
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 

Division of Administration 

Office of the Commissioner 

and 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections  

Public Safety Services 

Louisiana State Police Video Public Records Requests  

(LAC 55:I.903) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 

49:962(A)(1), Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 

Public Safety Services hereby recognizes exigent 

circumstances requiring utilization of the emergency process 

for implementation of the attached Rule relative to State 

Police video public records. Statistical analyses show a 

projected increase of public records requests for body-worn 

camera (BWC) and in-car camera (ICC) video footage. 

Public Safety Services operating costs increase parallel with 

the linear trend of increased BWC/ICC requests. Setting a 

fee schedule for providing electronic records and video 

footage is justifiable based on the costs to the agency, both 

now and in the future. Louisiana courts recognize the 

evolution of technology and a contemporarily developing 

body of law. Johnson v. Pineville, 08-1234, (La. App. 3 Cir. 

4/8/09), 9 So.3d 313.In accordance with the provisions of 

R.S. 49:962, R.S. 39:241, and R.S. 44:32, the Division of 

Administration, Office of the Commissioner hereby adopts 

§903 as a supplement to the Uniform Fee Schedule to 

provide for state police video public records. 

This Emergency Rule was originally promulgated on July 

18, 2024. The Legislative Fiscal Office did a thorough 

analysis of the Rule and on November 6, 2024, approved the 

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement. The Rule was 

submitted to the Oversight Committee on November 25, 

2024. 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:962, R.S. 

39:241, and R.S. 44:32, the Division of Administration, 

Office of the Commissioner hereby adopts §903 as a 

supplement to the Uniform Fee Schedule to provide for State 

Police video public records. 

This Emergency Rule shall have the force and effect of 

law on December 31, 2024, and will remain in effect for 180 

days, until permanent rules are promulgated in accordance 

with law. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 9. Photographs and Videos 

§903. Videos Related to Louisiana State Police Public 

Records Requests 

A. Copies of Louisiana State Police video public records 

furnished to a person so requesting shall be provided at fees 

according to the following schedule: 

1. $10 per video less than or equal to 20 minutes in 

length; 

2. $0.50 per minute for videos longer than 20 minutes 

in length. 

3. For purposes of this section, “minute” includes one 

full minute, and no charge shall be given based on rounding 

up any additional seconds between full minute increments. 

B. The fee for production of such videos shall be 

provided to the requester by Louisiana State Police in 

advance of production. 

C. This schedule does not apply to copies of Louisiana 

State Police video public records requested from another 

state agency. 

D. For the purposes of this part, Louisiana State Police 

video public records include but are not limited to: body-

worn camera footage retained by Louisiana State Police 

regardless of law enforcement agency, in-car dash camera 

video retained by Louisiana State Police regardless of law 

enforcement agency, and third party videos, including 

security video, retained by Louisiana State Police. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:241, R.S. 44:32, and R.S. 36:406. 
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