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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 16-74 

Executive Branch Expenditure Reduction 

WHEREAS, pursuant to R.S. 39:75(A)(1), the 
Division of Administration is directed to submit a monthly 
budget status report to the Joint Legislative Committee on 
the Budget (hereafter "the Committee") indicating the 
balance of the budget for the State General Fund and 
dedicated funds by comparing the official forecast for these 
funds to the total authorized appropriations from each fund; 
once approved by the Committee, the most recent budget 
status report becomes the official budget status of the State; 

WHEREAS, if the most recently approved budget 
status report indicates that the total appropriation from any 
fund will exceed the official forecast for that fund, R.S. 
39:75(B) requires the Committee to immediately notify the 
Governor that a projected deficit exists for that fund;  

WHEREAS, on November 18, 2016, the Committee 
notified the Governor that it approved a budget status report 
at its November 18, 2016, meeting, indicating that a 
projected deficit of $312,665,008 exists in the State General 
Fund for Fiscal Year 2016-2017 based on estimated actual 
revenues being less than estimated actual expenditures for 
Fiscal Year 2015-2016;  

WHEREAS, once notified that a projected deficit 
exists, pursuant to Article VII, Section 10, of the 
Constitution of Louisiana and R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a), the 
Governor has interim budget balancing powers to adjust the 
budget, including the authority to reduce appropriations for 
the executive branch of government for any program that is 
appropriated from a fund that is in a deficit posture, not 
exceeding three percent (3%) in the aggregate of the total 
appropriations for each budget unit for the fiscal year up to 
5% of the State General Fund allocations or appropriations, 
or $482,102,987, and if the Governor does not make 
necessary adjustments in the appropriations to eliminate the 
projected deficit within thirty (30) days of the determination 
of the projected deficit in a fund, R.S. 39:75(D) mandates 
that the Governor call a special session of the Louisiana 
Legislature for that purpose;  

WHEREAS, as authorized by Article VII, Section 
10, of the Constitution of Louisiana, and R.S. 
39:75(C)(1)(a), I am exercising my unilateral interim budget 
balancing powers to reduce the projected deficit by 
$276,780,853; 

WHEREAS, after utilizing my authority, 
$35,884,155 remains of the projected deficit which must be 
eliminated, therefore I directed the Commissioner of 
Administration to present to the Committee for its approval a 
plan to further reduce the projected deficit pursuant to R. S. 
39:75(C); and 

WHEREAS, this Executive Order and the plan to be 
submitted to the Committee and the Legislature may utilize 
all or a portion of the General Fund dollar savings objective 
specified in Executive Order JBE 2016-03. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, John Bel Edwards, Governor of 
the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 
the Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana, do 
hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The following departments, agencies, 
and/or budget units (hereafter "Unit" and/or "Units") of the 
executive branch of the State of Louisiana, as described in 
and/or funded by appropriations through Acts 17 and 47 of 
the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and 
Acts 14 and 16 of the 2016 Second Extraordinary Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature (hereafter "the Acts"), shall reduce 
expenditure of funds appropriated to the Unit from the State 
General Fund by the Acts, and associated positions, in the 
amounts shown below: 

 

Schedule 01-Executive Department 
State General 

Fund 
01-100 Executive Office $ 200,000 
01-103 Mental Health Advocacy Service $ 50,000 
01-106 Louisiana Tax Commission $ 50,000  
01-107 Division of Administration $ 1,500,000 
Schedule 03-Veterans Affairs 
03-130 Department of Veterans Affairs $ 275,088 
Schedule 08B-Public Safety and CorrectionsPublic Safety 
Services 
08-419 Office of State Police $ 5,106,503 
Schedule 09-Health and Hospitals 
 09-300 Jefferson Parish Human Services 
Authority 

$ 167,319 

 09-301 Florida Parishes Human Services 
Authority 

$ 115,000 

09-302 Capital Area Human Services District $ 700,000 
09-304 Metropolitan Human Services District $ 787,063 
09-305 Medical Vendor Administration $ 6,846,277 
09-306 Medical Vendor Payments $237,963,003 
09-307 Office of the Secretary $ 902,893 
09-309 South Central Louisiana Human Services 
Authority 

$ 201,862 

09-310 Northeast Delta Human Services 
Authority 

$ 50,000 

09-320 Office of Aging and Adult Services $ 620,275 
09-325 Acadiana Area Human Services District $ 264,325 
09-326 Office of Public Health $ 1,108,005 
09-330 Office of Behavioral Health $ 1,559,019 
09-340 Office of Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities 

$ 34,363 

09-375 Imperial Calcasieu Human Services 
Authority 

$ 31,730 

09-376 Central Louisiana Human Services District $ 50,000 
09-377 Northwest Louisiana Human Services 
District 

$ 57,037 

Schedule 10-Department of Children and Family Services 
10-360 Office of Children and Family Services $ 798,597 
Schedule 12-Revenue 
12-40 Office of Revenue $ 2,996,640 
Schedule 17-Civil Service 
17-562 Ethics Administration $ 134,312 
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Schedule 19A-Higher Education 
19A-671 Board of Regents $ 368,124 
19A-600 Louisiana State University System $ 5,577,489 
19A-615 Southern University System $ 699,715 
19A-620 University of Louisiana System $ 3,411,230 
19A-649 LA Community and Technical Colleges 
System 

$ 1,853,079 

Schedule 19D-Department of Education 
19D-681 Subgrantee Assistance $ 1,000,000 
19D-699 Special School District $ 335,219 
Schedule 20-Other Requirements 
20-906 District Attorneys and Assistant District 
Attorneys 

$ 966,686 

 
SECTION 2: 

A. No later than December 20, 2016, the head of 
each Unit listed in Section 1 of this Order shall submit to the 
Commissioner of Administration (hereafter 
"Commissioner") a mid-year budget reduction plan, on the 
BA-7 form and questionnaire, which reflects the Unit’s 
proposed allocation of the expenditure reduction ordered in 
Section 1 of this Order (hereafter "mid-year budget 
reduction plan"), and a description of the methodology used 
to formulate the mid-year budget reduction plan.  

B. In the event that positions of employment will be 
affected by the mid-year budget reduction, these positions 
should be included in your mid-year budget reduction plan. 

C. No Unit shall implement the expenditure 
reduction mandated by Section 1 of this Order without the 
Commissioner’s prior written approval of the Unit’s mid-
year budget reduction plan. 

D. After the Commissioner has given approval of a 
Unit’s mid-year budget reduction plan, any change to the 
mid-year budget reduction plan requires prior written 
approval from the commissioner. 

SECTION 3: The Commissioner is authorized to 
develop additional guidelines as necessary to facilitate the 
administration of this Order.  

SECTION 4: All departments, commissions, boards, 
offices, entities, agencies, and officers of the State of 
Louisiana, or any political subdivision thereof, are 
authorized and directed to cooperate in the implementation 
of the provisions of this Order. 

SECTION 5: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect through June 30, 2016, unless 
amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded prior to that 
date. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 
15th day of December, 2016. 

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Tom Schedler 
Secretary of State 
1701#010 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 16-75 

Rules and Policies on Leave for Unclassified 
ServiceAmended December 19, 2016 

WHEREAS, no permanent rules or policies on 
annual, compensatory, sick, special, military, and other leave 
exist for employees and appointees who are in the 
unclassified service of the State of Louisiana; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: Applicability 
A. The rules and policies established by this Order 

shall be applicable to all employees and appointees in the 
unclassified service of the executive branch of the State of 
Louisiana, with the exception of elected officials and their 
employees, and the officers and employees of a system 
authorized by the Louisiana Constitution or legislative act to 
manage and supervise its own system. Elected officials of 
the executive branch may adopt the rules and policies set 
forth in this Order to govern the unclassified officers and 
employees within their department. 

B. Nothing in this Order shall be applied in a 
manner which violates, or is contrary to, the Fair Labor 
Standards Act (hereafter "FLSA"), the Family and Medical 
Leave Act, or any other applicable federal or state law, rule, 
or regulation. 

SECTION 2: Definitions 
Unless the context of this Order clearly indicates 

otherwise, the words and terms used in this Order shall be 
defined as follows:  

A. "Annual leave" means leave with pay granted to 
an unclassified employee or appointee for the purpose of 
rehabilitation, restoration, or maintenance of work 
efficiency, or the transaction of personal affairs. 

B. "Appointing authority" means the agency, 
department, board, or commission, or the employees thereof, 
authorized by statute or lawfully delegated authority to make 
appointments to positions in state service. For purposes of 
this Order, use of the term “appointing authority” applies 
also to the appointing authority’s designee. 

C. "Compensatory leave" means leave earned in lieu 
of wages at the straight-time or time and one-half rate as 
compensation for overtime hours worked. Crediting of such 
leave is based upon a determination of the employee’s status 
as exempt or non-exempt as defined by the FLSA, and also 
upon the number of hours actually worked throughout the 
scheduled work period.  

D. "Duty for military purposes" means the 
performance of continuous and uninterrupted military duty 
on a voluntary or involuntary basis and includes active duty, 
active duty for training, initial active duty for training, full-
time National Guard duty, annual training, and inactive duty 
for training (weekend drills). 

E. "Educational leave" means paid or unpaid leave 
that may be granted by an appointing authority to an 
unclassified employee or appointee for the purpose of 
attending an accredited educational institution to receive
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formalized training which will materially assist the 
unclassified employee or appointee in performing the type of 
work performed by his department or agency. 

F. “Governor’s Executive Office” means the budget 
unit 01-100 as listed in Schedule 01 of the General 
Appropriations Act  

G. "Intermittent employee" means a person 
employed in state service that is not hired to work on a 
regularly scheduled basis. 

H. "Leave without pay" and "leave of absence 
without pay" mean a period of leave or time off from work 
granted or imposed by the appointing authority for which the 
unclassified employee or appointee receives no pay. 

I. "Overtime hour" means an hour worked at the 
discretion and direction of the appointing authority by an 
unclassified employee who is serving in a position which 
earns compensatory leave: 
 1. On a day observed as a holiday (statutory, 
proclaimed or designated); 
 2. In excess of the regularly scheduled workday; 
 3. In excess of the regularly scheduled work 
period; or 
 4. On a day in which a department or certain 
locations thereof are declared closed due to a natural disaster 
or emergency. 

J. "Regular work schedule" means the designated 
work hours and days an unclassified employee is required to 
work. 

K. "Seasonal employee" means a person employed 
on a non-continuous basis for a recognized peak work load 
project. 

L. "Sick leave" means leave with pay granted to an 
unclassified employee or appointee who is unable to perform 
his or her usual duties and responsibilities due to illness, 
injury, or disability, or when he or she requires medical, 
dental, or optical consultation or treatment. 

M. "State service" means employment in the 
executive branch of state government, including state 
supported schools, agencies and universities; public parish 
school systems; public student employment; membership on 
a public board or commission; and employment in the 
legislative and judicial branches. To constitute state service, 
the employment must have been performed for a Louisiana 
public entity. Contract service does not constitute state 
service. 

N. "Temporary employee" means an employee who 
is continuously employed in the unclassified service of the 
executive branch for a period which does not exceed and is 
not reasonably expected to exceed twelve (12) consecutive 
calendar months. 

O. “Unclassified appointee” means a person serving 
in the unclassified service of the executive branch appointed 
by:  
 1. The governor to serve: 

a) On the governor’s executive staff; 
b) On the governor’s cabinet;  
c) On the executive staff of the governor’s 

cabinet; or 
d) As head of a particular agency; 

  
 

 2. A cabinet member to serve on the cabinet 
member’s executive staff;  
 3. The superintendent of the Department of 
Education to serve on the superintendent’s executive staff;  
 4. An elected official in the executive branch 
(who has adopted the rules and policies set forth in this 
Order) to serve on the elected official’s executive staff; or  
 5. The secretary of the Department of Economic 
Development to serve in the unclassified service in the 
Office of Business Development.  

The governor, cabinet members and agency heads are 
required to identify, in accordance with the definition set 
forth above, their executive staff who are designated as 
unclassified appointees and, as described in Section 13, are 
ineligible to receive compensation of any nature for 
overtime hours worked. By February 1 of each year, a listing 
of such persons shall be provided and will be subject to 
review by the commissioner of administration. Appointing 
authorities are required to ensure that unclassified appointees 
do not receive overtime compensation. 

An unclassified appointee shall be on duty and 
available to serve and in contact with his appointing 
authority throughout the term of his appointment except 
when on leave. 

P. “Unclassified employee” means an officer or 
employee who serves at the pleasure of his appointing 
authority and whose position is designated as such by Civil 
Service Rule 4.1, Sections (c)-(e), and Louisiana 
Constitution Article X, Section 2. 

Q. “Unclassified service” means those positions of 
state service, as defined in Article X, Sections 2 and 42 of 
the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, which are not positions 
in the classified service. 

SECTION 3: Full-time Employees 
For each full-time employee, the appointing authority 

shall establish a work week of not less than forty (40) hours 
or work period of not less than eighty (80) hours. 

SECTION 4: Granting Leave 
Leave must be requested and approved prior to use, 

and such approval is at the discretion of the unclassified 
employee’s appointing authority or designee. 

SECTION 5: Earning of Annual and Sick Leave 
A. Annual and sick leave shall not be earned by the 

following persons: 
 1. Members of boards, commissions, or 
authorities; 
 2. Student employees, as defined by Civil Service 
Rules; 
 3. Temporary, intermittent, or seasonal 
employees; and 
 4. Part-time employees of the Governor’s 
Executive Office. 

B. The earning of annual and sick leave by 
unclassified employees and appointees shall be based on the 
equivalent of years of full-time state service and shall be 
credited at the end of each calendar month, or at the end of 
each regular pay period, in accordance with the following 
general schedule: 
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1.Less than three (3) years of service, at the rate of .0461 
hour of annual leave and .0461 hour of sick leave for each 
hour of regular duty; 
 2. Three (3) or more years but less than five (5) 
years of service, at the rate of .0576 hour of annual leave and 
.0576 hour of sick leave for each hour of regular duty; 
 3. Five (5) or more years but less than ten (10) 
years of service, at the rate of .0692 hour of annual leave and 
.0692 hour of sick leave for each hour of regular duty; 
 4. Ten (10) or more years but less than fifteen 
(15) years of service, at the rate of .0807 hour of annual 
leave and .0807 hour of sick leave for each hour of regular 
duty; and 
 5. Fifteen (15) or more years of service, at the 
rate of .0923 hour of annual leave and .0923 hour of sick 
leave for each hour of regular duty. 
  For purposes of this Section, contract service 
does not constitute full time or part-time state service and 
cannot be used to determine, and has no effect upon, the rate 
at which annual leave and sick leave is earned by, accrued 
by, or credited to a full-time or part-time employee or 
appointee in the unclassified state service. 

C. No unclassified employee or appointee shall be 
credited with annual or sick leave: 
 1. For any overtime hour; 
 2. For any hour of leave without pay except as set 
forth in Section 17 of this Order; 
 3. For any hour of on-call status outside the 
employee’s regular duty hours; 
 4. For any hour of travel or other activity outside 
the employee’s regular duty hours; or 
 5. For any hour of a holiday or other non-work 
day which occurs while in leave without pay status except as 
set forth in Section 17 of this Order. 

SECTION 6: Carrying Annual and Sick Leave 
Forward 

Accrued unused annual and sick leave earned by an 
unclassified employee or appointee shall be carried forward 
to succeeding calendar years without limitation. 

SECTION 7: Use of Annual Leave 
A. Annual leave must be requested prior to use, and 

such approval is at the discretion of the unclassified 
employee’s appointing authority. 

B. Annual leave shall not be charged for non-work 
days nor for hours beyond the unclassified employee’s 
regular work schedule. 

C. When engaged in political activities during 
regular work hours, unclassified employees shall apply for 
and use accrued annual leave, compensatory leave or leave 
without pay. 

D. The minimum charge to annual leave records 
shall be in increments of not less than one-tenth (.1) of an 
hour or six (6) minutes. 

E. Annual leave shall only be approved for use after 
it has been accrued by an unclassified employee or 
appointee. Annual leave shall not be advanced. 

F. An appointing authority may require an 
unclassified employee to use accrued annual leave whenever 
doing so is determined to be in the best interest of the 
department. When such occurs, no unclassified employee 
shall be required to reduce his accrued annual leave balance 
to less than two hundred forty (240) hours except: 

 1. Prior to being granted leave without pay, but 
subject to the military leave provisions of Section 17 of this 
Order; or 
 2. When the absence from work is due to a 
condition covered by the Family and Medical Leave Act. 

SECTION 8: Use of Sick Leave 
A. Sick leave must be requested prior to use when 

possible, and approval is at the discretion of the unclassified 
employee’s appointing authority. 

B. Accrued sick leave shall be used by an 
unclassified employee when an illness, injury or disability 
prevents him from reporting for duty or for medical, dental 
or optical consultation or treatment. 

C. Accrued sick leave shall be used by an 
unclassified appointee when he is mentally or physically 
unable to serve his appointing authority due to illness, injury 
or disability. 

D. An appointing authority has the right, at any 
time, to require that an unclassified employee produce a 
statement from a qualified healthcare provider certifying that 
the employee was ill and unable to report to work for the 
duration of an absence. 

E. Sick leave shall not be charged for non-work 
days nor for hours beyond the unclassified employee’s 
regular work schedule. 

F. The minimum charge to sick leave records shall 
be in increments of not less than one-tenth (.1) of an hour or 
six (6) minutes. 

G. Sick leave shall only be approved for use after it 
has been accrued by an unclassified employee or appointee. 
Sick leave shall not be advanced. 

H. An appointing authority has discretion to place 
an unclassified employee on sick leave after the employee 
asserts the need to be absent from work or when it is 
apparent that the employee is unfit for duty due to an illness, 
injury or disability. 

SECTION 9: Transfer of Annual and Sick Leave 
A. A classified or unclassified employee shall have 

all accrued annual and sick leave credited to him when the 
employee transfers without a break in state service into a 
position covered by this Order. 

B. When an unclassified employee or appointee 
transfers without a break in state service to a position 
covered by other leave rules of the state, his accrued annual 
and sick leave shall be transferred to the new employing 
state department or agency. The new employing department 
or agency shall either hold the annual and sick leave in 
abeyance or integrate the leave into its own system. The 
unclassified employee’s or appointee’s accumulated leave 
shall not be reduced during such integration. 

SECTION 10: Disbursement of Accrued Annual Leave 
Upon Separation 

A. Upon the resignation, death, removal, layoff, 
retirement, or other final separation from state service of an 
unclassified employee or appointee, his accrued annual 
leave, up to a maximum of three hundred (300) hours, shall 
be paid in a lump sum, disregarding any final fraction of an 
hour. The payment shall be computed as follows: 
 1. When the unclassified employee or appointee 
is paid on an hourly basis, the regular hourly rate that he 
received at the time of separation from state service shall be 
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multiplied by the number of hours of accrued annual leave, 
which number is not to exceed three hundred (300) hours; or 
 2. When the unclassified employee or appointee 
is paid on other than an hourly basis, his hourly rate shall be 
determined by converting the salary he received at the time 
of separation from service into an hourly rate. The converted 
hourly rate shall be multiplied by the number of hours of 
accrued annual leave, which number is not to exceed three 
hundred (300) hours. 

B. An unclassified employee or appointee who is 
paid for accrued annual leave upon separation from service 
and who is subsequently reemployed in a leave earning 
classified or unclassified position shall reimburse the state, 
through the new employing agency, for the number of hours 
he was paid which exceeded the number of work hours that 
transpired during his break from state service. In turn, the 
unclassified employee or appointee shall receive a credit for 
the number of hours of annual leave for which he made 
reimbursement to the state. 

C. The provisions of this Section shall not extend to 
any unclassified employee or appointee who is dismissed for 
theft of state funds or property. 

SECTION 11: Disbursement of Accrued Sick Leave 
Upon Separation 

An unclassified employee or appointee shall not 
receive payment, directly or in-kind, for any accrued sick 
leave remaining at the time of separation from the 
unclassified service. 

SECTION 12: Restoration of Annual and Sick Leave 
An unclassified employee or appointee shall receive 

credit for all accrued and unpaid annual leave and all 
accrued unused sick leave upon reemployment by the state 
in the classified or unclassified service within a period of 
five (5) years from the date of separation from state service. 

SECTION 13: Compensatory Leave 
A. Compensatory leave shall not be earned by the 

following persons: 
 1. Unclassified appointees;  
 2. Student employees; 
 3. Temporary, intermittent or seasonal employees; 
 4. Members of boards, commissions or 
authorities; 
 5. The executive director or equivalent chief 
administrative officer of all boards, commissions, and 
authorities operating within the executive branch who are 
appointed by a board, commission or authority;  
 6. Other officers of the state who are appointed 
by the governor, including members of boards, commissions 
and/or authorities; and 
 7. Part-time employees of the Governor’s 
Executive Office. 

B. Compensatory leave shall be earned and credited 
in accordance with the FLSA when an appointing authority 
requires or authorizes a non-exempt unclassified employee 
serving in a compensatory leave earning position to work 
overtime. That is, the rate of compensatory leave credited (at 
the straight-time or time and one-half rate) shall be based 
upon whether such non-exempt unclassified employee 
worked less than or greater than forty (40) hours in the 
scheduled work period. 

C. Compensatory leave may be earned and credited 
when an appointing authority requires or authorizes an 
exempt unclassified employee serving in a compensatory 
leave earning position to work overtime. If credited, the 
compensatory leave earned shall be equal to and not in 
excess of the number of overtime hours actually worked 
(i.e., such compensatory leave shall be calculated at the 
straight-time rate). 

D. When earned, compensatory leave shall be 
claimed by and credited to the unclassified employee during 
the pay period in which the overtime is worked and, upon 
approval of the appointing authority, may be used by the 
unclassified employee at a future date. 

SECTION 14: Use and Disbursement of 
Compensatory Leave While in Service 

A. Notwithstanding any provision herein to the 
contrary, a non-exempt unclassified employee shall be paid 
in wages at the time and one-half rate for any overtime hour 
worked in excess of the maximum amount allowed to be 
accrued by the FLSA. 

B. Compensatory leave earned at the straight-time 
rate may be accrued without limitation. For most employees, 
not more than a total of three hundred sixty (360) such hours 
may be carried forward from one fiscal year to the next. For 
employees engaged in qualifying law enforcement and 
health care activities, not more than a total of five hundred 
forty (540) such hours can be carried forward from one 
fiscal year to the next. These caps apply to both exempt and 
non-exempt employees. 

C. Compensatory leave earned at the straight-time 
rate in excess of the authorized cap shall be handled as 
followed: 
 1. For non-exempt employees, payment for the 
excess compensatory leave shall be made within ninety (90) 
days of the beginning of the fiscal year; and 
 2. For exempt employees, payment for the excess 
compensatory leave may be made within ninety (90) days of 
the beginning of the fiscal year. Any such payment shall be 
at the sole discretion and direction of the appointing 
authority, and subject to the availability of funding. All 
straight-time compensatory leave above the applicable cap, 
if not paid, shall be canceled within ninety (90) days of the 
beginning of the fiscal year. 

E. An appointing authority may require an 
unclassified employee to work overtime at any time, 
including during emergency situations and office closures, as 
necessary to accomplish job assignments and serve the 
public’s needs. Employees can be disciplined, up to and 
including termination, for failing or refusing to work 
overtime as directed.  

E. An unclassified employee may be required by an 
appointing authority to use all or part of his accrued 
compensatory leave at any time. Compensatory leave earned 
at the time and one-half rate shall be taken before 
compensatory leave earned at the straight-time rate. 

F. Subject to approval of the commissioner of 
administration, an appointing authority may authorize the 
payment of wages for accrued compensatory leave 
previously earned by an unclassified employee. 
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SECTION 15: Payment of Compensatory Leave Upon 
Separation or Transfer 

A. All unused compensatory leave earned at the 
time and one-half rate shall be paid upon transfer from one 
state agency to another or upon separation from state 
service.  

B. All unused compensatory leave earned at the 
straight-time rate by non-exempt employees shall be paid by 
the employing agency upon the unclassified employee’s 
transfer from one state agency to another or upon separation 
from state service.  

C. All or a portion of unused compensatory leave 
earned at the straight-time rate by exempt unclassified 
employees may be paid by the employing agency upon the 
unclassified employee’s transfer from one state agency to 
another or upon separation from state service. Any such 
payment shall be at the sole direction and discretion of the 
appointing authority, and subject to the availability of 
funding. If not paid, such unused compensatory leave shall 
be canceled and not re-credited upon reemployment in state 
service. 

D. Any compensatory leave paid upon separation or 
transfer shall be calculated using the employee’s final 
regular rate of pay. 

SECTION 16: Special ProvisionNatural Disasters 
and Emergency Situations 

A. Notwithstanding any provision herein to the 
contrary, an unclassified employee eligible to be credited 
with compensatory leave may be compensated via the 
payment of wages in accordance with the FLSA (at the 
straight-time or time and one-half rate) for authorized hours 
actually worked at designated locations during official office 
closures due to and directly related to a natural disaster or 
emergency situation.  

B. Notwithstanding any provision herein to the 
contrary, an unclassified employee eligible to be credited 
with compensatory leave may be compensated via the 
payment of wages in accordance with the FLSA (at the 
straight-time or time and one-half rate) for authorized hours 
actually worked at designated locations beyond an 
employee’s regular work schedule due to and directly related 
to a natural disaster or emergency situation. This 
authorization extends to overtime hours worked in 
preparation for, response and/or recovery from such a 
disaster or emergency.  

SECTION 17: Special Leave 
A. An unclassified employee or appointee serving in 

a leave earning position shall be given time off, without loss 
of pay, annual or sick leave when: 
 1. Performing state or federal grand or petit jury 
duty; 
 2. Appearing as a summoned witness before a 
court, grand jury or other public body or commission, 
provided that for purposes of this subsection, a plaintiff or 
defendant shall not be considered a witness, nor shall this 
subsection apply to an employee summoned as a witness as 
a result of employment other than state employment; 
 3. Performing emergency civilian duty in relation 
to national defense; 
 4. Voting in a primary, general, or special election 
which falls on the employee’s scheduled work day, provided 
not more than two (2) hours of leave shall be allowed an 

employee to vote in the parish of employment, and not more 
than one (1) day of leave shall be allowed an employee to 
vote in another parish; 
 5. Participating in a state civil service 
examination on a regular work day, or taking a required 
examination pertinent to the employee’s state employment 
before a state licensing board; 
 6. The appointing authority determines an act of 
God prevents the performance of the duties of the employee; 
 7. The appointing authority determines that, due 
to local conditions or celebrations, it is impracticable for the 
employee to work in the locality; 
 8. The employee/appointee is ordered to report 
for a pre-induction physical examination incident to possible 
entry into the armed forces of the United States; 
 9. The employee/appointee is a member of the 
National Guard and is ordered to active duty incidental to a 
local emergency, an act of God, a civil or criminal 
insurrection, a civil or criminal disobedience, or a similar 
occurrence of an extraordinary and emergency nature which 
threatens or affects the peace or property of the people of the 
State of Louisiana or the United States; 
 10. The employee/appointee is engaged in the 
representation of a pro-bono client in a civil or criminal 
proceeding pursuant to an order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction; and/or 
 11. The employee/appointee is a current member 
of Civil Air Patrol and, incident to such membership, is 
ordered to perform duty with troops or participate in field 
exercises or training, except that such leave shall not exceed 
fifteen (15) working days in any one (1) calendar year and 
shall not be used for unit meetings or training conducted 
during such meetings. 
 12. The Adjutant General performs active duty 
under Title 32 of the United States Code relating to his 
duties for the State of Louisiana under La. R.S. 29:11, not 
including periods of annual training under 32 U.S.C. 
502(a)(2). 

B. Any unclassified employee serving in a non-
leave earning position, but who is regularly employed by the 
state, who is called to serve on a state or federal grand or 
petit jury during regular work hours shall be granted a leave 
of absence without loss of pay for the duration of the jury 
service.  

SECTION 18: Military Leave 
A. Military Leave With Pay 

 1. An unclassified employee or appointee serving 
in a leave earning position who is a member of a reserve 
component of the armed forces of the United States and 
called to duty for military purposes, or who is a member of a 
National Guard unit called to active duty as a result of a non-
local or non-state emergency, shall be granted a leave of 
absence from a state position without loss of pay or 
deduction of leave for a period not to exceed fifteen (15) 
working days per calendar year (hereafter "military leave 
with pay"). In addition, an appointing authority may grant 
annual leave, compensatory leave, leave without pay, or any 
combination thereof, for a period in excess of fifteen (15) 
working days per calendar year, in accordance with this 
Order and/or as required by state and/or federal law. 
 2. An unclassified employee or appointee who is 
a member of a reserve component of the armed forces of the 
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United States or a National Guard unit, ordered and/or called 
to duty for military purposes, shall give prompt notice of the 
duty to his appointing authority. Advance notice is not 
required when precluded by military necessity, or otherwise 
impossible or unreasonable. 

B. The provisions of this Subsection apply to 
unclassified employees and appointees who are called to 
active duty and are on leave without pay by choice or 
because all annual and/or compensatory leave have been 
exhausted. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to 
employees and appointees on inactive duty for training 
(weekend drills). 
 1. When military leave with pay has been 
exhausted, an unclassified employee or appointee whose 
military base pay is less than his state base pay shall be paid 
the difference between his military base pay and his state 
base pay in his regular position. Such payment shall be made 
on the same frequency and manner as the unclassified 
employee’s or appointee’s regular state pay. Unclassified 
employees and appointees receiving pay differential shall 
provide to agency officials any documentation appropriate 
and necessary to ensure the payment amount is calculated 
correctly. Unclassified employees and appointees who 
choose to use accrued annual and/or compensatory leave 
during their period of military absence shall not be eligible 
to receive pay differential. 
 2. Unclassified employees and appointees shall 
continue to accrue sick and annual leave for the entire period 
of absence while in military service. Leave shall be accrued 
on the same basis as though the unclassified employee or 
appointee had not been activated. Such leave earned shall be 
credited to the unclassified employee or appointee upon his 
return from active duty. 
 3. Unclassified employees and appointees who 
are on leave without pay shall receive, each calendar year, 
the full 15 days of military leave with pay provided for in 
Subsection A. The pay differential allowed shall be 
suspended until the 15 day military leave with pay period is 
exhausted and the unclassified employee or appointee 
returns to leave without pay status. 
 4. Leave without pay for military purposes shall 
not exceed six (6) years, after which the unclassified 
employee or appointee shall be separated from state service. 

SECTION 19: Other Leave 
An unclassified employee or appointee serving in a 

position that earns annual and sick leave may be eligible to 
use the following additional types of leave: 

A. Worker’s Compensation Option: An unclassified 
employee or appointee who is absent from work due to a 
disability for which he is entitled to receive worker’s 
compensation benefits may use accrued sick or annual leave 
to receive combined leave and worker’s compensation 
payments equal to and in an amount not to exceed the 
unclassified employee’s or appointee’s regular salary. 

B. Law Enforcement Disability Leave: When an 
unclassified employee or appointee serving in a law 
enforcement capacity becomes disabled while in the 
performance of duty of a hazardous nature which results in 
his being unable to perform his usual or normal duties, the 
appointing authority may, with the approval of the 
Commissioner of Administration, grant the disabled 
employee or appointee a leave of absence with full pay 

during the period of such disability without charge against 
accrued sick or annual leave, provided the employee or 
appointee pays to the employing department all amounts of 
weekly worker’s compensation benefits received during that 
period of leave with full pay. Such disability leave shall 
continue for a period of up to six (6) months unless extended 
with the approval of the Commissioner of Administration. 

C. Funeral Leave: An unclassified employee or 
appointee may, at the discretion of the appointing authority, 
be granted leave without loss of pay or use of accrued leave 
to attend the funeral, burial, or last rites of a spouse, parent, 
step-parent, child, step-child, brother, step-brother, sister, 
step-sister, mother-in-law, father-in law, grandparent or 
grandchild, provided such leave shall not exceed two (2) 
days for any single occurrence. 

D. Educational Leave: An unclassified employee or 
appointee, at the discretion of the appointing authority, may 
be granted leave without loss of pay or use of accrued leave 
to attend an accredited institution to complete coursework 
that will materially assist the employee/appointee in 
performing customary job duties. Personal benefit to the 
employee is not the standard; rather, the coursework must be 
job-related and further the business operations and mission 
of the department or agency.  

Educational leave with pay may be granted for a 
maximum period of thirty (30) days (240 hours) during one 
(1) calendar year. However, if the appointing authority 
requires an unclassified employee/appointee to complete 
coursework which will materially assist him in performing 
the type of work performed by his department or agency, 
educational leave with pay may extend for a maximum 
period of ninety (90) days (272 hours) during one (1) 
calendar year.  

SECTION 20: Leave of Absence without Pay 
A. An appointing authority may approve a leave of 

absence without pay for an unclassified employee for a 
reasonable period of time not to exceed ninety (90) calendar 
days. Such leave may be rescinded provided proper notice is 
furnished to the unclassified employee and such rescission is 
in the best interest of the state service. If an unclassified 
employee is unable to or fails to report for duty on the first 
working day following the expiration of an authorized leave 
of absence, the employee shall be considered as having 
abandoned his position of employment. 

B. An appointing authority may impose leave 
without pay of reasonable duration as disciplinary action to 
address an unclassified employee’s performance or 
behavioral deficiencies. 

C. In addition to disciplinary action, an appointing 
authority may place an unclassified employee in leave 
without pay status for the duration of an unapproved 
absence. 

SECTION 21: Holidays 
A. Holidays shall be observed as provided in La. 

R.S. 1:55 and by proclamation issued by the governor. 
B. A non-exempt unclassified employee serving in a 

compensatory leave earning position shall be credited with 
compensatory leave at the appropriate rate under the FLSA 
when required to work on an observed holiday. An exempt 
unclassified employee serving in a compensatory leave 
earning position may, at the discretion of his appointing 
authority, be credited with compensatory leave at the 
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straight-time rate when required to work on an observed 
holiday. 

C .When an unclassified employee is on leave 
without pay during the period immediately preceding and 
following an observed holiday, he shall not receive 
compensation for that holiday unless the holiday is actually 
worked by the unclassified employee. 

SECTION 22: Record Keeping 
A. Leave records shall be maintained for all 

unclassified appointees. Daily attendance and leave records 
shall be maintained for all unclassified employees. 

B. An accrued balance of unused annual, 
compensatory, and/or sick leave shall be held in abeyance 
for an unclassified employee who becomes ineligible to earn 
and/or use the particular type of leave pursuant to the terms 
of this Order. The accrued balance(s) shall be available to 
the employee, in accordance with the provisions of this 
Order, when he again becomes eligible to earn and/or use 
said leave, or when he separates from state service. 

SECTION 23: Compliance 
A. All departments, commissions, boards, agencies, 

and unclassified employees and appointees of the state or 
any political subdivision thereof within the executive branch 
of state government affected by this Order shall comply 
with, be guided by and cooperate in the implementation of 
the provisions of this Order. 

B. The head of each department shall be responsible 
for deciding the extent to which the discretionary provisions 
of this Order are implemented within his department. 

SECTION 24: Effective Dates 
After signature by the governor and commencing 

January 1, 2017, the provisions of this Executive Order shall 
be applicable to all current and future unclassified 
employees and appointees. Leave benefits accrued prior to 
the effective date hereof in compliance with a prior 
Executive Order shall not be adversely affected.  

The provisions of this Order shall remain in effect 
until amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded by the 
governor or terminated by operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 
19th day of December, 2016. 

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Tom Schedler 
Secretary of State 
1701#011 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 

Certification of Commercial Applicators (LAC 7:XXIII.711) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), the 
commissioner of agriculture and forestry declares an 
emergency to exist and adopts by emergency process the 
attached regulation requiring proficiency testing for all 
commercial applicators in 2017. R.S. 3:3203(A) provides 
that the “commissioner shall adopt such rules and 
regulations as are necessary to implement the provisions of 
this Chapter, including but not limited to rules and 
regulations governing the registration, distribution, sale, 
offering for sale, and application of pesticides…”. 
Additionally, R.S. 3:3242 provides that the “commissioner 
by rule shall provide for the issuance of annual certification 
cards.” In order to be in compliance with state and federal 
laws regarding testing and licensure, the commissioner 
believes proficiency testing in 2017 is necessary to protect 
the health and safety of the public.  

This Emergency Rule shall become effective January 5, 
2017, and shall remain in effect for 120 days, unless 
renewed or until the permanent rules and regulations become 
effective.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticides 
Chapter 7. Examinations, Certification and 

Licensing  
Subchapter B. Certification 
§711. Certification of Commercial Applicators 

A. - E. … 
F. The commissioner shall issue a certification card to 

each commercial applicator showing the categories or 
subcategories in which the applicator is certified. This 
certification card shall expire on December 31 of each year. 
Each person wishing to renew a certification card shall do so 
by submitting an application form prescribed by the 
commissioner and by submitting the proper fee. 

1. In order to renew a certification card that expires on 
December 31, 2017, a commercial applicator shall take and 
pass a proficiency test. 

G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203, R.S. 3:3242 and R.S. 3:324. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:179 (April 
1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agriculture and 
Environmental Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), LR 19:735 
(June 1993), LR 20:641 (June 1994), LR 21:928 (September 1995), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Advisory Commission on

Pesticides, LR 23:193 (February 1997), LR 24:280 (February 
1998), LR 28:39 (January 2002), LR 32:794 (May 2006), 
repromulgated LR 32:1011 (June 2006), amended LR 35:627 
(April 2009), amended by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Advisory 
Commission on Pesticides, LR 37:3471 (December 2011), LR 43: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner  

1701#015 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Registration of Employees; Duties of Licensee and 
Registered Employee with Respect to Registration; 

Obligations of the Licensee/Permittee 
(LAC 7:XXV.113 and 117) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), the 
commissioner of agriculture and forestry and Louisiana 
Structural Pest Control Commission declare an emergency to 
exist and hereby adopt by emergency process the attached 
regulation requiring proficiency testing for all structural 
licensees and registered technicians and in 2017. R.S. 3:3366 
grants the Structural Pest Control Commission the authority 
to adopt rules and regulations “to protect the interests, 
health, safety, and welfare of the public.” In order to be in 
compliance with state and federal laws regarding testing and 
licensure, the commissioner believes proficiency testing in 
2017 is necessary to protect the health and safety of the 
public. 

This Emergency Rule shall become effective January 5, 
2017, and shall remain in effect for 120 days, unless 
renewed or until the permanent rules and regulations become 
effective.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control 

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 
§113. Registration of Employees; Duties of Licensee 

and Registered Employee with Respect to 
Registration 

A. - O. … 
P. Each registered technician shall participate in an 

entire continuing education program as a condition of 
maintaining his or her status as a registered technician at 
least once annually (July 1 to June 30). 

1. Each continuing education program, minimum of 
four hours of technical training, shall be approved in 
advance by the department. 

2. Each continuing education program shall be a 
minimum of one hour in length per phase. 
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3. Documentation of the technician attendance and 
participation shall be forwarded to the department and a 
copy retained at the technician's place of employment. 

4. Each continuing education program offered in 2017 
shall include a proficiency test which shall be taken and 
passed in order to maintain one’s status as a registered 
technician.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3366, 3368 and 3369. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 32:797 (May 2006), repromulgated LR 32:1016 (June 2006), 
amended LR 35:207 (February 2009), LR 37:279 (January 2011), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, LR 39:301 (February 2013), LR 42:213 (February 
2016), LR 43: 
§117. Obligations of the Licensee\Permittee 

A. - D. … 
E. Maintenance of a Commercial Applicator 

Certification by a Licensee 
1. A licensee shall maintain his commercial applicator 

certification in current status by: 
a. attending a continuing educational program for 

recertification approved by the department; 
b. recertification at least once every three years; 

such recertification shall be completed by December 31 of 
the year preceding the third anniversary of either the original 
certification or the most recent recertification; 

c. a minimum of six hours of technical training 
which shall include but not limited to the phases of general 
pest control, termite control and commercial vertebrate 
control; 

d. a minimum of six hours of technical training for 
the phase of fumigation; 

e. in order to renew a commercial certification card 
that expires on December 31, 2017, a licensee shall take and 
pass a proficiency test. 

2. A licensee attending an approved recertification 
seminar shall attend the entire approved program; otherwise 
the licensee shall not be recertified at this approved seminar. 

3. Time and location for each licensee recertification 
can be obtained by calling or writing to the department. 

F. - Q. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366 and 3:3368. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1995), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 26:2437 
(November 2000), LR 29:1062 (July 2003), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 
30:196 (February 2004), LR 31:2761 (November 2005), LR 
35:1468 (August 2009), LR 37:280 (January 2011), LR 39:301 
(February 2013), LR 42:214 (February 2016), LR 43: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 
 

1701#016 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsTOPS Core  
Curriculum Equivalents: Human Anatomy  

and Physiology and Pre-Calculus (LAC 28:IV.703) 

The Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., to amend 
and re-promulgate the rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs [R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 
17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:5001 et seq., and R.S. 
56:797.D(2)]. 

This rulemaking adds Human Anatomy and Physiology as 
an equivalent to Biology in the TOPS core curriculum, adds 
Human Anatomy and Physiology as a dual enrollment 
course that may be graded on a 5.0 scale for graduates of 
2018 and later, and adds Pre-Calculus as a gifted course that 
may be graded on a 5.0 scale for graduates of 2018 and later.  

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that this 
Emergency Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective December 7, 
2016, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 
(SG17176E) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 
(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 
Honors Awards 

§703. Establishing Eligibility  
A. - A.5.a.ii.(d).(iii). … 

* * * 
(e). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2017-2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying 
the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 

 
Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 
Algebra I, Geometry and 
Algebra II 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Art Media Arts I-IV; Photography I, 
Photography II, and Digital 
Photography 
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Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 
Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions 
and Statistics, Advanced 
Math-Pre-Calculus, Pre-
Calculus, or Math Methods I 
IB (Mathematical Studies 
SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or 
Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability 
and Statistics or AP 
Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

Biology II Human Anatomy and Physiology  
Any listed core course or its 
equivalent. 

Any core curriculum course taken by a 
student who has been deemed to be 
gifted and talented pursuant to R.S. 
17:1941 et. seq. as implemented in State 
Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education policy and in fulfillment of 
the student’s Individualized Education 
Program shall be considered a gifted 
and talented course and shall fulfill the 
core curriculum requirement in its given 
subject area. 

 
(f). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the 
tables below have been approved by the Board of Regents 
and the state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
to be converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the 
core curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 
Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 
English IV AP English Literature and Composition 
Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 
European History AP European History 
Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 
French AP French Language and Culture 
German AP German Language and Culture 
Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 
Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 
Latin AP Latin 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and 
Statistics AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 
US Government or 
Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: United States 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 
US History AP U.S. History 
World Geography AP Human Geography 
World History AP World History 
 
 (ii). International Baccalaureate Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course International Baccalaureate 
Advanced Math–Pre Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Arabic IB Language ab initio: Arabic  
IB Language B: Arabic 

Art IB Visual Arts 

Biology II IB Biology I 
IB Biology II 

Calculus IB Mathematics SL 
IB Mathematics HL 

Chemistry II IB Chemistry I 
IB Chemistry II 

Chinese IB Language ab initio: Chinese 
IB Language B: Chinese 

Economics IB Economics 

English III 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

English IV 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

Environmental Science IB Environmental Systems 

French IB Language ab initio: French  
IB Language B: French 

German IB Language ab initio: German  
IB Language B: German 

Italian IB Language ab initio: Italian  
IB Language B: Italian 

Japanese IB Language ab initio: Japanese  
IB Language B: Japanese 

Latin IB Classical Language 
Music (Performance) IB Music 

Physics I IB Physics I 
IB Physics II 

Pre-Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Spanish IB Language ab initio: Spanish  
IB Language B: Spanish 

Theatre (Performance) 
IB Film Study 
IB Theatre 
IB Dance 

US History IB History of the Americas I 
World Geography IB Geography 
World History IB History of the Americas II 
 
 (iii). Gifted and Talented Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Art 

Art History 
Talented Visual Arts I 
Talented Visual Arts II 
Talented Visual Arts III 
Talented Visual Arts IV 

Biology II Biology II 

Calculus Calculus I 
Calculus II 

Chemistry I Chemistry I 
Chemistry II Chemistry II 

Chinese Chinese III 
Chinese IV 

Economics  Economics 

English III English III 

English IV English IV 

Environmental Science Environmental Science 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017 12

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 
European History European History 

French French III 
French IV 

German German III 
German IV 

Italian Italian III 
Italian IV 

Japanese Japanese III 
Japanese IV 

Latin Latin III 
Latin IV 

Music (Performance) 

Talented Music I, II, III, IV 
Small Voice Ensemble II 
Choir: Intermediate 
Choir: Advanced 
Orchestra: Intermediate 
Orchestra: Advanced 

Physics I Physics 
Pre-Calculus Pre-Calculus 

Spanish Spanish III 
Spanish IV 

Theatre (Performance) Introduction to Film Studies 
Talented Theater I, II, III, IV 

US Government or Civics  Government 
US History U.S. History 
World Geography World/Human Geography 

 
 (iv). Dual Enrollment Courses 
 

TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name Common Course 
Code 

Advanced 
Math–Pre 
Calculus 

Trigonometry 
CMAT 1223 

Advanced 
Math-
Functions and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 

CMAT 1303 

Algebra III College Algebra CMAT 1213 

Arabic Elementary Arabic I 
Elementary Arabic II 

CARB 1013/1014 
CARB 1023/1024 

Art 
Art History I or II 
Art Structure/2-D Design 
Beginning Drawing 

CART 2103/2113 
CART 1113 
CART 2203 

Biology I General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 

Biology II 

General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 
General Biology II 
General Biology II (Science 
Majors) 
Human Anatomy & Physiology I  
Human Anatomy & Physiology I 
(Lec/Lab)  
Human Anatomy & Physiology II  
Human Anatomy & Physiology II 
(Lec/Lab  

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 
CBIO 1023 
CBIO 1043 
CBIO 2213  
CBIO 2214  
CBIO 2223  
CBIO 2224  

Calculus 
Applied Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

CMAT 2103 
CMAT 2113-5 
CMAT 2123-5 

Chemistry I 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 

Chemistry II 

General, Organic and Biochemistry 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 
Chemistry II 
Chemistry II (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1003 
CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 
CCEM 1113 
CCEM 1133 

TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name Common Course 
Code 

Earth Science Physical Geology 
Historical Geology 

CGEO 1103 
CGEO 1113 

Economics 
Economic Principles 
Macroeconomics 
Microeconomics 

CECN 2113 
CECN 2213 
CECN 2223 

English III 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
American Literature I 
American Literature II 
Major American Writers 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2153 
CENL 2163 
CENL 2173 

English IV 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
British Literature I 
British Literature II 
Major British Writers 
World Literature I 
World Literature II 
Major World Writers  
Introduction to Fiction 
Introduction to Literature 
Introduction to Poetry and/or 
Drama 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2103 
CENL 2113 
CENL 2123 
CENL 2203 
CENL 2213 
CENL 2223 
CENL 2303 
CENL 2323 
CENL 2313 

Environmental 
Science Environmental Science CEVS 1103 

Fine Arts 
Survey 

Exploring the Arts 
Introduction to Visual Arts 
Dance Appreciation 
Music Appreciation 

CART 1013 
CART 1023 
CDNC 1013 
CMUS 1013 

French 

Elementary French I 
Elementary French II 
Intermediate French I 
Intermediate French II 

CFRN 1013/1014 
CFRN 1023/1024 
CFRN 2013/2014 
CFRN 2023 

German 

Elementary German I 
Elementary German II 
Intermediate German I 
Intermediate German II 

CGRM 1013/1014 
CGRM 1023/1024 
CGRM 2013 
CGRM 2023 

History Of 
Religion World Religions CPHL 2213 

Latin 

Elementary Latin I 
Elementary Latin II 
Intermediate Latin I 
Intermediate Latin II 

CLTN 1013/1014 
CLTN 1023/1024 
CLTN 2013 
CLTN 2023 

Physical 
Science 
 

Physical Science I CPHY 1023 

Physics I 

Physics I (Algebra/Trigonometry 
Based) 
Physics I (Lecture and Lab) 
Physics I (Calculus Based) 

CPHY 2113 
CPHY 2114 
CPHY 2133 

Pre-Calculus Algebra and Trigonometry CMAT 1233 
Probability 
and Statistics Introductory Statistics CMAT 1303 

Spanish 

Elementary Spanish I 
Elementary Spanish II 
Intermediate Spanish I 
Intermediate Spanish II 

CSPN 1013/1014 
CSPN 1023/1024 
CSPN 2013/2014 
CSPN 2023 

Theatre 
(Performance) 

Acting I or II 
Introduction to Theatre 

CTHE 2103/2113 
CTHE 1013 

US 
Government or 
Civics  

Introduction to American 
Government 
Introduction to State and Local 
Government 
Introduction to Comparative 
Government 

CPOL 2013 
CPOL 2113 
CPOL 2213 

US History American History I or II CHIS 2013/2023 
Western 
Civilization Western Civilization I or II CHIS 1013/1023 

World 
Geography World Regional Geography CGRG 2113 

World History World Civilization I or II CHIS 1113/1123 
 

A.5.a.iii.(a). - J.4.b.ii. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015, LR 41:657, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:2596, 2599 (Dec. 2015), 
LR 43: 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

1701#004 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Louisiana Low-Income Academic Hospitals 

(LAC 50:V.2501 and Chapter 31) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:V.2501 and adopts LAC 50:V. 
Chapter 31 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated Emergency Rules 
which amended the provisions governing disproportionate 
share hospital (DSH) payments to hospitals participating in 
public-private partnerships in the south and north Louisiana 
areas (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Numbers 7 and 10). 
As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’(CMS) disapproval of the corresponding state plan 
amendments, the department determined that it was 
necessary to repeal the provisions of the July 6, 2013 and 
October 1, 2013 Emergency Rules governing DSH payments 
to the hospitals participating in the south and north 
Louisiana area public-private partnerships. 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing DSH payments in order 

to establish payments to Louisiana low-income academic 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 6). The 
department subsequently amended the provisions of the May 
24, 2014 Emergency Rule to clarify the provisions 
governing the payment methodology to Louisiana low-
income academic hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 9). The Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the September 20, 2014 
Emergency Rule in order to clarify qualifying criteria for 
Louisiana low-income academic hospitals and revise the 
reimbursement and DSH payment methodology.(Louisiana 
Register, Volume 42, Number 6). 

The department subsequently promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions of the June 20, 2016 
Emergency Rule in order to revise the reimbursement 
schedule for the payments (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, 
Number 10). The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions of the October 1, 2016 
Emergency Rule in order to return to the reimbursement 
schedule in effect on June 20, 2016 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume Number 42, Number 10).  

In order to comply with CMS requirements, the 
department now proposes to amend the provisions of the 
October 20, 2016 Emergency Rule. This action is being 
taken to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by maintaining recipient access to much needed 
hospital services. 

Effective January 20, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
of the October 20, 2016 Emergency Rule governing DSH 
payments to low-income academic hospitals and the DSH 
payment methodology. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH–MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 25. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment 
Methodologies 

§2501. General Provisions 
A. - C. ... 
D. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:654 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:65 (January 2010), amended LR 36:512 (March 
2010), LR 40:790 (April 2014), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 
Chapter 31. Louisiana Low-Income Academic 

Hospitals 
§3101. Qualifying Criteria 

A. Hospitals Located Outside of the Baton Rouge and 
New Orleans Metropolitan Statistical Area 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 
2016, a hospital may qualify for this category by: 

a. being a private acute care general hospital that is 
located outside of the Baton Rouge and New Orleans 
metropolitan statistical area (MSA)which: 
 i. entered into a cooperative endeavor agreement 
with the state of Louisiana to increase its provision of 
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inpatient Medicaid and uninsured services by providing 
services that were previously delivered and terminated or 
reduced by a state owned and operated facility; or 
 ii. is formerly a state owned and operated hospital 
whose ownership change to non-state privately owned and 
operated prior to July 1, 2014; 

b. has Medicaid inpatient days utilization greater 
than 18.9 percent. Qualification shall be calculated by 
dividing the Medicaid inpatient days by the total inpatient 
days reported on the Medicaid as filed cost report ending 
during state fiscal year 2015 received by April 30, 2016, and 
shall include traditional, shared, and managed care Medicaid 
days per the worksheet S-3 part I, lines 1 through 18. 
Column 7 shall be used to determine allowable Medicaid 
days and column 8 shall be used to determine total inpatient 
days; and 

c. has a ratio of intern and resident full time 
equivalents(FTEs) to total inpatient beds that is greater than 
.08. Qualification shall be based on the total inpatient beds 
and intern and resident FTEs reported on the 
Medicare/Medicaid cost report ending during state fiscal 
year 2015. The ratio of interns and resident FTEs shall be 
calculated by dividing the unweighted intern and resident 
FTEs reported on the Medicare Cost Report Worksheet E-4, 
line 6 by the total inpatient beds, excluding nursery and 
Medicare designated distinct part psychiatric unit beds, 
reported on worksheet S-3, column 2, lines 1 through 18. 

B. Hospitals Located In the New Orleans Metropolitan 
Statistical Area 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 
2016, a hospital may qualify for this category by: 

a. being a private acute care general hospital that is 
located in the New Orleans MSA which: 
 i. entered into a cooperative endeavor agreement 
with the State of Louisiana to increase its provision of 
inpatient Medicaid and uninsured services by providing 
services that were previously delivered and terminated or 
reduced by a state owned and operated facility; or 
 ii. is formerly a state owned and operated hospital 
whose ownership changed to non-state privately owned and 
operated prior to July 1, 2014; 

b. has Medicaid inpatient days utilization greater 
than 45 percent. Qualification shall be calculated by dividing 
the Medicaid inpatient days by the total inpatient days 
reported on the Medicaid as filed cost report ending during 
state fiscal year 2015 received by April 30, 2016, and shall 
include traditional, shared, and managed care Medicaid days 
per the worksheet S-3 part I, lines 1 through 18. Column 7 
shall be used to determine allowable Medicaid days and 
column 8 shall be used to determine total inpatient days; and 

c. has a ratio of intern and resident FTEs to total 
inpatient beds that is greater than 1.25. Qualification shall be 
based on the total inpatient beds and intern and resident 
FTEs reported on the Medicare/Medicaid cost report ending 
during state fiscal year 2015. The ratio of interns and 
resident FTEs shall be calculated by dividing the unweighted 
intern and resident FTEs reported on the Medicare Cost 
Report Worksheet E-4, line 6 by the total inpatient beds, 
excluding nursery and Medicare designated distinct part 
psychiatric unit beds, reported on worksheet S-3, column 2, 
lines 1 through 18. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 
§3103. Payment Methodology 

A. Each qualifying hospital shall be paid DSH 
adjustment payments equal to 100 percent of allowable 
hospital specific uncompensated care costs. 

1. Costs, patient specific data and documentation that 
qualifying criteria is met shall be submitted in a format 
specified by the department. 

2. Costs and lengths of stay shall be reviewed by the 
department for reasonableness before payments are made. 

B. Payment Calculation 
1. For the initial year’s payment calculation, each 

qualifying hospital shall submit interim actual cost data 
calculated utilizing Medicaid allowable cost report 
principles, along with actual Medicaid and uninsured patient 
charge data. Annual Medicaid costs shortfalls and 
unreimbursed uninsured patient costs are determined based 
on review and analysis of these submissions. 

2. For subsequent year’s payment calculations, the 
most recent Medicaid filed cost report along with actual 
Medicaid and uninsured patient charge data annualized from 
the most recent calendar year completed quarter is utilized to 
calculate hospital specific uncompensated care costs. 

C. The department shall review cost data, charge data, 
lengths of stay and Medicaid claims data per the Medicaid 
Management and Information Systems (MMIS) for 
reasonableness before payments are made. 

D. The first payment of each fiscal year will be made by 
October 15 and will be 80 percent of the annual calculated 
uncompensated care costs. The remainder of the payment 
will be made by June 30 of each year 

1. Reconciliation of these payments to actual hospital 
specific uncompensated care costs will be made when the 
cost report(s) covering the actual dates of service from the 
state fiscal year are filed and reviewed. 

2. Additional payments or recoupments, as needed, 
shall be made after the finalization of the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) mandated DSH 
audit for the state fiscal year. 

E. No payment under this Section is dependent on any 
agreement or arrangement for providers or related entities to 
donate money or services to a governmental entity. 

1. A pro rata decrease necessitated by conditions 
specified in §2501.B.1 above for hospitals described in this 
section will be calculated based on the ratio determined by 
dividing the hospital's uncompensated costs by the 
uncompensated costs for all qualifying hospitals in this 
section, then multiplying by the amount of disproportionate 
share payments calculated in excess of the federal DSH 
allotment. Additional payments shall only be made after 
finalization of the CMS mandated DSH audit for the state 
fiscal year. Payments shall be limited to the aggregate 
amount recouped from the qualifying hospitals in this 
section based on these reported audit results. If the hospitals' 
aggregate amount of underpayments reported per the audit 
results exceeds the aggregate amount overpaid, the payment 
redistribution to underpaid shall be paid on a pro rata basis 
calculated using each hospital’s amount underpaid divided 
by the sum of underpayments for all hospitals in this 
Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#049 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments for New Orleans Area Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.969) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.969 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ 
disapproval of the state plan amendment for the financing of 
the transition of the management and operation of certain 
children's specialty hospitals from state-owned and operated 
to private partners, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which adopted a supplemental payment 
methodology for inpatient hospital services rendered by 
children’s specialty hospitals in the New Orleans area 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 2). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the February 12, 2015 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient provider 
participation and continued access to inpatient hospital 
services through the maximization of federal dollars. 

Effective February 7, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions 
governing supplemental payments for inpatient hospital 
services rendered by children’s specialty hospitals in the 
New Orleans area. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§969. Supplemental Payments to Children’s Specialty 

Hospitals in the New Orleans Area 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 12, 

2015, quarterly supplemental payments shall be made for 
inpatient hospital services rendered in a hospital in the New 
Orleans area that meets the following qualifying criteria per 
the as filed cost report ending in state fiscal year 2014: 

1. classified by Medicare as a specialty children’s 
hospital; 

2. has a least 100 full-time equivalent interns and 
residents; 

3. has least 70 percent Medicaid inpatient days’ 
utilization rate; 

4. has at least 25,000 Medicaid inpatient days; and 
5. has a distinct part psychiatric unit. 

B. Supplemental payments for inpatient hospital services 
will be paid quarterly up to the hospital specific upper 
payment limit (the difference between Medicaid inpatient 
charges and Medicaid inpatient payments). The payments to 
the qualifying hospital(s) shall not exceed: 

1. the annual Medicaid hospital specific inpatient 
charges per 42 CFR 447.271; 

2. the annual aggregate inpatient hospital upper 
payment limit for the classification of hospitals per 42 CFR 
442.272; and 

3. the budgeted state fiscal year supplemental 
payment amount included in the Annual Appropriation Act 
as allocated to this specific program in the budget spread 
pursuant to the department’s reimbursement methodology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#050 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health  
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Public Hospitals Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:V.963) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:V.963 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing inpatient hospital services to provide 
supplemental Medicaid payments to qualifying non-rural, 
non-state public hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, 
Number 6). The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the reimbursement methodology 
governing inpatient hospital services in order to amend the 
provisions governing supplemental Medicaid payments to 
qualifying non-rural, non-state public hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 41, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated in order to continue the provisions of the 
October 1, 2015 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken 
to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
ensuring sufficient provider participation and continued 
access to inpatient hospital services through the 
maximization of federal dollars. 

Effective January 27, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state public 
hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§963. Public Hospitals 

A. - B.1. ... 
a. be designated as a major teaching hospital by the 

department as of July 1, 2015 and have at least 300 licensed 
acute hospital beds; or 

B.1.b. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:2772 (November 2012), amended LR 38:3181 (December 
2012), repromulgated LR 39:95 (January 2013), amended LR 
39:1471 (June 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#051 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments for Baton Rouge Area Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.973) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.973 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ 
disapproval of the state plan amendment for the financing of 
the transition of the management and operation of certain 
hospitals from state-owned and operated to private partners, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing inpatient hospital services 
rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals in order to adopt a 
supplemental payment methodology for services provided 
by hospitals located in the Baton Rouge area (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 41, Number 2). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
February 12, 2015 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient 
provider participation and continued access to inpatient 
hospital services through the maximization of federal 
dollars. 

Effective February 7, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals 
in the Baton Rouge area. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§973. Supplemental Payments to Baton Rouge Area 

Hospitals 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 12, 

2015, quarterly supplemental payments shall be made for 
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inpatient hospital services rendered in a hospital in the Baton 
Rouge area that meets the following qualifying criteria per 
the as filed cost report ending in state fiscal year 2014: 

1. classified as a major teaching hospital; 
2. has at least 3,000 Medicaid deliveries, as verified 

per the Medicaid data warehouse; and 
3. has at least 45 percent Medicaid inpatient days 

utilization rate. 
B. Supplemental payments for inpatient hospital services 

will be paid quarterly up to the hospital specific upper 
payment limit (the difference between Medicaid inpatient 
charges and Medicaid inpatient payments). The payments to 
the qualifying hospital(s) shall not exceed: 

1. the annual Medicaid hospital specific inpatient 
charges per 42 CFR 447.271; 

2. the annual aggregate inpatient hospital upper 
payment limit for the classification of hospitals per 42 CFR 
442.272; and 

3. the budgeted state fiscal year supplemental 
payment amount included in the Annual Appropriation Act 
as allocated to this specific program in the budget spread 
pursuant to the department’s reimbursement methodology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#052 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments for Monroe Area Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.971) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.971 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ 
disapproval of the state plan amendment for the financing of 
the transition of the management and operation of certain 
hospitals from state-owned and operated to private partners, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH), Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services rendered by non-
rural, non-state hospitals in order to adopt a supplemental 
payment methodology for services provided by hospitals 
located in LDH Administrative Region 8 in the Monroe area 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 2). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to continue 
the provisions of the February 12, 2015 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient 
provider participation and continued access to inpatient 
hospital services through the maximization of federal 
dollars. 

Effective February 7, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals 
in the Monroe area. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§971. Supplemental Payments to Monroe Area 

Hospitals 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 12, 

2015, quarterly supplemental payments shall be made for 
inpatient hospital services rendered by a hospital in the 
Monroe area that meets the following qualifying criteria: 

1. inpatient acute hospital classified as a major 
teaching hospital; 

2. located in LDH Administrative Region 8 (lowest 
per capita income of any region per the 2010 U.S. Census 
Bureau records); and 

3. per the as filed fiscal year ending June 30, 2013 
cost report has: 

a. greater than 25 full-time equivalent interns and 
residents; 

b. at least 40 percent Medicaid inpatient days 
utilization; and 

c. a distinct part psychiatric unit. 
B. Supplemental payments for inpatient hospital services 

will be paid quarterly up to the hospital specific upper 
payment limit (the difference between Medicaid inpatient 
charges and Medicaid inpatient payments). The payments to 
the qualifying hospital(s) shall not exceed: 

1. the annual Medicaid hospital specific inpatient 
charges per 42 CFR 447.271; 

2. the annual aggregate inpatient hospital upper 
payment limit for the classification of hospitals per 42 CFR 
442.272; and 
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3. the budgeted state fiscal year supplemental 
payment amount included in the Annual Appropriation Act 
as allocated to this specific program in the budget spread 
pursuant to the department’s reimbursement methodology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#053 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for 
Persons with Intellectual Disabilities 

Evacuation and Temporary Sheltering Costs 
(LAC 50:VII.33103 and 33105) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:VII.33103 and adopts §33105 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for intermediate 
care facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities 
(ICFs/ID) to establish reimbursement for complex care 
services provided to Medicaid recipients residing in non-
state ICFs/ID (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, Number 2). 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for ICFs/ID to establish provisions governing evacuation and 
temporary sheltering costs incurred during a declared 
disaster or emergency event to ensure evacuating ICFs/ID 
continue to receive vendor payments while providing 
essential care and services to residents at a host site when 
they are displaced (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, Number 
10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions of the October 13, 2016 Emergency Rule. 
This action is being taken to avoid imminent peril to the 

public health, safety or welfare of ICF/ID residents by 
ensuring continued access to services during declared 
disasters.  

Effective February 11, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing intermediate care facilities for persons with 
intellectual disabilities to establish provisions governing 
evacuation and temporary sheltering costs during a declared 
disaster or emergency event. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long-Term Care Services 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 331. Vendor Payments 
§33103. Payment Limitations  

A. Temporary Absence of the Client. A client's temporary 
absence from an ICF/ID will not interrupt the monthly 
vendor payment to the ICF/ID, provided the following 
conditions are met: 

1. the ICF/ID keeps a bed available for the client's 
return; and 

2. the absence is for one of the following reasons: 
a. ... 
b. leave of absence. A temporary stay outside the 

ICF/ID provided for in the client's written individual 
habilitation plan. A leave of absence will not exceed 45 days 
per fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) and will not exceed 
30 consecutive days in any single occurrence. Certain leaves 
of absence will be excluded from the annual 45-day limit as 
long as the leave does not exceed the 30-consecutive day 
limit and is included in the written individual habilitation 
plan. These exceptions are as follows: 
 i. - v. ... 

NOTE: Elopements and unauthorized absences under the 
individual habilitation plan count against allowable leave 
days. However, title XIX eligibility is not affected if the 
absence does not exceed 30 consecutive days and if the 
ICF/ID has not discharged the client. 

3. ... 
4. a period of 24 continuous hours or more shall be 

considered an absence. Likewise, a temporary leave of 
absence for hospitalization or a home visit is broken only if 
the client returns to the ICF/ID for 24 hours or longer; 

5. upon admission, a client must remain in the ICF/ID 
at least 24 continuous hours in order for the ICF/ID to 
submit a payment claim for a day of service or reserve a bed; 

EXAMPLE: A client admitted to an ICF/ID in the morning 
and transferred to the hospital that afternoon would not be 
eligible for any vendor payment for ICF/ID services. 

6. ... 
7. the ICF/ID shall promptly notify DHH of absences 

beyond the applicable 30- or 7-day limitations. Payment to 
the ICF/MR shall be terminated from the thirty-first or 
eighth day, depending upon the leave of absence. Payment 
will commence after the individual has been determined 
eligible for title XIX benefits and has remained in the 
ICF/ID for 30 consecutive days; 

8. the limit on title XIX payment for leave days does 
not mean that further leave days are prohibited when 
provided for in the individual habilitation plan. After the title 
XIX payment limit is met, further leave days may be 
arranged between the ICF/ID and the client, family or 
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responsible party. Such arrangements may include the 
following options. 

a. The ICF/ID may charge the client, family or 
responsible party an amount not to exceed the title XIX daily 
rate. 

b. The ICF/ID may charge the client, family or 
responsible party a portion of the title XIX daily rate. 

c. The ICF/ID may absorb the cost into its operation 
costs. 

B. Temporary Absence of the Client Due to Evacuations. 
When local conditions require evacuation of ICF/ID 
residents, the following procedures apply. 

1. When clients are evacuated to a family's or friend's 
home at the ICF/ID's request, the ICF/MR shall not submit a 
claim for a day of service or leave day, and the client's 
liability shall not be collected. 

2. When clients go home at the family's request or on 
their own initiative, a leave day shall be charged. 

3. When clients are admitted to the hospital for the 
purpose of evacuation of the ICF/ID, Medicaid payment 
shall not be made for hospital charges. 

4. - 5. Repealed. 
C. Payment Policy in regard to Date of Admission, 

Discharge, or Death 
1. Medicaid (title XIX) payments shall be made 

effective as of the admission date to the ICF/ID. If the client 
is medically certified as of that date and if either of the 
following conditions is met: 

a. the client is eligible for Medicaid benefits in the 
ICF/ID (excluding the medically needy); or 

b. the client was in a continuous institutional living 
arrangement (nursing home, hospital, ICF/ID, or a 
combination of these institutional living arrangements) for 
30 consecutive days; the client must also be determined 
financially eligible for medical assistance. 

2. The continuous stay requirement is: 
a. ... 
b. not interrupted by the client's absence from the 

ICF/ID when the absence is for hospitalization or leave of 
absence which is part of the written individual habilitation 
plan. 

3. The client's applicable income is applied toward the 
ICF/ID fee effective with the date Medicaid payment is to 
begin. 

4. - 5. ... 
NOTE: The ICF/ID shall promptly notify LDH/BHSF of 
admissions, death, and/or all discharges. 

D. Advance Deposits 
1. An ICF/ID shall neither require nor accept an 

advance deposit from an individual whose Medicaid (title 
XIX) eligibility has been established. 

EXCEPTION: An ICF/ID may require an advance deposit for 
the current month only on that part of the total payment which 
is the client's liability. 

2. ... 
E. Retroactive Payment. When individuals enter an 

ICF/ID before their Medicaid (title XIX) eligibility has been 
established payment for ICF/ID services is made retroactive 
to the first day of eligibility after admission. 

F. Timely Filing for Reimbursements. Vendor payments 
cannot be made if more than 12 months have elapsed 
between the month of initial services and submittal of a 
claim for these services. Exceptions for payments of claims 

over 12 months old can be made with authorization from 
LDH/BHSF only. 

G. Refunds to Clients 
1. When the ICF/ID receives vendor payments, it shall 

refund any fees for services collected from clients, family or 
responsible party by the end of the month in which vendor 
payment is received. 

2. Advance payments for a client's liability (applicable 
income) shall be refunded promptly if he/she leaves the 
ICF/ID.  

3. The ICF/ID shall adhere to the following 
procedures for refunds: 

a. The proportionate amount for the remaining days 
of the month shall be refunded to the client, family, or the 
responsible party no later than 30 days following the date of 
discharge. If the client has not yet been certified, the 
procedures spelled out in §33103.G.1 above shall apply. 

b. No penalty shall be charged to the client, family, 
or responsible party even if the circumstances surrounding 
the discharge occurred as follows: 
 i. - ii. ... 
 iii. within some other "minimum stay" period 
established by the ICF/ID. 

c. ... 
H. ICF/ID Refunds to the Department 

1. Nonparticipating ICF/ID. Vendor payments made 
for services performed while an ICF/ID is in a 
nonparticipating status with the Medicaid Program shall be 
refunded to the department. 

2. Participating ICF/ID. A currently participating title 
XIX, ICF/ID shall correct billing or payment errors by use of 
appropriate adjustment void or patient liability (PLI) 
adjustment forms. 

I. Sitters. An ICF/ID will neither expect nor require a 
client to have a sitter. However, the ICF/ID shall permit 
clients, families, or responsible parties directly to employ 
and pay sitters when indicated, subject to the following 
limitations: 

1. The use of sitters will be entirely at the client's, 
family’s, or responsible party's discretion. However, the 
ICF/ID shall have the right to approve the selection of a 
sitter. If the ICF/ID disapproves the selection of the sitter, 
the ICF/ID will provide written notification to the client, 
family, and/or responsible party, and to the department 
stating the reasons for disapproval. 

2. - NOTE. ... 
3. Payment to sitters is the direct responsibility of the 

ICF/ID facility when: 
a. - c. ... 

4. A sitter will be expected to abide by the ICF/ID's 
rules, including health standards and professional ethics. 

5. The presence of a sitter does not absolve the ICF/ID 
of its full responsibility for the client's care. 

6. The ICF/ID is not responsible for providing a sitter 
if one is required while the resident is on home leave. 

J. Tips. The ICF/ID shall not permit tips for services 
rendered by its employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
13:578 (October 1987), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
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Financing, LR 25:682 (April 1999), LR 31:1082 (May 2005), 
repromulgated LR 31:2257 (September 2005), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§33105. Evacuation and Temporary Sheltering Costs 

A. Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
intellectual disabilities required to participate in an 
evacuation, as directed by the appropriate parish or state 
official, or which act as a host shelter site may be entitled to 
reimbursement of its documented and allowable evacuation 
and temporary sheltering costs. 

1. The expense incurred must be in excess of any 
existing or anticipated reimbursement from any other 
sources, including the Federal Emergency Management 
Agency (FEMA) or its successor. 

2. ICFs/ID must first apply for evacuation or 
sheltering reimbursement from all other sources and request 
that the department apply for FEMA assistance on their 
behalf. 

3. ICFs/ID must submit expense and reimbursement 
documentation directly related to the evacuation or 
temporary sheltering of Medicaid residents to the 
department. 

B. Eligible Expenses. Expenses eligible for 
reimbursement must occur as a result of an evacuation and 
be reasonable, necessary, and proper. Eligible expenses are 
subject to audit at the department’s discretion and may 
include the following. 

1. Evacuation Expenses. Evacuation expenses include 
expenses from the date of evacuation to the date of arrival at 
a temporary shelter or another ICF/ID. Evacuation expenses 
include: 

a. resident transportation and lodging expenses 
during travel; 

b. nursing staff expenses when accompanying 
residents, including: 
 i. transportation; 
 ii. lodging; and 
 iii. additional direct care expenses, when a direct 
care expense increase of 10 percent or more is documented: 

(a). the direct care expense increase must be 
based on a comparison to the average of the previous two 
pay periods or other period comparisons determined 
acceptable by the department; 

c. any additional allowable costs that are directly 
related to the evacuation and that would normally be allowed 
under the ICF/ID rate methodology. 

2. Non-ICF/ID Facility Temporary Sheltering 
Expenses. Non-ICF/ID facility temporary sheltering 
expenses include expenses from the date the Medicaid 
residents arrive at a non-ICF/ID facility temporary shelter to 
the date all Medicaid residents leave the shelter. A non-
ICF/ID facility temporary shelter includes shelters that are 
not part of a licensed ICF/ID and are not billing for the 
residents under the ICF/ID reimbursement methodology or 
any other Medicaid reimbursement system. Non-ICF/ID 
facility temporary sheltering expenses may include: 

a. additional nursing staff expenses including: 
 i. lodging; and 

 ii. additional direct care expenses, when a direct 
care expense increase of 10 percent or more is documented: 

(a). the direct care expense increase must be 
based on a comparison to the average of the previous two 
pay periods or other period comparisons determined 
acceptable by the department; 

b. care-related expenses incurred in excess of care-
related expenses prior to the evacuation; 

c. additional medically necessary equipment such 
as beds and portable ventilators that are not available from 
the evacuating nursing facility and are rented or purchased 
specifically for the temporary sheltered residents; and 
 i. these expenses will be capped at a daily rental 
fee not to exceed the total purchase price of the item; 
 ii. the allowable daily rental fee will be 
determined by the department; 

d. any additional allowable costs as determined by 
the department and that are directly related to the temporary 
sheltering and that would normally be allowed under the 
ICF/ID reimbursement methodology. 

3. Host ICF/ID Temporary Sheltering Expenses. Host 
ICF/ID temporary sheltering expenses include expenses 
from the date the Medicaid residents are admitted to a 
licensed ICF/ID to the date all temporary sheltered Medicaid 
residents are discharged from the ICF/ID, not to exceed a 
six-month period. 

a. The host ICF/ID shall bill for the residents under 
Medicaid’s ICF/ID reimbursement methodology. 

b. Additional direct care expenses may be submitted 
when a direct care expense increase of 10 percent or more is 
documented. 
 i. The direct care expense increase must be based 
on a comparison to the average of the previous two pay 
periods or other period comparisons determined acceptable 
by the department. 

C. Payment of Eligible Expenses 
1. For payment purposes, total eligible Medicaid 

expenses will be the sum of nonresident-specific eligible 
expenses multiplied by the facility’s Medicaid occupancy 
percentage plus Medicaid resident-specific expenses. 

a. If Medicaid occupancy is not easily verified 
using the evacuation resident listing, the Medicaid 
occupancy from the most recently filed cost report will be 
used. 

2. Payments shall be made as quarterly lump-sum 
payments until all eligible expenses have been submitted and 
paid. Eligible expense documentation must be submitted to 
the department by the end of each calendar quarter. 

3. All eligible expenses documented and allowed 
under §33105 will be removed from allowable expenses 
when the ICF/ID’s Medicaid cost report is filed. These 
expenses will not be included in the allowable cost used to 
set ICF/ID reimbursement rates in future years. 

a. Equipment purchases that are reimbursed on a 
rental rate under §33105.B.2.c may have their remaining 
basis included as allowable cost on future costs reports 
provided that the equipment is in the ICF/ID and being used. 
If the remaining basis requires capitalization then 
depreciation will be recognized. 
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4. Payments shall remain under the upper payment 
limit cap for ICFs/ID. 

D. When an ICF/ID resident is evacuated to a temporary 
sheltering site (an unlicensed sheltering site or a licensed 
ICF/ID) for less than 24 hours, the Medicaid vendor 
payment to the evacuating facility will not be interrupted.  

E. When an ICF/ID resident is evacuated to a temporary 
sheltering site (an unlicensed sheltering site or a licensed 
NF) for greater than 24 hours, the evacuating ICF/ID may 
submit the claim for Medicaid vendor payment for a 
maximum of five days, provided that the evacuating ICF/ID 
provides sufficient staff and resources to ensure the delivery 
of essential care and services to the resident at the temporary 
shelter site. 

F. When an ICF/ID resident is evacuated to a temporary 
shelter site, which is an unlicensed sheltering site, for greater 
than five days, the evacuating ICF/ID may submit the claim 
for Medicaid vendor payment for up to an additional 15 
days, provided that the evacuating ICF/ID: 

1. has received an extension to stay at the unlicensed 
shelter site; and 

2. provides sufficient staff and resources to ensure the 
delivery of essential care and services to the resident, and to 
ensure the needs of the resident are met. 

G. When an ICF/ID resident is evacuated to a temporary 
shelter site, which is a licensed ICF/ID, for greater than five 
days, the evacuating ICF/ID may submit the claim for 
Medicaid vendor payment for an additional period, not to 
exceed 55 days, provided that: 

1. the host/receiving ICF/ID has sufficient licensed 
and certified bed capacity for the resident, or the 
host/receiving ICF/ID has received departmental and/or 
CMS approval to exceed the licensed and certified bed 
capacity for a specified period; and 

2. the evacuating ICF/ID provides sufficient staff and 
resources to ensure the delivery of essential care and 
services to the resident, and to ensure the needs of the 
resident are met. 

H. If an ICF/ID resident is evacuated to a temporary 
shelter site which is a licensed ICF/ID, the receiving/host 
ICF/ID may submit claims for Medicaid vendor payment 
under the following conditions: 

1. beginning day two and continuing during the 
"sheltering period" and any extension period, if the 
evacuating nursing home does not provide sufficient staff 
and resources to ensure the delivery of essential care and 
services to the resident and to ensure the needs of the 
residents are met; 

2. upon admission of the evacuated residents to the 
host/receiving ICF/ID; or 

3. upon obtaining approval of a temporary hardship 
exception from the department, if the evacuating ICF/ID is 
not submitting claims for Medicaid vendor payment. 

I. Only one ICF/ID may submit the claims and be 
reimbursed by the Medicaid Program for each Medicaid 
resident for the same date of service. 

J. An ICF/ID may not submit claims for Medicaid 
vendor payment for non-admitted residents beyond the 
expiration of its extension to exceed licensed (and/or 
certified) bed capacity or expiration of its temporary 
hardship exception. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#054 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 
Intellectual DisabilitiesPublic Facilities 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:VII.32969) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:VII.32969 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for public 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 
disabilities (ICFs/DD), hereafter referred to as intermediate 
care facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities 
(ICFs/ID), to establish a transitional Medicaid 
reimbursement rate for community homes that are being 
privatized (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 2). This 
Rule also adopted all of the provisions governing 
reimbursements to state-owned and operated facilities and 
quasi-public facilities in a codified format for inclusion in 
the Louisiana Administrative Code.  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the transitional rates for 
public facilities in order to redefine the period of transition 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 10). The 
department subsequently promulgated an Emergency Rule to 
assure compliance with the technical requirements of R.S. 
49:953, and to continue the provisions of the October 1, 
2013 Emergency Rule governing transitional rates for public 
facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 3). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for ICFs/ID to increase the add-on amount to the per diem 
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rate for the provider fee (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 3). 

Due to an increase in the add-on amount to the per diem 
rate for the provider fee, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the transitional rates for public facilities in order to increase 
the Medicaid reimbursement rate (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 40, Number 9). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the October 1, 
2014 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to protect 
the public health and welfare of Medicaid recipients 
transitioning from public ICFs/ID by ensuring continued 
provider participation in the Medicaid Program. 

Effective January 25, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for public 
intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter C. Public Facilities 
§32969. Transitional Rates for Public Facilities 

A. - F.4. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 

2014, the transitional Medicaid reimbursement rate shall be 
increased by $1.85 of the rate in effect on September 30, 
2014.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
39:326 (February 2013), amended LR 40:2588 (December 2014), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#055 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Evacuation and Temporary Sheltering Costs 

(LAC 50:II.20019) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:II.20019 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 

Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

In compliance with the directives of Act 540 of the 2006 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing adopted provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities to provide 
for the facility-specific reimbursement of documented and 
allowable evacuation and temporary sheltering costs of 
Medicaid-certified nursing facilities (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 38, Number 5). 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions of the May 20, 2008 Rule governing the 
reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities to amend 
the provisions governing evacuation and temporary 
sheltering costs in order to ensure that an evacuating nursing 
facility continues to receive vendor payments while 
providing essential care and services to residents at a host 
site when they are displaced (Louisiana Register, Volume 
42, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the October 13, 2016 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to avoid 
imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare of 
nursing facility residents by ensuring continued access to 
services during declared disasters. 

Effective February 11, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
facilities to revise the provisions governing evacuation and 
temporary sheltering costs during a declared disaster or 
emergency event. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20019. Evacuation and Temporary Sheltering Costs 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1319] 
A. - B.1.b.iii.(a). ... 

c. any additional allowable costs as defined in the 
CMS Publication 15-1-21, last modified 9/28/2012, that are 
directly related to the evacuation and that would normally be 
allowed under the nursing facility case-mix rate. 

2. - 2.a.ii.(a). ... 
b. care-related expenses as defined in LAC 

50:II.20005 and incurred in excess of care-related expenses 
prior to the evacuation; 

c. - c.ii. ... 
d. any additional allowable costs as defined in the 

CMS Publication 15-1-21, last modified 9/28/2012, that are 
directly related to the temporary sheltering and that would 
normally be allowed under the nursing facility case-mix rate. 

3. - 3.b.i. ... 
C. Payment of Eligible Expenses 

1. - 2. ... 
3. All eligible expenses documented and allowed 

under §20019 will be removed from allowable expenses 
when the nursing facility’s Medicaid cost report is filed. 
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These expenses will not be included in the allowable cost 
used to set case-mix reimbursement rates in future years. 

a. Equipment purchases that are reimbursed on a 
rental rate under §20019.B.2.c may have their remaining 
basis included as allowable cost on future costs reports 
provided that the equipment is in the nursing facility and 
being used. If the remaining basis requires capitalization 
under CMS Publication 15-1-21 guidelines, last modified 
9/28/2012, then depreciation will be recognized. 

4. ... 
D. When a nursing facility (NF) resident is evacuated to 

a temporary sheltering site (an unlicensed sheltering site or a 
licensed NF) for less than 24 hours, the Medicaid vendor 
payment to the evacuating facility will not be interrupted. 

E. When a NF resident is evacuated to a temporary 
shelter site (an unlicensed sheltering site or a licensed NF) 
for greater than 24 hours, the evacuating nursing facility 
may submit the claim for Medicaid vendor payment for a 
maximum of five days, provided that the evacuating nursing 
facility provides sufficient staff and resources to ensure the 
delivery of essential care and services to the resident at the 
temporary shelter site. 

F. When a NF resident is evacuated to a temporary 
shelter site, which is an unlicensed sheltering site, for greater 
than five days, the evacuating nursing facility may submit 
the claim for Medicaid vendor payment for up to an 
additional 15 days, provided that the evacuating nursing 
facility: 

1. has received an extension to stay at the unlicensed 
shelter site; and 

2. provides sufficient staff and resources to ensure the 
delivery of essential care and services to the resident, and to 
ensure the needs of the resident are met. 

G. When a NF resident is evacuated to a temporary 
shelter site, which is a licensed nursing home, for greater 
than five days, the evacuating nursing facility may submit 
the claim for Medicaid vendor payment for an additional 
period, not to exceed 55 days, provided that: 

1. the host/receiving nursing home has sufficient 
licensed and certified bed capacity for the resident, or the 
host/receiving nursing home has received departmental 
and/or CMS approval to exceed the licensed and certified 
bed capacity for a specified period; and 

2. the evacuating nursing facility provides sufficient 
staff and resources to ensure the delivery of essential care 
and services to the resident, and to ensure the needs of the 
resident are met. 

H. If a NF resident is evacuated to a temporary shelter 
site which is a licensed NF, the receiving/host nursing home 
may submit claims for Medicaid vendor payment under the 
following conditions: 

1. beginning day two and continuing during the 
"sheltering period" and any extension period, if the 
evacuating nursing home does not provide sufficient staff 
and resources to ensure the delivery of essential care and 
services to the resident and to ensure the needs of the 
residents are met; 

2. upon admission of the evacuated residents to the 
host/receiving nursing facility; or 

3. upon obtaining approval of a temporary hardship 
exception from the department, if the evacuating NF is not 
submitting claims for Medicaid vendor payment. 

I. Only one nursing facility may submit the claims and 
be reimbursed by the Medicaid Program for each Medicaid 
resident for the same date of service. 

J. A nursing facility may not submit claims for Medicaid 
vendor payment for non-admitted residents beyond the 
expiration of its extension to exceed licensed (and/or 
certified) bed capacity or expiration of its temporary 
hardship exception. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#056 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments for New Orleans Area Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.6121) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.6121 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ 
disapproval of the state plan amendment for the financing of 
the transition of the management and operation of certain 
children’s specialty hospitals from state-owned and operated 
to private partners, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which adopted a supplemental payment 
methodology for outpatient hospital services rendered by 
children’s specialty hospitals in the New Orleans area 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 2). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the
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provisions of the February 12, 2015 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient provider 
participation and continued access to inpatient hospital 
services through the maximization of federal dollars. 

Effective February 7, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions 
governing outpatient supplemental payments for outpatient 
hospital services rendered by children’s specialty hospitals in 
the New Orleans area. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospitals 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6121. Supplemental Payments for Children’s Specialty 

Hospitals in the New Orleans Area 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 12, 

2015, quarterly supplemental payments shall be made for 
outpatient hospital services rendered in a hospital in the New 
Orleans area that meets the following qualifying criteria per 
the as filed cost report in state fiscal year 2014: 

1. classified by Medicare as a specialty children’s 
hospital; 

2. has at least 100 full-time equivalent interns and 
residents; 

3. has at least 70 percent Medicaid inpatient days’ 
utilization rate; 

4. has at least 25,000 Medicaid inpatient days; and 
5. has a distinct part psychiatric unit. 

B. Supplemental payments for outpatient hospital 
services will be paid quarterly. The payments to the 
qualifying hospital(s) shall not exceed: 

1. the aggregate outpatient hospital upper payment 
limits for the classification of hospitals pursuant to 42 CFR 
447.321; and 

2. the budgeted state fiscal year supplemental 
payment amount included in the Annual Appropriation Act 
as allocated to this specific program in the budget spread 
pursuant to the department’s reimbursement methodology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#057 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments for Baton Rouge Area Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.6905) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.6905 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ 
disapproval of the state plan amendment for the financing of 
the transition of the management and operation of certain 
hospitals from state-owned and operated to private partners, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing outpatient hospital 
services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals in order 
to adopt a supplemental payment methodology for services 
provided by hospitals located in the Baton Rouge area 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 2). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the February 12, 2015 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient 
provider participation and continued access to outpatient 
hospital services through the maximization of federal 
dollars. 

Effective February 7, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for outpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals 
in the Baton Rouge area. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 69. Supplemental Payments 
§6905. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals in the Baton 

Rouge Area 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 12, 

2015, quarterly supplemental payments shall be made for 
outpatient hospital services rendered in a hospital in the 
Baton Rouge area that meets the following qualifying 
criteria per the as filed cost report ending state fiscal year 
2014: 

1. classified as a major teaching hospital; 
2. has at least 3,000 Medicaid deliveries, as verified 

per the Medicaid data warehouse; and 
3. has at least 45 percent Medicaid inpatient days 

utilization rate. 
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B. Supplemental payments for outpatient hospital 
services will be paid quarterly. The payments to the 
qualifying hospital(s) shall not exceed: 

1. the aggregate outpatient hospital upper payment 
limits for the classification of hospitals pursuant to 42 CFR 
447.321; and 

2. the budgeted state fiscal year supplemental 
payment amount included in the Annual Appropriation Act 
as allocated to this specific program in the budget spread 
pursuant to the department’s reimbursement methodology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#058 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments for Monroe Area Hospitals 
(LAC 50:V.6903) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.6903 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ 
disapproval of the state plan amendment for the financing of 
the transition of the management and operation of certain 
hospitals from state-owned and operated to private partners, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services rendered by 
non-rural, non-state hospitals in order to adopt a 
supplemental payment methodology for services provided

by hospitals located in LDH Administrative Region 8 in the 
Monroe area (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 2). 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the February 12, 2015 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient provider 
participation and continued access to outpatient hospital 
services through the maximization of federal dollars. 

Effective February 7, 2017, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts 
provisions governing supplemental payments for outpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals 
in the Monroe area. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 69. Supplemental Payments 
§6903. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals in the Monroe 

Area 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 12, 

2015, quarterly supplemental payments shall be made for 
outpatient hospital services rendered by a hospital in the 
Monroe area that meets the following qualifying criteria:  

1. inpatient acute hospital classified as a major 
teaching hospital; 

2. located in LDH administrative region 8 (lowest per 
capita income of any region per the 2010 U.S. Census 
Bureau records); and 

3. per the as filed fiscal year ending June 30, 2013 
cost report has: 

a. greater than 25 full-time equivalent interns and 
residents; 

b. at least 40 percent Medicaid inpatient days 
utilization; and 

c. a distinct part psychiatric unit. 
B. Supplemental payments for outpatient hospital 

services will be paid quarterly. The payments to the 
qualifying hospital(s) shall not exceed: 

1. the aggregate outpatient hospital upper payment 
limits for the classification of hospitals pursuant to 42 CFR 
447.321; and 

2. the budgeted state fiscal year supplemental 
payment amount included in the Annual Appropriation Act 
as allocated to this specific program in the budget spread 
pursuant to the department’s reimbursement methodology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017 26

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#059 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Methods of Payment 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing hereby rescinds the provisions of the November 1, 
2012 Emergency Rule which revised the reimbursement 
methodology for pharmacy services covered under the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254. 
This Emergency Rule was adopted on October 19, 2012 and 
published in the November 20, 2012 edition of the Louisiana 
Register. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing provides coverage and reimbursement for 
prescription drugs to Medicaid eligible recipients enrolled in 
the Medicaid Program. The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions of the 
September 5, 2012 Emergency Rule to further revise the 
provisions governing the methods of payment for 
prescription drugs and the dispensing fee (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 38, Number 11). 

Upon further consideration and consultation with the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) on the 
corresponding Medicaid state plan amendment, the 
department determined that it was necessary to rescind the 
provisions of the November 1, 2012 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for services 
rendered in the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program, 
and to return to the reimbursement rates in effect on 
September 5, 2012 which is consistent with the currently 
approved Medicaid state plan (Louisiana Register, Volume 
40, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the October 1, 2014 Emergency 
Rule.  

Effective January 25, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the 
Emergency Rule governing pharmacy services which 
appeared in the November 20, 2012 edition of the Louisiana 
Register on pages 2725-2728. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#060 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
State Supplemental Rebate Agreement Program 

(LAC 50:XXIX.Chapter 11) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:XXIX.Chapter 11 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing provides Medicaid coverage of prescription drugs 
through its Pharmacy Benefits Management Program. The 
department amended the provisions governing the Pharmacy 
Benefits Management Program in order to establish 
provisions for the Medicaid Program’s participation in The 
Optimal PDL $olution (TOP$) State Supplemental Rebate 
Agreement Program which is a multi-state Medicaid state 
supplemental drug rebate pooling initiative (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 39, Number 10). This program allows 
states to leverage their pharmaceutical purchasing power as 
a group to achieve more supplemental rebates than could be 
achieved independently. It is anticipated that this program 
will lower the net cost of brand drugs and the overall dollars 
spent on pharmacy benefits. The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule to assure compliance with the technical 
requirements of R.S. 49:953, and to continue the provisions 
of the October 1, 2013 Emergency Rule governing the 
Pharmacy Benefits Management Program which established 
provisions for the Medicaid Program’s participation in The 
Optimal PDL $olution (TOP$) State Supplemental Rebate 
Agreement Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 3). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the February 22, 2014 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs. 

Effective February 15, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the Medicaid coverage of prescription drugs to 
establish provisions for participation in TOP$ State 
Supplemental Rebate Agreement Program. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 11. State Supplemental Rebate Agreement 

Program 
§1101. General Provisions 

A. Effective October 1, 2013, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby establishes 
provisions for participation in The Optimal PDL $olution 
(TOP$) State Supplemental Rebate Agreement (SRA) 
Program. TOP$ is a multi-state Medicaid state supplemental 
drug rebate pooling initiative approved by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services and administered by 
Provider Synergies, L.L.C/Magellan Medicaid 
Administration. The purpose of this program is to allow 
states the opportunity to leverage their pharmaceutical 
purchasing power as a group to achieve more supplemental 
rebates and discounts from prescription drug companies than 
could be achieved independently. 

B. Pursuant to R.S. 46:153.3, the department shall enter 
into a contractual agreement with Provider Synergies to 
participate in TOP$. Provider Synergies/Magellan Medicaid 
Administration will act on the department’s behalf to 
provide the necessary administration services relative to this 
agreement for the provision of state supplemental drug 
rebate contracting and preferred drug list administration 
services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#061 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Added Controlled Dangerous Substances 
(LAC 46:LIII.2704) 

The Department of Health, Office of Public Health 
(LDH/OPH), pursuant to the rulemaking authority granted to 
the Secretary of LDH by R.S. 40:962(C) and (H), hereby 
adopts the following Emergency Rule for the protection of 
public health. This rule is being promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Act or until adoption of a final Rule, whichever 
occurs first. 

Based on the criteria, factors, and guidance set forth in 
R.S. 40:962(C) and 40:963, the secretary, under this 

rulemaking, has determined that the below listed substances 
have a high potential for abuse and should be scheduled as 
controlled dangerous substances to avoid an imminent peril 
to the public health, safety, or welfare. In reaching the 
decision to designate the below listed substances as 
controlled dangerous substances under Schedule I, the 
secretary has considered the criteria provided under R.S. 
40:963 and the specific factors listed under R.S. 40:962(C). 
The Ssecretary has determined that Schedule I is the most 
appropriate due to her findings that the substances added 
herein have a high potential for abuse, the substances have 
no currently accepted medical use for treatment in the 
United States, and there is a lack of accepted safety for use 
of the substances under medical supervision. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 27. Controlled Dangerous Substances 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§2704. Added Controlled Dangerous Substances 

A. The following drugs or substances are added to 
Schedule I of the Louisiana Uniform Controlled Dangerous 
Substances Law, R.S. 40:961 et seq.: 

1. - 2. … 
3. acrylfentanyl (N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-

phenylacrylamide); 
4. etizolam. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:962, R.S. 40:963, and R.S. 49:953(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 

 
Rebekah Gee, M.D. 
Secretary 

1701#018 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants 
and Children (WIC) 

(LAC 48:V.4101, 4103, 4301, 4303, 4305, 4307, 
4309, 4501, 4503, 4505, 4507, 4509, 4511, 4513) 

Under the authority of R.S. 46:972 and in accordance with 
the emergency rulemaking provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
the Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that 
the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health 
(LDH-OPH), amends Subpart 15 [Supplemental Food 
Services for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC)] of Part V 
(Preventive Health Services) of Title 48 (Public Health—
General) of the Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC).  

These amendments are necessary to ensure that the State 
of Louisiana remains in compliance with applicable federal 
regulations of the United States Department of Agriculture 
(USDA). Failure to timely adopt such amendments may 
cause federal monetary sanctions to be imposed against the 
Louisiana WIC program. The effective date of this 
Emergency Rule is January 29, 2017 and, unless terminated 
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earlier, it shall remain in effect for the maximum time period 
allowed under law. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part V.  Preventive Health Services 
Subpart 15.  Special Supplemental Nutrition Program 

for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) 
Chapter 41. General Provisions 
§4101. Purpose and Scope 

A. The purpose of LAC 48:V.Subpart 15 is to adopt 
applicable and corresponding state regulations enacted under 
the authority of the federal Secretary of Agriculture in order 
to implement the federal Special Supplemental Nutrition 
Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC program) 
within the State of Louisiana. Section 17 of the Child 
Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 U.S.C. 1786), as amended, states 
in part that “Congress finds that substantial numbers of 
pregnant, postpartum, and breastfeeding women, infants, and 
young children from families with inadequate income are at 
special risk with respect to their physical and mental health 
by reason of inadequate nutrition or health care, or both. It 
is, therefore, the purpose of the program to provide 
supplemental foods and nutrition education, including 
breastfeeding promotion and support, through any eligible 
local agency that applies for participation in the program. 
The program shall serve as an adjunct to good health care, 
during critical times of growth and development, to prevent 
the occurrence of health problems, including drug abuse, and 
improve the health status of these persons." The program 
shall be supplementary to the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP); any program under which 
foods are distributed to needy families in lieu of SNAP 
benefits; and, receipt of food or meals from soup kitchens, or 
shelters, or other forms of emergency food assistance. 

B. The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for 
Women, Infants and Children (WIC), also hereinafter known 
as “program” or “the program”, provides supplemental foods 
and nutrition education, including breastfeeding promotion 
and support, for women, infants and children. It is federally 
funded through the U.S. Department of Agriculture via cash 
grants to state agencies which administer the program. The 
Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health, 
Center for Community and Preventive Health, Bureau of 
Nutrition Services, shall be responsible for the 
administration of the program in Louisiana. Extensive 
regulations have been published by the Food and Nutrition 
Service (FNS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 7 
CFR Part 246. Federal regulations stipulate participation 
requirements, length of certifications, certification processes 
and standards, participant responsibilities and participant 
grievance rights. If there is a conflict with any portion of 
LAC 48:V.Subpart 15 and 7 CFR Part 246, the provisions of 
7 CFR Part 246 shall supersede the provisions of LAC 
48:V.Subpart 15. 

C. The annual Louisiana WIC program state plan, 
including a comprehensive policy and procedure manual, is 
available for review by any interested party at both of the 
Bureau of Nutrition Services offices in Louisiana, as 
follows: Room 828, 628 North 4th Street, Baton Rouge, 
Louisiana 70802 and Suite 1906, 1450 Poydras Street, New 
Orleans, Louisiana 70112. 

D. As described in 7 CFR Part 246, the agency is to 
provide supplemental foods and nutrition education, 
including breastfeeding promotion and support, to 
categorically eligible participants who are income eligible 
and found to be at nutritional risk. The program shall serve 
as an adjunct to good health care during critical times of 
growth and development, in order to prevent the occurrence 
of health problems, including drug and other harmful 
substance abuse, and to improve the health status of these 
persons. The WIC state agency is responsible for providing 
services to as many eligible participants as funding allows. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
Part 246, P. L. 95-627, and 41 USC 1786. Promulgated in 
accordance with R.S. 46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4103. Definitions 

A. The following words and terms are defined for the 
purposes of this Subpart and for all contracts, guidelines, 
instructions, forms and other documents related hereto.  

B. Above-50-Percent (A50) Vendors—vendors that 
derive more than 50 percent of their annual food sales 
revenue from WIC food instruments, and new vendor 
applicants expected to meet this criterion under guidelines 
approved by FNS. A50 vendors are subject to payment 
limitations that ensure that the prices of A50 vendors do not 
result in higher total food costs if program participants 
transact their food instruments at A50 vendors rather than at 
non-A50 (“regular”) vendors. 

Administrative Review—a procedure by which a vendor 
may appeal an adverse action by the state agency. 

Applicants—pregnant women, breastfeeding women, 
postpartum women, infants, and children who are applying 
to receive WIC benefits, and the breastfed infants of 
applicant breastfeeding women. Applicants include 
individuals who are currently participating in the program 
but are re-applying because their certification period is about 
to expire. 

Authorized Supplemental Foods/WIC-Approved 
Foods—those supplemental foods authorized by the state 
agency for issuance to participants.  

Authorized WIC Vendor (Vendor)—a retail grocery store 
that has submitted a complete WIC vendor application and 
any required supporting documentation, passed a pre-
authorization on-site review, completed a training program, 
signed a formal vendor agreement binding the vendor to 
follow all WIC rules and policies upon authorization, and 
received a signed authorization letter from the Louisiana 
WIC program. Only authorized WIC vendors may transact 
WIC food instruments (FIs)/cash-value vouchers (CVVs). 

Breastfeeding—the practice of feeding a mother's 
breastmilk to her infant(s) on an average frequency of at 
least once a day. 

Breastfeeding Women—women up to one year 
postpartum who are breastfeeding their infants. 

Cash-Value Voucher (CVV)—a fixed-dollar amount 
check, voucher, electronic benefit transfer (EBT) card or 
other document which is used by a participant to obtain 
authorized fruits and vegetables. 
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Categorical Eligibility—persons who meet the 
definitions of pregnant women, breastfeeding women, 
postpartum women, infants or children. 

Certification—the implementation of criteria and 
procedures to assess and document each applicant's 
eligibility for the program. 

Change of Location—the move of a WIC vendor from 
one physical address to another address. 

Change of Ownership—a change that results when all of 
the assets of the store are sold or transferred to a new owner 
or business entity. This includes adding a new partner(s). 

Children—persons who have had their first birthday but 
have not yet attained their fifth birthday. 

Clinic—a facility where applicants are certified. 
CMP—civil money penalty. 
Competent Professional Authority—an individual on the 

staff of the local agency authorized to determine nutritional 
risk and prescribe supplemental foods. The following 
persons are the only persons the state agency may authorize 
to serve as a competent professional authority: physicians, 
nutritionists (bachelor's or master's degree in nutritional 
sciences, community nutrition, clinical nutrition, dietetics, 
public health nutrition or home economics with emphasis in 
nutrition), dieticians, registered nurses, physician's assistants 
(certified by the National Committee on Certification of 
Physician's Assistants or certified by the state medical 
certifying authority), or state or local medically trained 
health officials. This definition also applies to an individual 
who is not on the staff of the local agency but who is 
qualified to provide data upon which nutritional risk 
determinations are made by a competent professional 
authority on the staff of the local agency. 

Competitive Price Criteria (CPC)—price level at or 
below which WIC-approved foods shall be priced in order 
for a vendor applicant to be considered for authorization. 
The state agency determines CPC for each WIC-approved 
food item based on shelf prices for vendors within each peer 
group of regular vendors. CPC varies by vendor peer group. 
All vendors are subject to the CPC at all times in order to 
ensure that vendors do not raise prices, subsequent to 
selection, to a level that would make such vendors ineligible 
for authorization. 

Confidentiality—in the context of the WIC program, not 
using or disclosing any confidential applicant, participant or 
vendor information gathered as a result of participation in 
the WIC program. Confidential applicant and participant 
information is any information about an applicant or 
participant, whether it is obtained from the applicant or 
participant, another source, or generated as a result of WIC 
application, certification, or participation, that individually 
identifies an applicant or participant and/or family 
member(s). Applicant or participant information is 
confidential, regardless of the original source. Vendors are 
required to keep confidential the customer’s eligibility for 
and receipt of WIC benefits. Confidential vendor 
information is any information about a vendor (whether it is 
obtained from the vendor or another source) that 
individually identifies the vendor, except for vendor's name, 
address, telephone number, web site/e-mail address, store 
type, and authorization status. 

Corrective Action Plan (CAP)—any plan developed by 
the state agency, or by a vendor and approved by the state 

agency, to correct deficiencies identified by the state agency 
in a vendor’s compliance with WIC rules, regulations, 
policies, and/or procedures. Vendors shall implement CAPs 
when required by the state agency. CAPs may include, but 
are not limited to, requirements to provide store personnel or 
stock rotation training and/or to correct inappropriate WIC 
FI/CVV processing procedures used by the vendor. 

CSFP—the Commodity Supplemental Food Program 
administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, 
authorized by section 4 of the Agriculture and Consumer 
Protection Act of 1973 [7 U.S.C. 1431(a)], as amended, and 
governed by 7 CFR Part 247. 

Days—calendar days. 
Disqualification—the act of ending the program 

participation of a participant, or authorized state or local 
agency, whether as a punitive sanction or for administrative 
reasons and the act of ending program participation of an 
authorized WIC vendor for violations of the vendor 
agreement and/or federal or state rules, regulations or policy 
governing the WIC program.  

Documentation—the presentation of written documents 
which substantiate oral, written, or electronic statements 
made by an applicant or participant or a person applying on 
behalf of an applicant or a vendor. 

Drug— 
a. beverage containing alcohol; 
b. controlled substance (having the meaning given it 

in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (21 
U.S.C. 802(6)), as amended; or 

c. controlled substance analogue (having the 
meaning given it in section 102 of the Controlled Substances 
Act of 1970 [21 U.S.C. 802(32)], as amended. 

Dual Participation—simultaneous participation in the 
program in more than one WIC clinic, or participation in the 
program and in the CSFP during the same period of time. 

Electronic Signature—an electronic sound, symbol, or 
process, attached to or associated with an application or 
other record and executed and or adopted by a person with 
the intent to sign the record. 

Family—a group of related or nonrelated individuals 
who are living together as one economic unit, except that 
residents of a homeless facility or an institution shall not all 
be considered as members of a single family. 

FNS—the Food and Nutrition Service of the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture. 

Food Costs—the costs of supplemental foods, 
determined in accordance with 7 CFR §246.14(b). 

Food Delivery System—the method used by state and 
local agencies to provide supplemental foods to participants. 

Food Instrument (FI)—a voucher, check, electronic 
benefits transfer (EBT) card, coupon or other document that 
is used by a participant to obtain WIC-approved foods. 

Food Package—WIC eligible food items listed on WIC 
food instruments in designated quantities. 

Food Sales—sales of all SNAP eligible foods intended 
for home preparation and consumption, including meat, fish, 
and poultry; bread and cereal products; dairy products; and 
fruits and vegetables. Food items such as condiments and 
spices, coffee, tea, cocoa, and carbonated and noncarbonated 
drinks may be included in food sales when offered for sale 
along with foods in the categories identified above. Food 
sales do not include sales of any items that cannot be 
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purchased with SNAP benefits, such as hot foods or food 
that will be eaten in the store. 

Fraud and Abuse—conduct that violates WIC program 
rules, regulations, policies, and/or procedures, including, but 
not limited to, those violations leading to disqualification, as 
identified in the sanction schedule. 

Full-Line Grocery Store—a retail food store/market (as 
defined under LAC 51:XXIII.101.A.) that stocks, and has on 
hand at all times, at least: 

a. 5 varieties of cereal with 5 or more units of each 
variety; 

b. 3 varieties of bread or tortillas with 5 or more 
units of each variety;  

c. 4 varieties of fresh fruits with at least 5 units of 
each variety;  

d. 4 varieties of fresh vegetables with at least 5 
units of each variety; and  

e. 4 varieties of fresh or frozen meat, poultry or fish 
with at least 5 units of each variety.  

f. 2 varieties of rice with 6 or more units of each 
variety 

Health Services—ongoing, routine pediatric and 
obstetric care (such as infant and child care and prenatal and 
postpartum examinations) or referral for treatment. 

Homeless Facility—the following types of facilities 
which provide meal service: 

a. a supervised publicly or privately operated 
shelter (including a welfare hotel or congregate shelter) 
designed to provide temporary living accommodations;  

b. a facility that provides a temporary residence for 
individuals intended to be institutionalized; or 

c. a public or private place not designed for, or 
normally used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 
human beings. 

Homeless Individual—a woman, infant or child:  
a. who lacks a fixed and regular nighttime 

residence; or  
b. whose primary nighttime residence is:  

 i. a supervised publicly or privately operated 
shelter (including a welfare hotel, a congregate shelter, or a 
shelter for victims of domestic violence) designated to 
provide temporary living accommodation;  
 ii. an institution that provides a temporary 
residence for individuals intended to be institutionalized;  
 iii. a temporary accommodation of not more than 
365 days in the residence of another individual; or  
 iv. a public or private place not designed for, or 
ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 
human beings.  

Incentive Items/Incentives—any goods or services 
provided as inducements to shop in a grocery store or recruit 
customers.  

Infant Formula—a food that meets the definition of an 
infant formula in section 201of the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act of 1938 (21 U.S.C. 321(z)), as amended, and 
that meets the requirements for an infant formula under 
section 412 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act of 
1938 (21 U.S.C. 350a), as amended, and the regulations at 
21 CFR Parts 106 and 107.  

Institution—any residential accommodation which 
provides meal service, except private residences and 
homeless facilities. 

Infants—persons under 1 year of age. 
Judicial Review—the procedure by which a vendor may 

appeal a decision rendered at an administrative review, or a 
participant may appeal a decision rendered at a fair hearing. 

Local Agency—A public or private, nonprofit or human 
service agency which provides health services, either 
directly or through contract, in accordance with 7 CFR 
§246.5. 

Maximum Allowable Reimbursement Level (MARL)—
the highest reimbursement amount for each FI for each peer 
group that the state agency may pay. The state agency 
determines a MARL for every WIC FI. Any FI that is 
submitted with a price higher than MARL shall be reduced 
through the Automated Clearing House (ACH) process.  

Migrant Farmworker—an individual whose principal 
employment is in agriculture on a seasonal basis, who has 
been so employed within the last 24 months, and who 
establishes, for the purposes of such employment, a 
temporary abode. 

Non A50 Vendors−see Regular Vendors (Non-A50). 
Nonprofit Agency—a private agency which is exempt 

from federal income tax under the Internal Revenue Code of 
1954, (Title 26 of the U.S.C.), as amended. 

Nutrition Education—individual and group sessions and 
the provision of materials that are designed to improve 
health status and achieve positive change in dietary and 
physical activity habits, and that emphasize the relationship 
between nutrition, physical activity, and health, all in 
keeping with the personal and cultural preferences of the 
individual. 

Nutritional Risk— 
a. detrimental abnormal nutritional conditions 

detectable by biochemical or anthropometric measurements; 
b. other documented nutritionally related medical 

conditions; 
c. dietary deficiencies that impair or endanger 

health; 
d. conditions that directly affect the nutritional 

health of a person, including alcoholism or drug abuse; or 
e. conditions that predispose persons to inadequate 

nutritional patterns or nutritionally related medical 
conditions, including, but not limited to, homelessness and 
migrancy. 

Other Harmful Substances—other substances such as 
tobacco, prescription drugs and over-the-counter 
medications that can be harmful to the health of the WIC 
population, especially the pregnant woman and her fetus. 

Participant Access—the ability of a WIC participant to 
adequately access WIC-approved foods through the state 
agency’s selection and authorization of an appropriate 
number and distribution of vendors consistent with ensuring 
effective state agency management, oversight, and review of 
its authorized vendors. The state agency has established 
participant access criteria in accordance with WIC 
regulations at 7 CFR Part 246. 

Participant Violation—any intentional or unintentional 
action of a participant, caregiver or a proxy that violates 
federal or state statutes, regulations, policies or procedures 
governing the program. 

Participants—pregnant women, breastfeeding women, 
postpartum women, infants and children up to their fifth 
birthday who are currently enrolled in the WIC program and 
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are receiving supplemental foods under the program, and the 
breastfed infants of participant breastfeeding women. 

Participation—the sum of the number of: 
a. persons who received supplemental foods or food 

instruments during the reporting period; 
b. infants who did not receive supplemental foods 

or food instruments but whose breastfeeding mother 
received supplemental foods or food instruments during the 
report period; and 

c. breastfeeding women who did not receive 
supplemental foods or food instruments but whose infant 
received supplemental foods or food instruments during the 
report period. 

Peer Group—a group of vendors that is based on 
common characteristics or criteria that affect food prices. 
Vendors are grouped for management and cost containment 
purposes including, but not limited to, establishing and 
applying appropriate competitive price criteria (CPC) and 
MARLs to vendors. 

Postpartum Women—usually, women up to 6 months 
after termination of pregnancy; however, this term shall also 
be apply to breastfeeding women up to 1 year after 
termination of pregnancy. 

Pregnant Women—women determined to have one or 
more embryos or fetuses in utero. 

Price Adjustment—an adjustment made by the state 
agency, in accordance with the vendor agreement, to the 
purchase price on a food instrument after it has been 
submitted by a vendor for redemption. Price adjustments are 
made to ensure that the payment to the vendor for the food 
instrument complies with the state agency's price limitations. 

Program—WIC (unless the context in which this word 
is used in this Subpart clearly indicates otherwise). 

Proxy—any person designated by a woman participant, 
or by a parent or caretaker of an infant or child participant, 
to obtain and transact FIs and CVVs and/ or to obtain WIC-
approved foods on behalf of a participant. The proxy shall be 
designated consistent with the state agency's procedures 
established pursuant to 7 CFR §246.12(r)(1). Parents or 
caretakers applying on behalf of child and infant participants 
are not proxies. 

Regular Vendors (Non-A50)—vendors that do not meet 
the above-50-percent (A50) vendor’s criterion, as defined 
elsewhere in this Subsection. 

Reimbursement—the payment received by vendors after 
completing the routine process of depositing an FI or CVV 
into the banking system and the payment that may be 
received through the procedure an authorized vendor may 
use to request payment from the state agency when an FI or 
CVV has been refused by the bank or state agency. The state 
agency only reimburses vendors up to the applicable 
maximum allowable reimbursement level (MARL) for valid 
FIs and CVVs. 

Sanctions—actions taken by the state agency when an 
authorized vendor fails to comply with WIC program rules, 
regulations, policies and/or procedures. Actions include, but 
are not limited to, CAPs, training requirements, termination 
of agreements, disqualifications or civil money penalties 
(CMPs), and fines. 

Secretary—the Secretary of the United States 
Department of Agriculture. 

Sign or Signature—a handwritten signature on paper or 
an electronic signature. If the state agency chooses to use 
electronic signatures, the state agency shall ensure the 
reliability and integrity of the technology used and the 
security and confidentiality of electronic signatures collected 
in accordance with sound management practices, and 
applicable Federal law and policy, and the confidentiality 
provisions at 7 CFR §246.26. 

State—the State of Louisiana. 
State Agency—the State of Louisiana, Louisiana 

Department of Health, Office of Public Health, Center for 
Community and Preventive Health. 

State Plan—a plan of program operation and 
administration that describes the manner in which the state 
agency intends to implement and operate all aspects of 
program administration within its jurisdiction in accordance 
with 7 CFR §246.4. 

Supplemental Foods—those foods containing nutrients 
determined by nutritional research to be lacking in the diets 
of pregnant, breastfeeding and postpartum women, infants, 
and children, and foods that promote the health of the 
population served by the WIC program as indicated by 
relevant nutrition science, public health concerns, and 
cultural eating patterns, as prescribed by the Secretary in 7 
CFR §246.10. 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)—
the program authorized by the Food and Nutrition Act of 
2008 (7 U.S.C. 2011, et seq.), in which eligible households 
receive benefits that can be used to purchase food items 
from authorized retail stores and farmers' markets (formerly 
known as the Food Stamp Program). 

Termination—the ending of a vendor agreement by the 
state agency for administrative reasons. 

USDA—the United States Department of Agriculture. 
Vendor—a sole proprietorship, partnership, cooperative 

association, corporation, or other business entity operating 
one or more stores authorized by the state agency to provide 
authorized supplemental foods to participants under a retail 
food delivery system. Each store operated by a business 
entity constitutes a separate vendor and shall be authorized 
separately from other stores operated by the business entity. 
Each store shall have a single, fixed location, except when 
the authorization of mobile stores is necessary to meet the 
special needs described in the state agency's state plan in 
accordance with 7 CFR §246.4(a)(14)(xiv).  

Vendor Agreement—a document that is a legally binding 
agreement between an authorized vendor and the WIC 
program. 

Vendor Authorization—the process by which the state 
agency assesses, selects, and enters into agreements with 
stores that apply or subsequently reapply to be authorized as 
vendors.  

Vendor Limiting Criteria—criteria established by the 
state agency to determine the maximum number and 
distribution of vendors it authorizes pursuant to 7 CFR 
§246.12(g)(2).  

Vendor Number—a distinctive five digit number 
assigned to each authorized vendor. 

Vendor Overcharge—any intentional or unintentional 
charge for supplemental foods to the state agency for more 
than is permitted under the vendor agreement. It is not a
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vendor overcharge when a vendor submits a food instrument 
for redemption in accordance with the vendor agreement and 
the state agency makes a price adjustment to the food 
instrument. 

Vendor Portal—a web-based application maintained by 
the state agency that serves as the primary point of contact 
for all Louisiana vendors and contains the WIC vendor price 
reporting system. 

Vendor Selection Criteria—the criteria established by 
the state agency to select individual vendors for 
authorization consistent with the requirements in 7 CFR 
§246.12(g)(3) and (g)(4) and found in Section 4503 of this 
Subpart.  

Vendor Violation—any intentional or unintentional 
action of a vendor's current owners, officers, managers, 
agents, or employees (with or without the knowledge of 
management) that violates the vendor agreement or federal 
or state statutes, regulations, policies, or procedures 
governing the program. 

WICWIC program. 
WIC-Approved Foods (Authorized Supplemental 

Foods)—those supplemental foods authorized by the state 
agency for issuance to participants.  

WIC Program—the Special Supplemental Nutrition 
Program for Women, Infants and Children authorized by 
section 17 of the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 U.S.C. 
1786), as amended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health Office of Public Health, LR 14:868 
(December 1988), amended by the Department of Health, Office of 
Public Health, LR 43: 
Chapter 43. Participant Eligibility 
§4301. Integration with Health Services 

A. To lend administrative efficiency and participant 
convenience to the certification process, whenever possible, 
program intake procedures shall be combined with intake 
procedures for other health programs or services 
administered by the state and local agencies. Such merging 
may include verification procedures, certification interviews, 
and income computations. Local agencies shall maintain and 
make available for distribution to all pregnant, postpartum, 
and breastfeeding women, and to parents or caretakers of 
infants and children, any of whom are applying for and 
participating in the program, a list of local counseling and 
treatment resources for drug and other harmful substance 
abuse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4303. Eligibility Criteria 

A. To be certified as eligible for the WIC program, 
applicants shall: 

1. reside within the jurisdiction of the state, however, 
length of residency is not an eligibility requirement; 

2. meet the income requirement as described in 
Subsection B of this Section; and 

3. meet nutritional risk criteria as described in 
Subparagraph d (priority IV) of Paragraph 3 of Subsection C 
of this Section and in the state plan. 

B. Income Criteria and Income Eligibility Determination 
1. Income criteria for the program is established at 

185 percent of poverty level (U. S. Department of Health 
and Human Services) as issued annually by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, Bureau of 
Nutrition Services. This shall have an effective date of no 
later than July 1st annually. 

2. The state agency shall ensure that WIC clinics and 
local agencies determine income through the use of a clear 
and simple application form provided or approved by the 
state agency. Routine verification of income and/or a random 
selection to verify participant income is at the discretion of 
the state agency. Documentation of an applicant's 
participation in other agency-administered programs which 
routinely verify income, such as Medicaid, Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) or Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) may be accepted 
provided those programs have income guidelines at or below 
the WIC program guidelines. 

C. Nutritional Risk. A competent professional authority 
shall determine if a participant is at nutritional risk through a 
medical and/or nutritional assessment. This determination 
may be based on referral data by an applicant or participant’s 
medical provider. 

1. determination of nutritional risk. At a minimum, 
height or length and weight of the participant shall be 
measured, and a hematological test for anemia such as a 
hemoglobin, hematocrit or free erythrocyte protoporphyrin 
test shall be performed. However, such tests are not required 
for infants under 9 months of age. 

2. appropriate nutritional risk codes, as specified in 
the state plan and as summarized in Paragraph 3 of this 
Subsection, shall be documented at each 
certification/recertification visit. 

3. nutritional Risk Priority System. The state agency 
shall, in the event that statewide participation has reached 
the maximum level, fill vacancies according to the federally 
mandated priority system. In the event a priority level must 
be partially closed, subpriorities are described in the state 
plan as approved by USDA. Priority levels are identified as 
follows. 

a. Priority I consists of pregnant women, 
breastfeeding women and infants at nutritional risk as 
demonstrated by hematological or anthropometric 
measurements, or other documented nutritionally related 
medical conditions which demonstrate the need for 
supplemental foods. 

b. Priority II consists of (except those infants who 
qualify for Priority I) infant up to 6 months of age born of 
women who participated in the program during pregnancy, 
and infants up to 6 months of age born of women who were 
not program participants during pregnancy but whose 
medical records document that they were at nutritional risk 
during pregnancy due to nutritional conditions detectable by 
biochemical or anthropometric measurements or other 
documented nutritionally related medical conditions which 
demonstrated the person's need for supplemental foods. 

c. Priority III consists of children at nutritional risk 
as demonstrated by hematological or anthropometric 
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measurements or other documented medical conditions 
which demonstrate the child's need for supplemental foods. 

d. Priority IV consists of pregnant women, 
breastfeeding women, and infants at nutritional risk because 
of an inadequate dietary pattern. 

e. Priority V consists of children at nutritional risk 
because of an inadequate dietary pattern. 

f. Priority VI consists of postpartum women at 
nutritional risk. 

g. Priority VII consists of individuals certified for 
WIC solely due to homelessness or migrancy and, at state 
agency option, previously certified participants who might 
regress in nutritional status without continued provision of 
supplemental foods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health Office of Public Health, LR 14:868 
(December 1988), amended by the Department of Health, Office of 
Public Health, LR 43: 
§4305. Timeframes for Processing Applicants 

A. When the WIC clinic or local agency is not serving its 
maximum caseload, the local agency shall accept 
applications, make eligibility determinations, notify the 
applicants of the decisions made and, if the applicants are to 
be enrolled, issue food, cash-value vouchers or food 
instruments. All of these actions shall be accomplished 
within the timeframes set forth below. 

1. The processing timeframes shall begin when the 
individual visits the local agency during clinic office hours 
to make an oral or written request for benefits.  

2. Special nutritional risk applicants shall be notified 
of their eligibility or ineligibility within 10 days of the date 
of the first request for program benefits; except that state 
agencies may provide an extension of the notification period 
to a maximum of 15 days for those local agencies which 
make written request, including a justification of the need 
for an extension. The state agency shall establish criteria for 
identifying categories of persons at special nutritional risk 
who require expedited services. At a minimum, however, 
these categories shall include pregnant women eligible as 
Priority I participants, and migrant farmworkers and their 
family members who soon plan to leave the jurisdiction of 
the local agency. 

3. All other applicants shall be notified of their 
eligibility or ineligibility within 20 days of the first date of 
the request for program benefits. 

4. Each WIC clinic or local agency using a retail 
purchase system shall issue a food instrument(s) and if 
applicable a cash-value voucher(s) to the participant at the 
same time as notification of certification. Such food 
instrument(s) and cash-value voucher(s) shall provide 
benefits for the current month or the remaining portion 
thereof and shall be redeemable immediately upon receipt by 
the participant. Local agencies may mail the initial food 
instrument(s) and, if applicable, cash-value voucher(s) with 
the notification of certification to those participants who 
meet the criteria for the receipt of food instruments through 
the mail, as provided in 7 CFR §246.12(r)(4). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4307. Certification Periods 

A. Program benefits shall be based upon certifications 
established in accordance with the following timeframes: 

1. Pregnant women shall be certified for the duration 
of their pregnancy and for up to 6 weeks postpartum. 

2. Postpartum women shall be certified for up to 6 
months postpartum. 

3. Breastfeeding women shall be certified at intervals 
of approximately 6 months and ending with the breastfed 
infant's first birthday. 

4. Infants shall be certified up until their first birthday. 
5. Children shall be certified at intervals of 

approximately 6 months and ending with the end of the 
month in which a child reaches its fifth birthday. 

B. Upon request, participants shall receive verification of 
certification when transferring to another WIC program out 
of state. 

C. If the nutritional risk determination is based on data 
taken before the time of entrance into the Program, the 
certification period for breastfeeding women and children 
shall be based upon the date when the data was first taken. 

D. Participants receiving Program benefits may be 
disqualified during a certification period for the following 
reasons. 

1. Participant violation including, but not limited to, 
intentionally making false or misleading statements or 
intentionally misrepresenting, concealing, or withholding 
facts to obtain benefits; exchanging CVVs, FIs, or WIC-
approved foods for cash, credit, non-food items, or 
unauthorized food items, including WIC-approved foods in 
excess of those listed on the participant’s FI; threatening to 
harm or physically harming vendor staff; or making a 
written, electronic, or verbal offer to sell WIC benefits, 
including WIC-approved foods, FIs, CVVs, and/or EBT 
cards, or allowing someone else to do so. 

2. If the state agency experiences funding shortages, it 
may be necessary to discontinue program benefits to a 
number of certified and participating participants. The state 
agency shall not enroll new participants during the period 
when currently participating participants, those who have 
received benefits during a current certification, are denied 
remaining benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4309. Participant Rights and 

Responsibilities/Notification/Fair Hearing 
A. Participant Rights and Responsibilities. All applicants 

shall read or have read to them the programs’ rights and 
responsibilities statement, including the restriction of dual 
participation in the program or between the program and 
CSFP. After reviewing the statement, all applicants shall sign 
attesting to have reviewed the statement. 

B. Notification of Ineligibility. Participants found 
ineligible during a certification period shall be advised in 
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writing of the ineligibility, the reasons for the ineligibility 
and of the right to a fair hearing. 

C. Notification of Disqualification. Participants who are 
about to be disqualified from program participation during a 
certification period shall be advised in writing not less than 
15 days before the effective date of disqualification, of the 
reasons for the disqualification and the right to a fair 
hearing. 

D. Fair Hearing Procedures for Participants. The state 
agency provides a hearing procedure through which any 
individual may appeal, within 60 days of the date of 
notification by the state agency, an action which results in 
the denial of participation or the disqualification from the 
program. 

1. The hearing process is governed by the procedures 
set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et 
seq., and as mandated by federal regulations, 7 CFR Part 
246. 

2. The state agency shall not summarily deny or 
dismiss an appeal unless: 

a. the request is withdrawn in writing by the 
appellant or legal representative of the appellant; 

b. the appellant or legal representative fails, without 
good cause, to appear at the scheduled hearing; or 

c. the appellant has been denied participation by a 
previous decision following a hearing and does not allege in 
the request for appeal that circumstances relevant to program 
eligibility have changed in such a way as to justify a new 
hearing. 

3. The state agency shall continue program benefits 
for a participant whose participation has been terminated 
during a certification period if a request for an appeal is 
received within the 15 days advance notification of 
disqualification. Benefits shall continue until the hearing 
officer reaches a decision or the certification period expires, 
whichever occurs first. Applicants who are denied benefits at 
initial certification or because of the expiration of their 
certification may appeal the denial, but shall not receive 
benefits while pending the hearing and decision of the 
hearing officer. 

4. A participant or representative may appeal the fair 
hearing decision through judicial review as provided for in 
the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
Chapter 45. Vendor Selection, Participation and 

Sanctions 
§4501. Definitions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:972. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4503. Vendor Selection Criteria 

A. As outlined in the Federal Register, 7 CFR Part 246, 
the state agency has the responsibility to maximize the use 
of available funds by providing supplemental foods to 

participants at the most reasonable prices and to have an 
agreement with enough vendors to ensure adequate 
participant access. The state agency reserves the right to 
implement limiting criteria on vendors statewide by peer 
group in order to meet this responsibility. If the state agency 
elects to implement such limiting criteria, the criteria shall 
be made available to all vendors and applied equally to all 
vendors within peer groups. 

B. Vendor Selection Criteria. In order to be eligible to 
participate in the Louisiana WIC program, the applicant 
vendor and/or authorized vendors shall: 

1. submit a complete and notarized application, 
including any required supporting documentation, to the 
WIC state agency within applicable timeframes set by the 
WIC state agency; 

2. be currently authorized and participating in the 
USDA Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
and cannot have received a SNAP Civil Money Penalty 
(CMP) for which the disqualification period, if it had been 
imposed, would not yet have expired; 

3. have a grocery class permit to operate issued under 
the Bureau of Sanitarian Services of the Office of Public 
Health for the current state fiscal year; 

4. maintain the establishment in a clean, orderly and 
safe condition, with no current sanctions for violations of the 
Louisiana State Sanitary Code (LAC 51), the International 
Plumbing Code as amended by the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code Council (LAC 17:I.111), or local health 
code ordinances; 

5. be open a minimum of 6 days, and at least 48 hours, 
per week; 

6. have prices that are competitive with other vendors 
in the vendor’s state agency designated peer group, as 
determined by the state agency’s competitive price criteria 
(CPC). Applying vendors, whose prices are higher than the 
CPC applicable to their peer groups, shall be informed and 
given one opportunity to lower their prices to meet the CPC; 

7. display prices for WIC-approved foods on the foods 
or on the shelves/display area in immediate proximity to the 
foods; 

8. stock and maintain sufficient quantities and 
varieties of all WIC-approved foods in accordance with 
Louisiana WIC’s minimum stock requirements, which can 
be found in the minimum stock requirements section of the 
vendor guide; 

9. purchase infant formula only from vendors 
included on Louisiana WIC’s list of infant formula 
manufacturers registered with the Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) that provide infant formula, and 
licensed infant formula wholesalers, distributors ,and 
retailers. This list can be found at 
http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/newsroom/detail/232
8. 

10. not have been denied WIC authorization or had a 
prior WIC authorization terminated by the state agency 
within the past year for any reason other than the expiration 
of the vendor agreement, store closing, or store relocation; 

11. ensure that the vendor, vendor applicant or any of 
the vendor’s or vendor applicant’s current owners, officers, 
or managers shall not have been formerly employed by any 
vendor that was disqualified from any USDA food program 
within the prior six years; 
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12. ensure that the vendor, vendor applicant or any of 
the vendor’s or vendor applicant’s current owners, officers, 
or managers shall not have been convicted of any felony 
within the prior six years; 

13. ensure that the vendor, vendor applicant or any of 
the vendor’s or vendor applicant’s current owners, officers, 
or managers shall not have been convicted of any federal, 
state or local tax violations within the prior six years; 

14. ensure that the vendor, vendor applicant or any of 
the vendor’s or vendor applicant’s current owners, officers, 
or managers shall not have a civil judgment entered against 
them within the prior six years for any activity indicating a 
lack of business integrity (including but not limited to fraud, 
antitrust violations, embezzlement, theft, forgery, bribery, 
falsification or destruction of records, making false 
statements, receiving stolen property, making false claims, 
and obstruction of justice); 

15 be in good standing with no unpaid or overdue 
balances owed to the Louisiana WIC program; 

16. not have had any WIC vendor agreement 
terminated due to false or inaccurate information provided to 
the WIC program within the past 6 years; 

17. have access to a computer, with internet access, and 
shall have an e-mail account that can be used to send 
messages to and receive messages from the Louisiana WIC 
program, and shall be able to download and upload 
electronic documents sent/received via email or 
posted/requested on the vendor portal or any other online 
application used by the WIC program; 

18. utilize a cash register system that performs split 
tender transactions and produces itemized receipts showing 
date of purchase, items purchased, price of items purchased, 
and the total sale amount, at a minimum; 

19. redeem or expect to redeem at least 50WIC FIs per 
month; 

20. agree to be placed in a vendor peer group with 
other above-50-perecent vendors when deriving or expecting 
to derive more than 50 percent of their annual food sales 
revenue from WIC FI transactions. Vendors within this peer 
group shall maintain WIC-approved food prices at a level 
such that the average payments per FI for above-50-percent 
vendors does not exceed average payments per FI to regular 
vendors; 

21. agree to neither provide nor advertise nor indicate 
an intent to provide customers with any incentive items, 
when deriving or expecting to derive more than 50 percent 
of their annual food sales revenue from WIC FI transactions. 
The state agency shall make a determination on what 
constitutes a violation of the intent of the previous sentence; 
however, incentive items definitively prohibited include, but 
are not necessary limited to: 

a. services which result in a conflict of interest or 
the appearance of such conflict for the above-50-percent 
vendor, such as assistance with applying for WIC benefits;  

b. lottery tickets at no charge or below face value; 
c. cash gifts in any amount for any reason; 
d. anything made available in a public area as a 

complimentary gift which may be consumed or taken 
without charge; 

e. food, merchandise or services of any value 
provided to the customer; 

f. food, merchandise sold to customers below cost, 
or services purchased by customers below fair market value; 

g. any kind of incentive item which incurs a liability 
for the WIC program; and 

h. any kind of incentive item which violates any 
federal, state, or local law or regulations; 

22. not derive or expect to derive more than 50 percent 
of annual food sales revenue from WIC FI transactions; and 

23. be a full-line grocery store, as defined by the state 
agency. The Louisiana WIC definition of a full-line grocery 
store can be found in Section 4103 of this Subpart. 

C. After authorization, all WIC vendors shall continue to 
meet the criteria of this Section, and any changes thereto, at 
all times. A WIC vendor found to be out of compliance with 
the WIC regulations, vendor agreement, or WIC vendor 
selection criteria, at any time during the authorization period 
is subject to termination of the WIC authorization and 
vendor agreement and possible disqualification. 
Disqualification from WIC may result in disqualification 
from the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP) and such SNAP disqualification is not subject to 
administrative or judicial review under the SNAP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive Health 
Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4505. Agreement 

A. The authorized vendor shall sign and agree to the 
conditions enumerated and/or referenced in the WIC vendor 
application and vendor agreement. 

B. The authorized vendor shall accept state agency 
adjustments to WIC FI and CVV claims for reimbursement. 
The state agency may make adjustments to ensure that 
payments to the authorized vendor do not exceed the 
maximum allowable reimbursement level for the vendor’s 
assigned peer group. 

C. No request for reimbursement submitted by the 
vendor shall be paid by the state agency unless the claim is 
in accordance with the terms of the vendor agreement.  

D. Unauthorized vendors that accept FIs or CVVs may 
be held liable for repayment of any funds received. 

E. Terms of Agreement. An agreement shall be for a 
period not exceeding 3 years. The agreement is null and void 
if ownership changes. Neither party has an obligation to 
renew the agreement. Fifteen days written notice shall be 
given prior to the expiration of an agreement. Expiration of 
an agreement is not subject to appeal. 

F. Termination of Agreement. The agreement may be 
terminated by 15 days written notice to the other party or by 
the mutual agreement to terminate of both parties. The 15 
days written notice does not apply when the state agency 
terminates the agreement or disqualifies a vendor as a result 
of violation(s) of the terms of the agreement. 

1. The state agency shall terminate an authorized 
vendor agreement for failure of the vendor to meet the 
selection criteria found in Section 4503B of this Subpart 

2. The state agency shall immediately terminate the 
agreement if it determines that the vendor has provided false 
information in connection with its application for
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authorization. Violations of the WIC program regulations 
shall result in termination of the agreement, disqualification, 
and/or possible referral for criminal prosecution. 

G. A vendor may be subject to announced and 
unannounced monitoring visits and inventory audits by 
authorized personnel to determine compliance with the 
vendor agreement and/or federal or state rules, regulations or 
policy governing the WIC program. 

H. WIC vendors agree to provide any records requested 
by authorized parties pursuant to their vendor agreement by 
established due dates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4507. Reimbursement of Altered or Bank Rejected 

Food Instruments or Cash-Value Vouchers 
A. If a vendor has a FI or CVV that has been rejected or 

has had the payment amount adjusted by the Louisiana WIC 
contracted bank and the vendor feels that the rejection or 
adjustment was made in error, the vendor may request 
reimbursement from the state agency. 

B. The vendor shall submit to the state agency, in a 
format specified by the state agency, any bank rejected FIs 
or CVVs within 60 days from the last day of the valid 
period. Any FIs or CVVs submitted thereafter shall not be 
considered. 

C. .In determining whether or not to reimburse vendors 
for FI(s) or CVV(s) rejected by the bank due to errors on the 
vendors' part, the state agency may consider the following 
criteria in making its determination: 

1. the prior record of the same repeated errors; 
2. the vendor's reported food costs versus the amount 

requested for reimbursement; and 
3. the level of documented inventory on hand. 

D. Vendors shall be notified of adverse reimbursement 
decisions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4509. Vendor Sanctions for Violations 

A. Federal Mandatory Vendor Sanctions. 
1. The state agency shall permanently disqualify a 

vendor convicted of trafficking in food instruments (FIs) or 
cash value vouchers (CVVs) or selling firearms, 
ammunition, explosives, or controlled substances (as defined 
in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (21 
U.S.C. 802), as amended) in exchange for FIs or CVVs. 

2. The state agency shall disqualify a vendor for 6 
years for: 

a. one incidence of buying or selling a WIC FI or 
CVV for cash (trafficking); or 

b. one incidence of selling firearms, ammunition, 
explosives, or controlled substances as defined in 21 U.S.C. 
802, as amended, in exchange for a WIC FI or CVV; 

3. The state agency shall disqualify a vendor for 3 
years for: 

a. one incidence of the sale of alcohol, alcoholic 
beverages, or tobacco products in exchange for a WIC FI or 
CVV; 

b. a pattern of claiming reimbursement for the sale 
of an amount of a specific supplemental food item that 
exceeds the store’s documented inventory of that 
supplemental food item for a specific period of time; 

c. a pattern of vendor overcharges; 
d. a pattern of receiving, transacting and/or 

redeeming FIs or CVVs outside of authorized channels, 
including the use of an unauthorized vendor and/or an 
unauthorized person; 

e. a pattern of charging for supplemental foods not 
received by the participant; or 

f. a pattern of providing credit or non-food items 
(not including alcohol, alcoholic beverages, tobacco 
products, cash, firearms, ammunition, explosives, or 
controlled substances as defined in 21 U.S.C. 802, as 
amended) in exchange for FIs or CVVs. 

4. The state agency shall disqualify a vendor for 1 
year for if: 

a. a pattern of providing unauthorized food items in 
exchange for FIs or CVVs, including charging for 
supplemental foods provided in excess of those listed on the 
FI; or 

b. a pattern of an above-50-percent vendor 
providing prohibited incentive items to participants as set 
forth in federal regulations at 7 CFR 246.12(g)(3)(iv). 

B. Second Federal Mandatory Vendor Sanction. When a 
vendor that has previously been assessed a sanction for any 
of the federal mandatory vendor sanctions and then receives 
a second sanction for any of the federal mandatory vendor 
sanctions, the state agency shall double the second sanction. 
The total amount assessed in civil money penalties (CMPs) 
for a second sanction may not exceed the maximum limits 
allowed under federal regulations. 

C. Third or Subsequent Federal Mandatory Vendor 
Sanction. When a vendor who previously has been assessed 
two or more sanctions for any of the federal mandatory 
vendor sanctions and then receives another sanction for any 
of the federal mandatory vendor sanctions, the state agency 
shall double the third sanction and all subsequent sanctions. 
The state agency may not impose a Civil Money Penalty 
(CMP) in lieu of disqualification for third or subsequent 
sanctions for federal mandatory vendor sanctions. 

D. State Agency Vendor Sanctions. The state agency 
identifies violations contained in Paragraphs 1 through 7 and 
9 of this Subsection as actions subject to a corrective action 
plan for an initial violation. Corrective action plans shall be 
implemented in full by vendors when required by the state 
agency and can include, but are not limited to, store 
employee training, stock rotation training, and/or training on 
WIC FI/CVV processing procedures. If the vendor fails to 
implement a corrective action plan for failure to adhere to 
selection criteria, the state agency shall terminate the vendor 
agreement. The state agency may disqualify a vendor from 
participation in WIC for 1 year for a pattern of any of the 
following state agency violations: 

1. providing cash for returned WIC-approved foods 
purchased with WIC FIs/CVVs; 

2. failing to comply with FI and CVV processing and 
redemption procedures; 
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3. stocking or selling WIC-approved foods that are 
expired or otherwise not fresh, as determined by the state 
agency; 

4. failing to participate in and complete training, as 
scheduled and required by the state agency; 

5. failing to maintain or provide the state agency with 
required information by the due date identified by the state 
agency; 

6. failing to notify the state agency of instances in 
which a participant or proxy has failed to comply with WIC 
program requirements; 

7. failing to provide to WIC participants or proxies the 
same courtesies as offered to other customers; 

8. failing to implement a corrective action plan 
imposed by the state agency; or 

9. failing to adhere to any other requirements of the 
vendor agreement or vendor guide except those for which a 
longer disqualification period is required as specifically 
identified within Subsection A.-A.2.f of this Section. 

E. Civil Money Penalty. Except where prohibited by 
federal regulation or in those cases of permanent vendor 
disqualification pursuant to the application of Subsection A. 
of this Section, if the state agency determines in its sole 
discretion that disqualification of the authorized vendor 
would result in inadequate participant access, the state 
agency shall impose a civil money penalty (CMP) in lieu of 
disqualification. Such CMP shall be calculated in accordance 
with federal regulations. If a vendor does not pay the CMP, 
only partially pays the CMP, or fails to make timely payment 
of the CMP in lieu of disqualification, the state agency shall 
disqualify the vendor for the length of the disqualification 
corresponding to the violation for which the CMP was 
assessed.  

F. Recoupment of Excess Payment. The state agency 
shall recoup excess payments made to the authorized vendor 
resulting from the vendor’s violation of the vendor 
agreement. 

G. SNAP Disqualification. The state agency shall 
disqualify from the WIC program a vendor who is 
disqualified from SNAP. The disqualification shall be for the 
same length of time as SNAP disqualification, may begin at 
a later date than SNAP disqualification, and is not subject to 
administrative or judicial review under the WIC program. 

H. SNAP CMP. The state agency shall disqualify a 
vendor who receives a CMP for hardship by SNAP. The 
length of such disqualification shall correspond to the period 
for which the vendor would otherwise have been 
disqualified in SNAP. 

I. Mandatory Sanction by another WIC State Agency. 
The state agency shall disqualify a vendor that has been 
disqualified or assessed a CMP in lieu of disqualification by 
another WIC state agency for a federal mandatory vendor 
sanction under the provisions of Subsection A.1.−A.4.b of 
this Section. The length of the disqualification shall be for 
the same length of time as the disqualification by the other 
WIC state agency or, in the case of a CMP in lieu of 
disqualification assessed by the other WIC state agency, for 
the same length of time for which the vendor would 
otherwise have been disqualified. The disqualification may 
begin at a later date than the sanction imposed by the other 
WIC state agency. 

J. Voluntary Withdrawal Not Accepted. Voluntary 
withdrawal of a vendor and non-renewal of the vendor 
agreement as alternatives to WIC disqualifications shall not 
be accepted, and the disqualification shall be entered on the 
record. 

K. Comprehensive Inclusion of Violations of Vendor 
Document Requirements (including the WIC vendor guide 
and the WIC vendor agreement which is not covered 
elsewhere in this Section). Vendor sanctions for violations of 
vendor document requirements (including the WIC vendor 
guide and the WIC vendor agreement not covered elsewhere 
in this Section) may result in termination or disqualification, 
following provision to the vendor of reasonable notice and 
opportunity to correct, where permitted by WIC regulations. 
Violations may give rise to the state agency’s assessment of 
vendor claims, fines, and penalties. Termination of the 
vendor agreement does not relieve the vendor of the 
obligation to pay such assessments. 

L. State Agency Actions. The state agency shall 
determine the action to be taken whenever vendor fraud, 
abuse, or administrative violations are discovered. If the 
state agency determines that the vendor has violated WIC 
rules or regulations, the vendor may be required to develop 
and submit a corrective action plan, the vendor agreement 
may be terminated and/or the vendor may be disqualified 
from participation in the WIC program for a period of time 
no more than the maximum period of time allowed under 
federal regulations at 7 CFR part 246. To obtain 
reauthorization, vendors who are disqualified or whose 
vendor agreement has been terminated shall reapply and 
meet all current requirements for authorization. 

M. Vendor Notification. The state agency shall notify a 
vendor in writing when an investigation reveals an initial 
incidence of a violation for which a pattern of incidences 
must be established in order to impose a sanction, before 
another such incidence is documented, unless the state 
agency determines, in its discretion, on a case-by-case basis, 
that notifying the vendor would compromise an 
investigation. Notification shall not be provided for a pattern 
of claiming reimbursement for the sale of an amount of a 
specific supplemental food item that exceeds documented 
inventory. 

N. Effect on Other Stores under Same Ownership. If an 
individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
company, or other business structure is convicted of a 
criminal offense involving WIC, SNAP, or any other 
program funded and administered by the Food and Nutrition 
Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, all grocery 
stores wholly or partially owned or managed by the 
convicted individual, partnership, corporation, limited 
liability company, other business structure, or by a partner of 
a convicted partnership or an officer, of a convicted 
corporation or a convicted limited liability company, shall be 
terminated from vendor authorization and shall be ineligible 
for future vendor authorization for the maximum period of 
time allowed by federal law and regulations. This 
termination and period of ineligibility shall occur whether or 
not the grocery store was the location at which the crime 
occurred, and regardless of whether or not a penalty was 
imposed upon the convicted party by the court of competent 
jurisdiction. 
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O. Legal Remedies Not Precluded by Sanction. The state 
agency sanctions for vendor violations or program abuse 
shall not be construed as excluding or replacing any criminal 
or civil sanctions or other remedies that may be applicable 
under any federal or state statute or local ordinance. A 
vendor who commits fraud or abuse of the program is liable 
to prosecution under applicable federal, state or local laws. 
Those vendors who have willfully misapplied, stolen or 
fraudulently obtained program funds shall be subject to a 
fine of not more than $25,000 or imprisonment for not more 
than 5 years or both, if the value of the funds is $100 or 
more. If the value of the funds is less than $100, such 
vendors shall be subject to a fine of not more than $1,000 or 
imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both. 

P. Prosecution Referral. The state agency shall, where 
appropriate, refer vendors who abuse the program to federal, 
state and/or local authorities for prosecution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4511. Administrative Review of State Agency Adverse 

Actions 
A. Adverse actions taken by the Louisiana WIC program 

that affect vendors or vendor applicants may be subject to 
administrative review, if appealed. 

B. The Louisiana WIC program shall provide written 
notification of the adverse action, the procedures to follow to 
request an administrative review, and the cause(s) for and 
the effective date of the action. If the vendor is disqualified 
due in whole or in part to violations of Subsection A of 
Section 4509 of this Subpart, such notification shall include 
the following statement: “This disqualification from WIC 
may result in disqualification as a retailer in SNAP. Such 
disqualification is not subject to administrative or judicial 
review under SNAP.” If the WIC authorized vendor or 
applicant vendor wishes to appeal the decision, the vendor or 
applicant vendor shall submit a request for appeal stating the 
reason for the appeal. The request shall be submitted in 
writing and mailed to the Louisiana WIC program within 15 
calendar days after the receipt of the state agency’s written 
notification of the adverse action. Within the notice of 
adverse action, the Louisiana WIC program shall include an 
appropriate return mailing address, along with a staff 
member’s contact name, so that an aggrieved party may 
properly submit a request for appeal. 

C. The adverse action shall be imposed on the effective 
date noted in the written notification and shall remain in 
place during the administrative review unless the Louisiana 
WIC program determines, at its sole discretion, that the 
adverse action would result in inadequate participant access 
to supplemental foods. 

D. Adverse actions subject to administrative review 
include the following: 

1. denial of authorization based on the application of 
the vendor selection criteria for minimum variety and 
quantity of approved foods; 

2. denial of authorization based on a determination 
that the vendor is attempting to circumvent a sanction; 

3. termination of an agreement for cause; 

4. disqualification, except as a result of a 
disqualification from SNAP; 

5. imposition of a fine or a civil money penalty in lieu 
of disqualification; 

6. denial of authorization based on the vendor 
selection criteria for business integrity; 

7. denial of authorization based on the selection 
criteria for a current SNAP disqualification or civil money 
penalty for hardship; 

8. denial of authorization based on the application of 
the vendor selection criteria for competitive price; 

9. the application of the state agency’s vendor peer 
group criteria and the criteria used to identify vendors that 
are above-50-percent vendors or comparable to above-50-
percent vendors; 

10. denial of authorization based on a state agency-
established vendor selection criterion if the basis of the 
denial is a WIC vendor sanction or a SNAP withdrawal of 
authorization or disqualification;  

11. denial of authorization based on the state agency’s 
limiting criteria, if any; 

12. denial of authorization because a vendor submitted 
its application outside the time frames during which 
applications are being accepted and processed, as established 
by the state agency;  

13. termination of an agreement because of a change in 
ownership or location or cessation of operations. 

14. a civil money penalty imposed in lieu of 
disqualification based on a SNAP disqualification; and 

15.  denial of an application based on a determination 
of whether an applicant vendor is currently authorized by 
SNAP. 

E. A WIC authorized vendor or vendor applicant who 
files a proper appeal request for those actions subject to 
administrative review shall be provided: 

1. adequate advance notice of the time and place of 
the administrative review to provide all parties involved 
sufficient time to prepare for the review and at least one 
opportunity to reschedule the administrative review date 
upon specific request; 

2. the opportunity to examine, prior to the review, the 
evidence upon which the Louisiana WIC program’s action is 
based; 

3. the opportunity to be represented by counsel; 
4. the opportunity to cross-examine adverse witnesses 

(when necessary to protect the identity of witnesses, they 
may be cross-examined behind a protective screen or other 
device); 

5. the opportunity to present its case; 
6. an impartial decision-maker, whose determination 

is based solely on whether the Louisiana WIC program has 
correctly applied federal and state statutes, regulations, 
policies, and procedures governing the program, according 
to the evidence presented at the review; and 

7. written notification of the review decision, 
including the basis for the decision, within 90 days from the 
date of receipt of a vendor’s request for an administrative 
review; however, this time frame is only an administrative 
goal for the Louisiana WIC program and, should a decision 
of the appeal review not be made within the specified time 
frame, such delay shall not provide a basis to overturn the 
adverse action. 
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F. Actions not subject to administrative review include: 
1. the validity or appropriateness of the Louisiana 

vendor limiting criteria, if any; 
2. the validity or appropriateness of Louisiana’s 

vendor selection criteria for the minimum variety and 
quantity of supplemental foods, business integrity, current 
SNAP disqualification, or civil money penalty for hardship; 

3. the validity or appropriateness of the Louisiana 
selection criteria for a competitive price including, but not 
limited to, vendor peer group criteria and the criteria used to 
identify vendors that are above-50-percent vendors or 
comparable to above-50-percent vendors; 

4. the validity or appropriateness of the state agency’s 
participant access criteria and the state agency’s participant 
access determinations;  

5. the state agency’s determination to include or 
exclude an infant formula manufacturer, wholesaler, 
distributor, or retailer from the list of businesses from which 
an authorized vendor may purchase infant formula pursuant 
to selection criteria; 

6. the validity or appropriateness of the state agency’s 
prohibition of incentive items and the state agency’s denial 
of an above-50-percent vendor’s request to provide an 
incentive item to customers; 

7. the state agency’s determination whether to notify a 
vendor in writing when an investigation reveals an initial 
violation for which a pattern of violations must be 
established in order to impose a sanction; 

8. the state agency’s determination whether a vendor 
had an effective policy and program in effect to prevent 
trafficking and that the ownership of the vendor was not 
aware of, did not approve of, and was not involved in the 
conduct of the violation; 

9. denial of authorization if the state agency's vendor 
authorization is subject to the procurement procedures 
applicable to the state agency; 

10. the expiration of a vendor’s agreement; 
11. disputes regarding food instrument or cash-value 

voucher payments and vendor claims (other than the 
opportunity to justify or correct a vendor overcharge or other 
error); and 

12. disqualification of a vendor as a result of 
disqualification from SNAP. 

G. A vendor that is permitted to continue program 
operations while its appeal is in process does not relieve 
such vendor from the responsibility of continued compliance 
with the terms of any written agreement with the Louisiana 
WIC program. Administrative review decisions of the 
Division of Administrative Law are the final action of the 
Louisiana WIC program. If the review decision upholds the 
adverse action against the vendor, the vendor may be able to 
pursue judicial review of the decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 
§4513. Availability of Documents 

A. The vendor application, the vendor agreement, and 
the WIC vendor guide shall be provided for review to any 
interested party by submission of an e-mail request to 
LAWICVendor@la.gov. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:972. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Preventive and Public 
Health Services, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43: 

Request for Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Bruce 

Boyea, Director, Bureau of Nutrition Services, Office of 
Public Health, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1906, New 
Orleans, LA 70112, or faxed to (504) 568-8232. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#020 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Broker Permits and General Requirements 
(LAC 55:IX.Chapter 1) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, has exercised the 
emergency provision in accordance with R.S. 49:953(B), of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, to amend, supplement and 
expand portions of and readopt LAC 55:I.Chapter 1 as 
authorized by R.S. 40:1846. Furthermore, the Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Commission has found an immediate need to 
adopt amendments to create a new class of permits 
applicable to brokers and special vendors of liquefied 
petroleum gas within the State of Louisiana. In particular, 
the Emergency Rule amends LAC 55:IX.Chapter 1, Section 
107 to require a permit for third party brokers who are 
instrumental in the sale and service of liquefied petroleum. 
The adoption of this Rule on an emergency basis is 
necessary due to the hazardous components of liquefied 
petroleum gas, also referred to as propane or butane, which 
are flammable mixtures of hydrocarbon gases used as fuel in 
heating appliances, cooking equipment, and vehicles. The 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission finds that an 
imminent peril to the public health, safety and welfare 
requires adoption of this Rule. This Emergency Rule was 
adopted and became effective January 20, 2017 and shall be 
in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part IX.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Chapter 1. General Requirements 
Subchapter A. New Dealers 
§107. Requirements 

A. Before any permit or registration may be issued from 
the office of the director, all applicants shall have complied 
with or agree to comply with the applicable requirements as 
follows: 

1. Shall deposit filing fee of $150 for classes and $25 
for all registrations. This fee shall accompany application. 
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2. -5.b. … 
c. Each location of Class I, Class VI and Class VIII 

dealers, which fill DOT specification cylinders of 200 lbs. or 
less, liquefied petroleum gas capacity, that are in commerce 
or transportation, shall provide a suitable weighing device 
(scales). 

6. Applicants shall have paid a permit fee in the 
amount of $150, except for Class VII-E, which shall be 
$100, and Class III which shall be $500 and R-1, R-2 
registrations, which shall be $37.50 and Class VI-X shall be 
in the amount of $150 for each location. For fiscal year 
2014-2015, and for each subsequent fiscal year, the permit 
fee shall be 0.1369 of 1 percent of annual gross sales of 
liquefied petroleum gas with a minimum of $150 for each 
location. For classes not selling liquefied petroleum gases in 
succeeding years the permit fee shall be $150, except 
registrations shall be $37.50 per year. 

6.a. - 7. … 
8. All service and installation personnel, fuel transfer 

personnel, carburetion mechanics and tank truck drivers 
shall have a card of competency from the office of the 
director. All permit holders, except Class III and VI-X 
permit holders, shall have at least one card of competency 
issued to their permit. The commission may waive the one 
card of competency until the dealer commences operations 
in the state. A card of competency shall be issued to an 
applicant upon receipt of a $20 examination fee and 
successfully passing the competency test, providing the 
applicant holds some form of identification acceptable to the 
commission. The commission may accept as its own a 
reciprocal state's examination which contains substantially 
equivalent requirements. This shall be evidenced by a letter 
from the issuing authority or a copy of a valid card issued by 
the reciprocal state. All applicable fees shall be paid prior to 
issuing the card. 

a. - c.i.(d). … 
(e). Proof of a passing grade, for purposes of 

certification, shall be maintained in dealer employee file. 
The employer shall maintain this record until 1 year after the 
employment has terminated. 

8.c.i.(f). -15 … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, LR 1:315 (July 1975), LR 4:86 (March 
1978), LR 7:633 (December 1981), amended by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission, LR 11:557 (May 1985), LR 15:854 (October 1989), 
LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 20:1400 (December 1994), LR 
24:461 (March 1998), LR 24:2311 (December 1998), LR 25:1262 
(July 1999), LR 25:2410 (December 1999), LR 26:1487 (July 
2000), LR 27:2256 (December 2001), LR 28:2553 (December 
2002), LR 29:2509 (November 2003), LR 31:2567 (October 2005), 
LR 33:1140 (June 2007), effective July 1, 2007, LR 35:2201 
(October 2009), LR 35:2465 (November 2009), LR 38:1256 (May 
2012), LR 41:395 (February 2015), LR 42:427 (March 2016), LR 
42:1671 (October 2016), LR 43: 
§113. Classes of Permits and Registrations 

A. - A.2.e. … 
3. Class III. Brokers/Special Vendors. Holders of these 

permits may purchase liquefied petroleum gas only from 
liquefied petroleum gas dealers who hold a valid liquefied 
petroleum gas permit and resell the aforementioned 

purchased liquefied petroleum gas product to end users 
utilizing floor maintenance machines/or industrial trucks 
(forklifts) on their premises. Holders of these permits shall 
not deliver gas or engage in repairing liquefied petroleum 
gas containers or systems. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products liability coverage. 

b. Shall submit a completed “Location Approval 
Form” for each physical location being served, with a 
handling fee of $150 for each location being served. 

c. Compliance with all other rules and regulations is 
a mandatory requirement. 

d. Shall provide 24 hour emergency contact 
information at each liquefied petroleum gas storage location. 
The person deemed the emergency contact shall have basic 
knowledge regarding liquefied petroleum gas emergencies 
and shall maintain contact information per the servicing 
liquefied petroleum gas supplier. 

e. The Class III permit holder shall post the 
servicing liquefied petroleum gas supplier ‘s name (name on 
Louisiana liquefied petroleum gas permit) at each liquefied 
petroleum gas storage site and each end user’s location. 

4 - 13.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended and promulgated LR 3:315 
(July 1977), amended LR 7:633 (December 1981), LR 8:53 
(January 1982), amended by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 11:557 
(May 1985), LR 12:841 (December 1986), LR 15:855 (October 
1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:904 (July 1993), LR 
20:1400 (December 1994), LR 21:701 (July 1995), LR 24:461 
(March 1998), LR 25:2411 (December 1999), LR 29:2509 
(November 2003), LR 33:1141 (June 2007), effective July 1, 2007, 
LR 38:1259 (May 2012), LR 41:395 (February 2015), LR 43: 
Subchapter D. Forms and Reports 
§159. Required Forms and Reports 

A. - A.7. … 
8. Location approval forms shall be in accordance 

with §113.A.3.b. 
 

Location Approval Form 
 

The submission of this form by a Class III dealer representative does not 
absolve the dealer of following the rules and regulations established by this 
Commission concerning the storage of liquefied petroleum gas. Due to the 
fact that all requisite details are not submitted regarding the storage 
locations referred to on this this form, it is, therefore assumed when 
approval is made on the information submitted, details regarding 
information not provided will comply with all regulations. Any changes to 
the cylinder location will require a new form to be submitted. 

 
Name of Class III dealer submitting this form: _____________________ 
Name of Dealer supplying gas: _________________________________ 
 
Is storage location protected from vehicular impact? ___Yes ___No 
Is storage location: _____ inside building or _____outside building? 
Is storage location the proper distance from electrical equipment, ignition 

sources, doors and windows? _____Yes _____No 
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Is Name of Class III Dealer, Supplier and 24 hour Emergency Contact on 
storage location? ____Yes ____No 

Is all the proper signage displayed at storage location? ____Yes ____No 
Does the public have access to the cylinder storage location? ____Yes 

____No 
If yes, please ensure sketch is submitted by properly permitted dealer. 
 
Contact information for someone at cylinder location: 
Name ___________________________________________________ 
Telephone Number_________________________________________ 
Please give brief description of storage area including distances to 

permanent reference points: 
_____________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 

 
All information submitted on this form has been verified as correct, and 

it is understood that any changes to this form shall require a new form to be 
submitted. 

 
Signed (person in charge of insuring correctness of this form) 
X__________________________________________________ 

Date:_______________ 
 
FEE $150.00 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
11:559 (May 1985), LR 15:861 (October 1989), LR 24:466 (March 
1998), LR 38:1265 (May 2012), LR 41:395 (February 2015), LR 
43: 
 

John W. Alario 
Executive Director 

1701#074 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of the Treasury 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration and Distributions 
(LAC 32:VII.105, 701, and 709) 

The Louisiana Deferred Compensation Commission has 
exercised the emergency provision in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and pursuant 
to the authority set forth in R.S. 42:1303, to amend LAC 
32:VII.105, 701, and 709 regarding distributions for 
unforeseen emergencies. This Emergency Rule is necessary 
to allow plan participants (as defined by LAC 32:VII.101) 
who qualify for the relief provided by IRS Announcement 
2016-30, or an extension thereof, to take a distribution from 
the Plan. This Emergency Rule was adopted to extend the 
provisions of the September 1, 2016, Emergency Rule 
concerning Administration and Distributions.  

The Louisiana Deferred Compensation Commission 
hereby finds that the following circumstances constitute an 
immediate danger to the public health, safety, or welfare: On 

August 12, 2016, pursuant to Proclamation No. 111 JBE 
2016, Governor John Bel Edwards declared a State of 
Emergency within the State of Louisiana in response to 
historic flooding in Louisiana. Additionally, on August 14, 
2016, the President of the United States of America issued a 
Major Disaster Declaration for designated parishes of 
Louisiana by issuing FEMA DR-4277. Over 100,000 
Louisiana residents have applied to the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency for assistance. The Office of the 
Governor estimates over 60,000 houses were damaged by 
this historic flooding event. The damage caused by this 
historic flooding event has resulted in the closing of 
businesses in affected areas, loss of personal belongings, and 
loss of employment by many plan participants and/or their 
families. This historic flooding has produced an immediate 
threat to the public health, safety, and welfare of many 
participants in the Louisiana Deferred Compensation Plan. 
In order to provide relief to taxpayers who have been 
adversely affected by the storms and flooding that began 
August 11, 2016, the IRS issued Announcement 2016-30 to 
provide relief from certain verification procedures that may 
be required under retirement plans with respect to hardship 
distributions until January 17, 2017. 

This Emergency Rule was adopted on December 13, 2016 
and shall be effective on December 13, 2016. This 
Emergency Rule shall remain effective for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until the expiration of the 
relief provided in IRS 2016-30 or any extension thereof, 
whichever occurs first, unless renewed by the Louisiana 
Deferred Compensation Commission, or until permanent 
rules are promulgated in accordance with the law.  

Title 32  
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part VII.  Public Employee Deferred Compensation 
Subpart 1.  Deferred Compensation Plan 

Chapter 1. Administration 
§105. Duties of Commission 

A - A.7. … 
8. appointing an emergency committee comprised of 

at least three individuals. Applications for a withdrawal of 
deferred compensation based on an unforeseeable 
emergency shall be approved or disapproved by such 
committee: 

a. a participant shall furnish medical or other 
evidence to the emergency committee to establish and 
substantiate the existence of an unforeseeable emergency. 
However, if a participant qualifies for a distribution arising 
from the Louisiana Storms, as set forth in IRS 
Announcement 2016-30, or any extension thereof, the 
commission may rely upon the representations from the 
participant as to the need for and amount of the distribution 
unless it has actual knowledge to the contrary.  

b. if an application for a withdrawal based on 
unforeseeable emergency is approved, and the application 
does not qualify for the relief set forth in IRS Announcement 
2016-30 or any extension thereof, the amount of the 
withdrawal shall be limited to the amount required to meet 
such emergency. Payment shall not be made to the extent 
such emergency is relieved: 

i. - iii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 

§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1963 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1495 (June 2002), LR 43: 
Chapter 7. Distributions 
§701. Conditions for Distributions 

A. - A.2. … 
3. the participant incurs an approved unforeseeable 

emergency pursuant to LAC 32:VII.709.A or meets the 
qualifications for relief set forth in IRS Announcement 
2016-30, or any extension thereof; or 

A.4. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:1301-1308 and IRC §457. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1967 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1497 (June 2002), LR 32:121 
(January 2006), LR 43: 
§709. Unforeseeable Emergency 

A. If a participant has incurred a genuine unforeseeable 
emergency and no other resources of financial relief are 
available, or if a participant meets the qualifications for 
relief set forth in IRS Announcement 2016-30, or any 
extension thereof; the commission may grant, in its sole 
discretion, a participant's request for a payment from the 
participant's account. Any payment made under this 
provision shall be in a lump sum. 

1. The commission shall have the right to request and 
review all pertinent information necessary to assure that 
hardship withdrawal requests are consistent with the 
provisions of IRC §457 or IRS Announcement 2016-30, or 
any extension thereof. 

2. Unless a participant meets the qualifications for 
relief set forth in IRS Announcement 2016-30, or any 
extension thereof, an unforeseeable emergency distribution 
shall not be made if such hardship may be relieved: 

2.a. - 3.b. … 
c. If a participant meets the qualifications for relief 

set forth in IRS Announcement 2016-30, or any extension 
thereof, the commission may rely upon the representation of 
the participant as to the need for and amount of a financial 
hardship distribution unless the commission or plan 
administrator has actual knowledge to the contrary.  

4. Payment of a financial hardship distribution shall 
result in mandatory suspension of deferrals for a minimum 
of 6 months from the date of payment (or such other period 
as mandated in treasury regulations) unless the participant’s 
distribution is made pursuant to the guidelines set forth in 
IRS Announcement 2016-30, or any extension thereof. If a 
participant’s financial hardship distribution is made pursuant 
to the guidelines set forth in IRS Announcement 2016-30, or 
any extension thereof, then the suspension of deferrals shall 
be in the discretion of the participant.  

B. - B.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 

§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1968 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1498 (June 2002), LR 32:122 
(January 2006), LR 37:1621 (June 2011), LR 43: 

 
Emery Bares 
Chairman 

1701#007 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial King Mackerel  
Harvest Season2017-18 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953 which 
allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to employ emergency 
procedures to establish seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, 
R.S. 56:6(25)(a) and 56:326.3 which provides that the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set seasons for 
saltwater finfish in Louisiana waters, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission hereby sets the following season for 
the commercial harvest of king mackerel in Louisiana state 
waters: 

The commercial season for the harvest of king mackerel in 
Louisiana state waters shall open at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 2017 
and remain open until the allotted portion of the commercial 
king mackerel quota for the western Gulf of Mexico has 
been harvested or is projected to be harvested. 

The commission grants authority to the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 
commercial king mackerel season in Louisiana state waters 
when he is informed by NOAA Fisheries that the 
commercial king mackerel quota for the western Gulf of 
Mexico has been harvested or is projected to be harvested, 
such closure order shall close the season until 12:01 a.m., 
July 1, 2018, which is the date expected to be set for the re-
opening of the 2018-19 commercial king mackerel season in 
Federal waters. The secretary of the department may further 
modify any provisions pursuant to this declaration of 
emergency when notified by NOAA Fisheries that other 
changes have been made regarding the season for the 
commercial harvest of king mackerel, or as needed to 
effectively implement the provisions herein upon 
notification to the Chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission. 

Effective with seasonal closures under this rule, no person 
shall commercially harvest, possess, purchase, exchange, 
barter, trade, sell, or attempt to purchase, exchange, barter, 
trade, or sell king mackerel, whether taken from within or 
without Louisiana territorial waters. Also effective with 
seasonal closures under this rule, no person shall possess 
king mackerel in excess of a daily bag limit, which may only 
be in possession during the open recreational season by 
legally licensed recreational fishermen. Nothing shall 
prohibit the possession or sale of fish by a commercial 
dealer if legally taken prior to the closure providing that all 
commercial dealers possessing such fish taken legally prior 
to the closure shall maintain appropriate records in 
accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and R.S. 56:306.6. 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#023 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Harvest Closure East of the Mississippi River 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of Louisiana 
Revised Statutes (R.S.) 49:953, under the authority of R.S. 
56:433, and under the authority of a Declaration of 
Emergency passed by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission on September 1, 2016 which authorized the 
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to take 
emergency action if oyster resources and/or reefs are being 
adversely impacted, notice is hereby given that the secretary 
of Wildlife and Fisheries hereby declares that the harvest of 
oysters from the public oyster seed grounds east of the 
Mississippi River shall close at one half hour after sunset on 
Sunday, January 8, 2016. 

Harvest pressure during the season has substantially 
reduced oyster stocks and continued commercial harvest 
may threaten the long-term sustainability of remaining 
oyster resources in these areas. Protection of these remaining 
oyster resources from injury is in the best interest of these 
public oyster seed grounds. 

Notice of any opening, delaying, or closing of a season 
will be provided by public notice at least 72 hours prior to 
such action, unless such closure is ordered by the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals for public health 
concerns. 

 
Patrick D. Banks 
Interim Secretary 

1701#035 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Partial Fall Inshore Shrimp Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons; R.S. 56:497 which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to delegate to the 
Secretary of the Department the powers, duties and authority 
to set shrimp seasons; and in accordance with a Declaration 
of Emergency adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission on August 4, 2016 which authorizes the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
close the fall inshore shrimp season when biological and 
technical data indicate the need to do so or if enforcement 
problems develop, the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby declare:  

The 2016 fall inshore shrimp season shall close on 
December 19, 2016 at official sunset, except for the 
following inside waters located east of the Mississippi River: 
Lake Pontchartrain, Chef Menteur and Rigolets Passes, Lake 
Borgne, Mississippi Sound, Mississippi River Gulf Outlet 
(MRGO), a section of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway

(GIWW) in Orleans parish from the GIWW East Closure 
Sector Gate westward to the GIWW intersection with the 
Inner Harbor Navigation Canal, and the open waters of 
Breton and Chandeleur Sounds as bounded by the double-rig 
line described in R.S. 56:495.1(A)2.  

R.S. 56:498 provides that the possession count on 
saltwater white shrimp for each cargo lot shall average no 
more than 100 (whole specimens) per pound except during 
the time period from October fifteenth through the third 
Monday in December. Recent biological sampling conducted 
by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has indicated 
that average white shrimp size within these waters to be 
closed is smaller than the minimum possession count and 
this action is being taken to protect these small white shrimp 
and provide opportunity for growth to larger and more 
valuable sizes. Existing data do not currently support 
shrimping closures in additional state inside and outside 
waters. However, historic data suggest additional closures 
may be necessary and the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries will continue monitoring shrimp populations in 
these waters. Notice of any opening, delaying or closing of a 
season by the secretary will be made by public notice at least 
72 hours prior to such action. 

 
Charles J. “Charlie” Melancon 
Secretary 

1701#005 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Red Snapper Recreational (Private and Charter)  
Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
secretary of the department by the commission in LAC 
76.VII.335.G.5 to modify opening and closing dates of 
recreational red snapper harvest seasons in Louisiana state 
waters, the secretary hereby declares: 

The private and charter season for the recreational harvest 
of red snapper in Louisiana state waters shall close at 11:59 
p.m. on December 15, 2016. Effective with this closure, no 
person shall recreationally harvest or possess red snapper 
whether within or without Louisiana waters.  

Preliminary estimates of recreational red snapper landings 
in Louisiana from the La Creel program indicate that the 
department’s self-imposed harvest limit of 1,116,732 pounds 
for private and charter harvest has been met. Closing the 
season for recreational red snapper harvest is intended to 
limit future closed seasons and allows for continued 
rebuilding the red snapper stock in the Gulf of Mexico.  

 
Charles J. “Charlie” Melancon 
Secretary 

1701#003 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Reef FishHarvest Regulations 
2017 Recreational Red Snapper Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
secretary of the department by the commission in LAC 
76:VII.335.G.5 to modify opening and closing dates of 
recreational red snapper harvest seasons in Louisiana state 
waters, the commission hereby declares: 

The season for the recreational harvest of red snapper in 
Louisiana state waters, shall open at 12:01 a.m. on February 
1, 2017. Effective with this action, the season shall be open 
daily, with a bag and possession limit of 2 fish per person 
per day. Size limits shall remain at the currently established 
minimum size limit in LAC 76:VII.335 of 16 inches total 
length. The season shall remain open until further notice. 

The commission further declares that the secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is authorized to modify 
the recreational season and bag limits for the harvest of red 
snapper, upon notification to the chairman of the Louisiana 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, if monitoring data 
indicate that the self-imposed state allocation of red snapper 
is projected to be met, is met, or allows for additional 
harvest. 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#024 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Shark Harvest RegulationsNon-Sandbar Large Coastal 
Sharks Commercial Possession Limit 

The shark fisheries in the Gulf of Mexico are 
cooperatively managed by the Louisiana Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF), the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission (LWFC), and the National Marine Fisheries 
Service (NMFS). Regulations promulgated by NMFS are 
applicable in waters of the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) 
of the U.S. 

Previously promulgated rules, 50 CFR 635.24(a) (2), by 
NMFS increasing the federal possession limit of 
commercially harvested sharks from the non-sandbar large 
coastal sharks group (great hammerhead, scalloped 
hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, nurse, blacktip, bull, 
lemon, silky, spinner and tiger sharks) from 36 to 45 sharks 
in the Gulf of Mexico are effective for the commercial 
season opening at 12:01 a.m. on February 1, 2017.  

In order to have compatible regulations in place in 
Louisiana waters to coincide with the new regulations set 

forth by NMFS, it is necessary that emergency rules be 
enacted. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:6 (25) 
(a) and R.S. 56:326.3 which provides that the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission may set seasons and limits for 
saltwater finfish in Louisiana waters, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission hereby declares: 

Persons possessing a commercial state shark permit but no 
federal shark permit shall not possess on any one day, or on 
any trip, or land from any trip, or sell, barter, trade, or 
exchange in excess of the federal possession limit for sharks 
from the Non-Sandbar Large Coastal Species group (great 
hammerhead, scalloped hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, 
nurse, blacktip, bull, lemon, silky, spinner and tiger sharks), 
taken from Louisiana state waters. Persons possessing a 
commercial state shark permit shall not possess any sandbar 
sharks unless they also have in their name and in their 
possession a valid federal shark research permit under 50 
CFR 635.32(1). Those persons possessing a federal 
commercial directed or incidental limited access shark 
permit or federal shark research permit issued by the 
National Marine Fisheries Service under the Federal Fishery 
Management Plan for Atlantic Sharks are limited to daily 
take, trip and possession limits as specified in that federal 
permit. This Declaration of Emergency is effective with the 
opening of the season for the commercial harvest of large 
coastal sharks, which shall open at 12:01 a.m. February 1, 
2017. 

The commission also hereby grants authority to the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
modify any provisions pursuant to this declaration of 
emergency when notified by NOAA Fisheries that changes 
have been made regarding the possession of non-sandbar 
large coastal sharks in the Federal waters of the Gulf of 
Mexico, or as needed to effectively implement the 
provisions herein upon notification to the Chairman of the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. Such authority shall 
extend through December 31, 2017. 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#022 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Shrimp Season Closures 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 56:497 which 
allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to delegate to 
the Secretary of the Department the powers, duties and 
authority to set shrimp seasons, and in accordance with a 
Declaration of Emergency adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission on December 1, 2016 which 
authorizes the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
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Fisheries to close all or parts of state outside waters where 
significant numbers of small, sublegal size white shrimp are 
found in biological samples conducted by the department; 
and to reopen any area closed to shrimping when the closure 
is no longer necessary; the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby declare:  

On January 2, 2017 at official sunset the portion of state 
outside waters extending a distance of 3 nautical miles 
seaward of the inside/outside shrimp line as described in 
R.S. 56:495(A) from the northwest shore of Caillou Boca at 
-90 degrees 50 minutes 27 seconds west longitude westward 
to the western shore of Freshwater Bayou Canal at -92 
degrees 18 minutes 33 seconds west longitude will be closed 
to shrimping.  

R.S. 56:498 provides that the possession count on 
saltwater white shrimp for each cargo lot shall average no 

more than 100 (whole specimens) per pound except during 
the time period from October fifteenth through the third 
Monday in December. Recent biological sampling conducted 
by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has indicated 
that average white shrimp size within the waters to be closed 
is smaller than the minimum possession count and this 
action is being taken to protect these small white shrimp and 
provide opportunity for growth to larger and more valuable 
sizes. Notice of any opening, delaying or closing of a season 
by the secretary will be made by public notice at least 72 
hours prior to such action. 

 
Charles J. “Charlie” Melancon 
Secretary 

1701#012 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
Office of Cultural Development 

Division of Archeology 

Fees (LAC 25:V.122) 

Under the authority of the Archaeological Resources Act, 
R.S. 41:1608, and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Division of Archaeology has increased the curation fee and 
has assessed an annual GIS access fee. 

The amendment increases the fee for depositing a box of 
archaeological materials with the division’s curation facility, 
and establishes an annual fee for access to the division’s 
online geographic information system (GIS). The curation 
fee increase will provide sufficient operating funds to the 
division to fully support its archaeological curation facility 
and staff without relying on state funds. The GIS fee will 
provide funds for the Division of Archaeology’s GIS 
operation and maintenance. The division operates a GIS 
system for inhouse use and provides online access to federal 
agencies, state agencies, private firms, students, and 
academic and other researchers. Online accessibility to the 
system enables users to save significant time and money by 
accessing the system at their office rather than having to 
travel to Baton Rouge and use the system at the division’s 
offices. In addition, the GIS system allows users to overlay 
multiple datasets and examine the data in ways that is not 
possible through the use of paper records. The annual fee 
will maintain this access and provide the funds to support 
the operation, maintenance, and necessary upgrades of the 
GIS system. State agencies will not be charged the access 
fee, and the division will provide free online access at its 
Baton Rouge office for any user who does not wish to pay 
the access fee. 

Title 25 
CULTURAL RESOURCES 

Part I.  Office of Cultural Development 
Chapter 1. Division of Archeology 
Subchapter A. Regulations 
§122. Fees 

A. - B. ... 
C. Curation of Archaeological Collections. A one-time 

fee of $400 shall be charged for processing and long-term 
curation of a standard box of artifacts deposited with the 
division. A standard box measures 12 x 10 x 15 inches and 
the contents can weigh no more than 30 pounds (13.6 kg). 
Oversize artifacts shall be assessed at the rate of $400 per 
square foot of shelf space occupied.  

D.1. The division shall charge an annual, non-refundable 
fee for online access to the division’s geographic 
information system (GIS). The fee will be $1,300 per state 
fiscal year for each public or private entity with one or more 
professional archaeologists on staff or an individual 
professional archaeologist who will use the online access. 

2. Professional archaeologists at academic institutions 
and graduate students studying to become a professional 
archaeologist will not be charged the access fee. 

E. Fee Adjustments. Fees may be adjusted in accordance 
with the division’s Archaeological Code of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
41:1601-1615. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Division of Archaeology, LR 
20:411 (April 1994), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, Office of Cultural Development, Division 
of Archaeology, LR 43:46 (January 2017). 

 
Phil Boggan 
Assistant Secretary 

1701#001 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Pardons 

and 
Committee on Parole 

Hearings before the Pardon Board and Notification 
Requirements to Victims (LAC 22:V.211 and XI.510) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Board of Pardons has 
amended its rules of LAC 22:V.211 and LAC 22:XI.510. 
This Rule provides clarification to hearing notification 
requirements to victims. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part V.  Board of Pardons 

Chapter 2. Clemency 
§211. Hearings before the Pardon Board 

A. - B. … 
C. At least 30 days prior to public hearing date, the 

board shall give written notice of the date, time, and place to 
the following: 

1. the district attorney and sheriff of the parish in 
which the applicant was convicted and, in Orleans Parish, 
the superintendent of police; 

2. the applicant; 
3. the victim or the spouse or next of kin, unless the 

injured victim's spouse or next of kin of a deceased victim. 
The notice is not required when the victim, or the spouse or 
next of kin of a deceased victim advises the board, in 
writing, that such notification is not desired; 

4. the Crime Victims Services Bureau of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections; and 

5. any other interested person who notifies the Board 
of Pardons, in writing, giving name and return address. 

D. The district attorney, injured victim, spouse, or next 
of kin, and any other persons who desire to do so shall be 
given a reasonable opportunity to attend the hearing. The 
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district attorney or his representative, victim, victim's family, 
and a victim advocacy group, may appear before the board 
of pardons by means of telephone communication from the 
office of the local district attorney. The victim shall be 
allowed to present written or oral statement of the victim's 
views about the offense, the offender, and the effect of the 
offense on the victim. 

E. Only three persons in favor, to include the applicant, 
and three in opposition, to include the victim/victim's family 
member, will be allowed to speak at the hearing. Any person 
making an oral presentation to the board will be allowed no 
more than 5 minutes. All persons making oral presentations 
in favor of an applicant shall be allowed cumulatively no 
more than 10 minutes. All persons making oral presentations 
against an applicant, including victims, shall be allowed 
cumulatively no more than 10 minutes. The chairman may 
extend the time limitations for oral presentations at his or her 
discretion. However, there is no limit on written 
correspondence in favor of and/or opposition to the 
applicant's request. 

F. If an applicant is released from custody and/or 
supervision prior to public hearing date, the case will be 
closed without notice to the applicant. Applicant may 
reapply two years from the date of release. 

G. Applicant's failure to attend and/or notify the board of 
pardons office of his/her inability to attend the hearing will 
result in an automatic denial. The applicant may reapply two 
years from the date of scheduled hearing. Lifers who fail to 
attend and/or advise of inability to attend may reapply in 
five years if it is his/her initial hearing, and every five years 
thereafter. 

H. Four members of the board shall constitute a quorum 
for the transaction of business, and all actions of the board 
shall require the favorable vote of at least four members of 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:572.4, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2256 (August 2013), amended 
LR 42:1088 (July 2016), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Board of Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 43:46 (January 
2017). 

Part XI.  Committee on Parole 
Chapter 5. Meetings and Hearings of the Committee 

on Parole 
§510. Victims 

A. Before a parole panel considers parole release for an 
offender who is serving a sentence of an offense in which a 
person was a victim, the direct victim of the offense shall be 
allowed to present written or oral testimony of the victim's 
views about the offense, the offender, and the effect of the 
offense on the victim. The parole panel shall allow one 
person to appear in person before the panel on behalf of the 
victim. Nothing in this Section is intended to limit the 
panel's discretion to allow individual victims to make 
personal appearance or to make contact by phone through 
the local district attorney's victim advocacy representative. 
There is no limit on written correspondence in favor of 
and/or opposition to an offender's consideration for parole. 

B. The victim, spouse, or next of kin of a deceased 
victim shall be advised in writing no less than 30 days prior 
to the hearing date when the offender is scheduled for a 
parole hearing. 

1. Victiman individual against whom a crime has 
been perpetrated. 

C. The notice shall advise the victim, spouse, or next of 
kin of a deceased victim that: 

1. the hearing is open to the public; 
2. he or she may remain in the hearing room during 

the entire hearing (except during executive session); and 
3. he or she may speak to the panel prior to its making 

a decision in the case. 
D. The Committee on Parole has delegated the 

responsibility for this notice to the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections.  

E. The written notice is not required when the victim, the 
spouse, or next of kin of a deceased victim, advises the 
committee in writing that such notification is not desired. 

F. Notification is not required when the victim cannot be 
located despite the exercise of due diligence. 

G. Pursuant to R.S. 15:574.2(C)(12) the panel may 
exclude anyone from the hearing to protect the privacy of 
the victim or victims. 

H. The victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim shall have the right to make a 
written or oral statement as to the impact of the crime. 

I. The victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim or a victim's advocacy group, 
and the district attorney or his representative may also 
appear before the panel by means of telephone 
communication from the office of the local district attorney.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2263 
(August 2013), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of 
Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 43:47 (January 2017). 

 

Sheryl M. Ranatza 
Board Chair 

1701#048 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of State Lands 

Granting of Rights-of-Way to Corporations or Individuals 
(LAC 43:XXVII.2701) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 41:1173, the Office of State Lands has 
amended Chapter 27 to increase the fees associated with 
pipeline rights-of-way. The Office of State Lands previously 
charged $25, $35, and $45 for the three classes of pipeline 
that traverse state property. The Office of State Lands has 
double these rates, bringing Louisiana’s rates closer to those 
of neighboring states. 
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Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 
Part XXVII.  State Lands 

Subpart 2.  Use and Management of State Lands 
Chapter 27. Rights-of-Way 
§2701. Granting Rights-of-Way to Corporations or 

Individuals 
A. - L. … 
M. Fees for permits shall be as follows: 

1. class 1: pipe 2 inches up to 19 inches outside 
diameter with a minimum of 75 feet right-of-way during 
construction to revert to 35 after construction is completed 
with the additional right of ingress and egress for the 
purpose of maintenance, repairs, removal or 
modification$50 per rod; 

2. class 2: pipe 19 inches up to 36 inches outside 
diameter with a maximum of 100 feet right-of-way during 
construction to revert to 50 feet after construction is 
completed with the additional right of ingress and egress for 
the purpose of maintenance, repairs, removal or 
modification$70 per rod; 

3. class 3:  pipe over 36 inches outside diameter with 
a maximum of 200 feet right-of-way during construction to 
revert to 60 feet after construction is completed with the 
additional rights of ingress and egress for the purpose of 
maintenance, repairs, removal or modification$90 per rod; 

M.4. - R. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

41:1173. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Land Office, LR 

1:147 (February 1975), amended by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 3:314 (July 1977), repealed 
and repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, State Land Office, LR 19:493 (April 1993), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Lands, LR 43:48 (January 2017). 

 
Mark Gates 
Assistant Director 

1701#039 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Dentistry 

Advertising and Soliciting by Dentists and Complaints and 
Investigation (LAC 46:XXXIII.701 and 1509) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751 et seq., and particularly 
R.S. 37:760(8), the Department of Health, Board of 
Dentistry has amended LAC 46:XXXIII.701 and 1509. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXIII.  Dental Health Profession 

Chapter 7. Dental Hygienists 
§701. Authorized Duties 

A. … 
B. A person licensed to practice dentistry in the state of 

Louisiana may delegate to any dental hygienist any chairside 
dental act which said dentist deems reasonable, using sound 

professional judgment. Such act must be performed properly 
and safely on the patient. Furthermore, the act must be under 
the direct on-premises supervision of the treating dentist. A 
dentist may not delegate to a dental hygienist: 

B.1. - G.2. … 
3. No duly licensed and registered dentist in a private 

practice shall supervise a dental hygienist for more than five 
consecutive business days or for more than 20 total days in 
any calendar year. These limits do not apply to a hygienist 
working at a school or public institution. 

4. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:791 (November 
1988), amended LR 15:965 (November 1989), LR 19:206 
(February 1993), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:1217 (December 
1996), LR 24:1116 (June 1998), LR 27:1892 (November 2001), LR 
32:2056 (November 2006), LR 37:590 (February 2011), LR 
37:1406 (May 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Board 
of Dentistry, LR 43:48 (January 2017). 
Chapter 15. Anesthesia/Analgesia Administration 
§1509. Third-Party Sedation/Anesthesia 

A. … 
B. In order to utilize a third-party to administer sedation 

and/or anesthesia as described in Subsection A, a dentist 
must obtain an office permit for each office location at 
which a third-party anesthetist will be administering sedation 
or anesthesia, subject to the exceptions in R.S. 37:793(H). 
This permit will only be issued after an office inspection by 
the board to assure that the office meets the minimum 
requirements for facilities, personnel and equipment for 
sedation/anesthesia procedures. Additionally, the dentist who 
is performing the dental work but not performing the 
sedation/general anesthesia must have current certification in 
advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) as described in 
§1503.E and, if children are to be sedated, must also have 
current certification in pediatric life support (PALS) as 
described in §1504.A.4. If a dentist’s practice is restricted to 
treating only children, the certification in pediatric life 
support (PALS) described in §1504.A.4 will suffice as a 
substitute for ACLS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 42:54 (January 2016), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Dentistry, LR 
43:48 (January 2017). 

 
Arthur F. Hickham, Jr. 
Executive Director 

1701#077 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Drug and Device Distributors 

General Provisions, Requirements, Qualifications, 
Recordkeeping, Fees, Wholesale Distributors,  

and Third-Party Logistics Providers  
(LAC 46:XCI.301) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule is being repromulgated to correct 
citation error’s. The original Rule can be viewed in the 
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December 20, 2016 edition of the Louisiana Register on pages 
2182-2188. 

The Louisiana Board of Drug and Device Distributors has 
amended LAC 46:XCI.103, 105, 301, 303, 305, 307, 311, 
315, and 801, and adopted Chapter 13 and Chapter 15 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S. 37:3467 et seq. 
of the Louisiana Drug and Device Distributors Act. This 
Rule will support the board’s ability to license entities and 
regulate the distribution of legend drugs and legend devices 
into and within the state of Louisiana in its effort to 
safeguard the life and health of its citizens and promote the 
public welfare. The Rule is herein set forth. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATION STANDARDS 

Part XCI.  Drug and Device Distributors 
Chapter 3. Drug and Device Distributors 
§301. Licensing, Renewal and Reinstatement 

Requirements 
A. The board shall issue sub-types for distributors of 

legend drug and legend device licenses as follows: 
1. standard distributors; 
2. wholesale distributors; and 
3. third-party logistics provider distributors. 

B. Every drug or device distributor shall submit an initial 
application for a new license on a form furnished by the 
board and accompanied by the initial license fee. 

1. The board shall require a separate license for each 
facility or physical location directly or indirectly owned or 
operated by the same business entity or for a parent entity 
with divisions, subdivisions, subsidiaries, and/or affiliate 
companies when operations are conducted at more than one 
location and there exists joint ownership and control among 
all the entities. 

2. Parent entity must license all divisions, 
subdivisions, subsidiaries, and/or affiliate companies owned 
by the parent company that sell and/or ship legend drugs or 
devices in or into Louisiana. 

C. All new licenses issued by the board shall expire on 
December 31 of the calendar year issued. 

D. A license shall be renewed annually by timely 
submitting an application and the license renewal fee. 

E. Each application for the renewal of the license must 
be made between October 1 and December 31 of each year 
on a paper or electronic form provided by the board. 

1. If a license is not renewed on or before the 
expiration date, a person may apply for reinstatement of the 
expired license within one year by submitting an application, 
the license renewal fee, and the license reinstatement fee. 

2. If a license is expired beyond one year, a person 
may apply for reinstatement of the expired license by 
submitting an application, the initial license fee, the license 
reinstatement fee, and if applicable, the initial inspection fee. 

3. A person may not lawfully operate as a drug or 
device distributor in Louisiana until the expired license has 
been reinstated. 

F. Licenses renewed annually between October 1 and 
December 31 shall expire on December 31 of the following 
calendar year. 

G. Each license issued hereunder shall be displayed by 
the licensee in a conspicuous place at the licensed facility or 
physical location. 

H. Out-of-state drug or device distributors licensed by 
the board must have on file at all times with the board a 
current copy of a valid certificate of registration or license 
for drug or device distribution as issued by the appropriate 
regulatory board or agency of the state in which the facility 
or physical location licensed with the board is located or 
registration or license as issued by the appropriate federal 
agency when applicable. 

1. If the state in which the facility licensed with the 
board is located does not require the facility to be registered 
or licensed as a drug or device distributor and the facility or 
physical location is registered or licensed in the state in 
which it is located as a manufacturer of drugs or devices, a 
current copy of the valid manufacturer registration or license 
must be submitted to and maintained with the board. 

2. If the state in which the facility or physical location 
licensed with the board is located does not require the 
facility or physical location to be registered or licensed as a 
drug or device distributor and/or the facility or physical 
location is not a registered/licensed manufacturing facility 
and the state in which the facility or physical location is 
located does not require any registration or licensure of the 
facility or physical location, a letter from the appropriate 
state regulatory board or agency must be submitted to the 
board confirming such fact. 

a. If the state in which the facility or physical 
location is located does not require any registration or 
licensure for distribution or manufacturing but a federal 
agency does require and issues registration or licensure to 
the facility or physical location licensed by this board, a 
copy of the federal registration or license must be submitted. 

3. If the facility or physical location licensed with the 
board does not physically distribute and/or manufacture the 
drugs or devices that it owns or holds title to and/or the 
facility or physical location licensed with the board contracts 
with a third-party logistics provider for distribution of the 
drugs or devices and the state in which the facility or 
physical location licensed by the board is located does not 
require any registration or licensure of the facility or 
physical location, a letter from the appropriate state 
regulatory board or agency confirming this fact and a current 
copy of the valid registration or license from the state in 
which the third-party logistics provider facility is located 
must be submitted to the board. 

a. if the state in which the third-party logistics 
provider facility or physical location is located does not 
require any registration or licensure for third-party logistics 
providers but a federal agency does require and issues 
registration or licensure to the third-party logistics provider 
facility or physical location licensed by this board, a copy of 
the federal registration or license must be submitted.  

I. An initial application for a new license is valid for 
180 days after receipt by the board and must be completed 
within this time frame. 

1. If the application is not completed, the application 
becomes void and any application fee(s) paid is forfeited by 
the applicant and is non-refundable. 

2. After the 180 days have expired, a new application 
for a license will be required to be submitted by the 
applicant to include payment of another license application 
fee. 
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J. Requests for voluntary cancellation of a license made 
by a licensee must be made in writing and must include 
information such as, but not limited to, the date the request is 
effective and the reason for the voluntary cancellation of the 
license. 

1. If the request for voluntary cancellation is made 
before the license has expired, the original unexpired license 
certificate must be returned to the board and no refund of 
any portion of the license fee(s) paid will be made by the 
board. 

K. If a licensed in-state drug or device distributor has an 
additional off-site storage facility, the off-site storage facility 
may operate under the current drug or device distribution 
license held by the licensee as long as the off-site storage 
facility is in compliance with §309.A.1 of this Part and has 
temperature monitoring and an alarm system and the off-site 
storage facility does not physically receive or distribute 
legend drugs or devices from its location. 

L. A license shall not be issued by the board for any drug 
or device distributor to operate from or out of a dwelling, 
building, or property zoned as residential. 

M. A license issued to a drug or device distributor will be 
revoked after 180 days from the date of issuance if an 
inspection and disciplinary hearing reveal a lack of 
legitimate business activity as per recordkeeping 
requirements of §311.B of this Part or a violation of any 
provisions of this Title. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 
18:382 (April 1992), amended LR 29:1480 (August 2003), LR 
32:396 (March 2006), LR 34:875 (May 2008), LR 35:1538 (August 
2009), LR 36:322 (February 2010), LR 39:2758 (October 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Drug and Device 
Distributors LR 42:2183 (December 2016), repromulgated LR 
43:49 (January 2017). 

 
George Lovecchio 
Executive Director 

1701#019 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacist-in-Charge of Nonresident Pharmacy 
(LAC 46:LIII.2307) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended Chapter 23, Nonresident Pharmacy, 
of its rules. In particular, the board has amended §2307 
relative to the requirements for the pharmacist-in-charge of a 
nonresident pharmacy. In addition, the board made technical 
changes in the Chapter title and Section headings to change 
“out-of-state” to “nonresident.” 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 23. Nonresident Pharmacy 
§2307. Pharmacist-in-Charge 

A. The opportunity to accept an appointment as the 
pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) of a pharmacy is a professional 
privilege. The following requirements are attached to a PIC 
privilege. 

1. The acquisition of the PIC privilege shall require: 
a. possession of an active Louisiana pharmacist 

license; 
b. possession of an active license in the state in 

which the pharmacy is located, and further, said license shall 
not have any restrictions which prohibit the position of 
pharmacist-in-charge; 

c. active practice as a pharmacist for a minimum of 
two years under the jurisdiction of any board of pharmacy in 
the United States; and 

d. the completion of the affidavit of responsibility 
and duties described in Subsection J of this Section. 

2. The PIC shall be present and practicing at the 
pharmacy for which he holds the PIC position no less than 
20 hours per week during the pharmacy’s ordinary course of 
business. In the event the pharmacy’s normal hours of 
business are less than 20 hours per week, the PIC shall be 
present and practicing at least 50 percent of the normal 
business hours. 

B. An initial and renewal pharmacy permit application 
shall designate and identify the licensed pharmacist-in-
charge. 

C. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 18:1381 (December 
1992), effective January 1, 1993, LR 29:2100 (October 2003), 
effective January 1, 2004, LR 33:1133 (June 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:50 (January 
2017). 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1701#008 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Forensic Supervised Transitional Residential 
and Aftercare Facilities 

Licensing Standards 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 72) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has repealed and replaced LAC 48:I.Chapter 72 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S.
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36:254 and R.S. 28:31-28:37. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part 1.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 72. Forensic Supervised Transitional 

Residential and Aftercare Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§7201. Introduction 

A. These rules and regulations contain the minimum 
licensure standards for forensic supervised transitional 
residential and aftercare (FSTRA) facilities, pursuant to R.S. 
28:31-28:37. These licensing regulations contain core 
requirements as well as module specific requirements, 
depending upon the services provided by the forensic 
supervised transitional residential and aftercare facility. The 
modules to be licensed under a FSTRA license are: 

1. secure community supervised 
transitional/residential facility; and 

2. secure forensic facility. 
B. A forensic supervised transitional residential and 

aftercare facility serves clients referred by state forensic 
hospitals or state forensic inpatient psychiatric units operated 
by the Department of Health, including persons who are 
court ordered and persons who are on court ordered 
conditional release status. A FSTRA facility shall operate 7 
days per week, 24 hours a day. 

C. The care and services to be provided through 
arrangement or by the facility shall include, but are not 
limited to, the following: 

1. behavioral health services; 
2. nutritional services; 
3. medication management;  
4. assistance with independent living skills; 
5. recreational services; and 
6. transportation services. 

D. Key administrative personnel shall include the 
administrator, physician/psychiatrist and the registered nurse 
supervisor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:51 (January 
2017). 
§7203. Definitions 

Activities of Daily Living (ADLs)—the functions or tasks 
which are performed by an individual in a typical day, either 
independently or with supervision/assistance. Activities of 
daily living may include, but are not limited to, bathing, 
dressing, eating, grooming, walking, transferring and/or 
toileting. 

Administrator—the person responsible for the on-site, 
daily implementation and supervision of the overall facility’s 
operation commensurate with the authority conferred by the 
governing body. 

Assistance with Activities of Daily Living—services that 
provide assistance with activities of daily living. Such 
assistance may be the actual performance of the task for the

individual, or may provide hands-on assist with the 
performance of the tasks, or may be supervision and 
prompting to allow the individual to self-perform such tasks. 

Behavior Management—techniques, measures, 
interventions and procedures applied in a systematic fashion 
to promote positive behavioral or functional change which 
fosters the client's self-control, and to prevent or interrupt a 
client's behavior which threatens harm to the client or others. 

Cessation of Business—FSTRA is non-operational and/or 
has stopped offering or providing services to the community. 

Departmentthe Louisiana Department of Health (LDH). 
Division of Administrative Law (DAL)—the administrative 

law tribunal authorized by law to hear and decide the 
administrative appeals for the department. 

Forensic Clients—persons transitioned from a forensic 
facility established pursuant to R.S. 28:25.1(A) or (B). 

Forensic Psychiatrist—a physician, currently licensed to 
practice medicine in Louisiana, who: 

1. signs the order admitting the individual to the 
FSTRA facility; 

2. maintains overall responsibility for the client’s 
medical management; and 

3. is readily available for consultation and 
collaboration with the FSTRA facility staff. 

Forensic Supervised Transitional Residential and 
Aftercare Facility—a facility that provides supervised 
transitional residential and aftercare services to forensic 
clients, including persons who are court ordered or who are 
on court ordered conditional release status. A forensic 
supervised transitional residential and aftercare facility shall 
provide clients, referred by state operated forensic 
facilities/hospitals and under court order or court ordered 
forensic conditional release, with individualized services to 
develop daily living skills and to prepare for vocational 
adjustment and reentry into the community. 

Health Standards Section (HSS)—the licensing and 
certification section of the Louisiana Department of Health. 

Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLs)—the 
functions or tasks that are not necessary for fundamental 
functioning but assist an individual to be able to live in a 
community setting. These are activities such as light house-
keeping, food preparation and storage, grocery shopping, 
laundry, reminders to take medication, scheduling medical 
appointments, arranging transportation to medical 
appointments and accompanying the client to medical 
appointments. 

Licensee—the person, partnership, company, corporation, 
association, organization, professional entity or other entity 
to whom a license is granted by the licensing agency and 
upon whom rests the ultimate responsibility and authority 
for the conduct of and services provided by the FSTRA 
facility. 

Non-Operational—the FSTRA facility is not open for 
continuous business operation 24 hours a day, 7 days per 
week as stated on the licensing application and business 
location signage. 

Secure Community Supervised Transitional/Residential 
Facility—a secure residential facility within the community 
that provides individualized services to persons who are 
under a court order or court ordered forensic conditional 
release and who are referred by a state forensic hospital or
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state forensic psychiatric unit. These services enable such 
persons to develop daily living skills and to prepare for 
vocational adjustment and reentry into the community. 

Secure Forensic Facility—a secure residential facility 
located on the grounds of a state owned/operated hospital 
that provides individualized services, including personal care 
services and medication administration, to persons who are 
under a court order or court ordered forensic conditional 
release and who are referred by a state forensic hospital or 
state forensic psychiatric unit. These services prepare such 
persons for transition to a less restrictive environment before 
transitioning to the community. 

Therapeutic—process of intervention, in accordance with 
the treatment plan, that has the desirable effect of modifying 
or redirecting a client’s behavior and/or emotional state in a 
positive or beneficial manner. 

Treatment Plan—a comprehensive plan developed by the 
facility for each client that includes the services each client 
needs. It shall include the provision of medical/psychiatric, 
nursing and psychosocial services. 

Unit—an integral, separate, segregated living space 
utilized only by either male, or by female clients, and who 
reside in that space of the licensed facility. Living spaces 
include the client’s sleeping quarters and bathroom facilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:51 (January 
2017). 
§7205. Licensing Requirements 

A. Any person or entity applying for a FSTRA license 
shall meet all of the core licensing requirements contained in 
this Subchapter as well as module specific requirements, 
unless otherwise specifically noted herein. 

B. All facilities providing forensic supervised 
transitional residential and aftercare services shall be 
licensed by the department. A FSTRA facility shall not be 
established, opened, operated, managed, maintained or 
conducted in this state without a license issued by the 
Department of Health. Each facility shall be separately 
licensed. 

C. The Department of Health is the only licensing 
authority for FSTRA facilities in the state of Louisiana. It 
shall be unlawful to operate a FSTRA facility without 
possessing a current, valid license issued by the department. 

D. Each FSTRA license shall: 
1. be issued only to the person or entity named in the 

license application; 
2. be valid only for the facility to which it is issued 

and only for the specific geographic address of that facility; 
3. be valid for one year from the date of issuance, 

unless revoked, suspended or modified prior to that date, or 
unless a provisional license is issued; 

4. expire on the last day of the twelfth month after the 
date of issuance, unless timely renewed by the facility; 

5. not be subject to sale, assignment, donation or other 
transfer, whether voluntary or involuntary; and 

6. be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed 
premises at all times. 

E. In order for the FSTRA facility to be considered 
operational and retain licensed status, the facility shall meet 
the following conditions. 

1. When clients are present, the facility shall provide 
24 hours a day, 7 days per week supervision and the care and 
services sufficient to meet the needs of the clients, including 
but not limited to: 

a. at least three direct care staff persons during the 
day and two awake staff during the night; 

b. at least two direct care staff persons in each 
building and/or unit; and 

c.  a functional security system on all points of 
ingress and egress with 24-hour, 7 days per week continuous 
monitoring by awake staff. 

2. There shall be staff employed and available to be 
assigned to provide care and services to each client during 
all operational hours consistent with the behavioral health 
needs of each client. 

3. The facility shall have provided services to at least 
two clients in the preceding 12-month period in order to be 
eligible to renew its license. 

F. The licensed FSTRA facility shall abide by and 
adhere to any state law, rules, policy, procedure, manual, or 
memorandums pertaining to such facilities. 

G. A separately licensed FSTRA facility shall not use a 
name which is substantially the same as the name of another 
such facility licensed by the department, unless the facility is 
under common ownership with other FSTRA facilities. 

H. No branches, satellite locations or offsite campuses 
will be authorized for a FSTRA facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:52 (January 
2017). 
§7207. Initial Licensing Application Process 

A. An initial application for licensing as a FSTRA 
facility shall be obtained from the department. A completed 
initial license application packet for a facility shall be 
submitted to and approved by the department prior to an 
applicant providing services. An applicant shall submit a 
completed initial licensing packet to the department, which 
shall include: 

1. a completed facility licensure application and the 
non-refundable licensing fee as established by statute; 

2. a copy of the approval letter of the architectural 
facility plans from the Office of the State Fire Marshal and 
any other office/entity designated by the department to 
review and approve the facility’s architectural plans; 

3. a copy of the on-site inspection report with 
approval for occupancy by the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal; 

4. a copy of the health inspection report with approval 
of occupancy from the Office of Public Health; 

5. a copy of the statewide criminal background checks 
on the following persons: 

a. all individual owners with a 5 percent or more 
ownership interest in the FSTRA facility entity; 

b. facility administrators; and 
c. members of the facility’s board of directors, if 

applicable; 
6. proof of financial viability, comprised of the 

following: 
a. a line of credit issued from a federally insured, 

licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$50,000; 
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 i. any state agency operating a FSTRA facility, or 
any entity operating a facility pursuant to a cooperative 
endeavor agreement (CEA) with a state agency, shall be 
exempted from the line of credit requirement; 

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $300,000; and 

c. worker’s compensation insurance; 
7. if applicable, clinical laboratory improvement 

amendments (CLIA) certificate or CLIA certificate of 
waiver; 

8. a letter-sized floor sketch or drawing of the 
premises to be licensed; and 

9. any other documentation or information required by 
the department for licensure. 

B. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete when 
submitted, the applicant will be notified of the missing 
information and will have 90 days from receipt of the 
notification to submit the additional requested information. 
If the additional requested information is not submitted to 
the department within 90 days, the application will be 
closed. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who is still interested in becoming a facility shall 
submit a new initial licensing packet with a new initial 
licensing fee to start the initial licensing process. 

C. Once the initial licensing application packet has been 
approved by the department, notification of such approval 
shall be forwarded to the applicant. Within 90 days of receipt 
of the approval of the application, the applicant shall notify 
the department that the facility is ready and is requesting an 
initial licensing survey. If an applicant fails to notify the 
department within 90 days, the initial licensing application 
shall be closed. After an initial licensing application is 
closed, an applicant who is still interested in becoming a 
licensed facility shall submit a new initial licensing packet 
with a new initial licensing fee to start the initial licensing 
process. 

D. When issued, the initial forensic supervised 
transitional residential and aftercare facility license shall 
specify the capacity of the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:52 (January 
2017). 
§7209. Types of Licenses 

A. The department shall have the authority to issue the 
following types of licenses. 

1. Full Initial License. The department shall issue a 
full license to the facility when the initial licensing survey 
finds that the facility is compliant with all licensing laws and 
regulations, and is compliant with all other required statutes, 
laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees. The license 
shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the license 
unless the license is modified, revoked, or suspended. 

2. Provisional Initial License. The department shall 
issue a provisional initial license to the facility when the 
initial licensing survey finds that the facility is noncompliant 
with any licensing laws or regulations or any other required 
statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations or fees, but the 
department determines that the noncompliance does not 
present a threat to the health, safety or welfare of the 
individuals receiving services. The provisional license shall 
be valid for a period not to exceed six months. 

3. Full Renewal License. The department shall issue a 
full renewal license to an existing licensed facility which is 
in substantial compliance with all applicable federal, state, 
departmental and local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 
regulations and fees. The license shall be valid until the 
expiration date shown on the license unless the license is 
modified, revoked, or suspended. 

B. The department, in its sole discretion, may issue a 
provisional license to an existing licensed facility for a 
period not to exceed six months for the following reasons. 

1. The existing facility has more than five deficient 
practices or deficiencies cited during any one survey. 

2. The existing facility has more than three validated 
complaints in one licensed year period. 

3. The existing facility has been issued a deficiency 
that involved placing a client at risk for serious harm or 
death. 

4. The existing facility has failed to correct deficient 
practices within 60 days of being cited for such deficient 
practices or at the time of a follow-up survey. 

5. The existing facility is not in substantial 
compliance with all applicable federal, state, departmental 
and local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules regulations and 
fees at the time of renewal of the license. 

C. When the department issues a provisional license to 
an existing licensed facility, the department shall conduct an 
on-site follow-up survey at the facility prior to the expiration 
of the provisional license, and shall issue written notice of 
the results of the follow-up survey. 

1. If the on-site follow-up survey determines that the 
facility has corrected the deficient practices and has 
maintained compliance during the period of the provisional 
license, the department may issue a full license for the 
remainder of the year until the anniversary date of the 
facility license. 

2. If the on-site follow-up survey determines that the 
facility has not corrected the deficient practices or has not 
maintained compliance during the period of the provisional 
license, the provisional license shall expire and the facility 
shall be required to begin the initial licensing process again 
by submitting a new initial license application packet and 
fee, if no timely informal reconsideration or administrative 
appeal of the deficiencies cited is filed pursuant to this 
Chapter. 

a. At the sole discretion of the department, the 
provisional license may be extended for a period, not to 
exceed 90 days, in order for the facility to correct the 
noncompliance or deficiencies. 

D. When the department issues a provisional license as a 
result of the initial licensing survey, the facility shall submit 
a plan of correction to the department for approval, and shall 
be required to correct all such noncompliance or deficiencies 
prior to the expiration of the provisional license. The 
department shall conduct an on-site follow-up survey at the 
facility prior to the expiration of the provisional license and 
shall issue written notice to the facility of the results of the 
follow-up survey. 

1. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are 
determined by the department to be corrected on a follow-up 
survey, a full license will be issued. 

2. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are not 
corrected on the follow-up survey, the provisional license 
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shall expire and the facility shall be required to begin the 
initial licensing process again by submitting a new initial 
license application packet and fee and any applicable facility 
need review approval for licensure. 

a. At the sole discretion of the department, the 
provisional license may be extended for an additional period, 
not to exceed 90 days, in order for the facility to correct the 
noncompliance or deficiencies. 

E. The license for a facility shall be valid for one year 
from the date of issuance, unless revoked, suspended or 
modified prior to that time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:53 (January 
2017). 
§7211. Licensing Surveys 

A. Prior to the initial license being issued to the facility, 
an initial licensing survey shall be conducted on-site at the 
facility to assure compliance with licensing standards. The 
facility shall not provide services until the initial licensing 
survey has been performed and the facility found in 
compliance with the licensing standards. The initial licensing 
survey shall be an announced survey. 

B. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the facility is compliant with all licensing laws, regulations 
and other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 
regulations, and fees, the department shall issue a full license 
to the facility. 

C. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the facility is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations, or any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, 
rules or regulations, that present a potential threat to the 
health, safety, or welfare of clients, the department shall 
deny the initial license. 

D. Once an initial license has been issued, the 
department shall conduct licensing and other surveys at 
intervals deemed necessary by the department to determine 
compliance with licensing standards and regulations, as well 
as other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 
regulations, and fees. These surveys shall be unannounced. 

E. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any survey 
where deficiencies have been cited to ensure correction of 
the deficient practices. 

1. An acceptable plan of correction may be required 
from a facility for any survey where deficiencies have been 
cited. 

2. If deficiencies have been cited, regardless of 
whether an acceptable plan of correction is required, the 
department may issue appropriate sanctions, including, but 
not limited to: 

a. civil monetary penalties; 
b. directed plans of correction; 
c. license revocations; and 
d. denial of license renewal. 

F. LDH surveyors and staff shall be: 
1. given access to all areas of the facility and all 

relevant files during any licensing or other survey; and 
2. allowed to interview any facility staff, or client as 

necessary to conduct the survey. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:54 (January 
2017). 
§7213. Changes in Licensee Information or Personnel 

A. A facility license shall be valid only for the person or 
entity named in the license application and only for the 
specific geographic address listed on the license application. 

B. Any change regarding the facility name, “doing 
business as” name, mailing address, phone number, or any 
combination thereof, shall be reported in writing to the 
department within five days of the occurrence. Any change 
regarding the facility name or “doing business as” name 
requires a change to the facility license and the required fee 
for the reissuance of an amended license. 

C. Any change regarding the facility’s key administrative 
personnel shall be reported in writing to the department 
within five days of the change. 

1. Key administrative personnel include the 
administrator, physician/psychiatrist and the registered nurse 
supervisor. 

2. The facility’s notice to the department shall include 
the individual’s: 

a. name; 
b. facility address; 
c. hire date; and 
d. qualifications. 

D. A change of ownership (CHOW) of the facility shall 
be reported in writing to the department within five days of 
the change of ownership. 

1. The license of a facility is not transferable or 
assignable. The license of a facility cannot be sold. 

2. In the event of a CHOW, the new owner shall 
submit the legal CHOW document, all documents required 
for a new license, and the applicable licensing fee. Once all 
application requirements are completed and approved by the 
department, a new license shall be issued to the new owner. 

3. A facility that is under license suspension, 
revocation, denial of license renewal or provisional licensure 
shall not undergo a CHOW. 

E. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 
accompanied by the required fee. 

F. A facility that intends to change the physical address 
of its geographic location is required to have plan review 
approval, Office of State Fire Marshall approval, Office of 
Public Health approval, compliance with other applicable 
licensing requirements, and an on-site licensing survey prior 
to the facility relocation. 

1. Written notice of intent to relocate shall be 
submitted to the licensing section of the department when 
plan review request is submitted to the department for 
approval. 

2. The relocation of the facility’s physical address 
results in a new anniversary date and the full licensing fee 
shall be paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:54 (January 
2017). 
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§7215. Renewal of License 
A. License Renewal Application. The facility shall 

submit a completed license renewal application packet to the 
department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the 
existing current license. The license renewal application 
packet shall include: 

1. the license renewal application; 
2. a copy of the current on-site inspection with 

approval for occupancy from the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal; 

3. a copy of the current on-site inspection report with 
approval of occupancy from the Office of Public Health; 

4. proof of financial viability, comprised of the 
following: 

a. a line of credit issued from a federally insured, 
licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$50,000; any state agency operating a FSTRA facility, or any 
entity operating a FSTRA facility pursuant to a CEA with a 
state entity, shall be exempt from the line of credit 
requirement; 

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $300,000; and 

c. worker’s compensation insurance; 
5. the license renewal fee; and 
6. any other documentation required by the 

department. 
B. The department may perform an on-site survey and 

inspection upon annual renewal of a license. 
C. Failure to submit a completed license renewal 

application packet prior to the expiration of the current 
license will result in the voluntary non-renewal of the 
FSTRA license. 

D. The renewal of a license or the denial of a renewal 
application does not in any manner affect any sanction, civil 
monetary penalty, or other action imposed by the department 
against the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:55 (January 
2017). 
§7217. Denial of License, Revocation of License, Denial 

of License Renewal  
A. In accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, the department may: 
1. deny an application for a license; 
2. deny a license renewal; or 
3. revoke a license. 

B. Denial of an Initial License 
1. The department shall deny an initial license when 

the initial licensing survey finds that the facility is 
noncompliant with any licensing laws or regulations or with 
any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules or 
regulations that present a potential threat to the health, 
safety, or welfare of the clients who will be served by the 
facility. 

2. The department may deny an initial license for any 
of the reasons in this Chapter that a license may be revoked 
or denied renewal. 

C. Voluntary Non-Renewal of a License 
1. If a facility fails to timely renew its license, the 

license expires on its face and is considered voluntarily

surrendered. There are no appeal rights for such surrender or 
non-renewal of the license, as this is a voluntary action on 
the part of the facility. 

2. If a facility fails to timely renew its license, the 
facility shall immediately cease and desist providing 
services, unless the facility is actively treating clients, in 
which case the facility shall comply with the following: 

a. immediately provide written notice to the 
department of the number of clients receiving treatment at 
the facility; 

b. immediately provide written notice to the 
prescribing physician and to the client or legal representative 
of the following: 
 i. notice of voluntary non-renewal; 
 ii. notice of closure; and 
 iii. plans for orderly transition of the client(s); 

c. discharge and transition of each client within 15 
days of voluntary non-renewal; and 

d. notify the department of the location where 
records will be stored and the contact person for the records. 

3. If a facility fails to follow these procedures, the 
owners, managers, officers, directors and administrators may 
be prohibited from opening, managing, directing, operating 
or owning a FSTRA facility for a period of two years. 

D. Revocation of License or Denial of License Renewal. 
A facility license may be revoked or may be denied renewal 
for any of the following reasons, including but not limited 
to: 

1. failure to be in substantial compliance with the 
FSTRA facility licensing laws, rules and regulations or with 
other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules or 
regulations; 

2. failure to comply with the terms and provisions of a 
settlement agreement or education letter with or from the 
department, the Attorney General’s office, any regulatory 
agency or any law enforcement agency; 

3. failure to uphold clients’ rights whereby deficient 
practices result in harm, injury, or death of a client; 

4. negligent failure to protect a client from a harmful 
act of an employee or other client including, but not limited 
to: 

a. mental or physical abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 
extortion; 

b. any action posing a threat to a client’s health and 
safety; 

c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation; 
e. harassment; or 
f. criminal activity; 

5. failure to notify the proper authorities, as required 
by federal or state law, rules or regulations, of all suspected 
cases of: 

a. mental or physical abuse, neglect, exploitation, or 
extortion; 

b. any action posing a threat to a client’s health and 
safety; 

c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation; 
e. harassment; or 
f. criminal activity; 

6. knowingly making a false statement in any of the 
following areas, including but not limited to: 
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a. application for initial license or renewal of 
license; 

b. data forms; 
c. clinical records, client records or facility records; 
d. matters under investigation by the department or 

the Office of the Attorney General; or 
e. information submitted for reimbursement from 

any payment source; 
7. knowingly making a false statement or providing 

false, forged, or altered information or documentation to 
department employees or to law enforcement agencies; 

8. the use of false, fraudulent or misleading 
advertising; 

9. fraudulent operation of a facility by the owner, 
administrator, manager, member, officer or director; 

10. an owner, officer, member, manager, administrator, 
director or person designated to manage or supervise client 
care has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, or has 
been convicted of a felony, as documented by a certified 
copy of the record of the court. For purposes of these 
provisions, conviction of a felony includes a felony relating 
to any of the following: 

a. violence, abuse, or negligence of a person; 
b. misappropriation of property belonging to 

another person; 
c. cruelty, exploitation, or sexual battery of a person 

with disabilities; 
d. a drug offense; 
e. crimes of sexual nature; 
f. a firearm or deadly weapon; 
g. fraud or misappropriation of federal or state 

funds, including Medicare or Medicaid funds; 
11. failure to comply with all reporting requirements in 

a timely manner as required by the department; 
12. failure to allow or refusal to allow the department 

to conduct an investigation or survey, or to interview 
provider staff or clients; 

13. failure to allow or refusal to allow access to facility 
or client records by authorized departmental personnel; or 

14. failure to maintain all required elements of the 
proof of financial viability without interruption. 

E. If an existing facility has been issued a notice of 
license revocation or suspension and the facility’s license is 
due for annual renewal, the department shall deny the 
license renewal. The denial of the license renewal does not 
affect in any manner the license revocation. 

F. If a facility license is revoked or renewal is denied, 
any owner, officer, member, director, manager or 
administrator of such facility may be prohibited from 
opening, managing, directing, operating or owning another 
FSTRA facility for a period of two years from the date of the 
final disposition of the revocation or denial action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:55 (January 
2017). 
§7219. Notice and Appeal of License Denial, License 

Revocation and Denial of License Renewal  
A. Notice of a license denial, license revocation or denial 

of license renewal shall be given to the provider in writing. 
B. A facility has a right to an informal reconsideration of 

the license denial, license revocation or denial of license 

renewal. There is no right to an informal reconsideration of a 
voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 
facility. 

1. The facility shall request the informal 
reconsideration within 15 calendar days of the receipt of the 
notice of the license denial, license revocation or denial of 
license renewal. The request for informal reconsideration 
shall be in writing and shall be forwarded to the 
department’s Health Standards Section. 

2. The request for informal reconsideration shall 
include any documentation that demonstrates that the 
determination was made in error. 

3. If a timely request for an informal reconsideration 
is received by the Health Standards Section, an informal 
reconsideration shall be scheduled and the facility will 
receive written notification of the date of the informal 
reconsideration. 

4. The facility shall have the right to appear in person 
at the informal reconsideration and may be represented by 
counsel. 

5. Correction of a violation or deficiency which is the 
basis for the denial, revocation or denial of license renewal 
shall not be a basis for reconsideration. 

6. The informal reconsideration process is not in lieu 
of the administrative appeals process. 

7. The facility will be notified in writing of the results 
of the informal reconsideration. 

C. A facility has a right to an administrative appeal of the 
license denial, license revocation, or denial of license 
renewal. There is no right to an administrative appeal of a 
voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 
facility. 

1. The facility shall request the administrative appeal 
within 30 calendar days of the receipt of the notice of the 
results of the informal reconsideration of the license denial, 
license revocation, or denial of license renewal. The facility 
may forego its rights to an informal reconsideration, and if 
so, the facility shall request the administrative appeal within 
30 calendar days of the receipt of the notice of the license 
denial, license revocation, or denial of license renewal. The 
request for administrative appeal shall be in writing and shall 
be submitted to the Division of Administrative Law (DAL). 

2. The request for administrative appeal shall include 
any documentation that demonstrates that the determination 
was made in error and shall include the basis and specific 
reasons for the appeal. 

3. If a timely request for an administrative appeal is 
received by the DAL, the administrative appeal of the 
license revocation or denial of license renewal shall be 
suspensive, and the facility shall be allowed to continue to 
operate and provide services until such time as the 
department issues a final administrative decision. 

a. If the secretary of the department determines that 
the violations of the facility pose an imminent or immediate 
threat to the health, welfare, or safety of a client, the 
imposition of the license revocation or license non-renewal 
may be immediate and may be enforced during the pendency 
of the administrative appeal. The facility shall be notified of 
this determination in writing. 

4. Correction of a violation or a deficiency which is 
the basis for the denial, revocation or denial of license 
renewal shall not be a basis for the administrative appeal. 
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D. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by the 
facility on a license denial, denial of license renewal or 
license revocation, the DAL shall conduct the hearing in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

1. If the final agency decision is to reverse the license 
denial, the denial of license renewal or the license 
revocation, the facility’s license will be re-instated or 
granted upon the payment of any licensing or other fees due 
to the department and the payment of any outstanding 
sanctions due to the department. 

2. If the final agency decision is to affirm the denial of 
license renewal or the license revocation, the facility shall 
discharge any and all clients receiving services. Within 10 
days of the final agency decision, the facility shall notify the 
department’s licensing section in writing of the secure and 
confidential location of where its records will be stored. 

E. There is no right to an informal reconsideration or an 
administrative appeal of the issuance of a provisional license 
to a new facility. A facility that has been issued a provisional 
license is licensed and operational for the term of the 
provisional license. The issuance of a provisional license to 
an existing facility is not considered to be a denial of license, 
a denial of license renewal, or a license revocation. 

F. A facility with a provisional initial license or an 
existing facility with a provisional license that expires due to 
noncompliance or deficiencies cited at the follow-up survey, 
shall have the right to an informal reconsideration and the 
right to an administrative appeal regarding the deficiencies 
cited at the follow-up survey. 

1. The facility has five calendar days from the receipt 
of the department’s notice of the results of the follow-up 
survey to submit a written request for informal 
reconsideration of the follow-up survey findings. 

2. The informal reconsideration and the administrative 
appeal are limited to whether the deficiencies were properly 
cited at the follow-up survey. 

3. The correction of a violation, noncompliance, or 
deficiency after the follow-up survey shall not be the basis 
for the informal reconsideration or for the administrative 
appeal. 

4. The facility has 15 calendar days from the receipt 
of the department’s notice of the results of the follow-up 
survey to submit a written request for an administrative 
appeal. 

G. A facility with a provisional license that expires under 
the provisions of this Chapter shall cease providing services 
and discharge clients unless the DAL issues a stay of the 
expiration. 

1. A stay may be granted by the DAL upon application 
by the provider at the time the administrative appeal is filed 
and only: 

a. after a contradictory hearing; and 
b. upon a showing that there is no potential harm to 

the clients being served by the facility. 
H. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by a 

facility with a provisional license that has expired under the 
provisions of this Chapter, the DAL shall conduct the 
hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act. 

1. If the final agency decision is to remove all 
deficiencies, the facility’s license will be reinstated upon the

payment of any licensing or other fees due to the department 
and the payment of any outstanding sanctions due to the 
department. 

2. If the final agency decision is to uphold the 
deficiencies and affirm the expiration of the provisional 
license, the facility shall discharge all clients receiving 
services. Within 10 days of the final agency decision, the 
facility shall notify the department’s licensing section in 
writing of the secure and confidential location of where 
records will be stored. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:56 (January 
2017). 
§7221. Complaint Surveys 

A. The department shall conduct complaint surveys in 
accordance with R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq. 

B. Complaint surveys shall be unannounced surveys. 
C. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any 

complaint survey where deficiencies have been cited to 
ensure correction of the deficient practices. If the department 
determines that other action, such as license revocation, is 
appropriate, a follow-up survey may not be required. The 
facility will be notified of any action. 

D. The department may issue appropriate sanctions, 
including but not limited to, civil monetary penalties, 
directed plans of correction, and license revocations for 
deficiencies and non-compliance with any complaint survey. 

E. LDH surveyors and staff shall be given access to all 
areas of the facility and all relevant files during any 
complaint survey. LDH surveyors and staff shall be allowed 
to interview any facility staff, client, or participant, as 
necessary or required to conduct the survey. 

F. A facility which has been cited with violations or 
deficiencies on a complaint survey has the right to request an 
informal reconsideration of the validity of the violations or 
deficiencies. The written request for an informal 
reconsideration shall be submitted to the department’s 
Health Standards Section. The department must receive the 
written request within 10 calendar days of the facility’s 
receipt of the notice of the violations or deficiencies. 

G. A complainant shall have the right to request an 
informal reconsideration of the findings of the complaint 
survey or investigation. The written request for an informal 
reconsideration shall be submitted to the department’s 
Health Standards Section. The department must receive the 
written request within 30 calendar days of the complainant’s 
receipt of the results of the complaint survey or 
investigation. 

H. An informal reconsideration for a complaint survey or 
investigation shall be conducted by the department as an 
administrative review. The facility or complainant shall 
submit all documentation or information for review for the 
informal reconsideration, and the department shall consider 
all documentation or information submitted. There is no 
right to appear in person at the informal reconsideration of a 
complaint survey or investigation. The facility’s correction 
of the violation or deficiency shall not be the basis for the 
reconsideration. The facility and/or the complainant shall be 
notified in writing of the results of the informal 
reconsideration. 
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I. Except as provided pursuant to R.S. 40:2009.13 et 
seq., the informal reconsideration shall constitute final action 
by the department regarding the complaint survey or 
investigation, and there shall be no right to an administrative 
appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:57 (January 
2017). 
§7223. Statement of Deficiencies 

A. The following statements of deficiencies issued by the 
department to a facility shall be posted in a conspicuous 
place on the licensed premises: 

1. the most recent annual survey statement of 
deficiencies; and 

2. any subsequent complaint survey statement of 
deficiencies. 

B. Any statement of deficiencies issued by the 
department to a facility shall be available for disclosure to 
the public 30 calendar days after the facility submits an 
acceptable plan of correction of the deficiencies or 90 
calendar days after the statement of deficiencies is issued to 
the facility, whichever occurs first. 

C. Unless otherwise provided in statute or in this 
Chapter, a facility shall have the right to an informal 
reconsideration of any deficiencies cited as a result of a 
survey or investigation. 

1. Correction of the deficient practice, of the violation, 
or of the noncompliance shall not be the basis for the 
reconsideration. 

2. The informal reconsideration of the deficiencies 
shall be submitted in writing within 10 calendar days of 
receipt of the statement of deficiencies, unless otherwise 
provided for in these provisions. 

3. The written request for informal reconsideration of 
the deficiencies shall be submitted to the Health Standards 
Section. 

4. Except as provided for complaint surveys pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2009.11 et seq., and as provided in this Chapter 
for license denials, revocations, and denial of license 
renewals, the decision of the informal reconsideration team 
shall be the final administrative decision regarding the 
deficiencies. There is no administrative appeal right of such 
deficiencies. 

5. The facility shall be notified in writing of the 
results of the informal reconsideration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:58 (January 
2017). 
§7225. Cessation of Business 

A. A cessation of business or closure is deemed to be 
effective the date on which the facility stops providing 
services to the community or residents. 

1. Except as provided in §7227 and §7228 of this 
Chapter, a license shall be immediately null and void if a 
FSTRA ceases to operate. 

B. A cessation of business is considered to be a 
voluntary action on the part of the facility. As such, there is 
no right to an informal reconsideration and no right to an 
administrative appeal of a cessation of business or closure. 

C. Upon the cessation of business, the facility shall 
immediately return the original license to the department. 

D. A facility that intends to close or cease operations 
shall comply with the following procedures: 

1. give 30 days’ advance written notice to the: 
a. department; 
b. forensic psychiatrist; and 
c. ordering court of any conditional release 

client(s); and 
2. provide for an orderly discharge and transition of 

all clients admitted to the facility. 
E. In addition to the 30 days’ advance written notice, the 

facility shall submit a written plan for the disposition of 
patient medical records for approval by the department. The 
plan shall include the following: 

1. the effective date of the closure; 
2. provisions that comply with federal and state laws 

on storage, maintenance, access, and confidentiality of the 
closed facility’s patients medical records; 

3. an appointed custodian(s) who shall provide the 
following: 

a. access to records and copies of records to the 
patient or authorized representative, upon presentation of 
proper authorization(s); and 

b. physical and environmental security that protects 
the records against fire, water, intrusion, unauthorized 
access, loss and destruction; and 

4. public notice regarding access to records in the 
newspaper with the largest circulation in close proximity to 
the closing facility, at least 15 days prior to the effective date 
of closure. 

F. If a facility fails to follow these procedures, the 
owners, managers, officers, directors and administrators may 
be prohibited from opening, managing, directing, operating 
or owning a FSTRA facility for a period of two years. 

G. Once the facility has ceased doing business, the 
facility shall not provide services until the facility has 
obtained a new initial license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:58 (January 
2017). 
§7227. Temporary Inactivation of a License Due to a 

Declared Disaster or Emergency 
A. A facility licensed in a parish which is the subject of 

an executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster 
issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766 may 
seek to inactivate its license for a period not to exceed one 
year, provided that the following conditions are met: 

1. the facility shall submit written notification to the 
Health Standards Section within 60 days of the date of the 
executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster 
that: 

a. the facility has experienced an interruption in the 
provisions of services as a result of events that are the 
subject of such executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 
or R.S. 29:766; 

b. the facility intends to resume operation as a 
FSTRA facility in the same service area; 
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c. includes an attestation that the emergency or 
disaster is the sole casual factor in the interruption of the 
provision of services; 

d. includes an attestation that all clients have been 
properly discharged or transferred to another facility; and 

e. provides a list of all clients and to where each 
client has been discharged or transferred; 

2. the facility resumes operating as a FSTRA in the 
same service area within one year of the issuance of an 
executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster in 
accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766; 

3. the FSTRA continues to pay all fees and cost due 
and owed to the department including, but not limited to, 
annual licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary 
penalties; and 

4. the FSTRA continues to submit required 
documentation and information to the department. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
inactivate a FSTRA license, the department shall issue a 
notice of inactivation of license to the FSTRA. 

C. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement, the FSTRA which has received a notice of 
inactivation of its license from the department shall be 
allowed to reinstate its license upon the following conditions 
being met: 

1. The FSTRA shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing agency of the 
department 60 days prior to the anticipated date of 
reopening. 

a. The license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening, and shall 
request scheduling of a licensing survey. 

b. The license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with appropriate licensing 
fees. 

2. The facility resumes operating as a FSTRA in the 
same service area within one year. 

D. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate a FSTRA license, the department shall conduct a 
licensing survey. If the FSTRA meets the requirements for 
licensure and the requirements under this Section, the 
department shall issue a notice of reinstatement of the 
FSTRA license. 

1. The licensed capacity of the reinstated license shall 
not exceed the licensed capacity of the FSTRA at the time of 
the request to inactivate the license. 

E. No change of ownership in the FSTRA shall occur 
until such FSTRA has completed repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement construction, and has resumed 
operations as a FSTRA. 

F. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a 
FSTRA which has voluntarily surrendered its license and 
ceased operation. 

G. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the FSTRA 
license and any applicable facility need review approval for 
licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:58 (January 
2017). 

§7228. Inactivation of License due to Non-Declared 
Emergency or Disaster 

A. A FSTRA in an area or areas which have been 
affected by a non-declared emergency or disaster may seek 
to inactivate its license, provided that the following 
conditions are met:  

1. the FSTRA shall submit written notification to the 
Health Standards Section within 30 days of the date of the 
non-declared emergency or disaster stating that: 

a. the FSTRA has experienced an interruption in the 
provisions of services as a result of events that are due to a 
non-declared emergency or disaster; 

b. the FSTRA intends to resume operation as a 
FSTRA in the same service area;  

c. the FSTRA attests that the emergency or disaster 
is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the provision of 
services; and 

d. the FSTRA’s initial request to inactivate does not 
exceed one year for the completion of repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement of the facility. 

NOTE: Pursuant to these provisions, an extension of the 30-
day deadline for initiation of request may be granted at the 
discretion of the department. 

2. the FSTRA continues to pay all fees and costs due 
and owed to the department including, but not limited to, 
annual licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary 
penalties and/or civil fines; and 

3. the FSTRA continues to submit required 
documentation and information to the department, including 
but not limited to cost reports. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
temporarily inactivate a FSTRA license, the department shall 
issue a notice of inactivation of license to the FSTRA. 

C. Upon the FSTRA’s receipt of the department’s 
approval of request to inactivate the FSTRA’s license, the 
FSTRA shall have 90 days to submit plans for the repairs, 
renovations, rebuilding or replacement of the facility to 
OSFM and OPH as required. 

D. The FSTRA shall resume operating in the same 
service area within one year of the approval of 
renovation/construction plans by OSFM and OPH as 
required. 

1. Exception. If the FSTRA requires an extension of 
this timeframe due to circumstances beyond the FSTRA’s 
control, the department will consider an extended time 
period to complete construction or repairs. Such written 
request for extension shall show the FSTRA’s active efforts 
to complete construction or repairs and the reasons for 
request for extension of the FSTRA’s inactive license. Any 
approvals for extension are at the sole discretion of the 
department. 

E. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement of the facility, a FSTRA which has received a 
notice of inactivation of its license from the department shall 
be allowed to reinstate its license upon the following 
conditions being met: 

1. the FSTRA shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing agency of the 
department; 

2. the license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening and shall
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request scheduling of a licensing or physical environment 
survey; and 

3. the license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with appropriate licensing 
fees. 

F. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate a FSTRA license, the department may conduct a 
licensing or physical environment survey. The department 
may issue a notice of reinstatement if the FSTRA has met 
the requirements for licensure including the requirements of 
this Section. 

NOTE: The licensed bed capacity of the reinstated license 
shall not exceed the licensed bed capacity of the FSTRA at the 
time of the request to temporarily inactivate the license. 

G. No change of ownership of the FSTRA shall occur 
until such facility has completed repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement construction and has resumed 
operations as a FSTRA. 

H. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a 
FSTRA which has voluntarily surrendered its license and 
ceased operation. 

I. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the FSTRA 
license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:59 (January 
2017). 
§7229. Temporary Inactivation of Licensed FSTRA 

Beds Due to Major Alterations 
A. A FSTRA which is undergoing major alterations to its 

physical plant may request a temporary inactivation of a 
certain number of licensed beds providing that: 

1. The FSTRA submits a written request to the 
licensing agency of the department seeking temporary 
inactivation of a certain number of its licensed bed capacity. 
Such written request shall include the following: 

a. that the FSTRA has experienced or will 
experience a temporary interruption in the provisions of 
services to its licensed bed capacity as a result of major 
alterations; 

b. an attestation that the renovations are the sole 
causal factor in the request for temporary inactivation of a 
certain number of its licensed beds; 

c. the anticipated start date of the temporary 
inactivation of a certain number of licensed beds; 

d. the anticipated end date of the temporary 
inactivation of a certain number of licensed beds; and 

e. the number of licensed beds requested to be 
inactivated temporarily; 

2. the FSTRA ensures the health, safety and welfare of 
each client during the major alterations; and 

3. the FSTRA continues to provide, and each client 
continues to receive, the necessary care and services to attain 
or maintain the client’s highest practicable physical, mental, 
and psychosocial well-being, in accordance with each 
client’s comprehensive assessment and plan of care. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request for 
temporary inactivation of a certain number of the licensed 
bed capacity of a FSTRA, the department shall issue a notice 
of temporary inactivation of a certain number of the 
FSTRA’s licensed beds. 

C. No change of ownership in the FSTRA shall occur 
until such FSTRA has completed the major alterations and 
has resumed operating at prior approved licensed bed 
capacity. 

D. Upon completion of the major alterations and 
receiving a completed written request to reinstate the 
number of licensed beds of a FSTRA, the department may 
conduct a physical environment survey. If the FSTRA meets 
the requirements for licensure and the requirements under 
this Subsection, the department may issue a notice of 
reinstatement of the FSTRA’s licensed bed capacity. 

NOTE: The licensed bed capacity after major alterations are 
completed shall not exceed the licensed bed capacity of the 
FSTRA at the time of the request to temporarily inactivate a 
certain number of its licensed bed capacity prior to 
renovations. 

E. The provisions of this Subsection shall not apply to a 
FSTRA which has voluntarily surrendered its license and 
ceased operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:60 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter B. Administration and Organization 
§7231. Governing Body 

A. A FSTRA shall have an identifiable governing body 
with responsibility for, and authority over, the policies and 
activities of the program/facility. 

B. A FSTRA shall have documents identifying the 
following information regarding the governing body: 

1. names and addresses of all members; 
2. terms of membership; 
3. officers of the governing body; and 
4. terms of office of any officers. 

C. When the governing body of a FSTRA is comprised 
of more than one person, the governing body shall hold 
formal meetings at least twice a year. There shall be written 
minutes of all formal meetings and bylaws specifying 
frequency of meetings and quorum requirements. 

D. When the governing body is composed of only one 
person, this person shall assume all responsibilities of the 
governing body. 

E. Responsibilities of a Governing Body. The governing 
body of a FSTRA shall: 

1. ensure the FSTRA's compliance and conformity 
with the facility’s charter or other organizational documents; 

2. ensure the FSTRA’s continual compliance and 
conformity with all relevant federal, state, local, and 
municipal laws and regulations; 

3. ensure that the FSTRA is adequately funded and 
fiscally sound; 

4. review and approve the FSTRA’s annual budget; 
5. designate a person to act as administrator and 

delegate sufficient authority to this person to manage the 
facility (a sole owner may be the administrator); 

6. formulate and annually review, in consultation with 
the administrator, written policies concerning the FSTRA's 
philosophy, goals, current services, personnel practices, job 
descriptions and fiscal management; 

7. annually evaluate the administrator's performance 
(if a sole owner is not acting as administrator); 
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8. have the authority to dismiss the administrator (if a 
sole owner is not acting as administrator); 

9.  meet with designated representatives of the 
department whenever required to do so; 

10. inform designated representatives of the department 
prior to initiating any substantial changes in the services 
provided by the FSTRA; and 

11. notify the Health Standards Section in writing at 
least 30 days prior to any change in ownership. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:60 (January 
2017). 
§7233. Policy and Procedures 

A.  The FSTRA shall establish procedures to assure 
written communication among staff to ensure safety and 
continuity of services to all clients. 

B. Direct care employees shall have access to 
information concerning clients that is necessary for effective 
performance of the employee's assigned tasks. 

C. Confidentiality and Security of Files. A FSTRA shall 
have written procedures for the maintenance and security of 
records specifying who shall supervise the maintenance of 
records, who shall have custody of records and to whom 
records may be released.  

D. The FSTRA shall allow designated representatives of 
the department, in the performance of their mandated duties, 
to inspect all aspects of the FSTRA’s practices which impact 
clients and to interview any staff member or client relevant 
or as required for any survey or investigation. 

1. The FSTRA shall make any information or records 
that the facility is required to have and any information 
reasonably related to assessment of compliance with these 
requirements available to the department. 

2. The client's rights shall not be considered abridged 
by this requirement. 

E. Procedures shall address the following. 
1. Confidentiality of Records 

a. The FSTRA shall maintain the confidentiality of 
all clients' records. Employees of the facility shall not 
disclose or knowingly permit the disclosure of any 
information concerning the client or his/her family, directly, 
or indirectly, to any unauthorized person. 

b. The FSTRA may use material from records for 
teaching and research purposes, if names are deleted and 
other identifying information is disguised or deleted. 

2. Release of Information 
a. A FSTRA shall obtain the client's or legal 

representative's written, informed permission prior to 
releasing any information from which the client or his/her 
family might be identified, except to the department. 

b. Identifying information may be given to 
appropriate authorities in cases of an emergency. 

c. The FSTRA shall have a procedure by which 
representatives or family of clients is given an opportunity to 
receive information about the individual client in care of the 
facility. 

3. Publicity 
a. The FSTRA shall have written policies and 

procedures regarding the photographing and audio or 
audiovisual recordings of clients. 

b. No client shall be photographed or recorded 
without the client's prior informed, written consent. Such 
consent cannot be made a condition for admission into, 
remaining in, or participating fully in the activities of the 
facility. 
 i. Consent agreements shall clearly notify the 
client of his/her rights under this regulation, shall specify 
precisely what use is to be made of the photograph or 
recordings, and are valid for a maximum of one year from 
the date of execution.  
 ii. Clients are free to revoke such agreements at 
any time, either orally or in writing. 

c. All photographs and recordings shall be used in a 
way that respects the dignity and confidentiality of the 
client. 

F. Personnel Policies. The FSTRA shall have written 
personnel policies that include: 

1. a plan for recruitment, screening, orientation, 
ongoing training, development, supervision, and 
performance evaluation of staff members; 

2. written job descriptions for each staff position 
including volunteers; 

3. policies which provide for staff, either contracted or 
directly employed, to have a criminal background check, 
prior to offer of employment and, at least, annually 
thereafter. Such policy shall be defined in the facility's 
policy and procedures and in accordance with applicable 
state or federal laws; 

4. policies which provide for staff, upon offer of 
employment, to have a health assessment, as defined in the 
facility’s policy and procedures. Such policies shall apply for 
any staff, either contracted or directly employed. 

a. these policies shall, at a minimum, require that 
the FSTRA’s staff, either contracted or directly employed, 
have no evidence of active tuberculosis and be retested on a 
time schedule as mandated by the Office of Public Health. 
Test results dated within one year prior to the offer of 
employment are acceptable for initial employment; 

5. policies which provide for any FSTRA staff, either 
contracted or directly employed, who provide transportation 
of clients, to have a driving history report upon hire and 
annually thereafter; 

6. an employee grievance procedure; 
7. abuse reporting procedures that require all 

employees to report any incidents of neglect, abuse or 
mistreatment whether that neglect abuse or mistreatment is 
done by another staff member, a family member, a client, or 
any other person; 

a. these policies shall have, at a minimum, any 
reporting requirements to the facility administration, and to 
the department, as applicable; and 

8. a written policy to prevent discrimination. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

28:31-28:37. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:61 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter C. Admissions, Transfers and Discharges 
§7235. Admissions 

A. The facility shall have a clear and specific written 
description of admission policies and procedures. This 
written description shall include, but is not limited to the 
following: 
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1. the application process and the possible reasons for 
the rejection of an application; 

2. types of clients suitable to the facility; 
3. services offered and allowed in the facility; and 
4. the facility's house rules. 

B. Intake Evaluation 
1. An intake evaluation shall take place on the first 

day of admission and shall include the client’s: 
a. demographic data; 
b. family information; and 
c. psychiatric and social background. 

2. All of the facility’s rules and regulations shall be 
reviewed with the client. A complete clothing inventory shall 
be completed and the client shall be assigned to a room.  

C. Nursing Assessment 
1. The licensed nurse shall complete a nursing 

assessment and review the client’s medication(s). The 
client’s medication administration records shall contain a 
detailed description of the client’s: 

a. medication; 
b. dosage(s) of medication; 
c. frequency medications should be taken; and 
d. ability to self-administer medications. 

D. Diagnostic Evaluation 
1. The diagnostic evaluation shall include examination 

of the medical, psychosocial, social, behavioral and 
developmental aspects of the client’s situation and reflect the 
need for services from a FSTRA. 

2. Each medical evaluation shall include: 
a. diagnoses; 
b. summary of medical findings; 
c. medical history; 
d. mental and physical functional capacity; 
e. prognosis; and 
f. physician's recommendations. 

E. An individualized plan of care for each client shall be 
developed upon admission and shall be revised to include 
recommended changes in the therapeutic plan. The plan to 
be followed in the event of emergency situations shall be 
specified in the plan of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:61 (January 
2017). 
§7237. Mandatory Transfers and Discharges 

A. The administrator/director shall, in coordination with 
the client, forensic aftercare facility, Community Forensic 
Service, and state level forensic coordinator (as appropriate), 
assist in planning and implementing the mandatory transfer 
or discharge of the client when: 

1. the treatment plan goals and objectives are 
substantially met and a crisis relapse/prevention plan is 
developed and support systems are in place that allow the 
client to reside safely in a less restrictive environment; 

2. the client's physician certifies that the client’s 
physical condition necessitates transfer to a medical facility 
or the client’s psychiatric condition necessitates transfer to a 
higher level of care; or  

3. the client's condition is such that he or she is: 
a. a danger to self or others; or 
b. is consistently disruptive to the peace and order 

of the facility, staff services, or other clients. 

B. Emergency Discharge. The FSTRA shall immediately 
report to the Community Forensic Service, probation officer, 
state level forensic coordinator, and provider(s) of 
behavioral health services any program violations (i.e. illegal 
drugs, suspected or confirmed weapon possession or access, 
gross deterioration of behavior, or non-compliance with 
medication). The FSTRA in collaboration with the probation 
officer and community forensic staff, as appropriate, shall be 
responsible for the relocation of the client to an appropriate 
secure placement. 

C. The facility shall initiate outpatient services for the 
client upon discharge and provide consultation to the client 
concerning where to obtain necessary medications, resources 
and follow-up outpatient behavioral health services. 

D. Discharge Records 
1. The following discharge information shall be 

recorded in the client's record: 
a. date of discharge; 
b. destination; and 
c. reason(s) for leaving. 

2.  Discharge records shall be retained in a secured 
environment in accordance with the facility’s policy and 
procedure for at least three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:62 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter D. Participation Requirements 
§7241. Assessment, Service Coordination, and 

Monitoring 
A. Once the client is admitted, the facility shall conduct 

an assessment to determine the needs of the client. The 
assessment shall be kept in the client's record and shall at a 
minimum, include: 

1. the client's interests, likes and dislikes; 
2. review of physical health, psycho-social status, and 

cognitive status and the determination of services necessary 
to meet those needs; 

3. a summary of the client's health needs, if any, 
including medication(s), treatment and special diet orders 
obtained from licensed professionals with responsibility for 
the client's physical or emotional health; 

4. a written description of the activities of daily living 
and instrumental activities of daily living for which the 
client requires assistance, if any, obtained from the client or 
the client's physician; 

5. recreational and social activities in accordance with 
the client’s treatment plan; 

6. a plan for handling special emergency evacuation 
needs, if any; and 

7. additional information or documents pertinent to 
the client's treatment planning, such as guardianship papers, 
power of attorney, living wills, do not-resuscitate orders, or 
other relevant medical documents. 

B. Within 30 days after admission, the facility, with input 
from the client, shall develop a service plan using 
information from the assessment. 

C. The service plan shall be responsive to the client's 
needs and preferences. The service plan shall include: 

1. the client's needs; 
2. the scope, frequency, and duration of services and 

monitoring that will be provided to meet the client's needs; 
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3. staff/providers responsible for providing the 
services; and 

4. a plan for the implementation towards the least 
restrictive settings. 

D. The client's service plan shall be revised by the 
designated licensed facility staff when a client's needs or 
condition changes. The revised service plan shall be signed 
by the client and the designated facility staff. 

E. The service plan shall be monitored on an ongoing 
basis by facility staff to determine its continued 
appropriateness and to identify when a client's condition or 
preferences have changed. A documented review of the 
service plan by the licensed professional staff shall be made 
at least every quarter. However, changes to the plan may be 
made at any time, as necessary. 

F. All service plans and reviews shall be signed by the 
client and by the designated licensed facility staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:62 (January 
2017). 
§7243. Personal and Supportive Services 

A. The facility shall provide adequate services and 
oversight/supervision, including adequate security measures, 
around the clock as needed for any client in accordance with 
the client’s treatment plan. 

B. Client Self-administration of Medications 
1. The FSTRA shall have clear written policies and 

procedures on direct care staff assistance with client self-
administration of medications. 

2. The FSTRA shall assist clients in the self-
administration of prescription and non-prescription 
medication(s) as agreed to in their contract or service plan 
and as allowed by applicable state statute and in accordance 
with the regulations of this Section. 

3. Assistance with self-administration of medications 
shall be limited to the following. 

a. The client may be reminded to take his/her 
medication(s) when such medications have been prescribed 
for a specific time of day, a specific number of times per day, 
specific intervals of time or for a specific time in relation to 
mealtimes or other activities such as arising from bed or 
retiring to bed. 

b. The medication regimen, as indicated on the 
container, may be read to the client. 

c. The dosage may be checked according to the 
container label. 

d. The staff may open the medicine container (i.e. 
bottle, pill organizer, blister pak, etc.) and/or provide 
assistance with pouring medications if the client lacks the 
physical ability to open the container or pour his/her own 
medications and the client is cognitive of what the 
medication is, what the medication is for and the need for 
the medication. 
 i. Offering of liquids to a client who is familiar 
with his/her medications to assist that client in ingesting oral 
medications is allowed. 

e. Assistance with self-administration of 
medications shall not include: 
 i. administering injections of any kind; 

 ii. administering any prescription medications 
including, but not limited to, eye drops, ear drops, nose 
drops, liquid medications, inhalers, suppositories, or enemas; 
 iii. prompting or reminding a resident that it is 
time to take a PRN, or as-needed medication; 
 iv. crushing or splitting medications; 
 v. placing medications in a feeding tube; or 
 vi. mixing medications with foods or liquids. 

4. An employee that provides assistance with the self-
administration of medications to a client shall have 
documented training on the policies and procedures for 
assistance with client self-administration of medications 
including the limitations of this assistance. This training 
shall be repeated and documented at least annually. 
Documentation shall include the signature of the employee 
initially and at least annually at time of training. 

5. A competency evaluation shall be developed and 
conducted to ensure that each direct care staff person that 
assists a client with the self-administration of medications is 
able to demonstrate competency in the training areas 
pursuant to §7243.B.1-4. 

a. Documentation of such competency evaluation of 
each direct care staff person shall be maintained and readily 
available in the facility’s records. 

6. Unlicensed employees shall not perform medication 
administration which is separate and apart from the 
performance of assistance of a client with the self-
administration of medications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:63 (January 
2017). 
§7245. Nutrition 

A. The facility shall provide three varied, palatable meals 
a day, seven days a week. Meals shall take into account 
clients' preferences and needs. 

B. Menus shall be planned and written at least one week 
in advance and dated as served. The current week's menu 
shall be posted in one or more conspicuous places in the 
facility. 

C. The facility shall provide medically prescribed diets 
as ordered by the client’s physician. These menus shall be 
planned or approved by a licensed registered dietician 
(LRD) and shall include nourishing snacks. The LRD shall 
be available for consultation as needed and may be either 
contracted or directly employed by the facility. 

D. The facility shall purchase and provide to the clients 
only food and drink of safe quality. The storage, preparation 
and serving techniques shall ensure that nutrients are 
retained and spoilage is prevented. Milk and milk products 
shall be Grade A and pasteurized. 

E. Staff shall be available in the dining area to provide 
supervision as needed. 

F. Written reports of inspections by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services shall be 
kept on file in the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:63 (January 
2017). 
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§7247. Transportation Requirements 
A. The facility shall have the capacity to provide or to 

arrange transportation for the following: 
1. transportation to behavioral health services (i.e., 

community mental health center or addictive disorder 
clinic); and 

2. all other related medical appointments. 
B. The facility shall: 

1. have automotive liability insurance coverage and 
have proof of such continuous coverage for any vehicle that 
provides client transportation and which is owned/operated 
by the facility and staff, either contracted or directly 
employed; 

2. conform to all applicable state laws and regulations 
pertaining to drivers, vehicles and insurance; and 

3.  provide for safety of clients by ensuring all 
transportation drivers have current driving records and 
current driver’s licenses in good standing. 

C. The number of occupants allowed in a car, bus, 
station wagon, van, or any other type of transportation shall 
not exceed the number of manufacturer’s issued seat belts 
for passengers and the number of passengers for which the 
vehicle is designed. 

D. Provisions shall be made to accommodate clients who 
use assistive devices for ambulation. 

E. Each vehicle shall be maintained in safe, operating 
condition. 

F. If the center contracts with a commercial proprietor 
for transportation, such shall be licensed to provide 
commercial transportation. All rules established for 
transportation furnished by the center shall be observed by 
the contracted commercial proprietor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:64 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter E. Client Protection 
§7251. Client Rights 

A. The facility shall have a written policy on clients’ 
civil rights and the practices of the facility shall assure that 
no client of a facility shall be deprived of civil or legal 
rights, benefits or privileges guaranteed by law or the 
Constitution of the United States solely by reason of status 
as a client of a facility. A copy of these rights shall be posted 
conspicuously in the facility. 

B. In addition to the basic rights enjoyed by other adults, 
the facility's written policy on rights shall assure that clients 
shall be afforded the rights enumerated in R.S. 28:171. 

C. The client shall receive, upon admission and during 
his/her stay, a written statement of the services provided by 
the facility and the charges for these services. 

D. The client shall be free from mental, emotional, and 
physical abuse and neglect and assured that no chemical 
restraints will be used. 

E. The facility shall ensure that records and other 
information about the client are kept confidential and 
released only with a client's expressed written consent or in 
accordance with state law. 

F. In accordance with facility policy and pursuant to 
R.S. 28:171, the facility shall ensure that the client: 

1. receives a timely response to a request from the 
administrator/director and/or staff; 

2. has access to private telephone communication; 
3. is able to send and receive mail promptly and 

unopened; 
4. is notified in writing by the facility when the 

facility's license status is suspended, revoked or limited, and 
to be informed of the basis of the licensing agency's action; 

5. is allowed to select a health care provider and 
arrange for the services, at his/her own expense, which are 
not available through the facility as long as the client 
remains in compliance with the conditions of his/her 
admission to the facility; 

6. is encouraged and assisted to exercise rights as a 
citizen; 

7. is allowed to voice grievances and suggest changes 
in policies and services to either staff or outside 
representatives without fear of restraint, interference, 
coercion, discrimination, or reprisal; 

8. is fully informed of all client rights and all rules 
governing client conduct and responsibilities; and 

9. is allowed to consult freely with counsel of their 
choice. 

G. Each client shall be fully informed of these rights and 
of all rules and regulations governing client conduct and 
responsibilities, as evidenced by written acknowledgment, 
prior to or at the time of admission, and when changes occur. 

1. Each client's file shall contain a copy of the written 
acknowledgment which shall be signed and dated by the 
director or his/her designee, the client and/or representative. 

H. The facility shall establish and have written grievance 
procedures that include, but are not limited to: 

1. a formal process to present grievances; and 
2. a process to investigate and to respond to 

grievances in a timely manner. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

28:31-28:37. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:64 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter F. Facility Responsibilities 
§7255. General Provisions 

A. Facilities shall comply and show proof of compliance 
with all relevant standards, regulations and requirements 
established by state, local and municipal regulatory bodies. 
It is the facility’s responsibility to secure the approvals from 
the following entities: 

1. LDH, Health Standards Section; 
2. Office of Public Health; 
3. Office of State Fire Marshal; 
4. city fire department, if applicable; and, 
5. the applicable local governing authority (e.g., 

zoning, building department or permit office). 
B. The administrator/director or person authorized to act 

on behalf of the administrator/director shall be accessible to 
facility staff or designated representatives of LDH at all 
times. 

1. Updated electronic mail and/or telephonic contact 
information of key administrative personnel shall be 
provided to the department’s Health Standards Section. 

C. The facility shall have an administrative file that 
includes: 

1. the Articles of Incorporation or certified copies 
thereof, if incorporated, or partnership documents, if 
applicable; 
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2. a current copy of the approved constitution and/or 
bylaws of the governing body; 

3. a current roster of the governing body membership 
which includes the members’ addresses; 

4. written policies and procedures approved by the 
owner/governing body that address the following: 

a. confidentiality and security of files; 
b. publicity; 
c. personnel; 
d. client's rights; 
e. grievance procedure; 
f. safekeeping of personal possessions, if 

applicable; 
g. clients' funds, if applicable; 
h. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
i. abuse and neglect; 
j. critical incidents; 
k. admissions and discharge procedures; 
l. assistance with client self-administration of 

medication;  
m. driver training, safety and responsibilities while 

transporting clients; and 
n. policies related to client transportation; either 

contracted or provided by facility staff; 
5. the minutes of formal governing body meetings; 
6. an organizational chart of the FSTRA; 
7. all leases, contracts and purchase-of-service 

agreements to which the FSTRA is a party, which includes 
all appropriate credentials; 

8. insurance policies: 
a. every facility shall maintain in force at all times a 

comprehensive general business insurance policy or policies 
in an amount adequate to cover all foreseeable occurrences. 
The insurance shall include coverage for any: 
 i. personal or professional negligence, 
malpractice or misconduct by facility owners or employees; 
 ii. injuries received by any client while being 
transported by facility staff or third-party contractors; and 
 iii. injuries sustained by any client while in the 
facility; and 

9. incident/accident reports. 
D. The facility shall maintain a personnel record for each 

employee. At a minimum, this file shall contain the 
following: 

1. the application for employment and/or résumé of 
education, training, and experience; 

2. evidence of a criminal history check prior to an 
offer of employment and annually thereafter, in accordance 
with state laws and regulations; 

3. evidence of applicable professional credentials, 
licensing or certifications according to state law; 

4. documentation of Tuberculosis test results and any 
other facility required medical examinations; 

5. documentation of reference checks or employee 
screening in accordance with facility policy; 

6. annual performance evaluation; 
7. the employee's hire and termination dates; 
8. documentation of orientation and annual training, 

including but not limited to safety and transportation of 
clients; and 

9. documentation of a current, valid and unrestricted 
driver's license if driving or transporting clients. 

E. The facility shall not release an employee's personnel 
record without the employee's written permission, except as 
required by state law. 

F. The facility shall have a personnel record for each 
employee to be kept on the premises or at the corporate 
office. These records shall be made available and accessible 
to the survey staff within one hour of request by department 
surveyors. 

1. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 
standardized order and format, and shall be retained and 
disposed of in accordance with state laws. 

2. A facility shall have sufficient space, facilities and 
supplies for providing effective record keeping services, 
either electronically or via paper documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:64 (January 
2017). 
§7257. Core Staffing Requirements 

A. Each facility shall be staffed to properly safeguard the 
health, safety and welfare of the clients, as required by these 
regulations. At a minimum, the following staff positions are 
required; however, one person may occupy more than one 
position. 
 B. Consulting Forensic Psychiatrist 

1. Each facility shall have a qualified physician, 
currently licensed to practice medicine in Louisiana, who: 

a. signs the order admitting the individual to the 
facility; 

b. maintains overall responsibility for the client’s 
medical management; and 

c. is readily available for consultation and 
collaboration with the facility staff. 

2. The forensic psychiatrist may act as consultant by 
employment on staff, by contract, or by arrangement with 
state agency. 

C. Administrator/Director 
1. Each facility shall have a qualified 

administrator/director who is an on-site employee and is 
responsible for the day-to-day management, supervision and 
operation of the facility. 

2. During periods of temporary absence of the 
administrator/director, there shall be a responsible staff 
person designated to be in charge that has the knowledge and 
responsibility to handle any situation that may occur. 

3. There shall be a responsible staff person designated 
to be in charge on the premises of the facility 24 hours per 
day. 

4. The administrator/director shall be at least 21 years 
of age and have the responsibility and authority to carry out 
the policies of the facility. 

5. The administrator/director shall meet one of the 
following criteria upon date of hire: 

a. possess a bachelor’s degree from an accredited 
institution plus one year of administrative experience in the 
fields of health care, behavioral health services, or forensics; 

b. possess an associate’s degree from an accredited 
institution plus two years of administrative experience in the 
fields of health care, behavioral health services, or forensics; 
or 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017  66

c. in lieu of a degree, possess six years of 
administrative experience in health care, behavioral health 
services, or forensics. 

6. Documentation of the administrator/director’s 
qualifications shall be maintained on file at the facility. 

D. Nursing Services 
1. The facility shall provide a sufficient number of 

nursing service personnel consisting of registered nurses, 
licensed practical nurses and other staff to provide nursing 
care to all clients in accordance with the client’s treatment 
plan. 

2. Registered Nurse (RN). The facility shall employ or 
contract with at least one RN who is responsible for the 
overall delivery and supervision of nursing services. 

a. The RN shall be currently licensed by, and in 
good standing with, the state nursing board of Louisiana. No 
individual who is unlicensed may be employed, either 
directly or by contract, by the facility as an RN. 

b. The RN shall: 
 i. be on-site or available by telephone during the 
day time hours of the facility; 
 ii. develop policies and procedures related to the 
delivery of nursing services; and 
 iii. provide medication management through 
administration, supervision, education and training. 

3. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN). The facility shall 
employ or contract with LPNs to meet the nursing needs of 
the clients. 

a. The LPN shall be currently licensed by, and in 
good standing with, the state nursing board of Louisiana. No 
individual who is unlicensed may be employed, either 
directly or by contract, by the facility as a LPN. 

b. LPNs may administer medication and deliver 
nursing services as provided by Louisiana law or applicable 
regulations. 

E. Direct Care Staff 
1. The facility shall ensure that an adequate number of 

trained direct care staff, either contracted or directly 
employed, is available to meet the needs of the clients in 
accordance with the client’s scheduled and unscheduled 
needs. 

2. Direct care staff may include care assistants, 
activities personnel, or other staff who provide direct care 
services to clients on a regular basis. 

3. Direct care staff shall have the following 
qualifications: 

a. a minimum of a high school diploma, eighteen 
years of age and six months of experience working with 
adults with a serious and persistent behavioral health 
diagnosis; or 

b. two years of experience working with adults with 
a serious and persistent behavioral health diagnosis. 

4. The facility shall have at least two direct care staff 
on site when there is at least one client at the facility. 

5. The facility shall demonstrate that sufficient staff is 
scheduled and available (working) to meet the 24-hour 
scheduled and unscheduled needs of the clients. At a 
minimum, there shall be one direct care staff person on duty 
for every 15 clients. 

6. The facility shall not share direct care staff with 
another licensed facility. (Staff cannot fill two staff positions 
on the same shift at different licensed facilities.) 

F. The facility shall maintain a current work schedule for 
all employees, either contracted or directly employed, 
including relief workers, ensuring adequate coverage for 
each day and night shift. 

G. Facility professional staff shall be licensed and/or 
certified by the appropriate state licensing or certification 
board(s) of Louisiana. The license and/or certification shall 
be current, unrestricted and in good standing. 

H. Designated Recreational/Activity Staff. There shall be 
an individual designated to organize and oversee the 
recreational and social programs of the facility. 

I. A facility shall provide, as needed, consultation(s) 
with a licensed registered dietician, either directly employed 
or contracted. 

J. Direct Care Staff Orientation and Training 
1. Prior to providing services to clients, the FSTRA 

shall provide a 20-hour documented orientation including, 
but not limited to the following: 

a. the policies and procedures of the facility, 
including program components; 

b. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
c. training in proper fire and emergency safety 

procedures including: 
 i. CPR; 
 ii. the Heimlich maneuver; 
 iii. first aid; 
 iv. crisis management; and 
 v. risk reduction; 

d. effective communication skills for forensic, 
behavioral health clients; 

e. confidentiality and HIPAA requirements; 
f. trainings and intervention programs as deemed 

appropriate and mutually agreed upon by Community 
Forensic Services and the state level forensic coordinator; 

g. client's rights; 
h. procedures and requirements regarding the 

reporting of abuse, neglect and critical incidents; and 
i. transportation safety and responsibilities for staff 

that transport clients. 
2. Orientation for direct care staff shall include an 

additional five days of supervised training. Training, at a 
minimum, shall include the following: 

a. training in client care services (ADLs and 
IADLs) provided by the facility; 

b. infection control to include blood borne 
pathogens; 

c. crisis de-escalation and the management of 
aggressive behavior including acceptable and prohibited 
responses; and 

d. any specialized training to meet clients' needs. 
3. A new employee, either contracted or directly 

employed, shall not be given sole responsibility for the 
implementation of a client's program plan until this 
orientation and training is completed. 

a. The new employee, either contracted or directly 
employed, shall sign a statement certifying that such training
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has occurred and this shall be maintained in the new 
employee’s personnel file. 

4. Orientation and five days of supervised training 
shall meet the first year's annual training requirements. 

5. All direct care staff, either contracted or directly 
employed, shall receive certification in adult first aid and 
CPR within the first 30 days of employment. 

a. Documentation of such certification shall be 
maintained in the personnel file of each direct care staff 
person. 

K. Annual Training 
1. A facility shall ensure that each direct care worker, 

contracted or directly employed, participates in and 
satisfactorily completes a minimum of 16 hours of training 
each year to ensure continuing competence. 

NOTE: Orientation and normal supervision shall not be 
considered as meeting this requirement. 

2. The facility shall document that direct care staff 
receives training on an annual basis in: 

a. the facility's policies and procedures; 
b. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
c. client's rights; 
d. the procedures and legal requirements concerning 

the reporting of abuse and critical incidents; 
e. client care services (ADL'S & IADL'S); 
f. infection control to include blood borne 

pathogens; and 
g. any other areas that may require specialized 

training to meet clients' needs including but not limited to, 
driver safety in transporting clients. 

3. All direct care staff, either contracted or directly 
employed, shall have documentation of current certification 
in adult first aid and CPR. 

4. The administrator/director shall participate annually 
in at least 12 hours of continuing education in the field of 
behavioral health and specialized training in the population 
served and/or supervisory/management techniques. 

5. Each employee shall sign a statement of 
understanding certifying that annual training has occurred. 

L. A competency evaluation shall be developed and 
conducted to ensure that, at a minimum, each direct care 
staff person is able to demonstrate competencies in the 
training areas in §7257.I-J core staffing requirements. 

1. Documentation of such competency evaluation of 
each direct care staff person shall be maintained and readily 
available in the agency’s records. 

M. An employee's annual performance evaluation shall 
include his/her interaction with clients, family, staff and 
other providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:65 (January 
2017). 
§7259. Client Records 

A. The facility shall maintain a separate record for each 
client. Such records shall be current and complete and shall 
be maintained in the facility or in a central administrative 
location readily available to facility staff and to the 
department. 

B. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 
standardized order and format, either electronically and/or in 

paper form, and shall be retained and disposed of in 
accordance with state laws. 

C. The facility shall have sufficient space, equipment, 
and supplies for providing effective record keeping services. 

D. The facility shall have a secured storage area that 
ensures the safeguarding of all electronic or paper client 
records and that prevents loss from, including but not limited 
to, fire or water. 

E. Each record shall contain at least the following 
information: 

1. the client's identifying and personal information 
including: 

a. the client’s name; 
b. date of birth; 
c. sex; 
d. Social Security number; 
e. previous home address; and  
f. marital status, if applicable; 

2. dates of admission and discharge; 
3. names, addresses, and telephone numbers of 

responsible persons to be notified in case of accident, death 
or other emergency; 

4. name, address, and telephone number of a 
physician and dentist to be called in an emergency; 

5. ambulatory status; 
6. the client's plan/authorization for routine and 

emergency medical care, as required; 
7. the client's written authorization for a representative 

and their name, address and telephone number, if applicable; 
8. the pre-admission assessment by a forensic 

psychiatrist and admission agreement; 
9. findings of the assessment and any special 

problems or precautions identified; 
10. the service plan, updates, and quarterly reviews; 
11. continuing record of any illness, injury or medical 

or dental care when it impacts the client's ability to function 
or the services he/she needs; 

12. a record of all personal property and funds which 
the client has entrusted to the facility; 

13. reports of any client complaints or grievances and 
the conclusion or disposition of these reports; 

14. incident reports; and 
15. written acknowledgments that the client has 

received clear verbal explanations and: 
a. copies of his/her rights and the house rules; 
b. written procedures for safekeeping of valuable 

personal possessions of clients; and 
c. a written statement explaining the client's rights 

regarding personal funds and the right to examine his/her 
record. 

F. All information and records obtained from or 
regarding clients shall be securely stored and kept 
confidential. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:67 (January 
2017). 
§7261. Abuse and Neglect 

A. The facility shall have comprehensive written 
procedures concerning client abuse and neglect to include 
provisions for: 
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1. training and maintaining staff awareness of abuse 
prevention, current definitions of abuse and neglect, 
reporting requirements and applicable laws; 

2. protecting clients from abuse inflicted by other 
clients, employees or third parties, including but not limited 
to, criminal prosecution of the offending person and his/her 
permanent removal from the facility; 

3. ensuring that regulations stipulated in this rule for 
reporting any incidents involving abuse and neglect are 
followed; 

4. ensuring that the administrator/director completes 
an investigation report within 10 working days; and 

5. ensuring that the client is protected from potential 
harassment during such investigation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:67 (January 
2017). 
§7263. Critical Incidents 

A. A facility shall have written procedures for the 
reporting and documentation of unusual incidents and other 
situations or circumstances affecting the health, safety or 
well-being of a client(s) (i.e. death by unnatural causes, 
injuries, fights or physical confrontations, situations 
requiring the use of passive physical restraints, suspected 
incidents of abuse or neglect). Critical incidents shall be 
defined by facility policy, approved by the facility’s 
governing body and reviewed at least annually. 

1. Such procedures shall ensure timely verbal 
reporting to the director or designee and a preliminary 
written report within 24 hours of the incident. 

2. Copies of all critical incident reports shall be kept 
as part of the client's record and a separate copy shall be kept 
in the administrative file of the facility. 

B. Incident/Accident Report. When an incident occurs, a 
detailed report of the incident shall be documented. At a 
minimum, the incident report shall provide documentation of 
the following: 

1. the circumstances under which the incident 
occurred; 

2. the date and time the incident occurred; 
3. the location where the incident occurred (bathroom, 

bedroom, street, lawn, etc.); 
4. immediate treatment and follow-up care; 
5. the names and addresses of witnesses; 
6. the date and time the family or representative was 

notified; 
7. any symptoms of pain and injury discussed with the 

physician; and 
8. the signatures of the staff completing the report, 

client, and administrator/director. 
C. When an incident results in the death of a client, 

involves abuse or neglect of a client, or entails any serious 
threat to the client's health, safety or well-being, a facility 
shall: 

1. immediately take appropriate corrective action to 
protect the client and to prevent further incidents; 

2. report the incident verbally to the administrator 
within two hours of the time of the incident; 

3. notify the appropriate law enforcement authority in 
accordance with state law, but no later than 24 hours after 
the time of the incident; 

4. verbally notify the family or the client’s 
representative as soon as possible but no later than two hours 
after the time of the incident, with written notification to 
follow within 24 hours; 

5. notify the Department of Health, Health Standards 
Section, and other appropriate authorities in accordance with 
state law, with written notification to the above agencies to 
follow within 24 hours of the time of the incident; 

6. provide follow-up written reports to all of the 
persons and agencies identified in this §7261.C; and 

7. document its compliance with all of the above 
procedures for each incident and shall keep such 
documentation (including any written reports or 
notifications) in the client's file. A separate copy of all such 
documentation shall be kept in the facility's administrative 
file. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:68 (January 
2017). 
§7265. Personal Possessions 

A. The facility may, at its discretion, offer to clients the 
service of safekeeping their valuable possessions. The 
facility shall have a written statement of its policy. 

B. If the facility offers such a service, a copy of the 
written policy and procedures shall be given to a client at the 
time of his/her admission. 

C. The facility shall give the client a receipt listing each 
item that it is holding in trust for the client. A copy of the 
receipt shall be placed in the client's record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:68 (January 
2017). 
§7267. Client Funds 

A. The facility's admission agreement shall include the 
client's rights regarding personal funds and list the services 
offered and charges, if any. 

B. The facility shall offer safekeeping and management 
of a client’s funds. If a client chooses to entrust funds with 
the facility, the facility shall obtain written authorization 
from the client and/or his/her representative for the 
safekeeping and management of the funds. 

C. The facility shall: 
1. provide each client with an account statement on a 

quarterly basis with a receipt listing the amount of money 
the facility is holding in trust for the client; 

2. maintain a current balance sheet containing all 
financial transactions to include the signatures of staff and 
the client for each transaction; 

3. provide a list or account statement regarding 
personal funds upon request of the client; 

4. maintain a copy of each quarterly account statement 
in the client’s record; 

5. keep the funds received from the client in a separate 
interest-bearing account; and 
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6. not commingle the clients’ funds with the facility’s 
operating account. 

D. The facility shall develop, implement, and follow 
written policies and procedures to protect client funds. 

E. Unless otherwise provided by state law, upon the 
death of a client, the facility shall provide the executor or 
administrator of the client's estate or the client’s 
representative, as agreed upon in the admission agreement, 
with a complete account statement of the client's funds and 
personal property of the client being held by the facility. 

F. A client with a personal fund account managed by an 
FSTRA facility may sign an account agreement 
acknowledging that any funds deposited into the personal 
account by, or on the client’s behalf, are jointly owned by the 
client and his legal representative or next of kin. The account 
agreement shall state that: 

1. the funds in the account shall be jointly owned with 
the right of survivorship; 

2. the funds in the account shall be used by, for or on 
behalf of the client; 

3. the client or the joint owner may deposit funds into 
the account; and 

4. the client or joint owner may endorse any check, 
draft or other monetary instrument to the order of any joint 
owner, for deposit into the account. 

G. If a valid account agreement has been executed by the 
client, upon the client’s death, the facility shall transfer the 
funds in the client’s personal fund account to the joint owner 
within 30 days of the client’s death. 

H. If a valid account agreement has not been executed, 
upon the client’s death, the facility shall comply with the 
federal and state laws and regulations regarding the 
disbursement of funds in the account and the properties of 
the deceased. The facility shall abide by the procedures of 
the Louisiana Department of the Treasury and the Louisiana 
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act for the handling of funds 
of a deceased client that remain unclaimed. 

I. The provisions of this Section shall have no effect on 
federal or state tax obligations or liabilities of the deceased 
client’s estate. If there are other laws or regulations which 
conflict with these provisions, those laws or regulations will 
govern over and supersede the conflicting provisions. 

J. A termination date of the account and the reason for 
termination shall be recorded on the client’s participation 
file. A notation shall read, “to close account.” The endorsed 
cancelled check with check number noted on the ledger 
sheet shall serve as sufficient receipt and documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:68 (January 
2017). 
§7269. Contraband 

A. There shall be no contraband, illegal drugs, controlled 
dangerous substances or any medications that are not 
prescribed to a client, on the campus of the facility. Clients 
may be subjected to random periodic drug testing as a 
requirement for residency at the facility. A positive drug test 
shall be reported to the attending psychiatrist and the 
applicable court. 

B. The facility shall have written policies defining 
contraband and procedures for staff to follow when 
contraband is discovered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:69 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter G. Safety and Emergency Preparedness 
§7271. General Provisions 

A.  The facility shall have an emergency preparedness 
plan designed to manage the consequences of natural 
disasters or other emergencies that could disrupt the facility's 
ability to provide care and treatment or threatens the lives or 
safety of the clients and/or the community it serves. The 
emergency preparedness plan shall be made available, upon 
request or if mandated to do so, to local, parish, regional 
and/or state emergency planning organizations, the 
department and the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 

B. At a minimum, the emergency preparedness plan shall 
include: 

1. identification of potential hazards that could 
necessitate an evacuation, including internal and external 
disasters such as a natural disaster, acts of bioterrorism, 
weapons of mass destruction, labor work stoppage or 
industrial or nuclear accidents; 

2. emergency procedures for evacuation of the 
facility; 

3. procedures in the case of interruption of utility 
services in a way that affects the health and safety of clients; 

4. identification of the facility and an alternate facility 
to which evacuated clients would be relocated; 

5. the estimated number of clients and staff that would 
require relocation in the event of an evacuation; 

6. the system or procedure to ensure that medical 
charts accompany clients in the event of a client evacuation 
and that supplies, equipment, records and medications would 
be transported as part of an evacuation; and 

7. the roles and responsibilities of staff members in 
implementing the disaster plan. 

C. The facility shall conduct and document fire drills 
once per quarter, one drill per shift every 120 days, at 
varying times of the day. Each employee, either contracted 
or directly employed, shall participate in at least one drill 
annually. 

D. The facility shall immediately notify the Health 
Standards Section and other appropriate agencies of any fire, 
disaster or other emergency that may present a danger to 
clients or require their evacuation from the facility. 

E. The facility shall have access to 24-hour telephone 
service, and shall either post telephone numbers of 
emergency services, including the fire department, police 
department, medical services, poison control and ambulance 
services or show evidence of an alternate means of 
immediate access to these services. 

F. General Safety Practices 
1. The facility shall not maintain any firearm or 

chemical weapon in the living units of the facility. 
2. The facility shall ensure that all poisonous, toxic 

and flammable materials are safely stored in appropriate 
containers labeled as to the contents. Such materials shall be 
maintained only as necessary and shall be used in a manner 
that ensures the safety of clients, staff and visitors. 

3. The facility shall ensure that an appropriately 
equipped first aid kit is available in the living units and in all 
vehicles used to transport clients. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:69 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter H. Physical Environment 
§7275. General Provisions 

A. Location 
1. The area to be licensed as a FSTRA facility shall 

meet all of the licensing regulations established for FSTRA 
facilities. 

2. A facility that is located within any other facility 
shall be secure and have its own identifiable staff, space and 
storage. The facility shall have a separate entrance, separate 
dining area and separate common areas. 

3. A facility that accepts both male and female clients 
shall not assign male and female clients to reside within the 
same unit of the licensed facility. 

B. General Appearance and Conditions  
1. Heating, cooling and ventilation systems shall 

permit comfortable conditions. 
2. Furniture that is clean, safe and operable, where 

applicable, shall be available to facilitate usage by the 
number of clients in the facility. 

3. The facility shall have sufficient space and 
equipment to accommodate the full range of program 
activities and services. 

4. The facility shall be flexible and adaptable for large 
and small groups and individual activities and services. 

5. There shall be sufficient office space to permit staff 
to work effectively and without interruption. 

6. There shall be adequate storage space for program 
and operating supplies. 

C. Interior Space 
1. Floors and steps shall have a non-slippery surface 

and kept dry when in use by the clients. 
2. Doorways and passageways shall be kept clear to 

allow free and unhindered passage. 
3. The facility shall provide an appropriate controlled-

egress system on all required exit doors and doors leading to 
other areas of the facility unless prior approval of an 
alternative method for prevention of client elopement from 
the facility has been obtained from the authority (Office of 
the State Fire Marshal) having jurisdiction over such 
matters. 

4. All staff shall have a key to locked exit doors. 
5. All operable windows shall be equipped with a 

mechanism to limit exterior openings to prevent elopement. 
6. Windows used for ventilation to the outside and 

exterior doors used for ventilation shall be screened and in 
good repair. 

7.  The facility shall be constructed, equipped, and 
maintained in operating condition and kept free of hazards. 

8. The facility shall have sufficient storage space for 
administration records, locked areas for medications, 
cleaning supplies (janitorial), food service (supplies) and 
lawn maintenance (equipment). 

9. There shall be evidence of routine maintenance and 
cleaning programs in all areas of the facility. 

10. The facility shall have an effective pest control 
program. Pest control services may be provided by 
maintenance personnel of the facility or by contract with a 

pest control company. If pest control chemicals are stored in 
the facility, they shall be kept in a locked location. 

11. The facility shall have an area for the safe and 
secure maintenance and storage of medical records and other 
facility files, records and manuals. 

D. Bedrooms 
1. Single rooms shall contain at least 100 square feet 

and multi-bed rooms shall contain at least 80 square feet per 
bed, exclusive of fixed cabinets, fixtures, and equipment. An 
existing state owned or operated hospital that converts a 
building, unit or wing to a facility shall contain a minimum 
of 65 square feet per bed in a multi-bed room. 

2. Any client room shall not contain more than four 
beds. 

a. Beds shall be of solid construction, appropriate to 
the size and age of the client and have a clean, comfortable, 
non-toxic fire-retardant mattress that fits the bed. 

b. Cots or other portable beds are to be used in 
emergencies only. 

3. Rooms shall have at least a 7 1/2 foot ceiling height 
over the required area.  

a. In a room with varying ceiling heights, only 
portions of the room with a ceiling height of at least 7 1/2 
feet are allowed in determining usable space. 

4. There shall be at least three feet between beds. 
5. There shall be sufficient and satisfactory separate 

storage space for clothing, toilet articles and other personal 
belongings of clients. 

6. Doors to individual bedrooms shall not be equipped 
with locks or any other device that would prohibit the door 
from being opened from either side. 

7. The facility shall not use any room that does not 
have a window as a bedroom space. 

8. The facility shall provide sheets, pillows, 
bedspreads and blankets that are of good quality for each 
client. Linens that are torn or worn shall not be used. 

9. Each client shall have his/her own dresser or other 
adequate storage space for private use and designated space 
for hanging clothing in proximity to the bedroom occupied 
by the client. 

10. The facility shall not assign clients to a space that is 
not part of the licensed facility. 

E. Bathrooms 
1. The number of toilets and hand-washing facilities 

shall not be less than one designated, segregated male 
bathroom facility and one designated, segregated female 
bathroom facility per 13 clients. 

a. Post promulgation of this rule, facilities seeking 
to change geographic location or new construction, and that 
have not received plan review approval, the number of 
toilets and hand-washing facilities shall be in accordance 
with current, applicable state laws, rules and regulations. 

2. A bathroom facility shall have wash basins with hot 
and cold water, flush toilets, and bath or shower facilities 
with hot and cold water according to client care needs. 

3. Bathrooms shall be so placed as to allow access 
without disturbing other clients during sleeping hours. 

4. Each bathroom shall be properly equipped with 
toilet paper, towels, soap and other items required for 
personal hygiene, unless clients are individually given such 
items. 
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a. Clients shall be provided individual items such as 
hair brushes and toothbrushes. 

5. Tubs and showers shall have slip proof surfaces. 
6. The facility shall have toilets and baths or showers 

that allow for individual privacy, unless the clients in care 
require assistance. 

7. Toilets, wash basins and other plumbing or sanitary 
facilities in the facility shall, at all times, be maintained in 
operable condition and shall be kept free of any materials 
that might clog or otherwise impair their operation. 

8. The facility shall have separate toilet facilities for 
staff. 

F. Furnishings  
1. The facility shall be sufficiently furnished to meet 

the needs of the clients. All furnishings and equipment shall 
be kept clean, safe and operable, where applicable. 

2. Adequate furniture shall be available and shall be 
appropriate for use by the clients in terms of comfort and 
safety. 

3. Furnishings shall include tables and chairs 
sufficient in number to serve all clients. 

G. Kitchen 
1. A facility that has a kitchen area shall meet all 

health and sanitation requirements and shall be of sufficient 
size to accommodate meal preparation for the proposed 
number of clients. 

2. Kitchens used for meal preparations shall have the 
equipment necessary for the preparation, serving and storage 
and clean-up of all meals regularly served to all clients and 
staff. All equipment shall be maintained in proper working 
order. 

3. The facility's refrigerator(s) shall be maintained at a 
temperature of 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below. Freezers 
shall be maintained at a temperature of 0 degrees Fahrenheit 
or below. Thermometers shall be provided for all 
refrigerators and freezers. The facility shall maintain logs of 
temperatures of the refrigerator and freezers. Abnormal 
temperatures shall be reported to management and 
arrangements made for repair/service. Documentation of 
such shall be maintained. 

4. The facility shall ensure that all dishes, cups and 
glasses used by clients are free from chips, cracks or other 
defects and are in sufficient number to accommodate all 
clients. 

5. If food is prepared in a central kitchen and 
delivered to the facility, provisions shall be made and 
approved by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, Sanitarian Services for proper maintenance of food 
temperatures and a sanitary mode of transportation. 

H. Medication Storage and Monitoring 
1. The facility shall have policies and procedures for 

the storage, administration and disposal of both prescription 
and over-the-counter medications. 

2. There shall be a designated secure area for the 
storage, preparation, and proper disposal of medications. 

3. Medications that require refrigeration shall be 
stored in a separate secured refrigerator (not with food, 
beverages, etc.). 

4. The facility shall have a process for monitoring the 
inventory and reconciliation of prescribed controlled 
substances by authorized licensed staff. The process shall 
include the reporting of lost or missing medications by 

designated licensed staff in accordance with the Louisiana 
State Board of Pharmacy and applicable state law. 

5. Medications may be administered from a secured 
medication dispensing central area of the facility. 

I. Laundry 
1. The facility shall provide for laundry services, 

either on-site or at an off-site location that is adequate to 
meet the needs of the clients. 

2. For any provision of laundry service, available on-
site or contracted, the facility shall ensure and maintain 
procedures to prevent cross contamination of soiled laundry 
with clean laundry. 

3. If on-site, laundry facilities shall be located in a 
specifically designated area and there shall be adequate 
rooms and spaces for sorting, processing, and storage of 
soiled material. 

4. Laundry rooms shall not open directly into client 
common areas or food service areas. 

5. Domestic washers and dryers that are for the 
exclusive use of clients may be located in client areas, 
provided they are installed in such a manner that they do not 
pose a sanitation problem or safety risk. 

J. Water Supply 
1. An adequate supply of water, under pressure, shall 

be provided at all times. 
2. Clean sanitary drinking water shall be available and 

accessible in adequate supply at all times. Disposable cups, 
if used, shall be stored in such a way as to prevent 
contamination. 

3. When a public water system is available, a 
connection shall be made thereto. If water from a source 
other than a public water supply is used, the supply shall 
meet the requirements set forth under the rules and 
regulations of the Office of Public Health (OPH). 

4. The facility shall have a plan and policy for an 
alternative water supply in the event of interruption of water 
supply and for the prolonged loss of water. 

K. All sewage shall be disposed of by means of either: 
1. a public system where one is accessible within 300 

feet; or 
2. an approved sewage disposal system that is 

constructed and operated in conformance with the standards 
established for such systems by OPH. 

L. Facility Exterior 
1. The FSTRA shall maintain all areas of the facility 

that are accessible to the clients in good repair and free from 
any reasonably foreseeable hazard to health or safety. 

2. All structures on the grounds of the facility shall be 
maintained in operating condition. 

3. Garbage and rubbish stored outside shall be secured 
in noncombustible, covered containers and shall be removed 
on a regular basis. 

4. Fences shall be in good repair and constructed in 
such a way as to provide safety and security. 

5. Areas determined unsafe, including steep grades, 
open pits, swimming pools, high voltage boosters or high 
speed roads shall be fenced or have natural barriers to 
protect clients. 

6. Clients shall have access to safe, suitable outdoor 
recreational space. 

7. The facility shall ensure that exterior areas are well 
lit at night. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:70 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter I. Secure Community Supervised 

Transitional/Residential Facility Module 
§7279. General Provisions 

A. Providers applying for the Secure Community 
Supervised Transitional/Residential (SCSTR) Facility 
module under the FSTRA facility license shall meet the core 
licensing requirement as well as the following module 
specific requirements. 

B. A secure community supervised 
transitional/residential facility is a secure residential facility 
within the community that provides individualized services 
to develop daily living skills and to prepare for vocational 
adjustment and reentry into the community, to persons who 
are under a court-ordered forensic conditional release and 
who are referred by a state forensic hospital or a state 
forensic psychiatric unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:72 (January 
2017). 
§7281. Operational Requirements 

A. Staff Requirements 
1. When clients are present, the facility shall provide 

24-hour, 7 day per week supervision and the care and 
services sufficient to meet the needs of the clients. Staffing 
shall consist of at least three direct care staff persons during 
the day, one of which shall be a licensed nurse and at least 
two awake staff during the night. 

a. Requirements for the level of supervision 
provided and the specified time frame for day hours shall be 
defined by facility policy and approved by the facility 
governing body with documented annual review. 

2. The facility shall have a licensed nurse on call 
when there are no licensed nurses on duty at the facility. 

B. Admissions. The facility shall: 
1. only accept clients referred by LDH state forensic 

facilities or those who are under a court-ordered forensic 
conditional release; 

2. admit only those clients who have the ability to 
self-administer medications and provide for their own 
personal care needs; 

3. admit male and female clients to reside in separate 
segregated and designated units of the licensed facility; 

4. not admit more clients into care than the number 
specified on the facility’s license; and 

5. provide contact information, including the 
telephone number and mailing address, for the appropriate 
state protection and advocacy organization. 

NOTE: the facility shall request from the HSS an increase in 
licensed bed capacity prior to accepting more clients than 
specified on the facility’s license. 

C. Assistance with Medication Self-Administration 
1. The facility shall have clear written policies and 

procedures on medication self-administration. 
2. The facility shall assist clients in the self-

administration of prescriptions and non-prescription 
medication according to the client’s service plan and as 
allowed by state laws and regulations. For assistance with 

self-administration, such clients shall have documented 
awareness of the medications to be taken. 

3. Assistance with self-administration of medication 
shall be limited to the following: 

a. the client may be reminded to take his/her 
medication; 

b. the medication regimen, as indicated on the 
container, may be read to the client; 

c. the dosage may be checked according to the 
container label; 

d. staff may open the medicine container (i.e. bottle, 
mediset, blister pack, etc.) if the client lacks the ability to 
open the container; and 

e. the client may be physically assisted in pouring 
or otherwise taking medications, so long as the client is 
cognitive of what the medication is, what it is for, and the 
need for the medication. 

4. An unlicensed employee that provides assistance 
with the self-administration of medications to a client shall 
have documented training on the policies and procedures for 
medication assistance including the limitations of this 
assistance. Documentation shall include the signature of the 
employee. This training shall be repeated at least annually. 

a. A competency evaluation shall be developed and 
conducted to ensure that each direct care staff person that 
assists a client with the self-administration of medications is 
able to demonstrate competency in the training areas 
pursuant to §7281.C.1-4. 

b. Documentation of such competency evaluation of 
each direct care staff person shall be maintained and readily 
available in the agency’s records. 

NOTE: Such training does not permit the unlicensed employee 
to perform medication administration which is separate and 
apart from the performance of assistance of a client with the 
self-administration of medications. 

5. Medications shall be stored in a secure central 
location and not stored in the client’s own room. 

6. The facility may require the clients to come to a 
designated medication area to take their medications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:72 (January 
2017). 
Subchapter J. Secure Forensic Facility Module 
§7285. General Provisions 

A. Providers applying for the secure forensic (SF) 
facility module under the FSTRA facility license shall meet 
the core licensing requirement as well as the following 
module specific requirements. 

B. A secure forensic facility is a secure residential 
facility located on the grounds of a state owned or operated 
hospital that provides individualized services, including 
personal care services and medication administration, to 
persons who are under a court order or court ordered 
forensic conditional release and who are referred by a state 
forensic hospital or state forensic psychiatric unit, in order to 
prepare such persons for transition to a less restrictive 
environment before transitioning to the community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:72 (January 
2017). 
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§7287. Operational Requirements 
A. The facility shall provide 24-hour, seven day per 

week supervision and the care and services sufficient to meet 
the needs of the clients. Staffing shall consist of at least three 
direct care staff persons during the day and two awake staff 
during the night. There shall be at least two direct care staff 
persons in each building and/or unit at all times when clients 
are present. 

1. The facility shall have a RN on duty during the day 
shift to oversee the nursing services of the facility. 

a. Requirements for the level of RN supervision 
provided and the specified time frame for day shift shall be 
defined by facility policy, approved by the governing body, 
reviewed and documented annually. 

2. The facility shall have at least one licensed nurse on 
duty for each shift. 

3. The facility shall provide for, either directly or 
through contract, a licensed medical doctor on call. 

B. Admission 
1. The facility shall: 

a. admit clients who are under a court order or court 
ordered forensic conditional release and who are referred by 
a LDH state forensic facility; 

b. not admit more clients into care than the number 
specified on the facility’s license; and 

c. provide contact information, including the phone 
number and mailing address, for the appropriate state 
protection and advocacy organization. 

C. Client Services 
1. The facility shall provide or coordinate, to the 

extent needed or desired by clients, the following services: 
a. assistance provided by direct care staff, either 

employed or contracted, with activities of daily living and all 
instrumental activities of daily living; 

b. medication administration by the licensed nurse; 
c. opportunities for individual and group 

socialization; 
d. services for clients who have behavior problems 

requiring ongoing staff support, therapeutic intervention, and 
supervision to ensure no danger or infringement of the rights 
of other clients or individuals; 

e. household services essential for the health and 
comfort of clients (e.g. floor cleaning, dusting, bed making, 
etc.); 

f. basic personal laundry services; and 
g. a planned program of recreational activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:31-28:37. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:73 (January 
2017). 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#066 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Healthcare Services Provider Fees 
Nursing Facility Services Providers 

(LAC 48:I.4001) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.4001 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 
46:2625. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 40. Provider Fees 
§4001. Specific Fees 

A. - B.1. ... 
2. The provider fee imposed for nursing facility 

services shall not exceed 6 percent of the average revenues 
received by providers of that class of services and shall not 
exceed $12.08 per occupied bed per day. The fee amount 
shall be calculated annually in conjunction with updating 
provider reimbursement rates under the Medical Assistance 
Program. Notice to providers subject to fees shall be given in 
conjunction with the annual rate setting notification by the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing. 

C. - D. ... 
E. - F. Reserved. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

Chapter 45 of Title 46 as enacted in 1992, 46:2601-2605, 
redesignated as Chapter 47 of Title 46, containing R.S. 46:2621 to 
46:2625 and P.L. 102-234. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, LR 
19:347 (March 1993), amended LR 20:51 (January 1994), LR 
26:1478 (July 2000), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 33:100 (January 2007), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:73 (January 
2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#067 
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RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Adult Day Health Care Waiver 

Electronic Visit Verification 
(LAC 50:XXI.2705) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services have 
adopted LAC 50:XXI.2705 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 3.  Adult Day Health Care 

Chapter 27. Provider Responsibilities 
§2705. Electronic Visit Verification 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after November 1, 
2015, Adult Day Health Care Waiver providers shall use the 
electronic visit verification (EVV) system designated by the 
department for automated scheduling, time and attendance 
tracking and billing for certain home and community-based 
services. 

B. Reimbursement shall only be made to providers with 
documented use of the EVV system. The services that 
require use of the EVV system will be published in the 
ADHC Waiver provider manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 43:74 (January 2017). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#068 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Hospital Licensing Standards 
(LAC 48:I.9319, 9381 and 9405) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.9319, §9381 and §9405 as 
authorized by R.S. 40:2100-2115. This Rule is promulgated 
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 93. Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Hospital Organization and Services 
§9319. Patient Rights and Privacy 

A. - A.21. ... 
22. except in emergencies, the patient may be 

transferred to another facility only with a full explanation of 
the reason for transfer, provisions for continuing care and 
acceptance by the receiving institution; and 

23. the right for each inpatient or, if applicable, the 
patient's legal guardian, to have one opportunity to designate 
an uncompensated caregiver following the patient's inpatient 
admission into a hospital and prior to the patient's discharge, 
for provision of the patient’s post hospital aftercare at the 
patient’s residence. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2405 (November 2003), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 43:74 (January 2017). 
Subchapter G. Food and Dietetic Services 
§9381. Menus and Therapeutic Diets 

A. ... 
B. Therapeutic diets shall be prescribed by the licensed 

practitioner(s) responsible for the care of the patient. 
Therapeutic diets, and laboratory tests to monitor the 
effectiveness of the dietary plan, may be prescribed by a 
licensed dietitian/nutritionist subject to the approval of, and 
authorization by, the facility's medical staff or bylaws and in 
accordance with state law. Each patient's nutritional intake 
shall be documented in the patient's medical record. 
Nutritional intake includes both enteral and parenteral 
nutrition. 

C. There shall be a procedure for the accurate transmittal 
of dietary orders to the dietary service and for informing the 
dietary service when the patient does not receive the ordered 
diet, or is unable to consume the prescribed diet. 

D. There shall be a current therapeutic diet manual, 
which shall be the guide used for ordering and serving diets 
and other nutritional intake. The manual shall be approved 
by the dietitian and medical staff and be readily available to 
all medical, nursing and food service personnel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2414 (November 2003) , amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:74 (January 2017). 
Subchapter I. Quality Assessment and Improvement 
§9405. Patient Care Services 

A. - B. ... 
1. If a patient has designated an uncompensated 

caregiver for aftercare, a hospital shall make a good faith 
attempt to notify the patient's designated caregiver of the 
patient's discharge to the patient's residence as soon as 
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possible prior to the patient's discharge. If the hospital is 
unable to contact the designated caregiver, the lack of 
contact may not interfere with, delay or otherwise affect the 
medical care provided to the patient, or an appropriate 
discharge of the patient. 

a. For purposes of §9405.B.1-3, a residence does 
not include any rehabilitation facility, hospital, nursing 
home, assisted living facility or group home. 

2. As soon as practicable prior to the patient's 
discharge, the hospital shall make a reasonable effort to 
consult with the designated caregiver along with the patient, 
taking into account the capabilities and limitations of the 
caregiver, to accomplish the aftercare tasks that may be 
included in a discharge care plan that describes the patient's 
aftercare needs at his residence. 

3. The hospital shall educate and instruct the caregiver 
concerning the aftercare needs of the patient in a manner that 
is consistent with the discharge plan and is based on the 
learning needs of the caregiver. In addition, the hospital shall 
also provide an opportunity for the caregiver and patient to 
ask questions and receive explanations about the aftercare 
tasks. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003) , amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:74 (January 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#069 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Hospital Licensing Standards 
Obstetrical and Newborn Services 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 93) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.9505-9515 as authorized 
by R.S. 40:2100-2115. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq.  

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH―GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 93. Hospitals 
Subchapter S. Obstetrical and Newborn Services 

(Optional) 
§9505. General Provisions 

A. This Subchapter S requires that the level of care on 
the neonatal intensive care unit shall match or exceed the 
level of obstetrical care for each level of obstetric service, 
except for free standing children’s hospitals. All hospitals 
with existing obstetrical and neonatal services shall be in 
compliance with this Subchapter S within one year of the 
promulgation date of this Rule. All new providers of 
obstetrical and neonatal services shall be required to be in 

compliance with this Subchapter S immediately upon 
promulgation. 

NOTE: For facilities that change the level of care and services 
of the facility’s NICU unit, either decreasing or increasing the 
level provided, the facility shall submit an attestation of this 
change to the department’s Health Standards Section (HSS) in 
writing and on the appropriate state neonatal services 
Medicaid attestation form. Such notice shall be submitted to 
HSS within 90 days of the facility’s change in NICU level 
provided. For facilities that change the level of care and 
services of the facility’s obstetric unit, by either decreasing or 
increasing the level provided, the facility shall submit written 
notice of this change to HSS within 90 days of such change.  

B. For purposes of this Subchapter, hospital privileges 
are such privileges that are unrestricted and approved by the 
medical staff committee and the governing body that allows 
the practitioner to perform all duties within their scope of 
practice and certification(s) at the hospital in which the 
privileges are granted and such duties are performed. 

1. The requirements for privileges, such as active 
privileges, inpatient privileges or full privileges, shall be 
defined in hospital policy and approved by each hospital’s 
governing body. 

C. In accordance with R.S. 40:2109, a hospital located in 
a parish with a population of 250,000 people or less shall not 
be required to maintain personnel in-house with credentials 
to administer obstetric anesthesia on a 24-hour basis in order 
to qualify for Medicaid reimbursement for level III, neonatal 
or obstetric medical services, or as a prerequisite for 
licensure to provide such services. Personnel with such 
credentials may be required to be on staff and readily 
available on a 24-hour on-call basis and demonstrate ability 
to provide anesthesia services within 20 minutes. 

NOTE: The provisions of §9505.C shall not apply to any 
hospital with level IIIS, IIIR or IV obstetrical and neonatal 
services.  

D. For purposes of this Subchapter, the requirements for 
hospital staff and/or equipment as being immediately or 
readily available shall be defined by hospital policy and 
approved by each hospital’s governing body.  

E. Any transfer agreements shall be in writing and 
approved by the hospital medical staff and by each hospital’s 
governing body. Transfer agreements shall be reviewed at 
least annually and revised as needed. 

F. For those hospitals providing transports, the 
qualifications of the transport team shall be in writing, 
defined by hospital policy and approved by each hospital’s 
governing body. Such qualifications shall be reviewed at 
least annually and revised as needed. 

G. The hospital shall have data collection and retrieval 
capabilities in use, and shall cooperate and report the 
requested data to the appropriate supervisory agencies to 
review. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2427 (November 2003), amended LR 
33:284 (February 2007), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:75 (January 2017). 
§9507. Obstetrical Units 

A. … 
B. Levels of Care Units. There are five established 

obstetrical levels of care units: 
1. obstetrical level I unit; 
2. obstetrical level II unit; 
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3. obstetrical level III unit;  
4. obstetrical level III regional unit; and 
5. obstetrical level IV. 

C. Obstetrical services shall be provided in accordance 
with acceptable standards of practice as delineated in the 
2014 AAP/ACOG Guidelines for Perinatal Care. Each 
advanced level of care unit shall provide all services and 
meet the personnel requirements of the lower designated 
units, as applicable, i.e., a level IV unit must meet the 
requirements of a level I, II, III and III regional unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2427 (November 2003), amended LR 
33:284 (February 2007), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:75 (January 2017). 
§9509. Obstetrical Unit Functions  

A. - A.1.a. … 
b. There shall be a triage system present in policies 

and procedures for identification, stabilization and referral of 
high risk maternal and fetal conditions beyond the scope of 
care of a level I unit. 

c. There shall be protocols and capabilities for 
massive transfusion, emergency release of blood products, 
and management of multiple component therapy available 
on-site. 

d. Postpartum care facilities shall be available on-
site. 

e. There shall be capability to provide for 
resuscitation and stabilization of inborn neonates. 

f. The hospital shall have a policy for infant 
security and an organized program to prevent infant 
abductions. 

g. The hospital shall have a program in place to 
address the needs of the family, including parent-sibling-
neonate visitation. 

h. The hospital shall have a written transfer 
agreement with another hospital that has an approved 
appropriate higher level of care. 

i. - l. Repealed. 
2. Personnel Requirements 

a. Obstetrical services shall be under the medical 
direction of a qualified physician who is a member of the 
medical staff with obstetric privileges. The physician shall 
be board certified or board eligible in obstetrics/gynecology 
or family practice medicine. The physician has the 
responsibility of coordinating perinatal services with the 
pediatric chief of service. 

b. The nursing staff shall be adequately trained and 
staffed to provide patient care at the appropriate level of 
service. Registered nurse to patient ratios may vary in 
accordance with patient needs. 

c. … 
d. Anesthesia, radiology, ultrasound, electronic fetal 

monitoring (along with personnel skilled in the use of these) 
and laboratory services shall be available on a 24-hour basis. 
Anesthesia services shall be available to ensure performance 
of a Cesarean delivery within 30 minutes as specified in 
Subparagraph c above. 

e. At least one credentialed physician or certified 
registered nurse midwife shall attend all deliveries, and at 
least one individual who is American Academy of Pediatrics 

(AAP) certified in neonatal resuscitation and capable of 
neonatal resuscitation shall attend all deliveries.  

f. … 
g. A facility shall have at least one individual with 

additional education in breastfeeding who is available for 
support, counseling and assessment of breastfeeding 
mothers. 

h. A facility shall have ability to initiate education 
and quality improvement programs to maximize patient 
safety, and/or collaborate with higher-level facilities to do 
so. 

3. - 3.d. … 
e. For any new construction or major alteration of 

the obstetrical unit/suite, the hospital shall ensure that the 
OB unit has a Cesarean delivery room (surgical operative 
room) to perform Cesarean deliveries at all times. 

B. - B.1.a. … 
b. Women with conditions that would result in the 

delivery of an infant weighing less than 1,500 grams or less 
than 32 weeks gestation shall be referred to an approved 
level III or above unit unless the attending physician has 
documented that the patient is unstable to transport safely. 
Written transfer agreements with approved obstetrical level 
III and above units for transfer of these patients shall exist 
for all obstetrical level II units. 

c. Ultrasound equipment shall be on site, in the 
hospital, and available to labor and delivery 24 hours a day. 

d. - e. Repealed. 
2. Personnel Requirements 

a. The chief of obstetric services shall be a board-
certified obstetrician or a board eligible candidate for 
certification in obstetrics. This obstetrician has the 
responsibility of coordinating perinatal services with the 
neonatologist in charge of the neonatal intensive care unit 
(NICU). 

b. … 
c. There shall be a continuous availability of 

qualified RNs with the ability to stabilize and transfer high-
risk women.  

d. A board-certified or board eligible OB-GYN 
physician shall be available 24 hours a day. 

EXCEPTION: For those hospitals whose staff OB-GYN 
physician(s) do not meet the provisions of §9509.B(2)d, such 
physician(s) may be grandfathered as satisfying the 
requirement of §9509.B(2)d when the hospital has 
documented evidence that the OB-GYN physician(s) was 
granted clinical staff privileges by the hospital prior to the 
effective date of this Rule. This exception applies only to the 
physician at the licensed hospital location and is not 
transferrable. 

e. A licensed physician board-certified in maternal 
fetal medicine (MFM) shall be available 24 hours a day for 
consultation onsite, by telephone, or by telemedicine, as 
needed. 

f. Anesthesia services shall be available 24 hours a 
day to provide labor analgesia and surgical anesthesia. 

g. A board-certified anesthesiologist with 
specialized training or experience in obstetric anesthesia 
shall be available 24 hours a day for consultation. 

h. Medical and surgical consultants shall be 
available 24 hours a day to stabilize obstetric patients who 
have been admitted to the facility or transferred from other 
facilities. 

C. - C.1. … 
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a. Women with conditions requiring a medical team 
approach not available to the perinatologist in an obstetrical 
level III unit shall be transported to a higher-level unit. 

b. The unit shall have written cooperative transfer 
agreements with approved higher level units for the transport 
of mothers and fetuses requiring care unavailable in an 
obstetrical level III unit or that are better coordinated at a 
higher level unit. 

c. The hospital shall have advanced imaging 
services available 24 hours a day which will include 
magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and computed 
topography (CT). 

d. The hospital shall have medical and surgical 
ICUs to accept pregnant women and have qualified critical 
care providers available as needed to actively collaborate 
with MFM physicians 24 hours a day. 

e. Participation is required in a statewide quality 
collaborative and database selected by the Medicaid Quality 
Committee, Maternity Subcommittee, with a focus on 
quality of maternity care. Proof of such participation will be 
available from the LDH website. 

f. Equipment and qualified personnel, adequate in 
number, shall be available onsite to ventilate and monitor 
women in labor and delivery until they can be safely 
transferred to the ICU. 

g. This unit shall accept maternal transfers as 
deemed appropriate by the medical staff and governing 
body. 

2. Personnel Requirements 
a. The delivery of safe and effective perinatal 

nursing care requires appropriately qualified registered 
nurses in adequate numbers to meet the nursing needs of 
each patient. The hospital shall develop, maintain and adhere 
to an acuity-based classification system based on nationally 
recognized staffing guidelines and shall have documentation 
of such. 
 i. - iii. Repealed. 

b. A board-certified or board-eligible MFM 
physician with inpatient privileges shall be available 24 
hours a day, either onsite, by telephone, or by telemedicine. 

c. The director of MFM services shall be a board-
certified or board eligible MFM physician. 

d. The director of obstetric service shall be a board-
certified OB-GYN with active staff privileges in obstetrical 
care. 

e. Anesthesia services shall be available 24 hours a 
day onsite. 

f. A board-certified anesthesiologist with 
specialized training or experience in obstetric anesthesia 
shall be in charge of obstetric anesthesia services and shall 
be available onsite as needed. 

g. A full complement of subspecialists, including 
subspecialists in critical care, general surgery, infectious 
disease, urology, hematology, cardiology, nephrology, 
neurology, neonatology and pulmonology shall be available 
for inpatient consultations. 

h. A lactation consultant or counselor shall be on 
staff to assist breastfeeding mothers as needed.  
 i. The lactation consultant or counselor shall be 
certified by a nationally recognized board on breastfeeding. 

i. A nutritionist and a social worker shall be on 
staff and available for the care of these patients as needed. 

D. - D.1. … 
a. This unit shall provide care for the most 

challenging of perinatal conditions. Women with such 
conditions requiring a medical team approach not available 
to the MFM physician in an obstetrical level III Regional 
unit shall be transported to a level IV unit. 

b. This unit shall have written cooperative transfer 
agreements with a level IV unit for the transport of mothers 
and fetuses requiring care that is unavailable in the level III 
regional unit or that is better coordinated at a level IV. 

c. This unit shall accept maternal transfers as 
deemed appropriate by the medical staff and hospital 
governing body. 

2. … 
a. This unit shall have a board-certified or board-

eligible OB/GYN available onsite 24 hours a day. 
b. The director of MFM services for this unit shall 

be board-certified in MFM. 
 i. - iv. Repealed. 

c. This unit shall have an anesthesiologist qualified 
in the delivery of obstetric anesthesia services available to be 
onsite 24 hours a day. 

c.i. - g. Repealed. 
E. Obstetrical Level IV Unit 

1. General Provisions 
a. This unit shall provide onsite medical and 

surgical care of the most complex maternal conditions and 
critically ill pregnant women and fetuses throughout 
antepartum, intrapartum, and postpartum care. 

2. Unit Requirements 
a. This unit shall have perinatal system leadership, 

including facilitation of maternal referral and transport, 
outreach education for facilities and health care providers in 
the region and analysis and evaluation of regional data, 
including perinatal complications and outcomes and quality 
improvement.  

b. Participation is required in the department’s 
designated statewide quality collaborative program.  

NOTE: The hospital shall acquire and maintain documented 
proof of participation. 

c. -  c, NOTE. Repealed. 
3. Personnel 

a. This unit shall have a MFM care team with the 
expertise to assume responsibility for pregnant women and 
women in the postpartum period who are in critical 
condition or have complex medical conditions. This includes 
co-management of ICU-admitted obstetric patients. The 
MFM team members shall have full privileges and shall be 
available 24 hours per day for onsite consultation and 
management. This team shall be led by a board-certified 
MFM physician. 

b. The director of obstetric services for this unit 
shall be a board-certified MFM physician. 

c. This unit shall have qualified subspecialists on 
staff to provide consultation in the care of critically ill 
pregnant women in the following areas: 
 i. cardiothoracic surgery; 
 ii. neurosurgery; 
 iii. endocrinology; and 
 iv. gastroenterology. 

d. Obstetrical Medical Subspecialties 
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Table 1Obstetrical Medical Subspecialties 
Each higher level obstetrical unit shall meet the requirements of each lower level obstetrical unit. 
Level I Level II Level III Level III Regional Level IV 
Board Certified or Eligible 
OB/GYN or Family Practice 
Physician 

Board Certified/Eligible 
OB/GYN 
§9509.B(2)d -See Exception 

Board Certified/Eligible 
Anesthesiologist 

Board Certified/Eligible 
Anesthesiologist 

Board Certified/Eligible 
Anesthesiologist 

 Anesthesia services  Anesthesia services* Board Certified OB/GYN Board Certified OB/GYN Board Certified OB/GYN 
 Radiology services Clinical Pathologist1 Board Certified/Board 

Eligible MFM1** 
Board Certified/Board 
Eligible MFM** 

Board Certified MFM** 

 Ultrasonography Clinical Radiologist Clinical Pathologist1 Clinical Pathologist1 Clinical Pathologist1 
 Laboratory services MFM1** Clinical Radiologist1 Clinical Radiologist1 Clinical Radiologist1 
 Electronic fetal monitoring Lactation 

Consultant/Counselor 
See §9509.B(h.i) 

Critical Care1 Critical Care1 Critical Care1 

      General Surgery1 General Surgery1 General Surgery1 
      Infectious Disease1 Infectious Disease1 Infectious Disease1 
      Urology1 Urology1 Urology1 
      Hematology1 Hematology1 Hematology1 
      Cardiology1 Cardiology1 Cardiology1 
      Nephrology1 Nephrology1 Nephrology1 
      Neurology1 Neurology1 Neurology1 
      Neonatology1 Neonatology1 Neonatology1 
      Pulmonology1 Pulmonology1 Pulmonology1 
      Lactation 

Consultant/Counselor 
Lactation 
Consultant/Counselor 

Lactation 
Consultant/Counselor 

      Nutritionist Nutritionist Nutritionist 
      Social Worker Social Worker Social Worker 
            Cardiothoracic Surgery1 
            Gastroenterology1 
            Endocrinology1 
1 physician shall be available in 
person on site as needed by the 
facility. 

         Neurosurgery1 

*Anesthesia services shall be available 24 hours a day to provide 
labor analgesia and surgical anesthesia. A board-certified/eligible 
anesthesiologist with specialized training or experience in 
obstetric anesthesia shall be available 24 hours a day for 
consultation. 

         

**Licensed MFM shall be available for consultation onsite, by 
telephone, or by telemedicine, as needed. 

         

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2427 (November 2003), amended LR 
33:284 (February 2007, amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:76 (January 2017). 
§9511. Neonatal Intensive Care  

A. … 
B. Levels of Care. There are five established neonatal 

levels of care units: 
1. neonatal level I unit; 
2. neonatal level II unit; 
3. level III NICU unit;  
4. level III surgical NICU; and 
5. level IV NICU unit. 

C. Each advanced level of care unit shall provide all 
services and meet the personnel requirements of the lower 
designated units, as applicable, i.e., a level III surgical unit 
must meet the requirements of the level I, II, and III units. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2428 (November 2003), amended LR 
33:286 (February 2007), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:78 (January 2017). 

§9513. Neonatal Unit Functions 
A. Level I Neonatal Unit (Well Newborn Nursery) 

1. … 
a. This unit shall have the capability for 

resuscitation and stabilization of all inborn neonates in 
accordance with Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) 
guidelines. The unit shall stabilize unexpectedly small or 
sick neonates before transfer to the appropriate advanced 
level of care. 

b. The unit shall stabilize and provide care for 
infants born at 35 weeks or greater gestation and who remain 
physiologically stable. The requirements for maternal 
transport at lesser gestations for transfer to a higher level of 
care shall be determined by the medical staff and approved 
by the hospital governing body. 

c.  This unit shall have the capability to stabilize 
newborns born at less than 35 weeks gestational age for 
transfer to higher level of care. 

d. This unit shall maintain consultation and written 
transfer agreements with an approved Level II or III as 
appropriate. 

e. This unit shall have a defined, secured nursery 
area with limited public access and/or secured rooming-in 
facilities with supervision of access. 

f. Parent and/or sibling visitation/interaction with 
the neonate shall be provided.  
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g. Repealed. 
2. - 2.b. … 

c. Registered nurse to patient ratios may vary in 
accordance with patient needs. If couplet care or rooming-in 
is used, a registered nurse who is responsible for the mother 
shall coordinate and administer neonatal care. If direct 
assignment of the nurse is also made to the nursery to cover 
the newborn's care, there shall be double assignment (one 
nurse for the mother-neonate couplet and one for just the 
neonate if returned to the nursery). A registered nurse shall 
be available 24 hours a day, but only one may be necessary 
as most neonates will not be physically present in the 
nursery. Direct care of neonates in the nursery may be 
provided by ancillary personnel under the registered nurse's 
direct supervision. Adequate staff is needed to respond to 
acute and emergency situations. 

B. Neonatal Level II Unit (Special Care Nursery) 
1. … 

a. This unit shall provide care for infants born at 
more than 32 weeks gestation and weighing more than 1,500 
grams. 

i. infants who have medical problems that are 
expected to resolve rapidly and are not anticipated to need 
emergent subspecialty services from a higher level NICU as 
determined by the attending medical staff. 

b. This unit shall have the capability to provide 
mechanical ventilation and/or CPAP for a brief duration (less 
than 24 hours) for infants born at more than 32 weeks and 
weighing more than 1,500 grams. 

c. Neonates requiring greater than 24 hours of 
continuous ventilator support shall be transferred to a higher-
level neonatal intensive care facility. 

d. This unit shall have the ability to stabilize infants 
born before 32 weeks gestation and/or weighing less than 
1,500 grams until transfer to a higher level neonatal 
intensive care facility. 

e. Neonates requiring transfer to a higher-level 
neonatal intensive care facility may be returned to a level II 
unit for convalescence. 

2. Personnel Requirements 
a. A board-certified neonatologist shall be the chief 

of service. 
NOTE: This unit shall have continuously available medical 
staff defined as available 24 hours per day/7 days per 
week/365 days per year on call for consultation as defined by 
medical staff bylaws.  

b. Registered nurse to patient ratios may vary in 
accordance with patient needs.  

c. This unit shall have at least one full-time social 
worker to be available as needed to assist with the 
socioeconomic and psychosocial problems of high-risk 
mothers, sick neonates, and their families. 

d. This unit shall have at least one occupational or 
physical therapist to be available as needed to assist with the 
care of the newborn. 

e. This unit shall have at least one registered 
dietitian/nutritionist to be available as needed who can plan 
diets as required to meet the special needs of mothers and 
high-risk neonates. 

f. This unit shall have staff available 24 hours per 
day who have the demonstrated knowledge, skills, abilities 
and training to provide the care and services to infants in this 
unit, such as but not limited to: 

 i. nurses; 
 ii. respiratory therapists; 
 iii. radiology technicians; and 
 iv. laboratory technicians. 

3. Equipment Requirements 
a. This unit shall have hospital based equipment to 

provide care to infants available 24 hours per day, such as 
but not limited to: 
 i. portable x-ray machine; 
 ii. blood gas analyzer. 

C. - C.1. … 
a. There shall be a written neonatal transport 

agreement with an approved level III surgical unit or level 
IV unit. 

b. This unit shall have either a neonatologist or a 
neonatal nurse practitioner or a neonatology fellow in-house 
24 hours per day. 

c. The staffing of this unit shall be based on patient 
acuity and consistent with the recommended staffing 
guidelines of the 2014 edition of the AAP Guidelines for 
Perinatal Care. For medical sub-specialty requirements, 
refer to Table 1 - Neonatal Medical Subspecialties and 
Transport Requirements. 

NOTE: All provisions of level III NICUs are required of level 
IIIS and IV NICUs. 

2. … 
a. The chief of service of a level III NICU shall be a 

board-certified neonatologist.  
 i. - ii. Repealed. 

Exception: In 1995, those physicians in existing units who 
were designated as the chief of service of the unit and who 
were not neonatal or perinatal board-certified, were granted a 
waiver by written application to the Office of the Secretary, 
Department of Health and Hospitals. This waiver shall be 
maintained as it applies only to the hospital where that chief of 
service's position is held. The physician cannot relocate to 
another hospital nor can the hospital replace the chief of 
service for whom the exception was granted and retain the 
exception. 

b. This unit shall have at least one full-time social 
worker available as needed who has experience with the 
socioeconomic and psychosocial problems of high-risk 
mothers and fetuses, sick neonates, and their families. For 
units with greater than thirty patients, the social worker 
staffing ratios shall be at least one social worker to thirty 
patients (additional social workers may be required in 
accordance with hospital staffing guidelines.  

c. This unit shall have at least one occupational or 
physical therapist available as needed with neonatal 
expertise and at least one individual skilled in evaluation and 
management of neonatal feeding and swallowing disorders 
(e.g., speech-language pathologist). 

d. This unit shall have at least one registered 
dietitian/nutritionist available as needed who has training or 
experience in perinatal nutrition and can plan diets that meet 
the special needs of high-risk mothers and neonates. 

e. Delivery of safe and effective perinatal nursing 
care requires this unit to have qualified registered nurses in 
adequate numbers to meet the nursing needs of each patient. 
To meet the nursing needs of this unit, hospitals shall 
develop and adhere to an acuity based classification system 
based on nationally recognized staffing guidelines and have 
documentation available on such guidelines. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017  80

f. This unit shall have the following support 
personnel immediately available as needed to be on-site in 
the hospital, including but not limited to, 
 i. licensed respiratory therapists or registered 
nurses with specialized training who can supervise the 
assisted ventilation of neonates with cardiopulmonary 
disease. 

3. Equipment Requirements 
a. This unit shall have the following support 

equipment, in sufficient number, immediately available as 
needed in the hospital that includes but is not limited to, 
 i. advanced imaging with interpretation on an 
urgent basis (computed tomography, ultrasound (including 
cranial ultrasound), MRI, echocardiography and 
electroencephalography); and 

NOTE: Level III facilities shall have an arrangement to have 
such testing interpreted by someone qualified in neonatal 
diagnostic testing; 

 ii. a full range of respiratory support that includes 
conventional and/or high frequency ventilation and inhaled 
nitric oxide. 

4. Transport 
a. It is optional for level III NICUs to provide 

transports. If the unit performs transports, the unit shall have 
a qualified transport team and provide for and coordinate 
neonatal transport with level I and level II units throughout 
the state. 

b. Transport shall be in accordance with national 
standards as published by the American Academy of 
Pediatrics’ section on neonatal and pediatric transport and in 
accordance with applicable Louisiana statutes.  

5. Quality Improvement Collaborative 
a. Facilities with level III NICUs and above shall 

participate in a quality improvement collaborative and a 
database selected by the Medicaid Quality Committee, 
Neonatology sub-committee. 

b. Proof of current participation by the facility will 
be available from the Louisiana DHH website. 

D. Level III Surgical NICU 

1. General Provisions 
a. This unit shall have a transport team and provide 

for and coordinate neonatal transport with level I, level II 
units and level III NICUs throughout the state as requested. 
Transport shall be in accordance with national standards as 
published by the American Academy of Pediatrics' section 
on neonatal and pediatric transport and in accordance with 
applicable Louisiana statutes. 

b. - c. Repealed. 
NOTE: All provisions of level III NICUs are required of level 
IIIS and IV NICUs. 

2. … 
a. For medical sub-specialty requirements refer to 

Table 1Neonatal Medical Subspecialties and Transport 
Requirements. 

Exception: Those hospitals which do not have a member of 
the medical staff who is a board certified/eligible pediatric 
anesthesiologist but whose anesthesiologist has been granted 
staff privileges to perform pediatric anesthesiology, such 
physician(s) may be grandfathered as satisfying the 
requirement of §9513(2)a when the hospital has documented 
evidence that the anesthesiologist was granted clinical staff 
privileges by the hospital prior to the effective date of this 
Rule. This exception applies only to such physician at the 
licensed hospital location and is not transferrable. 

2.b. - 2.d.xii. Repealed. 
E. Level IV NICU 

1. General Provisions 
a. This unit shall be located within an institution 

with the capability to provide surgical repair of complex 
conditions (e.g. congenital cardiac malformations that 
require cardiopulmonary bypass with or without 
extracorporeal membrane oxygenation).  

2. Personnel Requirements 
a. for medical sub-specialty requirements, refer to 

Table 1Neonatal Medical Subspecialties and Transport 
Requirements. 

NOTE: All provisions of level IIIS NICUs are required of 
level IV NICUs. 

b. Neonatal Medical Subspecialties and Transport 
Requirements 

Table 1Neonatal Medical Subspecialties and Transport Requirements 
Text denoted with asterisks (*) indicates physician shall be available in person on site as needed by the facility. Each higher level NICU unit shall meet 
the requirements of each lower level NICU unit. 
Level I (Well Nursery) Level II Level III Level IIIS Level IV 
Board Certified/Eligible 
Pediatric or Family Practice 
Physician 

Board Certified/Eligible 
Pediatric or Family Practice 
Physician 

Pediatric Cardiology1 Pediatric Surgery4 Pediatric Surgery4 

   Board Certified Neonatologist  Ophthalmology2 Pediatric Anesthesiology5 

§9513(2)aSee Exception 
Pediatric Anesthesiology5 

   Social Worker    Neonatal Transport Neonatal Transport 
   Occupational Therapist Social Worker Ratio 1:30 Ophthalmology2* Ophthalmology2* 
   Physical Therapist  OT or PT/neonatal expertise Pediatric Cardiology* Pediatric Cardiology* 
   Respiratory Therapists RD/training in perinatal 

nutrition  
Pediatric 
Gastroenterology* 

Pediatric Cardiothoracic 
Surgery* 

   Registered dietician/nutritionist RT/training in neonate 
ventilation 

Pediatric Infectious 
Disease* 

Pediatric Endocrinology* 

   Laboratory Technicians Neonatal 
feeding/swallowing- 
SLP/ST  

Pediatric Nephrology* Pediatric Gastroenterology* 

   Radiology Technicians    Pediatric Neurology3* Pediatric Genetics* 
         Pediatric Neurosurgery* Pediatric Hematology-

Oncology* 
         Pediatric Orthopedic 

Surgery* 
Pediatric Infectious Disease* 

         Pediatric Otolaryngology6* Pediatric Nephrology* 
         Pediatric Pulmonology* Pediatric Neurology3* 
            Pediatric Neurosurgery 
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Table 1Neonatal Medical Subspecialties and Transport Requirements 
Text denoted with asterisks (*) indicates physician shall be available in person on site as needed by the facility. Each higher level NICU unit shall meet 
the requirements of each lower level NICU unit. 
Level I (Well Nursery) Level II Level III Level IIIS Level IV 
            Pediatric Orthopedic 

Surgery 
            Pediatric Otolaryngology7* 
            Pediatric Pulmonology* 
            Pediatric Radiology* 
            Pediatric Urologic Surgery* 
         Transport note:    
1There shall be at least one 
board certified or board 
eligible pediatric cardiologist 
as a member of medical 
staff.  For Level III facilities, 
staff using telemedicine shall 
be continuously available. 

      Transport shall be in 
accordance with national 
standards as published by 
the American Academy of 
Pediatrics’ Section on 
neonatal and pediatric 
transport and in accordance 
with applicable Louisiana 
statutes. 

   

2There shall be at least one 
board certified or board 
eligible ophthalmologist with 
sufficient knowledge and 
experience in retinopathy or 
prematurity as a member of 
the medical staff. An 
organized program for 
monitoring retinotherapy of 
prematurity shall be readily 
available in Level III and for 
treatment and follow-up of 
these patients in Level IIIS 
and IV facilities. 

            

3There shall be at least one 
board certified or board 
eligible pediatric neurologist 
as a member of medical 
staff.  

            

4For pediatric surgery, the 
expectation is that there is a 
board certified or eligible 
pediatric surgeon who is 
continuously available to 
operate at that facility. 

            

5There shall be at least one 
board certified or board 
eligible pediatric 
anesthesiologist as a member 
of the medical staff.  

            

6Board eligible or certified in 
Otolaryngology; special 
interest in Pediatric 
Otolaryngology or 
completion of Pediatric 
Otolaryngology Fellowship. 

            

7Board eligible or certified in 
Otolaryngology; completion 
of Pediatric Otolaryngology 
Fellowship. 

            

For specialties listed above 
staff shall be board eligible 
or board certified in their 
respective fields with the 
exception of otolaryngology 
as this field has not yet 
pursued certification.   
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2429 (November 2003), amended LR 
33:286 (February 2007), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:78 (January 2017). 
§9515. Additional Support Requirements 

A. A bioethics committee shall be available for 
consultation with care providers at all times. 

B. - Table 2.1. Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2429 (November 2003), amended LR 
33:288 (February 2007, amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:82 (January 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#070 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Reimbursement Methodology 
Pass Through Rate Increase 

(LAC 50:II.20005) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:II.20005 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20005. Rate Determination 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1305] 
A. - D.4.b. ... 

c. Effective September 1, 2016, the pass through 
rate shall be increased as a result of the provider fee increase 
on nursing facility days from $10.00 per day up to $12.08 
per day per occupied bed. 

D.5. - Q. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1791 (August 2002), amended LR 
31:1596 (July 2005), LR 32:2263 (December 2006), LR 33:2203 
(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:325 
(February 2010), repromulgated LR 36:520 (March 2010), 
amended LR 36:1556 (July 2010), LR 36:1782 (August 2010), LR 
36:2566 (November 2010), LR 37:902 (March 2011), LR 37:1174 
(April 2011), LR 37:2631 (September 2011), LR 38:1241 (May 
2012), LR 39:1286 (May 2013), LR 39:3097, 3097 (November

2013), LR 41:707 (April 2015), LR 41:949 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 43:82 (January 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#071 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pediatric Day Health Care Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.5239) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.5239 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
40:2193-40:2193.4. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 52.  Pediatric Day Health Care Facilities 
Subchapter D. Participation Requirements  
§5239. Plan of Care 

A. - D.4. ... 
E. The medical director shall review the plans of care in 

consultation with PDHC staff and the prescribing physician 
every 90 days or more frequently as the child’s condition 
dictates. Prescribed services and therapies included in the 
plan of care shall be adjusted in consultation with the 
prescribing physician to accommodate the child's condition. 

F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2193–40:2193.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:2769 (December 2009), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:82 (January 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#072 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pediatric Day Health Care Program 
(LAC 50:XV.27501, 27503, 27901 and 28101) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:XV.27501, §27503, 
§§27901 and 28101 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 19.  Pediatric Day Health Care Program 

Chapter 275. General Provisions 
§27501. Program Description and Purpose 

A. Pediatric Day Health Care (PDHC) Services 
1. An array of services that are designed to meet the 

medical, social and developmental needs of children up to 
the age of 21 who have a complex medical condition which 
requires skilled nursing care and therapeutic interventions on 
an ongoing basis in order to: 

a. preserve and maintain health status; 
b. prevent death; 
c. treat/cure disease; 
d. ameliorate disabilities or other adverse health 

conditions; and/or 
e. prolong life. 

2. PDHC services offer a community-based 
alternative to traditional long term care services or extended 
nursing services for children with medically complex 
conditions. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1557 (July 2010), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:83 (January 2017). 
§27503. Recipient Criteria 

A. In order to qualify for PDHC services, a Medicaid 
recipient must meet the following criteria. The recipient 
must: 

1. ... 
2. have a medically complex condition which involves 

one or more physiological or organ systems and requires 
skilled nursing and therapeutic interventions performed by a 
knowledgeable and experienced licensed professional 
registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical nurse (LPN) on 
an ongoing basis in order to: 

a. preserve and maintain health status; 
b. prevent death; 
c. treat/cure disease; 
d. ameliorate disabilities or other adverse health 

conditions; and/or 
e. prolong life; 

3.  have a signed physician’s order and plan of care, 
not to exceed 90 days, for pediatric day health care by the 
recipient’s physician specifying the frequency and duration 
of services; and 

A.3.a. - A.3.e. Repealed.  
4.  be stable for outpatient medical services in a home 

or community-based setting. 
A.4.a. - A.6. Repealed. 
B. ... 
C. Re-evaluation of PDHC services must be performed, 

at a minimum, every 90 days. This evaluation must include a 
review of the recipient’s current medical plan of care and 
provider agency documented current assessment and 
progress toward goals. 

D.  A face-to-face evaluation shall be held every 90 days 
by the child’s prescribing physician. Services shall be 

revised during evaluation periods to reflect accurate and 
appropriate provision of services for current medical status. 

E. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1557 (July 2010), amended LR 41:137 (January 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 43:83 (January 2017). 
Chapter 279. Provider Participation 
§27901. General Provisions 

A. ... 
B. A parent, legal guardian or legally responsible person 

providing care to a medically complex child in a home or 
any other extended care or long-term care facility, is not 
considered to be a PDHC facility and shall not be enrolled in 
the Medicaid Program as a PDHC services provider. 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1558 (July 2010), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:83 (January 2017). 
Chapter 281. Reimbursement Methodology 
§28101. General Provisions 

A. ... 
1. A full day of service is more than six hours, not to 

exceed a maximum of 12 hours per day. 
2. A partial day of service is six hours or less per day. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:1558 (July 2010), amended LR 39:1286 (May 2013), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 43:83 (January 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#073 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Ground Water and Revised Total Coliform Regulations 
(LAC 51:XII.101, 311, 319, 325, 343, 901,  

903, 905, 907, 911, 912, 913 and 1201) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:4 and 40:5, and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the state health 
officer, acting through the Louisiana Department of Health, 
Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH), has amended Part XII 
(Water Supplies) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code (LAC 
51). The amendments to Part XII are necessary in order that 
LDH-OPH can maintain primacy (primary enforcement 
authority) from the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency (USEPA) over public water systems within 
Louisiana. USEPA requires state primacy agencies to adopt
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state rules and regulations which are no less stringent than 
the federal Safe Drinking Water Act’s (42 U.S.C. §300f, et 
seq.) primary implementing regulations (40 CFR Part 141). 

The Rule herein amends and updates LDH-OPH’s existing 
rule for public water systems. The Safe Drinking Water Act 
Amendments of 1996 (Public Law 104-182/ August 6, 1996) 
required the USEPA to issue updated rules relative to the 
regulation of disinfection of ground water supplies. 
Subsequently, the USEPA amended the National Primary 
Drinking Water Regulations (40 CFR Part 141) on 
November 8, 2006 (71 FR 65650 - 65659) by promulgating 
a rule entitled “National Primary Drinking Water 
Regulations: Ground Water Rule; Final Rule”, as well as 
USEPA technical corrections to this federal rule published in 
the Federal Register dated November 21, 2006 (Volume 71, 
Number 224, page 67427). The November 8, 2006 federal 
ground water regulation became effective for Louisiana 
public water systems at the federal level on December 1, 
2009. Furthermore, in accordance with the 1996 Safe 
Drinking Water Act (SDWA) Amendments, which require 
the USEPA to review and revise each national primary 
drinking water regulation no less often than every six years, 
the USEPA amended the National Primary Drinking Water 
Regulations (40 CFR Part 141) on February 13, 2013 (78 FR 
10346-10363) by promulgating a rule entitled “National 
Primary Drinking Water Regulations: Revisions to the Total 
Coliform Rule; Final Rule”, as well as certain USEPA minor 
corrections to this federal rule published in the Federal 
Register dated February 26, 2014 (79 FR 10668-10670). The 
February 13, 2013 federal revised total coliform regulations 
became fully effective for Louisiana public water systems at 
the federal level on April 1, 2016. This Rule amends the 
current state regulations by adopting these newly amended 
federal regulations by reference into Part XII. 

For the reasons set forth above, Part XII (Water Supplies) 
of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code (LAC 51:XII) is 
amended as follows. 

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH―SANITARY CODE 

Part XII.  Water Supplies 
Chapter 1. General 
§101. Definitions 

[formerly paragraph 12:001] 
A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 

following words and terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 
Code, and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows. 

* * * 
Level 1 Assessment—an evaluation to identify the 

possible presence of sanitary defects, defects in distribution 
system coliform monitoring practices, and (when possible) 
the likely reason that the system triggered the assessment. 
Minimum elements include review and identification of 
atypical events that could affect distributed water quality or 
indicate that distributed water quality was impaired; changes 
in distribution system maintenance and operation that could 
affect distributed water quality (including water storage); 
source and treatment considerations that bear on distributed 
water quality, where appropriate; existing water quality 
monitoring data; and inadequacies in sample sites, sampling 
protocol, and sample processing. The system must conduct 
the assessment consistent with any State directives that tailor 

specific assessment elements with respect to the size and 
type of the system and the size, type, and characteristics of 
the distribution system. 

* * * 
Level 2 Assessment—an evaluation to identify the 

possible presence of sanitary defects, defects in distribution 
system coliform monitoring practices, and (when possible) 
the likely reason that the system triggered the assessment. A 
Level 2 assessment provides a more detailed examination of 
the system (including the system's monitoring and 
operational practices) than does a Level 1 assessment 
through the use of more comprehensive investigation and 
review of available information, additional internal and 
external resources, and other relevant practices. Minimum 
elements include review and identification of atypical events 
that could affect distributed water quality or indicate that 
distributed water quality was impaired; changes in 
distribution system maintenance and operation that could 
affect distributed water quality (including water storage); 
source and treatment considerations that bear on distributed 
water quality, where appropriate; existing water quality 
monitoring data; and inadequacies in sample sites, sampling 
protocol, and sample processing. The system must comply 
with any expedited actions or additional actions required by 
the State in the case of an E. coli MCL violation. 

* * * 
National Primary Drinking Water Regulations— 

a. drinking water regulations promulgated by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency pursuant to 
applicable provisions of title XIV of the Public Health 
Service Act, commonly known as the "Safe Drinking Water 
Act," 42 U.S.C.A. §300f et seq., and as published in the July 
1, 2015 edition of the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 40, 
Part 141 (40 CFR 141), less and except: 
 i. 40 CFR §141.35 Reporting for unregulated 
contaminant monitoring results; 
 ii. 40 CFR §141.40 Monitoring requirements for 
unregulated contaminants;  
 iii. Subpart H—Filtration and Disinfection (40 
CFR §§141.70-141.76); 
 iv. Subpart P—Enhanced Filtration and 
Disinfection—Systems Serving 10,000 or More People (40 
CFR §§141.170-141.175);  
 v. Subpart T—Enhanced Filtration and 
Disinfection—Systems Serving Fewer Than 10,000 People 
(40 CFR §§141.500—571); and 
 vi. Subpart X—Aircraft Drinking Water Rule (40 
CFR §§141.800—810). . 

b. when "Subpart H", "Subpart P", or "Subpart T" is 
used within the actual text of the drinking water regulations 
cited in Subparagraph "a." of this Paragraph (definition), 
"LAC 51:XII.Chapter 11" shall be substituted therein. 

* * * 
Sanitary Survey—an onsite review of the water source, 

facilities, equipment, operation, maintenance, and 
monitoring compliance of a public water system to evaluate 
the adequacy of the system, its sources and operations and 
the distribution of safe drinking water. 

* * * 
Significant Deficiency—a defect in design, operation, or 

maintenance, or a failure or malfunction of the sources, 
treatment, storage, or distribution system that the state health 
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officer determines to be causing, or has the potential for 
causing the introduction of contamination into the water 
delivered to consumers. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: The first source of authority for 

promulgation of the Sanitary Code is in R.S. 36:258(B), with more 
particular provisions found in Chapters 1 and 4 of Title 40 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes. This Part is promulgated in accordance 
with R.S. 36:254 (B)(7), R.S. 40:4 (A)(8), R.S. 40:5.A. 
(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20), and R.S. 40:1148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1318 (June 
2002), amended LR 28:2513 (December 2002), LR 30:1194 (June 
2004), LR 30:2326 (October 2004), LR 35:484 (March 2009), LR 
35:1240 (July 2009), LR 38:2375 (September 2012), LR 38:2793 
(November 2012), LR 38:3232 (December 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:84 (January 
2017). 
Chapter 3. Water Quality Standards 
§311. Records 

[formerly paragraph 12:003-2] 
A. Complete daily records of the operation of a public 

water system, including reports of laboratory control tests 
and any chemical test results required for compliance 
determination, shall be kept and retained as prescribed in the 
national primary drinking water regulations on forms 
approved by the state health officer. When specifically 
requested by the state health officer or required by other 
requirements of this Part, copies of these records shall be 
provided to the office designated by the state health officer 
within 10 days following the end of each calendar month. 
Additionally, all such records shall be signed by a certified 
operator in charge of the public water system and made 
available for review during inspections/sanitary surveys 
performed by the state health officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and 40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1321 (June 
2002), amended LR 30:1195 (June 2004), LR 42:408 (March 
2016), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:85 (January 2017). 
§319. Significant Deficiencies Identified in Sanitary 

Surveys 
A. The state health officer shall conduct a sanitary 

survey for all public water systems no less frequently than 
once every three years for community systems and no less 
frequently than once every five years for non-community 
systems.  

1. The sanitary survey shall address the following 
eight specific elements: 

a. source; 
b. treatment; 
c. distribution system; 
d. finished water storage; 
e. pumps, pump facilities, and controls; 
f. monitoring, reporting, and data verification; 
g. system management and operation; and 
h. operator compliance with state requirements. 

B. Public water systems shall respond in writing to 
confirm the correction of significant deficiencies identified 
in a sanitary survey report no later than 90 days after receipt 
of the report by the public water system. The public water

system’s written response shall specify the completed 
corrective action taken for each significant deficiency or 
specify a corrective action plan and schedule to address each 
significant deficiency noted in the sanitary survey report. 

C. Upon receipt of the public water system’s written 
response to significant deficiencies identified in a sanitary 
survey report, the state health officer shall review and 
approve the public water system’s written schedule or shall 
notify the public water system in writing if the corrective 
action schedule is unacceptable and will make 
recommendations to amend the schedule so that the plan can 
be approved.  

D. For all public water systems, the following have been 
determined by the state health officer to be significant 
deficiencies and shall be corrected in accordance with 
§319.B of this Part: 

1. §105.A 105.B or 105.C of this Part;  
2. §309.A of this Part;  
3. There shall be no pathway for contamination into 

the well casing or discharge piping. The well site grading, 
the well slab and all well appurtenances including casing, 
sanitary seal, vent, and drawdown tube shall be maintained 
to prevent the introduction of contamination into the well 
casing and discharge piping; 

4. Every potable water well, and the immediate 
appurtenances thereto that comprise the well, shall be 
located at a safe distance from all possible sources of 
contamination. The state health officer has deemed that due 
to the horizontal distance to a possible source of pollution 
that is currently causing, or may reasonably be expected to 
cause contamination to be introduced into the water being 
delivered to consumers, action is necessary to eliminate or 
mitigate this potential source of contamination; 

5. §315.A of this Part;  
6. §325.A of this Part;  
7. §327.A.15 of this Part;  
8. §329.A.6 of this Part;  
9. §331.A of this Part;  
10. §335.E of this Part;  
11. §337.C of this Part;  
12. §343.A of this Part;  
13. §344.A of this Part;  
14. General equipment design shall be such that feeders 

will be able to supply, at all times, the necessary amounts of 
chemicals at an accurate rate throughout the range of feed; 

15. For fluoride only, day tanks shall be provided 
where bulk storage of liquid chemical is provided, meet all 
the requirements of section 5.1.10 of the Ten State 
Standards, hold no more than a 30 hour supply, and be scale 
mounted or have a calibrated gauge painted or mounted on 
the side if liquid levels can be observed in a gauge tube or 
through translucent sidewalls of the tank. In opaque tanks, a 
gauge rod extending above a reference point at the top of the 
tank, attached to a float can be used. The ratio of the area of 
the tank to its height shall be such that unit readings are 
meaningful in relation to the total amount of chemical fed 
during a day; 

16. No drain on a water storage structure shall have a 
direct connection to a sewer or storm drain. The design shall 
allow draining the storage facility for cleaning or 
maintenance without causing loss of pressure in the 
distribution system; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017  86

17. System shall have a monitoring plan that includes a 
list of all routine compliance samples required on a daily, 
weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual basis and identify the 
sampling location where samples are to be collected. The 
public water system shall revise and re-submit its monitoring 
plan if changes to a plant or distribution system require 
changes to the sampling locations or if any significant 
changes to the disinfection methods are made. In addition, 
the public water system shall update and re-submit its 
monitoring plan when the system's sampling requirements or 
protocols change; 

18. §1503.A.1 of this Part;  
19. §1503.C of this Part;  
20. Storage tanks and pipelines for liquid chemicals 

shall be specified for use with individual chemicals and shall 
not be used for different chemicals. Offloading areas shall be 
clearly labeled to prevent accidental cross-contamination; 

21. Critical water system component is in poor 
condition or defective and indicative of failure or imminent 
failure. Component failure is expected to critically impact 
the quality or quantity of produced water;  

22. All potable water systems shall be designed, 
constructed, and maintained so as to prevent leakage of 
water due to defective materials, improper jointing, 
corrosion, settling, impacts, freezing, or other causes. Valves 
and blow-offs shall be provided so that necessary repairs can 
be made with a minimum interruption of service; and 

23. Other condition which is deemed by the state health 
officer to be a significant deficiency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:85 (January 2017). 
§325. Treatment Chemicals and Components 

[formerly paragraph 12:007] 
A. Chemicals used in the treatment of water to be used 

for potable purposes shall either meet the standards of the 
American Water Works Association or meet NSF 60 
requirements as verified by an ANSI accredited testing 
agency. System wetted components shall meet NSF 61 as 
verified by an ANSI accredited testing agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A. (5)(6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1322 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:86 (January 2017). 
§343. Cross Connections 

[formerly paragraph 12:016-1] 
A. There shall be no physical connection between a 

public water supply and any other water supply which is not 
of equal sanitary quality and under an equal degree of 
official supervision; and there shall be no connection or 
arrangement by which unsafe water, hazardous fluid or 
contamination may enter a public water supply system. 

B. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(7)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A. (3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1325 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:86 (January 2017). 
Chapter 9. Louisiana Total Coliform Rule 

[formerly Appendix C] 
§901. Federal Regulations Adopted by Reference 

[formerly the preamble paragraph opening 
Appendix C] 

A. The State of Louisiana, Louisiana Department of 
Health (LDH)-Office of Public Health (OPH) adopts the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) 
federal Total Coliform Regulations as published in the 
Federal Register, Volume 54, Number 124 Thursday, June 
29, 1989. Pursuant to the definition of national primary 
drinking water regulations and the provisions of §377 of this 
Part, LDH-OPH adopts by reference the USEPA federal 
Revisions to the Total Coliform Rule (RTCR) as published 
in the Federal Register dated February 13, 2013 (Volume 
78, Number 30, pages 10346-10363). In addition, under 
§377 of this Part, LDH-OPH also adopts by reference certain 
USEPA minor corrections to the federal RTCR as published 
in the Federal Register dated February 26, 2014 (Volume 
79, Number 38, pages 10668-10670). In order to clarify the 
state's discretionary decisions allowed by the federal 
requirements, the following is offered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and 40:5.A. (3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1333 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:86 (January 2017). 
§903. Coliform Routine Compliance Monitoring 

[formerly Coliform Routine Compliance 
Monitoring of Appendix C] 

A. Public water systems shall collect routine compliance 
samples for total coliforms at sites which are representative 
of water throughout the distribution system in accordance 
with a monitoring plan approved by the state health officer. 
Each public water system shall submit a monitoring plan in a 
format approved by the state health officer. The monitoring 
plan shall include a minimum number of point of collection 
(POC) monitoring sites calculated by multiplying 1.5 times 
the minimum number of samples required to be routinely 
collected in accordance with Subsection C of this Section, 
rounding any mixed (fractional) number product up to the 
next whole number. The monitoring plan shall include the 
POC monitoring sites for repeat samples required in §905. 
The monitoring plan shall include a map of the system with 
each POC sampling site identified along with a 911 street 
address, a latitude/longitude coordinate, and a brief 
description of the site location.  

B. … 
C. Community systems and non-community systems 

shall be routinely monitored in accordance with Table 1. 
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Table 1 

Population Served Minimum Number of Routine 
Samples per Month Population Served Minimum Number of Routine 

Samples per Month 
 25 to 1,000  1 59,001 to 70,000  70 
 1,001 to 2,500  2 70,001 to 83,000  80 
 2,501 to 3,300  3 83,001 to 96,000  90 
 3,301 to 4,100  4 96,001 to 130,000 100 
 4,101 to 4,900  5 130,001 to 220,000 120 
 4,901 to 5,800  6 220,001 to 320,000 150 
 5,801 to 6,700  7 320,001 to 450,000 180 
 6,701 to 7,600  8 450,001 to 600,000 210 
 7,601 to 8,500  9 600,001 to 780,000 240 
 8,501 to 12,900 10 780,001 to 970,000 270 
12,901 to 17,200 15 970,001 to 1,230,000 300 
17,201 to 21,500 20 1,230,001 to 1,520,000 330 
21,501 to 25,000 25 1,520,001 to 1,850,000 360 
25,001 to 33,000 30 1,850,001 to 2,270,000 390 
33,001 to 41,000 40 2,270,001 to 3,020,000 420 
41,001 to 50,000 50 3,020,001 to 3,960,000 450 
50,001 to 59,000 60 3,960,001 or more 480 

 
D. Unless the state health officer specifies otherwise, the 

public water supply shall collect routine samples at regular 
time intervals throughout the month and shall alternate 
routine sampling between all of the approved POC sites. 
Routine samples shall not be collected from the same POC 
more than once per calendar month. 

E. Special purpose samples (investigative samples) shall 
not be used to determine compliance with the Escherichia 
coli (E. coli) MCL.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and 40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1333 (June 
2002), amended LR 42:410 (March 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:86 (January 
2017). 
§905. Coliform Repeat Compliance Monitoring 

[formerly Coliform Repeat Monitoring of 
Appendix C] 

A. If a routine sample is total coliform positive and the 
public water supply has their own certified laboratory, repeat 
samples shall be collected by the public water supply within 
24 hours of being notified of the positive result. If the State 
collects and analyzes the samples, repeat samples shall be 
collected by the state within 24 hours of official notification. 
At least three repeat compliance samples shall be collected 
for each routine total coliform positive sample found.  

B. For each routine total coliform positive sample, at 
least one repeat sample shall be collected from the sampling 
tap where the original total coliform positive sample was 
taken and at least one repeat sample shall be collected at a 
tap within five service connections upstream and at least one 
repeat sample shall be collected at a tap within five service 
connections downstream of the original sampling site.  

C. The repeat samples shall be collected on the same 
day. 

D. In a system with a single service connection, three 
100 ml repeat samples shall be collected.  

E. If total coliforms are detected in any repeat sample, 
the system shall collect another set of repeat samples from 
the same locations within 24 hours of being notified of the 
positive result. The system shall continue to collect 
additional sets of repeat samples until either total coliforms 
are not detected in one complete set of repeat samples or the 

system determines that a coliform treatment technique 
trigger under this Part has been exceeded as a result of a 
repeat sample being total coliform-positive and the State is 
notified. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A. (3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1334 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:87 (January 2017). 
§907. Analytical and Reporting Requirements 

A. Compliance samples for total coliform and 
Escherichia coli (E. coli) shall be analyzed by a certified 
microbiology laboratory/drinking water. The microbiology 
laboratory shall be certified by the state health officer for 
each method (and associated contaminant(s)) used for 
compliance monitoring analyses under this Part. 

B. Compliance samples shall be analyzed to determine 
the presence or absence of total coliforms and E. coli; a 
determination of density is not required. If a routine or 
repeat sample result is positive for total coliform, the sample 
shall also be analyzed for E. coli immediately. 

C. For compliance samples, laboratories shall use a 
State-approved laboratory report that contains the following 
information: 

1. public water system (PWS) name and State-
assigned PWS ID number; 

2. sample identification number; 
3. State-assigned point of collection (POC) site ID No. 

and POC address; 
4. sample type (e.g., routine, repeat, source, 

replacement, investigative or other special purpose sample); 
5. date and time of collection; 
6. disinfectant residual (specify free or total and units 

of measurement); 
7. name of sampler/collector; 
8. date and time of sample receipt by the laboratory; 
9. any deficiency in the condition of the sample; 
10. date and time analysis begins; 
11. analytical technique/method used; 
12. results of analysis; 
13. any remarks [quality control failures, etc.]; and 
14. name and signature of the analyst performing the 

analysis. 
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D. Except for a positive sample(s) which is required 
under to be reported sooner, compliance sample results shall 
be reported in a format approved by the state health officer 
by the tenth day of the following month after the end of the 
monitoring period.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A. (3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1335 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:87 (January 2017). 
§911. Treatment Technique Triggers and Maximum 

Contaminant Level 
[formerly Total Coliform MCL of Appendix C] 

A. The following conditions are considered treatment 
technique triggers. 

1. For systems collecting 40 or more distribution 
system samples per month, more than 5.0 percent of the 
monthly samples are total coliform positive. 

2. For systems collecting less than 40 distribution 
system samples per month, two or more samples per month 
are total coliform positive. 

3. Failure to collect every required repeat sample 
following a total coliform positive sample. 

4. An E.coli maximum contaminant level (MCL) 
violation occurs as specified below: 

a. a coliform-positive original sample that is also 
positive for E. coli is followed by a coliform-positive repeat 
sample; 

b. a coliform-positive original sample followed by a 
coliform-positive repeat sample is also positive for E. coli; 

c. failure to take all repeat samples following an E. 
coli positive routine sample; or 

d. failure to test for E. coli on any repeat total 
coliform positive sample. 

5. A second occurrence of conditions under Paragraph 
1, 2 or 3 of this Subsection within a rolling 12-month period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A. (3)(5)(6)17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1335 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 43:88 (January 2017). 
§912. Assessment Requirements 

A. Assessments shall be conducted in accordance with 
the requirements of the National Primary Drinking Water 
Regulations as amended by this Chapter after exceeding any 
of the treatment technique triggers described in §911 of this 
Part. 

1. A Level 1 assessment shall be conducted if the 
system exceeds one of the treatment technique triggers 
described in Paragraph 1, 2, or 3 of §912.A. 

a. A Level 1 assessment shall be conducted by an 
operator or operators holding a current license issued by the 
state health officer for water production, water treatment and 
water distribution in the class level (or higher) required for 
the population served by the system in accordance with the 
requirements of LAC 48:V.Chapter 73. 

2. A Level 2 assessment shall be conducted if the 
system exceeds one of the treatment technique triggers 
described in Paragraph 4 or 5 of §912.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:88 (January 2017). 
§913. Public Notification 

[formerly Public Notification of Appendix C] 
A. Public notification (PN) shall be provided in accord 

with the requirements of the National Primary Drinking 
Water Regulations, as amended under Chapter 19 of this 
Part. In accordance with the NPDWRs, public water systems 
shall provide a Tier 1 PN for an E. coli MCL violation, a 
Tier 2 PN for a treatment technique requirement violation 
for failure to conduct assessments or corrective actions, and 
a Tier 3 PN for a monitoring violation or a reporting 
violation.  

1. If a replacement sample cannot be analyzed and 
give a readable result, the public water supply will be 
assessed a monitoring violation and must give appropriate 
public notification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 40: 
4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A. (3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1335 (June 2002), 
amended LR 35:484 (March 2009), amended by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:88 (January 2017).  
Chapter 12. Ground Water Rule 
§1201. General 

A. Pursuant to the definition of National Primary 
Drinking Water Regulations and the provisions of §377 of 
this Part, the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) Office 
of Public Health (OPH) adopts by reference the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) federal 
Ground Water Rule (GWR) as published in the Federal 
Register dated November 8, 2006 (Volume 71, Number 216, 
pages 65650 - 65659). In addition, under §377 of this Part, 
LDH-OPH also adopted by reference certain USEPA 
technical corrections to the federal GWR. The applicable 
technical corrections were published in the Federal Register 
dated November 21, 2006 (Volume 71, Number 224, page 
67427).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and R.S. 40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:88 (January 2017). 

 
Jimmy Guidry, MD 
State Health Officer, 
and 
Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1701#021  
 

RULE 

Department of the Treasury 
Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employees’ 

Retirement System 

General Provisions (LAC 58:I.Chapter 1) 

The Department of the Treasury, Board of Trustees of the 
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System (LASERS) 
has amended in part and repealed in part of provisions 
contained in Chapter 1 Part I of LAC Title 58. Seven 
definitions in Section 101 are repealed, as they are unused in
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the Part or are already defined in statutory law. Sections 103 
and 105 are recommended for repeal in their entirety 
because they are unneeded. Section 107 is recommended for 
repeal because it is unsuited for the LASERS appeal process. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part I.  Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Definitions 

A. Wherever in these regulations the masculine is used, 
it includes the feminine and vice versa. Wherever the 
singular is used, it includes the plural and vice versa. The 
following definitions shall apply to all regulations 
promulgated under Part I, unless the usage clearly indicates 
another meaning. 

Active Member―a member of the Louisiana State 
Employees' Retirement System who is in state service. 

Active Member Trustees―those members of the board 
of trustees of the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement 
System who are active employees, or participating in DROP. 

Board of Trustees or Board―the board of trustees of the 
Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System. 

Director―the executive director of the Louisiana State 
Employees' Retirement System. 

DROP―Deferred Retirement Option Plan. 
Inactive Member―a member who is out of state service 

but is not retired and has left his contributions in the system. 
LASERS―the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement 

System. 
Retired Member Trustees—those members of the board 

of trustees of the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement 
System who are retired, but not those members who are 
participating in DROP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 22:373 (May 1996), amended LR 24:120 (January 
1998), amended LR 43:89 (January 2017).  
§103. Petitions for Adoption, Amendment, or Repeal of 

Rules; Form and Procedure 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:953 and R.S. 11:515. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 22:373 (May 1996), repealed LR 43:89 (January 
2017). 
§105. Petitions for Declaratory Rulings on the 

Applicability of Agency Statutes, Rules or 
Orders 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:962 and R.S. 11:515. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 22:373 (May 1996), repealed LR 43:89 (January 
2017).  
§107. Appeal to the Board of Trustees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

11:515. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 

System, LR 22:373 (May 1996), repealed LR 43:89 (January 
2017).  

Cindy Rougeou 
Executive Director 

1701#017  
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Office of Fisheries 

Reef Fish—Harvest Regulations (LAC 76:VII.335) 

Editor’s Note: The following Rule is being repromulgated to 
correct a manifest typographical error upon submission. The 
original Rule can be viewed in the June 20, 2016 Louisiana 
Register on pages 908-909. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended a 
Rule (LAC 76:VII.335) modifying existing reef fish harvest 
regulations. The changes decrease the daily trip limit of 
commercially harvested greater amberjack from 2,000 
pounds to 1,500 pounds and increase the recreational 
minimum size limit of greater amberjack from 30 to 34 
inches fork length. Authority for amendment of this Rule is 
included in the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 
seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 
56:320.2, 56:326.1, and 56:326.3 to the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§335. Reef Fish—Harvest Regulations 

A. - D.7. … 
8. Commercial trip limits shall include those limits 

listed below. For the purposes of this rule, a trip is defined as 
a fishing trip, regardless of the number of days duration, that 
begins with departure from a dock, berth, beach, seawall or 
ramp and that terminates with return to a dock, berth, beach, 
seawall or ramp. 

 
Species or Group Trip Limit 

a. Gray Triggerfish 12 fish 
b. Greater Amberjack 1,500 pounds 

 
E. Recreational and commercial minimum and 

maximum size limits, unless otherwise noted. 
 

Species Minimum Size Limits 
1. Red snapper  16 inches total length (Recreational) 

13 inches total length (Commercial) 
2. Gray, yellowtail, and 

cubera snapper 
12 inches total length 

3. Lane snapper  8 inches total length  
4. Mutton snapper  16 inches total length  
5. Vermilion snapper  10 inches total length  
6. Red grouper  20 inches total length (Recreational) 

18 inches total length (Commercial) 
7. Yellowfin grouper  20 inches total length  

8. Gag  24 inches total length (Recreational) 
22 inches total length (Commercial) 

9. Black grouper  24 inches total length  
10. Scamp  16 inches total length  
11. Greater amberjack  34 inches fork length (Recreational) 

36 inches fork length (Commercial) 
12. Hogfish  12 inches fork length  
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Species Minimum Size Limits 
13. Banded rudderfish and 

lesser amberjack  
14 inches fork length (minimum size) 
22 inches fork length (maximum size) 

14. Gray triggerfish 14 inches fork length 
 
F. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:320.2(C), R.S. 56:326.1 and R.S. 
56:326.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:539 (June 1990), amended LR 19:1442 (November 1993), LR 
20:797 (July 1994), LR 21:1267 (November 1995), LR 22:860 
(September 1996), LR 24:1138 (June 1998), LR 24:1139 (June 
1998), LR 24:1972 (October 1998), LR 26:793 (April 2000), LR 
26:1505 (July 2000), LR 26:2833 (December 2000), LR 31:3166 
(December 2005), LR 33:1156 (June 2007), repromulgated LR 
33:1397 (July 2007), amended LR 34:2209 (October 2008), LR 
34:2682 (December 2008), LR 36:1791 (August 2010), LR 38: 
2383 (September 2012), LR 39:330 (February 2013), LR 40:95 
(January 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1116 (June 2014), LR 
40:2281 (November 2014), amended by the by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries, LR 42:908 (June 2016), 
repromulgated LR 44:89 (January 2017). 

 
Bart Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#006 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Alligator Egg Collections (LAC 76:V.701) 

The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission have amended the rules for 
alligator egg collections in the alligator regulations. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part V.  Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds 
Chapter 7. Alligators 
§701. Alligator Regulations 

A. - A.13.d. ... 
14. Alligator Egg Collections 

a. - i. … 
j. The alligator egg collection permittee and the 

landowner are responsible for the return of the percentage of 
live alligators to the wild described on the alligator egg 
collection permit. This requirement is nontransferable. 
Minimum return rates will be based upon the state average 
hatching success which is 78 percent. In no case shall the 
return rate be less than 10 percent at 48 inches total length. 
Each alligator shall be returned to the original egg collection 
area within a maximum time of two years from date of 
hatching. Each alligator shall be a minimum of 36 inches 
and a maximum of 60 inches (no alligator over 60 inches 
total length will be accepted for release) in total length and 
the returned sex ratio should contain at least 50 percent 
females. The alligator egg collection permittee/landowner 
are responsible for and must compensate in kind for alligator 
mortality which occurs for department-authorized return to 
the wild alligators while being processed, stored, or 
transported. The department shall be responsible for 

supervising the required return of these alligators. A 
department transfer authorization permit is not required for 
return to the wild alligators which are delivered to the farm 
of origin no more than 48 hours prior to being processed for 
wild release. Releases back to the wild will only occur 
between March 15 and August 25 of each calendar year 
provided that environmental conditions as determined by the 
department are favorable for survival of the released 
alligators. Any farmer who owes 1000 or more alligators at 
48 inches must release at least 1/4 of the total owed for that 
year by April 30; at least another quarter by June 15, at least 
another quarter by July 31; and the remainder by August 25. 
A farmer may do more than the required 1/4 of his releases 
earlier if available unscheduled days allow. Should an 
alligator egg collection permittee be unable to release the 
required number of alligators to the wild from his own stock, 
he shall be required to purchase additional alligators from 
another farmer to meet compliance with the alligator egg 
collection permit and these regulations, as supervised by the 
department. Department-sanctioned participants in ongoing 
studies involving survivability and return rates are exempt 
from these requirements during the period of the study. 
Violation of this Subparagraph is a class four violation as 
described in R.S. 56. 

14.k. - 18.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115, R.S. 56:259, R.S. 56:262, R.S. 56:263 and R.S. 56:280. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:1070 (December 1990), amended LR 17:892 (September 1991), 
LR 19:215 (February 1993), LR 20:321 (March 1994), LR 26:1492 
(July 2000), LR 28:1996 (September 2002), LR 30:2338 (October 
2004), LR 30:2878 (December 2004), LR 31:2267 (September 
2005), LR 33:677 (April 2007), LR 35:690 (April 2009), LR 
37:2421 (August 2011), LR 39:2291 (August 2013), LR 42:909 
(June 2016), LR 43:90 (January 2017). 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#0025  
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Freshwater Sport and Commercial FishingPoverty Point 
Reservoir Netting Prohibition (LAC 76:VII.106) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
current net ban and established and permitted a special 
recurring commercial fishing season, allowing the use of 
certain nets in Poverty Point Reservoir, Richland Parish, 
Louisiana. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 1. Freshwater Sport and Commercial 

Fishing 
§106. Poverty Point Reservoir Netting Prohibition 

A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby 
prohibits the use of freshwater trammel and gill nets in 
Poverty Point Reservoir, Richland Parish, Louisiana, except 
their use will be allowed for the legal harvest of commercial 
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fish during a special recurring trammel and gill netting 
season to commence each year at sunrise on October 1 and 
close at sunset on the last day of February the following 
year. 

1. Commercial fishing with certain nets will be 
allowed on Poverty Point Reservoir only during the above 
described special season and only by licensed commercial 
fishermen. The use of nets in Poverty Point Reservoir will be 
limited to gill and trammel nets greater than or having at 
least a minimum mesh size of 3 1/2-inch bar and 7-inch 
stretch. 

2. Commercial fishing will be allowed during daylight 
hours in designated areas only except that gear can remain 
set overnight but fish captured shall be removed during 
daylight hours only. 

B. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby 
prohibits the use of hoop nets, wire nets and fish seines in 
Poverty Point Reservoir. No person shall use or possess any 
hoop nets, wire nets or fish seines in or on Poverty Point 
Reservoir. Violation of this provision shall be a class 2 
violation as specified in R.S. 56:32. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:22. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
31:2569 (October 2005), amended LR 43:90 (January 2017). 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#027 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster HarvestEstablishment of Recreational Reef Sites 
and Restrictions (LAC 76:VII.537) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended 
LAC 76:VII.537 to remove oyster reefs 1-3 in Calcasieu 
Lake from the list of established recreational reef sites, and 
thus allow for the harvest of oysters thereon. Furthermore, a 
new area of water bottoms in Calcasieu Lake (East Calcasieu 
reef site) would be designated and set aside as a recreational 
reef whereby the restriction of all harvest of oysters thereon 
would be applied. Two new areas of water bottoms in Lake 
Pontchartrain (West End and St. John) are also added to the 
list of established recreational reef sites. Additional changes 
to this Section include removal of duplicative reef site 
coordinates (Redfish Pointe [original]), consistency 
corrections (Bay Ronquille, St. Tammany East, St. Tammany 
West, Orleans, South Shore, Bully Camp, St. Charles, Rabbit 
Island, Finfish, Turner’s Bay Island, Sweet Lake, Bird 
Island, Cypremort Point, and Redfish Point), and subsequent 
renumbering of reef sites. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oyster 
§537. Establishment of Recreational Reef Sites and 

Restriction of Oyster Harvest 
A. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby 

establishes the following recreational reef sites as that area 
within the following coordinates (North America Datum 
1983): 

1. California Point—Plaquemines Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 29 minutes 08.86 seconds N, 

89 degrees 29 minutes 11.15 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 29 minutes 08.63 seconds N, 

89 degrees 28 minutes 54.46 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 28 minutes 54.02 seconds N, 

89 degrees 28 minutes 54.73 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 28 minutes 54.25 seconds N, 

89 degrees 29 minutes 11.42 seconds W; 
2. Bay Ronquille—Plaquemines Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 20 minutes 04.46 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 33.38 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 20 minutes 04.54 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 39.29 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 20 minutes 07.96 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 40.22 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 20 minutes 09.09 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 44.75 seconds W; 

e. 29 degrees 20 minutes 01.34 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 44.21 seconds W; 

f. 29 degrees 20 minutes 01.59 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 41.69 seconds W; 

g. 29 degrees 19 minutes 50.07 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 38.19 seconds W; 

h. 29 degrees 19 minutes 53.35 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 34.71 seconds W; 

i. 29 degrees 19 minutes 52.76 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 34.16 seconds W; 

j. 29 degrees 20 minutes 02.34 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 24.99 seconds W; 

k. 29 degrees 20 minutes 05.37 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 31.18 seconds W; 

3. St. Tammany East—St. Tammany Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 13 minutes 48.36 seconds N, 

89 degrees 57 minutes 15.24 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 13 minutes 48.36 seconds N, 

89 degrees 56 minutes 27.24 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 13 minutes 06.36 seconds N, 

89 degrees 56 minutes 27.24 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 13 minutes 06.36 seconds N, 

89 degrees 57 minutes 15.24 seconds W; 
4. St. Tammany West—St. Tammany Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 18 minutes 41.88 seconds N, 
90 degrees 09 minutes 24.00 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 18 minutes 41.88 seconds N, 
90 degrees 08 minutes 36.00 seconds W; 
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c. 30 degrees 17 minutes 59.88 seconds N, 
90 degrees 08 minutes 36.00 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 17 minutes 59.88 seconds N, 
90 degrees 09 minutes 24.00 seconds W; 

5. St. Tammany Pier—St. Tammany Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 12 minutes 28.34 seconds N, 

89 degrees 47 minutes 54.03 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 12 minutes 27.96 seconds N, 

89 degrees 47 minutes 53.57 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 12 minutes 20.66 seconds N, 

89 degrees 48 minutes 01.30 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 12 minutes 21.03 seconds N, 

89 degrees 48 minutes 01.76 seconds W; 
6. North Shore—St. Tammany Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 16 minutes 38.00 seconds N, 
90 degrees 04 minutes 08.00 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 16 minutes 38.00 seconds N, 
90 degrees 03 minutes 21.00 seconds W; 

c. 30 degrees 15 minutes 58.00 seconds N, 
90 degrees 03 minutes 21.00 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 15 minutes 58.00 seconds N, 
90 degrees 04 minutes 08.00 seconds W; 

7. North Twin Span—St. Tammany Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 11 minutes 39.13 seconds N, 

89 degrees 50 minutes 15.54 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 11 minutes 39.13 seconds N, 

89 degrees 50 minutes 10.78 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 11 minutes 35.02 seconds N, 

89 degrees 50 minutes 10.78 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 11 minutes 35.02 seconds N, 

89 degrees 50 minutes 15.54 seconds W; 
8. South Twin Span—Orleans Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 10 minutes 12.23 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 47.04 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 10 minutes 12.23 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 42.27 seconds W; 

c. 30 degrees 10 minutes 08.11 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 42.27 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 10 minutes 08.11 seconds N, 
89 degrees 50 minutes 47.04 seconds W; 

9. Orleans—Orleans Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 07 minutes 47.46 seconds N, 

90 degrees 05 minutes 05.70 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 07 minutes 47.46 seconds N, 

90 degrees 04 minutes 17.70 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 07 minutes 05.46 seconds N, 

90 degrees 04 minutes 17.70 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 07 minutes 05.46 seconds N, 

90 degrees 05 minutes 05.70 seconds W; 
10. Lake Front—Orleans Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 03 minutes 34.72 seconds N, 
89 degrees 59 minutes 40.25 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 03 minutes 35.72 seconds N, 
89 degrees 59 minutes 38.25 seconds W; 

c. 30 degrees 03 minutes 35.57 seconds N, 
89 degrees 59 minutes 38.05 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 03 minutes 30.22 seconds N, 
89 degrees 59 minutes 33.25 seconds W; 

e. 30 degrees 03 minutes 28.22 seconds N, 
89 degrees 59 minutes 35.25 seconds W; 

11. West End—Orleans Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 01 minutes 54.23 seconds N, 

90 degrees 07 minutes 17.97 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 01 minutes 54.70 seconds N, 

90 degrees 07 minutes 11.13 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 01 minutes 47.65 seconds N, 

90 degrees 07 minutes 09.28 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 01 minutes 47.19 seconds N, 

90 degrees 07 minutes 16.12 seconds W; 
12. St. John—St. John the Baptist Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 05 minutes 53.21 seconds N, 
90 degrees 24 minutes 20.29 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 05 minutes 53.16 seconds N, 
90 degrees 24 minutes 12.77 seconds W; 

c. 30 degrees 05 minutes 46.63 seconds N, 
90 degrees 24 minutes 12.83 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 05 minutes 46.68 seconds N, 
90 degrees 24 minutes 20.35 seconds W; 

13. South Shore 1, 2, and 3—Jefferson Parish 
a. 30 degrees 05 minutes 25.00 seconds N, 

90 degrees 12 minutes 42.00 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 05 minutes 25.00 seconds N, 

90 degrees 11 minutes 56.00 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 04 minutes 44.00 seconds N, 

90 degrees 11 minutes 56.00 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 04 minutes 44.00 seconds N, 

90 degrees 12 minutes 42.00 seconds W; 
14. Laketown—Jefferson Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 02 minutes 40.92 seconds N, 
90 degrees 14 minutes 23.11 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 02 minutes 38.30 seconds N, 
90 degrees 14 minutes 18.46 seconds W; 

c. 30 degrees 02 minutes 35.07 seconds N, 
90 degrees 14 minutes 20.28 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 02 minutes 37.69 seconds N, 
90 degrees 14 minutes 24.93 seconds W; 

15. Independence Island—Jefferson Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 18 minutes 34.48 seconds N, 

89 degrees 56 minutes 13.37 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 18 minutes 34.22 seconds N, 

89 degrees 55 minutes 48.52 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 18 minutes 24.32 seconds N, 

89 degrees 55 minutes 48.66 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 18 minutes 24.58 seconds N, 

89 degrees 56 minutes 13.51 seconds W; 
16. Bully Camp 1—Lafourche Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 27 minutes 30.08 seconds N, 
90 degrees 22 minutes 43.33 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 27 minutes 30.04 seconds N, 
90 degrees 22 minutes 38.63 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 27 minutes 25.92 seconds N, 
90 degrees 22 minutes 38.67 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 27 minutes 25.96 seconds N, 
90 degrees 22 minutes 43.37 seconds W; 

17. Bully Camp 2—Lafourche Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 27 minutes 44.08 seconds N, 

90 degrees 23 minutes 03.33 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 27 minutes 44.04 seconds N, 

90 degrees 22 minutes 58.63 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 27 minutes 39.92 seconds N, 

90 degrees 22 minutes 58.67 seconds W; 
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d. 29 degrees 27 minutes 39.96 seconds N, 
90 degrees 23 minutes 03.37 seconds W; 

18. St. Charles—St. Charles Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 08 minutes 26.10 seconds N, 

90 degrees 19 minutes 26.28 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 08 minutes 26.10 seconds N, 

90 degrees 18 minutes 38.28 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 07 minutes 44.10 seconds N, 

90 degrees 18 minutes 38.28 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 07 minutes 44.10 seconds N, 

90 degrees 19 minutes 26.28 seconds W; 
19. Rabbit Island—St. Mary Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 30 minutes 41.31 seconds N, 
91 degrees 34 minutes 00.39 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 30 minutes 41.34 seconds N, 
91 degrees 33 minutes 43.68 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 30 minutes 26.73 seconds N, 
91 degrees 33 minutes 43.65 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 30 minutes 26.70 seconds N, 
91 degrees 34 minutes 00.35 seconds W; 

20. Finfish—Cameron Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 58 minutes 15.58 seconds N, 

93 degrees 18 minutes 12.25 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 58 minutes 15.83 seconds N, 

93 degrees 17 minutes 55.47 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 58 minutes 01.22 seconds N, 

93 degrees 17 minutes 55.19 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 58 minutes 00.97 seconds N, 

93 degrees 18 minutes 11.97 seconds W; 
21. Turner’s Bay Island—Calcasieu Parish: 

a. 30 degrees 03 minutes 20.56 seconds N, 
93 degrees 18 minutes 29.54 seconds W; 

b. 30 degrees 03 minutes 20.11 seconds N, 
93 degrees 18 minutes 26.51 seconds W; 

c. 30 degrees 03 minutes 18.54 seconds N, 
93 degrees 18 minutes 26.82 seconds W; 

d. 30 degrees 03 minutes 18.99 seconds N, 
93 degrees 18 minutes 29.85 seconds W; 

22. East Calcasieu—Cameron Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 53 minutes 16.49 seconds N, 

93 degrees 16 minutes 58.85 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 53 minutes 16.52 seconds N, 

93 degrees 16 minutes 34.79 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 52 minutes 57.20 seconds N, 

93 degrees 16 minutes 34.74 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 52 minutes 57.17 seconds N, 

93 degrees 16 minutes 56.85 seconds W; 
23. Sweet Lake—Cameron Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 56 minutes 38.05 seconds N, 
93 degrees 17 minutes 33.42 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 56 minutes 38.27 seconds N, 
93 degrees 17 minutes 16.65 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 56 minutes 23.66 seconds N, 
93 degrees 17 minutes 16.36 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 56 minutes 23.41 seconds N, 
93 degrees 17 minutes 33.14 seconds W; 

24. Bird Island 1 and 2—Terrebonne Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 03 minutes 40.34 seconds N, 

90 degrees 43 minutes 34.07 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 03 minutes 41.97 seconds N, 

90 degrees 43 minutes 29.63 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 03 minutes 41.89 seconds N, 

90 degrees 43 minutes 12.99 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 03 minutes 27.28 seconds N, 

90 degrees 43 minutes 13.08 seconds W; 
e. 29 degrees 03 minutes 25.65 seconds N, 

90 degrees 43 minutes 17.53 seconds W; 
f. 29 degrees 03 minutes 25.73 seconds N, 

90 degrees 43 minutes 34.16 seconds W; 
25. Point Mast—Terrebonne Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 06 minutes 34.01 seconds N, 
90 degrees 38 minutes 16.87 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 06 minutes 33.92 seconds N, 
90 degrees 38 minutes 00.24 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 06 minutes 19.31 seconds N, 
90 degrees 38 minutes 00.34 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 06 minutes 19.40 seconds N, 
90 degrees 38 minutes 16.97 seconds W; 

26. Cypremort Point 1—Iberia Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 43 minutes 21.03 seconds N, 

91 degrees 52 minutes 23.19 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 43 minutes 21.04 seconds N, 

91 degrees 52 minutes 20.82 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 43 minutes 18.97 seconds N, 

91 degrees 52 minutes 20.81 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 43 minutes 18.96 seconds N, 

91 degrees 52 minutes 23.18 seconds W; 
27. Cypremort Point 2—Iberia Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 44 minutes 26.95 seconds N, 
91 degrees 52 minutes 54.25 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 44 minutes 27.02 seconds N, 
91 degrees 52 minutes 37.51 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 44 minutes 12.41 seconds N, 
91 degrees 52 minutes 37.43 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 44 minutes 12.34 seconds N, 
91 degrees 52 minutes 54.17 seconds W; 

28. Redfish Point—Vermilion Parish: 
a. 29 degrees 40 minutes 44.28 seconds N, 

92 degrees 07 minutes 13.40 seconds W; 
b. 29 degrees 40 minutes 44.38 seconds N, 

92 degrees 06 minutes 56.67 seconds W; 
c. 29 degrees 40 minutes 29.76 seconds N, 

92 degrees 06 minutes 56.56 seconds W; 
d. 29 degrees 40 minutes 29.66 seconds N, 

92 degrees 07 minutes 13.29 seconds W; 
29. Prien Point—Vermilion Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 39 minutes 45.53 seconds N, 
92 degrees 08 minutes 05.36 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 39 minutes 45.64 seconds N, 
92 degrees 07 minutes 48.63 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 39 minutes 31.02 seconds N, 
92 degrees 07 minutes 48.52 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 39 minutes 30.92 seconds N, 
92 degrees 08 minutes 05.25 seconds W. 

B. No person shall harvest oysters from these 
recreational reefs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:805. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
41:1309 (July 2015), amended LR 43:91 (January 2017). 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

1701#026
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 
Standards and PracticesTest Security 

(LAC 28:XI.Chapter 53) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 118―Statewide 
Assessment Standards and Practices: §5305, Test Security 
Policy; §5307, Change of District Test Coordinator 
Notification; §5309, Erasure Analysis; §5311, Addressing 
Suspected Violations of Test Security and Troubling Content 
in Written Responses; and §5316, Cell Phones and Other 
Electronic Devices. The proposed revisions require local 
education agency (LEA) test security policies be reviewed 
once every three years, require that LEAs collect all student 
cell phones prior to students gaining access to secure test 
materials, require that all test administrators keep cell 
phones off while in the vicinity of secure materials, 
provide that test administrators may only access those 
electronic devices required for approved accommodations, 
online assessments, or to provide technical assistance during 
online assessments, and remove outdated procedures. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 
Subpart 3.  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices  
Chapter 53. Test Security 
§5305. Test Security Policy 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.305] 
A. - A.3.k. … 

4. Each local education agency (LEA) as described in 
this policy shall develop and adopt a LEA test security 
policy and procedures for handling emergencies during 
online testing that is in compliance with the state's test 
security policy. The LDE shall audit LEA test security 
policies every three years to ensure compliance with all 
aspects of Bulletin 118. The policy shall provide: 

4.a. - 13. ... 
14. School districts must ensure that individual student 

test data are protected from unauthorized access and 
disclosure. 

a. The eDIRECT system is designed to be an all-
inclusive testing and reporting system for grades 3-12. The 
system contains students’ private information, including 
state test scores and state identification numbers. The system 
is password protected and requires a user ID and an assigned 
password for access. LDE assigns DTCs and back-up DTCs 
accounts in the eDIRECT system. DTCs are responsible for 
entering staff into the system and assigning the appropriate 
permissions.  

15. District test coordinators are responsible for 
providing training regarding the security and confidentiality 
of individual student test data (in paper and electronic 
formats) and of aggregated data of fewer than 10 students. 

16. LDE staff will conduct site visits during testing to 
observe test administration procedures and to ensure that 
appropriate test security procedures are being followed. 
Schools with prior violations of test security or other testing 
irregularities will be identified for visits. Other schools will 
be randomly selected. 

17. Any teachers or other school personnel who breach 
test security or allow breaches in test security shall be 
disciplined in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:416 
et seq., R.S. 17:441 et seq., R.S. 17:81 et seq., policy and 
regulations adopted by the SBESE, and any and all laws that 
may be enacted by the Louisiana Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:391.7(C)(G). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1528 (July 2005), amended LR 32:233 (February 2006), LR 
33:255 (February 2007), LR 33:424 (March 2007), LR 33:2033 
(October 2007), LR 34:65 (January 2008), LR 34:431 (March 
2008), LR 34:1351 (July 2008), LR 35:217 (February 2009), LR 
37:858 (March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:1123 (April 2011), 
amended LR 38:747 (March 2012), LR 39:1018 (April 2013), LR 
40:2510 (December 2014), LR 43: 
§5307. Change of District Test Coordinator Notification 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.307] 
A. If during the academic year the person appointed as 

district test coordinator changes, the district superintendent 
must notify the LDE. The notification must be in writing and 
must be submitted within 15 days of the change in 
appointment. 

1. The former district test coordinator must inform the 
new district test coordinator of the location of placement 
tests, and “old” GEE testing materials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1530 (July 2005), amended LR 32:234 (February 2006), LR 
33:257 (February 2007), LR 34:1351 (July 2008), LR 35:217 
(February 2009), LR 43: 
§5309. Erasure Analysis 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.309] 
A. To investigate erasures on student answer documents 

for the state criterion-referenced and norm-referenced testing 
programs, the SBESE and the LDE have developed the 
following procedures. 

1. Scoring contractors scan every answer document 
for wrong-to-right erasures. The state average and standard 
deviation are computed for each subject at each grade level. 

2. - 3.b. … 
4. Once districts, schools, and individual students 

have been identified, the state superintendent of education 
sends letters to district superintendents stating that students 
in those districts have been identified as having excessive
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wrong-to-right erasures. Copies of the district/school and 
student erasure analysis reports are enclosed with the letters. 
Copies of the correspondence are provided to the 
coordinator of test security  

5. - 6. … 
7. Erasure refers to online answer changing as well as 

erasing answers on a paper and pencil test. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1530 (July 2005), amended LR 32:234 (February 2006), LR 
33:257 (February 2007), LR 35:217 (February 2009), LR 35:443 
(March 2009), LR 40:2512 (December 2014), LR 43: 
§5311. Addressing Suspected Violations of Test Security 

and Troubling Content in Written Responses 
(Constructed Responses, Short Answers, and 
Essays) 
[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.311] 

A - A.1.c. … 
d. The district test coordinator must then email a 

completed void form to the LDE, as directed in the District 
and School Test Coordinators Manual.  

2. - 4.b.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1531 (July 2005), amended LR 33:257 (February 2007), LR 
35:217 (February 2009), LR 43: 
§5316. Cell Phones and Other Electronic Devices 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.316] 
A. If district and school policy allows for students and 

personnel to carry cell phones or other similar technological 
devices with imaging or text-messaging capability, test 
administrators must collect all devices secure test materials 
are in the vicinity. If a student is in possession of and/or uses 
a cell phone or electronic device in any manner during the 
administration of a statewide test, the phone or electronic 
device will be confiscated until assurance can be evidenced 
that all traces of information, in print, image, or verbal form, 
have been removed from all local and cloud storage and that 
no such traces remain on the device. 

1. Test administrators may have devices but they must 
be in the off position while around secure test materials, 
except for devices required for approved accommodations, 
online assessments, or to provide technical assistance during 
online assessments.  

2. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
32:391 (March 2006), amended LR 40:2512 (December 2014), LR 
43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, February 8, 2017, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary
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Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand 
delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and PracticesTest Security 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revisions will have no anticipated 
effect on costs or savings to state or local governmental units.  

The proposed revisions require local education agency 
(LEA) test security policies be reviewed once every three years, 
require that LEAs collect all student cell phones prior to 
students gaining access to secure test materials, require that all 
test administrators keep cell phones off while in the vicinity of 
secure materials, provide that test administrators may only 
access those electronic devices required for approved 
accommodations, online assessments, or to provide technical 
assistance during online assessments, and remove outdated 
procedures. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy change will have no anticipated effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1701#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 
(LAC 28:CXXXIX.519, 1903, 2301, and 2303) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 126―Charter Schools: 
§519, Local School Board Consideration of Charter 
Application, Awarding of Charters; §1903, Material 
Amendments for BESE-Authorized Charter Schools; §2301, 
State Funding; and §2303, Local Education Agency (LEA) 
Status and Federal Funding.  

Act 91 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session provides 
for the unification of public schools in Orleans Parish under 
the oversight of the Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB). 
Among other things, Act 91 provides that in Orleans Parish, 
“each Type 3B charter school and, with the approval of the 
local school board, any other type of charter school under 
the board's jurisdiction may act as its own local educational 
agency for one or more funding purposes or statutory 
definitions, in accordance with R.S. 17:3995, and rules 
adopted by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education.” The proposed revisions provide the requisite 
rules to implement this provision. The proposed revisions 
were developed in collaboration with OPSB administration. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 
Chapter 5. Charter School Application and Approval 

Process 
§519. Local School Board Consideration of Charter 

Application, Awarding of Charters 
A. ... 
B. Local school boards may approve requests to 

establish a type 3B charter school pursuant to the process 
outlined in Bulletin 129, §505. 

1. - 5. ... 
6. At the time of transfer, the type 3B charter school 

shall have the option to remain its own local educational 
agency or have the local school system serve as the charter 
school’s local education agency. A type 3B charter school 
acting as its own local education agency shall comply with 
the requirements provided for in §2303 of this Bulletin. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:2385 (August 2011), 
amended LR 39:3065 (November 2013), LR 39:3249 (December 
2013), LR 42:1869 (November 2016), LR 43: 
Chapter 19. Amendments to BESE-Authorized 

Charters 
§1903. Material Amendments for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. A material amendment to a charter is an amendment 

that makes substantive changes to a charter school's 
governance, operational, or academic structure. Material 
amendments include: 

1. changes in legal status or management, including 
the structure of the governing board, a corporate partnership, 
or assignment of or changes in management organization; 

2. changes in grade levels served; 
3. changes in student enrollment which result in 

enrollment in excess of 120 percent of the total number of 
students set forth in the school’s charter, applicable: 

a. the superintendent of the recovery school district 
is authorized to amend the charter of any type 5 charter 
school participating in a unified enrollment system 
administered by the recovery school district for the purpose 
of adjusting student enrollment limitations; 

4. changes in admission procedures or criteria, if 
applicable; 

5. changes in any option expressed in the charter 
contract exhibit with respect to collective bargaining; 
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6. changes in LEA status for type 4 charter schools in 
Orleans Parish pursuant to §2303 of this Bulletin; and 

7. any changes to the charter contract not specifically 
identified as non-material amendments. 

B. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:1369 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:873 (March 2011), LR 37:2389 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), 
amended LR 38:3120 (December 2012), LR 39:3067 (November 
2013), LR 40:1324 (July 2014), LR 43: 
Chapter 23. Charter School Funding 
§2301. State Funding 

A. - G.3. … 
4. The LDE may withhold and retain from state funds 

otherwise allocated to a local public school system through 
the Minimum Foundation Program an amount equal to 1 
quarter of 1 percent of the fee amount charged to a type 1, 3, 
3B, or 4 charter school considered its own LEA pursuant to 
§2303 of this Bulletin for administrative costs incurred by 
the LDE for providing financial oversight and monitoring. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:1371 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:874 (March 2011), LR 39:3250 (December 2013), 
LR 40:1324 (July 2014), LR 42:549 (April 2016), LR 42:1019 
(July 2016), LR 43: 
§2303. Local Education Agency (LEA) Status and 

Federal Funding 
A. Any type 2 or type 5 charter school shall be 

considered the local education agency (LEA) for funding 
purposes and statutory definitions and, as a local education 
agency, shall receive allocations for all available funding. 

B. Type 1, 3, 3B, and 4 Charter School LEAs 
1. A type 3B charter school shall have the option to 

remain its own LEA or have the local school board serve as 
the charter school’s LEA, pursuant to §519 of this Bulletin. 
A type 3B charter school considered its own LEA shall 
comply with the requirements for type 3B charter schools 
detailed in §519 of this Bulletin. 

2. Pursuant to R.S. 17:10.7.1, a type 1, 3, 3B or 4 
charter school located in Orleans Parish may be considered 
its own LEA for funding purposes and statutory definitions, 
and as an LEA, shall receive allocations for all available 
funding. 

a. At all times the charter school is considered its 
own LEA; it shall: 
 i. continue participation and follow all rules of 
the parish-wide enrollment system or, if not currently 
participating, begin participation upon renewal of the charter 
school’s charter contract, and when enrolling or registering 
students at the school, do so without regard to English 
language learner (ELL) or disability status, type or severity 
of disability, or level of services required; 
 ii. provide all identification, evaluation, and 
special education and ELL services to students enrolled at 
the school required by the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA) and other applicable federal and state 
laws and regulations for LEAs;  
  

 iii. when requesting a transfer for a student with a 
disability, do so in accordance with IDEA and other 
applicable state and federal special education laws and 
regulations for LEAs, and only when such transfer has been 
initiated or agreed to by the student’s parent or legal 
guardian;  
 iv. continue participation and follow all rules of 
the parish-wide student expulsion process, and when making 
a change of placement or an expulsion request for a student 
with a disability, do so according to such process and in 
compliance with the provisions of IDEA and other 
applicable federal and state special education laws and 
regulations for LEAs;  
 v. provide transportation services for students as 
required by applicable state laws and regulations, the 
school’s charter contract, and local school board policy;  
 vi. comply with all financial, testing, and reporting 
requirements required by the charter school’s authorizer or 
the department pursuant to applicable federal, state, and 
local laws and regulations; and 
 vii. comply with any monitoring, reporting, or 
corrective actions required by the school’s charter authorizer 
or the department related to the requirements of this Section 
and any other applicable federal, state, or local laws or 
regulations for LEAs. 

b. For type 1 and 3 charter schools in Orleans 
Parish, the local superintendent shall implement a process to 
identify those schools requesting to be considered their own 
LEAs for the 2017-18 school year. The local superintendent 
shall also implement a process to identify these schools in 
future years either on an annual basis for all type 1, 3, or 3B 
charter schools, or in conjunction with the initial 
authorization of new charter schools and renewal of existing 
charter schools. LEA status shall commence on July 1 
following receipt by the state superintendent of written 
notification from the local superintendent no later than the 
preceding April 1. Such written notification shall include:  
 i. documentation of the local school board’s 
approval of the charter school to be considered its own LEA; 
 ii. written certification by the president or 
chairman of the board of the charter school that at all times 
the charter school is considered its own LEA it shall comply 
with the requirements of this Section; and 
 iii. a letter of attestation signed by the local 
superintendent, certifying that the requirements listed in this 
section shall be incorporated into the charter school’s 
contract, and the local superintendent’s oversight, 
evaluation, and renewal determination processes for the 
charter school. 

c. A type 4 charter school in Orleans Parish may be 
considered its own LEA upon request by the local school 
board and approval by BESE. The local school board may 
request LEA status for a type 4 charter school no later than 
the April 1 preceding the year in which LEA status would 
commence through any one of the following procedures: 
 i. inclusion of the request for the charter school 
to be considered its own LEA in the initial charter 
application to BESE; 
 ii. submission of a request to BESE for a material 
amendment to the charter to permit the charter school to be 
considered its own LEA pursuant to §1903 of this Bulletin; 
or 
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 iii. written request for the charter school to be 
considered its own LEA as part of BESE’s renewal of the 
school’s charter. 

d. Each type 1, 3, 3B, and 4 charter school in 
Orleans Parish that is considered its own LEA shall be held 
solely responsible for the requirements of this section and 
any other applicable federal, state, or local laws or 
regulations related to the charter school’s LEA status, 
including, but not limited to data reporting, testing 
regulations, IDEA compliance, title I regulations, and 
requirements of other grants made available and secured by 
the charter school in its capacity as an LEA. However, each 
type 1, 3, 3B or 4 charter school considered its own LEA is 
under the jurisdiction of the Orleans Parish School Board 
and as such, the local superintendent shall have the duty, 
obligation and authority to monitor and enforce corrective 
actions and interventions related to the requirements of this 
section and any other applicable federal, state, or local laws 
or regulations for such charter school. Based on evidence of 
noncompliance with any such requirements, laws, or 
regulations, or that the continuation of LEA status for the 
charter school may result in a threat to the health, safety, or 
welfare of students or staff at the charter school, the local 
superintendent may submit a written request to the state 
superintendent for rescission of the charter school’s LEA 
status.  

e. The local superintendent and the department shall 
work together to coordinate each entity’s reporting 
requirements for a charter school considered its own LEA in 
order to streamline and minimize duplication of reporting by 
the charter school. 

3. The state superintendent may rescind the LEA 
status of a type 1, 3, 3B or 4 charter school at the beginning 
of a subsequent school year (July 1) should the charter 
school fail to meet the requirements of this section or other 
requirements related to LEA status. Prior to such rescission, 
the state superintendent shall provide written notification of 
the rescission to the local school board and the charter 
school no later than April 1st. Such written notification shall 
include the reason for the rescission and a date by which the 
local school board and charter school may respond prior to 
rescission.  

4. In situations where continued LEA status for the 
charter school may result in a threat to the health, safety, or 
welfare of students or staff at the charter school, the state 
superintendent may temporarily rescind the charter school’s 
LEA status immediately, without prior written notification. 
In such a case, the state superintendent shall be required to 
provide written notification to the local school board and the 
charter school of the temporary rescission as soon as is 
feasible. Such written notification shall include the reason 
for the temporary rescission and a date by which the local 
school board and charter school may respond prior to 
permanent rescission of the charter school’s LEA status. 

5. Upon rescission, the local school board shall begin 
to serve as the charter school’s LEA. The state 
superintendent may reinstate the charter school’s LEA status 
at the beginning of a subsequent school year (July 1) 
provided the local school board approves such reinstatement 
and the state superintendent has determined that the charter 
school has demonstrated the ability to comply with all 
applicable requirements henceforth. 

6. With the local school board’s approval, a type 1, 3, 
3B, or 4 charter school considered its own LEA may 
voluntarily request to relinquish its LEA status. The state 
superintendent may only approve such request following 
receipt of the charter school’s request and the local school 
board’s approval by April 1. Upon approval by the state 
superintendent, the local school board shall begin to serve as 
the charter school’s LEA at the beginning of the following 
school year (July 1). 

C. For each pupil enrolled in a charter school who is 
entitled to special education services, any state special 
education funding beyond that provided in the Minimum 
Foundation Program and any federal funds for special 
education for that pupil that would have been allocated for 
that pupil shall be allocated to the charter school which the 
pupil attends. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:1372 (July 2008), 
amended LR 39:3251 (December 2013), LR 40:1324 (July 2014), 
LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 
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5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, February 8, 2017, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand 
delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy revisions will have no anticipated 

effect on costs or savings to state or local governmental units. 
Act 91 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session provides 

for the unification of public schools in Orleans Parish under the 
oversight of the Orleans Parish School Board (OPSB). Among 
other things, Act 91 provides that in Orleans Parish, “each 
Type 3B charter school and, with the approval of the local 
school board, any other type of charter school under the board's 
jurisdiction may act as its own local educational agency for one 
or more funding purposes or statutory definitions, in 
accordance with R.S. 17:3995, and rules adopted by the State 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.” The proposed 
revisions provide the requisite rules to implement this 
provision. The proposed revisions were developed in 
collaboration with OPSB administration. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy change will have no anticipated effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1701#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations (LAC 28:CLXI.103 and 1711) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early 
Learning Center Licensing Regulations: §103, Definitions; 
and §1711, Child-to-Staff Minimum Ratios. In order to meet 
federal child care development fund (CCDF) requirements 
and to embed standards within the state plan for Louisiana, 
the state of Louisiana must establish standards for child 
group sizes and child-to-provider ratios. Therefore, the 
proposed revisions are necessary in order to require early 
learning centers to meet appropriate ratios between the 
number of children and the number of providers and group 
size, in terms of the age of the children for each type of 
setting. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXI.  Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning 
Center Licensing Regulations 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Definitions 

* * * 
Group Size—the number of children assigned to a teacher 

or team of teachers occupying an individual classroom or 
well-defined space within a large room. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.31 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:616 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2103 (October 2015), LR 
43: 
Chapter 17. Minimum Staffing Requirements and 

Standards 
§1711. Child-to-Staff Minimum Ratios 

A. - M. … 
N. Maximum Group Size 

1. Type II and Type III 
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Age of Children Maximum Group Size  
Infants under 1 year 15 
1 year 21 
2years 22 
3 years 26 
4 years 30 
5 years 38 
6 years and up 46 

 
2. Type I 
 

Age of Children Maximum group size  
Infants under 1 year 18 
1 year 24 
2years 24 
3 years 28 
4 years 32 
5 years 40 
6 years and up 50 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40(A)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:633 (April 2015), 
effective July 1, 2015, amended LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, February 8, 2017, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand 
delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revisions will have no anticipated 
effect on costs or savings to state agencies, and while there may 
be an indeterminable impact to local school districts which 
operate early learning centers, these impacts are not anticipated 
to be significant. .  

In order to meet federal Child Care Development Fund 
(CCDF) requirements and to embed standards within the state 
plan for Louisiana, the State of Louisiana must establish 
standards for child group sizes and child-to-provider ratios. 
Therefore, the attached revisions are necessary to Bulletin 137, 
Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing Regulations, in 
order to require early learning centers to meet appropriate ratios
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between the number of children and the number of providers 
and group size, in terms of the age of the children for each type 
of setting. Current regulations provide space requirements for 
each child in the center, but the proposed changes will add an 
additional cap on the number of children in each group. 
Districts may be required to modify facilities to ensure 
adherence to the proposed maximum group sizes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

As an alternative to renovations to physical environment, a 
center may be forced to reduce the number of children served 
in order to maintain authorized group sizes in the existing 
space, which would serve to reduce revenues. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be costs to individuals and organizations 
operating early learning centers. Centers may be required to 
modify the physical environment to the extent the proposed 
maximum group sizes would be exceeded. Alternatively, a 
center may be forced to reduce the number of children served, 
thereby reducing their self-generated revenues in order to 
maintain authorized group sizes. These impacts are 
indeterminable but are not anticipated to be significant.  

Additionally, any reduction in child care slots would 
negatively impact those parents utilizing early childhood 
learning centers. Any potential impact is indeterminable at this 
time. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1701#042 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsTOPS Core  
Curriculum Equivalents: Human Anatomy  

and Physiology and Pre-Calculus (LAC 28:IV.703) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents announces its intention to 
amend its scholarship/grant rules [R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1.,R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 
17:3048.5, and R.S. 17:3048.6]. 

This rulemaking adds human anatomy and physiology as 
an equivalent to biology in the TOPS core curriculum, adds 
human anatomy and physiology as a dual enrollment course 
that may be graded on a 5.0 scale for graduates of 2018 and 
later, and adds pre-calculus as a gifted course that may be 
graded on a 5.0 scale for graduates of 2018 and later. 
(SG17176NI) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 
(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 
Honors Awards 

§703. Establishing Eligibility  
A. - A.5.a.ii.(d).(iii). … 

* * * 
 (e). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2017-2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 
Algebra I, Geometry and Algebra 
II 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Art Media Arts I-IV; Photography I, 
Photography II, and Digital 
Photography 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math-Pre-
Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math 
Methods I IB (Mathematical 
Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or 
Math Methods II IB (Mathematics 
SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability and 
Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

Biology II Human Anatomy and Physiology  
Any listed core course or its 
equivalent. 

Any core curriculum course taken 
by a student who has been deemed 
to be gifted and talented pursuant 
to R.S. 17:1941 et. seq. as 
implemented in State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary 
Education policy and in fulfillment 
of the student’s Individualized 
Education Program shall be 
considered a gifted and talented 
course and shall fulfill the core 
curriculum requirement in its given 
subject area. 

 
 (f). For students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the tables 
below have been approved by the Board of Regents and the 
state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education to be 
converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the core 
curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 
Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 
English IV AP English Literature and Composition 
Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 
European History AP European History 
Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 
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TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 
French AP French Language and Culture 
German AP German Language and Culture 
Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 
Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 
Latin AP Latin 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and 
Statistics AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 
US Government or 
Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: United States 

US History AP U.S. History 
World Geography AP Human Geography 
World History AP World History 

 
 (ii). International Baccalaureate Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course International Baccalaureate 
Advanced Math–Pre 
Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Arabic IB Language ab initio: Arabic  
IB Language B: Arabic 

Art IB Visual Arts 

Biology II IB Biology I 
IB Biology II 

Calculus IB Mathematics SL 
IB Mathematics HL 

Chemistry II IB Chemistry I 
IB Chemistry II 

Chinese IB Language ab initio: Chinese 
IB Language B: Chinese 

Economics IB Economics 

English III 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

English IV 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

Environmental Science IB Environmental Systems 

French IB Language ab initio: French  
IB Language B: French 

German IB Language ab initio: German  
IB Language B: German 

Italian IB Language ab initio: Italian  
IB Language B: Italian 

Japanese IB Language ab initio: Japanese  
IB Language B: Japanese 

Latin IB Classical Language 
Music (Performance) IB Music 

Physics I IB Physics I 
IB Physics II 

Pre-Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Spanish IB Language ab initio: Spanish  
IB Language B: Spanish 

Theatre (Performance) 
IB Film Study 
IB Theatre 
IB Dance 

US History IB History of the Americas I 
World Geography IB Geography 
World History IB History of the Americas II 
 
  

(iii).Gifted and Talented Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Art 

Art History 
Talented Visual Arts I 
Talented Visual Arts II 
Talented Visual Arts III 
Talented Visual Arts IV 

Biology II Biology II 

Calculus Calculus I 
Calculus II 

Chemistry I Chemistry I 
Chemistry II Chemistry II 

Chinese Chinese III 
Chinese IV 

Economics  Economics 

English III English III 

English IV English IV 

Environmental Science Environmental Science 

European History European History 

French French III 
French IV 

German German III 
German IV 

Italian Italian III 
Italian IV 

Japanese Japanese III 
Japanese IV 

Latin Latin III 
Latin IV 

Music (Performance) 

Talented Music I, II, III, IV 
Small Voice Ensemble II 
Choir: Intermediate 
Choir: Advanced 
Orchestra: Intermediate 
Orchestra: Advanced 

Physics I Physics 
Pre-Calculus Pre-Calculus 

Spanish Spanish III 
Spanish IV 

Theatre (Performance) Introduction to Film Studies 
Talented Theater I, II, III, IV 

US Government or 
Civics  Government 

US History U.S. History 
World Geography World/Human Geography 

 
 (iv). Dual Enrollment Courses 
 

TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name Common Course 
Code 

Advanced 
Math–Pre 
Calculus 

Trigonometry 
CMAT 1223 

Advanced 
Math-
Functions and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 

CMAT 1303 

Algebra III College Algebra CMAT 1213 

Arabic Elementary Arabic I 
Elementary Arabic II 

CARB 1013/1014 
CARB 1023/1024 
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TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name Common Course 
Code 

Art 
Art History I or II 
Art Structure/2-D Design 
Beginning Drawing 

CART 2103/2113 
CART 1113 
CART 2203 

Biology I General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 

Biology II 

General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 
General Biology II 
General Biology II (Science 
Majors) 
Human Anatomy & Physiology I  
Human Anatomy & Physiology I 
(Lec/Lab)  
Human Anatomy & Physiology II  
Human Anatomy & Physiology II 
(Lec/Lab  

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 
CBIO 1023 
CBIO 1043 
CBIO 2213  
CBIO 2214  
CBIO 2223  
CBIO 2224  

Calculus 
Applied Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

CMAT 2103 
CMAT 2113-5 
CMAT 2123-5 

Chemistry I 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 

Chemistry II 

General, Organic and Biochemistry 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 
Chemistry II 
Chemistry II (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1003 
CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 
CCEM 1113 
CCEM 1133 

Earth Science Physical Geology 
Historical Geology 

CGEO 1103 
CGEO 1113 

Economics 
Economic Principles 
Macroeconomics 
Microeconomics 

CECN 2113 
CECN 2213 
CECN 2223 

English III 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
American Literature I 
American Literature II 
Major American Writers 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2153 
CENL 2163 
CENL 2173 

English IV 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
British Literature I 
British Literature II 
Major British Writers 
World Literature I 
World Literature II 
Major World Writers  
Introduction to Fiction 
Introduction to Literature 
Introduction to Poetry and/or 
Drama 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2103 
CENL 2113 
CENL 2123 
CENL 2203 
CENL 2213 
CENL 2223 
CENL 2303 
CENL 2323 
CENL 2313 

Environmental 
Science Environmental Science CEVS 1103 

Fine Arts 
Survey 

Exploring the Arts 
Introduction to Visual Arts 
Dance Appreciation 
Music Appreciation 

CART 1013 
CART 1023 
CDNC 1013 
CMUS 1013 

French 

Elementary French I 
Elementary French II 
Intermediate French I 
Intermediate French II 

CFRN 1013/1014 
CFRN 1023/1024 
CFRN 2013/2014 
CFRN 2023 

German 

Elementary German I 
Elementary German II 
Intermediate German I 
Intermediate German II 

CGRM 1013/1014 
CGRM 1023/1024 
CGRM 2013 
CGRM 2023 

History Of 
Religion World Religions CPHL 2213 

TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name Common Course 
Code 

Latin 

Elementary Latin I 
Elementary Latin II 
Intermediate Latin I 
Intermediate Latin II 

CLTN 1013/1014 
CLTN 1023/1024 
CLTN 2013 
CLTN 2023 

Physical 
Science 
 

Physical Science I CPHY 1023 

Physics I 

Physics I (Algebra/Trigonometry 
Based) 
Physics I (Lecture and Lab) 
Physics I (Calculus Based) 

CPHY 2113 
CPHY 2114 
CPHY 2133 

Pre-Calculus Algebra and Trigonometry CMAT 1233 
Probability 
and Statistics Introductory Statistics CMAT 1303 

Spanish 

Elementary Spanish I 
Elementary Spanish II 
Intermediate Spanish I 
Intermediate Spanish II 

CSPN 1013/1014 
CSPN 1023/1024 
CSPN 2013/2014 
CSPN 2023 

Theatre 
(Performance) 

Acting I or II 
Introduction to Theatre 

CTHE 2103/2113 
CTHE 1013 

US 
Government or 
Civics  

Introduction to American 
Government 
Introduction to State and Local 
Government 
Introduction to Comparative 
Government 

CPOL 2013 
CPOL 2113 
CPOL 2213 

US History American History I or II CHIS 2013/2023 
Western 
Civilization Western Civilization I or II CHIS 1013/1023 

World 
Geography World Regional Geography CGRG 2113 

World History World Civilization I or II CHIS 1113/1123 

 
A.5.a.iii.(a). - J.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015, LR 41:657, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:2596, 2599 (Dec. 2015), 
LR 43: 
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Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973.   
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as described in LSA-R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on 

providers of services for individuals with developmental 
disabilities as described in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG17176NI) until 4:30 p.m., February 9, 
2017, by email to LOSFA.Comments@la.gov or to Sujuan 
Williams Boutté, Ed. D., Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9202. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant ProgramsTOPS 

Core Curriculum Equivalents: Human Anatomy  
and Physiology and Pre-Calculus 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 

local governmental expenditures. In accordance with the 
requirements of R.S. 17:5062(C)(1) and with the prior approval 
of BESE and receipt of comments and recommendations from 
Regents, the proposed rule change modifies the Scholarship 
and Grant Program rules to add the Human Anatomy and 
Physiology course as an equivalent (substitute) course for 
Biology II for the purpose of meeting the TOPS core 
curriculum requirements effective for students graduating 
during the 2017-2018 high school academic year and thereafter. 
In addition, the proposed rule adds, for 2018 high school 
graduates and beyond, Human Anatomy and Physiology 
courses to the list of dual enrollment courses and Pre-Calculus 
to the list of gifted/talented courses that may be graded on a 5.0 
scale. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 
be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated effects on economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups resulting 
from these measures. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on competition and 
employment resulting from these measures. 

 
Robin Rhea Lively Evan Brasseaux 
Senior Attorney Staff Director 
1701#009 Legislative Fiscal Office 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Fee Increase Authorized by Act 451 of 
the 2016 Regular Legislative Session 

(LAC 33:I.1119, 1151, 1409, 1411, 1413, 1701, 4501, 
4503, 4701, 4703, 4705, 4707, and 5903; III.Chapters 2 and 
3; V.Chapter 51; VII.1501, 1503, 1505, 1507, 1509, 1511, 
and 10535; IX.1309, 1507, 7301, 7315; and XI.307, 1305; 

XV.579, 2504, 2509, 2510, 2511 and 2599) (MM018) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the regulations, LAC 33:I.1119, 1151, 
1409, 1411, 1413, 1701, 4501, 4503, 4701, 4703, 4705, 
4707, 5903; III.209, 211, 215, 217, 223, 307, 309, 311, 313, 
315, 317, 319; V.5109, 5111, 5117, 5119, 5120, 5121, 5123, 
5125, 5127, 5129, 5131, 5135, 5137, 5139, 5141, 5143, 
5145, 5147, 5149,; VII.1501, 1503, 1505, 1507, 1509, 1511, 
10535; IX.1309, 1507, 7301, 7315; XI.307, 1305; XV.579, 
2504, 2509, 2510, 2511 and 2599 (MM018). 

This Rule provides for the fee changes authorized in Act 
451 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. The Act 
authorized certain fee increases, new fees and other changes 
to the regulations pertaining to fees. The basis and rationale 
for this Rule are to implement the fee changes authorized in 
Act 451 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. This Rule 
meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 11. Declaratory Rulings 
§1119. Disposition of Petition 

A. … 
1. notify the applicant that the fee as specified in LAC 

33:I.1151 is owed and issue a declaratory ruling; 
2. … 
3. grant the request for a declaratory ruling, notify the 

applicant that the fee as specified in LAC 33:I.1151 is owed, 
and set a time within which the ruling will be issued; or 

A.4. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2050.10. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1142 
(September 1997), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§1151. Fees 

A. Fee for Declaratory Ruling 
1. After a petition for a declaratory ruling has been 

received by the department, the appointing authority will 
determine how the department will proceed according to 
LAC 33:I.1119.A. If the department decides to proceed via 
LAC 33:I.1119.A.1 or LAC 33:I.1119.A.3, a minimum 
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$1,500 nontransferable and nonrefundable fee shall be 
submitted to the department. 

2. Prior to the issuance of the declaratory ruling, a 
final fee determination shall be made. 

a. An appropriate fee shall be computed based on 
the maximum hourly overtime salary, including associated 
related benefits, of the department’s civil service employee 
who issues the ruling. 

b. The fee shall be computed by multiplying the 
salary figure calculated according to Subparagraph A.2.a of 
this Section by every overtime hour, or portion thereof, 
worked by the department employee on the declaratory 
ruling. 

c. If the final fee based on these calculations 
exceeds $1,500, the applicant shall be invoiced the final fee 
amount, less the $1,500 already received paid. The 
declaratory ruling shall not be issued until this amount is 
paid. 

B. Refunds. The fees in this Section are nontransferable 
and nonrefundable. 

C. Methods of Payment 
1. All payments made by check, draft, or money order 

shall be made payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality, and mailed to the department at the 
address provided on the invoice. 

2. Electronic Methods of Payment 
a. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

b. Persons wishing to make payments using the 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) method shall contact the 
Office of Management and Finance for further instructions. 

3. Cash is not an acceptable form of payment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
Chapter 14. Groundwater Fees 

NOTE: The information contained in Chapter 14 was 
previously located in LAC 33:XIII.Chapter 13. It was 
relocated and renumbered in November, 1998. 

§1409. Groundwater Protection Fees 
A. Assessment Oversight (Annual). The fee listed below 

covers the cost of reviewing, evaluating, and approving 
plans and/or reports that assess groundwater contamination 
and draw conclusions as to the need for further assessment 
and/or corrective action. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $11,435 
Solid Waste Facilities $7,623 
Nonregulated Facilities $3,812 

 
B. Corrective Action Oversight (Annual). The fee listed 

below covers the cost of reviewing, evaluating, and 
approving plans and/or actions to remediate groundwater 
that has been contaminated by a facility. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $15,246 
Solid Waste Facilities $11,435 
Nonregulated Facilities $3,812 

 

C. Annual Report Review Fee. The fee listed below 
covers the cost of reviewing the groundwater annual reports 
required by Hazardous and/or Solid Waste regulations. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $1,525 
Solid Waste Facilities $381 

 
D. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Review. The fee 

listed below covers the cost of reviewing the geology and 
design of proposed groundwater monitoring systems to 
ensure compliance with department specifications. 

 
Each well $726 

 
E. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Inspection Fee 

(Annual). The fee listed below covers the cost of inspecting 
monitoring systems to ensure that they are functioning 
properly and continue to maintain their integrity. The cost 
also includes other activities, such as the analysis of boring 
logs and site geology (cross sections, isopachs, etc.). The 
maximum fee that can be charged for this category is $7,260. 

 
Each well $363 

 
F. Facility Inspection Fee (Annual). The fee listed below 

covers the cost of inspecting the various facilities to ensure 
compliance with the groundwater protection requirements 
contained in the facilities' permits. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $1,452 
With sampling $10,890 
Solid Waste Facilities $726 
With sampling $2,178 

 
G. Oversight of Abandonment Procedures. The fee listed 

below covers the cost of reviewing plans to plug and 
abandon all non-permitted groundwater monitoring systems 
(monitoring wells, piezometers, observations wells, and 
recovery wells) to ensure that they do not pose a potential 
threat to groundwater. 

 
Casing pulled $146 each well 
Casing reamed out $291 each well 
Casing left in place $726 each well 

 
H. Maximum Total Fee per Facility. The maximum 

annual fee that can be assessed a facility under these 
regulations is $45,739. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, Ground Water 
Protection Division, LR 18:729 (July 1992), amended LR 21:797 
(August 1995), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:671 (May 
2003), LR 29:2041 (October 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§1411. Methods of Payment 

A. - B. … 
1. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 
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B.2. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, Ground Water 
Protection Division, LR 18:730 (July 1992), repromulgated LR 
21:797 (August 1995), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2178 (October 2009), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§1413. Late Payment Fee 

A. Payments not received within 15 days of the due date 
will be charged a late payment fee. 

B. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the due 
date indicated on the invoice. 

C. Payments not received by the department by: 
1. the fifteenth day from the due date will be assessed 

a 5 percent late payment fee on the original assessed fee; 
2. the thirtieth day from the due date will be assessed 

an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; and 

3. the sixtieth day from the due date will be assessed 
an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, Ground Water 
Protection Division, LR 18:730 (July 1992), amended LR 21:797 
(August 1995), amended by the Office of Management and 
Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 25:426 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 17. Permit Qualifications and Requirements 
§1701. Requirements for Obtaining a Permit 

A. - A.2. … 
3. owe no outstanding monies including, but not 

limited to: fees, cost recovery, reimbursement costs, 
response costs, final judgments, or final penalties to the 
department; and 

A.4. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014.2 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 
1999), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2441 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2433 (October 2005), LR 33:2079 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 

Subpart 3.  Laboratory Accreditation 
Chapter 45. Policy and Intent 
§4501. Description and Intent of Program 

A. Description and Intent of the Laboratory 
Accreditation Program 

1. - 1.f. … 
2. The department laboratory accreditation program is 

designed to ensure the accuracy, precision, and reliability of 
the data generated, as well as the use of department-
approved methods in the generation of that data. Laboratory 
data generated by commercial environmental laboratories 
that are not accredited under this Subpart shall not be 
accepted by the department. 

B. This accreditation covers the following matrices: 
1. air emissions; 
2. nonpotable water; 

3. solid and chemical material; and 
4. biological tissue. 

C. Each matrix, as defined in LAC 33:I.4503, is divided 
into test categories. Applications for accreditation may be 
made for one or more test categories within specified 
matrices. The laboratory shall identify in the application the 
specific department-approved methods it will be using for 
each test category. The laboratory shall also have 
participated in all relevant department-approved proficiency 
testing programs and shall indicate this at the appropriate 
box or location on the application. Any variance from 
approved protocol or procedure is acceptable only with prior 
written confirmation by the department. 

D. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:917 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1434 (July 2000), LR 
29:312 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43: 
§4503. Definitions 

A. When used in these rules and regulations, the 
following words and phrases shall have the meanings 
ascribed to them below. 

* * * 
Field of Testing—Repealed. 

* * * 
Matrix (Matrices)—the substrate of a test sample that 

includes air emissions, nonpotable water, solid and chemical 
materials, and biological tissue. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:918 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1434 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1570 
(July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 47. Louisiana Environmental Laboratory 

Accreditation Program (LELAP) State 
Accreditation Requirements 

§4701. Accreditation Process 
A. - A.4. … 
B. When all requirements for accreditation have been 

successfully fulfilled, the department shall grant the 
applicant laboratory a formal notice of certification that lists 
those matrices, analytes, and methods for which the 
laboratory is certified. The certificate must be posted within 
public view in the laboratory setting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:919 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1435 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2434 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2749 (November 
2012), LR 43: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017 107

§4703. Application for Accreditation 
A. … 
B. An application for environmental laboratory 

accreditation shall be made in writing to the Office of 
Environmental Services, using the current application 
provided by the department. This application shall include 
all requested information and be accompanied by the 
appropriate application fee. Supplemental information may 
be required. 

C. … 
D. Each laboratory shall identify an official to represent 

it in all matters related to attaining and maintaining 
environmental laboratory accreditation. This official shall be 
the point of contact with the laboratory and shall be known 
as the laboratory representative. The laboratory 
representative may be any senior person from either the 
technical or managerial staff. The laboratory shall designate 
an individual in a position of authority to ensure that the 
laboratory complies with the criteria and conditions for 
accreditation. The laboratory shall also designate an 
individual who has the authority to bind the company in a 
legal manner. 

E. In cases where all application requirements have been 
met, including review of all methods and quality assurance 
program data, a status of interim status, as defined in LAC 
33:I.4503.A, may be granted at the discretion of the 
department on a case-by-case basis. Interim status may not 
exceed one year in length. Before a laboratory is granted full 
accreditation, all requirements of these regulations shall be 
met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:919 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1435 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2434 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, Legal Division, LR 
38:2749 (November 2012), LR 43: 
§4705. Categories of Accreditation 

A. At the time of application, each applicant shall clearly 
identify both the matrix (matrices) and the test categories for 
which accreditation is sought. A copy of each relevant test 
method documentation and the requisite equipment for the 
method shall be available at the laboratory. A current list of 
approved methods for each parameter/analyte shall be 
maintained by the Office of Environmental Services and 
shall be included as part of the application package. In cases 
where a method used by the laboratory is not listed, the 
laboratory shall submit documentation that verifies that the 
results obtained from the method in use are equal to or better 
than those results obtained from the approved method(s). 
The department shall review the data submitted by the 
laboratory and shall notify the laboratory in writing within 
60 calendar days regarding whether the method is acceptable 
or unacceptable as an alternate method of analysis. 

B. A laboratory may apply for accreditation in any one 
or more of the four matrices, as defined in LAC 
33:I.4503.A, and in one or more of the 11 test categories 
applicable to the matrix (matrices) selected. The laboratory 
shall be accredited in those parameters within the test 
category(ies) for which the laboratory demonstrates 

acceptable performance on proficiency samples (when 
available) and meets all other requirements of the 
department accreditation program. The accreditation test 
categories are as follows: 

1. - 11. … 
C. An accredited laboratory may request the addition of 

a matrix (matrices) and test category (categories) to its scope 
of accreditation at any time. Such a request shall be 
submitted on the current application to the Office of 
Environmental Services. Unless the previous on-site 
inspection can verify the competence of the laboratory to 
perform the additional tests, another on-site inspection may 
be required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:919 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1435 (July 2000), LR 
26:2443 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:38 (January 
2001), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:1570 (July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 31:2435 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, Legal Division, LR 38:2750 (November 2012), LR 43: 
§4707. Fees 

A. Testing laboratories applying for accreditation or 
renewal of accreditation shall submit the appropriate fee 
calculated from the fee schedule along with the required 
application or update materials. Fees are nonrefundable. 
Fees are based on the number of test categories in each 
matrix (matrices). 

B. - C. … 
D. The following basic fee structure shall be used in 

determining all application and annual fees due to the 
department. 

 
Accreditation application fee 
payable every scope amendment 
and every three-year renewal 

$726* 

Per major test category per matrix 
payable every year $363* 

Minor conventional category 
payable every year $290* 

Annual surveillance and evaluation 
applicable to minor conventional 
facilities and facilities applying for 
only one category of accreditation 

$363* 

Proficiency samples biannually to be purchased by the laboratory 
Bioassay/biomonitoring annually to be purchased by the laboratory 

Third-party audit to be billed directly to the 
laboratory 

*The accreditation fees for 
laboratories receiving national 
accreditation (NELAP) 

shall be one and one-half times 
the regular fee as stated above 

 
E. Additional fees may be charged for the expansion of 

accreditation to include new test categories. Accreditation 
shall be granted only after fees have been received. 

F. … 
G. Methods of Payment 

1. All payments made by check, draft, or money order 
shall be made payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality and mailed to the department at the 
address provided on the invoice. 

2. Electronic Methods of Payment 
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a. Persons wishing to make payments using the 
electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

b. Persons wishing to make payments using the 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) method should contact the 
Office of Management and Finance for further instructions. 

3. Cash is not an acceptable form of payment. 
H. Late Payment Fee 

1. Payments not received within 15 days of the due 
date will be charged a late payment fee.  

2. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the 
due date indicated on the invoice. 

3. Payments not received by the department by: 
a.  the fifteenth day from the due date will be 

assessed a 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; 

b. the thirtieth day from the due date will be 
assessed an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the 
original assessed fee; and 

c. the sixtieth day from the due date will be 
assessed an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the 
original assessed fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:920 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1436 (July 2000), LR 
29:672 (May 2003), LR 29:2041 (October 2003), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 59. Accreditation for Laboratories 

Participating in the NELAP Certification 
Program 

§5903. Categories of Accreditation 
A. A laboratory may apply for accreditation in any 1 or 

more of the 4 matrices and in 1 or more of the 11 test 
categories applicable to the matrix (matrices) selected. The 
laboratory shall be accredited in those parameters/analytes 
within the test category(ies) found in LAC 33:I.4705.B and 
matrix (matrices), as defined in LAC 33:I.4503. The 
laboratory shall be accredited in those parameters/analytes 
within the test category(ies) for which the laboratory 
demonstrates acceptable performance on proficiency 
samples (when available) and meets all other requirements 
of these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1439 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 2. Rules and Regulations for the Fee System 

of the Air Quality Control Programs 
§209. Annual Fees 

A. … 
B. Additional Fees for Part 70 Sources. In addition to the 

annual maintenance fee required by Subsection A of this 
Section, the department may assess an additional annual fee 
not to exceed 20 percent of the annual maintenance fee on 
each part 70 source, as defined in LAC 33:III.502. This fee 
shall be used to fund the department’s ambient air 
monitoring operations and/or other air quality-related 
activities of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:611 (September 1988), amended by the Office of Management 
and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:17 (January 1996), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:264 (February 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§211. Methodology 

A. … 
* * * 

B. Fee Methodology 
1. - 5. … 
6. If a process is not listed in the fee schedule and is 

not a source type exempted from fees by this regulation, then 
the department shall assign a fee using the negotiated fee set 
forth in fee number 1710 or 1712, as applicable. If a process 
or facility is specifically listed in the fee schedule, then fee 
number 1710 or 1712 cannot be utilized. 

7. - 10. … 
11. Reserved. 
12. - 14. … 
15. For permits issued under LAC 33:III.507 (title V 

permits), the following applies: 
a. … 
b. the application fee for renewals of permits where 

no modifications are being made at the facility shall be the 
minimum minor modification fee as listed in LAC 
33:III.223, or where no such fee is listed in the fee schedule, 
as calculated in accordance with Subparagraph B.13.d of this 
Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:611 (September 1988), amended by the Office of Air Quality 
and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1205 
(December 1991), LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 19:1419 (November 
1993), amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 22:17 (January 1996), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:264 (February 2000), LR 26:2444 (November 
2000), LR 29:2776 (December 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2435 (October 2005), LR 
33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2620 (December 2007), LR 
37:1145 (April 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43: 
§215. Methods of Payment 

A. - B. … 
1. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

B.2. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054, and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c).  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:612 (September 1988), amended by the Office of Air Quality 
and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:706 (July 
1992), amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 22:18 (January 1996), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2179 
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(October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§217. Late Payment Fee 

A. Payments not received within 15 days of the due date 
will be charged a late payment fee. 

B. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the due 
date indicated on the invoice. 

C. Payments not received by the department by: 
1. the fifteenth day from the due date will be assessed 

a 5 percent late payment fee on the original assessed fee; 
2. the thirtieth day from the due date will be assessed 

an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; and 

3. the sixtieth day from the due date will be assessed 
an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:612 (September 1988), amended by the Office of Air Quality 
and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:706 (July 
1992), LR 19:1373 (October 1993), LR 21:781 (August 1995), 
amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 25:426 (March 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 

 

§223. Fee Schedule Listing 
A. Table 1Fee Schedule Listing 
 

Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee 
Number Air Contaminant Source SICC Annual 

Maintenance Fee 
New Permit 

Application Fee 
Modified Permit Fees 

Major Minor 
0010 Reserved.                
0015 

*Note 20* 
Iron Ore Processing per Million Dollars in Capital Cost 1011 

MIN. 
$58.08 

$250.00 
$290.40 
$500.00 

$173.80 
$500.00 

$58.08 
$500.00 

0020 Bituminous Coal and Lignite Mining 1211 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
0030 Coal Preparation 1211 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
0040 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production (Less than 100 T/Yr 

Source) 
1311 $250.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 

0041 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production (Equal to or Greater 
than 100 T/Yr and Less than 250 T/Yr Source) 

1311 $250.00 $832.00 $500.00 $500.00 

0042 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production 250 T/Yr to 500 T/Yr 
Source 

1311 $514.00 $2,569.00 $1,540.00 $514.00 

0043 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production Greater than 500 T/Yr 
Source 

1311 $855.00 $3,425.00 $2,569.00 $855.00 

0050 Natural Gas Liquids per Unit 1321 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1248.00 $500.00 
0060 Construction Sand and Gravel 1442 $250.00 $832.00 $500.00 $500.00 
0070 Industrial Sand 1446 $250.00 $832.00 $500.00 $500.00 
0080 Salt Mining 1476 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
0090 Sulfur Mining 1477 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
0100 Commercial Rice Milling 2044 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
0110 Animal Feed Preparation 2048 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
0120 Cane Sugar, Except Refining Only 2061 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
0130 Cane Sugar Refining per 1,000 Lb/Hr Rated Capacity 2062 

MIN. 
$16.62 

$2,053.00 
$83.22 

$10,274.00 
$49.92 

$6,164.00 
$16.62 

$2,053.00 
0140 Cottonseed Oil Mill 2074 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
0150 Soybean Oil Mill 2075 $292.00 $1,457.00 $875.00 $500.00 
0160 Animal and Marine Fats and Oil (Rendering) 10,000 or More 

Ton/Yr 
2077 $997.00 $4,992.00 $2,995.00 $997.00 

0170 Animal and Marine Fats and Oil (Rendering) Less than 10,000 
Ton/Yr 

2077 $500.00 $2,497.00 $1,499.00 $500.00 

0180 Shortening, Table Oils, Margarine, and Other Edible Fats and 
Oils 

2079 $250.00 $1,041.00 $623.00 $500.00 

0190 Malt Beverages 2082 $250.00 $1,041.00 $623.00 $500.00 
0200 Coffee Roasting per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2095 

MIN. 
MAX. 

$165.53 
$395.00 

$10,445.00 

$832.00 
$1,975.00 

$52,228.00 

$498.04 
$1,185.00 

$31,337.00 

$165.53 
$500.00 

$10,445.00 
0210 

*Note 9* 
Sawmill and/or Planing  
Less than 25,000 Bd Ft/Shift  

2421 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 

0220 
*Note 9* 

Sawmill and/or Planing  
More than 25,000 Bd Ft/Shift  

2421 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 

0230 
*Note 9* 

Hardwood Mill 2426 $748.00 $3,745.00 $2,247.00 $748.00 

0240 
*Note 9* 

Special Product Sawmill N.E.C. 2429 $748.00 $3,745.00 $2,247.00 $748.00 

0250 Millwork with 10 Employees or More 2431 $748.00 $3,745.00 $2,247.00 $748.00 
0260 Hardwood Veneer and Plywood 2435 $1,665.00 $8,321.00 $4,992.00 $1,665.00 
0270 Softwood Veneer and Plywood 2436 $1,665.00 $8,321.00 $4,992.00 $1,665.00 
0280 Wood Preserving 2491 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
0290 Particleboard/Waferboard Manufacture (O.S.B.) 2492 $1,665.00 $8,321.00 $4,992.00 $1,665.00 
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Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee 
Number Air Contaminant Source SICC Annual 

Maintenance Fee 
New Permit 

Application Fee 
Modified Permit Fees 

Major Minor 
0300 Hardboard Manufacture 2499 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
0310 Furniture and Fixtures: A) 100 or More Employees 2511 $526.00 $2,634.00 $1,580.00 $526.00 
0320 Furniture and Fixtures: B) More than 10 and Less than 100 

Employees 
2511 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 

0330 Pulp Mills per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2611 
MIN. 

$6.22 
$4,282.00 

$31.19 
$21,405.00 

$18.73 
$12,843.00 

$6.22 
$4,281.00 

0340 
*Note 1* 

Paper Mill per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2621 
MIN. 

$6.22 
$4,282.00 

$31.19 
$21,405.00 

$18.73 
$12,843.00 

$6.22 
$4,281.00 

0350 Paperboard Mills per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2631 
MIN. 

$6.22 
$4,282.00 

$31.19 
$21,405.00 

$18.73 
$12,843.00 

$6.22 
$4,281.00 

0360 Paper Coating 2641 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 
0365 Paper Bag Manufacture 2643 $317.00 $1,580.00 $949.00 $500.00 
0370 Insulation Manufacture 2649 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
0375 Folding Paper Board Boxes per Packaging Press Line 2651 

MIN. 
$417.00 

$2,053.00 
$2,082.00 

$10,274.00 
$1,248.00 
$6,164.00 

$417.00 
$2,053.00 

0380 Corrugated Boxes: Converters (with Boilers) 2653 $623.00 $3,119.00 $1,874.00 $623.00 
0381 Corrugated Boxes: Sheet Plant 2653 $263.00 $1,317.00 $790.00 $500.00 
0390 Building Board and Tile 2661 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
0400 Commercial Printing: Black and White per Press 2752 

MIN. 
$249.00 

$1,198.00 
$1,248.00 
$5,993.00 

$748.00 
$3,595.00 

$249.00 
$1,198.00 

0410 Commercial Printing: Color per Press 2752 
MIN. 

$415.80 
$2,053.00 

$2,079.00 
$10,274.00 

$1,249.00 
$6,164.00 

$415.80 
$2,053.00 

0420 
*Note 2* 

Caustic/Chlorine per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Cap Posed on 
Chlorine 

2812 
MIN. 

$4.17 
$2,053.00 

$20.81 
$10,274.00 

$12.47 
$6,164.00 

$4.17 
$2,053.00 

0440 Industrial Gases 2813 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
0450 Inorganic Pigments 2816 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
0460 Aluminum Sulfate Production per 100 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 2819 

MIN. 
$2.06 

$1,712.00 
$10.41 

$8,562.00 
$6.22 

$5,137.00 
$2.06 

$1,712.00 
0470 Alumina per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2819 

MIN. 
$8.29 

$1,712.00 
$41.58 

$8,562.00 
$24.95 

$5,137.00 
$8.29 

$1,712.00 
0480 Catalyst Mfg. and Cat. Regeneration per Line 2819 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
0490 Fluosilicates 2819 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
0500 Industrial Inorganic Chemicals Mfg. N.E.C. per 1,000,000 

Lb/Yr  
2819 
MIN. 

$2.06 
$1,198.00 

$10.41 
$5,993.00 

$6.22 
$3,595.00 

$2.06 
$1,198.00 

0510 Industrial Inorganic Acids N.E.C.  
per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

2819 
MIN. 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

$104.01 
$10,274.00 

$62.40 
$6,164.00 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

0520 Nitric Acid Manufacture per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 2819 
MIN. 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

$41.58 
$10,274.00 

$24.95 
$6,164.00 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

0530 Phosphoric Acid Mfg. per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2819 
MIN. 

$2.06 
$1,712.00 

$10.41 
$8,562.00 

$6.22 
$5,137.00 

$2.06 
$1,712.00 

0540 Sulphuric Acid Manufacture per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2819 
MIN. 

$2.06 
$1,712.00 

$10.41 
$8,562.00 

$6.22 
$5,137.00 

$2.06 
$1,712.00 

0550 Polyethylene/Polypropolene Manufacture per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 
Rated Capacity 

2821 
MIN. 

$16.62 
$2,053.00 

$83.22 
$10,274.00 

$49.92 
$6,164.00 

$16.62 
$2,053.00 

0560 PVC Manufacture per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2821 
MIN. 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

$104.01 
$10,274.00 

$62.40 
$6,164.00 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

0570 Synthetic Resins Manufacture N.E.C. per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 
Rated Capacity 

2821 
MIN. 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

$104.01 
$10,274.00 

$62.40 
$6,164.00 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

0580 Rubber Mfg. per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2822 
MIN. 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

$104.01 
$10,274.00 

$62.40 
$6,164.00 

$20.81 
$2,053.00 

0585 Paint Manufacturing and Blending 2851 $775.00 $3,870.00 $2,323.00 $775.00 
0590 Charcoal per Oven 2861 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
0600 Gum and Wood Chemicals per Unit 2861 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
0610 Styrene Monomer per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2865 

MIN. 
$8.29 

$2,053.00 
$41.58 

$10,274.00 
$24.95 

$6,164.00 
$8.29 

$2,053.00 
0620 Halogenated Hydrocarbons per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 

Capacity 
2869 
MIN. 

$12.47 
$2,053.00 

$62.40 
$10,274.00 

$37.44 
$6,164.00 

$12.47 
$2,053.00 

0630 Organic Oxides, Alcohols, Glycols per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

2869 
MIN. 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

$41.58 
$10,274.00 

$24.95 
$6,164.00 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

0635 Olefins and Aromatics N.E.C. per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

2869 
MIN. 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

$41.58 
$10,274.00 

$24.95 
$6,164.00 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

0640 Ammonia Manufacture per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2873 
MIN. 

$4.16 
$2,053.00 

$20.82 
$10,274.00 

$12.47 
$6,164.00 

$4.16 
$2,053.00 

0650 Fertilizer Manufacture per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 2873 
MIN. 

$2.06 
$1,198.00 

$10.41 
$5,993.00 

$6.22 
$3,595.00 

$2.06 
$1,198.00 

0660 Urea and Ureaform per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 2873 
MIN. 

$4.16 
$1,198.00 

$20.82 
$5,993.00 

$12.47 
$3,595.00 

$4.16 
$1,198.00 

0670 Pesticides Mfg. per Train 2879 $1,665.00 $8,321.00 $4,992.00 $1,665.00 
0680 Carbon Black Manufacture per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 

Capacity 
2895 
MIN. 

$24.95 
$2,053.00 

$124.78 
$10,274.00 

$74.90 
$6,164.00 

$24.95 
$2,053.00 
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Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee 
Number Air Contaminant Source SICC Annual 

Maintenance Fee 
New Permit 

Application Fee 
Modified Permit Fees 

Major Minor 
0690 Chemical and Chemical Prep. N.E.C. per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 2899 

MIN. 
$20.82 

$1,712.00 
$104.01 

$8,562.00 
$62.40 

$5,137.00 
$20.82 

$1,712.00 
0695 Chemical and Chemical Prep. N.E.C. with Output Less than 

1,000,000 Lb/Yr 
2899 $1,185.00 $5,927.00 $3,557.00 $1,185.00 

0700 Drilling Mud-Storage and Distribution 2899 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
0710 Drilling Mud-Grinding 2899 $1,665.00 $8,321.00 $4,992.00 $1,665.00 
715 Salt Processing and Packaging per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 2899 

MIN. 
$0.33 

$514.00 
$1.69 

$2,569.00 
$1.01 

$1,540.00 
$0.33 

$514.00 
0720 

 
Petroleum Refining per 1,000 BBL/Day Rated Capacity Crude 
Throughput 

2911 
MIN. 

$104.01 
$2,053.00 

$520.05 
$10,274.00 

$312.40 
$6,164.00 

$105.11 
$2,053.00 

0730 
*Note 4* 

Asphaltic Concrete Paving Plants per Ton/Hr Rated Capacity 2951 
MIN. 

$3.14 
$855.00 

$15.64 
$4,281.00 

$9.38 
$2,569.00 

$3.14 
$855.00 

0740 Asphalt Blowing Plant (Not to be Charged Separately if in 
Refinery) 

2951 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 

0760 
*Note 5* 

Blending, Compounding, or Refining of Lubricants per Unit 2992 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 

0770 Petroleum Coke Calcining  
per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 

2999 
MIN. 

$16.62 
$2,053.00 

$83.22 
$10,274.00 

$49.92 
$6,164.00 

$16.62 
$2,053.00 

0773 Fiberglass Swimming Pools N/A $292.00 $1,457.00 $875.00 $500.00 
0775 Plastics Injection Moulding and Extrusion per Line 3079 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
0780 Glass and Glass Container Mfg. Natural Gas Fuel per Line 3229 $623.00 $3,119.00 $1,874.00 $623.00 
0790 Cement Manufacture per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 3241 

MIN. 
$12.47 

$1,712.00 
$62.40 

$8,562.00 
$37.44 

$5,137.00 
$12.47 

$1,712.00 
0800 Glass and Glass Container Mfg. Fuel Oil per Line 3241 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
0810 Brick Manufacture per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 3251 

MIN. 
$6.22 

$855.00 
$31.19 

$4,281.00 
$18.73 

$2,569.00 
$6.22 

$855.00 
0815 Concrete Products 3272 $422.00 $2,107.00 $1,263.00 $500.00 
0820 

*Note 12* 
Ready-Mix Concrete 3273 $1,041.00 $3162.00 $2,082.00 $1,041.00 

0830 Lime Manufacture per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 3274 
MIN. 

$12.47 
$1,198.00 

$62.40 
$5,993.00 

$37.44 
$3,595.00 

$12.47 
$1,198.00 

0840 Gypsum Manufacture per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated Capacity 3275 
MIN. 

$12.47 
$1,198.00 

$62.40 
$5,993.00 

$37.44 
$3,595.00 

$12.47 
$1,198.00 

0850 Asbestos Products per Site or per Production Unit 3292 $2,497.00 $12,482.00 $7,490.00 $2,497.00 
0860 Clay Kiln 3295 $500.00 $2,499.00 $1,499.00 $500.00 
0870 Rock Crusher 3295 $458.00 $2,288.00 $1,374.00 $500.00 
0880 Gray Iron and Steel Foundries:  

A) 3,500 or More Ton/Yr Production 
3321 $667.00 $3,327.00 $1,997.00 $667.00 

0890 Gray Iron and Steel Foundries:  
B) Less than 3,500 Ton/Yr Production 

3321 $332.00 $1,665.00 $997.00 $500.00 

0900 Malleable Iron Foundries:  
A) 3,500 or More Ton/Yr Production 

3322 $667.00 $3,327.00 $1,997.00 $667.00 

0910 Malleable Iron Foundries:  
B) Less than 3,500 Ton/Yr Production 

3322 $332.00 $1,665.00 $997.00 $500.00 

0920 Steel Investment Foundries:  
A) 3,500 or More Ton/Yr Production 

3324 $667.00 $3,327.00 $1,997.00 $667.00 

0930 Steel Investment Foundries:  
B) Less than 3,500 Ton/Yr Production 

3324 $332.00 $1,665.00 $997.00 $500.00 

0940 Steel Foundries N.E.C.:  
A) 3,500 or More Ton/Yr Production 

3325 $667.00 $3,327.00 $1,997.00 $667.00 

0950 Steel Foundries N.E.C.:  
B) Less than 3,500 Ton/Yr Production 

3325 $332.00 $1,665.00 $997.00 $500.00 

0960 Primary Smelting and Refining of Copper per 100,000 Lb/Yr 
Rated Capacity 

3331 
MIN. 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

$41.58 
$10,274.00 

$24.95 
$6,164.00 

$8.29 
$2,053.00 

0970 Aluminum Production per Pot 3334 
MIN. 

$41.58 
$2,053.00 

$208.03 
$10,274.00 

$124.30 
$6,164.00 

$41.58 
$2,053.00 

0980 Refining of Non-Ferrous Metals N.E.C. per 1,000 Lb/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

3339 
MIN. 

$0.04 
$2,053.00 

$0.40 
$10,274.00 

$0.23 
$6,164.00 

$0.04 
$2,053.00 

0990 Secondary Smelting of Non-Ferrous Metals per Furnace 3341 
MIN. 

$1,247.40 
$2,569.00 

$6,240.30 
$12,843.00 

$3,745.00 
$7,706.00 

$1,247.40 
$2,569.00 

1000 Wire Manufacture 3357 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
1010 Aluminum Foundries (Castings) per Unit 3361 $332.00 $1,665.00 $997.00 $500.00 
1020 Brass/Bronze/Copper-Based Alloy Foundry per Furnace 3362 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
1030 Metal Heat Treating Including Shotpeening 3398 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 
1040 Metal Can Manufacture 3411 $833.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
1050 Drum Manufacturing and/or Reconditioning 3412 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
1059 Fabricated Structural Steel with 5 or More Welders 3441 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
1060 Fabricated Plate Work with 5 or More Welders 3443 $1,053.00 $5,268.00 $3,162.00 $1,053.00 
1070 Electroplating, Polishing and Anodizing with 5 or More 

Employees 
3471 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 
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Maintenance Fee 
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Application Fee 
Modified Permit Fees 

Major Minor 
1080 Sandblasting or Chemical Cleaning of Metal:  

A) 10 or More Employees 
3471 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 

1090 Sandblasting or Chemical Cleaning of Metal: B) Less than 10 
Employees 

3471 $623.00 $3,119.00 $1,874.00 $623.00 

1100 Coating, Engraving, and Allied Services: A) 10 or More 
Employees 

3479 $458.00 $2,288.00 $1,374.00 $500.00 

1110 Coating, Engraving, and Allied Services: B) Less than 10 
Employees 

3479 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 

1120 Galvanizing and Pipe Coating Excluding All Other Activities 3479 $500.00 $2,497.00 $1,499.00 $500.00 
1130 Painting Topcoat per Line 3479 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
1140 Potting per Line 3479 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 
1150 Soldering per Line 3479 $250.00 $1,248.00 $748.00 $500.00 
1160 Wire Coating per Line 3479 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
1170 Oil Field Machinery and Equipment 3533 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
1180 Power Chain Saw Manufacture per Line 3546 $623.00 $3,119.00 $1,874.00 $623.00 
1190 Commercial Grain Dryer 3559 $500.00 $2,497.00 $1,499.00 $500.00 
1193 Commercial Laundry, Dry Cleaning, and Pressing Machines 3582 $623.00 $3,119.00 $1,874.00 $623.00 
1195 Electric Transformers per 1,000 Units/Year 3612 

MIN. 
$193.51 
$526.00 

$967.52 
$2,634.00 

$580.51 
$1,580.00 

$193.51 
$526.00 

1200 Electrode Manufacture per Line 3624 $582.00 $2,910.00 $1,747.00 $582.00 
1210 Telephone Manufacture per Line 3661 $1,457.00 $7,280.00 $4,369.00 $1,457.00 
1220 Electrical Connector Manufacture per Line 3678 $748.00 $3,745.00 $2,247.00 $748.00 
1230 Battery Manufacture per Line 3691 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
1240 Electrical Equipment per Line 3694 $500.00 $2,497.00 $1,499.00 $500.00 
1245 Automobile, Truck, and Van Assembly per 1,000 Vehicles per 

Year Capacity 
3711 
MIN. 
MAX. 

$208.03 
$1,317.00 

$41,612.00 

$1,040.05 
$6,598.00 

$208,060.00 

$624.03 
$3,952.00 

$124,836.00 

$208.03 
$1,317.00 

$41,612.00 
1250 Ship and Boat Building:  

A) 5001 or More Employees 
3732 $6,241.00 $31,202.00 $18,722.00 $6,241.00 

1260 Ship and Boat Building:  
B) 2501 to 5000 Employees 

3732 $4,158.00 $20,804.00 $12,482.00 $4,158.00 

1270 Ship and Boat Building:  
C) 1001 to 2500 Employees 

3732 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 

1280 Ship and Boat Building:  
D) 201 to 1000 Employees 

3732 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 

1290 Ship and Boat Building:  
E) 200 or Less Employees 

3732 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 

1300 Playground Equipment Manufacture per Line 3949 $623.00 $3,119.00 $1,874.00 $623.00 
1310 Grain Elevators: A) 20,000 or More Ton/Yr 4221 $1,329.00 $6,655.00 $3,993.00 $1,329.00 
1320 Grain Elevators: B) Less than 20,000 Ton/Yr 4221 $667.00 $3,328.00 $1,997.00 $667.00 
1330 

*Note 6* 
A) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and Terminal (over 
3,000,000 BBL Capacity)  

4226 $12,482.00 $62,406.00 $37,444.00 $12,482.00 

1340 
*Note 6* 

B) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and Terminal 
(1,000,000-3,000,000 BBL Capacity) 

4226 $8,321.00 $41,604.00 $24,962.00 $8,321.00 

1350 
*Note 6* 

C) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and Terminal (500,001-
1,000,000 BBL Capacity) 

4226 $4,158.00 $20,804.00 $12,482.00 $4,158.00 

1360 
*Note 6* 

D) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and Terminal (500,000 
BBL Capacity or Less) 

4226 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 

1361 
*Note 8* 

Wholesale Distribution of Coke and Other Bulk Goods per 
1,000 Ton/Yr Capacity 

4463 
MIN. 

$0.85 
$2,053.00 

$4.17 
$10,274.00 

$2.46 
$6,164.00 

$0.85 
$2,053.00 

1362 Crude Oil Pipeline: Facility with Less than 100,000 BBLS 
Storage Capacity 

4612 $922.00 $4,611.00 $2,767.00 $922.00 

1363 Crude Oil Pipeline: Facility with 100,000 to 500,000 BBLS 
Storage Capacity 

4612 $1,317.00 $6,587.00 $3,952.00 $1,317.00 

1364 Crude Oil Pipeline: Facility with over 500,000 BBLS Storage 
Capacity 

4612 $1,844.00 $9,221.00 $5,532.00 $1,844.00 

1366 Refined Oil Pipeline: Facility with Less than 100,000 BBLS 
Storage Capacity 

4613 $790.00 $3,952.00 $2,370.00 $790.00 

1367 Refined Oil Pipeline: Facility with 100,000 to 500,000 BBLS 
Storage Capacity 

4613 $1,053.00 $5,268.00 $3,162.00 $1,053.00 

1368 Refined Oil Pipeline: Facility with Over 500,000 BBLS 
Storage Capacity 

4613 $1,580.00 $7,904.00 $4,741.00 $1,580.00 

1370 Railcar/Barge/Tank Truck Cleaning Heavy Fuels Only 4742 $417.00 $2,082.00 $1,248.00 $500.00 
1380 Railcar and Barge Cleaning Other Than Heavy Fuels 4742 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 
1390 Tank Truck Cleaning Other Than Heavy Fuels 4742 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
1400 A) Electric Power Gen. per MW  

(Over 0.7 Percent S in Fuel) 
4911 
MIN. 

$19.33 
$3,938.00 

$96.73 
$19,693.00 

$58.04 
$11,816.00 

$19.33 
$3,938.00 

1410 
*Note 7* 

B) Electric Power Gen. per MW  
(0.7 Percent S or Less in Fuel) 

4911 
MIN. 

$11.58 
$1,884.00 

$58.04 
$9,419.00 

$34.82 
$5,651.00 

$11.58 
$1,884.00 
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Major Minor 
1420 C) Electric Power Gen. per MW  

(Natural Gas Fired) 
4911 
MIN. 

$5.82 
$1,370.00 

$29.03 
$6,849.00 

$17.41 
$4,110.00 

$5.82 
$1,370.00 

1430 
*Note 11* 

Natural Gas Comp per 100 H.P. (Turbines)  4922 $8.29 $41.58 $24.95 $8.29 

1440 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp per 100 H.P.: A) 50,000 H.P. 4922 $37.47 $187.23 $112.33 $37.47 

1450 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp per 100 H.P.: B) 20,000 to 50,000 H.P. 4922 $41.58 $208.03 $124.78 $41.58 

1460 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp per 100 H.P.: C) 5,000 to 20,000 H.P. 4922 $49.92 $249.61 $149.73 $49.92 

1470 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp per 100 H.P.: D) 2,500 to 5,000 H.P. 4922 $58.26 $291.18 $174.72 $58.26 

1480 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp per 100 H.P.: E) 1,000 to 2,500 H.P. 4922 $62.40 $312.02 $187.23 $62.40 

1490 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp: F) Less than 1,000 H.P. 4922 $832.00 $2,082.00 $832.00 $832.00 

1500 
*Note 10* 

Coal Gassification per $100,000 Capital Cost 4925 
MIN. 
MAX. 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 

$66,614.00 

$41.58 
$6,598.00 

$333,067.00 

$24.95 
$3,952.00 

$199,840.00 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 

$66,614.00 
1510 

*Note 10* 
Co-Generation per $100,000 Capital Cost 4939 

MIN. 
MAX. 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 

$41,612.00 

$41.58 
$6,598.00 

$208,060.00 

$24.95 
$3,952.00 

$124,836.00 

$8.29 
$1,317.00 

$41,612.00 
1520 Incinerators: A) 1,000 Lb/Hr and Greater Capacity 4953 $526.00 $2,624.00 $1,580.00 $526.00 
1521 Incinerators: B) Less than 1,000 Lb/Hr Capacity 4953 $250.00 $855.00 $514.00 $500.00 
1525 Sanitary Landfill per Million Mg of Planned Capacity 4953 

MIN. 
$145.20 
$291.00 

$726.00 
$1,452.00 

$436.00 
$872.00 

$145.20 
$500.00 

1530 Municipal Incinerators 4953 $4,158.00 $20,804.00 $12,482.00 $4,158.00 
1532 Commercial Hazardous Waste Incinerator per 1,000,000 Btu 

per Hour Thermal Capacity 
4953 
MIN. 

$239.75 
$5,268.00 

$1,198.70 
$26,345.00 

$719.22 
$15,807.00 

$239.75 
$5,268.00 

1533 Noncommercial Hazardous Waste Incinerator (per 1,000,000 
Btu/Hr Thermal Capacity) 

4953 
MIN. 

$119.87 
$3,425.00 

$600.17 
$17,124.00 

$359.60 
$10,274.00 

$119.87 
$3,425.00 

1534 Commercial Hazardous Waste Disp. Facility N.E.C. 4953 $34,249.00 $171,244.00 $102,746.00 $34,249.00 
1535 Commercial Hazardous Waste Underground Injection (Surface 

Facilities) per Location 
4953 $6,849.00 $34,249.00 $20,550.00 $6,849.00 

1536 Recoverable/Re-usable Materials Proc. Facility (per 1,000,000 
Btu/Hr Thermal Capacity) 

4953 
MIN. 
MAX. 

$119.87 
$3,425.00 

$17,124.00 

$599.35 
$17,124.00 
$85,622.00 

$359.60 
$10,274.00 
$51,373.00 

$119.87 
$3,425.00 

$17,124.00 
1540 Steam Gen. Units per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: Natural Gas or 

Comb Non-Fossil Fuels 
4961 
MIN. 

$2.06 
$341.00 

$10.41 
$1,711.60 

$6.22 
$1,027.00 

$2.06 
$500.00 

1550 Steam Gen. Units per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: Fuels with 0.7 
Percent S or Less 

4961 
MIN. 

$4.17 
$855.00 

$20.81 
$4,281.00 

$12.47 
$2,569.00 

$4.17 
$855.00 

1560 Steam Gen. Units per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: Fuels with More 
than 0.7 Percent S 

4961 
MIN. 

$6.22 
$1,198.00 

$31.19 
$5,993.00 

$18.73 
$3,595.00 

$6.22 
$1,198.00 

1570 Cement (Bulk Distribution) 5052 $1,665.00 $8,321.00 $4,992.00 $1,665.00 
1580 Wholesale Distribution of Coal per 1,000 Ton/Yr Throughput 5052 

MIN. 
$0.40 

$1,198.00 
$2.06 

$5,993.00 
$1.22 

$3,595.00 
$0.40 

$1,198.00 
1590 Automobile Recycling Scrap per 1000 Ton/Yr 5093 

MIN. 
MAX. 

$17.12 
$855.00 

$41,612.00 

$85.61 
$4,281.00 

$208,060.00 

$51.37 
$2,569.00 

$124,836.00 

$17.12 
$855.00 

$41,612.00 
1600 Bulk Loader: Over 100,000 Ton/Yr Throughput 5153 $4,158.00 $20,804.00 $12,482.00 $4,158.00 
1610 

*Note 14a* 
Bulk Loader: Less Than or Equal to 100,000 and More Than 
25,000 Ton/Yr Throughput 

5153 $2,082.00 $10,401.00 $6,241.00 $2,082.00 

1611 
*Note 14a* 

Bulk Loader: 25,000 Ton/Yr or Less Throughput 5153 $1,185.00 $5,927.00 $3,557.00 $1,185.00 

1612 
*Note 14a* 

Bulk Loader: No Grain or Dusty Materials Transfer 5153 $790.00 $3,952.00 $2,370.00 $790.00 

1620 Grain Elevators-Terminal per 10,000 BU/Yr Throughput 5153 
MIN. 

$0.40 
$1,884.00 

$2.06 
$9,419.00 

$1.22 
$5,651.00 

$0.40 
$1,884.00 

1630 Wholesale Distribution of Chemicals and Allied Products per 
Facility 

5161 $1,041.00 $4,158.00 $3,119.00 $1,041.00 

1640 Petroleum Bulk Plants 5171 $250.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 
1650 Petroleum Bulk Terminal 5171 $832.00 $4,158.00 $2,497.00 $832.00 
1660 Petroleum Bulk Station 5171 $250.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 
1670 Storage Tank 5171 $250.00 $832.00 $500.00 $500.00 
1680 Crude Oil Distribution 5172 $1,248.00 $6,241.00 $3,745.00 $1,248.00 
1690 Tire Recapping Plant 7534 $250.00 $855.00 $514.00 $500.00 
1700 Chemical Waste Disposal Facility for Nonhazardous Waste  9998 $3,870.00 $19,352.00 $11,611.00 $3,870.00 
1710 Negotiated Fee for Minor Sources    $291.00 $1,452.00 $872.00 $500.00 
1711 Research Fee for Alternate Disposal of Hazardous Waste    $250.00 $500.00 $500.00 $500.00 
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1712 

*Note 21* 
Negotiated Fee for Part 70 Sources  

MIN. 
$291.00 + 
$7.26/ton 
$1,452.00 

$1452.00 + 
$36.30/ton 
$7,260.00 

$872.00 + 
$21.78/ton 
$4,356.00 

$291.00 + 
$7.26/ton 
$1,452.00 

1720 
*Note 15* 

Small Business Sources N/A $250.00 $785.00 $500.00 $500.00 

1722 Small Source Permit N/A $250.00 $785.00 $500.00 $500.00 

 

B. Table 2Additional Fees 
 

Table 2 
Additional Fees 

Fee 
Number Fee Description Amount 

2000 Name and Company Ownership/Operator Changes under LAC 33:I.Chapter 19 $500.00 
2010 The Issuance or Denial of Relocation, Administrative Amendments, Variances, Authorization to Construct, Change of Tank Service, 

Research & Development, and Exemptions. This fee shall be waived for sources operating under an air permit. 
$500.00 

2015 Repealed.   
2016 New, Modified, or Renewed Acid Rain Permits $500.00 
2020 The Issuance of an Asbestos Disposal Verification Form (ADVF)—(at least 10 working days notification given)—Fee is 

nontransferable and nonrefundable. 
$73.00 

2030 The Issuance of an Asbestos Disposal Verification Form (ADVF)—(less than 10 working days notification given)—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$109.00 

2040 Agent Accreditation for Asbestos: Includes Contractor/Supervisor, Inspector, Management Planner, or Project Designer—Normal 
Application Processing per Discipline (greater than five working days after receipt of required documentation and fees)—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$291.00 

2050 Agent Accreditation for Asbestos: Includes Contractor/Supervisor, Inspector, Management Planner, or Project Designer—Emergency 
Application Processing per Discipline (less than or equal to five working days after receipt of required documentation and fees)—Fee 
is nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$436.00 

2060 Worker Accreditation for Asbestos—Normal Application Processing (greater than five working days after receipt of required 
documentation and fees)—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$73.00 

2070 Worker Accreditation for Asbestos—Emergency Application Processing (less than or equal to five working days after receipt of 
required documentation and fees)—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$109.00 

2080 Duplicate Certificate—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $37.00 
2090 Asbestos Training Organization Recognition Plus Trainer Recognition per Trainer—Normal Application Processing (greater than five 

working days after receipt of required documentation and fees)—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. 
$436.00 
$73.00 

2100 Asbestos Training Organization Recognition Plus Trainer Recognition per Trainer—Emergency Application Processing (less than or 
equal to five working days after receipt of required documentation and fees)—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$654.00 
$109.00 

2200 
*Note 13* 

Air Toxics Annual Fee per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis:  
Class I Pollutants $156.82 
Class II Pollutants $78.41 
Class III Pollutants $39.20 

2300 
*Note 14* 

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis  
(Non-Title V Facility): 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) 

$13.91/ton 

2310 
*Note 14* 

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis  
(Title V Facility): 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) 

$13.91/ton 

2400 An application approval fee for Stage II Vapor Recovery 
An annual facility inspection fee for Stage II Vapor Recovery 

$146.00 
$218.00 

2600 
*Note 16* 

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 1 $291.00 

2620 
*Note 16* 

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 2 $581.00 

2630 
*Note 16* 

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 3 $3,630.00 

2800 Repealed.   
2810 An application fee for point source emissions banking (not applicable when filing application with a new permit or permit 

modification) 
$500.00 

2900 
*Note 19* 

Lead Contractor License Evaluation Processing Fee—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $550.00 

2901 
*Note 19* 

Lead Project Supervisor Accreditation Application Processing Fee—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $275.00 
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2902 
*Note 19* 

Lead Project Designer Accreditation Application Processing Fee—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $550.00 

2903 
*Note 19* 

Lead Risk Assessor Accreditation Application Processing Fee—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $275.00 

2904 
*Note 19* 

Lead Inspector Accreditation Application Processing Fee—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $165.00 

2905 
*Note 19* 

Lead Worker Accreditation Application Processing Fee—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $55.00 

2906 
*Note 19* 

Recognition Application Processing Fee for In-State Louisiana Lead Training Organizations per Training Organization—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$550.00 

2907 
*Note 19* 

Recognition Application Processing Fee for Louisiana Lead Training Organizations per Instructor—Fee is nontransferable and 
nonrefundable. 

$55.00 

2908 
*Note 19* 

Recognition Application Processing Fee for Out of State Lead Training Organizations per Out of State Training Organization—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$825.00 

2909 
*Note 19* 

Recognition Application Processing Fee for Out of State Lead Training Organizations per Instructor—Fee is nontransferable and 
nonrefundable. 

$110.00 

2910 
*Note 19* 

Lead Abatement Project Notification Processing Fee, 2000 Square Feet and under—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $220.00 

2911 
*Note 19* 

Lead Abatement Project Notification Processing Fee for Each Additional Increment of 2000 Square Feet or Portion Thereof—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. 

$110.00 

2912 
*Note 19* 

Lead Abatement Project Notification Processing Fee (Fee Per Revision)—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $55.00 

2913 
*Note 19* 

Soil Lead Abatement Project Notification Processing Fee, Half Acre or Less—Fee is nontransferable and nonrefundable. $220.00 

2914 
*Note 19* 

Soil Lead Abatement Project Notification Processing Fee, Each Additional Half Acre or Portion Thereof—Fee is nontransferable and 
nonrefundable. 

$110.00 

Explanatory Notes for Fee Schedule 
Note 1. - Note 2. … 
Note 3. Reserved. 
Note 4. - Note 10. … 
Note 11. The maximum annual maintenance fee for 

Categories 1430-1490 is not to exceed $41,612 total for any 
one gas transmission permit. 

Note 12. The maximum annual maintenance fee for one 
location with two or more plants shall be $1,883. 

Note 13. Fees will be determined by aggregating and 
rounding (e.g., parts of a ton less than 0.50 are invoiced as 
zero and parts of a ton equal to or greater than 0.50 are 
invoiced as one ton) actual annual emissions of each class of 
toxic air pollutants (as delineated in the tables in LAC 
33:III.5112) for a facility and applying the appropriate fee 
schedule for that class. If a facility emits more than 4000 tons 
per year of any single toxic air pollutant, fees shall be assessed 
on only the first 4000 tons. In no case shall the fee for this 
category be less than $146. 

Note 14. Fees will not be assessed for emissions of a single 
criteria pollutant over and above 4,000 tons per year from a 
facility. Criteria fees will be assessed on actual annual 
emissions that occurred during the previous calendar year. The 
minimum fee for this category shall be $146. 

Note 14.a. - Note 20. … 
Note 21. Tons shall refer to the permitted total of criteria 

pollutants, excluding PM2.5. The minimum fee applies only if 
the requirement for a Part 70 permit is triggered by criteria 
pollutant emissions. 

Note 22. No fee shall be assessed when only the name of a 
facility is changed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014, 2054, 2341, and 2351 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:613 (September 1988), LR 15:735 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:1205 (December 1991), repromulgated LR 18:31 
(January 1992), amended LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 
(November 1992), LR 19:1373 (October 1993), LR 19:1420 
(November 1993), LR 19:1564 (December 1993), LR 20:421 
(April 1994), LR 20:1263 (November 1994), LR 21:22 (January 

1995), LR 21:782 (August 1995), LR 21:942 (September 1995), 
repromulgated LR 21:1080 (October 1995), amended LR 21:1236 
(November 1995), LR 23:1496, 1499 (November 1997), LR 
23:1662 (December 1997), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:267 (February 2000), LR 26:485 (March 2000), LR 26:1606 
(August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:192 (February 2001), 
amended LR 29:672 (May 2003), LR 29:2042 (October 2003), LR 
30:1475 (July 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 33:2620 (December 2007), LR 34:2560 
(December 2008), LR 37:1145 (April 2011), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 3. Regulatory Permits 
§307. Regulatory Permit for Oil and Gas Well Testing 

A. - F.3. … 
G. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 

this regulatory permit shall be $500 (fee number 1710). 
There shall be no annual maintenance fee associated with 
this regulatory permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:457 (March 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§309. Regulatory Permit for Release of Natural Gas 

from Pipelines and Associated Equipment 
A. - H.3. … 
I. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 

this regulatory permit shall be $500 (fee number 1710). 
There shall be no annual maintenance fee associated with 
this regulatory permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:458 (March 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
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§311. Regulatory Permit for Stationary Internal 
Combustion Engines 

A. - L. … 
M. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 

this regulatory permit is $785. In accordance with LAC 
33:III.209 and 211, the annual maintenance fee associated 
with this regulatory permit shall be $250. Applicable 
surcharges as described in LAC 33:III.211.A shall also be 
assessed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:459 (March 2009), amended LR 37:3221 
(November 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 40:780 (April 2014), LR 42:1884 (November 2016), 
LR 43: 
§313. Regulatory Permit for Portable Air Curtain 

Incinerators 
A. - E. … 
F. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 

this regulatory permit is $2,634 (fee number 1520). If 
emissions from the ACI are such that it qualifies for a small 
source permit as described in LAC 33:III.503.B.2, the fee is 
$785 (fee number 1722), in accordance with LAC 
33:III.211.B.13.e. In accordance with LAC 33:III.209 and 
211, the annual maintenance fee associated with this 
regulatory permit shall be $526, if fee number 1520 is 
applicable, or $250, if fee number 1722 is applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:460 (March 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§315. Regulatory Permit for Concrete Manufacturing 

Facilities 
A. - G. … 
H. In accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 2, the fee for 

this regulatory permit is $785 (fee number 1722). In 
accordance with LAC 33:III.209 and 211, the annual 
maintenance fee associated with this regulatory permit shall 
be $250. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 36:1541 (July 2010), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§317. Regulatory Permit for Rock, Concrete, and 

Asphalt Crushing Facilities 
A. - J.3. … 
K. Fees. In accordance with LAC 33:III.223, Table 1, the 

new permit application fee for this regulatory permit shall be 
$2,288 (fee number 0870). In accordance with LAC 
33:III.209 and 211, the annual maintenance fee associated 
with this regulatory permit shall be $458. If potential 
emissions from the crusher are such that it qualifies for a 
small source permit as described in LAC 33:III.503.B.2, 
then fee number 1722 located in LAC 33:III.223, Table 1 
shall apply in accordance with LAC 33:III.211.B.13.e. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 38:1955 (August 2012), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§319. Regulatory Permit for Flaring of Materials 

Other than Natural Gas 
A. - H.2.c. … 
I. In accordance with LAC 33:III.223, Table 1, the fee 

for this regulatory permit shall be $500 (fee number 1710). 
There shall be no annual maintenance fee associated with 
this regulatory permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
39:1039 (April 2013), LR 43: 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 51. Fee Schedules 
§5109. Application Fees 

A. Treaters, Storers, and/or Disposers (TSD) 
1. A one-time application fee shall be paid to cover 

application, evaluation, and other related program costs. 
2. Major amendments of applications for operating 

permits, closure/post-closure permits, and modifications of 
permits may be considered as separate applications for 
purposes of calculating fees. 

3. The application fee shall be assessed subsequent to 
the receipt and review of an application or other request for 
permit action. 

4. There shall be no refunds of TSD application fees. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 11:533 
(May 1985), LR 12:676 (October 1986), LR 16:684 (August 1990), 
LR 18:724 (July 1992), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5111. Treaters, Storers, and/or Disposers Application 

Fees 
A. … 
B. Application Fee Schedule 
 

Item Fee 
Site Analysisper acre site size $4131 
Process and Plan Analysis $1,650 
Facility Analysisper facility2 $825 
Management/Financial Analysis $1,650 

NOTE: Fee equals total of the four items. 
1 Up to 100 acres, no additional fee thereafter. 
2 Incinerator, land farm, treatment pond, etc., each counted as 

a facility. 
 
C. - D. … 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:318 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 18:724 (July 1992), amended



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017 117

by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:288 (March 2001), LR 29:685 (May 
2003), LR 29:2048 (October 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2179 (October 2009), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5117. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fees 

A. All annual fees provided by this Chapter shall be paid 
within 30 days from receipt of billing. 

B. Annual maintenance fees are not prorated. If a facility 
operates any part of a year or at a reduced rate during the 
year, the full annual maintenance fee is still charged. 

C. The annual maintenance fee for a new or modified 
permit shall be paid during the fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) 
in which the process specified in the permit comes on line. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:676 (October 1986), LR 13:433 
(August 1987), LR 14:621 (September 1988), LR 16:684 (August 
1990), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§5119. Treaters, Storers, and/or Disposers Annual 

Maintenance Fees 
A. Fee per Site 
 

Off-Site Disposer (Commercial) $131,670 
Reclaimer (compensated for waste removed) $57,750 
Reclaimer (uncompensated for waste removed 
or pays for waste removed) 

$41,250 

Off-Site Disposer (Noncommercial) $33,000 
On-Site Disposer $16,500 

NOTE: The higher fee for off-site disposal is due to the cost of 
the manifest system and emergency response to transport 
spills (neither cost is applicable to on-site disposers). 

 
B. Fee per Hazardous Waste Facility Type 
 

Unit Type Fee 
Storage: 
Container/Tank/Waste Pile/etc. $5,400 

Treatment: 
Incinerator/Boiler/Industrial Furnace/Filtration 
Unit/etc. 

$8,695 

Disposal: 
Landfill/Miscellaneous Unit/etc. $13,645 

 
C. Fee Based on Volume 
 
Less than 1,000 tons $3,222 
Less than 10,000 tons $8,092 
Less than 100,000 tons $12,963 
Less than 1,000,000 tons $17,834 
More than 1,000,000 tons $22,704 

 
D. … 

* * * 
E. Land Disposal Prohibitions Fee. The land disposal 

prohibitions fee includes treatment, processing (including 
use, reuse, recycling), and/or disposal facility annual fee (not 
on storage facilities). This fee applies to facilities handling 
wastes subject to the land disposal prohibitions in LAC 
33:V.Chapter 22. 

 

On-Site $1,650 
Off-Site Noncommercial $3,300 
Reclaimer $4,125 
Off-Site Commercial $8,250 

 
F. Incinerator and Boiler/Industrial Furnace Inspection 

and Monitoring Fee. This is an annual fee applied to defray 
the cost of annually inspecting the required continuous 
monitors and recording devices for each incinerator, boiler, 
or industrial furnace to determine whether they are being 
properly maintained and calibrated. This fee will annually be 
a flat rate of $1,650. 

G. Annual Landfill Inspection and Monitoring Fee. An 
annual fee shall be charged for the inspection of the 
regulatory requirement for leak detection and leachate 
collection systems associated with hazardous waste landfills 
to determine operational status and degree of proper 
maintenance. For each landfill unit or cell with a separate 
leak detection and leachate collection system, the annual fee 
will be $165. 

H. Annual Land Treatment Unsaturated Zone Monitoring 
Inspection Fee.  

1. Semiannual Zone of Incorporation (ZOI) Inspection 
Fee. This fee covers the cost of inspection, random sampling 
and laboratory analysis of the zone of incorporation. 

 
ZOI soil samples $1,650 each acre 
Soil-pore liquid monitors (Lysimeters) $4,125 each monitor 

 
2. Annual Land Treatment Unit Report Review Fee. 

This fee covers the cost of reviewing the report required by 
final permits for land treatment. Included in the annual land 
treatment unit report are the results of the unsaturated zone 
monitoring, semiannual soil core sample analyses, quarterly 
soil-pore liquid quality analyses from below the treatment 
zone, and soil moisture tensiometer readings of the ZOI. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $1,650 each report 

 

I. Formula to Apportion Fees 
 

Annual Maintenance Fee = Fee per Site + Fee per Facility + Fee based on 
Volume + Administrative Cost Fee + Land Disposal Prohibitions Fee + 
Groundwater Protection Annual Fee + Incineration Inspection and 
Monitoring Fee + Boiler/Industrial Furnace Inspection and Monitoring 
Fee + Annual Landfill Inspection and Monitoring Fee + Annual Land 
Treatment Unsaturated Zone Monitoring Inspection Fee 

 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:318 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 
16:684 (August 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 18:723 
(July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, 
LR 29:685 (May 2003), LR 29:2049 (October 2003), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2179
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(October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§5120. Land Disposal Prohibition Petition Fees 

A. Petitions submitted in accordance with R.S. 
30:2193(E)(2) and/or LAC 33:V.Chapter 22 are subject to 
additional fees as noted below for each petition submitted. 
These fees must be submitted at the time a petition is 
submitted. 

 
Variance $16,500 
Exemption $74,250 
Extension $8,250 
No-Alternatives Determinations: 

Original Petition $16,500 
Renewal Petition/Request $16,500 
Request for determination for addition of a 
hazardous waste(s) not covered by existing 
determination $1,650 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR 
17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1803 
(October 1999), LR 29:686 (May 2003), LR 29:2049 (October 
2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§5121. Generators and Transporters of Hazardous 

Waste 
A. Registration 

1. All generators of hazardous waste must file or have 
on file a notification of that facility, using Notification Form 
HW-1 available from the administrative authority (see LAC 
33:V.303.A). 

2. For generators of hazardous waste, the Notification 
Form HW-1 shall be deemed a registration upon acceptance 
and approval by the administrative authority. 

B. Application Fees 
1. Transfer Facilities 

a. Hazardous Waste Transfer Facility Fee. All 
hazardous waste transfer facilities in Louisiana shall pay an 
application fee of $1,900 to the department. 

b. Used Oil Transfer Facility Fee. All used oil 
transfer facilities in Louisiana shall pay an application fee of 
$1,300 to the department. 

2. 90-day Storage Extension. Application for 30-day 
Extension of Accumulation Time Limit in LAC 
33:V.1109.E.2 and LAC 33:V31109.E.9. All requests for 
extension of accumulation time limit shall be accompanied 
by a $500 application fee. 

C. Annual Fees 
1. Large Quantity Generators (LQG) or Small 

Quantity Generators (SQG) 
a. Generators Annual Fee. Fee will annually be 

$469, plus the prohibited waste fee. 
b. Prohibited Waste Fee. Annual prohibited waste 

fee is $165 for each generator who generates for land 
disposal as provided in LAC 33:V.Chapter 22. The generator 
will be subject to this fee if any waste generated is 
prohibited from disposal at any time during the year for 
which the fee is assessed. 

2. Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators 
(CESQG). Conditionally exempt small quantity generators 
(see LAC 33:V.108) shall pay a fee of $83 per year to the 
department. 

3. Transporters. All transporters of hazardous waste 
with a facility in Louisiana shall pay a fee of $330 per year 
to the department. There will be only one fee regardless of 
the number of vehicles in the service of the transporter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:676 (October 1986), LR 14:621 
(September 1988), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§5123. Annual Fee for Facilities with Closed Hazardous 

Waste Units in Post-Closure 
A. Post-Closure Annual Fee. This is an annual fee 

applied to defray the cost of annually inspecting the facilities 
with closed hazardous waste units in post-closure care. This 
fee shall be $4,125 annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§5125. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and 
Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 
1984), amended LR 11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:321 (May 1986), 
LR 12:676 (October 1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 15:378 
(May 1989), LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:18 
(January 1996), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:686 (May 
2003), LR 29:2049 (October 2003), repealed by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5127. Methods of Payment 

A. - B. … 
1. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

B.2. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:676 (October 1986), LR 18:725 (July 
1992), amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 22:18 (January 1996), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:2180 
(October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§5129. Late Payment Fee 

A. Payments not received within 15 days of the due date 
will be charged a late payment fee. 

B. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the due 
date indicated on the invoice. 
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C. Payments not received by the department by: 
1. the fifteenth day from the due date will be assessed 

a 5 percent late payment fee on the original assessed fee; 
2. the thirtieth day from the due date will be assessed 

an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; and 

3. the sixtieth day from the due date will be assessed 
an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:676 (October 1986), LR 18:725 (July 
1992), amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 22:18 (January 1996), LR 25:427 (March 
1999), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§5131. Failure to Pay 

A. Failure to pay the prescribed application fee or annual 
fee as provided herein, within 90 days after the due date, will 
constitute a violation of these regulations and shall subject 
the person to applicable enforcement actions under the 
Environmental Quality Act including, but not limited to, 
revocation or suspension of the applicable permit, license, 
registration, or variance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE. Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:321 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 18:725 (July 1992), amended 
by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal Services 
Division, LR 25:427 (March 1999), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5135. Transporter Fee 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 14:622 (September 1988), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 29:686 (May 2003), LR 29:2050 (October 
2003), repealed by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§5137. Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator 

Fee 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 14:622 (September 1988), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:716 (May 2001), LR 29:687 (May 2003), 
LR 29:2050 (October 2003), repealed by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5139. Groundwater Protection Permit Review Fee 

A. Permit Review Fee. This fee covers the cost of 
reviewing permits for geology, geotechnical design, and 
groundwater protection aspects. 

 

Hazardous Waste Facilities (1 time) $8,250 each 
Permit Modifications: 
Class 1 and 2 $330 each 
Class 3 $1,238 each 
Solid Waste Facilities (1 time) $8,250 each 
Permit Modifications: 
Major $825 each 
Minor $330 each 

 
B. Oversight of Abandonment Procedures. This fee 

covers the cost of reviewing plans to plug and abandon all 
permitted groundwater monitoring systems (monitoring 
wells, piezometers, observations wells, and recovery wells) 
to ensure that they do not pose a potential threat to 
groundwater. 

 
Casing pulled $165 each 
Casing reamed out $330 each 
Casing left in place $825 each 

 
C. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Installation Permit. 

This fee covers the cost of reviewing the geology and design 
of proposed groundwater monitoring systems to ensure 
compliance with department specifications for units subject 
to permitting under these regulations 

 
Each Well $825 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Groundwater Division, LR 14:621 (September 1988), amended LR 
16:685 (August 1990), amended by the Hazardous Waste Division, 
LR 18:725 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:687 (May 2003), LR 29:2050 (October 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5141. Incinerator and Boiler/Industrial Furnace 

Inspection and Monitoring Fee 
A. … 

1. This fee will be $825 for each day of the test burn 
or trial burn. 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the Office of 
Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:18 
(January 1996), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2510 
(November 2000), LR 29:687 (May 2003), LR 29:2050 (October 
2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§5143. Annual Landfill Inspection and Monitoring Fee 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended LR 18:725 (July 1992), amended by the Office of
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Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
29:688 (May 2003), LR 29:2050 (October 2003), repealed by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5145. Annual Land Treatment Unsaturated Zone 

Monitoring Inspection Fee 
A. Permit Review Fee. This fee covers the cost of 

reviewing permits for geology, geotechnical design, and 
hydrological separation requirements of these regulations. 

 
Initial Permit $8,250 each 
Permit Modifications: 
Class 1 $330 each 
Class 2 or 3 $1,238 each 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 
29:2050 (October 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5147. Fee for NHEM Determination for Contaminated 

Environmental Media 
A. A fee of $4,125 shall be submitted at the time a 

request for a review of contaminated environmental media 
for a NHEM determination is made in accordance with LAC 
33:V.106. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. and, in particular, 2186(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:455 (March 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§5149. Annual Fee for Facilities with Closed Hazardous 

Waste Units in Post Closure 
A. Post Closure Annual Fee. This is an annual fee 

applied to defray the cost of annually inspecting the facilities 
with closed hazardous waste units in post-closure care. This 
fee shall be $4,125 annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30: 2014 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 15. Solid Waste Fees 
[Formerly Chapter 5, Subchapter D] 

§1501. Standard Permit Application Review Fee 
[Formerly §525] 

A. Applicants for type I, I-A, II, and II-A standard 
permits shall pay a $4,125 permit application review fee for 
each facility. The fee shall accompany each permit 
application submitted. 

B. Applicants for type III standard permits or beneficial-
use plans shall pay a permit application review fee of $825 
for each facility. The fee shall accompany each permit 
application submitted. 

C. Permit holders providing permit modifications for 
type I, I-A, II, and II-A facilities shall pay a $1,650 permit-
modification review fee. The fee shall accompany each 
modification submitted. Permit holders providing mandatory 
modifications in response to these regulations shall pay a 

$825 permit-modification fee. The fee shall accompany each 
mandatory modification submitted. Permit modifications 
required by LAC 33:VII.805.A will not be subject to a 
permit modification fee. 

D. Permit holders providing permit modifications for 
type III facilities or beneficial use facilities shall pay a $413 
modification review fee. The fee shall accompany each 
modification submitted. 

E. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:1108 (June 2007), amended LR 37:3258 
(November 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§1503. Closure Plan Review Fee 

[Formerly §527] 
A. Applicants for type I, I-A, II, and II-A closures shall 

pay a $1,650 closure-plan review fee. The fee shall 
accompany each closure plan submitted. 

B. Applicants for type III or beneficial-use facilities 
closures shall pay a $413 closure-plan review fee. The fee 
shall accompany each closure plan submitted. 

C. Permit holders providing closure-plan modifications 
for type I, I-A, II, and II-A facilities shall pay a $825 
closure-plan modification review fee. The fee shall 
accompany each modification submitted. 

D. Permit holders providing closure-plan modifications 
for type III or beneficial-use facilities shall pay a $207 
closure-plan modification review fee. The fee shall 
accompany each modification submitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:1108 (June 2007), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§1505. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee 

[Formerly §529] 
A. - A.1. … 

* * * 
2. No fee is assessed for modifying an existing 

notification form. The fee shall accompany the notification 
form at the time of its filing. 

 
Initial Fee $165 
Fee Per Vehicle $42 

 
B. - B.1. … 

a. $9,900 for type I facilities (including facilities 
that handle both industrial and non-industrial waste); 

b. $2,475 for type II facilities; and 
c. $825 for type I-A, II-A, III, and beneficial-use 

facilities. 
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2. Tonnage fees will be based on the wet-weight 
tonnage, as reported in the previous year's disposer annual 
report, and are calculated as follows: 

a. for industrial wastes (type I facilities, except 
surface impoundments), $0.99/ton; 

b. for non-industrial wastes (type II facilities, 
except surface impoundments), $0.25/ton for amounts 
exceeding 25,000 tons; 

c. for construction or demolition debris deposited at 
permitted construction or demolition debris facilities (type 
III facilities), $0.25/ton; and the fee is only applicable to 
construction or demolition debris that is subject to a fee 
imposed by the facility;  

d. - f. … 
3. The maximum annual monitoring and maintenance 

fee per facility for type I facilities (including facilities that 
handle both industrial and non-industrial solid wastes) is 
$120,000. The maximum fee per facility for type II facilities 
is $30,000. Surface impoundments, as noted above, are 
assessed only the base fee. 

C. … 
D. Annual maintenance fees are not prorated. If a facility 

operates any part of a year or at a reduced rate during the 
year, the full annual maintenance fee is still charged. 

E. The annual maintenance fee for a new or modified 
permit shall be paid during the fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) 
in which the process specified in the permit comes on line. 

F. The annual fees prescribed herein shall be effective 
retroactive for the state fiscal year in which these fee 
regulations are published in the Louisiana Register as 
adopted and each state fiscal year thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154, and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 
22:18 (January 1996), LR 25:427 (March 1999), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:2241 (December 2006), repromulgated LR 33:1108 (June 2007), 
amended LR 35:2180 (October 2009), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§1507. Methods of Payment 

A. All payments made by check, draft, or money order 
shall be made payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality, and mailed to the department at the 
address provided on the invoice. 

B. Electronic Methods of Payment 
1. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

2. Persons wishing to make payments using the 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) method shall contact the 
Office of Management and Finance for further instructions. 

C. Cash is not an acceptable form of payment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154, and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 

§1509. Late Payment Fee  
A. Payments not received within 15 days of the due date 

will be charged a late payment fee. 
B. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the due 

date indicated on the invoice. 
C. Payments not received by the department by the: 

1. fifteenth day from the due date will be assessed a 5 
percent late payment fee on the original assessed fee; 

2. thirtieth day from the due date will be assessed an 
additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; and 

3. sixtieth day from the due date will be assessed an 
additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154, and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 
§1511. Failure to Pay 

A. Failure to pay the prescribed application fee or annual 
fee as provided herein, within 90 days after the due date, will 
constitute a violation of these regulations and shall subject 
the person to applicable enforcement actions under the 
Louisiana Environmental Quality Act including, but not 
limited to, revocation or suspension of the applicable permit, 
license, registration, or variance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154, and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 

Subpart 2.  Recycling 
Chapter 105. Waste Tires 
§10535. Fees and Fund Disbursement 

A. - A.1. … 
a. The transporter authorization application fee is 

$125. 
b. The transporter maintenance and monitoring fee 

is $32 per vehicle annually payable on or before July 31 of 
each year. This fee is to be paid on each truck listed on the 
transporter application form, or if the vehicle used to 
transport tires is a tractor and trailer rig, the vehicle fee must 
be paid for each tractor. 

c. The transporter modification fee is $32 per 
vehicle transfer. This fee is charged each time a vehicle is 
added or substituted on a transporter authorization 
certificate. 

2. The collection center permit application fee is 
$1,000. 

3. The mobile processor annual application fee is 
$750. 

4. The standard processor permit application fee is 
$1,563. 

5. The permit modification fee is $125. 
6. The high volume end use facility application fee is 

$313. 
B. - E.8. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2411 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended LR 
22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2781 (December 2000), LR 27:832 (June 2001), LR 27:2228 
(December 2001), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1324 (June 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2504 (October 2005), LR 
33:2160 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 42:268 (February 2016), LR 43: 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Subpart 1.  Water Pollution Control 

Chapter 13. Louisiana Water Pollution Control Fee 
System Regulation 

§1309. Fee System 
A. - B.3.a. … 

 i. $162.80 per rating point as of July 1, 2017; and 
b. for all other facilities: 

 i. $299.16 per rating point as of July 1, 2017. 
B.4. - E. … 

1. The minimum annual fee shall be $380 as of July 1, 
2017. 

2. The maximum annual fee shall be $150,000 as of 
July 1, 2017. 

F. - G. … 
H. Late Payment Fee 

1. Fee payments not received within 15 days of the 
due date will be charged a late payment fee. 

2. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the 
due date indicated on the invoice. 

3. Payments not received by the department by: 
a. the fifteenth day from the due date will be 

assessed a 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; 

b. the thirtieth day from the due date will be 
assessed an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the 
original assessed fee; and 

c. the sixtieth day from the due date will be 
assessed an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the 
original assessed fee. 

I. - M.2. … 
a. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method shall access the department’s website 
and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

2.b. - 3. … 
N. Other Fees 
 

Permit Type Amount 
Gen-LAG 03-Barge Cleaner I: $379.50 

II: $2,750 
III: $5,500 
IV: $11,000 

Gen-LAG11-Concrete/Asphalt $355 
Gen-LAG26-Territorial Seas $1,750 
Gen-LAG30-UST Dewatering $109 
Gen-LAG33-Coastal $1,750 
Gen-LAG38-Potable Water $380 
Gen-LAG42-Short-Term/Emergency $550 
Gen-LAG47-Auto Repair/Dealers $291 
Gen-LAG48-Light Commercial $380 
Gen-LAG49-Sand and Gravel $726 
Gen-LAG53-Sanitary Class I $109 
Gen-LAG54-Sanitary Class II $291 

Permit Type Amount 
Gen-LAG56-Sanitary Class III $545 
Gen-LAG57-Sanitary Class IV $654 
Gen-LAG67-Hydrostatic Test $330 
Gen-LAG75-Exterior Vehicle Wash $291 
Gen-LAG78-C & D Landfills $726 
Gen-LAG83- Petroleum UST Remediation $1,089 
Gen-LAG119-Concrete/Asphalt (SW) $426 
Gen-LAG309-UST Dewatering (SW) $937 
Gen-LAG679-Hydrostatic Test (SW) $872 
Gen-LAG759-Mobile Vehicle/Equipment Wash $349 
Gen-LAG839-Petroleum UST (SW) $2,904 
Gen-LAR04-Small MS4 Population: 

>1000 and <10,000: 
$110 

>10,000 and 
<50,000: $550 
>50,000 and 
<150,000: $1,650 

Gen-LAR05-Multi-Sector $109 
Gen-LAR06-DOTD Construction I: $29,100 

II: $36,375 
III: $50,925 
IV: $58,000 

Gen-LAR10-Construction $291 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2014(B), and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 11:534 
(May 1985), amended LR 14:626 (September 1988), LR 18:731 
(July 1992), LR 21:798 (August 1995), amended by the Office of 
Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 
(January 1996), amended by the Office of Water Resources, LR 
24:326 (February 1998), amended by the Office of Management 
and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 25:427 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 
29:2052 (October 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 35:1493 (August 2009), LR 35:2181 
(October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 15. Water Quality Certification Procedures 
§1507. Procedures for Issuance of Water Quality 

Certification 
A. - A.2. … 

a. A one-time processing fee will be assessed all 
applicants to help defray the costs of this expanded program. 
The fee schedule will be as follows. 

 
Noncommercial Activities $37/application 
Commercial Activities $385/application 

 
A.2.b. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2074(A)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 10:496 
(July 1984), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 22:345 
(May 1996), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2550 (November 2000), 
LR 29:690 (May 2003), LR 29:2052 (October 2003), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2027 (September 
2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2507 (October 2005), LR 33:2163 (October 2007), 
LR 35:2181 (October 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
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Subpart 3.  Louisiana Sewage Sludge and Biosolids 
Program 

Chapter 73. Standards for the Use or Disposal of 
Sewage Sludge and Biosolids 
[Formerly Chapter 69] 

Subchapter A. Program Requirements 
§7301. General Provisions 

[Formerly §6901] 
A. - F.1.c. … 

d. The fee for registration shall be an annual fee of 
$110. 

F.1.e. - I.2.k. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2074(B)(1)(c) and (B)(3)(e). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:781 (April 2002), 
repromulgated LR 30:233 (February 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2516 (October 
2005), LR 33:2366 (November 2007), repromulgated LR 34:1028 
(June 2008), amended LR 35:927 (May 2009), LR 37:2992 
(October 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§7315. Fee Schedule 

A. Applicability. Fees established by these regulations 
shall be applicable to all facilities subject to regulation under 
this Chapter. 

B. Annual Fee 
1. The annual sewage sludge fee shall be $2,000. 
2. The billing period shall correspond with the state's 

fiscal year (July 1 through June 30). 
C. General Permit Fee. At the discretion of the 

administrative authority, an annual fee may be assessed for 
facilities regulated by a general permit. In deciding to 
establish an annual fee for facilities covered by a general 
permit, the administrative authority should consider the 
resources involved in administering the general permit, the 
economic impact on the regulated community, and the 
economic impact on the fee program. If the decision is made 
to assess an annual fee for an activity covered by a general 
permit, then each facility involved in that activity and 
covered by the general permit shall be assessed the fee. 

D. Other Fees 
 

Permit Type Amount 
Gen-LAJ65- Disposal in Landfill  $600 

 
E. Due Date. Fees shall be received by the department 

by the due date indicated on the invoice. 
F. Late Payment Fee 

1. Payments not received within 15 days of the due 
date will be charged a late payment fee.  

2. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the 
due date indicated on the invoice. 

3. Payments not received by the department by the: 
a. fifteenth day from the due date will be assessed a 

5 percent late payment fee on the original assessed fee; 
b. thirtieth day from the due date will be assessed 

an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; and 

c. sixtieth day from the due date will be assessed an 
additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee. 

G. Failure to Pay. Failure to pay the prescribed 
application fee or annual fee as provided herein, within 90 
days after the due date, will constitute a violation of these 
regulations and shall subject the person to applicable 
enforcement actions under the Louisiana Environmental 
Quality Act including, but not limited to, revocation or 
suspension of the applicable permit, license, registration, or 
variance. 

H. Refunds. The fees in this section are nontransferable 
and nonrefundable. 

I. Methods of Payment 
1. All payments made by check, draft, or money order 

shall be made payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality, and mailed to the department at the 
address provided on the invoice. 

2. Electronic Methods of Payment 
a. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

b. Persons wishing to make payments using the 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) method shall contact the 
Office of Management and Finance for further instructions. 

3. Cash is not an acceptable form of payment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43: 

Part XI.  Underground Storage Tanks 
Chapter 3. Registration Requirements, Standards, 

and Fee Schedule 
§307. Fee Schedule 

A. Applicability. These regulations apply to registered 
UST systems, regardless of their operational status. 

B. Annual Fees 
1. Fees shall be assessed for the State of Louisiana 

fiscal year (July 1 through June 30). 
2. Any UST system shall be assessed the entire annual 

monitoring and maintenance fee for the fiscal year in which 
it is installed or permanently closed, regardless of the date 
during that year on which such action occurs. 

3. The owner of record of the UST system on the date 
of invoicing by the department is responsible for payment of 
the annual monitoring and maintenance fees. 

4. Fees are assessed according to the following 
schedule. 

 
Fee 

Number Annual Registration Fee Amount 

001 All registered UST systems $60 
   Annual Maintenance and Monitoring Fees    

002 

UST systems containing any substance 
defined in Section 101(14) of the 
Comprehensive Environmental Response, 
Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) 
of 1980 (but not including any substance 
regulated as a hazardous waste under the 
department's Hazardous Waste Regulations, 
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1) 

$726 

003 

UST systems at federal facilities (all 
categories except USTs defined in Fee 
Number 002, which shall be assessed the 
higher fee) 

$174 

004 UST systems containing petroleum products 
not meeting the definition of motor fuels $174 
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Fee 
Number Annual Registration Fee Amount 

005 
UST systems containing new or used motor 
oil (except USTs identified in  
LAC 33:XI.1101.C and D) 

$303 

 
C. Amended Registration Fees. The fee for amending or 

modifying a registration shall be $60. 
D.  Methods of Payment 

1. All payments made by check, draft, or money order 
shall be made payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality and mailed to the department at the 
address provided on the invoice. 

2. Electronic Methods of Payment 
a. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method should access the department’s 
website and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

b. Persons wishing to make payments using the 
electronic funds transfer (EFT) method shall contact the 
Office of Management and Finance for further instructions. 

3. Cash is not an acceptable form of payment. 
E. Late Payment Fee 

1. Fee payments not received within 15 days of the 
due date will be charged a late payment fee. 

2. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the 
due date indicated on the invoice. 

3. Payments not received by the department by: 
a. the fifteenth day from the due date will be 

assessed a 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; 

b. the thirtieth day from the due date will be 
assessed an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the 
original assessed fee; and 

c. the sixtieth day from the due date will be 
assessed an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the 
original assessed fee. 

F. Failure to Pay. Failure to pay the prescribed 
application fee or annual fee as provided herein, within 90 
days after the due date, shall constitute a violation of these 
regulations and shall subject the person to applicable 
enforcement actions under the act including, but not limited 
to, revocation or suspension of the applicable permit, 
license, registration, or variance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001, 2014, 2195, and 2195.3 et seq., and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 11:1139 (December 
1985), amended LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), 
LR 18:727 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Management and 
Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 (January 1996), LR 
25:427 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2400 
(December 1999), LR 29:690 (May 2003), LR 29:2052 (October 
2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:2181 (October 2009), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 13. Certification Requirements for Persons 

Who Install, Repair, or Close 
Underground Storage Tank Systems 

§1305. Categories of Certification and Requirements 
for Issuance and Renewal of Certificates 

A. - D. … 

1. examination fee for individual certification, $146; 
and 

2. certification renewal fee, $146. 
E. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2562 (November 2000), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29:2052 
(October 2003), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 30:2804 (December 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2522 (October 
2005), LR 33:2175 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2764 (November 2012), LR 43: 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 
Chapter 5. Radiation Safety Requirements for 

Industrial Radiographic Operations 
Subchapter B. Personal Radiation Safety Requirements 

for Radiographers 
§579. Identification (I.D.) Cards for Radiographers or 

Radiographer Trainees 
A. - A.3. … 

4. Any individual who wishes to replace his/her I.D. 
card shall submit to the Office of Environmental Compliance 
a written request for a replacement I.D. card, stating the 
reason a replacement I.D. card is needed. A non-refundable 
fee of $29 shall be paid to the department for each 
replacement of an I.D. card. The prescribed fee shall be 
submitted with the written request for a replacement I.D. 
card. The individual shall maintain a copy of the request in 
his/her possession while performing industrial radiographic 
operations until a replacement I.D. card is received from the 
department. 

B. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 20:1000 (September 
1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2584 (November 2000), 
LR 29:36 (January 2003), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29:2053 
(October 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 31:2531 (October 2005), LR 33:2184 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
Chapter 25. Fee Schedule 
§2504. Application Fees 

A. … 
B. Payment of the prescribed annual fee does not 

automatically renew the license, certificate, registration, or 
approval for which the fee is paid. License renewal 
applications must be filed in accordance with LAC 
33:XV.333.A. The accompanying renewal fee must be 
submitted with a full license renewal application every nine 
years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
LR 10:1013 (December 1984), amended by the Nuclear Energy 
Division, LR 13:569 (October 1987), amended by the Office of Air 
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Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, 
LR 18:718 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:1816 
(September 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 
§2509. Methods of Payment 

A. - B. … 
1. Persons wishing to make payments using the 

electronic pay method shall access the department’s website 
and follow the instructions provided on the website. 

B.2. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
LR 10:1013 (December 1984), amended by the Nuclear Energy 
Division, LR 13:569 (October 1987), amended by the Office of Air 
Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, 
LR 18:719 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Management and 
Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 (January 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
35:2182 (October 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43: 
§2510. Late Payment Fee 

A. Payments not received within 15 days of the due date 
will be charged a late payment fee. 

B. Any late payment fee shall be calculated from the due 
date indicated on the invoice. 

C. Payments not received by the department by: 
1. the fifteenth day from the due date will be assessed 

a 5 percent late payment fee on the original assessed fee; 
2. the thirtieth day from the due date will be assessed 

an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee; and 

3. the sixtieth day from the due date will be assessed 
an additional 5 percent late payment fee on the original 
assessed fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
LR 10:1013 (December 1984), amended by the Nuclear Energy 
Division, LR 13:569 (October 1987), amended by the Office of Air 
Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, 
LR 18:719 (July 1992), amended LR 21:791 (August 1995), 
amended by the Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal 
Services Division, LR 25:428 (March 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 
§2511. Failure to Pay 

A. Failure to pay the prescribed application fee or annual 
fee as provided herein, within 90 days after the due date, will 
constitute a violation of these regulations and shall subject 
the person to applicable enforcement actions under the 
Environmental Quality Act including, but not limited to, 
revocation or suspension of the applicable permit, license, 
registration, or variance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
LR 10:1013 (December 1984), amended by the Nuclear Energy 
Division, LR 13:569 (October 1987), amended by the Office of Air 
Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, 
LR 18:719 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Management and 
Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 (January 1996), LR 

25:428 (March 1999), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43: 
§2599. Appendix A 

A. Appendix ARadiation Protection Program Fee 
Schedule 

 
Appendix ARadiation Protection Program Fee Schedule 

  
New/Renewal 
Application 

Fee 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 
I. Radioactive Material Licensing 
 A. Medical licenses:   
 1. Therapy:   
 a. Teletherapy $807 $807 
 b. Brachytherapy $807 $807 
 2. Nuclear medicine 
diagnostic only $995 $995 

 3. Nuclear medicine 
diagnostic/therapy $1,067 $1,067 

 4. Nuclear pacemaker 
implantation $400 $400 

 5. Eye applicators $400 $400 
 6. In-vitro studies or 
radioimmunoassays or calibration 
sources 

$400 $400 

 7. Processing or 
manufacturing and distribution of 
radiopharmaceuticals 

$1,569 $1,336 

 8. Mobile nuclear medicine 
services $1,569 $1,336 

 9. “Broad scope” medical 
licenses $1,569 $1,336 

 10. Manufacturing of medical 
devices/sources $1,830 $1,525 

 11. Distribution of medical 
devices/sources $1,372 $1,140 

 12. All other medical licenses $444 $444 
 B. Source material licenses:   
 1. For mining, milling, or 
processing activities, or utilization 
which results in concentration or 
redistribution of naturally occurring 
radioactive material 

$7,928 $7,928 

 2. For the concentration and 
recovery of uranium from 
phosphoric acid as "yellow cake" 
(powered solid) 

$3,965 $3,965 

 3. For the concentration of 
uranium from or in phosphoric acid $1,983 $1,983 

 4. All other specific "source 
material" licenses $400 $400 

 C. Special nuclear material 
(SNM) licenses:   

 1. For use of SNM in sealed 
sources contained in devices used in 
measuring systems 

$610 $610 

 2. SNM used as calibration or 
reference sources $400 $400 

 3. All other licenses or use of 
SNM in quantities not sufficient to 
form a critical mass, except as in 
I.A.4, I.C.1, and 2 

$400 $400 

 D. Industrial radioactive 
material licenses:   

 1. For processing or 
manufacturing for commercial 
distribution 

$7,841 $5,903 

 2. For industrial radiography 
operations performed in a shielded 
radiography installation(s) or 
permanently designated areas at the 
address listed in the license 

$1,336 $1,053 
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Appendix ARadiation Protection Program Fee Schedule 

  
New/Renewal 
Application 

Fee 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 
 3. For industrial radiography 
operations performed at temporary 
jobsite(s) of the licensee 

$3,935 $2,963 

 4. For possession and use of 
radioactive materials in sealed 
sources for irradiation of materials 
where the source is not removed 
from the shield and is less than 
10,000 Curies 

$1,983 $995 

 5. For possession and use of 
radioactive materials in sealed 
sources for irradiation of materials 
when the source is not removed 
from the shield and is greater than 
10,000 Curies, or where the source 
is removed from the shield 

$3,935 $1,968 

 6. For distribution of items 
containing radioactive material $1,983 $1,983 

 7. Well-logging and 
subsurface tracer studies:   

 a. Collar markers, nails, 
etc. for orientation $400 $400 

 b. Sealed sources less than 
10 Curies and/or tracers less than or 
equal to 500 mCi 

$1,184 $1,184 

 c. Sealed sources of 10 
Curies or greater and/or tracers 
greater than 500 mCi but less than 5 
Curies 

$1,983 $1,983 

 d. Field flood studies 
and/or tracers equal to or greater 
than 5 Curies 

$2,977 $2,977 

 8. Operation of a nuclear 
laundry $7,856 $3,935 

 9. Industrial research and 
development of radioactive 
materials or products containing 
radioactive materials 

$995 $995 

 10. Academic research and/or 
instruction $807 $807 

 11. Licenses of broad scope:   
 a. Academic, industrial, 
research and development, total 
activity equal to or greater than 1 
Curie 

$1,983 $1,983 

 b. Academic, industrial, 
research and development, total 
activity less than 1 Curie 

$1,184 $1,184 

 12. Gas chromatographs, sulfur 
analyzers, lead analyzers, or similar 
laboratory devices 

$400 $400 

 13. Calibration sources equal to 
or less than 1 Curie per source $400 $400 

 14. Level or density gauges $610 $610 
 15. Pipe wall thickness gauges $807 $807 
 16. Soil moisture and density 
gauges $610 $610 

 17. NORM 
decontamination/maintenance:   

 a. at permanently 
designated areas at the location(s) 
listed in the license 

$4,574 $3,812 

 b. at temporary jobsite(s) 
of the licensee $4,574 $4,574 

 18. Commercial NORM 
storage $3,812 $3,812 

 19. All other specific industrial 
licenses except as otherwise noted $807 $807 

 20. Commercial NORM 
treatment $18,296 $15,246 

Appendix ARadiation Protection Program Fee Schedule 

  
New/Renewal 
Application 

Fee 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 
 E. Radioactive waste disposal 
licenses:   

 1. Commercial waste disposal 
involving burial $1,029,105 $1,029,105 

 2. Commercial waste disposal 
involving incineration of vials 
containing liquid scintillation fluids 

$7,841 $3,935 

 3. All other commercial waste 
disposal involving storage, 
packaging and/or transfer 

$3,935 $3,935 

 F. Civil defense licenses $480 $400 
 G. Teletherapy service company 
license $1,983 $1,983 

 H. Consultant licenses:   
 1. No calibration sources $196 $114 
 2. Possession of calibration 
sources equal to or less than 500 
mCi each 

$291 $196 

 3. Possession of calibration 
sources greater than 500 mCi $400 $291 

 4. Installation and/or 
servicing of medical afterloaders $531 $458 

II. Electronic Product Registration 
 1. Medical diagnostic X-ray 
(per registration) $129 $129 

 2. Medical therapeutic X-ray 
(per registration):   

 a. below 500 kVp $305 $305 
 b. 500 kVp to 1 MeV 
(including accelerator and Van 
deGraaf) 

$610 $610 

 c. 1 MeV to 10 MeV $916 $916 
 d. 10 MeV or greater $1,220 $1,220 
 3. Dental X-ray (per 
registration) $115 $106 

 4. Veterinary X-ray (per 
registration) $115 $115 

 5. Educational institution X-
ray (teaching unit, per registration) $190 $115 

 6. Industrial accelerator 
(includes Van de Graaf machines 
and neutron generators) 

$610 $610 

 7. Industrial radiography (per 
registration) $305 $305 

 8. All other X-ray (per 
registration) except as otherwise 
noted 

$138 $138 

III. General Licenses 
 A. NORM (Wellhead fee per 
field shall not exceed $2,287 per 
operator. Operators reporting 
contamination by field will be 
invoiced for all wellheads in the 
field. Operators reporting 
contamination by wellhead will be 
invoiced only for contaminated 
units.) 

  

 1. 1-5 contaminated 
wellheads $153 $153 

 2. 6-20 contaminated 
wellheads $763 $763 

 3. >20 contaminated 
wellheads $2,287 $2,287 

 4. Stripper wells-
contaminated ($763 maximum for 
strippers per field): 

$153 $153 

 a. 1 to 5 contaminated 
stripper wells $153 $153 

 b. > 5 contaminated 
stripper wells $763 $763 
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New/Renewal 
Application 

Fee 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 
 5. NORM locations (other 
than fields):   

 a. gas plants, pipeyards, 
chemical plant, refinery $458 $458 

 b. warehouses, pipeline, 
manufacturing plant, NORM 
equipment storage site, etc. 

$458 $458 

 6. Interim container storage 
per NORM Waste Management 
Plan of an approved location 

 $1,525 

 7. NORM location as 
otherwise defined in LAC 
33:XV.1403 and not exempted by 
LAC 33:XV.1404, not included in 
III.A.1-6 of this Appendix 

$153 $153 

 B. Tritium sign $109 $0 
 C. All other general licenses 
which require registration $153 $153 

IV. Reciprocal Recognition 
The fee for reciprocal recognition of a license or registration from another 

state or the NRC is the annual fee of the applicable category. The fee 
covers activities in the state of Louisiana for one year from the date of 

receipt. 
V. Shielding Evaluation (per room) 
 A. Diagnostic $153 * 
 B. Therapeutic (below 500 kVp) $230 * 
 C. Therapeutic (500 kVp to 1 
MeV) $378 * 

 D. Therapeutic (1 MeV to 10 
MeV) $531 * 

 E. Therapeutic (10 MeV or 
greater) $1,148 * 

 F. Industrial and industrial 
radiography $531 * 

VI. Device, Product, or Sealed Source Evaluation 
 A. Device evaluation (each) $1,067 * 
 B. Sealed source design 
evaluation (each) $690 * 

 C. Update sheet $230 * 
VII. Testing 
 Testing to determine 
qualifications of employees, per test 
administered 

$196 * 

VIII. Nuclear Electric Generating Station 
 Located in Louisiana  $432,696 
 Located near Louisiana (Plume 
Exposure Pathway Emergency 
Planning Zone―includes area in 
Louisiana) 

 $313,632 

 Uranium Enrichment Facility  $76,230 
IX. La. Radiation Protection Program Laboratory Analysis 
FeesRepealed. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
LR 10:1014 (December 1984), amended by the Nuclear Energy 
Division, LR 11:530 (May 1985), LR 12:674 (October 1986), LR 
13:569 (October 1987), LR 14:622 (September 1988), LR 15:737 
(September 1989), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:719 
(July 1992), repromulgated LR 18:955 (September 1992), amended 
LR 19:624 (May 1993), LR 21:792 (August 1995), repromulgated 
LR 21:944 (September 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2607 (November 2000), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29:2053 
(October 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by MM018. Such 
comments must be received no later than March 3, 2017, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, P.O. Box 
4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-
4068 or by e-mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. Copies of these 
proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of 
MM018. These proposed regulations are available on the 
internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on February 24, 2017, at 

1:30 p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Fee Increase Authorized by Act 451 of 

the 2016 Regular Legislative Session 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 
state governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. As a result of Act 451 of the 2016 Regular Legislative 
Session, certain fees within the Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) were increased between 10 percent and 25 
percent and new fees were created across all regulated medias. 
The increased and new fees are projected to increase annual 
collections within the Environmental Trust Fund by 
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approximately $9.4 M and the Lead Hazard Reduction Fund by 
approximately $10,500.  

Costs will increase for local governmental units that 
operate facilities regulated by DEQ as a result of the increased 
fees. Such facilities include landfills and waste water treatment 
plants. The exact increase is indeterminable since the fees 
charges are based on the permit obtained by the local 
governmental unit. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in an increase in 
revenue collections of state governmental units. According the 
DEQ, the department anticipates annual revenue collections for 
the Environmental Trust Fund will increase by approximately 
$9.4 million annually as a result of the fee increase. Current 
collections are approximately $50 million annually; therefore, 
the rule change represents an increase of 18.8 percent. In 
addition, Lead Hazard Reduction Fund collections will increase 
by approximately $10,500 annually. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in costs to industry 
that are impacted by these fee increases. In general, fees 
charged were increased between 10 percent and 25 percent and 
were increased to better align with LDEQ’s costs to regulate 
and oversee each program. Some fees were also added for 
services that LDEQ previously was not assessing fees for. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition or employment 
in the public or private sector as a result of the proposed rule 
change since the fee increases are being implemented across 
the board and will give no entity a competitive advantage over 
another. There may be impacts on employment in public or 
private sectors to the extent changes in employment are 
necessary to absorb the costs associated with the increase in 
fees. However, these fees have been discussed with industry 
participants who are subject to the increases and DEQ does not 
anticipate any significant impact on public or private sector 
employment. 

 
Herman Robinson Gregory V. Albrecht 
General Counsel Chief Economist 
1701#013 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Natural Resource Damage Restoration Banking 
(LAC 43:XXXI.Chapter 1) 

Under the authority of Act 362 of the 2016 Louisiana 
Legislative Regular Session, and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the chairman of the Louisiana Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority gives notice that 
rulemaking procedures have been initiated to promulgate the 
below Rule to establish a Natural Resource Damage (NRD) 
Restoration Banking Program. The purpose of this Rule is to 
establish an NRD Restoration Banking Program to fully or 
partially resolve a responsible party’s NRD liability under 
the Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA), 33 U.S.C. §2701 et 
seq., and the Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act 
(OSPRA), R.S. 30:2451 et seq. This NRD Restoration 

Banking Program is designed to allow, encourage, and 
incentivize private investors to undertake restoration projects 
and generate restoration credits that responsible parties can 
purchase to fully or partially resolve NRD liabilities from oil 
spills under OPA and OSPRA. This program will provide 
up-front restoration in the Louisiana coastal area, allow for 
the implementation of large scale restoration projects, and 
provide an alternative method to offset injuries to natural 
resources sustained as a result of oil spills in coastal areas 
which will result in greater ecosystem benefits in an efficient 
and cost-effective manner, as compared to spill-by-spill 
restoration actions. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XXXI.  Coastal Protection and Restoration 
Authority 

Chapter 1. Natural Resource Damage Restoration 
Banking  

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§101. Purpose/Declaration and Intent 

A. The release of oil into Louisiana’s coastal area 
presents a real and substantial threat to public health and 
welfare, the environment, wildlife and aquatic life, and the 
economy of the state. The Coastal Protection and 
Restoration Authority (CPRA) Board adopts these 
regulations pursuant to R.S. 49:214.5.2(H). The purpose of 
these regulations is to establish a Natural Resource Damage 
(NRD) Restoration Banking Program to fully or partially 
resolve a responsible party’s NRD liability under the Oil 
Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA), 33 U.S.C. §2701 et seq., and 
the Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act (OSPRA), R.S. 
30:2451 et seq. This Chapter is intended to support and 
complement OPA and OSPRA. These regulations establish 
procedures for the certification and operation of NRD 
restoration banks.  

B. This NRD Restoration Banking Program is designed 
to allow, encourage, and incentivize private investors to 
undertake restoration projects and generate restoration 
credits that responsible parties can purchase to fully or 
partially resolve NRD liabilities from oil spills under OPA 
and OSPRA. This program will provide up-front restoration 
in the Louisiana coastal area, allow for the implementation 
of large scale restoration projects, and provide greater 
ecosystem benefits in an efficient and cost-effective manner, 
as compared to spill-by-spill restoration actions. 
Notwithstanding any provision of this Chapter, the Natural 
Resource Damage Assessment (NRDA) trustees retain final 
authority to propose and select the purchase of credits from 
certified NRD restoration banks as preferred alternatives to 
restore for injuries resulting from a particular oil spill.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§103. Applicability 

A. This Chapter applies to any unauthorized discharge of 
oil, as defined in OPA and OSPRA, occurring in the 
Louisiana coastal area for which the NRDA trustees 
determine, pursuant to R.S. 30:2480, to proceed under this 
Chapter. The NRDA trustees may authorize the purchase of 
credits from certified NRD restoration banks to restore for 
injuries from any unauthorized discharge of oil for which a



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017 129

preferred restoration alternative has not already been 
selected. This includes, but is not limited to, using settlement 
funds to purchase credits from an NRD restoration bank.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§105. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this Chapter or the 
application of that Section or provision to any party, 
situation, or circumstance is determined to be invalid by a 
court of competent jurisdiction for any reason, such 
adjudication shall not affect any other Section or provision 
of this Chapter, or the application of the adjudicated Section 
or provision to any other party, situation, or circumstance. To 
this end, the provisions of this Chapter are declared to be 
severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§107. Definitions 

A. Words not defined in these regulations shall have the 
same definition given to them in OPA and OSPRA and 
accompanying regulations. In the event of a conflict between 
the definitions in these regulations and definitions in OPA 
and/or OSPRA and the accompanying regulations, the 
definitions in these regulations shall prevail. 

B. The following words, terms, and phrases, when used 
in this Chapter, shall have the following meanings, unless 
the word, term, or phrase is otherwise defined in the text. 

BRTthe natural resource damage banking review 
team, whose purpose is to facilitate and oversee the NRD 
Restoration Banking Program. 

Coastal Master Planthe currently applicable version 
of the Louisiana Comprehensive Master Plan for a 
Sustainable Coast, developed by CPRA and approved by the 
Louisiana Legislature in accordance with R.S. 49:214.5.3. 

Day(s)refers to calendar days. If the final day of any 
time period falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the time 
period must be extended to the next working day. 

Louisiana Coastal AreaLouisiana coastal waters, 
defined in R.S. 49:214.2(4) as “the Louisiana Coastal Zone 
and contiguous areas subject to storm or tidal surge and the 
area comprising the Louisiana Coastal Ecosystem as defined 
in section 7001 of P.L. 110-114”. 

NRD Restoration Banka site where land or resources 
are restored, rehabilitated, or replaced in accordance with 
these regulations for the purpose of restoring natural 
resources and services equivalent to those injured by oil 
spills in the Louisiana coastal area. 

NRD Restoration Banking Programa program 
developed by the state under this Chapter under which a 
responsible party purchases credits generated by a BRT-
certified NRD restoration bank from a restoration bank 
sponsor to reduce or resolve its liability under OPA and 
OSPRA for damages to natural resources and services. 

Performance Criteriastructural, functional, temporal, 
and/or other demonstrable factors that are used by the BRT 
to determine the success of the restoration bank or need for 
interim corrective action. 

Release of Creditsthe BRT’s written determination 
that certain performance standards set forth in a final 
restoration banking instrument have been met and 
authorizing a bank sponsor to make a specific quantum of 
restoration credits available for sale to responsible parties 
and NRDA trustees. 

Restoration Bank Sponsor or Sponsorthe person or 
entity responsible for developing and operating an NRD 
restoration bank. 

Restoration Credita unit of trade generated by a 
certified NRD restoration bank and representing a defined 
quantum of ecological benefit generated by the restoration 
bank, as measured by acreage or other metric. 

Statethe state of Louisiana. 
State Trusteesshall be the Louisiana Coastal 

Protection and Restoration Authority, the Louisiana Oil Spill 
Coordinator’s Office, the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality, the Louisiana Department of Natural 
Resources, and the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries. The definition of state trustees may also include 
other agencies of the state designated by the governor to act 
on behalf of the public as trustees for natural resources under 
OPA and OSPRA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
Subchapter B. NRD Restoration Banking Framework 
§109. Natural Resource Damage Banking Review 

Team (BRT) 
A. CPRA shall convene the BRT to implement the NRD 

Restoration Banking Program. The state trustees, or their 
designees, shall be standing members of the BRT. CPRA 
shall serve as the BRT chair. The BRT may consult with or 
invite other state and federal agencies (including federal 
NRDA trustees) as appropriate for review and certification 
of specific NRD restoration banks. The primary duties of the 
BRT are: 

1. to review documents submitted by potential 
restoration bank sponsors, including the prospectus, 
restoration bank plan, restoration banking instrument, and 
other appropriate/requested documents to determine whether 
proposed NRD restoration banks qualify for the NRD 
Restoration Banking Program;  

2. to work with potential restoration bank sponsors on 
the development of restoration credits (including 
establishing the number and types of credits an NRD 
restoration bank will generate and a credit release schedule), 
appropriate financial assurances, and required project 
monitoring and long-term management activities (if such 
long-term management activities are appropriate for the 
bank); 

3. to seek public review and comment on the 
restoration bank plan; 

4. to certify NRD restoration banks;  
5. to review construction, monitoring, and other 

required reports to determine if corrective actions or 
adaptive management activities are necessary and to approve 
the release of credits for an NRD restoration bank; and 
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6. to ensure compliance with the terms and conditions 
of NRD restoration bank certification as set forth in the 
restoration banking instrument.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§111. NRD Restoration Banking Program 

Requirements 
A. In determining the eligibility of a proposed NRD 

restoration bank, the BRT shall consider the following 
factors:  

1. the potential restoration bank sponsor’s compliance 
history, including but not limited to compliance with federal, 
state, parish, and local laws, rules, regulations, policies, and 
programs; 

2. the proposed financial assurances submitted 
pursuant to these regulations; 

3. the sponsor’s proposed actions to restore, 
rehabilitate, or replace the equivalent of natural resources 
and services likely to be injured by oil spills in the Louisiana 
coastal area; 

4. how the implementation of the NRD restoration 
bank will affect (positive or negative) natural resources, 
cultural resources, land ownership, and encumbrances; 

5. whether the NRD restoration bank is consistent 
with or complimentary to the coastal master plan; and 

6. any other information deemed appropriate by the 
BRT. 

B. Coastal Master Plan  
1. To be eligible for the NRD restoration banking 

program, proposed banks must be consistent with the goals 
and objectives of the coastal master plan. To be considered 
consistent with the goals and objectives of the coastal master 
plan, the proposed NRD restoration bank must strive to 
achieve one or more of the coastal master plan’s objectives 
and must not be detrimental to or conflict with any of the 
projects contained in the coastal master plan. 

2. CPRA prefers proposed NRD restoration banks that 
are included as projects in the coastal master plan, or that are 
increments, add-ons, or enhancements of coastal master plan 
projects. NRD restoration banks implementing coastal 
master plan projects perform restoration in areas the state 
has designated as high priority, providing elevated 
ecological benefit and increased sustainability. To 
incentivize such banks, the BRT will examine and take 
advantage of efficiencies in project review for banks that 
propose to implement coastal master plan projects. For 
example, the BRT will consider information regarding and 
analyses of projects the State has already performed through 
the coastal master plan development process, as well as any 
engineering, design, and permitting already performed. The 
BRT may further elect to reduce information required in the 
prospectus scope of work or provide a more favorable 
schedule for credit release, contingent on sufficient financial 
assurance. The BRT shall make decisions regarding the 
application of these and other incentives on a case-by-case 
basis and only where consistent with the requirements of 
OPA and OSPRA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 

§113. Landowners 
A. Prior to proposing any NRD restoration bank, it is the 

responsibility of the sponsor to investigate any potential 
effect on the rights of nearby landowners. Any dealings with 
landowners carried out by the sponsor, including but not 
limited to the purchase or acquisition of property or right-of-
way, must be detailed in the land rights section of the 
Prospectus to be submitted by the sponsor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§115. Prospectus 

A. To begin the process of establishing an NRD 
restoration bank, potential sponsors must submit a 
prospectus to the BRT chair that contains the following 
information: 

1. potential sponsor information: 
a. identification of submitting party; 
b. domiciliary address;  
c. name of the agent or contact if applicant is an 

entity such as an LLC or corporation; and  
d. mailing address of the agent, if different from 

that of the identified applicant; 
2. permit statement outlining all federal, state, and 

local permits necessary for the proposed NRD restoration 
bank, and timetable for acquisition (the sponsor is 
responsible for obtaining all required permits and approvals 
for the construction and establishment of the bank); and 

3. a scope of work containing the information outlined 
in Subsection B or C of this Section. 

B. For new NRD restoration banks proposed for 
construction, the scope of work shall provide information 
regarding the proposed NRD restoration bank at a sufficient 
level of detail to support informed BRT comment and 
evaluation. A complete scope of work must contain, at a 
minimum, the components listed below:  

1. objectives of the proposed NRD restoration bank; 
2. identification of the proposed coastal master plan 

project to be supported or carried out by the proposed NRD 
restoration bank, or a statement demonstrating how the 
proposed bank is consistent with the goals and objectives of 
the coastal master plan; 

3. physical characteristics of the proposed NRD 
restoration bank, including: 

a. a detailed description of the existing (pre-
construction) site location and conditions, including, but not 
limited to: 
 i. soil/sediment information;  
 ii. drainage patterns/hydrology;  
 iii. the presence, type, density, and condition of 
existing vegetation; description of any man-made structures; 
and  
 iv. the geographic location; 

b. the current on-site habitat loss rates;  
c. a description of the proposed construction 

activities and planting plan, including the work to be 
performed and the total acreage or footprint of the proposed 
work; and 

d. a summary table of the pre- and post-construction 
habitat types, associated acreages, and conditions at the bank 
site; 
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4. legal characteristics of the proposed NRD 
restoration bank, including but not limited to a description of 
the bank site’s geographic boundaries and a statement 
regarding land rights involving the site; 

5. technical feasibility of the proposed NRD 
restoration bank; 

6. proposed ownership arrangements and long-term 
management strategy; 

7. qualifications of the sponsor to successfully 
complete the project, including information describing any 
past such activities by the sponsor; 

8. the form and amount of anticipated financial 
assurance and evidence of the sponsor’s ability to procure 
financial assurance; and 

9. any other information deemed necessary by the 
BRT. 

C. For existing, already-constructed restoration projects 
in use as a bank pursuant to other (non-NRD) regulatory 
frameworks, the scope of work shall provide the information 
identified in Subsection B of this Section, but incorporating 
actual rather than anticipated post-construction conditions. 
In addition, the scope of work shall include: 

1. identification of the specific regulatory programs 
under which the bank is authorized to provide credits; 

2. map(s) showing the specific areas, habitat types, 
and acreages for potential use to satisfy obligations pursuant 
to each authorized regulatory program; 

3. identification of all credit sales that have occurred 
pursuant to any regulatory program and map(s) showing the 
specific areas for which credits have been sold; 

4. identification of the numbers and types of credits 
and associated locations still available for sale to address the 
requirements of other regulatory programs; 

5. description of a process and internal controls to 
prevent double counting and ensure that credits for specific 
portions of the restoration bank site are sold only once, to 
address the needs of a single regulatory program; and 

6. any other information deemed necessary by the 
BRT.  

D. Submittal, Review, and Determination by the BRT 
1. Submittal of Prospectus 

a. The sponsor shall submit the prospectus to the 
BRT chair for BRT comment and initial evaluation as to the 
eligibility of the proposed NRD restoration bank, including 
whether the proposed NRD restoration bank is:  
 i. included in or consistent with the goals and 
objectives of the coastal master plan; and  
 ii. has the potential to generate NRD restoration 
credits.  

b. The sponsor must provide the BRT chair with the 
number of copies of the prospectus specified by the BRT 
chair for distribution to the BRT members for review. 

2. BRT Review of Prospectus. The BRT chair will 
provide copies of the prospectus to BRT members and will 
provide the BRT’s response, including written comments (if 
any), back to the sponsor within 60 days. 

3. BRT Prospectus Determination. The sponsor may 
revise the prospectus to address the BRT’s comments and 
submit the revised prospectus to the BRT chair. A revised 
prospectus must be sent within 30 days of receipt of 
comments from the BRT, and the sponsor must provide the 
BRT chair with the number of copies of the revisions 

specified by the BRT chair for distribution to the BRT 
members for review. If additional time is needed for the 
revision, the sponsor shall submit a request to the BRT chair 
prior to the running of the 30-day period of the amount of 
additional time needed. Within 30 days of receipt of 
revisions from the sponsor, the BRT will issue a follow-up 
evaluation letter responding to the revisions and indicating a 
decision on the revised prospectus. If additional time is 
needed for BRT review, the BRT chair shall provide written 
notification to the sponsor prior to the running of the 30-day 
period of the amount of additional time needed. 

E. BRT/Sponsor Consultation. Once the BRT approves a 
prospectus, the BRT and the sponsor shall consult on the 
types and number of restoration credits to be assigned to the 
NRD restoration bank, the form and amount of financial 
assurances, the credit release schedule, monitoring activities, 
and long-term management activities (if long-term 
management activities are applicable). After consultation 
with the BRT, the sponsor may elect to proceed with 
preparation of a restoration bank plan and restoration 
banking instrument. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§117. Restoration Bank Plan 

A. A complete restoration bank plan shall, at a minimum, 
contain the following components: 

1. sponsor information; 
2. detailed project description and work plan 

(including items in LAC 43:XXXI.115.B.2-6 above); 
3. restoration goals and objectives; 
4. determination of credits (includes number and types 

of credits); 
5. financial assurance; 
6. credit release schedule; 
7. performance criteria; 
8. monitoring requirements; 
9. long-term management plan (if applicable); and 
10. other information deemed necessary by the BRT to 

determine the appropriateness, feasibility, and practicability 
of the restoration bank. 

B. Submittal and Review by the BRT. The sponsor shall 
submit a draft restoration bank plan to the BRT chair. The 
sponsor must provide the BRT chair with the number of 
copies specified by the BRT chair for distribution to the BRT 
members for review. The BRT chair will provide the BRT’s 
response, including any written comments from the BRT, to 
the sponsor within 60 days of the date on which the sponsor 
submitted the draft restoration bank plan. Specifically, the 
BRT chair must indicate to the sponsor if the draft 
restoration bank plan is acceptable and ready for public 
comment or identify what changes are needed to address the 
concerns of any BRT members prior to its release for public 
review and comment. If additional time is needed for BRT 
review, the BRT chair shall provide written notification to 
the sponsor prior to the running of the 60-day period of the 
amount of additional time needed. The sponsor must submit 
a revised restoration bank plan to the BRT addressing any 
comments provided by the BRT within 60 days of receipt of 
the BRT’s comments. If additional time is needed for 
response, the sponsor shall submit a request to the BRT chair
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prior to the running of the 60-day period for the amount of 
additional time requested. After receipt of the revised 
restoration bank plan, the BRT chair will notify the sponsor 
in writing within 30 days whether the plan is ready for 
public comment.  

C. Public Review and Comment Period. After the BRT 
determines that the draft restoration bank plan is ready for 
public comment, the BRT chair will provide public notice 
via the Louisiana Register of the restoration bank plan and 
invite public review and comment. The public notice will, at 
a minimum, include a summary of the restoration bank plan 
and indicate that the full restoration bank plan is available to 
the public for review. The public comment period will be 30 
days, unless the BRT determines that a longer comment 
period is appropriate. The sponsor shall be notified in 
writing if the comment period is extended beyond 30 days, 
including an explanation of why the longer comment period 
is necessary and how much additional time is needed. 
Copies of all comments received during the public comment 
period must be distributed by the BRT chair to the BRT 
members and to the sponsor within 15 days of the close of 
the public comment period. 

D. Final Restoration Bank Plan. Within 30 days of 
receipt of public comments from the BRT chair, the sponsor 
must submit a final restoration bank plan to the BRT for 
approval, with supporting documentation that explains how 
the final restoration bank plan addresses the comments 
provided by the public. The BRT will have 30 days from 
receipt of the final restoration bank plan to indicate whether 
it is approved. If additional time for review is warranted, the 
BRT chair shall notify the sponsor in writing prior to the 
completion of the 30-day period of the amount of additional 
time needed for final approval. The BRT chair shall provide 
written notice to the sponsor of the BRT’s decision to deny 
or approve the final restoration bank plan. Upon approval, 
the final restoration bank plan must be made available to the 
public. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§119. Restoration Banking Instrument 

A. Components of Restoration Banking Instrument. The 
restoration banking instrument shall, at a minimum, contain 
the following components: 

1. restoration bank plan; 
2. provision stating that the legal responsibility for 

providing restoration lies with the sponsor once credits are 
secured by the responsible party;  

3. accounting and reporting requirements; 
4. risk management, indemnity, and insurance 

requirements; 
5. default and closure provisions; 
6. force majeure clause (identification of sponsor 

responsibilities in the event of catastrophic events that are 
beyond the sponsor’s control); and 

7. any other information deemed necessary by the 
BRT. 

B. Review by the BRT. The sponsor shall provide timely 
submission of the restoration banking instrument 
(“instrument”) to the BRT chair, and must provide the BRT 
chair with the number of copies specified by the BRT chair

to distribute to the BRT members for review. The BRT chair 
will provide the BRT’s response, including any written 
comments, to the sponsor within 30 days of the date on 
which the BRT chair received the draft Instrument. 
Specifically, the BRT chair must indicate to the sponsor if 
the draft Instrument is acceptable or identify what changes 
are needed to address the concerns of any BRT members. If 
additional time is needed for review, the BRT chair shall 
provide written notification to the sponsor prior to the 
running of the 30-day period of the amount of additional 
time needed.  

C. Final Instrument. Within 30 days of receipt of 
comments from the BRT, the sponsor must submit a final 
restoration banking instrument to the BRT chair for BRT 
approval. If additional time is needed, the sponsor shall 
submit a request to the BRT chair prior to the running of the 
30-day period for the amount of additional time needed. The 
final restoration banking instrument must contain supporting 
documentation that explains how the sponsor addresses the 
BRT’s comments. The sponsor must provide the BRT chair 
with the number of copies specified by the BRT chair for 
distribution to the BRT members for review. Within 30 days 
of receipt of the final Instrument, the BRT chair will notify 
the sponsor in writing whether the Instrument is approved 
and, if the restoration banking instrument is approved, 
arrange for it to be signed by the appropriate parties. The 
final restoration banking instrument must be made available 
to the public upon request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§121. NRD Restoration Credits 

A. Determining and Establishing Credits. The principal 
units for restoration credits are anticipated to be acres, 
reflecting the anticipated post-construction number of acres 
by habitat type and minimum performance criteria compared 
to pre-construction acres by habitat type and key measures 
of habitat condition. The BRT will consider other units of 
restoration credits on a case-by-case basis. 

B. Release of Restoration Credits Schedule 
1. The BRT shall determine the release of restoration 

credits schedule for each individual NRD restoration bank, 
in coordination with the sponsor. Release of restoration 
credits must be tied to achievement of performance-based 
milestones (e.g., construction, planting, or establishment of 
specified plant and animal communities). After a prospectus 
is approved, the BRT will work with the bank sponsor to 
develop a proposed release of restoration credit release 
schedule for inclusion in the restoration bank plan. 

2. The terms of the release of restoration credits 
schedule will be finalized after review of public comments 
to the restoration bank plan and must be specified in the 
restoration banking instrument. When an NRD restoration 
bank is implemented and is achieving the performance-based 
milestones specified in the release of restoration credits 
schedule, restoration credits shall be released in accordance 
with the approved release of restoration credits schedule. If 
the NRD restoration bank fails to meet, or substantially 
exceeds, those performance-based milestones, the BRT may 
modify the release of restoration credits schedule, as well as 
reduce or increase the total number of restoration credits, as 
appropriate. 
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3. A limited number of restoration credits (no more 
than 20 percent) may be available for sale by NRD 
restoration banks prior to initiating construction provided the 
following requirements are met:  

a. resolution of any land rights issues;  
b. compliance with any and all pre-construction 

regulatory requirements, including obtaining permits; 
c. establishment and maintenance of adequate and 

current financial assurance; 
d. execution of the restoration banking instrument; 
e. achievement of 60 percent engineering and 

design, including feasibility studies and/or alternative(s) 
analyses; and 

f. any other pre-construction requirements set forth 
in the restoration banking instrument.  

C. Release of Restoration Credits Determination. 
Release of restoration credits for NRD restoration banks 
must be approved by the BRT. In order for restoration credits 
to be released, the sponsor must submit documentation to the 
BRT chair demonstrating that the appropriate milestones for 
release of restoration credits have been achieved and 
requesting the release of restoration credits. The sponsor 
must provide the BRT chair with the number of copies of 
this documentation specified by the BRT chair for 
distribution to the BRT members for review. BRT members 
must provide any comments to the BRT chair within 30 days 
of the BRT chair’s receipt of this documentation. If the BRT 
determines that a site visit is necessary, the BRT members 
must provide any comments to the BRT chair within 30 days 
of the site visit. The BRT chair must schedule the site visit 
so that it occurs as soon as it is practicable, but the site visit 
may be delayed by seasonal considerations that affect the 
ability of the BRT members to assess whether the applicable 
credit release milestones have been achieved. If additional 
time is needed at any point in the release of restoration 
credits determination process, the BRT chair shall provide 
written notification to the sponsor prior to the running of the 
time-period with the amount of additional time needed. The 
BRT chair must provide written notice of final release of 
restoration credits determinations to the sponsor within 60 
days of receipt by the BRT chair of the sponsor’s request for 
release of credits or 60 days of the site visit, whichever is 
later. 

D. Transfer or Sale to RP or Trustee. Once released, 
restoration credits may only be purchased to resolve NRD 
liability for a specific release of oil if such purchase has been 
approved by the appropriate NRDA trustees. The cost of 
restoration credits provided by an NRD restoration bank is to 
be negotiated by the responsible party and the sponsor of the 
NRD restoration bank from which the restoration credits are 
to be purchased. Within seven days of the sale or transfer of 
any NRD credits, the sponsor must provide a written report 
to the BRT detailing each sale/transfer of restoration credits. 
At a minimum, the notification must specify the number and 
type of restoration credits sold or transferred.  

E. Multi-Use Restoration Banks. For NRD restoration 
banks also authorized to sell credits to satisfy the 
requirements of other regulatory programs, the sponsor must 
provide written notification to the BRT chair within seven 
days of any sale or transfer of credits pursuant to other

regulatory programs. At a minimum, the notification must 
specify the number and type of credits sold or transferred. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§123. Monitoring NRD Restoration Banks 

A. The restoration bank plan must address the 
monitoring requirements for the NRD restoration bank, 
including those objectives and factors set out in 15 CFR 
§990.55(b)(2) and (3), as well as the parameters to be 
monitored, the length of the monitoring period, the party 
responsible for conducting the monitoring and submitting 
reports, and the frequency for submitting monitoring reports 
to the BRT. Performance criteria for an NRD restoration 
bank will be determined during the consultation between the 
BRT and the sponsor following the submittal of the 
prospectus and must be specified in the restoration bank 
plan. The performance criteria will be used to assess whether 
the NRD restoration bank is achieving its restoration 
objectives, including to determine release of restoration 
credits and release of financial assurances consistent with 
these regulations.  

B. The submission of monitoring reports to assess the 
development and condition of the NRD restoration bank is 
required. Monitoring the NRD restoration bank is necessary 
to determine if the NRD restoration bank is accomplishing 
its restoration objectives, if performance criteria are being 
met, and, if not, what corrective action is necessary to ensure 
that those criteria are met. The content and level of detail for 
monitoring reports will be determined during the 
consultation period following the submittal of the prospectus 
and must be commensurate with the scale and scope of the 
NRD restoration bank. The monitoring reports may include 
plans (such as as-built plans), maps, and photographs to 
illustrate site conditions. Monitoring reports may also 
include the results of structural, functional, temporal, and 
other assessments used to provide quantitative or qualitative 
measures of the functions provided by the bank. The sponsor 
is responsible for submitting monitoring reports at a 
frequency determined by the BRT. Monitoring reports must 
be provided by the BRT chair to interested federal, tribal, 
state, and local resource agencies, and the public, upon 
request. The BRT may conduct site inspections upon 
providing notice to the bank sponsor to evaluate NRD 
restoration bank performance. 

C. The restoration bank plan must provide for a 
monitoring period that is sufficient to demonstrate that the 
NRD restoration bank has met its restoration objectives and 
performance criteria. Following project implementation, the 
BRT may reduce or waive the remaining monitoring 
requirements upon a determination that the NRD restoration 
bank has achieved its objectives and performance criteria. 
Conversely, the BRT may extend the original monitoring 
period upon a determination that performance criteria have 
not been met or the bank is not on track to meet them. The 
BRT may also revise monitoring requirements when 
corrective action is required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§125. Financial Assurance Requirements 

A. General Provisions 
1. Financial assurance in accordance with this Section 

is required for NRD restoration banks under the NRD 
restoration banking program, except that financial assurance 
is not required for an NRD restoration bank proposed by a 
government agency, or an entity, that is exempt from the 
requirement to provide financial assurance under federal law. 

2. The sponsor shall establish and maintain financial 
assurance in accordance with this Section. 

3. The sponsor shall establish and maintain financial 
assurance in the form and amount approved by the BRT, 
until the BRT determines that the NRD restoration bank has 
satisfied all applicable performance criteria and other 
requirements of the restoration banking instrument. 

4. Financial assurance that meets the requirements of 
this Section shall be provided at least 30 days prior to 
undertaking restoration activities approved under a 
restoration banking instrument. 

5. The amount of financial assurance shall be based 
on an itemized estimate provided by an independent 
contractor and shall include the following: 

a. construction costs, equal to 100 percent of the 
estimated cost of completing the creation, restoration, or 
enhancement; 

b. maintenance costs, equal to 100 percent of the 
estimated cost of monitoring and maintaining the site, to 
meet the performance criteria and other requirements of the 
restoration banking instrument; 

c. corrective action or adaptive management costs, 
equal to 10 percent of the estimated cost of construction, 
unless otherwise determined by the BRT to meet the 
requirements of this Section; 

d. an independent contractor is defined here as a 
licensed contractor with no existing business relationship 
with the sponsor. The contractor must be approved by the 
BRT.  

6. The sponsor shall update the face value of its 
financial assurance on the anniversary date of the instrument 
to reflect adjustments for inflation. On the fifth anniversary 
of the financial assurance instrument, the sponsor shall 
update the amount of financial assurance based on updated 
itemized estimates pursuant to Paragraph 5 of this 
Subsection. 

7. The BRT shall require additional financial 
assurance if additional construction or monitoring is required 
to ensure success of the NRD restoration bank. 

8. The portion of the financial assurance required 
under Subparagraph 5.a of this Subsection above shall be 
released upon the BRT determination that construction 
(including grading and planting) of the NRD restoration 
bank has been successfully completed in accordance with 
the restoration banking instrument. 

9. The portion of the financial assurance required 
under Subparagraphs 5.b and c of this Subsection above 
shall be released when the BRT determines that the NRD 
restoration bank has met its restoration objectives and 
performance criteria, as applicable, or the BRT approves in 
writing the sponsor’s request to permanently cease banking 
activities. 

10. The sponsor may request, and the BRT may 
approve, the substitution of a financial assurance instrument. 
The form and content of any financial assurance instrument 
must be approved in advance by the BRT before a 
substitution can be used to satisfy the financial assurance 
obligations of this Section.  

11. Acceptable forms of financial assurance shall 
comprise one or more of the following financial instruments: 

a. a fully funded trust fund in accordance with 
§125.B below; 

b. a letter of credit in accordance with Subsection C 
of this Section below;  

c. a surety bond in accordance with Subsection D of 
this Section below; and/or 

d. other forms of financial assurance, other than 
self-insurance or self-guarantee, as determined by the BRT 
to meet the requirements of this Section. 

B. Financial Assurance InstrumentFully Funded Trust 
Fund 

1. A sponsor who chooses to establish a fully funded 
trust fund as financial assurance shall submit to the BRT 
chair the trust fund agreement evidencing that the trust fund 
is fully funded. The trust fund agreement shall: 

a. be executed by an entity that has the authority to 
act as trustee, is an FDIC-regulated financial institution, and 
whose trust operations are regulated and examined by the 
state; 

b. include any applicable file number and the name, 
street address, lot, block, municipality, and parish of the 
NRD restoration bank; 

c. specify that the fully funded trust fund cannot be 
revoked or terminated without the prior written approval of 
the executive director of CPRA, or his/her designee; 

d. specify that the trustee may only disburse funds 
with the written approval of the executive director of CPRA, 
or his/her designee; 

e. specify that the funds shall be used solely for the 
purposes of conducting the NRD restoration bank as 
approved by the BRT;  

f. specify that CPRA may access the fully funded 
trust fund to pay for the cost of the NRD restoration bank, 
pursuant to LAC 43:XXXI.127.B.2 below; and 

g. identify CPRA as the sole beneficiary of the fully 
funded trust fund. 

2. Any sponsor responsible for operating an NRD 
restoration bank that uses a fully funded trust fund to satisfy 
the requirements of this Chapter shall annually, at least 30 
days prior to the anniversary date of when that sponsor was 
obligated to establish the financial assurance instrument, 
submit to the executive director of CPRA (or his/her 
designee) a written statement from the trustee confirming the 
value of the trust in the amount that the BRT has approved, 
and confirming that the trust shall continue for the next 
consecutive 12-month period. 

C. Financial Assurance InstrumentLetter of Credit. A 
sponsor who chooses to provide a letter of credit as financial 
assurance to guarantee the availability of funds shall submit 
to the BRT chair the originally signed and certified letter of 
credit. The letter of credit shall: 

1. be issued by an entity that is FDIC-regulated and 
licensed to transact business in the state; 
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2. include an applicable file number and the name, 
street address, lot, block, municipality, and parish of the 
NRD restoration bank; 

3. specify that the letter of credit is irrevocable and 
issued for a period of at least one year, and that it will be 
automatically extended thereafter for a period of at least one 
year; 

4. specify that, if the issuer of the letter of credit 
decides not to extend the letter of credit beyond the then 
current expiration date, the issuer shall notify the sponsor 
providing the letter of credit and the executive director of 
CPRA (or his/her designee) by certified mail of that decision 
at least 120 days before the current expiration date, 
beginning from the date of receipt by executive director of 
CPRA (or his/her designee) as shown on the signed return 
receipt;  

5. specify that CPRA may access the letter of credit to 
pay for the cost of the restoration bank pursuant to LAC 
43:XXXI.127.B.2; and 

6. identify CPRA as the sole beneficiary of the letter 
of credit. 

D. Financial Assurance InstrumentSurety Bond. A 
sponsor who chooses to provide a surety bond as financial 
assurance to guarantee the availability of funds pursuant to 
this Section shall submit to the BRT chair the originally 
signed and certified surety bond. The surety bond shall: 

1. be issued by an entity that is licensed to transact 
business in the State, is listed as an approved surety on 
Department Circular 570 of the U.S. Department of the 
Treasury, and maintains a financial strength rating of at least 
BBB+ or equivalent assigned by a nationally recognized 
statistical rating organization; 

2. include any applicable file number and the name, 
street address, lot, block, municipality, and parish of the 
NRD restoration bank; 

3. specify that, if the issuer of the surety bond decides 
not to extend the surety bond beyond the then current 
expiration date, the issuer shall notify the sponsor providing 
the surety bond, and shall separately notify the executive 
director of CPRA (or his/her designee), by certified mail of 
that decision at least 120 days before the current expiration 
date, beginning from the date of receipt by the executive 
director of CPRA (or his/her designee) as shown on the 
signed return receipt; and 

4. specify that CPRA may access the surety bond to 
pay for the cost of the NRD restoration bank pursuant to 
LAC 43:XXXI.127.B.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§127. Compliance 

A. General 
1. It is the sponsor’s obligation to comply with the 

terms of NRD restoration bank certification as set forth in 
the restoration banking instrument. If the BRT believes that a 
sponsor is out of compliance with a restoration banking 
instrument, it must notify the sponsor in writing and set forth 
the corrective actions that the sponsor must undertake to 
bring a bank in compliance and the time within which the 
sponsor must perform such actions.  

2. If the sponsor fails to come into compliance in the 
period specified in the BRT’s written notice, the BRT may 
suspend the sale of restoration credits to bring an NRD 
restoration bank in compliance with the terms and conditions 
of the restoration banking instrument. If the BRT suspends 
the sale of restoration credits, restoration credits may not be 
debited until the BRT lifts the suspension and notifies the 
sponsor in writing that the sale of credits may be resumed. 

3. If the BRT is made aware of any action to suspend 
or bar the sponsor from participation in any other regulatory 
program, the BRT may in its discretion suspend the sponsor 
from the sale of credits for the duration of the non-
conformity with the other program, or such shorter time as it 
deems appropriate. 

B. Financial Assurance 
1. If the BRT determines that the sponsor responsible 

for restoration and providing financial assurance has failed 
to complete an NRD restoration bank, including satisfying 
restoration objectives and performance criteria, as required 
by the restoration banking instrument, the BRT chair shall: 

a. provide written notice of this determination to the 
sponsor; and 

b. require that the NRD restoration bank be brought 
into conformance with the restoration banking instrument 
within 30 days of receipt of the notice, unless the timeframe 
is otherwise extended by the BRT. 

2. No sooner than 30 days from the date the sponsor 
receives notice under Subparagraph 1.a of this Subsection 
above, CPRA may, at its discretion, complete the NRD 
restoration bank by drawing on the funds available in the 
financial assurance instrument(s). 

3. In the event CPRA draws on the funds available in 
the financial assurance instrument(s) and accomplishes the 
objectives and performance criteria of the NRD restoration 
bank, the BRT may award restoration credits for sale, use, or 
transfer by the sponsor in a quantity that reflects the 
objectives and performance criteria achieved as a result of 
BRT intervention, net of administrative expenses incurred by 
the BRT to complete the NRD restoration bank. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
§129. Reconsideration of Final Decisions 

A. An NRD bank sponsor may file an application for 
reconsideration with the executive director of CPRA. An 
application for reconsideration must be received by the 
executive director within 15 days of the mailing of the final 
decision. Applications of reconsideration shall be limited to 
final decisions regarding a restoration bank plan or credit 
release determination. 

B. An application for reconsideration shall be in writing, 
set forth the grounds that justify reversal of the original 
decision, and include all evidence or argument the applicant 
wants considered.  

C. The executive director shall consider the application 
for reconsideration and render a decision, in writing, within 
30 days of its receipt.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:214.5.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 43: 
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Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.5. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on providers as 

described in HCR 170 of 2014.  
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed Rule. Persons commenting 
should reference the proposed Rule by using the term 
“Natural Resource Damage Restoration Banking.” Such 
comments must be received no later than February 9, 2017, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to the Louisiana Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority, c/o Liz Williams, 150 
Terrace Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 or to fax (225) 
342-4674 or by e-mail to mitigation.banking@la.gov. This 
Rule is available on the internet at www.coastal.la.gov. 

 
Johnny B. Bradberry 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Natural Resource  

Damage Restoration Banking 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to result in 
increased costs or savings to state or local governmental 
entities. As a result of Act 362 of the 2016 Regular Legislative 
Session, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority (CPRA) 
will establish a Natural Resource Damage (NRD) Restoration 
Banking Program. The NRD Restoration Banking Program is 
designed to allow, encourage, and incentivize private investors 
to undertake restoration projects in the Louisiana coastal area. 
These projects are expected to generate restoration credits that 
a responsible party can purchase to fully or partially resolve 
NRD liabilities for oil spills under state and federal law.  

This program will be implemented by the Natural Resource 
Damage Banking Review Team (BRT) which consists of the 
following State agencies: CPRA, the Louisiana Oil Spill 
Coordinator’s Office (LOSCO), the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ), the Louisiana Department of 
Natural Resources (DNR), and the Louisiana Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries (DWF). At this time, the agencies 
anticipate utilizing existing staff to evaluate proposals by 
prospective sponsors for projects. In the event proposals exceed 
the workload of current staff, additional staff and resources 
may be required. However, since this program is new, it is 
unknown how many proposals will be submitted and what the 
size of the projects will be. 

To the extent private entities fund coastal restoration 
projects that are aligned with the state’s master plan for coastal 
restoration as a result of this program, future resources utilized 
by CPRA could be used for additional coastal projects or may 
result in completion of future projects earlier than anticipated.

It is unknown at this time what projects or timelines would be 
effected by the Restoration Banking Program. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The NRD Restoration Banking program is not anticipated 
to result in any revenue collections for state or local 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The NRD Restoration Banking Program is designed to 
allow, encourage, and incentivize private investors to undertake 
restoration projects in the Louisiana coastal area. These 
projects are expected to generate restoration credits that a 
Responsible Party can purchase to fully or partially resolve 
NRD liabilities for oil spills under the Oil Pollution Act of 
1990 (OPA), 33 U.S.C. §2701 et seq., and the Louisiana Oil 
Spill Prevention and Response Act (OSPRA), La. R.S. 30:2451 
et seq. This program may provide for expedited restoration 
projects in the Louisiana coastal area, allow for the 
implementation of larger scale restoration projects, and provide 
an alternative method to offset damages to natural resources 
sustained as a result of oil spills in coastal areas.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

As this program is the first of its kind in Louisiana and the 
United States, it is expected to encourage and incentivize 
private investors to undertake restoration projects in the 
Louisiana coastal area. This new market is estimated to result 
in increased competition in the coastal restoration industry 
which will, in turn, have a positive impact on employment in 
coastal Louisiana.  

 
Michael Ellis Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1701#038 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Commission 

Broker Responsibilities (LAC 46:LXVII.Chapter 18) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate 
License Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the 
Louisiana Real Estate Commission has initiated 
procedures to adopt LAC 46:LXVII.Chapter 18. The 
purpose of the proposed Rule is to promote broker 
responsibility in the areas of supervision, record keeping, 
and compensation. The Rule is proposed to ensure that 
brokers are taking the task of supervising their agents 
seriously to ensure that practicing agents are serving the 
public to the best of their abilities. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 

Part LXVII. Real Estate 
Subpart 1.  Real Estate 

Chapter 18. Broker Responsibilities 
§1801. Broker Supervision  

A. A broker must provide a sponsored licensee with 
written notice and acknowledgement of the activities that the 
broker authorizes the sponsored licensee to engage in under 
R.S. 37:1431(24).  
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B. A broker who sponsors licensees or is a qualifying 
broker for a corporation shall have written policies and 
procedures to ensure the following:  

1. each sponsored licensee maintains their license in 
the active status at all times while they are engaging in real 
estate activates as described in R.S. 37:1431(24).  

2. each sponsored licensee complies with the 
advertising and team rules;  

3. a method and process for the sponsored licensee to 
provide documents to the broker for compliance with record 
keeping  

C. Listings and other agreements for real estate 
brokerage services must be solicited under the name of the 
broker corporation or supervising broker. These agreements 
shall be signed by the broker or by a sponsored licensee 
acting under written authority of the sponsoring broker.  

D. A broker must maintain the rental trust account, the 
sales escrow account, and the security deposits trust account 
with appropriate controls for deposits and disbursements of 
funds received on behalf of consumers; and  

E. When the broker is a business entity, the qualifying 
broker is the person responsible for the broker 
responsibilities under this Section.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1435.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Real Estate Commission, LR 43: 
§1803. Record Keeping  

A. In a format that is readily available to the commission 
and for a period of no less than five years a broker must 
maintain at minimum the following records:  

1. disclosures;  
2. listing agreements, buyer representation 

agreements, other written agreements that authorize 
licensees to advertise or represent property for sale or lease, 
other written agreements that authorize licensees to receive 
compensation;  

3. contracts and related addenda;  
4.  receipts and disbursements of compensation for 

services as defined under R.S 37:1431(24);  
5. property management agreements;  
6. appraisal, broker price opinions, and comparative 

market analyses;  
7. sponsorship agreements and termination 

paperwork; and  
8. independent contract agreements between brokers 

and sponsored salespersons. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1435.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Real Estate Commission, LR 43: 
§1805. Compensation  

A. Any and all compensation paid to a sponsored 
licensee for acts or services subject to R.S 37:1431(24) shall 
be paid by, through, or with the written consent of the 
sponsoring broker. If written consent of the sponsoring 
broker is received it must specifically state the name(s) of 
the licensee(s) and the individual amount of compensation 
being paid.  

B. Licensees who are part of a group or team shall not 
receive compensation for acts or services subject to R.S. 
37:1431(24) from anyone within their team. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1435.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Real Estate Commission, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a)(viii) and 972, the 

following Family Impact Statement is submitted with the 
Notice of Intent for publication in the January 20, 2017 
Louisiana Register: The proposed rule has no known impact 
on family, formation, stability, or autonomy. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 
services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 

Public Comments 
Interested parties may submit written comments on the 

proposed regulations to Ryan Shaw, Louisiana Real Estate 
Commission, P.O. Box 14785, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-
4785 or 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809 or 
rshaw@lrec.state.la.us, through February 10, 2017 at 4:30 
p.m. 

Public Hearing 
If it becomes a necessary to convene a public hearing to 

receive comments, in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act, a hearing will be held on March 1, 2017 at 9 
a.m. at the office of the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers 
Board, 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 

Bruce Unangst 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Broker Responsibilities 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no implementation costs or savings to state or 
local governmental units associated with the proposed rule 
change. The proposed rule change provides for experience 
requirements of individuals seeking licensure as real estate 
brokers. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may prohibit or delay the 
acquisition of licensure as a real estate broker for individuals 
that have not held an active real estate licensure for four years, 
with two of the four immediately proceeding application for a 
broker licensure.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change may prohibit or delay the 
acquisition of licensure as a real estate broker for individuals 
that have not held an active real estate licensure for four years, 
with two of the four immediately proceeding application for a 
broker licensure.  

 

Bruce Unangst Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1701#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Marijuana Pharmacy (LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 24) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to adopt a new 
Subchapter of rules; more specifically, Chapter 24, Limited 
Service Providers, Subchapter E, Marijuana Pharmacy. The 
proposed Rule was prepared in response to Act 261 of the 
2015 Legislature and Act 96 of the 2016 Legislature, and it 
establishes standards for the packaging and labeling of 
marijuana products as well as the dispensing of such 
products in pharmacies licensed by the board. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 24. Limited Service Providers 
Subchapter E. Marijuana Pharmacy 
§2440. Preamble; Warning; Consultation Suggested 

A. Pursuant to Act 261 of the Regular Session of the 
2015 Louisiana Legislature as well as the subsequent 
amendment found in Act 96 of the Regular Session of the 
2016 Louisiana Legislature, the Board of Pharmacy was 
directed to: 

1. develop an annual, nontransferable specialty license 
for a pharmacy to dispense recommended marijuana for 
therapeutic use, to limit the number of such licenses to a 
maximum of 10, and to adopt rules regarding the 
geographical locations of dispensing pharmacies in the state; 
and 

2. adopt rules relating to the dispensing of 
recommended marijuana for therapeutic use, with such rules 
to include, at a minimum, the following: 

a. standards, procedures, and protocols for the 
effective use of recommended marijuana for therapeutic use 
as authorized by state law and related rules; 

b. standards, procedures, and protocols for the 
dispensing and tracking of recommended therapeutic 
marijuana; 

c. procedures and protocols to provide that no 
recommended therapeutic marijuana may be dispensed from, 
produced from, obtained from, sold to, or transferred to a 
location outside of this state; 

d. standards, procedures, and protocols for 
determining the amount of usable recommended therapeutic 
marijuana that is necessary to constitute an adequate supply 
to ensure uninterrupted availability for a period of one 
month, including amount for topical treatments; 

e. standards, procedures, and protocols to ensure all 
recommended therapeutic marijuana dispensed is 
consistently pharmaceutical grade; 

f. standards and procedures for the revocation, 
suspension, and nonrenewal of licenses; 

g. other licensing, renewal, and operational 
standards deemed necessary by the Board of Pharmacy; 

h. standards and procedures for testing 
recommended therapeutic marijuana samples for levels of 

tetrahydrocannabinols (THC) or other testing parameters 
deemed appropriate by the Board of Pharmacy; 

i. standards for the protection of health, safety, and 
security for dispensers of recommended therapeutic 
marijuana; 

j. standards for the licensure of dispensers of 
recommended therapeutic marijuana; and 

k. standards for financial capacity to operate a 
marijuana pharmacy.  

B. Marijuana is classified as a schedule I controlled 
substance by the U.S. Department of Justice, Drug 
Enforcement Administration. 

1. As provided by the federal Controlled Substances 
Act, the procurement, possession, prescribing, distribution, 
dispensing, or administering of any schedule I controlled 
substance, including marijuana, is a violation of federal law. 

2. Neither Louisiana law nor the board’s rules can 
preempt federal law. Therefore, the provisions of this 
Subchapter notwithstanding, persons engaged in the 
activities described herein remain subject to the full force of 
federal law enforcement, including arrest and prosecution of 
criminal charges, the assessment of civil fines and 
forfeitures, as well as administrative consequences such as 
forfeiture of federal controlled substance registrations and 
exclusion from Medicare and other federal payer programs. 

C. For the foregoing reasons, pharmacists and other 
persons credentialed by the board may wish to consult with 
their own legal counsel as well as any health care facility, 
private or governmental payor with which they are affiliated, 
professional liability insurers, and financial institutions with 
which they maintain depository relationships before 
engaging in the activities described herein. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2441. Definitions 

A. As used in this Subchapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section: 

Administer—the direct application of marijuana to the 
body of a qualifying patient by ingestion or any other means. 

Advertisement—all representations disseminated in any 
manner or by any means, other than by labeling, for the 
purpose of inducing, or which are likely to induce, directly 
or indirectly, the purchase of marijuana. 

Agent—an authorized person who acts on behalf of or at 
the direction of another person. It does not include a 
common or contract carrier, public warehouseman, or 
employee of the carrier or warehouseman. 

Approved Safe—a safe which conforms to or exceeds all 
of the following standards: 

a. shall have the following specifications or the 
equivalent: 30 man-minutes against surreptitious entry, 10 
man-minutes against forced entry, 20 man-hours against lock 
manipulation, and 20 man-hours against radiological 
techniques; 

b. if it weighs less than 750 pounds, is bolted or 
cemented to the floor or wall in such a way it cannot be 
readily removed; and 

c. depending upon the quantities stored, is equipped 
with an alarm system which, upon attempted unauthorized 
entry, shall transmit a signal directly to a central protection 
company or a local or state police agency which has a legal 
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duty to respond, or a 24-hour control station operated by the 
licensee, or such other protection as the board or its designee 
may approve. 

Approved Vault— 
a. a vault constructed before, or under construction 

on, September 1, 1971, which is of substantial construction 
with a steel door, combination or key lock, and an alarm 
system; or 

b. a vault constructed after September 1, 1971: 
 i. the walls, floors, and ceilings of which are 
constructed of at least 8 inches of reinforced concrete or 
other substantial masonry, reinforced vertically and 
horizontally with one-half inch steel rods tied 6 inches on 
center, or the structural equivalent to such reinforced walls, 
floors, and ceilings; 
 ii. the door and frame unit of which vault shall 
conform to the following specifications or the equivalent: 30 
man-minutes against surreptitious entry, 10 man-minutes 
against forced entry, 20 man-hours against lock 
manipulation, and 20 man-hours against radiological 
techniques; 
 iii. which vault, if operations require it to remain 
open for frequent access, is equipped with a “day gate” 
which is self-closing and self-locking or the equivalent, for 
use during the hours of operation in which the vault door is 
open; 
 iv. the walls or perimeter of which are equipped 
with an alarm which, upon unauthorized entry, shall transmit 
a signal directly to a central station protection company, or a 
local or state police agency which has a legal responsibility 
to respond, or a 24-hour control station operated by the 
licensee, or such other protection as the board or its designee 
may approve, and if necessary, alarm buttons at strategic 
points of entry to the perimeter area of the vault; 
 v. the door of which shall be equipped with one 
or more contact switches; and 
 vi. which vault has one of the following: 

(a). complete electrical lacing of the walls, floor 
and ceiling; 

(b). sensitive ultrasonic equipment within the 
vault; 

(c). sensitive sound accumulator system; or 
(d). such other device designed to detect illegal 

entry as may be approved by the board.  
Board—the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. 
CFR—Code of Federal Regulations. 
Deliver or Delivery—the actual, constructive or 

attempted transfer from one person to another of marijuana, 
whether or not there is an agency relationship. 

Financial Interest—any actual, or a future right to, 
ownership or investment, either directly or indirectly, 
through business, investment or immediate family. Financial 
interest does not include ownership of investment securities 
in a publicly-held corporation that is traded on a national 
exchange or over-the-counter market, provided the 
investment securities held by such person do not exceed 5 
percent of the total number of shares issued by the 
corporation. 

Immediate Family—R.S. 42:1102; i.e., his children and 
the spouses of his children, his brothers and their spouses, 
his sisters and their spouses, his parents, his spouse, and the 
parents of his spouse. 

LDAF—the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

LDH—the Louisiana Department of Health. 
Louisiana Medical Marijuana Tracking System 

(LMMTS)—the required seed-to-sale tracking system that 
tracks medical marijuana from either the seed or immature 
plant stage until the product is sold to a pharmacy or is 
destroyed. 

Marijuana—all parts of plants of the genus Cannabis, 
whether growing or not, the seeds thereof, the resin extracted 
from any part of such plant, and every compound, 
manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such 
plant, its seeds or resin, but shall not include the mature 
stalks of such plant, fiber produced from such stalks, oil or 
cake made from the seeds of such plant, any other 
compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or 
preparation of such mature stalks (except the resin extracted 
therefrom), fiber, oil, or cake, or the sterilized seed of such 
plant which is incapable of germination. 

Marijuana Pharmacy—that area within a facility where 
marijuana is stored, dispensed, and sold. If a facility does not 
offer any products or services other than marijuana and/or 
related supplies, the entire facility is a marijuana pharmacy 
for the purposes of this Subchapter. 

Marijuana Pharmacy Owner—any person with an 
ownership interest in a marijuana pharmacy, except the term 
does not include a person with an investment interest 
through a publicly-held company provided the interest held 
by such person does not exceed five per cent of the total 
ownership or interest rights in such pharmacy and such 
person does not participate directly or indirectly in the 
control, management, or operation of the pharmacy. 

Marijuana Product—any product containing marijuana, 
including raw materials, that requires no further processing 
and that is packaged for sale to pharmacies, qualifying 
patients and primary caregivers. 

Owner’s Managing Officer—the person designated by 
the organization owning the pharmacy to be responsible to 
the board for the proper operation of the pharmacy in 
compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. 

Pharmaceutical Grade Marijuana—marijuana or 
marijuana products that are not adulterated and are: 

a. processed, packaged and labeled according to the 
United States Food and Drug Administration’s “Current 
Good Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 
Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements,” 
as found in 21 CFR 111 or its successor; 

b. labeled with the results of an active ingredient 
analysis, a microbiological contaminants analysis, a 
mycotoxin analysis, a heavy metal analysis, and a pesticide 
chemical residue analysis which have been completed on a 
batch basis by a laboratory; and 

c. where each step of the production, cultivating, 
trimming, curing, manufacturing, processing, and packaging 
method has been documented by using standard operation 
procedures approved by the commissioner of the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry. 

Pharmacist—an individual currently licensed by the 
board to engage in the practice of pharmacy. 

Pharmacy Technician—an individual who assists in the 
practice of pharmacy under the direct and immediate 
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supervision of a licensed pharmacist and is currently 
certified to do so by the board. 

Physician—an individual currently licensed by the state 
Board of Medical Examiners to engage in the practice of 
medicine. 

Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP)—the 
electronic prescription drug monitoring program established 
by R.S. 40:1001 et seq. 

Producer—a person licensed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry to cultivate marijuana for 
therapeutic use. 

Production or Produce—the manufacture, planting, 
preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 
compounding, conversion or processing of marijuana, either 
directly or indirectly by extraction from substances of 
natural origin, or independently by means of chemical 
synthesis, or by a combination of extraction and chemical 
synthesis, and includes any packaging or repackaging of the 
substance or labeling or relabeling of its container, except 
that this term does not include the preparation or 
compounding of marijuana by a patient or caregiver for the 
patient’s use. 

Production Facility—a secure facility where the 
production of marijuana occurs and that is operated by a 
person to whom the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
has issued a producer license. 

Sale—any form of delivery, which includes barter, 
exchange or gift, or offer therefor, and each such transaction 
made by any person whether as principal, proprietor, agent, 
servant, or employee. 

Usable Marijuana—the dried leaves and flowers of the 
marijuana plant, and any mixtures or preparations of such 
leaves and flowers that are appropriate for the therapeutic 
use of marijuana, but does not include the seeds, stalks, and 
roots of the marijuana plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2443. Marijuana Products 

A. Exclusive Source 
1. The exclusive source of marijuana products shall be 

the producer licensed for that activity by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF).  

2. That producer shall prepare pharmaceutical grade 
marijuana products for distribution to the marijuana 
pharmacies licensed by the board.  

3. Marijuana products from any other source shall be 
deemed misbranded and/or adulterated and shall not be 
distributed to any marijuana pharmacy, nor may such 
misbranded and/or adulterated products be dispensed by any 
marijuana pharmacy. 

B. Laboratory Testing 
1. Prior to manufacturing any marijuana product, the 

producer shall segregate all harvested marijuana into 
homogenized batches. 

2. A producer shall make available each such batch at 
the production facility for testing by a laboratory approved 
by LDAF. The laboratory employee shall select a random 
sample from each batch. The laboratory shall test each 
sample for microbiological contaminants, mycotoxins, heavy 
metals, pesticide chemical residue, residual solvents, 

homogeneity, and for the purpose of conducting an active 
ingredient analysis. 

3. From the time that a batch of marijuana has been 
homogenized for sample testing and eventual packaging and 
sale to a pharmacy until the laboratory provides the results 
from its tests and analyses, the producer shall segregate and 
withhold from use the entire batch with the exception of the 
samples removed by the laboratory for testing. During this 
period of segregation, the producer shall maintain the 
marijuana batch in a secure, cool and dry location so as to 
prevent the marijuana from becoming contaminated or 
losing its efficacy. Under no circumstances shall a producer 
include marijuana in a marijuana product or sell it to a 
pharmacy prior to the time the laboratory has completed its 
testing and analysis and provided those results, in written or 
electronic form, to the producer or the producer’s designated 
employee. 

4. The laboratory shall immediately return or dispose 
of any marijuana upon the completion of any testing, use, or 
research. When the laboratory disposes of marijuana, the 
laboratory shall comply with the marijuana disposal rules 
promulgated by LDAF. 

5. In the event a sample of marijuana does not pass 
the microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, pesticide 
chemical residue, residual solvent, or homogeneity test 
based on the standards set forth in this Section, the producer 
shall dispose of the entire batch from which the sample was 
taken, in compliance with the marijuana disposal rules 
promulgated by LDAF. 

a. With respect to the microbiological test, a 
marijuana sample shall be deemed to have passed if it 
satisfies the standards set forth in Chapter 1111—
Microbiological Examination of Nonsterile Products: 
Acceptance Criteria for Pharmaceutical Preparations and 
Substances for Pharmaceutical Use of the United States 
Pharmacopeia (USP), available at www.usp.org.  

b. With respect to the mycotoxins test, a marijuana 
sample shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 
following standards: 
 i. aflatoxin B1: < 20 parts per billion (ppb); 
 ii. aflatoxin B2: < 20 ppb;  
 iii. aflatoxin G1: < 20 ppb; 
 iv. aflatoxin G2: < 20 ppb; and 
 v. ochratoxin A: < 20 ppb. 

c. With respect to the heavy metals test, a marijuana 
sample shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the 
following standards: 
 i. arsenic: < 10 parts per million (ppm); 
 ii. cadmium: < 4.1 ppm; 
 iii. lead: < 10 ppm; and 
 iv. mercury: < 2 ppm. 

d. With respect to the pesticide chemical residue 
test, a marijuana sample shall be deemed to have passed if it 
satisfies the most stringent acceptable standard for a 
pesticide chemical residue in any food item as set forth in 
subpart C of the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency’s “Tolerances and Exemptions for Pesticide 
Chemical Residues in Food”, as found in 40 CFR 180 or its 
successor. 

e. With respect to the residual solvent test, a 
marijuana sample shall be deemed to have passed if the 
following solvents are below the listed limits: 
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 i. butanes: < 800 ppm; 
 ii. heptanes: < 500 ppm; 
 iii. benzene: < 1 ppm; 
 iv. toluene: < 1 ppm; 
 v. hexanes: < 10 ppm; and 
 vi. total xylenes: < 1 ppm. 

f. With respect to the test for homogeneity, a 
marijuana sample shall be deemed to have failed if ten 
percent of the sample contains more than twenty percent of 
the total active ingredient. 

g. With respect to the analysis of active ingredients, 
the following substances, when present, shall be identified 
and measured. The maximum variance permitted is fifteen 
percent from the labeled amount. For example, a product 
labeled as containing 10 milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol 
(THC) shall contain no less than 8.5 milligrams THC and no 
more than 11.5 milligram THC: 
 i. THC (tetrahydrocannabinol); 
 ii. THCA (tetrahydrocannabinolic acid); 
 iii. CBD (cannabidiol); and 
 iv. CBDA (cannabidiolic acid). 

6. If a sample of marijuana passes the 
microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, pesticide chemical 
residue, residual solvent, and homogeneity tests, the 
laboratory shall release the entire batch for immediate 
manufacturing, packaging, and labeling for sale to a 
marijuana pharmacy. 

7. In the event of any test failure, the laboratory shall 
transmit to LDAF an electronic copy of such test result at the 
same time it transmits those results to the producer.  

8. The laboratory shall comply with all rules 
applicable to the testing of marijuana promulgated by LDAF. 

9. A producer shall provide the laboratory test results 
to the marijuana pharmacy for each batch of marijuana used 
in a product acquired by the marijuana pharmacy. The 
pharmacy shall make such testing results available upon 
request to their patients, caregivers, and physicians who 
recommended such marijuana products dispensed to their 
patients. 

C. Product Dosage Forms 
1. The producer shall limit their production of 

pharmaceutical grade marijuana products to the following 
dosage forms: 

a. oils, extracts, tinctures, or sprays; 
b. solid oral dosage forms, e.g., capsules or pills; 
c. liquid oral dosage forms, e.g., solutions or 

suspensions; 
d. edible dosage forms; 
e. topical applications, oils or lotions;  
f. transdermal patches; or  
g. suppositories. 

2. No marijuana product shall: 
a. include alcoholic liquor, dietary supplements, or 

any drug, except for pharmaceutical grade marijuana. For 
purposes of this provision, alcoholic liquor does not include 
any liquid or solid containing less than one-half of one 
percent of alcohol by volume, or ethanol-based tinctures; 

b. be manufactured or sold as a beverage; 
c. be manufactured or sold in a form or with a 

design that: 
  

 i. is obscene or indecent; 
 ii. may encourage the use of marijuana for 
recreational purposes; 
 iii. may encourage the use of marijuana for a 
condition other than a debilitating medical 
condition; or 
 iv. is customarily associated with persons under 
the age of 18; or 

d. have had pesticide chemicals or organic solvents 
used during the production or manufacturing process other 
than those which may be approved by the commissioner of 
LDAF. 

3. Any marijuana product not in compliance with the 
provisions of this Paragraph shall be deemed adulterated. 

D. Packaging and Labeling Requirements 
1. Packaging 

a. The producer shall ensure every product intended 
for dispensing to a patient is placed within a child-resistant, 
light-resistant, tamper-evident container prior to sale or 
transport to the pharmacy. 
 i. A package shall be deemed child-resistant if it 
satisfies the standard for ‘special packaging’ as set forth in 
the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission’s 
poison prevention packaging as found in 16 CFR 
1700.1(b)(4) or its successor. 
 ii. A package shall be deemed light-resistant if it 
satisfies the standard set forth in Chapter 671—Containers: 
Performance Testing of the United States Pharmacopeia 
(USP). 
 iii. A package shall be deemed tamper-evident if it 
clearly indicates prior access to the container. 

b. Any product containing pharmaceutical grade 
marijuana or its principal psychoactive constituent 
tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) shall be packaged so that one 
dose contains no more than 10 milligrams of THC. 

c. If it is not intended for the entire product to be 
used at a single time, the packaging must be re-sealable in a 
manner that maintains its child-resistant property for 
multiple openings. Single doses may be placed in a package 
with other single doses; however, the total amount of active 
THC contained within the larger packaging shall not exceed 
100 milligrams. 

d. No single container shall contain more than a one 
month supply of marijuana. 

e. Packaging selected by the producer shall be 
subject to the following restrictions: 
 i. shall not specifically target individuals under 
the age of 21 years; 
 ii. shall not bear any resemblance to a 
trademarked, characteristic or product-specialized packaging 
of any commercially available candy, snack, baked good or 
beverage; 
 iii. shall not use the words “candy” or “candies”; 
iv. shall not use a cartoon, color scheme, image, graphic or 
feature that might make the package attractive to children; 
and 
 iv. shall not use a seal, flag, crest, coat of arms or 
other insignia that could reasonably lead any person to 
believe the product has been endorsed, manufactured by, or 
used by any state, parish, municipality, or any agent thereof. 
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2. Labeling 
a. Each product shall be labeled by the producer 

prior to its sale to the marijuana pharmacy. Each label shall 
be securely affixed to the package and shall include, at a 
minimum: 
 i. the batch or lot number assigned by the 
producer to the marijuana plant(s) from which the marijuana 
used in the product was harvested; 
 ii. a complete list of solvents, chemicals, and 
pesticides used in the creation of any marijuana concentrate; 
 iii. a complete list of all ingredients used to 
manufacture the product, which may include a list of any 
potential allergens contained within, or used in the 
manufacture of, a product; 
 iv. the potency of the THC and CBD in the 
product, expressed in milligrams for each cannabinoids; 
v. The net weight, using a standard of measure compatible 
with the LMMTS, of the product prior to its placement in the 
shipping container; 
 v. a product expiration date, upon which the 
product will no longer be fit for use. Once a label with an 
expiration date has been affixed to a product, the producer 
shall not alter that date or affix a new label with a later date; 
and 
 vi. a statement the product has been tested for 
contaminants, that there were no adverse findings, and the 
date of such testing. 

b. The labeling text on any marijuana product shall 
not make any false or misleading statements regarding 
health or physical benefits to the consumer. Further, each 
label shall include all of the following statements: 
 i. “Contains Marijuana. For Medical Use Only. 
KEEP OUT OF THE REACH OF CHILDREN.”; 
 ii. “Marijuana can impair concentration, 
coordination, and judgment. Do not operate a 
vehicle or machinery under the influence of this drug.”; 
 iii. “There may be additional health risks 
associated with the consumption of this product for women 
who are pregnant, breastfeeding, or planning to become 
pregnant.”; 
 iv. a statement that it is illegal for any person to 
possess or consume the contents of the 
package other than the patient for whom it was 
recommended.  

c. The labeling text required by this Section shall be 
no smaller than 1/16 of an inch, shall be printed in English, 
and must be unobstructed and conspicuous. 

E. Distribution of Marijuana Products to Marijuana 
Pharmacies 

1. The producer shall maintain complete inventory 
records in the Louisiana medical marijuana tracking system 
(LMMTS), as required and delineated in rules promulgated 
by LDAF. 

2. The producer shall maintain comprehensive records 
in LMMTS of all marijuana products distributed to the 
marijuana pharmacies, whether by transport and delivery to 
the pharmacy or by transfer to the agent of the pharmacy at 
the production facility. 

3. In the event the producer delivers the products to 
the pharmacy, such activities must be in compliance with the 
rules for that activity promulgated by LDAF. 

4. In the event the pharmacy elects to send an agent to 
the production facility to retrieve products ordered by the 
pharmacy, the personnel at the production facility shall 
verify the identity and credentials of the pharmacy’s agent 
before releasing the products to the agent. 

a. The producer shall provide a copy of the 
transport manifest generated by LMMTS, which shall 
contain the following information: 
 i. the name and address of the producer selling 
the product; 
 ii. the name and address of the pharmacy 
purchasing the product; 
 iii. the name and quantity (by weight or unit) of 
marijuana products included in the delivery; 
 iv. the date of transport and time of departure from 
the production facility; 
 v. the make, model, and license plate number of 
the delivery vehicle; 
 vi. the date and time of arrival at the pharmacy; 
and 
 vii. the name and signature of the pharmacy’s 
agent. 

b. The pharmacy’s agent shall compare the transport 
manifest to the products transferred to his possession, and 
when correct, shall return a signed copy of the manifest to 
the producer before departing from the production facility. 

c. The pharmacy’s agent shall place the products in 
a locked, safe, and secure storage compartment that is part of 
the motor vehicle, or in the alternative, in a locked storage 
container that has a separate key or combination pad, and 
further, the product shall not visible or recognizable from 
outside the vehicle, and further, the vehicle shall not bear the 
name of the pharmacy or any markings to indicate the 
vehicle contains marijuana. 

d. The pharmacy’s agent shall maintain physical 
control of the vehicle at all times during the transport, and 
shall not leave the vehicle unattended at any time. 

e. The pharmacy’s agent shall have access to a 
secure form of communication with the pharmacy as well as 
the ability to contact law enforcement through the 911 
emergency system. 

f. Upon arrival at the pharmacy, the pharmacy’s 
agent shall deliver the product to a pharmacist for 
verification of receipt; the pharmacist shall time, date, and 
sign the delivery manifest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2445. Marijuana Pharmacy Permit 

A. The board shall develop and configure a pharmacy 
permit designated as a marijuana pharmacy permit. 

B. The dispensing of marijuana for therapeutic purposes 
shall be restricted to those pharmacies holding a marijuana 
pharmacy permit issued by the board, and only when that 
permit is in active or restricted status. 

C. When issued to a successful applicant, the permit will 
authorize the operation of a marijuana pharmacy in 
compliance with the provisions of this Subchapter. 

D. When the permit is issued, it shall be valid only for 
the owner and the specific location noted on the application 
and recorded on the permit. 
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E. A marijuana pharmacy permit is non-transferable 
from one owner to another owner, and moreover, in the 
event the ownership of the organization that acquired the 
permit changes by 50 percent or more, then the ownership 
will be deemed sufficiently different as to require a new 
marijuana pharmacy permit. A marijuana pharmacy permit 
owner continuing to operate a marijuana pharmacy after its 
ownership has changed by 50 percent or more without 
obtaining a new marijuana pharmacy permit shall be deemed 
guilty of operating a pharmacy without a valid permit, in 
violation of R.S. 37:1221. 

F. Although a change of ownership of less than 50 
percent shall not require a new pharmacy permit, any 
proposed change of ownership shall require prior notice to 
the board, and further, approval by the board. 

G. The board shall not have more than 10 active 
marijuana pharmacy permits at any given time. To facilitate 
compliance with that legislative restriction, the board 
recognizes the nine regions previously declared by the 
Department of Health, to wit: 

1. metropolitan, composed of the parishes of 
Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard; 

2. capitol, composed of the parishes of Ascension, 
East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Pointe Coupee, 
West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana; 

3. Teche, composed of the parishes of Assumption, 
Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, St. Mary, and 
Terrebonne; 

4. Acadian, composed of the parishes of Acadia, 
Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, and 
Vermilion; 

5. southwest, composed of the parishes of Allen, 
Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jefferson Davis; 

6. central, composed of the parishes of Avoyelles, 
Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Rapides, Vernon, and 
Winn; 

7. northwest, composed of the parishes of Bienville, 
Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red 
River, Sabine, and Webster; 

8. northeast, composed of the parishes of Caldwell, 
East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, 
Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union, and West 
Carroll; and 

9. southeast, composed of the parishes of Livingston, 
St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, and Washington. 

H. To achieve an equitable distribution of the marijuana 
pharmacy permits across the state, the board shall reserve 
one marijuana pharmacy permit for each of the nine regions 
identified above. In the event the board is convinced of the 
need for a second permit in one region, it may issue that 
permit following the procedures identified in this 
Subchapter. Further expansion will require a legislative 
amendment of the original restriction. 

I. When the board is prepared to receive and process 
applications for and issue marijuana pharmacy permits, it 
shall publish on its internet web site, and in such other 
places as the board deems appropriate, a notice to that effect. 
Such notice shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. the maximum number of permits to be awarded; 
2. information on how to obtain an application; 
3. the deadline for receipt of applications; 
4. acceptable methods for submitting an application; 

5. the preferred locations, if any, for the marijuana 
pharmacy permits; and 

6. the criteria that shall be considered in awarding the 
marijuana pharmacy permits. 

J. Following the deadline for receipt of applications, the 
board shall evaluate each complete and timely submitted 
application and award marijuana pharmacy permits on a 
competitive basis based on the criteria set out in the notice 
for applications. In the event the board determines there are 
an insufficient number of qualified applicants to award all of 
the marijuana pharmacy permits the board has determined 
are desirable, the board may republish, in accordance with 
this Section, a notice of open applications for marijuana 
pharmacy permits. 

K. The board shall have the right to amend the notice of 
open applications prior to the deadline for submitting an 
application. Such amended notice shall be published in the 
same manner as the original notice of open applications. 

L. The board shall have the right to cancel a notice of 
open applications prior to the award of a marijuana 
pharmacy permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2447. Licensing Procedures 

A. Application for Initial Issuance of Permit 
1. The board shall develop an application form 

suitable for the marijuana pharmacy permit. The board may 
revise that application form on its own initiative in order to 
collect the information it deems necessary to properly 
evaluate an applicant. 

2. The board shall not process applications received 
by facsimile, or that are incomplete, or submitted with the 
incorrect fee. 

3. The applicant shall fully disclose the ownership of 
the entity that will own the permit as well as any additional 
holding companies that may exist, such that any natural 
person with any ownership interest shall be fully identified. 

4. In the event any person holding any ownership 
interest in the entity submitting an application for a 
marijuana pharmacy permit has engaged in any of the 
following activities, the entity shall be disqualified and the 
board shall not issue a marijuana pharmacy permit to that 
applicant: 

a. within the two-year period preceding the date of 
the application, has made a contribution to a candidate in a 
Louisiana election for a statewide elected official or state 
legislative election governed by the provisions of the 
Campaign Finance Disclosure Act (R.S. 14:1481); or  

b. within the two-year period preceding the date of 
the application, the person or any member of the person’s 
immediate family held a position in state service in 
Louisiana, including but not limited to, a legislator, 
statewide public official, state employee, or member of the 
board. 

5. The applicant shall provide a complete street 
address reflecting the location at which the applicant 
proposes to operate the marijuana pharmacy. 

6. The applicant shall provide the following 
information and records in the application process: 

a. a detailed description of any other services or 
products to be offered by the marijuana pharmacy; 
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b. details regarding the applicant’s plans to maintain 
adequate control against the diversion, theft, or loss of 
marijuana; 

c. documents or information sufficient to establish 
the applicant is authorized to conduct business in Louisiana 
and that all applicable state and local building, fire and 
zoning requirements, and local ordinances will be met; 

d. text and graphic materials showing the exterior 
appearance of the proposed marijuana pharmacy and its site 
compatibility with commercial or residential structures 
already constructed or under construction within the 
immediate neighborhood; 

e. a blueprint of the proposed marijuana pharmacy 
which shall, at a minimum, show and identify: 
 i. the square footage of the area which will 
constitute the prescription department; 
 ii. the square footage of the overall marijuana 
pharmacy; 
 iii. the square footage and location of areas used as 
storerooms or stockrooms; 
 iv. the size of the counter that will be used for the 
dispensing and sale of marijuana; 
 v. the location of the marijuana pharmacy sink 
and refrigerator, if any; 
 vi. the location of all approved safes and vaults 
that will be used to store marijuana; 
 vii. the location of the toilet facilities; 
 viii. the location of the break room and location of 
lockers for personal belongings; 
 ix. the location and size of the patient counseling 
area(s); 
 x. the location(s) where any other products or 
services will be offered; and 
 xi. the location of all areas that may contain 
marijuana showing the location of walls, partitions, counters, 
and all areas of ingress and egress. 

f. Such other documents and information 
reasonably required by the board to determine the 
applicant’s suitability for permitting or to protect the public’s 
health and safety. 

7. The owner’s managing officer and the pharmacist-
in-charge shall be fully identified within the application and 
they both shall sign and date the application form. 

8. The applicant shall direct the following persons to 
submit to the criminal history record check process used by 
the board, at the applicant’s expense: 

a. the owner’s managing officer; 
b. the pharmacist-in-charge; and 
c. any person holding any share of ownership in the 

entity; provided however that any person not holding any 
share of ownership but holding a corporate officer position 
in the entity may be required to submit to the criminal 
history record check. 

9. The requirement for a criminal history record check 
may be waived by the board in the event the person has 
already completed that process for the board within the two-
year period prior to the date of the application. 

10. The applicant shall supplement the application form 
with sufficient documentation of the applicant’s financial 
capacity to properly operate a marijuana pharmacy,

including but not limited to, evidence of his escrow account, 
letter of credit, or surety bond of at least $1,000,000 in a 
financial institution headquartered in Louisiana. 

a. The pharmacy’s $1,000,000 escrow account, 
letter of credit, or surety bond shall be payable to the board 
in the event the board determines after a due process hearing 
that the pharmacy has failed to timely and successfully 
complete the construction of the pharmacy or to operate such 
pharmacy in compliance with the provisions of this 
Subchapter. 

b. The board shall permit the pharmacy’s escrow 
account, letter of credit, or surety bond to be reduced by 
$250,000 upon the successful achievement of each of the 
following milestones: 
 i. a determination by the board that the pharmacy 
is fully operational and able to commence and has begun 
dispensing of marijuana as provided in this Subchapter; 
 ii. a determination by the board that the pharmacy 
remained operational and without 
substantial interruption and without any violation of law or 
regulation for a one-year period; and 
 iii. a determination by the board that the pharmacy 
remained operational and without 
substantial interruption and without any violation of law or 
regulation for a second one-year period; 
 iv. the pharmacy shall maintain the escrow 
account, letter of credit, or surety bond for a 
minimum of $250,000 for the remainder of its operation. 

c. In the event a pharmacy voluntarily chooses not 
to renew the pharmacy permit and follows proper closure 
procedures, the board shall extinguish the obligations under 
the escrow account, letter of credit, or surety bond at the end 
of the permit’s term. 

11. In the event any information contained in the 
application or accompanying documents changes after being 
submitted to the board, the applicant shall immediately 
notify the board in writing and provide corrected 
information in a timely manner so as not to disrupt the 
application processing or permit selection process. 

12. The board may verify information contained in 
each application and accompanying documentation in order 
to assess the applicant’s character and fitness to operate a 
marijuana pharmacy. The board may verify the information 
and assess the applicant’s character and fitness by, among 
other actions: 

a. contacting the applicant by telephone, electronic 
mail, mail, or such other means as is reasonable under the 
circumstances; 

b. conducting one or more on-site visits of the 
location for the proposed marijuana pharmacy, or other 
pharmacies associated with the applicant or any of the 
applicant’s owners; 

c. conducting background checks or contacting 
references of the applicant, its managing officer, any of the 
corporate officers, or any shareholder, as well as the 
pharmacist-in-charge; 

d. contacting state regulators in any other states 
where the applicant, the applicant’s owners or corporate 
officers, or its pharmacist-in-charge are engaged in, or have 
sought to be engaged in, any aspect of that state’s medical 
marijuana program; or 
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e. requiring a personal meeting with the owner’s 
managing officer and the pharmacist-in-charge and the 
submission of additional information or documents. 

13. The application shall be accompanied by payment 
of the permit fees and administrative hearing fee authorized 
by R.S. 37:1184 and 40:1013. 

14. When the staff has determined an entity’s 
application package is complete, the application shall be 
referred to the board’s application review committee, and 
further, the applicant shall be properly notified at least 30 
days prior to the committee’s hearing during which their 
application will be considered. 

15. During the hearing held by the board’s application 
review committee, the members shall consider, but are not 
limited to, the following criteria when evaluating an 
application for a marijuana pharmacy permit: 

a. the character and fitness of the owner’s managing 
officer, the pharmacist-in-charge, any of the owners and any 
other person who may have control or influence over the 
operation of the proposed marijuana pharmacy; 

b. the location for the proposed marijuana pharmacy 
including, but not limited to: 
 i. its proximity to previously approved marijuana 
pharmacies or locations of proposed marijuana pharmacies 
with pending applications; 
 ii. whether the patient population in the area 
proposed by the marijuana pharmacy permit applicant 
justifies the need for a marijuana pharmacy, or an additional 
marijuana pharmacy, in that area; 
 iii. whether the proximity of the proposed 
marijuana pharmacy will have a detrimental effect upon any 
place used primarily for religious worship, public or private 
school, convent, charitable institution, whether supported by 
private or public funds, hospital or veterans' home or any 
camp or military establishment; or 
 iv. whether the number of marijuana pharmacies 
in the locality is such that the granting of a 
permit is detrimental to the public interest. In reaching a 
conclusion in this respect, the board may consider the 
population of, the number of like permits and number of all 
permits existent in, the particular municipality and the 
immediate neighborhood concerned, the effect that a new 
permit may have on such town or neighborhood or on like 
permits existent in such municipality or neighborhood; 

c. the applicant’s ability to maintain adequate 
control against the diversion, theft and loss of marijuana; 

d. the applicant’s ability to maintain the knowledge, 
understanding, judgment, procedures, security controls and 
ethics to ensure optimal safety and accuracy in the 
dispensing and sale of marijuana; and 

e. the extent to which the applicant or any of the 
applicant’s owners have a financial interest in any other 
permittee, licensee, registrant, or other applicant currently or 
previously credentialed by the board; and 

f. any other reason provided by any federal law or 
rule or state law or rule that is not inconsistent with the Act. 

16. Following their evaluation of the applications for a 
marijuana pharmacy permit, the committee shall develop a 
recommendation for presentation to the board at the board’s 
next meeting. The board may accept the committee’s 
recommendation, select an alternative applicant, reject all of 

the applicants, or return all the applicants to the committee 
for their reconsideration. 

17. The board may disqualify any applicant who: 
a. submits an incomplete, false, inaccurate, or 

misleading application; 
b. fails to submit an application by the published 

deadline; or 
c. fails to pay all applicable fees. 

18. The decision of the board to award or not to award 
a marijuana pharmacy permit to an applicant shall be final. 

19. Upon the approval of an application, the board shall 
issue the marijuana pharmacy permit and state controlled 
dangerous substance license to the applicant. 

20. If an applicant has been awarded a marijuana 
pharmacy permit and has not commenced operation of such 
pharmacy within 180 days of being notified of the marijuana 
pharmacy permit award, the board may, in the board’s 
discretion, rescind such marijuana pharmacy permit, unless 
such delay was caused by force majeure. A marijuana 
pharmacy shall be deemed to have commenced operation if 
the pharmacy is capable of operating in accordance with the 
applicant’s approved application. In the event a marijuana 
pharmacy permit is rescinded pursuant to this subsection, the 
board shall award a marijuana pharmacy permit by selecting 
among the qualified applicants who applied for the 
marijuana pharmacy permit that was rescinded. If no other 
qualified applicant applied for such marijuana pharmacy 
permit or satisfied the criteria for awarding a permit, the 
board shall publish, in accordance with this Section, a notice 
of open applications for marijuana pharmacy permits. 

B. Application for Renewal of Permit 
1. All marijuana pharmacy permits expire at midnight 

on December 31 of every year, regardless of the date of its 
initial issuance. 

2. The owner’s managing officer and pharmacist-in-
charge of the marijuana pharmacy permit shall complete, 
sign and date a permit renewal application form supplied by 
the board, and further, shall include all information 
requested on the form and include the pharmacy permit 
renewal fee and state controlled dangerous substance license 
renewal fee authorized in R.S. 37:1184 prior to the 
expiration the pharmacy permit. 

3. The board shall not process applications received 
by facsimile, or that are incomplete, or submitted with the 
incorrect fees. 

4. In the event the pharmacy does not submit a 
properly completed renewal application form and fee to the 
board prior to the expiration of the permit, the permit shall 
be rendered null and void. A marijuana pharmacy shall not 
operate with an expired permit. Evidence it has done so will 
provide sufficient basis for the board to discipline the permit 
for violation of R.S. 37:1241(12). 

5. An application for the late renewal of an expired 
(lapsed) marijuana pharmacy permit that is received in the 
board office no later than thirty days after the expiration date 
of the permit may be processed by the board staff, provided 
the appropriate delinquent fee authorized in R.S. 37:1184 is 
included with the application. 

6. A marijuana pharmacy permit not renewed by thirty 
days after the expiration date shall be automatically 
terminated by the board. 
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7. An application for the reinstatement of a terminated 
marijuana pharmacy permit shall be referred to the board’s 
reinstatement committee for its consideration. 

C. Application for Reinstatement of Terminated, 
Suspended, or Revoked Marijuana Pharmacy Permits 

1. The applicant shall complete an application form 
for this specific purpose supplied by the board; the 
application shall require the inclusion of the annual renewal 
fee, the delinquent fee, the administrative hearing fee, and 
the reinstatement fees authorized in R.S. 37:1184 and the 
program fee authorized in R.S. 40:1013. 

2. An application for the reinstatement of a marijuana 
pharmacy permit previously terminated, suspended or 
revoked by the board may only be approved following a 
preliminary hearing to determine whether the reinstatement 
of the permit is in the public’s best interest. 

D. Maintenance of Marijuana Pharmacy Permit 
1. A marijuana pharmacy permit is valid only for the 

entity or person to whom it is issued and shall not be subject 
to sale, assignment or other transfer, voluntary or 
involuntary, nor shall the permit be valid for any premises 
other than the business location recorded thereon. 

2. A duplicate or replacement permit shall be issued 
upon the written request of the licensee and payment of the 
fee authorized in R.S. 37:1184. A duplicate or replacement 
license shall not serve or be used as an additional or second 
license. 

3. Prior to any person affiliating with a marijuana 
pharmacy, including any change in the ownership of the 
permit, such person shall comply with the credentialing 
requirements of the board. No person shall commence their 
affiliation with a marijuana pharmacy until approved by the 
board. 

4. Prior to making any change in the marijuana 
pharmacy’s name or trade name, the owner of the permit 
shall notify the board and request approval of the 
contemplated name or trade name. The board shall 
reasonably accommodate such requests, unless there is cause 
not to do so (e.g., duplicative or misleading names). The 
marijuana pharmacy shall not change its name or trade name 
until approved by the board. 

5. Prior to any modification, remodeling, expansion, 
reduction, other physical, non-cosmetic alteration of the 
marijuana pharmacy, the owner of the permit shall notify the 
board and request approval of the contemplated change(s). 
The board shall reasonably accommodate such request, 
unless there is cause not to do so (e.g., inconsistent with 
operating requirements). The marijuana pharmacy shall not 
make such changes until approved by the board. 

6. Prior to any change in the location of a marijuana 
pharmacy, the owner of the permit shall submit an 
application form for that purpose supplied by the board and 
pay the appropriate fee authorized in R.S. 37:1184. The 
board may require an inspection of the new location prior to 
the issuance of the permit for the new location. No 
marijuana pharmacy shall commence operation in a new 
location until approved by the board. 

7. The owner of the pharmacy permit shall notify the 
board no later than ten days following a change in the 
pharmacist-in-charge for the marijuana pharmacy permit. 

8. The owner of the pharmacy permit shall notify the 
board no later than 10 days following a change in the 

owner’s managing officer for the marijuana pharmacy 
permit. 

9. In the event a marijuana pharmacy contemplates 
permanent closure, the pharmacist-in-charge shall notify the 
board in accordance with the rules governing the permanent 
closure of a pharmacy as described in Chapter 11 of the 
board’s rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2449. Marijuana Pharmacy Personnel; Therapeutic 

Marijuana Designation 
A. No person shall be employed by, or affiliated with, a 

marijuana pharmacy prior to their eighteenth birthday. 
B. The owner’s managing officer and all persons holding 

a professional credential from the board shall first obtain a 
therapeutic marijuana (TM) designation from the board 
before affiliating with a marijuana pharmacy. 

C. The board may issue a TM designation to a person 
who has filed the application for that designation supplied by 
the board and has completed a criminal background check 
for the board within the two year period prior to the date of 
the application for the TM designation, and that person: 

1. has been listed as an owner’s managing officer on 
an application for a marijuana pharmacy permit, or on a 
request to become a replacement owner’s managing officer 
for an existing marijuana pharmacy permit; or 

2. holds one of the following professional credentials 
issued by the board (pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or 
certified pharmacy technician) and further, that professional 
credential was issued by the board at least two years prior to 
the date of the application for the TM designation, is in 
active status and has not been disciplined by the board 
within the two-year period prior to the date of the 
application for the TM designation. 

D. The board may restrict, suspend, or revoke a TM 
designation for cause, but only pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

E. No pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or certified 
pharmacy technician may practice within a marijuana 
pharmacy in the absence of an active professional credential, 
an active TM designation, as well as access privileges to the 
state prescription monitoring program. A pharmacist may 
elect to not allow a pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician 
to function as his delegate with respect to access privileges 
to the state prescription monitoring program, but the 
pharmacist shall have such access. A pharmacy technician 
candidate shall not practice in a marijuana pharmacy. 

F. A pharmacist shall first acquire a pharmacist-in-
charge (PIC) privilege, as described in §1105 of the board’s 
rules, and the TM designation, as described in this Section, 
before accepting an appointment as the PIC of a marijuana 
pharmacy. 

1. The PIC of the marijuana pharmacy shall comply 
with the requirements of §1105 of the board’s rules. 

2. The PIC shall be responsible for notice to the board 
of all pharmacists, pharmacy interns, and pharmacy 
technicians practicing at the marijuana pharmacy. The PIC 
shall cause such notice to be received in the board office in 
written form (mail, fax, or electronic mail) no later than ten 
days after the arrival or departure of the pharmacist, 
pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician. 
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G. The PIC shall insure and document the initial and 
continuing competency of the entire professional staff to 
provide the pharmacy care services rendered at the 
marijuana pharmacy. At a minimum, the PIC shall provide 
access to education and training in the following domains: 

1. policies and procedures of the pharmacy, especially 
those relating to the tasks and functions that employee is 
expected to perform; 

2. professional conduct, ethics, and patient 
confidentiality; and 

3. developments in the therapeutic use of marijuana. 
Further, the PIC shall document such education and training, 
provide such records to the board when requested, and retain 
such records for at least two years after the employee 
disassociates with the pharmacy. 

H. The PIC shall comply with the professional 
supervision rules and ratios found in Chapter 7 (pharmacy 
interns) and Chapter 9 (pharmacy technicians) of the board’s 
rules. 

I. In addition to the scope of practice limitations found 
in Chapter 9 of the board’s rules, pharmacy technicians 
practicing in a marijuana pharmacy shall not: 

1. consult with a patient or the patient’s caregiver 
regarding marijuana or other drugs, either before or after 
marijuana has been dispensed, or regarding any medical 
information contained in a patient medication record; 

2. consult with the physician who issued the 
recommendation/prescription/order for marijuana to the 
patient, or the physician’s agent, regarding a patient or any 
medical information pertaining to the patient’s marijuana or 
any other drug the patient may be taking; 

3. interpret the patient’s clinical data or provide 
medical advice; 

4. perform professional consultations with physicians, 
nurses, or other health care professionals or their authorized 
agents; or 

5. determine whether a different brand or formulation 
of marijuana should be dispensed for the marijuana product 
or formulation recommended/prescribed/ordered by the 
physician or requested by the patient or his caregiver. 

AUHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:  
§2451. Operation of Marijuana Pharmacy 

A. No person may operate a marijuana pharmacy without 
a marijuana pharmacy permit issued by the board, and 
further, that permit shall be in active or restricted status. A 
pharmacist shall be on duty at all times during the regular 
open hours of the marijuana pharmacy. 

B. A marijuana pharmacy shall not dispense marijuana 
from, obtain marijuana from, or transfer marijuana to, a 
location outside of the state of Louisiana. 

C. A marijuana pharmacy shall not obtain, cultivate, 
deliver, transfer, transport, sell or dispense marijuana except: 

1. it may acquire marijuana from an authorized 
producer pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 40:1046; and 

2. it may dispense and sell marijuana to a patient with 
a recommendation/prescription/order for such marijuana or 
the patient’s caregiver. 

D. No person at a marijuana pharmacy shall provide 
marijuana samples. 

E. A marijuana pharmacy shall sell marijuana products 
only in the original sealed containers or packaging as 
delivered by the producer, except that a pharmacist may 
remove the marijuana product from the producer’s child-
resistant container or package and place the marijuana 
product in a non-child-resistant, secure and light-resistant 
container upon a written request from the patient or 
caregiver so long as all original labeling is maintained with 
the product. 

F. Only a pharmacist may dispense marijuana, and only 
a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician may 
sell marijuana to patients and caregivers. A pharmacy intern 
or pharmacy technician may assist, under the direct 
supervision of a pharmacist, in the dispensing of marijuana. 

G. A marijuana pharmacy shall place all products sold to 
the patient or caregiver in an opaque package that shall not 
indicate the contents of the package, the originating facility 
or in any other way cause another person to believe that the 
package may contain marijuana. 

H. A marijuana pharmacy shall not permit any person to 
enter the prescription department unless that person’s 
responsibilities necessitate access to the department and then 
for only as long as necessary to perform the person’s job 
duties. 

I. While inside the pharmacy, all pharmacy employees 
shall wear name tags or similar forms of identification that 
clearly identify them to the public, including their position at 
the pharmacy. 

J. A marijuana pharmacy shall be open for qualifying 
patients and primary caregivers to purchase marijuana 
products for a minimum of 10 hours per week. 

1. A marijuana pharmacy that closes during its normal 
hours of operation shall implement procedures to notify 
patients and caregivers of when the marijuana pharmacy will 
resume normal hours of operation. Such procedures may 
include, but are not limited to, telephone system messages 
and conspicuously posted signs.  

2. In the event the pharmacist on duty leaves the 
prescription department, the prescription department shall 
comply with the provisions of §1109 (temporary absence) or 
§1111 (closure) of the board’s rules. 

K. A marijuana pharmacy shall provide information to 
patients and caregivers regarding the possession and use of 
marijuana. Such informational material shall include 
information related to: 

1. limitations on the right to possess and use 
marijuana pursuant to R.S. 40:1046; 

2. safe techniques for proper use of marijuana and 
paraphernalia; 

3. alternative methods and forms of consumption by 
which one can use marijuana; 

4. signs and symptoms of substance abuse; and 
5. opportunities to participate in substance abuse 

programs. 
L. The marijuana pharmacy shall establish, implement 

and adhere to a written alcohol-free, drug-free and smoke-
free work place policy, which shall be available to the board 
upon request. 
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M. The receipt of all deliveries from producers shall be 
carried out under the direct supervision of a pharmacist who 
shall be present to accept the delivery. Upon delivery, the 
marijuana shall immediately be placed in an approved safe 
or approved vault within the pharmacy where marijuana is 
stored. 

N. No marijuana pharmacy shall sell anything other than 
marijuana products; however, the pharmacy may elect to sell 
over-the-counter (OTC) medications and/or durable medical 
equipment (DME) from the same premises but outside the 
prescription department. 

O. No marijuana shall be administered on the premises 
of a marijuana pharmacy, except during patient counseling, 
education or training. 

P. No person associated with a marijuana pharmacy 
shall enter into any agreement with a physician or health 
care facility concerning the provision of services or 
equipment that may adversely affect any person's freedom to 
choose the marijuana pharmacy at which the patient or 
caregiver will purchase marijuana. 

Q. No marijuana shall be sold, dispensed or distributed 
via a delivery service or any other manner outside of a 
marijuana pharmacy, except that a caregiver may deliver 
marijuana to the caregiver’s patient. 

R. No marijuana shall be sold when the marijuana 
pharmacy is closed and not open for business. 

S. Board representatives, local law enforcement or other 
federal, state or local government officials may enter any 
area of a marijuana pharmacy if necessary to perform their 
governmental duties. 

T. Right of inspection. The board, or its agent, 
representative, or designee, is authorized: 

1. to enter a marijuana pharmacy at any time during 
its hours of operation, or any other place, including a 
vehicle, wherein marijuana is held, dispensed, sold, or 
otherwise disposed of; 

2. to inspect within reasonable limits and in a 
reasonable manner, such place and all pertinent equipment, 
finished and unfinished material, containers and labeling, 
and all things therein, including records, files, financial data, 
sales data, shipping data, pricing data, employee data, 
research, papers, processes, controls and facilities; and 

3. to inventory any stock of marijuana therein and 
obtain samples of any marijuana or marijuana product, any 
labels or containers for marijuana, paraphernalia, and of any 
finished and unfinished material. 

U. Inspection of Records. Every person required to 
prepare, obtain or keep records, logs, reports or other 
documents, and every person in charge, or having custody, 
of such documents shall maintain such documents in an 
auditable format for no less than two years. Upon request, 
such person shall make such documents immediately 
available for inspection and copying by the board or its 
authorized representative. In complying with this Section, no 
person shall use a foreign language or codes or symbols to 
designate marijuana types or persons in the keeping of any 
required document. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:  

§2453. Security Requirements for Marijuana 
Pharmacies 

A. A marijuana pharmacy shall: 
1. store all marijuana in an approved safe or vault, as 

defined in this Subchapter, and in such a manner as to 
prevent diversion, theft, or loss; 

2. maintain all marijuana in a secure area or location 
accessible only to specifically authorized employees, which 
shall include only the minimum number of employees 
essential for efficient operation; 

3. not permit any person less than eighteen years of 
age to enter the prescription department, with the exception 
of patients being counseled by the pharmacist; 

4. keep all approved safes and vaults securely locked 
and protected from entry, except for the actual time required 
to remove or replace marijuana; 

5. keep all locks and security equipment in good 
working order; 

6. not allow keys to be left in the locks and not store 
or place keys in a location accessible to persons other than 
specifically authorized employees; 

7. not allow other security measures, such as 
combination numbers, passwords or electronic or biometric 
security systems, to be accessible to persons other than 
specifically authorized employees; 

8. keep the pharmacy securely locked and protected 
from entry by unauthorized employees;  

9. keep the outside perimeter of the pharmacy 
premises well-lit; and 

10. post a sign at all entry ways into any area of the 
pharmacy containing marijuana, including a room with an 
approved safe or vault, which sign shall be a minimum of 12 
inches in height and 12 inches in width which shall state: 
“Do Not EnterLimited Access AreaAccess Limited to 
Authorized Employees Only” in lettering no smaller than 1/2 
inch in height. 

B. All pharmacies shall have an adequate security 
system to prevent and detect diversion, theft or loss of 
marijuana utilizing commercial grade equipment, which 
shall include at a minimum: 

1. a perimeter alarm; 
2. motion detector; 
3. video cameras in all areas that may contain 

marijuana and at all points of entry and exit, which shall be 
appropriate for the normal lighting conditions of the area 
under surveillance. The pharmacy shall direct cameras at all 
approved safes and vaults, dispensing areas, marijuana sales 
areas and any other area where marijuana is being stored or 
handled. At entry and exit points, the pharmacy shall angle 
cameras so as to allow for the capture of clear and certain 
identification of any person entering or exiting the 
pharmacy; 

4. 24-hour recordings from all video cameras, which 
the pharmacy shall make available for immediate viewing by 
the board or its authorized representative upon request and 
shall retain for at least 30 days. If a pharmacy is aware of a 
pending criminal, civil, or administrative investigation or 
legal proceeding for which a recording may contain relevant 
information, the pharmacy shall retain an unaltered copy of 
the recording until the investigation or proceeding is closed
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or the entity conducting the investigation or proceeding 
notifies the pharmacy that it is not necessary to retain the 
recording: 

a. all video recordings shall allow for the exporting 
of still images in an industry standard image format, 
including .jpg, .bmp, and .gif. Exported video shall have the 
ability to be archived in a proprietary format that ensures 
authentication of the video and guarantees that no alteration 
of the recorded image has taken place. Exported video shall 
also have the ability to be saved in an industry standard file 
format that can be played on a standard computer operating 
system. A pharmacy shall erase all recordings prior to 
disposal or sale of the pharmacy; 

5. duress alarm, which for purposes of this Subsection 
means a silent security alarm system signal generated by the 
entry of a designated code in into an arming station in order 
to signal that the alarm user is being forced to turn off the 
system. 

6. panic alarm, which for purposes of this Subsection 
means an audible security alarm system signal generated by 
the manual activation of a device intended to signal a life-
threatening or emergency situation requiring a law 
enforcement response; 

7. holdup alarm, which for purposes of this 
Subsection means a silent alarm signal generated by the 
manual activation of a device intended to signal a robbery in 
progress; 

8. automatic voice dialer, which for purposes of this 
Subsection means any electrical, electronic, mechanical, or 
other device capable of being programmed to send a 
prerecorded voice message, when activated, over a telephone 
line, radio or other communication system, to a law 
enforcement, public safety or emergency services agency 
requesting dispatch; 

9. a failure notification system that provides an 
audible, text or visual notification of any failure in the 
surveillance system. The failure notification system shall 
provide an alert to the pharmacy within five minutes of the 
failure, either by telephone, email, or text message; 

10. the ability to immediately produce a clear color still 
photo that is a minimum of 9600 dpi from any camera image 
(live or recorded); 

11. a date and time stamp embedded on all recordings. 
The date and time shall be synchronized and set correctly 
and shall not significantly obscure the picture; and 

12. the ability to remain operational during a power 
outage. 

C. A pharmacy shall maintain all security system 
equipment and recordings in a secure location so as to 
prevent theft, loss, destruction, or alterations. 

1. A pharmacy shall keep all on-site surveillance 
rooms locked and shall not use such rooms for any other 
function. 

2. A pharmacy shall limit access to surveillance areas 
to persons that are essential to surveillance operations, law 
enforcement agencies, security system service employees, 
and the board’s authorized representative. 

3. A pharmacy shall make available to the board upon 
request a current list of authorized employees and service 
employees that have access to the surveillance room. 

D. A pharmacy shall keep all security equipment in good 
working order and shall test such equipment no less than two 
times per year. 

E. When a pharmacy presents special security issues, 
such as an extremely large stock of marijuana, exposed 
handling or unusual vulnerability to, or actual, diversion, 
theft or loss, the board may require additional safeguards, 
including but not limited to, a supervised watchman service. 

F. Any marijuana not stored in compliance with this 
Section, or stored at a location other than that for which the 
pharmacy permit was issued, shall be subject to embargo or 
seizure by the board. 

G. In the event any marijuana pharmacy permit is 
revoked, suspended, or not renewed, the pharmacy shall 
dispose of its entire stock of marijuana in accordance with 
the disposal provisions in this Subchapter.  

H. If a pharmacy has provided other safeguards which 
can be regarded in total as an adequate substitute for some 
element of protection required of the pharmacy, such added 
protection may be taken into account by the board in 
evaluating overall required security measures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2455. Reportable Security Events 

A. Upon becoming aware of discrepancies identified 
during inventory, diversion, theft, loss, or unauthorized 
destruction of any marijuana, or of any loss or unauthorized 
alternation of records related to marijuana or patients, a 
pharmacy shall immediately notify: 

1. appropriate law enforcement authorities; and 
2. the board. 

B. A pharmacy shall provide the written notice to the 
board by way of a signed statement which details the 
circumstances of the event, including an accurate inventory 
of the quantity and brand names of the marijuana diverted, 
stolen, lost, destroyed, or damaged, along with confirmation 
that the local law enforcement authorities were notified. A 
pharmacy shall make such notice no later than 24 hours after 
discovery of the event. 

C. A pharmacy shall notify the board no later than the 
next business day, followed by written notification no later 
than 10 business days, of any of the following: 

1. an alarm activation or other event that requires 
response by public safety personnel; 

2. a breach of security; 
3. the failure of the security alarm system due to a loss 

of electrical support or mechanical malfunction that is 
expected to last longer than eight hours; and 

4. corrective measures taken, if any. 
D. A pharmacy shall maintain and shall make available 

all documentation related to an occurrence that is reportable. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2457. Standards of Practice 

A. Environmental Standards 
1. The prescription department shall be of sufficient 

size commensurate with the nature and scope of practice.
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The space occupied by the prescription department shall be 
restricted to authorized personnel only, as determined by the 
pharmacist-in-charge, and shall not be accessible to the 
general public. 

2. The prescription department shall contain sufficient 
fixtures, equipment, and supplies commensurate with the 
nature and scope of practice for that pharmacy. 

3. The prescription department shall include a sink 
with a hot and cold water supply, exclusive of restroom 
facilities, with approved sewage disposal. 

4. All areas where drugs and devices are stored shall 
be dry, well-lighted, well-ventilated, and maintained at 
temperatures which will ensure the integrity of drugs during 
their storage and prior to their dispensing as stipulated by the 
United States Pharmacopeia and/or manufacturer’s or 
distributor’s product labeling unless otherwise indicated by 
the board. 

5. The prescription department shall be secured by 
one or more physical barriers with suitable locks and a 
monitored alarm system capable of detecting unauthorized 
entry, and further, complies with security requirements 
identified elsewhere in this Subchapter. 

6. Prescription and other patient healthcare 
information shall be maintained in a manner that protects the 
integrity and confidentiality of such information. 

B. Minimum Staffing Requirements 
1. There shall be at least one pharmacist on duty at all 

times the pharmacy is open for business. 
2. Every pharmacist practicing in the pharmacy shall 

possess a Louisiana pharmacist license in active status, a 
therapeutic marijuana designation, and access privileges to 
the state prescription monitoring program. 

3. A pharmacy intern may assist the pharmacist in the 
prescription department, but only when in possession of a 
Louisiana pharmacy intern registration in active status as 
well as a therapeutic marijuana designation. The supervising 
pharmacist may establish a delegate credential for the 
pharmacy intern in the state prescription monitoring 
program. 

4. A pharmacy technician may assist the pharmacist in 
the prescription department, but only when in possession of 
a Louisiana pharmacy technician certificate in active status 
as well as a therapeutic marijuana designation. The 
supervising pharmacist may establish a delegate credential 
for the pharmacy technician in the state prescription 
monitoring program. 

5. No pharmacy technician candidate may practice in 
a marijuana pharmacy. 

6. Additional clerical personnel may also be present at 
the pharmacy. 

C. Operational Standards 
1. The marijuana pharmacy shall comply with the 

provisions of Chapters 11, 25, 27, 29, and 31 of the board’s 
rules except when this Subchapter grants exceptions or 
imposes more stringent requirements. 

2. In the event the marijuana pharmacy intends to 
close permanently, the pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) shall 
comply with the pharmacy closure procedures described in 
Chapter 11 of the board’s rules, and further, the owner of the 
pharmacy permit shall not prevent or interfere with the PIC’s 
performance of those tasks. 

a. In addition to the other closure requirements, the 
closing pharmacy shall include in its notice to the board and 
to the public the identification of the destination pharmacy 
where the closing pharmacy’s prescription records will be 
transferred. That destination pharmacy shall be the 
marijuana pharmacy nearest the closing pharmacy, unless 
otherwise approved by the board. 

D. Recordkeeping Requirements 
1. Prescription/Recommendation/Order (hereinafter, 

“Request”) for Marijuana 
a. The pharmacy shall not accept a verbal request. 
b. In the event the pharmacy receives a request in 

written form by facsimile, the pharmacy may begin the 
preparation of the product to be dispensed, but the 
pharmacist shall not dispense the product until the original 
form of the request is delivered to him in the pharmacy and 
he has compared it to the product prepared for dispensing. 

c. The written request shall bear the manual 
signature of the authorized prescriber. No other form of 
signature shall be valid, including (but not limited to) 
stamps, computer generated signatures, or signatures of 
anyone other than the authorized prescriber. 

d. A request generated, signed, and transmitted in 
electronic format which is compliant with the standards for 
electronic prescribing of controlled substances identified in 
21 CFR 1311 (or its successor) shall be construed as a 
validly formatted request. 

2. When the pharmacy receives a request for 
marijuana from an authorized prescriber in written form, the 
pharmacist shall cause the form to be scanned and filed 
using an electronic imaging system in compliance with 
§1123 of the board’s rules. 

3. Request forms (and electronic images thereof) shall 
be retained on the pharmacy’s premises for at least two years 
after the date of dispensing, and further, shall be readily 
retrievable upon request by the board. 

4. Inventory of Marijuana Product 
a. The pharmacist-in-charge shall develop and 

maintain a perpetual inventory of all marijuana products 
acquired, held, dispensed, and disposed by the pharmacy. 

b. The pharmacy shall access the LMMTS and enter 
all inventory-related transactions in that system. 

c. In the event the pharmacist-in-charge designates 
an agent to retrieve new marijuana product inventory from 
the production facility, the pharmacist shall verify the agent 
is at least 21 years of age and is eligible to drive on public 
roadways. 

d. The pharmacist-in-charge shall conduct an 
annual inventory of all marijuana products in the possession 
of the pharmacy on any date which is within one year of the 
previous annual inventory, and further, shall conduct 
additional inventory counts on the following occasions: 
 i. arrival of a new pharmacist-in-charge; 
 ii. discovery of any significant loss, 
disappearance, or theft of marijuana product; 
 iii. departure of a pharmacist-in-charge; and 
 iv. permanent closure of the pharmacy. 

e. Inventory records shall be retained on the 
pharmacy’s premises for at least two years after the most 
recent entry. 
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5. The pharmacy shall develop and maintain sufficient 
records to fully reveal the business transactions related to 
marijuana products, including their procurement and sale, 
for the current tax year as well as the two immediately 
preceding tax years, all of which shall be made available to 
the board upon request. 

6. The board may require any pharmacy or its owners 
to furnish such information as the board considers necessary 
for the proper administration of R.S. 40:1046, and may 
require a financial audit of the business of any marijuana 
pharmacy, and the expense thereof shall be paid by the 
marijuana pharmacy. 

E. Professional Practice Standards 
1. Prior to dispensing any marijuana product to a 

patient, the pharmacist shall review that patient’s records in 
the state prescription monitoring program. The pharmacist 
shall resolve any concerns identified in that review by 
consultation with the recommending physician. 

2. Labeling of Marijuana Product Dispensed 
a. The pharmacist shall not dispense any marijuana 

product that does not bear the producer label required by the 
LDAF, and further, the pharmacy dispensing label shall not 
overlay or obscure the producer label in any way. 

b. The pharmacy’s dispensing label shall contain, at 
a minimum, the following data elements: 
 i. name and address of the pharmacy dispensing 
the product; 
 ii. telephone number or other contact information 
of the pharmacy dispensing the product; 
 iii. name of the authorized prescriber; 
 iv. name of the patient; 
 v. date the product was dispensed; 
 vi. prescription number, which shall be a unique 
identifier for that specific transaction; 
 vii. name of the marijuana product, including any 
concentration, strength, or other identifiers of the marijuana 
product; 
 viii. quantity of marijuana dispensed; 
 ix. directions for use of the product as included in 
the prescriber’s request; 
 x. expiration date of the product, which shall not 
exceed the expiration date determined by the producer of the 
product; and 
 xi. other information selected by the dispensing 
pharmacist to inform the patient as to the best use of the 
product for the intended purpose. 

3. The pharmacist shall perform prospective drug 
utilization review and shall counsel every patient receiving 
marijuana product every time it is dispensed, in compliance 
with the rules on drug utilization review and patient 
counseling in Chapter 5 of the board’s rules.  

4. Reporting transactions to state prescription 
monitoring program. The pharmacy shall comply with the 
reporting requirements as found in Chapter 29 of the board’s 
rules. 

5. Disposal of Marijuana Product. 
a. A pharmacy may refuse to accept the delivery of 

marijuana product from a producer when it is determined to 
be misbranded, adulterated, expired, deteriorated, undesired, 
excess, unauthorized, or unfit for dispensing; however, once 
accepted by the pharmacy, no marijuana product may be 
returned to any producer. 

b. When the pharmacist determines a marijuana 
product is no longer suitable for dispensing, the product 
shall be removed from active dispensing stock and 
quarantined in the pharmacy pending its disposal, and 
further, the removal from active dispensing stock shall be 
recorded in the LMMTS. 

c. The pharmacist-in-charge shall render the waste 
unusable by grinding and incorporating the waste with other 
ground materials so the resulting mixture is at least 50% 
non-marijuana waste by volume. Material used to grind with 
the waste may include: 
 i. yard waste; 
 ii. paper waste; 
 iii. cardboard waste; 
 iv. plastic waste; or 
 v. soil or sand. 

d. Waste shall be rendered unusable prior to leaving 
the pharmacy. Waste rendered unusable shall be disposed of 
by delivery to an approved solid waste facility for final 
disposition.  
 i. Examples of acceptable permitted solid waste 
facilities include: 

(a). compost; anaerobic digester; 
(b). landfill, incinerator; or 
(c). waste-to-energy facility. 

e. The pharmacist-in-charge shall prepare a record 
of each disposal, and that record shall contain, at a 
minimum, the following information: 
 i. brand name and other specific identifiers of the 
marijuana product disposed; 
 ii. quantity of product disposed; 
 iii. manner of disposal; and 
 iv. signatures of the pharmacist-in-charge 
disposing the product plus at least one witness who is either 
a credentialed staff member of that pharmacy or an agent of 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§2459. Advertising 

A. The marijuana pharmacy shall not advertise through 
any public medium, including but not limited to newspapers, 
billboards, television, radio, internet, social media, or any 
other means designed to market its products to the general 
public. 

B. The marijuana pharmacy may market its products 
through direct mail, brochures, or other means to Louisiana-
licensed physicians, but only when such advertising is 
directed solely to the practitioner and is not available to the 
general public. 

C. Any advertisement permitted in Subsection B of this 
Section shall not: 

1. make any deceptive, false, or misleading assertions 
or statements regarding any product; or 

2. assert that its products are safe because they are 
regulated by LDAF or the board. The pharmacy may 
advertise that its products have been tested by an approved 
laboratory, but shall not assert that its products are safe 
because they are tested by an approved laboratory. 

D. The marijuana pharmacy may attach a maximum of 
two separate signs to the exterior of the building which
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identify the business by its business or trade name, provided 
that neither sign exceeds the size limit of 1,600 square 
inches. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1046. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Family Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on the stability of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. We 
anticipate no effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
We anticipate no effect on family earnings and the family 
budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. We anticipate no effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. We 
anticipate no effect on the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform the activity as contained in the 
proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. We anticipate no impact on household 
income, assets, and financial security. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 
We anticipate no impact on early childhood development or 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. We anticipate no impact on employment and 
workforce development. 

4. The effect on taxes and tax credits. We anticipate no 
impact on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 
health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
We anticipate no impact on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, or utilities 
assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with section 965 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a regulatory 
flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency has 
considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed rule on 
small businesses. 

1. The establishment of less stringent compliance or 
reporting requirements for small businesses. The proposed 

rule does not exempt small businesses from compliance with 
any of the requirements. 

2. The establishment of less stringent schedules or 
deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements for small 
businesses. The reporting deadlines are the same for all 
marijuana pharmacies. 

3. The consolidation or simplification of compliance 
or reporting requirements for small businesses. The reporting 
requirements are the same for all marijuana pharmacies. 

4. The establishment of performance standards for 
small businesses to replace design or operational standards 
required in the proposed rule. There are minimal design 
standards in the propose rule. 

5. The exemption of small businesses from all or any 
part of the requirements contained in the proposed Rule. 
There are no exemptions for small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a Provider Impact Statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities. 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
We anticipate no effect on the staffing level requirements or 
the qualifications for that staff to provide the same level of 
service. 

2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. We anticipate 
no impact on the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to 
the provider to provide the same level of service.  

3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. We anticipate no effect on 
the ability of the provider to provide the same level of 
service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Malcolm J. Broussard, Executive Director, Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 
70809-1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for the receipt of 
all comments is 4 p.m. that same day 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 9 a.m. in the board office. At 
that time, all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Marijuana Pharmacy 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The estimated implementation costs to the Louisiana Board 

of Pharmacy are approximately $5,000 ($2,500 in FY 17 and 
$2,500 in FY 18) for the notice and rule publication costs. 
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There are no estimated implementation savings to the state or 
local government units through promulgation of the proposed 
rule change. The proposed rule establishes standards for the 
testing, labeling, and packaging of marijuana products, and for 
the dispensing of those products in pharmacies licensed by the 
Board.  Any additional costs to the Board of Pharmacy 
associated with inspections are anticipated to be absorbed using 
current resources. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The anticipated revenue collections by the Board of 
Pharmacy from marijuana permits is $1,750 per year. The 
proposed rule states no more than ten marijuana pharmacy 
permits can be active at any given time. The credential renewal 
fees for a pharmacy total $175 per pharmacy per year, 
therefore, the Board estimates a maximum receipt of 
approximately $1,750 per year. To the extent these marijuana 
pharmacies are required to pay sales taxes or municipal 
licensing fees, there may be an indeterminable amount of sales 
tax revenue and municipal licensing fees collected by 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The persons directly affected by the proposed rule are those 
persons/businesses selected to open and operate a marijuana 
pharmacy. The security requirements for these marijuana 
pharmacies have been enhanced compared to other pharmacies. 
However, the minimum facility square foot requirement for 
marijuana pharmacies can be less than the 300 square foot 
requirement that governs other pharmacies. Any cost associated 
with these requirements will have to be absorbed by the 
persons/businesses. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Since marijuana products may only be dispensed in 
specially licensed pharmacies, those pharmacies will not be in 
competition with other pharmacies. To the extent the marijuana 
pharmacy hires personnel to administer and staff its operations, 
there may be a positive impact on the local employment rate. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1701#033 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy Technicians (LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 9) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to amend Chapter 
9, Pharmacy Technicians, of its rules. In particular, the board 
proposes to require pharmacy technician candidates 
demonstrate proof of enrollment in a training program to 
qualify for the pharmacy technician candidate registration. 
Further, the proposed Rule requires the training program 
selected by the pharmacy technician candidate to be 
accredited by a national accreditation organization approved 
by the board. The proposed Rule also requires the applicant 
for a pharmacy technician certificate to demonstrate 
successful completion of a nationally-accredited pharmacy

technician training program. Finally, the proposed Rule 
offers technical changes relative to records of continuing 
education as well as to the scope of practice for pharmacy 
technicians.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians 
§901. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section. 

* * * 
CPE Monitor—a collaborative service from the National 

Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) and the 
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) that 
provides an electronic system for pharmacists and pharmacy 
technicians to record and track their completed CPE 
activities. 

* * * 
Pharmacy Technician Candidate—an individual, 

registered by the board, training to become a pharmacy 
technician, who assists in the practice of pharmacy under the 
direct and immediate supervision of a Louisiana-licensed 
pharmacist. 

Training Program—a pharmacy technician training 
program that is currently nationally-accredited and has been 
approved by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1212. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November 
2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§903. Pharmacy Technician Candidates 

A. Registration 
1. All pharmacy technician candidates shall obtain a 

registration from the board prior to performing any 
professional functions in a pharmacy; failure to do so may 
result in disciplinary action by the board. 

2. Qualifications 
a. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age, as 

evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or 
other appropriate credential. 

b. The applicant shall be of good moral character 
and non-impaired. 

c. The applicant shall satisfy one of the following 
eligibility criteria: 
 i. proof of enrollment in a nationally-accredited 
and board-approved pharmacy technician training program; 
or 
 ii. proof of successful completion of the board-
approved technician certification examination, and further, 
proof of successful completion of a high school approved by 
a state department of education or an equivalent degree of 
education, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a 
diploma, transcript, or other appropriate credential; or 
 iii. proof of credentialing as a pharmacy technician 
by another state board of pharmacy as well as evidence of 
practice as a pharmacy technician for at least one year in that 
state, and further, proof of successful completion of the 
board-approved technician certification examination. 
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d. Exceptions 
 i. A pharmacist or pharmacist intern whose board 
credential has been denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted 
for disciplinary reasons by any board of pharmacy shall not 
be a pharmacy technician candidate or pharmacy technician. 
 ii. A pharmacist or pharmacist intern whose board 
credential is lapsed shall not be a pharmacy technician 
candidate or pharmacy technician until such lapsed 
credential is recalled through non-disciplinary board action. 

3. Issuance and Maintenance 
a. - b. … 
c. The registration shall expire 24 months after the 

date of issuance, and it shall not be renewable. 
d. - e. … 

B. Training Programs 
1. All training programs approved by the board shall 

maintain their national accreditation. 
2. The training program shall notify the board when a 

pharmacy technician candidate is no longer satisfactorily 
progressing in the program. Evidence of a program’s failure 
to comply with this Rule shall constitute sufficient basis for 
the withdrawal of the board’s approval for the program. 

3. The training program shall provide an appropriate 
credential to the pharmacy technician candidate who has 
successfully completed the program, provided, however, that 
such credential shall not be formatted in such a manner to 
lead anyone to believe that credential resembles a document 
providing legal authority to practice as a pharmacy 
technician. 

C. Practical Experience 
1. The candidate shall possess a registration prior to 

performing any permitted professional function or earning 
any practical experience in a pharmacy. 

2. The candidate shall wear appropriate attire and be 
properly identified as to name and candidate status while on 
duty in the prescription department. 

3. A candidate shall not work in a permitted site that is 
on probation with the board, or with a pharmacist who is on 
probation with the board.  

4. The candidate’s registration shall evidence his 
authority to earn practical experience in a pharmacy, under 
the supervision of a pharmacist, in satisfaction of the 
requirements for pharmacy technician certification.  

a. In the event the registration was issued to an 
applicant enrolled in a nationally-accredited and board-
approved training program, the candidate shall earn the 
amount of experience prescribed by the curriculum of that 
program; or 

b. In the event the registration was issued to an 
applicant by any other method, the candidate shall earn at 
least 600 hours of practical experience in a pharmacy in 
Louisiana, provided however, that a candidate may receive 
board credit for a maximum of 50 hours per week. 

5. Hours of practical experience earned by a candidate 
shall expire two years after the expiration date of the 
registration. 

D. Examination 
1. A board-approved technician examination shall 

consist of integrated pharmacy subject matter and any other 
disciplines the board may deem appropriate in order to 
permit the candidate to demonstrate his competency. The 

candidate shall achieve a passing score, as determined by the 
board. 

2. Re-Examination 
a. Following the first or second unsuccessful 

attempt of an examination, the candidate may be permitted 
to retake that examination. 

b. Following the third unsuccessful attempt of an 
examination, the candidate shall wait one year after the date 
of the last examination to retake that examination. If the 
candidate fails to wait the prescribed one-year period, the 
board may delay any future certification until that one-year 
period has elapsed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1212. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, repromulgated LR 19:1025 
(August 1993), amended LR 23:1307 (October 1997), LR 30:2485 
(November 2004), effective January 1, 2005, LR 39:1777 (July 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, 
LR 43: 
§905. Pharmacy Technician Certificate 

A. Qualifications 
1. - 2. … 
3. An applicant shall demonstrate one of the following 

educational competencies. 
a. In the event the applicant obtained their 

technician candidate registration on the basis of their 
enrollment in a nationally-accredited and board-approved 
pharmacy technician training program, the applicant shall 
demonstrate successful completion of that training program, 
or in the alternative, another nationally-accredited and 
board-approved pharmacy technician training program. 

b. In the event the applicant obtained their 
technician candidate registration by any other method, the 
applicant shall demonstrate the acquisition of at least 600 
hours of practical experience under the supervision of a 
pharmacist, using a form supplied by the board. 

4. An applicant shall demonstrate successful 
completion of a board-approved technician examination, as 
evidenced by a valid and legible copy of the appropriate 
credential. 

B. Issuance and Maintenance 
1. Upon receipt of a properly completed application, 

copies of valid and legible credentials, the appropriate fee, 
and any other documentation required by the board, and 
following verification that all requirements have been 
satisfied, the board may issue a pharmacy technician 
certificate to the applicant for the current renewal period. 

2. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, repromulgated LR 19:1025 
(August 1993), LR 30:2486 (November 2004), effective January 1, 
2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 2012), amended LR 39:1777 
(July 2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Pharmacy, LR 43: 
§907. Scope of Practice 

A. - B.5. … 
C. Pharmacy technicians shall not: 

1. - 2. … 
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3. counsel patients. 
AUTHORITY NOTE Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486 (November 
2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 32:1049 (June 
2006), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, 
LR 43: 
§909. Continuing Education 

A. … 
B. Certified pharmacy technicians shall maintain copies 

of their individual records of personal CPE activities with 
CPE monitor and shall authorize the board’s access to their 
file by recording their Louisiana pharmacy technician 
certificate number within that file, and shall present a copy 
of their CPE monitor transcript when requested by the board. 

C. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 17:779 (August 
1991), repromulgated LR 19:1025 (August 1993), amended LR 
23:1308 (October 1997), LR 30:2487 (November 2004), effective 
January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1778 (July 2013), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Family Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on the stability of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. We 
anticipate no effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
We anticipate no effect on family earnings and the family 
budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. We anticipate no effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. We 
anticipate no effect on the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform the activity as contained in the 
proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. We anticipate no impact on household 
income, assets, and financial security. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 
We anticipate no impact on early childhood development or 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. We anticipate no impact on employment and 
workforce development. 

4. The effect on taxes and tax credits. We anticipate no 
impact on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 
health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
We anticipate no impact on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, or utilities 
assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with section 965 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a regulatory 
flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency has 
considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses. 

1. The establishment of less stringent compliance or 
reporting requirements for small businesses. The proposed 
Rule does not contain any reporting requirements for 
businesses. 

2. The establishment of less stringent schedules or 
deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements for small 
businesses. There are no reporting deadlines for businesses 
in the proposed Rule. 

3. The consolidation or simplification of compliance 
or reporting requirements for small businesses. There are no 
reporting requirements for businesses in the proposed Rule. 

4. The establishment of performance standards for 
small businesses to replace design or operational standards 
required in the proposed Rule. There are no design or 
operational standards required in the propose Rule. 

5. The exemption of small businesses from all or any 
part of the requirements contained in the proposed Rule. 
There are no exemptions for small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a Provider Impact Statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities. 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
We anticipate no effect on the staffing level requirements or 
the qualifications for that staff to provide the same level of 
service. 

2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. We anticipate 
no impact on the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to 
the provider to provide the same level of service.  

3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. We anticipate no effect on 
the ability of the provider to provide the same level of 
service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Malcolm J. Broussard, Executive Director, Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA
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70809-1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for the receipt of 
all comments is 12 p.m. that same day. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 9 a.m. in the board office. At 
that time, all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Technicians 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The estimated implementation costs to the Louisiana Board 

of Pharmacy are approximately $1,500 ($750 in FY 17 and 
$750 in FY 18) for the notice and rule publication costs.  There 
are no estimated implementation savings to the state or local 
government units through promulgation of the proposed rule.  
The proposed rule change will require pharmacy technicians to 
complete a nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy 
technician training program to qualify for their pharmacy 
technician certificate. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on revenue collections of the 
Board of Pharmacy.  To the extent candidates receive this 
training at public higher education institutions, these 
institutions may receive an indeterminable amount of additional 
revenue. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to affect persons 
who seek to become pharmacy technicians.  The estimated cost 
to these candidates will depend on the training program that is 
available to the candidate.  Pharmacy technician candidates will 
be required to enroll in and complete a nationally-accredited 
pharmacy technician training program in order to qualify for 
their pharmacy technician certificate.  The currently nationally-
accredited training programs are found in many universities, 
community colleges, technical colleges, and proprietary 
schools.  The estimated cost for these programs ranges from 
$1,200 to over $15,000 depending on the institution.  However, 
there are national chain pharmacies that have internal 
accredited training programs that do not charge tuition to the 
students and students can earn income while attending school. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change may have an initial slowing 
effect on the number of pharmacy technician candidates. 
However, the accredited educational programs should help a 
greater percentage of candidates pass the national certification 
examination and increase the number of pharmacy technicians 
available for employment. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1701#030 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Reinstatement of CDS License 
(LAC 46:LIII.2707) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to amend 
§2707.C.4 of its rules. The amended Rule will streamline the 
process for the reinstatement of controlled dangerous 
substance (CDS) licenses for those medical practitioners 
whose primary professional licenses have been disciplined.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 27. Controlled Dangerous Substances 
Subchapter B. Licenses 
§2707. Licensing Procedures 

A. - C.3. … 
4. An application for the reinstatement of a CDS 

license for a pharmacy which was suspended or revoked by 
the board may only be approved by the full board following 
a hearing to determine whether the reinstatement of the 
license is in the public’s best interest. For all other CDS 
licenses, the reinstatement may be approved by the joint 
consent of the chair of the reinstatement committee and the 
board president without the necessity of a hearing; when 
such approvals are issued, staff shall prepare a reinstatement 
order for the president’s signature. 

C.5. - D.5.e. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:972. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 34:2131 (October 
2008), amended LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Family Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on the stability of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. We 
anticipate no effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
We anticipate no effect on family earnings and the family 
budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. We anticipate no effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. We
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anticipate no effect on the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform the activity as contained in the 
proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. We anticipate no impact on household 
income, assets, and financial security. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 
We anticipate no impact on early childhood development or 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. We anticipate no impact on employment and 
workforce development. 

4. The effect on taxes and tax credits. We anticipate no 
impact on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 
health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
We anticipate no impact on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, or utilities 
assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with section 965 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a regulatory 
flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency has 
considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses. 

1. The establishment of less stringent compliance or 
reporting requirements for small businesses. The proposed 
Rule does not contain any reporting requirements for 
businesses. 

2. The establishment of less stringent schedules or 
deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements for small 
businesses. There are no reporting deadlines for businesses 
in the proposed Rule. 

3. The consolidation or simplification of compliance 
or reporting requirements for small businesses. There are no 
reporting requirements for businesses in the proposed Rule. 

4. The establishment of performance standards for 
small businesses to replace design or operational standards 
required in the proposed Rule. There are no design or 
operational standards required in the propose Rule. 

5. The exemption of small businesses from all or any 
part of the requirements contained in the proposed Rule. 
There are no exemptions for small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a Provider Impact Statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities. 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service.

We anticipate no effect on the staffing level requirements or 
the qualifications for that staff to provide the same level of 
service. 

2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. We anticipate 
no impact on the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to 
the provider to provide the same level of service.  

3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. We anticipate no effect on 
the ability of the provider to provide the same level of 
service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Malcolm J. Broussard, Executive Director, Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 
70809-1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for the receipt of 
all comments is 12 p.m. that same day 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 9 a.m. in the board office. At 
that time, all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Reinstatement of CDS License 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The estimated implementation costs to the Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy are approximately $500 for the notice and rule 
publication costs.  There are no estimated implementation 
savings to the state or local government units through 
promulgation of the proposed rule change.  The proposed rule 
change will allow the board to streamline the current process 
for the reinstatement of a controlled dangerous substance 
(CDS) license of a medical practitioner who was disciplined by 
the primary licensing agency. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no impact on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units from the proposed rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to affect medical 
practitioners holding a controlled dangerous substance (CDS) 
license from the board who were disciplined by their primary 
professional licensing agency.  The proposed rule change will 
streamline the reinstatement process by allowing the board’s 
leadership to waive the currently required hearing and 
authorize the reinstatement of the CDS license. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on 
competition or employment. 

 

Malcolm J. Broussard Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1701#032 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Standing Orders for Distribution of Naloxone 
(LAC 46:LIII.2541) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to add §2541 to 
its rules. As authorized by Act 370 of the 2016 Legislature, 
the proposed Rule will authorize pharmacists to distribute 
naloxone and other opioid antagonists pursuant to non-
patient specific standing orders issued by any medical 
practitioner with prescriptive authority for naloxone.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 25. Prescriptions, Drugs, and Devices 
Subchapter D. Prescription Drugs 
§2541. Standing Orders for Distribution of Naloxone 

and Other Opioid Antagonists 
A. Given the current public health emergency relative to 

the misuse and abuse of opioid derivatives, public health 
officials have strongly recommended the widespread 
availability of naloxone and other opioid antagonists to 
addicts and their caregivers as well as first responders in the 
community. 

B. For as long as naloxone and other opioid antagonists 
remain classified as prescription drugs by the federal Food 
and Drug Administration, pharmacists must secure a 
prescription or order from a prescriber with the legal 
authority to prescribe the drug product in order to dispense 
or distribute the drug product. 

C. The Louisiana Legislature has adopted a number of 
laws designed to facilitate the distribution and dispensing of 
naloxone and other opioid antagonists beyond the person 
who would need the medication on an emergent basis to 
manage an opioid-related drug overdose, more specifically 
to first responders as well as caregivers and family and 
friends of potential patients. 

1. Act 253 of the 2014 Legislature authorized 
prescribers to issue prescriptions for naloxone and other 
opioid antagonists to first responders, and further, authorized 
pharmacists to recognize such prescriptions as legitimate 
orders for the dispensing and distribution of naloxone and 
other opioid antagonist drug products, and further, 
authorized first responders to have and hold those drug 
products ready for administration in emergent conditions to 
manage opioid-related drug overdoses. 

2. Act 192 of the 2015 Legislature authorized medical 
practitioners to prescribe naloxone or another opioid 
antagonist without having previously examined the 
individual to whom the medication would be administered, 
but only under certain conditions specified in the legislation, 
including the requirement for the prescriber to provide the 
recipient of the drug with all training and education required 
for the safe and proper administration of the drug product. 

3. Act 370 of the 2016 Legislature authorized medical 
practitioners to issue nonpatient-specific standing orders to 

pharmacists authorizing the distribution of naloxone and 
other opioid antagonists to anyone who might be in a 
position to assist a patient in the emergent management of an 
opioid-related drug overdose, but only in compliance with 
these rules.  

a. A nonpatient-specific standing order for the 
facilitated distribution of naloxone or other opioid antagonist 
issued by a medical practitioner licensed by the state of 
Louisiana shall expire one year after the date of issuance. 

b. A Louisiana-licensed pharmacist may distribute 
naloxone or other opioid antagonist according to the terms of 
the nonpatient-specific standing order issued by a Louisiana-
licensed medical practitioner until the expiration date of the 
standing order. No pharmacist shall distribute naloxone or 
other opioid antagonist pursuant to a standing order more 
than one year after the date of issuance of the standing order. 

c. Before releasing the naloxone or other opioid 
antagonist drug product to the recipient, the pharmacist shall 
verify the recipient’s knowledge and understanding of the 
proper use of the drug product, including, at a minimum: 
 i. techniques on how to recognize signs of an 
opioid-related drug overdose; 
 ii. standards and procedures for the storage and 
administration of the drug product; and 
 iii. emergency follow-up procedure including the 
requirement to summon emergency 
services either immediately before or immediately after 
administering the drug product to the individual 
experiencing the overdose. 

d. To comply with the recordkeeping requirements 
found elsewhere in the board’s rules, the pharmacist shall 
attach a copy of the standing order to the invoice or other 
record of sale or distribution, and further, shall store these 
transaction documents with the other distribution records in 
the pharmacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Family Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on the stability of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. We 
anticipate no effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. We 
anticipate no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
We anticipate no effect on family earnings and the family 
budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. We anticipate no effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. We 
anticipate no effect on the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform the activity as contained in the 
proposed Rule. 
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Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment.  

1. The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. We anticipate no impact on household 
income, assets, and financial security. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 
We anticipate no impact on early childhood development or 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. We anticipate no impact on employment and 
workforce development. 

4. The effect on taxes and tax credits. We anticipate no 
impact on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 
health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
To the extent a child or other dependent has an addiction to 
opiates and is at risk of an opioid-related overdose, and to 
the extent the caregiver acquires naloxone to keep close at 
hand, the proposed Rule may improve the opportunity for 
positive outcomes from an opiate-related overdose event. 

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with section 965 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a regulatory 
flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency has 
considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses. 

1. The establishment of less stringent compliance or 
reporting requirements for small businesses. The proposed 
Rule does not contain any reporting requirements for small 
businesses. 

2. The establishment of less stringent schedules or 
deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements for small 
businesses. There are no reporting deadlines for businesses 
in the proposed Rule. 

3. The consolidation or simplification of compliance 
or reporting requirements for small businesses. There are no 
reporting requirements for businesses in the proposed Rule. 

4. The establishment of performance standards for 
small businesses to replace design or operational standards 
required in the proposed Rule. There are no design or 
operational standards required in the propose Rule. 

5. The exemption of small businesses from all or any 
part of the requirements contained in the proposed Rule. 
There are no exemptions for small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a Provider Impact Statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities. 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
We anticipate no effect on the staffing level requirements or 

the qualifications for that staff to provide the same level of 
service. 

2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. We anticipate 
no impact on the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to 
the provider to provide the same level of service.  

3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. We anticipate no effect on 
the ability of the provider to provide the same level of 
service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Malcolm J. Broussard, Executive Director, Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 
70809-1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for the receipt of 
all comments is 12 p.m. that same day. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 9 a.m. in the Board office. At 
that time, all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, either 
orally or in writing.  

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Standing Orders  

for Distribution of Naloxone 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The estimated implementation costs to the Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy are approximately $1,500 ($750 in FY 17 and 
$750 in FY18) for the notice and rule publication costs.  There 
are no estimated implementation savings to the state or local 
government units through promulgation of the proposed rule 
change.  The proposed rule change will allow pharmacists to 
distribute naloxone and other opioid antagonists pursuant to 
non-patient specific standing orders issued by medical 
practitioners with prescriptive authority for naloxone. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no impact on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units from the proposed rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to affect persons 
with an addiction to opioid drug products and that do not 
currently have access to naloxone.  Naloxone is an effective 
antidote medication that reverses the respiratory depression 
resulting from an opioid overdose event.  Currently, naloxone 
can be dispensed with a prescription however many addicts do 
not have primary care providers.  The proposed rule change 
will allow anybody with an opioid addiction to receive 
naloxone from a pharmacy pursuant to a standing order. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on 
competition or employment. 

 

Malcolm J. Broussard Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1701#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Intellectual Disabilities 

Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:VII.32917) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50:VII.32917 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing provides Medicaid reimbursement to non-state 
intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities (ICFs/ID) for services rendered to Medicaid 
recipients. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ICFs/ID in order to adopt provisions to 
establish supplemental Medicaid payments for services 
provided to Medicaid recipients residing in privately-owned 
facilities that enter into a cooperative endeavor agreement 
with the department (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, 
Number 8). 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions of the August 1, 2015 Emergency Rule to 
establish upper payment limits for supplemental payments to 
private intermediate care facilities entering into a 
cooperative endeavor agreement with the department to 
provide a privately operated living setting to residents 
discharging from Pinecrest Supports and Services Center, 
hereafter referred to as Pinecrest (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 42, Number 7). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 1, 
2015 and July 20, 2016 Emergency Rules.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32917. Supplemental Payments 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2015, monthly supplemental payments shall be made to 
qualifying privately-owned intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual disabilities. 

1. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, 
the private entity must enter into a cooperative endeavor 
agreement with the department. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2016, monthly supplemental payments shall be made to 
qualifying privately-owned intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual disabilities (ICFs/ID) to provide a 

privately operated living setting to residents discharging 
from Pinecrest Supports and Services Center. 

1. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, 
the private entity must enter into a cooperative endeavor 
agreement with the department to provide a privately 
operated living setting, with an end goal of increased 
community placement opportunities, to residents of 
Pinecrest who desire to discharge and have been deemed 
ready for discharge by their interdisciplinary teams, and 
meet the admission protocol/criteria of the contracted party 
but have not been successful in securing a placement with a 
private provider. 

C. Supplemental payments for services rendered to 
Medicaid recipients shall not exceed the facility’s upper 
payment limit (UPL) pursuant to 42 CFR 447.272. The UPL 
will be based on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’ approved ICF transitional rate of $329.26 
including provider fee. 

D. The supplemental payment will be the difference 
between the actual Medicaid payment and what would have 
been paid if the ICF/ID was paid up to the UPL amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
but may reduce the total direct and indirect cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service, and may 
enhance the provider’s ability to provide the same level of 
service as described in HCR 170 since this proposed Rule 
establishes supplemental payments to providers for the same 
services they already render. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for
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responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Monday, February 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Intellectual Disabilities—Supplemental Payments 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
increase of approximately $2,421,106 for FY 16-17 and 
$2,821,871 for FY 17-18 and $2,821,871 for FY 18-19.  It is 
anticipated that $540 ($270 SGF and $270 FED) will be 
expended in FY 16-17 for the state’s administrative expense for 
promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that federal revenue collections will 
increase by approximately $3,993,944 for FY 16-17, 
$4,875,541 for FY 17-18 and $4,875,541 for FY 18-19. It is 
anticipated that $270 will be collected in FY 16-17 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2015 and July 20, 2016 Emergency 
Rules which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual disabilities (ICFs/ID) in order to adopt 
provisions to establish supplemental Medicaid payments for 
services provided to Medicaid recipients residing in privately-
owned facilities that enter into a cooperative endeavor 
agreement with the department and established upper payment 
limits for supplemental payments to private intermediate care 
facilities entering into a cooperative endeavor agreement with 
the department. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will increase programmatic expenditures for 
services rendered by intermediate care facilities for persons 
with intellectual disabilities by approximately $6,414,510 for 
FY 16-17, $7,697,412 for FY 17-18 and $7,697,412 for FY 18-
19. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, it is 
anticipated that the implementation may have a positive effect 
on employment as it will increase payments for ICF/ID 
services. The increase in payments may improve the financial 
standing of providers and could possibly cause an increase in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1701#062 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral Health 
Louisiana Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 

(LAC 50:I.3103) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:I.3103 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services amended the provisions governing managed 
care for physical and behavioral health to provide 
clarification regarding the inclusion of non-emergency 
medical transportation services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
42, Number 9). 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated a Notice of Intent to reinstate the 
Louisiana Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 
(LaHIPP) in order to reduce Medicaid costs by establishing 
or maintaining a third party resource as the primary payer of 
the Medicaid beneficiary’s medical expenses (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 43, Number 1). The LaHIPP population 
will not be included in managed care. This proposed Rule is 
being promulgated in order to exclude LaHIPP participants 
from participation in managed care for physical and 
behavioral health. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 3.  Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral 

Health 
Chapter 31. General Provisions 
§3103. Recipient Participation 

A. - G. ... 
H. Participation Exclusion 

1. The following Medicaid and/or CHIP recipients are 
excluded from participation in an MCO and cannot 
voluntarily enroll in an MCO. Individuals who: 

a. - c. ... 
d. have a limited period of eligibility and participate 

in either the Spend-Down Medically Needy Program or the 
Emergency Services Only program; 

e. receive services through the Take Charge Plus 
program; or 

f. are enrolled in the Louisiana Health Insurance 
Premium Payment (LaHIPP) program. 

I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1573 (June 2011), amended LR 40:310 (February 2014), LR 
40:1096 (June 2014), LR 40:2258 (November 2014), LR 41:929 
(May 2015), LR 41:2363 (November 2015), LR 42:754 (May 
2016), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 42:1522 (September 2016), LR 43: 
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Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Monday, February 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Managed Care for Physical and 
Behavioral Health—Louisiana Health Insurance 

Premium Payment Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
savings due to the transition of enrollees from managed care 
organizations by approximately $57,146 for FY 17-18, 
$2,994,818 for FY 17-18 and $5,507,857 for FY 18-19. It is 
anticipated that $432 ($216 SGF and $216 FED) will be 

expended in FY 16-17 for the state’s administrative expense for 
promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.26 percent 
in FY 16-17 and 63.34 percent in FY 17-18 for the projected 
non-expansion population, and a blended FMAP rate of 97.5 
percent in FY 16-17, 94.5 percent in FY 17-18 and 93.5 percent 
in FY 18-19 for the projected expansion population. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$144,002 for FY 16-17, $7,763,401 for FY 17-18 and 
$14,624,645 for FY 18-19.  It is anticipated that $216 will be 
collected in FY 16-17 for the federal share of the expense for 
promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.26 percent 
in FY 16-17 and 63.34 percent in FY 17-18 for the projected 
non-expansion population, and a blended FMAP rate of 97.5 
percent in FY 16-17, 94.5 percent in FY 17-18 and 93.5 percent 
in FY 18-19 for the projected expansion population. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
managed care for physical and behavioral health in order to 
exclude Louisiana Health Insurance Premium Payment 
(LaHIPP) recipients from participation in a managed care 
organization. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will result in a reduction in managed care 
expenditures by approximately $201,580 in FY 16-17, 
$10,758,219 in FY 17-18 and $20,132,502 in FY 18-19 due to 
the transition of some enrollees from managed care 
organizations which will result in a reduction in the per 
member per month (PMPM) costs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on employment, but may 
impact competition. LaHIPP enrollees will transition out of 
their current Medicaid managed care health plan into their 
employee-sponsored health insurance plan which may result in 
Medicaid managed care organizations losing members. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1701#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Louisiana Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 

(LAC 50:III.2311) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50:III.2311 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing terminated the Louisiana Health 
Insurance Premium Payment Program (LaHIPP) due to a 
budgetary shortfall which resulted in funding being removed 
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from the executive budget in state fiscal year 2016. The 
department repealed the provisions of the June 20, 2009 
Rule governing LaHIPP in order to facilitate the program 
termination (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 11). 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has now determined that it is necessary to 
reinstate the LaHIPP program in order to reduce Medicaid 
costs by establishing or maintaining a third party resource as 
the primary payer of the Medicaid recipient’s medical 
expenses. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 
Subpart 3.  Eligibility Groups and Factors 

Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Medicaid 
Programs 

§2311. Louisiana Health Insurance Premium Payment 
Program 

A. Section 1906 of Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
mandates that Medicaid recipients enroll, and maintain their 
enrollment, in cost-effective group health insurance plans as 
a condition of Medicaid eligibility if such a plan is available. 
In compliance with section 1906, the department hereby 
establishes the Louisiana Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (LaHIPP) Program to provide Medicaid payment of 
the costs associated with the enrollment of recipients in cost-
effective group health insurance plans. 

B. Medicaid recipients shall be enrolled in LaHIPP when 
cost-effective health plans are available through the 
recipient's employer or a responsible party's employer-based 
health plan if the recipient is enrolled or eligible for such a 
health plan. 

1. The enrollment period for the LaHIPP Program 
shall be no less than six months. 

C. When coverage for eligible family members is not 
possible unless ineligible family members are enrolled, the 
Medicaid Program will pay the premiums for the enrollment 
of other family members when it is cost-effective. 

D. The recipient, or the individual acting on behalf of the 
recipient, shall cooperate to establish the availability and 
cost effectiveness of group health insurance. 

1. Medicaid benefits of the parent may be terminated 
for failure to cooperate unless good cause for non-
cooperation is established. Medicaid benefits for a child 
shall not be terminated due to the parent’s or authorized 
representative’s failure to cooperate. 

E. Continued eligibility for this program is dependent 
upon the individual's ongoing eligibility for Medicaid. 

F. LaHIPP recipients shall be entitled to coverage of the 
patient responsibility amounts for services covered under the 
group health insurance to the extent allowed under the 
Medicaid state plan and for all services that are not covered 
by the group health insurance but are provided for under the 
Medicaid state plan and rendered by Medicaid providers. 

G. The department shall be entitled to any rate refund 
made when the health insurance carrier determines a return 
of premiums to the policy holder is due because of lower 
than anticipated claims for any period of time in which the 
department paid the premiums. 

H. The Medicaid Program will make the determination 
whether the group health insurance plan(s) available to the 
recipient is cost effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 as it will provide greater access to affordable 
healthcare. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have a positive impact on child, 
individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 as 
this program may result in cost savings to the family by 
providing affordable insurance premiums to the insured. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
and may reduce the total direct and indirect cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service and enhance 
the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service 
since this proposed Rule establishes payment to providers 
for the same services they already render. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Monday, February 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility 

Louisiana Health Insurance Premium Payment Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will result in estimated net state general fund programmatic 
costs of approximately $80,195 for FY 16-17 and net state 
general fund programmatic savings of approximately $346,924 
for FY 17-18 and $546,915 FY 18-19. It is anticipated that 
$540 ($270 SGF and $270 FED) will be expended in FY 16-17 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 62.26 percent in FY 16-17 and 63.34 percent in 
FY 17-18 for the projected non-expansion population, and a 
blended FMAP rate of 97.5 percent in FY 16-17, 94.5 percent 
in FY 17-18 and 93.5 percent in FY 18-19 for the projected 
expansion population. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$43,737 for FY 16-17 and reduce federal revenue collections 
by approximately $1,909,791 for FY 17-18 and $3,039,927 for 
FY 18-19. It is anticipated that $270 will be expended in FY 
16-17 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.26 percent in FY 16-17 and 
63.34 percent in FY 17-18. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule reinstates the Louisiana Health 
Insurance Premium Payment (LaHIPP) program in order to 
reduce Medicaid costs by establishing or maintaining a third 
party resource as the primary payer of the Medicaid recipient’s 
medical expenses. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will increase programmatic expenditures in the 
Medicaid program by approximately $123,392 for FY 16-17 
and will reduce programmatic expenditures by approximately 
$2,256,715 for FY 17-18 and $3,586,842 for FY 18-19. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1701#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
(LAC 50:XXIX.Chapters 1-9) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XXIX.Chapters 1-9 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing provides coverage and reimbursement for 
prescription drugs to Medicaid eligible recipients enrolled in 
the Medicaid Program. Act 10 of the 2009 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature provided that the department 
may redefine the reimbursement methodology for multiple 
source drugs in establishing the state maximum allowable 
cost (MAC) in order to control expenditures to the level of 
appropriations for the Medicaid Program. In accordance 
with the provisions of Act 10, the department promulgated 
an Emergency Rule to redefine the Louisiana maximum 
allowable cost (LMAC) (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 1). In addition, the dispensing fee was increased for 
drugs with an LMAC. 

The department subsequently determined that it was 
necessary to repeal the January 1, 2010 Emergency Rule in 
its entirety and amend the provisions governing the methods 
of payment for prescription drugs to redefine the LMAC 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 2). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule to amend the February 1, 
2010 Emergency Rule to revise the provisions governing the 
methods of payment for prescription drugs to further 
redefine the LMAC and increase the dispensing fee 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 3). The department 
determined that it was necessary to repeal the March 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule in its entirety and promulgated an 
Emergency Rule to amend the provisions governing the 
methods of payment for prescription drugs to revise the 
LMAC provisions (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
3). The department subsequently promulgated an Emergency 
Rule to repeal the March 20, 2010 Emergency Rule in its 
entirety in order to revise the provisions governing the 
methods of payment for prescription drugs and the 
dispensing fee (Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 9). 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the September 5, 2012 
Emergency Rule to further revise the provisions governing 
the methods of payment for prescription drugs and the 
dispensing fee (Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 11). 
Upon further consideration and consultation with the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on the 
corresponding Medicaid State Plan Amendment, the 
department determined that it was necessary to rescind the 
provisions of the November 1, 2012 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for services 
rendered in the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program, 
and to return to the reimbursement rates in effect on 
September 5, 2012, along with an increase in the dispensing 
fee, which is consistent with the currently approved 
Medicaid State Plan (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 10). 

The Department now proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program in 
order to clarify requirements regarding 340B-covered 
entities, and to revise the reimbursement methodology to 
include federal upper limits (FUL), new copayment 
exemptions and over-the-counter medications added for 
expansion benefits pursuant to CMS recently released 
regulations. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§105. Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits Management 

System Point of Sale—Prospective Drug 
Utilization Program 

A. ... 
B. The Louisiana Department of Health reserves the 

right for ultimate decision making relative to certain drug 
class information and drug contraindications or interactions. 

C. Covered Drug List. The list of covered drugs is 
managed through multiple mechanisms. Drugs in which the 
manufacturer entered into the Medicaid Drug Rebate 
Program with CMS are included in the list of covered drugs. 
Average acquisition costs, federal upper payment limits 
(FUL) and usual and customary charges assist in managing 
costs on the covered drug list. Federal Upper Limits provide 
for dispensing of multiple source drugs at established 
limitations unless the prescribing practitioner specifies that 
the brand product is medically necessary for a patient. 
Establishment of co-payments also provides for 
management.  

D. Reimbursement Management. The cost of 
pharmaceutical care is managed through Average 
Acquisition Cost (AAC) of the ingredient or through 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) when no AAC is 
assigned, and compliance with FUL regulations, and the 
establishment of the professional dispensing fee, drug 
rebates and copayments. Usual and customary charges are 
compared to other reimbursement methodologies and the 
“lesser of” is reimbursed. 

E. ... 
F. Pharmacy Program Integrity. Program integrity is 

maintained through the following mechanisms: 
1. - 2. ... 
3. Surveillance and Utilization Review Systems 

(SURS) Program processes which provide for on-going 
review for mis-utilization, abuse and fraud and audits of the 
pharmacy providers. 

G. ... 
H. Point-of-Sale Prospective Drug Utilization Review 

System. This on-line point-of-sale system provides 
electronic claims management to evaluate and improve drug 
utilization quality. Information about the patient and the drug 
will be analyzed through the use of eight therapeutic 
modules in accordance with the standards of the National 
Council of Prescription Drug Programs. The purpose of 
prospective drug utilization review is to reduce in 
duplication of drug therapy, prevent drug-to-drug 
interactions, and assure appropriate drug use, dosage and 
duration. The prospective modules may screen for drug 
interactions, therapeutic duplication, improper duration of 
therapy, incorrect dosages, clinical abuse/misuse and age 
restrictions. Electronic claims submission inform 
pharmacists of potential drug-related problems and 
pharmacists document their responses by using interventions 
codes. By using these codes, pharmacists will document 
prescription reporting and outcomes of therapy for Medicaid 
recipients. 

I. - I.2. ... 
I.3. - I.4. Repealed. 

5. Eligibility verification is determined at the point of 
sale. 

6. Pharmacy providers and prescribing providers may 
obtain assistance with clinical questions from the University 
of Louisiana at Monroe. 

7. Prescribers and pharmacy providers will be 
required to participate in the educational and intervention 
features of the Pharmacy Benefits Management System. 

J. Recipient Participation. Pharmacy patients are 
encouraged to take an active role in the treatment or 
management of their health conditions through participation 
in patient counseling efforts with their prescribing providers 
and pharmacists. 

K. - L. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S, 

46:153, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and the 1995-96 
General Appropriate Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1053 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§107. Prior Authorization 

A. The medication must be prescribed by a practitioner 
who is authorized to prescribe under state law. The National 
Drug Code (NDC) must be identified on each pharmacy 
claim for reimbursement. Prescription drugs considered for 
payment are subject to rebates from manufacturers as 
mandated by federal law and regulations.  

B. Covered Drugs. Coverage of drugs shall be limited to 
specific drug products authorized for reimbursement by 
therapeutic category and listed by generic name, 
strength/unit, NDC, and brand name. Those drug products 
subject to mandatory coverage as a result of a rebate 
agreement with the federal government will be covered until 
written notice is received from the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services that coverage will be terminated. 
Providers will be given notice of termination of coverage. 

C. Prior Authorization with a Preferred Drug List 
1. A prior authorization process is established which 

utilizes a preferred drug list (PDL) for selected therapeutic 
classes. Drugs in selected therapeutic classes that are not 
included on the PDL shall require prescribers to obtain prior 
authorization. Lists of covered drug products, including 
those that require prior authorization, will be maintained on 
the Louisiana Medicaid web site. 

2. The prior authorization process provides for a turn-
around response by either telephone or other 
telecommunications device within 24 hours of receipt of a 
prior authorization request. In emergency situations, 
providers may dispense at least a 72-hour supply of 
medication. 

3. ... 
D. Drugs Excluded from Coverage. As provided by 

§1927(d)(2) of the Social Security Act, the following drugs 
are excluded from program coverage: 

1. experimental drugs and investigational drugs; 
2. drugs used to treat weight loss, except Orlistat; 
3. cough and cold preparations, except some 

prescription antihistamine/decongestant combination 
products; 

4. cosmetic drugs, except Isotretinoin; 
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5. - 8. ... 
9. vaccines covered in other programs, except 

influenza vaccine; and 
10. ... 

E. DESI Drugs. Those drugs that are subject to a Notice 
of Opportunity for Hearing, as prescribed by Section 
1927(k)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act for which the Food 
and Drug Administration has proposed to withdraw from the 
market. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1054 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§109. Medicare Part B 

A. The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing pays the full co-insurance and the Medicare 
deductible on pharmacy claims for services reimbursed by 
the Medicaid Program for Medicaid recipients covered by 
Medicare Part B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1055 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§111. Copayment 

A. Payment Schedule 
1. ... 

* * * 
2. The pharmacy provider shall collect a copayment 

from the Medicaid recipient for each drug dispensed by the 
provider and covered by Medicaid. The following pharmacy 
services are exempt from the copayment requirements. 

a. services furnished to pregnant women; 
b. emergency services; 
c. family planning services; and 
d. preventive medications as designated by the U.S. 

Preventive Services Task Force’s A and B recommendations; 
e. Repealed. 

B. The following population groups are exempt from 
copayment requirements: 

1. individuals under the age of 21; 
2. individuals residing in a long-term care facility; 
3. individuals receiving hospice care; 
4. Native Americans; 
5. Women whose basis for Medicaid eligibility is 

breast or cervical cancer; and 
6. waiver recipients. 

C. In accordance with federal regulations, the following 
provisions apply. 

1. The provider may not deny services to any eligible 
individual on account of the individual’s inability to pay the 
copayment amount. However, this service statement does 
not apply to an individual who is able to pay, nor does an 
individual’s inability to pay eliminate his or her liability for 
the copayment. 

2. Providers shall not waive the recipient copayment 
liability. 

3. Departmental monitoring and auditing will be 
conducted to determine provider compliance. 

4. Violators of this §111 will be subject to a penalty 
such as suspension from the Medicaid Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:1055 (June 
2006), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43: 
§113. Prescription Limit 

A. - B.3. ... 
C. The four prescriptions per month limit can be 

exceeded when the prescriber determines an additional 
prescription is medically necessary and communicates the 
following information to the pharmacist in his own 
handwriting or by telephone or other telecommunications 
device: 

1. ... 
2. a valid diagnosis code that is directly related to 

each drug prescribed that is over the four prescription limit 
(literal descriptions are not acceptable). 

D. - E. ... 
F. An acceptable statement and ICD-10-CM, or its 

successor, diagnosis code are required for each prescription 
in excess of four per calendar month. 

G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 14:88 
(February 1988), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 16: 313 (April 1990), LR 29:2115 (October 2003). 
Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of 
the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 32:1055 
(June 2006), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1901 (September 
2009), LR 37:3270 (November 2011), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 
§115. Drug Coverage Limits 

A. Reimbursement for multi-source prescription drugs 
shall be limited in accordance with state and federal law and 
rules pertaining thereto, with the following exception: 
Reimbursement shall be provided for any drug prescribed by 
a prescribing provider that, in his professional judgment and 
within the lawful scope of his practice, he considers 
appropriate for the diagnosis and treatment of the patient 
with the following limitations. 

1. - 3 ... 
4. The prescribed drug is not methadone prescribed 

only for narcotic addiction. 
5. - 5.c. ... 
6. The prescribed drug is not a cosmetic drug, 

anorexic, cough and cold preparation, or selected 
nonprescription drug. 

7. The prescribed drug is not an experimental or 
investigational drug which are generally labeled: Caution - 
limited by federal law to investigational use, unless a 
specific exception has been granted by the federal 
government. 

8. The prescribed drug is not an immunosuppresant 
drug prescribed and billed to Medicare within one year from 
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the date of the transplant for a Title XIX recipient who has 
Medicare Part B coverage. 

9. The prescribed drug is not an immunosuppressant 
drug covered by Medicare Part B which is prescribed for a 
nontransplant patient with Medicare Part B coverage and 
identified in the Title XIX provider manual as subject to 
special billing procedures. Payment shall be made only when 
billing requirements are met. Requirements may include 
provision of a physician statement (or copy) verifying the 
diagnosis attached to each claim submitted. 

B. Drug Listing 
1. The bureau’s fiscal intermediary or agent will 

provide coverage information on any specific drug. 
Providers should contact the fiscal intermediary’s or agent’s 
provider/pharmacy relations unit when a specific coverage 
question arises. 

2. The Title XIX provider manual shall include a 
listing of examples of prescribed medications and/or 
supplies which are not payable under pharmaceutical 
services of the Medicaid Program. 

C. Erectile Dysfunction Drugs. Prescription drugs for the 
treatment of sexual or erectile dysfunction shall not be 
covered or reimbursed under the Medicaid Program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1055 (June 2006), LR 32:2083 
(November 2006), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 
§117. Time Limits 

A. Filling Prescriptions. Prescriptions for drugs covered 
by Medicaid other than a controlled substance shall expire 
one year after the date prescribed by a licensed prescriber. 
These prescriptions shall not be refilled more than 11 times 
in one year. A prescription for a controlled dangerous 
substance listed in Schedule II shall expire 90 days after the 
date written, and no refills are allowed. A prescription for a 
controlled dangerous substance listed in Schedule III, IV or 
V shall expire six months after the date written. Expired 
prescriptions shall not be refillable or renewable. Payment 
shall be made for prescriptions refilled for controlled 
substances in Schedule III, IV and V not more than five 
times or more than six months after issue date and only to 
the extent indicated by the prescriber on the original 
prescription, and is restricted by state and federal statutes.  

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1056 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:368 (February 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§119. Maximum Quantity 

A. - C. ... 
D. Payment will not be made for narcotics other than 

opioid agonists/antagonists prescribed only for narcotic 
addiction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1056 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
Chapter 3. Lock-In Program 
§303. Recipient Placement in the Lock-In Mechanism 

A. Potential lock-in recipients will be identified through 
review of various reports or by referral from other interested 
parties. Department of Health designee(s) who are medical 
professionals examine data for a consistent pattern of 
misuse/overuse of program benefits by a recipient. Contact 
with involved providers may be initiated for additional 
information. The medical professionals render a 
recommendation to place a recipient in the 
Physician/Pharmacy Lock-In Program or Pharmacy-Only 
Lock-In Program. The decision making authority rests solely 
with the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1057 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:3268 (November 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§307. Notification Directives 

A. - A.4. ... 
B. The department’s contract designee shall be 

responsible for the following: 
1. initiate contact with the recipient in instances when 

the recipient fails to contact the department, or its contractor; 
2. conduct a telephone interview when warranted with 

the recipient regarding the Lock-In Program and the 
recipient’s rights and responsibilities; 

3. ... 
4. notify Lock-In providers of their selection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1057 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:3268 (November 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§309. Restrictions 

A. Recipients shall be prohibited from choosing 
physicians and pharmacists who overprescribe or oversupply 
drugs. When the agency cannot approve a recipient’s choice 
of provider(s), the Lock-In recipient shall be required to 
make another selection. 

A.1. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1057 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:3269 (November 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
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§311. Appeals 
A. Administration Reconsideration. A recipient may 

request an administrative reconsideration of the department’s 
determination to place the recipient in the Lock-In Program. 
An administrative reconsideration is an informal telephone 
discussion among the Bureau of Health Services Financing 
staff, the LDH contract designee, and the recipient. An 
explanation of the reason for recommending the recipient to 
be placed in the Lock-In Program will be provided to the 
recipient. An administrative reconsideration is not in lieu of 
the administrative appeals process and does not extend the 
time limits for filing an administrative appeal under the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act. The 
designated official shall have the authority to affirm the 
decision, to revoke the decision, to affirm part or revoke in 
part, or to request additional information from either the 
department or the recipient. 

B. Administrative Appeal Process. Upon notification of 
LDH’s determination to place the Medicaid recipient into the 
Lock-In Program, the recipient shall have the right to appeal 
such action by submitting a written request to the Division 
of Administrative Law within 30 days of said notification. If 
an appeal is timely made, the decision to Lock-In is stayed 
pending the hearing of the appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1057 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:3269 (November 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§313. Changing Lock-In Providers 

A. Recipients may change lock-in providers every year 
without cause. With good cause, they may change lock-in 
providers only with the bureau’s approval. Recipients may 
change providers for the following “good cause” reasons: 

1. - 2. ... 
3. the Lock-In provider(s) request(s) that the recipient 

be transferred; or 
4. the Lock-In provider(s) stop(s) participating in the 

Medicaid Program and does not accept Medicaid as 
reimbursement for services. 

a. The recipient may still receive other program 
services available through Medicaid such as hospital, 
transportation, etc., which are not controlled or restricted by 
placing a recipient in Lock-In for pharmacy and physician 
services. No recipient on Lock-In status shall be denied the 
service of a physician or pharmacist on an emergency basis 
within program regulations. In instances in which a recipient 
is referred by his Lock-In physician to another enrolled 
Medicaid physician who is accepting Medicaid recipients, 
reimbursement shall be made to the physician to whom the 
recipient was referred. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1058 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:3269 (November 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 

Chapter 5. Narcotics and Controlled Substances 
§501. Schedule II Narcotic Analgesic Prescriptions 

A. Schedule II narcotic analgesic prescriptions covered 
under the Louisiana Medicaid Program shall be filled within 
90 days of the date prescribed by a physician or other 
prescribing practitioner. Also, in accordance with guidance 
from the drug enforcement agency, the prescriber has the 
ability to issue multiple prescriptions for the same Schedule 
II medication to the same patient on the same day. All 
prescriptions must be dated and signed on the date issued. 
The prescriber may issue dispensing instruction, e.g., “do 
not dispense until a specified date.” 

B. Payment will not be made for narcotics other than 
opioid agonists/antagonists prescribed only for narcotic 
addiction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1058 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
Chapter 7. Parenteral Nutrition Therapy 
§703. Medical Necessity 

A. The department’s published medical necessity criteria 
must be met. 

B. - J.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1058 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§705. Exclusionary Criteria 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1060 (June 2006), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§707. Prior Authorization  

A. Parenteral nutrition therapy may be approved by the 
Prior Authorization Unit (PAU) at periodic intervals not to 
exceed six months.  

A.1. - B.6. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1060 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§709. Intradialytic Parenteral Nutrition 

A. Intradialytic Parenteral Nutrition Therapy (IDPN) is 
parenteral nutrition therapy provided to a recipient with end 
stage renal disease (ESRD) while the recipient is being 
dialyzed. IPDN may be approved by the Prior Authorization 
Unit at periodic intervals not to exceed six months.  

B. - D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1061 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43:  
§711. Additional Documentation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1061 (June 2006), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§713. Equipment and Supplies 

A. ... 
A.1. - D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1061 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
Chapter 9. Methods of Payment 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§901. Definitions 

Average Acquisition Cost (AAC)—the average of net 
payments that pharmacists made to purchase a drug product, 
after taking into account such items as purchasing 
allowances, discounts and rebates as determined through the 
collection and review of pharmacy invoices and other 
information deemed necessary by the Medicaid Program, 
and in accordance with applicable state and federal law. 

Average Wholesale Price—Repealed. 
* * * 

Professional Dispensing Fee—the fee paid by the 
Medicaid Program to reimburse for the professional services 
provided by a pharmacist when dispensing a prescription. 
Per legislative mandate, the provider fee assessed for each 
prescription filled in the state of Louisiana, or shipped into 
the state of Louisiana, will be reimbursed separately. 

Single Source Drug—a drug mandated or sold by one 
manufacturer or labeler. 

Usual and Customary Charge—a pharmacy’s charge to 
the general public that reflects all advertised savings, 
discounts, special promotions or other programs, including 
membership-based discounts initiated to reduce prices for 
product costs available to the general public a special 
population or an inclusive category of customers. 

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC)—the manufacturer’s 
published catalog price for a drug product to wholesalers as 
reported to Medicaid by one or more national compendia on 
a weekly basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1061 (June 2006), amended LR 34:87 
(January 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1558 (July 
2010), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43: 

Subchapter C. Estimated Acquisition Cost 
§935. Estimated Acquisition Cost Formula 

A. Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC) is the average 
acquisition cost of the drug dispensed. If there is not an AAC 
available, the EAC is equal to the wholesale acquisition cost, 
as reported in the drug pricing compendia utilized by the 
department’s fiscal intermediary/pharmacy benefits manager 
(PBM). 

B. - B.4.c. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1064 (June 2006), amended LR 34:88 
(January 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1561 (July 
2010), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43: 
Subchapter D. Maximum Allowable Costs 
§945. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Maximum Pharmaceutical Price Schedule 
1. The maximum payment by the agency for a 

prescription shall be no more than the cost of the drug 
established by the state plus the established professional 
dispensing fee. 

2. Repealed. 
B. Payment will be made for medications in accordance 

with the payment procedures for any fee-for-service (FFS) 
Medicaid eligible person. On a periodic basis as ingredient 
costs change, the department will post a link on its website 
containing average acquisition cost of drugs.  

C. - D. ... 
E. Payment will be made to providers only for 

medications furnished to persons eligible for medical vendor 
payments on a prescription written by a practitioner who is 
authorized to prescribe in Louisiana and is enrolled in FFS 
Medicaid. 

F. Payments will be made only for the drugs covered 
under Louisiana Medicaid’s Pharmacy Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1064 (June 2006), amended LR 34:88 
(January 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1561 (July 
2010), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43: 
§947. Payments to Dispensing Physician 

A. Payment will be made for medications dispensed by a 
physician on a continuing basis only when his main office is 
more than five miles from a facility which dispenses drugs. 

1. Under the above circumstances, vendor payments 
(when the treating prescriber dispenses his own medications 
and bills Medical Assistance Program under his own name 
will be made on the same basis as a pharmacist as specified 
in §945.A.1-2. 

B. A prescriber who has a sub-office in an area more 
than five miles from a pharmacy or other facility dispensing 
medications will not be paid for medications he dispenses if 
his main office is within five miles of a pharmacy or other 
facility dispensing medications. 
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C. When a prescriber bills Medicaid for medications he 
dispenses, he shall certify that he himself, or a pharmacist, 
dispensed the medications and he shall maintain the same 
records as required of the pharmacist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1065 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§949. Cost Limits 

A. Brand Drugs. The department shall make payments 
for single source drugs (brand drugs) based on the lower of: 

1. average acquisition cost (AAC): 
a. If no AAC is available, use the wholesale 

acquisition cost (WAC) plus the professional dispensing fee; 
or 

b. Repealed. 
2. the provider’s usual and customary charges to the 

general public not to exceed the department’s “maximum 
payment allowed.” 

a. For purposes of these provisions, general public 
is defined as all other non-Medicaid prescriptions, including: 
 i. third-party insurance; 
 ii. pharmacy benefit management; or 
 iii. cash. 

A.3. - A.3.c. Repealed. 
B. Generic Drugs. The department shall make payments 

for multiple source drugs (generic drugs), other than drugs 
subject to ”physician certifications”, based on the lower of: 

1. AAC: 
a. If no AAC is available, use the WAC plus the 

professional dispensing fee; 
2. federal upper payment limits plus the professional 

dispensing fee; or 
3. the provider’s usual and customary charges to the 

general public not to exceed the department’s “maximum 
payment allowed.” 

a. For purposes of these provisions, general public 
is defined as all other non-Medicaid prescriptions, including: 
 i. third-party insurance; 
 ii. pharmacy benefit management; or 
 iii. cash. 

C. Federal Upper Payment Limits for Multiple Source 
Drugs 

1. Except for drugs subject to “physician 
certification”, the Medicaid Program shall utilize listings 
established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) that identify and set upper limits for 
multiple source drugs that meet the following requirements. 

a. All of the formulations of the drug approved by 
the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have been 
evaluated as therapeutically equivalent in the most current 
edition of their publication, Approved Drug Products with 
Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (including 
supplements or in successor publications). 

b. At least three suppliers list the drug, which has 
been classified by the FDA as category "A" in the 
aforementioned publication based on listings contained in 
current editions (or updates) of published compendia of cost 
information for drugs available for sale nationally. 

2. Medicaid shall utilize the maximum acquisition 
cost established by CMS in determining multiple source 
drug cost. 

3. The Medicaid Program shall provide pharmacists 
who participate in Medicaid reimbursement with updated 
lists reflecting: 

a. the multiple source drugs subject to federal 
multiple source drug cost requirements; 

b. the maximum reimbursement amount per unit; 
and 

c. the date such costs shall become effective. 
4. Repealed. 

D. Physician Certifications 
1. Limits on payments for multiple source drugs shall 

not be applicable when the prescriber certifies in his own 
handwriting that a specified brand name drug is medically 
necessary for the care and treatment of a recipient. Such 
certification may be written directly on the prescription or on 
a separate sheet which is dated and attached to the 
prescription. A standard phrase in the prescriber's 
handwriting, such as "brand necessary" will be acceptable. 

D.2 - D.2.c. ... 
E. 340B Purchased Drugs. The department shall make 

payments for drugs that are purchased by a covered entity 
through the 340B program at the actual acquisition cost 
which can be no more than the 340B ceiling price plus the 
professional dispensing fee. Drugs that 340B covered 
entities purchase outside of the 340B program shall not be 
reimbursed by Medicaid. 340B contract pharmacies are not 
permitted to bill 340B stock to Medicaid. 

E.1. - E.2. Repealed. 
F. Fee-For-Service Drugs. Drugs acquired at federal 

supply schedule (FSS) and at nominal price shall not be 
reimbursed by Medicaid. 

G. Indian Health Service All-Inclusive Encounter Rate. 
Pharmacy services provided by the Indian Health Service 
(IHS) shall be included in the encounter rate. No individual 
pharmacy claims shall be reimbursed to IHS providers. 

H. Mail Order, Long-Term Care and Specialty Pharmacy. 
Drugs dispensed by mail order, long-term care and/or 
specialty pharmacies (drugs not distributed by a retail 
community pharmacy) will be reimbursed using the 
brand/generic drug reimbursement methodology. 

I. Physician Administered Drugs. Physician-
administered drugs will be reimbursed based on the 
applicable fee schedule posted on the Louisiana Medicaid 
website. 

J. Clotting Factor. Pharmacy claims for clotting factor 
will be reimbursed using the brand/generic drug 
reimbursement methodology. 

K. Investigational or Experimental Drugs. 
Investigational or experimental drugs shall not be 
reimbursed by Medicaid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1065 (June 2006), amended LR 34:88 
(January 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1561 (July 
2010), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43: 
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Subchapter E. 340B Program 
§961. Definitions 

Actual Acquisition Cost—the covered entity’s net payment 
made to purchase a drug product. 

Contract Pharmacy—a pharmacy under contract with a 
covered entity that lacks its own pharmacy whereby the 
contract pharmacy is authorized to dispense 340B-
discounted drugs on behalf of the covered entity in 
accordance with 1996 Health Resources and Services 
Administration (HRSA) guidelines (61 FR 43549, August 
23, 1996). Contract pharmacies are not allowed to bill 
Medicaid for pharmacy claims. 

Covered Entity—a provider or program that meets the 
eligibility criteria for participating in the 340B Program as 
set forth in Section 340B(a)(4) of the Public Health Service 
Act. Covered entities include eligible disproportionate share 
hospitals that are owned by, or under contract with, state or 
local government, community health centers, migrant health 
centers, health centers for public housing, health centers for 
the homeless, AIDS drug assistance programs and other 
AIDS clinics and programs, black lung clinics, hemophilia 
treatment centers, native Hawaiian health centers, urban 
Indian clinics/638 tribal centers, 340s school-based 
programs, Title X family planning clinics, sexually-
transmitted disease clinics and tuberculosis clinics. 

Dispensing Fee—Repealed. 
Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC)—the average 

acquisition cost of the drug dispensed. If there is not an AAC 
available, the EAC is equal to the wholesale acquisition cost, 
as reported in the drug pricing compendia utilized by the 
department’s fiscal intermediary. 

* * * 
Professional Dispensing Fee—the fee paid by Medicaid 

for the professional services provided by a pharmacist when 
dispensing a prescription. Per legislative mandate, the $.10 
provider fee assessed for each prescription filled in the state 
of Louisiana will be paid separately. 

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC)—the manufacturer’s 
published catalog price for a drug product to wholesalers as 
reported to Medicaid by one or more national compendia on 
a weekly basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1066 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43: 
§963. Reimbursement 

A. Self-administered drugs that are purchased by a 
covered entity through the 340B program and dispensed to 
patients who are covered by Medicaid shall be billed to 
Medicaid at actual acquisition cost (can be no more than the 
340B ceiling price) unless the covered entity has 
implemented the Medicaid carve-out option, in which case 
340B drugs should not be billed to Medicaid. All other drugs 
shall be billed in accordance with existing Louisiana 
Medicaid reimbursement methodologies. Indian Health 
Service, tribal and urban Indian pharmacy claims will be 
reimbursed in the encounter rate. 

B. Contract Pharmacies. Contract pharmacies are not 
allowed to bill 340B drugs to Medicaid; therefore, they 
should carve out. 

C. Professional Dispensing Fees. The covered entity will 
be reimbursed at the appropriate ingredient cost plus the 
maximum allowable professional dispensing fee or the usual 
and customary charge, whichever is less. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1066 (June 2006), amended LR 34:88 
(January 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1561 (July 
2010), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43: 
Subchapter F. Antihemophilia Drugs 
§971. Reimbursement 

A. Anti-hemophilia drugs purchased by a covered entity 
through the 340B program and dispensed to Medicaid 
recipients shall be billed to Medicaid at actual acquisition 
cost and the professional dispensing fee.  

B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, amended LR 34:881 (May 2008), amended by 
the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  
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Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Monday, February 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Rebekah E Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Benefits  

Management Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
savings of $10,746 for FY 16-17, $69,209 for FY 17-18 and 
$73,846 FY 18-19. It is anticipated that $4,104 ($2,052 SGF 
and $2,052 FED) will be expended in FY 16-17 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
62.26 percent in FY 16-17 and 63.34 percent in FY 17-18 and 
18-19. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$19,062 for FY 16-17, $119,578 for FY 17-18 and $127,590 
for FY 18-19. It is anticipated that $2,052 will be expended in 
FY 16-17 for the federal administrative expenses for 
promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.26 percent 
in FY 16-17 and 63.34 percent in FY 17-18 and 18-19. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology in the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program to revise the reimbursement 
methodology, and to include federal upper limits (FUL), new 
copayment exemptions and over-the-counter medications added 
for expansion benefits pursuant to CMS recently released 
regulations. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will reduce programmatic expenditures for 
pharmacy payments by approximately $33,912 for FY 16-17, 
$188,787 for FY 17-18 and $201,436 for FY 18-19. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will no effect on competition and employment.  

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1701#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Individual and Family Support Program 
(LAC 48:IX.Chapter 11) 

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH), Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD), pursuant 
to Act 378 of the 1989 Regular Legislative Session as 
contained in R.S. 28:824, is authorized to establish 
Louisiana’s community and family support system. The 
individual and family support program is designed to meet 
those needs of individuals with developmental disabilities, 
which exceed those normally met by existing resources, both 
entitlements and those occurring naturally in the individual’s 
family and community. The intent of this Rule is to establish 
program regulations for the individual and family support 
program to ensure proper utilization of program funds and 
service delivery. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 

Part IX.  Developmental Disabilities Services System 
Chapter 11. Individual and Family Support Program 
§1101. Purpose 

A. The individual and family support program is 
designed to meet those needs of individuals with 
developmental disabilities, which exceed those normally met 
by existing resources, both entitlements and those occurring 
naturally in the individual’s family and community. 

B. The purposes of the individual and family support 
program shall be:  

1. to establish or maintain a quality of life for 
individuals with developmental disabilities and their families 
in a manner that respects both the individual’s needs and 
aspirations and the individual’s ability to use supports in a 
responsible and accountable manner; 

2. to link individuals with developmental disabilities 
and their families to existing supports and resources and to 
supplement those supports as necessary to maintain the 
integrity of individuals and their families.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1103. Definitions 

Applicant—the individual with developmental disabilities 
for whom supports are requested. 

Developmental Disability—defined in accordance with the 
developmental disability law at R.S. 28:451.2(12). 

Eligible Individual—individual who has been determined 
to be eligible for developmental disabilities services, through 
a statement of approval (SOA) to participate in 
developmental disabilities services as part of the single point 
of entry (SPOE) process in most current use as established 
by the OCDD. 

Individual and Family Support Committee—the advisory 
committee to the individual and family support (IFS)
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program within each local governing entity administering 
the IFS program. 

Local Governing Entity (LGE)—an existing or newly 
created local governmental entity with local accountability 
and management of behavioral health and developmental 
disabilities services as well as any public health or other 
services contracted to the district by the department. 

Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 
(OCDD)—the office, within the Department of Health, 
which has the responsibility for developing, evaluating and 
guiding programs and supports for Louisiana’s citizens with 
developmental disabilities. 

Plan of Support—the individualized plan for provision of 
supports for individuals and families developed utilizing the 
most recently approved format by OCDD. 

Support Coordination—the provision of assistance to 
individuals with developmental disabilities or their families 
to identify and coordinate necessary supports to access, 
utilize and maintain those supports in a fiscally sound 
manner. 

Support Coordinator—the person responsible for case 
coordination for an individual with developmental 
disabilities and/or his/her family. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1105. Participant Records 

A. Each local governing entity (LGE) will maintain a 
single participant record for each applicant or recipient of 
individual and family support funding, which will comply 
with all Department of Health (LDH), Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD), and Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability ACT (HIPAA) 
requirements. The record will reflect all aspects of service 
provision to the participant, inclusive of multiple or varied 
funding sources and/or fiscal year. 

1. Progress note entries will provide strict 
chronological documentation for all case activity from all 
programs; these notes will be signed and dated to be 
considered complete. 

2. Monitoring from external agencies will be 
acceptable provided documentation complies with 
requirements set forth by OCDD; the LGE administering the 
program shall be responsible for ensuring that adequate 
documentation is included in the record. 

B. Each LGE administering the individual and family 
support program will comply with established policies and 
procedures of the LDH and OCDD of the confidentiality of 
and access to participant records and the time-periods to 
retain those records. 

C. Necessary additional information specific to the 
development of the request for individual and family support 
resources shall also be included in the participant record: 

1. plan of support document that is current within a 
year and generated in a format approved by the OCDD or a 
comprehensive plan of care current within a year, which 
clearly identifies services requested and received from the 
LGE, or an EarlySteps individualized family services plan 
(IFSP), that is current within a year; 

2. individual and family support prioritization 
instrument that is current within a year; 

3. notice of decision for the individual and family 
support program; 

4. individual and family support notice of right to 
appeal, as appropriate; and 

5. individual and family support request for appeal, as 
appropriate.  

D. When individual and family support funds are 
allocated and expended on behalf of individuals, these 
documents will be maintained in the records in compliance 
with requirements of the LDH, OCDD, and auditing 
authorities, and shall, at a minimum, include: 

1. justification to the executive director of a LGE for 
expenditures in excess of $15,000, in a single fiscal year, 
inclusive of all funding sources, as appropriate;  

2. justification to the executive director of a LGE for 
approval of an exception for use of funds not authorized by 
these program guidelines, as appropriate; and 

3. expenditure recap sheet, which specifies the total 
amount of individual and family support funds authorized, 
dates and amounts of expenditure of these funds and the 
total remaining on the initial allocation. 

E. Agencies administering the individual and family 
support program will be required to comply with the 
requirements set forth and utilize forms approved for use by 
OCDD. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43:  
§1107. Eligibility 

A. The individual and family support program is a 
resource available to serve an individual with developmental 
disabilities and his/her family as follows. 

1.  The individual lives in Louisiana and is approved 
to participate in developmental disabilities services in 
accordance with the developmental disability law. More 
specifically, the individual has a current statement of 
approval.  

2. The individual may receive individual and family 
support funds to address identified supports to enable the 
person to remain in the community and/or to improve his/her 
quality of life.  

3. The individual is at risk of being institutionalized or 
is institutionalized but intends to return to the community 
with appropriate supports.  

B. The individual and his/her family must demonstrate 
the ability to provide the necessary and appropriate care and 
supervision for the individual with developmental 
disabilities who receives the support. 

C. The family must not be subsidized for care of the 
individual except for Family Independence Temporary 
Assistance Program (FITAP) or Social Security (SS) 
benefits. OCDD flexible family fund, Department of 
Children and Family Services adoption subsidy, and child 
support are not considered subsidized care; requests may be 
approved on an individual basis for eligible individuals 
receiving adoption subsidies. 

D. Financial circumstances will be considered in the 
prioritization of individual and family support program 
funds except that family income will not disqualify 
applicants, but the applicant’s ability to independently
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provide supports will be considered in funding decisions. 
Individual income will be considered for persons with 
developmental disabilities who are establishing or 
maintaining supervised independent living in the 
community. 

E. Requests for individual and family support funding 
may be approved for non-related persons when the applicant 
meets all other eligibility criteria, with at least one of the 
following. 

1. The relationship and/or living arrangement is of 
long-standing or is permanent (not temporary) duration. 

2. The person providing care is not the guardian of the 
applicant. 

3. The applicant meets the Internal Revenue Service 
definition for a dependent for federal income tax purposes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1109. Request for Individual and Family Support 

Funding 
A. The request for individual and family support funding 

can be made by any eligible individual with developmental 
disabilities or his/her family or representatives, support 
coordination agent or designated facility personnel for 
individuals residing in residential facilities who desire to 
return to the community and/or family. 

B. All requests for individual and family support funding 
will go to the geographically appropriate LGE for 
determination. 

C. Individuals must have a current statement of approval 
(SOA) to receive individual and family support funds unless 
situation meets exceptions set forth by OCDD. 

D. The support coordinator will assist the individual 
and/or family in completing the plan of support to request 
individual and family support funding. 

1. The support coordinator will complete the plan of 
support in cooperation with the applicant and his/her family 
and will provide information on available supports and the 
type of support requested. The individual and/or family will 
be considered the primary decision maker. 

2. The LGE administering individual and family 
support (IFS) funds shall have responsibility for 
determination of the prioritization for allocation of IFS 
funds.  

3. Requests for individual and family support funds 
will be made to the geographically appropriate LGE. The 
developmental disabilities director will determine whether 
the request requires an immediate response. This can also be 
accomplished through designation by the developmental 
disabilities director. 

4. Individuals with developmental disabilities or their 
families will have the opportunity to present their requests to 
the individual and family support committee in person or by 
representation of their choice. The support coordinator may 
represent the applicant and his/her family at their request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 

§1111. Plan of Support 
A. There will be a single plan of support for each 

applicant for individual and family support funding, 
regardless of the funding mechanism or LGE delivering 
supports, which will be developed on the most recently 
OCDD approved format.  

B. The support coordinator will meet with the individual 
and/or family to generate an individualized plan of support 
specific to the individual’s need for supports, to include the 
following as defined by OCDD: personal outcome goal(s), 
exploration of resources available to the individual and/or 
family, support requests to adequately justify and determine 
the extent and duration of support(s) needed and statement 
of the total amount of funds to be expended and the terms of 
service delivery. 

C. The plan of support will reflect the participant’s 
current life situation and pattern of support needs and will be 
revised at least annually and when the participant’s life 
circumstances change, such as the participant moves into a 
supported independent living setting or begins to receive 
waiver services, and/or when support needs change, such as 
when care giver(s) health fails and increased personal care 
service are needed. 

D. The plan of support will be completed prior to the 
development of any form of agreement to provide individual 
and family support funding (except in the case of an 
emergent situation as determined by the developmental 
disabilities director) and the term of service will extend for 
the duration of service. 

E. The plan of support will specify the conditions of use 
of service and reporting or documentary responsibilities of 
the participant and/or family receiving services. 

F. The comprehensive plan of care generated by the 
service coordination agents for waiver services may serve as 
the plan of support according to conditions set forth by the 
OCDD. 

G. The plan of support will be reviewed at least annually 
by the LGE and in other circumstances as defined by 
OCDD. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1113. Prioritization for Individual and Family Support 

Funding 
A. Each LGE will be responsible for the prioritization of 

all requests for individual and family support funding 
presented for a funding decision according to the following. 

1. Priority 1. Without requested supports, there is an 
immediate or potential threat out-of-home placement or 
homelessness due to: 

a. the individual’s emergent or acute medical care 
needs; 

b. documented abuse or neglect of the individual 
requiring immediate action to preserve his/her health or 
safety; 

c. death or inability of caregiver to continue care 
due to his/her own age or health exposing the individual to 
substantial jeopardy; 
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d. caregiver’s inability to continue care without 
assistance due to employment or other family obligations; 

e. the individual’s intense or frequent challenging 
behavioral needs requiring immediate action to preserve 
his/her health; or 

f. substantial threat that the individual will 
experience a health crisis leading to death or homelessness, 
hospitalization or placement in a nursing facility without the 
requested supports. 

2. Priority 2. Supports are needed to prevent the 
individual’s health from deteriorating or the individual from 
losing his/her independence or productivity, and/or to 
maintain the caregiver’s ability to provide supports and a 
stable home environment in the foreseeable future. 

3. Priority 3. Supports are needed to maintain the 
individual’s health, independence or productivity, and/or to 
maintain the caregiver’s long-term ability to provide 
supports in a stable home environment. 

4. Priority 4. Supports are needed to enhance the 
individual’s quality of life and enhance the family’s ability to 
provide a stable home environment. 

B. Individual and family support funding will be 
accessed only after it is determined and documented that 
natural, generic or other entitlement supports are not 
sufficient to meet the needs of the individual. The LGE and 
support coordinators will be knowledgeable of and utilize, 
where possible and feasible, existing services, programs 
and/or funding sources and work actively to educate 
applicants of such resources.  

C. All individual and family support allocations will be 
evaluated at the time of the initial application for funding 
and at least annually thereafter to determine the continuing 
need for authorized supports. Documentation shall be 
provided with completion of the OCDD individual and 
family support prioritization instrument form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1115. Individual and Family Support Committee 

A. Each LGE will maintain an individual and family 
support committee to be convened on a regular basis, no less 
than quarterly, and on an as-needed basis to serve an 
advisory function to LGE deliberations about allocation of 
funding. 

B. The individual and family support committee shall be 
composed of the developmental disabilities director, or 
designee; the supervisor of the individual and family support 
program; the support coordinator working with the 
applicant; at least one from an advocacy organization, such 
as Family Helping Families; at least one representative of 
the regional advisory committee; and at least one adult 
participant or a parent or a participant receiving supports 
through the individual and family support program. An adult 
participant or a parent may serve in a dual role on the 
committee.  

C. The developmental disabilities director, or designee, 
shall report the activities of the individual and family 
support committee to the regional advisory committee at 
least quarterly to include: 

1. number of persons receiving individual and family 
support funding;  

2. types of supports provided;  

3. total amount of funds budgeted and expended; 
4. resolution of emergency funding requests and 

expenditures; 
5. circumstances of imposition of fiscal controls 

imposed on recipients of individual and family support 
funds, if any; and 

6. results of the quarterly supervisory review of at 
least 10 percent of active individual and family support cases 
completed. 

D. The developmental disabilities director, or designee, 
shall maintain a record of the meetings of the individual and 
family support committee including, minimally, those in 
attendance, requests discussed, and resolution of all 
applications. This record will be made available for review 
by monitoring or auditing activity as requested by OCDD. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1117. Allocation of Individual and Family Support 

Funding 
A. Authorization for individual and family support 

funding will be made by the developmental disabilities 
director in cases determined to require immediate action. 
Factors which may influence allocation of funds under these 
circumstances include:  

1. urgency of need;  
2. probable consequences of failure to allocate funds 

and possible benefits;  
3. adequacy of utilization of and exploration of 

alternative resources; and 
4. resources available to the individual with 

developmental disabilities and/or the family. 
B. Authorization for funding in cases determined to not 

require immediate action by the developmental disabilities 
director will be prioritized by the LGE according to §1113 to 
determine the level of need and service authorized and, any 
limitations, stipulations or conditions to be met by the 
individual or family to receive individual and family support 
funding. 

C. Actions which may be taken shall be defined by the 
OCDD and shall include: approval, approval pending 
funding, deferment, and denial.  

D. The LGE shall notify persons requesting services of 
the decision to allocate individual and family support funds 
in writing within 10 days of taking any action on the request. 

1. Notification to applicants and their support 
coordinators will be written and documented by copy of the 
letter of notification which shall include notification of their 
right to appeal the decision. 

2. Separate notifications will be made each time a 
request for supports is reviewed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1119. Individual and Family Support Expenditures 

A. Individual and family support expenditures will only 
be authorized through a plan of support which will: 

1. be generated no more than 90 days before the 
request for support is made; 

2. extend for the duration of any agreement to utilize 
individual and family support funds;  
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3. define the specific type, duration and intensity of 
supports needed; and 

4. identify the agent(s) to provide the service and any 
special conditions associated with service delivery. 

B. The developmental disabilities director, or designee, 
shall be responsible for expenditures in the individual and 
family support program, more specifically the amount 
budgeted and the number of people served, and shall ensure 
administration within the guidelines established by the 
OCDD.  

C. The developmental disabilities director, or designee, 
shall be responsible for supplying written justification for 
expenditures above $15,000 for a single individual within a 
single fiscal year from all sources to the executive director 
of a LGE prior to expenditure of funds. Plans of support 
approved for less than this amount will not require such 
notification. A copy of the letter of justification shall be 
maintained in the participant record. 

D. The developmental disabilities director, or designee, 
shall be responsible for supplying written justification of 
expenditures outside guidelines established by the OCDD to 
the executive director of a LGE before funds are expended. 
Plans of support which are within program guidelines will 
not require such notification. A copy of the letter of 
justification shall be maintained in the participant record. 

E. The developmental disabilities director may authorize 
a one-time expenditure for a payment prior to receipt of 
service if documentation which justifies the individual or 
family’s financial hardship and/or inability to provide the 
advance payment required for cost-reimbursement individual 
agreements is provided. Individual and/or family reliance on 
FITAP, SS disability or SSI will be adequate justification for 
such expenditure. 

F. Each participant record will include an expenditure 
recap sheet, which details all individual and family support 
expenditures, regardless of payment mechanism and which 
provides a contemporaneous record of expenditures. 

G. Funds appropriated or allocated to the individual and 
family support program cannot be used for salaries of civil 
service or contract employees who coordinate and monitor 
the individual and family support services and the use of the 
funds or for other costs associated with administering this 
program. All funds appropriated or allocated to the 
individual and family support program must be spent on the 
direct purchase of goods, supports or services to assist the 
individual with a developmental disability and/or his/her 
family. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1121. Implementing the Plan of Support 

A. The support coordinator, in cooperation with the 
participant, will implement the plan of support as approved. 

B. The support coordinator will serve as the primary 
resource to individuals with disabilities or their families in 
development and implementation of the plan of support. 

C. Individuals and families receiving supports will be 
expected to assume personal responsibility for use of the 
individual and family support funds. 

D. When participants have demonstrated the need for 
assistance in overseeing supports, which maintain health, 
safety and protection from abuse, neglect or exploitation, the 

LGE will be responsible to provide active support to that 
individual or family. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1123. Eligible Supports 

A. Individual and family support program supports are 
intended to maintain maximum flexibility in meeting the 
needs of eligible individuals with developmental disabilities 
and their families, which exceed those normally met by use 
of existing LGE funding and other resources of the LGE, 
family and community. Because every individual is unique, 
supports will be unique and will change with time and the 
circumstances of the individual and family needing supports. 

1. Examples of eligible supports include, but are not 
limited to: 

a. special equipment/supplies; 
b. special nutrition/clothing; 
c. special therapies; 
d.  respite; 
e. medical expenses; 
f. medications; 
g. therapeutic services; 
h. personal care attendant; 
i. home modifications; 
j. crisis intervention; 
k. family training/therapies 
l. homemaker services; 
m. vehicle modifications; 
n. recreation services; 
o. communication services; 
p. transportation; 
q. counseling services; 
r. home health services; 
s. support coordination; 
t. specialized utility costs; 
u. sitter services; 
v equipment and supplies; 
w. adaptive equipment; 
x. nutritional supplies; 
y. personal assistance services; 
z. companion/roommate services; 
aa. special evaluations; 
bb. therapeutic nursing services; 
cc. family subsidy; 
dd. vocational/employment supports; 
ee. specialized diagnosis and evaluation; 
ff. and dental/medical care not otherwise available. 

2. Individual and family support funds will not 
supplant other sources of funding. Eligible supports are 
limited to those for which an individual or family is not 
eligible through existing public or private programs or other 
funding sources. 

3. Individual and family support funds can be used to 
supplement other sources of payment only when that 
funding is deemed by the developmental disabilities director 
to be insufficient to meet existing needs and is fully 
documented as such in the participant record. 

4. Financial subsidy does not reflect a growth in 
family income; it will not be used in calculations for 
eligibility for public entitlements except for ineligibility to 
participate in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
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Program (SNAP), formerly known as the Food Stamp 
Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1125. Ineligible Supports 

A. Supports ineligible for payment by individual and 
family support funding include: 

1. items or supports for which an individual or family 
is routinely eligible under existing programs, such as 
Medicaid state plan services, home and community-based 
waiver services, local educational organization, etc., unless 
there is sufficient documented justification that the specific 
needs of the individual or family exceed existing policy 
guidelines; 

2. items or supports for which a school-aged (3-22 
years) child is eligible as a “related service” under Public 
Law 94-142, or, which an EarlySteps eligible child/family is 
entitled to receive as part of the EarlySteps system, unless 
there is sufficient documentation of efforts to address the 
need through the child's individualized education program 
(IEP) or IFSP conference, and to pursue due process if 
warranted; 

3. payments to related persons or unrelated persons 
who reside in the home of the participant, unless such 
payment is a part of a contracted arrangement for persons 
living independently in the community; 

4. behavior management for school-aged children, 
unless maladaptive behavior(s) will likely result in out-of-
home placement in the absence of such supports;  

5. funding for supports and/or equipment for 
individuals with developmental disabilities when needed 
only for the care giver's health, unless, such requests are 
based on supporting the care giver's long-term ability to 
maintain the participant in the home and community; and 

6. funding for any costs associated with the 
participant’s individual or family liability for employment of 
persons to provide individual and family support funded 
services, more specifically FICA taxes, workman’s 
compensation insurance, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1127. Payment Mechanisms 

A. The developmental disabilities director, or designee, 
shall authorize all expenditures of individual and family 
support funds and shall have final discretion on the type of 
payment mechanism, with appropriate prior notifications to 
the executive director of a LGE as specified by the OCDD. 

B. Individual and family support program supports may 
be provided through any legitimate and appropriate funding 
mechanism authorized by current Department of Health 
contracting or purchasing practices or the policies and 
procedures established by a LGE. This may include the use 
of individual agreements for goods and services, purchase 
orders (integrated statewide information system mechanism) 
for purchase of goods, and contracts for supports with either 
individuals or external agencies.  

C. Documentation will be required for all individual and 
family support funds expended. This may take the form of 

receipts for goods or services, time-sheets for service 
delivery, utility statements, etc. 

D. When an individual receiving individual and family 
support services moves to a region served by a different 
LGE and the service is still needed at the new location, the 
LGEs will negotiate the continuation of the funding of the 
service in order to ensure continuity of service. 

E. The appropriate support coordinator will instruct the 
participant on the means to document delivery of supports, 
including providing appropriate billing forms and/or special 
instructions, both at the point of initiation of supports and 
quarterly thereafter for the duration of service provision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1129. Fiscal Control of Use of Individual and Family 

Support Funds 
A. The plan of support for each recipient of individual 

and family support funds shall clearly reflect the intended 
utilization of supports and be specific to the type and level of 
support to be received; conditions of delivery of service; and 
the frequency, duration, and effectiveness of the service. 

B. The developmental disabilities director shall be 
responsible for the appropriate use of individual and family 
support funds in cooperation with the support coordinator to 
ensure that no support or service is funded, which is not 
clearly identified on an approved plan of support. 

C. All individual and family support agreements will 
contain clear identification of any payroll and/or other taxes 
as the sole responsibility of the participant and not the LGE. 
No individual and family support sponsored reimbursement 
may be used in any way to defer the participant 
responsibility for payroll tax payment or deferral. 

D. All questions about payroll or other taxes or other 
fiscal responsibilities of participants of individual and family 
support funds are to be referred to tax specialists for advice 
and/or resolution of questions. No OCDD or LGE employee 
may answer participant questions about legal obligations of 
the participant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1131. Monitoring the Plan of Support 

A. Support coordinators will maintain at least quarterly 
contact with the participant, with documentation to the 
record, for the duration of supports; contact can be face-to-
face or by telephone except that home or vehicle 
modification(s) will be viewed by the support coordinator. 
Regardless of the manner of monitoring, a record of 
monitoring activities shall be maintained in the participant 
record at the LGE office. 

B. Active plans of support will be monitored for the 
duration of support provision; the participant record will 
clearly indicate the period during which monitoring will 
occur and the point at which monitoring can be terminated. 

C. Monitoring of supports shall address fiscal issues of 
whether receipts satisfy and conform to the conditions of 
delivery of the plan of support. Processing of receipts and 
billing forms shall not be considered an adequate monitoring 
of delivery of support. 
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D. Monitoring of the plan of support will involve follow-
up of questionable fiscal practices, including attempts to 
recoup inappropriate payment if necessary. Such instances 
will include, but not be limited to, when adequate receipts 
are not submitted, when eligibility is in question, or when 
the individual or family has demonstrated questionable 
compliance with program policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1133. Regional Program Monitoring and Reporting 

A. Each LGE will conduct a supervisory review of at 
least 10 percent of the plans of support of individual and 
family support applicants and participants on an at least 
quarterly basis to ensure compliance with program 
guidelines and quality of service delivery to persons 
requesting and receiving individual and family support 
program supports. This internal review shall be the 
responsibility of the LGE and supervisory personnel as 
designated by the developmental disabilities director. 

B. Each LGE will monitor individual and family support 
funds allocated for its use and report in the format required 
by the OCDD central office. Periodic reports will be 
generated by the central data management system of the 
OCDD. 

C. An annual review of LGE program operations will be 
completed by personnel of the OCDD central office as 
designated by the assistant secretary, and each LGE will 
work cooperatively with officials of authorized state or 
federal agencies to satisfy audit or monitoring requirements 
as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1135. Terminations 

A. Terminations occur when an individual and family 
support service has been approved and is then terminated for 
one of the reasons listed in Subsection B of this Section. 
This is not the same as a closure of request which occurs 
before a service is approved.  

B. Terminations may be initiated by the LGE or 
individual or family receiving the individual and family 
support service for the any of the following reasons: 

1. death of the participant; 
2. fraud; 
3. relocation of the individual receiving supports 

outside of Louisiana; 
4. termination of program; 
5. deterioration of participant health and/or 

functioning; 
6. confirmed abuse, neglect or exploitation of 

participant (individual with developmental disabilities); 
7. significant changes in family constellation; 
8. participant request when the individual with 

developmental disabilities is of majority and legally 
competent; 

9. substantial changes and failure to report such 
changes in individual and family circumstance that results in

the participant becoming eligible for support from sources 
other than the individual and family support program, and 
the program is no longer the payor of last resort such as, but 
not limited to: 

a. receipt of or certification of Medicaid services 
(new opportunities waiver; children’s choice waiver; 
supports waiver; residential options waiver; early and 
periodic screening, diagnostics and treatment or EPSDT; 
personal care services or PCS; long term-personal care 
services or LT-PCS; community choices waiver; and adult 
day health care waiver); 

b. trust funds; and 
c. change in living arrangements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 
§1137. Appeals 

A. Persons requesting individual and family support 
funds and recipients of supports who have been denied 
supports or had supports reduced or terminated, have access 
to the Division of Administrative Law-Louisiana 
Department of Health (LDH) section. 

B. Applicants and recipients of supports will be 
informed of their right of appeal and of the process of appeal 
when a determination of whether individual and family 
support funds will or will not be made available and at what 
level, and at termination of supports. 

C. Appellants will have 30 days from the date of 
notification of the action to register an appeal of that action. 

D. To make an appeal, individuals can contact either 
their support coordinator or the LGE office by telephone, in 
writing or in person, for assistance. 

E. The appellant, with or without the assistance of the 
support coordinator, will be responsible for completing the 
appropriate documentation and forwarding it to the Division 
of Administrative Law-LDH section as set forth by the 
OCDD.  

F. The LGE will cooperate with the Division of 
Administrative Law to provide information as appropriate to 
complete the appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:824. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed action will have no 

known or foreseeable impact on the: 
1. stability of the family; 
2. authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. behavior and personal responsibility of children; or 
6. ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the functions as contained in the proposed action.  
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 
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1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; or 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance.  
Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Mark 

A. Thomas, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, P.O. Box 3117, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3117. 
Mr. Thomas is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

February 24, 2017 at 9:30 a.m., in Room 118, Bienville 
Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that 
time, all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing.  

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Individual and Family Support Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change intends to codify both the 

existing policy and practice for implementation of the 
Individual and Family Support (IFS) Program. The proposed 
rule amends the Louisiana Administrative Code Title 48, Part 
IX, Developmental Disabilities Services, to add Chapter 11: 
Individual and Family Support Program.  

The IFS Program is designed to meet those needs of 
individuals with developmental disabilities, which exceed those 
normally met by existing resources, including both entitlements 
and those occurring naturally in the individual’s family and 
community. The proposed rule clarifies existing practice to 
establish in rule the definitions, records and processes, such as 
eligibility, individual planning, program monitoring and 
oversight, funding prioritization and allocation, expenditures, 
and payment mechanisms, to ensure proper utilization of 
program funds and service delivery.  There is no anticipated 
programmatic or fiscal impact to the Louisiana Department of 
Health or the Local Governing Entities other than the cost of 
rule promulgation for FY 2016-17. The estimated cost of 
rulemaking is $5,112 from the State General Fund for both the 

proposed rule and the final rule.  These costs are routinely 
included in OCDD’s annual operating budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not affect revenue collections for FY 2016-17. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no economic cost or benefits to directly affected 
persons or non-governmental groups for FY 2016-17.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Mark A. Thomas Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1701#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Correction 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Broker Permits and General Requirements 
(LAC 55:IX.Chapter 1) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, in accordance with 
R.S. 49:953(B), of the Administrative Procedure Act, to 
amend, supplement and expand portions of and readopt LAC 
55:I.Chapter 1 as authorized by R.S. 40:1846.  

In particular, notice is given to amend LAC 55:IX.107 to 
require a permit for third party brokers who are instrumental 
in the sale and service of liquefied petroleum. In addition, 
filing fees for all applications will be $150. 

The text of this proposed Rule may be viewed in the 
Emergency Rule section of this edition of the Louisiana 
Register. 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule will not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972.D or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically there should be no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children. 
Local governmental entities have the ability to perform 

the enforcement of the action proposed in accordance with 
R.S. 40:1730.23.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on child, individual, or 

family poverty has been considered and it is estimated that 
the proposed action is not expected to have a significant 
adverse impact on poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as provided in the LA R.S. 
49:973. The agency has considered economic welfare factors
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and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on poverty. 

Small Business Analysis  
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The 
agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and 
economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR 

107) of the 2014 Regular Session of the Legislature, the 
provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 
It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a positive 
impact on providers. However, the particular proposed Rule 
does not impact or affect the staffing level requirements 
required to provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Such comments 
should be submitted no later than February 10, 2017, at 4:30 
p.m. to Melinda L. Long, Office of Legal Affairs, 7979 
Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. A public 
hearing will be scheduled if the requisite number of 
comments are received by the deadline date. 

 
John W. Alario 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Broker Permits  

and General Requirements 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will result in a one-time 
marginal increase in administrative costs for the Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Commission associated with generating and 
processing forms associated with Class III permit location 
approval forms. The associated costs and workload will be 
marginal and absorbed using the agency’s current personnel 
and budget authority. The proposed rule changes reflect 
policies adopted by the Commission to permit third-party 
brokers of liquefied petroleum gas. 

The proposed amendments to Rule 107(A)(1) alter the 
provision requiring applicants to pay an application filing fee of 
$100 per Class I and IV permit, $50 per Class VI permit, and 
$25 for all other permit classes, and sets a flat $150 filing fee 
for all permit classes. The proposed changes to Rule 107(A)(6) 
amend the permit fee schedule to include the permit fee for the 
new Class III permit, which shall be $500. The proposed 
amendments to Rule 113 implements the criteria for the Class 
III permits. The proposed amendments to Rule 159 establish 
the “Location Approval Form” for the Class III permits. 

The proposed rule changes will not result in any costs for 
local governmental units, nor will it result in any savings to 
state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will change will increase revenue 
collections for the LP Gas Commission by an indeterminable 
amount. Present rule states that there is a one-time application 
filing fee of $100 per Class I and IV permit, $50 per Class VI 
permit, and $25 per permit for all other permit classes. The 
proposed amendment states that the associated filing fee for all 
applicants, including the new Class III, will be $150. The 
proposed rule also states that a Class III permit fee is $500. 
Furthermore, any revenues generated by the proposed rule 
change will be offset by an indeterminable amount as a result 
of different permittees previously paying different filing fees. 
The revenue offset is indeterminable using historical data, 
because the number of applications for each different permit 
type vary from year to year.  

The LP Gas Commission anticipates 55-57 total permit 
applications in FY 17 based upon historical totals. As a result, 
the new $150 application filing fee may generate a total 
increase of approximately $8,250-$8,550 in gross revenues. 
However, any increased revenues would be offset by an 
indeterminable amount, as different permit classes previously 
paid different filing fees ranging from $25 - $100. For 
informational purposes, the three-year average of revenues 
derived from LP gas application filings from FY 14 – 16 
totaled approximately $9,800.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will affect new third party 
brokers of liquefied petroleum gas and dealers that have to 
apply for a permit. Previously dealers paid a filing fee of $25-
$100. The proposed change to Rule 107(A)(6) states that all 
applicants will now pay $150. Dealers of LP gas will realize a 
cost increase related to permit filing fees ranging from $50 - 
$125 as a result of the new $150 fee for all permits. 
Furthermore, the proposed rule change establishes the $500 fee 
for Class III permits, which LP gas dealers hoping to receive 
Class III status must pay. There is currently one LP gas dealer 
waiting to register as a Class III dealer. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule increases the cost of business for 
liquefied petroleum gas dealers statewide by increasing the 
permit filing fee to $150 from a previous range of $25-$100. 
Some dealers may be adversely affected by the higher filing 
fee, though the effect of the higher fee will likely be marginal 
and not affect aggregate business activity statewide.  

The proposed rule will not affect employment.  
 

Jason S. Starnes Evan Brasseaux 
Interim Undersecretary Staff Director 
1701#075 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Correction 
Uniform Construction Code Council 

Uniform Construction Code 
(LAC 17:I.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 40:1730.26 and 
R.S. 40:1730.28, relative to the authority of the Louisiana 
State Uniform Construction Code Council (LSUCCC) to 
promulgate and enforce rules and in accordance with R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, the
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Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the 
State Fire Marshal, Louisiana State Uniform Construction 
Code Council (LSUCCC) hereby gives notice that it 
proposes to amend and adopt the following rule. The 
purpose of adopting and amending the currently adopted 
construction codes is to replace them with the more recent 
2015 editions of the International Building Code, 
International Residential Code, International Plumbing 
Code, International Existing Building Code, International 
Fuel Gas Code and International Mechanical Code and the 
2014 edition of the National Electric Code. 

Title 17 
CONSTRUCTION 

Part I.  Uniform Construction Code 
Chapter 1. Adoption of the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code 
(Formerly LAC 55:VI.Chapter 3) 

§101. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 
(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A) 

A. In accordance with the requirements set forth in R.S. 
40:1730.28, effective July 1, 2017 the following is hereby 
adopted as an amendment to the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshal, LR 41:2380 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshal, Uniform Construction Code Council, LR 42:1672 
(October 2016), LR 43: 
§103. International Building Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.1) 
A. International Building Code (IBC), 2015 Edition, not 

including Chapter 1, Administration, Chapter 11, 
Accessibility, Chapter 27, Electrical. The applicable 
standards referenced in that code are included for regulation 
of construction within this state. Furthermore, IBC shall be 
amended as follows and shall only apply to the International 
Building Code. 

1. Amend Chapter 2 Definitions. 
Mini-Storage Facility---A self-service storage facility 

which rents or leases individual storage space to occupants 
for the storage and/or removal of personal property. 

2. Amend Chapter 9 to adopt and amend 2015 
International Building Code,  

a. Section 903.2.1.2, Group A-2.  
 i. Amend item number (2.) The fire area has an 
occupant load of 300 or more. 
 ii.  Add item number (4.) Open air pavilions on 
three sides or more, not exceeding 12,000 square feet, shall 
not be required to comply with 903.2.1.3(1) and 903.2.1.3(2) 
where each side has unobstructed access to a public way 

(10’-0” wide by 10’-0” high). No fixed elements, equipment, 
seating, etc. are permitted within the 10’-0” by 10’-0” 
access. 
 iii. Exception: 

(a). The requirements of Section 903.2.1.2(1) and 
903.2.1.2(2) shall not apply to a single multi-purpose room less 
than 12,000 sf when all of the following conditions are met: 
(i). The single multi-purpose room shall not be used for 
display or exhibition, bars or taverns; 
(ii). The single multi-purpose room shall not share exit 
access with other occupancies. Non-separated accessory uses 
that are incidental or ancillary to the single multi-purpose 
room shall be considered as part of the assembly occupancy. 
The accessory uses shall not be limited to 10% of the single 
multi- purpose room floor area and/or building, but shall be 
included and considered as part of the limited assembly 
room floor area; 
(iii). The single multi-purpose room shall not be part of a fire 
area containing other assembly occupancies; 
(iv). A single multi-purpose room with an occupant load 
greater than 300 persons shall be provided with a fire alarm 
system in accordance with 907.2.1. 
(v). The single multi-purpose room with its accessory or 
ancillary uses shall be separated, when part of a multiple 
occupancy, in accordance with Table 508.4 and Section 707 
from the remainder of the building. The single multi- 
purpose room fire area containing the single multi-purpose 
room and its accessory or ancillary uses shall be less than 
12,000 sf. 
(vi) Provide system smoke detection in all areas in 
accordance with Section 907 throughout the entire building. 

b. Section 903.2.1.3 Group A-3.  
i. Add item number (4) Open air pavilions on three sides or 
more, not exceeding 12,000 square feet, shall not be required 
to comply with 903.2.1.3(2) where each side has 
unobstructed access to a public way (10’-0” wide by 10’-0” 
high). No fixed elements, equipment, seating, etc. are 
permitted within the 10’-0” by 10’-0” access.  
 ii. Exception: 

(a). The requirements of Section 903.2.1.2(1) and 
903.2.1.2(2) shall not apply to a single multi-purpose room less 
than 12,000 sf when all of the following conditions are met: 
(i).The single multi-purpose room shall not be used for 
display or exhibition; 
(ii).The single multi-purpose room shall not share exit access 
with other occupancies. Non-separated accessory uses that 
are incidental or ancillary to the single multi-purpose room 
shall be considered as part of the assembly occupancy. The 
accessory uses shall not be limited to 10% of the single 
multi- purpose room floor area and/or building, but shall be 
included and considered as part of the limited assembly 
room floor area; 
(iii).The single multi-purpose room shall not be part of a fire 
area containing other assembly occupancies; 
(iv). A single multi-purpose room with an occupant load 
greater than 300 persons shall be provided with a fire alarm 
system in accordance with 907.2.1. 
(v). The single multi-purpose room with its accessory or 
ancillary uses shall be separated, when part of a multiple 
occupancy, in accordance with Table 508.4 and Section 707 
from the remainder of the building. The single multi- 
purpose room fire area containing the single multi-purpose 
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room and its accessory or ancillary uses shall be less than 
12,000 sf. 
(vi) Provide system smoke detection in all areas in 
accordance with Section 907 throughout the entire building. 

c. Section 903.2.9 Group S-1. 
i. Add under item number 5. A Group S-1 occupancy used 
for the storage of upholstered furniture or mattresses exceeds 
2,500 square feet (232 m2). 

(a). Exception: 
(i).The requirement of 903.2.9(5) shall not apply to mini-
storage facilities less than 12,000 sf. Mini-storage facilities, 
including mini-storage facilities which are climate-
controlled, shall comply with 903.2.9(1) thru 903.2.9(4). 

d. Section 903.2.7 Group M. 
i. Amend item number (4) A Group M occupancy used for 
the display and sale of upholstered furniture or mattresses 
where the floor area occupied by the upholstered furniture or 
mattresses exceeds 5,000 square feet (464 m2). 

e. Section 903.2.8 Group R. 
i. Exeption: 

(a). An automatic sprinkler system is not required 
when not more than two dwelling or sleeping units are 
attached to a commercial or non-residential occupancy 
where all of the following conditions exist: 
(i). The dwelling or sleeping units shall be separated 
vertically and/or horizontally from the non-residential 
occupancy as well as each other by two-hour construction in 
accordance with Sections 707 and 711. 
(ii).The entire building shall be smoke protected in 
accordance with Section 907. 
(iii). Egress from the dwelling or sleeping units shall NOT 
pass through the non-residential occupancy. 
(iv).The building shall not exceed two stories. 

b. An automatic sprinkler system is not required in 
Residential Group R-3, boarding houses (transient and 
nontransient) as defined by Section 310.5, where one of the 
following conditions exist: 
i. Every sleeping room has a door opening directly to the 
exterior at the street or finish grade; 
ii. Every sleeping room has a door opening directly to the 
exterior which leads to an outside stair protected in 
accordance with Section 1027; 

3. Amend and revise Tables 1006.3.2(1) and 
1006.3.2(2). 

a. Delete from footnote “a” 
i. and provided with emergency escape and rescue openings 
in accordance with Section 1030. 

4. Amend Section 1010.1.9.6, Controlled egress doors in 
Groups I-1 and I-2. 

a. Electric locking systems, including 
electromechanical locking systems and electromagnetic 
locking systems, shall be permitted to be locked in the 
means of egress in Group I-1 or I-2 occupancies where 
persons receiving care require their containment. Controlled 
egress doors shall be permitted in such occupancies where 
the building is equipped throughout with an automatic 
sprinkler system in accordance with Section 903.3.1.1 or an 
approved automatic smoke or heat detection system installed 
in accordance with Section 907, provided that the doors are 
installed and operate in accordance with all of the following: 
i. The door locks shall unlock on actuation of the automatic 
sprinkler system or automatic fire detection system. 

ii. The door locks shall unlock on loss of power controlling 
the lock or lock mechanism. 
iii. The door locking system shall be installed to have the 
capability of being unlocked by a switch located at the fire 
command center, a nursing station or other approved 
location. The switch shall directly break power to the lock. 
iv. Amend Item (4.) A means of manual mechanical 
unlocking must be provided at each door that is not in direct 
view of the remote release location required by Item 3. 
v. The procedures for unlocking the doors shall be described 
and approved as part of the emergency planning and 
preparedness required by Chapter 4 of the International Fire 
Code. 
vi. All cliical staff shall have the keys, codes or other means 
necessary to operate the locking systems. 
 vii. Emergency lighting shall be provided at the door. 
viii. The door locking system units shall be listed in 
accordance with UL 294. 

(a.) Delete Exceptions 1 and 2. 
ix. Add Item (9) “Automatic” Re-Locking, after an 
emergency release as described above, shall be prohibited. A 
specific human action dedicated for re-locking doors must 
be provided at the remote control location or at each lock 
location. 
x. Add Item (10) Document the “Staff/Patient Ratio” for the 
occupants of the locked area to the authority having 
jurisdiction. The ratio shall be within state and federal 
licensing/certification guidelines. Please note that only 
“Nurses” and “Nurses’ Aids” assigned to the locked area 
shall be considered acceptable responsible staff in regard to 
this ratio documentation. 
xi. Add Item (11) Provide the reason for installing 
specialized security measures to the authority having 
jurisdiction.  
xii. Add Item (12) Documentation addressing each condition 
itemized above shall be provided to the authority having 
jurisdiction and shall include the signature of the building 
owner or the facility administrator. 

5. Amend Section 1010.1.9.7, Delayed egress. 
a. Delayed egress locking systems shall be permitted 

to be installed on doors serving any occupancy except the 
main entrance/exit for a Group A, and all exits for a Group H 
in buildings that are equipped throughout with an automatic 
sprinkler system in accordance with Section 903.3.1.1 or an 
approved automatic smoke or heat detection system installed 
in accordance with Section 907. The locking system shall be 
installed and operated in accordance with all of the 
following: 
i. The delay electronics of the delayed egress locking system 
shall deactivate upon actuation of the automatic sprinkler 
system or automatic fire detection system, allowing 
immediate, free egress. 
ii. The delay electronics of the delayed egress locking 
system shall deactivate upon loss of power controlling the 
lock or lock mechanism, allowing immediate free egress. 
iii. The delayed egress locking system shall have the 
capability of being deactivated at the fire command center 
and other approved locations. 
iv. Amend Item (4.)  

(a) An attempt to egress shall initiate an 
irreversible process that shall allow such egress in not more 
than 15 seconds when a force of not more than 15 pounds 
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(67 N) is applied to the egress side door hardware for not 
more than 3 seconds. Initiation of the irreversible process 
shall activate an audible signal in the vicinity of the door. 
Once the delay electronics have been deactivated, rearming 
the delay electronics shall be by manual means only. 

(b) Amend Exception: 
(i) Where approved by the authority having jurisdiction, a 
delay of not more than 30 seconds is permitted on a delayed 
egress door. 

v. Item (5.) The egress path from any point shall not 
pass through more than one delayed egress locking system. 

(a) Delete Exception: 
vi. Item (6) A sign shall be provided on the door and shall be 
located above and within 12 inches (305 mm) of the door 
exit hardware: 

(a) Item (6.1) For doors that swing in the 
direction of egress, the sign shall read: Push until alarm 
sounds. Door can be opened in 15 [30] seconds.  

(b) Item (6.2) For doors that swing in the 
opposite direction of egress, the sign shall read: Pull until 
alarm sounds. Door can be opened in 15 [30] seconds.  

(c) Amend Item (6.3).  
(i) The sign shall comply with the visual character 
requirements in ICC A117.1. Americans with Disabilities 
Act and Architectural Barriers Act – Accessibilities 
Guidelines (ADA/ABA-AG). 
(ii) Delete Exception. 
vii. Emergency lighting shall be provided on the egress side 
of the door. 
viii. The delayed egress locking system units shall be listed 
in accordance with UL 294. 

6. Amend Section 1010.1.9.8, Sensor release of 
electrically locked egress doors.  

a. The electric locks on sensor released doors located 
in a required means of egress are permitted where installed 
and operated in accordance with all of the following criteria: 
i. The sensor shall be installed on the egress side, arranged to 
detect an occupant approaching the doors. The doors shall be 
arranged to unlock by a signal from or loss of power to the 
sensor. 
ii. Loss of power to the lock or locking system shall 
automatically unlock the doors. 
iii. Amend Item (3). 

(a) The doors shall be arranged to unlock from a 
manual unlocking device located 40 inches to 48 inches 
(1016 mm to 1219 mm) vertically above the floor and within 
5 feet (1524 mm) of the secured doors. Ready access shall 
be provided to the manual unlocking device and the device 
shall be clearly identified by a sign that reads “Push to Exit” 
When operated, the manual unlocking device shall result in 
direct interruption of power to the lock—independent of 
other electronics—and the doors shall remain unlocked for 
not less than 30 seconds. The sign shall comply with the 
visual character requirements in Americans with Disabilities 
Act and Architectural Barriers Act – Accessibilities 
Guidelines (ADA/ABA-AG). 
iv. Activation of the building fire alarm system, where 
provided, shall automatically unlock the doors, and the doors 
shall remain unlocked until the fire alarm system has been 
reset. 
 v. Add item (5). 

(a) The activation of manual fire alarm boxes that activate 
the fire alarm system shall not be required to unlock the 
doors. 
vi. Activation of the building automatic sprinkler system or 
fire detection system, where provided, shall automatically 
unlock the doors. The doors shall remain unlocked until the 
fire alarm system has been reset. 
vii. The door locking system units shall be listed in 
accordance with UL 294. 
 viii. Add Item (8). 

(a) Doors in buildings with an occupancy in 
Group A shall not be secured from the egress side during 
periods that the building is open to the general public.  
 ix. Add Item (9). 

(a) Doors in buildings with an occupancy in 
Group R-3 or Group I-3 shall not be equipped with this 
locking system 
 x. Add Item (10). 

(a) Doors serving any Group M occupancy shall 
be permitted to be equipped with this locking system in 
buildings equipped throughout with an automatic sprinkler 
system in accordance with Section 903.3.1.1 or an approved 
automatic smoke or heat detection system installed in 
accordance with Section 907. 
 xi. Add Item (11.) 
(a) Emergency egress lighting shall be provided at the door. 

7. Amend Section 1010.1.9.9, Electromagnetically 
locked egress doors. 

a. Doors in the required means of egress shall be 
permitted to be locked with an electromagnetic locking 
system where equipped with hardware and where installed 
and operated in accordance with all of the following: 
i. The hardware that is affixed to the door leaf has an 
obvious method of operation that is readily operated under 
all lighting conditions. 
 ii. The hardware is capable of being operated with one hand. 
iii. Operation of the hardware directly interrupts the power 
to the electromagnetic lock and unlocks the door 
immediately. 
iv. Loss of power to the locking system automatically 
unlocks the door. 
v. Where panic or fire exit hardware is required by Section 
1010.1.10, operation of the panic or fire exit hardware also 
releases the electromagnetic lock. 
vi. The locking system units shall be listed in accordance 
with UL 294.  

8. Amend Section 1020.1, Construction. 
a. Exceptions: 

i. Add item number (6). A fire-resistance rating is not 
required for corridors where the space or area served does 
not exceed the occupant load and common path of egress 
travel values, for each occupancy, listed in Table 1006.2.1. 
The travel distance to the exit from the space or area served 
shall not exceed the common path of travel. 

9. Amend Chapter 10, Section 1020.5, Air Movement in 
corridors. Corridors that require protection under Table 
1020.1—Corridor Fire-Resistance Rating, shall not serve as 
supply, return, exhaust, relief or ventilation air ducts. 

10. Amend Chapter 10, Section 1027.6. 
a. Add Exception 4. Exterior stairs or ramps which 

serve no more than one story above the level of exit



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 01   January 20, 2017 184

discharge and constructed with non-combustible materials or 
constructed with fire retardant treated lumber, shall be 
allowed when the fire separation distance is between 5 and 
10 feet measured from the exterior edge of the stairway or 
ramp. 

11. Amend Section 1030.1. 
a. Exception: 

i. Item (4) In other than Group R-3 occupancies, buildings 
equipped throughout with an approved automatic sprinkler 
system in accordance with Section 903.3.1.1 or 903.3.1.2. 

12. Amend Chapter 16, Section 1603.1.5, Earthquake 
design data. The following information related to seismic 
loads shall be shown, regardless of whether seismic loads 
govern the design of the lateral-force-resisting system of the 
building: 

a. seismic importance factor, I, and occupancy 
category; 

b. mapped spectral response accelerations, SS and 
S1; 

c. site class; 
d. spectral response coefficients, SDS and SD1; 
e. seismic design category; 
f. basic seismic-force-resisting system(s); 
g. design base shear; 
h. seismic response coefficient(s), CS; 
i. response modification factor(s), R; 
g. analysis procedure used; 
h.  Exceptions: 

i. construction documents that are not required to be 
prepared by a registered design professional; 
ii. construction documents for structures that are assigned to 
Seismic Design Category A. 

13. Amend Chapter 16, Section 1609.1.2, Protection of 
Openings. In wind-borne debris regions, glazing in buildings 
shall be impact resistant or protected with an impact-
resistant covering meeting the requirements of an approved 
impact-resistant standard or ASTM E 1996 and ASTM E 
1886 referenced herein as follows. 

a. Glazed openings located within 30 feet (9144 
mm) of grade shall meet the requirements of the large 
missile test of ASTM E 1996.  

b. Glazed openings located more than 30 feet (9144 
mm) above grade shall meet the provisions of the small 
missile test of ASTM E 1996. 

c. Exceptions: 
 i. wood structural panels with a minimum 
thickness of 7/16 inch (11.1 mm) and maximum panel span 
of 8 feet (2438 mm) shall be permitted for opening 
protection in one- and two-story buildings classified as Risk 
Category 2. Panels shall be precut so that they shall be 
attached to the framing surrounding the opening containing 
the product with the glazed opening. Panels shall be 
predrilled as required for the anchorage method and shall be 
secured with the attachment hardware provided. Attachments 
shall be designed to resist the components and cladding 
loads determined in accordance with the provisions of ASCE 
7, with corrosion-resistant attachment hardware provided 
and anchors permanently installed on the building. 
Attachment in accordance with Table 1609.1.2 with 
corrosion-resistant attachment hardware provided and 
anchors permanently installed on the building is permitted 
for buildings with a mean roof height of 45 feet (13 716 

mm) or less where Vasd determined in accordance with 
Section 1609.3.1 does not exceed 140 mph (63 m/s).  
 ii. glazing in Risk Category I buildings as defined 
in Section 1604.5, including greenhouses that are occupied 
for growing plants on a production or research basis, without 
public access shall be permitted to be unprotected;  
 iii. glazing in Risk Category II, III or IV buildings 
located over 60 feet (18 288 mm) above the ground and over 
30 feet (9144 mm) above aggregate surface roofs located 
within 1,500 feet (458 m) of the building shall be permitted 
to be unprotected.  

14. Amend Chapter 16, Section 1612.4, Design and 
Construction. 

a. Delete Referenced ASCE 24-14 Freeboard 
requirements and Table 1-1 Flood Design Class of Buildings 
and Structures.  

15. Chapter 16 Section 1613.1, Scope. Every structure, 
and portion thereof, including nonstructural components that 
are permanently attached to structures and their supports and 
attachments, shall be designed and constructed to resist the 
effects of earthquake motions in accordance with ASCE 7, 
excluding Chapter 14 and Appendix 11A. The seismic 
design category for a structure is permitted to be determined 
in accordance with Section 1613 or ASCE 7. 

a. Exceptions: 
 i. detached one- and two-family dwellings, 
assigned to Seismic Design Category A, B or C, or located 
where the mapped short-period spectral response 
acceleration, SS, is less than 0.4 g; 
 ii. the seismic-force-resisting system of wood-
frame buildings that conform to the provisions of Section 
2308 are not required to be analyzed as specified in this 
Section; 
 iii. agricultural storage structures intended only for 
incidental human occupancy; 
 iv. structures that require special consideration of 
their response characteristics and environment that are not 
addressed by this code or ASCE 7 and for which other 
regulations provide seismic criteria, such as vehicular 
bridges, electrical transmission towers, hydraulic structures, 
buried utility lines and their appurtenances and nuclear 
reactors; 
 v. structures that are not required to have a 
registered design professional in responsible charge; 
 vi. structures that are assigned to Seismic Design 
Category A. 

b. Amend Chapter 16, Section 1613.1, Scope. Every 
structure, and portion thereof, including nonstructural 
components that are permanently attached to structures and 
their supports and attachments, shall be designed and 
constructed to resist the effects of earthquake motions in 
accordance with ASCE 7, excluding Chapter 14 and 
Appendix 11A. The seismic design category for a structure 
is permitted to be determined in accordance with Section 
1613 or ASCE 7-10. Figure 1613.5(1) shall be replaced with 
ASCE 7-10 Figure 22-1. Figure 1613.5(2) shall be replaced 
with ASCE 7-10 Figure 22-2. 

16. Amend Chapter 29, Plumbing Systems. 
a. Section 2901, Scope. 

i. The provisions of this chapter and the International 
Plumbing Code shall govern the erection, installation, 
alteration, repairs, relocation, replacement, addition to, use 
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or maintenance of plumbing equipment and systems. Toilet 
and bathing rooms shall be constructed in accordance with 
Section 1210. Plumbing and equipment shall be constructed, 
installed and maintained in accordance with the 
International Plumbing Code. 

(a). Delete Private Sewage disposal systems shall 
conform to the International Private Sewage Disposal Code. 

b. Delete Section 2902. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshal, LR 41:2380 (November 2015), LR 43: 
§105. International Existing Building Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.2) 
A. International Existing Building Code (IEBC), 2015 

Edition, not including Chapter 1, Administration, and the 
standards referenced in that code for regulation of 
construction within this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshal, LR 41: 2383 (November 2015), LR 43: 
§107. International Residential Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.3.a) 
A.1. International Residential Code, 2015 Edition, not 

including Parts I-Administrative, and VIII-Electrical. The 
applicable standards referenced in that code are included for 
regulation of construction within this state. The enforcement 
of such standards shall be mandatory only with respect to 
new construction, reconstruction, additions to homes 
previously built to the International Residential Code, and 
extensive alterations. Appendix J, Existing Buildings and 
Structures, may be adopted and enforced only at the option 
of a parish, municipality, or regional planning commission.  

a. Adopt and amend 2012 IRC Section R301.2.1., 
Part IV-Energy Conservation of the latest edition of the 
International Residential Code is hereby amended to require 
that supply and return ducts be insulated to a minimum of R-
6.  

2. Amend Section R302.5.1 Opening Protection. 

a. Openings from a private garage directly into a 
room used for sleeping purposes shall not be permitted. 
Other openings between the garage and residence shall be 
equipped with solid wood doors not less than 13/8 inches 
(35 mm) in thickness, solid or honeycomb-core steel doors 
not less than 13/8 inches (35 mm) thick, or 20-minute fire-
rated doors. 
 i. Delete equipped with a self-closing device. 

3. Amend Section R303.4, Mechanical Ventilation. 
When a blower door test is performed, and the air infiltration 
rate of a dwelling unit is less than 3 air changes per hour 
when tested in accordance with the 2009 IRC Section 
N1102.4.2.1, the dwelling unit shall be provided with whole-
house mechanical ventilation in accordance with Section 
M1507.3.  

4. Additionally, IRC shall be amended as follows and 
shall only apply to the International Residential Code. 

a. Adopt and amend 2015 IRC Section 313.1, 
Townhouse Automatic Sprinkler System. Per Act No. 685 of 
the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
council shall not adopt or enforce any part of the 
International Residential Code or any other code or 
regulation that requires a fire protection sprinkler system in 
one- or two-family dwellings. Further, no municipality or 
parish shall adopt or enforce an ordinance or other regulation 
requiring a fire protection sprinkler system in one- or two-
family dwellings.  
 i. Exception: If an owner voluntarily chooses to 
install an automatic residential fire sprinkler system it shall 
be installed per Section R313.1. 

b. Adopt and amend 2015 IRC Section 313.2, One- 
and Two-Family Dwellings Automatic Fire Systems. Per Act 
No. 685 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the Council shall not adopt or enforce any part 
of the International Residential Code or any other code or 
regulation that requires a fire protection sprinkler system in 
one- or two-family dwellings. Further, no municipality or 
parish shall adopt or enforce an ordinance or other regulation 
requiring a fire protection sprinkler system in one- or two-
family dwellings. 
 i. Exception: if an owner voluntarily choses to 
install an automatic residential fire sprinkler system it shall 
be installed per Section R313.2.1, Design and installation.  

c. Amend Section R322.2.1, Elevation Requirements. 
i, Buildings and structures in flood hazard areas including 
flood hazard areas designated as Coastal A Zones, shall have 
the lowest floors elevated to or above the base flood 
elevation or the design flood elevation.  

(a). Delete plus 1 foot (305 mm) requirement. 
ii. In areas of shallow flooding (AO Zones), buildings and 
structures shall have the lowest floor (including basement) 
elevated to a height of not less than the highest adjacent 
grade as the depth number specified in feet (mm) on the 
FIRM or not less than 2 feet if a depth number is not 
specified.  

(a). Delete plus 1 foot (305 mm) requirement. 
iii. Basement floor that are below grade on all sides shall be 
elevated to or above base flood elevation or the design flood 
elevation, whichever is higher.  

(a). Delete plus 1 foot (305 mm) requirement. 
d. Amend Section R322.3.2, Enclosed area below 

design flood elevation. 
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 i. Delete plus 1 foot (305 mm) requirement. 
e. Amend Section R 1006.1, Exterior Air. Factory-

built or masonry fireplaces covered in this chapter shall be 
equipped with an exterior air supply to assure proper fuel 
combustion. 

5. Substitute Chapter 11, Energy Efficiency of the 
2009 IRC, in lieu of Chapter 11, Energy Efficiency of the 
2015 IRC.  

a. Amend Section N1102.3, Access Hatches and 
Doors. Access doors from conditioned spaces to 
unconditioned spaces shall be weather-stripped and have a 
minimum insulation value of an R-4.  

b. Amend Section N1102.4.2, Air Sealing and 
Insulation. The air tightness demonstration method of 
compliance is to be determined by the contractor, design 
professional or homeowner. 

c. Amend Section N1102.4.2.1, Testing Option. 
Tested air leakage is less than 7 ACH when tested with a 
blower door at a pressure of 50 pascals (0.007 psi). Testing 
shall occur after rough in and after installation of 
penetrations of the building envelope, including penetrations 
for utilities, plumbing, electrical, ventilation and combustion 
appliances. When the contractor, design professional or 
homeowner chooses the blower door testing option, blower 
door testing shall be performed by individuals certified to 
perform blower door tests by a nationally recognized 
organization that trains and provides certification exams for 
the proper procedures to perform such tests. The responsible 
BCEO shall accept written blower door test reports from 
these certified individuals to verify the minimum 
requirements of Section N1102.4.2.1 Testing Option are 
attained.  

i. During testing: 
 (a). exterior windows and doors, fireplace and 
stove doors shall be closed, but not sealed; 
 (b). dampers shall be closed, but not sealed; 
including exhaust, intake, makeup air, back draft, and flue 
dampers; 
 (c). interior doors shall be open; 
 (d). exterior openings for continuous ventilation 
systems and heat recovery ventilators shall be closed and 
sealed; 
 (e). heating and cooling system(s) shall be turned 
off; 
 (f). HVAC ducts shall not be sealed; and 
 (g). supply and return registers shall not be sealed. 

d. Amend Section N1102.4.3, Fireplaces, New 
wood-burning fireplaces shall have outdoor combustion air.  

e. Amend Section N1103.2.1, Insulation 
i. Supply and return ducts in attics shall be insulated to a 
minimum of R-6. 

f. Amend Section N1103.2.2, Sealing, Ducts, air 
handlers, filter boxes and building cavities used as ducts 
shall be sealed. Joints and seams shall comply with section 
M1601.4. Duct leakage testing shall be performed by 
individuals certified to perform duct leakage tests by a 
nationally recognized organization that trains and provides 
certification exams for the proper procedures to perform 
such tests. The responsible BCEO shall accept written duct 
leakage test reports from these certified individuals to verify 
the minimum requirements of Section N1103.2.2 Sealing are 
attained. 

 i. Exception: HVAC Contractors. HVAC 
contractors, who are not certified to perform duct leakage 
tests, may perform the test with the responsible BCEO 
visually verifying test procedures and results on site.  
 ii. Joints and seams shall comply with section 
M1601.4. Duct tightness shall be verified by either for the 
following: 

(a). Post-Construction Test. Leakage to outdoors 
shall be less than or equal to 8 cfm (3.78 L/s) per 100 ft2 
(9.29 m2) of conditioned floor area or a total leakage less 
than or equal to 12 cfm (5.66 L/s) per 100 ft2 (9.29 m2) of 
conditioned floor area when tested at a pressure differential 
of 0.1 inch w.g. (25 Pa) across the entire system, including 
the manufacturer's air handler end closure. All register boots 
shall be taped or otherwise sealed during the test. 

(b). Rough-In Test. Total leakage shall be less 
than or equal to 6 cfm (2.83 L/s) per 100 ft2 (9.29 m2) of 
conditioned floor area when tested at a pressure differential 
of 0.1 inch w.g. (25 Pa) across the roughed in system, 
including the manufacturer's air handler enclosure. All 
register boots shall be taped or otherwise sealed during the 
test. If the air handler is not installed at the time of the test, 
total leakage shall be less than or equal to 4 cfm (1.89 L/s) 
per 100 ft2 (9.29 m2) of conditioned floor area.  
 iii. Exception: duct tightness test is not required if 
the air handler and all ducts are located within conditioned 
space. 

g. Amend Section N1103.8.3, Pool Covers. Pool 
covers shall not be required to meet the energy efficiency 
requirements of this Section. 

h. Amend Section M1307.3.1, Protection from 
Impact. Appliances shall not be installed in a location 
subject to automobile or truck damage except where 
protected by approved barriers 

i. Amend Section M1507.3.1, System Design. The 
whole-house ventilation system shall consist of a 
combination of supply and exhaust fans, and associated 
ducts and controls. Local exhaust and supply fans are 
permitted to serve as such a system. Outdoor air ducts 
connected to the return side of an air handler shall be 
considered to provide supply ventilation.  

j. Amend Section M1507.3.2, System Controls. 
The whole-house mechanical ventilation system shall be 
provided with controls that enable manual override and a 
method of air-flow adjustment. 

k. Amend Section M1507.3.3, Mechanical 
Ventilation Rate. The whole-house mechanical ventilation 
system shall be able to provide outdoor air at a continuous 
rate of at least that determined in accordance with Table 
M1507.3.3(1).  

l. Amend Section M1507.4, Minimum Required 
Local Exhaust. Local exhaust systems shall be designed to 
have the capacity to exhaust the minimum air flow rate as 
follows. 
 i. Kitchen: 100 cfm intermittent or 25 cfm 
continuous, a balanced ventilation system is required for 
continuous exhaust. 
 ii. Bathrooms: exhaust capacity of 50 cfm 
intermittent or 20 cfm continuous, a balanced ventilation 
system is required for continuous exhaust. 

6. Amend Chapter 30, Sanitary Drainage. 
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a. Amend Section P3104.1, Connection. Individual 
branch and circuit vents shall connect to a vent stack, stack 
vent or extend to the open air.  
i. Delete Exception: Individual, branch and circuit vents 
shall be permitted to terminate at an air
admittance valve in accordance with Section P3114.  

b. Delete Section P3114, Air Admittance Valves. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshall, LR 41:2383 (November 2015), amended LR 42:1672 
(October 2016), LR 43: 
§109. International Mechanical Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.4) 
A.1. International Mechanical Code (IMC), 2015 

Edition, and the standards referenced in that code for 
regulation of construction within this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshall, LR 41:2386 (November 2015), LR 43: 
§111. The International Plumbing Code  

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.5) 
A. The International Plumbing Code, 2015 Edition. The 

appendices of that code may be adopted as needed, but the 
specific appendix or appendices shall be referenced by name 
or letter designation at the time of adoption. (per R.S. 
40:1730.28 eff. 1/1/16) 

1. Amend Chapter One. 
a. Amend Section [A] 101.2, Scope. 

 i. Section [A] 101.2, Scope. The provisions of 
this code shall apply to the erection, installation, alteration, 
repairs, relocation, replacement, addition to, use or 
maintenance of plumbing systems within this jurisdiction. 
This code shall also regulate nonflammable medical gas, 
inhalation anesthetic, vacuum piping, nonmedical oxygen 
systems and sanitary and condensate vacuum collection 
systems. The installation of fuel gas distribution piping and 
equipment, fuel-gas-fired water heaters and water heater 
venting systems shall be regulated by the International Fuel 

Gas Code. Provisions in the appendices shall not apply 
unless specifically adopted. 

(a). Nothing in this Part or any provision adopted 
pursuant to this Part shall prohibit the Department of Health 
and Hospitals from the following: 
 (i). Regulating stored water temperatures 
through enforcement of the Sanitary Code.  
 (ii). Regulating medical gas and medical 
vacuum systems. 
 [a]. Exception 
 [i]. Detached one- and two-family 
dwellings and multiple single-family dwellings 
(townhouses) not more than three stories high with separate 
means of egress and their accessory structures shall comply 
with the International Residential Code. 

B. Amend Chapter Two, Definitions 
Adult Day Care Center—any place or facility, operated 

by any person for the primary purpose of providing care, 
supervision and guidance of 10 or more people 18 years and 
older, not related to the caregiver and unaccompanied by 
parent or guardian, on a regular basis, for a total of at least 
20 hours in a continuous seven day week in a place other 
than the person's home. 

Barometric Loop—a fabricated piping arrangement 
rising at least 35 feet at its topmost point above the highest 
fixture it supplies. It is utilized in water supply systems to 
protect against backsiphonage backflow.  

Building Drain—that part of the lowest piping of a 
drainage system that receives the discharge from soil, waste 
and other drainage pipes inside and that extends 30 inches 
(762 mm) in developed length of pipe beyond the exterior 
walls of the building and conveys the drainage to the 
building sewer. 

NOTE: Delete definition Combined—Building Drain—“See 
building drain, combined”. 

a. Sanitary—a building drain that conveys sewage 
only. 

b. Storm—a building drain that conveys storm 
water or other drainage, but not sewage. 

Building Sewer—that part of the drainage system that 
extends from the end of the building drain and conveys the 
discharge to a community sewerage system, commercial 
treatment facility, or individual sewerage system or other 
point of disposal. 

NOTE: Delete definition Combined Building Sewer—“See 
Building sewer, combined”. 

a. Sanitary—a building drain that conveys sewage 
only. 

b. Storm—a building drain that conveys storm 
water or other drainage, but not sewage. 

By-Pass—any system of piping or other arrangement 
whereby the water may be diverted around any part or 
portion of the water supply system including, but not limited 
to, around an installed backflow preventer.  

Child Day Care Center―any place or facility, operated 
by any person for the primary purpose of providing care, 
supervision and guidance of seven or more children under 
the age of 18, not related to the care giver and supervision 
and guidance of seven or more children under the age of 18, 
not related to the care giver and unaccompanied by parent or 
guardian, on a regular basis, for a total of at least 20 hours in 
a continuous seven day week in a place other than the
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children's home. A day care center that remains open for 
more than 20 hours in a continuous seven day week, and in 
which no individual child remains for more than 24 hours in 
one continuous stay shall be known as a full-time day care 
center. 

Commercial Treatment Facility—any treatment facility 
which is required by the state health officer whenever the 
use of an individual sewerage system is unfeasible or not 
authorized. 

Community Sewerage System—any sewerage system 
which serves multiple connections and consists of a 
collection and/or pumping system/transport system and 
treatment facility. 

Containment—a method of backflow prevention which 
requires a backflow prevention device or method on the 
water service pipe to isolate the customer from the water 
main. 

Continuous Water Pressure—a condition when a 
backflow preventer is continuously subjected to the 
upstream water supply pressure for a period of 12 hours or 
more. 

Day Care Centers—includes adult and child day care 
centers. 

Degree of Hazard—an evaluation of the potential risk to 
public health if the public were to be exposed to 
contaminated water caused by an unprotected or 
inadequately protected cross connection.  

Domestic Well—a water well used exclusively to supply 
the household needs of the owner/lessee and his family. Uses 
may include human consumption, sanitary purposes, lawn 
and garden watering and caring for pets. 

Dual Check Valve—a device having two spring loaded, 
independently operated check valves without tightly closing 
shut-off valves and test cocks. Generally employed 
immediately downstream of the water meter.  

Fixture Isolation—a method of backflow prevention in 
which a backflow preventer is located to protect the potable 
water of a water supply system against a cross connection at 
a fixture located within the structure or premises itself.  

Grade(G)—normally, this references the location of 
some object in relation to either the floor or ground level 
elevation. 

Gravity Grease Interceptor – Plumbing appurtenances 
of not less than 125 gallons capacity that are installed in the 
sanitary drainage system to intercept free-floating fats, oils, 
and grease from waste water discharge. Separation is 
accomplished by gravity during a retention time of not less 
than30 minutes. 

Human Consumption—the use of water by humans for 
drinking, cooking, bathing, showering, hand washing, 
dishwashing, or maintaining oral hygiene. 

Individual Sewerage System—any system of piping 
(excluding the building drain and building sewer), and/or 
collection and/or transport system which serves one or more 
connections, and/or pumping facility, and treatment facility, 
all located on the property where the sewage originates; and 
which utilizes the individual sewerage system technology 
which is set forth in LAC 51:XIII.Chapter 7, Subchapter B, 
or a commercial treatment facility which is specifically 
authorized for use by the state health officer. 

NOTE: Delete definition Individual Water Supplya water 
supply that serves one or more families, and that is not an 
approved public water supply. 

Lead Free 
a. in general: 

 i. not containing more than 0.2 percent lead when 
used with respect to solder and flux; and 
 ii. not more than a weighted average of 0.25 
percent lead when used with respect to the wetted surfaces 
of pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing fittings, and fixtures; 

b. calculation:  
 i. the weighted average lead content of a pipe, 
pipe fitting, plumbing fitting, or fixture shall be calculated 
by using the following formula: 

(a). for each wetted component, the percentage 
of lead in the component shall be multiplied by the ratio of 
the wetted surface area of that component to the total wetted 
surface area of the entire product to arrive at the weighted 
percentage of lead of the component. The weighted 
percentage of lead of each wetted component shall be added 
together, and the sum of these weighted percentages shall 
constitute the weighted average lead content of the product. 
The lead content of the material used to produce wetted 
components shall be used to determine compliance with 
Clause a.ii above. For lead content of materials that are 
provided as a range, the maximum content of the range shall 
be used. 

Master Meter—a water meter serving multiple 
residential dwelling units or multiple commercial units. 
Individual units may or may not be sub-metered. 

Potable Water Supply—a publicly owned or privately 
owned water supply system which purveys potable water. 

Preschool—any child less than five years of age. 
Private Water Supply—a potable water supply that does 

not meet the criteria for a public water supply including, but 
not limited to a domestic well. 

NOTE: Delete definition Public Water Main—a water supply 
pipe for public use controlled by public authority. 

Public Water Supply—public water system. 
Public Water System—a particular type of water supply 

system intended to provide potable water to the public 
having at least 15 service connections or regularly serving an 
average of at least 25 individuals daily at least 60 days out of 
the year. 

Putrescible Waste—waste which is subject to spoilage, 
rot, or decomposition and may give rise to foul smelling, 
offensive odors and/or is capable of attracting or providing 
food for birds and potential disease vectors such as rodents 
and flies. It includes wastes from the preparation and 
consumption of food, vegetable matter, and animal offal and 
carcasses. 

Residential Facility—any place, facility, or home 
operated by any person who receives therein four or more 
people who are not related to such person for supervision, 
care, lodging and maintenance with or without transfer of 
custody. This shall include, but not be limited to group 
homes, community homes, maternity homes, juvenile 
detention centers, emergency shelters, halfway homes and 
schools for the mentally retarded. 

Sanitary Sewage—see sewage. 
Sewer—a pipe or other constructed conveyance which 

conveys sewage, rainwater, surface water, subsurface water, 
or similar liquid wastes. 

a. Building Sewer—see “building sewer.” 
b. Public Sewer—a common sewer directly 

controlled by a public authority or utilized by the public 
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c. Sanitary Sewer—a sewer that carries sewage and 
excludes storm, surface and ground water. 

d. Storm Sewer—a sewer that conveys rainwater, 
surface water, subsurface water and similar liquid wastes. 

Sewerage System—any system of piping (excluding the 
building drain and building sewer) and/or collection and/or 
transport system and/or pumping facility and/or treatment 
facility, all for the purpose of collecting, transporting, 
pumping, treating and/or disposing of sanitary sewage. 

Water Main—a water supply pipe or system of pipes 
installed and maintained by a city, township, county, Public 
Utility Company or other public entity, on public property, in 
the street or in an approved dedicated easement of public or 
community use. This term shall also mean the principal 
artery (or arteries) used for the distribution of potable water 
to consumers by any water supplier including, but not 
limited to, those public water systems which are not owned 
by the public and which may not be on public property. 

Water Supplier—a person who owns or operates a water 
supply system including, but not limited to, a person who 
owns or operates a public water system. 

Water Supply Systemthe water service pipe, water 
distribution pipes, and the necessary connecting pipes, 
fittings, control valves and all appurtenances in or adjacent 
to the structure or premise. This term shall also mean the 
system of pipes or other constructed conveyances, structures 
and facilities through which water is obtained, treated to 
make it potable (if necessary) and then distributed (with or 
without charge) for human consumption or other use.  

NOTE: Delete definition Well 
Boreda well constructed by boring a hole in the 

ground with an auger and installing a casing. 
Drilleda well constructed by making a hole in the 

ground with a drilling machine of any type and installing 
casing and screen. 

Drivena well constructed by driving a pipe in the 
ground. The drive pipe is usually fitted with a well point and 
screen. 

Duga well constructed by excavating a large-diameter 
shaft and installing a casing.  

C. Amend Chapter 3, General Regulations. 
1. Amend Section 312.1, Required Tests. 

a. The permit holder shall make the applicable tests 
prescribed in Sections 312.2 through 312.10 to determine 
compliance with the provisions of this code. The permit 
holder shall give reasonable advance notice to the code 
official when the plumbing work is ready for tests. The code 
official shall verify the test results. The equipment, material, 
power and labor necessary for the inspection and test shall 
be furnished by the permit holder and the permit holder shall 
be responsible for determining that the work will withstand 
the test pressure prescribed in the following tests. All 
plumbing system piping shall be tested with either water or 
by air. After the plumbing fixtures have been set and their 
traps filled with water, the entire drainage system shall be 
submitted to final tests. The code official shall require the 
removal of any cleanouts if necessary to ascertain whether 
the pressure has reached all parts of the system. 

2. Amend Section 312.3, Drainage and Vent Test. 
a. An air test shall be made by forcing air into the 

system until there is a uniform gauge pressure of 5 psi (34.5

kPa) or sufficient to balance a 10-inch (254 mm) column of 
mercury. This pressure shall be held for a test period of not 
less than15 minutes. Any adjustments to the test pressure 
required because of changes in ambient temperatures or the 
seating of gaskets shall be made prior to the beginning of the 
test period. 

3. Amend Section 312.5, Water Supply System Test.  
a. Upon completion of a section of or the entire 

water supply system, the system, or portion completed, shall 
be tested and proved tight under a water pressure not less 
than 1.5 times the working pressure of the system, but not 
less than 140 psi; or, for piping systems other than plastic, 
by an air test of not less than 50 psi (344 kPa). This pressure 
shall be held for not less than 15 minutes. The water utilized 
for tests shall be obtained from a potable source of supply. 
The required tests shall be performed in accordance with this 
section and Section 107. 

4. Amend Section 312.10, Installation, Inspection and 
Testing of Backflow Prevention Assemblies, Barometric 
Loops and Air Gaps. 

a. Installation, inspection and testing shall comply 
with Sections 312.10.1 through 312.10.3.  

5. Amend Section 312.10.1, Inspections. 
a. Annual inspections shall be made of all backflow 

prevention assemblies, barometric loops and air gaps to 
determine whether they are operable, properly installed and 
maintained, and meet testing/code requirements. Inspections 
of backflow prevention devices including barometric loops 
and air gaps used to protect high degree of hazard cross 
connections shall be documented in writing and the report 
provided to the owner of the backflow prevention device.  

6. Amend Section 312.10.2, Testing. 
a. Reduced pressure principle, double check, 

pressure vacuum breaker, reduced pressure detector fire 
protection, double check detector fire protection, and spill-
resistant vacuum breaker backflow preventer assemblies 
shall be tested at the time of installation, immediately after 
repairs or relocation and at least annually. The testing 
procedure shall be performed in accordance with one of the 
following standards: ASSE 5013, ASSE 5015, ASSE 5020, 
ASSE 5047, ASSE 5048, ASSE 5052, ASSE 5056, CSA 
B64.10.1, USC’s FCCC and HR’s “Manual of Cross-
Connection Control”, or UFL’s TREEO’s “Backflow 
PreventionTheory and Practice”. Any backflow preventer 
which is found to be defective shall be repaired.  

7. Add Section 312.10.3, Owner Responsibilities. 
a. The owner of the backflow prevention assemblies 

shall comply with the following. 
 i. It shall be the duty of the owner of the 
backflow prevention assembly to see that these tests are 
made in a timely manner in accord with the frequency of 
field testing specified in 312.10.2 of this code. 
 ii. The owner shall notify the building official, 
and/or water supplier (for those devices associated with 
containment) in advance when the tests are to be undertaken 
so that the building official and/or water supplier may 
witness the tests if so desired. 
 iii. Upon completion, the owner shall provide 
records of such tests, repairs, overhauls, or replacements to 
the building official or water supplier (for those devices 
associated with containment). In addition, all records shall 
be kept by the owner of the backflow prevention device or 
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method for at least 5 years and, upon specific request, shall 
be made available to the building official or water supplier. 
 iv. All tests, repairs, overhauls or replacements 
shall be at the expense of the owner of the backflow 
preventer. 

D. Amend Chapter 4. 
1. Amend Section 403.3.3, Location of Toilet 

Facilities in Occupancies other than Malls and Educational 
Buildings.  

a. In occupancies other than covered and open mall 
buildings, and educational buildings, the required public and 
employee toilet facilities shall be located not more than one 
story above or below the space required to be provided with 
toilet facilities, and the path of travel to such facilities shall 
not exceed a distance of 500 feet (152 m). 

2. Add Section 403.3.7, Location of Toilet Facilities in 
Educational Buildings. 

a. For primary schools, and other special types of 
institutions with classrooms, for children through 12 years of 
age, separate boys' and girls' toilet room doors shall not be 
further than 200 feet from any classroom doors. For 
secondary schools, and other special types of institutions 
with classrooms, for persons of secondary school age, 
separate boys' and girls' toilet room doors shall not be further 
than 400 feet from any classroom door. In multi-storied 
buildings, there shall be boys' and girls' toilet rooms on each 
floor, having the number of plumbing fixtures as specified in 
Table 403.1 of this Code for the classroom population of that 
floor. When new educational buildings are added to an 
existing campus, the restroom facilities and drinking 
fountains located in the existing building(s) may be used to 
serve the occupants of the new educational building(s) only 
when all of the following provisions are met: 
 i. covered walkways consisting of a roof 
designed to protect the students and faculty from 
precipitation having a minimum width of 6 feet and located 
above a slip-resistant concrete or other acceptable hard 
surfaces leading to and from the restrooms shall be provided 
whenever children or faculty have to walk outside to access 
the toilet room; 
 ii. the path of travel from the classroom door to 
the toilet room doors (boys’ or girls’) does not exceed the 
applicable distance specified in this Section; and 
 iii. the number of occupants of the new building 
does not cause an increase in the school population that 
would trigger the need for more fixtures per Table 403.1 
(Minimum Number of Required Plumbing Fixtures).  

3. Add Section 403.6, Other fixture requirements for 
licensed pre-schools, day care centers, and residential 
facilities. 

a. Additional plumbing fixtures shall be provided in 
day care centers and residential facilities as required by this 
Section. 

4. Add Section 403.6.1, Food Preparation. 
a. The food preparation area in pre-schools, day 

cares, and residential facilities shall meet the following 
requirements. The food preparation, storage and handling 
where six or less individuals are cared for shall provide a 
two-compartment sink and an approved domestic type 
dishwasher. Where the number of individuals cared for is 
between 7 and 15, either a three-compartment sink, or an 
approved domestic or commercial type dishwashing 

machine and a two-compartment sink with hot and cold 
running water shall be provided. Where 16 or more 
individuals are cared for, a three-compartment sink must be 
provided. If a dishwasher is also utilized in these instances 
(16 or more individuals), it must be a commercial type and it 
shall be in addition to the required three-compartment sink. 
One laundry tray, service sink, or curbed cleaning facility 
with floor drain shall also be provided on the premises for 
cleaning of mops and mop water disposal (for facilities 
caring for 16 or more individuals). 

5. Add Section 403.6.2, Caring for Children between 
0 and 4 Years of Age.  

a. In child day care facilities, a hand washing sink 
shall be in or adjacent to each diaper changing area. In 
addition, one extra laundry tray, service sink, or similar 
fixture is required to clean and sanitize toilet training potties 
immediately after each use. Such fixture shall be dedicated 
solely for this purpose and shall not be in the food 
preparation/storage, utensil washing, or dining areas. 
Training potties shall not be counted as toilets in 
determining the minimum fixture requirements of Table 
403.1. Fixtures shall be size appropriate for the age of the 
children being cared for (toilets 11 inches maximum height 
and lavatories 22 inches maximum height), or if standard 
size fixtures are used, safe, cleanable step aids shall be 
provided.  

6. Add Section 410.6, Minimum Required Separation 
from Contamination. 

a. Drinking fountain fixtures shall provide a 
minimum requirement of 18 inches of separation from its 
water outlet (spigot) to any source of contamination. 
Combination sink/drinking fountain units shall provide a 
minimum of 18 inches between the drinking fountain water 
outlet (spigot) and the nearest outside rim of the sink bowl 
[or other source(s) of contamination]. 
 i. Exception: 

(a). This 18 inch minimum separation may only 
be reduced by the use of a vertical shield made of a smooth, 
easily cleaned surface that is attached flush with the top 
surface of the unit and extends to a distance at least 18 
inches in height above the drinking fountain water outlet 
(spigot) level.  

(b). Prohibited Fixture. Combination 
sink/drinking fountain units which share the same sink bowl 
are prohibited except in individual prison cells.” 

7. Amend Section 412, Floor and Trench Drains. 
a. Add Section 412.5, Miscellaneous Areas. 

 i. A floor drain shall be required in public toilet 
rooms, excluding hotel/motel guest rooms or patient rooms 
of a hospital or nursing home. 
 ii. A floor drain shall be required in the recess 
room for sterilizers in a medical facility. 
 iii. Floor drains are not permitted in general food 
storage areas, unless in accordance with Section 802.1.1 or 
802.1.2 of this code. 

8. Amend Section 417.3, Shower Water Outlet. 
a. Waste outlets serving showers shall be not less 

than 2 inches (50.8 mm) in diameter and, for other than 
waster outlets in bathtubs, shall have removable strainers not 
less than 3 inches (76 mm) in diameter with strainer 
openings not less than 1/4 inch (6.4 mm) in least dimension. 
Where each shower space is not provided with an individual 
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waste outlet, the waste outlet shall be located and the floor 
pitched so that waste from one shower does not flow over 
the floor area serving another shower. Waste outlets shall be 
fastened to the waste pipe in an approved manner.  

9. Add Section 418.4, Handwash Sinks. 
a. Dedicated handwash sinks shall be located to 

permit convenient use by all employees in food processing, 
food preparation, and other food handling areas. 

b. Each commercial body art (tattoo) facility shall 
provide a hand washing sink to be used solely for hand 
washing in body art procedure area for the exclusive use of 
the operator. A separate instrument sink shall also be 
provided for the sole purpose of cleaning instruments and 
equipment prior to sterilization. 

c. A hand washing sink may not be used for 
purposes other than hand washing. 

d. Sinks used for food preparation or for washing 
and sanitizing of equipment and utensils shall not be used 
for hand washing. 

10. Add Section 418.5, Manual Warewashing, Sink 
Requirements. 

a. A sink with at least three compartments 
constructed of smooth, impervious non-corrosive material 
such as stainless steel or high density food grade polymer 
plastic shall be provided in slaughter rooms, packing rooms, 
retail food establishments, and other food handling areas for 
manual washing, rinsing and sanitizing equipment and 
utensils except where there are no utensils or equipment to 
wash, rinse and sanitize; i.e., such as in a facility with only 
prepackaged foods. 

11. Add Section 422.11, Handwashing Facilities. 
a. Medical facilities, including doctor’s office and 

clinics, shall be provided with hand washing facilities 
within each patient examination and treatment room. The 
hand wash facility shall be provided with hot and cold water 
delivered via a mixing faucet. 

E. Amend Chapter 5, Water Heaters. 
1. Amend Section 504.7.1, Pan Size and Drain. 

a. The drain pan shall be a minimum of 2-inches 
(2”) (50.8 mm) in depth and shall be of sufficient size and 
shape to receive all dripping or condensate from the tank or 
water heater. The pan shall be drained by an indirect waste 
pipe having a diameter of not less than 1-inch (25.4 mm). 
Piping for safety pan drains shall be of those materials listed 
in Table 605.4. 

F. Amend Chapter 6, Water Supply and Distribution. 
1. Amend Section 602.3, Individual Water Supply. 

a. Where a potable public water supply is not 
available, a private water supply meeting the applicable 
requirements of LAC 51:XII (Water Supplies) and LAC 56:I 
(Water Wells) shall be utilized.  
 i. Delete and remove Sections 602.3.1, 602.3.2, 
602.3.3, 602.3.4, 602.3.5 and 602.3.5.1, Pump Enclosure. 

2. Add Section 603.3, Potable Water (Pressure) Lines 
Near Soil Absorption Trenches, Sand Filter Beds, Oxidation 
Ponds, and any Effluent Reduction Option (Effluent 
Reduction Fields, Rock Plant Filters, Spray Irrigation 
Systems, Overland Flow Systems, Mound Systems, or 
Subsurface Drip Disposal Systems). 

a. Underground potable water (pressure) lines shall 
not be located within 25 feet (7.6 m) of any soil absorption

trenches, sand filter beds, oxidation ponds, or any effluent 
reduction option including, but not limited to effluent 
reduction fields, rock plant filters, spray irrigation systems 
(from the edge of the spray and its drainage), overland flow 
systems (from the discharge point and field of flow), mound 
systems, or subsurface drip disposal systems which have 
been installed for either the disposal of septic tank effluent 
or mechanical treatment plant effluent. 

3. Add Section 603.4, Potable Water (Pressure) Lines 
Near Septic Tanks, Mechanical Sewage Treatment Plants, 
and Pump Stations.  

a. Underground potable water (pressure) lines shall 
not be located within 10 feet (3.0 m) of any septic tank, 
mechanical sewage treatment plant, or sewage pump station.  

4. Add Section 603.5, Potable Water (Pressure) Lines 
Near Seepage Pit, Cesspool, or Sanitary Pit Privy. 

a. Underground potable water (pressure) lines shall 
not be located within 50 feet (15.2m) of any seepage pit, 
cesspool, or sanitary pit privy.  

5. Add 603.6, Reclaimed Water Lines. 
a. Reclaimed water lines shall be considered and 

treated as though they are sewerage lines and shall be 
installed in accord with the spacing requirements of this 
Section for the protection of potable water lines. 

6. Amend Section 605.2.1, Lead content of water 
supply pipe and fittings used for human consumption. 

a. Water Piping Quality. All potable water pipes, 
fittings, valves, and fixtures used to provide water for human 
consumption shall be lead free and shall be evaluated and 
listed as conforming with NSF/ANSI 372. Any solder or flux 
which is used in the installation or repair of any public water 
system or any plumbing in a residential or nonresidential 
facility providing water for human consumption shall be 
lead free.  
 i. Exception. The lead free requirement above 
shall not apply to: 

(a). leaded joints necessary for the repair of 
existing cast iron pipes; 

(b). fire hydrants, pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing 
fittings, or fixtures, including backflow preventers, that are 
used exclusively for nonpotable services such as 
manufacturing, industrial processing, irrigation, outdoor 
watering, or any other uses where the water is not 
anticipated to be used for human consumption; or 

(c). toilets, bidets, urinals, fill valves, 
flushometer valves, tub fillers, shower valves, service 
saddles, or water distribution main gate valves that are 2 
inches in diameter or larger.604. 

7. Amend Section 605.3, Water Service Pipe with 
Corresponding Table 605.3. 

a. Water service pipe shall conform to NSF 61 and 
shall conform to one of the standards listed in Table 605.3. 
Water service pipe or tubing, installed underground and 
outside of the structure, shall have a working pressure rating 
of not less than 160 psi (1100 kPa) at 73.4ºF (23ºC). Where 
the water pressure exceeds 160 psi (1100 kPa) piping 
material shall have a working pressure rating not less than 
the highest available pressure. Water service piping materials 
not third-party certified for water distribution shall terminate 
at or before the full open valve located at the entrance to the 
structure. All ductile iron water service piping shall be 
cement mortar lined in accordance with AWWA C104. 
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 i. Table 605.3Water Service Pipe 
 

Material Standard 
Acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) 

plastic pipe  
ASTM D 1527; 
ASTM D 2282  

Brass pipe  ASTM B 43  
Chlorinated polyvinyl chloride (CPVC) 

plastic pipe  
ASTM D 2846; 
ASTM F 441; 
ASTM F 442; 
CSA B137.6  

Copper or copper-alloy pipe  ASTM B 42; 
ASTM B 302  

Copper or copper-alloy tubing (Type K, 
WK, L, or WL only. i.e., Type M and 
WM copper is prohibited.) 

ASTM B 75; 
ASTM B 88; 
ASTM B 251; 
ASTM B 447  

Cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) plastic 
pipe and tubing 

ASTM F 876; 
ASTM F 877;  
AWWA C904; 
CSA B137.5 

Cross-linked polyethylene/aluminum/cross-
linked polyethylene (PEX-AL-PEX) pipe  

ASTM F 1281; 
ASTM F 2262; 
CSA B137.10M  

Cross-linked polyethylene/aluminum/high-
density polyethylene (PEX-AL-HDPE)  

ASTM F 1986  

Ductile iron water pipe  AWWA C151/A21.51; 
AWWA C115/A21.15 

Galvanized steel pipe  ASTM A 53  
Polyethylene (PE) plastic pipe  ASTM D 2239; 

ASTM D 3035; 
AWWA C901; 
CSA B137.1 

Polyethylene (PE) plastic tubing  ASTM D 2737; 
AWWA C901; 
CSA B137.1 

Polyethylene/aluminum/polyethylene 
(PE-AL-PE) pipe  

ASTM F 1282; 
CSA B137.9  

Polyethylene of raised temperature 
(PE-RT) plastic tubing  

ASTM F 2769  

Polypropylene (PP) plastic pipe or tubing  ASTM F 2389; 
CSA B137.11  

Polyvinyl chloride (PVC) plastic pipe  ASTM D 1785; 
ASTM D 2241; 
ASTM D 2672; 
CSA B137.3  

Stainless steel pipe (Type 304/304L)  ASTM A 312; 
ASTM A 778  

Stainless steel pipe (Type 316/316L)  ASTM A 312; 
ASTM A 778  

 
8. Amend Section 605.3.1, Dual check-valve-type 

backflow preventer.  
a. Dual check-valve backflow preventers installed 

on the water supply system shall comply with ASSE 1024 or 
CSA B64.6. These devices, which are commonly installed 
immediately downstream of water meters by water suppliers, 
are not approved backflow prevention devices and are only 
allowed to be installed when no cross connections exist 
downstream of the device or when all downstream cross 
connections are properly protected by approved backflow 
prevention devices, assemblies, or methods in accordance 
with Section 608 of this code. 

9. Amend Table 605.4, Water Distribution Pipe. 
a. Table 605.4Water Distribution Pipe 
 

Material Standard 
Brass pipe  ASTM B 43  
Chlorinated polyvinyl chloride (CPVC) 
plastic pipe and tubing  

ASTM D 2846; 
ASTM F 441; 
ASTM F 442; 
CSA B137.6  

Material Standard 
Copper or copper-alloy pipe ASTM B 42; 

ASTM B 302  
Copper or copper-alloy tubing (Type K, WK, 
L, or WL only. i.e., Type M and WM copper 
is prohibited.) 

ASTM B 75; 
ASTM B 88; 
ASTM B 251; 
ASTM B 447  

Cross-linked polyethylene (PEX) plastic 
tubing  

ASTM F 876; 
ASTM F 877; 
CSA B137.5  

Cross-linked polyethylene/aluminum/cross-
linked polyethylene 
(PEX-AL-PEX) pipe 

ASTM F 1281; 
ASTM F 2262; 
CSA B137.10M  

Cross-linked polyethylene/aluminum/high-
density polyethylene 
(PEX-AL-HDPE) 

ASTM F 1986  

Ductile iron pipe  AWWA C151/A21.51; 
AWWA C115/A21.15 

Galvanized steel pipe  ASTM A 53  
Polyethylene/aluminum/polyethylene (PE-
AL-PE) composite pipe  

ASTM F 1282  

Polyethylene of raised temperature (PE-RT) 
plastic tubing 

ASTM F 2769 

Polypropylene (PP) plastic pipe or tubing  ASTM F 2389; 
CSA B137.11  

Stainless steel pipe (Type 304/304L)  ASTM A 312; 
ASTM A 778  

Stainless steel pipe (Type 316/316L)  ASTM A 312; 
ASTM A 778  

 
10. Amend Section 606.5.5, Low-Pressure Cutoff 

Required on Booster Pumps.  
a. A low-pressure cutoff shall be installed on all 

booster pumps in a water pressure booster system to prevent 
creation of a vacuum or negative pressure on the suction side 
of the pump when a positive pressure of 20 psi (137.9 kPa) 
or less occurs on the suction side of the pump.  

11. Amend Section 608.1, General. 
a. A potable water supply system shall be designed, 

installed and maintained in such a manner so as to prevent 
contamination from non-potable liquids, solids or gases 
being introduced into the potable water supply through 
cross-connections or any other piping connections to the 
system. Backflow preventers shall conform to the applicable 
Standard referenced in Table 608.1. Backflow preventer 
applications shall conform to Table 608.1, except as 
specifically stated in Sections 608.2 through 608.16.27 and 
Sections 608.18 through 608.18.2. 

12. Amend Section 608.8, Identification of Nonpotable 
Water. 

a. Where nonpotable water systems are installed, 
the piping conveying the nonpotable water shall be 
identified either by color marking, metal tags or tape in 
accordance with Sections 608.8.1 through 608.8.3. 
 i. Exception: 

(a). Overall Exception to this Section (§608.8 of 
this code). Pursuant to R.S. 40:4.12, industrial-type facilities 
listed therein shall not be required to comply with this 
section (§608.8 of this code) provided that such facilities 
have a potable water distribution identification plan in 
conformity with the requirements of R.S. 40:4.12. The 
required formal cross-connection control survey of the 
facility referenced in R.S. 40:4.12 shall be performed by an 
individual holding a valid cross-connection control surveyor 
certificate issued under the requirements of ASSE 5120, or 
other individuals holding a surveyor certificate from a 
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nationally recognized backflow certification organization 
approved by the state health officer. 

13. Amend Section 608.14, Location of Backflow 
Preventers.  

a. Access shall be provided to backflow preventers 
as specified by the manufacturer’s instructions for the 
required testing, maintenance and repair. A minimum of 1-
foot of clearance shall be provided between the lowest 
portion of the assembly and grade or platform. Elevated 
installations exceeding 5-feet above grade(g) shall be 
provided with a suitably located permanent platform capable 
of supporting the installer, tester, or repairer. Reduced 
pressure principal type backflow preventers, and other types 
of backflow preventers with atmospheric ports and/or test 
cocks (e.g., atmospheric type vacuum breakers, double 
check valve assemblies, pressure type vacuum breaker 
assemblies, etc.), shall not be installed below grade (in 
vaults or pits) where the potential for a relief valve, an 
atmospheric port, or a test cock being submerged exists. 

14. Amend Section 608.15.4, Protection by a Vacuum 
Breaker.  

a. Openings and outlets shall be protected by 
atmospheric-type or pressure-type vacuum breakers. The 
critical level of atmospheric type vacuum breakers shall be 
installed not less than 6 inches (152 mm) above all 
downstream piping and not less than 6 inches (152 mm) 
above the flood-level rim of the fixture receptor or device 
served. Shutoff or control valves shall not be installed 
downstream from an atmospheric vacuum breaker. 
Atmospheric vacuum breakers including, but not limited to, 
hose bibb vacuum breakers shall not be subjected to 
continuous water pressure. The critical level of pressure type 
vacuum breakers shall be installed not less than 12 inches 
(305 mm) above all downstream piping and not less than 12 
inches (305 mm) above the flood-level rim of the fixture 
receptor or device served. Fill valves shall be set in 
accordance with Section 425.3.1. Vacuum breakers shall not 
be installed under exhaust hoods or similar locations that 
will contain toxic fumes or vapors. 

15. Amend Section 608.16, Connections to the Potable 
Water System.  

a. Connections to the potable water system shall 
conform to Sections 608.16.1 through 608.16.27. These 
Sections (608.16.1-608.16.27) are not inclusive of all 
potential contamination sources which may need fixture 
isolation protection. For potential contamination sources not 
listed in Sections 608.16.1 through 608.16.27, backflow 
prevention methods or devices shall be utilized in 
accordance with Table B1 of CAN/CSA B64.10-1994. When 
a potential contamination source and its associated backflow 
prevention method or device is not identified in this code or 
Table B1 of CAN/CSA B64.10-1994, backflow prevention 
methods or devices shall be utilized as directed by the 
building official. 

16. Amend Section 608.16.5, Connections to 
Lawn/Landscape Irrigation Systems.  

a. The potable water supply to lawn/landscape 
irrigation systems shall be protected against backflow by an 
atmospheric vacuum breaker, a pressure vacuum breaker 
assembly or a reduced pressure principle backflow 
prevention assembly. Shutoff or control valves shall not be 
installed downstream from an atmospheric vacuum breaker. 

When an lawn/landscape sprinkler system is provided with 
separate zones, the potable water supply shall be protected 
by a pressure vacuum breaker or reduced pressure principal 
backflow prevention assembly. Atmospheric vacuum 
breakers shall be installed at least 6 inches (152 mm) above 
the highest point of usage (i.e., 6 inches (152 mm) above all 
downstream piping or highest sprinkler head). Pressure type 
vacuum breakers shall be installed at least 12 inches (305 
mm) above the highest point of usage (i.e., 12 inches (305 
mm) above all downstream piping and the highest sprinkler 
head). Where chemicals are introduced into the system, the 
potable water supply shall be protected against backflow by 
a reduced pressure principle backflow prevention assembly. 

17. Amend Section 608.16.8, Portable Cleaning 
Equipment. 

a. Where the portable cleaning equipment connects 
to the water distribution system, the water supply system 
shall be protected against backflow in accordance with 
Section 608.13.1, 608.13.2, 608.13.3, 608.13.5, 608.13.6, or 
608.13.8. The type of backflow preventer shall be selected 
based upon the application in accordance with Table 608.1. 

18. Add Section 608.16.11, Cooling Towers. 
a. The potable water supply to cooling towers shall 

be protected against backflow by an air gap.  
19. Add Section 608.16.12, Chemical Tanks.  

a. The potable water supply to chemical tanks shall 
be protected against backflow by an air gap.  

20. Add Section 608.16.13, Commercial Dishwashers 
in Commercial Establishments.  

a. The potable water supply to commercial 
dishwashers in commercial establishments shall be protected 
against backflow by an air gap, atmospheric vacuum 
breaker, or pressure vacuum breaker. Vacuum breakers shall 
meet the requirements of Section 608.15.4.  

21. Add Section 608.16.14, Ornamental Fountains.  
a. The potable water supply to ornamental fountains 

shall be protected against backflow by an air gap.  
22. Add Section 608.16.15, Swimming Pools, Spas, 

Hot Tubs.  
a. The potable water supply to swimming pools, 

spas, or hot tubs shall be protected against backflow by an 
air gap or reduced pressure principal backflow prevention 
assembly.  

23. Add Section 608.16.16, Baptismal Fonts.  
a. The potable water supply to baptismal fonts shall 

be protected against backflow by an air gap.  
24. Add Section 608.16.17, Animal Watering Troughs.  

a. The potable water supply to animal watering 
troughs shall be protected against backflow by an air gap.  

25. Add Section 608.16.18, Agricultural Chemical 
Mixing Tanks.  

a. The potable water supply to agricultural chemical 
mixing tanks shall be protected against backflow by an air 
gap. 

26. Add Section 608.16.19, Water Hauling Trucks.  
a. The potable water supply to water hauling 

trucks/tankers shall be protected against backflow by an air 
gap when filled from above. When allowed to be filled from 
below, they shall be protected by a reduced pressure 
principle backflow prevention assembly. When a tanker 
truck is designated for the hauling of food grade products 
(and has been cleaned utilizing food grade cleaning 
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procedures) and is allowed to be filled from below, a double 
check valve assembly shall be acceptable.  

27. Add Section 608.16.20, Air Conditioning Chilled 
Water Systems and/or Condenser Water Systems.  

a. The potable water supply to air conditioning 
chilled water systems and condenser water systems shall be 
protected against backflow by a reduced pressure principal 
backflow prevention assembly.  

28. Add Section 608.16.21, Pot-Type Chemical 
Feeders.  

a. The potable water supply to pot-type chemical 
feeders shall be protected against backflow by a reduced 
pressure principal backflow prevention assembly.  

29. Add Section 608.16.22, Food Processing Steam 
Kettles.  

a. The potable water supply to food processing 
steam kettles shall be protected against backflow by a double 
check valve backflow prevention assembly.  

30. Add Section 608.16.23, Individual Travel Trailer 
Pads.  

a. The potable water supply to individual travel 
trailer pads shall be protected against backflow by a double 
check valve backflow prevention assembly.  

31. Add Section 608.16.24, Laboratory and/or Medical 
Aspirators.  

a. The potable water supply to laboratory and/or 
medical aspirators shall be protected against backflow by an 
atmospheric or pressure vacuum breaker installed in 
accordance with Sections 608.3.1 and 608.15.4.  

32. Add Section 608.16.25, Laboratory or other Sinks 
with Threaded or Serrated Nozzles.  

a. The potable water supply to laboratory sinks or 
other sinks with threaded or serrated nozzles shall be 
protected against backflow by an atmospheric or pressure 
vacuum breaker installed in accordance with Sections 
608.3.1 and 608.15.4.  

33. Add Section 608.16.26, Mortuary/Embalming 
Aspirators.  

a. The potable water supply to mortuary/embalming 
aspirators shall be protected against backflow by a pressure 
vacuum breaker installed in the supply line serving the 
aspirator. The critical level of the vacuum breaker shall be 
installed a minimum of 12 inches higher than the aspirator. 
The aspirator shall be installed at least 6 inches above the 
highest level at which suction may be taken. An air gap shall 
be provided between the outlet of the discharge pipe and the 
overflow rim of the receiving fixture. 

34. Add Section 608.16.27, Room(s) or other Sub-
Unit(S) of a Premise or Facility Receiving Water where 
Access is Prohibited.  

a. When access is prohibited to particular areas, 
rooms, or other sub-units of a premise or facility which is 
receiving water, the potable water supply serving those areas 
shall be protected against backflow by a reduced pressure 
principal backflow protection assembly. 

35. Amend Section 608.17, Protection of Individual 
Water Supplies.  

a. An individual water supply shall be located and 
constructed so as to be safeguarded against contamination in 
accordance with the applicable requirements of LAC 51:XII 
(Water Supplies) and LAC 56:I (WaterWells). 

36. Remove and delete Sections 608.17.1 thru 608.17.8 
including Table 608.17.1. 

37. Add Section 608.18, Containment Practices.  
a. Backflow prevention methods or devices shall be 

utilized as directed by the water supplier or code official to 
isolate specific water supply system customers from the 
water supply system's mains when such action is deemed 
necessary to protect the water supply system against 
potential contamination caused by backflow of water from 
that part of the water system owned and maintained by the 
customer (for example, the piping downstream of the water 
meter, if provided). Minimum requirements shall be in 
accordance with Section 608.18.1 through 608.18.2. 

38. Add Section 608.18.1, Containment Requirements.  
a. As a minimum, the following types of backflow 

prevention assemblies or methods shall be installed and 
maintained by water supply system customers immediately 
downstream of the water meter (if provided) or on the water 
service pipe prior to any branch line or connections serving 
the listed customer types and categories.  

39. Add Table 608.18.1, Containment Requirements.  
a. Table 608.18.1Containment Requirements 
 

Air Gap 
1. Fire Protection/Sprinkler System utilizing non-potable water as an 

alternative or primary source of water 
Reduced Pressure Principle Backflow Prevention Assembly 

1. Hospitals, Out-Patient Surgical Facilities, Renal Dialysis Facilities, 
Veterinary Clinics 

2. Funeral Homes, Mortuaries 
3. Car Wash Systems 
4. Sewage Facilities 
5. Chemical or Petroleum Processing Plants 
6. Animal/Poultry Feedlots or Brooding Facilities 
7. Meat Processing Plants 
8. Metal Plating Plants 
9. Food Processing Plants, Beverage Processing Plants 
10. Fire Protection/Sprinkler Systems using antifreeze in such system (a 

detector type assembly is recommended on unmetered fire lines) 
11. Irrigation/Lawn Sprinkler Systems with Fertilizer Injection 
12. Marinas/Docks 
13. Radiator Shops 
14. Commercial Pesticide/Herbicide Application 
15. Photo/X-ray/Film Processing Laboratories 
16. Multiple Commercial Units served by a master meter 
17. Any type of occupancy type or any other facility having one or more 

Single-walled Heat Exchangers which uses any chemical, additive, or 
corrosion inhibitor, etc., in the heating or cooling medium 

18. Any type of occupancy type or any other facility having one or more 
Double-walled Heat Exchangers which use any chemical, additive, or 
corrosion inhibitor, etc., in the heating or cooling medium and which 
does not have a path to atmosphere with a readily visible discharge 

19. Premises where access/entry is prohibited 
Pressure Vacuum Breaker Assembly/Spill Resistant 

Vacuum Breaker Assembly 
1. Irrigation/Lawn Sprinkler Systems 

Double Check Valve Assembly 
1. Fire Protection/Sprinkler Systems (a detector type double check valve 

assembly is recommended on unmetered fire lines) 
2. Two residential dwelling units served by a master meter, unless both 

units are located on a parcel or contiguous parcels of land having the 
same ownership and neither unit is used for commercial purposes. As 
used herein, the term “commercial purposes” means any use other 
than residential. 

3. Three or more residential dwelling units served by a master meter 
4. Multistoried Office/Commercial Buildings (over 3 floors) 
5. Jails, Prisons, and Other Places of Detention or Incarceration 
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40. Add Section 608.18.2, Other Containment 
Requirements. 

a. Table 608.18.1 of this code above is not inclusive 
of all potential contamination sources which may need 
containment protection. For potential contamination sources 
not listed in this table, backflow prevention methods or 
devices shall be utilized in accordance with Table B1 of 
CAN/CSA B64.10-1994. When a potential contamination 
source and its associated backflow prevention method or 
device is not identified in Table 608.18.1 of this code above 
or Table B1 of CAN/CSA B64.10-1994, backflow 
prevention methods or devices shall be utilized: 
 i. as directed by the building code official; or  
 ii. as directed by the water supplier.  
 iii. In cases of a discrepancy regarding the 
particular backflow prevention assembly or method required, 
the assembly or method providing the higher level of 
protection shall be required. 

G. Amend Chapter 7, Sanitary Drainage. 
1. Amend Section 701.2, Sewer Required.  

a. Buildings in which plumbing fixtures are 
installed and premises having sanitary drainage system 
piping shall be connected to a community sewerage system, 
where available, or an approved commercial treatment 
facility or individual sewerage meeting the requirements of 
LAC 51:XIII (Sewage Disposal). 

2. Add Section 701.9, Repairs to Drainage System via 
Re-Route.  

a. In the case where it is determined that there is a 
broken underground drain line including, but not limited to, 
broken drain lines under the slab of a building, and a drain 
line re-route is performed, the existing broken underground 
drain line shall be and sealed watertight and gastight using 
approved plumbing materials and joining/jointing methods, 
e.g., properly install an approved cap, plug, or cleanout on 
the cut or disconnected pipe. 

3. Add Section 703.6, Minimum Size Building Sewer.  
a. No building sewer shall be less than 4 inches in 

size with the exception of force lines. 
4. Amend Section 710.1, Maximum Fixture Unit 

Load. 

a. The maximum number of drainage fixture units 
connected to a given size of building sewer, building drain 
or horizontal branch of the building drain shall be 
determined using Table 710.1(1). The maximum number of 
drainage fixture units connected to a given size vertical soil 
or waste stack, or horizontal branch connecting to a vertical 
soil or waste stack, shall be determined using Table 710.1(2). 

5. Amend Table 710.1(1). 
a. Table 710.1(1)Building Drains and Sewers 
 

Diameter Of 
Pipe 

(Inches) 

Maximum Number of Drainage Fixture Units 
Connected to Any Portion of the Building Drain  

or the Building Sewer, Including Branches of  
the Building Draina 

Slope Per Foot 
1/16 
inch 

1/8 inch 1/4 inch 1/2 inch 

1 1/4     1 1 
1 1/2     3 3 

2     21 26 
2 1/2     24 31 

3 

  20 
(not over 
two water 
closets) 

27 
(not over 
two water 
closets) 

36 
(not over 
two water 
closets) 

4 — 180 216 250 
5 — 390 480 575 
6 — 700 840 1,000 
8 1,400 1,600 1,920 2,300 
10 2,500 2,900 3,500 4,200 
12 3,900 4,600 5,600 6,700 
15 7,000 8,300 10,000 12,000 

For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm, 1 inch per foot = 83.3 mm/m. 
a The minimum size of any building drain serving a water 
closet shall be 3 inches. 

 
6. Amend Table 710.1(2).  

a. Table 710.1(2)Horizontal Fixture Branches 
and Soil Stacksa.

. 

 

Diameter of 
Pipe (inches) 

(The minimum 
size of any 
branch or soil 
stack serving a 
water closet 
shall be 3”.) 

Maximum Number of Drainage Fixture Units (dfu) 
Total for horizontal branch 
(Does not include branches 
of the building drain. Use 
50 percent less dfu’s for any 
circuit or battery vented 
fixture branches, no size 
reduction permitted for 
circuit or battery vented 
branches throughout the 
entire branch length.) 

Soil Stacksb 

Total discharge into one 
branch interval when 
greater than three branch 
intervals 

Total for soil stack when 
three branch intervals or 
less 

Total for soil stack when 
greater than three branch 
intervals 

1 1/2 3 2 4 8 
2 6 6 10 24 

2 1/2 12 9 20 42 

3 20 
(not over two water closets) 

16 
(not over two water closets) 

30 
(not over six water closets) 

60 
(not over six water closets) 

4 160 90 240 500 
5 360 200 540 1,100 
6 620 350 960 1,900 
8 1,400 600 2,200 3,600 
10 2,500 1,000 3,800 5,600 
12 3,900 1,500 6,000 8,400 
15 7,000 Note c Note c Note c 
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For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm. 
a Does not include branches of the building drain. Refer to 
Table 710.1(1). 
b Soil stacks shall be sized based on the total accumulated 
connected load at each story or branch interval. As the total 
accumulated connected load decreases, stacks are permitted to 
be reduced in size. Stack diameters shall not be reduced to less 
than one-half of the diameter of the largest stack size required. 
c Sizing load based on design criteria. 

7. Add Section 710.3, Underground Drainage Piping.  
a. Any portion of the drainage system installed 

underground or below a basement or cellar shall not be less 
than 2-inch diameter. In addition, any portion of the drainage 
system installed underground which is located upstream 
from a grease trap or grease interceptor as well as the 
underground horizontal branch receiving the discharge there 
from shall not be less than 3-inch diameter. 

H. Chapter 8. Indirect/Special Waste. 
1. Amend Section 802.1.1, Food Handling.  

a. Equipment and fixtures utilized for the storage, 
preparation and handling of food shall discharge through an 
indirect waste pipe by means of an air gap. Food handling 
equipment includes but is not limited to the following: any 
sink where food is cleaned, peeled, cut up, rinsed, battered, 
defrosted or otherwise prepared or handled; potato peelers; 
ice cream dipper wells; refrigerators; freezers; walk-in 
coolers or freezers; ice boxes; ice making machines; 
fountain type drink dispensers; rinse sinks; cooling or 
refrigerating coils; laundry washers; extractors; steam tables; 
steam kettles; egg boilers; coffee urns; steam jackets or other 
food handling or cooking equipment wherein the indirect 
waste pipe may come under a vacuum; or similar equipment. 

I. Delete Section 918, Air Admittance Valves in its 
entirety and all referring sections of the 2015 IPC. In 
accordance with the requirements of Act 836 of the 2014 
Regular Session, air admittance valves are prohibited from 
use on all plumbing systems. 

J. Amend Chapter 10, Traps, Interceptors and 
Separators. 

1. Amend Section 1003.2, Approval. 
a. Interceptors and separators shall be designed and 

installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions 
and the requirements of this section based on the anticipated 
conditions of use. Wastes that do not require treatment or 
separation shall not be discharged into any interceptor or 
separator. No interceptor or separator shall be installed until 
its design, size, location and venting has been approved by 
the local jurisdictional code official. The local jurisdictional 
code official shall have the authority to require a grease 
interceptor to be serviced, repaired, or replaced with a larger 
unit when it is determined that a unit is not working or being 
maintained properly, the unit is damaged, or the mode of 
operation of the facility no longer meets the anticipated 
conditions of use (i.e., offensive odors, sewage backups or 
overflows, or when it is determined that grease is bypassing 
the grease interceptor and causing downstream blockages or 
interfering with sewage treatment.) 

2. Add Section 1003.2.1, Grease interceptor sizing. 
a. In all instances of new construction, change of 

occupancy classification or use of the property, a gravity 
grease interceptor or hydro-mechanical grease interceptor 
meeting the minimum capacity as required by this Section of 
the Code shall be installed. The minimum required capacity 

(volume) of the grease interceptor shall be determined based 
upon the maximum number of persons served during the 
largest meal period. The minimum capacity shall not be less 
than 125 gallons below the static water level. This capacity 
is sufficient to hold the flow from one meal long enough to 
accomplish proper grease separation when serving up to 50 
people during a single meal period. When over 50 people are 
served during a single meal period, the minimum capacity 
shall be increased beyond 125 gallons based upon at least an 
additional 2 1/2 gallons per person beginning with the 51st 
person served and greater. 

i. Exception: 
(a). At the discretion of the local jurisdictional code official, 
a smaller, point of use type hydro-mechanical grease 
interceptor or automatic grease removal device may be 
permissible when: 
(i). a concrete slab would have to be broken at an existing 
building or facility for the proper installation of a grease 
interceptor; or 
(ii). an outside, unpaved area surrounding an existing 
building where a grease interceptor could be installed is 
available; however, it is determined that the area is located 
further than 75 feet from the plumbing fixtures that the 
grease interceptor would be servicing; or 
(iii). the local jurisdictional code official determines that the 
installation is unfeasible such as when servicing a kitchen 
located on the upper floors of a multistoried building; or 
(iv). the local jurisdictional code official determines that 
minimal fat, oil and grease will be produced or introduced 
into the sanitary drainage system based on the menu and 
mode of operation of the facility (i.e., snowball stands, 
sandwich shops, or other similar facilities with low grease 
production and which utilize single-service tableware and 
hollowware including forks, knives, spoons, plates, bowls, 
cups, and other serving dishes). 
(b). In these instances, listed under the exception, the 
minimum required size of the hydromechanical grease 
interceptor; fats, oils and greases disposal system or 
automatic grease removal device shall be determined in 
accordance with the requirements of Section 1003.3.4 of this 
Code. In no case shall a grease interceptor or automatic 
grease removal device be installed which has an approved 
rate of flow of less than 20 gallons per minute. 

3. Amend Section 1003.3.4, Hydromechanical grease 
interceptors, fats, oils and greases disposal systems and 
automatic grease removal devices. 

a. When specifically allowed under the exception of 
Section 1003.2.1 of this Code, hydromechanical grease 
interceptors; fats, oils, and greases disposal systems and 
automatic grease removal devices shall be sized in 
accordance with ASME A112.14.3, ASME A112.14.4, 
ASME A112.14.6, CSA B481.3 or PDI-G101. 
Hydromechanical grease interceptors; fats, oils, and grease 
disposal systems and automatic grease removal devices shall 
be designed and tested in accordance with ASME A112.14.3, 
ASME A112.14.4, CSA B481.1, PDI G101 or PDI G102. 
Hydromechanical grease interceptors; fats, oils, and greases 
disposal systems and automatic grease removal devices shall 
be installed in accordance with the manufacturer’s 
instructions. Where manufacturer’s instructions are not 
provided, Hydromechanical grease interceptors; fats, oils, 
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and greases disposal systems and automatic grease removal 
devices shall be installed in compliance with ASME 
A112.14.3, ASME A112.14.4, ASME A112.14.6, CSA 
B481.3 or PDI-G101. 

4. Amend Section 1003.3.46, Gravity Grease 
Interceptors/grease traps. 

a. Gravity grease interceptors shall comply with the 
requirements of Sections 1003.3.46.1 through 1003.3.46.8 
and shall be sized in accordance with Section 1003.2.1 of 
this code. 

5. Add Section 1003.3.6.1, Indoor Installations. 
a. If a gravity grease interceptor must be installed 

within an enclosed building, any access covers shall be 
gasketed to prevent the intrusion of odors into the building. 

6.  Add Section 1003.3.6.2, Distance. 
a. The grease interceptor shall be placed as close to 

the plumbing fixture(s) discharging greasy waste as possible, 
but preferably on the outside of the building when feasible. 

7. Add Section 1003.3.6.3, Outlet Pipe. 
a. The minimum diameter of the outlet pipe shall 

not be less than 4 inches. The invert of the gravity grease 
interceptor outlet opening (i.e., lowest portion of the outlet 
pipe where it draws waste near the bottom of the grease 
interceptor), shall be located at a maximum of 6 inches and a 
minimum of 4 inches from the floor of the grease 
interceptor. This requirement also applies to any 
intermediate outlets in multi-compartment gravity grease 
interceptors. 

8. Add Section 1003.3.6.4, Air Space. 
a. A minimum of one foot of air space shall be 

provided above the static water level. 
9. Add Section 1003.3.6.5, Venting. 

a. A gravity grease interceptor outlet shall be 
properly vented in accordance with this section to prevent it 
from siphoning itself out. Any internally vented outlet line 
shall have the vent terminal extended to within 2 inches of 
the bottom of the access cover to prevent grease from 
escaping the gravity grease interceptor through the open vent 
terminal. For those gravity grease interceptors having a 
gasketed cover, the gravity grease interceptor outlet line 
shall not be allowed to be internally vented. In this case, the 
outlet line itself shall be vented with a minimum 2-inch vent 
pipe installed in accordance with Chapter 9 of this code. 

10. Add Section 1003.3.6.6, Water Seal.  
a. On unbaffled single compartment gravity grease 

interceptors, a 90° ell shall be used on the inlet and shall 
terminate 6 inches below the static water level. On baffled 
single compartment gravity grease interceptors, a baffle wall 
shall be placed between the inlet and outlet. The inlet shall 
discharge into the gravity grease interceptor at a level at least 
6 inches below the top of the baffle wall.  

11. Add Section 1003.3.6.7, Minimum Horizontal 
Distance. 

a. The minimum horizontal distance between the 
inlet and outlet piping in the gravity grease interceptor shall 
be 24 inches. 

12. Add Section 1003.3.6.8, Access/Covers.  
a. Access from the top of the gravity grease 

interceptor shall be provided by an easily removable cover 
above an access opening for proper maintenance. Additional 
access opening/covers shall be provided as necessary to 
provide accessibility to each compartment in multi-

compartment or multi-baffled arrangements as well as access 
to both the inlet and outlet. Access opening covers shall be 
above or at grade (G) to provide ready accessibility. Each 
access cover shall be designed so that it cannot slide, rotate, 
or flip when properly installed in order that the opening is 
not unintentionally exposed. Especially for lightweight 
covers, mechanical fasteners are recommended to augment 
the safety of and ensure positive closure of the cover. 

13. Amend Section 1003.10, Access and Maintenance 
of Interceptors and Separators.  

a. Access shall be provided to each interceptor and 
separator for service and maintenance. A two-way cleanout 
shall be provided on the discharge waste line immediately 
downstream of all interceptors and separators. Interceptors 
and separators shall be maintained by periodic removal of 
accumulated grease, scum, oil, or other floating substances 
and solids deposited in the interceptor or separator. 

K. Amend Chapter 11, Storm Drainage. 
1. Amend Section 1101.3, Prohibited Drainage. 

a. Storm water shall not be drained into sewers 
intended for sewage only. 

i. Exception: 
 (a). Liquid waste from the cleaning operation and 
from the leakage of garbage containers and dumpsters 
holding putrescible wastes shall be disposed of as sewage. 
Methods used for this disposal shall prevent rainwater and 
runoff from adjacent areas from entering the sanitary 
sewerage system (i.e., dumpster pads may be elevated or 
curbed, enclosed or covered). When determined by the code 
official that liquid wastes or putrescible wastes contain fats, 
oils or grease (or, for new establishments, will likely contain 
fats, oils, or grease in the future), an approved grease 
interceptor shall be installed in the waste line in accordance 
with Section 1003 of this Code. 

2. Delete Section 1103.1.  
3. Delete Section 1103.2. 
4. Delete Section 1103.3. 
5. Delete Section 1103.4. 
6. Delete Section 1109.1.  

L. Amend Chapter 13, Gray Water Recycling Systems. 
1. Amend Section 1301.4 Permits 

a. Permits shall be required for the construction, 
installation, alteration and repair of nonpotable water 
systems. Construction documents, engineering calculations, 
diagrams and other such data pertaining to the nonpotable 
water system shall be submitted with each permit 
application. Such plans and specifications shall be 
appropriately sealed and signed by a Louisiana Registered 
Professional Engineer. 

2. Amend Section 1301.5, Potable water connections. 
a. Where a potable system is connected to a 

nonpotable water system, the potable water supply shall be 
protected against backflow by an air gap or reduced pressure 
principal backflow prevention assembly. 

3. Amend Section 1301.9.5, Makeup water. 
a. Where an uninterrupted supply is required for the 

intended application, potable or reclaimed water shall be 
provided as a source of makeup water for the storage tank. 
The makeup water supply shall be protected against 
backflow by an air gap or reduced pressure principal 
backflow prevention assembly. A full-open valve located on 
the makeup water supply line to the storage tank shall be 
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provided. Inlets to the storage tank shall be controlled by fill 
valves or other automatic supply valves installed to prevent 
the tank form overflowing and to prevent the water level 
from dropping below a predetermined point. Where makeup 
water is provided, the water level shall not be permitted to 
drop below the source water inlet or the intake of any 
attached pump. 

M. Amend Chapter 15, Referenced Standards. 
1. Amend CSA Referenced Standard. 

a. B64.10-94 Manual for the Selection, Installation, 
Maintenance and Field testing of Backflow Prevention 
Devices (not including Part 6 (Maintenance and Field 
Testing) Section 608.16 and Section 618.2 

N. Add Chapter 16, Travel Trailer and 
Mobile/Manufactured Home Parks. 

1. Add the following definitions. 
Dependent Travel Trailer—a travel trailer not 

equipped with a water closet. 
Drain Hose—the approved type hose, flexible and 

easily detachable, used for connecting the drain outlet on a 
travel trailer to a sewer inlet connection. 

Drain Outlet—the lowest end of the main drain of a 
travel trailer itself to which a drain hose is connected.  

Independent Travel Trailer—a travel trailer equipped 
with a water closet and a bath or shower. 

Inlet Coupling—the terminal end of the branch water 
line to which the mobile/manufactured home or travel 
trailer’s water service connection is made. It may be a swivel 
fitting or threaded pipe end. 

Intermediate Waste Holding Tank (travel trailers 
only)—an enclosed tank for the temporary retention of 
water-borne waste. 

Mobile/Manufactured Home—a prefabricated home 
built on a permanent chassis which can be transported in one 
or more sections and is typically used as a permanent 
dwelling. Manufactured homes built since 1976 are built to 
the Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards 
(HUD Code) and display a HUD certification label on the 
exterior of each transportable section. 

Park or Mobile/Manufactured Home Park or Travel 
Trailer Park—any lot, tract, parcel or plot of land upon 
which more than one travel trailer and/or 
mobile/manufactured homes parked for the temporary or 
permanent use of a person or persons for living, working or 
congregating. 

Park Drainage System—the entire system of drainage 
piping within the park which is used to convey sewage or 
other wastes from the mobile/manufactured home or travel 
trailer drain outlet connection, beginning at its sewer inlet 
connection at the mobile/manufactured home or travel trailer 
site, to a community sewerage system, a commercial 
treatment facility, or an individual sewerage system. 

Park Water Distribution System—all of the water 
distribution piping within the park, extending from the water 
supply system or other source of supply to, but not 
including, the mobile/manufactured home or travel trailer’s 
water service connection, and including branch service lines, 
fixture devices, service buildings and appurtenances thereto. 

Service Building—a building housing toilet and 
bathing facilities for men and women, with laundry 
facilities. 

Sewer Inlet—a sewer pipe connection permanently 
provided at the travel trailer or mobile/manufactured home 
site which is designed to receive sewage when a travel trailer 
or a mobile/manufactured home is parked on such site. It is 
considered the upstream terminus of the park drainage 
system. 

Travel Trailer—a vehicular unit, mounted on wheels, 
designed to provide temporary living quarters for 
recreational, camping, or travel use. 

Travel Trailer Sanitary Service Station—a sewage 
inlet with cover, surrounded by a concrete apron sloped 
inward to the drain, and watering facilities to permit periodic 
wash down of the immediately adjacent area, to be used as a 
disposal point for the contents of intermediate waste holding 
tanks of travel trailers. 

Water Service Connection—as used in conjunction 
with mobile/manufactured homes and travel trailers, the 
water pipe connected between the inlet coupling of the park 
water distribution system and the water supply fitting 
provided on the mobile/manufactured home or travel trailer 
itself. 

2. Add Section 1601, General. 
a. Add Section 1601.1, Scope. 

 i. The requirements set forth in this Chapter shall 
apply specifically to all new travel trailer and 
mobile/manufactured home parks, and to additions to 
existing parks as herein defined, and are to provide 
minimum standards for sanitation and plumbing installation 
within these parks, for the accommodations, use and parking 
of travel trailers and/or mobile/manufactured homes.  

b. Add Section 1601.2, Governing Provisions. 
 i. Other general provisions of this code shall 
govern the installation of plumbing systems in travel trailer 
and mobile/manufactured home parks, except where special 
conditions or construction are specifically defined in this 
Chapter. 

c. Add Section 1601.3, Sewage Collection, 
Disposal, Treatment. 
 i. Travel trailers or mobile/manufactured homes 
shall not hereafter be parked in any park unless there are 
provided plumbing and sanitation facilities installed and 
maintained in conformity with this code. Every travel trailer 
and mobile/manufactured home shall provide a gastight and 
watertight connection for sewage disposal which shall be 
connected to an underground sewage collection system 
discharging into a community sewerage system, a 
commercial treatment facility, or an individual sewerage 
system which has been approved by the state health officer. 

d. Add Section 1601.4, Travel Trailer Sanitary 
Service Station. 
 i. At least one travel trailer sanitary service 
station shall be provided in all travel trailer parks that accept 
any travel trailers having an intermediate waste holding tank. 
The water supply serving the sanitary service station shall be 
protected against backflow by a reduced pressure principle 
backflow prevention assembly meeting the requirements of 
Section 608 of this code.  

e. Add Section 1601.5, Materials. 
 i. Unless otherwise provided for in this Chapter, 
all piping fixtures or devices used in the installation of 
drainage and water distribution systems for travel trailer 
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parks and mobile/manufactured home parks shall conform to 
the quality and weights of materials prescribed by this code. 

f. Add Section 1601.6, Installation. 
 i. Unless otherwise provided for in this Chapter, 
all plumbing fixtures, piping drains, appurtenances and 
appliances designed and used in the park drainage, water 
distribution system, and service connections shall be 
installed in conformance with the requirements of this code. 

g. Add Section 1601.7, Maintenance. 
 i. All devices or safeguards required by this 
Chapter shall be maintained in good working order by the 
owner, operator, or lessee of the travel trailer park or his 
designated agent. 

3. Add Section 1602, Service Buildings. 
a. Add Section 1602.1, Service Buildings for 

Independent Travel Trailers.  
 i. Each travel trailer park which serves only 
independent travel trailers shall have at least one service 
building to provide necessary sanitation and laundry 
facilities. Each mobile/manufactured home park which also 
serves one or more independent travel trailers (in addition to 
mobile/manufactured homes) shall have at least one service 
building to provide necessary sanitation and laundry 
facilities. When a service building is required under this 
Section, it shall have a minimum of one water closet, one 
lavatory, one shower or bathtub for females and one water 
closet, one lavatory, and one shower or bathtub for males. In 
addition, at least one laundry tray or clothes washing 
machine and one drinking fountain located in a common 
area shall be provided. 

(a). Exception: 
 (i). Temporary (6 months) travel trailers 
residing in mobile home parks and or where more than one 
travel trailer resides for the purpose of employment and or 
hardships, may be exempted by the local jurisdiction 
building official from 1602.1.  

b. Add Section 1602.2, Service Building for 
Dependent Travel Trailers. 
 i. The service building(s) in travel trailer or 
mobile/manufactured home parks that also accommodate 
dependent travel trailers shall have a minimum of two water 
closets, one lavatory, one shower or bathtub for females, and 
one water closet, one lavatory, one urinal, and one shower or 
bathtub for males. In addition, at least one laundry tray or 
clothes washing machine and one drinking fountain located 
in a common area shall be provided. The above facilities are 
for a maximum of ten dependent travel trailers. For every ten 
additional dependent travel trailers (or any fraction thereof) 
the following additional fixtures shall be provided: One 
laundry tray or clothes washing machine, one shower or 
bathtub for each sex, and one water closet for females. Also, 
one additional water closet for males shall be provided for 
every 15 additional dependent travel trailers (or any fraction 
thereof).  

c. Add Section 1602.3, Service Building Design 
Requirements. 
 i. Each service building shall conform to 
Sections 1302.3.1 through 1302.3.3 of this code. 

d. Add Section 1302.3.1, Construction.  
 i. Every service building shall be of permanent 
construction with an interior finish of moisture resistant 

material which will stand frequent washing and cleaning and 
the building shall be well-lighted and ventilated at all times. 

e. Add Section 1602.3.2, Fixture Separation.  
 i. The laundry tray(s) and/or clothes washing 
machine(s) and drinking fountain(s) shall be located in a 
common area. None of these fixtures shall be located within 
any toilet room. Each water closet, tub and/or shower shall 
be in separate compartments with self-closing doors on all 
water closet compartments. The shower stall shall be a 
minimum of 3 x 3 feet (914 x 914 mm) in area, with a 
dressing compartment. 

f. Add Section 1602.3.3, Floor Drains. 
 i. A minimum 2-inch floor drain protected by and 
approved trap primer shall be installed in each toilet room 
and laundry room. 

4. Add Section 1603, Park Drainage System. 
a. Add Section 1603.1, Separation of water and 

sewer lines.  
 i. The sewer main and sewer laterals shall be 
separated from the park water service and distribution 
system in accordance with Section 603.2 of this code. 

b. Add Section 1603.2, Minimum Size Pipe. 
 i. The minimum size pipe in any 
mobile/manufactured home park or travel trailer park 
drainage system shall be 4 inches. This includes branch lines 
or sewer laterals to individual travel trailers and 
mobile/manufactured homes. 

c. Add Section 1603.3, Fixture Units. 
i. Each mobile/manufactured home and travel 

trailer shall be considered as 6 fixture units in determining 
discharge requirements in the design of park drainage and 
sewage disposal systems. 

d. Add Section 1603.4, Sewage Disposal/Treatment. 
 i. The discharge of a park drainage system shall 
be connected to a community sewerage system. Where a 
community sewerage system is not available, an approved 
commercial treatment facility or individual sewerage system 
shall be installed in accord with the requirements of LAC 
51:XIII (Sewage Disposal). 

e. Add Section 1603.5, Manholes and Cleanouts. 
 i. Manholes and/or cleanouts shall be provided 
and constructed as required in Chapter 7 of this code. 
Manholes and/or cleanouts shall be accessible and brought 
to grade. 

f. Add Section 1603.6, Sewer Inlets. 
 i. Sewer inlets shall be 4-inch diameter and 
extend above grade (G) 3 to 6 inches (76 to 152 mm). Each 
inlet shall be provided with a gas-tight seal when connected 
to a travel trailer or mobile/manufactured home and have a 
gas-tight seal plug for use when not in service.  

g. Add Section 1603.7, Drain Connections. 
 i. Drain connections shall slope continuously 
downward and form no traps. All pipe joints and connections 
shall be installed and maintained gastight and watertight. 

h. Add Section 1603.8, Waste. 
 i. No sewage, waste water, or any other effluent 
shall be allowed to be deposited on the surface of the 
ground.  

i. Add Section 1603.9, Testing the Park Drainage 
System.  
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 i. Upon completion and before covering, the park 
drainage system shall be subjected to a static water test 
performed in accordance with Section 312 of this code. 

5. Add Section 1604, Water Supply and Distribution 
System. 

a. Add Section 1604.1, General.  
 i. Every mobile/manufactured home and travel 
trailer site shall be provided with an individual branch water 
service line delivering potable water.  

b. Add Section 1604.2, Water Service Lines.  
 i. Water service lines to each travel trailer site 
shall be sized to provide a minimum of 8 gpm (0.505 L/s) at 
the point of connection with the trailer’s water distribution 
system. Water service lines to each mobile/manufactured 
home site shall be sized to provide a minimum of 17 gpm 
(1.1 L/s) at the point of connection with the 
mobile/manufactured home’s water distribution system. All 
water service lines shall be a minimum of 3/4 inch. A 
separate service shutoff valve shall be installed on each 
water service line. In instances where a backflow prevention 
device or assembly is installed on the water service line (see 
Section 608.16.23), the shutoff valve shall be located on the 
supply side of the device or assembly. 

c. Add Section 1604.3, Water Service Connections. 
 i. The water service connection from the water 
service line to the mobile/manufactured home or travel 
trailer site shall be not less than 1/2-inch diameter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1) and Act836 of the 2014 
of the Regular Louisiana Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshall, LR 41:2386 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshal, Uniform Construction Code Council, LR 42:1672 
(October 2016), LR 43: 
§113. International Fuel Gas Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.6) 
A. International Fuel Gas Code (IFCG), 2015 Edition, 

and the standards referenced in that code for regulation of 
construction within this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshall, LR 41:2387 (November 2015), LR 43: 
§115. National Electric Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A.7) 
A. National Electric Code (NEC), 2014 Edition, and the 

standards referenced in that code for regulation of 
construction in this state.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshall, LR 41:2387 (November 2015), LR 43:  

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule will not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972 
D or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically there should be no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children. 
Local governmental entities have the ability to perform 

the enforcement of the action proposed in accordance with 
R.S. 40:1730.23.  

Small Business Analysis  
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The 
agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and 
economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on child, individual, or 

family poverty has been considered and it is estimated that 
the proposed action is not expected to have a significant 
adverse impact on poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as provided in the LA R.S. 
49:973. The agency has considered economic welfare factors 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on poverty. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR 

107) of the 2014 Regular Session of the Legislature, the 
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provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 
It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a positive 
impact on providers. However, the particular proposed Rule 
does not impact or affect the staffing level requirements 
required to provide the same level of service.  

Interested Persons 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Such comments 
should be submitted no later than February 10, 2017, at 4:30 
p.m. to Mark Joiner, Louisiana State Uniform Construction 
Code Council, 8181 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 
70896. A public hearing will be scheduled if the requisite 
number of comments are received by the deadline date. 

 
LTC Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Uniform Construction Code 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes may result in savings for state 

and local governments, as they promulgate the 2015 edition of 
the International Building Code (IBC) and the International 
Plumbing Code (IPC). The IBC revisions may result in a 
savings for local governmental units while not affecting 
expenditures of state governmental units. Furthermore, the IPC 
revisions may result in a net savings for state and local 
governmental units to they extent they utilize the new 
technologies outlined in the proposed rule changes, though the 
savings will likely occur over an extended period of time. 

The IBC revisions allow for an increase in area square 
footage before requiring a sprinkler system while still 
maintaining the safety of individuals, making the requirement 
the same as in the Life Safety Code (LSC) as enforced by the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal, meaning entities may build 
larger buildings without incurring expenses for sprinkler 
systems. This may result in a savings for local governments to 
the extent they engage in new construction and followed the 
IBC guidelines rather than the LSC guidelines. The IBC 
revisions will not result in any savings or costs for state 
governmental units, as they currently follow the LSC 
guidelines while engaging in new construction. 

The revisions to the International Plumbing Code (IPC) 
outlined in the proposed rule changes may result in higher up-
front costs for state and local governmental units, but lower 
operation and maintenance costs in subsequent fiscal years, 
resulting in a potential net savings over time. The IPC revisions 
allow for the use of new technologies in building construction 
that carry higher up-front costs, lower operation and 
maintenance costs. However, the use of these technologies is 
optional, and any costs or savings will be realized only to the 
extent state and local governmental units choose to use the new 
technologies.  

Furthermore, the proposed rule changes provide for an 
adoption of the most recent construction codes by replacing the 
current regulations with the more recent 2015 editions of the 
International Residential Code (IRC), International Existing 
Building Code (IEBC), International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC), 
International Mechanical Code (IMC), and the 2014 edition of 
the National Electrical Code (NEC). The revisions to the

aforementioned costs will not result in any additional costs for 
state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governments. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will result in an indeterminable 
net savings in commercial and residential construction costs 
and/or operating and maintenance costs for owners and 
contractors, while maximizing safety, as a result of the 
permitted use of new technologies and a revision of building 
standards for which sprinkler systems must be installed. 

The IPC amendments will allow for more efficient new 
technologies to be implemented while maintaining safe 
requirements for the health and welfare of Louisiana citizens. 
The new, efficient technologies carry a higher front-end cost, 
but cost less to operate over time than older technologies. As a 
result, entities may realize a net savings on maintenance and 
operating costs over time to the extent they make use of the 
new technologies. 

The proposed IBC amendments will allow for an increase 
in area square footage before requiring a sprinkler system while 
still maintaining the safety of individuals, meaning entities may 
build larger buildings without incurring expenses for sprinkler 
systems. The net savings is indeterminable, as the number of 
entities engaging in new construction projects that fit the new 
criteria for needing sprinkler systems is unknown. 

The proposed IRC amendments will allow local 
government to determine freeboard requirements in special 
flood hazard areas instead of a statewide requirement, which 
will affect entities differently depending upon their location.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
LTC Jason Starnes Evan Brasseaux 
Chief Administrative Officer Staff Director 
1701#076 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Trustees of the District Attorneys’  
Retirement System 

District Attorneys’ Retirement System 
(LAC 58:XXI.103, 105, 107, 701, and 901) 

The Board of Trustees of the District Attorneys’ 
Retirement System (DARS) proposed to adopt LAC 58.XXI. 
Chapter 9 as interpretation of the provisions of the District 
Attorneys’ Retirement System, as authorized by R.S. 
11:1658 and 1659. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. The purposes of the 
proposed Rule are to provide improved funding for the 
District Attorneys’ Retirement System, to permit the 
repayment of benefits that have been distributed, and to 
comply with certain requirements of the Internal Revenue 
Code. 
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Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part XXI.  District Attorneys’ Retirement System 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Actuarial Equivalent 

A. Effective July 1, 2013 and continuing through June 
30, 2015, as provided by R.S. 11:1588(A) actuarial 
equivalent shall be defined by using the following 
assumptions. 

1. Interest shall be compounded annually at the rate of 
7.5 percent per annum. 

a. For single life option factors, mortality rates shall 
be based on the RP-2000 combined healthy tables unisexed 
based on 70 percent males and 30 percent females. For joint 
life option factors, mortality rates shall be based on the RP-
2000 combined healthy tables unisexed based on 95 percent 
males and 5 percent females for retirees and 5 percent males 
and 95 percent females for beneficiaries 

b. For disability award lifetime equivalences, 
mortality rates shall be based on the RP-2000 disabled lives 
tables unisexed based on 70 percent males and 30 percent 
females. 

B. Effective July 1, 2015 and continuing through June 
30, 2016, as provided by R.S. 11:1588(A) actuarial 
equivalent shall be defined by using the following 
assumptions. 

1. Interest shall be compounded annually at the rate of 
7.25 percent per annum. 

a. For single life option factors, mortality rates shall 
be based on the RP-2000 combined healthy tables unisexed 
based on 70 percent males and 30 percent females. For joint 
life option factors, mortality rates shall be based on the RP-
2000 combined healthy tables unisexed based on 95 percent 
males and 5 percent females for retirees and 5 percent males 
and 95 percent females for beneficiaries. 

b. For disability award lifetime equivalences, 
mortality rates shall be based on the RP-2000 disabled lives 
tables unisexed based on 70 percent males and 30 percent 
females. 

C. Effective July 1, 2016 and continuing so long as not 
amended by resolution of the board, as provided by R.S. 
11:1588(A) actuarial equivalent shall be defined by using the 
following assumptions. 

1. Interest shall be compounded annually at the rate of 
7.00 percent per annum. 

a. For single life option factors, mortality rates shall 
be based on the RP-2000 combined healthy table with white 
collar adjustment with no setback for males and with 1 year 
setback for females and unisexed based on 80 percent males 
and 20 percent females. For joint life option factors, 
mortality rates shall be based on the RP-2000 combined 
healthy tables with white color adjustment with no setback 
for males and with a 1 year setback for females and unisexed 
based on 95 percent males and 5 percent females for retirees 
and 5 percent males and 95 percent females for 
beneficiaries. 

b. For disability award lifetime equivalences, 
mortality rates shall be based on the RP-2000 disabled lives 
tables set back 5 years for males and set back 3 years for 
females unisexed based on 80 percent males and 20 percent 
females. 

D. After July 1, 2016, the interest and mortality rate 
assumptions shall be as adopted by resolution of the board. 
The board shall consult with its actuary with regard to the 
proper rates to use. 

E. For purposes of comparing the benefits of the forms 
of distribution with the maximum limitation on benefits, the 
applicable mortality tables described in IRC §417(e)(3)(B) 
shall be used. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 11:1658-1659 and R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the District Attorneys’ Retirement System, LR 41:2313 
(November 2015), LR 43: 
§105. Accumulated Contributions, Rollovers 

A. - D.5. … 
E. Payment for Age Discrimination Service Credit 

1 - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 11:1588(A), R.S. 11:1617(B), and the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the District Attorneys’ Retirement System, LR 41:2313 
(November 2015), LR 43: 
§107. Repayment of Withdrawn Accumulated 

Contributions 
A. Withdrawn Accumulated Contributions May be 

Repaid  
1. Repayment Permitted  

a. Member contributions that have been refunded to 
the member upon his termination of employment before 
qualifying for retirement benefits under the DARS may be 
repaid to DARS by the member upon his reemployment by a 
participating employer and his participation in and 
contributing to DARS for a minimum of six months, 
provided such repayment is made prior to any application by 
the member for retirement.  

2. Amount of Repayment  
a. Repayment of a refund shall include the amount 

refunded plus interest thereon. The trustees shall determine 
the interest rate applicable to each period during which the 
accumulated contributions have been refunded and ending 
with the date of repayment. Such interest shall be 
determined on a consistent basis and shall apply to all 
members. Installments shall not be permitted. If funds used 
for repayment originate from multiple sources, all funds due 
must be received by DARS within 45 days of each other. 
Service credit shall not be restored until full payment has 
been received.  

3. Sources of Payment 
a. The member shall be responsible for certifying 

and demonstrating the amount of any refund from a source 
for which taxes have been paid by the member. Amounts 
received in a rollover, whether a direct rollover or 60-day 
rollover will be presumed not to have been taxed; however, 
the trustees or their delegates may offer the member the 
opportunity to demonstrate that part or all of the rollover is 
of after-tax funds, subject to any administrative requirements 
that the trustees regard as reasonable to demonstrate proof of 
the after-tax status of the funds. DARS will maintain records 
of after-tax amounts held for the benefit of the member. 

4. Distribution of Refund Amounts 
a. Any distribution of amounts repaid by the 

member that includes after-tax payments shall include the 
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allocable portion of the after-tax payment. Determination of 
the allocable portion of each payment shall be in accordance 
with federal income tax rules and the policies and 
procedures of the trustees. 

B. Service Credited Upon Repayment  
1. Service Credited 

a. All creditable service forfeited upon refund shall 
be restored upon full repayment of the refund plus interest in 
accordance with Subsection A above. The accrual rate of 
such service shall be the applicable rate in place at the time 
the service was initially earned.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 11:1588(A) and R.S. 11:1617(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the District Attorneys’ Retirement System, LR 43: 
Chapter 7. Required Minimum Distributions 
§701. Required Beginning Date 

A. - B.2.e. … 
C. Applicable Accounts 

1. This Subsection shall apply with respect to any 
account that is part of the system that is considered to be a 
defined contribution account within the system. This 
Subsection shall apply to the refund of accumulated 
contributions as provided in R.S. 11:1635 (hereinafter 
referred to as “applicable account”). 

2. - 6.b.  … 
D. Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP) and Back-

Deferred Retirement Option Plan (Back-DROP) 
1. Required Beginning Date  

a. The DROP account and/or Back-DROP account 
of a member shall be distributed, or commence to be 
distributed, on or before the member’s required beginning 
date. 

2. Minimum Required Distribution (MRD) 
a. Unless a greater amount is elected by the member 

for a calendar year, the amount to be distributed as the 
minimum required distribution shall be determined by 
annuitizing the DROP account and/or back-DROP account 
of the member over the period equal to the number of years 
beginning with the first distribution calendar year and 
continuing for the period equal to the number of whole years 
of the member’s life expectancy measured from the first 
distribution calendar year as determined under the uniform 
lifetime table in 26 C.F.R. §1.401(a)(9)-9. The board shall 
have authority to designate the interest rate for purposes of 
calculating the periodic payments. Notwithstanding the 
foregoing, all payments shall be made from the DROP 
account or back-DROP account of the member, and no 
amount shall be paid that is not accrued for the member’s 
benefit under such account. 

3. Right to Accelerate Payments 
a. The member shall have the right to accelerate 

payments and to receive a distribution of the entire DROP 
account or back-DROP Account in a lump sum.  

4. Rollover  
a. If a distribution is made that includes the 

minimum required distribution for a calendar year, then that 
minimum required distribution may not be rolled over; 
however, any amount distributed in excess of the minimum 
required distribution for any calendar year shall be an 
eligible rollover distribution and may be rolled over into an 
eligible retirement plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 11:1588(A), R.S. 11:1635, and the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the District Attorneys’ Retirement System, LR 41:2316 
(November 2015), amended LR 43: 
Chapter 9. Funding of Retirement System 
§901. Employer Contributions 

A. In accordance with R.S. 11:1658, the Board of 
Trustees directs that the direct employer contribution rate for 
January 1, 2017 through June 30, 2017 shall be 0 percent. 

B. Any excess funds resulting from application of 
Subsection A of this Section shall be combined with any 
contribution surplus or offset by any contribution shortfall, 
and the resulting balance, if greater than zero, shall be 
accumulated in the funding deposit account pursuant to R.S. 
11:1659. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 11:1588(A), R.S. 11:1658-1659, and the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the District Attorneys’ Retirement System, LR 42:1551 
(September 2016), amended LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972(D), or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
There should be no known or foreseeable effect on: the 
stability of the family; the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children; the 
functioning of the family; on family earnings and family 
budget; the behavior and responsibility of children; or the 
ability of the family or a local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will not have a 

significant adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 
health, safety, environmental and economic factors, has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 
in drafting the proposed Rule to accomplish the objectives of 
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applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to E. 

Pete Adams, 1645 Nicholson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802-8143. He is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on February 10, 2017. 

 
E. Pete Adams 
President 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  District Attorneys’ Retirement System 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will decrease state and local 

governmental expenditures. A previous rule that was published 
September, 2016 (the “Current Rule”) allowed the District 
Attorneys’ Retirement System (DARS) to collect a 2% 
employer contribution rate which totaled $571,459. DARS will 
not collect payments from the State ($281,550) and from local 
government units ($289,908) during the period January 1 to 
June 30, 2017 that were authorized by the Current Rule. DARS 
will retain the employer contribution at 0%, rather than 2% 
during the six-month time period. Act 371 allows for DARS 
Board of Trustees to take actions such as maintain the net direct 
employer contribution rate, require a net contribution rate up to 
3% more than the determined contribution rate, or set a 
contribution rate that is between the previous year’s 
contribution rate and the determined contribution rate. 

Additionally, the proposed rule permits the repayment of 
accumulated employee contributions in return for restoration of 
service credit that occurred upon the payment of the 
accumulated contribution. Payment may be made by direct 
rollover from an eligible retirement plan. The change will put 
DARS in the same financial position that it would have been in 
had DARS not made the payment to the employee. 

Finally, the proposed rule change allows DARS to meet 
Internal Revenue Service requirements to remain a qualified 
plan. The proposed rule change will clarify and document the 
actuarial factors used in determining benefits and funding of 
DARS, without directly changing such factors and adds 
language regarding the Minimum Required Distribution. This 
codifies existing policy, so it is not expected to have fiscal 
consequences.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will have no effect on 
revenue collections of State or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Employees that terminate employment and withdraw their 
contributions would be directly affected by the rule change to 
the extent an employee was rehired and repaid the contributions 
that were withdrawn. The repayment of accumulated 
contributions will put DARS in the same financial position it 
would have been in had the contributions not been paid. 

The funded status of the District Attorneys’ Retirement 
System attributable to the employer contribution will be 
unchanged from the status before the addition made by the 
Current Rule. The funded reserve will stay the same as before 
(it will be reduced from the level set by the 2% supplement 
approved as part of the Current Rule). 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The ability of a former member of DARS to repay the 
accumulated contributions that had been distributed to him, 
including rollover from eligible retirement plans, may 
encourage such persons to become reemployed. 

There will be no change as compared with the rule in effect 
before the Current. As compared with the rule in effect after the 
Current, there will be a reduced funding level for the System. 

 
E. Pete Adams Gregory Albrecht 
Director Chief Economist 
1701#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Sharks and SawfishesHarvest Regulations  
(LAC 76:VII.357) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of intent to amend a Rule (LAC 76:VII.357) 
modifying existing commercial shark harvest regulations. 
Proposed changes increase the daily possession limit of 
commercially harvested sharks from the large coastal species 
group to match the established default federal possession 
limit of 45 and to establish Secretarial authority to modify 
those commercial possession limits within a defined range 
(0-55) if notified by the National Marine Fisheries Service 
that an in-season change has been implemented. Authority 
for amendment of this Rule is included in the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 56:320.2, 56:326.1, and 
56:326.3 to the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§357. Sharks and Sawfishes―Harvest Regulations 

A - H.1. … 
2. Persons possessing a commercial state shark permit 

but no federal shark permit shall not possess on any one day, 
or on any trip, or land from any trip, or sell, barter, trade, or 
exchange in excess 45 sharks from the large coastal species 
group, taken from Louisiana state waters. Persons possessing 
a commercial state shark permit shall not possess any
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sandbar sharks unless they also have in their name and in 
possession a valid federal shark research permit under 
50CFR635.32(1). If the department is notified that the 
National Marine Fisheries Service has made an in-season 
adjustment to the daily federal possession limit, the secretary 
of the department is authorized to adjust the daily possession 
limit of sharks from the large coastal species group. Such an 
adjustment of the daily possession limit shall not exceed 55 
sharks from the large coastal species group. 

H.3 - O. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:6(10), R.S. 56:326(E)(2), R.S. 56:326.1, R.S. 56:326.3, R.S. 
56:320.2(C), and R.S. 325.2(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:543 (March 1999), amended LR 27:2267 (December 2001), LR 
30:1507 (July 2004), LR 35:705 (April 2009), LR 39:1062 (April 
2013), LR 43: 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate the effectuate this notice of 
intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby issues 
its Family Impact Statement in connection with the 
preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent will have 
no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 49:972(B). 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S.49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit comments relative to the 

proposed Rule to Jason Adriance, Fisheries Division, 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70898-9000, or via e-mail to 
jadriance@wlf.la.gov prior to Thursday, April 6, 2017. 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Sharks and Sawfishes 

Harvest Regulations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not result in any savings or 
expenditures for state or local governmental units. 

The proposed rule change adjusts the possession limits for 
sharks in the large coastal species group in Louisiana state 
waters from the current limit of 36 sharks per vessel per day to 
45 sharks per permitted person per day, for persons possessing 
a state shark permit but not a federal shark permit. 

The proposed rule change grants the Secretary of the LA 
Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) authority to adjust the 
daily possession limit for sharks in the large coastal species 
group if the National Marine Fisheries Service makes a mid-
season adjustment to the daily federal possession limit. Any 
mid-season adjustment shall not exceed 55 sharks per permitted 
person per day.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The higher daily possession, as well as the change from per 
vessel limits to per permitted person limits, under the proposed 
rule change may improve the efficiency of commercial shark 
harvesting operations by allowing commercial fishermen to 
harvest more sharks on a single trip. While the proposed rule 
change increases the daily possession limit for sharks in the 
large coastal species group for commercial shark harvests, the 
proposed rule change does not change the total allowable catch 
for commercial shark harvests. The total allowable catch will 
still total 912,450 lbs. dressed weight. As a result of higher per-
day limits, commercial shark harvesters may reach the total 
allowable catch earlier than current per-day limits presently 
allow. This may increase net receipts for shark fishermen, as 
they may reach their total allowable catch quicker, and will 
realize a decrease in necessary operating costs to harvest 
sharks. For reference, the average dockside value of 
commercial shark landings from 2009-15, including large 
coastal sharks and all other shark species, totaled 
approximately $585,000. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect competition and 
employment. 

 
Bryan McClinton Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1701#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2017-2018 Hunting Regulations and Seasons 
(LAC 76:XIX.Chapter 1) 

Notice is hereby given that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission proposes to amend the general and wildlife 
management area rules and regulations for the 2017-2018 
season, the resident game hunting season for the 2017-2019 
hunting seasons, the general and wildlife management area 
rules and regulations for the turkey season, the turkey 
hunting areas, and seasons, and bag limits for the 2018 
turkey season, and the migratory bird seasons, regulations, 
and bag limits for the 2017-2018 hunting season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§103. Resident Game Birds and Animals  

A. … 
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B. Consult regulation pamphlet for seasons or specific 
regulations on wildlife management areas or specific 
localities. 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 

Quail 

OPENS:  
3rd Saturday of 
November 
CLOSES:  
Last Day of February 10 30 

Rabbit and 
Squirrel 

OPENS:  
1st Saturday of October 
CLOSES:  
Last Day of February 8 24 

Squirrel* 

OPENS:  
1st Saturday of May for 
23 days 3 9 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 

Deer 
2017-19 See Schedule 

1 antlered 
and 1 
antlerless 
(when 
legal) 

Deer Areas 
1,2,3,5,6,7,8, 
and 9 
6/season (not 
to exceed 3 
antlered deer 
or 4 antlerless 
deer).  Deer 
Area 4 limit 
3/season (not 
to exceed 2 
antlered or 2 
antlerless 
deer).  Deer 
Area 10 limit 
3/season (not 
to exceed 2 
antlered or 2 
antlerless 
deer). 

*NOTE: Spring squirrel season is closed on the Kisatchie 
National Forest, National Wildlife Refuges, U.S. Army Corps 
of Engineers property. Some state wildlife management areas 
will be open, check WMA season schedule. 
 

 

 
C. Deer Hunting Schedule 2017-2018 
 

Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms  

(All Either Sex Except as Noted) 
Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
* * * 

3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days  

   

4 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.   

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan.  

5 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov.(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.(EITHER 
SEX 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS ONLY 
FOR REMAINDER OF SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving day. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. in Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. in 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

6 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. 
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Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms  

(All Either Sex Except as Noted) 
Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
7 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 

CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct.) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Nov.  

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri Before 1st Sat. of Nov. OPENS: 
2nd Sat of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving  

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days. 

8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 
CLOSES: 
Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct.  
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day. 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

9 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov.(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.(EITHER 
SEX 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS ONLY 
FOR REMAINDER OF SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving day. 
(EITHER SEX)  

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. in Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. in 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

10 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
DayOPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days 

   

 
D. Deer Hunting Schedule 2018-2019 
 

Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
* * * 

3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days 

     

4 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.  

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan.  

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan.  

5 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov.(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.(EITHER 
SEX 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS ONLY 
FOR REMAINDER OF SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving day. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. in Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. in 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 
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Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
6 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 

CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then it 
will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. EXCEPT 
when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and then it will 
close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 

7 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of 
Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Nov.  

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri Before 1st Sat. of Nov. OPENS: 
2nd Sat of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days 

8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 
CLOSES: 
Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day. 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

9 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov.(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.(EITHER 
SEX 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS ONLY 
FOR REMAINDER OF SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then 
it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. 
of Dec. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving day. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. in Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. in 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

10 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec.  

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days 

    

 
E. - G.2.a. … 

3. wildlife management area scheduleopens first 
Saturday of May for nine days on all WMAs except Fort 
Polk, Peason Ridge, Camp Beauregard, Pass-a-Loutre and 
Salvador. Dogs are allowed during this season for squirrel 
hunting; 

4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115, R.S. 56:109(B) and R.S. 56:141(C). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1526 (August 1999), LR 26:1506 (July 
2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 2002), LR 
29:1122 (July 2003), repromulgated LR 29:1521 (August 2003), 
amended LR 30:1494 (July 2004), LR 31:1627 (July 2005), LR 
32:1254 (July 2006), LR 33:115 (January 2007), LR 33:1399 (July 
2007), LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1278 (July 2009), LR 
35:2856 (December 2009), LR 36:1580 (July 2010), LR 37:2207 
(July 2011), LR 38:1747 (July 2012), LR 39:2307 (August 2013), 
LR 40:1535 (August 2014), LR 41:958 (May 2015), LR 42:1108 
(July 2016), LR 43: 
§107. Experimental Dove Field Leasing Program 

A. - B.3. … 
4. Shot is restricted to non-toxic shot, size 6 and 

smaller. 
5. Repealed. 

6. Loaded firearms are prohibited in vehicles or at 
check stations. 

7. Persons exhibiting unsafe gun handling as 
determined by LDWF staff or assigns shall be removed from 
the field(s). 

8. Vehicles are restricted to designated areas or roads. 
9. No Littering. Each hunter is responsible for 

removing his/her trash, including shell hulls, from the leased 
property. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:783 and 56:109B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
23:593 (May 1997), LR 43: 
§111. General and Wildlife Management Area 

Hunting Rules and Regulations 
A. - D.8. … 

9. Nighttime Take of Nuisance Animals and Outlaw 
Quadrupeds. On private property, the landowner, or his 
lessee or agent with written permission from the landowner 
and the landowner’s contact information in his possession, 
may take outlaw quadrupeds (coyotes, armadillos and feral 
hogs), nutria, or beaver during the nighttime hours from one-
half hour after official sunset on the last day of February to 
one-half hour after official sunset the last day of August of 
that same year. Such taking may be with or without the aid 
of artificial light, infrared or laser sighting devices, or night
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vision devices. In addition, pursuant to R.S. 56:116(D)(3) 
any person who is authorized to possess a firearm suppressor 
may use a firearm fitted with a sound suppressor when 
taking outlaw quadrupeds, nutria, or beaver. Any person 
attempting to take outlaw quadrupeds under the provisions 
of the Paragraph, within 24 hours prior to the attempted 
taking, shall notify the sheriff of the parish in which the 
property is located and the LDWF Enforcement Division by 
calling (800) 442-2511 of their intention to attempt to take 
outlaw quadrupeds under the provision of this Paragraph. 

10. - 12. … 
E. General Deer Hunting Regulations 

1. Prior to hunting deer, all deer hunters, regardless of 
age or license status, must obtain deer tags and have in 
possession when hunting deer. Immediately upon harvesting 
a deer, the hunter must tag the deer with the appropriate 
carcass tag and document the kill on the deer tag license. 
Within 72 hours of the kill, the hunter must validate the kill. 
Hunters harvesting deer on DMAP lands can validate deer 
per instructions by LDWF using the DMAP harvest data 
sheets. Hunters on WMAS can validate deer during 
mandatory deer check hunts, when deer check stations are in 
operation. Hunters may validate deer by calling the 
validation toll free number or using the validation website.  

2. 2017-2018 Season. One antlered and one antlerless 
deer per day (when legal) except on Kisatchie National 
Forest , Indian Bayou Area owned by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers, and some federal refuges (check refuge 
regulations) where the daily limit shall be one deer per day.  
Antlerless deer may be harvested during entire deer season 
on private lands (all seasons included) except as specified in 
deer hunting schedule.  This does not apply to public lands 
(WMAs, national forest lands, and federal refuges) which 
will have specified either-sex days. 

3. 2018-2019 Season. One antlered and one antlerless 
deer per day (when legal) except on Kisatchie National 
Forest, Indian Bayou area owned by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers, and some federal refuges (check refuge 
regulations) where the daily limit shall be one deer per day.  
Antlerless deer may be harvested during entire deer season 
on private lands (all seasons included) except as specified in 
deer hunting schedule.  This does not apply to public lands 
(WMAs, national forest lands, and federal refuges) which 
will have specified either-sex days. 

4. A legal antlered deer is a deer with at least one 
visible antler of hardened bony material, broken naturally 
through the skin. Killing antlerless deer is prohibited except 
where specifically allowed. 

5. - 10. … 
11. Primitive Firearms Season: Still Hunt Only. 

Specific WMAs will also be open, check WMA schedule for 
specific details. Primitive firearms license is required for 
resident hunters between the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and 
non-residents 16 years of age and older. Either-sex deer may 
be taken in all deer hunting areas except as otherwise 
specified.  

11.a. - 12.a.i.(c). … 
13. Hunter Orange. Any person hunting any wildlife 

during the open gun deer hunting season and possessing 
buckshot, slugs, a primitive firearm, or a centerfire rifle shall 
display on his head, chest and/or back a total of not less than 
400 square inches of "hunter orange" or “blaze pink”. 

Persons hunting on privately owned land may wear a hunter 
orange or blaze pink cap or hat in lieu of the 400 square 
inches. These provisions shall not apply to persons hunting 
deer from elevated stands on property that is privately 
owned or to archery deer hunters hunting on lands where 
firearm hunting is not allowed by agreement of the 
landowner or lessee. However, anyone hunting deer on such 
lands where hunting with firearms is allowed shall be 
required to display the 400 square inches or a hunter orange 
or blaze pink cap or hat while walking to and from elevated 
stands. While a person is hunting from an elevated stand, the 
400 square inches or cap or hat may be concealed. Warning: 
deer hunters are cautioned to watch for persons hunting 
other game or engaged in activities not requiring "hunter 
orange" or “blaze pink”. 

14. - 15.b.iii. … 
F. Description of Areas, 2017-2019 

1. - 3.a.ix. … 
4. Area 4 

a. All of St. Helena and Washington Parishes are 
open. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. East Baton Rougeall except that portion west 
of I-110 and west of US 61; 

b.ii. - c.v. … 
5. Area 5 

a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. - iv. … 
 v. high water benchmark closure. Deer hunting in 
those portions of Iberville and St. Martin parishes south of I-
10, west of the East Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee, 
east of the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee, and 
north of Alligator Bayou and Bayou Sorrel will be closed 
when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 18 feet 
msl at Butte LaRose, and will reopen when the river stage 
recedes to 17 feet msl at Butte LaRose. Deer hunting in 
those portions of Iberville, St. Martin, St. Mary and Iberia 
parishes west of the East Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
Levee, east of the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee 
and south of Alligator Bayou and Bayou Sorrel will be 
closed when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 
15 feet msl at Butte LaRose, and will reopen when the river 
stage recedes to 14 feet msl at Butte LaRose. 

6. Area 6 
a. - b.vii. … 

 viii. East Baton Rougewest of I-110 and west of 
US 61; 

6.b.ix. - 10.b.v. … 
G. WMA Regulations 

1. - 3.j. … 
k. Small Game Emphasis Areas. Specially 

designated areas on certain WMAs will allow small game 
hunting with dogs, confined to that specific area when the 
remainder of the WMA is restricted to still hunt only. 
Additionally, off season training of rabbit and bird dogs may 
be allowed on some of the small game emphasis areas. Small 
game emphasis areas are offered on Big Colewa Bayou, 
Bayou Macon, Bayou Pierre, Boeuf, Dewey W. Wills, Marsh 
Bayou, Ouachita, Pomme de Terre, Richard K. Yancey, 
Sandy Hollow, Sherburne, and Walnut Hill WMAs.  

4. - 4.d.  … 
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e. The following cannot be carried onto any WMA 
except during modern and primitive firearm deer seasons 
and during special shotgun season for feral hogs on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and 
Salvador WMAs (consult regulations pamphlet for specific 
WMA regulations): 
 i. centerfire rifles; 
 ii. centerfire break-action and centerfire bolt-
action handguns; 
 iii. centerfire scoped handguns; 
 iv. shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or F 
steel. 

4.f. - 5.a. … 
b. On WMAs the daily limit shall be one antlered 

deer and one antlerless deer (when legal) per day, not to 
exceed the Deer Area limit for the Deer Area that a WMA is 
contained within (all segments included) by all methods of 
take.  

c. - f. … 
g. Physically Challenged Wheelchair Confined 

Deer and Waterfowl Hunting Areas: special deer and 
waterfowl hunting areas, blinds and stands identified with 
LDWF logos, have been established for physically 
challenged hunter permit (PCHP) wheelchair confined 
hunters on WMAs. Hunters must obtain a PCHP permit and 
are required to make reservations to use blinds and stands. 
PCHP wheelchair hunting areas are available on Alexander 
State Forest, Big Colewa Bayou, Buckhorn, Clear Creek, 
Floy McElroy, Fort Polk-Vernon, Maurepas Swamp, Sandy 
Hollow, and Sherburne WMAs. Check WMA hunting 
schedules or call the LDWF field offices in Pineville, Lake 
Charles, Opelousas, Minden, Monroe or Hammond for 
information. 

h. - m. … 
n. All hunters (including archers and small game 

hunters) except waterfowl hunters and mourning dove 
hunters on WMAs must display 400 square inches of "hunter 
orange" or “blaze pink” and wear a “hunter orange” or 
“blaze pink” cap during open gun season for deer. Quail and 
woodcock hunters and hunters participating in special dog 
seasons for rabbit, squirrel and feral hogs are required to 
wear a minimum of a “hunter orange” or “blaze pink” cap. 
All other hunters and archers (while on the ground) except 
waterfowl hunters also must wear a minimum of a “hunter 
orange” or “blaze pink” cap during special dog seasons for 
rabbit and squirrel and feral hogs. Also all persons afield 
during hunting seasons are encouraged to display "hunter 
orange" or “blaze pink”. Hunters participating in special 
shotgun season for feral hogs on Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-
Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and Salvador WMAs must 
display 400 square inches of “hunter orange” or “blaze 
pink”and wear a “hunter orange” or “blaze pink”cap. 

o. Deer hunters hunting from concealed ground 
blinds must display a minimum of 400 square inches of 
“hunter orange” or “blaze pink” above or around their blinds 
which is visible from 360 degrees. 

5.p. - 11. … 
12. Resident Small Game (squirrel, rabbit, quail, 

mourning dove, woodcock, snipe, rail and gallinule). Same 
as outside except closed during modern firearm either-sex 
deer seasons on certain WMAs (see WMA schedule) and 
except non-toxic shot, size 6 or smaller must be used for 

dove, rail, snipe, and gallinule.  Unless otherwise specified 
under a specific WMA hunting schedule, the use of dogs for 
rabbit and squirrel hunting is prohibited. Spring squirrel 
season with or without dogs: first Saturday of May for nine 
days. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific WMAs. 

13. - 14. … 
15. Hogs. Feral hogs may be taken during any open 

hunting season on WMAs by properly licensed and/or 
permitted hunters using only guns or bow and arrow legal 
for specified seasons in progress, except take of hogs is 
prohibited during nighttime raccoon seasons. Hogs may not 
be taken with the aid of dogs, except feral hogs may be taken 
with the aid of dogs during the month of February on 
Attakapas, Bodcau, Clear Creek, Little River, Pass a Loutre, 
Pearl River, Sabine, Sabine Island, and West Bay and that 
portion of Dewey W. Wills north of the Catahoula Lake 
Diversion Canal by self-clearing permit. All hogs must be 
killed immediately and may not be transported live under 
any conditions. During the February dog season hunters may 
use centerfire pistols in addition to using guns allowed for 
season in progress. Additionally, feral hogs may be taken on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and 
Salvador/Timken WMAs from February 16 through March 
31 with archery equipment, shotguns loaded with buckshot 
or slugs or rimfire rifles no larger than .22 caliber. Additional 
requirements may be specified under individual WMAs, see 
regulation pamphlet.  

16. … 
17. WMAs Hunting Schedule and Regulations 

a. - e. … 
f. Biloxi. ATVs, UTVs, motorcycles, horses, and 

mules are prohibited. Mud boats or air-cooled propulsion 
vessels can only be powered by straight shaft “long tail” air-
cooled mud motors that are 25 total horsepower or less on 
the WMA. All other types of mud boats or air cooled 
propulsion vessels (including “surface drive” boats) are 
prohibited. All ATVs, UTVs, and motorcycles are prohibited. 

g. - h. … 
 i. Dewey W. Wills. Crawfish: 100 pounds per 
person per day. Limited access area, no motorized vessels or 
vehicles allowed from November through January.  Road 
Closures: Hunt Road will be closed when water levels at the 
Larto Lake gage (available at http://rivergages.mvr.usace. 
army.mil/WaterControl/stationinfo2.cfm?sid=CE7F3AA4&fi
d=&dt=S) reach 45.0 ft msl, and will reopen when water 
levels recede to 43.0 ft. msl; Muddy Bayou Road will be 
closed when water levels at the Larto Lake gage (available at 
http://rivergages.mvr.usace.army.mil/WaterControl/stationinf
o2.cfm?sid=CE7F3AA4&fid=&dt=S) reach 42.0 ft. msl and 
will reopen when water levels recede to 40.0 msl; and Sandy 
Bayou Road will be closed when water levels at the Larto 
Lake gage (available at http://rivergages.mvr.usace. 
army.mil/WaterControl/stationinfo2.cfm?sid=CE7F3AA4&fi
d=&dt=S) reach 42.0 ft. msl and will reopen when water 
levels recede to 40.0 msl.  

j. - m. … 
n. Joyce. Swamp walk: closed between 30 minutes 

after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise, no loaded firearms 
or hunting allowed within 100 yards of walkways. Crawfish: 
100 pounds per person per day.  

o. - q. … 
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r. Maurepas Swamp. No loaded firearms or hunting 
allowed within 100 yards of nature trail. Crawfish: 100 
pounds per person per day. Benchmark closure: area closed 
to all deer hunting when USGS water level gauge CRMS 
5373, available at http://waterdata.usgs.gov/la/nwis/rt is at or 
above 3.0 ft. msl and reopened to deer hunting when water 
levels recede to 2.5 ft. msl following a closure.  Motorized 
vehicles prohibited on Crusel Tract (see WMA map for 
Crusel Tract).   

s. … 
t. Pearl River. All roads closed 8 p.m. to 4 a.m. to 

all vehicles. Old Hwy. 11 will be closed when river gauge at 
Pearl River, Louisiana, reaches 16.5 feet. All hunting except 
waterfowl will be closed when the river stage at Pearl River 
reaches 16.5 feet. No hunting in the vicinity of nature trail. 
Observe "No Hunting" signs. Rifle range open Friday, 
Saturday and Sunday with a fee. Crawfish: Commercial 
crawfishing prohibited.  100 pounds per person per day.  

u. … 
v. Pointe-aux-Chenes. Parking of motorized 

vehicles on levees prohibited. Hunting until 12 noon on all 
game, except for mourning dove hunting and youth lottery 
deer hunt as specified in regulation pamphlet. Point Farm: 
gate will be open all weekends during month of February. 
No motorized vessels allowed in the drainage ditches. 
Recreational fishing: shrimp may be taken by the use of cast 
nets only. During the inside open shrimp season, 25 pounds 
per boat per day (heads on) maximum shall be allowed. Size 
count to conform with open season requirements. During the 
inside closed season, 10 pounds per boat per day (heads on) 
may be taken for bait. All castnet contents shall be contained 
and bycatch returned to the water immediately. Oyster 
harvesting is prohibited. Fish may be taken only by rod and 
reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. Crabs may 
be taken only through the use of hand lines or nets; however, 
none are to remain set overnight. Twelve dozen crabs 
maximum are allowed per boat or vehicle per day. Crawfish 
may be harvested in unrestricted portions of the WMA and 
shall be limited to 100 pounds per person per day. Fishing 
gear used to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. 
The harvest of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for 
recreational purposes only and any commercial use is 
prohibited. All boats powered by engines having total 
horsepower above 25 h.p. are not allowed in the Grand 
Bayou, Montegut and Pointe-aux-Chenes water management 
units. Public is permitted to travel anytime through the 
WMA for access purposes only, in the waterways known as 
Grand Bayou, Humble Canal, Little Bayou Blue, Grand 
Bayou Blue, St. Louis Canal and Bayou Pointe-aux-Chenes 
unless authorized by the LDWF. All other motorized 
vehicles, horses and mules are prohibited unless authorized 
by the LDWF. Limited access area, no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations. All ATVs, UTVs, 
motorcycles, horses, and mules prohibited. 

w. - ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115 and R.S. 56:116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:1279 (July 1999), amended LR 26:1494 (July 2000), LR 
27:1049 (July 2001), LR 28:1603 (July 2002), LR 29:1124 (July 
2003), repromulgated LR 29:1522 (August 2003), amended LR 

30:1495 (July 2004), LR 31:1611 (July 2005), LR 32:1251 (July 
2006), LR 33:1382 (July 2007), LR 34:1429 (July 2008), LR 
35:1264 (July 2009), LR 36:1566 (July 2010), LR 37:2190 (July 
2011), LR 38:1732 (July 2012), LR 39:2292 (August 2013), LR 
40:1540 (August 2014), LR 41:963 (May 2015), LR 42:1112 (July 
2016), LR 43: 
§113. General and WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. … 
B. Tags 

1. Prior to hunting turkeys, all turkey hunters, 
regardless of age or license status, must obtain turkey tags 
and have them in their possession while turkey hunting. 
Immediately upon killing a turkey, hunters must attach a 
carcass tag to the turkey before it is moved from the site of 
the kill and must document the kill on the turkey harvest 
report card. The date of kill and parish of kill must be 
recorded on the carcass tag. The tag must remain attached to 
the turkey while kept at camp or while it is transported to the 
domicile of the hunter or to a cold storage facility. Hunters 
who keep the carcass or meat at a camp must also comply 
with game possession tag regulations. Within 72 hours of the 
kill, the hunter must report the kill. Hunters may report 
turkeys by calling the validation phone number or using the 
validation website. 

B.2. - G.1. … 
2. - 4. Repealed. 
5. - 5.b.  … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003), LR 30:2874 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2469 (November 2007), LR 35:91 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2478 (November 2009), LR 36:2581 (November 2010), LR 
37:3535 (December 2011), LR 38:2941 (November 2012), LR 
40:96 (January 2014), LR 40:1554 (August 2014), LR 41:977 (May 
2015), LR 42:1127 (July 2016), LR 43: 
§115. Turkey Hunting Areas, Seasons, and Bag Limits 

A. … 
B. Turkey season will open on the first Saturday in April. 

The area A turkey season will be 30 consecutive days in 
length, the area B turkey season will be 23 consecutive days 
in length, and the area C turkey season will be 16 
consecutive days in length. Wildlife management areas, 
national forests, national wildlife refuges, and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers land may vary from this framework.   On 
those years when the first Saturday in April falls the day 
before Easter, then the season will open the Friday before the 
first Saturday in April. 

C. Statewide youth turkey and physically challenged 
season on private lands shall be the weekend prior to the 
start of the regular turkey season. On those years when the 
weekend prior to the start of regular turkey seasons falls on 
Easter weekend, then the youth and physically challenged 
season will open on Good Friday. 

D. - J.3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
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2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003), LR 30:2875 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2470 (November 2007), LR 35:90 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2481 (November 2009), LR 36:2583 (November 2010), LR 
37:3541 (December 2011), LR 38:2944 (November 2012), LR 
40:99 (January 2014), LR 40:1556 (August 2014), LR 41:980 (May 
2015), LR 42:1129 (July 2016), LR 43: 
§117. Migratory Bird Seasons, Regulations, and Bag 

Limits 
A. Seasons and Bag Limits 
 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 
Mourning and 
White Winged 
Doves and fully-
dressed Eurasian 
and Collared 
Doves 

South Zone: 
Sept. 2-10 
Oct. 7-Nov. 26 
Dec. 17-Jan. 15 

North Zone: 
Sept. 2-24 
Oct. 7-Nov. 12 
Dec. 17-Jan. 15 

15  
(in aggregate) 

45 
(in 
aggregate) 

Woodcock Dec. 18-Jan. 31 3 9 
Teal (Blue-
winged, Green-
winged and 
Cinnamon) 

Sept. 15-30 6 18 

King and 
Clapper Rails 

Sept. 15-30 
Nov. 11-Jan. 3 

15  
(in aggregate) 

45  
(in 
aggregate) 

Sora and 
Virginia Rails 

Sept. 15-30 
Nov. 11-Jan. 3 

25  
(in aggregate) 

75  
(in 
aggregate) 

Gallinules Sep. 15-30 
Nov. 11-Jan. 3 

15 45 

Snipe Coastal Zone: 
Nov. 2-Dec. 3 
Dec. 16-Feb. 28 

West Zone: 
Nov. 2-Dec. 3 
Dec. 16-Feb. 28 

East Zone: 
Nov. 2-Dec. 3 

Dec. 16-Feb. 28 

8 24 

Ducks, Coots 
and Mergansers 

Coastal Zone: 
Nov. 4-5 (youth 

only) 
Nov. 11-Dec. 3 
Dec. 16-Jan. 21 

West Zone: 
Nov. 4 (youth 

only) 
Nov. 11-Dec. 3 
Dec. 16-Jan.21 
Jan. 27 (youth 

only) 
East Zone: 

Nov. 11 (youth 
only) 

Nov. 18-Dec. 3 
Dec. 16-Jan. 28 

Feb. 3 (youth only) 

Daily bag 
limit on 
ducks is 6 
and may 
include no 
more than 4 
mallards (no 
more than 2 
of which 
may be 
females), 2 
canvasback, 
1 mottled 
duck, 1 black 
duck, 3 wood 
ducks, 3 
scaup, 2 
redheads, 
and 1 pintail. 

Daily bag limit 
on coots is 15. 
Daily bag limit 
on mergansers 
is 5, only 2 of 
which may be 
hooded 
mergansers. 
Merganser 
limits are in 
addition to the 
daily bag limit 
for ducks. 

Three times 
the daily bag 
limit. 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 
Light Geese 
(Snow, Blue, and 
Ross’) and 
White-Fronted 
Geese 

North Zone: 
Nov. 4-Dec.3 
Dec. 16-Feb. 11 

South Zone: 
Nov. 4-Dec. 3 

Dec. 16-Feb. 11 

Daily bag limit 
on Light 
Geese (snow, 
blue, and 
ross’) is 20. 
Daily bag limit 
on White-
Fronted Geese 
is 2. 

No 
possession 
limit on 
Light Geese 
(snow, blue, 
and ross’) 
Possession 
limit on 
White-
Fronted 
Geese is 6.  

Canada Geese North Zone: 
Nov. 4-Dec.3 
Dec. 16-Jan. 31 

South Zone: 
Nov. 4-Dec. 3 

Dec. 16-Jan. 31 

1 3 

 
B. Conservation Order for Light Geese Seasons and Bag 

Limits 
 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 
Light Geese 
(Snow, Blue, 
and Ross’) 

North Zone: 
Dec. 4-15 
Feb. 12-Mar. 11 

South Zone: 
Dec. 4-15 
Feb. 12-Mar. 11 

No daily bag 
limit. 

No 
possession 
limit. 

 
C. … 

* * * 
D. Dove Hunting Regulations 

1. Shooting hours one-half hour before sunrise to 
sunset except on opening day of the first split on wildlife 
management areas and on fields leased through the LDWF 
experimental dove field leasing program, where hunting will 
be from 12 p.m. to sunset, except for Elbow Slough Wildlife 
Management Area which will be open one-half hour before 
sunrise to sunset. 

D.2. - G. … 
H. Statewide Youth Waterfowl Season Regulations. Only 

youths 17 years of age or younger may hunt. Youth must 
possess a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for youth younger than 16 years of age. Adults 
accompanying youth may not possess a firearm. Youths may 
possess only one firearm while hunting. The supervising 
adult shall maintain visual and voice contact with the youth 
at all times.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
42:1130 (July 2016), amended LR 43: 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this notice of 
intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the fiscal and economic impact statement, the filing 
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of the notice of intent and final Rule and the preparation of 
reports and correspondence to other agencies of government. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby issues 
its Family Impact Statement in connection with the 
preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent will have 
no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 49:972(B). 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S.49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments relative 

to the proposed Rule until 4:30 p.m., Sunday, March 5, 2017 
to Steve Smith, Wildlife Division, Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries, P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-
9000, or via email to ssmith@wlf.la.gov. 

 
Bart R. Yakupzack 
Chairman 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  2017-2018 Hunting  

Regulations and Seasons 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not create costs or savings 
for state or local governmental units. 

The proposed rule changes do the following: alter 
possession limits for certain game animals; allows expanded 
harvests of deer and alters certain hunting seasons by region; 
changes restrictions on certain game and nuisance animals; 
alters reporting periods; modifies type and size of allowable 
shot in certain instances; adjusts weapon carrying restrictions 
and allowances while hunting; changes hunting color 
allowances; establishes closure and opening of certain parishes 
to hunting due to high water; makes certain modifications to 
Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs); modifies small game 
categories; alters restrictions on boat motors; modifies access 
hours to certain areas; modifies vehicle access to certain areas; 
adjusts certain youth hunting restrictions; and makes technical 
changes.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed Rule will not impact revenue collections for 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes may create marginal costs or 
benefits for hunters and persons utilizing Wildlife Management 
Areas. A majority of the changes pertain to game limits, types 
of shot used for the hunting of certain species, use of firearms 
during specific hunting seasons, and use of certain equipment 
on Wildlife Management Areas. While the aforementioned 
groups may incur additional costs or benefits as a result of the 
proposed rules, the impacts will likely be minimal.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect competition or 
employment.  

 
Bryan McClinton Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1701#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Administrative Code Update 
CUMULATIVE:  January-December 2016 

 
   Location: 

LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 42 
Page# 

4 V.Chapter 15 (PPM) Amended July 981 
 V.Chapter 53 (PPM) Adopted Jan. 2 
 V.Chapter 55 (PPM) Adopted Jan. 3 
 V.Chapter 59 (PPM) Adopted Mar. 370 
     
7 V.919 Amended Feb. 219 
 V.Chapter 29 Adopted Mar. 393 
 V.Chapter 29 Repromulgated April 540 
 XIII.121,123,519,749,763 Amended Feb. 211 
 XV.127 Amended May 730 
 XV.Chapter 3 Amended Oct. 1644 
 XXI.1301,1312 Adopted Mar. 391 
 XXI.1311,1321 Amended Mar. 391 
 XXI.Chapter 17 Amended Nov. 1864 
 XXI.Chapter 13 Amended Dec. 2169 
 XXIII.103,307,1101,1103 Amended May 730 
 XXIII.309 Adopted May 730 
 XXIII.727 Repealed May 730 
 XXV.Chapter 1 Amended Feb. 212 
 XXVII.Chapter 1 Amended Sept. 1498 
 XXVII.114 Adopted Sept. 1498 
 XXVII.157,161 Repealed Sept. 1498 
 XXIX.117 Amended Oct. 1644 
 XXXV.125 Amended Feb. 218 
 XXXV.125,127 Amended Oct. 1649 
 XXXIX.Chapter 5 Adopted Sept. 1503 
 XXXIX.Chapter 13 Amended Nov. 1868 
 XXXIX.1307,1501,1503 Amended May 733 
     
10 XIII.Chapter 13 Amended July 1087 
 XIII.1309 Repealed July 1087 
     
13 I.Chapter 7 Amended June 867 
 I.Chapter 9 Amended Feb. 223 
 I.Chapter 11 Amended June 865 
 I.1133 Adopted June 865 
 I.2715 Amended Feb. 224 
 I.2719 Adopted Feb. 224 
 I.2904,2905 Amended Jan. 41 
 I.2915 Repealed Jan. 41 
 I.3307 Amended Jan. 35 
 I.3309 Adopted Jan. 35 
 I.3903,3923 Amended Feb. 222 
 I.3999 Adopted Feb. 222 
     
17 I.101,107 Amended Oct. 1671 
 I.111 Adopted Oct. 1671 
     
19 V.100,500,700,900,1100 Adopted June 905 
 V.701,703 Adopted Jan. 69 
     
22 I.201 Amended Dec. 2191 
 I.337 Amended Mar. 424 
 III.4703 Amended Feb. 274 
 III.4761 Adopted Feb. 274 
 V.Chapter 2 Amended July 1087 
 XI.303,307 Amended Aug. 1283 
 XIII.103,303,503 Amended April 569 
 XIII.303,503 Amended May 743 
     
25 V.505 Amended Jan. 35 
     
28 I.503 Amended April 563 
 IV.301,701,703,2107 Amended Nov. 1880 
 IV.703 Amended Oct. 1657 
 IV.705,803,805 Amended Jan. 47 
 IV.2005,2007 Amended Jan. 46 
 IV.2009 Repealed Jan. 46 
 V.221,233 Amended Jan. 46 
 VI.Chapters 1,3 Amended July 1070 
 VI.305,315 Amended Oct. 1658 
 XXXIII.Chapters 1-21 Repealed April 558 
 XLIII.133,905 Amended Feb. 234 
 XLIII.540,543 Amended Dec. 2177 
 LXIII.Chapters 1-19 Repealed July 1067 
 LXXIX.2109,2323 Amended July 1063 
 LXXXIII.301,405,613 Amended Dec. 2172 
 LXXXIII.301,611 Amended Dec. 2171 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 42 
Page# 

28 LXXXIII.405,409,705,707 Amended April 548 
 LXXXIII.613 Amended July 1017 
 LXXXIII.1107 Adopted April 548 
 CI.305,307,511,711,713,717,719,1509 Amended Mar. 399 
 CXI.321 Adopted May 734 
 CXI.1113,1115,1701,1705,1707,1125-1149 Amended Feb. 224 
 CXI.,1335-1343,1349-1357,1703 Repealed Feb. 224 
 CXI.1709-1729,1805-1810,1815,1817,1907 Repealed Feb. 224 
 CXI.1909,1915-1925,2305,2313-2323 Repealed Feb. 224 
 CXI.2401-2415 Repealed Feb. 224 
 CXIII.501,903,907,1301,1303 Amended Feb. 230 
 CXV.901 Amended April 557 
 CXV.1103,2307,2318,2907,3309,3701 Amended Nov. 1877 
 CXV.1703 Amended April 556 
 CXV.1707 Repealed April 556 
 CXV.Chapter 23 Amended Feb. 232 
 CXV.2318 Amended Dec. 2176 
 CXV.2318,2353 Amended July 1062 
 CXIX.Chapters 1-17 Repealed July 1065 
 CXXXI.243 Amended Feb. 232 
 CXXXI.417 Amended Nov. 1879 
 CXXXIX.103,2701 Amended July 1017 
 CXXXIX.519 Amended Nov. 1868 
 CXXXIX.2301 Amended July 1019 
 CXXXIX.2301,2713,2801 Amended April 549 
 CLXV.103,515 Amended Nov. 1870 
 CLXV.309,311,313,321,509,511 Amended Dec. 2173 
 CXLV.505 Amended Nov. 1869 
 CXLV.505,1103,1105 Amended April 551 
 CXLV.1111 Amended July 1019 
 CLIII.1305 Amended April 553 
 CLV.103,303 Amended April 553 
 CLXI.709,905,1303,1307,1713,1719,1721 Amended April 554 
 CLXI.1901,2103 Amended April 554 
 CLXI.1921 Amended Dec. 2173 
 CLXV.103,501,505,513,515,517,521,903 Amended Jan. 42 
 CLXV.503,507,509,511,519 Adopted Jan. 42 
 CLXVII.101,103,313,503,509,511,513,515 Amended Nov. 1870 
 CLXVII.512 Adopted Nov. 1870 
 CLXVII.517,521,703,705,707,709,713 Amended Nov. 1870 
 CLXIX.Chapters 1-23 Adopted July 1019 
 CLXXI.Chapters 1-25 Adopted July 1043 
     
32 I.317 Amended Jan. 51 
     
33 I.Chapter 8 Amended Feb. 235 
 I.Chapter 39 Amended Nov. 1884 
 III.311 Amended Nov. 1883 
 III.502,509 Amended April 563 
 III.504 Amended Mar. 401 
 III.506,507,2160,3003,5116,5122,5311 Amended July 1084 
 III.509 Amended Mar. 402 
 III.1105,1107 Amended Oct. 1659 
 III.1507 Amended Oct. 1660 
 III.2153 Amended Oct. 1660 
 III.2307 Amended Oct. 1658 
 III.5901 Amended July 1084 
 V.105 Amended Dec. 2181 
 V.105,109 Amended Dec. 2178 
 V.109,1107,1301,1307,1516 Amended April 565 
 V.4909 Repealed Dec. 2178 
 V.4999 Amended Dec. 2179 
 V.10303 Amended Feb. 280 
 VII.10505-10513,10516,10517,10519 Amended Feb. 244 
 VII.10514,10515,10518,10524,10531 Adopted Feb. 244 
 VII.10521,10523,10525-10529,10534 Amended Feb. 244 
 VII.10532,10533,11101 Adopted Feb. 244 
 VII.10535-10543,11103 Amended Feb. 244 
 VII.10536 Repealed Feb. 244 
 IX.107,1105,1113,1117,1123 Amended May 736 
 IX.2701 Amended May 735 
     
34 I.5521,5523,5525 Adopted June 869 
 V.Chapter 5 Amended Jan. 51 
     
37 XIII.Chapter 1 Amended Nov. 1932 
 XIII.Chapter 3 Amended July 1095 
 XIII.317,319,321,323 Adopted July 1095 
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37 XIII.Chapter 9 Amended Nov. 1938 
 XIII.911 Adopted Nov. 1938 
 XIII.Chapter 27 Repealed Jan. 65 
 XIII.Chapter 29 Repealed Jan. 66 
 XIII.Chapter 101 Amended Nov. 1940 
     
40 I.2519,2701,2705,2707,5101,5113,5315 Amended Feb. 283 
 I.5157 Amended Oct. 1696 
 I.5399 Amended Feb. 283 
 I.6605 Amended May 763 
 XXI.101 Adopted Mar. 445 
     
42 III.120 Amended April 575 
 XI.2405 Amended April 574 
     
43 XVII.Chapter 3 Amended Mar. 418 
 XVII.Chapter 33 Amended Mar. 413 
 XIX.401 Adopted Oct. 1669 
 XIX.405,423 Amended Oct. 1669 
 XIX.Chapter 7 Amended Nov. 1957 
     
46 VIII.Chapter 5 Amended Sept. 1515 
 VIII.509,511,513,515,517 Adopted Sept. 1515 
 VIII.Chapter 8 Adopted Sept. 1513 
 VIII.Chapter 10 Adopted Sept. 1515 
 XXI.1303 Amended June 868 
 XXIX.1515,1517 Adopted Jan. 52 
 XXXIII.304,313 Amended Jan. 59 
 XXXIII.301,801 Amended June 872 
 XXXIII.710,712 Amended Jan. 58 
 XXXIII.714 Repealed Jan. 58 
 XXXIII.Chapter 8 Adopted Jan. 56 
 XXXIII.903 Amended Jan. 56 
 XXXIII.Chapter 11 Repealed Jan. 56 
 XXXIII.1502-1511 Adopted Jan. 53 
 XXXIII.1503-1513 Repealed Jan. 53 
 XXXIII.1709,1711 Amended Oct. 1661 
 XXXVII.707,901,903,905,907,909,1107 Amended Mar. 404 
 XXXVII.709 Repealed Mar. 404 
 XXXVII.2001 Amended Mar. 404 
 XLI.742 Adopted May 744 
 XLV.1307 Amended Sept. 1519 
 XLV.1307 Amended Dec. 2197 
 XLV.Chapters 23,53 Amended Aug. 1284 
 XLV.2321,2325,2327,2329,2335,2365 Repealed Aug. 1284 
 XLV.2367,2369,2371,2373 Repealed Aug. 1284 
 XLV.3519 Amended May 752 
 XLV.5303,5313,5361,5375 Adopted Aug. 1284 
 XLV.6905 Amended Dec. 2197 
 XLV.8315 Adopted April 570 
 XLV.Chapter 97 Amended April 570 
 XLVII.1703 Amended Feb. 274 
 XLVII.3324 Adopted May 753 
 XLVII.Chapter 35 Amended June 875 
 XLVII.3534,3536,3542,4509 Repealed June 875 
 XLVII.3547 Adopted June 875 
 XLVII.3703 Amended June 873 
 XLVII.3709 Adopted June 873 
 XLVII.4507 Amended Mar. 405 
 XLVII.4513 Amended April 571 
 LIII.2519 Amended Sept. 1519 
 LIII.2525,2745 Amended July 1090 
 LIII.2535 Amended June 891 
 LIV.151,181,187,193,195,501 Amended Aug. 1299 
 LV.101,301,303,304,305,306,307,310,312 Amended April 575 
 LV.313,1005 Amended April 575 
 LVII.518,519 Amended Aug. 1301 
 LXI.1315 Amended Dec. 2196 
 LXI.1509,2701 Amended Mar. 443 
 LXIII.701,705,1503,2103 Repromulgated July 1089 
 LXIII.Chapter 8 Amended Oct. 1662 
 LXIII.808 Repealed Oct. 1662 
 LXIII.901 Adopted Oct. 1662 
 LXIII.902,903,904 Repromulgated Oct. 1662 
 LXVI.705,713,901,1105,1107,1109,1113 Amended Dec. 2189 
 LXVI.1123,1201,1211,1213,1215,1217 Amended Dec. 2189 
 LXVII.305 Amended Nov. 1886 
 LXVII.2901 Amended Jan. 53 
 LXVII.10308,10309,10313 Amended June 870 
 LXVII.10317 Repealed June 870 
 LXVII.10319 Adopted June 870 
 LXVII.30701,30901,31101 Amended June 871 
 LXVII.31103 Adopted June 871 
 LXXV.103,107,109,119,121,123,130,131 Amended Oct. 1665 
 LXXV.501,505 Amended Oct. 1665 
 XCI.103,105,301,303,305,307,309,311,313 Amended Dec. 2182 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 42 
Page# 

48 XCI.315,801 Amended Dec. 2182 
 XCI.Chapters 13-15 Adopted Dec. 2182 
 I.1905 Amended Oct. 1669 
 I.3901 Adopted Jan. 64 
 I.Chapter 40 Amended Nov. 1886 
 I.4001 Amended Nov. 1888 
 I.6037 Amended July 1090 
 I.Chapter 90 Amended Feb. 219 
 I.Chapter 92 Amended June 893 
 I.9287,9293 Repealed June 893 
 I.Chapters 97-99 Adopted Nov. 1891 
 I.12501,12503 Amended Jan. 61 
 I.12524 Repealed Jan. 61 
 I.12537 Adopted Aug. 1298 
 I.19121 Adopted June 904 
 I.Chapter 197 Adopted Nov. 1931 
 IX.Chapter 9 Amended Sept. 1525 
     
50 I.105 Amended June 892 
 I.3103 Amended Sept. 1521 
 I.3103,3105,3301,3507,3509 Amended May 754 
 I.3511 Amended Feb. 276 
 I.Chapters 101-103 Adopted May 756 
 II.20001 Amended Sept. 1522 
 II.20029 Adopted Jan. 63 
 III.101 Adopted June 901 
 III.301 Adopted June 901 
 III.505 Amended July 1091 
 III.803 Amended Sept. 1531 
 III.2313 Adopted Nov. 1888 
 III.2317 Adopted May 755 
 III.2317 Amended Nov. 1889 
 V.965 Amended Mar. 406 
 V.967 Amended Feb. 274 
 V.1701 Adopted Mar. 406 
 V.1703 Adopted April 573 
 V.2711 Repealed Aug. 1298 
 V.6701 Adopted Mar. 407 
 V.6703 Adopted April 573 
 VII.32915 Adopted Feb. 275 
 IX.905 Amended Sept. 1524 
 XI.10301 Amended Sept. 1520 
 XI.16301 Amended Sept. 1524 
 XV.4101 Amended Sept. 1521 
 XV.8717,8719 Amended April 572 
 XV.9501 Amended Aug. 1298 
 XV.Chapter 129 Amended June 902 
 XV.12902,12910,12912 Repealed June 902 
 XV.12903 Amended Nov. 1931 
 XXI.701 Amended June 898 
 XXI.703 Adopted June 898 
 XXI.6101 Amended June 900 
 XXI.9501 Amended June 897 
 XXI.12101 Amended June 896 
 XXI.13709 Amended Sept. 1520 
 XXI.14301 Amended June 898 
 XXI.16107,16701,16901 Amended Jan. 62 
 XXI.16343 Adopted Jan. 62 
 XXI.16901,16903 Amended June 900 
 XXII.Chapters 61-69 Repealed May 753 
 XXVII.331 Adopted Nov. 1890 
 XXVII.353 Amended Feb. 277 
 XXVII.Chapter 5 Amended July 1091 
 XXXIII.Chapters 61-67 Amended Jan. 59 
     
51 XII.311,355,357,363,367,903,1105,1113 Amended Mar. 408 
 XII.344 Amended July 1094 
 XII.346 Adopted July 1094 
 XII.358,361,1102 Adopted Mar. 408 
 XII.1117,1119,1125,1133,1135,1139,1503 Amended Mar. 408 
 XII.1903,1907 Amended Mar. 408 
     
52 I.1201,1203,1205,1207,1209,1309 Amended Oct. 1654 
     
55 III.Chapter 7-8 Amended Mar. 428 
 V.1701 Amended Feb. 279 
 V.1703 Repealed Feb. 279 
 VII.317 Amended Jan. 66 
 IX.107 Amended Oct. 1671 
 IX.107,133,143,183 Amended Mar. 427 
 IX.155 Repealed Mar. 427 
     
56 V.1103 Amended Mar. 403 
     
58 I.2513 Repealed Jan. 69 
 IX.Chapter 3 Adopted Nov. 1961 
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   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 42 
Page# 

58 XI.701 Adopted Oct. 1691 
 XVII.301 Adopted Nov. 1960 
 XVIII.105 Adopted Jan. 70 
 XIX.103 Amended Nov. 1959 
 XIX.107 Adopted Nov. 1959 
     
61 I.1607 Amended Jan. 39 
 I.1615-1629 Repealed Jan. 39 
 I.1617,1619 Adopted Oct. 1656 
 I.1633-1637 Amended Jan. 37 
 I.1641 Adopted Jan. 37 
 I.1667 Amended Jan. 36 
 I.1693 Amended Jan. 40 
 I.1695 Repromulgated Jan. 40 
 I.1701,1703 Adopted Jan. 40 
 I.4919 Adopted Feb. 281 
 I.5302 Amended Feb. 282 
 III.1229,1938,1940,1980 Amended Oct. 1650 
 III.1701 Adopted Feb. 280 
 V.101,303,304,703,907,1103,1307,1503 Amended May 744 
 V.2501,2503,2713,2717,3101,3103 Amended May 744 
     
67 I.Chapter 3 Amended June 860 
 I.311 Adopted June 860 
 III.1942 Repealed Feb. 222 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 42 
Page# 

67 III.5573 Amended Oct. 1650 
 III.5577 Adopted June 864 
 III.Chapter 73 Repealed April 542 
 V.1103 Amended June 862 
 V.6703,6708,7105,7111,7305,7311,7313 Amended Feb. 219 
 V.7313,7315 Amended Sept. 1508 
 V.Chapter 75 Amended Mar. 395 
     
70 II.305 Adopted Dec. 2195 
 IX.Chapters 1-3 Amended May 757 
     
73 I.1901 Amended Aug. 1302 
     
76 I.339 Adopted Mar. 444 
 V.126 Amended Oct. 1692 
 V.701 Amended June 909 
 VII.110 Amended Oct. 1694 
 VII.335 Amended June 908 
 VII.346 Adopted Nov. 1962 
 VII.367 Amended Jan. 70 
 VII.367 Amended Dec. 2196 
 VII.385 Adopted Oct. 1695 
 VII.539 Adopted Oct. 1694 
 XV.101 Amended Oct. 1692 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Severance Tax Values2017 

In accordance with LAC 7:XXXIX.105, the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, 
hereby publishes the current average stumpage market value 
of trees, timber and pulpwood for 2017.  

 

Product Value Per Ton Tax Rate 
Tax Per 

Ton (2017) 
Pine Sawtimber $32.64 2.25% $0.73 
Hardwood Sawtimber $35.93 2.25% $0.80 
Pine Chip-n-Saw $16.74 2.25% $0.38 
Pine Pulpwood $10.20 5.00% $0.51 
Hardwood Pulpwood $10.00 5.00% $0.50 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1701#036 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Office of Family Support 

Economic Stability Section 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload Reduction 

The Department of Children and Family Services hereby 
gives notice that, in accordance with federal regulations at 
45 CFR 261.40, the Temporary Assistance to Needy 
Families (TANF) caseload reduction report for Louisiana is 
now available to the public for review and comment. 

In order to receive a caseload reduction credit for 
minimum participation rates, the agency must submit a 
report based on data from the Family Independence 
Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP) and the Strategies 
to Empower People Program (STEP) containing the 
following information: 

1. a listing of, and implementation dates for, all state 
and federal eligibility changes, as defined at §261.42, made 
by the state after FY 2005; 

2. a numerical estimate of the positive or negative 
impact on the applicable caseload of each eligibility change 
(based, as appropriate, on application denials, case closures, 
or other analyses); 

3. an overall estimate of the total net positive or 
negative impact on the applicable caseload as a result of all 
such eligibility changes; 

4. an estimate of the state's caseload reduction credit; 
5. a description of the methodology and the 

supporting data that it used to calculate its caseload 
reduction estimates; 

6. a certification that it has provided the public an 
appropriate opportunity to comment on the estimates and 
methodology, considered their comments, and incorporated 
all net reductions resulting from Federal and State eligibility 
changes; and 

7. a summary of all public comments. 
Copies of the TANF caseload reduction report may be 

obtained by writing Brandy Bonney, Department of Children 
and Family Services, P.O. Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9065, by telephone at (225) 342-4096, or via e-mail 
at brandy.bonney.dcfs@la.gov. 

Written comments regarding the report should also be 
directed to Ms. Bonney. These must be received by close of 
business on February 20, 2017. 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

1701#014 
 

POTPOURRI 

Office of the Governor 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill: Louisiana Trustee 
Implementation Group Final Restoration Plan #1: 

Restoration of Wetlands, Coastal, and Nearshore Habitats; 
Habitat Projects on Federally Managed Lands; and Birds 

ACTION: 
Notice of Availability of Final Restoration Plan 

SUMMARY: 
In accordance with the Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA) 

and the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), notice 
is hereby given that the state and federal Deepwater Horizon 
(DWH) oil spill natural resource trustee agencies for the 
Louisiana Trustee Implementation Group (Louisiana TIG) 
have approved the “Louisiana Trustee Implementation 
Group Final Restoration Plan #1: Restoration of Wetlands, 
Coastal, and Nearshore Habitats; Habitat Projects on 
Federally Managed Lands; and Birds” (final restoration plan 
1). The Louisiana TIG prepared this final restoration plan 1 
in accordance with the DWH programmatic damage 
assessment and restoration plan/programmatic 
environmental impact statement (PDARP/PEIS), the DWH 
record of decision (ROD), and OPA. This final restoration 
plan 1 describes the DWH natural resource damage 
assessment (NRDA) restoration planning process, identifies 
a reasonable range of restoration alternatives to address a 
portion of the injuries to resources and habitats caused by 
the DWH oil spill, and proposes from those alternatives a 
suite of preferred restoration alternatives on which the 
Louisiana TIG intends to conduct engineering and design (E 
and D). For the projects identified as preferred restoration 
alternatives in this final restoration plan 1, the Louisiana TIG 
may, after completion of the E and D process discussed in 
this plan, select some or all of those projects for
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implementation using DWH NRDA funds. Those selected 
projects would then be fully evaluated under NEPA and OPA 
in a future draft restoration plan which would be provided to 
the public for review and comment in accordance with the 
appropriate Louisiana and federal laws. The purpose of this 
notice is to inform the public of the availability of the final 
restoration plan 1. 

ADDRESSES: 
Obtaining the Document: You will be able to download 

the final restoration plan 1, which is expected to be released 
January 20, 2017, at http://la-dwh.com/. Alternatively, you 
may request a CD of the final restoration plan 1 (see FOR 
FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT). You will also be 
able to review copies of the document at the public 
repositories listed at http://la-dwh.com/. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  
Liz Williams at LATIG@la.gov. 

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:  
Background 

On or about April 20, 2010, the mobile offshore 
drilling unit Deepwater Horizon, which was being used to 
drill a well for BP Exploration and Production, Inc. (BP), in 
the Macondo prospect (Mississippi Canyon 252-MC252), 
experienced a significant explosion, fire, and subsequent 
sinking in the Gulf of Mexico, resulting in an unprecedented 
volume of oil and other discharges from the rig and from the 
wellhead on the seabed. The DWH oil spill is the largest oil 
spill in U.S. history, discharging millions of barrels of oil 
over a period of 87 days. In addition, well over 1 million 
gallons of dispersants were applied to the waters of the spill 
area in an attempt to disperse the spilled oil. An 
undetermined amount of natural gas was also released into 
the environment as a result of the spill. 

The DWH state and federal natural resource trustees 
(trustees) conducted the natural resource damage assessment 
(NRDA) for the DWH oil spill under the Oil Pollution Act 
1990 (OPA; 33 U.S.C. §2701 et seq.). Pursuant to OPA, 
federal and state agencies act as trustees on behalf of the 
public to assess natural resource injuries and losses and to 
determine the actions required to compensate the public for 
those injuries and losses. OPA further instructs the 
designated trustees to develop and implement a plan for the 
restoration, rehabilitation, replacement, or acquisition of the 
equivalent of the injured natural resources under their 
trusteeship, including the loss of use and services from those 
resources from the time of injury until the time of restoration 
to baseline (the resource quality and conditions that would 
exist if the spill had not occurred) is complete. 

The DWH trustees are: 
 U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI), as 

represented by the National Park Service (NPS), U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service (USFWS), and Bureau of Land 
Management (BLM); 

 National Oceanic and Atmospheric 
Administration (NOAA), on behalf of the U.S. Department 
of Commerce; 

 U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA); 
 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); 
 State of Louisiana Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority (CPRA), Oil Spill Coordinator’s 
Office (LOSCO), Department of Environmental Quality 
(LDEQ), Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF), and 
Department of Natural Resources (LDNR); 

 State of Mississippi Department of 
Environmental Quality; 

 State of Alabama Department of Conservation 
and Natural Resources and Geological Survey of Alabama; 

 State of Florida Department of Environmental 
Protection and Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission; 
and 

 State of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 
General Land Office, and Commission on Environmental 
Quality. 

Upon completion of the NRDA, the trustees reached 
and finalized a settlement of their natural resource damage 
claims with BP in a consent decree approved by the United 
States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana. 
Pursuant to that consent decree, restoration projects in 
Louisiana are now chosen and managed by the Louisiana 
Trustee Implementation Group (TIG). The Louisiana TIG is 
composed of the following trustees: 

 DOI, as represented by the NPS, USFWS, and 
BLM;  

 NOAA, on behalf of the U.S. Department of 
Commerce;  

 USDA;  
 EPA;  
 CPRA;  
 LDNR;  
 LDEQ;  
 LOSCO; and 
 LDWF. 

A Notice of Availability of the Draft Restoration Plan 
#1: Restoration of Wetlands, Coastal, and Nearshore 
Habitats; Habitat Projects on Federally Managed Lands; and 
Birds was published in the Louisiana and Federal Registers 
on October 20 and November 1, 2016, respectively. The 
Louisiana TIG provided the public with a period to review 
and comment on the draft restoration plan 1 from October 
20-December 9, 2016, and held one public meeting on 
November 30, 2016, in Baton Rouge, LA. The Louisiana 
TIG considered the public comments received, which 
informed the TIG’s analyses and selection of the restoration 
alternatives in the final restoration plan 1. A summary of the 
public comments received, and the Louisiana TIG’s 
responses to those comments, are addressed in Chapter 5 of 
the final restoration plan 1.  

Overview of the Final Restoration Plan 
The final restoration plan 1 is being released in 

accordance with the Oil Pollution Act (OPA), the natural 
resources damage assessment (NRDA) regulations found in
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the Code of Federal Regulations at 15 C.F.R. 990, the 
National Environmental Policy Act (42 U.S.C. §4321 et 
seq.), the consent decree, and final PDARP/PEIS. 

The total estimated cost for the proposed engineering 
and design activities for the six restoration projects selected 
is $22,300,000. Details on the engineering and design 
activities for the restoration projects are provided in the final 
restoration plan 1.  

Administrative Record 
When they are completed, the documents comprising 

the administrative record will be available electronically at 
the following locations:  
  http://www.doi.gov/deepwaterhorizon; or  
  http://la-dwh.com/AdminRecord.aspx. 

Authority 
The authorities for this action are the Oil Pollution 

Act of 1990 (33 U.S.C. §2701 et seq.), the National 
Environmental Policy Act (42 U.S.C. §4321 et seq.), the 
implementing Natural Resource Damage Assessment 
regulations found at 15 C.F.R. 990, the Louisiana Oil Spill 
Prevention and Response Act (La. R.S. 30:2451 et seq.), and 
the implementing natural resource damage assessment 
regulations found at Louisiana Administrative Code 
43:XXXI.101 et seq. 

 
Michael Ellis 
Executive Director 

1701#037 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Facility Planning and Control 

Contract Limit Adjustment 

Pursuant to authority granted by Act 759 of the Regular 
Session of 2014, the Office of Facility Planning and Control 
within the Division of Administration has determined that, 
effective upon the date of this publication, except as 
provided in paragraphs (2) and (3) of R.S. 38:2212(C), the 
term contract limit as used in chapter 10 of title 38 (Public 
Bid Law) shall be equal to the sum of $152,550 per project, 
including labor, materials, and equipment as per the rates in 
the latest edition of the Associated Equipment Dealers 
Rental Rate Book and administrative overhead not to exceed 
fifteen percent. This limit was adjusted after applying the 
annual percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index in 
the preceding year. 

It is the responsibility of the approving authority to 
comply with all applicable requirements of R.S. 38:2212 in 
regards to the contract limit as adjusted herein. 

 
Mark A. Moses 
Director 

1701#002 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the oilfield 
sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared orphaned oilfield sites. 

 

Operator Field District Well Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number 
The Ohio Oil Co Haynesville S J P & Lonnie Lowe 

Unit P 
001-A 27795 

American 
Republics Corp 

Bancroft L J M Whitman & 
John R Black 

001 22962 

Davis Oil 
Company 

Bully Camp L Cyclamina Sud; F 
Ducos 

001 135842 

United Gas Pub 
Serv Co 

Wildcat-No La 
Monroe Dist 

M Ethridge 001 12644 

R O Roy Wildcat-No La 
Shreveport Dist 

S Trixie Wimberly 001 32992 

Louisiana Oil & 
Rerefining Co. 

Wildcat-No La 
Shreveport Dist 

S Bodcaw Fee B-8 5773 

DGH Petroleum, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S South Light 014 232639 

C.B. Mc Gee Bethany 
Longstreet 

S Worley 001 185356 

Lewis Oil 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Vespy 004 9104 

C.B. Mc Gee Bethany 
Longstreet 

S Worley 001 185356 

Lewis Oil 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Vespy 004 9104 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Basile, East L East Basile SWD 002-D 81194 
(30) 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Winston Atteberry 
SWD 

001 81888 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Basile, East L S-1 Ra Sub;Joseph 
P Fontenot 

003-ALT 88720 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L U W Rb Sua; 
Atteberry 

003 127384 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Section 28 L St Martin Land 
Co C 

004 144185 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Burton Cormier 
SWD 

001 154404 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Atteberry 005 167441 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Frank J Bollich Jr  
et al 

004 173399 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Burton Cormier 003 178564 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Richie, East L Frank Zaunbrecher 001 179485 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Frank J Bollich Jr  
et al 

003 186487 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Frank J Bollich Jr 
et al SWD 

001 188147 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Richie, East L Vua;Lawrence 
Dischler 

001 196693 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Frank J Bollich Jr  
et al 

002 201704 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Basile, East L S-1 Ra Sub;Joseph 
P Fontenot 

001 202368 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Section 28 L E C Stuart SWD 002 202930 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Frank J Bollich Jr  
et al 

007 212219 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Bayou Mallet, 
South 

L Frank J Bollich Jr  
Fly Partnsp 

001 218970 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Fenton, West L U HBV Ra 
Sua;Cagle 

1 224479 

BKV Ventures, 
LLC 

Basile, East L Joseph Fontenot 
Estate 

001 227995 

 

Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

1701#034
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 43, Number 1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2016-December 2016, 214QU 
 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Certification, commercial applicators, 9ER 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Duties, licensee and registered employee with respect to 
registration, 9ER 

Obligations, licensee\permittee, 9ER 
Registration, employees, 9ER 

Forestry, Office of 
Severance tax values, 2017, 217P 

 
 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
Cultural Development, Office of 
Archeology, Division of 
Fees, 46R 

 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 
Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices 
Test security, 94N 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools, 96N 
Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations, 99N 

Regents, Board of 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Scholarship/grant programs 
TOPS core curriculum equivalents 

Human anatomy and physiology, 10ER, 101N 
Pre-calculus, 10ER, 101N 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Secretary, Office of the 
Legal Division 

Fee increase, authorized by act 451 of the 2016 
regular legislative session 104N 

 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
JBE 16-74 Expenditure Reduction, 1EO 
JBE 16-75 Rules and Policies on Leave for 

Unclassified Services—Amended December 19, 
2016, 2EO 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 
Facility Planning and Control 

Contract limit adjustment, 219P 
State Lands, Office of 

Rights-of-way, granting 
Corporations, 47R 
Individuals, 47R 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Deepwater horizon oil spill 

Birds, 217P 
Final restoration plan #1, Louisiana trustee 
implementation group, 217P 

Habitat projects, federally managed lands, 217P 
Wetlands, coastal and nearshore habitats, restoration 
of, 217P 

Natural resource damage restoration banking, 128N 
Pardons, Board of 

Hearings, board, 46R 
Victims, notification, requirements, 46R 

Real Estate Commission 
Broker responsibilities, 136N 

 
 
 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Individual and family support program, 172N 
Dentistry, Board of 

Dentists 
Advertising, 48R 
Complaints, 48R 
Investigations, 48R 
Soliciting, 48R 

2017 
Pages    Issue 
1-222 ................................................... January 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 
Drug and Device Distributors, Board of 

Distributors, wholesale, 48R 
General Provisions, 48R 
Fees, 48R 
Logistics providers, third-party, 48R 
Recordkeeping, 48R 
Requirements, 48R 
Qualifications, 48R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Disproportionate share hospital payments  

Low-income academic hospitals, 13ER 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Adult day health care waiver 
Electronic visit verification, 74R 

Hospital licensing standards, 
Newborn services, 75R 
Obstetrical services, 75R 

Inpatient hospital services 
Children’s specialty hospitals 
Supplemental payments, New Orleans area hospitals, 
15ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Public hospitals, supplemental payments, 16ER 
Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 
hospitals, 16ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 
17ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities 
Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 18ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities 
Public facilities, reimbursement rate increase, 21ER 
Supplemental payments, 160N 

Managed care for physical and behavioral health 
Louisiana health insurance premium payment 
program, 161N 

Medicaid eligibility 
Louisiana health insurance premium payment 
program, 162N 

Nursing facilities 
Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 22ER 
Reimbursement methodology 

Pass through rate increase, 82R 
Outpatient hospital services 

Children’s specialty hospitals 
Supplemental payments for New Orleans area 
hospitals, 23ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 
hospitals, 24ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 
25ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program, 164N 
Methods of payment, 26ER 
State supplemental rebate agreement program, 26ER 

Pediatric day health care facilities 
Licensing standards, 82R 

Pediatric day health care program, 82R 

Provider fees 
Healthcare services, 73R 
Nursing facilities, 73R 

Resident, transitional 
Forensic supervised, 50R 
Licensing standards, aftercare facilities, 50R 

Pharmacy, Board of 
CDS license, reinstatement, 156N 
Marijuana pharmacy, 138N 
Naloxone, distribution of, standing orders, 158N 
Pharmacy 

Nonresident, pharmacist-in-charge, 50R 
Technicians, 153N 

Public Health, Office of 
Controlled dangerous substances, added, 27ER 
Ground water, 83R 
Nutrition program, women, infants and children (WIC), 

special supplemental, 27ER 
Total coliform, revised, 83R 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Orphaned oilfield sites, 219P 
 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Broker permits, general requirements, 39ER, 179N 
Uniform Construction Code Council 

Uniform construction code, 180N 
 
 
 

TREASURY 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration, distributions, 41ER 
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System, Board 

of Trustees of the 
Provisions, general, 88R 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Alligator egg collections, 90R 
Fishing 

Commercial, 90R 
Freshwater sport, 90R 

Hunting regulations and seasons, 2017-18, 205N 
King mackerel 

Season 
Commercial harvest, 2017-18, 42ER 

Oysters 
Harvest  

Closure, east of the Mississippi River, 43ER 
Recreational reef sites, establishment and 
restrictions, 91R 
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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 
Poverty point reservoir 

Netting prohibition, 90R 
Red snapper 

Recreational season 
Closure, private and charter, 43ER 

Reef fish 
Harvest regulations, 89R 
2017 recreational red snapper season, 44ER 

Sawfishes 
Harvest regulations, 204N 

Shark 
Harvest regulations, 204N 
Possession limit, commercial non-sandbar large 
coastal sharks, 44ER 

Shrimp 
Season 
Closures, 44ER 

Inshore, fall, 43ER 
Fisheries, Office of 
Reef fish 

Harvest regulations, 89R 
 

 
 
 


