The following list contains up-to-date, CERTIFIED ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY publications currently available through the Office of the State Register:

VOLUME 11, AIR QUALITY (5/91) . . v v i i ittt ettt ieee e $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . .........ciiittiieeeennnens $60.00)
VOLUME 11A, AIR QUALITY AMENDMENTS TODATE) ....... $36.05
(Out-of-state purchases . .........oieteteeeeeenneeens $35.00)
VOLUME 12, AIR QUALITY (12/87) « v v vt ittt ettt et eeeeenns $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . ..........ciiiittttnneeennnns $60.00)
VOLUME 12A, AIR QUALITY AMENDMENTS (TO DATE) ....... $15.45
(Out-of-state purchases . ........cc0iiieeeeeeeeenn. $15.00)
VOLUME 13, HAZARDOUS WASTE AND HAZARDOUS
MATERIALS (9/91) . .. ittt ittt ittt ettt eeeennnas $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . ..........ovittieeneeennenas $60.00)
VOLUME 13A, HAZARDOUS WASTE AND HAZARDOUS
MATERIALS AMENDMENTS (TODATE) ......c0v0eee.. $25.75
(Out-of-state purchases . .............c0tttteeeeenn. $25.00)
VOLUME 14WQ, WATER QUALITY (11/91) . . . v v e v vt et e e e e e e $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . .........u ittt ieeeeeeeenns $60.00)
VOLUME 14SW, SOLID WASTE (2/93) . ¢ vttt ittt ettt e nnns $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . ..........coiiit ittt eeennnns $60.00)
VOLUME 14UT, UNDERGROUND TANKS (1/92) .. ... eveeeun.. $41.20
(Out-of-state purchases . ... ......co ittt eeeeennns $40.00)
VOLUME 15, NUCLEAR ENERGY (4/88) .+« vttt vttt ettt e $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . ...........0iiiiinneeenn. $60.00)
VOLUME 15A, NUCLEAR ENERGY AMENDMENTS (TO DATE) ... $15.45
(Out-of-state purchases . ...........0 ittt eeeeeenn. $15.00)
VOLUME 17, NATURAL RESOURCES (6/90) . ... ...t eueunn. $61.80
(Out-of-state purchases . ..........ouiiiiittenneennes $60.00)
PLEASE NOTE: Prices may change as amendments are incorporated into
amendment booklets to bring the printed regulations
up-to-date.

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO: Office of State Register, P.O. Box 94095, Baton
Rouge, LA 70804-9095 _ 2/93



NOTE: TO ALL SOLID WASTE, VOLUME 14SW
SUBSCRIBERS

SOLID WASTE REGULATIONS HAVE BEEN
COMPLETELY REVISED AND ARE EFFECTIVE
UPON PUBLICATION OF THIS FEBRUARY,
1993 LOUISIANA REGISTER. PLEASE SEE
PREVIOUS PAGE FOR INSTRUCTIONS ON
ORDERING THE NEW SOLID WASTE
REGULATIONS, VOLUME 14SW.
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EMERGENCY
RULES

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Forestry
Forestry Commission

Seedling Prices
(LAC 7:XXXIX.20301)

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of
Forestry Commission is exercising the emergency provision of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to amend
LAC 7:XXXIX.20301 pertaining to seedling prices.

Emergency adoption is necessary in order that the Office of
Forestry fulfill the provisions of R.S. 3:4303 to grow and
provide tree seedlings to Louisiana landowners at a minimum
cost. This emergency adoption will enable the Office of
Forestry to market all available tree seedlings currently
nsold.

This declaration of emergency is effective January 25, 1993
and remains in effect for 120 days or until this rule takes
2i" >t through the normal promulgation process.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXXIX. Forestry
Chapter 203. Tree Seedlings
§20361. Seedling Prices

A. The Louisiana Forestry Commission adopts the
follcwing prices for forest tree seedlings:

1. Improved Pine Seedlings  $ 30 per thousand
2. Special Pine Seedlings 50 per thousand
3. Hardwood Seedlings 150 per thousand

B.1. Volume discounts for bulk loblolly/slash pine seedling

orders and contracts shall be as follows:

Order/Sale Proposed
Volume (# seedlings) Discounted Prices
- 1,000,000 $30.00/M
1,000,001 - 2,000,000 $29.50/M
2,000,001 - 3,000,000 $29.00/M
3,000,001 - 4,000,000 $28.50/M
4,000,001 - 5,000,000 $28.00/M
5,000,001 - 6,000,000 $27.50/M
6,000,001 - $27.00/M

The Office of Forestry seed costs shall be deducted from these
prices when seedlings are produced from seed supplied by the
customer.
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2. When there is a surplus of seedlings above planned or
expected sales, a more accelerated rate of price reductions will
be considered, subject to approval of the state forester and/or
commissioner of Agriculture.

3. This accelerated rate of discounts will be applied no
earlier than 30 days prior to the anticipated end of the annual
lifting season.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:1503, redesignated R.S. 3:4303.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Natural
Resources, Office of Forestry and the Louisiana Forestry
Commission, LR 8:285 (June 1982), amended LR 10:458 (June
1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry,
Office of Forestry and Louisiana Forestry Commission, LR 13:432
(August 1987), amended LR 19:

Bob Odom
Commissioner

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Corrupt and Prohibited Practices
(LAC 35:1.Chapter 17)

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts/amends the following emergency
rule effective February 21, 1993, and it shall remain in effect
for 120 days or until this rule takes effect through the normal
promulgation process, whichever occurs first.

The State Racing Commission finds it necessary to
amend/adopt this emergency rule to be consistent with other
states’ rules concerning permitted medication in two-year-old
horses, and to conform to penalty guidelines established by the
Association of Racing Commissioners International, Inc.

Title 35
HORSE RACING
Part I. General Provisions
Chapter 17. Corrupt and Prohibited Practices
§1722. Medication in Two-Year-Olds

Notwithstanding anything in any rule of racing, medication,
except bleeder medication, shall not be prescribed, dispensed
or administered to a two-year-old horse to be raced or racing,
or when there is racing planned for a two-year-old horse, in
the state of Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:148.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Commerce, Racing Commission LR 12:11 (January 1986), amended
by the Department of Economic Development, Racing Commission
LR 19:

§1795. Classification of Foreign Substances by Category

Prohibited drugs and prohibited substances are classified in
the appropriate one of five classes.
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A. Known and identified prohibited drugs and substances
are classified and listed according to their appropriate class as
defined in the Association of Racing Commissioners
International, Inc. Drug Testing and Quality Assurance
Program’s Uniform Classification Guidelines for Foreign
Substances.

B. Unknown or unidentified drugs or substances which are
prohibited but not listed shall be appropriately classified by the
state chemist upon discovery or detection. A supplemental
listing of the appropriate classification of such discovered or
detected drugs shall be maintained at the domicile office and
be made available to the public upon request. A prohibited
drug or substance remains prohibited regardless of whether it
is listed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:141 and R.S. 4:148.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Racing Commission LR 19:

§1797. Penalty Guidelines

A. Upon finding a violation by a permittee of prohibited
medication rules, of prohibited substance rules, or of improper
or excessive use of permitted medications, the stewards, or the
commission, shall consider the classification level as set forth
in §1795 and will, in the absence of mitigating or aggravating
circumstances, endeavor to impose penalties and disciplinary
measures consistent with the recommended guidelines
contained herein. Whenever a majority of the stewards find
or conclude that there are mitigating or aggravating
circumstances, they should so state in their ruling such finding
or conclusion, and should impose the penalty which they find
is appropriate under the circumstances to the extent of their
zuthority or, if necessary, refer the matter to the commission
with specific recommendations for further action.

B. The recommended guidelines for a violation of each
classification level are as follows:

1. Class I: suspension of license for a period of not less
than one year and not more than five years and a fine of
$5,000. The purse shall be redistributed.

2. Class II: suspension of license for a period of not less
than six months and not more than one year and a fine of not
less than $1,500 and not more than $2,500. The purse shall
be redistributed.

3. Class III: suspension of license for a period of not
less than sixty days and not more than six months and/or a
fine of not more than $1,500. The purse shall be
redistributed.

4. Classes IV and V:

a. on a first violation within a 12-month period, a fine
of $200;
b. on a second violation within a 12-month period, a
fine of $500;
c. on a third or subsequent violation within a 12-month
period:
i. suspension of license;
ii. fine of $1,500;
iii. order the purse redistributed; and
iv. refer the permittee to the commission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

4:141 and R.S. 4:148.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Racing Commission LR 19:

Oscar J. Tolmas
Chairman

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Permitted Medication in Two-Year-Old Horses
(LAC 35:1.1503,1511)

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts/amends the following emergency
rule effective February 21, 1993, and it shall remain in effect
for 120 days or until this rule takes effect through the normal
promulgation process, whichever comes first.

The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it necessary
to amend this rule to be consistent with other states’ rules
concerning permitted medication in two-year-old horses.

Title 35
HORSE RACING
Part 1. General Provisions
Chapter 15. Permitted Medication
§1503.Two-year-clds

The only ‘‘Permitted Medication’ for two-year olds for
racing shall be bleeder medication as defined in §1509. The
presence of any other ‘‘Permitted Medication’’ or of any drug
or substance in the blood or urine specimen of a two-year old
horse, regardless of the level thereof, shall be prima facie
evidence of the presence of such medication or drug and a
violation of this rule.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:141 and R.S. 4:142.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Commerce, Racing Commission LR 2:451 (December 1976),
repromulgated LR 4:289 (August 1978), amended LR 6:620
(December 1981), LR 9:547 (August 1983), amended by Department
of Economic Development, Racing Commission LR 19:

§1511. Violations of Permitted Medication Rules

After notice and hearing, any person found to have violated
the provisions of the permitted medication rule may be
punished by fine, and/or suspension, and/or revocation of
his/her license.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:141 and R.S. 4:142.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Commerce, Racing Commission LR 6:174 (May 1980), amended LR
9:548 (August 1983), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Racing Commission LR 16:765 (September 1990), LR
19:

Oscar J. Tolmas
Chairman
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DECLARATION. OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Eduacation

Bulletin 1868, BESE Personnel Manual
Employee Grievances

The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education has
exercised those powers conferred by the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and re-adopted as an
emergency rule, an amendment to Bulletin 1868, BESE
Personnel Manual, Chapter G: Employee Grievances. This
amendment was previously adopted as an emergency rule and
printed in full in the November, 1992 issue of the Louisiana
Register, on pages 1205-1206. Re-adoption as an emergency
rule is necessary in order to continue the present emergency
rule until it is finalized as a rule. Effective date of this
emergency rule is February 21, 1993.

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Model Career Options Program Guide (MCOP)

The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education has
exercised those powers conferred by the Administrative
Procedure Act, R. S. 49-953(B) and readopted as an
emergency rule, a revision to the Louisiana Model Career
Options Program Guide (MCOP) as stated below.

The MCOP Guide affects teachers who are eligible to
participate in the Model Career Options Program in the 1992-
93 school year. Readoption of this revision as an emergency
rule is necessary in order to continue this revision until it is
finalized as a rule. Effective date of this emergency rule is
February 21, 1993. This revision was previously adopted as
an emergency rule and printed on page 1065 of the October,
1992 issue of the Louisiana Register.

Amendment to Model Career Options Program Guide
(MCOP)

On page 23, delete the following paragraph:

"Because the additional services provided by the MCOP
teacher do not meet the definition of Earnable Compensation
in R. 8. 17:541(9), neither the employee’s nor employer’s
share of the additional MCOP compensation shall be remitted
to the Teacher’s Retirement System of Louisiana. Therefore,
no deduction for the teacher’s retirement shall be made from
the MCOP teacher’s compensation”.

On page 23, add the following paragraph:

"If funds are available from the Louisiana Legislature for
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the MCOP, the employer’s portion of the contribution to the
teacher’s retirement fund will be provided to the LEAs as a
part of the overall MCOP funding".

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Parish Superintendents’ Advisory Council

The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
exercised those powers conferred by the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and approved the composition
of the Parish Superintendents’ Advisory Council as stated
below:

1. The Parish Superintendents’ Advisory Council shall be
made up of 23 superintendents:

A. Each board member shall make two appointments
with at least one member, if possible, coming from a rural
system;

B. The president of the Louisiana Association of School
Superintendents shall serve as chairman of the council;

2. Eight superintendent members in attendance shall
constitute a quorum;

3. If a council member cannot be present for a meeting, he
can appoint another superintendent from his district to
represent him. The representative will have voting privileges.

Emergency adoption is necessary in order that council
appointments can be made and representatives serving as a
proxy may have voting privileges. Effective date of the
emergency rule is January 21, 1993, and supersedes the
previously adopted emergency rule printed in the November,
1992 issue of the Louisiana Register on page 1206.

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors

Complete Rules Revision (LAC LXXX.Chapters 1-19)

The Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors (LSBCSAC) has exercised the emergency
provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)
to completely revise LAC 46:LXXX pertaining to the rules
which govern the LSBCSAC, the certification of substance
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abuse counselors, and the practice of substance abuse
counseling. These rules are prepared by the board to provide
for and implement its authority and responsibility pursuant to
the Substance Abuse Counselor Certification Act (the act),
R.S. 37:3371-3384. -

The need for emergency action is to respond to the act as
amended which has reorganized the membership of the
board. This reorganization necessitates restructuring the
functions of the board and dictates establishing promulgated
rules for all duties required by the act.

The effective date of this emergency rule is January 23,
1993 and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or until it takes
effect through the normal promulgation process, whichever is
shortest.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LXXX. Board of Certification
for Substance Abuse Counselors
Chapter 1. General Provisions
§101. Scope

The rules of this Part are relative to and govern the
Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance Abuse
Counselors (the board) within the Department of Health and
Hospitals, the certification for substance abuse counselors, and
the practice of substance abuse counseling.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§103. Source and Authority

These rules are promulgated by the board to provide for and
implement its authority and responsibility pursuant to the
Substance Abuse Counselor Certification Act (the act), R.S.
37:3371-3384.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1075 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§105. Definitions

A. As used in these rules, the following terms shall have
the meanings specified:

Act—the Substance Abuse Counselor Certification Act, Act
1987, No 382, §2, as amended, R.S. 37:3371-3384.

Board—the Louisiana State Board of Certification for
Substance Abuse Counselors. The acronym "LSBCSAC" shall
also refer to this board.

Board Approved Clinical Training Program—any clinical-

setting involving substance abuse treatment or substance abuse
counseling services which has applied for, received, and
maintained approval by the board. The board shall provide
for institutions to register as being board approved for clinical
training in substance abuse counseling.

Board Approved Educational Program—any course,
workshop, seminar, conference or other educational program
presented by an organization which has applied for, received,
and maintained approval by the board. The board shall
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provide for organizations to register as being board approved
as an education provider in the field of substance abuse
counseling.

Board Approved Institution of Higher Education—any
college or university accredited by a recognized regional
accrediting body which has applied for, received, and '
maintained approval of the board. The board shall provide for
institutions of higher education to register as being board
approved for higher education in substance abuse counseling.

Core Functions—the screening, intake, orientation,
assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case management,
crisis intervention, client education, referral, reports and
record keeping, and consultation with professionals.

Qualified Professional Supervisor—a substance abuse
counselor who has been certified and has worked in a licensed
or board approved substance abuse treatment program for a
minimum of two years; or a credentialed professional such as
a board certified social worker, licensed psychologist, or
licensed physician; or any other professional recognized as a
trainer by the board upon presentation of verification and
documentation of expertise. The board shall provide for
qualified professional supervisors to register as substance
abuse counselor supervisors.

Substance Abuse—the repeated pathological use of drugs,
including alcohol, which causes physical, psychological,
economic, legal, or social harm to the individual user or to
others affected by the user’s behavior.

Substance Abuse Counselor—any person who, by means of
his specific knowledge acquired through formal education and
practical experience, is qualified to provide substance abuse
counseling services which utilize the basic core functions
specific to substance abuse counseling and is certified as such
by the board. The board shall consider any person providing
such services as purporting to be a substance abuse counselor.

B. All terms used in these rules which are defined by the
act, R.S. 37:3372, shall have the same meanings in these rules
as defined by the act.

C. Masculine terms wheresoever used in these rules shall
also be deemed to include the feminine.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1075 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:

§107. Severability

If any provision of these rules, or the application or
enforcement thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not
affect other provisions or applications of these rules which can
be given effect without the invalid provisions or applications,
and to this end the several provisions of these rules are hereby
declared severable.

- AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1075 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:

§109. Board Procedures and Administration
Repealed.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
Chapter 3. Practice
§301. Scope of Practice

A. The practice of substance abuse counseling within the
meaning and intent of these rules and regulations shall consist
of the rendering of professional guidance to abusers of drugs
or alcohol to assist them in gaining an understanding of the
nature of their disorder and developing an maintaining a
responsible lifestyle free of substance abuse. The scope of
practice shall include making appropriate referrals to qualified
professionals, providing counseling to family members when
appropriate, and utilizing the core functions of substance abuse
counseling.

B. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
to authorize a substance abuse counselor to practice medicine,
social work, or psychology, or to provide counseling for
disorders other than substance abuse. A substance abuse
counselor shall not order, administer, or interpret
psychological tests or utilize psychometric procedures.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1076 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§303. Minimum Standards of Practice

The minimum standard of practice will be met if:

1. the counselor is certified and in good standing with the
board;

2. the counselor adheres to the code of ethics as set forth
in these rules; and

3. the counselor practices within the scope of practice
defined in these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1077 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§305. Acceptance of Application

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
§307. Renewal

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
§309. Denial or Revocation of Certification

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
Chapter 5. Organization, Functions, and Delegation of

Authority
§501. Fees

A. The board shall be financially self-sufficient. It shall
receive no state funds through appropriation or otherwise and
shall not expend or commit to expend any such state funds.

B. To defray the cost of administering the provisions of the
act, the board shall fix reasonable fees to be assessed and
reasonable penalties to be assessed for late renewal of
certification and other administrative infractions.

C. The fees for application, certification, registration, and
other services of the LSBCSAC shall be set by the board
annually upon adoption of the budget for the fiscal year. Each
fee shall not exceed $200 and the total shall not exceed the
amount required to maintain and pay the operating expenses of
the board.

D. The fee schedule shall be as follows. It shall be
available upon request made to the board.

1. Application $50
2. Initial Certification $150
3. Examination $150
4. Certification by Transition $150
5. Certification by Reciprocity $150
6. Renewal of Certification $150
7. Late Fee for Renewal of Certification $100
8. Reinstatement of Certification $100
9. Replacement of Lost/Destroyed Certificate $25
10. Appeal of Committee Decision $50
11. Special Handling $15
12. Express Mail $10
13. Request for Waiver $25
14. Registration as CIT $25
15. Renewal of Registration as CIT $25
16>. Registration as RCS $75
17. Renewal of Registration as RCS $50
18. Registration as ATI $200
19. Renewal of Registration as ATI $150
20. Registration as AEP $100
21. Renewal of Registration as AEP $75
22. Registration as AIHE $100
23. Renewal of Registration as AIHE $75
24. Late Fee for Renewal of Any Registration $ 50
25. Single Course Approval Fee $30
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26. Filing of Course Attendance (per person) $1
27. Minimum Filing Fee (per course) $10
28. Copies of Records (per page) $1
29. liesearch of Closed Records (each) $10

E. All fees are non-refundable.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1078 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§503. Board Organization, Procedure, and Administration

A. Members

The board shall consist of seven members appointed by the
governor, subject to Senate confirmation, pursuant to R.S.
37:3373(A). The board shall consist at all times of at least
two members who are recovering from a prior chemical
dependency problem, however, a majority of the board shall
be composed of individuals who are board certified substance
abuse counselors or doctors certified by the American Society
of Addiction Medicine.

B. Oath

Before taking office, each member of the board duly
appointed by the governor shall subscribe before a notary
public, and cause to be filed with the secretary of the board,
an oath in substantially the following form:

"I HEREBY SOLEMNLY SWEAR AND
AFFIRM that I accept the trust imposed on

me as a member of the Louisiana State Board
of Certification for Substance Abuse Counselors,
and will perform the duties imposed on me as
such by the laws of the state of Louisiana

to the best of my ability and without partiality
or favoritism to any constituency, group or
interests which I may individually represent or
with whom I may personally be associated. "

C. By-Laws

The board shall adopt by-laws which shall govern the
operation of the board.

D. Officers

The board shall elect a chairman, vice chairman, secretary-
treasurer, and officer pro tem, pursuant to the by-laws.

E. Meetings

1. The board shall hold at least four regular meetings
annually.

2. The chairman may call meetings by giving three days
notice to all board members.

3. A majority of the members of the board may call
meetings by giving 10 days notice to all board members.

4. Meetings shall be announced and conducted under the
provisions of the Louisiana Open Meetings Law, R.S. 42:1 -

R.S. 42:12.
5. A quorum of the board necessary to transact all

business is a majority of its current membership.

6. Robert’s Rules of Order Revised shall be the basis of
parliamentary decisions except as otherwise provided by the
by-laws or by resolution adopted by the board.
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7. An agenda shall be prepared and submitted to each
member of the board which includes the order of business,
items required by law, and other matters approved by the
chairman. The board may vote to amend the agenda during
its meeting.

F. Minutes

1. The minutes of any board meeting are official only
when certified by the secretary-treasurer and affixed with the
original signature of the chairman. The chairman shall sign
the minutes upon their being submitted by the secretary-
treasurer at a meeting of the board and approved by action of
the board.

2. The minutes of board meetings shall contain a record
of all official business conducted by the board.

3. A draft copy of the minutes of each meeting shall be
forwarded to each member of the board for review and
comments or corrections prior to approval by the board.

4. The official minutes of the board meetings shall be
kept in the office of the board and shall be available during
regular office hours to any person desiring examination
thereof.

G. Committees

1. The chairman, with the knowledge of or at the
direction of the board, may establish committees deemed
necessary to carry out the board responsibilities. Each
committee shall have a designated committee chairman.

2. The structure and duties of committees shall be
defined in the by-laws of the board.

3. Committees, when so directed by the board, shall
prepare and publish policies and procedures to govern their
functions. The board shall review and approve all policies and
procedures.

4. The committee chairman shall make regular reports to
the board either in writing or at regular meetings.

5. The committees shall meet when called by the
committee chairman, the chairman of the board, or when so
directed by the board.

H. Attendance

1. The attendance policy of the board is that members
will attend regular and specially called board meetings, and
committee meetings as scheduled.

2. The board may report to proper governmental agencies
the attendance records of its members.

I. Employees

1. The board may employ persons at will necessary to
carry out the duties and responsibilities of the LSBCSAC.

2. The board shall prepare policies and procedures to
govern employment, titles, job descriptions, compensation,
and other personnel matters. These policies and procedures
shall be consistent with state civil service and Department of
Health and Hospitals regulations.

3. The board may delegate authority and responsibility to
employees. .

4. The board retains ultimate authority and responsibility
over all employees.
J. Transactions of Official Business
1. The board may transact official business only when in
a legally constituted meeting with a quorum present.
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2. The board shall not be bound in any way by any
statement or action on the part of any board or staff member
except when a statement or action is pursuant to the specific
instructions of the board.

3. The by-laws, policies and procedures, resolutions, and
other official actions when approved by motion duly made,
seconded, and passed shall constitute the official business of
the board. '

K. Official Records

1. Official records of the board shall be maintained at the
office of the board or other depository authorized by the
board.

2. All official records of the board including application
materials, except materials containing information considered
confidential, shall be open for inspection during regular office
hours.

3. Any person desiring to examine official records shall
be required to properly identify himself and sign statements
listing the records questioned and examined. Records which
are stored in historical files or which have been authorized for
off site storage may require a fee for research and location.

4. Official records shall not be taken from the board’s
office. Persons may obtain copies of records upon written
request and by paying a fee prescribed by the board.

L. Discrimination Policy

The board shall make no decision in the discharge of its
duty with regard to any persons’ race, religion, color, sex, or
national origin.

M. Policy on Handicapped Applicants

The board recognizes that handicapped applicants may
encounter special problems in applying for certification and
will make every effort, as required by law, to accommodate
these applicants.

N. Certificate

1. The board shall prepare and provide to each certified
counselor a certificate which lists the counselor’s name, date
of initial certification, and certification number.

2. Original certificates shall not be issued until the
application has been evaluated and approved by official action
of the board. The board may set the effective date and
expiration date of the certificate at the time of approval.

3. Replacement certificates shall be issued when the
‘required request has been received and fee paid. Replacement
certificates shall contain the same information as the original
certificate.

4. Official certificates shall be signed by the chairman,
vice chairman, and secretary-treasurer, and be affixed with the
official seal of the State of Louisiana. Certificates shall be
signed by officers who are serving at the time the certificate
is issued.

5. Currency of the certificate shall be documented by a
wallet card issued by the board with the date of certification
or renewal and the date of expiration.

O. Roster and Mailing Lists

1. Each year the board shall make available a roster of
Board Certified Substance Abuse Counselors.

2. The roster shall include, but not be limited to, the
name, address, and telephone number of each counselor. Itis
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the counselor’s responsibility to keep the board informed of

changes of address or other information.

3. The board shall make copies of the roster available to
counselors, interested agencies, and the general public upon
request and at a cost prescribed by the board.

4. The use of mailing lists may be obtained from the
LSBCSAC by submitting the prescribed fee with a written
request, including delivery instructions, to the office of the
LSBCSAC.

5. Rosters and mailing lists are the property of the
LSBCSAC and shall not be distributed nor used by any party
other than that which initially obtained a copy.

P. Annual Schedule

The board shall set and publish an annual schedule of
activities, including regular meeting dates, application
deadlines, examination dates, and expiration dates.

Q. Notice and Receipt

1. Notices and communications are official when signed
by a member of the beard or other person so designated and
mailed to the address of record.

2. The receipt of applications, forms, notices, and other
communications by the board shall be determined by the date
when received in the office of the LSBCSAC.

3. The board shall not be responsible for delay in
delivery.

R. Waivers and Appeals

1. The board may consider waiver of a requirement over
which it has authority for due cause. A request for such
waiver shall be made in writing detailing justification for the
request and the specific action desired, and shall be
accompanied by the required fee.

2. The board may be requested to rule on the appeal of
any decision made by its committees. A request for appeal of
a committee decision shall be made in writing detailing the
facts and the specific action desired, and shall be accompanied
by the required fee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1078 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:

§505. Advice and Consultation

The board shall seek the advice of the Louisiana
Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse, in accordance with
R.S. 46:2503(E), concerning establishing minimum
educational and experiential requirements for persons seeking
certification under the provisions of the act. The board shall
also consult with the commission on matters pertaining to
certification requirements and standards.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1079 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:

§507. Prohibited Activities

Repealed.
~ AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:3374(6).
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
§509. Penalties

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
§511. Confidentiality

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1074 (December, 1989), repealed LR 19:
Chapter 7. Certification
§701. Requirements

A. Initial Certification

The board shall issue a certification as a Board Certified
Substance Abuse Counselor (BCSAC) to each candidate who:

1. is at least 21 years of age and has earned a high
school diploma or its equivalent;

2. is a citizen of the United States;

3. is not in violation of any ethical standards subscribed
to by the board;

4. is not and has not been a abuser of alcohol or other
drugs during the previous two years;

5. has not been convicted of a felony. However, the
board in its discretion may waive this requirement upon
review of the individuals’s circumstances;

6. provides evidence of having earned educational credit
sufficient to satisfy the requirements for counselor certification
which include:

a. has successfully completed a minimum of 30 hours
of substance abuse courses or their equivalent from an
accredited and board approved institution of higher
education. Equivalency may be met by a minimum of 15
semester hours and the remainder, up to 15 equivalent hours,
granted by a board approved institution of higher education or
other board approved educational program at the rate of 10
contact hours per one semester hour;

b. for candidates applying for certification on or after
September 1, 1993, possesses a bachelor’s degree from an
accredited institution of higher education.

7. provides evidence of having successfully completed the
experiential requirements for counselor certification which
include:

a. one year of full-time employment in a board
approved clinical training program or the equivalent
thereof. Equivalence may be met by 2,000 clock hours of
work on a part-time or volunteer basis in a board approved
clinical training program;

b. the full-time duties or equivalent thereof were in the
actual performance of the core functions with substance abuse
clients;

c. the full-time duties or equivalent thereof were under
the supervision of a qualified professional including direct
supervisor in each of the 12 core functions.
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8. demonstrates professional competency in substance
abuse counseling by passing a written and oral examination
prescribed by the board;

9. makes application and pays the fees prescribed by the
board;

10. it is the candidate’s responsibility to assure himself
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately prepare
him to be able to demonstrate professional competency in
substance abuse counseling;

11. it is the candidate’s responsibility to assure himself
that his clinical experience has provided comprehensive
training sufficient to adequately prepare him to be able to
demonstrate professional competency in substance abuse
counseling;

12. credit received for practicum, internship, or other
experiential education may be claimed for education or
experience, but not both.

B. Certification by Transition from LASACT, Inc.

The board shall issue a certificate to any person who:

1. submits an application and pays the fees equivalent to
those required for the initial application and examination;

2. meets the requirements in §701.A.1 through 7;

3. holds a valid and current certificate as a substance
abuse counselor issued by the Louisiana Association of
Substance Abuse Counselors and Trainers (LASACT), Inc.

C. Certification by Reciprocity from Other States

The board may issue a certificate, without examination in
this state, to any person who:

1. submits an application and pays the fees equivalent to
those required for the initial application and examination;

2. possesses a valid certificate to practice as a substance
abuse counselor in any other state of the United States;

3. can satisfy the board that the certificate from the other
state is based upon an examination and other requirements
substantially equivalent to the requirements of §701.A.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1079 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§703. Application and Examination

A. Request for Application

1. Persons desiring information regarding certification as
a Board Certified Substance Abuse Counselor shall be sent an
information brochure and a request for application form.

2. The board will not evaluate an applicant’s credentials
without receiving a complete application package.

3. An application package shall be sent to any person
who files a request for application form and pays the
application fee set by the board.

4. An applicant shall have six months from the date
issued to complete the application package and return it to the
board. The application package shall expire one year from the
date it is issued. Applicants with expired or void application
packages must re-apply.

'B. Required Application Materials
1. The application package shall contain forms for the
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applicant to provide information and documentation of meeting
the requirements for certification. Instructions for completing
the forms and submitting the package shall also be included.

2. The application package shall accommodate the
variations in requirements for initial certification, certification
by transition from LASACT, Inc., certification by reciprocity
from another state, or any other type of certifications
authorized by law.

3. Each application package shall require the following:

a. specific information regarding personal data,
employment and type of practice, any other state license and
certification held, felony convictions, educational background
including practicum experience, supervised experience, and
references;

b. the applicant’s permission for the board to seek any
additional information or references it deems necessary to
determine the applicant’s qualifications;

c. a statement that the applicant, if issued a
certification, shall return the certificate, current certification
card, and any other designations granted by the board upon a
revocation or suspension of the certification;

d. a statement that the applicant understands that fees
submitted in the certification process are non-refundable;

e. the application signed by the applicant, dated, and
notarized;

f. a recent full face wallet size photograph of the
applicant affixed to the application with the imprint of the
notary seal overlapping the photograph.

4. A supervisor’s evaluation form shall be required. This
evaluation is confidential and shall be mailed directly to the
office of the LSBCSAC.

5. Three professional references shall be required. These
references are confidential and shall be mailed directly to the
office of the LSBCSAC.

6. An application will not be reviewed until the submitted
application package is completed, i.e., all of the required
information and forms are received by the board.

C. Acceptance of Application

1. Applications will be accepted if the complete
application package meets the requirements for certification
with the exception of passing the required examinations.

2. Should the package submitted not meet the
‘requirements, the applicant will be notified of the
deficiencies. Applicants may correct deficiencies by
submitting an addendum to their application providing
additional or corrected information.

3. The certification committee shall rule on any questions
concerning applications for certification.

4. Upon notification that the application is acceptable, the
applicant becomes a candidate for certification.

a. Candidates requiring examination are then eligible
to request the written and oral examinations.

b. The applications of candidates not requiring
examination are ready for evaluation by the board for approval
and issue of certification and the candidates shall be so
notified.

D. Examination
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1. Candidates must request examination by submitting the
required form, including a written case, selecting an
examination date 30 days in advance, and paying the
examination fee set by the board.

2. The board shall determine the scope and
administration of the examination which shall consist of
written and oral parts to provide the opportunity for the
candidate to demonstrate competency in substance abuse
counseling.

3. The board shall develop, publish, and make available
for interested parties a bibliography and study guide for the
examinations.

4. The board shall notify each candidate of the
examination results within 60 days of the date of the
examination.

a. If the notice of the examination results will be
delayed for more than 60 days, the board shall notify the
applicant before the sixtieth day.

b. Regardless of which numerical or other scoring
system is used to arrive at examination results, the official
notice of results to applicants shall be stated in terms of passed
or failed.

5. The application of a candidate who fails to appear for
an examination date selected or agreed to by the candidate for
reasons other than documented illness or other causes beyond
the candidate’s control becomes void. The candidate must
re-apply and pay all applicable fees.

6. The application of a candidate who fails both parts of
the examination becomes void. The candidate must re-apply
and pay all applicable fees.

7. A candidate who fails either part of the examination
may:

a. continue in the process as long as his application is
valid;

b. re-test the failed part of the examination by
submitting the required form, including a written case for an
oral re-test, selecting a new examination date 30 days in
advance, and paying the examination fee set by the board.

8. If requested, by the candidate, the board shall furnish
the candidate who fails any examination an evaluation of that
candidate’s test performance.

9. The applications of candidates who pass both parts of
the examination are ready for evaluation by the board for
approval and issue of certification and the candidates shall be
so notified.

10. The certification committee shall rule on any
questions concerning examination.

E. Approval and Issue

1. A candidate who has been notified that his application
is ready for evaluation shall submit the certification fee
prescribed by the board 10 days prior to the next regular
meeting of the board.

2. Upon receipt of the certification fee, the board shall
examine the application and recommendations from the
certification committee. The board shall issue certification as
a BCSAC to the candidate upon formal affirmative vote of the
majority of the board present and voting provided there is a
quorum present.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6). '

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1079 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§705. Renewal )

A. Every person certified under these rules and regulations
shall renew his certificate every two years.

B. Notice

A renewal notice and renewal application forms shall be
mailed to the address of record 30 days prior to expiration.

C. Issue of New Card

1. Upon receipt of the application for renewal, proof of
the required continuing professional education, and the
renewal fee, the board shall verify the accuracy of the
application for renewal and issue a new wallet card with the
date of renewal and the new expiration date.

2. Applications for renewal which do not satisfy the
requirements will be deficient. The counselor will be notified
and allowed to correct the deficiency. It is the counselor’s
responsibility to-correct the deficiency prior to the expiration
date of his certification.

3. The certification committee shall rule on any questions
regarding application for renewal of certification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1080 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§707. Continuing Professional Education

A. Within the two years prior to application for
certification renewal, all board certified substance abuse
counselors must have completed at least 48 clock hours of
education directly applicable to substance abuse counseling.

B. Sources

1. The 48 hours of education must be in the form of
workshops, seminars, courses, or other organized educational
programs conducted by providers previously approved by the
board. Semester credit hours may be converted to clock hours
at the rate of 10 clock hours per one semester hour.

2. In-service training conducted by and for a counselor’s
own agency does not count towards this requirement.
Education conducted by a counselor’s own agency which has
prior board approval shall be accepted.

3. A maximum of 12 hours of education equivalence may
be requested for each year.

a. Service to the board is an education equivalent if the
board issues a document to verify the service as such.

b. Delivery of a board approved educational program
is an education equivalent if the trainer documents that the
material was presented for the first time or from recently
acquired updated sources.

C. Content

The continuing education for renewal of certification must
come from at least three of the following:

1. techniques of screening, intake, orientation, and
assessment of client/patient;

2. client education approaches for problems of chemical
dependency;
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3. treatment planning strategies and counseling skills;

4. chemical dependency counseling techniques including
individual and group psychodynamics;

5. case management matrices, consultation methods, and
the utilization of other professional/treatment services and
referral systems;

6. chemical dependency crisis intervention skills;

7. awareness of special population needs in reference to
substance abuse;

8. utilization of self-help groups and awareness of the
twelve-step process;

9. basic pharmacologic knowledge and an understanding
of the chemical dependency disease concept;

10. reporting and record keeping;

11. professional ethics of substance abuse counseling;

12. related medical and psychological disorders that may
require referral.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1080 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§709. Inactive Certificate; Late Renewal; Reactivation

A. Inactive Certificate

Certification becomes inactive immediately upon passing the
expiration date.

B. Late Renewal

Applications for renewal of certification or any part thereof
received after the expiration date are considered late and shall
be subject to a late fee.

C. Reactivation Grace Period

A 90 day grace period shall be granted to reactivate
certification without any lapse in continuity provided:

1. a satisfactory application for renewal is received
within 90 days of the expiration date;

2. a late fee is paid in addition to the renewal fee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 15:1080 (December, 1989), amended LR 19:
§711. Lapsed Certificate; Reinstatement; Surrender

A. Lapsed Certificate

Certification is inactive and lapsed immediately upon passing
90 days after the expiration date. Lapsed certificates shall be
surrendered to the board for non-payment of fees, or
reinstated, upon meeting the reinstatement requirements.

B. Reinstatement

A lapsed certificate may be reinstated within one year of the
expiration date provided:

1. a satisfactory application for renewal is received
within one year of the expiration date with an explanation of
the lapse and written request for reinstatement;

2. at least 60 clock hours of education are documented;

3. a reinstatement fee is paid in addition to the late and
renewal fees;

4. the board grants the reinstatement by official action;

5. new issue and expiration dates are set by the board
and the counselor’s file is annotated to show the lapsed period.
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C. Non-payment of Fees; Surrender of Certificate

1. A former board certified substance abuse counselor
who does not renew his certificate shall surrender the
certificate by returning it to the office of the LSBCSAC.

2. A former board certified substance abuse counselor
who desires to exercise the option of the grace period to
reactivate the certificate or to apply for reinstatement within
one year may retain the certificate provided an
acknowledgement is made in writing that the certificate is not
valid during the period in which it is inactive or lapsed.

3. A lapsed certificate that has not been reinstated within
one year of the expiration date is null and void. A new
application package for certification must be submitted to the
board to become certified by the board again.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
abuse Counselors, LR 19:

Chapter 9. Denial, Suspension, Revocation of
Certification; Appeal
§901. Authority

The board shall have the power to deny, revoke, or suspend
its certification of any person upon proof that such person:

1. has been convicted of any offense which constitutes a
felony under the laws of this state, whether or not the
conviction was in a court in this state;

2. is convicted of a felony or other serious crimes;

3. violates any provision of the ethical standards to which
the board subscribes;

4. attempts to practice medicine, psychology, or social
work without being licensed in such professions;

5. isimpaired in delivery of professional services because
of alcohol or drug abuse, or because of medical or psychiatric
disability;

6. provides drugs or other restricted chemical substances
to another person;

7. allows his certificate to be used by another person to
illegally represent himself as a certified substance abuse
counselor;

8. engages in sexual misconduct with a client or a family
member of a client;

9. obtained certification by means of fraud,
misrepresentation, or concealment of material facts;

10. has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in connection
with services rendered;

11. has been grossly negligent in practice as a substance
abuse counselor;

12. has violated any lawful order, rule, or regulation
rendered or adopted by the board;

13. has violated any provision of the act or of these rules
and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§903. Denial of Certification
A. The board shall deny issue of certification to any
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candidate against whom there is an unresolved complaint.

B. The board shall deny issue of certification to any
applicant or candidate for certification who does not satisfy the
requirements for certification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§905. Suspension of Certification

A. The board shall suspend the certification of any BCSAC
who voluntarily surrenders his certificate. The suspension
shall be for a defined period of time or until specific
conditions required by the board are satisfied.

B. The board shall suspend the certification of any BCSAC
against whom there is a complaint containing allegations which
reasonably suggests that a violation of the act or the rules and
regulations of the board of a most serious nature may have
occurred pending outcome of investigation and/or a formal
hearing.

C. The board may seek suspension of certification through
injunction and restraining order issued by a court of competent
jurisdiction.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§907. Revocation of Certification

A. Any person whose certification is sought to be revoked
in accordance with the provisions of these rules and
regulations shall be given 30 days notice in writing
enumerating the charges and specifying the date for a hearing
before the board, conducted in accordance with applicable
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq.

B. In connection with any hearing, the board may issue
subpoenas, compel the attendance and testimony of witnesses,
and administer oaths in the same manner as a district court in
the parish wherein the hearing takes place.

C. A stenographic record of all proceedings before the
board shall be made and a transcript kept on file with the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§909. Appeal

A. Any person aggrieved by a decision of the board
revoking his certification may appeal the decision within 30
days to the district court for the parish wherein the hearing
was held. In such a case of an appeal the board shall transmit
to the district court a certified copy of the hearing
record. The district court shall try the appeal de novo.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance

Abuse Counselors, LR 19:
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Chapter 11. Complaints
§1101. Complaint Procedure

The board shall develop policies and procedures to receive,
review, investigate, and act upon complaints.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1103. Filing a Complaint -

A. Any person desiring to report a complaint or alleged
violation against a board certified substance abuse counselor
or other person shall notify the LSBCSAC office. This initial
contact notification of a complaint may be in person, by
phone, or in writing. The person reporting the complaint or
alleged violation may request a complaint form directly or may
request that a member of the ethics committee contact him.

B. Upon receipt of a complaint notification, the ethics
committee shall send an acknowledgement letter to the

" complainant and an official complaint form. The complainant
must complete and return the official complaint form to the
LSBCSAC office before any further action can be taken.

C. Upon receipt of an official complaint form, the ethics
committee shall open a complaint file. The complaint shall be
reviewed to determine if the allegations documented in the
complaint constitute a violation of the act or rules and
regulations of the board. If the allegations do not reasonably
suggest that a violation occurred, the complainant will be so
notified, the complaint forwarded to another agency if
appropriate, and the file closed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1105. Investigation

A. If the allegations in the complaint reasonably suggest a
violation of the act or rules and regulations of the board, the
ethics committee shall initiate an investigation. The ethics
committee shall notify the subject that a complaint has been
filed and provide a copy of the official complaint form. The
board certified substance abuse counselor or other person who
is the subject of the complaint shall be required to provide a
signed and notarized response within 15 days of being notified
of the complaint.

B. The ethics committee shall determine the seriousness of
the alleged violations. If of a less serious nature, the ethics
committee shall endeavor to negotiate an agreement between
the parties to satisfy the complaint. Any such agreement shall
be put in writing and signed by both parties.

C. If the allegations are of a more serious nature, the ethics
committee shall pursue investigation to obtain further
information, corroborative statements or evidence, and/or
associated facts concerning the alleged violation.

D. If the allegations are of a most serious nature, the ethics
committee shall pursue investigation in a timely manner and
may recommend suspension of certification or an immediate
injunction and temporary restraining order pending outcome of
the investigation.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance

Abuse Counselors, LR 19:
§1107. Resolution

A. The board may hold an informal hearing to resolve any
complaint.

B. A complaint not resolved by the ethics committee or by
an informal hearing shall be referred to the board for formal
action which may include dismissal of the complaint, issue of
a written warning, censure, or an order for a formal hearing,
pursuant to applicable provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., for suspension or
revocation of certification.

C. Any voluntary surrender of certification shall be
accompanied by agreement to satisfy all conditions set by the
board.

D. The board may enter into a consent order with the
subject of a complaint in lieu of decertification.

E. The ethics committee shall make quarterly reports on the
status of each active complaint to the complainant, the subject,
and the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

Chapter 13. Impaired Counselors
§1301. Program

The board shall develop policies and procedures for the
operation of an impaired counselor program which shall
include provision for the identification and rehabilitation of
certificate holders whose quality of service is impaired or
thought to be impaired due to mental or physical conditions.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1303. Identification

A. Any report of impairment shall be forwarded to the
impaired counselor program for review and
recommendation. The board shall investigate any counselor
who holds a certificate issued by this board whose quality of
service is impaired or thought to be impaired due to mental or
physical conditions.

B. Should the board have reasonable cause to believe that
a counselor’s fitness and ability is affected by mental illness or
deficiency, or physical illness, including but not limited to
deterioration through the aging process and/or excessive use
or abuse of drugs including alcohol, a thorough examination
may be ordered.

C. The board may appoint or designate an examining
committee of board certified substance abuse counselors,
physicians, and/or other health care professionals to conduct
a physical and/or mental examination, including requiring a
urine drug screen, blood, breath, and other tests as deemed
appropriate and allowed by law; and to otherwise inquire into

Louisiana Register Vol. 19 No. 2 February 20, 1993



a counselor’s fitness and ability to practice this profession with
reasonable skill and safety to clients.

D. The order for examination shall be the counselor’s
opportunity to defend against the alleged impairment and prove
fitness to practice this profession. Refusal to follow the order
for examination or failure to keep an appointment for
examination or tests without just cause shall be de facto
evidence of impairment.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1305. Rehabilitation

A. The examining committee shall submit advisory reports
and recommendations to the board. Priority shall be given to
intervention, treatment, rehabilitation, and monitoring
recommendations if impairment is suspected or confirmed.

B. Voluntary surrender of certification shall be
accompanied by agreement to satisfy all conditions set by the
board.

C. A formal hearing for revocation of certification shall be
the last resort.

D. The board may enter into a consent order with an
impaired counselor in lieu of decertification.

E. The impaired counselor program shall supervise
treatment, rehabilitation, and monitoring activities as required
by the board and/or specified in any consent order. Failure to
abide by these requirements and/or specifications shall result
in a formal hearing for revocation of certification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

Chapter 15. Code of Ethics
§1501. Professional Representation

A. A counselor shall not misrepresent any professional
qualifications or associations.

B. A counselor shall not misrepresent any agency or
organization by presenting it as having attributes which it does
not possess.

C. A counselor shall not make claims about the efficacy of
any service that go beyond those which the counselor would
be willing to subject to professional scrutiny through
publishing the results and claims in a professional journal.

D. A counselor shall not encourage or, within the
counselor’s power, allow a client to hold exaggerated ideas
about the efficacy of services provided by the counselor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1503. Relationships with Clients

A. A counselor shall make known to a prospective client
the important aspects of the professional relationship including
fees and arrangements for payment which might affect the
client’s decision to enter into the relationship.
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B. A counselor shall inform the client of the purposes,
goals, techniques, rules of procedure, and limitations that may
affect the relationship at or before the time that the counseling
relationship is entered.

C. A counselor shall provide counseling services only in
the context of a professional relationship and not by means of
newspaper or magazine articles, radio or television programs,
mail or means of a similar nature.

D. No commission or rebate or any other form or
remuneration shall be given or received by a counselor for the
referral of clients for professional services.

E. A counselor shall not use relationships with clients to
promote, for personal gain or the profit of an agency,
commercial enterprises of any kind.

F. A counselor shall not, under normal circumstances, be
involved in the counseling of family members, intimate
friends, close associates, or others whose welfare might be
jeopardized by such a dual relationship.

G. A counselor shall not, under normal circumstances,
offer professional services to a person concurrently receiving
counseling assistance from another professional except with
knowledge of the other professional.

H. A counselor shall take reasonable personal action to
inform responsible authorities and appropriate individuals in
cases where a client’s condition indicates a clear and imminent
danger to the client or others.

I. In group counseling settings, the counselor shall take
reasonable precautions to protect individuals from physical
and/or emotional trauma resulting from interaction within the
group.

J. A counselor shall not engage in activities that seek to
meet the counselor’s personal needs at the expense of a client.

K. A counselor shall not engage in sexual intimacies with
any client.

L. A counselor shall terminate a professional relationship
when it is reasonably clear that the client is not benefiting
from it.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1505. Counselors and the Board

A. Irrespective of any training other than training in
counseling which a person may have completed, or any other
certification which a person may possess, or any other
professional title or label which a person may claim, any
person certified as a substance abuse counselor is bound by the
provisions of the Substance Abuse Counselor Certification Act
and the rules and regulations of the board in rendering
counseling services.

B. A counselor shall have the responsibility of reporting
alleged misrepresentations or violations of board rules to the
board.

C. A counselor shall keep his/her board file updated by
notifying the board of changes of address, telephone number
and employment.

D. The board may ask any applicant or candidate for
certification or recertification as a counselor or specialty
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designation whose file contains negative references of
substance abuse to come before the board for an interview
before the certification or specialty designation process may
proceed.

E. The board shall consider the failure of a counselor to
respond to a request for information or other correspondence
as unprofessional conduct and grounds for instituting
disciplinary proceedings.

F. A counselor must participate in continuing professional
education programs as required and set forth in these rules.

G. Applicants or candidates for certification or
recertification as a counselor or for specialty designations shall
not use current members of the board as references.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1507. Advertising and Announcements

A. Information used by a counselor in any advertisement or
announcement of services shall not contain information which
is false, inaccurate, misleading, partial, out of context, or
deceptive.

B. The board imposes no restrictions on advertising by a
counselor with regard to the use of any medium, the
counselor’s personal appearance or the use of his personal
voice, the size or duration of an advertisement, or the use of
a trade name.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1509. Affirmation

A. Every BCSAC must agree to affirm:

1. that my primary goal is recovery for client and family;

2. that I have a total commitment to provide the highest
quality care for those who seek my professional services;

3. that I shall evidence a genuine interest in all clients;

4. thatI do hereby dedicate myself to the best interest of
my clients, and to assisting my clients to help themselves;

5. that at all times I shall maintain an objective,
nonpossessive, professional relationship with all clients;

6. that I will be willing to recognize when it is to the best
interest of a client to release or refer him to another program
or individual;

7. that I shall adhere to the rule of confidentiality of all
records, material, and knowledge concerning the client;

8. thatI shall not in any way discriminate between clients
or professionals, based on race, creed, age, sex, handicaps, or
personal attributes;

9. that I shall respect the rights and views of other
counselors and professionals;

10. that I shall maintain respect for institutional policies
and management functions within agencies and institutions, but
will take the initiative toward improving such policies, if it
will best serve the interest of the client;

11. thatI have a commitment to assess my own personal
strengths, limitations, biases, and effectiveness on a continuing
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basis, that I shall continuously strive for self-improvement,
that I have a personal responsibility for professional growth
through further education and training;

12. that I have an individual responsibility for my own
conduct.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1511. Confidentiality

A. No substance abuse counselor may disclose any
information he may have acquired from persons consulting
him in his professional capacity that was necessary to enable
him to render services to those persons except:

1. with the written consent of the client, or in the case of
death or disability, with the written consent of his personal
representative, other person authorized to sue, or the
beneficiary of any insurance policy on his life, health, or
physical condition; or

2. when the person is a minor under the age of 18 and
the information acquired by the substance abuse counselor
indicated that the child was the victim or subject of a crime,
then the substance abuse counselor may be required to testify
fully in relation thereto upon any examination, trial, or other
proceeding in which the commission of such crime is a subject
of inquiry; or

3. when a communication reveals the contemplation of a
crime or harmful act; or

4. when the person waives the privilege by bringing
charges against the substance abuse counselor for breach of
the privilege.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

Chapter 17. Registrations and Board Approved
Programs
§1701. Counselor in Training

A. The board shall develop policies and procedures for the
operation of a counselor in training program which shall
include provisions for the following:

B. A person who is in the process of obtaining the
education, training, and experience required to meet the
requirement for certification may register with the board as a
trainee. Trainee registration shall also be applicable for those
persons desiring to become certified by this board after first
becoming certified by the LASACT, Inc.

C. The designation of counselor in training, also known as
CIT, shall be granted for a period beginning with approval of
the request for CIT status and extending to the nearest renewal
date one year after approval, provided:

1. a personal data form supplying required information
on identification, place of employment, training institution,
and qualified professional supervisor is completed
satisfactorily;

2. the qualified professional supervisor is registered with
the board or provides a written statement of credentials and
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commitment to provide adequate supervision;

3. the training institution is registered with the board or
provides a written statement of availability of suitable duties
and satisfactory supervision both functionally and
professionally;

4. a signed statement is supplied attesting to the
registrant’s intention to seek certification as a board certified
substance abuse counselor. This statement shall also attest to
the registrant accepting responsibility for all actions, holding
the LSBCSAC harmless, and agreeing to comply with the
requirements of the LSBCSAC;

5. the nominal fee for CIT registration is paid.

D. Registration as a counselor in training shall be renewed
annually for a maximum of five additional years after the
initial period of registration provided:

1. the renewal form is completed and submitted prior to
expiration of the current registration;

2. the person continues to be in an appropriate training
environment and under qualified professional supervision;

3. the nominal fee for annual renewal of CIT registration
is paid;

4,
trainee.

E. Any person who chooses not to register as a counselor
in training shall be responsible to provide documentation that
the rules and regulations of the board have been complied with
at the time of application for certification or at any other time
that a question to the contrary may be raised by any person.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1703. Registered Counselor Supervisor

A. The board shall develop policies and procedures for a
registered counselor supervisor program.

B. A person who meets the requirements of a qualified
professional supervisor, as defined by these rules, may register
with the board as a registered counselor supervisor, also
known as an RCS.

C. The designation of registered counselor supervisor shall
also be granted to those who:

1. hold a current valid certificate as a board certified
substance abuse counselor, or license or certification as a
credentialed professional recognized to treat substance abuse
or provide substance abuse counseling services;

2. have a minimum of five years experience in substance
abuse counseling or treatment, with at least two years in
supervision or management;

3. have obtained at least 60 clock hours of education in
supervision or management, with one semester credit hour
being the equivalent of 10 clock hours.

D. The registered counselor supervisor designation is
granted for a period beginning with approval of the request for
RCS status and extending to the nearest renewal date one year
after approval, provided:

1. a satisfactory application is received;

2. the individual signs a statement accepting the authority
and responsibility of being a registered counselor supervisor,

there have been no unresolved complaints against the

Louisiana Register Vol. 19 No. 2 February 20, 1993

132

agreeing to hold the LSBCSAC harmless, and agreeing to ,
comply with the requirements of the LSBCSAC;

3. the fee for initial registration as a RCS is paid.

E. Registration as a registered counselor supervisor shall be
renewed annually, provided:

1. a satisfactory renewal form is received prior to the
expiration date of the current registration;

2. an annual report of activities as a RCS is filed;

3. the RCS renewal fee is paid;

4. there have been no unresolved complaints against the
supervisor;

F. A registered counselor supervisor shall be authorized to
perform the following duties:

1. supervise substance abuse counselors;

2. direct supervision of a counselor in training;

3. sign an applicant’s experience documentation form;

4. sign an applicant’s supervisor’s evaluation form;

5. annual audit review of a board approved training
institution;

6. annual audit review of a board approved educational
program;

7. annual audit review of a board approved institution of
higher education.

G. A qualified professional supervisor who chooses not to
register with the board as a registered counselor supervisor
shall be required to provide a statement of credentials and
qualifications with each document which is presented to the
board and at any time that a question as to supervision is
raised.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1705. Approved Training Institution

A. The board shall develop policies and procedures for the
operation of an approved training institution program.

B. Institutions which provide clinical treatment of substance
abuse or offer substance abuse counseling services, have
sufficient qualified clinical staff, and can offer supervised
clinical positions as substance abuse counselor trainees may
register with the board as an approved training institution, also
know as ATI, offering clinical experience for persons wishing
to apply to become candidates for board certification. An
agency, corporation, organization, partnership, organized
health care facility, or other autonomous organizational entity
shall qualify as an institution for the purposes of this rule.

C. The designation of approved training institution is
granted to the nearest renewal date one year after the request
for ATI status is approved, provided:

1. a satisfactory application form is submitted;

2. the institution is licensed appropriately to provide
substance abuse treatment or substance abuse counseling
services;

3. the institution provides a statement signed by an
authorized officer of the institution to document the
institution’s desire to provide clinical training in substance
abuse counseling and acknowledgment of responsibility for
such activities. This statement must contain acknowledgment



that the institution is independent of the LSBCSAC, that it will
hold the LSBCSAC harmless, and that it will comply with the
requirements of the LSBCSAC;

4. the institution provides statements documenting the
appropriateness of their clinical treatment setting, the
qualifications of its staff to provide daily clinical supervision
and frequent direct supervision of trainees, and the planned
duties and training program in which the trainees will be
engaged. This statement must document that training,
experience, and supervision in all 12 core functions will be
provided;

5. the organization provides a summary statement of its
continuous quality improvement program and agrees to
maintain full records of that program;

6. the institution agrees to provide overall supervision of
its program by a registered counselor supervisor or submit the
credentials and qualifications of the qualified professional
supervisor who will provide overall supervision;

7. the institution agrees to an annual audit review of its
substance abuse counselor clinical training program and
continuous quality improvement program by a registered
counselor supervisor, and audit or review of its records at any
time requested by the board;

8. the fee for initial ATI registration is paid.

D. Registration as an approved training institution shall be
renewed annually, provided:

1. a satisfactory renewal form is received prior to the
expiration date of the current registration;

2. the annual audit report of the institution’s substance
abuse counselor clinical training program and continuous
quality improvement program signed by a registered counselor
supervisor is filed;

3. the renewal of ATI registration fee is paid;

4. there have been no unresolved complaints against the
institution.

E. An approved training institution shall be authorized to:

1. announce to the public and advertise the availability of
its clinical training program;

2. employ counselors in training;

3. reasonably assure its trainees that their experience will
meet board standards.

F. Persons submitting application for certification which list
experience from institutions which are not registered as an
ATI must document that the institution where the experience
was obtained meets standards equivalent to those of this
board. Equivalence may be demonstrated by:

1. the institution is approved as a substance abuse
counselor clinical training institution by the certifying authority
in the state where the institution is located;

2. the institution is approval as a substance abuse
counselor clinical training institution by a certifying authority
with which the board has a current agreement of reciprocity;

3. providing documentation of:

a. the appropriateness of the clinical treatment setting;

b. the qualifications of the staff to provide daily clinical
supervision and frequent direct supervision of trainees;

c. the duties and training program in which trainees
were engaged;
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d. that training, experience, and supervision in all 12
core functions was provided.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1707. Approved Educational Provider

A. The board shall develop policies and procedures for the
operation of an approved educational provider program.

B. Organizations who desire to provide continuing
professional education in substance abuse counseling may
register with the board as an approved educational provider,
also known as AEP. Each educational offering is a form of
learning experience and shall be known as a course for the
purposes of this rule whether it was offered for academic
credit, as a workshop, seminar, conference, or in any other
acceptable format. An individual, partnership, corporation,
association, organized health care system, educational
institution, governmental agency, or any other autonomous
entity shall qualify as an organization for the purposes of this
rule.

C. The designation of approved educational provider is
granted to the nearest renewal date one year after the request
for AEP status is approved, provided:

1. a satisfactory application form is received;

2. one person, who is qualified by virtue of education,
training, and experience, as determined by the board, is
identified as the supervisor of all educational programs to be
offered;

3. the organization provides a statement, signed by an
authorized officer of the organization, to document the
organizations’s desire to provide continuing professional
education in substance abuse counseling and acknowledgment
of responsibility for such activities. This statement must
contain acknowledgment that the organization is independent
of the LSBCSAC, that it will hold the LSBCSAC harmless,
and that it will comply with the requirements of the
LSBCSAC;

4. the organization agrees to provide a certificate of
completion for each person satisfactorily completing each
course which shall contain:

a. the name and trainee or certification number of the
person completing the course;

b. the name and AEP number of the provider;

c. the title of the course, course number, name of the
instructor(s), and date(s) of the course;

d. the number of clock hours of credit earned;

e. the signature of the organization’s educational
program supervisor or the instructor, or both.

5. the organization agrees to file a course report with the
board within 10 days of completion for each course which
shall contain:

a. the AEP number and course number of the provider;

b. the trainee or certification number and the clock
hours earned for each person completing the course, or, the
name and hours for persons not registered with or certified by
this board;
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c. a sample of the certificate of completion;

d. the required course filing fee.

6. the organization agrees to provide board approved
credit only for courses which meet the educational standards
of the board and which are taught by instructors who are
qualified by virtue of education, training, and experience. The
organization agrees to document this by maintaining a file for
each course in its office which contains:

a. the course description containing the educational
objectives; course outline; instructional modalities; and
relevance of the material, including relationship to the 12 core
functions, theoretical content related to scientific knowledge of
practicing in the filed of substance abuse counseling,
application of scientific knowledge in the filed of substance
abuse counseling, direct and/or indirect patient/client care, and
which renewal education area or areas are addressed;

b. the qualifications of instructors containing
description of the education, training, and experience which
prepared them to teach the course.

7. the organization provides a summary statement of its
continuous quality improvement program and agrees to
maintain full records of that program. This program shall
include but not be limited to student evaluations of each
course;

8. the organization agrees to notify the board and each
person who completed a course in a timely fashion if it is
‘etermined that a course did not comply with the standards of
the board for substance abuse counselor education. The
orzanization shall also present its written policy on refunds
a::d cancellation;

9. the organization agrees to an annual audit review of its
education program, course files, and continuous quality
improvement program by a registered counselor supervisor,
and an audit or review of its records at any time by the board;

10. the initial AEP registration fee is paid.

D. Registration as an approved education provider shall be
renewed annually, provided:

1. a satisfactory renewal form is received prior to the
expiration date of the current registration;

2. the annual audit report of the organizations’s education
program, course files, and continuous quality improvement
program signed by a registered counselor supervisor is filed;

3. the renewal of AEP registration fee is paid and the
filing fee deposit is replenished;

4. there have been no unresolved complaints against the
organization.

E. An approved education provider shall be authorized to:

1. announce to the public and advertise that its
educational offerings meet the standards of the board;

2. issue certificates of completion which acknowledge
board approval of the course.

F. An organization may be granted approval as a single
course provider provided:

1. a satisfactory application form is received prior to
offering the course;

2. the organization documents the course description
including the educational objectives, course outline,
instructional modalities, relationship of the material to the 12
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core functions, and which renewal education area or areas are
addressed;

3. the organization documents the qualifications of the
instructors including description of the education, training, and
experience which prepared them to teach the course;

4. the organization agrees to provide a certificate of
completion containing the same information required of an
AEP;

5. the organization agrees to file a course report in the
same fashion as an AEP and to include student evaluations of
that course;

6. the single course fee is paid and a filing fee deposit
has been made.

G. An organization desiring single course provider status
may:

1. announce to the public and advertise that the course
meets the standards of the board only if approval has been
granted. Prior to approval, the organization may state that
board approval is pending only if application has been
made. Otherwise, the organization is prohibited from making
any statement regarding board approval of its course;

2. offer to provide a certificate of completion only after
board approval has been granted and all required information
is included on the certificate.

H. A trainee or counselor who wishes educational credit
from a source which has not been approved by this board shall
document that the provider of such education meets standards
which are equivalent to those of this board. Equivalence may
be demonstrated by:

1. the provider holding approval as a substance abuse
education provider from the certifying authority in the state
where the course was offered;

2. the provider holding approval as a substance abuse
education provider from a certifying authority with which the
board has a current agreement of reciprocity;

3. providing documentation of:

a. the course description including the educational
objectives, course outline, instructional modalities, relationship
of the material to the 12 core functions, and which renewal
education area or areas are addressed;

b. the qualifications of instructors including description
of the education, training, and experience which prepared
them to teach the course.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1709. Approved Institution of Higher Education

A. The board shall develop policies and procedures for the
operation of an approved institution of higher education
program.

B. Institutions which grant formal college credit for courses
in substance abuse counseling, have sufficient qualified
faculty, and can offer supervised clinical practicum or
internship may register with the board as an approved
institution of higher education, also known as ATHE.

C. The designation of approved institution of higher

134



education is granted to the nearest renewal date one year after
the request for ATHE status is approved, provided:

1. a satisfactory application form is submitted;

2. the institution is an organized college or university
accredited by a recognized regional accrediting body;

3. the institution provides a statement, signed by an
authorized officer of the institution, to document the
institution’s desire to provide substance abuse counselor
education and acknowledgment of responsibility for such
activities. This statement must contain acknowledgment that
the institution is independent of the LSBCSAC, that it will
hold the LSBCSAC harmless, and that it will comply with the
requirements of the LSBCSAC;

4. the institution provides a statement documenting the
appropriateness of their curriculum, the qualifications of the
faculty to teach such courses, and the policy on practicum and
internship courses. This statement must document that
education, training, experience, and supervision when
appropriate in all 12 core functions will be provided;

' 5. the institution provides a summary statement of its
continuous quality improvement program and agrees to
maintain full records of that program;

6. the institution agrees to provide for ongoing
consultation from a registered counselor supervisor or submit
the credentials and qualifications of the qualified professional
supervisor who will provide ongoing consultation relative to
the quality and content of its substance abuse counselor
curriculum;

7. the institution agrees to an annual audit review of its
substance abuse counselor curriculum and continuous quality
improvement program by a registered counselor supervisor,
and an audit or review of its records at any time by the board;

8. the fee for initial ATHE registration is paid.

D. Registration as an approved institution of higher
education shall be renewed annually, provided:

1. a satisfactory renewal form is received prior to the
expiration date of the current registration;

2. the annual audit report of the institution’s substance
abuse counselor curriculum and continuous quality
improvement program, signed by a registered counselor
supervisor, is filed with the board;

3. the renewal of AIHE registration fee is paid;

4. there have been no unresolved complaints against the
institution.

E. An approved institution of higher education shall be
authorized to:

1. announce to the public and advertise the availability of
its substance abuse counselor curriculum;

2. offer practicum or internship courses in substance
abuse counseling for credit;

3. reasonably assure its students that their education will
meet board standards.

F. Persons submitting application for certification which list
education from institutions which are not registered as an
ATHE shall document that the educational institution where the
education was obtained meets standards equivalent to those of
this board. Equivalence may be demonstrated by:

1. the institution holding approval as a higher education
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provider of substance abuse counselor education from the
certifying authority in the state where the institution is located;
2. the institution holding approval as a higher education
provider of substance abuse counselor education from a
certifying authority with which the board has a current
agreement of reciprocity;
3. providing documentation of:

a. the institution being an organized college or
university accredited by a recognized regional accrediting
body;

b. the appropriateness of the curriculum;

c. the qualifications of the faculty to teach such
courses;
d. the policy on practicum and internship courses;

e. that education, training, experience, and supervision
when appropriate in all 12 core functions was provided.

G. Persons submitting application for certification which
claim more than 15 semester hour equivalents must provide
documentation demonstrating that a minimum of 15 semester
hours of credit were not reasonably available from an
AIHE. The board in its discretion may grant additional
semester hour equivalents for cases of documented hardship at
the rate of 10 clock hours of AEP education per 1 semester
hour of AIHE credit provided a written request for waiver is
submitted.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous
§1901. Injunctive Relief; Penalties

A. The board may cause an injunction to be issued in any
court of competent jurisdiction enjoining any person from
violating the provision of these rules and regulations.

B. In a suit for an injunction, the board through its
chairman, may demand of the defendant a penalty of not less
than $100 nor more than $1,000, and attorney’s fees besides
the costs of court. The judgment for penalty, attorney’s fees,
and costs may be rendered in the same judgment in which the
injunction is made absolute.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1903. Persons and Practices Not Affected

A. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
as preventing or restricting the practice, services, or activities
of any person licensed or certified in this state by any other
law from engaging in the profession or occupation for which
he is licensed or certified.

B. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
as prohibiting other licensed professionals, including members
of the clergy and Christian Science practitioners, from the
delivery of medical, psychotherapeutic, counseling, social
work, psychological, or educational services to substance
abusers and their families.

C. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
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as prohibiting the activities of any person employed or
supervised by a qualified professional supervisor, while
carrying out specific tasks under professional
supervision. The supervisee shall not represent himself to the
public as a substance abuse counselor.

D. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be construed
as prohibiting the activities of any student in an accredited
educational institution while carrying out activities that are part
of the prescribed course of study, provided such activities are
supervised by a qualified professional supervisor. Such
student shall hold himself out to the public only by clearly
indicating his student status and the profession in which he is
being trained.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1905. Prohibited Activities

No person shall hold himself out as a substance abuse
counselor unless he has been certified as such under the
provisions of the Substance Abuse Counselor Certification
Act, R.S. 37:3371-84.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

§1907. Penalties

Whoever violates any provisions of the Substance Abuse
counselor Certification Act, R.S. 37:3371-84, shall be guilty
of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less
than $100 nor more than $500, or imprisonment for not more
than 6 months, or both.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3374(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana State Board of Certification for Substance
Abuse Counselors, LR 19:

Thomas C. Tucker, Ph.D.
Chairman

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Management and Finance

Health Services Provider Fees

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Management and Finance, has exercised the emergency
provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)
to adopt the following emergency rule.

Public Law 102-234, enacted on December 12, 1991,
authorized states to adopt provider specific fees for medical
services which include: Nursing Facility Services;
Intermediate Care Facility Services for the Mentally Retarded
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and Developmentally Disabled; and Pharmacy Services. This
emergency rule is being adopted to enact state legislation
authorizing the department to establish provider specific fees
for the above listed services. Under this emergency rule, the
following fees are being adopted effective for services
provided on or after July 1, 1992.

Nursing Facility Bed Fee
$10 per day, per bed in use

ICF-MR Facility Bed Fee
$30 per day, per bed in use

Pharmacy Services Prescription Fee
$ .10 per prescription or refill

This emergency rule is being adopted to enhance federal
funding and provide for financing of Medicaid health care
services. This emergency rule is effective February 20, 1993,
and will remain in effect for the maximum period allowed
under R.S. 49:954(B) et seq.

This emergency rule was previously adopted under
emergency rulemaking provisions of R.S. 49:953(B), effective
July 1, 1992, and published in the Louisiana Register, Vol.
18, No. 7, pages 673-674 (July 20, 1992), and was readopted
effective October 29, 1992, published in the Louisiana
Register Vol. 18, No. 11, pages 1218-1219 (November 20,
1992).

EMERGENCY RULE

The provisions of R.S. 46:2601 through 2605 are hereby
adopted and the following regulatory requirements for payment
of fees are being promulgated as required under R.S.
46:2605(B)(1) .

Nursing Facility Services

A bed fee shall be paid by each facility, licensed as a
nursing home in accordance with R.S. 40:2009.3 et seq., for
each bed utilized for the provision of care on a daily basis.
The fee shall be $10 per day, per bed utilized for provision of
care. A bed shall be considered in use, regardless of physical
occupancy, based on payment for nursing services available or
provided to any individual or payer through formal or informal
agreement. For example, a bed reserved and paid for during
a temporary absence from a nursing facility shall be subject to
the $10 per day fee. Likewise, any bed or beds under
contract to a hospice shall be subject to the fee for each day
payment is made by the hospice. Contracts, agreements, or
reservations whether formal or informal shall be subject to the
$10 per bed, per day fee only where payment is made for
nursing services available or provided. Nursing homes subject
to bed fees shall be required to provide documentation
quarterly of utilization for all licensed beds in conjunction with
payment of fees with reporting on a monthly basis in the form
of a utilization report provided by the department.

ICF-MR Facility Services

A bed fee shall be paid by each facility, licensed as an
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded in
accordance with R.S. 28:421 et seq., for each bed utilized for
the provision of care on a daily basis. The fee shall be $30



per day, per bed utilized for provision of care. A bed shall be
considered in use, regardless of physical occupancy, based on
payment for ICF-MR services available or provided to any
individual or payer through formal or informal agreement.
For example, a bed reserved and paid for during a temporary
absence from a facility shall be subject to the $30 per day fee.
Likewise, any bed or beds under contract to a hospice shall be
subject to the fee for each day payment is made by the
hospice.  Contracts, agreements, or reservations whether
formal or informal shall be subject to the $30 per bed, per day
fee only where payment is made for nursing services available
or provided. ICF-MR facilities subject to bed fees shall be
required to provide documentation quarterly of utilization for
all licensed beds in conjunction with payment of fees with
reporting on a monthly basis in the form of a utilization report
provided by the department.
Pharmacy Services

A prescription fee shall be paid by each pharmacy and
dispensing physician for each out-patient prescription
dispensed. The fee shall be $.10 per prescription dispensed by
a pharmacist or dispensing physician. Where a prescription is
filled outside of Louisiana and not shipped or delivered in any
form or manner to a patient in the state, no fee shall be
imposed. However, out-of-state pharmacies or dispensing
physicians dispense prescriptions which are shipped, mailed or
delivered in any manner inside the state of Louisiana shall be
subject to the $.10 fee per prescription. Pharmacies and
dispensing physicians subject to prescription fees shall be
required to provide quarterly documentation of utilization for
all medications dispensed with reporting on a monthly basis in
the form of a utilization report provided by the department.
Transportation Services

The fee for transportation services authorized under R.S.
46:2605(A)(1)(f) shall be set at $0.00 (zero) pending federal
designation of transportation services as a medical provider
grouping under P.L. 102-234.  Medical transportation
providers shall not be required to provide utilization data
under this rule.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Community Care Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has exercised
the emergency provision of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953 (B) to adopt the following rule in the Medicaid
Program.

Medicaid of Louisiana will implement a managed care
program called Community Care in designated parishes of the
state to provide improved access to health care for eligible
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Medicaid beneficiaries, particularly those who reside in rural
communities. The Community Care Program has been
authorized under a freedom of choice waiver approved by the
U. S. Department of Health and Human Services under
Section 1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. The approval is
for two years, and the waiver must be renewed prior to
expiration of the two-year period. The goal of the Community
Care Program is to improve the accessibility and the continuity
and quality of care provided to Medicaid recipients in rural
areas.

The Community Care Program will provide Medicaid
recipients in the designated parishes with a Primary Care
Physician (PCP), osteopath, or family doctor as the primary
care provider for assigned beneficiaries. Beneficiaries will
have the opportunity to select a participating doctor, Federally
Qualified Health Center (FQHC), or rural health clinic to be
their primary care provider in their parish of residence or in
a contiguous parish. Beneficiaries are assigned a participating
provider if they do not select one. The individual or family
physician will provide basic primary care, referral and after-
hours coverage services for each beneficiary. The fact that
each beneficiary has a PCP allows continuity of care centered
around a single physician (or organized group) as a care
manager. Beneficiaries must remain with their selected or
assigned PCP for at least six months before they may change
to another PCP.

A full-time primary care physician or osteopath participating
in the Community Care Program may serve up to a maximum
of 1200 beneficiaries. A full-time certified physician assistant
or full-time certified nurse practitioner under the supervision
of a primary care physician may serve additional beneficiaries
up to a maximum of 300 beneficiaries. A participating PCP
is paid $5 per beneficiary for total care management services,
which is in addition to normal fee-for-service reimbursements.

The PCP as the care manager bears responsibility for the
beneficiary’s total health care, which includes providing
preventive, maintenance and acute care; referring to
specialists, when appropriate, for medically necessary
diagnosis and treatment not provided in his/her practice;
exchanging medical information about the beneficiary with
specialists; admitting the beneficiary to the nearest appropriate
hospital when necessary; and coordinating inpatient care and
maintaining an integrated medical record of the care the
patient receives. Only the PCP may authorize services for
his/her assigned beneficiaries in appropriate settings according
to medical necessity.

Twenty-four hour, seven day a week availability by
telephone of primary care must be assured. The PCP may
authorize coverage in his/her absence or in emergencies in
accordance with Community Care policy. The PCP must also
enroll and participate as a KIDMED medical, vision, and
hearing screening provider. Routine preventive health care
and age-appropriate immunizations must be provided to or
arranged for children by the PCP.

The following Medicaid covered services do mot require
authorization and a written referral by the beneficiary’s PCP:
dental, pharmacy, family planning, skilled nursing facility
care, transportation, ICF/MR services, ophthalmology,
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targeted case management services, optometry and eyeglasses,
EPSDT health services for disabled children, psychiatric
hospital services, home and community-based waiver services,
chiropractic services and mental health clinic
services. Emergency services do not require authorization
prior to the provision of the services. However, authorization
must be obtained after the emergency services have been
provided. All other Medicaid services, including obstetrical
services, require prior authorization by the beneficiary’s
assigned PCP.

The following groups of Medicaid eligible recipients are
required to enroll in the Community Care Program in the
designated parishes: AFDC-related recipients and SSI-related,
non-Medicare recipients. The following groups of eligibles
are excluded from participation: residents of skilled nursing
facilities, intermediate care facilities and mental hospitals,
Medicare (Part A or B) recipients, medically needy, foster
children or adoptive children, refugees, lock-in recipients,
members of health management organizations
(HMOs). Newborns or newly certified or Medicaid eligible
recipients may not be enrolled for up to 30 days from the date
of certification and any prior month of retroactive coverage
(up to three months). Once enrolled in the Community Care
Program, recipients are not re-enrolled at re-certification. All
non-excluded recipients are required to have a Community
Care provider.

All doctors of medicine or general osteopathy who are
currently enrolled Medicaid providers in good standing,
practice primary care and have offices in one of the designated
or contiguous parishes, are eligible to participate in
Community Care as primary care physicians
(PCPs). However, they must meet all of the program
requirements and agree to abide by the regulations. Primary
care physicians enrolling in Community Care must meet all of
the general Medicaid enrollment conditions. The physicians
who may participate as PCPs are: general practitioner, family
practitioner, pediatrician, gynecologist, internist, or
obstetrician. Other physician specialists may be approved by
the department under certain circumstances. The PCP must
be licensed to practice medicine in Louisiana and must hold
admitting privileges at a Medicaid enrolled hospital in the
designated parish or contiguous parish.

Quality assurance/utilization review are integral components
of the care management concept. Community care physicians
are monitored for over and under utilization and quality
assurance to assure patient access to quality health care and
cost-effectiveness of the program. Providers who are out of
compliance receive provider education, but continued non-
compliance may result in disenrollment from the program.

EMERGENCY RULE

Medicaid of Louisiana will operate the Community Care
Program under a waiver of freedom of choice under the
authority of Section 1915(b)(1) of the Social Security
Act. The Community Care Program will be administered in
accordance with all regulations applicable to the program and
the waiver request document approved by the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services.

Implementation of this rule is dependent on the approval of

Vol. 19 No. 2 February 20, 1993

Louisiana Register

the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA).
Disapproval of this change by HCFA will automatically cancel
the provisions of this emergency rule and the current policy
will remain in effect. Interested persons may submit written
comments to the following address: John Futrell, Office of
the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, Box
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is the person
responsible for responding to inquires regarding this
emergency rule. Copies of this emergency rule and all other
Medicaid rules and regulations are available at the parish
Medicaid offices for review by interested persons.

A public hearing on this proposed rule will be held in the
Department of Transportation and Development Auditorium,
1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA on Monday,
March 29, 1993 at 9:30 a.m. All interested persons will be
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments,
orally or in writing at said hearing.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Early, Periodic, Screening Diagnostic Testing and
Treatment (EPSDT) Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted
the following emergency rule under the Administrative
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq.

The Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1989 mandates that
states provide preventive health screenings and medically
necessary diagnostic screenings and treatment for conditions
found in screenings according to prescribed time periods for
the Title XIX (Medicaid) beneficiary population between the
ages of four months through 20 years. In order to monitor
and to verify the timely receipt of these services, the Bureau
of Health Services Financing must receive claims documenting
services rendered from providers in a timely manner. This is
necessary for the proper administration of the KIDMED
(EPSDT) Program. Therefore, the Bureau proposes to
implement additional timely filing limits on KIDMED medical
screening claims to insure adequate tracking of screening,
diagnosis and treatment services in accordance with federal
Early Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT)
regulations. An emergency rule on this matter was published
in the January 20, 1993 issue of the Louisiana Register. This
emergency rule is being redeclared effective February 25,
1993, for a maximum of 120 days, to define more precisely
the conditions under which the 60 day timely filing
requirement will apply.
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EMERGENCY RULE

Medicaid of Louisiana shall require that KIDMED medical
screening claims for Médicaid beneficiaries between the ages
of four months and 20 years be received by Louisiana
KIDMED within 60 calendar days of the date of service in
order to be processed and the provider be reimbursed by
Medicaid of Louisiana. Claims not received by Louisiana
KIDMED within this time limit may be denied.

Implementation of this rule is dependent upon approval by
the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA).
Disapproval of this change by HCFA will automatically cancel
the provisions of this emergency rule and current policy will
remain in effect. Interested persons may submit written
comments to John Futrell, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of
Health Services Financing, Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA
70821-9030. He is the person responsible for responding to
inquires regarding this proposed rule and providing
information on a public hearing on this matter. At that time
all interested parties will be afforded an opportunity to submit
data, views or arguments, orally or in writing at said hearing.
Copies of this proposed rule and all other Medicaid rules and
regulations are available at parish Medicaid offices for review
by interested parties.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Facility Need Review
ICF/MR Approved Beds

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the
following emergency rule in the Medicaid Program, for the
maximum of 120 days, in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:953(B)(1). There is no cost
associated with the implementation o this emergency rule. In
order to assure that individuals with special ICF-MR service
needs receive appropriate placements, the Bureau of Health
Services Financing is requiring that beds approved through a
DHH request for proposal or solicitation meet the intended
service needs of those beds.

EMERGENCY RULE

Effective February 15, 1993, the Policies and Procedures
for Facility Need Review is revised to require that before any
Medicaid recipient is admitted to an intermediate care facility
for the mentally retarded for services in a bed approved for
Title XIX reimbursement to meet a specific disability need
identified in a request or solicitation for proposals issued by
the department, prior approval of the person to be admitted to
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the facility must be first obtained by the provider from the
regional Office of Mental Retardation/Developmental
Disabilities. When that office advises that such a bed is not
being used to meet the need identified in the request, based on
the facility serving a Medicaid recipient in the bed without
prior approval from that office, approval of the bed shall be
revoked. The Policies and Procedures for Facility Need
Review is also revised to require the above referenced
proposals be bound to the location as defined in the solicitation
or request made by the department, rather than the
site/location described in the application submitted.

Implementation of this emergency rule is dependent on the
approval of the Health Care Financing Administration
(HCFA). Disapproval of this change by HCFA will
automatically cancel the provisions of this emergency rule and
current policy will remain in effect.

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
following address: John Futrell, Office of the Secretary,
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Box 91030, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is the person responsible for
responding to inquires regarding this emergency rule and
providing information on a public hearing. Copies of this rule
and all other Medicaid rules and regulations are available in
the Medicaid parish offices for review by interested parties.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has exercised
the emergency provision of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt the following emergency rule in the
Medical Assistance Program, effective March 1, 1993, for a
period of 60 days.

Currently in the Medicaid Program, nursing facility services
for persons in need of a neurological rehabilitation treatment
program are being provided out of state due to the lack of an
established reimbursement mechanism for these patients.
Under the current nursing facility reimbursement
methodologies, there is no provision for the intensive services,
specialized equipment and program of rehabilitative care
required for these patients. In-state nursing facilities capable
of providing such services to these patients are reluctant to
accept them due to the adverse effect on their overall
reimbursement. Therefore, in order to meet the needs of this
patient group, Medicaid of Louisiana is implementing a new
reimbursement methodology to be identified as NF-
Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment Program.  This
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specialized reimbursement will address the need to provide
treatment and care to this patient population in Louisiana.
Medicaid of Louisiana has developed the medical criteria for
the classification and reimbursement of this patient group
needing a program of neurological rehabilitation. Thus the
imminent peril to the health and welfare of these individuals
due to non-availability of these services will be avoided.

This emergency rule is effective March 1, 1993, for the
maximum period allowed under R.S. 49:954(B) et seq. It is
estimated that due to this reimbursement change there will be
no increased costs for these services and that there will be a
decreased cost of approximately $166,000 for the first year
of implementation. .,

EMERGENCY RULE

Effective March 1, 1993, the Bureau of Health Services
Financing shall implement a reimbursement methodology for
a Nursing Facility-Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment
Program. This program is developed to meet the needs of
Louisiana citizens who are Medicaid eligible patients and
require acute rehabilitation services for neurological injuries
and/or conditions of recent onset. Rehabilitation services
should be initiated within the acute care setting and should
extend throughout the recovery process. For some persons
with neurological insult the need for care, supervision and
supportive services may be long term. The patients in this
classification have a neurological condition while the NF-TDC
patients have a respiratory condition which is life threatening.

The NF-Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment Program
reimbursement shall be a prospective interim rate based on
budgeted cost data without cost settlement. Subsequent rate
adjustments may be made as warranted by on-site financial
audits of the facility costs to establish future rates in
accordance audit findings and the accuracy of the rate
components utilized. The current components for nursing
facility services will be utilized in this rate determination
process.  Annual audits will be required as well as the
submittal of additional cost reporting documents as required by
the department.

Medicaid of Louisiana has developed the medical criteria
which must be met in order for a Title XIX patient to be
classified for reimbursement under NF-Neurological
Rehabilitation Treatment Program. This program incorporates
two levels of patient care. These are the NF-Rehab Services
for an injury or condition of recent onset and the NF-Complex
Care for an injury or condition requiring transitional or long
term care in a specialized setting capable of addressing
cognitive, medical, technological and family needs. NF-Rehab
Services provide intensive, comprehensive, and
interdisciplinary services to persons with an injury or illness
resulting in residual severe deficits and disability and/or need
for aggressive medical support. SN-Rehab programs service
needs are designed to reduce the client rehabilitation and
medical while restoring the person to an optimal level of
physical, cognitive, and behavioral function within the content
of the person, family and community. NF-Complex Care
services provide care for clients who present with a variety of
medical/surgical concerns requiring a high skill level of
nursing, medical, and/or rehabilitation interventions to
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maintain medical/functional stability. = These clients are
essentially too medically complex or demanding for a typical
skilled nursing setting but are no longer in need of the acute
hospital setting.

Patients in need of NF-Rehab services shall meet the
following requirements:

1. the client shall have a injury or condition that occurred
or its initial onset was within one year from the date of
admission. Clients served shall have severe functional
limitations of recent onset, regression/progression, or clients
who have not had prior exposure to rehabilitation.

2. the client shall have been determined, by a physician,
to be responsive and appropriate for rehabilitation to recover
lost function or appropriate for assessment for determination
of functional recovery potential.

3. the client shall require two to four hours of
rehabilitation therapy services, per day, as tolerable and
appropriate, and a minimum of 5.5 hours of nursing care per
day. Rehabilitation therapy services will be available and
provided, as tolerable and appropriate, at least five days per
week. Examples of patients to be considered include, but are
not limited to:

a. traumatic brain injury;

b. cerebral vascular accidents with severe neurologic and
neurobehavioral sequelae;

c. spinal cord injury (cervical through thoracic);

d. orthopaedic injuries usually associated with neurotrauma
(multiple extremity and pelvic fractures, as well as severe
contractures);

e. complex paraplegics.

4. The client shall have complete neurological/medical/
psychosocial assessment completed prior to admission by the
facility which identifies:

a. history of current condition;

b. presenting problems and current needs;

c. preliminary plan of care including services to be
rendered;

d. initial goals and time frames for goal accomplishment.

5. the client shall have an assigned facility case manager to
monitor and measure goal attainment and functional
improvement. The facility case manager will be responsible
for cost containment and appropriate utilization of services.
The facility case manager will coordinate discharge planning
activities with the department when it has been determined by
the department that NF-Rehab services are no longer required
or appropriate.

6. the client shall demonstrate progress toward the
reduction of physical, cognitive, and/or behavioral deficits to
maintain eligibility for NF-Rehabilitation funding.

Patients in need of NF-Complex Care services shall meet
the following requirements:

1. the client shall have an injury or condition resulting in
severe functional cognitive, physical and/or behavioral deficits
and no longer requires nor can benefit from an active
rehabilitation program.

2. the client shall require a minimum of 4.5 to 5.5 hours
of nursing care per day. Clients shall receive the maximum
amount of rehabilitation therapy services as appropriate and



tolerable as determined by a physician. Examples of patients
and/or conditions to be considered include, but are not limited
to: '

a. Persistent Vegetative State (PVS) brain injury patients;

b. parenteral antibiotic therapy;

c. spinal cord injury (stable).

3. The client shall have complete neurological/medical/
psychosocial assessment completed prior to admission by the
facility which identifies:

a. history of current condition;

b. presenting problems and current needs;

c. preliminary plan of care including services to be
rendered.

4. the client shall have an assigned facility case manager to
monitor and measure goal attainment and functional
improvement. The facility case manager will be responsible
for cost containment and appropriate utilization of services.
The facility case manager will coordinate discharge planning
activities with the department when it has been determined by
the department that NF-Complex Care services are no longer
required or appropriate.

The facility seeking to provide services under this
Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment Program must meet the
following requirements:

1. the facility shall be accredited by the Joint Commission
on Accreditation on Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO) and by
the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
(CARF).

2. the facility shall have appropriate rehabilitation services
to manage the functional and psychosocial needs of the clients
services and appropriate medical services to evaluate and treat
the pathophysiologic process. The staff shall have intensive
specialized training and skills in rehabilitation.

3. the facility shall have formalized policies and
procedures to govern the comprehensive skilled and
rehabilitation nursing care, related medical and other services
provided. An interdisciplinary team approach shall be utilized
in patient care. This team shall include, but is not limited to:
a physician, a registered nurse (with special
training/experience in rehabilitation and brain injury
care/treatment), physical therapist, occupational therapist,
speech/language therapist, respiratory therapist, psychologist,
social worker, recreational therapist, and case manager.

4. the facility shall have formalized policies and
procedures to insure that the interdisciplinary health and
rehabilitation needs of every NF-Neurological Rehabilitation
patient shall be under the supervision of a board certified
primary care physician.

5. the facility shall have formalized policies and
procedures to insure a licensed physician visits and assess each
client’s care frequently and no less than required by law,
licensure, certifications and accreditations.

6. the facility shall have formalized policies and
procedures to furnish necessary medical care in cases of
emergency and provide 24 hour access to services in an acute
care hospital.

7. the facility shall provide designated, continuous beds for
persons requiring NF-Neurological Rehab an/or NF Complex
Care services. The facility shall provide private rooms for

clients demonstrating medical and/or behavioral needs.
Dedicated treatment space shall be provided for all treating
disciplines including the availability of distraction-free
individual treatment rooms/areas.

8. the facility shall provide 24 hour nursing services to
meet the medical and behavioral needs with registered nurse
coverage 24 hours per day, seven days per week.

9. the facility shall provide appropriate methods and
procedures for dispensing and administering medications and
biologicals.

10. the facility hall have formalized policies and procedures
for, and shall provide on a regular basis, ongoing staff
education in rehabilitation, respiratory care, specialized
medical services and other related clinical and non-clinical
issues.

11. the facility shall provide dietary services to meet the
comprehensive nutritional needs of the clients. These services
shall be provided by a registered dietician for a minimum of
two hours per month.

12. the facility shall provide client families and significant
others the opportunity to participate in the coordination and
facilitation of service delivery and personal treatment plan.

13. the facility shall provide non-medical transportation
services and arrange for medical transportation services to
meet the medical/social needs of the clients.

14. the facility shall provide initial and ongoing integrated,
interdisciplinary assessments to develop treatment plans which
should address medical/neurological issues sensorimotor,
cognitive, perceptual, and communicative capacity,
affect/mood, interpersonal, social skills, behaviors, ADL’s,
recreation/leisure  skills, education/vocational capacities,
sexuality, family, legal competency, adjustment to disability,
post-discharge services environmental modifications, and all
other areas deemed relevant for the person.

15. the facility shall provide a coordinated, interdisciplinary
team which meets in team conference to update the treatment
plan for each person at least every 14 days and as often as
necessary to meet the changing needs of the client.

16. the facility shall provide appropriate consultation and
services to meet the needs of the clients, including but not
limited to audiology, driver education, orthotics, prosthetic, or
any specialized services.

17. the facility shall establish protocol for ongoing contact
with vocational rehabilitation education, mental health,
developmental disabilities, social security, social welfare, head
injury advocacy groups and any other relevant
public/community agencies.

18. the facility shall establish protocol for close working
relationship with other acute care hospitals capable of caring
for persons with neurological trauma to provide for outpatient
follow up, in service education and ongoing training of
treatment protocols to meet the needs of the traumatic brain
injury clients.

Implementation of this rule is dependent on the approval of
the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA).
Disapproval of this change by HCFA will automatically cancel
the provisions of this rule and current policy will remain in
effect.

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
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following address: John Futrell, Office of the Secretary,
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Box 91030, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is the person responsible for
responding to inquires regarding this emergency rule. Copies
of this rule and all other Medicaid rules and regulations are
available at parish Offices of Family Services for review by
interested parties.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing is adopting the
following emergency rule in the Medicaid Program in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B). This emergency rule is effective February 15,
1993 and will remain in effect for the maximum of 120 days.

Changes in the Transportation Program are being
implemented in an effort to assure greater safety and easier
access to covered medical services and more efficient
utilization of non-emergency, non-ambulance medical
transportation for the beneficiaries of Medicaid of Louisiana.
It is projected that changes from this emergency rule will
result in an approximate overall cost savings to Medicaid of
Louisiana of $261,623 in fiscal year 1992-93.

The changes contained in this emergency rule are intended
to be in addition to and not instead of regulations currently
governing the program. These current regulations also include
the emergency rule published in the January 20, 1993 issue of
the Louisiana Register and subsequently published as a notice
of intent in this issue of the Louisiana Register. The major
focus of this emergency rule is to change the reimbursement
methodology for non-profit organizational providers. Currently
non-profit providers are paid solely on per mile rate.
Implementation of these provisions in conjunction with the
above recent changes will result in an overall program cost
savings through more effective management as the bureau will
have greater opportunities to follow the current policy of
authorizing transportation services based on the availability of
the least expensive provider.

EMERGENCY RULE

Effective February 15, 1993 the following additional
regulations will be implemented in the non-emergency medical
transportation program for non-profit providers.

A. Enrollment Requirement:

A $5000 performance bond, letter of credit or cashier’s
check payable to the Bureau of Health Services Financing is
required for profit providers and not applicable to
Vol. 19 No. 2
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organizations which meet state and federal qualifications for
non-profit status.

B. Reimbursement Methodology:

All non-profit organizational providers will be reimbursed
according to a dual methodology which includes a set amount
for each person transported and a per mile rate. The provider
is to be compensated a set "pick-up" fee for each person who
is transported for a medical appointment regardless of the
number of persons transported. In addition, the provider is to
be reimbursed for all actual vehicle miles traveled transporting
Medicaid beneficiaries to and from their medical
appointments. Non-profit providers will be paid for all actual
Title XIX miles traveled per trip, and not per beneficiary

based on a per mile rate.
Implementation of this emergency rule is dependent on the

approval of the Health Care Financing Administration
(HCFA). Disapproval of this change by HCFA will
automatically cancel the provisions of this emergency rule and
current policy will remain in effect.

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
following address: John L. Futrell, Office of the Secretary,
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Box 91030, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is the person responsible for
responding to inquires regarding this emergency rule and for
providing information on the public hearing on this matter.
Copies of this proposed rule and all other Medicaid regulations
are available for review at parish Medicaid offices.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Justice
Office of the Attorney General

Administration of Louisiana Open Housing Act

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
51:2610(A), as amended, which delegates the authority of
administering the Louisiana Open Housing Act to the
Louisiana Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney
General, the attorney general hereby finds that an eminent
danger to the public welfare exists and hereby adopts this
emergency rule. The effective date of this emergency rule is
January 26, 1993, and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or
until it takes effect through the normal promulgation process,
whichever is shortest.

The attorney general finds that the enactment of these
emergency rules is necessary in order to avoid the loss of
federal funds to aid and assist in the administration of the
Louisiana Open Housing Act. The attorney general has been
advised that the loss of these funds is eminent and accordingly
it is necessary to enact these emergency rules in order to fully
implement the Louisiana Open Housing Act and make it
consistent with the federal Fair Housing Act.



Louisiana Open Housing Act
Emergency Rules of Procedure and Administration

A. In order for a program to qualify for an exemption
under the Louisiana Open Housing Act, more particularly R.S.
51:2605(C) thereof, the attorney general or his designee must
determine that a program is specifically designed and operated
to assist elderly persons which determination must be
consistent with the secretary of the Department of Housing and
Urban Development under §807(b)(2) of the Federal Housing
Act.

B. Any conciliation agreement arising out of conciliation
efforts by the attorney general or his designee shall be made
public unless the complainant and respondent otherwise agree
and the attorney general or his designee determine that
disclosure is not required to further the purposes of the
Louisiana Open Housing Act.

C. Final administrative disposition of a complaint by the
attorney general or his designee shall take place within one
year of the date of receipt of a complaint, unless it is
impractical to do so at which time the attorney general or his
designee shall notify the complainant and respondent in writing
for the reasons of the delay.

D. Any civil action filed by the attorney general or his
designee requesting relief pursuant to R.S. 51:2614(A) shall
be brought only against those respondents or persons charged
pursuant to R.S. 51:2611 who have been served with a copy
of the complaint in accordance with law and advised of their
rights and obligations under the law and only after an
opportunity to conciliate.

Richard P. Ieyoub
Attorney General

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Economic Development and Gaming Corporation

Corporation Formation, Powers and Liability
(LAC 42:IX.Chapters 9-13)

The Louisiana Economic Development and Gaming
Corporation adopts these initial rules effective January 12,
1993, pursuant to R.S. 4:620(D), which states that "for
purposes of expeditious implementation of the provisions of
this Chapter, the promulgation of initial administrative rules
shall constitute a matter of imminent peril to public health,
safety and welfare as provided in R.S. 49:953 (B)." The
corporation declares these articles of incorporation, by-laws
and procurement code as initial emergency rules and
regulations and therefore, the adoption of such is statutorily
under §620(D) granted emergency status. The aforementioned
rules and regulations are adopted for the maximum period of
120 days in accordance with R.S. 49:950(B)(2).
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Title 42
LOUISIANA GAMING
Part IX. Casino Gambling
Subpart 2. Economic Development and Gaming
Corporation

Chapter 9. Articles of Incorporation
§901. Statement of Authority

The Louisiana Legislature has expressed its desire to
establish a casino in the state of Louisiana, and, to do so the
Louisiana Legislature has adopted the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation Act, Louisiana Revised
Statutes 4:601 et. seq. (sometimes hereafter referred to as the
act). In adopting the Louisiana Economic Development and
Gaming Corporation Act, the Louisiana Legislature
acknowledged that the operation of a casino is unique to state
government and legislatively determined that the regulation of
the casino should be undertaken by a separate, independent
corporate entity and not an agency or political subdivision of
the state of Louisiana. Consequently, pursuant to the
Louisiana Economic Development and Gaming Corporation
Act, the Louisiana Legislature created the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation (the "corporation”),
which is vested with broad powers to regulate the official
gaming establishment casino and to oversee any and all games
connected therewith. The Louisiana Economic Development
and Gaming Corporation Act further detailed the governance
and operation of the corporation by a board of directors (the
"board") and a president (the "president") of the corporation.
In accordance with the Louisiana Economic Development and
Gaming Corporation Act, the board hereby adopts the
following corporate articles setting forth certain matters
appropriate to the operation of a corporation of the nature of

the Louisiana Economic Development and Gaming
Corporation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§903. Formation and Continuation
A. Commencement of Existence
Pursuant to Section 611 of the Act, the existence of the
corporation commenced on the date that a majority of the
members of the board of directors of the corporation were
confirmed by the Senate, which occurred on or about
December 16, 1992.
B. Principal Business Office
1. Unless otherwise designated as provided in §903.C.1
the principal business office of the corporation (the "principal
business office")shall be located at:
LouisiaNA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND
GAMING CORPORATION
ONE CANAL PLACE
365 CANAL STREET, SUITE 2700
NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130
2. The corporation may have such other offices within
the state of Louisiana as the board deems necessary or
appropriate. Notice of the location of the principal business
office shall be provided to the Louisiana secretary of state and
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the recorder of mortgages in East Baton Rouge and Orleans
Parishes via the recordation of these corporate articles.
C. Change in Location of Principal Business Office

1. A change in the location of the principal business
office may be authorized at any time by the board provided
that the new principal business office shall be located in
Orleans Parish, New Orleans, Louisiana. ~ Within 30 days
after a change of location is completed, notice of the change,
and the post office address of the new principal business
office, shall be filed with the Louisiana secretary of state and
with the recorder of mortgages in East Baton Rouge and
Orleans Parishes. If the principal business office is vacated by
the corporation, a new principal business office shall be
designated by the board, and notice of the change and of the
post office address of the new office shall be filed with the
secretary of state and with the recorder of mortgages of East
Baton Rouge and Orleans Parish within 30 days of such
designation. If the notice of change provided hereunder is not
filed within that period, the New Orleans office of the attorney
general shall thereafter be deemed to be the principal business
office until the appropriate filing of a notice of a new principal
business office with the secretary of state and with the
recorder of mortgages of East Baton Rouge and Orleans
Parish.

ATTORNEY GENERAL RICHARD IEYOUB’S OFFICE

ATTN: LOUISIANA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
AND GAMING CORPORATION

234 LoyoLA, 7TH FLOOR

NEW ORLEANS, LA 70130

2. The principal business office shall be considered the
domicile of the corporation for all purposes except for venue
purposes as described in R.S. 4:606.

D. Duration

The corporation shall have perpetual existence, unless
earlier dissolved in accordance with §909.A hereof.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§905. Powers of the Corporation

A. Description of Powers
Subject to the limitations stated in the Louisiana Constitution,
the act and general provisions of Louisiana law, the
corporation shall have the power and authority to regulate the
official gaming establishment and do all things related and in
furtherance thereof. Without limiting the generality of the
foregoing, the corporation shall have the following specific
powers and authority:

1. in any legal manner to acquire, hold, use and alienate
or encumber property of any kind;

2. in any legal manner to acquire, hold, vote and use,
alienate and encumber, and to deal in and with shares,
memberships or other interests in, or obligations of, other
business, non-profit or foreign corporations, associations,
partnerships, joint ventures, individuals or government entities
(collectively an "entity");

3. tomake contracts and guarantees, including guarantees
of the obligations of other entities;

4. to incur liabilities, borrow money and secure any of
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its past, present or future obligations by the pledge, pawn,
mortgage, collateral mortgage, hypothecation or granting of a
security interest of any kind of property, which security may
be created by security documents which may include a
confession of judgment and all other usual and customary
Louisiana security document provisions;

5. enter into other obligations or evidences
indebtedness;

6. to lend money for its corporate purposes and invest
and reinvest funds, and to take and hold, sell or exchange
property or rights of any kind as security for loans or
investments;

7. to elect or appoint officers and agents, to define their
duties and fix their compensation;

8. to pay pensions and establish pension plans, pension
trusts, profit sharing plans and other incentive and benefit
plans for any or all of its directors, officers and employees;

9. enter into procurement including issuance of requests
for proposals for contracts authorized by the act;

10. sue and be sued in its corporate name, and as a
corporate entity;

11. adopt a corporate seal and a symbol;

12. hold copyrights, trademarks, and service marks and
enforce its rights with respect thereto;

13. appoint agents upon which process may be served;

14. acquire immovable property and make improvements
thereon, subject to the prior approval of the Joint Legislative
Committee on the Budget;

15. make, solicit, and bid requests for proposals and
offers for major procurement, in accordance with law or rules
and regulations of the corporation including:

a. contracts for major procurement after competitive
negotiation, bidding, or other procedure authorized pursuant
to the Louisiana Procurement Code, or the corporation may
adopt special rules and regulations pursuant to the provisions
of this part providing for special procedures whereby the
corporation may make any class of procurement including the
authority to negotiate a reduced price. Such procedures shall
be designed to allow the selection of proposals that provide the
greatest long-term benefit to the state, the greatest integrity for
the corporation, and the best service and products for the
public. In its bidding and negotiation processes, the
corporation may do its own bidding and procurement may
utilize the services of the division of administration central
purchasing agency or other set agency or division. The
president of the corporation may with approval of the board
declare an emergency for purchasing purposes; and

b. contracts to incur debt in its own name and enter
into financing agreements with the state, its own agencies, or
with a commercial bank, excluding the authority to issue
bonds.

B. Powers of the Board

All of the corporate powers of the corporation shall, to the
extent not specifically delegated to other persons, agencies or
entities pursuant to the Louisiana Economic Development and
Gaming Corporation Law, be vested in, and the business and
affairs of the corporation shall be administered by, the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promu]gatcd by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§907. Indemnification and Limitation of Liability

A. Right to Indemnification

If approved by majority vote of the board, each person who
was or is a party, or is threatened to be made a party to, or is
otherwise involved in, any threatened, pending or completed
action, suit or proceeding, whether civil, criminal,
administrative or investigative (a "proceeding”), by reason of
the fact that such person is or was a director, officer,
employee or agent of the corporation, whether the basis of
such proceeding is alleged to be as a result of such person’s
action or failure to act, may be indemnified and held harmless
by the corporation against any and all expenses, attorneys’
fees, liabilities, losses, judgments, fines and amounts paid or
to be paid in settlement, which amounts are, in any case,
actually and reasonably incurred; provided (all the following
are met) that such person:

1. must have acted in compliance with the corporation’s
‘rules of conduct, as amended from time to time, and any other
rules and regulations now or hereafter adopted by the
corporation;

2. must have acted in good faith;

3. must have acted in a manner that he or she reasonably
believed to be in, or not opposed to, the best interests of the
corporation; and

4. in the case of an action or failure to act that may
constitute criminal conduct, such person must not have been
convicted or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or
similar plea with respect to such conduct.

B. Payment of Expenses in Advance

If authorized by vote of a majority of the board, the
corporation may pay, in advance of final disposition of a
proceeding, a director’s, officer’s, employee’s or agent’s
reasonable expenses, including attorney’s fees, incurred by
such person in defending any such proceeding; provided,
however, that the payment of such expenses in advance of the
final disposition of such proceeding shall be made only upon
delivery to the corporation of an undertaking, by or on behalf
of such person, in which such person agrees to repay all
amounts so advanced if it should be ultimately determined that
such person is not entitled to be indemnified under this §907.

C. Applicability of Rights

The ability of the board to indemnify or to grant the
reimbursement or advancement of expenses pursuant hereto is
intended to be retroactive and shall be available with respect
to events occurring prior to the adoption hereof. The rights
granted hereunder shall continue to exist after the rescission or
restrictive modification hereof with respect to events occurring
prior thereto, and may be applied to acts or failures to act of
officers, directors, employees and agents of the corporation
committed or omitted during such person’s tenure with the
corporation despite the fact that such person no longer serves
in such capacity.

D. Insurance

The corporation may maintain insurance at its expense to
protect itself and any director, officer, employee or agent of
the corporation against any expense, liability or loss incurred

by such person in connection with his or her service to the
corporation.
E. Authority of the Board
The board shall make all determinations under this §907
relating to the payment or advance of any moneys and the
standard of conduct necessary therefor. However, a director
shall not vote on any decision or determination relating to his
or her actions, failure to act or other matter under this §907.
in which the director has an interest (all directors not so
disqualified are hereinafter "disinterested directors"). If any
person or persons are disqualified from voting hereunder, the
quorum and voting requirements hereunder shall be based on
the number of persons not disqualified from voting on such
issues. The board may make the payment or advancement of
any amounts hereunder subject to such terms and conditions as
they deem appropriate.
F. Limitation of Liability
No director, officer, employee or agent of the corporation
shall be personally liable to the corporation or otherwise for
monetary damages for breach of fiduciary duty as a director,
officer or employee, except for liability resulting from any of
the following:
1. for breach of the director’s, officer’s, employee’s or
agent’s duty of loyalty to the corporation;
2. for acts or omissions not in good faith or that involve
intentional misconduct or a knowing violation of law;
3. for any transaction from which the director, officer,
employee or agent derived an improper personal benefit; or
4. for any action or failure to act that violates the rules
of conduct of the corporation, as amended from time to time,
and any other rules and regulations now or hereafter adopted
by the corporation. The determination of whether a person
has met the applicable standards of conduct under this §907.F
shall be made by a vote of disinterested directors.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§909. Miscellaneous
A. Dissolution
The corporation may be dissolved and the operations thereof
wound up only upon vote of the Louisiana Legislature to so
dissolve and wind up the corporation or to repeal the enabling
legislation adopted by the Legislature relating to the
corporation and regulation of a casino. Within 90 days of the
date of the final adoption of any such legislation, the board
shall appoint one or more liquidators, which liquidator or
liquidators shall have all of the rights, powers, duties and
authority of the officers of the corporation and the board, and
the rights, powers, duties and authority of the officers and
directors of the corporation shall cease, except the power and
authority of the board to remove or replace any of the
liquidators, and such other rights, powers, duties and authority
as may be retained by the board or granted by law. In all
other respects and except as otherwise provided by the
legislature, the corporation shall be liquidated in the same
manner and according to the same rules that govern the
liquidation of Louisiana corporations (Louisiana Revised
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Statutes 12:141 et seq.). In the event of dissolution or final
liquidation of the corporation, the board shall, after paying or
making provision for the payment of all the lawful debts and
liabilities of the corporation, distribute all the assets of the
corporation to the state of Louisiana or any successor
corporation, commission, board or entity designated by the
legislature.

B. No Instrumentality of the State; No Private Inurement

While, as stated in the statement of authority, the
corporation is not an agency or political subdivision of the
state of Louisiana, the corporation has been formed for a
public purpose and shall not be deemed an instrumentality of
the state of Louisiana except as otherwise specifically provided
in the act or these articles. No part of the net earnings, gains
or assets of the corporation shall inure to the benefit of or be
distributable to its directors, officers, other private individuals
or organizations organized and operated for a profit (except
that the corporation shall be authorized and empowered to pay
reasonable compensation for services rendered and to make
payments and distributions in furtherance of the purposes
hereinabove stated).

C. Amendment

An amendment, modification, deletion or alteration (an
"amendment") of these corporate articles, or any provision
hereof, may be adopted by vote of at least six members of the
board at a duly called regular or special meeting of the board;
provided that, the text of the proposed amendment shall be
submitted to the board at the regular meeting most recently
preceding the regular meeting at which such amendment is to
be considered. Any amendment so adopted by the board shall
not become effective until adopted in accordance with LAC
42:1X.1109 of the corporation’s by-laws and rules of
procedure.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
Chapter 11. By-laws and Rules of Procedure
§1101. Statement of Purpose

The Louisiana Economic Development and Gaming
Corporation (the "corporation”) was formed pursuant to
Louisiana Revised Statutes 4:601 et. seq., which is entitled
The Louisiana Economic Development and Gaming
Corporation Act (hereafter referred to as the "act"). The act
directed the corporation to adopt various rules and procedures
governing various aspects of the operation of the corporation.
To comply with this mandate, the board of directors of the
corporation (hereafter referred to as the "board") has adopted
these by-laws and rules of procedure (sometimes referred to
as "rules of procedure” or "rules").

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1103. Directors

A. Number and Classes of Directors

All of the corporate powers of the corporation shall be
vested in, and the business and affairs of the corporation shall
be administered by the board which consists of nine members,
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as more specifically set forth in the act. The governor shall
appoint the chairman of the board and the board shall annually
elect a vice-chairman and a secretary from among its
members. The chairman shall conduct all meetings of the
board, and, unless appointed to a committee of the board as a
regular member, shall be an ex-officio, non-voting member of
each committee of the board. The vice-chairman shall act in
the absence of the chairman. The secretary shall give, or
cause to be given, notice of all meetings of directors and
committees thereof, immediately upon being directed by the
persons responsible for providing notice, and all other notices
required by law or by these by-laws, and in case of his or her
absence or refusal or neglect to do so, any such notice may be
given by the director, directors or officer upon whose request
the meeting is called as provided in these by-laws. The
secretary shall record or cause to be recorded all the
proceedings of the meetings of the directors and committees
thereof in a book or books to be kept for such purpose. The
foregoing officers of the board shall also have such powers,
duties, responsibilities and authority as is granted to them by
resolution of the board.

B. Place of Meetings

Regular meetings of the directors may be held at any place
within the state of Louisiana as the board may determine by
vote of at least five members thereof. If the board does not
vote upon, or at least five directors cannot agree upon, a place
for any meeting, or if the notice of a meeting does not
designate a location for such meeting, such meeting shall be
at the corporation’s principal business office located as stated
in the corporation’s corporate articles, as may be changed
from time to time in accordance with the corporate articles.

C. Regular Meetings of the Board

Regular meetings of the board shall be held upon the call of
chairman if the board by resolution adopts a specific day or
days of each week or month, as applicable, for the regular
meetings of the board. No notice of any such regularly
scheduled meeting other than that required by Louisiana
Revised Statutes 42:7 shall be required to be delivered to any
member. Notice as required by Louisiana Revised Statutes
42:7 shall be given of all meetings of the board or any
committee thereof by posting of a copy of the notice at the
principal business office of the corporation and by mailing or
telecopying a copy of the notice to any member of the news
media who has requested notice of meetings. Attendance at
any meeting without objection to the notice thereof prior to the
conduct of the business of such meeting shall constitute a

waiver of notice.
D. Special Meetings of the Board

Special meetings of the board may be called at any time by
call of five or more of the members of the board or by the
chairman subject to providing the notice required by Louisiana
Revised Statutes 42:7(A)(2). Special meetings shall be held
at the principal business office of the corporation unless
otherwise agreed to by at least 6 members of the board. The
effective date of any notice provided with respect to a special
meeting of directors shall not be affected by the subsequent
determination to hold a special meeting other than at the
principal business office.

E. Reserved
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F. Notice of Meetings

Notice of meetings of the board and committees thereof
shall be given in accordance with R.S. 42:7.

G. Quorum, Proxies and Rules

At all meetings of the board, the presence of five of the
directors in office and qualified to act shall constitute a
quorum for the transaction of business, and the action of a
majority of the voting power present at any meeting at which
a quorum is present shall be the action of the board, unless the
concurrence of a greater proportion is required for such action
by law, the corporate articles or these by-laws and rules of
procedure. If a quorum is not present at any meeting of
directors, the directors present may adjourn the meeting from
time to time, without notice other than announcement at the
meeting, until a quorum is present. A director may not attend
a meeting of the board or any committee thereof by proxy.
The board may adopt internal parliamentary procedures for the
conduct of its meetings in accordance with the provisions of
R.S. 49:951(6) which shall not constitute administrative rules
of the corporation.

H. Resignation

The resignation of a director shall take effect upon the
effective date of the delivery of a written resignation to the
chairman or on any later date specified therein, but in no event
more than 30 days after such receipt.

I. Vacancies

The office of a director shall become vacant if he or she
dies, resigns or is removed in accordance with the act.

J. Reserved

K. Committees of the Board

The chairman may designate one or more committees, each
committee to consist of the directors of the corporation as
determined by the chairman (and one or more directors may
be named alternate members to replace any absent or
disqualified regular member of such committee) pursuant to
the following provisions:

1. such committee or committees shall have such name
or names as may be determined, from time to time, by the
chairman. The president and chairman shall each be an
ex-officio member of each committee of the chairman. Any
vacancy occurring in any such committee shall be filled by the
chairman;

2. The presence of a majority of the members of a
committee at any meeting thereof shall constitute a quorum,
and the business of a committee shall be transacted, and notice
provided, in the same manner as set forth herein for the board.

L. Reliance on Reports and Records

A director shall, in the performance of his or her duties as
a director or a member of a committee, be fully protected,
and, if such conduct meets the requirements of the corporate
articles, shall be entitled to indemnification under such
corporate articles, if such director relies, in good faith, upon
the records of the corporation or upon such information,
opinions, reports or statements presented to the corporation,
the board or any member or members of a committee thereof
by the attorney general, by any of the corporation’s officers,
employees or agents, appraiser, engineer, or independent or
certified public accountant selected by the board or any
committee thereof with reasonable care, or by any other

person as to matters the director reasonably believes are within
such other person’s professional or expert competence and
which person is selected by the board or any committee
thereof with reasonable care.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1105. Officers

A. Corporation President

The president of the corporation shall be appointed by the
board subject to the approval of the governor. Should the
governor refuse to approve the appointed of the president by
the board, then the board shall submit another name. The
person whose appointment was refused shall not be renamed
for approval for a period of two years. The governor shall,
within 30 days after the nomination of the president by the
board, either approve or reject the nomination.

B. Powers and Duties of the President

The president of the corporation shall manage the affairs of
the corporation and shall have such powers and duties as
specified by the board of directors. The president shall not be
a member of the board. The president of the corporation shall
serve at the pleasure of the board which shall set the
compensation of the president. The president of the
corporation (the "president") shall manage the daily affairs of
the corporation and shall serve as chief executive officer of the
corporation, with general management of the corporation’s
business and power to make contracts in the ordinary course
of business; shall appoint such officers as he or she deems
appropriate, including, without limitation, a vice-president and
a secretary-treasurer; shall see that all orders and resolutions
of the board are carried into effect and direct the other officers
and agents of the corporation in the performance of their
duties; shall have the power to execute all authorized
instruments; and shall generally perform all acts incident to the
office of president, or which are authorized or specified by
law or the board, or which are incumbent upon him or her
under the provisions of the corporate articles or these by-laws
and rules of procedure. The president shall serve at the
pleasure and will of the board.

C. Vice President

The president shall employ a vice president and a secretary-
treasurer with such duties as are assigned by the president.
Such officers shall serve at the pleasure of the president. In
the absence or disability of the president, the vice-president
shall perform the president’s duties and exercise his or her
powers. The vice-president shall serve at the pleasure and
will of the president.

D. Secretary-Treasurer

A secretary-treasurer of the corporation (the
"secretary-treasurer”) shall be appointed by the president and
shall have custody of all funds, securities, evidences of
indebtedness and other valuable documents of the corporation;
shall receive and give, or cause to be received and given, all
moneys paid to or by the corporation and receipts and
acquittance for moneys paid into or for the account of the
corporation; shall enter, or cause to be entered, in the books
of the corporation to be kept for that purpose, full and
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accurate accounts of all moneys received and paid out on
account of the corporation, and, whenever required by the
president or the board, he or she shall render a statement of
his or her accounts; shall keep or cause to be kept such books
as will show a true record of the expenses, gains, losses,
assets and liabilities of the corporation; shall, in the absence
of the secretary of the board, perform the duties and exercise
the powers of the secretary; and shall perform all of the other
duties incident to the office of secretary-treasurer as
determined or directed by the president or the board. If
required by the board or the president, the secretary-treasurer
shall give the corporation a bond for the faithful discharge of
his or her duties and for restoration to the corporation, upon
termination of his or her tenure, of all property of the
corporation under his or her control. The secretary-treasurer
shall serve at the pleasure and will of the president.

E. Assistants

Assistants to the president, vice-president or secretary-
treasurer may be appointed by the president or, with the
approval of the president, by the officer under whom such
assistant serves, and shall have such duties as may be
delegated to them by the president or the officer under whom
such assistant serves. Each assistant shall serve at the pleasure
and will of the president.

F. Compensation

The compensation of the president shall be fixed by the
board, and the compensation of all other officers shall be
determined by the president, subject to the prior approval of
the board. '

G. Term of Office

Each officer of the corporation or assistant thereto shall,
unless he or she resigns or is earlier terminated by the
corporation, hold office until his or her successor is chosen
and qualified in his or her stead. Any officer elected or
appointed by the board or president may be removed at any
time by the affirmative vote of the board or by action of the
president, unless such power is specifically limited to action
by the board (e.g., appointment of the president). If the office
of any officer or assistant becomes vacant for any reason, the
vacancy shall be promptly filled by the president. No vacancy
need be filled if the board or the president determines that the
office in which such vacancy occurs need not be filled;
provided that the corporation shall maintain the offices of
president, vice-president and secretary-treasurer.

H. Absence

In the case of the absence of any officer of the corporation
or an assistant thereto, or for any other reason that the board
or president may deem sufficient, the board or president may
delegate any of the powers or duties of any officer or assistant
to any other officer or employee of the corporation or
designee of the board. For purposes of these by-laws, an
officer not yet hired or retained shall be deemed absent.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:

§1107. Miscellaneous Provisions
A. Fiscal Year
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The fiscal year of the corporation shall begin on July 1 and
end on June 30 of each year.

B. Checks, Drafts, Notes, Etc.

All checks, drafts or other orders for the payment of money,
and notes or other evidences of indebtedness, issued in the
name of the corporation shall be signed by such officer or
officers of the corporation and in such manner as shall be
determined by the board, from time to time, or pursuant to
any written forms or instructions filed at any financial
institution that issues such checks, drafts or other orders for
payment.

C. Registered Agent

The register agents of the corporation for service of process
shall be the chairman and the attorney general or his
designated assistant.

D. Notice

1. Whenever any notice is required by these by-laws and
rules of procedure to be given, such notice is sufficient if
given by:

a. personal service (which notice shall be effective
upon delivery); or

b. telephone, telecopy, telefax or similar electronic
communication; or

c. delivery of such notice by registered or certified
mail, return receipt required; or

d. air freight, overnight delivery of which is recorded.

2. Any such notice shall be addressed to the person or

entity receiving such notice at his, her or its last known
address as it appears in the records of the corporation.

E. Waiver or Modification of Receipt of Notice
Whenever any notice of the time, place or purpose of any
meeting of directors or a committee thereof is required by
law, the corporate articles or these by-laws and rules of
procedure, a waiver or modification thereof in writing, signed
by the person or persons entitled to such notice and filed with
the board secretary’s records of such meeting, before or after
the holding thereof, or actual attendance at the meeting of
directors or committee thereof, is equivalent to the giving of
such notice, except with respect to the notice required by
Louisiana Revised Statutes 42:7.

F. Amendment

An amendment, modification, deletion or alteration (an
"amendment") of these by-laws and rules of procedure, or any
provision hereof, may be adopted by vote of at least six
members of the board at a duly called regular or special
meeting of the board. Any amendment so adopted by the
board shall not become effective until adopted in accordance
with §1109.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:

§1109. Special Procedures for Promulgation of Rules, By-
laws and Articles of Incorporation
A. Generally
In accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes 4:620 and
659, the board has adopted and shall adhere to the following
special procedures relating to the adoption and promulgation
of rules, by-laws and articles of incorporation.



1. No less than five and no more than 30 days after the
board intends to consider a rule, by-law or article of
incorporation change or promulgation, the board shall cause
to be published in the official journal of the state or the
corporation, a notice of intent stating the general subject
matters to be covered by its proposed rules, by-laws or articles
of incorporation, and the date, time and place of the public
meeting at which the proposed change or promulgation will be
considered. The notice of intent shall also state that interested
persons may appear at the meeting and make comments
regarding the proposed rule, by-law or article.

2. Within 40 days of the public hearing and adoption of
any such rule or regulation, as described in Subsection A.1
above, the board shall cause to be published in at least one of
the publications listed in Subsection A.1 above, a notice of the
adoption of such rules or by-law or article. The board may
also publish the full text of the rules or regulation in the
official journal of the state or the corporation.

3. Within seven days after publication of notice of
adoption in the official journal of the state or the corporation,
the president shall transmit a copy of any such rule or
regulation, the published notice of intent, the notice of
adoption and any comments received to the speaker of the
House of Representatives, the president of the Senate, and the
chairman of the House Committee on the Administration of
Criminal Justice and the Senate Committee on Judiciary B.

4. Absent a legislative hearing and decision to reject such
a rule or regulation as described in Louisiana Revised Statutes
4:659, the adopted rule, by-law or article of incorporation
shall be effective 21 days after receipt of the proposed rules
by the presiding officers in accordance with R.S. 4:659 (B).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1111. Special Procedures for Hearings on Alleged
Violations of the Rules of Conduct
A. Hearings

1. The board or the ethics committee established by the
board shall not impose any penalty for violation of the
corporation rules of Conduct without a hearing and after
reasonable notice informing such person or entity of:

a. the date, time and place of such hearing;

b. a reference to the specific rules of conduct such
person or entity is alleged to have violated; and

c. a short and plain statement of the matters asserted.

2. At such hearing, the person or entity subject to such

hearing shall have the right:

a. to be represented by counsel;

b. to call and examine witnesses to the production of
evidence;

c. to introduce evidence and exhibits; and

d. to cross-examine opposing witnesses.

3. However, no person against whom such a proceeding
is instituted may require production of security or confidential
records of the corporate corporation unless relevant to the
alleged misconduct of the person for whom the hearing is
held.

B. Determinations
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After conclusion of a hearing held pursuant hereto, the
board or the ethics committee, as the case may be shall begin
deliberations on the evidence and then proceed to determine by
majority vote whether there has been a violation of the rules
of conduct, and, if so, what is an appropriate penalty for such
violation. The findings of the board or the ethics committee
may, but need not, be made public.

C. Record of Hearings

The board or the ethics committee, as the case may be, shall
cause a record to be made of all hearings held pursuant hereto.
Such record may, but need not, be made public.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:

§1113. Other Special Procedures for Hearings

A. Application

The procedures stated in this Section shall apply to an
appeal by a casino gaming operator, gaming operator,
distributor, licensee, permittee, under contractor, or applicant
or other person or party of a corporation adjudication, decision
or determination rendered in the act. For purposes of this
Section, the term "appellant” shall mean a person adversely
affected by a decision of the corporation or the board.

B. Appellant Request

Prior to initiating an appeal of the presidents or other
officer’s decision, order or adjudication an appellant must send
the president a request letter stating the action of which the
appellant seeks reconsideration or modification and all reasons
the appellant advances for reconsideration or modification.
The request letter must state the appellant’s name and address,
must enclose copies of all documents relevant to the request
and must be signed by the appellant. The appellant must
represent that all facts stated in the request letter are correct
to the best knowledge of the appellant. The president shall
respond to the request letter in writing within 10 days of the
corporation’s receipt of it, stating all reasons for the response.

C. Notice of Appeal

An appellant may appeal the president’s denial of all or any
part of the appellant’s request stated in the appellant’s request
letter by sending the president a notice of appeal. The notice
of appeal shall be effective only if it is in writing, states the
substance and basis of the appeal, and is received by the
corporation within 10 days of the appellant’s receipt of the
president’s letter advising the appellant of the president’s
determination or decision. The notice may request that the
hearing be expedited, provided that such a request shall
constitute an undertaking by the appellant to pay the costs
assessable under §1113.E. Upon receipt of a notice of appeal,
the president shall deliver the notice, the appellant’s request
letter and the president’s denial letter to the board. In the
event a corporation president has not been selected, the
appellant shall make his or her appeal directly to the board in
the same manner as prescribed in §1113.B, including the filing
of a request letter with the board.

D. Hearing

The board shall consider the appeal within 30 days of
receipt of the notice of appeal. The chairman may call a
special meeting of the board to hear an appeal if the appellant
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has requested an expedited hearing and the chairman in his
sole discretion believes that the appeal warrants an expedited
hearing. The president shall give the appellant reasonable
notice of the time and location of the board meeting. The
appellant shall be permitted to present the appeal orally for a
time period determined by the board, committee or hearing
officer. The presentation may not include points or subjects
which were not included in the appellant’s request letter. The
corporation shall keep a complete record of the hearing and
shall make it available to the appellant. A committee or a
board appointed independent hearing officer may make
recommendations in writing with supporting reasons to the
board for its final action. The board shall render its decision
on the appeal by majority vote at the hearing of the appeal.

E. Costs

If the appellant requested an expedited hearing, and the
board conducts the expected hearing at a special meeting
called for that purpose and the board denies the appeal, the
board may then charge the appellant the corporation’s
reasonable costs incurred in connection with the special
meeting and hearing, including any travel and per diem
expenses.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
Chapter 13. Procurement Policies and Rules
§1301. Policy Statement

In accordance with the act and particularly with R.S. 4:620,
€71 and 623 the board of directors of the Louisiana Economic
2evelopment and Gaming Corporation adopts these policies
and rules in order to assure public confidence in the
procedures followed by the corporation in procuring the items,
products and services necessary to conduct its business and
operations as authorized by the act. Public confidence
depends on the corporation developing and maintaining
precurement procedures that: are subject to the highest ethical
standards; promote the acquisition of high quality goods and
services at competitive prices; promote administrative
efficiency; recognize that the regulation of a casino is a
unique activity; and afford fair treatment of all persons
offering their products and services to the corporation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1303. General

A. Definitions

The following terms shall have the following meanings when
used in these policies and rules unless the context clearly

indicates otherwise:
Act or The Act—the "Louisiana Economic Development

and Gaming Corporation act” or the provisions of Louisiana
Revised Statutes 4:601 et. seq.

Authorized Officers—the president, the vice president, the
secretary-treasurer, the procurement officer and all persons
designated as division heads in the corporation’s organizational
structure from time to time.

Board—the board of directors of the corporation as
established and existing pursuant to the act.
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Business—any corporation, partnership, individual, joint
stock association, sole proprietorship, joint venture, business
association, cooperative association, professional corporation
or any other legal entity through which business is conducted.

Contractor—any vendor, entity or business with which the
corporation has entered into a procurement contract.

Director—a member of the board.

Louisiana Laws—all provisions of the statutes in the
Constitution of the State of Louisiana and all statutes, codes,
rules and regulations.

Major Procurement—shall have the
ascribed to such term in §605(23) of the act.

Minor Procurement—shall have the
ascribed to such term in §605(24) of the act.

Person—any business, individual, union, committee, club,
firm, corporation or other organization or group of
individuals.

Procurement—the acquisition by the corporation of any
goods or services in return for a cash payment or the promise
thereof. The term shall not include:

a. acquisitions from an agency or political subdivision
of the state of Louisiana;

b. employment contracts with individuals;

c. financing; or

d. contracts for goods or services provided as part of,
or related to, a lease of immovable property.

Procurement Agent—the officer of the corporation appointed
by the president, or the board in the absence of the president,
to manage and supervise procurement from time to time.

Procurement Authorization Form—the document prepared by
the corporation pursuant these procurement rules by which a
procurement is authorized.

Request for Proposals or RFP—the document prepared and
issued by the corporation pursuant to §1305.B of these policies
and rules.

Special Circumstances—the circumstances meeting the
requirement of or described in §1305.J of these procurement
rules.

Special Procurement—an emergency or special procurement
authorized in §1305.J of these policies and rules.

B. Authority of the Corporation

These procurement rules are adopted pursuant to the power
granted the corporation under the act. These procurement
rules are supplemental to and may be utilized in substitution
of all Louisiana laws relating to procurement. These policies
and rules when utilized shall, pursuant to the Louisiana
Economic Development and Gaming Corporation Act, render
Louisiana laws on procurement inapplicable to the corporation,
Additionally, these policies and rules shall be deemed to
incorporate any adopted or promulgated corporation rules of
conduct, the Louisiana Code of Governmental Ethics and the
act and no procurement rule, policy or practice of the
corporation under these special procedures shall be construed
to allow any procurement by the corporation which would
otherwise be prohibited by the act, the corporation rules of
conduct, or the Louisiana Code of Governmental Ethics.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

same meaning

same meaning



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1305. Major Procurement Procedures

A. Applicability of Section

The provisions of this Section shall apply to all major
procurement.

B. Initiation of Procurement

The corporation shall initiate a major procurement by
preparation of a "procurement authorization form" which
authorized the procurement. The procurement authorization
form shall to the extent possible clearly state the goods or
services to be procured, the corporation’s need for the goods
or services, an estimate of the anticipated range of cost of the
procurement and a listing of potential contractors. The listing
of potential contractors shall include all businesses on the list
of interested contractors as provided in these rules and who
are known to the corporation as being in the business of
supplying the desire goods or services and any business from
whom a response to the corporation’s request for proposals
‘would, in the opinion of the procurement agent, enhance the
competition among businesses for the procurement contract.
The board may by resolution authorize and designate a person
or persons to sign procurement authorizations.

C. Preparation of Request for Proposals

Upon execution of a procurement authorization, the
corporation shall prepare a request for proposals which shall
include, at a minimum, the following information:

1. specifications of the goods or services required by the
corporation, prepared in such a manner as to promote
comparability of responses by potential contractors;

2. a requirement that all responding proposals be in
writing and the time by and place at which all responding
potential contractors should submit proposals; and

3. a listing of the criteria the corporation will use in
evaluating proposals by responding potential contractors and
the relative weight the corporation will give the respective
criteria.

D. Dissemination of RFP

The corporation shall give public notice of the RFP by
advertising its issuance in the official journal of the state or
the corporation. The advertisement shall appear at least 20
days before the last day that the corporation will accept
proposals by potential contractors unless a shorter period is
authorized by the board. The advertisement shall generally
specify the goods or services required by the corporation, the
last date that the corporation will accept proposals and an
address at which a copy of the RFP can be obtained. The
corporation may advertise the issuance of a RFP in trade
journals which serve the interests of businesses likely to
respond to the RFP. Additionally, the corporation shall mail
or make available a copy of the RFP to potential contractors
who have requested in writing to be notified of major
procurement for acquisition of specific products or services in
accordance with these procurement rules.

E. Cancellation or Amendment of RFP

The corporation may cancel or amend any outstanding RFP
by written notice to all businesses to which the RFP was sent
or given. The reasons for cancellation or amendment of an
RFP shall be stated in the notice sent by the corporation. The
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corporation shall deliver a copy of the notice and reasons to
the directors.
F. Acceptance and Evaluation of Proposals

1. The corporation shall consider and evaluate all
proposals responding to the RFP which are submitted in
compliance with the deadline and other requirements stated in
the RFP. The Corporation may waive any deficiency or
non-conformity of a proposal or provide the responding
business a reasonable period of time to cure the deficiency or
non-conformity, provided that the board determines such
action does not prejudice the status of other proposals. At any
time prior to completion of the evaluation process, the
corporation may request any responding potential contractors
to clarify or expand upon provisions of their proposals. The
corporation shall evaluate proposals in a manner consistent
with the RFP. The procurement contract shall be awarded in
the corporation’s sole and uncontrolled discretion.

2. The RFP may allow potential contractors or bidders to
submit written requests for clarification and the procurement
agent or the board may conduct one or more bidder
conferences which shall be open to all potential bidders or
contractors.  All potential bidders who have requested
clarification or notice thereof shall be transmitted all
clarification information.

G. Acceptance of RFP Terms and Criteria; Objections to

RFP

The submission of a proposal for a major, emergency or
minor procurement, without prior written objection to the
form, criteria or content of the RFP shall constitute a waiver
of any objection thereto. Such a submission shall also
constitute and be and express agreement to be bound by the
form, specification, evaluation criteria and content of the RFP
as well as the decision of the corporation in awarding the
procurement.

H. Preparation of Contract

Upon completion of the evaluation and mutual acceptance of
all terms of the proposal by the corporation and the contractor,
the corporation shall prepare the contract. The contract shall
unless specifically otherwise authorized by the board contain,
at a minimum, the following:

a. the name and address of the contractor;

b. the goods to be delivered or the services to be
performed under the contract;

c. the term of the contract and a statement giving the
corporation the right to terminate the contract unilaterally upon
90 days written notice;

d. a provision giving the corporation the right to audit
those financial records of the contractor which relate to the
contract;

e. a provision that the contractor shall not transfer any
interest in the contract without the prior written consent of the
corporation (except that claims for money due or to become
due to the contractor from the corporation under the contract
may be assigned to a bank, trust company or other financial
institution but that the corporation shall not be bound by the
assignment unless furnished timely and sufficient notice of it);

f. a provision that the contractor shall bear
responsibility for paying any taxes which become due as a
result of payments to the contractor under the contract;
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g. a provision that upon termination of the contract all
records, reports, worksheets or any other materials related to
the contract may at the discretion of the corporation become
the property of the corporation;

h. a provision obligating the contractor to provide the
corporation with notice of any material adverse change in its
condition, financial or otherwise;

i. a provision requiring the payment of liquidated
damages to the corporation upon a material breach of the
contract by the contractor; and

j. a provision that Louisiana laws will govern the
contract.

I. Authorization and Execution of Contract

The corporation shall not execute a contract for a major
procurement unless the board reviews and approves the
contract. The board may authorize execution of the contract
in a form substantially similar to the form presented to the
board for review or approval.

J. Preservation of Integrity of Procurement

In order to preserve the honesty, fairness and
competitiveness of the procurement process, the following
restrictions on dissemination of information shall apply, and
non-compliance with any of them shall constitute a violation
of the rules of conduct of the corporation:

1. prior to board consideration of final proposal,
directors, officers and employees of the corporation shall not
disclose or discuss with any person not employed by the
corporation or its consultants, the contents of a proposal or a
communication, regarding a proposal, to or with, a potential
contractor unless otherwise authorized by the board;

2. directors, officers and employees of the corporation shall
not disclose to any potential contractor any information
proprietary to the corporation and pertinent to the procurement
for which the potential contractor may submit a proposal.

K. Emergency or Special Procurement

1. Notwithstanding any other provision of these policies
and rules to the contrary, the corporation may make any class
of procurement, including major procurement, without
complying strictly with the procedures stated in this Section if,
to the best of the board’s knowledge, any of the following
special or emergency circumstances then exist and these
circumstances do not reasonably allow compliance with the
procurement procedures otherwise required by this Chapter:

a. a threat to public health, welfare or safety or the
integrity or operation of the corporation;

b. aunique, non-recurring opportunity to obtain goods
or services at a substantial cost savings;

c. a sponsorship arrangement permitting the
corporation to acquire goods or services at a reduced cost or
cost-free;

d. the structure of the applicable market does not
permit the corporation to procure the goods or services via a
competitive bidding process;

e. the goods or services which meet the corporation’s
reasonable requirements can be provided only by a single
business;

f. due to time constraints not caused by the
corporation, compliance with each of the policies and rules
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stated in this Section would materially impair the financial
performance of the corporation; or

g. the corporation can not commence initial operation
without the required goods or services specifically including,
but not limited to initial and temporary office space, office
equipment, telecommunications and duplication services,
insurance coverage including liability insurance and health
insurance, office supplies, banking and financial services,
office assistance, consulting services, security services,
clerical services, and data processing.

2. An emergency or special procurement shall be made
only after the board, president, or procurement agent
determines the existence of any of the emergency special
circumstances and states the reasons for the determination in
a report delivered to the board. It must be made in
compliance with as many of the requirements of this Section
as practicable under the circumstances as determined by the
board or the president. The board may, by affirmative action
prior to the completion of the emergency and special
procurement, reverse the president’s determination and direct
the corporation not to make the emergency or special
procurement.

AUTHORITY NOTE:
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1307. Minor Procurement Procedures

A. Applicability of Section

The provisions of this Section shall apply to all minor
procurement.

B. Supervision by Procurement Officer

The president, procurement agent or other person designated
by the board shall supervise, manage and bear responsibility
for all minor procurement. The procurement agent or
designated person shall establish written procedures for
making competitive minor procurement to the maximum
degree possible and will assure the corporations’s compliance
with these procedures. At the board’s request, the
procurement officer or designated person shall offer these
procedures to the board for review, and the board may modify
these procedures in its discretion.

C. Minimum Requirements of Procedures

Procedures established by the procurement officer or person
designated by the board pursuant to this Section shall, at a
minimum, require:

1. that no minor procurement shall be structured as such
in order to avoid the policies and rules applicable to
procurement stated in §1305;

2. that, in instances where a sole source contractor is
used, it shall be fully justified in writing prior to the
procurement and retained as part of the file. This requirement
will not apply to procurement made under this Section against
a standing order contract that was entered into on a
competitive basis;

3. that all disbursements by the corporation for minor
procurement be by check signed by two authorized or
designated persons;

4. that the corporation reasonably justify no changes the
need for the minor procurement; and
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5. thecorporation undertake reasonable steps, considering
the size of the minor procurement, to obtain high quality
goods or services at competitive costs.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq. .

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:
§1309. Miscellaneous Provisions

A. Appeals

Appeals of any action of the corporation or its officers,
employees, agents or board under these policies and rules shall
be made in accordance with the by-laws of the corporation.

B. Amendment

These policies and rules may be amended according to the
by-laws and rules of procedure of the corporation.

C. List of Potential Contractors or Vendors

The corporation shall provide a procedure whereby potential
contractors or vendors may, in writing, request that they be
placed on a list of possible vendors or contractors for
particular of specified goods or services which may be the
subject of corporation procurement. The board may, by
resolution, set a reasonable fee for inclusion on a list of
potential contractors or vendors and may charge a fee for
delivery of copies of major, emergency or special RFP’s. The
board may provide for a procedure for removal of a business
or person from the list of potential contractors or vendors.

D. Term of Procurement

A minor procurement contract shall not obligate the
corporation for an initial term in excess of one year without
the approval of the board. A contract may contain optional
periods for extensions of the contract by the corporation,
provided that any individual option period or extension shall
not exceed one year in duration, and any individual option
period or extension may become effective only upon the
specific, affirmative exercise of the option or the specific,
affirmative agreement to the extension, by the corporation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:601 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Economic
Development and Gaming Corporation, LR 19:

Max Chastain
Chairman

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Office of the Secretary

Compulsory Liability Security
Removal and Destruction of License Plate

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections is
adopting the following emergency rule providing for the
removal and destruction of license plates when a person is
unable to provide proof of compulsory liability security, under
the emergency provision of Administrative Procedure Act,

R.S. 49:953(B) and Act 805 of the 1992 Regular Session of
the Louisiana Legislature to implement this act as soon as
possible and minimize danger to public and private property
by reducing the number of uninsured motor vehicles on the
highway.

This emergency rule is to remain in effect for the maximum
period of 120 days allowed under R.S. 49:954(B) et seq.

EMERGENCY RULE

Effective February 1, 1993, the following rules shall apply
to the administration of Act 805 of the 1992 Regular Session
of the Louisiana Legislature as it provides for the enforcement
of said act including but not limited to the removal and
destruction of license plates, issuance of tickets for violation
of R.S. 32:863.1, issuance of stickers and other documentation
necessary to implement this act and the reinstatement of
license plate and registration including charging of fees.

When an operator of a motor vehicle registered in Louisiana
is unable to provide proof of compulsory motor vehicle
liability security, the operator shall be issued a notice of
violation of R.S. 32:863.1 that will provide at a minimum the
operator’s name, the registered owner’s name, the vehicle
identification number, the license plate number and any other
information available which will assist in identifying the record
owner of the motor vehicle. The notice shall notify the
operator of the nature of the offense and the procedure
necessary for the owner or operator to reclaim the plate or
otherwise obtain reinstatement as applicable.

The removed Louisiana license plate and a copy of the
written notice should be delivered by the issuing law
enforcement agency to a local Motor Vehicle Office within 48
hours of the issuance of the notice. The location of the
receiving Motor Vehicle Office shall be determined by the
issuing law enforcement agency. The removed Louisiana
license plate, or if such plate has been lost or misplaced by the
issuing agency, a statement explaining the loss or
misplacement and identifying the owner of the plate, should be
received by the office manager or designated agent at the local
Motor Vehicle Office.  Any receipt requested by the
surrendering agency shall be provided by the assigned motor
vehicle officer receiving the plate or statement of loss or
misplacement.

The receiving Motor Vehicle Office shall be responsible for
immediately coding the registration records of the Office of
Motor Vehicles to prevent the owner from obtaining another
license plate on the vehicle in question until liability security
status of the motor vehicle is determined. Should the
registered owner, including registered lessee, or operator
provide proof of liability security which was effective at the
time of the violation, within 10 working days from date of
issuance of the violation notice, the seized plate (if
serviceable) shall be returned and the computer record of
registration and licensing privileges cleared. The proof of
liability security must be provided at the local motor vehicle
office where the plate or statement of its loss or misplacement
was delivered.

If the noticed operator or registered owner (including
registered lessee) provides proof of compliance of liability
security within 10 working days from the date of notice, but
the seized plate is no longer serviceable or for any reason
Vol. 19 No. 2
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cannot be returned, a new plate must be issued. The only
charge with regard to the issuance of the new plate will be the
collection of the motor vehicle registration license tax
applicable to the term of the plate beyond the expired term of
the seized plate. Neither a handling fee nor a $10 fee, as
provided for in Act 805, shall be charged.

If the registered owner (including registered lessee) or
operator does not provide proof of liability security within 10
working days from the date of notice of violation, a $10
reinstatement fee will be charged upon re-registration of the
vehicle. This fee will be charged even if there has been no
lapse of coverage on the vehicle in question. Additionally, the
motor vehicle registration license tax for the period beyond the
date of expiration of the term of the seized plate will be
charged, however, no handling fee shall be charged.

Colonel Paul W. Fontenot
Deputy Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Office of the State Police
Riverboat Gaming Division

Riverboat Gaming License, Permit, Compliance, Inspections
and Investigations (LAC 42:XIII. Chapters 17-23)

In accordance with the provision of R.S. 49:951 et seq., the
Riverboat Gaming Division, after consideration of the
evidence available to it, hereby determines that a state of
emergency exists in riverboat gaming in Louisiana which
affects the safety, health or welfare of the public in general.

The state of Louisiana is experiencing a serious projected
budgetary deficit and is in need of generating new revenue and
enlarging its economic development base. The Louisiana
Riverboat Economic Development and Gaming Control Act
was passed in an effort to realize a new source of revenue
without raising taxes on the general citizenry of Louisiana.

Currently, millions of dollars are leaving the state of
Louisiana and are being spent on the Mississippi gulf coast in
that state’s riverboat gaming casinos. Additional riverboat
casinos are beginning operations along the Mississippi gulf
coast at the rate of one per month. A total of approximately
fifteen riverboat casinos are currently planned for the
Mississippi gulf coast approximately 60 miles from New
Orleans. As a result, the state of Mississippi is experiencing
tremendous economic growth and is collecting gaming
revenues and fees that should be staying in Louisiana. In
addition, thousands of out-of-state tourists are opting to make
areas outside of Louisiana their travel destination because of
the availability of legalized gaming in those jurisdictions.

The division further determines that unless immediate rule
action is taken by the division, those companies which are
presently willing to invest millions of dollars in Louisiana and
provide thousands of jobs to Louisiana residents will decide to
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invest their resources in other jurisdictions which presently
offer riverboat gaming or will have authorized riverboat
gaming in the near future.

The division also finds that many state programs which
would be or could be providing critical medical, health, social,
and educational services to the citizens of Louisiana could be
funded by revenues received by the state from implementation
of riverboat gaming operations. Until riverboats are licensed
and gaming activity has commenced, no revenue from this
source can be realized.

Any unnecessary delay in the promulgation of Riverboat
Gaming Division rules will seriously delay the collection of
application fees for licenses, permits and certificates of
suitability approval, thereby adversely impacting the division’s
ability to meet and deliberate the approval of the forthcoming
rules for application and licensing of riverboat operations.

As a result of the above findings, the Louisiana Riverboat
Gaming Division hereby adopts an emergency rule, effective
January 25, 1993, for the maximum period of 120 days.

Title 42
LOUISIANA GAMING
PART XIII. RIVERBOAT GAMING
Subpart 2. State Police Riverboat Gaming Enforcement
Division
Chapter 17. General Provisions
§1701. Definitions
As used in the regulations, the following terms have the
meanings described below:

Act—the Louisiana Riverboat Economic Development and
Gaming Control Act.

Administrative approval—the authority conferred upon the
division by any regulation or by a condition imposed on a
license or permit to grant or deny, in their individual
discretion, a request for approval of a proposed action or
transaction.

Administrative decision—the final action, decision, order
or disposition by the division directed toward a request for
administrative approval.

Agent—any commissioned Louisiana state police trooper
or designated employee of the Louisiana State Police,
Riverboat Gaming Enforcement Division.

Applicant—a person who has submitted an application to
the division seeking a license or permit, or the renewal
thereof.

Applicant  Records—those records which contain
information and data pertaining to an applicant’s criminal
record, antecedents and background, and the applicant’s
financial records, furnished to or obtained by the division from
any source incidental to an investigation for licensure, findings
of suitability, registration, or other affirmative approval.
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