators deemed to be of no value, must
notify the department of the tag number and belly width of
each farm alligator prior to disposal of the alligator. Alligator
farmers must remove the CITES alligator tag(s) at the time
of disposal and immediately return the tag(s) to the
department. Violation of this Clause is a class two violation
as described in R.S. title 56.

v.  Each alligator farmer shall report annually, no
later than December 1, on an official form provided by the
department, all activities that have occurred on the farm for
the past year including but not limited to the number of live
alligators as of that date, separated by sizes, the number of
eggs collected and hatched, the purchase and sale of
alligators, hides, and parts for the past year and the numbers
of alligators lost. Failure to complete this form properly and
completely will result in nonrenewal of the nongame
quadruped breeder's license. Violation of this Clause is a
class three violation as described in R.S. title 56.

vi.  Each licensed alligator farmer selling alligator
parts to a person or a restaurant shall furnish that person with
a hill of sale for each transaction. Violation of this Clause is
a class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

vii.  Each alligator farmer collecting alligator eggs,
hatching alligator eggs, selling alligators for processing, or
selling alligator skins shall submit completed forms as
provided by the department within 10 days following
completion of the activity. Violation of this Clause is a class
three violation as described in R.S. title 56.

viii.  The alligator shipping label fee or the alligator
hide tag fee shall be collected by the department from the
alligator farmer who is shipping alligators or raw alligator
skins, or who intends to custom tan, or use for taxidermy, the
alligators or raw skins.

e.i. Fur buyers, fur dealers, alligator farmers and
alligator hunters engaged in the business of buying and/or
selling whole alligators or alligator hides must keep within
the state a complete record on forms provided by or
approved by the department, all purchases and sales of
whole alligators or alligator hides as described in R.S. title
56; and

ii.  every fur buyer, fur dealer, alligator farmer or
alligator hunter having undressed alligator hides in his
possession shall file with the department within 60 days of
purchase or within 60 days of tagging or prior to shipping
out of state or prior to tanning skins in Louisiana, whichever
occurs first, a complete report, on forms provided by or
approved by the department, a detailed description of
alligator hides to be shipped or tanned. At the time of
shipment or prior to tanning whole alligator skins,
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department personnel will inspect whole hides and replace
any broken or reattached tags. Department personnel will
issue the appropriate number of yellow shipping tags, one
for each shipment. At that time, department personnel will
affix a seal or locking device to each container. It shall be a
violation of this Subparagraph for any person other than
department personnel or federal personnel to reopen any
sealed or locked container. In conjunction with the
inspection and prior to department issuance of shipping
tag(s) and seal(s) or locking device(s), department personnel
must collect:

(@). all completed buyer/dealer records for skins
in each shipment;

(b). official shipping manifest including total
length in inches (or feet and inches) referenced to CITES tag
number of each whole wild skin in shipment and including
total belly width in centimeters (measured at the fifth scute)
referenced to CITES tag number of each whole farm raised
alligator skin in shipment. A fully executed (filled out)
shipping manifest containing all information required in the
buyer/dealer record may be substituted with department
approval for the buyer/dealer record requirement on farm
raised alligator skins;

(c). stub portion
completely filled out;

of yellow shipping tag

(d). alligator hide tag fees owed by alligator
hunter, alligator farmer or fur dealer.

iii.  Prior to cutting raw alligator skins into pieces,
every fur buyer, fur dealer, alligator farmer or alligator
hunter desiring to cut raw skins into pieces (flanks, bellies,
or chalecos), must request department personnel to inspect
the whole alligator hides and (with appropriate assistance)
apply CITES tags to each flank, chaleco, and belly so
separated. Prior to tagging the flanks, chaleco and belly,
department personnel must receive an official manifest
including measurement (as specified below) of each skin.
For wild skins, the total length in inches (or feet and inches)
referenced to the CITES tag number of each whole wild skin
to be cut into pieces must be provided. For farm raised
alligators skins, the total belly width in centimeters
(measured at the fifth scute) referenced to the CITES tag
number of each whole farm raised alligator skin to be cut
into pieces must be provided. Prior to cutting the raw
alligator skin, CITES tags will be attached to each flank and
chaleco (tag applied to each hind leg area), and to each belly
if either is to be separated from the tail. Once the tail portion
of the skin is separated from the flanks, chaleco and belly,
the original CITES tag must be removed and returned to the
department within 15 days of the cutting of the tail.

iv.  Every fur dealer, alligator farmer or alligator
hunter prior to shipping out of state or prior to tanning in
state, partial alligator skins (flanks, bellies or chalecos) must
provide an official shipping manifest listing a description of
the partial alligator skins in the shipment along with the
CITES tag number for each partial skin piece, referenced to
the original CITES tag number that was placed on the wild
alligator or farm raised alligator when harvested.
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Department personnel will review the manifest for accuracy
and determine the number of original CITES tags referenced
for the first time in order to assess the alligator hide tag fees
owed by the shipper. Shipper will be thus informed by the
department within 10 working days of receiving the official
shipping manifest.

v. At the time of shipment or prior to tanning,
department personnel will inspect alligator skin pieces and
replace any broken or reattached tags. Department personnel
will issue the appropriate number of yellow shipping tags,
one for each shipment. At that time, department personnel
will affix a seal or locking device to each container. It shall
be a violation of this Subparagraph for any person other than
department personnel or federal personnel to reopen any
sealed or locked container. In conjunction with the
inspection and prior to department issuance of shipping
tag(s) and seal(s) or locking device(s), department personnel
must collect:

(a). all completed buyer/dealer records for skins
in each shipment;

(b). stub portion
completely filled-out;

of yellow shipping tag

(c). alligator hide tag fees owed by alligator
hunter, alligator farmer or fur dealer for partial alligator skin
pieces being shipped as referenced in Clause A.11.e.iv.

vi. If any of the above requirements are not
satisfied, the shipment will not be authorized. Violation of
this Clause is a class three violation as described in R.S. title
56.

f.  Fur dealers engaged in the business of buying
and selling alligator hides must maintain complete records of
alligator hides purchased inside and outside the state as
described in R.S. Title 56. Fur dealers in the business of
tanning alligator hides must provide a monthly report, on
forms provided by or approved by the department, of all
alligator hides being held in inventory. Failure to maintain
complete records and to pay the required alligator hide tag
fees subjects any dealer to the full penalties provided and the
immediate revocation of his license by the department. No
license shall be issued to a dealer who has not paid the tax
and alligator hide tag fees for the preceding year. Violation
of this Subparagraph is a class three violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

g. Each fur buyer or fur dealer in possession of one
or more tagged alligator skins deemed to be of no value,
must notify the department of the tag number and total
length of each wild alligator skin or belly width of each farm
alligator skin and must arrange for delivery of the alligator
skin(s) to the department. Department personnel will remove
the CITES alligator tags and dispose of the alligator skins.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

h. Each fur buyer or fur dealer in possession of one
or more tagged alligators deemed to be of no value, must
notify the department of the tag number and total length of
each wild alligator or belly width of each farm alligator prior
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to disposal of the alligator. Fur buyers or fur dealers must
remove the CITES alligator tag(s) at the time of disposal and
immediately return the tag(s) to the department. Violation of
this Subparagraph is a class two violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

i. Alligator parts dealers acquiring alligator parts,
shall complete an official alligator parts purchase form at the
time of each purchase. Alligator parts dealers selling
alligator parts, shall complete an official alligator parts sale
form at the time of each sale. These forms shall be furnished
by or approved by the department and shall be submitted to
the department annually, no later than June 30; and

i.  alligator parts dealers shall furnish a bill of sale
to anyone purchasing alligator parts;

ii.  the records of transactions involving alligator
parts shall be available for inspection by the department and
shall be maintained complete for a period of one year
following any transaction;

iii.  violation of this Subparagraph is a class two
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

j- Any alligator parts retailer purchasing finished
alligator parts shall maintain a bill of sale for each purchase
for a period of six months after such purchase and these
records shall be available for inspection by the department.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class two violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

12. Alligator Meat

a. Alligator meat from lawfully taken alligators can
only be sold according to state and federal laws, Louisiana
Department of Health and Hospitals regulations and
Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission regulations.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

b. Alligator meat processed in the state of Louisiana
and sold for human consumption must be processed in a
licensed facility approved by the Louisiana Department of
Health and Hospitals and the facility must display a valid
permit issued by that agency. Violation of this Subparagraph
is a class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

c. All processed alligator meat for sale must be
packaged in suitable containers which identifies the contents
as alligator meat, marked with a valid department license
number and comply with all state and federal packaging and
labeling requirements. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
class two violation as described in R.S. title 56.

d. All alligator meat shipped into the state and being
offered for sale must meet all of Louisiana's health,
processing, packaging and labeling requirements. Violation
of this Subparagraph is a class two violation as described in
R.S. title 56.

13. Disposal of Alligators by the Department

a. The department may sell alligators, alligator eggs
or parts of alligators taken for any purpose deemed
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necessary for proper management of the species pursuant to
R.S. title 56.

b. The department may dispose of alligators,
alligator eggs, or parts of alligators by donation or lending to
a scientific institution or other institutions that the
department deems have need for such alligators, however
these institutions cannot sell or barter these animals which
must be returned to the department at the conclusion of the
program or need.

c. Confiscated alligator hides and parts may be
destroyed by the department pending the outcome of the
criminal trial.

d. Confiscated alligator eggs or live alligators may
be sold or may be cared for by the department and released
in suitable alligator habitat when and where they can survive
when appropriate. All costs incurred by the department in
the maintenance of these eggs and animals in captivity shall
be the responsibility of the offender and restitution shall be
made to the department. The department may consign
confiscated alligators to a licensed farm for raising purposes
and may compensate the farmer for his expenses by
transferring ownership to him of a percentage of the
confiscated alligators; not to exceed 50 percent.

14. Alligator Egg Collections

a. Alligator egg collection permits are a three party
permit between the department, the permittee and a
landowner/manager who owns or leases alligator nesting
habitat determined by department biologists to be capable of
producing alligator eggs. The numbers of eggs to be
collected will be based upon biological management criteria
and will be determined annually by technical staff of the
department. The department only estimates the numbers of
eggs available and assumes no responsibility or offers no
guarantee that those numbers of eggs will be available.
Alligator egg collection permits may be obtained upon
application to the department on forms provided by the
department. The annual deadline for submitting applications
for alligator egg collection permits is June 1. This program is
experimental and may be changed at any time based on
biological data to insure for proper management of the wild
alligator population.

b. Alligator egg collection permits may be issued by
the department provided:

i.  permittee is a properly licensed alligator farmer
and meets all applicable requirements in Paragraph A.15 of
this Section (alligator farm facility requirements);

ii.  all land documentation required on the alligator
egg collection permit has been presented to the department;

iili.  department biologists determine the properties
described on the permit application are indeed alligator
nesting habitat and can sustain alligator egg collections;

iv.  applicant has obtained all legal and necessary
signatures from landowners/land managers.
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c. It is unlawful for an alligator farmer or a
permitted designated collection agent to collect eggs from
properties other than those described in the alligator egg
collection permit. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class
four violation as described in R.S. title 56.

d. Analligator farmer or designated collection agent
in the act of collecting or possessing alligator eggs must
possess on his or her person a copy of the fully executed
alligator egg collection permit. The designated collection
agent must also possess a valid designated collection agent
permit. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

e. Collection of wild alligator eggs can only be
made after contacting the appropriate regional supervisor of
the Enforcement Division no less than 24 hours prior to each
collection trip. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

f.  Alligator eggs can only be collected from the
wild from official sunrise to official sunset and only during
the established alligator egg collection season and shall not
exceed the number on his alligator egg collection permit.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four violation as
described in R.S. title 56.

g. Alligator eggs collected from the wild must be
collected and transported in a manner which insures the
greatest survival of viable eggs as determined by department
biologists. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class three
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

h. Failure to hatch at least 70 percent of viable
alligator eggs collected from the wild shall be considered a
waste of Louisiana's natural resources. All alligator egg
collection permits shall be revoked and no new permits
issued should an alligator farmer be found to waste the
resources of this state for two consecutive years.

i. Alligator egg collection permits shall be revoked
and no new permits issued to alligator farmers who fail to
average a minimum hatchling survival rate of 85 percent for
two consecutive years.

j. The alligator egg collection permittee and the
landowner are responsible for the return of the percentage of
live alligators to the wild described on the alligator egg
collection permit. This requirement is nontransferable.
Minimum return rates will be based upon the state average
hatching success which is 78 percent. In no case shall the
return rate be less than 5 percent at 48 inches total length.
Each alligator shall be returned to the original egg collection
area within a maximum time of two years from date of
hatching. Each alligator shall be a minimum of 36 inches
and a maximum of 60 inches (no alligator over 60 inches
total length will be accepted for release) in total length and
the returned sex ratio should contain at least 50 percent
females. The alligator egg collection permittee/landowner
are responsible for and must compensate in kind for alligator
mortality which occurs for department-authorized return to
the wild alligators while being processed, stored, or
transported. The department shall be responsible for
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supervising the required return of these alligators. A
department transfer authorization permit is not required for
return to the wild alligators which are delivered to the farm
of origin no more than 48 hours prior to being processed for
wild release. Releases back to the wild will only occur
between March 15 and August 25 of each calendar year
provided that environmental conditions as determined by the
department are favorable for survival of the released
alligators. Any farmer who owes 1000 or more alligators at
48 inches must release at least 1/4 of the total owed for that
year by April 30; at least another quarter by June 15; at least
another quarter by July 31; and the remainder by August 25.
A farmer may do more than the required 1/4 of his releases
earlier if available unscheduled days allow. Should an
alligator egg collection permittee be unable to release the
required number of alligators to the wild from his own stock,
he shall be required to purchase additional alligators from
another farmer to meet compliance with the alligator egg
collection permit and these regulations, as supervised by the
department. Department-sanctioned participants in ongoing
studies involving survivability and return rates are exempt
from these requirements during the period of the study.
Violation of this Subparagraph is a Class Four violation as
described in R.S. 56.

k. The percentage of alligators to be returned to the
wild shall be selected from the healthiest of all alligators of
that year class. Abnormal or deformed alligators are not
acceptable for release into the wild. It is unlawful for
alligators that are to be returned to the wild to be transported
out of state. Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four
violation as described in R.S. title 56.

15. Alligator Farm Facility Requirements

a. All first time applicants for a nongame
quadruped breeder's or exhibitor's license who will house
alligators on their premises shall show compliance of the
following minimum facilities as applicable to their particular
operation during a required facility examination by
department personnel prior to license issuance:

i. secured premises with adequate barriers to
prevent escape of enclosed alligators and entry by alligators
from outside the farm and to deter theft of alligators;

ii. source of clean, fresh water which shall be
adequate to ensure for proper care of all alligator stock and
facilities. This requirement shall be determined by
department personnel;

iii.  provisions for both dry area and pooled water
within the secured area adequate for the numbers of
alligators to be housed on the premises. This requirement
will be determined by department personnel;

iv.  provision for winter protection, either through
adequate denning space or an enclosed, controlled-
temperature environment of a design acceptable to the
department;

v. all controlled-temperature alligator sheds
(environmental chambers) shall be of a design acceptable to
the department.
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vi.  all alligator egg incubators shall be of a design
acceptable to the department. Each incubator shall maintain
a water and air temperature of 85 degrees to 91 degrees
Fahrenheit during the egg incubation;

vii.  applicant must be in compliance with all laws
and regulations pertaining to zoning, construction, health
and environmental standards and must possess any and all
applicable permits and licenses;

viii.  all alligator facilities should be constructed in a
suitable location so as to minimize contact with people.

b. Following initial issuance of applicable license,
all applicable facility requirements shall be adhered to and
department personnel have the authority to inspect any and
all of the facilities at any time. Failure to adhere to the
requirements shall be a violation of these rules and violators
will be given 60 days to correct the problem. Failure to
comply shall result in confiscation of all animals and/or
closure of all facilities. Violation of this Subparagraph is a
Class Three violation as described in R.S. 56.

c. All alligator farmers possessing alligator eggs
outside an alligator nest should house these eggs in an
incubator providing constant temperature and humidity
conditions. All incubators used to incubate alligator eggs
shall be of a design to allow for maximum temperature
control and conform to department requirements to allow for
the maximum hatching success. All alligator hatchlings shall
be removed from incubation material and placed in clean
fresh water and fed within 10 days after hatching. Violation
of this Subparagraph is a Class Three violation as described
in R.S. 56.

d. AIll alligator farmers possessing alligator
hatchlings  shall  house hatchlings in  controlled
environmental chambers containing wet areas of sufficient
surface area to permit all alligators to partially submerge in
water. An acceptable temperature range to house alligators is
70 degrees-90 degrees Fahrenheit year-round. Alligator
farmers shall make every reasonable effort to avoid or
minimize the occurrence of temperatures outside of this
acceptable range. Any changes in temperature should take
place over a minimum of 4 hours. All alligators 48 inches or
less in length shall be housed in environmental chambers
unless a special permit is issued by the department to move
them to outside growth areas. Violation of this Subparagraph
is a Class Three violation as described in R.S. 56.

e. Alligator farmers shall house alligators of
different lengths into at least three groups, providing
separation for all alligators less than two feet in length, two
to four feet in length, and over four feet in length. Violation
of this Subparagraph is a class three violation as described in
Title 56.

f.  All facilities, alligator stock, and records are
subject to examination by department personnel prior to
permitting and thereafter during farm operation. Violation of
this Subparagraph is a class three violation as described in
R.S. title 56.
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g. It shall be unlawful for alligator eggs or alligators
to be moved from a licensed premises without
permitting/approval of the department. Violation of this
Subparagraph is a class three violation as described in R.S.
title 56.

h. Any alligator egg or alligator raised on an
alligator farm shall be cared for under conditions that do not
threaten the survival of such egg and alligator as determined
by the biological staff of the Coastal and Nongame
Resources Division. In making such determination, Coastal
and Nongame Resources Division biologists shall take into
consideration sanitary conditions, temperature control,
feeding, overcrowding and other conditions which affect the
survival of alligator eggs and alligators. If the biological
staff of the Coastal and Nongame Resources Division
determines that the survival of any alligator egg or alligator
is threatened due to the conditions on an alligator farm, the
department shall notify the alligator farmer and shall provide
the farmer with 60 days to take corrective action. If the
farmer fails to take corrective action within 60 days, the
department shall have the authority to confiscate any
alligator egg or alligator which remains under conditions
that threaten the survival of such alligator egg or alligator
and to dispose of such alligator egg or alligator as the
department deems necessary. Violation of this Subparagraph
is a class four violation as described in Title 56.

16. Farm-Raised Alligator Slaughter Methods

a.i. Legal methods for the slaughter of farm-raised
alligators are as follows:

(a). death by penetrating captive bolt;
(b). death by non-penetrating captive bolt;

(c). death by gunshot (except for rounds fired
from shotguns); and

(d). other slaughter methods may be acceptable if
they are approved in writing by the department after review
and consultation with a trained veterinarian; any slaughter
method presented for review must quickly inflict severe
damage to the brain, be humane and not pose a high risk to
administering personnel; spinal cord severance with pithing
of the brain may be used as an adjunct measure, but shall
only be used after an approved slaughter method has been
performed to render the alligator unconscious.

ii. Selected slaughter method must be
administered properly so as to cause a rapid loss of
consciousness and death.

iili.  Violation of this Subparagraph is a Class Three
violation as described in R.S. 56.

17. Exceptions

a. The department or an authorized representative
of the department may take by any means and possess
alligators, alligator eggs, or parts of alligators while in the
performance of official duties.

b. These regulations shall not prohibit a person
from killing an alligator in immediate defense of his or her
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life or the lives of others. Alligators killed under this
provision must be reported to the department within 24
hours.

18. Penalty for Violation

a. Inorder to facilitate greater control over alligator
trafficking, the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries finds that public welfare imperatively requires
emergency action when the provisions of these regulations
are violated.

b. In addition to all penalties set forth herein,
violators may be subject to criminal prosecution under
provisions of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, particularly
titles 14 and 56 and under federal law.

c. In addition to all other penalties provided by
these rules and by statute, violation of any part of these
regulations may result in the suspension and/or revocation of
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any or all alligator licenses/permits held by the violator and,
as further penalty, for serious, repeat, or multiple violations,
the department shall have the right to deny a violator any
and all licenses/permits relating to alligators for a period not
to exceed three years.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:115 and Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, Chapter 1,
Part V, Subpart A.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
16:1070 (December 1990), amended LR 17:892 (September 1991),
LR 19:215 (February 1993), LR 20:321 (March 1994), LR 26:1492
(July 2000), LR 28:1996 (September 2002), LR 30:2338 (October
2004), LR 30:2878 (December 2004), LR 31:2267 (September
2005), LR 33:677 (April 2007), LR 35:690 (April 2009), LR
37:2421 (August 2011), LR 39:2291 (August 2013), LR 42:909
(June 2016), LR 43:90 (January 2017), LR 46:50 (January 2020),
LR 46:1398 (October 2020), LR 48:508 (March 2022), LR 48:2992
(December 2022).
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Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life

Chapter 1.Freshwater Sport and
Commercial Fishing

8101. Lake Claiborne

A. Whereas, the Claiborne Parish Watershed District
Board of Commissioners, the local regulatory body for Lake
Claiborne in Claiborne Parish, passed a resolution at its
meeting on March 18, 1982 requesting the Louisiana
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to prohibit gill, trammel
and flagg nets in Claiborne Lake; and

B. whereas, Lake Claiborne does not support high
poundages of commercial species nor a true commercial
fisheries; and

C. whereas, the most sought after species (catfish) can be
adequately harvested by methods other than netting; and

D. whereas, past research conducted by the department
has demonstrated detrimental effects of gill, trammel and
flagg nets on game fish species in similar type
impoundments as Lake Claiborne.

E. Therefore, be it resolved, the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission hereby prohibits the use of gill,
trammel and flagg nets in Lake Claiborne, Claiborne Parish,
Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
8:419 (August 1982).

8102. Freshwater Shrimp, Commercial Harvest

A. A properly licensed commercial fisherman may take
any freshwater shrimp species in freshwater areas of the
state, except in those freshwater areas of the state where
commercial fishing is prohibited by law.

B. In addition to other legal methods of take as provided
for in Title 56, any freshwater shrimp species may be taken
with a freshwater shrimp trap.

C. A freshwater shrimp trap shall mean any device
completely enclosed with an outside wire mesh not smaller
than 1/4 inch, constructed with throats or flues not larger
than 1 1/2 inches in diameter at their narrowest point, which
is used for the sole purpose of taking freshwater shrimp in
accordance with this Section. Other bait species may be
taken when legally fishing a "freshwater shrimp trap." No
game fish species can be taken while fishing a "freshwater
shrimp trap" in accordance with this Section.

D. Violations. No person shall take or possess freshwater
shrimp except as authorized by this Section. Any person
found to be in violation of any provision of this Section shall
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be guilty of a Class 2 violation and punished in accordance
with the provisions applicable to R.S. 56:32.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:501.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
31:947 (April 2005).

§103. Anacoco Lake, Lake Vernon and Anacoco Bayou

A. Whereas, the chairman of the Anacoco-Prairie State
Fish and Game Commission has requested commercial nets
be prohibited in Lake Vernon, Anacoco Lake, and that
portion of Anacoco Bayou between the lakes, all in Vernon
Parish; and

B. whereas, fish population samples taken by the district
fisheries biologist indicate a very low population of
commercial fish; and

C. whereas, it is evident that there are no viable
commercial fisheries due to the scarcity of these commercial
species.

D. Therefore, be it resolved, the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission hereby prohibits the use of fish nets
(gill nets, trammel nets, hoop nets, fish seines) in Anacoco
Lake, Lake Vernon and that portion of Anacoco Bayou
between the two lakes, Vernon Parish, Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
4:57 (February 1978), amended LR 7:356 (July 1981), LR 12:843
(December 1986).

8105. Caddo Lake Gear Regulations

A. Whereas, a petition containing 170 signatures of
Caddo Parish residents requesting the prohibition of gill,
trammel and flagg nets in Caddo Lake, Caddo Parish,
Louisiana, was submitted to the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission; and

B. whereas, state legislators of Caddo Parish, as a result
of numerous requests from their constituents, have also
asked the commission to prohibit gill, trammel, and flagg
nets in Caddo Lake; and

C. whereas, the most important commercial species in
Caddo Lake is catfish and is primarily harvested with hoop
nets, and can still be harvested adequately using hoop nets,
slat traps, and set lines; and

D. whereas, past research conducted by the department
has demonstrated detrimental effects of gill, trammel, and
flagg nets in game fish species in similar type impoundments
as Caddo Lake.
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E. Therefore, be it resolved, the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission hereby prohibits the use of gill,
trammel and flagg nets in Caddo Lake, Caddo Parish,
Louisiana; and for this prohibition to become effective
January I, 1983.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
8:524 (October 1982).

8106. Poverty Point Reservoir Netting Prohibition

A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby
prohibits the use of freshwater trammel and gill nets in
Poverty Point Reservoir, Richland Parish, Louisiana, except
their use will be allowed for the legal harvest of commercial
fish during a special recurring trammel and gill netting
season to commence each year at sunrise on October 1 and
close at sunset on the last day of February the following
year.

1. Commercial fishing with certain nets will be
allowed on Poverty Point Reservoir only during the above
described special season and only by licensed commercial
fishermen. The use of nets in Poverty Point Reservoir will be
limited to gill and trammel nets greater than or having at
least a minimum mesh size of 3 1/2-inch bar and 7-inch
stretch.

2. Commercial fishing will be allowed during daylight
hours in designated areas only except that gear can remain
set overnight but fish captured shall be removed during
daylight hours only.

B. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby
prohibits the use of hoop nets, wire nets and fish seines in
Poverty Point Reservoir. No person shall use or possess any
hoop nets, wire nets or fish seines in or on Poverty Point
Reservoir. Violation of this provision shall be a class 2
violation as specified in R.S. 56:32.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
31:2569 (October 2005), amended LR 43:90 (January 2017).

8107. Nantachie Lake

A. Whereas, Nantachie Lake is a relatively small
impoundment (1,500 acres) utilized primarily by recreational
fishermen who seek largemouth bass, crappie and bluegill;
and

B. whereas, the commercial fish population in the lake is
extremely low and presently cannot and does not support a
commercial fisheries; and

C. whereas, past studies have demonstrated detrimental
effects that can occur on game fish populations with the use
of commercial fish netting in small impoundments such as
Nantachie Lake; and
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D. whereas, the Grant Parish Police Jury and the
Nantachie Lake Commission have requested the removal of
netting.

E. Therefore, be it resolved, the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission hereby prohibits the use of netting in
Nantachie Lake, Grant Parish, Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
9:486 (July 1983).

§108. Promotion of Youth Fishing

A. Notwithstanding the provisions of LAC 76:VI11.165
and 189, anglers below 16 years of age shall be allowed to
possess black bass below the minimum length limit in
accordance with the following provisions.

1. The areas where the length limit will be suspended
are the Atchafalaya Basin, Lake Verret-Palourde Area and
the Lake Fausse Point-Dauterive Area, as defined in
LAC 76:VI11.165 and 189, respectively.

2. The dates of the suspension shall be Memorial Day
weekend, May 24-26, 2008 and Labor Day weekend, August
30-September 1, 2008.

3. The suspension shall be effective from sunrise on
each opening day extending until midnight on each closing
day.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:326.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
34:706 (April 2008).

8109. Toledo Bend Gear Regulations

A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby
prohibits the use of gill nets, trammel nets, flagg webbing
and fish seines in the Louisiana portion of Toledo Bend
Reservoir located in Sabine and DeSoto Parishes, Louisiana;
and, hoop nets are prohibited during March 1 through May
15 each year only in that portion of Toledo Bend Reservoir
from a point north of Logansport where the lake enters
Texas, and south to a point on the lake where the Texas Duck
Refuge Canal intersects the old channel of the Sabine River.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
7:448 (September 1981), amended LR 9:692 (October 1983), LR
12:603 (September 1986).

8110. Texas Border Waters Recreational Creel, Size,
and Possession Limits
A. Purpose

1. Pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statute 56:673 and
the July 1, 2010 memorandum of understanding between
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and Texas
Parks and Wildlife, the commission hereby ratifies and
enters into an agreement with the Texas Parks and Wildlife
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Department to establish uniform and reciprocal regulations
for the recreational harvest of freshwater game fish on the
waters of the Louisiana-Texas boundary, specifically Toledo
Bend Reservoir, Caddo Lake, and the Sabine River. Those
regulations are as follows.

B. Toledo Bend Reservoir

1. The recreational daily creel limit (daily take) for
largemouth bass (Micropterus salmoides) and spotted bass
(Micropterus punctulatus) is set at eight fish, in aggregate.
The minimum total length limit for largemouth bass (M.
salmoides) is 14 inches. There is no minimum length limit
on spotted bass. For enforcement purposes, a spotted bass
shall be defined as a black bass with a tooth patch on its
tongue.

2. The daily creel limit for white bass (Morone
chrysops) is 25 fish and there is no minimum length limit.

3. There is no limit on the daily take of yellow bass
(Morone mississippiensis).

4. The recreational daily creel limit for black crappie
(Pomoxis nigromaculatus) and white crappie (Pomoxis
annularis) is set at 25 fish, in the aggregate, and there is no
minimum length limit.

5. The recreational daily creel limit for channel catfish
(Ictalurus punctatus) and blue catfish (Ictalurus furcatus) is
set at 50 fish in the aggregate, there is no minimum length
limit and not more than 5 fish may exceed 30 inches in total
length.

6. The recreational daily creel limit for flathead
catfish (Pylodictis olivaris) is set at 10 fish. The minimum
length limit is 18 inches.

C. Caddo Lake

1. Harvest regulations for black bass (largemouth
bass, Micropterus salmoides and spotted bass, Micropterus
punctulatus) on Caddo Lake are as follows.

a. Largemouth Bass Size Limits—14-18inch slot. A
14-18 inch slot limit means that it is illegal to keep or
possess a largemouth bass whose maximum total length is
between 14 inches and 18 inches, both measurements
inclusive.

b. Spotted Bass Size Limits—no minimum length
limit. For enforcement purposes, a spotted bass shall be
defined as a black bass with a tooth patch on its tongue.

c. The daily creel limit (daily take) for black bass
(Micropterus spp.) is set at 8 fish, in the aggregate, of which
no more than 4 largemouth bass may exceed 18 inches
maximum total length.

2. The daily creel limit for white bass (Morone
chrysops) is 25 fish and there is no minimum length limit.

3. There is no daily creel limit on yellow bass
(Morone mississippiensis), and there is no minimum length
limit.
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4. The recreational daily creel limit for black crappie
(Pomoxis nigromaculatus) and white crappie (Pomoxis
annularis) is set at 25 fish, in the aggregate, and there is no
minimum length limit.

5. The recreational daily creel limit for channel catfish
(Ictalurus punctatus) and blue catfish (Ictalurus furcatus) is
set at 50 fish in the aggregate, there is no minimum length
limit and not more than 5 fish may exceed 30 inches in total
length.

6. The recreational daily creel limit for flathead
catfish (Pylodictis olivaris) is set at 10 fish. The minimum
length limit is 18 inches.

D. Sabine River

1. Harvest regulations for black basses (largemouth
bass, Micropterus salmoides and spotted bass, Micropterus
punctulatus) on the Sabine River are as follows:

a. The river proper from Toledo Bend Dam
downstream to the Interstate 10 bridge the minimum length
limit for largemouth bass (M. salmoides) is 12 inches.

b. The river proper upstream from Toledo Bend
Reservoir to the point at which the entire river enters Texas
as marked by state line sign the minimum length limit for
largemouth bass (M. salmoides) is 14 inches.

c. The recreational daily creel limit (daily take) for
largemouth bass (Micropterus salmoides) and spotted bass
(Micropterus punctulatus) is set at eight fish, in aggregate.
There is no minimum length limit on spotted bass. For
enforcement purposes, a spotted bass shall be defined as a
black bass with a tooth patch on its tongue.

2. For purposes of this section, the Sabine River shall
be defined as the river proper from the Toledo Bend Dam
downstream to the Interstate 10 bridge and the river proper
upstream from Toledo Bend Reservoir to the point at which
the entire river enters Texas as marked by state line sign.

a. The daily creel limit for striped bass (Morone
saxatilis) is set at 5 fish. There is no minimum length limit
and only 2 fish may be over 30 inches in total length.

b. The daily creel limit for white bass (Morone
chrysops) is 25 fish and there is no minimum length limit.

c. There is no daily creel limit on yellow bass
(Morone mississippiensis), and there is no minimum length
limit.

d. The recreational daily creel limit for black
crappie (Pomoxis nigromaculatus) and white crappie
(Pomoxis annularis) is set at 25 fish, in the aggregate, and
there is no minimum length limit.

e. The recreational daily creel limit for channel
catfish (Ictalurus punctatus) and blue catfish (Ictalurus
furcatus) is set at 50 fish in the aggregate, there is no
minimum length limit and not more than 5 fish may exceed
30 inches in total length.
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f. The recreational daily creel limit for flathead
catfish (Pylodictis olivaris) is set at 10 fish. The minimum
length limit is 18 inches.

E. Daily Possession Limit: Toledo Bend Reservoir,
Caddo Lake, and the Sabine River

1. The following possession limits apply to all persons
while on the waters of Toledo Bend Reservoir, Caddo Lake,
or the Sabine River. No person shall possess any species of
fish in excess of a one day creel limit. No person shall at any
time possess in excess of the daily creel limit of any species,
except that a two day creel limit may be possessed on the
land, if the fish were caught on more than one day and no
daily creel limits were exceeded. No person shall possess
any fillets of any fish species while on the water.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:325(C), R.S. 56:326.3, and R.S. 56:673.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
14:548 (August 1988), amended LR 17:278 (March 1991), LR
17:1123 (November 1991), LR 19:790 (June 1993), LR 23:999
(August 1997), LR 31:948 (April 2005), LR 37:2439 (August
2011), LR 40:802 (April 2014), LR 42:1694 (October 2016).

8111. D'Arbonne Lake

A. Whereas, the Bayou D'Arbonne Lake Watershed
District  Commission, the local regulatory body for
D'Arbonne Lake passed a resolution at its meeting on
February 7, 1984 prohibiting trammel nets, gill nets, flagg
nets, and fish seines in D'Arbonne Lake effective June I,
1984, and subsequently have requested the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission to ratify said resolution; and

B. whereas, studies conducted by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries on D'Arbonne Lake have
demonstrated the detrimental effects the use of certain types
of commercial fish nets have on game fish populations; and

C. whereas, D'Arbonne Lake does not support high
poundage of commercial species nor a true commercial
fisheries; and

D. whereas, the most sought after commercial species,
catfish (flathead), can still be harvested adequately using
hoop nets, slat traps, trot lines, limb lines, and stump lines.

E. Therefore be it resolved, the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission hereby prohibits the use of gill nets,
trammel nets, flagg nets and fish seines in D'Arbonne Lake
(Union and Lincoln Parishes) and includes all areas between
the spillway structure and Gill's Ferry Landing on
D'Arbonne Creek and Hogpen Landing on Corney Creek.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
10:470 (June 1984).
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Prohibit the Use and Possession of Gill Nets and
Trammel Nets; Prohibit the Taking of Grass
Carp

8112.

A. No person shall use or possess any gill net or trammel
net in the areas designated below as restricted areas. No
person shall take or sell any fish taken with the prohibited
gear. Additionally, no person shall take or possess any grass
carp within the restricted areas.

1. Restricted areas:

a. Spring Bayou Wildlife Area

(WMA), Avoyelles Parish;
b. Old River, Avoyelles Parish;

Management

c. Little River, Avoyelles Parish.

B. Violation of the provisions of this Section constitutes
a class two violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:21, R.S. 56:22.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
34:886 (May 2008).

8114.  Marking System for Gill Nets, Trammel Nets,
Hoop Nets, Slat Traps, and Wire Nets

A. A

Each gill net or trammel net shall be marked with a
waterproof tag attached to the corkline at each end of the
net, no more than three feet from the edge of the webbing or
on an attached buoy in indelible ink. Each hoop net, slat
trap, or wire nets shall be marked with a waterproof tag
attached directly to the device or written on an attached buoy
in indelible ink. Said tags shall be supplied by fisherman and
to be completely waterproof. Each tag or buoy shall have the
fisherman's full name (no initials), and the appropriate
commercial or recreational fisherman's license number (not
the net license number) printed thereon in th