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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Agricultural Finance Authority 

2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program 
(LAC 7:III.101, and 501-509) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 3:266, the Louisiana Agricultural Finance 
Authority declares an emergency exists and adopts by 
emergency process these regulations for the 2016 Louisiana 
Farm Recovery Grant Program.  

The state’s agricultural industry was impacted by two 
major weather events in 2016. The first event occurred in 
March 2016 when many areas of North Louisiana received 
more than 30 inches of rain in a 24 - 48-hour time period. 
While the initial rain event created significant difficulties for 
agricultural producers, persistent rainfall that occurred for 
much of April and May caused additional difficulties and 
backwater flooding. The LSU AgCenter estimated 
agricultural damage at roughly $90 million. The 
commodities included in this estimate were corn, soybeans, 
cotton, sorghum, rice, sweet potatoes, wheat, livestock, 
vegetables, and forage. Given the time of the year of the 
rains, much of the impact for most commodities was 
increased production costs associated with having to re-plant 
commodities. For livestock, the estimates included animal 
deaths as well as increased costs associated with relocating 
animals and reduced forage availability. 

The second event occurred in August 2016 when many 
areas of South Louisiana received upwards of 34 inches of 
rain in a 24 - 48-hour time period. While the large rainfall 
totals were fairly limited to South Louisiana, persistent 
rainfall for much of August and September throughout the 
state delayed normal farming operations and added to the 
negative impact for agricultural producers. The LSU 
AgCenter estimated agricultural damage at roughly $277 
million. The commodities included in this estimate were 
rice, soybeans, corn, grain sorghum, cotton, sweet potatoes, 
sugarcane, livestock, fruits and vegetables, ornamental 
horticulture, hay and pasture, and honey. For most crop 
commodities, the agricultural damage estimates included 
reduced revenue from both quality and quantity impacts as 
well as increased production and harvest costs. For 
livestock, the estimates included animal deaths as well as 
increased costs associated with relocating animals and 
reduced forage availability. Finally, the estimate also 
included estimates of infrastructure damage to agricultural 
operations.  

Money has become available to provide grants to 
producers impacted by the floods that have shown a 
commitment to remain in the agricultural industry and can 
prove losses based on the program’s design. Funds can be 
used by eligible producers to assist with paying unmet 
expenses necessary for a 2017 crop, a need resulting from 

storm-related uninsured and non-covered losses. These funds 
will allow producers to retain or hire employees and/or 
recover their farming operations. Delaying the distribution 
of this money until permanent rules and regulations can be 
promulgated will cause the money to be unavailable for the 
2017 crop year. Failure to utilize this money quickly will 
disrupt the livelihood of agricultural producers and the 
related businesses that depend on them. Failure to timely 
utilize the money will substantially eliminate or reduce the 
amount of crops, livestock, and other agricultural products, 
planted, produced, harvested or processed in 2017; thereby 
further increasing the losses to agricultural producers and the 
economy of this state. 

The losses caused by the two floods, the effect these 
losses have on the ability of agricultural producers to obtain 
financing, the severe shortage of capital and credit available 
for investment in agriculture, and the potential loss of more 
of this state’s agricultural producers and agricultural 
revenues creates an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety, and welfare of the citizens of this state; thereby 
requiring the promulgation of these emergency rules and 
regulations. 

This Emergency Rule becomes effective November 10, 
2017, and shall remain in effect for 120 days, unless 
renewed or until the permanent rules and regulations become 
effective. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part III.  Agricultural Finance 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Definitions 

A. - C. … 

* * * 
D. The following words and terms are defined for the 

purposes of the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program. 

Expected Gross Crop Revenue (for 2016)—the level of 
revenue that would have been expected to have been 
generated in 2016 under normal weather conditions and is 
calculated using the applicant’s response to the number of 
acres harvested in 2016, a five-year parish average for crop 
yields and the estimated average market price in 2016. 

Gross Crop Revenue (for 2016)—calculated by 
multiplying total acres harvested times the total average 
yield times an estimated average selling price. The estimated 
average selling price is calculated by dividing the applicant’s 
share of crop revenue by the amount of the crop marketed by 
the applicant.  

Increases in Either Harvest or Production Costs o—the 
costs of having to replant crops that were ruined due to high 
levels of rainfall and flooding; costs associated with 
harvesting crops under excessively wet field conditions 
causing reduced harvest speeds and efficiency; and costs 
associated with increased tillage and land preparation due to 
damage caused to land resulting from either having to 
harvest under excessively wet conditions or resulting from 
the impact of pounding rainfall and flooding. 
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Loss of Stored Hay—calculated by using the number of 
bales destroyed and then converting them into tons of hay 
assuming an average bale weight of 1,200 pounds. A market 
value for hay lost due to flooding is then calculated using the 
average 2016 market price as defined by the 2016 Louisiana 
Summary publication.  

Lost or Dead Cattle—cattle that were lost or killed and 
calculated on a value per head by for the two classes of 
cattle using average 2016 market prices obtained from the 
2016 Louisiana Summary publication and assuming an 
average weight for calves of 500 pounds and breeding 
animals of 1,200 pounds.  

Net Estimated Losses—the amount of losses eligible for 
assistance under the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program calculated by the difference between the total 
estimated losses and any assistance received by the applicant 
from other sources.  

Producer—one who engages, as an occupation, in 
farming operations as a distinct activity for the purpose of 
producing a farm crop and assumes the production and 
market risks associated with the agricultural production of 
those crops. A corporation or farmer’s cooperative may be a 
“producer” if engaged in actual farming of the nature and 
extent there indicated. 

Reductions in Grazing Availability—the economic loss 
associated with pastures that were flooded making grazing 
unavailable to cattle which is calculated using a hay 
equivalent methodology. The methodology assumes the 
economic loss is equal to the value of the amount of hay that 
would be needed to compensate for the lost grazing. The 
methodology assumes that each mature cow weighs 1,200 
pounds and eats 2 percent of her body weight per day. With 
this information, the total amount of hay needed for the 
number of days grazing was unavailable is calculated. The 
value of that hay is then estimated using the average 2016 
market price for hay as defined by the 2016 Louisiana 
Summary publication.  

Total Estimated Losses (suffered by the farming 
operation)—a summation of the estimated economic losses 
associated with each crop produced and any cattle related 
losses.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Louisiana Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 10:866 
(November 1984); amended by the Louisiana Agricultural Finance 
Authority, LR 36:464 (March 2010), LR 44: 

Chapter 5. 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program 

§501. 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program; 

Establishment; Purpose; Limitations 
A. The 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program is 

hereby established. 
B. The 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program 

provides a 100 percent grant to agricultural producers for 
working capital expenses related to the 2017 planting year 
for the purpose of aiding in the recovery from the 2016 
floods. 

C. The limits on the grants from the 2016 Louisiana 
Farm Recovery Grant Program are as follows: 

1. agricultural producers may receive a maximum 
grant of $100,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§503. Eligibility of Applicant 
A. An agricultural producer experiencing a 2016 flood 

related loss shall be eligible to receive money from the 2016 
Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program upon meeting all 
of the following requirements: 

1. The farm upon which a loss occurred must be 
located in one of the following parishes: Acadia, Allen, 
Ascension, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, 
Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, DeSoto, 
East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, 
Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, 
Lafayette, LaSalle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, 
Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Point Coupee, Rapides, 
Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. James, St. 
Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, 
Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton 
Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana or Winn. 

2. Active agricultural operations must have been 
ongoing before March 1, 2016 and continue to be ongoing in 
2017. 

3. The applicant must have annual gross farm revenue 
of $25,000 in 2014, 2015 or 2016. 

4. The applicant must have suffered a minimum storm 
related loss of $10,000 as determined by the crop loss 
calculator. 

5. The applicant must have grown one of the 
following crops in 2016: cattle, corn, cotton, crawfish, grain 
sorghum, hay, rice, soybeans, strawberries, sugarcane, sweet 
potatoes or wheat. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§505. Application Procedure and Forms 
A. The application period shall be publicly announced or 

published in a manner that fairly puts agricultural producers 
on notice of the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program and the start and end of the application period. 

B. Only application forms prepared by LAFA for this 
purpose may be used. 

C. Each applicant for a grant shall submit all of the 
following documents to LAFA: 

1. the completed application form signed by the 
agricultural producer, if a sole proprietorship. If the 
agricultural producer is not a sole proprietorship then the 
application form must be signed by all owners, unless an 
applicant has more than ten owners; 

2. proof of identity of the signer of the application. A 
government issued photo identification must be presented; 

3. proof of address of the farm. One or more of the 
following may be used as proof of address: A copy of utility 
bill, Louisiana tax return from the previous year, lease 
agreement, map, title to land, or a USDA Farm Service 
Administration (FSA) certification; 

4. proof of ownership of the farm. Tax returns with 
appropriate schedules must be presented; 

5. proof of national objective. One or more of the 
following may be used as proof of employees: Federal form 
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941, LMI Form, Louisiana unemployment tax records or 
internal payroll register; 

6. proof of revenue. Tax returns with appropriate 
schedules must be presented; 

7. proof of crop loss. A completed crop loss calculator 
must be presented; 

8. proof of harvesting an eligible crop in 2016. Tax 
returns with appropriate schedules must be presented in 
calendar year 2017; 

9. proof of planting or harvesting an eligible crop in 
2017. Paid receipts, invoices, copies of checks or other 
evidence must be presented for expenses in calendar year 
2017. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§507. Disbursement of Funds 
A. After the LAFA staff has approved an application, the 

proceeds of the grant shall be disbursed by LAFA’s staff 
upon the signing of the grant documents by the applicant and 
LDAF’s Director of Grant Recovery Programs. 

B. If the total amount of proceeds to be disbursed under 
the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program exceeds 
the amount of available money then the amount received by 
each approved applicant shall be reduced on a pro-rata basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§509. Use of Grant Proceeds 
A. Grant proceeds may be used to pay current year 

working capital expenses that are related to the preparation, 
planting, management and harvesting the current year crop 
including, but limited to feed, bait, seed, fertilizer, fuel, 
chemicals, herbicides, crawfish traps, office supplies, 
insurance, utilities, labor/payroll, veterinarian services and 
supplies, custom harvester, custom aerial applicator, and 
written land leases for crawfish producers. 

B. Grant proceeds may not be used for any of the 
following: 

1. acquisition of buildings or land; 
2. new construction or reconstruction; 
3. repayment or refinancing loans; 
4. payments of tax arrearages, government fines or 

penalties; 
5. political or religious activities; 
6. buying out any stockholder or equity holder in a 

business; 
7. buying out or reimbursing any family member; 
8. investing in instruments or investments for the sole 

purpose of a return on investment; 
9. a loss or expense for which insurance benefits has 

been or will be paid or financial assistance that has been or 
will be provided from federal, state or any other source; 

10. purchasing or repairing of equipment; 
11. placing new land into production. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 

1711#073 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

and 
Office of Forestry 

Horticulture and Quarantine Programs 
Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.167) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority of the state entomologist set forth in R.S. 
3:1652, and in order to avoid a lapse in coverage until a 
permanent Rule is in effect, notice is hereby given that 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry is adopting these 
emergency regulations establishing a quarantine in Bienville, 
Jackson, Morehouse and Ouachita Parishes for the following 
pest: emerald ash borer (“EAB”), Agrilus planipennis 
Fairmaire. The state entomologist has determined that EAB 
has been found in Bienville, Jackson, Morehouse and 
Ouachita Parishes and may be prevented, controlled, or 
eradicated by quarantine. 

EAB poses an imminent peril to the health and welfare of 
Louisiana forests, commercial and private forestry/wood 
product industries, and nursery growers due to its ability to 
infest ash trees. In 2013, the wholesale value of woody 
ornamental sales for nursery growers in the state was $62.6 
million, a portion of which is comprised of sales of ash trees 
(Louisiana State University AgCenter 2013 Louisiana 
Summary, Agriculture and Natural Resources). Louisiana’s 
forests and forestry/wood products industries generated an 
output industry production value of $10.86 billion in 2012, a 
portion of which is comprised of ash trees and ash tree 
products (Louisiana State University AgCenter publication 
3367-G, 2015). Sales of ash firewood by retail and wholesale 
suppliers to private individuals also are important to the 
state’s economy. 

Natural spread of EAB is limited to relatively short 
distances. However, without restriction, EAB can spread 
through human-assisted means over long distances via 
infested ash nursery stock, ash logs/timber and cut firewood. 
Once an ash tree is infested, it experiences twig dieback and 
tree decline. Tree death occurs within a few years. Failure to 
prevent, control, or eradicate this pest threatens to damage 
Louisiana’s commercial ash tree nursery industry, and over 
time this pest poses a threat to destroy the majority of ash in 
our state, both commercial and residential. The loss of the 
state’s commercial nursery-grown ash trees, forestry/wood 
ash products and even residential ash trees would be 
devastating to the state’s economy and to its private citizens.
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The quarantine established by this emergency regulation is 
necessary to prevent the spread of EAB to all areas in 
Louisiana where ash may exist, outside of the current areas 
where this pest has been found. 

For these reasons, the presence of EAB in Louisiana 
presents an imminent peril to the health, safety and welfare 
of Louisiana’s citizens and forests, the state’s commercial 
and private forestry/wood product industries, and nursery 
growers. As a result of this imminent peril, the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry and Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, hereby exercises 
its full and plenary power pursuant to R.S. 3:1652 to deal 
with crop and fruit pests and contagious and infectious crop 
and fruit diseases by imposing the quarantines set out in 
these emergency regulations.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law effective 
October 18, 2017, and will remain in effect 120 days, unless 
renewed by the commissioner of agriculture and forestry or 
until permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with 
law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 
Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter F. Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine 
§167. Emerald Ash Borer Quarantine 

A. The department issues the following quarantine 
because the state entomologist has determined that the insect 
emerald ash borer (“EAB”), Agrilus planipennis, has been 
found in this state and may be prevented, controlled, or 
eradicated by quarantine. 

B. Quarantined areas in this state include: 
1. the entire parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Claiborne, 

Jackson, Morehouse, Lincoln, Ouachita, Union and Webster; 
2. a declaration of quarantine for EAB covering any 

other specific parishes or areas of this state shall be 
published in the official journal of the state and in the 
Louisiana Register. 

C. No regulated articles as defined in this Subsection 
shall be moved out of any area of this state that is listed in 
this Subsection as a quarantined area for EAB, except as 
provided in this Subsection. 

D. The following articles are hosts of EAB and are 
deemed to be regulated articles for purposes of this 
Subsection: 

1. the emerald ash borer in all of its life stages; 
firewood of all hardwood (non-coniferous) species; nursery 
stock, green lumber, and other material living, dead, cut, or 
fallen, including logs, stumps, roots, branches, and 
composted and uncomposted chips of the genus Fraxinus; 

2. any other article, product, or means of conveyance 
not listed in this section may be designated as a regulated 
article if an inspector determines that it presents a risk of 
spreading emerald ash borer and notifies the person in 
possession of the article, product, or means of conveyance 
that it is subject to the restrictions of the regulations. 

E. Regulated articles may be moved from quarantined 
areas to non-quarantined areas within or outside of 
Louisiana only if moved under the following conditions. 

1. The regulated articles being moved are 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit issued by 
LDAF and attached in accordance with the EAB federal 
requirements. 

2. The regulated articles being moved are not 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit but are being 
moved by the United States Department of Agriculture for 
experimental or scientific purposes. 

3. The regulated articles being moved are not 
accompanied by a certificate or limited permit but originated 
outside of any EAB quarantined area and are moved 
interstate through the quarantined area under the following 
conditions: 

a. the points of origin and destination are indicated 
on a waybill accompanying the regulated article; and 

b. the regulated article, if moved through the 
quarantined area, is moved in an enclosed vehicle or is 
completely covered to prevent access by the EAB; and 

c. the regulated article is moved directly through 
the quarantined area without stopping (except for refueling 
or for traffic conditions, such as traffic lights or stop signs), 
or has been stored, packed, or handled at locations approved 
by an inspector as not posing a risk of infestation by emerald 
ash borer; and 

d. the article has not been combined or commingled 
with other articles so as to lose its individual identity. 

F. Persons or businesses engaged in growing, handling, 
or moving regulated articles intrastate may enter into a 
compliance agreement with LDAF if such persons or 
businesses review with an LDAF inspector each provision of 
the compliance agreement. Any person or business who 
enters into a compliance agreement with LDAF must agree 
to comply with the provisions of this subpart and any 
conditions imposed under this subpart. 

1. Any compliance agreement may be canceled orally 
or in writing by an inspector whenever the inspector 
determines that the person who has entered into the 
compliance agreement has not complied with this subpart or 
any conditions imposed under this subpart. If the 
cancellation is oral, the cancellation will become effective 
immediately, and the cancellation and the reasons for the 
cancellation will be confirmed in writing as soon as 
circumstances permit. Any person whose compliance 
agreement has been canceled may appeal the decision in 
writing to LDAF within 10 days after receiving the written 
cancellation notice. The appeal must state all of the facts and 
reasons that the person wants LDAF to consider in deciding 
the appeal. A hearing may be held to resolve a conflict as to 
any material fact. Rules of practice for the hearing will be 
adopted by LDAF. As soon as practicable, LDAF will grant 
or deny the appeal, in writing, stating the reasons for the 
decision. 

G. Any person violating this quarantine shall be subject 
to imposition of the remedies and penalties set forth in R.S. 
3:1653. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1652 and 3:1653. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 41:2577 (December 2015), amended LR 43:245
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(February 2017), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and 
Office of Forestry, LR 43: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 

1711#001 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School,  
District, and State Accountability System—One Year 

Waiver for Severe Impact Schools and Districts  
(LAC 28:XI.4503) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) approved for 
advertisement to revise Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System: §4503. One Year 
Waiver for “Severe Impact” Schools and Districts. This 
Declaration of Emergency, effective October 18, 2017, is for 
a period of 120 days from adoption, or until finally adopted 
as Rule. The proposed revisions pertain to the 2016-2017 
school year school performance scores and letter grades for 
schools that sustained significant damage as a result of 
federally-declared disaster DR-4277, Louisiana Severe 
Storms and Flooding. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 
Subpart 1.  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School,  

District, and State Accountability System 
Chapter 45. Disaster Considerations for School and 

District Accountability 
§4503. One Year Waiver for "Severe Impact" Schools 

and Districts 

[Formerly LAC 28:LXXXIII.4503] 
A. - A.2. … 

3. for the 2016-2017 school year school performance 
scores and letter grades, any school which sustained 
significant damage as a result of federally declared disaster 
DR-4277 Louisiana Severe Storms and Flooding, such that 
schools temporarily relocated to another school campus or 
facility, or received a displaced school or entire grade levels 
from another school at its campus as a result of such disaster, 
the LDE shall use for school accountability purposes the 
higher of the 2016-2017 or 2015-2016 school performance 
score. This policy shall also apply to all schools within the 
East Baton Rouge Parish System. The state superintendent, 
with consent of the president of the board, may provide for 
the same in cases of extraordinary and abnormal 
displacement of teachers and students and hardship due to 
such disaster, if such displacement directly and indisputably 
contributed to abnormal changes in school performance 
scores and assessment results, based on analysis conducted 
by the LDE. 

B. - G.2. … 
a. will not enter or advance in comprehensive or 

urgent intervention labels or academically unacceptable 
status as a result of accountability labels based on data 
collected during the year of the disaster; but 

b. schools can exit comprehensive or urgent 
intervention labels based on data collected during the year of 
the disaster. 

H. - M. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1412 (August 2006), 
amended LR 33:636 (April 2007), LR 36:1994 (September 2010), 
LR 37:2120 (July 2011), LR 44: 

 

Gary L. Jones 
BESE President 

1711#005 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy Technicians (LAC 46:LIII.905) 

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
specifically at R.S. 49:953(B), to amend its rules governing 
the process of obtaining a pharmacy technician certificate by 
delaying the implementation of the requirement to complete 
a nationally-accredited pharmacy technician training 
program as one of the qualifications to obtain the credential. 

Prior to June 2013, the Rule required the pharmacy 
technician candidate to complete a training program that was 
approved by the board. In response to stakeholder input 
requesting flexibility in how those programs were to be 
established, the board permitted programs to be established 
at individual pharmacies in addition to universities, 
community and technical colleges, as well as proprietary 
schools. Over the course of approximately 10 years, the 
board tracked the state’s pass rate on the national 
certification program and observed a steady decrease. The 
board determined that workplace training alone was not 
sufficient and, in June 2013 instituted a change, to begin in 
January 2016, that would require the training program to be 
nationally accredited. The three-year delay was intended to 
increase the number of such nationally-accredited programs 
in the state. 

During their meeting in November 2015, the board 
entertained a request from some chain pharmacies to further 
delay the implementation of the accreditation requirement 
until 2020, citing their concerns with some of the 
accreditation standards. The board took note of the increased 
number of accredited programs in the state, from one in 
2013 to over a dozen in 2015. The board also took note of 
the continuing decrease in the state pass rate on the national 
certification examination, with a 45 percent pass rate in 
2015. The board also received input the requirement should
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be transferred from those persons submitting applications for 
the technician certificate to those persons submitting 
applications for the technician candidate registration, to 
eliminate the difficulty for persons who start under the 
previous Rule and attempt to finish under the new Rule. The 
board agreed to a one-year delay in the accreditation 
requirement, and since there was not sufficient time to 
promulgate a change in the Rule before the current January 
1, 2016 implementation date, the board determined that an 
Emergency Rule was necessary. During the one-year delay, 
the board planned to promulgate the additional change to 
transfer the requirement for completion of an accredited 
program as a qualification for the pharmacy technician 
certificate to require enrollment in an accredited program as 
a qualification for the pharmacy technician candidate 
registration. 

The board has determined that failure to implement the 
Emergency Rule will cause interruptions in the licensure 
process for pharmacy technicians, potentially causing a 
decrease in the number of pharmacy technicians in the 
available workforce. The board has determined this 
Emergency Rule is necessary to prevent imminent peril to 
the public health, safety, and welfare. The original 
Declaration of Emergency was effective November 30, 
2015. Although the board is working on the changes, they 
need more time; therefore, they have directed the revision of 
the implementation date from 2017 to 2018. Although the 
board has almost completed the rulemaking process, the 
previously-issued Emergency Rule is scheduled to expire 
before the conclusion of the process. Therefore, the board 
has directed the extension of the revised Emergency Rule; it 
is effective November 6, 2017 and shall remain in effect for 
the maximum time period allowed under the Administrative 
Procedure Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever 
shall first occur. 

Title 46  
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians 
§905. Pharmacy Technician Certificate 

A. - A.3.a. … 
b. For those applicants submitting applications on 

or after January 1, 2018, the applicant shall demonstrate 
successful completion of a nationally-accredited and board-
approved pharmacy technician training program, as 
evidenced by a valid and legible copy of the appropriate 
credential from that program. 

A.4 - B.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486 (November 
2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 
2012), LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 44: 

 

Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1711#021 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Abortion Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.4431) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 48:I.4431 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2175.1 et 
seq. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repealed and replaced the 
provisions governing the licensing standards for abortion 
facilities in order to incorporate the changes imposed by 
legislation, and further revise and clarify those provisions 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 4). 

Act 97 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature increased the time period required for certain 
pre-operative services. Act 563 of the 2016 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature provides that at least 72 hours 
before the abortion, the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 
shall be given a copy of certain printed information, 
including resources, programs and services for pregnant 
women who have a diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality, 
and given printed information about resources, programs and 
services for infants and children born with disabilities, as 
well as other related matters. Act 593 of the 2016 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature provides for the 
disposal, by interment or cremation, of fetal remains and 
designates procedures for giving patients options for 
arrangements. The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing outpatient 
abortion clinics in order to comply with the provisions of 
Acts 97, 563 and 593 (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, 
Number 12).  

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the December 3, 2016 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to protect the health and 
welfare of Louisiana citizens by assuring the health and 
safety of women seeking health care services at licensed 
abortion facilities.  

Effective December 1, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the licensing standards for abortion facilities. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 44. Abortion Facilities 
Subchapter C. Pre-operative, Intra-operative, and Post-

Operative Procedures 
§4431. Screening and Pre-Operative Services 

A. - E.1. ... 
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2. Requirements 
a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours prior to the pregnant woman having any part 
of an abortion performed or induced, and prior to the 
administration of any anesthesia or medication in 
preparation for the abortion on the pregnant woman, the 
physician who is to perform the abortion or a qualified 
person who is the physician’s agent shall comply with all of 
the following requirements: 
 i. perform an obstetric ultrasound on the pregnant 
woman, offer to simultaneously display the screen which 
depicts the active ultrasound images so that the pregnant 
woman may view them and make audible the fetal heartbeat, 
if present, in a quality consistent with current medical 
practice. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to 
prevent the pregnant woman from not listening to the sounds 
detected by the fetal heart monitor, or from not viewing the 
images displayed on the ultrasound screen; 
 ii. provide a simultaneous and objectively 
accurate oral explanation of what the ultrasound is depicting, 
in a manner understandable to a layperson, which shall 
include the presence and location of the unborn child within 
the uterus and the number of unborn children depicted, the 
dimensions of the unborn child, and the presence of cardiac 
activity if present and viewable, along with the opportunity 
for the pregnant woman to ask questions; 
 iii. offer the pregnant woman the option of 
requesting an ultrasound photograph or print of her unborn 
child of a quality consistent with current standard medical 
practice that accurately portrays, to the extent feasible, the 
body of the unborn child including limbs, if present and 
viewable; 
 iv. from a form that shall be produced and made 
available by the department, staff will orally read the 
statement on the form to the pregnant woman in the 
ultrasound examination room prior to beginning the 
ultrasound examination, and obtain from the pregnant 
woman a copy of a completed, signed, and dated form; and 
 v. retain copies of the election form and 
certification prescribed above. The certification shall be 
placed in the medical file of the woman and shall be kept by 
the outpatient abortion facility for a period of not less than 
seven years. If the woman is a minor, the certification shall 
be placed in the medical file of the minor and kept for at 
least ten years from the time the minor reaches the age of 
majority. The woman's medical files shall be kept 
confidential as provided by law. 

b. If the pregnant woman certifies in writing that 
she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 
licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 
to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or a qualified person who is the physician’s agent shall 
comply with all of the requirements of §4431.E.2.a at least 
24 hours prior to the woman having any part of an abortion 
performed or induced. 

c. - e. Repealed. 
E.3. - G.1. ... 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 
least 72 hours before the abortion the physician who is to 
perform the abortion or the referring physician shall provide 
informed consent to the pregnant woman seeking an 

abortion, pursuant to all laws, rules and regulations 
regarding informed consent. The informed consent shall be 
communicated both orally and in-person, and in writing, and 
shall be provided in a private room. Documentation of all 
such informed consent provided shall be maintained in the 
patient’s medical record. 

b.  If the woman certifies in writing that she 
currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 
outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 
perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or the referring physician shall comply with all of the 
requirements of §4431.G.1 at least 24 hours prior to the 
abortion. 

1.c. - 3. ... 
a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours before a scheduled abortion the physician who 
is to perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a 
qualified person shall inform the pregnant woman seeking 
an abortion, orally and in-person that: 
 i. - iv. ... 

b. If the woman certifies in writing that she 
currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 
outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 
perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
the referring physician, or a qualified person shall comply 
with all of the requirements of §4431.G.3 at least 24 hours 
prior to the abortion. 

4. ... 
a. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 
of the printed materials, pursuant to any applicable state 
laws, rules, and regulations, by the physician who is to 
perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a qualified 
person. These printed materials shall include any printed 
materials necessary for a voluntary and informed consent, 
pursuant to R.S. 40:1061.17. However, if the pregnant 
woman certifies in writing that she currently lives 150 miles 
or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility 
that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 
particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a 
copy of the printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an 
elective abortion procedure by the physician who is to 
perform the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 
40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 
 i. - NOTE. Repealed. 

b. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 
pregnant woman or minor female considering an abortion 
shall be given a copy of the department’s Point of Rescue 
pamphlet and any other materials described in R.S. 
40:1061.16 by the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 
except in the case of medical emergency defined by 
applicable state laws. However, if the pregnant woman or 
minor female considering an abortion certifies in writing that 
she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 
licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 
to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these printed 
materials at least 72 hours prior to an elective abortion 
procedure by the physician who is to perform the abortion or 
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a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 
except in the case of medical emergency defined by 
applicable state laws. 
 i. The physician or qualified person shall provide 
to the woman, or minor female seeking an abortion, such 
printed materials individually and in a private room for the 
purpose of ensuring that she has an adequate opportunity to 
ask questions and discuss her individual circumstances. 
 ii. The physician or qualified person shall obtain 
the signature of the woman or minor female seeking an 
abortion on a form certifying that the printed materials were 
given to the woman or minor female. 
 iii. In the case of a minor female considering an 
abortion, if a parent accompanies the minor female to the 
appointment, the physician or qualified person shall provide 
to the parent copies of the same materials given to the 
female. 
 iv. The signed certification form shall be kept 
within the medical record of the woman or minor female for 
a period of at least seven years. 

c. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 
pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 
of a printed informational document including resources, 
programs and services for pregnant women who have a 
diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality and resources, 
programs and services for infants and children born with 
disabilities. However, if the pregnant woman certifies in 
writing that she currently lives 150 miles or more from the 
nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing 
and able to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s 
stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these 
printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an elective 
abortion procedure by the physician who is to perform the 
abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 
40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 

d. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion is 
unable to read the materials, the materials shall be read to 
her. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion asks 
questions concerning any of the information or materials, 
answers shall be provided to her in her own language. 

NOTE: The provisions of this Section requiring a physician or 
qualified person to provide required printed materials to a 
woman considering an abortion shall become effective 30 
days after the department publishes a notice of the availability 
of such materials. 

5. ... 
a. Prior to the abortion, the outpatient abortion 

facility shall ensure the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 
has certified, in writing on a form provided by the 
department that the information and materials required were 
provided at least 72 hours prior to the abortion, or at least 24 
hours prior to the abortion in the case of a woman who has 
given prior certification in writing that she currently lives 
150 miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient 
abortion facility that is willing and able to perform the 
abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. This 
form shall be maintained in the woman’s medical record. 

b. ... 

c. The pregnant woman seeking an abortion is not 
required to pay any amount for the abortion procedures until 
the 72-hour period has expired, or until expiration of the 24-
hour period applicable in the case of a woman who has given 
prior certification in writing that she currently lives 150 
miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion 
facility that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 
particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. 

6. - 7.b. ... 
8. Disposition of Fetal Remains 

a. Each physician who performs or induces an 
abortion which does not result in a live birth shall ensure that 
the remains of the fetus are disposed of by interment or 
cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 
et seq., and the provisions of LAC 51:XXVI.102 of the 
Sanitary Code. 

b. Prior to an abortion, the physician shall orally 
and in writing inform the pregnant woman seeking an 
abortion in the licensed abortion facility that the pregnant 
woman has the following options: 
 i. the option to make arrangements for the 
disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or 
cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 
et seq.; or 
 ii. the option to have the outpatient abortion 
facility/physician make the arrangements for the disposition 
and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or cremation, 
in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et seq. 

c. The pregnant woman shall sign a consent form 
attesting that she has been informed of these options, and 
shall indicate on the form whether she wants to make 
arrangements for the disposition of fetal remains or whether 
she wants the facility to make arrangements for the 
disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains. 

d. the requirements of §4431.G.8 regarding 
dispositions of fetal remains, shall not apply to abortions 
induced by the administration of medications when the 
evacuation of any human remains occurs at a later time and 
not in the presence of the inducing physician or at the 
facility in which the physician administered the inducing 
medications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:700 (April 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 
Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency 
Rule is available for review by interested parties at parish 
Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1711#055 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Facility Need Review 
Behavioral Health Services Providers  

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 125) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing rescinds the October 16, 2017 Emergency Rule 
governing the Facility Need Review (FNR) Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2116. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amended the provisions governing the FNR 
Program in order to: 1) adopt provisions for FNR approval 
for behavioral health services (BHS) providers that apply for 
licensure to provide psychosocial rehabilitation and/or 
community psychiatric support and treatment services; and 
2) provide grandfather provisions for BHS providers who 
are licensed as of October 16, 2017, or have submitted an 
application for licensure prior to October 16, 2017 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 43, Number 10). 

The department has now determined that it is necessary to 
rescind the provisions of the October 16, 2017 Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing facility need 
review approval for behavioral health services providers. 
Effective immediately, upon adoption of this Emergency 
Rule, the department shall return to the provisions in place 
governing the Facility Need Review Program in LAC 48, 
Chapter 125. This action is being promulgated in order to 
promote the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients in 
Louisiana by ensuring continued access to behavioral health 
services. 

Effective November 2, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the October 
16, 2017 Emergency Rule governing facility need review 
approval for behavioral health services providers which was 
published in the October 20, 2017 edition of the Louisiana 

Register. 
 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1711#011 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Treasury 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration and Distributions  
(LAC 32:VII.105, 701, and 709) 

The Louisiana Deferred Compensation Board has 
exercised the emergency provision in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority set forth in R.S. 42:1303, to amend LAC 
32:VII.105, 701, and 709 regarding distributions for 

unforeseen emergencies. This Emergency Rule is necessary 
to allow plan participants as defined by LAC 32:VII.101 
who qualify for the relief provided by IRS Announcement 
2017-11 to take a distribution from the plan.  

The Louisiana Deferred Compensation Commission 
hereby finds that the following circumstances constitute an 
immediate danger to the public health, safety, or welfare: On 
August 25, 2017, the President of the United States of 
America issued a Major Disaster Declaration for designated 
Counties in Texas by issuing FEMA DR-4332. Additionally, 
the Governor of Texas issued emergency declarations for 
counties affected by Hurricane Harvey on August 23, 2017, 
August 26, 2017, August 27, 2017, August 28, 2017, and 
September 14, 2017. On September 14, 2017, September 20, 
2017, and October 20, 2017 the Governor of Texas extended 
emergency declarations for specified counties affected by 
Hurricane Harvey. On August 24, 2017, Governor John Bel 
Edwards issued a state of emergency for the entire State of 
Louisiana due to Hurricane Harvey. (Proclamation No. 104 
JBE 2017) On August 28, 2017, the President of the United 
States of America issued an Emergency Declaration for 
designated Parishes in Louisiana by issuing FEMA EM-
3382. The damage caused by the Hurricane Harvey/Tropical 
Strom Harvey event has resulted in the destruction of homes, 
closing of businesses in affected areas, loss of personal 
belongings, and loss of employment by many plan 
participants and/or their families. This weather event has 
produced an immediate threat to the public health, safety, 
and welfare of many participants in the Louisiana Deferred 
Compensation Plan. In order to provide relief to taxpayers 
who have been adversely affected by the Hurricane 
Harvey/Tropical Strom Harvey event, the IRS issued 
Announcement 2017-11 to provide relief from certain 
verification procedures that may be required under 
retirement plans with respect to hardship distributions. In 
order for the Louisiana Deferred Compensation Plan to 
provide the relief to qualified plan participants the following 
Emergency Rule is necessary.  

This Emergency Rule was adopted on October 17, 2017 
and shall be effective on October 17, 2017. This Emergency 
Rule shall remain effective for the maximum period allowed 
under the Act or until the expiration of the relief provided in 
IRS 2017-11 or any extension thereof, whichever occurs 
first, unless renewed by the Louisiana Deferred 
Compensation Commission, or until permanent rules are 
promulgated in accordance with the law.  

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part VII.  Public Employee Deferred Compensation 
Subpart 1.  Deferred Compensation Plan 

Chapter 1. Administration 
§105. Duties of Commission 

A. - A.7. … 
8. appointing an emergency committee comprised of 

at least three individuals. Applications for a withdrawal of 
deferred compensation based on an unforeseeable 
emergency shall be approved or disapproved by such 
committee: 

a. a participant shall furnish medical or other 
evidence to the emergency committee to establish and 
substantiate the existence of an unforeseeable emergency. 
However, if a participant qualifies for a distribution resulting 
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from the Hurricane Harvey/Tropical Storm Harvey weather 
event, as set forth in IRS Announcement 2017-11, or any 
extension thereof, the commission may rely upon the 
representations from the participant as to the need for and 
amount of the distribution unless it has actual knowledge to 
the contrary.  

b. if an application for a withdrawal based on 
unforeseeable emergency is approved, and the application 
does not qualify for the relief set forth in IRS Announcement 
2017-11 or any extension thereof, the amount of the 
withdrawal shall be limited to the amount required to meet 
such emergency. Payment shall not be made to the extent 
such emergency is relieved: 
 i. - iii. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 
§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1963 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1495 (June 2002), LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Distributions 
§701. Conditions for Distributions 

A. - A.2. … 
3. the participant incurs an approved unforeseeable 

emergency pursuant to LAC 32:VII.709.A or meets the 
qualifications for relief set forth in IRS Announcement 
2017-11, or any extension thereof; or 

A.4. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:1301-1308 and IRC §457. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1967 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1497 (June 2002), LR 32:121 
(January 2006), LR 44: 

§709. Unforeseeable Emergency 
A. If a participant has incurred a genuine unforeseeable 

emergency and no other resources of financial relief are 
available, or if a participant meets the qualifications for 
relief set forth in IRS Announcement 2017-11, or any 
extension thereof; the commission may grant, in its sole 
discretion, a participant's request for a payment from the 
participant's account. Any payment made under this 
provision shall be in a lump sum. 

1. The commission shall have the right to request and 
review all pertinent information necessary to assure that 
hardship withdrawal requests are consistent with the 
provisions of IRC §457 or IRS Announcement 2017-11, or 
any extension thereof. 

2. Unless a participant meets the qualifications for 
relief set forth in IRS Announcement 2017-11, or any 
extension thereof, an unforeseeable emergency distribution 
shall not be made if such hardship may be relieved: 

2.a. - 3.b. … 
c. If a participant meets the qualifications for relief 

set forth in IRS Announcement 2017-11, or any extension 
thereof, the commission may rely upon the representation of 
the participant as to the need for and amount of a financial 
hardship distribution unless the commission or plan 
administrator has actual knowledge to the contrary.  

4. Payment of a financial hardship distribution shall 
result in mandatory suspension of deferrals for a minimum 
of 6 months from the date of payment (or such other period 
as mandated in treasury regulations) unless the participant’s

distribution is made pursuant to the guidelines set forth in 
IRS Announcement 2017-11, or any extension thereof. If a 
participant’s financial hardship distribution is made pursuant 
to the guidelines set forth in IRS Announcement 2017-11, or 
any extension thereof, then the suspension of deferrals shall 
be in the discretion of the participant.  

B. - B.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 

§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1968 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1498 (June 2002), LR 32:122 
(January 2006), LR 37:1621 (June 2011), LR 44: 

 

Emery Bares 
Chairman 

1711#006 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2017-18 King Mackerel Commercial Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, which allows the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
secretary of the department, by commission action on 
January 5, 2017, to close the 2017-18 commercial king 
mackerel season in Louisiana state waters when he is 
informed that the designated portion of the commercial king 
mackerel quota for the Gulf of Mexico has been filled, or 
was projected to be filled, the secretary hereby declares: 

Effective 12 noon, October 16, 2017, the commercial 
fishery for king mackerel in Louisiana waters will close and 
remain closed through June 30, 2018. Nothing herein shall 
preclude the legal harvest of king mackerel by legally 
licensed recreational fisherman. Effective with this closure, 
no person shall commercially harvest, possess, purchase, 
barter, trade, sell or attempt to purchase, barter, trade or sell 
king mackerel within or without Louisiana waters. Effective 
with this closure, no person shall possess king mackerel in 
excess of a daily bag limit within or without Louisiana 
waters. The prohibition on sale/purchase of king mackerel 
during the closure does not apply to king mackerel that were 
legally harvested, landed ashore, and sold prior to the 
effective date of the closure and were held in cold storage by 
a dealer or processor provided appropriate records in 
accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 56:306.6 are properly 
maintained. 

The secretary has been notified by National Marine 
Fisheries Service that the commercial king mackerel season 
in federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico is closed and will 
remain closed through June 30, 2018.  

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1711#004 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Direct Bonding Assistance 
(LAC 19:II.903) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Economic Development has amended the rules for the Small 
Business Bonding Program to allow certain applicants up to 
an additional three years of access to the program. 

Title 19 
CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part II.  Small and Emerging  
Business Development Program 

Chapter 19. Small Business Bonding Program 
§903. Direct Bonding Assistance 

A. Direct Bonding AssistanceEligibility 
1. All certified active small and emerging construction 

businesses, and all other certified SEBs (non-construction) 
may be eligible for surety bond guarantee assistance not to 
exceed the lesser of 25 percent of contract or $200,000 on 
any single project.  

2. Beginning July 1, 2017, firms with previously 
approved SEBD certification status expiring after July 1, 
2017 but prior to July 1, 2020, may be granted continued 
eligibility for the Direct Bonding Assistance Program for a 
period of up to three years, but no later than July 1, 2020.  

3. All obligations, whether contractual or financial, 
will require the approval of the undersecretary. 

B. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:942. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Economically Disadvantaged Business Development, LR 24:430 
(March 1998), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 29:547 (April 
2003), LR 30:758 (April 2004), LR 36:52 (January 2010), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, LR 43:2102 (November 2017). 

 

Mandi D. Mitchell 
Assistant Secretary 

1711#033 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Entertainment Industry Development 

Motion Picture Production Tax Credit Program  
(LAC 61:I.1605 and 1607) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Economic Development has amended the Rules for the 

Motion Picture Production Tax Credit Program (R.S. 
47:6007 et seq.) to effect a reservation and allocation system 
under a new tax credit issuance cap provided by Act 309 of 
the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 16. Louisiana Entertainment Industry Tax 
Credit Programs 

Subchapter A. Motion Picture Production Tax Credit 
Program 

§1605. Definitions 
A. - B. … 

* * * 

Program Issuance Capfor applications submitted on 
or after July 1, 2017, the office may issue no more than 
$150,000,000 in tax credits (“total cap”) in any fiscal year, 
with $7,500,000 reserved for qualified entertainment 
companies (“QEC cap”), $7,500,000 reserved for Louisiana 
screenplay productions (“LA screenplay cap”), $15,000,000 
reserved for independent film productions (“independent 
film cap”), with the remaining $120,000,000 available for 
general allocation to any state certified production (“general 
cap”). 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:53 (January 2010), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Entertainment Industry Development, LR 43:300 (February 2017), 
LR 43:2102 (November 2017). 

§1607. Certification Procedures 
A. - A.1.c.v. … 

2. All applicants shall participate in a career based 
learning and training program approved by the office. To 
meet this requirement, at the time of application, applicants 
may choose a method of participation from the list below: 

a. provide a minimum of 3 paid internship positions 
provided to students enrolled in an accredited high school, 
community college, university or qualified community based 
program, for a minimum of 75 hours per student and a total 
of 225 hours; or 

b. a minimum of 8 hours of classroom workshop 
provided to students enrolled in an accredited high school, 
community college, university or qualified community based 
program; or 

c. a minimum of 8 hours of studio employment and 
professional skills tour provided to students enrolled in high 
school, community college, university or qualified 
community based program; or 

d. a minimum of 8 hours of continuing education 
for educators or faculty to observe the set operations, post 
production and other specialized departments; 
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e. financial contribution or donation to a specific 
local educational agency or higher education institution 
specializing in arts, media and entertainment career oriented 
program. Financial contributions calculated at 0.25 percent 
of the estimated tax credit reservation; or 

f. other method of participation approved by the 
office. 

B. - B.3. ... 
C. Initial Certification  

1. Application Review Process, Provisional Allocation 
and Reservation of Tax Credits 

a. Project-Based Production Tax CreditFor 
Applications Submitted prior to July 1, 2017 
 i. After review and upon a determination of 
qualification, the office and the secretary shall issue an 
initial certification letter indicating the amount of tax credits 
certified for the state certified production, or a written 
denial.  

b. Project-Based Production Tax Creditfor 
Applications Submitted on or after July 1, 2017 
 i. Beginning July 1, 2017 and thereafter, the 
office will accept and review applications on a monthly 
basis. All applications received by the 15th of the month will 
be treated as received on the last business day of the month 
(“monthly initial certification pool”) and processed 
accordingly.  
 ii. After review and upon determination of 
qualification, the office and the secretary shall issue an 
initial certification letter, or a written denial. The initial 
certification letter will provisionally allocate tax credits 
based upon expected the cost report submission date and 
availability of tax credits in any given year. 
 iii. Tax credits provisionally allocated in the initial 
certification letter shall be reserved until thirty days 
following the identified start date of principal photography. 
 iv. The production company shall provide written 
evidence that principal photography has begun by the 
identified date by submitting documents such as call sheets, 
site visit reports from local film commission staff, or as 
otherwise approved by the office. Upon receipt, the office 
will issue an email confirmation, acknowledging the 
continued tax credit reservation and effectivity of the initial 
certification letter. 
 v. If the production company is unable to begin 
principal photography by the identified date, it shall provide 
written notice to the office and provide written reasons for 
the delay and the anticipated new start date of principal 
photography. The office may, in its sole discretion, grant a 
one-time extension to such production company. Unless 
otherwise approved by the secretary for good cause shown, 
the extension shall not exceed 30 days. 
 vi. If the production company fails to provide 
appropriate written evidence that principal photography has 
begun by identified date or other approved date, the office 
will send production company a notice of disqualification 
and; 
 (a). the amount of credits reserved shall be added 
back into the available amount for that fiscal year, or rolled 
forward into the then current year, as applicable; 
 (b). the initial certification letter issued shall be 
deemed void, and the applicant shall be disqualified from 

earning any tax credits on the applicable state certified 
production; 
 (c). the applicant shall forfeit all application fees; 
 (d). any unused CPA advance deposit fees shall be 
refunded within 30 days; 
 vii. a production company so disqualified may re-
submit a new application for the same project, which will be 
evaluated by the office as a new state certified production, 
with a new application date and subject to all applicable fee 
and filing requirements. 

2. … 

3. Cap ManagementPhase 1- Initial 

CertificationTentative Reservation 
a. The reservation of tax credits shall be 

administered on a first come, first serve basis, until any of 
the caps have been met: 
 i. QEC;  
 ii. LA screenplay; 
 iii. independent film; 
 iv. general; or  
 iv. total cap.  

b. Qualifying LA screenplay or independent film 
projects shall be allocated credits first from the available LA 
screenplay or independent film caps. On the day that the LA 
screenplay or independent film caps are met, credits shall be 
reserved from any remaining general cap. 

c. If the LA screenplay and independent film caps 
have not been met by April 30 of any year, any residual 
amount of unreserved credits may be available for general 
allocation by the office, in addition to any residual general 
cap. 

d. If the QEC cap is not met in any fiscal year, any 
residual unreserved credits shall carry forward for use by 
QEC’s in subsequent years. 

e. On the day that the total or general cap is 
reached, the credits remaining for allocation shall be 
reserved on a prorated basis amongst the monthly initial 
certification submission pool. 

f. If the total amount of credits applied for in any 
particular year exceeds the total or general cap for that year, 
the excess shall be treated as having been applied for on the 
first day of the subsequent year. 

4. Duration of Effectfor Applications Submitted 
prior to July 1, 2017. 

a. - b. … 

5. Duration of Effectfor Applications Submitted on 
or after July 1, 2017. 

a. Once an initial certification letter is issued, the 
applicant or official representative must countersign and 
return an original to the office, within 30 business days, 
acknowledging initial certification status and the reporting 
requirement for start date of principal photography. 

b. The initial certification letter shall be effective 
for qualifying expenditures made within a period of twelve 
months prior to the date of application and twenty-four 
months after the date of initial certification letter, except 
that: 
 i. state certified productions for scripted episodic 
content (“SEC’s”), with estimated expenditures of at least 
$10,000,000 in state expenditures per calendar year, shall be 
issued an initial certification letter effective for qualifying
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expenditures made until 60 months after the date of initial 
certification, under terms and conditions approved by the 
office and the secretary, as set forth in the initial certification 
letter. 
 ii. when determining the amount and appropriate 
allocation and reservation of credits for SEC’s, the office 
shall review all pertinent information, including but not 
limited to; whether the project is a pilot, TV series from a 
pilot formerly shot in Louisiana, a recurring TV series or a 
relocating TV series.  
 iii. unless otherwise approved by the office and the 
secretary, SEC tax credits will be allocated from the general 
cap, and initially reserved for two seasons. SEC applicants 
shall periodically provide updates to the office, and the 
initial certification letter may be subsequently revised to 
allow for additional allocations and reservations of credits 
for seasons three through five, if applicable.  

D. Final Certification; Audit Requirements 
1. - 2.b. … 
3. Final Allocation and Issuance of Tax Credits 

a. Project-Based Production Creditfor 
Applications Submitted prior to July 1, 2017 

i. After review and upon a determination of 
qualification, the office and the secretary shall issue a final 
certification letter indicating the amount of tax credits 
certified for the state certified production, or a written 
denial.  

b. Project-Based Production Tax Creditfor 
Applications Submitted on or after July 1, 2017 
 i. Beginning July 1, 2017 and thereafter, the 
office will accept and review requests for final certification 
on a monthly basis. Applicants shall have completed all 
required steps for certification of credits, and requests shall 
be evidenced by submission of a signed attestation form to 
the office. All requests received by the 15th of the month 
will be treated as received on the last business day of the 
month, (“monthly final certification submission pool”) and 
processed accordingly.  
 ii. After review and determination of 
qualification, the office and the secretary shall issue a final 
certification letter, in accordance with the provisional 
allocations and amounts set forth in the initial certification 
letter, or a written denial. 
 iii. In the event that less than the reserved amount 
of tax credits has been verified, any unused credits will be 
released and may be available for issuance by the office. 
 iv. In the event that more than the reserved 
amount of tax credits has been verified, the office shall 
preliminarily issue tax credits in an amount not to exceed the 
total indicated in the initial certification letter, but may at its 
discretion, subsequently issue a supplemental tax credit for 
any excess expenditures, subject to availability of credits in 
any given fiscal year.  

4. Cap ManagementPhase 2- Final 

CertificationTax Credit Issuance 
a. The issuance of tax credits shall be administered 

on a first come, first serve basis, until any of the caps have 
been met; QEC, LA screenplay, independent film, general or 
total cap.  

b. Qualifying LA screenplay or independent film 
projects shall be issued credits first from the available LA 
screenplay or independent film caps. On the day that the LA 

screenplay or independent film caps are met, credits shall be 
issued from any remaining general cap. 

c. If the LA screenplay and independent film caps 
have not been met by April 30 of any year, any residual 
amount of credits may be available for issuance by the 
office, in addition to any residual general cap. 

d. If the total cap has not been met by May 30 of 
any year, the office shall review any projects with excess 
expenditures for which credits have neither been certified 
nor denied, and may issue supplemental tax credits from any 
remaining general cap. Such projects shall all be treated as 
received on June 15th and processed accordingly.  

e. If the QEC cap is not met in any fiscal year, any 
residual credits shall carry forward for use by QEC’s in 
subsequent years. 

f. On the day that the total or general cap is 
reached, the credits remaining for allocation shall be issued 
on a prorate basis amongst the monthly final certification 
submission pool. 

g. If the total amount of credits applied for in any 
particular year exceeds the total or general cap for that year, 
the excess shall be treated as having been applied for on the 
first day of the subsequent year. 

E. Appeal Process. In the event that an application for 
initial or final certification is denied: 

1. - 2. … 
3. initial certification letters that were issued to an 

applicant, but subsequently deemed void by the office, 
following a notice of disqualification for failure to begin 
principal photography by an agreed upon identified date or 
other approved date, shall not be subject to appeal.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007 and R.S. 36:104. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:55 (January 2010), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
the Secretary, Office of Business Development and the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 37:514 (February 2011), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Entertainment Industry Development, LR 42:39 (January 2016), 
LR 43:2102 (November 2017). 

 
Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

1711#032 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 102―Louisiana Physical Education 
Content Standards (LAC 28:LIII.Chapters 1-15) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (BESE) has amended Bulletin 102―Louisiana 

Physical Education Content Standards: §101, Introduction; 
§103, Louisiana Physical Education Standards to Promote 
Physical Literacy; §105, Definitions/Descriptions; §107, 
Louisiana Physical Education Standards; §301, Introduction; 
§303, Standard 1; §305, Standard 2; §307, Standard 3; §309, 
Standard 4; §311, Standard 5; §501, Introduction; §503, 
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Standard 1; §505, Standard 2; §507, Standard 3; §509, 
Standard 4; §511, Standard 5; §513, Standard 7; §701, 
Introduction; §703, Standard 1; §705, Standard 2; §707, 
Standard 3; §709, Standard 4; §711, Standard 5; §713, 
Standard 7; §901, Introduction; §903, Standard 1; §905, 
Standard 2; §907, Standard 3; §909, Standard 4; §911, 
Standard 5; §913, Standard 7; §1101, Definitions; §1103, 
Standard 2; §1105, Standard 3; §1107, Standard 4; §1109, 
Standard 5; §1111, Standard 6; § 1113, Standard 7; §1501, 
Kindergarten Grade-Level Expectations; §1503, Grade 1 
Grade-Level Expectations; §1505, Grade 2 Grade-Level 
Expectations; §1507, Grade 3 Grade-Level Expectations; 
§1509, Grade 4 Grade-Level Expectations; §1511, Grade 5 
Grade-Level Expectations; § 1513, Grade 6 Grade-Level 
Expectations; §1515, Grade 7 Grade-Level Expectations; 
§1517, Grade 8 Grade-Level Expectations; and §1519, High 
School Grade-Level Expectations. 

Louisiana state law RS 17:24.4 requires BESE to adopt 
academic content standards, which are defined in the law as 
statements that define what a student should know or be able 
to accomplish at the end of a specific time period, grade 
level or at the completion of a course. BESE Bulletin 741, 
§2301 states, “The Louisiana content standards shall be 
subject to review and revision to maintain rigor and high 
expectations for teaching and learning.” Bulletin 102 
contains the Louisiana Physical Education standards and was 
last revised in December 2009. In response to requests from 
physical education educators and stakeholders, the LDE 
assembled a work group to review and make 
recommendations for updating the current Louisiana 
Physical Education standards. The work group was 
comprised of practitioners and stakeholders with expertise in 
physical education including elementary, middle and high 
school physical education teachers, higher education 
physical education professionals, and representatives from 
the Louisiana Association of Health Physical Education, 
Recreation and Dance (LAHPERD) the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Alliance for a Healthier Generation, 
and Governor’s Council on Physical Fitness. The proposed 
standards maintain current focus on motor skills, movement 
patterns, application of movement concepts, health-
enhancing physical activity, responsible behavior and 
enjoyment of physical activity for health. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LIII.  Bulletin 102―Louisiana Physical Education 
Content Standards 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana K-12 physical education content 
standards were developed to provide physical education 
teachers, administrators and parents a guide to understanding 
and interpreting physical education for the future. 

B. The goal of physical education is to develop 
physically literate individuals who have the knowledge, 
skills, and confidence to enjoy a lifetime of healthful 
physical activity. 

C. To pursue a lifetime of healthful physical activity, a 
physically literate individual: 

1. has learned the skills necessary to participate in a 
variety of physical activities; 

2. knows the implications and the benefits of 
involvement in various types of physical activities; 

3. participates regularly in physical activity; 
4. is physically fit; and 
5. values physical activity and its contributions to a 

healthful lifestyle. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2105 (November 2017). 

§103. Louisiana Physical Education Standards to 

Promote Physical Literacy 
A. Standard 1. The physically literate individual 

demonstrates competency in a variety of motor skills and 
movement patterns. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to provide 
students with a broad base of skills and movement patterns 
that will enhance the ability to be physically active in a 
variety of ways and continue a lifelong pattern of physical 
activity. Competency means that the students possess the 
ability and knowledge at an emerging or higher level. The 
variety of skill comes from three basic categories of 
movement skills, i.e. locomotor (moving the body from one 
location to another), manipulative (using a variety of objects 
in conjunction with the hands, feet, and other body parts), 
and non-locomotor/stability (movements of the body and its 
parts in a relatively stable position).  

B. Standard 2. The physically literate individual applies 
knowledge of concepts, principles, strategies, and tactics 
related to movement and performance. 

1. Intent. This standard addresses the need for students 
to understand related cognitive information pertinent to 
movement skills in physical education. The teaching of the 
information should be appropriate to the grade level being 
taught and is derived from the movement sciences (motor 
learning and development, sport psychology and sociology, 
biomechanics and exercise physiology). A movement 
vocabulary should be developed for each movement area 
taught. In addition, basic concepts about absorbing and 
exerting force, balance, managing stress related to changes 
in the body as one grows, stress related to expectation of 
others and self. Strategies for success should progress from 
simple to complex and be developmentally appropriate. 
Application of information should be related to real world 
skills and games that students are taught.  

C. Standard 3. The physically literate individual 
demonstrates the knowledge and skills to achieve and 
maintain a health-enhancing level of physical activity and 
fitness. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to provide the 
knowledge and methods for achieving and maintaining a 
health enhancing level of physical fitness. Students should 
be taught about fitness and its importance throughout the 
lifespan. Fitness can be derived from participating in a 
variety of activities and is important to success in activities 
as well as individual wellness. Concepts, principles, and 
strategies should also be incorporated as part of health-
related fitness [e.g. frequency of activity, intensity of 
activity, time spent in activity, and type of activity (FITT)]. 
Each student will have different interests and abilities that 
dictate the need for teachers to individualize activities, i.e. 
various levels of intensity and ways to enhance fitness.  
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D. Standard 4. The physically literate individual exhibits 
responsible personal and social behavior that respects self 
and others. 

1. Intent. Responsible behavior addresses the need for 
both self-motivated behavior as well as adherence to social 
expectations in movement settings. Students should 
understand that safe participation and respect for others is an 
important aspect of this standard. Other components of 
standard 4 are appreciation for individual and cultural 
diversity, etiquette, being proactive rather than reactive, 
adhering to rules, and giving one’s best effort.  

E. Standard 5. The physically literate individual 
recognizes the value of physical activity for health, 
enjoyment, challenge, self-expression, and/or social 
interaction. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to help students 
learn more about personal values and the importance of daily 
physical activity. Students who do not recognize the value of 
being physically active are less likely to pursue physical 
activity opportunities. The activities taught in physical 
education classes can facilitate student enjoyment of being 
physically active, openness to new activity options that are 
challenging, learning of positive social skills, and 
recognition of physical activity as an opportunity for self-
expression. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2105 (November 2017). 

§105. Definitions/Descriptions 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2106 (November 2017). 

§107. Louisiana Physical Education Standards 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2106 (November 2017). 

Chapter 3. Grades K-2 Cluster Level 
§301. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana K-2 physical education standards were 
developed to provide physical education teachers, 
administrators and parents a guide to understanding and 
interpreting physical education for the future. The primary 
focus for this age group is the learning and acquisition of 
locomotor, non-locomotor, and manipulative skills. These 
are the foundational skills for all movement patterns that 
gradually become more complex as movement becomes 
more specific. This grade cluster is also charged with 
introducing health enhancing concepts (eating well, water 
consumption, sleep, and physical activity) and the 
accompanying conceptual movement vocabulary (personal 
space/general space, forward/backward, twist/turn, 
hard/soft). These tasks can be accomplished by using a 
variety of balls (yarn, beach, playground, nerf) and other age 
appropriate manipulative equipment. Students should be 
encouraged to accept responsibility for personal level of 
fitness by introductory goal setting, identifying physical 

activity opportunities at home or in their neighborhood and 
be open to trying new activities and challenges. 

B. Standards provide criteria for all students, and other 
stakeholders that represent what students should know and 
be able to do. 

C. Physical education classes support students in 
developing the necessary skills to achieve each standard and 
outcome at a proficient level. Dodgeball and drills that may 
lead to aggressive behaviors shall be closely supervised and 
shall emphasize overall physical fitness while supporting the 
emotional and physical safety of the students. 

D. Reading the Standards. In the standards below, the 
first number listed is the number of the corresponding 
standard. The second letter or number identifies the grade 
level to which the statement pertains. Directly following the 
hyphen, the number listed states to which component within 
that standard the statement refers. Lastly, the final number 
recognizes the grade level expectation (GLE). The following 
is a guide to interpret each coded outcome: 

1. example: [1.K-2.4] Kick a stationary ball: 
a. 1 = the first number listed provides what standard 

is being identified; in this case, standard one. (This could be 
1-5, depending on the standard.); 

b. K= the number or letter listed provides the level 
targeted; in this case, kindergarten; 

c. 2= the number or letter listed provides the 
component being targeted within the standard; in this case, 
the second component related to the standard; 

d. 4 = this number listed provides the expectation 
within that component; in this case, the fourth expectation a 
student should be able to complete; 

2. the following terms are used through the standards 
as performance indicators: 

a. E = emergingstudents participate in deliberate 
practice tasks that will lead to skill and knowledge 
acquisition; 

b. M = maturingstudents can demonstrate the 
critical elements of the motor skills and knowledge 
components of the grade-level expectations, which will 
continue to be refined with practice; 

c. A = applyingstudents can demonstrate the 
critical elements of the motor skills and knowledge 
components of the grade level expectations in a variety of 
physical activity environments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2106 (November 2017). 

§303. Standard 1 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates 

competency in a variety of motor skills and movement 
patterns. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to provide 
students with a broad base of skills and movement patterns 
that will enhance the ability to be physically active in a 
variety of ways and enable a student to continue a lifelong 
pattern of physical activity. The focus is on the locomotor, 
non-locomotor and manipulative skills. By the end of the 
second grade, students should exhibit mature patterns in 
locomotor skills, demonstrate the knowledge of different 
non-locomotor skills, and throw underhand and overhand 
using a mature pattern. 
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B. Grade Level Expectations for Grades K-2 
1. Locomotor and Non-Locomotor 

a. Kindergarten 
 i. [1.K-1.1] Demonstrate walk, run, and slide 
locomotor skills. 
 ii. [1.K-1.2] Explore locomotor skills of jump, 
gallop, skip, hop, and leap in a closed environment. 
 iii. [1.K-1.3] Use non-locomotor skills in closed 
and open environment. 
 iv. [1.K-1.4] Balance using a variety of body parts 
and body shapes. 
 v. [1.K-1.5] Transfer weight by rocking and 
rolling. 
 vi. [1.K-1.6] Move in time with a changing beat. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [1.1-1.1] Demonstrate gallop and hop 
locomotor skills. 
 ii. [1.1-1.2] Perform locomotor skills while 
changing pathway, direction, and/or speed. 
 iii. [1.1-1.3] Use non-locomotor skills in closed 
and open environments and in response to verbal and 
nonverbal stimuli. 
 iv. [1.1-1.4] Balance in a variety of ways using 
equipment and/or apparatus.  
 v. [1.1-1.5] Perform a variety of different rocking 
and rolling skills. 
 vi. [1.1-1.6] Move to a rhythmic beat or pattern. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [1.2-1.1] Demonstrate all fundamental 
locomotor skills. 
 ii. [1.2-1.2] Perform combinations of locomotor, 
non-locomotor, weight transfer, and static and dynamic 
balance skills. 
 iii. [1.2-1.3] Perform combinations of non-
locomotor and locomotor skills in a movement pattern. 
 iv. [1.2-1.4] Demonstrate static and balance skills 
as part of a movement pattern.  
 v. [1.2-1.5] Perform combinations of rolling and 
balance skills. 
 vi. [1.2-1.6] Perform rhythmic dance steps and 
sequences. 

2. Manipulative 
a. Kindergarten 

 i. [1.K-2.1] Throw objects in a variety of ways to 
oneself. 
 ii. [1.K-2.2] Catch a bounced ball. 
 iii. [1.K-2.3] Use different body parts to strike a 
lightweight object and keep it in the air. 
 iv. [1.K-2.4] Kick a stationary ball. 
 v. [1.K-2.5] Dribble objects with the hand in a 
closed or open environment. 
 vi. [1.K-2.6] Roll a ball underhand. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [1.1-2.1 Throw using variations in time/force. 
 ii. [1.1-2.2] Catch a self-tossed object with hands 
or an implement. 
 iii. [1.1-2.3] Strike an object using different body 
parts. 
 iv. [1.1-2.4] Kick a ball for force using a 
backswing with the kicking leg and non-kicking leg stepping 
next to the ball with force. 

 v. [1.1-2.5] Dribble an object with hands and feet 
in a closed environment through personal and general space. 
 vi. [1.1-2.6] Roll a ball to a specified target. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [1.2-2.1] Throw overhand a variety of objects. 
Demonstrate a side orientation with critical elements. 
 ii. [1.2-2.2] Catch objects coming from different 
directions and heights. 
 iii. [1.2-2.3] Strike a variety of objects with the 
hand or an implement with purpose to control 
force/direction. 
 iv. [1.2-2.4] Kick a rolled or moving ball with the 
top of shoes.  
 v. [1.2-2.5] Dribble a ball with hands and feet 
using variations of controlled speed, direction, and pathway, 
and in relationship to objects. 
 vi. 1.2-2.6 Roll a ball or object to a moving target 
or partner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2106 (November 2017). 

§305. Standard 2 
A. Standard 2. The physically literate individual applies 

knowledge of concepts, principles, strategies, and tactics 
related to movement and performance.  

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to ensure that 
the student is able to apply the knowledge of concepts, 
principles, strategies, and tactics related to movement and 
performance. Students should be able to analyze movement 
situations and apply movement concepts (speed, direction, 
force, extensions) in small sided practice tasks and game 
environments, dance, and gymnastics. Students should also 
demonstrate competency and understanding of basic 
offensive and defensive strategies for small-sided and 
net/wall games. 

B. Grade Level Expectations K-2 
1. Movement Concepts 

a. Kindergarten 
 i. [2.K-1.1] Establish a movement vocabulary 
through exploration of body, space, effort, flow, and 
relationships. 
 ii. [2.K-1.2] Recall pathways, direction, levels, 
and relationships. 
 iii. [2.K-1.3] Distinguish between different 
degrees of effort. 
 iv. [2.K-1.4] Identify boundaries for personal and 
general space. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [2.1-1.1] Describe movement vocabulary terms 
in body, space, effort, flow, and relationships. 
 ii. [2.1-1.2] Demonstrate an understanding of 
relationships in a variety of physical activities. 
 iii. [2.1-1.3] Apply different degrees of force, 
speed, and direction when directed by the teacher. 
 iv. [2.1-1.4] Apply concepts of personal and 
general space to accomplish movement tasks. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [2.2-1.1] Apply movement vocabulary of body, 
space, effort, flow, and relationships to complete movement 
tasks. 
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 ii. [2.2-1.2] Apply movement concepts to modify 
performance. 
 iii. [2.2-1.3] Apply different degrees of effort, 
force, speed, and direction to accomplish a task. 
 iv. [2.2-1.4] Apply concepts of general and 
personal space to accomplish movement tasks in movement 
patterns, games, and tasks. 

2. Knowledge and Skill Cues 
a. Kindergarten 

 i. [2.K-2.1] Differentiate among locomotor skills. 
 ii. [2.K-2.2] Repeat cue words for fundamental 
motor skills. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [2.1-2.1] Differentiate among non-locomotor 
and manipulative skills. 
 ii. [2.1-2.2] Repeat cue words for fundamental 
motor skills and apply them to improve performance. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [2.2-2.1] Differentiate between locomotor, non-
locomotor, and manipulative skills. 
 ii. [2.2-2.2] Identify and perform locomotor, non-
locomotor, and manipulative skills. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2107 (November 2017). 

§307. Standard 3 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates the 

knowledge and skills to achieve and maintain a health-
enhancing level of physical activity and fitness. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is that students 
will be able to analyze physical activity outside of physical 
education class for fitness benefits and differentiate between 
skill and health related fitness. Students should design a 
fitness plan to maintain and enhance fitness level and 
analyze the impact of food choices relative to personal 
health and fitness. 

B. Grade Level Expectations K-2 
1. Physical Activity Knowledge 

a. Kindergarten 
 i. [3.K-1.1] Recognize and differentiate between 
physical activity and inactivity. 
 ii. [3.K-1.2] Recognize the amount of physical 
activity within physical education. 
 iii. [3.K-1.2] Recognize that food provides energy 
for physical activity. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [3.1-1.1] Identify opportunities for physical 
activity during the school day. 
 ii. [3.1-1.2 Track the amount of physical activity 
within the school day. 
 iii. [3.1-1.3] Differentiate between healthy and 
unhealthy food and beverage choices for physical activity. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [3.2-1.1] Identify opportunities for physical 
activity at school, home, and in the community. 
 ii. [3.2-1.2] Track the amount of physical activity 
within the school day. 
 iii. [3.2-1.3] Suggest alternatives to unhealthy 
food and beverage choices related to physical activity. 

2. Cardio, Flexibility, Muscular Strength, and 
Endurance 

a. Kindergarten 
 i. [3.K-2.1] Recognize activities that could be 
used to improve each component of health-related fitness. 
 ii. [3.K-2.2 Recognize that when one moves fast, 
the heart beats faster and breathing becomes faster. 
 iii. [3.K-2.3] Recognize the importance of 
muscular strength to support body weight. 
 iv. [3.K-2.4] Identify ways to stretch muscles in 
the body. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [3.1-2.]1 Identify activities that align with each 
component of health-related fitness. 
 ii. [3.1-2.2] Identify the heart as a muscle that 
grows stronger with exercise and physical activity. 
 iii. [3.1-2.3] Identify ways to strengthen muscles. 
 iv. [3.1-2.4] Identify ways to stretch muscles in 
the upper and lower body. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [3.2-2.1] Demonstrate activities that align with 
each component of health-related fitness. 
 ii. [3.2-2.2] Identify activities that increase heart 
rate. 
 iii. [3.2-2.3] Identify activities to improve 
muscular strength. 
 iv. [3.2-2.4] Identify ways to stretch muscles in 
various parts of the body. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2108 (November 2017).  

§309. Standard 4 
A. The physically literate individual exhibits responsible 

personal and social behavior that respects self and others. 
1. Intent. The intent of this standard is that students 

will demonstrate responsible interpersonal behavior (peer to 
peer, student to teacher, student to referee) in a variety of 
physical activity contexts, environments, and facilities. The 
student will be able to give correct feedback respectfully to 
peers and willing involve students with higher or lower skill 
ability into group projects/activities. The students will 
demonstrate appropriate etiquette and safety principles in a 
variety of physical activity settings.  

B. Grade Level Expectations K-2 
1. Self-Direction and Safety 

a. Kindergarten 
 i. [4.K-1.1] Respond positively to reminders of 
appropriate safety procedures. 
 ii. [4.K-1.2] Follow directions and handle 
equipment safely. 
 iii. [4.K-1.3] Work independently and safely in 
personal and shared space. 
 iv. [4.K-1.4] Explain rules related to safety and 
activity-specific procedures. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [4.1-1.1] Respond positively to reminders of 
appropriate safety procedures. 
 ii. [4.1-1.2] Follow directions and handle 
equipment safely. 
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 iii. [4.1-1.3] Demonstrate individual work safety 
around others and in a shared space. 
 iv. [4.1-1.4] Explain rules related to safety and 
activity-specific procedures. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [4.2-1.1] Respond positively to reminders of 
appropriate safety procedures. 
 ii. [4.2-1.2] Follow directions and handle 
equipment safely. 
 iii. 4.2-1.3] Participate and assess one’s behavior 
in physical activities.  
 iv. 4.2-1.4] Explain rules related to safety and 
activity-specific procedures. 

2. Cooperation and Respect 
a. Kindergarten 

 i. [4.K-2.1] Follow instructions while 
participating in physical education activities. 
 ii. [4.K-2.2] Demonstrate cooperation and 
consideration of others in partner and group physical 
activities. 
 iii. [4.K-2.3] Demonstrate willingness to work 
with a variety of partners in physical education activities. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [4.1-2.1] Follow instructions and class 
procedures while participating in physical education 
activities. 
 ii. [4.1-2.2] Describe examples of cooperation and 
sharing in a variety of physical activities. 
 iii. [4.1-2.3 Demonstrate consideration of others 
with varying skill or fitness levels while participating in 
physical education activities. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [4.2-2.1] Apply proper class procedures while 
participating in physical education activities. 
 ii. [4.2-2.2] Demonstrate cooperation with others 
when resolving conflicts in physical education activities. 
 iii. [4.2-2.3] Interact positively with others in 
partner and small group activities respecting individual 
differences. 
 iv. [4.2-2.4] Take turns using equipment or 
performing a task. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2108 (November 2017). 

§311. Standard 5 
A. The physically literate individual recognizes the value 

of physical activity for health, enjoyment, challenge, self-
expression, and/or social interaction. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to develop a 
student who is able to compare the health benefits of a 
variety of physical activities. Students are able to express 
enjoyment and/or the willingness to participate in physical 
activities that are new and different. Students will view 
physical activity as an opportunity for social interaction 
across the lifespan.  

B. Grade Level Expectations K-2 
1. Health Reasons to be Physically Active 

a. Kindergarten 
 i. [5.K-1.1] Recognize physical activity has 
positive health benefits. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [5.1-1.1] Recognize more physical activity 
leads to additional health benefits. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [5.2-1.1] Identify specific health benefits from 
participation in daily physical activity. 

2. Enjoyment 
a. Kindergarten 

 i. [5.K-2.1] Participate in physical activity 
outside of class time or during their leisure time. 

b. First Grade 
 i. [5.1-2.1] Attempt new activities presented in 
class. 

c. Second Grade 
 i. [5.2-2.1] Discuss personal choices for enjoying 
various types of physical activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2109 (November 2017). 

Chapter 5. Grades 3―5 Cluster Level 
§501. Introduction 

A. The focus of the 3-5 cluster is an increase in the 
difficulty of movement challenges presented to students in 
the form of combining movement patterns (fielding a ground 
ball, dribbling while running) that are authentic to game 
situations. Skill practice becomes more specific as the 
complexity of small sided games increases. Emphasis shifts 
to students being able to give appropriate feedback, applying 
movement concepts and working with partners or in groups 
with peers of higher or lower skill abilities. An emphasis on 
etiquette and safety of physical activity is included in all 
lessons. Health-enhancing concepts continue to focus on the 
health-related components of physical fitness and the 
benefits to overall physical health.  

B. The following standards were developed and reshaped 
in order to meet the most up-to-date goals and outcomes 
established in elementary physical education. Teachers are 
expected to review the standards and outcomes related to 
achieving the standards when planning school curriculum. 
Activities for class are chosen based on student ability to 
meet the standards, not the other way around which has 
traditionally dominated physical education. Below are 
suggestions of standards-based curriculum models that were 
designed to help teachers achieve the standards through 
evidence-based practice: 

1. teaching games for understanding; 
2. skills-theme approach; 
3. social and personal responsibility model. 

C. Through the use of appropriate practices and 
evidence-based curriculum models, teachers can develop a 
comprehensive physical education program that promotes 
enjoyment, confidence, and competence in a variety of 
fundamental movement concept. Standards provide criteria 
for all students, and other stakeholders that represent what 
students should know and be able to do. Therefore, with 
careful planning and proper assessment the following 
standards will show what students have achieved by 
graduation from high school. 

D. Physical education classes support students by 
developing the necessary skills to achieve each standard and
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outcome at a proficient level. Dodgeball and drills that may 
lead to aggressive behaviors shall be closely supervised and 
shall emphasize overall physical fitness while supporting the 
emotional and physical safety of the students. 

E. Reading the Standards. There are five standards listed 
for elementary physical education (K-5). Elementary 
requirements for Louisiana students include daily physical 
education for students. In the standards below, the first 
number listed is the number of the corresponding standard. 
The second letter or number identifies to which grade level 
the statement pertains. Directly following the hyphen, the 
number listed states which component within that standard 
the statement refers. Lastly, the final number recognizes the 
grade level expectation (GLE). Here is how to interpret each 
coded outcome: 

1. example: [1.K-2.4] Kick a stationary ball: 
a. 1 = the first number listed provides what standard 

is being identified, in this case standard one. (This could be 
1-5, depending on the standard). 

b. K= the number or letter listed provides the level 
targeted, in this case kindergarten. 

c. 2= the number or letter listed provides the 
component being targeted within the standard, in this case 
the second component related to the standard. 

d. 4 = the number listed provides the expectation 
within that component, in this case the fourth expectation a 
student should be able to complete. 

NOTE: Lesson plans, unit plans, and assessments that 
identify the standard being addressed will often cover and/or 
include more than one component outcome, and possibly 
more than one standard. 

2. The following terms are used throughout the 
standards as performance indicators: 

a. E = emergingstudents participate in deliberate 
practice tasks that will lead to skill and knowledge 
acquisition; 

b. M = maturingstudents can demonstrate the 
critical elements of the motor skills and knowledge 
components of the grade-level expectations, which will 
continue to be refined with practice; 

c. A = applyingstudents can demonstrate the 
critical elements of the motor skills and knowledge 
components of the grade-level expectations in a variety of 
physical activity environments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2109 (November 2017). 

§503. Standard 1 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates 

competency in a variety of motor skills and movement 
patterns.  

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to ensure that 
upon exiting the fifth grade, students will demonstrate 
mature patterns in fundamental motor skills and selected 
combinations of those skills. Students will be able to use 
movement concepts in small-sided practice tasks, dance, 
gymnastics, and lead up games that utilize a variety of 
equipment. 

B. Grade Level Expectations Grades 3-5 
1. Combine Skills 

a. Third Grade 
 i. [1.3-1.1] Perform a sequence of movements 
with a beginning, middle and end. 
 ii. [1.3-1.2] Jump rope demonstrating a variety of 
footwork skills. 
 iii. [1.3-1.3] Balance on different bases of support 
and on apparatus demonstrating different levels, shapes, and 
patterns. 
 iv. [1.3-1.4] Perform teacher-selected and 
developmentally appropriate dance steps and movement 
patterns. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [1.4-1.1] Perform a movement sequence 
comprised of both basic and intermediate skills. 
 ii. [1.4-1.2] Jump rope demonstrating a variety of 
footwork and arm action skills. 
 iii. [1.4-1.3] Combine balance and weight transfer 
skills in a movement sequence. 
 iv. [1.4-1.4] Combine locomotor movement 
patterns and dance steps to create and perform a dance. 

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [1.5-1.1] Perform a movement sequence 
comprised of both basic and intermediate skills with smooth 
transitions between those movements. 
 ii. [1.5-1.2] Jump rope demonstrating a variety of 
footwork, arm action skills, and/or tricks of choice. 
 iii. [1.5-1.3] Combine balance and transferring 
weight with movement skills in a gymnastics or dance 
sequence. 
 iv. [1.5-1.4] Combine skills in dances with correct 
rhythm and pattern. 

2. Application of Skills 
a. Third Grade 

 i. [1.3-2.1] Throw overhand with force using 
appropriate critical elements. 
 ii. [1.3-2.2] Catch a variety of objects in dynamic 
conditions using the critical elements. 
 iii. [1.3-2.3] Strike an object with an implement 
using the critical elements. 
 iv. [1.3-2.4] Kick a ball with the inside of the foot 
to a target using the critical elements. 
 v. [1.3-2.5] Dribble and maintain control while 
moving through space using the critical elements. 
 vi. [1.3-2.6] Send an object to a target using 
critical elements in a stable environment. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [1.4-2.1] Throw overhand with varying degrees 
of force using appropriate critical elements to reach different 
distances. 
 ii. [1.4-2.2] Catch two-handed during a game or 
game-like situation using the critical elements. 
 iii. [1.4-2.3] Strike an object with an implement 
using the critical elements. 
 iv. [1.4-2.4] Kick a ball to targets with the inside 
of the foot using the critical elements. 
 v. [1.4-2.5] Dribble with control while moving 
through space to avoid stationary objects using the critical 
elements. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2111

 vi. [1.4-2.6] Send an object to a target using 
critical elements while varying space, distance, location, and 
relationship to objects. 

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [1.5-2.1] Throw overhand to reach a medium-
sized target with sufficient force using appropriate critical 
elements. 
 ii. [1.5-2.2] Catch with an implement (e.g., glove, 
scoop) using the critical elements. 
 iii. [1.5-2.3] Strike an object with an implement 
using critical elements in relation to distance, space, and 
direction demands. 
 iv. [1.5-2.4] Receive a kick, dribble and then kick 
a ball to a target using the critical elements.  
 v. [1.5-2.5] Dribble under control during a game 
or game-like situation using the critical elements. 
 vi. [1.5-2.6] Send an object using critical elements 
while varying body, space, effort, and relationship to 
defenders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2110 (November 2017). 

§505. Standard 2 
A. The physically literate individual applies knowledge of 

concepts, principles, strategies, and tactics related to 
movement and performance. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to ensure the 
student is able to apply the knowledge of concepts, 
principles, strategies, and tactics related to movement and 
performance. Students should be able to analyze movement 
situations and apply movement concepts (speed, direction, 
force, extensions) in small-sided practice tasks and game 
environments, dance, and gymnastics. Students should also 
demonstrate competency and understanding of basic 
offensive and defensive strategies for small-sided and 
net/wall games. 

B. Grade Level Expectations Grades 3-5 
1. Strategies and Tactics 

a. Third Grade 
 i. [2.3-1.1] Modify movement to meet the 
demands of a task. 
 ii. [2.3-1.2] Explain how the characteristics of an 
object affect performance of manipulative skills. 
 iii. [2.3-1.3] Recognize offensive and defensive 
situations.  
 iv. [2.3-1.4] Identify the choices necessary to 
score a goal or point. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [2.4-1.1 Explain the importance of weight 
transfer in object propulsion skills. 
 ii. [2.4-1.2] Describe and demonstrate the correct 
movement or movement qualities based on the 
characteristics of the task and/or environment. 
 iii. [2.4-1.3] Identify open space and areas of 
space to defend in a dynamic environment. 
 iv. [2.4-1.4] Select correct decision when 
presented with a tactical problem to score.  

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [2.5-1.1] Identify similar patterns/concepts 
across related activities. 
 ii. [2.5-1.2] Analyze and modify a movement 
based on the characteristics of the task and/or environment 
in a dynamic or changing environment.  
 iii. [2.5-1.3] Demonstrate offensive and defensive 
positioning in simple game settings.  
 iv. [2.5-1.4] Demonstrate basic decision-making 
capabilities in simple performance settings. 

2. Principles and Critical Elements 
a. Third Grade 

 i. [2.3-2.1] Describe the critical elements of the 
manipulative skills and activity-specific skills. 
 ii. [2.3-2.2] Explain how appropriate practice 
improves performance. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [2.4-2.1] Identify correct and incorrect aspects 
of skill performance using critical elements.  
 ii. [2.4-2.2 Explain how to improve performance 
of a movement or skill. 

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [2.5-2.1] Apply critical elements to analyze and 
provide feedback on motor-skill performance of others. 
 ii. [2.5-2.2] Suggest ways to improve skill 
performance using the principles of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2111 (November 2017). 

§507. Standard 3 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates the 

knowledge and skills to achieve and maintain a health-
enhancing level of physical activity and fitness. 

1. Intent: The intent of this standard is that students 
will be able to analyze physical activity outside of physical 
education class for fitness benefits and differentiate between 
skill and health-related fitness. 

B. Grade Level Expectations Grades 3-5 
1. Physical Activity Knowledge 

a. Third Grade 
 i. [3.3-1.1] Identify school, home, and 
community physical activity opportunities to meet physical 
activity guidelines.  
 ii. [3.3-1.2] Track physical activity minutes inside 
and outside of school to determine progress toward daily 
recommendation.  
 iii. [3.3-1.3] Identifies foods that are beneficial for 
before and after physical activity. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [3.4-1.1] Analyze opportunities for 
participating in physical activity outside of physical 
education class. 
 ii. [3.4-1.2] Track and chart physical activity 
minutes or steps to determine progress toward daily 
recommendation. 
 iii. [3.4-1.3] Discuss the importance of hydration 
and dehydration choices relative to physical activities. 
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c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [3.5-1.1] Identify school, home, and 
community physical activity opportunities to meet physical 
activity guidelines. 
 ii. [3.5-1.2] Track and chart physical activity 
minutes to determine progress toward daily 
recommendation. 
 iii. [3.5-1.3] Analyze the impact of food choices 
relative to physical activity, youth sports, and personal 
health. 

2. Health Related Fitness Knowledge 
a. Third Grade 

 i. [3.3-2.1] Describe the concept of fitness and 
provide examples of heart rate evaluation methods. 
 ii. [3.3-2.2] Assess heart rate during physical 
activity and exercise. 
 iii. [3.3-2.3] Identify activities to improve 
muscular strength and endurance in the core area. 
 iv. [3.3-2.4] Recognize the importance of warm-
up and cool-down activities. 
 v. [3.3-2.5] Analyze the results of a fitness 
assessment to determine areas in a healthy fitness zone 
(HFZ). 
 vi. [3.3-2.6] Identify the frequency and type of 
exercise in relationship to the FITT principle. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [3.4-2.1] Completes fitness assessments (pre 
and post).  
 ii. [3.4-2.2] Link specific activities to the 
appropriate health-related fitness component. 
 iii. [3.4-2.3] Evaluate heart rate during physical 
activity and exercise to sustain a moderate to vigorous 
activity for longer periods of time. 
 iv. [3.4-2.4] Identify activities to improve 
muscular strength and endurance in the upper and lower 
body. 
 v. [3.4-2.5] Demonstrate warm-up and cool down 
relative to cardiorespiratory fitness assessment. 
 vi. [3.4-2.6] Analyze the results of a fitness 
assessment to determine areas in the HFZ and those that 
need improvement. 
 vii. [3.4-2.7] Identify strategies for progress in 
fitness. 

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [3.5-2.1] Identify and apply frequency, 
intensity, time, and type (FITT) to a fitness plan. 
 ii. [3.5-2.2] Identify specific activities that could 
improve each health-related fitness component. 
 iii. [3.5-2.3] Interpret heart rate during physical 
activity and exercise to determine appropriate level of 
intensity. 
 iv. [3.5-2.4] Identify specific activities to improve 
muscular strength and endurance throughout the body. 
 v. [3.5-2.5] Identify warm-up and cool-down 
activities. 
 vi. [3.5-2.6] Perform a nationally recognized 
fitness assessment (pre and post) comparing results to fitness 
components for good health.  
 vii. [3.5-2.7] Identify strategies for progress in 
fitness areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2111 (November 2017).  

§509. Standard 4 
A. The physically literate individual exhibits responsible 

personal and social behavior that respects self and others. 
1. Intent. The intent of this standard is that the student 

will demonstrate responsible interpersonal behavior (peer-to-
peer, student-to-teacher, student-to-referee) in a variety of 
physical activity contexts, environments, and facilities. The 
student will be able to give correct feedback respectfully to 
peers and willingly involve students with higher or lower 
skill ability into group projects/activities. The student will 
demonstrate appropriate etiquette and safety principles in a 
variety of physical activity settings. 

B. Grade Level Expectations Grades 3-5 
1. Self-Direction and Safety 

a. Third Grade 
 i. [4.3-1.1] Exhibit personal responsibility in 
teacher-directed physical activities. 
 ii. [4.3-1.2] Identify and follow equipment-
specific safety rules. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [4.4-1.1] Exhibit responsible behavior in small 
sided game activities.  
 ii. [4.4-1.2] Adjust performance to characteristics 
of the environment to ensure safe play.  
 iii. [4.4-1.3] Participate in team activities and stay 
on task with prompts and encouragement from others. 

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [4.5 1.1] Assess adherence to rules, etiquette, 
and fair play of various games and activities.  
 ii. [4.5-1.2] Model good sportsmanship to ensure 
safe play in team activities. 
 iii. [4.5-1.3] Demonstrate proper decision making 
skills while engaged in game activities. 

2. Cooperation, Respect, and Resolving Conflict 
a. Third Grade 

 i. [4.3-2.1] Work cooperatively with a partner or 
small group during class activities. 
 ii. [4.3-2.2] Cooperate with a partner or small 
group by taking turns and sharing equipment while 
participating in physical activities. 
 iii. [4.3-2.3] Demonstrate acceptance of the skill 
and ability of others through verbal and non-verbal 
communication during activities. 
 iv. [4.3-2.4] Demonstrate cooperation with others 
when resolving conflict during game play and sharing 
equipment. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [4.4-2.1] Listen, discuss options, and develop a 
plan to accomplish a partner or group task or to improve 
play during physical education activity. 
 ii. [4.4-2.2] Participate with a group in 
cooperative problem-solving activities while participating in 
physical activities. 
 iii. [4.4-2.3] Demonstrate cooperation with and 
respect for peers different from oneself during skills practice 
and within game play during physical activities. 
 iv. [4.4-2.4] Demonstrate cooperation with others 
when resolving conflict during skill practice and game play. 
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c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [4.5-2.1] Lead, follow, and support group 
members to improve play in cooperative activities and 
competitive settings. 
 ii. [4.5-2.2] Evaluate personal behavior during 
activities to ensure positive effects on others and increase 
cohesion of teams. 
 iii. [4.5-2.3] Demonstrate respectful and 
responsible behavior toward peers different from oneself 
during activity practices. 
 iv. [4.5-2.4] Demonstrate cooperation with others 
when resolving conflict during skills practice and game play. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2112 (November 2017). 

§511. Standard 5 
A. The physically literate individual recognizes the value 

of physical activity for health, enjoyment, challenge, self-
expression, and/or social interaction. 

1. Intent: The intent of this standard is to develop a 
student who is able to compare the health benefits of a 
variety of physical activities. Students are able to express 
enjoyment and/or the willingness to participate in physical 
activities that are new and different. Students will view 
physical activity as an opportunity for social interaction 
across the lifespan. 

B. Grade Level Expectations Grades 3-5 
1. Health Reasons to be Physically Active 

a. Third Grade 
 i. [5.3-1.1] Discuss the relationship between 
physical activity and good health. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [5.4-1.1] Examine the health benefits of 
participating in physical activity. 

c. Fifth Grade 
i. [5.5-1.1] Compare the health benefits of 

participation in selected physical activities.  
2. Values Physical Activity through Various Means 

a. Third Grade 
 i. [5.3-2.1] Identify reasons for enjoying a 
selected physical activity. 
 ii. [5.3-2.2] Verbalize the positive and negative 
aspects related to learning a new physical activity. 
 iii. [5.3-2.3] Describe the positive social 
interactions that comes when engaging with others in 
physical activity. 

b. Fourth Grade 
 i. [5.4-2.1] Examine the health benefits of 
participating in physical activity. 
 ii. [5.4-2.2] Identify aspects of a physical activity 
that are challenging and mastered. 
 iii. [5.4-2.3] Describe and compare positive social 
interactions when engaged in partner, small group, and large 
group activities.  

c. Fifth Grade 
 i. [5.5-2.1] Compare the health benefits of 
participation in selected physical activities. 
 ii. [5.5-2.2] Analyze the personal benefits of 
participation in an activity that is challenging. 
 iii. [5.5-2.3] Analyze the positive impact of verbal 
and non-verbal encouragement in physical activity.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2113 (November 2017). 

§513. Standard 7 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2113 (November 2017). 

Chapter 7. Grades 6―8 Cluster Level 
§701. Introduction 

A. By the end of grade 8, the learner will: 
1. apply tactics and strategies to modified game play; 
2. demonstrate fundamental movement skills in a 

variety of contexts; 
3. design and implement a health-enhancing fitness 

program; 
4. participate in self-selected physical activity; 
5. cooperate with and encourage classmates; 
6. accept individual differences; 
7. demonstrate inclusive behaviors; and 
8. engage in physical activity for enjoyment and self-

expression. 
B. Physical education classes support student 

development of the necessary skills to achieve each standard 
and outcome at a proficient level. Dodgeball and drills that 
may lead to aggressive behaviors shall be closely supervised 
and shall emphasize overall physical fitness while 
supporting the emotional and physical safety of the students. 

C. Reading the Standards: There are five standards listed 
for middle school (grades 6-8) requirements for Louisiana 
students including daily physical education for students. In 
the standards below, the first number listed is the number of 
the corresponding standard. The second letter or number 
identifies to which grade level the statement pertains. 
Directly following the hyphen, the number listed states 
which component within that standard the statement refers. 
Lastly, the final number recognizes the grade level 
expectation (GLE). Here is how to interpret each coded 
outcome: 

1. example: [1.6-1.3] Perform simple dance 
sequences: 

a. 1 = the first number listed provides what standard 
is being identified; in this case, standard one. (This could be 
1-5, depending on the standard); 

b. 6= the number or letter listed provides the level 
targeted; in this case, sixth grade; 

c. 1= the number or letter listed provides the 
component being targeted within the standard; in this case, 
the first component related to the standard; 

d. 3 = this number listed provides the expectation 
within that component; in this case, the third expectation a 
student should be able to complete. 

2. Note. Lesson plans, unit plans, and assessments that 
identify the standard being addressed will often cover and/or 
include more than one component outcome, and possibly 
more than one standard. 

3. The following terms are used throughout the 
standards as performance indicators: 
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a. E = emergingstudents participate in deliberate 
practice tasks that will lead to skill and knowledge 
acquisition; 

b. M = maturingstudents can demonstrate the 
critical elements of the motor skills and knowledge 
components of the grade-level expectations, which will 
continue to be refined with practice; 

c. A = applyingstudents can demonstrate the 
critical elements of the motor skills and knowledge 
components of the grade level expectations in a variety of 
physical activity environments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2113 (November 2017).  

§703. Standard 1 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates 

competency in a variety of motor skills and movement 
patterns. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is the 
development of the physical skills needed to enjoy 
participation in physical activities. Maturing movement 
fundamentals establish a foundation to facilitate the 
development of continued motor skill acquisition at all 
levels. 

B. Grade Level Equivalents 
1. Specialized Skills and Movement Patterns 

a. [1.6-1.1] Demonstrate simple movement patterns 
in dance, gymnastics, or fitness. 

b. [1.6-1.2] Demonstrate the critical elements of 
specialized locomotor and non-locomotor skills in a variety 
of movement forms in controlled settings.  

c. [1.6-1.3] Perform simple dance sequences.  
d. [1.7-1.1] Exhibit command of rhythm and timing 

by creating a movement sequence to music as an individual, 
with a partner, or in a small group. 

e. [1.7-1.2] Demonstrate a routine that includes a 
variety of movement patterns in dance, gymnastics or fitness 
with an individual, with a partner or small group. 

f. [1.8-1.1] Exhibit command of rhythm and timing 
by creating a movement sequence to music in a group by 
traveling, balance, and weight transfer into a smooth, 
flowing, coordinated sequence. 

2.  Invasion Games 
a. Passing 

 i. [1.6-2.1] Demonstrate a mature passing pattern 
using hand, foot, or implement for accuracy during practice 
tasks.  
 ii. [1.7-2.1] Demonstrate a mature passing pattern 
using hand, foot, or implement for distance and accuracy in 
small-sided games. 
 iii. [1.8-2.1] Demonstrate sending an object to a 
target in controlled practice to achieve successful game-
related outcomes. 

b. Receiving 
 i. [1.6-3.1] Receive with a mature pattern using 
hand, foot, or implement in practice tasks. 
 ii. [1.7-3.1] Receive with a mature pattern using 
hand, foot, or implement in small-sided games. 
 iii. [1.8-3.1] Receive with a mature receiving 
pattern using an implement in small sided games. 

c. Offensive Skills 
 i. [1.6-4.1] Demonstrate understanding of basic 
offensive tactics related to off-the-ball movements while 
participating in game-like settings.  
 ii. [1.6-4.2] Identify and perform offensive 
strategies while playing a modified version of a game or 
sport in small group activities. 
 iii. [1.7-4.1] Create space and position self in 
space to create scoring opportunities. 
 iv. [1.7-4.2] Execute at least one of the following 
designed to create open space during small-sided game play: 
pivots, fakes, and jab steps.  
 v. [1.7-4.3] Demonstrate offensive strategies used 
while playing a basic version of a team or individual sport. 
 vi. [1.8-4.1] Execute at least two of the following 
to create open space during modified game play: pivots, 
fakes, jab steps, give-and-go, V-cuts, and/or screens.  
 vii. [1.8-4.2] Applies basic offensive strategies in a 
modified version of a team or individual sport. 

d. Dribbling and Ball Control with Hands 
 i. [1.6-5.1] Dribble with dominant hand using a 
change of speed and direction in a variety of practice tasks. 
 ii. [1.7-5.1] Dribble with dominant and non-
dominant hand using a change of speed and direction in a 
variety of practice tasks. 
 iii. [1.8-5.1] Dribble with dominant and non-
dominant hand using a change of speed and direction in 
small-sided game play. 

e. Dribbling and Ball Control with Feet 
 i. [1.6-6.1] Foot-dribble or dribble with an 
implement with control, changing speed and direction in a 
variety of practice tasks. 
 ii. [1.7-6.1] Foot-dribble or dribble with an 
implement combined with passing in a variety of practice 
tasks. 
 iii. [1.8-6.1] Foot dribble or dribble with an 
implement with control, changing speed and direction during 
small-sided game play. 

f. Shooting on Goal 
 i. [1.6-7.1] Shoot on goal with power in a 
dynamic environment as appropriate to the activity. 
 ii. [1.7-7.1] Shoot on goal with power and 
accuracy in a variety of practice tasks. 
 iii. [1.8-7.1] Shoot on goal with or without an 
implement with power and accuracy during small-sided 
game play. 

g. Defensive Skills 
 i. [1.6-8.1] Demonstrate the skill cues for the 
defensive ready position (weight on balls of feet, arms 
extended, and eyes on midsection of the offensive player). 
 ii. [1.7-8.1] Slide in all directions while on 
defense without crossing feet. 
 iii. [1.8-8.1] Maintain defensive ready position 
appropriate to the sport in a small-sided invasion game. 

3. Net/Wall Games 
a. Serving 

 i. [1.6-9.1] Perform a legal underhand serve with 
control for net/wall games. 
 ii. [1.7-9.1] Execute consistently (at least 70 
percent of the time) a legal underhand serve to a 
predetermined target for net/wall games. 
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 iii. [1.8-9.1] Execute consistently (at least 70 
percent of the time) a legal underhand serve for distance and 
accuracy for net/wall games. 

b. Striking 
 i. [1.6-10.1] Strike with a mature overarm pattern 
in a net/wall game during practice tasks.  
 ii. [1.7-10.1] Strike with a mature overarm pattern 
in a net/wall game during singles, doubles, and small-sided 
games.  
 iii. [1.8-10.1] Strike with a mature overarm pattern 
in a net/wall game during singles, doubles, and small-sided 
games. 

c. Forehand and Backhand 
 i. [1.6-11.1] Demonstrate the mature form of 
forehand and backhand strokes with a short-handled 
implement in net games in practice task.  
 ii. [1.7-11.1] Demonstrate the mature form of 
forehand and backhand strokes with a long-handled 
implement in net games in singles or doubles.  
 iii. [1.8-11.1] Demonstrate the mature form of 
forehand and backhand strokes with a short- or long-handled 
implement with power and accuracy in net games in singles 
or doubles.  

d. Weight Transfer 
 i. [1.6-12.1] Transfer weight with correct timing 
for the striking pattern. 
 ii. [1.7-12.1] Transfer weight with correct timing 
using a low-to-high striking pattern with a short-handled 
implement on the forehand/backhand side. 
 iii. [1.8-12.1] Transfer weight with correct timing 
using low to high striking pattern with a short- or long-
handed implement on the forehand or backhand side. 

e. Volley 
 i. [1.6-13.1] Volley with mature form and control 
using a body part or a short-handled implement during 
practice task. 
 ii. [1.7-13.1] Volley with a mature form and 
control using a body part or a short-handled implement 
during singles, doubles, or a small-sided game. 
 iii. [1.8-13.1] Volley with a mature form and 
control using a body part or a short-handled implement 
during singles, doubles, or a small-sided game. 

4. Target Games 
a. Underhand Pattern 

 i. [1.6-14.1] Demonstrate a mature underhand 
pattern for modified target games. 
 ii. [1.7-14.1] Execute consistently (70 percent of 
the time) a mature underhand pattern for target games.  
 iii. [1.8-14.1] Perform consistently (70 percent of 
the time) a mature underhand pattern with accuracy and 
control for target games. 

b. Striking 
 i. [1.6-15.1] Strike, with an implement, a 
stationary object for accuracy in activities.  
 ii. [1.7-15.1] Strike, with an implement, a 
stationary object for accuracy and distance in activities.  
 iii. [1.8-15.1] Strike, with an implement, a 
stationary object for accuracy, distance, and power. 

5. Fielding and Striking Games 
a. Striking 

 i. [1.6-16.1] Strike a pitched ball with an 
implement with force in a variety of practice tasks. 
 ii. [1.7-16.1] Strike a pitched ball with an 
implement for power to open space in a variety of practice 
tasks. 
 iii. [1.8-16.1] Strike pitched ball with an 
implement for power to open space in a variety of small-
sided games. 

b. Catching 
 i. [1.6-17.1] Catch, with mature pattern, from 
different trajectories using a variety of objects in varying 
practice tasks. 
 ii. [1.7-17.1] Catch, with a mature pattern, from 
different trajectories in a small-sided game play. 
 iii. [1.8-17.1] Catch, with or without an 
implement, from different trajectories and speeds in a 
dynamic environment or in small-sided game play. 

6. Lifetime Activities 
a. [1.6-18.1] Demonstrate correct technique for 

basic skills in at least one self-selected individual or group 
lifetime activity. 

b. [1.7-18.1] Demonstrate correct technique for a 
variety of skills in at least one self-selected individual or 
group lifetime activity. 

c. [1.8-18.1] Demonstrate correct technique for 
basic skills on at least two self- selected individual or group 
lifetime activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2114 (November 2017).  

§705. Standard 2 
A. The physically literate individual applies knowledge 

of concepts, principles, strategies. and tactics related to 
movement and performance. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is the facilitation 
of student ability to use cognitive information to understand 
and enhance motor skill acquisition and performance. 
Students use performance feedback to increase cognitive 
understanding of a skill as well as to improve performance. 
Students learn more complex motor skills and transfer the 
knowledge learned for a higher performance and skill level.  

B. Grade Level Equivalents 
1. Invasion Games 

a. Offensive Tactics  
 i. [2.6-1.1] Demonstrate creating open space 
moving to open space without the ball and/or using a variety 
of passes, pivots, and fakes.  
 ii. [2.7-1.1] Demonstrate creating open space by 
staying spread out on offense and cutting and passing 
quickly.  
 iii. [2.8-1.1] Demonstrate creating open space by 
using a give-and-go and using fakes off the ball. 

b. Defensive Tactics  
 i. [2.6-2.1] Demonstrate reducing open space on 
defense by crashing the passer to reduce passing angles. 
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 ii. 2.7-2.1] Demonstrate reducing open space on 
defense by staying within arms-length of the opponent 
between the opponent and the goal. 
 iii. [2.8-2.1] Demonstrate reducing open space on 
defense by anticipating the speed of the object or person for 
the purpose of interception or deflection. 

2. Net and Wall Games 
a. Creating space 

 i. [2.6-3.1] Demonstrate creating open space by 
moving opponent more than one step in either direction.  
 ii. [2.7-3.1] Demonstrate creating open space by 
moving opponent from side to side and/or forward and 
backward. 
 iii. [2.8-3.1] Demonstrate creating open space by 
varying force while moving opponent from side to side 
and/or forward and backward. 

b. Tactics and Shots 
 i. [2.6-4.1] Demonstrate the ability to return to a 
home or center position to reduce offensive options for 
opponents. 
 ii. [2.7-4.1] Demonstrate one or more offensive 
shots based on an opponent’s location. 
 iii. [2.8-4.1] Demonstrate one or more offensive 
shots using placement, force, or timing to win a rally. 

3. Fielding and Striking Games 
a. Offensive Tactics 

 i. [2.6-5.1] Identify open spaces and demonstrate 
the ability to strike an object into an open space. 
 ii. [2.7-5.1] Demonstrate a variety of shots to 
open space. 
 iii. [2.8-5.1] Demonstrate a variety of shots to 
open space during small-sided game play. 

b. Defensive Tactics 
 i. [2.6-6.1] Identify a defensive play based on a 
game situation/scenario. 
 ii. [2.7-6.1] Demonstrate a defensive play when 
put in a game situation/scenario. 
 iii. [2.8-6.1 Demonstrate a defensive play during 
small-sided game play. 

4. Target Games 
a. Shot Selection 

 i. [2.6-7.1] Identify an appropriate shot or club 
based on location of the target or the score of the game. 
 ii. [2.7-7.1] Describe an appropriate shot based on 
the location of the target or the score of the game by varying 
the speed, force, or trajectory of the object. 
 iii. [2.8-7.1] Demonstrate an appropriate shot 
based on the location of the target or the score of the game 
by varying the speed, force, or trajectory of the object. 

5. Individual Performance 
a. Movement Concepts 

 i. [2.6-8.1] Demonstrate a varied application of 
force during individual performance activities. 
 ii. [2.7-8.1] Describe Newton’s first law of 
motion in one or more individual performance activities. 
 iii. [2.8-8.1] Evaluate the mechanical principles 
for a variety of movement patterns and skills to improve 
performance of self or others. 

6. Individual and Lifetime Activities 
a. Decision-Making 

 i. [2.6-9.1] Make appropriate decisions based on 
weather, level of difficulty due to conditions, or ability to 
ensure safety of self and others. 
 ii. [2.7-9.1] Analyze the situation and make 
adjustments to ensure safety of self and others. 
 iii. [2.8-9.1] Implement safe protocols in self-
selected activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2115 (November 2017). 

§707. Standard 3 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates the 

knowledge and skills to achieve and maintain a health-
enhancing level of physical activity and fitness. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is the 
development of student knowledge, skills, and willingness to 
accept responsibility for personal fitness, leading to an 
active, healthy lifestyle. Health-related fitness components 
include cardiovascular fitness, muscular strength and 
endurance, flexibility, and body composition. Expectations 
for student fitness levels should be established on a personal 
basis rather than setting a single standard for all students at a 
given grade level. Moreover, a student becomes more skilled 
in the ability to self-assess, plan, perform, interpret results, 
and monitor physical activities appropriate for developing a 
health-enhancing level of physical fitness. 

B. Grade Level Equivalents 
1. Benefits of Activity 

a. [3.6-1.1] Describe how being physically active 
leads to positive physical health benefits. 

b. [3.7-1.1] Analyze the relationship between 
physical activity levels and mental health. 

c. [3.8-1.1] Explain the connections between the 
five health-related fitness components (cardiovascular 
endurance, muscular endurance, muscular strength, 
flexibility, body composition) and overall physical, mental, 
and emotional health. 

2. Evaluates Physical Activity 
a. [3.6-2.1] Collect and reflect on personal physical 

activity assessment data. 
b. [3.7-2.1] Collect and analyze personal physical 

activity assessment data to develop a plan to improve or 
maintain physical activity levels. 

c. [3.8-2.1] Implement a plan to improve or 
maintain physical activity levels based on personal physical 
activity assessment data. 

3. Health and Skill Related Fitness 
a. [3.6-3.1] Identify the components of health-

related (cardiovascular endurance, muscular endurance, 
muscular strength, flexibility, body composition) and skill-
related fitness (balance, coordination, reaction time, agility, 
power, speed). 

b. [3.7-3.1] Describe the health-related and skill-
related fitness components. 
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c. [3.8-3.1] Compare and contrast the health-related 

and skill-related fitness components. 

4. Principles of Training 
a. [3.6-4.1] Identify the principles of training 

(specificity, overload, and progression). 
b. [3.7-4.1] Describe the principles of training. 
c. [3.8-4.1] Analyze a fitness plan for the principles 

of training. 
5. Frequency, Intensity, Time, and Type (FITT) 

Principles 
a. [3.6-5.1] Identify each of the components of the 

FITT Principle (frequency, intensity, time and type) 
b. [3.7-5.1] Describe the FITT Principle for the 

following components of health-related fitness: 
cardiovascular endurance, muscular endurance, muscular 
strength, and flexibility. 

c. [3.8-5.1] Develop a personal workout plan using 
the FITT Principle for one of the health-related fitness 
components. 

6. Phases of Exercise 
a. [3.6-6.1] Describe the role of warm-up and cool-

down regimens used for participation in physical activity. 
b. [3.7-6.1] Design a warm up and cool down 

routine for a class or self-selected physical activity. 
c. [3.8-6.1] Implement a personal or group warm up 

or cool down routine for a class or self-selected physical 
activity. 

7. Heart Rate 
a. [3.6-7.1] Describe the differences between active 

and resting heart rate.  
b. [3.7-7.1] Calculate/Find pulse and use the rating 

of perceived exertion (RPE) for activities of different 
intensities. 

c. [3.8-7.1] Analyze the relationship between pulse 
and RPE for activities of different intensities.  

8. Body Systems 
a. [3.6-8.1] Identify major muscle groups used in 

selected physical activities. Identify the role of major body 
systems (respiratory, muscular, and skeletal). 

b. [3.7-8.1] Describe the mechanisms behind 
movement of large muscle groups. 

c. [3.8-8.1] Explain the role of the respiratory, 
muscular, and skeletal systems and the interactions during 
physical activity. 

9. Technology 
a. [3.6-9.1] Identify and/or use technology to 

monitor fitness. 
b. [3.7-9.1] Describe the benefits of and/or uses 

technology to monitor fitness.  
c. [3.8-9.1] Apply the use of various forms of 

technology to the concept of monitoring fitness and/or use 
various forms of technology to monitor fitness. 

10. Assessment and Program Planning 
a. [3.6-10.1] Develop SMART (specific, 

measurable, attainable, realistic, and timely) goals for 
improving or maintaining all areas of health-related fitness 
(cardiovascular endurance, muscular endurance, muscular 
strength, flexibility, and body composition) based on fitness 
assessment results. 

b. [3.7-10.1] Uses SMART goals to design a 
personal workout plan based on results of at least two 
health-related fitness assessments. 

c. [3.8-10.1] Design and implement a personal 
workout plan based on results of at least two health-related 
fitness assessments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2116 (November 2017). 

§709. Standard 4 
A. The physically literate individual exhibits responsible 

personal and social behavior that respects self and others. 
1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to reflect 

development towards self-initiated behaviors that promote 
personal and group success in all physical activities that can 
be transferred to college, career, and life. These behaviors 
include but are not limited to safe practices, adherence to 
rules and procedures, etiquette, cooperation, teamwork, 
ethical behavior, and positive social interaction and 
inclusion, and also include respect toward teachers, other 
students, and the environment. Key to the standard is 
developing respect and appreciation for individual 
similarities and differences among participants in physical 
activity.  

B. Grade Level Equivalents 
1. Personal Responsibility  

a. [4.6-1.1] Exhibit personal responsibility by using 
appropriate etiquette, demonstrating respect for facilities, 
and exhibiting safe behaviors in a physical education setting. 

b. [4.7-1.1] Exhibit responsible social behaviors by 
cooperating with classmates, demonstrating inclusive 
behaviors, and supporting classmates in physical education 
activities.  

c. [4.8-1.1] Accept responsibility for individual 
improvement of levels physical activity and fitness. 

d. [4.6-2.1] Identify and use appropriate strategies 
to self-reinforce positive fitness behaviors, such as positive 
self-talk.  

e. [4.7-2.1] Demonstrate both intrinsic and extrinsic 
motivation by selecting opportunities to participate in 
physical activity outside of class. 

f. [4.8-2.1] Use effective self-monitoring skills to 
incorporate opportunities for physical activity in and out of 
school setting. 

2. Providing and Receiving Feedback  
a. [4.6-3.1] Demonstrate self-responsibility by 

modifying performance utilizing specific corrective 
feedback to improve execution during skill practice. 

b. [4.7-3.1] Observe and analyze the performance of 
other students to provide corrective feedback using teacher-
generated guidelines while practicing a variety of skills. 

c. [4.8-3.1] Demonstrate the ability to provide 
positive encouragement and corrective feedback to peers 
without prompting from the teacher during play, practice, or 
discussions in a physical activity setting. 

3. Working with Others 
a. Conflict Resolution 

 i. [4.6-4.1] Accept differences among classmates 
in physical development, maturation, and varying skill levels 
by providing encouragement and positive feedback during 
skill practice, game play, and dance activities. 
 ii. [4.7-4.1] Demonstrate cooperation skills by 
establishing rules and guidelines for resolving conflicts 
during physical education activities.  
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 iii. [4.8-4.1] Respond appropriately to ethical and 
unethical behavior of participants during physical activity by 
using the rules and guidelines for conflict resolution as 
established by the teacher. 

b. Cooperation and Accepting Others 
 i. [ 4.6-5.1] Cooperate with others of different 
genders, cultures, ethnicities, abilities, and skill levels in 
physical activity settings.  
 ii. [4.7-5.1] Participate in a sport, game, and/or 
dance as a means to interact with individuals of diverse 
backgrounds. 
 iii. [4.8-5.1] Contribute positively to team building 
and/or problem solving activities. 

4. Rules and Etiquette 
a. [4.6-6.1] Demonstrate basic rules and etiquette 

during individual and group physical activities (dance, 
individual, team, and lifetime). 

b. [4.7-6.1] Demonstrate understanding of rules and 
etiquette by self-directing physical activities (dance, 
individual, team, and lifetime).  

c. [4.8-6.1] Apply rules and etiquette by acting as 
an official for physical activities (dance, individual, team, 
and lifetime). 

5. Safety 
a. [4.6-7.1] Use physical activity and fitness 

equipment appropriately and safely, and follow safety 
protocols with teacher guidance. 

b. [4.7-7.1] Use independently physical activity and 
fitness equipment appropriately, and independently follow 
safety protocols. 

c. [4.8-7.1] Identify specific safety concerns 
associated with physical activity and fitness equipment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2117 (November 2017).  

§711.Standard 5 
A. The physically literate individual recognizes the value 

of physical activity for health, enjoyment, challenge, self-
expression, and/or social interaction. 

1. Intent. This standard reflects the development of an 
awareness of intrinsic values and benefits of participation in 
physical activity that provides personal meaning. Physical 
activity can be enjoyable, challenging, and fun, and provides 
opportunities for self-expression and social interaction. 
These benefits can develop self-confidence, promote a 
positive self-image, and continue a healthy, active lifestyle. 
As a result of these benefits of participation, students will 
begin to actively pursue life-long physical activities that 
meet their own needs. 

B. Grade Level Equivalents 
1. Challenge 

a. [5.6-1.1] Identify a specific activity that is played 
because the student finds it challenging. 

b. [5.7-1.1] Develop solutions and strategies for 
overcoming challenges faced in physical activity settings. 

c. [5.8-1.1] Apply strategies for overcoming 
individual or group challenges in a physical activity setting. 

2. Self-Expression and Enjoyment 
a. [5.6-2.1] Describe how physical activity provides 

the opportunity for enjoyment and self-expression, and 

identify strategies that can be used to increase enjoyment 
and/or self-expression. 

b. [5.7-2.1] Explain the relationship between self-
expression and lifelong enjoyment through physical activity. 

c. [5.8-2.1] Select to participate in an enjoyable 
activity that prompts individual self-expression.  

3. Social Interaction 
a. [5.6-3.1] Identify a specific physical activity in 

which a student participates because of the opportunity for 
social interaction. 

b. [5.7-3.1] Analyze specific physical activities for 
the opportunity for social interaction. 

c. [5.8-3.1] Discuss the social benefits of 
participating in a self-selected physical activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2118 (November 2017). 

§713. Standard 7 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2118 (November 2017). 

Chapter 9. Grades 9―12 Cluster Level 
§901. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana physical education content standards 
were developed to provide physical education teachers, 
administrators, and parents a guide to understanding and 
interpreting physical education for the future. This new view 
on physical education places a greater emphasis on 
participating in regular physical activity (PA) and creating 
plans for lifelong fitness. High school physical education 
seeks to develop students who acquire knowledge and 
understand the implications and benefits of PA by providing 
students with the opportunity to develop physical, cognitive, 
and social competency through participation in 
team/individual sports and lifetime activities. The 
characteristics of high school physical education are 
intended to produce physically literate individuals with 
intentions of maintaining lifelong health (SHAPE, 2014). 
Based on the developmental stage of the students, as well as 
the goal of lifelong health, the following items should be 
taught, emphasized, and incorporated through a variety of 
lifetime activities in high school physical education: The five 
health-related fitness components (i.e., body composition, 
cardiovascular endurance, flexibility, muscular strength, and 
muscular endurance), FITT (i.e., frequency, intensity, time, 
and type) principles, and basic training principles (e.g., 
overload, progression, and specificity).  

B. Standards provide criteria for students and other stake 
holders that represent what students should know and be 
able to do. Therefore, with careful planning and proper 
assessment the following standards will show what students 
have achieved by graduation from high school. 

C. Physical education classes support students in 
developing the necessary skills to achieve each standard and 
outcome at a proficient level. Dodgeball and drills that may 
lead to aggressive behaviors shall be closely supervised and 
shall emphasize overall physical fitness while supporting the 
emotional and physical safety of the students. 
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D. Reading the Standards. There are 5 standards listed 
for high school physical education (grades 9-12). High 
school requirements for Louisiana students include 1.5 units 
of physical education, meaning two full compulsory 
semesters. In the standards below, level 1 represents the first 
year or unit of required physical education and level 2 
represents the standards that should be completed in the 
second year or unit of physical education. Within each 
standard is a series of components that represent the 
subareas that fall within each of the given standards. Lastly, 
there is at least one outcome that represents each of the 
components. When all outcomes are completed through 
practice and assessment, one can infer a standard has been 
met. Here is how to interpret each coded outcome: 

1. example: [1.HS1-3] Demonstrate competency in 
movement skills in at least one physical activity (yoga, 
jogging/running, weight training, etc.) that helps improve 
health-related fitness: 

a. 1 = the first number listed provides what standard 
is being identified; in this case, standard one. (This could be 
1-5, depending on the standard); 

b. HS1 = the number listed provides the level or 
semester of required physical education targeted. In this 
case, high school level 1 is represented, as is the first 
required semester of physical education standards and 
outcomes. Other possible codes could be HS2, meaning the 
outcomes represented at the component level for each 
standard in the level 2 category; 

c. following the dash (-), all things on the right side 
identify the component and grade-level expectation; 

d. 3 = the number listed provides the component 
being targeted within the standard; in this case, component 3 
of standard one is being targeted. (Number depends on how 
many components are presented in the particular standard); 

e. If another number is listed on the right side of the 
dash (-) following the component (e.g. 3.2), that indicates 
more than one grade level expectation (GLE) for that 
specific component; 

NOTE: Lesson plans, unit plans, and assessments that identify 
the standard being addressed will often cover and/or include 
more than one component outcome, and possibly more than one 
standard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2118 (November 2017).  

§903. Standard 1 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates 

competency in a variety of motor skills and movement 
patterns.  

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is the 
development of the physical skills needed to enjoy 
participation in physical activities. Maturing movement 
fundamentals is solidifying a high school student’s 
foundational movement. Continued skill acquisition is 
encouraged in a variety of activities that may be new to 
students, who will be expected to gain proficiency in those 
targeted skills. 

B. Grade Level Expectations High School 
1. Level 1 

a. Games and Sports 
 i. [1.HS1-1] Demonstrate competency in 
movement forms (throwing, catching, dribbling, volleying, 
etc.) and manipulative skills (striking with an implement) in 
at least one team and one individual sport, respectively 
(invasion, net/wall, field/striking, target, track and field, 
etc.). 

b. Lifetime Activity Pursuits 
 i. [1.HS1-2] Demonstrate competency in activity-
specific skills in at least one non-traditional physical activity 
(yoga, aquatics, rock climbing, geocaching, disc golf, 
dancing, fishing, camping, canoeing, archery, etc.). 

c. Health Related Fitness 
 i. [HS1-3] Demonstrate competency in 
movement skills in at least one physical activity (yoga, 
jogging/running, weight training, etc.) that helps improve 
health-related fitness. 

2. Level 2 
a. Games and Sports 

 i. [1.HS2-1] Demonstrate competency in a 
different skill from Level 1 (throwing, catching, dribbling, 
volleying, etc.) and manipulative skills (striking with an 
implement) in at least one team and one individual sport, 
respectively (invasion, net/wall, field/striking, target, track 
and field, etc.). 

b. Lifetime Activity Pursuits 
 i. [1.HS2-2] Demonstrate competency in a 
different activity-specific skills in at least one non-traditional 
physical activity not demonstrated in Level 1 (yoga, 
aquatics, rock climbing, geocaching, disc golf, dancing, 
fishing, camping, canoeing, archery, etc.) 

c. Health Related Fitness 
 i. [1.HS 2-3] Demonstrate competency in 
advanced movement skills, different from level 1, in at least 
one physical activity (yoga, jogging/running, weight 
training, etc.) that helps maintain health-related fitness. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2119 (November 2017).  

§905. Standard 2 
A. The physically literate individual applies knowledge 

of concepts, principles, strategies, and tactics related to 
movement and performance. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is the facilitation 
of the student ability to use cognitive information to enhance 
motor skill acquisition and performance experienced in the 
grade levels leading up to high school. Students use 
performance feedback and self-analysis to increase the 
cognitive understanding of a skill or principle with the goal 
of improving performance. As complexity increases, 
students will learn to transfer knowledge and cognitive skills 
for performance outside of school. 

B. Grade Level Expectations High School 
1. Level 1 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2120

a. Games and Sports 
 i. [2. HS1-1] Describe principles and tactics 
(offense, defense, etc.) to participate successfully in at least 
one team and one individual sport, respectively (invasion, 
net/wall, field/striking, target, track and field, etc.). 

b. Lifetime Activity Pursuits 
 i. [2. HS1-2] Describe and implement core 
concepts and principles to participate successfully in at least 
one non-traditional activity (yoga, aquatics, rock climbing, 
geocaching, disc golf, dancing, fishing, camping, canoeing, 
archery, etc.). 

2. Level 2 
a. Games and Sports 

 i. [2.HS2-1] Apply tactics and strategies (offense, 
defense, etc.) in at least one team and one individual sports, 
respectively (invasion, net/wall, field/striking, target, track 
and field, etc.). 

b. Lifetime Activity Pursuits 
 i. [2.HS2-2] Analyze and evaluate performance 
of self and others for proper technique and efficiency in at 
least one non-traditional activity (yoga, aquatics, rock 
climbing, geocaching, dancing, fishing, camping, canoeing, 
archery, disc golf, etc.). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2119 (November 2017). 

§907. Standard 3 
A. The physically literate individual demonstrates the 

knowledge and skills to achieve and maintain a health-
enhancing level of physical activity. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is the 
development of student knowledge, skills, and willingness to 
accept responsibility for personal fitness. Health-relating 
fitness components, FITT, and training principles will guide 
student ability to plan and execute goals for active and 
healthy living. Expectations for student fitness levels should 
be established on a personal basis rather than setting a single 
standard for all students at a given grade level. Students at 
the HS level will solidify the ability to self-assess, plan, 
perform, interpret, and monitor physical activity decisions 
for appropriate health-enhancing levels of physical fitness. 

B. Grade Level Expectations High School 
1. Level 1 

a. Fitness in Games and Sports 
i. [3.HS1-1] Identify different health-related fitness 

principles needed for gameplay in at least one team and one 
individual sport, respectively (invasion, net/wall, 
field/striking, target, track and field, etc.).  

b. Individual Health Related Fitness 
 i. [3.HS1-2] Analyze current physical fitness 
levels and develop goals to improve or maintain a physically 
healthy lifestyle. 

c. Lifetime Activity Pursuits 
 i. [3.HS1-3] Evaluate safety and risks of lifetime 
activities one could pursue for fitness throughout the 
lifespan.  

d. Physical Activity and Fitness in the Community 
 i. [3.HS1-4] Identify physical activities and 
facilities in the community that one can pursue to meet 
fitness goals. 

e. Fitness and Planning 
 i. [3.HS1-5] Design and implement a personal 
fitness plan to maintain or improve ones’ personal fitness 
using fitness assessment scores, health-related fitness 
principles, FITT principle, and basic training principles. 

2. Level 2 
a. Fitness in Games and Sports 

 i. [3.HS2-1] Incorporate health-related fitness 
principles needed for gameplay in at least one team and one 
individual sport, respectively (invasion, net/wall, 
field/striking, target, track and field, etc. 

b. Individual Health Related Fitness 
 i. [3.HS2-2] Evaluate goals to improve or 
maintain a physically health lifestyle after graduating from 
high school.  

c. Lifetime Activity Pursuits 
 i. [3.HS2-3] Evaluate barriers to pursuing 
lifetime activities through the lifespan and strategies to 
overcome them.  

d. Physical Activity and Fitness in the Community 
 i. [3.HS2-4] Develop a physical fitness and/or 
health plan using community resources (facilities, clubs, 
programs, etc.) to maintain or improve one’s fitness goals.  

e. Fitness and Planning 
 i. [3.HS2-5] Use fitness assessment scores (i.e. 
health-related fitness principles, FITT principle, and basic 
training principles), to revise personal fitness plan with the 
goal of maintaining a health and active lifestyle after 
graduation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2120 (November 2017). 

§909. Standard 4 
A. The physically literate individual exhibits responsible 

personal and social behavior that respects self and others. 
1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to reflect 

development of self-initiated behaviors that promote 
personal and group success in all physical activities that can 
be transferred to college, career, and life. These behaviors 
include, but are not limited to, sage practices, adherence to 
rules and procedures, cooperation, teamwork, ethical 
behavior, and positive social interaction and inclusion.  

B. Grade Level Equivalents 
1. Level 1 

a. Personal Responsibility  
 i. [4.HS1-1] Identify benefits and barriers of 
activities and modify physical activity patterns as needed. 

b. Social Responsibility  
 i. [4.HS1-2.1] Demonstrate skills such as 
communication, problem solving, and critical thinking while 
working with others in a physical activity setting.  
 ii. [4.HS1-2.2] Accept other values, ideas, skill 
level, body type, and cultural diversity while engaging with 
others in the physical activity setting. 

c. Safety and Etiquette 
 i. [4.HS1-3.1] Apply safe practices that best fit 
the physical activity or exercise.  
 ii. [4.HS1-3.2] Apply proper etiquette required for 
the environment of a specialized activity setting. 
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2. Level 2 
a. Personal Responsibility  

 i. [4.HS2-1] Demonstrate self-direction and 
management through records of in class and out of class 
physical activity choices. 

b. Social Responsibility  
 i. [4.HS2-2] Identify ways to modify group 
physical education activities or behaviors to accommodate 
for individuals with lessor or greater skills or special needs. 

c. Safety and Etiquette 
 i. [4.HS2-3.1] Identify unsafe practices and offer 
appropriate alternatives in physical activity settings. 
 ii. [4.HS2-3.2] Examine moral and ethical 
conduct in cooperative and/or competitive situations in 
physical education settings.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2120 (November 2017). 

§911. Standard 5 
A. The physically literate individual will recognize the 

value of physical activity for health, enjoyment, challenge, 
self-expression, and social interaction. 

1. Intent. The intent of this standard is to reflect the 
development of an awareness of the benefits and 
implications that physical activity provides and promote 
intrinsic values through personal meaning. Physical activity 
can be enjoyable, challenging, and fun, and provides 
opportunities for self-expression and social interaction. 
These benefits can develop self-confidence, promote 
positive self-image, and continue toward a healthy active 
lifestyle. As a result of these benefits of participation and 
internalization, students will begin to actively pursue life-
long physical activities that meet individual needs.  

B. Grade Level Expectations High School 
1. Level 1 

a. Health 
 i. [5.HS1-1] Analyze the value and benefits of a 
self-selected physical activity to physical health.  

b. Challenge 
 i. [5.HS1-2.1] Identify the challenges of learning 
a new activity.  
 ii. [5.HS1-2.2] Choose an appropriate level of 
challenge to experience success in a physical activity.  

c. Self-Expression and Enjoyment 
 i. [5.HS1-3] Select an activity that meets the 
need for self-expression. 

d. Social Interaction 
 i. [5.HS1-4] Identify the benefits of social groups 
and interactions while participating in physical activities. 

2. Level 2 
a. Health 

 i. [5.HS2-1] Analyze the value and benefits of a 
self-selected physical activity to mental and emotional 
health. 

b. Challenge 
 i. [5.HS2-2] Express the feelings associated with 
participating in physical activities that are optimally 
challenging. 

c. Self-Expression and Enjoyment 
 i. [5.HS2-3] Explain activities that would be 
enjoyable for lifetime physical activity pursuits. 

d. Social Interaction 
 i. [5.HS2-4] Evaluate opportunities for social 
interaction and social support in self-selected physical 
activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
amended LR 43:2121 (November 2017).  

§913. Standard 7 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2121 (November 2017). 

Chapter 11. Glossary 
§1101. Definitions 

Aerobic Activityany sustained exercise that stimulates 
and strengthens the heart and lungs, thereby improving the 
body’s use of oxygen. Examples of aerobic exercise include 
jogging, rowing, swimming, or cycling. 

Aerobic Capacitythe maximum rate at which the body 
or an individual muscle can take up and use oxygen from the 
air; also known as maximal oxygen consumption (uptake) or 
VO2 max. 

Affectivetraits and feelings associated with social, 
personal, and emotional development. 

Agilitythe ability to change direction quickly while the 
body is in motion. 

Anaerobic Activityany short-duration exercise that is 
powered primarily by metabolic pathways that do not use 
oxygen. Examples of anaerobic exercise include sprinting 
and weight lifting. 

Body Compositionthe proportion of fat-free mass (e.g., 
muscle, bone, organs, and tissues) to fat mass in the body. 

Body Mass Index (BMI)formula used to assess body fat 
based on a ratio between height and weight. 

Cardiovascular Endurancea component of health-
related fitness that describes the ability of the heart, blood 
vessels, and respiratory system to supply oxygen and 
nutrients to the muscles during exercise. 

Circuit Trainingtraining that involves several different 
exercises or activities. This type of training allows variation 
in the intensity or type of activity from station to station. 

Closed Skillsmotor skills that are performed in an 
environment that is stable and predictable. 

Competencythe development of sufficient skill and 
knowledge to enjoy participation in the activity at a 
recreational level. For example, a person is considered 
competent in performing psycho- motor skills when he/she 
can perform the task consistently with good technique. 

Complex Movement Sequencesmovements that require a 
combination of motor skills. 

Components of Health-Related Fitnessaspects of 
physical fitness that help one stay healthy. Examples 
include:  
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1. body compositionall of the tissues that together 
make up the body: bone, muscle, skin, fat, and body organs; 

2. cardiovascular endurancethe ability of the heart, 
lungs, and blood vessels to use and send fuel and oxygen to 
the body’s tissues during long periods of moderate-to-
vigorous activity; 

3. flexibilitythe ability to move the joints through a 
full range of motion; 

4. muscular skeletal endurance and strengththe 
ability of the muscles to perform physical tasks over a period 
of time without becoming fatigued, and the amount of force 
a muscle can exert. 

Components of Skill-Related Fitnessaspects of physical 
fitness that help one perform well in sports and other 
activities that require certain physical skills. Examples 
include: 

1. agilitythe ability to change body position quickly 
and to control one’s physical movements; 

2. balancethe ability to keep an upright posture 
while stationary or moving; 

3. coordinationthe ability to use senses together 
with body parts, or to use two or more body parts together; 

4. powerthe ability to use strength quickly; 

5. reaction timethe ability to react or respond 
quickly to what one hears, sees, or feels; 

6. speedthe ability to perform a movement or cover 
a distance in a short period of time.  

Cool-Downa period of light activity following exercise 
that allows the body to return to near resting. 

Cooperativeworking or acting together for a common 
purpose. 

Coordinationthe ability to use different parts of the 
body together smoothly and efficiently. 

Defensea means or method of defending or protecting.  

Developmentally Appropriate Activitiesactivities that 
are appropriately based on a student’s developmental level, 
age, ability level, interests, and previous experience and 
knowledge. 

Directionsrefers to movement concepts of forward, 
backward, sideways, right, left, up, down, clockwise and 
counter clockwise. 

Effortdefines how the body moves and consists of three 
components: time (faster or slower), force (harder or softer), 
and flow (bound or free). 

Emerging Patternthe beginning stage of acquiring 
motor skills and knowledge.  

Exercisephysical activity that is planned, structured, and 
repetitive, and results in the improvement or maintenance of 
personal fitness. 

FITTfrequency, intensity, time, and type. Four key ways 
that activity can be manipulated to create a desired health 
related fitness outcome. 

Field/Striking Gamesgames in which one team occupies 
positions throughout the space (field) and the other team 
tries to score by batting or striking an object into open space, 
with enough time for the hitter to run between bases (or 
wickets).  

Fine Motor Skillssmall muscle group movements used 
for accuracy.  

Fitness Plana plan developed after a self-assessment of 
the health related components of fitness. The plan should 
include the principles of overload, progression, specificity, 
regularity, and individuality along with the FITT guidelines. 

Fleeingtraveling quickly away from a pursuing person 
or object.  

Flexibilitythe ability to move the joints through the full 
range of motion.  

Flowindicates a constant movement rate (slow, medium 
or fast). 

Forcethe effort or tension generated through muscle 
contraction during a push or pull action. 

Formative Assessmentan initial or intermediate 
evaluation that occurs throughout an instructional process in 
the forms of teacher observation, peer observation, rating, 
checklists, and so forth, and involves both the teacher and 
the student in reflection and review of progress. The 
evaluation is used to improve learning and performance and 
to provide feedback and enables a student to target 
weaknesses. 

Fundamental Motor Skillfoundation movements that are 
precursor patterns to the more specialized, complex skills 
(body management skills, locomotor skills, and manipulative 
skills) that are used in play, games, sports, dance, 
gymnastics, outdoor education, and physical recreation. 

GLEgrade level expectation. 

Games 

1. invasion gamesgames in which teams score by 
moving an object into another team’s territory and either 
shooting into a fixed target (a goal or basket) or moving the 
object across an open-ended target (a line); 

2. net/wall gamesteam or players score by hitting a 
ball into open court space with accuracy so the opponent 
cannot return it back before bouncing once (i.e. volleyball or 
badminton) or twice (i.e. tennis or racquetball; 

3. striking/fielding gamesgames in which players on 
the batting team must strike an object with accuracy to elude 
players on the fielding teach (i.e. baseball, cricket), which 
provides the hitter time to run between safe destinations (i.e. 
bases or wickets); 

4. target gamesgames in which players score by 
throwing or striking an object to a target, which can be 
opposed (i.e. shuffleboard) or unopposed (i.e. golf). 

General Spacethe area outside of an individual’s 
personal space and within the boundaries of movement, such 
as in a classroom, field, or gym. 

HFZhealthy fitness zone. 

Health-Enhancing Physical Activityactivity that, when 
added to baseline activity, produces health benefits. Brisk 
walking, jumping rope, dancing, tennis, soccer, lifting 
weights, climbing on playground equipment at recess, and 
doing yoga are all examples of health-enhancing physical 
activity.  

Health Related Fitnesslevel of physiological 
functioning in: 

1. cardiovascular endurance; 
2. strength; 
3. muscular endurance; 
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4. flexibility; and 
5. body composition. 

Heart Ratethe number of heartbeats occurring within a 
specified length of time 

Implementdevice used in the performance of a 
manipulative task.  

Indicators of Healthphysical, mental, emotional, and 
social functioning.  

Individualitythe training principle that takes into 
account that each person begins at a different level of fitness, 
each person has personal goals and objectives for physical 
activity and fitness, and each person has different genetic 
potential for change. 

Individual-Performance Activitiesactivities that do not 
involve teamwork.  

Intrinsic Motivationa desire to seek out new things and 
new challenges that is driven by personal interest or 
enjoyment in the task and does not rely on external pressures 
or a desire for reward.  

Isokineticrelating to muscular action with a constant 
rate of movement.  

Isometric Exercisean action in which a muscle 
generates tension without changing length.  

Isotonic Contractionan action in which tension remains 
constant, despite a change in muscle length.  

Leading Passa throw in which a manipulative is thrown 
ahead of the intended receiver so that the receiver can catch 
the manipulative while in motion.  

Lead-Up Activity/Gamean activity or modified game 
developed to limit the number of skills needed for successful 
participation.  

Levelrefers to the movement concepts of high, medium, 
and low. 

Lifestyle Activitiesphysical activities that a person 
carries out in the course of daily life and that can contribute 
to sizeable energy expenditure. 

Lifetime Activityan activity that is suitable for 
participation across the lifespan. 

Locomotor Skill/Movementsbasic movements 
performed while moving the body from place to place.  

MVPAmoderate to vigorous physical activity. 

Manipulativean object designed to be moved by hand as 
a means of developing motor skills. 

Manipulative Movementsbasic motor skills involving 
handling an object. Examples include throwing, catching, 
kicking, rolling, dribbling, trapping, striking, and volleying. 

Manipulative Skillmovement done to or with objects 
with hands, or involving the feet, hands, or other parts of the 
body.  

Masteryshowing great skill or knowledge. 

Mature Formperformance of critical elements of a skill 
in a smooth and continuous motion.  

Maximum Heart Rate (MHR)the fastest rate at which a 
heart will beat in one minute. 

Modified Gamesgames in which the rules have been 
modified to emphasize use of specific skills, maximize 
physical activity and /or practice opportunities.  

Motor Skill Combinationsactions involving two or more 
different motor skills, including gross motor skills and fine 
motor skills: 

1. continuous skillsactions repeated one after 
another such as basketball dribble, and do not have a clearly 
defined beginning and end; 

2. discrete skillsactions unconnected to other skills 
such as the volleyball pass, and have a clear beginning and 
end.  

Movement Challengea movement task that involves 
problem solving. 

Movement Conceptsknowledge and understanding of 
movement such as body awareness (what the body can do), 
space awareness (where does the body move), qualities of 
movement (how does the body move), and relationships 
(with whom and with what does the body move).  

Muscular Endurancethe ability of the muscles to 
perform physical tasks over a period of time without 
becoming fatigued.  

Muscular Strengththe maximal force that one can exert 
when contracting muscles. 

Musculoskeletal Fitnessa combination of muscular 
strength, muscular endurance, and power.  

MyPlatea food guidance system that translates 
nutritional recommendations into the types and amounts of 
food to eat each day; a widely recognized nutrition education 
tool. See ChooseMyPlate.gov. 

Non-Locomotor Skillmovement of the body around an 
axis or joint (e.g., bend, stretch, twist, and reach). 

Norm-Referenced Standardsmaking an evaluative 
decision based on how a performance compares with that of 
others, typically of the same gender, age, or class. 

Offensea means or methods of attacking or attempting 
to score.  

Open Skillmotor skills that are performed in a changing 
environment. 

Open Spacea space where there are no 
defenders/opponents.  

Overloadingincreasing the work done by muscles to 
above normal levels, but below the loads that would cause 
injury or distress, to improve fitness. 

PACERprogressive aerobic cardiovascular endurance 
run. A test for cardiorespiratory fitness. 

Pacingan established rate of locomotion. 

Pathwaysrefers to movement patterns of curved, zig-
zag, or straight locomotion. 

Personal Spacethe area immediately surrounding a 
person.  

Physical Activity (PA)bodily activity that enhances or 
maintains physical fitness and overall health and wellness.  

Physical Educationan education course that helps 
students develop the knowledge, fitness levels, motor skills, 
and personal/social skills to obtain the ultimate goal of a 
lifetime of physical activity and health.  

Physical Fitnessthe ability to carry out daily tasks with 
vigor and alertness, without undue fatigue, and with ample 
energy to enjoy leisure-time pursuits and respond to 
emergencies.  

Physical Literacya disposition acquired by individuals 
encompassing the motivation, confidence, physical 
competence, knowledge, and understanding that establishes 
purposeful physical pursuits as an integral part of a lifestyle. 
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Powerthe ability to move body parts swiftly while at the 
same time applying the maximum force on muscles.  

Proficiencythe ability of the individual to demonstrate 
the criteria of a given task has been met.  

Progressionthe process of increasing the intensity, 
duration, frequency, or amount of activity or exercise as the 
body adapts to a given activity pattern. 

Protocola system of rules or directions that explain the 
correct conduct and the procedures to be followed in formal 
situations.  

Range of Motion (ROM)varying degrees of motion 
around a joint. 

Reaction Timethe ability to react or respond quickly to 
what one hears, sees, or feels.  

Recessa temporary break from structured learning 
where children can choose to be physically active or engage 
in social interactions.  

Recovery Timetime or rest between exercises. 

Regularityprinciple that states physical activity must be 
performed on a regular basis to be effective and that long 
periods of inactivity can lead to loss of the benefits achieved 
during the training period. 

Repetitionthe number of times that an exercise is 
performed during one set. 

Respiratory Systemrelating to breathing. System in the 
body that takes in and distributes oxygen. 

Rhythmic Skillsmovement that aligns to a steady pulse 
or musical beat. Examples include creative movement to 
music, multicultural dance, and jump rope.  

SMART Goalscriteria for setting useful objectives. 
SMART goals are: 

1. specific; 
2. measurable; 
3. attainable/achievable; 
4. realistic/relevant; and 
5. timely/time bound/timeline. 

Scoring Rubricdescriptive scoring schemes developed 
by educators to guide the analysis of student work (i.e. the 
products or processes of student efforts). 

Self-Assessment 
1. the student assesses personal progress as opposed to 

being assessed by the teacher or by other students. Self-
assessments include: 

a. rating scales for levels of performance; 
b. participation; 
c. recording performance scores (e.g., distance, 

accuracy); and 
d. summary report after a series of assessment tasks 

(e.g., dribbling, throwing for accuracy and distance, jump 
shooting, physical fitness profiles), and questionnaire of 
likes and dislikes in activities; 

2. self-assessment is a part of logs, journals, and 
portfolios as students evaluate personal performance or 
progress toward goals. 

Self-Spacethe space that one’s body or body parts can 
reach without traveling away from a starting location. 

Setusually 8-12 repetitions of a given exercise. 

Situational Context Cluesawareness of surroundings. 
For example, awareness of being followed by someone.  

Skill Themesa way of teaching children how to 
participate effectively in various activities by focusing on the 

development of the necessary skills. Skill themes include 
locomotor skills, non-manipulative skills, and manipulative 
skills. 

Skill-Related Fitnessthose components of physical 
fitness that relate to an enhanced performance in sports: 
agility, balance, coordination, power, speed, and reaction 
time. 

Skills Performancedemonstrating ability to do a specific 
task well; improves with practice.  

Small-Sided Gamesgames consisting of 3-6 people per 
team. This allows more practice time and more physical 
movement for each student compared to the full version of 
the game. Examples include 2v2 basketball, 3v3 volleyball, 
and 6v6 lacrosse. 

Spatial Awarenessthe relation of objects in relation to 
one’s own body. 

Specificitythe training principle that states, 
improvement in personal fitness will occur in the particular 
muscles that are overloaded during physical activity or 
exercise. For example: working on a certain component of 
fitness, such as flexibility exercises, directly improves 
flexibility.  

Speedthe ability to perform a movement or cover a 
distance in a short period of time. 

Sportsmanshipfairness, conduct, and attitude befitting 
participants in sports, especially fair play, courtesy, respect 
for one's opponent, and graciousness in winning or losing. 

Static Balancestate of equilibrium, without movement 
or the ability to retain one’s center of mass above one’s base 
of support in a stationary position.  

Strategya careful plan or method for achieving a 
particular goal, usually over a period of time.  

Stretch 

1. dynamic stretchinga form of stretching beneficial 
in sports using momentum from form, and the momentum 
from static-active stretching strength, in an effort to propel 
the muscle into an extended range of motion not exceeding 
one’s static-passive stretching ability; 

2. static stretcha slow sustained stretch of a muscle 
for 10-30 seconds. This static stretch should be performed 
after warming up the body. 

Striketo come into contact with an object via hand or 
handled implement. To perform various striking skills. For 
example, to place ball away from opponent in a racket sport, 
to place an overhead volleyball serve, or to punt a football. 

Student Projectstudents engage in building a scenario, 
determining goals, planning a program of participation to 
achieve outcomes, and implementing the plan to the 
completion of the goals. Student projects provide for a range 
of strategies and results including the following: the 
application of the processes of data collection, goal setting, 
planning, analysis, decision making, problem solving; 
development and application of skill, and knowledge to real-
life situations to solve problems or create “new” 
interventions to reach personal goals and may include: 

1. multiple objectives or outcomes; 
2. combine multiple assessment options (e.g., logs, 

journals, and reports); 
3. student autonomy in choosing procedures and 

reaching conclusions; 
4. solo or multiple students; 
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5. multiple resources; 
6. changes in status, behaviors or conditions; 
7. authenticity; 
8. performance products; 
9. flexibility of time (complexity of task determines 

time); and/or 
10. integration of multiple content areas, concepts and 

applications. 

Summative Assessmenta final evaluation that typically 
come at the end of key stages, units or the year in the use of 
standardized tests or evaluation instruments, and provides a 
summary of student learning or attainment at a particular 
point in time. The tool is used to make judgments about 
student performance, and also provides quality assurance to 
courses.  

Tacticsthe art or skill of employing available means to 
accomplish an end.  

Taggera person who safely and appropriately touches a 
person or object.  

Taggingtraveling quickly toward a person or object for 
a safe touch.  

Target Gamesgames in which players score by throwing 
or striking an object to a target.  

Target Heart Rate (THR)also known as training heart 
rate, THR is the range of heart rate desired during aerobic 
exercise to enable the heart and lungs to receive the most 
benefit from the workout. Calculation of THR is based 
primarily on age; however, physical condition, sex, and 
previous training also are used in the calculation. The THR 
can be calculated as percent intensity.  

Target Heart Rate Zonethe range of above-normal 
activity that optimizes an increase in fitness usually between 
60-80 percent of maximum heart rate. 

Teamworka cooperative effort by the members of a 
group or team to achieve a common goal. 

Training Principle 
1. overload; 
2. specificity; 
3. progression; 
4. reversibility; and 
5. diminishing return. 

Trajectorythe path followed by an object moving 
through space. 

Transitionan act or process of passing from one state, 
stage, or place to another. 

Vigorous Activityactivity full of physical or mental 
strength or active force carried out forcefully and 
energetically. 

Volleya shot or kick made by hitting an object before 
the object touches the ground.  

Warm-upa variety of low intensity activities designed to 
prepare the body for more vigorous activities. 

Weight-Bearing Exerciseany activity done while on 
one’s feet and legs, and that works the muscles and bones 
against gravity.  

Weight Transfermovement of body weight from one 
body part to another. 

Wellnessan overall state of being in good health-
physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, and social health. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2121 (November 2017). 

§1103. Standard 2 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1105. Standard 3 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1107. Standard 4 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1109. Standard 5 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1111. Standard 6 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1113. Standard 7 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

Chapter 15. Grade-Level Expectations 

§1501. Kindergarten Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1503. Grade 1 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 

§1505. Grade 2 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2125 (November 2017). 
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§1507. Grade 3 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

§1509. Grade 4 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

§1511. Grade 5 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

§1513. Grade 6 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

§1515. Grade 7 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

§1517. Grade 8 Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

§1519. High School Grade-Level Expectations 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1172 (June 2002), 
repealed LR 43:2126 (November 2017). 

 

Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111The Louisiana School, District, and 
State Accountability System (LAC 28:XI.Chapter 36) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education (BESE) has amended Bulletin 111The 

Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability System:

§3601, Office of Juvenile Justice Schools; §3603, Student 
Information System; §3605, Specialized Accountability 
System; §3607, Monitoring and Intervention; §3609, 
Assessments and Counseling; and §3611, Transmission of 
Cumulative Records. Act 500 of the 2016 Regular 
Legislative Session requires BESE to convene a mutual 
accountability team tasked with recommending a specialized 
accountability program for schools operated by the Office of 
Juvenile Justice (OJJ) that is consistent with the 
accountability program mandated for all schools in 
Louisiana and contains appropriate considerations for 
schools operated by the OJJ. The revisions relate to the 
mutual accountability team recommendations regarding a 
specialized accountability program for schools operated by 
OJJ. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 

Subpart 1.  Bulletin 111The Louisiana School, District, 
and State Accountability System 

Chapter 36. Specialized Accountability for Office of 
Juvenile Justice (OJJ) Schools 

§3601. Office of Juvenile Justice Schools 
A. For the purposes of this Chapter: 

OJJ Schoolsall schools and programs providing 
educational services to students in secure care facilities 
operated by, or contracted under, the authority of the state 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Youth 
Services, Office of Juvenile Justice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:2126 (November 
2017). 

§3603. Student Information System 
A. OJJ shall maintain educational records for all students 

and shall report them, as required, to the state Department of 
Education. At a minimum, the student information system 
selected by the OJJ district shall provide for collection and 
reporting of the following data elements: 

1. enrollment records; 
2. attendance records; 
3. diploma pathway selection; 
4. Jump Start credentials; 
5. local transcripts; 
6. student grades; 
7. TABE score; 
8. state assessment scores (LEAP, EOC, ACT, 

WorkKeys); 
9. assessments identified in other recommendations; 
10. discipline incidents specific to educational settings 

and with educational staff. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:2126 (November 
2017). 

§3605. Specialized Accountability System 
A. The schools operated by OJJ shall participate in the 

state’s accountability system for all public alternative 
schools as specified in this Bulletin. 
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B. In addition to the state accountability system and state 
report card, the department will annually publish specialized 
school and district report cards for schools operated by OJJ 
beginning with the 2017-2018 school year.  

C. Unless otherwise indicated in the measures listed in 
Subsection D of this Section, students must meet the full 
academic year definition to be included in calculations. 
Students meet the full academic year definition if they are 
enrolled on or before October 1 and remain enrolled in the 
school until the final state assessment or the end of the 
regular academic year. 

D. The specialized school and district report cards for 
OJJ will include results from the following measures: 

1. growth measures from TABE average scaled scores 
in reading and mathematics: 

a. scores closest to student entry and the end of the 
regular academic year shall be used based on documented 
data submitted to the LDE; 

2. percentage of students earning a high school 
diploma: 

a. students who are enrolled in grade 12 on October 
1 but exit prior to the end of the year with a diploma will be 
included; 

b. student inclusion will not be based on graduation 
cohort membership; 

3. percentage of students earning a high school 
equivalency diploma (HiSET): 

a. students who are enrolled on October 1 but exit 
prior to the end of the year with a HiSET will be included; 

b. student inclusion will not be based on graduation 
cohort membership; 

4. percentage of students in grades 11 and 12 who 
earn a Jump Start credential/IBC; 

5. percentage of students in high school grades who 
earn a minimum of 2.5 Carnegie credits per semester; 

6. percentage of students who participate in and meet 
program requirements of the Jobs for America’s Graduates 
(JAG) program based on documented data submitted to the 
LDE; 

7. subgroup performance for students with disabilities 
for all measures described in this Section. 

E. At the end of each school year, the results of measures 
identified in this Section will be reviewed and specific 
annual targets for improvement will be developed by the 
LDE for implementation in the next school year. The LDE 
will review the specialized report card at the end of each 
year and adjust elements and targets as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:2126 (November 
2017). 

§3607. Monitoring and Interventions 
A. A special advisor shall be assigned to the OJJ by the 

LDE to assist schools with implementation of academic 
improvement efforts. 

1. The special advisor shall have extensive experience 
working with schools in adjudicated settings.  

2. The special advisor shall work directly with the OJJ 
director of education, as well as the school principals, and 
designated LDE staff. 

B. Monitoring 
1. The LDE shall conduct a program of regular, in-

person monitoring of OJJ schools. 
a. The LDE shall conduct at least one in-person 

monitoring visit for each OJJ school per year. 
b. The LDE shall develop a rubric for use as a 

monitoring tool during annual monitoring visits. 
C. OJJ School Improvement 

1. During the 2017-2018 school year, the OJJ special 
advisor and OJJ shall jointly review each school’s results 
and monitoring visits data to collaboratively develop a 
comprehensive school improvement plan to be implemented 
no later than the 2018-2019 school year. 

2. Beginning in the 2018-2019 school year, the LDE 
shall assign a progress label to each OJJ school based on 
monitoring results and the results measured by the 
specialized report card. The progress label shall indicate 
which schools are considered “academically unacceptable” 
for the purposes of this Section.  

3. The LDE shall require supports, interventions, and 
remedies for any OJJ school earning a progress label 
indicating the school is academically unacceptable. The 
intensiveness of the supports, interventions and remedies 
developed by the LDE shall escalate for every year that a 
school continues to earn a progress label indicating the 
school is academically unacceptable. 

4. Such supports, interventions, and remedies may 
include, but shall not be limited to: 

a. development and implementation of a revised 
school improvement plan approved by the special advisor; 

b. reconstitution of the school subject to the 
approval of BESE. Reconstitution may include, but shall not 
be limited to required actions related to school leadership, 
personnel, structure, operations, budgeting, program 
offerings, professional development, and contracting with 
one or more external partners. 

D. Pursuant to R.S. 17:10.9(C)(b)(3), the LDE shall 
submit an annual report to the Juvenile Justice Reform Act 
Implementation Commission and the House and Senate 
Committees on Education detailing any supports, 
interventions, and remedies implemented for each OJJ 
school earning a progress label indicating the school is 
academically unacceptable. The report shall also be made 
available on the LDE website. 

E. School Improvement Available to All Schools 
1. In addition to the accountability provided above, 

OJJ schools shall participate in the statewide accountability 
system detailed in this bulletin applicable to all other public 
alternative schools.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:2127 (November 
2017). 
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§3609. Assessments and Counseling 
A. Students shall be assigned to appropriate educational 

programs and schools including high school diploma 
programs, industry-based certifications approved by BESE, 
and recognized high school diploma equivalent programs. 

B. Student and parent interests may be considered when 
assigning youth to, and transferring youth among, 
educational programs and schools. 

C. A student may not be removed from a program 
leading to a high school diploma without the consent of the 
student’s parent or legal custodian as documented in the 
student’s individual learning plan. 

D. No later than August 1, 2017, the OJJ shall develop 
and implement a standard enrollment interview protocol for 
all students who are assigned to OJJ schools. The protocol 
shall be developed jointly with the special advisor and shall 
be approved by the LDE. 

E. Interview protocols shall be used to develop 
individual learning plans for students, and shall be kept on 
file for each student. The interview protocols and individual 
learning plans shall be available to the special advisor during 
visits to the site and to the LDE monitoring team during 
annual monitoring site visits. The protocols and plans shall 
be designed to: 

1. assure that students are assigned to appropriate 
educational programs and schools offering high school 
diplomas, BESE-approved programs leading to IBCs, and 
high school diploma equivalency programs; 

2. collect student and parent interests to inform the 
assignment or transfer of students to programs and schools; 
and 

3. verify consultation with and consent of parents 
prior to the removal of a student from a program leading to a 
high school diploma. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:2128 (November 
2017). 

§3611. Transmission of Cumulative Records  
A. OJJ shall request cumulative records for students 

upon entry to an OJJ school. 
B. OJJ shall send cumulative records to receiving local 

education agencies within two business days from when a 
request for records is received. In the case that an unforeseen 
circumstance creates a delay, OJJ will notify the receiving 
local education agency and provide a date by which the 
records will be transmitted. Such records shall include: 

1. student records from previous schools in possession 
of OJJ; 

2. individual learning plans developed by OJJ; 
3. IAP form (if applicable); 
4. report cards; 
5. test results; 
6. IEP forms/evaluations (if applicable); 
7. individual graduation plan; 
8. discipline records (as permitted by law); 
9. work detail forms; 
10. SBLC forms (if applicable); 

11. transcripts/certificates/HiSET/diploma; 
12. quarterly progress reports. 

C. The records shall not include information that is 
prohibited by laws and regulations guaranteeing legal rights 
and protections for adjudicated students. 

D. Requests for records and dates indicating transfer to 
cumulative folders to receiving schools shall be kept on file 
and available for review by the special advisor and 
monitoring teams. 

E. The OJJ shall notify the LDE when a receiving local 
education agency does not enroll a student who transfers 
from an OJJ school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:2128 (November 
2017). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1711#016 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood 
Care and Education Network 

(LAC 28:CLXVII.313, 503, and 513) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education approved for advertisement to revise Bulletin 

140—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and Education 

Network: §313, Academic Approval for Type III Early 
Learning Centers, §503, Coordinated Observation Plan and 
Observation Requirements, and §513, Informational Metrics 
of Best Practices. Bulletin 140 is a set of regulations focused 
specifically on early childhood community networks, which 
ensure one organization within each local community 
network coordinates across programs, set clear expectations 
for implementation of coordinated enrollment as required by 
Act 717 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session and 
establish processes to ensure fairness and equity for 
providers and families, and establish a unified quality and 
improvement system. The first year of implementation of 
policy contained in Bulletin 140 was a learning year and 
2016-2017 was the second year of the unified quality rating 
and improvement system 

The revisions reflect small shifts based on engagement 
with early childhood programs and key stakeholders. First, 
the revisions align group size descriptions in Bulletin 140 

with those in Bulletin 137Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations. Second, the revisions connect 
the early childhood ancillary certificate requirement for all 
lead teachers by 2019 in publicly-funded centers to the 
academic approval process. Third, the revisions clarify that 
no observer will be excluded from the accountability system 
until they have been inaccurate more than half the time for 
two semesters, or at least two observations. Fourth, the
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revisions provide a process for centers not open during the 
typical school day to receive academic approval.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXVII.  Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood 
Care and Education Network 

Chapter 3. Early Childhood Care and Education 
Network 

§313. Academic Approval for Type III Early Learning 

Centers 
A. - B. … 
C. Full-Day or Non-Full-Day Type III Early Learning 

Centers 
1. For purposes of this Bulletin, a type III early 

learning center shall be either a full-day center or a non-full-
day center. 

a. A full-day center provides care and instruction 
aligned with a typical school day that consists of at least six 
continuous hours per day or more than 20 hours per week. 

b. A center that is not a full-day center is a non-full-
day center. 

D. Non-Full-Day Type III Early Learning Centers 
1. Initial Academic Approval for Non-Full-Day 

Centers. In order to obtain the initial academic approval 
required to be licensed as a type III early learning center, a 
center that is applying for a new type III license and that 
does not provide full-day care must submit a signed copy of 
the current program partner assurances for non-full-day type 
III early learning centers to the department, thereby agreeing 
to the following: 

a. in the event the center begins to provide full-day 
care, the center will provide written notice to the department, 
and sign new program partner assurances for full-day early 
learning centers, within 10 business days of the change to 
full-day care; and 

b. by signing program partner assurances for full-
day type III early learning centers, the center will be 
agreeing to comply with the provisions of this Bulletin, 
which include: 
 i. membership in the corresponding community 
network, as provided in Chapter 3; 
 ii. participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and  
 iii. participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7. 

2. An applicant for a new non-full-day type III early 
learning center license who has held a type III early learning 
center license and received a corrective action plan as 
provided in §313 at any time during the current or preceding 
fiscal year shall not be allowed to apply for academic 
approval for the fiscal year in which the center received a 
corrective action plan and the following fiscal year. 

3. Renewal of Academic Approval. Academic 
approval shall be renewed annually for any non-full-day 
type III early learning center if the center: 

a. has current academic approval; and 
b. has submitted a signed copy of the current annual 

program partner assurances for non-full-day type III early 
learning centers to the department prior to July 1, or as 
requested by the department, whichever occurs earlier. 

E. Initial Academic Approval for an Applicant for a New 
Full-Day Type III Early Learning Center License for Fiscal 
Years 2016-2017, 2017-2018, and 2018-2019 

1. In order to obtain the initial academic approval 
required to be licensed as a full-day type III early learning 
center, a center applying for a new full-day type III license 
must: 

a. submit a signed copy of the current program 
partner assurances for full-day type III early learning centers 
to the department, thereby agreeing to comply with the 
provisions of this bulletin, which include: 
 i. membership in the corresponding community 
network, as provided in Chapter 3; 
 ii. participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and  
 iii. participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7. 

2. An applicant for a new full-day type III early 
learning center license who has held a type III early learning 
center license and received a corrective action plan as 
provided in §313 at any time during the current or preceding 
fiscal year shall not be allowed to apply for academic 
approval for the fiscal year in which the center received a 
corrective action plan and the following fiscal year. 

F. Initial Academic Approval for an Applicant for a New 
Full-Day Type III Early Learning Center License for Fiscal 
Years 2019-2020 and Beyond 

1. In order to obtain the initial academic approval 
required to be licensed as a full-day type III early learning 
center, a full-day center applying for a new full-day type III 
license must: 

a. submit a signed copy of the current program 
partner assurances for full-day type III early learning centers 
to the department, thereby certifying that: 
 i. the center will comply with the provisions of 
this bulletin, which include: 

(a). membership in the corresponding 
community network, as provided in Chapter 3; 

(b). participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and 

(c). participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7; 
 ii. all lead teachers at the center have: 

(a). an early childhood ancillary certificate 
issued by the BESE; or 

(b). are in the process of completing training that 
will lead to the early childhood ancillary certificate and will 
have obtained an early childhood ancillary certificate issued 
by BESE within 24 months of start day as a lead teacher. 

2. An applicant for a new full-day type III early 
learning center license who has held a type III early learning 
center license and received a corrective action plan as 
provided in §313 at any time during the current or preceding 
fiscal year shall not be allowed to apply for academic 
approval for the fiscal year in which the center received a 
corrective action plan and the following fiscal year. 

G. Renewal of Academic Approval for Full-Day Type III 
Early Learning Centers for the Fiscal Year 2017-2018 
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1. Academic approval shall be renewed annually for 
fiscal years 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 for any full-day type 
III early learning center that: 

a. has current academic approval; 
b. is in compliance with the provisions of this 

bulletin; and 
c. has submitted a signed copy of the current annual 

program partner assurances for full-day type III early 
learning centers to the department, and is thereby agreeing to 
comply with the provisions of this bulletin, which include: 
 i. membership in the corresponding community 
network, as provided in Chapter 3; 
 ii. participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and  
 iii. participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7. 

2. full-day type III early learning centers shall 
annually submit a signed copy of the annual program partner 
assurances for full-day type III early learning centers to the 
department prior to July 1, or as requested by the 
department, whichever occurs earlier. 

H. Renewal of Academic Approval for Full-Day Type III 
Early Learning Centers for Fiscal Year 2018-2019  

1. Academic approval shall be renewed annually for 
fiscal years 2018-2019 and beyond for any full-day type III 
early learning center that: 

a. has current academic approval; 
b. is in compliance with the provisions of this 

bulletin; 
c. has not had two unsatisfactory performance 

ratings within any consecutive three school years; and  
d. has submitted a signed copy of the current annual 

program partner assurances for full-day type III early 
learning centers to the department, and is thereby agreeing to 
comply with the provisions of this bulletin, which include: 
 i. membership in the corresponding community 
network, as provided in Chapter 3; 
 ii. participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and  
 iii. participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7. 

2. Full-day type III early learning centers shall 
annually submit a signed copy of annual program partner 
assurances for full-day type III early learning centers to the 
department prior to July 1, or as requested by the 
department, whichever is earlier. 

I. Renewal of Academic Approval for Full-Day Type III 
Early Learning Centers for Fiscal Years 2019-2020 and 
Beyond 

1. Academic approval shall be renewed annually for 
fiscal years 2018-2019 and beyond for any full-day type III 
early learning center that: 

a. has current academic approval; 
b. is in compliance with the provisions of this 

bulletin; 
c. has not had two unsatisfactory performance 

ratings within any consecutive three school years; and  
d. has submitted a signed copy of the current annual 

program partner assurances for full-day early learning 
centers to the department, thereby certifying that: 

 i. the center will comply with the provisions of 
this bulletin, which include: 
 (a). membership in the corresponding 
community network, as provided in Chapter 3; 
 (b). participation in the early childhood 
care and education accountability system, as provided in 
Chapter 5; and  
 (c). participation in the coordinated 
enrollment process, as provided in Chapter 7; and 
 ii. all lead teachers at the center have: 

(a). an early childhood ancillary certificate 
issued by BESE; or 

(b). are in the process of completing training that 
will lead to the early childhood ancillary certificate and will 
have obtained an early childhood ancillary certificate issued 
by BESE within 24 months of start date as a lead teacher. 

2. Full day type III early learning centers shall 
annually submit a signed copy of annual program partner 
assurances for full-day type III early learning centers to the 
department prior to July 1, or as requested by the 
department, whichever occurs earlier. 

J. A center that has its academic approval terminated 
may not apply for academic approval for the fiscal year in 
which academic approval was terminated or the following 
fiscal year. 

K Academic approval shall be valid for the fiscal year, 
July 1-June 30, for which it is granted. 

L. Academic approval is granted to a specific owner and 
a specific location and is not transferable. If a type III early 
learning center changes owners or location, it is considered a 
new operation, and academic approval for the new owner or 
location must be obtained prior to beginning operations 
under new ownership or at the new location. 

M. Upon a change of ownership or change of location, 
the academic approval granted to the original owner or at the 
original location becomes null and void. 

K. Renewal 
1. Prior to July 1 of each year, the department shall 

send notice to each type III early learning center that has 
academic approval providing one of the following: 

a. renewal of academic approval for the center;  
b. notice of the center’s failure to comply with 

specific requirements in Subsection A of this Section and 
specific corrective actions that must be taken by a specified 
date in order for academic approval to be renewed; or 

c. if an early learning center has received the notice 
outlined in Subparagraph L.2.a of this Section within the 
academic year and the center has not provided the required 
certifications and completed the stated corrective actions, the 
department may terminate the center’s academic approval as 
provided in Subparagraph L.2.c of this Section and send 
notice of termination of the center’s academic approval. 

L. Denial, Termination or Refusal to Renew Academic 
Approval 

1. The department may deny terminate, or refuse to 
renew academic approval for: 

a. violations of any provisions of this bulletin; 
b. failure to timely comply with a corrective action 

plan provided by the department;  
c. any act of fraud, such as the submission of false 

or altered documents or information;  
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d. failure to timely submit a signed copy of the 
annual program partner assurances; or 

e. two unsatisfactory performance ratings within 
any consecutive three school years. 

2. Notice 
a. If a type III early learning center is in violation of 

any provision of this bulletin, the department shall notify the 
center in writing and may specify any corrective actions in a 
corrective action plan that shall be required to retain 
academic approval. 

b. Within 30 calendar days of receiving such notice, 
the center shall submit certification in writing to the 
department that the corrective actions specified in the 
corrective action plan have been taken or are in the process 
of being taken in compliance with the schedule provided in 
the corrective action plan and certification that the center 
will remain in compliance with the corrective action plan 
and all applicable regulations. 

c. If the type III early learning center does not 
respond in a timely or satisfactory manner to the notice and 
corrective action plan or adhere to the implementation 
schedule required in the corrective action plan, the 
department may terminate or refuse to renew the center’s 
academic approval. 

d. The department shall provide written notice of 
denial, termination or refusal to renew academic approval to 
the center. 

e. The denial, termination or refusal to renew a 
center’s academic approval shall be effective when notice of 
the denial, termination, or refusal to renew is given. 

M. Appeal Procedure 
1. BESE shall have the authority to grant an appeal of 

the denial, termination or refusal to renew academic 
approval for a type III early learning center. 

2. The appeal procedure shall be used when needed to 
address unforeseen and aberrant factors impacting type III 
early learning centers or when needed to address issues that 
arise when the literal application of the academic approval 
regulations does not consider certain unforeseen and unusual 
circumstances. 

3. A type III early learning center may request an 
appeal of the denial, termination, or refusal to renew its 
academic approval by submitting a written request for an 
appeal to the department within 15 calendar days of being 
given notice of the denial, termination, or refusal to renew 
its academic approval. 

4. All appeal requests shall clearly state the specific 
reasons for requesting the appeal and the reasons why the 
appeal should be granted and shall include any necessary 
supporting documentation. 

5. The department shall review all timely submitted 
appeal requests and make recommendations to BESE during 
the first regularly scheduled BESE meeting following receipt 
of the appeal requests, or during the second regularly 
scheduled BESE meeting if an appeal request is received 
within 10 working days of the next regularly scheduled 
BESE meeting. Within this interval, the department shall 
notify the center of its recommendation and allow the center 
to respond in writing. The department’s recommendation and 
the center’s response shall be submitted to BESE for final 
disposition. 

6. An early learning center that appeals the 
termination or refusal to renew its academic approval shall 
retain its academic approval during the appeal process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.36(C) and R.S. 17:407.21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2584 (December 
2015), amended LR 42:1871 (November 2016), LR 43:2129 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 5. Early Childhood Care and Education 
Accountability System 

§503. Coordinated Observation Plan and Observation 

Requirements 
A. … 
B. CLASS® Observation Requirements 

1. - 5.b. … 
c. After two observation periods, for observations 

conducted by a community network observer that have been 
compared to domain-level results conducted by the 
department’s third-party contractors, if 50 percent or more of 
the domain-level results are different by more than one point 
for the community network observer, the department may 
determine that the community network observer shall not be 
able to conduct observations for that community network for 
the next observation period. 

B.5.c.i. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2586 (December 
2015), amended LR 42:1872 (November 2016), LR 43:2131 
(November 2017). 

§513. Informational Metrics of Best Practices 
A. - A.1. … 

a. to achieve gold-level ratios, publicly-funded sites 
use the following teacher/child ratios and meet group sizes 

requirements in BESE Bulletin 137Louisiana Early 

Learning Center Licensing Regulations; 
 

Age Teacher/Child Ratio 

Birth to 1 year 1:4 

1 year to 2 years 1:4 

2 years to 3 years 1:6 

3 years to 4 years 1:8 

4 years to 5 years 1:10 

 
b. to achieve silver-level ratios, publicly-funded 

sites use the following teacher/child ratios and meet group 

sizes requirements in BESE Bulletin 137Louisiana Early 

Learning Center Licensing Regulations; 
 

Age Teacher/Child Ratio 

Birth to 1 year 1:4 

1 year to 2 years 1:6 

2 years to 3 years 1:8 

3 years to 4 years 1:10 

4 years to 5 years 1:12 

 
c. to achieve bronze-level ratios, publicly-funded 

sites use at least the minimum teacher/child ratios and group 

size requirements in BESE Bulletin 137Louisiana Early 

Learning Center Licensing Regulations; 
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A.2. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2588 (December 
2015), amended LR 42:1875 (November 2016), LR 43:2131 
(November 2017). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1711#017 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators (LAC 28:CXV.2318, 2319, 

2335, 2345, 2353, 2355, and 3113) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook 

for School Administrators: §2318, The TOPS University 
Diploma; §2319, The Career Diploma; §2335, 
Computer/Technology Education; §2345, Foreign 
Languages; §2353, Mathematics; §2355, Music; and §3113, 
Work-Based Learning. The revisions update the science and 
social studies requirements for the TOPS University 
Diploma; update the mathematics and social studies 
requirements for the Career Diploma; update the course 
offerings for computer/technology education, foreign 
languages, mathematics, and music; and update work-based 
learning requirements. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter A. Standards and Curricula 
§2318. The TOPS University Diploma 

A. - C.3.c.iii.(f). … 
 (i). AP environmental science; 
 (ii). IB environmental systems; 

(g). one of: 
 (i). physics I; 
 (ii). IB physics I; 
 (iii). AP physics I; 

(h). one of: 
 (i). AP physics C: electricity and 
magnetism; 
 (ii). AP physics C: mechanics; 
 (iii). IB physics II; 
 (iv). AP physics II; 

(i). one of: 
 (i). biology II; 
 (ii). AP biology; 
 (iii). IB biology I; 
 (iv). IB biology II; 

d. social studies—four units: 
 i. - iii.(g). … 

(h). AP psychology; 

3.e. - 4.a.ii. … 
 iii. To complete a career area of concentration, 
students shall meet the minimum requirements for 
graduation including four elective primary credits in the area 
of concentration and two related elective credits, including 
one computer/technology course. Areas of concentration are 
identified in the career options reporting system with each 
LEA designating the career and technical education areas of 
concentration offered in their school system each year. The 
following computer/technology courses can be used to meet 
this requirement. 

 

Course Credit 

Computer/Technology Literacy 1 

Computer Applications or Business Computer Applications 1 

Computer Architecture 1 

Computer Science I, II 1 each 

Computer Systems and Networking I, II 1 each 

Desktop Publishing 1 

Digital Graphics and Animation  1 

Multimedia Presentations 1/2 or 1 

Web Mastering or Web Design 1/2 

Independent Study in Technology Applications 1 

Word Processing  1 

Telecommunications 1/2 

Introduction to Business Computer Applications 1 

Technology Education Computer Applications  1 

Advanced Technical Drafting  1 

Computer Electronics I, II 1 each 

Database Programming with PL/SQL 1 

Java Programming 1 

Database Design and Programming 1/2 

Digital Media I, II 1 each 

 
C.5. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7, R.S. 17:24.4, R.S. 17:183.2, and R.S. 17:395. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 36:1486 (July 
2010), LR 37:547 (February 2011), LR 37:1128 (April 2011), LR 
37:2129 (July 2011), LR 37:2132 (July 2011), LR 37:3193 
(November 2011), LR 38:754, 761 (March 2012), LR 38:1001 
(April 2012), LR 38:1584 (July 2012), LR 40:994 (May 2014), LR 
40:1328 (July 2014), LR 40:1679 (September 2014), LR 40:2525 
(December 2014), LR 41:915 (May 2015), LR 41:1482 (August 
2015), LR 41:2126 (October 2015), LR 42:232 (February 2016), 
LR 42:1062 (July 2016), LR 42:1878 (November 2016), LR 
42:2176 (December 2016), LR 43:1287 (July 2017), LR 43:2132 
(November 2017). 

§2319. The Career Diploma 
A. - C.1.b.ii.(h). ... 

(i). discrete mathematics;  
(j). probability and statistics; or 
(k). course(s) developed by the LEA and 

approved by BESE. 
c. - h. … 

2. The minimum course requirements for a career 
diploma for incoming freshmen in 2014-2015 and beyond 
shall be the following: 

a. - b.ii.(i). … 
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(j). probability and statistics; or 
(k). comparable Louisiana technical college 

courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as approved by 
BESE; 

(l). integrated mathematics I, II, and III may be 
substituted for algebra I, geometry, and algebra II and shall 
count as 3 math credits; 

c. … 
 i. 1 unit of biology; 
 ii. 1 unit from the following: 

(a). chemistry I; 
(b). physical science; 
(c). earth science; 
(d). agriscience II; 

NOTE: Agriscience I is a prerequisite for Agriscience II and 
is an elective course. 

(e). environmental science; 
(f). any AP or IB science course; 

d. social studies—2 units: 
 i. … 

(a). U.S. history; 
(b). AP U.S. history; 
(c). IB history of the Americas I; 

 ii. 1 unit of the following: 
(a). civics; 
(b). government; 
(c). AP U.S. government and politics: 

comparative; or 
(d). AP U.S. government and politics: United 

States; 
e. - h. … 

3. To complete a career area of concentration for the 
career diploma, students shall meet the minimum 
requirements for graduation including four elective primary 
credits in the career major and two related elective credits, 
including one computer/technology course. Areas of 
concentration are identified in the career options reporting 
system with each LEA designating the career and technical 
education areas of concentration offered in their school 
system each year. The following computer/technology 
applications courses can be used to meet this requirement. 

 

Course Credit 

Computer/Technology Literacy 1 

Computer Applications or Business Computer Applications 1 

Computer Architecture 1 

Computer Science I, II 1 each 

Computer Systems and Networking I, II 1 each 

Desktop Publishing 1 

Digital Graphics and Animation 1 

Multimedia Presentations 1/2 or 1 

Web Mastering or Web Design 1/2 

Independent Study in Technology Applications 1 

Word Processing 1 

Telecommunications 1/2 

Introduction to Business Computer Applications 1 

Technology Education Computer Applications 1 

Advanced Technical Drafting 1 

Computer Electronics I, II 1 each 

Database Programming with PL/SQL 1 

Java Programming 1 

Database Design and Programming 1/2 

Digital Media I, II 1 each 

 
4. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7, R.S. 17:24.4, R.S. 17:183.2, R.S. 17:183.3, R.S. 17:274, R.S. 
17:274.1, and R.S. 17:395. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 35:1230 (July 
2009), LR 35:1876 (September 2009), LR 35:2321 (November 
2009), LR 35:2750 (December 2009), LR 36:1490 (July 2010), LR 
37:548 (February 2011), LR 37:1130 (April 2011), LR 37:2130 
(July 2011), LR 37:3197 (November 2011), LR 38:761 (March 
2012), LR 38:1005 (April 2012), LR 40:2522 (December 2014), 
LR 41:1482 (August 2015), LR 41:2594 (December 2015), LR 
42:232 (February 2016), LR 43:1287 (July 2017), LR 43:2132 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter B. Academic Programs of Study 
§2335. Computer/Technology Education 

A. Computer/technology course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title(s) Units 

Computer Applications 1 

Computer Architecture 1 

Computer Science I 1 

Computer Science II 1 

Computer Systems and Networking I 1 

Computer Systems and Networking II 1 

Computer/Technology Literacy 1 

Desktop Publishing 1 

Digital Graphics and Animation 1 

Multimedia Productions 1/2 or 1 

Web Mastering 1/2 

Independent Study in Technology Application 1 

 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7 and R.S. 17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1295 (June 2005), 
amended LR 39:2220 (August 2013), LR 43:2133 (November 
2017). 

§2345. Foreign Languages 
A. The foreign language course offerings shall be as 

follows. 
 

Course Title(s) Units 

French I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

German I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

Italian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

Latin I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

Russian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

Spanish I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

American Sign Language I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Greek I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Mandarin Chinese I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Japanese I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Hebrew I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Arabic I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Hindi I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Portuguese I, II, III, IV 1 each 

Vietnamese I, II, III, IV 1 each 

IB Language ab initio: Arabic 1 

IB Language B: Arabic 1 

AP Chinese Language and Culture 1 
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Course Title(s) Units 

AP French Language and Culture 1 

AP German Language and Culture 1 

AP Italian Language and Culture 1 

AP Japanese Language and Culture 1 

AP Latin 1 

AP Spanish Language and Culture 1 

IB Language ab initio: French 1 

IB Language B: French 1 

IB Language ab initio: Spanish 1 

IB Language B: Spanish 1 

IB Language ab initio: German 1 

IB Language B: German 1 

IB Language ab initio: Chinese 1 

IB Language B: Chinese 1 

IB Language ab initio: Italian 1 

IB Language B: Italian 1 

IB Language ab initio: Japanese 1 

IB Language B: Japanese 1 

IB Classical Language 1 

 
B. … 

1. provisional level certification from the American 
Sign Language Teachers Association (ASLTA); or 

2. certificate of interpretation (CI) from the Registry 
of Interpreters of the Deaf (RID); or 

3. certificate of transliteration (CT) from the RID; or 
4. certified deaf interpreter certification (CDI) from 

the RID; or 
5. level IV or V certificate of competence from the 

National Association of the Deaf (NAD); or 
6. level IV or V official documentation of the 

videotaped version of the educational interpreter 
performance assessment (EIPA). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7, R.S. 17:24.4, R.S. 273, and R.S. 17:284. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1295 (June 2005), 
amended LR 36:1996 (September 2010), LR 38:759 (March 2012), 
LR 38:2364 (September 2012), LR 39:2220 (August 2013), LR 
40:998 (May 2014), LR 40:2527 (December 2014), LR 43:2133 
(November 2017). 

§2353. Mathematics 
A. … 
 

Course Title(s) Units 

Advanced Math—Pre-Calculus 1 

Advanced Math—Functions and Statistics 1 

Algebra I, II 1 each 

Applied Algebra I 1 

Algebra I―Part 1 1 

Algebra I―Part 2 1 

AP Computer Science A 1 

Calculus 1 

Discrete Mathematics 1 

Financial Mathematics (Literacy) 1 

Geometry 1 

Applied Geometry 1 

Integrated Mathematics I, II, III 1 each 

Pre-Calculus 1 

Probability and Statistics 1 

Math Essentials 1 

AP Calculus BC 1 

AP Calculus AB 1 

AP Statistics 1 

IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 1 

IB Mathematics SL 1 

Course Title(s) Units 

IB Further Mathematics HL 1 

IB Mathematics HL 1 

 
B. The mathematics course offerings for the career 

diploma shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title(s) Units 

Algebra I 1 

Algebra I―Part 1 1 

Algebra I―Part 2 1 

Applied Algebra I 1 

Geometry 1 

Applied Geometry 1 

Financial Mathematics (Literacy) 1 

Technical Math 1 

Medical Math 1 

Applications in Statistics and Probability 1 

Algebra II 1 

Advanced Math—Pre-Calculus 1 

Discrete Mathematics 1 

Probability and Statistics 1 

Math Essentials 1 

Course(s) developed by the LEA and approved by BESE 1 

 
C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7 and R.S. 17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1296 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:2605 (December 2007), LR 34:1609 (August 
2008), LR 35:2322 (November 2009), LR 36:1493 (July 2010), LR 
38:760 (March 2012), LR 40:999 (May 2014), LR 40:2527 
(December 2014), LR 42:1063 (July 2016), LR 43:2134 
(November 2017). 

§2355. Music 
A. - B. … 
C. Approval by the local school board is required before 

private piano and studio strings instruction can be given for 
credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7 and R.S. 17:24.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1296 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:3069 (December 2005), LR 33:2354 (November 
2007), LR 37:2133 (July 2011), LR 39:2221 (August 2013), LR 
40:999 (May 2014), LR 40:2528 (December 2014), LR 43:2134 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 31. Career and Technical Education (CTE) 
§3113. Work-Based Learning 

A. - G.2. … 
3. Each teacher-coordinator for work-based programs 

must maintain on file a class organization report. 
G.4. - H.6. … 

NOTE: Refer to career and technical education course 
offerings for prerequisites and requirements for specific work-
based programs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1310 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:280 (February 2007), LR 39:2228 (August 2013), 
LR 43:2134 (November 2017). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1711#018 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.344) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education has amended Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards 

for State Certification of School Personnel: §344, Early 
Childhood Ancillary Certificate. In January 2015, BESE 
approved the establishment of the early childhood ancillary 
certificate as the minimum credential for lead teachers 
working in type III early learning centers. The early 
childhood ancillary certificate can be earned by 
demonstrating the completion of one of the following 
qualifying credentials: child development associate (CDA) 
approved by the Council for Professional Recognition and a 
high school diploma or equivalent; technical 
diploma/certificate in technical studies in an early childhood 
related field from an accredited technical or community 
college; career diploma approved by the Louisiana Pathways 
Career Development System; associate degree in an early 
childhood-related field from a regionally-accredited college 
or university; or bachelor’s degree or higher from a 
regionally-accredited college or university. Current BESE 
policy provides that, beginning in January 2018, teachers 
pursuing the early childhood ancillary certificate through a 
CDA or technical diploma must complete their coursework 
from a BESE-approved provider. Revisions to Bulletin 746 
provide child care teachers additional time and flexibility to 
obtain early childhood ancillary certificate from the best 
available preparation provider while maintaining a near-term 
expectation that child care teachers earn this professional 
credential. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel  

Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 
Certifications 

Subchapter C. Ancillary Teaching Certificates 
§344. Early Childhood Ancillary Certificate 

A. The early childhood ancillary certificate authorizes an 
individual to teach in a publicly-funded early learning center 
serving children ages birth to five as defined in R.S 
17:407.33, unless program requirements mandate a 
professional-level certificate. After June 30, 2019, an 
individual shall have, at a minimum, an early childhood 
ancillary certificate to serve as a lead teacher in a publicly-
funded early learning center. 

B. Early Childhood Ancillary Certificates Issued 
1. Eligibility Requirements. An early childhood 

ancillary certificate shall be issued to an applicant who 
submits evidence of one of the following to the LDE: 

a. a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally-
accredited college or university; 

b. a current child development associate (CDA) 
credential, either infant/toddler or preschool, awarded by the 
Council for Professional Recognition and a high school 
diploma or equivalent: 

 i. after July 1, 2018, all 120 clock hours of 
coursework for the CDA must be earned from a BESE-
approved early childhood ancillary certificate program for 
initial CDA credentials: 

(a). an individual who has completed 36 or more 
clock hours of coursework for the CDA by July 1, 2018 may 
complete the remaining coursework for the CDA from any 
CDA provider; 

(b). an individual who has not completed 36 or 
more clock hours of coursework for the CDA by July 1, 
2018 must earn all 120 hours of coursework for the CDA 
from a BESE-approved early childhood ancillary certificate 
program; 

(c). after July 1, 2018, individuals may submit a 
request to the department to waive the requirement that all 
120 hours of coursework for the CDA be obtained from a 
BESE-approved early childhood ancillary certificate 
program if the individual is able to demonstrate 
unavailability of enrollment options within a reasonable 
geographic proximity; 
 ii. after July 1, 2018, applicants who obtained a 
CDA or completed coursework from a provider that is not 
BESE-approved while residing in another state shall submit 
additional documentation of program components for 
approval; 
 iii. coursework counting towards the early 
childhood ancillary certificate shall include at least 10 
training hours in each of the following subject areas: 

(a). planning and implementing a safe and 
healthy learning environment; 

(b). advancing children’s physical and 
intellectual development; 

(c). supporting children’s social and emotional 
development; 

(d). building productive relationships with 
families; 

(e). managing an effective program operation; 
(f). maintaining a commitment to 

professionalism; 
(g). observing and recording children’s behavior; 
(h). understanding principles of child 

development and learning; 
c. an associate degree in an early childhood related 

field from a regionally accredited college or university; 
d. a technical diploma or certificate of technical 

studies in an early childhood related field from an accredited 
technical or community college: 
 i. after July 1, 2018, all coursework for technical 
diplomas and certificates of technical studies must be earned 
from a BESE-approved provider; 
 ii. after July 1, 2018, individuals may submit a 
request to the department to waive the requirement that 
coursework be obtained from a BESE-approved early 
childhood ancillary certificate program if the individual is 
able to demonstrate unavailability of enrollment options 
within a reasonable geographic proximity; 

e. a career diploma that has been approved by the 
Louisiana Pathways Career Development System, and in 
which coursework began prior to July 1, 2018. 

2. Renewal Guidelines 
a. For individuals meeting eligibility requirements 

with a CDA, the early childhood ancillary certificate shall be 
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valid for a three-year period. The ancillary certificate may be 
renewed by the LDE at the request of the applicant’s 
employer with submission of either documentation of a 
renewed CDA credential, awarded by the Council for 
Professional Recognition, or documentation of: 
 i. either 4.5 continuing education units, a 3 
credit-hour course, or 45 clock hours of approved training or 
professional development in early childhood care and 
education; and 
 ii. a minimum of 80 hours of work experience 
with young children or families with young children within 
the last three years.  

b. For individuals meeting eligibility requirements 
with a bachelor’s degree or higher, associate degree, 
technical diploma, certificate of technical studies, or career 
diploma, the early childhood ancillary certificate shall be 
valid for a three-year period. The certificate may be renewed 
by the LDE at the request of the applicant’s employer with 
submission of documentation of:  
 i. either 4.5 continuing education units, a 3 
credit-hour course, or 45 clock hours of training in early 
childhood care and education; and 
 ii. a minimum of 80 hours of work experience 
with young children or families with young children within 
the last three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:407.81. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:917 (May 2015), 
amended LR 43:2135 (November 2017). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1711#019 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Document and Notification Submittal 
(LAC 33:I.1203, 4701, 4703, 4705, 4711, and 5707; 

III.919, 1410, and 2132; V.1907, 2271, and 4999; 
VI.103,403, 501, 502, 505, 507, 509, 515, 521, 607, 

705, 711, 801, 803, 911, and 913; IX.7313; and 
XI.301, 303, 507, 701, 703, 715, 903, 905, 907, 1111, 

1113, 1123, 1129, 1131, 1139, 1305, and 1309)(MM019) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended various regulations, LAC 33:I, III, V, 
VI, IX and XI (MM019). 

In response to Act 378 of the 2016 Regular Legislative 
Session, the Department of Environmental Quality has 
created the Office of Environmental Assessment. This office 
absorbs funtions and units from the Office of Environmental 
Compliance and the Office of Environmental Services. Due 
to the creation of the new office, this rulemaking revises 
references instructing where documents and notifications 
must be submitted. The basis and rationale for this Rule are 
to enact revisions created by Act 378 of the 2016 Regular 

Legislative Session. This Rule meets an exception listed in 
R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 
report regarding environmental/health benefits and 
social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 12. Requests for Review of Environmental 
Conditions 

§1203. Procedure for Submittal of Request 
A. - B.10. ... 
C. An applicant shall submit the request for review, in 

accordance with the requirements of Subsection B of this 
Section, in triplicate, with the initial minimum fee in 
Subsection A of this Section, to the administrator of the 
Office of Environmental Assessment. 

D. - E.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and specifically 2011(D)(25), and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:447 (March 2007), amended LR 33:2079 (October 
2007), LR 35:2178 (October 2009), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2749 (November 2012), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 43:2136 (November 2017). 

Subpart 3.  Laboratory Accreditation 
Chapter 47. Louisiana Environmental Laboratory 

Accreditation Program (LELAP) State 
Accreditation Requirements 

§4701. Accreditation Process 
A. The department accreditation process comprises four 

basic steps: 
1. the submittal to the Office of Environmental 

Assessment of a written request from the laboratory in the 
form of an application provided by the department, along 
with payment of all applicable fees; 

A.2. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:919 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1435 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2434 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2749 (November 
2012), LR 43:933 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
43:2136 (November 2017). 

§4703. Application for Accreditation 
A. ... 
B. An application for environmental laboratory 

accreditation shall be made in writing to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, using the current application 
provided by the department. This application shall include 
all requested information and be accompanied by the 
appropriate application fee. Supplemental information may 
be required. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:919 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1435 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2434 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2749 (November 
2012), LR 43:933 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
43:2136 (November 2017). 

§4705. Categories of Accreditation 
A. At the time of application, each applicant shall clearly 

identify both the matrix (matrices) and the test categories for 
which accreditation is sought. A copy of each relevant test 
method documentation and the requisite equipment for the 
method shall be available at the laboratory. A current list of 
approved methods for each parameter/analyte shall be 
maintained by the Office of Environmental Assessment and 
shall be included as part of the application package. In cases 
where a method used by the laboratory is not listed, the 
laboratory shall submit documentation that verifies that the 
results obtained from the method in use are equal to or better 
than those results obtained from the approved method(s). 
The department shall review the data submitted by the 
laboratory and shall notify the laboratory in writing within 
60 calendar days regarding whether the method is acceptable 
or unacceptable as an alternate method of analysis. 

B. - B.11. ... 
C. An accredited laboratory may request the addition of 

a matrix (matrices) and test category (categories) to its scope 
of accreditation at any time. Such a request shall be 
submitted on the current application to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment. Unless the previous on-site 
inspection can verify the competence of the laboratory to 
perform the additional tests, another on-site inspection may 
be required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:919 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1435 (July 2000), LR 
26:2443 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:38 (January 
2001), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:1570 (July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 31:2435 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2750 (November 2012), LR 43:933 (May 2017), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 43:2137 (November 2017). 

§4711. Proficiency Testing Participation 
A. - E. ... 
F. Each participating laboratory shall authorize the 

proficiency test provider to release the results of the 
proficiency evaluation (PE) test to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment at the same time that they are 
submitted to the laboratory. Every laboratory that receives 
test results that are “unacceptable” for a specific analyte 
must investigate and identify likely causes for these results, 
resolve any problems, and report such activity to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, along with the submittal of 
corrective action proficiency sample test results. The 
laboratory shall report only the analytes for which corrective 
action was required. 

G. - J. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:921 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1436 (July 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2435 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2750 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2137 (November 2017). 

Chapter 57. Maintenance of Accreditation 
§5707. Changes in Laboratory Operation 

A. Changes in laboratory name, ownership, location, 
personnel, facilities, methodology, or any factors 
significantly affecting the performance of analyses for which 
the laboratory was originally accredited shall be reported to 
the Office of Environmental Assessment within 30 days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:933 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2444 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2435 (October 2005), LR 33:2081 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2750 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2137 (November 2017). 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 9. General Regulations on Control of 

Emissions and Emission Standards 
§919. Emissions Inventory 

A. - D. … 
1. If a facility no longer meets any applicability 

criteria under Paragraph A.1 of this Section for one full 
calendar year, the owner or operator may request approval 
from the department in writing to discontinue submission of 
an emissions inventory. All such requests shall be submitted 
to the Office of Environmental Assessment. 

D.1.a. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:184 (February 1993), 
repromulgated LR 19:485 (April 1993), amended LR 19:1418 
(November 1993), LR 20:1101 (October 1994), LR 22:339 (May 
1996), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2450 (November 2000), 
LR 29:2776 (December 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2438 (October 2005), LR 
32:241 (February 2006), LR 33:2084 (October 2007), LR 37:3222 
(November 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2137 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 14. Conformity 
Subchapter A. Determining Conformity of General 

Federal Actions to State or Federal 
Implementation Plans 

§1410. Criteria for Determining Conformity of General 

Federal Actions 
A. - A.5.a. ... 
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 i. the total of direct and indirect emissions from 
the action (or portion thereof) is determined and documented 
by the department to result in a level of emissions that, 
together with all other emissions in the nonattainment or 
maintenance area, would not exceed the emissions budgets 
specified in the applicable SIP. As a matter of policy, should 
the department make such determination or commitment, the 
federal agency must provide to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment information on all known projects or other 
actions that may affect air quality or emissions in any area to 
which this rule is applicable, regardless of whether such 
project or action is determined to be subject to this rule 
under LAC 33:III.1405. The department may charge the 
federal agency requesting such determination a reasonable 
fee based on the number of man-hours required to perform 
and document the determination; or 

A.5.a.ii. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1274 (November 1994), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2451 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2438 (October 2005), LR 33:2084 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2751 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2137 (November 2017). 

Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic 
Compounds 

Subchapter F. Gasoline Handling 
§2132. Stage II Vapor Recovery Systems for Control of 

Vehicle Refueling Emissions at Gasoline 

Dispensing Facilities 
A. - B.5. ... 

6. The regulated facility shall submit the following 
application information to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment prior to installation of the stage II vapor 
recovery system: 

6.a. - 8. ... 
9. Upon request by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, the owner or operator of a facility that claims to be 
exempt from the requirements of this Section shall submit 
supporting records to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment within 30 calendar days from the date of the 
request. The Department of Environmental Quality shall 
make a final determination regarding the exemption status of 
a facility. 

C. - D. ... 
1. The owner/operator of the facility shall have the 

installed vapor recovery equipment tested prior to the start-
up of the facility. The owner or operator shall notify the 
Office of Environmental Assessment at least five calendar 
days in advance of the scheduled date of testing. Testing 
must be performed by a contractor that is certified with the 
Department of Environmental Quality. Compliance with the 
emission specification for stage II equipment shall be 
demonstrated by passing the following required tests or 
equivalent for each type of system: 

1.a. - 2. ... 
3. The department reserves the right to confirm the 

results of the aforementioned testing at its discretion and at 

any time. Within 30 days after installation or major system 
modification of a vapor recovery system, the owner or 
operator of the facility shall submit to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment the date of completion of the 
installation or major system modification of a vapor 
recovery system and the results of all functional testing 
requirements. 

E. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:1254 (November 1992), 
repromulgated LR 19:46 (January 1993), amended LR 23:1682 
(December 1997), LR 24:25 (January 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2453 (November 2000), LR 29:558 (April 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2440 (October 2005), LR 33:2086 (October 2007), LR 34:1890 
(September 2008), LR 34:2397 (November 2008), LR 37:1147 
(April 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2752 (November 2012), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 43:2138 (November 2017). 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

QualityHazardous Waste 
Chapter 19. Tanks 
§1907. Containment and Detection of Releases 

A. - G.4.c. ... 
H. The following procedures must be followed in order 

to request a variance from secondary containment. 
1. The Office of Environmental Assessment must be 

notified in writing by the owner or operator that he intends 
to conduct and submit a demonstration for a variance from 
secondary containment as allowed in Subsection G of this 
Section according to the following schedule: 

H.1.a. - K.2.e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 16:614 
(July 1990), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2475 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1572 
(July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:2107 (October 2007), LR 34:624 (April 2008), LR 
34:995 (June 2008), LR 34:1896 (September 2008), LR 36:1235 
(June 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1536 (July 2010), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2756 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
43:1142 (June 2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2138 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 22. Prohibitions on Land Disposal 
Subchapter B. Hazardous Waste Injection Restrictions 
§2271. Exemptions to Allow Land Disposal of a 

Prohibited Waste by Deep Well Injections 
A. - U.5. ... 
V. Corrective Action for Wells in the Area of Review 

1. The petitioner shall submit a plan to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment outlining the protocol used to: 

V.1.a. - Z. ... 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 22:22 (January 1996), amended LR 
23:299 (March 1997), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2479 
(November 2000), LR 30:1674 (August 2004), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2460 
(October 2005), LR 33:2110 (October 2007), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2756 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2138 (November 2017). 

Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes 
Editor’s Note: Chapter 49 is divided into two Sections: 
category I hazardous wastes, which consist of hazardous 
wastes from nonspecific and specific sources (F and K 
wastes), acute hazardous wastes (P wastes), and toxic wastes 
(U wastes) (LAC 33:V.4901); and category II hazardous 
wastes, which consist of wastes that are ignitable, corrosive, 
reactive, or toxic (LAC 33:V.4903). 

§4999. Appendices—Appendix A, B, C, D, and E 
Appendix A. - Appendix E. ... 
A. - B.1.a. ... 

b. All data obtained to fulfill the required testing 
must be submitted to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment within 60 days after each sampling event. 

1.c. - 3.b. ... 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), amended 
by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:830 (September 
1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 23:952 (August 1997), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
25:2397 (December 1999), LR 26:2509 (November 2000), LR 
29:1084 (July 2003), repromulgated LR 29:1475 (August 2003), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2464 
(November 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 33:445 (March 2007), LR 33:825 (May 2007), 
LR 33:1016 (June 2007), LR 34:73 (January 2008), LR 34:1021 
(June 2008), LR 34:1613 (August 2008), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2757 (November 2012), LR 
40:1692 (September 2014), LR 42:2179 (December 2016), LR 
43:1149 (June 2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2139 
(November 2017). 

Part VI.  Inactive and Abandoned Hazardous Waste and 
Hazardous Substance Site Remediation 

Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§103. Regulatory Overview 

A. - A.1. ... 
B. Site Discovery and Evaluation 

1. Site Discovery Reporting. These regulations 
establish a reporting program as required by the Louisiana 
Environmental Quality Act to help identify inactive or 
uncontrolled sites where hazardous substances could have 
been disposed of or discharged. Owners, lessees, and other 
persons who know or discover that hazardous substances 
have been discharged or disposed of at such a site must 
report this information to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment within the specified time. The department may 
also discover sites through its own investigations, referrals 
from other agencies, or other means. 

B.2. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2171 et seq., 2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2178 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2510 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2136 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2757 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2139 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 4. PRP Search, Notification, and Demand 
for Remediation 

§403. Notification to Provide Information 
A. The Office of Environmental Assessment shall send a 

written notification to provide information to all PRPs 
identified during its preliminary PRP investigation. The 
administrative authority may, at its discretion, send 
supplemental or additional notifications to any PRP 
identified by the administrative authority at any time during 
the remedial action process. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2186 (November 1999), 
LR 26:2511 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2137 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2757 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2139 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 5. Site Remediation 
§501. Remedial Actions 

A. ... 
B. The Office of Environmental Assessment shall 

consider the following factors in determining the need for or 
the appropriateness of a remedial action consistent with 
Subsection A of this Section: 

B.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2171 et seq. and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2186 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2511 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2137 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2757 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2139 
(November 2017). 

§502. Role of PRPs in Remedial Actions 
A. The Office of Environmental Assessment may, at its 

sole discretion, direct PRPs to perform any site 
investigation, remedial investigation, corrective action study, 
and/or remedial action in accordance with the following: 

1. - 5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2221 et seq. and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2186 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2511 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2137 (October 2007), 
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amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2757 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2139 
(November 2017). 

§505. Removal Action 
A. - A.3. ... 

4. If the removal action results in achievement of the 
RECAP standards established by the department, the Office 
of Environmental Assessment may determine that no further 
action is required. The department may then issue a decision 
document stating that the removal action is the final remedy 
and no further action is required. 

5. ... 
B. A removal action work plan shall be prepared by the 

Office of Environmental Assessment, or by PRPs as directed 
by the department. Any plan prepared by PRPs shall be 
reviewed and approved by the department prior to the 
commencement of the removal action. The department will 
provide comments to the PRPs and require revisions as 
necessary before approving the PRPs' plan. The minimum 
requirements for a removal action work plan include: 

B.1. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2171 et seq., 2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2187 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2512 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2137 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2757 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2140 
(November 2017). 

§507. Remedial Investigation 
A. - B. ... 
C. To complete a RI the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, or PRPs as directed by the department, shall 
provide the following. 

1. - 3. ... 
4. Remedial Investigation Report. Following the 

completion of the RI, a remedial investigation report shall be 
prepared by the Office of Environmental Assessment, or by 
PRPs as directed by the department. Any RI report prepared 
by PRPs shall be reviewed and approved by the department. 
The department will provide comments to the PRPs and 
require revisions as necessary before approving the PRPs’ 
report. At a minimum, this report shall include: 

C.4.a. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2171 et seq., 2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2187 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2512 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2137 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2758 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2140 
(November 2017). 

§509. Corrective Action Study 
A. - C.5. ... 

6. Preparation of a Corrective Action Study Report. 
Following the completion of the corrective action study 
activities in this Subsection, a CAS report describing the

results of all required CAS activities shall be prepared by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, or by PRPs as directed 
by the department. Any CAS report prepared by PRPs shall 
be reviewed and approved by the department prior to the 
approval of the CAS. The department will provide 
comments to the PRPs and require revisions as necessary 
before approving the PRPs’ report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2188 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2512 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2138 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2758 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2140 
(November 2017). 

§515. Revisions to the Final Remedy 
A. - B. ... 

1. notify the Office of Environmental Assessment that 
a modification is necessary; 

2. - 3. ... 
C. If the department determines that a modification is 

necessary (whether proposed by a PRP or by the department) 
and if the modification changes the final remedy in the final 
decision document, then the Office of Environmental 
Assessment shall: 

1. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2191 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2512 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2138 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2758 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2140 
(November 2017). 

§521. Post-Remedial Management 
A. - A.2. ... 
B. Operation and Maintenance. An operation and 

maintenance (O and M) plan shall be prepared for all sites 
assigned post-remedial management because hazardous 
substances remain at the site at levels above remedial goals 
or where O and M is part of the approved remedy. O and M 
plans prepared by PRPs shall be submitted to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment for review and approval. The 
department will provide comments to the PRPs and require 
revisions as necessary before approving the PRPs' plan. O 
and M plans prepared by PRPs for a site where leaving 
hazardous substances at the site is part of the approved and 
completed remedy shall be submitted to the department for 
review and approval at least six months prior to completion 
of the remedy. Each O and M plan shall include, but not be 
limited to: 

1. - 8. ... 
C. Monitoring. If required by the department, a 

monitoring plan shall be developed by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, or by PRPs as directed by the 
department. A monitoring plan prepared by PRPs shall be 
submitted to the department for review and approval. The 
department shall provide comments to the PRPs and require 
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revisions as necessary before approving the PRPs’ plan. This 
plan shall include a description of provisions for monitoring 
of site conditions during the post-remedial management 
period to prevent further endangerment to human health and 
the environment, including: 

C.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2191 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2512 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2138 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2758 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2140 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 6. Cost Recovery 
§607. Determination of Remedial Costs; Demand to 

PRPs 
A. Timing. The Office of Environmental Assessment 

may at any time prepare a written determination of the cost 
of partial or complete remediation of a site. The department 
may revise its determination in writing at any time 
thereafter. 

B. - D.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2193 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2513 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2138 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2759 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2141 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 7. Settlement and Negotiations 
§705. Negotiations 

A. - B.4. ... 
C. Negotiations after Issuance of Administrative Orders. 

PRPs who have received unilateral administrative orders 
may negotiate with the Office of Environmental Assessment 
for dismissal of the administrative order upon execution of a 
cooperative agreement unless an emergency situation has 
been declared or the department determines that a stay of 
remedial actions or of enforcement will be detrimental to the 
public health, welfare, or the environment. The department 
has sole discretion in determining whether to enter into 
negotiations after issuance of a unilateral administrative 
order. Except by written determination of the department, no 
request for or conduct of negotiations in accordance with 
this Section shall serve to stay or modify the terms of any 
such unilateral administrative order. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2194 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2513 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2138 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2759 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2141 
(November 2017). 

§711. Mixed Funding 
A. - B. ... 
C. Eligibility and Mixed Funding Criteria. The Office of 

Environmental Assessment shall make a determination 
whether a proposal is eligible for funding. The only 
circumstances under which mixed funding can be approved 
by the department are when the funding will achieve both: 

C.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2171 et seq., 2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2195 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2513 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2139 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2759 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2141 
(November 2017). 

Chapter 8. Public Information and Participation 
§801. Public Information 

A. - B. ... 
1. Information Repositories. The Office of 

Environmental Assessment may establish and maintain an 
information repository in a public location near the site. If a 
repository is established, PRPs shall provide the department 
with copies of all necessary documents. 

2. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2196 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2513 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2139 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2759 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2141 
(November 2017). 

§803. Public Participation 
A. In order to ensure that the public has an opportunity to 

comment on site-related decisions, the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, or PRPs as directed by the 
department, shall provide opportunities for public 
participation as listed in this Section. All public participation 
activities undertaken by PRPs shall be performed under the 
direction and approval of the department. 

1. - 1.b. … 
2. For sites where the secretary has made a demand 

for remedial action in accordance with R.S. 30:2275, the 
department shall, upon written request, provide an 
opportunity for a public meeting prior to approval of a site 
remedial investigation plan and selection of a remedy. 
Additionally, if a written request is received, the department 
shall hold a public comment period of not more than 60 
calendar days duration prior to approval of a site remedial 
investigation plan and selection of a site remedy. Written 
requests shall be mailed to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment. 

a. ... 
b. Prior to any public comment period, the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, or PRPs as directed by the 
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department, shall place a copy of the document being 
reviewed in a public location near the site. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2221 et seq., and 2271 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2196 (November 1999), 
amended LR 26:2513 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2139 (October 2007), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2759 (November 2012), repromulgated LR 39:85 (January 
2013), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2141 (November 2017). 

Chapter 9. Voluntary Remediation 
§911. Application Process 

A. Voluntary Remedial Investigation Applications. Prior 
to performing a remedial investigation and submission of the 
application in Subsection B of this Section, the applicant 
may submit a voluntary remedial investigation application 
for review and approval by the administrative authority, 
which consists of the following: 

1. a voluntary remedial investigation application Form 
VCP001, available from the Office of Environmental 
Assessment and on the department's website, with required 
attachments, accompanied by the remedial investigation 
work plan review fee; and 

2. - 2.f. ... 
B. Voluntary Remediation Applications. Prior to 

implementation of a voluntary remedial action at a site, 
applicants must submit a voluntary remediation application 
to the Office of Environmental Assessment for review and 
final approval. The application shall consist of the following: 

1. a voluntary remediation application Form VCP002, 
available from the Office of Environmental Assessment and 
on the department's website, with required attachments, 
accompanied by the remedial action plan review fee; 

B.2. - C.1. ... 
2. After the application is accepted for public review 

and before the beginning of the public comment period 
provided in Subsections D and F of this Section, the 
applicant shall provide the number of copies of the accepted 
application specified by the administrative authority to the 
Office of Environmental Assessment. 

3. ... 
D. Public Notice. Upon acceptance of the voluntary 

remediation application, as set forth in Subsection C of this 
Section, the applicant must place a public notice of the 
proposed voluntary remedial action plan in the local 
newspaper of general circulation in the parish where the 
voluntary remediation site is located. The public notice shall 
be a single classified advertisement at least 4 inches by 6 
inches in size in the legal or public notices section. The 
applicant must provide proof of publication of the notice to 
the Office of Environmental Assessment prior to final 
approval of the plan. The public notice shall: 

1. - 2. ... 
3. indicate that comments shall be submitted to the 

Office of Environmental Assessment (including the contact

person, mailing address, and physical address), as well as 
indicate the deadline for submission of comments; 

4. - 5. ... 
E. Direct Notice to Landowners. Within five days of the 

public notice in Subsection D of this Section, the applicant 
must send a direct written notice of the voluntary remedial 
action plan to persons owning immovable property 
contiguous to the voluntary remediation site. This notice 
shall be sent to persons listed as owners of the property on 
the rolls of the parish tax assessor as of the date on which the 
voluntary remediation application is submitted. The notice 
must be sent by certified mail and contain the same 
information that is provided in the public notice. Return 
receipts or other evidence of the receipt or attempted 
delivery of the direct notice must be provided to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment prior to final approval of the 
plan. 

F. Public Hearing and Comment 
1. Comments on the voluntary remedial action plan 

shall be accepted by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment for a period of 30 days after the date of the 
public notice and shall be fully considered by the 
administrative authority prior to final approval of the plan. 
However, if the administrative authority determines a shorter 
or longer comment period is warranted, the administrative 
authority may provide for a shorter or longer comment 
period in the public notice described in Paragraph D.1 of this 
Section. Also, the comment period provided in the public 
notice may be extended by the administrative authority if the 
administrative authority determines such an extension is 
warranted. 

F.2. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2285 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:516 (April 2001), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2024 
(September 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 31:2485 (October 2005), LR 33:2139 
(October 2007), LR 34:1901 (September 2008), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2759 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2142 (November 2017). 

§913. Completion of Voluntary Remedial Actions 
A. - D. ... 

1. the applicant provides written notice to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment at least 15 days in advance of 
the termination; 

2. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2285 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:518 (April 2001), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2485 (October 2005), LR 33:2140 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2760 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2142 (November 2017). 
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Part IX.  Water Quality 
Subpart 3.  Louisiana Sewage Sludge and Biosolids 

Program 
Chapter 73. Standards for the Use or Disposal of 

Sewage Sludge and Biosolids 
Subchapter A. Program Requirements 
§7313. Standard Conditions Applicable to All Sewage 

Sludge and Biosolids Use or Disposal Permits 
A. - C.3.b. ... 

c. The regulations and guidelines on the 
environmental laboratory accreditation program and a list of 
laboratories that have applied for accreditation are available 
on the department’s website. Questions concerning the 
program may be directed to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment. 

D. - D.8.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2074(B)(1)(c) and (B)(3)(e). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:2406 (November 2007), amended LR 35:941 
(May 2009), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2760 (November 2012), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 43:2143 (November 2017). 

Part XI.  Underground Storage Tanks 
Chapter 3. Registration Requirements, Standards, 

and Fee Schedule 
§301. Registration Requirements 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. All existing UST systems previously registered 

with the department shall be considered to be in compliance 
with this requirement if the information on file with the 
department is current and accurate. Maintaining current and 
accurate information with the department includes notifying 
the Office of Environmental Assessment of changes in 
ownership, or of changes in UST system descriptions 
resulting from upgrading, by filing an amended registration 
form within 30 days of the change in ownership or in 
description of the UST system. 

B. New UST Systems. Upon the effective date of these 
regulations, all owners of new UST systems (as defined in 
LAC 33:XI.103) must, at least 30 days before bringing such 
tanks into use, register them on an underground storage tank 
registration form (UST-REG-01). Registration forms shall be 
filed with the Office of Environmental Assessment. The 
following registration requirements apply to new UST 
systems. 

1. - 2. ... 
C. All UST system owners or operators shall comply 

with the following requirements. 
1. Any person who sells a UST system shall so notify 

the Office of Environmental Assessment in writing within 30 
days after the date of the transaction. A person selling a UST 
must also notify the person acquiring a regulated UST 
system of the owner’s registration obligations under this 
Section. 

2. Any person who acquires a UST system shall 
submit to the Office of Environmental Assessment an 
amended registration form within 30 days after the date of 
acquisition. 

3. - 4. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 11:1139 (December 
1985), amended LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), 
LR 18:727 (July 1992), LR 20:294 (March 1994), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2558 (November 2000), LR 28:475 (March 2002), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1066 
(May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2520 (October 2005), repromulgated LR 32:393 
(March 2006), amended LR 32:1852 (October 2006), LR 33:2171 
(October 2007), LR 34:2116 (October 2008), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2760 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2143 (November 2017). 

§303. Standards for UST Systems 
A. - C.1. ... 

2. The department may grant an extension to these 
dates only in the event that the UST or UST system 
installation is delayed due to adverse weather conditions or 
other unforeseen, unavoidable circumstances. A written 
contract alone does not qualify as an unforeseen, 
unavoidable circumstance. In order to obtain an extension, 
the UST owner must submit a written request to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, describing the circumstances 
that have caused the installation delay. 

D. - D.6.b.i.(e). ... 
 ii. Beginning January 20, 1992, all owners and 
operators must ensure that the individual exercising 
supervisory control over installation critical-junctures (as 
defined in LAC 33:XI.1303) of a UST system is certified in 
accordance with LAC 33:XI.Chapter 13. To demonstrate 
compliance with Subparagraph D.6.a of this Section, all 
owners and operators must provide a certification of 
compliance on the UST Registration of technical 
requirements form (UST-REG-02) within 60 days of the 
introduction of any regulated substance. Forms shall be filed 
with the Office of Environmental Assessment. 

c. Notification of Installation. The owner and 
operator must notify the Office of Environmental 
Assessment in writing at least 30 days before beginning 
installation of a UST system by: 
 i. ... 
 ii. notifying the appropriate regional office of the 
Office of Environmental Assessment by mail or fax seven 
days prior to commencing the installation and before 
commencing any installation-critical juncture (as defined in 
LAC 33:XI:1303); 

D.6.c.iii. - E.6. ... 
a. The owner and operator must notify the Office of 

Environmental Assessment in writing at least 30 days before 
beginning a UST system upgrade. 

b. An amended registration form (UST-REG-02) 
must be submitted to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment within 30 days after the UST system is 
upgraded. The owner and operator must certify compliance 
with Subsection C of this Section on the amended 
registration form (UST-REG-02). Beginning January 20, 
1992, the amended registration forms (UST-REG-01 and 02) 
shall include the name and department-issued certificate
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number of the individual exercising supervisory control over 
those steps in the upgrade that involve repair-critical 
junctures or installation-critical junctures (as defined in LAC 
33:XI.1303) of a UST system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 11:1139 (December 
1985), amended LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), 
LR 18:728 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2558 
(November 2000), LR 28:475 (March 2002), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1066 (May 2005), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2520 (October 2005), LR 33:2171 (October 2007), LR 34:2116 
(October 2008), LR 35:1493 (August 2009), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2761 (November 2012), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 43: 2143 (November 2017). 

Chapter 5. General Operating Requirements 
§507. Repairs Allowed 

A. ... 
1. Except in emergencies, the owner and operator 

shall notify the Office of Environmental Assessment in 
advance of the necessity for conducting a repair to a UST 
system. 

A.2. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2558 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1070 (May 2005), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2172 
(October 2007), LR 34:2119 (October 2008), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2761 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43: 000 (November 2017). 

Chapter 7. Methods of Release Detection and Release 
Reporting, Investigation, Confirmation, 
and Response 

§701. Methods of Release Detection 
A. - A.8.a. ... 

b. The release-detection method has been approved 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment on the basis of a 
demonstration by the owner and operator that the method 
can detect a release as effectively as any of the methods 
allowed in Paragraphs A.3-8 of this Section. In comparing 
methods, the Office of Environmental Assessment shall 
consider the size of release that the method can detect and 
the frequency and reliability with which it can be detected. If 
the method is approved, the owner and operator must 
comply with any conditions imposed on its use by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment. 

B. - B.4.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1072 
(May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 33:2172 (October 2007), LR 34:2120 (October 2008), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2762 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2144 
(November 2017). 

§703. Requirements for Use of Release Detection 

Methods 
A. - C.2.e.ii. ... 

 iii. obtain approval from the Office of 
Environmental Assessment to use the alternate release 
detection method before the installation and operation of the 
new UST system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2559 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1073 (May 2005), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2172 
(October 2007), LR 34:1400 (July 2008), LR 34:2120 (October 
2008), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2762 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2144 
(November 2017). 

§715. Release Response and Corrective Action for UST 

Systems Containing Petroleum or Hazardous 

Substances 
A. - C.1.f. ... 

2. Within 20 days after release confirmation or 
another reasonable period of time determined by the 
department in writing, owners and operators must submit a 
report to the Office of Environmental Assessment 
summarizing the initial abatement steps taken under 
Paragraph C.1 of this Section and any resulting information 
or data. 

D. - D.1.e. ... 
2. Within 60 days of release confirmation or another 

reasonable period of time determined by the department in 
writing, owners and operators must submit the information 
collected in compliance with Paragraph D.1 of this Section 
to the Office of Environmental Assessment in a manner that 
demonstrates its applicability and technical adequacy, or in a 
format and according to the schedule required by the 
department. 

E. Free Product Removal. At sites where investigations 
under Subparagraph C.1.f of this Section indicate the 
presence of free product, owners and operators must remove 
free product to the maximum extent practicable as 
determined by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
while continuing, as necessary, any actions initiated under 
Subsections B-D of this Section, or preparing for actions 
required under Subsections F-G of this Section. To meet the 
requirements of this Subsection, owners and operators must 
take the following actions. 

1. - 3. ... 
4. Unless directed to do otherwise by the department, 

prepare and submit to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, within 45 days after confirming a release, a free 
product removal report that provides at least the following 
information: 

E.4.a. - G.4. ... 
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a. notify the Office of Environmental Assessment of 
their intention to begin cleanup; 

G.4.b. - H.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, LR 24:2253 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2559 (November 2000), LR 30:1677 (August 2004), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2172 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2762 (November 2012), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 43:2144 (November 2017). 

Chapter 9. Out-of-Service UST Systems and Closure 
§903. Temporary Closure 

A. - B.2. ... 
3. submit a completed copy of the registration form 

UST-REG-01 to the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
indicating the dates the UST system was temporarily closed. 

C. ... 
D. When a UST system is temporarily closed for more 

than 24 months, owners and operators shall complete a site 
assessment in accordance with LAC 33:XI.907. The results 
of the assessment and documentation of compliance with the 
temporary closure requirements in Subsection A of this 
Section must be submitted in duplicate to the Office of 
Environmental Assessment within 60 days following the end 
of the 24-month temporary closure period. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1074 (May 2005), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2520 
(October 2005), LR 33:2173 (October 2007), LR 34:2120 (October 
2008), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2762 (November 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2144 
(November 2017). 

§905. Permanent Closure and Changes-in-Service 
A. At least 30 days before beginning either permanent 

closure or a change-in-service under Subsections B, C, and 
D of this Section, owners and operators must notify the 
Office of Environmental Assessment of their intent to 
permanently close or make the change-in-service, unless 
such action is in response to corrective action. 

1. - 1.a. ... 
b. notifying the appropriate regional office of the 

Office of Environmental Assessment by mail or fax at least 
seven days prior to implementing the removal or change. 

A.2. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2560 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1074 (May 2005), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2173 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2763 (November 2012), repromulgated LR 39:85 
(January 2013), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2145 
(November 2017). 

§907. Assessing the Site at Closure or Change-in-

Service 
A. Before permanent closure or a change-in-service is 

completed, owners and operators must measure for the 
presence of a release where contamination is most likely to 
be present at the UST site, utilizing the procedure approved 
by the department. In selecting sample types, sample 
locations, and measurement methods, owners and operators 
must consider the method of closure, the nature of the stored 
substance, the type of backfill, the depth to groundwater, and 
other factors appropriate for identifying the presence of a 
release. Results of this assessment must be submitted in 
duplicate to the Office of Environmental Assessment within 
60 days following permanent closure or change in service. 
The assessment results shall include a site diagram 
indicating locations where samples were collected and a 
written statement specifying which USTs have been closed. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 18:728 (July 1992), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2560 (November 2000), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1074 (May 2005), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2173 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2763 (November 2012), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 43:2145 (November 2017). 

Chapter 11. Financial Responsibility 
§1111. Financial Test of Self-Insurance 

A. - C.5.b. ... 
D. To demonstrate that it meets the financial test under 

Subsection B or C of this Section, the chief financial officer 
of the owner or operator, or guarantor, must sign, within 120 
days of the close of each financial reporting year, as defined 
by the 12-month period for which financial statements used 
to support the financial test are prepared, a letter worded 
exactly as follows, except that the instructions in brackets 
are to be replaced by the relevant information and the 
brackets deleted. To prepare this letter, the owner or operator 
must use the form required by the department. This form 
may be obtained from the Office of Environmental 
Assessment. 

* * * 
E. - F. … 
G. If the owner or operator fails to obtain alternate 

assurance within 150 days of finding that he or she no longer 
meets the requirements of the financial test based on the 
year-end financial statements, or within 30 days of 
notification by the administrative authority that he or she no 
longer meets the requirements of the financial test, the 
owner or operator must notify the Office of Environmental 
Assessment of such failure within 10 days. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2560 (November 2000), 
LR 27:2232 (December 2001), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2521 (October 2005), LR 
33:2173 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 38:2763 (November 2012), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations 
Division, LR 43:2145 (November 2017). 

§1113. Guarantee 
A. - A.2. ... 
B. Within 120 days of the close of each financial 

reporting year the guarantor must demonstrate that it meets 
the financial test criteria of LAC 33:XI.1111 based on year-
end financial statements for the latest completed financial 
reporting year by completing the letter from the chief 
financial officer described in LAC 33:XI.1111.D and must 
deliver the letter to the owner or operator. If the guarantor 
fails to meet the requirements of the financial test at the end 
of any financial reporting year, within 120 days of the end of 
that financial reporting year the guarantor shall send by 
certified mail, before cancellation or nonrenewal of the 
guarantee, notice to the owner or operator and to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment. If the Office of 
Environmental Assessment notifies the guarantor that he no 
longer meets the requirements of the financial test of LAC 
33:XI.1111.B or C and D, the guarantor must notify the 
owner or operator within 10 days of receiving such 
notification from the Office of Environmental Assessment. 
In both cases, the guarantee will terminate no less than 120 
days after the date the owner or operator receives the 
notification, as evidenced by the return receipt. The owner or 
operator must obtain alternative coverage as specified in 
LAC 33:XI.1139.C. 

C. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2561 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2521 (October 2005), LR 33:2174 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2763 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2146 (November 2017). 

§1123. Trust Fund 
A. - C. ... 
D. If the value of the trust fund is greater than the 

required amount of coverage, the owner or operator may 
submit a written request to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment for release of the excess. 

E. If other financial assurance as specified in this 
Chapter is substituted for all or part of the trust fund, the 
owner or operator may submit a written request to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment for release of the excess. 

F. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2561 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2521 (October 2005), LR 33:2174 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2764 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2146 (November 2017). 

§1129. Cancellation or Nonrenewal by a Provider of 

Financial Assurance 
A. - A.2. ... 
B. If a provider of financial responsibility cancels or fails 

to renew for reasons other than incapacity of the provider as 
specified in LAC 33:XI.1131, the owner or operator must 
obtain alternate coverage as specified in this Section within 
60 days after receipt of the notice of termination. If the 
owner or operator fails to obtain alternate coverage within 
60 days after receipt of the notice of termination, the owner 
or operator must notify the Office of Environmental 
Assessment of such failure and submit: 

1. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2561 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2521 (October 2005), LR 33:2174 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2764 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2146 (November 2017). 

§1131. Reporting by Owner or Operator 
A. An owner or operator must submit to the Office of 

Environmental Assessment the appropriate forms listed in 
LAC 33:XI.1133.B documenting current evidence of 
financial responsibility as follows. 

A.1. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2562 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2521 (October 2005), LR 33:2174 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2764 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2146 (November 2017). 

§1139. Bankruptcy or Other Incapacity of Owner or 

Operator or Provider of Financial Assurance 
A. Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or 

involuntary proceeding under title 11 (bankruptcy), U.S. 

Code, naming an owner or operator as debtor, the owner or 
operator must notify the Office of Environmental 
Assessment by certified mail of such commencement and 
submit the appropriate forms listed in LAC 33:XI.1133.B 
documenting current financial responsibility. 
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B. ... 
C. An owner or operator who obtains financial assurance 

by a mechanism other than the financial test of self-
insurance will be deemed to be without the required 
financial assurance in the event of a bankruptcy or 
incapacity of its provider of financial assurance, or a 
suspension or revocation of the authority of the provider of 
financial assurance to issue a guarantee, insurance policy, 
risk retention group coverage policy, surety bond, or letter of 
credit. The owner or operator must obtain alternate financial 
assurance as specified in this Chapter within 30 days after 
receiving notice of such an event. If the owner or operator 
does not obtain alternate coverage within 30 days after such 
notification, he must notify the Office of Environmental 
Assessment. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2562 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1578 
(July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2522 (October 2005), LR 33:2174 (October 2007), 
LR 34:1902 (September 2008), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2764 (November 2012), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 43:2146 (November 2017). 

§1305. Categories of Certification and Requirements 

for Issuance and Renewal of Certificates 
A. - B. ... 

1. To qualify for an examination, a person need not be 
a resident of Louisiana. A person must provide, to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, payment of the examination 
fee and meet the following requirements to be eligible for a 
UST certification examination. 

B.1.a. - E. ... 
F. Expiration and Renewal of Certificates 

1. All UST certificates and certificate renewals shall 
expire December 31 of every second year. Applications for 
certificate renewal and payment of the renewal fee should be 
submitted to the Office of Environmental Assessment by 
November 1 of each year they expire. A person whose 
certificate has expired prior to his or her submission of 
evidence of compliance with Paragraph F.2 of this Section 
shall be considered a new applicant for certification. 

F.2. - G.2. ... 
H. Changes in Employment. It is incumbent upon a 

certified person to provide written notification to the Office 
of Environmental Assessment within 20 days after his or her 
knowledge of a change in employment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2562 (November 2000), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29:2052 
(October 2003), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 30:2804 (December 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2522 (October

2005), LR 33:2175 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2764 (November 2012), LR 
43:951 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2147 
(November 2017). 

§1309. Approval of Continuing Training Courses 
A. No course in continuing education submitted to the 

Office of Environmental Assessment will be considered for 
approval unless the course: 

1. - 2. ... 
B. Applications for approval of specific training 

programs shall be submitted to the Office of Environmental 
Assessment in writing. Such submissions shall contain a 
complete course outline; training material; sample 
certificates; methodology for verifying attendance; date, 
time, and location of the course; the name of the offering 
organization; the credentials of the instructors; and a 
certification that the technology or methods that will be 
presented in the training program will satisfy department 
rules, and state and federal laws governing UST system 
installation, repair, or closure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 17:658 (July 1991), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2562 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2522 (October 2005), LR 33:2175 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2765 (November 
2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2147 (November 2017). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1711#025 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Incorporation by ReferenceWater Quality 
(LAC 33:IX.4901 and 4903)(WQ096ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Water Quality regulations, LAC 
33:IX.4901 and 4903 (Log #WQ096ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in title 
40, volume 23, part 136; volume 29, parts 401 and 405-424; 
volume 30, parts 425-471, which are applicable in 
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 219-3985 or P.O. Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-
4302. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
Rule. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
procedures in R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule changes the reference dates to 40 CFR part 136 
and 40 CFR parts 401 and 405-471. This updates the 
regulation to reflect the July 1, 2016 EPA publication. LAC 
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33:IX.Chapter 49 incorporates the following portions of the 
federal regulations into the Louisiana Water Quality 
regulations: 

1. 40 CFR part 136, Guidelines Establishing Test 
Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants, July 1, 2016, in its 
entirety; 

2. 40 CFR chapter I, subchapter N, Effluent 
Guidelines and Standards, parts 401 and 405-471, July 1, 
2016. 

This action incorporates the recently updated federal 
regulations into Louisiana’s Water Quality regulations, 
increasing the enforceability of LPDES permits that include 
EPA-approved analytical methods and effluent limitations 
guidelines. The published edition of the 40 CFR is regularly 
updated on July 1 of every calendar year; therefore, this Rule 
will incorporate the date of July 1, 2016. The basis and 
rationale for this Rule are to mirror the federal regulations. 
This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Subpart 2.  The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (LPDES) Program 
Chapter 49. Incorporation by Reference 
§4901. 40 CFR Part 136 

A. 40 CFR part 136, Guidelines Establishing Test 
Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants, July 1, 2016, in its 
entirety, is hereby incorporated by reference. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 25:1467 (August 1999), LR 26:1609 
(August 2000), LR 27:2231 (December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 
2002), LR 29:700 (May 2003), repromulgated LR 30:232 
(February 2004), amended LR 30:752 (April 2004), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:920 (April 2005), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:604 (April 2006), LR 33:641 (April 2007), LR 34:867 (May 
2008), LR 35:1110 (June 2009), LR 36:2275 (October 2010), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2747 (November 2012), LR 40:1693 (September 2014), LR 
41:2135 (October 2015), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2148 
(November 2017). 

§4903. 40 CFR, Chapter I, Subchapter N 
A. 40 CFR chapter I, subchapter N, Effluent Guidelines 

and Standards, parts 401 and 405-471, July 1, 2016 are 
hereby incorporated by reference. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 25:1467 (August 1999), LR 26:1609 
(August 2000), LR 27:2232 (December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 
2002), LR 29:700 (May 2003), LR 29:1467 (August 2003), 
repromulgated LR 30:232 (February 2004), amended LR 30:752

(April 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
LR 31:920 (April 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division LR 32:604 (April 2006), LR 32:819 (May 
2006), LR 33:641 (April 2007), LR 34:867 (May 2008), LR 35:654 
(April 2009), LR 35:1110 (June 2009), LR 36:2275 (October 2010), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
38:2747 (November 2012), LR 40:1693 (September 2014), LR 
41:2136 (October 2015), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 43:2148 
(November 2017). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1711#024 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigation Division 

In-Kind Replacements 
(LAC 33:III.501)(AQ372) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 
33:III.501.D (AQ372). 

This Rule allows the owner/operator of a facility that 
requires an air permit to replace an emissions unit with an 
identical or functionally equivalent unit without prior 
approval of the department, provided that the replacement 
unit: 

• does not increase the potential to emit of any 
regulated pollutant on an hourly or annual basis; 

• does not alter the basic design parameters of the 
process unit or facility; 

• is not subject to regulatory requirements that differ 
from those applicable to the emissions unit being replaced; 
and 

• does not result in a significant emissions increase of 
any nonattainment pollutant (if the facility is a major 

stationary source as defined in LAC 33:III.504, 
Nonattainment New Source Review) or regulated NSR 
pollutant (if the facility is a major stationary source as 
defined in LAC 33:III.509, Prevention of Significant 
Deterioration); 

• records of in-kind replacements shall be kept on-site 
and available for inspection by the Office of Environmental 
Compliance. 

The replaced emissions unit must also be removed from 
the facility or otherwise permanently disabled. 

Currently, the owner/operator of a facility that requires an 
air permit must obtain approval of the department prior to 
replacing an emissions unit with an identical or functionally 
equivalent unit, even if no changes to the emission limits and 
monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements of 
the facility’s permit are necessary. The basis and rationale 
for this Rule are to allow permittees to make certain “in-
kind” replacements without first having to obtain an air 
permit modification. This Rule meets an exception listed in 
R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 
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report regarding environmental/health benefits and 
social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - C.14. … 
D. Special Provisions for In-Kind Replacements. 

Replacement of an existing emissions unit with an identical 
or functionally equivalent unit shall not constitute a 
modification for purposes of LAC 33:III.501.C.1 and 2, 
provided that all of the following criteria are met. 

1. The replacement unit shall not: 
a. increase the potential to emit any regulated 

pollutant on an hourly or annual basis; 
b. alter the basic design parameters of the process 

unit or facility; or 
c. trigger new regulatory requirements necessitating 

a modification to the facility’s permit. 
2. The replacement unit shall comply with all 

emission limits, operational restrictions, performance testing 
conditions, and monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting 
requirements imposed by the facility’s permit on the 
replaced emissions unit. 

3. For a facility that constitutes a major stationary 

source, as defined in LAC 33:III.504.K, the emissions 
increase of each nonattainment pollutant, as calculated in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.504.A.3 shall be less than the 
trigger values used to determine whether a calculation of the 
net emissions increase over the contemporaneous period 
must be performed. 

4. For a facility that constitutes a major stationary 

source, as defined in LAC 33:III.509.B, the emissions 
increase of each regulated NSR pollutant, as calculated in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.509.A.4, shall be less than the 
amount deemed significant, as defined in LAC 33:III.509.B. 

5. For purposes of LAC 33:III.504 and 509, no 
creditable emission reductions shall be generated from 
shutting down the replaced emissions unit. 

6. The replaced emissions unit shall be removed from 
the facility or otherwise disabled. 

7. Records of in-kind replacements shall be kept on-
site and available for inspection by the Office of 
Environmental Compliance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011 and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 
19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1281 (November 1994), LR 
20:1375 (December 1994), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1063 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), LR 
32:1842 (October 2006), LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2626 
(December 2007), LR 35:461 (March 2009), LR 35:2351 
(November 2009), LR 37:1145, 1148 (April 2011), LR 37:1391

(May 2011), LR 37:3221, 3233 (November 2011), repromulgated 
LR 37:3507 (December 2011), LR 43:520 (March 2017), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigation Division, LR 43:2149 (November 2017). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1711#026  

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Cemetery Board 

Cemetery Industry (LAC 46:XIII.103, 701, 707, 709, 
1501, 1505, 1507, 1509, 1707, 1711, 1713, and 1909) 

The Office of the Governor, Louisiana Cemetery Board 
has amended LAC 46:XIII.103, 701, 707, 709, 1501, 1505, 
1707, 1711, and 1909 and has adopted in their entirety LAC 
46:XIII.1507, 1509, and 1713 as authorized by R.S. 8:67. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XIII.  Cemetery Industry 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Definitions 

A. ... 

* * * 

Derivative and Hedge Transactions or Investmentsan 
agreement, option or instrument, or any series or 
combination thereof, to make or take delivery of, or assume 
or relinquish, a specified amount of one or more underlying 
interests, or instead to make a cash settlement, or that has a 
price, yield, level, performance, value, or cash flow which is 
based primarily on that of one or more underlying interest. 
The term includes, but is not limited to, options (calls and 
puts), not otherwise permitted to be held by a trust under the 
provisions of title 8 or these rules, and any other 
substantially similar instruments. The term does not include 
a collateralized mortgage obligation, another asset-backed 
security, a principal-protected structured security, a floating 
rate security, an instrument that a trust is otherwise permitted 
to invest in or receive by a trust under the provisions of title 
8 and these rules. 

* * * 

Trust Accountfor purposes of R.S. 8:412(B)(1) only 
and for no other purpose, an escrow account, established by 
an abandoned cemetery sales and management licensee. The 
funds contained therein, shall not be the property of the 
abandoned cemetery sales and management licensee and 
must be used solely in accordance with R.S. 8:412(B)(1) and 
for no other purposes. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

8:67. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Cemetery Board, LR 1:519 (December 1975), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2739 
(October 2013), LR 43:2149 (November 2017). 
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Chapter 7. Certificate or License 
§701. Applications 

A. ... 
B. If the applicant fails to submit the necessary 

documentation needed to complete an application, or the 
application remains incomplete and pending for a period in 
excess of 180 days without the applicant applying for and 
being granted an extension for good cause shown, the 
application shall be considered void, and any application 
fees paid in conjunction therewith shall be forfeited by the 
applicant and shall not be refunded; thereafter a new 
application for license must be submitted by the applicant, 
together with the payment of the applicable application fee 
without credit for any fees previously paid. 

C. An application may be approved and certificate issued 
if the director or the director’s designee determines that the 
applicant, its owners or managerial personnel meet the 
qualifications for license, has no unresolved or outstanding 
violations of title 8 or these rules, and are not subject to any 
investigation for violations of title 8 or these rules. 

D. If the director or director’s designee determines that 
further investigation is warranted, the director or director’s 
designee may seek additional information from the 
applicant, from third parties, and may refer all matters to the 
assistant attorney general for further investigation and 
inquiry as warranted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Cemetery Board, LR 1:521 (December 1975), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2741 
(October 2013), LR 43:2150 (November 2017). 

§707. Other Provisions Concerning Certificate or 

License 

[Formerly §705] 
A. - B. ... 
C. When an application for certificate of authority has 

been filed, but has not been acted upon by the board, for a 
change in the ownership or control of an already-licensed 
cemetery or cemetery authority and the existing certificate of 
authority expires, the annual regulatory charge due as 
provided for by the Louisiana Cemetery Act shall 
nonetheless be paid. 

1. Upon payment of the annual regulatory charge, the 
board or its designee may issue a temporary certificate of 
authority, not to exceed 180 days without the applicant 
seeking and being granted an extension by the board or its 
designee for good cause shown, whose application for the 
change in the ownership or control of the cemetery or 
cemetery authority is pending. A temporary certificate of 
authority issued pursuant to this Subsection may be revoked 
by the board or its designee with or without cause. 

D. If an applicant fails to submit the necessary 
documentation needed to complete an application for 
certificate of authority or license and the application remains 
pending for a period in excess of 180 days, without the 
applicant seeking and being granted an extension by the 
board or its designee for good cause shown, the application 
will be considered stale dated and the applicant must reapply 
including the resubmission of all time-sensitive information, 
documentation, and repayment of the prescribed application 
fees as provided for by the Louisiana Cemetery Act. Nothing 
contained herein to the contrary shall prohibit the board from 

pursuing regulatory action for an applicant’s failure to 
comply with title 8 or these rules. 

E. Prior to the issuance of a certificate of authority to a 
newly established cemetery, the board may require the 
submission of minimum development plans, including, but 
not limited to, maps and plats and a development schedule 
for any roads and non-interment structures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Cemetery Board, LR 1:522 (December 1975), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2741 
(October 2013), LR 43:2150 (November 2017). 

§709. Refusal to Grant or Renew Certificate of 

Authority or License 

[Formerly §707] 
A.  If the director or director’s designee refuses to grant 

or renew any certificate of authority to engage in the 
business of a cemetery, or the applicant has unresolved or 
outstanding violations of title 8 or these rules and/or is 
subject to a pending investigation for violation of title 8 or 
these rules, the director or director’s designee shall give the 
applicant written notice of the decision and all of his or her 
reasons therefor. The applicant shall have 30 days after 
receipt of notice of the decision in which to initiate an 
adjudication proceeding before the board in accordance with 
§1101 et seq. If no such proceeding is initiated, the action 
shall be deemed a final decision of the board. 

B.  If the director or director’s designee refuses to grant 
or renew any license to engage in the business of a cemetery 
sales organization or a cemetery management organization, 
or the applicant has unresolved or outstanding violations of 
title 8 or these rules and/or is subject to a pending 
investigation for violation of title 8 or these rules, the 
director or director’s designee shall give the applicant 
written notice of the decision and all of his or her reasons 
therefor. The applicant shall have 30 days after receipt of 
notice of the decision in which to initiate an adjudication 
proceeding before the board in accordance with §1101 et 
seq. If no such proceeding is initiated, the action shall be 
deemed a final decision of the board. 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

8:67. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Cemetery Board, LR 1:522 (December 1975), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2741 
(October 2013), LR 43:2150 (November 2017). 

Chapter 15. Cemetery Care Fund 
§1501. Payments to Perpetual Care Trust Fund 

[Formerly §1301] 
A. - E. ... 
F. In the event of a documented deposit overfunding 

error or when a contract for a cemetery space or interment 
right is cancelled, terminated, upgraded, or traded, the 
cemetery authority shall be entitled to a credit for the 
amount deposited and attributable to such space, provided 
that the cemetery authority can provide sufficient 
documentation, acceptable to the board, of the credit due. 

G. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

8:67. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Cemetery Board, LR 8:467 (September 1982), 
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amended by the Office of the Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 
39:2748 (October 2013), LR 43:2150 (November 2017). 

§1505. Annual Reports Required 
A. ... 
B. All trustees of perpetual or endowed care trust funds 

shall submit a report to the board, on the forms prescribed by 
the board, within 5 months after the close of the cemetery 
authority’s tax reporting year, or within 60 days from 
resignation as trustee. The assets of the trust shall be 
reported on a cost basis. 

1. All trustees of perpetual or endowed care trust 
funds shall amortize bond premiums and discounts and 
adjust the cost value accordingly over the life of the bond to 
ensure the cost of the bond will be equivalent to the value of 
the bond at acquisition.  

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

8:67. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2748 (October 2013), amended 
LR 43:2151 (November 2017). 

§1507. Administration and Investment of Perpetual 

Care Trust Funds 
A. The trustee of a perpetual care trust fund shall 

administer the trust assets in a prudent manner that takes into 
consideration of the long-term safety, stability and growth of 
the trust. Engaging in speculative investments for any 
reason, including for the purpose of generating distributable 
income, is strictly prohibited. It shall be unlawful for a 
trustee or an investment advisor acting on behalf of a trustee 
of a perpetual care trust fund to: 

1. engage in derivative and hedge transactions or 
investments including, but not limited to, the buying and 
selling of options (calls and puts) with trust assets; 

2. place a margin loan, pledge or other lien against 
any of the securities or assets held in a trust; 

3. churn or excessively trade trust assets for the 
purpose of generating commissions or fees for the trustee 
and/or investment advisor. A series of transactions, even if 
suitable when viewed in isolation, may be considered 
excessive and unsuitable for the trust when taken together in 
consideration of the long-term safety, stability and growth of 
the trust. 

B. Mutual funds which are listed on a national exchange 
are permissible investments under the Louisiana Cemetery 
Act or these rules. 

1. If a mutual fund is not listed on a national exchange 
but all of its underlying assets are listed on a national 
exchange and otherwise comply with the Louisiana 
Cemetery Act or these rules, the mutual fund may be 
considered compliant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 43:2151 (November 2017). 

§1509. Investment Advisors 
A. Nothing in these rules shall be construed as 

prohibiting the trustee or cemetery authority from utilizing 
the services of an investment advisor. However, the use of an 
investment advisor does not relieve the trustee of its 
obligations and fiduciary responsibilities to administer the 
trust under the provisions of the Louisiana Cemetery Act or 
these rules including, but not limited to, directing and 

oversight of all trust assets. At all times the assets of the trust 
must be held by the trustee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 43:2151 (November 2017). 

Chapter 17. Merchandise Trust Funds 
§1707. Annual Reports Required 

A. ... 
B. All trustees of merchandise trust funds shall submit a 

report to the board, on the forms prescribed by the board, 
within 90 days after the close of the cemetery’s or other 
entity’s tax reporting year, or within 60 days from 
resignation as trustee. The assets of the trust shall be 
reported on a cost basis. 

1. All trustees of merchandise trust funds shall 
amortize bond premiums and discounts and adjust the cost 
value accordingly over the life of the bond to ensure the cost 
of the bond will be equivalent to the value of the bond at 
acquisition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2750 (October 2013), amended 
LR 43:2151 (November 2017). 

§1711. General Storage Requirements 
A. Stored merchandise must be comprised of materials 

that are designed to withstand prolonged storage without 
adversely affecting the structural integrity or aesthetic 
characteristics of such merchandise. 

1. Personal property delivery pursuant to R.S. 
8:502.1(2) and (3) shall not apply to merchandise comprised 
of materials subject to deterioration including, but not 
limited to caskets and urns, which is not delivered within 
120 days after entering into such contract, and shall not be 
stored by the cemetery. 

B. All storage of merchandise pursuant to title 8 shall be 
stored in accordance with the following requirements: 

1. merchandise shall be stored in an organized and 
accessible manner in order to allow for expedient 
verification of compliance with title 8 and these rules; and 

2. merchandise shall be stored in an environment so as 
to ensure the preservation of the merchandise. 

C. If any merchandise is determined to be damaged and 
unusable, the cemetery or other entity shall replace the 
merchandise with an item of like kind and quality. Any 
cemetery or other entity with such damaged or unusable 
merchandise shall not be in compliance with title 8 or these 
rules until such time as the damaged or unusable items are 
replaced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2750 (October 2013), amended 
LR 43:2151 (November 2017). 

§1713. Administration and Investment of Merchandise 

Trust Funds 
A. As provided for by. R.S. 8:509, merchandise trust 

funds shall be administered and invested in conformity with 
the perpetual care provisions of the Louisiana Cemetery Act 
and these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 43:2151 (November 2017). 

Chapter 19. On-Site Inspections and Examinations 
§1909. Examination Fees 

A. The board shall assess the cemetery or other entity the 
costs associated with the expenses of the examination for 
each trust fund according to the following schedule: 

1. if the examination takes two hours or less, there 
will be no fee charged; 

2. if the examination takes more than two hours, but 
less than three hours, the fee will be $125 per cemetery, per 
examiner; 

3. if the examination takes three hours or more, the 
fee will be $250 per cemetery, per examiner, per day, up to 
two days; and 

4. if the examination takes more than two days, the 
cost shall be paid by the cemetery authority in an amount not 
to exceed a total of $500, unless irregularities are found, in 
which case, the cemetery authority shall pay the full cost of 
the examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
8:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Cemetery Board, LR 39:2751 (October 2013), amended 
LR 43:2152 (November 2017). 

 
Lucy L. McCann 
Director 

1711#013 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

Employee Benefits (LAC 32:I.319, 323, and 1109; 
III.105, 107, and 109; and V.203, 205, 207, 

305, 307, 405, 505, and 507) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, the Office 
of Group Benefits has adopted a final Rule amending LAC 
32:I.319, 323, and 1109; III.105, 107, and 109; and V.203, 
205, 207, 305, 307, 405, 505, and 507. This Rule is effective 
January 1, 2018. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part I.  General Provisions 

Chapter 3. Uniform ProvisionsParticipation in the 
Office of Group Benefits 

§319. Continued Coverage 
A. - C.4. … 
D. Over-Age Dependents. If a dependent child who is the 

natural or adopted child of the enrollee is incapable of self-
sustaining employment by reason of mental or physical 
incapacity and became incapable prior to attainment of age 
26, the coverage for that dependent child may be continued 
for the duration of incapacity. 

D.1. - E.3.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, LR 41:341 
(February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 43:2152 
(November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

§323. Employer Responsibility 
A. … 
B. A participating employer shall immediately inform 

OGB when a retiree with OGB coverage returns to benefit-
eligible employment. The enrollee shall be placed in the re-
employed retiree category for premium calculation. The re-
employed retiree premium classification applies to retirees 
with and without Medicare. The premium rates applicable to 
the re-employed retiree premium classification shall be 
identical to the premium rates applicable to the classification 
for retirees without Medicare. If the re-employed retiree 
suspends retirement benefits and returns to benefit-eligible 
employment with the agency from which the re-employed 
retiree originally retired, the employee portion of the 
premium shall be withheld by payroll deduction and the 
employing agency shall remain responsible for the employer 
portion of the premium. If the re-employed retiree suspends 
retirement benefits and returns to benefit-eligible 
employment with an OGB participating agency other than 
the agency from which the re-employed retiree originally 
retired, the employee portion of the premium shall be 
withheld by payroll deduction, and the employing agency 
shall be responsible for the employer portion of the premium 
throughout the duration of employment. If the re-employed 
retiree returns to benefit-eligible employment, yet does not 
suspend retirement benefits as allowed by law, the employee 
portion of the premium shall be withheld by payroll 
deduction, and the employing OGB participating agency 
shall be responsible for the employer portion of the premium 
throughout the duration of employment. When the re-
employed retiree separates from employment with the OGB 
participating employer, the employer shall notify OGB of 
such separation within 30 days. After the re-employed retiree 
again separates from employment with an OGB participating 
employer, the agency from which the re-employed retiree 
originally retired shall again be responsible for the employer 
portion of the premium. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, LR 41:345 
(February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2351 
(November 2015), effective January 1, 2016, LR 43:2152 
(November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

Chapter 11. Contributions 
§1109. Retirees with Medicare Parts A and B 

A. Employees who retire on or after July 1, 1997, and 
who are not rehired retirees in a benefit-eligible position, 
shall receive a reduced premium rate when enrolled in 
Medicare Parts A and B.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees, State Employees Group Benefits 
Program, LR 24:496 (March 1998), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:350 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, LR 43:2152 
(November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 
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Part III.  Primary Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Operation of Primary Plan 
§105. Out of Pocket Maximums 

 

Out-of-Pocket Maximum Per Benefit Period  
(Includes All Eligible Copayments,  

Coinsurance Amounts and Deductibles) 

Individual: Network Non-Network 

Active Employee/Retirees on or after 
March 1, 2015 

$3,500 No Coverage 

Retirees prior to March 1, 2015 (With 
and Without Medicare) 

$2,000 No Coverage 

Individual, Plus One Dependent: 

Active Employee/Retirees on or after 
March 1, 2015 

$6,000 No Coverage 

Retirees prior to March 1, 2015 (With 
and Without Medicare) 

$3,000 No Coverage 

Individual, Plus Two or More Dependents: 

Active Employee/Retirees on or after 
March 1, 2015 

$8,500 No Coverage 

Retirees prior to March 1, 2015 (With 
and Without Medicare) 

$4,000 No Coverage 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:350 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2153 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

§107. Schedule of Benefits 
A. Benefits, Copayments, and Coinsurance 
 

   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Physician Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an office setting: 

• General Practice 

• Family Practice 

• Internal Medicine 

• OB/GYN 

• Pediatrics 

$25 
Copayment 

per Visit 
No Coverage 

Allied Health/Other Professional 
Visits: 

• Chiropractors 

• Federally Funded Qualified 
Rural Health Clinics 

• Nurse Practitioners 

• Retail Health Clinics 

• Physician Assistants 

$25 
Copayment 

per Visit 
No Coverage 

Specialist Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an office 
setting: 

• Physician 

• Podiatrist 

• Optometrist 

• Midwife 

• Audiologist 

• Registered Dietician 

• Sleep Disorder Clinic 

$50 
Copayment 

per Visit 
No Coverage 

Ambulance Services - Ground  
(for Emergency Medical 

Transportation only)  

$50 
Copayment 

$50 
Copayment 

Ambulance Services - Air  
(for Emergency Medical 

Transportation only) 
Non-Emergency requires prior 
authorization2 

$250 
Copayment No Coverage 

   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Ambulatory Surgical Center and 
Outpatient Surgical Facility 

$100 
Copayment 

No Coverage 

Birth Control Devices – Insertion and 
Removal (as listed in the Preventive 

and Wellness Article in the Benefit 

Plan)  

100% - 0% No Coverage 

Cardiac Rehabilitation (limit of 36 

visits per Plan Year) 

$25/$50 
Copayment 

per day 
depending 

on Provider 
Type2 

$50 
Copayment - 
Outpatient 
Facility2 

No Coverage 

Chemotherapy/Radiation Therapy 
(Authorization not required when 

performed in Physician’s office) 

Office - $25 
Copayment 

per Visit 
Outpatient 

Facility 
100% - 0%1,2 

No Coverage 

Diabetes Treatment 80% - 20%1 No Coverage 

Diabetic/Nutritional Counseling - 
Clinics and Outpatient Facilities  

$25 
Copayment 

No Coverage 

Dialysis 100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME), 
Prosthetic Appliances and Orthotic 
Devices 

80% - 20%1,2 
of first 
$5,000 

Allowable per 
Plan Year; 

100% - 0% of 
Allowable 

in Excess of 
$5,000 

per Plan Year 

No Coverage 

Emergency Room (Facility Charge) 
$200 Copayment; Waived if 
admitted to the same facility 

Emergency Medical Services  
(Non-Facility Charges) 

100% - 0%1 100% - 0%1 

Eyeglass Frames and One Pair of 
Eyeglass Lenses or One Pair of 
Contact Lenses (purchased within six 

months following cataract surgery) 

Eyeglass 
Frames – 

Limited to a 
Maximum 
Benefit of 

$501 

No Coverage 

Flu shots and H1N1 vaccines 
(administered at Network Providers, 

Non-Network Providers, Pharmacy, 

Job Site or Health Fair) 

100% - 0% No Coverage 

Hearing Aids (Hearing Aids are not 

covered for individuals age eighteen 

(18) and older.) 
80% - 20%1,3 No Coverage 

Hearing Impaired Interpreter Expense 100% - 0% No Coverage 

High-Tech Imaging - Outpatient 

• CT Scans 

• MRA/MRI 

• Nuclear Cardiology 

• PET Scans 

$50 
Copayment2 

No Coverage 

Home Health Care  
(limit of 60 Visits per Plan Year) 

100% - 0%1,2 No Coverage 

Hospice Care  
(limit of 180 Days per Plan Year) 

100% - 0%1,2 No Coverage 

Injections Received in a Physician’s 
Office (when no other health service 

is received) 
100% - 0%1 No Coverage 
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   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Inpatient Hospital Admission, All 
Inpatient Hospital Services Included 

$100 
Copayment 

per day2, 
maximum of 

$300 per 
Admission 

No Coverage 

Inpatient and Outpatient Professional 
Services for Which a Copayment Is 
Not Applicable 

100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Mastectomy Bras - Ortho-Mammary 
Surgical  
(limited to three (3) per Plan Year)  

80% - 20%1 
of first 
$5,000 

Allowable per 
Plan Year; 

100% - 0% of 
Allowable in 

Excess of 
$5,000 

per Plan Year 

No Coverage 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse - 
Inpatient Treatment and Intensive 
Outpatient Programs 

$100 
Copayment 

per day2, 
maximum of 

$300 per 
Admission 

No Coverage 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse - 
Office Visit and Outpatient Treatment 
(Other than Intensive Outpatient 
Programs) 

$25 
Copayment 

per Visit 
No Coverage 

Newborn - Sick, Services excluding 
Facility 

100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Newborn - Sick, Facility 

$100 
Copayment 

per day2, 
maximum of 

$300 per 
Admission 

No Coverage 

Oral Surgery  100% - 0%1,2 No Coverage 

Pregnancy Care - Physician Services 
$90 

Copayment 
per pregnancy 

No Coverage 

Preventive Care - Services include 
screening to detect illness or health 
risks during a Physician office visit. 
The Covered Services are based on 
prevailing medical standards and may 
vary according to age and family 
history. (For a complete list of benefits, 

refer to the Preventive and Wellness 

Article in the Benefit Plan.) 

100% - 0%3 

 
No Coverage 

Rehabilitation Services - Outpatient:  

• Speech 

• Physical/Occupational (Limited 

to 50 Visits combined PT/OT 

per Plan Year. Authorization 

required for visits over the 

combined limit of 50.) (Visit 

limits do not apply when 

services are provided for 

Autism Spectrum Disorders.)  

$25 Copayment 
per Visit 

 

No Coverage 

Skilled Nursing Facility (limit of 90 

days per Plan Year) 

$100 
Copayment 

per day2, 
maximum of 

$300 
per 

Admission 

No Coverage 

Sonograms and Ultrasounds 
(Outpatient) 

$50 
Copayment 

No Coverage 

   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Urgent Care Center 
$50 

Copayment 
No Coverage 

Vision Care (Non-Routine) Exam 

$25/$50 
Copayment 

depending on 
Provider 

Type 

No Coverage 

X-ray and Laboratory Services 
(low-tech imaging) 

Hospital 
Facility 

100%-0%1 

Office or 
Independent 

Lab 
100%-0% 

No Coverage 

1Subject to Plan Year Deductible, if applicable  
2Pre-Authorization Required, if applicable. Not applicable for Medicare 
primary. 
3Age and/or Time Restrictions Apply 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:350 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2153 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

§109. Prescription Drug Benefits 
A. Prescription Drug Benefits 
 

Network Pharmacy Member pays 

Tier 1- Generic 50% up to $30 

Tier 2- Preferred 50% up to $55 

Tier 3- Non-preferred 65% up to $80 

Tier 4- Specialty 50% up to $80 

90 day supplies for maintenance 
drugs from mail order OR at 
participating 90-day retail 
network pharmacies  

Two and a half times the cost of 
your applicable copayment 

Co-Payment after the Out Of Pocket Amount of $1,500 Is Met 

Tier 1- Generic $0 

Tier 2- Preferred $20 

Tier 3- Non-preferred $40 

Tier 4- Specialty $40 

Prescription drug benefits-31 day refill 

Plan pays balance of eligible expenses 

   

Diabetic supplies are not subject to a copayment if enrolled in the In-
Health/Disease Management Program. 

Member who chooses a brand-name drug for which an approved generic 
version is available, pays the cost difference between the brand-name 
drug & the generic drug, plus the co-pay for the brand-name drug; the 
cost difference does not apply to the $1,500 out of pocket maximum. 

   

Medications available over-the-counter in the same prescribed strength 
are not covered under the pharmacy plan. 

   

Smoking Cessation Medications:  
Benefits are available for Prescription and over-the-counter (OTC) 
smoking cessation medications when prescribed by a physician. 
(Prescription is required for over-the-counter medications). Smoking 
cessation medications are covered at 100%. 

  

This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines approved by the Food 
and Drug Administration or its successor that require a prescription. 
Utilization management criteria may apply to specific drugs or drug 
categories to be determined by PBM. 
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B. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:352 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2154 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

Part V.  Additional Plans and Operations 
Chapter 2. PPO Plan Structure - Magnolia Open 

Access Plan 
§203. Out of Pocket Maximums 

 

Includes All Eligible Copayments,  
Coinsurance Amounts and Deductibles 

  

Active 
Employee/Retirees on 

or after  
March 1, 2015 

Retirees prior to 
March 1, 2015  

Without Medicare 

Retirees 
prior to 

March 1, 
2015 With 
Medicare 

  

Network 
Non-

Network 
Network 

Non-

Network 

Network and 

Non-

Network 

Individual 
Only 

$3,500 $4,700 $2,300 $4,300 $3,300 

Individual 
Plus One 
(Spouse 
or Child) 

$6,000 $8,500 $3,600 $7,600 $5,600 

Individual 
Plus Two 

$8,500 $12,250 $4,900 $10,900 $7,900 

Individual 
Plus 
Three 

$8,500 $12,250 $5,900 $13,700 $9,900 

Individual 
Plus Four 

$8,500 $12,250 $6,900 $13,700 $11,900 

Individual 
Plus Five 

$8,500 $12,250 $7,900 $13,700 $13,700 

Individual 
Plus Six 

$8,500 $12,250 $8,900 $13,700 $13,700 

Individual 
Plus 
Seven 

$8,500 $12,250 $9,900 $13,700 $13,700 

Individual 
Plus Eight 

$8,500 $12,250 $10,900 $13,700 $13,700 

Individual 
Plus Nine 

$8,500 $12,250 $11,900 $13,700 $13,700 

Individual 
Plus Ten 

$8,500 $12,250 $12,900 $13,700 $13,700 

Individual 
Plus 
Eleven or 
More 

$8,500 $12,250 $13,700 $13,700 $13,700 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:355 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2155 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018.  

§205. Schedule of Benefits 
A. Benefits and Coinsurance 
 

   

Coinsurance 

Active Employees/ 
Non-Medicare Retirees 

(regardless of retire date) 

Retirees with 
Medicare 

(regardless of 
retire date) 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network 
Providers 

Network and 
Non-Network 

Providers 

Physician Office Visits 
including surgery 
performed in an office 
setting: 

• General Practice 

• Family Practice 

• Internal Medicine 

• OB/GYN 

• Pediatrics 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Allied Health/Other 
Professional Visits: 

• Chiropractors 

• Federally Funded 
Qualified Rural 
Health Clinics 

• Nurse Practitioners 

• Retail Health Clinics 

• Physician Assistants 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Specialist (Physician) 
Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an 
office setting: 

• Physician 

• Podiatrist 

• Optometrist 

• Midwife 

• Audiologist 

• Registered Dietician 

• Sleep Disorder Clinic 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Ambulance Services - 
Ground 
(for Emergency Medical 

Transportation only)  

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Ambulance Services - Air 
(for Emergency Medical 

Transportation only) 
Non-emergency requires 
prior authorization2 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Ambulatory Surgical 
Center and Outpatient 
Surgical Facility 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Birth Control Devices - 
Insertion and Removal 
(as listed in the 

Preventive and Wellness 

Care Article in the 

Benefit Plan) 

100% - 0% 70% - 30%1 

Network 
Providers 

100% - 0% 

Non-Network 
Providers 

80% - 20%1 

Cardiac Rehabilitation  
(limit of 36 visits per Plan 

Year) 

90% - 10%1,2 
 

70% - 30%1,2 

 
80% - 20%12 

 

Chemotherapy/Radiation 
Therapy (Authorization 
not required when 
performed in Physician’s 
office) 

90% - 10%1, 2 70% - 30%1, 2 80% - 20%1,2 
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Coinsurance 

Active Employees/ 
Non-Medicare Retirees 

(regardless of retire date) 

Retirees with 
Medicare 

(regardless of 
retire date) 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network 
Providers 

Network and 
Non-Network 

Providers 

Diabetes Treatment 90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Diabetic/Nutritional 
Counseling - Clinics and 
Outpatient Facilities  

90% - 10%1 Not Covered 80% - 20%1 

Dialysis 90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Durable Medical 
Equipment (DME), 
Prosthetic Appliances and 
Orthotic Devices 

90% - 10%1,2 70% - 30%1,2 80% - 20%1,2 

Emergency Room 
(Facility Charge) 

$150 Copayment1; Waived if admitted to the 
same facility 

Emergency Medical 
Services 
(Non-Facility Charges) 

90% - 10%1 90% - 10%1 80% - 20%1 

Eyeglass Frames and One 
Pair of Eyeglass Lenses 
or One Pair of Contact 
Lenses (purchased within 

six months following 

cataract surgery) 

Eyeglass Frames - Limited to a Maximum 
Benefit of $501 

Flu shots and H1N1 
vaccines 
(administered at Network 

Providers, Non-Network 

Providers, Pharmacy, 

Job Site or Health Fair)  

100% - 0% 100% - 0% 100% - 0% 

Hearing Aids 
(Hearing Aids are not 

covered for individuals age 

eighteen (18) and older)  

90% - 10%1,3 70% - 30%1,3 80% - 20%1,3 

Hearing Impaired 
Interpreter Expense 

100% - 0% 100% - 0% 100% - 0% 

High-Tech Imaging – 
Outpatient 

• CT Scans 

• MRA/MRI 

• Nuclear Cardiology 

• PET Scans 

90% - 10%1,2 70% - 30%1,2 80% - 20%1,2 

Home Health Care  

(limit of 60 Visits per Plan 

Year) 
90% - 10%1,2 70% - 30%1 ,2 Not Covered 

Hospice Care  

(limit of 180 Days per Plan 

Year) 
80% - 20%1,2 70% - 30%1 ,2 Not Covered 

Injections Received in a 
Physician’s Office (when 

no other health service is 

received) 

90% -10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Inpatient Hospital 
Admission, All Inpatient 
Hospital Services Included 

 Per Day Copayment 

 Day Maximum 

 Coinsurance 

$0 
Not 

Applicable 
90% - 10%1,2 

$50  
5 Days 

70% - 30%1,2 

$0 
Not Applicable 
80% - 20%1,2 

Inpatient and Outpatient 
Professional Services  

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Mastectomy Bras - Ortho-
Mammary Surgical (limit of 

three (3) per Plan Year) 
90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1  

Mental Health/Substance 
Abuse - Inpatient Treatment 
and Intensive Outpatient 
Programs 
 Per Day Copayment 
 Day Maximum 
 Coinsurance 

$0 
Not 

Applicable 
90% - 10%1,2 

$50 
5 Days 

70% - 30%1,2 

$0 
Not Applicable 
80% - 20%1,2 

   

Coinsurance 

Active Employees/ 
Non-Medicare Retirees 

(regardless of retire date) 

Retirees with 
Medicare 

(regardless of 
retire date) 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network 
Providers 

Network and 
Non-Network 

Providers 

Mental Health/Substance 
Abuse – Office Visit and 
Outpatient Treatment 
(Other than Intensive 
Outpatient Programs) 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1  

Newborn - Sick, Services 
Excluding Facility 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Newborn - Sick, Facility 

 Per Day Copayment 

 Day Maximum 

 Coinsurance 

$0 
Not 

Applicable 
90% - 10%1,2 

$50 
5 Days 

70% - 30%1,2 

$0 
Not Applicable 
80% - 20%1,2 

Oral Surgery for Impacted 
Teeth 

90% - 10%1,2 70% - 30%1,2 80% - 20%1,2 

Pregnancy Care - Physician 
Services 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Preventive Care - Services 
include screening to detect 
illness or health risks 
during a Physician office 
visit. The Covered Services 
are based on prevailing 
medical standards and may 
vary according to age and 
family history. (For a 

complete list of benefits, 

refer to the Preventive and 

Wellness Care Article in  

the Benefit Plan.) 

100% - 0%3 70% - 30%1,3 

Network 
100% - 03 

Non-Network 
 80% - 20%1,3 

Rehabilitation Services - 
Outpatient:  

• Speech 

• Physical/ 
Occupational  
(Limited to 50 Visits 

combined PT/OT per 

Plan Year. 

Authorization 

required for visits 

over the combined 

limit of 50.)  

(Visit limits do not apply 

when services are provided 

for Autism Spectrum 

Disorders)  

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Skilled Nursing Facility  

(limit 90 days per Plan 

Year) 
90% - 10%1,2 70% - 30%1,2 80% - 20%1, 2 

Sonograms and 
Ultrasounds (Outpatient) 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Urgent Care Center 90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

Vision Care (Non-Routine) 
Exam 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

X-ray and Laboratory 
Services 
(low-tech imaging) 

90% - 10%1 70% - 30%1 80% - 20%1 

1Subject to Plan Year Deductible, if applicable  
2Pre-Authorization Required, if applicable. Not applicable for Medicare 
primary. 
3Age and/or Time Restrictions Apply 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:356 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2155 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 
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§207. Prescription Drug Benefits 
A. Prescription Drug Benefits 
 

Network Pharmacy Member Pays 

Tier 1- Generic 50% up to $30 

Tier 2- Preferred 50% up to $55 

Tier 3- Non-preferred 65% up to $80 

Tier 4- Specialty 50% up to $80 

90 day supplies for maintenance 
drugs from mail order OR at 
participating 90-day retail 
network pharmacies  

Two and a half times the cost of your 
applicable copayment 

Co-Payment after the Out Of Pocket Amount of $1,500 Is Met 

Tier 1- Generic $0 

Tier 2- Preferred $20 

Tier 3- Non-preferred $40 

Tier 4- Specialty $40 

Prescription drug benefits-31 day refill 

Plan pays balance of eligible expenses 

  

Diabetic supplies are not subject to a copayment if enrolled in the In-
Health/Disease Management Program. 

Member who chooses a brand-name drug for which an approved generic 
version is available, pays the cost difference between the brand-name drug 
and the generic drug, plus the co-pay for the brand-name drug; the cost 
difference does not apply to the $1,500 out of pocket maximum. 

  

Medications available over-the-counter in the same prescribed strength are 
not covered under the pharmacy plan. 

  

Smoking Cessation Medications:  
Benefits are available for Prescription and over-the-counter (OTC) 
smoking cessation medications when prescribed by a physician. 
(Prescription is required for over-the-counter medications). Smoking 
cessation medications are covered at 100%. 

  

This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines approved by the Food 
and Drug Administration or its successor that require a prescription. 
Utilization management criteria may apply to specific drugs or drug 
categories to be determined by PBM. 

 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:358 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2157 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

Chapter 3. Narrow Network HMO Plan 

StructureMagnolia Local Plan (in 
certain geographical areas) 

§305. Schedule of Benefits 
A. Benefits, Copayments, and Coinsurance 
 

   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Physician Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an office 
setting: 

• General Practice 

• Family Practice 

• Internal Medicine 

• OB/GYN 

• Pediatrics 

$25 
Copayment per 

Visit 
No Coverage 

   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Allied Health/Other Professional 
Visits: 

• Chiropractors 

• Federally Funded Qualified 
Rural 

• Health Clinics 

• Nurse Practitioners 

• Retail Health Clinics 

• Physician Assistants 

$25 
Copayment per 

Visit 
No Coverage 

Specialist Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an office 
setting: 

• Physician 

• Podiatrist 

• Optometrist 

• Midwife 

• Audiologist 

• Registered Dietician 

• Sleep Disorder Clinic 

$50 
Copayment per 

Visit 
No Coverage 

Ambulance Services - Ground  
(for Emergency Medical 

Transportation only)  
$50 Copayment 

$50 
Copayment 

Ambulance Services - Air  
(for Emergency Medical 

Transportation only) 
Non-emergency requires prior 
authorization2 

$250 
Copayment No Coverage 

Ambulatory Surgical Center and 
Outpatient Surgical Facility 

$100 
Copayment 

No Coverage 

Birth Control Devices - Insertion and 
Removal  
(as listed in the Preventive and 

Wellness Article in the Benefit Plan.)  

100% - 0% No Coverage 

Cardiac Rehabilitation (limit of 

36visits per Plan Year) 

$25/$50 
Copayment per 
day depending 

on Provider 
Type2 

$50 
Copayment- 
Outpatient 
Facility2 

No Coverage 

Chemotherapy/Radiation Therapy 
(Authorization not required when 

performed in Physician’s office) 

Office – $25 
Copayment 

per Visit 
Outpatient 

Facility 
100% - 0%1,2 

No Coverage 

Diabetes Treatment 80% - 20%1 No Coverage 

Diabetic/Nutritional Counseling - 
Clinics and Outpatient Facilities  

$25 Copayment No Coverage 

Dialysis 100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME), 
Prosthetic Appliances and Orthotic 
Devices 

80% - 20%1,2 of 
first $5,000 

Allowable per 
Plan Year; 

100% - 0% of 
Allowable 

in Excess of 
$5,000 per Plan 

Year 

No Coverage 

Emergency Room (Facility Charge) 
$150 Copayment; Waived if 
admitted to the same facility 

Emergency Medical Services  
(Non-Facility Charges) 

100% - 0%1 100% - 0%1 
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   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Eyeglass Frames and One Pair of 
Eyeglass Lenses or One Pair of 
Contact Lenses (purchased within six 

months following cataract surgery) 

Eyeglass 
Frames – 

Limited to a 
Maximum 

Benefit of $501 

No Coverage 

Flu shots and H1N1 vaccines 
(administered at Network Providers, 

Non-Network Providers, Pharmacy, 

Job Site or Health Fair) 

100% - 0% No Coverage 

Hearing Aids (Hearing Aids are not 

covered for individuals age eighteen 

(18) and older.) 
80% - 20%1,3 No Coverage 

Hearing Impaired Interpreter Expense 100% - 0% No Coverage 

High-Tech Imaging - Outpatient 

• CT Scans 

• MRA/MRI 

• Nuclear Cardiology 

• PET Scans 

$50 
Copayment2 

No Coverage 

Home Health Care  
(limit of 60 Visits per Plan Year) 

100% - 0%1,2 No Coverage 

Hospice Care  
(limit of 180 Days per Plan Year) 

100% - 0%1,2 No Coverage 

Injections Received in a Physician’s 
Office (when no other health service is 

received) 
100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Inpatient Hospital Admission, All 
Inpatient Hospital Services Included 

$100 
Copayment 

per day2, 
maximum of 

$300 per 
Admission 

No Coverage 

Inpatient and Outpatient Professional 
Services for which a Copayment is 
Not Applicable 

100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Mastectomy Bras (limited to three (3) 

per Plan Year)  

80% - 20%1 of 
first $5,000 

Allowable per 
Plan Year; 

100% - 0% of 
Allowable in 

Excess of 
$5,000 per Plan 

Year 

No Coverage 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse - 
Inpatient Treatment and Intensive 
Outpatient Programs 

$100 
Copayment per 
day2, maximum 

of $300 per 
Admission 

No Coverage 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse – 
Office Visit and Outpatient Treatment 
(Other than Intensive Outpatient 
Programs) 

$25 Copayment 
per Visit 

No Coverage 

Newborn - Sick, Services excluding 
Facility 

100% - 0%1 No Coverage 

Newborn - Sick, Facility 

$100 
Copayment per 
day2, maximum 

of $300 per 
Admission 

No Coverage 

Oral Surgery  100% - 0%1,2 No Coverage 

Pregnancy Care - Physician Services 
$90 Copayment 
per pregnancy 

No Coverage 

Preventive Care - Services include 
screening to detect illness or health 
risks during a Physician office visit. 
The Covered Services are based on 
prevailing medical standards and may 
vary according to age and family 
history. (For a complete list of benefits, 

refer to the Preventive and Wellness 

Article in the Benefit Plan.) 

100% - 0%3 

 
No Coverage 

   Copayments and Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-Network 
Providers 

Rehabilitation Services - Outpatient:  

• Speech 

• Physical/Occupational  
(Limited to 50 Visits combined PT/OT 

per Plan Year. Authorization required 

for visits over the combined limit of 

50.) (Visit limits do not apply when 

services are provided for Autism 

Spectrum Disorders.)  

$25 Copayment 
per Visit 

 

No Coverage 

Skilled Nursing Facility (limit of 90 

days per Plan Year) 

$100 
Copayment per 
day2, maximum 

of $300 
per Admission 

No Coverage 

Sonograms and Ultrasounds 
(Outpatient) 

$50 Copayment No Coverage 

Urgent Care Center $50 Copayment No Coverage 

Vision Care (Non-Routine) Exam 

$25/$50 
Copayment 

depending on 
Provider Type 

No Coverage 

X-ray and Laboratory Services 
(low-tech imaging) 

Hospital Facility 
100% - 0%1 

Office or 
Independent Lab 

100% - 0% 
 

No Coverage 

1Subject to Plan Year Deductible, if applicable 
2Pre-Authorization Required, if applicable. Not applicable for Medicare 
primary. 
3Age and/or Time Restrictions Apply 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:359 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2157 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

§307. Prescription Drug Benefits 
A. Prescription Drug Benefits 
 

Network Pharmacy Member pays 

Tier 1- Generic 50% up to $30 

Tier 2- Preferred 50% up to $55 

Tier 3- Non-preferred 65% up to $80 

Tier 4- Specialty 50% up to $80 

90 day supplies for maintenance 
drugs from mail order OR at 
participating 90-day retail 
network pharmacies  

Two and a half times the cost of 
your applicable copayment 

Co-Payment after the Out Of Pocket Amount of $1,500 Is Met 

Tier 1- Generic $0 

Tier 2- Preferred $20 

Tier 3- Non-preferred $40 

Tier 4- Specialty $40 

Prescription drug benefits-31 day refill 

Plan pays balance of eligible expenses 

  

Diabetic supplies are not subject to a copayment if enrolled in the In-
Health/Disease Management Program. 

Member who chooses a brand-name drug for which an approved generic 
version is available, pays the cost difference between the brand-name drug 
& the generic drug, plus the co-pay for the brand-name drug; the cost 
difference does not apply to the $1,500 out of pocket maximum. 

  

Medications available over-the-counter in the same prescribed strength are 
not covered under the pharmacy plan. 
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Smoking Cessation Medications:  
Benefits are available for Prescription and over-the-counter (OTC) 
smoking cessation medications when prescribed by a physician. 
(Prescription is required for over-the-counter medications). Smoking 
cessation medications are covered at 100%. 

  

This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines approved by the Food 
and Drug Administration or its successor that require a prescription. 
Utilization management criteria may apply to specific drugs or drug 
categories to be determined by PBM. 

 
B. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:360 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2158 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

Chapter 4. PPO/Consumer-Driven Health Plan 

StructurePelican HSA 775 Plan 
§405. Schedule of Benefits 

A. Benefits and Coinsurance 
 

   

Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network  

Providers 

Physician’s Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an office setting: 

• General Practice 

• Family Practice 

• Internal Medicine 

• OB/GYN 

• Pediatrics 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Allied Health/Other Office Visits: 

• Chiropractors 

• Federally Funded Qualified Rural 
Health Clinics 

• Retail Health Clinics 

• Nurse Practitioners 

• Physician’s Assistants 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Specialist Office Visits including surgery 
performed in an office setting: 

• Physician  

• Podiatrist 

• Optometrist 

• Midwife 

• Audiologist 

• Registered Dietician 

• Sleep Disorder Clinic 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Ambulance Services - Ground 
(for Emergency Medical Transportation 

Only)  
80% - 20%1 80% - 20%1 

Ambulance Services – Air (for 
Emergency Medical Transportation 
Only)  
Non-emergency requires prior 
authorization2 

80% – 20%1 80% - 20%1 

Ambulatory Surgical Center and 
Outpatient Surgical Facility 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Birth Control Devices - Insertion and 

Removal (as listed in the Preventive 

and Wellness Article in the Benefit Plan) 

100% - 0% 60% - 40%1 

Cardiac Rehabilitation (limited to 36 

visits per Plan Year) 
80% - 20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Chemotherapy/Radiation Therapy 
(Authorization not required when 

performed in Physician’s office) 
80% - 20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Diabetes Treatment 80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Diabetic/Nutritional Counseling – 

Clinics and Outpatient Facilities 
80% - 20%1 

Not 
Covered 

Dialysis 80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

   

Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network  

Providers 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME), 
Prosthetic Appliances and Orthotic 
Devices 

80% - 20%1,2 
60% - 
40%1,2 

Emergency Room (Facility Charge) 80% - 20%1 80% - 20%1 

Emergency Medical Services  
(Non-Facility Charge) 

80% - 20%1 80% - 20%1 

Eyeglass Frames and One Pair of 
Eyeglass Lenses or One Pair of Contact 
Lenses (purchased within six months 

following cataract surgery) 

Eyeglass 
Frames – 

Limited to a 
Maximum 
Benefit of 

$501 

No 
Coverage 

Flu Shots and H1N1 vaccines 
(administered at Network Providers, 

Non-Network Providers, Pharmacy, Job 

Site or Health Fair) 

100% - 0% 100% - 0% 

Hearing Aids (Hearing Aids are not 

covered for individuals age eighteen (18) 

and older) 

80% - 20%1,3 
 

Not 
Covered 

Hearing Impaired Interpreter Expense 100% - 0% 100% - 0% 

High-Tech Imaging – Outpatient 

• CT Scans 

• MRA/MRI 

• Nuclear Cardiology 

• PET Scans 

80% - 20%1,2 
60% - 
40%1,2 

Home Health Care (limit of 60 Visits 

per Plan Year)  
80% - 20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Hospice Care (limit of 180 Days per 

Plan Year) 
80% - 20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Injections Received in a Physician’s 
Office (when no other health service is 

received) 

80% - 20%1 

 

60% - 40%1 

 

Inpatient Hospital Admission (all 

Inpatient Hospital services included) 
80% - 20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Inpatient and Outpatient Professional 
Services  

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Mastectomy Bras (limited to three (3) 

per Plan Year) 
80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse – 
Inpatient Treatment and Intensive 
Outpatient Programs 

80% - 20%1,2 
60% - 
40%1,2 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse – Office 
Visits and Outpatient Treatment (Other 
than Intensive Outpatient Programs) 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Newborn – Sick, Services excluding 
Facility 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Newborn – Sick, Facility 80% - 20%1,2 
60% - 
40%1,2 

Oral Surgery  80% - 20%1,2 
60% - 
40%1,2 

Pregnancy Care - Physician Services 80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Preventive Care - Services include 
screening to detect illness or health risks 
during a Physician office visit. The 
Covered Services are based on 
prevailing medical standards and may 
vary according to age and family history. 
(For a complete list of benefits, refer to 

the Preventive and Wellness/Routine 

Care Article in the Benefit Plan.) 

100% - 0%3 100% - 0%3 

Rehabilitation Services - Outpatient: 

• Speech 

• Physical/Occupational (Limited 
to 50 Visits combined PT/OT 
per Plan Year. Authorization 
required for visits over the 
combined limit of 50.) 

(Visit limits do not apply when services 

are provided for Autism Spectrum 

Disorders.) 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 
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Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network  

Providers 

Skilled Nursing Facility (limit 90 Days 

per Plan Year) 
80% - 20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Sonograms and Ultrasounds - Outpatient 80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Urgent Care Center 80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

Vision Care (Non-Routine) Exam 80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

X-Ray and Laboratory Services 
(low-tech imaging) 

80% - 20%1 60% - 40%1 

1Subject to Plan Year Deductible, if applicable  
2Pre-Authorization Required, if applicable. Not applicable for Medicare 
primary. 
3Age and/or Time Restrictions Apply 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Office 

of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group 
Benefits, LR 41:361 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, 
amended LR 43:2159 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

Chapter 5. PPO/Consumer-Driven Health Plan 

StructurePelican HRA 1000 Plan 
§505. Schedule of Benefits 

A. Benefits and Coinsurance 
 

  
  

Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network  
Providers 

Physician’s Office Visits including 
surgery performed in an office setting: 

• General Practice 

• Family Practice 

• Internal Medicine 

• OB/GYN 

• Pediatrics 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Allied Health/Other Office Visits: 

• Chiropractors 

• Federally Funded Qualified Rural 
Health Clinics 

• Retail Health Clinics 

• Nurse Practitioners 

• Physician’s Assistants 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Specialist Office Visits including surgery 
performed in an office setting:  

• Physician  

• Podiatrist 

• Optometrist 

• Midwife 

• Audiologist 

• Registered Dietician 

• Sleep Disorder Clinic 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Ambulance Services - Ground 
(for Emergency Medical Transportation 

Only) 

80% - 
20%1 

80% - 
20%1 

Ambulance Services – Air 
(for Emergency Medical Transportation 
only) 
Non-emergency requires prior 
authorization2 

80% - 
20%1 

80% - 
20%1 

Ambulatory Surgical Center and 
Outpatient Surgical Facility 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Birth Control Devices - Insertion and 
Removal (as listed in the Preventive 

and Wellness Article in the Benefit Plan) 

100% - 
0% 

60% - 
40%1 

  
  

Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network  
Providers 

Cardiac Rehabilitation  
(limited to 36 visits per Plan Year) 

80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Chemotherapy/Radiation Therapy 
(Authorization not required when 

performed in Physician’s office) 

80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Diabetes Treatment 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Diabetic/Nutritional Counseling – 
Clinics and Outpatient Facilities 

80% - 
20%1 

Not 
Covered 

Dialysis 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME), 
Prosthetic Appliances and Orthotic 
Devices 

80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Emergency Room (Facility Charge) 
80% - 
20%1 

80% - 
20%1 

Emergency Medical Services  
(Non-Facility Charge) 

80% - 
20%1 

80% - 
20%1 

Eyeglass Frames and One Pair of 
Eyeglass Lenses or One Pair of Contact 
Lenses (purchased within six months 

following cataract surgery) 

Eyeglass 
Frames – 

Limited to 
a 

Maximum 
Benefit of 

$501 

No 
Coverage 

Flu Shots and H1N1 vaccines 
(administered at Network Providers, Non-

Network Providers, Pharmacy, Job Site or 

Health Fair) 

100% - 
0% 

100% - 
0% 

Hearing Aids (Hearing Aids are not 

covered for individuals age eighteen (18) 

and older) 

80% - 
20%1,3 

Not 
Covered 

Hearing Impaired Interpreter Expense 100%-0% 100%-0% 

High-Tech Imaging - Outpatient  

• CT Scans 

• MRA/MRI 

• Nuclear Cardiology 

• PET Scans 

80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Home Health Care (limit of 60 Visits 

per Plan Year) 
80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Hospice Care (limit of 180 Days per 

Plan Year) 
80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Injections Received in a Physician’s 
Office (when no other health service is 

received) 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Inpatient Hospital Admission (all Inpatient 

Hospital services included) 
80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Inpatient and Outpatient Professional 
Services  

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Mastectomy Bras (limited to three (3) per 

Plan Year) 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse - 
Inpatient Treatment and Intensive 
Outpatient Programs 

80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Mental Health/Substance Abuse – Office 
Visit and Outpatient Treatment (Other 
than Intensive Outpatient Programs) 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Newborn - Sick, Services excluding 
Facility 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Newborn - Sick, Facility 
80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Oral Surgery  
80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Pregnancy Care - Physician Services 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 
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Coinsurance 

Network 
Providers 

Non-
Network  
Providers 

Preventive Care - Services include 
screening to detect illness or health risks 
during a Physician office visit. The 
Covered Services are based on prevailing 
medical standards and may vary according 
to age and family history. (For a complete 

list of benefits, refer to the Preventive and 

Wellness/Routine Care Article in the 

Benefit Plan.) 

100% - 
0%3 

100% - 
0%3 

Rehabilitation Services - Outpatient: 

• Speech 

• Physical/Occupational  
(Limited to 50 Visits combined 

PT/OT per Plan Year. Authorization 

required for visits over the combined 

limit of 50.) 

• (Visit limits do not apply when 

services are provided for Autism 

Spectrum Disorders.) 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Skilled Nursing Facility (limit 90 Days 

per Plan Year) 
80% - 
20%1,2 

60% - 
40%1,2 

Sonograms and Ultrasounds - Outpatient 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Urgent Care Center 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

Vision Care (Non-Routine) Exam 
80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

X-Ray and Laboratory Services 
(low-tech imaging) 

80% - 
20%1 

60% - 
40%1 

1Subject to Plan Year Deductible, if applicable  
2Pre-Authorization Required, if applicable. Not applicable for Medicare 
primary. 
3Age and/or Time Restrictions Apply 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:364 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 
43:2160 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

§507. Prescription Drug Benefits 
A. Prescription Drug Benefits 
 

Network Pharmacy Member pays 

Tier 1 - Generic 50% up to $30 

Tier 2 - Preferred 50% up to $55 

Tier 3 - Non-preferred 65% up to $80 

Tier 4 - Specialty 50% up to $80 

90 day supplies for maintenance 
drugs from mail order OR at 
participating 90-day retail 
network pharmacies  

Two and a half times the cost of 
your applicable co-payment 

Co-Payment after the Out Of Pocket Amount of $1,500 Is Met 

Tier 1 - Generic $0 

Tier 2 - Preferred $20 

Tier 3 - Non-preferred $40 

Tier 4 - Specialty $40 

Prescription drug benefits-31 day refill 

Maintenance drugs: not subject to deductible; subject to applicable 
copayments above. 

Plan pays balance of eligible expenses. 

Diabetic supplies are not subject to a copayment if enrolled in the In-
Health/Disease Management Program. 

  

Member who chooses a brand-name drug for which an approved generic 
version is available, pays the cost difference between the brand-name 
drug & the generic drug, plus the co-pay for the brand-name drug; the 
cost difference does not apply to the $1,500 out of pocket maximum. 

  

Medications available over-the-counter in the same prescribed strength 
are not covered under the pharmacy plan. 

  

Smoking Cessation Medications:  
Benefits are available for Prescription and over-the-counter (OTC) 
smoking cessation medications when prescribed by a physician. 
(Prescription is required for over-the-counter medications). Smoking 
cessation medications are covered at 100%. 

  

This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines approved by the Food 
and Drug Administration or its successor that require a prescription. 
Utilization management criteria may apply to specific drugs or drug 
categories to be determined by PBM. 

 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 41:365 (February 2015), effective March 1, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, LR 41:341 
(February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 43:2161 
(November 2017), effective January 1, 2018.  

 
Tommy Teague 
Chief Executive Office 

1711#007 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Appraisers Board 

Compensation of Fee Appraisers (LAC 46:LXVII.31101) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana real estate appraisers 
law, R.S. 37:3397 et seq., and Executive Order JBE 17-16, 
and in accordance with the provisions of the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board has readopted 
Chapter 311 (Compensation of Fee Appraisers) to provide 
additional oversight. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 

Part LXVII.  Real Estate 
Subpart 3.  Appraisal Management Companies 

Chapter 311. Compensation of Fee Appraisers 
§31101. General Provisions; Customary and Reasonable 

Fees; Presumptions of Compliance 
A. Licensees shall compensate fee appraisers at a rate 

that is customary and reasonable for appraisal services 
performed in the market area of the property being appraised 
and as prescribed by R.S. 37:3415.15(A). For the purposes 
of this Chapter, market area shall be identified by zip code, 
parish, or metropolitan area. 

1. Evidence for such fees may be established by 
objective third-party information such as government agency 
fee schedules, academic studies, and independent private 
sector surveys. Fee studies shall exclude assignments 
ordered by appraisal management companies. 

2. The board, at its discretion, may establish a 
customary and reasonable rate of compensation schedule for 
use by any licensees electing to do so. 

3. Licensees electing to compensate fee appraisers on 
any basis other than an established fee schedule as described 
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in Paragraphs 1 or 2 above shall, at a minimum, review the 
factors listed in §31101.B.1-6 on each assignment made, and 
make appropriate adjustments to recent rates paid in the 
relevant geographic market necessary to ensure that the 
amount of compensation is reasonable. 

B. A licensee shall maintain written documentation that 
describes or substantiates all methods, factors, variations, 
and differences used to determine the customary and 
reasonable fee for appraisal services conducted in the 
geographic market of the appraisal assignment. This 
documentation shall include, at a minimum, the following 
elements: 

1. the type of property for each appraisal performed; 
2. the scope of work for each appraisal performed; 
3. the time in which the appraisal services are required 

to be performed; 
4. fee appraiser qualifications; 
5. fee appraiser experience and professional record; 

and 
6. fee appraiser work quality. 

C. Licensees shall maintain records of all methods, 
factors, variations, and differences used to determine the 
customary and reasonable rate of compensation paid for 
each appraisal assignment in the geographic market of the 
property being appraised, in accordance with §30501.C. 

D. Except in the case of breach of contract or 
substandard performance of real estate appraisal activity, an 
appraisal management company shall make payment to an 
independent contractor appraiser for the completion of an 
appraisal or appraisal review assignment: 

1. within 30 days after the appraiser provides the 
completed appraisal report to the appraisal management 
company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3415.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Real Estate Appraisers Board, LR 39:3073 (November 
2013), amended LR 42:872 (June 2016), repromulgated LR 
43:2161 (November 2017). 

 

Bruce Unangst 
Executive Director 

1711#052 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Equivalent Drug Product Interchange 
(LAC 46:LIII.2511 and 2517) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended §2511 and §2517 of its rules. The 
amended rules implement Act 391 of the 2015 Legislature, 
which amended the statutory definition of the term 
equivalent drug product and imposed certain communication 
requirements on pharmacists dispensing certain 
interchangeable biological products.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 25. Prescriptions, Drugs, and Devices 
Subchapter B. Prescriptions 
§2511. Prescriptions 

A - C.6. ... 
D. Oral Prescriptions 

1. Upon the receipt of an oral prescription from an 
authorized prescriber, the pharmacist or pharmacy intern or 
pharmacy technician shall reduce the order to a written form 
prior to dispensing the medication. As an alternative to 
recording such prescriptions on paper forms, a pharmacist 
may enter the prescription information directly into the 
pharmacy’s dispensing information system. In the event a 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technician transcribes such a 
prescription, the supervising pharmacist shall initial or 
countersign the prescription form prior to processing the 
prescription. 

E. Electronic Prescriptions 
1. The prescription shall clearly indicate the 

authorized prescriber’s name, licensure designation, address, 
telephone number, and if for a controlled substance, the DEA 
registration number. 

F. Exclusion. The provisions of this Section shall not 
apply to medical orders written for patients in facilities 
licensed by the Department of Health or its successor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29:2102 (October 2003), effective January 1, 
2004, LR 41:98 (January 2015), LR 41:2147 (October 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 
43:2162 (November 2017). 

§2517. Prescription Dispensing 
A. - A.6. ... 
B. Equivalent Drug Product Interchange 

1. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent drug 
product when the prescriber prohibits interchange by any 
one of the following methods. 

a. On a prescription generated in written form, the 
prescriber shall handwrite a mark in a check box labeled 
“Dispense as Written”, or the abbreviation “DAW”, or both, 
and shall manually sign the prescription form. 

i. For prescriptions reimbursable by the state 
Medicaid program, the prescriber shall handwrite the words 
“Brand Necessary” or “Brand Medically Necessary” on the 
prescription form or on a sheet of paper attached to the 
prescription form.  

b. On a prescription generated in oral or verbal 
form, the prescriber (or the prescriber’s agent) shall indicate 
a specific brand name drug or product is ordered by the 
practitioner, and the pharmacist shall note such information 
on the file copy of the prescription. 

c. On a prescription generated in electronic form, 
the prescriber shall indicate “Dispense as Written”, “DAW”, 
or “Brand Medically Necessary.”  
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2. Where the prescriber has indicated that an 
equivalent drug product interchange is prohibited, then a 
non-licensed, non-certified, or non-registered agent of the 
pharmacy shall not inquire as to a patient’s desire for an 
equivalent drug product interchange. 

3. In the event the prescriber has not prohibited 
equivalent drug product interchange in the manner described 
above, the pharmacist may select an equivalent drug product 
for dispensing, provided the patient has been informed of, 
and has consented to, the proposed cost saving interchange. 

4. When the pharmacist selects a biological product 
rated as interchangeable for the product ordered by the 
prescriber, the dispensing pharmacist (or his designee) shall 
communicate to the prescriber by any means, but no later 
than five business days following the dispensing date, the 
specific product dispensed to the patient, including the name 
of the product and the manufacturer. However, no such 
communication to the prescriber is required when: 

a. the prescriber prohibited interchange in the 
manner described above; 

b. there is no product rated as interchangeable or 
therapeutically equivalent; or 

c. the product dispensed is a refill not changed from 
the product dispensed on the prior filling of the prescription. 

C. Unless otherwise allowed by law, drugs dispensed on 
prescription to a patient shall not be accepted for return, 
exchange, or re-dispensing by any pharmacist or pharmacy 
after such drugs have been removed from the pharmacy 
premises where they were dispensed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 29:2104 (October 
2003), effective January 1, 2004, amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:2162 (November 2017). 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1711#023 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy Internship Requirements 
(LAC 46:LIII.703 and 705) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended §703 and §705 of its rules. The 
amended rules revise the professional experience 
requirements for pharmacy interns to qualify for pharmacist 
licensure. This Rule becomes effective on January 1, 2018. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 7. Pharmacy Interns 
§703. Registration 

A. All pharmacy interns shall meet the following 
requirements for registration. 

1. All pharmacy interns shall register with the board. 
The failure to register may result in disciplinary action by 
the board. 

a. The applicant shall submit to the board office a 
properly completed application no later than the end of the 
first semester of the first academic year at a board-approved 
college of pharmacy. 

b. The board may issue an intern registration to the 
applicant, upon receipt of a properly completed application, 
appropriate fee, and any other documentation required by the 
board office. 

c. The intern registration shall expire one year after 
the certification of graduation from a board-approved 
college of pharmacy. 
 i. Intern registrations issued to foreign pharmacy 
graduates shall expire two years after the date of issue. 

d. The board shall reserve the right to recall or 
refuse to issue any intern registration for cause. 

2. A pharmacy intern shall wear appropriate attire and 
be properly identified with his name and intern status while 
on duty at the preceptor site. 

3. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing 
within 10 days of a change of address. This notice shall 
include the pharmacy intern’s name, registration number, 
and old and new addresses. 

4. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing 
within 10 days of a change in location(s) of employment. 
This notice shall include the pharmacy intern’s name and 
registration number, the name and address of old and new 
employment, and the permit numbers of those pharmacies 
involved. 

5. The pharmacy intern shall be non-impaired. 
a. The pharmacy intern is subject to confidential 

random drug screen testing and/or evaluations. 
b. A positive drug screen may be self evident as 

proof of improper drug use. For the purposes of this Chapter, 
a missed screen, a screen submitted beyond the mandated 
period, and/or any screen submitted indicating the sample 
provided is diluted, substituted, or in any way adulterated is 
considered to be a positive drug screen. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1211. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 26:2285 (October 
2000), LR 29:2086 (October 2003), effective January 1, 2004, 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 
43:2163 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

§705. Professional Experience 
A. All applicants for licensure by examination shall earn 

professional experience in the practice of pharmacy 
concurrent with attending or after graduation from a board-
approved college of pharmacy. 

B. The practical experience shall be predominantly 
related to the provision of pharmacy primary care and the 
dispensing of drugs and medical supplies, the compounding 
of prescriptions, and the keeping of records and making of 
reports as required under federal and state law. 

1. The practical experience earned shall have been 
under the supervision of a pharmacist, or in the alternative, a 
licensed practitioner. 

2. A pharmacy intern shall not practice in a permitted 
pharmacy site that is on probation with the board. A 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2164

pharmacy intern shall not practice under the supervision of a 
pharmacist or other licensed practitioner whose license is on 
probation with their primary professional licensing agency. 

C. Professional Experience Hours. To qualify for 
pharmacist licensure, an intern shall supply evidence of the 
acquisition of at least 1,740 hours of professional 
experience, of which at least 1,500 hours of which shall be 
practical experience as described in Subsection B above. 

1. The board shall award 1,740 hours credit to an 
intern for his successful completion of a professional 
experience curriculum at a board-approved college of 
pharmacy. The dean of the board-approved college of 
pharmacy shall certify the completion of this requirement in 
the manner prescribed by the board office. 

2. In the event an applicant for pharmacist licensure 
by examination is unable to document the acquisition of 
1,740 hours of professional experience through the 
successful completion of a professional experience 
curriculum at a board-approved college of pharmacy by 
means of an attestation from the dean of that college, then 
the applicant shall demonstrate the acquisition of at least 
1,740 hours of pre-licensure practical experience in a 
licensed pharmacy, subject to the following limitations. 

a. The pharmacy permit shall not have been on 
probation or otherwise restricted during the time the hours 
were earned. 

b. The license of the pharmacist supervising the 
intern and signing the affidavit shall have been issued no less 
than two years before supervising the intern, and further, 
shall not have been on probation or otherwise restricted 
during the time the hours were earned. 

3. Practical experience hours that are submitted to the 
board for credit consideration (other than those attested to by 
the dean of the college of pharmacy for the successful 
completion of a professional experience curriculum at a 
board-approved college of pharmacy) shall be listed on an 
affidavit form supplied by the board office, and signed by 
the supervising pharmacist and pharmacy intern. 

a. A pharmacy intern may receive credit for a 
maximum of 50 hours per week. 

b. A separate affidavit shall be required from each 
permitted pharmacy site. 

c. No credit shall be awarded for hours earned 
within the professional experience curriculum of a board-
approved college of pharmacy, nor for hours earned outside 
the professional experience curriculum but at the same time 
and location as hours earned for that professional experience 
curriculum. 

4. Certification of Hours to and from another 
Jurisdiction 

a.  Interns enrolled in a board-approved college of 
pharmacy in Louisiana who earn hours of professional 
experience in another jurisdiction, as well as interns enrolled 
in a board-approved college of pharmacy in another 
jurisdiction who earn hours of professional experience in 
another jurisdiction, may transfer those hours to Louisiana 
under the following conditions: 

i. The hours of practical experience shall be listed 
on an affidavit form supplied by the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, signed by the supervising pharmacist and the 
intern, and submitted to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 
for consideration of credit; and 

ii. The board of pharmacy in the jurisdiction where the 

hours were earned shall certify those hours to the Louisiana 

Board of Pharmacy. 

iii. The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy may grant credit 

for all hours that comply with the Louisiana Board of 

Pharmacy’s requirements as delineated in this section. 
b. Upon written request by the pharmacy intern, the 

Louisiana Board of Pharmacy may certify professional 
experience hours earned in Louisiana to a board of pharmacy 
in another jurisdiction. 

5. Credited hours of experience shall expire two years 
after the expiration date of the intern registration and shall 
no longer be valid for licensure purposes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1211. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 26:2285 (October 
2000), LR 29:2086 (October 2003), effective January 1, 2004, LR 
32:636 (April 2006), LR 33:1130 (June 2007), LR 34:1409 (July 
2008), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, 
LR 43:2163 (November 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1711#022 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Brain Injury Facilities  
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 87) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has adopted LAC 48:I.Chapter 87 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 
40:2120.31-40. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 87. Adult Brain Injury Facilities Licensing 

Standards 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§8701. Introduction 

A. These rules and regulations contain the minimum 
licensure standards for adult brain injury facilities, pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2120.31-40:2120.40. Brain injuries may result in 
mild, moderate or severe impairments in cognition, physical 
functioning and psychosocial behavior. Unique care is 
necessary to rehabilitate and provide for the needs of these 
individuals in order for them to achieve their fullest capacity. 
It is the intent of these minimum licensing standards to 
protect the health, safety, and well-being of the citizens of 
the state who suffer from brain injuries and are receiving 
care in an adult brain injury facility. Contained herein are the 
core requirements for adult brain injury facilities as well as 
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level specific requirements, depending upon the services 
provided in the following settings: 

1. residential level of care; 
2. community living level of care; and 
3. outpatient level of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2164 
(November 2017). 

§8703. Definitions 
Abuse—the willful infliction of physical or mental injury 

on an individual by other parties, including but not limited to 
such means as sexual abuse, exploitation, or extortion of 
funds or other things of value, unreasonable confinement 
and/or intimidation to such an extent that his/her health, self-
determination or emotional well-being is endangered.  

Acquired Brain Injury—an injury to the brain that has 
occurred after birth and is not hereditary, congenital, or 
degenerative. The injury commonly results in a change in 
neuronal activity, which affects the physical integrity, the 
metabolic activity or the functional ability of the cell. It can 
also result in the disturbance of behavioral or emotional 
functioning. These impairments may be either temporary or 
permanent and cause partial or total functional disability or 
psychosocial maladjustments. The term does not refer to 
brain injuries induced by birth trauma. 

Activities of Daily Living (ADLs)—activities considered 
the basic, vital, daily activities for persons and are identified 
as bathing, grooming, dressing, dining, toileting and 
ambulation/transfer.  

Adult—an individual 18 years of age or older.  
Adult Brain Injury (ABI) Facility—any of the following: 

1. residential level of care—a facility publicly or 
privately owned, located at one or more geographic 
addresses, providing a rehabilitative treatment environment 
which serves four or more adults who suffer from brain 
injury and at least one of whom is not related to the operator. 
Services shall include personal assistance or supervision for 
a period of 24 hours continuously per day preparing them for 
community integration. Such services shall be provided by 
adult brain injury facilities licensed to provide residential 
level of care services; 

2. community living level of care—a home or 
apartment publicly or privately owned, providing a 
rehabilitative treatment environment which serves one to six 
adults who suffer from brain injury and at least one of whom 
is not related to the operator. Services may include personal 
assistance or supervision for a period of up to 24 hours 
continuously per day in a home or apartment setting 
preparing them for community integration: 

a. the apartment or home shall contain, at a 
minimum, a living/dining/bedroom area, kitchen/kitchenette, 
bathroom and storage space; 

b. there shall be no more than three bedrooms in an 
apartment and no more than six beds per home; 

c. such treatment environment shall be provided by 
adult brain injury facilities licensed to provide community 
living level of care services; 

3. outpatient level of care—a facility publicly or 
privately owned providing an outpatient rehabilitative 
treatment environment which serves adults who suffer from 
brain injury, at least one of whom is not related to the 

operator, in an outpatient day treatment setting in order to 
advance the individual’s independence for higher level of 
community or transition to a greater level of independence in 
community or vocational function. Such services shall be 
provided by adult brain injury facilities licensed to provide 
outpatient level of care services. 

Assistance with Activities of Daily Living—services that 
provide assistance with activities of daily living. Such 
assistance may be the actual performance of the task for the 
individual, providing hands-on assistance with the 
performance of the tasks, or supervision and prompting to 
allow the individual to self-perform such tasks. 

Behavioral Services—services that identify maladaptive 
behaviors which interfere with the person’s safe integration 
into the community and the formulation of an inclusive 
behavior management program to decrease identified 
maladaptive behaviors. 

Brain Injury—an acquired or traumatic injury to the brain. 
Such term does not include brain dysfunction caused by 
congenital disorders, degenerative disorders or birth trauma 
but may include brain injuries caused by anoxia due to 
trauma. 

Cessation of Business—the ABI facility is non-operational 
and/or has stopped offering or providing services to the 
community. 

Client—an individual receiving care from an ABI facility 
who is medically stable and does not require an IV, a 
functioning feeding tube, or other artificial or mechanical 
supports for life sustaining processes. 

Cognitive Rehabilitation—a systematic, functionally 
oriented service of therapeutic cognitive activities based on 
an assessment and an understanding of the behavior of a 
client. Services are directed to achieve functional 
improvement by either: 

1. reinforcing, strengthening or re-establishing 
previously learned patterns of behavior; or 

2. establishing new patterns of cognitive activity or 
mechanisms to compensate for impaired neurological 
systems. 

Community Integration—the participation in the 
mainstream of community life and maintaining social 
relationships with family members, peers and others in the 
community who do not have brain injuries. Integration also 
means that clients have equal access to and full participation 
in community resources and activities available to the 
general public at the maximum amount of safety and 
independence as possible. 

Department (LDH)—the Louisiana Department of Health, 
formerly known as Department of Health and Hospitals or 
DHH. 

Direct Care Staff—an employee of the facility, either 
contracted or directly employed, who provides personal care 
services to the clients. Such services may include, but are 
not limited to, assistance with ADLs and IADLs. 

Director—the person designated by the owner or 
governing body as responsible for carrying out the day-to-
day management, administration, supervision and operation 
of the facility. 

Employed—performance of a job or task for 
compensation, such as wages or a salary. An employed 
person may be one who is contracted or one who is hired 
directly. 
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Functional Limitations—actual behaviors or mental or 
physical disabilities exhibited by adults with brain injuries or 
conditions presented by their environment, or both, that shall 
be modified or minimized in order for clients to fulfill their 
potential or maximize their functioning. 

Head Injury—a traumatic or acquired brain injury. 
Health Standards Section (HSS)—the agency or office 

within the Louisiana Department of Health with the 
responsibility for the inspection and licensure of adult brain 
injury facilities. 

Impairment—any loss or abnormality of psychological, 
cognitive, physiological, or anatomical structure or 
functioning. 

Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLs)—activities 
considered to be instrumental, essential activities for 
persons, but are not usually considered as basic or vital 
activities of daily living, and may not be daily activities. 
Such activities include, but are not limited to: 

1. socialization; 
2. managing personal affairs; 
3 financial management; 
4 shopping; 
5. housekeeping; and 
6. appropriate transportation, correspondence, 

behavior and health management, etc. 
Medication Management Program—a systematic, 

functionally, oriented program formulated in consultation 
with the client’s primary provider and implemented by staff, 
either contracted or directly employed, and trained by a 
nursing director. The program shall be based upon an 
assessment and understanding of the behaviors of the client 
and recognition of the unique medical and pharmacological 
needs of the client. It shall also mean an incorporation of the 
most appropriate level of assistance necessary to advance 
towards independence. 

Neglect—the failure to provide food, shelter, clothing, 
medical or other health services, appropriate security and 
supervision or other personal services necessary for a 
client’s well-being. 

Non-Operational—the ABI facility is not open and 
available for business operation as stated on the licensing 
application and business location signage.  

Nursing Director—a person who meets the legal 
requirement of a registered nurse (RN) in the state of 
Louisiana.  

Personal Care—services and supports including but not 
limited to: 

1. bathing, hair care, skin care, shaving, nail care, oral 
hygiene, overall hygiene and activities of daily living; 

2. interventions to assist with eating and bowel and 
bladder management; 

3. positioning; 
4. care of adaptive personal care devices; and 
5. an appropriate level of supervision. 

Primary Provider—a provider, board-certified in his/her 
specialty, who currently holds a valid license in Louisiana 
and is responsible for overseeing the decision making 
process for admission and continued stay of clients. 

Rehabilitation—the process of providing those 
comprehensive services deemed appropriate to the needs of 
a client in a coordinated manner in a program designed to 
achieve functional objectives of improved health, welfare, 

maximum physical, cognitive, social, psychological and 
community functioning. 

Rehabilitative Treatment Environment—a rehabilitation 
setting that provides for all of the following: 

1. a provision of a range of choices, with personal 
preference, self-determination and dignity of risks receiving 
full respect and consideration; 

2. a variety of social interactions that promote 
community integration; 

3. an environment of peer support and mentorship; 
4. professional team involvement; 
5. a physical environment conducive to enhancing the 

functional abilities of the client; 
6 necessary therapeutic services which may include 

social work, behavioral services, speech therapy, physical 
therapy, occupational therapy, vocational services and 
therapeutic recreational services; 

NOTE: All therapeutic providers shall be licensed under state 
and, if applicable, national boards. 

7. a medication management program; 
8. cognitive rehabilitation activities; and 
9. the identification of functional limitations. 

Representative—a person who voluntarily, with the 
client’s written authorization, may act upon the client’s 
direction regarding matters concerning the health and 
welfare of the client, including having access to personal 
records contained in the client’s file and receiving 
information and notices about the client’s overall care and 
condition. 

1. No member of the governing body, administration 
or staff, either contracted or directly employed, of an ABI 
facility or any member of their family may serve as the 
representative for a client unless they are related to the client 
by blood or marriage. 

2. In the case of an individual that has been 
interdicted, the representative is the court-appointed curator 
or his/her designee. 

Support—activities, materials, equipment, or other 
services designed and implemented to assist the client with a 
brain injury. Examples include, but are not limited to: 

1. instruction; 
2. training; 
3. assistive technology; or 
4. removal of architectural barriers. 

Therapeutic Recreational Services—services that identify 
leisure activities and assistance in modifying and adapting 
identified leisure activities to allow safe participation by the 
client as a means to improve quality of life and aid in 
integration into the community. 

Traumatic Brain Injury—an insult to the brain, not of a 
degenerative or congenital nature, caused by an external 
physical force that may produce a diminished or altered state 
of consciousness, which results in an impairment of 
cognitive abilities or physical functioning. It can also result 
in the disturbance of behavioral or emotional functioning. 
These impairments may be either temporary or permanent 
and cause partial or total functioning disability, or 
psychosocial maladjustment. 

Vocational Services—services provided directly or 
through cooperating agencies to a client in accordance with 
his individualized plan and designed to improve or enhance 
skills and behaviors necessary for successful placement in a 
volunteer or work setting. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2165 
(November 2017). 

§8705. Licensure Requirements 
A. Any entity or person(s) that operates an ABI facility 

shall have a license issued from the Department of Health 
(LDH). LDH is the only licensing authority for ABI facilities 
in the State of Louisiana. It shall be unlawful to establish, 
open, operate, manage, maintain or conduct services of an 
ABI facility without possessing a current, valid license 
issued by LDH. Each facility shall be separately licensed.  

B. The department may issue a license to an ABI facility 
to provide any or all of the following services: 

1. residential services (a license is required for each 
offsite location); 

2. community services; and 
3. outpatient services. 

C. The department may issue multiple licenses to a 
single facility in accordance with the number of offsite 
locations operated by such facility.  

D. An ABI facility license shall: 
1. be issued only to the person or entity named in the 

license application; 
2. be valid only for the entity or person to which it is 

issued and only for the specific geographic address(es) of 
each facility owned and operated by the entity or person; 

3. be valid for one year from the date of issuance, 
unless revoked, suspended, modified or terminated prior to 
that date, or unless a provisional license is issued;  

4. expire on the last day of the twelfth month after the 
date of issuance, unless timely renewed by the ABI facility;  

5. not be subject to sale, assignment, donation or other 
transfer, whether voluntary or involuntary; and 

6. be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed 
premises at all times. 

E. In order for the ABI facility to be considered 
operational and retain licensed status, the facility shall meet 
the following conditions: 

1. The residential ABI facility shall continuously have 
at least one employee available by telephone or 
telecommunications for the ABI facility 24 hours per day, 7 
days per week. 

2. There shall be staff member(s), either contracted or 
directly employed, on-site at all times when there are clients 
present sufficient to meet the needs of the clients.  

3. The ABI facility shall have provided services to at 
least two clients in the preceding 12 months prior to 
licensure renewal. 

F. The licensed ABI facility shall abide by and adhere to 
any state law, rules, policy, procedure, manual or 
memorandums pertaining to ABI facilities. 

G. A separately licensed ABI facility shall not use a 
name which is substantially the same as the name of another 
ABI facility licensed by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2167 
(November 2017).  

§8707. Initial Licensure Application Process  
A. An initial application for licensing as an ABI facility 

shall be obtained from the department. A completed initial 
license application packet for an ABI facility shall be 
submitted to, and approved by, LDH prior to an applicant 
providing adult brain injury services. An applicant shall 
submit a completed initial licensing packet to LDH, which 
shall include:  

1. a completed ABI facility licensure application and 
the non-refundable licensing fee as established by statute;  

2. the type of facility or facilities the applicant intends 
to operate (residential, community or outpatient); 

3. a copy of the approval letter of the architectural 
facility plans from the entity/office designated by the 
department to review and approve healthcare facilities’ 
architectural and licensing plans (residential);  

4. a copy of the on-site inspection report with 
approval for occupancy by the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal (OSFM) (residential and outpatient only); 

5. a copy of the health inspection report with approval 
of occupancy from the Office of Public Health (OPH) 
(residential and outpatient only); 

6. a copy of a statewide criminal background check 
conducted by the Louisiana State Police, or its authorized 
agent, on all owners; 

7. proof of financial viability as evidenced by one of 
the following: 

a. verification of sufficient assets equal to $100,000 
or the cost of three months of operation, whichever is less; 
or 

b. a letter of credit issued from a federally insured, 
licensed lending institution in the amount equal to $100,000 
or the cost of three months of operation, whichever is less;  

8. proof of general and professional liability insurance 
of at least $300,000; 

9. proof of worker’s compensation insurance; 
10. if applicable, clinical laboratory improvement 

amendments (CLIA) certificate; 
11. disclosure of ownership and control information; 
12. a readable 11x17 minimum copy floor sketch of the 

premises to be licensed, including room usage and 
dimensions (residential and outpatient only); 

13. the days and hours of operation (outpatient only); 
14. a copy of the articles of organization or articles of 

incorporation; 
15. any other documentation or information required by 

the department for licensure. 
B. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, the 

department will notify the applicant of the missing 
information and the deadline to submit the additional 
requested information. If the additional requested 
information is not submitted to the department within 90 
days of notification, the application will be closed. Once an 
initial licensing application is closed, an applicant who is 
still interested in becoming an ABI facility shall submit a 
new initial licensing packet with a new initial licensing fee 
to start the initial licensing process. 

C. Once the initial licensing application has been 
approved by LDH, the ABI facility applicant shall notify 
LDH of readiness for an initial survey. If an applicant fails to
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notify LDH of readiness for an initial survey within 90 days 
of approval of the application, the application will be closed. 

1. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who is still interested in becoming an ABI facility 
shall submit a new initial licensing packet with a new initial 
licensing fee to start the initial licensing process. 

D. Applicants shall be in compliance with all appropriate 
federal, state, departmental or local statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations and fees before the department 
will issue the ABI facility an initial license to operate. 

E. When issued, the initial ABI facility license shall 
specify the number of beds, if applicable (residential facility 
only) and the type(s) of service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2167 
(November 2017).  

§8709. Initial Licensure Surveys 
A. Prior to the initial license being issued to the ABI 

facility, an initial licensing survey shall be conducted on-site 
at the ABI facility to assure compliance with the ABI facility 
licensing standards. The initial licensing survey of an ABI 
facility shall be an announced survey. 

B. No client shall be provided services by the ABI 
facility until a license is issued to the ABI facility by the 
LDH. 

C. Once an ABI facility has been issued an initial 
license, the department shall conduct licensing and other 
surveys at intervals deemed necessary by the department to 
determine compliance with licensing standards and 
regulations, as well as other applicable statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules and regulations. These surveys shall be 
unannounced. 

1. A plan of correction may be required from an ABI 
facility for any survey where deficiencies have been cited. 
Such plan of correction shall be submitted to LDH for 
approval within the prescribed timeframe. 

2. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any 
survey where deficiencies have been cited to ensure 
correction of the deficient practices. 

3. The department may issue appropriate sanctions, 
including, but not limited to, civil fines, directed plans of 
correction, provisional licensure and license revocation for 
deficiencies and non-compliance with any survey. 

4. Pursuant to applicable state law, rules and 
regulations, monies collected from the imposition of civil 
fines shall be used for the benefit of clients in adult brain 
injury facilities.  

D. The department’s surveyors and staff shall be: 
1. given access to all areas of the facility and all 

relevant files during any licensing or other survey; and 
2. allowed to interview any facility staff, participant, 

or person receiving services, as relevant and necessary to 
conduct a survey or investigation. 

E. The department shall issue written notice to the 
facility of the results of any survey in a statement of 
deficiencies, along with notice for a plan of correction, if 
appropriate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2168 
(November 2017). 

§8711. Complaint Investigations 
A. The department shall conduct complaint 

investigations in accordance with R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq. 
B. Complaint investigations shall be unannounced. 
C. Upon request by the department, an acceptable plan 

of correction shall be submitted by the facility for any 
complaint investigation where deficiencies have been cited. 
Such plan of correction shall be submitted within the 
prescribed timeframe. 

D. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any 
complaint investigation where deficiencies have been cited 
to ensure correction of the deficient practices. 

E. The department may issue appropriate sanctions, 
including but not limited to, civil fines, directed plans of 
correction, provisional licensure, denial of license renewal 
and license revocation for non-compliance with any state 
law or regulation. 

F. The department’s surveyors and staff shall be: 
1. given access to all areas of the ABI facility and all 

relevant files during any complaint investigation; and 
2. allowed to interview any facility staff or resident, as 

necessary or required to conduct the investigation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2168 
(November 2017). 

§8713. Statement of Deficiencies  
A. The following statements of deficiencies issued by the 

department to an ABI facility shall be displayed in a 
prominent place in the facility premises: 

1. the most recent annual survey statement of 
deficiencies; and 

2. any subsequent complaint survey statement of 
deficiencies. 

B. Any statement of deficiencies issued by the 
department to an ABI facility shall be available for 
disclosure to the public 30 calendar days after the facility 
submits an acceptable plan of correction of the deficiencies 
or 90 calendar days after the statement of deficiencies is 
issued to the facility, whichever occurs first. 

C. Unless otherwise provided in statute or in this 
Chapter, a facility shall have the right to an informal 
reconsideration for any deficiencies cited as a result of a 
survey or investigation. 

1. Correction of the deficient practice, the violation, or 
the noncompliance shall not be the basis for the 
reconsideration. 

2. The informal reconsideration of the deficiencies 
shall be submitted in writing within 10 calendar days of 
receipt of the statement of deficiencies, unless otherwise 
provided for in these provisions. 

3. The written request for informal reconsideration of 
the deficiencies shall be submitted to the Health Standards 
Section. 

4. Except as provided for complaint surveys pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2009.11 et seq., and as provided in this Chapter 
for license denials, revocations and denial of license 
renewals, the decision of the informal reconsideration team
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shall be the final administrative decision regarding the 
deficiencies. There is no administrative appeal right of such 
deficiencies. 

5. The facility shall be notified in writing of the 
results of the informal reconsideration. 

6. The request for an informal reconsideration of any 
deficiencies cited as a result of a survey or investigation 
does not delay submission of the required plan of correction 
within the prescribed timeframe. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2168 
(November 2017). 

§8715. Types of Licenses 
A. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 

the ABI facility is compliant with all licensing laws and 
regulations, and is compliant with all other applicable 
required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations and 
fees, the department shall issue a full license to the facility. 
The license shall be valid until the expiration date shown on 
the license, unless the license is modified, revoked, or 
suspended.  

B. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the ABI facility is non-compliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations or any other applicable required statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules or regulations, but the department in its 
sole discretion determines that the non-compliance does not 
present a threat to the health, safety or welfare of the 
participants or persons receiving services, the department 
may issue a provisional initial license for a period not to 
exceed six months. 

1. The facility shall submit a plan of correction to 
LDH for approval and shall be required to correct all such 
non-compliance or deficiencies prior to the expiration of the 
provisional license. 

a. If all such non-compliance or deficiencies are 
determined by the department to be corrected on a follow-up 
survey, a full license will be issued. 

b. If all such non-compliance or deficiencies are not 
corrected on the follow-up survey, or if new deficiencies that 
are a threat to the health, safety or welfare of the client(s) are 
cited on the follow-up, the provisional license will expire. 
 i. If the applicant still wishes to operate as an 
ABI facility, it shall begin the initial licensing process again 
by submitting a new initial license application packet and 
fee. 

C. The department may renew the license of an existing 
licensed ABI facility that is in substantial compliance with 
all applicable federal, state, departmental and local statutes, 
laws, ordinances, rules, regulations and fees. The license 
shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the license, 
unless the license is modified, revoked or suspended. 

D. The department, in its sole discretion, may issue a 
provisional license to a licensed ABI facility for a period not 
to exceed six months, for any one of the following reasons: 

1. the ABI facility has more than five deficient 
practices or deficiencies cited during any one survey; 

2. the ABI facility has more than three validated 
complaints in one licensed year period; 

3. the ABI facility has been issued a deficiency that 
involved placing a participant at risk for serious harm or 
death;  

4. the ABI facility has failed to correct deficient 
practices within 60 days of being cited for such deficient 
practices or at the time of a follow-up survey; 

5. the ABI facility is not in substantial compliance 
with all applicable federal, state, departmental and local 
statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations and fees at the 
time of renewal of the license; or  

6. there is documented evidence that a representative 
of the facility has, with or without the knowledge or consent 
of facility’s owner, medical director and/or 
administrator/director, bribed, harassed, offered, paid for or 
received something of economic value for the referral of an 
individual to use the services of a particular brain injury 
facility. 

E. When the department issues a provisional license to a 
licensed ABI facility, the department may conduct an on-site 
follow-up survey at the ABI facility prior to the expiration of 
the provisional license. The existing facility with a 
provisional license is required to correct all non-compliance 
or deficiencies at the time the follow-up survey is conducted. 

1. If the on-site follow-up survey determines that the 
ABI facility has corrected the deficient practices and has 
maintained compliance during the period of the provisional 
license, the department may issue a full license for the 
remainder of the year until the anniversary date of the ABI 
facility license. 

2. If the on-site follow-up survey determines that the 
ABI facility has not corrected the deficient practices or has 
not maintained compliance during the period of the 
provisional license, the provisional license shall expire. 

a. If this occurs, the facility shall coordinate and 
arrange for discharge or transfer of the clients, as 
appropriate.  

F. If a licensed ABI facility has been issued a notice of 
license revocation, suspension or modification, and the 
facility’s license is due for annual renewal, the department 
shall deny the license renewal. The denial of the license 
renewal does not affect the license revocation, suspension or 
modification, or any other sanction imposed by the 
department for violations prior to the denial of the renewal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2169 
(November 2017). 

§8717. Changes in Licensee Information or Key 

Personnel 
A. A license shall apply only to the location stated on the 

application and such license, once issued, shall not be 
transferable from one place to another or from one person to 
another. 

B. Any change in the facility regarding the following 
shall be reported in writing to the department no less than 
five days prior to the change: 

1. entity name; 
2. doing business as (dba) name; 
3. geographic address; 
4. mailing address and/or electronic address; and 
5. telephone number(s) and fax number(s). 

C. For a change in facility address, a new license with a 
new license number will be issued upon receipt by the 
department of a new completed application and the licensing 
fee required for a change of address. The anniversary date 
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shall be changed to reflect the date of issuance of the new 
license. 

D. Any change regarding the ABI facility’s key 
administrative personnel shall be reported in writing to the 
department within five days of the change. Key 
administrative personnel include the facility director and the 
nursing director. The facility’s notice to the department shall 
include the individual’s name, address, hire date and 
qualifications. 

E. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 
accompanied by the required fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2169 
(November 2017). 

§8719. Change of Ownership 
A. The license of an ABI facility is not transferable or 

assignable and cannot be sold. 
B. A change of ownership (CHOW) of the facility shall 

be reported in writing to the department within five days of 
the change of ownership. 

C. A CHOW of a facility shall not be submitted at time 
of the annual renewal of the facility’s license. 

D. Before an initial license can be issued to the new 
owner, all licensing application requirements in accordance 
with the provisions of this Chapter shall be met.  

E. The applicant shall submit to the department, pursuant 
to §8707 above, the following licensing requirements, 
including but not limited to: 

1. the completed facility license application and non-
refundable fee; 

2. the disclosure of ownership documentation; 
3. a copy of a statewide criminal background check 

conducted by the Louisiana State Police, or its authorized 
agent, on all owners; 

4. proof of financial viability as evidenced by one of 
the following: 

a. verification of sufficient assets equal to $100,000 
or the cost of three months of operation, whichever is less; 
or 

b. a letter of credit issued from a federally insured, 
licensed lending institution in the amount equal to $100,000 
or the cost of three months of operation, whichever is less;  

5. proof of general and professional liability insurance 
of at least $300,000;  

6. proof of worker’s compensation insurance; 
7. if applicable, CLIA certificate of waiver; 
8. disclosure of ownership and control information; 
9. the days and hours of operation (outpatient only);  
10. a copy of the articles of organization or articles of 

incorporation; and 
11. any other documentation or information required by 

the department for licensure.  
F. An ABI facility may not undergo a CHOW if any of 

the following conditions exist: 
1. an ABI facility whose licensure is provisional, is 

under revocation or is in denial of renewal; 
2. an ABI facility is in a settlement agreement with the 

department; and/or 
3. an ABI facility has ceased to operate and does not 

meet operational requirements to hold a license. 

G. The department may deny approval of the CHOW for 
any of the reasons a license may be revoked or denied 
renewal pursuant to these licensing provisions. 

H. If the CHOW results in a change of geographic 
address, an on-site survey shall be required prior to issuance 
of the new license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2170 
(November 2017). 

§8721. Renewal of License 
A. License Renewal Application. 

1. In order to renew a license, the ABI facility shall 
submit a completed license renewal application packet to the 
department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the 
existing current license. 

2. The license renewal application packet shall 
include: 

a. the license renewal application; 
b. a current fire inspection and a current health 

inspection, if applicable; 
c. the license renewal fee; and 
d. any other document required by the department. 

3. Upon receipt of the completed license renewal 
application packet, the department shall determine if the ABI 
facility continues to meet the statutory and regulatory 
requirements for ABI facilities. The department may perform 
an on-site survey upon annual renewal at intervals deemed 
necessary by the department to determine compliance. 

4. Failure to submit to the department a completed 
license renewal application packet prior to the expiration of 
the current license will result in the voluntary surrender of 
the ABI facility license. 

a. There is no right to an informal reconsideration 
or an administrative appeal of a voluntary surrender of a 
license by the facility. 

B. The renewal of a license does not in any manner 
affect any sanction, civil monetary penalty, or other action 
imposed by the department against the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2170 
(November 2017). 

§8723. Denial of License, Revocation of License, 

License Suspension and Denial of License 

Renewal  
A. The department may deny an application for a license, 

may deny a license renewal, may suspend a license or may 
revoke a license in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act (APA). 

B. Denial of an Initial License 
1. The department shall deny an initial license in the 

event that the initial licensing survey finds that the ABI 
facility is non-compliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations that present a potential threat to the health, 
safety, or welfare of the clients or persons receiving services. 

2. The department shall deny an initial license in the 
event that the initial licensing survey finds that the ABI 
facility is non-compliant with any other required statutes, 
laws, ordinances, rules or regulations that present a potential 
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threat to the health, safety or welfare of the clients or 
persons receiving services.  

3. The department shall deny an initial license for any 
of the reasons that a license may be revoked or denied 
renewal.  

C. Revocation of License, Suspension of License or 
Denial of License Renewal. An ABI facility license may be 
revoked, suspended, or denied renewal for any of the 
following reasons, including but not limited to: 

1. failure to be in substantial compliance with the ABI 
facility licensing laws, rules and regulations; 

2. failure to be in substantial compliance with other 
applicable statutes, laws, ordinances, rules or regulations;  

3. failure to comply with the terms and provisions of a 
settlement agreement or education letter;  

4. failure to uphold client rights whereby deficient 
practices may result in harm, injury or death of a client; 

5. failure to protect a client from a harmful act of an 
employee or other client including, but not limited to: 

a. abuse, neglect, exploitation, or extortion; 
b. any action posing a threat to a client’s health and 

safety; 
c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation; or 
e. harassment; 

6. failure to notify the proper authorities of all 
suspected cases of neglect, criminal activity, mental or 
physical abuse, or any combination thereof.  

7. knowingly making a false statement in any of the 
following areas, including but not limited to: 

a. application for initial license or renewal of 
license; 

b. data forms; 
c. clinical, client or facility records; 
d. matters under investigation by the department or 

the Office of the Attorney General; 
e. information submitted for reimbursement from 

any payment source; 
8. knowingly making a false statement or providing 

false, forged or altered information or documentation to 
LDH employees or to law enforcement agencies;  

9. the use of false, fraudulent or misleading 
advertising; 

10. fraudulent operation of an ABI facility by the 
owner, director/administrator or manager; 

11. an owner, officer, member, manager, 
director/administrator or person designated to manage or 
supervise participant care has pled guilty or nolo contendere 
to a felony, or has been convicted of a felony, as documented 
by a certified copy of the record of the court; 

NOTE: For purposes of this paragraph, conviction of a felony 
means a felony relating to the violence, abuse or negligence of 
a person, or to the misappropriation of property belonging to 
another person. 

12. failure to comply with all reporting requirements in 
a timely manner as required by the department; 

13. submission of non-sufficient funds for any payment 
to the department; 

14. failure to allow or refusal to allow the department 
to conduct an investigation or survey or to interview facility 
staff or participants; 

15. failure to allow or refusal to allow access to 
authorized departmental personnel to records; or 

16. bribery, harassment, or intimidation of any 
participant designed to cause that participant to use the 
services of any particular ABI facility. 

E. If the secretary of the department determines that 
violations of the facility pose an imminent or immediate 
threat to the health, welfare or safety of a participant or 
person receiving services, the secretary may suspend the 
license. A license suspension is immediate and shall be 
enforced during the pendency of the administrative appeal. If 
the secretary of the department makes such a determination, 
the facility will be notified in writing of such determination.  

F. In the event an ABI facility license is revoked, 
suspended or renewal is denied, any owner, officer, member, 
manager and director/administrator of such ABI facility is 
prohibited from owning, managing, directing or operating 
another ABI facility for a period of two years from the date 
of the final disposition of the revocation, suspension or 
denial action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2170 
(November 2017). 

§8725. Notice and Appeal of License Denial, License 

Revocation, License Suspension and Denial of 

License Renewal 
A. Notice of a license denial, license revocation, license 

suspension or denial of license renewal shall be given to the 
facility in writing. 

B. The ABI facility has a right to an administrative 
reconsideration of the license denial, license revocation, 
license suspension or denial of license renewal. 

1. The ABI facility has 15 calendar days from the 
receipt of the notice of the license denial, license revocation 
or denial of license renewal to request an administrative 
reconsideration. The request for administrative 
reconsideration shall be in writing and shall be forwarded to 
the department’s Health Standards Section. 

2. The request for administrative reconsideration shall 
include any documentation that demonstrates that the 
determination was made in error. 

3. If a timely request for an administrative 
reconsideration is received by the Health Standards Section, 
an administrative reconsideration shall be scheduled; the 
facility shall be notified in writing of the scheduled date. 

4. The facility shall have the right to appear in person 
at the administrative informal reconsideration; the facility 
may be represented by counsel at the administrative 
reconsideration. 

5. Correction of a violation or deficiency which is the 
basis for the denial, revocation, suspension or denial of 
license renewal shall not be a basis for reconsideration. 

6. The administrative reconsideration process is not in 
lieu of the administrative appeals process. 

7. The facility will be notified in writing of the results 
of the administrative reconsideration. 

C. The ABI facility has a right to an administrative 
appeal of the license denial, license revocation, license 
suspension or denial of license renewal. 

1. The ABI facility has 30 days from receipt of the 
notice of the results of the administrative reconsideration of 
the license denial, license revocation, license suspension or
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denial of license renewal to request an administrative appeal. 
a. The ABI facility may forego its rights to an 

administrative reconsideration, and if so, shall request the 
administrative appeal within 30 calendar days of the receipt 
of the written notice of the initial license denial, license 
suspension, revocation or non-denial of license renewal.  

b. The request for administrative appeal shall be in 
writing and shall be submitted to the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL) or its successor.  

2. The request for administrative appeal shall include 
any documentation that demonstrates that the determination 
was made in error and shall include the basis and specific 
reasons for the appeal. 

3. If a timely request for an administrative appeal of a 
license revocation or denial of license renewal is made, then 
the license revocation or denial of license renewal action 
shall be suspensive during the pendency of the appeal. The 
facility shall be allowed to continue to operate and provide 
services until such time as the department issues a final 
administrative decision. 

4. A license suspension is immediate and shall be 
enforced during the pendency of the administrative appeal.  

5. Correction of a violation or deficiency which is the 
basis for the denial, revocation or denial of license renewal 
shall not be a basis for the administrative appeal. 

D. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by the 
facility on an initial license denial, denial of license renewal 
or license revocation, the DAL, or its successor, shall 
conduct the hearing in accordance with the APA. 

1. If the final agency decision is to reverse the initial 
license denial, denial of license renewal or license 
revocation, the facility’s license will be re-instated or 
granted upon the payment of any licensing fees, outstanding 
sanctions or other fees due to the department. 

2. If the final agency decision is to affirm the denial of 
license renewal or license revocation, the facility shall 
discharge any and all clients receiving services according to 
the provisions of this Chapter. 

a. Within 10 calendar days of the final agency 
decision, the facility shall notify HSS, in writing, of the 
secure and confidential location where the client records will 
be stored and the name and contact information of the 
person(s) responsible for the client records. 

E. There is no right to an informal reconsideration or an 
administrative appeal of the issuance or expiration of a 
provisional license. 

F. A facility with a provisional license that expires due 
to deficiencies cited at the follow-up survey shall have the 
right to an informal reconsideration and the right to an 
administrative appeal only as to the validity of such cited 
deficiencies. 

1. The correction of any deficiency after the follow-up 
survey shall not be the basis for the informal reconsideration 
or for the administrative appeal. 

2. The informal reconsideration and the administrative 
appeal are limited to the whether the deficiencies were 
properly cited at the follow-up survey. 

3. The facility shall request the informal 
reconsideration within five days of receipt of the notice of 
the results of the follow-up survey from the department. 

4. The facility shall request the administrative appeal 
within 15 days of receipt of the notice of the results of the 
follow-up survey from the department. 

5. A facility with a provisional license that expires 
under the provisions of this Subsection shall cease providing 
services unless the DAL issues a stay of the expiration. The 
stay may be granted by the DAL upon application by the 
facility at the time the administrative appeal is filed and only 
after a contradictory hearing and only upon a showing that 
there is no potential harm to the clients being served by the 
facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2171 
(November 2017). 

§8727. Cessation of Business 
A. A cessation of business or closure is deemed to be 

effective the date on which the facility stops providing 
services to the community or clients. 

1. Except as provided in §8729 (Temporary 
Inactivation of a License Due to a Declared Disaster or 
Emergency) and §8731 (Inactivation of License due to Non-
Declared Emergency or Disaster) of these licensing 
regulations, a license shall be immediately null and void if 
an ABI facility ceases to operate. 

B. A cessation of business is considered to be a 
voluntary action on the part of the facility. As such, there is 
no right to an informal reconsideration and no right to an 
administrative appeal of a cessation of business or voluntary 
closure. 

C. Upon the cessation of business, the facility shall 
immediately return the original license to the department. 

D. A facility that intends to close or cease operations 
shall comply with the following procedures: 

1. give 30 days advance written notice to: 
a. the department; 
b. clients; and 
c. attending physicians; and 

2. provide for an orderly discharge and transition of 
all clients admitted to the facility. 

E. In addition to the 30 days advance written notice, the 
facility shall submit a written plan for the disposition of 
client services-related records for approval by the 
department. The plan shall include the following: 

1. the effective date of the closure; 
2. provisions that comply with federal and state laws 

on storage, maintenance, access and confidentiality of the 
closed facility’s client services-related records; 

3. an appointed custodian(s) who shall provide the 
following: 

a. access to records and copies of records to the 
client or authorized representative, upon presentation of 
proper authorization(s); and 

b. physical and environmental security that protects 
the records against fire, water, intrusion, unauthorized 
access, loss and destruction; and 

4. public notice regarding access to records, in the 
newspaper with the largest circulation in close proximity to 
the closing facility, at least 15 days prior to the effective date 
of closure. 
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F. If a facility fails to follow these procedures, the 
owners, managers, officers, directors and administrators may 
be prohibited from opening, managing, directing, operating 
or owning an ABI facility for a period of two years. 

G. Once the facility has ceased doing business, the 
facility shall not provide services until the facility has 
obtained a new initial license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2172 
(November 2017). 

§8729. Inactivation of a License Due to a Declared 

Disaster or Emergency 
A. A facility licensed in a parish which is the subject of 

an executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster 
issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766 may 
seek to inactivate its license for a period not to exceed one 
year, provided that the following conditions are met: 

1. the facility shall submit written notification to the 
Health Standards Section within 60 days of the date of the 
executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster 
that: 

a. the facility has experienced an interruption in the 
provisions of services as a result of events that are the 
subject of such executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 
or R.S. 29:766; 

b. the facility intends to resume operation as an ABI 
facility in the same service area; 

c. includes an attestation that the emergency or 
disaster is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the 
provision of services; 

d. includes an attestation that all clients have been 
properly discharged or transferred to another facility; and 

e. provides a list of each client and where that client 
is discharged or transferred; 

2. the facility resumes operating as an ABI facility in 
the same service area within one year of the issuance of an 
executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster in 
accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766; 

3. the ABI facility continues to pay all fees and cost 
due and owed to the department including, but not limited 
to, annual licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary 
penalties; and 

4. the ABI facility continues to submit required 
documentation and information to the department. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
inactivate an ABI facility license, the department shall issue 
a notice of inactivation of license to the ABI facility. 

C. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement, the ABI facility which has received a notice 
of inactivation of its license from the department shall be 
allowed to reinstate its license upon the following conditions 
being met. 

1. The ABI facility shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing agency of the 
department at least 15 days prior to the anticipated date of 
reopening. 

a. The license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening, and shall 
request scheduling of a licensing survey. 

b. The license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with appropriate licensing 
fees. 

2. The facility resumes operating as an ABI facility in 
the same service area within one year. 

D. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate an ABI facility license, the department may conduct 
a licensing survey. If the ABI facility meets the requirements 
for licensure and the requirements under this Section, the 
department will issue a notice of reinstatement of the ABI 
facility license. 

1. The licensed capacity of the reinstated license shall 
not exceed the licensed capacity as approved by the OSFM. 

E. No change of ownership in the ABI facility shall 
occur until such ABI facility has completed repairs, 
renovations, rebuilding or replacement construction, and has 
resumed operations as an ABI facility. 

F. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an 
ABI facility which has voluntarily surrendered its license 
and ceased operation. 

G. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the ABI 
facility license and any applicable facility need review 
approval for licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2173 
(November 2017). 

§8731. Inactivation of License due to Non-Declared 

Emergency or Disaster  
A. An ABI facility in an area or areas which have been 

affected by a non-declared emergency or disaster may seek 
to inactivate its license, provided that the following 
conditions are met: 

1. the ABI facility shall submit written notification to 
the Health Standards Section within 30 days of the date of 
the non-declared emergency or disaster stating that: 

a. the ABI facility has experienced an interruption 
in the provisions of services as a result of events that are due 
to a non-declared emergency or disaster; 

b. the ABI facility intends to resume operation as an 
ABI facility in the same service area; 

c. the ABI facility attests that the emergency or 
disaster is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the 
provision of services; and 

d. the ABI facility’s initial request to inactivate does 
not exceed one year for the completion of repairs, 
renovations, rebuilding or replacement of the facility; 

NOTE: Pursuant to these provisions, an extension of the 30 
day deadline for initiation of request may be granted at the 
discretion of the department. 

2. the ABI facility continues to pay all fees and costs 
due and owed to the department including, but not limited 
to, annual licensing fees and outstanding civil fines; and 

3. the ABI facility continues to submit required 
documentation and information to the department. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
temporarily inactivate an ABI facility license, the 
department shall issue a notice of inactivation of license to 
the ABI facility. 

C. Upon the ABI facility’s receipt of the department’s 
approval of request to inactivate the ABI facility’s license, 
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the ABI facility shall have 90 days to submit plans for the 
repairs, renovations, rebuilding or replacement of the facility 
to the OSFM and the OPH as required. 

D. The ABI facility shall resume operating in the same 
service area within one year of the approval of 
renovation/construction plans by the OSFM and the OPH as 
required. 

EXCEPTION: If the ABI facility requires an extension of this 
timeframe due to circumstances beyond the ABI facility’s 
control, the department will consider an extended time period 
to complete construction or repairs. Such written request for 
extension shall show the ABI facility’s active efforts to 
complete construction or repairs and the reasons for request 
for extension of the ABI facility’s inactive license. Any 
approvals for extension are at the sole discretion of the 
department. 

E. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement of the facility, an ABI facility which has 
received a notice of inactivation of its license from the 
department shall be allowed to reinstate its license upon the 
following conditions being met: 

1. the ABI facility shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing agency of the 
department; 

2. the license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening and shall 
request scheduling of a licensing or physical environment 
survey; and 

3. the license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with appropriate licensing 
fees. 

F. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate an ABI facility license, the department may conduct 
a licensing or physical environment survey. The department 
may issue a notice of reinstatement if the ABI facility has 
met the requirements for licensure including the 
requirements of this Subsection. 

NOTE: The licensed capacity of the reinstated license shall 
not exceed the licensed capacity as approved by the OSFM. 

G. No change of ownership of the ABI facility shall 
occur until such facility has completed repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement construction and has resumed 
operations as an ABI facility. 

H. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an 
ABI facility which has voluntarily surrendered its license 
and ceased operation. 

I. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Subsection shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the ABI 
facility license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2173 
(November 2017). 

§8733. Operating Without a License or in Violation of 

Departmental Regulations, Fines and Injunctive 

Relief 
A. In accordance with applicable state laws, rules and 

regulations, the department shall fine any ABI facility that 
operates without a valid license issued by the department, or 
operates in violation of departmental regulations. Such fines 
are not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars for each day of 
such offense. 

B. Any such fines levied and collected by the 
department, subject to applicable law, shall be used for the 
benefit of clients in ABI facilities and shall be distributed in 
accordance with criteria promulgated by rules of the 
department. 

C. Notwithstanding the provisions of this Section, the 
department may impose a fine(s) pursuant to R.S. 40:2199 
and the regulations promulgated thereunder. 

D. The facility may request an administrative 
reconsideration and/or an administrative appeal of a fine in 
accordance with the delay, notice and other procedures set 
forth in R.S. 40:2199 and the regulations promulgated 
thereunder. 

E. If any ABI facility operates without a valid license 
issued by the department, or in violation of departmental 
regulations, the department may cause a civil suit to be 
instituted in a district court in the parish in which the facility 
is located for injunctive relief, including a temporary 
restraining order, to restrain the institution, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons or any group operating the 
facility from continuing the violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2174 
(November 2017). 

§8735. Fees 
A. Any remittance submitted to the department in 

payment of a required fee shall be in the form of a company 
or certified check or money order made payable to the 
“Louisiana Department of Health”. 

B. Fee amounts shall be determined by the department. 
C. Fees paid to the department are not refundable. 
D. A fee is required to be submitted with: 

1. an initial application; 
2. a renewal application; 
3. a change of controlling ownership;  
4. a change of name or physical address; and 
5. each offsite residential location. 

E. Submission of fees that are returned for non-sufficient 
funds may result in the license being denied, either initially 
or at time for renewal, revoked or suspended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2174 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter B. Organization and Administration 
§8741. Governing Body 

A. Governing Body. The ABI facility shall have an 
identifiable governing body which has the responsibility and 
authority for the policies and procedures of the facility. 

1. The governing body shall be designated in writing. 
2. When the governing body of a facility is comprised 

of more than one person, the governing body shall hold 
formal meetings at least twice a year. There shall be written 
bylaws specifying frequency of meetings and quorum 
requirements. There shall be written minutes of all meetings. 

3. When the governing body is composed of only one 
person, this person shall assume all responsibilities of the 
governing body. 
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B. Responsibilities of the Governing Body. The 
governing body of an ABI facility shall: 

1. ensure the facility’s compliance and conformity 
with the facility’s policies and procedures; 

2. ensure the facility’s continual compliance and 
conformity with all relevant federal, state and local laws and 
regulations; 

3. ensure that the facility is adequately funded and 
fiscally sound; 

4. review and approve the facility’s annual budget; 
5. designate a person to act as director and delegate 

sufficient authority to this person to manage the facility (a 
sole owner may be the director); 

6. formulate and annually review, in consultation with 
the director, written policies concerning the facility’s 
philosophy, goals, current services, personnel practices, job 
descriptions and fiscal management; and 

7. annually evaluate the director’s performance (if a 
sole owner is not acting as director). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2174 
(November 2017). 

§8743. Governing Body Responsibilities 
A. An ABI facility shall comply with all federal, state 

and local laws, rules and regulations in the development and 
implementation of its policies and procedures. The 
governing body shall ensure all of the following 
requirements are met. 

B. Policies and Procedures. The facility shall have: 
1. written policies and procedures approved by the 

governing body that address the following: 
a. confidentiality of client information and security 

of client files; 
b. advertising; 
c. personnel; 
d. client’s rights; 
e. a grievance procedure to include documentation 

of grievances, investigation, resolution and response to 
complainant in a timely manner, time frame in which facility 
will respond, and an appeals process for grievances; 

f. safekeeping of personal possessions, if 
applicable; 

g. clients’ funds, if applicable; 
h. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
i. abuse, neglect and exploitation, and 

documentation and reporting of same; 
j. incidents and accidents and documentation of 

same; 
k. admissions and discharge procedures; 
l. medication administration; and 
m. safety of the client while being transported by an 

agency employee, either contracted or staff, that includes a 
process for evaluation of the employee’s driver’s license 
status inquiry report which may prohibit an employee from 
transporting clients; 

2. minutes of formal governing body meetings; 
3. organizational chart of the facility; and 
4. written leases, contracts and purchase-of-service 

agreements (including all appropriate credentials) to which 
the facility is a party. 

C. Organizational Communication 
1. A facility shall establish procedures to assure 

written communication among personnel to provide 
continuity of services to all clients. 

2. Direct care staff shall have access to information 
concerning clients that is necessary for effective 
performance of the employee’s assigned tasks. 

D. Confidentiality and Security of Records. The facility 
shall ensure the confidentiality of client records, including 
information in a computerized medical record system, in 
accordance with applicable federal privacy laws and any 
state laws and regulations which provide a more stringent 
standard of confidentiality than the applicable federal 
privacy regulations and laws. 

1. Information from, or copies of, records may be 
released only to authorized individuals, and the facility shall 
ensure that unauthorized individuals cannot gain access to or 
alter client records. 

2. Original medical records shall not be released 
outside the facility unless under court order or subpoena or 
in order to safeguard the record in the event of a physical 
plant emergency or natural disaster. 

E. Clinical Records 
1. A facility shall maintain a separate record for each 

client. Such record shall be current and complete and shall 
be maintained in the facility or in a central administrative 
location readily available to facility staff and to the 
department. 

2. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 
standardized order and format and shall be retained and 
disposed of in accordance with state laws. 

3. Each record shall include but not be limited to at 
least the following information: 

a. identifying information to include at least client’s 
name, marital status, date of birth and gender; 

b. dates of admission and discharge; 
c. client’s written authorization and contact 

information of the representative or responsible person; 
d. name and 24-hour contact information for the 

primary physician and any other physician involved in the 
client’s care; 

e. the admission assessment; 
f. individual service plan, updates and quarterly 

reviews; 
g. progress notes of care and services received and 

response to treatment; 
h. a record of all personal property and funds which 

the client has entrusted to the facility; and 
i. written acknowledgements that the client has 

received verbal and written notice of client’s rights, 
grievance procedures and client’s responsibilities. 

4. Storage of any client information or records may be 
maintained electronically or in paper form. 

a. If stored electronically, documents shall be 
viewable and reproducible as necessary and relevant.  

F. Advertising. A facility shall have written policies and 
procedures regarding the photographing and audio or 
audiovisual recordings of clients for the purposes of 
advertising. 

1. No client shall be photographed or recorded 
without the client’s or representatives’ prior informed written 
consent. 
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a. Such consent cannot be made a condition for 
admission into, remaining in, or participating fully in the 
activities of the facility. 

b. Consent agreements shall clearly notify the client 
of his/her rights under this regulation and shall specify 
precisely what use is to be made of the photograph or 
recordings. 

c. Consents are valid for a maximum of one year 
from the date of execution. 

d. Clients are free to revoke such agreements at any 
time, either orally or in writing. 

2. All photographs and recordings shall be used in a 
way that respects the dignity and confidentiality of the 
client. 

G. Personnel Policies. A facility shall have written 
personnel policies that include: 

1. orientation, ongoing training, development, 
supervision and performance evaluation of personnel 
members; 

2. written job descriptions for each position, including 
volunteers; 

3. requirements for a health assessment of personnel 
prior to employment. These policies shall, at a minimum, 
require that the individual has no evidence of active 
tuberculosis and is re-evaluated as recommended by the 
Office of Public Health; 

NOTE: Policies shall be in accordance with state rules, laws 
and regulations for employees, either contracted or directly 
employed, and volunteers. 

4. abuse prevention and reporting procedures that 
include what constitutes abuse, how to prevent it and 
requirement that all personnel report any incident of abuse or 
neglect to the director or his/her designee, whether that 
abuse or neglect is done by another staff member, either 
contracted or directly employed, a family member, a client 
or any other person;  

5. criteria for determining employment based on the 
results of a statewide criminal background check conducted 
by the Louisiana State Police, or its designee, which shall be 
conducted upon hire, rehire and in accordance with facility 
policy for any unlicensed facility personnel: 

a. the facility shall have documentation on the final 
disposition of all charges that bars employment pursuant to 
applicable state law; and 

6. clarification of the facility’s prohibited use of social 
media. The policy shall ensure that all staff, either contracted 
or directly employed, receive training relative to the 
restrictive use of social media and include, at a minimum, 
ensuring confidentiality of client information and 
preservation of client dignity and respect, including 
protection of client privacy and personal and property rights. 

H. Orientation 
1. A facility’s orientation program shall include 

training in the following topics for all personnel: 
a. the policies and procedures of the facility, 

including but not limited to the prohibited use of social 
media; 

b. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
c. client’s rights; 
d. abuse and neglect prevention and requirements 

concerning the reporting of abuse and neglect of clients; 

e. procedures for reporting of incidents and 
accidents; and 

f. instruction in the specific duties and 
responsibilities of the employee’s job and a competency 
evaluation of those duties and responsibilities. 

2. Orientation for direct care staff, either contracted or 
directly employed, shall include the following: 

a. training in client care services (ADLs and 
IADLs) provided by the facility; 

b. infection control to include universal precautions;  
c. any specialized training to meet clients’ needs; 

and 
d. a new employee shall not be given sole 

responsibility for the implementation of a client’s program 
plan until this training is documented as successfully 
completed. 

3. All direct care staff shall receive and/or have 
documentation of certification in basic life support and 
general first aid procedures within the first 30 days of 
employment. Direct care staff, either contracted or directly 
employed, shall have this training prior to being assigned 
sole responsibility for a client’s care. 

4. In addition to the topics listed above, orientation for 
direct care staff, either contracted or directly employed, shall 
include an evaluation to ensure competence to provide ADL 
and IADL assistance. 

5. A new direct care staff employee shall not be 
assigned to carry out a client’s care until competency has 
been demonstrated and documented. 

I. Annual Training 
1. A facility shall ensure that each direct care staff 

participates in required training each year. Routine 
supervision of direct care staff shall not be considered as 
meeting this requirement. 

2. The facility shall document that direct care staff, 
either contracted or directly employed, receive training on an 
annual basis in: 

a. facility’s policies and procedures; 
b. emergency and evacuation procedures; 
c. client’s rights; 
d. abuse and neglect prevention and requirements 

concerning the reporting of abuse and neglect and incidents 
and accidents; 

e. client care services (ADLs and IADLs); 
f. infection control to include universal precautions; 

and 
g. any specialized training to meet clients’ needs. 

3. All direct care staff, either contracted or directly 
employed, shall have documentation of current certification 
in basic life support and general first aid. 

J. Evaluation. An employee’s annual performance 
evaluation shall include his/her interaction with clients, 
family, and other employees. 

K. Personnel Files 
1. A facility shall maintain a separate personnel record 

for each employee. At a minimum, this file shall contain the 
following: 

a. the application for employment including the 
applicant’s education, training and experience; 

b. a statewide criminal background check 
conducted by the Louisiana State Police, or its designee, 
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prior to an offer of employment for any unlicensed 
personnel: 
 i. the facility shall have documented disposition 
of any charges, if applicable; 

c. evidence of applicable professional credentials; 
d. documentation of required health assessment as 

defined in the facility’s policies; 
e. annual performance evaluation; 
f. employee’s hire and termination dates; 
g. documentation of orientation and annual training; 
h. documentation of competency evaluations for 

duties assigned, including, but not limited to, safety in 
transporting clients;  

i. documentation of a current, unrestricted driver’s 
license (if driving or transporting clients); 

j. documentation of a current driver’s license status 
inquiry report available on-line from the state Office of 
Motor Vehicles for staff, either contracted or directly 
employed, who are required to transport clients as part of 
their assigned duties; and 

k. comply with the provisions of R.S. 40:2179-
2179.2 and the rules regarding the direct service worker 
registry. 

2. A facility shall not release an employee’s personnel 
file without the employee’s written permission, except as 
required by state law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2175 
(November 2017). 

§8745. Required Staffing 
A. Each ABI facility shall be staffed to sufficiently 

safeguard the health, safety and welfare of the clients, as 
required by these regulations. 

B. At a minimum, the following staff positions are 
required; however, one person may occupy more than one 
position. 

1. Director 
a. Each facility shall have a qualified director who 

is an employee of the facility. Responsibilities include the 
day-to-day management, supervision, operation of the 
facility and ensuring the individual service plan is 
implemented and carried out. 
 i. It is the responsibility of the director to contact 
the client’s representative, if applicable, and request 
assistance to help the client in adjusting to the facility at the 
first indication of an adjustment problem. 

b. During periods of temporary absence of the 
director, there shall be a responsible staff person designated 
to be in charge that has the knowledge and authority to 
handle any situation that may occur. 

c. Director Qualifications. The director shall, at 
least, meet one of the following criteria upon date of hire: 
 i. a bachelor’s degree from an accredited 
university or college plus two years of experience in the 
fields of health, social services, geriatrics, management or 
administration; or 
 ii. a master’s degree from an accredited university 
or college in geriatrics, health care administration, or in a 
human service related field or their equivalent; or 

 iii. in lieu of a degree, six years of experience in 
health, social services, geriatrics, management, 
administration or a combination of undergraduate education 
and experience for a total of six years. 

d. The director shall be at least 21 years of age. 
2. Nursing Director. The nursing director or an equally 

qualified RN shall be available by telecommunications or 
able to be on-site as needed 24 hours/day. 

a. Qualifications. Each facility shall have a nursing 
director who is currently licensed as a registered nurse in 
Louisiana without restrictions. 

b. Responsibilities. The responsibilities of a nursing 
director are to advance community integration through: 
 i. overseeing the medication management 
program,including staff training to implement the program; 
 ii. assisting the client in the restoration and 
maintenance of maximal health; 
 iii. consulting the primary physician to advance 
the client with their medication management program; 
 iv. advancing understanding of their unique 
medical and pharmacological needs; 
 v. improving the client’s quality of life; and  
 vi. ensuring nursing care is provided in 
accordance with the client’s individual service plan. 

3. Designated Recreational/Activity Staff. There shall 
be an individual designated to organize and oversee the 
recreational and social program(s) of the facility. 

4. Direct Care Staff 
a. An ABI facility shall have staff sufficient in 

number and qualifications on duty at all times to meet the 
needs of clients. 

b. An ABI facility that operates on a 24-hour basis 
shall have staff on duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

c. Direct care staff may include care assistants, 
social workers, activities personnel or other staff who 
provide direct care services to clients on a regular basis. If 
employed at more than one facility, direct care staff shall 
notify each facility of employment and shall ensure their 
schedule does not overlap. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2177 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter C. Client Protection 
§8751. Client Rights 

A. The facility shall have a written policy regarding 
client’s rights. The policy shall assure the client has the right 
to: 

1. not be deprived of civil or legal rights; 
2. not be denied admission, segregated or otherwise 

subjected to discrimination on the basis of race, sex, 
handicap, creed, national background or ancestry; a facility 
that is a religious organization may limit admissions to its 
own adherents; 

3. live within the least restrictive environment 
possible in order to retain their individuality and personal 
freedom; staff shall knock and request entrance before 
entering any bedroom; 

4. be treated as individuals and with dignity, be 
assured choice and privacy and the opportunity to act
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autonomously, take risks to enhance independence and share 
responsibility for decisions; 

5. be allowed to participate, and have family 
participate, if desired, in the planning of activities and 
services; 

6. receive or refuse care and services that are 
adequate, appropriate and in compliance with conditions of 
residency, relevant federal and state laws, rules and 
regulations; 

7. be free from mental, emotional and physical abuse 
and neglect and assured that no chemical restraints will be 
used; 

8. have records and other information about the client 
kept confidential and released only with a client’s expressed 
written consent; 

9. have a service animal for medical reasons; 
10. have visitors of their choice, as long as the rights of 

others are not infringed upon; 
11. have access to private telephone communication; 
12. send and receive mail promptly and unopened; 
13. furnish their own rooms and use and maintain 

personal clothing and possessions as space permits; 
14. manage his or her personal funds unless such 

authority has been delegated to another. 
NOTE: If authority to manage personal funds has been 
delegated to the facility, the client has the right to examine the 
account during business hours; 

15. have freedom to participate in accessible 
community activities and in social, political, medical, and 
religious activities and to have freedom to refuse such 
participation; 

16. arrange for third-party services at their own 
expense, that are not available through the facility as long as 
the client remains in compliance with the conditions of 
residency; 

17. to be informed of grievance process or procedures 
and receive response to grievances without fear of reprisal 
and to voice grievances and suggest changes in policies and 
services to either staff or outside representatives without fear 
of reprisal or other retaliation; 

18. be given written notice of not less than 30 days 
prior to discharge from the facility, except in life-threatening 
emergencies and when the client is a danger to 
himself/herself or to others; 

19. remain in the current facility, foregoing a 
recommended transfer to obtain additional services, if a 
mutually agreed upon risk agreement is signed by the client, 
the responsible representative (if any) and the facility as long 
as it does not place the facility in conflict with these or other 
laws or regulations; 

20. receive at least a 24-hour notice prior to a change in 
room/unit, be informed of the reason for the move and the 
right to be informed when their roommate is being changed; 

21. live in a physical environment which ensures their 
physical and emotional security and well-being; 

22. retain the services of his/her own personal 
physician, dentist or other health care provider; 

23. confidentiality and privacy concerning his/her 
medical and dental condition and treatment; and 

24. select the pharmacy or pharmacist of their choice. 
B. Each client shall be fully informed of these rights and 

of all rules and regulations governing clients’ conduct and

responsibilities, as evidenced by written acknowledgement, 
prior to or at the time of admission and when changes occur. 
Each client’s file shall contain a copy of the written 
acknowledgement which shall be signed and dated by the 
director/designee, client and/or representative. 

C. A copy of these rights shall be posted conspicuously 
in the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2177 
(November 2017). 

§8753. Client Association 
A. The facility shall provide a formal process and 

structure by which clients, in representative groups and/or as 
a whole, are given the opportunity to advise the director 
regarding client services and life at the facility. Any client 
request, concerns or suggestions presented through this 
process will be addressed by the director within a reasonable 
time frame, as necessitated by the concern, request or 
suggestion. The facility shall have policies and procedures 
addressing the following: 

1. the times and frequency of use of the public or 
communal telephone; 

2. visitors; 
3. hours and volume for viewing and listening to 

television, radio, and other media; 
4. movement of clients in and out of the home; 
5. use of personal property; and 
6. care of pets. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2178 
(November 2017). 

§8755. Grievance Procedure 
A. The facility shall establish and have written grievance 

procedures to include, but are not limited to: 
1. a formal process to present grievances; 
2. a formal appeals process for grievances; and 
3. a process to respond to client requests and/or client 

grievances in a timely manner, and the time frames in which 
the facility shall respond. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2178 
(November 2017). 

§8757 Personal Possessions 
A. The facility may, at its discretion, offer to clients the 

service of safekeeping of valuable possessions. The facility 
shall have a written statement of its policy. 

1. If the facility offers such a service, a copy of the 
written policy and procedures shall be given to a client at the 
time of his/her admission. 

2. The facility shall give the client a receipt listing 
each item that it is holding in trust for the client. The facility 
shall maintain a copy of the receipt. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2178 
(November 2017). 
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§8759. Client Funds 
A. If a facility offers the service of safekeeping and/or 

management of clients’ personal funds, the facility’s 
admission agreement shall include the client’s rights 
regarding personal funds and list the services offered and 
charges, if any. Any charges assessed shall not exceed the 
actual cost incurred by the facility for the provision of the 
services. 

B. There is no obligation for a client to deposit funds 
with the facility or have the facility manage his/her funds, 
and the facility may not require the client to deposit his/her 
funds with the facility. If a facility offers the service of 
safekeeping and if a client wishes to entrust funds, the 
facility shall: 

1. obtain written authorization from the client and/or 
his/her representative to safekeeping of funds; 

2. provide each client with a receipt listing the amount 
of money the facility is holding in trust for the client; 

3. maintain a current balance sheet containing all 
financial transactions to include the signatures of staff and 
the client for each transaction; and 

4. not accept more than $300 of a client’s money. 
C. If a facility offers the service of safekeeping and/or 

management of clients’ personal funds, the facility shall 
purchase a surety bond or otherwise provide assurance 
satisfactory to the secretary to assure the security of all 
personal funds of clients deposited with the facility. In 
addition, if a client wishes the facility to assist with the 
management of all their funds, the facility: 

1. shall receive written authorization to manage the 
client’s funds from the client and the representative, if 
applicable; 

2. shall only manage a client’s money when such 
management is mandated by the client’s service plan; and  

3. shall keep funds received from the client for 
management in an individual account in the name of the 
client. 

D. When a client is discharged, the facility shall refund 
the balance of the client’s personal funds to the client or 
representative, if applicable, on the date of discharge or no 
later than the last day of the month of the month of 
discharge.  

E. In the event of the death of the client, the facility shall 
refund the balance of the client’s personal funds to the 
executor of the client’s estate. If there is no executor, the 
facility shall refund the balance to the representative or 
responsible party for the client. The refund shall be made 
within three months of the date of death. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2179 
(November 2017). 

§8761. Emergency and Evacuation Procedures 
A. Disaster and emergency plans shall be developed by 

the governing body, and updated annually, which are based 
on a risk assessment using an all hazards approach for both 
internal and external occurrences. Disaster and emergency 
plans shall include provisions for persons with disabilities. 

B. The facility shall develop and implement policies and 
procedures based on the emergency plan, risk assessment, 
and communication plan which shall be reviewed and

updated at least annually. Such policies shall include a 
system to track on duty staff and sheltered clients, if any, 
during the emergency. 

C. The facility shall develop and maintain an emergency 
preparedness communication plan that complies with both 
federal and state laws. Client care shall be well-coordinated 
within the facility, across health care providers and with 
state and local public health departments and emergency 
systems. 

D. Additional Requirements 
1. The ABI facility shall have continuously available 

telephone service on a 24-hour basis. 
2. The ABI facility shall either post telephone 

numbers of emergency services, including the fire 
department, police department, medical services, poison 
control and ambulance or show evidence of an alternate 
means of immediate access to these services. 

3. The ABI facility shall have a detailed written plan 
and procedure including the evacuation of residences or 
sheltering in place as appropriate to meet all potential 
emergencies and disasters such as fire, severe weather and 
missing clients. The ABI facility shall implement this plan in 
the event that an emergency or disaster occurs. These 
emergency and evacuation procedures shall include: 

a. an agreement with a host or receiving facility, 
transportation, medications, food and necessary items to be 
evacuated with clients to safe or sheltered areas. Plans that 
family may evacuate the client when possible; 

b. means for an ongoing safety program including 
continuous inspection of the facility for possible hazards, 
continuous monitoring of safety equipment and investigation 
of all accidents or emergencies; 

c. fire prevention and evacuation plan and this plan 
shall be posted in each facility in a conspicuous place and 
kept current; 

d. fire drills shall be documented for each shift at 
least quarterly; 

NOTE: The drills may be announced in advance to the 
clients. 

e. shelter in place when appropriate; 
f.  transportation arrangements for hospitalization 

or any other services which are appropriate;  
g. maintenance of a first aid kit for emergencies; 

and 
h. any emergency equipment appropriate for the 

ABI facility's client population. 
E. The ABI facility shall develop and maintain training 

and testing programs, including initial training in policies 
and procedures and demonstrate knowledge of emergency 
procedures. Such training shall be provided at least annually. 

F. The ABI facility shall immediately notify the 
department and other appropriate agencies of any fire, 
disaster or other emergency that may present a danger to 
clients or require their evacuation from the facility. 

G. At any time that the ABI facility has an interruption in 
services or a change in the licensed location due to an 
emergency situation, the facility shall notify HSS no later 
than the next stated business day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2179 
(November 2017). 
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§8763. Incidents/Accidents 
A. The ABI facility shall have written procedures for the 

reporting and documentation of unusual incidents and other 
situations or circumstances affecting the health, safety or 
well-being of a client or clients. (i.e., death of unnatural 
causes, injuries, fights or physical confrontations, situations 
requiring the use of passive physical restraints, suspected 
incidents of abuse or neglect). 

1. Such procedures shall ensure timely verbal 
reporting to the director or designee and a preliminary 
written report within 24 hours of the incident. 

2. Incidents or accidents shall be documented in the 
client record. An incident report shall be maintained by the 
facility. 

B. Incident/Accident Report. When and if an incident 
occurs, a detailed report of the incident shall be made. At a 
minimum, the incident report shall contain the following: 

1. circumstances under which the incident occurred; 
names of clients, staff and others involved; 

2. date and time the incident occurred; 
3. where the incident occurred (bathroom, bedroom, 

street, lawn, etc.); 
4. immediate treatment and follow-up care; 
5. name and address of witnesses and their statements; 
6. date and time family or representative was notified; 
7. symptoms of pain and injury discussed with the 

physician; and date and time physician was notified; and 
8. signatures of the staff completing the report, client 

and director. 
C. Critical Incidents. When an incident results in death 

of a client, involves abuse or neglect of a client, or entails 
any serious threat to the client’s health, safety or well-being 
the facility shall: 

1. immediately report verbally to the director and 
submit a preliminary written report within 24 hours of the 
incident; 

2. immediately notify the department and local law 
enforcement agency according to state law, with written 
notification to the above agencies to follow within 24 hours 
of the suspected incident; 

3. immediately notify the family or representative of 
the client; 

4. provide follow-up written reports of the completed 
investigation to all the above persons and agencies; 

5. take appropriate corrective action to prevent future 
incidents; and 

6. document its compliance with all of the above 
procedures for each incident. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2180 
(November 2017). 

§8765. Abuse and Neglect 
A. The ABI facility shall develop, implement and 

comply with facility-specific written policies and procedures 
related to compliance with this Section, including, but not 
limited to policies and procedures that include provisions 
for: 

1. protect clients from abuse/neglect and/or injury 
inflicted by other clients, staff or third parties;  

2. ensure that the client and/or reporter of the abuse is 
protected from potential harassment during the investigation; 

3. ensure training and maintaining staff awareness of 
abuse prevention, current definitions of abuse and neglect, 
reporting requirements and applicable laws; 

4. ensure that procedures for reporting critical 
incidents involving abuse and neglect are followed; and 

5. ensure that the director completes an investigation 
report within five working days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2180 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter D. Admissions, Transfers and Discharges 
§8771. Admission 

A. Admission Criteria  
1. The ABI facility shall have a clear and specific 

written description of admission policies and procedures. 
This written description shall include, but is not limited to: 

a. the application process and the possible reasons 
for the rejection of an application; 

b. types of clients suitable to the ABI facility; and 
c. services offered and allowed in the ABI facility. 

2. An ABI facility may accept or retain clients in need 
of additional care beyond routine personal care provided 
that: 

a. the client or the representative, if applicable, and 
the facility agree that acceptance or retention of the client is 
appropriate; and 

b. the facility has the capability of meeting the 
needs of the client.  

B. Admissions Agreement 
1. The ABI facility shall complete and maintain 

individual written admission agreements with all persons 
admitted to the facility or with their representative. The 
facility contract/admissions agreement shall specify: 

a. clear and specific occupancy criteria and 
procedures (admission, transfer and discharge); 

b. basic services to be made available; 
c. optional services which are available; 
d. payment provisions, including the following: 

 i. covered and non-covered services; and  
 ii. payor or funding source; 

e. client’s code of conduct for participation in the 
program and client’s agreement to abide by the same;  

f. the facility shall notify the client or 
representative at least 30 days prior to rate changes; 

g. refund criteria; 
h. that the department has the authority to examine 

clients’ records as part of the evaluation of the facility; 
i. division of responsibility between the facility, 

client, family or others (e.g., arranging for or overseeing 
medical care, purchase of essential or desired supplies, 
emergencies, monitoring of health, handling or finances); 

j. clients’ rights; 
k. explanation of the grievance procedure and 

appeals process; and 
l. the development of a service plan specific to the 

individual client, including participation of the client and/or 
representative in the development of the plan. 
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2. The admissions agreement shall be signed by the 
director and by the client and the representative, if 
applicable. 

C. At the time of admission the ABI facility shall: 
1. obtain from the client or the client’s family or 

representative, their plan for both routine and emergency 
medical care to include the name of physician(s) and 
provisions and authorization for emergency medical care; 

2. document that the client and/or representative was 
informed of the ABI facility’s emergency and evacuation 
procedures; and 

3. if the client has executed a medical power of 
attorney or an advanced directive, the facility shall maintain 
a copy of these documents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2180 
(November 2017). 

§8773. Transfer or Discharge 
A. The director shall, in consultation with the client and 

the representative, if applicable, assist in planning and 
implementing the transfer or discharge of the client when: 

1. the client’s adjustment to the ABI facility is not 
satisfactory as determined by the director in consultation 
with the client or his/her representative; 

2. the client is in need of services that the facility 
cannot provide or obtain for the client; or 

3. the client or representative has failed to pay all fees 
and costs stated in the admission agreement or otherwise 
materially breached the admission agreement. 

B. When a discharge or transfer is initiated by the 
facility, the director shall provide the client, and his/her 
representative, if applicable, with 30 days prior written 
notice citing the reason for the discharge or transfer, except 
shorter notice may be given in cases where the client is a 
danger to self or others. 

C. At the request of the client or representative and 
receiving facility, copies of all pertinent information shall be 
given to the director of the licensed facility to which the 
client is transferred. 

D. The following discharge information shall be 
recorded in the client’s record: 

1. date of discharge; 
2. transfer facility;  
3. reason(s) for discharge; and 
4. condition upon discharge. 

E. Client records shall be retained for at least six years 
from the date of discharge. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2181 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter E. Participation Requirements 
§8777. Services 

A. Assessment, Service Coordination, and Monitoring 
1. Within seven days of admission, the facility shall 

complete an assessment to determine the needs and 
preferences of the client. The assessment shall include but is 
not limited to: 

a. review of physical health, psycho-social status 
and cognitive status and determination of services necessary 
to meet those needs; 

b. a summary of the client’s health needs, if any, 
including medication, treatment and special diet orders 
obtained from professionals with responsibility for the 
client’s physical or emotional health; 

c. a written description of the activities of daily 
living and instrumental activities of daily living for which 
the client requires assistance, if any, obtained from the 
client, the client’s physician, family or representative; 

d. the client’s interests, likes and dislikes; 
e. recreational and social activities which are 

suitable or desirable; 
f. a plan for handling special emergency evacuation 

needs; and 
g. additional information or documents pertinent to 

the client’s service planning, such as guardianship papers, 
power of attorney, living wills, do-not-resuscitate orders, or 
other relevant medical documents. 

2. Within 30 days after admission, the facility, with 
input from the client, and/or his/her representative shall 
develop and implement a service plan using information 
from the assessment. The service plan shall include: 

a. the client’s needs; 
b. the scope, frequency and duration of services and 

monitoring that will be provided to meet the client’s needs;  
c. staff responsible for providing the services 

inclusive of third-party providers;  
d. current medication list from the client’s primary 

care physician; and 
e. identification of the level of assistance that the 

client requires. 
3. The facility shall have a reporting procedure in 

place for notifying appropriate individuals of any changes in 
a client’s condition. 

4. The client’s service plan shall be revised when a 
client’s condition or preferences change and signed by the 
client and the representative, if applicable, and the 
designated facility staff. 

5. The service plan shall be monitored on an ongoing 
basis to assess its appropriateness and to identify when a 
client’s condition or preferences have changed.  

6. A documented review of the client’s service plan 
shall be made at least every three months. 

7. All plans and reviews shall be signed by the client, 
facility staff and the representative, if applicable. 

B. Personal and Supportive Services 
1. The facility shall provide adequate services and 

oversight/supervision, including adequate security measures, 
continuously as needed for any client. 

2. The facility shall provide or coordinate services, to 
the extent needed or desired by clients.  

3. The client may participate in these services as 
written in his/her service plan. The following services are 
required to be offered: 

a. assistance with all ADLs and IADLs; 
b. at least three nutritious, varied, and palatable 

meals a day, seven days a week, that take into account 
client’s dietary requirements, preferences and needs in 
residential facilities: 
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 i. nourishing snacks, such as fruits and 
beverages, shall be available to residents at all times; and 
 ii. the ABI facility shall furnish medically 
prescribed diets to all clients for which it is designated in the 
service plan; 

c. basic personal laundry services in residential 
facilities; 

d. opportunities for individual and group 
socialization and to utilize community resources to create a 
normal and realistic environment for community interaction 
within and outside the facility (i.e. barber/beauty services, 
social/recreational opportunities); 

e. services for clients who have behavior problems 
requiring ongoing staff support, intervention, and 
supervision to ensure no danger or infringement of the rights 
of other clients or individuals; 

f. household services essential for the health and 
comfort of client (e.g. floor cleaning, dusting, bed making, 
etc.) in residential facilities; 

g. assistance with self-administration of 
medications; and 

h. a program of recreational activities. 
C. Medication Management. The ABI facility shall have 

a medication management program. The medication 
management program shall be formulated in consultation 
with the client’s primary physician and overseen by the 
nursing director.  

1. The facility shall have written policies and 
procedures for the implementation of the medication 
management program. 

2. The facility shall assist clients in the self-
administration of prescription and non-prescription 
medication as agreed to in their contract or service plan, as 
allowed by state statute/regulations and overseen by the 
nursing director. Only clients who have awareness of their 
medication regime shall be provided assistance by direct 
care staff with self-administration of medications. 

3. Assistance with self-administration of medications 
shall be limited to the following: 

a. the client may be reminded to take his/her 
medication; 

b. the medication regimen, as indicated on the 
container may be read to the client; 

c. the dosage may be verified by staff, according to 
the container label; and 

d. staff may physically assist the client in pouring or 
handling medications, including opening the medicine 
container (i.e. bottle, mediset, blister pak, etc.), if the client 
lacks the ability to open the container. 

4. If the client has been assessed as able to utilize a 
pill organizer box, such pill organizer box may be filled by 
the nursing director or designee, the client with supervision 
or the client’s representative. 

5. The facility shall thoroughly review the medication 
administration staff’s ability to follow policy and procedures 
regarding assisting with medication administration. 

6. An employee that provides assistance with the self-
administration of medications to a client shall have 
documented training on the policies and procedures for 
medication assistance including the limitations of this 
assistance. 

a. Documentation of training shall include the 
signature of the employee. 

b. Training shall be repeated at least annually. 
c. Training for direct care staff assisting with 

medication management shall include but not be limited to 
the following: 
 i. legal aspects of medication assistance; 
 ii. understanding roles and responsibilities in 
medication assistance; 
 iii. definitions of medical terminology; 
 iv. classifications of medications; 
 v. identification of medication; 
 vi. dosing and measurement of medications; 
 vii. mechanism of action, therapeutic effects of 
drugs, and response to medications; 
 viii. education on side effects, observation, 
reporting and documentation of side effects; and 
 ix. care and safe handling of medications. 

7. Direct care staff assisting with medication 
management shall meet the following:  

a. be a minimum of 18 years of age; 
b. able to read, write and comprehend the English 

language; and 
c. have no current evidence of drug use, drug abuse 

or diversion of drugs and no record of conviction of a felony. 
8. Limitations. Medication assistance is limited to 

assistance with oral medication, inhalant medication, topical 
applications, suppository medication, eye and ear drops as 
prescribed and documented in the service plan. 

a. Direct care staff providing medication assistance 
shall not assist with any intramuscular, intravenous or 
subcutaneous medications. 

b. Direct care staff providing medication assistance 
shall not receive or assume responsibility for writing oral or 
telephone orders from a physician. 

c. Direct care staff providing medication assistance 
shall not alter medication dosages, as delivered from the 
pharmacy, without being instructed to do so by the nursing 
director, in accordance with prescribed medication orders. 

9. The facility shall ensure that a client’s medications 
shall be securely stored by the client in the client’s own 
bedroom or stored in a secure central location in the facility, 
as appropriate for each individual client. 

D. Transportation 
1. The facility shall have the capacity to provide or to 

arrange transportation as necessary for the following: 
a. medical services, including ancillary services for 

medically related care (e.g., physician, pharmacist, therapist, 
podiatrist); 

b. personal services, including barber/beauty 
services; 

c. personal errands; and 
d. social/recreational opportunities. 

2. The facility shall ensure and document that any 
vehicle used in transporting clients, whether such vehicles 
are operated by a staff member or any other person acting on 
behalf of the facility, is inspected, licensed and insured in 
accordance with state law.  

3. When transportation services are provided by the 
facility, whether directly or by third party contract, the 
facility shall document and ensure that drivers have a valid
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driver’s license and that drivers have a current insurable 
driving record as evidenced by a driver’s license status 
inquiry report available on-line from the Office of Motor 
Vehicles. 

4. When transportation services are provided by the 
ABI facility, the facility shall ensure that drivers are trained 
and experienced in assisting a resident being transported, in 
accordance with the individual client’s needs and service 
plan. 

5. Vehicles used for transporting clients shall be 
handicapped accessible and sufficiently equipped to safely 
meet the needs of the clients served. 

E. Meals (Residential Facilities) 
1. A facility shall ensure that a client is provided at 

least three meals, or their equivalent, daily and at regular 
times.  

a. There shall not be more than 14 hours between 
the evening meal and breakfast of the following day, unless 
there is a nourishing snack served and/or available between 
the evening and morning meal.  

b. Meal times shall be comparable to those in a 
normal home. 

2. The facility shall make reasonable accommodations 
to: 

a. meet religious and ethnic preferences; 
b. meet the temporary need for meals delivered to 

the client’s room; 
c. meet clients’ temporary schedule changes as well 

as clients’ preferences (e.g. to skip a meal or prepare a 
simple late breakfast); and  

d. make nutritious snacks, fruits and beverages 
available to clients when requested. 

3. All food preparation areas (excluding areas in 
clients’ units) shall be maintained in accordance with state 
and local sanitation and safe food handling standards. 

4. Staff shall be available in the dining area to serve 
the food and to give individual assistance as needed. 

5. Written reports of inspection by the OPH, 
Sanitarian Services shall be kept on file in the facility. 

6. Specific times for serving meals shall be 
established and posted. 

7. Meals shall be prepared and served in a way that 
assures that they are appetizing, attractive and nutritious and 
promotes socialization among the clients. 

8. Food shall be palatable, sufficient in quantity and 
quality and properly prepared by methods that conserve the 
nutritive value, flavor and appearance. 

9. The facility shall have kitchens and dining rooms 
that are appropriately and adequately furnished to serve the 
number of clients residing in the facility in a comfortable 
environment. 

a. Dining room(s) may be sized to accommodate 
clients in either one or two settings. 

b. The facility shall have a central kitchen or a 
warming kitchen. 

c. The facility’s kitchen(s) and dining room(s) shall 
meet applicable sanitation and safety standards and shall be 
well lighted and ventilated. 

F. Menus (Residential Facilities) 
1. Menus shall be planned and written at least one 

week in advance and dated as served. The current week’s 
menu shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the facility. 

2. The facility shall furnish medically prescribed diets 
to clients in accordance with their service plan and shall be 
planned or approved by a licensed dietician. 

3. Records of all menus as served shall be kept on file 
for at least 30 days. 

4. All substitutions made on the master menu shall be 
recorded in writing. 

G. Food Supplies 
1. All food in the facility shall be labeled as safe for 

human consumption. 
2. Grade “A” pasteurized fluid milk and fluid milk 

products shall be used or served. Dry milk products may not 
be used, except for cooking purposes. 

H. Food Protection 
1. If food is prepared in a central kitchen and 

delivered to separate facilities, provision shall be made for 
proper maintenance of food temperatures and a sanitary 
mode of transportation. 

2. Facility’s refrigerator(s) shall be maintained at a 
temperature of 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below. 

3. Freezers shall be maintained at a temperature of 0 
degrees Fahrenheit or below. 

4. Thermometers shall be required for all refrigerators 
and freezers. 

5. Food stored in the refrigerator shall be covered. 
6. Pets are not allowed in food preparation and 

serving areas. 
I. Ice and Drinking Water 

1. The water supply shall be adequate, of a safe 
sanitary quality and from an approved source. 

2. Clean sanitary drinking water shall be available and 
accessible in adequate amounts at all times. 

3. The ice scoop shall be maintained in a sanitary 
manner. The handle of the ice scoop shall at no time come in 
contact with the ice. 

J. Recreation 
1. The facility shall have a range of indoor and 

outdoor recreational and leisure opportunities to meet the 
needs and preferences of clients. 

2. The facility shall provide and/or coordinate access 
to community-based activities. 

3. There shall be a monthly posted list of recreational 
and leisure activities in the facility and the community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2181 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter F. Quality Enhancement Plan 
§8781. Quality Enhancement 

A. An ABI facility shall develop, implement and 
maintain a quality enhancement (QE) plan that: 

1. ensures that the facility is in compliance with 
federal, state, and local laws; 

2. meets the needs of the facility’s clients; 
3. is attaining the goals and objectives established by 

the facility; 
4. maintains systems to effectively identify issues that 

require quality monitoring, remediation and improvement 
activities; 

5. improves individual client outcomes and individual 
client satisfaction; 
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6. includes plans of action to correct identified issues 
that: 

a. monitor the effects of implemented changes; and 
b. result in revisions to the action plan; and 

7. is updated on an ongoing basis to reflect changes, 
corrections and other modifications. 

B. The QE plan shall include: 
1. a process for identifying on a quarterly basis the 

risk factors that affect or may affect the health, safety and/or 
welfare of the clients of the facility receiving services, that 
include, but is not limited to: 

a. review and resolution of complaints; 
b. review and resolution of incidents; and 
c. incidents of abuse, neglect and exploitation; 

2. a process to review and resolve individual client 
issues that are identified; 

3. a process to review and develop action plans to 
resolve all system wide issues identified as a result of the 
processes above; 

4. a process to correct problems that are identified 
through the program that actually or potentially affect the 
health and safety of the clients; and 

5. a process of evaluation to identify or trigger further 
opportunities for improvement in identification of individual 
client care and service components. 

C. The QE program shall hold bi-annual committee 
meetings to: 

1. assess and choose which QE plan activities are 
necessary and set goals for the quarter; 

2. evaluate the activities of the previous quarter; and 
3. implement any changes that protect the clients from 

potential harm or injury. 
D. The QE plan committee shall: 

1. develop and implement the QE plan; and 
2. report to the director any identified systemic 

problems. 
E. The facility shall maintain documentation of the most 

recent 12 months of the QE plan. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2183 
(November 2017). 

Subchapter G. Physical Environment 
§8785. General Provisions 

A. Interior Space 
1. The facility shall be designed, constructed, 

equipped and maintained to meet the accessibility needs of 
the clients in accordance with applicable federal and state 
laws, rules and regulations for persons with disabilities. 

2. Handrails and sufficient lighting shall be integrated 
into public areas as appropriate to assist clients in 
ambulation. 

3. Sufficient lighting shall be provided for general 
lighting and reading in bedrooms and common areas. 

4. Night lights for corridors, emergency situations and 
the exterior shall be provided as needed for security and 
safety. 

5. Windows used for ventilation to the outside and 
exterior doors used for ventilation shall be screened, intact 
and operable. 

6. The facility shall be kept free of hazards. 

7. The facility shall have sufficient and separate 
storage space for administration records, cleaning supplies 
(janitorial), food service (supplies), lawn maintenance 
(equipment) and locked areas for medications. 

8. Poisonous and toxic materials shall be identified, 
and stored in a separate cabinet used for no other purpose. 

9. There shall be evidence of routine maintenance and 
cleaning programs in all areas of the facility. The facility 
shall replace or repair broken, worn or defective furnishings 
and equipment promptly. 

10.  The facility shall have an effective pest control 
program. 

11. The facility shall have a system in place to control 
water temperature to prevent burns and ensure client safety.  

12. The facility shall be maintained at a comfortable 
seasonal temperature (65 to 80 degrees Fahrenheit) in all 
indoor public and private areas. 

13. The facility shall be furnished according to the 
activities offered. Furniture shall be clean, safe, operable, 
where applicable and appropriate for the functional program. 
Furniture shall be available to facilitate usage by the number 
of clients in the facility. 

B. Exterior Space 
1. A facility shall ensure that the grounds and any 

structure thereon shall be maintained in operating condition 
and free from any reasonably foreseeable hazard to health 
and safety. 

a. Garbage and rubbish stored outside shall be 
secured securely in noncombustible, covered containers and 
shall be removed on a regular basis. 

b. Trash collection receptacles and incinerators shall 
be separate from outdoor recreational space. 

c. Areas determined to be unsafe, including but not 
limited to steep grades, cliffs, open pits, swimming pools, 
high voltage boosters or high speed roads shall be fenced off 
or have natural barriers to protect clients. 

d. Fences shall be in good repair and constructed in 
such a way as to provide safety and security. 

2. A facility shall provide clients access to safe, 
suitable outdoor space designated for recreational use. 

3. The parking lot shall not double as recreational 
space. 

4. If a facility accepts clients that have dementia or 
other conditions that may cause them to leave or walk away 
from the home/facility, an enclosed area shall be provided 
adjacent to the home/facility so that the clients may go 
outside safely. 

5. Signage. The facility’s address or name shall be 
displayed so as to be easily visible from the street. 

6. The facility shall ensure that exterior areas are well 
lit at night. 

C. Common Space 
1. A facility shall not share common living, or dining 

space with another facility licensed to care for individuals on 
a 24 hour basis. 

2. The facility shall provide common areas to allow 
clients the opportunity for socialization. 

3. Common areas for leisure shall be at least 60 square 
feet per licensed capacity. 

4. Dining rooms and leisure areas shall be available 
for use by clients at appropriate times to provide periods of 
social and diversified individual and group activities. 
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5. Outpatient facilities and 24 hour facilities shall 
provide public restrooms of sufficient number and location 
to serve clients and visitors. 

6. The facility’s common areas shall be accessible and 
maintained to provide a clean, safe and attractive 
environment for the clients. 

7. Space used for administration, sleeping or passage 
shall not be considered as dining or leisure space. 

D. Laundry 
1. The facility shall have provisions to provide 

laundry services that are adequate to handle the needs of the 
clients, including those with bladder and/or bowel 
incontinence. 

2. On-site laundry facilities, if provided, shall be 
located in a specifically designated area and there shall be 
adequate space for sorting, processing and storage of soiled 
material. 

3. Laundry rooms shall not open directly into client 
common areas or into food service areas. 

4. Domestic washers and dryers which are for the 
exclusive use of clients may be provided in client areas, 
provided they are installed in such a manner that they do not 
cause a sanitation problem, offensive odors or safety 
concerns. 

5. Universal precautions shall be followed in all 
laundry areas. Hand cleaning facilities shall be available in 
or near any laundry area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2184 
(November 2017). 

§8787. Residential Facilities 
A. The ABI facility shall ensure that each single 

occupancy bedroom has a floor area of at least 100 net 
square feet, exclusive of bathrooms, closets or storage space 
and that each multiple occupancy bedroom has a floor area 
of at least 70 net square feet for each client. There shall be 
no more than two clients per bedroom. The facility shall 
strive to maintain a home-like environment. 

B. A facility shall not use a room with a ceiling height of 
less than 7 feet, 6 inches as a bedroom, unless, in a room 
with varying ceiling heights, the portions of the room where 
the ceiling is at least 7 feet, 6 inches allow a usable floor 
space. 

C. A facility shall not use as a bedroom any room which 
does not have a window opening to the outside. 

D. Each client in the facility shall have his/her own bed. 
Cots, bunk beds or portable beds are prohibited. 

E. A facility shall ensure that sheets, pillows and pillow 
cases, bedspreads and blankets are provided for each client 
as needed. Linens that are torn, worn or frayed shall not be 
utilized. 

F. Each client shall be provided with individual space, in 
the bedroom, for personal possessions or clothing such as 
dressers, chest of drawers, etc. 

G. Clients shall be allowed to decorate their own 
bedrooms with personal effects, such as pictures, etc. 

H. Each bedroom shall have a closet which opens 
directly into the room and be of sufficient size to serve the 
occupants of the bedroom. 

1. If the bedroom does not have a closet opening into 
the room, there shall be a moveable closet or armoire 
available in the bedroom. 

2. If a moveable closet or armoire is used, this space 
shall not be counted in the net floor space. 

I. There shall be adequate, gender segregated, toileting, 
bathing and hand washing facilities, in accordance with LAC 

Title 51, Public Health—Sanitary Code. 
J. One bathroom shall serve no more than four beds and 

shall contain wash basins with hot and cold water, flush 
toilets and bath or shower facilities with running hot and 
cold water. 

K. Each bathroom shall be located so that they open into 
a hallway, common area or directly into the bedroom. If the 
bathroom only opens directly into a bedroom, it shall be for 
the sole use of the occupants of that bedroom only. 

L. Each bathroom shall be properly equipped with toilet 
paper, towels, soap and other items required for personal 
hygiene, unless clients are individually given such items. 
Tubs and showers shall have slip-proof surfaces. 

M. A facility shall provide toilets, baths and showers 
which allow for individual privacy, unless clients require 
assistance for care. 

N. A facility’s bathrooms shall contain mirrors secured to 
the walls at convenient heights and other furnishings 
necessary to meet the client’s basic hygienic and grooming 
needs. 

O. A facility’s bathrooms shall be equipped to facilitate 
maximum self-help by clients. Grab bars, shower chairs, 
toilet extensions and other handicap aides are to be provided 
as needed in bathrooms. 

P. Toilets, wash basins and other plumbing or sanitary 
areas in a facility shall continuously be maintained in 
operable condition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2185 
(November 2017). 

§8789. Community Living 
A. General. Community living facilities shall provide a 

home or apartment setting, or efficiency/studio apartments 
providing a rehabilitative treatment environment. The 
community living facility shall be equipped in a manner to 
help ensure clients their privacy, dignity and independence 
while preparing them for community integration. There shall 
be no more than three bedrooms per apartment or six beds 
per home. Each shall strive to maintain a home-like 
environment and shall be furnished for living. Each 
home/apartment shall include at a minimum: 

1. a food preparation area consisting of a sink with hot 
and cold running water, electrical outlets in compliance with 
applicable laws and regulations, mini refrigerator, cooking 
appliance, food storage cabinets and counter space; 

2. a bathroom that is shared by no more than four 
individuals which includes a toilet, sink and shower or tub 
with hot and cold running water, shall be equipped with 
functional aides and shall be accessible to the individual(s) 
using it and electrical outlets shall be in compliance with 
applicable laws and regulations; 

3. dining/sitting/bedroom area; 
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4. sufficient storage/closet space; 
5. an operating emergency call system (wired or 

wireless) is required for those clients that live alone without 
24-hour on-site supervision and shall be easily accessible to 
those clients that live alone, in the event of an emergency 
and shall register at a location that is monitored at all hours 
of the day and night; 

6. a lockable front door that can be controlled by the 
client; 

7. heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) 
thermostats that can be individually controlled by the client, 
with a locking mechanism provided, if required to prevent 
harm to a client; 

8. at least one operating telephone available 24 
hours/day; and 

9. the ABI facility shall ensure that any living 
situation that is selected by the client is: 

a. accessible to and functional for the inhabitants of 
the living space, considering any handicapping condition or 
other disability of the clients; 

b. free from any hazard to the health or safety of the 
clients; 

c. properly equipped with useable facilities for 
sleeping, food storage and preparation, sanitation, bathing, 
personal hygiene and household cleaning; 

d. accessible to transportation; and 
e. accessible to any services as required by the 

client’s plan of services or individual program, and in 
compliance with applicable health, safety and sanitation 
codes. 

B. A client may reside in an efficiency/studio apartment 
that shall have a minimum of 250 net square feet of floor 
space, excluding bathrooms and closets. 

C. Homes or apartments with separate bedrooms shall 
have a living area (living/dining/kitchenette) of at least 190 
net square feet, excluding bedroom, bathroom and closets. 
Each separate bedroom shall have a minimum of 100 net 
square feet, excluding bathroom and closet or wardrobe 
space. 

D. Homes or apartments with a bedroom designed for 
two individuals shall have a minimum of 200 net square feet 
excluding bathrooms and closet or wardrobe space. Clients 
sharing a two person bedroom shall agree, in writing, to this 
arrangement. No bedrooms shall accommodate more than 
two clients. 

E. Bedrooms shall contain an outside window. A room 
where access is through a bathroom or another bedroom is 
prohibited for use as a client’s bedroom. 

F. There shall be at least 60 net square feet of common 
space for each home or apartment. 

G. Bathrooms shall be located so that they open into a 
hallway, common area or directly into the bedroom. 

1. If the bathroom only opens directly into a bedroom, 
it shall be for the sole use of the occupants of that bedroom 
only. 

2. Non-skid surfacing or strips shall be installed in all 
showers and bathing areas. Grab bars shall be installed in all 
showers and bathing areas if determined to be necessary for 
the client(s) residing in this space. 

3. Hot and cold water faucets shall be easily 
identifiable. 

4. Bathrooms shall not be utilized for storage or 
purposes other than those indicated by this Subsection. 

H. The facility shall have a written plan for providing 
support and supervision to the clients in supervised living 
situations. The plan shall ensure: 

1. regular contact between the facility personnel and 
the client at a minimum of three times a week or as specified 
in the client’s service plan; and 

2. provisions for emergency access by clients to an 
appropriate facility staff member on a 24-hour basis. 

I. A facility shall, through routine visits by staff to the 
home or apartment, determine and document that: 

1. there is no reasonable cause for believing that the 
client’s mode of life or living situation presents any risks to 
the client’s health or safety; 

2. the living situation is maintained in a clean and safe 
condition; 

3. the client is receiving required medical care; and 
4. the current plan of services provides appropriate 

and sufficient services to the client. 
J. Staff may have and utilize pass keys to apartments or 

homes as may be necessary for services or emergencies. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2185 
(November 2017). 

§8791. Outpatient Services 
A. General. The ABI facility that elects to provide the 

outpatient level of care shall do so in a facility that meets the 
following space requirements. 

1. At a minimum, one therapy room shall be provided 
within the treatment space. Use of this room for evaluations 
and private communication with client and/or family as well 
as therapy requiring privacy or seclusion shall be permitted. 

2. A therapy room shall have a minimum clear floor 
area of 70 square feet. 

3. Size requirements shall be based upon the types of 
services provided and the equipment used for therapeutic 
treatment. Sufficient space shall be provided to allow access 
to the equipment by the client and the therapist when in use. 

4. At least one hand-washing station shall be provided 
within the treatment area. 

5. Designated work space shall be provided for 
therapists and/or other staff. 

6. There shall be a secure area for storage of client 
treatment records. 

7. There shall be an administrative area available and 
designated for office equipment. 

8. There shall be a separate toilet room for clients and 
staff/visitors. 

9. The outpatient facility shall be in compliance with 
federal, state and local rules, laws and regulations applicable 
to persons with disabilities. 

10. There shall be a waiting area for clients with 
sufficient seating for numbers of clients served. 

B. Exterior Space. There shall be parking spaces 
sufficient to meet the numbers of clients served, with a 
covered space for drop off and pick up, maintained well-lit 
as needed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.31-40. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:2186 
(November 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1711#068 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:II.20001) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:II.20001 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part II.  Nursing Facilities 

Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 
Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20001. General Provisions 

A. - B.7. ... 
C. Effective for the rate period of July 1, 2017 through 

June 30, 2018, the department shall suspend the provisions 
of LAC 50:II.Chapter 200 governing the reimbursement 
methodology for nursing facilities and impose the following 
provisions governing reimbursements for nursing facility 
services. 

1. During this time period, no inflation factor will be 
applied to the base resident day weighted medians and prices 
calculated as of July 1, 2016. 

2. All costs and cost components that are required by 
rule to be trended forward will only be trended forward to 
the midpoint of the 2017 state fiscal year (December 31, 
2016). 

3. The base capital per square foot value, land value 
per square foot, and per licensed bed equipment value 
utilized in the calculation of the fair rental value (FRV) 
component will be set equal to the value of these items as of 
July 1, 2016. 

4. Base capital values for the Bed Buy-Back Program 
(LAC 50:II.20012) purposes will be set equal to the value of 
these items as of July 1, 2016. 

5. Nursing facility providers will not have their 
weighted age totals for the FRV component calculation 
purposes increased by one year as of July 1, 2017. 

6. As of the July 1, 2018 rate setting, nursing facility 
provider weighted age totals for the FRV component 
calculation purposes will be increased by two years to 
account for the suspended year of aging occurring as of the 
July 1, 2017 rate period. 

7. No other provisions of LAC 50:II.Chapter 200 shall 
be suspended for this time period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), 
LR 32:2262 (December 2006), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:825 (March 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1522 (September 
2016), LR 43:525 (March 2017), LR 43:2187 (November 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1711#069 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Nursing FacilitiesStandards for Payment 
Level of Care Pathways 

(LAC 50:II.10156) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services has 
amended LAC 50:II.10156 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq.  

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payment 

Chapter 101. Standards for Payment for Nursing 
Facilities 

Subchapter G. Levels of Care  
§10156. Level of Care Pathways 

A. - C.4. ... 
D. Activities of Daily Living Pathway 

1. - 3.e. ... 
f. toileting—includes getting on and off the toilet, 

wiping, arranging clothing, etc.; 
D.3.g. - E.1.c. ... 

2. In order for an individual to be approved under the 
cognitive performance pathway, the individual must have 
any one of the conditions noted below: 

a. - b. ... 
c. have a memory problem and is sometimes 

understood (e.g., the individual’s ability is limited to making 
concrete requests); 

d. have a short-term memory problem and is rarely 
or never understood; 

e. be moderately impaired in daily decision making 
(e.g., the individual’s decisions are consistently poor or 
unsafe, cues or supervision is required at all times) and the 
individual is usually understood (e.g., the individual has 
difficulty finding words or finishing thoughts and prompting 
may be required); 

f. be moderately impaired in daily decision making 
(e.g., the individual’s decisions are consistently poor or
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unsafe, cues or supervision is required at all times) and the 
individual is sometimes understood, (e.g., his/her ability is 
limited to making concrete requests); 

g. be moderately impaired in daily decision making 
(e.g., the individual’s decisions are consistently poor or 
unsafe, cues or supervision is required at all times) and the 
individual is rarely or never understood; 

h. be minimally impaired in daily decision making 
(e.g., the individual has some difficulty in new situations or 
his/her decisions are poor and requires cues and supervision 
in specific situations only) and the individual is sometimes 
understood (e.g., the individual’s ability is limited to making 
concrete requests); or 

i. be minimally impaired in daily decision making 
(e.g., the individual has some difficulty in new situations or 
his/her decisions are poor, cues and supervision are required 
in specific situations only) and the individual is rarely or 
never understood. 

j. - m. Repealed. 
F. Physician Involvement Pathway 

1. ... 
2. The following are investigated for this pathway: 

a. physician visits occurring during the 14-day 
look-back period (excluding emergency room exams); and 

b. physician orders issued during the 14-day look-
back period (excluding order renewals without change and 
hospital inpatient visits). 

3. In order for an individual to be approved under the 
physician involvement pathway, the individual must have: 

a. one day of doctor visits and at least 4 new order 
changes within the 14-day look-back period; or 

b. at least 2 days of doctor visits and at least 2 new 
order changes during the 14-day look-back period. 
 i. - iii. Repealed. 

4. Supporting documentation is required and must 
include: 

a.  a copy of the physician’s orders; or 
b. the home health care plans documenting the 

diagnosis, treatments and conditions within the designated 
time frames; or 

c. the appropriate form designated by OAAS to 
document the individual’s medical status and condition. 

5. This pathway is approved for limited stay/length of 
service as deemed appropriate by OAAS. 

G. Treatments and Conditions Pathway 
1. The intent of this pathway is to identify individuals 

with unstable medical conditions that may be affecting a 
person’s ability to care for himself/herself. 

a. - h. Repealed. 
2. The following are investigated for this pathway: 

a. stage 3-4 pressure sores during the 14-day look-
back period;  

b. intravenous feedings during the 7-day look-back 
period; 
 i. - iii. Repealed. 

c. intravenous medications during the 14-day look-
back period; 

d. daily tracheostomy care and ventilator/respiratory 
suctioning during the 14-day look-back period; 

e. pneumonia during the 14-day look-back period 
and the individual had associated need for assistance with 
IADLs, ADLs, or restorative nursing care; 

f. daily respiratory therapy provided by a qualified 
professional during the 14-day look-back period; 

g. daily insulin injections with two or more order 
changes during the 14-day look-back period; or 

h. peritoneal or hemodialysis during the 14-day 
look-back period. 

3. In order for an individual to be approved under the 
treatments and conditions pathway, the individual must 
have: 

a. any one of the conditions listed in G.2.a-h above; 
and 

b. supporting documentation for the specific 
condition(s) identified. Acceptable documentation must 
include: 
 i. a copy of the physician’s orders; or 
 ii. the home health care plans documenting the 
diagnosis, treatments and conditions within the designated 
time frames; or 
 iii. the appropriate form designated by OAAS to 
document the individual’s medical status and condition. 

4. This pathway is approved for limited stay/length of 
service as deemed appropriate by OAAS. 

H. Skilled Rehabilitation Therapies Pathway 
1. The intent of this pathway is to identify individuals 

who have received, or are scheduled to receive physical 
therapy, occupational therapy or speech therapy. 

2. In order for an individual to be approved under this 
pathway, the individual must: 

a. have received at least 45 minutes of active 
physical therapy, occupational therapy, and/or speech 
therapy during the seven-day look-back period; or 

b. be scheduled to receive at least 45 minutes of 
active physical therapy, occupational therapy, and/or speech 
therapy scheduled during the seven-day look-forward period.  
 i. - v. Repealed. 

3. Supporting documentation of the therapy 
received/scheduled during the look-back/look-forward 
period is required and must include: 

a. a copy of the physician’s orders for the 
received/scheduled therapy; 

b. the home health care plan notes indicating the 
received/scheduled therapy; 

c. progress notes indicating the physical, 
occupational, and/or speech therapy received; 

d. nursing facility or hospital discharge plans 
indicating the therapy received/scheduled; or 

e. the appropriate form designated by OAAS to 
document the individual’s medical status and condition. 

4. This pathway is approved for limited stay/length of 
service as deemed appropriate by OAAS. 

I. Behavior Pathway 
1. The intent of this pathway is to identify individuals 

who have experienced repetitive behavioral challenges 
which have impacted his/her ability to function in the 
community during the specified screening/assessment look-
back period.  

a. - d. Repealed 
2. The following are investigated for this pathway:  

a. wandering; 
 i. - iv. Repealed. 

b. verbally- or physically-abusive behavior; 
 i. - iv. Repealed. 
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c. socially-inappropriate behavior; and 
d. delusions or hallucinations. 
d.i. - e. Repealed. 

3. In order for an individual to be approved under the 
behavior pathway, the individual must have either: 

a. exhibited any one of the following behaviors four 
or more days of the screening tool’s seven-day look-back 
period:  
 i. wandering; 
 ii. verbally abusive; 
 iii. physically abusive; or  
 iv. socially inappropriate or disruptive; or  

b. exhibited any one of the following behaviors 
during the assessment tool’s three-day look-back period and 
behavior(s) were not easily altered: 
 i. wandering; 
 ii. verbally abusive; 
 iii. physically abusive; or 
 iv. socially inappropriate or disruptive; or  

c. experienced delusions or hallucinations that 
impacted his/her ability to live independently in the 
community within the specific screening/assessment tool’s 
look-back period. 

J. Service Dependency Pathway 
1. The intent of this pathway is to identify individuals 

who are currently in a nursing facility or receiving services 
through the Adult Day Health Care Waiver, the Community 
Choices Waiver, Program of All Inclusive Care for the 
Elderly (PACE) or receiving long-term personal care 
services. 

2. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:342 (January 2011), 
amended LR 39:1471 (June 2013), LR 41:1289 (July 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43:2187 
(November 2017). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1711#070 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 108—Investigation of Discrimination 
Complaints (LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 151) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., has adopted Regulation 108—Investigation

of Discrimination Complaints. The purpose of Regulation 
108 is to establish procedures for receiving and investigating 
discrimination complaints, pursuant to subpart C of chapter 
1 of title 22 of the Revised Statutes (R.S. 22:31 et seq., 
“equal opportunity in insurance”).  

R.S. 22:31(A) creates within the Department of Insurance 
a Division of Diversity and Opportunity. R.S. 22:31(C) 
provides that the “division of diversity and opportunity shall 
review all complaints alleging a violation of the provisions 
of this Subpart.” These complaints include employment 
discrimination prohibited by part IV of chapter 3-A of title 
23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), as provided in R.S. 22:31(C) and 
33, and other types of discrimination defined in R.S. 22:34 
and 35. 

R.S. 22:32(B) provides that the “commissioner of 
insurance shall promulgate rules and regulations to 
implement this Subpart” and R.S. 22:35(C) provides that the 
“commissioner of insurance shall promulgate rules and 
regulations necessary for the enforcement of this Section.” 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 

Chapter 151. Regulation 108Investigation of 
Discrimination Complaints 

§15101. Authority 
A. This regulation is promulgated by the commissioner 

of insurance pursuant to authority granted under subpart C of 
chapter 1 of title 22 of the Revised Statutes (R.S. 22:31 et 
seq., “equal opportunity in insurance”), which provides the 
following: 

1. the Department of Insurance Division of Diversity 
and Opportunity shall review all complaints alleging a 
violation of the provisions of R.S. 22:31 et seq.; 

2. the commissioner of insurance shall promulgate 
rules and regulations to implement R.S. 22:31 et seq.; and 

3. the commissioner of insurance shall promulgate 
rules and regulations necessary for the enforcement of R.S. 
22:35.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2189 (November 
2017). 

§15103. Purpose, Scope, and Applicability 
A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 

provisions of R.S. 22:31 et seq., which prohibit 
discrimination within the business of insurance, mandate the 
review and disposition of all complaints alleging a violation 
of R.S. 22:31 et seq., and require the commissioner to 
promulgate rules and regulations to implement R.S. 22:31 et 
seq. 

B. This regulation sets forth procedures through which 
complaints concerning the following types of discrimination 
shall be received and investigated:  

1. employment discrimination prohibited by Part IV of 
Chapter 3-A of Title 23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), as provided in 
R.S. 22:31(C) and R.S. 22:33; and 

2. pursuant to R.S. 22:34, the making or permitting of 
any unfair discrimination in favor of particular persons or 
between insureds or subjects of insurance having  
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substantially like insuring risk and exposure factors or 
expense elements: 

a. in the terms or conditions of any insurance 
contract;  

b. in the rate or amount of premium charged 
therefor; 

c. in the benefits payable thereunder; or 
d. in any other rights or privileges accruing 

thereunder; 
e. Paragraph B.2 of this Section shall not prohibit 

fair discrimination by a life insurer as between individuals 
having unequal life expectancies; 

3. pursuant to R.S. 22:35, the refusal to issue or the 
failure to renew any policy or contract of property and 
casualty insurance to a person, solely because of the race of 
the applicant or the economic condition of the area in which 
the property sought to be insured is located, unless such 
refusal to issue or failure to renew is based on sound 
actuarial principles or is related to actual experience.  

C. Every insurer transacting business in this state shall 
be subject to this regulation. 

D. This regulation shall not preclude or in any way limit 
the personal rights of action of any person against any 
insurer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2189 (November 
2017). 

§15105. Definitions 
A. For the purposes of this regulation, these terms shall 

have the meaning ascribed herein unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

Affirmative Action Plan—a document that contains a 
stated purpose of the insurer to foster equal opportunities for 
minorities and the delineation of active steps and efforts by 
the insurer reasonably calculated to achieve the stated 
purpose.  

Department—Department of Insurance. 
Individual—a natural person. 
Insurer—as defined in R.S. 22:46. 
Person—any individual, company, insurer, association, 

organization, reciprocal or inter-insurance exchange, 
partnership, business, trust, limited liability company, or 
corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 
2017). 

§15107. Eligibility; Filing a Complaint 
A. Any person may file a complaint regarding any action 

taken by an insurer that is alleged to be the result of an 
insurer’s engagement in discrimination as described in 
§15103.B of this Part. Complaints may be filed by mail, 
facsimile, or by using the department’s consumer complaint 
form, available upon request from the department or on the 
department’s website.  

B. Every complaint alleging unlawful discrimination as 
described in §15103.B of this Part shall be filed for review 
with the department in written form within one year of the 
date the discrimination alleged was known or should have 
been known to the complainant.  

C. Each written complaint shall state specifically the 
discrimination alleged to have occurred, in sufficient detail 
to enable the Division of Diversity and Opportunity to 
understand what occurred, when it occurred, and the basis of 
the alleged discrimination. The complaint should also 
contain the names and other identifying information of each 
party involved and any other supporting documentation 
relevant to the complaint.  

D. When a complaint is filed by a producer, a claims 
adjuster, or employee of an insurer, the commissioner shall 
not disclose to the insurer the identity of the complainant 
without his or her consent. If it is determined that such 
disclosure is required for an administrative proceeding or 
other court proceeding based upon the findings of the 
investigation, or if such disclosure is in the interest of due 
process and necessary to the insurer’s investigation of the 
complaint, then the commissioner shall notify the 
complainant prior to disclosure of his or her identity.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 
2017). 

§15109. Notification of Insurer; Responses of Insurer 
A. After receipt of a complaint, the Division of Diversity 

and Opportunity shall notify the insurer against whom the 
complaint was filed. Notice to the insurer shall state the 
nature of the complaint and shall request that the insurer file 
a written response to the allegations of discrimination. The 
Division of Diversity and opportunity shall submit such 
notice to the contact person designated by the insurer to 
respond to inquiries from minority groups pursuant to R.S. 
22:31(A)(2). 

B. Within 20 days of receipt of the notice of complaint, 
unless provided an extension of time by the division, the 
insurer shall file a written response to the allegations. The 
insurer’s response shall be filed by mail, facsimile, or 
electronically. The response filed by the insurer shall 
respond to each complaint of discrimination alleged to have 
occurred. As part of the response, the insurer may submit 
any affirmative action plan that was in effect at the time of 
the alleged violation.  

C. Failure of the insurer to respond timely shall result in 
a fine pursuant to R.S. 22:1995.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 
2017). 

§15111. Investigation; Findings 
A. The Division of Diversity and Opportunity shall 

consider any affirmative action plan submitted to it, along 
with any other pertinent information submitted to it, in 
investigating complaints alleging employment 
discrimination prohibited by part IV of chapter 3-A of title 
23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.) 

B. Following the completion of its review of a properly 
filed complaint, the receipt of the insurer’s response, and any 
further investigation the department requires, the Division of 
Diversity and Opportunity shall issue its finding to the 
commissioner.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2190 (November 
2017). 

§15113. Enforcement; Sanctions 
A. In the event the Division of Diversity and Opportunity 

finds an apparent violation of R.S. 22:31 et seq., the 
commissioner may apply penalties as provided for in the 
Insurance Code. 

1. for employment discrimination prohibited by part 
IV of chapter 3-A of title 23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), the 
commissioner may issue a cease and desist order and other 
penalties, as provided in R.S. 22:33; 

2. for violations of R.S. 22:35, the commissioner shall 
fine the insurer $10,000 for each occurrence, as provided for 
in R.S. 22:35; or 

3. for violations of R.S. 22:34, the commissioner shall 
issue a cease and desist order and other penalties as provided 
for in R.S. 22:1969 and 1970. 

B. In lieu of taking action against an insurer alleged to 
have engaged in employment discrimination prohibited by 
part IV of chapter 3-A of title 23 (R.S. 23:331 et seq.), the 
commissioner may advise the complainant to file a 
complaint with the federal Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission or the Louisiana Commission on Human 
Rights. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 
2017). 

§15115. Administrative Hearing 
A. Prior to the imposition of a penalty or sanction for an 

apparent violation of R.S. 22:31 et seq., an aggrieved party 
affected by a decision, act, or order of the commissioner may 
make a written demand for a hearing in accordance with 
R.S. 22:2191 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 
2017). 

§15117. Violations Reported by Employees; Retaliation 

by Insurer Prohibited 
A. This regulation shall not preclude or in any way limit 

the applicability of R.S. 22:14(A), which prohibits any 
insurer transacting business in this state from penalizing any 
of its employees for reporting to the commissioner or other 
appropriate authorities, in good faith, a suspected violation 
of the Insurance Code, including discrimination prohibited 
by R.S. 22:31 et seq. As provided in R.S. 22:14(A), 
penalizing shall include the following: 

1. discharging, disciplining, demoting, transferring, or 
otherwise discriminating against an employee of the insurer; 

2. reducing the benefits, pay, or work privileges of the 
employee of the insurer; 

3. preparing a negative work performance evaluation 
of an employee of the insurer; 

4. threatening to take any of the above actions.  
B. This regulation shall not preclude or in any way limit 

the applicability of R.S. 22:14(C), which provides that any 
employee who makes a written sworn report on the activities 
of an insurer is not subject to civil liability for making the 
report and no civil cause of action may arise against the 

employee for making the report. This immunity shall apply 
provided that the information available to the employee 
would support a reasonable belief that the activity, policy, or 
practice reported violates the Insurance Code, a rule, or the 
law, or impairs or endangers the solvency of the insurer. No 
such immunity shall apply to any report that is fraudulent or 
made in bad faith. Employees who intentionally make 
fraudulent reports or make reports in bad faith shall be guilty 
of the crime of false swearing and subject to the penalties 
provided for in R.S. 14:125. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 
2017). 

§15119. Severability 
A. If any Section or provision of Regulation 108 or its 

application to any persons or circumstances is held invalid, 
such invalidity or determination shall not affect other 
Sections or provisions or the application of Regulation 108 
to any persons or circumstances that can be given effect 
without the invalid Section or provision or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:31(C), 32(B), and 35(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:2191 (November 
2017). 

James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

1711#014  
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Fees (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 7) 

Pursuant to power delegated under the laws of the state of 
Louisiana, and particularly title 30 of the Louisiana Revised 

Statutes of 1950, as amended, the Office of Conservation has 
amended LAC 43:XIX.701, 703, and 707 (Statewide Order 
No. 29-R) in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. The action 
has amended Statewide Order No. 29-R-17/18 (LAC 
43:XIX, Subpart 2, Chapter 7), which establishes the annual 
Office of Conservation fee schedule for the collection of 
application, production, and regulatory fees, and will replace 
the existing Statewide Order No. 29-R-16/17. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation―General Operations 
Subpart 2.  Statewide Order No. 29-R 

Chapter 7. Fees 
§701. Definitions 

* * * 

BOEannual barrels oil equivalent. Gas production is 
converted to BOE by dividing annual mcf by a factor of 
20.0. 

* * * 
Class V Permit Waiver/Exemption/Area Permit 

Requesta request for a waiver or exemption from the 
permitting requirements of class V injection wells for certain
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remediation wells/projects of short duration where 
remediation is accomplished by one time injection into 
shallow wells where casing is not installed, or a request for 
an area permit for remediation projects under the authority 
of the LDEQ or USEPA to allow deviation from the 
permitting requirements for class V injection wells as 
authorized by Statewide Order 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.111 et 
seq.) or successor regulations. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:542 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:551 (July 1989), LR 21:1249 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2127 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1873 (October 1999), LR 26:2302 (October 2000), LR 
27:1919 (November 2001), LR 28:2366 (November 2002), LR 
29:2499 (November 2003), LR 31:2950 (November 2005), LR 
32:2087 (November 2006), LR 33:2461 (November 2007), LR 
34:2404 (November 2008), LR 35:2463 (November 2009), LR 
36:2567 (November 2010), LR 37:3271 (November 2011), LR 
38:2930 (November 2012), LR 39:3099 (November 2013), 40:2266 
(November 2014), LR 41:2376 (November 2015), LR 42:1957 
(November 2016), LR 43:2191 (November 2017). 

§703. Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2016-2017 and 

Thereafter 
A. - D.5. … 
E. Production Fees. Operators of record of capable oil 

wells and capable gas wells are required to pay according to 
the following annual production fee tiers. 

 

Tier 
Annual Production  

(Barrel Oil Equivalent) Fee ($ per Well) 

Tier 1 0 28 

Tier 2 1 - 5,000 165 

Tier 3 5,001 - 15,000 474 

Tier 4 15,001 - 30,000 788 

Tier 5 30,001 - 60,000 1,241 

Tier 6 60,001 - 110,000 1,727 

Tier 7 110,001 - 9,999,999 2,162 

 
F. - F.3. … 
G. Commercial Waste Disposal Fees 

1. A monthly fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation of $0.02 per barrel of exploration and 
production waste delivered, as reported on a form prescribed 
by the department to collect commercial facilities monthly 
report of waste receipts, from the original generator of the 
waste to the following facilities: Office of Conservation 
permitted off-site commercial facilities; transfer stations 
permitted by the Office of Conservation for waste transfer to 
out-of-state treatment or disposal facilities; and any other 
legally permitted Louisiana off-site waste storage, treatment 
of disposal facilities also approved by the Office of 
Conservation for the receipt of exploration and production 
waste. For the purposes of this Paragraph, exploration and 
production waste shall not include produced brine, produced 
water, or salvageable hydrocarbons bound for permitted 
salvage oil operators. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq., R.S. 30:560 and 706. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:543 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1250 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 

LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October 2000), LR 
27:1920 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:350 (March 2003), LR 29:2501 (November 2003), LR 30:2494 
(November 2004), LR 31:2950 (November 2005), LR 32:2088 
(November 2006), LR 33:2461 (November 2007), LR 34:2405 
(November 2008), LR 35:2463 (November 2009), LR 36:2569 
(November 2010), LR 37:3273 (November 2011), LR 38:2931 
(November 2012), LR 39:3099 (November 2013), LR 40:2267 
(November 2014), LR 41:2378 (November 2015), LR 42:1958 
(November 2016), LR 43:2192 (November 2017). 

§707. Severability and Effective Date 
A. The fees set forth in §703 are hereby adopted as 

individual and independent rules comprising this body of 
rules designated as Statewide Order No. 29-R-17/18 and if 
any such individual fee is held to be unacceptable, pursuant 
to R.S. 49:968(H)(2), or held to be invalid by a court of law, 
then such unacceptability or invalidity shall not affect the 
other provisions of this order which can be given effect 
without the unacceptable or invalid provisions, and to that 
end the provisions of this order are severable. 

B. This order (Statewide Order No. 29-R-17/18) 
supersedes Statewide Order No. 29-R-16/17 and any 
amendments thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2305 (October 2000), LR 
27:1921 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:2502 (November 2003), LR 30:2494 (November 2004), LR 
31:2950 (November 2005), LR 32:2088 (November 2006), LR 
33:2462 (November 2007), LR 34:2406 (November 2008), LR 
35:2464 (November 2009), LR 36:2570 (November 2010), LR 
37:3274 (November 2011), LR 38:2931 (November 2012), LR 
39:3100 (November 2013), LR 40:2267 (November 2014), LR 
41:2379 (November 2015), LR 42:1959 (November 2016), LR 
43:2192 (November 2017). 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

1711#045 

 
RULE 

Department of State 
Elections Division 

Voting Technology (LAC 31:I.Chapter 8) 

Under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act 
(R.S. 49:950 et seq.), R.S. 18:21, and R.S. 36:742, the 
secretary of state has adopted rules regarding the conduct of 
private elections in Louisiana and the production and sale of 
maps of precincts and election jurisdictions in Louisiana. 

Title 31 
ELECTIONS 

Part I.  Election Process 
Chapter 8. Voting Technology 
Subchapter A. Private Elections 
§801. Type of Election 

A. The following are the different types of private 
elections which may be conducted utilizing the department’s 
staff: 
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1. primary school, middle school, and high school 
elections. Examples include: the Reader’s Choice elections; 
student government officers’ elections; and homecoming 
elections. This type of private election would be considered 
an educational election with the purpose of informing 
students interested in voter registration and voting and 
would be done on a gratuitous basis with no charge for 
services or expenses by the department; 

2. public service organizations. Examples include: 
active military organizations; Louisiana State Legislature; 
Louisiana State Police. This type of private election would 
be considered a public service and would be done on a 
gratuitous basis with no charge for services or expenses by 
the department; 

3. disability organization elections. An example would 
be an election for officers of a disability organization. This 
type of private election would be an outreach event and 
would be done on a gratuitous basis with no charge for 
services or expenses by the department; 

4. private entity or organization elections. Examples 
include officers for a private entity or organization such as: a 
union or other association; higher education student 
government officers; and political party elections for 
convention delegates. Private elections would be conducted 
on a reimbursement basis for services and expenses as 
provided for herein.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:21 and R.S. 36:742. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Elections Division, LR 43:2192 (November 2017). 

§803. Private Elections Manual 
A. Due to the department’s primary function of 

conducting state elections, department staff may not be 
available to conduct private elections. The department shall 
develop and adopt a private elections manual providing 
procedural information on private elections, including but 
not limited to: 

1. ballot format guidelines; 
2. calendar of available dates for private elections; 
3. deadlines for requesting and contracting for a 

private election; and 
4. cost estimate information and sample contract. 

B. Upon the request for a private election, a listing of all 
available recommended services and expenses for a 
particular private election and the associated costs, if any, 
will be estimated by the department and given to the 
requestor for the signing of a contract. 

C. All private elections must have a signed contract, 
dated and returned to the department by the deadline set 
forth by the department. A signed contract evidences 
acceptance of the department’s recommended services and 
expenses for a private election and associated costs, if any. 
The acceptable method of delivery of the contract is Federal 
Express or hand delivery to the Department of State, 
Elections Division, Elections Operations Section, Twelve 
United Plaza Building, 8585 Archives Blvd., Suite 110, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-2414. 

D. Payment of private elections, if any, must be made at 
the time of the delivery of the contract to the department. 
The acceptable methods of payment for the department’s 
services and expenses shall be by certified check or money 
order made payable to the Department of State. 

E. If drayage services are required for a private election, 
payment for such services must be included with the signed 
and dated contract prior to the deadline set forth by the 
department. The acceptable method of payment shall be by 
separate check made payable to the drayage contractor. 

F. If paper ballots are required for a private election, 
payment for such expense must be included with the signed 
and dated contract prior to the deadline set forth by the 
department. The acceptable method of payment shall be by 
separate check made payable to the ballot printing 
contractor. 

G. Cancellations will be accepted up to two weeks prior 
to a private election with a 50 percent refund for department 
services and 100 percent refund of drayage services. No 
refund for ballot printing expenses will be issued unless the 
ballots have not been printed. Any cancellation thereafter 
will not be refunded. 

H. All private election funds received shall be deposited 
into the voting technology fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:21 and R.S. 36:742. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Elections Division, LR 43:2193 (November 2017). 

§805. Department Election Expenses 
A. The cost estimate of a private election in §801.A.3 

may include: 
1. $100 for one race or more races on the same ballot 

style; 
2. $100 for each additional ballot style; and 
3. $100 per voting unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:21 and R.S. 36:742. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Elections Division, LR 43:2193 (November 2017). 

Subchapter B. Maps of Precincts and Election 
Jurisdictions 

§809. Maps of Precincts and Election Jurisdictions 
A. The secretary of state may produce and sell electronic 

images mapping precincts and election jurisdictions in 
Louisiana. The fee for the digital file shall be $1 per 
precinct. The acceptable methods of payment are by credit 
card or certified check or money order made payable to the 
Department of State. Payment may be made online, by mail, 
or in person to the Department of State, Elections Division, 
Registration Section, 8585 Archives Blvd., P.O. Box 94125, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:21 and R.S. 36:742. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Elections Division, LR 43:2193 (November 2017). 

 
Tom Schedler 
Secretary of State 

1711#012 
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RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Daily Take and Possession Limits of King  
and Spanish Mackerel and Cobia (LAC 76:VII.327) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended a 
Rule (LAC 76:VII.327) by modifying the recreational bag 
and possession limit of king mackerel from two fish to three 
fish per person per day. Changes further modify existing 
king commercial harvest regulations by establishing in rule 
the commercial season for the harvest of king mackerel to 
begin on July 1 of each year and provide authority to the 
secretary of the department to modify the commercial season 
should it be modified in the adjacent waters of the EEZ. 
Authority for amendment of this Rule is included in the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 56:320.2, 
56:326.1, and 56:326.3 to the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§327. Daily Take and Possession Limits of King and 

Spanish Mackerel and Cobia 
A. … 

B. The recreational bag limit for the possession of king 
mackerel (Scomberomorus cavalla) whether caught within 
or without the territorial waters of Louisiana shall be three 
fish per person, per day. 

C. - E.4. … 
5. The season for the commercial harvest of king 

mackerel shall open on July 1 of each year and remain open 
until the allotted portion of the commercial king mackerel 
quota for the western Gulf of Mexico has been harvested or 
is projected to be harvested. 

6. The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries is authorized, upon notification of the chairman of 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, to open, close, re-
open, or re-close the commercial season for the harvest of 
king mackerel when informed of such a season modification 
in the adjacent waters of the EEZ by the National Marine 
Fisheries Service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:6(25)(a), 56:325.1 and R.S. 56:326.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
15:868 (October 1989), amended LR 17:207 (February 1991), LR 
19:513 (April 1993), LR 26:2633 (November 2000), LR 26:2833 
(December 2000), LR 43:2194 (November 2017). 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1711#030 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Agricultural Finance Authority 

2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program 
(LAC 7:III.101 and 501-509) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to authority set forth in R.S. 
3:266, notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (“department”) through the 
Louisiana Agricultural Finance Authority (“LAFA”) intends 
to enact rules establishing the 2016 Louisiana Farm 
Recovery Grant Program (“program”). Louisiana’s 
agricultural industry was impacted by two major weather 
events in 2016. The first event occurred in March 2016 when 
many areas of north Louisiana received more than 30 inches 
of rain in a 24-48-hour time period. The LSU AgCenter 
estimated agricultural damage from this weather event at 
roughly $90,000,000. The second event occurred in August 
2016 when many areas of south Louisiana received upwards 
of 34 inches of rain in a 24-48-hour time period. The LSU 
AgCenter estimated agricultural damage at roughly 
$277,000,000. $9,500,000 of federal funds have become 
available to assist the state’s agricultural producers in 
recovering from the effects of the two storms. The source of 
funding for the Program is the Community Development 
Block Grant Disaster Recovery Program (CDBG-DR) from 
the United States Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD). The Office of Community 
Development, Disaster Recovery Unit, who receives the 
CDBG-DR grant from HUD, serves as HUD’s grantee. The 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, through the 
Louisiana Agricultural Finance Authority, is a subrecipient 
of funds granted to OCD-DRU and will administer the funds 
for the LFRGP. The total funding available to LAFA for 
distribution is approximately $9,500,000. LAFA, by these 
rules, is establishing the program and the guidelines under 
which the money will be disbursed. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part III.  Agricultural Finance 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Definitions 

A. - C. … 

* * * 
D. The following words and terms are defined for the 

purposes of the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program. 

Expected Gross Crop Revenue (for 2016)—the level of 
revenue that would have been expected to have been 
generated in 2016 under normal weather conditions and is 
calculated using the applicant’s response to the number of 
acres harvested in 2016, a 5-year parish average for crop 
yields and the estimated average market price in 2016. 

Gross Crop Revenue (for 2016)—calculated by 
multiplying total acres harvested times the total average 
yield times an estimated average selling price. The estimated 
average selling price is calculated by dividing the applicant’s 
share of crop revenue by the amount of the crop marketed by 
the applicant.  

Increases in either Harvest or Production Costs—the 
costs of having to replant crops that were ruined due to high 
levels of rainfall and flooding; costs associated with 
harvesting crops under excessively wet field conditions 
causing reduced harvest speeds and efficiency; and costs 
associated with increased tillage and land preparation due to 
damage caused to land resulting from either having to 
harvest under excessively wet conditions or resulting from 
the impact of pounding rainfall and flooding. 

Loss of Stored Hay—calculated by using the number of 
bales destroyed and then converting them into tons of hay 
assuming an average bale weight of 1,200 pounds. A market 
value for hay lost due to flooding is then calculated using the 
average 2016 market price as defined by the 2016 Louisiana 

Summary publication.  
Lost or Dead Cattle—cattle that were lost or killed and 

calculated on a value per head by for the two classes of 
cattle using average 2016 market prices obtained from the 
2016 Louisiana Summary publication and assuming an 
average weight for calves of 500 pounds and breeding 
animals of 1,200 pounds.  

Net Estimated Losses—the amount of losses eligible for 
assistance under the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program calculated by the difference between the total 
estimated losses and any assistance received by the applicant 
from other sources.  

Producer—one who engages, as an occupation, in 
farming operations as a distinct activity for the purpose of 
producing a farm crop and assumes the production and 
market risks associated with the agricultural production of 
those crops. A corporation or farmer’s cooperative may be a 
“producer” if engaged in actual farming of the nature and 
extent there indicated. 

Reductions in Grazing Availability—the economic loss 
associated with pastures that were flooded making grazing 
unavailable to cattle which is calculated using a hay 
equivalent methodology. The methodology assumes the 
economic loss is equal to the value of the amount of hay that 
would be needed to compensate for the lost grazing. The 
methodology assumes that each mature cow weighs 1,200 
pounds and eats 2 percent of her body weight per day. With 
this information, the total amount of hay needed for the 
number of days grazing was unavailable is calculated. The 
value of that hay is then estimated using the average 2016 
market price for hay as defined by the 2016 Louisiana 

Summary publication.  
Total Estimated Losses (suffered by the farming 

operation)—a summation of the estimated economic losses 
associated with each crop produced and any cattle related 
losses.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 10:866 (November 
1984), amended LR 36:464 (March 2010), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance 
Authority, LR 44: 

Chapter 5. 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program 

§501. 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program; 

Establishment; Purpose; Limitations 
A. The 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program is 

hereby established. 
B. The 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program 

provides a 100 percent grant to agricultural producers for 
working capital expenses related to the 2017 planting year 
for the purpose of aiding in the recovery from the 2016 
floods. 

C. The limits on the grants from the 2016 Louisiana 
Farm Recovery Grant Program are as follows. 

1. Agricultural producers may receive a maximum 
grant of $100,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§503. Eligibility of Applicant 
A. An agricultural producer experiencing a 2016 flood 

related loss shall be eligible to receive money from the 2016 
Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program upon meeting all 
of the following requirements. 

1. The farm upon which a loss occurred must be 
located in one of the following parishes: Acadia, Allen, 
Ascension, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, 
Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, DeSoto, 
East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, 
Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, 
Lafayette, LaSalle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, 
Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Point Coupee, Rapides, 
Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. James, St. 
Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, 
Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton 
Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana or Winn. 

2. Active agricultural operations must have been 
ongoing before March 1, 2016 and continue to be ongoing in 
2017. 

3. The applicant must have annual gross farm revenue 
of $25,000 in 2014, 2015 or 2016. 

4. The applicant must have suffered a minimum storm 
related loss of $10,000 as determined by the crop loss 
calculator. 

5. The applicant must have grown one of the 
following crops in 2016: cattle, corn, cotton, crawfish, grain 
sorghum, hay, rice, soybeans, strawberries, sugarcane, sweet 
potatoes or wheat. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§505. Application Procedure and Forms 
A. The application period shall be publicly announced or 

published in a manner that fairly puts agricultural producers 
on notice of the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant 
Program and the start and end of the application period. 

B. Only application forms prepared by LAFA for this 
purpose may be used. 

C. Each applicant for a grant shall submit all of the 
following documents to LAFA. 

1. The completed application form signed by the 
agricultural producer, if a sole proprietorship. If the 
agricultural producer is not a sole proprietorship then the 
application form must be signed by all owners, unless an 
applicant has more than 10 owners. 

2. Proof of Identity of the Signer of the Application. A 
government issued photo identification must be presented. 

3. Proof of Address of the Farm. One or more of the 
following may be used as proof of address: 

a. a copy of utility bill; 
b. Louisiana tax return from the previous year; 
c. lease agreement; 
d. map; 
e. title to land; or 
f. a USDA Farm Service Administration (FSA) 

certification.  
4. Proof of Ownership of the Farm. Tax returns with 

appropriate schedules must be presented. 
5. Proof of National Objective. One or more of the 

following may be used as proof of employees: 
a. federal form 941; 
b. LMI form; 
c. Louisiana unemployment tax records; or 
d. internal payroll register. 

6. Proof of Revenue. Tax returns with appropriate 
schedules must be presented. 

7. Proof of Crop Loss. A completed crop loss 
calculator must be presented. 

8. Proof of Harvesting an Eligible Crop in 2016. Tax 
returns with appropriate schedules must be presented in 
calendar year 2017. 

9. Proof of Planting or Harvesting an Eligible Crop in 
2017. Paid receipts, invoices, copies of checks or other 
evidence must be presented for expenses in calendar year 
2017. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§507. Disbursement of Funds 
A. After the LAFA staff has approved an application, the 

proceeds of the grant shall be disbursed by LAFA’s staff 
upon the signing of the grant documents by the applicant and 
LDAF’s director of grant recovery programs. 

B. If the total amount of proceeds to be disbursed under 
the 2016 Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program exceeds 
the amount of available money then the amount received by 
each approved applicant shall be reduced on a pro-rata basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

§509. Use of Grant Proceeds 
A. Grant proceeds may be used to pay current year 

working capital expenses that are related to the preparation, 
planting, management and harvesting the current year crop 
including, but limited to feed, bait, seed, fertilizer, fuel, 
chemicals, herbicides, crawfish traps, office supplies, 
insurance, utilities, labor/payroll, veterinarian services and 
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supplies, custom harvester, custom aerial applicator, and 
written land leases for crawfish producers. 

B. Grant proceeds may not be used for any of the 
following: 

1. acquisition of buildings or land; 
2. new construction or reconstruction; 
3. repayment or refinancing loans; 
4. payments of tax arrearages, government fines or 

penalties; 
5. political or religious activities; 
6. buying out any stockholder or equity holder in a 

business; 
7. buying out or reimbursing any family member; 
8. investing in instruments or investments for the sole 

purpose of a return on investment; 
9. a loss or expense for which insurance benefits has 

been or will be paid or financial assistance that has been or 
will be provided from federal, state or any other source; 

10. purchasing or repairing of equipment; 
11. placing new land into production. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:266. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Finance Authority, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and 
autonomy. In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or 
foreseeable impact on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of persons regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children;  
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions and arguments regarding the proposed Rule. 
Written submissions must be directed to Ashley Dupree, 
Director of Loan/Grant Recovery Programs, Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., Suite 1002, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received no later than 
12 p.m. on January 2, 2018. No preamble is available. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  2016 Louisiana Farm  

Recovery Grant Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules establish the LA Farm Recovery Grant 
Program (LFRGP) and will result in additional expenditures for 
the LA Agricultural Finance Authority (LAFA) by up to $10.12 
M in FY 18. Furthermore, the proposed rules require the 
addition of 7 temporary T.O. positions. Funds associated with 
the expenditures are derived from a combination of self-
generated revenues and federal budget authority that are 
entirely reimbursable through a Community Development 
Block Grant Disaster Recovery Program (CDBG-DR) award 
from the United States Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD). The LFRGP will disburse awards to 
agricultural firms in Louisiana that have realized economic 
losses associated with the floods that occurred throughout 
Louisiana in 2016. Agricultural firms may receive a maximum 
grant award of up to $100,000 under the auspices of the 
program. The LFRGP is currently operating under emergency 
rule. The total amount of grants to be awarded to agricultural 
firms is approximately $9.5 M. 

The remaining balance (approximately $620,000) will be 
used to fund the 7 temporary T.O. positions and any 
administrative expenses associated with the LFGRP. The T.O. 
positions will remain only for the term of the grant. 

For reference, the Division of Administration, Office of 
Community Development, Disaster Recovery Unit (OCD-
DRU) receives the CDBG-DR grant from HUD and serves as 
HUD’s grantee. The LA Dept. of Agriculture & Forestry, 
through LAFA, is a sub-recipient of funds granted to OCD-
DRU and will administer the funds for the LFRGP.  

The proposed rules will not impact local governmental 
units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

To the extent the proposed rules sustain agricultural firms, 
employment, and economies, the LFRGP may prevent or 
reduce losses of revenues via corporate, personal income, and 
sales tax receipts that the state and/or local governmental units 
may have otherwise realized in the program’s absence. 
However, the exact revenue impact is indeterminable, as
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factors other than the 2016 floods may have also impacted state 
and/or local tax receipts associated with agricultural activity. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will benefit agricultural firms that 
qualify for grant awards through the LFRGP to assist them in 
recovering from the floods that occurred in 2016. In the event 
agricultural firms meet the eligibility criteria for LFRGP grant 
awards, it will aid them in funding expenditures up to a 
maximum amount $100,000 during the 2017 planting season. 
Furthermore, employees of agricultural firms that would have 
otherwise closed without grant aid will benefit from the 
proposed rule to the extent such firms remain in operation as a 
result of the grant award.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules may prevent or reduce a loss of 
competition among agricultural firms to the extent the LFRGP 
allows more firms to continue operating statewide. 
Furthermore, the proposed rules may also prevent or reduce a 
loss of employment in the agricultural sector to the extent the 
LFRGP allows firms to keep operating at pre-flood levels. 

 
Dane Morgan Gregory V. Albrecht 
Assistant Commissioner Chief Economist 
1711#072 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Logos for State Products (LAC 7:V.Chapter 29) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and through authority granted in R.S. 3:4271, 
notice is hereby given that the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry (“department”), intends to amend LAC 
7:V.2901-2913 in order to create standards for use of a 
department-adopted logo for certain products. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part V.  Advertising, Marketing and Processing 
Chapter 29. Logos for State Products 
§2901. Purpose; Definitions 

A. This Chapter is adopted pursuant to R.S. 3:4721 et 
seq. and shall govern the department’s logo program.  

B. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning hereafter ascribed to them, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Commissioner―the commissioner of the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry. 

License—written authorization from the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry for the non-
exclusive use of the logo. 

Licensee—applicant who applied to the department for 
a license to use the logo(s) and whose application was 
approved 

Logo—the logos adopted by the department pursuant to 
R.S. 3:4721 to promote products made, grown, 
manufactured, processed, produced or substantially

transformed in the State of Louisiana. The logos include: 
certified Louisiana, certified Louisiana Cajun, certified 
Louisiana Creole, and certified Louisiana farm to table 
restaurant 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:393 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:540 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 
§2903. Eligibility 

A. The department shall have sole discretion to 
determine whether an agricultural product, restaurant or 
agritourism activity is eligible to be labeled with one of the 
certified logos. To be eligible, a company must possess and 
be in compliance with all applicable state and federal 
permits, licenses and laws. 

B. In order for a product to be eligible for inclusion in 
the logo program, it must be made, grown, manufactured, 
processed, produced or substantially transformed in the State 
of Louisiana. 

C. In order for a product to be eligible to use the certified 
Louisiana Creole logo, at least fifty percent of the product 
must be made, grown, produced, manufactured, processed or 
packed in Louisiana. 

D. In order for an agricultural product to be eligible to 
use the certified Louisiana Cajun logo, the product must be 
representative of the culture that is generally of Acadian 
descent and be at least 50 percent of the product must be 
made, grown, produced, manufactured, processed or packed 
in Louisiana.  

E. In order for a restaurant to be eligible to use the 
certified farm to table logo, a majority of the restaurant’s raw 
and value added products shall be produced and sourced as 
locally as possible, within Louisiana and or less than 200 
miles from its origin, which means going directly from the 
farm to the table.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:393 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:540 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 
§2905. Application Process and Product Verification 

A. Applications for use of the logos shall be made in 
writing on a form prescribed by the department. All 
applications must be signed and notarized.  

B. Each application shall be accompanied by a non-
refundable $25 application fee.  

C. Applicant’s proposed use of the logo shall be included 
in the application and is subject to review and approval by 
the department.  

D. Within 30 days of receipt of the application by 
department, the department shall either grant or deny the 
applicant’s application to use the logo(s).  

E. Upon approval of an application, a registration fee of 
$30 per logo shall be paid to the department. Upon receipt of 
the registration payment, the department shall provide the 
registrant a certificate of registration and a digital jpeg 
and/or eps copies of the logo(s) suitable for reproduction.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:393 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:540 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 
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§2907. Denial of Registration 
A. Applications for use of the logo(s) may be denied if: 

1. the product or activity falls outside of the definition 
as prescribed by law. 

2. the product is of a quality markedly inferior to that 
representative of similar products produced in Louisiana;  

3. the applicant has misused the logo(s) prior to the 
date of application; or the applicant has used the logo(s) 
without permission of the department; 

4. the applicant's use of the logos would, in the 
department’s opinion, either:  

a. impair or frustrate the department's efforts to 
expand or encourage development of the markets for 
Louisiana agricultural and other products; or  

b. fail to enhance the integrity and image of the 
program.  

B. Any applicant whose request to use the logo(s) is 
denied may protest the department’s decision by filing a 
notice of protest with the department within 15 days of 
receipt by the applicant of notice of denial. A notice of 
protest which has been timely filed shall be administered as 
a contested case as provided for the Administrative 
Procedure Act. If notice of protest has not been filed with the 
department within 15 days of receipt by the applicant of 
notice of denial, such denial shall become final. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:393 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:540 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 
§2909. Renewal of Registration 

A. All licenses shall expire on December 31 of the third 
calendar year after issuance. For example, if a license is 
issued on July 1, 2017, it will expire on December 31, 2019.  

B. Applications for renewal of registration shall be made 
in writing on a form prescribed by the department. The fee 
for renewal of registration is $30. 

C. Applicant’s application for renewal of registration and 
$30 renewal fee must be received on or before 5 p.m. CST 
on December 31 in the year in which the license expires. 
Upon receipt of the renewal application and renewal fee, the 
department will send the approved registrant a certificate of 
registration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:393 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:540 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 
§2911. Use of Logo 

A. No person shall, in commerce, advertise, sell, offer or 
expose for sale, distribute, package or in any other manner 
identify any services or goods with the logo affixed to such 
service or good, unless the logo use has been previously 
approved by the department. 

B. Any permission granted by the department to 
Licensee for use of the logo shall be nonexclusive and 
nontransferable to another person or another product. The 
logo may only be used on the product(s) set forth in the 
application and listed on the registration certificate. 

C. Licensee’s authorization to use the logo(s) shall not be 
construed to grant or assign any right, title or interest in or to 
the logo(s) or the goodwill attached thereto.  

D. Licensee shall not alter the appearance of the logo(s) 
in any manner. Licensee may use the logo in any color he 
desires, but logo wording may not be altered. 

E. Other than the authorized use of the logo(s), no 
licensee shall use any statement of affiliation or endorsement 
by the state of Louisiana or the department in the selling, 
advertising, marketing, packaging, or other commercial 
handling of products and services, or restaurants.  

F. The following shall constitute misuse of the logo: 
1. using the logo(s) on any product for which use has 

not been granted by the department; 
2. using the logo(s) on a product that is not in 

compliance with state or federal law; 
3. using the logo(s) in a manner that is disparaging to 

the department; 
4. using the logo(s) in violation of any rule 

promulgated by the department.  
5. using the logo(s) without a valid registration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:393 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:540 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 
§2913. Enforcement 

A. In the event that the department determines that a 
licensee has misused the logo(s), the department shall 
conduct an adjudicatory hearing in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act in order to determine whether 
to suspend or revoke the licensee’s permission to use the 
logo(s). 

B. All hearings conducted pursuant to this section shall 
be heard by a three person hearing panel appointed by the 
commissioner. The commissioner may appoint a hearing 
officer to conduct the hearing. 

C. At the conclusion of the administrative hearing, the 
hearing panel may recommend that the licensee’s permission 
to use the logo(s) be suspended or revoked. The hearing 
panel’s recommendation shall be submitted to the 
commissioner for his determination. 

D. The commissioner may institute civil proceedings to 
enforce his rulings in the district court for the parish where 
the violation occurred. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4721. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:394 (March 
2016), repromulgated LR 42:541 (April 2016), amended LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and 
autonomy. In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or 
foreseeable impact on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of persons regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children;  
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
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Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions and arguments regarding the proposed Rule. 
Written submissions must be directed to Deana Erdey, 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., 
Suite 2001, Baton Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received 
no later than 12 p.m. on January 4, 2018. No preamble is 
available. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Logos for State Products 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to result in 

costs or savings to state or local governmental units. The 
proposed rule changes modify the Logos for State Products 
program that is to become effective in January of 2018. The 
proposed changes make technical modifications to the existing 
rule and adjust the existing $30 registration fees to be collected 
on a three-year basis instead of annually.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will result in an indeterminable 
revenue decrease for LDAF*. Applicants to the LDAF Logos 
for State Products program must remit a $25 application fee to 
the department. If LDAF approves an application, the applicant 
must then pay a $30 registration fee to use the logo on its 
product for the first year, a total first-year cost of $55.

Participation in the program must be renewed every three 
years. All revenues derived from application and registration 
fees will fund program expenditures.  

*While this rule change will result in a revenue decrease 
when compared to current administrative code, the logo 
program is scheduled to initiate in January of 2018, thus no 
revenues are currently being generated. The proposed change 
will potentially reduce revenues, as a $30 registration will 
provide for a three-year term before requiring renewal, while 
the existing rule required annual renewal. Because the existing 
program has not started, this rule promulgation will not impact 
an existing revenue stream, only the prospective one. 

The annual revenue impact is indeterminable because 
LDAF does not know the number of applications that will be 
submitted annually. However, LDAF has records of 
approximately 900 products being registered for use with a 
previous logo program for which it never promulgated rules. 
To the extent 50% of the previously registered 900 products 
(450) register under the new LDAF Logos for State Products 
program, LDAF could realize revenues of approximately 
$24,750 in the first year. Revenues in subsequent years are 
indeterminable and are dependent upon the number of renewals 
and new applicants the Logos for State Products program has.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Entities choosing to participate in the program will have to 
fill out an application, pay a one-time application fee of $25, 
and pay a registration fee of $30 if their application is 
approved. Participation in the program must be renewed every 
three years. Renewals will require a $30 renewal fee. 
Participating entities may realize unspecified economic benefits 
by attaining the right to include certain logos on manufactured 
products, including: Certified Louisiana, Certified Louisiana 
Cajun, Certified Louisiana Creole, and Certified Louisiana 
Farm to Table Restaurant. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to effect 
competition and employment. 

 
Dane Morgan Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1711#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Child Welfare Section 

Chafee Foster Care 
Independence Program and Young Adult Program 

(LAC 67:V.3901 and 3903) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, 
Subpart 5, Foster Care, Chapter 39, Chafee Foster Care 
Independence Program (CFCIP) and Young Adult Program. 

Section 3901 is being amended to include the utilization 
of the CFCIP grant funds and to eliminate the information 
regarding the Young Adult Program. Section 3903 is being 
repealed as the Child Welfare Young Adult Program has 
been terminated. 
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Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 
Subpart 5.  Foster Care 

Chapter 39. Chafee Foster Care Independence 
Program 

§3901. Chafee Foster Care Independence Program 
A. The Department of Children and Family Services, 

Child Welfare Division will provide a Chafee Foster Care 
Independence Program (CFCIP) to assist youth in making 
preparations for living independently, including, but not 
limited to résumé writing, budgeting, banking and other 
financial skills, and conflict management skills. The CFCIP 
provides opportunities for youth to interact with other youth 
from similar backgrounds, and to receive supportive services 
until 26 years of age, with the exception of educational 
assistance via the Chafee educational and training voucher 
(ETV), which is available until 23 years of age. 

B. The DCFS will provide CFCIP services based upon 
the availability of funds, up to the maximum allowable 
amount funded by the federal Chafee Act, in compliance 
with the requirements of the program, and the varying 
identified needs of each youth. 

C. Eligibility for the CFCIP is limited to youth who meet 
the requirements of the program and is based on the 
availability of federal funding. Participants should be either: 
DCFS foster youth from 14 years of age to age 18; foster 
youth who aged out of foster care from 18 to 26 years old; 
foster youth who were adopted from foster care after 16 
years of age to 26 years of age; Office of Juvenile Justice 
youth from 14 years of age to 26 years of age; youth in a 
court ordered guardianship from foster care initiated after 16 
years of age to 26 years of age; and/or Native American 
youth from 13 years of age to 26 years of age who were in 
state or tribal custody. Youth in a secure placement 
(detention, jail, etc.) are not eligible for services provided by 
Chafee funds. 

D. The allowable services and activities must be 
purposefully planned by the foster care worker and the youth 
to meet specific needs that have been identified and 
addressed in the youth’s transitional living plan. The 
allowable services may include: 

1. training delivered by Chafee independent living 
providers contracted with DCFS to prepare youth for living 
independently; 

2. an assessment of independent living skills to 
identify which skills are needed and a written individualized 
transitional living plan, based on the assessment; 

3. a monetary payment/stipend upon completing the 
CFCIP coursework and questionnaire, if resources allow; 

4. assistance with obtaining an independent living 
arrangement and/or housing; 

5. case management services; and 
6. assistance with educational expenses, which could 

include educational and training voucher services, with need 
being determined by contracted providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
USC 677 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:2205 
(October 2009), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Child Welfare Section, LR 44: 

§3903. Young Adult Program 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:471 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:2205 
(October 2009), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Child Welfare Section, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on family formation, stability, and autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, December 27, 2017 to Rhenda Hodnett, Assistant 
Secretary of Child Welfare, Department of Children and 
Family Services, P.O. Box 3118, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

December 27, 2017 at the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 10 
a.m. All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit at least 
seven working days in advance of the hearing. For 
assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Chafee Foster Care 

Independence Program and Young Adult Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fees associated with the 
proposed rule change, it is not anticipated that the Louisiana 
Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) will incur 
any other costs or savings as a result of this rule.   

This rule change repeals LAC 67:V, Subpart 5, Foster Care, 
Chapter 39, Section 3903 Young Adult Program. This program 
was eliminated as a result of budget cuts in FY 13 generating 
$1.16 M in savings in DCFS.  Therefore, rules related to 
administering the program are being removed, as the program 
no longer exists.   

This rule change also updates eligibility requirements for 
the Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP) to 
reflect eligibility requirements in the existing state plan. The 
current rule states that youths that age out of foster care and
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meet eligibility requirements can receive CFCIP services until 
the age of 21.  However, current practice, as authorized by 
DCFS’s state plan, is that these individuals can receive CFCIP 
services until the age of 26.  Therefore, the rules are being 
updated to reflect current practice and the state plan. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will not affect current 
revenue collections of DCFS. Funding for the Young Adult 
Program was already eliminated from the DCFS budget in 
2013. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will have no 
economic cost or benefit to directly affected persons. The 
amendment repeals administrative rules for the Young Adult 
Program, as this program ceased in 2013.  The amendment also 
updates eligibility requirements for CFCIP to reflect the state 
plan, which is also current practice. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 
Rhenda Hodnett Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1711#050 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Child Welfare Section 

Daycare Services (LAC 67:V.2301) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to repeal LAC 67:V, 
Subpart 4, Daycare Services, Chapter 23, Daycare. 

Chapter 23 is being repealed as the Child Welfare Daycare 
Services Program has been terminated. Additionally, the 
Child Care and Development Block Grant Program, which 
funded the Child Care Assistance Program, has been 
transferred to the Louisiana Department of Education in 
accordance with R.S. 17:407.28. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 
Subpart IV.  Reserved 

Chapter 23. Daycare 
§2301. Daycare Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Part 98.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 11:689 (July 
1985), amended LR 18:868 (August 1992), LR 25:2443 (December 
1999), LR 31:101 (January 2005), LR 33:1685 (August 2007), LR 
35:961 (May 2009), LR 35:1256 (July 2009), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Child Welfare 
Section, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on family formation, stability, and autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, December 28, 2017 to Rhenda Hodnett, Assistant 
Secretary of Child Welfare, Department of Children and 
Family Services, P.O. Box 3118, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

December 28, 2017 at the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 9 a.m. 
All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit at least 
seven working days in advance of the hearing. For 
assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (voice and TDD). 

Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Daycare Services 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Other than the publication fees associated with the 

proposed rule change, it is not anticipated that the Louisiana 
Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) will incur 
any other costs or savings as a result of this rule.  This rule 
change repeals LAC 67: V, Subpart 4, Daycare Services, 
Chapter 23 Daycare Services.  DCFS no longer administers this 
program; therefore rules regarding the program are being 
repealed. In 2015 the Child Care & Development Fund (CCDF) 
Block Grant ($79.9 M), which supported the funding  and 
administration of child welfare daycare services, was 
transferred from DCFS to the Louisiana Department of 
Education (DOE). 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will not affect current 
revenue collections of DCFS.  The funding for the program was 
transferred to the Louisiana DOE in 2015. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 
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Implementation of this proposed rule will have no 
economic cost or benefit to persons receiving child welfare 
daycare services. The services are still being provided.  
However, it is now provided through the Louisiana DOE.  
Determination of eligibility for daycare services has not 
changed and services are not being interrupted. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 
Rhenda Hodnett Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1711#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Economic Stability Section 

Public Assistance Programs 
(LAC 67:III.301, 307, 309, 313, 1209, 1229, 

1255, 1987, 1988, 1999, 2103, 2107, 5307, and 5345) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend the 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), Title 67, Part III, 
Economic Stability. 

Amendment is pursuant to the authority granted to the 
department by the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, in 
accordance with federal regulations for the Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) in 7 CFR and 
Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) block grant. 

Sections 301, 307, 309, and 313 are being amended to 
remove references to the Child Care Assistance Program 
(CCAP). 

Section 1209, 1999, and 5307 are being amended to 
update circumstances in which a concurrent notice is 
allowable. 

Section 1229 is being amended to allow a dependent care 
deduction for any child who is not receiving CCAP. 

Sections 1255 and 5345 are being repealed and Sections 
1987, 1988, and 2103 are being amended to maintain 
compliance with Act 265 of the 2017 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, which eliminated restrictions on 
eligibility for certain persons with prior drug convictions. 

Section 2107 is being amended to update that there are 
three standard benefit amounts. 

The department considers emergency action necessary to 
clarify the programs’ administrative rules and facilitate the 
expenditure of TANF funds, which is authorized by Act 3 of 
the 2017 Second Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 
Subpart 1.  General Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 3. Hearings 
§301. Definitions 

A. For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the 
terms defined in this Chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context of use clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

* * * 

Benefitsany kind of assistance, payments or benefits 
made by the department for Family Independence 
Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP), Strategies to 
Empower People (STEP) Program, Kinship Care Subsidy 
Program (KCSP), or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, and R.S. 46:237. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
11:689 (July 1985), amended by Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 25:2259 (November 1999), LR 
26:350 (February 2000), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Division of Programs, Economic Stability, LR 
38:965 (April 2012), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

§307. Time Limits for Requesting a Fair Hearing 
A.1. When a decision is made on a case, the client is 

notified and is allowed the following number of days from 
the date of the notice to request a fair hearing: 

a. FITAP30 days; 

b. STEP Program30 days; 

c. KCSP30 days; 

d. SNAP90 days. 
2. The client may appeal at any time during a 

certification period for a dispute of the current level of 
benefits. 

B. - B.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., R.S.36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2260 (November 
1999), amended LR 26:350 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Economic Stability, LR 38:965 (April 2012), amended 
by Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability Section, LR 44: 

§309. Time Limits for Decisions to be Rendered 
A. A prompt, definitive, and final decision must be 

provided within the number of days from the date of the fair 
hearing request as listed below: 

1. FITAP90 days; 

2. STEP Program90 days; 

3. KCSP90 days; 

4. SNAP60 days. 
B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, and R.S. 46:237. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2261 (November 
1999), amended LR 26:351 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Economic Stability, LR 38:965 (April 2012), amended 
by Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability Section, LR 44: 

§313. Continuation of Benefits  
A. Recipients in all categories, except STEP Program, 

who request a fair hearing prior to the expiration of the 
advance notice of adverse action or within 13 days of the 
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date of concurrent notice must have benefits continued at, or 
reinstated to, the benefit level of the previous month, unless: 

1. the recipient indicates he does not want benefits 
continued; 

2. a determination is made at the hearing that the sole 
issue is one of existing or changing state or federal law; or 

3. a change unrelated to the appeal issue affecting the 
client's eligibility occurs while the hearing decision is 
pending and the client fails to request a hearing after 
receiving the notice of change. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., and R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2261 (November 
1999), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Division of Programs, Economic Stability, LR 38:966 
(April 2012), amended by Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

Subpart 2.  Family Independence Temporary  
Assistance Program 

Chapter 12. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 
Assistance 

Subchapter A. Application, Determination of Eligibility, 
and Furnishing Assistance 

§1209. Notices of Adverse Actions 
A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13 

days prior to taking action to reduce or terminate benefits. In 
some circumstances advance notice is not required. A 
concurrent notice shall be sent to the client at the time of 
action in the following situations: 

1. the agency has factual information confirming the 
death of the FITAP payee; 

2. the client signs a statement requesting reduction or 
closure and waiving the right to advance notice; 

3. the client's whereabouts are unknown and agency 
mail directed to the client has been returned by the Post 
Office indicating no known forwarding address; 

4. a client has been certified in another state and that 
fact has been established; 

5. a child is removed from the home as a result of a 
judicial determination, or is voluntarily placed in foster care 
by his legal guardian; 

6. the client has been admitted or committed to an 
institution; 

7. the client has been placed in a skilled or 
intermediate nursing care facility or long-term 
hospitalization; 

8. the agency disqualifies a household member 
because of an intentional program violation and the benefits 
of the remaining household members are reduced or 
terminated because of the disqualification; 

9. the worker reduces or ends benefits at the end of a 
normal period of certification when the client timely 
reapplies; 

10. the case is closed due to the amount of child 
support collected through child support enforcement 
services; 

11. the client has been certified for supplemental 
security income or foster care payments and that fact has 
been established; 

12. the child is certified for kinship care subsidy 
payments; 

13. the agency receives a written report signed by the 
head of household or other responsible household member 
which provides sufficient information for the agency to 
determine the household's benefit amount or ineligibility; 

14. are reduced or terminated effective the month 
following the simplified report month; 

15. mass changes. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1(B). and R.S. 46:237; 
Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session and Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2447 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 28:2565 
(December 2002), LR 30:493 (March 2004), LR 32:1911 (October 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§1229. Income 

A. - B.2. ... 
C. Earned Income Deductions. Each individual in the 

income unit who has earned income is entitled to the 
following deductions only: 

1. standard deduction of $120; 
2. $900 time-limited deduction. This deduction is 

applied for six months when a recipient's earnings exceed 
the $120 standard deduction. The months need not be 
consecutive nor within the same certification periods. The 
deduction is applicable for a six-month lifetime limit for the 
individual; 

3. dependent care deduction. Recipients may be 
entitled to a deduction for dependent care for: 

a. an incapacitated adult; 
b. a child who is not receiving CCAP; or 
c. effective May 1, 2006, the amount charged by a 

child care provider that exceeds the CCAP maximum for a 
child in care. 

D. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1(B), R.S. 
46:231.2, P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, and 7 CFR 
273.2(j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2449 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 26:2831 (December 
2000), LR 31:2956 (November 2005), LR 32:1616 (September 
2006), LR 32:1912 (October 2006), LR 34:2678 (December 2008), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 
(November 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 40:1675 
(September 2014), LR 42:1651 (October 2016), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
Section, LR 44: 

§1255. Individuals Convicted of a Felony Involving a 

Controlled Substance 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, and R.S. 46:231.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2454 (December 
1999), repealed by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 
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Subpart 3.  Supplemental Nutritional Assistance 
Program (SNAP) 

Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households 
Subchapter J. Determining Household Eligibility and 

Benefit Levels 
§1987. Categorical Eligibility for Certain Recipients 

A. Households Considered Categorically Eligible 
1. Households in which a member is a recipient of 

benefits from the FITAP, STEP, and/or Kinship Care Subsidy 
Program, and households in which all members are 
recipients of SSI, shall be considered categorically eligible 
for SNAP. 

2. Recipient includes an individual determined 
eligible for TANF or SSI benefits, but the benefits have not 
yet been paid. 

3. Recipient shall also include a person determined 
eligible to receive zero benefits, i.e., a person whose benefits 
are being recouped or a TANF recipient whose benefits are 
less than $10 and therefore does not receive any cash 
benefits. 

4. A household shall not be considered categorically 
eligible if: 

a. any member of that household is disqualified for 
an intentional program violation; 

b. the household is disqualified for failure to 
comply with the work registration requirements. 

5. The following persons shall not be considered a 
member of a household when determining categorical 
eligibility: 

a. an ineligible alien; 
b. an ineligible student; 
c. an institutionalized person; 
d. an individual who is disqualified for failure to 

comply with the work registration requirements; 
e. an individual who is disqualified for failure to 

provide or apply for a Social Security number; 
f. an individual who is on strike. 

6. Households which are categorically eligible are 
considered to have met the following SNAP eligibility 
factors without additional verification: 

a. resources; 
b. Social Security numbers; 
c. sponsored alien information; 
d. residency. 

7. These households also do not have to meet the 
gross and net income limits. If questionable, the factors used 
to determine categorical eligibility shall be verified. 

8. Categorically eligible households must meet all 
SNAP eligibility factors except as outlined above. 

9. Changes reported by categorically-eligible SNAP 
households shall be handled according to established 
procedures except in the areas of resources or other 
categorical eligibility factors. 

10. Benefits for categorically-eligible households shall 
be based on net income as for any other household. One and 
two person households will receive a minimum benefit of 
$15. Households of three or more shall be denied if net 
income exceeds the level at which benefits are issued. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

51:28196 et seq., 7 CFR 271, 272, 273.10, and 274, F.R. 56:63612-
63613, P.L. 104-193, 7 CFR 273.2(j)(2)(xi), Act 58, 2003 Reg. 
Session, 7 CFR 273.2, (j), and P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 13:90 
(February 1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 18:1267 (November 1992), LR 
24:1783 (September 1998), LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 27:867 
(June 2001), LR 27:1934 (November 2001), LR 30:495 (March 
2004), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2531 (November 2010), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 
40:1312 (July 2014), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

§1988. Eligibility Disqualification of Certain Recipients 
A. Fleeing felons and probation/parole violators are 

ineligible for benefits. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, R.S. 46:233.1, P.L. 105-33, and P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:83 (January 
1997), amended LR 23:590 (May 1997), LR 23:1710 (December 
1997), LR 24:1783 (September 1998), amended by the Department 
of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2532 (November 2010), amended by 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
Section, LR 44: 

Subchapter M. Notice of Adverse Action 
§1999. Reduction or Termination of Benefits 

A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13 
days prior to taking action to reduce or terminate benefits. In 
some circumstances advance notice is not required. A 
concurrent notice shall be sent to the household at the time 
of action in the following situations: 

1. the agency disqualifies a household member 
because of an intentional program violation and the benefits 
of the remaining household members are reduced or ended 
because of the disqualification; 

2. benefits are reduced or terminated at the end of the 
certification period when the client timely reapplies; 

3. the client has been certified in another state and that 
fact has been established; 

4. the client signs a statement requesting closure or 
reduction in benefits and waives the right to advance notice; 

5. benefits are reduced or terminated effective the 
month following the simplified report month; 

6. the agency receives a written report signed by the 
head of the household or other responsible household 
member which provides sufficient information for the 
agency to determine the household’s benefit amount or 
ineligibility; 

7. mass changes; 
8. based on reliable information, the agency 

determines that the household has moved or will be moving 
out of the state prior to the next monthly issuance; 

9. the household applied for cash assistance and 
SNAP at the same time and has been getting SNAP benefits 
while waiting for approval of the cash assistance grant; 

10. the client was a certified resident in a drug or 
alcohol treatment center or a group living arrangement 
which loses its state certification or FNS disqualifies it as a 
retailer; 

11. a household certified under expedited processing 
rules provides postponed verification which reduces or 
terminates benefits. 

B. - B.4. ... 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 7 
CFR 273.12(a)(1)(vii) and P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:324 
(May 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office 
of Family Support, LR 24:108 (January 1998), LR 32:2270 
(December 2006), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2533 (November 2010), amended by Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

Chapter 21. Louisiana Combined Application Project 
(LaCAP) 

Subchapter A. Household Concept 
§2103. Household Definition 

A. The definition of a household is an individual who is 
receiving supplemental security income (SSI) and: 

1. is at least 60 years old; 
2. has a federal living arrangement of Code "A" as 

determined by the Social Security Administration (SSA); 
3. is not institutionalized, or otherwise ineligible for 

SNAP due to immigration status or an Intentional Program 
Violation; and 

4. lives alone or declares to purchase and prepare food 
separately from others in a shared living situation. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

271.3(c), 7 CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act of 
1977, and P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010), amended by Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

§2107. Benefits 
A. Participants will receive one of three standard 

amounts of SNAP benefits based on the household’s total 
combined shelter (housing and utilities) costs. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

271.3(c), 7CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act of 
1977, and P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010), amended by Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

Subpart 13.  Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 
Chapter 53. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter A. Application, Determination of Eligibility, 

and Furnishing Assistance 
§5307. Notices of Adverse Actions 

A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13 
days prior to taking action to terminate benefits. In some 
circumstances advance notice is not required. A concurrent 
notice shall be sent to the client at the time of action in the 
following situations: 

1. the agency has factual information confirming the 
death of the KCSP payee; 

2. the client signs a statement requesting reduction or 
closure and waiving the right to advance notice; 

3. the client's whereabouts are unknown and agency 
mail directed to the client has been returned by the post 
office indicating no known forwarding address; 

4. a client has been certified in another state and that 
fact has been established; 

5. a child is removed from the home as a result of a 
judicial determination, or is voluntarily placed in foster care 
by his legal guardian; 

6. the client has been admitted or committed to an 
institution; 

7. the client has been placed in a skilled or 
intermediate nursing care facility or long-term 
hospitalization; 

8. the agency disqualifies a household member 
because of an intentional program violation and benefits are 
terminated because of the disqualification; 

9. the worker reduces or ends benefits at the end of a 
normal period of certification when the client timely 
reapplies; 

10. the case is closed due to the amount of child 
support collected through child support enforcement 
services; 

11. the agency receives a written report signed by the 
head of household or other responsible household member 
which provides sufficient information for the agency to 
determine the client's ineligibility; 

12. benefits are reduced or terminated effective the 
month following the simplified report month; 

13. mass changes; 
14. effective May 1, 2006, the child has been certified 

for supplemental security income and that fact has been 
established; 

15. the child has been certified for foster care payments 
and that fact has been established. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
USC 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1(B), R.S. 46:237, and 
Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:351 (February 
2000), amended LR 28:2565 (December 2002), LR 32:1913 
(October 2006), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44: 

Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§5345. Individuals Convicted of a Felony Involving a 

Controlled Substance 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1(B), and R.S. 46:237. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:356 (February 
2000), repealed by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 44:  

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on family formation, stability, and autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972. The impact on the family might be 
positive for certain persons with prior drug convictions if 
they apply for public benefits and are otherwise eligible. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
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Small Business Analysis 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, December 27, 2017 to Sammy Guillory, Deputy 
Assistant Secretary of Family Support, Department of 
Children and Family Services, P.O. Box 94065, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

December 27, 2017 at the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 9 a.m. 
All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit at least 
seven working days in advance of the hearing. For 
assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Public Assistance Programs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
As a result of the rule change, the Department of Children 

and Family Service (DCFS) anticipates spending $50,000 to 
make programming changes to its computer systems. 
Additionally, DCFS will incur $6,177 in the expenses 
associated with the publication of this proposed rule change.  

The proposed rule change makes technical updates and 
clarifies that Family Independence Temporary Assistance 
Program (FITAP) benefits will be reduced or terminated 
effective the month following the reporting of changes in a 
recipient’s eligibility status.  The rule also: (1) amends 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), Title 67, Part III 
Economic Stability to remove references to the Child Care 
Assistance Program (CCAP), given that this program is now 
administered by the Louisiana Department of Education, (2) 
removes the one year ban on individuals convicted of a drug-
related felony from receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) benefits in accordance with Act 265 of the 
2017 Regular Session, and (3) amends FITAP eligibility 
income requirements to allow a dependent care deduction for 
any child who is not receiving CCAP. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Due to the removal of the one year ban on individuals 
convicted of a drug-related felony from receiving TANF, the 
proposed rule change is anticipated to increase federal revenue 
collections for DCFS given that these individuals will be 
eligible for benefits for which they were not previously 
eligible.  The amount of the increase in federal revenue 
collections is indeterminable at this time and is dependent on 
the number of new applicants. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will have an 
economic benefit to persons that were previously ineligible for 
TANF and SNAP benefits due to prior drug convictions.  Due 
to the removal of the one-year ban, these individuals will not be 
denied benefits due to drug-related felony convictions. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 
Sammy Guillory Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1711#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Entertainment Industry Development 

Motion Picture Production Tax Credit Program 
Qualified Entertainment Company Payroll Tax Credit 

Program (LAC 61:I.Chapter 16) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Department of Economic Development proposes to 
amend the Rules for the Motion Picture Production Tax 
Credit Program (R.S. 47:6007) to provide guidance for the 
newly created qualified entertainment company payroll tax 
credit provided by Act 309 of the 2017 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 16. Louisiana Entertainment Industry Tax 
Credit Programs 

Subchapter B. Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit 
Program 

§1623. General 
A. Purpose. The purpose of this sub-chapter is to 

implement the Qualified Entertainment Company Payroll 
Tax Credit Program as established by Act 309 of the 2017 
Regular Session of the legislature, contained within the 
Motion Picture Production Tax Credit Program, pursuant to 
the provisions of R.S. 47:6007.  

B. Program Description. The Qualified Entertainment 
Company Payroll Tax Credit Program provides payroll tax 
credits as an inducement for qualified entertainment 
companies (“QEC”s) to permanently locate new or expand 
existing operations in Louisiana.  

C. No other LED incentives for QEC payroll 
expenditures. A QEC shall not receive any other incentive 
administered by LED that is based directly upon any QEC 
payroll, for which the QEC is obligated or has received 
benefits under the QEC Contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 44: 
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§1624. Definitions 
A. Terms not otherwise defined in this subchapter shall 

have the same meaning given to them in R.S. 47:6007, 
unless the context clearly requires otherwise. 

B. In this Subchapter, the following terms shall have the 
meanings provided herein, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

Affiliate— 
a. any business entity that is: 

 i. controlled by the QEC; 
 ii. a controlling owner of the QEC; or 
 iii. controlled by an entity described in 
Subparagraph a or b; 

b. control, for purposes of this definition, means 
owning either directly or indirectly through control of or by 
another business entity: 
 i. a majority of the voting stock or other voting 
interest of such business entity or the QEC; or 
 ii. stock or other interest whose value is a 
majority of the total value of such business entity or the 
QEC; 

c. a controlled or controlling business entity will be 
deemed a non-affiliate (not an affiliate) if the department 
determines that neither the QEC nor any of its controlling 
owners exercise authority over the management, business 
policies and operations of the business entity. 

Baseline Jobs—the number of employees of a QEC, 
including affiliates, working an average of 30 hours per 
week, during the payroll period including the twelfth of the 
month, in the month completed prior to the application date, 
as verified on the applicable ES-4 form. Baseline jobs must 
be maintained in any year for which the QEC requests tax 
credits. 

Baseline Job Payroll—W-2, Box 1 wages for baseline 
jobs. 

Contract Effective Date—the date the application and 
application fee are received by LED, or a later contract 
effective date as agreed to between the parties. The contract 
effective date cannot be earlier than the date the application 
and application fee are received by LED. 

Department—Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development, also known as “LED.” 

LDR—Louisiana Department of Revenue. 
Minimum Payroll Threshold—a minimum QEC payroll 

of $45,000 per new job, or for a partial year employee, shall 
mean $3,750 per month for each month from the date of 
initial employment. 

New Jobs— 
a. full-time employment in Louisiana, working an 

average of 30 hours or more per week; 
b. filled by Louisiana residents; 
c. at the project site; 
d. who were not previously on the QEC’s Louisiana 

payroll, nor previously on the payroll of the QEC’s parent 
entity, subsidiary, or affiliate in Louisiana, or previously on 
the payroll of any business whose physical location and 
employees are substantially the same as those of the QEC in 
Louisiana, as confirmed by an independent CPA in an annual 
expenditure verification report submitted to LED for review, 
and approved by the secretary. 

Office—Office of Entertainment Industry Development, 
also known as “OEID.” 

Program Issuance Cap—for applications submitted on 
or after July 1, 2017, the office may issue no more than 
$150,000,000 in tax credits (“total cap”) in any fiscal year, 
with $7,500,000 reserved for qualified entertainment 
companies (“QEC cap”), $7,500,000 reserved for Louisiana 
screenplay productions (“LA screenplay cap”), $15,000,000 
reserved for independent film productions (“independent 
film cap”), with the remaining $120,000,000 available for 
general allocation to any state certified production (“general 
cap”). 

Project Site—the facility name and street address, as 
stated in the QEC contract. 

QEC Payroll—W-2, Box 1 wages. For a partial year 
employee, the minimum payroll threshold may be met if the 
payroll for the partial year employee meets or exceeds 
$3,750 per month for each month from the date of initial 
employment. 

QEC Payroll Tax Credits—a tax credit for expenditures 
related to QEC payroll, authorized by the Motion Picture 
Production Tax Credit Program, R.S. 47:6007.  

Resident—a natural person who is required to file a 
Louisiana resident individual income tax return, as verified 
by independent CPA’s on the annual verification report. 

Secretary—secretary of the Department of Economic 
Development. 

Total Jobs—the number of baseline jobs plus new jobs. 
Total Payroll—the amount of baseline jobs payroll plus 

new jobs payroll. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 44:  

§1625. QEC Application and Application Fee 
A. Application 

1. A QEC application form shall be submitted to the 
office, via registered mail or if available, submitted 
electronically, to include: 

a. a detailed company description, explaining how 
the business is directly or indirectly engaged in the 
development of audio, visual, or both audio-visual 
entertainment products for public consumption; 

b. number of current and proposed new employees, 
with payroll estimates and average hours worked per week; 

c. disclosure of affiliates; 
d. most recent ES-4 tax form; 
e. any other additional information as requested by 

the office or the secretary. 
B. Application Fee 

1. A non-refundable application fee of 0.5 percent of 
the estimated total tax credits, with a minimum fee of $500, 
and a maximum fee of $15,000, shall be submitted with the 
QEC application, payable to the office, as required by R.S. 
36:104. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 44: 
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§1626. QEC Application Review and Qualification 

Determination 

A. Application Review 
1. When determining which applicants may qualify, 

the Office and the Secretary shall consider a number of 
discretionary factors, including but not limited to: 

a. entertainment business type: 
 i. eligible business types- may include but not be 
limited to: 

(a). visual effect companies; 
(b). entertainment business back-office support; 

 ii. ineligible business types- may include but not 
be limited to: 

(a). telecommunication; 
b. number and payroll of current and proposed new 

jobs; 
c. location of facility that will be the project site; 
d. number and location of similar entertainment 

business facilities in Louisiana; 
e. business history, i.e. start-up company or track 

record of established business; 
f. the impact of the business on the overall 

economy of the state; 
g. conviction for a criminal offense related to 

obtaining or attempting to obtain tax credits; 
h. availability of tax credits in any given year. 

B. Qualification Determination 
1. Upon a determination of qualification, LED will 

contact applicant to discuss contract terms and to request an 
expenditure verification report fee advance deposit of 
$7,500. 

2. Upon a determination of non-qualification, the 
office and the secretary shall issue a denial letter to the 
applicant indicating the reason for denial, and the office shall 
provide written notice to the Senate Committee on Revenue 
and Fiscal Affairs and the House Committee on Ways and 
Means. The denial letter shall be the final agency decision of 
LED. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 44: 

§1627. QEC Contract 
A. Upon a determination of qualification, and receipt of 

the $7,500 expenditure verification report fee advance 
deposit, the office and the secretary may enter into a QEC 
contract with an applicant, which shall include but not be 
limited to: 

1. job and payroll estimates, per calendar year; 
2. tax credit reservation schedule, per fiscal year; 
3. expenditure verification report fees; 
4. procedure for requesting final certification of tax 

credits; 
5. requirements for eligibility to receive final 

certification of tax credits, including but not limited to 
retention of baseline jobs, establishment of new jobs and 
attainment of minimum payroll threshold; 

6. term for a period of up to five years, as may be 
offered by the office and the secretary; 

7. designation of a single project site in Louisiana. 
The QEC payroll tax credits the applicant shall receive will 
be based upon the operations at the project site. 

B. A fee of $250 shall be filed with a request for any 
contract amendment, including but not limited to, a revision 
to the tax credit reservation schedule, a change in ownership, 
a change in name or a change in location.  

C. An applicant may have multiple QEC contracts 
covering multiple locations. The eligibility of each location 
shall be determined separately. 

D. For each QEC contract, LED shall certify that the 
applicant has a net overall increase in employment statewide 
for each new job. 

E. A QEC contract may, with the written approval of the 
office and the secretary, be transferred to a business entity 
purchasing or continuing the operation of a project site. 
Upon such transfer, the employment baseline shall be that of 
the transferee or purchaser during the 45-day period prior to 
the transfer or purchase. 

F. The QEC contract may be renewed at the discretion 
of the office and the secretary, for an additional five years, if 
the applicant has complied with the terms of the QEC 
contract and has not performed any act, nor failed to perform 
any act, which would have made the applicant liable for 
suspension, and has otherwise complied with the provisions 
of R.S. 47:6007. The same approval process as used for the 
original application and QEC contract will be followed for 
renewal QEC contracts, including additional application and 
expenditure verification report advance deposit fees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 44:  

§1628. QEC Final Certification Procedures 
A. By March 1 of every year, QEC’s may request final 

certification of credits by filing its employee W-2’s with the 
office and its assigned CPA, and any other additional 
information as requested by LED to verify conformance 
with statutory requirements.  

B. An expenditure verification report shall then be 
completed by an independent certified public accountant, 
licensed in the state of Louisiana and assigned by LED. 
Failure to submit W2’s by March 1 may result in credit 
issuance being delayed into the next available fiscal year. 

C. After receipt and review of the expenditure 
verification report, and any other supporting documentation, 
the office and the secretary shall issue a final tax credit 
certification letter to the QEC indicating the type, credit rate 
and amount of credits granted, in accordance with the 
provisional allocations and amounts set forth in the tax credit 
reservation schedule, or a written denial. 

1. In the event that less than the reserved amount of 
tax credits has been verified, any unused credits will be 
released and made available for issuance by the office. 

2. In the event that more than the reserved amount of 
tax credits has been verified, the office shall preliminarily 
issue tax credits in an amount not to exceed the total set 
forth in the tax credit reservation schedule, but may at its 
discretion, subsequently issue a supplemental tax credit for 
any excess expenditures, subject to availability of credits in 
any given fiscal year.  

D. Tax credits shall be issued on a first come, first serve 
basis, until the QEC or total cap have been met, in 
accordance with program rules. 
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E. If the total amount of credits applied for in any 
particular year exceeds the total or QEC cap for that year, 
the excess shall be treated as having been applied for on the 
first day of the subsequent year. 

F. After review of the expenditure verification report, 
final tax credit certification letter (if any), and any other 
pertinent factors, including but not limited to availability of 
tax credits in any given year, future year tax credit 
reservations may be revised, by amending the tax credit 
reservation schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 44:  

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have a significant 
adverse impact on small businesses as defined in the 
Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 
health, safety, environmental and economic factors has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 
in drafting the proposed Rule to accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services as described in HCR 170 of the 2014 
Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Chris Stelly through the close of business 
on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 617 North 3rd Street, 11th 
Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 or via email to 
Chris.Stelly@la.gov. 

Public Hearing 
A meeting for the purpose of receiving the presentation of 

oral comments will be held at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, 
January 3, 2018 at the LaSalle Building, Department of 
Economic Development, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. 

 

Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Motion Picture Production Tax Credit 
Program—Qualified Entertainment Company Payroll 

Tax Credit Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not result in any additional savings 
or expenditures for state or local governmental units, as they set  

forth guidelines for the Qualified Entertainment Company 
(“QEC”) Payroll Tax Credit created by portions of Act 309 of 
the 2017 Regular Session (See Part II). Any administrative 
duties brought about by the proposed rules will be carried out 
by existing departmental staff funded by the existing LED 
budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not affect revenue collections for 
state or local governmental units. Act 309 of the 2017 Regular 
Session extends the $180 M cap on credits that may be claimed 
in a fiscal year. All QEC Payroll Tax Credit activity must 
operate within the auspices of the $180 M claim cap and $150 
M issuance cap outlined in Act 309.  

Act 309 established the maximum amount of QEC payroll 
tax credit issuance by LED at 5% of the $150 M credit Motion 
Picture Production Tax Credit Program issuance limit ($7.5 M) 
per fiscal year for productions applying on or after July 1, 
2017, The proposed rules further state that QECs receiving 
payroll tax credits shall not receive any other LED-
administered incentives based upon a QEC’s payroll. As a 
result, QECs statewide are limited to receiving $7.5 M in 
payroll benefits annually under the $150 M issuance cap.  

Furthermore, Act 309 extends the $180 M cap on credits 
that firms may claim in a given fiscal year. As a result, QECs 
claiming the payroll credit must claim their credits prior to 
exhaustion of the $180 M cap, or have their claims count 
against the ensuing fiscal year’s $180 M cap. Because the cap 
currently exists in statute, QEC Payroll Tax Credit activity will 
not affect revenue collections in the aggregate. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Firms who are eligible for QEC payroll tax credits may 
realize a reduction in tax liabilities to the extent they qualify for 
the credit.  In the aggregate, the amount of benefits QECs may 
realize statewide is $7.5 M annually. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Companies receiving benefits under this program will 
continue to gain competitively over companies that do not 
receive the program’s benefits.  

 
Anne G. Villa Gregory V. Albrecht 
Undersecretary Chief Economist 
1711#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and 
State Accountability System (LAC 28:XI.4503) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 111―The Louisiana 

School, District, and State Accountability System: §4503, 
One Year Waiver for “Severe Impact” Schools and Districts. 
The proposed revisions pertain to the 2016-2017 school year 
school performance scores and letter grades for schools that 
sustained significant damage as a result of federally-declared 
disaster DR-4277, Louisiana Severe Storms and Flooding. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2211

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 
Subpart 1.  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, 

and State Accountability System 
Chapter 45. Disaster Considerations for School and 

District Accountability 
§4503. One Year Waiver for "Severe Impact" Schools 

and Districts 

[Formerly LAC 28:LXXXIII.4503] 
A. - A.2. … 

3. for the 2016-2017 school year school performance 
scores and letter grades, any school which sustained 
significant damage as a result of federally declared disaster 
DR-4277, Louisiana Severe Storms and Flooding, such that 
schools temporarily relocated to another school campus or 
facility, or received a displaced school or entire grade levels 
from another school at its campus as a result of such disaster, 
the LDE shall use for school accountability purposes the 
higher of the 2016-2017 or 2015-2016 school performance 
score. This policy shall also apply to all schools within the 
East Baton Rouge Parish system. The state superintendent, 
with consent of the president of the board, may provide for 
the same in cases of extraordinary and abnormal 
displacement of teachers and students and hardship due to 
such disaster, if such displacement directly and indisputably 
contributed to abnormal changes in school performance 
scores and assessment results, based on analysis conducted 
by the LDE. 

B. - G.2. … 
a. will not enter or advance in comprehensive or 

urgent intervention labels or academically unacceptable 
status as a result of accountability labels based on data 
collected during the year of the disaster; but 

b. schools can exit comprehensive or urgent 
intervention labels based on data collected during the year of 
the disaster. 

H. - M. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1412 (August 2006), 
amended LR 33:636 (April 2007), LR 36:1994 (September 2010), 
LR 37:2120 (July 2011), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 12 p.m., December 9, 2017, to Shan N. 
Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also 
be hand delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:   
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There may be potential savings for the school district, 
however, it is more likely that individual schools will benefit 
from this one year waiver to the extent the school would 
otherwise have received a lower school performance score. 
Potential costs that would otherwise have been incurred could 
utilize existing resources of the school or could require 
additional resources from the district. Per the state 
accountability system, potential implications for schools which 
are labeled academically in crisis or failing include increased 
resource needs for intervention and improvement programs, 
increased potential for students to enroll at other schools, as 
well as increased risk of takeover by the state Recovery School 
District.  

The proposed revisions pertain to the 2016-2017 school 
year school performance scores and letter grades for schools in 
the East Baton Rouge school district that sustained significant 
damage as a result of federally declared disaster DR-4277, 
Louisiana Severe Storms and Flooding. For those schools 
temporarily relocated to another school campus or facility, or 
which received a displaced school or entire grade levels from 
another school at its campus as a result of such disaster, the 
school performance score shall be the higher of the 2016-2017 
or 2015-2016 school performance score. This policy shall apply 
to all schools within the East Baton Rouge Parish System as 
well as the district performance score. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1711#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 
(LAC 28:CXXXIX.Chapters 3-40) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement to revise Bulletin 126—Charter Schools: 

§309. Charter Authorizer Reporting Requirements; §311. 
Application Process for Locally-Authorized Charter 
Schools; §313. Local School Board Consideration of Charter 
Application, Awarding of Charters; §501. Organization of 
Nonprofit Corporation; §503. Eligibility to Apply for a Type 
2 Charter School; §511. Application Process; §512. 
Application Process for Locally-Authorized Charter 

Schools; §513.Stages of Application Cycle for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools; §515. Application Components; 
§518. BESE Pre-Opening Procedures Following Approval; 
§519. Local School Board Consideration of Charter 
Application, Awarding of Charters; §521. Charter School 
Replication; §701. Charter School Contract with BESE; 
§901. Timeline for Opening; §1101. Evaluation; 
§1103.Alternate Charter Schools; §1105. Intervention 
Process for Charter Schools; §1303. Extension Review; 
§1501.Renewal of Charter; §1503.BESE Processes for 
Charter Renewal; §1503. Charter Renewal Process and 
Timeline; §1505. Eligibility for Renewal for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools; §1507. Renewal Term Length 
for BESE-Authorized Charter Schools; §1509. Automatic 
Renewal of Charter Schools; §1601. Closure; §1901. Charter 
Amendments; §1903. Material Amendments for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools; §1905. Non-Material 
Amendments for BESE-Authorized Charter Schools; §2101. 
Board of Director Composition; §2107. Prohibitions; §2301. 
State Funding; §2303. Local Education Agency (LEA) 
Status and Federal Funding; §2501. Qualified and 
Competent Business Professional; §2505. Financial 
Reporting; §2509. Assets; §2701. Students Eligible to 
Attend; §2703. Enrollment Capacity; §2705. Admission 
Requirements; §2707. Application Period; 2709. Enrollment 
of Students, Lottery, and Waitlist; §2711. Enrollment 
Preferences for BESE-Authorized Charter Schools; §2801. 
Transportation Requirements; §2805. Parent Volunteers at 
BESE-Authorized Charter Schools; §2901 Employment of 
Staff; §2905. Criminal History Review; §2911. Evaluation 
and Assessment; §3101. Required Notifications; §3301. 
Charter Operator Complaint Procedure; §3501. Volunteer 
Programs; §3703. Curriculum in Virtual Charter School; 
§4001. Applicability of State and Local Rules and 
Regulations; §4003. Applicability of State Laws; and §4005. 
Other Statutory Requirements. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126Charter Schools 
Chapter 3. Charter School Authorizers 
§311. Application Process for Locally-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. Application Cycle 

1. Local school boards shall accept charter 
applications from applicants according to the local district 
timeline established by the department and approved by 
BESE. BESE shall approve at least one charter application 
cycle for the local district timeline per year. The department 
may extend approved cycles or provide for additional cycles, 
and shall notify BESE of any such changes.  

2. Local school boards may request supplementary 
materials once the initial application has been submitted. 
Final decisions regarding the approval of charter 
applications must be made by local school boards according 
to the local district charter application timeline. Notifications 
of charter proposal denied shall include written explanation 
of the reasons for such denial. 

3. Prior to the consideration of a charter school 
proposal by any local school board, each charter applicant 
shall be afforded the opportunity to provide a written 
response to the independent evaluation of the application. 
Such response shall be available to the independent 
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reviewers for consideration prior to issuing a final 
recommendation to the chartering authority. 

4. The local board shall send to the charter applicant, 
either by electronic means or hand delivery, the final 
evaluation and recommendations of the third-party evaluator. 
Such information shall be sent no later than five business 
days prior to the meeting at which the local board will take 
action on the charter proposal. 

5. The local school board shall notify the department 
of the receipt of charter applications and any board action 
taken on such applications in accordance with procedures 
developed as part of the local district timeline. 

6. If a proposal is not approved by the local school 
board and then also not approved by BESE within the same 
approval cycle, then the proposal shall be submitted to the 
local school board for its consideration during the next 
approval cycle prior to being submitted to BESE. 

B. Common Charter Application 
1. Each local school board shall use a common charter 

application developed by the department and approved by 
BESE, but may request additional information from 
applicants as needed. 

2. BESE shall annually approve the common 
application to be used by local school boards. If there are no 
changes to be made to the common application from a 
previous year, BESE will not be required to vote to approve 
the common charter application. 

C. Appeals to State Process 
1. If a charter applicant believes that a local school 

board has not complied with the requirements in §306 of this 
policy, the charter applicant may submit its proposal to 
BESE for its review and approval as a type 2 charter as part 
of the annual request for applications.  

a. Upon local receipt of the application from the 
local charter applicant, the department shall investigate and 
make a determination as to whether the local school board 
failed to comply with §306 of this policy.  

b. If the department determines that the local school 
board failed to comply with §306, it shall notify the local 
school board of that determination within 30 days, and 
BESE may proceed with its own review of the charter 
application. 

2. The charter applicant may submit a proposal to 
BESE for its review and approval as a type 2 charter for 
other reasons as provided for in §503 of this bulletin. 

D. Partnerships with the Department 
1. A local school board may enter into an agreement 

with the Louisiana Department of Education by which the 
department will conduct the local school board’s charter 
application and evaluation process, Local school boards that 
have entered into such agreements shall be exempt from 
Subsection A of this Section, and shall instead follow 
timelines established by the department. 

2. The department shall create the process and 
timeline by which such agreements can be created and 
implemented. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3981, 17:93, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 44: 

§313. Local School Board Consideration of Charter 

Application, Awarding of Charters 
A. Local school boards shall carefully review each type 1 

and type 3 charter school application they receive and may 
approve a charter application only after it has made a 
specific determination whether each proposed charter 
complies with the law and rules, whether the proposal is 
valid, complete, financially well-structured, and 
educationally sound, whether it provides for a master plan 
for improving behavior and discipline in accordance with 
R.S. 17:252, whether it provides a plan for collecting data in 
accordance with R.S. 17:3911. 

B. Local school boards may approve requests to 
establish a type 3B charter school pursuant to the process 
outlined in Bulletin 129, §505.  

1. A type 3B charter school is a former type 5 charter 
school transferred from the Recovery School District to the 
administration and management of the transferring local 
school system pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5, R.S. 17:10.7 and 
Bulletin 129, §505. 

2. A type 3B charter school shall retain its type 5 
academic accountability history, including, but not limited to 
prior school performance scores. The performance of a type 
3B charter school shall be included in the local school 
district’s district performance score.  

3. Throughout initial and all subsequent renewal 
charter terms, the type 3B charter contract shall: 

a. comply with any transfer conditions previously 
specified by BESE at the time BESE made the determination 
to allow the transfer; 

b. permit the charter school to remain in its facility 
or designate an alternative facility for use by the charter 
school; 

c. prohibit the charter school from establishing 
admissions requirements; and 

d. require any school that participated as a type 5 
charter school in unified processes common to other public 
schools located in the same parish or school district 
boundaries that are critical to providing equity and access to 
students and families to continue to participate in such 
processes. At a minimum, the contract shall require the 
charter school to:  
 i. continue to participate in any unified 
enrollment system and expulsion process established by the 
RSD for the parish or region where the charter school is 
located. The charter school shall follow all policies and 
procedures applicable to type 5 charter schools participating 
in the enrollment system and expulsion process; and 
 ii. continue to provide transportation services for 
students who reside more than one mile away from the 
school. 

4. The length of the initial term for the type 3B charter 
school shall be equal to the number of years remaining on 
the charter school’s former type 5 charter contract or the 
number of years approved by BESE for the renewal term of 
the type 5 charter school if the charter contract for the type 5 
charter school was set to expire at the conclusion of the 
school year in which the charter school makes a request to 
transfer to the local school board pursuant to this Section. 
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5. If granted a renewal, in determining the length of 
the term for the first renewal of the type 3B charter contract, 
the local school board shall set the length of the renewal 
term to be three or more years, not to exceed the number of 
years the charter school would be granted under the 
“maximum charter renewal terms” contained in §1503 of 
this Bulletin. Differing academic performance standards for 
the first renewal of the charter contract must be approved by 
BESE. Subsequent renewal term lengths shall be determined 
by the local school board.  

6. At the time of transfer, the type 3B charter school 
shall have the option to remain its own local educational 
agency or have the local school system serve as the charter 
school’s local education agency. A type 3B charter school 
acting as its own local education agency shall comply with 
the requirements provided for in §2303 of this bulletin. 

C. For each locally-authorized charter school which has 
met the performance criteria below, a charter operator may 
open and operate two additional schools that serve the same 
grade levels and the same enrollment boundaries as the 
school meeting the automatic renewal criteria without formal 
application to the local school board.  

1. The charter school must have: 
a. A letter grade of “A” or “B”, or an equivalent 

school performance score (SPS); 
b. Met or exceeded for the three preceding school 

years the benchmarks established for it by the local school 
board in accordance with the school and district 
accountability system; 

c. Demonstrated growth in student academic 
achievement for the three proceeding school years; and 

d. Had no significant audit findings during the term 
of the charter agreement. 

2. The charter operator shall notify the local school 
board of its intent to open one or two such additional charter 
schools at least 120 calendar days prior to the day on which 
each additional school shall enroll students.  

3. At least 90 calendar days prior to the day on which 
each additional school shall enroll students, the local school 
board shall enter into a charter agreement with the chartering 
group for each additional school and shall notify BESE of its 
action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44: 

Chapter 5. Application and Approval Process for 
BESE-Authorized Charter Schools 

§501. Organization of Nonprofit Corporation 
A. A nonprofit corporation may be formed for the 

purpose of submitting an application for a charter school by: 
A.1. - A.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981(3), and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1360 (July 2008), 
amended LR 44: 

§503. Eligibility to Apply for a Type 2 Charter School 
A. - A.5.a. ... 

b. has conditions that have been placed on it that are 
unacceptable to the group proposing the charter as provided 
for in Paragraph D of this Section; or 

c. the local school board has not complied with the 
requirements of a local charter authorizer, as provided for in 
§311.C of this bulletin; or 

d. the local school board has made no final decision 
in accordance with the timelines established by BESE for 
consideration of type 1 and 3 charter applications by local 
school boards as provided for in §311 of this bulletin; and 

e. have met the requirement set forth in §507, if 
proposing to convert from a pre-existing school to a charter 
school. 

B. … 
C. If the local school system in which a charter group 

intends to apply to operate a type 1 or type 3 charter school 
has received a letter grade designation of “D” or “F” or any 
variation thereof, then a proposal for a type 2 charter school 
may be made to BESE. 

D. Type 2 Charter Appeals Based on Conditions 
1. Each approved charter may be approved subject to 

whatever other resolutory or suspensive conditions the 
chartering authority requires provided the charter school 
agrees with the conditions.  

2. If the local board seeks to amend the charter 
contract in a manner that is unacceptable to the charter 
school or if the charter school finds requested terms for 
charter renewal to be unacceptable, the charter school may 
petition BESE to convert to a Type 2 charter school. 

3. A charter school may request a Type 2 charter 
appeal based on: 

a. resolutory or suspensive conditions imposed on 
the approved charter by the local school board that the 
charter school does not agree with; or 

b. amendments being imposed on the charter 
contract or new terms in the renewal contract by the local 
school board that the charter school finds to be unacceptable. 

4. A charter school requesting an appeal under this 
section shall do so in accordance with timelines and 
procedures developed by the department. 

5. The state superintendent may disqualify a charter 
school from submitting a type 2 charter appeal under this 
section to BESE if the conditions imposed by the chartering 
authority are required by state law or policy. 

E. The eligibility criteria set forth in this section shall be 
the minimum criteria necessary to be approved for a type 2 
charter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3982, R.S. 
17:3983, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1360 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:868 (March 2011), LR 38:3117 (December 2012), 
LR 39:1431 (June 2013), LR 39:3064 (November 2013), LR 44: 

§511. Application Process for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. Application Cycle 

1. All type 2, type 4, and type 5 charter applications 
will be received, reviewed, and approved pursuant to a 
charter application cycle. 

2. Type 2, type 4, and type 5 charter applications must 
be submitted in accordance with a charter application cycle 
to be considered by BESE. 

3. BESE shall approve at least one charter application 
cycle per year for the submission of type 2, type 4, and type 
5 charter school applications.  
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4. The department may extend approved cycles or 
provide for additional cycles for the submission of type 2, 
type 4, and type 5 charter school applications, and shall 
notify BESE of any such changes.  

B. - B.3.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1361 (July 2008), 
amended LR 39:1431 (June 2013), LR 39:3064 (November 2013), 
LR 44: 

§512. Application Process for Locally-Authorized 

Charter Schools 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37:869 (March 2011), 
amended LR 38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1392 
(June 2012), amended LR 38:3118 (December 2012), LR 39:81 
(January 2013), LR 40:761 (April 2014), repealed LR 44: 

§513. Stages of Application Cycle for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools  
A. - B.2. ... 
C. Evaluators shall make recommendations to the 

Department of Education for approval or denial of each 
charter school application. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1361 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:869 (March 2011), LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1392 (June 2012), amended LR 38:3118 
(December 2012), LR 39:1431 (June 2013), LR 44: 

§515. Application Components for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. ... 
B. A framework of all BESE requests for applications, 

which shall include an assurance that all required sections 
are or will be included in the final request for applications, 
must be submitted to BESE by the department prior to the 
release of the request. In cases of a type 5 charter operator 
voluntarily relinquishing its charter, the state superintendent 
of education may issue an emergency request for 
applications and BESE shall be notified of such action 
within two business days. The Department of Education may 
accept charter applications in a single submission or may 
structure a process to accept applications in a set of 
sequential, cumulative submissions. 

C. ... 
D. The charter school application questions for all types 

of charter schools shall address the following: 
1. - 4. ... 
5. for each elementary and middle charter school, 

other than a type 2 charter school, a description of the 
geographic boundaries circumscribing the neighborhood 
immediately surrounding the charter school from which 
students residing within may be given preference for 
enrollment in accordance with R.S. 17:3991; 

6. - 37. ... 
38. an agreement to provide a report at the end of each 

semester to parents of pupils enrolled in the school, the 
community, the local school board, and BESE indicating 

progress toward meeting the performance objectives as 
stated in the charter; 

D.39. - H.11. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1362 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:869 (March 2011), LR 37:2383 (August 2011), LR 
38:38 (January 2012), LR 38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 
38:1392 (June 2012), amended LR 38:1583 (July 2012), LR 
38:3118 (December 2012), LR 39:1432 (June 2013), LR 44: 

§518. BESE Pre-Opening Procedures Following 

Approval 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37:870 (March 2011), 
amended LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 39:1432 (June 2013), LR 
41:1263 (July 2015), repealed LR 44: 

§519. Opening of Additional Charter Schools in BESE-

Approved Application 
A. A charter operator may open additional schools 

included in its approved charter application if the following 
performance targets for all Louisiana charter schools 
currently operated by the charter operator are met: 

1. No charter schools have a letter grade of “F” or an 
equivalent school performance score (SPS); and 

2. All charter schools have: 
a. a letter grade of “C” or higher or an equivalent 

SPS; or 
b. a letter grade of “D” or higher or an equivalent 

SPS, and a progress index equivalent to an “A” letter grade.  
3. All BESE-authorized charter schools have earned 

designations of “meets all expectations” or “meets most 
expectations” for financial and organizational performance 
as provided for in the Charter School Performance Compact 
in each of the previous three years of operation, or for every 
year of operation if the school has been open less than three 
years; and  

4. The charter operator notifies the department of the 
planned school opening according to timelines developed by 
the department.  

B. The department may consider the financial and 
organizational performance of charter schools authorized by 
local school boards as appropriate.  

C. If the charter operator contracts with a management 
organization, the state superintendent may consider the 
performance of other charter schools affiliated with the 
management organization in determining whether or not the 
charter operator is allowed to open an additional approved 
school. 

D. The state superintendent may waive one or more of 
the required performance criteria for: 

1. charter schools that are in the first or second year of 
operation that have not yet received been evaluated for 
academic, financial, or organizational performance; 

2. charter schools approved as alternative schools 
pursuant to Bulletin 111 or charter schools that are evaluated 
pursuant to an alternate framework as provided for in §1103 
of this bulletin; or 

3. a circumstance where anticipated new students in 
the charter school being proposed to open would otherwise 
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predominantly be enrolled in schools performing at levels 
lower than or equivalent to the participating school. 

E. The department shall notify BESE prior to the 
opening of any charter school pursuant to this section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 44: 

§521. Charter School Replication for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 

(Formerly §523) 
A. A charter operator may open and operate up to two 

additional charter schools without making a formal 
application to BESE: 

1. the average of the school performance scores of all 
Louisiana charter schools operated by the charter operator is 
equivalent to a letter grade of “B” or higher for the previous 
three school years; and 

2. the average progress index of all Louisiana charter 
schools operated by the charter operator is equivalent to a 
letter grade of “A” for the previous three school years; 

3. all BESE-authorized charter schools operated by 
the charter operator have earned designations of “Meets All 
Expectations” or “Meets Most Expectations” for financial 
and organizational performance as provided for in the 
charter school performance compact in each of the previous 
three years of operation.  

B. If the charter operator contracts with a management 
organization, the state superintendent may consider all 
charter schools operating in Louisiana affiliated with the 
management organization in determining whether or not the 
charter operator meets the academic requirements above. 

C. The new charter schools must serve the same grade 
levels and enrollment boundaries as one of the operator’s 
charter schools currently in operation that meets the 
eligibility criteria outlined above. 

D. The type of charter schools the charter operator may 
open shall be determined as follows. 

 
Charter School 

Meeting 
Eligibility 

Requirements Permitted New Types of Charter Schools 

Type 2 • New Type 2;  

• May be a Type 2 conversion charter school upon 
receiving approval from the professional faculty, 
staff, and parents or guardians of the pre-existing 
school, as required in §507, and meeting the other 
eligibility requirements to apply for a Type 2 in 
§503;  

• May be a Type 5 subject to approval by the RSD to 
transform a school under the jurisdiction of the 
RSD  

Type 4 • Type 4 

Type 5 • New Type 2, subject to the approval of the state 
superintendent;  

• May be a Type 2 conversion charter school upon 
receiving approval from the professional faculty, 
staff, and parents or guardians of the pre-existing 
school, as required in §507, and meeting the other 
eligibility requirements to apply for a Type 2 in 
§503;  

• May be a Type 5 subject to approval by the RSD to 
transform a school under the jurisdiction of the 
RSD  

 

E. The charter operator shall notify BESE of its intent to 
open one or two additional charter schools pursuant to this 
Section at least 120 calendar days prior to the day on which 
each additional school shall enroll students. 

F. At least 90 calendar days prior to the day on which 
each additional school shall enroll students, BESE shall 
enter into a charter agreement with the chartering operator 
for each additional school and shall notify BESE of its 
action. 

G. The charter operator must complete all processes and 
required by law and BESE policy to open a school, 
including, but not limited to the procurement of all required 
permits, inspections and approvals necessary to safeguard 
student safety and welfare. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 39:1432 (June 2013), 
amended LR 39:3250 (December 2013), LR 43:308 (February 
2017), LR 44: 

§523. Charter School Replication  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education LR 39:1432 (June 2013), 
amended LR 39:3250 (December 2013), LR 43:308 (February 
2017), repealed LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Charter School Contract for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools 

§701. Charter School Contract with BESE 
A. Following charter application approval by BESE, 

approved nonprofit corporations must complete pre-opening 
requirements developed by the department. 

B. The department may condition the execution of the 
charter contract or the opening of a school on completion of 
one or more pre-opening requirements. 

C. The charter school contract shall represent the legal 
agreement between BESE and the charter operator, which 
defines the rights and responsibilities of the parties. 

D. The charter school contract shall define the 
performance standards to which the charter school will be 
held accountable and the general terms and conditions under 
which the charter school will operate. The charter school 
contract template shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. provisions regarding the establishment of the 
charter school; 

2. the operation of the charter school; 
3. charter school financial matters; 
4. charter school personnel; 
5. charter term, renewal and revocation; and 
6. other provisions determined necessary by BESE. 

E. The charter school contract shall also include exhibits 
that provide detailed information about the terms and 
conditions under which the school will operate. 

F. Each contract entered into by BESE for the operation 
of a charter school shall contain provisions set forth in a 
standard contract template; however, BESE shall not be 
precluded from allowing for provisions that may be specific 
to an individual charter operator. 

G. Any contracts entered into between a charter operator 
and a management organization shall: 
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1. set forth material terms including but not limited to: 
performance evaluation measures; methods of contract 
oversight and enforcement by the charter school board; 
compensation structure and all fees to be paid to the 
management organization; and conditions for contract 
renewal and termination; 

2. contain provisions relative to the submission of 
documents, including but not limited to student records and 
financial information, upon request and in a timely manner. 
The contract shall specify that any documents not provided 
by a management organization to the charter operator must 
be reported by the charter operator to the department. If such 
documents are financial documents, the department shall 
notify BESE and the Office of the Louisiana Legislative 
Auditor. Failure to comply with requests for documents may 
render the management organization ineligible to contract 
with any BESE-authorized charter school as a management 
organization for up to five years. 

H. Contracts between charter operators and management 
organizations may be reviewed by the department to ensure 
compliance with the provisions of Subsection D of this 
Section. Any contracts entered into between charter 
operators for the provision of services shall require an 
assurance statement signed by the presidents of the charter 
operators’ board of directors to be submitted to the 
department. The assurance statement shall indicate that both 
parties have complied with the provisions of Subsection D of 
this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 38:751 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012), LR 38:3118 (December 
2012), LR 39:3065 (November 2013), amended LR 44: 

Chapter 9. Opening of Charter School 
§901. Timeline for Opening of BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. A BESE-authorized charter school shall begin 

operation by not later than 24 months after the final approval 
of the charter at a BESE meeting, or upon notification to 
BESE if opening additional approved charter schools 
pursuant to §519 of this bulletin, unless such charter school 
is engaged in desegregation compliance issues and, 
therefore, must begin operation by not later than 36 months. 
However, upon request, BESE may extend the time period 
within which any charter school must begin operation. 

B. If a charter school fails to begin operation within the 
time periods set forth in §901.A, the charter for that school 
shall be automatically revoked although a new charter may 
be proposed in a subsequent application cycle. 

C. A BESE-authorized charter school shall not begin 
operation sooner than eight months after approval of the 
charter school has been granted, unless BESE or the state 
superintendent agrees to a lesser time period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:870 (March 2011), LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 
38:751 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012), 
amended LR 39:1433 (June 2013), LR 44: 

Chapter 11. Ongoing Review of Charter Schools 
§1101. Evaluation for BESE-Authorized Charter 

Schools 
A. ... 
B. The performance of type 2, type 4, and type 5 charter 

schools will be reviewed and/or evaluated annually in the 
following categories: 

1. academic performance; 
2. financial performance; and 
3. organizational performance. 

C. BESE shall approve a charter school performance 
compact that will articulate the specific criteria the 
Department of Education will use to annually evaluate the 
academic, financial, and organizational performance of 
BESE-authorized charter schools. As necessary, the 
Department of Education may revise the charter school 
performance compact, subject to BESE approval of all 
material changes. All criteria used in the charter school 
performance compact shall correspond to one of the 
categories listed above.  

D. In measuring the organizational and financial 
performance of schools as part of the charter school 
performance compact, charter schools will be given one of 
the following ratings: 

1. meets all expectations; 
2. meets most expectations; 
3. does not meet expectations. 

E. The charter school performance compact may include 
other supporting evidence to be included in evaluating 
school performance.  

F. BESE shall receive a report on the review of type 2, 
type 4, and type 5 charter schools not later than January of 
each year.  

1. Each charter school will be subject to regular site 
visits, monitoring, and contract, school policies, and data 
review on a schedule established by the Department of 
Education. 

2. For a charter school with a renewal term of six or 
more years, the department will conduct an in-depth review 
and evaluation of the charter school, equivalent to a renewal 
review, at least once every five years to measure the charter 
school’s performance as measured by the charter school 
performance compact. The department shall present such 
review and evaluation to BESE at a regular meeting and 
provide an opportunity for BESE to take appropriate action 
or impose meaningful consequences, if necessary, as 
provided for in this bulletin.  

G. Academic Performance 
1. Academic performance is the primary measure of 

school quality. BESE shall use the state's assessment and 
accountability programs as objective and verifiable measures 
of student achievement and school performance. Student 
performance is the primary indicator of school quality; 
therefore, BESE will heavily factor contract extensions and 
renewal decisions on a school's achievement of the student 
performance standards. 

G.2. - H.3. … 
a. monitor external conditions encountered by 

charter operators that, if not addressed, could render the 
school financially vulnerable; and  
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b. identify internal factors that could lead to 
weaknesses or challenges in the financial operations of an 
operator. 

H.4. - H.7. … 
I. Organizational Performance 

1. BESE shall evaluate a charter school's 
organizational performance based on the Department of 
Education's oversight and monitoring of the charter school's 
compliance with and performance of statutory, regulatory, 
reporting, and contractual obligations, including R.S. 
17:3972, which provides that the best interests of at-risk 
pupils shall be the overriding consideration in implementing 
the provisions of charter law. 

2. BESE's organizational performance evaluation of 
each charter school shall be based on, but not limited to data 
and information in the following areas: special education 
and ELL program; student enrollment; student discipline; 
health and safety; governance; and facilities  

3. The charter school performance compact shall 
articulate the specific criteria the Department of Education 
will use to evaluate organizational performance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:1124 
(April 2011), amended LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 38:751 
(March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012), amended 
LR 38:3118 (December 2012), LR 39:1433 (June 2013), LR 
39:3065 (November 2013), amended LR 40:1322 (July 2014), LR 
44: 

§1103. Alternate Extension and Renewal Standards for 

Certain BESE-Authorized Charter Schools 
A. BESE may approve alternate extension and renewal 

standards for a charter school serving a unique student 
population or populations, or for a charter school that is not 
included in the Louisiana School and District Accountability 
System provided that: 

1. the department determines that the school primarily 
serves a special or non-traditional student population or 
populations and mission, or the school is not included in the 
Louisiana School and District Accountability System;  

2. the alternate extension and renewal standards are 
set forth in a framework approved by BESE; and 

3. the alternate extension and renewal standards 
include specific academic performance criteria.  

B. The department shall develop the alternate extension 
and renewal standards framework and shall engage with 
charter schools requesting use of such framework to 
determine the specific criteria to be included in the 
framework to be proposed for approval by BESE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1366 (July 2008), 
amended LR 40:1322 (July 2014), LR 44: 

§1105. Intervention Process for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. The charter school performance compact may include 

an intervention process that articulates the steps the 
Department of Education may take should a school fall out 
of compliance with requirements outlined in the charter

school performance compact, law, or BESE policy. The 
stages of the intervention process shall include, at a 
minimum: 

1. … 
2. notice of concern. If the Department of Education 

receives a verified complaint or if regular oversight 
generates significant concerns or questions, a school will 
receive a notice of concern. The notice of concern will 
contain specific actions and due dates required to remedy the 
concern. Upon remedying the concern the school will return 
to good standing. One or more notices of concern may lead 
to increased oversight by the Department of Education; 

3. notice of breach. For significant, intentional, or 
repeated non-compliance with requirements outlined in the 
charter school performance compact, law, or BESE policy, 
or if a school fails to correct a notice of concern, the school 
will be issued a notice of breach that will contain specific 
actions and due dates required to remedy the breach. The 
Department of Education will monitor the implementation of 
the steps required to cure the breach. Once a school has 
fulfilled the notice of breach requirements, the school will 
return to good standing. One or more notices of breach may 
lead to increased oversight by the Department of Education; 

4. revocation review. Upon failure to meet the 
requirements specified in the notice of breach, in instances 
of ongoing and significant concerns, or when the safety, 
health, or welfare of students is threatened, the department 
may initiate a revocation review. The review may include 
additional visits to the school or an in-depth audit to assess 
financial and/or organizational health. Findings from the 
revocation review will determine whether the Department of 
Education shall commence revocation proceedings or 
whether the school will be granted a new or revised notice of 
breach. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 39:1435 (June 2013), 
amended LR 44: 

Chapter 13. Charter Term 
§1303. Extension Review for BESE-Authorized Charter 

Schools 
A. ... 
B. Each type 2, type 4, and type 5 charter school's 

extension review shall be used to determine if the school 
will receive a one-year extension, as follows. 

1. Each charter school shall be reviewed based on 
academic, financial, and organizational performance data 
collected by the Department of Education as provided for in 
the charter school performance compact in order to provide 
relevant information to BESE in making an extension 
determination.  

2. For the 2018 and beyond extension processes, in 
order to be eligible for extension: 

a. a turnaround school, qualified to receive a letter 
grade of “T” per Bulletin 111, §1105, school has  
 (i.) earned a letter grade of “D” or higher 
based on performance data from the school’s third year of 
operation; or  
 (ii). earned a progress index equivalent to a 
letter grade of “A” based on performance data from the 
school’s third year of operation.  
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b. a non-turnaround school shall have earned a 
letter grade of “D” or higher based on performance data 
from the school’s third year of operation; 

c. a school approved by BESE to be evaluated using 
an alternate framework pursuant to §1103 of this bulletin 
shall have met the standards for extension provided for in 
such approved framework.  

3. For the 2017 extension process, in addition to the 
2017 school performance score and letter grade, the 
department shall calculate a school performance score and 
letter grade for each charter school being considered for 
extension based on the formula that will be utilized for the 
2018 school performance score and letter grade formula. The 
school performance score and letter grade that result in the 
better outcome for the charter school shall be considered by 
the department and BESE for extension purposes. 

4. The state superintendent shall recommend that 
BESE extend the charter for any charter school meeting the 
extension eligibility criteria above, unless the charter school 
has significant, intentional, or repeated non-compliance with 
financial or organizational requirements outlined in the 
charter school performance compact, in which case the state 
superintendent may recommend that BESE allow the charter 
to expire at the conclusion of the school’s fourth year of 
operation. 

5. If a charter school has not earned a letter grade in 
its third year of operation, or if the charter school fails to 
meet any of the standards set forth in Paragraph B.2 of this 
Section, or if the charter school has one or more outstanding 
issues or deficiencies related to organizational or financial 
performance, BESE may, at the superintendent’s 
recommendation, grant the school a one-year probationary 
extension that may include conditions or other required 
actions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:2387 (August 2011), LR 38:751 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012), amended LR 38:3118 
(December 2012), LR 39:1435 (June 2013), LR 39:3065 
(November 2013), LR 40:1322 (July 2014), LR 41:1264 (July 
2015), LR 44: 

Chapter 15. Charter Renewal 
§1501. Renewal of Charter 

A. … 
B No charter shall be renewed unless the charter can 

demonstrate, at a minimum, using standardized test scores, 
improvement in the academic performance of students over 
the term of the charter school's existence. For BESE-
authorized charter schools, such improvement shall be 
evaluated by the department using appropriate data and the 
standards for renewal provided for in this chapter. 

C. A charter may be renewed for additional periods of 
not less than three nor more than 10 years after thorough 
review by the approving chartering authority of the charter 
school's operations and compliance with charter 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 37:2388 (August 2011), LR 

38:751 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012), 
amended LR 38:3118 (December 2012) LR 44: 

§1502. BESE Processes for Charter Renewal 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 38:3119 (December 2012), 
repealed LR 44:  

§1503. BESE Processes for Charter Renewal 

(Formerly §§1502 and 1503) 
A. For each BESE-authorized charters school in the final 

year of operation under its current charter term, the state 
superintendent shall make a recommendation to BESE as to 
whether the charter should be renewed, and if so, the length 
of the proposed renewal term. 

B. A BESE-authorized charter school may be renewed at 
the discretion of BESE if all requirements set forth in law 
and policy for the renewal of a charter have been met. 

C. The process for renewing a school charter shall be 
based on a thorough review of the charter school's academic, 
financial, and organizational performance as provided for in 
the charter school performance compact. 

D. BESE will rely on data from the state’s assessment 
and accountability program as objective and verifiable 
measures of student achievement and school performance. 
Student performance is the primary indicator of school 
quality; therefore, BESE will heavily factor each charter 
school’s student performance data in all renewal decisions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 37:2388 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), LR 
38:3119 (December 2012), LR 39:1436 (June 2013), LR 39:3066 
(November 2013), LR 40:1323 (July 2014), LR 41:1264 (July 
2015), LR 44: 

§1505. Eligibility for Renewal for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools (Formerly §1503.B) 
A. For initial renewals during the 2018 and beyond 

renewal processes, a BESE-authorized charter school 
receiving a letter grade of “F” in the prior academic year will 
not be eligible for renewal, unless one of these conditions 
are met: 

1. the charter school is a school approved by BESE to 
be evaluated using alternate renewal standards pursuant to 
§1103 of this bulletin and has met such alternate standards; 
or 

2. the school is a turnaround charter school that 
qualified to receive a letter grade of “T” per Bulletin 111, 
§1105 and has earned a progress index equivalent to a letter 
grade of “A.” 

B. For subsequent renewals during the 2018 and beyond 
renewal processes, a BESE-authorized charter school 
receiving a letter grade of “D” or “F” in the prior academic 
year will not be eligible for renewal, unless one of these 
conditions are met: 

1. the charter school is a school approved by BESE to 
be evaluated using alternate renewal standards pursuant to 
§1103 of this bulletin and has met such alternate standards; 
or 
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2. the charter school has a current letter grade of “D,” 
or an equivalent SPS and: 

a. has received a letter grade of “C” or an 
equivalent SPS for more than half of the letter grades 
received during the charter’s current term and the final letter 
grade received in charter school’s prior term; or 

b. has earned a progress index equivalent to a letter 
grade of “A” in the most recent year and for more than half 
of the progress indices received during the charter’s current 
term and the final progress index received during the charter 
school’s prior term.  
 i. For years in which the school does not earn a 
progress index, a progress index may be calculated using the 
available data for that year. 

C. If, in the state superintendent’s judgment, the non-
renewal of a charter school that does not meet the criteria for 
renewal in its initial or subsequent charter term would likely 
require many students to attend lower performing schools, 
upon the state superintendent’s recommendation, BESE may 
renew the charter. Such renewal may include conditions to 
be incorporated in the charter school contract that would 
require the charter operator to phase out operation of the 
school over the course of the renewal term. Prior to 
recommending such renewal, the state superintendent must 
demonstrate that efforts to find a new, high-quality operator 
for the school were unsuccessful.  

D. For the 2017 renewal process, in addition to the 2017 
school performance score and letter grade, the department 
shall calculate a school performance score and letter grade 
for each charter school being considered for renewal based 
on the formula that will be utilized for the 2018 school 
performance score and letter grade formula. The school 
performance score and letter grade that result in the better 
outcome for the charter school shall be considered by the 
department and BESE for renewal purposes. 

E. The state superintendent of education may 
recommend a corrective action plan as a condition for 
renewal for any charter school that is eligible for renewal, 
but fails to fully meet any performance expectations of the 
charter school performance compact. The board may make 
the execution of the renewal charter contract contingent 
upon the completion of all or some of the actions required by 
the corrective action plan. The board may also direct the 
department to include all or some of the actions required by 
the corrective action plan to be incorporated into the charter 
contract so that failure to complete corrective actions may 
serve as grounds for revocation. 

F. A recommendation for non-renewal may also include 
a recommendation that a new charter provider operate the 
school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:479 (March 2010), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 37:2388 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), 
amended LR 38:3119 (December 2012), LR 39:1436 (June 2013), 
LR 39:3066 (November 2013), LR 40:1323 (July 2014), LR 
41:1264 (July 2015), amended LR 44: 

§1507. Renewal Term Length for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools (Formerly §1503.C) 
A. For each charter school meeting the eligibility criteria 

for renewal in §1503 of this bulletin, the state superintendent 
shall recommend that BESE renew of the charter for a 
specified number of years as provided for in Subsection C of 
this section, unless the charter school has significant, 
intentional, or repeated non-compliance with financial or 
organizational requirements outlined in the charter school 
performance compact, in which case the state superintendent 
may recommend that BESE allow the charter to expire at the 
conclusion of the school’s current charter term. 

B. For those charter schools the state superintendent 
recommends for renewal, the state superintendent shall 
recommend a renewal term length as follows: 

1. the state superintendent shall recommend a 
minimum renewal term length based on the charter school’s 
current letter grade; and 

2. the state superintendent may recommend a term of 
years longer than the minimum renewal term length through 
the optional addition of one or more years to the minimum 
renewal term length in recognition of the charter school’s 
financial and organizational performance as provided for in 
the charter school performance compact over the term of the 
school’s current charter. 

C. The state superintendent shall recommend renewal 
term lengths in accordance with the table below. 

 

Current 
Letter 
Grade 

Minimum 
Term 

Length 

Potential Additional Years 
(Based on Organizational and Financial 

Performance Over Current Term) 

A 

6 Years 

“Does Not Meet 
Expectations” in any 
year 

No additional years 

 

“Meets All” and/or 
“Meets Most” 
Expectations all years 

≤ 2 Years 

“Meets All 
Expectations” all years 

≤ 4 Years 

B 

5 Years 

“Does Not Meet 
Expectations” in any 
year 

No additional years 

 

“Meets All” and/or 
“Meets Most” 
Expectations all years 

≤ 1 Year 

“Meets All 
Expectations” all years 

≤ 2 Years 

C 4 Years No additional years 

D, F or no 
letter grade 

3 Years No additional years 

 

D. Notwithstanding the above: 
1. the state superintendent may recommend a renewal 

term that is up to two years shorter than the minimum term 
length specified above, which shall be no shorter than three 
years in any case, for a charter school: 

a. where fewer than 50 percent of the school’s 
enrolled grades are testable under state accountability; or 

b. that has significant, intentional, or repeated non-
compliance with financial or organizational requirements 
outlined in the charter school performance compact. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:479 (March 2010), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 37:2388 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), 
amended LR 38:3119 (December 2012), LR 39:1436 (June 2013), 
LR 39:3066 (November 2013), LR 40:1323 (July 2014), LR 
41:1264 (July 2015), LR 44: 

§1509. Automatic Renewal of BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools (Formerly §1503.G) 
A. A charter school which has met or exceeded for the 

three preceding school years the benchmarks established for 
it in accordance with the school and district accountability 
system, has demonstrated growth in student academic 
achievement for the three proceeding school years, and has 
had no significant audit findings during the term of the 
charter agreement shall be deemed a high-performing 
school, and such school's charter shall be automatically 
renewed. 

B. A BESE-authorized charter school that meets the 
following conditions shall be automatically renewed and 
shall be exempted from the renewal process requirements 
listed in this Section, as appropriate: 

1. has received a letter grade of “A” or “B” or an 
equivalent SPS for the previous three years; 

2. has demonstrated growth in student academic 
achievement as measured by a current progress index 
equivalent to a letter grade of “A”; 

3. has received a “meets all expectations” or “meets 
most expectations” designation for organizational 
performance according to the charter school performance 
compact for the three previous years;  

4. has received a “meets all expectations” or “meets 
most expectations” designation for financial performance 
according to the charter school performance compact for the 
three previous years; and  

5. has no outstanding notices of concern or breach. 
C. The state superintendent shall determine the 

automatic renewal term length according to the terms 
specified in Subsection C of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:479 (March 2010), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 37:2388 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), 
amended LR 38:3119 (December 2012), LR 39:1436 (June 2013), 
LR 39:3066 (November 2013), LR 40:1323 (July 2014), LR 
41:1264 (July 2015) LR 44: 

Chapter 16. School Closure 
§1601. Closure of BESE-Authorized Charter Schools  

A. In the event a BESE-authorized charter school closes 
permanently for any reason, the school shall adhere to the 
school closure procedures developed by the Department of 
Education. 

B. The charter board shall have direct responsibility for 
carrying out the dissolution of the school and disposition of 
assets in accordance with applicable law and policy.  

C. Once the school has ceased operations or the charter 
board or BESE has taken board action to close the school, 
whichever occurs first, the department shall have authority 
to supervise, oversee, or direct the dissolution of the charter 
school and the disposition of assets of the charter school, and 
the charter school shall:  

1. make no disposition of equipment and cash on hand 
attributable to state public funding without written 
permission from the department; 

2. transfer or dispose of assets in accordance with 
§2509 of this bulletin; 

3. designate a representative who shall retain 
responsibility for the security of and access to all charter 
school records; 

4. provide the means and capability to access charter 
school records, including student records, to the department, 
as designated in writing, and as permitted by law; 

5. fully cooperate with the department, who shall have 
unrestricted and equal access to charter school records, 
including student records, as permitted by law, during the 
period prior to the closure of the charter school;  

6. secure all charter school records, including student 
records, in the possession of the charter school and shall 
grant to the department access to records requested by the 
department, as permitted by law.  

a. Upon taking possession of such records, the 
department shall thereafter fulfill any and all statutory and 
contractual duties concerning the charter school records, 
including the student records which are within the 
department’s possession. 

b. The charter school shall take all reasonable steps 
necessary to collect and assemble in an orderly manner the 
educational records of each student who is or has been 
enrolled in the school so that those records may be 
transmitted to the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and RS 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 39:3067 (November 
2013) LR 43. 

Chapter 19. Amendments to BESE-Authorized 
Charters 

§1901. Charter Amendments 
A. Any modification to the provisions of a school's 

charter contract or proposed charter prior to the execution of 
a charter contract shall constitute an amendment to the 
charter. An amendment may be material or non-material, as 
defined in this bulletin.  

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1369 (July 2008) 
LR 44: 

§1903. Material Amendments for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. A material amendment to a charter contract or 

proposed charter prior to the execution of the charter 
contract is an amendment that makes substantive changes to 
a charter school's governance, operational, or academic 
structure. Material amendments include: 

1. creation of or change in corporate partnership, 
assignment of charter contract, or addition of or changes in 
management organization; 

2. the addition of new grade levels; 
3. changes in student enrollment which result in 

enrollment in excess of 120 percent of the total number of 
students set forth in the school’s charter, as applicable; 
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4. changes in admission requirements other than the 
removal of one or more admission requirements, if 
applicable; 

5. changes in any option expressed in the charter 
contract exhibit with respect to collective bargaining; 

6. changes in LEA status for type 4 charter schools in 
Orleans Parish pursuant to §2303 of this bulletin;  

7. changes in school location for Type 2 charter 
schools; and 

8. any changes to the charter contract not specifically 
identified as non-material amendments that the state 
superintendent determines to be material changes. 

B. - C. ... 
D. The LDE shall make recommendations to BESE on 

each material amendment request it receives from a charter 
operator that requires BESE approval. 

E. BESE shall delegate authority to the department to 
approve a material amendment regarding the addition of new 
grade levels or changes in student enrollment which result in 
enrollment in excess of 120 percent of the total number of 
students set forth in the school’s charter, for any charter 
school meeting the following conditions, as determined by 
the department: 

1. The charter school has: 
a. a current letter grade of “C” or higher or an 

equivalent SPS, or 
b. a current letter grade of “D” or higher or an 

equivalent SPS, and a progress index equivalent to a letter 
grade of “A”; and 

2. The charter school’s most recent designations for 
financial and organizational performance under the charter 
school performance compact are “Meets Most Expectations” 
or “Meets All Expectations.” 

F. Should the state superintendent deny the charter 
operator’s request pursuant to Subsection E of this section, 
the charter operator may subsequently seek approval from 
BESE. 

G. When time is of the essence and circumstances 
require immediate consideration of a material amendment 
request, a committee composed of the state superintendent, 
BESE president, and School Innovation and Turnaround 
Committee shall have interim authority to consider material 
amendment requests. All approvals or denials of material 
amendment requests pursuant to this Subsection shall be 
ratified by BESE at the following BESE meeting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1369 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:873 (March 2011), LR 37:2389 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), 
amended LR 38:3120 (December 2012), LR 39:3067 (November 
2013), LR 40:1324 (July 2014), LR 43:635 (April 2017), LR 44: 

§1905. Non-Material Amendments for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools  
A. … 

1. changes to the name, mailing address, telephone, 
and/or facsimile number of the charter school; 

2. the removal of one or more admission requirements; 
3. changes to the designated contact person for the 

charter operator or changes to the contact person located at 
the charter school site; and 

4. changes in any option expressed in the charter 
contract exhibits with respect to the Teachers' Retirement 
System of Louisiana. 

B. The charter operator shall provide the Department of 
Education with written notification of a non-material 
amendment to its charter within five days of board approval 
in compliance with all requirements set forth by the 
Department of Education. A non-material amendment will 
be effective following notification to the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:873 (March 2011), LR 39:3068 (November 2013), 
amended LR 40:1324 (July 2014), LR 44: 

Chapter 21. Charter School Governance 
§2101. Board of Director Composition 

A. - C. ... 
D. Board of Director Composition for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
1. The board of directors of each charter operator shall 

consist of no fewer than seven members. Should a board 
have fewer than seven members due to the resignation or 
other loss of one or more board members, the board shall 
have 90 calendar days after such loss to appoint one or more 
replacements.  

2. - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:873 (March 2011), LR 37:1377 (May 2011) LR 
44:  

§2107. Prohibitions 
A. - H. ... 
I. A charter school shall not discriminate among 

potential employees, or pupils in violation of any state or 
federal law. A charter school shall recruit, employ, and train 
teachers, administrators, and other employees without regard 
to race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. Race, color, 
religion, sex, and national origin shall not constitute bona 
fide occupational qualifications. Proficiency in a foreign 
language may constitute a bona fide occupational 
qualification for a teacher who spends more than half of his 
daily instruction time providing instruction in or teaching in 
a foreign language.  

J. A charter school shall not hire a person who has been 
convicted of or has pled nolo contendere to a crime listed in 
R.S. 15:587.1(C) as a teacher, substitute teacher, school bus 
operator, substitute school bus operator, janitor, or a school 
employee who might reasonably be expected to be placed in 
a position of supervisory or disciplinary authority over 
school children unless approved in writing by a district judge 
of the parish and the district attorney. This statement of 
approval shall be kept on file at all times by the school and 
shall be produced upon request to any law enforcement 
officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1371 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:874 (March 2011), LR 44: 
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Chapter 23. Charter School Funding 
§2301. State Funding 

A. - B. ... 
C. For the purposes of funding, and unless otherwise 

permitted by law, each type 1, type 3, and type 4 charter 
school shall be considered an approved public school of the 
local school board entering into the charter agreement. 

D. Type 5 charter schools shall receive a per pupil 
amount each year pursuant to formulas developed by the 
RSD which may include differentiated funding for certain 
students, including students identified as being eligible for 
special education services, and based on the October 1 
membership count of the charter school and any other 
membership count authorized pursuant to the Minimum 
Foundation Program formula adopted each year.  

E. Pursuant to R.S. 17:10.1, for a school system from 
which one or more schools have been transferred to the 
recovery school district pursuant to R.S. 17:10.7, the local 
school board shall adopt a policy that establishes a process 
to determine the district-level funding allocation based upon 
student characteristics or needs, as determined by the local 
school board, to distribute the total amount of minimum 
foundation program formula funds allocated to the local 
school board and to Type 1, 1B, 3, 3B, 4, and 5 charter 
schools that are located within the geographic boundaries of 
the local school system. 

F. - G.2. … 
3. The department may withhold and retain from state 

funds otherwise allocated to a local public school system 
through the Minimum Foundation Program an amount equal 
to 1 quarter of 1 percent of the fee amount charged to a type 
3B charter school for administrative costs incurred by the 
department for providing financial oversight and monitoring 
of a type 3B charter school acting as its own LEA. 

4. The department may withhold and retain from state 
funds otherwise allocated to a local public school system 
through the Minimum Foundation Program an amount equal 
to 1 quarter of 1 percent of the fee amount charged to a type 
1, 3, 3B, or 4 charter school considered its own LEA 
pursuant to §2303 of this Bulletin for administrative costs 
incurred by the department for providing financial oversight 
and monitoring. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1371 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:874 (March 2011), LR 39:3250 (December 2013), 
LR 40:1324 (July 2014), LR 42:549 (April 2016), LR 42:1019 
(July 2016), LR 43:308 (February 2017), LR 43:636 (April 2017), 
LR 44: 

§2303. Local Education Agency (LEA) Status and 

Federal Funding 
A. ... 
B. Type 1, 3, 3B, and 4 Charter School LEAs 

1. - 2.a.vii. ... 
b. For type 1 and 3 charter schools in Orleans 

Parish, the local superintendent shall implement a process to 
identify those schools requesting to be considered their own 
LEAs. LEA status shall commence on July 1 following 
receipt by the state superintendent of written notification 
from the local superintendent no later than the preceding 
April 1. Such written notification shall include:  

B.2.b.i. - C. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1372 (July 2008), 
amended LR 39:3251 (December 2013), LR 40:1324 (July 2014), 
LR 43:309 (February 2017), LR 43:636 (April 2017) LR 44: 

Chapter 25. Charter School Fiscal Responsibilities 
§2501. Qualified and Competent Business Professional 

A. - C. ... 
D. All qualified and competent business professionals 

must acquire Certified Louisiana School Business 
Administrator (CLSBA) certification or Certified Louisiana 
Charter School Business Administrator (CLCSBA) 
certification by the Louisiana Association of School 
Business Officials (LASBO) within seven years of the first 
date of hire as a qualified and competent business 
professional by any BESE-authorized charter school and 
maintain certification while employed as a qualified and 
competent business professional. A Louisiana CPA license 
may be substituted for the CLSBA certification. The CPA 
license must remain in active status while employed as a 
qualified and competent business professional. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1372 (July 2008), 
amended LR 38:3120 (December 2012), LR 39:1437 (June 2013), 
LR 39:3068 (November 2013), LR 44: 

§2509. Assets of BESE-Authorized Charter Schools 
A. - B. … 
C. Charter operators shall maintain an inventory of all 

assets, including records of any assets acquired with any 
private funds. Inventories of assets must be audited annually 
and maintained consistent with the requirements set forth in 
Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting and Uniform 

Governmental Handbook. 
D. If a charter operator's charter is revoked, non-

renewed, surrendered or the school otherwise ceases to 
operate, or the charter school fails to open and serve 
students, all assets and cash on hand shall be transferred or 
disposed of as authorized or directed by the department 
pursuant to §1601 of this bulletin. 

1. Assets or cash on hand attributable to state public 
funds shall be transferred to BESE or disposed of, as 
authorized or directed by the department.  

2. All assets and cash on hand attributable to federal 
funding shall be returned to the appropriate division within 
the U.S. Department of Education or the Louisiana 
Department of Education, or to any other federal funding 
source, except as specifically permitted by BESE pursuant to 
a written agreement.  

3. All assets and cash on hand attributable to private 
funds shall remain the property of the charter operator, if the 
inventory or records of the charter operator demonstrate that 
the assets were purchased with private funds. If the records 
fail to clearly establish whether a particular asset was 
purchased with public funds or private funds, ownership of 
the asset shall revert to BESE. 

E. If the charter school operates a charter school that 
results from the conversion of a pre-existing traditional 
public school, the charter operator shall manage any school 
fund maintained by the pre-existing school pursuant to R.S. 
17:414.3 and any amounts therein prior to the charter 
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school’s conversion to a charter school in accordance with 
the provisions of R.S. 17:414.3 and as directed by the 
department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3991, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1373 (July 2008), 
amended LR 39:3252 (December 2013), LR 44: 

Chapter 27. Charter School Recruitment and 
Enrollment 

§2701. Students Eligible to Attend BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. - A.5. … 

6. Nothing in this policy shall prohibit the admission 
or readmission to school of a student who meets the 
definition of homeless under the federal McKinney-Vento 
Act (42 U.S.C. 11431 et seq.). 

B. - C. … 
D. Each Type 4 or 5 elementary and middle charter 

school, may request from and be granted by BESE the 
authority to give preference in its enrollment procedures to 
students residing within the neighborhood immediately 
surrounding the school. The geographic boundaries of the 
neighborhood immediately surrounding such school shall be 
determined by BESE. The recovery school district may grant 
or assign preference in its unified enrollment process, 
described in §2709 of this bulletin, to students residing 
within geographic boundaries immediately surrounding each 
school, as determined by the recovery school district. Type 5 
charter schools shall not reserve more than 50 percent of 
spots in each grade level served for such enrollment 
preference. 

E. Notwithstanding the residency eligibility and 
verification requirements above, upon approval of the state 
superintendent, a charter school may enroll a student without 
such documentation who has been displaced due to a 
federally-declared disaster in Louisiana or surrounding 
states. As a condition of enrollment, the parent or legal 
custodian must provide a form signed by the parent or legal 
custodian of the student that must attest to the following: 

1. student’s name; 
2. name of parent or legal custodian; 
3. current address of parent or legal custodian;  
4. statement indicating that the student is displaced 

from another school due to a federally-declared disaster; and 
5. name of the school in which the student was 

previously enrolled prior to the federally-declared disaster. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:10.5, R.S. 
17:10.7, and R.S. 17:1990. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1373 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:875 (March 2011), LR 37:2390 (August 2011), LR 
38:752 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012), 
amended LR 42:1018 (July 2016), LR 43:309 (February 2017), LR 
44: 

§2703. Enrollment Capacity for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. A charter school shall not enroll more than 120 

percent of the total number of students that it is authorized to 
enroll pursuant to its approved charter contract unless 
approved to do so pursuant to §1902 of this bulletin. 

B. … 
C. For type 5 charter schools participating in a unified 

enrollment system administered by the recovery school 
district, the charter contract may permit the maximum 
number of enrolled students per grade to be determined each 
year in accordance with procedures and timelines established 
by the RSD. 

D. In the event of a federally-declared disaster in 
Louisiana or surrounding states, the state superintendent 
may approve a charter school to exceed 120 percent of the 
total number of students that it is authorized to enroll 
pursuant to its approved charter solely for the purpose of 
enrolling students who have been displaced from their 
homes or are unable to attend the school in which they were 
previously enrolled or zoned to attend. The state 
superintendent shall provide a report to BESE at its next 
regularly scheduled meeting outlining each charter school 
granted an increase in its enrollment capacity pursuant to 
this Paragraph. Students enrolled pursuant to this Paragraph 
shall be permitted to remain enrolled in the charter school 
for the remainder of the school year. Parents or legal 
custodians found to have misrepresented their displacement 
status shall be required to return to the school in which the 
student was previously enrolled or zoned to attend. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1374 (July 2008), 
amended LR 43:310 (February 2017), LR 44: 

§2705. Admission Requirements for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. … 
B. Admission requirements imposed by a school must be 

set forth in the charter school's approved charter contract and 
shall be specific and shall include a system for admission 
decisions which precludes exclusion of pupils based on race, 
religion, gender, ethnicity, national origin, intelligence level 
as ascertained by an intelligence quotient examination, or 
identification as a child with an exceptionality as defined in 
R.S. 17:1942(B). Such admission requirements may include, 
however, specific requirements related to a school's mission 
such as auditions for schools with a performing arts mission 
or proficiency in a foreign language for schools with a 
language immersion mission. Any charter school which 
began operation prior to July 1, 2012, and which 
incorporated achievement of a certain academic record as 
part of its admissions requirements may continue to utilize 
such admission requirements. No charter school beginning 
operation on or after July 1, 2012 may incorporate the 
achievement of a certain academic record as part of its 
admission requirements. 

C. Admission requirements must be approved by BESE, 
either through the approval of the initial charter proposal, or 
through material amendment to an existing charter contract, 
as provided for in §1903 of this bulletin. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1374 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:875 (March 2011), LR 38:3120 (December 2012), 
LR 44: 
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§2709. Enrollment of Students, Lottery, and Waitlist in 

BESE-Authorized Schools 
A. - B. … 
C. A charter school shall admit no student during the 

school's designated application period, but shall wait until 
the period has ended. 

D. - I. … 
J. Type 5 charter schools transferred to the RSD 

pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5 or R.S. 17:10.7 and type 3B charter 
schools shall comply with any unified enrollment system 
established by the RSD for the parish or region where the 
charter school is located. The RSD may create any policies 
and procedures to implement a unified enrollment system 
not prohibited by this Chapter, and may conduct one or more 
central lotteries to enroll students at participating schools, 
and enroll students applying or requesting transfers after the 
application period has ended throughout the year, manage 
student transfers, and student expulsions.  

K. Upon request of a charter operator, the department 
may approve an enrollment preference for students 
matriculating into eighth grade or below between two 
BESE-authorized charter schools operated by the same 
charter operator.  

L. All BESE-authorized charter schools (type 2, type 4, 
and type 5 charter schools) physically located in Orleans 
Parish shall participate in the unified enrollment system and 
expulsion process established by the recovery school district 
for Orleans Parish, with the exception of virtual charter 
schools, and shall continue to participate in the unified 
enrollment system and expulsion process upon the 
management of its transfer to the Orleans Parish School 
Board pursuant to 17:10.7.1. The department of education 
shall have discretion to determine on an individual basis 
whether to require virtual charter schools physically located 
in Orleans Parish to participate in the unified enrollment 
system and expulsion process. BESE-authorized charter 
schools participating in the unified enrollment system and 
expulsion process may retain admission requirements, 
geographic preferences, sibling preferences, and disciplinary 
regulations unrelated to expulsions, if authorized by law or 
BESE policy. BESE shall retain authority over the approval 
of amendments to charter contracts for such type 2 and type 
4 charter schools for adjustments to grade levels served and 
enrollment projections. Schools participating in the unified 
enrollment and expulsion process shall not be permitted to 
maintain student waitlists. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1374 (July 2008), 
amended LR 38:753 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1395 
(June 2012), amended LR 38:3120 (December 2012), LR 39:1021 
(April 2013), LR 39:1437 (June 2013), LR 39:3252 (December 
2013), LR 41:1265 (July 2015), LR 43:310 (February 2017), LR 
44: 

§2711. Enrollment Preferences for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. Students seeking enrollment to a charter school that 

was created through the conversion, merger, or turnaround 
of a pre-existing school who were enrolled at the pre-
existing school shall be given preference over all other 
applicants and the applications procedure shall be 

established in a fashion that provides ample opportunity for 
such students to exercise the right to preferential admission. 

B. Students previously enrolled in the charter school 
shall be given preference over all other applicants, and shall 
maintain enrollment or be automatically admitted following 
the charter school's application period. Students attending a 
pre-kindergarten or early childhood program operated by a 
charter school may be considered to have been previously 
enrolled at the charter school for the purpose of this 
paragraph. Requests by charter schools to give preference 
for students who attend a publicly-funded program at no cost 
to the student shall be automatically approved by the 
department for BESE-authorized charter schools, or the 
charter school's authorizer for other types of charter schools. 
For a charter school that requests to apply this preference for 
students who were admitted to a pre-kindergarten or early 
childhood program that utilizes admission requirements 
and/or charges tuition for some or all of its students, the use 
of the preference shall be subject to the approval of the 
department for BESE-authorized charter schools, or the 
charter school's authorizer for other types of charter schools. 
In such a case, the department or the charter school's 
authorizer, as applicable, shall require the charter school to 
set enrollment targets that ensure the charter school provides 
equity of access for at-risk applicants to its kindergarten 
classes. 

C. Students seeking enrollment to a type 5 charter school 
that is assigned a facility formerly occupied by a pre-existing 
public school may be given preference and may be 
automatically admitted following the charter school's 
application period, if authorized by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:1375 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:875 (March 2011), LR 39:1022 (April 2013), LR 
44: 

Chapter 28. Transportation 
§2801. Transportation Requirements for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 
A. - A.2. … 
B. Free daily transportation shall include, at a minimum: 

1. whatever transportation is necessary to implement 
any individualized education plan (IEP) for a child with an 
identified exceptionality; 

2. transportation by a vehicle approved for student 
transportation in accordance with BESE Bulletin 119—

Louisiana School Transportation Specifications and 

Procedures or public transportation payments and/or 
reimbursements; 

3. bus stops or pick-up points no further than one mile 
from the place of residency of each child residing within the 
parish, unless the school is located in a large rural parish, in 
which case the state superintendent may grant a waiver for 
this requirement; and 

4. procedures to ensure compliance with R.S. 
14:93.2.1 for children under the age of 10. 

C. Charter operators shall submit school transportation 
plans to the department to ensure compliance with 
applicable laws and policies. The state superintendent shall 
set forth the process for transportation plan submission.  
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D. Charter operators having BESE authorized charter 
schools in operation during the 2015-2016 school year shall 
offer transportation to all eligible students no later than the 
beginning of the 2018-2019 school year. Charter operators 
having BESE authorized charter schools that begin operation 
in the 2016-2017 school year shall offer transportation upon 
opening. 

E. The department shall develop a waiver process to 
exempt from this requirement any type 2 charter schools 
having a unique mission to serve students with 
exceptionalities, virtual schools, or other schools upon which 
this requirement would create a substantial financial burden. 
Such process shall be set forth the state superintendent, who 
shall update the board on any waivers granted. 

F. No later than the beginning of the 2016-2017 school 
year, each type 5 charter school located in Orleans Parish 
shall provide free transportation services for all students 
enrolled in the charter school who reside within Orleans 
Parish and more than 1 mile from the charter school’s 
location, which shall include, at a minimum:  

1. whatever transportation is necessary to implement 
any individualized education plan (IEP) for a child with an 
identified exceptionality, without regard to how far the child 
resides from the charter school; 

2. free transportation by a vehicle approved for 
student transportation in accordance with BESE Bulletin 

119—Louisiana School Transportation Specifications and 

Procedures, for students enrolled in grade 6 or below who 
reside more than 1 mile from the charter school; and 

3. free transportation, free public transportation 
payments and/or reimbursements for all other students not 
included in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this Subsection who reside 
more than 1 mile from the school. 

G. Each charter school operator shall adopt policies and 
procedures or shall make provision in its bus transportation 
service agreement to do all of the following: 

1. prohibit a school bus operator from loading or 
unloading students at school while the bus is in a traffic lane 
of any type of street as defined in R.S. 32:1 and require that 
students be loaded or unloaded on a shoulder, in a school 
parking lot, or at other appropriate off-road location at the 
school as determined by the school governing authority. The 
requirements of this Paragraph shall not apply if the shoulder 
of a municipal road is the only available alternative and the 
municipality has not made the shoulder available by 
designating that area for loading and unloading students 
during designated school zone hours; 

2. prohibit a school bus operator from loading or 
unloading students at or near their homes while the bus is in 
a traffic lane of any type of street as defined in R.S. 32:1 and 
require that students be loaded or unloaded on a shoulder 
unless the governing authority determines that loading or 
unloading on a shoulder is less safe for the student. 
However, if there is no shoulder or if the shoulder is 
determined to be less safe, a school bus operator may load 
and unload a student while the bus is in a lane of traffic but 
only if the bus is in the lane farthest to the right side of the 
road so that there is not a lane of traffic between the bus and 
the right-side curb or other edge of the road; 

3. prohibit a school bus operator from loading or 
unloading a student in a location on a divided highway such 
that a student, in order to walk between the bus and his home 

or school, would be required to cross a roadway of the 
highway on which traffic is not controlled by the visual 
signals on the school bus. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:158, R.S. 17:3981, and 17:3996(B)(37). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:1266 (July 2015), 
amended LR 42:551 (April 2016), LR 44: 

§2805. Parent Volunteers at BESE-Authorized Charter 

Schools 
A. The charter school shall not require, nor condition the 

enrollment, continued enrollment, or receipt of grades on the 
commitment of the student’s parents to provide any number 
of volunteer hours or on otherwise donating volunteer hours 
to the charter school. Any request for parents to commit to 
volunteer hours shall be accompanied by a statement that 
such hours are voluntary and not required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 44: 

Chapter 29. Charter School Staff 
§2901. Employment of Staff at BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. - B. … 
C. The charter operator shall have exclusive authority 

over all employment decisions at the charter school, unless 
delegated to a for-profit management organization, as 
authorized in law and which must be specifically provided 
for in a service provider agreement. Employment practices 
shall be in accordance with all applicable law, including, but 
not limited to, the Louisiana Code of Governmental Ethics. 

D. - F. … 
G. The charter operator shall not employ members of the 

immediate family of a charter board member or the chief 
executive officer or leader of the non-profit organization’s 
school, or schools, in the case of a non-profit organization 
that operates more than one charter school, unless: 

1. the family member was employed for one year 
prior to their family member becoming a charter board 
member or chief executive officer or leader of the charter 
school’s non-profit organization; or 

2. the family member is employed as a school teacher 
and certified to teach or is temporarily authorized to teach 
while pursuing certification and annual disclosure of such 
employee is made as provided for in the Louisiana Code of 
Governmental Ethics. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3997. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1375 (July 2008), 
amended LR 38:3120 (December 2012), LR 44: 

§2905. Criminal History Review 
A. Each charter operator shall request in writing that the 

Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification (LBCI) and 
Information supply information to ascertain whether an 
applicant for employment as a teacher, substitute teacher, 
school bus operator, substitute school bus operator, janitor, 
or any other school employee who might reasonably be 
expected to be placed in a position of supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over school children, has been 
convicted of, or pled nolo contendere to, any one or more of 
the crimes enumerated in R.S. 15:5871.1. 
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1. - 3. … 
B. No person who has been convicted of or has pled nolo 

contendere to a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1 shall be hired 
by a public elementary or secondary school as a teacher, 
substitute teacher, school bus operator, substitute school bus 
operator, janitor, or as any school employee who might 
reasonably be expected to be placed in a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over school children 
unless approved in writing by a district judge of the parish 
and the parish district attorney. 

B.1. - D.1. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1375 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:875 (March 2011), LR 39:3068 (November 2013), 
LR 44: 

§2911. Evaluation and Assessment for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 
A. Each charter operator shall annually evaluate every 

teacher and administrator employed at its charter schools 
using the value-added assessment model and measures of 
student growth as determined BESE pursuant to R.S. 
17:3902(B)(5) and comply with all other such requirements 
specified in R.S. 17: 3997. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3997. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1377 (July 2008), 
amended LR 39:3068 (November 2013), LR 44: 

Chapter 31. Notification Requirements for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools 

§3101. Required Notifications for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. - G. … 

1. For a type 5 charter school, the charter operator 
shall submit a formal plan for the continued operation of the 
school to the state superintendent of education within 10 
days of written notification of the contract’s termination. If 
no plan is received or the plan received is deemed 
inadequate by the state superintendent of education, the 
recovery school district shall have interim authority to 
operate the school until the charter operator resubmits a plan 
deemed acceptable by the superintendent. 

2. Failure of the board to notify the Department of 
Education about loss of the management organization within 
two business days may result in BESE rendering the charter 
operator or a majority of its board members ineligible to 
operate a charter school for up to five years. 

H. The charter operator shall notify the Department of 
Education should the charter operator’s chief executive 
officer or president of the charter school’s governing board 
change. Such notification shall be made within two business 
days of the official board action taken on this matter.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1377 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:876 (March 2011), LR 39:3068 (November 2013), 
LR 44: 

Chapter 33. Compliant Procedures 
§3301. Charter Operator Complaint Procedures for 

BESE-Authorized Charter Schools 
A. - B. … 
C. The department may investigate a parent complaint it 

receives about a charter school authorized by BESE, and the 
charter operator shall provide information requested by the 
department to aid in such investigation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1377 (July 2008), 
amended LR 44: 

Chapter 35. Volunteer Requirements 
§3501. Volunteer Programs 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1377 (July 2008), 
repealed LR 44: 

Chapter 37. Virtual Charter Schools 
§3703. Curriculum in Virtual Charter School  

A. The virtual charter school shall ensure that all course 
content is being used under an appropriate and valid license 
and shall defend, indemnify and hold harmless BESE, the 
department, and the students and parents for any claims of 
non-compliance. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:39 (January 2012), 
amended LR 44: 

Chapter 40. Charter School Autonomy 
§4001. Applicability of State and Local Rules and 

Regulations 
A. Notwithstanding any state law, rule, or regulation to 

the contrary and except as may be otherwise specifically 
provided for in an approved charter, a charter school 
established and operated in accordance with the provisions 
of this Chapter and its approved charter and the school's 
officers and employees shall be exempt from all rules and 
regulations of BESE and those of any local school board that 
are applicable to public schools and to public school officers 
and employees except for the following rules and regulations 
otherwise applicable to public schools regarding: 

1. building maintenance; 
2. facility accessibility; 
3. asbestos detection and abatement; 
4. the sanitary code; 
5. pesticide use and safety; 
6. fire safety; 
7. safe work environments; 
8. the possession and safe use of weapons and 

hazardous materials; 
9. adolescent health initiatives and school health 

centers; 
10. hearing and vision screenings; 
11. immunizations and health records; 
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12. communicable disease prevention; 
13. drug use prevention; 
14. eye safety and the use of protective goggles; 
15. missing children identification procedures; 
16. school and district accountability system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3996. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 44: 

§4003. Applicability of State Laws 
A. Notwithstanding any state law, rule, or regulation to 

the contrary and except as may be otherwise specifically 
provided for in an approved charter, a charter school 
established and operated in accordance with the provisions 
of this Chapter and its approved charter and the school's 
officers and employees shall be exempt from all statutory 
mandates or other statutory requirements that are applicable 
to public schools and to public school officers and 
employees except for the following laws otherwise 
applicable to public schools with the same grades: 

1. school entrance age, R.S. 17:222; 
2. corporal punishment, R.S. 17:416.1(B), and 

suspension of students, R.S. 17:223; 
3. expulsion of students, R.S. 17:224; 
4. attendance reporting, R.S. 17:232; 
5. admission of home study students, R.S. 17:236.2; 
6. unauthorized use of electronic communication 

devices, R.S. 17:239; 
7. smoking, R.S. 17:240; 
8. open meetings, R.S. 42:11 et seq.; 
9. public records, R.S. 44:1 et seq.; 
10. teaching regarding the United States Constitution, 

R.S. 17:261; 
11. teaching regarding the Federalist Papers and the 

Declaration of Independence, R.S. 17:268; 
12. in-service training regarding suicide prevention, 

R.S. 17:437.1; 
13. teaching regarding civics and free enterprise, R.S. 

17:274.1; 
14. teaching regarding sex, R.S. 17:281; 
15. religious liberty of students, R.S. 17:2115 et seq.; 
16. Pupil assessment, R.S. 17:24.4; 
17. any school and district accountability system 

required by law of a public school of similar grade or type; 
18. public bids for the erection, construction, alteration, 

improvement, or repair of a public facility or immovable 
property, Part II of Chapter 10 of Title 38 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950; 

19. Code of Governmental Ethics, R.S. 42:1101 et seq., 
with the exception of R.S. 42:1119 as it applies to any 
person employed by a charter school prior to August 15, 
2003; 

20. electronic communication by an employee at a 
school to a student enrolled at that school, R.S. 17:81(Q); 

21. teaching regarding the state's Safe Haven Law, R.S. 
17:81(R); 

22. inspection and operation of fire safety and 
prevention equipment, R.S. 17:81(S); 

23. teaching regarding dating violence, R.S. 17:81(T); 
24. reporting by a school bus operator employed by the 

governing authority of a public elementary or secondary 
school of his arrest for one or more of the specified offenses 
relative to operating a vehicle, R.S. 17:491.3; 

25. school master plans for supporting student behavior 
and discipline, R.S. 17:252; 

26. data collection system, R.S. 17:3911; 
27. reporting by a school employee employed by the 

governing authority of a public elementary or secondary 
school of his arrest for one or more of the specified offenses 
relative to sexual morality affecting minors, R.S. 17:16, any 
of the crimes provided in R.S. 15:587.1, or any justified 
complaint of child abuse or neglect on file in the central 
registry pursuant to Article 615 of the Children's Code; 

28. seclusion and physical restraint of students with 
exceptionalities, R.S. 17:416.21; 

29. teaching regarding Internet and cell phone safety, 
R.S. 17:280; 

30. instruction on the founding principles of the United 
States of America in American history and civics courses, 
R.S. 17:265; 

31. procedures on bullying pursuant to R.S. 17:416.13; 
32. school crisis management and response plans, R.S. 

17:416.16; 
33. instruction relative to cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and the use of automatic external defibrillators, 
R.S. 17:81(X); 

34. instruction and hotline number posting 
requirements relative to child assault awareness and 
prevention, R.S. 17:81(Y); 

35. deferred compensation plans, R.S. 17:81(Z); 
36. school bus loading and unloading provisions, R.S. 

17:158(J); 
37. student information, R.S. 17:3913 and 3914; 
38. notification of homework assistance services, R.S. 

17:182.1; 
39. prohibits suspension or expulsion of students in 

grades prekindergarten through five, R.S. 17:416(J); 
40. deaf child's bill of rights, R.S. 17:1960; 
41. instruction in cursive writing, R.S. 17:266; 
42. Louisiana Expectant and Parenting Students Act, 

R.S. 17:221.7; 
43. instruction in litter prevention and awareness, R.S. 

17:267; 
44. administration of medication and exceptions 

thereto, R.S. 17:436.1. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3996. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 44: 

§4005. Other Statutory Requirements 
A. A charter school shall comply with state and federal 

laws and regulations otherwise applicable to public schools 
with respect to civil rights and individuals with disabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3996. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  
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1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Poverty Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, amendment, or repeal. All Poverty Impact 
Statements shall be in writing and kept on file in the state 
agency which has adopted, amended, or repealed a Rule in 
accordance with the applicable provisions of the law relating 
to public records. For the purposes of this Section, the word 
“poverty” means living at or below one hundred percent of 
the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No.  

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, December 9, 2017, to Shan N. Davis,

Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy revisions will have no effect on costs 

or savings to the Department of Education (LDE). Proposed 
revisions apply only to those charter schools authorized by 
BESE (type 2, 4 and 5).  There are no changes to the 
application and approval process for locally authorized charter 
schools. The proposed revisions incorporate changes related to 
the proposed new Charter School Performance Compact 
(CSPC), as well as technical edits to provide additional clarity. 
The proposed revisions include: eliminating outdated language 
that was temporary, has been superseded by new law or policy, 
or is no longer applicable for any other reason; ensuring 
consistent terminology throughout; updating performance 
standards for extension, renewal, expansion, and replication to 
align with the new CSPC; clarifying current processes, 
including Type 2 charter appeals, charter school closure, 
charter amendments, transportation plans, and parent 
volunteering; providing for an in-depth review of each charter 
school with a charter term of six or more years in order to 
comply with the requirements of the Charter Schools Program 
grant; and incorporating statutory language from La. R.S. 
17:3996 relating to charter school requirements. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is an indeterminable impact on charter school 
management organizations.  As a result of changes in 
organizational and financial performance, charter schools may 
have to meet slightly higher standards in order to gain approval 
on renewals and expansions. Future impacts may vary, as 
benchmarks are specified in a document other than this 
bulletin, which may be implemented without revisions to the 
rules. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is an indeterminable impact on competition as a 
result of the proposed changes.  To the extent charter renewals 
or expansions are not approved, there could be a shift in student 
enrollment to other public or private schools. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Greg V. Albrecht 
Deputy Superintendent Chief Economist 
1711#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 139Louisiana Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs (LAC 28:CLXV.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 

advertisement to revise Bulletin 139Louisiana Child Care 

and Development Fund Programs: §903, Participation in LA 
Pathways. The proposed revisions update qualifications for 
the school readiness tax credit for eligible child care staff. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXV.  Bulletin 139Louisiana Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs 

Chapter 9. Louisiana Pathways Early Learning 
Center Career Development System (LA 
Pathways) 

§903. Participation in LA Pathways 
A.1. - B.8.e.i. … 
C. Requirements for the Administrator Track for LA 

Pathways beginning January 1, 2018. 
1. Director I 

a. Training and education requirements: 
 i. CDA credential, early childhood ancillary 
certificate, or approved early childhood diploma; and 

a.ii. - b.i. … 
2. Director II 

a. Training and education requirements: 
 i. CDA credential, early childhood ancillary 
certificate, or approved early childhood diploma; and 

a.ii. - b.i. … 
3. Director III 

a. Training and education requirements: 
 i. … 
 ii. early childhood ancillary certificate or 
approved early childhood diploma and administrator 
certificate; 
 iii. - D. 11.c.i. … 

E. Requirements for the Classroom Track for LA 
Pathways beginning January 1, 2018 

1. - 3.a.iv. … 
4. Early Learning Center Teacher III 

a. Training and education requirements: 
 i. - iii. … 
 iv. related bachelor’s degree with three college 
courses in early childhood or child development; or 
 v. classified as early learning center teacher I or 
above by LA Pathways as of December 31, 2017 and 
demonstrated evidence of eligibility for the staff school 
readiness tax credit for at least one prior year beginning with 
2017. 

5. Early Learning Center Teacher IV 
a. Training and education requirements: 

 i. … 
 ii. related bachelor’s degree with six early 
childhood or child development college courses of which 
three focus on infants and toddlers; or 

 iii. classified as early learning center teacher I or 
above by LA Pathways as of December 31, 2016 and 
demonstrated evidence of eligibility for the staff school 
readiness tax credit in 2017. 

6. - 6.a.ii. … 
F. Requirements for the Classroom Track for LA 

Pathways beginning January 1, 2019 
1. - 3.a.iv. … 
4. Early Learning Center Teacher III 

a. Training and education requirements: 
 i. - iv. … 
 v. early childhood ancillary certificate and 
demonstrated evidence of eligibility for the staff school 
readiness tax credit for at least one prior year beginning with 
2017. 

5. Early Learning Center Teacher IV 
a. Training and education requirements: 

 i. … 
 ii. related bachelor’s degree with six early 
childhood or child development college courses of which 
three focus on infants and toddlers; or 
 iii. early childhood ancillary certificate and 
demonstrated evidence of eligibility for the staff school 
readiness tax credit for at least two prior years beginning 
with 2017. 

6. - 6.a.ii. … 
G. Qualification for the School Readiness Tax Credit for 

Early Learning Center Directors and Staff 
1. The department shall provide information necessary 

for the secretary of the Department of Revenue to determine 
and/or verify the director and staff levels for earning the 
credit. 

2. Early Learning Center Director Levels 
a. Directors who are classified as director I by LA 

Pathways are classified as meeting level I qualifications for 
purposes of this credit. 

b. Directors who are classified as director II by LA 
Pathways are classified as meeting level II qualifications for 
purposes of this credit. 

c. Directors who are classified as director III by LA 
Pathways are classified as meeting level III qualifications for 
purposes of this credit. 

d. Directors who are classified as director IV by LA 
Pathways are classified as meeting level IV qualifications for 
purposes of this credit. 

3. Early Learning Center Staff Levels 
a. Staff members who are classified as early 

learning center teacher I by LA Pathways are classified as 
meeting level I requirements for purposes of this credit. 

b. Staff members who are classified as early 
learning center teacher II by LA Pathways are classified as 
meeting level II requirements for purposes of this credit.  

c. Staff members who are classified as early 
learning center teacher III by LA Pathways are classified as 
meeting level III requirements for purposes of this credit. 

d. Staff members who are classified as early 
learning center teacher IV or early learning center master 
teacher by LA Pathways are classified as meeting level IV 
requirements for purposes of this credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR Parts 98 and 99, and R.S. 17:407.28.6. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2119 (October 2015), 
amended LR 42:46 (January 2016), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 12 p.m., December 9, 2017, to Shan N. 
Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also 
be hand delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 139Louisiana Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no anticipated costs to the Department of 

Education (LDE) to implement the proposed revisions. 
However, there will be a cost to the state in the form of a 
reduction in the state general fund from state income tax 
collections due to the increase in the number of recipients 
eligible for the tax credit.  

School Readiness Tax Credits (SRTC) were authorized in 
2007 to promote kindergarten readiness in eligible early 
childhood learning centers and are based on the quality rating 
of the facility which the child attends. The credits, which are 
refundable or may be carried forward, are awarded to 
individual taxpayers, child care providers, businesses which 
support child care expenses and resource and referral agencies, 
and eligible directors and child care staff. The law establishes 
the amount of the credit based on the Quality Rating of child 
care facilities, denoted by a rating of one to five stars. 
Individual taxpayers (families) earn credits of 50% to 200% of 
the state child care tax credit based on their income levels. 
Provider credits are based on the average monthly census of 
children in the CCAP program and/or who are in foster care or 
in the custody of the Department of Children and Family 
Services; credit amounts range from $750 to $1,500 per CCAP 
child. Business credits range from 5% to 20% of eligible 
expenses with a one-to-one credit for donations to resource and 
referral agencies, (not to exceed $5,000). Finally, child care 
directors and teachers are eligible based on educational 
credentials and experience; credit amounts range from $1,500 
to $3,000 (adjusted annually by the Consumer Price Index). 

The revisions provide relative to requirements for the 
Administrator and Classroom Tracks for LA Pathways 
beginning January 1, 2018. Specifically, the revisions provide 
for an Early Childhood Ancillary Certificate to count towards 
the training and education requirements for individuals on the 
Administrative Track for LA Pathways. Also, individuals 
classified as Early Learning Center Teacher 1 or above by LA 
Pathways as of December 31, 2017 and who have demonstrated
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evidence of eligibility for the Staff School Readiness Tax 
Credit for at least one prior year beginning in 2017 will be 
deemed to have met training and education requirements for the 
Classroom Track for LA Pathways. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be a reduction in the state general fund from 
state income tax collections due to the proposed revisions. The 
changes in staff qualifications may initially result in an increase 
in the number of individuals eligible for the credit. However, 
continuation of high turnover rates in child care center staff 
will likely result in little or no net increase in credits awarded 
for calendar year 2018 (FY19). Changes in qualifications for 
some teachers, which are effective in calendar years 2019 and 
2020, may serve to stabilize turnover by making more teachers 
eligible for the credit (in FY20 and FY21). Based on analysis 
of the professional registry and workforce trends, the LDE 
estimates the anticipated fiscal impact to be zero in FY 19 and 
less than $5 M annually for FY 20 and FY 21. Ultimately, 
privacy laws prevent the DOR from sharing certain taxpayer 
information, so actual impacts cannot be quantified. 
Furthermore, factors other than the SRTC credit influence 
provider, business, and individuals’ behavior, which can’t be 
projected, but which will affect their eligibility, credit amounts, 
and application for the credit. 

Historically, School Readiness Tax Credits have been used 
as both a Maintenance of Effort (MOE) and State Match for the 
purpose of drawing down federal Child Care Development 
Funds (CCDF) of approximately $80 M annually. While 
significant reductions in the award amount of SRTC could 
negatively impact the state’s ability to match these federal 
funds, an increase in the credits awarded would have no impact 
on federal funds. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be a benefit for those individuals meeting the 
training and education requirements for the Administrator and 
Classroom tracks for LA Pathways. 

There are no mandatory costs as a result of the proposed 
revisions but may encourage child care programs to improve 
adult-child interactions and instruction in their classrooms to 
earn the economic benefits of tax credits. Economic benefits 
for programs, directors, businesses, and families will only be 
realized if programs increase classroom quality as recognized 
under the Unified Quality Rating System. Finally, research 
demonstrates that children who participate in high quality early 
childhood programs are more likely to graduate high school 
and have post-secondary success, thus increasing their overall 
lifetime earnings. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The LDE hopes that the proposed policy revisions will 
encourage all publicly-funded early learning centers that serve 
children from birth to age five to improve classroom 
interactions and instruction, thus ensuring those children 
receive higher quality care and education that prepares them for 
kindergarten. There should not be any additional effect on 
competition as the unified rating system is already in effect. 
More significantly, these policy revisions are intended to have 
a positive impact on the child-care workforce, which is a low 
wage workforce. Specifically, they should help increase 
retention of highly-qualified child care teachers by encouraging 
their continued employment within the sector. This is 
anticipated to decrease the current annual turnover rates for 
lead-teachers within child care, which currently average around 
40% a year. This will likely result in more stability and higher 
quality services for children, while reducing the turnover costs 
for child-care businesses. Costs of turnover include but are not 

limited to purchasing new criminal background checks, 
conducting interviews and references, and providing orientation 
and training. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1711#039 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators (LAC 28:CXV.333 and 2318) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 

Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 

advertisement to revise Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook 

for School Administrators: §333, Instructional Time; and 

§2318, The TOPS University Diploma. The proposed 

revisions pertain to waivers of required instructional minutes 

for schools that temporarily shared facilities, each holding 

school for part of the school day, due to the impact of a 

declared natural disaster or emergency. The proposed 

revisions also ensure that, for spring 2018, the decision to 

include English I, English II, algebra I, and geometry LEAP 

2025 assessment scores as a percentage of student final 

grades shall be determined by local education agencies 

(LEAs) and shall be outlined in the pupil progression plan. 
Title 28 

EDUCATION 
Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators 
Chapter 3. Operation and Administration 
§333. Instructional Time 

A. Each LEA shall adopt a calendar that includes a 
school year that is in accordance with applicable state 
regulations and includes a minimum of 63,720 minutes of 
instructional time. 

1. Effective for the 2016-2017 school year and 
thereafter, the provisions of Subsection A of this Section 
shall not apply to any city, parish, or other public school that 
cannot meet minimum instructional time requirements 
because the school temporarily shared facilities with another 
school due to damages caused by a natural disaster or 
emergency that was declared by the governor pursuant to 
Revised Statute 29:724, certified by the state superintendent 
of education, and approved by BESE. 

a. BESE may require that the school provide a 
minimum number of daily instructional minutes that is less 
than the requirements set forth in Subsection A of this 
Section and provide other requirements deemed necessary to 
support student learning. 

b. The governing authority of any such school shall 
submit to the state superintendent for certification, no later 
than 60 days prior to the end of the school year or within 30 
days of the gubernatorial declaration, whichever occurs first, 
and using a template provided by the LDE, documented 
information explaining why the school is not able to meet 
the required instructional minutes, any efforts made by the 
school toward meeting the requirements, and a revised 
school calendar for the affected school year. The state 
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superintendent shall certify any such requests received, 
present the request to the board, and provide a 
recommendation as to whether the request should be 
approved, approved with conditions, or denied.  

2. Instructional time shall include the scheduled time 
within the regular school day devoted to teaching courses 
outlined in the program of studies. Instructional time does 
not include such things as: 

a. recess; 
b. lunch; 
c. change of class time; and 
d. parent-teacher conferences. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:154.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1261 (June 2005), 
amended LR 39:2197 (August 2013), LR 44: 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter A. Standards and Curricula 
§2318. The TOPS University Diploma 

A. - A.2. … 
B. Assessment Requirements 

1. For incoming freshmen prior to 2010-2011, 
students must pass the English language arts and 
mathematics components of the GEE or LEAP Alternate 
Assessment, Level 2 (LAA 2) and either the science or social 
studies portions of GEE or LAA 2. 

1.a. - 2.b. … 
3. Students enrolled in a course for which there is an 

EOC or LEAP 2025 test must take the EOC or LEAP 2025 
test. 

a. The EOC or LEAP 2025 test score shall count a 
percentage of the student’s final grade for the course. During 
the transition to new tests, the requirement to count a LEAP 
2025 test score as a percentage of the student’s final grade 
will be waived for high school state assessments as follows: 
 i. English I, English II, algebra I, and geometry 
scores from the fall 2017 administration; the decision to 
include scores from these assessments in final grades in 
spring 2018 shall be a district decision that must be outlined 
in the pupil progression plan. 
 ii. U.S. history scores from the fall and spring 
administrations in 2017-2018; and 
 iii. biology scores from the fall and spring 
administrations in 2018-2019. 

b. The percentage shall be between 15 percent and 
30 percent inclusive, and shall be determined by the LEA. 
 i. For students with disabilities identified under 
IDEA who meet the participation criteria found in Bulletin 

1530Louisiana’s IEP Handbook for Students with 

Exceptionalities, §405.B and R.S. 17:183.2, the EOC test 
score shall count for 5 percent of the students’ final grade for 
the course. 

B.3.c. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7, R.S. 17:24.4, R.S. 17:183.2, and R.S. 17:395. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 36:1486 (July 

2010), LR 37:547 (February 2011), LR 37:1128 (April 2011), LR 
37:2129 (July 2011), LR 37:2132 (July 2011), LR 37:3193 
(November 2011), LR 38:754, 761 (March 2012), LR 38:1001 
(April 2012), LR 38:1584 (July 2012), LR 40:994 (May 2014), LR 
40:1328 (July 2014), LR 40:1679 (September 2014), LR 40:2525 
(December 2014), LR 41:915 (May 2015), LR 41:1482 (August 
2015), LR 41:2126 (October 2015), LR 42:232 (February 2016), 
LR 42:1062 (July 2016), LR 42:1878 (November 2016), LR 
42:2176 (December 2016), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 
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Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 12 p.m., December 9, 2017, to Shan N. 
Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also 
be hand delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no costs or savings for state or local 

governmental units. Act 365 of 2017 allows the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) and the state 
superintendent of education to approve waivers of required 
instructional minutes for schools that temporarily shared 
facilities, each holding school for part of the school day, due to 
the impact of a declared natural disaster or emergency. The 
proposed revisions update current policy to reflect the waiver 
approval process.  

Additional changes to the TOPS University Diploma 
requirements are technical in nature and align policy for 
alternative pathways for grade level promotion and graduation 
of certain special education students with the statutes per Act 
833 of 2014. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1711#038 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for  
State Certification of School Personnel 
(LAC 28:CXXXI.203 and Chapter 9) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement to revise Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards 

for State Certification of School Personnel §203, PRAXIS 
Exams and Scores; §901, Overview; §903, Definitions; 
§905, Denial of Certificates for Criminal Offenses, for the 
Submission of Fraudulent Documentation, or for 
Participation in Cheating; §906, Procedures and Rules for 
Issuance of a Denied Certificate; §907, Suspension and 
Revocation of Certificates for Criminal Offenses; §908, 
Suspension and Revocation of Certificate/Endorsement Due 
to Participation in Cheating; §909, Suspension and 
Revocation of Certificates due to Fraudulent Documentation 
Pertaining to Certification; and §911, Procedures and Rules 
for Reinstatement of Certificates Suspended or Revoked due 
to Criminal Convictions, Submission of Fraudulent 
Documents, Participation in Cheating, or Reinstatement of 
Expired Certificates Deemed Ineligible for Reinstatement 
Due to Criminal Convictions, Submission of Fraudulent 
Documents, or Participation in Cheating. Proposed revisions 
clarify and update policies relative to certification licensure 
denial, suspension, and revocation; proposed revisions also 
align policy related to Praxis exams and scores to align with 
federal criminal code and test scores. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Initial Teacher Certification 
Subchapter B. Testing Required for Certification Areas 
§203. PRAXIS Exams and Scores 

(Formerly §243) 
A. A teacher applicant for certification must successfully 

complete the appropriate written or computer-delivered tests 
identified in this Section prior to Louisiana teacher 
certification. 

1. Core Academic Skills for Educators2. Teacher 
applicants in all content areas must pass all three Praxis core 
academic skills tests for educators. 

 

Pre-Professional Skills Test “Paper 
or Computer Administrations” Test # Score 

Effective 
Date 

PPST:RPre-Professional Skills Test: 
Reading 0710/5710 176 Effective 

7/1/10 
to 

12/31/13 

PPST:WPre-Professional Skills Test: 
Writing 0720/5720 175 

PST:MPre-Professional Skills Test: 
Mathematics 0730/5730 175 

 

Core Academic Skills for Educators Test # Score 
Effective 

Date 

Reading 5712 156 
Effective 

1/1/14 
Writing 5722 162 

Mathematics 5732 150 
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1

To differentiate the computer delivered tests, Educational 
Testing Service has placed the number “5” or “6” preceding 
the current test code. The Department will accept computer 
delivered passing test scores for licensure. 
2

NOTE: An ACT composite score of 22 or an SAT 
combined verbal and math score of 1100 or higher (New 
SAT) or 1030 or higher (pre-March 2016 SAT) may 
be used in lieu of Praxis 1 PPST Exams or Core Academic 
Skills for Educators in reading, writing and math by 
prospective teachers in Louisiana. 

A.2. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011), repromulgated LR 37:556 
(February 2011), amended LR 37:3210 (November 2011), LR 
39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 40:1680 
(September 2014), LR 41:645 (April 2015), LR 41:916 (May 
2015), LR 42:233 (February 2016), LR 43:1292 (July 2017), LR 
44: 

Chapter 9. Actions Related to the Suspension/Denial 
and Revocation of Louisiana Certificates  

§901. Overview 
A. Teaching certificates can be denied, suspended, or 

revoked for certain criminal offenses, for the submission of 
fraudulent documentation, or for participating in cheating. 
Certificates shall also be suspended for individuals who have 
earned three years of ineffective evaluations within a 
certification renewal period pursuant to Bulletin 130 and 
R.S. 17:3902. This Chapter presents those circumstances 
plus the circumstances under which certificates can possibly 
be reinstated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1830 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:3140 (December 2012), LR 32:1830 (October 
2006), LR 38:3140 (December 2012), LR 44: 

§903. Definitions 
A. For the purposes of this policy: 

Applicantany person applying for a Louisiana 
teaching authorization of any kind. 

Boardthe Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education as a whole and/or any of its standing committees. 

Cheatingas determined by the LDE in accordance 
with Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment Standards and 

Practices, cheating is a testing irregularity committed by a 
teacher or leader in order to alter student or school 
assessment results or by inappropriately accessing secure 
test materials in violation of Bulletin 118, §5303. The 
determination is made by the LDE in consultation with the 
LEA, as specific in Bulletin 118.  

Convicted or Convictionany proceedings in which the 
accused person pleads guilty or no contest, and those 
proceedings that are tried and result in a judgment of guilty. 

Departmentthe Louisiana Department of Education. 

Fraudulent Documentany paper, instrument, or other 
form of writing that is false, altered, or counterfeit and that is 
used as a subterfuge or device to induce the issuance of a 
certificate. 

Offense or Crimethose listed in R.S. 15.587.1(C) and 
any felony offense whatsoever. 

Teaching Certificate or Certificateany license, permit, 
or certificate issued by the Division of Teacher Certification 
and Higher Education of the Department of Education. 

B. The following crimes are reported under R.S. 
15:587.1: 

1. R.S. 14:2(B), R.S. 14:30, R.S. 14:30.1, R.S. 14:31, 
14:32.6, 14.32.7, 14:32.8, R.S. 14:41 through R.S.14:45, 
R.S. 14:74, R.S. 14:80 through R.S. 14:86, R.S. 14:89, R.S. 
14:89.1, R.S. 14:89.2, R.S. 14:92, R.S. 14:93, R.S. 14:93.3, 
R.S. 14:106, R.S. 14:282, R.S. 14:286, R.S. 15:541, R.S. 
40:966(A), R.S. 40:967(A), R.S. 40:968(A), R.S. 40:969(A), 
and R.S. 40:970(A) or convictions for attempt or conspiracy 
to commit any of those offenses; 

2. those of a jurisdiction other than Louisiana which, 
in the judgment of the bureau employee charged with 
responsibility for responding to the request, would constitute 
a crime under the provisions cited in this Subsection, and 
those under the federal criminal code having analogous 
elements of criminal and moral turpitude. (Federal criminal 
code provisions are in title 18 of U.S.C.A.) Specifically: 

 
 R.S. 14:2(B) Crimes of violence 

*R.S. 14:30 First degree murder 

*R.S. 14:30.1 Second degree murder 

*R.S. 14:31 Manslaughter 

*R.S. 14:32.6 First Degree Feticide 

*R.S. 14:32.7 Second Degree Feticide 

*R.S.14:32.8 Third Degree Feticide 

*R.S.14:41 Rape 

*R.S. 14:42 1st Degree Rape 

*R.S. 14:42.1 2nd Degree Rape 

*R.S. 14:43 3rd Degree Rape 

*R.S. 14:43.1 Sexual battery 

 *R.S. 14:43.1.1 Misdemeanor sexual battery 

*R.S. 14:43.2 2nd degree sexual battery 

*R.S. 14:43.3 Oral sexual battery 

* R.S. 14:43.4 Female genital mutilation 

*R.S. 14:43.5 Intentional exposure to the AIDS virus 

*R.S. 14:44 Aggravated kidnapping 

*R.S. 14:44.1 Second degree kidnapping 

*R.S. 14:45 Simple kidnapping 

 R.S. 14:74 Criminal neglect of family 

 R.S. 14:79.1 Criminal abandonment 

*R.S. 14:80 Felony Carnal knowledge of a juvenile 

*R.S. 14:81 Indecent behavior with a juvenile 

*R.S. 14:81.1 Pornography involving juveniles 

*R.S. 14:81.2 
Molestation of a juvenile or a person with a physical 
or mental disability 

*R.S. 14:81.3  Computer-aided solicitation of a minor 

*R.S. 14:81.4 
Prohibited sexual conduct between educator and 
student 

*R.S. 14:82 Prostitution (In some instances) 

*R.S. 14:82.1 Prostitution; Persons under seventeen; Additional 
offenses 

 R.S. 14:82.1.1 Sexting 

 R.S. 14:82.2 Purchase of commercial sexual activity 

 R.S. 14:83 Soliciting for prostitutes 

 R.S. 14:83.1 Inciting prostitution 

 R.S. 14:83.2 Promoting prostitution 

 R.S. 14:83.3 Prostitution by massage 

 R.S. 14:83.4 Massage; sexual content prohibited 

*R.S. 14:84 Pandering 

 R.S. 14:85 Letting premises for prostitution 

*R.S. 14:86 Enticing persons into prostitution 

*R.S. 14:89 Crime against nature 

*R.S. 14:89.1 Aggravated crime against nature 
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 R.S. 14:89.2 Crime against nature by solicitation 

* R.S. 14:92 Contributing to the delinquency of juveniles (In some 
instances) 

*R.S. 14:93 Cruelty to juveniles 

 R.S. 14:93.2.1 Child desertion 

*R.S. 14:93.3 Cruelty to the infirm 

*R.S. 14:106 Obscenity 

 R.S. 14:282 Operation of places of prostitution  

 R.S. 14:283.1 Voyeurism 

*R.S. 14:283 Video Voyerism 

 R.S. 14:284 Peeping Tom 

*R.S. 14:286 Sale of minor children 

 R.S. 15:541 Sex offenses 

 R.S. 40:966(A) Penalty for distribution or possession with intent to 
distribute narcotic drugs listed in Schedule I; 
Manufacture; Distribution 

 R.S. 40:967(A) Prohibited acts; Schedule II, penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:968(A) Prohibited acts; Schedule III; penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:969(A) Prohibited acts; Schedule IV; penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:970(A) Prohibited acts; Schedule V; penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

* Certificate issuance/reinstatement will never be considered 
for crimes marked with an asterisk. 

 
C. Convictions that are set aside pursuant to articles 893 

or 894 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedures, 
expunged, or which are pardoned subject to Louisiana first 
offender pardon laws nonetheless, shall be treated as 
convictions for the purpose of denial or revocation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1830 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:2559 (December 2008), LR 38:763 (March 2012), 
LR 44: 

§905. Denial of Certificates for Criminal Offenses, for 

the Submission of Fraudulent Documentation, or 

for Participation in Cheating 
A. An application for a Louisiana teaching certificate or 

an application for the renewal of an expired Louisiana 
teaching certificate shall be denied if the department 
determines that the individual applying for the certificate has 
been convicted of any offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C) or 
any felony offense whatsoever or has submitted fraudulent 
documentation, or has participated in cheating. A person 
convicted of an offense as defined herein or has submitted 
fraudulent documentation, or has participated in cheating 
may apply for a certificate after three years have elapsed 
from date of entry of final conviction, or from date of the 
submission of fraudulent documentation, or from the date of 
the report regarding the participation in cheating.  

B. An application for a Louisiana teaching certificate or 
an application for a renewal of an expired teaching 
certificate shall be denied if the individual applying for the 
certificate has ever had any professional license/certificate 
denied, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily surrendered.  

C. An application for a Louisiana teaching certificate or 
an application for a renewal of an expired Louisiana 
teaching certificate shall be denied if the individual is 
currently being reviewed or investigated for purposes of 
such action as stated in section 905.B or if such action is 
pending. 

D. The applicant shall be notified by certified mail and 
by any other appropriate means of notice that his/her 
certificate has been denied. The applicant shall provide 
copies of any documents that verify his/her identity, refute 
the existence of a criminal conviction, verify the accuracy of 
fraudulent documentation as submitted, or verify the 
accuracy of the report regarding the participation in 
cheating, as submitted. If a conviction or information upon 
which the certificate has been denied is reversed, such action 
should be communicated to the department through 
documentation provided by the applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1830 (October 2006), 
amended LR 44: 

§906. Procedures and Rules for Issuance of a Denied 

Certificate 
A. Issuance will never be considered for teachers who 

have been convicted of a felony for the following crimes: 
1. R.S. 14:283, 14:30, 14:30.1, 14:31, 14:32.6, 

14:32.7, 14:32.8, 14:41, 14:42, 14:42.1, 14:43, 14:43.1, 
14:43.1.1, 14:43.2, 14:43.3, 14:43.4, 14:43.5, 14:44, 14:44.1, 
14:45, 14:78, 14:78.1, 14:80, 14:81, 14:81.1, 14:81.2, 
14:81.3, 14.81.4,14:82 (in some instances), 14:82.1, 14:84, 
14:86, 14:89, 14:89.1, 14.92 (in some instances), 14:93, 
14:93.3, 14:106, and 14:286. 

B. Issuance of certificates shall not be considered until at 
least three years have elapsed from the date of entry of final 
conviction or submissions of fraudulent documentation, or 
the date of investigation results regarding the participation in 
cheating, which resulted in certification suspension, 
revocation, or denial. 

C. An applicant may apply to the board for the issuance 
of his/her Louisiana teaching certificate after the lapse of 
time indicated above and under the following conditions. 

1. There have been no further convictions, submission 
of fraudulent documentation, or participation in cheating. 

2. In criminal cases, there has been successful 
completion of all conditions/requirements of any parole 
and/or probation. The applicant must provide relevant 
documentation. The applicant must provide a current state 
and FBI criminal history background check from state police 
that is clean and clear and evidence that there has been 
successful completion and relevant documentation of all 
conditions/requirements of any parole or probation. 

D. Applicant Responsibilities 
1. Contact the office of the Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education and request a records review for 
issuance of the certificate that was denied due to the 
submission of fraudulent documentation, due to conviction 
for a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1 or for any felony, or due 
to participation in cheating. 

2. Provide each applicable item identified above in 
Subsection C, evidence that all requirements for certification 
have been successfully completed, and further 
documentation evidencing rehabilitation. It is recommended 
that the applicant provide letters of support from past/present 
employers, school board employees and officials, faculty, 
and administrative staff from the college education
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department, law enforcement officials or from other 
community leaders.  

E. - E.3. …  
4. The board may deny a request for a records review 

for any applicant who: 
a. failed to disclose prior criminal convictions or 

expungements;  
b. … 
c. has been found to have participated in cheating in 

the administration of standardized tests; or 
d. received further criminal convictions or 

participated in cheating. 
5. The committee of the board shall make a 

recommendation to the full board regarding whether the 
teaching certificate should be issued to the applicant. Board 
staff shall notify the applicant of the action of the board. 

6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:1999 (September 
2010), amended LR 38:763 (March 2012), LR 44: 

§907. Suspension and Revocation of Certificates for 

Criminal Offenses 
A. A Louisiana teaching certificate shall be suspended 

and revoked if the individual holding the certificate has been 
convicted of any offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C) (see 
section I.B) or any felony offense whatsoever. If the 
Louisiana teaching certificate of an individual is expired, 
and the individual has been convicted of a felony offense, 
this information shall be reported to the National Association 
of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification 
(NASDTEC) Clearinghouse by the LDE. Such individuals 
will be notified per the process outlined in this Section. 

B. When the department is notified that any teacher has 
been convicted of a specific crime: 

1. - 2. … 
3. if the teacher cannot be reached or if his/her 

employment status cannot be determined, suspension of the 
certificate shall proceed, as will all other steps in the process 
outlined in this policy; 

4. if the department determines that there is evidence 
that a teacher has been convicted of a criminal offense, the 
certificate issued to that teacher shall be suspended. The 
board, the teacher, and the employing school system shall be 
notified that the teaching certificate has been suspended 
pending official board action per revocation proceedings; 

5. the teacher shall be notified by certified mail or by 
any other appropriate means of notice that his/her certificate 
has been suspended and that the certificate will be revoked 
unless the teacher can provide documentation that he/she 
was not convicted of the crime. The teacher shall provide 
copies of any documentation that verifies his/her identity 
and refutes the existence of a criminal conviction; 

6. if the conviction upon which a teaching certificate 
has been suspended or revoked is reversed, such action shall 
be communicated to the board through documentation 
provided by the applicant. The board may receive such 
information and order reinstatement of the teaching 
certificate; 

7. upon official action by the board, any teacher 
whose certificate has been revoked shall be notified of such 

action. The correspondence shall include instructions for and 
identification of the date when the individual may apply to 
the board for reinstatement of his/her certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1831 (October 2006), 
amended LR 44: 

§908. Suspension and Revocation of 

Certificate/Endorsement Due to Participation in 

Cheating 
A. A Louisiana teaching or educational leadership 

certificate shall be suspended and revoked if the individual 
holding the certificate has been found by the LDE to have 
participated in cheating, as defined in §903.A of this 
Bulletin. If the Louisiana teaching certificate of an 
individual is expired, and the individual has been found to 
have participated in cheating, this information shall be 
reported to the National Association of State Directors of 
Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) 
Clearinghouse by the LDE. Such individuals will be notified 
per the process outlined in this Section. 

B. When the department has determined that any teacher 
or administrator has been found to have participated in 
cheating, the following process shall take place. 

1. Department staff shall attempt to contact the 
teacher or administrator to inform him/her that the 
department has information regarding his/her participation in 
cheating and is proceeding under this policy to suspend the 
certificate. 

2. The teacher or administrator shall have 10 working 
days from the date of notification to provide verification that 
he/she has not been found to have participated in cheating. 
This opportunity for response is intended as a check against 
mistaken identity or other incorrect information and the 
requested verification may be provided through a telephone 
conversation or written correspondence. 

3. If the teacher or administrator cannot be reached, 
suspension of the certificate shall proceed, as will all other 
steps in the process outlined in this policy. 

4. If the department determines that a teacher or 
administrator was found to have participated in cheating, the 
teacher or administrator certificate shall be suspended. The 
board, the teacher, and the employing school system shall be 
notified that the teacher or administrator certificate has been 
suspended pending official board action per revocation 
proceedings. 

5. The teacher or administrator shall be notified by 
certified mail and by any other appropriate means of notice 
that his/her certificate has been suspended and that the 
certificate will be revoked unless the teacher/administrator 
can provide documentation that he/she was not found to 
have participated in cheating.  

6. If the department subsequently determines that the 
teacher or administrator did not participate in cheating, such 
action shall be communicated to the department and/or the 
board through documentation provided by the department. 
The board may receive such information and may order 
reinstatement of the teacher or administrator certificate. 

7. Individuals who do not hold a current Louisiana 
teaching/educational leadership certificate or who do not 
hold a Louisiana teaching/educational leader certificate and 
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who have been found to have participated in cheating in the 
administration of standardized tests shall be reported to the 
National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education 
and Certification (NASDTEC) Clearinghouse by the LDE. 
Such individuals will be notified per the process outlined in 
this Section. 

8. If the investigation concludes no findings of 
participating in cheating and the board has taken no formal 
action to revoke the teaching certificate, the department is 
authorized to release the suspension with the appropriate 
documentation, notifying the board of the action taken and 
providing supporting documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:3140 (December 
2012), amended LR 44: 

§909. Suspension and Revocation of Certificates due to 

Fraudulent Documentation Pertaining to 

Certification 
A. A Louisiana teaching certificate shall be suspended or 

revoked if a teacher presents fraudulent documentation 
pertaining to his/her certificate to the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education or the Department of 
Education. If the Louisiana teaching certificate of an 
individual is expired, and the individual has submitted 
fraudulent documents pertaining to certification, this 
information shall be reported to the National Association of 
State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification 
(NASDTEC) Clearinghouse by the LDE. Such individuals 
will be notified per the process outlined in this Section. 

B. The department shall investigate prior to determining 
that a teacher has submitted fraudulent documentation 
pertaining to his/her teaching certificate. Upon confirmation 
of the information investigated, the department shall notify 
the teacher by certified mail that his/her certificate has been 
suspended pending official board action per revocation 
proceedings. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1831 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:764 (March 2012), LR 44: 

§911. Procedures and Rules for Reinstatement of 

Certificates Suspended or Revoked due to 

Criminal Convictions, Submission of Fraudulent 

Documents, Participation in Cheating, or 

Reinstatement of Expired Certificates Deemed 

Ineligible for Reinstatement Due to Criminal 

Convictions, Submission of Fraudulent 

Documents, or Participation in Cheating 
A. Reinstatement will never be considered for teachers 

who have been convicted of a felony for the following 
crimes: 

1. R.S. 14.283, 14:30, 14:30.1, 14:31, 14:32.6, 
14:32.7, 14:32.8, 14:41, 14:42, 14:42.1, 14:43, 14:43.1, 
14:43.1.1, 14:43.2, 14:43.3, 14:43.4 14:43.5, 14:44, 14:44.1, 
14:45, 14:78, 14:78.1, 14:80, 14:81, 14:81.1, 14:81.2, 
14:81.3, 14:81.4, 14:82 (in some instances), 14:82.1, 14:84, 

14:86, 14:89, 14:89.1, 14:92 (in some instances), 14:93, 
14:93.3, 14:106, and 14:286. 

B. Reinstatements of certificates shall not be considered 
until at least three years have elapsed from the date of entry 
of final conviction, submission of fraudulent documentation, 
or the date of investigation results regarding the participation 
in cheating, which resulted in certification suspension, 
revocation, or denial. 

C. An applicant may apply to the board for reinstatement 
of his/her Louisiana teaching certificate after the lapse of 
time indicated above and under the following conditions. 

1. There have been no further convictions, 
submissions of fraudulent documentation, or investigations 
regarding participation in cheating. 

2. In criminal cases, Tthere has been successful 
completion of all conditions/requirements of any parole 
and/or probation. The applicant must provide relevant 
documentation. The applicant must provide a current state 
and FBI criminal history background check from state police 
that is clean and clear and evidence that there has been 
successful completion and relevant documentation of all 
conditions/requirements of any parole and probation. 

D. - D.1. … 
2. Provide each applicable item identified above in 

Subsection C, evidence that all requirements for certification 
have been successfully completed, and further 
documentation evidencing rehabilitation. The applicant is 
recommended to provide letters of support from past/present 
employers, school board employees and officials, faculty, 
and administrative staff from the college education 
department, law enforcement officials, or from other 
community leaders. 

E. - E.3. … 
4. The board may deny any request for issuance by 

any applicant who: 
a. failed to disclose prior criminal convictions or 

expungements; 
b. falsified academic records; 
c. has been found to have participated in cheating in 

the administration of standardized tests; or 
d. received further criminal convictions or 

participated in cheating. 
5. The committee of the board shall make a 

recommendation to the full board regarding whether the 
teaching certificate issued to the applicant should be issued, 
reinstated, suspended for an additional period of time, or 
remain revoked. Board staff shall notify the applicant of the 
board action. 

6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1831 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:2560 (December 2008), LR 36:1999 (September 
2010), LR 38:764 (March 2012), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
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amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 12 p.m., December 9, 2017, to Shan N. 

Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. Written comments may also 
be hand delivered to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be 
date stamped by the BESE office on the date received. 
Public comments must be dated and include the original 
signature of the person submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for  
State Certification of School Personnel 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no costs or savings to state or local governmental 

entities.  The proposed policy revisions define cheating and 
expand this basis for denial, suspension, or revocation of 
teaching certificates to individuals who apply for an initial 
Louisiana teaching certificate or renewal of an expired 
certificate; aligns Praxis exam scores to new SAT scoring; and 
updates state and federal criminal code references. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Individuals may be denied a teaching certificate under the 
proposed cheating parameters and updated criminal codes.  
Reinstatement may be considered after three years; in some 
cases individuals may incur costs to submit required state and 
FBI background checks.  Revocation is terminal for teachers 
convicted of certain felonies, as updated under proposed 
revisions. Further, new and/or renewal certificates shall be 
denied for individuals who have had any professional 
license/certificate denied, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily 
surrendered. These changes could limit an individual’s ability 
to continue in the teaching profession, impacting earning 
capacity. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1711#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV.Chapters 1-23) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents announces its intention to 
amend its scholarship/grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 
17:3048.5 and R.S. 17:3048.6). 
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This rulemaking makes technical corrections to delete 
references to the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission, to correct typographical errors, and to delete 
provisions made unnecessary by Act. This rulemaking also 
adds AP psychology as an equivalent social studies and adds 
Mandarin Chinese, Hindi, Portuguese, and Vietnamese as 
courses that may satisfy the foreign language requirement in 
the TOPS core curriculum. The rulemaking adds probability 
and statistics as an equivalent to math in the TOPS Tech core 
curriculum. (SG18179NI) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 1. Scope 
§101. Introduction 

A. Statutory Authority. The Louisiana Board of Regents, 
formerly the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission, (Board) was created by Chapter 20, Higher 
Education Assistance, Revised Statutes of 1950, comprised 
of R.S. 17:3021-3036, for the purpose of supervising, 
controlling, directing and administering state and federal 
programs to provide loans to assist persons in meeting the 
expenses of higher education, and State and Federal 
Scholarship and Grant Programs for higher education. The 
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA), 
under authority of the board, Administers State and Federal 
Post-Secondary Student Scholarship, Grant and Loan 
Programs. 

B. Agency's Mission Statement. The mission of LOSFA 
is to administer the federal and state student aid programs 
that are assigned to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1897 (October 1998), LR 27:1841 (November 
2001), LR 33:439 (March 2007), LR 44: 

§103. Purpose 
A. LAC 28:IV provides the rules and regulations 

governing participation in the scholarship and grant 
programs administered by the board including, but not 
limited to: 

1. applicants and recipients; 
2. high school counselors; 
3. principals and headmasters; 
4. superintendents; 
5. college and university financial aid directors and 

staff; and 
6. federal and state authorities. 

B. LAC 28:IV was developed to meet the following 
objectives: 

1. establish scholarship and grant policies and 
procedures that implement and explain or interpret statutes; 

2. define the program responsibilities of participants 
(applicants, recipients, and high school, school board and 
post-secondary institution officials); 

3. ensure that scholarships and grants are awarded in 
accordance with statute and legislative intent; 

4. establish procedures to monitor the performance of 
scholarship and grant recipients; 

5. ensure compliance with statutory and regulatory 
provisions governing the administered programs. 

C. Since these rules and regulations can neither 
anticipate nor address every situation that might be 
encountered in the administration of the scholarship and 
grant programs included herein, participants in doubt about 
the applicability or interpretation of a rule or regulation in 
LAC 28:IV are advised to contact LOSFA for guidance. 

D. LAC 28:IV shall be amended and updated as 
necessary. Such updates will be forwarded to institutions in 
the form of Scholarship and Grant Program Memoranda 
(SGPM), or Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 
(TOPS) Bulletins. These memoranda and bulletins will cover 
additions, deletions, revisions and clarifications to the rules 
and regulations. In compliance with R.S. 17:5063, 
information shall be mailed to the president and 
superintendent of each city and parish school board in the 
state, the principal and counselors of each high school in the 
state, the chancellor, director of financial aid, business 
office, auditor and registrar of each public post-secondary 
school in the state and each regionally accredited 
independent college or university which is a member of the 
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and 
Universities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1897 (October 1998), LR 26:65 (January 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1841 (November 2001), amended LR 35:227 
(February 2009), LR 44: 

§105. Effective Date 
A. These rules and regulations are effective for awards 

beginning with the 1998-99 academic year. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 27:1841 (November 2001), LR 44: 

§107. Authority to Audit 
A. By participating in the Scholarship and Grant 

Programs administered by the board and described in LAC 
28:IV, all participants, including high schools and post-
secondary institutions, grant the board and the Louisiana 
Legislative Auditor the right to inspect records and perform 
on-site audits of each institution's administration of the 
programs for the purpose of determining the institution's 
compliance with state law and The board's rules and 
regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 27:1841 (November 
2001), LR 44: 

§109. Discrimination Prohibition 
A. The exclusion of a person from equal opportunity for 

a Louisiana Scholarship and/or Grant Program administered 
by the board because of race, religion, sex, handicap, 
national origin or ancestry is prohibited. No policy or 
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procedure of this agency shall be interpreted as superseding 
or contradicting this prohibition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 27:1841 (November 
2001), LR 44:  

§111. Criminal Penalties 
A. All certifications of student performance which are 

submitted to the board for the purpose of determining a 
student's eligibility for an award under a student aid program 
administered by the board shall be by sworn affidavit of the 
certifying official and such official shall be subject to 
criminal law applicable to false swearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 27:1841 (November 
2001), LR 44: 

§113. Personally Identifiable Information (PII) 
A. The board recognizes that personally identifiable 

information must be collected and maintained to determine 
whether a student meets the initial and continuing eligibility 
requirements for state and federal financial aid programs 
administered by the board, and when required by law for use 
in preparing and submitting reports required by state and 
federal law. 

B. The board is required by the TOPS statute to inform 
“all students of the availability of the assistance...early 
enough in their schooling that a salutary motivational effect 
is possible.” 

C. It is the intent and policy of the board that: 
1. LOSFA will collect and maintain only that PII 

necessary to fulfill the board’s program responsibilities and 
duties, including but not limited to: 

a. providing information to participating students 
beginning in the eighth grade that will guide and motivate 
students to prepare for and to achieve eligibility for financial 
aid programs to attend postsecondary education; 

b. determining the initial eligibility of participating 
students for financial aid;  

c. determining the continuing eligibility of students 
awarded financial aid; 

d. making payments for students who have been 
awarded financial aid; and  

e. submitting reports and assessments required by 
state or federal law regarding the effectiveness of the 
financial aid programs administered by LOSFA; 

2. LOSFA will maintain and comply with policies and 
procedures to protect PII from disclosure to third 
parties/entities that have not been authorized to have access 
by: 

a. state or federal law; 
b. the parent or legal guardian of the person to 

whom the PII applies, if the person is not at least 18 years 
old or judicially emancipated or emancipated by marriage; 
or  

c. the person to whom the PII applies, if the person 
is at least 18 years old or judicially emancipated or 
emancipated by marriage; 

3. LOSFA will ensure that LOSFA employees will 
have access only to that PII that is necessary to perform their 
duties; 

4. LOSFA will provide information to parents, legal 
guardians, students and schools regarding: 

a. requirements for consenting to the release of PII 
to LOSFA; 

b. possible college access advantages provided to 
students by consenting to the release of PII to LOSFA; and 

c. adverse consequences of withholding consent for 
release of PII to LOSFA; 

5. LOSFA will develop and use consent forms that 
inform students, parents, and legal guardians of: 

a. purpose(s) for which the PII will be used; 
b. who will have access to the PII; 
c. how long the PII will be retained by LOSFA; and 
d. how the PII will be destroyed at the end of the 

retention period; 
6. LOSFA will destroy PII that is no longer necessary 

to fulfill the board’s program responsibilities and duties. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3031. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 41:649 (April 2015), amended LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 
Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. The 
term “the board” refers to the Louisiana Board of Regents.  

Academic Year (College)―begins with the fall term of 
the award year and concludes immediately before the next 
fall term commences unless specifically provided otherwise 
in these rules. All intersessions and summer sessions are 
included. 

Academic Year (High School)―the annual academic 
year for high school begins on September 1 of the fall term, 
includes the winter, spring, and summer terms and ends on 
the next August 31. This definition is not to be confused with 
the Louisiana Department of Education's definition of school 
year, which is found in Louisiana Department of Education 
Bulletin 741. 

Academic Year (TOPS)― 
a. for students who are eligible for a TOPS 

Opportunity, Performance or Honors Award: 
 i. through the 2007-2008 academic year, the two- 
and four-year college and university academic year begins 
with the fall term of the award year, includes the winter 
term, if applicable, and concludes with the completion of the 
spring term of the award year. Intersessions ending during 
the academic year are included in the academic year. The 
two- and four-year college and university academic year 
does not include summer sessions or intersessions that do 
not end during the academic year; 
 ii. during the 2008-2009 academic year, the 
academic year begins with the fall term of the award year, 
includes the winter term, if applicable, and concludes with 
the completion of the intersession immediately following the 
spring term of the award year. Intersessions ending during 
the academic year, including the intersession immediately 
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following the spring term, are included in the academic year. 
The two- and four-year college and university academic year 
does not include summer sessions or other intersessions; 
 iii. during the 2009-2010 and 2010-2011 academic 
years, the academic year begins with the fall term of the 
award year and concludes with the completion of the spring 
term of the award year or the intersession immediately 
following the spring term if such intersession ends no later 
than June 15, whichever is later. Any intersession or term 
that begins and ends during the academic year is included. 
The two- and four-year college and university academic year 
does not include other intersessions or summer sessions. See 
the definition of intersession below; 
 iv. beginning with the 2011-2012 academic year 
and thereafter, the academic year begins with the fall term of 
the award year and concludes immediately before the next 
fall term commences. All intersessions and summer sessions 
are included. 

b. for students who are eligible for a TOPS Tech 
Award, the academic year begins with the fall term of the 
award year and concludes immediately before the next fall 
term commences. All intersessions and summer sessions are 
included. 

ACT Score―the highest composite score achieved by 
the student on the official ACT test (including national, 
international, military or special test types) or an equivalent 
score, as determined by the comparison tables used by the 
board, on an equivalent Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT). ACT 
or SAT test scores which are unofficial, including so-called 
"residual" test scores, are not acceptable for purposes of 
determining program eligibility. 

Application to Return from an Out-of-State College―a 
form that must be submitted by students who first enroll full 
time in an accredited out-of-state college or university and 
who then return to an eligible Louisiana college or university 
and want to apply for TOPS eligibility. 

Articulated Courses for College Creditcourses 
offered by the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the 
Arts for which eligible Louisiana colleges have agreed to 
give college credit if the student successfully completes the 
course and attends a participating college. 

Average Award Amount (TOPS-Tech)―is applicable to 
those students awarded the TOPS-Tech and TOPS 
Opportunity, Performance, and Honors Awards who attend a 
regionally accredited independent college or university in 
Louisiana that is a member of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities or who attend an 
eligible cosmetology or proprietary school and are enrolled 
in a vocational, technical education certificate or diploma 
program or non-academic undergraduate degree program, 
and is determined by dividing the total dollar value of 
awards, which are made to students enrolled in the same 
types of programs in the 2016-2017 academic year (TOPS) 
at eligible public colleges and universities that do not offer 
academic degrees at the baccalaureate level, by the total 
number of students that received the awards.  

Award Amount― 
a. Through the 2015-2016 academic year (college), 

an amount equal to tuition at the school attended, for those 
students attending a Louisiana public college or university, 
as determined by the board, which may be used by the 
student to pay any educational expense included in that 

student's "cost of attendance." The amount paid for TOPS 
and TOPS-Tech Awards shall be as follows. 
 i. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Award attending a Louisiana 
public college or university and enrolled in an academic 
degree program, the amount shall equal the actual cost of 
tuition. 
 ii. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Award attending a regionally 
accredited independent college or university in Louisiana 
that is a member of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities or an out-of-state 
college or university if all of the conditions of §703.I are met 
and enrolled in an academic degree program, the amount 
shall equal the weighted average award amount. 
 iii. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Award attending a Louisiana 
public college or university and enrolled in a program for a 
vocational or technical education certificate or diploma or a 
non-academic undergraduate degree, the amount shall equal 
the actual cost of tuition. 
 iv. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Award attending a regionally 
accredited independent college or university in Louisiana 
that is a member of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities or who attend an 
eligible cosmetology or proprietary school and enrolled in a 
program for a vocational or technical education certificate or 
diploma or a non-academic undergraduate degree, the 
amount shall equal the average award amount (TOPS-Tech). 
 v. For students with the TOPS-Tech Award 
attending an eligible public college or university that does 
not offer an academic undergraduate degree at the 
baccalaureate level or higher and enrolled in a program for a 
vocational or technical education certificate or diploma or a 
non-academic undergraduate degree, the amount shall equal 
the actual cost of tuition. 
 vii. For students with a TOPS-Tech Award 
attending an eligible college or university that offers an 
academic undergraduate degree at the baccalaureate level or 
higher and enrolled in a program for a vocational or 
technical education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree, the amount shall equal the average 
award amount (TOPS-Tech). 
 viii. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Award enrolled in a Louisiana 
professional school, the amount shall be equal to the tuition 
charged or the tuition charged a student pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school, 
whichever is less or the weighted average award amount, 
depending upon whether the Louisiana professional school is 
a public or private school. 
 ix. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance and Honors Award enrolled in a Louisiana 
graduate degree program, the amount shall be equal to the 
tuition or the tuition charged for a student while pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school in the 
state, whichever is less. 

b. Beginning with the 2016-2017 academic year 
(college), the award amount determined by the board in 
accordance with Subparagraph a.i-ix., above during the 
2016-2017 academic year (college), plus any increase in the 
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award amount specifically authorized by the Louisiana 
Legislature. 

Award Year―the academic year (TOPS) during which a 
TOPS award is paid. 

BESE―Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, 
elected and appointed body with statutory oversight of 
Louisiana special, elementary and secondary schools. 

Cost of Attendance―the total amount it will cost a 
student to go to school, usually expressed as an academic 
year figure. This cost is determined by the school in 
compliance with Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 
1965, as amended, and is annually updated and adopted by 
the institution. The cost of education covers tuition and fees,  
on-campus room and board (or a housing and food 
allowance for off-campus students) and allowances for 
books, supplies, transportation, childcare, costs related to a 
disability, and miscellaneous expenses. Also included are 
reasonable costs for eligible programs of study abroad. An 
allowance (determined by the school) is included for 
reasonable costs connected with a student's employment as 
part of a Cooperative Education Program. 

Court Ordered Custodian―an adult appointed by a 
court of competent jurisdiction to have custody and care of a 
minor, and who demonstrates the requirement to provide the 
primary support for such minor. 

Dependent Student―a student who is dependent on his 
parents for support and therefore is required to include 
parental information on the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA. 

Disabled Student―a student who has one or more 
learning, visual, hearing, or physical disabilities diagnosed 
by a person licensed or certified to diagnose such disability, 
when the diagnosis states the need for the student to be 
provided special accommodations relative to the curriculum 
requirement. 

Dual Enrollment Course―a course for which both high 
school and college credit may be granted. 

Eligible Colleges or Universities―Louisiana public 
colleges or universities and regionally accredited 
independent colleges or universities in the state that are 
members of the Louisiana Association of Independent 
Colleges and Universities; for recipients of the TOPS Tech 
Award only, beginning with the 2009-2010 academic year 
(TOPS), and for recipients of the TOPS Tech, Opportunity, 
Performance and Honors Award, beginning with the 2010-
2011 academic year (TOPS), any school that has a valid and 
current certificate of registration issued by the state Board of 
Cosmetology in accordance with law and that is accredited 
by an accrediting organization recognized by the United 
States Department of Education and any proprietary school 
that has a valid and current license issued by the board in 
accordance with law and that is accredited by an accrediting 
organization recognized by the United States Department of 
Education. 

Eligible Cosmetology or Proprietary School―a 
cosmetology or proprietary school that is included as an 
eligible college or university in this Section. 

Eligible Noncitizen― 
a. an individual who can provide documentation 

from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor that he is in the U.S. for other than 
a temporary purpose with the intention of becoming a citizen 

or permanent resident, including, but not limited to, 
refugees, persons granted asylum, Cuban-Haitian entrants, 
temporary residents under the recent Immigration Reform 
and Control Act of 1986, and others. A permanent resident of 
the United States must provide documentation from the 
USCIS to verify permanent residency. For 1997, 1998 and 
1999 high school graduates, an eligible noncitizen shall be 
treated as meeting the citizenship requirements for an award 
under this Part; 

b. beginning with the 2018-2019 academic year 
(high school) and later, a student who is not a citizen of the 
United States but who is the child of a non-United States 
citizen who is either serving in any branch of the United 
States armed forces or has been honorably discharged from 
any branch of the United States armed forces shall be treated 
as meeting the citizenship requirements for an award under 
this Part. 

Eligible Non-Graduate―a student who has not 
graduated from high school or completed a home study 
program approved by BESE, but who meets all the criteria 
listed in §703.A.5.g. 

Eligible Non-Louisiana High School and Eligible Out-

of-State High School and Eligible Out-of-Country High 

School―see §§1701.A.3, 1701.A.4, and 1701.A.5, 
respectively. 

Exceptional Child―a student defined as an exceptional 
child in accordance with R.S. 17:1943(4), excluding gifted 
and talented. 

Expected Family Contribution (EFC)―an amount, 
determined by a formula established by Congress, that 
indicates how much of a family's financial resources should 
be available to help pay for the student's cost of attendance. 
Factors such as taxable and nontaxable income, assets (such 
as savings and checking accounts), and benefits (for 
example, unemployment or Social Security) are all 
considered in this calculation. 

Fee Schedule―a listing of the actual tuition and 
mandatory fees for attendance at a post-secondary school as 
defined by the institution. 

First-Time Freshman―a student who is awarded TOPS 
opportunity, performance, or honors and enrolls for the first-
time as a full-time freshman in an academic program in a 
post-secondary school subsequent to high school graduation, 
and is enrolled full-time at the end of the 14th class day or 
later (9th class day or later for Louisiana Tech) or enrolls for 
the first time, full-time in a Louisiana public community or 
technical college that offers a Vocational or Technical 
Education Certificate or Diploma Program or a non-
academic undergraduate degree to pursue a skill, 
occupational training, or technical training subsequent to 
high school graduation, and is enrolled full-time at the end 
of the 14th class day or later (9th class day or later for term 
and quarter institutions). A student who is awarded TOPS 
opportunity, performance, or honors and begins in an 
academic program in a post-secondary college or university 
in a summer session will be considered a first-time freshman 
for the immediately succeeding fall term. A student who is 
awarded TOPS opportunity, performance, or honors and 
begins in a non-academic program in a post-secondary 
school in a summer term will be considered a first-time 
freshman at the time of such enrollment. The fact that a 
student enrolls in a post-secondary school prior to 
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graduation from high school and/or enrolls less than full 
time in a post-secondary school prior to the required date for 
full time enrollment shall not preclude the student from 
being a first-time freshman. 

First-Time Student― 
a. for students graduating through the 2015-2016 

academic year (high school), a student who is awarded 
TOPS-Tech and enrolls for the first time, full-time in a 
Louisiana public community or technical college that offers 
a vocational or technical education certificate or diploma 
program or a non-academic undergraduate degree to pursue 
a skill, occupational training, or technical training 
subsequent to high school graduation, and is enrolled full-
time at the end of the fourteenth class day or later (ninth 
class day or later for quarter schools). The fact that a student 
who is eligible for a TOPS-Tech award enrolls in an 
academic program at a post-secondary school prior or 
subsequent to graduation from high school, but prior to the 
required date for full-time enrollment in a Louisiana public 
community or technical college that offers a vocational or 
technical education certificate or diploma program or a non-
academic undergraduate degree, shall not preclude the 
student from being a first-time student; 

b. for students graduating in the 2016-2017 
academic year (high school) or later, a student who is 
eligible for a TOPS-Tech award and enrolls for the first time, 
full-time in an eligible college or university in an associate's 
degree or other shorter-term training and education program 
that is aligned to state workforce priorities as determined by 
the board and the Louisiana Workforce Investment Council 
and is enrolled full-time at the end of the fourteenth class 
day or later (ninth class day or later for quarter schools). 

Full-Time Student― 
a. a student enrolled in an institution of higher 

education who is carrying a full-time academic workload as 
determined by the school under the standards applicable to 
all students enrolled; 

b. for continuation purposes, a student must be 
enrolled full-time at the end of the 14th class day or later at a 
semester school or the 9th class day or later at a quarter or 
term school; 

c. for continuation purposes, a student is considered 
to have met the full-time requirement if by the completion of 
the academic year he has earned at least 24 hours of total 
credit as reported by the institution for the fall and spring 
semesters at institutions defining 12 semester hours as the 
minimum for standing as a full-time undergraduate or as 
reported by the institution for the fall, winter and spring 
quarters at institutions defining eight quarter hours as the 
minimum for standing as a full-time undergraduate. For 
purposes of TOPS and except where specified otherwise 
within these rules, a student shall be credited for hours 
earned as reported by the institution which the student 
attends in accordance with that institution's published 
policies. Students should be aware that these policies may 
differ depending on the school the student attends (see 
§705.A, 705.D, 805.A, and 907.A for more expanded TOPS 
requirements); 

d. for programs which permit graduate study, a 
graduate student must have earned at least 18 hours of total 
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms; 

e. a student enrolled in two or more institutions of 
higher education when such multiple enrollment is necessary 
for the student to gain access to the courses required for 
completion of the degree in the chosen discipline and where 
the total number of hours earned at all institutions during the 
academic year is the equivalent of carrying a full-time 
academic workload as determined by the institution which 
will award the degree; 

f. correspondence courses may not be used to 
establish full time status. 

g. a student enrolled in an eligible cosmetology or 
proprietary school who is considered by the school to be 
enrolled full time on a billing date as provided in 
§1903.B.2.b. 

Gifted Course―a course developed and provided to 
fulfill an Individualized Education Program for a student 
who has been deemed to be gifted pursuant to R.S. 17:1941 
et seq. as implemented in state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education policy. 

High School Graduate―for the purposes of these rules, 
is defined as a student certified by award of a high school 
diploma to have satisfactorily completed the required units 
at a high school meeting the eligibility requirements of these 
rules or a student who has completed a BESE-Approved 
home study program in accordance with the requirements of 
this Chapter and has reported such to BESE. A student who 
graduates at any time during an academic year (high school) 
shall be deemed to have graduated on May 31 of that year 
for the purpose of applying deadlines. For the purpose of 
determining when a student must begin post-secondary 
enrollment, all students that report completion of an 
approved home study program to BESE during an academic 
year (high school) are deemed to have graduated on May 31 
of that year. 

Honors Coursesa rigorous high school course used to 
complete the TOPS core curriculum approved as an honors 

course for grading on a 5.00 scale by BESE and the board. 
Honors Curriculum Courses―any course designated by 

the respective school district as advanced placement, honors 
or gifted. 

Independent Student―a student who meets at least one 
of the criteria listed in Subparagraphs a-f or has been 
determined independent by a financial aid officer exercising 
professional judgment in accordance with applicable 
provisions of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended: 

a. reached 24 years of age prior to January of the 
year preceding the academic year for which the student is 
applying for aid; 

b. is a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, including 
a student who was activated to serve in Operation Desert 
Storm; 

c. is an orphan or a ward of the court or was a ward 
of the court until age 18; 

d. has legal dependents other than a spouse; 
e. is a graduate or professional student; 
f. is married. 

Intersession― 
a. During the 2008-2009 academic year, an 

academic term between regular semesters/terms that
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provides credit courses to students in an intensive, 
condensed format. 

b. Beginning with the 2009-2010 academic year, 
any academic term that provides credit courses to students in 
an intensive, condensed format that is no longer than 15 
class days. 

Join―enters on active duty. 
Legal Guardian― 

a. an adult appointed by a court of competent 
jurisdiction to have custody and care of a minor, and who 
demonstrates the requirement to provide the primary support 
for such minor. Also referred to as a court ordered custodian; 

b. for the purposes of consenting to the collection 
and disclosure of personally identifying information, the 
student's parent, legal guardian, or other person responsible 
for the student. 

Louisiana Resident― 
a. any independent student or any dependent 

student with at least one parent or court ordered custodian 
who has resided in the state for a minimum of 24 
consecutive months immediately preceding the month of 
high school graduation or the month of May in the academic 
year (high school) that a student completes a home study 
program or some other period of residency which is required 
to qualify the person for a specific program administered by 
the board. To qualify for a program under Part IV of these 
rules, in addition to the certification of residency found on 
the application form, the board may require an independent 
student applicant or the parent(s) or court ordered custodian 
of a dependent student applicant to show proof of residency. 
Residency may be established by completion of a standard 
affidavit developed by the board. Such affidavits must be 
completed in their entirety by the independent student 
applicant or by at least one parent or court ordered custodian 
of the dependent student applicant and be sworn to and 
notarized by a licensed notary public. Further, the affiant 
shall be required to submit records in support of the affidavit 
to include the following records and such other records as 
may be required by the board: 
 i. if registered to vote, a Louisiana voters 
registration card; and 
 ii. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, a Louisiana 
driver's license; and 
 iii. if owning a motor vehicle located in Louisiana, 
a Louisiana registration for that vehicle; and 
 iv. if earning a reportable income, a Louisiana tax 
return; 

b. any member of the Armed Forces on active duty 
whose official state of legal residence is Louisiana as 
demonstrated by the member's DD Form 2058 validated by 
the member's military personnel officer or other 
documentary proof and who has filed a Louisiana tax return 
for the most recent two years in compliance with Clause a.iv, 
above; 

c. any member of the Armed Forces who is 
stationed in Louisiana under permanent change of station 
orders and who, not later than 180 days after reporting to 
such station, changes his military DD Form 2058 to reflect 
Louisiana as his state of legal residence, and complies with 
all Louisiana income tax laws and regulations while 
stationed in Louisiana. A copy of the Permanent Change of 
Station (PCS) Orders and a DD Form 2058 validated by the 

member's military personnel officer and showing Louisiana 
as the member's state of legal residence must be submitted to 
the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance 
(LOSFA) at the time the service member's dependent applies 
for TOPS. The DD Form 2058 must reflect that it was filed 
within 180 days after the member reported to duty at a duty 
station in Louisiana; 

d. a parent or court-ordered custodian who is living 
outside the United States and its territories, is actively 
engaged in work or another activity on behalf of a Louisiana 
employer or sponsor, and is not on active duty with the 
United States armed forces, may meet the residency 
requirement for dependent students by providing a sworn 
affidavit with supporting evidence that the parent or court-
ordered custodian complies with all of the following: 
 i. was a resident of Louisiana who actually lived 
in Louisiana for at least the 24 months preceding the date he 
started the work or activity outside the United States and its 
territories; 
 ii. was assigned duties outside the United States 
and its territories by a Louisiana employer or sponsor and 
continues to be employed by the employer or perform duties 
for the sponsor through the date of the student's graduation 
from high school or completion of a home study program 
approved by BESE; 
 iii. has remained a resident of Louisiana through 
the date of the student's graduation from high school or 
completion of a home study program approved by BESE. 
Evidence may include a Louisiana voters registration card, a 
Louisiana driver's license, a Louisiana registration for an 
owned vehicle, a Louisiana tax return, notarized affidavits, 
copies of correspondence from the employer or sponsor 
providing the reason for living outside the United States and 
its territories and the time period of the work or activity, 
copies of visas, copies of foreign housing documentation, 
and copies of other documents that demonstrate a presence 
in Louisiana or a foreign country during the required period 
of time; 

e. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with academic year (high school) 2002-2003, any 
independent or dependent student who actually resides in 
Louisiana during his last two full years of high school. In 
order to qualify pursuant to this Subsection, the student's 
high school transcript must reflect that the student earned 
credit for the last four semesters of high school immediately 
prior to graduation and graduated from an approved 
Louisiana high school; 

f. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with academic year (high school) 2000-2001, any dependent 
student who actually resided in Louisiana during his last two 
full years of high school and whose parent is a member of 
the United States Armed Forces living in Louisiana under 
permanent change of station orders, but who does not claim 
Louisiana as his official state of legal residence. In order to 
qualify pursuant to this Subsection, the student's high school 
transcript must reflect that the student earned credit for the 
last four semesters of high school immediately prior to 
graduation and graduated from an approved Louisiana high 
school; 

g. effective for high school graduates of academic 
year (high school) 2001-2002 and 2002-2003, any dependent 
student who was continuously enrolled in a Louisiana public 
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high school or nonpublic high school that is approved by 
BESE during his last two full years of high school, whose 
parent or court ordered custodian: 
 i. is a resident of a state that adjoins Louisiana; 
and 
 ii. actually resides in a county that adjoins a 
Louisiana parish having a population greater than 41,600 
and less than 42,400 according to the federal 2000 census; 
and 
 iii. has filed a Louisiana state income tax return 
and complied with state income tax laws and regulations; or 
 iv. is assessed ad valorem taxes on property 
owned in Louisiana. 

In order to qualify pursuant to this Subsection, the student's 
high school transcript must reflect that the student earned 
credit for the last four semesters of high school immediately 
prior to graduation and graduated from an approved Louisiana 
high school. 

h. For any dependent student graduating from an 
out-of-state high school during the 2006-2007 academic year 
(high school) whose parent or court-ordered custodian was a 
member of the United States armed forces who, in the year 
2006, moved from Louisiana under permanent change of 
station orders and retired from the armed forces, and 
changed his military personnel records to reflect a change of 
his state of legal residence from Louisiana to another state, 
shall meet the requirements of this Item, provided that such 
parent or court-ordered custodian changes his military 
personnel records from the other state to reestablish 
Louisiana as his state of legal residence no later than July 1, 
2007, and has filed a Louisiana state income tax return for 
the two years preceding the date of the dependent's 
graduation from high school. 

Merit Ranking Formula―a mathematical equation 
incorporating selected merit factors that is used to rank 
eligible applicants in the priority by which initial 
competitive scholarships are to be awarded. As of July 1, 
1997, the TOPS Teacher Award and Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship are the only programs in which 
applicants are competitively ranked. The following formulas 
for the merit ranking of scholarship applicants provide for 
the equating of scores for high school graduating seniors and 
college students. 

a. Formula I―applies to applicants for the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship with less than 24 
hours of graded college credit and to applicants for the 
TOPS Teacher Award with less than 48 hours of graded 
college credit: 
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b. Formula IA―applies to applicants for the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship who are qualified 
home study completers with less than 24 hours of graded 
college credit: 

 

 
c. Formula II―applies to applicants for the 

Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship with 24 or more 
hours of graded college credit and to applicants for the

TOPS Teacher Award with 48 or more hours of graded 
college credit: 

 
d. Formula III―applies to applicants for the TOPS 

Teacher Award. For those applicants majoring in math or 
chemistry, an additional 10 points are added to the merit 
score determined by Formula I or II, resulting in an adjusted 
merit score. 

e. Applicants' merit scores are ranked in descending 
order with the applicant with the highest merit score ranked 
first. The number of applicants selected for award is 
dependent upon the amount of award funds available. 

f. In the event of a tie, the eligible applicants will 
be ranked based on the following criteria in the order listed: 
 i. the applicant with more college hours earned; 
or 
 ii. the student with the highest ACT (or equivalent 
SAT) score. 

Monetary Repayment―for purposes of the Rockefeller 
State Wildlife Scholarship and TOPS Teacher Award 
Programs, repaying the scholarship funding received, plus 
any interest accrued under the terms of the promissory note 
signed by the recipient, if the recipient fails to fulfill the 
terms of the program. See repayment. 

On-Line Application―submission of a request for a 
TOPS eligibility determination via the LOSFA TOPS 
website. If the applicant does not submit a FAFSA, the  
on-line application will require the student to declare that he 
can demonstrate that he is not eligible for federal grant aid. 

Orphan―a person who does not live with either parent 
because the parent(s) is/are dead or has/have abandoned him 
or the parental rights of the parent(s) has/have been severed 
by competent authority. 

Over Award―for the purposes of LAC 28:IV, an over 
award occurs when a student received financial aid in excess 
of the cost of attendance as established in accordance with 
federal Title IV regulations or an award under state programs 
to which the student was not entitled. 

Personally Identifiable Information or PII―personal 
information about an individual that can be used on its own 
or with other information to identify, contact, or locate a 
single individual. 

Qualified Summer Session―those summer sessions 
(includes terms and semesters conducted during the summer) 
for which the student's institution certifies that: 

a. the summer session is required in the student's 
degree program for graduation and the student enrolled for at 
least the minimum number of hours required for the degree 
program for the session; or 

b. the student can complete his program's 
graduation requirements in the summer session; or 

c. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
required for graduation in the program in which the student 
is enrolled and is only offered during the summer session; or 

d. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
in a program for a vocational or technical education 
certificate or diploma or a non-academic undergraduate 
degree; or 
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e. for the summer of 2006 only, the student is a 
displaced student as identified in §2103.G.1 of these rules, 
whose TOPS award was not paid for one or more semesters 
during the 2005-2006 academic year; or 

f. beginning with the summer of 2010, prior to the 
beginning of the summer session, the student: 
 i. has at least 60 academic college credit hours; 
 ii. has enrolled as a full time student for the 
summer session; and 
 iii. has signed a form provided by LOSFA: 

(a). requesting payment for the summer session 
from the student's remaining TOPS eligibility; 

(b). stating the student understands that the use 
of the TOPS award for the summer session reduces the 
student's TOPS eligibility by one semester or term; and 

(c). stating the student understands that the 
grades earned during the summer session will be included in 
the student's cumulative grade point average. 

Refund―a refund of school charges that the school 
makes to a student or to a creditor on behalf of the student, 
usually after the student has withdrawn from school. The 
refund to the student is the difference between the amount 
the student paid toward school charges minus the amount the 
school keeps for the portion of the payment period that the 
student was enrolled. 

Repayment―the amount of the cash disbursement that a 
student must pay back to the school if the student withdraws 
from the program. If the cash disbursement was greater than 
the student's cost of attendance (student's education costs 
above and beyond the amount of tuition and fees) up to the 
withdrawal date, the student must repay the excess amount. 
The actual amount of the refund/repayment is determined 
according to the school's policy in accordance with federal 
regulations. See monetary repayment. 

Reporting Institution―the post-secondary institution 
required by §1903.A of these rules to report a student's 
college/university cumulative grade point average. 

Returning Student―a student who graduated from high 
school beginning with academic year (high school): 

a. 2001-2002, and met all the academic 
requirements for a TOPS award, but who enrolled for the 
first time as a full-time student no later than the deadline 
established in §703.A.4 in an out-of-state postsecondary 
institution accredited by a regional accrediting organization 
recognized by the United States Department of Education 
and, thereafter, returns to Louisiana and enrolls as a full-time 
student in an eligible college or university; or 

b. who was determined eligible for a TOPS 
Opportunity, Performance or Honors Award and enrolled for 
the first time as a full-time student no later than the deadline 
established in §703.A.4 in an eligible college or university in 
Louisiana, subsequently enrolled in an out-of-state 
postsecondary institution accredited by a regional 
accrediting organization recognized by the United States 
Department of Education and, thereafter, returns to 
Louisiana and enrolls as a full-time student in an eligible 
college or university during or after the 2009-2010 academic 
year ( TOPS). 

Selective Enrollment Program―an advanced college 
course of study with competitive admissions based on a 
student's qualifications including successful completion of 
required college courses and a minimum college cumulative 

grade point average. Examples of Selective Enrollment 
Programs include, but are not limited to, medical technology, 
nursing (Bachelor of Science), occupational therapy, 
physical therapy, and radiation technology. 

Skill and Occupational Training― 
a. any and all certificate, diploma, associate of 

applied technology, and associate of applied science 
programs offered by eligible colleges/universities; 

b. any coordinated and comprehensive course of 
study offered by eligible colleges/universities which 
qualifies a student upon completion to sit for testing leading 
to and/or meeting national and/or state 
professional/occupational licensure and/or certification 
requirements; and 

c. any training leading to an industry-based 
certification, a certificate of applied science or a certificate 
of technical sciences approved by the Workforce Investment 
Council offered by a provider recognized by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission. 

Steady Academic Progress―the maintenance of a 
minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.00 on a 4.00 
scale, except at eligible cosmetology or proprietary schools, 
where it is meeting the federal grant aid requirement for 
steady academic progress at that school. 

Substantial Financial Need―for purposes of the LEAP 
(formerly SSIG) Program only, substantial financial need is 
the difference between the student's cost of attendance and 
the sum of that student's expected family contribution 
(EFC), plus other student aid the student is due to receive. 
The difference thus computed must exceed $199. 

Talented Course―a course developed and provided to 
fulfill an individualized education program for a student who 
has been deemed to be gifted pursuant to R.S. 17:1941 et 
seq., as implemented in state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education policy. 

TOPS Cumulative Grade Point Average 

(Academic)―through the 2014-15 academic year (TOPS), 
the grade point average calculated by LOSFA on all 
academic courses taken by a student at postsecondary 
institutions to determine whether the student has maintained 
steady academic progress and whether the student has met 
the minimum grade point average required to maintain 
eligibility for continuation of a TOPS award. The cumulative 
grade point average shall be calculated on a 4.00 scale and 
must include all academic courses from all postsecondary 
institutions attended for which the student has been awarded 
a grade. Academic courses taken at a college or university 
while the student was still in high school and at 
postsecondary institutions other than the institution at which 
the student is currently enrolled must be included in the 
calculation. Grades earned in non-academic courses and 
courses taken on a pass/fail basis are not considered in the 
calculation of the cumulative grade point average. 

TOPS Cumulative Grade Point Average  

(Non-Academic)―through the 2014-15 academic year 
(TOPS), the grade point average calculated by LOSFA on all 
non-academic courses taken by a student at postsecondary 
institutions to determine whether the student has maintained 
steady academic progress and whether the student has met 
the minimum grade point average required to maintain 
eligibility for continuation of a TOPS award. The cumulative 
grade point average shall be calculated on a 4.00 scale and 
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must include all non-academic courses from all 
postsecondary institutions attended for which the student has 
been awarded a grade. Non-academic courses taken at a 
college or university while the student was still in high 
school and at postsecondary institutions other than the 
institution at which the student is currently enrolled must be 
included in the calculation. Grades earned in academic 
courses and courses taken on a pass/fail basis are not 
considered in the calculation of the cumulative grade point 
average. 

TOPS Cumulative Grade Point Average (Opportunity, 

Performance, Honors)―beginning with the 2015-16 
academic year (TOPS), the grade point average for students 
with the TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors 
Awards shall be calculated by LOSFA on all courses taken 
by a student at postsecondary institutions. 

a. These courses shall include those taken at 
postsecondary institutions while the student was still in high 
school and at postsecondary institutions other than the 
institution at which the student is currently enrolled. 

b. The average for these courses shall be calculated 
on a 4.00 scale and shall include all courses for which the 
student has been awarded a grade. The average shall not 
include courses graded on a pass/fail basis. 

c. This average will be used to determine whether 
the student has maintained steady academic progress and 
whether the student has met the minimum grade point 
average required to maintain eligibility for continuation of a 
TOPS Opportunity, Performance or Honors Award.  

TOPS Cumulative Grade Point Average (TOPS 

Tech)―beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year 
(TOPS) the grade point average for a student with the TOPS 
Tech Award shall be calculated by LOSFA on all courses 
taken by a student at postsecondary institutions while 
enrolled in a skill, occupational or technical program. 

a. These courses shall include all those taken in 
skill, occupational or technical programs at postsecondary 
institutions while the student was still in high school and at 
postsecondary institutions other than the institution at which 
the student is currently enrolled. 

b. The average for these courses shall be calculated 
on a 4.00 scale and shall include all courses while enrolled 
in a skill, occupational or technical program for which the 
student has been awarded a grade. The average shall not 
include courses graded on a pass/fail basis. 

c. This average will be used to determine whether 
the student has maintained steady academic progress and 
whether the student has met the minimum grade point 
average required to maintain eligibility for continuation of a 
TOPS Tech Award.  

TOPS Cumulative High School Grade Point Average― 
a. effective for high school graduates beginning 

with academic year (high school) 2002-2003, the grade point 
average calculated by LOSFA including only the grades 
achieved in those courses that were used to satisfy core 
curriculum requirements. In the event a student has received 
credit for more than 16.5 hours of courses that are included 
in the core curriculum, the TOPS cumulative high school 

grade point average shall be calculated by using the course 
in each core curriculum category for which the student 
received the highest grade. For example, if a student has

taken more than one advanced mathematics course, the 
cumulative grade point average shall be determined by using 
only the course in which the student has received the highest 
grade; 

b. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with academic year (high school) 2002-2003, the grade point 
average for students qualifying for a performance award 
using a minimum ACT score of 24 and a minimum grade 
point average of 3.00 must include at least 10 units of honors 
curriculum courses (see §703.A.5.f.ii); 

c. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with academic year (high school) 2007-2008, the grade point 
average shall be calculated on 17.5 hours of units of courses 
that are used to satisfy the core curriculum; 

d. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with academic year (high school) 2013-2014, the grade point 
average shall be calculated on 19.0 hours of units of courses 
that are used to satisfy the core curriculum; 

e. effective for high school graduates through 
academic year (high school) 2016-2017, for those high 
schools that utilize other than a 4.00 scale, all grade values 
shall be converted to a 4.00 scale utilizing the following 
formula: 

 

 Scale)(Maximum 4.00

Points)Quality  (Converted X
 = 

Course the for Possible Points Maximum

Course the for Awarded PointsQuality  

 
For example, if a school awards a maximum of 5 points for 
honors courses, the school must use the following formula to 
convert an honors course grade of "C": 
 

 
By cross multiplying, 

5X = 12; X = 2.40 

Quality points = Credit for course multiplied by the value 
assigned to the letter grade. 

 
f. effective for high school graduates beginning 

with academic year (high school) 2017-2018, the TOPS 
cumulative grade point average will be calculated by 
dividing the total number of quality points earned on the 
courses used to complete the TOPS core curriculum by the 
total units earned to complete the TOPS core curriculum. 

 
Quality points equal the credit for the course multiplied by the 
value assigned to the letter grade. 
 
The quality points for courses used to complete the TOPS core 
curriculum, except for Advanced Placement, International 
Baccalaureate, Gifted and Talented, Honors, Articulated 
Courses for College Credit and Dual Enrollment courses 
approved by the board and BESE, used to complete the TOPS 
core curriculum on a 5.00 scale, shall be converted to a 4.00 
scale utilizing the following formula: 
 

An “A” shall equal 4.0. 
A “B” shall equal 3.0. 
A “C” shall equal 2.0. 
A “D” shall equal 1.0. 
An “F” shall equal zero (0.0). 

 
The quality points for Advanced Placement, International 
Baccalaureate, Gifted and Talented, Honors, Articulated 
Courses for College Credit and Dual Enrollment courses
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approved by the board and BESE used to complete the TOPS 
core curriculum shall be converted to a 5.00 scale as follows: 

 
An “A” shall equal 5.0. 
A “B” shall equal 4.0. 
A “C” shall equal 3.0. 
A “D” shall equal 2.0. 
An “F” shall equal zero (0.0). 
 

Tuition— 
a. through the fall semester or term and winter 

quarter of the 2010-2011 award year, the fee charged each 
student by a post-secondary institution to cover the student's 
share of the cost of instruction, including all other 
mandatory enrollment fees charged to all students except for 
the technology fee authorized by Act 1450 of the 1997 
Regular Session of the Legislature:  
 i. which were in effect as of January 1, 1998; 
 ii. any changes in the cost of instruction 
authorized by the legislature and implemented by the 
institution after that date; and  
 iii. for programs with alternative scheduling 
formats that are approved in writing by the board after that 
date. Any payment for enrollment in one of these programs 
shall count towards the student's maximum eligibility for his 
award:  

(a). up to the equivalent of eight full-time 
semesters of postsecondary education in full-time semesters 
for the TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors Award; 
or 

(b). up to the equivalent of two years of 
postsecondary education in full-time semesters and summer 
sessions for the TOPS Tech Award. 

b. beginning with the spring semester, quarter or 
term of the 2010-2011 award year and through the spring 
semester, quarter, or term of the 2012-2013 award year; 
 i. the tuition and mandatory fees authorized in 
Subparagraph a above; or 
 ii. the tuition fee amount published by the 
postsecondary institution, whichever is greater. 

c. Beginning with the fall semester, quarter, or term 
of the 2013-2014 award year, the tuition amount as of 
August 1, 2013, published by the postsecondary institution 
for the 2013-2014 award year for paying students; 

d. beginning with the fall semester, quarter, or term 
of the 2014-2015 award year, the tuition amount as of 
August 1, 2013, published by the postsecondary institution 
for the 2013-2014 award year for paying students, plus any 
increase authorized by the legislature which is not 
attributable to any fees. No fees or increases attributable to 
fees of any kind shall be included in the TOPS award 
amount. Stipends for TOPS Performance and Honors awards 
shall not be included in the TOPS award amount. 

Undergraduate Student―a student who has not 
completed the requirements for a baccalaureate degree 
program. 

Weighted Average Award Amount―for those students 
with the TOPS Opportunity, Performance, and Honors 
Award attending a regionally accredited independent college 
or university in this state which is a member of the Louisiana 
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities and 
enrolled in an academic program, the total dollar value of 
awards made under TOPS in the 2016-2017 academic year, 
excluding award stipends, to students attending public 

colleges and universities that offer academic degrees at the 
baccalaureate level, divided by the total number of students 
that received the awards 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458 and 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), LR 27:1840 (November 2001), LR 27:1875 
(November 2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 
2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 
2002), LR 29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 
30:1159 (June 2004), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31:36 
(January 2005), LR 31:3112 (December 2005), LR 33:86 (January 
2007), LR 33:439 (March 2007), LR 33:1339 (July 2007), LR 
33:2612 (December 2007), LR 34:234 (February 2008), LR 
34:1388 (July 2008), LR 34:1884 (September 2008), LR 35:228 
(February 2009), LR 35:1489 (August 2009), LR 35:1490 (August 
2009), LR 36:311 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2854 (December 2010), LR 37:1561 (June 2011), LR 37:1562 
(June 2011), LR 38:1953 (August 2012), LR 38:3156 (December 
2012), LR 39:308 (February 2013), LR 40:53 (January 2014), LR 
40:281 (February 2014), LR 41:649, 658 (April 2015), LR 41:2595 
(December 2015), LR 44: 

Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid  
and ACT Test 

§501. Initial Application 
A. Initial Application for High School Graduates of 

2002-2003 or Earlier 
1. Except as provided in Subparagraph A.2.b below, 

all new applicants for Louisiana scholarship and grant 
programs must apply for federal aid by completing the free 
application for federal student aid (FAFSA) for the academic 
year following the year the student graduated from high 
school. For example, if the student will graduate from high 
school in school year 2002-2003, submit the 2003-2004 
version of the FAFSA. 

2. All new applicants for TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, Honors and TOPS-Tech Awards who graduate 
from high school during the 2001-2002 or 2002-2003 
academic years (high school) must apply for federal aid by 
completing the free application for federal student aid 
(FAFSA) for the academic year (TOPS) the applicant will be 
a first-time, full-time student. For example, if the applicant 
will graduate from high school in the 2002-2003 academic 
year (high school) and does not intend to enroll as a first-
time, full-time student until the fall semester of 2004, he 
must submit the 2004-2005 version of the FAFSA. 

a. All applicants for TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance and Honors Awards and TOPS-Tech Awards 
(except those students who can demonstrate that they do not 
qualify for federal grant aid because of their family's 
financial condition) must complete all applicable sections of 
the initial FAFSA. 

b. Applicants for TOPS Opportunity, Performance 
and Honors Awards and TOPS-Tech Awards who can 
demonstrate that they do not qualify for federal grant aid 
because of their family's financial condition must complete 
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all applicable sections of the initial FAFSA except those 
sections related to the income and assets of the applicant and 
the applicant's parents. 

c. In the event of a budgetary shortfall, applicants 
for TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors Awards and 
TOPS-Tech Awards who do not complete all sections of the 
FAFSA will be the first denied a TOPS Award. 

B. Initial Application for a TOPS Award for High School 
Graduates and Home Study Completers of 2003-2004 and 
Thereafter, and Eligible Non-Graduates 

1. Students who graduate from a Louisiana public 
high school as defined in §1703.A.1, an approved Louisiana 
non-public school as defined in §1701.A.2, or an eligible 
non-Louisiana public school as defined in §1701.A.3 must: 

a. submit a Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid (FAFSA); or 

b. if the student can demonstrate that he does not 
qualify for federal grant aid because of his family's financial 
condition, submit the initial FAFSA after completing all 
applicable sections except those sections related to the 
income and assets of the student and the student's parents; or 

c. complete an on-line application. 
2. Students who graduate from an eligible out-of-state 

or out-of-country high school or complete a home study 
program approved by the Louisiana Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education or enroll for the first time as a full-
time student in an out-of-state college or university 
following graduation from an eligible high school (Louisiana 
public high school as defined in §1703.A.1, an Approved 
Louisiana non-public school as defined in §1701.A.2, an 
eligible non-Louisiana public school as defined in 
§1701.A.3, out-of-state high school as defined by §1701.A.4 
or an out-of-country high school as defined by §1701.A.5) 
must: 

a. submit a free Application for Federal Student 
Aid; or 

b. if the student can demonstrate that he does not 
qualify for federal grant aid because of his family's financial 
condition, submit the initial FAFSA after completing all 
applicable sections except those sections related to the 
income and assets of the student and the student's parents; or 

c. complete an on-line application; and 
d. submit an official transcript from the out-of-state 

or out-of-country high school from which the student 
graduated; and 

e. submit the official transcripts from each  
out-of-state college or university attended; and 

f. submit an affidavit attesting to Louisiana 
residency, except those students who completed their last 
two years in and graduated from a Louisiana Public or 
approved non-public high school. 

3. Eligible non-graduates must: 
a. submit a Free Application for Federal Student 

Aid, (FAFSA); or 
b. if the student can demonstrate that he does not 

qualify for federal grant aid because of his family's financial 
condition, submit the initial FAFSA after completing all 
applicable sections except those sections related to the 
income and assets of the student and the student's parents; or 

c. complete an on-line application. 
4. Applicants for TOPS Opportunity, performance and 

honors awards and TOPS-Tech Awards who submit the  

on-line application in lieu of the FAFSA or who do not 
complete all sections of the FAFSA will be ineligible for 
federal grant aid and federally guaranteed student loans. 

5. In the event of a budgetary shortfall, applicants for 
TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors Awards and 
TOPS-Tech Awards who submit the on-line application in 
lieu of the FAFSA or who do not complete all sections of the 
FAFSA will be the first denied a TOPS Award. 

C. Initial Application for Louisiana Scholarship and 
Grant Programs other than TOPS for High School Graduates 
of 2004 and Thereafter 

1. All new applicants for Louisiana Scholarship and 
Grant Programs other than TOPS and the Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship must apply for federal grant aid by 
completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) for the academic year following the year the 
student graduated from high school. For example, if the 
student will graduate from high school in school year 2003-
2004, submit the 2004-2005 version of the FAFSA. 

2. All new applicants for the Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship must apply for federal grant aid by 
submitting the FAFSA so that it is received no later than July 
1 immediately preceding the academic year (college) for 
which the scholarship is sought. For example, if the student 
wants to apply for a Rockefeller Scholarship to be awarded 
during the 2005-2006 academic year (college), submit the 
2005-2006 version of the FAFSA no later than July 1, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 
LR 24:1900 (October 1998), amended LR 26:1994 (September 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1846 (November 2001), amended LR 
29:554 (April 2003), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31:36 
(January 2005), LR 31:1060 (May 2005), LR 41:659 (April 2015), 
repromulgated LR 44: 

§502. Consent Required to Process Applications and 

Deadlines 
A. To process an application for financial aid or to allow 

participation in LOSFA programs to provide guidance and 
motivation in preparing for and achieving eligibility for 
financial aid programs, certain student personally 
identifiable information (PII) must be provided to the board. 
The PII required depends on the financial aid program for 
which the student is applying. If the required PII is not 
provided, an applicant will not be determined to be eligible. 

B. The submission of an application for a financial aid 
program administered by the board or for participation in 
LOSFA programs to provide guidance and motivation in 
preparing for and achieving eligibility for financial aid 
programs constitutes consent for the student’s school to 
collect and disclose the student’s PII to LOSFA, and for 
LOSFA to collect, maintain, and use the PII for the program 
in which the student has indicated a desire to participate, if 
submitted by: 

1. a student who is judicially emancipated, or 
emancipated by marriage, or who is 18 years old or older; or  

2. a parent or legal guardian on behalf of a student 
who is not at least 18 years old and who is not emancipated. 

C. To grant consent for a public school to collect the 
student’s PII and disclose it to LOSFA, the student, parent or 
legal guardian, as applicable, must sign a consent form 
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provided by the public high school that includes the 
following: 

1. purpose(s) for which the PII will be used; 
2. who will have access to the PII; 
3. how long the PII will be retained by LOSFA; and 
4. how the PII will be destroyed at the end of the 

retention period. 
D. Submission of one of the following constitutes 

consent for LOSFA to collect, maintain, and use the PII 
included in the submission for the purposes of determining 
eligibility for financial aid: 

1. free application for federal student aid (FAFSA) 
naming LOSFA as a recipient; 

2. ACT score naming LOSFA as a recipient; 
3. ACT WorkKeys score naming LOSFA as a 

recipient; 
4. SAT score naming LOSFA as a recipient; 
5. TOPS on-line application. 

E. The required information for consideration for initial 
eligibility for a TOPS award, includes, but is not limited to, 
all the following student information: 

1. full name; 
2. date of birth; 
3. Social Security number; 
4. student high school transcript data, including but 

not limited to: 
a. month and year of high school graduation; 
b. the course code for each course completed; 
c. the grade for each course completed; 
d. the term and year each course is completed; 
e. designation of each advanced placement, 

International Baccalaureate, honors, gifted and talented, 
articulated course for college credit, and dual enrollment 
course; 

f. the grading scale for each course reported; and 
g. the high school attended for each course 

reported; 
5. ACT, ACT WorkKeys, and/or SAT scores; 
6. FAFSA data; 
7. college transcript data as set forth in Section 1903. 

F. The required information for consideration for 
eligibility for other awards, grants and programs may 
include, but is not limited to, the following student 
information: 

1. the information set forth in Subsection E above; 
2. student disciplinary data; 
3. family income; 
4. dual enrollment high school and college transcript 

data; 
5. foster care status; 
6. ACT plan score; 
7. school lunch program status; 
8. standardized test scores; 
9. grade point average for each semester and 

cumulative grade point average. 
G. Deadlines to Provide Consent to a Public School for 

the Release of a Student’s PII to LOSFA 
1. For participation in LOSFA’s program for guidance 

and motivation to prepare for and to achieve eligibility for 
financial aid programs, the parent or legal guardian, as 
applicable, should provide consent by the eighth grade. 

2. For eligibility for payment of a TOPS award for the 
fall semester immediately following high school graduation, 
the student, parent or legal guardian, as applicable, should 
provide consent no later than January 15 of the year of 
graduation. 

3. The final date for receipt of consent is the January 
15 immediately following the final deadline for receipt of 
the student’s FAFSA or on-line application. See Section 505 
below. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 41:650 (April 2015), LR 44: 

§503. Application Deadlines for High School 

Graduates of 2003 and Earlier 
A. Deadline for Priority Consideration 

1. For priority consideration for the 1998-99 award 
year, applicants must submit the FAFSA to be received by 
the federal processor by June 1, 1998. 

2. Priority consideration means that an applicant who 
submits a FAFSA by this date shall, under normal 
circumstances, receive notification of his eligibility for a 
noncompetitive award (TOPS Opportunity, Performance and 
Honors Awards) prior to enrolling in the fall term. 

3. An applicant for a competitively awarded 
scholarship (TOPS Teacher Award and Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship) who submits a FAFSA by this date 
shall be considered for selection of award in the first round 
of applicants awarded. 

4. For priority consideration for award years after 
1998-99, applicants must submit the FAFSA to be received 
by the federal processor by May 1, preceding the award year. 

B. Final Deadline for Full Award 
1.a. Except as provided in Subparagraph B.1.b below, in 

order to receive the full benefits of a TOPS Award as 
provided in §701.E, the final deadline for receipt of a 
student's initial FAFSA application is July 1 of the academic 
year (high school) in which a student graduates. For 
example, for a student graduating in the 2000-2001 
academic year (high school), the student must submit the 
initial FAFSA in time for it to be received by the federal 
processor by July 1, 2001. 

b. For applicants graduating from high school 
during or after the 2001-2002 academic year (high school), 
in order to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as 
provided in §701.E, the final deadline for receipt of a 
student's initial FAFSA application is the July 1 immediately 
preceding the academic year (TOPS) in which the applicant 
will be a first-time, full-time student. 

c. Examples 
 i. If an applicant graduates in the 2002-2003 
academic year (high school) and will be a first-time,  
full-time student in the fall semester of 2003, the applicant 
must submit the initial FAFSA in time for it to be received 
by the federal processor by July 1, (2003). 
 ii. If an applicant graduates in the 2002-2003 
academic year (high school) and will be a first-time, full-
time student in the fall semester of 2004, the applicant must 
submit the initial FAFSA in time for it to be received by the 
federal processor by July 1, (2004). 
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d. Students must also apply in time to meet the  
first-time freshman enrollment deadlines specified in 
§703.A.4 (TOPS opportunity, performance and honors) and 
§803.A.4 (TOPS-Tech). 

2. Notwithstanding the deadline established by 
§503.B.1 above, applicants who enter on active duty in the 
U.S. Armed Forces have a final deadline for receipt of their 
initial FAFSA application of one year from the date of 
separation from active duty. In order to be eligible under this 
Subsection, the applicant must meet the requirements of 
§703.A.4.b or d or §803.A.4.b or d of these rules and must 
not have been discharged with an undesirable, bad conduct 
or dishonorable discharge. 

3. Returning Students 
a. Notwithstanding the deadline established by 

§503.B.1 above, returning students, who graduated from 
high school during the 2001-2002 academic year (high 
school) and who enroll in an eligible college or university in 
the spring semester of 2003, must submit the FAFSA to be 
received by the federal processor no later than July 1, 2004. 

b. Notwithstanding the deadline established by 
§503.B.1 above, returning students, who enroll in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2003 or later, 
must submit the FAFSA to be received by the federal 
processor no later than July 1 following the first semester of 
enrollment.  

c. Examples 
 i. A student who seeks to enroll in an eligible 
college or university for the spring semester of 2004 must 
submit his FAFSA to be received by the federal processor no 
later than July 1, 2004.  
 ii. A student who seeks to enroll in an eligible 
college or university for the fall semester of 2004 must 
submit his FAFSA to be received by the federal processor no 
later than July 1, 2005. 

C. If a prescribed deadline date falls on a weekend or 
holiday, it will automatically be extended to the next 
business day. 

D. Final Deadlines for Reduced Awards 
1. If an application for an initial award under this 

Chapter is received after the deadline provided in §503.B 
above, but not later than 60 days after that deadline, the time 
period of eligibility for the award shall be reduced by one 
semester, two quarters, or an equivalent number of units at 
an eligible institution which operates on a schedule based on 
units other than semesters or quarters. 

2. If an application for an initial award under this 
Chapter is received more than 60 days after the deadline 
provided in §503.B above, but not later than 120 days after 
that deadline, the time period of eligibility for the award 
shall be reduced by two semesters or three quarters, or an 
equivalent number of units at an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters. 

3. Applications received more than 120 days after the 
published deadline shall not be considered. 

E. The reduction of the applicant's period of eligibility 
for this award under §503.D above shall not be cumulative 
with any reduction under §509.C. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 
LR 24:1900 (October 1998), amended LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:2396 (December 1999), LR 26:1994 (September 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 
(March 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 29:554 (April 
2003), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2016 (September 2004), LR 
33:440 (March 2007), LR 41:660 (April 2015) repromulgated LR 
44: 

§504. Out-of-State and Out-of-Country High School 

Graduates and Eligible Non-Graduates 
A. A student who graduates from a high school outside 

the state of Louisiana or is an eligible non-graduate will not 
be considered for a TOPS Award unless the board receives 
the student's FAFSA information from the federal processor 
or on-line application and the student's ACT and/or SAT 
score(s). In order for a student who will graduate from a 
high school outside the state of Louisiana or an eligible non-
graduate to assure that his FAFSA information and his 
ACT/SAT score(s) are received by the board, he should: 

1. enter a Louisiana postsecondary institution in the 
section of the FAFSA that asks the applicant to name the 
colleges he plans to attend; and 

2. enter a Louisiana postsecondary institution and/or 
1595 (code for the Louisiana Taylor Opportunity Program-
Students, Baton Rouge, LA.) in the "score report choices" 
section of the ACT and/or 9019 (code for Taylor Opportunity 
Program for Students) in the "send scores" section of the 
SAT registration form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:2017 (September 2004), amended LR 31:36 (January 2005), 
LR 35:228 (February 2009), LR 44: 

§505. Application Deadlines for High School 

Graduates and Home Study Completers of 2004 

and Later and Eligible Non-Graduates 
A.1. To be considered for a TOPS Award, students who 

graduate from high school or complete an approved home 
study program in 2004 or later and eligible non-graduates 
must: 

a. apply for federal grant aid by submitting a Free 
Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); or 

b. if the student can demonstrate that he does not 
qualify for federal grant aid because of his family's financial 
condition, submit the initial FAFSA after completing all 
applicable sections except those sections related to the 
income and assets of the student and the student's parents; or 

c. complete the on-line application. 
2. TOPS will not pay the award amount for any 

student who has not met the requirements of §505.A.1 
above. 

3. In the event of a budgetary shortfall, applicants for 
TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors Awards and 
TOPS-Tech Awards who submit the on-line application or 
who do not complete all sections of the FAFSA will be the 
first denied a TOPS Award. 

B. Deadline for Payment for the Academic Year (TOPS) 
Immediately Following High School Graduation 

1. Beginning with the 2007-2008 academic year 
(TOPS), to be determined eligible for payment of TOPS
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awards for the academic year (TOPS) immediately following 
the academic year (high school) of high school graduation, 
students must submit the initial FAFSA or on-line 
application so that it is received no later than the July 1 
immediately following the academic year (high school) of 
graduation. 

2. Beginning with the 2007-2008 academic year 
(TOPS), students will be eligible to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award as provided in §701.E beginning with the 
academic year (TOPS) immediately after the student's one 
year anniversary of high school graduation if their initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after the July 1 
immediately following the academic year (high school) of 
high school graduation and no later than the final deadline 
set forth in Subsection C, below, and if the student was 
enrolled during the preceding academic year (TOPS), the 
student has met the requirements for continuing eligibility. 

3.a. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year 
(TOPS), students whose initial FAFSA or on-line application 
is received on or before July 1 immediately following the 
one year anniversary of high school graduation will receive 
payment of their TOPS award as provided in §701.E 
beginning with the first semester, quarter or term the student 
enrolls for the first time as a full-time student in an eligible 
college or university; provided that no payment of a TOPS 
award shall be made until the initial FAFSA or on-line 
application has been received and the applicant has been 
determined eligible for a TOPS award. 

b. If the initial FAFSA or on-line application is 
received after July 1 immediately following high school 
graduation, the payment of the TOPS award could be 
delayed depending on the date the application is received 
and the date the student enrolls for the first time as a full 
time student in an eligible college or university. 

c. A student who enrolls for the first time as a full 
time student before his FAFSA or on-line application is 
received must meet the requirements for maintaining 
eligibility in §705 to receive payments of his TOPS award 
after the first semester, quarter or term of full time 
enrollment at an eligible college or university.  

4. Examples 
a. A 2009-2010 academic year (high school) high 

school graduate, who enrolls in the fall semester of 2010, 
will be eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award 
beginning the fall semester of 2010 if the initial FAFSA or 
on-line application is received on or before July 1, 2010. 

b. A 2009-2010 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who enrolls during the 2010-2011 academic 
year, will be eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS 
award beginning the fall semester of 2010 if the initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received no later than July 
1, 2011, and if he has met the requirements for continuing 
eligibility. 

C. Final Deadline for Full TOPS Award 
1.a. Except as provided below, through the 2006-2007 

academic year (TOPS), in order to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award as provided in §701.E, the final deadline 
for receipt of a student's initial FAFSA or the on-line 
application is July 1 immediately prior to the academic year 
(TOPS) he first enrolls as a first-time freshman in an eligible 
college or university. 

b. Beginning with the 2007-2008 academic year 
(TOPS), in order receive the full benefits of a TOPS award 
as provided in §701.E, the final deadline for receipt of a 
student's initial FAFSA or on-line application is July 1 
immediately prior to the academic year (TOPS) immediately 
following the one-year anniversary of high school 
graduation. 

c.i. Students who graduated from high school during 
the 2003-2004 academic year (high school) and enrolled as a 
first-time freshman in an eligible college or university 
during the 2004-2005 academic year (TOPS) are eligible to 
receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E beginning: 

(a). with the 2004-2005 academic year (TOPS) if 
their initial FAFSA or on-line application was received no 
later than October 29, 2004; 

(b). with the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS) if 
their initial FAFSA or on-line application was received after 
October 29, 2004, and no later than July 1, 2005, and, if the 
student enrolled as a full-time student during the 2004-2005 
academic year (TOPS), the student has met the requirements 
for continuing eligibility. 
 ii. Students who graduated from high school 
during the 2003-2004 academic year (high school) and 
enrolled as a first-time freshman in an eligible college or 
university beginning the fall semester of 2005 are eligible to 
receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E beginning the fall semester of 2005 if their initial 
FAFSA or on-line application was received no later than July 
1, 2005. 
 iii. Students who graduated from high school 
during the 2003-2004 academic year (high school) and 
enrolled as a first-time freshman in an eligible college or 
university during either the 2004-2005 academic year 
(TOPS) or fall semester of 2005 are eligible for a reduced 
TOPS award (see Subsection 505.D, below) beginning with 
the fall semester of 2005, if their initial FAFSA or on-line 
application was received after July 1, 2005 and no later than 
October 31, 2005, and, if the student enrolled as a full-time 
student during the 2004-2005 academic year (TOPS), the 
student has met the requirements for continuing eligibility. 

d.i. Students who graduated from high school during 
the 2004-2005 academic year (high school) and enrolled as a 
first-time freshman in an eligible college or university 
during the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS) will be eligible 
to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E beginning: 

(a). with the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS) if 
their initial FAFSA or on-line application is received no later 
than October 31, 2005; 

(b). with the 2006-2007 academic year (TOPS) if 
their initial FAFSA or on-line application is received after 
October 31, 2005, and no later than July 1, 2006, and, if the 
student enrolled as a full-time student during the 2005-2006 
academic year (TOPS), the student met the requirements for 
continuing eligibility. 
 ii. Students who graduated from high school 
during the 2004-2005 academic year (high school) and 
enrolled as a first-time freshman in an eligible college or 
university beginning the fall semester of 2006 are eligible to 
receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in
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§701.E beginning the fall semester of 2006 if their initial 
FAFSA or on-line application was received no later than July 
1, 2006. 
 iii. Students who graduated from high school 
during the 2004-2005 academic year (high school) and 
enrolled as a first-time freshman in an eligible college or 
university during either the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS) or fall semester of 2006 are eligible for a reduced 
TOPS award (see Subsection 505.D, below) beginning with 
the fall semester of 2006, if their initial FAFSA or on-line 
application was received after July 1, 2006, and no later than 
October 30, 2006, and, if the student enrolled as a full-time 
student during the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS), the 
student met the requirements for continuing eligibility. 

e.i. Students who graduate from high school during 
the 2005-2006 academic year (high school) and enroll as a 
first-time freshman in an eligible college or university 
during the 2006-2007 academic year (TOPS) will be eligible 
to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E beginning: 

(a). with the 2006-2007 academic year (TOPS) if 
their initial FAFSA or on-line application is received no later 
than October 30, 2006; 

(b). with the 2007-2008 academic year (TOPS) if 
their initial FAFSA or on-line application is received after 
October 30, 2006, and no later than July 1, 2007, and, if the 
student enrolled as a full-time student during the 2006-2007 
academic year (TOPS), the student met the requirements for 
continuing eligibility. 
 ii. Students who graduated from high school 
during the 2005-2006 academic year (high school) and 
enrolled as a first-time freshman in an eligible college or 
university beginning the fall semester of 2007 are eligible to 
receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E beginning the fall semester of 2007 if their initial 
FAFSA or on-line application was received no later than July 
1, 2007. 
 iii. Students who graduate from high school during 
the 2005-2006 academic year (high school) and enroll as a 
first-time freshman in an eligible college or university 
during either the 2006-2007 academic year (TOPS) or the 
fall semester of 2007 are eligible for a reduced TOPS award 
(see Subsection 505.D, below) beginning with the fall 
semester of 2007, if their initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received after July 1, 2007, and no later than 
October 29, 2007, and, if the student enrolled as a full-time 
student during the 2006-2007 academic year (TOPS), the 
student met the requirements for continuing eligibility. 

2. Returning Students 
a. Beginning with the 2002-2003 through the 2004-

2005 academic year (TOPS), in order for a returning student 
to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E, the final deadline for receipt of a student's initial 
FAFSA or the on-line application is May 1 of the academic 
year (TOPS) he first enrolls as a full-time student in an 
eligible college or university. 

b. Beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS), in order for a returning student to receive the full 
benefits of a TOPS award as provided in §701.E, the final 
deadline for receipt of the student's initial FAFSA or the on-
line application is the July 1 immediately following the 

academic year (TOPS) he first enrolls as a full-time student 
in an eligible college or university. 

3. Examples 
a. A 2003-2004 academic year (high school) high 

school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2004 or spring 
semester of 2005, will be eligible to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award beginning with the first semester of 
enrollment as a full-time student if his initial FAFSA or on-
line application is received no later than July 1, 2004. 

b. A 2003-2004 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2004 or spring 
semester of 2005, will be eligible for his full TOPS award 
beginning with the first semester of enrollment as a full-time 
student if his initial FAFSA or on-line application is received 
after July 1, 2004, but on or before October 29, 2004. 

c. A 2003-2004 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2004 or spring 
semester of 2005, will be eligible for his full TOPS award 
beginning with the fall semester of 2005 if his initial FAFSA 
or on-line application is received after October 29, 2004, but 
on or before July 1, 2005, and if he has met the requirements 
for continuing eligibility. 

d. A 2003-2004 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005, will be 
eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award if his 
initial FAFSA or on-line application is received no later than 
July 1, 2005. 

e. A 2003-2004 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005, will be 
eligible for a reduced TOPS award (See Subsection 505.D, 
below.) beginning with the fall semester of 2005 if his initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after July 1, 2005, 
but on or before October 31, 2005. 

f. A 2003-2004 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005, will not be 
eligible for a TOPS award if his initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received after October 31, 2005. 

g. A 2004-2005 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005 or spring 
semester of 2006, will be eligible to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award beginning with the first semester of 
enrollment as a full-time student if his initial FAFSA or on-
line application is received no later than July 1, 2005. 

h. A 2004-2005 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005 or spring 
semester of 2006, will be eligible for his full TOPS award 
beginning with the first semester of enrollment as a full-time 
student if his initial FAFSA or on-line application is received 
after July 1, 2005, but on or before October 31, 2005. 

i. A 2004-2005 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005 or spring 
semester of 2006, will be eligible for his full TOPS award
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beginning with the fall semester of 2006 if his initial FAFSA 
or on-line application is received after October 31, 2005, but 
on or before July 1, 2006, and if he has met the requirements 
for continuing eligibility. 

j. A 2004-2005 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2006, will be 
eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award if his 
initial FAFSA or on-line application is received no later than 
July 1, 2006. 

k. A 2004-2005 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2006, will be 
eligible for a reduced TOPS award (See Subsection 505.D, 
below.) beginning with the fall semester of 2006 if his initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after July 1, 2006, 
but on or before October 30, 2006. 

l. A 2004-2005 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2006, will not be 
eligible for a TOPS award if his initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received after October 30, 2006. 

m. A 2005-2006 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2006 or spring 
semester of 2007, will be eligible to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award beginning with the first semester of 
enrollment as a full-time student if his initial FAFSA or on-
line application is received no later than July 1, 2006. 

n. A 2005-2006 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2006 or spring 
semester of 2007, will be eligible for his full TOPS award 
beginning with the first semester of enrollment as a full-time 
student if his initial FAFSA or on-line application is received 
after July 1, 2006, but on or before October 30, 2006. 

o. A 2005-2006 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2006 or spring 
semester of 2007, will be eligible for his full TOPS award 
beginning with the fall semester of 2007 if his initial FAFSA 
or on-line application is received after October 30, 2006, but 
on or before July 1, 2007, and if he has met the requirements 
for continuing eligibility. 

p. A 2005-2006 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2007, will be 
eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award if his 
initial FAFSA or on-line application is received no later than 
July 1, 2007. 

q. A 2005-2006 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2007, will be 
eligible for a reduced TOPS award (See Subsection 505.D, 
below.) beginning with the fall semester of 2007 if his initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after July 1, 2007, 
but on or before October 29, 2007. 

r. A 2005-2006 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2007, will not be 
eligible for a TOPS award if his initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received after October 29, 2007. 

s. A 2006-2007 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2007 or spring 
semester of 2008, will be eligible to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award beginning with the first semester of 
enrollment as a full-time student if his initial FAFSA or on-
line application is received no later than July 1, 2007. 

t. A 2006-2007 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2007 or spring 
semester of 2008, will be eligible to receive his full TOPS 
award beginning with the fall semester of 2008 if his initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after July 1, 2007, 
but on or before July 1, 2008, and if he has met the 
requirements for continuing eligibility. 

u. A 2006-2007 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2008, will be 
eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award if his 
initial FAFSA or on-line application is received no later than 
July 1, 2008. 

v. A 2006-2007 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2008, will be 
eligible for a reduced TOPS award (See Subsection 505.D, 
below.) beginning with the fall semester of 2008 if his initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after July 1, 2008, 
but on or before October 29, 2008. 

w. A 2006-2007 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who is a first-time freshman at an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2008, will not be 
eligible for a TOPS award if his initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received after October 29, 2008. 

x. A student, who enrolls for the first time as a full 
time student at an accredited out-of-state college and 
subsequently returns to Louisiana and enrolls as a full-time 
student in an eligible college or university for the fall 
semester of 2006, will be eligible for his TOPS award 
beginning with the fall semester of 2006 if his initial FAFSA 
or the on-line application is received no later than July 1, 
2007. 

4. Students must also meet the first-time freshman 
enrollment deadlines specified in §703.A.4 (TOPS 
opportunity, performance and honors) and §803.A.4 (TOPS-
Tech). 

5. Notwithstanding the deadline established by 
§505.C above, students who enter on active duty in the U.S. 
Armed Forces have a final deadline for receipt of their initial 
FAFSA application or their on-line application of one year 
from the date of separation from active duty. In order to be 
eligible under this Subsection, the student must meet the 
requirements of §703.A.4.b or d or §803.A.4.b or d of these 
rules and must not have been discharged with an 
undesirable, bad conduct or dishonorable discharge. 

D. Final Deadlines for Reduced Awards 
1. If an application for an initial award under this 

Chapter is received after the final deadline provided in 
§503.C above, but not later than 60 days after that deadline, 
the time period of eligibility for the award shall be reduced 
by one semester, two quarters, or an equivalent number of 
units at an eligible institution which operates on a schedule 
based on units other than semesters or quarters. 
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2. If an application for an initial award under this 
Chapter is received more than 60 days after the final 
deadline provided in §503.C above, but not later than 120 
days after that deadline, the time period of eligibility for the 
award shall be reduced by two semesters or three quarters, or 
an equivalent number of units at an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters. 

3. A FAFSA or on-line application received more than 
120 days after the published deadline shall not be 
considered. 

E. The reduction of the student's period of eligibility for 
this award under §505.D above shall not be cumulative with 
any reduction under §509.C. 

F. Renewal FAFSA 
1.a. Through the 2004-2005 academic year (TOPS), in 

order to remain eligible for TOPS awards, a student who is 
eligible for federal grant aid must file a renewal FAFSA so 
that it is received by May 1 of each academic year (TOPS) 
after initial eligibility is established. 

b. Beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS), in order to remain eligible for TOPS awards, a 
student who is eligible for federal grant aid must file a 
renewal FAFSA so that it is received by the July 1 
immediately preceding each academic year (TOPS) after 
initial eligibility is established. 

2. Students who can demonstrate that they do not 
qualify for federal grant aid because of their family's 
financial condition are not required to submit a renewal 
FAFSA. 

3. All recipients of Louisiana Scholarship and Grant 
Programs other than TOPS and the Rockefeller Wildlife 
Scholarship Program must submit a renewal FAFSA for each 
academic year (TOPS) the student enrolls. 

G. If a prescribed deadline date falls on a weekend or 
holiday, it will automatically be extended to the next 
business day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1847 
(November 2001), amended LR 30:2017 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 32:2238 (December 2006), LR 33:83 
(January 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 34:235 
(February 2008), LR 37:588 (February 2011), LR 41:660 (April 
2015), LR 44: 

§506. Proof of Compliance 
A. As proof of compliance with the state's final deadline 

for submitting the FAFSA, or the on-line application, the 
board will accept the documentation listed in  
§506.A.1-6. No other form of verification, including 
notarized or certified statements, will be accepted as proof of 
compliance with the deadline requirement. 

1. A certificate of mailing, registered, certified, 
certified/return receipt requested, priority or overnight mail 
receipt from the United States Postal Service, or other 
authorized mail carriers such as United Parcel Service and 
Federal Express, which is dated prior to the state's final 
deadline. 

2. The Student Aid Report (SAR) or the Institutional 
Student Information Report (ISIR), produced by the federal 

processor, shows that the original application was received 
by the state's final deadline. 

3. The federal processor provides verbal or written 
verification to the board that the original application was 
received by the state's final deadline. 

4. A printed copy of the electronic receipt for a 
FAFSA filed on the Web shows that the original application 
was received by the final deadline. 

5. A printed copy of the electronic receipt for an  
on-line application shows that the original application was 
received by the final deadline. 

6. The LOSFA's on-line application submission 
confirmation code corresponds to a LOSFA database 
transaction by the final deadline. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:2018 (September 2004), amended LR 31:1060 (May 2005), 
LR 44: 

§507. Final Deadline for Submitting Documentation of 

Eligibility 
A. The board will continue to process eligibility for both 

new and renewal applicants during each award year until 
July 1 after the spring term of that award year. 

B.1. Through the 2004-2005 academic year (TOPS), all 
documentation and certifications necessary to establish 
student eligibility including, but not limited to, high school 
and/or college transcripts and certifications, copies of 
student aid reports, applicant confirmation forms, 
promissory notes, ACT and/or SAT scores, residency 
affidavits, proof of citizenship or permanent residency status 
and other documents that may be utilized in determining 
eligibility, must be received by the board no later than May 1 
of the award year. For example, to receive an award for the 
2004-2005 award year, the board must have in its possession 
all documents relevant to establishing eligibility by May 1, 
2005. 

2. Beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS) through the 2010-11 academic year (TOPS), all 
documentation and certifications necessary to establish 
student initial eligibility including, but not limited to, high 
school and/or college transcripts and certifications, copies of 
student aid reports, applicant confirmation forms, 
promissory notes, ACT and/or SAT scores, residency 
affidavits, proof of citizenship or permanent residency status 
and other documents that may be utilized in determining 
eligibility, must be received by the board no later than July 1 
immediately following the academic year (TOPS) the 
student is first eligible for payment of a TOPS award . For 
example, if a student’s initial FAFSA is received no later 
than July 1, 2007, for that student to receive an award for the 
2007-2008 academic year (TOPS), the board must have in its 
possession all documents relevant to establishing eligibility 
by July 1, 2008. 

3. Beginning with the 2011-12 academic year (TOPS), 
all documentation and certifications necessary to establish 
student initial eligibility including, but not limited to, high 
school and/or college transcripts and certifications, copies of 
student aid reports, applicant confirmation forms, 
promissory notes, ACT and/or SAT scores, residency 
affidavits, proof of citizenship or permanent residency status 
and other documents that may be utilized in determining 
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eligibility, must be received by the board no later than 
January 15 immediately following the final deadline for 
receipt of the student's FAFSA or on-line application. For 
example, if a student’s graduates from high school in May 
2011, the final deadline for receipt of the student's FAFSA or 
on-line application is July 1, 2012, and the deadline for 
receipt of all documents relevant to establishing eligibility is 
January 15, 2013. 

C. Returning Students 
1. Returning students, who graduated high school 

during the 2001-2002 academic years (high school) and who 
enroll in an eligible college or university in the spring 
semester 2003, must submit documentation that establishes 
TOPS eligibility no later than May 1, 2004. 

2. Returning students, who enroll in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2003 through the 
spring semester of 2005, must submit documentation that 
establishes TOPS eligibility no later than May 1 of the 
academic year (TOPS) the student enrolls in an eligible 
college or university. For example, a student who seeks to 
enroll in an eligible college or university in the fall semester 
of 2003 must submit documentation that establishes TOPS 
eligibility no later than May 1, 2004. 

3.a. Returning students, who enroll in an eligible 
college or university in academic year (TOPS) 2005-2006 or 
academic year (TOPS) 2006-2007, must submit an 
application to return from an out-of-state college no later 
than July 1 immediately following the academic year 
(TOPS) the student enrolls as a full-time student in an 
eligible college or university and must submit any 
supporting documentation required by the application no 
later than April 15 following the July 1 deadline. 

b.i. To receive the full benefits of a TOPS award as 
provided in §701.E, returning students, who enroll in an 
eligible college or university in the fall semester of 2007 or 
later, must submit an application to return from an out-of-
state college no later than July 1 immediately following the 
academic year (TOPS) the student enrolls as a full-time 
student in an eligible college or university and must submit 
any supporting documentation required by the application no 
later than January 15 following the July 1 deadline. 
 ii. If an application to return from an out-of-state 
college is received after the July 1 deadline as provided in 
the clause above, but not later than 60 days after that date, 
the time period of eligibility for the award shall be reduced 
by one semester, two quarters, or an equivalent number of 
units at an eligible institution which operates on a schedule 
based on units other than semesters or quarters. 
 iii. If an application to return from an out-of-state 
college is received more than 60 days after the July 1 
deadline as provided in the clause above, but not later than 
120 days after that date, the time period of eligibility for the 
award shall be reduced by two semesters, three quarters, or 
an equivalent number of units at an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters. 
 iv. An application to return from an out-of-state 
college received more than 120 days after the July 1 
deadline shall not be considered. 
 v. If a prescribed deadline date falls on a weekend 
or holiday, it will automatically be extended to the next 
business day. 

c. Examples 
 i. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2005 must 
submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 
no later than July 1, 2006, and any required supporting 
documentation such as college transcripts no later than April 
15, 2007. 
 ii. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 
college or university in the spring semester of 2007 must 
submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 
no later than July 1, 2007, and any required supporting 
documentation such as college transcripts no later than April 
15, 2008. 
 iii. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2007 must 
submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 
no later than July 1, 2008, and any required supporting 
documentation such as college transcripts no later than 
January 15, 2009. 
 iv. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 
college or university in the spring semester of 2008 must 
submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 
no later than July 1, 2008, and any required supporting 
documentation such as college transcripts no later than 
January 15, 2009. 
 v. A returning student who enrolls in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2009 must 
submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 
no later than July 1, 2010, and any required supporting 
documentation such as college transcripts no later than 
January 15, 2011. 
 vi. A returning student who enrolls in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2009, and whose 
application to return from an out-of-state college is received 
on July 10, 2010, will be eligible for a TOPS award reduced 
by one semester or two quarters if any required supporting 
documentation such as college transcripts is received no 
later than January 15, 2011. 
 vii. A returning student who enrolls in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2009, and whose 
application to return from an out-of-state college is received 
on September 10, 2010, will be eligible for a TOPS award 
reduced by two semesters or three quarters if any required 
supporting documentation such as college transcripts is 
received no later than January 15, 2011. 

4.a. Beginning with the 2007-2008 academic year 
(TOPS), all documentation and certifications necessary to 
establish a returning student's initial eligibility including, but 
not limited to, high school and/or college transcripts and 
certifications, copies of student aid reports, ACT and/or SAT 
scores, residency affidavits, proof of citizenship or 
permanent residency status and other documents that may be 
utilized in determining eligibility, must be received by the 
board no later than January 15 immediately following the 
deadline for receipt of the student's FAFSA or on-line 
application. 

b. Examples 
 i. If a returning student enrolls full time in an 
eligible Louisiana college or university for the fall semester 
of 2007, his deadline to file the FAFSA or on-line 
application is July 1, 2008. If his initial FAFSA or on-line
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application is received no later than July 1, 2008, and if all 
the necessary supporting documentation relevant to 
establishing eligibility is in the board's possession by 
January 15, 2009, the student will receive his TOPS award 
(reduced by the number of semesters/terms he enrolled out-
of-state) retroactively beginning the fall semester of 2007. 
 ii. If a returning student enrolls full time in an 
eligible Louisiana college or university for the spring 
semester of 2008, his deadline to file the FAFSA or on-line 
application is July 1, 2008. If his initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received no later than July 1, 2008, and if all 
the necessary supporting documentation relevant to 
establishing eligibility is in the board's possession by 
January 15, 2009, the student will receive his TOPS award 
(reduced by the number of semesters/terms he enrolled  
out-of-state) retroactively beginning the spring semester of 
2008. 
 iii. If a returning student enrolls full time in an 
eligible Louisiana college or university for the spring 
semester of 2008, his deadline to file the FAFSA or on-line 
application is July 1, 2008. If his initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received after July 1, 2008, but no more than 
120 days later, and if all the necessary supporting 
documentation relevant to establishing eligibility is in the 
board's possession by January 15, 2009, the student will 
receive his TOPS award (reduced by the number of 
semesters/terms he enrolled out-of-state and further reduced 
by one additional semester if 1 to 60 days late or by two 
additional semesters if 61 to 120 days late) retroactively 
beginning the spring semester of 2008. 

D.1. A student who successfully completed an 
undergraduate degree prior to or during the 2001-2002 
academic year (TOPS) and wishes to receive his remaining 
award eligibility to attend a postgraduate school must 
provide the documentation and certifications required to 
establish student eligibility no later than May 1, 2004. 

2. A student who successfully completes an 
undergraduate degree during the 2002-2003 through the 
2004-2005 academic year (TOPS) and wishes to receive his 
remaining award eligibility to attend a postgraduate school 
must provide the documentation and certifications required 
to establish student eligibility no later than May 1 of the 
academic year (TOPS) the student seeks to receive his 
remaining award eligibility. For example, to receive the 
remaining award for the 2003-2004 academic year (TOPS), 
the student must submit the required documents no later than 
May 1, 2004. 

3. A student who successfully completes an 
undergraduate degree during the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS) or later and wishes to receive his remaining award 
eligibility to attend a postgraduate school must provide the 
documentation and certifications required to establish 
student eligibility no later than July 1 immediately following 
the academic year (TOPS) the student seeks to receive his 
remaining award eligibility. For example, to receive the 
remaining award for the 2006-2007 academic year (TOPS), 
the student must submit the required documents no later than 
July 1, 2007. 

E. The reduction of the student's period of eligibility for 
this award under §507.C above shall not be cumulative with 
any reduction under §505.D or §509.C. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1847 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 30:1161 
(June 2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 
2004), LR 32:2238 (December 2006), LR 33:2357 (November 
2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 34:1884 (September 2008), LR 
36:312 (February 2010), LR 38:3157 (December 2012), LR 41:662 
(April 2015), LR 44: 

§509. ACT Testing Deadline 
A.1. The student must take the official ACT test 

(including national, international, military or special test 
types) on or before the official April test date in the 
academic year (high school) in which the student graduates 
or completes a home study program approved by BESE. 

2. An eligible non-graduate must take the official ACT 
test (including national, international, military or special test 
types) before the first day of the semester the student first 
enrolls in an eligible college or university. 

B.1. The student may substitute an equivalent score, as 
determined by the comparison tables used by the board, on 
an equivalent SAT taken on or before the official April test 
date in the academic year (high school) in which the student 
graduates. In order to substitute a SAT score, the student 
must direct the college board to send the score to LOSFA so 
that the score is electronically reported to LOSFA by the 
college board within 45 days of the final test date allowed by 
§509. SAT scores received in any other manner shall not be 
considered. 

2. An eligible non-graduate may substitute an 
equivalent score, as determined by the comparison tables 
used by the board, on an equivalent SAT taken before the 
first day of the semester the student first enrolls in an 
eligible college or university. In order to substitute an SAT 
score, the student must direct the college board to send the 
score to LOSFA so that the score is electronically reported to 
LOSFA by the college board within 45 days of the final test 
date allowed by §509. SAT scores received in any other 
manner shall not be considered. 

C. Final ACT Testing Deadline for Reduced Awards 
1.a. Beginning with awards made to applicants 

graduating in academic year (high school) 2000 through 
2003, if an applicant does not achieve a qualifying score on 
the ACT or on the SAT for the TOPS Opportunity Award by 
the April national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's 
high school graduation, then the applicant's first qualifying 
score for any TOPS award obtained on an authorized testing 
date after the April national ACT test date in the year of the 
applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 of the 
year of such graduation will be accepted. However, when 
granting an award to an applicant whose qualifying test 
score is obtained on an authorized testing date after the date 
of the applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 
of the year of such graduation, the applicant's period of 
eligibility for the award shall be reduced by one semester, 
two quarters, or an equivalent number of units at an eligible 
institution which operates on a schedule based on units other 
than semesters or quarters. Except for an applicant who has 
qualified for a TOPS-Tech Award on or prior to the April
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national ACT test date, an applicant will not be allowed to 
use a test score obtained after the April national ACT test 
date to upgrade a TOPS award. 

b.i. Beginning with awards made to applicants 
graduating in academic year (high school) 2004 through 
2010, if an applicant does not achieve a qualifying score on 
the ACT or on the SAT for the TOPS Opportunity Award by 
the April national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's 
high school graduation, then the applicant's first qualifying 
score for any TOPS award obtained on an authorized testing 
date after the April national ACT test date in the year of the 
applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 of the 
year of such graduation will be accepted. However, when 
granting an award to an applicant whose qualifying test 
score is obtained on an authorized testing date after the April 
national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's high 
school graduation but prior to July 1 of the year of such 
graduation, the applicant's period of eligibility for the award 
shall be reduced by one semester, two quarters, or an 
equivalent number of units at an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters. Except for an applicant who has qualified for a 
TOPS-Tech Award on or prior to the April national ACT test 
date, an applicant will not be allowed to use a test score 
obtained after the April national ACT test date to upgrade a 
TOPS award. 
 ii. Beginning with awards made to applicants 
graduating in academic year (high school) 2011, if an 
applicant does not achieve a qualifying score on the ACT or 
on the SAT for the TOPS Opportunity Award by the April 
national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's high 
school graduation, then the applicant's first qualifying score 
for any TOPS award obtained on an authorized testing date 
after the April national ACT test date in the year of the 
applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 of the 
year of such graduation will be accepted or, if the board 
determines that the applicant was prevented from taking the 
test prior to July 1 of the year of graduation due to 
circumstances beyond the immediate control of the student 
and attributable to the administration of the test, the 
applicant's first qualifying score for any TOPS award 
obtained on an authorized testing date after the April 
national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's high 
school graduation but prior to October 1 of the year of such 
graduation will be accepted. However, when granting an 
award to an applicant whose qualifying test score is obtained 
on an authorized testing date after the April national ACT 
test date in the year of the applicant's high school graduation, 
the applicant's period of eligibility for the award shall be 
reduced by one semester, two quarters, or an equivalent 
number of units at an eligible institution which operates on a 
schedule based on units other than semesters or quarters. 
Except for an applicant who has qualified for a TOPS-Tech 
Award on or prior to the April national ACT test date, an 
applicant will not be allowed to use a test score obtained 
after the April national ACT test date to upgrade a TOPS 
award. 

c. For the purpose of the Subsection, the April 

national ACT test date shall be defined as the month of 
April. 

d. Tests taken by an eligible non-graduate after the 
first day of the semester the student first enrolls in an 
eligible college or university shall not be accepted. 

2.a. Beginning with applicants graduating in academic 
year (high school) 1997 through 2010, applicants who fail to 
achieve an ACT or SAT qualifying score prior to July 1 of 
the year of high school graduation shall not be considered 
for an award. 

b. Beginning with applicants graduating in 
academic year (high school) 2011, applicants shall not be 
considered for an award if they fail to achieve a qualifying 
score on the ACT or on the SAT prior to July 1 of the year of 
high school graduation, or prior to October 1 of the year of 
high school graduation, if the board determines that the 
applicant was prevented from taking the test prior to July 1 
of the year of graduation due to circumstances beyond the 
immediate control of the student and attributable to the 
administration of the test. 

D. For 1997 and 1998 high school graduates who have 
not previously taken an ACT test, the ACT score shall 
include those scores obtained from a national ACT test taken 
not later than the October 1998 national test date. 

E. Students who graduated during the 1998-1999 school 
year who are otherwise qualified for a TOPS Award and who 
obtained a qualifying score on the ACT Test or the 
Scholastic Aptitude Test on an authorized testing date after 
the date of the student's graduation but prior to July 1, 1999 
shall be considered to have met the requirements of §509.A 
and B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 26:1995 (September 2000), amended LR 26:2000 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 
30:1161 (June 2004), LR 31:37 (January 2005), LR 38:3157 
(December 2012), LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 
(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 
Honors Awards 

§701. General Provisions 
A. Legislative Authority. Awards under the Louisiana 

Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS), the 
Opportunity, Performance and Honors Awards, are 
established as set forth in R.S. 17:5001 et seq., as amended. 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Taylor 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) is a 
comprehensive, merit-based student aid program consisting 
of a series of components, with each component having its 
own eligibility criteria and titled award. The purpose of 
TOPS is to provide an incentive for Louisiana residents to 
academically prepare for and pursue post-secondary 
education in this state, resulting in an educated work force 
enabling Louisiana to prosper in the global market of the 
future. The major components of TOPS are the Opportunity 
Award, the Performance Award and the Honors Award. 

C. The Opportunity, Performance and Honors Awards, 
which will be funded for the 1998-99 academic year, 
combine former programs [Louisiana Tuition Assistance 
Plan (TAP) and the Louisiana Honors Scholarship Program]
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with a new component, the honors award, to produce a 
comprehensive program of state scholarships. 

D. The purposes of this program are to: 
1. financially assist those students who are 

academically prepared to continue their education at a 
Louisiana post-secondary institution; and 

2. encourage academic excellence; and 
3. provide incentives for Louisiana high school 

graduates to pursue post-secondary education in this state. 
E. Award Amounts. The specific award amounts for each 

component of TOPS are as follows: 
1.a. The TOPS Opportunity Award provides an award 

amount as defined in §301 for full-time attendance at an 
eligible college or university for a period not to exceed eight 
semesters, including qualified summer sessions, 12 quarters, 
including qualified summer sessions, or an equivalent 
number of units in an eligible institution which operates on a 
schedule based on units other than semesters or quarters, 
except as provided by R.S. 17:5002, or LAC 28:IV.503.D, 
509.C, or 701.E.1.b. Attending a qualified summer session 
for which a TOPS Award is paid will count toward the eight 
semester limit for TOPS. 

b. The semester or term count for a student shall not 
be increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS payment for that semester or term is 
received by LOSFA. 

2.a. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400 
annual stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each academic year (TOPS), in addition 
to an award amount as defined in §301 for full-time 
attendance at an eligible college or university, for a period 
not to exceed eight semesters, including qualified summer 
sessions, 12 quarters, including qualified summer sessions, 
or an equivalent number of units in an eligible institution 
which operates on a schedule based on units other than 
semesters or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:5002, 
or LAC 28:IV.503.D, 509.C, or 701.E.2.b. If a student 
attends an eligible summer session, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit and requests that their TOPS Award be paid 
for that session, semester, quarter, term, or equivalent unit, 
the stipend will also be paid since payment of a TOPS Award 
for a summer session, quarter, term, or equivalent unit will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

b. The semester or term count for a student shall not 
be increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS payment for that semester or term is 
received by LOSFA, provided that any amount of a stipend 
paid and not refunded shall be counted toward the total 
stipends allowed by law. 

3.a. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 annual 
stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each academic year (TOPS), in addition 
to an award amount as defined in §301 for full-time 
attendance at an eligible college or university, for a period 
not to exceed eight semesters, including qualified summer 
sessions, 12 quarters, including qualified summer sessions, 
or an equivalent number of units in an eligible institution 
which operates on a schedule based on units other than 

semesters or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:5002, 
or LAC 28:IV.503.D, 509.C or 701.E.3.b. If a student attends 
an eligible summer session, quarter, term, or equivalent unit 
and requests that their TOPS Award be paid for that session, 
semester, quarter, term, or equivalent unit, the stipend will 
also be paid since payment of a TOPS Award for a summer 
session, quarter, term, or equivalent unit will count toward 
the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

b. The semester or term count for a student shall not 
be increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS payment for that semester or term is 
received by LOSFA, provided that any amount of a stipend 
paid and not refunded shall be counted toward the total 
stipends allowed by law. 

4.a. Through the 2009-2010 Academic Year (college), 
in lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided by LAC 
28:IV.701.E.1-3, students participating in the program 
provided by R.S. 29:36.1 for persons serving in the 
Louisiana National Guard shall receive the tuition exemption 
as provided therein, plus any applicable TOPS stipend and a 
sum of not more than $150 per semester or $300 annually 
for the actual cost of books and other instructional materials. 

b. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year 
(College), in lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided 
by LAC 28:IV.701.E.1-3, students with the TOPS 
Opportunity, Performance and Honors Award participating in 
the program provided by R.S. 29:36.1 for persons serving in 
the Louisiana National Guard shall receive the tuition 
exemption as provided therein, plus a sum of $300 per 
semester or $600 per academic year to be applied toward the 
cost of books and other instructional materials. In addition, 
those students with the Performance Award shall receive 
$400 per semester or $800 per academic year for other 
educational expenses and those students with the Honors 
Award shall receive $800 per semester or $1,600 per 
academic year for other educational expenses. If a student 
attends an eligible summer session, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit and requests that their TOPS Award be paid 
for that session, semester, quarter, term, or equivalent unit in 
accordance with this paragraph, the amounts stipulated 
herein will also be paid since payment of a TOPS Award for 
a summer session, quarter, term, or equivalent unit will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

5. Students attending a regionally accredited 
independent college or university which is a member of the 
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and 
Universities (LAICU): 

a. in an academic program receive an amount equal 
to the weighted average award amount, as defined in §301, 
plus any applicable stipend, prorated by two semesters, three 
quarters, or equivalent units in each academic year (college). 
The stipend will be paid for each qualified summer session, 
semester, quarter, or equivalent unit for which a TOPS 
Award is paid. Attending a qualified summer session for 
which a TOPS Award is paid will count toward the eight 
semester limit for TOPS; 

b. in a program for a vocational or technical 
education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree receive an amount equal to the average 
award amount (TOPS-Tech), as defined in §301, plus any 
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applicable stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, 
or equivalent units in each academic year (TOPS). The 
stipend will be paid for each qualified summer session, 
semester, quarter, term or equivalent unit for which a TOPS 
Award is paid. Attending a qualified summer session for 
which a TOPS Award is paid will count toward the eight-
semester limit for TOPS. 

6. Recipients of TOPS Awards who are also 
beneficiaries of Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue 
Trust (START) Saving Program accounts, may apply the 
START disbursements to pay tuition, and any remaining 
tuition due may be paid by the TOPS Award. Any balance of 
the TOPS Award which remains after payment of the 
institution's charges, shall be credited to the student's 
account and treated in accordance with institutional policies. 
In the event the student's total aid, including Vocational 
Rehabilitation Awards, exceeds the cost of attendance, any 
federal loan aid included in the total aid package shall be 
reduced, then institutional and other aid in accordance with 
institutional practice, then the TOPS Award shall be reduced 
by the amount of any remaining over award. 

7. Students funded under the Tuition Assistance Plan 
(TAP) or the Louisiana Honors Scholarship during the 1997-
98 award year, who have maintained eligibility for the 1998-
99 award year, shall be continued as TOPS opportunity or 
performance recipients, respectively. 

8. Students funded under the Tuition Assistance Plan 
(TAP) or the Louisiana Honors Scholarship Program during 
the 1997-98 award year, who lost eligibility due to their 
failure to maintain the required grade point average, shall be 
continued as TOPS opportunity or performance recipients, 
respectively, however, their eligibility for an award shall be 
suspended pending their satisfaction of the continuation 
requirements of §705.A.7 and 8. If a student satisfies the 
applicable requirements of §705.A.7 and 8 no later than the 
end of the 2000 Spring Semester, he/she shall be eligible for 
reinstatement of the award in accordance with §705.B, for 
the semester following the satisfaction of the requirements 
of §705.A.7 and 8. 

9. Prior recipients of the Louisiana Honors 
Scholarship who attend a campus of the Louisiana Technical 
College may continue to attend that institution as a recipient 
of the TOPS Performance Award. 

10. Award amounts shall be credited to a student's 
account with the institution and shall be used consistent with 
the institution's policy, and as directed by the student, to pay 
for those educational expenses included in the cost of 
attendance. 

11. Students enrolled and attending more than one 
college or university at the same time shall be awarded as 
follows: 

a. students attending two or more Louisiana public 
two or four-year colleges or universities shall receive a total 
amount not to exceed the amount that would be charged to 
the student by the school with the highest award amount, as 
defined in §301, among those at which the student is 
simultaneously enrolled; 

b. students attending two or more regionally 
accredited independent colleges or universities which are 
members of the Louisiana Association of Independent 
Colleges and Universities (LAICU) shall receive a total 
amount not to exceed the weighted average highest award 

amount paid at those schools at which the student is 
simultaneously enrolled, as defined in §301; 

c. students attending a combination of Louisiana 
public two or four-year colleges or universities and 
regionally accredited independent colleges or universities 
which are members of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities (LAICU) in an 
academic program shall receive a total amount not to exceed 
the amount that would be paid at the public school with the 
highest award amount paid at those schools at which the 
student is simultaneously enrolled or the weighted average 
award amount for the enrolled LAICU school, whichever 
amount is greater. 

F. Beginning with the 2000-2001 academic year (TOPS) 
and continuing for the remainder of their program eligibility, 
students who meet each of the following requirements shall 
be awarded a stipend in the amount of $200 per qualified 
summer session, semester, quarter, term, or equivalent unit 
for which tuition is paid which shall be in addition to the 
amount determined to equal the tuition charged by the public 
college or university attended or, if applicable, the amount 
provided for attendance at an eligible nonpublic college or 
university: 

1. prior to June 18, 1999, the student was determined 
by the board to be eligible for a Performance Award, but 
who chose either by submission of a completed award 
confirmation form or by not sending in a completed award 
confirmation form to receive an Opportunity Award and was 
awarded an opportunity award; and 

2. the student, once enrolled at an eligible institution, 
has continuously met all requirements to maintain continued 
state payment for a Performance Award. 

G. Beginning with the 2000-2001 academic year (TOPS) 
and continuing for the remainder of their program eligibility, 
students who meet each of the following requirements shall 
be awarded a stipend in the amount of $400 per qualified 
summer session, semester, quarter, term, or equivalent unit 
for which tuition is paid which shall be in addition to the 
amount determined to equal the tuition charged by the public 
college or university attended or, if applicable, the amount 
provided for attendance at an eligible nonpublic college or 
university: 

1. prior to June 18, 1999, the student was determined 
by the board to be eligible for an Honors Award, but who 
chose either by submission of a completed Award 
Confirmation Form or by not sending in a completed Award 
Confirmation Form to receive an Opportunity Award and 
was awarded an Opportunity Award; and 

2. the student, once enrolled at an eligible institution, 
has continuously met all requirements to maintain continued 
state payment for a honors award. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1645-1648 (December 
1997), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 
24:1901 (October 1998), LR 25: 256 (February 1999), LR 26:67 
(January 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1995 (September 
2000), LR 26:2000 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1848 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:2331 
(November 2002), LR 29:880 (June 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 
2003), LR 30:1161 (June 2004), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 
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35:228 (February 2009), LR 36:2854 (December 2010), LR 
40:1002 (May 2014), LR 41:663 (April 2015), LR 44: 

§703. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance or Honors Award, the student applicant must 
meet all of the following criteria: 

1.a. for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2001-2002 and prior, be a United States citizen, 
provided however, that a student who is not a citizen of the 
United States but who is eligible to apply for such 
citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the citizenship 
requirement, if within 60 days after the date the student 
attains the age of majority, the student applies to become a 
citizen of the United States and obtains such citizenship 
within one year after the date of the application for 
citizenship. Those students who are eligible for U.S. 
citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS Award, 
will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements for a 
TOPS Award for one year after the date of the student's 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student's TOPS Award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided and canceled if such proof is not provided by May 
1 of the following academic year (college). Students 
cancelled solely due to their failure to become a United 
States citizen within one year after the date of application 
shall be reinstated to their award if they are a United States 
citizen or a permanent resident as defined by the U.S. 
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and were 
eligible to apply for United States citizenship when 
cancelled and have met the requirements for maintaining 
eligibility for the award; 

b. for students graduating in academic years (high 
school) 2002-2003 through 2017-2018, be a United States 
citizen or be a permanent resident as defined by the U.S. 
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and be 
eligible to apply for United States citizenship; 

c. for students graduating in academic years (high 
school) 2018-2019 and later, be a United States citizen or an 
eligible noncitizen as defined in §301. 

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301; and 
3. submit the completed free application for federal 

student aid (FAFSA) or on-line application in accordance 
with §501 by the applicable state aid deadline defined in 
§503 or §505; and 

4. initially apply and enroll as a first-time freshman as 
defined in §301, unless granted an exception for cause by the 
board, in an eligible college or university defined in §301; 
and 

a. if graduating from an eligible Louisiana public or 
BESE approved nonpublic high school or an eligible non-
Louisiana high school or from an eligible out of country 
high school, enroll not later than the semester or term, 
excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the first anniversary of the date that the student 
graduated from high school; or 

b. if the student joins the United States Armed 
Forces within one year after graduating from an eligible 
Louisiana or an eligible non-Louisiana high school or from 
an eligible out of country high school, enroll not later than

the semester, quarter or term, excluding summer semesters 
or sessions immediately following the one-year anniversary 
of the student's separation from active duty service, 
including all consecutive periods of reenlistment. 
Reenlistment at any time during the student’s first enlistment 
shall be considered to be on or prior to the fifth anniversary 
of the date that the student graduated from high school; or 

c. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 
§703.A.5.d or e, enroll not later than the semester or term, 
excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the first anniversary of the date the student 
completes the home study program, which is deemed to be 
May 31; or 

d. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 
§703.A.5.d or e, and joins the United States Armed Forces 
within one year of completion of the 12th grade of an 
approved home study program, enroll not later than the 
semester, quarter or term, excluding summer semesters or 
sessions immediately following the one-year anniversary of 
the student's separation from active duty service, including 
all consecutive periods of reenlistment. Reenlistment at any 
time during the student’s first enlistment shall be considered 
to be on or prior to the fifth anniversary of the date that the 
student graduated from high school; or 

e. if a 1996-97 graduate who is an otherwise 
eligible applicant, enroll as a full-time student during fall, 
1998; 

f. high school graduates of 1997 and 1998 who are 
otherwise eligible applicants attending ineligible schools for 
the 1998-99 academic year, may request a waiver from the 
board to enroll in an eligible school and accept the award no 
later than the 1999 fall semester by establishing to the 
satisfaction of the board that his/her failure to accept the 
award for the 1998-99 academic year was due to 
circumstances which could not be changed without the 
student or his family experiencing a significant, negative 
financial impact or which establish that it was not otherwise 
feasible to enroll in an eligible school due to the timing of 
the notification to the student of his/her eligibility for a 
TOPS Award. To apply for a waiver from the board, the 
student must submit a written request addressed to the Office 
of Student Financial Assistance, Attention: Scholarship and 
Grant Division, and submit documentation which clearly 
establishes the hardship which would have resulted had the 
student not attended the out-of-state college or university; 

g. all students must apply for an award by July 1 of 
the academic year (high school) in which they graduate to 
establish their initial qualification for an award, except as 
provided by §503.D. For a student entitled to defer 
acceptance of an award under §703.A.4.b or d that student 
must apply by July 1 of the academic year (high school) in 
which the student graduates, except as provided by §503.D: 
 i. and, if enrolling in an academic program, must 
also apply by July 1 prior to the academic year (TOPS) in 
which the student intends to first accept the award, and by 
July 1 of every year of eligibility thereafter, except as 
provided in §501.B; or 
 ii. and, if enrolling in a program for a vocational 
or technical education certificate or diploma or a non-
academic undergraduate degree, must also apply by the July 
1 immediately after the start of the academic year (TOPS) in
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which the student intends to first accept the award, and by 
July 1 of every year of eligibility thereafter, except as 
provided in §501.B; 

5.a. graduate from an eligible public or nonpublic 
Louisiana high school or non-Louisiana high school defined 
in §1701.A.1, 2, or 3; and 

i.(a). for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2001-2002 and prior, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
16.5 units of high school course work documented on the 
student's official transcript as approved by the Louisiana 
Department of Education constituting a core curriculum as 
follows. 

 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry  

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics 
for Technology 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance courses 
in music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art or visual 
art; or 1 elective from among the other subjects listed in 
this core curriculum) 

 2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 
Computer Applications (or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an 
elective course related to computers that is approved by the 
state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE); or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an elective from 
among the other subjects listed in this core curriculum); 
BESE has approved the following courses as computer 
related for purposes of satisfying the 1/2 unit computer 
science requirement for all schools (courses approved by 
BESE for individual schools are not included): 

Advanced Technical Drafting (1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Applications (1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 credit) 
Computer Science I (1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 credit) 
Digital Graphics and Animation (1/2 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications (1 credit) 
Multimedia Productions (1 credit) 
Technology Education Computer Applications (1 credit) 
Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Web Mastering (1/2 credit) 
Word Processing (1 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications (1 credit) 

 
(b). for students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2002-2003 through 2003-2004, at the time of 
high school graduation, an applicant must have successfully 
completed 16.5 units of high school course work 
documented on the student's official transcript as approved 

by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting a 
core curriculum as follows. 
 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry  

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics 
for Technology 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance 
courses in music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art 
or visual art; or 1 elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 
Computer Applications (or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an 
elective course related to computers that is approved by the 
state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE); or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an elective from 
among the other subjects listed in this core curriculum); 
BESE has approved the following courses as computer 
related for purposes of satisfying the 1/2 unit computer 
science requirement for all schools (courses approved by 
BESE for individual schools are not included): 

Advanced Technical Drafting (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Business Computer Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Applications or Computer/Technology 
Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 

Computer Architecture (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Multimedia Productions or Multimedia Presentations  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Technology Education Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Word Processing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications 
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

 
(c). for students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2004-2005 through 2005-2006, at the time of 
high school graduation, an applicant must have successfully 
completed 16.5 units of high school course work 
documented on the student's official transcript as approved 
by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting a 
core curriculum as follows. 
 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 
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Units Course 

1 English IV 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry, Trigonometry*, Calculus or comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

*Trigonometry cannot be used to fulfill this requirement for 
students graduating in Academic Year (High School) 2005-
2006 and thereafter 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry  

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics 
for Technology 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance courses 
in music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art or visual 
art; or one elective from among the other subjects listed in 
this core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 
Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half 
unit of an elective course related to computers that is 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (BESE); or substitute at least one-
half unit of an elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum); BESE has approved the 
following courses as computer related for purposes of 
satisfying the 1/2 unit computer science requirement for 
all schools (courses approved by BESE for individual 
schools are not included): 

Advanced Technical Drafting (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Business Computer Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Applications or Computer/Technology 
Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 

Computer Architecture (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Multimedia Productions or Multimedia Presentations  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Technology Education Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Word Processing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

 
(d). for students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2006-2007, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
16.5 units of high school course work documented on the 
student's official transcript as approved by the Louisiana 
Department of Education constituting a core curriculum as 
follows. 
 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

Units Course 

1 English IV 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry, Trigonometry*, Calculus or comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

*Trigonometry cannot be used to fulfill this requirement for 
students graduating in Academic Year (High School) 2005-
2006 and thereafter 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry  

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics 
for Technology 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance courses 
in music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art or visual 
art; or one elective from among the other subjects listed in 
this core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 
Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half 
unit of an elective course related to computers that is 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (BESE); or substitute at least one-
half unit of an elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum); BESE has approved the 
following courses as computer related for purposes of 
satisfying the 1/2 unit computer science requirement for 
all schools (courses approved by BESE for individual 
schools are not included): 

Advanced Technical Drafting (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Business Computer Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Applications or Computer/Technology 
Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 

Computer Architecture (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Database Design and Programming (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Database Programming with PL/SQL (1/2 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Digital Media I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Media II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Java Programming (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Multimedia Productions or Multimedia Presentations  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Technology Education Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Word Processing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 

 
(e). beginning with the graduates of academic 

year (high school) 2007-2008 through 2012-13, at the time 
of high school graduation, an applicant must have 
successfully completed 17.5 units of high school course 
work that constitutes a core curriculum and is documented 
on the student's official transcript as approved by the 
Louisiana Department of Education as follows. 
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Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry, Calculus or comparable Advanced Mathematics 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry  

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit; provided 
however, that such Agriscience unit shall not be considered a 
science elective for the purpose of the math or science elective 
requirement below) 

1 An elective from among the following math subjects: 
Geometry, Calculus, Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability and 
Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, Applied Mathematics III, 
Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with the 2008-2009 
academic year (high school) this course is renamed Advanced 
Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced Mathematics II [beginning 
with the 2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course is 
renamed Advanced Math – Functions and Statistics], Integrated 
Mathematics III or the following science subjects: Biology II, 
Chemistry II, Physics or Physics II 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute 2 units performance courses in 
music, dance, or theater; or 2 units of studio art or visual art; or 
1 elective from among the other subjects listed in this core 
curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business Computer 
Applications (or substitute at least one-half unit of an elective 
course related to computers that is approved by the state Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) or substitute at 
least one-half unit of an elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum). BESE has approved the 
following courses as computer related for purposes of satisfying 
the 1/2 unit computer science requirement for all schools 
(courses approved by BESE for individual schools are not 
included): 
Advanced Technical Drafting (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Business Computer Applications (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Applications or Computer/Technology Applications 
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Electronics II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Database Design and Programming (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Database Programming with PL/SQL (1/2 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Digital Media I (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Digital Media II (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
Java Programming (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Multimedia Productions or Multimedia Presentations (1/2 or 1 
credit) 
Technology Education Computer Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Word Processing (1/2 or 1 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications  
(1/2 or 1 credit) 
 

 

(f). beginning with the graduates of academic 
year (high school) 2013-14 through 2016-2017, at the time 
of high school graduation, an applicant must have 
successfully completed 19 units of high school course work 
that constitutes a core curriculum and is documented on the 
student's official transcript as approved by the Louisiana 
Department of Education as follows. 
 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (2 units) 

1 Algebra II 

2 Geometry, Calculus, Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, Applied Mathematics 
III, Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus, Advanced Math – 
Functions and Statistics, Integrated Mathematics III 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry  

2 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

2 World History, Western Civilization, World Geography or 
History of Religion 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit) 

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute one unit of a performance 
course in music, dance, or theater; or substitute one unit of a 
visual art course; or substitute one unit of a studio art course; 
or substitute one unit of drafting) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 

 
(g). beginning with the graduates of academic 

year (high school) 2017-2018, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
19 units of high school course work that constitutes a core 
curriculum and is documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education as follows. 

 

Units Course 

English - 4 Units 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III, AP English Language Arts and Composition, or 
IB English III (Language A or Literature and Performance) 

1 English IV, AP English Literature and Composition, or IB 
English IV (Language A or Literature and Performance) 

Math - 4 Units 

1 Algebra I  

1 Geometry 

1 Algebra II 

1 One unit from:  
Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math-
Pre-Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math Methods I IB 
(Mathematical Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or Math Methods II IB 
(Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability and Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

Science - 4 Units 

1 Biology I 

1 Chemistry I 
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Units Course 

2 Two units from: 
Earth Science;  
Environmental Science;  
Physical Science;  
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (one unit combined); 
Chemistry II or AP Chemistry or IB Chemistry II; 
AP Environmental Science or IB Environmental Systems; 
Physics I, AP Physics B, or IB Physics I; 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, AP Physics C: 
Mechanics, or IB Physics II; 
AP Physics I and AP Physics II; 
Biology II or AP Biology or IB Biology II 

Social Studies - 4 Units 

1 U.S. History or AP U.S. History or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP US Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP US Government and Politics: United 
States 

2 Two units from: 
Western Civilization, European History or AP European 
History;  
World Geography, AP Human Geography, or IB 
Geography;  
World History, AP World History, or World History IB; 
History of Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

Foreign Language - 2 Units 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language, which 
may include: 
AP Chinese Language and Culture,  
AP French Language and Culture,  
AP German Language and Culture,  
AP Italian Language and Culture,  
AP Japanese Language and Culture,  
AP Latin,  
AP Spanish Language and Culture,  
French IV IB,  
French V IB,  
Spanish IV IB, and  
Spanish V IB 

Art - 1 Unit 

1 One unit of Art from: 
Performance course in Music, Dance, or Theatre;  
Fine Arts Survey;  
Arts I, II, III, and IV; 
Talented Art I, II, III, and IV;  
Talented Music I, II, III, and IV;  
Talented Theater Arts I, II, III, and IV;  
Speech III and IV (one unit combined);  
AP Art History;  
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design;  
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design;  
AP Studio Art: Drawing;  
AP Music Theory;  
Film Study I IB;  
Film Study II IB;  
Music I IB; Music II IB;  
Art Design III IB;  
Art Design IV IB; 
Theatre I IB; or 
Drafting  

NOTE: AP = Advanced Placement 
 IB = International Baccalaureate 

 
 ii.(a). For students graduating in academic year 
(high school) 2007-2008 and prior, for purposes of satisfying 
the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science General Science, Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Mathematics I, Advanced 
Mathematics II 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech Debate (2 units) 

Western Civilization European History 

Civics AP American Government 

 *Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry 

 
(b). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2006-2007 through the 2008-2009 academic 
year (high school), for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, 
Probability and Statistics, Discrete 
Mathematics, Applied Mathematics 
III*, Advanced Mathematics I 
[beginning with the 2008-2009 
academic year (high school) this 
course is renamed Advanced Math - 
Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 
2008-2009 academic year (high 
school) this course is renamed 
Advanced Math -Functions and 
Statistics] 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey 
Speech III and Speech IV (both 
units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied 
Geometry 

 
(c). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2009-2010, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 
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Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I, Applied Algebra I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Geometry  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Math - Pre-Calculus**, Advanced Math 
- Functions and Statistics***  

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as Advanced 
Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to 
as Advanced Mathematics II 

 
(d).(i). For students graduating in academic 

year (high school) 2010-2011 through academic year (high 
school) 2016-17, for purposes of satisfying the requirements 
of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Physical Science Integrated Science  

Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 
Mathematics I, Applied Algebra I 

Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 

Algebra I, Algebra II and 
Geometry 

Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Algebra II Integrated Mathematics II  

Geometry Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Geometry  

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, Probability 
and Statistics, Discrete Mathematics, 
Applied Mathematics III*, Advanced 
Math - Pre-Calculus**, Advanced 
Math - Functions and Statistics***  

Chemistry Chemistry Com 

Earth Science, 
Environmental Science, 
Physical Science, Biology II, 
Chemistry II, Physics, 
Physics II, or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I 
and II (both for 1 unit; 

Anatomy and Physiology 

Fine Arts Survey Speech III and Speech IV (both units) 

Western Civilization European History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

Civics AP American Government 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as Advanced 
Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to 
as Advanced Mathematics II 

 
 (ii). For students graduating in academic 
year (high school) 2013-2014 only, for purposes of 
satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or 
§803.A.6.a, in addition to the equivalent courses identified 

in §703.A.5.(a).ii.(d).(i) above, the following course shall be 
considered equivalent to the identified core courses and may 
be substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

World History, Western 
Civilization, World 
Geography or History of 
Religion 

Law Studies 

 
 (iii). For students graduating in academic 
years (high school) 2013-2014 through 2016-2017, for 
purposes of satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i 
above, or §803.A.6.a, in addition to the equivalent courses 
identified in §703.A.5.a.ii.(d).(i) above, the following course 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math-Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math-Pre-
Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math 
Methods I IB (Mathematical Studies 
SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or Math 
Methods II IB (Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability and 
Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

 
(e). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2017-2018 and after, for purposes of satisfying 
the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses. 

 

Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra I, Geometry and Algebra II Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 

Art Media Arts I-IV; Photography I, 
Photography II, and Digital 
Photography 

Algebra III;  
Advanced Math- Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math-Pre-
Calculus, Pre-Calculus, or Math 
Methods I IB (Mathematical 
Studies SL); 
Calculus, AP Calculus AB, or Math 
Methods II IB (Mathematics SL); 
AP Calculus BC; Probability and 
Statistics or AP Statistics; 
IB Further Mathematics HL; 
IB Mathematics HL 

AP Computer Science A 

Biology II Human Anatomy and Physiology  

Western Civilization, European 
History or AP European History;  
World Geography, AP Human 
Geography, or IB Geography;  
World History, AP World History, 
or World History IB; History of 
Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

AP Psychology 
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Core Curriculum Course(s) Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Foreign Language, both units in the 
same language, which may include: 
AP Chinese Language and Culture,  
AP French Language and Culture,  
AP German Language and Culture,  
AP Italian Language and Culture,  
AP Japanese Language and Culture,  
AP Latin,  
AP Spanish Language and Culture,  
French IV IB,  
French V IB,  
Spanish IV IB, and  
Spanish V IB 

Mandarin Chinese I, II, III, IV 
Hindi I, II, III, IV 
Portuguese I, II, III, IV 
Vietnamese I, II, III, IV 

Any listed core course or its 
equivalent. 

Any core curriculum course taken 
by a student who has been deemed 
to be gifted and talented pursuant to 
R.S. 17:1941 et seq. as 
implemented in state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary 
Education policy and in fulfillment 
of the student’s Individualized 
Education Program shall be 
considered a gifted and talented 
course and shall fulfill the core 
curriculum requirement in its given 
subject area. 

 
(f). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the 
tables below have been approved by the board and BESE to 
be converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the core 
curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus 
AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 

Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 

English IV AP English Literature and Composition 

Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 

European History AP European History 

Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 

French AP French Language and Culture 

German AP German Language and Culture 

Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 

Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 

Latin AP Latin 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and 
Statistics 

AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 

US Government or 
Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: United States 

US History AP U.S. History 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

World History AP World History 

 (ii). International Baccalaureate Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course International Baccalaureate 

Advanced Math–Pre Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Arabic 
IB Language ab initio: Arabic  
IB Language B: Arabic 

Art IB Visual Arts 

Biology II 
IB Biology I 
IB Biology II 

Calculus 
IB Mathematics SL 
IB Mathematics HL 

Chemistry II 
IB Chemistry I 
IB Chemistry II 

Chinese 
IB Language ab initio: Chinese 
IB Language B: Chinese 

Economics IB Economics 

English III 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

English IV 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

Environmental Science IB Environmental Systems 

French 
IB Language ab initio: French  
IB Language B: French 

German 
IB Language ab initio: German  
IB Language B: German 

Italian 
IB Language ab initio: Italian  
IB Language B: Italian 

Japanese 
IB Language ab initio: Japanese  
IB Language B: Japanese 

Latin IB Classical Language 

Music (Performance) IB Music 

Physics I 
IB Physics I 
IB Physics II 

Pre-Calculus IB Math Studies (Math Methods) 

Spanish 
IB Language ab initio: Spanish  
IB Language B: Spanish 

Theatre (Performance) 
IB Film Study 
IB Theatre 
IB Dance 

US History IB History of the Americas I 

World Geography IB Geography 

World History IB History of the Americas II 

 
 (iii). Gifted and Talented Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Art 

Art History 
Talented Visual Arts I 
Talented Visual Arts II 
Talented Visual Arts III 
Talented Visual Arts IV 

Biology II Biology II 

Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

Chemistry I Chemistry I 

Chemistry II Chemistry II 

Chinese 
Chinese III 
Chinese IV 

Economics  Economics 

English III English III 

English IV English IV 

Environmental Science Environmental Science 

European History European History 

French 
French III 
French IV 

German 
German III 
German IV 
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TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Italian 
Italian III 
Italian IV 

Japanese 
Japanese III 
Japanese IV 

Latin 
Latin III 
Latin IV 

Music (Performance) 

Talented Music I, II, III, IV 
Small Voice Ensemble II 
Choir: Intermediate 
Choir: Advanced 
Orchestra: Intermediate 
Orchestra: Advanced 

Physics I Physics 

Spanish 
Spanish III 
Spanish IV 

Theatre (Performance) 
Introduction to Film Studies 
Talented Theater I, II, III, IV 

US Government or Civics  Government 

US History U.S. History 

World Geography World/Human Geography 

 
 (iv). Dual Enrollment Courses 
 

TOPS Core 

Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 
Common  

Course Code 
Advanced 
Math–Pre 
Calculus 

Trigonometry 
CMAT 1223 

Advanced 
Math-
Functions and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 

CMAT 1303 

Algebra III College Algebra CMAT 1213 

Arabic 
Elementary Arabic I 
Elementary Arabic II 

CARB 1013/1014 
CARB 1023/1024 

Art 
Art History I or II 
Art Structure/2-D Design 
Beginning Drawing 

CART 2103/2113 
CART 1113 
CART 2203 

Biology I 
General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 

Biology II 

General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 
General Biology II 
General Biology II (Science 
Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 
CBIO 1023 
CBIO 1043 

Calculus 
Applied Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

CMAT 2103 
CMAT 2113-5 
CMAT 2123-5 

Chemistry I 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 

Chemistry II 

General, Organic and Biochemistry 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 
Chemistry II 
Chemistry II (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1003 
CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 
CCEM 1113 
CCEM 1133 

Earth Science 
Physical Geology 
Historical Geology 

CGEO 1103 
CGEO 1113 

Economics 
Economic Principles 
Macroeconomics 
Microeconomics 

CECN 2113 
CECN 2213 
CECN 2223 

English III 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
American Literature I 
American Literature II 
Major American Writers 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2153 
CENL 2163 
CENL 2173 

TOPS Core 

Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 
Common  

Course Code 

English IV 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
British Literature I 
British Literature II 
Major British Writers 
World Literature I 
World Literature II 
Major World Writers  
Introduction to Fiction 
Introduction to Literature 
Introduction to Poetry and/or 
Drama 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2103 
CENL 2113 
CENL 2123 
CENL 2203 
CENL 2213 
CENL 2223 
CENL 2303 
CENL 2323 
CENL 2313 

Environmental 
Science 

Environmental Science CEVS 1103 

Fine Arts 
Survey 

Exploring the Arts 
Introduction to Visual Arts 
Dance Appreciation 
Music Appreciation 

CART 1013 
CART 1023 
CDNC 1013 
CMUS 1013 

French 

Elementary French I 
Elementary French II 
Intermediate French I 
Intermediate French II 

CFRN 1013/1014 
CFRN 1023/1024 
CFRN 2013/2014 
CFRN 2023 

German 

Elementary German I 
Elementary German II 
Intermediate German I 
Intermediate German II 

CGRM 1013/1014 
CGRM 1023/1024 
CGRM 2013 
CGRM 2023 

History Of 
Religion 

World Religions CPHL 2213 

Latin 

Elementary Latin I 
Elementary Latin II 
Intermediate Latin I 
Intermediate Latin II 

CLTN 1013/1014 
CLTN 1023/1024 
CLTN 2013 
CLTN 2023 

Physical 
Science 
 

Physical Science I CPHY 1023 

Physics I 

Physics I (Algebra/Trigonometry 
Based) 
Physics I (Lecture and Lab) 
Physics I (Calculus Based) 

CPHY 2113 
CPHY 2114 
CPHY 2133 

Pre-Calculus Algebra and Trigonometry CMAT 1233 

Probability 
and Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 
CMAT 1303 

Spanish 

Elementary Spanish I 
Elementary Spanish II 
Intermediate Spanish I 
Intermediate Spanish II 

CSPN 1013/1014 
CSPN 1023/1024 
CSPN 2013/2014 
CSPN 2023 

Theatre 
(Performance) 

Acting I or II 
Introduction to Theatre 

CTHE 2103/2113 
CTHE 1013 

US 
Government or 
Civics  

Introduction to American 
Government 
Introduction to State and Local 
Government 
Introduction to Comparative 
Government 

CPOL 2013 
CPOL 2113 
CPOL 2213 

US History American History I or II CHIS 2013/2023 

Western 
Civilization 

Western Civilization I or II CHIS 1013/1023 

World 
Geography 

World Regional Geography CGRG 2113 

World History World Civilization I or II CHIS 1113/1123 

 
 iii.(a). Through academic year (high school) 2011-
2012, for purposes of satisfying the requirements of 
§703.A.5.a.i above, in addition to the courses identified in 
§703.A.5.a.ii, the following courses shall be considered 
equivalent to the identified core courses and may be 
substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses for students 
of the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts. 
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Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

English III EN 210 Composition/Major Themes 
in Literature (1 unit) 

English IV Any 2 of the following 1/2 unit 
courses: 

EN 311 Readings in Literature (at 
least one 311 course is a 
requirement) 

EN 311A American Literature 
EN 311B British Literature 
EN 302 Studies in the English 

Language 
EN 304 Topics in American and 

British Literature 
EN 312 Studies in Poetry 
EN 314 Readings in World 

Literature 
EN 322 Studies in Fiction 
EN 332 Introduction to Film Studies 
EN 342 Studies in Modern Drama 
EN 401 Creative Writing 
EN 402 Expository Writing 
EN 412 Studies in a Major 

Author― Shakespeare 
EN 422 Studies in a Major 

Author― Faulkner 
IS 314 Dramatic Text and 

Performance 
IS 315 Literature and Science 
IS 317 Evolution and Literature 
IS 318 Sacred Literature 
IS 411 English Renaissance 

Algebra I (one unit) Any combination of advanced math 
courses which equal 1 unit of 
course credit that are certified by 
the school to be equivalent of 
Algebra I 

Algebra II (one unit) Any combination of advanced math 
courses which equal 1 unit of 
course credit that are certified by 
the school to be equivalent of 
Algebra II: 

MA 120 College Algebra (1 unit), 
or 

MA 121 Accelerated College 
Algebra (1/2 unit) and 

1/2 unit of MA 203 Trigonometry  

Physics PH 110L Conceptual Physics  
(1 unit), or 

PH 210L General Physics (1 unit), 
or 

PH 250L Advanced Placement 
Physics (1 unit), or 

PH 310L Physics with Calculus 

Biology II BI 210L Advanced Placement 
Biology (1 unit), or 

BI 231L Microbiology (1/2 unit), 
and 

BI 241 Molecular and Cellular 
Biology (1/2 unit) 

Civics (1/2 unit) and  
Free Enterprise (1/2 unit) 

AH 243 American Government and 
Politics (1/2 unit), and 

SS 113 Economics (1/2 unit) 

Western Civilization EH 121 Ancient and Medieval 
History (1/2 unit) and 

EH 122 Modern History (1/2 unit) 

*Applied Mathematics III was formerly referred to as Applied 
Geometry  
**Advanced Math―Pre-Calculus was formerly referred to as 
Advanced Mathematics II 
***Advanced Math―Functions and Statistics was formerly referred to 
as Advanced Mathematics II 

 

(b). Beginning with the academic year (high 
school) 2011-2012, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, in addition to the 
courses identified in §703.A.5.a.ii, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses 
for students of the Louisiana School for Math, Science and 
the Arts. 

 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

English II EN 110 Introduction to Writing and 
Literature (1 unit) 

English III  EN 210 Composition/ Literature (1 
unit) 

English III 1/2 unit EN 311A and 1/2 unit from 
any of the following 1/2 unit courses: 

EN 302 Studies in the English 
Language 

EN 304 Topics in American and 
British Lit 

EN 314 Readings in World Literature 
EN 322 Studies in Fiction 

EN 332 Introduction to Film Studies 
EN 342 Studies in Modern Drama 

EN 401 Creative Writing 
EN 402 Expository Writing 

EN 412 Studies in a Major Author—
Shakespeare 

EN 422 Studies in a Major Author—
Faulkner 

IS 314 Dramatic Text and 
Performance 

IS 315 Literature and Science 
IS 317 Evolution and Literature 
IS 318 Sacred Literature 
IS 411 English Renaissance 

English IV 1/2 unit EN 311B or EN 311W and 
1/2 unit from any of the following 
1/2 unit courses: 

EN 302 Studies in the English 

Language 

EN 304 Topics in American and 

British Lit  

EN 314 Readings in World 

Literature 

EN 322 Studies in Fiction 

EN 332 Introduction to Film Studies 
EN 342 Studies in Modern Drama 

EN 401 Creative Writing 
EN 402 Expository Writing 
EN 412 Studies in a Major Author—
Shakespeare  

EN 422 Studies in a Major Author—
Faulkner 

IS 314 Dramatic Text and 
Performance 

IS 315 Literature and Science 
IS 317 Evolution and Literature 
IS 318 Sacred Literature 
IS 411 English Renaissance 

Advanced Math Any combination of advanced math 
courses which equal 1 unit of 
course credit that are certified by 
the school to be equivalent of 
Advanced Math 

Algebra I (one unit) Any combination of advanced math 
courses which equal 1 unit of 
course credit that are certified by 
the school to be equivalent of 
Algebra I 
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Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Algebra II (one unit) Any combination of advanced math 
courses which equal 1 unit of 
course credit that are certified by 
the school to be equivalent of 
Algebra II: 

MA 120 College Algebra (1 unit), 
or 

MA 121 Accelerated College 
Algebra (1/2 unit) and 

1/2 unit of MA 203 Trigonometry  

Biology II Any combination of 1/2 unit 
Biology Lab science courses 
which equal 1 unit of course credit 
that are certified by the school to 
be equivalent of Biology II: 

BI 210L Cells and Genetics and BI 
202L Evolution and Biodiversity 
(1 unit combined), or 

I unit from the following 1/2 unit 
courses: 

BI 231L Microbiology 
BI 253L Botany 
BI 246L Ecology 

Chemistry II Any combination of 1/2 unit 
Chemistry lab science courses which 
equal 1 unit of course credit that are 
certified by the school to be the 
equivalent of Chemistry II: 

CH 2O1L and CH 2O2L (1 unit 
combined) or 

1 unit from the following 1/2 unit 
courses: 

CH 313L Analytical Chemistry, 
CH 314L Polymer Chemistry 

Physics I PH 101L and PH 102L Accelerated 
Physics I (1 unit combined), or 

PH 201L and PH 202L Accelerated 
Physics II (1 unit combined) 

Physics II Any combination of 1/2 unit Physics 
lab science courses which equal 1 
unit of course credit that are certified 
by the school to be the equivalent of 
Physics II, or 

PH 301L and PH 302L (1 unit 
combined) or  

1 unit from the following 1/2 unit 
courses: 

PH 2O3L Intro to Astronomy; 
PH 303L Observational Astronomy 
and Astrophotography 

PH 305L Electronics 
PH 306L Astrophysics 

Civics (1/2 unit) and  
Free Enterprise (1/2 unit) 

AH 243 American Government and 
Politics (1/2 unit) and 

SS 113 Economics (1/2 unit) 

Western Civilization EH 121 Ancient and Medieval 
History (1/2 unit) and 

EH 122 Modern History (1/2 unit) 

Advanced Social Studies Any combination of history courses 
certified by the school to be the 
equivalent of one unit of World 
History, World Geography, 
Western Civilization, AP 
European History: 

1 unit of credit from the following 
1/2 unit courses: 

EH 231 History of Tudor-Stuart 
England 

EH 232 History of Modern Britain 

EH 244A European Intellectual 
History 

WH 244 Selected Topics in World 
History 

 

 iv. Beginning with academic year (high school) 
2013-2014, for purposes of satisfying the requirements of 
§703.A.5.a.i above, in addition to the courses identified in 
§703.A.5.a.ii, the following courses shall be considered 
equivalent to the identified core courses and may be 
substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses for students 
of the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts. 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

English I NOCCA Integrated English I 

English II  NOCCA Integrated English II 

English III NOCCA Integrated English III 

English IV NOCCA Integrated English IV 

Algebra I NOCCA Integrated Mathematics I 

Geometry NOCCA Integrated Mathematics II 

Algebra II NOCCA Integrated Mathematics III 

Advanced Math–Functions 
and Statistics 

NOCCA Integrated Mathematics IV 

Physical Science NOCCA Integrated Science I 

Biology NOCCA Integrated Science II 

Environmental Science NOCCA Integrated Science III 

Chemistry NOCCA Integrated Science IV 

World Geography NOCCA Integrated History I 

Civics NOCCA Integrated History III 

World History NOCCA Integrated History II 

U. S. History NOCCA Integrated History IV 

 
b. graduate from an eligible public or nonpublic 

Louisiana high school or non-Louisiana high school defined 
in §1701.A.3 and have completed the core curriculum 
defined in §703.A.5.a.i, unless the following exceptions 
apply: 
 i. for students in graduating classes prior to the 
year 2004, one or more core units are waived based upon a 
sworn affidavit by the principal or headmaster or authorized 
designee that the course was not available to the student at 
the school attended; 
 ii. for a disabled student or an exceptional child, 
as defined in §301, who have met the criteria set forth in 
§2115, one or more core units are waived; or 

c. graduate from an out-of-state public or private 
high school approved by the chief state and territorial school 
officer (or the state agency which is the equivalent of 
Louisiana's Board of Elementary and Secondary Education) 
of the state in which the school is located (see §1701.A.4); 
or 

d.i. successfully complete at the 12th grade level a 
home study program approved by BESE; or 
 ii. if ever was enrolled in a Louisiana public or 
nonpublic school approved by BESE, successfully 
completed at least the 11th and 12th grade levels of a home 
study program approved by BESE; and 
 iii. if having previously attended a Louisiana 
public high school, a Louisiana nonpublic high school, or an 
approved non-Louisiana high school, has provided the board 
with certification by the previously attended high school that 
said student was in good standing at the time the student last 
attended such school; or 

e. graduate from a high school defined in 
§1701.A.5 or successfully complete at the 12th grade level a 
home study program approved by BESE and conducted 
outside the United States and its territories; or 
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f.i. for students graduating in academic years (high 
school) 2000-2001 and 2001-2002, successfully complete a 
minimum of 10 units in honors courses graded on a 5.00 
scale and graduate from an eligible public or nonpublic 
Louisiana high school or non-Louisiana high school defined 
in §1701.A.1, 2, or 3 and have completed the core 
curriculum defined in §703.A.5.a.i; or 
 ii. for students graduating academic year (high 
school) 2002-2003 through 2005-2006, successfully 
complete a minimum of 10 units in honors curriculum 
courses used to satisfy the core curriculum requirement and 
graded on a 4.00 or higher scale and graduate from an 
eligible public or nonpublic Louisiana high school or non-
Louisiana high school defined in §1701.A.1, 2, or 3. and 
have completed the core curriculum defined in §703.A.5.a.i.; 
or 

g. beginning with the 2004-2005 award year, 
eligible non-graduates who meet the following criteria: 
 i.(a). through the 2017-2018 academic year high 
school, be a United States citizen or be a permanent resident 
as defined by the United States Citizenship and Immigration 
Services and be eligible to apply for United States 
citizenship; 

(b). beginning the 2018-2019 academic year 
(high school) and later, be a United States citizen or an 
eligible noncitizen as defined in §301; 
 ii. meet the requirements of §703.A.3, above; and 
 iii. actually reside in Louisiana for at least two 
years prior to the student's first enrollment in an eligible 
college or university; and 
 iv. as certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist 
licensed to practice in Louisiana, the student has a score that 
is at least in the superior range on the Wechsler Intelligence 

Scale for Children (Third Edition) or revised version of such 
instrument; and 
 v. as certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist 
licensed to practice in Louisiana, the student has a composite 
score that is at least at the ninetieth percentile at the 12th 
grade level in the reading, mathematics, and written 
language portions of the Wechsler Individual Achievement 

Test (Second Edition) or revised version of such test; and 
 vi. prior to enrolling for the first time in an eligible 
college or university, the student's score on the ACT must 
meet the requirements of §703.A.6.a., as specified for the 
respective award, or have an equivalent score on the 
scholastic aptitude test; and 
 vii. before the student's 19th birthday: 

(a). enrolls in an eligible college or university 
and successfully earns 12 hours of course credits; and 

(b). enrolls in an eligible college or university as 
a full-time student to pursue an academic undergraduate 
degree at the baccalaureate level; and 
 viii. after meeting all the requirements in 
§703.A.5.g.i. through vi, the student will qualify for a TOPS 
Award; 

6. have achieved an ACT score, as defined in §301 of 
at least: 

a. if qualifying under the terms of §703.A.5.a, b,  
or g: 
 i. the state's reported prior year ACT composite 
average, truncated to a whole number, but never less than 20 
for the Opportunity Award; or 

 ii. a 23 for the Performance Award; or 
 iii. a 27 for the Honors Award; or 

b. if qualifying under §703.A.5.c: 
 i. is a Louisiana resident, except as defined in 
Subparagraph h of the definition of Louisiana Resident in 
§301: 

(a). the state's reported prior year average 
truncated to a whole number plus 3 points, but never less 
than 23 for the Opportunity Award; or 

(b). a 26 for the Performance Award; or 
(c). a 30 for the Honors Award; and 

 ii. is a Louisiana resident as defined in 
Subparagraph h of the definition of Louisiana Resident in 
§301: 

(a). the state's reported prior year average 
truncated to a whole number plus 2 points, but never less 
than 22 for the Opportunity Award; or 

(b). a 25 for the Performance Award; or 
(c). a 29 for the Honors Award; and 

c.i. if completed the 12th grade level of an approved 
home study program during or before the academic year 
(high school) 2003-2004 and qualifying under §703.A.5.d; 

(a). the state's reported prior year average 
truncated to a whole number plus 3 points, but never less 
than 23 for the Opportunity Award; or 

(b). a 26 for the Performance Award; or 
(c). a 30 for the Honors Award; and  

 ii. if completed the 12th grade level of an 
approved home study program during or after academic year 
(high school) 2004-2005 and through academic year (high 
school) 2006-2007 and qualifying under §703.A.5.d; 

(a). the state's reported prior year average, 
truncated to a whole number plus 2 points, but never less 
than 22 for the Opportunity Award; or 

(b). a 25 for the Performance Award; or 
(c). a 29 for the Honors Award; and  

 iii. if completed the 12th grade level of an 
approved home study program during or after the academic 
year (high school) 2007-2008 and after, and qualifying under 
§703.A.5.d; 

(a). the state's reported prior year average, 
truncated to a whole number, plus 2 points, but never less 
than 22 for the Opportunity Award; or 

(b). a 24 for the Performance Award; or 
(c). a 28 for the Honors Award; and  

d.i. if qualifying under §703.A.5.e by graduating 
from a high school defined in §1701.A.5; which is limited to 
the Opportunity Award only; the state's reported prior year 
average, truncated to a whole number, plus 3 points, but 
never less than 23; 
 ii. if qualifying under §703.A.5.e by successfully 
completing the 12th grade level a home study program 
approved by BESE and conducted outside the United States 
and its territories during or before the academic year (high 
school) 2003-2004 or during or after the academic year (high 
school) 2008-2009; which is limited to the Opportunity 
Award only; the state's reported prior year average, truncated 
to a whole number, plus 3 points, but never less than 23; 
 iii. if qualifying under §703.A.5.e by successfully 
completing the 12th grade level a home study program 
approved by BESE and conducted outside the United States 
and its territories during or after the academic year (high 
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school) 2004-2005 and through the academic year (high 
school) 2007-2008; which is limited to the Opportunity 
Award only; the state's reported prior year average plus 2 
points, rounded, but never less than 22; 

e. if qualifying under §703.A.5.f; which is limited 
to the Performance Award only; a 24; and 

7. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations, and if the student has been in 
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such 
service, has received an honorable discharge or general 
discharge under honorable conditions; and 

8. agree that awards will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses; 

B. Students qualifying: 
1. under §703.A.5.a and b during or before academic 

year (high school) 2006-2007, must have attained a 
cumulative high school grade point average, based on a 4.00 
maximum scale, of at least: 

a. a 2.50 for the Opportunity Award; or 
b. a 3.50 for the Performance or Honors Awards; 

2. under §703.A.5.a and b during or after academic 
year (high school) 2007-2008, must have attained a 
cumulative high school grade point average, based on a 4.00 
maximum scale, of at least: 

a. a 2.50 for the Opportunity Award; or 
b. a 3.00 for the Performance or Honors Awards; 

3. under §703.A.5.a and b in academic year (high 
school) 2020-2021 must have attained a TOPS cumulative 
high school grade point average, based on a 4.00 maximum 
scale, of at least: 

a. a 2.50 for the Opportunity Award; or 
b. a 3.25 for the Performance Award; or 
c. a 3.50 for the Honors Award. 

4. under §703.A.5.f and graduating in academic year 
(high school) 2000-2001 through 2005-2006, must have 
attained a TOPS cumulative high school grade point 
average, based on a 4.00 maximum scale, of at least a 3.00 
for the Performance Award. 

C. Students qualifying under §703.A.5.a and b, for the 
Performance Award only, must be certified as graduating in 
the top five percent of the 1997-98 high school graduating 
class, as defined in §1703.B.4, in lieu of completing the core 
curriculum. 

D. Students who have qualified academically for more 
than one of the TOPS Awards, excluding the TOPS Teacher 
Award, shall receive the award requiring the most rigorous 
eligibility criteria. 

E. Students graduating in academic years 1996-97 and 
1997-98 who qualified by reduction of the foreign language 
requirement must provide the board a copy of their college 
transcript showing completion of one or more foreign 
language courses. Eligibility for an award is not established 
until receipt of the transcript verifying that the foreign 
language credit was earned and the student shall first be 
awarded for the semester or term following that in which 
eligibility was established. Under this provision, eligibility 
must be established not later than the conclusion of the 
1998-99 award year. High school graduates of 1996-97 and 
1997-98 who meet the requirements of §703.A.4.b or d or 
§803.A.4.b or d of these rules and who have not been 
discharged with an undesirable, bad conduct or dishonorable 
discharge must meet the foreign language requirement no 

later than one year after the date of separation from active 
duty. 

F. In the event that a student applicant was determined 
ineligible by the board for an award under this program or 
for a higher level award than that initially offered the student 
and such determination was based upon data that was 
subsequently found to be in error, then the student's 
eligibility shall be reevaluated based upon the corrected data 
and, if found eligible, the student shall be offered the award 
for which he qualifies. The award shall begin with the 
academic year during which the reevaluation occurred and 
eligibility first established. The requirement that a student be 
a first-time freshman shall be waived for those students who 
are determined eligible under these circumstances 
subsequent to the commencement of their post-secondary 
education. 

G. Early Admission to College 
1. A student who enters an eligible college or 

university under an early admissions program prior to high 
school graduation will be eligible for an appropriate award 
under the following conditions. 

a. The college early admissions program is one that 
meets the requirements of the Louisiana Department of 
Education as set forth in the latest edition of Bulletin 741. 

b. The student has satisfied all core curriculum 
requirements not completed in high school by making 
passing scores on equivalent college courses. 

c. The college courses taken to satisfy core 
curriculum requirements and the grades reported on those 
courses are reflected in the student's official high school 
records. The student is awarded a high school diploma and 
the grade point average and core curriculum are certified to 
the board by the high school in the same manner as that of 
other high school graduates. 

d. The student's core curriculum requirements are 
completed no later than the conclusion of the first two 
semesters or three quarters of college attendance following 
entrance into the college early admissions program. 

2. A student who enters an eligible college or 
university early admissions program prior to graduation 
from high school shall be considered a first-time freshman, 
as defined in §301, not earlier than the first semester 
following the academic year (high school) in which the 
student graduated. A student who enters an early admissions 
program will remain eligible for a TOPS Award until the 
semester or term, excluding summer semesters or sessions, 
immediately following the first anniversary of the date that 
the student actually graduated. 

H. Returning Students 
1. A returning student, as defined in §301, is eligible 

for a TOPS Award if: 
a. he submits an application to return from an out-

of-state college that includes: 
 i. the name of the Louisiana school in which he 
has enrolled or will enroll; and 
 ii. his official transcripts from all out-of-state 
colleges and universities attended; and 

b. he met all the requirements to maintain his award 
that would have been applicable had the student enrolled in 
an eligible college or university during the time the student 
was enrolled in an out-of-state college or university; and 
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c. he enrolled in an eligible college or university no 
later than the next semester or term, excluding summer 
sessions and intersessions, immediately following the last 
semester he was enrolled in the out-of-state college or 
university. 

2. A returning student who fails to enroll by the 
deadline established in §703.A.4 or to maintain full-time 
enrollment or to earn 24 hours during an academic year 
(TOPS) while enrolled in an out-of-state college or 
university, shall not be eligible for a TOPS award unless 
granted an exception in accordance with §2103. 

3. The period of eligibility of a returning student shall 
be reduced by each semester or term the student was 
enrolled in an out-of-state college or university. 

I. Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Students. Any student who 
graduates from high school or completes an approved home 
study program during and after academic year (high school) 
2004-2005 and who is eligible for a TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, or Honors Award may use the award at an out-
of-state college or university if all the following conditions 
are met: 

1. the college or university is nonpublic; and 
2. the college or university is accredited by a regional 

accrediting organization recognized by the United States 
Department of Education; and 

3. all programs and services at the college or 
university are specifically designed to accommodate deaf 
and hard-of-hearing students; and 

4. deaf and hard-of-hearing students comprise the 
majority of students enrolled at the college or university at 
the undergraduate level; and 

5. the award recipient meets the admission 
requirements of the college or university that are applicable 
to deaf and hard-of-hearing students; and 

6. the award recipient must enroll as first-time 
freshman as defined in §301, unless granted an exception for 
cause by the board, in the out-of-state college or university 
by the deadlines established in §703.A.4; and 

7. the award recipient must meet the requirements of 
§705 to continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance or Honors Awards; and 

8. the college or university complies with the 
requirements for postsecondary institutions provided in 
§1903. 

J. Natural Disaster Initial Eligibility Requirements 
1. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance or Honors Award, a displaced student 
graduating from high school or completing a BESE 
approved home study program at the 12th grade level during 
the 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 
academic years (high school) must meet all of the 
requirements of §703.A-I.8 above, except as follows. 

a. A displaced student who has been certified by the 
principal or headmaster to have graduated during the 2005-
2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 school years 
from an out-of-state high school that meets the criteria of an 
eligible out-of-state high school as provided in §1701.A.4 
and 5 shall not be required to have for the respective awards 
a higher minimum composite score on the ACT or on the 
Scholastic Aptitude Test than required for a student who 
graduates from an eligible Louisiana high school provided 
such student has, for an opportunity award, a cumulative 

high school grade point average on all courses on the high 
school transcript of at least 2.50 calculated on a 4.00 scale 
or, for a performance or honors award, a cumulative high 
school grade point average on all courses on the high school 
transcript of at least 3.50 calculated on a 4.00 scale. 

b. The requirement that a student who graduates 
from an eligible Louisiana high school during the 2005-
2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 school years 
must have successfully completed the applicable core 
curriculum shall be waived for a displaced student based 
upon a sworn affidavit by the student's high school principal 
or headmaster or authorized designee that failure to comply 
with such requirement is due solely to the fact that the 
required course or courses were not available to the student 
at the school attended. 

c. A displaced student shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if: 
 i. such dependent or independent student actually 
resided in Louisiana during the entire 2004-2005 academic 
year (high school) and was enrolled for such time in an 
eligible Louisiana high school and graduated from high 
school during the 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, or 
2008-2009 academic year (high school); or 
 ii. such dependent student has a parent or court-
ordered custodian who actually resided in a parish listed in 
§703.J.2.a below for at least the 12 months prior to August 
26, 2005, or in a parish listed in §703.J.2.b below for at least 
the 12 months prior to September 20, 2005. 

d. A dependent student who graduated from an 
eligible out-of-state high school shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if his parent or court-
ordered custodian was displaced as a resident from a parish 
listed: 
 i. in §703.J.2.a below due to Hurricane Katrina 
and such parent or court-ordered custodian actually resided 
in Louisiana for at least the 12 months prior to August 26, 
2005; or 
 ii. in §703.J.2.b below due to Hurricane Rita and 
such parent or court-ordered custodian actually resided in 
Louisiana for at least the 12 months prior to September 20, 
2005. 

e. A displaced student who during the 2005-2006, 
2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 academic years (high 
school) successfully completes at the 12th grade level a 
home study program approved by BESE shall not be 
required to have also completed the 11th grade level of an 
approved home study course. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

student means: 
a. a student who on August 26, 2005, was actually 

residing in Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. 
Bernard, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, or Washington Parish 
and: 
 i. was enrolled in an eligible Louisiana high 
school as provided in §1701.A.1, 2 and 3; or  
 ii. was enrolled in a home study program 
approved by BESE; or 

b. a student who on September 20, 2005, was 
actually residing in Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, 
Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, St. Mary, Terrebonne, or 
Vermilion Parish and: 
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 i. was enrolled in an eligible Louisiana high 
school as provided in §1701.A.1, 2 and 3; or  
 ii. was enrolled in a home study program 
approved by BESE. 

3. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance or Honors Award, a displaced student 
graduating from an eligible Louisiana high school or 
completing a BESE approved home study program at the 
12th grade level during the 2006-2007 academic year (high 
school) must meet all of the requirements of §703.A-I.8 
above, except as follows. 

a. The requirement that a student who graduates 
from an eligible Louisiana high school during the 2006-2007 
academic year (high school) must have successfully 
completed the applicable core curriculum shall be waived 
for a displaced student based upon a sworn affidavit by the 
student's high school principal or headmaster or authorized 
designee that failure to comply with such requirement is due 
solely to the fact that the required course or courses were not 
available to the student at the school attended. 

b. A displaced student shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if:  
 i. such dependent or independent student actually 
resided in Louisiana during his entire 10th grade year of 
high school and was enrolled for such time in an eligible 
Louisiana high school; or 
 ii. such dependent student has a parent or court-
ordered custodian who actually resided in a parish listed in 
§703.J.2.a above for at least the 12 months prior to August 
26, 2005, or in a parish listed in §703.J.2.b above for at least 
the 12 months prior to September 20, 2005. 

4. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance or Honors Award, a displaced student who has 
been certified by the principal or headmaster to have 
graduated during the 2006-2007 school year from an out-of-
state high school that meets the criteria of an eligible out-of-
state high school as provided in §1701.A.4 and 5 and 
receives a Louisiana distance diploma from the board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education must meet all of the 
requirements of §703.A-I.8 above, except as follows. 

a. A displaced student shall not be required to have 
for the respective awards a higher minimum composite score 
on the ACT or on the scholastic aptitude test than required 
for a student who graduates from an eligible Louisiana high 
school provided such student has, for an opportunity award, 
a cumulative high school grade point average on all courses 
on the high school transcript of at least 2.50 calculated on a 
4.00 scale or, for a performance or honors award, a 
cumulative high school grade point average on all courses on 
the high school transcript of at least 3.50 calculated on a 
4.00 scale. 

b. A displaced student shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if:  
 i. such dependent or independent student actually 
resided in Louisiana during his entire 10th grade year of 
high school and was enrolled for such time in an eligible 
Louisiana high school; or 
 ii. such dependent student has a parent or court-
ordered custodian who actually resided in a parish listed in 
§703.J.2.a above for at least the 12 months prior to August 
26, 2005, or in a parish listed in §703.J.2.b above for at least 
the 12 months prior to September 20, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015), LR 41:651, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:1486 (August 2015), 
LR 41:2596, 2599 (December 2015), amended by the Board of 
Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 42:1657 
(October 2016), LR 44: 

§705. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance or Honors Awards, the recipient must meet all 
of the following criteria: 

1. have received less than four years or eight 
semesters of TOPS Award funds, except as provided in 
§701.E.1.b, §701.E.2.b and §701.E.3.b; and 

2. submit the renewal FAFSA in accordance with 
§505.F; and 

3. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations and if the student has been in 
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such 
service, has received an honorable discharge or general 
discharge under honorable conditions; and 

4. agree that awards will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses; and 

5. continue to enroll and accept the TOPS Award as a 
full-time undergraduate student, professional or graduate 
student in an eligible college or university defined in §301, 
and maintain an enrolled status throughout the academic 
term, unless granted an exception for cause by the board; 
and 

6. minimum academic progress: 
a.i. in an academic undergraduate program at an 

eligible college or university, by the end of each academic 
year (TOPS), earn a total of at least 24 college credit hours 
as determined by totaling the earned hours reported by the 
institution for each semester or term in the academic year 
(TOPS), including any hours earned during an intersession 
ending during the academic year. These hours shall include 
remedial course work required by the institution, but shall 
not include hours earned during qualified summer sessions, 
summer sessions or intersessions that do not end during the 
academic year or by advanced placement course credits. 
Unless granted an exception for cause by the board, failure 
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to earn the required number of hours will result in permanent 
cancellation of the recipient's eligibility; or 
 ii. beginning in the 2008-2009 and through the 
2010-2011 academic year (TOPS), in an academic 
undergraduate program at an eligible college or university, 
by the end of each academic year (TOPS), earn a total of at 
least 24 college credit hours as determined by totaling the 
earned hours reported by the institution for each semester or 
quarter in the academic year (TOPS), including any hours 
earned during an intersession ending during the academic 
year or immediately following the spring term. These hours 
shall include remedial course work required by the 
institution, but shall not include hours earned during 
qualified summer sessions, summer sessions or intersessions 
that do not end during the academic year or intersessions 
that do not immediately follow the spring term or by 
advanced placement course credits. Unless granted an 
exception for cause by the board, failure to earn the required 
number of hours will result in permanent cancellation of the 
recipient's eligibility; or 
 iii. beginning in the 2011-2012 academic year 
(TOPS), in an academic undergraduate program at an 
eligible college or university, by the end of each academic 
year (TOPS), earn a total of at least 24 college credit hours 
as determined by totaling the earned hours reported by the 
institution for each semester or quarter, intersession and 
summer session in the academic year (TOPS) (includes any 
hours earned during any intersession and/or summer session 
ending before the following fall semester or quarter). These 
hours shall include remedial course work required by the 
institution and hours for repeated courses, but shall not 
include hours by advanced placement course credits, by 
credit by exam, or through the College-Level Examination 
Program. Unless granted an exception for cause by the 
board, failure to earn the required number of hours will 
result in permanent cancellation of the recipient's eligibility; 
or 

b. in a program for a vocational or technical 
education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree at an eligible college or university, by 
the end of each academic year (TOPS), earn a total of at 
least 24 college credit hours as determined by totaling the 
earned hours reported by the institution for each semester or 
quarter, intersession and summer session in the academic 
year (TOPS) (includes any hours earned during any 
intersession and/or summer session ending before the 
following fall semester or quarter). These hours shall include 
remedial course work required by the institution and hours 
for repeated courses, but shall not include hours by advanced 
placement course credits, by credit by exam, or through the 
College-Level Examination Program. Unless granted an 
exception for cause by the board, failure to earn 24 hours 
during the academic year (TOPS) will result in permanent 
cancellation of the recipient's eligibility; or 

c. in an academic graduate or professional program 
at an eligible college or university, by the end of each 
academic year (TOPS), earn at least the total college credit 
hours required by the college or university for full-time 
enrollment for each semester or quarter as determined by 
totaling the earned hours reported by the institution for each 
semester or quarter, intersession and summer session in the 
academic year (TOPS) (includes any hours earned during 

any intersession and/or summer session ending before the 
following fall semester or quarter). These hours shall not 
include hours by advanced placement course credits, by 
credit by exam, or through the College-Level Examination 
Program. Unless granted an exception for cause by the 
board, failure to earn the required number of hours will 
result in permanent cancellation of the recipient's eligibility; 
or 

d. in an eligible cosmetology or proprietary school, 
meet the federal grant aid steady academic progress 
requirement at that school; and 

7. maintain steady academic progress as defined in 
§301; and 

8.a. Through the 2013-14 academic year (TOPS), 
maintain at an eligible college or university, by the end of 
the spring semester, quarter, or term, a TOPS cumulative 
college grade point average on a 4.00 maximum scale of at 
least: 
 i. a 2.30 with the completion of 24 but less than 
48 credit hours, a 2.50 after the completion of 48 credit 
hours, for continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award, if 
enrolled in an academic program; or 
 ii. a 2.50, for continuing receipt of an Opportunity 
Award, if enrolled in a program for a vocational or technical 
education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree; and 

b. beginning with the 2014-15 academic year 
(TOPS), maintain at an eligible college or university, by the 
end of the academic year, a TOPS cumulative college grade 
point average on a 4.00 maximum scale of at least: 
 i. a 2.30 with the completion of 24 but less than 
48 credit hours, a 2.50 after the completion of 48 credit 
hours, for continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award, if 
enrolled in an academic program; or 
 ii. a 2.50, for continuing receipt of an Opportunity 
Award, if enrolled in a program for a vocational or technical 
education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree; and 

c. the provisions of §705.A.8.b shall not apply 
during the 2014-2015 academic year to students who met the 
requirements of §705.A.7 at the end of the spring semester 
of 2015, but who did not meet the requirements of 
§705.A.8.b at the end of the 2014-2015 academic year; 

d. beginning with the 2015-16 academic year 
(TOPS), maintain at an eligible college or university, by the 
end of the academic year, a TOPS cumulative college grade 
point average (Opportunity, Performance, Honors) on a 4.00 
maximum scale of at least: 
 i. a 2.30 with 24 but less than 48 earned credit 
hours for continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award, if 
enrolled in an academic program for the last semester 
attended during the academic year; or 
 ii. a 2.50 with 24 but less than 48 earned credit 
hours for continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award, if 
enrolled in a program for a vocational or technical education 
certificate or diploma or a non-academic undergraduate 
degree for the last semester attended during the academic 
year; or 
 iii. a 2.50 with 48 or more earned credit hours for 
continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award, if enrolled in 
any program of study for the last semester attended during 
the academic year; and 
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e. a 3.00 for continuing receipt of either a 
Performance or Honors Award; or 

f. the minimum grade necessary to maintain good 
standing, if enrolled in a graduate or professional program; 
or 

g. meet the federal grant aid steady academic 
progress requirement at that school, if enrolled in an eligible 
cosmetology or proprietary school; and 

B.1. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 
§705.A.7 or §705.A.8.a, b, d, f, or g may have their TOPS 
Awards reinstated upon regaining “steady academic 
progress” (see §301) and/or attainment of the required TOPS 
cumulative grade point average, if the period of ineligibility 
did not persist for more than two years from the date of loss 
of eligibility.  

2. If the two-year period is interrupted due to a 
student's active duty in the United States Armed Forces, the 
two-year period will be extended for a length of time equal 
to the student's active duty service. 

3. Students who fail to meet the requirements of 
§705.A.8.e, shall no longer be eligible for the stipend 
authorized for the Performance and Honors Awards, but 
shall be eligible to receive the award amount for the 
Opportunity Award if they meet the continuation 
requirements of §705.A.8.a, b, d, f, or g.  

4.a. A student shall have one semester or quarter after 
the 2015-16 academic year (TOPS) for which the TOPS 
Award will be paid to meet the requirements of §705.A.8.d if 
the student: 
 i. failed to meet the requirements listed in 
§705.A.8.d solely because the calculation of the TOPS 
cumulative grade point average (Opportunity, Performance, 
Honors) at the end of the 2015- 2016 academic year (TOPS) 
includes both hours and grades for courses taken before the 
2015-16 academic year (TOPS) in both academic and 
technical courses of study; and 
 ii. was a high school graduate or home study 
completer who enrolled for the first time as a full-time 
student in an eligible postsecondary institution before the 
2015-16 academic year (TOPS); and 
 iii. not suspended after the 2014-15 academic year 
(TOPS).  

b. The TOPS award of a student who meets the 
requirements of §705.B.4.a shall not be suspended unless the 
student fails to meet the requirements of §705.A.8.d by the 
end of the fall semester or quarter of 2016 in which case: 
 i. the student’s TOPS award shall be suspended 
effective at the end of the fall semester or quarter of 2016; 
and  
 ii. the provisions of §705.B.1 and 2 shall apply. 

c. If a student does not enroll full time for the fall 
semester or quarter of 2016 and any subsequent consecutive 
semesters or quarters and is granted an exception for all of 
those semesters or quarters, the provisions of §705.B.4.b 
shall be extended to the end of the next semester or quarter 
during which the student enrolls full time and for which the 
student’s TOPS award is paid. 

C. In the event the board determines that an ineligible 
student has received an award as the result of an 
administrative error or erroneous information provided by 
the student or the student's parent(s) or court ordered 
custodian or incorrect certification from the student's high 

school, the student's eligibility for the award shall be 
terminated and no further awards shall be made to the 
ineligible student. If an ineligible student has received an 
award due to an administrative error or incorrect 
certification, the board will not pursue recoupment from the 
student of funds that were awarded. If an erroneous award 
has been made and the board determines that the award was 
made based upon incorrect information submitted by the 
student or the student's parent(s) or court ordered custodian, 
the board may seek reimbursement from the student, the 
student's parent(s) or court ordered custodian, and if it is 
further determined that the award was made due to an 
intentional misrepresentation by the student, the student's 
parent(s) or court ordered custodian, then the board shall 
refer the case to the attorney general for investigation and 
prosecution. If a student or the student's parent(s) or court 
ordered custodian is suspected of having intentionally 
misrepresented the facts which were provided to the board 
and used by it to determine the eligibility of the student for 
the program and the board has referred the case to the 
attorney general for investigation, then the student shall 
remain ineligible for future award consideration pending an 
outcome of said investigation which is favorable to the 
student. 

D. It is the student's responsibility to ensure that all 
requirements necessary to maintain award eligibility are 
completed. The Office of Student Financial Assistance shall 
only consider the official report of grades and hours earned 
which are received from the school attended. Students 
should be aware that individual school policies may affect 
the reporting of grade point average and hours earned for the 
academic year and accordingly, should become familiar with 
these policies. 

E. Natural Disaster Maintaining Eligibility Requirements 
1. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance or Honors Awards, a displaced student must 
meet all of the criteria in §705.A-D above, except as follows. 

a. The TOPS award of a displaced student who 
enrolls for the first time as a full-time student in an eligible 
out-of-state college or university during the 2005-2006 
academic year (TOPS) and subsequently enrolls at a 
Louisiana eligible college or university shall not be reduced 
due to enrollment in an eligible out-of-state institution 
during the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS). 

b. The TOPS award of a displaced student who has 
been enrolled in a Louisiana eligible college or university 
and who subsequently enrolls as a full-time student in an 
eligible out-of-state institution during the 2005-2006 
academic year (TOPS) shall not be cancelled due to such 
out-of-state enrollment. 

c. The TOPS award of a displaced student who has 
been enrolled in a Louisiana eligible college or university 
and who subsequently enrolls as a full-time student in an 
eligible out-of-state institution during the 2005-2006 
academic year (TOPS) shall not be reduced for those 
semesters or terms such displaced student was enrolled in an 
eligible out-of-state institution during the 2005-2006 
academic year (TOPS). 

d. The period of suspension of a TOPS award for a 
displaced student due to the student not meeting a 
requirement to maintain a minimum grade point average or 
to make steady academic progress shall be extended on a 
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one-for-one basis for each semester or term in which the 
student does not enroll on a full-time basis in an eligible 
college or university during the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS). 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

student means: 
a. a student who on August 26, 2005: 

 i. was enrolled in one of the following 
institutions: 

(a). Delgado Community College; 
(b). Dillard University; 
(c). Louisiana State University Health Sciences 

Center at New Orleans; 
(e). Louisiana Technical College: Jefferson, 

Sidney N. Collier, Slidell, Sullivan, and West Jefferson 
campuses; 

(f). Loyola University; 
(g). New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary; 
(h). Nunez Community College; 
(i). Our Lady of Holy Cross College; 
(j). St. Joseph Seminary College; 
(k). Southern University at New Orleans; 
(l). Tulane University; 
(m). University of New Orleans; 
(n). Xavier University; or 

 ii. had a home of record in Jefferson, Lafourche, 
Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, 
Tangipahoa, or Washington Parish; or 

b. a student who on September 20, 2005: 
 i. was enrolled in one of the following 
institutions: 

(a). McNeese State University; 
(b). Sowela Technical Community College; or 

 ii. had a home of record in Acadia, Allen, 
Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, St. 
Mary, Terrebonne, or Vermilion Parish. 

3. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of record 
for a dependent student shall mean the domiciliary address 
of the student's parent or court-ordered custodian and for an 
independent student shall mean the domiciliary address of 
such student. 

F.1. A student who successfully completes a 
baccalaureate degree without having exhausted his period of 
award eligibility shall receive an award for the remainder of 
his eligibility if he enrolls in a graduate or professional 
school at an eligible college or university no later than the 
fall semester immediately following the first anniversary of 
the student's completion of an undergraduate degree and has 
met the requirements for continued eligibility set forth in 
§705.A.6. The remaining eligibility may not be used to 
pursue a second undergraduate degree. 

2. Beginning with the 2012-2013 academic year 
(TOPS), a student who successfully completes any type of 
technical, vocational, or academic credential other than a 
baccalaureate degree without having exhausted his period of 
award eligibility shall receive an award for the remainder of 
his eligibility if he enrolls in a program of study leading to a 
baccalaureate degree, to a vocational or technical certificate 
or diploma, or to a non-academic degree at an eligible 
college or university no later than the fall semester 
immediately following the first anniversary of the student's 

completion of an associate’s degree and has met the 
requirements for continued eligibility set forth in §705.A.6. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), 
LR 25:656 (April 1999), LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:67 
(January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1996 (September 
2000), LR 26:2001 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1853 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29:2373 
(November 2003), LR 30:781 (April 2004), LR 30:1163 (June 
2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 31:3115 (December 
2005), LR 33:437 (March 2007) , LR 34:1390 (July 2008), LR 
36:491 (March 2010), LR 36:2856 (December 2010), LR 38:3159 
(December 2012), LR 40:1002 (May 2014), LR 41:664 (April 
2015), LR 42:47 (January 2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 8. TOPS-Tech Award 
§801. General Provisions 

A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS-Tech Award was 
created by Act of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

B. Description, History and Purpose 
1. For students graduating through the 2015-2016 

academic year (high school), the TOPS-Tech Award is a 
merit based scholarship program for Louisiana residents 
pursuing skill, occupational or technical training at eligible 
colleges and universities that offer a vocational or technical 
education certificate or diploma program or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree. The purpose of TOPS-Tech is to 
provide an incentive for qualified Louisiana residents to 
prepare for and pursue technical positions in Louisiana. 

2. Beginning with students graduating in the 2016-
2017 academic year (high school), the TOPS-Tech Award is 
a workforce scholarship program for Louisiana residents 
who enroll in an eligible college or university on a full-time 
basis in an associate's degree or other shorter-term training 
and education program that is aligned to state workforce 
priorities as determined by the Louisiana Board of Regents 
(the board) and the Louisiana Workforce Investment 
Council. 

C. TOPS-Tech shall be first awarded beginning with the 
1998-99 academic year to 1998 high school graduates and 
graduates in subsequent years. 

D. TOPS-Tech provides an award as follows: 
1. For any student enrolled in a TOPS Tech eligible 

program of study at an eligible public college or university 
that does not offer an academic undergraduate degree at the 
baccalaureate level or higher, the amount shall equal the 
actual cost of tuition or the maximum published award 
amount, whichever is less. 

2. For any student enrolled in a TOPS Tech eligible 
program of study at an eligible college or university other 
than as provided for in Paragraph D.1 above, the amount 
shall be the average award amount (TOPS-Tech) as defined 
in §301. 

3. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year 
(TOPS), in lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided by 
LAC 28:IV.701.E.1-3, students with the TOPS-Tech Award 
participating in the program provided by R.S. 29:36.1 for 
persons serving in the Louisiana National Guard shall
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receive the tuition exemption as provided therein, plus a sum 
of $300 per semester or $600 per academic year (TOPS) to 
be applied toward the cost of books and other instructional 
materials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1904 (October 1998), amended LR 26:1997 (September 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1854 (November 2001), amended LR 
36:2856 (December 2010), LR 41:666 (April 2015), LR 41:2596 
(December 2015), LR 44: 

§803. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility for the TOPS-Tech Award, the 

student applicant must meet the following criteria: 
1. be a United States citizen or an eligible noncitizen 

as defined in §301. 
2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301; and 
3. submit the completed initial free application for 

federal student aid (FAFSA) or on-line application in 
accordance with §501 by the applicable state aid deadline in 
accordance with the applicable requirements of §501 or 
§505; and 

4. initially apply and enroll as a first-time student as 
defined in §301, unless granted an exception for cause by the 
board, in an eligible post-secondary college or university 
defined in §301; and  

a. if graduating from an eligible Louisiana or an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school or from an eligible out of 
country high school, enroll not later than the semester or 
term, excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the first anniversary of the date that the student 
graduated from high school; or 

b. if the student joins the United States Armed 
Forces within one year after graduating from an eligible 
Louisiana or an eligible non-Louisiana high school or from 
an eligible out of country high school, enroll not later than 
the semester, quarter or term excluding summer semesters or 
sessions, immediately following the one-year anniversary of 
the student's separation from active duty service, including 
all consecutive periods of reenlistment. Reenlistment at any 
time during the student’s first enlistment shall be considered 
to be on or prior to the fifth anniversary of the date that the 
student graduated from high school; or 

c. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 
§803.A.5.d, enroll not later than the semester or term, 
excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the first anniversary of the date the student 
completed the home study program, which is deemed to be 
May 31; or 

d. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 
§803.A.5.d and has joined and is on active duty with the 
United States Armed Forces within one year of the date the 
student completed the home study program, which is 
deemed to be May 31, enroll not later than the semester, 
quarter or term, excluding summer semesters or sessions, 
immediately following the one-year anniversary of the 
student's separation from active duty service, including all 
consecutive periods of reenlistment. Reenlistment at any 
time during the student’s first enlistment shall be considered

to be on or prior to the fifth anniversary of the date that the 
student graduated from high school; and 

5. graduate from: 
a. an eligible public or nonpublic high school or 

non-Louisiana high school defined in §1701.A.1, 2 and 3; or 
b. an out-of-state high school defined in §1701.A.4; 

or 
c. an out of country high school defined in 

§1701.A.5; or 
d.i. successfully complete at the 12th grade level a 

home study program approved by BESE; or 
 ii. if ever was enrolled in a Louisiana public or 
nonpublic school approved by BESE, successfully 
completed at least the 11th and 12th grade levels of a home 
study program approved by BESE; and 
 iii. if having previously attended an eligible high 
school defined in §1701.A.1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, has provided the 
board with certification by the previously attended high 
school that said student was in good standing at the time the 
student last attended such school; 

6. if qualifying under the terms of §803.A.5.a, at the 
time of high school graduation: 

a. have successfully completed one of the following 
core curriculums: 
 i. high school course work constituting the TOPS 
core curriculum for the Opportunity, Performance and 
Honors Awards as defined in §703.A.5 and documented on 
the student's official transcript as approved by the Louisiana 
Department of Education; 
 ii. for students graduating in the 2015-2016 
academic year (high school) and later, the high school course 
work documented on the student's official transcript as 
approved by the Louisiana Department of Education 
constituting the following TOPS-Tech core curriculum. 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

2 English III, English IV, AP or IB English courses, 
Business English, Technical Writing, or comparable 
Louisiana Technical College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved by the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or an applied or hybrid algebra course 

3 Geometry, Algebra II, Math Essentials, Financial 
Literacy, Business Math, Algebra III, Advanced Math -
Functions and Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-Calculus, 
Pre-calculus, or comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump Start regional teams as 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. Integrated Mathematics I, II, and 
III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry, and 
Algebra II, and shall equal three mathematics credits 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry I, Earth Science, Environmental Science, 
Agriscience I and Agriscience II (both for one unit), 
Physical Science, or AP or IB science courses 

1 U.S. History, AP U.S. History, or IB U.S. History 

1 Civics, Government, AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative, or AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
United States 
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Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

9 In Jump Start course sequences, workplace experiences, 
and credentials. A student shall complete a regionally 
designed series of Career and Technical Education Jump 
Start coursework and workplace-based learning 
experiences leading to a statewide or regional Jump Start 
credential. This shall include courses and workplace 
experiences specific to the credential, courses related to 
foundational career skills requirements in Jump Start, 
and other courses, including career electives, that the 
Jump Start regional team determines are appropriate for 
the career major. 

 
 iii. for students graduating in the 2000-2001 
school year through the 2012-2013 school year, the high 
school course work documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education constituting the following TOPS-Tech core 
curriculum; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or substitute 1 unit of Business English 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; 
or both Applied Mathematics I and Applied 
Mathematics II 

2 Geometry, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra II, Financial 
Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with 
the 2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course is 
renamed Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 2008-2009 academic 
year (high school) this course is renamed Advanced 
Math – Functions and Statistics], Discrete Mathematics, 
or Probability and Statistics (2 units). Integrated 
Mathematics I, II, and III may be substituted for Algebra 
I, Geometry and Algebra II, and shall be considered the 
equivalent of the 3 required math units 

1 Biology 

1 Chemistry or Applied Chemistry 

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Integrated Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, 
Physics II, or Physics for Technology or Agriscience I 
and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization, or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, nonpublic) 

Remaining Core Courses Shall Be Selected 
from One of the Following Options: 

Option 1Total of 17 units 

1 Fine Arts Survey or substitute 2 units of performance 
courses in music, dance, or theater; or substitute 2 units 
of visual art courses; or substitute 2 units of studio art 
courses; or a course from the Career and Technical 
Program of studies that is approved by the BESE (must 
be listed under the Vocational Education Course 
Offerings in Bulletin 741 or the updates to Bulletin 741); 
or substitute 1 unit as an elective from among the other 
subjects listed in this core curriculum 

2 Foreign Language, Technical Writing,  
Speech I or Speech II 

1 One unit from the secondary computer education program 
of studies that is approved by the BESE 

or 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

Option 2Total of 19 Units 

4 In a career major comprised of a sequence of related 
specialty courses. In order for a student to use this 
option, the courses for the career major must be 
approved by BESE. 

1 Credit in a basic computer course. 

1 In related or technical fields. A related course includes 
any course which is listed under the student's major. A 
technical course is one that is listed in the approved 
career option plan for the high school at which the 
course is taken. 

 
 iv. for students graduating through the 2001-2002 
school year, the TOPS-Tech core curriculum as follows; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 

1 English IV or Business English 

1 Algebra I (1 unit) or Applied Algebra IA and 1B (2 units)  

1 Algebra II 

1 Geometry or Applied Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or 
comparable Advanced Mathematics 

1 Biology  

1 Chemistry or Applied Physics 

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, non-public)  

1 Fine Arts Survey or any approved vocational course in the 
areas of Agriscience, Business Education, Family and 
Consumer Science, Health Occupations, Marketing 
Education, Technology Education, or Trade and Industrial 
Education; (or substitute 2 units of performance courses in 
music, dance or theater; or 2 units of studio art or 2 units of 
visual art courses; or 1 elective from among the other 
subjects listed in this core curriculum) 

2 In a single Foreign Language. (1 unit for students graduating 
from high school during the 1996-97 and 1997-98 school 
years.) or Technical Writing, Speech I or Speech II (2 units). 

1/2 Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business Computer 
Applications (or substitute at least 1/2 unit of an elective 
course related to computers that is approved by the state 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education; or substitute 
at least 1/2 unit of an elective from among the other subjects 
listed in this core curriculum) 

 
 v. for students graduating in the 2013-2014 
school year through the 2016-2017 school year, the high 
school course work documented on the student’s official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education constituting the following TOPS-Tech core 
curriculum; 
 

Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English I 

1 English II 

1 English III 
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Core Curriculum―TOPS-Tech Award 

Units Course 

1 English IV or substitute 1 unit of Business English 

1 Algebra I; or both Algebra I, Part 1 and Algebra I, Part 2; or 
both Applied Mathematics I and Applied Mathematics II 

2 Geometry, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra II, Financial 
Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I [beginning with the 
2008-2009 academic year (high school) this course is 
renamed Advanced Math – Pre-Calculus], Advanced 
Mathematics II [beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year 
(high school) this course is renamed Advanced Math – 
Functions and Statistics], Discrete Mathematics, or 
Probability and Statistics (2 units). Integrated Mathematics I, 
II, and III may be substituted for Algebra I, Geometry and 
Algebra II, and shall be considered the equivalent of the 3 
required math units  

1 Biology  

2 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science, 
Integrated Science, Biology II, or Chemistry or Applied 
Chemistry, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II or Physics for 
Technology or Agriscience I and II (both for 1 unit) 

1 American History 

1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (1 unit combined) or  
Civics (1 unit, non-public)  

Remaining Core Courses Shall Be Selected  
from One of the Following Options 

Option 1—Total of 17 Units 

1 Fine Arts Survey or drafting (one unit) or substitute 2 units of 
performance courses in music, dance, or theater; or substitute 
2 units of visual art courses; or substitute 2 units of studio art 
courses; or a course from the Career and Technical Program 
of studies that is approved by the BESE (must be listed under 
the Vocational Education Course Offerings in Bulletin 741 or 
the updates to Bulletin 741); or substitute 1 unit as an elective 
from among the other subjects listed in this core curriculum  

2 Foreign Language, Technical Writing, Speech I or Speech II  

1 One unit from the secondary computer education program of 
studies that is approved by the BESE 

or 

Option 2—Total of 19 Units 

4 In a career major comprised of a sequence of related specialty 
courses. In order for a student to use this option, the courses 
for the career major must be approved by BESE.  

1 Credit in a basic computer course 

1 In related or technical fields. A related course includes any 
course which is listed under the student's major. A technical 
course is one that is listed in the approved career option plan 
for the high school at which the course is taken.  

 
 b.i. for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2008-2009 and after, for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §803.A.6.a above, the following courses 
shall be considered equivalent to the identified core courses 
and may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core 
courses; 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Business English Senior Applications in English 

Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, or 
Comparable Advanced Mathematics 

Math Essentials 

 
 ii. for students graduating in academic year (high 
school) 2018 and after, for purposes of for purposes of 
satisfying the requirements of §803.A.6.a above, the 
following courses shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses; 
 
 

Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 

Business English Senior Applications in English 

Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Calculus, or Comparable 
Advanced Mathematics 

Math Essentials 

Geometry, Algebra II, Math 
Essentials, Financial Literacy, 
Business Math, Algebra III, 
Advanced Math -Functions and 
Statistics, Advanced Math - Pre-
Calculus, Pre-calculus, or 
comparable Louisiana Technical 
College courses offered by Jump 
Start regional teams as approved 
by the State Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education. 
Integrated Mathematics I, II, and 
III may be substituted for 
Algebra I, Geometry, and 
Algebra II, and shall equal three 
mathematics credits 

Probability and Statistics 

 
c. for students in graduating classes prior to 2004, 

core units may be waived upon sworn affidavit by the 
principal or headmaster or authorized designee that the 
course was not available to the student at the school 
attended; 

7. have achieved an ACT score, as defined in §301, of 
at least: 

a. if qualifying under §803.A.5.a, an ACT 
composite score of at least 17 or beginning with the 2010-
2011 program year (non academic program) in the 
alternative, have attained a silver level score on the 
assessments of the ACT WorkKeys system; or 

b.i. if qualifying under §803.A.5.b or c and is a 
Louisiana resident, except as defined in Subparagraph h of 
the definition of Louisiana Resident in §301, an ACT 
composite of at least 20; or 
 ii. if qualifying under §803.A.5.b is a Louisiana 
Resident as defined in Subparagraph h of the definition of 
Louisiana Resident in §301, an ACT composite of at least 
19; and 

c. if qualifying under §803.A.5.d and successfully 
completing the 12th grade level a home study program 
approved by BESE during or before the academic year (high 
school) 2003-2004 or during or after the academic year (high 
school) 2008-2009, an ACT composite of at least 20; and 

d. if qualifying under §803.A.5.d and successfully 
completing the 12th grade level a home study program 
approved by BESE during or after the academic year (high 
school) 2004-2005 or during the academic year (high 
school) 2007-2008, an ACT composite of at least 19; and 

8. if qualifying under §803.A.5.a, have attained a 
cumulative high school grade point average, based on a 4.00 
maximum scale, of at least 2.50; and 

9. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations, and if the student has been in 
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such 
service, has received an honorable discharge or general 
discharge under honorable conditions; and 

10. agree that awards will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses. 

B. Natural Disaster Initial Eligibility Requirements 
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1. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Tech Award, a 
displaced student graduating from high school or completing 
a BESE approved home study program at the 12th grade 
level during the 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 
2008-2009 academic years (high school) must meet all of the 
requirements of §803.A above, except as follows. 

a. A displaced student who has been certified by the 
principal or headmaster to have graduated during the 2005-
2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 school years 
from an out-of-state high school that meets the criteria of an 
eligible out-of-state high school as provided in §1701.A.4 
and 5 shall not be required to have a higher minimum 
composite score on the ACT or on the Scholastic Aptitude 
Test than required for a student who graduates from an 
eligible Louisiana high school provided such student has a 
cumulative high school grade point average on all courses on 
the high school transcript of at least 2.50 calculated on a 
4.00 scale. 

b. The requirement that a student who graduates 
from an eligible Louisiana high school during the 2005-
2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 school years 
must have successfully completed the applicable core 
curriculum shall be waived for a displaced student based 
upon a sworn affidavit by the student's high school principal 
or headmaster or authorized designee that failure to comply 
with such requirement is due solely to the fact that the 
required course or courses were not available to the student 
at the school attended. 

c. A displaced student shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if: 
 i. such dependent or independent student actually 
resided in Louisiana during the entire 2004-2005 academic 
year (high school) and was enrolled for such time in an 
eligible Louisiana high school and graduated from high 
school during the 2005-2006, 2006-2007, 2007-2008, or 
2008-2009 academic year (high school); or 
 ii. such dependent student has a parent or court-
ordered custodian who actually resided in a parish listed in 
§803.B.2.a below for at least the 12 months prior to August 
26, 2005, or in a parish listed in §803.B.2.b below for at 
least the 12 months prior to September 20, 2005. 

d. A dependent student who graduated from an 
eligible out-of-state high school shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if his parent or court-
ordered custodian was displaced as a resident from a parish 
listed: 
 i. in §803.B.2.a below due to Hurricane Katrina 
and such parent or court-ordered custodian actually resided 
in Louisiana for at least the 12 months prior to August 26, 
2005; or 
 ii. in §803.B.2.b below due to Hurricane Rita and 
such parent or court-ordered custodian actually resided in 
Louisiana for at least the 12 months prior to September 20, 
2005. 

e. A displaced student who during the 2005-2006, 
2006-2007, 2007-2008, and 2008-2009 academic years (high 
school) successfully completes at the 12th grade level a 
home study program approved by BESE shall not be 
required to have also completed the 11th grade level of an 
approved home study course. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

student shall mean: 
a. a student who on August 26, 2005, was actually 

residing in Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. 
Bernard, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, or Washington Parish 
and: 
 i. was enrolled in an eligible Louisiana high 
school as provided in §1701.A.1, 2 and 3; or  
 ii. was enrolled in a home study program 
approved by BESE; or 

b. A student who on September 20, 2005, was 
actually residing in Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, 
Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, St. Mary, Terrebonne, or 
Vermilion Parish and: 
 i. was enrolled in an eligible Louisiana high 
school as provided in §1701.A.1, 2 and 3; or  
 ii. was enrolled in a home study program 
approved by BESE. 

3. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Tech Award, a 
displaced student graduating from an eligible Louisiana high 
school or completing a BESE approved home study program 
at the 12th grade level during the 2006-2007 academic year 
(high school) must meet all of the requirements of §803.A 
above, except as follows. 

a. The requirement that a student who graduates 
from an eligible Louisiana high school during the 2006-2007 
school year must have successfully completed the applicable 
core curriculum shall be waived for a displaced student 
based upon a sworn affidavit by the student's high school 
principal or headmaster or authorized designee that failure to 
comply with such requirement is due solely to the fact that 
the required course or courses were not available to the 
student at the school attended. 

b. A displaced student shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if:  
 i. such dependent or independent student actually 
resided in Louisiana during his entire 10th grade year of 
high school and was enrolled for such time in an eligible 
Louisiana high school; or 
 ii. such dependent student has a parent or court-
ordered custodian who actually resided in a parish listed in 
§803.B.2.a above for at least the 12 months prior to August 
26, 2005, or in a parish listed in §803.B.2.b above for at least 
the 12 months prior to September 20, 2005. 

4. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Tech Award, a 
displaced student who has been certified by the principal or 
headmaster to have graduated during the 2006-2007 school 
year from an out-of-state high school that meets the criteria 
of an eligible out-of-state high school as provided in 
§1701.A.4 and 5 and receives a Louisiana Distance Diploma 
from the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
must meet all of the requirements of §703.A.-I.8 above, 
except as follows. 

a. A displaced student shall not be required to have 
for the respective awards a higher minimum composite score 
on the ACT or on the Scholastic Aptitude Test than required 
for a student who graduates from an eligible Louisiana high 
school provided such student has a cumulative high school 
grade point average on all courses on the high school 
transcript of at least 2.50 calculated on a 4.00 scale. 
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b. A displaced student shall be deemed to meet the 
Louisiana residency requirement if:  
 i. such dependent or independent student actually 
resided in Louisiana during his entire 10th grade year of 
high school and was enrolled for such time in an eligible 
Louisiana high school; or 
 ii. such dependent student has a parent or court-
ordered custodian who actually resided in a parish listed in 
§703.J.2.a above for at least the 12 months prior to August 
26, 2005, or in a parish listed in §703.J.2.b above for at least 
the 12 months prior to September 20, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1904 (October 1998), amended LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:1795 (October 1999), LR 26:65 and 67 (January 
2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), LR 26:1997 (September 2000), 
LR 26:2269 (October 2000), LR 26:2754 (December 2000), LR 
27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), repromulgated 
LR 27:1854 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), 
LR 28:773 (April 2002), LR 28:2330 (November 2002), LR 29:554 
(April 2003), LR 30:1164 (June 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 
2004), LR 31:39 (January 2005), LR 31:3114 (December 2005), 
LR 33:437 (March 2007), LR 33:2614 (December 2007), LR 
35:230 (February 2009), LR 36:491 (March 2010), LR 36:2270 
(October 2010), LR 36:2856 (December 2010), LR 38:3159 
(December 2012), LR 41:654 (April 2015), LR 41:2597 (December 
2015), LR 42:48 (January 2016), LR 44: 

§805. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the TOPS-Tech Award, the 

recipient must meet all of the following criteria: 
1. have received the TOPS-Tech Award for not more 

than two years or the equivalent number of terms and 
summer sessions, provided that not attending a summer 
session shall not reduce the number of eligible terms; and, 
except as provided by §805.C, or unless reduced as required 
by §503.D; 

2. submit the renewal FAFSA in accordance with 
§505.F; and 

3. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations and if the student has been in 
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such 
service, has received an honorable discharge or general 
discharge under honorable conditions; and 

4. agree that awards will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses; and 

5.a. for students graduating through the 2015-2016 
academic year (high school), continue to enroll and accept 
the TOPS-Tech Award as a full-time student in an eligible 
college or university defined in §301, and maintain an 
enrolled status throughout the academic year (TOPS) 
(enrollment in a summer session is optional and is not 
required to meet this requirement), unless granted an 
exception for cause by the board; and 

b. for students graduating in the 2016-2017 
academic year (high school) and later, continue to enroll in 
an eligible college or university in an associate's degree or 
other shorter-term training and education program that is 
aligned to state workforce priorities as determined by the 
Louisiana Board of Regents and the Louisiana Workforce 
Investment Council, and maintain an enrolled status 
throughout the academic year (TOPS) (enrollment in a 
summer session is optional and is not required to meet this 

requirement), unless granted an exception for cause by the 
board; 

6. has maintained steady academic progress as defined 
in §301; and 

7.a. through the 2013-14 academic year, maintain, by 
the end of the spring term, a TOPS cumulative college grade 
point average (TOPS Tech) of at least 2.50 on a 4.00 
maximum scale, provided that this requirement does not 
apply to a student who is enrolled in a cosmetology or 
proprietary school that is an eligible college or university 
and the student has met the federal grant aid steady 
academic progress requirement at that school; and 

b. beginning with the 2014-15 academic year, 
maintain, by the end of the academic year, a TOPS 
cumulative college grade point average (TOPS Tech) of at 
least 2.50 on a 4.00 maximum scale, provided that this 
requirement does not apply to a student who is enrolled in a 
cosmetology or proprietary school that is an eligible college 
or university and the student has met the federal grant aid 
steady academic progress requirement at that school; and 

8. earn a total of at least 24 college credit hours as 
determined by totaling the earned hours reported by the 
institution for each semester or term in the academic year 
(TOPS). Unless granted an exception for cause by the board, 
failure to earn the required number of hours will result in 
permanent cancellation of the recipient's eligibility, provided 
that this requirement does not apply to a student who is 
enrolled in a cosmetology or proprietary school that is an 
eligible college or university and the student has met the 
federal grant aid steady academic progress requirement at 
that school. 

B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 
§805.A.7 and 8 may have their TOPS Awards reinstated 
upon achieving steady academic progress, as defined in 
§301, and the attainment of the required grade point average, 
if the period of ineligibility did not persist for more than one 
year from the date of loss of eligibility. If the one-year 
period is interrupted due to a student's active duty in the 
United States Armed Forces, the one-year period will be 
extended for a length of time equal to the student's active 
duty service. 

C. The semester or term count for a student shall not be 
increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS-Tech payment for that semester or term 
is received by LOSFA. 

D. Natural Disaster Maintaining Eligibility Requirements 
1. To continue receiving the TOPS Tech Award, a 

displaced student must meet all of the criteria in §805.A-C 
above, except as follows. 

a. The TOPS Tech Award of a displaced student 
who has been enrolled in a Louisiana eligible college or 
university and who subsequently enrolls as a full-time 
student in an eligible out-of-state institution during the 2005-
2006 academic year (TOPS) shall not be cancelled due to 
such out-of-state enrollment. 

b. The TOPS Tech Award of a displaced student 
who has been enrolled in a Louisiana eligible college or 
university and who subsequently enrolls as a full-time 
student in an eligible out-of-state institution during the 2005-
2006 academic year (TOPS) shall not be reduced for those 
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semesters or terms such displaced student was enrolled in an 
eligible out-of-state institution during the 2005-2006 
academic year (TOPS). 

c. The period of suspension of a TOPS Tech Award 
for a displaced student due to the student not meeting a 
requirement to maintain a minimum grade point average or 
to make steady academic progress shall be extended on a 
one-for-one basis for each semester or other term in which 
the student does not enroll on a full-time basis in an eligible 
college or university during the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS). 

d. A TOPS Tech Award may be used by a displaced 
student during the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS) to 
enroll on a full-time basis in an academic program at a 
Louisiana eligible college or university to take courses that 
contribute to the pursuit of a skill or occupation. In such 
case, the award amount shall be at the same as the 
opportunity award for that institution. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

student means: 
a. a student who on August 26, 2005: 

 i. was enrolled in one of the following 
institutions: 

(a). Delgado Community College; 
(b). Dillard University; 
(c). Louisiana State University Health Sciences 

Center at New Orleans; 
(e). Louisiana Technical College: Jefferson, 

Sidney N. Collier, Slidell, Sullivan, and West Jefferson 
campuses; 

(f). Loyola University; 
(g). New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary; 
(h). Nunez Community College; 
(i). Our Lady of Holy Cross College; 
(j). St. Joseph Seminary College; 
(k). Southern University at New Orleans; 
(l). Tulane University; 
(m). University of New Orleans; 
(n). Xavier University; or 

 ii. had a home of record in Jefferson, Lafourche, 
Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, 
Tangipahoa, or Washington Parish; or 

b. a student who on September 20, 2005: 
 i. was enrolled in one of the following 
institutions: 

(a). McNeese State University; 
(b). Sowela Technical Community College; or 

 ii. had a home of record in Acadia, Allen, 
Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, St. 
Mary, Terrebonne, or Vermilion Parish. 

3. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of record 
for a dependent student shall mean the domiciliary address 
of the student's parent or court-ordered custodian and for an 
independent student shall mean the domiciliary address of 
such student. 

E. A student who successfully completes a vocational or 
technical certificate or diploma program or a non-academic 
degree program without having exhausted his period of 
award eligibility shall receive an award for the remainder of 
his eligibility if he enrolls in another program of study 
leading to a vocational or technical certificate or diploma or 
to a non-academic degree no later than the fall semester 

immediately following the first anniversary of the student's 
completion of a vocational or technical certificate or 
diploma program or of a non-academic degree program and 
has met the requirements for continued eligibility set forth in 
§805.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998) amended LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 
26:68 (January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1856 (November 2001), 
amended LR 28:774 (April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), 
LR 29:880 (June 2003), LR 29:2373 (November 2003), LR 30:781 
(April 2004), LR 30:1165 (June 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 
2004), LR 31:3115 (December 2005), LR 33:438 (March 2007), 
LR 35:1489 (August 2009), LR 38:3160 (December 2012), LR 
40:1002 (May 2014), LR 41:666 (April 2015), LR 41:2598 
(December 2015), LR 42:49 (January 2016), LR 44: 

Chapter 9. TOPS Teacher Award 
§901. General Provisions 

A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS Teacher Award 
Program was created by Act 476, of the 1997 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature and amended by Act 
165 of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature. This bill amended and reenacted R.S. 
17:3042.1.A(3) and (4), B, C, and D, and 3042.2.A and B; 
reenacted R.S. 17:3042.1.A(5) and (6) and 3042.8; and 
renamed Chapter 20-B of Title 17 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950. 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Taylor 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Teacher Award: 

1. annually provides approximately 90 competitively 
awarded educational loans to residents of Louisiana who 
commit to teach at the elementary or secondary school level 
in Louisiana. When the recipient teaches at an approved 
school in Louisiana, the loans are forgiven in the ratio of one 
year of loan forgiveness for each year of teaching, or two 
years of loan forgiveness for each year of teaching in an 
elementary or secondary school which is located in an 
economically disadvantaged region of the state as defined by 
the U. S. Department of Education; 

2. was first funded for the 1997-98 award year; 
3. was created to provide an incentive for Louisiana's 

best and brightest students to become tomorrow's classroom 
teachers and to provide an incentive that will attract highly 
qualified teachers in mathematics and chemistry at the 
elementary and secondary school levels. 

C. Award Amounts 
1. Loans are made in the amount of up to $6,000 per 

award year for mathematics and chemistry majors. 
2. Loans are made in the amount of up to $4,000 per 

year for teacher education majors other than those listed in 
§901.C.1. 

3. Recipient may receive a maximum of four years of 
funding. 

4. Recipients receive one half of the annual award 
($3,000 or $2,000, respectively) at the beginning of the fall 
and spring terms. 

5. Recipients may, in conjunction with the teachers 
award, receive another TOPS Award. 

6. In the event the student's total aid, including 
Vocational Rehabilitation Awards, exceeds the cost of 
attendance, any federal loan aid included in the total aid 
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package shall be reduced, then institutional and other aid in 
accordance with institutional practice, then the TOPS 
Teacher Award shall be reduced by the amount of any 
remaining over award. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1649 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1906 
(October 1998), LR 26:69 (January 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:1856 (November 2001), amended LR 44: 

§903. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility, the student applicant must 

meet all of the following criteria: 
1. be a U. S. citizen, provided however, that a student 

who is not a citizen of the United States but who is eligible 
to apply for such citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the 
citizenship requirement, if within 60 days after the date the 
student attains the age of majority, the student applies to 
become a citizen of the United States and obtains such 
citizenship within one year after the date of the application 
for citizenship. Those students who are eligible for U.S. 
citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS Award, 
will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements for a 
TOPS Award for one year after the date of the student's 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student's TOPS Award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided; 

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 for at 
least two years prior to July 1 of the award year; and 

3. annually submit the completed Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA, whichever 
is applicable to the student, by the state aid deadline defined 
in §501.C and §505.F; and 

4. either: 
a. graduate from a Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education (BESE)-approved, provisionally-
approved, or probationally-approved public or nonpublic 
high school; and 
 i. at the time of high school graduation, have 
successfully completed 16.5 units of high school course 
work constituting a core curriculum as defined in 
§703.A.5.a.i; and 
 ii. at the time of high school graduation, have 
attained a composite score on the ACT Test or the Scholastic 
Aptitude Test (SAT) which is, or is equivalent to, at least a 
23 on the 1990 version of the ACT; and 
 iii. graduate with a cumulative high school grade 
point average of at least a 3.25, calculated on a 4.00 scale, 
for all courses attempted; or 

b. if by the end of June in the year of application, 
the student will have completed 24 or more but less than 48 
hours of graded college credit, have at least a 3.25 
cumulative college grade point average on a 4.00 scale; or 

c. if by the end of June in the year of application, 
the student will have completed 48 or more hours of graded 
college credit, have at least a 3.00 cumulative college grade 
point average on a 4.00 scale; or 

d. have received a baccalaureate degree from an 
accredited college or university and have a cumulative 

undergraduate grade point average of at least 3.00 calculated 
on a 4.00 scale; or 

e. have received at least a master's degree from an 
accredited college or university; and 

5. complete and submit such documentary evidence as 
may be required by the Louisiana Board of Regents (the 
board) by the deadline specified in §503; and 

6. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations; and 

7. agree that the award will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses; and 

8. enroll during the fall term at an eligible college or 
university, as defined in §1901, as a full-time student, as 
defined in §301, in a degree program or course of study 
leading to a degree in education or an alternative program 
leading to regular certification as a teacher at the elementary 
or secondary level in mathematics or chemistry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1650 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1906 
(October 1998), LR 26:68 (January 2000), LR 26:2269 (October 
2000), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1857 (November 2001), amended LR 28:448 
(March 2002), LR 28:774 (April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 
2002), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 44: 

§905. Selection Criteria 
A. Recipients are competitively selected for the award 

based upon the merit rank score computed and assigned to 
each eligible applicant. The formula for computing the merit 
rank score is defined in §301. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1650 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1907 
(October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1857 (November 2001), 
amended LR 44: 

§907. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the TOPS Teacher Award, 

recipients must meet all of the following criteria: 
1. have received less than four years or eight 

semesters of TOPS Teacher Awards; and 
2. by the end of each academic year, earn a total of at 

least 24 hours college credit during the fall and spring 
semesters or fall, winter and spring quarters, as determined 
by totaling the earned hours reported by the institution for 
each semester in the academic year. These hours shall not 
include remedial course work nor hours earned during 
summer sessions or intersessions or by advanced placement 
course credits (see also §705.D); and 

3. achieve a cumulative GPA of at least a 3.00 
calculated on a 4.00 scale at the end of each academic year; 
and 

4. maintain steady academic progress as defined in 
§301; and 

5. continue to enroll each subsequent semester or 
quarter as a full-time student in a degree program or course 
of study leading to a degree in education or alternative 
program leading to regular certification as a teacher at the 
elementary or secondary level, and maintain an enrolled 
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status throughout the academic term, unless granted an 
exception for cause by the board; or 

6. enter a program approved by BESE which leads to 
a degree in education or to regular certification as a teacher 
as soon as sufficient credits have been earned to do so; and 

7. submit the renewal FAFSA in accordance with 
§505.F; 

8. have no criminal convictions, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations. 

B. Recipients who do not maintain eligibility under the 
provisions of §907.A.3 and 4, may be reinstated upon 
attainment of the required GPA and achieving the GPA 
required for steady academic progress, as defined in §301, 
provided the period of ineligibility did not exceed two years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1650 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1907 
(October 1998), LR 25:1092 (June 1999), LR 26:68 (January 
2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1857 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 30:2020 (September 2004), LR 44: 

§909. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance 

of Award 
A. Prior to receiving an award, the recipient must agree 

to the terms and conditions contained in the TOPS Teacher 
Award Program promissory note by completing the form and 
returning it to the board by the specified deadline. The 
promissory note obligates the recipient to teach one year for 
each year of funding received; or, if teaching in a school 
located in an economically disadvantaged region of the state, 
as defined by the U.S. Department of Education, teach one 
year for every two years of funding received, or repay the 
funds received, plus accrued interest and any collection costs 
incurred. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1650 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1907 
(October 1998), LR 26:69 (January 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:1858 (November 2001), amended LR 44: 

§911. Discharge of Obligation 
A. The loan may be discharged by teaching for the 

required period of obligation, by monetary repayment or by 
cancellation. 

B. Discharging the loan by teaching fulfillment is 
accomplished by: 

1. within two years of the date of certification as a 
teacher, perform service as a full-time classroom teacher in a 
Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) approved, provisionally approved, or probationally-
approved elementary or secondary school; 

2. each year of full-time service as a teacher will 
fulfill an equivalent period of funding. However, if teaching 
in an elementary or secondary school which is located in an 
economically disadvantaged region of the state, as defined 
by the U.S. Department of Education, one year of teaching 
will fulfill two years of funding; 

3. the first two full semesters of full-time teaching 
will be applied toward the earliest dated disbursement not 

previously paid under §911.C, the second two full semesters 
the next earliest dated disbursement, and continuing until all 
disbursements have been fulfilled; 

4. teaching to discharge the loan must be completed 
within six years from the date of certification as a teacher. 

C. Discharging the Loan by Monetary Repayment. 
Recipients who elect not to discharge the obligation by 
teaching and who are not eligible for discharge by 
cancellation must repay the loan principal plus accrued 
interest and any collection costs incurred according to the 
following terms and conditions: 

1. interest will accrue on the outstanding principal at 
the rate of 8 percent per annum; 

2. interest on each disbursement will accrue from the 
date of entering repayment status until repaid, canceled or 
fulfilled; 

3. repayment status. The recipient enters repayment 
status the first of the month following: 

a. determination by the board that the recipient 
cannot discharge the loan by teaching within the required 
time period; 

b. the date the recipient notifies the board that 
monetary repayment is desired; or 

c. six months after the board determines that the 
recipient is no longer pursuing a degree program or course 
of study leading to a degree in education or alternative 
program leading to regular certification as a teacher at the 
elementary or secondary school level; 

4. unless the recipient qualifies for reduced payments 
as provided in §2105.H, the amount to be repaid annually 
will be the greater of: 

a. the amount necessary to repay the capitalized 
loan principal within 10 years; or 

b. $1,200 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever 
is less; 

5. recipients in repayment status may have their 
payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B., Deferment 
of Repayment Obligation; 

6. during the period of time a recipient is in deferment 
status, a recipient is not required to make repayments and 
interest does not accrue; 

7. the period of time for completion of repayment will 
be extended by a period of time equal to the length of time 
the recipient is in deferment status. 

D. Cancellation 
1. The obligation to repay any remaining unpaid 

balance of the TOPS Teacher Award shall be canceled in the 
event either of the following occurs: 

a. upon submission to the board of a sworn affidavit 
from a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded 
from gainful employment because of a complete and 
permanent medical disability or condition; or 

b. upon submission to the board of a death 
certificate or other evidence conclusive under state law, that 
the recipient is deceased. 

2. The obligation to repay any remaining unpaid 
balance of the TOPS Teacher Award may be canceled in the 
event the remaining unpaid balance is $25 or less. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1907 (October 1998), LR 
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26:69 (January 2000), LR 26:1603 (August 2000), LR 27:1858 
(November 2001), LR 28:774 (April 2002), LR 30:780 (April 
2004), LR 30:1168 (June 2004), LR 44: 

Chapter 10. TOPS-Tech Early Start Award 
§1001. General Provisions 

A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS-Tech Early Start 
Award was created by Act 348 of the 2005 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature and amended by Act 737 of the 
2014 Regular Session of the Legislature. 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The TOPS-Tech 
Early Start Award is established as part of the Taylor 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) to provide grants 
for Louisiana residents taking a technical or applied course 
in pursuit of occupational or vocational training while being 
dually enrolled in a state public high school at the 11th and 
12th grade levels and at a Louisiana public or nonpublic 
postsecondary institution or in an approved training program 
that offers an occupational or vocational education credential 
in a top demand occupation. The purpose of TOPS-Tech 
Early Start is to provide an incentive for qualified Louisiana 
public high school students to prepare for and pursue an 
industry-based occupational or vocational education 
credential in a top demand occupation while still in high 
school. 

C. Effective Date. The TOPS-Tech Early Start Award 
shall be first awarded beginning with the 2005-2006 award 
year to 11th and 12th grade students meeting the eligibility 
criteria set forth in this Chapter. 

D. Eligible Terms. The TOPS-Tech Early Start Award is 
limited to six credit hours per semester and 12 credit hours 
each academic year (college). TOPS-Tech Early Start is not 
payable for summer semesters or sessions. 

E. Award Amount. The TOPS-Tech Early Start Award 
provides a payment not to exceed $300 for up to six credit 
hours each semester or $600 each academic year (college) at 
a rate of $50 per credit hour. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3109 (December 2005), amended LR 35:231 (February 
2009), LR 41:374 (February 2015), LR 44: 

§1003. Definitions 

Approved Training Programa program provided by an 
approved training provider of technical and/or applied 
courses toward a credential in a top demand occupation. 

Approved Training Providera Louisiana provider 
recognized by the Louisiana Workforce Commission and 
approved by the state Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education to provide technical and/or applied courses 
toward a credential in a top demand occupation. 

Credentialindustry-based certification, a certificate of 
applied science or a certificate of technical sciences 
approved by the Workforce Investment Council. 

Technical or Applied Coursea course required for a 
credential in a top demand occupation. 

Top Demand Occupationan occupation identified by the 
Occupation Forecasting Conference as being in top demand 
in Louisiana and recognized by the State Industry-Based 
Certification Leadership Council. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 41:375 (February 2015), amended LR 41:668 (April 2105), LR 
44: 

§1005. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility for the TOPS-Tech Early Start 

Award, the student applicant must meet all of the following 
criteria: 

1. be in the 11th or 12th grade in a Louisiana public 
high school; 

2. have prepared a five-year education and career 
plan, including a sequence of related courses with a career 
focus as provided by the high school career option 
subchapter in R.S. 17:183.2 et seq.; 

3. have a cumulative high school grade point average 
on all courses attempted of not less than 2.0 when calculated 
on a 4.0 scale; 

4. score at least 15 on the English subsection and 15 
on the mathematics subsection of the ACT PLAN 
assessment or a successor assessment administered as part of 
Louisiana's educational planning and assessment system or 
the ACT or an equivalent concordant value of the SAT or 
have attained a silver level score on the assessments of the 
ACT WorkKeys system; 

5. enroll in a course in an industry-based occupational 
or vocational education credential program in a top demand 
occupation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3110 (December 2005), amended LR 41:375 (February 
2015), LR 41:2599 (December 2015), LR 44: 

§1007. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the TOPS-Tech Early Start 

Award, the recipient must meet all of the following criteria: 
1. be a student in good standing in a Louisiana public 

high school; and 
2. maintain a cumulative high school grade point 

average on all courses attempted of not less than 2.0 when 
calculated on a 4.0 scale; and 

3. continue to pursue one or more courses leading to a 
credential in a top demand occupation; and 

4. be a student in good standing while enrolled in a 
Louisiana public or nonpublic postsecondary education 
institution or an approved training program; and 

5. maintain steady academic progress as defined in 
§301. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3110 (December 2005), amended LR 41:375 (February 
2015), LR 41:2599 (December 2015), LR 44: 

§1009. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. Upon receipt of bills from institutions submitted in 

accordance with §1903.B, LOSFA will reimburse the 
institution for each eligible student in accordance with 
§1903. 

B. LOSFA shall conduct audits of participating 
Louisiana public and nonpublic postsecondary institutions, 
approved training providers, and high schools to ensure 
compliance with program requirements. 
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C. LOSFA shall provide the information necessary to 
fully inform Louisiana public high school students and their 
parents on the requirements of and procedures for applying 
for and maintaining the award. 

D. In the event that the funds appropriated for the TOPS-
Tech Early Start Award are insufficient to pay all awards for 
all eligible students, LOSFA shall develop and submit to the 
Louisiana Board of Regents (the board) a plan to limit the 
awards to the amount appropriated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3110 (December 2005), amended LR 36:2029 (September 
2010), LR 41:375 (February 2015), LR 44: 

§1011. Responsibilities of High Schools 
A. The high school shall comply with the reporting 

requirements of §1703 for all students enrolled in high 
school. 

B. The high school shall determine whether the student 
is eligible to participate in the TOPS-Tech Early Start 
program and approve or disapprove the student’s 
participation in the program. 

C. The high school’s approval of a student’s participation 
in the program by signing the student’s application certifies 
that the student meets the eligibility criteria provided in 
§1005.A.1-5, and, if applicable, §1007.A.1 and 2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3110 (December 2005), amended LR 36:2029 (September 
2010), LR 41:375 (February 2015), LR 44: 

§1013. Responsibilities of Louisiana Public and 

Nonpublic Postsecondary Institutions and 

Approved Training Providers 
A. Each Louisiana public and nonpublic postsecondary 

institution and each approved training provider that offers an 
industry based occupational or vocational education 
credential in a top demand occupation shall: 

1. determine whether an eligible student has applied 
for enrollment in a course at that institution or provider to 
pursue an industry based occupational or vocational 
education credential in a top demand occupation in 
accordance with §1903.C.5; 

2. determine whether the student has met the 
requirements to maintain an award as required by 
§1007.A.3-5;  

3. submit bills to LOSFA in accordance with §1903.B 
for each eligible student so enrolled; and 

4. comply with the reporting and records retention 
requirements of §1903.A and E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3111 (December 2005), amended LR 36:2030 (September 
2010), LR 41:376 (February 2015), LR 44: 

§1015. Responsibilities of the Workforce Investment 

Council 
A. The Workforce Investment Council shall define, 

maintain, and make available to LOSFA and to public and

nonpublic postsecondary institutions and to Louisiana 
training providers a list of industry based occupational or 
vocational education credentials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 31:3111 (December 2005), amended LR 36:2030 (September 
2010), LR 41:376 (February 2015), LR 44:  

§1017. Responsibilities of the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) 
A. BESE shall determine which training providers are 

approved to provide courses each academic year for the 
TOPS-Tech Early Start Award in accordance with R.S. 
17:5081. 

B. BESE shall notify LOSFA of the names and addresses 
for the approved training providers no later than March 1 for 
the fall of that year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5081. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 41:376 (February 2015), amended LR 44: 

Chapter 11. Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship 
§1101. General Provisions 

A. Legislative Authority. The Louisiana State Wildlife 
Scholarship Program was created and amended by the 
following Acts of the Louisiana Legislature: 

1. Act 807 of the 1980 Regular Legislative Session; 
2. Act 849 of the 1987 Regular Legislative Session; 
3. Act 707 of the 1989 Regular Legislative Session. 

B. Description, History and Purpose  
1. The Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship 

Program was established in 1980 and is funded with 
dedicated monies. Through the 2009-2010 academic year, 
the program provided competitively awarded funds of 
$1,000 per academic year to both undergraduate and 
graduate students majoring in forestry, wildlife, or marine 
science as it pertains to wildlife, with a requirement that the 
awardee repay the funds if the student did not earn a degree 
in one of these fields. Beginning with the 2010-2011 
academic year, the program offers competitively awarded 
scholarships of $2,000 per academic year for undergraduate 
students and $3,000 per academic year for graduate students. 

2.a. Through the 2009-2010 academic year, students 
accepting the Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship agreed:  
 i. to attain a degree in one of the required fields 
at a Louisiana public college or university offering such 
degrees; and 
 ii. if the student failed or fails to successfully 
complete an eligible course of study, to repay the funds with 
interest as per the agreement made between the Louisiana 
Board of Regents (the board) and the student.  

b. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year, the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program is a pure 
scholarship for undergraduate students who have earned at 
least 60 credit hours and graduate students. 

c. Students who received the award during the 
2009-2010 academic year who have not yet earned 60 hours 
of academic credit may receive the award as a scholarship 
beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year if the 
requirements to maintain eligibility have been met. 
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C. Award Amounts 
1. Through the 2009-2010 academic year:  

a. the annual award is $1,000; 
b. the cumulative maximum award is $7,000 for up 

to five years of undergraduate and two years of graduate 
study.  

2. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year and 
thereafter: 

a. the annual award is $2,000 for undergraduate 
students; 

b. the annual award is $3,000 for graduate students; 
c. the cumulative maximum award is $12,000 for 

up to three years of undergraduate and two years of graduate 
study. 

D. Award Disbursements  
1. Through the 2009-2010 academic year, the award is 

disbursed: 
a. at postsecondary institutions using semesters at 

the rate of $500 each fall and spring semester; or  
b. at postsecondary institutions using terms at the 

rate of $333 for the fall and winter term and of $334 for the 
spring term.  

2. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year and 
thereafter, the award is disbursed: 

a. at postsecondary institutions using semesters at 
the rate of: 
 i. $1,000 each fall and spring semester for 
undergraduate students; and 
 ii. $1,500 each fall and spring semester for 
graduate students; or 

b. at postsecondary institutions using terms at the 
rate of: 
 i. $667 for each fall and winter and of $666 for 
the spring term for undergraduates; and  
 ii. $1,000 for each fall, winter term and spring 
term for graduates. 

3. In the event there are unawarded appropriated funds 
at the end of the spring semester or term, such funds may be 
disbursed pro-rata to students who received an award during 
the preceding academic year and are enrolled full-time 
during the summer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 56:797 D(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:639 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1908 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1859 
(November 2001), amended LR 34:235 (February 2008), LR 
36:2267 (October 2010), LR 44: 

§1103. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility, the student applicant must 

meet all of the following criteria: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen; 

and 
2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 for at 

least one year prior to July 1 of the award year; and 
3.a. through the 2007-2008 academic year (college), 

submit the completed Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid (FAFSA) or the Renewal FAFSA, whichever is 
applicable to the student, so that it is received by the federal 
processor by the final deadline set forth in §501.C or §505.F; 
or 

b. beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year 
(college): 
 i. to be eligible for the scholarship for both fall 
and spring semesters of the academic year (college), submit 
the completed Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) or the Renewal FAFSA, whichever is applicable to 
the student, so that it is received by the federal processor and 
by LOSFA by the final deadline set forth in §501.C or 
§505.F; 
 ii. to be eligible for the scholarship, if funds are 
available, for the spring semester of the academic year 
(college), submit the completed Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA) or the Renewal FAFSA, whichever is 
applicable to the student, so that it is received by the federal 
processor by the final deadline set forth in §501.C or §505.F; 
and 

4.a. through the 2007-2008 academic year (college), 
complete and submit such documentary evidence as may be 
required by LOSFA; or 

b. beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year, 
complete and submit such documentary evidence as may be 
required by LOSFA so that it is received by LOSFA no later 
than July 1 preceding the academic year (college) for which 
the scholarship is sought; and 

5.a. beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year:  
 i. through the 2009-2010 academic year, to be 
eligible for the award for both fall and spring semesters of 
the academic year (college), complete and submit the 
Rockefeller Wildlife Scholarship Application and a master 
promissory note so that they are received by LOSFA no later 
than July 1 preceding the fall semester for which the award 
is sought; or  
 ii. to be eligible for the award, if funds are 
available for the spring semester of the academic year 
(college), complete and submit the Rockefeller Wildlife 
Scholarship Application and a master promissory note so 
that they are received by LOSFA no later than December 1 
immediately preceding the spring semester for which the 
award is sought; and  

b. beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year: 
 i. to be eligible for the scholarship for both fall 
and spring semesters of the academic year (college), 
complete and submit the Rockefeller Wildlife Scholarship 
Application so that it is received by LOSFA no later than 
July 1 preceding the fall semester for which the scholarship 
is sought; or 
 ii. to be eligible for the scholarship, if funds are 
available for the spring semester of the academic year 
(college), complete and submit the Rockefeller Wildlife 
Scholarship Application so that it is received by LOSFA no 
later than December 1 immediately preceding the spring 
semester for which the scholarship is sought; and 

6. agree that award proceeds will be used exclusively 
for educational expenses; and  

7. a. through the 2009-2010 academic year, be 
enrolled or accepted for enrollment as a full-time 
undergraduate or graduate student at a Louisiana public 
college or university majoring in forestry, wildlife or marine 
science as it pertains to wildlife, with the intent of obtaining 
a degree from a Louisiana public college or university 
offering a degree in one of the three specified fields; or  
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b. for the 2010-2011 academic year and thereafter, 
be an undergraduate recipient of the award during the 2009-
2010 academic year and enrolled full-time or an 
undergraduate with at least 60 earned hours of college credit 
and enrolled full-time or graduate student and enrolled full-
time at a Louisiana public college or university majoring in 
forestry, wildlife or marine science as it pertains to wildlife, 
with the intent of obtaining a degree from a Louisiana public 
college or university offering a degree in one of the three 
specified fields; and 

8.a. through the 2009-2010 academic year, must have 
graduated from high school, and if at the time of application 
the student applicant has earned less than 24 hours of graded 
college credit since graduating from high school, have 
earned a minimum cumulative high school grade point 
average of at least 2.50 calculated on a 4.00 scale for all 
courses completed in grades 9 through 12, have taken the 
ACT or SAT and received test score results and, beginning 
with the 2006-2007 academic year (college), have an ACT 
score of at least 20; or 

b. beginning with the 2006-2007 academic year 
(college) and through the 2009-2010 academic year, must be 
a qualified home study completer and, if at the time of 
application the student applicant has earned less than 24 
hours of graded college credit since graduating from high 
school, achieve an ACT score of at least 22; or 

c.i. through the 2009-2010 academic year, if, at the 
time of application, the student applicant has earned 24 or 
more hours of college credit, then the applicant must have at 
least a 2.50 cumulative college grade point average; or 
 ii. beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year, 
the student applicant has earned 60 or more hours of college 
credit with at least a 2.50 cumulative college grade point 
average; or 

d. if, at the time of application, the student is in 
graduate school, then the applicant must have at least a 3.00 
cumulative grade point average on all credits earned in 
graduate school. 

9. Through the 2009-2010 academic year, to be a 
qualified home study completer for the purposes of this 
Section, the applicant must: 

a. successfully complete at the twelfth grade level a 
home study program approved by BESE; or 

b. if a Louisiana public high school, a Louisiana 
nonpublic high school, an approved non-Louisiana high 
school, or an out-of-state high school was previously 
attended, has provided the board with certification by the 
previously attended high school that said student was in 
good standing at the time the student last attended such 
school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 56:797 D(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:639 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1908 (October 1998), LR 
27:1220 (August 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1859 (November 
2001), amended LR 28:774 (April 2002), LR 29:125 (February 
2003), LR 30:2020 (September 2004), LR 33:87 (January 2007), 
LR 34:235 (February 2008), LR 36:2268 (October 2010), LR 44: 

§1105. Selection Criteria 
A. Recipients are competitively selected for an award 

based upon the merit rank score computed and assigned to 
each eligible applicant. The formula for computing the merit 
rank score is defined in §301. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 56:797 D(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:640 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1909 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1859 
(November 2001), amended LR 44: 

§1107. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the Rockefeller State Wildlife 

Scholarship, recipients must meet all of the following 
criteria:  

1.a. for recipients first accepting the award through the 
2009-2010 academic year, have received the scholarship for 
not more than seven academic years (five undergraduate and 
two graduate); or 

b. for recipients first accepting the award for the 
2010-2011 academic year and thereafter, have received the 
scholarship for not more than five academic years (three 
undergraduate and two graduate); and  

2. at the close of each academic year (ending with the 
spring semester or quarter), have earned at least 24 hours 
total credit during the fall, winter and spring terms at an 
institution defining 12 semester or eight quarter hours as the 
minimum for full-time undergraduate status or earn at least 
18 hours total graduate credit during the fall, winter and 
spring terms at an institution defining nine semester hours as 
the minimum for full-time graduate status unless granted an 
exception for cause by the board; and 

3. achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least 
2.50 as an undergraduate student at the end of each academic 
year or achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least 
3.00 as a graduate student at the end of each academic year; 
and 

4. continue to enroll as a full time student each 
subsequent semester or quarter (excluding summer sessions 
and intersessions) at the same institution unless granted an 
exception for cause and/or approval for transfer of the award 
by the board; and 

5. continue to pursue a course of study leading to an 
undergraduate or graduate degree in wildlife, forestry or 
marine science. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 56:797 D(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:640 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1909 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1859 
(November 2001), amended LR 31:2215 (September 2005), LR 
34:235 (February 2008), LR 36:2268 (October 2010), LR 44: 

§1109. Acceptance of Award  
A.1. For recipients first accepting the award through the 

2009-2010 academic year, prior to receiving an award, the 
recipient must agree to the terms and conditions contained in 
the Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program 
Promissory Note (BOR-Form RS02), by completing the
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form and returning it to the board by the specified deadline. 
The promissory note obligates the recipient to obtain a 
Wildlife, Forestry or Marine Science degree or repay the 
scholarship funds received, plus accrued interest and any 
collection costs incurred. 

2. For recipients accepting the award for the 2010-
2011 academic year and thereafter, prior to receiving an 
award, the recipient must agree to the terms and conditions 
contained in the Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship 
Program Application, by completing the form and returning 
it to the board by the specified deadline. The scholarship 
obligates the recipient to seek a Wildlife, Forestry or Marine 
Science degree or lose eligibility for future awards.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and 56:797 D(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:640 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1909 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1860 
(November 2001), amended LR 36:2268 (October 2010), LR 44: 

§1111. Discharge of Obligation for Recipients First 

Accepting an Award through the 2009-2010 

Academic Year 
A. The loan obligation for awards received through the 

2009-2010 academic year may be discharged by graduation 
in an eligible major, monetary repayment or cancellation. 

B. Graduation in an Eligible Major. Awards to 
undergraduates are discharged by the recipient's attainment 
of a bachelor's degree; graduate awards are discharged by 
attainment of a master's or doctorate degree in wildlife, 
forestry or marine science. 

C. Monetary Repayment. Recipients who do not 
discharge the obligation by graduating in an eligible major 
and who are not eligible for discharge by cancellation must 
repay the loan principal, plus accrued interest and any 
collection costs incurred in accordance with the following 
terms and conditions: 

1. interest accrues on the outstanding principal at the 
rate of eight percent per annum; 

2. interest on each disbursement will accrue from the 
date of entering repayment status until repaid, canceled or 
fulfilled; 

3. repayment status. The recipient enters repayment 
status the first day of the month following: 

a. the date the recipient notifies the board that 
monetary repayment is desired; or 

b. six months after the board determines that the 
recipient is no longer pursuing a degree program or course 
of study leading to a degree in wildlife, forestry or marine 
science; 

4. unless the recipient qualifies for reduced payments 
as provided in §2105.H, the annual repayment amount will 
be the greater of: 

a. the amount necessary to repay the capitalized 
loan principal within seven years; or 

b. $1,200 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever 
is less; 

5. recipients in repayment status may have their 
payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B, titled 
Deferment of Repayment Obligation; 

a. during the period of time a recipient is in 
deferment status, the recipient is not required to make 
payments and interest does not accrue; 

b. the period of time for completion of repayment 
will be extended by a period of time equal to the length of 
time the recipient is in deferment status. 

D. Cancellation 
1. The obligation to repay all or part of Rockefeller 

State Wildlife Scholarship Program funds shall be canceled 
in the event either of the following occurs: 

a. upon submission to the board of a sworn affidavit 
from a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded 
from completing the educational program and/or from 
gainful employment because of a complete and permanent 
medical disability or condition; 

b. upon submission to the board of a death 
certificate, or other evidence conclusive under state law, that 
the recipient is deceased. 

2. The obligation to repay all or part of Rockefeller 
State Wildlife Scholarship Program funds may be canceled 
in the event the remaining unpaid balance is $25 or less. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and 56:797 D(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:640 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1909 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1860 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 30:780 
(April 2004), LR 30:1168 (June 2004), LR 36:2269 (October 
2010), LR 44: 

Chapter 12. Louisiana GO Grant 
§1201. General Provisions 

A. Legislative Authority 
1.a. In accordance with the requirements of Act 695 of 

the 2004 Regular Session of the Legislature, the Louisiana 
Board of Regents (the board) developed the GO Grant 
Program. The program was reviewed and approved by both 
the Senate Committee on Education and the House 
Committee on Education on April 12, 2007. 

b. Act 655 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Legislature establishes the GO Grant Program in R.S. 
17:3046 et seq. The Act provides that the board shall 
establish the criteria for initial and continuing eligibility, the 
method for determining the award amount, and other 
requirements not otherwise provided in the statute. The act 
further provides that the GO Grant Program shall be 
administered by the board through the Louisiana Office of 
Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA). 

B. Description and Purpose. The Louisiana GO Grant 
assists those students who can demonstrate financial need to 
pay for the cost of postsecondary education. The GO Grant 
is used to pay a portion of the cost of attendance at an 
eligible Louisiana institution. 

C. Award Amount 
1. The minimum and maximum annual award 

amounts and the lifetime award amount, if any, shall be 
established by the board on an annual basis and such 
amounts shall be published by LOSFA to the eligible 
Louisiana institutions.  

2. Each institution shall determine the award amounts 
for eligible students at that institution based on the 
requirements in these rules, the allocation to the institution, 
the institution’s financial aid packaging policy, and the 
guidance established by the board and published by LOSFA. 

D. The total amount awarded for GO Grants during any 
academic year is limited to the total amount appropriated for 
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the award for the academic year. Eligibility for an award 
during any particular semester, quarter or term does not 
guarantee that a student will receive the GO Grant in a 
subsequent semester, quarter or term. 

E. Allocation of Funds. The amount allocated to an 
eligible institution will be determined by dividing the 
amount of the institution's prior year's allocation that was 
expended by the total amount appropriated for that academic 
year multiplied by the total amount appropriated for the 
current year. 

F. Reallocation of Funds. Uncommitted funds allocated 
to a particular institution shall be reallocated if not 
committed by the deadline set by LOSFA. Uncommitted 
funds shall be apportioned among those institutions that 
have committed all funds allocated to the institution before 
the deadline, and have students who are eligible for an award 
and did not receive it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023, 17:3046 et seq. and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2614 (December 2007), amended LR 34:236 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 39:2234 (August 2013), 
LR 44: 

§1203. Definitions 
A. The following definitions shall be applicable to the 

Louisiana GO Grant Program. Words and terms not 
otherwise defined in this Chapter shall have the meanings 
ascribed to such words and terms in this Section. Where the 
masculine is used in these rules, it includes the feminine, and 
vice versa; where the singular is used, it includes the plural, 
and vice versa. The term “the board” refers to the Louisiana 
Board of Regents.  

Academic Year―the academic year begins with the fall 
semester or term of the award year, includes the winter term, 
if applicable, and concludes with the completion of the 
spring semester or term of the award year. Summer terms are 
not included in the academic year unless authorized by the 
board and only if the post-secondary institution provides 
students with Pell Grants or financial need grants during the 
summer session.  

Administering Agency―the Louisiana Board of Regents 
(the board) through the Louisiana Office of Student 
Financial Assistance (LOSFA). 

Cost of Attendance―the total cost for a student to attend 
a particular eligible Louisiana institution, usually expressed 
as an academic year figure. This cost shall be determined by 
the institution attended in compliance with title IV of the 
Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, and shall be 
annually updated and adopted by the institution. 

Dependent Student―a student who does not qualify as 
an independent student for purposes of qualifying for title IV 
aid.  

Eligible Louisiana Institution― 
a. Louisiana public colleges or universities and 

regionally accredited independent colleges or universities in 
the state that are members of the Louisiana Association of 
Independent Colleges and Universities; and 

b. Louisiana public colleges that have been granted 
regional candidacy status, but are not yet eligible to 
participate in title IV programs. Candidacy status institutions 
must require students to complete a FAFSA and the 

institution must determine a student's eligibility in 
accordance with rules under this Chapter. 

Enrollment―registration in programs of study at an 
eligible Louisiana institution. 

Excess Award―an award in excess of what is 
authorized by these rules and the guidance established by the 
board and published by LOSFA. 

Expected Family Contribution (EFC)―an amount, 
determined by a formula established by Congress, that 
indicates how much of a family's financial resources should 
be available to help pay for the student's cost of attendance. 
Factors such as taxable and nontaxable income, assets (such 
as savings and checking accounts), and benefits (for 
example, unemployment or Social Security) are all 
considered in this calculation. 

Federal Pell Grant―the Pell Grant provided under title 
IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended. 

Financial Need―the student’s costs of attendance at the 
institution attended minus the expected family contribution 
(EFC).  

Financial Need Grant―an institutional grant provided 
by the state for students with financial need as evidenced by 
the data reported on the FAFSA at a Louisiana public college 
that has been granted regional candidacy status and is 
eligible to participate in the Go Grant Program. 

Full-Time―a student enrolled in an eligible Louisiana 
institution who is considered full-time by the school. 

Go Grant Award Amount―the award amount actually 
paid during an academic year. 

Half-Time―a student enrolled in an eligible Louisiana 
institution who is not full-time but is enrolled in at least six 
semester credit hours, or four hours at a term school. 

Independent Student―a student who meets at least one 
of the criteria listed in Subparagraphs a-f or has been 
determined independent by a financial aid officer exercising 
professional judgment in accordance with applicable 
provisions of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended:  

a. reached 24 years of age prior to January of the 
year preceding the academic year for which the student is 
applying for aid; 

b. is currently serving on active duty for purposes 
other than training or is a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, 
including a student who was activated to serve in Operation 
Desert Storm;  

c. is an orphan or a ward of the court or was a ward 
of the court until age 18;  

d. has legal dependents other than a spouse;  
e. is a graduate or professional student;  
f. is married. 

Less Than Half-Time―a student enrolled in an eligible 
Louisiana institution who is not full-time and is enrolled in 
less than six semester credit hours or four hours at a term 
school. 

Louisiana Resident― 
a. a dependent or independent student whose true, 

fixed, and permanent home of residence is Louisiana as 
reported on the free application for federal student aid 
(FAFSA); 

b. a dependent student whose non-custodial parent 
completes a residency affidavit in Subparagraph e below that 
establishes Louisiana residency; 
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c. a dependent student whose parent is transferred 
out of Louisiana temporarily by his/her employer and that 
parent completes a residency affidavit in Subparagraph e 
below that establishes Louisiana residency; 

d. a dependent student whose parent is on active 
duty in the armed forces and who is stationed in Louisiana 
under permanent change of station orders, or an independent 
student who is on active duty military status in the armed 
forces and is stationed in Louisiana under permanent change 
of station orders; 

e. if the dependent or independent student does not 
report Louisiana as his true, fixed, and permanent home of 
residence as Louisiana on the FAFSA, the board may require 
an independent student applicant or the parent of a 
dependent student applicant to show proof of residency. 
Residency may be established by completion of a standard 
affidavit developed by the board. Such affidavits must be 
completed in their entirety by the independent student 
applicant or by at least one parent of the dependent student 
applicant and be sworn to and notarized by a licensed notary 
public. Further, the affiant shall be required to submit 
records in support of the affidavit to include the following 
records and such other records as may be required by the 
board:  
 i. if registered to vote, a Louisiana voter 
registration card; and  
 ii. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, a Louisiana 
driver's license; and  
 iii. if owning a motor vehicle located in Louisiana, 
a Louisiana registration for that vehicle; and  
 iv. if earning a reportable income, a Louisiana tax 
return. 

Satisfactory Academic Progress―a standard established in 
accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended, by the institution at which a GO Grant recipient is 
enrolled for measuring a student's progress in his or her 
educational program. 

Undergraduate Program―a program of study that is 
designed to lead to a certificate or undergraduate degree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2615 (December 2007), amended LR 34:236 (February 
2008), LR 35:647 (April 2009), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 
36:2853 (December 2010), LR 39:2234 (August 2013), LR 44: 

§1205. Initial Eligibility 
A. To be initially eligible for a Louisiana GO Grant, a 

student must: 
1. complete the free application for federal student aid 

for the year during which he intends to enroll in college; 
2. be a Louisiana resident; 
3. receive a federal Pell Grant or a financial need 

grant; 
4. have remaining financial need; and 
5. be enrolled in an undergraduate program on at least 

a half-time basis at an eligible Louisiana institution through 
the fourteenth class day for semester schools, or the ninth 
class day for quarter and term schools, or for any qualifying 
summer sessions, at the end of the last day to drop and 
receive a full refund for the full summer session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2616 (December 2007), amended LR 34:238 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010, LR 37:1389 (May 2011), LR 38:1953 (August 2012), LR 
39:2235 (August 2013), LR 44: 

§1207. Continuing Eligibility 
A. A student's eligibility will be reevaluated on the same 

schedule as eligibility for a federal Pell Grant or a financial 
need grant is determined at the institution, but at least once 
annually. 

B. To continue to be eligible for a Louisiana GO Grant, a 
student must: 

1. complete the free application for federal student aid 
or the renewal application for each year he enrolls in college 
to be considered for a Pell Grant and the Go Grant; 

2. continue to receive the federal Pell Grant or a 
financial need grant; 

3. have remaining financial need; and 
4. be enrolled in an undergraduate program on at least 

a half-time basis at an eligible Louisiana institution through 
the fourteenth class day for semester schools, or the ninth 
class day for quarter and term schools, or for any qualifying 
summer sessions, at the end of the last day to drop and 
receive a full refund for the full summer session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2616 (December 2007), amended LR 34:238 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010), LR 39:2236 (August 2013), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1209. Responsibilities of Eligible Louisiana 

Institutions [Formerly §1211] 
A. Initial Eligibility 

1.a. Eligible Louisiana institutions must determine 
whether the student meets the criterion in Subparagraph a of 
the definition of Louisiana resident in §1203. 

b. If this criterion is not met, the student may 
request that LOSFA make a determination of residency 
under Subparagraph e of the definition of Louisiana 

Resident in §1203. 
2. Eligible Louisiana institutions must determine 

whether a student meets the initial eligibility criteria 
enumerated in §1205. 

B. Continuing Eligibility. Eligible Louisiana institutions 
must determine whether a student meets the continuing 
eligibility criteria enumerated in §1207 on the same schedule 
as eligibility for a Pell Grant or a financial need grant is 
determined at the institution, but at least once annually. 

C. Packaging Policy 
1. Eligible Louisiana institutions must establish and 

use a policy on GO Grant packaging that provides: 
a. procedures for compliance with these rules and 

the guidance established by the board and published by 
LOSFA for determining the award amount; 

b. record retention to comply with Subsection I of 
this Section; 

c. the basis used to establish any award amount that 
is less than the maximum award amount allowed; 

d. procedures for distribution of GO Grant funds 
that ensure the grant is provided to students with the most 
financial need; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2294

e. priority for students who are 25 or over; 
f. awards amounts for less than full-time students; 

and 
g. procedures for identification of transfer students 

and ensuring transfer students receive awards on the same 
basis as home students. 

2. Eligible Louisiana institutions must revise the 
institution’s GO Grant packaging policy as necessary to 
reflect changes to the GO Grant Program rules or guidance 
issued by the board. 

D. Award Amount. Eligible Louisiana institutions must 
establish the award amounts for each individual student 
based on the institution’s financial aid packaging policy. The 
amount awarded must comply with the requirements and 
limitations established in these rules and the guidance 
published by LOSFA. 

E. Submission of Payment Requests. Each semester, 
quarter or term, eligible Louisiana institutions shall submit a 
payment request to LOSFA for students enrolled at the 
institution who have been determined eligible for a 
Louisiana GO Grant as follows: 

1. for each student eligible for a Louisiana GO Grant 
who is enrolled at the end of the fourteenth class day for 
semester schools, or the ninth class day for quarter and term 
schools, or for any qualifying summer sessions, at the end of 
the last day to drop and receive a full refund for the full 
summer session; 

2. the payment request shall include the: 
a. Social Security number; 
b. college code; 
c. term; 
d. date; 
e. hours attempted; 
f. award amount; and 
g. amount requested for each student; 

3. for students who are enrolled in more than one 
eligible Louisiana institution, the home school (school 
paying the Pell Grant or a financial need grant) is 
responsible for submitting a payment request for the Go 
Grant based on the total hours enrolled at all institutions. 

F. Over Payments 
1. No institution shall submit a payment request for 

GO Grant funds which would result in a student receiving an 
annual total of more than is authorized in §1201.C. 

2. Eligible Louisiana institutions certify by submitting 
a payment request for a GO Grant that the institution will 
reimburse LOSFA: 

a. for the total amount of any award that is 
disbursed to ineligible students; and 

b. for any amount of an award that is in excess of 
the maximum annual award or in excess of the maximum 
lifetime award (if one is established). 

G. Excess Award. In the event an excess award occurs 
during the fall semester or quarter or the winter quarter due 
to receipt of additional gift aid, the school shall reduce the 
award amount for the spring accordingly. In the event an 
excess award occurs during the spring semester or quarter 
due to receipt of additional gift aid, the school shall 
document the reason for the excess award. 

H. Over Award. In the event the student's total aid 
exceeds his financial need or the cost of attendance, any 
federal loan aid included in the total aid package shall be 

reduced, then institutional and other aid in accordance with 
institutional practice, then the Louisiana GO Grant, then a 
TOPS award, if applicable, shall be reduced by the amount 
of any remaining over award. 

I. Records Retention. Records pertaining to Louisiana 
GO Grant awards are subject to audit as required by the 
board and the Louisiana Legislative Auditor. Eligible 
Louisiana institutions shall maintain all records for a 
minimum of three years from creation. All such records shall 
be made available upon request by the board and/or the 
Louisiana Legislative Auditor. 

J. Each eligible Louisiana institution shall provide a 
copy of its GO Grant packaging policy as required by 
§1209.C to LOSFA, when requested.  

K. Audits. Eligible Louisiana institutions that participate 
in the Louisiana GO Grant Program grant LOSFA and the 
Louisiana Legislative Auditor the right to inspect records 
and perform on-site audits of each institution's 
administration of the program for the purpose of determining 
the institution's compliance with state law and applicable 
rules and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2617 (December 2007), amended LR 34:239 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010), LR 39:2236 (August 2013), LR 44: 

§1213. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. LOSFA shall pay each eligible Louisiana institution 

the amount requested by the eligible Louisiana institution in 
accordance with the provisions of §1209. 

B. LOSFA shall publish to the eligible Louisiana 
institutions on an annual basis: 

1. the minimum and maximum annual awards, and the 
maximum lifetime award, if any; 

2. any limitations on awards;  
3. any changes in requirements for calculation of 

awards; and 
4. any other changes in the program made by the 

board. 
C. LOSFA shall determine the residency of students who 

do not meet the criteria enumerated in Subparagraph a of the 
definition of Louisiana resident in §1203 and notify eligible 
Louisiana institutions of its determination(s). 

D. LOSFA shall maintain a database of all students who 
have received the GO Grant, included social security 
number, college code, term, date, hours attempted, award 
amount, annual amount received, and aggregate amount 
received. In the event LOSFA receives a payment request in 
an amount that would exceed the maximum amount payable 
to a student, LOSFA will require the school to rebill. 

E. Adequacy of Funding 
1. After the receipt of fall semester or term payment 

requests, LOSFA shall determine whether sufficient funds 
are available to pay all anticipated awards for subsequent 
semesters, terms and sessions of the academic year. 

2. In the event projections indicate sufficient funds are 
not available, LOSFA shall notify the board. 

3. LOSFA will provide to the board information that is 
necessary to determine appropriate funding amounts upon 
the request of the board. 
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F. LOSFA shall audit eligible Louisiana institutions to 
ensure compliance with these rules.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2617 (December 2007), amended LR 34:239 (February 
2008), LR 35:2350 (November 2009), LR 36:2853 (December 
2010), LR 39:2237 (August 2013), LR 44: 

§1215. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Board of 

Regents 
A. The board shall promulgate administrative rules in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 
B. At least on an annual basis, the board shall review the 

amount appropriated for this program, and: 
1. determine the minimum and maximum amount to 

be received by students attending school; 
2. determine whether there is a maximum lifetime 

award and, if so, set the maximum; 
3. determine what, if any, limitations should be placed 

on awards; 
4. establish any changes in requirements for 

calculation of awards; and 
5. provide for any other changes in the program. 

C. The board shall provide notice to LOSFA of any 
changes to the program in sufficient time to allow timely 
implementation. 

D. In the event of receipt of notice of a shortfall and 
additional funds are not allocated for payment of all 
anticipated awards for subsequent semesters, terms and 
sessions during the academic year, the board shall develop, 
approve and deliver a plan to LOSFA to address the 
shortfall. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023, R.S.17:3046 et seq. and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2618 (December 2007), amended LR 39:2237 (August 
2013), LR 44: 

§1217. Responsibilities of the Board of Regents 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:2350 (November 2009), amended LR 36:2853 (December 
2010), LR 39:2237 (August 2013), repealed LR 44: 

Chapter 13. Leveraging Educational Assistance 
Partnership (LEAP) 

§1301. General Provisions 
A. Legislative Authority 

1. Federal 
a. Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 
b. 34 CFR Part 692, as amended 
c. Title IV of the Higher Education Amendments of 

1992 (Public Law 102-325) 
2. State 

a. R.S. 17:3031 
b. Act 632 of the 1974 Regular Legislative Session 
c. Act 228 of the 1977 Regular Legislative Session 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Louisiana 
Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership (LEAP) 
Program, first funded in 1975, provides need-based grants to 
academically qualified students using federal and state 

funds. These grants are to be used for educational expenses 
including tuition and fees, books and supplies, and living 
expenses, such as room, board and transportation. 

C. Louisiana administers a decentralized LEAP Program. 
Certain functions of the program are delegated to 
participating schools. Schools approved for participation in 
the Louisiana LEAP Program must have federal eligibility 
and must annually submit a state application and be 
approved for state participation. Funding available for a 
specific award year is allocated to eligible in-state 
postsecondary institutions who select and certify recipients 
to the Louisiana Board of Regents (the board). The board 
forwards award funding to the institutions for disbursement 
to the student or student's account. 

D. Award Amounts. Individual grants range from an 
annual minimum of $200 to a maximum of $2,000; however, 
the actual amount of each student's award is determined by 
the financial aid office at the institution and is governed by 
the number of recipients selected and the amount of funds 
available. Awards are based upon a full academic year, 
excluding summer sessions and intersession, beginning with 
the fall term and concluding with the spring term. 

E.1. Allocation of Funds. Annually, funds are allocated to 
post-secondary institutions based on school type, the 
school's prior year first-time, full-time enrollment of 
matriculating students and the amount of the prior year's 
allocation that was expended. Initial funds, for first-time 
recipients, are computed as a percentage of all participating 
institutions first-time, full-time enrollment as of October 10 
of the prior fiscal year. A student's enrollment in an 
undergraduate degree granting school which is a component 
of a state supported medical center, shall be a first-time, full-
time freshman for the purpose of this program. Continuation 
funds for students who had previously received LEAP are 
computed as a percentage of the allocated funds used during 
the previous year. The continuation formula applies 60 
percent for four-year schools and 40 percent for two-year 
schools. For the purpose of this Paragraph, matriculating 

student means a degree seeking student. 
2. For the 2006-2007 academic year (college), the 

allocations described in E.1 above shall be made to 
postsecondary institutions based on 2004-2005 academic 
year (college) formula data. 

F. Reallocation of Funds. Uncommitted institutional 
allotted funds are reallocated if not committed by the 
deadline of November 1 for colleges and universities and 
campuses of Louisiana Technical College and January 1 for 
proprietary schools. The method of reallocation is dependent 
upon the amount of funds available for reallocation. If the 
reallocation amount is less then $50,000, then only two- and 
four-year colleges and universities, which have fully 
committed their original allotment by the appropriate 
deadline, receive a reallotment. If $50,000 or more is 
available for reallocation, it is reallotted to eligible schools 
of all types, which have fully committed their original 
allotment by the appropriate deadline. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:641 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR 25:1458 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 27:1860 (November 2001), amended LR 
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28:2332 (November 2002), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 
33:440 (March 2007), LR 34:240 (February 2008), LR 34:1885 
(September 2008), LR 44: 

§1303. Establishing Eligibility 
A. LEAP applicants must meet all of the following 

criteria: 
1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen, 

and registered with the selective service, if required; and 
2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 for at 

least one year prior to July 1 of the award year; and 
3. annually, submit the completed Free Application for 

Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA, whichever 
is available to the applicant, by any deadline imposed by the 
institution attended; and 

4. have a high school diploma with at least a 2.00 
cumulative grade point average, or a minimum average score 
of 450 on the General Educational Development (GED) test, 
or an ACT composite score of at least 20, or a post-
secondary grade point average of at least 2.00 from the most 
recent term; and 

5. be selected and certified by the school for receipt of 
a LEAP Award, contingent upon final approval by the board; 
and 

6. meet any additional selection criteria established by 
the individual institution participating in the LEAP Program; 
and 

7. be certified as a full-time undergraduate student in 
an eligible program at an eligible post-secondary institution, 
as defined in §1901 and either: 

a. be enrolled full time at the time of disbursement 
if disbursement occurs at the end of the 14th class day (9th 
class day for Louisiana Tech); or 

b. be enrolled full time at the end of the 14th class 
day (9th class day at Louisiana Tech) and is enrolled at least 
half-time at the time of disbursement if disbursement occurs 
after the 14th class day (9th class day at Louisiana Tech); 
and 

8. have substantial financial need, as defined in §301; 
and 

9. be in compliance with the terms of other federal 
and state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving 
and which are administered by the board; and 

10. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations; and 

11. agree that the award proceeds will be used 
exclusively for educational expenses; and 

12. not be in default of an educational loan. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3031. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:641 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 27:1861 (November 2001), amended LR 28:448 
(March 2002), LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 44: 

§1305. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving a LEAP Award, the recipient 

must meet all of the following criteria: 
1. meet all of the initial eligibility criteria listed in 

§1303; and 
2. maintain a cumulative post-secondary grade point 

average of at least 2.00 calculated on a 4.00 scale by the 
conclusion of the spring term. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:642 (April 1998), 
LR 24:1911 (October 1998), amended LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 27:1861 (November 2001), amended LR 44: 

§1307. Annual Application for Participation in, and 

Certification of Recipients of the LEAP Program 
A. Annually, the board forwards LEAP institutional 

participation agreements to those schools participating in the 
program during the prior award year, and upon written 
requests received, to schools not participating in the LEAP 
Program during the prior award year. To be eligible for 
allotment of LEAP funds the institution must meet all of the 
following requirements: 

1. complete and return the annual LEAP application 
by the specified deadline; and 

2. certify that students and parents will not be charged 
a fee for the collection of information used to determine the 
student's eligibility for LEAP; and 

3. certify that students listed on the recipient roster 
meet federal, state and institutional specific LEAP eligibility 
criteria; and 

4. certify that if the institution's LEAP allotment is 
based in part on the financial need of independent students, 
as defined by the U.S. Department of Education, a 
reasonable portion of the institution's allotment is being 
made available to independent students; and 

5. certify that each LEAP recipient's total package of 
aid does not exceed the student's financial need; and 

6. certify that LEAP funds recovered from over 
awards, refunds, and/or repayments, as defined in §301, 
during the applicable award period shall be returned to the 
board to be reissued to other qualified students. Funds 
recovered from over awards, refunds and/or repayments 
after the applicable award period shall be returned to the 
board for return to the U.S. Department or Education and/or 
the state of Louisiana. The amount of over award, refund 
and/or repayment shall be determined according to the 
school's policy established in accordance with federal 
regulations. 

7. certify that it has notified each eligible student that 
the grant is a LEAP grant which is funded by the state of 
Louisiana and the federal government. 

B. Annually, the board provides eligible institutions an 
official allotment schedule, recipient roster and institution 
certification forms. Institutions are required to: 

1. complete and return recipient rosters and 
institutional certification forms to ensure expenditure of 
allotted LEAP Awards by the school specific deadlines of 
November 1 for public and LAICU member two- and four-
year colleges and universities and January 1 for campuses of 
Louisiana Technical College and proprietary institutions; and 

2. submit changes to the recipient roster by 
completing a replacement roster, provided by the board; and 

3. certify that if any LEAP funds are released in error 
to ineligible students, the institution will either recover the 
award amount from the students and refund to the board or 
remit the refund due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Board of 
Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance), LR 44: 

Chapter 14. Early Start Program  
§1401. General Provisions  

A. The Early Start Program is administered by the 
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) 
under the direction of the Louisiana Board of Regents (the 
board). 

B.1. Description. The Early Start Program is established 
to provide funding to eligible Louisiana postsecondary 
institutions that enroll eligible 11th and 12th grade Louisiana 
public high school students in college degree, 
developmental, or work skills courses. 

2. History. The program was established by the board 
as the Dual Enrollment Program to provide funding to public 
postsecondary institutions that enroll eligible public high 
school students. Beginning the 2008-2009 academic year 
(college), the board expanded the program to include 
members of LAICU that enroll eligible public high school 
students. Act 460 of the 2008 Regular Session of the 
Legislature provided for participation in the program by 
students enrolled in nonpublic high schools and home school 
programs. 

3. Purpose. The purpose of the Early Start Program is 
to provide an incentive for qualified Louisiana high school 
students to prepare for a postsecondary education or career. 

C. Effective Date. Early Start Program payments shall be 
made beginning with the 2007-2008 award year to 
postsecondary institutions for 11th and 12th grade students 
meeting the eligibility criteria set forth in this Chapter. 

D. Eligible Semesters/Terms. The Early Start Program 
will pay for enrollment in each college course during each 
semester or term of the academic year. Early Start Program 
will not pay for summer semesters or sessions. 

E. Award Amount 
1. The Early Start Program will pay postsecondary 

institutions, except for campuses of the Louisiana Technical 
College during the spring semester of 2011, $100 per college 
credit hour, not to exceed $300 per course, for each course in 
which a student enrolled in a Louisiana public high school is 
eligible to enroll.  

2. For the spring semester of 2011, the Early Start 
Program will pay $50 per credit hour, not to exceed $150 per 
course, for students enrolled at campuses of the Louisiana 
Technical College. 

3. The award amount shall not be paid on behalf of 
students enrolled in nonpublic high schools or in home 
school; however, beginning with the 2008-2009 academic 
year (college), the program allows participating eligible 
Louisiana postsecondary institutions to enroll eligible 
eleventh and twelfth grade Louisiana nonpublic high school 
and home school students at the same rate as the award 
amount that funding is provided for public high school 
students at these institutions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2609 (December 2007), amended LR 34:240 (February 
2008), LR 35:231 (February 2009), LR 37:1386 (May 2011), LR 
38:354 (February 2012), LR 44:  

§1403. Definitions 
A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 

Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Academic Year―the academic year begins with the fall 
semester or term of the award year, includes the winter term, 
if applicable, and concludes with the completion of the 
spring semester or term. 

Career Area of Concentration—a coherent sequence of 
courses or field of study approved by BESE that prepares a 
high school student for a first job and/or further education 
and training. It includes four sequential related credits in a 
specific area plus two credits in a related field; one must be a 
basic computer course. 

Census Day—14th class day (or equivalent) of current 
term enrollment. 

College Degree Course—a course in an academic 
subject at a Louisiana postsecondary institution that 
generates postsecondary institutional credit and: (1) appears 
on the current Louisiana Board of Regents' Statewide 
General Education Course Articulation Matrix for public 
postsecondary institutions; or (2) appears on a list of courses 
approved by the Louisiana Board of Regents (the board) for 
LAICU postsecondary institutions. 

Eligible Postsecondary Institution—Louisiana public 
colleges or universities and regionally accredited 
independent colleges or universities which are members of 
the LAICU. 

Enrichment/Developmental Course—an English or 
mathematics course at an eligible Louisiana postsecondary 
institution that generates postsecondary institutional credit, 
but not degree credit, and is designed to prepare the student 
for college-level instruction. 

Home School Students—students enrolled in BESE 
approved home study programs and students enrolled in 
nonpublic (private) schools that have not sought approval 
from but are registered with BESE. 

LAICU—Louisiana Association of Independent 
Colleges and Universities. 

On Track to Graduate from High School—a student has 
earned at least 11 Carnegie units if a junior, or at least  
16 Carnegie units if a senior. 

Work Skills Course—a course at an eligible Louisiana 
postsecondary institution in a skill or occupational training 
area that is designed to lead to an industry-based certificate 
and, for students required to have a declared Career Area of 
Concentration, will contribute to the student's Career Area of 
Concentration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2610 (December 2007), amended LR 34:240 (February 
2008), LR 35:232 (February 2009), LR 44: 

§1405. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility for the Early Start Program, all 

student applicants must meet the following criteria: 
1. be in the 11th or 12th grade in a Louisiana public 

high school and beginning with the 2008-2009 Academic 
Year (College) in a nonpublic high school or in home school; 
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2. be at least 15 years of age; 
3. have taken either the PLAN® or ACT assessment 

(or SAT) and those scores are on file at the high school or in 
the student’s home school records; 

4. have completed and submitted an Early Start 
Program application to the high school in which the student 
is enrolled or to the parent of the student in home school; 

5. be approved by the high school in which the student 
is enrolled, or the parent of the student in home school, to 
participate in the program and to enroll in the course or 
courses; and 

6.a. be enrolled in a course for which both public high 
school and college credit is attempted and for which an 
Early Start Program payment is made: or 

b. be enrolled in a course for which both nonpublic 
high school or home school and college credit is attempted 
and for which an amount equal to the award amount of an 
Early Start Program payment is made. 

B. Enrollment in a College Degree Course. In addition to 
the eligibility criteria in Paragraphs A.1-6: 

1.a. for students graduating from high school or 
completing the 12th grade level of home school in academic 
years (high school) 2008-2009 through 2010-2011, the 
student must be working towards completing the Louisiana 
Board of Regents/TOPS core curriculum by high school 
graduation; or 

b. for students graduating from high school or 
completing the 12th grade level of home school in academic 
years (high school) 2011-2012 and thereafter, the student 
must be working towards completing the Louisiana Core 4 
curriculum as approved by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education; 

2.a. through the fall semester or fall and winter term of 
the 2008-2009 academic year (college) have a PLAN® or 
ACT (or an equivalent SAT) composite score of at least 17 
to enroll in a college degree course unless the postsecondary 
institution requires the student to meet the criteria in 
§1405.B.2.b. below; 

b. for the spring semester or term of the 2008-2009 
academic year (college) and thereafter, have a PLAN® 
composite score of at least 17 or ACT (or an equivalent 
SAT) composite score of at least 18 to enroll in a college 
degree course; 

3. have a PLAN® or ACT (or an equivalent SAT) 
English sub-score of at least 18 or meet the postsecondary 
institution's pre-requisite requirement to enroll in an entry 
level English college degree course; 

4. have a PLAN® or ACT (or an equivalent SAT) 
mathematics sub-score of at least 18 or meet the 
postsecondary institution's pre-requisite requirement to 
enroll in an entry level mathematics college degree course. 

C. Enrollment in an Enrichment/Developmental Course. 
In addition to the eligibility criteria in Paragraphs A.1-6: 

1.a. for students graduating from high school or 
completing the 12th grade level of home school in academic 
years (high school) 2008-2009 through 2010-2011, the 
student must be working towards completing the Louisiana 
Board of Regents/TOPS core curriculum by high school 
graduation; or 

b. for students graduating from high school or 
completing the 12th grade level of home school in academic 
years (high school) 2011-2012 and thereafter, the student 

must be working towards completing the Louisiana Core 4 
curriculum as approved by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education; 

2.a. through the fall semester or fall and winter term of 
the 2008-2009 academic year (college), have a PLAN® or 
ACT (or an equivalent SAT) composite score of at least 12 
to enroll in an enrichment/developmental course unless the 
postsecondary institution requires the student to meet the 
criteria in §1405.C.2.b. below; 

b. for the spring semester or term of the 2008-2009 
academic year (college) and thereafter, have a PLAN® 
composite score of at least 14 or ACT (or an equivalent 
SAT) composite score of at least 15 to enroll in an 
enrichment/developmental course or meet the postsecondary 
institution's pre-requisite requirement to enroll in the course; 

D. Enrollment in a Work Skills Course. In addition to the 
eligibility criteria in Paragraphs A.1-6, a student must have: 

1.a through the fall semester or fall and winter term of 
the 2008-2009 academic year (college), a PLAN® or ACT 
Composite score (or an equivalent SAT score) of at least 12 
unless the postsecondary institution requires the student to 
meet the criteria in §1405.D.1.b. below or a WorkKeys 
Bronze Certificate; 

b. for the spring semester or term of the 2008-2009 
academic year (college) and thereafter, PLAN® composite 
score of 14 or ACT Composite score (or an equivalent SAT 
score) of at least 15 or a WorkKeys Bronze Certificate; 

2.a. for students graduating from high school or 
completing the 12th grade level of home school in academic 
years (high school) 2008-2009 through 2010-2011 and 
thereafter: 
 i. be working towards completing the Louisiana 
Board of Regents/TOPS core curriculum by high school 
graduation; or 
 ii. be working towards and on track to graduate 
from high school and have a declared Career Area of 
Concentration; 

b. for students graduating from high school or 
completing the 12th grade level of home school in academic 
year (high school) 2011-2012 and thereafter: 
 i. be working towards completing the Louisiana 
Core 4 curriculum as approved by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education; or 
 ii. be working towards and on track to graduate 
from high school and have declared a Career Area of 
Concentration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3129.7 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2610 (December 2007), amended LR 34:240 (February 
2008), LR 35:232 (February 2009), LR 44: 

§1407. Continuing Enrollment  
A. To continue enrollment in subsequent semesters/terms 

in the Early Start Program, the student must: 
1. have successfully completed and earned credit in 

the last course(s) in which a student enrolled through the 
Early Start Program. If the student resigns, or withdraws 
from a course or the student's registration in the course is 
cancelled, the student must receive permission from both the 
high school and college to continue enrollment in 
subsequent semesters/terms; 

2. be in good standing at the postsecondary institution; 
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3. continue to meet eligibility requirements in 
§1405.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2610 (December 2007), amended LR 34:241 (February 
2008), LR 35:233 (February 2009), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1409. Responsibilities of High Schools and School 

Boards and Parents of Home School Students 
A. The student's high school or the parent of a home 

school student shall: 
1. determine whether the student meets the initial 

eligibility criteria provided in §1405.A; 
2. approve or disapprove the student's participation in 

the program; 
3. approve the course or courses in which the student 

will enroll; 
4. provide to the postsecondary institution at which 

the student will be dually enrolled: 
a. the student's approved application; and 
b. the student's PLAN and/or ACT test scores, 

including sub-scores on those tests required to enroll in 
specific courses as provided in §1405.B-D. 

B. By forwarding the student's application to the 
postsecondary institution, the student's high school or the 
parent of a home school student certifies that it has 
determined that the student has met all criteria in §1405.A to 
participate in the Early Start Program and has approved the 
student's participation in the program and the course or 
courses in which the student will be enrolled. 

C. Student must be enrolled in a college course for 
which high school or home school credit is attempted and 
recorded on the student's secondary permanent academic 
record, including the high school course, units attempted, 
units earned, and course grade, unless the student withdraws 
before the college's census date or the student's enrollment is 
cancelled. 

D. At the end of each semester or term of participation in 
the program, the student's high school or the parent of a 
home school student shall determine whether the student has 
met the criterion in §1407.A.1 for continued enrollment in 
the Early Start Program. If the student is determined eligible 
and the high school or the parent of a home school student 
approves the student's continued participation in the 
program, it shall so notify the postsecondary institution and 
provide the course or courses approved for enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2610 (December 2007), amended LR 34:241 (February 
2008), LR 35:233 (February 2009), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1413. Responsibilities of Eligible Louisiana 

Postsecondary Institutions  
A. Each eligible Louisiana postsecondary institution that 

participates in the Early Start Program shall: 
1. be responsible for determining that the student 

meets the PLAN or ACT eligibility criteria provided in 
§1405.B-D; 

2. reserve Early Start Program funds when the student 
enrolled in a public high school is accepted and enrolled in 
an appropriate course; 

3. submit a payment request to LOSFA for public high 
school students enrolled at the institution for whom a 
reservation was made as follows: 

a. for each public high school student eligible for 
the Early Start Program who is enrolled at the end of the 
14th class day or later for semester schools, or the 9th class 
day or later for quarter and term schools; 

b. payment request amount. Each semester or term, 
the postsecondary institution in which a student is enrolled 
in an Early Start course shall submit a payment request to 
LOSFA during the period the billing portal is open for each 
semester/term for which the student is enrolled in the 
amount of $100 per credit hour in which the student is 
enrolled, not to exceed $300 for each college course. 
Payment requests received outside of these timeframes will 
not be paid unless approved by the board; 

c. the postsecondary institution may not charge the 
student any mandatory institutional and tuition fees for 
enrollment in a course paid for by the Early Start Program; 

d. the payment request shall include the Social 
Security number, college code, high school code, term, date, 
college course type, hours attempted, and amount requested 
for each student; 

4. for each nonpublic high school student and each 
home school, submit to LOSFA within 30 days of the census 
date of the semester/term for which the student is accepted 
in the Early Start Program the student's name, Social 
Security number, college code, high school code, term, date, 
college course type, hours attempted; 

5. for students who have been previously enrolled in 
the Early Start Program, determine whether the student is in 
good standing at that institution; 

6. by submitting a payment request to LOSFA, the 
postsecondary institution certifies that: 

a. the student meets the eligibility criteria provided 
in §1405.B-D for the college course in which the student is 
dually enrolled; 

b. the student was enrolled at the end of the 14th 
class day or later for semester schools, or the 9th class day or 
later for quarter and term schools; 

c. the student's high school or the parent of a home 
school student has provided notice that the student is eligible 
for and has been approved to continue participation in the 
program; and 

d. the student's high school or the parent of a home 
school student has provided notice of the course or courses 
approved for enrollment; 

e. the student is in good standing at the institution; 
7. verify that the student is enrolled in a college 

course for which college credit is attempted and recorded on 
the student's postsecondary permanent academic record, 
including the college course, credit attempted, credit earned, 
and course grade, unless the student withdraws before the 
college's census date or the student's enrollment is cancelled; 

8. report student level outcome data to the board 
according to the board’s specifications. 

B. Records Retention 
1. Records pertaining to the Early Start Program are 

subject to audit as required by LOSFA, the board, and the 
Louisiana Legislative Auditor. Postsecondary institutions 
shall maintain all records for a minimum of three years. All 
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such records shall be made available upon request by 
LOSFA, the board and the Louisiana Legislative Auditor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2611 (December 2007), amended LR 34:241 (February 
2008), LR 35:234 (February 2009), LR 44: 

§1415. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Board of 

Regents  
A. The board shall provide a student application to 

participate in the Early Start Program. 
B. The board shall maintain a Statewide General 

Education Course Articulation Matrix for participating 
public postsecondary institutions. 

C. The board shall approve on a semester by semester 
basis the courses offered by LAICU postsecondary 
institutions that are approved for use in the Early Start 
Program. 

D. In the event that the funds appropriated for the Early 
Start Program are insufficient to pay for all eligible public 
high school students, the board shall develop, approve and 
deliver a plan to LOSFA to address the shortfall. 

E. The board shall provide specifications for submitting 
student level outcome data as required by §1413.A.8. 

F. The board shall promulgate administrative rules in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2611 (December 2007), amended LR 34:242 (February 
2008), LR 35:234 (February 2009), LR 38:1229 (May 2012), LR 
44: 

§1417. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. Upon receipt of payment requests from institutions 

submitted in accordance with §1413.A, LOSFA shall pay the 
institution for each eligible student in accordance with 
§1413. 

B. LOSFA shall conduct audits of the participating 
eligible Louisiana postsecondary institutions to ensure 
compliance with program requirements. 

C. LOSFA shall provide the information necessary to 
fully inform Louisiana public high school students and their 
parents on the requirements of and procedures for applying 
for and maintaining eligibility for the Early Start Program. 

D. LOSFA shall audit high schools and postsecondary 
institutions to ensure compliance with these rules. 

E. LOSFA shall maintain a database of all students who 
have participated in the Early Start Program, including 
Social Security number, college code, high school code, 
term, date, college course type, hours attempted, payment 
amount, and aggregate amount paid. 

F.1. After the receipt of fall semester or term payment 
requests, but no later than October 15 of each year, LOSFA 
shall determine whether sufficient funds are available for all 
anticipated program payments for subsequent semesters and 
terms of the academic year. 

2. In the event projections indicate sufficient funds are 
not available, LOSFA shall notify the board. 

3. In the event additional funds are not allocated for 
all program payments anticipated for subsequent semesters 
and terms during the academic year, the board shall develop, 
approve and deliver a plan to LOSFA to address the 
shortfall. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2611 (December 2007), amended LR 34:242 (February 
2008), LR 35:234 (February (2009), LR 44: 

§1419. Responsibilities of LASFAC 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2612 (December 2007), amended LR 34:242 (February 
2008), repealed LR 44: 

Chapter 15. Grant Opportunity for  
Youth ChalleNGe Skills  
Training Program 

§1501. General Provisions 
A. Legislative Authority. The Louisiana Grant 

Opportunity for Youth ChalleNGe Skills Training Program 
(the GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program) was created by Act 826 
of the 2003 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

B. Purpose. It is the purpose of the program to encourage 
and assist those students who graduate from the Louisiana 
National Guard's Youth ChalleNGe Program to continue 
their education and enhance their employment opportunities 
by providing tuition at an eligible Louisiana postsecondary 
institution. 

C. Effective Dates. The program shall be available to any 
student who completes the Louisiana National Guard's Youth 
ChalleNGe Program after June 30, 2003. 

D. Eligible Courses of Study. The program grant may be 
used to pursue postsecondary skill or occupational training, 
including a vocational technical education certificate or 
diploma or a nonacademic undergraduate degree. 

E. Eligible Institutions. Eligible students may use the 
program grant at the following institutions: 

1. Louisiana public community colleges that offer 
skill or occupational training and the Louisiana Technical 
College; and 

2. a regionally accredited independent college or 
university in the state that is a member of the Louisiana 
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities and 
offers skill or occupational training. 

F. Grant Amounts. The program grant shall be paid for a 
period not to exceed the equivalent of two program years 
(non-academic) in an amount: 

1. equal to the actual cost of tuition for a student 
enrolled in a Louisiana public postsecondary institution; 

2. equal to the average tuition amount paid for 
students attending public postsecondary institutions for a 
student enrolled at a regionally accredited independent 
college or university in the state that is a member of the 
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and 
Universities. See §1903.B.8 for method of computation. 
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G. Definitions. For the purposes of this Chapter, the 
following definitions are applicable: 

Certification―the time at which LOSFA has received 
both the certification from the State Military Department and 
the results of the FAFSA data from the federal processor. 

FAFSA―the Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
used to apply for federal grant aid and eligibility for other 
federal assistance. 

Graduate―a student who has completed the Louisiana 
GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program and, no later than 18 months 
after entry into the program, received a Louisiana High 
School Equivalency Diploma. 

Program―the GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program. 

Resident of Louisiana―a student who actually resides 
in Louisiana during the 24 months prior to the month the 
student enrolls for the first time as a full-time student in an 
eligible institution as a recipient of a grant under the 
program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:782 (April 2004), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1503. Establishing Initial Eligibility 
A. To establish initial eligibility for participation in the 

program, the student must meet all of the following criteria: 
1. be a citizen of the United States or designated by 

the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) as a 
permanent resident; and 

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §1501; and 
3. graduate from the residential phase of the Louisiana 

National Guard's Youth ChalleNGe Program; and 
4. have earned a Louisiana High School Equivalency 

Diploma; and 
5. not have a criminal conviction, except for 

misdemeanor traffic violations; and 
6. if the student has been in the United States Armed 

Forces and has separated from such service, has received an 
honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable 
conditions; and 

7. submit a FAFSA for every year of enrollment in a 
postsecondary institution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:782 (April 2004), amended LR 44: 

§1505. Deadline to Enroll as a Full-Time Student 
A. In order to receive a grant under the program, a 

student must have met the criteria defined in §1503 and, 
unless granted an exception for cause by the Louisiana 
Board of Regents (the board), enrolled as a full-time student: 

1. not later than the semester or term, excluding 
summer semesters or sessions, immediately following the 
first anniversary of the date that the student graduated from 
the Louisiana National Guard's Youth ChalleNGge Program; 
or 

2. if the student Joins the United States Armed Forces 
upon graduation from the Louisiana National Guard's Youth 
ChalleNGe Program, not later than the semester, excluding 
summer semesters or sessions, immediately following the 
5th anniversary of the date that the student graduated

Louisiana National Guard's Youth ChalleNGe Program or 
within one year from the date of discharge or one year from 
separation from active duty, whichever is earlier. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:783 (April 2004), amended LR 44: 

§1507. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the program grant, the student 

must meet all of the following criteria: 
1. have received the program grant for not more than 

two years, unless granted an exception for cause; and 
2. continue to enroll each subsequent semester or 

quarter (excluding summer sessions and intersessions unless 
required by the institution for a particular course of study) as 
a full-time student, unless granted an exception for cause; 
and 

3. maintain steady academic progress as defined in 
§301; and 

4. earn at least 24 hours each program year (non-

academic program) as defined in §301, unless granted an 
exception for cause; and 

5. maintain a cumulative grade point average of at 
least 2.50 on a 4.00 scale at the end of each program year 
(non-academic program); and 

6. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations; and 

7. if the student has been in the United States Armed 
Forces and has separated from such service, has received an 
honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable 
conditions; and 

8. submit a FAFSA or renewal FAFSA for each 
academic year during which the student is enrolled in a 
postsecondary institution. 

B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 
§1507.A.3 and 5 may have their tuition grants reinstated 
upon regaining steady academic progress (see §301) and/or 
attainment of the required GPA, if the student has 
maintained other continuation requirements and the period 
of ineligibility did not persist for more than one year from 
the date of loss of eligibility. If the one-year period is 
interrupted due to a student's active duty in the United States 
Armed Forces, the one-year period will be extended for the 
length of time equal to the student's active duty service, not 
to exceed four years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:783 (April 2004), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1509. Responsibilities of the State Military 

Department (SMD)  
A. The State Military Department is responsible for 

determining whether participants in the Louisiana Youth 
ChalleNGe Program meet the eligibility requirements to 
participate in the program set forth in §1503.A.1-6 above. 
The submission of a student's data for the GO-Youth 
ChalleNGe Program shall constitute a certification by the 
State Military Department that the student meets the 
requirements of §1503.A.1-6, specified above, except that 
the certification shall not include the certification of
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residency required by §1503.A.2, if a participant does not 
meet the residency requirement at the time the participant is 
awarded a Louisiana High School Equivalency Certificate. 

B. For each student determined to be eligible to 
participate in the program, the State Military Department 
shall provide the following student data in an electronic file 
format acceptable to LOSFA: 

1. name; 
2. Social Security number; 
3. permanent mailing address; 
4. telephone number; 
5. date enrolled in the Louisiana Youth ChalleNGe 

Program; 
6. date the student completed the residential phase of 

the Louisiana National Guard's Youth ChalleNGe Program; 
7. date received a Louisiana High School Equivalency 

Diploma; 
8. students' order of merit ranking within their class; 

and 
9. if the student does not have 24 months of Louisiana 

residency at the time the Louisiana High School 
Equivalency Certificate is awarded, the date of initial 
Louisiana residency. 

C. To the extent funds are appropriated to the State 
Military Department to fund the program, the State Military 
Department shall take such actions as are necessary to 
promptly transfer such funds to LOSFA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:783 (April 2004), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1511. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. Upon certification by the SMD that students have met 

program criteria, LOSFA shall make the students eligible for 
the program grant as long as funds appropriated for that 
purpose are available. 

B. LOSFA shall determine whether participants meet the 
residency requirement in §1503.A.2 above, if the residency 
requirement has not been met at the time the participant 
earns a Louisiana High School Equivalency Certificate. 

C. Upon receipt of bills from institutions submitted in 
accordance with §1903.B, LOSFA will reimburse the 
institution for each eligible student in accordance with 
§1903. 

D. LOSFA shall conduct audits of the Louisiana Youth 
ChalleNGe Program campuses and postsecondary 
institutions to ensure compliance with program 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025 and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:783 (April 2004), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1513. Funding Shortfall 
A. LOSFA shall not make students eligible if funds 

appropriated for the program are not available or if funds 
have not been appropriated for the program. 

B. In the event appropriated funds are insufficient to 
fully reimburse institutions for the grants for all students 
determined eligible for the program for a given academic

year, then the number of eligible students shall be reduced in 
accordance with the following procedures until such funds 
are sufficient. 

1. Awarded students who meet the requirements for 
continuation will be funded first; however, if there are 
insufficient funds for all such students, the students who 
have completed the most hours will be funded first and, if 
there are ties, the students with the highest cumulative grade 
point average will be funded first. 

2. Any remaining students will be awarded according 
to their order of merit as determined by the SMD, based on 
the student's performance in the Louisiana Youth ChalleNGe 
Program. 

C. Should additional funds become available after a 
budget shortfall, LOSFA shall restore students' grants in 
accordance with the priorities established in Subsection B, 
above, until such funds are exhausted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 30:784 (April 2004), repromulgated LR 44: 

Chapter 16. Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness 
Program 

§1601. General Provisions 
A. The Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness Program 

is administered by the Louisiana Office of Student Financial 
Assistance (LOSFA) under the direction of the Louisiana 
Board of Regents (the board). 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Health Care 
Educator Loan Forgiveness Program (Program) is 
established to provide funding to individuals to pursue an 
advanced degree, either masters or doctoral degree, in 
nursing or allied health. The purpose of the program is to 
provide an incentive for individuals who receive an 
advanced degree in nursing or allied health education to 
become postsecondary education faculty members in the 
field of registered nursing or top demand allied health 
education. 

C. Effective Date. Health Care Educator Loans shall be 
disbursed by the board beginning with the 2008-2009 
academic year. 

D. Eligible Semesters/Terms. Health Care Educator 
Loans will be disbursed to recipients seeking a master's 
degree in August and January. Health Care Educator Loans 
will be disbursed to recipients pursuing a doctoral degree in 
August, January, and June, if applicable. 

E. Award Amount. A Health Care Educator Loan 
Forgiveness Program recipient may receive up to $20,000 
per academic year. Recipients pursuing a master's degree 
may receive a lifetime maximum loan of $40,000 and may 
receive two disbursements of $10,000, one in August and 
one in January. Recipients pursuing a doctoral degree may 
receive a lifetime maximum loan of $60,000 and may 
receive up to three disbursements per academic year, 
depending upon whether he is enrolled full-time or at least 
2/3 time. A recipient pursuing a doctoral degree may receive 
$10,000 if he is enrolled full-time and $5,000 if he is 
enrolled at least 2/3 time, one disbursement in August and 
one disbursement in January. A recipient who has not
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received $20,000 during the academic year and who enrolls 
during the summer term will receive $5,000 in June. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:224 (February 2009), amended LR 44: 

§1603. Definitions 
A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 

Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Academic Year―the academic year begins with the fall 
semester or term of the award year, includes the winter term, 
if applicable, the spring semester or term, and concludes 
with the completion of the summer term, if applicable. 

Enrolled Full-Time—the student is enrolled for at least 
9 semester hours in the fall or spring (or equivalent for 
term), 6 semester hours in the summer or equivalent as 
determined by the program in which he is enrolled. 

Enrolled 2/3 Time—the student is enrolled for at least 6 
semester hours in the fall or spring (or equivalent for term). 

Participating Institution―a postsecondary institution 
that has been approved by the board to participate in the 
Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness Program. 

Recipient―a masters or doctoral degree student who 
has been nominated by a participating institution to 
participate in the Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness 
Program and who has completed a master promissory note to 
receive program funds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:224 (February 2009), amended LR 36:2550 (November 
2010), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1605. Participation in the Program 
A. To participate in the Health Care Educator Loan 

Forgiveness Program, a student must be nominated to 
participate in the program by a participating institution. 

B. Once nominated, a student must complete and return 
a master promissory note to the Louisiana Office of Student 
Financial Assistance. By signing the master promissory note, 
the student agrees that: 

1. for students seeking a masters degree: 
a. he will enroll full-time in the degree program 

during the fall, winter, if applicable, and spring 
semesters/terms; 

b. he will remain enrolled full-time unless granted 
an exception to this requirement by the board; 

c. upon completion of his degree program, he will 
become a full-time nurse or allied health faculty member at 
the institution which nominated him for the health care 
educator loan; 

d. he will remain a full-time nurse or allied health 
education faculty member until he teaches one year for each 
$10,000 he received; 

2. for students seeking a doctoral degree: 
a. he will enroll full-time, or at least 2/3 time, in the 

degree program during the fall, winter, if applicable, and 
spring semesters/terms; 

b. he will remain enrolled full-time, or at least  
2/3 time, unless granted an exception to this requirement by 
the board; 

c. upon completion of his degree program, he will 
become a full-time nurse or allied health faculty member at 
the institution which nominated him for the health care 
educator loan; 

d. he will remain a full-time nurse or allied health 
education faculty member until he teaches one full year for 
each $10,000 he received. 

C. A recipient will be eligible to continue to receive 
Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness Program loans until 
he obtains his masters or doctoral degree, provided that he 
continues to maintain full time enrollment, or at least  
2/3 time enrollment for doctoral degree students, unless an 
exception to this requirement is granted for cause in 
accordance with §1607. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:225 (February 2009), amended LR 44: 

§1607. Exceptions to Program Requirements 
A. Exception to the full time enrollment requirement, or 

2/3 time enrollment for those seeking a doctoral degree. 
1. The board may grant an exception to the full-time 

enrollment requirement or 2/3 time for doctoral students, if 
all of the following conditions are met. 

a. The recipient has a temporary mental or physical 
disability, or other circumstance for which the board may 
deem an exception is appropriate. 

b. The recipient requests an exception and provides 
such documentation as the board requires in order to 
evaluate whether an exception should be granted. 

c. The recipient requests and obtains approval for 
the exception prior to withdrawing from enrollment or 
decreasing the number of hours in which he is enrolled. 

2. The board may grant an exception to the 
requirement to become a full-time nurse or allied health 
education faculty member if the following conditions are 
met. 

a. The recipient has a temporary mental or physical 
disability or other circumstance for which the board may 
deem an exception is appropriate. 

b. The recipient requests an exception and provides 
such documentation as the board requires to evaluate 
whether an exception should be granted. 

c. The recipient requests and obtains approval for 
the exception prior to terminating his employment or 
otherwise fails to meet the requirement to teach full-time as 
a registered nursing or allied health education faculty 
member. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:225 (February 2009), amended LR 44: 

§1609. Discharge of Obligation 
A. The obligations of the recipient may be discharged by 

cancellation, teaching for the required period of obligation, 
or by monetary repayment. 
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B. Cancellation. The board may discharge the 
requirement to maintain full-time enrollment, or 2/3 time for 
doctoral degree students, the requirement to complete the 
degree program in which the recipient is enrolled, or the 
requirement to teach full-time as a registered nurse or allied 
health education faculty member under the following 
circumstances: 

1. the recipient has a permanent mental or physical 
disability, or other circumstance for which the board may 
deem discharge is appropriate; and 

2. the recipient provides such documentation as the 
board requires in order to evaluate whether a discharge 
should be granted; or 

3. the participating institution at which the recipient is 
employed requests that the board discharge the teaching 
requirement and provides such documentation that the board 
requires to make a determination that the obligation should 
be discharged. 

C. Fulfillment of Teaching Requirement. The obligation 
may be discharged under the following conditions: 

1. the recipient secures full-time employment as a 
nurse or allied health program faculty member at the 
institution which nominated him for the loan program or at 
another participating institution with the assistance and 
approval of the institution which nominated him for the loan 
program; and 

2. the recipient begins teaching full-time as a nurse or 
allied health program faculty member no later than the 
semester following the semester the student obtains his 
masters or doctoral degree; or 

3. if the student is unable to secure employment as a 
fulltime faculty member at the institution which nominated 
him for the loan program or at another participating 
institution with the assistance and approval of the institution 
which nominated him for the loan program, the recipient 
may fulfill the teaching obligation by working in a public 
health facility, state office, or other alternative service as the 
board may deem appropriate. The student must seek and 
obtain board approval prior to undertaking such an 
alternative service position; 

4. each year of full time teaching or other alternative 
service as approved by the board will discharge $10,000 of 
the obligation. 

D. Monetary Repayment. A recipient may be terminated 
from participation in the program either with or without 
default. 

1. Termination without Default 
a. Termination without default occurs when: 

 i. the recipient's enrollment in the degree 
program for which he received program funds is 
discontinued; 
 ii. the recipient fails to remain enrolled on a full-
time basis, or 2/3 time for doctoral students; or 
 iii. the recipient fails to maintain good academic 
standing. 

b. In the event of termination without default, the 
recipient must repay the total of program funds received plus 
interest to LOSFA within 90 days of the date an event listed 
in §1609.D.1.a.(i)-(iii) occurs. 

c. Interest will accrue at the prime interest rate at 
the time the condition in §1609.D.1.a.(i)-(iii) occurs plus  

3 percent. Interest will accrue from the date of each 
disbursement. 

2. Termination with Default 
a. Termination with default occurs: 

 i. if, upon completion of the degree, the recipient 
fails to obtain a full-time faculty position in a nurse or allied 
health education program or fails to obtain approval for an 
alternative service position without just cause; or 
 ii. the recipient is terminated from his 
employment for cause or voluntarily leaves his employment 
prior to fulfillment of the teaching obligation. 

b. In the event of termination with default, the 
principal due at the time of default will be calculated in 
accordance with the following formula. 
 i. [(a/b) x (b-c)]3 = d. 
 ii. For purposes of the formula above, "a" is equal 
to the total of the loans disbursed; "b" is equal to the months 
of service obligation required; "c" is equal to the number of 
months of the teaching obligation that were fulfilled; and "d" 
is equal to the total principal balance at the time repayment 
begins. 

c. Interest will accrue on the principal due at the 
prime rate at the time of default plus 3 percent. 

d. Interest will begin to accrue 60 days following 
the board's determination that the recipient is in default and 
shall accrue for the duration of the repayment period. 

e. The recipient must make payment in full of the 
total amount due or begin making monthly payments no later 
than 60 days after the date of default and shall pay at least 25 
percent of the total amount, including interest, due each 
calendar year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:225 (February 2009), amended LR 44: 

§1611. Responsibilities of Program Fund Recipients 
A. Each recipient of program funds shall: 

1. provide LOSFA with a completed master 
promissory note and W-9 form; 

2. provide the board with documentation that he was 
enrolled, in good academic standing, full- time, or 2/3 time 
for doctoral students, not later than August 15, January 15, 
or June 15, if applicable, of each academic year during 
which he is to receive program funds; 

3. provide the board with documentation that he has 
undertaken to discharge his obligation: 

a. by teaching full-time as a nurse or allied health 
program faculty member; or 

b. by working in a public health facility, state office, 
or other alternative service as the board previously approved 
in accordance with §1615.F; 

4. provide any other information to the board or 
LOSFA as deemed necessary to process a request for an 
exception to the program requirements or a request for 
discharge of the obligations of the recipient in connection 
with the receipt of program funds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:226 (February 2009), repromulgated LR 44: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2305

§1613. Responsibilities of Participating Institutions 
A. Each participating institution shall: 

1. nominate individuals to participate in the Health 
Educator Loan Forgiveness Program in accordance with 
specifications to be provided to it by the board; 

2. provide the board with the following information 
on each nominee: 

a. name; 
b. current address; 
c. Social Security number; 
d. program of study; and 
e. anticipated graduation date; 
f. other information as requested by the board. 

3. at the request of the board, provide documentation 
that recipients enrolled full-time, or at least 2/3 time for 
doctoral students, if the recipient is enrolled at that 
institution, and that the student is in good academic 
standing; 

4. at the request of the board, provide documentation 
that a recipient is or was employed as a full-time registered 
nurse or allied health education faculty member. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:226 (February 2009), amended LR 44: 

§1615. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Board of 

Regents 
A. The board shall notify each institution that is eligible 

to participate in the program of its eligibility, the number of 
students it may nominate for the academic year, and the 
number of those students nominated which may be enrolled 
as a masters or doctoral degree students. 

B. The board shall collect information from the 
participating institutions as set forth in §1613.A-D. The 
board shall notify all participating institutions if additional 
information is required. 

C. The board shall provide the information collected 
from participating institutions regarding nominees to LOSFA 
within 30 days of receipt in a format to be agreed upon 
between the board and LOSFA. 

D. In the event a recipient is terminated from 
participation in the program, the board will determine 
whether it is with or without default, determine the date the 
termination if without default or the date of default if with 
default and immediately notify LOSFA. 

E. The board will receive requests for exception to 
program requirements and requests for discharge from 
participating institutions and recipients. It will evaluate the 
requests and notify the participating institution and/or 
recipient if additional information is needed to process the 
request and what that information is. It will notify the 
participating institution, the recipient, and LOSFA of any 
determination regarding a request for exception to program 
requirements or for discharge. 

F. The board will evaluate a request by a recipient to 
undertake to discharge his obligation by a form of service 
other than as a full-time registered nurse or allied health 
education faculty member and approve or deny such request 
in writing. 

G. The board shall promulgate administrative rules in 
accordance with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure 
Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:226 (February 2009), amended LR 44: 

§1617. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. LOSFA shall: 

1. obtain program nominee information from the 
board and provide the nominee with a master promissory 
note, written instructions, and a W-9 form; 

2. LOSFA will pay program funds directly to the 
student when all of the following have been satisfied: 

a. it has received a completed, signed master 
promissory note; 

b. it has received a completed W-9; and 
c. it has received confirmation from the board that a 

recipient was enrolled full-time, or at least 2/3 time for 
doctoral degree students in accordance with §1611.B; 

3. LOSFA will maintain a secure database of all 
information collected on recipients and former recipients, 
including name, address, Social Security number, program 
of study, name of the institution which nominated the 
student for the loan program, name of the institution at 
which a recipient was enrolled when receiving program 
funds, anticipated graduation date, amount disbursed, and 
maximum amount available; 

4. upon notification by the board that a recipient has 
been terminated from the program without default, LOSFA 
will: 

a. calculate the total amount due; 
b. notify recipient of the date of the event listed in 

§1609.D.1.a.(i)-(iii) and that he has 90 days from that date to 
pay the full amount due; 

c. if payment is not received within 90 days of the 
date of termination as determined by the board, LOSFA will 
institute collection activities and forward the file to the 
collection division of the Louisiana Attorney General's 
Office; 

5. upon notification by the board that a recipient has 
been terminated from the program with default, LOSFA will: 

a. calculate the total amount due; 
b. notify recipient of the date of default and that he 

has 60 days from the date of default to pay the full amount 
due or begin making monthly payments in amount sufficient 
to pay at least 25 percent of the total amount due, including 
interest, each calendar year; 

c. if payment of the total amount due or repayment 
does not begin within 60 days of the date of default, LOSFA 
will institute collection activities, including forwarding the 
file to the collection division of the Louisiana Attorney 
General's Office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:227 (February 2009), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1619. Responsibilities of LASFAC 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:227 (February 2009), repealed LR 44: 
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Chapter 17. Responsibilities of High Schools, School 
Boards, Special School Governing 
Boards, the Louisiana Department of 
Education and the Louisiana Board of 
Regents on Behalf of Eligible Non-
Louisiana High Schools 

§1701. Eligibility of Graduates Based upon the High 

School Attended 
A. Graduates of the following high schools are eligible to 

participate in the Louisiana Board of Regent’s (the board) 
Scholarship and Grant Programs, as authorized herein: 

1. Louisiana Public High Schools―public high 
schools listed in the electronic STSQ14 report, High School 
Sites Extract File, provided annually by the Louisiana 
Department of Education to LOSFA; 

2. approved nonpublic high schools: 
a. nonpublic high schools approved by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) pursuant to 
R.S. 17:11 and which meet the standards required by BESE 
for students of the school to be eligible to receive from the 
state the benefit of appropriations for such items as 
transportation, textbooks, and administrative cost 
reimbursement; and 

b. nonpublic schools approved by BESE pursuant to 
R.S. 17:11 prior to May 15, 2000, which have applied for 
and have had their application forwarded by the Louisiana 
Department of Education prior to May 15, 2000, seeking the 
approval necessary for the students in such school to be 
eligible to receive from the state the benefit of 
appropriations for such items as transportation, textbooks, 
and administrative cost reimbursement; and starting the 
2003-2004 high school academic year, meet the 
requirements to be eligible to receive from the state the 
benefit of such appropriations; 

c. the approvals by BESE may be provisional or 
probational approvals; 

d. approved nonpublic high schools are listed in the 
electronic STSQ14 report, High School Sites Extract File, 
provided annually to LOSFA by the Louisiana Department 
of Education. 

3. eligible non-Louisiana high schools-eligible non-
Louisiana high schools are high schools which meet all of 
the following: 

a. are in a state adjoining the state of Louisiana; and 
b. have provided the board with acceptable 

evidence of an agreement dated prior to June 5, 1994, 
between a parish school system in the state of Louisiana and 
the high school's local governing authority, which authorizes 
the attendance of students who are residents of Louisiana; 
and 

c. have students who graduate during the academic 
year preceding the award year, who were residents of 
Louisiana and who were funded through the Louisiana 
Minimum Foundation Program; and 

d. have certified the academic performance of 
Louisiana graduates, in accordance with §1703; 

4. Out-of-State High Schools— 
a. all other public or non-public high schools 

located in one of the United States or territories of the 
United States, other than Louisiana: 

 i. which have been approved by the state or 
territory's chief school officer, or by the public body which is 
that state's or territory's equivalent of the Louisiana Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); or 
 ii.  which high school has been approved by the 
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools' Commission 
on Secondary and Middle Schools and can demonstrate that 
it meets the standards adopted by BESE for approval of 
nonpublic schools of Louisiana as set forth in §1701.A.2, 
above; or 
 iii. for students graduating during the 2002-2003 
school year and thereafter, which high school has been 
approved by a regional accrediting organization recognized 
by the United States Department of Education and can 
demonstrate that it meets the standards adopted by BESE for 
approval of nonpublic schools of Louisiana as set forth in 
§1701.A.2, above; and 
 iv. for students graduating during the 2009-2010 
school year and thereafter with an international 
baccalaureate diploma, which high school has been 
approved by the International Baccalaureate Organization to 
issue such a diploma; 

b. graduates of out-of-state high schools are eligible 
to participate in the Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship 
and the Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership 
Program; 

c. graduates of out-of-state high schools who are 
Louisiana residents or the dependents of a Louisiana resident 
serving on active duty with the armed forces or who have a 
parent who is a Louisiana resident are eligible to participate 
in TOPS; 

d. a school will be deemed to be approved by the 
appropriate state agency if that state agency certifies: 
 i. that the high school in question received 
funding from the state to cover all or a portion of the costs of 
instruction; and 
 ii. that the high school in question adopted and 
does adhere to state and federal non-discrimination policies 
and statutes; 

5. Out-of-Country High Schools 
a. all other public or non-public high schools 

located outside the United States or the territories of the 
United States that meet the standards adopted by BESE for 
approval of nonpublic schools in Louisiana and which are 
accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the 
United States Department of Education; and 

b. those high schools located in foreign countries 
which have been authorized or approved by a department in 
the executive branch of the United States government to 
teach the dependents of members of the U.S. Armed Forces 
stationed abroad; and 

c. for students graduating during the 2009-2010 
school year and thereafter with an international 
baccalaureate diploma, those high schools located outside 
the United States and its territories that have been approved 
by the International Baccalaureate Organization to issue 
such a diploma. 

B. Non-high school graduates who have earned a 
Louisiana High School Equivalency Diploma (GED) in lieu 
of a high school diploma are eligible to participate in the
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Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership (LEAP) 
Grant Program and the Louisiana GO-Youth ChalleNGe 
Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3129.7, R.S. 17:5001 et seq., and R.S. 
17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:642 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1911 (October 1998), LR 25:849 (May 1999), LR 
26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1997 (September 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1862 (November 2001), amended LR 30:784 
(April 2004), LR 30:1165 (June 2004), LR 34:242 (February 2008), 
LR 40:56 (January 2014), LR 44:  

§1703. High School's Certification of Student 

Achievement 
A. Responsibility for Reporting and Certifying Student 

Performance 
1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), 

responsibility for the identification and certification of high 
school graduates who meet the academic qualifications for a 
TOPS Award is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal's designee for public 
high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by BESE; 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school; 

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an out-
of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by the board. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), responsibility for the submission and certification of 
courses attempted and the grades earned for high school 
graduates is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal's designee for public 
high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by BESE; 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school; 

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an out-
of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by the board. 

3. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
certify to the board the names of students who are enrolled 
in and have completed all mandatory requirements through 
the twelfth grade level of a state-approved home study 
program. 

B. Procedures for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance 

1.a. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
responsible high school authority shall record student 
performance on the form provided by the board or in an 
electronic format pre-approved by the board. The 
certification form shall be completed, certified and returned 
to the board by the deadline specified on the form. 

b. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the responsible high school authority shall submit 

the required student information in a standard electronic 
format approved by the board. 

2.a. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
certification form shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name, address, phone number and 
Social Security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. final cumulative high school grade point 
average for all courses attempted, converted to a maximum 
4.00 scale, if applicable; 

NOTE: Beginning with students graduating in 2002-2003, the 
cumulative high school grade point average will be calculated 
by using only grades obtained in completing the core 
curriculum; and 

 iv. through the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 

b. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), certification shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name and Social Security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. the course code for each course completed; 
 iv. the grade for each course completed; 
 v. designation of each advanced placement, 
international baccalaureate, gifted and dual enrollment 
course; 
 vi. the grading scale for each course reported; 
 vii. list the high school attended for each course 
reported; and 
 viii. through the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 

c. Commencing with the 2014-2015 academic year 
(high school), for each student for whom the school has been 
granted consent to collect and disclose PII to LOSFA, 
Louisiana public high schools as defined in §1703.A.1 above 
shall collect the following reportable data elements for each 
year of attendance for those students in the ninth through 
twelfth grades: 
 i. verification that the school has been granted 
written consent to collect and disclose the student’s PII to 
LOSFA from the student’s parent or legal guardian, if the 
student is not at least 18 or judicially emancipated; or by the 
student, if the student is at least 18 or judicially 
emancipated; 
 ii. student's full name, date of birth, and Social 
Security number; 
 iii. transcript data, including, but not limited to: 

(a). student’s BESE identification number; 
(b). month and year of high school graduation; 
(c). the course code for each course completed; 
(d). the grade for each course completed; 
(e). the term and year each course is completed; 
(f). designation of each advanced placement, 

International Baccalaureate, honors, gifted and talented, 
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articulated course for college credit, and dual enrollment 
course; 

(g). the grading scale for each course reported; 
and 

(h). the high school attended for each course 
reported. 

d. Commencing with the 2014-15 academic year 
(high school), certification from all approved non-public 
Louisiana high schools as defined in §1703.A.2 and 3 above 
shall contain, but is not limited to, the following reportable 
data elements: 
 i. student's full name, date of birth, and Social 
Security number; 
 ii. transcript data, including, but not limited to: 

(a). month and year of high school graduation; 
(b). the course code for each course completed; 
(c). the grade for each course completed; 
(d). the term and year each course is completed; 
(e). designation of each advanced placement, 

International Baccalaureate, honors, gifted and talented, 
articulated course for college credit, and dual enrollment 
course; 

(f). the grading scale for each course reported; 
and 

(g). the high school attended for each course 
reported. 

3. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
responsible high school authority shall certify to the board 
the final cumulative high school grade point average of each 
applicant and that average shall be inclusive of grades for all 
courses attempted and shall be computed and reported on a 
maximum 4.00 grading scale. 

a. The following grading conversion shall be used 
to report the applicant's cumulative high school grade point 
average: 
 i. letter grade A = 4 quality points; 
 ii. letter grade B = 3 quality points; 
 iii. letter grade C = 2 quality points; 
 iv. letter grade D = 1 quality point. 

b. Schools which award more than 4 quality points 
for a course must convert the course grade to a maximum 
4.00 scale using the formula described in the example that 
follows. (In this example, the school awards one extra 
quality point for an honors course.) 
 i. Example: an applicant earned a "C" in an 
Honors English IV course and received 3 out of the 5 
possible quality points that could have been awarded for the 
course. 
 ii. In converting this course grade to a standard 
4.00 maximum scale, the following formula must be used: 
 

 Scale)(Maximum 4.00

Points)Quality  (Converted X
 = 

Course the for Possible Points Maximum

Course the for Awarded PointsQuality 

 

 

 
  4.00 

 X  = 
 5.00 
 3.00 

 
 

By cross multiplying, 

 
2.40 = X 12; = 5X  

 

 iii. In this example, the quality points for this 
Honors English IV course should be recorded as 2.40 when 
the school calculates and reports the student's cumulative 
high school grade point average. 

4. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the board shall determine whether high school 
graduates have completed the core curriculum and compute 
the TOPS cumulative high school grade point average for 
each such graduate using a maximum 4.00 grading scale. 
Grades awarded on other than a maximum 4.00 scale shall 
be converted to a maximum 4.00 scale. 

C. Certifying 1998 graduates for the TOPS Performance 
Award. 1998 graduates who are ranked in the top five 
percent of their graduating class in accordance with §1703 
shall be credited with having completed the core curriculum 
for purposes of the TOPS; however, only those meeting the 
following criteria shall be eligible for the Performance 
Award by the board: 

1. those students who have attained a final cumulative 
high school grade point average of at least a 3.50 on a 4.00 
maximum scale; and 

2. an ACT score of at least 23. 
D. Certification 

1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
high school headmaster or principal or designee shall certify 
that: 

a. all data supplied on the certification form are true 
and correct, to the best of his knowledge or belief, and that 
they reflect the official records of the school for the students 
listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to the board and the 
Legislative Auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

c. the school under the principal's jurisdiction shall 
reimburse the board for the amount of a program award 
which was disbursed on behalf of a graduate of the school, 
when it is subsequently determined by audit that the school 
incorrectly certified the graduate; 

2. commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the submission of the required data by the high 
school headmaster or principal or designee shall constitute a 
certification that: 

a. all data reported are true and correct, to the best 
of his knowledge or belief, and that they reflect the official 
records of the school for the students listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to the board and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

3. commencing with the 2014-2015 academic year 
(high school), the submission of the required data by the 
high school headmaster or principal or designee of Louisiana 
public high schools as defined in §1703.A.1 above shall 
constitute a certification that: 

a. the school has complied with the requirements of 
R.S. 17:3913.K to: 
 i. beginning in the eighth grade, annually at the 
beginning of each school year, provide a form to be signed 
by the parent or legal guardian of each student enrolled in 
the school, whereby the student's parent or legal guardian
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may provide consent or deny consent for the collection and 
disclosure of the student's personally identifiable 
information as follows: 

(a). full name; 
(b). date of birth; 
(c). Social Security number; and 
(d). transcript data, including, but not limited to: 

 (i). student’s BESE identification number; 
 (ii). month and year of high school 
graduation; 
 (iii). the course code for each course 
completed; 
 (iv). the grade for each course completed; 
 (v). the term and year each course is 
completed; 
 (vi). designation of each advanced 

placement, International Baccalaureate, honors, gifted and 
talented, articulated course for college credit, and dual 
enrollment course; 
 (vii). the grading scale for each course 
reported; and 
 (viii). the high school attended for each 
course reported; 
 ii. use a form provided by LOSFA or a form 
substantially similar to LOSFA’s form that: 

(a). provides notification of exactly what items 
of student information will be collected and that disclosure 
of the student information collected will be restricted to 
Louisiana postsecondary educational institutions and the 
Office of Student Financial Assistance to be used solely for 
the purpose of processing applications for admission and for 
state and federal financial aid; 

(b). requires acknowledgment that the failure to 
provide written consent for the collection and disclosure of 
the student's information may result in delays or may prevent 
successful application for admission to a postsecondary 
educational institution and for state and federal student 
financial aid; 
 iii. collect the personally identifiable information 
for each student for whom consent was provided; 

4. commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), if a student is determined to be eligible for a TOPS 
award based on data that is incorrect and the student was in 
fact ineligible for a TOPS award or the level awarded, the 
high school must reimburse the board for the amount paid in 
excess of what the student was eligible for. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3129.7 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:643 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1912 (October 1998), LR 25:258 (February 1999), 
LR 26:1998 (September 2000), LR 26:2269 (October 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1863 (November 2001), amended LR 29:880 
(June 2003), LR 30:1165 (June 2004), LR 40:57 (January 2014), 
LR 41:656 (April 2015), LR 44: 

§1705. Notification of Certified Students 
A. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), if the 

certifying authority elects to notify students of their 
certification, then the following disclaimer shall be included 
in any communication to the student: "Although you have

been certified as academically eligible for a Taylor 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must 
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a 
scholarship under this program: 

1. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by the 
Louisiana Board of Regents; and 

2. you must be accepted for enrollment by an eligible 
Louisiana college and be registered as a full-time 
undergraduate student; and 

3. you must annually apply for federal student aid, if 
eligible for such aid, by the deadline required for 
consideration for state aid; and 

4. you must have met all academic and nonacademic 
requirements and be officially notified of your award by the 
Louisiana Board of Regents. 

B. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), if the certifying authority elects to notify students of 
their potential eligibility for an award, then the following 
disclaimer shall be included in any communication to the 
student: "Although it appears that you have satisfied the 
academic requirements for a Taylor Opportunity Program for 
Students (TOPS) Award based on this school's review of the 
core curriculum courses you have completed and calculation 
of your TOPS cumulative high school grade point average, 
you must satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a 
scholarship under this program: 

1. the Louisiana Board of Regents must determine that 
you have in fact completed the TOPS core curriculum 
courses; 

2. the Louisiana Board of Regents must determine that 
your TOPS cumulative high school grade point average 
based on the TOPS core curriculum meets the statutory 
requirements; 

3. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by the 
Louisiana Board of Regents; 

4. you must be accepted for enrollment by an eligible 
Louisiana postsecondary institution and be registered as a 
full-time undergraduate student no later than the next 
semester following the first anniversary of your graduation 
from high school; 

5. you must apply for federal student aid, if eligible 
for such aid, by the deadline required for consideration for 
state aid; and 

6. you must have met all academic and nonacademic 
requirements and be officially notified of your award by the 
Louisiana Board of Regents." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3129.7 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:644 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1913 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1864 
(November 2001), amended LR 29:126 (February 2003), LR 
29:882 (June 2003), LR 30:1166 (June 2004), LR 35:235 (February 
2009), LR 44: 

Chapter 18. Chafee Educational and Training 
Voucher Program 

§1801. General Provisions  
A. The Chafee Educational and Training Voucher (ETV) 

Program is administered by the Louisiana Office of Student 
Financial Assistance (LOSFA) in accordance with a
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Memorandum of Understanding by and between the 
Louisiana Board of Regents (the board) and the Department 
of Children and Family Services (DCFS). 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Chafee ETV 
Program is administered in accordance with the federal 
Chafee Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 677 et seq., to provide grants to 
certain students who have been in the foster care system to 
pursue postsecondary education or training to enter the 
workforce.  

C. Effective Date. The Chafee ETV Program will be 
administered by LOSFA beginning with the 2010-2011 
academic year. 

D. Eligible Semesters/Terms. The Chafee ETV is 
available to students throughout the academic year.  

E. Award Amount. A Chafee ETV recipient may receive 
up to $5,000 during the academic year. The award amount is 
determined by the recipient’s financial need as calculated in 
accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2547 (November 2010), amended LR 44: 

§1803. Definitions 
A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 

Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Academic Year―the academic year begins with the fall 
semester or term of the award year, includes the winter term, 
if applicable, the spring semester or term, and concludes 
with the completion of the summer session, if applicable. 

Educational and Training Voucher―a federal grant that 
is available to certain students who have been in the foster 
care system based on the student’s financial need. 

Foster Care System―a protective service administered 
by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family 
Services or by a similar agency in another state, for children 
who must live apart from their parents due to neglect, abuse, 
or special family circumstances which requires that the child 
be cared for outside the family home.  

Institution of Higher Education―a school that: 
a. is eligible to receive funds under Title IV of the 

Higher Education Act of 1965; and 
b. awards a bachelor’s degree; or  
c. provides a program of study that is at least 2 

years long in which a student can earn credit toward a 
bachelor’s degree; or  

d. provides not less than one year of training 
towards gainful employment; or  

e. provides vocational training for gainful 
employment and has been in existence for at least two years. 

Legal Guardianship―the duty and authority to make 
important decisions in matters having a permanent effect on 
the life and development of the child and the responsibility 
for the child's general welfare until he reaches the age of 
majority, subject to any residual rights possessed by the 
child's parents. It shall include, but not necessarily be limited 
to, the rights and responsibilities of legal custody as 
established in the Louisiana Children’s Code. 

Postsecondary Education―any educational program at 
an institution of higher education which admits as regular 
students those individuals with a high school diploma or 
equivalent, or admits as regular students persons who are 
beyond the age of compulsory school attendance, including, 
but not limited to, academic programs leading to an 
associate or baccalaureate, graduate or professional degree, 
or training which leads to a skill, occupational, or technical 
certificate or degree.  

Satisfactory Academic Progress―a standard established 
in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended, by the institution at which a Chafee ETV recipient 
will be enrolled when receiving the ETV for measuring a 
student's progress in his or her educational program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2548 (November 2010), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1805. Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility, a student must: 

1. be ages 16 to 21, except that a student who was 
participating in the Chafee ETV Program at age 21 may 
continue to receive ETVs until he attains the age of 23; and 

2. be in the foster care system, or aged out of the 
foster care system, or was under legal guardianship, or was 
in the foster care system or under legal guardianship and was 
adopted after age 16; and 

3. be enrolled in postsecondary education; and  
4. annually complete the free application for federal 

student aid. 
B. To continue to receive Chafee ETV, a student must: 

1. not have attained the age of 21, or the age of 23 if 
the student was receiving a Chafee ETV at the age of 21 and 
received the Chafee ETV continuously; and 

2. be making satisfactory academic progress in his 
program of study. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2548 (November 2010), amended LR 40:52 (January 2014), 
LR 44: 

§1807. Eligibility of Institutions of Higher Education 
A. Institutions of Higher Education Eligible to 

Participate 
1. Louisiana public colleges and universities are 

authorized to participate in the Chafee ETV Program.  
2. Regionally accredited private colleges and 

universities that are members of the Louisiana Association 
of Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU) are 
authorized to participate in the Chafee ETV Program. As of 
June 2010, LAICU membership included Centenary 
College, Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola 
University, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, Our 
Lady of the Lake College, The University of Holy Cross, St. 
Joseph Seminary College, Tulane Medical Center, Tulane 
University and Xavier University. 

3. Louisiana proprietary schools licensed pursuant to 
Chapter 24-A of Title 17 of the Revised Statutes are 
authorized to participate in the Chafee ETV Program. 

4. Any other institution of learning that is an 
institution of higher education. 
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B. Audits. Institutions of higher education that 
participate in the Chafee ETV Program grant LOSFA, the 
Louisiana legislative auditor, and the Louisiana Department 
of Children and Family Services the right to inspect records 
and perform on-site audits of each institution's 
administration of the program for the purpose of determining 
the institution's compliance with state law and applicable 
program rules and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2548 (November 2010), amended LR 44: 

§1809. Responsibilities of Participating Institutions of 

Higher Education 
A. Preliminary Eligibility Determination 

1. Institutions of higher education must verify the 
student’s age. 

2. Institutions of higher education must determine 
whether the student is or was prior to age 18 an orphan or 
ward of the court in accordance with procedures established 
by the postsecondary institution for verifying information 
reported by the student on the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid. 

3. If the school determines that the student is an 
orphan or ward of the court in accordance with its 
procedures and this Section, it shall provide to LOSFA the 
student’s name, social security number, and current address.  

B. Continuing Eligibility 
1. Institutions of higher education must verify the 

student is making satisfactory academic progress. 
2. If a prior recipient is making satisfactory academic 

progress, it shall provide to LOSFA the student’s name, 
Social Security number, and current address.  

C. Award Amount Determination 
1. Institutions of higher education will determine the 

student’s Chafee ETV amount based upon his financial need 
in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended, and will report that award amount to LOSFA. 

2. Institutions of higher education shall provide 
students the opportunity to appeal the amount of the Chafee 
ETV amount if the award to the student is less than $5,000. 
Such appeals shall be conducted in accordance with the 
institution of higher education’s procedures for appealing 
Title IV student aid eligibility. Immediately upon receipt of 
an appeal, the institution of higher education shall notify 
LOSFA of the appeal, the student’s name, and the reason for 
awarding less than the full grant amount. In the event the 
student is not satisfied with the school’s final decision on the 
appeal, the institution of higher education shall advise the 
student that he may appeal the institution of higher 
education’s decision to the Department of Children and 
Family Services. 

D. Certification of Student Data 
1. Upon request by LOSFA, and for the purpose of 

meeting federal audit requirements for the Chafee Grant, an 
institution of higher education shall report the following 
data: 

a. admission and enrollment; and 
b. semester hours attempted; and 
c. semester hours earned; and  
d. semester quality points earned; and 

e. resignation from the institution or withdrawal 
from all courses. 

E. Program Billing 
1. If the institution of higher education operates on a 

semester or term basis, it shall divide the student’s annual 
Chafee ETV amount by the number of semester/terms the 
student will be attending and it shall bill LOSFA for the 
resulting amount at the beginning of each semester or term 
the student attends. 

2. If the institution of higher education operates on a 
basis other than semester or term, it shall bill LOSFA for one 
quarter of the student’s Chafee grant amount on September 
1, December 1, March 1, and June 1, if the student’s 
program of study is at least one full year. If the student’s 
program of study is less than one full year, the school will 
divide the Chafee ETV amount by the number of billing 
dates encompassed by that program and bill LOSFA the 
resulting amount. 

3. Submission of a bill for a student is certification by 
the post-secondary institution that the student is enrolled at 
the institution and has maintained satisfactory academic 
progress. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2549 (November 2010), repromulgated LR 44: 

§1813. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Department of 

Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
A. DCFS shall verify that a student: 

1. was in the foster care system, or aged out of the 
foster care system; or  

2. was under legal guardianship; or  
3. was in the foster care system or under legal 

guardianship and was adopted after age 16; or 
4. is a Native American whose Indian tribe has an 

approved plan under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act for 
foster care, adoption assistance, and kinship guardianship 
within that Indian tribe. 

B. DCFS will notify LOSFA of any students who are 
eligible to receive a Chafee ETV and for whom LOSFA did 
not previously request verification in accordance with 
§1817.A, including those students who may be attending 
school in a state other than Louisiana. 

C. In the event of receipt of notice of a shortfall and 
additional funds are not allocated for payment of all 
anticipated awards for subsequent semesters, terms and 
sessions during the academic year, DCFS shall develop, 
approve and deliver a plan to LOSFA to address the 
shortfall. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2549 (November 2010), amended LR 44: 

§1817. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. LOSFA shall: 

1. verify a student’s eligibility to receive a Chafee 
ETV with DCFS; 

2. pay program funds to the eligible post-secondary 
institution in which the student is enrolled; 

3. maintain a secure database of all information 
collected on recipients and former recipients, including 
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name, address, social security number, program of study, 
name of the institution(s) the recipient attended, and 
amounts disbursed; 

4. notify DCFS immediately if projections indicate 
that sufficient funds will not be available to pay all eligible 
students the amount originally awarded to those students at 
the beginning of the academic year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2550 (November 2010), amended LR 44: 

§1819. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Board of 

Regents 
A. The board shall promulgate administrative rules in 

accordance with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure 
Act, in consultation with DCFS and in accordance with a 
memorandum of understanding entered into by and between 
the board/LOSFA and DCFS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2550 (November 2010), amended LR 44: 

Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of Post-
Secondary Institutions 

§1901. Eligibility of Post-Secondary Institutions to 

Participate 
A. Undergraduate degree granting schools which are 

components of Louisiana public university medical centers 
and two- and four-year public colleges and universities are 
authorized to participate in the Taylor Opportunity Program 
for Students (TOPS), TOPS-Tech, TOPS-Tech Early Start, 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, Louisiana Go Grant, 
and other funded state and federal scholarship, grant and 
loan programs administered by the Louisiana Board of 
Regents (the board) and the Louisiana Office of Student 
Financial Assistance (LOSFA) as applicable. 

B. Regionally accredited private colleges and 
universities which are members of the Louisiana Association 
of Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU) are 
authorized to participate in TOPS, TOPS-Tech, TOPS Tech 
Early Start Award, Louisiana Go Grant, and other funded 
state and federal scholarship, grant and loan programs 
administered by the Louisiana Board of Regents (the board) 
and the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance 
(LOSFA) as applicable. As of April 2000, LAICU 
membership included Centenary College, Dillard University, 
Louisiana College, Loyola University, New Orleans 
Theological Seminary, Our Lady of the Lake College, The 
University of Holy Cross, St. Joseph Seminary College, 
Tulane Medical Center, Tulane University and Xavier 
University. 

C. Eligible Louisiana proprietary and cosmetology 
schools are authorized to participate in TOPS for all awards 
and TOPS Tech Early Start Awards. 

D. Out-of-state colleges and universities may participate 
in TOPS if all the conditions of §703.I are met. 

E. Approved training providers may participate in the 
TOPS Tech Early Start Award Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, 17:3046 et seq., R.S. 17:3129.7, R.S. 17:5001 et 
seq. and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
LR 26:1998 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1864 
(November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 30:784 
(April 2004), LR 31:3111, 3114 (December 2005), LR 35:235 
(February 2009), LR 35:1490 (August 2009), LR 36:2857 
(December 2010), LR 41:376 (February 2015), LR 44: 

§1903. Responsibilities of Post-Secondary Institutions 
A. Certification of Student Data 

1. Through the summer term of 2002, upon request by 
the board, and for the purpose of determining an applicant's 
eligibility for a program award, an institution will report the 
following student data: 

a. admission and full-time undergraduate 
enrollment; and 

b. eligibility for, or enrollment in, a course of study 
leading to initial teacher certification; and 

c. enrollment in math or chemistry as a major while 
pursuing teacher certification; and 

d. graduate or undergraduate enrollment in wildlife 
forestry or marine science; and 

e. cumulative college grade point average; and 
f. cumulative college credit hours earned; and 
g. academic year hours earned. 

2. Effective the fall semester of 2002, upon request by 
the board, and for the purpose of determining an applicant's 
eligibility for a program award, an institution shall report the 
following student data: 

a. admission and full-time undergraduate 
enrollment; and 

b. eligibility for, or enrollment in, a course of study 
leading to initial teacher certification; and 

c. enrollment in math or chemistry as a major while 
pursuing teacher certification; and 

d. graduate or undergraduate enrollment in wildlife 
forestry or marine science; and 

e. semester hours attempted; and 
f. semester hours earned; and 
g. semester quality points earned; and 
h. resignation from the institution or withdrawal 

from all courses. 
3. Beginning with the 2013-2014 academic year 

(TOPS), an institution shall also report: 
a. a student’s completion of a program of study; 
b. through the 2015-2016 academic year (TOPS) 

whether the program of study was academic or technical; 
c. type of credential (degree, certificate, diploma, 

baccalaureate); 
d. semester of completion; and 
e. beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year 

(TOPS):  
 i. the CIP code for the program of study in which 
the student is enrolled; 
 ii. the degree level code for the program of study 
in which the student is enrolled; 
 iii. the increment key assigned by the board that 
provides each program a unique key for the program of 
study in which the student is enrolled. 

B. Program Billing. Each term, institutions shall bill the 
board for students who are eligible for payments under state 
and federal scholarship, grant and loan programs 
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administered by the board and LOSFA and who have 
enrolled at the institution in accordance with the following 
terms and conditions: 

1.a. through the 2016-2017 academic year (college), 
institutions may only bill for students who have been 
certified by the board as eligible for a TOPS Award and, in 
the case of the TOPS Tech Award, enrolled in an eligible 
technical program of study; and  

b. beginning with the 2017-2018 academic year 
(college), institutions may bill for students who have been 
certified by the board as eligible for a TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance, or Honors Award and may only bill for a 
TOPS-Tech award if the student is enrolled in an associate's 
degree or other shorter-term training and education program 
that is aligned to state workforce priorities as determined by 
the Louisiana Board of Regents and the Louisiana 
Workforce Investment Council at that institution; 

2. for scholarship, grant or loan programs that require 
full-time enrollment, institutions will bill the board based on 
their certification that the recipient is enrolled full-time, as 
defined in §301: 

a. at eligible colleges and universities, except 
cosmetology and proprietary schools, at the end of the 
fourteenth class day or later for semester schools and the 
ninth class day or later for quarter and term schools, and for 
any qualifying summer sessions at the end of the last day to 
drop and receive a full refund for the full summer session. 
Institutions shall not bill for students who are enrolled less 
than full-time at the end of the fourteenth class day for 
semester schools or the ninth class day for quarter and term 
schools, and for any qualifying summer sessions at the end 
of the last day to drop and receive a full refund for the 
summer session, unless the student qualifies for payment for 
less than full-time enrollment as defined in §2103.C. 
Students failing to meet the full-time enrollment requirement 
are responsible for reimbursing the institution for any 
awards received. Refunds of awards to students who are not 
receiving federal Title IV aid, for less than full-time 
enrollment after the fourteenth or ninth class day, as 
applicable, shall be returned to the state. Refunds to students 
who are receiving federal Title IV aid shall be refunded to 
the state in accordance with the institution's federal Title IV 
aid refund procedures; 

b. at eligible cosmetology or proprietary schools, on 
a billing date for students who were enrolled full time on 
that date. The billing dates are September 1, December 1, 
March 1 and June 1. Institutions shall not bill for students 
who are enrolled less than full-time on a billing date, unless 
the student qualifies for payment for less than full-time 
enrollment as provided in §2103.C. Students failing to meet 
the full-time enrollment requirement are responsible for 
reimbursing the institution for any awards received. Refunds 
of awards to students who are not receiving federal Title IV 
aid, for less than full-time enrollment shall be returned to the 
state. Refunds to students who are receiving federal Title IV 
aid shall be refunded to the state in accordance with the 
institution's federal Title IV aid refund procedures; 

3. in the event the student's total aid, including 
vocational rehabilitation awards, exceeds the cost of 
attendance, any federal loan aid included in the total aid 
package shall be reduced, then institutional and other aid in 
accordance with institutional practice, then the TOPS Award 

shall be reduced by the amount of any remaining over 
award; 

4. annually, all institutions are required to provide the 
board a current fee schedule. The schedule must include an 
itemized description of the composition of the mandatory 
fees listed on the fee schedule, including the tuition amount, 
as those fees will appear on a student’s fee bill; 

5. certify that the institution will reimburse the board 
for any award funds incorrectly disbursed to ineligible 
students; 

6. through the 2016-2017 academic year (college), 
upon the school's certification that a recipient of a TOPS 
Opportunity, Performance or Honors Award is enrolled full-
time, institutions shall bill for and the board will reimburse 
the institution for each such recipient as follows: 

a. public colleges and universities may bill for an 
amount up to the maximum tuition for that institution, as 
defined in §301; 

b. Louisiana Technical College campuses may bill 
for an amount up to the tuition for that institution, as defined 
in §301; 

c. LAICU member colleges and universities or an 
out-of-state college or university if all of the conditions of 
§703.I are met may bill for students enrolled in academic 
programs an amount up to the weighted average award 
amount, as defined in §301; 

d. LAICU member colleges and universities may 
bill for students enrolled in nonacademic programs an 
amount up to the average award amount (TOPS-Tech), as 
defined in §301; 

e. for recipients of the Performance and Honors 
Awards, institutions may bill LASFAC for the stipend that 
accompanies these awards, in the amounts of $200 or $400 
per semester, respectively; 

f. for students enrolled in a public professional 
school, institutions may bill LASFAC an amount equal to the 
tuition charged or the tuition charged a student pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school, 
whichever is less; 

g. for students enrolled in a LAICU professional 
school, institutions may charge the weighted average award 
amount; 

h. for students enrolled in graduate school, 
institutions may bill LASFAC an amount equal to the tuition 
or the tuition charged for a student while pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school in the 
state, whichever is less; 

i. for students enrolled in eligible cosmetology and 
proprietary schools, institutions may bill for an amount of up 
to one quarter of the annual average award amount (TOPS-

Tech), as defined in §301; 
7. through the 2016-2017 academic year (college), 

upon the school's certification that a recipient of a TOPS-
Tech Award is enrolled full-time, institutions shall bill for 
and LASFAC will reimburse the institution for each such 
recipient as follows: 

a. eligible public colleges and universities that do 
not offer an academic undergraduate degree at the 
baccalaureate level may bill for an amount up to the tuition 
for that institution, as defined in §301; 

b. all other eligible colleges and universities, except 
eligible cosmetology or proprietary schools, may bill for an 
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amount up to the average award amount (TOPS-Tech), as 
defined in §301; 

c. eligible cosmetology and proprietary schools 
may bill for an amount of up to one quarter of the annual 
average award amount (TOPS-Tech), as defined in §301; 

8. beginning in the 2017-2018 academic year 
(college), upon the school's certification that a recipient of a 
TOPS Award is enrolled full-time, institutions shall bill for 
an amount equal to the TOPS Award Amount as defined in 
§301 and as determined and published by the board for the 
school and the student’s program of study, if applicable, and 
the board shall reimburse the institution for each such 
recipient. 

9. upon the school's certification that a recipient of a 
GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program Grant is enrolled full-time, 
institutions shall bill for and LASFAC will reimburse the 
institution for each such recipient as follows: 

a. eligible public community colleges and 
Louisiana Technical College may bill for an amount up to 
the tuition for that institution, as defined in §301; and 

b. regionally accredited independent colleges or 
universities in the state that are members of LAICU may bill 
up to an amount equal to the award amount authorized for 
TOPS-Tech students attending LAICU institutions during 
the program year (non-academic program); 

10. unless otherwise directed by the student, before 
applying a TOPS Award to pay a student's tuition, 
institutions shall first apply the student's "out-of-pocket" 
payments, including student loans, toward tuition charges. In 
those cases when a student's tuition as defined in 26 
U.S.C.25A is paid from a source other than the TOPS Award, 
the institution shall apply the TOPS Award toward payment 
of expenses other than tuition which are described in the 
term cost of attendance as that term is defined in 20 U.S.C. 
1087ll, as amended, for the purpose of qualifying the student 
or his parent or custodian for the federal income tax credits 
provided for under 26 U.S.C.25A; 

11.a. upon the school's certification that a student who 
is eligible for a TOPS-Tech Early Start Award is enrolled in 
an industry-based occupational or vocational education 
credential program in a top demand occupation, institutions 
shall bill for and the board will pay the institution for each 
such recipient according to the following schedule. 

 
Credit Hours Payment 

1 $50 

2 $100 

3 $150 

4 $200 

5 $250 

6 $300 

 
b. the maximum that may be billed is $300 per 

semester and $600 per academic year (TOPS). 
c. institutions may not bill for summer semesters or 

sessions. 
12.a. beginning with the spring semester of 2014 

through the Spring semester of 2016, for a public college or 
university to be permitted to bill for a TOPS award amount 
under the provisions of Section 1903.B.6 of these rules, the 
college or university must include on the student fee bill line 
items entitled: 

 i. “Tuition Only” that equals the TOPS award 
amount listed on the fee bill; 
 ii. “TOPS Award Amount” as defined in Section 
301; and 
 iii. “TOPS Stipends” for TOPS Honors and 
Performance Award stipends. These amounts shall not be 
included in the “Tuition Only” or “TOPS Award Amount” 
line items. 

b. There shall be no reference to a tuition amount 
on a student's fee bill other than as provided herein. 

C. Disbursement of Funds. Upon receipt of award funds 
and prior to their disbursement to students, the institution 
shall: 

1. for TOPS Teacher Award recipients: 
a. verify that the recipient is enrolled full-time in an 

approved degree program or course of study leading to a 
degree in education or alternative program leading to regular 
certification as a teacher at the elementary or secondary 
level; or 

b. if designated as a math or chemistry major, verify 
enrollment in a course of study leading to certification as a 
math or chemistry teacher; 

2. for Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship 
recipients, verify undergraduate or graduate enrollment, 
whichever is applicable to the student, in: 

a. wildlife, forestry or marine science; or 
b. another major specified by the Louisiana 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries as meeting their 
criteria for receipt of scholarship funds; 

3. for Tuition Payment Program for Medical School 
Students: 

a. verify enrollment at one of the Louisiana State 
University Health Sciences Center medical schools or at the 
Tulane University School of Medicine; and 

b. verify the recipient is in good standing; and 
c. verify the student has continued to make 

satisfactory progress towards a medical degree in a primary 
care field; 

4. release award funds by crediting the student's 
account within 14 days of the institution's receipt of funds or 
disbursing individual award checks to recipients as 
instructed by the board. Individual award checks for the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, TOPS Teacher 
Award and Tuition Payment Program for Medical School 
Students must be released to eligible recipients within 30 
days of receipt by the school or be returned to the board; 

5. for TOPS-Tech Early Start Awards: 
a. verify the student is eligible and enrolled in a 

course in an Industry Based Occupational or Vocational 
Education Credential Program in a top demand occupation; 
and 

b. verify the student is in good standing; 
6. for TOPS Awards at cosmetology or proprietary 

schools: 
a. verify the student has continued to make steady 

academic progress; and 
b. verify the student is enrolled full time on the 

billing date. 
D. Reporting of Academic Data. At the conclusion of 

each term, quarter or semester, the institution will complete 
and return to the board a college academic grade report 
including, but not limited to, the following data elements: 
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1. academic year hours earned; and 
2. cumulative hours earned; and 
3. cumulative grade point average; and 
4. upon graduation, degree date and type and name of 

degree. 
E. Records Retention. Records pertaining to the students 

listed on the billing certification form will be subject to audit 
as required by state statute. Such records will be maintained 
for a minimum of three years and be available upon request 
to the board and the Louisiana Legislative Auditor. 

F. Qualified Summer Session 
1. Except for students eligible for TOPS payments 

while enrolled in an eligible TOPS Tech program of study, 
students may request payment for a summer session if 
eligible under these rules and subject to the availability of 
program funding. Each student requesting payment must 
sign a form provided by LOSFA: 

a.  requesting payment for the summer session from 
the student's remaining TOPS eligibility; 

b. stating the student understands that the use of the 
TOPS award for the summer session reduces the student's 
TOPS eligibility by one semester or term; 

c. stating the student understands that the hours 
earned cannot be used to meet the TOPS requirement to earn 
at least 24 hours each academic year; and 

d. stating the student understands that the grades 
earned during the summer session will be included in the 
student's cumulative grade point average. 

2. The institution's submission of a payment request 
for a student's enrollment in a summer session will constitute 
certification of: the student's eligibility for a TOPS Award 
payment for the summer session; receipt from the student of 
a signed written acknowledgment and consent that each 
payment will consume one semester of eligibility; and the 
student's enrollment in the summer session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031, R.S. 17:3041.10-3041.15, 17:3041.21-3041.26, R.S. 
17:5001 et seq., and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
LR 26:1998 and 2002 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:1864 (November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 
28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2333 
(November 2002), LR 30:784 (April 2004), LR 30:1166 (June 
2004), LR 31:40 (January 2005), LR 31:3111, 3114 (December 
2005), LR 33:1340 (July 2007), LR 35:1233 (July 2009), LR 
35:1490 (August 2009), LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 36:2857 
(December 2010), LR 40:282 (February 2014), LR 40:1003 (May 
2014), LR 41:667 (April 2015), LR 41:2599 (December 2015), LR 
44: 

Chapter 20. John R. Justice Student Grant Program 
§2001. General Provisions  

A. The John R. Justice Student Grant Program (JRJ 
Grant) is administered by the Louisiana Board of Regents 
(the board) in accordance with a federal grant from the 
United States Department of Justice.  

B. Description, History and Purpose. The JRJ Grant is 
administered in accordance with the federal John R. Justice 
Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 
3797cc-21, to encourage qualified lawyers to choose careers

as public defenders and prosecutors and to continue in that 
service.  

C. Effective Date. The JRJ Grant will be administered by 
the board beginning with the 2010-2011 federal fiscal year.  

D. Award Amount 
1. For the 2011 calendar year, twelve prosecutors will 

receive awards of $5,000 each and six public defenders will 
receive awards of $10,000 each. One public defender and 
two prosecutors will be selected for participation from each 
of the First, Second, Third, and Fifth Louisiana Circuit Court 
of Appeal Districts. Two public defenders and four 
prosecutors will be selected for participation from the Fourth 
Louisiana Circuit Court of Appeal.  

2. Beginning in the 2012 calendar year, the number of 
awards and the amount of each grant shall be recalculated 
based on the amount of the federal grant allocated to 
Louisiana by the United States Department of Justice. Each 
calendar year’s awards shall be allocated so that the total 
amount awarded to prosecutors is equal to the total amount 
awarded to public defenders.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37:1387 (May 2011), amended LR 38:1585 (July 2012), LR 44: 

§2003. Definitions 
A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 

Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)―gross income minus any 
deductions allowed under the federal income tax code (Title 
26, United States Code). 

Eligible Loan―an educational loan which is not paid in 
full and which was made under either the Federal Stafford 
Loan, Federal Graduate PLUS Loan, Federal Consolidation 
Loan, or Federal Perkins Loan program.  

Federal Fiscal Year―October 1 to the following 
September 30.  

Full Time―works at least 30 hours per week as a 
prosecutor or defense attorney. 

Least Ability to Pay―have the lowest differential 
between AGI and one hundred fifty percent of the poverty 
level for a family of the lawyer’s size among eligible 
applicants. 

Licensed―holding a current license to practice law in 
the state of Louisiana. 

Poverty Level―poverty guidelines as issued by the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services. 

Prosecutor―a lawyer who is a full-time employee of 
the state or of a unit of local government (including tribal 
government) who prosecutes criminal or juvenile 
delinquency cases at the state or unit of local government 
level (including supervision, education, or training of other 
persons prosecuting such cases).  

Public Defender―a lawyer who: 
a. is a full-time employee of the state or with a unit 

of local government (including tribal government) who 
provides legal representation to indigent persons in criminal 
or juvenile delinquency cases including supervision,
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education, or training of other persons providing such 
representation; or 

b. who is a full-time employee of a nonprofit 
organization operating under a contract with the state or with 
a unit of local government who devotes substantially all of 
the employee’s full-time employment to providing legal 
representation to indigent persons in criminal or juvenile 
delinquency cases including supervision, education, or 
training of other persons providing such representation; or 

c. who is employed as a full-time federal defense 
lawyer in a defender organization pursuant to 18 U.S.C.A. 
2006A(g) that provides legal representation to indigent 
persons in criminal or juvenile delinquency cases. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37:1387 (May 2011), repromulgated LR 44: 

§2005. Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility, a lawyer must: 

1. be employed full time as a public defender or 
prosecutor for at least one year as of December 31 of the 
year preceding the award; and 

2. not be in default on any educational loan; 
3. complete and submit an application by the deadline; 
4. have the least ability to pay his student loans; 
5. authorize LOSFA to access records held by any 

third party that will verify information provided on the 
application; 

6. submit a completed John R. Justice Student Loan 
Program service agreement to LOSFA. If an applicant is not 
selected to receive an award, the agreement will be null and 
void. 

B. Upon notice from LOSFA that he must do so, the 
applicant must provide: 

1. information necessary to substantiate information 
included on the application, including, but not limited to, the 
following: 

a. paycheck stubs for the two months immediately 
preceding the application date; and 

b. federal tax returns for the most recent tax year; 
and 

c. statements from all student loan holders 
evidencing the required monthly payments on his student 
loans; 

2. a letter from his current employer verifying that the 
employer is an eligible employing entity under the John R. 
Justice Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act and 
recommending the applicant for participation in the 
program. 

C. Qualified lawyers are required to apply for 
participation each year. Prior year recipients will be given 
priority for participation in the program in the second and 
third year of the service obligation, provided the recipient 
continues to meet the requirements of §2005.A.1-4 and B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37:1387 (May 2011), amended LR 42:46 (January 2016), LR 
44: 

§2007. Applicable Deadlines 
A. Application Deadline 

1. Applicants must complete and submit the on-line 
application each calendar year no later than April 30. 

2. Applications received after the deadline will not be 
considered unless there are insufficient qualifying 
applications received by the deadline to make awards for all 
grants. 

3. In the event there are insufficient applications to 
award all grants, a second deadline will be announced. 

4. In the event all grants cannot be awarded after a 
second application deadline has passed, LOSFA shall inform 
the board and distribute the available remaining funds as 
directed by the board. 

B. Documentation Deadline. An applicant from whom 
documentation is requested must provide the required 
documentation within 20 days from the request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37:1388 (May 2011), amended LR 38:1585 (July 2012), LR 
42:47 (January 2016), LR 44: 

§2011. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. LOSFA shall: 

1. evaluate documentation provided by applicants to 
substantiate the information provided on the application; 

2. select program participants based on the 
documentation provided and the applicants’ ability to pay 
student loans; 

3. maintain program service agreements; 
4. pay program funds to the program participant’s 

eligible student loan holder with instructions that the funds 
are to be used to reduce the outstanding principal amount 
due on the loan(s); 

5. maintain a secure database of all information 
collected on recipients and former recipients, including 
name, address, social security number, name of the 
institution(s) to which funds were disbursed, and amounts 
disbursed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37:1388 (May 2011), amended LR 44: 

§2013. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Board of 

Regents 
A. The board shall: 

1. promulgate administrative rules in accordance with 
the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act and in 
accordance with a federal grant from the United States 
Department of Justice to administer the John R. Justice 
Prosecutors and Defenders Incentive Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 
3797cc-21 in Louisiana; 

2. upon being informed by LOSFA that 18 grants 
cannot be awarded after a second application deadline has 
passed, establish a formula for apportionment of available 
remaining funds. 

3. Approve the number of awards and the amount of 
each grant each year based upon the funding allocated to 
Louisiana by the United States Department of Justice. The
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board shall ensure that 50 percent of the funds awarded are 
allocated for awards to prosecutors and 50 percent of the 
funds awarded are allocated for awards to public defenders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3129.7.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 37:1388 (May 2011), amended LR 38:1586 (July 2012), LR 44: 

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2101. Academic Suspension of Awards and 

Reinstatement 
A. Students denied an award for their failure to maintain 

the required cumulative grade point average or for their 
failure to maintain steady academic progress, as defined in 
§301, may be reinstated upon attainment of the required 
cumulative grade point average, provided that the period of 
ineligibility did not persist for more than two years from the 
date of loss of eligibility. 

B. Students whose TOPS Performance and Honors 
Awards are reinstated as the Opportunity Award are 
ineligible for annual stipends. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:646 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1915 (October 1998), LR 26:68 (January 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1866 (November 2001), amended LR 44: 

§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 

Requirements 
A. Initial Enrollment Requirement. Initially apply and 

enroll as a first-time freshman as defined in §301, unless 
granted an exception for cause by the Louisiana Board of 
Regents (the board), in an eligible college or university 
defined in §301. Initial enrollment requirements specific to 
TOPS are defined at §703.A.4, for TOPS-Tech at §803.A 
and for Louisiana GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program at §1505. 

B. Continuous Enrollment Requirement. To maintain 
eligibility, all scholarship programs require recipients to 
continue to enroll as full-time students, as defined in §301, 
each consecutive semester or quarter, excluding summer 
sessions and intersession, at two-year and four-year colleges 
and universities. Recipients who cannot meet this 
requirement may be granted an exception for cause, as 
determined by the board. 

C. Less Than Full-Time Attendance. The board will 
authorize awards under the TOPS Opportunity, Performance, 
Honors and Teachers Awards, the TOPS-Tech Award, the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship and the Louisiana 
GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program, for less than full-time 
enrollment provided that the student meets all other 
eligibility criteria and at least one of the following: 

1. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete 
the undergraduate degree; or 

2. is enrolled in a degree program that defines  
full-time as less than 12 hours per semester or eight hours 
per quarter; or 

3. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete 
requirements for a specified course of study or clinical 
program. 

a. Course of Study—for the purposes of this 
paragraph is a program: 

 i. established by the postsecondary institution 
leading to an associate's degree; or 
 ii. with course work specified by school of study 
at a postsecondary institution (e.g., business, architecture, 
mass communications, art and design) required for 
admission to that school for further studies to earn a 
baccalaureate degree. 

b. Clinical Program—for the purposes of this 
Paragraph means student teaching, practicum courses, or 
clinic based experiences required to earn a baccalaureate 
degree. 

D. Procedure for Requesting Exceptions to the Initial and 
Continuous Enrollment Requirement 

1. The student should complete and submit an 
application for an exception, with documentary evidence, to 
the office as soon as possible after the occurrence of the 
event or circumstance that supports the request. Through the 
2000-2001 academic year (TOPS), the student must submit 
application for an exception no later than May 30 of the 
academic year the student requests reinstatement. 
Commencing with the 2001-2002 academic year (TOPS), 
the student must submit the application for exception no 
later than six months after the date of the notice of 
cancellation, except that a returning student must submit the 
application for exception no later than six months after the 
date of the notice of ineligibility due to failure to meet the 
continuing eligibility requirements of §705. The deadline for 
filing the exception shall be prominently displayed on the 
notice of cancellation. If the applicant for an exception is a 
dependent student, a parent or court ordered custodian of the 
dependent student may submit the application for exception 
on behalf of the applicant. 

2. If determined eligible for an exception, the recipient 
will be reinstated if he or she enrolls in the first fall, winter 
or spring term immediately following the exception ending 
date. 

3. If determined ineligible by LOSFA for an exception 
provided in §2103.E.11.a.ii, recipient may appeal in 
accordance with §2109 of these rules. 

E. Qualifying Exceptions to the Initial and Continuous 
Enrollment Requirement. A student who has been declared 
ineligible for TOPS, TOPS-Tech, TOPS Teacher, the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship or the Louisiana GO 
Youth Challenge Program because of failure to meet the 
initial or continuous enrollment requirements may request 
reinstatement in that program based on one or more of the 
following exceptions. 

1. Parental Leave 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is pregnant or 

caring for a newborn or newly adopted child less than one 
year of age. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts; and 
 ii. a written statement from a doctor of medicine 
who is legally authorized to practice certifying the date of 
diagnosis of pregnancy and the anticipated delivery date or 
the actual birth date or a copy of the hospital's certificate of 
live birth or a copy of the official birth certificate or 
equivalent official document or written documentation from 
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the person or agency completing the adoption that confirms 
the adoption and date of adoption. 

c. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to the 
equivalent of one academic year (college) per pregnancy. 

2. Physical Rehabilitation Program 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is receiving 

rehabilitation in a program prescribed by a qualified medical 
professional and administered by a qualified medical 
professional. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
the reason for the rehabilitation, dates of absence from class, 
the necessity of withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the 
semester(s) or number of days involved, and any other 
information or documents; and 
 ii. a written statement from a qualified medical 
professional confirming the student/recipient’s rehabilitation, 
and the beginning and ending dates of the rehabilitation. 

c. Maximum length of exceptionup to four 
consecutive semesters (six consecutive quarters) per 
occurrence. 

3. Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Program 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is receiving 

rehabilitation in a substance abuse program. 
b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 

must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts, the reason for the rehabilitation, 
dates of absence from class, the necessity of withdrawing, 
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days 
involved, and any other information or documents; and 
 ii. a written statement from a qualified 
professional confirming the student’s rehabilitation and the 
beginning and ending dates of the rehabilitation. 

c. Maximum length of exceptionup to two 
consecutive semesters (three consecutive quarters). This 
exception shall be available to a student only one time. 

4.a. Temporary DisabilityStudent 
 i. Definition. The student/recipient is recovering 
from an accident, injury, illness or required surgery. 
 ii. Certification Requirements. The 
student/recipient must submit: 

(a). a completed exception request form 
including official college transcripts, the reason for the 
disability, dates of absence from class, the necessity of 
withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number 
of days involved, and any other information or documents; 
and 

(b). a written statement from a qualified 
professional of the existence of a temporary disability, the 
dates of treatment, and opinions as to the impact of the 
disability on the student's ability to attend school. 

 iii. Maximum length of exceptionup to four 
consecutive semesters (six consecutive quarters). 

b. Temporary DisabilityStudent/Recipient’s Care 
of Immediate Family Member 
 i.(a). Definition. The student/recipient is providing 
continuous care to his/her immediate family member due to 
an accident, illness, injury or required surgery. 

(b). An immediate family member is his/her 
spouse, dependent, parent, stepparent, custodian, or 
grandparent. 
 ii. Certification Requirements. The 
student/recipient must submit: 

(a). a completed exception request form 
including official college transcripts, the reason for the 
disability, dates of absence from class, the necessity of 
withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number 
of days involved, and any other information or documents; 
and 

(b). a written statement from a qualified 
professional of the existence of a temporary disability of the 
immediate family member, and the beginning and ending 
dates of the doctor's care; and 

(c). a statement from a family member or a 
qualified professional confirming the care given by the 
student. 

 iii. Maximum length of exceptionup to a 
maximum of two consecutive semesters (three consecutive 
quarters). 

5. Permanent Disability 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is permanently 

disabled in a manner that prevents the student from attending 
classes on a full-time basis. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts, a description of the disability, the 
reason for the disability, the reason(s) the disability restricts 
class attendance to less than full time; and 
 ii. a written statement from a qualified 
professional stating the diagnosis of and prognosis for the 
disability, stating that the disability is permanent, and 
opining why the disability restricts the student/recipient from 
attending classes full time. 

c. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to the 
equivalent of eight full time semesters of post-secondary 
education in part time semesters. 

6. Exceptional Educational Opportunity 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is enrolled in an 

internship, residency, cooperative work, or work/study 
program or a similar program that is related to the student's 
major or otherwise has an opportunity not specifically 
sponsored by the school attended by the student that, in the 
opinion of the student's academic dean, will enhance the 
student's education. Participation in one of the programs 
does not qualify as an exception to the initial enrollment 
requirement. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts; and 
 ii. a written statement from the college/school 
official that the applicant is a student at the school/college 
and that the program is offered or sponsored by the 
college/school, or a statement from the dean of the college or 
the dean's designee that the program is related to the 
student's major and will enhance the student's education. The 
statements must include the dates of leave of absence, the
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semester(s) or number of days involved, the beginning and 
ending dates of the program. 

c. Maximum length of exceptionup to four 
semesters (six consecutive quarters) or required program of 
study. 

7. Religious Commitment 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is a member of 

a religious group that requires the student to perform certain 
activities or obligations which necessitate taking a leave of 
absence from school. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts, the necessity of withdrawing, 
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days 
involved, and the length of the religious obligation; and 
 ii. a written statement from the religious group's 
governing official evidencing the requirement necessitating 
the leave of absence including dates of the required leave of 
absence. 

c. Maximum length of exceptionup to five 
consecutive semesters (eight consecutive quarters). 

8. Death of Immediate Family Member 
a. Definition. The student's spouse, parent, 

stepparent, custodian, dependent, sister or brother, step 
sibling, grandparent or step grandparent dies. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts; and 
 ii. a copy of the death certificate or a doctor's or 
funeral director's verifying statement or a copy of the 
obituary published in the local newspaper. 

c. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one 
semester or two quarters per death. 

9. Military Service 
a. Definition. The student/recipient is in the United 

States Armed Forces Reserves or National Guard and is 
called on active duty status or is performing emergency state 
service with the National Guard or enlists or reenlists and 
enters on active duty as a member of the regular United 
States Armed Forces. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts, the dates of the required leave of 
absence, necessity of withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the 
semester(s) or number of days involved, and the length of 
duty (beginning and ending dates); and 
 ii. a written certification from the military 
including the dates and location of active duty; or 
 iii. a copy of the military orders or other military 
documents confirming military service. 

c. Maximum length of exceptionup to the length 
of the required active duty service period. 

10. Transfer―Selective Enrollment Program 
a. Definition. A student/recipient who completed his 

or her program requirements for transfer to a selective 
enrollment program. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts and the semester(s) affected; and 
 ii. a written statement from the dean of the 
college or the dean's designee certifying that the 
student/recipient has or will complete his or her course 
requirements for transfer to a selective enrollment program. 

c. Maximum Length of Exception. Two semesters 
or three quarters. 

11. Exceptional Circumstances 
a. Definition. The student/recipient has exceptional 

circumstances, other than those listed in §2103.E.1-10, 
which are beyond his immediate control and which 
necessitate full or partial withdrawal from, or non-
enrollment in an eligible postsecondary institution. 
 i. The following situations are not exceptional 
circumstances: 

(a). financial conditions related to a student's 
ability to meet his or her educational expenses are not a 
justified reason for failure to meet the hours or continuous 
enrollment requirement, because TOPS is a merit, rather 
than need-based award; 

(b). dropping a course, failing a course, or 
withdrawing from school to protect the student's grade point 
average or because of difficulty with a course or difficulty 
arranging tutoring; 

(c). not being aware of or understanding the 
requirements; 

(d). assumption that advanced standing, or 
correspondence course work credited outside the academic 
year would be applied to the hours requirement; 

(e). differing scholarship or award requirements 
for other programs, such as NCAA full-time enrollment 
requirements; 

(f). voluntary withdrawal from school to move 
out-of-state or pursue other interests or activities; 

(g). claims of receipt of advice that is contrary to 
these rules, public information promulgated by LOSFA, 
award letters, and the rights and responsibilities document 
that detail the requirements for full-time continuous 
enrollment; 

(h). failure to provide or respond to a request for 
documentation within 30 days of the date of the request, 
unless additional time is requested in writing, LOSFA grants 
the request, and the requested documentation is provided 
within the additional time granted; 

(i). an involuntary drop, suspension, or 
withdrawal from enrollment because of academics, 
scholastics, or failure to attend classes or to comply with 
institutional regulations; 

(j). a suspension or expulsion for misconduct; 
(k). an inability to register because of failure to 

satisfy financial obligations. 
 ii. All other situations will be assessed at the 
discretion of LOSFA and subject to appeal to the board. 

b. Certification Requirement. Submit a completed 
exception request form including a sworn affidavit from the 
student detailing the circumstances and including the official



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2320

college transcripts and documentation necessary to support 
the request for reinstatement. 

c. Maximum length of exceptionup to the number 
of semesters or quarters determined to be supported by the 
request for exception. 

F. Students who are granted an exception based on 
military service in accordance with Paragraph E.9 above and 
who desire to enroll as a part time student in an eligible 
postsecondary institution while on active duty shall be 
eligible on request for TOPS payment for such enrollment. 
Any payment for part time attendance under this Subsection 
shall count towards the student's maximum eligibility for up 
to the equivalent of eight full time semesters of 
postsecondary education in part time and full time semesters. 

G. Natural Disaster Exceptions 
1. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

students are TOPS recipients and students eligible for TOPS 
and: 

a. on August 26, 2005: 
 i. were enrolled at one of the following eligible 
college or university campuses: 

(a). University of New Orleans; 
(b). Dillard University; 
(c). Delgado Community College; 
(d). Nunez Community College; 
(e). Louisiana State University Health Sciences 

Center at New Orleans; 
(f). Southern University at New Orleans; 
(g). Loyola University; 
(h). New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary; 
(i). University of Holy Cross (formerly Our 

Lady of Holy Cross College); 
(j). Tulane University; 
(k). Xavier University; 
(l). St. Josephs Seminary College; or 
(m). Louisiana Technical College: 

 (i). Jefferson Campus; 
 (ii). Sidney N. Collier Campus; 
 (iii). Slidell Campus; 
 (iv). Sullivan Campus; 
 (v). West Jefferson Campus; or 
 ii. whose home of record was one of the 
following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Jefferson; 
(b). Lafourche; 
(c). Orleans; 
(d). Plaquemine; 
(e). St. Bernard; 
(f). St. Tammany; 
(g). Tangipahoa; or 
(h). Washington; or 

b. on September 23, 2005: 
 i. were enrolled at one of the following eligible 
college or university campuses: 

(a). SOWELA Technical Community College; 
(b). Louisiana Technical College: 

 (i). Gulf Area Campus; 
 (ii). Morgan Smith Campus; 
 (iii). Lamar Salter Campus; 
 (iv). Oakdale Campus; or 
 (v). Sabine Valley Campus; or 

 ii. whose home of record was one of the 
following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Acadia; 
(b). Allen; 
(c). Beauregard; 
(d). Calcasieu; 
(e). Cameron; 
(f). Iberia; 
(g). Jefferson Davis; 
(h). Lafayette; 
(i). St. Mary; 
(j). Terrebonne; or 
(k). Vermilion. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of record 
is: 

a. the domiciliary address of a dependent student's 
parent or court ordered custodian; or 

b. the domiciliary address of an independent 
student. 

3. For the purposes of this subsection, natural disaster 
is limited to Hurricane Katrina and/or Hurricane Rita. 

4.a. For the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS), 
displaced students are not required to enroll as full-time 
students, to maintain continuous enrollment or to earn at 
least 24 hours during the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS). 

b. Displaced students may enroll on a part-time 
basis in an eligible college or university without losing 
TOPS eligibility. Upon request by the student, the eligible 
college or university may bill for these part-time students. 

c. The terms of eligibility for a displaced student 
whose part-time enrollment is paid by TOPS will be reduced 
by one full semester (term) for each semester (term) (part- or 
full-time) paid. 

d. Institutions must document the displaced 
student's request for part-time payment of the award. 

e. If a displaced student enrolls in an eligible 
college or university during the 2005-2006 academic year 
(TOPS) and receives grades, those grades will be included in 
calculating the student's cumulative grade point average. 

5.a. For the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS), students 
who are not displaced students, but due to the effects of a 
natural disaster were unable to enroll for the first time as 
full-time students by the deadline or to enroll as full-time 
students or to maintain continuous enrollment or to earn at 
least 24 hours during the academic year (TOPS), may submit 
a request for an exception in accordance with §2103.D, 
based on one of the circumstances listed in §2103.E, or in 
accordance with the following procedures for the 
circumstances described in this Subsection. 
 i. The student should file the application for 
exception as soon as it is known that the student will not 
meet one or more of the continuing eligibility requirements 
to ensure the earliest reinstatement of the award. The student 
must submit the application for exception no later than six 
months after the date of the notice of cancellation. The 
deadline for filing the exception shall be prominently 
displayed on the notice of cancellation. If the applicant for 
an exception is a dependent student, a parent or court 
ordered custodian of the dependent student may submit the 
application for exception on behalf of the applicant. 
 ii. If determined eligible for an exception, the 
recipient will be reinstated if he or she enrolls in the first 
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fall, winter or spring semester or term immediately 
following the exception ending date. 

b. Natural Disaster Exception (for other than 
displaced students) 
 i. Definition. The effects of a natural disaster 
prevented the student/recipient from enrolling as a full-time 
student or continuing enrollment or earning 24 hours during 
the 2005-2006 academic year (TOPS). 
 ii. Certification Requirements. The student/ 
recipient must submit: 

(a). a completed exception request form; and 
(b). a written statement detailing the natural 

disaster's impact on the student and/or the student's 
immediate family (mother, father, custodian, siblings and/or 
spouse and children), which prevented the student from 
meeting the continuation requirements, including the length 
of the impact; and 

(c). documentation corroborating the student's 
statement (examples: photographs of damage; insurance, 
FEMA, fire and/or police reports; statements from public 
officials; statements from family members or other persons 
with actual knowledge; receipts and invoices for work done 
and materials purchased). 

 iii. Maximum Length of Exceptionup to two 
consecutive semesters (three consecutive quarters). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:5001 et seq. and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1648 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 
(October 1998), LR 26:1015 (May 2000), LR 26:2002 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), amended LR 27:1875 (November 2001), LR 
28:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330 and 2333 (November 2002), LR 29:126 
(February 2003), LR 29:2373 (November 2003), LR 29:2373 
(November 2003), LR 30:785 (April 2004), LR 30:1167 (June 
2004), LR 31:1060 (May 2005), LR 33:440 (March 2007), LR 
35:1233 (July 2009), LR 38:3160 (December 2012), LR 41:657, 
667 (April 2015), LR 44: 

§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment, Cancellation 

and Reduced Payments 
A. Monetary Repayment. Recipients of the Rockefeller 

State Wildlife Scholarship who do not meet their obligation 
to obtain a degree in wildlife, forestry or marine science and 
recipients of the TOPS Teacher Award who do not fulfill 
their obligation to teach the required number of years and 
who are not eligible for discharge by cancellation, must 
repay the loan principal plus accrued interest as delineated in 
§§1111 and 911, respectively. 

B. Deferment of Repayment Obligation. Recipients of 
the Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship or TOPS Teacher 
Award who are in repayment status may have their payments 
deferred for the following reasons. 

1. Parental Leave 
a. Definition. The recipient is pregnant or caring for 

a newborn or newly adopted child less than one year of age. 
b. Certification Requirements. The recipient must 

submit: 
 i. a completed deferment request form; and 

 ii. a written statement from a doctor of medicine 
who is legally authorized to practice certifying the date of 
diagnosis of pregnancy and the anticipated delivery date or 
the actual birth date or a copy of the hospital's certificate of 
live birth or a copy of the official birth certificate or 
equivalent official document or written documentation from 
the person or agency completing the adoption that confirms 
the adoption and date of adoption. 

c. Maximum length of deferment―up to one year 
per child. 

2. Physical Rehabilitation Program 
a. Definition. The recipient is receiving 

rehabilitation in a program prescribed by a qualified medical 
professional and administered by a qualified medical 
professional. 

b. Certification Requirements. The recipient must 
submit: 
 i. a completed deferment request form including 
the reason for the rehabilitation, dates of absence from work, 
the number of days involved, and any other information or 
documents; and 
 ii. a written statement from a qualified medical 
professional describing the rehabilitation, including the 
diagnosis, the beginning date of the rehabilitation, the 
required treatment, and the length of the recovery period. 

c. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to two years 
per occurrence. 

3. Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Program 
a. Definition. The recipient is receiving 

rehabilitation in a substance abuse program prescribed by a 
qualified professional and administered by a qualified 
professional. 

b. Certification Requirements. The recipient must 
submit: 
 i. a completed deferment request form, the reason 
for the rehabilitation, dates of absence from work, the 
number of days involved, and any other information or 
documents; and 
 ii. a written statement from a qualified 
professional describing the rehabilitation, including the 
diagnosis, the beginning date of the rehabilitation, the 
required treatment, and the length of the recovery period. 

c. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to one year. 
This deferment shall be available to a recipient only one 
time. 

4. Temporary Disability 
a. Definition. The recipient is recovering from an 

accident, injury, illness or required surgery, or the recipient 
is providing continuous care to his/her spouse, dependent, 
parent, stepparent, or custodian due to an accident, illness, 
injury or required surgery. 

b. Certification Requirements. The recipient must 
submit: 
 i. a completed deferment request form, the reason 
for the disability, dates of absence from work, the number of 
days involved, and any other information or documents; and 
 ii. a written statement from a qualified 
professional of the existence and of the accident, injury, 
illness or required surgery, including the dates of treatment, 
the treatment required, the prognosis, the length of the
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recovery period, the beginning and ending dates of the 
doctor's care, and opinions as to the impact of the disability 
on the recipient's ability to work; and 
 iii if a temporary disability of another, a statement 
from the family member or a qualified professional 
confirming the care given by the recipient. 

c. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to two years 
for recipient; up to a maximum of one year for care of a 
disabled dependent, spouse, parent, or custodian. 

5. Religious Commitment 
a. Definition. The recipient is a member of a 

religious group that requires the recipient to perform certain 
activities or obligations which necessitate taking a leave of 
absence from work. 

b. Certification Requirements. The recipient must 
submit: 
 i. a completed deferment request form, the 
number of days involved, and the length of the religious 
obligation; and 
 ii. a written statement from the religious group's 
governing official evidencing the requirement necessitating 
the leave of absence including dates of the required leave of 
absence. 

c. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to four 
consecutive semesters (six consecutive quarters). 

6. Military Service 
a. Definition. The recipient is in the United States 

Armed Forces Reserves and is called on active duty status or 
is performing emergency state service with the National 
Guard. 

b. Certification Requirements. The recipient must 
submit: 
 i. a completed deferment request form and the 
length of duty (beginning and ending dates); and 
 ii. a written certification from the commanding 
officer or regional supervisor including the dates and 
location of active duty; or 
 iii. a certified copy of the military orders. 

c. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to the length 
of the required active duty service period. 

7. Recipient is engaging in a full-time course of study 
at an institution of higher education at the baccalaureate 
level or higher; or  

8. recipient is: 
a. seeking and unable to find full-time employment 

for a single period not to exceed 12 months; or 
b. seeking and unable to find full-time teaching 

employment at a qualifying Louisiana school for a period of 
time not to exceed 27 months. 

9. Natural Disaster Deferments 
a. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

students are recipients of the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or TOPS Teacher Award who are in repayment 
status and: 
 i. on August 26, 2005, whose home of record was 
one of the following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Jefferson; 
(b). Lafourche; 
(c). Orleans; 
(d). Plaquemine; 
(e). St. Bernard; 
(f). St. Tammany; 

(g). Tangipahoa; or 
(h). Washington; or 

 ii. on September 23, 2005, whose home of record 
was one of the following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Acadia; 
(b). Allen; 
(c). Beauregard; 
(d). Calcasieu; 
(e). Cameron; 
(f). Iberia; 
(g). Jefferson Davis; 
(h). Lafayette; 
(i). St. Mary; 
(j). Terrebonne; or 
(k). Vermilion. 

b. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of 

record is: 
 i. the domiciliary address of a dependent 
student's parent or court ordered custodian; or 
 ii. the domiciliary address of an independent 
student. 

c. For the purposes of this Subsection, natural 
disaster is limited to Hurricane Katrina and/or Hurricane 
Rita. 

d. The loan payments for displaced students are 
deferred and accrual of interest is suspended from August 
26, 2005 through August 31, 2006. 

e. For the period of August 26, 2005 through 
August 31, 2006, recipients of the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or TOPS Teacher Award who are in repayment 
status and who are not displaced students, but who are 
unable to repay their loan during the academic year (college) 
due to the effects of a natural disaster, may submit a request 
for deferment of payments and suspension of accrual of 
interest in accordance with §2105.D, based on one of the 
circumstances listed in §2103.B.1 through 8 or the following 
circumstance. 
 i. The effects of a natural disaster prevented the 
student/recipient from making payments during the period of 
August 26, 2005, through August 31, 2006. 
 ii. Certification Requirements. The 
student/recipient must submit: 

(a). a completed exception request form; and 
(b). a written statement detailing the natural 

disaster's impact on the student and/or the student's 
immediate family (mother, father, custodian, siblings and/or 
spouse and children), which prevented the student from 
meeting the repayment requirements, including the length of 
the impact; and 

(c). documentation corroborating the student's 
statement (examples: photographs of damage; insurance, 
FEMA, fire and/or police reports; statements from public 
officials; statements from family members or other persons 
with actual knowledge; receipts and invoices for work done 
and materials purchased). 
 iii. Maximum Length of Exception. Through 
August 31, 2006. 

C. A recipient who receives a deferment under 
§2105.B.7 and who is not able to enroll full-time due to a 
circumstance listed in §2103.E may request an exception to 
the full-time enrollment requirement of the deferment based 
on that circumstance. The maximum length of the 
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continuation of the exception shall be the maximum length 
of exception provided by §2103.E. 

D. Procedure for Requesting a Deferment 
1. The recipient should complete and submit an 

application for a deferment, with documentary evidence, to 
the office as soon as possible after the occurrence of the 
event or circumstance that supports the request. The 
recipient must submit the application for deferment no later 
than three months after the date of the notice of repayment. 
The deadline for filing the request shall be prominently 
displayed on the notice of repayment. If the applicant for a 
deferment is a dependent student, a parent or court ordered 
custodian of the dependent student may submit the 
application for exception on behalf of the applicant. 

2. If determined eligible for a deferment, the recipient 
will be notified of the length of the deferment and of any 
conditions of the deferment. 

E. Conditions of Deferment 
1. Deferments may be subject to the following 

conditions: 
a. related to the particular circumstances for which 

the deferment is granted, including, but not limited  
to, providing proof of enrollment; 

b.  agreement to give notice that the condition or 
circumstance that warranted the deferment has ceased; 

c. agreement to a repayment schedule commencing 
on expiration of the deferment; 

d. agreement to acknowledge debt; 
e. agreement that during the deferment period, 

prescription will be interrupted (meaning the period of time 
within which the office has to enforce the promissory note 
will not continue to accrue); and/or 

f. agreement to start repayment at the end of the 
deferment. 

2. Conditions for deferments must be included in the 
notice of deferment. 

F. The recipient must sign a written acknowledgment of 
receipt of the notice of deferment and acceptance of all 
conditions. The recipient must return the signed 
acknowledgment and acceptance within 30 days of the date 
of the notice, otherwise the deferment is void and repayment 
shall commence. 

G. Cancellation of Repayment Obligation. Upon 
submission of applicable proof, loans may be canceled for 
the following reasons: 

1. death of the recipient; or 
2. complete and permanent disability of the recipient 

which precludes the recipient from gainful employment; or 
3. upon a determination by the board that the 

remaining unpaid balance is $25 or less. 
H. Reduced Payments 

1. Recipients who do not discharge the obligation by 
graduating in an eligible major and who are not eligible for 
discharge by cancellation must repay the loan principal, plus 
accrued interest and any collection costs incurred. Recipients 
in repayment status may request a temporary hardship 
repayment schedule that may be approved by LOSFA, upon 
receipt of documentation evidencing one or more of the 
following conditions: 

a. the recipient is receiving federal or state public 
assistance; 

b. the recipient's total gross yearly income does not 
exceed the current federal poverty level for his/her state; 

c. the recipient is experiencing a severe temporary 
medical condition and is unable to meet his/her financial 
obligations; or 

d. the recipient has experienced a severe personal 
catastrophe or calamity and is temporary unable to meet 
his/her financial obligations. 

2. If allowed by LOSFA, such reduced payments will 
continue as long as the condition(s) exist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3042.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1918 (October 1998), LR 
26:1603 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1868 (November 
2001), amended LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 30:781 (April 2004), 
LR 30:1167, 1168 (June 2004), LR 33:442 (March 2007), LR 44: 

§2107. Funding and Fees 
A. Limitation of Terms Funded. Routine funding for all 

scholarship and grant programs is limited to the fall, winter 
and spring school terms. 

B. Less than Full-Time Attendance. The board will 
authorize awards under the TOPS Opportunity, Performance, 
Honors and Teachers Awards for less than full-time 
enrollment provided that the student meets all other 
eligibility criteria and the requirements of §2103.C. 

C. Insufficient Funds Appropriated 
1. All board administered state scholarship and grant 

program awards are contingent upon the annual 
appropriation of funds by the Louisiana Legislature. 

2. In the event appropriated funds are insufficient to 
fully reimburse institutions for awards and stipends for all 
students determined eligible for the TOPS opportunity, 
performance, honors and TECH Awards for a given 
academic year, each student’s award, including stipends for 
TOPS performance and honors awards, shall be reduced by 
an equal percentage on a pro rata basis.  

3. A student whose award is reduced pursuant to this 
section shall not be required to accept payment of his award 
or enroll or maintain continuous enrollment in an eligible 
college or university during the time period during which 
there is a funding shortfall. A student who exercises this 
option: 

a. shall be eligible to receive his remaining TOPS 
award upon enrollment in an eligible college or university, 
provided the student meets the continuation requirements for 
his award except as specifically set forth in this section; and 

b. shall exhaust all award eligibility within five 
years of the reduction of his award, provided that if the 
student requests and is granted an exception to the 
requirement to enroll full time or to maintain continuous 
enrollment in school in accordance with §1901 of these 
rules, the time period within which the student must exhaust 
his award eligibility shall be extended by the number of 
semesters/terms for which he receives an exception. 

4. The provisions of this Sections shall not apply to 
the stipend for books and other instructional materials 
provided to persons serving in the Louisiana National Guard 
as set forth in §701.E.4.a and b of these rules or to the TOPS 
Tech Early Start Program.  
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D. Stop Payment of Uncleared Checks. The board may 
stop payment on checks which are issued as scholarship or 
grant awards but not negotiated by September 1 following 
the close of the academic year for which they were issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1648 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1919 
(October 1998), LR 26:1998 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:1869 (November 2001), amended LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 
28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2333 (November 2002), LR 31:40 
(January 2005), LR 38:3162 (December 2012), LR 44: 

§2109. Agency Decisions Subject to Appeal 
A. Right of Appeal 

1. A person aggrieved by an adverse decision of 
LOSFA under §2103.E.11.a.ii may appeal the decision in 
accordance with the procedures provided in this Section. 

2. Appeals are made to the Louisiana Board of 
Regents (the board). 

3. Decisions of the board are not subject to appeal and 
are final actions. 

B. Notice of Adverse Decision 
1. Notice of an adverse decision by LOSFA under 

§2103.E.11.a.ii must be transmitted in writing to the 
applicant or participant. The notice must state with 
reasonable specificity the decision and the reason for the 
decision, state that the decision may be appealed, and set 
forth the procedure for submission of an appeal. 

C. Petition of Appeal 
1. A petition of appeal must be in writing and filed 

within 30 days of the date of the notice of the decision. 
2. The petition of appeal must include: 

a. a sworn affidavit from the petitioner setting forth 
the basis of the appeal, including the specific reasons that 
LOSFA's decision is incorrect, and all facts supporting the 
appeal; 

b. copies of all documents, including written 
statements by others, if any, that support the appeal; 

c. official transcripts from the school/colleges 
attended during the periods in question; and 

d. if the petitioner desires to make an oral 
presentation and/or argument, the petitioner must include in 
the petition for appeal: 
 i. a request to make oral presentation and/or 
argument; 
 ii. the name of each person who will speak and a 
brief summary of what each person will say; and 
 iii. the reasons why presentation of the appeal in 
writing is not sufficient and that an oral presentation and/or 
argument is justified. 

3. The petitioner is not required to include documents 
in the petition of appeal which were forwarded with previous 
correspondence regarding the appeal. 

4. The petition of appeal must be addressed to the 
Louisiana Board of Regents, in care of the Executive 
Director, Office of Student Financial Assistance and sent to 
Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202, or hand 
delivered to 602 North Fifth Street, Galvez State Office 
Building, Sixth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA. 

5. Oral Presentations and/or Arguments 
a. The board may allow presentations and/or 

arguments when the board determines that such 
extraordinary procedures are justified based on information 
submitted by the petitioner. 

b. LOSFA shall have the right to question the 
appellant and each person making an oral presentation on 
behalf of the appellant. 

c. The Louisiana Board of Regents’ chairman may 
limit the time available to the appellant to make an oral 
presentation. 

D. Appellate Procedure 
1. After receipt of the Petition of Appeal, LOSFA will 

review the petition of appeal and determine whether the 
matters included in it are sufficient to change LOSFA's 
adverse decision. If, based upon new information submitted, 
LOSFA reverses its decision and approves the appeal, the 
petitioner will be notified in writing and no further action 
will be taken on the petition. 

2. If LOSFA's decision remains adverse, LOSFA will 
prepare and forward the appellate's file (including the 
petition of appeal, the original request for reinstatement, 
LOSFA records relating to the appeal, and a written 
statement of LOSFA's position regarding the appeal) to the 
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) 
Advisory Board. 

3. If the petition of appeal contains the appellant's 
request to make an oral presentation or argument, LOSFA 
shall notify the appellant in sufficient time to permit the 
appellant to be present when the appeal is scheduled to be 
heard by the LOSFA Advisory Board. 

4. Pending a decision by the LOSFA Advisory Board, 
no further action will be taken in the matter by LOSFA. 

5. The LOSFA Advisory Board will review the 
appellate file and make one of the following 
recommendations to the board: 

a. recommend that LOSFA's decision be upheld; or 
b. recommend that LOSFA's decision be reversed; 

or 
c. remand the appellate file to LOSFA for further 

specified action(s); ord. remand the appellate file to the 
board without recommendation. 

6. The LOSFA Advisory Board will forward the 
appellate file and its recommendation to the board. The 
board will review the recommendations of the LOSFA 
Advisory Board and the appellate file. 

7. The board may adopt the recommendations of the 
LOSFA Advisory Board or make a contrary decision 
approving or reversing LOSFA's decision, or remanding the 
matter to LOSFA for further specified actions. 

8. Remanded matters will be expeditiously processed 
by LOSFA and returned to the board for a final decision. 

9. A decision of the board to approve or reverse 
LOSFA's decision is final and is not subject to further 
review. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:650 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1920 (October 1998), LR 26:1261 (June 2000),
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repromulgated LR 27:1870 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:2333 (November 2002), LR 33:442 (March 2007), LR 44: 

§2113. Revision of the Core Curricula  
A. The board is authorized by law, subject to prior 

approval by BESE, to determine a high school level course 
to be equivalent to a course described in the core curricula or 
to authorize the name change of a core curricula course, 
including necessary changes to equivalencies and course 
names for advanced placement and International 

Baccalaureate courses as prescribed by the College Board 
or the International Baccalaureate Foundation. 

B. The determination of a course as equivalent to a 
course included in the definition of core curriculum shall be 
limited to those courses identified in the secondary programs 
of study contained in the Louisiana Handbook for School 

Administrators (LDE Bulletin 741). 
C. Only those recommendations for a name change or 

for the designation of an equivalent course which have been 
submitted by a local school board or other equivalent 
education agency for private schools will be considered by 
the board and such recommendations shall be submitted 
directly to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, Attention: Legal Division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:5001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:1921 (October 
1998), amended LR 27:1220 (August 2001), repromulgated LR 
27:1871 (November 2001), amended LR 41:657 (April 2015), LR 
44: 

§2115. Procedures for Disabled Students and 

Exceptional Children 
A. As provided for in §703.A.5.b.ii, a core curriculum 

course shall be waived for a student who is a disabled 
student or an exceptional child, as defined in §301, whose 
school certifies that it has the following documentation. 

1. For a student claiming the status of a disabled 
student: 

a. a written diagnosis from a person licensed or 
certified to diagnose the disability of the student, which 
diagnosis specifies the need for special accommodation by 
the student's high school; and 

b. a written statement from the principal of the high 
school that a plan of accommodation under Section 504 of 
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 ("504 Plan") has been 
established, and the high school was unable to provide the 
special accommodation, or, if the special accommodation 
was provided by the high school, the failure to complete the 
specified core curriculum course was due solely to the 
student's diagnosed disability. 

2. For a student claiming the status of an exceptional 
child: 

a. a written Individual Education Program (IEP) in 
accordance with R.S. 17:1941 et seq. and Louisiana 
Department of Education Bulletin 1706; and 

b. a written statement from the principal of the high 
school that the failure to complete the specified core 
curriculum course was due solely to the student's 
exceptionality. 

B. For disabled students graduating prior to the 1999-
2000 high school academic year and who are requesting a 
waiver of a core curriculum course based upon their status as 

a disabled student, those students must provide the 
documentation provided in §2115.A.1 above, however, those 
students need not establish the existence of a 504 Plan. 

C. A school official must obtain the consent from the 
student's parent or legal guardian, as required by law, prior 
to the release of information concerning a student who is 
requesting a waiver of a core course by reason of that 
student being a disabled student or an exception child. 

D. If a core curriculum course is waived based upon the 
determination that a student's disability or exceptionality, 
then the grade achieved for that course will not be included 
in the determination of the student's grade point average for 
purposes of qualifying for a TOPS Award. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3026. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1795 (October 1999), repromulgated LR 27:1871 
(November 2001), amended LR 44: 

Chapter 23. Tuition Payment Program for Medical 
School Students 

§2301. General Provisions 
A. Legislative Authority. The Tuition Payment Program 

for Medical School Students was created by Act 281 of the 
1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and 
amended by Act 894 of the 2004 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Tuition 
Payment Program for medical school students: 

1. annually awards not more than 10 monetary loans 
to eligible students attending a medical school of the 
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center and not 
more than five monetary loans to eligible students attending 
the Tulane University School of Medicine who commit to 
practice the profession of medicine as a primary care 
physician, as defined herein, for at least five consecutive 
years in a rural or medically disadvantaged area in Louisiana 
designated by the Louisiana State University Health 
Sciences Center, acting jointly with the Tulane University 
School of Medicine, (hereinafter referred to as a "designated 
area"). When the individual receiving the award practices 
medicine in a designated area for five consecutive years as 
provided in these rules, the loans are forgiven in full; 

2. was first funded for the 1998-99 award year; 
3. the legislature's purpose for this program is to bring 

about an adequate supply of doctors of medicine who will 
engage in the general practice of medicine in the rural or 
medically disadvantaged areas of the state by inducing a 
sufficient number of the graduates from the Louisiana State 
University Health Sciences Center and the Tulane University 
School of Medicine to remain in or relocate to designated 
areas of Louisiana to practice their profession, thus affording 
adequate medical care to the people of Louisiana. 

C. Award Amounts 
1. Loans for students enrolled at one of the Louisiana 

State University Health Sciences Center medical schools 
shall be made in an amount not to exceed the full tuition and 
room and board amount for that school. Loans for students 
enrolled at the Tulane University School of Medicine shall 
be made in an amount not to exceed the tuition and room 
and board amount for a student enrolled at the most 
expensive medical school of the Louisiana State University 
Health Sciences Center. 
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2. Recipients may receive funding for each year of 
enrollment at an eligible medical school, until awarded a 
doctorate degree in medicine. 

3. Recipients may receive other financial awards in 
conjunction with the Tuition Payment Program for Medical 
School Students. 

4. In the event the student's total aid exceeds the cost 

of attendance as defined in §301 of these rules, any federal 
loan aid included in the total aid package shall be reduced, 
then institutional and other aid in accordance with 
institutional practice, then the Tuition Payment for Medical 
School Students shall be reduced by the amount of any 
remaining over award. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1460 (August 1999) amended LR 25:2177 (November 
1999), repromulgated LR 27:1872 (November 2001), amended LR 
31:40 (January 2005), repromulgated LR 44: 

§2303. Establishing Eligibility 
A. To establish eligibility, the student applicant must 

meet all of the following criteria: 
1. be a U.S. Citizen; and 
2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 for at 

least two years prior to April 15 of the calendar year in 
which the award will be made; and 

3. submit the completed Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA, whichever is 
applicable to the student, by April 15 of the calendar years in 
which an award is being sought (for those students applying 
for the 1998/1999 academic year, the deadline for filing the 
FAFSA is extended to March 1, 1999); and 

4. be enrolled at one of the Louisiana State University 
Health Sciences Center medical schools or in the Tulane 
University School of Medicine as a full-time student in a 
course of study leading to a doctorate degree in medicine 
with the intent to enter a residency program leading to a 
specialization in a primary care field or has earned such a 
degree prior to commencement of residency. A "primary care 
field" shall include the following fields of medicine: family 
medicine, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, 
obstetrics/gynecology or a medical/pediatrics practice; 

5. agree to the full time practice of the profession of 
medicine as a primary care physician in a designated area for 
at least five consecutive years after graduating from medical 
school and completing a residency program in a primary 
care field as defined in §2303.A.4, above; and 

6. complete and submit such other documentary 
evidence as may be required by the Louisiana Board of 
Regents (the board) within the deadline specified; and 

7. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations; and 

8. agree that the award will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1461 (August 1999) amended LR 25:2177 (November 
1999), LR 26:2754 (December 2000), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1872 (November 2001), amended LR 28:777 
(April 2002), LR 28:2333 (November 2002), LR 31:40 (January 
2005), LR 33:443 (March 2007), LR 44: 

§2305. Application Process and Selection Criteria 
A. The Louisiana State University Health Sciences 

Center and the Tulane University School of Medicine shall 
seek applications from medical students desiring to apply for 
a loan under this program and shall determine and report to 
the board, no later than the date specified by the board: 

1. the academic standing of those applicants who meet 
the prerequisites of §2303.4 and 5. In determining the 
academic standing of applicants, the Louisiana State 
University Health Sciences Center and the Tulane University 
School of Medicine shall employ an evaluation system 
which is equitable to all applicants regardless of the medical 
school they attend; and 

2. those applicants who have demonstrated an interest 
in primary care medicine through involvement in student 
activities which are supportive of the future practice of 
medicine as a primary care physician and which have been 
identified by the Louisiana State University Health Sciences 
Center or the Tulane University School of Medicine and 
approved by the administrator as meriting the award of extra 
points in the ranking of applicants. 

B. From the lists of applicants submitted by the 
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center and the 
Tulane University School of Medicine, the board shall rank 
the applicants in order of merit and select no more than 10 
individuals to receive the award in any one year to attend 
one of the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center 
medical schools and no more than five individuals to receive 
the award in any one year to attend the Tulane University 
School of Medicine [hereinafter "recipient(s)"]. The 
applicant's order of merit shall be determined by the 
academic standing of the applicant as reported by the 
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center or the 
Tulane University School of Medicine and the extra points 
earned through student activities related to the practice of 
primary care medicine. The award shall be in the form of a 
loan to the recipient as described in these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1461 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 27:1872 (November 
2001), amended LR 31:41 (January 2005), LR 44: 

§2307. Award Amount 
A. The loan shall not exceed the full cost of tuition plus 

room and board, as those terms are defined herein. 
B. The loan disbursement will be in two increments 

during each academic year based upon requests for 
disbursements submitted by the Louisiana State University 
Health Sciences Center or by the Tulane University School 
of Medicine, which are consistent in timing with the normal 
payment of tuition by medical school students. 

C. The loans for each of the two academic years are 
dependent upon sufficient appropriation by the state 
legislature. Should the state legislature fail to appropriate 
sufficient funds in each year to provide for the amount of the 
award agreed to by the board and student, the obligation to 
repay the loan will be remitted. 

D. The cost of room and board included in an award 
under this Section shall not exceed the cost allocated to 
room and board in the calculation of "cost of attendance" 
determined in accordance with 20 U.S.C. 1087 11 for the 
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highest cost Louisiana State University Health Sciences 
Center medical school. 

E. Tuition shall not exceed the fees, charges and other 
costs normally required to be paid by all medical students at 
the school attended. 

F. The specific award amount for each loan shall be that 
amount stated in the agreement between the student and the 
board and shall not exceed the tuition and room and board 
charged at the school attended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1461 (August 1999), amended LR 26:2754 (December 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1873 (November 2001), amended LR 
31:41 (January 2005), LR 44: 

§2309. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the tuition payment for medical 

school students, recipients must meet all of the following 
criteria: 

1. have not graduated from medical school; and 
2. be considered in good standing by the Louisiana 

State University Health Sciences Center or the Tulane 
University School of Medicine and continue to make 
satisfactory progress towards a medical degree in a primary 
care field or have completed studies in good standing; and 

3. continue to enroll each subsequent term as a full-
time student, unless granted an exception for cause by the 
board, in a course of study leading to a degree in medicine; 
and 

4. annually apply for federal and state student aid by 
completing the FAFSA or renewal FAFSA, whichever is 
applicable to the student, by the state deadline; and 

5. have no criminal convictions, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations. 

B. Upon receiving a doctorate degree in medicine, an 
award recipient will be continued in a deferred payment 
status under the terms of the Tuition Payment Program for 
Medical Students Promissory Note ("promissory note") as 
long as the recipient is enrolled in a residency program 
leading to a medical specialty in a primary care field. The 
recipient shall notify The board of the place and duration of 
the recipient's residency program no later than the date the 
recipient receives a doctorate in medicine. The notice shall 
include an endorsement from the Louisiana State University 
Health Sciences Center or its designee or from the Tulane 
University School of Medicine or its designee that the 
residency program is a program that will lead to the ability 
to practice as a primary care physician as defined herein. 
The Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center or 
the Tulane University School of Medicine shall make 
available to the recipient a list of designated areas. The 
recipient shall identify the designated area in which the 
recipient intends to practice medicine and include this 
selection in the notice sent to the board. By July 30 of each 
year following receipt of a doctorate degree in medicine, the 
recipient shall notify the board of the recipient's current 
address and include in such notice an endorsement from an 
appropriate official of the residency program in which the 
recipient is engaged that the recipient is making satisfactory 
progress in the program. The recipient shall notify the board 
in writing of the completion of the residency program and

the date the recipient will initiate practice in a designated 
area. Each year thereafter, on the anniversary of the date the 
recipient enters a primary care practice in a designated area, 
the recipient shall send a written confirmation to the board 
that the recipient has practiced medicine during that year as 
required under the terms of the promissory note. The written 
confirmation shall be in the form of an affidavit executed 
before a notary public and shall be endorsed by the 
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, affirming 
that the recipient has practiced in a designated area. Failure 
of the recipient to send any of the notices required under the 
terms of the promissory note in a timely manner shall cause 
the recipient to be placed in a repayment status. 

C. Students who fail to maintain eligibility for a 
subsequent year of the loan will be placed in a repayment 
status six months from the date of their loss of eligibility, 
unless granted an exception for cause by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1462 (August 1999), LR 26:2754 (December 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1873 (November 2001), amended LR 28:777 
(April 2002), LR 31:41 (January 2005), LR 44: 

§2311. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance 

of Award 
A. Prior to receiving an award, the recipient must agree 

to the terms and conditions contained in and execute the 
Tuition Payment Program for Medical Students Promissory 
Note (promissory note). The promissory note obligates the 
recipient to initiate a primary care practice in a designated 
area upon the completion of a primary care residency 
program. The recipient shall complete the primary care 
residency program within four years of the date of 
graduation from medical school and shall initiate the  
full-time practice of medicine as a primary care physician in 
a designated area within six months from the date of 
completion of the residency program. The designated area in 
which the recipient initiates practice shall be that area 
designated in the notice required by §2309.B, above, or such 
other designated area chosen by the recipient, upon 
completion of the residency program. The promissory note 
shall provide that if the area chosen in the notice provided 
for in §2309.B, above, is no longer a "designated area at the 
time the recipient finishes the residency program, it shall 
continue to be considered a designated area for purposes of 
discharge of the loan amount under these rules. The recipient 
shall be deemed to be in a full-time primary care practice if 
the recipient performs direct patient care for an average of at 
least 36 hours per week in a normal annual work schedule. 
Should a recipient fail to enter into the practice of medicine 
on a full-time basis as a primary care physician within the 
time specified herein, the loan shall be placed in a repayment 
status and double the amount of the loans shall be repaid 
together with all accrued interest and any collection costs 
incurred by the board, as specified in the promissory note 
and as required by §2313, below. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1462 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 27:1874 (November 
2001), amended LR 31:42 (January 2005), LR 44: 
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§2313. Discharge of Obligation 
A. The loan may be discharged by engaging in a full-

time primary care medical practice in a designated area for a 
period of five years, by monetary repayment or by 
cancellation. 

B. Discharging the loan by entering into the full-time 
practice as a primary care physician in a designated area is 
accomplished by: 

1. completing a residency in a primary care field of 
medicine within four years of the graduation from medical 
school; and 

2. practice as a primary care physician on a full time 
basis for a period of at least five consecutive years in a 
designated area. 

C. Recipients who fail to complete the medical practice 
requirements as specified in the promissory note shall be 
required to repay the entire loan obligation in accordance 
with Subsection D, below. 

D. Discharging the Promissory Note by Monetary 
Repayment. Recipients who elect not to discharge the 
obligation by practicing medicine as required in these rules 
and the promissory note and who are not eligible for 
discharge by cancellation must immediately repay double 
the loan principal plus accrued interest and any collection 
costs incurred according to the following terms and 
conditions: 

1. interest shall accrue on the outstanding principal 
from the date of disbursement to the recipient, at the rate 
determined by the board and reflected in the promissory 
note, not to exceed the maximum rate of interest which can 
be legally charged under Louisiana law for such loans. 
Annually, accrued interest shall be capitalized, meaning 
added to principal; 

2. interest on each disbursement shall accrue from the 
date of disbursement until repaid, or fulfilled and shall be 
capitalized annually and at the time the recipient enters 
repayment status. 

E. Repayment Status 
1. The recipient will enter into a repayment status the 

first of the month following: 
a. determination by the board that the recipient 

cannot discharge the loan by practicing medicine as required 
by these rules and the promissory note within the required 
time period; or 

b. the date the recipient notifies the board that 
monetary repayment is desired; or 

c. six months after the board determines that the 
recipient is no longer participating in a residency program in 
a primary care medical field or has otherwise failed to 
comply with the terms of the promissory note; 

2. determination that a recipient has entered 
repayment status, the board will send written notice of the 
recipient's repayment status including the total amount of 
tuition that must be repaid, the amount of interest accrued 
and instructions for repayment; 

3. the recipient must repay double the amount of the 
total tuition disbursed no later than 30 days from the date of 
the written notice of the recipient's repayment status. 
Accrued interest may be amortized in accordance with 
§2313.E.4; 

4. the amount to be repaid annually will be the greater 
of: 

a. the amount necessary to amortize the accrued 
loan interest, together with accruing interest, within five 
years; or 

b. $5,000 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever 
is less; 

5. recipients in repayment status may have their 
payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B, Deferment 
of Repayment Obligation; 

6. during the period of time a recipient is in a 
deferment status, a recipient is not required to make 
payments and interest does not accrue; 

7. the period of time for completion of repayment will 
be extended by a period of time equal to the length of time 
the recipient is in deferment status. 

F. Cancellation. The obligation to repay any remaining 
unpaid balance of the promissory note shall be canceled in 
the event either of the following occurs: 

1. upon submission to the board of a sworn affidavit 
from a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded 
from gainful employment because of a complete and 
permanent medical disability or condition; or 

2. upon submission to the board of a death certificate 
or other evidence conclusive under state law, that the 
recipient is deceased. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.26. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1463 (August 1999), amended LR 25:2177 (November 
1999), repromulgated LR 27:1874 (November 2001), amended 
LR 31:42 (January 2005), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement  
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement  
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 

businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 
Provider Impact Statement  

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on 
providers of services for individuals with developmental 
disabilities as described in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG18179NI) until 4:30 p.m., December 
11, 2017, by email to LOSFA.Comments@la.gov or to 
Sujuan Williams Boutté, Ed. D., Executive Director, Office 
of Student Financial Assistance, P. O. Box 91202, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-9202. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant Programs 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 
local governmental expenditures. In accordance with the 
requirements of R.S. 17:5062(C)(1), the proposed rule change 
modifies the Scholarship and Grant Program rules to add AP 
Psychology, Mandarin Chinese I-IV, Hindi I-IV, Portuguese I-
IV, Vietnamese I-IV and Probability and Statistics courses as 
an equivalent (substitute) course for applicable TOPS core 
curriculum requirements. In addition, the proposed rule change 
continues the implementation of Act 314 of the 2016 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature by deleting or modifying 
provisions in the rules relating to the abolishment of the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) and the transfer of LASFAC responsibilities to the 
Louisiana Board of Regents (BOR). The proposed rule also 
includes required technical corrections that do not impact 
program costs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no impact on state or local governmental revenues.  
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule provides students with applicable 
substitute courses for the TOPS core curriculum requirements, 
thus students will have more choices in their options to fulfill 
the core courses. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition and employment will not be affected by the 
proposed change. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively Evan Brasseux 
Senior Attorney Staff Director 
1711#020 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Pardons 

and 
Committee on Parole 

Administration, Clemency, Parole Eligibility,  
Victim Notification and Participation in Hearings,  

and Parole Decisions (LAC 22:V.203, 211,  
and XI.102, 303, 307, 510, 701, 703, and 711) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Board of Pardons and the 
Committee on Parole hereby gives notice of its intent to 
enact and amend its rules of LAC 22:V.203, 211 and LAC 
22:XI.102, 303, 307, 510, 701, 703 .and 711. These 
proposed rule changes contain technical revisions and also 
incorporate acts of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session. Act 
70 provides relative to the release date of an offender 
required to complete certain rehabilitative programs prior to 
release on parole; Act 258 provides that if an offender has a 
parole hearing, a registered victim may submit a reentry 
statement to the Committee on Parole; Act 267 provides 
relative to the length of time certain applicants are required 

to wait before applying for a pardon or commutation of 
sentence; Act 280 provides relative to notice to victims, and 
medical treatment furlough; Act 337 provides relative to 
rights of crime victims with respect to notification of pardon 
or parole.  

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part V.  Board of Pardons 

Chapter 2. Clemency 
§203. Eligibility for Clemency Consideration 

A. - C.2.e.iii. … 
D. Life Sentences. An offender sentenced to life may not 

apply until he has served 15 years from the date of sentence, 
unless he has sufficient evidence which would have caused 
him to have been found not guilty. The 15 years shall include 
periods of time prior to the imposition of the sentence in 
which the defendant was in actual custody for the offense for 
which he was sentenced to life imprisonment. The offender 
must also meet the criteria stated in Subparagraphs C.2.a-d 
of this Section. 

E.… 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:573.1, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2255 (August 2013), amended 
LR 42:1087 (July 2016), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Board of Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 44:  

§211. Hearings before the Pardon Board 
A. - B. …. 
C. At least 90 days prior to public hearing date, the 

board shall give written notice of the date, time, and place to 
the following: 

1. the district attorney and sheriff of the parish in 
which the applicant was convicted and, in Orleans Parish, 
the superintendent of police; 

2. the applicant; 
3. the direct victim or the spouse or next of kin of the 

deceased victim. The notice is not required when the victim, 
or the spouse or next of kin of a deceased victim advises the 
board, in writing, that such notification is not desired; 

4. the Crime Victims Services Bureau of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections; and 

5. any other interested person who notifies the Board 
of Pardons, in writing, giving name and return address. 

D. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim shall have the right to make a 
written or oral statement as to the impact of the crime. 

E. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim or a victim's advocacy group, 
and the district attorney or his representative may also 
appear before the panel by means of telephone 
communication from the office of the local district attorney. 

1. Only three persons in favor, to include the 
applicant, and three in opposition, to include the 
victim/victim's family member, will be allowed to speak at 
the clemency hearing.  

2. Any person making an oral presentation to the 
board will be allowed no more than five minutes. All persons 
making oral presentations in favor of an applicant shall be 
allowed cumulatively no more than 10 minutes. Any person 
making oral presentations against an applicant, including 
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victims, shall be allowed cumulatively no more than 10 
minutes. 

F. There is no limit on written correspondence in favor 
of and/or opposition to the applicant's request. a candidate 
for parole release or an applicant for clemency. 

G. The board shall provide notice to the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Crime Victims Services 
Bureau at least 30 days prior to pardon hearing. 

H. If an applicant is requesting commutation of sentence, 
and is released from custody and/or supervision prior to 
public hearing date, the case will be closed without notice to 
the applicant. Applicant may reapply two years from the date 
of release. 

I. Applicant's failure to attend and/or notify the board of 
pardons office of his/her inability to attend the hearing will 
result in an automatic denial. The applicant may reapply two 
years from the date of scheduled hearing. Lifers who fail to 
attend and/or advise of inability to attend may reapply in 
five years if it is his/her initial hearing, and every five years 
thereafter. 

J. Four members of the board shall constitute a quorum 
for the transaction of business, and all actions of the board 
shall require the favorable vote of at least four members of 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:572.4, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2256 (August 2013), amended 
LR 42:1088 (July 2016), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Board of Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 43:46 (January 
2017), LR 44: 

Part XI.  Committee on Parole 
Chapter 1. Administration 
§102. Powers and Duties of the Committee 

A. The Louisiana Committee on Parole shall: 
1. make parole, release and revocation decisions under 

R.S. 15:574.2; 
2. evaluate any application filed pursuant to R.S. 

15:308 and taking into consideration the risk of danger the 
applicant would pose to society if released from 
confinement, shall make recommendations to the Board of 
Pardons as to whether the applicant is eligible for a 
reduction in sentence pursuant to R.S. 15:308; 

3. adopt rules not inconsistent with law as it deems 
necessary and proper with respect to the eligibility of 
offenders for parole and the conditions imposed upon 
offenders who are released on parole; 

4. keep records of its official actions and make them 
accessible according to law; 

5. collect, develop, and maintain statistical 
information concerning its services and decisions; 

6. notify the district attorney of the parish where the 
conviction occurred as required by law: 

a. the district attorney of the parish where the 
conviction occurred shall be allowed to review the record of 
the offender since incarceration, including but not limited to 
any educational or vocational training, rehabilitative 
program participation, disciplinary conduct and risk 
assessment score. The district attorney shall be allowed to 
present testimony to the committee and submit information 
relevant to the proceedings; 

7. when requested to do so, notify, in writing at least 
seven days prior to the offender’s release on parole, the chief 

of police, sheriff, or district attorney of the parish where the 
offender will reside and where the conviction(s) occurred; 

8. submit an annual report on its performance to the 
Secretary of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections on or before February 1 each year for the 
previous calendar year. This report shall include statistical 
and other data with respect to the work committee may make 
of sentencing, parole, or related functions, and may include 
recommendations for changes considered necessary to 
improve its effectiveness. 

B. The Louisiana Committee on Parole may: 
1. apply to a district court to issue subpoenas, compel 

the attendance of witnesses, and the production of books, 
papers, and other documents pertinent to the subject of its 
inquiry; 

2. take testimony under oath, either at a hearing or by 
deposition; 

3. sanction an offender's disorderly, threatening, or 
insolent behavior, or use of insulting, abusive, or obscene 
language at a hearing or in written communications with the 
offender's parole application, notice for which shall be 
provided to the offender at, or prior to, the commencement 
of proceedings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2258 
(August 2013), amended LR 41:42 (January 2015), LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Parole―Eligibility and Types 
§303. Regular Parole 

A. … 
B. Generally within nine months prior to an offender's 

parole eligibility date, all pertinent information will be 
compiled concerning the offender's case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2295 (December 
1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, 
Committee on Parole, LR 39:2269 (August 2013), LR 42:1283 
(August 2016), LR 44: 

§307. Medical Parole/Medical Treatment Furlough 
A. - D. … 
E. The authority to grant medical parole shall rest solely 

with the committee. 
1. Due to the nature of medical parole/medical 

treatment furlough cases, an exception to Board Policy, 05-

509, Victim Notification and Participation in Hearings shall 
be made regarding the notice to victims, requiring the notice 
to be at least 60 days in advance of the scheduled hearing 

date. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2298 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2262 (August 2013), LR 
41:44 (January 2015), LR 44: 

Chapter 5. Meetings and Hearings of the Committee 
on Parole 

§510. Victims 
A. Before a parole panel considers parole release for an 

offender who is serving a sentence of an offense in which a 
person was a victim, the direct victim of the offense shall be 
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allowed to present written or oral testimony of the victim's 
views about the offense, the offender, and the effect of the 
offense on the victim. The parole panel shall allow one 
person to appear in person before the panel to present 
testimony on behalf of the victim. Nothing in this Section is 
intended to limit the panel's discretion to allow individual 
victims to make personal appearance or to make contact by 
phone through the local district attorney's victim advocacy 
representative. There is no limit on written correspondence 
in favor of and/or opposition to an offender's consideration 
for parole. 

B. The direct victim, spouse, or next of kin of a deceased 
victim and any person who has filed a victim notice and 
registration form shall be advised in writing no less than 90 
days prior to the scheduled hearing date  

B.1. - C.2. … 
3. the direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or 

close relative of a deceased victim will be allowed to speak 
to the panel prior to its making a decision in the case. 

D. The Committee on Parole has delegated the 
responsibility for advance notice of a scheduled hearing to 
the direct victim to the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Division of Probation and Parole. This 
notification is not required when the direct victim cannot be 
located despite the exercise of due diligence.  

E. The written notice is not required when the victim, the 
spouse, or next of kin of a deceased victim, advises the 
committee in writing that such notification is not desired. 

F. If victim notification is determined to have not met 
the advance notice time requirements required by this 
section, a victim may request that a hearing be re-scheduled 
if the hearing has not yet been conducted. Likewise, a victim 
may waive the notice requirement; however, such waiver 
must be received in writing from the victim.  

G. Should a hearing be re-scheduled by the board for any 
reason other than the victim’s request, the board shall notify 
the victim as soon as possible by telephone and shall follow-
up with written confirmation of the telephone notification 
via certified U.S. Mail (with return receipt requested) 

H. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim shall have the right to make a 
written or oral statement as to the impact of the crime. 

I. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim or a victim's advocacy group, 
and the district attorney or his representative may also 
appear before the panel by means of telephone 
communication from the office of the local district attorney.  

J. If more than one person is entitled to appear for a 
parole hearing, the person chosen by all persons entitled to 
appear may serve as a spokesperson for all those entitled to 
appear. Any person making an oral presentation to the parole 
panel will be allowed no more than five minutes. However, 
at the parole panel chairman’s discretion more than one 
person may present a written or oral statement to the panel. 

1.  All persons making oral presentations in favor of 
an applicant shall be allowed cumulatively no more than 10 
minutes. All persons making oral presentations against an 
applicant, including victims, shall be allowed cumulatively 
no more than 10 minutes.  

K. There is no limit on written correspondence in favor 
of and/or opposition to a candidate for parole release.  

L. The committee on Parole shall notify all persons who 
have filed a Victim Notice and Registration form with the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections of an 
offender’s release from incarceration by parole. Such written 
notice shall be sent by certified mail (with return receipt 
requested).  

M. Notice to Crime Victim Services Bureau of Parole 
Hearings. The committee shall provide notice to the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections Crime Victims 
Services Bureau at least 30 days prior to parole hearings.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2263 
(August 2013), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of 
Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 43:47 (January 2017), LR 
44: 

Chapter 7. Parole Decisions 
§701. Policy Statement 

A. - C.5.b. … 
c. Effective August 1, 2018, victims of any offender 

who appears before the Committee on Parole for a parole 
hearing may provide the parole panel a re-entry statement to 
request proximity or contact restrictions, if that offender is 
granted parole. Victims must submit the re-entry statement 
to the Committee on Parole at least 60 days prior to the 
offender’s scheduled parole hearing. The committee will 
consider the re-entry statement only for the purpose of 
determining the offender’s parole conditions and not for the 
purpose of determining whether to order the release of the 
offender on parole. The re-entry statement is not binding on 
the Committee on Parole, but shall be considered in concert 
with other information when determining conditions of 
parole. 

d. Evidence of official and/or community support 
may increase the likelihood of parole. 

6. - 8.a. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2300 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2265 (August 2013), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 
40:58 (January 2014), LR 44: 

§703. Result of Decision to Grant or Deny Parole 
A. - A.2. … 
B. No physical release from custody shall be authorized 

by the granting of a parole eligibility date that extends 
beyond nine months from the date of the hearing; nor shall 
release be authorized until all notice requirements, if any, 
have been timely made.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2301 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2266 (August 2013), LR 
44: 

§711. Conditional Parole 
A. When the committee determines that it would be in 

the best interest of the public and the offender, the 
committee may require successful completion of a specific
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rehabilitative program (i.e., substance abuse treatment, 
transitional work program, 100 hours of pre-release training, 
reentry program, attainment of high school equivalency 
(HSE) as a prerequisite to release on parole to ensure public 
safety and enhance the offender’s opportunity for success.  

1. For conditional parole decisions, the committee will 
generally require completion of programs that have been 
certified by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
or that are recommended by the Division of Probation and 
Parole. 

2. Program completion should occur within six 
months from the parole decision. However, if the program is 
more than 6 months in duration, the offender may be 
allowed up to 9 months after the parole decision to complete 
the specified program. In no event, however, may the 
physical release from custody on parole extend beyond nine 
months from the hearing date. 

3. If the offender has not successfully completed the 
program in nine months from the hearing date, the 
committee shall rescind or reconsider his parole and 
schedule a subsequent hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2301 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2267 (August 2013), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, 
Committee on Parole, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
Amendment to the rules has no known impact on family 

formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49-
972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relations to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2012 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Mary Fuentes, 

Corrections Management Officer, Board of Pardons and 
Parole, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 4:30 
p.m. on November 10, 2017. 

 
Sheryl M. Ranatza 
Board Chair 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Administration, Clemency, Parole 
Eligibility, Victim Notification and Participation in 

Hearings, and Parole Decisions 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Proposed changes are primarily part of the package of bills 
based on recommendations from the Louisiana Justice 
Reinvestment (JRI) Task Force. The package of bills, enacted 

subsequent to the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, is projected to reduce prison and supervision 
populations by 2027 resulting in potentially significant 
expenditure savings. As reported by the task force, “the 
consensus recommendations would avert the projected growth 
in the number of prisoners in Louisiana and bend the prison 
population downward, for an overall reduction in the prison 
population by 2027. This decline in the number of prisoners 
would save Louisiana taxpayers millions over the next ten 
years. The recommendations would reinvest savings into 
research-based programs that reduce recidivism and services 
that support victims of crime. The recommendations would also 
reduce the community supervision populations by 2027, 
compared to the projected population absent reform.”  

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Board of Pardons and the 
Committee on Parole hereby gives notice of its intent to enact 
and amend its rules of LAC 22:V:203, 211 and LAC 
22:XI:102, 303, 307, 510, 701, 703 and 711. These proposed 
rule changes contain technical revisions and also incorporate 
acts of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session. Act 70 provides 
relative to the release date of an offender required to complete 
certain rehabilitative programs prior to release on parole; Act 
258 provides that if an offender has a parole hearing, a 
registered victim may submit a reentry statement to the 
Committee on Parole; Act 267 provides relative to the length of 
time certain applicants are required to wait before applying for 
a pardon or commutation of sentence; Act 280 provides relative 
to notice to victim, and medical treatment furlough; and Act 
337 provides relative to rights of crime victims with respect to 
notification of pardon or parole. The information below 
represents several rule changes associated with the 
aforementioned criminal justice reform efforts that are most 
likely to result in fiscal impacts:  

Part V. Board of Pardons 
203 – Eligibility for Clemency Consideration 

Proposed changes to LAC 22:V:203 could result in 
potential savings to the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections – Correction Services (DPS&C). LAC 22:V:203 
states that an offender sentenced to life may not apply for 
clemency consideration until he has served 15 years from the 
date of sentence. The proposed rule change will include periods 
of time prior to the imposition of the sentence in which the 
defendant was in actual custody for the offense for which he 
was sentenced to life imprisonment. Thus, the offender may be 
in State custody for less time. Act 267 of the 2017 Regular 
Session will potentially result in a SGF cost savings for the 
DPS&C to the degree certain offenders become eligible and 
attain a pardon or commutation of sentence in less time than 
possible under previous law. In this instance, the exact fiscal 
impact is indeterminable since it is not known how many 
offenders will be granted pardon or commutation of sentence, 
even if eligible, as a result of the new law. However, if an 
offender is pardoned, a savings of $24.39 per day in a local 
facility or $51.90 per day in a state facility will be realized. 
Currently, DPS&C houses 50% of state offenders at the local 
level and 50% at the state level. In the event there is a material 
workload increase for the pardon board, there may be a need 
for additional staff. 

711 – Conditional Parole 
Proposed rule changes are technical and non-technical as it 

relates to conditional parole. LAC 22:XI 711 states that when 
an offender is required to complete a rehabilitation program as 
a prerequisite to release on parole, the allowance for program 
completion has been extended from six months to nine months 
after the parole decision. The fiscal impact as noted in Act 70 
of the 2017 Regular Session reflects that this law will likely 
result in a decrease in SGF expenditures for the DPS&C. It will 
allow granting parole to certain inmates after completing 
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rehabilitation and workforce development programs as directed 
by the committee on parole on or before nine (9) months after 
the parole hearing or the most recent reconsideration of the 
prisoner’s case. The potential per offender savings is $21.76 
($24.39 per day - $2.63 parole supervision per day) per day or 
$7,942.40 annually per offender in local facilities. To the extent 
that offenders are released from state facilities, the potential 
savings per day per offender is $49.27 ($51.90 per day - $2.63 
parole supervision per day) or $17,983.55 annually. Currently, 
the DPS&C houses 50% of state offenders at the local level and 
50% at the state level. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Proposed rule changes as a result of Acts 70 and 280 of the 
2017 Regular Session may likely result in an indeterminable 
increase in SGR as a result of offenders being released into 
parole supervision. For each offender that is released to parole 
at a date earlier than that allowed by previous law, the DPS&C 
could collect up to $63 per month from each offender under 
parole supervision. The maximum amount paid per month is 
$63. The offender’s ability to pay is determined by the 
committee on parole. While the number of individuals under 
parole supervision is likely to increase in the short term, the 
Louisiana Justice Reinvestment Task Force Report dated 
March 26, 2017, estimates material reductions by 2027, which 
predicts a decrease in revenues at some unspecified point in the 
future.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is likely an economic benefit for released offenders 
as they reenter the workforce and earn wages. This assumes 
individuals who are released have adequate skills and are able 
to obtain and maintain gainful employment.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes should result in an increase in 
the number of former offenders being granted the capacity to 
reenter the workforce and earn wages. The capacity of these 
individuals to secure gainful employment and the capacity of 
the labor market to absorb the potential extra workforce is 
unknown. 

 

Thomas C. Bickham, III Gregory V. Albrecht 
Undersecretary Chief Economist 
1711#042 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Oyster Lease Acquisition and Compensation Program  
(LAC 43:VII.Chapter 3) 

Pursuant to R.S. 56:432.1, and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Executive Director of the Louisiana 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority gives notice 
that rulemaking procedures have been initiated to amend the 
below Chapter to clarify provisions of the Oyster Lease 
Acquisition Compensation Program (“OLACP”). The 
purpose of this amendment is to clarify language and add a 
definition regarding the “harvest efficiency ratio”, which is 
used pursuant to the directive in R.S. 56:432.1 for the 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority (“CPRA”) to 
determine the amount of compensation for oyster leases

acquired by the State of Louisiana for coastal protection and 
restoration projects. The amendment also seeks to make 
editorial changes that accurately reflect the agency 
responsible for administering the OLACP, which has 
changed from the Louisiana Department of Natural 
Resources to the CPRA pursuant to Acts 2009, No. 523. 
Neither purpose of the amendment will change any current 
policies, practices or methods of such lease acquisition 
compensation or of the OLACP. This program will continue 
to benefit coastal restoration efforts in Louisiana while 
sufficiently paying oyster lease holders for the acquisition of 
any oyster lease acquired through the program.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part VII.  Coastal Protection, Conservation, and 
Restoration 

Subpart 1.  Ground Water Management 
Chapter 3. Oyster Lease Acquisition and 

Compensation Program 
§301. Purpose and Authority 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.851] 
A. This Subchapter sets forth the rules for the acquisition 

of and compensation for oyster leases by the authority when 
necessary for purposes of coastal protection, conservation, or 
restoration. The authority may acquire oyster leases, in 
whole or in part, for such purposes on behalf of the state to 
the extent that the leases are or may be directly affected by 
the dredging, direct placement of dredged or other materials, 
or other work or activities necessary for the construction or 
maintenance of a coastal protection, conservation, or 
restoration project. 

B. These regulations are adopted pursuant to Subpart D 
of Part VII of Chapter I of Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950, including the Oyster Lease Acquisition and 
Compensation Program under R.S. 56:432.1 and the general 
authority of the authority under Part II of Chapter 2 of Title 
49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., R.S. 56:421 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2089 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 41:2610 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§303. Construction and Usage 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.853] 
A. The following shall be observed regarding the 

construction and usage of these regulations. 
1. Unless otherwise specifically stated, the singular 

form of any noun includes the plural and the masculine form 
of any noun includes the feminine. 

2. Unless otherwise specifically stated, all references 
to Section are to Sections of this Subchapter. 

3. Any reference to days in this Subchapter shall refer 
to calendar days. 

4. The day of the event from which a designated time 
period begins to run shall not be included in the computation 
of a period of time allowed or prescribed in these 
regulations. The last day of the period is to be included in 
the computation of a period of time allowed or prescribed in 
these regulations, unless it is a legal holiday, in which case 
the period runs until the end of the next day that is not a
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legal holiday. Nonetheless, the effective date of acquisition 
shall be on the date set by the authority pursuant to these 
regulations and R.S. 56:432.1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., R.S. 56:421 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2089 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 41:2610 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§305. Definitions 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.855] 
A. The following shall apply for purposes of these 

regulations. 

* * * 
Authority—the Coastal Protection and Restoration 

Authority, its executive director, or his designee. 

* * * 
Department―Repealed. 

* * * 
Executive Director—the executive director of the 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority or his 
designee, unless otherwise specifically stated in this 
Subchapter. 

Harvest Efficiency Ratio—the ratio used to determine 
the amount of marketable oysters capable of being harvested 
on affected acreage acquired pursuant to R.S. 56:432.1. The 
harvest efficiency ratio shall be 70 percent of the marketable 
oysters on the affected acreage.  

* * * 
Secretary―Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., R.S. 56:421 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2089 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 41:2610 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§307. Notification to Leaseholder of an Oyster 

Resource Survey; Procedures and Protocols for 

an Oyster Resource Survey 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.857] 
A. When appropriate, the executive director shall 

determine and delineate the potential impact area of a project 
and in making such decision may consult with the 
government agency or any public or private entity 
responsible for the project. 

B. When the executive director determines that an 
existing oyster lease identified in records provided and 
maintained by DWF may, in whole or in part, be located 
within the direct impact area of a project, the executive 
director may conduct an oyster resource survey. 

C. The executive director shall notify the leaseholder in 
writing at least 15 days prior to the oyster resource survey of 
the potentially affected acreage or potentially affected lease. 
The notification shall, at a minimum, include the following: 

1. a brief description of the coastal protection, 
conservation, or restoration project, and a plat or map 
depicting the project and potentially affected lease or 
potentially affected acreage; 

2. a copy of these regulations, R.S. 56:424, and R.S. 
56:432.1; 

3. the date and time of the oyster resource survey; 
4. the name of and contact information for the person 

conducting the oyster resource survey; 
5. a statement that the leaseholder or his designee may 

accompany the person conducting the oyster resource 
survey; 

6. a statement that the state may acquire the 
potentially affected lease or potentially affected acreage to 
be surveyed or sampled, and if so, that the leaseholder will 
be compensated for any acquired lease or portion thereof in 
accordance with R.S. 56:432.1 and this Subchapter; 

7. the name of and contact information for a person at 
the authority to direct all inquiries regarding the project and 
the potentially affected lease or potentially affected acreage; 

8. a statement that the leaseholder may provide to the 
authority, through the contact person listed in the notice, any 
reasonably confirmable data or other information relevant to 
a determination of the compensation for any potentially 
affected lease or potentially affected acreage, within 60 days 
after the actual date of the oyster resource survey conducted 
pursuant to this Subchapter. Failure to provide such data or 
information within the specified time period may preclude 
consideration of such data by the executive director, the 
authority, the person conducting the oyster resource survey, 
or the appraiser appointed thereby; 

9. - 10. … 
11. a statement that the authority, the state of Louisiana, 

political subdivisions of the state, the United States, or any 
agency, agent, contractor, or employee of any of these 
entities is not subject to any obligation, responsibility, or 
liability in relation to or resulting from any surveying or 
sampling of any oyster lease, information provided to any 
leaseholder in relation to any surveying or sampling of any 
oyster lease, the timing of any acquisition of any part of any 
lease by the state pursuant to R.S. 56:432.1, the lack of 
acquisition of any part of any lease except as provided by 
R.S. 56:432.1, or any report pursuant to R.S. 56:432.2 or 
otherwise. 

D. Any written notification from the executive director 
or the authority to the leaseholder of a potentially affected 
lease or potentially affected acreage in accordance with this 
section shall be deemed legally sufficient if sent by certified 
United States mail, postage pre-paid, return receipt 
requested, or hand delivered, to the last address furnished to 
DWF by the leaseholder on the date of issuance of notice. 

E. Oyster Resource Survey Procedures and Protocol 
1. … 
2. Assessment Procedure 

a. Should the executive director elect to obtain an 
oyster resource survey of a potentially affected lease or 
potentially affected acreage, he may select the person(s) to 
conduct the oyster resource survey considering all relevant 
criteria, including but not limited to prior experience, prior 
performance, demonstrated expert knowledge in the field of 
oyster biology, and the ability to perform concurrent task 
orders while maintaining high quality work. The person(s) 
so selected shall be contracted with by the authority pursuant
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to R.S. 39:1551, et seq., or other applicable public contract 
law, and shall have the following minimum qualifications: 
 i. a college degree in biological science, or prior 
acceptance by a Louisiana federal or state court as an expert 
witness in the field of oyster biology or oyster ecology; and 
 ii. five years of professional experience 
conducting oyster lease surveys and standing oyster crop 
analyses. 

b. Samples should be taken at a minimum within 
the area of a potentially affected lease delineated by the 
executive director as the potential impact area of the project 
for which the oyster resource survey is being conducted. 

c. - d. … 
f. An original copy of the written assessment shall 

be provided to and retained by the authority, which may use 
it in accordance with the appraisal and valuation procedures 
set forth in these regulations. A copy will be provided to the 
leaseholder upon written request by the leaseholder to the 
authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., R.S. 56:424, and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2090 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority, LR 41:2611 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§309. Appraisal 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.859] 
A. The executive director shall determine or delineate 

the direct impact area of a project, and in making such 
decision, may consult with any public or private entity 
responsible for the project. 

B. Should the executive director determine that an 
existing oyster lease identified in records provided and 
maintained by DWF is, in whole or in part, located within 
the direct impact area of a project, the executive director 
shall obtain an appraisal of the affected lease or affected 
acreage. 

C. When the executive director elects to obtain an 
appraisal of an affected lease or affected acreage, he shall 
select the appraiser considering all relevant criteria, 
including but not limited to the following: 

1. … 
2. the appraiser so selected shall be contracted with by 

the authority pursuant to R.S. 39:1551 et seq., or other 
applicable public contract law, and shall have a current 
certification as a Louisiana certified general real estate 
appraiser; professional designation in the field of appraisal; 
and, five or more years of professional experience 
conducting real property appraisals. 

D. … 
E. A written appraisal shall be prepared by the appraiser, 

estimating the fair market value of the affected lease or 
affected acreage, and explaining the valuation methodology. 
An original of the appraisal and a copy of all documents 
used to develop the appraisal shall be provided to the 
authority, which may use it pursuant to the procedures set 
forth in these regulations. A copy will be provided to the 
leaseholder upon written request by the leaseholder to the 
authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2091 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority LR 41:2612 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§311. Determination of Compensation 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.861] 
A. The executive director shall determine the 

compensation for any affected acreage to be acquired as 
follows. 

1. If the authority provides a time period of one year 
or more between issuance of a notice of acquisition pursuant 
to §313 of this Part and the effective date of acquisition, then 
compensation for the affected acreage to be acquired shall be 
equal to the fair market value of the affected acreage to be 
acquired as determined by the executive director in 
accordance with §309 of this Part. 

2. If the authority provides a time period of less than 
one year between issuance of a notice of acquisition 
pursuant to §313 of this Part and the effective date of 
acquisition, the compensation for the affected acreage to be 
acquired shall be equal to the fair market value of the 
affected acreage to be acquired as determined by the 
executive director in accordance with §309 of this Part plus 
the value of the harvestable marketable oysters on the 
affected acreage, if any, as determined by the authority based 
upon the harvest efficiency ratio and other reasonably 
confirmable data. The number of harvestable marketable 
oysters on affected acreage shall be calculated by 
multiplying the harvest efficiency ratio by the number of 
marketable oysters on the affected acreage as determined in 
the oyster resource survey conducted in accordance with 
§307of this Part. The number of marketable oysters on the 
affected acreage shall be determined taking into account the 
number of sacks of marketable oysters per acre, suitable 
acreage, and natural mortality. The compensation to be paid 
for harvestable marketable oysters on affected acreage shall 
be the number of harvestable marketable oysters on the 
affected acreage multiplied by the current statewide average 
market price, and subtracting the harvest cost. 

3. Data for estimation of the value of harvestable 
marketable oysters shall be determined from the written 
assessment derived from the oyster resource survey 
conducted in accordance with §307 of this Part. The 
authority may also take into consideration any reasonably 
confirmable data or information supplied timely by any 
person in accordance with §307 of this Part. 

4. The appraiser and the authority shall consider any 
reasonably confirmable data or other information supplied to 
the authority by the leaseholder following the oyster 
resource survey conducted in accordance with §307 of this 
Part. The authority or the appraiser may disregard any 
information or data not submitted timely pursuant to §307 of 
this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2091 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal
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Protection and Restoration Authority LR 41:2612 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§313. Notification to Leaseholder of Acquisition and 

Compensation 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.863] 
A. Should the executive director determine that an 

existing oyster lease issued by DWF is located within the 
direct impact area of a project and the project is necessary 
and proper for coastal protection, conservation, or 
restoration, the executive director may acquire the affected 
acreage on behalf of the state in accordance with this 
Section. 

B. … 
C. Such notice of acquisition shall, at a minimum, 

include: 
1. a description specifying affected acreage, or portion 

thereof, being acquired; 
2. the effective date of acquisition; 
3. a brief description of the coastal protection, 

conservation, or restoration project for which the acreage is 
being acquired; 

4. a plat or map depicting the project and the affected 
lease or affected acreage to be acquired; 

5. a copy of these regulations and R.S. 56:432.1; 
6. a statement that the authority will acquire the 

acreage described in the notice of acquisition, and that such 
acquisition shall automatically occur on the date specified in 
the notice; 

7. - 10. … 
11. a statement that the leaseholder will either be 

allowed a period of one year or more from the date of 
issuance of notice of acquisition herein in which to remove 
any and all marketable oysters from the affected lease, at his 
sole risk and expense, and that no compensation shall be 
allowed for oysters so removed or removable, or if the 
authority states an effective date for the acquisition that is 
less than one year after the date of issuance, a statement that 
the compensation for the acreage to be acquired includes 
compensation for the harvestable marketable oysters as part 
of the attached acquisition payment; 

12. a determination of compensation, stating the dollar 
amount that the authority has determined in accordance with 
these regulations and R.S. 56:432.1 to be paid for the 
acquired acreage and the appraised value of the acquired 
acreage. If compensation is being paid for harvestable 
marketable oysters, a statement of the value thereof is also to 
be included; 

13. a check, attached only to a notice of acquisition 
sent to the leaseholder's last address as furnished to DWF by 
the leaseholder on the date of issuance of notice, in the full 
amount of the determination of compensation, except for and 
less any amount due on recorded liens and encumbrances to 
be paid out of said proceeds, in the name of the leaseholder 
of record in accordance with the records of DWF on the date 
of issuance of notice of acquisition herein; 

14. … 
15. if any amount due on a recorded lien or 

encumbrance has been withheld from the check for 
compensation, a statement indicating the name of the holder 
of the recorded lien or encumbrance, the amount withheld, 
and that payment of said amount has been made by the 
authority to that holder; 

16. a statement that the leaseholder may seek an 
administrative hearing in writing through the authority 
within 60 days after issuance of the notice of acquisition, 
determination of compensation, or payment, pursuant to 
these regulations and R.S. 56:432.1, as to whether the 
acquisition due to the impact of dredging, direct placement 
of dredged or other materials, or other work or activities 
necessary for the construction or maintenance of a project 
for coastal protection, conservation, or restoration is proper 
or whether the compensation issued by the authority 
satisfied the regulations under this Subchapter, and that 
administrative or judicial review may be permissible, but 
that the procedures stated by law and these regulations must 
be followed or such right of review may be lost or impaired; 
and 

17. … 
D. Before issuing any notice of acquisition, the authority 

shall make a reasonable attempt to determine whether any 
amount is due on a recorded lien or encumbrance in relation 
to any oyster lease covering the acreage to be acquired. The 
holder of the lien or encumbrance and the leaseholder may 
negotiate to allocate the compensation to be paid under the 
notice of acquisition by written agreement among them. Any 
such written agreement must fully release and indemnify the 
authority from any claim in relation to the acreage to be 
acquired or the compensation for such acreage. 

1. If no such written agreement is provided on or 
before the date when the authority issues the notice of 
acquisition, the authority shall withhold the full amount of 
all liens or encumbrances covering any of the acreage to be 
acquired, up to the full amount of the compensation 
determined by the authority. If the authority timely receives 
such a written agreement, the authority shall withhold the 
amount agreed by the lienholder or encumbrance holder. A 
statement of the name of the holder and the amount withheld 
in relation to each lien or encumbrance shall be issued to the 
leaseholder as part of the notice of acquisition. 

2. … 
3. The authority shall forward payment in the full 

amount of any withholding to the holder of the lien or 
encumbrance by certified United States mail, return receipt 
requested, postage pre-paid, or by pre-paid receipted courier 
or delivery service, or hand delivery, to the last address on 
file with the secretary of state, if any, or to any address 
provided to the authority or DWF by the lien or 
encumbrance holder. A copy of the notice of acquisition and 
determination of compensation, showing the lien or 
encumbrance and the withholding in relation thereto, shall 
be attached to the payment. 

4. If the authority is unable to make delivery of the 
payment by these means, the authority shall transfer funds in 
the full amount of the withholding to a trust account from 
which it may be drawn for the benefit of the holder of the 
lien or encumbrance by joint agreement of the holder and the 
authority, upon request of the lienholder of record on the 
date the notice of acquisition is initially issued. 

5. If funds deposited into a trust account pursuant to 
this Subsection remain unclaimed after a period of five 
years, the funds shall be declared to be abandoned and may 
be disposed of pursuant to the Uniform Unclaimed Property 
Act, R.S. 9:151 et seq., at the sole discretion of the executive 
director. 
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E. If the authority attempts issuance of notice of 
acquisition, determination of compensation, and the check 
pursuant to §313.C of this Part, at least once, and is unable 
to make delivery of the notice to the leaseholder thereby, the 
authority shall re-issue the notice and the determination of 
compensation by certified United States mail, return receipt 
requested, to the leaseholder at his address on file with DWF 
on the date of the re-issuance. In such event, the authority 
shall also publish a summary of such notice identifying the 
affected lease and acreage to be acquired, stating the 
effective date of the acquisition and providing a contact 
person at the authority for all inquiries regarding the 
acquisition, in the official journal for all parishes in which 
any part of the acreage to be acquired is located. In addition, 
the following procedures shall apply. 

1. If a Notice of Acquisition is re-issued under this 
Subsection, no check shall be attached to the re-issued 
notice. Instead, payment in the full amount of the 
determination of compensation, except for and less any 
amount due on recorded liens and encumbrances to be paid 
out of said proceeds, shall be transferred into a trust account 
from which it may be drawn for the benefit of the 
leaseholder by joint agreement of the leaseholder and the 
authority, upon request of the leaseholder listed with DWF 
on the date the notice of acquisition is initially issued. If said 
funds deposited into a trust account pursuant to this 
Subsection remain unclaimed after a period of five years, the 
funds shall be declared to be abandoned and may be 
disposed of pursuant to the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act 
as set forth in R.S. 9:151 et seq., at the sole discretion of the 
executive director. 

2. A re-issued notice shall include a statement that 
compensation for the acquisition has been deposited into a 
trust account, and that a contact person at the authority 
designated in the re-issued notice can assist the leaseholder 
in withdrawing said funds from the trust account. The re-
issued notice shall also include a statement that any funds in 
the trust account remaining unclaimed after five years shall 
be declared abandoned and may be disposed of pursuant to 
the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act, R.S. 9:151 et seq. 

F. … 
G. No lease shall be granted for any water bottom for 

which any lease was previously acquired by the state for 
coastal protection, conservation, or restoration, unless the 
secretary of DWF determines that leasing would otherwise 
be appropriate under the provisions of Subpart D of Part VII 
of Chapter I of Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950 and the executive director of CPRA affirms that the 
water bottom is not necessary for coastal protection, 
conservation, or restoration, as provided by and in 
accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:425(E). Unless 
this determination has been made prior to issuance of the 
lease, a lease of water bottom for which a lease was 
previously acquired shall be null and void for such water 
bottom and shall be of no force or effect. No person shall 
have any claim against the executive director of CPRA, the 
secretary of DWF, either department, the state of Louisiana, 
its political subdivisions, the United States, or any agency, 
agent, contractor, or employee thereof or any other person in 
relation to the nullity of such lease. The determination of 
whether the water bottom sought to be leased is not 
necessary for coastal protection, conservation, or restoration 

shall be at the sole discretion of the executive director of 
CPRA, upon consideration of existing, planned, projected, or 
reasonably foreseeable projects or other actions needed for 
coastal protection, conservation, or restoration. 

H. Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to 
require the executive director to engage in or perform any 
project or other action for coastal protection, conservation, 
or restoration or any oyster resource survey, appraisal, or 
valuation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., R.S. 56:425, and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2092 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority LR 41:2612 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§315. Administrative Review 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.865] 
A. A leaseholder of an oyster lease acquired, in whole or 

in part, in accordance with these regulations and R.S. 
56:432.1 may seek an administrative hearing through the 
authority. 

1. Any such adjudication shall be limited to whether 
the acquisition due to the impact of dredging, direct 
placement of dredged or other materials, or other work or 
activities necessary for the construction or maintenance of a 
project for coastal protection, conservation, or restoration is 
proper, or whether the compensation issued by the authority 
satisfies the rules and regulations under this Subchapter. 

2. Any leaseholder whose lease is not acquired, but 
upon which dredging, direct placement of dredged or other 
materials, or other work or activities necessary for the 
construction or maintenance of a project for coastal 
protection, conservation, or restoration has occurred, may 
also seek an administrative hearing through the authority 
under this section to determine if acquisition of such oyster 
lease acreage would be proper. 

B. A leaseholder's request for an administrative hearing 
under this section shall be requested in writing and sent to 
the authority at the following address: Coastal Protection 
and Restoration Authority, Executive Director, P.O. Box 
44027, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4027. 

1. A written request for adjudication under this 
Section must be received by the authority within 60 days 
after issuance of the notice of acquisition, determination of 
compensation, or payment to which the request pertains. 
However, a request for adjudication may be submitted to the 
authority within two years after completion of the project for 
which acreage was acquired, if and only if, the leaseholder 
establishes that notice of the acquisition, determination of 
compensation, or payment was not issued as required by 
R.S. 56:432.1 or §313 of this Part, or the request for 
adjudication seeks review of the lack of acquisition of leased 
acreage upon which dredging, direct placement of dredged 
or other materials, or other work or activities necessary for 
the construction or maintenance of a project for coastal 
protection, conservation, or restoration has occurred. 

a. A request for adjudication received after the 
aforementioned deadlines, as applicable, is not timely and 
shall be denied. 

b. A request for adjudication is deemed timely 
"received" when the request is mailed on or before the due 
date. If the papers are received by mail on the first legal day 
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following the expiration of the delay, there shall be a 
rebuttable presumption that they are timely filed. In all cases 
where the presumption does not apply, the timeliness of the 
mailing shall be shown by an official United States postmark 
or by official receipt or certificate from the United States 
Postal Service or a bona-fide commercial mail service such 
as Federal Express or United States Parcel Service, made at 
the time of mailing which indicates the date thereof. 

2. A request for an administrative hearing shall, at a 
minimum, include the following: 

a. identification of the notice of acquisition to 
which the request pertains, or if no notice has been issued, 
identification of the affected lease and affected acreage to 
which the request pertains; 

b. a statement of the relief requested, identifying the 
specific issue or point as to which adjudication is sought; 

c. a statement of the reasons such relief is 
requested, and the facts upon which the request for relief is 
based; 

d. the name and address to which the authority and 
the Division of Administrative Law will send all 
communications regarding the request for administrative 
review. Neither the authority nor the Division of 
Administrative Law have any obligation to deliver any 
communications or other notices regarding the request to 
any person or address other than the address listed in the 
request or any amendment thereto. If no person is listed, the 
authority and the Division of Administrative Law shall 
deliver all communications or notices to the last address on 
file for the leaseholder with DWF, and shall have no 
obligation to deliver communications or notices to any other 
person or address. 

3. The authority shall promptly submit a request for 
adjudication to the Division of Administrative Law. 

C. … 
D. The leaseholder may provide to the Division of 

Administrative Law, the authority, and any other parties, 
including any holder of any lien or encumbrance or any 
other leaseholder claiming an interest in the acreage at issue, 
on or before the date of the adjudication, any reasonably 
confirmable data or other information that the leaseholder 
believes should be considered by the Division of 
Administrative Law in conducting the administrative review 
of the determination of the authority. The Division of 
Administrative Law shall consider any reasonably 
confirmable data or information timely provided to the 
authority by the leaseholder or any other person pursuant to 
§313 of this Part and R.S. 56:432.1. The Division of 
Administrative Law may disregard any information or data 
that is not submitted timely pursuant to this Subchapter. 

E. The final decision of the Division of Administrative 
Law shall be issued to the leaseholder, in writing by certified 
mail, at his address on file with DWF on the date of issuance 
thereof, or at such other address as may be specified in the 
request for adjudication; and the Coastal Protection and 
Restoration Authority, Executive Director, P.O. Box 44027, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4027. 

F. … 

G. If the Division of Administrative Law declares in a 
final decision that the leaseholder is entitled to additional 
compensation for the acquisition of the leasehold acreage at 
issue or that the authority should have acquired a lease or 
acreage which it had not previously acquired, and states the 
amount of such compensation that is due, the authority, 
subject to Constitution Article 12, Section 10, shall issue a 
check or draft to the leaseholder for such additional amount, 
except for and less any amount due on recorded liens and 
encumbrances to be paid out of said proceeds, by certified 
United States mail, return receipt requested, postage pre-
paid, or hand delivery, to the last address on file with DWF 
on the date of issuance, or at such other address as may be 
specified in the request for adjudication, within 60 days after 
issuance of the final decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2094 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority LR 41:2614 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§317. Judicial Review 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.867] 
A. … 
B. Proceedings for judicial review may be instituted in 

accordance with R.S. 56:432.1(D) by filing a petition in the 
Nineteenth Judicial District Court for the Parish of East 
Baton Rouge within 60 days after issuance of the final 
decision of the Division of Administrative Law. No petition 
for judicial review may be filed, and any such petition is 
premature, unless adjudication has been timely sought and 
all administrative remedies have been exhausted. Copies of 
the petition shall be served upon the executive director and 
on all parties of record. 

C. … 
D. If the court declares in its judgment that the 

leaseholder is entitled to additional compensation for the 
acquisition of the leasehold acreage at issue or that the 
authority should have acquired a lease or acreage which it 
had not previously acquired, and states the amount of such 
compensation that is due, the authority may appeal the 
judgment in accord with R.S. 49:965 of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (APA). If the judgment is affirmed on appeal 
or no appeal is taken and subject to Constitution Article 12, 
Section 10, the authority shall issue a check or draft to the 
leaseholder for such additional compensation as set forth in 
the original judgment or as may be modified or amended on 
appeal by certified United States mail, return receipt 
requested, postage pre-paid, or hand delivery, to the last 
address on file with DWF on the date of issuance, or at such 
other address as may be specified in the request for 
adjudication no more than 60 days after the judgment 
becomes final and definitive under the provisions of Articles 
2166 and 2167 of the Code of Civil Procedure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2095 (November
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2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority LR 41:2616 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

§319. Reimbursement of Costs of Acquisition 

[Formerly LAC 43:I.869] 
A. The authority may acquire any acreage under this 

Subchapter in relation to a project or action for coastal 
protection, conservation, or restoration performed or to be 
performed by or for the United States, any department, 
agency, board, commission, or political subdivision of the 
state, or any other public or private entity responsible for a 
project. 

B. If the authority acquires acreage under this 
Subchapter in relation to any project or action performed by 
any person or entity other than the authority, such entity 
shall compensate the authority for all costs incurred by the 
authority, which are associated with the acquisition. 

C. The costs for which reimbursement is due under this 
Subchapter includes but is not limited to costs of oyster 
resource surveys, appraisal, administrative, or other uses of 
authority personnel or resources, payment for acquisition, 
and awards on administrative adjudications or judicial 
review. 

D. The executive director may choose, at his sole 
discretion, to waive any part or all of the compensation that 
would otherwise be required under this Section. No person 
or entity shall have any right to such waiver, and the 
executive director shall have no obligation to make such a 
waiver. Waiver of any part of the compensation that would 
otherwise be required shall not affect any obligation to pay 
the remainder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:213.1 et seq., and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:2095 (November 
2006), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Coastal 
Protection and Restoration Authority LR 41:2616 (December 
2015), amended LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment has no known impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed amendment will have no adverse impact on 
small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.5. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment has no known impact on 

providers as described in HCR 170 of 2014.  
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed amendment. Persons 
commenting should reference the proposed Rule by using 
the term Oyster Lease Acquisition Compensation Program. 
Such comments must be received no later than December 11, 
2017, at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to the Louisiana 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority, TBD.  

 

Michael Ellis 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Oyster Lease Acquisition  
and Compensation Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will not result in costs or savings 

to state or local governmental units. The proposed rule change 
seeks to clarify and codify existing practice and certain terms 
concerning the determination of compensation for the 
acquisition of oyster lease acreage. The change maintains the 
same level of compensation that has been paid for more than a 
decade for the acquisition of state-issued oyster lease acreage 
for coastal protection and restoration projects. 

The proposed rule change adds a definition regarding the 
“harvest efficiency ratio”, which is used pursuant to the 
directive in La. R.S. 56:432.1 for the Coastal Protection and 
Restoration Authority (“CPRA”) to determine the amount of 
compensation for oyster leases acquired by the State of 
Louisiana for coastal protection and restoration projects.  

The proposed rule change makes clarifying changes that 
accurately reflect the agency responsible for administering the 
Oyster Lease Acquisition Compensation Program (OLACP). 
Pursuant to Act 523 of 2009, responsibility for the OLACP 
changed from the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources 
to CPRA. The proposed rule change does not change any 
current policies, practices, or methods of such lease acquisition 
compensation or of the OLACP. This program will continue to 
benefit coastal restoration efforts in Louisiana while 
sufficiently paying oyster lease holders for the acquisition of 
any oyster lease acquired through the program. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of the proposed rule change. The proposed rule change 
more precisely defines the methodology already in use to 
compensate oyster lease-holders by defining the harvest 
efficiency ratio. This ratio is used to determine the value of 
compensable marketable oysters on an oyster lease, which is 
limited to those capable of being harvested, when less than one 
year’s notice of acquisition of the lease pursuant to La. R.S. 
56:432.1 is provided. The propose rule change sets the harvest 
efficiency ratio at 70 percent of the compensable marketable 
oysters on an acquired lease. This methodology and ratio 
amount have been applied and calculated in this manner since 
the inception of the program; therefore, there is no anticipated 
increase or decrease in costs or benefits to the oyster lessees.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment because 
this proposed rule change clarifies certain terms concerning the 
determination of compensation for the acquisition of oyster 
leases. The agency intends to maintain the same level of 
compensation it has always paid and accrued for the acquisition 
of oyster leases as required and authorized by La. R.S 56:432.1. 

 
Michael Ellis Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1711#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Commission on Law Enforcement 

Peace Officer Training (LAC 22:III.Chapter 47) 

In accordance with the provision of R.S. 40:2401 et seq., 
the Peace Officer Standards and Training Act, and R.S. 
40:905 et seq., which is the Administrative Procedure Act, 
the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council hereby 
gives notice of its intent to promulgate rules and regulations 
relative to the training of peace officers. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part III.  Commission on Law Enforcement and 

Administration of Criminal Justice 
Subpart 4.  Peace Officers 

Chapter 47. Standards and Training 
§4701. Definitions 

A. The following terms, as used in these regulations, 
shall have the following meanings. 

* * * 
Peace Officer—any full-time, reserve, or part-time 

employee of the state, a municipality, a sheriff or other 
public agency, whose permanent duties actually include the 
making of arrests, the performing of searches and seizures, 
or the execution of detection of criminal warrants, and is 
responsible for the prevention or detection of crime or for 
the enforcement of the penal, traffic, highway laws of this 
state, but not including any elected or appointed head of a 
law enforcement department. Peace officer also includes 
those sheriff’s deputies whose duties include the care, 
custody, and control of inmates, police officers within the 
military department, state of Louisiana, and security 
personnel employed by the Supreme Court of Louisiana. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR:25:662 (April 1999), amended LR 
31:2007(August 2005), LR 35:2755 (December 2009), LR 44: 

§4703. Basic Certification  
A. All peace officers, as defined in R.S. 40:2403, shall 

complete a basic training course as prescribed and certified 
by the Council on Peace Officers Standards and Training 
(POST Council) within one year of employment as a peace 
officer. Reserve or part-time officers or military police 
officers stationed in Louisiana are eligible for certification if 
they successfully complete a basic training course prescribed 
for peace officers and pass the POST statewide examination. 
There are three levels of POST certification.  

1. Level 1 Certification for Basic Law Enforcement 
Peace Officers 

a. - b. … 
c. The POST Basic Training Curriculum (utilizing 

the Adult Learning Model) is required for any basic Level 1 
training class that begins at an accredited academy after July 
1, 2018. 

A.2. - D. …. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 13:434 (August 1987), amended LR 25:663 
(April 1999), LR 27:49 (January 2001), LR 28:475 (March 2002), 
LR 31:2008 (August 2005), LR 35:1235 (July 2009), LR 36:992 
(May 2010), LR 37:1606 (June 2011), LR 42:274 (February 2016), 
LR 44: 

§4705. Registration  
A. - C.2. … 
D. Registered officers who are “grandfathered in” are 

exempt from the basic training course requirement but must 
comply with all other POST mandates to maintain 
grandfathership including in service training. 

E. - F.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 13:434 (August 1987), amended LR 25:663 
(April l999), LR 31:3159 (December 2005), LR 37:319 (January 
2011), LR 44: 

§4709. Interruption of Service 
A. Any peace officer hired prior to January 1, 1986 who 

interrupts his full-time continuous law enforcement 
employment for a period in excess of five years (“break in 
service”) and is subsequently rehired full-time, shall be 
required to meet the basic training requirement for new 
peace officers unless the officer had: 

1. - 2. … 
B. Any officer hired after January, 1986, who interrupts 

his full-time law enforcement service for a period not to 
exceed five years, must qualify with his/her firearms to 
reinstate their certification. If the officer fails to requalify, 
then the officer must attend a full 40-hour training course 
with firearms and successfully requalify to reinstate their 
certification. If the officer had interrupted his full time 
service for a period of five years, and is thereafter rehired, 
then the officer must meet the requirement for “refreshers” 
outlined in §4709.A.2.  

C. Extended medical leave does not constitute an 
interruption of full-time service/employment (“break in 
service”). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 13:434 (August 1987), amended LR 25:664 
(April l999), LR 31:3159 (December 2005), LR 34:1927 
(September 2008), LR 37:319 (January 2011), LR 44: 
§4715. Instructor Qualifications 

A. Full-time academy instructors must meet the 
following qualifications: 

1. - 2. … 
3. shall have completed the instructor development 

course conducted by the council. 
4. … 

B. Specialized instructors for defensive tactics, firearms, 
and corrections shall meet the following qualification: 

1. - 2. … 
3. shall successfully complete all aspects of adult 

learning model training (except for Defensive Tactics 
instructors) 
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B.4. - E.6. … 
F. POST Corrections Instructors 

1.a. Eligibility for Level 1 Corrections Instructors 
 i. All applicants must be both a Level 1 and 
Level 3 peace officer or be a Level 2 peace officer under the 
current law; and  
 ii. … 
 iii. Successfully complete the POST/ Corrections 
Instructors Course. 

b. No out-of-state transfers are allowed for 
corrections instructor certification. 

2.a. Eligibility for Level 2 Master Corrections 
Instructors 
 i. The applicant shall be a POST Corrections 
Instructors at least two years; and 
 ii. … 
 iii. successfully complete the POST Master 
Corrections Instructor course. 

b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 13:434 (August 1987), amended LR 25:664 
(April l999), LR 31:2008 (August 2005), LR 32:1043 (June 2006), 
LR 44: 

§4717. POST Instructor Development Course  
A. - B.1. … 

2. Repealed. 
C. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 30:793 (April 2004), amended LR 44: 

§4731. Revocation of Certification 
A. All law enforcement agencies and correctional 

agencies and institutions within the state of Louisiana shall 
immediately report the conviction of any POST certified full 
time, reserve, or part-time or grandfathered peace officer to 
the council.  

B. The P.O.S.T. certification of any qualified peace 
officer, whether employed full-time, part-time, or reserve, 
shall be revoked upon the occurrence of any of the following 
conditions: 

1. a conviction of malfeasance in office; 
2. a conviction of an offense which results in the 

individual peace officer’s restriction of his constitutional 
right to bear arms.  

C. The P.O.S.T. council may conduct a revocation 
hearing to determine whether the certification of any 
qualified peace officer, whether employed full-time, part-
time, or reserve, shall be revoked if the officer: 

1. was involuntarily terminated by his employing law 
enforcement agency for disciplinary reasons involving civil 
rights violations and the officer had exhausted all 
administrative remedies. 

2. was convicted of a misdemeanor involving 
domestic abuse battery as provided in R.S. 14:35.3 or a 
felony in any court in the U.S. 

3. failed to complete additional training as 
required/prescribed by the council. 

4. voluntarily surrenders his certification. 
5. Has a judicial disposition in a criminal case that 

results in revocation. 
D. Any hearings conducted by the council or appeal by 

an officer are conducted by rules and regulations established 
by the council. 

1. An officer subject to a revocation hearing shall be 
duly notified at least 30 days in advance of the hearing by 
the council. 

2. The council may take testimony and evidence 
during the hearing, and make findings of fact and 
conclusions of law. 

3. The council shall forward its decision via certified 
U.S. mail to the peace officer and the officer’s employing 
agency.  

E. Revocation hearings conducted by the P.O.S.T. can be 
conducted during a regularly scheduled meeting.  

F. Any peace officer whose certification has been 
revoked may file an appeal to the decision under the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 
49:964 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 13:434 (August 1987), amended LR 
25:665(April 1999), LR 34:1927(September 2008), LR 44: 

§4750. In Service Training and Certification  
A. Firearms 

1. - 1.b.  … 
B. Minimum Training Hours 

1. Each calendar year, all certified level 1 and 2 
officers must successfully complete, at a minimum, the 
required 20 hours of in-service training hours to maintain 
certification, unless waived by the council. This requirement 
includes “grandfathered” peace officers. These training 
requirements begin the first calendar year after receiving 
certification or successful completion of “refresher” training.  

2. The training hours must include, at a minimum: 
a. legal (2 hours) 
b. firearms (8 hours) 
c. officer survival (4 hours) 
d. electives (6 hours) 

C. Failure to complete training requirements 
1. If peace officer fails to complete the required 

number of training hours during a calendar year, the POST 
certification for the officer will be temporarily suspended. 
Once an officer’s certification has been suspended, that 
officer shall be given 90 calendar days to correct his training 
deficiency, at which point the suspension shall be lifted. If 
an officer fails to correct his training deficiency within the 
90-day probationary period, that officer’s certification shall 
be revoked under provision of §4731(B)(3). Training 
completed while an officer’s certification is suspended shall 
not count toward that officer’s training requirements for the 
current year. To reactivate the certification, the officer must 
attend and successfully complete a “refresher” course as 
prescribed by the council. 

2. Peace officers called to active military duty will not 
be required to complete in-service training requirements 
missed while performing the active duty service.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 42:274 (February 2016), amended LR 
43:316(February 2017), LR 43 
§4761. Advanced Training  

A. - B.1.c. … 
d. Vehicular homicide investigators are not required 

to complete this course.  
2. - 3.a. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 42:274 (February 2016), amended LR 
43:316(February 2017), LR 44:  

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule has been considered. This proposed Rule will have no 
impact on family functioning, stability, or autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972 since it outlines the implementation 
of sexual assault awareness training for peace officers.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on:  

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security;  

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through post-secondary education development;  

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development;  

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits;  
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on:  

1. the effect on the staffing level requirement or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service;  

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on this 

proposed Rule no later than December 27, 2017 at 5 pm to 
Bob Wertz, Peace Officer Standards and Training Council, 
Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement, Box 3133 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821.  

 
Mr. Jim Craft  
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Peace Officer Training 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes, pursuant to legislative action, 
will likely result in an indeterminable increase in state and local 
expenditures. There are approximately 15,000 existing peace 
officers statewide with nearly 1,200 new peace officers 
certified annually.  The cost of this program would depend 
largely on whom this training course is directed and how 
quickly the P.O.S.T. Council must train the individuals.  The 
existing average cost for a new peace officer is $ 835/per 
officer and the anticipated increase in the number of basic 
training hours and increased supplies for the academy will 
likely cause an increase in state and local expenditures. 

 
Implementation of the proposed rules requires all peace 

officers to successfully complete a minimum of   basic core 
curriculum training and a minimum of 20 hours of in-service 
training on an annual basis to maintain certification.  In 
addition, the POST Council is directed to develop and 
implement curriculum for de-escalation, bias policing, sudden 
in-custody death, and crisis intervention training for peace 
officers. All of these requirements are mandated by Acts 272, 
271, and 210 of the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature.  These modifications will likely cause an 
indeterminable increase to existing expenditures for state and 
local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will not affect revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The additional training provides peace officers with 
additional tools to likely enhance the work they perform in the 
respective communities they serve.   

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition or employment in the 
public or private sector as a result of this proposed amendment. 

 
Jim Craft Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1711#043 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration  

Office of Facility Planning and Control 

Uniform Public Work Bid Form (LAC 34:III.313) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.) and the provisions of 
RS 39:121, the Division of Administration, Facility Planning 
and Control hereby gives notice of its intent to amend Title 
34.III.Chapter 3, Louisiana Uniform Public Work Bid Form.
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This proposed Rule revises the language of the Louisiana 
Uniform Public Work Bid Form to further clarify the 
requirement of supplying written evidence of the authority 
of the person signing, as required by R.S. 38:2212(B)(5).  

Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part III.  Facility Planning and Control 

Chapter 3. Louisiana Uniform Public Work Bid 
Form 

§313. Unit Price Form 

A. … 
* * * 

** Written evidence of the authority of the person signing the 
bid for the public work shall be submitted at the time of 
bidding. “Written evidence” shall consist of a physical 
document such as a corporate resolution, a copy of the legal 
entity’s detailed record from the Secretary of State’s business 
filings page, or a certificate of authority as documented by the 
legal entity, an affidavit, resolution, or other acknowledged or 
authentic document indicating the names of all parties 
authorized to submit bids for public contracts. Failure to 
provide such written evidence of authority at the time 
designated for bid opening shall result in the bidder being 
declared “non-responsive” and the bid rejected.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:2212. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Facility Planning 
and Control, LR 35:1522 (August 2009), amended LR 41:336 
(February 2015), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the 

Family. This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the 
family. 

2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights 
of Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children. This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 
Family. This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget. This Rule will have no effect on family 
earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and 
Personal Responsibility of Children. This Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The Effect of this Rule on the Ability of the Family 
or Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained 
in the Proposed Rule. This Rule will have no effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973 
Small Business Analysis 

The Office of Facility Planning and Control has 
considered all methods of reducing the impact of the 
proposed Rule on small business as noted in R.S. 49:965.6.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment has no known impact on 

providers as described in HCR 170 of 2014.  
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit comments to Barry 
Hickman, Facility Planning and Control, 1450 Poydras St., 
Suite 1130, New Orleans, LA 70112. Written comments will 
be accepted through December 11, 2017.  

 

Mark A. Moses 
Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Uniform Public Work Bid Form 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings 
for state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
rule change. The proposed updated rule clarifies the statutory 
requirements of the sections in R.S. 38:2212 with regard to 
submitting written evidence of the authority of the person 
signing a bid for public work at the time of the bidding. The 
proposed rule change should reduce the number of otherwise 
valid bids from being rejected and, may in some cases, provide 
a cost savings to state or local governmental units, as a result of 
reduced litigation and increased opportunity to accept low bids 
that are sometimes rejected for failure to submit written 
evidence of signature authority. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 
local governmental revenues as a result of this measure. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated material impact to directly affected 
persons or nongovernmental groups as a result of the proposed 
rule change. The rule change should reduce the number of 
otherwise valid bids from being rejected. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated director material effect on 
competition and employment as a result of the proposed 
administrative rules. 

 
Mark A. Moses Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1711#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Associations’ Duties and Obligations 
(LAC 35:III.Chapter 57) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to adopt LAC 35:III.5704, 5706, 
5710, 5714, 5724, and 5764. In addition, the Racing
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Commission proposes to amend LAC 35:III.5707, 5709, 
5713, and 5723. These rule changes are being codified to 
further develop sufficient regulations to ensure that 
racetracks comply with health, safety, and welfare standards. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part III.  Personnel, Registration and Licensing 
Chapter 57. Associations’ Duties and Obligations 
§5704. Public Address System 

A. An association shall provide and maintain a public 
address system capable of transmitting announcements to the 
patrons and to the stable area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

§5706. Barns on Backside of Racetrack 
A. An association shall ensure that the barns are kept in 

good repair and are kept clean by the licensed occupants. 
Each barn, including the receiving barn, must have a hot and 
cold water supply available and have ventilation proper for 
the housing of horses. 

B. Any new barns, additions, or expansions built by a 
licensed association after the adoption of this Rule shall 
ensure that the individual box stall shall have a minimum 
dimensions of 10 feet by 10 feet and if constructed of 
concrete walls, they must be woodlined on the interior up a 
minimum of 4 feet from the ground or otherwise be 
insulated for the protection of the stabled horse. 

C. An association shall provide an adequate area for the 
placement of manure removed from the stalls. All manure 
storage and removal shall be conducted in compliance with 
the rules and regulations set forth by the Department of 
Environmental Quality. Nothing in the Rule is to supersede 
any requirements set forth by the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

§5707. Fire Prevention Security 
A. A round-the-clock patrol of the fenced area shall be 

maintained by security officers, who shall pay special 
attention to the presence of unauthorized personnel, to the 
enforcement of fire prevention measures and to the 
inspection of tack rooms and living quarters for fire hazards. 

B. The association shall ensure compliance with the 
local fire marshal regarding safety regulations and shall 
provide the commission proof of compliance constituting the 
most recent inspection by the local fire marshal or state 
approved fire inspection service on an annual basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:434 (December 1976), amended LR 3:30 
(January 1977), LR 4:278 (August 1978), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
44: 

§5709. Housing of Stable Employees 
A. Each association shall provide adequate and sanitary 

living quarters with proper sanitary arrangements, and ample 
and convenient toilet facilities for stable employees, and 
shall provide in its stable area at least 1 tack room of a 

minimum area of 100 square feet for every 6 horses stabled, 
with adequate facilities for housing personnel therein. 

B. The living quarters shall comply with all state and 
local building and fire codes associated with the housing of 
people. 

C. Dependent upon the season of the race meet, the 
association may also be required by the commission to have 
heating and air conditioning. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:434 (December 1976), amended LR 3:30 
(January 1977), LR 4:278 (August 1978), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
44: 

§5710. Tack Room 
A. Each association shall provide in its stable area at 

least 1 tack room of a minimum area of 100 square feet for 
every 6 horses stabled, with adequate facilities for housing 
personnel therein. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

§5713. Ambulance 
A. Each association shall provide one ambulance during 

its training and racing hours. During such time, the 
ambulance shall be ready for duty, properly equipped to 
provide emergency medical services, including equipment 
and a registered paramedic and a certified emergency 
medical technician, and shall have immediate access to the 
racing strip. If the ambulance is being used to transport an 
individual, the association shall not conduct a race, or allow 
horses with riders on the racetrack until the ambulance is 
replaced. 

B. Unless otherwise approved by the commission or the 
stewards, an ambulance shall follow the field at a safe 
distance during the running of races. 

C. The ambulance shall be parked at an entrance to the 
racing strip except when the ambulance is being used to 
transport an individual or when it is following the field 
during the running of a race. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 9:546 (August 1983), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

§5714. Equine Ambulance 
A. An association shall provide an equine ambulance 

staffed by trained personnel on association grounds on each 
day that the racetrack is open for racing or training. 

B. The ambulance shall be properly ventilated and kept 
at an entrance to the racetrack when not in use. 

C. The ambulance shall be a covered vehicle that is low 
to the ground and large enough to accommodate a horse in 
distress and transport a horse off of the racetrack and 
association grounds. 

D. The ambulance shall be equipped with: 
1. large, portable screens to shield a horse from public 

view; 
2. ramps to facilitate loading a horse; 
3. adequate means of loading a horse that is down; 
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4. a padded interior; and 
5. a movable partition to initially provide more room 

to load a horse and to later restrict a horse's movement. 
E. An association shall not conduct a race unless an 

equine ambulance or an official state veterinarian-approved 
substitute is readily available. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

§5723. Lighting 
A. The stable area must be properly lighted, so that it 

will be entirely void of darkness in any section. Lights will 
be turned on at dusk and they shall remain on until one hour 
after the last race. Lights shall not be turned on or off while 
the horses are on the track. 

B. An association shall provide lighting for the patron 
facilities that is adequate to ensure the safety and security of 
the patrons and licensees. 

C. If an association conducts racing at night, the 
association shall maintain an emergency back-up lighting 
system on the racetrack proper to allow for the safety of the 
horses and related personnel during the race. 

D. This Rule is not meant to supersede any state laws or 
local ordinances applicable to any individual licensed 
association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:434 (December 1976), amended LR 3:30 
(January 1977), LR 4:278 (August 1978), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
44: 

§5724. Rails 
A. Racetracks, including turf tracks, shall have inside 

and outside rails, including gap rails, designed, constructed 
and maintained to provide for the safety of jockeys and 
horses. The design and construction of rails must be 
approved by the commission prior to the first race meeting at 
the track. 

B. The top of the inside rail must be at least 38 inches, 
but not more than 50 inches above the top of the cushion. 

C. The top of the outside rail must be at least 34 inches, 
but not more than 50 inches above the top of the cushion. 
Any outside rails modified or installed after the adoption of 
these rules shall be at least 38 inches, but not more than 50 
inches above the top of the cushion. 

D. The inside dirt race/running rail may have an 
overhang of no less than 24 inches with a continuous smooth 
cover of material designed to withstand the impact of a horse 
and rider. 

E. All race/running rails should be constructed of 
materials designed to withstand the impact of a horse and 
rider running at a gallop, with structural integrity, free of 
cracks, breaks, splinters and shall not contain any exposed 
sharp edges. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

§5764. Surface of Race Course 
A. The surface of a racetrack, including the cushion, 

subsurface and base, must be designed, constructed, and 

maintained to provide for the safety of the jockeys and 
horses. 

B. An association shall provide an adequate drainage 
system for the racetrack and turf course. 

C. An association shall maintain the track surface in a 
safe training and racing condition. 

D. An association that conducts races on a turf track 
shall provide a system capable of adequately watering the 
entire turf course evenly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 
services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 

Public Comments 
The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 

Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and interested 
parties may contact Charles A. Gardiner III, Executive 
Director, or Larry Munster, Assistant Executive Director, at 
(504) 483-4000 (holidays and weekends excluded), or by fax 
(504) 483-4898, for more information. All interested persons 
may submit written comments relative to this proposed Rule 
for a period up to 20 days exclusive of weekends and state 
holidays from the date of this publication to 320 North 
Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, LA 70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Associations’ Duties and Obligations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will not result in any costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. The proposed rule 
change provides for certain operating requirements for racing 
associations in Louisiana. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule additions and amendments will impact 
racing associations in Louisiana by requiring them to provide 
and maintain their own public address system; ensure that barns 
on the backside of the racetrack are kept in good repair, are 
clean, have hot and cold water, and that any new stalls have a 
specified dimension, and have an adequate area for manure; 
ensure compliance with local fire marshal; ensure housing of 
stable employees complies with state and local building and 
fire codes, and have adequate heat or air conditioning 
depending on season; require a tack room; require ambulance 
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to be parked at entrance to racing strip and be properly staffed 
during races; have an equine ambulance with certain 
specifications; have emergency back-up lighting; have safety 
rails pursuant to jockey guild guidelines; and ensure the surface 
of the race course  has adequate drainage, and is maintained to 
provide for the safety of the jockeys and horses. These 
additions and amendments could create an indeterminable cost 
for licensed racing associations, however, most of the licensed 
racing associations already comply with most of these rules, 
and these changes are being codified pursuant to 
recommendation by the Louisiana Legislative Auditor. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1711#010 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Jockey Fee Schedule (LAC 46:XLI.725) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to amend LAC 46:XLI.725. The 
proposed Rule change is two-fold. The first change is 
clerical; it clarifies the purse amount categories that were 
incomplete. The second is an increase in the fee for jockeys 
who are unplaced (third place finish or worse) in races with 
purses of $3,500 and higher by an additional $5. To keep the 
fee schedule consistent, jockeys who place third in the two 
purse categories of $5,000 to $9,999 and $10,000 to $14,999 
now receive an additional $5. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLI.  Horseracing Occupations 

Chapter 7. Jockeys and Apprentice Jockeys  
§725. Jockey Fee Schedule  

A. Prior to the start of each race conducted by an 
association licensed by the commission, sufficient money 
shall be on deposit with the horsemen's bookkeeper in an 
amount equal to pay the losing mount fee of a jockey for that 
race. In the absence of a special agreement, the fee of a 
jockey shall be as follows. 

 

Purse Win Second Third Unplaced 

$499 and under $27 $19 $17 $16 

500-599 30 20 17 16 

600-699 36 22 17 16 

700-999 10% 25 22 20 

1,000-1,499 10% 30 25 22 

1,500-1,999 10% 35 30 28 

2,000-3,499 10% 45 35 33 

3,500-4,999 10% 70 60 55 

5,000-9,999 10% 80 70  65 

10,000-14,999 10% 5% 75 70 

15,000-24,999 10% 5% 5% 75 

25,000-49,999 10% 5% 5% 80 

50,000-99,999 10% 5% 5% 95 

100,000 and up 10% 5% 5% 120 

 
B. Failure, refusal and/or neglect of a trainer to timely 

deposit or have deposited the aforesaid jockey fee for a 
horse entered to race, on or before the time specified herein, 
shall be a violation of this Section. Each such violation shall 
be punishable by a fine of not less than $200 and the failure 
to pay such fine within 48 hours of imposition thereof shall 
be grounds for suspension. Additionally, an amount equal to 
the jockey fee actually earned by the jockey in accordance 
with the aforesaid schedule shall be paid to the jockey 
earning same within 48 hours of the imposition of the 
aforesaid fine, and failure to pay said jockey fee within the 
time specified herein shall be an additional grounds for 
suspension. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148, R.S. 4:150 and R.S. 4:151. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:431 (December 1976), amended LR 3:28 
(January 1977), LR 4:276 (August 1978), LR 5:23 (February 
1979), LR 12:12 (January 1986), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 16:112 
(February 1990), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division 
of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 35:2756 (December 
2009), LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 
services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 

Public Comments 
The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 

Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and interested 
parties may contact Charles A. Gardiner III, Executive 
Director, or Larry Munster, Assistant Executive Director, at 
(504) 483-4000 (holidays and weekends excluded), or by fax 
(504) 483-4898, for more information. All interested persons 
may submit written comments relative to this proposed Rule 
for a period up to 20 days exclusive of weekends and state 
holidays from the date of this publication to 320 North 
Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, LA 70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Jockey Fee Schedule 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will not result in any costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. The proposed rule 
change is two-fold.  The first change is clerical, it clarifies the 
purse amount categories that were incomplete.  The second is 
an increase in the fee for jockeys who are unplaced (third place 
finish or worse) in races with purses of $3,500 and higher by an 
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additional five (5) dollars.  To keep the fee schedule consistent, 
jockeys who place third in the two purse categories of $5,000 
to $9,999 and $10,000 to $14,999 now receive an additional 
five (5) dollars. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will create an additional cost for owners 
of race horses entering races as the proposed rule increases the 
fee for jockeys which are unplaced (third place finish or worse) 
in races with purses of $3,500 and higher by an additional five 
(5) dollars.  To keep the fee schedule consistent, jockeys who 
place third in the two purse categories of $5,000 to $9,999 and 
$10,000 to $14,999, now receive an additional five (5) dollars.  
This increase in five (5) dollars has already been agreed to and 
approved by the Louisiana Horsemen’s Benevolent and 
Protective Association Board and the Jockeys Guild. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1711#008 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Resale; Movement (LAC 35:XI.9909) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to amend LAC 35:XI.9909. The 
proposed Rule removes the restriction on claimed horses by 
allowing them to enter and run at any licensed racetrack 
after the close of entries for the last racing day at the meet 
during which it was claimed. The current Rule, prior to 
amending, prohibited claimed horses from entering and 
running until the completion of the last racing day at the 
meet at which it was claimed. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part XI.  Claiming Rules and Engagements 
Chapter 99. Claiming Rule 
§9909. Resale; Movement 

A. If a horse is claimed, it shall not be sold or transferred 
to anyone wholly or in part, except in a selling or claiming 
race, for a period of 30 days from date of claim, nor shall it, 
unless reclaimed, remain in the same stable or under the 
control of management of its former owner or trainer for a 
like period, nor shall it race in any other state until after the 
close of entries of the meeting at which it was claimed, 
unless special permission is obtained from the commission. 
However, a horse claimed at a track in Louisiana must 
remain at the track where it was claimed for a period of 60 
calendar days or until after the close of entries of the meeting 
at which it was claimed. Where a race meeting is authorized 

and conducted as a split-meeting, a horse claimed in such a 
race meeting must remain at the track where it was claimed 
for a period of 60 calendar days or until after the close of 
entries of that segment of the split meeting at which it was 
claimed. The following calendar day shall be the first day 
and the horse shall be entitled to enter at another track in the 
state whenever necessary so the horse may start on the sixty-
first day following the claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:446 (December 1976), amended LR 3:42 
(January 1977), LR 4:285 (August 1978), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 
17:878 (September 1991), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 
services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 

Public Comments 
The domicile office of the State Racing Commission is 

open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and interested parties may 
contact Charles A. Gardiner III, Executive Director, or Larry 
Munster, Assistant Executive Director, at (504) 483-4000 
(holidays and weekends excluded), or by fax (504) 483-
4898, for more information. All interested persons may 
submit written comments relative to this proposed Rule for a 
period up to 20 days exclusive of weekends and state 
holidays from the date of this publication to 320 North 
Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, LA 70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Resale; Movement 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will not result in any costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. The proposed rule 
removes the restriction on claimed horses by allowing them to 
enter and run at any licensed race track after the close of entries 
for the last racing day at the meet during which the horse was 
claimed. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment to the rule is anticipated to 
increase the number of entries by claimed horses and the 
number of claims.  A larger number of entries is anticipated to 
increase the field size of the race (number of horses entered in a 
race), which is anticipated to increase betting on a race, and 
ultimately the handle of the race. This will be an anticipated 
economic increase to the local and state governmental units, 
with the growth determined by the number of claimed horses 
entered into races. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment to the rule is anticipated to effect 
trainers, owners, and the licensed associations. The proposed 
rule is less restrictive to claimed horse entries than the current 
rule and allows owners and trainers to enter and race claimed 
horses during times that they currently are prohibited from 
entering.  The licensed association race tracks are anticipated to 
see an increase in entries of claimed horses, potentially a larger 
field size in the races, and a larger handle. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1711#009 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Homeland Security  

and Emergency Preparedness 

Emergency Management Assistance Compact 
(LAC 55:XXI.Chapter 7) 

Pursuant to Act 246 of the 2017 Regular Session of the 
Legislature, revised and re-codified Revised Statute 29:733 
regarding the Interstate Emergency Management Assistance 
Compact (EMAC), the Office of Homeland Security and 
Emergency Preparedness hereby proposes to adopt standards 
and regulations in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act to implement the Emergency Management 
Assistance Compact in support of response and recovery 
operations within the State of Louisiana and coordinate 
resources to support other states requests for assistance. 

In signing Act 246 into law, Louisiana adopted EMAC, a 
national interstate mutual aid agreement that enables states 
to share resources during times of disaster. Since the 104th 
US Congress ratified the compact, EMAC has grown to 
become the nation's system for providing mutual aid through 
operational procedures and protocols that have been 
validated through experience. EMAC is administered by the 
National Emergency Management Association (NEMA). 
EMAC acts as a complement to the federal disaster response 
system, providing timely and cost-effective relief to states 
requesting assistance from assisting member states who 
understand the needs of jurisdictions that are struggling to 
preserve life, the economy, and the environment. EMAC can 
be used either in lieu of federal assistance or in conjunction 
with federal assistance, thus providing a seamless flow of 
needed goods and services to an impacted state. EMAC 
further provides another venue for mitigating resource 
deficiencies by ensuring maximum use of all available 
resources within member states' inventories. On behalf of the 
governor of each state participating in the Compact, the 
legally designated state official who is assigned 
responsibility for emergency management will be 
responsible for formulation of the appropriate interstate 
mutual aid plans and procedures necessary to implement this 
Compact. In Louisiana, the Director of the Governor’s 
Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness 

(GOHSEP), “director,” bears that legal responsibility in 
accordance with R.S. 29:725.  

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part XXI.  Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness 

Chapter 7. Emergency Management Assistance 
Compact 

§701. Introduction 
A. Definitions 

Assisting State—a state that has adopted the EMAC and 
has agree to assist a State that has requested assistance 
through EMAC. 

Director—director of the Governor’s Office of 
Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness. 

EMAC A-Team—the EMAC advance team (A-Team) 
consists of a team of not less than two personnel from both 
in-state (receiving or home state), external (assisting state 
personnel), or a combination of the two whose primary 
responsibility is implementing the EMAC process in both 
the requesting and assisting states as assigned by the state 
emergency management director or the director's designee: 

1. A-Team qualifications required:  
a. trained personnel are selected by the state 

emergency management agency, qualified by completing the 
NEMA A-Team training course; and  

b. serving as an A-Team member during an event or 
exercise. 

2. the purpose of the A-Team is to provide trained 
personnel for rapid deployment when requested by impacted 
member states to coordinate interstate mutual aid efforts on 
their behalf. GOHSEP maintains a list of Louisiana’s 
qualified A-Team members; 

3. depending upon the scale of the incident, the 
staffing of the A-Team may expand from two personnel to as 
many as necessary to accomplish all of the A-Team 
functions. A-Teams may be comprised of in-state (home 
state) personnel, external (assisting state) personnel, or a 
combination of the two: 

4. team’s components include: 
a. A-Team leader; 
b. deputy A-Team leader; and 
c. national guard A-Team member or liaison; and 

5. the A-Teams do not have allocation authority, the 
authority to prioritize resource utilization, nor the ability to 
obligate state funds. This authority rests with the receiving 
state. 

EMAC Authorized Representative(s)—the authorized 
representative of a party state may request assistance to 
another party state by contacting the authorized 
representative of that state. The provisions of this compact 
shall only apply to requests for assistance made by and to 
authorized representatives.  

EMAC Coordinator—the director may designate an 
EMAC coordinator and/or EMAC Authorized 
Representative(s) to administer the compact. 

Emergency Support Function (ESF)—the Louisiana 
emergency operations plan identified 16 emergency support 
functions. Functions are categorized by the type of support 
or resource provided or managed within the national incident 
management system (NIMS) and its subcomponent the 
incident command system (ICS). During a response, both 
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federal and state ESFs are a critical mechanism to coordinate 
functional capabilities and resources provided by federal 
agencies, certain private-sector entities and NGOs.  

Mission Ready Packages (MRP)—specific response and 
recovery capabilities that are organized, developed, trained, 
and exercised prior to an emergency or disaster based on 
NIMS resource typing considering the mission, limitations 
that might impact the mission, equipment, commodities, 
required support, the footprint of the space needed to stage 
and complete the mission, and the estimated costs. Mission 
ready packages also include credentialed personnel: those 
who are identified by the resource provider as having the 
knowledge, skills, and abilities needed to conduct that 
specific mission developed in cooperation with state 
emergency management agencies after being told that the 
resource would be valuable for use during intrastate or 
interstate mutual aid deployments. 

Mutual Aid Support System (MASS 2.0)—a controlled 
access geospatial platform that is directly connected to the 
EMAC operations system (EOS) and is used by GOHSEP 
and other EMAC member states to share intrastate and 
interstate mutual aid information nationally. 

NEMA—National Emergency Management Association. 
Requesting State—A state that has adopted EMAC and 

has requested assistance and agreed to accept assistance 
through EMAC. 

REQ-A—EMAC request for assistance form. 
SEOC—state emergency operations center. 
WebEOC—WebEOC is a web-based information 

management system that provides a single access point for 
the collection and dissemination of emergency or event-
related information. During a declared emergency or event, 
all requests for resources must be input into the WebEOC 
through each parishes' Office of Homeland Security and 
Emergency Preparedness or emergency operations center. 
The request will then be routed to the appropriate state or 
federal governmental entity to provide the requested 
resources. This system allows GOHSEP to track all requests 
and resources to insure that all needs are being met on the 
local lever and for purposes of reimbursement from the 
federal government. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
29:725 and 733. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness, LR 44: 

§705. Requesting Assistance 
A. If an emergency generates needs that grow beyond 

local, parish and state government, private industry and 
NGO resources, governments may procure needed resources 
from other states through EMAC. Requests may be verbal or 
in writing using a REQ-A.  

B. The decision to request and deploy resources is made 
at the discretion of the impacted requesting state. The 
responding assisting state only has to offer assistance if they 
have the resources and can deploy them. At all times, 
impacted states retain the choice of seeking resource support 
from either state or federal, or both as may be appropriate 
for their circumstances. Local resources can be deployed 
under EMAC, as coordinated through the state EMAC 
coordinator.  

C. The state emergency management director is the 
EMAC authorized representative and can designate both 

EMAC authorized representatives and EMAC designated 
contacts in their agency. EMAC authorized representatives 
have the authority to obligate the state financially (make 
requests for resources to come into their state under an 
emergency declaration). EMAC designated contacts cannot 
financially obligate the state but can be contacted to get 
more information about EMAC coordination. 

D. EMAC coordinating components are typed according 
to size, organizational composition, function, and mission 
requirements to meet operational demands.  

E. Requesting EMAC Assistance when the SEOC is 
activated: 

1. when the SEOC is activated for an event, the 
director or designee will determine the potential need for 
implementing the EMAC cell; 

2. type I to type IV advance teams A-Team may be 
requested based on the magnitude of the event by the EMAC 
coordinator to coordinate resources via the compact; 

3. resource needs are identified and the EMAC team 
is notified through WebEOC of the resource needs; 

4. the decision to activate the EMAC personnel 
accountability and processing package (EPAPP mobilization 
unit) is made by the director or designee based upon whether 
or not there is a defined need; 

5. the EMAC coordinator notifies the executive office 
of GOHSEP, the National Emergency Management Agency 
(NEMA) and the EMAC national coordinating state (NCS) 
of the event and that an EMAC A-Team will be activated 
and stood up in the SEOC; 

6. the EMAC coordinator will open a new event in the 
EMAC operating system (EOS) and enter a situation report 
to notify the non-impacted EMAC states of the 
implementation of the compact. The EMAC coordinator and 
EMAC A-Team will begin contacting neighboring states and 
and/or do broadcast through the EOS to identify and locate 
the resource request based on the WebEOC requests received 
and anticipated needs. The coordination of EMAC related 
issues are accomplished via daily telephone conference calls 
with the national coordination state (NCS) and the national 
emergency management agency (NEMA). This includes 
potential resource needs, status of requests, and 
mobilization; 

7. all WebEOC request for EMAC support must 
include the following information:  

a. event name or incident;  
b. requesting agency name and contact information; 
c. mission assignment; 
d. equipment, approximate type, size and number; 
e. resource quantity and duration of request; 
f. mobilization date (date needed); 
g. demobilization date (date released); 
h. agency staging area; and 
i. working and living conditions. 
j. health and safety concerns.  

8. The EMAC coordinator will be responsible to brief 
the operations section chief, emergency support function 
(ESF) leads, and state agencies and to coordinate the 
activities of EMAC with the assisting states. 

F. In certain emergency situations, verbal requests made 
by EMAC authorized representatives and the commitment of 
subsequent resources and funds may be obligated prior to the 
completion and appropriate signatures to the REQ-A. In 
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such cases the REQ-A must be completed and exchanged at 
the earliest opportunity and no later than 30 days of the 
verbal request.  

1. An EMAC resource request can be received from 
any state or parish/county. The operations section will 
determine if it is an appropriate EMAC request and if the 
resource request requires EMAC action, the request will be 
tasked to EMAC via WebEOC to the EMAC coordinator or 
A-Team for fulfillment.  

2. If the EMAC coordinator cannot locate an 
appropriate available resource, the EMAC coordinator will 
return the request to the operations section for alternative 
resources.  

G. Resource request are made via the EOS and assisting 
states make offers based on availability and estimated cost of 
the resource being requested. If multiple offers are received 
for the same resource the EMAC coordinator will review 
offers with the designed EMAC authorized representative 
and or operations section chief along with the requesting 
state agency who will then determine which state will assist 
based on cost and availability of resource being requested.  

H. The EMAC coordinator will monitor deployment of 
the resource, update the operations section on EMAC 
operations as required, maintain all EMAC reports, issue 
EMAC daily situation reports and update data on resource 
request in WebEOC as required. Monitor resource activity, 
coordinate additional logistics support as required, 
coordinate with assisting states, state agencies, national 
guard, national emergency management agency, national 
coordinating state and the FEMA-NRCC. Participate in daily 
conference calls with the national emergency management 
agency and national coordinating state.  

I. EMAC tracking log and mission cost will be updated 
and maintained via WebEOC as REQ-A’s are completed and 
resources mobilize and demobilize. The EMAC coordinator 
will maintain contact with the assisting state authorized 
representative and resource provider throughout the duration 
of the mission.  

J. Upon completion of the mission, the assisting state 
will submit the EMAC claim to GOHSEP EMAC 
coordinator for the actual total cost of the mission.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
29:725 and 733. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness, LR 44: 

§707. Providing Assistance 
A. When another EMAC member state is either 

threatened or has been impacted by a disaster or emergency, 
the EMAC national chair, an EMAC state emergency 
management agency or an EMAC A-Team will notify a state 
directly or via the EMAC broadcast system the potential 
need for assistance. The resource request broadcast will be 
automatically sent to the EMAC designated contact, director 
and all EMAC authorized representatives. The EMAC 
coordinator will be the POC for the requesting states and the 
national coordinating state.  

B. Director or designee may elect to bring the SEOC to 
level 2 activation and stand up the EMAC cell to support the 
planning and deployment of resources.  

C. EMAC coordinator will gather any additional 
information for the EMAC request and forward to the 
director and authorized representatives as required.  

D. Once the actual EMAC resource request is received 
and upon approval of the director or designee, the operations 
section will coordinate with the appropriate agencies and/or 
parishes to determine available resources and the EMAC 
coordinator will work with agencies and or parishes in 
obtaining the estimated cost required to fulfill the request.  

E. Resource providers are encouraged to develop MRP’s 
pre-event. Most equipment, personnel, commodities, 
supplies, and other costs can be compiled in advance of a 
potential deployment. Resource providers are encouraged to 
enter and maintain their MRPs in the MASS 2.0 system.  

F. Upon receipt of the available resource MRP or cost 
information, the Operations section will provide this 
information to the EMAC coordinator. Once receipt of the 
signed section 1 or official verbal request the A-Team 
completes the section II of the REQ-A. The response to a 
request section II should be returned to the assisting state 
within 12 hours. 

G. An authorized representative signs the REQ-A section 
II and the designated A-Team uploads the REQ-A into the 
EOS.  

H. When the requesting state uploads section III of the 
REQ-A and or receives a verbal approval the EMAC 
coordinator will notify the authorized representatives that the 
mission has been approved. The EMAC coordinator will 
notify all responding and supporting agencies of the need to 
deploy and specifics of the mission.  

I. A pre-deployment briefing should be provided by the 
supporting agency to the deploying personnel just prior to 
their departure. EMAC A-Team will provide the deploying 
personnel an EMAC mission order form which will include 
mission details the point of contact information, expected 
working conditions and GOHSEP reimbursement 
procedures.  

J. EMAC coordinator will provide updates to the 
director, authorized representatives, operations section, and 
others as required on the status of missions and any 
anticipated changes. 

K. Each agency is responsible for documenting its own 
costs. The resource provider is responsible for auditing 
travel vouchers, reimbursing deployed personnel for travel 
expenses and paying other eligible expenses incurred in 
connection with the EMAC mission deployment. All 
expenses incurred and paid by the resource provider are 
compiled and summarized on an EMAC intrastate 
reimbursement form.  

L. Once the mission has been completed and all 
resources have returned the EMAC staff will gather all the 
documentation from the various agencies. Once the claim 
with the supporting documentation is received and reviewed 
for accuracy it will be submitted to the requesting state and 
finance for reimbursement. Finance will facilitate the 
disbursement of funds to the appropriate responding 
agencies, parishes, and municipalities.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
29:725 and 733. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness, LR 44: 

§709. Reimbursement  
A. Member-states who receive EMAC assistance during 

presidentially declared disaster and emergency events may 
be eligible for reimbursement of those costs through the 
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Stafford Act. The Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) specifies cost eligibility for mission related EMAC 
costs in current FEMA policy. The assisting state is 
responsible for ensuring the preparation, retention and 
submission of documentation for reimbursement.  

B. Prior to the deployment of Louisiana state assets the 
EMAC coordinator will be responsible to insure that the 
resource providers have received a copy of the Louisiana 
EMAC reimbursement guidelines.  

C. EMAC coordinator is responsible for the collection of 
required information in connection with any requests for 
another state and submission to the requesting state for 
reimbursement.  

D. GOHSEP Finance is responsible for the receipt and 
disbursement of funds in connection with the deployment of 
Louisiana assets to other states.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
29:725 and 733. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness, LR 44: 

§711. Mission Ready Packages (MRPs) 
A. MRP’s are specific response and recovery capabilities 

that are organized, developed, trained, and exercised prior to 
an emergency or disaster. MRP’s are based on NIMS 
resource typing but take the concept one step further by 
considering the mission, limitations that might impact the 
mission, equipment, commodities, required support, the 
footprint of the space needed to stage and complete the 
mission, and the estimated costs. MRP’s can include 
credentialed personnel, specifically those who are identified 
by the resource provider as having the knowledge, skills, and 
abilities needed to conduct that specific mission. Resource 
providers should develop MRPs in cooperation with state 
emergency management agencies after being told that the 
resource would be valuable for use during intrastate or 
interstate mutual aid deployments. 

B. EMAC coordinator is responsible for implementation 
and update of this procedure, including yearly review and 
necessary updates, if any, of mission ready packages  

C. EMAC coordinator should encourage and train on the 
development of MRP’s by ESF leads and resource providers. 
Opportunities for development of new MRP’s should be 
encouraged.  

D. A complete list of current state MRPs is maintained 
by the EMAC coordinator or Authorized Representative.  

E. MRPs should be forwarded to EMAC coordinator. 
Updates to MRP’s should be forwarded to EMAC 
coordinator each year by December 31. EMAC coordinator 
will also provide updated personnel rates on an annual basis.  

F. MRP training may be provided by the EMAC 
coordinator to state agencies representatives.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
29:725 and 733. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness, LR 44: 

§713. Mutual Aid Support System (MASS 2.0) 
A. The MASS 2.0 system is an online inventory of 

MRP’s and is connected to the EMAC operations system 
(EOS) this system is used by GOHSEP and other EMAC 
member states to share intrastate and interstate mutual aid 
information nationally. The purpose of MASS 2.0 is to 

improve communication between participating state EMAs 
and provide information on available personnel, equipment 
and other resources that may be accessed through EMAC: 

1. resource providers must register and create an 
account on the EMAC website to enter their MRPs directly 
into MASS 2.0. If they choose not to create an account, the 
MRP can be forwarded to the EMAC coordinator to upload; 

2. resource providers can only access their own MRPs 
however, the state EMA can give them permission to view 
other MRPs within their own state; and 

3. the state EMA controls visibility of MRPs within 
their state inventory but can publish resources to EMAC so 
other state EMAs can view them within MASS and the EOS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
29:725 and 733. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule should have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments or a 

request for public hearing to Danielle Aymond, Executive 
Counsel, Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and 
Emergency Preparedness, 7667 Independence Blvd., Baton 
Rouge, LA 70806. She is responsible for responding to 
inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on December 
10, 2017.  

 
James Waskom 
Director 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2352

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Emergency Management  
Assistance Compact 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 

state or local governments. The proposed rules codify the 
provisions of Act 246 of the 2017 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. The Act memorializes current processes 
and practices with regard to federal Emergency Assistance 
Compact Law, which are accomplished with current staffing 
and funding levels. There are no new or additional costs of 
implementation anticipated. This process is aided by the 
National Emergency Management Association (NEMA), which 
provides software and assistance free of charge to participating 
member states.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules are not anticipated to affect revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not create costs or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules are not anticipated to affect competition 
or employment.  

 
Christina Dayries Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Deputy Director Staff Director 
1711#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Nursing 

Authorized Practice Registered Nurses and 
Physician Collaboration (LAC 46:XLVII.Chapter 45) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 37:918, that the 
Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN) is proposing rule 
changes to Chapter 45, revisions to definitions and 
authorized practice under Title 46, Professional and 
Occupational Standards, Part XLVII, Sections 4505-4513. 
The proposed rules change the administrative management 
of the collaboration that can exist between an advanced 
practice registered nurse (APRN) and his/ her current and 
alternate collaborating physician (s). This change will allow 
for the collaborating physician to delegate his/her 
responsibility to one or two other physicians in order to 
streamline approval processes and improve the 
meaningfulness of the agreement to the collaborating 
professionals. The proposed change will also add or remove 
language from the following: (1) collaborative practice 
agreement; (2) practice site form; and (3) prescriptive 
authority application. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLVII.  Nurses: Practical Nurses and Registered 

Nurses 
Subpart 2.  Registered Nurses 

Chapter 45. Advanced Practice Registered Nurses 
§4505. Definitions 

* * * 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse StudentRepealed. 

* * * 

Alternate Collaborating Physician (ACP)a physician 
designated by a collaborating physician (CP) with whom an 
APRN has been previously approved to collaborate by the 
board, who agrees to serve in this capacity, and is available 
to the APRN for consultation and collaboration as delineated 
in the collaborative practice agreement signed by the CP. 
The ACP shall be a physician actively engaged in clinical 
practice and the provision of direct patient care in Louisiana 
who holds a current and valid medical license issued by the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners. The ACP shall 
be engaged in clinical practice in the same or a practice 
comparable in scope, specialty or expertise to that of the 
APRN. Physicians otherwise authorized to practice in the 
state of Louisiana under provisions of federal law may be 
considered to serve as an ACP. Retired physicians are not 
eligible to serve as an ACP. The ACP shall collaborate with 
the APRN at a practice site(s) previously submitted to the 
board that is affiliated with the CP who formally designates 
the ACP. The ACP is not approved directly through 
processes of the board. 

ApprovalRepealed. 

Approved ProgramRepealed. 

* * * 

Attestation of APRN Collaborative Practicea form 
provided by the board and required to be submitted to the 
board for review and approval as indicated in rules and 
procedures to validate that an APRN possesses and retains a 
collaborative practice agreement with a specified CP or 
dentist and signed by the APRN and the specified CP or 
dentist that is associated with a practice site submitted to the 
board. 

* * * 

Collaborating PhysicianRepealed. 

Collaborating Physician (CP)a physician with whom 
an APRN has been approved to collaborate by the board, 
who is actively engaged in clinical practice and the provision 
of direct patient care in Louisiana, with whom the APRN has 
developed and signed a collaborative practice agreement for 
prescriptive and distributing authority, who holds a current 
and valid medical license issued by the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME), and practices in 
accordance with rules of the LSBME. The CP shall be 
engaged in clinical practice in the same or a practice 
comparable in scope, specialty or expertise to that of the 
APRN. Physicians otherwise authorized to practice in the 
state of Louisiana under provisions of federal law may be 
considered to serve as a CP. Retired physicians are not 
eligible to serve as a CP. 

* * * 
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Collaborative Practice Agreement 
1. a formal written statement/document addressing the 

parameters of the collaborative practice which are mutually 
agreed upon by the advanced practice registered nurse and 
one or more collaborating physicians or dentists. Dentists 
shall be given consideration to serve as a collaborating 
professional within a collaborative practice agreement only 
with CRNAs for services relative to anesthesia care. The 
collaborative practice agreement shall include but not be 
limited to the following provisions: 

a. availability of the CP or dentist for consultation 
or referral, or both; 

b. methods of management of the collaborative 
practice which shall include clinical practice guidelines; 

c. coverage of the health care needs of a patient 
during any absence of the advanced practice registered 
nurse, physician, or dentist; 

2. the APRN retains the collaborative practice 
agreement on site and attests to possessing and retaining 
such document by submitting an attestation to the board as 
required in rules and procedures. 

* * * 
Cooperating Agency―Repealed. 
Course―Repealed. 
Curriculum―Repealed. 
Distance Education―Repealed. 
Distance Education Technology―Repealed. 

* * * 
Faculty―Repealed. 

* * * 
Goals―Repealed. 

* * * 
Major Change in Curriculum―Repealed. 

* * * 
National Nursing Accrediting Body—Repealed. 
National Professional Accrediting 

Organization―Repealed. 

* * * 
Objectives―Repealed. 
Parent Institution―Repealed. 
Philosophy―Repealed. 
Population Focus—term referenced in the National 

Council for State Boards of Nursing’s document entitled 
“Consensus Model for APRN Regulation: Licensure 
Accreditation, Certification, and Education” which refers to 
one of the areas of concentrated study and practice provided 
to a collection of specified individuals who have 
characteristics in common. A broad, population-based focus 
of study encompasses common problems and aspects of that 
group of patients and the likely co-morbidities, 
interventions, and responses to those problems. Examples 
include, but are not limited to neonatal, pediatric, women’s 
health, adult, family, mental health, etc. A population focus 
is not defined as a specific disease/health problem or specific 
intervention. 

Practice Site or Site—for the purposes of clarifying 
prescriptive authority and collaborative practices, including 
but not limited to the provisions for CPs and ACPs, practice 

site or site refers to a location identified in documentation 
submitted by the APRN to the board at which an APRN 
exercises prescriptive authority or otherwise engages in 
advanced practice registered nursing including but not 

limited to direct and indirect care of patients. A hospital and 
its clinics, ambulatory surgery center, nursing home, any 
facility or office licensed and regulated by the Department of 
Health, as well as a group or solo practice, which have more 
than one physical location shall be considered a site when 
the organizational policies and provisions provided by the 
managing entity are applicable to all affected locations 
including the policies delineated in §4513.D.1.f. Business 
entities that contract with facilities to provide services such 
as those provided by APRNs, may be considered a practice 
site separate from the facility depending upon the roles and 
responsibilities and agreements of the parties. 

Preceptorship Experience―Repealed. 

* * * 
Program Head (Administrative Director)―Repealed. 

* * * 
Requirements―Repealed. 

* * * 
Survey―Repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:918. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 27:724 (May 2001), 
amended LR 31:2013 (August 2005), LR 40:60 (January 2014), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Nursing, LR 44: 

§4513. Authorized Practice 
A. - D.1.c. ... 

d. submit an application and Attestation of APRN 

Collaborative Practice on forms provided by the board with 
a non-refundable fee as set forth in LAC 46:XLVII.3341; 

e. - e.v. ... 
f. obtain and retain at the practice site a signed 

collaborative practice agreement on a form and template 
provided by the board and as defined in §4513.B.1, 2 and 3, 
with no more than two CPs per site which shall include, but 
not be limited to: 
 i. a plan of accountability among the parties that: 

(a). defines the prescriptive authority of the 
APRN and the responsibilities of the collaborating physician 
or physicians; 

(b). delineates a plan for hospital and other 
healthcare institution admissions and privileges which 
includes a statement that the collaborating physician must 
have said privileges at the same institution before an APRN 
can receive this determination at said institution; 

(c). delineates mechanisms and arrangements for 
diagnostic and laboratory requests for testing; and 

(d). delineates a plan for documentation of 
medical records; 
 ii. clinical practice guidelines as required by R.S. 
37:913(9)(b) shall contain documentation of the types or 
categories or schedules of drugs available and generic 
substitution for prescription and be in accordance with 
current standards of care and evidence-based practice for the 
APRN specialty and functional role and be: 

(a). mutually agreed upon by the APRN and 
collaborating physician; 

(b). specific to the practice setting; 
(c). maintained on site; and 
(d). reviewed and signed at least annually by the 

APRN and physician to reflect current practice; 
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 iii. documentation of the availability of the 
collaborating physician when the physician is not physically 
present in the practice setting. A collaborating physician 
shall be available to provide consultation as needed: 

(a). physician shall be available face-to-face, by 
telephone, or by direct telecommunications for consultation, 
assistance with medical emergencies, or patient referral, as 
delineated in the collaborative practice agreement; and 

(b). in the event all of the collaborating 
physicians for a practice site previously submitted to the 
board are unavailable, the collaborating physician for the 
practice site may designate an ACP to be available for 
consultation and collaboration provided the following 
conditions are met: 
 (i). there is a formal, documented, 
approved, and enforceable organizational policy that allows 
and provides for designation of an alternate collaborating 
physician; 
 (ii). the organizational policy establishes 
and provides for documenting in writing such designation 
and such documentation will be available to LSBN and 
LSBME representatives when requested including the dates 
of the designation and name of the ACP (s); 
 (iii). the designated ACP must agree to the 
provisions of the collaborative practice agreement 
previously signed by the CP(s) as attested to and recognized 
by the board; 
 (iv). the designated ACP must meet the 
provisions as defined in the definition of ACP in 
LAC:XLVII:4505; 
 (v). the CP and the APRN are responsible 
for ensuring the policy is established and that the policy and 
designated ACP meets requirements; 
 (vi.). the CP and APRN must have the 
authority to establish a policy at the practice site;  
 (vii.). the CP may designate an ACP only at 
practice sites which were submitted to the board by the 
APRN that are associated with the CP that wishes to 
designate an ACP. The CP and APRN are not authorized to 
designate or utilize an ACP at a practice site not associated 
with the CP as recorded by the board which is derived from 
submissions of the APRN including attestations and forms 
required by the board: 
 [a]. in the event all CPs are unavailable 
at a site, and there is no designated ACP as provided for in 
§4513.D.1.f. iii.(b), the APRN will not medically diagnose 
nor prescribe; 
 [b]. any deviation from §4513.D.1.f 
regarding the limit of no more than two CPs per site shall be 
submitted to the board for review and approval with any and 
all documentation requested; 
 iv. documentation shall be shown that patients are 
informed about how to access care when both the APRN 
and/or the collaborating physicians are absent from the 
practice setting; and 
 v. an acknowledgement of the mutual obligation 
and responsibility of the APRN and collaborating physicians 
to insure that all acts of prescriptive authority are properly 
documented; 

g. collaborative practice agreements approved prior 
to April 1, 2017 are subject to additional review and, if

directed by the board, APRNs shall revise previously 
approved collaborative practice agreements to comply with 
any and all provisions of this part including but not limited 
to the provision of an attestation and selection of no more 
than two CPs per site. 

2. - 2.a. … 
 i. The board shall review the application, 
reapplication or renewal, the Attestation of APRN 

Collaborative Practice and all related materials and shall 
approve, modify, or deny the application, reapplication or 
renewal for prescriptive authority. An APRN with 
prescriptive authority approved by the board may prescribe 
drugs and therapeutic devices as recommended by clinical 
practice guidelines and the parameters of the collaborative 
practice agreement. 
 ii. - v. … 

b. Controlled Substances. The board may authorize 
an APRN with prescriptive authority to prescribe or 
distribute controlled substances as defined, enumerated or 
included in federal or state statutes or regulations 21 CFR 
1308.11-15, R.S 40:964, on an individual practice basis. An 
APRN who is so authorized shall provide their Drug 
Enforcement Administration registration number on all 
written, electronic, oral, or faxed prescriptions for controlled 
substances shall comply with all scheduled drug prescription 
requirements in accordance with LAC 46:LIII.2511: 
 i. - i.(c). … 
 ii. any APRN authorized by the board to prescribe 
controlled substances shall comply with provisions in 21 
U.S.C. §§821-831 including, but not limited to, obtaining 
and possessing an active Louisiana controlled dangerous 
substance license and Drug Enforcement Administration 
registration number prior to prescribing or distributing 
controlled substances; 
 iii. controlled substances which may be prescribed 
by an APRN shall include schedule II, III, IV and V. 
Controlled substances shall be limited to, consistent with, 
and exclusively within the parameters of the practice 
specialty of the collaborating physicians and in the APRN's 
licensed role and population focus. The APRN must have 
been approved by the board to prescribe and distribute non-
controlled substances. Upon initial application for controlled 
substance privileges, the applicant must submit an 
application and Attestation of APRN Collaborative Practice 
on forms provided by the board.  
 iv. the APRN must obtain and retain at the 
practice site a signed collaborative practice agreement on a 
form and template provided by the board and as defined in 
§4513.B.1-3 and as per §4513.D.1.f .with no more than two 
CPs per site. The collaborative practice agreement must 
clearly indicate that the controlled substances prescribed 
have been jointly agreed upon with the collaborating 
physician; The collaborative practice agreement shall 
delineate controlled substances utilization, which specifies 
the circumstances, limitations and extent to which such 
substances may be prescribed or distributed; 
 v. - xi. ... 

3. Responsibilities; Unexpected Absence of 
Collaborating Physician 

a. The APRN is responsible for ensuring that the CP 
and ACP meet all eligibility requirements to serve as a CP
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and ACP and that documentation has been provided to the 
board for review and approval in a timely manner and as 
required. 

b. When an APRN has a single, sole CP for a 
practice site, the APRN may collaborate with the CP to 
identify an ACP prior to and in the potential event that the 
collaborative practice agreement ends for unpredictable or 
involuntary reasons directly affecting the CP (such as death, 
disability, incarceration, disappearance, unplanned 
relocation, etc.). 
 i. A physician serving as ACP for such 
unpredictable or involuntary reasons may serve in such 
capacity temporarily for at least 30, but no more than 120 
days to provide for continuity of care of patients and to 
allow for the APRN to secure and submit an Attestation of 

APRN Collaborative Practice to the board. 
 ii. A physician serving as ACP for such 
unpredictable or involuntary reasons is exempt from the 
requirement to be engaged in clinical practice in the same or 
a practice comparable in scope, specialty or expertise to that 
of the APRN when appropriate referral and consultation 
resources are reasonably available. 
 iii. The APRN shall notify the board in writing 
within two business days if a physician is serving as ACP for 
unpredictable or involuntary reasons. 

c. Per LAC 46:XLV.7915, when serving as the sole 
CP at a site, the CP shall give no less than 30-days notice 
when ending a collaborative practice agreement for 
predictable, voluntary reasons in order to provide for the 
care of patients. 

4. Maintenance of Patient Records 
a. Patient Record. An APRN who prescribes a 

controlled substance shall maintain a complete record of the 
examination, evaluation and treatment of the patient which 
must include documentation of the diagnosis and reason for 
prescribing controlled substances. The name, dose, strength, 
quantity of the controlled substance and the date that the 
controlled substance was prescribed must be documented in 
the record. 

b. The Louisiana State Board of Nursing has the 
authority to conduct random audits of patient records, 
facility policies, and any other documents and elements 
related to the provision of patient care at practice sites where 
APRNs practice and/or exercise prescriptive authority. 

5. Drug Maintenance, Labeling and Distribution 
Requirements 

a. APRNs shall not receive samples of controlled 
substances. An APRN may receive and distribute pre-
packaged medications or samples of non-controlled 
substances for which the APRN has prescriptive authority. 

b. An APRN must distribute the medication. For the 
purpose of this regulation, “distribute” shall mean hand the 
pre-packaged medication to the patient or the patient's 
authorized agent. 

c. All drug products which are maintained/stored at 
the site of practice of an APRN, shall be maintained/stored 
in the manufacturer's or re-packager's original package. The 
label of any container in which drugs are maintained must 
bear the drug name, strength, the manufacturer's control lot 
number and the expiration date. 

d. All drug products shall be maintained, stored and 
distributed in such a manner as to maintain the integrity of 
the product. 

6. Continued Competency for Prescriptive Authority. 
Each year an APRN with prescriptive authority shall obtain 
six contact hours of continuing education in 
pharmacotherapeutics in their advanced nursing role and 
population foci. Documentation of completion of the 
continuing education contact hours required for prescriptive 
authority shall be submitted at the request of the board in a 
random audit procedure at the time of the APRN's license 
renewal. In order for the continuing education program to be 
approved by the board, the program shall: 

a. be provided by a board approved national 
certifying organization or provider approved by the board; 

b. include content relevant to advanced practice 
nursing and the use of pharmacological agents in the 
prevention of illness, and the restoration and maintenance of 
health. 

7. APRN prescriptive authority may be renewed after 
review and approval by the board. 

8. Changes in Prescriptive Authority. The APRN shall 
notify the board in writing requesting approval of all 
changes regarding physicians and practice sites including the 
addition and deletion of any collaborating physicians within 
30 days. 

a. Prior to adding new collaborating physician(s) or 
dentists(s) and sites concurrently (i.e. new employment) to 
prescriptive authority privileges, the APRN shall notify the 
board in writing requesting approval on forms provided by 
the board including an Attestation of APRN Collaborative 

Practice. A collaborative practice agreement on a form and 
template provided by the board and signed by the APRN and 
CPs must be retained on site at all times.  

b. Prior to requesting the addition or replacement of 
collaborating physicians or dentist(s) at a site that has 
previously been submitted to the board, the APRN shall 
notify the board in writing requesting approval on forms 
provided by the board including an Attestation of APRN 

Collaborative Practice. A collaborative practice agreement 
on a form and template provided by the board and signed by 
the APRN and CPs must be retained on site at all times. 

c. Failure to abide by all provisions of this part may 
result in disciplinary action. 

9. The board shall be responsible for maintaining a 
current up-to-date public list of APRNs who have authority 
to prescribe in the state. 

10. The board shall supply whatever data is needed by 
the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs of the 
Department of Health. 

11. An APRN shall demonstrate compliance with the 
board's rules relating to authorized practice, LAC 
46:XLVII.4513.C. 

12. Limitation 
a. An APRN's prescriptive and distributing 

authority is personal to that individual APRN and is not 
delegable. An APRN shall not enter into any agreement, 
arrangement or contract with another health care provider, 
practitioner, person or individual which in any manner 
transfers any of the prescribing or distributing authority that 
the APRN derives as a result of approval by the board. 
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b. Only registered practitioners of medicine, 
dentistry, or veterinary medicine are authorized to compound 
and dispense drugs in accord with R.S. 37:1201. 

c. Exclusion. Nothing herein shall require a CRNA 
to have a collaborative practice agreement to provide 
anesthesia care and ancillary services to patients in a hospital 
or other licensed surgical facility. 
 i. Anesthesia care includes modalities associated 
with the delivery of anesthesia. Anesthesia care provided by 
a CRNA shall be in accord with the educational preparation 
of that CRNA in compliance with R.S. 37:930(A)(3) and 
includes: 

(a). the administration, selection, and prescribing 
of anesthesia related drugs or medicine during the 
perioperative period necessary for anesthesia care; and 

(b). prescribing diagnostic studies, legend and 
controlled drugs, therapeutic regimens, and medical devices 
and appliances necessary for anesthesia care. 
 ii. Ancillary services provided by CRNAs shall be 
in accordance with R.S. 37:930(A)(3):  

(a). shall include services provided by a CRNA 
in accord with the educational preparation of that CRNA; 

(b). shall be pursuant to a consult for the service 
by a licensed prescriber if the services are not directly 
related to anesthesia care; and 

(c). may include prescribing diagnostic studies, 
legend and controlled drugs, therapeutic regimens, and 
medical devices and appliances for assessment, 
administration or application while the patient is in the 
hospital or other licensed surgical facility in the state of 
Louisiana. 
 iii. Nothing herein shall provide for services by a 
CRNA which are otherwise prohibited by law. 

d. Continuance. Those APRNs who have previously 
been granted prescriptive and distributing authority by the 
Joint Administrative Committee or the LSBN shall continue 
under these rules. 

e. Reinstatement. An APRN who has been granted 
approval by the board for prescriptive and distributive 
authority and who has ceased practicing with prescriptive 
authority for more than 12 months may apply for 
reinstatement of such authority. 

f. In the event that the time period is greater than 12 
months but less than four years the APRN shall: 
 i. meet the requirements as set forth in LAC 
46:XLVII.4513.D.1.a, b., and c; and 
 ii. provide evidence of six contact hours of 
continuing education in pharmacotherapeutics for each 
12-month period of non-prescribing in their category and 
area of specialization. The APRN may obtain the required 
advanced pharmacotherapeutic hours through continuing 
education offerings. The required advanced 
pharmacotherapeutic hours may be non-lecture offerings or 
continuing medical education units (CMEs) provided that 
the offering documents the number of advanced 
pharmacotherapeutic hours in the educational offering. 
Pharmacotherapeutics hours must be delineated on the 
certificate. In order for the continuing education program to 
be approved by the board, the program shall:  

(a). be provided by a board-approved national 
certifying organization or provider approved by the board; 
and 

(b). include content relevant to advanced practice 
nursing and the use of pharmacological agents in the 
prevention of illness, and the restoration and maintenance of 
health. 

g. In the event that the time period is greater than 
four years, the APRN shall meet the requirements as set 
forth in LAC 46:XLVII.4513.D.1.a-e.i. 

13. Failure to abide by any provision of rules relative to 
prescriptive authority may result in formal disciplinary 
action. The board may suspend or revoke prescriptive 
authority privileges, including controlled substance 
privileges, for violations of the Nurse Practice Act and 
subsequent rules and regulations. 

14. The requirements and directives for submission of a 
collaborative practice agreement noted in declaratory 
statements or opinions issued prior to April 1, 2017 are 
considered to have been met through submission of an 
Attestation of APRN Collaborative Practice and retaining of 
the collaborative practice agreement on site that meets the 
provisions of current rules and provisions detailed in the 
statement or opinion.  

15. Termination of Prescriptive Privileges 
a. Prescriptive privileges may be terminated for 

violation of any rules and regulations of the board. 
b. Prescriptive authority will be designated as 

"inactive" when an APRN has no current collaborative 
practice agreement with a collaborating physicians. 

c. Prescriptive authority will be designated as 
"inactive" in the event the RN and/or APRN license is 
revoked, suspended, made inactive or becomes delinquent. 

16. Financial Disclosure 
a. The APRN is subject to the rules in LAC 

46:XLVII.3605, Required Disclosure of Financial Interests. 
17. Freedom of Choice 

a. An APRN shall not be influenced in the 
prescribing of drugs, devices or appliances by a direct or 
indirect financial interest in a pharmaceutical firm, 
pharmacy or other supplier or other health care related 
business. 

b. Patients are entitled to the same freedom of 
choice in selecting who will fill their prescription needs as 
they are in the choice of an APRN. The prescription is a 
written or electronic direction for a therapeutic or corrective 
agent. A patient is entitled to a copy of the APRN's 
prescription for drugs or other devices. The patient has a 
right to have the prescription filled wherever the patient 
wishes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:918(K) and R.S. 37:1031-1034. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 10:598 
(August 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 22:283 (April 1996), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing and 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:981 (October 1996), LR 
25:1245 (July 1999), LR), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, 27:727 (May 2001), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing and 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 28:487 (March 2002), 
repromulgated LR 28:1205 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 
31:2023 (August 2005), LR 33:1870 (September 2007), LR 40:63 
(January 2014), LR 40:2249 (November 2014), LR 42:572 (April 
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2016), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Nursing, 
LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed additions and/or changes to the rules of the 

board, Louisiana State Board of Nursing should not have any 
known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically, there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. a family's earnings and budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children; or 
6. the family's ability or that of the local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will not have an impact on child, individual, 
or family poverty in relation to individual or community 
asset development as described on R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
not have an impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider's 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed Rule to Karen C. Lyon, 17373 Perkins Road, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70810, or by facsimile to (225) 755-7585. 
All comments must be submitted by 5 p.m. on or before 
December 10, 2017. 

 
Dr. Karen C. Lyon 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Authorized Practice Registered Nurses 

and Physician Collaboration 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not result in any additional 
costs or savings to state or local governmental units other than 
one-time publication costs of the proposed amendments, which 
total approximately $850 in FY 18. The proposed rule changes 
alter the administrative management of collaborations between 
an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) and their 
current and alternate collaborating physician(s) (CP). This 
change will allow for the CP to delegate his/her responsibility 
to one or two other alternate collaborating physicians. 

The proposed rule changes also make technical changes to 
provisions regarding collaborative practice agreements, practice 
sites forms, and prescriptive authority application. Furthermore, 
the proposed rules remove redundant definitions that are 
currently in Chapter 35 of the Louisiana State Board of 
Nursing, as well as other grammatical and non-substantive 
technical corrections. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 
government revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes place the responsibility of 
documenting physicians at a practice site as alternative 
collaborating physicians (ACPs) on CPs and APRNs who wish 
to utilize ACPs. Furthermore, APRNs must notify the LA State 
Board of Nursing within two business days in the event a CP is 
absent unexpectedly. This workload increase is nominal and 
likely does not carry any associated cost. 

The proposed rule changes will also benefit CPs and 
APRNs by allowing them to practice with alternate 
collaborating physicians (ACPs) at practice sites to the extent 
the ACP holds a valid license issued by the LA State Board of 
Medical Examiners and is engaged in practice that is 
comparable in scope, specialty, and expertise of the APRN. 
Once a CP and an APRN designate an ACP, the APRN will be 
able to continue practicing at a given site in the event their CP 
is absent but their ACP is present. Additionally, APRNs benefit 
in the event a CP is unexpectedly absent due to death, 
disappearance, or other circumstances, as the proposed rules 
include provisions allowing APRNs to temporarily practice 
under an ACP for 30-120 days even if the ACP is not engaged 
in the same scope of practice as the APRN. 

Furthermore, patients under the care of an APRN will 
benefit, as they will be able to continue receiving treatment 
from APRNs who will be able to continue providing care under 
the purview of an ACP. 

Lastly, the proposed rule changes affect dentists by limiting 
the types of APRNs that they may enter into collaborative 
practice agreements with to Certified Registered Nurse 
Anesthetists. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 

Karen C. Lyon Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1711#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Veterinary Medicine 

Continuing Education and Professional Conduct 
(LAC 46:LXXXV.403, 1015, 1019, and 1227) 

The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine proposes to 
adopt LAC 46:LXXXV.403 and 1227, amend §1015.A and 
repeal §§1015.B and 1019, in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 
et seq., and the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act, R.S. 
37:1518A(9) and 37:1533. The board is vested with the 
authority to regulate the practice of veterinary medicine to



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2358

insure the health, welfare, and protection of the animals and 
the public. 

The proposed rules regarding continuing education (§§403 
and 1227) are being adopted to require specific 
courses/programs regarding drug diversion training, best 
practice of prescribing controlled dangerous substances, 
appropriate treatment for addiction, and any other matters 
that are deemed appropriate by the veterinary board in 
accordance with Act 76 of the 2017 Regular Session of the 
Legislature; and the proposed rules regarding §§1015.A are 
amended, and 1015.B and 1019 are repealed, to remove the 
prohibition to non-veterinarian ownership of a veterinary 
practice, but retain regulatory accountability by the board 
over licensed veterinarians and the hands-on/decision 
making authority over the practice of veterinary medicine.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXXXV.  Veterinarian 

Chapter 4. Continuing Education 
§403. Continuing Veterinary Education Requirements 

A. - A.3. … 
4. Effective August 1, 2017, a veterinarian with 

prescriptive authority who holds a controlled dangerous 
substances (CDS) license with the LA Board of Pharmacy 
shall obtain three CE hours for veterinary licensure renewal 
which shall include drug diversion training, best practice of 
prescribing controlled dangerous substances, appropriate 
treatment for addiction, and any other matters that are 
deemed appropriate by the veterinary board. Successful 
completion of this requirement once shall satisfy the 
requirement in full. However, an exemption for the three CE 
hours is available for the veterinarian with prescriptive 
authority who holds a controlled dangerous substances 
(CDS) license if he timely submits an annual certification 
form as adopted by the veterinary board attesting that he has 
not prescribed, administered, or dispensed a controlled 
dangerous substance during the entire applicable reporting 
period. The required three CE hours set forth herein may be 
a component part of the annual 20 hours of CE for licensure 
renewal, and may be part of the on-line allowance. No 
license shall be renewed for a veterinarian who fails to 
comply with this CE requirement or the exemption. 

B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated as §405 by the Department 

of Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:224 
(March 1990), amended LR 19:1427 (November 1993), LR 
23:1147 (September 1997), LR 28:1208 (June 2002), LR 33:649 
(April 2007), repromulgated LR 33:847 (May 2007), amended LR 
36:319 (February 2010), LR 37:1152 (April 2011), LR 44: 

Chapter 10. Professional Conduct 
§1015. Personal Responsibility of Licensee  

A. It is unlawful for a person to practice veterinary 
medicine, as defined in the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act 
and the board’s rules, who does not possess a current license 
issued by the board, unless he falls within an exception 
defined in section 1514 of the Practice Act and/or the 
board’s rules. The reason for the license requirement is to 
insure that any person involved in the actual practice of

veterinary medicine, including the control of decision-
making authority regarding veterinary patient care, is 
amenable to professional regulation and discipline by the 
board in order to protect the public and animals. The license 
is personal and individual to the veterinarian holder to 
lawfully practice veterinary medicine. The owner, member, 
officer, or director of a business entity, such as a partnership, 
corporation, or limited liability company, with a function 
that includes the provision of veterinary medicine does not 
have to possess a license issued by the board; however, the 
actual practitioner of veterinary medicine involved in patient 
care must be licensed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 
(March 1990), amended LR 25:1628 (September 1999), LR 31:928 
(April 2005), LR 44: 

§1019. Employment 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 
(March 1990), repealed LR 44: 

Chapter 12. Certified Animal Euthanasia Technicians 
§1227. Continuing Education 

A. - A.5. … 
6. Effective August 1, 2017, a CAET with prescriptive 

authority who holds a controlled dangerous substances 
(CDS) license with the LA Board of Pharmacy shall obtain 3 
CE hours for certification renewal which shall include drug 
diversion training, best practice of prescribing controlled 
dangerous substances, appropriate treatment for addiction, 
and any other matters that are deemed appropriate by the 
veterinary board. The required three CE hours set forth 
herein may be a component part of the annual six hours of 
CE for certification renewal. Successful completion of this 
requirement once shall satisfy the requirement in full. 
However, an exemption for the three CE hours is available 
for the CAET with prescriptive authority who holds a 
controlled dangerous substances (CDS) license if he timely 
submits an annual certification form as adopted by the 
veterinary board attesting that he has not prescribed, 
administered, or dispensed a controlled dangerous substance 
during the entire applicable reporting period. The required 
three CE hours set forth herein may be a component part of 
the annual six hours of CE for certification renewal, and may 
be part of the on-line allowance. No certification shall be 
renewed for a CAET who fails to comply with this CE 
requirement or the exemption. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:321 
(February 2000), amended LR 36:320 (February 2010), LR 
37:1153 (April 2011), LR 44:  

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, the following family impact 
statements will be published in the Louisiana Register with 
the Rules. 
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1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The board 
anticipates no effect on the stability of the family. 

2.  The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
The board anticipates no effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
board anticipates no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The board anticipates no significant adverse effect on family 
earnings and family budget.  

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The board anticipates no effect 
on the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rules. 
The board anticipates no effect on the ability of the family or 
a local government to perform the function as contained in 
the Rules. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, the following poverty impact 
statements will be published in the Louisiana Register with 
the Rules. 

1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 
Financial Security. The board anticipates no significant 
adverse effect on household income, assets, and financial 
security. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Pre-school through Post-Secondary Education Development. 
The board anticipates no effect on early childhood 
development and pre-school through post-secondary 
education development regarding the Rules. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The board anticipates no significant effect on 
employment and workforce development.  

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The board 
anticipates no significant adverse effect on taxes and tax 
credits regarding the Rules. 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. The board anticipates no effect on child and 
dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, 
transportation, and utilities assistance regarding the Rules.  

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, the following regulatory 
flexibility analysis will be published in the Louisiana 
Register with the Rules. With regards to the specific subject 
matter of the continuing education created by the rules, such 
may be used to partially satisfy the existing total annual 
continuing education hourly requirements and, therefore, the 
is no anticipated impact on small businesses. The rules 
which amend and repeal the non-veterinarian ownership 
prohibition will enable some veterinarians to advance their 
respective practices for the evolving needs of clients and 
patients by an infusion of money, and perhaps business 
talent and equipment. It will also allow practices owned by 
veterinarians to be sold at arm’s length transactions by

veterinarians, and their survivors, to a broader category of 
potential buyers. It is further noted that a growing number of 
recent veterinarian graduates are electing to work for an 
existing veterinary practice as opposed to opening their own 
practice. Some practitioners may potentially experience 
more business/market-share competition, however, it is 
anticipated that the rules will provide more employment 
opportunity for veterinarians, registered veterinary 
technicians, and staff, as well as more availability of 
veterinary services to consumers at competitive prices. 
Under any scenario, the board will continue to discharge its 
administrative obligations by holding its licensees personally 
accountable for the hands-on practice of veterinary medicine 
regardless of who may own the business entity.  

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. There are no 
anticipated significant changes in record keeping or 
reporting requirements for small businesses. 

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Schedules or 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. There are no anticipated changes in the 
deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements for small 
businesses. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance 
or Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. There are 
no anticipated adverse effects on compliance or reporting 
requirements for small businesses. 

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards in the Proposed Rules. There are no anticipated 
significant changes in design or operational standards in the 
rules. 

5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or 
Any Part of the Requirements Contained in the Rules. There 
are no exemptions for small businesses in the rules.  

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular 

Legislative Session, the following provider impact statement 
will be published in the Louisiana Register with the Rules. 

1. Staffing Level Requirements or Qualifications. It is 
not anticipated that the rules will have any significant impact 
on the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service.  

2. Direct and Indirect Effect of Costs. It is not 
anticipated that the rules will have any significant impact on 
the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to providers to 
provide the same level of service. 

3. Ability to Provide Same Level of Service. It is not 
anticipated that rules will have any significant impact on the 
overall effect on the ability of the provider to provide the 
same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested parties may submit written comments to Wendy 

D. Parrish, Executive Director, Louisiana Board of 
Veterinary Medicine, 301 Main Street, Suite 1050, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70801, or by facsimile to (225) 342-2142. 
Comments will be accepted through the close of business on 
Thursday, December 21, 2017. If it becomes necessary to 
convene a public hearing to receive comments in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be
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held on Thursday, December 28, 2017, at 10 am at the office 
of the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine, 301 Main 
Street, Suite 1050, Baton Rouge, LA 70801. 

 
Wendy D. Parrish 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Continuing Education  

and Professional Conduct 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not result in any additional 
costs or savings for state or local governmental units. 

The proposed rule changes include new provisions 
associated with Act 76 of the 2017 Regular Session regarding 
certifications for Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS) 
licenses for veterinarians and Certified Animal Euthanasia 
Technicians (CAETs). Included in the new provisions is a one-
time continuing education requirement for veterinarians and 
CAETs holding a CDS license regarding controlled dangerous 
substances that may be included as part of a veterinarian’s or 
CAET’s continuing education requirements. Furthermore, the 
provisions include an exception to the continuing education 
requirement if a veterinarian or a CAET has not prescribed, 
dispensed, or administered a controlled dangerous substance 
during the applicable reporting period.  

Furthermore, the proposed rule changes repeal and amend 
provisions associated with the prohibition of non-veterinarians 
owning veterinary clinics. However, the proposed rule changes 
maintain that persons practicing veterinary medicine at a clinic 
must hold a proper veterinary license remains.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes repeal provisions prohibiting 
non-veterinarians from owning veterinary practices, which 
creates a potential economic benefit for non-veterinarians, as 
they may now own veterinary practices. Furthermore, allowing 
non-veterinarians to own veterinary practices may allow 
practicing veterinarians to advance their respective practices for 
the evolving needs of clients and patients by an infusion of 
financial resources from non-veterinarians, as well as 
potentially create employment opportunity for veterinarians, 
registered veterinary technicians, and support staff (See Part 
IV). The proposed rule changes will also allow practices owned 
by veterinarians to be sold to a broader category of potential 
buyers in cases such as death or retirement. Furthermore, 
consumers may benefit by realizing lower prices in the event 
more clinics backed by non-veterinarian operators open and 
there is increased competition among veterinary clinics. 
However, in the event of consolidation of veterinary clinics 
under a single owner or ownership groups, consumers may 
realize flat or increased prices as a result of decreased 
competition (See Part IV).  

The proposed rule changes regarding continuing education 
and CDS licenses requirements for veterinarians and CAETs 
holding CDS licenses do not carry any economic benefits or 
costs. The on-time continuing education course regarding 
controlled dangerous substances can be used to fulfil part of the 
existing continuing education requirements for CAETs and 
veterinarians. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change repealing the prohibition of non-
veterinarians owning veterinary clinics may increase or 
decrease competition among veterinary clinics. The proposed 
rule changes allow for more clinics to open via relaxed 
ownership restrictions, which may allow for more competition 
among them as more clinics begin operating. However, the 
proposed rule changes also provide an avenue for several 
clinics to be purchased and consolidated into a single 
ownership group, which may decrease competition as a result 
of more clinics being operated by the same owner or owners. 
The effect of the proposed rule change cannot be determined 
because the number of non-veterinary entrants into this new 
market, as well as their available financial resources and 
business plans, is unknown. However, competition will likely 
be affected in the aggregate. 

Furthermore, the proposed rule changes may provide more 
employment opportunity for veterinarians, registered veterinary 
technicians, and support staff to the extent more veterinary 
clinics owned and backed by non-veterinarian owners open.  

 
Wendy D. Parrish Gregory V. Albrecht 
Executive Director Chief Economist 
1711#071 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Behavioral Health 

Behavioral Health Services 
Healthy Louisiana and Coordinated System of Care Waiver 

(LAC 50:XXXIII.101, 103, 301, 501, and 701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health propose to 
amend LAC 50:XXXIII.Chapters 1-7 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
propose to amend the provisions governing the Healthy 
Louisiana and Coordinated System of Care (CSoC) Waiver 
in order to: 1) reflect the CSoC contractor moving from a 
non-risk contract to a full-risk capitated contract; 2) clarify 
the CSoC contractor procurement process; 3) remove the 
requirements for mandatory enrollment of CSoC participants 
and OBH certification of providers; and 4) clarify the 
grievance and appeals process. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXXIII.  Behavioral Health Services 
Subpart 1.  Healthy Louisiana and Coordinated System 

of Care Waiver 
Chapter 1. Managed Care Organizations and the 

Coordinated System of Care Contractor 
§101. General Provisions 

A. - B. ... 
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C. Managed care organizations shall operate as such, and 
the CSoC contractor shall operate as a prepaid inpatient 
health plan (PIHP). The MCOs and the CSoC contractor 
were procured through a competitive request for proposal 
(RFP) process. The MCOs and CSoC contractor shall assist 
with the state’s system reform goals to support individuals 
with behavioral health and physical health needs in families’ 
homes, communities, schools and jobs. 

D. - D.4. ... 
E. The CSoC contractor shall be paid on a risk basis for 

specialized behavioral health services rendered to 
children/youth enrolled in the Coordinated System of Care 
Waiver. The MCOs shall be paid on a risk basis for 
specialized behavioral health and physical health services 
rendered to adults and children/youth. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:360 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2353 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 43:321 (February 2017), LR 44: 

§103. Recipient Participation 
A. The following Medicaid recipients shall be mandatory 

participants for integrated specialized behavioral health and 
physical health services: 

1. - 12. ... 

* * * 
B. Mandatory participants shall be automatically 

enrolled and disenrolled from the MCOs.  
C. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:361 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:1286 (July 2015), LR 41:2354 
(November 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health, 
LR 43:321 (February 2017), LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Managed Care Organizations and the 
Coordinated System of Care Contractor 
Participation 

§301. Participation Requirements and Responsibilities 
A. ... 
B. MCOs and the CSoC contractor shall: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. contract only with providers of services who are 

licensed and/or certified according to state laws, regulations, 
rules, the provider manual and other notices or directives 
issued by the department, meet the state of Louisiana 
credentialing criteria and enrolled with the Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, or its designated contractor, after this 
requirement is implemented; 

6. ensure that contracted rehabilitation providers are 
employed by a rehabilitation agency or clinic licensed and 
authorized under state law to provide these services; 

7. - 10.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:362 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2355 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 43:322 (February 2017), LR 44: 

Chapter 5. Reimbursement 
§501. General Provisions 

A. For recipients enrolled in one of the MCOs or with 
the CSoC contractor, the department or its fiscal 
intermediary shall make monthly capitation payments to the 
MCOs or CSoC contractor. 

1. The capitation rates paid to the MCOs or CSoC 
contractor shall be actuarially sound rates. 

2. The MCOs or CSoC contractor will determine the 
rates paid to its contracted providers. 

a. No payment shall be less than the minimum 
Medicaid rate. 

B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:363 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 39:317 (February 2013), LR 41:2356 
(November 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health, 
LR 44: 

Chapter 7. Grievance and Appeals Process 
§701. General Provisions 

A. ... 
B. An enrollee, an enrollee’s authorized representative or 

a provider on behalf of an enrollee, with the enrollee’s prior 
written consent, has 60 calendar days from the date on the 
notice of action in which to file an appeal. 

C. An enrollee, an enrollee’s authorized representative or 
a provider on behalf of an enrollee, with the enrollee’s prior 
written consent, may file a grievance at any time after an 
occurrence or incident which is the basis for the grievance. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:363 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2356 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 43:322 (February 2017), LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 
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Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Behavioral Health Services 

Healthy Louisiana and Coordinated  
System of Care Waiver 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18. It is anticipated that 
$864 ($432 SGF and $432 FED) will be expended in FY 17-18 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 17-18. It is 
anticipated that $432 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing the 
Healthy Louisiana and Coordinated System of Care (CSoC) 
Waiver in order to: 1) reflect the CSoC contractor moving from 

a non-risk contract to a full-risk capitated contract; 2) clarify 
the CSoC contractor procurement process; 3) remove the 
requirements for mandatory enrollment of CSoC participants 
and Office of Behavioral Health certification of providers; and 
4) revise the grievance and appeals process.  It is anticipated 
that implementation of this proposed rule will have no fiscal 
impact to behavioral health waiver services providers for FY 
17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20.  The current payments made to 
the CSoC contractor are the basis of the capitated rate 
development for the full-risk contract.  Shifting the payment 
mechanism is not anticipated to have more than a nominal 
impact on the overall cost of the wavier program, given its 
maturity, since the program itself will remain substantially the 
same. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Behavioral Health 

Behavioral Health Services 
Substance Use Disorders Services 

(LAC 50:XXXIII.14101, 14301, 14303, 14501, and 14701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health propose to 
amend LAC 50:XXXIII.Chapters 141-147 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
propose to amend the provisions governing substance use 
disorders (SUD) services rendered to children and adults in 
order to: 1) reflect the coordinated system of care contractor 
moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk capitated 
contract; 2) remove the requirements for OBH certification 
of providers and for prior approval of SUD services; 3) 
clarify the exclusion criteria for institutes for mental disease; 
and 4) clarify the requirements for residential addiction 
treatment facilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXXIII.  Behavioral Health Services 
Subpart 15.  Substance Use Disorders Services 

Chapter 141. General Provisions 
§14101. Introduction 

A. The Medicaid Program hereby adopts provisions to 
provide coverage under the Medicaid State Plan for 
substance use disorders (SUD) services rendered to children 
and adults. These services shall be administered under the 
authority of the Department of Health (LDH), in 
collaboration with managed care organizations (MCOs) and 
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the coordinated system of care (CSoC) contractor, which 
shall be responsible for the necessary operational and 
administrative functions to ensure adequate service 
coordination and delivery. The CSoC contractor shall only 
manage specialized behavioral health services for children 
and youth enrolled in the CSoC program. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:426 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 143. Services 
§14301. General Provisions 

A. ... 
B. American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) 

levels of care require reviews on an ongoing basis, as 
deemed necessary by the department to document 
compliance with national standards. 

C. Services provided to children and youth must include 
communication and coordination with the family and/or 
legal guardian and custodial agency for children in state 
custody. Coordination with other child-serving systems 
should occur as needed to achieve the treatment goals. All 
coordination must be documented in the child’s medical 
record. 

1. The agency or individual who has the decision 
making authority for a child or adolescent in state custody 
must approve the provision of services to the recipient. 

D. Children who are in need of SUD services shall be 
served within the context of the family and not as an isolated 
unit. 

1. Services shall be: 
a. delivered in a culturally and linguistically 

competent manner; and 
b. respectful of the individual receiving services. 

2. Services shall be appropriate to individuals of 
diverse racial, ethnic, religious, sexual, and gender identities, 
and other cultural and linguistic groups. 

3. Services shall also be appropriate for: 
a. age; 
b. development; and 
c. education. 

E. Evidence-based practices require prior approval and 
fidelity reviews on an ongoing basis as determined necessary 
by the department. 

E.1. - F. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:426 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

§14303. Covered Services 
A. - A.3. ... 
B. Service Exclusions. The following 

services/components shall be excluded from Medicaid 
reimbursement: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. services rendered in an institute for mental disease 

unless provided through Code of Federal Regulations 
“allowed in lieu of”, or a U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) approved waiver; and 

5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:426 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 145. Provider Participation 
§14501. Provider Responsibilities 

A. - C. ... 
D. Anyone providing SUD services must be licensed in 

accordance with state laws and regulations, in addition to 
operating within their scope of practice license. Providers 
shall meet the provisions of this Rule, the provider manual 
and the appropriate statutes. 

E. Residential addiction treatment facilities shall be 
accredited by an approved accrediting body and maintain 
such accreditation. Denial, loss of or any negative change in 
accreditation status must be reported to the MCO in writing 
within the time limit established by the department. 

F. - F.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:427 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 147. Reimbursement 
§14701. General Provisions 

A. For recipients enrolled with the CSoC contractor, the 
department or its fiscal intermediary shall make monthly 
capitation payments to the CSoC contractor, exclusive of 
coverage for residential substance use treatment services. 

1. The capitation rates paid to the CSoC contractor 
shall be actuarially sound rates. 

2. The CSoC contractor will determine the rates paid 
to its contracted providers. 

a. No payments shall be less than the minimum 
Medicaid rate. 

B. For recipients enrolled in one of the MCOs, the 
department or its fiscal intermediary shall make monthly 
capitation payments to the MCOs inclusive of coverage for 
the provision of residential substance use services for 
recipients enrolled in CSoC. 
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1. The capitation rates paid to the MCOs shall be 
actuarially sound rates. 

2. The MCOs will determine the rates paid to its 
contracted providers. 

a. No payment shall be less than the minimum 
Medicaid rate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:427 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 39:3301 (December 2013), LR 41:2358 
(November 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health, 
LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. The deadline for receipt of all written comments is 
4:30 p.m. on the next business day following the public 
hearing. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118,

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Behavioral Health Services 

Substance Use Disorders Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18. It is anticipated that 
$972 ($486 SGF and $486 FED) will be expended in FY 17-18 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 17-18. It is 
anticipated that $486 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing 
substance use disorders (SUD) services rendered to children 
and adults in order to: 1) reflect the coordinated system of care 
contractor moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk 
capitated contract; 2) remove the requirements for Office of 
Behavioral Health certification of providers; 3) remove blanket 
requirement for prior authorization of SUD services; 4) clarify 
the exclusion criteria for institutes for mental disease; and 5) 
clarify the requirements for residential addiction treatment 
facilities.  It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no fiscal impact to behavioral health providers of 
SUD services for FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. The 
current payments made to the CSoC contractor are the basis of 
the capitated rate development for the full-risk contract.  
Shifting the payment mechanism is not anticipated to have 
more than a nominal impact on the overall cost of the wavier 
program, given its maturity, since the program itself will 
remain substantially the same. The change to prior 
authorizations is not anticipated to have any direct impact on 
members or providers, as it is a technical change to align with 
current practice. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health  
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Behavioral Health 

Children’s Behavioral Health Services 
(LAC 50:XXXIII.Chapters 21-27) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health propose to 
amend LAC 50:XXXIII Chapters 21-27 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
propose to amend the provisions governing children’s 
behavioral health services in order to: 1) reflect the 
coordinated system of care contractor moving from a non-
risk contract to a full-risk capitated contract; 2) remove the 
requirements for OBH certification of providers and for 
prior approval of services; and 3) clarify the exclusion 
criteria for services rendered by institutes for mental disease. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXXIII.  Behavioral Health Services 
Subpart 3.  Children’s Mental Health Services 

Chapter 21. General Provisions 
§2101. Introduction 

A. The Medicaid Program hereby adopts provisions to 
provide coverage under the Medicaid State Plan for mental 
health services rendered to children and youth with 
behavioral health disorders. These services shall be 
administered under the authority of the Department of 
Health (LDH), in collaboration with managed care 
organizations (MCOs) and the coordinated system of care 
(CSoC) contractor, which shall be responsible for the 
necessary operational and administrative functions to ensure 
adequate service coordination and delivery. The CSoC 
contractor shall only manage specialized behavioral health 
services for children and youth enrolled in the coordinated 
system of care. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:364 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2358 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 23. Services 
§2301. General Provisions 

A. ...  
B. Services provided to children and youth must include 

communication and coordination with the family and/or 
legal guardian and custodial agency for children in state 
custody. Coordination with other child-serving systems

should occur as needed to achieve the treatment goals. All 
coordination must be documented in the child’s medical 
record. 

1. The agency or individual who has the decision 
making authority for a child or youth in state custody must 
request and approve the provision of services to the 
recipient. 

C. Children who are in need of specialized behavioral 
health services shall be served within the context of the 
family and not as an isolated unit. 

1. Services shall be: 
a. delivered in a culturally and linguistically 

competent manner; and 
b. respectful of the individual receiving services. 

2. Services shall be appropriate to children and youth 
of diverse racial, ethnic, religious, sexual, and gender 
identities and other cultural and linguistic groups. 

3. Services shall also be appropriate for: 
a. age; 
b. development; and 
c. education. 

D. Evidence-based practices require prior approval and 
fidelity reviews on an ongoing basis as determined necessary 
by the department. 

1. - 3.c. Repealed. 
E. Services may be provided at a site-based facility, in 

the community or in the individual’s place of residence as 
outlined in the plan of care. 

F. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:364 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2358 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

§2303. Covered Services 
A. The following behavioral health services shall be 

reimbursed under the Medicaid Program: 
1. ... 
2. rehabilitation services, including community 

psychiatric support and treatment (CPST) and psychosocial 
rehabilitation (PSR);  

3. - 4. ... 
B. Service Exclusions. The following services shall be 

excluded from Medicaid reimbursement: 
1. - 3. ...  
4. services rendered in an institute for mental disease 

other than a psychiatric residential treatment facility (PRTF) 
or an inpatient psychiatric hospital; and 

5. ... 
C. - C.4. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:364 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2359 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 
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Chapter 25. Provider Participation 
§2501. Provider Responsibilities 

A. - B. ... 
C. Anyone providing specialized behavioral health 

services shall be licensed in accordance with state laws and 
regulations, in addition to operating within their scope of 
practice license. Providers shall meet the provisions of this 
Rule, the provider manual and the appropriate statutes. The 
provider shall create and maintain documents to substantiate 
that all requirements are met.  

D. Providers shall maintain case records that include, at a 
minimum: 

1. a copy of the plan of care or treatment plan; 
2. the name of the individual; 
3. the dates of service; 
4. the nature, content and units of services provided; 
5. the progress made toward functional improvement; 

and 
6. the goals of the plan of care or treatment plan. 

E. - E.6. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:364 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2359 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 27. Reimbursement 
§2701. General Provisions 

A. For recipients enrolled with one of the MCOs or 
CSoC contractor, the department or its fiscal intermediary 
shall make monthly capitation payments to the MCOs or the 
CSoC contractor.  

1. The capitation rates paid to MCOs or the CSoC 
contractor shall be actuarially sound rates. 

2. The MCOs or the CSoC contractor will determine 
the rates paid to its contracted providers.  

a. No payment shall be less than the minimum 
Medicaid rate. 

B. Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:365 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 39:317 (February 2013), LR 41:2359 
(November 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health, 
LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service 
and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service. These provisions will have no impact 
on the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service 
as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Children’s Behavioral Health Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18.  It is anticipated that 
$1,080 ($540 SGF and $540 FED) will be expended in FY 17-
18 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of 
this proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect revenue collections other than the federal 
share of the promulgation costs for FY 17-18.  It is anticipated 
that $540 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the federal share of 
the expense for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final 
rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
children’s behavioral health services in order to: 1) reflect the 
CSoC contractor moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk 
capitated contract; 2) remove the requirements for Office of 
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Behavioral Health (OBH) certification of providers and for 
prior approval of services; and 3) clarify the exclusion criteria 
for services rendered by institutes for mental disease. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will not 
have economic cost or benefit to children’s behavioral health 
services providers for FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. The 
current payments made to the CSoC contractor are the basis of 
the capitated rate development for the full-risk contract.  
Shifting the payment mechanism is not anticipated to have 
more than a nominal impact on the overall cost of the wavier 
program, given its maturity, since the program itself will 
remain substantially the same   

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele  Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Major Medical Centers 

(LAC 50:V.2715) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50:V.2715 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which adopted 
provisions to establish a qualification criteria and 
disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment methodology 
for major medical centers located in the central and northern 
areas of Louisiana (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, Number 
7). 

In order to comply with the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’ (CMS) requirements and the associated approved 
Medicaid State Plan amendment, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the June 30, 2016 Emergency Rule (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 43, Number 2). This proposed Rule is 
being promulgated in order to continue the provisions of the 
February 20, 2017 Emergency Rule. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 
§2715. Major Medical Centers Located in Central and 

Northern Areas of the State 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after June 30, 

2016, hospitals qualifying for payments as major medical 
centers located in the central and northern areas of the state 
shall meet the following criteria: 

1. be a private, non-rural hospital located in 
Department of Health administrative regions 6, 7, or 8; 

2. have at least 200 inpatient beds as reported on the 
Medicare/Medicaid cost report, Worksheet S-3, column 2, 
lines 1-18, for the state fiscal year ending June 30, 2015. For 
qualification purposes, inpatient beds shall exclude nursery 
and Medicare-designated distinct part psychiatric unit beds; 

3. does not qualify as a Louisiana low-income 
academic hospital under the provisions of §3101; and 

4. such qualifying hospital (or its affiliate) does have a 
memorandum of understanding executed on or after June 30, 
2016 with Louisiana State University, School of Medicine, 
the purpose of which is to maintain and improve access to 
quality care for Medicaid patients in connection with the 
expansion of Medicaid in the state through the promotion, 
expansion, and support of graduate medical education and 
training. 

B. Payment Methodology. Effective for dates of service 
on or after June 30, 2016, each qualifying hospital shall be 
paid a DSH adjustment payment which is the pro rata 
amount calculated by dividing their hospital specific 
allowable uncompensated care costs by the total allowable 
uncompensated care costs for all hospitals qualifying under 
this category and multiplying by the funding appropriated by 
the Louisiana Legislature in the applicable state fiscal year 
for this category of hospitals. 

1. Costs, patient specific data and documentation that 
qualifying criteria is met shall be submitted in a format 
specified by the department.  

2. Costs and lengths of stay shall be reviewed by the 
department for reasonableness before payments are made. 

3. Aggregate DSH payments for hospitals that receive 
payment from this category, and any other DSH category, 
shall not exceed the hospital’s specific DSH limit. If 
payments calculated under this methodology would cause a 
hospital’s aggregate DSH payment to exceed the limit, the 
payment from this category shall be capped at the hospital’s 
specific DSH limit. 

4. A pro rata decrease, necessitated by conditions 
specified in §2501.B.1 above for hospitals described in this 
Section, will be calculated based on the ratio determined by 
dividing the hospital's uncompensated costs by the 
uncompensated costs for all of the qualifying hospitals 
described in this Section, then multiplying by the amount of 
disproportionate share payments calculated in excess of the 
federal DSH allotment. 

a. Additional payments shall only be made after 
finalization of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’ (CMS) mandated DSH audit for the state fiscal 
year. Payments shall be limited to the aggregate amount 
recouped from the qualifying hospitals described in this 
Section, based on these reported audit results. If the 
hospitals' aggregate amount of underpayments reported per 
the audit results exceeds the aggregate amount overpaid, the 
payment redistribution to underpaid hospitals shall be paid 
on a pro rata basis calculated using each hospital’s amount 
underpaid, divided by the sum of underpayments for all of 
the hospitals described in this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 
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Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
but may reduce the total direct and indirect cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service, and may 
enhance the provider’s ability to provide the same level of 
service as described in HCR 170 since this proposed Rule 
increases payments to providers for the same services they 
already render. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Disproportionate Share 

Hospital PaymentsMajor Medical Centers 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated state programmatic costs of 
approximately $13,115,673 for FY 17-18, $12,796,946 for FY 
18-19 and $12,796,946 FY 19-20. It is anticipated that $648 
($324 SGF and $324 FED) will be expended in FY 17-18 for 
the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. The state match shall be

funded through an intergovernmental transfer of funds from the 
qualifying hospital services providers. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 63.34 percent in FY 17-18, and 
64.23 in FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$22,660,614 for FY 17-18, $22,978,693 for FY 18-19 and 
$22,978,693 for FY 19-20. It is anticipated that $324 will be 
expended in FY 17-18 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 63.34 percent 
in FY 17-18, and 64.23 in FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule continues the provisions of the June 30, 
2016 and February 20, 2017 Emergency Rules which adopted 
provisions to establish a qualification criteria and 
disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment methodology 
for major medical centers located in the central and northern 
areas of Louisiana (five qualifying hospitals are impacted by 
these provisions). It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will have economic benefits to qualifying 
hospital service providers and will increase programmatic 
expenditures for DSH payments by approximately $35,775,639 
for FY 17-18, $35,775,639 for FY 18-19 and $35,775,639 for 
FY 19-20. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition. However, the 
increase in payments may have a positive impact the financial 
standing of providers and could possibly cause an increase in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Facility Need Review 
Behavioral Health Services Providers 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 125) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:I.Chapter 125 as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2116. This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
facility need review (FNR) process in order to adopt 
provisions to include behavioral health services providers of 
psychosocial rehabilitation and/or community psychiatric 
support and treatment services in the FNR program. 
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Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 5.  Health Planning 
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§12501. Definitions 

A. Definitions. When used in this Chapter the following 
terms and phrases shall have the following meanings unless 
the context requires otherwise. 

* * * 

Behavioral Health Services (BHS)mental health 
services, substance abuse/addiction treatment services, or 
combination of such services, for adults, adolescents and 
children. 

Behavioral Health Services Providera facility, 
agency, institution, person, society, corporation, partnership, 
unincorporated association, group, or other legal entity that 
provides behavioral health services or, presents itself to the 
public as a provider of behavioral health services. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:806 (August 1995), amended LR 
25:1250 (July 1999), LR 28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1023 
(May 2004), LR 32:845 (May 2006), LR 34:2611 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:2437 (November 
2009), LR 36:323 (February 2010), LR 38:1961 (August 2012), LR 
41:135 (January 2015), LR 41:2636 (December 2015), LR 42:61 
(January 2016), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

§12503. General Information 
A. - B. ... 
C. The department will also conduct an FNR for the 

following provider types to determine if there is a need to 
license additional units, providers or facilities: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. hospice providers or inpatient hospice facilities; 
5. pediatric day health care facilities; and 
6. behavioral health services (BHS) providers that 

provide psychosocial rehabilitation (PSR) and/or community 
psychiatric support and treatment (CPST) services. 

D. - F.4. ... 
G. Additional Grandfather Provision. An approval shall 

be deemed to have been granted under FNR without review 
for HCBS providers, ICFs/DD, ADHC providers, hospice 
providers, BHS providers, and pediatric day health care 
centers that meet one of the following conditions: 

1. ... 
2. existing licensed ICFs-DD that are converting to 

the Residential Options Waiver; 
3. - 5.c. ... 

d. became licensed as a PDHC by the department 
no later than December 31, 2014;  

6. behavioral health services providers that are 
licensed to provide PSR and/or CPST, or that have submitted 
a completed application for licensure as a BHS provider that 
includes PSR and/or CPST, prior to promulgation of this 
Rule; and 

7. behavioral health services (BHS) providers that fall 
within the provisions of Act 33 of the 2017 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, commonly referred to as 
accredited mental health rehabilitation providers, that submit 
a completed BHS provider licensing application by 
December 1, 2017 and become licensed by April 1, 2018. 

H. - H.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:808 (August 1995), amended LR 
28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1483 (July 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 34:2612 (December 2008), amended LR 35:2437 
(November 2009), LR 36:323 (February 2010), LR 38:1593 (July 
2012), LR 38:1961 (August 2012), LR 41:136 (January 2015), LR 
42:61 (January 2016), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Subchapter B. Determination of Bed, Unit, Facility or 
Agency Need 

§12524. Behavioral Health Services Providers 
A. Except as noted in Paragraph B below, no behavioral 

health services (BHS) providers or applicants seeking to 
provide psychosocial rehabilitation (PSR) and/or community 
psychiatric support and treatment (CPST) services shall be 
eligible to apply for licensure to provide PSR and/or CPST 
services unless the FNR Program has granted an approval 
for the issuance of a BHS provider license for such services. 
Once the FNR Program approval is granted, a BHS provider 
is eligible to apply for a BHS provider license to provide 
PSR and/or CPST services. 

B. BHS providers who fall within the provisions of Act 
33 of the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 
commonly referred to as accredited mental health 
rehabilitation providers, are required to submit a BHS 
provider licensing application by December 1, 2017 and 
become licensed by April 1, 2018. 

1. Beginning December 2, 2017, such an “Act 33” 
BHS provider that failed to submit its completed licensing 
application by December 1, 2017, shall be subject to FNR 
and shall not be eligible to apply for licensure to provide 
PSR and/or CPST services unless the FNR Program has 
granted an approval for the issuance of a BHS provider 
license for such services. Once the FNR Program approval is 
granted, such a BHS provider is eligible to apply for a BHS 
provider license to provide PSR and/or CPST services.  

2. Beginning April 2, 2018, such an “Act 33” BHS 
provider that submitted its completed licensing application 
by December 1, 2017, but failed to become licensed by April 
1, 2018, shall be subject to FNR and shall not be eligible to 
apply for licensure to provide PSR and/or CPST services 
unless the FNR Program has granted an approval for the 
issuance of a BHS provider license for such services. Once 
the FNR Program approval is granted, such a BHS provider 
is eligible to apply for a BHS provider license to provide 
PSR and/or CPST services. 

C. The service area for proposed or existing BHS 
providers shall be the parish in which the provider is 
licensed and parishes directly adjacent to said parish. 

D. Determination of Need/Approval 
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1. The department shall review the FNR application to 
determine if there is a need for an additional BHS provider 
to provide PSR and/or CPST services in the service area. 

2. The department shall grant FNR approval only if 
the FNR application, the data contained in the application 
and other evidence effectively establishes the probability of 
serious, adverse consequences to recipients’ ability to access 
behavioral health PSR and/or CPST services if the provider 
is not allowed to be licensed. 

3. In reviewing the application, the department may 
consider, but is not limited to, evidence showing: 

a. the number of other BHS providers providing 
PSR and/or CPST services in the same geographic location 
and service area servicing the same population;  

b. the number of members that the BHS provider is 
able to provide PSR and/or CPST services to; and 

c. allegations involving issues of access to 
behavioral health PSR and/or CPST services. 

4. The burden is on the applicant to provide data and 
evidence to effectively establish the probability of serious, 
adverse consequences to recipients’ ability to access 
behavioral health PSR and/or CPST services if the provider 
is not granted approval to be licensed. The department shall 
not grant any FNR approvals if the application fails to 
provide such data and evidence. 

E. Applications for approvals of BHS providers of PSR 
and/or CPST services submitted under these provisions are 
bound to the description in the application with regard to the 
type of services proposed, as well as to the site and location 
as defined in the application. FNR approval of such 
providers shall expire if these aspects of the application are 
altered or changed. 

F. Facility need review approvals for behavioral health 
PSR and/or CPST applicants are non-transferrable and are 
limited to the location and the name on the original licensee. 

1. A BHS provider of PSR and/or CPST services 
undergoing a change of location in the same licensed region 
shall submit a written attestation of the change of location 
and the department shall re-issue the FNR approval with the 
name and new location. A BHS provider undergoing a 
change of location outside of the licensed region shall 
submit a new completed FNR application and required fee 
and undergo the FNR approval process. 

2. A BHS provider of PSR and/or CPST services 
undergoing a change of ownership shall submit a new 
completed application and required fee to the department’s 
FNR Program. FNR approval for the new owner shall be 
granted upon submission of the new application and proof of 
the change of ownership, which shall show the seller’s or 
transferor’s intent to relinquish the FNR approval. 

3. Facility need review approval of a licensed BHS 
provider of PSR and/or CPST services shall automatically 
expire if the provider is moved or transferred to another 
party, entity or location without application to and approval 
by the FNR program. 

4. Facility need review approved BHS providers of 
PSR and/or CPST shall become licensed no later than one 
year from the date of the FNR approval. Failure to meet any 
of the time frames in this section shall result in an automatic 
expiration of the FNR approval of the BHS provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2116. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service 
and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service, and will have no impact on the 
provider’s ability to provide the same level of service as 
described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 

Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 
Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Facility Need Review 
Behavioral Health Services Providers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other 
than the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18. It is anticipated 
that $1,080 (SGF) will be expended in FY 17-18 for the state’s 
administrative expense for the promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not affect federal revenue collections since the 
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licensing fees, in the same amounts, will continue to be 
collected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing the 
facility need review (FNR) process in order to adopt provisions 
to include behavioral health services providers of psychosocial 
rehabilitation and/or community psychiatric support and 
treatment services in the FNR program. It is anticipated that the 
implementation of this proposed rule will have no economic 
costs to behavioral health services providers for FY 17-18, 18-
19 and 19-20, but may limit the number of providers approved 
for licensure to provide psychosocial rehabilitation and/or 
community support and treatment services in the future. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Cecile Castello Gregory V. Albrecht 
Health Standards Section Director Chief Economist 
1711#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Behavioral Health 

Home and Community-Based Behavioral Health 
Services Waiver (LAC 50:XXXIII.8103, 8501 and 8701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health propose to 
amend LAC 50:XXXIII.8103, §8501 and §8701 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
propose to amend the provisions governing children’s 
behavioral health services provided through the Home and 
Community-Based Behavioral Health Services Waiver in 
order to: 1) reflect the coordinated system of care contractor 
moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk capitated 
contract; and 2) remove the requirement for OBH 
certification of providers. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXXIII.  Behavioral Health Services 

Subpart 9.  Home and Community-Based Services 
Waiver 

Chapter 81. General Provisions 
§8103. Recipient Qualifications 

A. The target population for the Home and Community-
Based Behavioral Health Services Waiver program shall be 
Medicaid recipients who: 

1. are from the age of 5 years old through the age of 
20 years old effective March 1, 2017: 

a. ... 

b. prospectively enrolled recipients must be at least 
age 5 through age 20 to receive waiver services; 

A.2. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:366 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2361 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 43:324 (February 2017), LR 44: 

Chapter 85. Provider Participation 
§8501. Provider Responsibilities 

A. - C. ... 
D. Anyone providing behavioral health services must be 

licensed in accordance with state laws and regulations, in 
addition to operating within their scope of practice license. 
Providers requiring certification in accordance with federal 
or state laws, regulations, rules, the provider manual, or 
other notices or directives issued by the department must be 
appropriately certified. To be certified or recertified, 
providers shall meet the provisions of this Rule, the provider 
manual and the appropriate statutes. The provider shall 
create and maintain documents to substantiate that all 
requirements are met. 

E. - E.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:368 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2362 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 87. Reimbursement 
§8701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The department or its fiscal intermediary shall make 
monthly capitation payments to the CSoC contractor. 

1. The capitation rates paid to the CSoC contractor 
shall be actuarially sound rates. 

2. The CSoC contractor will make payments to its 
contracted providers. 

a. No payment shall be less than the minimum 
Medicaid rate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:368 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Behavioral 
Health, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family
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functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based 

Behavioral Health Services Waiver 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18. It is anticipated that 
$648 ($324 SGF and $324 FED) will be expended in FY 17-18 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 17-18. It is 
anticipated that $324 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing 
children’s behavioral health services provided through the 
Home and Community-Based Behavioral Health Services 
Waiver in order to: 1) reflect the coordinated system of care 
contractor moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk 
capitated contract; and 2) remove the requirement for Office of 
Behavioral Health certification of providers.  It is anticipated 
that implementation of this proposed rule will have no fiscal 
impact to the home and community-based behavioral health 
services providers for FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. The 
current payments made to the CSoC contractor are the basis of 
the capitated rate development for the full-risk contract. 
Shifting the payment mechanism is not anticipated to have 
more than a nominal impact on the overall cost of the wavier 
program, given its maturity, since the program itself will 
remain substantially the same. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Laboratory and Radiology Services 
Termination of Coverage for Proton Beam 

Radiation Therapy (LAC 50:XIX.4334) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XIX.4334 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing currently provides Medicaid coverage and 
reimbursement for proton beam radiation therapy services 
under the laboratory and radiology benefit. Proton beam 
radiation is a type of external radiation therapy utilized in 
the treatment of malignant and benign tumors and 
arteriovenous malformations. National best practice 
standards indicate that the therapy is most appropriate for 
treatment of tumors in individuals who are under the age of 
21.  

As the Medicaid Program continues to look for cost 
containment measures to ensure fiscal responsibility, we also 
strive to ensure Medicaid recipients receive the most 
appropriate, quality services. Therefore, it is imperative that 
our coverage policies align with best practice standards 
which is a fiscally sound approach to health care service 
delivery.  

Hence, the department proposes to amend the provisions 
governing laboratory and radiology services to terminate 
coverage and reimbursement of proton beam radiation 
therapy for recipients 21 years of age and older. The services 
will continue to be available for recipients under the age of 
21 when deemed medically necessary. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Healthcare Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and Radiology Services 

Chapter 43. Billing and Reimbursement 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement 
§4334. Radiology Services 

A. - K.3. ... 
L. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 

2018, or upon promulgation of this Rule, the Medicaid 
Program terminates coverage and reimbursement for proton 
beam radiation therapy (PBRT) for recipients 21 years of age 
and older. 

1. For recipients under the age of 21, coverage and 
reimbursement shall be provided when PBRT services are 
deemed medically necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
30:1026 (May 2004), amended LR 35:1898 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010), 
LR 37:3029 (October 2011), LR 39:1284 (May 2013), LR 41:540 
(March 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
but may have a minimal increase in direct or indirect cost to 
the provider to provide the same level of service due to the 
termination of Medicaid payments for these services for 
recipients 21 and over. The proposed Rule may also have a 
minimal adverse impact on the provider’s ability to provide 
the same level of service as described in HCR 170 if the 
reduction in payments adversely impacts the provider’s 
financial standing. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
Rebekah E Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Laboratory and Radiology Services 

Termination of Coverage for Proton Beam 
Radiation Therapy 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated state programmatic savings of 
approximately $4,019 for FY 17-18, $11,678for FY 18-19 and 
$11,678 FY 19-20. It is anticipated that $540 ($270 SGF and 
$270 FED) will be expended in FY 17-18 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
63.34 percent in FY 17-18, and 64.23 in FY 18-19 and FY 19-
20. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will decrease federal revenue collections by approximately 
$7,140 for FY 17-18, $20,969 for FY 18-19 and $20,969 for 
FY 19-20. It is anticipated that $270 will be expended in FY 
17-18 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 63.34 percent in FY 17-18, and 
64.23 in FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
laboratory and radiology services to terminate coverage and 
reimbursement of proton beam radiation therapy (PBRT) for 
recipients 21 years of age and older. Medicaid recipients age 21 
and over may be impacted by this proposed Rule as alternative 
treatment options may be required due to termination of 
coverage for this service. It is anticipated that implementation 
of this proposed rule may have an economic impact on PRBT 
providers and will decrease Medicaid programmatic 
expenditures for laboratory and radiology services by
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approximately $11,699 for FY 17-18, $32,647 for FY 18-19 
and $32,647 for FY 19-20. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#062 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral Health 
Independent Review Process for Provider Claims 

(LAC 50:I.3111) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50:I.3111 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

Act 349 of the 2017 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature directed the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing to establish a process for review 
of health care provider claims submitted to Medicaid 
managed care organizations when claim payment 
determinations are adverse to providers. This legislation 
further directed the department to: 1) establish a panel for 
the selection of the independent reviewers; 2) provide for 
reporting requirements; 3) establish penalties; and 4) related 
matters. 

In compliance with the provisions of Act 349, the 
department proposes to amend the provisions governing 
managed care for physical and behavioral health in order to 
adopt provisions for the independent process for the review 
of MCO provider claims payment determinations that are 
adverse to health care providers. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part I.  Administration 

Subpart 3.  Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral 
Health 

Chapter 31. General Provisions 
§3111. Independent Review Process for Provider 

Claims 
A. Right of Providers to Independent Review 

1. Pursuant to Act 349 of the 2017 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature, for adverse determinations related 
to claims filed on or after January 1, 2018, a healthcare 
provider shall have a right to an independent review of the 
adverse action of the managed care organization (MCO). 

2. For purposes of these provisions, adverse 
determinations shall refer to claims submitted by healthcare 
providers for payment for services rendered to Medicaid 
enrollees and denied by a MCO, in whole or in part, or a 
claim that results in recoupment of a payment from the 
healthcare provider. 

B. Request for Reconsideration 
1. A provider shall submit a written request for 

reconsideration to the MCO. The request shall identify the 
claim(s) in dispute, the reasons for the dispute, and any 
documentation supporting the provider's position or request 
by the MCO, within 180 days from one of the following 
dates: 

a. the date on which the MCO transmits remittance 
advice or other notice electronically; 

b. 60 days from the date the claim was submitted to 
the MCO if the provider receives no notice from an MCO, 
either partially or totally, denying the claim; or 

c. the date on which the MCO recoups monies 
remitted for a previous claim payment. 

2. The MCO shall acknowledge in writing its receipt 
of a reconsideration request submitted in accordance with 
§3111.B.1, within 5 calendar days after receipt of the 
request, and render a final decision by providing a response 
to the provider within 45 calendar days from the date of 
receipt of the request for reconsideration, unless another 
time frame is agreed upon in writing by the provider and the 
MCO. 

C. Independent Review Requirements 
1. If the MCO upholds the adverse determination, or 

does not respond to the reconsideration request within the 
time frames allowed, the provider may file a written notice 
with the department requesting the adverse determination be 
submitted to an independent reviewer. The department must 
receive the written request from the provider for an 
independent review within 60 days from the date the 
provider receives the MCO’s notice of the decision of the 
reconsideration request, or if the MCO does not respond to 
the reconsideration request within the time frames allowed, 
the last date of the time period allowed for the MCO to 
respond. 

2. The provider shall include a copy of the written 
request for reconsideration with the request for an 
independent review. The address to be used by the provider 
for submission of the request shall be P.O. Box 91283, Bin 
32, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9283. 

3. If the MCO reverses the adverse determination 
pursuant to a request for reconsideration, payment of the 
claim(s) in dispute shall be made no later than 20 days from 
the date of the MCO’s decision. 

4. Subject to approval by the department, a provider 
may aggregate multiple adverse determinations involving 
the same MCO when the specific reason for nonpayment of 
the claims aggregated involve a dispute regarding a common 
substantive question of fact or law. 

5. Within 14 calendar days of receipt of the request for 
independent review, the independent reviewer shall request 
to be provided all information and documentation submitted 
for reconsideration regarding the disputed claim or claims 
within 30 calendar days. 

6. If the independent reviewer determines that 
guidance on a medical issue from the department is required 
to make a decision, the reviewer shall refer this specific 
issue to the department for review and concise response to 
the request within 90 calendar days after receipt. 

7. The independent reviewer shall examine all 
materials submitted and render a decision on the dispute
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within 60 calendar days. The independent reviewer may 
request in writing an extension of time from the department 
to resolve the dispute. If an extension of time is granted by 
the department, the independent reviewer shall provide 
notice of the extension to the provider and the MCO. 

8. If the independent reviewer renders a decision 
requiring a MCO to pay any claims or portion of the claims, 
within 20 calendar days, the MCO shall send the provider 
payment in full along with 12 percent interest calculated 
back to the date the claim was originally denied or recouped. 

9. Within 60 calendar days of an independent 
reviewer's decision, either party to the dispute may file suit 
in any court having jurisdiction to review the independent 
reviewer's decision to recover any funds awarded by the 
independent reviewer to the other party. 

D. Independent Review Costs 
1. The fee for conducting an independent review shall 

be paid to the independent reviewer by the MCO within 30 
calendar days of receipt of a bill for services. A provider 
shall, within 10 days of the date of the decision of the 
independent reviewer, reimburse a MCO for the fee 
associated with conducting an independent review when the 
decision of the MCO is upheld. If the provider fails to 
submit payment for the independent review within 10 days 
from the date of the decision, the MCO may withhold future 
payments to the provider in an amount equal to the cost of 
the independent review, and the department may prohibit 
that provider from future participation in the independent 
review process. 

2. If the MCO fails to pay the bill for the independent 
reviewer's services, the reviewer may request payment 
directly from the department from any funds held by the 
state that are payable to the MCO. 

E. Independent Reviewer Selection Panel 
1. The independent reviewer selection panel shall 

select and identify an appropriate number of independent 
reviewers and determine a uniform rate of compensation to 
be paid to each reviewer, not to exceed $2,000 per review. 

2. The panel shall consist of the secretary or his/her 
duly designated representative, two provider representatives 
and two MCO representatives. 

3. Each MCO shall utilize only independent reviewers 
who are selected in accordance with Act 349 of the 2017 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, and shall 
comply with the provisions of this Section in the resolution 
of disputed adverse determinations. 

F. Penalties 
1. An MCO in violation of any provision governing 

the independent review process herein may be subject to a 
penalty of up to $25,000 per violation.  

2. An MCO may be subject to an additional penalty of 
up to $25,000 if subject to more than 100 independent 
reviews annually and the percentage of adverse 
determinations overturned in favor of the provider as a result 
of an independent review is greater than 25 percent. 

G. Independent Review Applicability 
1. Independent review shall not apply to any adverse 

determination: 

a. associated with a claim filed with an MCO prior 
to January 1, 2018, regardless of whether the claim is re-
filed after that date; 

b. associated with an adverse determination 
involved in litigation or arbitration; 

c. not associated with a Medicaid enrollee. 
2. Independent review does not otherwise prohibit or 

limit any alternative legal or contractual remedy available to 
a provider to contest the partial or total denial of a claim for 
payment for healthcare services. Any contractual provision 
executed between a provider and a MCO which seeks to 
limit or otherwise impede the appeal process as set forth in 
this Section shall be null, void, and deemed to be contrary to 
the public policy of this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118,
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Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Managed Care for Physical and 

Behavioral HealthIndependent Review 
Process for Provider Claims 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have administrative costs to the state of approximately 
$22,853 in FY 17-18, $62,421 in FY 18-19 and $62,421 in FY 
19-20; however, the programmatic impact to the state is 
indeterminable since there is no way to determine how many 
providers will utilize the process or how many claims payments 
will be impacted and result in a programmatic cost or savings 
to the state through adjustments to the PMPM. It is anticipated 
that $972 ($486 SGF and $486 FED) will be expended in FY 
17-18 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections for administrative 
costs by approximately $22,854 in FY 17-18, $62,421 in FY 
18-19 and $62,421 in FY 19-20; however, the federal revenue 
collections for the programmatic impact is indeterminable. It is 
anticipated that $486 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Pursuant to the provisions of Act 349 of the 2017 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, this proposed Rule 
amends the provisions governing managed care for physical 
and behavioral health in order to adopt provisions for an 
independent review process for healthcare providers who have 
received an adverse determination on managed care 
organization (MCO) claims payments. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will have administrative 
cost to the Medicaid Program of approximately $44,735 in FY 
17-18, $124,842 in FY 18-19 and $124,842 in FY 19-20; 
however, the Medical Vendor Payments impact is 
indeterminable since there is no way to determine how many 
providers will utilize this process or how many claims 
payments may be impacted. It is also anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule may have an impact to the 
MCOs and healthcare providers in FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 
19-20, but the impact is indeterminable since there is no way to 
determine if there will be recoupments or payments made by 
MCOs and providers as a result of this process. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 

Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral Health 
Member Grievances and Appeals 

(LAC 50:I.Chapter 37) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:I.Chapter 37 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing 
managed care for physical and behavioral health in order to 
align the current Rule with the Code of Federal Regulations 
and the Louisiana Administrative Code which will: 1) revise 
timeframes for members to initiate state fair hearings and 
request appeals; 2) revise the timeframe for managed care 
organizations to resolve grievances; 3) update definitions to 
align with federal Rule changes; 4) revise record retention 
requirements; and 5) clarify reporting requirements. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part I.  Administration 

Subpart 3.  Managed Care for Physical and Behavioral 
Health 

Chapter 37. Grievance and Appeal Process 
Subchapter A. Member Grievances and Appeals 
§3703. Definitions 

Action—Repealed. 
1. - 5. Repealed. 

Adverse Benefit Determination—any of the following: 
1. the denial or limited authorization of a requested 

service, including determinations based on the type or level 
of service, requirements for medical necessity, 
appropriateness, setting, or effectiveness of a covered 
benefit; 

2. the reduction, suspension, or termination of a 
previously authorized service; 

3. the denial, in whole or in part, of payment for a 
service; 

4. the failure to provide services in a timely manner, 
as defined by the state; 

5. the failure of an MCO to act within the timeframes 
provided in 42 CFR §438.408(b)(1) and (2) regarding the 
standard resolution of grievances and appeals; 

6. the denial of a member’s request to dispute a 
financial liability, including cost sharing, copayments, 
premiums, deductible, coinsurance, and other member 
financial liabilities. 

Appeal—a request for review of an adverse benefit 
determination as defined in this Section. 

Grievance—an expression of dissatisfaction about any 
matter other than an adverse benefit determination. 
Grievances may include, but are not limited to: 

1. ... 
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2. aspects of interpersonal relationships, such as 
rudeness of a provider or employee; 

3. failure to respect the member’s rights regardless of 
whether remedial action is requested; or 

4. the member’s rights to dispute an extension of time 
proposed by the MCO to make an authorization decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1589 (June 2011), amended LR 41:939 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 44: 

§3705. General Provisions 
A. The MCO must have a system in place for members 

that includes a grievance process, an appeal process, and 
access to the state fair hearing process once the MCO’s 
appeal process has been exhausted. 

B. Filing Requirements 
1. Authority to File. A member, or a representative of 

his/her choice, including a provider acting on behalf of the 
member and with the member’s written consent, may file a 
grievance and an MCO level appeal. Once the MCO’s 
appeals process has been exhausted, a member or his/her 
representative, with the member’s written consent, may 
request a state fair hearing. 

a. ... 
2. Filing Timeframes. The member, or a representative 

or provider acting on the member’s behalf and with his/her 
written consent, may file an appeal within 60 calendar days 
from the date on the MCO’s notice of adverse benefit 
determination. 

3. Filing Procedures 
a. ... 
b. The member, or a representative or provider 

acting on the member’s behalf and with the member’s 
written consent, may file an appeal either orally or in 
writing. Oral appeals must be followed by a signed, written 
appeal unless the member requested an expedited appeal. 

C. - C.1.b. ... 
D. Grievance and Appeal Records 

1. The MCO must maintain records of grievances and 
appeals. A copy of the grievance logs and records of the 
disposition of appeals shall be retained for 10 years. If any 
litigation, claim negotiation, audit, or other action involving 
the documents or records has been started before the 
expiration of the 10-year period, the records shall be retained 
until completion of the action and resolution of issues which 
arise from it or until the end of the regular 10-year period, 
whichever is later. 

E. All state fair hearing requests shall be sent directly to 
the state designated entity. 

1. - 1.f. Repealed. 
F. The MCO will be responsible for promptly 

forwarding any adverse decisions to the department for 
further review and/or action upon request by the department 
or the MCO member. 

G. The department may submit recommendations to the 
MCO regarding the merits or suggested resolution of any 
grievance or appeal. 

H. Information to Providers and Subcontractors. The 
MCO must provide the information about the grievance 

system as specified in federal regulations to all providers and 
subcontractors at the time they enter into a contract. 

I. Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements. Reports 
of grievances and resolutions shall be submitted to the 
department as specified in the contract. The MCO shall not 
modify the grievance system without the prior written 
approval of the department. 

J. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1590 (June 2011), amended LR 41:939 (May 2015), LR 
41:2368 (November 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

§3707. Handling of Member Grievances and Appeals 
A. In handling grievances and appeals, the MCO must 

meet the following requirements: 
1. - 2. ... 
3. ensure that the individuals who make decisions on 

grievances and appeals are individuals who: 
a. were not involved in any previous level of review 

or decision-making, nor a subordinate of any such 
individual; and 

b. if deciding on any of the following issues, are 
individuals who have the appropriate clinical expertise, as 
determined by the department, in treating the member's 
condition or disease: 

A.3.b.i. - B. ... 
1. The process for appeals must: 

a. provide that oral inquiries seeking to appeal an 
action are treated as appeals (to establish the earliest possible 
filing date for the appeal) and must be confirmed in writing, 
unless the member or the provider requests expedited 
resolution; 

b. ... 
c. provide the member and his/her representative an 

opportunity, before and during the appeals process, to 
examine the member's case file, including medical records, 
any other documents and records, and any new or additional 
evidence considered, relied upon, or generated by the MCO 
during the appeals process. This information must be 
provided free of charge and sufficiently in advance of the 
resolution timeframe for appeals; and 

1.d. - 3. ... 
4. Failure to Make a Timely Decision 

a. ... 
b. If a determination is not made by the contractual 

time frames, the member’s request will be deemed to have 
been exhausted and the member may initiate a state fair 
hearing. 

5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1590 (June 2011), amended LR 41:940 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 44: 

§3709. Notice of Adverse Benefit Determination 
A. ... 
B. Content of Notice. The notice must explain the 

following:  
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1. the adverse benefit determination the MCO or its 
subcontractor has taken or intends to take; 

2. the reasons for the adverse benefit determination, 
including the right of the member to be provided upon 
request and free of charge, reasonable access to and copies 
of all documents, records, and other information relevant to 
the member’s adverse benefit determination; 

3. ... 
4. the member’s right to request a state fair hearing 

after the MCO’s one-level appeal process has been 
exhausted;  

B.5. - D.3. ... 
E. For service authorization decisions not reached within 

the timeframes specified in this Section, this constitutes a 
denial and is thus an adverse action on the date that the 
timeframes expire. 

1. For expedited service authorization decisions where 
a provider indicates, or the MCO determines, that following 
the standard timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 
member's life, health, or ability to attain, maintain, or regain 
maximum function, the MCO must make an expedited 
authorization decision and provide notice as expeditiously as 
the member’s health condition requires, but no later than 72 
hours after receipt of the request for service. 

2. The MCO may extend the 72-hour time period by 
up to 14 calendar days if the member or provider acting on 
behalf of the member requests an extension, or if the MCO 
justifies (to the department upon request) that there is a need 
for additional information and that the extension is in the 
member's interest. 

F. The department shall conduct random reviews to 
ensure that members are receiving such notices in a timely 
manner. 

F.1. - G. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1591 (June 2011), amended LR 41:940 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 44: 

§3711. Resolution and Notification 
A. The MCO must resolve each grievance and appeal, 

and provide notice as expeditiously as the member’s health 
condition requires, within the timeframes established in this 
Section. The MCO must provide written notice to all 
members who filed a grievance whether the grievance was 
filed with the MCO or the department. 

B. Specific Timeframes 
1. For standard disposition of a grievance and notice 

to the affected parties, the timeframe is established as 30 
days, or the timeframe established by the department, not to 
exceed 90 days, from the day the MCO receives the 
grievance. 

B.2. - D. ... 
E. Format of Notice 

1. The MCO shall follow the method specified by the 
department to notify a member of the disposition of a 
grievance. 

2. For all appeals, the MCO must provide written 
notice of the resolution. 

3. For notice of an expedited resolution, the MCO 
must provide written notice of the resolution and also make 
reasonable efforts to provide oral notice. 

F. - F.2.c. ... 
G. Requirements for State Fair Hearings 

1. ... 
2. If the member has exhausted the MCO’s one-level 

appeal procedures, the member may initiate a state fair 
hearing within 120 days from the date of the MCO’s notice 
of appeal resolution. 

3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:941 (May 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 

§3713. Expedited Resolution of Appeals 
A. ... 
B. If the MCO denies a request for expedited resolution 

of an appeal, it must:  
1. transfer the appeal to the timeframe for standard 

resolution; and 
2. make reasonable efforts to give the member prompt 

oral notice of the denial, and follow up within two calendar 
days with a written notice of the reason for the decision to 
extend the timeframe and inform the member of the right to 
file a grievance if he/she disagrees with the decision. 

C. - E.2. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:941 (May 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing LR 44: 

§3715. Continuation of Services during the Pending 

MCO Appeal or State Fair Hearing 

[Formerly LAC 50:I.3711] 

A. Timely Filingfiling on or before the later of the 
following: 

1. within 10 calendar days of the MCO’s mailing of 
the notice of adverse benefit determination; or  

2. the intended effective date of the MCO’s proposed 
adverse benefit determination. 

B. Continuation of Benefits. The MCO must continue 
the member’s benefits if the: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. member timely files for continuation of benefits. 

C. ... 
1. If, at the member's request, the MCO continues or 

reinstates the member's benefits while the appeal is pending, 
the benefits must be continued until one of following occurs: 

a. the member withdraws the appeal or request for 
state fair hearing; 

b. 10 calendar days pass after the MCO mails the 
notice providing the resolution of the appeal against the 
member, unless the member has requested a state fair 
hearing with continuation of benefits, within the 10-day 
timeframe, until a state fair hearing decision is reached; or 

c. a state fair hearing entity issues a hearing 
decision adverse to the member. 

d. Repealed. 
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D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1591 (June 2011), amended LR 41:942 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
LR 44: 

§3717. Effectuation of Reversed Appeal Resolutions 

[Formerly LAC 50:I.3713] 
A. ... 

1. If the MCO or the state fair hearing entity reverses 
a decision to deny, limit, or delay services that were not 
furnished while the appeal was pending, the MCO must 
authorize or provide the disputed services promptly and as 
expeditiously as the member's health condition requires, but 
no later than 72 hours from the date it receives notice 
reversing the decision. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:1592 (June 2011), amended LR 41:942 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Managed Care for Physical and 

Behavioral HealthMember Grievances and Appeals 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18.  It is anticipated that 
$1,728 ($864 SGF and $864 FED) will be expended in FY 17-
18 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of 
this proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 17-18. It is 
anticipated that $864 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
managed care for physical and behavioral health in order to 
clarify and ensure that the proposed revisions align with the 
Code of Federal Regulations and the Louisiana Administrative 
Code which will: 1) revise timeframes for members to initiate 
state fair hearings and request appeals; 2) revise the timeframe 
for managed care organizations to resolve grievances; 3) update 
definitions to align with federal Rule changes; 4) revise record 
retention requirements; and 5) clarify reporting requirements. It 
is anticipated that these changes will benefit the member by 
allowing them additional time to file for appeal and state fair 
hearing.  There may be an indeterminable cost increase to the 
managed care organizations due to increased records retention 
requirements.  All other changes are technical in nature are not 
anticipated to have costs or benefits to managed care providers 
or members in FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities  
Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.Chapter 90) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:I.Chapter 90 as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
licensing standards for psychiatric residential treatment 
facilities in order to: 1) revise the definition and 
qualifications for mental health specialists; 2) establish 
provisions for inactivation of licensure due to non-declared 
disasters or emergencies; 3) clarify requirements for social 
media use and reporting; and 4) ensure consistency with 
other licensing rules, regulations and processes. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing 
Chapter 90. Psychiatric Residential Treatment 

Facilities (under 21) 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9001. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter 90 is to provide for the 
development, establishment and enforcement of statewide 
standards for the care of residents who are under 21 years of 
age in psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRTFs) 
participating in the Medicaid Program, to ensure 
maintenance of these standards, and to regulate conditions in 
these facilities through a program of licensure which shall 
promote the health, safety and welfare of residents of PRTFs 
participating in the Medicaid Program. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2181-2191 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:54 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:371 (February 2012), LR 44: 

§9003. Definitions 
A. The following defines selected terminology used in 

connection with this Chapter 90. 

* * * 
Cessation of Business—provider is non-operational 

and/or has stopped offering or providing services to the 
community. 

* * * 
Department (LDH)―the Louisiana Department of 

Health. 

* * * 
Documentation—written evidence or proof, including 

signatures of appropriate staff and date, shall be maintained 
on site and available for review. 

DSS―Repealed. 

* * * 

HSS―the Department of Health, Health Standards 
Section. 

* * * 
Mental Health-Related Field―academic training 

programs based on the principles, teachings, research and 
body of scientific knowledge of the core mental health 

disciplines. Programs which qualify include, but are not 
limited to sociology, criminal justice, nursing, marriage and 
family counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychological 
counseling and other professional counseling. For any other 
program to qualify as a related field, there shall be 
substantial evidence that the academic program has a 
curriculum content in which at least 70 percent of the 
required courses for graduation are based on the knowledge 
base of the core mental health disciplines. 

* * * 
Mental Health Specialist (MHS)―a person who delivers 

direct care services under the direct supervision of a LMHP 
or MHP and who meets one of the following criteria, as 
documented by the provider: 

a.  has completed at least two years of education 
from an accredited college or university; or 

b. has a high school diploma or equivalent and has 
completed two years of documented experience providing 
direct care services in a mental health, physical health, social 
services, educational or correctional setting.  

c. - d. Repealed. 

* * * 
Non-Operational—the HCBS provider location is not 

open for business operation on designated days and hours as 
stated on the licensing application and business location 
signage. 

* * * 
OBH—the Department of Health, Office of Behavioral 

Health. 
OCS—Repealed. 
OPH—the Department of Health, Office of Public 

Health. 

* * * 
OYD―Repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:54 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:371 (February 2012), LR 39:2510 (September 
2013), LR 42:277 (February 2016), LR 44: 

Subchapter B. Licensing 
§9007. General Provisions 

A. - G. ... 
H. Plan Review. Construction documents (plans and 

specifications) are required to be submitted and approved by 
both the OSFM and the Department of Health as part of the 
licensing procedure and prior to obtaining a license. 

1. - 1.a. ... 
 i. One set of the final construction documents 
shall be submitted to the OSFM for approval. The Fire 
Marshal’s approval letter and final inspection shall be sent to 
the LDH. 
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 ii. One set of the final construction documents 
shall be submitted to the OSFM for the LDH plan review 
along with the appropriate review fee and a “plan review 
application form” for approval. 

b. - c.i. ... 
 ii. the latest LSUCCC adopted edition of the 
International Building Code; and 
 iii. the current licensing standards for psychiatric 
residential treatment facilities.  
 iv. Repealed. 

d. Construction Document Preparation. 
Construction documents submitted to LDH shall be prepared 
only by a Louisiana licensed architect or licensed engineer 
as governed by the licensing laws of the state for the type of 
work to be performed. These documents shall be of an 
architectural or engineering nature and thoroughly illustrate 
the project that is accurately drawn, dimensioned, and 
contain noted plans, details, schedules and specifications. At 
a minimum the following shall be submitted: 
 i. - vi. ... 

2. Waivers. The secretary of LDH may, within his/her 
sole discretion, grant waivers to building and construction 
guidelines which are not part of, or otherwise required under, 
the provisions of the state sanitary code. The facility shall 
submit a waiver request in writing to HSS. The facility shall 
demonstrate how patient safety and quality of care offered is 
not compromised by the waiver, and must demonstrate the 
undue hardship imposed on the facility if the waiver is not 
granted. The facility shall demonstrate their ability to 
completely fulfill all other requirements of service. The 
department will make a written determination of the 
requests.  

a. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:372 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9009. Initial Licensing Application Process 
A. ... 
B. Licensed DCFS child residential facilities that are 

converting to PRTFs shall comply with all of the initial 
licensure requirements, except plan review, and may be 
eligible for the exception to the bedroom space requirement 
of this Chapter. 

C. An applicant shall submit a completed initial 
licensing application packet to the department, which shall 
include: 

1. ...  
2. a copy of the approval letters of the architectural 

and LDH licensing facility plans for the PRTF from the 
OSFM, and any other office/entity designated by the 
department to review and approve the facility’s architectural 
plans, if the facility shall go through plan review; 

3. - 9. ...  
D. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete when 

submitted, the applicant will be notified of the missing 
information and will have 90 days from receipt of the 
notification to submit the additional requested information. 
If the additional requested information is not submitted to 
the department within 90 days, the application will be 
closed. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who is still interested in becoming a PRTF shall 

submit a new initial licensing packet with a new initial 
licensing fee to start the initial licensing process. 

E. Once the initial licensing application packet has been 
approved by the department, notification of the approval 
shall be forwarded to the applicant. Within 90 days of receipt 
of the approval notification, the applicant shall notify the 
department that the PRTF is ready and is requesting an 
initial licensing survey. If an applicant fails to notify the 
department within 90 days, the initial licensing application 
shall be closed. After an initial licensing application has 
been closed, an applicant who is still interested in becoming 
a PRTF shall submit a new initial licensing packet with a 
new initial licensing fee to start the initial licensing process. 

F. Applicants shall be in compliance with all appropriate 
federal, state, departmental or local statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations and fees before the PRTF will 
be issued an initial license to operate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:373 (February 2012), amended LR 39:2510 (September 2013), 
LR 44: 

§9011. Types of Licenses 
A. The department shall have the authority to issue the 

following types of licenses. 
1. - 2.a. ... 

b. The facility shall submit a plan of correction to 
the department for approval and the provider shall be 
required to correct all such noncompliance or deficiencies 
prior to the expiration of the provisional initial license. 

2.c. - 4.c.ii. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:373 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9013. Deemed Status 
A. A licensed PRTF may request deemed status from the 

department. The department may accept accreditation in lieu 
of a routine on-site licensing survey provided that: 

1. ... 
2. all services provided under the PRTF license shall 

be accredited; and 
A.3. - D. ... 

1. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:374 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9017. Changes in Licensee Information or Personnel 
A. ... 
B. Any change regarding the PRTF’s name, “doing 

business as” name, mailing address, phone number, or any 
combination thereof, shall be reported in writing to the 
department within five days of the change. Any change 
regarding the PRTF name or “doing business as” name 
requires a change to the facility license and the required fee 
for the issuance of an amended license. 

C. - D.3. ... 
E. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 

accompanied by the required fee. 
F. ... 
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1. Written notice of intent to relocate shall be 
submitted to HSS when the plan review request is submitted 
to the department for approval. 

2. Relocation of the facility’s physical address results 
in a new anniversary date and the full licensing fee shall be 
paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:375 (February 2012), amended LR 42:278 (February 2016), LR 
44: 

§9019. Cessation of Business 
A. Except as provided in §9089 of these licensing 

regulations, a license shall be immediately null and void if a 
PRTF becomes non-operational. 

B. - D. ... 
E. Prior to the effective date of the closure or cessation 

of business, the PRTF shall:  
1. - 1.b.  ... 

c. the parent(s) or legal guardian or legal 
representative of each resident; and 

2. provide for an orderly discharge and transition of 
all of the residents in the facility. 

F. In addition to the advance notice of voluntary closure, 
the PRTF shall submit a written plan for the disposition of 
residents’ medical records for approval by the department. 
The plan shall include the following: 

1. ...  
2. provisions that comply with federal and state laws 

on storage, maintenance, access, and confidentiality of the 
closed provider’s residents’ medical records;  

3. an appointed custodian(s) who shall provide the 
following:  

a. access to records and copies of records to the 
resident or authorized representative, upon presentation of 
proper authorization(s); and 

F.3.b. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:375 (February 2012), amended LR 42:278 (February 2016), LR 
44: 

§9021. Renewal of License 
A. To renew a license, a PRTF shall submit a completed 

license renewal application packet to the department at least 
30 days prior to the expiration of the existing current license. 
The license renewal application packet shall include: 

A.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:376 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9025. Notice and Appeal of License Denial, License 

Revocation, and Denial of License Renewal 
A. Notice of a license denial, license revocation or denial 

of license renewal shall be given to the provider in writing. 
B. The PRTF has a right to an informal reconsideration 

of the license denial, license revocation, or denial of license 
renewal. There is no right to an informal reconsideration of a 
voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 
provider. 

1. The PRTF shall request the informal 
reconsideration within 15 calendar days of the receipt of the 
notice of the license denial, license revocation, or denial of 
license renewal. The request for informal reconsideration 
shall be in writing and shall be forwarded to the Health 
Standards Section. 

2. The request for informal reconsideration shall 
include any documentation that demonstrates that the 
determination was made in error. 

3. - 7. ... 
C. The PRTF has a right to an administrative appeal of 

the license denial, license revocation, or denial of license 
renewal. There is no right to an administrative appeal of a 
voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 
provider. 

1. The PRTF shall request the administrative appeal 
within 30 calendar days of the receipt of the notice of the 
results of the informal reconsideration of the license denial, 
license revocation, or denial of license renewal.  

a. The facility may forego its rights to an informal 
reconsideration, and if so, the facility shall request the 
administrative appeal within 30 calendar days of the receipt 
of the notice of the license denial, license revocation, or 
denial of license renewal.  

2. The request for administrative appeal shall be in 
writing and shall be submitted to the DAL or its successor. 
The request shall include any documentation that 
demonstrates that the determination was made in error and 
shall include the basis and specific reasons for the appeal.  

3. If a timely request for an administrative appeal is 
received by the DAL or its successor, the administrative 
appeal of the license revocation or denial of license renewal 
shall be suspensive, and the facility shall be allowed to 
continue to operate and provide services until such time as 
the DAL issues a final administrative decision. 

a. ... 
4. Correction of a violation or a deficiency which is 

the basis for the license denial or revocation shall not be a 
basis for the administrative appeal. 

D. ... 
E. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by the 

facility on a license denial, denial of license renewal, or 
license revocation, the Division of Administrative Law shall 
conduct the hearing pursuant to the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

1. If the final DAL decision is to reverse the license 
denial, the denial of license renewal, or the license 
revocation, the facility’s license will be re-instated or 
granted upon the payment of any licensing fees or other fees 
due to the department and the payment of any outstanding 
sanctions due to the department. 

2. If the final DAL decision is to affirm the denial of 
license renewal or the license revocation, the facility shall 
discharge any and all residents receiving services according 
to the provisions of this Chapter. Within 10 days of the final 
agency decision, the facility shall notify the department’s 
licensing section in writing of the secure and confidential 
location of where the residents’ records will be stored. 

F. - G.2. ... 
3. The provider shall request the informal 

reconsideration in writing, which shall be received by the 
Health Standards Section within five calendar days of receipt 
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of the notice of the results of the follow-up survey from the 
department. 

4. The provider shall request the administrative appeal 
within 15 calendar days of receipt of the notice of the results 
of the follow-up survey from the department. The request for 
administrative appeal shall be in writing and shall be 
submitted to the Division of Administrative Law, or its 
successor. 

H. - I.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:377 (February 2012), amended LR 42:278 (February 2016), LR 
44: 

§9027. Complaint Surveys 
A. - E. ... 
F. LDH surveyors and staff shall be given access to all 

areas of the facility and all relevant files during any 
complaint survey. LDH surveyors and staff shall be allowed 
to interview any provider staff, resident, or participant, as 
necessary or required to conduct the survey. 

G. A PRTF which has been cited with violations or 
deficiencies on a complaint survey has the right to request an 
informal reconsideration of the validity of the violations or 
deficiencies. The written request for an informal 
reconsideration shall be submitted to the department’s 
Health Standards Section. The department shall receive the 
written request within 10 calendar days of the facility’s 
receipt of the notice of the violations or deficiencies. 

H. A complainant shall have the right to request an 
informal reconsideration of the findings of the complaint 
survey or investigation that resulted from his/her complaint. 
The written request for an informal reconsideration shall be 
submitted to the department’s Health Standards Section. The 
department shall receive the written request within 30 
calendar days of the complainant’s receipt of the results of 
the complaint survey or investigation.  

I. - J. ... 
1. - 2. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:378 (February 2012), amended LR 42:279 (February 2016), LR 
44: 

§9029. Statement of Deficiencies 
A. - C.3. ... 

4. Except as provided for complaint surveys pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2009.11 et seq., and as provided in this Chapter 
for license denials, license revocations, and denial of license 
renewals, the decision of the informal reconsideration team 
shall be the final administrative decision regarding the 
deficiencies. There is no administrative appeal right of such 
deficiencies.  

5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:379 (February 2012), amended LR 42:279 (February 2016), LR 
44: 

Subchapter C. Organization and Administration 
§9033. Governing Body  

[Formerly §9029] 
A. The PRTF shall have either an effective governing 

body or individual(s) legally responsible for the conduct of 
the PRTF operations. No contracts/arrangements or other 
agreements may limit or diminish the responsibility of the 
governing body. 

B. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:59 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:380 (February 2012), LR 44: 

§9035. Administrative Policies and Records 

[Formerly §9031] 
A. Every PRTF shall have policies that are clearly 

written and current. All policies shall be available for review 
by all staff and LDH personnel. All policies shall be 
available for review upon request by a resident or a 
resident’s parent or legal guardian. 

B. ... 
C. The PRTF shall have policies governing: 

1. - 6. ... 
7. mandatory reporting of abuse or neglect; 
8. - 11. ... 
12. the photographing and audio or audio-visual 

recording of residents and clarification of the agency’s 
prohibited use of social media to ensure that all staff, either 
contracted or directly employed, receive training relative to 
the restrictive use of social media;  

13. all hazards risk assessment and emergency/disaster 
procedures, including the provision that when the PRTF has 
an interruption in services or a change in the licensed 
location due to an emergency situation, the PRTF shall 
notify the HSS no later than the next stated business day; 

C.14. - D.1.i. ... 
2. Notification of Facility Policy Regarding the Use of 

Restraint and Seclusion. At admission, the facility shall: 
a. ... 
b. communicate its restraint and seclusion policy in 

a language that the resident, or his or her parent(s) or legal 
guardian(s) understands (including American Sign 
Language, if appropriate) and when necessary, the facility 
shall provide interpreters or translators; 

c. obtain an acknowledgment, in writing, from the 
resident, or in the case of a minor, from the parent(s) or legal 
guardian(s) that he or she has been informed of the facility's 
policy on the use of restraint or seclusion during an 
emergency safety situation. Staff shall file this 
acknowledgment in the resident's record; and 

d. ... 
 i. The facility’s policy shall provide contact 
information, including the phone number and mailing 
address, for the appropriate state protection and advocacy 
organization. 

E. - E.1.e. ... 
2. The facility policy shall prohibit: 

a. shaking, striking, spanking or any cruel 
treatment; 
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b. - k. ... 
3. The PRTF shall satisfy all of the requirements 

contained in federal and state laws and regulations regarding 
the use of restraint or seclusion, including application of 
time out. 

F. Resident Abuse or Neglect 
1. The provider shall have comprehensive written 

procedures concerning resident abuse or neglect including: 
1.a. - 2. ... 
3. Staff shall report any case of suspected resident 

abuse or neglect to both HSS and the DCFS, Child Welfare 
Division by no later than close of business the next business 
day after a case of suspected resident abuse or neglect. The 
report shall include: 

a. - e. ... 
4. In the case of a minor, the facility shall notify the 

resident's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) as soon as possible, 
and in no case later than 24 hours after the suspected 
resident abuse or neglect. 

5. Staff shall document in the resident's record that the 
suspected resident abuse or neglect was reported to both 
HSS and the DCFS, Child Welfare Division, including the 
name of the person to whom the incident was reported. A 
copy of the report shall be maintained in the resident's 
record. 

G. The facility shall report each serious occurrence to 
both HSS and, unless prohibited by state law, the DCFS, 
Child Welfare Division. Serious occurrences that shall be 
reported include a resident's death, or a serious injury to a 
resident or a suicide attempt by a resident. 

1. Staff shall report any serious occurrence involving a 
resident to both HSS and the DCFS, Child Welfare Division 
by no later than close of business the next business day after 
a serious occurrence. The report shall include the name of 
the resident involved in the serious occurrence, a description 
of the occurrence, and the name, street address, and 
telephone number of the facility. The facility shall conduct 
an investigation of the serious occurrence to include 
interviews of all staff involved, findings of the investigation, 
and actions taken as a result of the investigation. 

2. In the case of a minor, the facility shall notify the 
resident's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) as soon as possible, 
and in no case later than 24 hours after the serious 
occurrence. 

3. Staff shall document in the resident's record that the 
serious occurrence was reported to both HSS and the DCFS, 
Child Welfare Division, including the name of the person to 
whom the incident was reported. A copy of the report shall 
be maintained in the resident's record, as well as in the 
incident and accident report logs kept by the facility. 

H. - L. ... 
1. The PRTF shall ensure the confidentiality and 

security of resident records, including information in a 
computerized medical record system, in accordance with the 
HIPAA Privacy Regulations and any Louisiana state laws 
and regulations which provide a more stringent standard of 
confidentiality than the HIPAA Privacy Regulations. 
Information from, or copies of records may be released only 
to authorized individuals, and the PRTF shall ensure that 
unauthorized individuals cannot gain access to or alter 
resident records. Original medical records shall not be 
released outside the PRTF unless under court order or 

subpoena or in order to safeguard the record in the event of a 
physical plant emergency or natural disaster. 

L.1.a. - M.3.d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:60 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:380 (February 2012), LR 44: 

Subchapter D. Human Resources 
§9041. Personnel  

[Formerly §9043] 
A. - A.3.b. ... 
B. There shall be a single organized professional staff 

that has the overall responsibility for the quality of all 
clinical care provided to residents, and for the ethical 
conduct and professional practices of its members, as well as 
for accounting to the governing body. The manner in which 
the professional staff is organized shall be consistent with 
the facility’s documented staff organization and policies and 
shall pertain to the setting where the facility is located. The 
organization of the professional staff and its policies shall be 
approved by the facility’s governing body. 

C. The staff of a PRTF shall have the appropriate 
qualifications to provide the services required by its 
residents’ comprehensive plans of care. Each member of the 
direct care staff may not practice beyond the scope of his/her 
license, certification or training. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:63 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:383 (February 2012), LR 44: 

§9043. Personnel Qualifications and Responsibilities 
A. Staffing Definitions. All experience requirements are 

related to paid experience. Volunteer work, college 
work/study or internship related to completion of a degree 
cannot be counted as work experience. If experience is in a 
part-time position, the staff person shall be able to verify the 
amount of time worked each week. Experience obtained 
while working in a position for which the individual is not 
qualified may not be counted as experience. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:384 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9045. Personnel Orientation and Training 
A. - A.1. ... 

2. Orientation includes, but is not limited to: 
a. - b. ... 
c. fire and disaster plans including evacuations; 
d. - f. ... 
g. personnel policy and procedure, including the 

prohibited use of social media. Such training shall, at a 
minimum, include confidentiality of resident information, 
preservation of resident dignity and respect, protection of 
resident privacy and personal and property rights; 

h. detecting and mandatory reporting of resident 
abuse, neglect or misappropriation of resident’s funds; 
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2.i. - 3. ... 
4. Staff training shall include training exercises in 

which staff members successfully demonstrate in practice 
the techniques they have learned for managing emergency 
safety situations. 

5. Staff shall be trained and demonstrate competency 
before participating in an emergency safety intervention. 

6. All training programs and materials used by the 
facility shall be available for review by HSS. 

B. - C. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:384 (February 2012), LR 44: 

§9047. Personnel Requirements 
A. - C. ... 
D. Staffing ratios listed above are a minimum standard. 

The PRTF shall have written policies and procedures that: 
1. - 3.a. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:385 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:329 (February 2017), 
LR 44: 

Subchapter E. Facility Operations 
§9063. Admission, Transfer and Discharge 

Requirements  
A. The written description of admissions policies and 

criteria shall be provided to the department upon request, 
and made available to the resident and his/her legal 
representative. 

B. - D. ...  
E. To be admitted into a PRTF, the individual shall have 

received certification of need from the department or the 
department’s designee that recommends admission into the 
PRTF. The PRTF shall ensure that requirements for 
certification are met prior to treatment commencing. The 
certification shall specify that: 

E.1. - G. ... 
H.  Voluntary Transfer or Discharge. Upon notice by the 

resident or authorized representative that the resident has 
selected another provider or has decided to discontinue 
services, the PRTF shall have the responsibility of planning 
for the resident’s voluntary transfer or discharge. The 
transfer or discharge responsibilities of the PRTF shall 
include: 

1.  holding a transfer or discharge planning conference 
with the resident, family, support coordinator, legal 
representative and advocate, if such are known, in order to 
facilitate a smooth transfer or discharge, unless the resident 
declines such a meeting; 

2. - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:386 (February 2012), LR 44: 

§9065. Health Care and Nursing Services 

[Formerly §9081] 
A. - C.16. ... 

17. Abuses and losses of controlled substances shall be 
reported to the individual responsible for pharmaceutical 
services, the administrator, the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, LDH Controlled Dangerous Substances Program 
and to the Regional Drug Enforcement Administration 
(DEA) office, as appropriate. 

18. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:69 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:386 (February 2012), LR 44: 

§9067. Delivery of Services 

[Formerly §9083] 
A. - B.6. ... 
C. The services provided by the PRTF shall involve 

active treatment. 
1. The team of professionals who shall develop the 

comprehensive plan of care shall be composed of 
physician(s) and other personnel who are employed by, or 
who provide services to the recipient in the facility. The 
team shall be capable of assessing the resident’s immediate 
and long-range therapeutic needs, personal strengths and 
liabilities, potential resources of the resident’s family, 
capable of setting treatment objectives, and prescribing 
therapeutic modalities to achieve the plan's objectives. The 
team shall include, at a minimum, either: 

a. - c. ... 
2. The team shall also include one of the following: 

a. - d. ... 
4. The comprehensive plan of care is a written plan 

developed for each recipient to improve the recipient’s 
condition to the extent that inpatient care is no longer 
necessary. The plan shall: 

a. - c. ... 
5. The plan shall be reviewed as needed, but at a 

minimum of every 30 days by the facility treatment team to 
determine that services being provided are, or were, required 
on an inpatient basis and recommend changes in the plan as 
indicated by the recipient’s overall adjustment as an 
inpatient. 

D. - F. ... 
1. The program shall be appropriate to the needs and 

interests of residents and be directed toward restoring and 
maintaining optimal levels of physical and psychosocial 
functioning. 

D.2. - H.7. ... 
I. Each resident shall have a minimum of one face-to-

face contact with a psychiatrist each month and additional 
contacts for individuals from special risk populations, and as 
clinical needs of the resident dictate. 

J. - J.8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:70 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:388 (February 2012), LR 44: 

Subchapter F. Physical Environment 
§9077. Interior Space 

[Formerly §9063] 
A. - E. ... 

1. Single rooms shall contain at least 80 square feet 
and multi-bed rooms shall contain at least 60 square feet per 
bed, exclusive of fixed cabinets, fixtures, and equipment. 

2. - 12. ... 
13. Each resident shall have his/her own bed. A 

resident’s bed shall be longer than the resident is tall, no less 
than 30 inches wide, of solid construction and shall have a 
clean, comfortable, nontoxic fire retardant mattress. 

E.14. - N. ... 
1. The provider shall take all reasonable precautions 

to ensure that heating elements, including exposed hot water 
pipes, are insulated and installed in a manner that ensures the 
safety of all residents. 

2. ...  
3. All gas heating units and water heaters shall be 

vented adequately to carry the products of combustion to the 
outside atmosphere. Vents shall be constructed and 
maintained to provide a continuous draft to the outside 
atmosphere in accordance with the recommended procedures 
of the American Gas Association Testing Laboratories, Inc.  

4. All heating units shall be provided with a sufficient 
supply of outside air so as to support combustion without 
depletion of the air in the occupied room. 

O. - Q.2. ... 
3. Each room shall be for single occupancy and 

contain at least 60 square feet. It shall be constructed to 
prevent resident hiding, escape, injury or suicide. 

R. - U. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:66 (January 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:391 (February 2012), LR 39:2510 (September 
2013), LR 44: 

Subchapter G. Emergency Preparedness 
§9083. Safety and Emergency Preparedness 

A. The PRTF shall incorporate an all hazards risk 
assessment into the facility’s emergency preparedness plan 
designed to manage the consequences of medical 
emergencies, power failures, fire, natural disasters, declared 
disasters or other emergencies that disrupt the facility's 
ability to provide care and treatment or threatens the lives or 
safety of the residents. The facility shall follow and execute 
its emergency preparedness plan in the event or occurrence 
of a disaster or emergency. 

B. - B.1. ... 
2. The facility's plan shall be submitted to the parish 

or local Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (OHSEP) yearly and upon request of either of 
these offices and verification of this submittal maintained in 
the plan. Any recommendations by the parish or local 

OHSEP regarding the facility’s plan shall be documented 
and addressed by the PRTF. 

B.3. - N. ... 
O. The facility’s plan shall include how the PRTF will 

notify OHSEP and LDH when the decision is made to 
shelter in place and whose responsibility it is to provide this 
notification. 

P. - P.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:394 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9085. Emergency Plan Activation, Review, and 

Summary 
A. ... 
B. PRTFs shall conduct a minimum of 12 fire drills 

annually with at least one every three months on each shift. 
In addition to drills for emergencies due to fire, the facility 
shall conduct at least one drill per year for emergencies due 
to a disaster other than fire, such as storm, flood, and other 
natural disasters. 

B.1. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:395 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9087. Notification of Evacuation, Relocation, or 

Temporary Cessation of Operations 
A. - B. ... 
C. In the event that a PRTF evacuates, temporarily 

relocates or temporarily ceases operations at its licensed 
location as a result of an evacuation order issued by the 
state, local or parish OHSEP, the PRTF shall immediately 
give notice to the Health Standards Section, the Office of 
Behavioral Health (OBH), and OHSEP by facsimile or email 
of the following: 

1. - 2. ... 
D. In the event that a PRTF evacuates, temporarily 

relocates or temporarily ceases operations at its licensed 
location for any reason other than an evacuation order, the 
PRTF shall immediately give notice to the Health Standards 
Section by facsimile or email of the following: 

1. - 2. ... 
E. If there are any deviations or changes made to the 

locations of the residents that were given to the Health 
Standards Section, OBH and OHSEP, then Health Standards, 
OBH, and OHSEP shall be notified of the changes within 48 
hours of their occurrence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:396 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

§9089. Authority to Re-Open After an Evacuation, 

Temporary Relocation or Temporary Cessation 

of Operation 
A. - F.7. ... 
G. Inactivation of Licensure due to a Non-Declared 

Disaster or Emergency 
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1. A PRTF in an area or areas which have been 
affected by a non-declared emergency or disaster may seek 
to inactivate its license, provided that the following 
conditions are met:  

a. the PRTF shall submit written notification to the 
Health Standards Section within 30 days of the date of the 
non-declared emergency or disaster stating that: 
 i. the PRTF has experienced an interruption in 
the provisions of services as a result of events that are due to 
a non-declared emergency or disaster; 
 ii. the PRTF intends to resume operation as a 
PRTF agency in the same service area;  
 iii. the PRTF attests that the emergency or disaster 
is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the provision of 
services; and 
 iv. the PRTF’s initial request to inactivate does not 
exceed one year for the completion of repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement of the facility. 

NOTE: Pursuant to these provisions, an extension of the 30 
day deadline for initiation of request may be granted at the 
discretion of the department. 

b. the PRTF continues to pay all fees and costs due 
and owed to the department including, but not limited to, 
annual licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary 
penalties and/or civil fines; and  

c. the PRTF continues to submit required 
documentation and information to the department, including 
but not limited to cost reports. 

2. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
temporarily inactivate a PRTF license, the department shall 
issue a notice of inactivation of license to the PRTF.  

3. Upon receipt of the department’s approval of 
request to inactivate the agency’s license, the PRTF shall 
have 90 days to submit plans for the repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement of the facility, if applicable, to 
OSFM and OPH as required. 

4. The PRTF shall resume operating as a PRTF in the 
same service area within one year of the approval of 
renovation/construction plans by the OSFM and the OPH as 
required. 

EXCEPTION: If the PRTF requires an extension of this 
timeframe due to circumstances beyond the agency’s control, 
the department will consider an extended time period to 
complete construction or repairs. Such written request for 
extension shall show the agency’s active efforts to complete 
construction or repairs and the reasons for request for 
extension of the agency’s inactive license. Any approval for 
extension is at the sole discretion of the department. 

5. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement of the facility, a PRTF which has received a 
notice of inactivation of its license from the department shall 
be allowed to reinstate its license upon the following 
conditions being met: 

a. the PRTF shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing agency of the 
department; 

b. the license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening and shall 
request scheduling of a licensing or physical environment 
survey, where applicable; and  

c. the license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with appropriate licensing 
fees. 

6. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate a PRTF license, the department may conduct a 

licensing or physical environment survey. The department 
may issue a notice of reinstatement if the agency has met the 
requirements for licensure including the requirements of this 
Subsection. 

7. No change of ownership of the PRTF shall occur 
until such PRTF has completed repairs, renovations, 
rebuilding or replacement construction and has resumed 
operations as a PRTF facility. 

8. The provisions of this Subsection shall not apply to 
a PRTF which has voluntarily surrendered its license and 
ceased operation.  

9. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Subsection shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the 
PRTF license for licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:396 (February 2012), amended LR 44: 

Subchapter H. Additional Requirements for Mental 
Health PRTFs 

§9093. Personnel Qualifications, Responsibilities, and 

Requirements 
A. A mental health PRTF shall have the following 

minimum personnel. 
1. Administrator. The administrator shall have a 

Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in 
a mental health-related field, plus at least five years of 
related experience. The administrator is responsible for the 
on-site, daily implementation and supervision of the overall 
facility's operation commensurate with the authority 
conferred by the governing body. 

1.a. - 2. ... 
a. The clinical director shall be a physician holding 

an unrestricted license to practice medicine in Louisiana and 
who has the following: 
 i. ... 
 ii. if the license(s) is from another jurisdiction, the 
license(s) shall be documented in the employment record 
and shall also be unrestricted; 
 iii. ... 
 iv. satisfactory completion of a specialized 
psychiatric residency training program accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 
(ACGME), as evidenced by a copy of the certificate of 
training or a letter of verification of training from the 
training director, which includes the exact dates of training 
and verification that all ACGME requirements have been 
satisfactorily met. If the training was completed in a 
psychiatric residency program not accredited by the 
ACGME, the physician shall demonstrate that he/she meets 
the most current requirements as set forth in the American 
Board of Psychiatry and Neurology’s board policies, rules 
and regulations regarding information for applicants for 
initial certification in psychiatry. 

2.b. - 7.  ... 
B. If the PRTF is providing both mental health and 

substance abuse treatment, the PRTF shall also meet the 
staffing requirements for the resident’s ASAM level required 
by the department, or the department’s designee, in addition 
to the mental health PRTF requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:397 (February 2012), amended LR 39:2511 (September 2013), 
LR 42:279 (February 2016), LR 44: 

Subchapter I. Additional Requirements for Addictive 
Disorder PRTFs 

§9097. Personnel Qualifications, Responsibilities, and 

Requirements for Addictive Disorder PRTFs  
A. An addictive disorder PRTF shall have the following 

minimum personnel. 
1. Administrator. The administrator shall have a 

bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university in 
a mental health-related field, plus at least five years of 
related experience. The administrator is responsible for the 
on-site, daily implementation and supervision of the overall 
facility's operation commensurate with the authority 
conferred by the governing body. 

a. Grandfathering Provision. For a facility with a 
current substance abuse license from LDH at the time of the 
promulgation of this final Rule, the current administrator 
may remain the administrator of the facility provided the 
following conditions are met. 

1.a.i. - 2. ... 
a. The clinical director shall be a physician holding 

an unrestricted license to practice medicine in Louisiana and 
who has the following: 
 i. ... 
 ii. if the license(s) is from another jurisdiction, the 
license(s) shall be documented in the employment record 
and shall also be unrestricted; and 
 iii. - iii.(b). ... 

(c). an ABMS board-certified physician (non-
psychiatrist) with ASAM certification and consultation with 
an ABPN board-certified psychiatrist. Proof of consultation 
shall be a current contract with a board-certified psychiatrist 
and written documentation of consults in the resident’s 
medical record. 

2.b. - 5.b. ... 
6. Physician. The PRTF, except one that provides a 

social detoxification program only, shall have available a 
physician licensed in the state of Louisiana who shall 
assume 24-hour on-call medical responsibility for non-
emergent physical needs of the facility’s residents; the PRTF 
may have available, in place of the physician, a licensed 
advanced nurse practitioner who has a collaborative 
agreement with a physician or a physician’s assistant who 
has a supervising physician and works under the licensed 
physician. 

A.7. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:399 (February 2012), amended LR 39:2511 (September 2013), 
LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by providing information and clarity of regulations 
for psychiatric residential treatment facilities.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service 
and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service, and will have no impact on the 
provider’s ability to provide the same level of service as 
described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 

Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 
Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Psychiatric Residential Treatment 

Facilities—Licensing Standards 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other 
than the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18. It is anticipated 
that $5,076 (SGF) will be expended in FY 17-18 for the state’s 
administrative expense for the promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not affect federal revenue collections since the 
licensing fees, in the same amounts, will continue to be 
collected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing the 
licensing standards for psychiatric residential treatment 
facilities (PRTFs) in order to: 1) revise the definition and 
qualifications for mental health specialists; 2) establish 
provisions for inactivation of licensure due to non-declared
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disasters or emergencies; 3) clarify requirements for social 
media use and reporting; and 4) ensure consistency with other 
licensing Rules, regulations and processes. This proposed Rule 
does not expand the number of facilities nor the utilization of 
services, but will benefit PRTF providers since it will broaden 
the pool of potential direct care workers within the facilities. It 
is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed Rule 
will have no economic costs or benefits to PRTF providers in 
FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20, since it does not affect how 
PRTFs bill and are reimbursed for services. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Cecile Castello Gregory V. Albrecht 
Section Director Chief Economist 
1711#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Behavioral Health 

Therapeutic Group Homes 
(LAC 50:XXXIII.Chapters 121-127) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health propose to 
amend LAC 50:XXXIII.Chapters 121-127 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
propose to amend the provisions governing therapeutic 
group homes (TGH) in order to: 1) reflect the CSoC 
contractor moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk 
capitated contract; 2) remove the requirement for OBH 
certification of providers; and 3) reflect that TGH are carved 
out of management by the CSoC contractor to align with 
current practice and contract requirements. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXXIII.  Behavioral Health Services 
Subpart 13.  Therapeutic Group Homes 

Chapter 121. General Provisions 
§12101. Introduction 

A. The Medicaid Program hereby adopts provisions to 
provide coverage under the Medicaid state plan for 
behavioral health services rendered to children and youth in 
a therapeutic group home (TGH). These services shall be 
administered under the authority of the Department of 
Health (LDH), in collaboration with managed care 
organizations (MCOs) and the coordinated system of care 
(CSoC) contractor for children and youth enrolled in the 
CSoC program, which shall be responsible for the necessary 
operational and administrative functions to ensure adequate 
service coordination and delivery.  

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:427 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2371 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 123. Services 
§12303. Covered Services 

A. - A.4. ... 
B. Service Exclusions. The following 

services/components shall be excluded from Medicaid 
reimbursement: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. services rendered in an institution for mental 

disease;  
5. - 6. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:428 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2371 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 125. Provider Participation 
§12501. Provider Responsibilities 

A. Each provider of TGH services shall enter into a 
contract with one or more of the MCOs in order to receive 
reimbursement for Medicaid covered services. Providers 
shall meet the provisions of this Rule, the provider manual, 
and the appropriate statutes. 

B. - C. ... 
D. Anyone providing TGH services shall be licensed in 

accordance with state laws and regulations, in addition to 
operating within their scope of practice license.  

E. TGH facilities shall be accredited by an approved 
accrediting body and maintain such accreditation. Denial, 
loss of or any negative change in accreditation status must 
be reported to their contracted MCOs in writing within the 
time limit established by the department. 

F. - G.2. ... 
H. For TGH facilities that provide care for sexually 

deviant behaviors, substance use, or dually diagnosed 
individuals, the facility shall submit documentation to their 
contracted MCOs regarding the appropriateness of the 
research-based, trauma-informed programming and training, 
as well as compliance with ASAM level of care being 
provided. 

I. - J. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:428 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2371 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 
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Chapter 127. Reimbursement 
§12701. General Provisions 

A. The department or its fiscal intermediary shall make 
monthly capitation payments to the MCOs. The capitation 
rates paid to the MCOs shall be actuarially sound rates and 
the MCOs will determine the rates paid to its contracted 
providers. No payment shall be less than the minimum 
Medicaid rate. 

A.1. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:429 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2372 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

§12705. In-State Therapeutic Group Homes 
A. In-state publicly and privately owned and operated 

therapeutic group homes shall be reimbursed according to 
the MCO established rate within their contract.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:429 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR:41:2372 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

§12707. Out-of-State Therapeutic Group Homes 
A. Out-of-state therapeutic group homes shall be 

reimbursed for their services according to the rate 
established by the MCO. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:429 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2372 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service 
and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service. These provisions will have no impact 
on the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service 
as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Therapeutic Group Homes 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 17-18.  It is anticipated that 
$864 ($432 SGF and $432 FED) will be expended in FY 17-18 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect revenue collections other than the federal 
share of the promulgation costs for FY 17-18.  It is anticipated 
that $432 will be collected in FY 17-18 for the federal share of 
the expense for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final 
rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
therapeutic group homes (TGH) in order to: 1) reflect the CSoC 
contractor moving from a non-risk contract to a full-risk 
capitated contract; 2) remove the requirement for OBH 
certification of providers; and 3) reflect that TGH are carved 
out of management by the CSoC contractor as a technical 
change to align with current practice and existing contract 
requirements. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed rule will not have economic cost or benefit to TGH 
providers for FY 17-18, FY 18-19 and FY 19-20. The current 
payments made to the CSoC contractor are the basis of the 
capitated rate development for the full-risk contract.  Shifting



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2391

the payment mechanism is not anticipated to have more than a 
nominal impact on the overall cost of the wavier program, 
given its maturity, since the program itself will remain 
substantially the same. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Gregory V. Albrecht 
Medicaid Director Chief Economist 
1711#066 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Water Works Construction, Operation and Maintenance 
(LAC 51:XII.Chapters 1, 2, and 3) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:4, 40:4.13, and 40:5 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the state health 
officer, acting through the Louisiana Department of Health, 
Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH), intends to amend Part 
XII (Water Supplies) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code 
(LAC 51). When effective, the proposed amendments to Part 
XII will assist LDH-OPH in ensuring the continued 
protection of the health of the public from contaminated 
drinking water through enforceable construction, operation 
and maintenance standards that address the proper design, 
operation and maintenance of public water systems. 

The proposed rulemaking is authorized under Act 292 and 
Act 488 of the Regular Legislative Sessions, 2013 and 2014, 
respectively. These Louisiana standards were developed and 
approved by the Louisiana Standards for Water Works 

Construction, Operation, and Maintenance Committee 
(a.k.a., “water committee”) which was initially created by 
Act 292 of 2013. The Recommended Standards for Water 

Works, 2012 Edition (commonly referred to as the “Ten State 
Standards” and published by the Great Lakes—Upper 
Mississippi River Board of State and Provincial Public 
Health and Environmental Managers) was used as the basis 
of this proposed rule and the text therein was modified by 
the water committee to develop a customized state version 
which, in certain instances, is more applicable to the South’s 
climatic conditions and to Louisiana, in particular. The 
effective date of the final Rule is proposed to be postponed 
until August 1, 2018 for the permitting of new public water 
systems or the modification to existing public water systems. 
The bulk of the proposed Louisiana standards are contained 
in the following listed Subchapters (with the general subject 
matter listed in the same order as in the Ten State Standards). 

 
Chapter 1. General 

  Subchapter A. Submission of Plans §§111-123; 

  Subchapter B. General Design §§125-163; 

  Subchapter C. Source Development §§165-169; 

  Subchapter D. Treatment §§171-191; 

Chapter 2. Public Water System Construction, Operation and 
Maintenance 

 Subchapter A. Chemical Application §§201-209; 

 Subchapter B. Pumping Facilities §§211-223; 

 Subchapter C. Finished Water Storage §§225-231; 

 Subchapter D. Distribution System Piping and Appurtenances 

§§233-255; and 

 Subchapter F. Waste Residuals §§257-275. 

 
For these reasons set forth above, Part XII (Water 

Supplies) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code (LAC 
51:XII) is proposed to be amended as follows. 

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH―SANITARY CODE 

Part XII.  Water Supplies 
Chapter 1. General 
§101. Definitions 

[formerly paragraph 12:001] 
A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 

following words and terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 
Code, and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows. 

* * * 
Average Daily Demand during the Month of Maximum 

Water Use—the largest volume of flow anticipated to occur 
during a calendar month, expressed as a daily average. 

* * * 
Ten State Standards―Repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:258(B), R.S. 36:254 (B)(7), R.S. 40:4.A.(8), R.S. 
40:4.13.D.(1)(2) , R.S. 40:5.A. (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20), and R.S. 
40:1148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1318 (June 
2002), amended LR 28:2513 (December 2002), LR 30:1194 (June 
2004), LR 30:2326 (October 2004), LR 35:484 (March 2009), LR 
35:1240 (July 2009), LR 38:2375 (September 2012), LR 38:2793 
(November 2012), LR 38:3232 (December 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:84 (January 
2017), LR 44: 

§105. Permit Requirements for a Potable Water 

Supply 

[formerly paragraph 12:002-2] 
A. No public water supply shall be constructed, operated 

or modified to the extent that the capacity, hydraulic 
conditions, functioning of treatment processes, or the quality 
of finished water is affected, without, and except in 
accordance with, a permit from the state health officer. 

B. … 
C. Submission of plans for maintenance and replacement 

of existing facilities in-kind shall not be required. 
D. Detailed plans and specifications for the installation 

for which a permit is requested shall be submitted by the 
Engineer of Record or the person having responsible charge 
of a municipally owned public water supply or by the owner 
of a privately owned public water supply. 

E. Effective August 1, 2018, the provisions set forth 
under LAC 51:XII.111-191 and 201-277, together with any 
additional requirements of the state health officer as set forth 
in this Part, shall be used as the basis of the design of any 
new public water system or any proposed new construction 
or modification to an existing public water system. After a 
permit by the state health officer has been issued, such 
system/modification shall be constructed, installed and 
maintained in accordance with said permit. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2392

F. Permits required by this Section and any related 
letters issued by the state health officer or copy of letters 
issued to the state health officer concerning the review of 
related plans and specifications, as well as the related 
approved plans and specifications themselves, shall be 
permanently retained by the owner of the public water 
system including any subsequent or successor owner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and R.S. 40:5.A.(2)(3) 
(5)(6)(7)(17)(19). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1320 (June 
2002), amended LR 38:2376 (September 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§107. Provision for Grandfather Systems 

[formerly paragraph 12-002-3] 
A. Permits issued and approvals of plans and 

specifications granted by the state health officer prior to 
August 1, 2018 shall remain valid as they pertain to the 
design of the public water supply, unless the revision of such 
is determined necessary by the state health officer. 

B. Notwithstanding §107.A of this Part, every public 
water system shall undertake corrective action in accordance 
with §319.B and C of this Part regarding any significant 
deficiencies, as defined in §319.D of this Part, identified on 
a sanitary survey conducted by the state health officer.  

C. The owner shall have the burden of proving that a 
public water system, and any modifications thereto or 
component parts thereof, was permitted by and conforms to 
plans and specifications approved by the state health officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8), 40:4.13D.(1)(2) and R.S. 40:5.A.(2)(3) 
(5)(6)(7)(17)(19). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1320 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter A. Submission of Plans 
§111. General Requirements 

A. All reports, final plans, specifications, and design 
criteria required by §105 of this Part shall be submitted at 
least 60 days prior to the date on which action by the state 
health officer is desired. Environmental assessments, and 
permits for construction, to take water, for waste discharges, 
for stream crossings, etc., may be required from other 
federal, state, or local agencies.  

B. No approval for construction can be issued until final, 
complete, detailed plans and specifications have been 
submitted to the state health officer and found to be 
satisfactory.  

C. Documents submitted for formal approval shall 
include but not be limited to: 

1. engineer’s report, where applicable; 
2. summary of the design criteria; 
3. operation requirements, where applicable; 
4. general layout; 
5. detailed plans; 
6. specifications; 
7. cost estimates; 
8. documentation of adequate source of supply (e.g., 

water purchase contracts between water supplies, and/or 
inter-municipal agreements), where applicable; 

9. evaluation of technical, managerial, and financial 
capacity where applicable: 

a. public water systems are required by the 
Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health 
(LDH-OPH) to demonstrate adequate capacity development 
under LAC 48:V. Subchapter B; 

b. except as may otherwise be required under LAC 
48:V.77.Subchapter B., the evaluation for existing public 
water systems shall include:  
 i. a discussion of the system's current technical 
capacity along with any project related changes with respect 
to operator certification requirements and the operator’s 
ability to implement any system changes that may be 
required upon project completion;  
 ii. a discussion of the system's current overall 
management and how the system's management will be 
impacted by the project including but not limited to whether 
the system has an asset management plan and, if so, how the 
project components will be incorporated into that plan;  
 iii. a discussion of the water system's overall 
financial capacity along with user projected water rates 
including the system's outstanding obligations combined 
with the anticipated debt from the current project under 
review and the overall operation and maintenance. If 
applicable, the financial capacity discussion should include 
details of any energy efficiency components included as part 
of the project along with the estimated long term cost and 
energy savings associated with them; and  
 iv. other additional information as required by the 
state health officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§113. Engineer’s Report 
A. The engineer's report for water supply system 

improvements shall, where applicable, present the following 
information. 

1. General information, including:  
a. description of the existing water works and 

sewerage facilities;  
b. identification of the municipality or area served;  
c. name and mailing address of the owner or official 

custodian; and  
d. imprint of professional engineer's seal or 

conformance with engineering registration requirements of 
the Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board.  

2. Extent of water supply system, including:  
a. description of the nature and extent of the area to 

be served;  
b. provisions for extending the water supply system 

to include additional areas;  
c. appraisal of the future requirements for service, 

including existing and potential industrial, commercial, 
institutional, and other water supply needs.  

3. Justification of the Project. Where two or more 
solutions exist for providing public water system facilities, 
each of which is feasible and practicable, discuss the 
alternatives. Give reasons for selecting the one 
recommended, including financial considerations, 
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operational requirements, operator qualifications, reliability, 
and water quality considerations.  

4.  Soil, groundwater conditions, and foundation 
problems, including a description of:  

a. the character of the soil through which water 
mains are to be laid;  

b. foundation conditions prevailing at sites of 
proposed structures;  

c. the approximate elevation of ground water in 
relation to subsurface structures.  

5. Water use data, including:  
a. a description of the population trends as indicated 

by available records, and the estimated population which 
will be served by the proposed water supply system or 
expanded system 20 years in the future in 5 year intervals or 
over the useful life of critical structures and/or equipment;  

b. present water consumption and the projected 
average and maximum daily demands, including fire flow 
demand (Subchapter C);  

c. present and/or estimated yield of the sources of 
supply;  

d. unusual occurrences;  
e. current percent of unaccounted water for the 

system and the estimated reduction of unaccounted for water 
after project completion if applicable, i.e., project is to 
replace aged water mains, leaking storage, or other 
improvements that will result in reduced water loss.  

6. Flow requirements, including:  
a. hydraulic analyses based on flow demands and 

pressure requirements (see §237.A)  
b. fire flows, when fire protection is provided, 

meeting the recommendations of the Insurance Services 
Office or other similar agency for the service area involved.  

7. Description of the proposed source or sources of 
water supply to be developed, the reasons for their selection, 
and provide information as follows:  

a. Surface water sources, including:  
 i. hydrological data, stream flow and weather 
records;  
 ii. safe yield, including all factors that may affect 
it;  
 iii. maximum flood flow, together with approval 
for safety features of the spillway and dam from the 
appropriate state health officer;  
 iv. description of the watershed, noting any 
existing or potential sources of contamination (such as 
highways, railroads, chemical facilities, land/water use 
activities, etc.) which may affect water quality;  
 v. summarized quality of the raw water with 
special reference to fluctuations in quality, changing 
meteorological conditions, etc.  
 vi. source water protection issues or measures, 
including erosion and siltation control structures that need to 
be considered or implemented.  

b. Groundwater sources, including:  
 i. sites considered;  
 ii. advantages of the site selected;  
 iii. elevations with respect to surroundings;  
 iv. probable character of formations through 
which the source is to be developed;  

 v. geologic conditions affecting the site, such as 
anticipated interference between proposed and existing 
wells; 
 vi. summary of source exploration, test well depth, 
and method of construction; placement of liners or screen; 
test pumping rates and their duration; water levels and 
specific yield; water quality;  
 viii. sources of possible contamination such as 
sewers and sewage treatment/disposal facilities, highways, 
railroads, landfills, outcroppings of consolidated water-
bearing formations, chemical facilities, waste disposal wells, 
agricultural uses, etc.;  
 ix. wellhead protection measures being considered 
(see §169 of this Part).  

8. Proposed treatment processes, including: 
a. a summary establishing the adequacy of proposed 

processes and unit parameters for the treatment of the 
specific water under consideration. Bench scale test, pilot 
studies, or demonstrations may be required to establish 
adequacy for some water quality standards. 

b. Alternative methods of water treatment and 
chemical use should be considered as a means of reducing 
waste handling and disposal problems. 

9. Sewerage System Available. Describe the existing 
sewerage system and sewage treatment works, with special 
reference to their relationship to existing or proposed water 
supply system structures which may affect the operation of 
the water supply system, or which may affect the quality of 
the supply. 

10. Waste disposal, including: 
a. Discuss the various wastes from the water 

treatment plant, their volume, proposed treatment and points 
of discharge.  

b. If discharging to a sanitary sewerage system, 
verify that the system, including any lift stations, is capable 
of handling the flow to the sewage treatment works and that 
the treatment works is capable and will accept the additional 
loading.  

11. Automation, including: 
a. supporting data justifying automatic equipment, 

including the servicing and operator training to be provided.  
b. Manual override must be provided for any 

automatic controls.  
c. Highly sophisticated automation may put proper 

maintenance beyond the capability of the plant operator, 
leading to equipment breakdowns or expensive servicing. 
Adequate funding shall be assured for maintenance of 
automatic equipment.  

12. Project sites, including:  
a. discussion of the various sites considered and 

advantages of the recommended ones;  
b. the proximity of residences, industries, and other 

establishments;  
c. any potential sources of pollution that may 

influence the quality of the supply or interfere with effective 
operation of the water supply system, such as sewage 
absorption systems, septic tanks, privies, cesspools, sink 
holes, sanitary landfills, refuse and garbage dumps, etc.  

13. Financing, including:  
a. estimated cost of integral parts of the system, 

broken down by dollar amount or percentages for source
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development, storage, distribution mains, pumping, 
transmission mains, treatment, and planning (including all 
soft costs); 

b. detailed estimated annual cost of operation;  
c. proposed methods to finance both capital charges 

and operating expenses.  
d. Summarize planning for future needs and 

services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§115. Plans  
A. Plans for water supply system improvements shall, 

where applicable, provide the following:  
1. general layout, including:  

a. suitable title;  
b. name of municipality, or other entity or person 

responsible for the water supply;  
c. area or institution to be served;  
d. scale;  
e. north point;  
f. datum used;  
g. boundaries of the municipality or area to be 

served;  
h. seal, signature and date of the Louisiana licensed 

professional engineer or in conformance with engineering 
registration requirements of the Louisiana Professional 
Engineering and Land Surveying Board;  

i. imprint of professional engineer's seal or in 
conformance with engineering registration requirements of 
the Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board;  

j. legible prints suitable for reproduction;  
k. location and size of existing water mains;  
l. location and nature of existing water supply 

structures and appurtenances affecting the proposed 
improvements, noted on one sheet, if possible;  

2. detailed plans, including:  
a. stream crossings, providing profiles with 

elevations of the stream bed and the normal and extreme 
high and low water levels except where submarine crossings 
are to be installed by means of directional drilling then the 
extreme high water level may be omitted;  

b. profiles having a horizontal scale of not more 
than 100 feet to the inch and a vertical scale of not more than 
10 feet to the inch, with both scales clearly indicated;  

c. location and size of the property to be used for 
the groundwater development with respect to known 
references such as roads, streams, section lines, or streets; 

d. topography and arrangement of present or 
planned wells or structures, with contour intervals not 
greater than two feet;  

e. elevations of the highest known flood level, floor 
of the structure, upper terminal of protective casings and 
outside surrounding grade, using United States Coast and 
Geodetic Survey, United States Geological Survey or 
equivalent elevations where applicable as reference;  

f. plat and profile drawings of well construction, 
showing diameter and depth of drill holes, casing and liner

diameters and depths, grouting depths, elevations and other 
details to describe the proposed well completely. Upon 
completion submit record drawings reflecting geologic 
formations and water levels;  

g. location of all existing and potential sources of 
pollution which may affect the water source or, underground 
treated water storage facilities;  

h. size, length, and materials of proposed water 
mains;  

i. location of existing or proposed streets; water 
sources, ponds, lakes, and drains; storm, sanitary, combined 
and house sewers; septic tanks, disposal fields and 
cesspools;  

j. schematic flow diagrams and hydraulic profiles 
showing the flow through various plant units;  

k. piping in sufficient detail to show flow through 
the plant, including waste lines;  

l. locations of all chemical storage areas, feeding 
equipment and points of chemical application (see 
Subchapter B of Chapter 2 of this Part);  

m. all appurtenances, specific structures, equipment, 
water treatment plant waste disposal units and points of 
discharge having any relationship to the plans for water 
mains and/or water supply structures;  

n. locations of sanitary or other facilities, such as 
lavatories, showers, toilets, and lockers, when applicable or 
required by the state health officer;  

o. locations, dimensions, and elevations of all 
proposed plant facilities;  

p. locations of all sampling taps;  
q. adequate description of any features not 

otherwise covered by the specifications. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§117. Specifications  
A. Complete, detailed technical specifications for those 

applicable sanitary components shall be supplied for the 
proposed project, including:  

1. a program for keeping existing water supply 
facilities in operation during construction of additional 
facilities so as to minimize interruption of service;  

2. laboratory facilities and equipment, including the 
capacity to perform laboratory analyses of required tests;  

3. the number and design of chemical feeding 
equipment (see §201 and §203 of this Part);  

4. procedures for flushing, disinfection and testing, as 
needed, prior to placing the project in service;  

5. materials or proprietary equipment for sanitary or 
other facilities including any necessary backflow or back-
siphonage protection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§119. Design Criteria  
A. A summary of complete design criteria for those 

applicable sanitary components shall be submitted for the 
proposed project. 
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B. The summary shall contain but shall not be limited to 
the following:  

1. long-term dependable yield of the source of supply;  
2. reservoir surface area, volume, and a volume-

versus-depth curve, if applicable;  
3. area of watershed, if applicable;  
4. estimated average and maximum day water 

demands for the design period;  
5. number of proposed services;  
6. fire fighting requirements;  
7. flash mix, flocculation and settling basin capacities;  
8. retention times;  
9. unit loadings;  
10. filter area and the proposed filtration rate;  
11. backwash rate;  
12. chemical feeder capacities and ranges;  
13. minimum and maximum chemical application rates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§121. Revisions to Approved Plans  
A. Any substantial deviations from approved plans or 

specifications must be approved by the state health officer 
before such changes are made.  

B. Substantial deviations include, but are not limited to 
deviations in: 

1. capacity; 
2. hydraulic conditions; and 
3. operating units; the functioning of water treatment 

processes, or the quality of water to be delivered.  
C. Revised plans or specifications should be submitted in 

time to permit the review and approval of such plans or 
specifications before any construction work, which will be 
affected by such changes, is begun. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§123. Additional Information Required  
A. The state health officer may require additional 

information which is not part of the construction drawings, 
such as head loss calculations, proprietary technical data, 
copies of deeds, copies of contracts, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter B. General Design 
§125. Design Basis 

A. The system including the water source and treatment 
facilities shall be designed for average daily flow of the 
maximum month.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§127. Plant Layout 
A. Plant layout, at a minimum, shall consider the 

following: 
1. functional aspects of the plant layout; 
2. provisions for future plant expansion;  
3. provisions for expansion of the plant waste 

treatment and disposal facilities;  
4. access roads;  
5. site grading;  
6. site drainage;  
7. walks;  
8. driveways; and 
9. chemical delivery. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§129. Building Layout 
A. Building layout shall be designed to provide for: 

1. adequate ventilation;  
2. adequate lighting;  
3. adequate heating;  
4. adequate drainage;  
5. dehumidification equipment, if necessary;  
6. accessibility of equipment for operation, servicing, 

and removal;  
7. flexibility of operation;  
8. operator safety;  
9. convenience of operation; and 
10. if rooms are used chemical storage and feed 

equipment in a separate room to reduce hazards and dust 
problems. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§131. Location of Structures 
A. The appropriate regulating authority must be 

consulted regarding any structure which is so located that 
normal or flood stream flows may be impeded.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§133. Electrical and Controls 
A. Electrical equipment, electrical instrumentation and 

controls shall be located above grade, in areas not subject to 
flooding or protected from damage due to water inundation.  

B. The design of all electrical work for new facilities or 
modifications to existing facilities shall conform to the 
applicable requirements of the State Uniform Construction 
Code, LAC 17:I and any other local code(s) which may have 
stricter requirements.  

C. Existing electrical and controls at facilities may 
remain provided they do not create an unsafe condition and 
do not reduce the reliability of the equipment or cause 
failure to system components. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§135. Standby Power 
A. Dedicated standby power shall be provided by any 

community water supply and any non-community water 
supply serving a hospital so that water can be treated and/or 
pumped to the distribution system during power outages to 
meet the average daily demand during the month of 
maximum water use.  

B. Carbon monoxide detectors should be installed where 
fuel-fired generators are housed. 

C. Alternatives to dedicated standby power may be 
considered by the state health officer with proper 
justification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§137. Laboratory Facilities  
A. Each public water system shall have equipment and 

facilities or contracted services for the routine daily 
laboratory testing necessary to ensure the proper operation 
of the water supply system.  

B. Laboratory equipment selection shall be based on: 
1. the characteristics of the raw water source;  
2. the complexity of the treatment process involved;  
3. the contaminants or analytes for which monitoring 

is required or desired; and  
4. the particular laboratory methodology and 

minimum accuracy to be performed for such contaminants 
or analytes.  

C. Laboratory test kits which simplify procedures for 
making one or more tests may be acceptable.  

D. An operator or chemist qualified to perform the 
necessary laboratory tests shall be required.  

E. Other than those analytes allowed to be analyzed in a 
LDH-OPH Approved Chemical Laboratory/Drinking Water 
(see Chapter 15 of this Part), analyses conducted to 
determine compliance with drinking water regulations shall 
be performed in a LDH-OPH certified or a U. S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) certified laboratory 
in accordance with the requirements of this Part.  

F. Persons designing and equipping laboratory facilities 
shall confer with the state health officer before beginning the 
preparation of plans or the purchase of equipment. Methods 
for verifying adequate quality assurances and for routine 
calibration of equipment shall be provided.  

G. Testing Equipment. As a minimum, the following 
laboratory equipment shall be provided.  

1. Surface water systems or groundwater under the 
direct influence of surface water (GWUDISW) systems shall 
have a nephelometric turbidimeter meeting the requirements 
of the approved turbidity methods in Chapter 11 of this Part.  

2. Each surface water treatment plant or GWUDISW 
plant utilizing flocculation and sedimentation, including 
those which lime soften, shall have a pH meter, jar test 
equipment, and titration equipment for both hardness and 
alkalinity.  

3. Each ion-exchange softening plant, and lime 
softening plant treating only groundwater shall have a pH 
meter and titration equipment for both hardness and 
alkalinity.  

4. Each iron and/or manganese removal plant shall 
have test equipment capable of accurately measuring iron to 
a minimum of 0.1 milligrams per liter, and/or test equipment 
capable of accurately measuring manganese to a minimum 
of 0.05 milligrams per liter.  

5. Public water systems which chlorinate shall have 
test equipment for determining both free and total chlorine 
residual by the applicable methods listed in Table 1 of 
§1105.C of this Part.  

6. If a public water system adjusts its fluoride level, 
equipment shall be provided for measuring the quantity of 
fluoride in the water. Such equipment shall be subject to the 
approval of the state health officer.  

7. Public water systems which feed poly and/or 
orthophosphates shall have test equipment capable of 
accurately measuring phosphates from 0.1 to 20 milligrams 
per liter or to 0.1 to 1.2 times the target dose whichever is 
less.  

8. Public water systems that use chlorine dioxide shall 
have test equipment for determining both chlorine dioxide 
and chlorite residual by the applicable methods listed in 
§1301 of this Part.  

9. Surface water systems, GWUDISW systems, and 
any groundwater system required to or choosing to achieve a 
minimum CT value [residual disinfectant concentration 
(“C”) times the contact time (“T”) when the pipe, vessel, 
etc., is in operation] at or before the first customer shall have 
a method of measuring water temperature using a 
thermometer or thermocouple with a minimum accuracy of 
plus or minus 0.5 degrees Celsius (0.5°C).  

H. Physical Facilities. Where laboratory facilities are 
provided each public water system shall provide: 

1. sufficient bench space; 
2. adequate ventilation; 
3. adequate lighting; 
4. storage room; 
5. laboratory sink; and  
6. auxiliary facilities (e.g., restroom facilities 

available on-site of the in-house lab for the operator, analyst, 
or chemist running the lab tests; special fire-proof cabinets 
for storing volatile reagents as may be required by the state 
fire marshal; special ventilation hoods as may be required by 
OSHA over the work area; refrigerator; Bunsen burner, 
stirrers; etc.);  

7. air conditioning may be deemed necessary. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§139. Monitoring Equipment 
A. Water treatment plants shall be provided with 

equipment (including recorders, where applicable) to 
monitor the water as follows.  

1. Plants treating ground water using iron removal 
and/or ion exchange softening shall have the capability to 
monitor and record free chlorine residual.  
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2. Ion exchange plants for nitrate removal shall 
continuously monitor and record the treated water nitrate 
level.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§141. Sample Taps 
A. Sampling facilities shall be provided so that water 

samples can be obtained from each water source and from 
appropriate locations in each unit operation of treatment, and 
from the finished water.  

B. Taps shall be consistent with sampling needs and shall 
not be of the petcock type.  

C. Taps used for obtaining samples for bacteriological 
analysis: 

1. shall be: of the smooth-nosed type without interior 
or exterior threads: 

2. shall not be of the mixing type; and 
3. shall not have a screen, aerator, or other such 

appurtenance. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§143. Facility Water Supply  
A. The water treatment plant’s service connection line 

and the finished water sample tap line shall both be supplied 
from a source of finished water at a point where all 
chemicals have been thoroughly mixed, and the required 
disinfectant contact time has been achieved (see §179.C of 
this Part).  

B. In some cases the take off point of the water treatment 
plant’s own service connection line and the finished water 
sample tap line may be downstream of the plant itself but at 
or before the first customer.  

C. There shall be no cross-connections between the 
water treatment plant’s service connection line or the 
finished water sample tap line and any piping, troughs, 
tanks, or other treatment units containing wastewater, 
treatment chemicals, raw or partially treated water. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§145. Wall Castings 
A. Consideration shall be given to providing extra wall 

castings built into the structure to facilitate future uses 
whenever pipes pass through walls of concrete structures.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§147. Meters  
A. All public water systems shall have an acceptable 

means of measuring the flow from: each source, the 
washwater, the recycled water and any blended water of 
different quality, and the finished water. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§149. Piping Color Code  
A. Except for those systems that comply with Louisiana 

Revised Statute 40:4.12, a water supply system shall utilize 
the color scheme provided in Table 149.B below to facilitate 
the identification of above ground piping in treatment plants 
and pumping stations.  

 

Table 149.B 
Piping Color Code 

Water Lines 

Raw or Recycle Olive Green 

Settled or Clarified Aqua 

Finished or Potable Dark Blue 

Chemical Lines 

Alum or Primary Coagulent Orange 

Ammonia  White 

Carbon Slurry Black 

Caustic Yellow with Green Band 

Chlorine (Gas or Solution) Yellow 

Chlorine Dioxide Yellow with Violet Band 

Fluoride Light Blue with Red Band 

Lime Slurry Light Green 

Ozone  Yellow with Orange Band 

Phosphate Compounds Light Green with Red Band 

Polymers or Coagulant Aids Orange with Green Band 

Potassium Permanganate Violet 

Soda Ash  Light Green with Orange Band 

Sulfuric Acid Yellow with Red Band 

Sulfur Dioxide Light Green with Yellow Band 

Waste Lines 

Backwash Waste Light Brown 

Sludge Dark Brown 

Sewer (Sanitary or Other) Dark Gray 

Other 

Compressed Air Dark Green 

Gas Red 

Reclaimed Water Purple 

Other liquids Light Gray with a label 
 

B. Any nonpotable water lines considered as plumbing 
(e.g., piping and outlets conveying nonpotable water within 
an office building, restroom, or other structure normally 
served by finished, potable water) and located on the water 
supply system’s property is required to be identified in 
accordance with the State Uniform Construction Code, LAC 
17:I.  

C. In lieu of the color coding of pipes as described 
above, all pipes may be painted similar colors as long as 
each and every pipe is banded and labeled at 5 foot intervals 
with the name of the liquid or gas clearly displayed on the 
pipe. Arrows indicating the direction of flow should be 
included in this labeling or utilize other methods approved 
by the state health officer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§151. Disinfection  
A. Water from new systems, or from any new part(s) of 

existing systems shall not be furnished for consumer’s use
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until all wells, pipes, tanks, and equipment which can 
convey or store potable water are disinfected in accordance 
with AWWA procedures as required in §§169, 225, and 245 
of this Part.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§153. Operation and Maintenance Manual  
A. An operation and maintenance manual shall be 

supplied to the water supply system as part of any 
proprietary unit installed in the facility.  

B. The manual shall provide: 
1. a parts list; 
2. a parts order form,  
3. operator safety procedures; and  
4. an operational trouble-shooting section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§155. Operator Instruction  
A. Provisions shall be made for operator instruction at 

the start-up of a plant or pumping station.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§157. Safety  
A. Consideration shall be given to the safety of water 

plant personnel and visitors.  
B. The design shall comply with all applicable safety 

codes and regulations that include, but are not limited to, the 
codes adopted under the authority of Act 12 of the 2005 First 
Extraordinary Session, State Fire Marshal regulations (see 
LAC 55:V), National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 
standards, and state and federal Occupational Health and 
Safety Administration (OSHA) standards.  

C. Items to be considered include, but are not limited to, 
noise arresters, noise protection, confined space entry, 
protective equipment and clothing, gas masks, safety 
showers and eye washes, handrails and guards, warning 
signs, smoke detectors, toxic gas detectors and fire 
extinguishers.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§159. Security  
A. Security measures including but not limited to the 

requirements of §§315.A and 327.A.13 of this Part, shall be 
installed and instituted.  

B. Design measures to help ensure the security of water 
system facilities shall be incorporated and, as a minimum, 
shall include a means to lock all exterior doorways, 
windows, gates and other entrances to source, production, 
treatment, pumping and water storage facilities.  

C. Other measures may include signage, closed circuit 
monitoring, real-time water quality monitoring, and 
intrusion alarms, as well as safety measures to prevent 

tampering with any electronic, computer or other automated 
system which may operate or assist in the operation of the 
water supply system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§161. Flood Protection  
A. Other than surface water intakes, all critical water 

supply facilities shall be protected to at least the 100-year 
flood elevation.  

B. The water supply system shall provide high water 
vehicles, boats, or other acceptable means and methods to be 
able to access, safely operate, and maintain its critical water 
supply facilities during floods or other high water events.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§163. Design; Other Considerations 
A. Consideration shall be given to the design 

requirements of other federal, state, and local regulatory 
agencies for items including, but not limited to:  

1. energy efficiency;  
2. water conservation;  
3. environmental impact; 
4. safety requirements; 
5. special designs for the handicapped;  
6. plumbing and electrical codes; and 
7. construction in the flood plain. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter C. Source Development 
§165. General Requirements 

A. In selecting the source of water supply to be 
developed, the designing engineer shall prove to the 
satisfaction of the state health officer and other applicable 
reviewing authorities that an acceptable source having an 
adequate quantity of water will be available, and that the 
water which is to be delivered to the consumers shall be 
adequately treated, when necessary or required, to meet the 
current requirements of the state health officer with respect 
to microbiological, physical, chemical and radiological 
qualities. 

B. Each water supply system should take its raw water 
from the best available source which is economically 
reasonable and technically possible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§167. Surface Water 
A. A source water protection plan enacted for continued 

protection of the watershed from potential sources of 
contamination shall be provided as determined by the state 
health officer. Surface water includes sources of water 
supply such as, but not limited to: 

1. all streams; 
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2. tributary streams; 
3. drainage basins, 
4. natural and man-made ponds and lakes; and  
5. artificial reservoirs or impoundments. 

B. Surface Water Quantity. The quantity of water at the 
source shall be adequate to meet the maximum projected 
water demand of the service area as shown by calculations 
based on a 1 in 50 year drought or the extreme drought of 
record, and should include consideration of multiple year 
droughts. Requirements for minimum flows downstream of 
the intake shall: 

1. comply with requirements of the appropriate 
reviewing authority/authorities; 

2. provide a reasonable surplus for anticipated growth; 
3. be adequate to compensate for all losses such as 

silting, evaporation, seepage, etc; and 
4. be adequate to provide ample water for other legal 

users of the source. 
C. Surface Water Quality. A study shall be made of the 

factors, both natural and man-made, which may affect water 
quality in the water supply stream, river, lake or reservoir 
and shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. determining possible future uses of impoundments 
or reservoirs; 

2. determining degree of control of watershed by 
owner; 

3. assessing degree of hazard to the supply posed by 
agricultural, domestic, industrial, or recreational activities in 
the watershed, which may generate toxic or harmful 
substances detrimental to treatment processes; 

4. assessing all waste discharges (point source and 
non-point sources) and activities that could impact the water 
supply. The location of each waste discharge shall be shown 
on a scale map; 

5. obtaining samples over a sufficient period of time 
to assess the microbiological, physical, chemical and 
radiological characteristics of the water; 

6. assessing the capability of the proposed treatment 
process to reduce contaminants to applicable standards; and 

7. consideration of currents, wind and ice conditions, 
salt water wedges/intrusion and the effect of confluencing 
streams. 

D. Structures. Structures shall be designed in accordance 
with the following requirements. 

1. The design of intake structures shall provide for: 
a. withdrawal of water from more than one level if 

quality varies with depth, as determined by the state health 
officer; 

b. separate facilities for release of less desirable 
water held in storage; 

c. inspection of manholes every 1000 feet for pipe 
sizes large enough to permit visual inspection; 

d. occasional cleaning of the inlet line; 
e. adequate protection against rupture by dragging 

anchors, ice, etc.; 
f. ports located above the bottom of the stream, 

lake or impoundment, but at sufficient depth to be kept 
submerged at low water levels; 

g. where shore wells are not provided, a diversion 
device capable of keeping large quantities of fish or debris 
from entering an intake structure; and 

h. when buried surface water collectors are used, 
sufficient intake opening area must be provided to minimize 
inlet headloss. Particular attention should be given to the 
selection of backfill material in relation to the collector pipe 
slot size and gradation of the native material over the 
collector system. 

2. Raw water pumping wells shall: 
a. have motors and electrical controls located above 

grade, and protected from flooding as required by the state 
health officer; 

b. be accessible; 
c. be designed against flotation; 
d. be equipped with removable or traveling screens 

before the pump suction well; 
e. provide for introduction of chlorine or other 

chemicals in the raw water transmission main if necessary 
for quality control; 

f. have intake valves and provisions for 
backflushing or cleaning by a mechanical device and testing 
for leaks, where practical; 

g. have provisions for withstanding surges where 
necessary; and 

h. be constructed in a manner to prevent intrusion of 
contaminants. 

3. Off Stream Raw Water Storage Reservoirs. An off-
stream raw water storage reservoir is a facility into which 
water is pumped during periods of good quality and high 
stream flow for future release to treatment facilities. The off-
stream raw water storage reservoirs shall be constructed to 
assure that: 

a. water quality is protected by controlling runoff 
into the reservoir; 

b. dikes are structurally sound and protected against 
wave action and erosion; 

c. intake structures and devices meet requirements 
of §167.D.1; 

d. point of influent flow is separated from the point 
of withdrawal; 

e. separate pipes are provided for influent to and 
effluent from the reservoir; and 

f. a bypass line is provided around the reservoir to 
allow direct pumping to the treatment facilities. 

E. Nuisance Plant or Animal. If it is determined that 
chemical treatment is warranted for the control of nuisance 
plants or animals treatment shall be in accordance with 
Subchapter D of Chapter 1 of this Part and shall be 
acceptable to the state commissioner of agriculture and the 
state health officer. In addition, the following requirements 
shall be met.  

1. Chemical treatment shall be in accordance with the 
manufacturer’s label and application instructions, the 
Louisiana Pesticide Law (R.S. 3:3201, et seq.) and its 
implementing rules and regulations [see LAC Title 7 
(Agriculture and Animals), Part XXIII (Pesticides) 
including, but not limited to, Chapter 31 (Water Protection)], 
LAC Title 51 (Public Health—Sanitary Code) Part XII 
(Water Supplies).  

2. Chemical treatment shall be performed in such a 
manner as to prevent a USEPA (or state-equivalent) 
maximum contaminant level of a primary drinking water 
contaminant to be exceeded in finished drinking water.  
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3. Any analyses of finished drinking water to confirm 
whether or not a USEPA (or state-equivalent) maximum 
contaminant level of a primary drinking water contaminant 
has been exceeded shall only be acceptable if the water 
sample is collected, transported and stored in accordance 
with USEPA-approved methods [see 40 CFR Part 136.3, 
Table II] and then analyzed by a LDH - Certified Chemical 
Laboratory/Drinking Water.  

4. In all cases involving a pesticide application for 
nuisance plant or animal control, when the water being 
treated is a source of water supply, the final determination of 
the safety of finished drinking water shall be made 
exclusively by the state health officer  

a. Facility safety items, including but not limited to 
ventilation, operator protective equipment, 
eyewashes/showers, cross connection control, etc. shall be 
provided; 

b. Solution piping and diffusers shall be installed 
within the intake pipe or in a suitable carrier pipe.  

c. Provisions shall be made to prevent dispersal of 
chemical into the water environment outside the intake. 
Diffusers shall be located and designed to protect all intake 
structure components; 

d. A spare solution line should be installed to 
provide redundancy and to facilitate the use of alternate 
chemicals; 

e. The chemical feeder shall be interlocked with 
plant system controls to shut down automatically when the 
raw water flow stops; 

f. when alternative control methods are proposed 
for nuisance plant and animal control, appropriate piloting or 
demonstration studies, satisfactory to the state health officer, 
may be required. 

F. Impoundments and Reservoirs. Site preparation of 
impoundments and reservoirs shall provide where 
applicable: 

1. removal of brush and trees to high water elevation; 
2. protection from floods during construction; 
3. abandonment of all wells which will be inundated, 

in accordance with requirements of the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, and the state 
health officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§169. Groundwater 
A. A groundwater source includes all water obtained 

from: 
1. dug; 
2. drilled; 
3. bored or driven wells; 
4. springs; and 
5. infiltration lines. 

B. Groundwater quantity shall conform to the following 
standards. 

1. Source capacity. The total developed groundwater 
source capacity, unless otherwise specified by the state 
health officer, shall equal or exceed the design maximum 
day demand with the largest producing well out of service. 

2. Number of Sources. When groundwater is the only 
source of water supply for any community water supply or 
for any non-community water supply serving a hospital, a 
minimum of two approved and active groundwater wells (or, 
if not a second well, connection to another approved water 
supply of sufficient capacity) shall be provided, unless 
otherwise specified by the state health officer.  

a. Each of these two groundwater wells (or, if not a 
second well, connection to another approved water supply of 
sufficient capacity) shall be maintained and regularly 
operated to ensure that each one can immediately supply 
safe drinking water into the system when the other fails. 

b. Consideration should be given to locating 
redundant sources in different aquifers or different locations 
of an aquifer. 

3. Standby power. To ensure continuous service 
provided by any community water supply and any non-
community water supply serving a hospital when the 
primary power has been interrupted, a standby power supply 
shall be provided through a dedicated portable or in-place 
auxiliary power of adequate supply and connectivity. When 
automatic pre-lubrication of pump bearings is necessary, and 
an auxiliary power supply is provided, design shall assure 
that the pre-lubrication is provided when auxiliary power is 
in use. 

C. Groundwater quality shall conform to the following 
standards. 

1. An assessment should be made of the factors, both 
natural and man-made, which may affect water quality in the 
well and aquifer. Such an assessment may include, obtaining 
samples over a sufficient period of time to assess the 
microbiological and physical characteristics of the water 
including dissolved gases, chemical, and radiological 
characteristics. 

2. Unless LDH-OPH’s exclusion criteria are met, a 
ground water under the direct influence of surface water 
(GWUDISW) determination acceptable to the state health 
officer shall be provided for all new wells.  

a. Part of this determination shall include the proper 
submission of one or more 1 micron filters through which at 
least 500 gallons of produced groundwater being tested have 
passed at a regulated flow rate over a period of no more than 
a 24 hours.  

b. Such filters shall be refrigerated, as appropriate, 
and delivered to a laboratory for the identification of insects 
or other macroorganisms, algae, rotifers and large diameter 
pathogens such as Giardia or Cryptosporidium [see USEPA’s 
“Consensus Method for Determining Groundwaters under 
the Direct Influence of Surface Water Using Microscopic 
Particulate Analysis (MPA)”]. 

c. The laboratory utilized shall be recognized by the 
USEPA for such work and it shall identify such 
macroorganisms found on the filter and, in the case of 
Giardia or Cryptosporidium, whether any observed 
specimens were alive or dead.  

d. In addition, the laboratory report shall indicate 
the overall risk as being either a low, medium, or high 
occurrence of such macroorganisms.  

e. This information, in combination, with other 
factors mentioned under the definition of GWUDISW 
contained in Chapter 11 of this Part, shall be used by the 
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state health officer in determining whether or not a new well 
will be deemed as a GWUDISW source. 

3. Microbiological quality. After disinfection of each 
new, modified or reconditioned groundwater source, one or 
more water samples shall be submitted to a LDH-OPH-
certified drinking water laboratory for microbiological 
analysis with satisfactory results reported to the state health 
officer prior to placing the well into service. 

4. Physical, chemical and radiological characteristics. 
Every new, modified or reconditioned groundwater source 
shall be examined for applicable physical, chemical and 
radiological characteristics as required by the state health 
officer by tests of representative samples in a LDH-OPH 
certified drinking water laboratory, with results reported to 
the state health officer. 

a. Samples shall be collected and analyzed at the 
conclusion of the test pumping procedure. 

b. Field determinations of physical and chemical 
constituents or special sampling procedures may be required 
by the state health officer. 

D. Groundwater location shall conform to the following 
requirements. 

1. Well location. The state health officer shall be 
consulted prior to design and construction regarding 
proposed well location as it relates to required separation 
between existing and potential sources of contamination and 
groundwater development. 

a. All ground water sources of water supply shall 
comply with the following requirements. 
 i. The ground surface within a safe horizontal 
distance of the source in all directions shall not be subject to 
flooding (as defined in Footnote 4 of a.ii below) and shall be 
so graded and drained as to facilitate the rapid removal of 
surface water. This horizontal distance shall in no case be 
less than 10 feet for potable water supplies. 
 ii. Every potable water well, and the immediate 
appurtenances thereto that comprise the well, shall be 
located at a safe distance from all possible sources of 
contamination, including but not limited to, privies, 
cesspools, septic tanks, subsurface tile systems, sewers, 
drains, barnyards and pits below the ground surface. The 
horizontal distance from any such possible source of 
pollution shall be as great as possible, but in no case less 
than the following minimum distances, except as otherwise 
approved by the state health officer. 

 

Table 169.D.1.a.ii. 
Sources of Contamination 

Distance in 
Feet 

Septic tanks 50 

Storm or sanitary sewer 501 

Cesspools, outdoor privies, oxidation ponds, 
subsurface absorption fields, pits, mechanical sewage 
treatment plants, etc. 

1002 

Another water-well 253 

Sanitary landfills, feed lots, manure piles, solid waste 
dumps and similar installations 

100 

Drainage canal, ditch or stream 504 

1This distance may be reduced to 30 feet if the sewer is of 
ductile iron with water-tight joints or pressure rated plastic 
pipe. 
2For a private water well this distance may be reduced to 50 
feet. 

3This minimum distance requirement does not take into 
consideration the effects of interference from pumping nearby 
wells in the same aquifer. 
4Horizontally measured from the water's edge to the well at 
the highest water level which may have occurred in a 10-year 
period. 

 iii. No toilet, sewer, soil pipe or drain shall be 
located above or where leakage therefrom can reach any 
water storage basin, reservoir or source of water supply. 
 iv. There shall be no unauthorized pits or unfilled 
spaces below level of ground surface, any part of which is 
within 50 feet of such water supply, except properly 
constructed well, pump, or valve pits as covered under 
§329.A.4 of this Part. 

v. Earth formations above the water-bearing stratum 
shall be of such character and depth as to exclude 
contamination of the source of supply by seepage from the 
surface of the ground. 

b. A well shall be located far enough from a 
building to allow reworking or rehabilitation with a drilling 
rig. A well shall not be located below ground surface, such 
as in pits and basements, and shall not be located within the 
foundation of a building, except a building constructed 
solely to house pumping and water system equipment. 

c. Groundwater development shall be in 
conformance with the applicable standards, laws, and 
regulations of the government agency or agencies having 
jurisdiction. 

2. Continued sanitary protection of the well site from 
potential sources of contamination shall be provided by 
having a minimum 50-foot radius of ownership and a 
minimum 100-foot radius of control from the well head. The 
radius of control required beyond the minimum 50-foot 
radius of ownership shall be provided either through 
ownership, zoning, easements, leasing or other means 
acceptable to the state health officer which shall be 
maintained for the life of the well until the well is ultimately 
properly abandoned. 

3. Wellhead Protection. Wellhead protection 
assessment for continued protection of the wellhead from 
potential sources of contamination shall be provided as 
determined by the state health officer. 

E. General Well Construction. All wells constructed to 
serve a potable water supply shall be constructed in 
accordance with LAC 56, Part I, Water Wells. Drillers of 
wells that serve a potable water supply shall comply with 
these requirements pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes 
38:2226, 38:3098-3098.8. In addition, the following 
requirements shall be met. 

1. Drilling fluids and additives shall: 
a. not impart any toxic substances to the water or 

promote bacterial contamination; and 
b. be acceptable to the state health officer. 

2. Minimum protected depths of drilled wells shall 
provide watertight construction to such depth as may be 
required by the state health officer, to: 

a. exclude contamination; and 
b. seal off formations that are, or may be, 

contaminated or yield undesirable water. 
3. All well and spring basin casings or curbings shall 

extend a safe distance below the ground surface. The
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minimum depth of casings or curbings shall not be less than 
50 feet in the case of public water supplies and not less than 
10 feet in the case of private water supplies. 

4. Polyvinyl Chloride Plastic. The state health officer 
may approve the use of PVC casing for all or for limited 
applications. PVC casing shall not be used at sites where 
permeation by hydrocarbons or degradation may occur. 

5. Other Nonferrous Casing Materials. Approval of 
the use of any nonferrous material as well casing shall be 
subject to special determination by the state health officer 
prior to submission of plans and specifications. Nonferrous 
material proposed as a well casing must be resistant to the 
corrosiveness of the water and to the stresses to which it will 
be subjected during installation, grouting and operation. 

6. Packers. Packers shall be of material that will not 
impart taste, odor, toxic substances or bacterial 
contamination to the well water. Lead packers shall not be 
used. 

7. Screens. Screens shall be provided with a bottom 
plate or washdown bottom fitting of the same material as the 
screen. 

8. Upper terminal well construction shall be in 
accordance with the following requirements.  

a. In wells with pipe casings, the casings shall 
project at least 12 inches above ground level or the top of the 
cover or floor, and the cover or floor shall slope away from 
the well casing or suction pipe in all directions.  
 i. Dug well linings shall extend at least 12 inches 
above the ground surface and cover installed thereon. The 
cover shall be watertight, and its edges shall overlap and 
extend downward at least 2 inches over the walls or curbings 
of such wells.  
 ii. In flood-prone areas the top of the casing shall 
be at least two feet above the 100-year flood elevation, but 
in no case less than two feet above the ground surface. 

b. Where a well house is constructed, the floor 
surface shall be at least six inches above the final ground 
elevation. 

c. Sites subject to flooding shall be provided with 
an earth mound to raise the pumphouse floor to an elevation 
at least two feet above the 100-year flood elevation or other 
suitable protection as determined by the state health officer. 

d. Protection from physical damage shall be 
provided as required by the state health officer. 

e. The upper terminal shall be constructed to 
prevent contamination from entering the well. 

f. Where well appurtenances protrude through the 
upper terminal, the connections to the upper terminus shall 
be mechanical or welded connections that are water tight. 

9. Disinfection of every new, modified or 
reconditioned groundwater source shall: 

a. be provided after completion of work, if a 
substantial period elapses prior to test pumping or placement 
of permanent pumping equipment; 

b. be provided after placement of permanent 
pumping equipment; and 

c. be done in accordance with AWWA C654 or 
method approved by the state health officer. 

10. Well Abandonment. Abandoned water wells and 
well holes shall be plugged in accordance with LAC 56, Part 
I, Water Wells. 

F. Testing and records shall comply with the following 
requirements. 

1. Yield and Drawdown Tests shall:  
a. be conducted in accordance with a protocol pre-

approved by the reviewing authority; 
b. be performed on every production well after 

construction or subsequent treatment and prior to placement 
of the permanent pump; 

c. utilize methods clearly indicated in the project 
specifications; 

d. be performed with a test pump with a capacity at 
least 1.5 times the flow anticipated at maximum anticipated 
drawdown; 

e. shall provide, as a minimum, for continuous 
pumping for at least 24 hours at the design pumping rate or 
until stabilized drawdown has continued for at least six 
hours when test pumped at 1.5 times the design pumping 
rate, or as required by the state health officer; 

f. provide the following data to be submitted to the 
state health officer: 
 i. test pump capacity-head characteristics; 
 ii. static water level; 
 ii. depth of test pump setting; 
 iii. time of starting and ending each test cycle; and 
 iv. the zone of influence for the well or wells; 

g. provide a report which details recordings and 
graphic evaluation of the following at one hour intervals or 
less as may be required by the state health officer: 
 i. pumping rate; 
 ii. pumping water level; 
 iii. drawdown; and 
 iv. water recovery rate and levels; 

h. at the discretion of the state health officer, more 
comprehensive testing may be required.  

2. Plumbness and alignment shall conform to the 
following requirements. 

a. Every well shall be tested for plumbness and 
alignment in accordance with AWWA Standard for Water 
Wells (A100). 

b. The test method and allowable tolerance shall be 
clearly stated in the specifications. 

c. If the well fails to meet these requirements, it 
may be accepted by the engineer if it does not interfere with 
the installation or operation of the pump or uniform 
placement of grout or affect long term integrity. 

3. Geological data shall: 
a. be determined from samples collected at 5-foot 

intervals and at each pronounced change in formation; 
b. be recorded and submitted to the Louisiana 

Department of Natural Resources, Office of Conversation 
(DNR-OC) and the state health officer. 

c. be supplemented with a driller’s log, accurate 
geographical location such as latitude and longitude or GIS 
coordinates, and other information on accurate records of 
drill hole diameters and depths, assembled order of size and 
length of casing, screens and liners, grouting depths, 
formations penetrated, water levels, and location of any blast 
charges. 

4. The owner of each well shall retain all records 
pertaining to each well, until the well has been properly 
abandoned. 
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G. Aquifer Types and Construction Methods. Aquifer 
types and construction methods shall conform to the 
following requirements. 

1. Criteria for sand or gravel wells. 
a. If clay or hard pan is encountered above the 

water bearing formation, the permanent casing and grout 
shall extend through such materials or at least 50 feet below 
the original ground elevation, whichever is lower. 

b. If a sand or gravel aquifer is overlaid only by 
permeable soils the permanent casing and grout shall extend 
to at least 50 feet below original or final ground elevation, 
whichever is lower. Excavation of topsoil around the well 
casing should be avoided. 

c. If a temporary surface casing is used, it shall be 
completely withdrawn. 

d. If a permanent surface casing is used, it shall be 
grouted in place. 

2. The following requirements shall apply to gravel 
pack materials. 

a. Gravel pack materials shall  
 i. be sized based on sieve analysis of the 
formation; and 
 ii. be well-rounded particles, 95 percent siliceous 
material, that are smooth and uniform, free of foreign 
material, properly sized, washed and then disinfected 
immediately prior to or during placement. 

b. Gravel pack installation shall: 
 i. be in one continuous operation. 
 ii. provide the material be placed in a manner that 
prevents segregation and gradation during placement. 

c. The annular space between the well screen and 
the hole shall be adequate to allow proper placement of 
gravel pack. 

d. Gravel refill pipes, when used, shall be Schedule 
40 steel pipe incorporated within the pump foundation and 
terminated with screwed or welded caps at least 12 inches 
above the pump house floor. 

e. Gravel refill pipes located in the grouted annular 
opening shall be surrounded by a minimum of 1 ½ inches of 
grout. 

f. Gravel pack shall extend above the highest well 
screen with an allowance for settling. 

g. Protection from leakage of grout into the gravel 
pack or screen shall be provided. 

h. Permanent inner casing and outer casings shall 
meet requirements of §169.E.4 of this Part. 

3. Radial collectors shall conform to the following: 
a. Locations of all caisson construction joints and 

porthole assemblies shall be indicated. 
b. The caisson wall shall be reinforced to withstand 

the forces to which it will be subjected. 
c. Radial collectors be in areas and at depths 

approved by the state health officer. 
d. Provisions shall be made to assure that radial 

collectors are essentially horizontal. 
e. The top of the caisson shall be covered with a 

watertight floor. 
f. All openings in the floor shall be curbed and 

protected from entrance of foreign material. 
g. The pump discharge piping shall not be placed 

through the caisson walls. In unique situations where this is 
not feasible, a water tight seal must be obtained at the wall. 

4. Infiltration lines should be considered only where 
geological conditions preclude the possibility of developing 
an acceptable drilled well. 

a. The area around infiltration lines shall be under 
the control of the water purveyor for a distance acceptable to 
or required by the state health officer. 

b. Flow in the lines shall be by gravity to the 
collecting well. 

c. Water from infiltration lines shall be considered 
as groundwater under the direct influence of surface water 
unless demonstrated otherwise. 

5. Limestone or sandstone wells, where the depth of 
unconsolidated formations is more than 50 feet, the 
permanent casing shall be firmly seated in uncreviced or 
unbroken rock.  

a. Grouting requirements shall be determined by the 
state health officer. 

b. Where the depth of unconsolidated formations is 
less than 50 feet, the depth of casing and grout shall be at 
least 50 feet or as determined by the state health officer. 

6. Naturally flowing wells shall require special 
consideration by the state health officer where there is an 
absence of an impervious confining layer. 

a. Flow shall be controlled. Overflows shall 
discharge at least 18 inches above grade and flood level, and 
be visible. Discharge shall be to an effective drainage 
structure. 

b. Permanent casing and grout shall be provided. 
c. If erosion of the confining bed appears likely, 

special protective construction may be required by the state 
health officer. 

H. Well Pumps, Discharge Piping and Appurtenances. 
Well pumps, discharge piping and appurtenances shall 
conform to the following requirements. 

1. Line Shaft Pumps. Wells equipped with line shaft 
pumps shall: 

a. have the casing firmly connected to the pump 
structure or have the casing inserted into a recess extending 
at least one-half inch into the pump base; 

b. have the pump foundation and base designed to 
prevent water from coming into contact with the joint; and 

c. avoid the use of oil lubrication at pump settings 
less than 400 feet. Lubricants must meet NSF/ANSI 
Standard 61 or be approved by the state health officer. 

d. All water pumps shall be so constructed and 
installed as to prevent contamination of the water supply. 
 i. Where pumps or pump motors are placed 
directly over the well, the pump or motor shall be supported 
on a base provided therefor. The well casing shall not be 
used to support pump or motor. This requirement shall not 
apply to submersible pumps/motors and single-pipe jet 
pumps/motors. The pump or motor housing shall have a 
solid watertight metal base without openings to form a cover 
for the well, recessed to admit the well casing or pump 
suction. The well casing or pump suction shall project into 
the base at least 1 inch above the bottom thereof, and at least 
1 inch above the level of the foundation on which the pump 
rests. The well casing shall project at least 12 inches above 
ground level or the top of the floor. 
 ii. Where power pumps are not placed directly 
over the well, the well casing shall extend at least 12 inches 
above the floor of the pump house. In flood-prone areas the 
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top of the casing shall extend at least two feet above the 100-
year flood elevation, but in no case less than two feet above 
the ground surface. The annular space between the well 
casing and the suction pipe shall be closed by a sanitary well 
seal to prevent the entrance of contamination. 

2. Submersible Pumps. Where a submersible pump is 
used: 

a. the top of the casing shall be effectively sealed 
against the entrance of water under all conditions of 
vibration or movement of conductors or cables; and 

b. the electrical cable shall be firmly attached to the 
riser pipe at 20 foot intervals or less. 

3. Discharge Piping. The design criteria for discharge 
piping is as follows. 

a. The discharge piping shall: 
 i. be designed to minimize friction loss; 
 ii. have control valves and appurtenances located 
above the pumphouse floor when an above-ground discharge 
is provided; 
 iii. be protected against the entrance of 
contamination; 
 iv. be equipped with a check valve in or at the 
well, a shutoff valve, a pressure gauge, and a means of 
measuring flow; 
 v. be equipped with a smooth nosed sampling tap 
located at a point before any treatment chemicals are 
applied. The sample tap shall be at least 18-inches above the 
floor to facilitate sample collection. 
 vi. where applicable, be equipped with an air 
release-vacuum relief valve located upstream from the check 
valve, with exhaust/relief piping terminating in a down-
turned position at least 18 inches above the floor and 
covered with a 24 mesh corrosion resistant screen; 
 vii. be valved to permit test pumping and control of 
each well; 
 viii. have all exposed piping, valves and 
appurtenances protected against physical damage and 
freezing; 
 ix. be properly anchored to prevent movement, 
and be properly supported to prevent excessive bending 
forces; 
 x. be protected against surge or water hammer; 
 xi. conform to §235 of this Part; and 
 xii. be constructed so that it can be disconnected 
from the well or well pump to allow the well pump to be 
pulled. 

b. The discharge piping should be provided with a 
means of pumping to waste, but shall not be directly 
connected to a sewer. 

c. For submersible, jet and line shaft pumps, the 
discharge, drop or column piping inside the well shall: 
 i. conform to §235 of this Part; where such 
standards exist, or in the absence of such standards, conform 
to applicable product standards and be acceptable to the state 
health officer. Any lubricants, fittings, brackets, tape or other 
appurtenances shall meet NSF/ANSI Standards 60/61, where 
applicable; 
 ii. be capable of supporting the weight of the 
pump, piping, water and appurtenances and of withstanding 
the thrust, torque and other reaction loads created during 
pumping. The actions of fatigue from repeated starting and 

stopping of the pump shall be considered when choosing a 
pipe and fittings; 
 iii. be fitted with guides or spacers to center piping 
and well pump in the casing. 

4. Pitless Well Units. Pitless well units shall conform 
to the following standards and requirements. 

a. The state health officer must be contacted for 
approval of specific applications of pitless units.  

b. Pitless units shall: 
 i. be shop-fabricated from the point of 
connection with the well casing to the unit cap or cover; 
 ii. be threaded or welded to the well casing; 
 iii. be of watertight construction throughout; 
 iv. be of materials and weight at least equivalent 
and compatible to the casing; 
 v. have field connection to the lateral discharge 
from the pitless unit of threaded, flanged or mechanical joint 
connection; and 
 vi. terminate at least 18 inches above final ground 
elevation or three feet above the 100-year flood level or the 
highest known flood elevation, whichever is higher, or as the 
state health officer directs. 

c. The design of the pitless unit shall make 
provision for: 
 i. access to disinfect the well; 
 ii. a properly constructed casing vent meeting the 
requirements of §169.H.6 of this Part; 
 iii. facilities to measure water levels in the well 
(see §169.H.7); 
 iv. a cover at the upper terminal of the well that 
will prevent the entrance of contamination; 
 v. a contamination-proof entrance connection for 
electrical cable; 
 vi. an inside diameter as great as that of the well 
casing, up to and including casing diameters of 12 inches, to 
facilitate work and repair on the well, pump, or well screen; 
and 
 vii. at least one check valve within the well casing 
or in compliance with requirements of the state health 
officer. 

d. If the connection to the casing is by field weld, 
the shop-assembled unit must be designed specifically for 
field welding to the casing. The only field welding permitted 
will be that needed to connect a pitless unit to the casing. 

5. Pitless Adapters. Pitless adapters may be acceptable 
at the discretion of the state health officer. The use of any 
pitless adapter must be pre-approved by the state health 
officer. 

6. Casing Vent. All potable water well casings shall be 
vented to atmosphere as provided below, with the exception 
that no vent will be required when single-pipe jet pumps are 
used. 

a. All potable water well vents shall be so 
constructed and installed as to prevent the entrance of 
contamination.  

b. All vent openings shall be piped water tight to a 
point not less than 24 inches above the 100-year flood 
elevation, but in no case less than 24 inches above the 
ground surface.  
 i. Such vent openings and extensions thereof 
shall be not less than 1/2 inch in diameter, covered with a 24 
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mesh, corrosion resistant screen with extension pipe firmly 
attached thereto. 
 ii. The openings of the vent pipes shall face 
downward and shall be screened to prevent the entrance of 
foreign matter. 

7. Water Level Measurement. Provisions shall be 
made for periodic measurement of water levels in the 
completed well. 

a. Where pneumatic water level measuring 
equipment is used it shall be made: 
 i. using corrosion-resistant materials attached 
firmly to the drop pipe or pump column; and  
 ii. in such a manner as to prevent entrance of 
foreign materials. 

8. Liners may be acceptable at the discretion of the 
state health officer. The use of any liner must be pre-
approved by the state health officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter D. Treatment 
§171. General Requirements 

A. The design of treatment processes and devices shall 
depend on evaluation of the nature and quality of the 
particular water to be treated, seasonal variations, the desired 
quality of the finished water and the mode of operation 
planned. Facilities shall be planned with future requirements 
in mind such as: tightened regulatory requirements, ability to 
obtain funding, potential growth, expansion and 
deterioration of existing facilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§173. Microscreening 
A. Microscreening is a mechanical treatment process 

capable of removing suspended matter and organic loading 
from surface water by straining. It shall not be used in place 
of filtration or coagulation.  

1. Design. Design criteria is as followed. 
a. consideration shall be given to the following:  

 i. nature of the suspended matter to be removed;  
 ii. corrosiveness of the water;  
 iii. effect of chemicals used for pre-treatment;  
 iv. duplication of units for continuous operation 
during equipment maintenance;  
 v. provision of automated backwashing  

b. shall provide: 
 i. a durable, corrosion-resistant screen;  
 ii. provisions to allow for by-pass of the screen;  
 iii. protection against back-siphonage when 
potable water is used for backwashing;  
 iv. proper disposal of backwash waters (See 
Subchapter F, §§257-275 of this Part).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§175. Clarification Design 
A. Clarification is generally considered to consist of any 

process or combination of processes which reduce the 
concentration of suspended matter in drinking water prior to 
filtration. 

B. Plants designed to treat surface water, groundwater 
under the direct influence of a surface water, or for the 
removal of a primary drinking water contaminant shall have 
the ability to meet the plant’s average daily flow of the 
maximum month with one unit out of service. Design of the 
clarification process shall:  

1. be constructed to permit units to be taken out of 
service without disrupting operation, and with drains or 
pumps sized to allow dewatering in a reasonable period of 
time;  

2. provide multiple-stage treatment facilities when 
required by the state health officer; and 

3. minimize hydraulic head losses between units to 
allow future changes in processes without the need for 
repumping. 

C. Presedimentation. Waters containing high turbidity 
may require pretreatment, usually sedimentation, with or 
without the addition of coagulation chemicals.  

1. Basin Design. Presedimentation basins should have 
hopper bottoms or be equipped with continuous mechanical 
sludge removal apparatus, and provide arrangements for 
dewatering.  

2. Inlet. Incoming water shall be dispersed across the 
full width of the line of travel as quickly as possible to 
prevent short-circuiting.  

3. Bypass. Provisions for bypassing presedimentation 
basins shall be included.  

4. Detention Time. Detention shall consider removal 
requirements for the unit. 

D. Coagulation. Coagulation refers to a process using 
coagulant chemicals and mixing by which colloidal and 
suspended material are destabilized and agglomerated into 
settleable or filterable flocs, or both. The engineer shall 
submit the design basis for the velocity gradient (G value) 
selected, considering the chemicals to be added and water 
temperature, color and other related water quality 
parameters. For surface water plants using direct or 
conventional filtration, the use of a primary coagulant is 
required at all times. 

1. Mixing. The detention period should be 
instantaneous, but not longer than thirty seconds with mixing 
equipment capable of imparting a minimum velocity 
gradient (G) of at least 750 feet per second per feet (fps/ft). 
The design engineer should determine the appropriate G 
value and detention time through jar testing.  

2. Equipment. Basins should be equipped with devices 
capable of providing adequate mixing for all treatment flow 
rates. Static mixing may be considered where the flow is 
relatively constant and will be high enough to maintain the 
necessary turbulence for complete chemical reactions.  

3. Location. The coagulation and flocculation basin 
shall be as close together as practical.  
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4. Flow shall be determined at the point of coagulant 
dosing.  

E. Flocculation. Flocculation refers to a process to 
enhance agglomeration or collection of smaller floc particles 
into larger, more easily settleable or filterable particles 
through gentle stirring by hydraulic or mechanical means.  

1. Basin Design. Inlet and outlet design shall 
minimize short-circuiting and destruction of floc. Basins 
shall be designed so that individual basins may be isolated 
without disrupting plant operation. A drain and/or pumps 
shall be provided to handle dewatering and sludge removal. 

2. Detention. Detention shall account for regulatory 
requirements for the plant.  

3. Equipment. Agitators shall be designed to provide 
variable peripheral speed of paddles ranging from 0.5 to 3.0 
feet per second. 

4. Other Designs. Variations or alternate designs can 
be submitted to the state health officer at any time. 

5. Piping. Flocculation and sedimentation basins shall 
be as close together as practical. The velocity of flocculated 
water through pipes or conduits to settling basins shall be no 
less than 0.5 feet per second (fps) and no greater than 1.5 
fps. Allowances must be made to minimize turbulence at 
bends and changes in direction.  

F. Sedimentation. Sedimentation refers to a process that 
allows particles to settle by gravity and typically precedes 
filtration. The detention time for effective clarification is 
dependent upon a number of factors related to basin design 
and the nature of the raw water. The following criteria apply 
to the design of conventional gravity sedimentation units.  

1. A minimum of four hours of settling time shall be 
provided. This may be reduced to two hours for lime-soda 
softening facilities treating only groundwater. Reduced 
detention time may also be approved when equivalent 
effective settling is demonstrated or when the overflow rate 
is not more than 0.5 gallons per minute [gpm] per square 
foot [sqft] (1.2 m/hr).  

2. Inlet Devices. Inlets shall be designed to distribute 
the water equally and at uniform velocities. A baffle should 
be constructed across the basin close to the inlet end and 
should project several feet below the water surface to 
dissipate inlet velocities and provide uniform flows across 
the basin.  

3. If flow is split, a means of measuring the flow to 
each train or unit shall be provided.  

4. Velocity. The velocity through a sedimentation 
basin should not exceed 0.5 feet per minute. The basins shall 
be designed to minimize short-circuiting. Fixed or adjustable 
baffles shall be provided as necessary to achieve the 
maximum potential for clarification.  

5. If flow is split, it is recommended that a means of 
modifying the flow to each train or unit be provided.  

6. Outlet Devices. Outlet weirs or submerged orifices 
shall maintain velocities suitable for settling in the basin and 
minimize short-circuiting. The use of submerged orifices is 
recommended in order to provide a volume above the 
orifices for storage when there are fluctuations in flow. 
Outlet weirs and submerged orifices shall be designed as 
follows.  

a. The rate of flow over the outlet weirs or through 
the submerged orifices shall not exceed 20,000 gallons per 
day per foot (250 m3/day/m) of the outlet launder or orifice 
circumference.  

b. Submerged orifices located greater than three feet 
below the flow line shall be justified. 

c. The entrance velocity through the submerged 
orifices shall not exceed 0.5 feet per second.  

7. Overflow. An overflow weir or pipe designed to 
establish the maximum water level desired on top of the 
filters shall be provided. The overflow shall discharge by 
gravity with a free fall. The discharge shall be equipped with 
monitoring equipment to annunciate the overflow or be 
installed at a location where the discharge can be observed.  

8. Drainage. Sedimentation basins shall be provided 
with a means for dewatering. Basin bottoms shall slope 
toward the drain where mechanical sludge collection 
equipment is not required.  

9. Flushing lines or hydrants shall be provided and 
shall be equipped with backflow prevention devices 
acceptable to the state health officer.  

10. Sludge collection system shall be designed to 
ensure the collection of sludge from throughout the basin.  

11. Sludge removal design shall provide that:  
a. sludge pipes shall be not less than three inches in 

diameter and arranged to facilitate cleaning;  
b. entrance to sludge withdrawal piping shall 

prevent clogging;  
c. valves shall be operable from outside the tank;  
d. the operator can observe and sample sludge being 

withdrawn from the unit.  
G. Solids Contact Unit. Plants designed to treat surface 

water, groundwater under the direct influence of surface 
water or are required to meet primary drinking water 
standards using solids contact shall have a minimum of two 
units. The clarifiers shall be designed for the average daily 
flow of the maximum month such that the plant’s design 
capacity can be met with one unit out of service.  

1. Operating equipment shall include: 
a. adequate piping with suitable sampling taps or 

other means to sample sludge located to permit the 
collection of samples from various depths of the units; and  

b. if flow is split, a means of measuring and 
modifying the flow to each unit. 

2. Consideration shall be given to chemical feed 
location to ensure proper dosing and application.  

3. A rapid mix device or chamber ahead of solids 
contact units may be required by the state health officer to 
assure proper mixing of the chemicals applied. Mixing 
devices within the unit shall be constructed to: 

a. provide good mixing of the raw water with 
previously formed sludge particles; and  

b. prevent deposition of solids in the mixing zone.  
4. Flocculation. Flocculation equipment:  

a. shall be adjustable (speed and/or pitch);  
b. shall provide for coagulation in a separate 

chamber or baffled zone within the unit;  
c. should provide a flocculation and mixing period 

of at least 30 minutes.  
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5. Sludge Concentrators. Large basins should have at 
least two sumps for collecting sludge located in the central 
flocculation zone. 

6. Sludge removal design shall provide that:  
a. sludge pipes are not less than three inches in 

diameter and so arranged as to facilitate cleaning;  
b. entrance to sludge withdrawal piping shall 

prevent clogging;  
c. valves shall be located outside the tank for 

accessibility, and 
d. the operator may observe and sample sludge 

being withdrawn from the unit.  
7. Criteria for backflow protection from cross-

connections shall be as follows.  
a. Blow-off outlets and drains shall terminate in a 

location with an acceptable air gap for backflow protection.  
b. A backflow prevention device shall be included 

on potable water lines used to back flush sludge lines.  
8. Detention Period. The detention time shall be 

established on the basis of the raw water characteristics, 
regulatory requirements and other local conditions that affect 
the operation of the unit. 

9. Water Losses. Units shall be provided with controls 
to allow for adjusting the rate or frequency of sludge 
withdrawal.  

10. Weirs or orifices. The units should be equipped 
with either overflow weirs or orifices constructed so that 
water at the surface of the unit does not travel over 10 feet 
horizontally to the collection trough.  

a. Weirs shall be adjustable, and at least equivalent 
in length to the perimeter of the tank.  

b. Weir loading shall not exceed:  
 i. 10 gpm per foot of weir length (120 L/min/m) 
for clarifiers;  
 ii. 20 gpm per foot of weir length (240 L/min/m) 
for softeners.  

c. Where orifices are used the loading rates per foot 
of launder rates should be equivalent to weir loadings. Either 
shall produce uniform rising rates over the entire area of the 
tank.  

11. Upflow Rates. Unless supporting data is submitted 
to the State Health Officer to justify rates exceeding the 
following, rates shall not exceed:  

a. 1.0 gpm/sqft (2.4 m/hr) at the sludge separation 
line for units used for clarifiers;  

b. 1.75 gpm/sqft (4.2 m/hr) at the slurry separation 
line, for units used for softeners.  

H. Tube or Plate Settlers. Settler units consisting of 
variously shaped tubes or plates which are installed in 
multiple layers and at an angle to the flow may be used for 
sedimentation, following flocculation. Proposals for settler 
unit clarification must demonstrate satisfactory performance 
under on-site pilot plant conditions or documentation of full 
scale plant operation with similar raw water quality 
conditions as allowed by the state health officer prior to the 
preparation of final plans and specifications for approval.  

1. General design criteria for tube or plate settlers is as 
follows.  

a. Inlet and Outlet Considerations. Design to 
maintain velocities suitable for settling in the basin and to 
minimize short-circuiting. Plate units shall be designed to 
minimize maldistribution across the units.  

b. Protection from Freezing. In areas where freezing 
occurs, consideration shall be given regarding sufficient 
freeboard. 

c. Application Rate for Tubes. A maximum rate of 2 
gallon per minute per square foot [gpm/sqft] of cross-
sectional area (4.8 m/hr) for tube settlers, unless higher rates 
are successfully shown through pilot plant or in-plant 
demonstration studies.  

d. Application Rates for Plates. A maximum plate 
loading rate of 0.5 gpm/sqft (1.2 m/hr), based on 80 percent 
of the projected horizontal plate area.  

e. Flushing lines shall be provided to facilitate 
maintenance and must be properly protected against 
backflow or back siphonage.  

f. Drain piping from the settler units shall be sized 
to facilitate a quick flush of the settler units and to prevent 
flooding other portions of the plant.  

g. Placement. Modules shall be placed:  
 i. in zones of stable hydraulic conditions; and 
 ii. in areas nearest effluent launders for basins not 
completely covered by the modules.  

h. Inlets and outlets shall conform to §175.F.2 and 
§175.F.6 of this Part.  

i. The support system shall be able to carry the 
weight of the modules when the basin is drained plus any 
additional weight to support maintenance. 

j. Provisions shall be made to allow the water level 
to be dropped, and a water or air jet system for cleaning the 
modules.  

I. High Rate Clarification Processes. High rate 
clarification processes may be approved upon demonstrating 
satisfactory performance under on-site pilot plant conditions 
or documentation of full scale plant operation with similar 
raw water quality conditions as allowed by the state health 
officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§177. Filtration Design 
A. Rapid Rate Gravity Filters. General design criteria for 

rapid rate gravity filters is as follows.  
1. Pretreatment. The use of rapid rate gravity filters 

shall require pretreatment.  
2. Rate of Filtration. The rate of filtration shall be 

determined through consideration of such factors as raw 
water quality, degree of pretreatment provided, filter media, 
water quality control parameters, and competency of 
operating personnel. Typical filtration rates range from 2 to 4 
gpm/sqft. Maximum filtration rates for plants treating 
surface waters or ground water under the influence of 
surface water shall not exceed 3.0 gpm/sqft. For surface 
water treatment plants with proposed filtration rates above 
3.0 gpm/sqft, data from pilot testing shall be submitted to the 
state health officer for consideration and approval.  

3. Number. Plants employing rapid rate gravity filters 
shall provide at least two filter units. The filters shall be 
capable of meeting the plant design capacity at the plants 
average daily flow of the maximum month with one filter 
unit removed from service. Where declining rate filtration is 
provided, the variable aspect of filtration rates, and the 
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number of filters must be considered when determining the 
design capacity for the filters.  

4. Structural Details and Hydraulics. The filter 
structure shall be designed to provide for:  

a. vertical walls within the filter;  
b. no protrusion of the filter walls into the filter 

media;  
c. head room to permit normal inspection and 

operation;  
d. minimum depth of filter box of 8.5 feet;  
e. minimum water depth over the surface of the 

filter media of three feet;  
f. trapped effluent to prevent backflow of air to the 

bottom of the filters;  
g. prevention of floor drainage in to the filter;  
h. prevention of flooding by providing overflow;  
i. maximum velocity of treated water in pipe and 

conduits to filters of two feet per second;  
j. cleanouts and straight alignment for influent 

pipes or conduits where solids loading is heavy, or following 
lime-soda softening;  

k. washwater drain capacity to carry maximum 
flow; 

l. handrails or walls around filter banks adjacent to 
normal walkways; and 

m. construction to prevent cross connections and 
common walls between potable and non-potable water.  

5. Washwater troughs should be constructed to have:  
a. the bottom elevation above the maximum level of 

expanded media during washing;  
b. a two-inch freeboard at the maximum rate of 

wash;  
c. the top edge level and all at the same elevation;  
d. spacing so that each trough serves the same 

number of square feet of filter area;  
e. maximum horizontal travel of suspended 

particles to reach the trough not to exceed three feet; 
f. means to exclude the loss of media when 

providing for concurrent air/high rate water backwashing; 
and 

g. a two-inch freeboard at the main wash water 
gullet at the maximum rate of wash. 

6. Filter Material. The granular filter media shall be in 
accordance with AWWA B100 and have the following 
characteristics:  

a. a total depth of not less than 24 inches and 
generally not more than 30 inches;  

b. a uniformity coefficient of the smallest material 
not greater than 1.65;  

c. a minimum of 12 inches of media with an 
effective size range no greater than 0.45 mm to 0.55 mm 
unless specified otherwise per the following.  
 i. Anthracite shall have: 

(a). an effective size of 0.45 mm - 0.55 mm with 
uniformity coefficient not greater than 1.65 when used 
alone;  

(b). an effective size of 0.8 mm - 1.2 mm with a 
uniformity coefficient not greater than 1.7 when used as a 
cap; and 

(c). an effective size for anthracite used as a 
single media on potable groundwater for iron and

manganese removal only shall be a maximum of 0.8 mm 
(effective sizes greater than 0.8 mm may be approved based 
upon onsite pilot plant studies or other demonstration 
acceptable to the state health officer).  
 ii. Sand shall have:  

(a). an effective size of 0.45 mm to 0.55 mm; 
and 

(b). a uniformity coefficient of not greater than 
1.65.  
 iii. High density sand shall have: 

(a). an effective size of 0.2 to 0.3 mm;  
(b). a uniformity coefficient of not greater than 

1.65.  
 iv. Granular activated carbon (GAC) shall be in 
accordance with AWWA B604 and the design of shall meet 
the following:  

(a). The media must meet the basic 
specifications for filter media as given in §177.A.6.a through 
§177.A.6.c of this Part.  

(b). There shall be provisions for a free chlorine 
residual and adequate contact time in the water following the 
filters and prior to distribution (See §177.C and §177.D).  

(c). There shall be means for periodic treatment 
of filter material for control of bacterial and other growth.  

(d). Provisions shall be made for frequent 
replacement or regeneration. Regeneration of GAC shall be 
in accordance with AWWA B604.  
 v. Other Media. Other media will be considered 
based on experimental data and operating experience. 

d. Characteristics of support media shall include the 
following. 
 i. Torpedo Sand. A three-inch layer of torpedo 
sand shall be used as a supporting media for filter sand 
where supporting gravel is used, and shall have:  

(a). effective size of 0.8 mm to 2.0 mm; and  
(b). uniformity coefficient not greater than 1.7.  

 ii. Gravel, when used as the supporting media 
shall consist of cleaned and washed, hard, durable, rounded 
silica particles and shall not include flat or elongated 
particles. The coarsest gravel shall be 2.5 inches in size 
when the gravel rests directly on a lateral system, and shall 
extend above the top of the perforated laterals. Not less than 
four layers of gravel shall be provided in accordance with 
the following size and depth distribution. 
 

Table 175.A.6.e 

Size Depth 

3/32 to 3/16 inches 2 to 3 inches 

3/16 to 1/2 inches 2 to 3 inches 

1/2 to 3/4 inches 3 to 5 inches 

3/4 to 1 ½ inches 3 to 5 inches 

1 ½ to 2 ½ inches 5 to 8 inches 

Reduction of gravel depths and other size gradations may be 
considered upon justification to the state health officer.  

 

7. Filter bottoms and strainer systems. Departures 
from these standards may be acceptable for high rate filters 
and for proprietary bottoms. Porous plate bottoms shall not 
be used where iron or manganese may clog them or with 
waters softened by lime. The design of manifold-type 
collection systems shall:  

a. ensure even distribution of washwater and even 
rate of filtration over the entire area of the filter;  
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b. provide the ratio of the area of the final openings 
of the strainer systems to the area of the filter at 0.003;  

c. provide the total cross-sectional area of the 
laterals at twice the total area of the final openings;  

d. provide the cross-sectional area of the manifold 
at 1.5 to 2 times the total area of the laterals;  

e. lateral perforations without strainers shall be 
directed downward.  

8. Filter media wash facilities are required except for 
filters used exclusively for iron, radionuclides, arsenic or 
manganese removal. Wash water systems shall be designed 
with:  

a. water pressure per manufacturer’s requirements; 
b. a properly installed vacuum breaker or other 

approved device to prevent back siphonage if connected to 
the filtered or finished water system;  

c. rate of flow of 2.0 gallons per minute per square 
foot of filter area (4.9 m/hr) with fixed nozzles or 0.5 gallons 
per minute per square foot (1.2 m/hr) with revolving arms if 
provided.  

d. Air scouring. When provided, general design 
criteria for air scouring is as follows. 
 i. Air flow for air scouring the filter shall be 3-5 
standard cubic feet per minute square foot of filter area (0.9-
1.5 m3/min/m2) when the air is introduced in the 
underdrain; a lower air rate shall be used when the air scour 
distribution system is placed above the underdrains.  
 ii. When employing concurrent air scour and 
water back wash a method for avoiding excessive loss of the 
filter media during backwashing shall be provided.  
 iii. Air scouring shall be followed by a fluidization 
wash sufficient to re-stratify the media.  
 iv. Air shall be free from contamination.  
 v. Air scour distribution systems should be placed 
below the media and supporting bed interface; if placed at 
the interface the air scour nozzles shall be designed to 
prevent media from clogging the nozzles or entering the air 
distribution system.  
 vi. Piping for the air distribution system shall not 
be flexible hose which will collapse when not under air 
pressure and shall not be a relatively soft material which 
may erode at the orifice opening with the passage of air at 
high velocity.  
 vii. Air delivery piping shall not pass down 
through the filter media nor shall there be any arrangement 
in the filter design which would allow short circuiting 
between the applied unfiltered water and the filtered water.  
 viii. The backwash water delivery system must be 
capable of 15 gallons per minute per square foot of filter 
surface area (37 m/hr); however, when air scour is provided 
the backwash water rate must be variable and should not 
exceed 8 gallons per minute per square foot (20 m/hr) unless 
operating experience shows that a higher rate is necessary to 
remove scoured particles from filter media surfaces.  
 ix. The filter underdrains shall be designed to 
accommodate air scour piping when the piping is installed in 
the underdrain. 

9. Appurtenances. The following shall be provided for 
every filter:  

a. a means of sampling influent and effluent water 
sampling taps; 

b. a meter indicating the instantaneous effluent rate 
of flow;  

c. where used for surface water, provisions for 
filtering to waste with appropriate measures for cross 
connection control;  

d. a flow rate controller capable of providing 
gradual rate increases when placing the filters back into 
operation; and 

e.  for surface water or systems using ground water 
under the direct influence of surface water with three or 
more filters, on-line turbidimeters shall be installed on the 
effluent line from each filter. All turbidimeters shall 
consistently determine and indicate the turbidity of the water 
in NTUs. Each turbidimeter shall report to a recorder that is 
designed and operated to allow the operator to accurately 
determine the turbidity at least once every 15 minutes. 
Turbidimeters on individual filters should be designed to 
accurately measure low-range turbidities and have an alarm 
that will sound when the effluent level exceeds regulatory 
turbidity limits. It is recommended that turbidimeters be 
placed in a location that also allows measurement of 
turbidity during filter to waste. 

10. Backwash. Provisions shall be made for washing 
filters as follows.  

a. a minimum rate necessary to provide for a 50 
percent expansion of the filter bed shall be provided with a 
minimum of 15 gpm/sqft. A reduced rate of 10 gallons per 
minute per square foot (24 m/hr) may be acceptable for full 
depth anthracite or granular activated carbon filters;  

b. filtered water shall be used for backwashing 
filters; 

c. washwater pumps shall be in duplicate unless an 
alternate means of obtaining washwater is available;  

d. a washwater regulator or valve on the main 
washwater line to obtain the desired rate of filter wash with 
the washwater valves on the individual filters open wide;  

e. a flow meter, preferably with a totalizer, on the 
main washwater line located so that it can be easily read by 
the operator during the washing process;  

f. design to prevent rapid changes in backwash 
water flow;  

g. automated systems shall be adjustable; and 
h. appropriate measures for cross-connection 

control.  
B. Rapid Rate Pressure Filters. The normal use of these 

filters is for iron and manganese removal. For raw water 
with iron concentration of 2 mg/L or greater consideration 
should be given to pretreatment prior to filtration. Pressure 
filters shall not be used in the filtration of surface or other 
polluted waters or following lime-soda softening.  

1. Minimum criteria relative to rate of filtration, 
structural details and hydraulics, filter media, etc., provided 
for rapid rate gravity filters also apply to pressure filters 
where appropriate. At least two filter units shall be provided. 
The filters shall be capable of meeting the average daily 
flow of the maximum month with one filter unit removed 
from service.  

2. Rate of Filtration. The rate shall not exceed six 
gallons per minute per square foot of filter area except where 
manufacturer’s performance studies of the unit have
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demonstrated to the satisfaction of the state health officer 
that higher filtration rates are achievable. Consideration shall 
be given to backwash frequency and deteriorating water 
quality when selecting the filtration rate. 

3. The filters shall be designed to provide for:  
a. loss of head gauges on the inlet and outlet pipes 

of each filter;  
b. an easily readable meter or flow indicator on 

each battery of filters; 
c. filtration and backwashing of each filter 

individually;  
d. minimum side wall shell height of five feet for 

vertical filters. A corresponding reduction in side wall height 
is acceptable where proprietary bottoms permit reduction of 
the gravel depth;  

e. the top of the washwater collectors to be at least 
18 inches above the surface of the media;  

f. the underdrain system to efficiently collect the 
filtered water and to uniformly distribute the backwash 
water at a rate not less than 15 gallons per minute per square 
foot of filter area;  

g. backwash flow indicators and controls that are 
easily readable while operating the control valves;  

h. an air release valve on the highest point of each 
filter;  

i. an accessible manhole of adequate size to 
facilitate inspection and repairs for filters 36 inches or more 
in diameter. Manholes should be at least 24 inches in 
diameter where feasible;  

j. means to observe the wastewater during 
backwashing; and 

k. construction to prevent cross-connection.  
C. Diatomaceous Earth Filtration. The use of these filters 

may be considered for application to surface waters with low 
turbidity and low bacterial contamination.  

1. Conditions of Use. Diatomaceous earth filters are 
expressly excluded from consideration for the following 
conditions:  

a. bacteria removal;  
b. color removal;  
c. turbidity removal where either the gross quantity 

of turbidity is high or the turbidity exhibits poor filterability 
characteristics; and 

d. filtration of waters with high algae counts.  
2. Pilot Plant Study. Installation of a diatomaceous 

earth filtration system shall be preceded by a pilot plant 
study on the water to be treated.  

a. Conditions of the study such as duration, filter 
rates, head loss accumulation, slurry feed rates, turbidity 
removal, bacteria removal, etc., must be approved by the 
state health officer prior to the study.  

b. Satisfactory pilot plant results must be obtained 
prior to preparation of final construction plans and 
specifications.  

c. The pilot plant study must demonstrate the ability 
of the system to meet applicable drinking water standards at 
all times.  

3. Types of Filters. Pressure or vacuum diatomaceous 
earth filtration units will be considered for approval. 
However, the vacuum type is preferred for its ability to 
accommodate a design which permits observation of the

filter surfaces to determine proper cleaning, damage to a 
filter element, and adequate coating over the entire filter 
area.  

4. Treated water storage capacity in excess of normal 
requirements shall be provided to:  

a. allow operation of the filters at a uniform rate 
during all conditions of system demand at or below the 
approved filtration rate, and  

b. guarantee continuity of service during adverse 
raw water conditions without by-passing the system.  

5. Number of Units. At least two units shall be 
provided. Where only two units are provided, each shall be 
capable of meeting the plant design capacity (normally the 
projected maximum daily demand) at the approved filtration 
rate. Where more than two filter units are provided, the 
filters shall be capable of meeting the plant design capacity 
at the approved filtration rate with one filter removed from 
service. 

6. Pre-coating criteria includes the following. 
a. Application. A uniform precoat shall be applied 

hydraulically to each septum by introducing a slurry to the 
tank influent line and employing a filter-to-waste or 
recirculation system.  

b. Quantity. Diatomaceous earth in the amount of 
0.2 pounds per square foot of filter area (0.98 kg/m2) or an 
amount sufficient to apply a 1/8 inch coating should be used 
with recirculation.  

7. A body feed system to apply additional amounts of 
diatomaceous earth slurry during the filter run is required to 
avoid short filter runs or excessive head losses.  

a. Rate of body feed is dependent on raw water 
quality and characteristics and shall be determined in the 
pilot plant study.  

b. Operation and maintenance can be simplified by 
providing accessibility to the feed system and slurry lines.  

c. Continuous mixing of the body feed slurry is 
required.  

8. Filtration criteria includes the following. 
a. Rate of Filtration. The recommended nominal 

rate is 1.0 gallon per minute per square foot of filter area 
(2.4 m/hr) with a recommended maximum of 1.5 gallons per 
minute per square foot (3.7 m/hr). The filtration rate shall be 
controlled by a positive means.  

b. Head Loss. The head loss shall not exceed 30 psi 
(210 kPa) for pressure diatomaceous earth filters, or a 
vacuum of 15 inches of mercury (-51 kPa) for a vacuum 
system.  

c. Recirculation. A recirculation or holding pump 
shall be employed to maintain differential pressure across 
the filter when the unit is not in operation in order to prevent 
the filter cake from dropping off the filter elements. A 
minimum recirculation rate of 0.1 gallon per minute per 
square foot of filter area (0.24 m/hr) shall be provided.  

d. Septum or Filter Element. The filter elements 
shall be structurally capable of withstanding maximum 
pressure and velocity variations during filtration and 
backwash cycles, and shall be spaced such that no less than 
one inch is provided between elements or between any 
element and a wall.  

e. Inlet Design. The filter influent shall be designed 
to prevent scour of the diatomaceous earth from the filter 
element.  
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9. Backwash. A satisfactory method to thoroughly 
remove and dispose of spent filter cake shall be provided 
(see Subchapter F. §§257-275 of this Part).  

10. The following appurtenances shall be provided for 
every filter:  

a. a means of sampling for raw and filtered water;  
b. loss of head or differential pressure gauge;  
c. rate-of-flow indicator, preferably with totalizer;  
d. a throttling valve used to reduce rates below 

normal during adverse raw water conditions;  
e. evaluation of the need for body feed, 

recirculation, and any other pumps, in accordance with §217 
of this Part; and 

f. provisions for filtering to waste with appropriate 
measures for backflow prevention.  

D. Slow Sand Filters. The use of these filters shall 
require prior engineering studies to demonstrate the 
adequacy and suitability of this method of filtration for the 
specific raw water supply.  

1. Quality of Raw Water. Slow rate gravity filtration 
shall be limited to waters having maximum turbidities of 10 
units and maximum color of 15 units; such turbidity shall 
not be attributable to colloidal clay. Microscopic 
examination of the raw water shall be made to determine the 
nature and extent of algae growths and their potential 
adverse impact on filter operations.  

2. Number. At least two units shall be provided. 
Where only two units are provided, each shall be capable of 
meeting the plant design capacity (normally the projected 
maximum daily demand) at the approved filtration rate. 
Where more than two filter units are provided, the filters 
shall be capable of meeting the plant design capacity at the 
approved filtration rate with one filter removed from service.  

3. Structural Details and Hydraulics. Slow rate gravity 
filters shall be so designed as to provide:  

a. headroom to permit normal movement by 
operating personnel for scraping and sand removal 
operations;  

b. adequate access hatches and access ports for 
handling of sand and for ventilation; and  

c. an overflow at the maximum filter water level.  
4. Rates of Filtration. The permissible rates of 

filtration shall be determined by the quality of the raw water 
and shall be on the basis of experimental data derived from 
the water to be treated. The nominal rate may be 45 to 150 
gallons per day per square foot of sand area (1.8 - 6.1 
m/day), with somewhat higher rates acceptable when 
demonstrated to the satisfaction of the approving authority.  

5. Underdrains. Each filter unit shall be equipped with 
a main drain and an adequate number of lateral underdrains 
to collect the filtered water. The underdrains shall be placed 
as close to the floor as possible and spaced so that the 
maximum velocity of the water flow in the underdrain will 
not exceed 0.75 feet per second. The maximum spacing of 
laterals shall not exceed 3 feet if pipe laterals are used.  

6. Filter material criteria shall be as follows. 
a. Filter sand shall be placed on graded gravel 

layers for a minimum depth of 30 inches.  
b. The effective size shall be between 0.15 mm and 

0.30 mm. Larger sizes may be considered by the state health 
officer.  

c. The uniformity coefficient shall not exceed 2.5.  
d. The sand shall be cleaned and washed free from 

foreign matter.  
e. The sand shall be rebedded when scraping has 

reduced the bed depth to no less than 19 inches. Where sand 
is to be reused in order to provide biological seeding and 
shortening of the ripening process, rebedding shall utilize a 
“throw over” technique whereby new sand is placed on the 
support gravel and existing sand is replaced on top of the 
new sand.  

7. Filter Gravel. The supporting gravel should be 
similar to the size and depth distribution provided for rapid 
rate gravity filters (see §177.A.6.d.ii of this Part).  

8. Depth of Water on Filter Beds. Design shall provide 
a depth of at least three to six feet of water over the sand. 
Influent water shall not scour the sand surface.  

9. Control Appurtenances. Each filter shall be 
equipped with:  

a. means of sampling influent and effluent water;  
b. an indicating loss of head gauge or other means 

to measure head loss;  
c. an indicating rate-of-flow meter. A means of 

controlling the rate of filtration and limiting the rate of 
filtration to a maximum rate shall be provided;  

d. provisions for filtering to waste with appropriate 
measures for cross connection control; and 

e. an effluent pipe designed to maintain the water 
level above the top of the filter sand.  

10. [Ripening] Slow sand filters shall be operated to 
waste after scraping or rebedding during a ripening period 
until the filter effluent turbidity falls to consistently below 
the regulated drinking water standard established for the 
system.  

E. Direct Filtration. Direct filtration, as used herein, 
refers to the filtration of a surface water following chemical 
coagulation and possibly flocculation but without prior 
settling. The nature of the treatment process will depend 
upon the raw water quality. A full scale direct filtration plant 
shall not be constructed without prior pilot studies which are 
acceptable to the state health officer. In-plant demonstration 
studies may be appropriate where conventional treatment 
plants are converted to direct filtration. Where direct 
filtration is proposed, an engineering report shall be 
submitted prior to conducting pilot plant or in-plant 
demonstration studies.  

1. Engineering Report  
a. In addition to the items considered in §113 of this 

Part, "Engineering Report", the report shall include a 
historical summary of meteorological conditions and of raw 
water quality with special reference to fluctuations in 
quality, and possible sources of contamination. The 
following raw water parameters shall be evaluated in the 
report:  
 i. color;  
 ii. turbidity;  
 iii. bacterial concentration;  
 iv. microscopic biological organisms;  
 v. temperature;  
 vi. total solids;  
 vii. general inorganic chemical characteristics; and 
 viii. additional parameters as required by the state 
health officer.  
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b. The report shall also include a description of 
methods and work to be done during a pilot plant study or, 
where appropriate, an in-plant demonstration study.  

2. Pilot Plant Studies. After approval of the 
engineering report and pilot plant protocol, a pilot study or 
in-plant demonstration study shall be conducted. The study 
must be conducted over a sufficient time to treat all expected 
raw water conditions throughout the year. The pilot plant 
filter must be of a similar type and operated in the same 
manner as proposed for full scale operation. The pilot study 
must determine the contact time necessary for optimum 
filtration for each coagulant proposed. The study shall 
emphasize but not be limited to, the following items:  

a. chemical mixing conditions including shear 
gradients and detention periods;  

b. chemical feed rates;  
c. use of various coagulants and coagulant aids;  
d. flocculation conditions;  
e. filtration rates;  
f. filter gradation, types of media and depth of 

media;  
g. filter breakthrough conditions;  
h. adverse impact of recycling backwash water due 

to solids, algae, trihalomethane formation and similar 
problems;  

i. length of filter runs;  
j. length of backwash cycles;  
k. quantities and make-up of the wastewater.  

Prior to the initiation of design plans and specifications, a 

final report including the engineer's design recommendations 

shall be submitted to the state health officer.  
3. Pretreatment. The final coagulation and flocculation 

basin design should be based on the pilot plant or in-plant 
demonstration studies augmented with applicable portions of 
§175.D, "Coagulation" and §175.E, "Flocculation" of this 
Part.  

4. Filtration. Filters shall be rapid rate gravity filters 
with dual or mixed media. The final filter design shall be 
based on the pilot plant or in-plant demonstration studies and 
all portions of§177.A "Rapid rate gravity filters" of this Part. 
Pressure filters or single media sand filters shall not be used.  

5. Appurtenances. The following shall be provided for 
every filter:  

a. influent and effluent sampling taps;  
b. an indicating loss of head gauge;  
c. a meter indicating instantaneous rate of flow;  
d. where used for surface water, provisions for 

filtering to waste with appropriate measures for cross 
connection control;  

e. measures for providing gradual rate increases 
when placing the filters back into operation; and  

f. for systems with three or more filters, on-line 
turbidimeters shall be installed on the effluent line from each 
filter. All turbidimeters shall consistently determine and 
indicate the turbidity of the water in NTUs. Each 
turbidimeter shall report to a recorder that is designed and 
operated to allow the operator to accurately determine the 
turbidity at least once every 15 minutes. Turbidimeters on 
individual filters should be designed to accurately measure 
low-range turbidities and have an alarm that will sound 
when the effluent level exceeds 0.3 NTU. 

F. Deep Bed Rapid Rate Gravity Filters. Deep bed rapid 
rate gravity filters, as used herein, generally refers to rapid 
rate gravity filters with filter material depths equal to or 
greater than 48 inches. Filter media sizes are typically larger 
than those listed in §177.A.6.d of this Part.  

1. Deep bed rapid rate filters may be considered based 
on pilot studies pre-approved by the state health officer.  

2. The final filter design shall be based on the pilot 
plant studies and shall comply with all applicable portions of 
§177.A. of this Part. Careful attention shall be paid to the 
design of the backwash system which usually includes 
simultaneous air scour and water backwash at 
subfluidization velocities.  

G. Biologically Active Filters. Biologically active 
filtration, as used herein, refers to the filtration of surface 
water (or a ground water with iron, manganese, ammonia or 
significant natural organic material) which includes the 
establishment and maintenance of biological activity within 
the filter media.  

1. Objectives of biologically active filtration may 
include control of disinfection byproduct precursors, 
increased disinfectant stability, reduction of substrates for 
microbial regrowth, breakdown of small quantities of 
synthetic organic chemicals, reduction of ammonia-nitrogen, 
and oxidation of iron and manganese. Biological activity can 
have an adverse impact on turbidity, particle and microbial 
pathogen removal, disinfection practices; head loss 
development; filter run times and distribution system 
corrosion. Design and operation should ensure that aerobic 
conditions are maintained at all times. Biologically active 
filtration often includes the use of ozone as a pre-
oxidant/disinfectant which breaks down natural organic 
materials into biodegradable organic matter and granular 
activated carbon filter media which may promote denser 
biofilms.  

2. Biologically active filters may be considered based 
on pilot studies pre-approved by the state health officer. The 
study objectives must be clearly defined and must ensure the 
microbial quality of the filtered water under all anticipated 
conditions of operation.  

a. The pilot study shall be of sufficient duration to 
ensure establishment of full biological activity. The pilot 
study shall establish empty bed contact time, biomass 
loading, and/or other parameters necessary for successful 
operation as required by the state health officer.  

3. The final filter design shall be based on the pilot 
plant studies and shall comply with all applicable portions of 
§177.A. of this Part.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§179. Disinfection 
A. Disinfection may be accomplished with gas and liquid 

chlorine, calcium or sodium hypochlorites, chlorine dioxide, 
chloramines, ozone, or ultraviolet light. Other disinfecting 
agents will be considered, providing reliable application 
equipment is available and testing procedures for a residual 
are recognized in "Standard Methods for the Examination of 
Water and Wastewater,". Disinfection is required for all 
water systems in accordance with §355 and §357 of this 
Part.  
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B. Chlorination. Design criteria for chlorination shall be 
as follows. 

1. Chlorination Equipment Type. Solution-feed gas 
chlorinators or hypochlorite feeders of the positive 
displacement type shall be provided. (see §§201-209 
“Chemical Application” of this Part).  

2. Capacity. The chlorinator capacity shall be 
sufficient to comply with minimum chlorine residuals 
required in §355 and §357 of this Part. The equipment shall 
be of such design that it will operate accurately over the 
desired feeding range.  

3. Standby Equipment. Standby equipment shall be 
available to replace/repair a critical unit unless an alternative 
is approved by the state health officer. Spare parts shall be 
readily available to replace parts subject to wear and 
breakage. If there is a large difference in feed rates between 
routine and emergency dosages, a gas metering tube should 
be provided for each dose range to ensure accurate control of 
the chlorine feed.  

4. Automatic Switch-Over. Automatic switch-over of 
chlorine cylinders shall be provided to assure continuous 
disinfection.  

5. Eductor. Each eductor shall be selected for the point 
of application with particular attention given to the quantity 
of chlorine to be added, the maximum injector water flow, 
the total discharge back pressure, the injector operating 
pressure, and the size of the chlorine solution line. Gauges 
for measuring water pressure and vacuum at the inlet and 
outlet of each eductor should be provided.  

6. Injector/Diffuser. The chlorine solution 
injector/diffuser shall be compatible with the point of 
application to provide a rapid and thorough mix with all the 
water being treated. 

C. Criteria for Contact Time and Point of Application 
1. Due consideration shall be given to the contact time 

of the disinfectant in water with relation to pH, ammonia, 
taste-producing substances, temperature, bacterial quality, 
disinfection byproduct formation potential and other 
applicable factors. The disinfectant should be applied at a 
point which will provide adequate contact time (CT). All 
basins used for disinfection shall be designed to minimize 
short circuiting.  

2. For treating surface waters and groundwaters under 
the direct influence of surface water, the system shall be 
designed to meet the CT standards set in Chapter 11 of this 
Part. 

D. Residual Chlorine. Systems shall be designed to meet 
the minimum disinfectant residual per §355 and §357 of this 
Part. 

E. Testing Equipment. Testing equipment used for 
compliance monitoring shall comply with approved 
analytical methods set forth in this Part. 

F. Chlorinator Piping. Design criteria for chlorinator 
pipping shall be as follows. 

1. Cross-Connection Protection. The chlorinator water 
supply piping shall be designed to prevent contamination of 
the treated water supply in accordance with the backflow 
prevention requirements set forth in §§344 and 346 of this 
Part. 

2. Pipe Material. The pipes carrying elemental liquid 
or dry gaseous chlorine under pressure shall be Schedule 80 
seamless steel tubing or other materials recommended by the 

Chlorine Institute. PVC is not acceptable upstream of the 
vacuum regulator. Vacuum piping for gaseous chlorine shall 
be polyethylene tubing or Schedule 80 PVC pipe. Rubber, 
Schedule 80 PVC, or polyethylene shall be used for chlorine 
solution piping and fittings. 

G. Chloramination. Chloramination is an application of 
ammonia and chlorine at a proper mass ratio of chlorine to 
ammonia to produce a combined chlorine residual 
predominantly in form of monochloramine. Proper chlorine 
to ammonia ratio shall be maintained to prevent the 
formation of dichloramine and trichloramine which create 
taste and odor in drinking water. 

1. Type. The chlorine system shall comply with the 
applicable requirements of §179.B. Ammonia systems shall 
supply either anhydrous ammonia, ammonium sulfate or 
aqua ammonia in compliance with the requirements of 
§§201-209 “Chemical Application” of this Part. 

2. Capacity. The ammonia supply system shall have 
sufficient capacity to comply with minimum disinfectant 
residuals required in §355 and §357 of this Part. The 
equipment shall be of such design that it will operate 
accurately over the desired feeding range.  

3. Standby Equipment. Standby equipment shall be 
available to replace/repair a critical unit. Spare parts shall be 
made available to replace parts subject to wear and 
breakage.  

4. Injector/Diffuser. The ammonia injector/diffuser 
shall be compatible with the point of application to provide a 
rapid and thorough mix with all the water being treated. If 
injectors are used, provisions for scale formation shall be 
considered. 

a. Ammonia solution shall be fed through 
injectors/diffusers made of appropriate material installed per 
manufacturer’s recommendations for even distribution of the 
solution. Materials containing copper shall not be used in 
contact with the ammonia. 

5. Cross-Connection Protection. The aqua ammonia 
water supply piping shall be designed to prevent 
contamination of the treated water supply in accordance with 
the backflow prevention requirements set forth in §§344 and 
346 of this Part. 

6. Pipe Material. The pipes carrying anhydrous 
ammonia shall be black iron or stainless steel. Aqua 
(Aqueous) ammonia or ammonium sulfate piping shall be 
stainless steel, polyethylene tubing or schedule 80 PVC. 
Stainless steel, rubber, polyethylene tubing or PVC shall be 
used for aqueous ammonia solution piping and fittings. 

H. Ozone 
1. Design considerations include the following.  

a. Ozonation systems are generally used for the 
purpose of disinfection, oxidation and microflocculation. 

b. Bench scale studies shall be conducted to 
determine minimum and maximum ozone dosages for 
disinfection "CT" compliance and oxidation reactions. More 
involved pilot studies shall be conducted when necessary to 
document benefits and DBP precursor removal effectiveness. 
Consideration shall be given to multiple points of ozone 
addition. Pilot studies shall be conducted for all surface 
waters. Particularly sensitive measurements include gas flow 
rate, water flow rate, and ozone concentration.  

c. Following the use of ozone, the application of a 
disinfectant which maintains a measurable residual will be 
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required in order to ensure bacteriologically safe water is 
carried throughout the distribution system.  

d. Furthermore, because of the more sophisticated 
nature of the ozone process a higher degree of operator 
maintenance skills and training is required. The ability to 
obtain qualified operators must be evaluated in selection of 
the treatment process. The necessary operator training shall 
be provided prior to plant startup. An operation and 
maintenance manual shall be provided and maintained onsite 
while the ozone unit is in operation. 

2. Feed Gas Preparation. General design criteria for 
feed gas preparation shall be as follows. 

a. Feed gas can be air, oxygen enriched air, or high 
purity oxygen. Sources of high purity oxygen include 
purchased liquid oxygen; on site generation using cryogenic 
air separation; or temperature, pressure or vacuum swing 
(adsorptive separation) technology. For high purity oxygen-
feed systems, dryers typically are not required.  

i. Air handling equipment on conventional low 
pressure air feed systems shall consist of an air compressor, 
water/air separator, refrigerant dryer, heat reactivated 
desiccant dryer, and particulate filters. Some "package" 
ozonation systems for small plants may work effectively 
operating at high pressure without the refrigerant dryer and 
with a "heat-less" desiccant dryer. The maximum dew point 
of -76oF (-60oC) will not be exceeded at any time.  

b. Air compression. Design criteria for air 
compression shall be as follows. 
 i. Air compressors shall be of the liquid-ring or 
rotary lobe, oil-less, positive displacement type for smaller 
systems or dry rotary screw compressors for larger systems.  
 ii. The air compressors shall have the capacity to 
simultaneously provide for maximum ozone demand, 
provide the air flow required for purging the desiccant dryers 
(where required) and allow for standby capacity.  
 iii. Air feed for the compressor shall be drawn 
from a point protected from rain, condensation, mist, fog and 
contaminated air sources to minimize moisture and 
hydrocarbon content of the air supply.  
 iv. A compressed air after-cooler and/or 
entrainment separator with automatic drain shall be provided 
prior to the dryers to reduce the water vapor.  
 v. A back-up air compressor must be provided so 
that ozone generation is not interrupted in the event of a 
break-down.  

c. Air drying. Design criteria for air drying shall be 
as follows. 
 i. Dry, dust-free and oil-free feed gas must be 
provided to the ozone generator. Dry gas is essential to 
prevent formation of nitric acid, to increase the efficiency of 
ozone generation and to prevent damage to the generator 
dielectrics. Sufficient drying to a maximum dew point of -
76oF (-60oC) shall be provided at the end of the drying cycle.  
 ii. Drying for high pressure systems may be 
accomplished using heatless desiccant dryers only. For low 
pressure systems, a refrigeration air dryer in series with heat-
reactivated desiccant dryers shall be used.  
 iii. A refrigeration dryer capable of reducing inlet 
air temperature to 40oF (4oC) shall be provided for low 
pressure air preparation systems.  
 iv. For heat-reactivated desiccant dryers, the unit 
shall contain two desiccant filled towers complete with 

pressure relief valves, two four-way valves and a heater. 
External type dryers shall have a cooler unit and blowers. 
The size of the unit shall be such that the specified dew point 
will be achieved during a minimum adsorption cycle time of 
16 hours while operating at the maximum expected moisture 
loading conditions.  
 v. Multiple air dryers shall be provided so that the 
ozone generation is not interrupted in the event of dryer 
breakdown.  
 vi. Each dryer shall be capable of venting "dry" 
gas to the atmosphere, prior to the ozone generator, to allow 
start-up when other dryers are "on-line".  

d. Air filters. Design criteria for air filters shall be 
as follows. 
 i. Air filters shall be provided on the suction side 
of the air compressors, between the air compressors and the 
dryers and between the dryers and the ozone generators.  
 ii. The filter before the desiccant dryers shall be 
of the coalescing type and be capable of removing aerosol 
and particulates larger than 0.3 microns in diameter. The 
filter after the desiccant dryer shall be of the particulate type 
and be capable of removing all particulates greater than 0.1 
microns in diameter, or smaller if specified by the generator 
manufacturer.  

e. Preparation piping. Piping in the air preparation 
system can be common grade steel, seamless copper, 
stainless steel or galvanized steel. The piping must be 
designed to withstand the maximum pressures in the air 
preparation system.  

3. Ozone Generator. Design criteria for ozone 
generators shall be as follows. 

a. Capacity. Design criteria for ozone generator 
capacity shall be as follows. 
 i. The production rating of the ozone generators 
shall be stated in pounds per day and kWhr per pound at a 
maximum cooling water temperature and maximum ozone 
concentration.  
 ii. The design shall ensure that the minimum 
concentration of ozone in the generator exit gas will not be 
less than 1 percent (by weight).  
 iii. Generators shall be sized to have sufficient 
reserve capacity so that the system does not operate at peak 
capacity for extended periods of time.  
 iv. The production rate of ozone generators will 
decrease as the temperature of the coolant increases. If there 
is to be a variation in the supply temperature of the coolant 
throughout the year, then applicable data shall be used to 
determine production changes due to the temperature change 
of the supplied coolant. The design shall ensure that the 
generators can produce the required ozone at maximum 
coolant temperature.  
 v. Appropriate ozone generator backup 
equipment must be provided.  

b. Electrical. The generators can be low, medium or 
high frequency type. Specifications shall require that the 
transformers, electronic circuitry and other electrical 
hardware be proven, high quality components designed for 
ozone service.  

c. Cooling. Adequate cooling shall be provided. The 
cooling water must be properly treated to minimize 
corrosion, scaling and microbiological fouling of the water 
side of the tubes. Where cooling water is treated, cross 
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connection control shall be provided to prevent 
contamination of the potable water supply in accordance 
with the backflow prevention requirements in §§344 and 346 
of this Part. 

d. Materials. The ozone generator shell and tubes 
shall be constructed of Type 316L stainless steel.  

4. Ozone Contactors. The selection or design of the 
contactor and method of ozone application depends on the 
purpose for which the ozone is being used.  

a. Bubble Diffusers. Design criteria for bubble 
diffusers shall be as follows. 
 i. Where disinfection is the primary application a 
minimum of two contact chambers each equipped with 
baffles to prevent short circuiting and induce countercurrent 
flow shall be provided. Ozone shall be applied using porous-
tube or dome diffusers.  
 ii. The minimum contact time shall be 10 
minutes. A shorter contact time may be approved by state 
health officer.  
 iii. The contactor must be kept under negative 
pressure and sufficient ozone monitors shall be provided to 
protect worker safety. The secondary enclosure for the ozone 
contactor shall be open to the atmosphere. 
 iv. Large contact vessels made of reinforced 
concrete shall comply with ACI 350. All reinforcement bars 
shall be covered with a minimum of 2.0 inches of concrete. 
Smaller contact vessels can be made of stainless steel, 
fiberglass or other material which will be stable in the 
presence of residual ozone and ozone in the gas phase above 
the water level.  
 v. Where necessary a system shall be provided 
between the contactor and the off-gas destruct unit to 
remove froth from the air and return the other to the 
contactor or other location acceptable to the state health 
officer. If foaming is expected to be excessive, then a potable 
water spray system shall be placed in the contactor head 
space.  
 vi. All openings into the contactor for pipe 
connections, hatchways, etc. shall be properly sealed using 
welds or ozone resistant gaskets such as Teflon or Hypalon.  
 vii. Multiple sampling ports shall be provided to 
enable sampling of each compartment's effluent water and to 
confirm “CT” calculations.  
 viii. A pressure/vacuum relief valve shall be 
provided in the contactor and piped to a location where there 
will be no damage to the destruction unit.  
 ix. The diffusion system shall work on a 
countercurrent basis such that the ozone is fed at the bottom 
of the vessel and water is fed at the top of the vessel.  
 x. The depth of water in bubble diffuser 
contactors shall be a minimum of 18 feet. The contactor 
should also have a minimum of 3 feet of freeboard to allow 
for foaming.  
 xi. All contactors shall have provisions for 
cleaning, maintenance and drainage of the contactor. Each 
contactor compartment shall also be equipped with an access 
hatchway.  
 xii. Aeration diffusers shall be fully serviceable by 
either cleaning or replacement.  

b. Other Contactors. Other contactors, such as the 
venturi or aspirating turbine mixer contactor, may be

approved by the state health officer provided adequate ozone 
transfer is achieved and the required contact times and 
residuals can be met and verified.  

5. Ozone Destruction Unit. Design criteria for ozone 
destruction unit shall be as follows. 

a. A system for treating the final off-gas from each 
contactor shall be provided in order to meet safety and air 
quality standards. Acceptable systems include thermal 
destruction and thermal/catalytic destruction units.  

b. The maximum allowable ozone concentration in 
the discharge is 0.1 ppm (by volume).  

c. At least two units shall be provided which are 
each capable of handling the entire gas flow.  

d. Exhaust blowers shall be provided in order to 
draw off-gas from the contactor into the destruct unit.  

e. Catalysts shall be protected from froth, moisture 
and other impurities which may harm the catalyst.  

f. The catalyst and heating elements shall be 
located where they can easily be reached for maintenance.  

6. Piping Materials. Only low carbon 304L and 316L 
stainless steels shall be used for ozone service.  

7. Joints and Connections. Design criteria for ozone 
joints and connections shall be as follows. 

a. Connections on piping used for ozone service are 
to be welded where possible.  

b. Connections with meters, valves or other 
equipment are to be made with flanged joints with ozone 
resistant gaskets, such as Teflon of Hypalon.  

c. A positive closing plug or butterfly valve plus a 
leak-proof check valve shall be provided in the piping 
between the generator and the contactor to prevent moisture 
reaching the generator.  

8. Instrumentation. Design criteria for ozone 
instrumentation shall be as follows. 

a. Pressure gauges shall be provided at the 
discharge from the air compressor, at the inlet to the 
refrigeration dryers, at the inlet and outlet of the desiccant 
dryers, at the inlet to the ozone generators and contactors 
and at the inlet to the ozone destruction unit.  

b. Electric power meters shall be provided for 
measuring the electric power supplied to the ozone 
generators. Each generator shall have a trip which shuts 
down the generator when the wattage exceeds a certain 
preset level.  

c. Dew point monitors shall be provided for 
measuring the moisture of the feed gas from the desiccant 
dryers. Because it is critical to maintain the specified dew 
point, it is recommended that continuous recording charts be 
used for dew point monitoring which will allow for proper 
adjustment of the dryer cycle. Where there is potential for 
moisture entering the ozone generator from downstream of 
the unit or where moisture accumulation can occur in the 
generator during shutdown, post-generator dew point 
monitors shall be used.  

d. Air flow meters shall be provided for measuring 
air flow from the desiccant dryers to each of other ozone 
generators, air flow to each contactor and purge air flow to 
the desiccant dryers.  

e. Temperature gauges shall be provided for the 
inlet and outlet of the ozone cooling water and the inlet and 
outlet of the ozone generator feed gas, and, if necessary, for
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the inlet and outlet of the ozone power supply cooling water.  
f. Water flow meters shall be installed to monitor 

the flow of cooling water to the ozone generators and, if 
necessary, to the ozone power supply.  

g. Ozone monitors shall be installed to measure 
zone concentration in both the feed-gas and off-gas from the 
contactor and in the off-gas from the destruct unit. For 
disinfection systems, monitors shall also be provided for 
monitoring ozone residuals in the water. The number and 
location of ozone residual monitors shall be such that the 
amount of time that the water is in contact with the ozone 
residual can be determined.  

h. A minimum of one ambient ozone monitor shall 
be installed in the vicinity of the contactor and a minimum 
of one shall be installed in the vicinity of the generator. 
Ozone monitors shall also be installed in any areas where 
ozone gas may accumulate.  

9. Alarms. The following alarm/shutdown systems 
shall be considered at each installation:  

a. dew point shutdown/alarm. This system should 
shut down the generator in the event the system dew point 
exceeds -76oF (-60oC);  

b. ozone generator cooling water flow 
shutdown/alarm. This system should shut down the 
generator in the event that cooling water flows decrease to 
the point that generator damage could occur;  

c. ozone power supply cooling water flow 
shutdown/alarm. This system should shut down the power 
supply in the event that cooling water flow decreases to the 
point that damage could occur to the power supply;  

d. ozone generator cooling water temperature 
shutdown/alarm. This system should shutdown the generator 
if either the inlet or outlet cooling water exceeds a certain 
preset temperature;  

e. ozone power supply cooling water temperature 
shutdown/alarm. This system should shutdown the power 
supply if either the inlet or outlet cooling water exceeds a 
certain preset temperature;  

f. ozone generator inlet feed-gas temperature 
shutdown/alarm. This system should shutdown the generator 
if the feed-gas temperature is above a preset value;  

g. ambient ozone concentration shutdown/alarm. 
The alarm should sound when the ozone level in the ambient 
air exceeds 0.1 ppm or a lower value chosen by the water 
supplier. Ozone generator shutdown should occur when 
ambient ozone levels exceed 0.3 ppm (or a lower value) in 
either the vicinity of the ozone generator or the contactor; 
and 

h. ozone destruct temperature alarm. The alarm 
should sound when temperature exceeds a preset value.  

10. Safety. Design criteria for ozone safety shall be as 
follows. 

a. The maximum allowable ozone concentration in 
the air to which workers may be exposed must not exceed 
0.1 ppm (by volume).  

b. Emergency exhaust fans shall be provided in the 
rooms containing the ozone generators to remove ozone gas 
if leakage occurs.  

c. A sign shall be posted indicating “No smoking, 
oxygen in use” at all entrances to the treatment plant. In

addition, no flammable or combustible materials shall be 
stored within the oxygen generator areas.  

I. Chlorine Dioxide. When choosing chlorine dioxide, 
consideration must be given to formation of the regulated 
byproducts and chlorite.  

1. Chlorine Dioxide Generators. Chlorine dioxide 
generation equipment shall be factory assembled pre-
engineered units with a minimum efficiency of 95 percent. 
The excess free chlorine shall not exceed five percent of the 
theoretical stoichiometric concentration required. Generators 
designed or intended to operate outside of this criteria shall 
require justification and be considered on a case-by-case 
basis. Generator yield shall be defined as the ratio of 
chlorine dioxide generated to the theoretical stoichiometric 
maximum, as presented in EPA’s Alternative Disinfectants 
and Oxidants Guidance Manual, Section 4.2.2 (EPA 815-R-
99-014, April 1999).  

a. Generators shall be designed, built and certified 
in compliance to NSF 61. 

b. Bench scale testing shall be conducted to 
determine chlorine dioxide demand and decay kinetics for 
the specific water being treated in order to establish the 
correct design dose for required log inactivation compliance 
(if required), oxidation reactions, and chlorite generation. 

c. An operation and maintenance manual (O&M) 
shall be provided. The O&M shall cover, at a minimum, 
operating instructions, identification and location of 
components, maintenance information and checklists; 
manufacturer’s product information (including trouble 
shooting information, a parts list and parts order form, 
special tools, spare parts list, etc.) and a chlorine dioxide and 
chlorite residual monitoring action plan (RMAP). The 
RMAP shall identify actions to be taken by properly trained 
certified operators in the event that the chlorine dioxide 
residual or chlorite level meet or exceed specified maximum 
levels at specified testing locations (e.g., generator effluent, 
treatment units, point-of-entry). 

d. Certified operators charged with handling and/or 
conducting chlorine dioxide and chlorite testing shall be 
properly trained on the production and testing equipment, 
the generator O&M manual, and the RMAP. Documentation 
of training shall be signed by the individual having 
responsible authority over the operators. Training 
documentation shall be provided to the OPH District Office 
and maintained on-site for review during sanitary surveys. 

2. Feed and storage facilities. When chlorine gas and 
sodium chlorite are used feed and storage facilities shall 
comply with §209.A and §209.C of this Part, respectively. 
Sodium hypochlorite feed and storage facilities shall comply 
with §209.D of this Part. All chlorine dioxide feed and 
storage facilities shall comply with §179.I.5 and §179.I.6 of 
this Part. 

3. Other design requirements shall include the 
following. 

a. The design shall comply with all applicable 
portions of §179.B, §179.C, and §179.F of this Part. 

b. Alarms shall be provided to indicate a lack of 
chemical (chlorine and sodium chlorite) or motive water 
flow. 

4. Public Notification. Notification of a change in 
disinfection practices and the schedule for the changes shall
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be made known to the public; particularly to hospitals, 
kidney dialysis facilities, and fish breeders, as chlorine 
dioxide and its byproducts may have similar effects as 
chloramines.  

5. Chlorine Dioxide Feed System. Design criteria for 
chlorine dioxide feed system shall be as follows. 

a. Use fiberglass reinforced vinyl ester plastic 
(FRP) or high density linear polyethylene (HDLPE) tanks 
with no insulation. 

b. If centrifugal pumps are used, provide Teflon 
packing material. Pump motors must be totally enclosed, 
fan-cooled, equipped with permanently sealed bearings, and 
equipped with double mechanical seals or other means to 
prevent leakage. 

c. Provide chlorinated PVC, vinyl ester or Teflon 
piping material. Do not use carbon steel or stainless steel 
piping systems.  

d. Provide glass view ports for the reactor if it is not 
made of transparent material.  

e. All chlorite solutions shall have concentrations 
less than 30 percent. Higher strength solutions are 
susceptible to crystallization and stratification. 

6. Chlorine Dioxide Storage Requirements. Design 
criteria for chlorine dioxide storage shall be as follows. 

a. Chlorine dioxide storage and operating area shall 
conform to the following. 
 i. The chlorine dioxide facility shall be 
physically located in a separate room from other water 
treatment plant operating areas.  
 ii. The chlorine dioxide area shall have a 
ventilation system separate from other operating areas. 
 iii. Provision shall be made to ventilate the 
chlorine dioxide facility area and maintain the ambient air 
chlorine dioxide concentrations below the Permissible 
Exposure Limit (PEL). 

(a). The ventilating fan(s) take suction near the 
floor, as far as practical from the door and air inlet, with the 
point of discharge so located as not to contaminate air inlets 
of any rooms or structures. 

(b). Air inlets are provided near the ceiling.  
(c). Air inlets and outlets shall be louvered. 
(d). Separate switches for the fans are outside 

and near the entrance of the facility. 
 iv. There shall be observation windows through 
which the operating area can be observed from outside the 
room to ensure operator safety. 
 v. Manual switches to the light in the operating 
area shall be located outside the door to the room. 
 vi. An emergency shutoff control to shut flows to 
the generator shall be located outside the operating area. 
 vii. Gaseous chlorine feed to the chlorine dioxide 
generator shall enter the chlorine dioxide facility area 
through lines which can only feed to vacuum. 
 viii. There shall not be any open drains in the 
chlorine dioxide operating area. 

J. Ultraviolet Light. Any Ultraviolet unit installed for 
treatment of cryptosporidium is required to meet the 
requirements of the USEPA’s 2006 Ultraviolet Disinfection 
Guidance Manual.  

K. Other disinfecting agents. Use of disinfecting agents 
other than those listed shall be approved by the state health 
officer prior to preparation of final plans and specifications.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§181. Softening 
A. Lime or Lime-Soda Process. Design standards for 

rapid mix, flocculation and sedimentation are in Section 4.2. 
Additional consideration must be given to the following 
process elements.  

1. Hydraulics. When split treatment is used, the 
bypass line should be sized to carry total plant flow, and an 
accurate means of measuring and splitting the flow shall be 
provided.  

2. Rapid Mix. Rapid mix detention times should be 
instantaneous, but not longer than 30 seconds with adequate 
velocity gradients to keep the lime particles dispersed.  

3. Stabilization. Equipment for stabilization of water 
softened by the lime or lime-soda process is required. (see 
§189 of this Part).  

4. Sludge Collection. A means for sludge removal 
shall be provided in the sedimentation basin.  

5. Sludge Disposal. Provisions shall be included for 
proper disposal of softening sludges. (see Subchapter F. 
§§257-275 of this Part).  

B. Cation Exchange Process. Design criteria for cation 
exchange process shall be as follows.  

1. Pre-treatment requirements. Iron, manganese, or a 
combination of the two, should not exceed 0.3 mg/L in the 
water as applied to the ion exchange resin. Pre-treatment is 
required when the content of iron, manganese, or a 
combination of the two, is one milligram per liter or more 
(see §187 of this Part). Waters having 5 units or more 
turbidity should not be applied directly to the cation 
exchange softener. 

2. Design. The units may be of pressure or gravity 
type, of either an upflow or downflow design. Automatic 
regeneration based on volume of water softened shall be 
used unless manual regeneration is justified and is approved 
by the state health officer. A manual override shall be 
provided on all automatic controls.  

3. Exchange Capacity. The design capacity shall be in 
accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications for 
hardness removal.  

4. Depth of Resin. The depth of the exchange resin 
shall not be less than three feet.  

5. Flow Rates. The rate of softening shall not exceed 
seven gallons per minute per square foot of bed area and the 
backwash rate shall be between six and eight gallons per 
minute per square foot of bed area. Rate-of-flow controllers 
or the equivalent shall be installed for the above purposes.  

6. Freeboard. The freeboard will depend upon the size 
and specific gravity of the resin and the direction of water 
flow. Adequate freeboard shall be provided to prevent loss of 
media during backwashing. 

7. Underdrains and Supporting Gravel. The bottoms, 
strainer systems and support for the exchange resin shall 
conform to criteria provided for rapid rate gravity filters (see 
§177.A.6 and §177.A.7 of this Part).  

8. Brine Distribution. Facilities should be included for 
even distribution of the brine over the entire surface of both 
upflow and downflow units.  
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9. Cross-Connection Control. Backwash, rinse and air 
relief discharge pipes shall be installed in such a manner as 
to prevent any possibility of back-siphonage.  

10. Bypass Piping and Equipment. Bypass shall must 
be provided around softening units to produce a blended 
water of desirable hardness. Totalizing meters shall be 
installed on the bypass line and on each softener unit. The 
bypass line shall have a shutoff valve and should have an 
automatic proportioning or regulating device.  

11. Additional Limitations. When the applied water 
contains a chlorine residual, the cation exchange resin shall 
be a type that is not damaged by residual chlorine.  

12. Sampling Taps. A means of collecting samples shall 
be provided for the collection of representative samples. If 
sample taps are provided, they shall be Smooth-nose type. 
The taps sampling locations shall be located to provide for 
sampling of the softener influent, effluent and blended water. 
The sampling locations for the blended water shall be at 
least 20 feet downstream from the point of blending.  

13. Brine and Salt Storage Tanks. Design criteria for 
brine and salt storage tanks shall be as follows. 

a. Salt dissolving or brine tanks and wet salt storage 
tanks shall be covered and must be corrosion-resistant.  

b. The make-up water inlet shall be protected from 
back-siphonage.  

c. Wet salt storage basins shall be equipped with 
manholes or hatchways for access and for direct dumping of 
salt from truck or railcar. Openings shall be provided with 
raised curbs and watertight covers having overlapping edges. 
Each cover shall be hinged on one side, and shall have 
locking device.  

d. Overflows, where provided, shall be protected 
with corrosion resistant screens and must terminate with 
either a turned downed bend having a proper free fall 
discharge or a self-closing flap valve.  

e. The salt shall be supported on graduated layers of 
gravel placed over a brine collection system.  

14. Stabilization. Refer to §189 of this Part.  
15.  Waste Disposal. Suitable disposal shall be provided 

for brine waste (see Subchapter F. §§257-275 of this Part).  
16. Construction Materials. Pipes and contact materials 

shall be resistant to the aggressiveness of salt. Steel and 
concrete must be coated with a non-leaching protective 
coating which is compatible with salt and brine.  

17. Housing. Bagged salt and dry bulk salt storage shall 
be enclosed and separated from other operating areas in 
order to prevent damage to equipment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§183. Anion Exchange Treatment 
A. Pre-Treatment Requirements. Iron, manganese or a 

combination of the two, should not exceed 0.3 mg/L in the 
water as applied to the ion exchange resin. Pre-treatment is 
required when a combination of iron and manganese exceeds 
0.5 mg/L.  

B. Design criteria for anion exchange treatment is as 
follows. 

1.  Anion exchange units are typically of the pressure 
type, down flow design. Automatic regeneration based on 
volume of water treated shall be used unless manual 

regeneration is justified and is approved by the state health 
officer. A manual override shall be provided on all automatic 
controls.  

2. If a portion of the water is bypassed around the 
units and blended with treated water, the maximum blend 
ratio allowable must be determined based on the highest 
anticipated raw water contaminant level. If bypassing is 
provided, a totalizing meter and a proportioning or 
regulating device or flow regulating valves shall be provided 
on the bypass line.  

C. Number of Units. At least two units shall be provided. 
The treatment capacity shall be capable of producing the 
water at the average daily flow at the maximum month of the 
plant at a level below the MCL of the contaminant being 
removed, with one exchange unit out of service.  

D. Type of Media. The anion exchange media shall be of 
the type required to for the contaminant being removed. 

E. Flow Rates. The treatment flow rate should not 
exceed 5 gallons per minute per square foot of bed area (20 
cm/minute down flow rate). The backwash flow rate should 
be approximately 4.0 to 6.0 gallons per minute per square 
foot of bed area (16 to 24 cm/minute rise rate). The 
regeneration rate should be approximately 1.0 gallon per 
minute per square foot of bed area (4 cm/minute rise rate) 
with a fast rinse approximately equal to the service flow rate.  

F. Freeboard. Adequate freeboard shall be provided to 
accommodate the backwash flow rate of the unit.  

G. Miscellaneous Appurtenances. Miscellaneous 
appurtenances shall include the following. 

1. The system shall be designed to include an 
adequate under drain and supporting gravel system and brine 
distribution equipment.  

2. Sample taps, and brine and salt storage shall be as 
required in §181.B.12 and §181.B.13 of this Part.  

H. Cross Connection Control. Backwash, rinse and air 
relief discharge pipes shall be installed in such a manner as 
to prevent any possibility of back-siphonage.  

I. Construction Materials. Pipes and contact materials 
must be resistant to the aggressiveness of salt. Plastic and 
red brass are acceptable materials. Steel and concrete shall 
be coated with a non-leaching protective coating which is 
compatible with salt and brine.  

J. Housing. Bagged salt and dry bulk salt storage shall 
be enclosed and separated from other operating areas in 
order to prevent damage to equipment.  

K. Preconditioning of the Media. Prior to startup of the 
equipment, the media shall be regenerated with no less than 
two bed volumes of water containing sodium chloride 
followed by an adequate rinse.  

L. Waste Disposal. Suitable disposal must be provided 
for brine waste (see Subchapter F. §§257-275 of this Part).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§185. Aeration 
A. Aeration processes generally are used in two types of 

treatment applications. One is the transfer of a gas to water 
(e.g., adding oxygen to assist in iron and/or manganese 
removal) and is called gas absorption, or aeration. The 
second is the removal of gas from water (reduce or remove 
objectionable amounts of carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, 
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etc. or reduce the concentration of taste and odor-causing 
substances or removal of volatile organic compounds) and is 
classified as desorption or air stripping. The materials used 
in the construction of the aerator(s) shall meet NSF/ANSI 61 
or be approved by the state health officer.  

1. Natural Draft Aeration. Design shall provide:  
a. perforations in the distribution pan 3/16 to 1/2 

inches in diameter, spaced 1 to 3 inches on centers to 
maintain a six inch water depth;  

b. for distribution of water uniformly over the top 
tray;  

c. discharge through a series of three or more trays 
with separation of trays not less than 12 inches;  

d. loading at a rate of 1 to 5 gallons per minute for 
each square foot of total tray area (2.5 - 12.5 m/hr);  

e. trays with slotted, heavy wire (1/2 inch openings) 
mesh or perforated bottoms;  

f. construction of durable material resistant to 
aggressiveness of the water and dissolved gases; and 

g. protection from insects by 24-mesh screen when 
used in applications where the water will not be subject to 
open vessels in downstream treatment processes. 

2. Forced or Induced Draft Aeration. Devices shall be 
designed to:  

a. insure adequate counter current of air through the 
enclosed aerator column;  

b. exhaust air directly to the outside atmosphere;  
c. include a down-turned air outlet and inlet. 

Protection from insects by 24-mesh screen when used in 
applications where the water will not be subject to open 
vessels in downstream treatment processes;  

d. be such that air introduced in the column shall be 
as free from obnoxious fumes, dust, and dirt as possible;  

e. be such that sections of the aerator can be easily 
reached or removed for maintenance of the interior or 
installed in a separate aerator room;  

f. provide loading at a rate of 1 to 5 gallons per 
minute for each square foot of total tray area (2.5 - 12.5 
m/hr);  

g. insure that the water outlet is adequately sealed to 
prevent unwarranted loss of air;  

h. when trays are used, discharge through a series of 
five or more trays with separation of trays not less than six 
inches or as approved by the state health officer;  

i. provide distribution of water uniformly over the 
top tray; and 

j. be of durable material resistant to the 
aggressiveness of the water and dissolved gases. 

3. Spray Aeration. Design shall provide: 
a. a hydraulic head of between 5 - 25 feet;  
b. nozzles, with the size, number, and spacing of the 

nozzles being dependent on the flowrate, space, and the 
amount of head available;  

c. nozzle diameters in the range of 1 to 1.5 inches to 
minimize clogging; and 

d. an enclosed basin to contain the spray. Any 
openings for ventilation, etc. shall be protected from insects 
by 24-mesh screen when used in applications where the 
water will not be subject to open vessels in downstream 
treatment processes.  

4. Pressure Aeration. Pressure aeration shall be used 
for oxidation and biological filtration purposes only. Filters 

following pressure aeration must have adequate exhaust 
devices for release of air. Pressure aeration devices shall be 
designed to:  

a. give thorough mixing of compressed air with 
water being treated; and 

b. provide screened and filtered air, free of 
obnoxious fumes, dust, dirt and other contaminants.  

5. Packed Tower Aeration. Packed tower aeration 
(PTA) which is also known as air stripping involves passing 
water down through a column of packing material while 
pumping air counter-currently up through the packing. PTA 
is used for the removal of volatile organic chemicals, 
trihalomethanes, carbon dioxide, and radon.  

a. Process design for PTA includes the following. 
 i. The tower shall be designed to reduce 
contaminants to below the maximum contaminant level 
(MCL).  
 ii. The ratio of the packing height to column 
diameter should be at least 7:1 for the pilot unit and at least 
10:1 for the full scale tower. The type and size of the 
packing used in the full scale unit shall be the same as that 
used in the pilot work.  
 iii. The minimum volumetric air to water ratio at 
peak water flow should be 25:1 and the maximum should be 
80:1. Air to water ratios outside these ranges should not be 
used without prior approval from the state health officer.  
 iv. The design shall consider potential fouling 
problems from calcium carbonate and iron precipitation and 
from bacterial growth  

b. Materials of Construction. The tower shall be 
constructed of a material that is suitable for contact with the 
water being treated. Packing materials shall be resistant to 
the aggressiveness of the water, dissolved gases and cleaning 
materials and shall be suitable for contact with potable 
water.  

c. Water Flow System. Design of the water flow 
system includes the following. 
 i. Water should be distributed uniformly at the 
top of the tower using spray nozzles or orifice-type 
distributor trays that prevent short circuiting.  
 ii. A mist eliminator shall be provided above the 
water distributor system.  
 iii. A side wiper redistribution ring shall be 
provided at least every 10 feet in order to prevent water 
channeling along the tower wall and short circuiting.  
 iv. Sample taps shall be provided in the influent 
and effluent piping.  
 v. The effluent sump, if provided, shall have easy 
access for cleaning purposes and be equipped with a drain 
valve. The drain shall not be connected directly to any storm 
or sanitary sewer.  
 vi. A blow-off line should be provided in the 
effluent piping to allow for discharge of water/chemicals 
used to clean the tower.  
 vii. A means of measuring the water flow to each 
tower shall be provided. 
 viii. An overflow line shall be provided which 
discharges 12 to 14 inches above a splash pad or drainage 
inlet. Proper drainage shall be provided to prevent flooding 
of the area.  
 ix. Means shall be provided to prevent flooding of 
the air blower.  
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 x. The water influent pipe should be supported 
separately from the tower's main structural support.  

d. Air Flow System. Design of the air flow system 
includes the following. 
 i. The air inlet to the blower and the tower 
discharge vent shall be downturned and protected with a 
non-corrodible 24-mesh screen to prevent contamination 
from extraneous matter.  
 ii. The air inlet shall be in a protected location.  
 iii. A means of ensuring that air is being provided 
when water is being delivered to the air strippers shall be 
provided. 

e. The following features shall be provided. 
 i. A sufficient number of access ports with a 
minimum diameter of 24 inches to facilitate inspection, 
media replacement, media cleaning and maintenance of the 
interior.  
 ii. A method of cleaning the packing material 
when fouling may occur.  
 iii. An acceptable alternative treatment shall be 
available during periods of maintenance and operation 
interruptions when used for treatment of a primary 
contaminant. No bypass shall be provided unless specifically 
approved by the state health officer.  
 iv. Disinfection application points ahead of the 
tower to control biological growth.  
 v. Adequate packing support to allow free flow of 
water and to prevent deformation with deep packing heights.  

6. Other Methods of Aeration. Other methods of 
aeration may be used if applicable to the treatment needs. 
Such methods include but are not restricted to spraying, 
diffused air, cascades and mechanical aeration. The 
treatment processes shall be designed to meet the particular 
needs of the water to be treated and are subject to the 
approval of the state health officer.  

7. Protection of Aerators. All aerators except those 
discharging to lime softening or clarification plants shall be 
protected from contamination by birds, insects, wind borne 
debris, rainfall and water draining off the exterior of the 
aerator.  

8. Bypass. A bypass should be provided for all 
aeration units except those installed to comply with 
maximum contaminant levels.  

9. Redundancy. Redundant equipment shall be 
provided for units installed to comply with the Safe Drinking 
Water Act primary contaminants, unless otherwise approved 
by the state health officer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§187. Iron and Manganese Control 
A. Iron and manganese control, as used herein, refers 

solely to treatment processes designed specifically for this 
purpose. The treatment process used will depend upon the 
character of the raw water. The selection of one or more 
treatment processes must meet specific local conditions as 
determined by engineering investigations, including 
chemical analyses of representative samples of water to be 
treated, and receive the approval of the state health officer. It 
may be necessary to operate a pilot plant in order to gather

all information applicable to the design. Consideration 
should be given to adjusting pH of the raw water to optimize 
the chemical reaction.  

1. Design elements for removal by oxidation, 
detention and filtration are as follows.  

a. Oxidation. Oxidation may be by aeration, as 
indicated in §185 of this Part, or by chemical oxidation with 
chlorine, potassium permanganate, sodium permanganate, 
ozone or chlorine dioxide.  

b. Reaction. A detention time shall be provided 
following aeration to insure that the oxidation reactions are 
as complete as possible. The reaction tank/detention basin 
shall be designed to prevent short circuiting. If a reaction 
tank/detention basin is provided, it shall be provided with an 
overflow, vent and access hatch in accordance with §225.I, 
§225.J, and §225.K of this Part.  

c. Sedimentation. Sedimentation basins shall be 
provided when treating water with high iron and/or 
manganese (≥ 7*SMCL) content, or where chemical 
coagulation is used to reduce the load on the filters. 
Provisions for sludge removal shall be made.  

d. Filtration. Filters shall be provided and shall 
conform to §177 of this Part.  

2. For removal by the lime-soda softening process, see 
§181.A of this Part.  

3. Removal by manganese coated media filtration. 
This process consists of a continuous or batch feed of 
potassium permanganate to the influent of a manganese 
coated media filter.  

a. Provisions should be made to apply the 
permanganate as far ahead of the filter as practical and to a 
point immediately before the filter.  

c. An anthracite media cap of at least six inches or 
more as required by the state health officer shall be provided 
over manganese coated media.  

d. Normal filtration rate shall be based on the 
manufacturer’s performance studies. 

e. Sample taps shall be provided:  
 i. for the raw water;  
 ii. immediately ahead of filtration; and 
 iii. at the filter effluent. 

4. Removal by Ion Exchange. This process of iron and 
manganese removal should not be used for water containing 
more than 0.3 milligrams per liter of iron, manganese or 
combination thereof. This process is not acceptable where 
either the raw water or wash water contains dissolved 
oxygen or other oxidants.  

5. Sequestration by Polyphosphates. The total 
phosphate applied shall not exceed 10 mg/L as phosphate 
(PO4). Possible adverse effects on corrosion must be 
addressed when phosphate addition is proposed for iron 
sequestering.  

a. Feeding equipment shall conform to the 
requirements of Subchapter A “Chemical Application” §201-
§209 of this Part.  

b. Polyphosphates shall not be applied ahead of iron 
and manganese removal treatment.  

c. The phosphate feed point shall be located at least 
five feet ahead of the oxidant feed point.  

6. Sequestration by Sodium Silicates. Sodium silicate 
sequestration of iron and manganese is appropriate only for 
groundwater supplies prior to air contact. On-site pilot tests 
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are required to determine the suitability of sodium silicate 
for the particular water and the minimum feed needed. Rapid 
oxidation of the metal ions such as by chlorine or chlorine 
dioxide must accompany or closely precede the sodium 
silicate addition. Injection of sodium silicate more than 15 
seconds after oxidation may cause detectable loss of 
chemical efficiency. Dilution of feed solutions much below 
five per cent silica as SiO2 should also be avoided for the 
same reason. Sodium silicate treatment may be less effective 
for sequestering manganese than for iron.  

a. Sodium silicate addition is applicable to waters 
containing up to 2 mg/L of iron, manganese or combination 
thereof.  

b. Chlorine residuals shall be maintained 
throughout the distribution system to prevent biological 
breakdown of the sequestered iron.  

c. The amount of silicate added shall be limited to 
20 mg/L as SiO2, but the amount of added and naturally 
occurring silicate shall not exceed 60 mg/L as SiO2.  

d. Feeding equipment shall conform to the 
requirements of Subchapter A “Chemical Application” §201-
§209 of this Part.  

e. Sodium silicate shall not be applied ahead of iron 
or manganese removal treatment.  

7. Sampling taps. Smooth-nosed sampling taps shall 
be provided for control purposes. A means of collecting 
samples shall be provided for each raw water source, each 
treatment unit influent and each treatment unit effluent.  

8. Testing equipment shall be provided for all plants. 
Where polyphosphate sequestration is practiced, appropriate 
phosphate testing equipment shall be provided that meets the 
requirements of §137.G of this Part.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§189. Stabilization 
A. Carbon Dioxide Addition. Where liquid carbon 

dioxide is used, adequate precautions shall be taken to 
prevent carbon dioxide from entering the plant from the 
recarbonation process.  

1. Consideration shall be given to the installation of a 
carbon dioxide alarm system with light and audio warning, 
especially in low areas.  

2. Recarbonation tanks shall be located outside or be 
sealed and vented to the outside with adequate seals and 
adequate purge flow of air to ensure workers safety.  

a. Provisions shall be made for draining the 
recarbonation basin and removing sludge.  

B. Acid Addition. Design elements for acid addition 
include the following. 

1. Feed equipment shall conform to Subchapter A 
“Chemical Application” §201-§209 of this Part.  

2. Adequate precautions shall be taken for operator 
safety, such as not adding water to the concentrated acid. 
(see §207 and §209 of this Part).  

C. Phosphates. The feeding of phosphates may be 
applicable for sequestering calcium, for corrosion control, 
and in conjunction with alkali feed following ion exchange 
softening.  

1. Feed equipment shall conform to Subchapter A 
“Chemical Application” §201-§209 of this Part.  

2. Stock phosphate solution shall be kept covered and 
disinfected by carrying approximately 10 mg/L free chlorine 
residual unless the phosphate is not able to support bacterial 
growth. Phosphate solutions having a pH of 2.0 or less may 
also be exempted from this requirement by the state health 
officer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§191. Taste and Odor Control 
A. Powdered Activated Carbon. Design elements for 

powered activated carbon (PAC) include the following. 
1. Continuous agitation or resuspension equipment 

shall be provided to keep the carbon from depositing in the 
slurry storage tank.  

2. Provision shall be made for adequate dust control.  
3. The required rate of feed of carbon in a water 

treatment plant depends upon the tastes and/or odors 
involved, but provision should be made for adding from 0.1 
milligrams per liter to at least 40 milligrams per liter.  

4. Powdered activated carbon shall be handled as a 
potentially combustible material.  

B. Granular Activated Carbon. Replacement of 
anthracite with granular activated carbon (GAC) may be 
considered as a control measure for geosmin and methyl 
isoborneol (MIB) taste and odors from algae blooms. 
Demonstration studies may be required by the state health 
officer. See §177.A.6.iv of this Part for application within 
filters.  

C. Copper Sulfate and Other Copper Compounds. 
Continuous or periodic treatment of water with copper 
compounds to kill algae or other growths shall be controlled 
to prevent copper in excess of 1.0 milligrams per liter as 
copper in the plant effluent or distribution system. Care shall 
be taken to assure an even distribution of the chemical 
within the treatment area.  

D. For aeration, see §185 of this Part. 
E. Ozone. Ozonation can be used as a means of taste and 

odor control. Adequate contact time shall be provided to 
complete the chemical reactions involved. Ozone is 
generally more desirable for treating water with high 
threshold odors. (See §179.H of this Part)  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 2. Public Water System Construction, 
Operation and Maintenance 

Subchapter A. Chemical Application 
§201. General Requirements 

A. General. Chemicals applied to treat potable drinking 
water shall meet the requirements of NSF/ANSI Standard 60 
as certified by an ANSI-accredited testing agency. 

B. Plans and Specifications. Plans and specifications 
shall be submitted for review and approval, as provided for 
in Chapter 1, Subchapter B of this Part, and shall include:  

1. descriptions of feed equipment, including 
maximum and minimum feed ranges;  

2. location of feeders, piping layout and points of 
application;  
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3. storage and handling facilities;  
4. operating and control procedures including 

proposed application rates;  
5. description of testing equipment; and  
6. description of system including all tanks with 

capacities, (with drains, overflows, and vents), feeders, 
transfer pumps, connecting piping, valves, points of 
application, backflow prevention devices, air gaps, 
secondary containment, and safety eye washes and showers.  

C. Chemical Application. Chemicals shall be applied to 
the water at such points and by such means as to:  

1. assure maximum efficiency of treatment;  
2. assure maximum safety to consumer;  
3. provide maximum safety to operators;  
4. assure satisfactory mixing of the chemicals with the 

water;  
5. provide maximum flexibility of operation through 

various points of application, when appropriate; and 
6. prevent backflow or back-siphonage between 

multiple points of feed through common manifolds.  
D. General equipment design shall be such that:  

1. feeders will be able to supply, at all times, the 
necessary amounts of chemicals at an accurate rate, 
throughout the range of feed;  

2. chemical-contact materials and surfaces are 
resistant to the aggressiveness of the chemical solution;  

3. corrosive chemicals are introduced in such a 
manner as to minimize potential for corrosion;  

4. chemicals that are incompatible are not stored or 
handled together;  

5. all chemicals are conducted from the feeder to the 
point of application in separate conduits;  

6. chemical feeders are as near as practical to the feed 
point;  

7. chemical feeders and pumps shall operate at no 
lower than 20 per cent of the feed range unless two fully 
independent adjustment mechanisms such as pump pulse 
rate and stroke length are fitted then the pump shall operate 
at no lower than 10 percent of the rated maximum; and  

8. gravity may be used where practical.  
E. For each chemical the information submitted shall 

include:  
1. documentation that the chemical is certified to 

NSF/ANSI Standard 60;  
2. specifications for the chemical to be used;  
3. purpose of the chemical;  
4. proposed minimum non-zero, average and 

maximum dosages, solution strength or purity (as 
applicable), and specific gravity or bulk density; 

5. method for independent calculation of amount fed 
daily; and 

6. safety data sheet (SDS). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§203. Feed Equipment  
A. Feeder Redundancy. Where a chemical feed and 

booster pump is necessary for the protection of the supply,

such as chlorination, coagulation or other essential 
processes, a standby unit or a combination of units of 
sufficient size to meet capacity shall be provided to replace 
the largest unit when out of service. 

1. A separate feeder shall be used for each chemical 
applied.  

2. Spare parts shall be available on site for each type 
of feeder and chemical booster pump to replace parts which 
are subject to wear and damage.  

B. Control. Feeders may be manually or automatically 
controlled.  

1. Automatic controls shall be designed so as to allow 
override by manual controls.  

2. Chemical feed rates shall be proportional to the 
flow stream being dosed. 

3. A means to measure the flow stream being dosed 
shall be provided in order to determine chemical feed rates.  

4. Provisions shall be made for measuring the 
quantities of chemicals used.  

5. Weighing scales:  
a. shall be provided for weighing cylinders at all 

plants utilizing chlorine gas;  
b. shall be required for fluoride solution fed from 

supply drums or carboys;  
c. should be provided for volumetric dry chemical 

feeders;  
d. shall be capable of providing reasonable 

precision in relation to average daily dose; and  
e. shall not be required for chlorine gas cylinders 

when used as a backup or standby source of chlorine gas. 
6. Where conditions warrant, for example with rapidly 

fluctuating intake turbidity, coagulant and coagulant aid 
addition may be made according to turbidity, streaming 
current or other sensed parameter.  

C. Dry Chemical Feeders. Dry chemical feeders shall:  
1. measure chemicals volumetrically (see §203.B.5.c 

of this Part) or gravimetrically;  
2. provide adequate solution/slurry water and agitation 

of the chemical at the point of placing in solution/slurry; and 
3. completely enclose chemicals to reduce emission of 

dust to the operating room.  
D. Positive Displacement Solution Feed Pumps. Positive 

displacement type solution feed pumps should be used to 
feed liquid chemicals.  

1. Pumps shall be capable of operating at the required 
maximum rate against the maximum head conditions found 
at the point of injection.  

2. Equipment utilized to readily measure feed rates in 
the pumped liquid shall be designed to handle the liquid 
being measured and shall be provided. 

3. A pressure relief valve should be provided on the 
pump discharge line.  

E. Siphon Control for Liquid Chemical Feeders. Liquid 
chemical feeders shall be such that chemical solutions 
cannot be siphoned or overfed into the water supply, by:  

1. assuring discharge at a point of positive pressure;  
2. providing vacuum relief; 
3. providing a suitable air gap, or anti-siphon device; 

or 
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4. providing other suitable means or combinations as 
necessary.  

F. Cross-connection control shall be provided to assure 
that:  

1. the service water lines discharging to liquid storage 
tanks shall be properly protected from backflow as required 
by the state health officer;  

2. chemical solutions or slurries cannot be siphoned 
through liquid chemical feeders into the water supply as 
required in §203.E of this Part;  

3. no direct connection exists between any sewer and 
a drain or overflow from the liquid chemical feeder, liquid 
storage chamber or tank by providing that all drains 
terminate at least six inches or two pipe diameters, 
whichever is greater, above the overflow rim of a receiving 
sump, conduit or waste receptacle;  

4. in the absence of other cross connection control 
measures, separate feeders shall be provided for chemical 
feed systems that have feed points at both unfiltered and 
filtered water locations such that all unfiltered water feed 
points are fed from one feeder, and that all filtered water 
feed points are fed from another feeder.  

G. Location. Chemical feed equipment:  
1. shall be readily accessible for servicing, repair, and 

observation of operation;  
2. should be located in a separate room where hazards 

and dust problems may exist; and  
3. should be conveniently located near points of 

application to minimize length of feed lines.  
H. In-plant water supply shall be:  

1. ample in quantity and adequate in pressure;  
2. provided with means for measurement when 

preparing specific solution concentrations by dilution;  
3. properly treated for hardness, when necessary;  
4. properly protected against backflow; and 
5. obtained from the finished water supply, or from a 

location sufficiently downstream of any chemical feed point 
to assure adequate mixing.  

I. Supply and Storage of Chemicals. A minimum of 10 
days of chemical supply shall be on site at all times that will 
allow the facility to satisfy a maximum average day demand 
for all ten days. Additional supply of chemicals that will not 
degrade is recommended. Chemicals for which the EPA has 
established a threshold quantity for risk management plan 
purposes need not be stored on site provided the system has 
a plan in place for effective timely deliveries of such 
chemicals. 

1. Storage space shall: 
a. be convenient and provide for efficient handling 

of chemicals; 
b. have dry storage conditions; and  
c. provide a minimum storage volume of 1.5 truck 

loads where purchase can only be made by truck load lots.  
2. Storage tanks and pipelines for liquid chemicals 

shall be specified for use with individual chemicals and not 
used for different chemicals. Offloading areas shall be 
clearly labeled to prevent accidental cross-contamination.  

3. Chemicals shall be stored in covered or unopened 
shipping containers, unless the chemical is transferred into 
an approved storage unit.  

4. Liquid chemical storage tanks shall:  

a. have a means to readily determine the volume of 
liquid retained in the storage tank; and,  

b. have an overflow and a receiving basin capable 
of receiving accidental spills or overflows without 
uncontrolled discharge; a common receiving basin may be 
provided for each group of compatible chemicals, which 
provides sufficient containment volume to prevent accidental 
discharge in the event of failure of the largest tank.  

J. Bulk Liquid Storage Tanks. Bulk liquid storage tanks 
shall comply with the following requirements:  

1. A means which is consistent with the nature of the 
chemical stored shall be provided in a liquid storage tank to 
maintain a uniform chemical strength. Continuous agitation 
shall be provided to maintain slurries in suspension.  

2. A means to assure continuity of chemicals to treat 
the water to comply with federal primary drinking water 
standards and state drinking water regulations shall be 
provided while servicing a liquid storage tank.  

3. A means shall be provided to readily measure the 
liquid level in the liquid storage tank.  

4. Liquid storage tanks shall have a lid. Large liquid 
storage tanks with access openings shall have such openings 
curbed and fitted with overhanging covers or, bolted and 
gasketed manways.  

5. Subsurface locations for liquid storage tanks shall:  
a. be free from sources of possible contamination; 

and  
b. assure positive drainage away from the area for 

ground waters, accumulated water, chemical spills and 
overflows.  

6. Overflow pipes, when provided, shall:  
a. be turned downward, with the end screened;  
b. have a free fall discharge; and  
c. be located where noticeable. 

7. Liquid storage tanks must be vented, but not 
through vents in common with other chemicals or day tanks. 
Acid storage tanks shall be vented to the outside atmosphere.  

8. Each liquid storage tank shall be provided with a 
method to be drained.  

9. Each liquid storage tank shall be protected against 
contamination by cross-connections.  

10. Liquid storage tanks shall be located and secondary 
containment provided so that chemicals from equipment 
failure, spillage or accidental drainage shall not enter the 
water in conduits, treatment or storage basins. Secondary 
containment volumes shall be able to hold the volume of the 
largest storage tank. Piping shall be designed to minimize or 
contain chemical spills in the event of pipe ruptures.  

K. Overfeed Protection. Overfeed protection shall be 
provided and comply with the following requirements. 

1. A LDH-approved overfeed process control and/or 
procedure shall be provided for liquid chemical feeds. The 
process control and/or procedure must be in addition to the 
requirements of §203.E (siphon control) of this Part. When 
day tanks are used for overfeed protection, day tanks shall 
meet requirements of §203.K.3 of this Part.  

2. Day tanks shall be provided when bulk storage of 
fluoride is used.  

3. When day tanks are used, all day tanks shall meet 
all of the following requirements and requirements of §203.J 
of this Part, except that shipping containers do not require 
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§203.J.6 (overflow pipes) and §203.J.8. (drain method) and 
day tanks do not require secondary containment.  

a. Day tanks should hold no more than a 30 hour 
supply.  

b. Day tanks shall be scale-mounted, or have a 
calibrated gauge painted or mounted on the side if liquid 
level can be observed in a gauge tube or through translucent 
sidewalls of the tank. In opaque tanks, a gauge rod may be 
used.  

c. Except for fluorosilicic acid, hand pumps may be 
provided for transfer from a shipping container. A tip rack 
may be used to permit withdrawal into a bucket from a 
spigot.  

d. A means which is consistent with the nature of 
the chemical solution shall be provided to maintain uniform 
chemical strength in a day tank. Continuous agitation shall 
be provided to maintain chemical slurries in suspension.  

e. Tanks and tank refilling line entry points shall be 
clearly labeled with the name of the chemical contained.  

f. Filling of day tanks shall not be automated, 
unless redundancy of controls is provided.  

g. Where motor-driven transfer pumps are provided, 
an automated means to prevent an overflow shall be 
provided. 

L. Feed Lines. Feed lines:  
1. should be as short as possible; 
2. should be of durable, corrosion-resistant material;  
3. be easily accessible throughout the entire length; 
4. be readily cleanable;  
5. shall be protected from freezing;  
6. should slope upward from the chemical source to 

the feeder when conveying gases;  
7. shall be designed consistent with scale-forming or 

solids depositing properties of the water, chemical, solution 
or mixtures conveyed; and 

8. should be color coded and labeled.  
M. Handling. Carts, elevators and other appropriate 

means shall be provided for lifting chemical containers to 
minimize excessive lifting by operators.  

1. Provisions shall be made for disposing of empty 
bags, drums, carboys, or barrels by an approved procedure 
which will minimize exposure to dusts.  

2. Provisions shall be made for the proper transfer of 
dry chemicals from shipping containers to storage bins or 
hoppers, in such a way as to minimize the quantity of dust 
which may enter the room in which the equipment is 
installed. Control should be provided by use of:  

a. vacuum pneumatic equipment or closed conveyor 
systems;  

b. facilities for emptying shipping containers in 
special enclosures, and/or;  

c. exhaust fans and dust filters.  
3. Provision shall be made for measuring quantities of 

chemicals used to prepare feed solutions.  
N. Housing. Housing of feed equipment shall comply 

with the following. 
1. Floor surfaces shall be smooth and impervious, 

slip-proof and well drained.  
2. Vents from feeders, storage facilities and equipment 

exhaust shall discharge to the outside atmosphere above 
grade and remote from air intakes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§205. Chemicals  
A. Chemical shipping containers shall be fully labeled to 

include:  
1. chemical name, purity and concentration; and  
2. supplier name and address.  

B. Chemicals shall meet the appropriate ANSI/AWWA 
standards and/or be certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 60.  

C. The state health officer may require assay of 
chemicals.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§207. Operator Safety  
A. Special provisions shall be made for ventilation of 

chlorine feed and storage rooms.  
B. Respiratory protection equipment shall: 

1. meet the requirements of the National Institute for 
Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH);  

2. be available where chlorine gas is handled; 
3. shall be stored at a convenient heated location, but 

not be stored inside any room where chlorine is used or 
stored; and 

4. if compressed air is used shall have at least a 30 
minute capacity. 

C. Leak detection for chlorine gas. A bottle of 
concentrated ammonium hydroxide (56 per cent ammonia 
solution) shall be available for chlorine leak detection; 
where ton containers are used, a leak repair kit approved by 
the Chlorine Institute shall be provided. Where pressurized 
chlorine gas is present, continuous chlorine leak detection 
equipment is required and shall be equipped with both an 
audible alarm and a warning light.  

D. Other protective equipment shall be provided as 
follows. 

1. At least one pair of rubber gloves, a dust respirator 
of a type certified by NIOSH for toxic dusts, an apron or 
other protective clothing and goggles or face mask shall be 
provided for each operator on duty.  

2. An appropriate deluge shower and eye washing 
device shall be installed where strong acids and alkalis are 
used or stored. 

3. Other protective equipment should be provided as 
necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§209. Specific Chemicals  
A. Chlorine Gas. Chlorinators should be housed in a 

room separate from but adjacent to the chlorine storage 
room.  

1. Chlorinator rooms should be heated to 60°F, and be 
protected from excessive heat. Cylinders and gas lines 
should be protected from temperatures above that of the feed 
equipment.  
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2. Both the chlorine gas feed and storage rooms 
should be located in a corner of the building on the 
prevailing downwind side of the building and be away from 
entrances, windows, louvers, walkways, etc.  

3. If chlorine gas feed and storage is enclosed, the 
chlorine gas shall be separated from other operating areas. 
Both the feed and storage rooms shall be constructed so as to 
meet the following requirements:  

a. a shatter resistant inspection window shall be 
installed in an interior wall unless secondary containment is 
provided for chlorine gas;  

b. all openings between the rooms and the 
remainder of the plant shall be sealed;  

c. doors shall be equipped with panic hardware, 
assuring ready means of exit and opening outward only to 
the building exterior;  

d. a ventilating fan with a capacity to complete one 
air change per minute when the room is occupied; where this 
is not appropriate due to the size of the room, a lesser rate 
may be considered;  

e. the ventilating fan shall take suction near the 
floor and as great a distance as is practical from the door and 
air inlet, with the point of discharge located so as not to 
contaminate air inlets to any rooms or structures;  

f. air inlets with corrosion resistant louvers shall be 
installed near the ceiling;  

g. air intake and exhaust louvers shall facilitate 
airtight closure;  

h. separate switches for the ventilating fan and for 
the lights shall be located outside and at the inspection 
window. Outside switches must be protected from 
vandalism. A signal light indicating ventilating fan operation 
shall be provided at each entrance when the fan can be 
controlled from more than one point;  

i. vents from chlorinator and storage areas must be 
screened and discharge to the outside atmosphere, above 
grade;  

j. floor drains are discouraged. Where provided, the 
floor drains must discharge to the outside of the building and 
not be connected to other internal or external drainage 
systems; and  

k. provisions should be made to chemically 
neutralize chlorine gas where feed and/or storage is located 
near residential or developed areas in the event of any 
measured chlorine release. The equipment must be sized to 
treat the entire contents of the largest storage container on 
site. 

4. Chlorine gas not stored in a room shall be: 
a. protected from direct sunlight and windblown 

debris; 
b. shielded from public view; 
c. located inside a fenced and secure area; 
d. secured in a fixed position, and 
e. all chlorine pipelines are under vacuum with no 

pressure chlorine lines allowed.  
5. Chlorine gas feed systems shall be of the vacuum 

type and include the following.  
a. vacuum regulators on all individual cylinders in 

service; and 
b. service water to injectors/eductors shall be of 

adequate supply and pressure to operate feed equipment 

within the needed chlorine dosage range for the proposed 
system.  

6. Pressurized chlorine feed lines shall not carry 
chlorine gas beyond the chlorinator room.  

7. Full and empty cylinders of chlorine gas shall meet 
the following requirements:  

a. housed only in the chlorine storage room or 
designated area conforming with §209.A.4 of this Part; 

b. isolated from operating areas; 
c. restrained in position;  
d. stored in locked and/or secure rooms separate 

from ammonia storage; and  
e. protected from direct sunlight or exposure to 

excessive heat.  
B. Acids and Caustics. Acids and caustics shall: 

1. be kept in closed corrosion-resistant shipping 
containers or bulk liquid storage tanks; and  

2. not be handled in open vessels, but should be 
pumped in undiluted form to and from bulk liquid storage 
tanks and covered day tanks or from shipping containers 
through suitable hoses, to the point of treatment.  

C. Sodium chlorite for chlorine dioxide generation. 
Proposals for the storage and use of sodium chlorite shall be 
approved by the state health officer prior to the preparation 
of final plans and specifications. Provisions shall be made 
for proper storage and handling of sodium chlorite to 
eliminate any danger of fire or explosion associated with its 
powerful oxidizing nature.  

1. Storage. The storage of sodium chlorite shall 
comply with the following. 

a. Sodium chlorite shall be stored by itself in a 
separate room and preferably shall be stored in an outside 
building detached from the water treatment facility. It shall 
be stored away from organic materials because many 
materials will catch fire and burn violently when in contact 
with sodium chlorite.  

b. The storage structures shall be constructed of 
noncombustible materials.  

c. If the storage structure shall be located in an area 
where a fire may occur, water shall be available to keep the 
sodium chlorite area cool enough to prevent heat induced 
explosive decomposition of the sodium chlorite.  

2. Handling. The criteria for handling of sodium 
chlorite is as follows. 

a. Care should be taken to prevent spillage.  
b. An emergency plan of operation should be 

available for the clean-up of any spillage.  
c. Storage drums shall be thoroughly flushed to an 

acceptable drain prior to recycling or disposal.  
3. Feeders. Feeders shall comply with the following 

requirements.  
a. Positive displacement feeders shall be provided.  
b. Tubing for conveying sodium chlorite or chlorine 

dioxide solutions shall be Type 1 PVC, polyethylene or 
materials recommended by the manufacturer.  

c. Chemical feeders may be installed in chlorine 
rooms if sufficient space is provided or in separate rooms 
meeting the requirements of §209.A.3 of this Part.  

d. Feed lines shall be installed in a manner to 
prevent formation of gas pockets and shall terminate at a 
point of positive pressure.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2426

e. Check valves shall be provided to prevent the 
backflow of chlorine into the sodium chlorite line.  

D. Sodium Hypochlorite. Sodium hypochlorite storage 
and handling procedures should be arranged to minimize the 
slow natural decomposition process of sodium hypochlorite 
either by contamination or by exposure to more extreme 
storage conditions. In addition, feed rates should be 
regularly adjusted to compensate for this progressive loss in 
chlorine content.  

1. Storage. The storage of sodium hypochlorite shall 
comply with the following.  

a. Sodium hypochlorite shall be stored in the 
original shipping containers or in sodium hypochlorite 
compatible bulk liquid storage tanks.  

b. Storage containers or tanks shall be located out of 
the sunlight in a cool area and shall be vented to the outside 
of the building when enclosed.  

c. Wherever reasonably feasible, stored sodium 
hypochlorite shall be pumped undiluted to the point of 
addition. Where dilution is utilized, deionized or softened 
water should be used.  

d. Storage areas, tanks, and pipe work shall be 
designed to avoid the possibility of uncontrolled discharges.  

e. Reusable sodium hypochlorite storage containers 
shall be reserved for use with sodium hypochlorite only and 
shall not be exposed to contamination. 

2. Feeders. Sodium hypochlorite feeders shall comply 
with the following. 

a. Positive displacement pumps with sodium 
hypochlorite compatible materials for wetted surfaces shall 
be used.  

b. To avoid air locking in smaller installations, 
small diameter suction lines shall be used with foot valves 
and degassing pump heads as required.  

c. In larger installations flooded suction shall be 
used with pipe work arranged to ease escape of gas bubbles.  

d. Calibration tubes or mass flow monitors which 
allow for direct physical checking of actual feed rates shall 
be provided.  

e. Injectors shall be made removable for regular 
cleaning where hard water is to be treated.  

E. Ammonia. Ammonia for chloramine formation may 
be added to water either as a water solution of ammonium 
sulfate, or as aqua ammonia, or as anhydrous ammonia 
(purified 100 percent ammonia in liquid or gaseous form). 
Special provisions required for each form of ammonia are 
listed below.  

1. Ammonium Sulfate. A water solution is made by 
addition of ammonium sulfate solid to water with agitation. 
The tank and dosing equipment contact surfaces should be 
made of corrosion resistant non-metallic materials. Provision 
should be made for removal of the agitator after dissolving 
the solid. The tank should be fitted with an air-tight lid and 
vented outdoors. The application point should be at the 
center of treated water flow at a location where there is high 
velocity movement.  

2. Aqua Ammonia (ammonium hydroxide). When the 
exception criteria in §209.E.2.i of this Part is not met, Aqua 
ammonia feed pumps and storage shall be enclosed and 
separated from other operating areas. The aqua ammonia 
room shall conform to §209.A.3 of this Part and to the 
following:  

a. corrosion resistant, closed, pressurized tank shall 
be used for bulk liquid storage and day tanks, vented through 
inert liquid traps to a high point outside; 

b. an incompatible connector or lockout provisions 
shall be provided to prevent accidental addition of other 
chemicals to the bulk liquid storage tank(s); 

c. the bulk liquid storage tank(s) should be designed 
to avoid conditions where temperature increases cause the 
ammonia vapor pressure over the aqua ammonia to exceed 
atmospheric pressure. Such provisions shall include either:  
 i. refrigeration or other means of external 
cooling, and/or;  
 ii. dilution and mixing of the contents with water 
without opening the bulk liquid storage tank.  

d. An exhaust fan shall be installed to withdraw air 
from high points in the room and makeup air shall be 
allowed to enter at a low point.  

e. The aqua ammonia feed pump, regulators, and 
lines shall be fitted with pressure relief vents discharging 
outside the building away from any air intake and with water 
purge lines leading back to the headspace of the bulk storage 
tank.  

f. The application point should be placed in a 
region of rapid, preferably turbulent, water flow.  

g. Provisions should be made for easy access for 
removal of calcium scale deposits from the injector.  

h. Provision of a modestly-sized scrubber capable 
of handling occasional minor emissions should be 
considered.  

i. An exception to the requirement for enclosing 
aqua ammonia shall be made when aqua ammonia is stored 
in a manner which satisfies all of the following criteria: 
 i. protection is provided from direct sunlight and 
windblown debris; 
 ii. shielded from public view; 
 iii. located inside a fenced and secured area, and  
 iv. secured in a fixed position. 

3. Anhydrous Ammonia. Anhydrous ammonia is 
readily available as a pure liquefied gas under moderate 
pressure in cylinders or as a cryogenic liquid boiling at -15° 
Celsius at atmospheric pressure. The liquid causes severe 
burns on skin contact.  

a. When the exception criteria in §209.E.3.i of this 
Part is not met, anhydrous ammonia storage and feed 
systems (including heaters where required) shall be enclosed 
and separated from other works areas and constructed of 
corrosion resistant materials. Bulk anhydrous ammonia 
storage tanks holding more than 500 gallons shall not be 
located in an enclosed area. 

b. An emergency air exhaust system, as in §209.A.3 
of this Part but with an elevated intake, shall be provided in 
the ammonia storage room. 

c. Leak detection systems shall be provided in all 
areas through which ammonia is piped.  

d. Special vacuum breaker/regulator provisions 
must be made to avoid potentially violent results of 
backflow of water into cylinders or storage tanks.  

e. Carrier water systems of soft or pre-softened 
water may be used to transport ammonia to the application 
point and to assist in mixing.  

f. The ammonia injector should use a vacuum 
eductor or should consist of a perforated tube fitted with a 
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closely fitting flexible rubber tubing seal punctured with a 
number of small slits to delay fouling by lime or other scale 
deposits.  

g. Provision should be made for the periodic 
removal of lime or other scale deposits from injectors and 
carrier piping.  

h. Consideration should be given to the provision of 
an emergency gas scrubber capable of absorbing the entire 
contents of the largest anhydrous ammonia storage unit 
whenever there is a risk to the public as a result of potential 
ammonia leaks.  

i. Anhydrous ammonia storage not enclosed in a 
room shall be stored per the following criteria: 
 i. protection is provided from direct sunlight and 
windblown debris; 
 ii. shielded from public view; 
 iii. located inside a fenced and secured area, and 
 iv. secured in a fixed position. 

F. Potassium Permanganate. Design criteria for 
potassium permanganate is as follows. 

1. A source of heated water should be available for 
dissolving potassium permanganate, and  

2. mechanical mixers shall be provided.  
G. Fluoride. Sodium fluoride, sodium silicofluoride and 

fluorosilicic acid shall conform to the applicable AWWA 
Standards and be certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 60. Other 
fluoride compounds which may be available shall be 
approved by the state health officer.  

1. Storage. Design criteria for storage of fluoride 
compounds is as follows.  

a. Fluoride chemicals should be isolated from other 
chemicals to prevent contamination.  

b. Compounds shall be stored in covered or 
unopened shipping containers and should be stored inside a 
building.  

c. Unsealed storage units for fluorosilicic acid 
should be vented to the atmosphere at a point outside any 
building. The vents to atmosphere shall be provided with a 
corrosion resistant 24 mesh screen.  

d. Bags, fiber drums and steel drums should be 
stored on pallets.  

2. Chemical Feed Equipment and Methods. Design 
criteria for chemical feed and methods for fluoride 
compounds is as follows.  

a. At least two diaphragm operated anti-siphon 
devices shall be provided on all fluoride saturator or 
fluorosilicic acid feed systems.  
 i. one diaphragm operated anti-siphon device 
shall be located on the discharge side of the feed pump; and  
 ii. a second diaphragm operated anti-siphon 
device shall be located at the point of application unless a 
suitable air gap is provided.  

b. A physical break box may be required in high 
hazard situations where the application point is substantially 
lower than the metering pump. In this situation, either a dual 
head feed pump or two separate pumps are required and the 
anti-siphon device at the discharge side of the pump may be 
omitted.  

c. Scales, loss-of-weight recorders or liquid level 
indicators, as appropriate, accurate to within five percent of 
the average daily change in reading shall be provided for 
chemical feeds.  

d. Feeders shall be accurate to within five percent of 
any desired feed rate.  

e. Fluoride compound shall not be added before 
lime-soda softening or ion exchange softening.  

f. The point of application if into a horizontal pipe, 
shall be in the lower half of the pipe, preferably at a 45 
degree angle from the bottom of the pipe and protrude into 
the pipe one third of the pipe diameter.  

g. Except for constant flow systems, a device to 
measure the flow of water to be treated is required.  

h. Water used for sodium fluoride dissolution shall 
be softened if hardness exceeds 75 mg/L as calcium 
carbonate.  

i. Fluoride solutions shall be injected at a point of 
continuous positive pressure unless a suitable air gap is 
provided.  

j. The electrical outlet used for the fluoride feed 
pump should have a nonstandard receptacle and shall be 
interconnected with the well or service pump, or have flow 
pacing as allowed by the state health officer,  

k. Saturators should be of the upflow type and be 
provided with a meter and backflow protection on the 
makeup water line.  

l. Consideration shall be given to providing a 
separate room for fluorosilicic acid storage and feed. 

3. Secondary control systems for fluoride chemical 
feed devices shall be provided as a means of reducing the 
possibility for overfeed; these may include flow or pressure 
switches, break boxes, or other devices.  

4. Personal protective equipment as outlined in 
§207.D of this Part shall be provided for operators handling 
fluoride compounds. Deluge showers and eye wash devices 
shall be provided at all fluorosilicic acid installations.  

5. Dust control requirements are as follows.  
a. Provision shall be made for the transfer of dry 

fluoride compounds from shipping containers to storage bins 
or hoppers in such a way as to minimize the quantity of 
fluoride dust which may enter the room in which the 
equipment is installed. The enclosure shall be provided with 
an exhaust fan and dust filter which places the hopper under 
a negative pressure. Air exhausted from fluoride handling 
equipment shall discharge through a dust filter to the outside 
atmosphere of the building.  

b. Provision shall be made for disposing of empty 
bags, drums or barrels in a manner which will minimize 
exposure to fluoride dusts. A floor drain should be provided 
to facilitate the washing of floors.  

6. Equipment shall be provided for measuring the 
quantity of fluoride in the water. Such equipment shall be 
subject to the approval of the state health officer.  

H. Activated carbon is a potentially combustible material 
requiring isolated storage.  

1. Storage facilities should be: 
a. fire proof; and 
b. equipped with explosion-proof electrical outlets, 

lights and motors in areas of dry handling.  
2. Bags of powdered carbon should be stacked in rows 

with aisles between in such a manner that each bag is 
accessible for removal in case of fire. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter B. Pumping Facilities 
§211. General 

A. Pumping facilities shall be designed to maintain the 
sanitary quality of pumped water. 

B. Subsurface pits or pump rooms and inaccessible 
installations should be avoided. 

C. No pumping station shall be subject to flooding, 
unless critical components are protected from damage or 
contamination by inundation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§213. Site Protection 
A. The station’s critical components that could be 

damaged or contaminated by inundation shall be: 
1. elevated to a minimum of two foot above the 100-

year flood elevation, or protected to such elevations 
including the use of a levee system; 

2. readily accessible at all times unless permitted to be 
out of service for the period of inaccessibility; 

3. graded around the station so as to lead surface 
drainage away from the station; 

4. protected to prevent vandalism and entrance by 
animals or unauthorized persons. The pump station should 
be located within a secure area such as a locked building or 
fenced area; 

5. labeled such that the pumps and valves in the 
station are tagged to correspond to the maintenance record 
and for proper identification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§215. Pumping Stations 
A. Both raw and finished water pumping stations shall: 

1. be of durable construction, fire and weather 
resistant; 

2. have any underground structure waterproofed 
3. have all floors slope to a suitable drain in such a 

manner that the quality of the potable water will not be 
endangered; 

4. provide a suitable outlet for drainage without 
allowing discharge across the floor, including pumping 
glands, vacuum air relief valves, etc. 

B. A suction well is a component(s) designed to facilitate 
the suction of water by way of pump excluding intake 
structures, ground storage tanks and clearwells. Suction 
wells shall:  

1. be watertight; 
2. have floors sloped to permit removal of water and 

settled solids; 
3. be covered or otherwise protected against 

contamination; and  
4. have two pumping compartments or other means to 

allow the suction well to be taken out of service for 
inspection maintenance or repair. 

C. Equipment servicing pump stations shall: 
1. provide adequate facilities or other means for 

servicing or removal of pumps, motors or other heavy 
equipment; and 

2. have openings in floors, roofs or wherever else 
needed for removal of heavy or bulky equipment. 

D. Stairways or ladders shall: 
1. be provided between all floors, and in dry pits or 

compartments which must be entered; and 
2.  conform to the applicable requirements of the 

state and local building codes. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§217. Pumps 
A. Where necessary to meet minimum system 

requirements such as pressure, at least two pumping units 
shall be provided. With any pump out of service, the 
remaining pump or pumps shall be capable of providing the 
maximum design capacity of that station.  

B. The pumping units shall: 
1. have ample capacity to supply the peak demand 

against the required distribution system pressure without 
dangerous overloading; 

2. be driven by prime movers able to meet the 
maximum horsepower condition of the pumps; 

3. be provided with readily available spare parts and 
tools; 

4. be served by control equipment that has proper 
heater and overload protection for air temperature 
encountered. 

C. Prime water must not be of lesser sanitary quality 
than that of the water being pumped. Means shall be 
provided to prevent either backpressure or backsiphonage 
backflow. When an air-operated ejector is used, the screened 
intake shall draw clean air from a point at least 10 feet above 
the ground or other source of possible contamination, unless 
the air is filtered by an apparatus approved by the state 
health officer. Vacuum priming may be used. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§219. Booster Pumps 
A. Booster pumps shall be located or controlled so that: 

1. they will not produce negative pressure in their 
suction lines; 

2. pumps taking suction from storage tanks shall be 
provided adequate net positive suction head; 

3. pumps taking suction from ground storage tanks 
shall be equipped with automatic shutoffs or low pressure 
controllers as recommended by the pump manufacturer; 

4. automatic or remote control devices shall have a 
range between the start and cutoff pressure which will 
prevent excessive cycling; and 

5. a bypass is available. 
B. Inline Booster Pumps. In addition to the other 

requirements of this section, inline booster pumps shall: 
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1. be accessible for servicing and repairs; 
2. maintain inlet pressure installed in the distribution 

system as required in §237.A of this Part under all operating 
conditions; 

3. maintain at least 20 psig (140 kPa) in the suction 
line under all operating conditions with automatic shutoff or 
low pressure controller, unless otherwise acceptable to the 
state health officer; and 

4. have a bypass. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§221. Automatic and Remote Controlled Stations 
A. All automatic stations shall: 

1. be provided with automatic signaling apparatus 
which will report when the station is out of service; and 

2. be electrically operated and controlled and shall 
have signaling apparatus of proven performance if remotely 
controlled. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§223. Appurtenances 
A. Valves. Each pump shall have: 

1. an isolation valve on the intake and discharge side 
of the pump to permit satisfactory operation, maintenance 
and repair of the equipment;  

2. a positive-acting check valve on the discharge side 
between the pump and the shut-off valve;  

a. If foot valves are necessary, they shall have a net 
valve area of at least 2 1/2 times the area of the suction pipe 
and they shall be screened.  

b. Surge relief valves or slow acting check valves if 
used shall be designed to minimize hydraulic transients. 

B. Piping. In general, piping shall: 
1. be designed so that the friction losses will be 

minimized; 
2. not be subject to contamination; 
3. have watertight joints; 
4. be protected against surge or water hammer and 

provided with suitable restraints where necessary; and 
5. be designed such that each pump has an individual 

suction line or that the lines shall be so manifolded that they 
will insure similar hydraulic and operating conditions. 

C. Gauges and Meters. The station shall have a flow rate 
indicator and totalizing meter, and a method of recording the 
total water pumped and station water pressure. Each pump: 

1. shall have a standard pressure gauge on its 
discharge line; 

2. shall have a compound gauge on its suction line; 
D. Water Seals. Water seals shall not be supplied with 

water of a lesser sanitary quality than that of the water being 
pumped. Where pumps are sealed with potable water and are 
pumping water of lesser sanitary quality, the seal shall: 

1. be provided with either an approved reduced 
pressure principle backflow preventer or a break tank open 
to atmospheric pressure; and 

2. where a break tank is provided, have an air gap of 
at least six inches or two pipe diameters, whichever is 
greater, between the feeder line and the flood rim of the tank. 

E. Controls. Pumps, their prime movers and accessories, 
shall be controlled in such a manner that they will operate at 
rated capacity without dangerous overload. Where two or 
more pumps are installed, provisions shall be made for 
alternations.  

1. Motors shall be equipped with a non-reversing 
ratchet or other mechanical means to prevent backspin. If 
mechanical means are not provided, provisions shall be 
made to prevent energizing the motor in the event of a 
backspin cycle. 

2. Electrical controls shall be located at least two feet 
above the 100-year flood elevation, but in no case less than 
two feet above the ground surface. 

3. Equipment shall be provided or other arrangements 
made to prevent surge pressures from activating controls 
which switch on pumps or activate other equipment outside 
the normal design cycle of operation. 

F. Standby Power. To ensure continuous service when 
the primary power has been interrupted, a power supply 
shall be provided from a standby or auxiliary source where 
necessary to maintain minimum 20 psig pressure throughout 
the system based on systems average hourly demand during 
the peak annual day. 

1. If standby power is provided by onsite generators 
or engines, the fuel storage: 

a. shall have a minimum supply of 72 hours; and  
b. the fuel line must be designed to protect the 

water supply from contamination (see §137). 
G. When automatic pre-lubrication of pump bearings is 

necessary and an auxiliary power supply is provided, design 
shall assure that pre-lubrication is provided when auxiliary 
power is in use, or that bearings can be lubricated manually 
before the pump is started. 

H. All oil or grease lubricants which come into contact 
with the potable water shall be listed in NSF/ANSI Standard 
60. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter C. Finished Water Storage  
§225. General 

A. The materials and designs used for finished water 
storage structures shall provide stability and durability as 
well as protect the quality of the stored water. 

B. Steel structures shall be constructed in accordance 
with the American Water Works Association (AWWA) 
standards, incorporated by reference into these rules (see 
§277 for referenced standards) concerning steel tanks, 
standpipes, reservoirs, and elevated tanks wherever they are 
applicable. Other materials of construction are acceptable 
when properly designed to meet the requirements of this 
Subchapter. 

C. Sizing. The following criteria applies to the sizing of 
storage facilities. 

1. Storage facilities should have sufficient capacity, as 
determined from engineering studies, to meet domestic
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demands, and where fire protection is provided, fire flow 
demands. 

2. The minimum storage capacity (or equivalent 
capacity) for systems not providing fire protection shall be 
equal to the average daily consumption.  

a. This requirement may be reduced when the 
source and treatment facilities have sufficient capacity with 
standby power to supplement peak demands of the system.  

3. Excessive storage capacity should be avoided to 
prevent potential water quality deterioration problems. 

D. Location of Reservoirs. The following criteria applies 
to the location of reservoirs. 

1. Ground level reservoirs shall be protected from 
contamination to a point two feet above the 100-year flood 
elevation requirements and from groundwater infiltration. 
Sewers, drains, standing water, and similar sources of 
possible contamination must be kept at least 50 feet from the 
reservoir. Gravity sewers constructed of water main quality 
pipe, pressure tested in place without leakage, may be used 
at distances greater than 20 feet but less than 50 feet. 

2. The bottom of ground level reservoirs and 
standpipes should be placed at the normal ground surface. If 
the bottom of a storage reservoir shall be below the normal 
ground surface, at least 50 percent of the water depth must 
be above grade.  

3. The top of a partially buried storage structure shall 
not be less than two feet above normal ground surface. 
Clearwells constructed under filters may be exempted from 
this requirement when the design provides adequate 
protection from contamination.  

E. Protection from Contamination. All finished water 
storage structures shall have suitable watertight roofs which 
exclude birds, animals, insects, and excessive dust. The 
installation of appurtenances, such as antenna, shall be done 
in a manner that ensures no damage to the tank, coatings or 
water quality, or corrects any damage that occurred.  

F. Protection from Trespassers. Fencing, locks on access 
manholes, and other necessary precautions shall be provided 
to prevent trespassing, vandalism, and sabotage. 
Consideration should be given to the installation of high 
strength, cut resistant locks or lock covers to prevent direct 
cutting of a lock.  

G. Drains. No drain on a water storage structure may 
have a direct connection to a sewer or storm drain. The 
design shall allow draining the storage facility for cleaning 
or maintenance without causing loss of pressure in the 
distribution system.  

H. Stored Water Age. Finished water storage designed to 
facilitate fire flow requirements and meet average daily 
consumption shall be designed to minimize stagnation 
and/or stored water age.  

1. Consideration shall be given to separate inlet and 
outlet pipes, mechanical or similar mixing, or other 
acceptable means to prevent poor water circulation and long 
detention times that can lead to loss of disinfectant residual, 
microbial growth, formation of disinfectant byproducts, taste 
and odor problems, and other water quality problems.  

I. Overflow. Water storage structure overflow shall 
comply with the following. 

1. All water storage structures shall be provided with 
an overflow which is brought down to an elevation between 
12 and 24 inches above the ground surface, and discharges 
over a drainage inlet structure or a splash plate. No overflow 
may be connected directly to a sewer or a storm drain. All 
overflow pipes shall be located so that any discharge is 
visible. 

2. Certain pre-stressed concrete tanks having an 
overflow opening installed on the top or side of the tank 
shall not be required to have an internal overflow pipe as 
long as each opening is covered with an “eyelid” that 
prevents contamination of the water in the tank. The 
discharge from such overflow openings shall still be required 
to discharge over a splash plate large enough to prevent 
erosion of the tank’s foundation or any other support 
structures. Caution shall be taken to ensure that any 
overflow down the outside of the tank will not affect 
electrical or cause other safety concerns. 

a. When an internal overflow pipe is used on 
elevated tanks, it should be located in the access tube. For 
vertical drops on other types of storage facilities, the 
overflow pipe should be located on the outside of the 
structure. 

b. The overflow for a ground-level storage reservoir 
shall open downward and be screened with twenty- four 
mesh non-corrodible screen. The screen shall be installed 
within the overflow pipe at a location least susceptible to 
damage by vandalism. 

c. The overflow for an elevated tank shall open 
downward and be screened with a four mesh, non- 
corrodible screen to keep out animals or insects. The screen 
should be installed within the overflow pipe at a location 
least susceptible to damage by vandalism. 

d. The overflow pipe shall be of sufficient diameter 
to permit waste of water in excess of the filling rate. 

J. Access. Finished water storage structures shall be 
designed with reasonably convenient access to the interior 
for cleaning and maintenance. At least two (2) manholes 
shall be provided above the waterline at each water 
compartment where space permits.  

1. Elevated Storage or Dome Roof Structures shall 
comply with the following. 

a. At least one of the access manholes shall be 
framed at least four inches above the surface of the roof at 
the opening. They shall be fitted with a solid water tight 
cover which overlaps the framed opening and extends down 
around the frame at least two inches, shall be hinged on one 
side, and shall have a locking device.  

b. All other manholes or access ways shall be bolted 
and gasketed according to the requirements of the state 
health officer, or shall meet the requirements of 
Subparagraph a of this Paragraph.  

2.  Ground Level or Flat Roof Structures shall comply 
with the following. 

a. Each manhole shall be elevated at least 24 inches 
above the top of the tank or the finished grade of the 
surrounding ground, whichever is higher.  

b. Each manhole shall be fitted with a solid water 
tight cover which overlaps a framed opening and extends
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down around the frame at least two inches. The frame shall 
be at least four inches high. Each cover shall be hinged on 
one side, and shall have a locking device.  

K. Vents. Finished water storage structures shall be 
vented. The overflow pipe shall not be considered a vent. 
Open construction between the sidewall and roof is not 
permissible. The vents: 

1. shall prevent the entrance of surface water and 
rainwater; 

2. shall exclude birds and animals; 
3. should exclude insects and dust, as much as this 

function can be made compatible with effective venting; 
4. shall, on ground-level structures, open downward 

with the opening at least 24 inches above the roof and be 
covered with twenty-four mesh non-corrodible screen. The 
screen shall be installed within the pipe at a location least 
susceptible to vandalism; 

5. shall, on ground storage tanks, open downward 
with the opening at least 24 inches above the finished grade 
of the surrounding ground and be covered with twenty-four 
mesh non-corrodible screen. The screen shall be installed 
within the pipe at a location least susceptible to vandalism; 
and 

6. shall, on elevated tanks and standpipes, open 
downward, and be fitted with either four mesh non-
corrodible screen, or with finer mesh non-corrodible screen 
in combination with an automatically resetting pressure-
vacuum relief mechanism, as required by the state health 
officer. 

L. Roof and Sidewalls. The roof and sidewalls of all 
water storage structures shall be watertight with no openings 
except properly constructed vents, manholes, overflows, 
risers, drains, pump mountings, control ports, or piping for 
inflow and outflow. Particular attention shall be given to the 
sealing of roof structures which are not integral to the tank 
body.  

1. Any pipes running through the roof or sidewall of a 
metal storage structure must be welded, or properly 
gasketed. In concrete tanks, these pipes shall be connected to 
standard wall castings which were poured in place during the 
forming of the concrete. These wall castings should have 
seepage rings imbedded in the concrete.  

2. Openings in the roof of a storage structure designed 
to accommodate control apparatus or pump columns, shall 
be curbed and sleeved with proper additional shielding to 
prevent contamination from surface or floor drainage.  

3. Valves and controls should be located outside the 
storage structure so that the valve stems and similar 
projections will not pass through the roof or top of the 
reservoir.  

4. The roof of the storage structure shall be well 
drained. Downspout pipes shall not enter or pass through the 
reservoir. Parapets, or similar construction which would tend 
to hold water and snow on the roof, will not be approved 
unless adequate waterproofing and drainage are provided.  

5. The roof of concrete reservoirs with earthen cover 
shall be sloped to facilitate drainage. Consideration should 
be given to installation of an impermeable membrane roof 
covering.  

6. Reservoirs with pre-cast concrete roof structures 
must be made watertight with the use of a waterproof 
membrane or similar product.  

M. The material used in construction of reservoirs shall 
be acceptable to the state health officer. Porous material, 
including wood and concrete block, are not suitable for 
potable water contact applications.  

N. Safety must be considered in the design of the storage 
structure. The design shall conform to applicable laws and 
regulations of the area where the water storage structure is 
constructed. 

1. Ladders, ladder guards, balcony railings, and safely 
located entrance hatches shall be provided where applicable. 

2. Elevated tanks with riser pipes over eight inches in 
diameter shall have protective bars over the riser openings 
inside the tank. 

3. Confined space entry requirements shall be 
considered. 

O. Freezing. Finished water storage structures and their 
appurtenances, especially the riser pipes, overflows, and 
vents, shall be designed to prevent freezing which will 
interfere with proper functioning.  

1. Equipment used for freeze protection that will come 
into contact with the potable water shall meet NSF/ANSI 
Standard 61 or be approved by the state health officer. 

2. If a water circulation system is used, it is 
recommended that the circulation pipe be located separately 
from the riser pipe.  

P. Internal Catwalk. Every catwalk over finished water 
in a storage structure shall have a solid floor with sealed 
raised edges, designed to prevent contamination from shoe 
scrapings and dirt. 

Q. Silt Stop. The discharge pipes from water storage 
structures shall be located in a manner that will prevent the 
flow of sediment into the distribution system. Removable silt 
stops should be provided.  

R. Grading. The area surrounding a ground-level 
structure shall be graded in a manner that will prevent 
surface water from standing within 50 feet of it.  

S. Painting and/or cathodic protection. Proper protection 
shall be given to metal surfaces by paints or other protective 
coatings, by cathodic protective devices, or by both. 

1. Paint systems shall meet NSF/ANSI Standard 61 
and be acceptable to the state health officer. Interior paint 
must be applied, cured, and used in a manner consistent with 
the NSF/ANSI approval. After curing, the coating shall not 
transfer any substance to the water which will be toxic or 
cause taste or odor problems. Prior to placing in service, an 
analysis for volatile organic compounds is advisable to 
establish that the coating is properly cured. Consideration 
should be given to 100 percent solids coatings.  

2. Wax coatings for the tank interior shall not be used 
on new tanks or in the rehabilitation of existing tanks. Old 
wax coating must be completely removed before using 
another tank coating.  

3. Cathodic protection should be designed and 
installed by competent technical personnel, and a 
maintenance contract should be provided. 

T. Disinfection. Finished water storage structures shall 
be disinfected in accordance with AWWA Standard C652-11 
(see Table 277). 

1. If bacteriological testing for coliform organisms is 
negative and chlorine residuals are at acceptable distribution 
system levels, the storage tank may be placed into service. If 
such testing shows the presence of coliform bacteria, the 
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tank cannot be placed into service and repeat samples shall 
be taken until two consecutive samples, taken at 24-hour 
intervals, are negative. The tank shall not be placed into 
service until the sample results are satisfactory.  

2. Disposal of heavily chlorinated water from the tank 
disinfection process shall be in accordance with Paragraph 
4.3.5.1 of AWWA Standard C652-11 or in accordance with 
the requirements of the Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality (LDEQ) or other state or federal 
authorities, whichever is stricter. 

U. Smooth-nosed sampling tap(s) or similar non-
threaded stainless steel sampling taps shall be provided to 
facilitate collection of water samples for both bacteriological 
and chemical analyses. The sample tap(s) shall be easily 
accessible.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§227. Treatment Plant Storage 
A. The applicable design standards of §225 shall be 

followed for plant storage. 
B. Filter Washwater Tanks. Filter washwater tanks shall 

be sized, in conjunction with available pump units and 
finished water storage, to provide the backwash water 
required by §177.A.10 of this Part. Consideration shall be 
given to the backwashing of several filters in rapid 
succession. 

C. Clearwell. Clearwell storage should be sized, in 
conjunction with distribution system storage, to relieve the 
filters from having to follow fluctuations in water use.  

1. When finished water storage is used to provide 
disinfectant contact time (see §179.C) special attention shall 
be given to tank size and baffling (see §227.C.2) 

2. To ensure adequate disinfectant contact time, sizing 
of the clearwell should include extra volume to 
accommodate depletion of storage during the nighttime for 
intermittently operated filtration plants with automatic high 
service pumping from the clearwell during non-treatment 
hours. 

3. An overflow and vent shall be provided. 
a. A minimum of two clearwell compartments shall 

be provided.  
D. Finished or treated water must not be stored or 

conveyed in a compartment adjacent to untreated or partially 
treated water when the two compartments are separated by a 
single wall, unless approved by the state health officer.  

E. Unless otherwise allowed by the state health officer, 
other treatment plant storage tanks/basins such as detention 
basins, backwash reclaim tanks, receiving basins and pump 
wet-wells for finished water shall be designed as finished 
water storage structures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§229. Hydropneumatic Tank Systems 
A. Pressure tanks shall meet ASME code requirements or 

an alternative approved by the state health officer. Any 
alternative must be rated to at least 1.5 times the maximum 
discharge pressure of the pump.  

B. Location. The tank shall be located above normal 
ground surface.  

C. System Sizing. The following criteria applies to the 
sizing of hydropneumatic systems. 

1. The capacity of the wells and pumps in a 
hydropneumatic system shall be at least five times the 
average daily demand expressed in gallons per minute. 

2. The gross volume of the hydropneumatic tank, in 
gallons, shall be at least ten times the capacity of the largest 
pump, rated in gallons per minute. For example, a 250 gpm 
pump shall be a minimum of 2,500 gallon pressure tank, 
unless other measures (e.g., variable speed drives in 
conjunction with the pump motors) are provided to meet the 
maximum demand. 

3. Sizing of hydropneumatic storage tanks must 
consider the need for disinfectant contact time.  

D. The hydropneumatic tank(s) shall have bypass piping 
to permit operation of the system while the tank is being 
repaired or painted.  

E. Appurtenances. Each tank shall have an access 
manhole, a drain, and control equipment consisting of a 
pressure gauge, water sight glass, automatic or manual air 
blow-off, means for adding air, and pressure operated start-
stop controls for the pumps.  

1. A pressure relief valve shall be installed and be 
capable of handling the full pumpage rate of flow at the 
pressure vessel design limit.  

2. Where practical the access manhole should be 24 
inches in diameter. The water sight glass shall not be 
mandatory if an automated control to maintain the proper 
water-to-air ratio in the tank is provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§231. Distribution System Storage 
A. The applicable design standards of §225 of this Part 

shall be followed for distribution system storage. 
B. Pressures. The maximum variation between high and 

low levels in storage structures providing pressure to a 
distribution system should not exceed 30 feet. The minimum 
working pressure in the distribution system shall be 20 psi 
gauge and the normal working pressure should be 
approximately 60 to 80 psi gauge. When static pressures 
exceed 100 psi gauge, pressure reducing devices shall be 
provided on mains or as part of the meter setting on 
individual service lines in the distribution system.  

C. Drainage. Finished water storage structures which 
provide pressure directly to the distribution system shall be 
designed so they can be isolated from the distribution system 
and drained for cleaning or maintenance without causing a 
loss of pressure in the distribution system. The storage 
structure drain shall discharge to the ground surface with no 
direct connection to a sewer or storm drain.  

D. Level Controls. Adequate controls shall be provided 
to maintain levels in distribution system storage structures. 
Level indicating devices should be provided at a central 
location. 

1. Pumps should be controlled from tank levels with 
the signal transmitted by telemetering equipment when any 
appreciable head loss occurs in the distribution system 
between the source and the storage structure. 
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2. Altitude valves or equivalent controls may be 
required for second and subsequent structures on the system. 

3. Overflow and low-level warnings or alarms should 
be located where they will be under responsible surveillance 
24 hours a day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter D. Distribution System Piping and 
Appurtenances 

§233. General 
A. All potable water distribution systems shall be 

designed, constructed, and maintained so as to prevent 
leakage of water due to defective materials, improper 
jointing, corrosion, settling, impacts, freezing, or other 
causes.  

B. Valves and blow-offs shall be provided so that 
necessary repairs can be made with a minimum interruption 
of service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§235. Materials 
A. Standard and Material Selection. Standard and 

material selection shall comply with the following. 
1. Any solder or flux which is used in the installation 

or repair of any public water system or any plumbing in a 
residential or nonresidential facility providing water for 
human consumption shall be lead free (i.e., shall not contain 
more than 0.2 percent lead).  

2. Any pipe, pipe fitting, plumbing fitting, fixture, and 
any other appurtenance which is used in the installation or 
repair of any public water system or any plumbing in a 
residential or nonresidential facility providing water for 
human consumption shall be lead free (i.e., shall not contain 
more than a weighted average of 0.25 percent lead when 
used with respect to the wetted surfaces of pipes, pipe 
fittings, plumbing fittings, fixtures, and any other 
appurtenances). 

3. The lead free requirements referenced in §235.A.1 
and 2 of this Subchapter shall not apply to: 

a. leaded joints necessary for the repair of existing 
cast iron pipes; 

b. pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing fittings, or fixtures, 
including backflow preventers, that are used exclusively for 
nonpotable services such as manufacturing, industrial 
processing, irrigation, outdoor watering, or any other uses 
where the water is not anticipated to be used for human 
consumption; or, 

c. toilets, bidets, urinals, fill valves, flushometer 
valves, tub fillers, shower valves, fire hydrants, service 
saddles, or water distribution main gate valves that are 2 
inches in diameter or larger. 

B. Water Piping Quality. Quality of the piping materials 
shall comply with the following: 

1. All potable water pipes, pipe related products and 
materials that join or seal pipes and pipe related products 
shall be evaluated and listed as conforming with a national 

consensus product (or material) standard, ASTM, AWWA, 
NSF/ANSI Standard 61, and/or NSF/ANSI 372. 

2. Any solder or flux which is used in the installation 
or repair of any public water system or any plumbing in a 
residential or nonresidential facility providing water for 
human consumption shall be lead free (i.e., shall not contain 
more than 0.2 percent lead). 

3. The lead free requirements referenced in §235.B.2 
of this Subchapter shall not apply to: 

a. leaded joints necessary for the repair of existing 
cast iron pipes; 

b. pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing fittings, or fixtures, 
including backflow preventers, that are used exclusively for 
nonpotable services such as manufacturing, industrial 
processing, irrigation, outdoor watering, or any other uses 
where the water is not anticipated to be used for human 
consumption; or, 

c. toilets, bidets, urinals, fill valves, flushometer 
valves, tub fillers, shower valves, fire hydrants, service 
saddles, or water distribution main gate valves that are 2 
inches in diameter or larger. 

C. Permeation by Organic Compounds. Where 
distribution systems are installed in areas contaminated by 
organic compounds and such organic compounds are 
detected at levels that are known to pose a health risk: 

1. pipe and joint materials which do not allow 
permeation of the organic compounds shall be used; and 

2. non-permeable materials shall be used for all 
portions of the system including hydrant leads and service 
connections. 

D. Used Materials. Water mains which have been used 
for the purpose of conveying potable water may be reused 
provided they meet the materials standard of §235 and have 
been restored substantially to their original condition. 

E. Manufacturer approved transition joints shall be used 
between dissimilar piping materials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§237. Distribution System Design  
A. The system shall be designed to maintain a minimum 

pressure of 20 psig (140 kPa) at ground level at all points in 
the distribution system under all conditions of flow.  

B. The minimum size of water main which provides for 
fire protection and serving fire hydrants shall be six-inch 
diameter. Larger size mains will be required if necessary to 
allow the withdrawal of the required fire flow while 
maintaining the minimum residual pressure specified in 
§237 of this Subchapter. 

C. The minimum size of water main in the distribution 
system where fire protection is not to be provided shall be a 
minimum of 3 inch diameter. Any departure from minimum 
requirements shall be justified by hydraulic analysis and 
future water use, and may be considered only in special 
circumstances. 

D. Dead end mains shall be equipped with a means to 
provide adequate flushing. No flushing device shall be 
directly connected to any sewer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§239. Valves 
A. Valve spacing shall not exceed one mile except for 

transmission mains 24 inches or larger. 
B. Valve spacing shall not exceed five miles for 

transmission mains 24 inches or larger. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§241. Hydrants 
A. Hydrant Leads. The hydrant lead shall be at least as 

large as the hydrant. For new construction and hydrant 
replacement, auxiliary valves shall be installed on all 
hydrant leads.  

B. Hydrant Drainage. Where hydrant drains are not 
plugged, a gravel pocket or dry well shall be provided unless 
the natural soils will provide adequate drainage. 

1. Hydrant drains shall not be connected to sanitary 
sewers or located within 6 feet of sanitary sewers, storm 
sewers, or storm drains and where allowed, shall be above 
the seasonal groundwater table.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§243. Air Relief Valves  
A. At points in water mains where air can significantly 

accumulate provisions shall be made to remove the air by 
means of air relief valves. 

B. When used, the open end of an air relief pipe from 
automatic valves shall be extended to at least one foot above 
grade and provided with a screened, downward-facing 
elbow. 

C. Discharge piping from air relief valves shall not 
connect directly to any storm drain, storm sewer, or sanitary 
sewer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§245. Installation of Water Mains 
A. Specifications for installation of water mains shall 

incorporate the applicable provisions of the AWWA 
standards and/or manufacturer's recommended installation 
procedures including those specifications and requirements 
for bedding, cover and blocking requirements. 

B. Installed pipe shall be pressure tested and leakage 
tested in accordance with the appropriate AWWA Standards. 

C. New, cleaned and repaired water mains shall be 
disinfected in accordance with AWWA Standard C651 
(Disinfecting Water Mains) and are subject to the following 
additional provisions. 

1. Water from new water mains shall not be furnished 
for consumer's use until tests performed by a laboratory 
certified by the state health officer have shown the new 
water mains to be free from contamination by coliform 
bacteria (following EPA approved procedures prescribed in 
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and 
Wastewater, Nineteenth Edition).  

2. After cutting into or repairing existing mains, the 
water shall be tested by a laboratory certified by the state 
health officer for coliform bacteria (following EPA approved 
procedures prescribed in Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Wastewater, Nineteenth Edition) 
to determine the effectiveness of the disinfection procedure 
unless an alternate method is approve by the state health 
officer. If the direction of flow is unknown, then samples 
shall be taken on each side of the main break. If samples are 
E. coli/fecal coliform positive then the state health officer 
shall be notified. If samples are total coliform positive, then 
corrective action must be taken, and daily sampling shall 
continue until two consecutive samples are negative. 

3. Samples shall not be collected from the new 
facilities until such new facilities have been disinfected as 
prescribed herein, and the chlorinated water thoroughly 
flushed from the system until such chlorine measurements 
are no higher than those generally prevailing in the 
distribution system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§247. Separation Distances from Contamination 

Sources 
A. Parallel installation. Water mains shall be laid at least 

6 feet horizontally from any existing or proposed gravity 
sanitary or storm sewer, septic tank, or subsoil treatment 
system. This distance shall be measured edge to edge. 

1. In cases where it is not practical to maintain a 6 
foot separation, the state health officer may allow deviation 
on a case-by-case basis, if supported by data from the design 
engineer. 

B. Crossings. Where water mains cross sewers, either 
above which is the preferred method, or below the sewer: 

1. the water main shall be laid to provide a minimum 
vertical distance of 18 inches between the outside of the 
water main and the outside of the sewer.  

2. there shall be one full length of water pipe so that 
both joints will be as far from the sewer as possible. Special 
structural support for the water and sewer pipes may be 
required by the state health officer. 

C. Exception. When it is impossible to obtain the 
minimum specified separation distances, the state health 
officer shall specifically approve any variance from the 
requirements of §247.A and §247.B of this Subchapter and 
the following methods of installation may be used: 

1. Installation of the water main closer to a sewer, 
provided that the water main is laid in a separate trench or 
on an undisturbed earth shelf located on one side of the 
sewer at such an elevation that the bottom of the water main 
is at least 18 inches above the top of the gravity sewer. 

2. The sewer materials shall be water works grade 150 
psi (1.0 Mpa) pressure rated pipe meeting AWWA standards 
or pipe approved by the state health officer and shall be 
pressure tested to ensure water tightness. 

D. Force Mains. There shall be at least a 6 foot 
horizontal separation between water mains and sanitary 
sewer force mains. This measurement shall be from edge to 
edge. There shall be an 18 inch vertical separation at 
crossings as required in §247 of this Subchapter. 
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E. Sewer Manholes. No water pipe shall pass through or 
come in contact with any part of a sanitary sewer manhole 
and shall be located at least 6 feet from sanitary sewer 
manholes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§249. Surface Water Crossings 
A. Above-water crossings or above-grade piping, if 

present shall be: 
1. adequately supported and anchored;  
2. protected from vandalism;  
3. protected from foreseeable sources of damage; 
4. protected from freezing by water velocity, heating 

trace systems and thermal insulation or other effective 
method; and  

5. shall be placed so as to be accessible for repair or 
replacement.  

B. Underwater crossings if present: 
1. shall have over it a minimum cover of five feet 

unless otherwise approved by the state health officer; and 
2. when crossing water courses which are greater than 

15 feet in width measured at low flow, the following shall be 
provided: 

a. the pipe shall be of special construction, having 
flexible, restrained or welded watertight joints; 

b. valves shall be provided at both ends of water 
crossings within one half mile for less than 24 inch mains or 
within 2.5 miles for 24 inch for larger mains so that the 
section can be isolated for testing or repair; the valves shall 
be easily accessible, and not subject to flooding under 
normal conditions. All other mains, services, taps, hydrants, 
or other devices located inside of the limits of these isolation 
valves shall also have easily accessible isolation valve;  

c. permanent taps or other acceptable means to 
allow the use of a small meter to determine leakage and 
obtain water samples on each side of the valve closest to the 
supply source. Combination taps for both an air relief valve 
and a pressure tap are permissible provided the assemble 
meets the above criteria and the air relief valve can be 
isolated during the testing of the crossing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§251. Interconnections 
A. The approval of the state health officer shall be 

obtained for interconnections between potable water 
supplies.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§253. Water Services and Plumbing 
A. Water services and plumbing shall conform to the 

applicable provisions of the State Uniform Construction 
Code, LAC 17:I. 

B. Where permitted by the water supplier, booster pumps 
that are used to draw water from a water supply distribution 
system or are placed in a system to increase the line 

pressure, shall not reduce the pressure at the customer 
connection to less than 20 psi (pounds per square inch) 
gauge.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§255. Water Loading Stations  
A. Water loading stations present special problems since 

the fill line may be used for filling both potable water 
vessels and other tanks or contaminated vessels. 

B. For the purposes of preventing contamination of both 
the public water supply and any potable water vessels being 
filled, the following shall apply to the use and operation of 
water loading stations: 

1. there shall be no backflow to the public water 
supply; 

2. the piping arrangement shall be such as to prevent 
contamination from a hauling vessel being transferred to 
subsequent station users (see Figure 255); and 

3. any and all portable hoses used for filling of water 
containers or other acceptable water vessels: 

a. shall be fitted with a metal disk at the nozzle of 
the hose to prevent contact of nozzle with ground or floors. 

b. shall be protected from dirt and contamination by 
storage in a tightly enclosed cabinet or acceptable storage 
container when not in use, and 

c. shall be disinfected prior to use. 
 

Figure 255. Acceptable Filling Device for Water Loading Station 

 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Subchapter F. Waste Residuals 
§257. General 

A. All waste discharges shall be in accordance with all 
federal, state and/or local laws and ordinances. The 
requirements provided here shall, therefore, be considered 
minimum requirements as federal, state, and/or local water 
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pollution control authorities may have more stringent 
requirements.  

B. Provisions shall be made for proper disposal of water 
treatment plant wastes such as: 

1. sanitary and laboratory wastes; 
2. clarification sludge; 
3. softening sludge; 
4. iron sludge; 
5. filter backwash water; 
6. backwash sludge; and 
7. brines, including softener and ion exchange 

regeneration wastes and membrane wastes.  
C. Some regulatory agencies consider discharge from 

overflow pipes/outlets as discharge wastes. In locating sewer 
lines and waste disposal facilities, consideration shall be 
given to preventing potential contamination of the water 
supply.  

D. Alternative methods of water treatment and chemical 
use should be considered as a means of reducing waste 
volumes and the associated handling and disposal problems.  

E. Appropriate backflow prevention measures shall be 
provided on waste discharge piping as needed to protect the 
public water supply.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§259. Sanitary Waste  
A. The sanitary waste from water treatment plants, 

pumping stations, and other waterworks installations shall 
receive treatment.  

B. Waste from these facilities shall be discharged 
directly to a sanitary sewer system, when available and 
feasible, or to an adequate on-site waste treatment facility 
approved by the state health officer.  

C. The appropriate federal, state, and local officials 
should be notified when designing treatment facilities to 
ensure that the local sanitary sewer system can accept the 
anticipated wastes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§261. Brine Wastes  
A. Waste from ion exchange, demineralization, and 

membrane plants, or other plants which produce a brine, 
may be disposed of by controlled discharge to a stream if 
adequate dilution is available. The Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality (hereinafter, LDEQ) may establish 
surface water quality requirements including rate of 
discharge and discharge parameters.  

B. Except when discharging to large waterways, a surge 
tank of sufficient size should be provided to allow the brine 
to be discharged over a 24-hour period.  

C. Where discharging to a sanitary sewer, a holding tank 
may be required to prevent the overloading of the sewer 
and/or interference with the waste treatment processes. The 
effect of brine discharge to sewage lagoons may depend on 
the rate of evaporation from the lagoons.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§263. Precipitative Softening Sludge  
A. Sludge from plants using precipitative softening 

varies in quantity and in chemical characteristics depending 
on the softening process and the chemical characteristics of 
the water being softened. Recent studies show that the 
quantity of sludge produced is much larger than indicated by 
stoichiometric calculations. Sludge from plants using 
precipitative softening shall be treated and disposed of as 
follows. 

1. Lagoons. The use of lagoons shall comply with the 
following.  

a. Short term storage lagoons should be designed on 
the basis of 0.7 acres per million gallons per day per 100 
mg/L of hardness removed based on a usable lagoon depth 
of 5 feet. This should provide about 2 1/2 years storage. At 
least 2 but preferably more lagoons shall be provided in 
order to give flexibility in operation. An acceptable means of 
final sludge disposal shall be provided. Provisions shall be 
made for convenient cleaning.  

b. Long term lagoons should have a volume of at 
least four times that for short term storage lagoons.  

c. The design of both short term and long term 
lagoons should provide for:  
 i. location free from flooding;  
 ii. when necessary, dikes, deflecting gutters or 
other means of diverting surface water so that it does not 
flow into the lagoons;  
 iii. a minimum usable depth of 5 feet;  
 iv. adequate freeboard of at least 2 feet;  
 v. adjustable decanting device;  
 vi. effluent sampling point;  
 vii. adequate safety provisions,  
 viii. parallel operation; and  
 ix. subsurface infiltration may be acceptable if 
approved by the appropriate reviewing authority/authorities.  

2. The application of liquid lime or dewatered sludge 
to farm land should be considered as a method of ultimate 
disposal. Approval from the LDEQ shall be obtained if 
required.  

3. Mixing of lime sludge with activated sludge waste 
as a means of co-disposal.  

4. Disposal at a landfill either as a solid or liquid if the 
landfill can accept such waste, depending on LDEQ 
requirements.  

5. Mechanical dewatering of sludge may be 
considered. Pilot studies on a particular plant waste are 
recommended. Mechanical dewatering should be preceded 
by sludge concentration and chemical pre-treatment.  

6. Calcination of sludge may be considered. Pilot 
studies on a particular plant waste are recommended.  

7. Discharge of lime sludge to sanitary sewers should 
be avoided since it may cause both liquid volume and sludge 
volume problems at the sewage treatment plant. This method 
shall be used only when the sewerage system has the 
capability to adequately handle the lime sludge. 

B. Lime sludge drying beds shall not be used as a 
method of treating and/or disposing of sludge.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§265. Alum Sludge  
A. Alum sludge can be discharged to a sanitary sewer. 

However, initiation of this practice shall depend on 
obtaining approval from the owner of the sanitary sewerage 
system as well as from the state health officer before final 
designs are made. 

B. Mechanical concentration may be considered. A pilot 
study is recommended before the design of a mechanical 
dewatering installation.  

C. Freezing changes the nature of alum sludge so that it 
can be used for fill. Acid treatment of sludge for alum 
recovery may be a possible alternative. 

D. Lagoons. Lagooning may be used as a method of 
handling alum sludge. Lagoon size can be calculated using 
total chemicals used plus a factor for turbidity. Lagoons shall 
be designed to produce an effluent satisfactory to the LDEQ 
LPDS.  

1. Lagoons, in addition, should provide for:  
a. a location free from flooding;  
b. where necessary, dikes, deflecting gutters or 

other means of diverting surface water so that it does not 
flow into the lagoon;  

c. a minimum usable depth of 5 feet;  
d. adequate freeboard of at least 2 feet;  
e. adjustable decanting device;  
f. effluent sampling point;  
g. adequate safety provisions, and 
h. a minimum of two cells, each with appropriate 

inlet/outlet structures to facilitate independent 
filling/dewatering operations. Lagoon size can be calculated 
using total chemicals used plus a factor for turbidity.  

E. Mechanical dewatering may be used as a method of 
handling alum sludge.  

1. The successful use of mechanical dewatering 
depends on the characteristics of the alum sludge produced, 
as determined by site specific studies.  

2. Mechanical dewatering shall be preceded by sludge 
concentration and chemical pre- treatment.  

F. Alum sludge may be disposed of by land application 
either alone, or in combination with other wastes where an 
agronomic value has been determined, and disposal has been 
approved by the LDEQ if required.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§267. “Red Water” Waste  
A. Waste filter wash water from iron and manganese 

removal plants shall be properly disposed of in accordance 
with one of the following methods:  

1. Sand Filters. The sand filters should have the 
following features:  

a. Total filter area shall be sufficient to adequately 
dewater applied solids. Unless the filter is small enough to 
be cleaned and returned to service in 1 day, two or more 
cells are required.  

b. The "red water" filter shall have sufficient 
capacity to contain, above the level of the sand, the entire 
volume of wash water produced by washing all of the 
production filters in the plant, unless the production filters 

are washed on a rotating schedule and the flow through the 
production filters is regulated by true rate of flow 
controllers. Then sufficient volume shall be provided to 
properly dispose of the wash water involved.  

c. Sufficient filter surface area should be provided 
so that, during any one filtration cycle, no more than 2 feet 
of backwash water will accumulate over the sand surface.  

d. The filter shall not be subject to flooding by 
surface runoff or flood waters. Finished grade elevation shall 
be established to facilitate maintenance, cleaning and 
removal of surface sand as required. Flash boards or other 
non-watertight devices shall not be used in the construction 
of filter side walls.  

e. The filter media should consist of a minimum of 
12 inches of sand, 3 to 4 inches of supporting small gravel or 
torpedo sand, and 9 inches of gravel in graded layers. All 
sand and gravel should be washed to remove fines.  

f. Filter sand should have an effective size of 0.3 to 
0.5 mm and a uniformity coefficient not to exceed 3.5. The 
use of larger sized sands shall be justified by the designing 
engineer to the satisfaction of the state health officer.  

g. The filter should be provided with an adequate 
under-drainage collection system to permit satisfactory 
discharge of filtrate.  

h. Provision shall be made for the sampling of the 
filter effluent.  

i. Overflow devices from "red water" filters shall 
not be permitted.  

j. Where freezing is a problem, provisions should 
be made for freeze protection for the filters during the winter 
months.  

k. "Red water" filters shall comply with the 
common wall provisions contained in §177 of this Part, 
which pertain to the possibility of contaminating treated 
water with unsafe water.  

l. The state health officer shall be contacted for 
approval of any arrangement wherein a separate structure is 
not provided.  

2. Lagoons. The lagoons shall have the following 
features:  

a. be designed with a volume 10 times the total 
quantity of wash water discharged during any 24-hour 
period;  

b. have a minimum usable depth of 3 feet;  
c. have a length 4 times width, and the width at 

least 3 times the depth, as measured at the operating water 
level;  

d. be designed such that the outlet is located at the 
end opposite the inlet;  

e. have a weir overflow device at the outlet end 
with weir length equal to or greater than depth;  

f. have provisions for the velocity to be dissipated 
at the inlet end; and  

g. subsurface infiltration lagoons shall be 
acceptable only if approved by the appropriate reviewing 
authority/authorities.  

3. Red water can be discharged to a community sewer. 
Approval of this method will depend on obtaining approval 
from the owner of the sewerage system as well as from the 
state health officer before final designs are made.  

a. A surge tank is recommended to prevent 
overloading of the sewers. 
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b. Design shall prevent cross connections.  
c. There shall be no common walls between potable 

and non-potable water compartments.  
4. Red water may be discharged into surface water. 

However, the plant must have an NPDES (National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System) permit or other applicable 
discharge permit from the appropriate regulatory 
authority/authorities to dispose of backwash water into 
surface water.  

5. Recycling of supernatant or filtrate from "red 
water" waste treatment facilities to the head end of an iron 
removal plant shall not be allowed except as approved by the 
state health officer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§269. Waste Filter Wash Water  
A. Backwash water from surface water treatment and 

lime softening plants should have suspended solids reduced 
to a level acceptable to the state health officer before being 
discharged to a backwash reclaim tank and recycled to the 
head of the plant.  

1. The backwash reclaim holding tank shall:  
a. contain the anticipated volume of waste water 

produced by the plant when operating at design capacity;  
b. for plants having two filters, have a holding tank 

that will contain the total waste wash water from both filters 
calculated by using a 15 minute wash at 20 gallons per 
minute per square foot;  

c. for plants having more than two filters, size the 
holding tank appropriately depending on the anticipated 
hours of operation.  

B. Spent filter backwash water, thickener supernatant 
and liquids processes may be allowed by the state health 
officer to be recycled into the head of the plant, provided 
that:  

1. compliance is achieved under the requirements of 
Subchapter G (Filter Backwash Recycling) of Chapter 11 
(Surface Water Treatment Rule) of Part XII of this code;  

2. the recycled water should be returned at a rate of 
less 10 percent of the instantaneous raw water flow rate 
entering the plant;  

3. the recycled water should not be recycled when the 
raw water contains: 

a. excessive algae,  
b. when finished water taste and odor problems are 

encountered, or  
c. when disinfection byproduct levels in the 

distribution system may exceed allowable levels.  
d. Particular attention shall be given to the presence 

of protozoans such as Giardia and Cryptosporidium 

concentrating in the waste water stream;  
4. Water utilities may need to treat filter waste water 

prior to recycling to reduce pathogen population and 
improve coagulation or avoid reclaiming filter wash water 
given the increased risk to treated water quality.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§271. Radioactive Materials  
A. Radioactive materials include, but are not limited to:  

1. granulated activated carbon (GAC) used for radon 
removal; 

2. radium adsorptive filter media;  
3. ion-exchange regeneration waste from radium 

removal;  
4. manganese greensand backwash solids from 

manganese removal systems, 
5. precipitative softening sludges; and 
6. reverse osmosis concentrates where radiological 

constituents are present.  
B. The buildup of radioactive decay products of radon 

shall be considered and adequate shielding, ventilation, and 
other safeguards shall be provided for operators and visitors.  

C. These materials may require disposal as radioactive 
waste in accordance with Nuclear Regulatory Commission 
regulations. Necessary approval shall be obtained from the 
LDEQ prior to disposal of all radioactive wastes if required.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§273. Arsenic Waste Residuals  
A. Arsenic-bearing wastes, including but not limited to, 

filter backwash water and sludge, and adsorptive filter media 
from arsenic treatment facilities may be considered 
hazardous.  

B. Necessary approval from LDEQ must be obtained 
prior to disposal of arsenic residual wastes if required.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§275. Other Approved Methods of Handling Waste  
A. LDH, in coordination with other regulatory agencies 

may review and approve other methods of handling waste 
that are not specifically discussed in this Subchapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§277. Standards Reference Table  
A. This Section contains the particular volume of 

standards or the specific standard with the designation, name 
and the edition of the standards cited within Chapters 1 and 
2 of this Part. The particular designation/edition of the 
standards listed below shall be applied in relation to the 
citation within Chapter 1 and 2 of this Part. 

 

Standard Designation Section/Table 

ACI 350-06, Code Requirements for 
Environmental Engineering Concrete Structures 

179.H.4.a.iv 

ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code - Section 
VIII - Pressure Vessels - 2017 

229.A 

ASTM Volume 01.01 Steel—Piping, Tubing, 
Fittings - June 2017 

235.B.1 

ASTM Volume 01.02 Ferrous Castings, 
Ferroalloys - June 2017 

235.B.1 

ASTM Volume 04.05 Chemical-Resistant 
Nonmetallic Materials; Vitrified Clay Pipe; 
Concrete Pipe; Fiber-Reinforced Cement 
Products; Mortars and Grouts; Masonry; Precast 

235.B.1 
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Standard Designation Section/Table 

Concrete - June 2017 

ASTM Volume 08.04 Plastic Piping Systems - 
June 2017 

235.B.1 

AWWA Full Set Standards – June 2017  

Chemicals 205.B, 209.G 

Disinfection of Wells 151.A, 169.E.9.c 

Disinfection of Water-Storage Facilities 151.A, 225.T, 225.T.2, 
225.T3 

Disinfecting Water Mains 151.A, 245.C 

Granular Activated Carbon 177.A.6.c.iv, 
177.A.6.c.iv.d 

Granular Filter Material 177.A.6 

Pipe and Accessories 235.B.1, 245, 247.C.2 

Water Storage Tanks 225.B 

Water Wells 169.F.2 

EPA Alternative Disinfectants and Oxidants 
Guidance Manual - 1999 

179.I.1 

EPA Ultraviolet Disinfection Guidance Manual 
- 2006 

179.H 

NIOSH 207.B.1, 207.D.1 

NSF/ANSI 60, Drinking Water Treatment 
Chemicals - Health Effects 

169.H.3.c.i, 201.A, 
201.E.1, 205.B, 209.G, 
223.H 

NSF/ANSI 61, Drinking Water System 
Components - Health Effects 

169.H.1.c, 169.H.3.c.i, 
179.I.1.a, 185.A, 
225.O.1, 225.S.1, 
235.B.1 

NSF/ANSI 372, Drinking Water System 
Components - Lead Content 

235.B.1 

Standard Methods for the Examination of Water 
and Wastewater, 19th edition 

179.A, 245.C.1, 
245.C.2 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

§279. Organization Reference Table  
A. The following is a list by name and address of those 

agencies, associations, institutes and other entities that are 
referenced within Chapters 1 and 2 of this Part by name, 
initials or symbols. Further, other organizations may be 
listed, for convenience, whose technical and other services 
are made available as they may relate to the provisions 
contained within Chapters 1 and 2 of this Part. 

 

ANSI American National Standards Institute, Inc.  
25 West 43rd Street, 4th Floor  
New York, New York 10036  
Tel. (212) 642-4900; Fax (212) 398-0023 
www.ansi.org 

ASME American Society of Mechanical Engineers  
Information Central - Orders/Inquiries 
P.O. Box 2300 
Fairfield, New Jersey 07007-2300 
Tel. (800) 843-2763  
www.asme.org  

ASTM 
International 

American Society for Testing and Materials 
International 
100 Barr Harbor Drive  
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428-2959  
Tel. (610) 832-9500; Fax (610) 832-9555 
www.astm.org  

AWWA American Water Works Association  
6666 West Quincy Avenue  
Denver, Colorado 80235-3098  
Tel. (303) 794-7711 or (800) 926-7337;  
Fax (303) 347-0804 

NFPA National Fire Protection Association  
1 Batterymarch Park 
Quincy, Massachusetts 02169-9101 
Tel. (617) 770-3000 or (800) 344-3555;  
Fax (800) 593-6372  
www.nfpa.org 

NSF NSF International  
789 N. Dixboro Road  
P.O. Box 130140  
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48113-0140 
Tel. (734) 769-8010 or (800) 673-6275;  
Fax (734) 769-0109 
www.nsf.org 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4.A.(8), 40:4.13.D.(1)(2) and 
40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(7)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 44: 

Chapter 3. Water Quality Standards 
§319. Significant Deficiencies Identified in Sanitary 

Surveys 
A. - C. … 
D. For all public water systems, the following have been 

determined by the state health officer to be significant 
deficiencies and shall be corrected in accordance with 
§319.B of this Part: 

1. §105.A, 105.B or 105.D of this Part;  
2. - 14. … 
15. For fluoride only, day tanks shall be provided 

where bulk storage of liquid chemical is provided, meet all 
the requirements of §203.J, hold no more than a 30-hour 
supply, and be scale mounted or have a calibrated gauge 
painted or mounted on the side if liquid levels can be 
observed in a gauge tube or through translucent sidewalls of 
the tank. In opaque tanks, a gauge rod extending above a 
reference point at the top of the tank, attached to a float can 
be used. The ratio of the area of the tank to its height shall be 
such that unit readings are meaningful in relation to the total 
amount of chemical fed during a day; 

16. - 23. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4(A)(8), 40:13.D.(1)(2) and R.S. 40:5.A.(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Office of Public Health, LR 43:85 (January 2017), amended 
LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. None 
2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 

Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
None 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. None 
4. The Effect on the Family Earnings and Family 

Budget. The proposed rule adopts new design and 
construction standards for public water systems effective 
August 1, 2018. There may be a slight increase in family 
budget due to increased monthly water bills if served 
drinking water by a public water system (PWS) that 
undergoes new construction/renovations after August 1, 
2018. The PWS may determine a need to increase their 
revenue collections (i.e., increase water bills) to cover the 
increased constructions costs for certain projects that have 
more stringent requirements in the proposed rule. The



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2440

increased costs associated with such new 
construction/renovations is inestimable as it would vary and 
be dependent upon the size and scope of the actual project 
being proposed. Therefore, the effect of the rule on family 
budget is unknown. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. None 

6. The Ability of the Family or Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
None for family. The proposed rule adopts new design and 
construction standards for public water systems effective 
August 1, 2018. Local governmental units which 
own/operate a PWS that undergoes new 
construction/renovations after the August 1, 2018 may 
determine a need to increase their revenue collections (i.e., 
increase water bills) to cover the increased design and 
construction costs for certain projects that have stricter rule 
requirements. The increased costs associated with such new 
construction/renovations is inestimable as it would vary and 
be dependent upon the size and scope of the actual project 
being proposed.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
1. The effect on household income, assets, and 

financial security. The proposed Rule adopts new design and 
construction standards for public water systems effective 
August 1, 2018. The proposed Rule may increase the 
monthly water bill for households if served drinking water 
by a public water system (PWS) that undergoes new 
construction/renovations after August 1, 2018. The PWS 
may determine a need to increase their revenue collections 
(i.e., increase water bills) to cover the increased 
constructions costs for certain projects that have more 
stringent requirements in the proposed Rule. The increased 
costs associated with such new construction/renovations is 
inestimable as it would vary and be dependent upon the size 
and scope of the actual project being proposed. Therefore, 
the effect of the Rule on households is unknown. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Preschool through Postsecondary Education Development. 
There will be no effect on childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed Rule will likely cause an 
increase in competition to hire Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Engineers to design drinking water 
infrastructure projects that comply with the new design 
regulations. The Rule will require them to become 
knowledgeable of the new design regulations in order to 
receive a permit for constructing drinking water 
infrastructure projects. The Rule requires plans and 
specifications submitted for a permit on/after August 1, 2018 
(effective date of rule) to comply with the new design 
regulations. Construction of drinking water infrastructure 
projects submitted on/after August 1, 2018 could be delayed 
if the project does not comply with the new regulations. 
Delayed projects could adversely affect employment. 
Therefore, the effective date of the rule is proposed to be 
delayed several months from the anticipated date of the final 
rule publication to provide stakeholders time to become 
aware of and study the changes in the design standards. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. There will be 
no effect on taxes and tax credits 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. There will be no effect on child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 
The purpose of the proposed Rule is to adopt certain 

standards for public water systems (PWSs) developed and 
approved by the Louisiana Standards for Water Works 

Construction, Operation, and Maintenance Committee 
(a.k.a., “water committee”) and the Louisiana Department of 
Health in accordance with Act 292 and Act 488 of the 
Regular Legislative Sessions, 2013 and 2014, respectively. 
The proposed standards will assist LDH-OPH in ensuring 
the continued protection of public health from contaminated 
drinking water through enforceable standards that address 
the proper design, operation and maintenance of PWSs. 
Currently, the Recommended Standards for Water Works, 
2003 Edition (a.k.a., “Ten State Standards”) is primarily 
used for the design basis of water supply infrastructure 
projects as adopted in Section 105.D of Part XII (Water 
Supplies) of the State Sanitary Code (LAC 51). The 
proposed standards will replace Ten State Standards and be 
applicable to the design and construction of drinking water 
supply infrastructure projects proposed for a permit effective 
August 1, 2018. 

The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 
required by the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in drafting 
the proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impacts of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. Per HCR 170, "provider" 
means an organization that provides services for individuals 
with developmental disabilities. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on the: 

1. effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed Rule. Such comments must be received no later 
than Friday, December 29, 2017 at COB, 4:30 p.m., and 
should be addressed to Amanda Laughlin, Chief Engineer, 
Engineering Services Section, Office of Public Health, P.O. 
Box 4489, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4489, or faxed to (225) 
342-7303. If comments are to be shipped or hand-delivered, 
please deliver to the Bienville Building, 628 N. Fourth 
Street, Room 125, Baton Rouge, LA 70802.  

Public Hearing 
LDH-OPH will conduct a public hearing at 1 pm on 

Wednesday, December 27, 2017, in Room 173 of the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2441

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. Persons attending the hearing may have their parking 
ticket validated when one parks in the 7-story Galvez 
Parking Garage which is located between N. Sixth and N. 
Fourth / North and Main Streets. (cater-corner and across the 
street from the Bienville Building). All interested persons are 
invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or 
arguments, orally or in writing. 

 
Jimmy Guidry, MD 
State Health Officer 
and 
Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Water Works Construction,  

Operation and Maintenance 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO STATE OR 
LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fees associated with the proposed 
rule change, which is estimated to be $20,102, it is not anticipated 
that the Louisiana Department of Health— Office of Public Health 
(LDH-OPH) will incur any other costs or savings as a result of this 
rule.  

The proposed rule adopts standards for public water systems 
(PWSs) that were developed and approved by the Louisiana 
Standards for Water Works Construction, Operation, and 
Maintenance Committee and the Louisiana Department of Health 
(LDH). The proposed standards are applicable to the review and 
permitting of the design and construction of drinking water supply 
infrastructure projects effective August 1, 2018. Currently, the 
Recommended Standards for Water Works, 2003 Edition 
(commonly referred to as the Ten State Standards) is primarily 
used for the design basis of water supply infrastructure projects as 
adopted in Section 105.D of Part XII (Water Supplies) of the State 
Sanitary Code (LAC 51). The proposed standards will replace Ten 
State Standards effective August 1, 2018. 

State and local agencies that own/operate a PWS undergoing 
new construction/renovation after August 1, 2018 will be impacted 
by the proposed rule. For these agencies, depending on the project 
scope, there may be an increase in the design/construction costs 
due to more stringent requirements (e.g., chlorine dioxide 
generator). However, there may also be a decrease in 
design/construction costs due to lesser requirements for other 
projects (e.g., chlorine gas storage). The change in implementation 
costs as a result of this rule change is not estimable as it would vary 
depending on the size and scope of the actual project being 
proposed.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE OR 
LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not directly affect state or local 
governmental revenue collections. However, revenue collections of 
state and local governmental units that own/operate a PWS may 
need to increase to cover the increased implementation costs for 
certain projects that have stricter rule requirements. Similar to 
implementation costs, the increase in revenue collections needed 
for such new construction/renovations is not estimable as it would 
vary and be dependent on the size and scope of the actual project 
being proposed on/after August 1, 2018.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Design engineers and PWSs involved in developing plans and 
specifications for new drinking water infrastructure construction 
projects will be directly affected by the proposed rule and may 
incur additional costs for training to familiarize themselves with 
the new design regulations. These training costs will vary per 

person and job function based on his/her training needs. In 
anticipation of eventually publishing a final rule on a public 
website, these individuals will be able to download the final design 
regulations from the Office of the State Register’s website free of 
charge. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will likely cause an increase in competition 
to hire Louisiana Licensed Professional Engineers to design 
drinking water infrastructure projects that comply with the new 
design regulations. The rule will require them to become 
knowledgeable of the new design regulations in order to receive a 
permit for constructing drinking water infrastructure projects. The 
rule requires plans and specifications submitted for a permit 
on/after August 1, 2018 to comply with the new design regulations. 
Construction of drinking water infrastructure projects submitted 
on/after August 1, 2018 could be delayed if the project does not 
comply with the new regulations. Delayed projects could adversely 
affect employment.   

 
Jimmy Guidry, M.D. Evan Brasseaux 
State Health Officer Staff Director 
1711#046 Legislative Fiscal Officer 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of the Secretary 

Debts Owed to the Department of Natural Resources 
(LAC 43:I.133) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of the 
Secretary proposes to promulgate LAC 43:I.133 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under R.S. 36:353 and the laws of the state 
of Louisiana. The proposed Rule sets forth the process by 
which the Department of Natural Resources invoices 
applicable debts owed to it. Further, the proposed Rule 
establishes a due date for applicable debts and the time 
delays in which a person may challenge such debts by 
requesting a public hearing before the Division of 
Administrative Law. Finally, the proposed Rule establishes 
when an applicable debt owed to the Department of Natural 
Resources becomes “final” for purposes of R.S. 47:1676 and 
can be forwarded to the Louisiana Office of Debt Recovery 
or to the Attorney General’s Office for debt collection 
activities. The proposed Rule does not apply to debts owed 
the Commissioner of Conservation, the State Mineral and 
Energy Board, federal loan or grant programs, the 
Fisherman’s Gear Compensation Fund, or debts associated 
with the overpayment of active or separated DNR 
employees.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  General 

§133. Debts Owed to the Department of Natural 

Resources 
A. Applicability. This Section is applicable for all debts 

owed to the Department of Natural Resources (hereinafter 
referred to as “DNR”), with the following exceptions:  

1. debts associated with mineral leases or operating 
agreements, or mineral production on State lands and water 
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bottoms, or to any debts under the authority of the State 
Mineral and Energy Board;  

2. debts associated with federal loans or grant 
programs, including but not limited to those issued, through 
the Home Energy Loan Program (HELP), Energy Fund, or 
the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 
(ARRA) Revolving Loan Fund;  

3. debts other than those debts owed under the 
Oilfield Site Restoration Act (R.S. 30:80, et seq.) that are 
owed to the Office of Conservation or the Commissioner of 
Conservation,  

4. debts owed the Fisherman’s Gear Compensation 
Fund (R.S. 56:700.1, et seq.), or  

5. debts associated with the overpayment of active or 
separated DNR employees. 

B. Due Date of Applicable Debt 
1. When an applicable debt is owed to DNR, DNR 

shall create an invoice for that debt. Among other things the 
invoice shall identify the amount of the debt owed to DNR 
and the individual, company, or organization that owes the 
invoiced debt to DNR. In the event that the applicable 
statutes or rules establish the date on which the invoiced 
debt is due, the invoiced debt amount shall be due to DNR 
on that date. When the applicable statutes or rules do not 
establish a date on which the invoiced debt is due, then the 
invoiced debt shall be due 60 days after the invoice is duly 
delivered to the party identified as owing the debt. In the 
event, the debt has been invoiced prior to the effective date 
of this regulation and there is no due date established by the 
applicable statute or regulation, then the debt amount shall 
be due 60 days after the effective date of this regulation.  

2. For purposes of this Section, the invoice shall be 
deemed duly delivered upon: 

a. receipt by the party identified as owing the debt 
if delivered in person;  

b. if properly addressed, two days after deposit in 
the U.S. mail;  

c. if properly addressed, one business day after it is 
sent by recognized commercial overnight courier service; or  

d. if properly addressed, upon transmission if sent 
via email with confirmation of receipt. 

3. For purposes of this Section, properly addressed 
means the invoice is addressed to the physical, mailing, or e-
mail address that is: 

a. registered by the party with the department or 
any of its offices or programs where such registration is 
required by applicable law or regulation;  

b. provided by the party to the department or any of 
its offices or programs on an application or other agency 
form; or  

c. if no other address exists, then any address 
otherwise provided by law. 

C. Dispute of an Applicable Debt. In the event the party 
that is invoiced disputes the debt owed to DNR said party 
may request an administrative hearing in writing within 60 
days after the invoice is duly delivered to said party. Such 
requests shall set forth the basis for the party’s belief that it 
does not owe the debt to DNR. Such requests shall be 
addressed to DNR-Office of the Secretary, ATTN: DNR 
Debt Appeal, P.O. Box 94396, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
9396.  

1. The request for an appeal of a debt will be deemed 
submitted to DNR on:  

a. the date it is actually hand delivered to DNR;  
b. if properly addressed, two days after deposit in 

the U.S. Mail; or  
c. if properly addressed, one business day after it is 

sent by recognized commercial overnight courier service.  
2. The administrative hearing shall be presided over 

by a Division of Administrative Law hearing officer and 
subject to the rules and requirements established by the 
Division of Administrative Law Act (R.S. 49:991-999.1). 

D. Final Debts. Debts owed to DNR shall become final 
pursuant to R.S. 47:1676 either the day after the deadline to 
request an administrative hearing as set forth in Subsection 
C of this Section has passed and no request for an 
administrative hearing has been made, or when a final and 
un-appealable decision is made that the debt is owed to DNR 
by a competent administrative hearing officer or a court of 
competent jurisdiction. 

E. Cost Recovery. Pursuant to R.S. 47:1676, when any 
debt owed to DNR becomes final then the debt shall be 
referred to the Office of Debt Recovery, Department of 
Revenue or to the Attorney General’s office for collection in 
accordance with the agency participation agreement between 
the Department of Natural Resources, the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, and the Louisiana Attorney 
General’s Office that is then in effect. 

F. Not a Replacement of the Judicial Review Process. 
Creation of the right set forth in Subsection C of this Section 
to request an administrative hearing to challenge whether a 
specific party owes a specific invoiced debt is not intended 
to replace or alter the judicial review process for challenging 
the validity of underlying regulations, orders, civil penalties, 
or other decisions properly challenged under other statutory 
authority, including but not limited to, R.S. 30:12, R.S. 
49:962.1-965, R.S. 49:968, or R.S. 49:214.35. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:353(A)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 972 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. This Family Impact Statement shall 
be kept on file in the Office of the Secretary, Department of 
Natural Resources in accordance with the Louisiana Public 
Records Law. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect the family earnings 
and family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 
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Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. household income, assets, and financial security; 
2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 
3. employment and workforce development; 
4. taxes and tax credits; or 
5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers as 
described in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments orally or in writing at the 
public hearing in accordance with R.S. 49:953. Written 
comments will be accepted until noon on December 29, 
2017, at the Office of the Secretary, Department of Natural 
Resources, P.O. Box 94396, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804. All 
inquiries should be directed to Blake Canfield, Executive 
Counsel. 

Public Hearing 
The Secretary of DNR or his designee will conduct a 

public hearing at 1:30 p.m., December 27, 2017, in the 
LaBelle Room located on the first floor of the LaSalle 
Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. 

 
Thomas F. Harris 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Debts Owed to the  
Department of Natural Resources 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule will not result in costs or savings to the 

state or local governmental units. The purpose of the rule is to 
establish a process to invoice for debt owed to the Department 
of Natural Resources (DNR). The proposed rule does not create 
a new debt but sets forth the process of when and how debts 
become final. The proposed rule includes the due date, process 
to challenge the debt, and the deadline to submit. The proposed 
rule is applicable to all the debts owed to DNR except for debts 
associated with mineral leases or operating agreements, federal 
loans or grants, the Office of Conservation, the Fisherman’s 
Gear Compensation Fund, or the overpayment of active or 
separated employees.  

La. R.S. 47:1676 requires that “final debt” owed to a State 
agency be forwarded to the Louisiana Office of Debt Recovery 
(ODR) for collection activities. There was no clear method of 
determining exactly when the applicable debts owed to the 
DNR become “final debts” if not paid or litigated. Additionally, 
there was no clear administrative process for persons to 
challenge applicable debts invoiced by DNR. The proposed 
rule would address both of these needs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to increase revenue 
collections to DNR and ODR by an indeterminable amount. 
The proposed rule is intended to increase clarity of when 

applicable debts become final. This may lead to additional 
collections of these existing debts, however, the amount of 
collections that will be received is too uncertain to estimate at 
this time. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule does not create new debt obligations or 
entitlements, but does set a clear deadline for when debts may 
be forwarded to ODR. Therefore, it is anticipated entities that 
owe debt to DNR will be paying their debt more frequently 
since the proposal sets forth the appropriate process for 
invoicing authorized debts, challenging authorized invoiced 
debts, and finalizing authorized debts for collection. The 
amount of collections that will be paid by the entities is too 
uncertain to estimate at this time. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no impact upon competition 
and employment in the state.  

 
Thomas F. Harris Evan Brasseaux 
Secretary Staff Director 
1711#053 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

State Police Escort Fees (LAC 55:I.1101) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
R.S. 32:387 et seq., gives notice of its intent to promulgate 
amended rules that increase the state police escort fee 
schedule, which has not been amended since 1983. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 11. State Police Escort Fees 
§1101. Distance/Fees 

A. Notice is hereby given that the Louisiana Department 
of Public Safety, pursuant to R.S. 32:387(B)(4) as amended, 
has adopted the following fee scale for the use of state police 
vehicles as escorts to vehicles moving over the highways of 
this state under special permits. 

 

Distance Traveled by Escort Vehicle Fee 

0-49 miles  $100 

50-99 miles  $125 

100-199 miles $150 

200-299 miles $175 

300 and over miles $200 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:387(B)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 9:15 (January 1983), 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police 
amended LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the 

Family. This Rule should not have any effect on the stability 
of the family.  
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2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights 
of Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children. This Rule should not have any effect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children.  

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 
Family. This Rule should not have any effect on the 
functioning of the family.  

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget. This Rule should not have any effect on 
family earnings and family budget.  

5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and 
Personal Responsibility of Children. These rules should not 
have any effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children.  

6. The effect of This Rule on the ability of the family 
or local government to perform the function as contained in 
the proposed Rule. This Rule should not have any effect on 
the ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rule.  

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. 

The agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental 
and economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on child, individual, or 

family poverty has been considered and it is estimated that 
the proposed action is not expected to have a significant 
adverse impact on poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as provided in the R.S. 
49:973.  

The agency has considered economic welfare factors and, 
where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of 
the proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on poverty. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service;  

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Paul 

Schexnayder, Post Office Box 66614, Baton Rouge, LA 
70896. Written comments will be accepted through 
December 15, 2017. 

 
Lt. Col. Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  State Police Escort Fees 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not estimated to result in 
implementation costs or savings to state or local governmental 
units. The proposed rule change will increase escort fees for 
certain oversized, permitted loads by $75 per escort. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The Louisiana State Police (LSP) is required by law to 
provide proper escort for certain oversized, permitted loads as 
directed by the Louisiana Department of Transportation and 
Development (DOTD) to protect the interests of the state, the 
state highway system and public safety. LSP conducted an 
internal study that examined the costs associated with the use 
of LSP vehicles for these escorts. The study concluded that the 
current $25 base vehicle use fee table, which was adopted in 
1983, is insufficient to cover the fuel, maintenance, and 
insurance costs for LSP vehicles to perform escorts. On 
average from FY 12 through FY 17, LSP experienced an 
annual operating deficit of approximately $300,000 in its escort 
activity due to insufficient vehicle use fees for escorts. 

The proposed rule change will increase escort fees by $75 
per escort. The increase is estimated to increase SGR 
collections for LSP by approximately $363,000 annually.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Private industry that contracts with LSP for escorts will be 
affected by the proposed fee increase. As cited above, the 
proposed escort fee table would increase the cost per escort by 
$75. Between FY 12 and FY 17, LSP performed an average of 
4,845 escorts annually. Assuming this six-year historical 
average is typical, the proposed fee increase will increase costs 
to industry by approximately $363,000 annually. The LFO 
assumes these costs will be shifted to those purchasing 
oversized transportation services. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to result in 
material effects on competition and employment. 

 
Lt. Col. Jason Starnes Evan Brasseaux 
Chief Administrative Officer Staff Director 
1711#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Treasury 
Board of Trustees of the Teachers’ Retirement System 

ReNEW Charter Management Organization  
(LAC 58:III.1901) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 11:826 that the Board 
of Trustees of the Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana 
(TRSL) has approved for advertisement the adoption of 
LAC 58:III.1901 in order to ensure compliance with Internal 
Revenue Code provisions governing qualified governmental 
retirement plans by memorializing an agreement between
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TRSL and the ReNEW Charter Management Organization, 
which clarifies TRSL membership provisions for ReNEW 
Charter Management Organization employees. A preamble 
to this proposed action has not been prepared. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part III.  Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana 
Chapter 19. ReNEW Charter Management 

Organization 
§1901. ReNEW Charter Management Organization 

Employees 
A. For purposes of determining membership in the 

Teachers' Retirement System of Louisiana under R.S. 
17:3997, R.S. 11:162, and R.S. 11:701, et seq., membership 
eligibility, service credit, and return-to-work status shall be 
determined in a manner consistent with the June 29, 2017, 
agreement between ReNEW Charter Management 
Organization and the Teachers' Retirement System of 
Louisiana. All applicable provisions of Title 11 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 shall be construed in 
accordance with the June 29, 2017, agreement to the extent 
consistent with the law of Louisiana, the tax qualification 
requirements applicable to governmental retirement plans 
under the Internal Revenue Code, as the same may be 
amended, and any compliance statement rendered by the 
Internal Revenue Service under the Voluntary Correction 
Program relating to such agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:826. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the Teachers’ Retirement System, 
LR 44: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of LAC 58:III.1901 relative to 

ReNEW Charter Management Organization Employees 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed adoption of LAC 58:III.1901 relative to 
ReNEW Charter Management Organization Employees 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
child, individual or family poverty as defined in R.S. 
49:973(D). Specifically, there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. household income, assets, and financial security; 
2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 
3. employment and workforce development; 
4. taxes and tax credits; and 

5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. Per HCR 170, "provider" 
means an organization that provides services for individuals 
with developmental disabilities. In particular, it is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
the staffing level requirements or qualifications required to 
provide the same level of service, no direct or indirect cost 
to the provider to provide the same level of service, and will 
have no impact on the provider’s ability to provide the same 
level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes until 4:30 p.m., December 20, 2017, to 
Matt Tessier, Deputy General Counsel, Board of Trustees for 
the Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana, P.O. Box 
94123, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9123. 

 
Dana L. Vicknair 
Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  ReNEW Charter  

Management Organization 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule codifies an agreement between 
Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana (TRSL) and 
ReNEW Charter Management Organization (ReNEW) to 
correct certain enrollment errors committed by ReNEW. The 
proposed rule will also serve as a corrective amendment to 
TRSL’s plan document for purposes of the Internal Revenue 
Service’s Voluntary Correction Program (VCP).  

The agreement, which is being codified, details how the 
enrollment errors will be corrected as well as how ReNew will 
compensate TRSL for financial losses as a result of the errors. 
In part, the parties agreed that ReNEW would incur interest 
charges on delinquent contributions that should have been 
submitted to TRSL. The interest charge is provided in existing 
statutes LA R.S. 11:888(C)(2) and 11:158(C). The interest 
pursuant to statute is $44,726. Additionally, in accordance with 
LA R.S. 11:710(C)(2), ReNEW will reimburse TRSL $149,284 
for benefit overpayments due to ReNew’s failure to report the 
rehiring of a TRSL retiree. 

Other than the publication fees associated with the 
proposed rule changes, the proposed rule has no 
implementation cost for either TRSL or ReNew.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 11   November 20, 2017 2446

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Codifying this agreement into administrative rule has no 
future impact on the revenue collections of TRSL. This rule is 
limited to codifying an agreement that provides direction on 
how to correct a specific instance of retirement enrollment 
errors at a specific charter school, as needed for documentation 
purposes for the Internal Revenue Service’s VCP. TRSL and 
ReNew came to a settlement agreement on how these errors 
would be corrected in accordance with existing state statutes. 
As a part of the agreement, TRSL will collect $194,010 in 
interest and payments from ReNew. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule has no estimated cost or benefit to 
ReNew employees. However, as a result of the agreement,

corrections will be made to fix enrollment errors for ReNew 
employees that were either erroneously enrolled or failed to be 
enrolled in TRSL. In part, the agreement provides that certain 
ReNew employees who should have been enrolled in TRSL, 
but were not, will receive TRSL service credit. Additionally, 
certain ReNew employees who were erroneously enrolled in 
TRSL will be un-enrolled from TRSL and enrolled in Social 
Security.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition and 
employment.  

 
Dana L. Vicknair Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1711#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

2008 8-hour Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
Maintenance Plan—Reid Vapor Pressure Relaxation 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental 
Quality Act, R. S. 30:2001 et seq., the secretary gives notice 
that the Office of Environmental Assessment, Air Planning 
and Assessment Division will submit a proposed request to 
relax the federal Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) standard 
applicable to gasoline required in the ozone maintenance 
plan for the 2008 8-hour Ozone National Ambient Air 
Quality Standard (NAAQS) for the 5-parish Baton Rouge 
Nonattainment Area (BRNA), which includes Ascension, 
East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston and West Baton 
Rouge parishes. This action will amend the Baton Rouge 
Nonattainment Area 2008 8-hour Ozone NAAQS 
Redesignation Maintenance Plan to change the summertime 
RVP standard for the area from 7.8 pounds per square inch 
(psi) to 9.0 psi. (1711Pot1) 

A public hearing will be scheduled upon request. All 
interested parties are invited to submit written comments 
concerning the revision to the maintenance plan for the 
Baton Rouge area no later than 4:30 p.m., December 29, 
2017, to Vivian Aucoin, Office of Environmental 
Assessment, P.O. Box 4314, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4314, 
or by email to vivian.aucoin@la.gov. 

A copy of the proposal may be viewed on the LDEQ 
Electronic Document Management System (EDMS) or at 
LDEQ headquarters at 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70802. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1711#027 

 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pediatric Day Health Care Program 
Moratorium on Provider Enrollment 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing provides pediatric day health care (PDHC) 
services as an optional covered service under the Medicaid 
State Plan. Pediatric day health care services offer a 
community-based alternative to traditional long-term care or 
extended nursing services for children with medically 
complex conditions. It is designed to meet the medical, 
social and developmental needs of medically fragile

individuals up to the age of 21 who require continuous 
nursing services and other therapeutic interventions. These 
services are provided in non-residential settings which are 
licensed as PDHC facilities and enrolled in the Medicaid 
Program. 

The department established provisions governing the 
imposition of temporary moratoria, in consultation with the 
secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, on enrollment of new providers or provider types 
in the Medicaid Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, 
Number 4). The department hereby gives notice of the 
moratorium on enrollment of pediatric day health care 
providers through December 31, 2017, in compliance with 
the requirements of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1711#067 

 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District 
Well 

Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number 

Andries 
Brothers 

Pendleton-
Many S Derr 002 99528 

Dorothy 
Wilson 
Donald Monroe M 

Dorothy 
Wilson 
Donald 001 156063 

Dorothy 
Wilson 
Donald Monroe M 

Dorothy 
Wilson 
Donald 002 156064 

Luca 
Operation, 

LLC 
Edna, 
North L Richardson 001 241343 

Luca 
Operation, 

LLC 
Plumb 
Bob L 

sp-wx ra 
sua; A D 
Kennison 001 243344 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner  

1711#074 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Oil Spill Coordinator's Office 

LWMIWCB Crude Oil Discharges 
Notice of Availability of a Draft Restoration Plan 

Action: Notice of availability of a Draft Restoration Plan 
(DRP) with a 30-day public review and comment period for 
LOSCO NRDA case files: #LA2003_0302_0716 [Lake 
Washington 2003]; #LA2003_1202_1200 [Mendicant Island 
2003]; and #LA2005_0419_1950 [West Champagne Bay 
2005], collectively referred to as LWMIWCB. 

Agencies: Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office, 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections (LOSCO); 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality (LDEQ); 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources (LDNR); 
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF); 
and Louisiana Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
(CPRA).  

Authorities: The Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA) (33 
USC 2701 et seq.) and the Louisiana Oil Spill Prevention 
and Response Act of 1991 (OSPRA) (La. Rev. Stat. 30:2451 
et seq.) are the principal federal and state statutes, 
respectively, authorizing federal and state agencies and tribal 
officials to act as natural resource trustees for the recovery of 
damages for injuries to trust resources and services resulting 
from oil spill incidents in Louisiana. In accordance with 
OPA and OSPRA, the agencies listed above (referred to 
herein as the “Trustees”) have conducted a Natural Resource 
Damage Assessment (NRDA) for the March 2, 2003 crude 
oil discharge into Lake Washington, Plaquemines Parish, 
Louisiana and the December 2, 2003 and April 19, 2005 
crude oil discharges into Barataria Bay, Jefferson Parish, 
Louisiana. ExxonMobil Pipeline Company (EMPCo) was 
identified as the Responsible Party for the three incidents. 

Summary: Pursuant to LAC 43:XXIX.Chapter 1, notice 
is hereby given that a document entitled, “Draft Restoration 
Plan Lake Washington (2003), Mendicant Island (2003), and 
West Champagne Bay (2005)” is available for public review 
and comment. The DRP presents the Trustees’ plan to 
restore, replace, or acquire natural resources or services 
equivalent to those lost, compensating the public for the 
injuries to natural resources resulting from the incidents. The 
DRP identifies and evaluates specific restoration projects 
that the Trustees considered and identifies the Trustees’ 
preferred restoration alternative (at a restoration project 
level). The Trustees’ preferred restoration alternative is 
designed to create coastal herbaceous wetlands, including 
brackish marsh, near Lost Lake, Louisiana. After finalization 
of the DRP, the Trustees will prepare a Final Restoration 
Plan (FRP) and make it available to the public. 

The DRP is available to the public for a 30-day comment 
period, which will begin on the date of this public notice 
announcing availability of the documents for public review. 
The Trustees invite the public to review this document and 
submit comments to the address listed below. The Trustees

will consider comments received during the public comment 
period on the DRP before finalizing the document. Public 
review of the DRP is consistent with all state laws and 
regulations that apply to the NRDA process, including 
Section 2480 of OSPRA and the regulations for NRDA 
under OSPRA, LAC 43:XXIX.Chapter 1. 

Interested members of the public are invited to view the 
DRP via the internet at http://www.losco.state.la.us (look 
under Newsflash/current news for LWMIWCB oil spills 
NRDA Draft Restoration Plan Available) or by requesting a 
copy of the documents from Chuck Armbruster at the 
address provided below: 

 

Charles K. Armbruster 

Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
P.O. Box 66614 Mail Slip B15 

Baton Rouge, LA 70896 

(225) 925-6606 

Charles.Armbruster@la.gov 

 

Comment Submittals: Comments must be submitted in 
writing or digitally to Chuck Armbruster on or before the 
end of the 30-day comment period. 

For Further Information: Contact Chuck Armbruster at 
(225) 925-6606 or by email at charles.armbruster@la.gov.  

Supplementary Information: On September 20, 2003, 
August 20, 2005, and February 20, 2006, the Trustees 
published Notices of Intent in the Louisiana Register (Vol. 
29, No. 09, pp. 1952-1953; Vol. 31, No. 08, pp. 2151-2152; 
and Vol. 32, No. 02, pp. 343-344, respectively) to notify the 
public that they were going to conduct restoration planning 
for the three incidents and develop restoration alternatives 
that would restore, replace, rehabilitate, or acquire the 
equivalent of natural resources injured and/or natural 
resource services lost as a result of the incidents. In October 
2016, EMPCo agreed to settle their NRDA liability for a 
cash amount, in lieu of implementing a restoration project. 
In July 2017, the Trustees released a Draft Settlement 
Agreement (Draft SA) and Draft Damage Assessment and 
Preliminary Restoration Plan (Draft DAPRP) to, among 
other things: 1) identify the preferred restoration alternative 
(at a restoration type level), which would be implemented by 
the Trustees, as a basis for the cash settlement; 2) provide an 
analysis for scaling the injured resources to the preferred 
restoration alternative; and 3) identify the methodology used 
for estimating the costs of implementing the preferred 
restoration alternative. Notice of the Draft SA and Draft 
DAPRP was published in the Louisiana Register on July 20, 
2017 (Vol. 43, No. 07, pp. 1487-1488). The Trustees did not 
receive comments during the public comment period and 
executed the Final Settlement Agreement in October 2017. 
The Final Settlement Agreement is also available with the 
Final DAPRP via the internet at http://www.losco.state.la.us.  

 
Marty J. Chabert 
Oil Spill Coordinator 

1711#037 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Oil Spill Coordinator's Office 

LWMIWCB Crude Oil Discharges 
Notice of Availability of a Final Settlement Agreement 

Action: Notice of availability of a Final Settlement 
Agreement (Final SA) and Final Damage Assessment and 
Preliminary Restoration Plan (Final DAPRP) for LOSCO 
NRDA case files: #LA2003_0302_0716 [Lake Washington 
2003]; #LA2003_1202_1200 [Mendicant Island 2003]; and 
#LA2005_0419_1950 [West Champagne Bay 2005], 
collectively referred to as LWMIWCB. 

Agencies: Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office, 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections (LOSCO); 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality (LDEQ); 
Louisiana Department of Natural Resources (LDNR); 
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF); 
and Louisiana Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
(CPRA).  

Summary: Notice is hereby given that a document 
entitled, “Settlement Agreement Lake Washington (2003), 
Mendicant Island (2003), and West Champagne Bay (2005)” 
is available to the public. The Final SA was negotiated by 
the Trustees and ExxonMobil Pipeline Company (EMPCo) 
to recover damages for injuries to natural resources and 
services resulting from the incidents. The Final SA is a 
binding agreement in which EMPCo agrees to pay the 
Trustees $2,082,119.29 for past assessment costs, future 
trustee costs, and future restoration project implementation 
costs associated with a Trustee-implemented compensatory 
restoration project as described in the Final DAPRP 
(Attachment 1 of the Final SA). The Final DAPRP provides 
information on the natural resource injury determinations 
conducted as part of the NRDA and identifies the Trustees’ 
preliminary restoration plan for compensating the public for

injuries to natural resources and services resulting from the 
three incidents. Execution of the Final Settlement Agreement 
by the Trustees and EMPCo shall provide the basis for 
compensating the public for injuries to natural resources and 
services resulting from the incidents.  

Interested members of the public are invited to view the 
Final SA and Final DAPRP via the internet at 
http://www.losco.state.la.us (look under Newsflash/current 
news for LWMIWCB Final Settlement Agreement 
Available) or by requesting a copy of the documents from 
Chuck Armbruster at the address provided below: 

 
Charles K. Armbruster 
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
P.O. Box 66614 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 
(225) 925-6606 
Charles.Armbruster@la.gov 
 

For Further Information: Contact Chuck Armbruster at 
(225) 925-6606 or by email at charles.armbruster@la.gov.  

Supplementary Information: The public was provided 
an opportunity to review and comment on the Draft SA and 
Draft Damage Assessment and Preliminary Restoration Plan 
documents during the public comment period, which 
extended from July 20, 2017 to August 20, 2017. Public 
review is consistent with all federal and state laws and 
regulations that apply to the Natural Resource Damage 
Assessment (NRDA) process, including the Oil Pollution 
Act of 1990 (OPA) (33 USC 2701 et seq.) and the Louisiana 
Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act of 1991 (OSPRA) 
(La. Rev. Stat. 30:2451 et seq.). The Trustees did not receive 
comments during the public comment period and have 
executed the Final SA. 

 
Marty J. Chabert 
Oil Spill Coordinator 

1711#036 
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ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 

Cumulative 
January 2016-December 2016, 214QU 
January 2017-March 2017, 840QU 
January 2017-June 2017, 1476QU 
January 2017-September 2017, 2067QU 

 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 

Annual quarantine listing, 2017, 841P 
Sweet potato weevil, supplement, 2070P 

Apiaries, 510R 
Fire ants, 510R 
Honey bees, 510R 
Horticulture and quarantine programs 
Annual quarantine listing, 841P 
Diseases, citrus 
Greening and canker, 498ER, 623ER, 1511ER, 
1988N 

Emerald ash borer, 245R, 1237ER, 2094ER 
Medical marijuana, 1251R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

843P 
Rice seed certification, 499ER 
Sweet potato yield, 500ER 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Commercial applicators, certification, 9ER, 863ER, 

1709ER 
Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 

Rice seed certification, 499ER 
Seeding, 1429N 
Seeds, 1895R 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Obligations 

Licensee, 9ER, 863ER, 1709ER 
Permittee, 9ER, 863ER, 1709ER 

Registration 
Employees, registered 
Duties, 9ER, 863ER, 1709ER 

Licensee, 9ER, 863ER, 1709ER 
Termiticides, manufacturers, approved, 2069P 

Agricultural Finance Authority 
Louisiana Farm Recovery Grant Program, 2016, 
1509ER, 2092ER, 2195N 

Agro-Consumer Services, Office of 
Weights and Measures, Division of 

Gasoline/gasoline-oxygenate blends 
Fuel specifications, suspension, 1710ER, 1711ER, 

1712ER 
Animal Health and Food Safety, Office of 

Turtles, 624ER, 1512ER 
Animal Health, Board of 

Equine, 553N, 1271R 
Poultry, 677N, 1276R 

Egg Commission 
Eggs, 981N, 1517R 

Commissioner, Office of the 
Advertising or sponsorship signs on department assets, 

placement, 515R 
Forestry, Office of 

Horticulture and quarantine programs 
Emerald ash borer, quarantine, 2094ER 

Indian Creek recreation area, 982N, 1517R 

Logos, state products, 2198N 
Severance tax values, 2017, 217P 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Reports 
Annual progress and services, 2017, 606P 
Block grant intended use, social services, 606P 

Child Welfare Division 
Chafee foster care 
Independence program, 2200N 
Young adult program, 2200N 

Daycare services, 2202N 
Physician notification, 1713ER, 1990N 
Safe haven relinquishment, 1189N, 1726R 

Economic Stability Section 
Family violence prevention and intervention program, 

1992N 
Public assistance programs, 1879ER, 2203N 
Temporary assistance for needy families, caseload 

reduction, 217P 
Family Support, Division of 

Child Support Enforcement Section 
Support payments, collection/distribution, 1782N 

Family Support, Office of 
Electronic benefits issuance system, 2007N 

Licensing Section 
Residential homes, type IV, 245R, 625ER, 1190N, 

1238ER, 1725R 
 

2017 
Pages    Issue 
1-222 ..................................................... January 
223-497 ................................................. February 
498-619 ................................................. March 
620-862 ................................................. April 
863-1102 ............................................... May 
1103-1234 ............................................. June 
1235-1495 ............................................. July 
1496-1705 ............................................. August 
1706-1875 ............................................. September 
1876-2091 ............................................. October 
2092-2458 ............................................. November 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 

QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
Cultural Development, Office of 

Archeology, Division of 
Fees, 46R 

State Museum, Office of the 
Public access, 985N, 1519R  

State Parks, Office of 
State parks, 290R 

 
 
 

DISTRICT ATTORNEYS’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM 
District Attorneys’ Retirement System, Board of 

Trustees of the 
Retirement system, 201N, 877R 

 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 

Board meetings, 519R 
Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Program, 1132R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

607P 
Small business loan and guaranty program, 2008N 

Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 
Tax credit program 
Motion picture 
Investor, 300R 
Production, 1239ER, 1560N, 2102R, 2207N 

Qualified entertainment company 
Payroll, 2207N 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 
Small business loan and guaranty program, 2008N 

Secretary, Office of the 
Small Business Bonding Program, 1242ER, 1563N, 

2102R 
Small business loan and guaranty program, 2008N 

 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 102―Louisiana Physical Education Content 
Standards, 1564N, 2104R 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 301R, 1586N, 2126R, 2210N 
One-year waiver for severe impact schools and 
districts, 2096ER 

Bulletin 112Louisiana Connectors for English 
Language Learners, 345N, 879R 

Bulletin 113—Louisiana's Reading and Language 
Competencies for New Teachers, 302R 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices, 989N, 1523R, 1783N 
Test security, 94N, 634R 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools, 96N, 306R, 635R, 
1785N, 2212N 

Bulletin 127―LEAP Connect Assessment, Louisiana 
Connectors for Students with Significant Cognitive 
Disabilities, 358N, 891R 

Bulletin 130―Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel, 1790N 

Bulletin 134―Tuition Donation Program, 1792N 
Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 

Licensing Regulations, 99N, 637R, 1795N 
Bulletin 139―Louisiana Child Care and Development 

Fund Programs, 680N, 1279R, 1714ER, 1806N, 
2230N 

Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Education Network, 1589N, 2128R 

Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 689N, 1287R, 1594N, 1812N, 2132R, 
2232N 

Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)―Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators, 692N, 1288R 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 694N, 1289R, 
1598N, 2135R, 2234N 

Bulletin 996Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs, 723N, 
1317R, 1815N 

Bulletin 1508―Pupil Appraisal Handbook, 1825N 
Bulletin 1706―Regulations for Implementation of the 

Children with Exceptionalities Act, 1827N 
Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring Procedures, 

516R 
Bulletin 1962―Louisiana Science Content Standards, 

742N, 1334R 
Regents, Board of 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Bylaws, advisory board, 755N, 1727R 
Scholarship/grant programs, 518R, 2239N 

TOPS core curriculum equivalents 
Human anatomy and physiology, 10ER, 101N, 
1346R, 1715ER 

Pre-calculus, 10ER, 101N, 1346R, 1715ER 
Tuition Trust Authority 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program, 

638R 
START Saving Program, 759N, 1731R 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Management and Finance, Office of 

Fees 
Risk/cost benefit statement 

Office of the Secretary, air, hazardous waste, solid 
waste, water quality, underground storage tank, 
and radiation protection, 611P 

Secretary, Office of the 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

(formerly Legal Division) 
Air 

2008 8-hour ozone national ambient air quality 
standard maintenance plan 
Reid vapor pressure relaxation, 2447P 

Emissions 
Reduction credits (ERC), mobile sources, 927R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 

rule AQ365, 486P 
Permits 
Actions, electronic notice, 393N, 925R 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY (continued) 
Oil and gas well testing, 1193N, 1898R 
Prevention of significant deterioration (PSD), 

1192N, 1731R 
Recordkeeping, exempt sources, 520R 
Storage vessels, 1194N 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 

rule AQ348, 2070P 
State implementation plan (SIP) 

National ambient air quality, sulfur dioxide, 
1867P 

Regional Haze Program, electrical generating 
units BART, 1223P 

Confidentiality, requests, 2014N 
Fee increase, 104N, 931R 
Hazardous waste 

Authorization, resource conservation and recovery 
act (RCRA), 396N, 1138R, 2010N 

Delisting, Denka Performance Elastomer LLC, 
407N, 1149R 

Secondary materials, 558N, 1151R, 1523R 
In-kind replacements, 1433N, 2148R 
Start-up and shutdown, work practice, 521R 
Storm sewer systems, municipal 

Permit, 760N, 1348R 
Submittals 

Documents, 1600N, 2136R 
Notifications, 1600N, 2136R 

Water quality, incorporation by reference, 1612N, 
2147R 

 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
JBE 16-74 Executive Branch Expenditure Reduction, 

1EO 
JBE 16-75 Rules and Policies on Leave for 

Unclassified Services—Amended December 19, 
2016, 2EO 

JBE 17-01 Mortgage Credit Certificate Certification, 
223EO 

JBE 17-02 Qualified Energy Conservation Bond 

AllocationLouisiana Stadium and Exposition 
District, 223EO 

JBE 17-03 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2016, 
224EO 

JBE 17-04 Emergency Suspension of Certain 

Insurance Code ProvisionsAmended, 225EO 
JBE 17-05 Flags at Half-Staff—Honorable Armand 

Joseph Brinkhaus, 620EO 
JBE 17-06 Flags at Half-Staff—Sergeant Shawn 

Thomas Anderson, 620EO 
JBE 17-07 Offender Labor, 621EO 
JBE 17-08 Offender Labor, 621EO 
JBE 17-09 Flags at Half-Staff—Honorable Ralph R. 

Miller, 622EO 
JBE 17-10 Flags at Half-Staff—Honorable Michael 

Lee Tinnerello, 622EO 
JBE 17-11 Emergency Suspension of Certain  

Insurance Code ProvisionsAmended, 1103EO 

JBE 17-12 Flags at Half-StaffHonorable Al Ater, 
1103EO 

JBE 17-13 Flags at Half-StaffHonorable Jimmy 
Martin, 1104EO 

JBE 17-14 Suspension of Rule and Regulation 
Promulgation by the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code Council, 1235EO 

JBE 17-15 Healthy Vending, 1235EO 
JBE 17-16 Supervision of the Louisiana Real Estate 

Appraisers Board Regulation of Appraisal 
Management Companies, 1496EO 

JBE 17-17 Flags at Half-StaffHonorable J. Kenneth 
Leithman, 1496EO 

JBE 17-18 Small Purchase Procedures, 1497EO 
JBE 17-19 Emergency Operations Plan, 1500EO 
JBE 17-20 Licensed Bed Capacity for Nursing 

Homes, 1706EO 
JBE 17-21 Emergency Suspension of Certain 

Unemployment Insurance Laws, 1706EO 
JBE 17-22 Emergency Temporary Suspension of 

Licensure Requirements for Emergency Medical 
Technicians and Medical Professionals and Personnel 
Licensed Out-of-State, 1707EO 

JBE 17-23 Emergency Suspension of 

FeesDepartment of Health, 1876EO 
JBE 17-24 Emergency Trip Permits and International  

Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) Waiver, 1876EO 
JBE 17-25 Highway Project Selection and Delivery 

Enhancement, 1877EO 
JBE 17-26 Flags at Half-Staff, 1878EO 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 
Capital improvement projects 

Procedure manual, 572N, 1163R, 1242ER 
Contract limit, 219P 
Uniform public work bid form, 2342N 

Group Benefits, Office of 
Employee benefits, 995N, 2152R 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 
rule, 1478P 

Racing Commission 
Association 

Duties, obligations, 2343N 
Jockey fee schedule, 2346N 
License, training tracks, 316R 
Movement, 2347N 
Receiving barn, 1196N, 1914R 
Resale, 2347N 

State Lands, Office of 
Rights-of-way, granting 
Corporations, 47R 
Individuals, 47R 

State Procurement, Office of 
Policy and procedure memoranda, 1105PPM 

State Travel, Office of 
PPM 49, general travel regulations, 1110PPM 
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GOVERNOR (continued) 
Tax Commission 
Ad valorem taxation, 409N, 648R 

Architectural Examiners, Board of 
Corporations 

Engineering, 644R  
Professional, 644R 

Education and research fund, 1613N 
Firms, 644R 

Cemetery Board 
Cemetery industry, 1618N, 2149R 

Certified Public Accountants, Board of 
Certified public accountants, 1435N, 1829N, 1899R 

Certified Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners of 
Examinations, applications, 648R 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Deepwater horizon oil spill 

Final restoration plan #1, Louisiana trustee 
implementation group, 217P 

Birds, 217P 
Habitat projects, federally managed lands, 217P 
Wetlands, coastal and nearshore habitats restoration, 

217P 
Natural resource damage restoration banking, 128N, 
1354R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 
1088P 

Oil spills 
Prevention, 766N, 1534R 
Response, 766N, 1534R 

Oyster lease 
Acquisition, compensation program, 2333N 

Cosmetologists, Board of 
Cosmetologists, 1831N 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 
Awards, limits, 864ER 

Medical expenses, 1621N 
Home Inspectors, Board of 

Education, 311R, 990N, 1910R 
Testing, 311R, 990N, 1910R 
Training, 311R, 990N, 1910R 

Homeland Security and Emergency Management, 
Office of 
Emergency management assistance compact, 2348N 

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 
Justice, Commission on  
Peace officer training/standards, 316R, 1883ER, 2340N 

New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for 
the Mississippi River, Board of Examiners for 
Drug and alcohol policy, 2015N 
Investigations and enforcement, 2015N 
Pilots, qualifications and examination, 2015N 
Standards of conduct, 2015N 

Pardons, Board of 
Administration, 2329N 
Clemency consideration, 2329N 

Application filing, 570N, 1161R 
Eligibility, 570N, 1161R 

Hearings, board, 46R 
Participation in, 2329N 

Medical parole/treatment furlough, 1616N 
Parole decisions, 2329N 
Victims, notification, 46R, 2329N 

Parole, Committee on 
Administration, 2329N 
Clemency, 2329N 
Hearings, board, 46R 

Participation in, 2329N 
Medical parole/treatment furlough, 1616N 
Parole decisions, 2329N 
Victims, notification, 46R, 2329N 

Public Defender Board 
Performance standards, attorneys representing juveniles, 
life without parole cases, 1007N, 1915R 

Real Estate Appraisers Board 
Fee appraisers, compensation, 1622N, 2161R 

Real Estate Commission 
Broker responsibilities, 136N, 954R 
Escrow 

Deposits, 573N, 1163R 
Disbursements, 573N, 1163R 

Veterans Affairs, Department of 
Military Family Assistance Board 

Military Family Assistance Program, 501ER 

 
 
 

HEALTH 
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 
Transportation costs, 324R 

Community choices waiver 
Electronic visit verification, 505ER, 1246ER 

Standards for participation, 1465N, 1977R 
Nursing facilities 

Preadmission screening and resident review, 601N, 
1178R 

Standards for payment 
Level of care pathways, 1683N, 2187N 

Personal care services, long-term 
Standards for participation, 1469N, 1980R 

Electronic visit verification, 508ER, 1247ER 
Behavior Analyst Board 

Continuing education 
Assistant behavior analysts, state-certified, 1197N, 

1961R 
Licensed behavior analysts, 1197N, 1961R 

Behavioral Health, Office of 
Behavioral health services 

Children’s behavioral health services, 2365N 
Termination of psychosocial rehabilitation services 

for youth, 628ER, 839CR 
Disorders services, substance use, 2362N 
Healthy Louisiana and coordinated system of care 

waiver, 321R2360N 
Home and community-based behavioral health 

services waiver, 2371N 
Therapeutic group homes, 2389N 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Children’s choice waiver 
Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1838N 
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HEALTH (continued) 
New opportunities waiver, 1672N 

Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1843N 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 
rule, 2071P 

Residential options waiver 
Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1846N 

Standards for participation, 1465N, 1977R 
Supports waiver 

Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1848N 
Individual and family support program, 172N, 664R 
Personal care services, long-term 

Standards for participation, 1469N, 1980R 
Dentistry, Board of 

Anesthesia/analgesia administration, 426N, 955R, 
1199N, 1963R, 2017N 

Certificate, display, 424N, 954R 
Continuing education, 426N, 955R, 1199N, 1963R, 

2017N 
Dentists 

Advertising, 48R 
Complaints, 48R 
Investigations, 48R 
Soliciting, 48R 

Fees and costs, 426N, 955R, 1199N, 1963R, 2017N 
Certification 

Confirmation, 424N, 954R 
Reconfirmation, 424N, 954R 

Drug and Device Distributors, Board of 
Distributors, wholesale, 48R 
Fees, 48R 
Logistics providers, third-party, 48R 
Qualifications, 48R 
Recordkeeping, 48R 

Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Board of 
Fees, 768N, 1536R 
Inspection, 768N, 1536R 
Internship, 768N, 1536R 
License, 768N, 1536R 

Emergency Response Network 
Stroke, destination protocol, 1096P, 1208N, 1758R 
Trauma program recognition, 2039N 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Abortion facilities, licensing standards, 502ER, 1201N, 

1243ER, 2097ER 
Adult brain injury facilities, licensing standards, 1624N, 

2164R 
Adult day health care 

Licensing standards, 1451N, 1964R 
Adult residential care providers 

Licensing standards, 1463N, 1976R 
Ambulatory surgical centers, licensing standards, 429N, 
1732R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

1223P 
Applied behavior analysis-based therapy services 

Custodial care services, 1837N 
Reimbursement rate realignment, 662R 

Behavioral health service providers 
Licensing standards, 787N, 1379R 

Behavioral health services 
Children’s behavioral health services, 2365N 

Termination of psychosocial rehabilitation services 
for youth, 628ER, 839CR 

Disorders services, substance use, 2362N 
Healthy Louisiana and coordinated system of care 

waiver, 321R, 2360N 
Therapeutic group homes, 2389N 

Disproportionate share hospital payments 
Inpatient psychiatric services, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 322R 
Louisiana low-income academic hospitals, 13ER, 

522R  
Payment methodology, 455N, 961R 

Major medical centers, 226ER, 1124ER, 1885ER, 
2367N 

Qualifying criteria, 457N, 962R 
Eliminating pain as the fifth vital sign and as a 
determinant of quality patient care, 1867P 

Facility need review, behavioral health services 
providers, 1886ER, 2100ER, 2368N 

Family planning waiver, program termination, 458N, 
962R 

Forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 
facilities 
Licensing standards, 50R 

Healthcare services provider fees 
Nursing facility services providers, 73R, 323R 

Home and community-based behavioral health services 
waiver, 323R2371N 

Home and community-based services providers 
Licensing standards, 1647N 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 
Transportation costs, 324R 

Children’s choice waiver 
Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1838N 

Community choices waiver 
Electronic visit verification, 505ER, 1246ER 

New opportunities waiver, 1672N 
Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1843N 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 
rule, 2071P 

Residential options waiver 
Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1846N 

Standards for participation, 1465N, 1977R 
Supports waiver 

Allocation of waiver opportunities, 1848N 
Home health program 

Home health encounters and services, 2028N 
Hospital licensing standards, 74R 

Obstetrical and newborn services, 75R 
Neonatal unit functions, 1468N, 1979R 

Hospital stabilization assessment 
2017 second quarter, 849P 
2018 first quarter, 1223P 
2018 second quarter, 2071P 

Inpatient hospital services 
Children’s specialty hospitals 
Supplemental payments for New Orleans area 
hospitals, 15ER, 864ER, 1717ER 

Graduate medical education, supplemental payments 
pool elimination, 505ER, 506ER, 797N, 1125ER, 
1388R 
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HEALTH (continued) 
High Medicaid hospitals, supplemental payments pool 

reduction, 507ER, 798N, 1126ER, 1389R, 1757R 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Public hospitals supplemental payments, 16ER, 
325R 

Reimbursement rate increase, 459N, 629ER, 963R, 
1851N 

Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 
hospitals, 16ER, 865ER, 1718ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 
17ER, 866ER, 1719ER 

Office of Public Health, Newborn screenings, 
1513ER, 1888ER, 2030N 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities 
Licensing standards, 524R 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities 
Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 18ER, 

325R 
Public facilities 
Reimbursement rate increase, 21ER, 867ER, 
1720ER 

Transitional rate extension, 1888ER, 2031N 
Reimbursement methodology, leave of absence days, 

2033N 
Supplemental payments, 160N, 507ER, 662R 

Laboratory and radiology services 
Proton beam radiation therapy, termination of 

coverage, 1889ER, 1890ER, 2373N 
Managed care for physical and behavioral health 

Applied behavior analysis-based therapy services 
integration, 2034N 

Louisiana health insurance premium payment 
program, 161N, 663R 
Behavioral health recipient participation, 1054N, 
1552R 

Member grievances and appeals, 2376N 
Provider claims, independent review process, 2374N 

Medicaid eligibility 
Express lane eligibility, 1853N 
Former foster care adolescents, 799N, 1389R 
Louisiana health insurance premium payment 
program, 162N, 664R 

Nursing facilities 
Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 22ER, 
328R 

Preadmission screening and resident review, 601N, 
1178R 

Reimbursement methodology, 525R, 1247ER, 
1682N, 1890ER, 2187R 
Pass-through rate increase, 82R 

Resident review, 601N 
Standards for payment 

Level of care pathways, 1683N, 2187R 
Outpatient hospital services 

Children’s specialty hospitals 
Reimbursement rate increase, 462N, 631ER, 964R 
Supplemental payments for New Orleans area 
hospitals, 23ER, 868ER, 1720ER 

Reimbursement rate increase, 462N, 631ER, 964R 
Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 
hospitals, 24ER, 869ER, 1721ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 
25ER, 869ER, 1722ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals and children’s specialty 
hospitals 

Reimbursement rate increase, 1854N 
Pediatric day health care facilities 

Licensing standards, 82R 
Moratorium, provider enrollment, 2447P 

Pediatric day health care program, 82R 
Personal care services, long-term 

Standards for participation, 1469N, 1980R 
Electronic visit verification, 508ER, 1247ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program, 164N, 1180R 
Managed care supplemental rebates, 1204N 
Methods of payment, 26ER, 870ER 
Provider participation and reimbursement, 1056N, 
1553R 

State supplemental rebate agreement program, 26ER, 
464N, 966R 

Professional services program 
Enhanced federal medical assistance, percentage rate 
for preventative services, 871ER, 1206N, 1514ER, 
1758R 

Reimbursement methodology 
State-owned or operated professional services 
practices, 871ER, 1207N, 1514ER 

Supplemental payments, 227ER, 801N, 1126ER, 
1389R 

State-owned or operated professional services 
practices, enhanced reimbursement rates, 2036N 

Psychiatric residential treatment facilities 
Licensing standards, 329R, 2380N 

Recovery audit contractor program, 229ER, 1128ER, 
1891ER 

Targeted case management 
Reimbursement Methodology 

Early and periodic screening, diagnosis and 
treatment, 2038N 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
Academics, 1059N, 1981R 

Definitions 
LMFTs, 1059N, 1981R 
PLMFTs, 1059N, 1981R 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Acupuncture detoxification specialists 

Certification, 771N, 1362R 
Licensure, 771N, 1362R 
Practice, 771N, 1362R 

Acupuncturists 
Certification, 771N, 1362R 
Licensure, 771N, 1362R 
Practice, 771N, 1362R 

Athletic trainers 
Licensure, 586N, 1369R 
Practice, 586N, 1369R 

Licensure, telemedicine, 317R 
Prescription monitoring program data, mandatory access 
and review of, 2022N 
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HEALTH (continued) 
Physician assistants 

Certification, 595N, 1174R 
Licensure, 595N, 1174R 
Practice, 595N, 1174R 

Physicians, 1447N 
Certification, 1477N 
Collaboration, advanced practice registered nurses, 

2024N 
Licensure, 1477N 
Marijuana, therapeutic use, 318R 
Practice, 317R, 318R, 2024N 
Telemedicine, 317R 

Nursing, Board of 
Board composition, 780N, 1378R 
Disciplinary proceedings, 781N, 1379R 
Alternatives, 781N, 1379R 

Emergency action, 1450N, 1964R 
License, reinstatement, 1623N 
Nurses, registered, authorized practice, 2352N 
Physician collaboration, 2352N 
Viral infections, prevention, 428N, 957R 

Pharmacy, Board of 
Controlled dangerous substances  
Licenses 
Reinstatement, 156N, 627ER, 957R 

Drug product interchange, 782N, 2162R 
Marijuana pharmacy, 138N, 1537R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

1090P 
Naloxone 
Standing orders, distribution, 158N, 627ER, 958R 

Pharmacy 
Internships, 784N, 2163R 
Nonresident, pharmacist-in-charge, 50R 
Technicians, 153N, 1243ER, 2096ER 
Accreditation, 626ER 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

1094P 
Training programs, 626R 

Psychologists, Board of Examiners of 
Fees, 583N, 1173R 
Psychologists 
Ethical code of conduct, 574N, 1164R 
Supervision, 585N, 1173R 

School psychology, licensed specialists, 585N, 1173R 
Public Health, Office of 

Aborted human remains, burial/cremation, 872ER, 
1723ER 

Administrative procedures, 803N 
Controlled dangerous substances, 27ER, 1248ER 
Dairy products, 805N, 1391R 
Ground water, 83R 
Milk products laboratory test, 807N, 1392R 
Molluscan shellfish reuse, 808N, 1392R 
Parental rights form, notice, 809N, 1393R 
Sewerage outfall paths, 465N, 966R 
Special Supplemental, Nutrition Program for Women, 

Infants and Children (WIC), 27ER, 330R 
Total coliform, 83R 
Waterworks 
Construction, operation, maintenance, 2391N 

Family Health, Bureau of 
Title V MCH block grant, public notice, 612P 

Social Work Examiners, Board of 
Credentials 
Practice, 958R 
Supervision, 958R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

487P 
Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Continuing education, 2357N 
Fall/winter examination dates, 1692P 
Fee schedule, 492P 
Professional conduct, 2357N 

 
 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Emergency rule 32 and 33 
Suspension of right to cancel or nonrenew residential, 

commercial residential, or commercial property 
insurance due to historic flooding, 231ER, 873ER 

Insurance policy disclosure forms 
Homeowner and fire/commercial, 530R 

Regulation 32, group and individual coordination of 
benefits, 1210N 

Regulation 46, long-term care insurance, 811N, 1393R 
Regulation 76, privacy of consumer, 534R 
Regulation 108, discrimination complaints, 

investigation, 828N 
Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

1692P 
Regulation 109, producer, adjuster and related licenses, 

2040N 
Rule 3, advertisements of accident and sickness 

insurance, 1216N, 1984R 
Rule 3A, advertisement of Medicare supplement 

insurance, 1217N, 1985R 
Health, Life and Annuity Insurance, Office of 

HIPPA assessment rate, annual, 1224P 
 
 
 

JUSTICE 
Law Enforcement Officers and Firemen’s Survivor 
Benefit Review Board 
Survivor benefits, 832N, 1416R 

 
 
 

LEGISLATION 
Senate Committee on Health and Welfare 

Committee report—emergency rule nullification, 
839CR 

 
 
 

LOUISIANA STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM 
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center 
Louisiana Tumor Registry 
Tumor registry, 2044N 
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NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

E and P waste transfer pipeline systems, offsite, 536R 
Fees, 1686N, 2191R 
Groundwater conservation 

District reporting checklists, 2072P 
Oil and gas wells 

Financial security, 535R 
Future utility determinations, 535R 
Plug and abandonment, 535R 

Orphaned oilfield sites, 219P, 493P, 612P, 849P, 1096P, 
1225P, 1695P, 2074P, 2447P 

Transferable plugging credits in lieu of bond with 
security 
Advanced notice of rulemaking and solicitation of 
comments, 492P 

Environmental Division 
Commercial deep well injection waste disposal facility 

Exploration and production waste, 2081P 
Commercial type A treatment facility 

Exploration and production waste, storage and 
treatment, 2082P 

Injection and Mining Division 
Enhanced oil recovery (EOR), class II injection wells 

Advanced notice of rulemaking and solicitation of 
comments, 849P 

Secretary, Office of 
Debts owed to DNR, 2441N 

 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Correction Services 

Offenders 
Mail, 603N, 1187R 
Publications, 603N, 1187R 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 
Broker permits, 39ER, 179N, 967R 
Requirements, 967R 

Motor Vehicles, Office of 
Drivers 

Digitized license, 835N, 1419R 
Education, 1063N, 1759R 
Schools, 1063N, 1759R 

Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Crude oil discharges 

LWMIWCB, draft restoration plan, notice of 
availability, 2448P 

LWMIWCB, final settlement agreement, notice of 
availability, 2449P 

WMIWCB, draft settlement agreement, notice of 
availability, 1487P 

Restoration planning, notice of intent to conduct 
ID valley pipeline oil spill, Mooringsport, 1695P 

State Fire Marshal, Office of the 
Building safety, 467N, 968R 
Code enforcement, 467N, 968R 

State Police, Office of 
Breath and blood alcohol analysis methods and 
techniques, 2049N 

Concealed handgun permit, 671R 
Criminal record search, 676R 
DNA samples, techniques and collection, submission, 
receipt, identification, storage and disposal of, 2049N 

Escort fees, 2443N 
Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 
Inspections, motor vehicles, 537R 
Motor carrier safety and hazardous materials, 537R 

Uniform Construction Code Council 
Uniform construction code, 180N 

Public hearing, 493P 
 
 

REVENUE 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Alcohol beverage container label restrictions, 471N, 
1555R 

Online grocery pickup, 1557R 
Wine, sparkling/still 

Direct shipment, 1556R, 2053N 
Policy Services Division 

Criminal history record checks, federal tax information, 
2054N 

Motion picture investor tax credit brokers, public 
registry, 342R 

 
 
 

STATE 
Business Services Division 

Military personnel, powers of attorney, 1219N, 1985R 
Elections Division 

Registrar of voters, merit evaluation appeals, 1858N 
Voting technology, 1220N, 2192R 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 
1697P 

Election Supervisors, Board of  
Registrar of voters, merit evaluation appeals, 1856N 

Secretary of State, Office of the 
Fees, non-statutory, 1859N 
 
 
 
TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Offshore Terminal Authority 
Licensing, offshore terminal facilities 

Dry bulk cargoes, 1471N, 1986R 
Operations, Office of 

Toll exemptions, LA 1, 1863N 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Engineering degrees 
Advanced, 343R 
Graduate, 836N, 1419R 

Licensure 
Military spouses, 538R 
Military-trained individuals, 538R 
Professional engineers, 836N, 1419R 

Seals, professional engineers, 538R 
Work disclaimers, preliminary, 343R 
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TREASURY 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration, distributions, 41ER 
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System, Board 
of Trustees of the 
Provisions, 88R 
Service credit purchase, military service, 1472N, 1986R 

School Employees’ Retirement System, Board of 
Trustees of the 
Benefit limitations, 604N, 1187R 
ReNEW charter management organization, 2444N 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Fisheries, Office of 

Crab traps, abandoned, 2057N 
Reef fish 

Harvest, 89R 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Alligator egg collections, 90R 
Black bass 

Recreational harvest, daily take 
Possession limits, 1865N 
Size limits, 1865N 

Blue crab harvest, female crabs, 2059N 
Cervid carcass importation, 344R 
Cobia 

Possession limits, daily take, 1474N, 2194R 
Crab traps, abandoned, 2057N 
Experimental Fisheries Program, 1086N, 1558R 
Fishing 

Poverty Point reservoir 
Commercial, 90R 
Freshwater sport, 90R 
Netting prohibition, 90R 

Greater amberjack 
Seasons 

Commercial, 2017, 1249ER 
Harvest, 89R 

Recreational closure, 632ER 
Hunting, 205N, 1420R 

Seasons, 2017-18, 205N, 1420R 
Public hearing, substantive changes to notice of 
intent, 850P 

King mackerel 
Commercial season 
Closure, 2016-17, 233ER, 1131ER 
Closure, 2017-18, 2101ER 
Harvest, 2017-18, 42ER 
Possession limits, daily take, 1474N, 2194R 
Reopening, 2016-17, 1131ER 

Menhaden 
Commercial bait season, 2017, 509ER 

Oysters 
Harvest season 

Calcasieu Lake 
Closures 

Public area, 234ER 
West cove, 235ER 

Opening, public area, 234ER 
Recreational reef sites 

Establishment, 91R 
Restrictions, 91R 

Mississippi River, east 
Closure, 43ER 

Season, 2017-18 
Public areas, 1723ER 

Red snapper 
Recreational season, 2017, 44ER, 1249ER 

Closures 
Charter, 43ER 
Private, 43ER 

Harvest, 44ER 
Sawfish 

Harvest, 204N, 1187R 
Sharks 

Commercial season 
Large coastal 

Closure, 2017, 875ER 
Possession limit, non-sandbar, 44ER 

Harvest, 204N, 1187R 
Shrimp 

Seasons 
Closures, 44ER 

Fall inshore, 43ER, 235ER 
Spring inshore 

Management zones 
Zone 1, 1516ER 
Zone 2, 1250ER 
Zone 3, 1516ER 

Openings 
Fall inshore, 1515ER 
Spring inshore, 876ER 
State outside waters, 633ER, 876ER 

Spanish mackerel 
Possession limits, daily take, 1474N, 2194R 

Sterlet sturgeon 
Facility permit, 1688N 

 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Plumbing Board 

Plumbers, 235ER, 484N, 541R, 972R 
Administration proceedings, revocation, 235ER, 
484N, 541R, 972R 

Continuing professional education, 235ER, 484N, 
541R, 972R 

Licenses, 235ER, 484N, 541R, 972R 
Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 

Fees, 2060N 
Forms, 2060N 
Hearings 

Claims, 473N 
Commencement, 473N 

Medical treatment guidelines 
Extremities 

Lower, 474N 
Upper, 474N 

Utilization review, 474N 
 

 


