HUNTING LAWS AND POLICIES ON STATE LANDS

1. RS 41:15, Hunting on state land; restrictions

- A. No person shall construct or hunt from a permanent stand on state land. A permanent stand is a stand that is either a non-portable, freestanding structure or a stand that uses nails, screws, spikes, or other means to attach to a tree and which is not designed to be hand carried by one person nor to be removed daily. Any permanent stand may be removed and destroyed.
- B. A portable stand may not be left on state lands unless the stand is removed from the tree or left in a non-hunting position. Each portable stand shall be legibly tagged with the owner's name, address, and phone number.
- C. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to land under the jurisdiction of the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. The use of such land shall be regulated by the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission in accordance with the provisions of Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may promulgate rules and regulations under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act for the implementation of the provisions of this Section.
- D. Violation of any provision of this Section or rules adopted pursuant to this Section shall constitute a class two violation punishable as provided in R.S. 56:32.

Acts 2005, No. 259, §1; Acts 2006, No. 842, §1.

- 2. Lands under the jurisdiction of the State Land Office are open to the public 365 days a year for recreation and any other legal activity.
- 3. At present, there are no hunting leases on state lands.
- 4. No member of the public is allowed to stake a claim to any particular location within areas owned or claimed by the State of Louisiana for any purpose.
- 5. No member of the public is allowed to damage trees on state lands.
- 6. Any new temporary stand or blind shall be spaced a minimum of 500 feet from any other stand or blind.
- 7. Hunting, target shooting and other forms of practice shooting are prohibited within 500 feet of any habitable structure.
- 8. The State Land Office cannot grant permission to individuals to cross private lands in order to access lands under the jurisdiction of the State Land Office.