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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Examination Fees (LAC 7:XXIX.109) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:953 and R.S. 3:3801, the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Forestry, at the request of the Horticulture Commission, 
is exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act in implementing the following Rules and 
regulations governing fees for exams administered by the 
Horticulture Commission.  

For at least the last three years the Horticulture 
Commission budget has ended in a deficit. The department 
has used other funds to make up for each year's deficit. The 
department cannot continue to find funds from other areas to 
make up this continuing deficit.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of the Horticulture Commission is not a continuing 
option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. The 
department must use the emergency adoption provisions to 
insure that programs that begin in July will have adequate 
funding for the entire fiscal year and beyond. Adoption of 
the Rule changes will take place according to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. However, this process takes 
up to six months to complete and would cause additional 
deficits to continue and the possibility of work reductions 
that could cause an imminent peril to the health and safety of 
Louisiana citizens.  

These Rules become effective on July 1, 2003 upon 
signature and will remain in effect until the Rule becomes 
effective through the normal Administrative Procedure Act 
process. The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry (LDAF) will begin collecting the fees for all 
examinations requested or signed up for by individuals on or 
after July 1, 2003. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIX.  Horticulture Commission 
Chapter 1. Horticulture 
§109. Examination Fees 

A. Retail Florist 
1. The fee for examination for licensure as a retail 

florist shall be $150. 
2. The fee for re-examination in the written phase of 

the examination shall be $50. 
3. The fee for re-examination in any portion of the 

design phase of the examination shall be $100. 
B. Landscape Architect 

1. The fee for examination for licensure as a landscape 
architect shall be the cost for each section of the examination 
plus an administrative fee of $200 for first time applicants 
and those applying through reciprocity. 

2. The fee for re-examination in the various sections 
for licensure as a landscape architect shall be the cost for 
each section plus one administrative fee of $100. 

C. Wholesale Florist, Horticulturist, Arborist, Utility 
Arborist, and Landscape Contractor. 

1. The fee for examination or re-examination for 
licensure as a wholesale florist, horitculturist, arborist, utility 
arborist and landscape contractor shall be $50. 

D. All fees required under this Rule must be submitted 
at the same time as the application; failure to submit any 
required fees will bar the applicant from taking the 
examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3801, R.S. 3:3805, and R.S. 3:3806. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Horticulture Commission, LR 8:184 (April 1982) 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Horticulture Commission, LR 14:8 (January 1988), LR 18:249 
(March 1992), LR 20:640 (June 1994), LR 29: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0307#091 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Fees for Termite Contracts and Wood  
Destroying Insect Reports  

(LAC 7:XXV.117 and 119) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:953 and R.S. 3:3202(A), the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry, at the request of the Structural Pest 
Control Commission, is exercising the emergency provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act in implementing the 
following Rules and regulations governing fees for termite 
contracts and wood destroying insect reports.  

For the last five years the Structural Pest Control 
Commission budget has ended in a deficit. The department 
has used other funds to make up for each year's deficit. The 
department cannot continue to find funds from other areas to 
make up this continuing deficit.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The Legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of the Structural Pest Control Commission is not a 
continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. 
The department must use the emergency adoption provisions 
to insure that programs that begin in July will have adequate 
funding for the entire fiscal year. Adoption of permanent 
Rules will take place according to the Administrative 
Procedure Act. However, this process takes several months 
to complete and would cause additional budgetary deficits 
and the reductions of programs and services that protect the 
health, welfare and safety of Louisiana citizens.  
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These Rules become effective August 1, 2003 and will 
remain in effect until the rule becomes effective through the 
normal Administrative Procedure Act process.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control 

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 
§117. Obligations of the Licensee 

A. - L. … 
M. The fee per termite contract and wood-destroying 

insect report is $6 per contract and/or inspection report 
issued and $8 for each combination liquid spot and bait and 
baiting system contract and is due on or before the tenth day 
of each month. 

N. - P. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1995), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 26:2437 
(November 2000), LR 29: 
§119. Contracts for Termite Control Work 

A. - E. … 
F. The licensee shall pay a $6 fee for each standard 

contract and shall pay an $8 fee for each combination 
contract for liquid spot and bait and baiting system 
treatments reported under §119.E above when the required 
monthly report is filed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:328 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:957 (November 1989), 
LR 26:2437 (November 2000), LR 27:1179 (August 2001), LR 
27:2084 (December 2001), LR 28:1171 (June 2002), LR 29: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0307#011 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Pesticide Registration, Certifications and Testing Fees  
(LAC 7:XXIII.131) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:953 and R.S. 3:3202(A), the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry is exercising the emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act in 
implementing the following rules and regulations governing 
fees for pesticide registration, certifications and testing. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry deems the 
implementation of these rules and regulations necessary to 
conform to state statute and fund the operations of the 
Division of Pesticides and Environmental Programs. The 
fiscal year begins on the first of July. The department must 
use the emergency adoption provisions to insure that

programs that begin in July will have adequate funding for 
the entire fiscal year and beyond. Adoption of the Rule 
changes will take place according to the Administrative 
Procedure Act. However, this process takes several months 
to complete and would cause deficits and the possibility of 
work reductions that could cause an imminent peril to the 
health and safety of Louisiana citizens.  

These Rules become effective upon signature, July 3, 
2003, and will remain in effect until the Rule becomes 
effective through the normal Administrative Procedure Act 
process. The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry (LDAF) will begin collecting the fees on July 1, 
2003. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticide 
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Subchapter G. Fees 
§131. Fees 

A. Fees required under the pesticide statutes and these 
regulations are as follows: 

 
1. Special Local Need Registration  

 Application Fee .............................................. $100 
2. Examination Fees (for each exams' Private

 Applicator exempt) 
In Baton Rouge................................................ $ 25 
At Meeting Outside Baton Rouge.................... $ 25 
At District Offices............................................ $ 50 

3. Duplicate Licenses and/or Certification 
 Cards .............................................same as original 

4. Requested Lists and Copies....................................  
 postage + minimum of $1 or postage + 25  
 cents/page 

 
A.5. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203, R.S. 3:3221, R.S. 3:3222 and R.S. 3:3251. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 10:194 
(March 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 15:76 (February 
1989), LR 24:281 (February 1998), LR 29: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0307#012 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agro-Consumer Services 

Chloramphenicol in Crabs (LAC 7:XXXV.143 and 145) 

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry hereby 
adopts the following Emergency Rules governing the testing 
and sale of crab or crabmeat in Louisiana. These Rules are 
being adopted in accordance with R.S. 3:2.A, 3:3.B, R.S. 
3:4608 and the Emergency Rule provisions of R.S. 49:953.B 
of the Administrative Procedure Act. 
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The commissioner has promulgated these Rules and 
Regulations to implement standards relating to 
chloramphenicol in crab or crabmeat that are consistent with 
standards adopted by the FDA regarding chloramphenicol in 
foods. All crab or crabmeat sold in Louisiana must meet the 
standards adopted by the commissioner, herein, prior to 
distribution and sale. 

Chloramphenicol is a broad-spectrum antibiotic that has 
been restricted by the FDA for use in humans only in those 
cases where other antibiotics have not been successful. The 
FDA has set a zero tolerance level for chloramphenicol in 
food and has prohibited the extra label use of 
chloramphenicol in the United States in food producing 
animals, (21 CFR 530.41). 

Chloramphenicol is known to cause aplastic anemia, 
which adversely affects the ability of a person's bone 
marrow to produce red blood cells. Aplastic anemia can be 
fatal. In addition, according to the National Institute on 
Environmental and Health Sciences, chloramphenicol can 
reasonably be anticipated to be a human carcinogen. In 
widely accepted references such as Drugs in Pregnancy and 
Lactation, the use of chloramphenicol is strongly dissuaded 
during pregnancy, especially late pregnancy. 
Chloramphenicol can be transmitted to an unborn child 
through the placenta and to an infant through the mother's 
milk. The dosage transmitted to an unborn child is 
essentially the same dosage as is taken in by the mother. 
However, the unborn child is unable to metabolize 
chloramphenicol as efficiently, thereby causing the risk of an 
increasing toxicity level in the unborn child. Although the 
effect on an infant as a result of nursing from a mother who 
has taken chloramphenicol is unknown, it is known that such 
an infant will run the risk of bone marrow depression. 

Recently, FDA, the states of Alabama and Louisiana have 
found chloramphenicol in crab or crabmeat imported from 
other countries. The department has found chloramphenicol 
in crab or crabmeat imported from Vietnam, Thailand and 
China. The possibility exists that other countries may export 
chloramphenicol-contaminated crab or crabmeat to the USA. 

The sale of such imported crab or crabmeat in Louisiana 
will expose Louisiana's citizens, including unborn children 
and nursing infants, to chloramphenicol, a known health 
hazard. The sale, in Louisiana, of crab or crabmeat 
containing chloramphenicol presents an imminent peril to 
the public's health, safety and welfare. This peril can cause 
consumers to quit buying crab or crabmeat from any source, 
including Louisiana. If consumers cease to buy, or 
substantially reduce, their purchases of Louisiana crab or 
crabmeat then Louisiana's crab industry will be faced with 
substantial economic losses. Any economic losses suffered 
by Louisiana's crab industry will be especially severe in light 
of the current economic situation, thereby causing an 
imminent threat to the public welfare. 

The commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry has, 
therefore, determined that these Emergency Rules are 
necessary to immediately implement testing of crab or 
crabmeat for chloramphenicol, to provide for the sale of crab 
or crabmeat and any products containing crab or crabmeat 
that are not contaminated with chloramphenicol. These rules 
become effective upon signature and will remain in effect 
120 days, unless renewed by the commissioner or until 
permanent rules are promulgated. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXV.  Agro-Consumer Services 
Chapter 1. Weights and Measures 
§143. Chloramphenicol in Crab and Crabmeat 

Prohibited; Testing and Sale of 
A. Definitions 

Food Producing AnimalsCboth animals that are 
produced or used for food and animals, such as seafood, that 
produce material used as food. 

Geographic AreaCa country, province, state, or territory 
or definable geographic region. 

Packaged CrabCany crab or crabmeat, as defined 
herein, that is in a package, can, or other container, and 
which is intended to eventually be sold to the ultimate retail 
purchaser in the package, can or container. 

CrabCany such animals, whether whole, portioned, 
processed, shelled, and any product containing any crab or 
crabmeat. 

B. No crab or crabmeat may be held, offered or exposed 
for sale, or sold in Louisiana if such crab or crabmeat 
contains chloramphenicol. 

C. No crab or crabmeat that is harvested from or 
produced, processed or packed in a geographic area, that the 
commissioner declares to be a location where 
chloramphenicol is being used on or found in food 
producing animals or in products from such animals, may be 
held, offered or exposed for sale, or sold in Louisiana 
without first meeting the requirements of Subsection E. No 
crab or crabmeat from any such geographic area may be 
used, as an ingredient in any food held, offered or exposed 
for sale, or sold in Louisiana without first meeting the 
requirements of Subsection E. 

D. The commissioner may declare a geographic area to 
be a location where chloramphenicol is being used on or 
found in food producing animals or in products from such 
animals, based upon information that would lead a 
reasonable person to believe that chloramphenicol is being 
used on or found in food producing animals, or in products 
from such animals, in that geographic area. 

1. Any such declaration shall be subject to 
promulgation in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

2. The commissioner may release any such 
geographic area from a previous declaration that 
chloramphenicol is being used on food producing animals in 
that location. Any such release shall be subject to 
promulgation in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

E. Crab or crabmeat that comes from a geographic area 
declared by the commissioner to be a location where 
chloramphenicol is being used on, or is found in food 
producing animals or in products from such animals, must 
meet the following requirements for sampling, identification, 
sample preparation, testing and analysis before being held, 
offered or exposed for sale, or sold in Louisiana. 

1. Sampling 
a. The numbers of samples that shall be taken are as 

follows. 
 i. Two samples are to be taken of crab or 
crabmeat that are in lots of 50 pounds or less. 
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 ii. Four samples are to be taken of crab or 
crabmeat that are in lots of 51-100. 
 iii. Twelve samples are to be taken of crab or 
crabmeat that are in lots of 101 pounds up to 50 tons. 
 iv. Twelve samples for each 50 tons are to be 
taken of crab or crabmeat that are in lots of over 50 tons. 

b. For packaged crab or crabmeat, each sample shall 
be at least 6 ounces, (170.1 grams), in size and shall be taken 
at random throughout each lot of crab or crabmeat. For all 
other crab or crabmeat, obtain approximately 1 pound, (454 
grams), of crab or crabmeat per sample from randomly 
selected areas. 

c. If the crab or crabmeat to be sampled consists of 
packages of crab or crabmeat grouped together, but labeled 
under two or more trade or brand names, then the crab or 
crabmeat packaged under each trade or brand name shall be 
sampled separately. If the crab or crabmeat to be sampled are 
not packaged, but are segregated in such a way as to 
constitute separate groupings, then each separate grouping 
shall be sampled separately. 

d. A composite of the samples shall not be made. 
Each sample shall be tested individually. Each sample shall 
be clearly identifiable as belonging to a specific group of 
crab or crabmeat. All samples shall be kept frozen and 
delivered to the lab. 

2. Each sample shall be identified as follows: 
a. any package label; 
b. any lot or batch numbers;  
c. the country, province and city of origin; 
d. the name and address of the importing company;  
e. unique sample number identifying the group or 

batch sample and subsample extension number for each 
subsample. 

3. Sample Preparation. For small packages of crab or 
crabmeat up to and including 1 pound, use the entire sample. 
Shell the crabs, exercising care to exclude all shells from 
sample. Grind sample with food processor type blender 
while semi-frozen or with dry ice. Divide the sample in half. 
Use half of the sample for the original analysis portion and 
retain the other half of the sample in a freezer as a reserve. 

4. Sample Analysis 
a. Immunoassay test kits may be used if the 

manufacturer's published detection limit is one part per 
billion, (1 ppb) or less. Acceptable test kits include r-
iopharm Ridascreen Chloramphenicol enzyme immunoassay 
kit and the Charm II Chloramphenicol kit. The 
commissioner may authorize other immunoassay kits with 
appropriate detection limits of 1 ppb or below to be used. 
Each sample must be run using the manufacturer's test 
method. The manufacturer's specified calibration curve must 
be run with each set. All results 1 ppb or above must be 
assumed to be chloramphenicol unless further testing by 
approved GC/LC method indicates the result to be an 
artifact. 

b. HPLC-MS, GC-ECD, GC-MS methods currently 
approved by FDA, the United States Department of 
Agriculture or the Canadian Food Inspection Agency with 
detection limits of 1 ppb or below may also be used. 

c. Other methods for sampling, identification, 
sample preparation, testing and analysis may be used if 
expressly approved in writing by the commissioner. 

5. Any qualified laboratory may perform the testing 
and analysis of the samples unless the laboratory is located 
in any geographic area that the commissioner has declared to 
be a location where chloramphenicol is being used on or 
found in food producing animals, or in products from such 
animals. The commissioner shall resolve any questions about 
whether a laboratory is qualified to perform the testing and 
analysis. 

6. The laboratory that tests and analyzes a sample or 
samples for chloramphenicol shall certify the test results in 
writing. 

7. A copy of the certified test results along with the 
written documentation necessary to show the methodology 
used for the sampling, identification, sample preparation, 
testing and analysis of each sample shall be sent to and 
actually received by the department prior to the crab or 
crabmeat being held for sale, offered or exposed for sale, or 
sold in Louisiana. 

a. The test results and accompanying 
documentation must contain a test reference number. 

b. The certified test results and the accompanying 
documentation must be in English and contain the name and 
address of the laboratory and the name and address of a 
person who may be contacted at the laboratory regarding the 
testing of the crab or crabmeat.  

8. Upon actual receipt by the department of a copy of 
the certified test results and written documentation required 
to accompany the certified test results then the crab or 
crabmeat may be held, offered or exposed for sale, or sold in 
Louisiana, unless a written stop-sale, hold or removal order 
is issued by the commissioner. 

9. A copy of the test results, including the test 
reference number, shall either accompany every shipment 
and be attached to the documentation submitted with every 
shipment of such crab or crabmeat sent to each location in 
Louisiana or shall be immediately accessible to the 
department, upon request, from any such location. 

H. Any person who is seeking to bring crab or crabmeat 
that is required to be sampled and tested under this Section, 
into Louisiana, or who holds, offers or exposes for sale, or 
sells such crab or crabmeat in Louisiana shall be responsible 
for having such crab or crabmeat sampled and tested in 
accordance with Subsection E. Any such person must, at all 
times, be in full and complete compliance with all the 
provisions of this Section. 

I. The commissioner may reject the test results for any 
crab or crabmeat if the commissioner determines that the 
methodology used in sampling, identifying, sample 
preparation, testing or analyzing any sample is scientifically 
deficient so as to render the certified test results unreliable, 
or if such methodology was not utilized in accordance with, 
or does not otherwise meet the requirements of this Section. 

J. In the event that any certified test results are rejected 
by the commissioner then any person shipping or holding the 
crab or crabmeat will be notified immediately of such 
rejection and issued a stop-sale, hold or removal order by the 
commissioner. Thereafter, it will be the duty of any such 
person to abide by such order until the commissioner lifts 
the order in writing. Any such person may have the crab or 
crabmeat retested in accordance with this Section and apply 
for a lifting of the commissioner's order upon a showing that
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the provisions of this Section have been complied with and 
that the crab or crabmeat are certified as being free of 
chloramphenicol. 

K. The department may inspect, and take samples for 
testing, any crab or crabmeat, of whatever origin, being held, 
offered or exposed for sale, or sold in Louisiana. 

L. A stop-sale, hold or removal order, including a 
prohibition on disposal, may be placed on any crab or 
crabmeat that does not meet the requirements of this Section. 
Any such order shall remain in place until lifted in writing 
by the commissioner. 

M. The department may take physical possession and 
control of any crab or crabmeat that violate the requirements 
of this Section if the commissioner finds that the crab or 
crabmeat presents an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety and welfare and that issuance of a stop-sale, hold or 
removal order will not adequately protect the public health, 
safety and welfare. 

N. The commissioner declares that he has information 
that would lead a reasonable person to believe that 
chloramphenicol is being used on or found in food 
producing animals, or in products from such animals, in the 
following geographic area(s). 

1. The geographic area or areas are: the countries of 
Vietnam, Thailand, Mexico, Malaysia and China. 

2. All crab and crabmeat harvested from or produced, 
processed or packed in any of the above listed geographic 
areas are hereby declared to be subject to all the provisions 
of this Section, including sampling and testing provisions. 

O. All records and information regarding the 
distribution, purchase and sale of crabs or crabmeat or any 
food containing crab or crabmeat shall be maintained for two 
years and shall be open to inspection by the department. 

P. Penalties for any violation of this Section shall be the 
same as and assessed in accordance with R.S. 3:4624. 

Q. The effective date of this Section is March 14, 2003. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2, 3:3, and 3:4608. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29: 
§145. Labeling of Foreign Crab and Crabmeat by 

Country of Origin 
A. Definitions 

Crab or CrabmeatCany crab or crabmeat, whether 
whole, portioned, processed or shelled and any product 
containing any crab or crabmeat. 

Foreign Crab or CrabmeatCany crab or crabmeat, as 
defined herein that is harvested from or produced, processed 
or packed in a country other than the United States. 

B. All foreign crab or crabmeat, imported, shipped or 
brought into Louisiana shall indicate the country of origin, 
except as otherwise provided in this Section. 

C. Every package or container that contains foreign crab 
or crabmeat, shall be marked or labeled in a conspicuous 
place as legibly, indelibly, and permanently as the nature of 
the package or container will permit so as to indicate to the 
ultimate retail purchaser of the crab or crabmeat with the 
English name of the country of origin. 

1. Legibility must be such that the ultimate retail 
purchaser in the United States is able to find the marking or 
label easily and read it without strain. 

2. Indelibility must be such that the wording will not 
fade, wash off or otherwise be obliterated by moisture, cold 
or other adverse factors that such crab or crabmeat are 
normally subjected to in storage and transportation. 

3. Permanency must be such that, in any reasonably 
foreseeable circumstance, the marking or label shall remain 
on the container until it reaches the ultimate retail purchaser 
unless it is deliberately removed. The marking or label must 
be capable of surviving normal distribution and storing. 

D. When foreign crab or crabmeat are combined with 
domestic crab or crabmeat, or products made from or 
containing domestic crab or crabmeat, the marking or label 
on the container or package or the sign included with any 
display shall clearly show the country of origin of the 
foreign crab or crabmeat. 

E. In any case in which the words "United States,' or 
"American," the letters "U.S.A.," any variation of such 
words or letters, or the name of any state, city or location in 
the United States, appear on any container or package 
containing foreign crab or crabmeat, or any sign advertising 
such foreign crab or crabmeat for sale, and those words, 
letters or names may mislead or deceive the ultimate retail 
purchaser as to the actual country of origin of the crab or 
crabmeat, then the name of the country of origin preceded by 
"made in," "product of," or other words of similar meaning 
shall appear on the marking, label or sign. The wording 
indicating that the crab or crabmeat is from a country other 
than the United States shall be placed in close proximity to 
the words, letters or name that indicates the crab or crabmeat 
is a product of the United States in a legible, indelible and 
permanent manner. No provision of this Section is intended 
to or is to be construed as authorizing the use of the words 
"United States," "American," or the letters "U.S.A.," or any 
variation of such words or letters, or the name of any state, 
city or location in the United States, if such use is deceptive, 
misleading or prohibited by other federal or state law. 

F. Foreign crab or crabmeat shall not have to be marked 
or labeled with the country of origin if such crab or crabmeat 
is included as components in a product manufactured in the 
United States and the crab or crabmeat is substantially 
transformed in the manufacturing of the final product. But in 
no event shall thawing, freezing, packing, packaging,  
re-packing, re-packaging, adding water, portioning, shelling, 
processing, peeling, partially cooking or combining with 
domestic crab or crabmeat shall not be considered to be a 
substantial transformation. 

G. The commissioner shall have all the powers granted 
to him by law, or in accordance with any cooperative 
endeavor with any other public agency, to enforce this 
Section, including the issuance of stop-sale, hold or removal 
orders and the seizing of crab or crabmeat mislabeled or 
misbranded as to the country of origin. 

H. Penalties for any violation of this Section shall be the 
same as and assessed in accordance with R.S. 3:4624. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2, 3:3, and 3:4608. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0307#101 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 

Economic Development Award Program (EDAP) 
(LAC 13:III.101-111) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, pursuant to the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B., adopts the 
following Emergency Rule implementing the Louisiana 
Business Development Program, Subpart 1 of the Economic 
Development Award Program, as authorized by R. S. 
51:2341.B. This Rule is adopted in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., shall 
become effective June 9, 2003, and shall remain in effect for 
the maximum period allowed under the Act, or until the 
adoption of the Rule, whichever first occurs. 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, has found an immediate need to promote and 
enhance Louisiana Department of Economic Development's 
cluster development, the goals of Louisiana: Vision 20/20, 
Louisiana's long-term master plan for economic 
development, and related public policy for the introduction, 
growth and retention of Louisiana businesses by providing 
funding for defined business projects that fulfill these goals. 
These Rules are being amended to take advantage of 
immediate opportunities for business development within 
Louisiana. Without the emergency adoption of these Rules, 
such business opportunities may be exported out of 
Louisiana for development. If such business opportunities 
are exported outside of Louisiana, the state may lose crucial 
opportunities for the increase of business investment, 
development of wealth, production capabilities, quality jobs, 
diversification of the state's economy, and to improve the 
standard of living and quality of life of Louisiana's citizens.  

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs 
Subpart I.  Louisiana Business Development Program 

Chapter 1. Economic Development Award Program 
(EDAP) 

§101. Purpose 
A. The purpose of this program is to provide assistance 

to, and attraction for, retention, expansion, and recruitment 
of industrial and business projects through funding, lending, 
or enhancing the credit of industrial and development 
projects that are not presently eligible for funding under the 
Economic Development Awards Program and Opportunity 
Fund Rules, in order to promote and enhance Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development's cluster 
development, the goals of Vision 20/20, Louisiana's long-
term plan for economic development, and related public 
policy for the introduction, growth and retention of 
Louisiana businesses by providing funding for defined 
business projects that fulfill these goals. In doing so, these 
Rules will more fully implement the provisions of R.S. 
51:2341 providing for the Economic Development Awards 
Program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341 B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:36 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 (December 
1997), LR 25:237 (February 1999), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:405 
(March 1999), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:1659 (September 
1999), LR 26:236 (February 2000), LR 29: 
§103. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe public entity requesting funds under this 
program. The public entity may be joined in the application 
by any other entity. 

AwardCfunding of money, the lending of money, or the 
enhancement of credit under this program for eligible 
applicants. 

Award AgreementCthe agreement of contract hereinafter 
referred to between the public entity, LED and LEDC, and 
where applicable, any other entity through which the parties 
by cooperative endeavor or otherwise, set forth the terms, 
conditions and performance objectives of the award 
provided pursuant to these rules.  

LEDC BoardCthe Board of Directors of the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, and when referred to 
herein in terms of approval of an award, shall mean that the 
award has been approved in accordance with the by-laws 
and procedures of the Board of Directors whether such 
approval requires or does not require Board approval under 
those by-laws and procedures. 

LEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

ProjectCa proposal by a public entity for which an award 
is sought under this program. The program seeks to fund 
awards for projects that may not be defined as basic 
infrastructure or infrastructure under the present EDAP 
Rules or which are defined as basic infrastructure or 
infrastructure under the EDAP Rules, but for which, because 
of the nature of the business, eligibility for funding under 
those Rules is not available. Projects subject to these Rules 
may be eligible for funding when it can be established to the 
satisfaction of the LEDC Board that the project for which an 
award is sought promotes and enhances LED's Cluster 
Development, and the goals of Vision 20/20, the state's 
Master Plan for Economic Development.  

Public EntityCthe applying public or quasi-public entity 
that will be responsible for receiving and administering the 
performance and oversight of the project and for supervising 
compliance with the terms, conditions and performance 
objectives of the award agreement. 

SecretaryCthe Secretary of the Department of Economic 
Development, who is also the President of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341 B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:36 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 (December 
1997), LR 25:237 (February 1999), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:405 
(March 1999), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:1659 (September 
1999), LR 26:236 (February 2000), LR 29: 
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§105. General Principles 
A. The following general principles will direct the 

administration of the Louisiana Business Development 
Program.  

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
companies locating or located in Louisiana, and are subject 
to the discretion of the LED, the secretary of the LED and 
the LEDC. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in improving or enhancing economic 
development, including cluster development, whether in a 
particular circumstance, or overall. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4. Awards that promote retention and strengthening of 
cluster development of existing businesses will be evaluated 
using the same procedures and with the same priority as the 
recruitment of new businesses to the state. 

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 

6. Whether or not an award will be made is entirely at 
the discretion of the LED, its cluster directors, the secretary 
and the LEDC Board, and shall depend upon the facts and 
circumstances of each case, funds available, funds already 
allocated, and other such factors as the board may, in its 
discretion, deem to be pertinent. The grant or rejection of an 
application for an award shall not establish any precedent 
and shall not bind the LED, its cluster directors, the 
secretary, or the LEDC Board to any future course of action 
with respect to any application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341 B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:36 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 (December 
1997), LR 25:237 (February 1999), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:405 
(March 1999), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:1659 (September 
1999), LR 26:237 (February 2000), LR 29: 
§107. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for an award pursuant to this 
program, the applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the board that the award sought must be consistent with 
the principles set forth above, and the applicant must 
demonstrate a need for the project funding consistent with 
the requirements set forth below. Where it is represented that 
certain contingent actions will be taken in order to comply 
with these conditions, then the LEDC may, upon 
recommendation of the LED and its contract monitor, 
withhold funding until there is substantial performance of 
the contingencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341 B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:36 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 (December 
1997), LR 25:237 (February 1999), LR 25:405 (March 1999), LR 
25:1659 (September 1999), LR 26:237 (February 2000), LR 29: 

§109. Application for Louisiana Business Development 
Program 

A. In order to be eligible for this program, an applicant 
must submit the following to the LED for consideration by 
its staff and the applicable cluster director: 

1. a detailed description of the project to be 
undertaken, particularly the nature of the assistance for 
which the funding is sought and the economic scope of the 
investment involved in the project; the goals, objectives and 
performance measures of the project, providing detailed 
support for the use of the funding provided; the nature of the 
treatment of the funding in the plan for the project; where a 
loan or credit enhancement is being sought, a cash flow 
analysis must be submitted together with a payment 
schedule for the loan that is consistent with the projected 
revenues generated by the project; 

2. a description as to how the project furthers and 
promotes the development of cluster industries and 
businesses and will enhance the economic viability of the 
state and region of the state in which the project is located. 

3. where the application seeks direct funding for the 
Project, then a description must be provided that sets forth 
the benefit to the state and shall contain such other 
provisions and conditions as may, in the opinion of the LED 
and the LEDC Board, protect and preserve the interest of the 
state in the investment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341 B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:36 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 (December 
1997), LR 25:237 (February 1999), LR 25:405 (March 1999), LR 
25:1659 (September 1999), LR 26:237 (February 2000), LR 29: 
§111. Award Funding 

A. All funding applications must be considered by the 
board after review by the assigned staff and upon 
recommendation of the relevant cluster director and the 
secretary. Thereafter, the LEDC Board, upon such review as 
may be necessary to make the determination as to the 
application in accordance with these Rules, shall either 
approve or disapprove the application. Upon approval by the 
LEDC Board: 

1. The award shall be funded pursuant to the award 
agreement.  

2. Any line of credit provided shall be drawn down in 
accordance with the schedule provided as approved by the 
cluster director, secretary and LEDC and incorporated into 
the loan agreement.  

3. The award agreement shall include appropriate 
enforceable provisions for the monitoring of the contract. 

4. The award agreement shall include such 
conventional provisions as may be appropriate to protect and 
secure the funding provided by the LEDC Board pursuant to 
these Rules. 

5. The secretary of the LED shall designate the 
contract monitor for the loan agreement, and the contract 
monitor shall, on a semi-annual basis, report to the LEDC on 
the status of the contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2341 B. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:36 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638 (December 
1997), LR 25:237 (February 1999), LR 25:405 (March 1999), LR 
25:1659 (September 1999), LR 26:237 (February 2000), LR 29: 

 
Don J. Hutchinson  
Secretary  

0307#001 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 10:XV.325) 

Editor's Note: This Emergency Rule was received by the 
Office of the State Register on June 25, 2003. [See R.S.  
49:953(B)(1)] 
 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, pursuant to the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), adopts the 
following amendment to the rules of the Capital Companies 
Tax Credit Program as authorized by R.S. 51:1929. This 
Rule is adopted on June 16, 2003 in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., shall 
become effective June 16, 2003 and shall remain in effect 
for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of a permanent Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary has found an immediate need to provide direction 
to certified Louisiana capital companies who are seeking 
investments of certified capital by Requests for Allocation of 
Tax Credits which are required to be filed by insurance 
company investors on October 1, 2003. Without these 
Emergency Rules the public welfare may be harmed as a 
result of the failure of certified Louisiana capital companies 
to obtain investments of certified capital from insurance 
companies, which may result in a reduction of certified 
capital available to be invested in qualified Louisiana 
businesses, including qualified Louisiana startup businesses, 
disadvantaged businesses and qualified Louisiana 
technology-based businesses.  

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES, AND UCC 
Part XV.  Other Regulated Entities 

Chapter 3. Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
§325. Notes Receivable 

A. The provisions of R.S. 22:1068(E)(1)(b) will be 
satisfied with respect to a note receivable issued by a 
certified Louisiana capital company or its investment pool to 
an investing insurance company if: 

1. the note receivable has a stated final maturity date 
of not less than five years from the date on which the 
certified Louisiana capital company or its investment pool 
issues the note receivable; and 

2. either: 
a. the note receivable is repaid in a manner which 

results in the note receivable being fully repaid or otherwise 

satisfied in equal amounts over the stated maturity of the 
note receivable; or 

b. the duration of the note receivable is no shorter 
than the duration of a hypothetical note that: 
 i. is issued on the same date as the note issued by 
the certified Louisiana capital company or its investment 
pool; 
 ii. has the same maturity date as the note issued 
by the certified Louisiana capital company or its investment 
pool; 
 iii. has a price and yield the same as that of the 
note issued by the certified Louisiana capital company or its 
investment pool, calculated in the same manner (i.e. with 
respect to compounding, 360 vs. 365 day per year 
calculations, etc.); and 
 iv. is fully amortized by equal daily payments, 
which amounts are calculated as follows: 

(a). the aggregate of all amounts scheduled to be 
paid or otherwise credited to the holder of the note 
receivable issued by the certified Louisiana capital company 
or its investment pool for the entire term of the note 
receivable divided by; 

(b). the total number of days scheduled to elapse 
from the date on which the certified Louisiana capital 
company or its investment pool issues its note receivable 
through and including the stated maturity date thereof, 
calculated on a 365 or 360 day year, consistent with the 
calculation of interest on the note receivable. 

B. For purposes of this Section, a note receivable's 
"duration" shall mean the weighted-average time to receipt 
of the present value of the amounts used to repay or 
otherwise satisfy the note receivable obligation. For 
purposes of this Section, a note receivable's duration shall be 
calculated in a manner that is typical in the industry for 
publicly-traded debt instruments. 

C. Each certified Louisiana capital company or its 
investment pool that issues notes to insurance companies 
other than those described in A.2.a of this Section shall 
submit to the Office of Financial Institutions, in writing, the 
duration for each such note issued by it (or one 
representative note, if all notes are similar except for the face 
amount) and the duration for the note described in A.2.b of 
this Section. Each calculation shall show: 

1. all information required to make the duration 
calculation; and 

2. all interim worksheets and formulae used in the 
duration calculation, reasonably sufficient to allow the 
Office of Financial Institutions to duplicate the calculation. 
A copy of the actual spreadsheet model used by the certified 
Louisiana capital company or its investment pool for its 
duration calculation in a Microsoft Excel software format 
shall satisfy the requirements of the preceding sentence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1929. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 29: 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0307#006 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Public Notification of Contamination  
(LAC 33:I.101, 103, and 105)(OS042E3) 

In accordance with the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B, and under the 
authority of R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the Department of 
Environmental Quality declares that an emergency action is 
necessary to comply with the Governor's October 1, 2001, 
Executive Order No. MJF 2001-46, entitled "Environmental 
Contamination Notification." The order states, "the health, 
safety, and welfare of the people of Louisiana would be 
improved, and the government would better fulfill its public 
trust obligations, if those executive branch agencies notified 
people who may be exposed to environmental contamination 
when such agency has sound scientific knowledge of 
environmental contamination that exceeds the applicable 
federal and state health standards and that may cause adverse 
health effects." 

This Emergency Rule is effective on July 5, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until a 
final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. This is a 
renewal of Emergency Rule OS042E2, which was effective 
on March 7, 2003. The department has proposed a rule to 
promulgate these provisions. For more information 
concerning OS042E3, you may contact the Regulation 
Development Section at (225) 765-0399. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 1. Public Notification of Contamination 
§101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to establish 
requirements for notifying those members of the public that 
the department determines are likely to be adversely affected 
by a release.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29: 
§103. Definitions  

Administrative AuthorityCthe secretary of the Department 
of Environmental Quality or his designee or the appropriate 
assistant secretary or his designee.  

Applicable Federal or State Health and Safety 
StandardCsuch standards the department, based on its 
knowledge and expertise, determines are applicable to the 
release site.  

DepartmentCthe Department of Environmental Quality. 
Offsite—areas beyond the property boundary of the release 

site. 
PersonCany individual, municipality, public or private 

corporation, partnership, firm, the State of Louisiana, 
political subdivisions of the State of Louisiana, the United 
States government, and any agent or subdivision thereof or 
any other juridical person, which shall include, but not be 

limited to, trusts, joint stock companies, associations, 
commissions, and interstate bodies. 

ReleaseCthe accidental or intentional spilling, leaking, 
pumping, pouring, emitting, escaping, leaching, or dumping 
of hazardous substances or other pollutants into or on any 
land, air, water, or groundwater. A release shall not include a 
federal or state permitted release or other release authorized 
by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29: 
§105. Notification Requirements 

A. Notice shall be provided when the department 
confirms off-site impact that exceeds the applicable federal 
or state health and safety standard and the department 
determines that the off-site impact poses a risk of adverse 
health effects. 

B. The department shall issue notice of a release to 
persons, within the area of contamination, where the 
department determines that the release poses a risk of 
adverse health effects. 

C. The public notice shall be provided by means 
reasonably calculated to reach those members of the public 
directly affected by the release, as determined by the 
department, and shall provide information regarding 
potential adverse health effects posed by the contamination, 
as determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29: 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary 

0307#033 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Denture ProgramCReimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides coverage under the 
Medicaid Program for dentures and denture related services 
rendered to recipients age 21 years and older. As a result of 
the allocation of additional funds by the Legislature during 
the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session, the bureau 
increased the reimbursement fees for certain designated 
denture procedures. In addition, the bureau established 
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requirements for unique identification information to be 
processed into all new removable dental prosthetics 
reimbursed under the Medicaid Program (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 27, Number 8). As a result of the allocation 
of additional funds by the legislature during the 2003 
Regular Session, the bureau proposes to promulgate a rule to 
increase the reimbursement fees for certain denture 
procedures. This action is being taken to promote the health 
and welfare of Medicaid recipients by encouraging the 
participation of more dental providers in the Medicaid 
Program. It is estimated that implementation of this 
Emergency Rule will increase expenditures for adult denture 
services by approximately $349,709 for state fiscal year 
2003-2004.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective August 1, 2003 the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
following reimbursement fees for certain designated 
procedures. 

 
Procedure 

Code Description Fee 

D0150 Comprehensive Oral ExamCAdult $ 20 

D5110 Complete Denture, Maxillary $495 

D5120 Complete Denture, Mandibular $495 

D5130 Immediate Complete Denture, Maxillary $495 

D5140 Immediate Complete Denture, Mandibular $495 

D5211 Partial Denture, Resin Base, Maxillary $470 

D5212 Partial Denture, Resin Base, Mandibular $470 

D5510 Repair Complete Broken Denture Base $100 

D5520 Repair Missing or Broken TeethCComplete 
Denture, per Tooth $52/$26* 

D5610 Repair Resin Denture Base, Partial Denture $100 

D5630 Repair or Replace Broken Clasp,  
Partial Denture $ 95 

D5640 Replace Broken Teeth, Partial Denture, 
 per Tooth $52/$26* 

D5650 Add Tooth to Existing Partial Denture $52/$26* 

D5660 Add Clasp to Existing Partial Denture $ 95 

D5750 Reline Complete Maxillary Denture (Lab) $238 

D5751 Reline Complete Mandibular Denture (Lab) $238 

D5760 Reline Maxillary Partial Denture (Lab) $208 

D5761 Reline Mandibular Partial Denture (Lab) $208 

*the rate for each subsequent tooth in the same arch 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#069 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
Vagus Nerve Stimulators 
(LAC 50:XVII.Chapter 5) 

Editor's Note: This Chapter has been moved from Chapter 136 
(as published in the March 20, 2003, Louisiana Register) to 
Chapter 5. 

 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage for durable medical equipment and supplies under 
the Medicaid Program. All medical equipment, appliances 
and supplies must be prior authorized to determine medical 
necessity. In concurrence with the recommendations of the 
Medical Practices Committee, the bureau established 
medical necessity criteria for the prior authorization of vagus 
nerve stimulators (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 
12). Vagus nerve stimulators (VNS) are implantable devices 
used to assist in the control of seizures related to epilepsy. 
This Emergency Rule is being adopted to continue 
provisions contained in the December 1, 2001 Rule. This 
action is being taken in order to protect the health and well 
being of Medicaid recipients who have epilepsy related 
seizures and may benefit from use of this medical device. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective July 29, 2003, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts the following criteria for prior 
authorization of vagus nerve stimulators (VNS) under the 
Durable Medical Equipment Program. The VNS is an 
implantable device used to assist in the control of seizures 
related to epilepsy and must be prescribed by a physician. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XVII.  Durable Medical Equipment 
Subpart 1.  Prosthetics 

Chapter 5. Vagus Nerve Stimulator 
§501. Prior Authorization 

A. The Vagus Nerve Stimulator (VNS) is an implantable 
device used to assist in the control of seizures related to 
epilepsy and must be prescribed by a physician. Implantation 
of the VNS device and all related procedures must be 
authorized by the department based on criteria in §§503-507. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1050

§503. Recipient Criteria 
A. Inclusion Criteria. Consideration shall be given for 

Medicaid reimbursement for implantation of the VNS if the 
treatment is considered medically necessary and the patient 
meets all of the following criteria. The patient: 

1. has medically intractable epilepsy;  
2. is 12 years of age or older, although case-by-case 

consideration may be given to younger children who meet 
all other criteria and have sufficient body mass to support the 
implanted system; 

3. has a diagnosis of partial epilepsy confirmed and 
classified according to the International League Against 
Epilepsy classification. The patient may also have associated 
generalized seizures, such as tonic, tonic-tonic, or atonic. 
The VNS may have efficacy in primary generalized epilepsy 
as well; 

4. has seizures that resist control by antiepilepsy 
treatment, with adequately documented trials of appropriate 
antiepilepsy drugs or documentation of the patient's inability 
to tolerate these medications; 

5. has undergone surgical evaluation and is not 
considered to be an optimal candidate for epilepsy surgery; 

6. is experiencing at least four to six identifiable 
partial onset seizures each month. The patient must have had 
a diagnosis of intractable epilepsy for at least two years. The 
two-year period may be waived if it is deemed that waiting 
would be harmful to the patient; 

7. has undergone Quality of Life (QOL) 
measurements. The choice of instruments used for the QOL 
must assess quantifiable measures of day to day life in 
addition to the occurrence of seizures. In the expert opinion 
of the treating physician, and clearly documented in the 
request for prior authorization, there must be reason to 
believe that QOL will improve as a result of the VNS 
implant. This improvement should be in addition to the 
benefit of seizure frequency reduction. 

B. Exclusion Criteria. Regardless of the provisions of 
§503.A, authorization for implantation of a VNS shall not be 
given if the patient meets one or more of the following 
criteria. The patient: 

1. has psychogenic seizures or other nonepileptic 
seizures; or 

2. has systemic or localized infections that could 
infect the implanted system; or 

3. has a body mass that is insufficient to support the 
implanted system; or 

4. has a progressive disorder that is a contraindication 
to VNS implantation. Examples are malignant brain 
neoplasm, Rasmussen=s encephalitis, Landau-Kleffrer 
Syndrome and progressive metabolic and degenerative 
disorders. Progressive disorders, psychosis, or mental 
retardation that are not contraindications to VNS 
implantation are not exclusion criteria. Taking into 
consideration the additional diagnosis, the treating physician 
must document the benefits of the VNS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§505. Programming the Vagus Nerve Stimulator 

A. The programming of the VNS stimulator must be 
performed by the neurosurgeon who performed the implant 

procedure or by a licensed neurologist. Programming 
subsequent to the first three times may be subject to post 
authorization review for medical necessity prior to payment 
of the claim. Authorization for payment will only be 
considered when there is documented clinical evidence to 
show that the recipient has experienced seizures since 
previous programming attempts. Payment for the 
programming procedure will only be authorized when it is 
performed as an attempt to reduce or prevent future episodes 
of seizures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§507. Subsequent Implants/Battery Replacement 

A. Requests to replace batteries or for new implants must 
be submitted with documentation that shows that the 
recipient was benefiting from the original VNS transplant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available at the parish 
Medicaid office for review by interested parties. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#073 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Dental ProgramCReimbursement 

(LAC 50:XV.6903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
amends LAC 50:XV.6903 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides reimbursement for Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 
dental services under the Medicaid Program. Reimbursement 
for these services is a flat fee established by the bureau 
minus the amount that any third party coverage would pay. 
The allocation of additional funds during the 2002 
Legislative Regular Session allowed the bureau to increase 
the reimbursement rates for certain designated dental 
procedures (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 12). As 
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a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2003 Regular Session, the bureau 
proposes to promulgate a Rule to increase the 
reimbursement fees for certain dental procedures. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients and to maintain access to EPSDT dental 
services by encouraging the continued participation of dental 
providers in the Medicaid Program. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will increase 
expenditures for EPSDT dental services by approximately 
$1,561,642 for state fiscal year 2003-2004.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 69. Dental 
§6903. Reimbursement 

A. Effective for dates of services on or after August 1, 
2003, reimbursement fees are increased as follows for 
certain designated procedure codes. The Procedure Codes 
have been amended to comply with the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act. 

 

Procedure 
Code Description Fee 

D0120 Periodic Oral Exam  $ 18 

D0150 Comprehensive Oral Exam  $ 20 

D0220 Radiograph-PeriapicalCFirst Film * * * 

D0230 Radiograph-PeriapicalC Each Additional Film * * * 

D0272 Radiograph-BitewingCTwo Films * * * 

D1110 Adult Prophylaxis $ 29 

D1120 Child Prophylaxis * * * 

D1351 SealantCPer Tooth $ 17 

D1510 Space MaintainerCUnilateral $ 95 

D1515 Space MaintainerCBilateral $ 177 

D2140 AmalgamCOne Surface, Primary or Permanent * * * 

D2150 AmalgamCTwo Surface, Primary or Permanent * * * 

D2160 AmalgamCThree Surface, Primary or Permanent * * * 

D2161 AmalgamCFour or more Surface, Permanent $ 88 

D2330 Resin-Based CompositesCOne Surface * * * 

D2331 Resin-Based CompositesCTwo Surface * * * 

D2332 Resin-Based CompositesCThree Surface * * * 

D2335 Resin-Based CompositesC4 or More Surfaces, 
Anterior $ 88 

D2390 Resin-based Composite Crown, Anterior $ 88 

D2930 Stainless Steel Crown, Primary $ 88 

D2931 Stainless Steel Crown, Permanent $ 88 

D2932 Prefabricated Resin Crown $ 84 

D2950 Crown Buildup * * * 

D3220 PulpotomyCDeciduous Tooth Only * * * 

D3310 Root CanalCOne Canal * * * 

D3320 Root CanalCTwo Canals * * * 

D3330 Root CanalCThree Canals * * * 

D4341 Periodontal Scaling and Root Planning $ 75 

D4355 Full Mouth Debridement $ 58 

D5110 Complete Denture, Maxillary $ 495 

D5120 Complete Denture, Mandibular $ 495 

D5130 Immediate Complete Denture, Maxillary $ 495 

D5140 Immediate Complete Denture, Mandibular $ 495 

D5211 Partial Denture, Resin Base, Maxillary $ 470 

D5212 Partial Denture, Resin Base, Mandibular $ 470 

D5510 Repair Complete Broken Denture Base $ 100 

D5520 Repair Missing or Broken Teeth-Complete 
Denture, per Tooth $52/$26* 

D5610 Repair Resin Denture Base, Partial Denture $ 100 

D5630 Repair or Replace Broken Clasp, Partial Denture $ 95 

D5640 Replace Broken Teeth, Partial Denture, per Tooth $52/$26* 

D5650 Add Tooth to Existing Partial Denture $52/$26* 

D5660 Add Clasp to Existing Partial Denture $ 95 

D5750 Reline Complete Denture, Maxillary (Lab) $ 238 

D5751 Reline Complete Denture, Mandibular (Lab) $ 238 

D5760 Reline Partial Denture, Maxillary (Lab) $ 208 

D5761 Reline Partial Denture, Mandibular (Lab) $ 208 

D5820 Interim Partial Denture, Maxillary $ 300 

D5821 Interim Partial Denture, Mandibular $ 300 

D7140 Extraction, Erupted Tooth or Exposed Root * * * 

D7210 Surgical Extraction * * * 

D7220 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Soft Tissue $ 86 

D7230 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Partially Bony $ 136 

D7240 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Completely Bony $ 161 

D7241 Removal of Impacted Tooth, Completely Bony 
with Unusual Surgical Complications $ 186 

D8050 Interceptive Orthodontic Treatment, Primary 
Dentition 

** 
$ 350 

D8060 Interceptive Orthodontic Treatment, Transitional 
Dentition 

** 
$ 350 

D8070 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Transitional Dentition 

** 
$3,600 

D8080 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Adolescent Dentition 

** 
$3,600 

D8090 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, Adult 
Dentition 

** 
$3,600 

D9110 Palliative (emergency) Dental Pain Treatment $ 25 

D9241 Intravenous Conscious Sedation/AnalgesiaCFirst 
30 Minutes $ 94 

* Rate for each subsequent tooth in the same arch 
** Manually-priced maximum fee 
[Editor's Note: * * * in the table above are indicative of no 
changes in rates.] 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:176 (February 2003), amended LR 29: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#070 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and  
Treatment ProgramCEarly Intervention Services  

for Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities  
(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 81) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Congress enacted the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA) Amendments of 1997 to ensure the 
availability of appropriate public education and related 
services and supports to children with disabilities and their 
families. Part C of IDEA addresses the special needs of 
young children through the provision of financial assistance 
to States to implement and maintain a statewide, 
comprehensive, coordinated, multi-disciplinary, interagency 
system of early intervention services for infants and toddlers 
with disabilities and their families [34 CFR 303.1(a)]. 

Louisiana's early intervention system under Part C of 
IDEA, is a comprehensive, coordinated, family centered 
system of educational and health services for infants and 
toddlers age birth to age three who have a physical or mental 
condition that has a significant possibility of resulting in a 
developmental disability. The system also serves infants and 
toddlers who do not have a medical condition, but have been 
determined to be delayed in cognitive, physical, 
communication, social/emotional or adaptive development. 
Presently, the Department of Education serves as the lead 
agency responsible for administering Part C of Idea. 
However, the Governor has mandated the transfer of Part C 
from the Department of Education, Division of Special 
Populations to the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of Public Health. In conjunction with the transfer of 
Part C, the Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
establish early intervention services for infants and toddlers 
with disabilities under the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Program. Medicaid 
covered early intervention services will include physical 
therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, audiology 
services, psychological services and targeted case 
management. These individual services are currently 
furnished to Medicaid recipients through the outpatient 
hospital, home health, EPSDT health services, rehabilitation 
center, and targeted case management service programs. The 
individual services will continue to be covered through these 
service programs. 

This action is necessary to promote the health and welfare 
of Medicaid eligible infants and toddlers with disabilities by 
enhancing the availability of early intervention services and 
to avoid possible federal sanctions. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will increase 

program expenditures by approximately $10,800,297 for 
state fiscal year 2003-2004. 

Effective July 7, 2003, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing establishes early intervention services for infants 
and toddlers with disabilities under the Medicaid Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Program in conjunction with the transfer of Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening,  

Diagnosis, and Treatment 
Chapter 81. Early Intervention Services 
§8101. Reserved. 
§8103. Recipient Qualifications 

A. In order to qualify for Medicaid covered early 
intervention services, an individual must meet the following 
qualifications: 

1. be an Medicaid eligible infant or toddler age birth 
to age three; and 

2. be enrolled to participate in the Part C program. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§8105. Covered Services 

A. Medicaid covered early intervention services shall be 
limited to the following services: 

1. physical therapy; 
2. occupational therapy; 
3. speech therapy; 
4. audiology services; 
5. psychological services; and 
6. targeted case management (family service 

coordination). 
B. Psychological services includes diagnosis and 

psychological counseling/therapy for the child and his/her 
family. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:  
§8107. Provider Participation 

A. Provider participation shall be the Title V agency, the 
lead agency responsible for the administration of the 
provisions of Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act in Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§8109. Reimbursement 

A. The reimbursement methodology for Medicaid 
covered early intervention services shall be a negotiated rate 
based on the cost for the provision of services in accordance 
with the terms of the intra-agency agreement between the 
Medicaid Program and the Title V agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:  

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#010 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Services 
Reimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for non-emergency medical 
transportation services. Reimbursement for these services is 
the base rate established by the bureau minus the amount 
which any third party coverage would pay.  

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2003 Regular Session, the bureau has 
determined that it is necessary to increase the reimbursement 
fees for certain designated procedures. This action is being 
taken to promote the health and welfare of recipients and to 
maintain access to non-emergency medical transportation 
services by encouraging the continued participation of these 
providers in the Medicaid Program. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will increase 
expenditures for non-emergency medical transportation 
services by approximately $1,258,598 for the state fiscal 
year 2003-2004. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2003, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement for the following designated procedures for 
non-emergency medical transportation services by 20 
percent of the rate in effect on July 31, 2003. 

Profit - Local Trip 
Capitated Regular - Urban 
Capitated Regular - Rural 
Enhanced Capitated - >5 Trips Per Week 
Capitated Remote - Rural 
Capitated Wheelchair - Rural 

Capitated Wheelchair - Urban 
Local Profit - Wheelchair 
Local Nonprofit - Wheelchair 
Nonprofit - Local Trip 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#071 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Out-of-State Hospitals 
Inpatient Services 

Reimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the  
2002-2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening, and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
a Rule in January of 1996 which established the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
provided in out-of-state hospitals at the lower of 50 percent 
of billed charges or the Medicaid per diem rate of the state 
wherein the services were provided (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 1). This Rule was subsequently 
amended in September of 1997 to increase the 
reimbursement to 72 percent of billed charges for inpatient 
services provided in out-of-state hospitals to recipients up to 
age 21 (Louisiana Register, Volume 23, Number 9). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the bureau amended 
the reimbursement methodology contained in the January 
1996 and September 1997 rules for out-of-state hospitals 
that provided at least 500 inpatient hospital days in state 
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fiscal year 1999 to Louisiana Medicaid recipients and were 
located in border cities. The reimbursement is established at 
the lesser of each hospital's actual cost per day as calculated 
from the 1998 filed Medicaid cost report or the Mississippi 
Medicaid per diem rate. The actual cost per day is calculated 
by dividing total Medicaid inpatient cost by total Medicaid 
inpatient days, including nursery days. This reimbursement 
methodology is applicable for all Louisiana Medicaid 
recipients who received inpatient services in an out-of-state 
hospital located in a border city, including those recipients 
up to the age of 21 (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 
12). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the bureau reduced the 
reimbursement for inpatient services provided in out-of-state 
hospitals. In addition, the bureau amended the 
reimbursement for children's hospitals located in states 
bordering Louisiana (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, 
Number 4). This Emergency Rule is promulgated to continue 
the provisions of the April 1, 2003 Emergency Rule. This 
action is necessary in order to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after July 31, 2003, the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the January 
1996 and September 1997 Rules governing the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient services provided 
in out-of-state hospitals. Reimbursement shall be established 
at the lower of 40 percent of billed charges or the Medicaid 
per diem rate of the state wherein the services are provided 
for recipients age twenty-one and older and the lower of 60 
percent of billed charges or the Medicaid per diem rate of 
the state wherein the services are provided for recipients 
under the age of 21. Hospitals designated as children's 
hospitals that are located in states that border Louisiana shall 
be reimbursed at the lower of the Medicaid per diem rate of 
the state wherein the services are provided or the Louisiana 
children's hospital Medicaid peer group rate. Neonatal 
intensive care unit services, pediatric intensive care unit 
services, and burn unit services provided in these children's 
hospitals shall be paid the Louisiana peer group rate for the 
qualifying level of service documented by the hospital. The 
hospital stay and the level of service shall be authorized by 
the bureau. 

Out-of-state hospitals that provided at least 500 inpatient 
hospital days in State Fiscal Year 1999 and are located in 
border cities (cities located within a 50 mile trade area of the 
Louisiana state border) will continue to be reimbursed at the 
lesser of each hospital's actual cost per day (based on the 
1998 filed cost report) or the Medicaid per diem rate of the 
state wherein the services are provided. This reimbursement 
methodology is applicable for all Louisiana Medicaid 
recipients who receive inpatient services in an out-of-state 
hospital located in a border city, including those recipients 
up to the age of 21. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#074 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Out-of-State Hospitals 
Outpatient Services 

Reimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the 
2002-2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening, and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
a Rule in January of 1996 which established the 
reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital services 
provided in out-of-state hospitals. Reimbursement is set at 
50 percent of billed charges except for those services subject 
to a fee schedule (Louisiana Register, Volume 22, Number 
1). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the bureau reduced the 
reimbursement for outpatient services provided in  
out-of-state hospitals to 31.04 percent of billed charges. 
Outpatient services subject to a fee schedule will continue to 
be reimbursed per the fee schedule amounts (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 29, Number 4). This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the April 1, 2003 
Emergency Rule. This action is necessary in order to avoid a 
budget deficit in the medical assistance programs.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after July 31, 2003, the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the
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reimbursement methodology contained in the January 1996 
Rule for outpatient services provided in out-of-state 
hospitals. Reimbursement shall be reduced to 31.04 percent 
of billed charges. Outpatient services subject to a fee 
schedule will continue to be reimbursed in accordance with 
the amount on the fee schedule. This reimbursement 
methodology is applicable for all Louisiana Medicaid 
recipients who receive outpatient services in an out-of-state 
hospital, including those recipients up to the age of 21. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#075 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Private HospitalsCInpatient Services 
Reimbursement Reduction Restoration 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. 

Emergency Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
an Emergency Rule that reduced the reimbursement paid for 
inpatient services rendered in private (non-state) acute 
hospitals, including long term hospitals, to 85 percent of the 
per diem rates (a 15 percent reduction) in effect on March 
31, 2003 (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 4). The 
bureau subsequently promulgated another Emergency Rule, 
effective for dates of service from May 19, 2003 through 
June 30, 2003, that reduced the reimbursement paid for 
inpatient services rendered in private (non-state) acute 
hospitals, including long term hospitals to 95 percent of the 
per diem rates (a 5 percent reduction) in effect on March 31, 
2003 for private hospitals with a Medicaid inpatient days 
utilization rate of 25 percent or greater and 90 percent of the 
per diem rates (a 10 percent reduction) in effect on March 
31, 2003 for private hospitals with a Medicaid inpatient days 
utilization rate of less than 25 percent (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 6). Act 432 of the 2003 Legislative

Session (Supplemental Appropriations Act) directed the 
Department of Health and Hospitals to restore reductions 
implemented in SFY 2002-2003 to Medicaid reimbursement 
rates for inpatient hospital services. The department has now 
determined that it is necessary to rescind these Emergency 
Rules and notification is hereby provided to interested 
persons. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#004 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Private Inpatient Psychiatric Services 
Reimbursement Reduction Restoration 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. 

Emergency Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
an Emergency Rule that reduced the reimbursement paid for 
private inpatient psychiatric services to 85 percent of the per 
diem rates (a 15 percent reduction) in effect on March 31, 
2003 (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 4). The 
bureau subsequently promulgated another Emergency Rule, 
effective for dates of service from May 19, 2003 through 
June 30, 2003, that reduced the reimbursement paid for 
private inpatient psychiatric hospital services to 95 percent 
of the per diem rates (a 5 percent reduction) in effect on 
March 31, 2003 for private hospitals with a Medicaid 
utilization rate of 25 percent or greater and 90 percent of the 
per diem rates (a 10 percent reduction) in effect on March 
31, 2003 for private hospitals with a Medicaid utilization 
rate of less than 25 percent (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, 
Number 6). Act 432 of the 2003 Legislative Session 
(Supplemental Appropriations Act) directed the department 
of Health and Hospitals to restore reductions implemented in 
SFY 2002-2003 to Medicaid reimbursement rates for 
inpatient hospital services. The department has now 
determined that it is necessary to rescind these Emergency 
Rules and notification is hereby provided to interested 
persons. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0306#005 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rehabilitation Services 
Reimbursement Fee Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for rehabilitation services 
under the Medicaid Program. Rehabilitation services include 
physical, occupational and speech therapies. Reimbursement 
is available for these services through outpatient hospital, 
home health, rehabilitation center and Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) health 
services. The bureau also adopted a Rule establishing the 
reimbursement methodology for rehabilitation services 
rendered in rehabilitation centers and outpatient hospital 
settings in June of 1997 (Louisiana Register, Volume 23, 
Number 6). The bureau adopted a subsequent Rule in May of 
2001 to establish the reimbursement methodology for 
rehabilitation services rendered by home health agencies 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 5). Reimbursement 
for these services is a flat fee established by the bureau 
minus the amount that any third party coverage would pay. 

Act 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature directed the department to increase the 
reimbursement for physical therapy, occupational therapy, 
and speech/language and hearing therapy services provided 
to children under three years of age. In compliance with the 
Appropriation Bill and as a result of the allocation of 
additional funds by the Legislature, the bureau promulgated 
an Emergency Rule that increased the reimbursement rates 
for rehabilitation services provided to Medicaid recipients up 
to the age of three, regardless of the type of provider 
performing the services (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, 
Number 7). The bureau increased the reimbursement for 
additional rehabilitation services provided by outpatient 
hospitals and home health agencies (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 4). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue provisions contained in the April 
21, 2000 Rule. This action is being taken to protect the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients under the age of 
three and to ensure access to rehabilitation services by 
encouraging the participation of rehabilitation providers in 
the Medicaid Program. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after April 21, 2003, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the

June 20, 1997 and May 20, 2001 Rules governing the 
reimbursement methodology for rehabilitation services 
provided by outpatient hospitals and home health agencies to 
increase the reimbursement rates for rehabilitation services 
provided to Medicaid recipients up to the age of 3 The new 
reimbursement rates for rehabilitation services are as 
follows. 

 
Home Health Agencies and Outpatient Hospitals 

Procedure Name New Rate 

Physical Therapy, one modality $37.00 

Physical Therapy, 2 or more modalities $56.00 
P.T. with 1 or more procedures, and/or modalities, 
15 minutes $18.50 

P.T. with procedures, 30 minutes $37.00 

P.T. with procedures, 75 minutes $92.50 

Occupational Therapy, 15 minutes $15.00 

Occupational Therapy, 30 minutes $30.00 

Speech and Hearing Therapy, 15 minutes $14.00 

Speech and Hearing Therapy, 30 minutes $28.00 

Speech and Hearing Therapy, 45 minutes $42.00 

Speech and Hearing Therapy, 60 minutes $56.00 

 
Implementation of the provisions of this rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#076 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

State Hospitals 
Reimbursement Methodology 

Upper Payment Limit 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a
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Rule in July of 1983 which established a reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in acute care 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 9, Number 7). 
Inpatient hospital services were reimbursed in accordance 
with the Medicare reimbursement principles with a target 
rate set based on the cost per discharge for each hospital, 
except that the base year to be used in determining the target 
rate was the fiscal year ending on September 30, 1981 
through September 29, 1982. In a rule adopted in October of 
1984 (Louisiana Register, Volume 10, Number 10), separate 
per diem limitations were established for neonatal and 
pediatric intensive care and burn units using the same base 
period as the target rate per discharge calculation. A Rule 
was adopted in October 1992, which provided that inpatient 
hospital services to children under one year of age shall be 
reimbursed as pass-through costs and shall not be subject to 
per discharge or per diem limits applied to other inpatient 
hospital services. 

In compliance with House Bill 1 of the 2003 Louisiana 
Legislative Session, the bureau has determined that it is 
necessary to promulgate an Emergency Rule to utilize the 
upper payment limit for state government-owned or operated 
hospitals as set forth in the 42 CFR §447.272(b) and 
§447.321(b). 42 CFR §447.272(b) and §447.321(b) states as 
follows: "General RulesC(1) Upper payment limit refers to a 
reasonable estimate of the amount that would be paid for the 
services furnished by the group of facilities under Medicare 
payment principles in Subchapter B of this Chapter." This 
action is being taken to enhance federal revenues in the 
Medicaid Program. It is estimated that implementation of 
this Emergency Rule will increase expenditures for services 
by approximately $35,000,000 for state fiscal year  
2003-2004. 

Emergency Rule  
Effective July 3, 2003, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing will utilize the upper payment limit for state 
government-owned or operated hospitals as set forth in the 
42 CFR §447.272(b) and §447.321(b). The hospital payment 
differential for any year shall be the difference between the 
upper limit of aggregate payments to state government-
owned or operated hospitals, as defined in the 42 CFR 
§447.272(a)(1) and §447.321(a)(1), and the aggregate 
Medicaid reimbursement paid to these hospitals for the year. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
delayed until July 27, 2003 and shall be contingent upon the 
approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to the 
Ben A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to all inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#072 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Child Care Assistance ProgramCIncreased Activity  
Hours and Adjustment of Agency Payments  

(LAC 67:III.5103 and 5109) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to amend 
LAC 67:III, Subpart 12, effective July 30, 2003. This Rule 
shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days. This 
declaration is necessary to extend the original Emergency 
Rule of April 1, 2003, since it is effective for a maximum of 
120 days and will expire before the final Rule takes effect. 
The final Rule will be published in September 2003. 

The number of low-income participants served by the 
Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) has increased 
dramatically and the cost of servicing these customers has 
increased proportionately. Therefore, to ensure that 
continued CCAP services are available and in order to avoid 
severe budget deficits and the abrupt closure of the entire 
Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), the agency shall 
decrease the percentage of child care cost paid for by the 
agency and increase the number of required activity hours 
for parents receiving low-income child care. Failure to effect 
these changes may jeopardize the safety and well being of 
the children served through CCAP and result in job loss for 
some parents who may be forced to quit working because of 
lack of child care. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 12.  Child Care Assistance  

Chapter 51. Child Care Assistance Program 
§5103. Conditions of Eligibility 

A. - A.1. ... 
B. Low-income families not receiving FITAP cash 

assistance, including former FITAP recipients who are given 
priority consideration, must meet the following eligibility 
criteria: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. Effective September 1, 2002, unless disabled as 

established by receipt of Social Security Administration 
Disability benefits, Supplemental Security Income, Veteran's 
Administration Disability benefits for a disability of at least 
70 percent, or unless disabled and unable to care for his/her 
child(ren) as verified by a doctor's statement or by worker 
determination, the TEMP must be: 

a. employed a minimum average of 25 hours per 
week effective April 1, 2003, and all countable work hours 
must be paid at least at the Federal minimum hourly wage; 
or 

b. attending a job training or educational program 
that is legally authorized by the state for a minimum average 
of, effective April 1, 2003, 25 hours per week (attendance at
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a job training or educational program must be verified, 
including the expected date of completion); or 

c. engaged in some combination of employment 
which is paid at least at the Federal minimum hourly wage, 
or job training, or education as defined in §5103.B.4.b that 
averages, effective April 1, 2003, at least 25 hours per week; 

d. exception: a household in which all of the 
members described in §5103.B.4 meet the disability criteria 
is not eligible for child care assistance unless one of those 
members meets, effective April 1, 2003, the required 
minimum average of 25 activity hours per week. 

B.5. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:356 (February 

1998), amended LR 25:2444 (December 1999), LR 26:2827 
(December 2000), LR 27:1932 (November 2001), LR 28:1490 
(June 2002), LR 29:43 (January 2003), LR 29: 
§5109. Payment 

A. The sliding fee scale used for non-FITAP recipients is 
subject to adjustment based on the state median income and 
poverty levels which are published annually. A non-FITAP 
household may pay a portion of its child care costs monthly 
in accordance with the sliding fee scale, and this shall be 
referred to as a "copayment." The sliding fee scale is based 
on a percentage of the state median income. Effective April 
1, 2003, the agency's percentage of payments for Low-
Income Child Care cases is adjusted and reflected in the 
following tables. 

 
 
 

Sliding Fee Scale for Child Care Assistance Recipients  
Effective March 1, 2002 - 75 Percent of Projected Median Income 

Number in 
Household 2 3 4 5 6 DSS % 

0 - 968 0 - 1219  0 - 1471 0 - 1723 0 - 1974 70% 
969 - 1535 1220 - 1908 1472 - 2281 1724 - 2654 1975 - 3027 50% 
1536 - 2101 1909 - 2596 2282 - 3090 2655 - 3585 3028 - 4079 30% 

Monthly 
Household 

Income 
Above 2101 Above 2596 Above 3090 Above 3585 Above 4079 0% 

 
 

Number in 
Household 7 8 9 10 11 DSS % 

0 - 2226 0 - 2478 0 - 2729  0 - 2981 0 - 3233  70% 
2227 - 3199 2479 - 3372 2730 - 3543 2982 - 3716 3234 - 3888 50% 
3200 - 4172 3373 - 4265 3544 - 4357 3717 - 4450 3889 - 4543 30% 

Monthly 
Household 

Income 
Above 4172 Above 4265 Above 4357 Above 4450 Above 4543 0% 

 
Number in 
Household 12 13 14 15 16 DSS % 

0 - 3484 0 - 3736 0 - 3988 0 - 4239 0 - 4491 70% 
3485 - 4060 3737 - 4232 3989 - 4405 4240 - 4577 4492 - 4749 50% 
4061 - 4636 4233 - 4728 4406 - 4821 4578 - 4914 4750 - 5006 30% 

Monthly 
Household 

Income 
Above 4636 Above 4728  Above 4821 Above 4914 Above 5006 0% 

 
Number in 
Household 17 18 19 20  DSS % 

0 -4743 0 -4994 0 - 5246 0 - 5498   70% 
4744 - 4921 4995 - 5093 5247 - 5266     50% 
4922 - 5099 5094 - 5192 5267 - 5285     30% 

Monthly 
Household 

Income 
Above 5099 Above 5192  Above 5285     0% 

NOTE: Effective April 1, 2003, the department's percentage of payments for low-income child care has been adjusted as reflected in the above 
table. 

 
 
B. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, and P.L. 104-193. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:357 (February 
1998), amended LR 25:2445 (December 1999), LR 26:2829 

(December 2000), LR 27:1933 (November 2001), LR 28:1491 
(June 2002), LR 29: 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0307#046
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Community Supervision Program (LAC 67:III.5573) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, to adopt 
§5573, Community Supervision Program (CSP) effective 
June 17, 2003. This Emergency Rule will remain in effect 
for a period of 120 days. 

Under the provisions of the Temporary Assistance to 
Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant, a state may expend its 
Maintenance of Effort (MOE) funds on a variety of services, 
benefits and supports that help families become self-
sufficient. To effectuate the use of its MOE funds in 
accordance with federal and state regulations, the Office of 
Family Support will provide funds to the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC), Office of Youth 
Development (OYD), to implement and administer the 
Community Supervision Program, a program intended to 
further goals and intentions of the federal TANF Block 
Grant. Emergency rulemaking is necessary as failure to meet 
MOE funding requirements in accordance with TANF 
regulations could result in the loss of these monies. This 
could cause severe federal penalties or sanctions to be 
imposed, or the loss of TANF Block Grant funds resulting in 
a decrease or termination of services. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5573. Community Supervision Program 

A. OFS shall enter into a Memorandum of 
Understanding (MOU) with the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections (DPSC), Office of Youth Development 
(OYD), to provide services to youth and their families as a 
result of an adjudication and disposition by a court that 
orders DPSC/OYD to supervise youth in their communities 
in an effort to prevent removal from the home. 

B. OYD/CSP will complete an intake/assessment and 
develop a case plan for addressing the needs of the youth. 
The case plan will contain goals for all need areas and when 
indicated, include referrals to community programs for both 
youth and parents. These referrals may include but are not 
limited to: 

1. case management, counseling, and in-home 
services; 

2. parenting education and training, either in-home or 
out-of-home; 

3. diagnostic and evaluation services provided in an 
attempt to make the most appropriate out-of-home 
placement; 

4. supervision or non-residential programs for youth 
who remain in the home. 

C. The agency will identify eligibility retroactive to 
October 1, 2002. 

D. These services meet the TANF goal to provide 
assistance to needy families so that children may be cared 

for in their own homes or in the homes of relatives by 
providing services to youth, who are in jeopardy of removal 
from their homes, and their families. 

E. Financial eligibility for those services attributable to 
TANF/Maintenance of Effort (MOE) funds is limited to 
eligible families, which include a minor child living with a 
custodial parent, an adult caretaker relative, or a legal 
guardian. An eligible family is one in which any member 
receives a Family Independence Temporary Assistance 
Program (FITAP) grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program 
(KCSP) grant, Food Stamp benefits, Child Care Assistance 
Program (CCAP) services, Title XIX (Medicaid) Medical 
Assistance Program benefits, Louisiana Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (LACHIP) benefits, or Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI).  

F. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 29: 
 

Gwendolyn Hamilton 
Secretary 

0306#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Shrimp Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or part of inside waters and a resolution adopted 
by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on May 1, 2003 
which authorized the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 2003 Spring Shrimp 
Season in any portion of the state's inside waters if 
enforcement problems develop or to protect small white 
shrimp if biological and technical data indicates the need to 
do so, the secretary hereby declares: 

The 2003 spring shrimp season in inside waters will close 
in that part of Shrimp Management Zone 2 from the eastern 
shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River to the western 
shore of Vermilion Bay and Southwest Pass at Marsh Island 
except for that portion of state inside waters within 
Timbalier and Terrebonne Bay as described below. 

From a point along the inside/outside shrimp line east of 
East Timbalier Island at longitude 90E 15' 00" W, thence due 
north to a position at latitude 29E 10' 00" N and longitude 
90E 15' 00" W, thence due west along latitude 29E 10' 00" N 
to the intersection of the Houma Navigational Channel, 
thence south along eastern edge of the Houma Navigational 
Channel as delineated by the U. S. Coast Guard Channel red 
buoy line to a point originating along the inside/outside 
shrimp line in Cat Island Pass, on Friday, June 20, at 6 a.m. 
The percentage, relative number and distribution of small 
white shrimp in these waters has increased substantially in 
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the last week and the region is being closed to protect these 
immigrating shrimp. 

Zones 1 and 3 as well will remain open until further 
notice. 

The State Territorial waters south of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line, as described in R.S. 56:495, shall remain open. 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0306#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Spring Shrimp Season ClosureCZones 1 and 3 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or part of inside waters and a resolution adopted 
by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on May 1, 2003 
which authorized the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 2003 Spring Shrimp 
Season in any portion of the state's inside waters to protect 
small white shrimp if biological and technical data indicates 
the need to do so or if enforcement problems develop, the 
secretary hereby declares: 

The 2003 spring shrimp season in inside waters will close 
in Shrimp Management Zone 1 on Monday, July 7, at 6 a.m. 
except for that portion of Mississippi Sound originating at a 
point along the Mississippi-Louisiana territorial sea 
boundary at longitude 89E 30' 00" W thence due south to a 
position at latitude 30E 05' 00" N and longitude 89E 30' 00" 
W thence southeasterly to the US Coast Guard navigational 
light off the eastern shore of Three-Mile Pass at latitude 30E 
03' 12" N and longitude 89E 21' 30" W thence northeasterly 
to a position which intersects the menhaden line as described 
in the Menhaden Rule (LAC 76:VII.307D) north of Isle au 
Pitre at latitude 30E 10' 00" W. The open waters of Breton 
and Chandeleur Sounds as described in the Menhaden Rule, 
will remain open to shrimping until further notice. Zone 1 
comprises State inside waters from the  
Mississippi-Louisiana state line to the eastern shore of South 
Pass of the Mississippi River. 

The 2003 spring shrimp season in inside waters will close 
in Shrimp Management Zone 3 on Monday, July 7, at 6 a.m. 
except for that portion of the Calcasieu Ship Channel 
originating at Channel Marker 68 southward to a point 
originating along the inside/outside shrimp line at Calcasieu 
Pass and including East Pass from its origin at the Calcasieu 
Ship Channel to the south end of Calcasieu Lake and West 
Pass from its origin at the Calcasieu Ship Channel to the 
south end of West Cove which will close on Monday, July 
14, at 6:00 a.m. Zone 3 is that portion of Louisiana's inside 
waters from the western shore of Vermilion Bay and

Southwest Pass at Marsh Island to the Louisiana-Texas state 
line.  

The relative number, percentage and distribution of small 
white shrimp immigrating into the areas to be closed has 
increased substantially in the last week and the regions are 
being closed to protect these developing shrimp.  

With this closure, all State inside waters from the 
Mississippi-Louisiana state line west to the Louisiana-Texas 
state line except for Breton and Chandeleur Sounds and a 
portion of Mississippi Sound and a portion of the Calcasieu 
Ship Channel, are closed to the harvest of shrimp.  

The State Territorial waters south of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line, as described in R.S. 56:495, shall remain open 
to shrimping. 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0307#031 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Shrimp Season ClosureCZone 2 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or part of inside waters and a resolution adopted 
by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on May 1, 2003 
which authorized the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 2003 Spring Shrimp 
Season in any portion of the State=s inside waters if 
enforcement problems develop or to protect small white 
shrimp if biological and technical data indicates the need to 
do so, the secretary hereby declares: 

On Saturday, June 28, 2003 at 6 a.m. the 2003 spring 
shrimp season in inside waters will close in the remainder of 
the state inside waters in Shrimp Management Zone 2, 
specifically, that area in Timbalier and Terrebonne Bays 
within the area as described below: 

From a point along the inside/outside shrimp line east of 
East Timbalier Island at longitude 90E 15' 00" W, thence due 
north to a position at latitude 29E 10' 00" N and longitude 
90E 15' 00" W, thence due west along latitude 29E 10' 00" N 
to the intersection of the Houma Navigational Channel, 
thence south along the eastern edge of the Houma 
Navigational Channel as delineated by the U. S. Coast Guard 
Channel red buoy line to a point originating along the 
inside/outside shrimp line in Cat Island Pass.  

The percentage, relative number and distribution of small 
white shrimp in these waters has increased substantially in 
the last week and the region is being closed to protect these 
immigrating shrimp. 

Zones 1 and 3 as well will remain open until further 
notice. 
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The State Territorial waters south of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line, as described in R.S. 56:495, shall remain open. 

 
James H. Jenkins Jr. 
Secretary 

0307#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Wild Alligator Harvest Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of 
R.S.49:953(B) and R.S.49:967(D) of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission to use emergency procedures to set seasons, the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby set the 2003 
wild alligator harvest season. 

The 2003 wild alligator harvest season shall be from 
official sunrise September 3, 2003 through official sunset 
October 2, 2003. Alligators taken from the wild may be 
removed from hook and line and taken with other legal 
capture devices only during daylight hours between official 
sunrise and official sunset. 

Emergency procedures are necessary to allow department 
biologists adequate time to gather the biological data 
required to recommend season dates and harvest quotas. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby also 
authorize the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries to delay, extend, close or reopen this season based 
on technical data or if enforcement problems develop. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0307#053 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Waterfowl Hunting Closure Times 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953(B) and 
967 of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under the 
authority of R.S. 56:115, the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby adopt the following Emergency Rule. 

A Declaration of Emergency is necessary to amend the 
waterfowl hunting times for Pass-a-Loutre, Biloxi and 
Wisner WMAs from a 2:00 p.m. closing time to a sunset 
closing time and Pointe-aux-Chenes, Lake Boeuf and 
Salvador/Timken WMAs from a 2:00 p.m. closing time to a 
12:00 noon closing time. Due to overwhelming opposition 
by the public to the proposed 2:00 p.m. closure the 
waterfowl hunting closing times will remain the same as 
they have been previously. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0307#055 
 

 



Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Termite Bait and Baiting Systems  
(LAC 7:XXV.117 and 141) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, has adopted regulations regarding minimum 
specifications for use of termite bait and baiting systems. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry deems the 
implementation of these Rules and regulations necessary to 
provide for uniform minimum treatment specifications for 
baits and baiting systems. There are several different bait 
and baiting systems available for use by licensed pest control 
operators (PCO). These Rules insure that PCO install, 
monitor and treat structures for subterranean termites to at 
least a minimum set of requirements. These Rules also allow 
the department to regulate baits and baiting systems 
consistently and insure that the state's citizens are getting the 
services for which they are paying.  

These Rules comply with and are enabled by R.S. 3:3203. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS  
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control  

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 
§117. Obligations of the Licensee 

A. The licensee must keep the bond and general liability 
insurance required under §107.D in full force and effect at 
all times. 

B. The licensee must renew the permit for operation for 
each business location annually prior to June 30. 

C. The licensee must apply for a registration certificate 
for each employee under his supervision within 30 days after 
the employee is hired and must comply with all other 
requirements pertaining to registration of employees set 
forth in §113. 

D. The licensee must follow label and labeling 
requirements in all applications of pesticides not specifically 
covered in §141. 

E. The licensee shall be responsible for training the 
employee in the kind of work which he will perform. 

F.1. The licensee must maintain his commercial applicator 
certification in current status by: 

a. attending a continuing educational program for 
recertification approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry; 

b. recertification at least once every three years; 
c. a minimum of six hours of technical training 

which shall include but not be limited to the categories of 
general pest control, termite control, wood destroying insect 
report (WDIR) inspector and commercial vertebrate control; 

d. a minimum of six hours of technical training for 
the category of fumigation. 

2. A licensee attending an approved recertification 
seminar must attend the entire approved program; otherwise 
the licensee shall not be recertified at this approved seminar. 

3. Time and location for each licensee certification 
can be obtained by calling or writing to the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

4. A minimum of six hours of technical training for 
the category of fumigation. 

5. A licensee attending an approved recertification 
seminar must attend the entire approved program, otherwise 
the licensee shall not be recertified at this approved seminar. 

6. Time and location for each licensee certification 
can be obtained by writing to the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry. 

G. The licensee must be available to provide direct 
supervision over all employees registered under his license 
on a regular, ongoing basis. 

H. The licensee must report all termite contracts and all 
wood-destroying insect reports and pay all required fees as 
set forth in §119 hereof. 

I. Any person applying pesticides for a fee and the 
licensee must maintain records according to LAC 
7:XXV.117.I, at the physical address listed on the place of 
business permit of all applications of pesticides on a record 
keeping form or in a format approved by the director of 
Pesticide and Environmental Programs of LDAF. These 
records must be retained for a period of two years after the 
date of the pesticide application for ship and commodity 
fumigation, general pest control and commercial vertebrate 
control and a period of two years after the expiration of 
applicable contracts for termite and other wood destroying 
insect control. The licensee must make a copy of these 
records available to any employee of the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry for inspection at a 
reasonable time during normal working hours. 

1. Records for Licensee(s) applications of pesticides 
for wood destroying insects shall contain the following 
information: 

a. place of business name, address, and number; 
b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. location of application; 
e. product\brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted\general use pesticide;  
h. application date and time; 
i. target pest; 
j. type of application (pre-treat, post, spot); 
k. size of area treated (square feet or linear feet); 
l. mixture concentration; 
m. total amount of emulsion applied;  
n. applicator and certification number. 

2. Record keeping for licensee(s) in the general pest 
and commercial vertebrate phases shall contain the 
following information: 

a. place of business name address, and number; 
b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
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c. customer name and address; 
d. location of application; 
e. product/brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted/general use pesticide;  
h. application date and time; 
i. pest treated/type of application; 
j. mixture concentration (percent); 
k. applicator and certification number. 

3. Records for licensee(s) in the fumigation phase 
shall contain the following information: 

a. place of business name, address, and number; 
b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. location of application; 
e. product/brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted/general use pesticide;  
h. application date and time; 
i. pest treated; 
j. type of application (ship, structure, commodity); 
k. size of area treated (cubic feet); 
l. rate applied; 
m. total amount of product applied; 
n. applicator, certification number. 

4. Records for licensee(s) using Bait and Baiting 
Systems shall contain the following information: 

a. place of business name, address, and phone 
number; 

b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. physical address of contracted structure; 
e. product\brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted\general use pesticide;  
h. linear feet of perimeter of the treated structure(s): 
i. date each monitoring stations installed or 

inspected; 
j. date each ground bait station installed, inspected 

or replaced; 
k. date each above ground bait station installed, 

inspected or replaced; 
l. number of monitoring, ground and above ground 

bait stations inspected during each inspection; 
m. name and certification\registration number of 

person inspecting; 
n. inspection diagram.  

J. The licensee must renew each category in which he is 
licensed annually by June 30. 

K. The annual fee for licensed pest control operators 
shall be $5 for each category in which the pest control 
operator is licensed. 

L. The licensee must report to the Louisiana Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry all termite contracts, termite 
perimeter applications and wood destroying insect reports 
completed each month on the form provided by the 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. The 
reports listed above are due in Division of Pesticides and 
Environmental Programs office in Baton Rouge on or before 
the tenth of the month following the contract or application. 

M. The fee per termite contract and wood-destroying 
insect report is $5 per and/or inspection report issued and is 
due on or before the tenth day of each month. 

N. The licensee must have provisions for spill control 
including materials and tools on every vehicle transporting 
pesticides. 

O. Signage of Vehicles 
1. General. A motor vehicle being operated by a place 

of business that is engaged in the transport or application of 
pesticides must be marked as specified below: 

a. magnetic or removable signs may be used; 
b. size, shape, location and color of marking. The 

marking must contain the following: 
 i. appear on both sides of the vehicle; 
 ii. be in letters that contrast sharply in color with 
the background; 
 iii. be readily legible during daylight hours; 
 iv. lettering must be a minimum of two inches in 
height; 
 v. be kept and maintained in a manner that retains 
the legibility of the information required by §117.O.1.c; 

c. nature of marking. The marking must display the 
following information:  
 i. the name or trade name of the place of business 
operating the vehicle. 

P. The only phone numbers that shall be used in any 
advertisement shall be the place of business permit phone 
number or the licensee's home phone number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:323 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:954 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1995), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 29:1062 
(July 2003). 
§141. Minimum Specifications for Termite Control 

Work 
A. - I.  … 
J. Requirements for Baits and Baiting Systems 

1. Any licensee or any person working under the 
supervision of a licensee, who applies baits and/or baiting 
systems, shall be certified in the use of the baits and baiting 
systems, by the manufacturer of the product, prior to any 
application of the bait or baiting system. Manufacturer 
certification and training programs shall have approval of 
the agenda prior to the program by the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. Manufacturer shall 
notify LDAF in writing of the licensees and technicians 
certified. 

2. All baits and baiting systems applications shall be 
contracted and reported according to R.S. 3:3370 and  
LAC 7:XXV.119.D and pay the fee as described in  
LAC 7:XXV.119.E. 

3. Bait and baiting systems shall be used according to 
label and labeling. 

4. Bait and baiting systems' ground monitoring 
stations shall be used to detect the presence of subterranean 
termites in the soil.  

5. Ground bait delivery shall begin when the presence 
of subterranean termites are detected in the monitoring
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station or if the label allows. Ground bait stations may be 
used as monitoring stations and inspected as required in 
LAC 7:XXV.141.J. 

6. Above ground bait stations may be used according 
to their label and labeling when the presence of subterranean 
termites are detected in the contracted structure. 

7. Ground monitoring and bait stations, used as 
monitors, shall be inspected monthly, not to exceed 35 days, 
from the date of installation or last inspection. When there is 
no termite feeding on any bait or monitoring station for 90 
days from the date of installation or last inspection; monitor 
as required in LAC 7:XXV.141.J.9.  

8. When there is termite feeding on any bait and/or 
monitoring station(s) at the contracted structure; all above 
ground bait stations and ground monitoring and bait stations 
shall be inspected monthly, not to exceed 35 days from the 
date of installation or last inspection and such inspections 
shall continue until there is no termite feeding on any bait 
and\or monitoring station, in any station, at the contracted 
structure for 90 days from the date of installation or last 
inspection; When there is no termite feeding on any bait or 
monitoring station for 90 days from the date of installation 
or last inspection; monitor as required in LAC 
7:XXV.141.J.9.  

9. When there is no termite feeding on any bait or 
monitoring station for 90 days from the date of installation 
or last inspection; monitoring shall resume at regular 
intervals, not to exceed 90 days from the date of the last 
inspection; when termites are detected again, monitoring 
and/or baiting shall follow the requirements set forth in LAC 
7:XXV.141.J.8. 

10. Monitoring and ground bait stations shall surround 
the contracted structure and shall not be more than 20 feet 
apart, where soil is available unless the label requires 
stations closer and\or does not allow for "where soil is 
available." 

11. Monitoring and ground bait stations, where soil is 
available, shall be no further than 20 feet from the slab or 
pier's outside perimeter except for non-structural wood 
elements including but not limited to trees, stumps, wood 
piles, landscape timbers and detached fences.  

12. Records of contracts, graphs, monitoring, and bait 
applications shall be kept according to LAC 7:XXV.117.I. 

13. A consumer information sheet, supplied by the 
manufacturer and approved by the commission, shall be 
supplied to the registered pest control operator. The pest 
control operator shall, in turn, supply a copy of the consumer 
information sheet to all persons contracted. 

14. All monitoring and bait stations shall be removed 
by the pest control operator from the contracted property 
within 30 days of the termination of the contract. In the 
event the bait and baiting system manufacturer stops the use 
by the pest control operator of their bait and baiting system; 
all monitoring and bait stations shall be removed by the pest 
control operator from the contracted property within 90 days 
of the stop use notification. 

15. The commission hereby establishes a pilot program 
for the use of bait and baiting systems and shall include but 
not be limited to the following:  

a. all baits and baiting systems products shall be 
subject to the pilot project for a period of a minimum of one 
year. The Structural Pest Control Commission shall 

reevaluate the products in the pilot program prior to the end 
of the first quarter of every calendar year;  

b. pilot project bait and baiting system products 
shall, upon approval of the commission, be listed in the 
Louisiana Register; 

c. pilot project bait and baiting system products are 
subject to all regulations in LAC 7:XXV.141.J; 

d. baits and baiting systems may be used as a 
stand-alone termite treatment only with written approval by 
LDAF; 

e. baits and baiting systems may be used as a 
supplement to traditional ground termiticide treatments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:330 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:958 (November 1989), 
LR 20:644 (June 1994), LR 21:931 (September 1995), LR 23:1285 
(October 1997), LR 29:1063 (July 2003). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0307#087 
 

RULE 

Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Workforce Development and Training Program 
(LAC 13:III.Chapter 3) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Business Resources Division, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, pursuant to 
the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and R.S. 51:2331 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., has amended the Rules for the Workforce 
Development and Training Program. The Rules have been 
amended to recognize the state's commitment to Cluster 
Based Economic Development; to recognize statutory 
changes made by Acts 2001, No. 9; to eliminate the use of 
sponsoring entities in the Workforce Program; to provide 
that LEDC may cancel funding if the project takes more than 
a year to get started; to require a business plan, with 
financial statements and projections, with the application; to 
provide that the benefit to the state should not take longer 
than two years to be realized; to eliminate the limit of 
$500,000 for a single grant; and to provide for other 
administrative changes. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs 
Chapter 3. Workforce Development and Training 

Program 
§301. Preamble and Purpose 

A. Workforce Development and Training is vital to 
support the state's commitment to Cluster Based Economic 
Development, and the state's long-term goals as set forth in 
Louisiana: Vision 2020, which is the master plan for 
economic development for the state of Louisiana. 
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B. The purpose of the program is to enable the 
development of and provide customized workforce training 
programs to existing and prospective Louisiana businesses 
as a means of: 

1. improving the competitiveness and productivity of 
Louisiana's workforce and business community; and  

2. assisting Louisiana businesses in promoting 
employment stability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:241 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1064 (July 2003). 
§303. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe entity or company requesting a training 
award from LED and LEDC under this program. 

AwardCfunding approved under this program for eligible 
training activities. 

CompanyCthe business enterprise undertaking the 
workforce training project, and the successful applicant 
receiving or granted an award under this program. 

ContractCa legally enforceable award agreement between 
DED, the awardee and a sponsoring entity LEDC and the 
successful applicant-company governing the terms and the 
conditions of the training award. 

Full Time Permanent JobCan employed position requiring 
the employee to work a full 40-hour work week, and which 
is not a temporary position. 

LEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

LEDCCthe Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation. 

Net Benefit Return to the StateCthe determination of 
whether or not the value to the state is equal to or exceeds 
the amount of the award to the company.  

Percentage of Achieved Performance Objectives as 
Provided in the ContractCan average of that portion 
achieved by the company of the full time permanent jobs 
created or upgraded, and that portion achieved by the 
company of the annual salary levels to be reached, as 
provided in the contract. The two portions are to be added 
together, and the total figure is then divided by two, in order 
to yield the average percentage. 

PreferenceCthe discretionary granting of an advantage or 
priority to one applicant or application over others; allows 
extra consideration to be given to one applicant or 
application over others, with regard to the availability of 
funding. 

ProgramCthe Workforce Development and Training 
Program. 

ProjectCthe workforce training endeavor that will 
enhance the qualifications and productivity of a company's 
workforce, its employees and prospective employees, for 
which LED and LEDC assistance is requested under this 
program as an incentive to influence a company's decision to 
maintain or expand its Louisiana operations, to increase its 
capital investment in Louisiana, or to locate a facility in this 
state. 

SecretaryCthe secretary of the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development, who is, by law, also the president 
of the Louisiana Economic Development Corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January, 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:241 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1065 (July 2003). 
§305. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Workforce Development and Training 
Program: 

1. LEDC shall serve as the single review board for 
this Workforce Development and Training Program which is 
to be administered by LED; 

2. training awards are not to be construed as an 
entitlement for companies located or locating in Louisiana;  

3. awards must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in a company's location, investment, 
expansion and/or training decisions; 

4. awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities; 

5. evaluations for the enhancement of existing 
Louisiana businesses that are adding locations within the 
state will be conducted with the same procedures and with 
the same priority as the recruitment of new businesses to the 
state; 

6. the anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered as a requirement in making the award; 

7. awards will be coordinated with the existing plans 
and programs of other government agencies whenever 
appropriate;  

8. a train-the-trainer approach will be adopted 
whenever appropriate in order to strengthen the institutional 
capacity of public and private sector training providers; and 

9. award funds shall be utilized for the approved 
training project only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1065 (July 2003). 
§307. Program Descriptions 

A. This program provides two types of training 
assistance for companies seeking prospective employees 
who possess sufficient skills to perform the jobs to be 
created by the companies. The training to be funded can 
include: 

1. pre-employment training for which prospective 
employees are identified and recruited for training with the 
knowledge that the company will hire a portion of the 
trainees; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1066

2. on-the-job (and/or upgrade) training for employees 
that is needed to bring the employees up to a minimum skill 
and/or productivity level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1065 (July 2003). 
§309. Eligibility 

A. An eligible applicant is an employer that seeks 
customized training services to provide training in a 
particular industry. 

B. The following types of businesses are ineligible for 
the award of workforce development funds: Retail 
Businesses; Trucking Companies; Lodging or Hospitality 
Enterprises; Assisted Living Enterprises, Retirement 
Communities, or Nursing Homes; and Gaming or Gambling 
Enterprises. 

C. Employees to be trained must be employed in 
Louisiana, except for projects locating at Stennis Space 
Center in Mississippi. Employees to be trained for projects 
at Stennis Space Center must be Louisiana residents. 

D. A company shall be considered ineligible for this 
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities 
relative to failure or inability to pay its obligations; including 
state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceeding, or if it has 
pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any proceeding 
concerning denial or revocation of a necessary license or 
permit, or if the company has a previous contract with the 
Department of Economic Development or LEDC in which 
the company is in default and/or is not in compliance. 

E. Companies must be in full compliance with all state 
and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1066 (July 2003). 
§311. Criteria 

A. General (these apply to all training programs 
administered under these Rules) 

1. Preference may be given to applicants in industries 
identified by the state as targeted or cluster industries, and to 
applicants locating in areas of the state with high 
unemployment levels. 

2. Employer(s) must be in full compliance with 
Louisiana unemployment insurance laws. 

3. If a company does not begin the project within 365 
days of application approval, the LEDC, upon the 
recommendation of the secretary of LED, may cancel 
funding of the training project, or may require reapplication. 

4. The number of jobs to be retained and/or created as 
stated in the application will be adhered to and will be made 
an integral part of the contract. 

B. Pre-employment, Upgrade and On-the-Job Training 
1. Applicants must create at least 10 net new full-time 

permanent jobs in the state, unless upgrade training is 
involved. Upgrade training must be provided to a minimum 
of 10 full-time permanent employees. 

2. Participation in pre-employment training does not 
guarantee students a job upon completion of their training. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:45 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1066 (July 2003). 
§313. Application Procedure 

A. LED will provide a standard application form which 
applicants will use to apply for assistance. The application 
form will contain, but not be limited to, detailed descriptions 
of the following: 

1. an overview of the company, its history, and the 
business climate in which it operates; 

2. the company's overall training plan, including a 
summary of the types and amounts of training to be provided 
and a description of how the company determined its need 
for training; 

3. the specific training programs for which LED and 
LEDC assistance is requested, including descriptions of the 
methods, providers and costs of the proposed training;  

4. a fully developed business plan, with financial 
statements and projections; and 

5. any additional information LED or LEDC may 
require. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:45 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1066 (July 2003). 
§315. Submission and Review Procedure 

A. Applicants must submit their completed application to 
LED. Submitted applications will be reviewed and evaluated 
by LED staff. Input may be required from the applicant, 
other divisions of the Department of Economic 
Development, LEDC, and other state agencies as needed, in 
order to: 

1. evaluate the importance of the proposed training to 
the economic well-being of the state and local communities; 

2. identify the availability of existing training 
programs which could be adapted to meet the employer's 
needs; 

3. verify that the business will continue to operate 
during the period of the contract; and 

4. determine if the employer's training plan is cost 
effective. 

B. An economic cost-benefit analysis tailored to the 
applicant's request shall be conducted by LED to determine 
the net benefit to the state and/or local community of the 
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proposed training award. The net benefit return to the state 
shall not exceed two years. 

C. Upon determination that an application meets the 
general principles, eligibility requirements, and criteria for 
this program, LED staff will then make a recommendation to 
LEDC; and LEDC will then review and either approve or 
reject the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:45 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1643 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:243 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1066 (July 2003). 
§317. General Award Provisions 

A. Award Agreement 
1. An award agreement or contract will be executed 

between LEDC and the successful applicant-company. The 
contract will specify the performance objectives expected of 
the company and the compliance requirements to be 
enforced in exchange for state assistance, including, but not 
limited to, the time required for job training, job creation, 
and the achievement of employee salary levels to be reached 
by the company. 

2. LEDC will disburse funds to the company as 
provided by the award agreement or contract. 

3. LED will oversee the progress of the training and 
reimburse the company on the basis of cost reports certifying 
the amount expended by the company for the training of 
employees for which reimbursement is sought, submitted by 
the company on a form provided by LED. LED may request 
the company at any time and from time to time to submit 
additional or supporting information. 

4. Funds may be used for training programs extending 
up to two years in duration. 

5. Contracts issued under previous Rules may be 
amended to reflect current regulations as of the date of the 
most recent change, upon request of the company, the 
recommendation of LED, and approval of LEDC. 

B. Funding 
1. The Louisiana Workforce Development and 

Training Program offers financial assistance in the form of a 
grant for reimbursement of eligible training costs specified 
in the award agreement. 

2. Eligible training costs may include the following: 
a. instruction costs: wages for company trainers and 

training coordinators, Louisiana public and/or private school 
tuition, contracts for vendor trainers, training seminars; 

b. travel costs: travel for trainers, training 
coordinators and trainees; 

c. materials and supplies costs: training texts and 
manuals, audio/visual materials, raw materials for 
manufacturer's training purposes only and computer based 
training (CBT) software; and 

d. other costs: when necessary for training, such as 
facility and/or equipment rental. 

3. Training costs ineligible for reimbursement include: 
a. trainee wages and fringe benefits; 
b. non-consumable tangible property (e.g., 

equipment, calculators, furniture, classroom fixtures, non-

computer based training (CBT) software, unless owned by a 
public training provider; 

c. out-of-state, publicly supported schools; 
d. employee handbooks; 
e. scrap produced during training; 
f. food, refreshments; and 
g. awards. 

4. Training activities eligible for funding consist of: 
a. company-specific skills: skills which are unique 

to a company's workplace, equipment and/or capital 
investment; 

b. quality standards skills: skills which are intended 
to increase the quality of a company's products and/or 
services and ensure compliance with accepted international 
and industrial quality standards (e.g., ISO standards); and 

c. skills pertaining to instructional methods and 
techniques used by trainers (e.g., train-the-trainer activities). 

C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds 
1. Funds will be available on a reimbursement basis 

following submission of required documentation to LED by 
the company. Funds will not be available for reimbursement 
until a training agreement or contract between the company 
and LEDC has been executed. Only funds spent on the 
project after LEDC's approval will be considered eligible for 
reimbursement. However, reimbursements can be provided 
to the company only after final execution of a contract with 
LEDC. 

2. Companies will be eligible for reimbursement on a 
percentage of achieved performance objectives as provided 
in the contract, until all or substantially all of its contracted 
performance objectives have been met. After the company 
has achieved all or substantially all of its contracted 
performance objectives, any remaining unpaid portion of the 
grant award will be made available for reimbursement. 
Performance objectives shall be considered substantially 
achieved when LED and LEDC have determined that the 
benefits to the state anticipated or expected as a result of the 
training project have been achieved, even though 100 
percent of all stated objectives of the award agreement (or 
contract) may not have been fully achieved. 

D. Compliance Requirements 
1. In order to be paid or reimbursed as provided by the 

contract, companies shall be required to complete and 
submit to LED cost reports certifying the amount expended 
by the company for the training of employees for which 
reimbursement is sought, along with progress reports 
describing the company's progress toward the performance 
objectives specified in its contract with LEDC. Such 
progress reports shall include a review and certification of 
the company's hiring records (with copies of the company's 
quarterly Louisiana Department of Labor ES-4 Form filings 
to be attached), and the extent of the company's compliance 
with contract employment commitments. Further, LED shall 
oversee the timely submission of reporting requirements by 
the company. 

2. The termination of employees during the contract 
period who have received program-funded training shall be 
for documented cause only, which shall include voluntary 
termination. 

3. In the event a company fails to meet its 
performance objectives specified in its contract, LEDC shall 
retain the right to withhold award funds, modify the terms 
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and conditions of the award, and/or to reclaim disbursed 
funds from the company in an amount commensurate with 
the scope of the unmet performance objectives and the 
foregone benefits to the state, as determined by LED and on 
the recommendation of the secretary. Reclamation shall not 
begin unless LED has determined, with the concurrence of 
LEDC, after an analysis of the benefits of the training 
project to the state and the unmet performance objectives, 
that the state has not satisfactorily or adequately been 
compensated for its costs through the benefits provided by 
the training project. 

4. In the event a company knowingly files a false 
statement in its application or in a progress report, the 
company may be guilty of the offense of filing false public 
records, and may be subject to the penalty provided for in 
R.S. 14:133. 

5. LEDC shall retain the right, for itself, for the 
Legislative Auditor, for the Office of the Governor, Division 
of Administration, and for LED, to require and/or conduct 
financial and performance audits of a project, including all 
relevant records and documents of the company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:46 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1643 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:243 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1067 (July 2003). 
§319. Contract Monitoring 

A. All monitoring will be done by LED. A portion of the 
fiscal year's appropriation, up to five percent or a maximum 
of $200,000, may be used by LED to fund monitoring costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:46 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1643 (December 
1997), LR 25:244 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:244 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1068 (July 2003). 
§321. Conflicts of Interest 

A. No member of Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation (LEDC), employee thereof, or employee of the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development (LED), 
nor members of their immediate families, shall either 
directly or indirectly be a party to or be in any manner 
interested in any contract or agreement with either the 
corporation or the department for any matter, cause, or thing 
whatsoever by reason whereof any liability or indebtedness 
shall in any way be created against such corporation or 
department. If any contract or agreement shall be made in 
violation of the provisions of this Section, the same shall be 
null and void, and no action shall be maintained thereon 
against either the corporation or the department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:1068 (July 2003). 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0307#093 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Economic Development Corporation 

Matching Grants Program 
(LAC 19:VII.Chapter 79) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Economic Development 
Corporation, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., has adopted the following Rules for the 
Louisiana Matching Grants Program. The purpose of the 
Rules is to establish a program to leverage state and local 
funding in order to maximize matching funds from federal 
and other grants. The program is set up to assist qualified 
Louisiana businesses, minority-owned businesses, high-
growth potential businesses, women-owned businesses, 
small business enterprises and disabled persons' business 
enterprises as a result of the grant. LEDC will provide a 
portion of the match required for these grants. There are 
federal and private grants available for local governments to 
access. However, many local governments do not have 
sufficient funds available to fund the required matches for 
the grants. In order to give more local governments access to 
these grants LEDC has adopted the matching grant program 
to provide some of the match required. This program 
provides funding that is not available in the private sector or 
from any other public sector entity. 

Title 19 
CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part VII.  Economic Development Corporation 
Subpart 11.  Louisiana Matching Grants Program 

Chapter 79. Matching Grants Program 
§7901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this program is to leverage state and 
local funding in order to maximize matching funds from 
federal and other grants for the purpose of assisting, whether 
individually or collectively, qualified Louisiana businesses, 
minority-owned businesses, high-growth potential 
businesses, women-owned businesses, small business 
enterprises and disabled persons' business enterprises as 
those terms are defined by R.S. 39:2303, in such manner and 
as may be determined by the board in its discretion, and may 
also include providing matching funding for federal grants 
for infrastructure and basic infrastructure projects under the 
Louisiana Economic Development Award Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1069

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:1068 (July 2003). 
§7903. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe public entity requesting matching grant 
funds under this program. The public entity may be joined in 
the application by any other entity. 

AwardCthe funding of matching grant money under this 
program for eligible applicants. 

Award AgreementCthe agreement of contract hereinafter 
referred to between the public entity, DED and LEDC, and 
where applicable, any other entity through which the parties 
by cooperative endeavor or otherwise, set forth the terms, 
conditions and performance objectives of the award 
provided pursuant to these rules. 

DEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

ProjectCa proposal by a public entity that promotes 
economic development for which matching grant funds are 
sought under this program. Where matching grant funds are 
sought for projects that are defined as basic infrastructure or 
infrastructure under the EDAP rules, then the rules 
pertaining to EDAP, in addition to these rules, apply to the 
determination as to the funding of the matching grant funds.  

Public EntityCthe applying public or quasi-public entity 
that will be responsible for receiving and administering the 
performance and oversight of the project and for supervising 
compliance with the terms, conditions and performance 
objectives of the award agreement. 

SecretaryCthe Secretary of the Department of Economic 
Development, who is also the President of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:1069 (July 2003). 
§7905. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Matching Grant Award Program. 

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
companies locating or located in Louisiana. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in improving or enhancing economic 
development, whether in a particular circumstance, or 
overall. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4. Awards that promote retention and strengthening of 
existing businesses will be evaluated using the same 
procedures and with the same priority as the recruitment of 
new businesses to the state. 

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 

6. Appropriate cost sharing among project 
beneficiaries is a factor in the consideration of the award. 

7. Whether or not an award will be made is entirely at 
the discretion of the LEDC board and shall depend upon the 
facts and circumstances of each case, funds available, funds 
already allocated, and other such factors as the board may, in 
its discretion deem to be pertinent. The grant or rejection of 
an application for an award shall not establish any precedent 

and shall not bind the board to any future course of action 
with respect to any application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:1069  (July 
2003). 
§7907. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for a matching grant award 
pursuant to this program, the applicant must demonstrate the 
following to the satisfaction of the board. 

1. The award sought must be consistent with the 
Principles set forth above, the applicant must demonstrate a 
need for the matching grant funds, the ability to administer 
the funds in accordance with all applicable laws, rules and 
regulations governing the receipt of the grant, and that 
management are, or will be, in place to provide the services 
the grant is intended to provide. Where it is represented that 
certain contingent actions will be taken in order to comply 
with these conditions, then the LEDC may, in its discretion, 
withhold funding until there is substantial performance of 
the contingencies. 

2. Preference will be given to applicants representing 
rural communities, or those communities designated as 
renewal communities. 

3. The applicant must demonstrate that the matching 
funds and resulting grant from available matching funds will 
serve, individually, or collectively, the purposes of the 
program as defined in §7901 and the general principles 
defined in §7905 above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:1069 (July 2003). 
§7909. Application for Matching Grant 

A. The applicant must submit an application to the DED 
or LEDC on a form provided which shall contain the 
following information: 

1. a copy of the application or a valid description of 
the grant for which matching funds are sought; 

2. a letter of commitment or such other information as 
will provide the board necessary information to assure that if 
the funds are made available and other necessary and 
appropriate steps are taken, the grant will be matched by the 
granting authority; 

3. an explanation for the reason that LEDC provide 
the match to the grant; 

4. a plan which shall include a budget as to how and 
when the match and the grant are to be spent; 

5. résumés or other appropriate information on the 
grant administrator or grant monitor; 

6. a statement that reflects that the value of the 
matching funds to the project and to the economic 
development of the state sought through the project will 
equal or exceed the benefits given to the recipient of the 
grant funds; 

7. how matching the grant funds will serve the best 
interests of the businesses defined in the purposes set forth 
in §7901 above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:1069 (July 2003). 
§7911. Matching Grant Funding 

A. The award shall not be drawn down before the grant 
is funded by the federal or other entity that is providing the 
funds for which the matching grant is being awarded. 

B. There shall be a contribution from the applicant that 
in the opinion of the board constitutes a commitment to the 
project for which the funds are being sought. 

C. The Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 
may allocate funds to this program on a case by case basis 
and may, by vote, determine a maximum amount to be 
allocated for the fiscal year. 

D. This program shall be evaluated by the board in one 
year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 29:1070 (July 2003). 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0307#094 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCBESE Test Security Policy  

and Louisiana Educational Assessment  
Program Erasure Analysis Procedures  

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, 
promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). The BESE Test 
Security Policy was changed to clarify procedures for 
security of electronic test data and procedures for erasure 
analysis. Test scores from the Louisiana Educational 
Assessment Program are included in school and district 
accountability. Student level data is now available to districts 
and schools electronically through the LDE website. The 
security of this data is critical. The erasure analysis 
procedures identify tests that have excessive wrong-to-right 
erasures indicating a testing irregularity.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 

amended LR 28:269-271 (February 2002); LR 28:272-273 
(February 2002); LR 28:991, 993 (May 2002); LR 28:1187 (June 
2002); LR 29:1070 (July 2003). 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Test Security Policy 

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education holds 
the test security policy to be of utmost importance and 
deems any violation of test security to be serious. 
Test Security 

1. Tests administered by or through the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education shall include, but not 
be limited to: 

a. all criterion-referenced tests (CRTs) and norm-
referenced tests (NRTs); 

b. all alternate assessments. 
2. For purposes of this policy, school districts shall 

include local education agencies; Special School Districts; 
approved special schools such as the Louisiana School for 
the Visually Impaired and Louisiana School for the Deaf, 
laboratory schools, charter schools, Louisiana School for 
Math, Science and the Arts; and participating 
nonpublic/other schools that utilize tests administered 
through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education or the Louisiana Department of Education. 

3. It shall be a violation of test security for any person 
to do any of the following: 

a. administer tests in a manner that is inconsistent 
with the administrative instructions provided by the 
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) that would give 
examinees an unfair advantage or disadvantage; 

b. give examinees access to test questions prior to 
testing; 

c. examine any test item at any time (except for 
students during the test or test administrators while 
providing the accommodations "Tests Read Aloud" or 
"Communication Assistance" for students determined to be 
eligible for those accommodations); 

d. copy, reproduce, discuss or use at any time in a 
manner inconsistent with test regulations all or part of any 
secure test booklet, answer document, or supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks); 

e. coach examinees in any manner during testing or 
alter or interfere with examinees' responses in any manner; 

f. provide answers to students in any manner during 
the test, including provision of cues, clues, hints, and/or 
actual answers in any form C written, printed, verbal, or 
nonverbal; 

g. administer published parallel, previously 
administered, or current forms of any statewide assessment 
[e.g., Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), Graduation Exit Examination for 
the 21st Century (GEE 21), Graduation Exit Examination 
("old" GEE), LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA), or Forms 
K, L, M, and all new forms of The Iowa Tests] as a practice 
test or study guide; 

h. fail to follow security regulations for distribution 
and return of secure test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), as well as overages as directed; or fail to 
account for and secure test materials before, during, or after 
testing; 

i. conduct testing in environments that differ from 
the usual classroom environment without prior written 
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permission from the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments; 

j. fail to report any testing irregularities to the 
district test coordinator (a "testing irregularity" is any 
incident in test handling or administration that leads to a 
question regarding the security of the test or the accuracy of 
the test data), who must report such incidents to the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessments; 

k. participate in, direct, aid, counsel, assist in, 
encourage, or fail to report any of the acts prohibited in the 
section. 

4. Each school district as described in this policy shall 
develop and adopt a district test security policy that is in 
compliance with the State's test security policy. A "Statement 
of Assurance" regarding the LEA's test security policy must 
be submitted annually to the Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Student Standards and Assessments. 
This statement must include the name of the individual 
designated by the district superintendent or institution to 
procure test material. The policy shall provide: 

a. for the security of the test materials during 
testing, including test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), video tapes, and completed observation 
sheets; 

b. for the storage of all tests materials, except 
district and school test coordinator manuals and test 
administration manuals, in a predetermined, secure, locked 
area before, during, and after testing; all secure materials, 
including any parallel forms of a test, must be kept in locked 
storage at both the district and school levels; secure 
materials must never be left in open areas or unattended; 

c. a description and record of professional 
development on test security, test administration, and 
security procedures for individual student test data provided 
for all individuals with access to test materials or individual 
student test data ("access" to test materials by school 
personnel means any contact with or handling the materials 
but does not include reviewing tests or analyzing test items, 
which are prohibited); 

d. a list of personnel authorized to have access to 
the locked, secure storage area; 

e. procedures for investigating any testing 
irregularities, including violations in test security, such as 
plagiarism and excessive wrong-to-right erasures identified 
through erasure analysis; 

f. procedures for the investigation of employees 
accused of irregularities or improprieties in the 
administration of standardized tests, as required by the 
amended R.S. 17:81.6;  

g. procedures for the investigation of any missing 
test booklets, answer documents, or supplementary secure 
material (e.g., writing projects, science tasks); 

h. procedures for ensuring the security of individual 
student test data in electronic and paper formats. 

5. Procedures for investigating missing secure 
materials, any testing irregularity (including cheating), and 
any employees accused of improprieties must, at a 
minimum, include the following. 

a. The district test coordinator shall initiate the 
investigation upon the district's determination of an 
irregularity or breach of security or upon notification by the 

State Department of Education. The investigation shall be 
conducted by the district test coordinator and other central 
office staff as designated by the district superintendent. 

b. The location of the predetermined, locked, secure 
area for storage of materials shall be examined, and the 
individuals with access to secure materials shall be 
identified. 

c. Interviews regarding testing administration and 
security procedures shall be conducted with the principal, 
school test coordinator(s), test administrator(s), and 
proctor(s) at the identified schools. All individuals who had 
access to the test materials at any time must be interviewed. 

d. Interviews shall be conducted with students in 
the identified classes regarding testing procedures, layout of 
the classroom, access to test materials before the test, and 
access to unauthorized materials during testing. 

e. After completion of the investigation, the district 
shall provide a report of the investigation and a written plan 
of action to the state superintendent within 30 calendar days 
of the initiation of the investigation. At a minimum, the 
report shall include the nature of the situation, the time and 
place of occurrence, and the names of the persons involved 
in or witness to the occurrence. Officials from the Louisiana 
Department of Education are authorized to conduct 
additional investigations. 

6. Test materials, including all test booklets, answer 
documents, and supplementary secure materials (e.g., 
writing prompts, science tasks) containing secure test 
questions, shall be kept secure and accounted for in 
accordance with the procedures specified in the test 
administration manuals and other communications provided 
by the Louisiana Department of Education. Secure test 
materials include test booklets, answer documents, and any 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks). Procedures described in the test manuals shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following. 

a. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be kept in a predetermined, secure, 
locked storage area prior to and after administration of any 
test; test administrators are to be given access to the tests and 
any supplementary secure materials only on the day the test 
is to be administered, and these are to be retrieved 
immediately after testing is completed for the day and stored 
in a locked, secure location each day of testing. 

b. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be accounted for and written 
documentation kept by test administrators and proctors for 
each point at which test materials are distributed and 
returned. 

c. Any discrepancies noted in the serial numbers of 
test booklets, answer documents, and any supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks), or the 
quantity received from contractors must be reported to the 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments (LDE) by 
the designated institutional or school district personnel prior 
to the administration of the test. 

d. In the event that test booklets, answer documents, 
or supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) are determined to be missing while in the 
possession of the institution or school district or in the event 
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of any other testing irregularities or breaches of security, the 
designated institutional or school district personnel must 
immediately notify by telephone the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments (LDE) and follow the detailed 
procedures for investigating and reporting specified in this 
policy. 

7. Only personnel trained in test security and 
administration shall be allowed to have access to or 
administer any standardized tests. 

8. Each district superintendent or institution must 
annually designate one individual in the district or institution 
as district test coordinator who is authorized to procure test 
materials that are utilized in testing programs administered 
by or through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education of the Louisiana Department of Education. The 
name of the individual designated must be provided in 
writing to the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments (LDE) and included on the "Statement of 
Assurance." 

9. Testing shall be conducted in class-sized groups. 
Bulletin 741 (2.038.01-.02) states that K-3 classroom 
enrollment should be no more that 26 students, and in grades 
4-12, no more than 33, except in certain activity types of 
classes in which the teaching approach and the material and 
equipment are appropriate for large groups. For grades K-8, 
the maximum class size for Health and Physical Education 
classes may be no more than 40. Class size for exceptional 
students is generally smaller (Bulletin 741, 2.038.05). 
Permission for testing in environments that differ from the 
usual classroom environment must be obtained in writing 
from the Louisiana Department of Education, Division of 
Standards and Assessments, at least 30 days prior to testing. 
If testing outside the usual classroom environment is 
approved by the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments, the LEA must provide at least one proctor for 
every 30 students. 

10. The State Superintendent of Education may 
disallow test results that may been achieved in a manner that 
is in violation of test security. 

11. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
establish procedures to identify: 

a. improbable achievement of test score gains in 
consecutive years; 

b. situations in which collaboration between or 
among individuals may occur during the testing process; 

c. a verification of the number of all test distributed 
and the number of tests returned; 

d. excessive wrong-to-right erasures for multiple-
choice tests; 

e. any violation to written composition or open-
ended responses that involves plagiarism; 

f. any other situation that may result in invalidation 
of test results. 

12. In cases in which test results are not accepted 
because of a breach of test security or action by the 
Louisiana Department of Education, any programmatic, 
evaluative, or graduation criteria dependent upon the data 
shall be deemed not to have been met, but individuals will 
be allowed to retake the test at the next test administration. 

13. Individuals shall adhere to all procedures specified 
in all manuals that govern mandated testing programs. 

14. Any individual knowingly engages in any activity 
during testing that results in invalidation of scores derived 
from the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), Graduation Exit Examination for 
the 21st Century (GEE 21), or Graduation Exit Examination 
("old" GEE) shall forfeit the test results but will be allowed 
to retake the test at the next test administration. 

15. Anyone known to be involved in the presentation of 
forged, counterfeit, or altered identification for the purposes 
of obtaining admission to a test administration site for any 
test administered by or through the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education or the Louisiana 
Department of Education shall have breached test security. 
Any individual who knowingly causes or allows the 
presentation of forged, counterfeited, or altered identification 
for the purpose of obtaining admission to any test 
administration site must forfeit all test scores but will be 
allowed to retake the test at the nest test administration. 

16. School districts must ensure that individual student 
test data are protected from unauthorized access and 
disclosure. District test coordinators, principals, school test 
coordinators and other authorized users of the LEAPweb 
Reporting System and LEAPdata System must ensure the 
security of passwords, any disks or CDs with downloaded 
individual student test data, and student-level test data open 
on a computer screen. All users must sign a statement 
guaranteeing they will not share the password with 
unauthorized individuals and maintain the confidentiality of 
student data. A copy of the signed statement should be sent 
to the district test coordinator to be kept on file. Users who 
have access to these systems and leave their positions at a 
district or school site must not use or share the password. 
District test coordinators are responsible for providing 
training regarding the security and confidentiality of 
individual student test data (in paper and electronic format) 
and of aggregated data of fewer than ten students. 

17. Louisiana Department of Education staff will 
conduct site visits during testing to observe test 
administration procedures and to ensure that appropriate test 
security procedures are being followed. Schools with prior 
violations of test security or other testing irregularities will 
be identified for visits. Other schools will be randomly 
selected. 

18. Any teachers or other school personnel who breach 
test security or allow breaches in test security shall be 
disciplined in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:416 
et seq., R.S. 17:441 et seq., R.S. 17:81.6 et seq., policy and 
regulations adopted by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, and any and all laws that may be 
enacted by the Louisiana Legislature. 

Louisiana Educational Assessment Program 
Erasure Analysis Procedures 

In order to investigate erasures on student answer 
documents for the multiple-choice portions of the state 
criterion-referenced and norm-referenced testing programs, 
the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and 
the State Department of Education have developed the 
following procedures. 

1. The scoring contractor will scan every answer 
document for wrong-to-right erasures, and the state average 
and standard deviation will be computed for each subject at 
each grade level. 
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2. Students whose wrong-to-right erasures exceed the 
state average by more than four standard deviations will be 
identified for further investigation. For each student with 
excessive erasures, the proportion of wrong-to-right erasures 
to the total number of erasures will be considered.  

3. Based on the criteria for excessive wrong-to-right 
erasures, the scoring contractor will produce the following 
reports:

• District/School Erasure Analysis Report (three 
copies, sorted by district). 

• Student Erasure Analysis Report for students 
identified as having excessive wrong-to-right 
erasures. This report contains student 
demographic information, an item-by-item 
analysis of wrong-to-right erasures, and a 
statement showing that the student exceeded 
the four-standard-deviation criterion. 

• The scoring contractor will maintain answer 
documents for the students exceeding the 
four-standard-deviation criterion, sorted by 
district/school. The answer documents will 
be available for review upon request. 

4. Upon receipt of the Erasure Analysis Reports, LDE 
staff will notify the State Superintendent of Education 
regarding which schools have been identified.  

5. The correspondence from the State Superintendent 
of Education to the local superintendent will state that 
students have been identified as having excessive wrong-to-
right erasures. Based on the number of erasures found, 
scores for students exceeding the four-standard- deviation 
criterion will be voided. The individual student reports from 
the testing program will reflect the voided scores. In the 
aggregation of scores at the school, district, and state levels, 
each voided score will have the effect of a zero score. 
Included with the correspondence will be the following 
documentation: 

• District/School Erasure Analysis Report 
• Student Erasure Analysis Reports 

Copies of this correspondence will be provided to the 
Deputy Superintendent of Education, the Assistant 
Superintendent of the Office of Student and School 
Performance, the Director of the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments, and the local district test 
coordinator. 

6. When the correspondence is mailed, the local 
superintendent will be advised to investigate the case of the 
irregularity and provide a written plan of action to the State 
Superintendent of Education within 30 calendar days. 

7. A roster of schools will be generated where 
students have been identified with wrong-to-right erasures 
greater than three standard deviations above the state 
average, but less than or equal to four standard deviations 
above the state average of wrong-to-right erasures. These 
student scores will not be voided; however, the local 
superintendent will be advised to investigate the case of the 
irregularity and provide a written plan of action to the State 
Superintendent of Education within 30 calendar days.  

8. A summary report of erasure analysis irregularities 
will be presented to the Louisiana Educational Assessment

Testing Commission and the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education after each LEAP test administration. 

* * * 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#016 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCAdd-On  
Certification Policy for Academic Teaching  
Focus Areas, Grades 4-8 and Grades 7-12 

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy specifies the three ways that a 
certified teacher can add a certification endorsement in a 
declared teaching focus area for Grades 4-8 and Grades 7-
12. Add-on certification in academic areas identified as a 
teaching focus in grades 4-8 or in grades 7-12 can be granted 
through either (1) earning a passing score on the identified 
Praxis content specialty area exam, or (2) successfully 
completing 31 semester hours in the specific academic area, 
or (3) earning a pure master's degree in a content area. Under 
the new certification structure, endorsements could be 
earned with 19 content hours, but this must be changed to 
reflect the 31 semester hours identified as an academic major 
by the Board of Regents. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990, 991 
(May 2002), LR 29:1073 (July 2003). 

* * * 
Add-On Certification Policy Academic Teaching Focus 

Areas Grades 4-8 And 7-12 
A teacher must currently hold a standard teaching 

certificate in order to add an endorsement for a certification 
area.  

Add-on certification in academic areas that have been 
identified as a teaching focus in grades 4-8 or in grades 7-12 
can be granted through either (1) earning a passing score on
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the identified content specialty area exam of the PRAXIS, or 
(2) successfully completing 31 semester hours in the specific 
academic area, or (3) earning a pure Master's Degree in a 
content area. 

Add-on certification in academic areas through the 
PRAXIS exams would be available only in those Grades 4-8 
and Grades 7-12 academic certification areas for which a 
content specialty exam has been validated in Louisiana and 
for which a passing score has been established. 

 
Primary and Secondary Teaching (Focus) Areas 

for Grades 7-12 Certification 

Certification 
Area 

Primary 
31 

Hours 

Secondary 
19 

Hours 
Comment 

Agriculture - 
Vocational ▲  

  

Business 
Education  ▲ ▲ 

  

Computer 
Science ▲ ▲ 

  

Distributive 
Education ▲ ▲ 

  

English ▲ ▲   
Foreign 
Languages 

      

French ▲ ▲   
Spanish ▲ ▲   

Latin ▲ ▲   
German ▲ ▲   

Family & 
Consumer 
Sciences ▲ 

    

Industrial Arts ▲     
Journalism   ▲   
Mathematics ▲ ▲   
Science     

General 
Science ▲ 

  

Biology ▲ ▲ 
Chemistry ▲ ▲ 

Earth Science ▲ ▲ 
Physics ▲ ▲ 

Environmental  
Science ▲ ▲ 

If a candidate pursues 
General Science as a 
primary teaching area, then 
the specific science area 
hours (e.g., Biology, 
Chemistry, etc.) would also 
apply to the required 
secondary focus hours in 
that specific field. 

Speech ▲ ▲   
Social Studies ▲ ▲   
Note: If a university determines that hours beyond the required hours are 
needed for a specific primary (31) or secondary (19) teaching area, then the 
university may use portions of the flexible hours within the 124 total hours 
to address that need. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#021 
 

 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCFee Policy for  

Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach License  
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy specifies origin of fee payment 
for the Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach License. The fee 
for this license is to be paid by the requesting school district, 
not by the individual teacher in whose name the license is 
issued. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR  
28:990, 991 (May 2002), LR 29:1074 (July 2003). 

* * * 
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Types of Teaching Authorizations and Certifications 
Effective July 2002, revised December 2002 

 
Non-Standard Temporary Authorizations to Teach 

Conditions 
Requirements to Renew Temporary  

Authorization to Teach and/or  
Move To Another Certification Level 

a. Individual wh

PR

o graduates from teacher 
preparation program but does not pass 

AXIS 

Teacher must prepare for the PRAXIS and take the 
necessary examinations at least twice a year. 

b. Individual who holds a minimum of a 
baccalaureate degree from a regionally- 
accredited institution and who applies for 
admission to a Practitioner Teacher Program 
or other alternate program but does not 

ass the PPST or the content specialty 
examination of the PRAXIS required for 

mission to the program. 

p

ad

Teacher must successfully complete a minimum of 
six credit hours per year in the subject area(s) that 
they are attempting to pass on the PRAXIS; 
candidate must reapply for admission to a 
Practitioner Teacher Program or other alternate 
program. 

Temporary Authority to Teach 
 
(A teacher may hold a one-year 
Temporary Authorization to 
Teach for a maximum of three 
years while pursuing a specific 
certification area. He/she may 
not be issued another 
Temporary Certificate at the 
end of the three years for the 
same certification unless the 
Louisiana Department of 
Education designates the 
certification area as one that 
requires extensive hours for 
completion.) 

Districts may 
recommend that 
teachers be given one-
year temporary 
authorizations to teach 
according to the 
stipulated conditions.  
Districts must provide  
a signed affidavit by the 
local superintendent that 
"there is no regularly 
certified, competent, 
and suitable person 
available for that 
position" and that the 
applicant is the best 
qualified person for the 
position. 

c. Individual who holds a minimum of a 
baccalaureate degree from a regionally- 
accredited institution and who is hired 
after the start of the Practitioner Teacher 
Program 

Teacher must apply for admission to a Practitioner 
Teacher Program or other alternate program 
and pass the appropriate PRAXIS examinations 
required for admission to the program. 

Practitioner Teacher 
License 

 
One-year license that can be 
held a maximum of three years, 
renewable annually. 
 

The District and the 
alternate certification 
program provider must 
identify the individual 
as a practitioner teacher 
(PL1), a non-master's 
alternate certification 
program teacher (PL2), 
or a master’s alternate 
certification program 
teacher (PL3). 
 

Teacher must be admitted to and enrolled in a 
State-approved Practitioner Teacher Program 
(PL1), Non-Master's Alternate Certification 
Program (PL2), or Master's Degree Alternate 
Certification Program (PL3), which 
necessitates meeting all program requirements 
including baccalaureate degree, stipulated 
GPA, and passing scores on the Praxis PPST 
and content area exams.  

The alternate certification teacher (PL1, PL2, and 
PL3) must remain enrolled in the respective 
program and fulfill all coursework, teaching 
assignments, and prescribed activities as 
identified by the program provider. Program 
requirements must be completed within the 
three-year maximum that the license can be held. 
 
PL2 and PL3 teachers must demonstrate progress 
toward program requirements by successfully 
completing at least 9 semester hours each year to 
remain on the PL license. 

 
Out-of-Field Authorization  

to Teach 
 

(A teacher may hold a one-year 
Out-of-Field Authorization to 
Teach, renewable annually, for 
a maximum of three years.  
 
If the teacher is actively 
pursuing certification in the 
field and LDE designates the 
certification area as one 
requiring extensive hours for 
completion, two additional 
years of annual renewal may be 
granted.) 

District submits 
application to LDE; 
renewable annually for 
maximum of three 
years, with fee to be 
paid by the district.  
 
Superintendent of 
employing district must 
provide a signed 
statement that certifies 
that "there is no 
regularly certified, 
competent and suitable 
person available for the 
position" and that the 
applicant is the best-
qualified person 
available for the 
position. 

a. Individual holds a Louisiana teaching 
certificate, but is teaching outside of the 
certified area. 
 

Teacher must obtain a prescription/outline of course 
work required for add-on certification in the area 
of the teaching assignment. Teacher must successfully 
complete a minimum of six credit hours per year of 
courses that lead toward certification in the area in 
which he/she is teaching; or the secondary-certified 
teacher who is teaching out-of-field may opt to take 
and pass the required PRAXIS content specialty 
examination for the specific 7-12 academic 
certification area, if the area has been declared as a 
primary or secondary teaching focus area. The 
district must support a teacher's efforts in this area. 

Temporary Employment Permit 
 

Under condition (a) the 
district submits 
application to LDE; 
renewable annually. 
Under condition (b) the 
Individual submits 
application to LDE; 
renewable annually. 

a. Individual meets all certification 
requirements, with the exception of passing all 
portions of the NTE examination, but scores 
within ten percent of the composite score 
required for passage of all exams. (Currently 
classified as EP) 
 

Superintendent and President of the school board to 
which the individual has applied for employment 
must submit a signed affidavit to the LDE 
stipulating that there is no other applicant who has 
met all of the certification requirements 
available for employment for a specific teaching 
position. Such permit shall be in effect for not more 
than one year, but may be renewed. Such renewal of 
the permit shall be accomplished in the same manner 
as the granting of the original permit. The granting 
of such emergency teaching permit shall not waive 
the requirement that the person successfully 
complete the exam. 
 
While employed on an emergency teaching permit, 
employment period does not count toward tenure.  
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  b. Individual meets all certification 
requirements, with the exception of passing 
one of the components of the PRAXIS, but has 
an aggregate score equal to or above the total 
required on all tests. (Currently classified as 
TEP) 
 

Temporary Employment Permits are issued at the 
request of individuals. All application materials 
required for issuance of a regular certificate must be 
submitted to LDE with the application for issuance of 
a TEP. An individual can be re-issued a permit three 
times only if evidence is presented that the 
required test has been retaken within one year from 
the date the permit was last issued. Beginning with 
the fifth year, additional documentation must be 
submitted by the employing district. 

Standard Teaching Certifications 
Out of State Certificate Individual submits 

application to LDE; 
valid for three years, 
non-renewable. 

a. A teacher certified in another state who 
meets all requirements for a Louisiana 
certificate, except for the PRAXIS 
examinations. 
 

Teacher must take and pass the appropriate PRAXIS 
examinations 

-or- 
Teacher provides evidence of at least four years of 
successful teaching experience in another state, 
completes one year of employment as a teacher in 
Louisiana public school systems, and secures 
recommendation of the local superintendent of 
the employing school system for continued 
employment. 

Professional Level Certificates  
(effective for all new certificates issued after July 1, 2002) 

Level 1 Professional Certificate 
(Three-year term) 

Teachers must graduate from a State-approved teacher preparation 
program (traditional or alternative path), pass PRAXIS, and be 
recommended by a university to receive a Level 1 Professional Certificate. 

-or- 
Teacher must complete a State-approved Practitioner Teacher Program, 
pass PRAXIS, and be recommended by the Practitioner Teacher Program 
provider to receive a Level 1 Professional Certificate. 

-or- 
Teacher must meet the requirements of an out-of-state certified teacher. 

A lapsed Level 1 certificate may be extended once for 
an additional three years, subject to the approval of 
the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and 
Certification or upon the presentation of six semester 
hours of resident, extension, or correspondence credit 
directly related to the area of certification. However, 
if the holder of the Level 1 certificate has not been 
employed regularly as a teacher for at least one 
semester during a period of five years, his 
certificate can be reinstated for three years only 
upon the presentation of 150 hours of professional 
development. 

Level 2 Professional Certificate Teachers with a Level 1 Professional Certificate must pass the 
Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program and teach for three 
years to receive a Level 2 Professional Certificate. 

Teachers must complete 150 clock hours of 
professional development over a five-year time 
period in order to have a Level 2 Professional 
License renewed.  

Level 3 Professional Certificate Teachers with a Level 1 or Level 2 Certificate are eligible for a 
Level 3 Certificate if they complete a Masters Degree, teach for 
five years, and pass the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program. 

Teachers must complete 150 clock hours of 
professional development over a five-year time 
period in order to have a Level 3 Professional 
License renewed.  

Standard Teaching Certificates 
(issued prior to July 1, 2002) 

Type C Certificate Type C certificates will not be issued after July 1, 2002. 
Type B Certificate 
Type A Certificate 

Candidates currently holding Type A or Type B certificates will continue to hold these certificates, which are valid for life, 
provided the holder does not allow any period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue and/or the 
certificate is not revoked by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, acting in accordance with law. 

Process for Renewing Lapsed Professional Certificates 
Type C, B, and A Certificates 

Type B and Type A certificates will lapse for disuse if the holder thereof allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which he is not 
a regularly employed teacher for at least one semester (90 consecutive days). Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall be made only on evidence 
that the holder has earned six semester hours of resident, extension, or correspondence credit in courses approved by the Division of 
Teacher Standards, Assessment, and Certification or a dean of a Louisiana college of education. The six semester credit hours of extension 
must be earned during the five-year period immediately preceding reinstatement. 
A lapsed Type C certificate may be renewed for an additional three years, subject to the approval of the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, 
and Certification or upon the presentation of six semester hours of credit directly related to the area(s) of certification. Such credit hours 
hall be resident, extension, or correspondence credit in courses approved by the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and 
Certification or a dean of a Louisiana college of education. However, if the holder of a Type C certificate has not been employed regularly 
as a teacher for at least one semester during a period of five years, his certificate can be reinstated for three years only upon the presentation 
of the six semester hours of credit as described previously in the paragraph. 
 

Level 2 and Level 3 Certificates 
Level 2 and Level 3 professional certificates will lapse (a) for disuse if the holder thereof allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which he 
is not a regularly employed teacher for at least one semester [90 consecutive days], or (b) if the holder fails to complete the required number of professional 
development hours during his employ. Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall be made only on evidence that the holder has earned six semester 
hours of resident, extension, or correspondence credit in courses approved by the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and Certification or a dean 
of a Louisiana college of education. The six semester credit hours of extension must be earned during the five-year period immediately preceding 
reinstatement. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#017 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School PersonnelCPrimary and Secondary Teaching 

Focus Areas for Grades 7-12 Certification  
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy revises certification titles for 
secondary (7-12) primary and secondary teaching focus 
areas to reflect the update of vocational categories to career 
and technical categories. This policy also provides an option 
for a single primary focus of social studies in secondary 
teacher education undergraduate programs, using the full 50 
hours allowed for both the primary and the secondary 
teaching focus area in other programs. The change of 
vocational education categories to career and technical 
categories necessitates a revision in the certification titles 
used in Louisiana. The single teaching focus for social 
studies undergraduate programs will allow for the full 
breadth of knowledge needed, with coursework to be 
distributed across civics/government, history (world, 
American, Louisiana), economics, and geography (physical 
and cultural systems). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29:1077 (July 2003). 

* * * 
Primary and Secondary Teaching (Focus) Areas 

for Grades 7-12 Certification 
Within the new certification structure that has been 

approved by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, every secondary teacher in Louisiana must have a 
primary and a secondary focus area. The following areas are 
approved primary focus areas, to include a minimum of 31 
semester hours of credit: 

Agriculture; Business; Computer Science; 
Marketing; English; French; Spanish; Latin; 
German; Family and Consumer Sciences; 
Technology Education; Mathematics; General 
Science; Biology; Chemistry; Earth Science; 
Physics; Environmental Science; Speech; and 
Social Studies. 

The following areas are approved secondary focus areas, 
to include a minimum of 19 semester hours of credit: 

Business; Computer Science; Marketing; English; 
French; Spanish; Latin; German; Journalism; 
Mathematics; Biology; Chemistry; Earth Science; 
Physics; Environmental Science; Speech; and 
Social Studies. 
 

Primary and Secondary Teaching (Focus) Areas 
for Grades 7-12 Certification 

Certification 
Area 

Primary 
31 

Hours 

Secondary 
19 

Hours 
Comment 

Agriculture  ▲    
Business  ▲ ▲   
Computer 
Science ▲ ▲ 

  

Marketing ▲ ▲   
English ▲ ▲   
Foreign 
Languages   

  

French ▲ ▲   
Spanish ▲ ▲   

Latin ▲ ▲   
German ▲ ▲   

Family & 
Consumer 
Sciences ▲  

  

Technology 
Education ▲  

  

Journalism  ▲   
Mathematics ▲ ▲   
Science   

General 
Science ▲  
Biology ▲ ▲ 

Chemistry ▲ ▲ 
Earth 

Science ▲ ▲ 
Physics ▲ ▲ 

Environmental 
Science ▲ ▲ 

If a candidate pursues 
General Science as a 
primary teaching area, 
then the specific science 
area hours (e.g., 
Biology, Chemistry, 
etc.) would also apply to 
the required secondary 
focus hours in that 
specific field. 

Speech ▲ ▲   
Social Studies* ▲ ▲   
Note: If a university determines that hours beyond the required hours are 
needed for a specific primary (31) or secondary (19) teaching area, then 
the university may use portions of the flexible hours within the 124 total 
hours to address that need. 
*Institutions of higher education may opt to design social studies teacher 
preparation programs with only a primary teaching focus area, 
dedicating the entire 50 semester hours of content specialty preparation 
to coursework in civics/government, history (world, American, 
Louisiana), economics, and geography (physical and cultural systems). 

 
Weegie Peabody  
Executive Director 

0307#018 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCNon-Master's 

Certification-Only Alternate Program 
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
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LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy revises the Non-
Master's/Certification-Only Program description to include 
student teaching as an option to internship, to include 
program prescription as an option to individualized 
prescription, and to extend the implementation date for this 
program to Summer Semester 2003. This policy provides 
options to expand the possibilities for alternate certification 
candidates and for the providers who will offer approved 
programs. It also extends the implementation deadline for 
this program by one semester.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29:1078 (July 2003). 

* * * 
Non-Masters/Certification-Only Program 

Alternative Path to Certification 
Adopted December 2002 

This program is designed to serve those candidates who 
may not elect participation in or be eligible for certification 
under either the Practitioner Teacher Alternate Certification 
Program or the Master's Degree Alternate Certification 
Program. The program may also be accessible in some areas 
of the state in which the other alternate certification 
programs are not available. A college or university may offer 
this program only in those certification areas in which that 
institution has a state-approved teacher education program. 
Non-Master's/ Certification-Only Programs may offer 
certification in PK-3, 1-6, 4-8, 7-12, or Mild-Moderate 
Special Education. 
Admission to the Program 

To be admitted, individuals should: 
1. possess a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited university; 
2. have a 2.2 GPA, or higher, on undergraduate 

coursework. (An overall 2.5 GPA is required for 
certification. Those candidates with a GPA lower than 2.5 
may have to take additional courses in the program to 
achieve a 2.5 GPA.); 

3. pass the PRAXIS Pre-Professional Skills Test 
(PPST); and 

4. pass the PRAXIS content-specific subject area 
examination: 

a. Candidates for PK-3 (regular and special 
education): pass the Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014) specialty exam; 

b. Candidates for Grades 1-6 (regular and special 
education): pass the Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014) specialty exam; 

c. Candidates for Grades 4-8 (regular and special 
education): pass the Middle School Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0146) specialty exam; 

d. Candidates for Grades 7-12 (regular and special 
education): pass the content specialty examination(s) (e.g. 
English, Mathematics, etc.) on the PRAXIS in the content 
area(s) in which they intend to teach. 
Program Requirements 

This program will provide the same rigor as other 
certification routes provided by aligning with such 
empirically-based standards as National Council for the 
Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), Interstate 
New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium 
(INTASC), Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching 
(LCET), and the Louisiana Content Standards. This program 
will also emphasize collaboration between the university and 
the school districts in order to share and exchange strategies, 
techniques, and methodologies; and integrate field-based 
experiences into the curriculum. 
Program Structure 
 
1. Knowledge of Learner and the Learning Environment* 12 hours 
GRADES PK-3, 1-6, 4-8, and 7-12:  
Child/adolescent development/psychology, the diverse learner, classroom 
management/organization/environment, assessment, instructional design, 
and reading/instructional strategies that are content- and level-appropriate. 
MILD/MODERATE SPECIAL EDUCATION 1-12: 
Special needs of the mild/moderate exceptional child, classroom 
management, behavioral management, assessment and evaluation, methods 
and materials for mild/moderate exceptional children, vocational and 
transition services for students with disabilities. 

*All courses for regular and special education will integrate 
effective teaching components, content standards, technology, 
reading, and portfolio development. Field-based experiences will 
be embedded in each course. 

2. Methodology and Teaching 6 hours 
 Methods courses to include case studies and field experiences 
3. Internship or Student Teaching 6 hours 
 Will include methodology seminars that are participant-oriented 
4. Prescriptive Plan 
 The prescriptive plan can be pre-planned courses for individual 

programs or individualized courses for the candidate who demonstrates 
areas of need, not to exceed 9 semester hours. 

TOTAL 24-33 hours 
 
Certification Requirements 

Colleges or universities will submit signed statements to 
the Louisiana Department of Education that indicate the 
student completing the Non-Master's/Certification-Only 
alternative certification path met the following requirements. 

1. Passed the PPST components of the PRAXIS. 
(Note: This test was required for admission.) 

2. Completed all coursework (including the 
certification program) with an overall 2.5 or higher GPA. 

3. Passed the specialty examination (PRAXIS) for the 
area(s) of certification. 

a. Grades PK-3: Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge specialty exam (Note: This test was required for 
admission.) 

b. Grades 1-6: Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge specialty examination (Note: This test was 
required for admission.) 

c. Grades 4-8: Middle School Education: Content 
Knowledge specialty examination (Note: This test was 
required for admission.) 
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d. Grades 7-12: Specialty content test in areas to be 
certified. (Note: This test or 31 semester hours of 
coursework specific to the content area was required for 
admission.) 

e. Mild/Moderate Special Education 1-12: Special 
Education  

4. Passed the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
examination (PRAXIS)  

a. Grades PK-3: Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 

b. Grades 1-6: Principles of Learning and Teaching 
K-6 

c. Grades 4-8: Principles of Learning and Teaching 
5-9 

d. Grades 7-12: Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 7-12 

 
Universities offering the Non-Master's/Certification-Only alternative 
certification option are required to begin implementation of the newly 
adopted paths during or before Summer 2003. 

No students should be accepted into the "old" post-baccalaureate alternate 
certification program after Spring Semester 2003.  Candidates already in the 
"old" alternative certification program would be given until August 2006 to 
complete their programs. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#019 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School PersonnelCPolicy for Allowing the State to  
Act as a Private Provider for Alternate Certification 

(LAC 28:I:903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy sets conditions under which the 
Teacher Certification and Higher Education section of the 
Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment and Certification 
of the Louisiana Department of Education may act as a 
private provider for alternate certification of teacher 
education candidates. By providing options for individuals 
who meet the stated criteria, the state would provide timely 
solutions to problems that impede candidates' completion of 
alternate programs, thus facilitating the certification efforts 
of those candidates. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A.  Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29:1079 (July 2003). 

* * * 
Policy for the State to Act as a Private Provider in 

Offering Alternate Certification Opportunities 
The Teacher Certification and Higher Education section, 

Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment and 
Certification, Louisiana Department of Education, may act 
as a private alternate certification program provider in 
directing certification efforts of candidates who meet the 
following criteria: 

1. have no more than six semester hours of 
coursework remaining in an approved alternate certification 
program; 

2. have accumulated three years of successful 
experience in the area of certification, which can be used to 
waive the student teaching or internship segment of the 
program; and 

3. have experienced difficulty in completing 
requirements of the alternate program, through no fault of 
their own. 

 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#020 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCPolicy for  
Teacher Education Program Private Providers  

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy revises the "Part I, Application 
for Certificates, Louisiana Applicants" and "Part II, New 
Certification Structure, Recommended Changes" sections of 
Bulletin 746 to include non-institutional providers for the 
Practitioner Teacher Program and to include the state, acting 
as a private provider. This policy provides options for 
approved non-institutional, or private, providers to offer the 
Practitioner Teacher Program alternate route to certification. 
It also specifies that the state may act as a private provider 
under conditions approved by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990-991 
(May 2002), LR 29:1079 (July 2003). 

* * * 
Application for Certificates 

 Louisiana Applicants 
An applicant, in order to be eligible for initial 

certification, shall do his work in teacher education 
programs approved by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education for the education of teachers. 
Therefore, institutions* engaged in the preparation of 
teachers are to provide recommendations for certification of 
their students. Other institutional* provider services shall 
include the following: 

1. initial processing of the certificate application; 
2. processing an official transcript; 
3. providing an original NTE/PRAXIS score report, if 

score has not been electronically transmitted to the State 
Department of Education by Educational Testing Service; 

4. submitting a Professional Conduct Form; and 
5. transmitting the application packet and official 

transcript to the Office of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education in the State Department of Education. 

The application shall include the following: 
1. the signature of the dean of education, or the head 

of the unit that administers the approved teacher education 
curriculum, certifying that the applicant has graduated from 
or has completed an approved curriculum in teacher 
education. For an undergraduate secondary teacher 
education program, the application for certification must 
also bear the signature of the dean or head of the unit 
offering each of the certification area subjects in an 
institution of higher education; 

2. the signature of the registrar certifying that the 
applicant has attained a scholastic standing that is acceptable 
for graduation from the institution. The transcript on which a 
certificate is based becomes the property of the state and 
must be kept in the files of the State Department of 
Education. No certificate for teaching in Louisiana may be 
issued to any person whose license has been revoked in any 
other state. 

The issuance of regular certificates authorizing the holder 
to teach in the elementary and secondary schools of 
Louisiana is based upon the completion of an approved 
teacher education program for the type of certification 
sought. One expecting to be certified as a teacher should 
attend a college or university* with an approved program. 

Colleges and universities* may recommend for 
certification only those who have completed all requirements 
of an approved teacher education program at the institution. 

*For the Practitioner Teacher alternate teacher 
certification program only, private providers approved 
by the state may offer a program leading to the 
certification of teachers.  
*The state may act as a private provider under 
conditions approved by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 

New Certification Structure 
Recommended Changes Mandatory July 2002 

The universities* must recommend that teachers be issued 
Level 1 Teaching Certificates when they have met state 

certification requirements. The universities* will be held 
accountable for the success of the teachers that they 
recommend for certification. 

This would eliminate the need for the Louisiana 
Department of Education to count hours on transcripts and 
allow the department to become more involved in providing 
support to universities* to improve the quality of teacher 
preparation programs. (Note: The Louisiana Department of 
Education would still continue to review transcripts and 
issue certificates to out-of-state teachers.) 

This change in the certification structure will allow 
teachers to develop more content knowledge in the grade 
levels in which they are expected to teach and provide them 
with more flexible hours to add special education and other 
grade levels to their certification areas. This would allow 
new teachers to be certified in one or two areas when 
completing a 124-credit-hour undergraduate degree program. 

All new teachers will be required to receive mentoring 
during the first year of the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program. New teachers will undergo the 
assessment during the second year. 

All teachers will be required to pass teacher assessment 
and teach for a total of three years before being issued a 
Level 2 teaching certificate. 

All teachers holding Level 2 and Level 3 certificates will 
be required to undergo a predetermined amount of 
professional development during a five-year time period in 
order to have their teaching certificates renewed for five 
years. The Blue Ribbon Commission on Teacher Quality will 
develop the details for the professional development system 
during the 2000-2002 school years. 

*For the Practitioner Teacher alternate teacher 
certification program only, private providers 
approved by the state may offer a program 
leading to the certification of teachers.  
*The state may act as a private provider under 
conditions approved by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#022 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1573CComplaint Management Procedures 
(LAC 28:LXI.Chapters 1-5) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1573, Complaint 
Management Procedures, LAC 28:LXI, The codification of 
Bulletin 1573, Complaint Management Procedures, R.S. 
17:1941 et seq., will not change the regulations previously 
adopted by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education. The change will simply render the rules and 
regulations into code in accordance with Louisiana law. The 
codification of existing Rules is required to have the rules 
and regulations incorporated into Louisiana Code. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXI.  Bulletin 1573–Complaint Management 
Procedures 

Chapter 1. Terms, Purpose and Mandates 
§101. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following words and 
phrases have the meaning ascribed to them in this 
Subsection unless a different meaning is plainly required by 
the context. 

BESECthe State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education. 

Bulletin 1706: Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities ActCLouisiana's Law for 
Children with Exceptionalities. 

Child AdvocateCan individual or group established to 
promote the interests and rights of children, especially 
children with exceptionalities. 

Child with an ExceptionalityCa child evaluated in 
accordance with state regulations who is determined to be 
gifted, talented, emotionally disturbed, learning disabled, 
hard of hearing, deaf, deaf-blind, speech impaired, severe 
language disordered, autistic, visually impaired, multi-
disabled, orthopedically disabled, traumatic brain injured, or 
other health impaired. 

ComplainantCthe individual(s) or organization that files 
a complaint with the State Department of Education on 
behalf of a child with an exceptionality. This complainant 
may be a parent, guardian, student, surrogate parent, child 
advocate or other individual or an organization. 

ComplaintCan allegation that an educational agency has 
violated a requirement of federal or state laws and 
regulations, policies, rights, procedural safeguards or 
program standards adopted by the BESE. 

DSPCDivision of Special Populations. 
Local Educational Agency (LEA)Ca public board of 

education or other public authority legally constituted within 
a state for either administrative control or direction of, or to 
perform a service function for, public elementary or 
secondary schools in a city, county, township, school district, 
or other political subdivision of a state, or for such 
combination of school districts or counties as are recognized 
in a state as an administrative agency for its public 
elementary or secondary schools including an educational 
service agency or other public institution or agency having 
administrative control and direction of a public elementary 
or secondary school, including a public charter school that is 
established as an LEA under the state law. 

State Department of Education (SDE)Cthe State 
Department of Education or other agency or officer 
primarily responsible for the state supervision of public 
elementary and secondary schools; or, if there is no such 
officer or agency, an officer or agency designated by the 
Governor or by state law [Referred to in the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (ACT) as State Educational 
Agency (SEA)]. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1081 (July 2003). 
§103. Purpose and Mandates 

A. The purpose of the Complaint Management System is 
to meet the mandates of federal and state laws and 

regulations that require a mechanism to field, investigate and 
resolve issues regarding the provision of special education 
and related services to children with exceptionalities or those 
children suspected of having exceptionalities. 

B. Federal Mandates 
1. 20 U.S.C. Chapter 33 Subchapter 1CGeneral 

Provisions [Public Law 105-17, Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA)]. 

a. Section 1412 (a) (11): "State Educational Agency 
Responsible for General Supervision." In general the state 
educational agency is responsible for ensuring that: 
 i. the requirements of this part are met; and 
 ii. all educational programs for children with 
disabilities in the state, including all such programs 
administered by any other state or local agency: 

(a). are under the general supervision of 
individuals in the state who are responsible for educational 
programs for children with disabilities; and 

(b). meet the educational standards of the State 
Educational Agency. 

b. Limitation. Subparagraph a above shall not limit 
the responsibility of agencies in the state other than the State 
Educational Agency to provide, or pay for some or all of the 
costs of, a free appropriate public education for any child 
with a disability in the state. 

c. Exception. Notwithstanding Subparagraphs a and 
b, the governor (or another individual pursuant to state law), 
consistent with state law, may assign to any public agency in 
the state the responsibility of ensuring that the requirements 
of this part are met with respect to children with disabilities 
who are convicted as adults under state law and incarcerated 
in adult prisons. 

2. Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 
Section 1415 (b)(6). The procedures required by this Section 
shall include an opportunity to present complaints with 
respect to any matter relating to the identification, 
evaluation, or educational placement of the child, or the 
provision of a free appropriate public education (FAPE) to 
such child. 

3. 34 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 
300.660-662 

C. State Mandates 
1. The division of special populations shall have the 

following powers and duties: 
a. to receive and investigate complaints, to initiate 

its own investigations, and to conduct mediations and 
hearings with power of subpoena, on behalf of an individual 
child or group of children, regarding failure to comply with 
federal or state laws for children with exceptionalities; 

b. to investigate and conduct hearings upon 
evidence of denial of equal educational opportunities of 
children with exceptionalities as defined in this Chapter and 
to take such action as may be necessary to correct the 
situation; 

c. to investigate and conduct hearings upon 
evidence regarding failure to comply with federal or state 
laws and rules and regulations and to take such action as 
may be necessary to correct the situation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1081 (July 2003). 
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Chapter 3. General Provisions 
§301. Adoption of State Complaint Procedures 

A. Each SEA shall adopt written procedures for: 
1. resolution of any complaint, including a complaint 

filed by an organization or individual from another state, that 
meets the requirements of 34 CFR §300.662 by: 

a. providing for the filing of a complaint with the 
SEA; and 

b. at the SEA's discretion, providing for the filing of 
a complaint with a public agency and the right to have the 
SEA review the public agency's decision on the complaint; 
and 

2. widely disseminating to parents and other interested 
individuals, including parent training and information 
centers, protection and advocacy agencies, independent 
living centers, and other appropriate entities, the state's 
procedures under §§ 300.660-300.662. 

B. Remedies for Denial of Appropriate Services 
1. In resolving a complaint where a failure to provide 

appropriate services is found, an SEA, pursuant to its general 
supervisory authority under Part B of the Act, must address: 

a. how to remediate the denial of those services, 
including, as appropriate, the awarding of monetary 
reimbursement or other corrective action appropriate to the 
needs of the child; 

b. appropriate future provision of services for all 
children with disabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1082 (July 2003). 
§303. Minimum State Complaint Procedures 

A. Time Limit; Minimum Procedures. Each SEA shall 
include in its complaint procedures a time limit of 60 days 
after a complaint is filed under §300.660(a) to: 

1. carry out an independent on-site investigation, if 
the SEA determines that an investigation is necessary; 

2. give the complainant the opportunity to submit 
additional information, either orally or in writing about the 
allegations in the complaint; 

3. review all relevant information and make an 
independent determination as to whether the public agency 
is violating a requirement of Part B of the Act or of this Part; 
and 

4. issue a written decision to the complainant that 
addresses each allegation in the complaint and contains: 

a. findings of fact and conclusions; and 
b. the reasons for the SEA's final decision. 

B. Time Extension; Final Decision; Implementation. The 
SEA's procedures described in Subsection A of this Section 
also must: 

1. permit an extension of the time limit under 
Subclause (a) of this Section only if exceptional 
circumstances exist with respect to a particular complaint; 
and 

2. include procedures for effective implementation of 
the SEA's final decision, if needed, including: 

a. technical assistance activities; 
b. negotiations; and 
c. corrective actions to achieve compliance. 

C. Complaints and Due Process Hearings Filed under 
This Section.  

1. If a written complaint is received that is also the 
subject of a due process hearing under §300.507 or 
§§300.520-300.528, or contains multiple issues, of which 
one or more are part of that hearing, the state must set aside 
any part of the complaint that is being addressed in the due 
process hearing, until the conclusion of the hearing. 
However, any issue in the complaint that is not a part of the 
due process action must be resolved using the time limit and 
procedures described in Subclause (a) and (b) of this 
Section. 

2. If an issue is raised in a complaint filed under this 
section that has previously been decided in a due process 
hearing involving the same parties: 

a. the hearing decision is binding; and 
b. the SEA must inform the complainant to that 

effect. 
3. A complaint alleging a public agency's failure to 

implement a due process decision must be resolved by the 
SEA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1082 (July 2003). 
§305. Filing a Complaint 

A. Complaints may be filed by parents, students, child 
advocates, surrogate parents, other individuals or 
organizations. 

B. Complaints may be filed in writing, by telephone call 
or in person.  

C. The complaint must include: 
1. a statement that a public agency has violated a 

requirement of Part B of the Act or of this Part; 
2. the facts on which the statement is based; 
3. grievances that do not meet SDE complaint criteria 

are referred back to the complainants with recommendations 
for appropriate action to be taken. 

D. The complaint must allege a violation that occurred 
not more than one year prior to the date that the complaint is 
received in accordance with §300.660(a) unless a longer 
period is reasonable because the violation is continuing, or 
the complainant is requesting compensatory services for a 
violation that occurred not more than three years prior to the 
date the complaint is received under §300.660(a). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1082 (July 2003). 
§307. Complaint Criteria 

A, Complaints that will be considered for review and 
investigation are grievances which: 

1. allege that a local educational agency (LEA) which 
provides or is required to provide publicly funded special 
education is violating federal and/or state laws, regulations, 
policies, rights, procedural safeguards or program standards 
adopted by the BESE and administered by the SDE to assure 
FAPE to children with exceptionalities or children suspected 
of having exceptionalities; 

2. relate to the provision of special education and 
related services to children with exceptionalities or 
suspected of having exceptionalities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1082 (July 2003). 
Chapter 5. Complaint Intake and Investigative 

Procedures  
§501. Filing Complaints 

A. Complaints may be filed by parents, students, child 
advocates, surrogate parents, other individuals or 
organizations. Complaints may be filed in writing, by 
telephone call or in person. A complaint must include not 
only a statement that a local educational agency (LEA) has 
violated a requirement of federal/state law or regulation but 
also the facts upon which the statement has been based. 

B. Grievances that do not meet SDE complaint criteria 
are referred back to the complainants with recommendations 
for appropriate action to be taken. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1083 (July 2003). 
§503. Treatment of Complaints 

A. Upon receipt, the complaint is reviewed; the issues, 
rules and statutes that may have been violated are identified; 
and the investigatory procedure is determined. An 
investigation may consist of telephone contact, requests for 
submission of written documents, and/or an on-site 
investigation. 

B. Complaints may be resolved by telephone call(s) or 
other alternative methods such as negotiation, mediation, 
conciliation, facilitation, and arbitration. 

C. The attempt to resolve a dispute through the 
complaint management procedures does not preclude a 
person's right to a due process hearing. These processes are 
mutually exclusive. Complaint procedures may not be used 
to delay a person's right to a due process hearing. 

D. All complaints must be resolved within 60 calendar 
days of receipt unless an extension is granted. Request for 
extensions may be made by the complainant, the local 
educational agency (LEA), or the SDE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1083 (July 2003). 
§505. Complaint Intake Procedures Log (SCL) 

A. When a complaint is received and accepted by the 
SDE, the complaint is recorded in the SDE Complaint 
(SCL). 

B. A Complaint Record Form (CRF) is completed; 
contacts with the complainant are made as the investigation 
proceeds and are recorded on the complaint record form. The 
complainant has the opportunity to submit additional 
information, either orally or in writing, about the allegations 
in the complaint. This information is documented on the 
CRF with all other information pertinent to the investigation. 

C. The complainant is sent a letter within five business 
days of intake, indicating receipt of the complaint, stating 
the SDE representative handling the complaint and the intent 
to investigate and report findings within 60 calendar days. 

D. The local educational agency (LEA) is sent a letter 
within five business days of intake indicating receipt of the 
complaint, a statement of the issues involved, including the 
applicable statute and rule citation(s), the name of the SDE 
representative handling the complaint, and the timeline by 
which the LEA must respond to the complaint. 

E. The response from the local educational agency 
(LEA) should include either documentation to prove that the 
alleged violation did not take place or a plan of action to 
correct the violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1083 (July 2003). 
§507. Investigation Procedures 

A. Investigations may include written communication, 
telephone call(s) and/or on-site visits. During the course of 
an investigation, technical assistance consultations are 
provided, when appropriate, and the complainant is given 
the opportunity to submit additional information, either 
orally or in writing, about the allegations in the complaint. 

B. If it is determined that an on-site investigation is 
necessary, an on-site investigation will be scheduled and 
conducted with technical assistance provided as necessary. 
Notice will be provided to the school system prior to the on-
site investigation. 

C. In determining whether a complaint requires an on-
site investigation, the complaint investigator will consider, 
but not be limited to, the following conditions: 

1. whether there is a disagreement between the parties 
as to the presence or absence of a certain program, service, 
personnel or physical entity that cannot be verified by 
written documentation or telephone conversation. 

2. whether the written documentation requested and/or 
subsequent communication proves to be inconclusive in 
documenting the facts pertinent to the complaint. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1083 (July 2003). 
§509. Report of Findings 

A. The SDE reviews all relevant information and makes 
an independent determination as to whether the local 
educational agency (LEA) has violated any federal or state 
law(s), rule(s) or standard(s). 

B. A written report of findings is sent to the local 
educational agency (LEA) and the complainant. The report 
includes a statement of the complaint, the applicable statutes 
and rules, findings of fact, conclusions, technical assistance 
activities and corrective actions to achieve compliance. 

C. If corrective action is necessary, the local educational 
agency (LEA) must submit in writing to the SDE, according 
to timelines indicated by the SDE, a plan that includes the 
specific steps, material, personnel, and timelines required to 
resolve the complaint. 

D. This corrective action plan (CAP) is approved and 
monitored by the SDE with an on-site monitoring review 
conducted when necessary. 

E. When all appropriate documentation has been 
received by the SDE, the local educational agency (LEA) is 
sent written notification of complaint closure. 

F. The complaint is closed within a 60 calendar day 
period. 

G. The SDE closes the complaint in the SDE complaint 
log and files the complaint record with all appropriate 
documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1083 (July 2003). 
§511. Extension of Timelines 

A. Timelines may be extended only if exceptional 
circumstances exist with respect to a particular complaint. 
The complainant and the local educational agency (LEA) 
will be notified in writing of the need for an extension. 
Reasons for extensions may include, but are not limited to, 
circumstances such as listed below. 

1. The local educational agency (LEA) is unable to 
submit documentation within specified timelines because of 
school closing (i.e., vacation, holidays, natural disasters, 
school strike, malfunction in the school plant, etc.). 

2. The local educational agency (LEA) or parents are 
unable to respond to the report within the specific timelines 
because of illness, death, or other extenuating circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1084 (July 2003). 
§513. Enforcement Procedures 

A. Sixty calendar days after the filing of a complaint and 
the subsequent failure of the local education agency (LEA) 
to implement the corrective action plan as determined by the 
SDE, the Division of Special Populations may, barring an 
appeal of the findings by the affected LEA, recommend to 
the State Superintendent that a petition to withhold the 
LEA's funds be made to the BESE. 

B. In resolving a complaint in which it has found a 
failure to provide appropriate services, the SDE, pursuant to 
its general supervisory authority, must address: 

1. how to remediate the denial of those services, 
including as appropriate, the awarding of monetary 
reimbursement or other corrective action appropriate to the 
needs of the child; and 

2. appropriate future provision of services for all 
children with disabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:1084 (July 2003). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0307#023 
 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Motiva Enterprises Delisting Petition 
(LAC 33:V.Chapter 49)(HW079P) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Hazardous Waste regulations, 
LAC 33:V.Chapter 49.Appendix E (Log #HW079P). 

Motiva Enterprises LLC petitioned to exclude from the 
hazardous waste regulations (delist) residual solids resulting

from the thermal desorption recycling of oil-bearing 
secondary materials at the Norco Oil Recovery Facility in 
Norco, Louisiana. LAC 33:V.105.M allows a hazardous 
waste generator to petition the department for this kind of 
rulemaking when a listed hazardous waste does not meet any 
of the criteria that justified the original listing. Based on 
extensive testing, the department has determined that the 
nature of this material does not warrant retaining this 
material as a hazardous waste. The basis and rationale for 
this Rule are to grant the delisting petition based on the 
supporting documentation submitted by Motiva Enterprises 
of Norco, Louisiana. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality-

Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes 
Appendix E. Wastes Excluded under LAC 33:V.105.M 

 
Table E1 - Wastes Excluded 

Facility Address 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in DuPont Dow Elastomers  
LLC – Marathon Oil Co.] 

Facility Address 
Motiva Enterprises LLC Norco, LA 

Waste Description 
Residual solids, at a maximum annual generation rate of 10,000 
cubic yards per year (7,500 tons/year), are generated from the 
thermal desorption recycling of oil-bearing secondary materials 
resulting from petroleum processing operations, which are 
classified as newly generated EPA Hazardous Waste Number F037, 
petroleum refinery primary oil/water/solids separation sludge 
(effective February 8, 1999, per the updated definition promulgated 
on August 6, 1998, and the corrected definition dated June 8, 2000). 
For the purpose of this exclusion, oil-bearing hazardous secondary 
materials resulting from petroleum refining operations include EPA 
Hazardous Waste Numbers K048-K052, K169-K170, F037, and 
F038. The constituents of concern for F037 waste are listed as 
hexavalent chromium, lead, benzene, benzo(a)pyrene, and chrysene 
(see LAC 33:V.4901). Motiva must implement a testing and 
management program that meets the following conditions for the 
exclusion to be valid. 
(1). Testing 
Sample collection and analyses, including quality control (QC) 
procedures, must be performed according to methodologies 
described in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication Number SW-846, as 
incorporated by reference in LAC 33:V.110.  
(1)(A). Inorganic Testing 
During the first 12 months of this exclusion, Motiva must collect 
and analyze a monthly composite sample of the residual solids. 
Composite samples must be composed of a minimum of two 
representative grab samples from each operating day during a 
representative week of operation. The samples must be analyzed for 
the constituents listed in condition (3)(A) prior to disposal of the 
residual solids. Motiva must report to the department the unit 
operating conditions and analytical data (reported in milligrams per 
liter) for antimony, arsenic, barium, chromium, lead, mercury, 
nickel, selenium, silver, vanadium, and zinc, including quality 
control information. If the department and Motiva concur that the 
analytical results obtained during the 12 monthly testing periods 
have been significantly below the delisting levels in condition 
(3)(A), then Motiva may replace the inorganic testing required in 
condition (1)(A) with the inorganic testing required in condition 
(1)(B). Condition (1)(A) shall remain effective until this 
concurrence is reached. 
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(1)(B). Subsequent Inorganic Testing 
Following concurrence by the department, Motiva may substitute 
the following testing conditions for those in condition (1)(A). 
Motiva must continue to monitor operating conditions and analyze 
quarterly composite samples representative of normal operations. 
The samples must be composed of representative grab samples 
from each operating day during a representative week of operation, 
during the first month of each quarterly period. These quarterly 
representative composite samples must be analyzed for the 
constituents listed in condition (3)(A) prior to disposal of the 
residual solids. If delisting levels for any inorganic constituents 
listed in condition (3)(A) are exceeded in the quarterly sample, 
Motiva must re-institute testing as required in condition (1)(A). 
Motiva may, at its discretion, analyze composite samples gathered 
more frequently to demonstrate that smaller batches of waste are 
nonhazardous. 
(1)(C). Organic Testing 
During the first 12 months of this exclusion, Motiva must collect 
and analyze two monthly grab samples of the residual solids. These 
two representative grab samples should be collected on different 
operating days during a representative week of operation. The 
samples must be analyzed for the constituents listed in condition 
(3)(B) prior to disposal of the residual solids. Motiva must report to 
the department the unit operating conditions and analytical data 
(reported in milligrams per liter) for anthracene, benzene, toluene, 
xylenes, carbon disulfide, chrysene, naphthalene, and pyrene, 
including quality control information. If the department and Motiva 
concur that the analytical results obtained during the 12 monthly 
testing periods have been significantly below the delisting levels in 
condition (3)(B), then Motiva may replace the organic testing 
required in condition (1)(C) with the organic testing required in 
condition (1)(D). Condition (1)(C) shall remain effective until this 
concurrence is reached. 
(1)(D). Subsequent Organic Testing 
Following concurrence by the department, Motiva may substitute 
the following testing conditions for those in condition (1)(C). 
Motiva must continue to monitor operating conditions and analyze 
two annual grab samples representative of normal operations. The 
samples must be representative grab samples from different 
operating days during a representative week of operation, during 
the first month of each annual period. These annual representative 
grab samples must be analyzed for the constituents listed in 
condition (3)(B) prior to disposal of the residual solids. If delisting 
levels for any organic constituents listed in condition (3)(B) are 
exceeded in the annual sample, Motiva must re-institute testing as 
required in condition (1)(C). Motiva may, at its discretion, analyze 
grab samples gathered more frequently to demonstrate that smaller 
batches of waste are nonhazardous. 
(2). Waste Holding and Handling 
Motiva must store as hazardous wastes all residual solids generated 
until each batch has completed verification testing, as specified in 
conditions (1)(A)-(1)(D), and has satisfied the delisting criteria, as 
specified in condition (3). If the levels of constituents in the 
samples of residual solids are below all of the applicable levels set 
forth in condition (3), then the residual solids thereby become 
nonhazardous solid wastes and may be managed and disposed of in 
accordance with all applicable solid waste regulations. If hazardous 
constituent levels in any monthly composite or other representative 
sample equal or exceed any of the delisting levels set in condition 
(3), the residual solids generated during the corresponding period 
must be retreated and/or stabilized as allowed below until the 
residual solids meet the delisting levels, or managed and disposed 
of in accordance with Subtitle C of RCRA. If the residual solids 
contain leachable inorganic concentrations at or above the delisting 
levels set forth in condition (3)(A), then Motiva may stabilize the 
material with Type 1 portland cement and/or hydrated lime as 
demonstrated in the petition to immobilize the metals. Following 
stabilization, Motiva must repeat analyses in condition (3)(A) prior 
to disposal. 

 

(3). Delisting Levels 
Concentrations in conditions (3)(A) and (3)(B) must be measured 
in the extract from the samples by the method specified in LAC 
33:V.4903.E. All leachable concentrations in the extract must be 
less than the following levels (all units are milligrams per liter). 
(3)(A). Inorganic Constituents  
AntimonyC0.50; ArsenicC0.50; BariumC50.0; ChromiumC0.50; 
LeadC0.50; MercuryC0.05; NickelC5.0; SeleniumC1.0; 
SilverC0.5; VanadiumC1.6; Zinc - 50.0. 
(3)(B). Organic Constituents  
AnthraceneC0.20; BenzeneC0.10; Carbon disulfideC4.8; 
ChryseneC0.05; NaphthaleneC0.05; PyreneC0.05; TolueneC0.10; 
XylenesC0.10. 
(4). Changes in Operating Conditions  
If Motiva significantly changes the operating conditions specified 
in the petition, Motiva must notify the department in writing. 
Following receipt of written approval by the department, Motiva 
must re-institute the testing required in conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) 
for a minimum of four months. Motiva must report unit operating 
conditions and test data required by conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C), 
including quality control data, obtained during this period no later 
than 60 days after the changes take place. Following written 
notification by the department, Motiva may replace testing 
conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) with (1)(B) and (1)(D). Motiva must 
fulfill all other requirements in condition (1).  
(4)(A). Processing Equipment 
Motiva may elect to change thermal desorption processing 
equipment based on operational performance and economic 
considerations. In the event that Motiva changes operating 
equipment, i.e., generic thermal desorption units, Motiva must re-
institute processing and initiate testing required in conditions 
(1)(A) and (1)(C) for a minimum of four months. Motiva must 
report unit operating conditions and test data required in conditions 
(1)(A) and (1)(C), including quality control data, obtained during 
this period, no later than 60 days after the changes take place. 
Following written notification by the department, Motiva may 
replace testing conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) with (1)(B) and (1)(D). 
Motiva must fulfill all other requirements in condition (1). 
(4)(B). Batch Processing 
Motiva may periodically elect to change operating conditions to 
accommodate batch processing of single-event waste generations. 
In the event that Motiva initiates batch processing and changes the 
operating conditions established under condition (1), Motiva must 
re-institute the testing required in conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) 
during such batch processing events, monitor unit operating 
conditions, and perform testing required by conditions (1)(A) and 
(1)(C), as appropriate. Following the completion of batch 
processing operations, Motiva must return to the operating 
conditions applicable prior to initiation of the batch processing and 
may return to the testing conditions that were applicable prior to the 
initiation of the batch processing activities. 
(5). Data Submittal 
Motiva must notify the department, in writing, at least two weeks 
prior to initiating condition (1)(A). All data obtained to fulfill 
condition (1) must be submitted to the Assistant Secretary of the 
Office of Environmental Services, LDEQ, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70810, within 60 days after each sampling event. 
Records of operating conditions and analytical data from condition 
(1) must be compiled, summarized, and maintained on-site for a 
minimum of three years. These records and data must be furnished 
upon request by the department and made available for inspection. 
Failure to submit the required data within the specified time period 
or failure to maintain the required records on-site for the specified 
time shall be considered by the department, at its discretion, 
sufficient basis to revoke the exclusion. All data must be 
accompanied by a signed copy of the following certification 
statement to attest to the truth and accuracy of the data submitted. 
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"I certify under penalty of law that I have personally examined and 
am familiar with the information submitted in this demonstration 
and all attached documents, and that, based on my inquiry of those 
individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the information, 
I believe that the submitted information is true, accurate, and 
complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment. In the event that any of this information is 
determined by the department, in its sole discretion, to be false, 
inaccurate, or incomplete, and upon conveyance of this fact to the 
company, I recognize and agree that this exclusion of waste will be 
void as if it never had been in effect, or to the extent directed by the 
department, and that the company will be liable for any actions 
taken in contravention of the company’s environmental obligations 
under the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act premised upon the 
company’s reliance on the void exclusion." 
(6). Reopener Language 
If, at any time after disposal of the delisted waste, Motiva possesses 
or is otherwise made aware of any environmental data (including 
but not limited to, leachate data or groundwater monitoring data) or 
any other data relevant to the delisted waste indicating that any 
constituent identified in the delisting verification testing is at a 
level higher than the delisting level allowed by the department in 
granting the petition, Motiva must report the data, in writing, to the 
department within 10 days of first possessing or being made aware 
of that data. If the testing of the waste, as required by condition (1), 
does not meet the delisting requirements of condition (3), Motiva 
must report the data, in writing, to the department within 10 days of 
first possessing or being made aware of that data. Based on the 
information described herein and any other information received 
from any source, the department will make a preliminary 
determination as to whether the reported information requires that 
the department take action to protect human health or the 
environment. Further action may include suspending or revoking 
the exclusion, or other appropriate response necessary to protect 
human health and the environment. If the department determines 
that the reported information does require departmental action, the 
department will notify the facility, in writing, of the action believed 
necessary to protect human health and the environment. The notice 
shall include a statement of the proposed action and a statement 
providing Motiva with an opportunity to present information as to 
why the proposed action is not necessary. Motiva shall have 10 
days from the date of the department's notice to present such 
information. Following the receipt of information from Motiva, or 
if no such information is received within 10 days, the department 
will issue a final written determination describing the departmental 
actions that are necessary to protect human health or the 
environment. Any required action described in the department's 
determination shall become effective immediately, unless the 
department provides otherwise. 
(7). Notification Requirements 
Motiva must provide a one-time written notification to any state 
regulatory agency in a state to which or through which the delisted 
waste described above will be transported, at least 60 days prior to 
the commencement of such activities. Failure to provide 
notification will result in a violation of the delisting conditions and 
a possible revocation of the decision to delist. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality LR 20:1000 (September 1994), amended by 
the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:830 (September 
1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 23:952 (August 1997), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
25:2397 (December 1999), LR 26:2509 (November 2000), LR 
29:1084 (July 2003). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0307#034 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters 

Examinations  
(LAC 46:XXI.301 and 309) 

In accordance with R.S. 37:2554 and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana Board of 
Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, has amended 
the Rules relative to the examination grading procedure. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXI.  Certified Shorthand Reporters  

Chapter 3. Examinations 
§301. Applications for Examinations 

A. Examinations shall be held at such times and places 
as the board may designate. 

B. Applications must be received by the board at least 30 
days prior to the examination date.  

C. Applicant must furnish a diploma, official transcript 
or certificate from a licensed court reporting school that he 
has passed a qualifying test consisting of five minutes of 
two-voice Q and A at 225 wpm with 95 percent accuracy 
within one year prior to application to the board for 
examination; or a CSR certificate from another state issued 
with a minimum requirement of 225 wpm; or participate in a 
equivalent qualifying test administered by the board on a 
date designated by the board. An application fee of $25 shall 
be paid to the board by the applicant participating in a 
qualifying test administered by the board, which fee shall be 
refundable to the applicant upon completion of the 
qualifying test. An applicant who fails to timely appear for 
the qualifying examination by the board shall be deemed to 
have abandoned the application and shall forfeit the 
application fee for said qualifying test. Proof of passing said 
qualifying test must accompany the application for 
examination. 

1. After passing any segment, the applicant must sit 
without exception for each examination thereafter 
administered by the board until all three segments have been 
passed. 

2. Should the applicant fail to take any segments, 
applicant must either: 

a. take a qualifying examination given by the board; 
or 

b. appear before the board with an explanation for 
not taking the exam, the validity of which explanation will 
be determined by the board in its sole discretion. 

3. If the applicant fails to appear for any examination 
administered by the board and does not thereafter either: 

a. pass a qualifying test administered by the board; 
or 

b. present to the board a valid reason for failing to 
appear for the examination, then the passed segments of the 
skills test will expire before the date of the next examination 
following the examination for which the applicant failed to 
appear, and applicant will be required to pass all three 
segments. 
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4. If applicant does not pass all three segments of the 
skills examination within a three-year period, beginning the 
last day of the month in which any segment was first passed, 
applicant will be required to pass a qualifying examination 
administered by the board. If applicant fails the qualifying 
examination, the passed segments will expire. 

D. Applicants who have been found to be qualified for 
the examination shall be notified in writing of the time and 
place of their assigned examination. 

E. An applicant who fails to timely appear for 
examination after being notified of eligibility shall be 
deemed to have abandoned the application and shall forfeit 
the application fee. In order again to become eligible for an 
examination, such person shall file a new application and 
otherwise comply in all respects with the provisions of the 
Act and these regulations in the same manner as required of 
an original applicant.  

F. An applicant who commences but does not finish the 
examination or who otherwise fails such examination shall 
not be eligible for any future examination except upon 
complying in all respects with the provisions of the Act and 
these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters,  
LR 9:678 (October 1983), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters, LR 14:530 (August 1988), LR 16:393 (May 
1990), LR 17:578 (June 1991), LR 19:1537 (December 1993), LR 
27:183 (February 2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters LR 29:1086 
(July 2003). 
§309. Grading of Examination 

A. Each candidate's examination will be graded on the 
basis of his ability to accurately transcribe his notes, the time 
occupied in the transcription, his knowledge of court 
reporting procedure, and its related terminology, spelling, 
and punctuation, and the general style of the transcript. 

B. Seventy-five percent accuracy is required on the 
written knowledge test with a maximum of 25 errors. 

C. The maximum number of errors allowed to pass the 
dictated and transcribed portions of the skills test is 57 errors 
on the Q and A portion; 50 errors on the jury charge portion; 
and 45 errors on the literary portion. 

D. If the examinee passes the written knowledge portion 
of the test but fails the dictated and transcribed portions; he 
will be exempt from taking the written knowledge portion of 
all subsequent tests. 

E. If an examinee passes any segments of the skills test, 
the examinee is exempt from retaking those segments under 
the following conditions. 

1. After passing any segment, the applicant must sit 
without exception for each examination thereafter 
administered by the board until all three segments have been 
passed. 

2. Should the applicant fail to take any segments, 
applicant must either: 

a. take a qualifying examination given by the board; 
or 

b. appear before the board with an explanation for 
not taking the exam, the validity of which explanation will 
be determined by the board in its sole discretion. 

3. If the applicant fails to appear for any examination 
administered by the board and does not thereafter either: 

a. pass a qualifying test administered by the board; 
or 

b. present to the board a valid reason for failing to 
appear for the examination, then the passed segments of the 
skills test will expire before the date of the next examination 
following the examination for which the applicant failed to 
appear, and applicant will be required to pass all three 
segments. 

4. If applicant does not pass all three segments of the 
skills examination within a three-year period, beginning the 
last day of the month in which any segment was first passed, 
applicant will be required to pass a qualifying examination 
administered by the board. If applicant fails the qualifying 
examination, the passed segments will expire. 

F. For the purpose of grading stenotype tests, errors will 
be assessed in accordance with the guidelines accepted by 
the National Court Reporters Association. For the purpose of 
grading stenomask tests, errors will be assessed in 
accordance with guidelines accepted by the National 
Verbatim Reporters Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters,  
LR 9:678 (October 1983), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters, LR 14:530 (August 1988), LR 16:394 (May 
1990), LR 19:1010 (August 1993), LR 19:1537 (December 1993), 
LR 27:184 (February 2001), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters 
LR 29:1087 (July 2003). 

 
Merrell Long 
Examination Committee Chairman 

0307#028 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Commission 

Transactions (LAC 46:LXVII.3905) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate License 
Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., the Real Estate Commission has amended LAC 
46:LXVII.3905. The amendment requires designated agents 
receiving written offers or counter offers to annotate the 
offers to indicate the time of day and date the offers were 
received. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXVII.  Real Estate  
Subpart 1.  Real Estate 

Chapter 39. Presentation of Offers and Counter Offers 
§3905. Transactions 

A. Designated agents receiving written offers or counter 
offers in transactions shall annotate the offers or counter 
offers to indicate the time of day and date the offers or 
counter offers were received. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1431 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:48 
(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 
Estate Commission, LR 29:1087 (July 2003). 

 
Julius C. Willie 
Executive Director 

0307#062 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Applicable Ethical Standard 
(LAC 46:LXIII.1703) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Board of Examiners 
of Psychologists has repealed §1703. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Chapter 17. Specialty Titles 
§1703. Applicable Ethical Standard 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, LR 6:602 (October 1980), repealed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, LR 29:1088 (July 2003). 

 
Brenda C. Ward 
Executive Director 

0307#015 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Podiatric Postgraduate Year One (Internship) Registration, 
Reinstatement, Continuing Medical Education 

(LAC 46:XLV.1301-1305, 1361-63, 
1371-1385 and 1391-1397) 

In accordance with the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (Board), pursuant to the 
authority vested in the board by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292, particularly R.S. 37:1270 
and the Louisiana Podiatry Practice Act, R.S. 37:611-628, 
particularly, R.S. 37:613A(5), has amended its existing rules 
to provide substantive definitions, 46:XLV, Subpart 2, 
Chapter 13, §§1301-1303; and adopted new rules governing 
reinstatement of licensure for podiatrists, §1363, continuing 
medical education for podiatrists seeking renewal and/or 
reinstatement of licensure, §§1361, 1371-1385, and 
requiring one year of approved postgraduate (internship) 

training for podiatric applicants seeking initial licensure, 
§§1305, 1391-1397. The Rules are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL  

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Profession 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 13. Podiatrists  
Subchapter A. General Provisions  
§1301. Scope of Chapter 

A. The Rules of this Chapter govern the licensing of 
podiatrists to engage in the practice of podiatry in the state 
of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:612, R.S. 37:613 and R.S. 37:616. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1088 
(July 2003). 
§1303. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter the following terms shall have 
the meanings specified. 

ApplicantCa person who has applied to the board for a 
license or permit to engage in the practice of podiatry in the 
state of Louisiana or for a registration to engage in the first 
year of continuing postgraduate podiatric education. 

ApplicationCa written request directed to and received 
by the board, upon forms supplied by the board, for a license 
or permit to practice podiatry in the state of Louisiana or for 
a registration to engage in the first year of continuing 
postgraduate podiatric education, together with all 
information, certificates, documents, and other materials 
required by the board to be submitted with such forms. 

Good Moral CharacterCas applied to an applicant, 
means that: 

a. the applicant has not, prior to or during the 
pendency of an application to the board, been guilty of any 
act, omission, condition, or circumstance which would 
provide legal cause under R.S. 37:624 for the suspension or 
revocation of podiatry licensure; 

b. the applicant has not, prior to or in connection 
with his application, made any representation to the board, 
knowingly or unknowingly, which is in fact false or 
misleading as to a material fact or omits to state any fact or 
matter that is material to the application; or 

c. the applicant has not made any representation or 
failed to make a representation or engaged in any act or 
omission which is false, deceptive, fraudulent or misleading 
in achieving or obtaining any of the qualifications for a 
license or permit required by this Chapter. 

LicenseCthe lawful authority of a podiatrist to engage in 
the practice of podiatry in the state of Louisiana, as 
evidenced by a certificate duly issued by and under the 
official seal of the board. 

PermitCthe lawful authority of a podiatrist to engage in 
the practice of podiatry in the state of Louisiana for a 
designated, temporary period of time subject to restrictions 
and conditions specified by the board, as evidenced by a 
certificate duly issued by and under the official seal of the 
board. A permit is of determinate, limited duration and 
implies no right or entitlement to a license or to renewal of 
the permit. 
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PodiatristCa person possessing a doctor of podiatric 
medicine degree or an equivalent degree duly awarded by a 
school or college of podiatry approved by the board. 

Podiatry Practice Act or the ActCR.S. 37:611-628, as 
hereafter amended or supplemented. 

Postgraduate Year One (Internship) RegistrationCthe 
lawful authority of a podiatrist to engage in the first year of 
continuing postgraduate podiatric training in the state of 
Louisiana at a podiatric medical education or internship 
program approved by the board, as evidenced by a certificate 
of registration duly issued by and under the official seal of 
the board. 

StateCany state of the United States, the District of 
Columbia and Puerto Rico. 

B. Masculine terms wheresoever used in this Chapter 
shall also be deemed to include the feminine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:612, R.S. 37:613, R.S. 37:616 and R.S. 37:618. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1088 
(July 2003). 
Subchapter B. Requirements and Qualifications for 

Licensure 
§1305. Qualifications for License  

A. To be eligible for a license, an applicant shall: 
1. be at least 21 years of age; 
2. be of good moral character as defined by §1303.A; 
3. be a citizen of the United States or possess valid 

and current legal authority to reside and work in the United 
States duly issued by the commissioner of the Immigration 
and Naturalization Service of the United States under and 
pursuant to the Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat. 
163) and the commissioner's regulations thereunder (8 
CFR); 

4. possess a doctor of podiatric medicine or equivalent 
degree duly issued and conferred by a podiatric school or 
college approved by the board; and 

5. with respect to applications for licensure first 
received by the board on and after January 1, 2005, have 
completed at least one year of postgraduate podiatric 
training in an internship or equivalent program accredited by 
the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American 
Podiatric Medical Association or its successor association, 
and approved by the board. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for licensure 
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 
manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:612, R.S. 37:613 and R.S. 37:616. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1089 
(July 2003). 
Subchapter H. Licensure Issuance, Termination, 

Renewal, Reinstatement 
§1361. Renewal of License 

A. Every license or permit issued by the board shall be 
renewed annually on or before the first day of the month in 
which the licensee was born by submitting to the board a 
properly completed application for renewal, upon forms 
supplied by the board, together with the renewal fee 

prescribed by the board and documentation of satisfaction of 
the continuing medical education requirement prescribed by 
Subchapter J of these rules. 

B. An application for renewal of license form shall be 
mailed by the board to each person holding a license issued 
under this Chapter at least 30 days prior to the expiration of 
the license each year. Such form shall be mailed to the most 
recent address of each licensee as reflected in the official 
records of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8) and 37:621. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1089 
(July 2003). 
§1363. Reinstatement of Expired License 

A. A license which has expired may be reinstated by the 
board subject to the conditions and procedures hereinafter 
set forth, provided that application for reinstatement is made 
within four years of the date of expiration. A podiatrist 
whose license has lapsed and expired for a period in excess 
of four years or who is otherwise ineligible for reinstatement 
under this Section may apply to the board for an initial 
original or reciprocal license pursuant to these rules and/or 
the Podiatry Practice Act. 

B. An applicant seeking reinstatement more than one 
year from the date on which his license expired shall 
demonstrate, as a condition of reinstatement, satisfaction of 
the continuing medical education requirement of §1373 of 
Subchapter J of these rules for each year since the date of the 
expiration of licensure. As additional conditions of 
reinstatement the board may require: 

1. that the applicant complete a statistical affidavit 
upon a form supplied by the board and provide a recent 
photograph; 

2. that the applicant possess a current, unrestricted 
license to practice podiatry issued by another state; and/or 

3. if the applicant does not at the time of the 
application for reinstatement possess a current, unrestricted 
license to practice podiatry issued by another state, that the 
applicant take and successfully pass: 

a. all or a designated portion of the examination 
specified by R.S. 37:613; or 

b. a written certification or recertification 
examination approved, offered or sponsored by the 
American Podiatric Medical Association or its successor 
association and acceptable to the board. 

C. An applicant whose license to practice podiatry has 
been revoked, suspended or placed on probation by the 
licensing authority of another state or who has voluntarily or 
involuntarily surrendered his license to practice podiatry in 
consideration of the dismissal or discontinuance of pending 
or threatened administrative or criminal charges following 
the date on which his license to practice podiatry in 
Louisiana expired shall be deemed ineligible for 
reinstatement of licensure. 

D. An application for reinstatement of licensure meeting 
the requirements and conditions of this Section may 
nonetheless be denied for any of the causes for which an 
application for original licensure may be refused by the 
board as specified in R.S. 37:624. 

E. An application for reinstatement shall be made upon 
forms supplied by the board and accompanied by two letters 
of character recommendation from reputable podiatrists of 
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the former licensee's last professional location, together with 
the applicable fees and costs prescribed by the board, plus a 
penalty computed as follows. 

1. If the application for reinstatement is made less 
than two years from the date of license expiration, the 
penalty shall be equal to the renewal fee. 

2. If the application for reinstatement is made more 
than two years but less than three years from the date of 
license expiration, the penalty shall be equal to twice the 
renewal fee. 

3. If the application for reinstatement is made more 
than three years from the date of license expiration, the 
penalty shall be equal to three times the renewal fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:617, R.S. 37:621, R.S. 37:622 and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1089 
(July 2003). 
Subchapter J. Continuing Medical Education 
§1371. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The Rules of this Subchapter provide standards for 
the continuing medical education (CME) requisite to the 
renewal or reinstatement of licensure as provided by §1361 
and §1363 of these rules and prescribe the procedures 
applicable to satisfaction and documentation of continuing 
medical education in connection with applications for 
renewal or reinstatement of licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1270(A)(8), R.S. 37:621 and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1090 
(July 2003). 
§1373. Continuing Medical Educational Requirement 

A. Subject to the waiver of and exceptions to CME 
provided by §1383 and §1385, respectively, every podiatrist 
seeking the renewal or reinstatement of licensure, to be 
effective on or after January 1, 2005, shall annually evidence 
and document, upon forms supplied by the board, the 
successful completion of not less than 20 hours of board 
approved CME. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8), R.S. 37:621 and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1090 
(July 2003). 
§1375. Qualifying Continuing Medical Education 

Programs 
A. Any program, course, seminar or other activity 

offering Category 1 CME shall be deemed approved for 
purposes of satisfying the continuing medical education 
requirement under this Subchapter, if approved, sponsored 
or offered by: 

1.  the American Podiatric Medical Association, or its 
successor association; 

2. an organization or entity accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education 
(ACCME); 

3. a member board of the American Board of Medical 
Specialties; 

4. an organization or entity accredited by the 
Louisiana State Medical Society or any other ACCME 
recognized state medical society. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8) and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1090 
(July 2003). 
§1377. Documentation Procedure 

A. A form for annual documentation and certification of 
satisfaction of the continuing medical education requirement 
prescribed by §1373 shall be included with each application 
for renewal or reinstatement of licensure form mailed by the 
board pursuant to §1361 or §1363. Such form shall be 
completed and delivered to the board with the podiatrist's 
application. 

B. Podiatrists will not be required to transmit 
documentation of compliance with the continuing medical 
education requirement for renewal or reinstatement of 
licensure, unless otherwise required by these rules or 
requested by the board pursuant to §1377.E. 

C. A podiatrist shall maintain a record or certificate of 
attendance for at least four years from the date of completion 
of the continuing medical education activity. Satisfactory 
evidence shall consist of a certificate or other documentation 
which shall, at a minimum, contain the: 

1. program title; 
2. sponsor's name; 
3. podiatrist's name; 
4. inclusive date or dates and location of the CME 

event; and 
5. documented verification of successful completion 

of 20 hours of Category 1 CME by stamp, signature or other 
official proof acceptable to the board. 

D. The board shall select for an audit of continuing 
medical education activities no fewer than 2 percent of the 
applicants for renewal or reinstatement each year. In 
addition, the board has the right to audit any questionable 
documentation of activities.  

E. Verification of continuing medical education 
satisfying the requirement of this Subchapter shall be 
submitted to the board within 30 days of the date of mailing 
of notification of audit or such longer period as the board my 
designate in such notification. A podiatrist's failure to notify 
the board of a change of mailing address will not absolve the 
licensee from the audit requirement. 

F. Any certification of continuing medical education not 
presumptively approved by the board pursuant to §1375 
shall not be considered as qualifying for CME recognition 
by the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8), R.S. 37:621 and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1090 
(July 2003). 
§1379. Failure to Satisfy Continuing Medical Education 

Requirement 
A. An applicant for renewal of licensure who fails to 

evidence satisfaction of the continuing professional 
education requirement prescribed by these rules shall be 
given written notice of such failure by the board. Such notice 
shall be mailed to the most recent address of the licensee as 
reflected in the official records of the board. The license of 
the applicant shall remain in full force and effect for a period 
of 90 days following the mailing of such notice, following 
which such license shall be deemed expired, unrenewed and 
subject to suspension or revocation without further notice 
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unless the applicant shall have furnished the board, within 
such 90 days, satisfactory evidence by affidavit, that: 

1. the applicant has satisfied the applicable continuing 
medical education requirement; 

2. the applicant's failure to satisfy the continuing 
medical education requirement was occasioned by disability, 
illness or other good cause as may be determined by the 
board pursuant to §1383; or 

3. the applicant is exempt from such requirement 
pursuant to §1385. 

B. The license of a podiatrist which has expired for 
nonrenewal or has been suspended or revoked for failure to 
satisfy the CME requirement of these rules may be reinstated 
pursuant to §1363 upon written application to the board, 
accompanied by payment of the application fee prescribed 
by §1363, in addition to all other applicable fees and costs, 
together with documentation and certification that the 
applicant has, for each year since the date on which the 
applicant's cense was last issued or renewed, completed an 
aggregate of 20 hours of board approved CME. 

C. The license of a podiatrist which has been suspended 
or revoked on more than one occasion for failure to satisfy 
the CME requirement of these rules shall be deemed in 
violation of R.S. 37:624(15), providing cause for the board 
to suspend or revoke, refuse to issue, or impose probationary 
or other restrictions on any license or permit held or applied 
for by a podiatrist to practice podiatry in the state of 
Louisiana culpable of such violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8), R.S. 37:621, R.S. 37:624 and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1090 
(July 2003). 
§1381. Falsification of Continuing Medical Education 

A. Any licensee or applicant who falsely certifies 
attendance at and/or completion of the required continuing 
medical education requirement of §1373 shall be deemed in 
violation of R.S.37:624(2)and/or (15), providing cause for 
the board to suspend or revoke, refuse to issue, or impose 
probationary or other restrictions on any license or permit 
held or applied for by a podiatrist to practice podiatry in the 
state of Louisiana culpable of such violation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8), R.S. 37:624 and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1091 
(July 2003). 
§1383. Waiver of Requirement 

A. The board may, in its discretion, waive all or part of 
the CME required by these rules in favor of a podiatrist who 
makes written request to the board and evidences to its 
satisfaction a permanent physical disability, illness, financial 
hardship or other similar extenuating circumstances 
precluding the individual's satisfaction of the CME 
requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8) and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1091 
(July 2003). 

§1385. Exceptions to the Continuing Medical Education 
Requirement 

A. The CME requirement prescribed by this Subchapter 
prerequisite to renewal or reinstatement of licensure shall 
not be applicable to a podiatrist: 

1. engaged in military service longer than one year's 
duration outside of Louisiana; 

2. who has held an initial Louisiana license on the 
basis of examination for less than one year; or 

3. who is in a postgraduate year one podiatric training 
program approved by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8) and R.S. 37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1091 
(July 2003). 
Subchapter K. Postgraduate Year One (Internship) 

Registration 
§1391. Necessity for Registration 

A. As used in this Section, postgraduate year one  
(PGY-1) or internship means the first year of postgraduate 
podiatric training, following graduation from a school or 
college of podiatry, that is approved by the Council of 
Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric 
Medical Association, or its successor, and the board. For 
purposes of this Section PGY-1 includes only the first year 
of any such training following graduation from a podiatry 
school or college and does not include training which may 
be designated PGY-1 level subsequent to prior training at 
such level in any specialty, field, or program. 

B. No person who does not possess a license or permit 
issued under this Chapter shall enroll or participate in a 
PGY-1 podiatric educational program, or internship, unless 
he is duly registered with the board pursuant to this 
Subchapter. 

C. Notwithstanding registration under this Subchapter, 
no person who does not possess a license or permit issued 
under this Chapter shall enroll or participate in a first year 
postgraduate podiatric educational program, an internship, or 
any other program howsoever designated or whenever taken, 
which permits or requires such persons to exercise 
independent judgment, assume independent responsibility 
for patient care or otherwise to engage in the practice of 
podiatry. 

D. Upon a finding that a person or registrant has violated 
the proscriptions of this Section, the board may: 

1. suspend or revoke such person's registration under 
this Subchapter or impose probationary conditions thereon; 

2. consider and declare such person or registrant 
ineligible for a podiatry license or permit under this Chapter; 
and/or 

3. cause the institution of judicial proceedings against 
such person for injunctive relief pursuant to R.S. 37:625. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and R.S. 37:613. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1091 
(July 2003). 
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§1393. Qualifications for Registration 
A. To be eligible for registration under this Subchapter 

an applicant shall possess all of the substantive 
qualifications for licensure specified by R.S. 37:613 and 
§1305 and shall be a graduate of a podiatry school or college 
approved by the board. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for registration 
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 
manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and R.S. 37:613. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1092 
(July 2003). 
§1395. Procedural Requirements 

A. In addition to the substantive qualifications specified 
in §1393, to be eligible for registration under this Subchapter 
an applicant shall: 

1. submit to the board a completed application, upon 
forms supplied by the board, subscribed by the applicant and 
by the administrator or chief executive officer of the hospital 
or medical institution in which the PGY-1 program is to be 
conducted, accompanied by a recent photograph of the 
applicant; 

2. make a personal appearance by appointment before 
a member of the board or its designee, or at the office of the 
board before its designated officer, and present evidence of 
the qualifications specified by §1393; provided, however, 
that an applicant who has completed his podiatric education 
but who does not yet possess a degree as required by R.S. 
37:613(4) may be deemed eligible for registration upon 
submission to the board of a letter subscribed by the dean of 
an approved school or college of podiatry, certifying that the 
applicant has completed his academic and podiatric 
education at such school or college, that the applicant is a 
candidate for the degree of doctor of podiatric medicine or 
its equivalent at the next scheduled convocation of such 
school or college, and specifying the date on which such 
degree will be awarded; and 

3. pay all applicable fees and costs prescribed by the 
board. 

B. All documents required to be submitted to the board 
must be the original thereof. For good cause shown, the 
board may waive or modify this requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:613. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1092 
(July 2003). 
§1397. Issuance and Term of Registration 

A. If the qualifications, requirements, and procedures 
prescribed or incorporated by §1393 and §1395 are met to 
the satisfaction of the board, the board shall issue a 
certificate to the applicant evidencing his registration under 
this Subchapter for enrollment and participation in a PGY-1 
podiatric training program in the state of Louisiana. 

B. Registration issued under this subchapter shall be 
effective on and as of the date on which an applicant's PGY-
1 podiatric training program is to commence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:613. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 29:1092 
(July 2003). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0307#032 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Capital Area Human Services District 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 27) 

Under the authority of R.S. 46:2661 et seq. as enacted by 
Act 54 of the first Extraordinary Session of 1999, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals adopts the following 
Rule. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHCGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 27. Capital Area Human Services District 
§2701. Introduction 

A. This agreement is entered into by and between 
Department of Health and Hospitals, hereinafter referred to 
as DHH, and Capital Area Human Services District, 
hereinafter referred to as CAHSD, in compliance with R.S. 
46:2661 through 46:2666 as well as any subsequent 
legislation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1092 (July 
2003). 
§2703. Purpose and General Agreement 

A. The Department of Health and Hospitals is authorized 
by law to provide for the direction, operation, development 
and management of programs of community-based mental 
health, mental retardation/developmental disabilities, 
addictive disorders, public health and related activities for 
eligible consumers in Louisiana. 

B. The legislation authorizes CAHSD to provide services 
of community-based mental health, developmental 
disabilities, addictive disorders, public health and related 
activities for eligible consumers in CAHSD, which includes 
East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge, Ascension, Iberville, 
East Feliciana, West Feliciana and Pointe Coupee parishes; 
and to assure that services meet all relevant federal and state 
regulations; and to provide the functions necessary for the 
administration of such services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1092 (July 
2003). 
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§2705. Designation of Liaisons 
A. The primary liaison persons under this agreement are: 

1. for DHHCdeputy secretary;  
2. for CAHSDCchairperson.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1093 (July 
2003). 
§2709. Services to be Delivered 

A. In order to provide a broad spectrum of coordinated 
public services to consumers of the Office of Mental Health, 
hereinafter referred to as OMH, the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, hereinafter referred to as 
OCDD, the Office for Addictive Disorders hereinafter 
referred to as OAD, the Office of Public Health, hereinafter 
referred to as OPH and for the District Administration, 
CAHSD will assume programmatic, administrative and 
fiscal responsibilities for including, but not limited to, the 
following: 

1. OCDD community services; 
2. mental health services consistent with the State 

Mental Health Plan, as required under the annual Mental 
Health Block Grant Plan; 

3. outpatient treatment (non-intensive)COAD; 
4. community-based servicesCOAD; 
5. intensive outpatient treatment/day treatmentCOAD; 
6. non-medical/social detoxificationCOAD; 
7. primary preventionCOAD; 
8. adult inpatient treatment servicesCOAD; 
9. transition to recovery homes (when funds and 

placements are available); 
10. residential board and care (when funds and 

placements are available)COAD. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:2661. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1093 (July 
2003). 
§2711. Responsibilities of Each Party  

A. CAHSD accepts the following responsibilities: 
1. to perform the functions which provide community-

based services and continuity of care for the diagnosis, 
prevention, detection, treatment, rehabilitation and follow-up 
care of mental and emotional illness; 

2. to be responsible for community-based programs 
and functions relating to the care, diagnosis, eligibility 
determination, training, treatment, and case management of 
developmentally disabled and autistic persons as defined by 
the MRDD law, and to follow the rules or policies governing 
admissions to OCDD Developmental Centers; 

3. to be responsible for the delivery and supervision of 
OCDD transition services and case management, where 
appropriate, and provide supports to person waiting for 
Waiver Services when an individual transitions to the 
community; 

4. to provide for the gradual assumption of 
community-based public health services which will be 
determined to be feasible through consultation with the 
Office of Public Health; 

5. to provide services related to the care, diagnosis, 
training, treatment, and education of, and primary prevention 

of addiction. The criteria for admission and treatment must 
be parallel to OAD state operated programs; 

6. to maintain services in community-based mental 
health, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse at 
least at the same level as the state maintains similar 
programs; 

7. to ensure that the quality of services delivered is 
equal to or higher than the quality of services previously 
delivered by the state; 

8. to perform human resources functions necessary for 
the operation of CAHSD; 

9. to be responsible for the provision of any 
function/service, reporting or monitoring, mandated by the 
Block Grant Plan of each respective program office; 

10. to provide systems management and services 
data/reports in a format, and content, and frequency content 
as that required of all regions by each DHH program office. 
Specific content of required information sets will be 
negotiated and issued annually through program office 
directives; 

11. to utilize ARAMIS, MIS, Mental Health's SPOE, 
CMIS and any other required DHH/program office systems 
to meet state and federal reporting requirements. CAHSD 
will use the OCDD Individual Tracking System and/or other 
designated MIS system. OCDD will allow CAHSD to 
electronically upload and download information at 
prescribed intervals. No information will be uploaded by 
OCDD without prior notification of CAHSD; 

12. to make available human resource staffing data for 
on-site review; 

13. to maintain and support Single Point of Entry 
(SPOE) state standard; 

14. to provide for successful delivery of services to 
persons discharged from state facilities into CAHSD service 
area by collaborative discharge planning; 

15. to provide in-kind or hard match resources as 
required for acceptance of federal grant or entitlement funds 
utilized for services in CAHSD as appropriately and 
collaboratively applied for consistent with other regions in 
the state; 

16. to make available a list of all social and 
professional services available to children and adults through 
contractual agreement with local providers. The list shall 
include names of contractors, dollar figures and brief 
description of services; 

17. to work with OAD to assure that all requirements 
and set asides of the Substance Abuse Block Grant are 
adhered to in the delivery of services; 

18. to develop and utilize a five-year strategic plan as 
required by Act 1465; 

19. to monitor the quality of supports delivered to 
developmentally disabled individuals in state funded 
supported living arrangements; 

20. to report to OMH on a monthly basis data 
consistent with that reported in DHH operated regions in 
order to assure statewide data integrity and comparability 
across all 64 parishes. The format for reporting this 
information must comply with OMH data transmission 
requirements as specified by the assistant secretary for 
OMH; 

21. to continue to make available through all CAHSD 
sites, materials available from OPH, based on availability of 
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current funding from state and federal resources. Availability 
of materials shall also be based on the incidence rate of HIV 
in Region II and throughout the state; 

22. to comply with OAD movement toward  
research-proven best practices and adhere to the established 
standard of care. 

B. DHH retains/accepts the following responsibilities: 
1. operation and management of any inpatient facility 

under the jurisdiction of DHH except that CAHSD shall 
have the authority and responsibility for determination of 
eligibility for receipt of such inpatient services (OMH's 
SPOE function) which were determined at the regional level 
prior to the initiation of this agreement; 

2. operation, management and performance of 
functions and services for environmental health; 

3. operation, management and performance of 
functions related to the Louisiana Vital Records Registry and 
the collection of vital statistics; 

4. operation, management and performance of 
functions and services related to laboratory analysis in the 
area of personal and environmental health; 

5. operation, management and performance of 
functions and services related to education provided by or 
authorized by any state or local educational agency; 

6. monitoring this service agreement, assuring 
corrective action through coordination with CAHSD and 
reporting failures to comply to the Governor's Office; 

7. operation, management and performance of 
functions for pre-admission screening and resident review 
process for Nursing Home Reform; 

8. sharing with CAHSD information regarding but not 
limited to program data, statistical data, and planning 
documents that pertain to the CAHSD. Statewide 
information provided on a regional basis to providers, 
consumers and advocates shall either include accurate data 
for CAHSD, as confirmed by CAHSD, or shall include a 
statement that information for Region II (CAHSD) is 
available on request. This is necessary to make community 
stakeholders aware that CAHSD is participating in the 
submission of the same data reports as are required of the 
other regions; 

9. communicating to CAHSD Executive Director any 
planned amendments to current law establishing CAHSD, or 
new legislation that is primarily directed to impacting 
CAHSD funding or administration or programs, prior to 
submission to the Governor's Office or to a legislative 
author; 

10. reporting of statewide performance or comparisons, 
which are circulated outside of the DHH Program Offices, 
which include data submitted directly by CAHSD, or which 
are generated from data transmission programs in which 
CAHSD participates will be provided to CAHSD; 

11. providing fair and equal access to all DHH facilities 
and to all appropriately referred citizens residing in the 
parishes served by CAHSD; 

12. inviting the CAHSD Community Services Regional 
Manager (CSRM) to OCDD meetings that include the 
CSRMs of the eight regions under OCDD administration, 
when discussions or presentations impact citizens and/or 
administration of duties within CAHSD; 

13. meeting with CAHSD to discuss and plan for any 
necessary upgrades in hardware, software or other devices 

necessary for the electronic submission of data which is 
required of CAHSD; 

14. including CAHSD's Executive Director in 
discussions that specifically relate to changes in CAHSD 
programming or financing, prior to final decision-making; 

15. planning, managing and delivering services funded 
under this agreement as required in order to be consistent 
with the priorities, policies and strategic plans of DHH, its 
program offices, and related local initiatives. DHH shall 
include CAHSD as appropriate in the development of these 
plans and priorities and notify the executive director within 
at least the same time period as other regional managers; 

16. determining if community-based mental health, 
developmental disabilities, addictive disorders, and public 
health services are delivered at least at the same level by 
CAHSD as the state provides for similar programs in other 
areas. Performance indicators shall be established and will 
be consistent with those collected in other regions. Such 
indicators will measure extensiveness of services, 
accessibility of services, availability of services and, most 
importantly, quality of services. CAHSD will not be required 
to meet performance indicators which are not mandated for 
state-operated programs in these service areas; 

17. any requests by program offices for new and 
expanded regional funds requested statewide will include the 
appropriate proportionate amount of funding for CAHSD. 

C. Joint Responsibilities 
1. CAHSD shall work closely with OCDD in 

transitioning individuals from all Developmental Centers to 
the district and will be responsible for the case management 
oversight, when appropriate, of the service providers to 
ensure that their recipients receive appropriate services and 
outcomes as designated in the Comprehensive Plan of Care. 

2. CAHSD will work with OAD to assure that the key 
performance indicators sent to the Division of 
Administration (DOA) are the same for CAHSD and OAD. 

3. CAHSD will work with OAD to assure that there is 
a clear audit trail for linking alcohol and drug abuse funding 
and staffing to alcohol and drug abuse services. 

4. CAHSD will collaborate with Region II OPH 
managers when appropriate to assist clients in accessing 
community-based services and ensure continuity of care for 
education, prevention, detection, treatment, rehabilitation 
and follow up care related to personal health. 

5. CAHSD shall notify the DHH Bureau of Legal 
Services and relative program offices in a timely manner to 
assure proper representation in all judicial commitments and 
court events involving placement in DHH programs. 
CAHSD shall also provide program staff as representatives 
to assist DHH in all judicial commitments and court events 
involving placement in DHH programs. DHH will provide 
legal support and representation in judicial commitments to 
the department. 

6. Budget requests for new and expanded programs or 
requests for additional funding for existing programs will be 
discussed between CAHSD Executive Director and 
appropriate program office personnel in a timely manner to 
avoid incongruous requests for new funding prior to 
submission to DOA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1093 (July 
2003). 
§2713. Reallocation of Resources/Staff and Financial 

Agreements 
A. For FY02/03, DHH agrees to transfer financial 

resources in accordance with the Memorandum of 
Understanding (MOU) to the direction and management of 
CAHSD. The financial resources will be adjusted based 
upon the final appropriation for CAHSD. 

B. CAHSD will submit to DHH an annual budget 
request for funding of the cost for providing the services and 
programs for which CAHSD is responsible. The format for 
such request shall be consistent with that required by the 
DOA and DHH. The request shall conform with the time 
frame established by DHH. The CAHSD Executive Director 
will submit new and expanded program requests to the 
Office of the Secretary prior to submission to DOA. 

C. CAHSD shall operate within its budget allocation and 
report budget expenditures to DHH. 

D. Revisions of the budget may be made upon written 
consent between CAHSD and DHH and, as appropriate, 
through the Legislative Budget Committee's BA-7 process. 
In the event any additional funding is appropriated and 
received by DHH that affects any budget categories for the 
direction, operation, and management of the programs of 
mental health, mental retardation/developmental disabilities, 
addictive disorders services, and public health, and related 
activities for any other such DHH entities or regions, 
CAHSD will receive additional funds on the same basis as 
other program offices. In the event of a budget reduction, 
CAHSD will receive a proportionate reduction in its budget. 

E. CAHSD shall bill DHH agencies for services they 
provide in a timely manner. 

F. CAHSD shall not bill any DHH agency more than is 
shown in Attachment 1 of the MOU. 

G. CAHSD shall assume all financial assets and/or 
liabilities associated with the programs transferred. 

H. CAHSD shall be responsible for repayment of any 
funds received which are determined ineligible and 
subsequently disallowed.  

I. DHH shall continue to provide to CAHSD certain 
support services from the Office of the Secretary and from 
the Office of Management and Finance which are available 
to the regional program offices of OCDD, OMH, OAD, and 
OPH. The services CAHSD will continue to receive, at the 
level provided to other regions are: Communications and 
Inquiry; Internal Audit; Fiscal Management; Information 
Services; Facility Management; Lease Management; and 
Research and Development. 

J. Any increases from OAD must comply with the 
resource allocation law and CAHSD will participate in cost 
benefit analysis and outcome. 

K. CAHSD will comply with the resource allocation 
formula and adjustments in the funding for CAHSD may be 
made according to this formula. 

L. If the implementation of the area structure changes 
the means of financing in a way that would negatively 
impact total funds received by CAHSD for mental health 
services, OMH will structurally guarantee the ability to bill 
for/collect funds for the services provided, or fund the 
district in the amount the total CAHSD/OMH portion of its 

budget will not be decreased from what would be allocated 
or collected by the other regions. 

M. Funding for all medications needed by OMH forensic 
clients, (except those originally residing within the CAHSD 
region) who are released from the hospital into forensic 
community-based beds within CAHSD, shall be provided to 
CAHSD through this MOU. Funds will be based on average 
cost for annual number of clients, and OMH Forensic and 
CAHSD staff shall coordinate the verification of clients 
served and the cost of medications provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1095 (July 
2003). 
§2715. Joint Training and Meetings 

A. CAHSD, through its staff, will participate in DHH 
and other programmatic trainings, meetings and other 
activities as agreed upon by CAHSD and DHH. In a 
reciprocal manner, CAHSD will provide meetings, training 
sessions, and other activities that will be available for 
participation by DHH staff as mutually agreed upon by 
CAHSD and DHH. All program office meetings (trainings, 
information dissemination, policy development, etc.) 
discussing/presenting information with statewide 
implications shall include CAHSD staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1095 (July 
2003). 
§2717. Special Provisions 

A. CAHSD agrees to abide by all applicable Federal, 
State, and Parish laws regarding nondiscrimination in service 
delivery and/or employment of individuals because of race, 
color, religion, sex, age, national origin, handicap, political 
beliefs, disabled veteran, veteran status or any other 
non-merit factor. 

B. CAHSD shall maintain a property control system of 
all movable property in the possession of CAHSD that was 
formally under the control of DHH, and of all additional 
property acquired. 

C. For purposes of purchasing, travel reimbursement, 
and securing of social service/professional contracts, 
CAHSD shall utilize established written bid/RFP policies 
and procedures. Such policies and procedures shall be 
developed in adherence to applicable statutory and 
administrative requirements. CAHSD shall provide 
informational copies of such policies and procedures to 
DHH as requested. 

D. CAHSD shall abide by all court rulings and orders 
that affect DHH and impact entities under CAHSD's control, 
and shall make reports to DHH's Bureau of Protective 
Services of all applicable cases of alleged abuse, neglect, 
exploitation or extortion of individuals in need of protection 
in a format prescribed by DHH.  

E. In the event of a departmental budget reduction in 
state general funds, or federal funds equivalent, CAHSD 
shall share in that reduction consistent with other DHH 
agencies. If reductions occur through Executive Order, 
DOA, or legislative action in the appropriation Schedule 09, 
and CAHSD is included in these reductions, then these same 
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reductions shall not be reassessed to CAHSD by DHH 
agencies. 

F. CAHSD shall have membership on the Region II 
Planning Group and the Statewide Planning Group for the 
HIV/AIDS Prevention Program. CAHSD shall be a voting 
member of the Region II Planning Group (RPG). CAHSD 
shall be a non-voting member of the Statewide Planning 
Group (SPG) unless the CAHSD member is also elected by 
the Region II RPG as its official delegate to the SPG. In such 
case, the CAHSD representative shall vote as the 
representative of the Region II RPG.  

G. CAHSD can obtain a copy of all requests for funding, 
solicitation of offers, notices of funding availability and 
other such comparable documents sent out by OPH relative 
to community-based HIV Prevention and Treatment Services 
for Region II as well as any such notices received by OPH 
and not chosen for application by them. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1095 (July 
2003). 
§2719. Renewal/Termination 

A. This agreement will cover the period of time from 
July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2003. 

B. This agreement will be revised on an annual basis, as 
required by law, and will be promulgated through the 
Administrative Procedure Act. The annual agreement shall 
be published in the state register each year in order for 
significant changes to be considered in the budget process 
for the ensuing fiscal year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:2661. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:1096 (July 
2003). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#067 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Community Supports and Services 

Mentally Retarded/Developmentally Disabled Waiver 
Skilled Nursing Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
promulgates the following Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session.  
Rule 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
amends the July 20, 1990 Rule to include skilled  

nursing services as a service in the Mentally 
Retarded/Developmentally Disabled Waiver. 
Recipient Criteria 

A. Skilled nursing services will be available to medically 
fragile individuals who meet the following criteria: 

1. are ventilator dependent or non-ambulatory, or have 
undergone a tracheotomy, or gastrostomy; and 

2. require life-sustaining equipment (ventilators, 
suction machines, apnea monitors, nebulizers and/or pulse 
oximeters); and 

3. are medically approved by their primary physician, 
as documented by a doctor's order and a letter of medical 
necessity from the physician. 
Provider and Staff Qualifications 

A. A home health agency must enroll as a MR/DD 
Waiver service provider in order to provide skilled nursing 
services under the MR/DD Waiver. 

B. Skilled nursing services shall be provided by either a 
licensed registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse 
employed by a Medicaid enrolled home health agency. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#077 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Laboratory Services 
(LAC 50:XIX.4333) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the LAC 50:XIX.4333 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and X-Ray 

Chapter 43. Billing and Reimbursement 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement 
§4333. Outpatient Hospital Laboratory Services 

Reimbursement 
A. Hospitals are reimbursed for outpatient laboratory 

services as follows. 
1. The reimbursement rates paid to outpatient 

hospitals for laboratory services subject to the Medicare Fee 
Schedule shall be increased by 10 percent of the rate on file 
as of September 15, 2002. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1026 (May 2002), amended LR 29:1096 
(July 2003). 

Implementation of this Rule shall be contingent upon the 
certification of matching funds by non-state public hospitals 
(except small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 40:1300.143) 
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or the completion of cooperative endeavor agreements to 
make public agency transfer to the department as set forth in 
the Appropriations Act of the 2002 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#079 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Rehabilitation Services 
Reimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
June 20, 1997 Rule and increases the reimbursement rates 
for outpatient hospital rehabilitation services rendered to 
Medicaid recipients age 3 and older. This rate increase is not 
applicable to rehabilitation services rendered to recipients up 
to the age of 3 as the reimbursement rate increase for those 
services were addressed in the July 6, 2002 Emergency Rule. 
The new reimbursement rates will be as follows. 

 
Service Description New Fee 

Physical Therapy, evaluation $68.31 
Occupational therapy evaluation $64.52 
Speech Evaluation $56.93 
Hearing Evaluation $56.93 
Wheelchair Seating Evaluation $64.52 
Physical Therapy, 1 modality $25.30 
Physical Therapy, 2 or more modalities $37.95 
P.T.-1 or more procedure/modality, 15 min. $12.65 
P.T.-with procedures, 20 min. $17.08 
P.T.-with procedures, 30 min. $25.30 
P.T.-with procedures, 45 min. $37.95 
P.T.-with procedures, 60 min. $50.60 
P.T.-with procedures and mod., 60 min. $50.60 
P.T.-with procedures, 75 min. $63.25 
P.T.-with procedures, 90 min. $75.90 
Occupational therapy, 15 min. $10.12 
Occupational therapy, 20 min. $13.92 
Occupational therapy, 30 min. $20.24 
Occupational therapy, 45 min. $30.36 
Occupational therapy, 60 min. $40.48 
Speech and hearing therapy, 15 min. $9.49 
Speech and hearing therapy, 20 min. $12.65 
Speech therapy, 30 min $18.98 
Speech therapy, 45 min. $28.46 
Speech therapy, 60 min. $37.95 

 

This increase in outpatient hospital rehabilitation 
reimbursement rates is not applicable to home health 
rehabilitation services. Home health rehabilitation services 
will continue to be reimbursed at the rate paid for outpatient 
hospital rehabilitation services as of September 15, 2002, 
except for those services that were addressed in the July 6, 
2002 Rule. 

Implementation of this Rule shall be contingent upon the 
certification of matching funds by non-state public hospitals 
(except small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 40:1300.143) 
or the completion of cooperative endeavor agreements to 
make public agency transfer to the department as set forth in 
the Appropriations Act of the 2002 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#080 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital ServicesCClinic Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
December 20, 2000 Rule and increases the reimbursement 
rates for outpatient hospital clinic services. Hospitals must 
use the revenue codes and Physicians' Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT)/Healthcare Common Procedure Coding 
System (HCPCS) specified by the department when billing 
for services. The revenue codes and new reimbursement 
rates will be as follows. 

 

Hospital Revenue Code Description 
510 General Internal Medicine Clinic 
514 OB-Gyn Clinic 
515 Pediatric Clinic 
517 Family Practice Clinic 
519 Specialty Clinic 

 

Description Payment Rate 
Office/Outpatient visit, new $33.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, new $33.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, new $38.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, new $57.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, new $57.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, established $33.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, established $33.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, established $38.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, established $57.00 
Office/Outpatient visit, established $57.00 
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Implementation of this Rule shall be contingent upon the 
certification of matching funds by non-state public hospitals 
(except small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 40:1300.143) 
or the completion of cooperative endeavor agreements to 
make public agency transfer to the department as set forth in 
the Appropriations Act of the 2002 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#078 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Title 51 Corrections  
(LAC 51:III.101, 113; XV.117; XVI.101, 1101,  
1301; XVII.105, 107, 501; XVIII.301; XIX.103;  
XX.105; XXIV.103, 317, 319; and XXVI.103) 

Editor's Note: The following omissions were inadvertently left 
out of the June 2002 compilation of Title 51, Public 
HealthCSanitary Code. 
 

Title 51 
Public HealthCSanitary Code 

Part III.  The Control of Rabies and Other Zoonotic 
Diseases 

Chapter 1. General 
§101. Definitions 

[Formerly paragraph 3:001] 
A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 

following words and terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 
Code and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted are defined for the purposes thereof as follows: 

* * * 
Prairie DogsC[Formerly paragraph 3:009] any 

burrowing rodents of the genus Cynomys. Prairie dogs can 
harbor the hantavirus. Prairie dogs are also known to be a 
host for fleas, which carry the causative agent of Bubonic 
Plague, the bacteria Yersinia pestis. These fleas have the 
potential to infect other wild animals, as well as domestic 
animals and humans. Prairie dogs are not indigenous to 
Louisiana. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: The first source of authority for 

promulgation of the Sanitary Code is in R.S. 36:258(B), with more 
particular provisions found in Chapters 1 and 4 of Title 40 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes. This Part is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of R.S. 40:5(2), (3), (10), and (17) together with 
the specific provisions of R.S. 40:4 (A)(2)(a), R.S. 40:4(A)(9) and 
R.S. 40:1277. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1223 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1098 (July 2003). 
§113. Prohibition on Importation/Sale of Prairie Dogs 

A. [Formerly paragraph 3:010] The importation and/or 
sale of prairie dogs in Louisiana is prohibited. 

B. [Formerly paragraph 3:011] This Section shall not 
apply to zoos approved by the American Association of 
Zoological Parks and Aquariums. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(9) and R.S. 40:5(2)(3)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:668 (June 
1994), repromulgated LR 28:1224 (June 2002), LR 29:1098 (July 
2003). 

Part XV.  Hotels, Lodging Houses, Boarding Houses 
Chapter 1. General 
§117. Garbage Disposal 

[formerly paragraph 15:014] 
A. Garbage shall be deposited in watertight containers 

and either covered at all times or otherwise protected from 
animals, flies, and other insects. The contents shall be 
removed as often as necessary to prevent decomposition and 
overflow, and disposed of in accordance with the applicable 
regulations, including Part XXVII of this Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(5) and R.S. 40:5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1385 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1098 (July 2003). 

Part XVI.  Campsites 
Chapter 1. General 
§101. Definitions 

[formerly paragraph 16:001] 
A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 

following words and terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 
Code, and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows. 

* * * 
Primitive CampCa campsite established for tent 

camping only, in which accommodations might include 
toilet and refuse disposal facilities. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: The first source of authority for 

promulgation of the Sanitary Code is in R.S. 36:258(B), with more 
particular provisions found in Chapters 1 and 4 of Title 40 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes. This Part is promulgated in accordance 
with the specific provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(4) and R.S. 40:5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1386 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1098 (July 2003). 
Chapter 11. Sanitary Toilet and Bathing Facilities at 

Campsites 
§1101. Requirements for Toilets and Bathing  

Houses at Campsites 
A - A.1. ... 

2. Urinal shall be provided at the rate of one for each 
30 males. 

A.3. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4(A)(4) and R.S. 40:5. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1388 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1098 (July 2003). 
Chapter 13. General Sanitary Requirements 
§1303. Garbage and Refuse 

[formerly paragraph 16:037] 
A. Garbage and refuse shall be handled and disposed of 

in accordance with the requirements of Part XXVII of this 
Code and the Louisiana Department of Environmental 
Quality. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(5) and R.S. 40:5. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1389 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1098 (July 2003). 

Part XVII.  Public Buildings, Schools, and Other 
Institutions 

Chapter 1. General Requirements for Public Buildings 
§105. Sewage Disposal Requirements 

A. [Formerly paragraph 17:012] All public buildings 
shall be provided with sewage disposal facilities in 
compliance with the provisions of Part XIII of this Code. 
Where an approved public sewerage system is available, the 
building shall be connected to it in compliance with §305 of 
Part XIII of this Code, provided the property owner is 
legally entitled to make such a connection. Where a public 
sewerage system is not available, disposal shall be into a 
private system which meets the requirements of Part XIII of 
this Code. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4(A)(10) and R.S. 40:5. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1390 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003). 
§107. Housekeeping Requirements 

A. - C. ... 
D. [Formerly 17:018] Garbage and trash shall not be 

allowed to accumulate anywhere on the premises except in 
containers designed and maintained in accordance with Part 
XXVII of this Code. Garbage may be disposed in a grinder 
or disposer if the sewage treatment system to which it is 
connected meets the requirements of this Code and is of 
adequate size to handle the load. Otherwise garbage and 
other discarded putrescible materials shall be stored in 
impervious cans with tight fitting covers. Oily rags and other 
materials subject to spontaneous combustion shall be stored 
in tightly covered metal containers. Other trash shall be 
stored in non-combustible containers. 

E. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4(A)(10) and R.S. 40:5. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1391 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003). 
Chapter 5. Health Requirements for Schools 
§501. Employee Health and Student Health 

A. [Formerly paragraph 17:028] The requirements of 
Part I, §117 and Part II, §§111 and 503 shall be met. 

B.1. [Formerly paragraph 17:029] All students in the 
health care professions shall be free of tuberculosis in a 
communicable state as evidenced by either: 

a. a negative purified protein derivative test, five 
tuberculin unit strength, given by the Mantoux method; 

b.  a normal chest X-ray if the skin test is positive; 
or  

c.  a statement from a Louisiana licensed physician 
that the person is noninfectious to others if the chest X-ray is 
other than normal. 

2. If the student has a positive purified protein 
derivative skin test for tuberculosis, five tuberculin unit 
strength, given by the Mantoux method, or a chest X-ray 
other than normal, the student shall complete a course of 
chemotherapy for tuberculosis as prescribed by a Louisiana 
licensed physician, or present a signed statement form a 

Louisiana licensed physician stating that chemotherapy for 
tuberculosis is not indicated. In any case, the student shall 
not be denied access to an institutional learning experience 
or work solely on the basis of being infected with 
tuberculosis, provided the infection is not communicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(2)(10) and R.S. 40:5 (1)(2)(10)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1392 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003). 

Part XVIII.  Jails, Prisons and Other Institutions of 
Detention or Incarceration 

Chapter 3. Health Requirements for Incarceration 
§301. Inmate Health 

A. [Formerly paragraph 18:021] Any person entering any 
Louisiana state prison as an inmate for 48 hours or more 
shall be screened for tuberculosis with a purified protein 
derivative skin test, five tuberculin unit strength, given by 
the Mantoux method, and a chest X-ray if the skin test is 
positive. If the individual is known to be infected with the 
human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or has acquired 
immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS), he or she shall be 
required to have a chest X-ray in addition to a skin test for 
tuberculosis, regardless of the skin test results. If an 
individual has a positive skin test or positive X-ray, he or she 
shall be evaluated by a physician to determine whether he or 
she should receive a course of chemotherapy for 
tuberculosis. If evaluation is desired before 48 hours, a chest 
X-ray is acceptable for screening. 

B. [Formerly paragraph 18:022] Any person entering any 
Louisiana parish jail as an inmate for fourteen days or more 
shall be screened for tuberculosis, where funding is 
available, with a purified protein derivative skin test, five 
tuberculin unit strength, given by the Mantoux method, and 
a chest X-ray if the skin test is positive. If the individual is 
known to be infected with the human immunodeficiency 
virus (HIV) or has acquired immunodeficiency syndrome 
(AIDS), he or she shall be required to have a chest X-ray in 
addition to a skin test for tuberculosis, regardless of the skin 
test results. If an individual has a positive skin test or 
positive X-ray, he or she shall be evaluated by a physician to 
determine whether he or she should receive a course of 
chemotherapy for tuberculosis. If evaluation is desired 
before 48 hours, a chest X-ray is acceptable for screening. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(2)(10) and R.S. 40:5 (1)(2)(4)(10)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:301 (March 
1994), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003). 

Part XIX.  Hospitals, Ambulatory Surgical Centers, 
Renal Dialysis Centers 

Chapter 1. General Requirements 
§103. Construction Requirements 

A. - B. ... 
C. Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Heating 

1. [Formerly paragraph 19:006] All patient rooms 
shall be well ventilated and under positive pressure except 
for negative pressure rooms designated as such. 
Temperature, humidity, pressure and air exchange 
characteristics shall conform to the requirements in 
"Minimum Requirements on Construction and Equipment 
for Hospitals and Medical Facilities" (DHEW Publication 
No. (HRA) 79-14500) as they apply to specific areas of the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1100

building. The heating and cooling system shall be such type 
and maintained and operated in such a manner to provide a 
comfortable temperature for patients and personnel. The 
heating and cooling system shall also be constructed to 
conform to the requirements in "Minimum Requirements on 
Construction and Equipment for Hospitals and Medical 
Facilities" (DHEW Publication No. (HRA) 79-14500). 

2.a. [formerly paragraph 19:006-1] Persons with 
tuberculosis in a communicable state or suspected of having 
tuberculosis in a communicable state shall be cared for in 
isolation rooms with negative air pressure and either: 
 i. at least six changes of room air per hour 
accomplished by exhaust ventilation, or  
 ii. equivalent circulation and treatment by 
ultraviolet light treatment, "air scrubber", or equivalent. 

b. If the patient is not in a room with proper 
ventilation and is unable or unwilling to cover their cough, 
then exposed persons shall wear proper masks, which filter 
all particles larger than one micron, in order to prevent the 
spread of infectious respiratory droplets. 

3. [formerly paragraph 19:006-2] Rooms used for 
aerosolized pentamidine treatments or for aerosol treatments 
designed to induce sputum shall have negative air pressure 
and at least six changes of room air per hour, accomplished 
by exhaust ventilation. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4 (A)(2)(10) and R.S. 40:5 (1)(2)(3)(10)(17). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1393 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003). 

Part XX.  Nursing Homes 
Chapter 1. General Sanitary Provisions for Nursing 

Homes 
§105. Heating, Cooling, and Ventilating Systems 

A. [Formerly paragraph 20:003] All homes shall be 
provided with heating equipment adequate to maintain, in 
every room used by patients, a temperature of not less than 
76 degrees Fahrenheit in the coldest weather. Each room 
having a bathtub, or shower, or toilet shall have a heater, or a 
duct to it from a heating system. The combustion chambers 
of all heating systems, and other fired equipment shall be 
vented to the atmosphere. Other parts of the heating, 
cooling, and ventilating system shall be so designed, built, 
and maintained as to ensure that the pressure in the space 
form which combustion air is drawn does not become 
negative with respect to the atmosphere. 

B.1. [Formerly paragraph 20:003-1] Persons with 
tuberculosis in a communicable state or suspected of having 
tuberculosis in a communicable state shall be cared for in 
isolation rooms with negative air pressure and either: 

a. at least six changes of room air per hour 
accomplished by exhaust ventilation, or  

b. equivalent circulation and treatment by 
ultraviolet light treatment, "air scrubber", or equivalent.  

2. If the patient is not in a room with proper 
ventilation and is unable or unwilling to cover their cough, 
then exposed persons shall wear proper masks, which filter 
all particles larger than one micron, in order to prevent the 
spread of infectious respiratory droplets. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(2)(10) and R.S. 40:5 (1)(2)(3)(10)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1398 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1100 (July 2003). 

Part XXIV.  Swimming Pools and Natural or Semi-
Artificial Swimming or Bathing Places 

Chapter 1. General Requirements 
§103. Definitions  

[formerly Sub-part A paragraph 24:001] 
A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein the 

following words or terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 
Code and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows: 

Natural Swimming Place or Bathing PlaceCany area in 
any natural watercourse or body of water in which people 
are immersed, or partially immersed, for swimming, 
recreational bathing, sporting events, therapeutic treatment, 
ceremonies, or any other related activities. 

Semi-Artificial Swimming Pool or Bathing Place or 
Bathing BeachCany area in any natural watercourse or body 
of water, the configuration of which has been altered by 
human construction, and in which people are immersed, or 
partially immersed, for swimming, recreational bathing, 
sporting events, ceremonies, therapeutic treatment, or any 
other related activities. 

State Health OfficerCthe legally appointed and/or acting 
state health officer of the health authority having jurisdiction 
over the entire State of Louisiana, and includes his/her duly 
authorized representative, except where the context of these 
regulations or pertinent statutory language indicates the 
reference is to the state health officer acting personally. 
Should legislative action either change the term Astate health 
officer@ or transfer his/her authority, the successor shall 
assume the functions delegated to the state health officer in 
this Sanitary Code. 

a. [Formerly paragraph 24:002] The state health 
officer has jurisdiction (for anything related to health) over 
the design, construction, and operation of all swimming 
pools (pools), water parks, and water slides, public or 
private, including, but not limited to, those owned by clubs, 
private schools, apartment houses, and condominiums. 

b. [Formerly paragraph 24:003] No new swimming 
pool, water park or water slide shall hereafter be constructed 
nor shall major alterations be made to existing swimming 
pools, water parks, or water slides without the prior written 
approval of, and unless in accordance with plans and 
specifications approved in advance by, the state health 
officer. The approval may include certain provisions, which, 
if violated, may result in revocation of the approval. 

Swimming Pool (Pools)Cany indoor or outdoor pool or 
vessel, which is entirely of human construction, and in 
which people are immersed, or partially immersed, in water, 
for swimming, therapeutic treatment, recreational bathing, 
sporting events, ceremonies, or any other related activities. 
This includes, but is not limited to, hot tubs, medical 
treatment pools, spas, whirlpools, and water parks. 

a. Permanently Installed Swimming PoolCa pool 
that is constructed in the ground or in a building in such a 
manner that it cannot be readily disassembled for storage. 

b. Residential PoolCa residential pool shall be 
defined as any constructed pool, permanent or non-portable, 
that is intended for noncommercial use as a swimming pool
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by not more than five owner families and their guests and 
that is over 24 inches in depth, has a surface area exceeding 
250 square feet and/or a volume over 3,750 gallons. 
(Residential pools are excluded from the provisions of these 
regulations.) 

c. Public PoolCany pool, other than a residential 
pool, which is intended to be used for swimming or bathing 
and is operated by owner, lessee, operator, licensee or 
concessionaire, regardless of whether a fee is charged for 
use. References within the regulations to various types of 
public pools are defined by the following categories: 
 i. Class A: Competition PoolCany pool intended 
for use for accredited competitive aquatic events such as 
Federation Internationale de Natation Amateur (FINA), U.S. 
Swimming, U.S. Diving, National Collegiate Athletic 
Association (NCAA), National Federation of State High 
School Associations (NFSHSA), etc. The pool may be used 
for recreation. 
 ii. Class B: Public PoolCany pool intended for 
public recreational use. 
 iii. Class C: Semi-Public PoolCany pool operated 
solely for and in conjunction with lodgings such as hotels, 
motels, apartments, condominiums, etc. 
 iv. Class D: Other PoolCany pool operated for 
medical treatment, therapy, exercise, lap swimming, 
recreational play, and other special purposes, including, but 
not limited to, wave or surf action pools, activity pools, 
splash pools, kiddie pools and play areas. 

d. Ceremonial PoolsCpools used for ceremonies 
and/or religious purposes - only. Size not to exceed 10 feet 
long x 5 feet wide x 5 feet deep and/or 2000 gallons. 
(Ceremonial pools are excluded from these regulations.) 

e. Wading PoolCa pool that has a shallow depth, 24 
inches or shallower, used for wading. (There are no 
requirements for residential wading pools.) 

TurnoverCthe ratio of the volume of clean water 
entering a pool in 24 hours to the total pool volume. The 
term "clean water" means water from an approved source

meeting the requirements of Part XII of this Code, or water 
taken from the pool and returned after filtration and 
disinfection in accordance with the requirements of this Part. 

WaterlineCthe waterline shall be defined in one of the 
following ways: 

a. Skimmer SystemCthe waterline shall be at the 
midpoint of the operating range of the skimmer when there 
are no users in the pool or spa. 

b. Overflow SystemCthe waterline shall be deemed 
to be that established by the height of the overflow rim. 

Water ParkCany indoor or outdoor area in any natural 
water course, body of water or manmade construction which 
shall include but not be limited to swimming pools, wave 
pools, water slides, flumes, plunge pools, flotation rides that 
include immersion or partial immersion with direct or 
indirect contact with the water (primary and secondary 
contact). 

Water SlideCany slide or flume or group of slides or 
flumes upon which people and water descend 
simultaneously, and upon which the same water contacts the 
bodies of people. This includes the landing and/or 
recirculating pool at the bottom of the slide, the ascent path 
or stair, the departure platform or area at the top, and any 
ancillary health related facilities such as bath houses, 
dressing rooms, showers, and toilets. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(11) and R.S. 40:5(3)(16)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1435 (June 
2002), repromulgated LR 29:1100 (July 2003). 
Chapter 3. Design Requirements for Swimming Pools  

[formerly Sub-Part B] 
§317. Drawings and Diagrams  

[formerly paragraph 24:006] 
A. Minimum Dimensions for Diving Portion of Class B 

and Class C Pools (This drawing does not show the shallow 
portion of the pool.) 

 
 



1. Ref.: §317(A)(1) 
 

 
 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1102



2. Drawing Ref.: §317(A)(2) 
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B. Maximum Allowable Wall Slope 
1. Ref. :§ 317(B)(1) 
 

 
 
 

C. Offset Ledges 
1. Offset ledges, when provided, shall fall within 11E 

from plumb starting at the junction of the pool wall and 

waterline, and shall have a slip-resisting surface. Maximum 
width shall be 8 inches. The typical allowable dimensions 
are based on the depths shown below: 
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a. Ref.: §317(C)(1) 
 

 
 

D. Underwater Seat Benches 
1. Underwater seat benches are not allowed in pools 

but are allowed in spas and whirlpools. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(11) and R.S. 40:5(3)(16)(17)(20). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:668 (June 
1994), repromulgated LR 29:1101 (July 2003). 
§319. Maximum User Load  

[formerly paragraph 24:007] 
A. Maximum user load at Class B or Class C pools shall 

be in accordance with the following table: 
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Shallow 

Instruction or 
Wading Areas 

Deep Area (Not 
including the 
diving area) 

Diving Area 
(Per each 

diving board) 
Pools with 
Minimum 

Deck Areas 

 15 square feet 
 per user 

 20 square feet 
 per user 

 300 square 
feet 

Pools with 
Deck Area at 

Least Equal to 
Water Surface 

Area 

 12 square feet 
 per user 

 15 square feet 
 per user 

 300 square 
feet 

Pools with 
Deck Area at 
Least Twice 
the Water 

Surface Area 

 8 square feet 
 per user 

 10 square feet 
 per user 

 300 square 
feet 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(11) and R.S. 40:5(3)(16)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:668 (June 
1994), repromulgated LR 29:1105 (July 2003). 

Part XXVI.  Burial, Transportation, Disinterment or 
Other Disposition of Dead Human Bodies 

Chapter 1. General Requirements 
§103. Embalming 

A. [Formerly paragraph 26:003-1] Embalming dead 
human bodies shall be performed in accordance with R.S. 
37:831-861 relating to embalming. 

B. [Formerly paragraph 26:003-2] If the body is to be 
held longer than 30 hours without refrigeration as specified, 
it shall be embalmed in a manner approved by the Louisiana 
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors. If a dead human 
body is to be held longer than 30 hours in the custody of a 
Louisiana licensed hospital, Louisiana medical school, the 
Louisiana Anatomical Board or a coroner, it shall be 
refrigerated at all times at a temperature not to exceed 45 
degrees Fahrenheit prior to its release to a funeral director 
for final disposition. If a body is not refrigerated or 
embalmed, it shall be buried, cremated, or otherwise 
disposed of within 30 hours after death or as soon as 
possible after its release to the licensed funeral director. No 
one shall carry, transport or remove from within the confines 
of this state any dead human body more than 24 hours after 
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death unless said body has been embalmed or cremated. 
Nothing in this Section, however, shall be construed to 
prohibit transfer of an unembalmed dead human body which 
has been disposed of for the purpose of the advancement of 
medical science, or for use as "transplant" organs. 
Additionally, nothing in this Section shall be construed to 
require embalming if special practices and beliefs of 
religious groups prohibit it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(3) and R.S. 40:5 (2)(3)(14)(17). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:1388 
(December 1994), repromulgated LR 28:1448 (June 2002), LR 
29:1105 (July 2003). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0307#042 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Pipeline SafetyCNatural Gas 
(LAC 43:XIII.125) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Office of Conservation hereby adopts the 
following Rule with amendments to the pipeline  
safety- natural gas regulations. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIII.  Office of ConservationCPipeline Safety 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 1. General 
§125. Definitions 

* * * 
Master Meter SystemCa pipeline system for distributing 

gas within, but not limited to, a definable area such as a 
mobile home park, housing project, apartment complex or 
university, where the operator purchases meter gas from an 
outside source for resale through a gas pipeline system. The 
gas distribution pipeline system supplies the ultimate 
consumer who either purchases the gas directly through a 
meter or by other means, such as rents. 

* * * 
School SystemCa pipeline system for distributing natural 

gas to a public or private pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, 
elementary, secondary, or high school. Upon request for a 
revision of service by the school, or by the school system of 
which the school is a component, the local distribution 
company providing natural gas service to the school shall, 
within a reasonable period of time and upon mutual 
agreement, install a meter at the building wall of each 
building of the school that utilizes natural gas. The gas 
piping from the outlet of the meter to the inside of the 
building shall be installed above ground, and shall be 
maintained by the school in accordance with the 
requirements of the Office of the State Fire Marshal. The 
outside piping that is upstream of the meter to the outlet of 
the meter shall be owned and maintained by the local 
distribution company in accordance with Minimum Pipeline 
Safety Regulations. The pipeline system of a school that 

does not request a revision of service described by this 
paragraph shall be deemed a Special Class System, and 
subject to the requirements of such system. 

Special Class SystemCa pipeline system for distributing 
gas to a federal, state or local government facility or a 
private facility performing a government function, where the 
operator receives or purchases gas from an outside source, 
and distributes the gas through a pipeline system to more 
than one outlet beyond the meter or regulator, which 
ultimate outlet may, but need not be, individually metered or 
charged a fee for the gas. Any exemption from pipeline 
safety regulation granted to master meter systems will apply 
to Special Class Systems. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:217 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:509 (July 1984), LR 18:852 (August 1992), LR 
20:442 (April 1994), LR 21:821 (August 1995), LR 24:1306 (July 
1998), LR 27:1535 (September 2001), LR 29:1106 (July 2003). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0307#013 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Child Care Assistance ProgramCProof of Social  
Security Numbers as an Eligibility Requirement  

(LAC 67:III.5103) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has amended the Louisiana Administrative Code, 
Title 67, Part III, Subpart 12, Child Care Assistance. 

Pursuant to clarification found in transmittal  
ACYF-PI-CC-00-04 from the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Administration on Children, Youth, 
and Families, regarding disclosure of Social Security 
numbers as part of the eligibility process for child care, the 
agency has amended §5103, Conditions of Eligibility, by 
eliminating the requirement that low-income families 
provide proof of Social Security numbers for all household 
members as a condition of eligibility for child care 
assistance. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 12.  Child Care Assistance 

Chapter 51. Child Care Assistance 
Subchapter B. Child Care Assistance Program 
§5103. Conditions of Eligibility 

A. - A.1. ... 
B. Low-income families not receiving FITAP cash 

assistance, including former FITAP recipients who are given 
priority consideration, must meet the following eligibility 
criteria. 

1. - 6. ... 
7. The family requests child care services, provides 

the information and verification necessary for determining 
eligibility and benefit amount, and meets appropriate 
application requirements established by the state. Required 
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verification includes birth verification for all children in 
need of care, proof of all countable household income, and 
proof of the hours of all employment/education/training. 

C. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193, 42 U.S.C. 9859 et seq. and 
§205, 5 U.S.C. §552. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:356 (February 
1998), amended LR 25:2444 (December 1999), LR 26:2827 
(December 2000), LR 27:1932 (November 2001), LR 28:1490 
(June 2002), LR 29:43 (January 2003), LR 29:1106 (July 2003). 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0307#048 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Support EnforcementCRecovery Action  
(LAC 67:III.2516) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, Support Enforcement Services has amended the 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 67, Part III, Subpart 4, 
Support Enforcement Services (SES), the Support 
Enforcement Program. 

Pursuant to R.S. 46:233.1.C the agency has amended the 
procedure for recovery of erroneous child support payments. 
The amendment allows SES to automatically withhold up to 
10 percent from an individual's future child support 
payments to correct an overpayment if the individual's 
consent is given during the initial application process. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 4.  Support Enforcement Services 

Chapter 25. Support Enforcement 
Subchapter D. Collection and Distribution of Support 

Payments 
§2516. Recovery of Erroneous Child Support Payments 

A. Upon notification that an erroneous payment has been 
made, SES will automatically withhold up to 10 percent 
from each future child support payment to recover this loss 
when the individual has given consent to the automatic 
recovery during the application process. If the individual 
disagrees with an automatic recovery during the application 
process, upon notification from SES the individual will be 
allowed 30 days to arrange for repayment prior to SES 
initiating action to recover the loss by withholding up to 10 
percent of each future support payment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 302.32, 302.51, and RS 46:233(1)(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:1327 (October 
1997), amended LR 29:1107 (July 2003). 

 
Gwendolyn Hamilton 
Secretary 

0307#060 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of the Secretary 

Class "A" Child Day Care (LAC 48:I.Chapter 53) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Licensing has amended the Louisiana 
Administrative Code, Title 48, Part I, Subpart 3, Licensing 
and Certification. This Rule is mandated by R.S. 46:1401 et 
seq. These standards were revised to supersede any previous 
regulations heretofore published and are effective October 1, 
2003. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH – GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 53. Day Care Centers 
§5301. Purpose 

A. It is the intent of the legislature to protect the health, 
safety, and well-being of the children of the state who are in 
out-of-home care on a regular or consistent basis. Toward 
that end, it is the purpose of Chapter 14 of Title 46 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 to establish statewide 
minimum standards for the safety and well-being of 
children, to ensure maintenance of these standards, and to 
regulate conditions in these facilities through a program of 
licensing. It shall be the policy of the state to ensure 
protection of all individuals under care in child care facilities 
and placement agencies and to encourage and assist in the 
improvement of programs.  

B. It is the further intent of the legislature that the 
freedom of religion of all citizens shall be inviolate. This 
Chapter shall not give the Department of Social Services 
jurisdiction or authority to regulate, control, supervise, or in 
any way be involved in the form, manner, or content of any 
curriculum or instruction of a school or facility sponsored by 
a church or religious organization so long as the civil and 
human rights of the clients and residents are not violated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1107 (July 2003). 
§5302. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 
1. The State of Louisiana, Department of Social 

Services, is charged with the responsibility for developing 
and publishing standards for the licensing of child care 
centers. The licensing authority of the Department of Social 
Services is established by R.S. 46:1401 et seq. (Act 367 of 
1956 and amended by Act 152 of 1962, Act 241 of 1968, Act 
290 of 1976, Act 678 of 1977, Act 409 of 1978, Act 286 of 
1985, Act 1463 of 1997 and Act 1237 of 1999) making 
mandatory the licensing of all child care facilities and child 
placing agencies, including child care centers.  
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2. In accordance with Act 1237 of the 1999 
Legislative Session, a child care center is defined as any 
place or facility operated by any institution, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the 
primary purpose of providing care, supervision, and 
guidance of 7 or more children, not including those related 
to the caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day 
week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or adopted 
child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal 
custody of the caregiver. A recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and does not 
operate more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week is 
not considered a child care center. 

B. Penalties 
1. All child care facilities, including facilities owned 

or operated by any governmental, profit, nonprofit, private, 
or church agency shall be licensed. 

2. The law provides a penalty for operation of a center 
without a valid license. The penalty for operation without a 
valid license is a fine of not less than $75 nor more than 
$250 for each day of operation without a license. 

C. Inspections 
1. According to law, it shall be the duty of the 

Department of Social Services, through its duly authorized 
agents, to inspect at regular intervals not to exceed one year 
or as deemed necessary by the department and without 
previous notice all child care facilities and child-placing 
agencies subject to the provisions of the Chapter (R.S. 
46:1401 et seq.). 

2. Whenever the department is advised or has reason 
to believe that any person, agency or organization is 
operating a non-exempt child care facility without a license, 
the department shall make an investigation to ascertain the 
facts. 

3. Whenever the department is advised or has reason 
to believe that any person, agency or organization is 
operating in violation of the Child Care Center Class A 
Minimum Standards, the department shall complete a 
complaint investigation. All reports of mistreatment of 
children coming to the attention of the Department of Social 
Services will be investigated. 

D. The Louisiana Advisory Committee 
1. The Louisiana Advisory Committee on Child Care 

Facilities and Child Placing Agencies was created by Act 
286 of 1985 to serve three functions: 

a. to develop new minimum standards for licensure 
of Class "A" facilities ("New" meaning the first regulations 
written after Act 286 of 1985); 

b. to review and consult with the Department of 
Social Services on all revisions written by the Bureau of 
Licensing after the initial regulations and to review all 
standards, Rules, and regulations for Class "A" facilities at 
least every three years; and 

c. to advise and consult with the Department of 
Social Services on matters pertaining to decisions to deny, 
revoke or refuse a Class "A" license. 

2. The committee is composed of 19 voting members, 
appointed by the governor, including provider and consumer 
representation from all types of child care services, the 
educational and professional community and the director of 

the Bureau of Licensing who serves as an ex-officio 
member. 

E. Waivers 
1. The Secretary of the Department of Social Services, 

in specific instances, may waive compliance with a 
minimum standard if it is determined that the economic 
impact is sufficiently great to make compliance impractical, 
as long as the health and well-being of the staff and/or 
children are not imperiled. If it is determined that the facility 
or agency is meeting or exceeding the intent of a standard or 
regulation, the standard or regulation may be deemed to be 
met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1107 (July 2003). 
§5303. Procedures 

A. Application 
1. Anyone applying for a license after the effective 

date of these standards shall meet all of the requirements 
herein.  

2. Before beginning operation, it is mandatory to 
obtain a license from the Department of Social Services, 
Bureau of Licensing. To do so, the following steps should be 
followed. 

a. Prior to purchasing, leasing, etc., carefully check 
all local zoning and building ordinances in the area where 
the facility is to be located. Standards from Office of Public 
Health, Sanitarian Services; Office of the State Fire Marshal, 
Code Enforcement and Building Safety; and City Fire 
Department (if applicable) should be obtained. 

b. After securing building, obtain an application 
form issued by: 

Department of Social Services 
Bureau of Licensing 
P. O. Box 3078 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3078 
Phone: (225) 922-0015 
Fax: (225) 922-0014 

Web address: www.dss.state.la.us/offos/html/licensing.html 

c. The completed application shall indicate Class 
"A" license. Anyone applying for State or Federal funding 
shall apply for Class "A" license. Licensure fees are required 
to be paid by all providers. A Class "A" license may not be 
changed to a Class "B" license if revocation procedures are 
pending. 

d. After the center's location has been established, 
complete and return the application form. It is necessary to 
contact the following offices prior to building or renovating 
a center: 
 i. Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services; 
 ii. Office of the State Fire Marshal, Code 
Enforcement and Building Safety; 
 iii. Office of City Fire Department (if applicable); 
 iv. Zoning Department (if applicable); and 
 v. City or Parish Building Permit Office. 

e. After the application has been received by the 
Bureau of Licensing, the bureau will request the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, Office of City Fire Department (if 
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applicable), Office of Public Health and any known required 
local agencies to make an inspection of the location, as per 
their standards. However, it is the applicant's responsibility 
to obtain these inspections and approvals. 

f. A licensing specialist will visit the center to 
conduct a licensing survey. 

g. A license will be issued on an initial application 
when the following items have been met and written 
verification is received by the Bureau of Licensing: 
 i. state fire approval; 
 ii. city fire approval (if applicable); 
 iii. health approval; 
 iv. zoning approval (if applicable); 
 v. full licensure fee paid; 
 vi. director meets qualifications; 
 vii. director designee meets qualifications (if 
applicable); 
 viii. three current, positive, signed references on 
director; 
 ix. three current, positive, signed references on 
director designee (if applicable); and 
 x. licensure survey verifying compliance with all 
minimum standards. 

3. When a center changes location, it is considered a 
new operation and a new application and fee for licensure 
shall be submitted. All items listed in §5303.A.2.g shall be 
submitted, except references and director/director designee 
qualifications if the director/director designee remains the 
same. 

4. When a center changes ownership, the following 
information must be submitted prior to the sale or day of the 
sale in order for a license to be issued: 

a. a new application; 
b. full licensure fee; 
c. current health and state fire approval; 
d. city fire approval (if applicable); 
e. documentation of director qualifications as listed 

in §5310.A and B; 
f. letter from previous owner noting sale of child 

care business; 
g. documentation of director designee qualifications 

as listed in §5310.A and B (if applicable); 
h. three current, positive signed references on the 

director; 
i. three current, positive, signed references on 

director designee (if applicable); and 
j. copy of bill of sale. 
 
NOTE: If the above information is not received prior to the 

sale or day of the sale, the new owner must not operate until a 
license is issued. When the application is received, it will be 
treated as an initial application rather than a change of 
ownership. 

5. When a center changes class type, the following 
information shall be submitted to the bureau prior to the 
issuance of the new license: 

a. written request from the provider; 
b. full licensure fee; 
c. documentation of commercial liability insurance 

in accordance with §5305.B and §5331.J; and 
d. documentation of director/director designee 

qualifications as listed in §5310.A and B. 

e. verification of substantial compliance with 
current child care regulations. 

6. A license shall be valid only for the address on the 
application to a particular owner and is not transferable to 
another person or location or subject to sale. Two licenses 
shall not be issued simultaneously for the same physical 
address. 

7. When a business is sold, discontinued, the 
operation has moved to a new location, or the license has 
been revoked, the current license immediately becomes null 
and void. 

8. All new construction or renovation of a center 
requires approval from the agencies listed in §5303.A.2.d 
and the Bureau of Licensing prior to occupying the new 
space. 

9. The bureau is authorized to determine the period 
during which the license shall be effective. A license is valid 
for the period for which it is issued unless it is revoked due 
to provider's failure to maintain compliance with minimum 
standards. 

B. Fees 
1. All fees shall be paid by certified check or money 

order only and are non-refundable.  
2. An application fee of $25 shall be submitted with 

all initial applications. This fee will be applied toward the 
total licensure fee which is due prior to licensure of the 
provider. This fee is to be paid by all initial and change of 
location providers. The full licensure fee shall be paid on all 
change of ownership applications. The full licensure fee 
shall be paid for all class changes. 

3. Annual licensure fees are required prior to renewal 
of the license. License fee schedules (based on capacity) are 
listed below. 

a. 15 or fewer: $25 
b. 16-50: $100 
c. 51-100: $175 
d. 101or more: $250 

4. Other licensure fees: 
a. A replacement fee of $25 for any provider 

replacing a license when changes to the license are 
requested, e.g., change in capacity, name change, age range 
change, transportation change. (There is no processing 
charge when the request coincides with regular renewal of 
license.) 
 i. Capacity increase is effective when the 
following is received and approved by the bureau: written, 
signed request; fee; state fire approval; city fire approval (if 
applicable); state health approval; and measurement of the 
additional space by the bureau. 
 ii. Transportation addition is effective when the 
following is received and approved by the bureau: written, 
signed request; fee; copy of appropriate driver's license(s); 
and insurance. 
 iii. Name change, age range change, and addition 
of nighttime care is effective when the request and fee are 
received and approved. 
 iv. Change in director/director designee does not 
require a fee; however, documentation of qualifications and 
three reference letters are needed in order to process the 
request. 

b. A processing fee of $5 for issuing a duplicate 
license with no changes. 
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C. Relicensing 
1. The annual relicensing survey is similar to the 

original licensing survey. Documentation of the previous 12 
months' activity shall be available for review. The director 
will have an opportunity to review the survey deficiencies (if 
any). 

2. A license is issued for a period of up to one year 
based upon provider's compliance with minimum standards. 
Before expiration of the license, re-inspections by the Office 
of Public Health, Sanitarian Services; Office of the State Fire 
Marshal, Code Enforcement and Building Safety; City Fire 
(if applicable) and the Bureau of Licensing shall be required. 

3. If the survey reveals that the provider is not 
meeting minimum requirements, a recommendation will be 
made to the Louisiana Advisory Committee on Child Care 
Facilities and Child Placing Agencies that the license be 
revoked or not renewed. 

4. The bureau shall be notified prior to making 
changes which may have an effect upon the license, e.g., age 
range of children served, usage of indoor and outdoor space, 
director, hours/months/days of operation, transportation, etc. 

D. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License. An 
application for a license may be denied, or a license may be 
revoked, or renewal denied, for any of the following reasons: 

1. violation of any provision of R.S. 46:1401 et seq. or 
failure to meet any of the minimum standards, Rules, 
regulations or orders promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services; 

2. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of the 
children; 

3. conviction of or a plea of guilty or nolo contender 
of a felony, or any offense of a violent or sexual nature, or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim; 

a. or, if the applicant is a firm or corporation, any of 
its board members or officers; 

b. or, the person designated to manage or supervise 
the center; 

4. hiring or continued employment of any individual 
(paid or non-paid staff) convicted of a felony or a plea of 
guilty or nolo contender of a felony or any offense of a 
violent or sexual nature or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim; 

5. if the owner or director of the center is not 
reputable; 

6. if the owner, director or a member of the staff is 
temperamentally or otherwise unsuited for the care of the 
children in the center; 

7. history of noncompliance; 
8. failure of the owner of the center to hire a qualified 

director; 
9. disapproval from any agency whose approval is 

required for licensure; 
10. non-payment of licensure fee and/or failure to 

submit application for renewal prior to the expiration of the 
current license; 

11. any validated instance of corporal punishment, 
physical punishment, cruel, severe, or unusual punishment, 
physical or sexual abuse and/or neglect if the owner is 
responsible or if the employee who is responsible remains in 
the employment of the provider;  

12. the center is closed and there are no plans for 
immediate re-opening and no means of verifying compliance 
with minimum standards for licensure; 

13. any act of fraud such as falsifying or altering 
documents required for licensure; 

14. provider refuses to allow the bureau to perform 
mandated duties, i.e., denying entrance to the center, lack of 
cooperation for completion of duties, etc.; 

15. presence or use of any recalled product by the 
provider that is listed in the newsletters issued by the Office 
of the Attorney General; or 

16. failure to attend any mandatory training session 
offered by the bureau. 

E. Appeal Procedure. If the license is refused, revoked or 
denied because the provider does not ensure the compliance 
with the minimum requirements for licensure, the procedure 
is as follows. 

1. The Department of Social Services, Bureau of 
Licensing, shall advise the director by certified letter of the 
reasons for refusal, revocation, or denial and the right of 
appeal. 

2. The director may appeal this decision by submitting 
a written request with the reasons to the Secretary of the 
Department of Social Services. Write to Department of 
Social Services, Bureau of Appeals, P. O. Box 2944, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-9118. This written request shall be post-
market within 30 days of the director's receipt of the above 
notification. 

3. The Bureau of Appeals shall set a hearing within 30 
days after receipt of such a request. An appeals hearing 
officer shall conduct the hearing. Within 90 days after the 
date the appeal is filed, the hearing officer shall advise the 
appellant by certified letter of the decision, either affirming 
or reversing the original decision. If the appeal is denied, the 
provider shall terminate operation of the center immediately. 

4. If the provider continues to operate without a 
license, the Department of Social Services may file suit in 
the district court in the parish in which the center is located 
for injunctive relief. 

F. Required Notification. Within 24 hours or the next 
workday, the director shall notify the bureau of the following 
reportable incidents. A verbal report is to be followed by a 
written report: 

1. any death of a child while in the care of the 
provider; 

2. any illness or injury requiring hospitalization or 
professional medical attention other than first aid of a child 
while in the care of the provider; 

3. any fire; 
4. any structural disaster;  
5. any emergency situation that requires temporarily 

relocating children; 
6. any unusual situation which affects the care of a 

child or children, e.g. child left unsupervised in the center, 
on the van, in play yard, on field trip, extended loss of 
power, water service, gas, etc.; or 

7. any child leaving the center unsupervised or with 
an unauthorized person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1108 (July 2003). 
§5304. Definitions 

AnniversaryCcenter's licensure year, determined by the 
month in which the initial license was issued to the 
provider/center and in which the license is eligible for 
renewal each year. 

BureauCthe Bureau of Licensing of the Department of 
Social Services. 

CapacityCthe number of children the provider is 
licensed to care for at any given time based on usable indoor 
and outdoor square footage as determined by the bureau. 

CenterCa child care facility as defined in §5302.A.1. 
Center StaffCall full or part-time paid or non-paid staff 

who perform routine services for the child care center and 
have direct or indirect contact with children at the center. 
Center staff includes the director, child care staff, and any 
other employees of the center such as the cook, housekeeper, 
driver, substitutes, and foster grandparents excluding extra-
curricular personnel. 

Change of LocationCchange of physical address of 
facility. 

Change of OwnershipCtransfer of ownership to 
someone other than the owner listed on the initial 
application. Ownership of the center business, not the 
building, determines the owner. Sale of a corporation also 
constitutes a change of ownership. Leasing of a child care 
business is not considered a change of ownership, but an 
initial application. 

Clock HourCinvolvement or participation in a learning 
situation for 60 minutes. 

Comparable SettingCexperience with pre-k, 
kindergarten or first grade, or the operator of a registered 
family day home. 

DepartmentCthe Department of Social Services of the 
state of Louisiana. 

Direct SupervisionCvisual contact at all times. 
DirectorC 

Center DirectorCthe on-site staff who is responsible 
for the day-to-day operation of the center as recorded with 
the Bureau of Licensing. For the purpose of these 
regulations the term director means center director or 
director designee, if applicable. 

Director DesigneeCthe on-site individual appointed 
by the director when the director is not an on-site employee 
at the licensed location. This individual shall meet director 
qualifications. 

Executive DirectorCthe owner or administrator. If on-
site and responsible for the management, administration and 
supervision of the center, the executive director is also the 
center director. If not on-site or not functioning as center 
director, the executive director maintains responsibility for 
the management, administration and supervision of the 
center(s) through a center director or director designee. 

DisciplineCthe ongoing positive process of helping 
children develop inner control so that they can manage their 
own behavior in an appropriate and acceptable manner by 
using corrective action to change the inappropriate behavior. 

DocumentationCwritten evidence or proof, signed and 
dated by parties involved (director, parents, staff, etc.), on 
site and available for review. 

Existing CenterCa provider with a valid license at a 
particular location prior to the effective date of these 
standards. 

Extra-CurricularPersonnel/Therapeutic ProfessionalsC 
individuals who are not employees of the center, but who 
come to the center to provide therapy, services, or 
enrichment activities for an individual child or group of 
children. Examples: computer instructor, dance instructor, 
librarian, tumble bus personnel, therapeutic personnel 
(occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech therapist), 
nutritionist, early interventionist, nurse. 

GroupCthe number of children assigned to a caregiver 
or team of caregivers occupying an individual classroom or 
well-defined space within a larger room on a consistent or 
daily basis. 

MedicationCall internal and external drugs, whether 
over-the-counter or prescribed.  

Montessori SchoolCa facility accredited as a Montessori 
School by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education under R.S. 17:3401 et seq. 

Nighttime CareCcare provided after 9:00 p.m. and in 
which no individual child remains for more than 24 hours in 
one continuous stay. 

Non-Vehicular ExcursionCthe children are not in the 
licensed area (play yard or center) and not in a vehicle. 

Owner or ProviderCa public or private organization or 
individual who delivers child care services for children. 

PostedCprominently displayed in a conspicuous 
location in an area accessible to and regularly used by 
parents. 

Shall or MustCmandatory. 
ShouldCurged, advised or may. 
Staff-in-ChargeCthe on-site staff appointed by the 

director as responsible for supervising the operation of the 
center during the temporary absence of the director. 

Student TraineeCan individual who observes in the 
center as a course requirement, is never left alone with 
children, nor counted in the child/staff ratio. 

Temporary AbsenceCabsence for errands, conferences, 
etc. 

TransportationCarranging or providing transportation 
of children for any reason including field trips and 
transportation by contract. 

VisitorCanyone who enters the facility other than center 
staff, therapeutic professionals, extracurricular personnel, 
and in the case of a church or school, any other routine 
employees such as a pastor, principal, teacher, etc. 

Water ActivityCa water-related activity in which 
children, under adult supervision, are in, on, near, or 
immersed in a body of water such as swimming pools, 
wading pools, water parks, lakes, rivers or beaches, etc.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1111 (July 2003). 
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§5305. General Requirements 
A. A Louisiana child care license with current 

information and current expiration date shall be on display in 
an area accessible to and regularly used by parents and 
visitors, except for church affiliated centers (R.S. 
46:1408.D) that choose to keep the license on file and 
available upon request. 

B. The provider shall maintain in force at all times 
current commercial liability insurance for the operation of a 
center to ensure medical coverage for children in the event 
of accident or injury. The provider is responsible for 
payment of medical expenses of a child injured while in the 
provider's care. Documentation shall consist of the insurance 
policy or current binder that includes the name of the child 
care facility, physical address of the facility, name of the 
insurance company, policy number, period of coverage and 
explanation of the coverage.  

C. Parents shall not be required to waive the provider's 
responsibility. 

D. The provider shall have documentation of yearly 
sanitation inspection and current approval from the Office of 
Public Health, Sanitarian Services. If food is catered or 
transported, approval is needed from the health department. 

E. The provider shall have documentation of yearly 
safety inspection and current approval from the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. 

F. The provider shall have documentation of yearly 
safety inspection and current approval from the City Fire 
Department (if applicable). 

G. The provider shall have certificate of occupancy 
(zoning), if applicable. 

H. A daily attendance record for children, completed by 
the parent or center staff, including the time of arrival and 
departure of each child and the name of the person to whom 
the child was released, shall be maintained. This record shall 
accurately reflect the children on the child care premises at 
any given time. If the record is completed by center staff, 
that individual shall write the first and last name of the 
person to whom the child was released and sign his/her own 
name. Children who leave and return to the center during the 
day shall be signed in/out. A computerized sign in/out 
procedure is acceptable if the record accurately reflects the 
time of arrival and departure as well as the name of the 
person to whom the child was released. 

I. A daily attendance record for staff, including the 
director/owner, to include the time of arrival and departure 
shall be maintained. Staff shall document in/out when not on 
the child care premises. This record shall accurately reflect 
persons on the child care premises at any given time. 

J. The provider shall have an individual immediately 
available in case of emergency. The name and telephone 
number of the emergency person shall be posted near the 
telephone. 

K. Any visitor to the center shall be accompanied by a 
staff person at all times. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1112 (July 2003). 

§5306. Policies and Procedures Related to Children 
A. Prior to admission, the director, in consultation with 

the parent, shall determine that the individual needs of each 
child can adequately be met by the center's program and 
facilities. Provider shall have a written description of 
admission policies and criteria which expresses the needs, 
problems, situations or patterns best addressed by its 
program. 

B. A schedule of the day's plan of activities, allowing for 
flexibility and change, shall be posted. The program of 
activities shall be age-appropriate and shall be adhered to 
with reasonable closeness, but shall accommodate and have 
due regard for individual needs and differences among the 
children. The program shall provide time and materials for 
both vigorous and quiet activities for children to share or to 
be alone, indoor and outdoor play, and rest. Regular time 
shall be allowed for routines such as washing, lunch, rest, 
snacks and putting away toys. Active and quiet periods shall 
be alternated so as to guard against over-stimulation of the 
child. 

C. Programs/movies with violent or adult content 
(including soap operas) shall not be permitted in the 
presence of children. 

D. Children five years and younger shall have a daily 
rest period of at least one hour. Providers that serve children 
in half-day programs are not required to schedule napping 
periods for these children. 

E. While awake, children shall not remain in a crib/baby 
bed, swing, highchair, carrier, playpen, etc. for more than 30 
consecutive minutes. 

F. Discipline. The provider shall establish a policy in 
regard to methods of discipline. Any form of punishment 
that violates the spirit of this standard of discipline, even 
though it may not be specifically mentioned as forbidden, is 
prohibited. This written posted policy shall clearly state ALL 
types of positive discipline that are used and that the 
following methods of discipline are prohibited. 

1. No child shall be subject to physical punishment, 
corporal punishment, verbal abuse or threats. 

2. Cruel, severe, unusual, or unnecessary punishment 
shall not be inflicted upon children.  

3. Derogatory remarks shall not be made in the 
presence of children about family members of children in 
care or about the children themselves. 

4. No child or group of children shall be allowed to 
discipline another child. 

5. When a child is removed from the group for 
disciplinary reasons, he shall never be out of sight of a staff 
member. 

6. No child shall be deprived of meals or snacks or 
any part thereof for disciplinary reasons. 

G. Abuse and Neglect 
1. As mandated reporters, all center staff shall report 

any suspected abuse and/or neglect of a child in accordance 
with R.S. 14:403 to the local child protection agency. This 
written policy as well as the local child protection agency's 
telephone number shall be posted. 

H. Complaint Procedure 
1. Parents shall be advised of the licensing authority 

of the bureau along with the current telephone number and 
address. Parents shall also be advised that they may call or 
write the bureau should they have significant, unresolved 
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licensing complaints. This written policy as well as the 
current telephone number and address of the bureau shall be 
posted. 

I. Open Door Policy 
1. Parents shall be informed that they are welcome to 

visit the center anytime during regular hours of operation as 
long as their child is enrolled. This written policy shall be 
posted. 

J. Non-discrimination Policy 
1. Discrimination by child care providers on the basis 

of race, color, creed, sex, national origin, handicapping 
condition, ancestry, or whether the child is being breast-fed 
is prohibited. This written policy shall be posted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1112 (July 2003). 
§5307. Children's Records 

A. A record shall be maintained on each child to include: 
1. child's information form (mastercard) listing the 

child's name, birth date, sex, date of admission, name and 
phone number of child's physician and dentist, dietary 
restrictions, and allergies; signed and dated by the parent; 

2. parental authorization to secure emergency medical 
treatment; 

3. signed agreements between the provider and the 
parent for each child giving permission to release the child 
to a third party listed by the parent including any other child 
care facilities or transportation services. A child shall never 
be released to anyone unless authorized in writing by the 
parent; 

4. signed agreements between the provider and the 
parent to transport the child. Daily trip authorization shall 
include name of child, type of service (i.e., to and from 
home, to and from school), parent's signature and date. 

B. The provider shall maintain the confidentiality and 
security of all children's records. Employees of the center 
shall not disclose or knowingly permit the disclosure of any 
information concerning the child or his/her family, directly 
or indirectly, to any unauthorized person. 

C. The provider shall obtain written, informed consent 
from the parent prior to releasing any information, 
recordings and/or photographs from which the child might 
be identified, except for authorized state and federal 
agencies. 

D. The provider utilizing any type of recordings or 
taping of children including but not limited to digital 
recordings, videotaping, audio recordings, web cam, etc. 
shall obtain documentation signed and dated by the parent 
indicating their awareness of such recordings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1113 (July 2003). 

§5308. Retention of Records 
A. Documentation of the previous 12 months' activity 

shall be available for review. Records shall be accessible 
during the hours the facility is open and operating. 

B. For licensing purposes, children's information shall be 
kept on file a minimum of one year from date of discharge 
from the center.  

C. For licensing purposes, personnel records shall be 
kept on file a minimum of one year from termination of 
employment from the center.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1113 (July 2003). 
§5309. Required Staff 

A. Each center shall have a qualified director who is an 
on-site full-time employee at the licensed location and is 
responsible for planning, managing, and controlling the 
center's daily activities, as well as responding to parental 
concerns and ensuring that minimum licensing requirements 
are met. When the director is not an on-site full-time 
employee at the licensed location, there shall be a qualified 
director designee who is an on-site full-time employee 
responsible for planning, managing, and controlling the 
center's daily activities, as well as responding to parental 
concerns and ensuring that minimum licensing requirements 
are met. 

B. When the director or director designee is not on the 
premises due to a temporary absence, there shall be an 
individual appointed as staff-in-charge who is at least 21 
years of age. This staff shall be given the authority to 
respond to emergencies, inspections/inspectors, parental 
concerns, and have access to all required information. 

C. If the number of children in care exceeds 42, the 
director/director designee's duties shall consist only of 
performing administrative functions. 

D. There shall be regularly employed staff who are 
capable of fulfilling job duties of the position to which they 
are assigned. 

E. Adequate provisions for cooking and housekeeping 
duties shall be provided. These duties shall not interfere with 
required supervision of children or required child/staff ratios. 

F. There shall be provisions for substitute staff who are 
qualified to fulfill duties of the position to which they are 
assigned. 

G. Child care staff shall be age 18 years or older. The 
provider may, however, include in the staff-child ratio, a 
person 16 or 17 years old who works under the direct 
supervision of a qualified adult staff. No one under age 16 
shall be used as child care staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1113 (July 2003). 
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§5310. Director Qualifications 
A. The director/director designee shall be at least 21 

years of age. 
B. The director/director designee shall have 

documentation of at least one of the following upon date of 
hire as director or director designee: 

1. a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or 
university with at least 12 credit hours of child development 
or early childhood education and one year of experience in a 
licensed child care center or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the bureau; 

2. an Associate of Arts degree in child development or 
a closely related area, and one year of experience in a 
licensed child care center, or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the bureau; 

3. a National Administrator Credential as awarded by 
the National Child Care Association, and one year 
experience in a licensed child care center, or comparable 
setting, subject to approval by the bureau; 

4. a Child Development Associate Credential (CDA) 
and one year of experience in a licensed child care center, or 
comparable setting, subject to approval by the bureau; 

5. diploma from a post secondary technical early 
childhood education training program approved by the 
Board of Regents or correspondence course approved by the 
Bureau and one year of experience in a licensed child care 
center, or comparable setting, subject to approval by the 
bureau; 

6. three years of experience as a director or staff in a 
licensed child care center, or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the bureau; plus six credit hours in child care, 
child development, or early childhood education or 90 
"clock hours" of training approved by the bureau. Up to 
three credit hours or 45 clock hours may be in 
management/administration education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1114 (July 2003). 
§5311. Personnel Records 

A. A record for each paid and non-paid staff person, 
including substitutes and foster grandparents shall be on file 
at the center. Personnel record shall include: 

1. an application and/or a staff information form with 
the following: 

a. name; 
b. date of birth; 
c. address and telephone number; 
d. previous training/work experience; 
e. educational background; and 
f. employee's starting and termination date; 

2. documentation of three current, positive reference 
checks or telephone notes signed and dated. These 
references shall be obtained from persons not related to the 
employee; 

3. written job descriptions for every position at the 
center; 

4. a written statement of good health signed by a 
physician or designee. Health statement dated within three 

months prior to offer of employment or within one month 
after date of employment is acceptable. A health statement is 
required every three years. Originals shall be presented upon 
request; 

5. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S.15:587.1. Provider shall request 
this clearance prior to the employment of any center staff. A 
criminal record clearance is not transferable from one 
employer to another. No staff with a criminal conviction of a 
felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contender of a felony, or any 
offense of a violent or sexual nature, or any offense 
involving a juvenile victim shall be employed in a Class "A" 
child care center.  

B. The following information shall be kept on file for 
therapeutic professionals and extracurricular personnel, e.g. 
computer instructor, dance instructor, librarian, tumble bus 
personnel, etc.: 

1. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S.15:587.1. Provider shall request 
this clearance prior to individual being present in the center. 
No individual with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea 
of guilty or nolo contender of a felony, or any offense of a 
violent or sexual nature, or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim shall be in a Class "A" child care center. Note: 
Individuals employed by the school system may have on file 
at the center, a letter from school system administrative staff 
documenting that a criminal record clearance has been 
completed through Louisiana State Police; 

2. documentation of their presence at the facility to 
include: 

a. name; 
b. date of visit; 
c. arrival and departure times; and 
d. reason in center. 

C. The following information shall be kept on file at the 
center for each student trainee: 

1. an application and/or a staff information form with 
the following: 

a. name; 
b. date of birth; and 
c. address and telephone number; 

2. job descriptions to include job duties to be 
performed and name of supervisor; 

3. documentation of their presence at the facility to 
include: 

a. name; 
b. date of visit; 
c. arrival and departure times; and 
d. reason in center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1114 (July 2003). 
§5312. Staff Development and Training 

A. Orientation Training 
1. Within one week of employment and prior to 

having sole responsibility for a group of children, each staff 
member, including substitutes and foster grandparents, shall 
receive orientation training to include the following topics: 
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a. center policies and practices including health and 
safety procedures; 

b. emergency and evacuation plan; 
c. supervision of children; 
d. discipline policy; 
e. job description; 
f. individual needs of the children enrolled; 
g. detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect; 
h. current Child Care Class "A" Minimum 

Licensing Standards; and 
i. confidentiality of information regarding children 

and their families. 
2. This training shall be followed by four days of 

supervised work with children. Documentation shall consist 
of a statement/checklist in the staff record signed and dated 
by the staff person and director, attesting to having received 
such orientation training, and the dates of the supervised 
work with children. 

B. Quarterly Training 
1. The director shall conduct, at a minimum, one staff 

training session/meeting every three months. Documentation 
shall consist of the date of the training session, training 
topics, and signatures (not initials) of all staff in attendance. 

C. Annual Review 
1. All staff, including substitutes and foster 

grandparents, shall have a signed and dated 
checklist/statement that the following topics are annually 
reviewed: 

a. center policies and practices including health and 
safety procedures; 

b. emergency and evacuation plan; 
c. supervision of children; 
d. discipline policy; 
e. job description; 
f. individual needs of the children enrolled; 
g. detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect; 
h. current Child Day Care Class "A" Minimum 

Standards; 
i. confidentiality of information regarding children 

and their families. 
D. Continuing Education 

1. The director shall provide opportunities for 
continuing education of staff through attendance at child 
care workshops or conferences, for paid and non-paid staff 
who are left alone with children, or who have supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children. The child care staff, 
excluding foster grandparents, shall obtain 12 clock hours of 
approved training per center's anniversary year in job related 
subject areas. At least three of the 12 clock hours of training 
for directors/director designees shall be in administrative 
issues. Documentation shall consist of attendance records or 
certificates received by staff. This is in addition to the 
required training hours from the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, pediatric first aid and infant/child/adult CPR. 
Medication administration training by a Child Care Health 
Consultant may count toward fulfilling three of the 
mandated 12 hours of continuing education training. All 
training shall have prior approval by the Department of 
Social Services. Original certificates shall be made available 
upon request. 

2. Cooks or drivers who are neither left alone with 
children, nor have supervisory nor disciplinary authority 

over children shall complete at least three clock hours of 
training in job related topics per center's anniversary year. 

E. CPR and First Aid 
1. A minimum of at least 50 percent of all staff on the 

premises and accessible to the children at all times shall 
have documentation of current infant/child/adult certification 
in CPR. Original cards shall be made available upon request. 
This training shall be approved by the Department of Social 
Services prior to acceptance. 

2. Centers with multiple buildings or floors, however, 
shall have at least one currently certified staff in approved 
infant/child/adult CPR in each building and on each floor of 
the center. 

3. A minimum of at least 50 percent of all staff on the 
premises and accessible to children shall have 
documentation of current pediatric first aid certification. 
Original cards shall be made available upon request. This 
certification shall be approved by the Department of Social 
Services prior to acceptance. 

4. Centers with multiple buildings or floors, however, 
shall have at least one currently certified staff in approved 
pediatric first aid in each building and on each floor of the 
center. 

5. At least one staff in each vehicle (center provided 
or contract) shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and pediatric first aid 
certification.  

6. At least 50 percent of the supervising staff on the 
field trip shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and pediatric first aid 
certification. 

7. Non-vehicular excursions shall require at least one 
staff in attendance and accessible to children at all times 
with documented current certification in infant/child/adult 
CPR and pediatric first aid. 

F. Emergency Procedures 
1. The director shall ensure that written procedures for 

emergencies and evacuation as appropriate for the area in 
which the center is located such as fire, flood, tornado, 
hurricane, chemical spill, train derailment, etc. are available. 

NOTE: For additional information contact the Office of 
Emergency Preparedness (Civil Defense) in your area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1114 (July 2003). 
§5313. Water Activities  

A. The provider shall obtain written authorization from 
the parent for the child to participate in any water activity. 
The statement shall describe all types of water activities 
provided and the authorization shall be updated at least 
annually and shall list the child's name, type of water 
activity, location of water activity, parent's signature and 
date.  

B. On-site and off-site wading/swimming pool, or other 
water activities shall require at least two staff or other 
supervising adults to be trained in infant/child/adult CPR 
and pediatric first aid. One supervising adult shall be trained 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1116

in an approved community water safety course. Providers 
who have wading pools with a depth of less than two feet 
shall not be required to have a staff with community water 
safety training. 

1. If children are taken to off-site water activities, 
documentation shall be on file at the center that the director 
has verified that the supervising adult meets the above 
requirements or the lifeguard on duty is currently certified. 

2. The provider shall ensure that appropriate water 
safety devices are used when children are participating in 
water activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1115 (July 2003). 
§5315. Required Child/Staff Ratios 

A. Child/staff ratios are established to ensure the safety 
of all children. Only those staff members directly involved in 
child care and supervision shall be considered in assessing 
child/staff ratio. Child/staff ratio staff shall be met at all 
times as the number of children supervised by one staff shall 
not exceed the ratios as indicated below; however, there 
shall always be a minimum of two child care staff present 
during hours of operation when children are present. 

 

Child/Staff 
Ages of Children Ratio 

Infants under 12 months 5:1 
One year old 7:1 
Two year old         11:1 
Three year old 13:1 
Four year old 15:1 
Five year old 19:1 
Six year old and up 23:1 

 
1. An average of the child/staff ratio may be applied 

to mixed groups of children ages two, three, four, and five. 
Ratios for children under two or over five years old are 
excluded from averaging. When a mixed group includes 
children less than two years of age, the age of the youngest 
child determines the ratio for the group to which the 
youngest child is assigned. When a mixed group includes 
children both older and younger than six years old and older, 
the ages of the children less than six determine the ratio for 
the group.  

2. During naptime, required staffing shall be present 
in the center to satisfy child/staff ratios. 

B. Child/staff ratio plus one additional adult shall be met 
for all field trips and non-vehicular excursions. 

C. A designated number of children shall relate daily to a 
designated staff on a regular and consistent basis. 

D. When the nature of a special need or the number of 
children with special needs warrants added care, the provider 
shall add sufficient staff as deemed necessary by the bureau 
to compensate for these needs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1116 (July 2003). 
§5317. Supervision 

A. Children shall be under direct supervision at all times 
including naptime. Children shall never be left alone in any 
room or outdoors without a staff present. Children, 
excluding infants, may be grouped together at naptime with 
one staff supervising the children sleeping. All children 
sleeping shall be in the sight of the naptime worker. 

B. While on duty with a group of children, child care 
staff shall devote their entire time in supervision of the 
children, in meeting the needs of the children, and in 
participation with them in their activities. 

C. Individuals who do not serve a purpose related to the 
care of children and/or hinder supervision of the children 
shall not be present in the center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1116 (July 2003). 
§5319. Food Service and Nutrition 

A. Well-balanced and nourishing meals and snacks shall 
be provided as specified under the Child Care Food Program 
of the United States Department of Agriculture (See 
Appendix A). 

B. Additional servings of nutritious food over and above 
the required daily minimum shall be made available to 
children as needed if not contraindicated by special diets. 

C. Meals and snacks shall be served at 2 1/2 to 3-hour 
intervals. 

D. Current weekly menus for meals and snacks listing 
specific food items served shall be prominently posted. 
Menu substitutions shall be recorded on or near the posted 
menu. 

E. Children's food shall be served on individual plates, 
napkins, paper towels or in cups, as appropriate. 

F. Providers who do not serve breakfast shall have food 
available for children arriving in the morning without having 
eaten this meal.  

G. Food shall not be sold to the children. Soft drink 
vending machines and other food dispensers for personnel 
use shall be located outside of the children's play areas.  

H. Infants shall be held while being bottle-fed. An infant 
or any child who can hold a bottle shall not be placed in a 
crib, on a mat, cot, etc. with the bottle unless written 
permission is obtained from the parent. 

I. A bottle shall not be propped at any time. 
J. Daily written reports to include liquid intake, food 

intake, child's disposition, bowel movements, eating and 
sleeping patterns shall be given to parents of infants. 

K. Microwave ovens shall not be used for warming 
infant bottles or infant food. 

L. Developmentally appropriate equipment shall be used 
at mealtimes, such as feeding tables, highchairs, etc.  

M. Drinking water shall be available indoors and 
outdoors to all children. Drinking water shall be offered at 
least once between meals and snacks to all children. Water 
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shall be given to infants only with written instructions from 
parents. 

N. Children are not allowed to bring food into the center 
except under the following circumstances. 

1. Bottled formula/breast milk for infants shall have 
labeled bottles and labeled caps/covers with the child's name 
or initials and refrigerated upon arrival. 

2. Baby food shall be in the original unopened 
container and labeled with the child's name or initials. 

3. When a child requires a special diet, a written 
statement from a medical authority shall be on file. 

4. Children with food allergies/intolerance shall have 
a written statement signed by the parent indicating the 
specific food allergy/intolerance. 

5. When a child requires a modified diet for religious 
reasons, a written statement to that effect from the child's 
parent shall be on file. 

6. Refreshments for special occasions such as birthday 
parties and holidays, with prior approval from the director 
may be served. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1116 (July 2003). 
§5321. Health Service to the Child 

A. A provider that gives medication assumes additional 
responsibility and liability for the safety of the children. 
Effective January 1, 2005, the staff person(s) administering 
medication shall be trained in medication administration. 
The training shall be obtained every two years. 

B. No medication of any type, prescription, non-
prescription, special medical procedure shall be administered 
by center staff unless authorized in writing by the parent. 
Authorization shall include: 

1. child's name; 
2. name of the medication; 
3. date(s) to be administered; 
4. dosage; 
5. time to be administered; 
6. special instructions, if applicable; 
7. side effects; 
8. signature of parent and date of signature; and 
9. circumstances for administering "as needed" 

medication. 
C. Medication or medical procedures to be provided on 

an as needed basis or maintenance prescription shall be 
updated as changes occur, or at least every three months by 
the parent.  

D. All medication sent to the center shall be in its 
original container, shall not have an expired date, and shall 
be clearly labeled with the child's name to ensure that 
medication is for individual use only. 

E. The provider shall follow any special directions as 
indicated on the medication bottle, i.e., before or after meals, 
with food or milk, refrigerate, etc. 

F. If medication label reads "to consult physician," a 
written physician authorization with child's name, date, 
medication name and dosage must be on file in order to 

administer the medication in addition to the parental 
authorization. 

G. Medication administration records shall be 
maintained verifying that the medication was given 
according to parent's authorization, which includes: 

1. date;  
2. time;  
3. dosage administered; 
4. signature (not initials) of the staff member who 

gave the medication; and 
5. phone contact (date and time) with the parent prior 

to giving "as needed" medication. 
H. When parents administer medication to their own 

children on the child care premises, the following 
information shall be documented: 

1. date; 
2. child's name; 
3. time administered; 
4. medication name; 
5. dosage administered; and,  
6. name of person administering medication. 

I. The provider shall not apply topical 
ointments/sprays/creams (i.e. sunscreen, insect repellant, 
diaper rash ointment, etc.) without a written one-time 
authorization signed and dated from the parent, unless 
changes occur. 

J. Upon arrival at the center, each child shall be 
observed for possible signs of illness, infections, bruises, 
injuries, physical condition, etc. When noted, results 
including an explanation from parent and/or child shall be 
documented. 

K. Incidents of injuries or accidents shall be documented. 
Documentation shall include name of child, date and time of 
incident, location where incident took place, description of 
how incident occurred, part of body involved, and actions 
taken. Documentation of all injuries/accidents shall include 
time of parental notification and signature of person 
notifying the parent. The parent or designated person shall 
be notified immediately in the following situations: 

1. blood not contained in an adhesive strip; 
2. head injury; 
3. human bite which breaks the skin; 
4. any animal bite; 
5. an impaled object; 
6. broken or dislodged teeth; or 
7. any injury requiring professional medical attention. 

L. Documentation of illnesses or unusual behavior shall 
be maintained. Documentation shall include child's name, 
type/description of illness or unusual behavior, date and time 
of onset and actions taken, time of parental notification and 
signature of person notifying the parent. The parent or 
designated person shall be notified immediately in the 
following situations: 

1. allergic reaction; 
2. skin changes e.g. rash, spots, swelling, etc.; 
3. unusual breathing; 
4. dehydration; 
5. any temperature reading over 101º oral, 102º rectal, 

or 100º axillary; or 
6. any illness requiring professional medical attention.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1117 (July 2003). 
§5323. Physical Environment 

A. Indoor Space Required 
1. The center shall be used exclusively by the children 

and center staff during operating hours. Area licensed for use 
as a child care center shall not be dually licensed. A child 
care facility, except those located in a church or school, shall 
be physically separated from any other business or 
enterprise. 

2. A minimum of at least 35 square feet per child of 
indoor space shall be available. The space shall not include 
toilet facilities, hallways, lofts, storage or food preparation 
areas, or offices. Any room counted as play space shall be 
available for play during play hours. If rooms are used 
exclusively for dining or sleeping, they cannot be included 
in the licensed capacity. 

3. For indoor space, the number of children using a 
room shall be based on the 35 square feet per child 
requirement except for group activities such as film viewing, 
parties, dining and sleeping. 

4. Provisions shall be available indoors for 
temporarily isolating a child having or suspected of having a 
communicable disease so he/she can be removed from the 
other children. Movable partitions are permissible so that the 
space may be used for play when not needed for isolating an 
ill child. 

5. An indoor area shall be maintained for the purpose 
of providing privacy for diapering, dressing and other 
personal care procedures for children beyond the usual 
diapering age. 

B. Outdoor Space Required 
1. Outdoor play space with a direct exit from the 

center into the outdoor play yard shall be available. If the 
exit does not open directly onto the play yard, the outdoor 
play yard shall be attached to the facility in such a manner to 
ensure that the children are continuously protected by a 
fence while going to and/or from the outdoor play yard. 

2. The outdoor space shall provide a minimum of 75 
square feet for each child in the outdoor play space at any 
one time. The minimum outdoor play space shall be 
available for at least one-third of the licensed capacity. 

3. The outdoor play space shall be enclosed with a 
fence or other barrier in such a manner as to protect the 
children from traffic hazards; to prevent the children from 
leaving the premises without proper supervision; and to 
prevent contact with animals or unauthorized persons. 

4. Crawlspaces and mechanical, electrical, or other 
hazardous equipment shall be made inaccessible to children. 

5. Areas where there are open cisterns, wells, ditches, 
fish ponds and swimming pools or other bodies of water 
shall be made inaccessible to children by fencing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1118 (July 2003). 

§5325. Furnishings and Equipment 
A. A working telephone capable of incoming and 

outgoing calls shall be available at all times and readily 
available at the center. Coin operated telephones or cellular 
telephones are not acceptable for this purpose. 

B. When a center has multiple buildings and a telephone 
is not located in each building where the children are 
housed, a written plan shall be posted in each building for 
securing emergency help. 

C. Appropriate emergency numbers such as fire 
department, police department, and medical facility shall be 
prominently posted on or near the telephone. 

D. The telephone number for poison control shall be 
prominently posted on or near the telephone. 

E. The center's physical address shall be posted with the 
emergency numbers.  

F. All equipment and materials shall be appropriate to 
the needs and ages of the children enrolled. 

G. All play equipment and equipment necessary for the 
operation of the center shall be maintained in good repair. 

H. Play equipment of sufficient quantity and variety for 
indoor and outdoor use encouraging physical play and quiet 
play/activities which is appropriate to the needs and ages of 
the children shall be provided. 

I. Low, open shelves, bins, or other open containers 
shall be within easy reach of the children for the storage of 
play materials in each play area. 

J. Individual, labeled space shall be available for each 
child's personal belongings. 

K. Chairs and table space of a suitable size shall be 
available for each child two years of age or older. 

L. Individual and appropriate sleeping arrangements 
shall be provided for each child. Each child shall be 
provided with a cot, mat, or crib (baby bed) of appropriate 
size, height, and material, sufficient to ensure his/her health 
and safety. Each infant shall have a crib separated from all 
other cribs (non-stackable). Playpens shall not be substituted 
for cribs.  

M. Mats may be used only if the area used for napping is 
carpeted or if the center is centrally heated and cooled. If 
mats are used, they shall be of adequate size and material to 
provide for the health and safety of the child. 

N. Each child's sleeping accommodations shall be 
assigned to him/her on a permanent basis and labeled. 

O. Sheets for covering the cot or mat shall be provided 
by either the provider or the parent, unless the cots or mats 
are covered with vinyl or another washable surface. 

P. Sheets and coverings shall be changed immediately 
when soiled or wet.  

Q. A labeled sheet or blanket shall be provided by either 
the provider or the parent for covering the child. 

R. Cribs, cots, or mats shall be spaced at least 18 inches 
apart. 

S. Cribs shall have spaces between crib slats of no more 
than two and three-eighths inches. 

T. Infant bed railings shall be in the up and locked 
position at all times when the child is in the bed.  

U. Trampolines are prohibited.  
V. Infant walkers are prohibited. 
W. Toy chests with attached lids are prohibited. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1118 (July 2003). 
§5327. Safety Requirements 

A. Prescription and over-the-counter medications, 
poisons, cleaning supplies, harmful chemicals, equipment, 
tools and any substance with a warning label stating it is 
harmful or that it should be kept out of the reach of children, 
shall be locked away from and inaccessible to children. 
Whether a cabinet or an entire room, the storage area shall 
be locked.  

B. Refrigerated medication shall be stored in a secure 
container to prevent access by children and avoid 
contamination of food. 

C. Construction, remodeling, or alterations of structures 
shall be done in such a manner as to prevent hazards or 
unsafe conditions (fumes, dust, safety hazards). 

D. Secure railings shall be provided for flights of more 
than three steps and for porches more than three feet from 
the ground. 

E. Gates shall be provided at the head or foot of each 
flight of stairs to which children have access.  

F. Accordion gates are prohibited unless there is 
documentation on file that the gate meets requirements as 
approved by the Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services. 

G. Unused electrical outlets shall be protected by a safety 
plug cover. 

H. Strings and cords (such as those found on window 
coverings) shall not be within the reach of children. 

I. First aid supplies shall be kept on-site and easily 
accessible to employees, but not within the reach of children. 

J. All areas of the center used by the children, including 
sleep areas, shall be properly heated, cooled, and ventilated.  

K. Areas used by the children shall be lighted in such a 
way as to allow visual supervision of the children at all 
times. 

L. The center and yard shall be clean and free from 
hazards. 

M. The provider shall prohibit the use of alcohol, 
tobacco, and the use or possession of illegal substances or 
unauthorized potentially toxic substances, fireworks, 
firearms, pellet or BB guns (loaded or unloaded) on the child 
care premises. This notice shall be posted.  

N. The provider shall post "The Safety Box" newsletter 
issued by the Office of the Attorney General as required by 
Chapter 55 of Title 46 of the R.S. 46:2701–2711. 

O.1.  Fire drills shall be conducted at least once per 
month. These shall be conducted at various times of the day 
and night (if nighttime care is provided) and shall be 
documented. Documentation shall include: 

a. date and time of drill; 
b. number of children present; 
c. amount of time to evacuate the center; 
d. problems noted during drill and corrections 

noted; and 
e. signatures (not initials) of staff present. 

2. It is recommended that one fire drill every six 
months be held at naptime. 

P. The entire center shall be checked after the last child 
departs to ensure that no child is left unattended at the 

center. Documentation shall include date, time, and signature 
of staff conducting the visual check. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1119 (July 2003). 
§5329. Non-Vehicular Excursions 

A. Written parental authorization shall be obtained for all 
non-vehicular excursions. Authorization shall include the 
name of child, type and location of activity, date and 
signature of parent, and shall be updated at least annually. 

B. The provider shall maintain a record of all non-
vehicular excursions activities to include date, time, list of 
children, staff, and other adults, and type of activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1119 (July 2003). 
§5331. General Transportation (Contract, Center-

Provided, Parent Provided) 
A. Providers who transport or arrange transportation of 

children assume additional responsibility and liability for the 
safety of the children. Whether transportation is provided on 
a daily basis or for field trips only, these general regulations 
shall apply. Transportation arrangements shall conform to 
state laws, including seat belts and child restraints. 

B. Only one child shall be restrained in a single safety 
belt.  

NOTE: For additional information regarding state laws, 
contact Office of Public Safety. 
 

C. The driver or attendant shall not leave the children 
unattended in the vehicle at any time.  

D. Each child shall safely board or leave the vehicle 
from the curb side of the street and/or shall be escorted 
across the street. 

E. The vehicle shall be maintained in good repair. 
F. The use of tobacco in any form, use of alcohol and 

possession of illegal substances or unauthorized potentially 
toxic substances, firearms, pellet or BB guns (loaded or 
unloaded) in any vehicle while transporting children is 
prohibited. 

G. The number of persons in a vehicle used to transport 
children shall not exceed the manufacturer's recommended 
capacity. 

H. The provider shall maintain a copy of a valid 
appropriate Louisiana driver's license for all individuals who 
drive vehicles (staff, contracted persons, parents) used to 
transport children. 

I. The provider shall maintain in force at all times 
current commercial liability insurance for the operation of 
center vehicles to ensure medical coverage for children in 
the event of accident or injury. This policy shall extend 
coverage to any staff member who provides transportation 
for any child in the course and scope of his/her employment. 
The provider is responsible for payment of medical expenses 
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of a child injured while in the provider's care. 
Documentation shall consist of the insurance policy or 
current binder that includes the name of the child care 
facility, the name of the insurance company, policy number, 
period of coverage and explanation of the coverage. If 
transportation is provided by parents for field trips or 
transportation is provided by contract, whether daily or field 
trip, a copy of the current liability insurance shall be 
maintained on file. 

J. The vehicle shall have evidence of a current safety 
inspection. In lieu of a visual inspection of a contracted 
vehicle, a signed statement by the agency representative 
verifying the expiration date of the current inspection is 
acceptable. 

K. There shall be first aid supplies in each provider or 
contracted vehicle. First aid supplies (at least one per trip) 
shall be available for each field trip when parents provide 
transportation. In lieu of a visual inspection of a contracted 
vehicle, a signed statement by the agency representative 
verifying this information is acceptable. 

L. There shall be information in each vehicle identifying 
the name of the director and the name, telephone number, 
and address of the center for emergency situations. In lieu of 
a visual inspection of a contracted vehicle, a signed 
statement by the agency representative verifying this 
information is acceptable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1119 (July 2003). 
§5333. Field Trips (Contract, Center-Provided, Parent 

Provided) 
A. All requirements for general transportation, §5331, 

also apply to field trips. 
B. In addition, the following standards shall apply when 

transportation is provided/arranged for field trips. 
1. The provider shall maintain a signed parental 

authorization for each field trip. Field trip authorization shall 
include the type of service (contract vehicle, center owned 
vehicle, parent vehicle) used to transport children, event, 
location, child's name, date and time of event, parent's 
signature and date. 

2. At least two staff, one of whom may be the driver, 
shall be in each vehicle unless the vehicle has a 
communication device and child/staff ratio is met in the 
vehicle. 

3. The provider shall maintain a record of all field 
trips taken, to include date and destination, list of passengers 
(children, parents, staff) (going & returning) and method of 
transportation.  

4. If transportation is provided by parents, a planned 
route shall be provided to each driver and a copy maintained 
in the center. 

5. Children shall be supervised during boarding and 
exiting vehicles by an adult who remains on the outside of 
the vehicle. 

6. The driver or staff person shall check the vehicle 
and account for each child upon arrival and departure at each 
destination to ensure no child is left on the vehicle or at any 

destination. Documentation shall include the signature of the 
person conducting the check and the time the vehicle is 
checked for each loading and unloading of children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1120 (July 2003). 
§5335. Daily Transportation (Contract or Center-

Provided) 
A. All requirements in general transportation, §5331, 

also apply for daily transportation. 
B. In addition, the following standards all apply when 

daily transportation is provided/arranged. 
1. A staff person shall be present when the child is 

delivered to the center. 
2. The driver plus one staff are required at all times in 

each vehicle when transporting any child under five years of 
age. 

3. When transporting children five years of age and 
older, the driver plus one staff person shall be in each 
contracted or center provided vehicle unless the vehicle has 
a communication device which allows staff to contact 
emergency personnel, and the child/staff ratio is met in the 
vehicle. 

4. Each driver or attendant shall be provided with a 
current master transportation list including each child's 
name, pick up and drop off locations and authorized persons 
to whom the child may be released. Documentation shall be 
maintained on file at the center whether provided by center 
or contract. 

5. The driver or attendant shall maintain an attendance 
record for each trip. The record shall include the driver' 
name, the date, name of all passengers (children and adults) 
in the vehicle, the name of the person to whom the child was 
released and the time of release. Documentation shall be 
maintained on file at the center whether provided by center 
or contract. 

6. The staff shall check the vehicle at the completion 
of each trip to ensure that no child is left on the vehicle. 
Documentation shall include the signature of the person 
conducting the check and the time the vehicle is checked. 
Documentation shall be maintained on file at the center 
whether provided by center or contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1120 (July 2003). 
§5337. Contract Requirements 

A. The provider shall maintain a contract which is signed 
by the provider and a representative of the transportation 
agency outlining circumstances under which transportation 
will be provided. This written contract shall be dated, time 
limited and shall include verbiage in §5331. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1120 (July 2003). 
§5339. Care for Children during Nighttime Hours 

A. All minimum standards for child care centers apply to 
providers who care for children after 9 p.m. and in which no 
individual child remains for more than 24 hours in one 
continuous stay.  

B. In addition, the following standards shall apply. 
1. There shall be a designated "staff-in-charge" 

employee who is at least 21 years of age. 
2. Adequate staff shall be present in the center to meet 

the child/staff ratios as indicated in §5315; however, there 
shall always be a minimum of at least two staff present. 

3. Meals shall be served to children who are in the 
center at the ordinary meal times. 

4. Each child shall have a separate, age appropriate 
bed or cot with mat or mattress covered by a sheet for each 
child, as well as a covering for each child (bunk beds are not 
allowed). 

5. There shall be a posted schedule of activities. 
6. Evening quiet time activity such as story time, 

games, and reading shall be provided to each child arriving 
before bedtime. 

7. Physical restraints shall not be used to confine 
children to bed. 

8. The center's entrance and drop off zones shall be 
well-lighted during hours of operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1121 (July 2003). 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0307#061 
 

RULE 

Department of Treasury 
Board of Trustees of the State  

Employees' Retirement System 

DROPCLegislative Required Changes and Additions 
(LAC 58:I.2713, 3503, 3505, 3519 and 3701-3705) 

Under the authority of R.S. 11:515 and in accordance with 
R.S. 49:951 et seq., the Department of the Treasury, Board 
of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employees= Retirement 
System ("LASERS") amended and reenacted LAC 58:I.2713 
3503, 3505, 3519 and enacted Chapter 37, Sections 3701-
3705 relative to the actuarial conversion of leave to its cash 
value. The amendments to the Rules change the manner for 
disbursements from the DROP accounts, and certain

provisions of the Optional Retirement Plan (ORP) required 
by Act 136 of the First Extraordinary Session of 2002, and 
enacted provision to control the actuarial conversion of leave 
to its cash value. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part I.  Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System 
Chapter 27. DROP Program 
Subchapter C. Withdrawal 
§2713. Time for Disbursement 

A. The DROP account must be totally disbursed within 
the expected lifetime of the participant in accordance with 
federal laws. The expected lifetime is determined based on 
the age of the participant on the date of termination. All 
funds from the DROP account must be withdrawn in 
accordance with the Internal Revenue Services Guidelines. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

11:515. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees’ Retirement 
System, LR 22:373 (May 1996), amended LR 25:2466 (December 
1999), LR 29:1121 (July 2003). 
Chapter 35. Optional Retirement Plan 
§3503. Participation 

A. The following state employees shall be eligible to 
make an irrevocable election to participate in the optional 
retirement plan: 

1. any unclassified state employee who is appointed 
by a statewide elected official and whose appointment is 
subject to confirmation by the Louisiana Senate; 

2. any unclassified state employee who is a member 
of the immediate staff of any such employee described in 
Paragraph 1 of this Section; 

3. the chief executive officer of the State Employee 
Group Benefits Program; 

4. any member of the executive career service 
establishment by the State Civil Service Commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 26:1491 (July 2000), amended LR 29:1121 (July 
2003). 
§3505. Election to Participate 

A. An irrevocable election to participate in the ORP must 
be made in writing and filed with the system within 90 days 
after the eligible employee begins work. Elections shall be 
effective as of the date of appointment. If an eligible 
employee fails to make an election to participate in the ORP 
within 90 days of appointment, he shall become a member of 
the defined benefit plan as of the date of appointment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 26:1491 (July 2000), amended LR 29:1121 (July 
2003). 
§3519. Sunset 

A. Currently the law provides that the authority to enroll 
eligible unclassified employees in the ORP shall terminate
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on December 7, 2003. Those eligible unclassified employees 
who enroll or transfer prior to that date shall continue 
participation in the ORP in accordance with the provisions 
of the ORP even after that date. There is no sunset provision 
for the executive career services employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 26:1492 (July 2000), amended LR 29:1121 (July 
2003). 
Chapter 37. Leave Conversion to Retirement Credit 

or Cash Payment 
§3701. Conversion of Leave to Retirement Credit 

A. All annual and sick leave certified by the employee's 
employing agency to be accrued in accordance with the 
leave accrual rates established by the Department of State 
Civil Service and for which payment cannot be made in 
accordance with law at the time of retirement shall be 
credited to the employee and may be converted to retirement 
credit in accordance with R.S. 11:424. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 29:1122 (July 2003). 
§3703. Lump Sum Payment of Leave 

A. An employee, in lieu of conversion of leave to 
retirement credit, may request in writing that he be paid the 
actuarial value of such leave, as determined by the 
retirement system's actuary, in a lump sum cash payment. 
The employee shall be paid the actuarial value of the 
conversion of leave to cash. This lump sum cash payment 
shall be paid to the employee on the first of the month after 
all pertinent documentation is received from the employee's 
employing agency needed to finalize the employee's 
retirement benefit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 29:1122 (July 2003). 
§3705. Tax Liability 

A. The employee requesting the lump sum cash 
conversion of leave shall be solely responsible for any tax 
consequences of this decision, and the employee must 
acquire any tax advice from a private source (CPA or tax 
attorney) as LASERS shall not be responsible for any tax 
liability that may impact the employee as a result of the 
decision to take a lump sum cash distribution of leave in lieu 
of converting leave to retirement credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 29:1122 (July 2003). 

 
Robert L. Borden 
Executive Director 

0307#024 
 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003-2004 Resident Game Hunting Seasons 
(LAC 76:XIX.101 and 103) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended 
Rules and regulations governing the hunting of resident 
game birds and game quadrupeds. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§101. General 

A. The Resident Game Hunting Season, 2003-2004 
regulations are hereby adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission. A complete copy of the Regulation Pamphlet 
may be obtained from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), LR 
26:1506 (July 2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 
2002), LR 29:1122 (July 2003). 
§103. Resident Game Birds and Animals 2003-2004 

A. Shooting Hours. One-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

B. Consult Regulation Pamphlet for seasons or specific 
regulations on Wildlife Management Areas or specific 
localities. 

 

   Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession 
Limit 

Quail Nov. 15-Feb. 29 10 20 
Rabbit Oct. 4-Feb. 29  8 16 
Squirrel Oct. 4-Feb. 8  8 16 

Deer See Schedule 

1 antlered and  
1 antlerless  

(when legal on 
private lands) 

6/season 

 

C. Deer Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Archery Muzzleloader 
(All Either Sex) 

Still Hunt 
(No Dogs 
Allowed) 

With or 
Without 

Dogs 

1 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 15-Nov. 21 
Jan. 19-Jan. 25 

Nov. 22-Dec.5 
Jan. 5-Jan.18 

Dec. 6-
Jan. 4 

2 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Oct. 25-Oct. 31 
Jan. 10-Jan. 16 Nov. 1-Dec. 5 Dec. 6-

Jan. 9 

3 Sept.13-
Jan.15 

Oct. 4-Oct.10 
Dec. 1-Dec. 5 

Oct.11-Nov.30 
Dec. 6-Dec.31   

4 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 8-Nov. 14 
Jan. 10-Jan. 18 Nov.15-Jan. 9   

5 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 15-Nov. 21 
Dec. 26-Jan. 1 
Bucks Only 

Nov.28-
Dec.14   

6 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 15-Nov. 21 
Jan. 19-Jan. 25 

Nov.28-
Dec.14 

Dec. 6-
Jan.18 

7 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Oct. 11-Oct. 17  
Nov. 8-Nov. 14 

Oct.18-Nov. 7 
Nov.15-
Nov.30 

Dec. 1-
Dec.31 

8 Sept.13-
Jan. 15 

Oct. 4-Oct. 10 
Dec. 1-Dec. 5 Oct.11-Nov.30 Dec. 6-

Dec.31 
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D. Modern Firearm Schedule (Either Sex Seasons) 
 

Parish Modern Firearm Either-Sex Days 
Acadia Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30 
Allen Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Ascension Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Assumption Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Avoyelles Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Beauregard Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Bienville Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Bossier Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Caddo Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Calcasieu Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Caldwell Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Cameron Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30 
Catahoula Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Claiborne Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Concordia Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-21 
DeSoto Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
East Baton 
Rouge 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

East Carroll Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-21, East of 
mainline Mississippi River Levee and south and east of La. 
877 from West Carroll Parish line to La. 580, south of La. 
580 to U.S. 65, west of U.S. 65 to Madison Parish line. 

  Nov. 15-16, 28-30 the remainder of the parish. 
East 
Feliciana 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

Evangeline Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Franklin Nov. 22-23, 26-30 
Grant Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Iberia Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 7: Oct. 18-19, Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Iberville Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Jackson Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Jefferson Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Jefferson 
Davis 

Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 

  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 
6-7 

Lafayette Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-23, 28-
30 

  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Lafourche Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
LaSalle Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Lincoln Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Livingston Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Madison Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-21 
Morehouse Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 4: Nov. 15-16, 28-30 
Natchitoches Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Orleans Closed to all deer hunting 
Ouachita Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 4: Nov. 15-16, 28-30 
Plaquemines Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

Parish Modern Firearm Either-Sex Days 
Pointe 
Coupee 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

Rapides Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 28-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
Red River Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Richland Nov. 15-16, 28-30 
Sabine Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
St. Bernard Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Charles Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Helena Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. James Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. John Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Landry Area 3: Oct. 11-12, Nov. 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
St. Martin Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Mary Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 7: Oct. 18-19, Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
St. Tammany Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Tangipahoa Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Tensas Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-22 
Terrebonne Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 7: Oct. 18-19, Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Union Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Vermilion Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30 
Vernon Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Washington Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Webster Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
West Baton 
Rouge 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

West Carroll Nov. 28 
West 
Feliciana 

Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Winn Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 

 
E. Farm Raised White-Tailed Deer on Supplemented 

Shooting Preserves 
 

Archery Modern Firearm Either Sex 
Oct. 1-Jan. 31 
(Either Sex) 

Nov. 1-Jan. 31 Nov. 1-7 
Dec. 1-7 
Jan. 1-7 

 
F. Exotics on Supplemented Shooting Preserves: Either 

Sex, No Closed Season 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1526 (August 1999), amended LR 26:1506 
(July 2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 2002), LR 
29:1122 (July 2003). 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0307#057 
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RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

General and Wildlife Management Area (WMA) Hunting 
(LAC 76:XIX.111) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby 
promulgate Rules and regulations governing the hunting of 
resident game birds and game quadrupeds. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§111. General and Wildlife Management Area 

Hunting Rules and Regulations 
A. Hunting Seasons and Wildlife Management Area 

Regulations 
1. The Rules and regulations contained within this 

digest have been officially approved and adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission under authority vested 
by Sections 115 and 116 of Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950 and are in full force and effect in 
conjunction with all applicable statutory laws. The secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has the authority 
to close or alter seasons in emergency situations in order to 
protect fish and wildlife resources. 

2. Pursuant to Section 40.1 of Title 56 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission has adopted monetary values which 
are assigned to all illegally taken, possessed, injured or 
destroyed fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life. Anyone taking, possessing, injuring 
or destroying fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life shall be required to reimburse the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries a sum of money equal 
to the value of the wildlife illegally taken, possessed, injured 
or destroyed. This monetary reimbursement shall be in 
addition to any and all criminal penalties imposed for the 
illegal act. 

B. Resident Game Birds and Animals 
1. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to 

one-half hour after sunset. 
C. Other Season Dates 

1. Turkey. Please refer to separate pamphlet. 
2. Raccoon and Opossum. No closed season. Raccoon 

and opossum can be taken at night by one or more licensed 
hunters with one or more dogs and one .22 rimfire firearm. A 
licensed hunter may take raccoon or opossum with .22 
rimfire rifle, .36 caliber or smaller muzzleloader rifle or 
shotgun during daylight hours during the open rabbit season. 
Hunting from boats or motor vehicles is prohibited. No bag 
limit for nighttime or daytime raccoon or opossum hunting 
during the open trapping season except on certain WMAs as 
listed. The remainder of the year, the raccoon and opossum 
bag limit for daytime or nighttime is one per person per day 
or night. No one who hunts raccoons or opossums as 
prescribed above shall pelt during the closed trapping season 
nor sell skins or carcasses of raccoons and opossums taken 
during the open trapping season unless he is the holder of a

valid trapping license which shall be required in addition to 
his basic hunting license. Pelting or selling carcasses is 
illegal during closed trapping season. 

3. Nutria. On WMAs and private property nutria may 
be taken recreationally from September 1 through February 
29 during legal shooting hours by any legal hunting method 
with no limit except if taken with a shotgun, steel shot must 
be used. On WMAs during waterfowl seasons, nutria may be 
taken only with the use of shotguns with shot no larger than 
BB lead or F steel, and during gun deer seasons, anyone 
taking nutria must display 400 square inches of "hunter 
orange" and wear a "hunter orange" cap or hat. Pelting or 
selling of carcasses is illegal except when taken by a 
licensed trapper during the trapping season. Trespass upon 
private property without consent for the purpose of taking 
nutria is punishable by fines and possible jail time (R.S. 
56:265). 

4. Blackbirds and Crows. The season for crows shall 
be September 1 through January 2 with no limit; however 
crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles may be taken year 
round during legal shooting hours if they are depredating or 
about to depredate upon ornamentals or shade trees, 
agricultural crops, livestock, wildlife, or when concentrated 
in such numbers as to cause a health hazard. Louisiana has 
determined that the birds listed above are crop depredators 
and that crows have been implicated in the spread of the 
West Nile virus in humans. 

5. Pheasant. Closed. 
6. Falconry. Special permit required. Resident and 

migratory game species except turkeys may be taken. 
Seasons and bag limits are the same as for statewide and 
WMA regulations except squirrels may be taken by licensed 
falconers until the last day of February. Refer to LAC 
76:V.301 for specific Falconry Rules. 

7. Licensed Hunting Preserve. October 1-April 30. 
Pen-raised birds only. No limit entire season. Refer to LAC 
76:V.305 for specific Hunting Preserve Rules. 

8. Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP). 
Land enrolled in the voluntary program will be assessed a 
$25 registration fee and $0.05/acre fee. Deer management 
assistance tags must be in the possession of the hunter and 
attached and locked to antlerless deer (including those taken 
on either-sex days and those taken with bow or 
muzzleloader) through the hock in a manner that it cannot be 
removed before the deer is transported. Failure to do so is a 
violation of R.S. 56:115. Failing to follow DMAP Rules and 
regulations may result in suspension and cancellation of the 
program on those lands involved. Refer to LAC 76:V.111 for 
specific DMAP Rules. 

9. Farm Raised White-Tailed Deer and Exotics on 
Licensed Supplemented Shooting Preserves 

a. Definitions 
  ExoticsCfor purposes of this Rule means any 
animal of the family Bovidae (except the Tribe Bovini 
[cattle]) or Cervidae which is not indigenous to Louisiana 
and which is confined on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve. 
Exotics shall include, but are not limited to, fallow deer, red 
deer, elk, sika deer, axis deer, and black buck antelope. 
  HuntingCin its different tenses and for 
purposes of this Rule means to take or attempt to take, in 
accordance with R.S. 56:8. 
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  Same as OutsideCfor purposes of this Rule 
means hunting on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve must 
conform to applicable statutes and Rules governing hunting 
and deer hunting, as provided for in Title 56 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes and as established annually by the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission (LWFC). 
  Supplemented Hunting PreserveCfor purposes 
of this Rule means any enclosure for which a current Farm-
Raising License has been issued by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) with concurrence of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) and is 
authorized in writing by the LDAF and LDWF to permit 
hunting. 
  White-Tailed DeerCfor purposes of this Rule 
means any animal of the species Odocoileus virginianus 
which is confined on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve. 

b. Seasons 
 i. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Consult the 
regulations pamphlet. 
 ii. Exotics: year round. 

c. Methods of Take 
 i. White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics: Exotics may be taken with longbow 
(including compound bow) and arrow; shotguns not larger 
than 10 gauge, loaded with buckshot or rifled slug; handguns 
and rifles no smaller than .22 caliber centerfire; or 
muzzleloading rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or 
shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which must load 
exclusively from the muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, using 
black powder or an approved substitute only, and using ball 
or bullet projectile, including saboted bullets only. 

d. Shooting Hours 
 i. White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics: one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

e. Bag Limit 
 i. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as 
outside. 
 ii. Exotics: No limit. 

f. Hunting Licenses 
 i. White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics: No person shall hunt any exotic 
without possessing a valid basic and big game hunting 
license. 

g. Tagging. White-Tailed Deer and Exotics: Each 
animal shall be tagged in the left ear or left antler 
immediately upon being killed and before being moved from 
the site of the kill with a tag provided by the LDAF. The tag 
shall remain with the carcass at all times. 

D. HuntingCGeneral Provisions 
1. A basic resident or non-resident hunting license is 

required of all persons to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported by any other person any wild bird or quadruped. 
See information below for exceptions. 

2. All persons born on or after September 1, 1969 
must show proof of satisfactorily completing a Hunter 
Safety course approved by LDWF to purchase a Basic 
Hunting License, except any active or veteran member of the 
United States armed services or any POST-certified law 
enforcement officer. Application for the exemption shall be 
filed in person at the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
main office building in the city of Baton Rouge. A person 

younger than 16 years of age may hunt without such 
certificate if he is accompanied by, and is under the direct 
supervision of a person 18 years of age or older, except 
during a statewide youth deer hunt, the youth must have 
satisfactorily completed a Hunter Safety course approved by 
LDWF to participate. 

3. A big game license is required in addition to the 
basic hunting license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any deer or turkey. A separate wild turkey stamp 
is required in addition to the basic hunting license and the 
big game license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any turkey. 

4. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft or 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

5. Methods of Taking Resident Game Birds and 
Quadrupeds 

a. It is illegal to intentionally feed, deposit, place, 
distribute, expose, scatter, or cause to be fed, deposited, 
placed, distributed, exposed, or scattered raw sweet potatoes 
to wild game quadrupeds. 

b. Use of a longbow (including compound bow) and 
arrow or a shotgun not larger than a 10 gauge fired from the 
shoulder without a rest shall be legal for taking all resident 
game birds and quadrupeds. Also, the use of a handgun, rifle 
and falconry (special permit required) shall be legal for 
taking all game species except turkey. It shall be illegal to 
hunt or take squirrels or rabbits at any time with a breech-
loaded rifle or handgun larger than a .22 caliber rimfire or a 
muzzleloader rifle larger than .36 caliber. During closed deer 
gun season, it shall be illegal to possess shotgun shells 
loaded with slugs or shot larger than BB lead or F steel shot 
while small game hunting. 

c. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs is prohibited when or where a still 
hunting season or area is designated, and will be strictly 
enforced. Shotguns larger than 10 gauge or capable of 
holding more than three shells shall be prohibited. Plugs 
used in shotguns must be incapable of being removed 
without disassembly. Refer to game schedules contained 
within these regulations for specific restrictions on the use of 
firearms and other devices. 

6. Nuisance Animals. Landowners or their designees 
may remove beaver and nutria causing damage to their 
property without a special permit. Water set traps and 
firearms may be used to remove beaver; nutria may be 
removed by any means except that nutria cannot be taken by 
the use of headlight and gun between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise. With a special permit issued by the department, 
beavers may be taken between one-half hour after official 
sunset to one-half hour before official sunrise for a period of 
three consecutive calendar evenings from the effective date 
of the permit. For specific details contact a regional office 
near you. Any nuisance beaver or nutria trapped or shot 
outside open trapping season cannot be pelted or sold. A 
trapping license is required to sell or pelt nuisance beavers 
or nutria taken during open trapping season. Squirrels found 
destroying commercial crops of pecans may be taken year-
round by permit issued by the department. This permit shall 
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be valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. Contact the 
local regional office for details. 

7. Threatened and endangered speciesCLouisiana 
black bear, Louisiana pearl shell (mussel), sea turtles, gopher 
tortoise, ringed sawback turtle, brown pelican, bald eagle, 
peregrine falcon, whooping crane, Eskimo curlew, piping 
plover, interior least tern, ivory-billed woodpecker, red-
cockaded woodpecker, Bachman's warbler, West Indian 
manatee, Florida panther, pallid sturgeon, Gulf sturgeon, 
Attwater's greater prairie chicken, whales and red wolf. 
Taking or harassment of any of these species is a violation of 
state and federal laws. 

8. Unregulated Quadrupeds. Holders of a legal 
hunting license may take coyotes, unmarked hogs where 
legal, and armadillos year round during legal daylight 
shooting hours. The running of coyotes with dogs is 
prohibited in all turkey hunting areas during the open turkey 
season. Coyote hunting is restricted to "chase only" during 
still hunting segments of the firearm and archery only season 
for deer. Foxes and bobcats are protected quadrupeds and 
may be taken only with traps by licensed trappers during the 
trapping season. Remainder of the year "chase only" allowed 
by licensed hunters. 

9. Hunting and/or Discharging Firearms on Public 
Roads. Hunting, standing, loitering or shooting game 
quadrupeds or game birds with a gun during open season 
while on a public highway or public road right-of-way is 
prohibited. Hunting or the discharge of firearms on roads or 
highways located on public levees or within 100 feet from 
the centerline of such levee roads or highways is prohibited. 
Spot lighting or shining from public roads is prohibited by 
state law. Hunting from all public roads and rights-of-way is 
prohibited and these provisions will be strictly enforced. 

10. Tags. Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided 
shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big 
game license number of the person killing the deer or wild 
turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be 
legibly written in pen or pencil, on any piece of paper or 
cardboard or any material, which is attached or secured to or 
enclosing the part or parts. On lands enrolled in DMAP, deer 
management assistance tags must be attached and locked 
through the hock of antlerless deer, (including those taken 
with bow, muzzleloader and those antlerless deer taken on 
either-sex days) in a manner that it cannot be removed, 
before the deer is moved from the site of the kill. 

11. Sex Identification. Positive evidence of sex 
identification, including the head, shall remain on any deer 
taken or killed within the State of Louisiana, or on all 
turkeys taken or killed during any special gobbler season 
when killing of turkey hens is prohibited, so long as such 
deer or turkey is kept in camp or field, or is in route to the 
domicile of its possessor, or until such deer or turkey has 
been stored at the domicile of its possessor or divided at a 
cold storage facility and has become identifiable as food 
rather than as wild game. 

E. General Deer Hunting Regulations 
1. One antlered and one antlerless (when legal on 

private lands) deer per day except on Wildlife Management 
Areas, Federal Refuges and National Forest Lands where the 
daily limit shall be one deer per day. Six per season (all 
segments included) by all methods of take. 

2. A legal buck is a deer with visible antler of 
hardened bony material, broken naturally through the skin. 
Killing bucks without at least one visible antler as described 
above and killing does is prohibited except where 
specifically allowed and except in West Baton Rouge and 
Pointe Coupee Parishes and that portion of Iberville Parish 
west of the Mississippi River (excluding the Sherburne 
Wildlife Management Complex and those private lands 
which are totally surrounded by the Sherburne Complex) 
where a legal buck shall be defined as a deer with at least six 
points or a deer with both spikes 3 inches long or less. To be 
counted as a point, a projection must be at least 1 inch long 
and its length must exceed the length of its base. The beam 
tip is counted as a point but not measured as a point. 

3. Deer hunting restricted to legal bucks only, except 
where otherwise allowed. 

4. Either-sex deer is defined as male or female deer. 
Taking or possessing spotted fawns is prohibited. 

5. It is illegal to hunt or shoot deer with firearms 
smaller than .22 caliber centerfire or a shotgun loaded with 
anything other than buckshot or rifled slug. Handguns may 
be used for hunting. 

6. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft, 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

7. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs or moving vehicles, including ATVs, 
when or where a still hunting season or area is designated, is 
prohibited and will be strictly enforced. The training of deer 
dogs is prohibited in all still hunting areas during the gun 
still hunting and archery only season. Deer hunting with 
dogs is allowed in all other areas having open deer seasons 
that are not specifically designated as still hunting only. 
Except in wildlife management areas, a leashed dog may be 
used to trail and retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer 
during legal hunting hours. Any dog used to trail or retrieve 
wounded or unrecovered deer shall have on a collar with 
owner's name, address, and phone number. In addition, a dog 
may be used to trail and retrieve unrecovered deer after legal 
hunting hours; however, no person accompanying a dog 
after legal hunting hours may carry a firearm of any sort. 

8. Areas not specifically designated as open are 
closed. 

9. Muzzleloader Segment: (Special license and 
muzzleloader firearms specifications apply only to the 
special state, WMA, National Forest and Preserves, and 
Federal Refuge seasons.) Still hunt only. Specific WMAs 
will also be open, check WMA schedule for specific details. 
Muzzleloader license required for resident hunters between 
the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and non-residents 16 years of 
age and older. Either-sex deer may be taken in all deer 
hunting areas except as specified on Public Areas. It is 
unlawful to carry a gun, other than a muzzleloader, including 
those powered by air or other means, while hunting during 
the special muzzleloader segment. Except, it is lawful to 
carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded with #12 shot 
(ratshot only). 

a. Legal Muzzleloader Firearms for Special Season: 
Rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or shotguns 10 gauge
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or smaller, all of which must load exclusively from the 
muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, use black powder or 
approved substitute only, take ball or bullet projectile only, 
including saboted bullets and may be fitted with magnified 
scopes. This includes muzzleloaders known as "inline" 
muzzleloaders. 

10.  Archery Segment: Consult regulations pamphlet. 
WMA seasons are the same as outside except as noted 
below. Archery license required for resident bow hunters 
between the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and non-residents 
16 years of age and older. Residents 60 years of age and 
older may use a crossbow without a special permit or 
license. Either-sex deer may be taken in all areas open for 
deer hunting except when a bucks only season is in progress 
for gun hunting, archer's must conform to the bucks only 
regulations. Either-sex deer may be taken on WMAs at 
anytime during archery season except when bucks only 
seasons are in progress on the respective WMA. Also, 
archery season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta, Salvador, 
Lake Boeuf, and Pointe-aux-Chenes WMAs (see schedule). 

a. Bow and arrow regulations: Hunting arrows for 
deer must have well-sharpened metal broadhead blades not 
less than 7/8 inch in width. Bow and arrow fishermen must 
have a sport fishing license and not carry any arrows with 
broadhead points unless a big game season is in progress. 

i. It is unlawful: 
 (a). to carry a gun, including those powered by air 
or other means, while hunting with bow and arrow during 
the special bow and arrow deer season except it is lawful to 
carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded with #12 shot 
(ratshot) only; 
 (b). to have in possession or use any poisoned or 
drugged arrow, arrows with explosive tips, or any bow 
drawn, held or released by mechanical means except that 
hand held releases are lawful; 
 (c). to hunt deer with a bow having a pull less than 
30 pounds; 
 (d). to hunt with a bow or crossbow fitted with an 
infrared or laser sight. 

11. Hunter Orange. Any person hunting deer shall 
display on his head, chest and/or back a total of not less than 
400 square inches of "hunter orange" during the open deer 
gun season including muzzleloader season. Persons hunting 
on privately owned, legally posted land may wear a hunter 
orange cap or hat in lieu of the 400 square inches. These 
provisions shall not apply to persons hunting deer from 
elevated stands on property that is privately owned and 
legally posted or to archery deer hunters hunting on legally 
posted lands where firearm hunting is not allowed by 
agreement of the landowner or lessee. However, anyone 
hunting deer on such lands where hunting with firearms is 
allowed shall be required to display the 400 square inches or 
a hunter orange cap or hat while walking to and from 
elevated stands. While a person is hunting from an elevated 
stand, the 400 square inches or cap or hat may be concealed. 
Warning: deer hunters are cautioned to watch for persons 
hunting other game or engaged in activities not requiring 
"hunter orange." 

12. Special Handicapped Either-Sex Deer Season on 
Private Land. See regulations pamphlet for dates. Restricted 
to individuals with Physically Challenged Hunter Permit. 

13. Special Youth Deer Hunt on Private Lands (Either-
Sex). See regulations pamphlet for dates. Youth must be 
under the age of 16, must have proof of successfully 
completing a Department approved hunter safety course, and 
must be accompanied by an adult licensed to hunt big game. 
In West Baton Rouge and Pointe Coupee Parishes and that 
portion of Iberville Parish west of the Mississippi River 
antler restrictions for bucks shall be waived. 

F. Description of Areas 
1. Area 1 

a. All of the following parishes are open: East 
Feliciana, St. Helena, Concordia, Franklin, Tensas, East 
Baton Rouge, Madison, Washington. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
i. CatahoulaCAll except that portion lying west of 

Boeuf River from Caldwell parish line to Ouachita River, 
north and east of Ouachita River to La. 559 at Duty Ferry, 
west of La. 559 to La. 124. North and west of La. 124 
westward to LaSalle parish line. 
 ii. GrantCEast of U.S. 165 and south of La. 8. 
 iii. LaSalleCPortion south of La. 8 from Little 
River eastward to La. 127 in Jena, east of La. 127 from Jena 
northward to U.S. 165, east of U.S. 165 from La. 127 
northward to La. 124. South of La. 124 eastward to 
Catahoula Parish line. 
 iv. LivingstonCNorth of I-12. 
 v. RapidesCEast of U.S. 165 and north of Red 
River. 
 vi. St. TammanyCAll except that portion south of 
I-12, west of Hwy. 1077 to La. 22, south of La. 22 to 
Tchefuncte River, west of Tchefuncte River southward to 
Lake Pontchartrain. 
 vii. TangipahoaCNorth of I-12. 
 viii. West FelicianaCAll except that portion known 
as Raccourci and Turnbull Island. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. CatahoulaCSouth of Deer Creek to Boeuf 
River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to La. 8 at 
Harrisonburg, west of La. 8 to La. 913, west of La. 913 and 
La. 15 to Deer Creek. 
 ii. East Feliciana and East Baton RougeCEast of 
Thompson Creek from the Mississippi state line to La. 10. 
North of La. 10 from Thompson Creek to La. 67 at Clinton, 
west of La. 67 from Clinton to Mississippi state line. South 
of Mississippi state line from La. 67 to Thompson Creek. 
Also that portion of East Baton Rouge Parish east of La. 67 
from La. 64 north to Parish Line, south of Parish Line from 
La. 64 eastward to Amite River. West of Amite River 
southward to La. 64, north of La. 64 to La. 37 at Magnolia, 
east of La. 37 northward to La. 64 at Indian Mound, north of 
La. 64 from Indian Mound to La. 67. Also, that portion of 
East Feliciana Parish east of La. 67 from parish line north to 
La. 959, south of La. 959 east to La. 63, west of La. 63 to 
Amite River, west of Amite River, southward to parish line, 
north of parish line westward to La. 67. 
 iii. FranklinCAll 
 iv. St. HelenaCNorth of La. 16 from Tickfaw 
River at Montpelier westward to La. 449, east and south of 
La. 449 from La. 16 at Pine Grove northward to La. 1045, 
south of La. 1045 from its junction with La. 449 eastward to 
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the Tickfaw River, west of the Tickfaw River from La. 1045 
southward to La. 16 at Montpelier. 
 v. TangipahoaCThat portion of Tangipahoa 
Parish north of La. 10 from the Tchefuncte River to La. 1061 
at Wilmer, east of La. 1061 to La. 440 at Bolivar, south of 
La. 440 to the Tchefuncte River, west of the Tchefuncte 
River from La. 440 southward to La. 10. 
 vi. Washington and St. TammanyCEast of La. 21 
from the Mississippi state line southward to the Bogue 
Chitto River, north of the Bogue Chitto River from La. 21 
eastward to the Pearl River Navigation Canal, east of the 
Pearl River Navigation Canal southward to the West Pearl 
River, north of the West Pearl River from the Pearl River 
Navigation Canal to Holmes Bayou, west of Holmes Bayou 
from the West Pearl River northward to the Pearl River, west 
of the Pearl River from Holmes Bayou northward to the 
Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line from 
the Pearl River westward to La. 21. Also, that portion of 
Washington Parish west of La. 25 from the Mississippi state 
line southward to the Bogue Chitto River, then west of the 
Bogue Chitto River to its junction with the St. Tammany 
Parish line, north of the St. Tammany Parish line to the 
Tangipahoa Parish line, east of the Tangipahoa Parish line to 
the Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line 
to its junction with La. 25. 
  vii. West FelicianaCWest of Thompson Creek 
to Illinois-Central Railroad, north of Illinois-Central 
Railroad to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the 
junction of U.S. 61 and La. 966, east of La. 966 from U.S. 
61 to Chaney Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson 
Creek. 

2. Area 2 
a. All of the following parishes are open:  

 i. Bienville, Jackson, Union, Bossier, Lincoln, 
Webster, Caddo, Natchitoches, Winn, Claiborne, Red River, 
DeSoto, Sabine, Caldwell. 
 ii. except: Kisatchie National Forest which has 
special regulations. Caney, Corney, Middlefork tracts of 
Kisatchie have the same regulations as Area 2, except still 
hunting only for deer and except National Forest Land 
within the Evangeline Unit, Calcasieu Ranger District 
described in Area 2 description shall be still hunting only. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. AllenCNorth of U.S. 190 from the parish line 
westward to Kinder, east of U.S. 165 from Kinder northward 
to La. 10 at Oakdale, north of La. 10 from Oakdale, 
westward to the parish line; 
 ii. AvoyellesCThat portion west of I-49. 
 iii.  CatahoulaCThat portion lying west of Boeuf 
River from Caldwell parish line to Ouachita River, north and 
east of Ouachita River to La. 559 at Duty Ferry. West of La. 
559 to La. 124. North and west of La. 124 westward to 
LaSalle parish line. 
 iv. EvangelineCAll except the following portions: 
east of I-49 to junction of La. 29, east of La. 29 south of I-49 
to Ville Platte, and north of U.S. 167 east of Ville Platte. 
 v. GrantCAll except that portion south of La. 8 
and east of U.S. 165. 
 vi. Jefferson DavisCNorth of U.S. 190. 
 vii. LaSalleCAll except south of La. 8 from Little 
River eastward to La. 127 in Jena, east of La. 127 from Jena 
northward to U.S. 165, east of U.S. 165 from La. 127 

northward to La. 124. South of La. 124 eastward to 
Catahoula parish line. 
 viii. MorehouseCWest of U.S. 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, north and west of La. 140 to junction of 
La. 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of La. 830-4 to 
Bastrop, west of La. 139 to junction of La. 593, west and 
south of La. 593 to Collinston, west of La. 138 to junction of 
La. 134 and north of La. 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake. 
 ix. OuachitaCAll except south of U.S. 80 and east 
of Ouachita River, east of La. 139 from Sicard to junction of 
La. 134, south of La. 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Brake. 
 x. RapidesCAll except north of Red River and 
east of U.S. 165. South of La. 465 to junction of La. 121, 
west of La. 121 and La. 112 to Union Hill, and north of La. 
113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line, and that portion 
south of Alexandria between Red River and U.S. 167 to 
junction of U.S. 167 with I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, east of 
I-49 southward to parish line. 
 xi. VernonCNorth of La. 10 from the parish line 
westward to La. 113, south of La. 113 eastward to the parish 
line. Also the portion north of La. 465, west of La. 117 from 
Kurthwood to Leesville, and north of La. 8 from Leesville to 
Texas state line. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Claiborne and WebsterCCaney, Corney and 
Middlefork tracts of Kisatchie National Forest. (See 
Kisatchie National Forest Regulations); 
 ii. OuachitaCEast of Ouachita River; 
 iii. RapidesCWest of U.S. 167 from Alexandria 
southward to I-49 at Turkey Creek Exit, west of I-49 
southward to Parish Line, north of Parish Line westward to 
U.S. 165, east of U.S. 165 northward to U.S. 167 at 
Alexandria. North of La. 465 from Vernon Parish line to La. 
121, west of La. 121 to I-49, west of I-49 to La. 8, south and 
east of La. 8 to La. 118 (Mora Road), south and west of La. 
118 to Natchitoches Parish line; 
 iv. VernonCEast of Mora-Hutton Road from 
Natchitoches Parish line to Hillman Loop Road, south and 
east of Hillman Loop Road to Comrade Road, south of 
Comrade Road to La. 465, east and north of La. 465 to 
Rapides Parish line. 

3. Area 3 
a. All of Acadia, Cameron and Vermilion Parishes 

are open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. AllenCSouth of U.S. 190 and west of La. 113; 
 ii. BeauregardCWest of La. 113. Also east of La. 
27 from the parish line north to DeRidder and north of U.S. 
190 westward from DeRidder to Texas line; 
 iii. CalcasieuCSouth of U.S. 90. Also east of La. 
27 from Sulphur northward to the parish line; 
 iv. IberiaCWest of U.S. 90 and north of La. 14; 
 v. Jefferson DavisCAll except north of U.S. 190; 
 vi. LafayetteCWest of I-49 and U.S. 90; 
 vii. RapidesCSouth of La. 465 to junction of La. 
121, west of La. 121 and La. 112 to Union Hill and north of 
La. 113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line; 
 viii. St. LandryCWest of U.S. 167; 
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 ix. VernonCWest and north of La. 113, south of 
La. 465, east of La. 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of La. 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

4. Area 4 
a. All of East Carroll and Richland parishes are 

open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. MorehouseCEast of U.S. 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, south and east of La. 140 to junction of 
La. 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), east of La. 830-4 to Bastrop, 
east of La. 139 at Bastrop to junction of La. 593, east and 
north of La. 593 to Collinston, east of La. 138 to junction of 
La. 134 and south of La. 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake. 
 ii. OuachitaCSouth of U.S. 80 and east of 
Ouachita River, east of La. 139 from Sicard to junction of 
La. 134, south of La. 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Bake. 

5. Area 5 
a. All of West Carroll Parish is open. 

6. Area 6 
a. All of Orleans Parish is closed to all forms of 

deer hunting. 
b. All of the following parishes are open: 

Ascension, Plaquemines, St. John, Assumption, Pointe 
Coupee, St. Martin, Iberville, St. Bernard, Jefferson, St. 
Charles, Lafourche, St. James, West Baton Rouge. 

c. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. AvoyellesCall except that portion west of I-49; 
 ii. EvangelineCthat portion east of I-49 to 
junction of La. 29, east of La. 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte 
and north of U.S. 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 iii. IberiaCeast of U.S. 90; 
 iv. LafayetteCeast of I-49 and U.S. 90; 
 v. LivingstonCsouth of I-12; 
 vi. RapidesCsouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and U.S. 167 to the junction of U.S. 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 vii. St. LandryCeast of U.S. 167; 
 viii. St. MaryCnorth of U.S. 90; 
 ix. St. TammanyCthat portion south of I-12, west 
of Hwy. 1077 to La. 22, south of La. 22 to Tchefuncte River, 
west of Tchefuncte River southward to Lake Pontchartrain; 
 x. TangipahoaCsouth of I-12; 
 xi. TerrebonneCnorth of La. 182 from Assumption 
Parish line eastward to Houma, east of Houma Navigation 
Canal southward to the Gulf of Mexico; 
 xii. West FelicianaCwest of Mississippi River, 
known as Raccourci and Turnbull Islands; 

d. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. AvoyellesCnorth of La. 1 from Simmesport 
westward to La. 115 at Marksville, east of La. 115 from 
Marksville northward to the Red River near Moncla, south 
and west of the Red River to La. 1 at Simmesport; 
 ii. PlaqueminesCeast of the Mississippi River; 
 iii. RapidesCsouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and U.S. 167 to the junction of U.S. 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 iv. St. BernardCall the parish shall be still hunting 
only except that portion of St. Bernard known as the spoil 
area between the MRGO on the east and Access Canal on 

the west, south of Bayou Bienvenue and north of Bayou la 
Loutre; 
 v. St. JohnCSouth of Pass Manchac from Lake 
Pontchartrain to U.S. 51, east of U.S. 51 from Pass Manchac 
to La. 638 (Frenier Beach Road). North of La. 638 from U.S. 
51 to Lake Pontchartrain. West of Lake Pontchartrain from 
La. 638 to Pass Manchac. 
 vi. St. LandryCThose lands surrounding 
Thistlethwaite WMA bounded north and east by La. 359, 
west by La. 10, and south by La. 103. 

7. Area 7 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i.  Iberia and St. Mary ParishesCSouth of La. 14 
and west U.S. Hwy. 90. 
 ii. TerrebonneCSouth of La. 182 from 
Assumption Parish line eastward to Houma, west of Houma 
Navigation Canal southward to the Gulf of Mexico. 

8. Area 8 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. AllenCThat portion east of La. 113 from the 
parish line to U.S. 190, north of U.S. 190 eastward to 
Kinder, west of U.S. 165 northward to La. 10 at Oakdale and 
south of La. 10 from Oakdale westward to parish line; 
 ii. VernonCThat portion east of La. 113 from the 
parish line northward to Pitkin, and south of La. 10 from 
Pitkin southward to the parish line; 
 iii. BeauregardCThat portion east of La. 113. Also 
that portion west of La. 27 from parish line northward to 
DeRidder, south of U.S. 190 from DeRidder to Texas state 
line; 
 iv. CalcasieuCThat portion east of La. 27 from the 
parish line southward to Sulphur and north of U.S. 90 from 
Sulphur to the Texas state line. 

G. Wildlife Management Area Regulations 
1. General 

a. The following Rules and regulations concerning 
the management, protection and harvest of wildlife have 
been officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

b. Citizens are cautioned that by entering a WMA 
managed by the LDWF they may be subjecting themselves 
and/or their vehicles to game and/or license checks, 
inspections and searches. 

c. Wildlife management area seasons may be 
altered or closed anytime by the Department Secretary in 
emergency situations (floods, fire or other critical 
circumstances). 

d. Hunters may enter the WMA no earlier than 3:00 
a.m. unless otherwise specified. On days when Daily permits 
are required, permit stations will open 2 hours before legal 
shooting hours. Hunters must check out and exit the WMA 
no later than two hours after sunset, except for Lake Boeuf, 
Salvador/Timken and Pointe-aux-Chenes or as otherwise 
specified. 

e. Lands within WMA boundaries will have the 
same seasons and regulations pertaining to baiting and use of 
dogs as the WMA within which the lands are enclosed;
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however, with respect to private lands enclosed within a 
WMA, the owner or lessee may elect to hunt deer according 
to the regular season dates applicable to the geographic area 
in which the lands are located, provided that the lands are 
first enrolled in DMAP. Interested parties should contact the 
nearest LDWF regional office for additional information. 

f. Dumping garbage or trash on WMAs is 
prohibited. Garbage and trash may be properly disposed of 
in designated locations if provided. 

g. Disorderly conduct or hunting under influence of 
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances 
is prohibited. 

h. Commercial activities prohibited without prior 
approval or unless otherwise specified. 

i. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, hard mast 
(acorn, pecans, etc.) and wild plants is prohibited without 
prior approval. Gathering and/or removal of soft fruits, 
mushrooms and berries shall be limited to five gallons per 
person per day. Persons engaged in commercial activities 
must obtain a permit from the Region Office. 

j. Burning of marshes is prohibited except by 
permit. Permits may be obtained from the Fur and Refuge 
Division. Hunting actively burning marsh prohibited. 

k. Nature Trails. Access to trails shall be limited to 
pedestrians only. No vehicles, ATVs, horses, mules, bicycles, 
etc. allowed. Removal of vegetation (standing or down) or 
other natural material prohibited. 

l. Deer seasons are for legal buck deer unless 
otherwise specified. 

m. Small game, when listed under the WMA 
regulations may include both resident game animals and 
game birds as well as migratory species of birds. 

n. Oysters may not be harvested from any WMA, 
except that oysters may be harvested from private oyster 
leases and State Seed Grounds located within a WMA, when 
authorized by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and 
upon approval by the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

o. Free ranging livestock prohibited. 
2. Permits 

a. A WMA hunting permit is required to hunt on 
WMAs. 

b. Daily. Daily permits when required shall be 
obtained at permit stations on or near each WMA after first 
presenting a valid hunting license to a Department 
employee. Hunters must retain permit in possession while 
hunting. Hunters may enter the area no earlier than two 
hours before legal shooting time unless otherwise specified. 
Hunters must checkout daily and exit the area not later than 
two hours after sunset unless otherwise specified. 

c. Self-Clearing Permits. A Self-Clearing Permit is 
required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, 
birdwatching, sightseeing, etc.) on WMAs unless otherwise 
specified. The Self-Clearing Permit will consist of three 
portions: check in, check out and a Vehicle Tag. On WMAs 
where Self-Clearing Permits are required, all persons must 
obtain a WMA Self-Clearing Permit from an Information 
Station. The check in portion must be completed and put in a 
permit box before each day's activity on the day of the 
activity. Users may check-in one day in advance of use. The 
check out portion must be carried by each person while on 
the WMA and must be completed and put in a permit box 
immediately upon exiting the WMA or within 72 hours after 

checking in if hunting from a camp. Each person must leave 
the Vehicle Tag portion of his permit on the dashboard of the 
vehicle used to enter into the WMA in such a way that it can 
be easily read from outside of the vehicle. This must be done 
only when the vehicle is parked and left unattended on the 
WMA. If an ATV, boat or other type vehicle was used to 
enter the WMA, then the vehicle tag must be attached to that 
vehicle in such a manner that it can be readily seen and read. 
No permit is required of fishers and boaters who do not 
travel on a WMA road and/or launch on the WMA as long as 
they do not get out of the boat and onto the WMA. When 
Mandatory Deer Checks are specified on WMAs, hunters 
must check deer at a check station. Call the appropriate 
Region office for the location of the deer check station on 
these WMAs. (Self-Clearing Permits are not required for 
persons only traveling through the WMA provided that the 
most direct route is taken and no activities or stops take 
place.) 

d. Wild Louisiana Stamp. Persons using WMAs or 
other department administered lands for purposes other than 
hunting and fishing, such as camping, shooting on rifle 
ranges, berry picking, hiking, photography, bird-watching 
and the like, must possess one of the following: a valid Wild 
Louisiana stamp, a valid Louisiana fishing license, or a valid 
Louisiana hunting license. Persons younger than 16 or older 
than 60 years of age are exempt from this requirement. 

3. Special Seasons 
a. Youth Deer Hunt. Only youths younger than 16 

years of age may hunt. All other seasons are closed except 
Handicapped Seasons. Youths must possess a hunter safety 
certification or proof of successful completion of a hunter 
safety course. Each youth must be accompanied by one adult 
18 years of age or older. If the accompanying adult is in 
possession of a hunter safety certification, a valid Louisiana 
hunting license or proof of successful completion of a hunter 
safety course, this requirement is waived for the youth. 
Adults may not possess a firearm. Youths may possess only 
one firearm while hunting. Legal firearms are the same as 
described for deer hunting. The supervising adult shall 
maintain visual and voice contact with the youth at all times. 
An adult may supervise only one youth during this special 
hunt. Contact the appropriate region office for special check 
station locations when daily permits are required and maps 
of specific hunting areas. Either-sex deer may be taken on 
WMAs with youth hunts. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
for WMAs offering youth hunts. 

b. Handicapped Season. An either-sex deer season 
will be held for hunters possessing a Physically Challenged 
Hunter Permit on WMAs during the dates specified under 
the individual WMA. Participants must possess a Physically 
Challenged Hunter Permit. Contact region office for permit 
application and map of specific hunting area. Consult the 
regulations pamphlet for WMAs offering Handicapped 
Seasons. Pointe-aux-Chenes will have an experimental 
Lottery Handicapped waterfowl hunt. Contact New Iberia 
Office, Fur and Refuge Division for details. 

c. Deer Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to those 
persons selected as a result of the pre-application lottery. 
Consult the regulations pamphlet for deadlines. A non-
refundable application fee must be sent with application. 
Contact region offices for applications. Consult regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering lottery hunts. 
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d. Youth Deer Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to 
those persons selected as a result of a pre-hunt lottery 
application drawing. Contact region offices to apply or for 
more information. A non-refundable application fee must be 
sent with application. Consult regulations pamphlet for 
deadline and WMAs offering Youth Deer Lottery Hunts. 

e. Turkey Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to those 
persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
for deadlines. All turkeys must be reported at Self Clearing 
station. Contact Region Offices for more details. Consult 
separate Turkey Hunting Regulations pamphlet for WMAs 
offering lottery hunts. 

f. Trapping. Permits to take furbearers from WMAs 
may be obtained at appropriate offices when required. 
Consult Annual Trapping Regulations for specific dates. All 
traps must be run daily. Traps with teeth are illegal. On 
WMAs where permits are required, each trapper must 
submit an annual trapping report to the Region Office where 
his permit was obtained. Non-compliance will result in 
forfeiture of trapping privileges on the WMAs. Permits may 
be obtained only between hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on 
normal working days at region offices. Hunter orange 
required when a deer gun season is in progress. A permit is 
required to carry a firearm outside of the normal hunting 
season and is available at the Region Office. Authorized 
trappers, with proper permits, may carry and use a loaded 
firearm (including in a motorized vehicle under power) at 
any time during daylight hours for the specific purpose of 
harvesting furbearers. 

g. Raccoon Hunting. A licensed hunter may take 
raccoon or opossum, one per person per day, during daylight 
hours only, during the open rabbit season on WMAs. 
Nighttime ExperimentalCSeason dates for specific WMAs 
are for nighttime raccoon hunting and permits may be 
required. There is no bag limit for raccoons at night unless 
specified in the annual regulations pamphlet. Raccoon 
hunters with dogs must submit an annual report of their kill 
to the region office for WMAs where permits are required. 
Non-compliance will result in forfeiture of raccoon or all 
hunting privileges on WMAs. Permits, when required, may 
be obtained at region offices only between hours of 8 a.m. to 
4:30 p.m. on normal working days. 

h. Commercial Fishing. Permits are required of all 
commercial fishermen using Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre 
and Spring Bayou WMAs. Drag seines (except minnow and 
bait seines) are prohibited except experimental bait seines 
allowed on Dewey Wills WMA north of La. 28 in Diversion 
Canal. Commercial fishing is prohibited during regular 
waterfowl seasons on Grand Bay, Silver Lake and Lower 
Sunk Lake on Three Rivers WMA. Commercial fishing is 
prohibited on Salvador/Timken, Ouachita and Pointe-aux-
Chenes WMAs except commercial fishing on Pointe-aux-
Chenes is allowed in Cut Off Canal and Wonder Lake. No 
commercial fishing activity shall impede navigation and no 
unattended vessels or barges will be allowed. Non-
compliance with permit regulations will result in revocation 
of commercial fishing privileges for the period the license is 
issued and one year thereafter. Commercial fishing is 
allowed on Pass-a-Loutre and Atchafalaya Delta WMAs. See 
Pass-a-Loutre for additional commercial fishing regulations 
on mullet.  

i. Sport Fishing. Sport fishing, crawfishing and 
frogging are allowed on WMAs when in compliance with 
current laws and regulations except as otherwise specified 
under individual WMA listings. 

j. Additional Department Lands. The Department 
manages additional lands that are included in the WMA 
system and available for public recreation. Small tracts are 
located in Rapides, Vernon, Evangeline, St. Helena and other 
parishes. These small tracts have been acquired from the 
Farmers Home Administration or other sources for 
conservation purposes. Contact the appropriate Wildlife and 
Fisheries Region Office for specific information and any 
additional season dates. 

4. Firearms 
a. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber, 

magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms are not 
allowed in or on vehicles, boats under power, motorcycles, 
ATVs, ATCs or in camping areas on WMAs. Firearms may 
not be carried on any area before or after permitted hours 
except in authorized camping areas. 

b. Firearms and bows and arrows are not allowed on 
WMAs during closed seasons except on designated shooting 
ranges or as permitted for trapping. Bows and broadhead 
arrows are not allowed on WMAs except during deer 
archery season, turkey season or as permitted for 
bowfishing. 

c. Encased or broken down firearms and any game 
harvested may be transported through the areas by the most 
direct route provided that no other route exists except as 
specified under Wildlife Management Area listing. 

d. Loaded firearms are not allowed near WMA 
check stations. 

e. Centerfire rifles and handguns larger than .22 
caliber rimfire, shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or 
F steel shot cannot be carried onto any WMA except during 
modern firearm deer season. 

f. Target shooting and other forms of practice 
shooting are prohibited on WMAs except as otherwise 
specified. 

g. Discharging of firearms on or hunting from 
designated roads, ATV trails or their rights-of-way is 
prohibited during the modern firearm and muzzleloader deer 
season. 

5. Methods of Taking Game 
a. Moving deer or hogs on a WMA with organized 

drivers and standers, drivers or making use of noises or 
noise-making devices is prohibited. 

b. On Wildlife Management Areas, Federal Refuges 
and National Forest Lands the daily limit shall be one deer 
per day, six per season (all segments included) by all 
methods of take. 

c. Baiting or hunting over bait is prohibited on all 
WMAs (hogs included). Unmarked hogs may be taken on 
some WMAs by properly licensed hunters from the 
beginning of archery season on the area until February 29 
and only with guns/ammunition or bow and arrow legal for 
specified seasons in progress. Consult the specific WMA for 
additional information. Proper licenses and permits are 
required for hunting. 

d. Hunters who kill deer on WMAs that require 
daily permits must have deer checked at the check station on 
same day of kill. Deer may not be skinned or have any 
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external body parts removed including but not limited to 
feet, legs, tail, head or ears before being checked out. 

e. Deer hunting on WMAs is restricted to still 
hunting only. No WMA will be open for deer during early 
still hunt season unless specified in the regulation pamphlet. 

f. Construction of and/or hunting from permanent 
tree stands or permanent blinds on WMAs is prohibited. Any 
permanent stand or permanent blind will be removed and 
destroyed. 

g. On Wildlife Management Areas and Refuges, all 
deer stands must be removed from the area no later than two 
hours after the end of legal shooting hours each day. Hunting 
from utility poles, high tension power lines, oil and gas 
exploration facilities or platforms is prohibited. 

h. A permanent blind is any blind using non-natural 
materials or having a frame which is not dismantled within 
two hours after the end of legal shooting time each day. 
Blinds with frames of wood, plastic, metal, poles, wire, 
mesh, webbing or other materials may be used but must be 
removed from the WMA within two hours after the end of 
legal shooting time each day. Blinds made solely of natural 
vegetation and not held together by nails or other metallic 
fasteners may be left in place but cannot be used to reserve 
hunting locations. All decoys must be removed from the 
WMA daily. 

i. It is illegal to save or reserve hunting locations 
using permanent stands or blinds. Stands or blinds attached 
to trees with screws, nails, spikes, etc. are illegal. 

j. Tree climbing spurs, spikes or screw-in steps are 
prohibited. 

k. Unattended decoys will be confiscated and 
forfeited to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
disposed of by the Department. This action is necessary to 
prevent preemption of hunting space. 

l. Hunters shall not hunt, take or pursue birds or 
animals from moving vehicles on any WMA. No person 
shall take birds or animals from or by any motor boat or sail 
boat unless the motor has been completely shut off and/or 
the sail furled and its progress therefrom has ceased. 

m. Spot lighting (shining) from vehicles is 
prohibited on all WMAs. 

n. Horses and mules may be ridden on Wildlife 
Management Areas except where prohibited and except 
during gun seasons for deer and turkey. Riding is restricted 
to designated roads and trails. Hunting and trapping from 
horses and mules is prohibited except for quail hunting or as 
otherwise specified. 

o. All hunters except waterfowl hunters and 
mourning dove hunters (including archers and small game 
hunters) on WMAs must display 400 square inches of 
"Hunter Orange" and wear a "Hunter Orange" cap during 
open gun season for deer. Quail hunters, woodcock hunters 
and archers (while on the ground) as well as hunters 
participating in special dog seasons for rabbit and squirrel 
are required to wear a minimum of a "Hunter Orange" cap. 
Also all persons afield during hunting seasons are 
encouraged to display "Hunter Orange." 

p. Archery Season for Deer. The archery season on 
WMAs is the same as outside and is open for either sex deer 
except as otherwise specified on individual WMAs. Archery 
season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta and closed on certain 
WMAs when special seasons for youth or handicapped hunts 

are in progress. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific 
seasons. 

q. Either sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any 
time during archery season except when bucks only seasons 
are in progress on the respective WMAs. Archers must abide 
by bucks only regulations and other restrictions when such 
seasons are in progress. 

r. Muzzleloader Season for Deer. Either sex unless 
otherwise specified. See WMA deer schedule. 

6. Camping 
a. Camping on WMAs, including trailers, 

houseboats, recreational vehicles and tents, is allowed only 
in designated areas and for a period not to exceed sixteen 16 
consecutive days, regardless if the camp is attended or 
unattended. Houseboats shall not impede navigation. At the 
end of the 16 day period, camps must be removed from the 
area for at least 48 hours. Camping area use limited 
exclusively to outdoor recreational activities. 

b. Houseboats are prohibited from overnight 
mooring within WMAs except on stream banks adjacent to 
Department-owned designated camping areas. Overnight 
mooring of vessels that provide lodging for hire are 
prohibited on WMAs. On Atchafalaya Delta WMA and 
Pass-a-Loutre, houseboats may be moored in specially 
designated areas throughout the hunting season. At all other 
times of the year, mooring is limited to a period not to 
exceed 16 consecutive days. Permits are required for the 
mooring of houseboats on Pass-a-Loutre and Atchafalaya 
Delta WMAs. Permits must be obtained from the New Iberia 
office.  

c. Discharge of human waste onto lands or waters 
of any WMA is strictly prohibited by State and Federal law. 
In the event public restroom facilities are not available at a 
WMA, the following is required. Anyone camping on a 
WMA in a camper, trailer, or other unit (other than a 
houseboat or tent) shall have and shall utilize an operational 
disposal system attached to the unit. Tent campers shall have 
and shall utilize portable waste disposal units and shall 
remove all human waste from the WMA upon leaving. 
Houseboats moored on a WMA shall have a permit or letter 
of certification from the Health Unit (Department of Health 
and Hospitals) of the parish within which the WMA occurs 
verifying that it has an approved sewerage disposal system 
on board. Further, that system shall be utilized by occupants 
of the houseboats when on the WMA. 

d. No refuse or garbage may be dumped from these 
boats. 

e. Firearms may not be kept loaded or discharged in 
a camping area. 

f. Campsites must be cleaned by occupants prior to 
leaving and all refuse placed in designated locations when 
provided or carried off by campers. 

g. Non-compliance with camping regulations will 
subject occupant to immediate expulsion and/or citation, 
including restitution for damages. 

h. Swimming is prohibited within 100 yards of boat 
launching ramps. 

7. Restricted Areas 
a. All oil and gas production facilities (wells, 

pumping stations and storage facilities) are off limits. 
b. No unauthorized entry or hunting in restricted 

areas or refuges. 
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8. Dogs. All use of dogs on WMAs, except for bird 
hunting and duck hunting, is Experimental as required by 
law. Having or using dogs on any WMA is prohibited except 
for nighttime experimental raccoon hunting, squirrel 
hunting, rabbit hunting, bird hunting, duck hunting and bird 
dog training when allowed; see individual WMA season 
listings for WMAs that allow dogs and dates. Dogs running 
at large are prohibited on WMAs. The owner or handler of 
said dogs shall be liable. Only recognizable breeds of bird 
dogs and retrievers are allowed for quail and migratory bird 
hunting. Only beagle hounds which do not exceed 15 inches 
at the front shoulders and which have recognizable 
characteristics of the breed may be used on WMAs having 
experimental rabbit seasons. 

9. Vehicles 
a. An all-terrain vehicle is an off-road vehicle (not 

legal for highway use) with factory specifications not to 
exceed the following: weightC750 pounds, lengthC85 
inches, and widthC48 inches. ATV tires are restricted to 
those no larger than 25 x 12 with a maximum l-inch lug 
height and a maximum allowable tire pressure of 7 psi as 
indicated on the tire by the manufacturer. 

b. Vehicles having wheels with a wheel-tire 
combination having a radius of 17 inches or more from the 
center of the hub (measured horizontal to ground) are 
prohibited. 

c. The testing, racing, speeding or unusual 
maneuvering of any type of vehicle is prohibited within 
wildlife management areas due to property damages 
resulting in high maintenance costs, disturbance of wildlife 
and destruction of forest reproduction. 

d. Tractor or implement tires with farm tread 
designs R1, R2 and R4 known commonly as spade or lug 
grip types are prohibited on all vehicles. 

e. Airboats, aircraft, personal water craft and hover 
craft are prohibited on all WMAs and Refuges. Personal 
water craft are defined as a vessel which uses an inboard 
motor powering a water jet pump as its primary source of 
propulsion and is designed to be operated by a person sitting, 
standing or kneeling on the vessel rather than in the 
conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel. 
Personal water craft allowed on designated areas of 
Alexander State Forest WMA. 

f. No internal combustion engines allowed in 
certain Greentree reservoirs. 

g. Driving or parking vehicles on food or cover 
plots and strips is prohibited. 

h. Blocking the entrance to roads and trails is 
prohibited. 

i. Motorized vehicles, including ATVs, and 
motorcycles, are restricted entirely to designated roads and 
ATV trails as indicated on WMA maps. WMA maps 
available at all region offices. This restriction does not apply 
to bicycles. 

j. Use of special ATV trails for handicapped 
persons is restricted to special ATV handicapped permittees. 
Handicapped ATV permittees are restricted to handicapped 
ATV trails or other ATV trails only as indicated on WMA 
maps. Persons 60 years of age and older, with proof of age, 
are also allowed to use special handicapped trails and need 
not obtain a permit. However, these persons must abide by 
all Rules in place for these trails. Handicapped persons 

should make application for a Physically Challenged Hunter 
Program Permit with the Department. 

k. Entrances to ATV trails will be marked with 
peach colored paint. Entrances to handicapped-only ATV 
trails will be marked with blue colored paint. Routes of all 
trails are as indicated on WMA maps. Deviation from the 
trails indicated on the map constitutes a violation of WMA 
Rules and regulations. 

l. Roads and trails may be closed due to poor 
condition, construction or wet weather. 

m. ATVs, and motorcycles cannot be left overnight 
on WMAs except on designated camping areas. ATVs are 
prohibited from two hours after sunset to 3 a.m.. ATVs are 
prohibited from March 1 through August 31 except certain 
trails may be open during this time period to provide access 
for fishing or other purpose. These trails will be marked by 
signs at the entrance of the trail and designated on WMA 
maps. Raccoon hunters may use ATVs during nighttime 
raccoon take seasons only. 

n. Caution: Many department-maintained roadways 
on WMAs are unimproved and substandard. A maximum 20 
mph speed limit is recommended for all land vehicles using 
these roads. 

10. Commercial Activities. Hunting Guides/Outfitters: 
No person or group may act as a hunting guide, outfitter or 
in any other capacity for which they are paid or promised to 
be paid directly or indirectly by any other individual or 
individuals for services rendered to any other person or 
persons hunting on any Wildlife Management Area, 
regardless of whether such payment is for guiding, 
outfitting, lodging or club memberships. 

11. Wildlife Management Areas Basic Season 
Structure. For season dates, bag limits, shooting hours, 
special seasons and other information consult the annual 
regulations pamphlet for specific details. 

12. Resident Small Game (squirrel, rabbit, quail, dove, 
woodcock, snipe, rail and gallinule). Consult regulations 
pamphlet. 

13. Waterfowl (ducks, geese and coots). Consult 
regulations pamphlet. Hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited on all 
WMAs except for Atchafalaya Delta, Biloxi, Lake Boeuf, 
Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes, Salvador/Timken and 
Wisner WMAs. Consult specific WMA regulations for 
shooting hours on these WMAs. 

14. Archery. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
15. Hogs. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
16. Outlaw Quadrupeds and Birds. Consult regulations 

pamphlet. During hunting seasons specified on WMAs, 
incidental take of outlaw quadrupeds and birds is allowed by 
properly licensed hunters and only with guns or bows and 
arrows legal for season in progress on WMA. However, 
crows, blackbirds, grackles and cowbirds may not be taken 
before September 1 or after January 2. 

17. Wildlife Management Areas Hunting Schedule and 
Regulations 

a. Acadiana Conservation Corridor 
b. Alexander State Forest. Vehicles restricted to 

paved and graveled roads. No parking on or fishing or 
swimming from bridges. No open fires except in recreation 
areas. 

c. Atchafalaya Delta. Water control structures are 
not to be tampered with or altered by anyone other than 
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employees of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries at 
any time. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles prohibited except as 
permitted for authorized WMA trappers. 

d. Attakapas 
e. Bayou Macon. All night activities prohibited 

except as otherwise provided. Mules are allowed for 
nighttime raccoon hunting. 

f. Bayou Pierre 
g. Bens Creek 
h. Big Colewa Bayou. All nighttime activities 

prohibited. 
i. Big Lake 
j. Biloxi 
k. Bodcau 
l. Boeuf 
m. Boise-Vernon 
n. Buckhorn 
o. Camp Beauregard. Daily military clearance 

required for all recreational users. Registration for use of 
Self Clearing Permit required once per year. All game 
harvested must be reported. Retriever training allowed on 
selected portions of the WMA. Contact the Region office for 
specific details. 

p. Dewey W. Wills. Crawfish: 100 pounds per 
person per day.  

q. Elm Hall. No ATVs allowed. 
r. Floy McElroy 
s. Fort Polk. Daily military clearance required to 

hunt or trap. Registration for use of Self Clearing Permit 
required once per year. Special regulations apply to ATV 
users. 

t. Grassy Lake. Commercial Fishing: Permitted 
except on Smith Bay, Red River Bay and Grassy Lake 
proper on Saturday and Sunday and during waterfowl 
season. Permits available from area supervisor at Spring 
Bayou headquarters or Opelousas Region Office. No hunting 
in restricted area. 

u. Jackson-Bienville. ATVs are allowed on non-
public maintained gravel roads and timber management 
woods, roads and trails.  

v. Joyce. Swamp Walk: Adhere to all WMA Rules 
and regulations. No firearms or hunting allowed within 100 
yards of walkways. Check hunting schedule and use 
walkway at your own risk. 

w. Lake Boeuf. Hunting allowed until 12:00 noon 
on all game. 

x. Lake Ramsay. Foot traffic onlyCall vehicles 
restricted to Parish Roads. 

y. Little River 
z. Loggy Bayou 
aa. Manchac. Crabs: No crab traps allowed. Attended 

lift nets are allowed. 
bb. Maurepas Swamp 
cc. Ouachita. Waterfowl Refuge: North of La. Hwy. 

15 closed to all hunting, fishing and trapping during duck 
season including early teal season. Crawfish: 100 pounds per 
person per day limit. Night crawfishing prohibited. No traps 
or nets left overnight. Commercial Fishing: Closed. All 
nighttime activities prohibited except as otherwise provided. 

dd. Pass-a-Loutre. Commercial Fishing: Same as 
outside. Commercial mullet fishing open only in: South 
Pass, Pass-a-Loutre, North Pass, Southeast Pass, Northeast 

Pass, Dennis Pass, Johnson Pass, Loomis Pass, Cadro Pass, 
Wright Pass, Viveats Pass, Cognevich Pass, Blind Bay, 
Redfish Bay, Garden Island Bay, Northshore Bay, East Bay 
(west of barrier islands) and oil and gas canals as described 
on the Department Pass-a-Loutre WMA map. ATVs, ATCs 
and motorcycles prohibited on this area. Oyster harvesting is 
prohibited. 

ee. Pearl River. All roads closed 8 p.m. to 4:30 a.m. 
to all vehicles. Old Hwy. 11 will be closed when river gauge 
at Pearl River, Louisiana, reaches 16.5 feet. All hunting will 
be closed when the river stage at Pearl River reaches 16.5 
feet except waterfowl hunting south of Hwy. 90. No hunting 
in the vicinity of Nature Trail. Observe "No Hunting" signs. 
Rifle range open noon until 4 p.m. Friday, and 8 a.m. to 4:30 
p.m. Saturday and Sunday with a fee. 

ff. Peason Ridge. Daily military clearance required 
to hunt or trap. Registration for use of Self Clearing Permit 
required once per year. Special federal regulations apply to 
ATV users. 

gg. Pointe-aux-Chenes. Hunting until 12 noon on 
ALL GAME, except for mourning DOVE hunting and 
experimental youth deer hunt as specified in regulation 
pamphlet. Point Farm: Gate will be open during each 
Saturday of the second split of mourning dove season and all 
weekends during month of February. No motorized vessels 
allowed in the drainage ditches. Recreational Fishing: 
Shrimp may be taken by the use of cast nets only. During the 
inside open shrimp season, 25 pounds per boat per day 
(heads on) shall be allowed. Size count to conform with 
open season requirements. During the inside closed season, 
10 pounds per boat per day (heads on) may be taken for bait. 
Oyster harvesting is prohibited. Fish may be taken only by 
rod and reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. 
Crabs may be taken only through the use of hand lines or 
nets; however, none are to remain set overnight. Twelve 
dozen crabs are allowed per boat or vehicle per day. 
Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted portions of the 
wildlife management area and shall be limited to 100 pounds 
per boat or group. Fishing gear used to catch crawfish shall 
not remain set overnight. The harvest of all fish, shrimp, 
crabs and crawfish are for recreational purposes only and 
any commercial use is prohibited. Mudboats or vessels with 
engines larger than 25 h.p. prohibited in the Montegut and 
Grand Bayou marsh management units. Public is permitted 
to travel anytime through the WMA for access purposes 
only, in the waterways known as Grand Bayou, Humble 
Canal, Little Bayou Blue and Grand Bayou Blue. All other 
motorized vehicles, horses and mules are prohibited unless 
authorized by the department. 

hh. Pomme de Terre. Commercial Fishing: permitted 
Monday through Friday, except closed during duck season. 
Commercial Fishing permits available from area supervisor, 
Opelousas Region Office or Spring Bayou headquarters. 
Sport Fishing: Same as outside except allowed after 2 p.m. 
only during waterfowl season. Crawfish: April 1 - July 31, 
recreational only, 100 lbs. per boat or group daily.  

ii. Red River. Crawfishing prohibited on Wetland 
Restoration Areas. 

jj. Russell Sage. Transporting trash or garbage on 
WMA roads is prohibited. All nighttime activities prohibited 
except as otherwise provided. Note: All season dates on 
Chauvin Tract (U.S. 165 North) same as outside, except still 
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hunt only and except deer hunting restricted to archery only. 
Waterfowl hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited. All vehicles 
including ATVs prohibited. 

kk. Sabine 
ll. Sabine Island. Sabine Island boundaries are 

Sabine River on the west, Cut-Off Bayou on the north, and 
Old River and Big Bayou on the south and east. 

mm. Salvador/Timken. Hunting until 12 noon only 
for all game. All nighttime activities prohibited, including 
frogging. Recreational Fishing: Shrimp may be taken by the 
use of cast nets only. During the inside open shrimp season, 
25 pounds per boat per day (heads on) shall be permitted. 
Size count to conform with open season requirements. 
During the inside closed season, 10 pounds per boat per day 
(heads on) may be taken for bait. Fish may be taken only by 
rod and reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. 
Crabs may be taken only through the use of hand lines or 
nets; however, none of the lines are to remain set overnight. 
Twelve dozen crabs maximum are allowed per boat or 
vehicle per day. Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted 
portions of the wildlife management area and shall be 
limited to 100 pounds per boat or group. Fishing gear used 
to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. The harvest 
of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for recreational 
purposes only and any commercial use is prohibited. Boats 
powered by internal combustion engines having horsepower 
ratings above 25 hp are permitted only in oil company 
access canals, Louisiana Cypress Canal, the Netherlands 
Pond including the West Canal, Lakes - "Baie Des Chactas" 
and Baie du Cabanage" and the Rathborne Access ditch. Use 
of mudboats powered by internal combusion engines with 
four cylinders or less is permitted in interior ditches from 
September 6-February 1. Pulling boats over levees, dams or 
water control structures or any other activities which cause 
detriment to the integrity of levees, dams and water control 
structures is prohibited. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles 
prohibited on this area. 

nn. Sandy Hollow. Bird Dog Training: Consult 
regulation pamphlet. Wild birds only (use of pen-raised birds 
prohibited). Bird Dog Field Trials: Permit required from 
Baton Rouge Region Office. Horseback Riding: Organized 
trail rides prohibited. Riding allowed only on designated 
roads and trails. Horses and mules are specifically prohibited 
during turkey and gun season for deer except as allowed for 
bird dog field trials. No horses and mules on green planted 
areas. No motorized vehicles allowed off designated roads. 

oo. Sherburne. Crawfishing: Recreational 
crawfishing only on the North and South Farm Complexes. 
Crawfish harvest limited to 100 pounds per vehicle or boat 
per day. No traps or nets left overnight. No motorized 
watercraft allowed on farm complex. Commercial 
crawfishing allowed on the remainder of the area. Permit is 
required. Retriever training allowed on selected portions of 

the WMA. Contact the Region office for specific details. 
Vehicular traffic prohibited on east Atchafalaya River levee 
within Sherburne WMA boundaries. Rifle and Pistol Range 
open daily. Skeet ranges open by appointment only, contact 
Hunter Education Office. No trespassing in restricted area 
behind ranges. Note: Atchafalaya National Wildlife Refuge, 
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land holdings adjacent to 
the Sherburne Wildlife Management Area will have the same 
Rules and regulations as Sherburne WMA. No hunting or 
trapping in restricted area.  

pp. Sicily Island Hills 
qq. Soda Lake. No motorized vehicles allowed. All 

trapping and hunting prohibited except archery hunting for 
deer. 

rr. Spring Bayou. Commercial Fishing: permitted 
Monday through Friday except slat traps and hoop nets 
permitted any day. Permits available from area supervisor or 
Opelousas Region Office. Closed until after 2 p.m. during 
waterfowl season. Sport Fishing: Same as outside except 
allowed only after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season. 
Crawfish: recreational only. No hunting allowed in 
headquarters area. Only overnight campers allowed in the 
improved Boggy Bayou Camping area. Rules and 
regulations posted at camp site. A fee is assessed for use of 
this camp site. Water skiing allowed only in Old River and 
Grand Lac. 

ss. Thistlethwaite. No hunting or trapping in 
restricted area (See WMA Map). All motorized vehicles 
restricted to improved roads only. All users must enter and 
leave through main gate only. No entry into restricted areas. 

tt. Three Rivers 
uu. Tunica Hills. All vehicles restricted to Parish 

roads. ATVs restricted to designated trails. Driving on food 
plots prohibited. Access to restricted areas is unauthorized. 
Refer to WMA map. Camping prohibited on area. North of 
Hwy. 66 (Angola Tract) closed to the general public March 
1-September 30 except spring turkey hunting access allowed 
for those individuals drawn for special lottery hunt. 

vv. Union. All nighttime activities prohibited except 
as otherwise provided. 

ww. West Bay 
xx. Wisner 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115 and R.S. 56:116. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:1279 (July 1999), amended LR 26:1494 (July 2000), LR 
27:1049 (July 2001), LR 28:1603 (July 2002), LR 29:1124 (July 
2003). 

Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0307#058 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Examination Fees (LAC 7:XXIX.109) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Horticulture Commission, hereby 
proposes to amend regulations governing fees for exams 
administered by the Horticulture Commission.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of the Horticulture Commission is not a continuing 
option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. The 
department must use the emergency adoption provisions to 
insure that programs that begin in July will be adequately 
funded for the 2003-2004 fiscal year. Adoption of these 
Rules will take place in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. However, this process takes several months 
to complete and would cause additional deficits to continue 
and the possibility of work reductions. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:3801, 3:3805 and 
3:3806. 

The text of this Notice of Intent can be viewed in its 
entirety in the Emergency Rule section of this issue of the 
Louisiana Register. 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC XXIX. Chapter 1 

governing fees for exams administered by the Horticulture 
Commission should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on 
family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
All interested persons may submit written comments on 

the proposed Rules through August 25, 2003 to Craig 
Roussel, Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825

Florida Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. No preamble 
concerning the proposed Rules is available. 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Examination Fees 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No implementation costs or savings to state or local 

governmental units are anticipated. The Louisiana Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry is proposing to increase the fees 
assessed for examinations administered by the Louisiana 
Horticulture Commission. The amount proposed is an increase 
for Retail Florists of $50; Landscape Architects of $150 for 
first time applicants and those applying through reciprocity, 
and $50 for those retaking various sections of the exam; for 
Wholesale Florists, Horticulturists, Arborists, Utility Arborists, 
and Landscape Contractors the increase will be $15. In the past, 
the programs expenditures related to these services have 
exceeded collections; therefore, the fee increases are necessary 
to increase dedicated funds to offset a decrease in state general 
funds.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is estimated to be a total increase in revenue 
collections of $23,625 to the Horticulture Commission Fund. 
This increase in collections was calculated using the number of 
various exams administered per year. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be an increase in costs to persons desiring to 
take the examination to be licensed in the various professions. 
For Retail Florists this increase will be $50; for Landscape 
Architects the increase will be $150 for first time applicants 
and those applying through reciprocity, and $50 for those 
retaking various sections of the exam; for Wholesale Florists, 
Horticulturists, Arborists, Utility Arborists, and Landscape 
Contractors the increase will be $15. There will be no 
additional paperwork as a result of these amendments. This 
Rule change should have no significant impact on receipts 
and/or income. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed amendments are not anticipated to have a net 
effect on competition and employment. 

 
Skip Rhorer Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0307#092 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Nursery Certificate Permit Fees (LAC 7:XV.126) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry hereby proposes to amend 
Regulations governing fees for nursery certificate permits 
and permit tags. 

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds is not a 
continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. 
Adoption of these Rules will take place in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1655 and 3:1652. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter B. Nursery Stock Quarantines 
§126. Nursery Certificate Permit Fees 

A. There is hereby established and henceforth there shall 
be an annual fee paid by nursery permittees as follows. 

1. Any nursery which consists of acreage greater than 
2,500 square feet or greenhouse area greater that 200 square 
feet shall be $100 per location per year and all other nursery 
certificate permittees shall pay a fee of $25 per location per 
year. 

2. There is hereby established and henceforth there 
shall be a fee of $0.10 per nursery certificate permit tag 
issued by the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry to the nursery certificate permittee. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1655 and R.S. 3:1652. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 15:78 (February 1989), amended by the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, Horticulture Commission, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC XXIX.126 governing 

fees for exams administered by the Horticulture Commission 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
All interested persons may submit written comments on 

the proposed Rules through, August 25, 2003 to Craig 
Roussel, Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 

Florida Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. No preamble 
concerning the proposed Rules is available. 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Nursery Certificate Permit Fees 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No implementation costs or savings to state or local 

governmental units are anticipated. The Louisiana Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry is proposing to increase the fees 
assessed for Nursery Certificate Permits. The amount proposed 
is an increase from $50 to $100 per nursery location for acreage 
greater than 2,500 square feet or greenhouses greater than 200 
square feet. All other nursery certificate permits are increasing 
from $10 to $25. Additionally, the proposed increase for 
nursery certificate permit tags is from $0.05 to $0.10 per tag. 
This action is required due to budget shortfalls and cuts in the 
department's budget. The fee increase is necessary to balance 
the department's budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is estimated to be a total increase in revenue 
collections of $39,100 to the nursery fund. This increase in 
collections was calculated using the number of nursery 
certificate permits and tags issued each year. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be an increase in costs to nursery growers. The 
amount of the increase on individuals will be $15 or $50, 
depending on the size of the nursery. The increase in the costs 
of nursery certificate permit tags will vary according to the 
number of tags needed for shipments out of state. There will be 
no additional paperwork as a result of these amendments. The 
impact on income of nursery growers should be non-significant 
due to this fee increase. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed amendments are not anticipated to have a net 
effect on competition and employment. 

 
Skip Rhorer Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0307#089 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Sweet Potato Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.143) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, hereby proposes to amend 
regulations regarding the sweet potato Weevil Quarantine 
regulations. 

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit for the sweet potato weevil quarantine program is not 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1138

a continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of 
July. The department must use the emergency adoption 
provisions to insure that programs that begin in July will be 
adequately funded for the 2003-2004 fiscal year. Adoption of 
these Rules will take place in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. However, this process takes 
several months to complete and would cause additional 
deficits to continue and the possibility of work reductions. 

These rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1652 and 3:1732. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter C. Sweet Potato Weevil Quarantine 
§143. Fees 

A. fee of $0.06 per bushel shall be charged for each 
bushel of sweet potatoes moved or shipped within or out of 
Louisiana. 

B. … 
C. A fee of $0.10 per thousand shall be charged for 

vines, plants, slips or cuttings moved or shipped within or 
out of Louisiana. 

D. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1655, R.S. 3:1732 and R.S. 3:1734. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
LR 11:321 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 15:77 (February 1989), LR 18:705 (July 1992), LR 
27:1178, amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Horticulture 
Commission, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to rules LAC 7:XV.143 

regarding the sweet potato weevil quarantine regulations 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
All interested persons may submit written comments on 

the proposed Rules through, August 25, 2003, to Craig 
Roussel, Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 
Florida Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. No preamble 
concerning the proposed Rules is available. 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Sweet Potato Quarantine 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No implementation costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units are anticipated. The Louisiana Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry is proposing to increase the fees 
assessed for the Sweet Potato Weevil Quarantine Program. The 
amount proposed is an increase from $0.04 to $0.06 per bushel 
and from $0.05 to $0.10 per thousand plants, vines, slips, or 
cuttings. In the past, the programs expenditures related to these 
services have exceeded collections; therefore, the fee increases 
are necessary to increase dedicated funds to offset a decrease in 
state general funds. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is estimated to be a total increase in revenue 
collections of $95,500 to the Sweet Potato Weevil Quarantine 
Program Fund. The increase in collections was calculated using 
average sweet potato production figures per year. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be an increase in costs to sweet potato growers 
and processors. The amount of the increase on individuals will 
vary depending on their individual production. The increase 
will amount to $3.50 per acre for growers and $0.72 per ton for 
processors. There will be no additional paperwork as a result of 
these amendments. There may be some impact on income of 
sweet potato growers and processors due to this fee increase. 
The amount of impact will vary among individuals. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed amendments are not anticipated to have a net 
effect on competition and employment. 

 
Skip Rhorer Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0307#090 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Seed Commission 

Fees; Penalties; Adjudicatory Hearings 
(LAC 7:XIII.113, 115, 143 and 153) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et. seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Louisiana Seed 
Commission, proposes to amend Regulations regarding seed 
license fees, laboratory fees, inspection fees on agricultural 
seed and penalties. 

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of the Seed Commission is not a continuing option. 
The fiscal year begins on the first of July. The department
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must implement these regulations to insure that programs 
that begin in July will be adequately funded for the 2003-
2004 fiscal year. Adoption of these Rules will take place in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1433. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XIII.  Seeds 

Chapter 1. Louisiana Seed Law 
§113. License Fee; Laboratory Fees 

A. The annual fee for a seed dealer's license shall be $75. 
B. The following laboratory fees shall be applicable to 

all seed testing conducted by this department: 
1. standard germination test only, purity test only or 

noxious weed examination only: $8 each (except grasses, 
mixtures and seed containing high inert: $16 each); 

2. complete test (purity and germination): $14 each 
(except grasses, mixtures and seed containing higher inert: 
$24 each); 

3. Accelerated Aging: $12 each; 
4. Texas Cool Test: $16 each; 
5. Tetrazolium: $20 each; and 
6. Examination of 4-pound rice seed sample for 

presence of red rice: $10; 
7. Varietal Purity $12; 
8. Priority Sample $25. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 4:105 (April 1978), amended 
LR 7:164 (April 1981), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Seed Commission, LR 12:825 (December 1986), LR 
14:603 (September 1988), LR 29: 
§115. Inspection Fees on Agricultural Seed 

A. In addition to the requirements of the Act, any person 
who sells, distributes, or offers or handles for sale 
agricultural seed within this state for planting purposes shall 
pay an inspection fee thereon in accordance with the 
following. 

1. All seed dealers shall pay an inspection fee of $0.20 
for each 100 pounds of agricultural seed sold, offered for 
sale, exposed for sale, or otherwise distributed for sale for 
planting purposes within this state. The inspection fee shall 
be due on the total pounds of first point of sales distributions 
in Louisiana by the seller of the seed. 

Exception: The payment of an inspection fee is not required 
for a person who offers for sale, sells, or distributes Louisiana 
certified tagged seed upon which inspection fees have already 
been paid. 

2. Records must be kept by the seed dealer showing 
the total pounds of each lot identified as to the kind and 
variety (when applicable). In addition, for auditing purposes, 
records must be kept by the seed dealer showing the invoice 
number for each distribution of seed, identified with the 
name of the kind and variety (when applicable), the lot 
number, pounds of seed, and number of containers of seed, 
and the person, to whom the seed was distributed. 

3. Each seed dealer shall file with the department a 
quarterly report (supplied by the department) covering the 
following periods: 1st quarterCJuly, August, September; 2nd 
quarterCOctober, November, December; 3rd 
quarterCJanuary, February, March; 4th quarterCApril, May, 
June. Reports and fees shall be filed with the department no 
later than 30 days following the end of each quarter. The 

department may assess a 10 percent additional charge for 
late reports. If a seed dealer has no sales during the quarterly 
reporting period the department must be notified 
accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Seed Commission, LR 14:603 
(September 1988), amended LR 29: 
§143. Fees 

A. The application fee for certification shall be $23 for 
each crop, one variety per application, plus $0.90 per acre 
inspection fee for all crops except sweet potatoes and sugar 
cane which shall be $1.80 per acre and Turf and Pasture 
Grass which shall be $25 per acre. The application fee shall 
be due and payable upon filing of the application for 
certification. 

B. The fee for certification on any application submitted 
after the deadline shown in §131 shall be $100. 

C. A fee of $50 shall be charged for each re-inspection of 
a field. 

D. Fees for issuance of certified seed tags shall be $0.16 
for the following classes of seed: 

1. breeder (white tag); 
2. foundation (white tag); 
3. registered (purple tag); 
4. certified (blue tag); 
5. selected tree seed (green tag); and 
6. source identified tree seed (yellow tag). 

E. Fees for Sweet Potatoes 
1. The fee for greenhouse inspections of virus-tested 

sweet potato plants and mini-roots shall be $50 per crop 
year. 

2. A fee of $0.05 per 1,000 plants will be collected for 
each 1,000 sweet potato plants inspected for certification 
purposes. 

F. Fees for Bulk Seed Certification. The fee for issuance 
of a Bulk Certified Seed Sales Certificate shall be $0.16 per 
hundred-weight. 

G. Fees for Phytosanitary Inspection. A fee of $0.50 per 
acre shall be charged for phytosanitary inspections. The 
application fee for phytosanitary inspection shall be due and 
payable upon filing of the application for certification. 

H. Fees for Re-Sampling Certified Seed. A fee of $30 
will be charged for each re-sample, which fee shall be due 
and payable when the request for re-sample is initially made. 

I. Fees for Bulk Sampling. A fee of $30 shall be charged 
for each bulk sample by vacuum probe, which shall be due 
and payable when request for bulk sample is initially made. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:566 (November 1982), 
amended LR 10:495 (July, 1984), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Seed Commission LR 12:825 (December 
1986), amended LR 14:604 (September 1988), amended LR 16:847 
(October 1990), LR 25:1617 (September 1999), LR 26:235 
(February 2000), LR 29: 
§153. Penalties; Adjudicatory Hearing Required 

A. Whenever the chairman of the Seed Commission has 
reason to believe that there has been a violation of the Seed 
Law or any of these rules and regulations, he shall notify the 
person believed to have committed the violation, the notice 
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to be in accordance with the requirements of the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

B. No penalty shall be imposed on any individual, firm, 
corporation or other legal entity regulated under the Seed 
Law until such time as an adjudicatory hearing is conducted, 
such hearing to be conducted in accordance with the 
requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act. 

C. Whenever the Seed Commission determines that a 
violation has occurred, the Seed Commission may impose 
any of the following penalties: 

1. withdraw from the offender the right to have seed 
certified under these procedures; 

2. destroy any seed which is not in compliance with 
the requirements of the Seed Law or the requirements of 
these regulations; or 

3. impose a penalty not to exceed $500 for each 
offense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1446 and R.S. 3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:567 (November 1982), 
amended LR 9:197 (April 1983), 12:825 (December 1986), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC 7:XIII.113, 115, 143, 

153 regarding seed license fees, laboratory fees, inspection 
fees on agricultural seed and penalties should not have any 
known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
All interested persons may submit written comments on 

the proposed Rules through August 25, 2003, to Eric Gates, 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida 
Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. All interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments in writing at the address above. No preamble 
concerning the proposed Rules is available. 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Fees; Penalties; Adjudicatory Hearings 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No implementation costs or savings to state or local 

governmental units are anticipated. The Louisiana Seed 
Commission is proposing to increase the fees for analytical 
services provided by the Louisiana State Seed Testing 
Laboratory as well as fees and penalties for the Seed

Certification Program. These fees are based on the costs 
associated with inspecting, obtaining, administering, 
conducting various lab analyses and processing reports from 
such actions. The commission is also proposing to increase the 
seed dealers license and seed inspection fees. In the past, the 
commission's expenditures related to these services have 
exceeded collections; therefore, the fee increases are necessary 
to increase dedicated funds to offset a decrease in state general 
funds. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is estimated to be a total increase in revenue 
collections of $110,324 to the Seed Commission Fund. The 
increase is based on prior year collections from the total 
number of lab tests performed, seeds sold in Louisiana, and 
certified acres applied for. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be an increase in costs to persons desiring the 
following services: seed dealer license $25; seed inspection fee 
$0.10/hundred weight; lab analyses for standard germination 
and purity tests $4, for purity of grasses, red rice, Texas cool 
test and seed certification $8, for the accelerated aging test $2, 
and tetrazolium $12; and other certification program increases 
for sugarcane inspection $0.90/acre, for all other crops 
$0.30/acre; and feed for field re-inspection $25, seed re-
sampling $15 and tag printing $0.08/tag. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed amendments are not anticipated to have a net 
effect on competition and employment. 

 
Skip Rhorer Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0307#088 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 
 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 105CLouisiana Standards for Programs Serving 
Four-Year-Old Children (LAC 28:LXXVII.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement the adoption of Bulletin 105CLouisiana 
Standards for Programs Serving Four-Year-Old Children. 
Bulletin 105 will be printed in codified format as Part 
LXXVII of the Louisiana Administrative Code. At the May 
2003 meeting of the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Bulletin 105 was approved. This 
bulletin contains both program and content standards needed 
for the effective operation of a quality early childhood 
program. This action was necessary in order to ensure 
quality across early childhood programs under the present 
jurisdiction of the Department of Education, provide quality 
standards available to other agencies that serve four-year-old 
students, and to provide for a consistent flow from  
pre-kindergarten to kindergarten, thus meeting the mandates 
of the federal "No Child Left Behind" (NCLB) legislation. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXVII.  Bulletin 105CLouisiana Standards for 
Programs Serving Four-Year-Old Children 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana Standards for Programs Serving  
Four-Year-Old Children document was developed by a 
committee of educators from across the state. The committee 
consisted of representatives of higher education institutions, 
technical colleges, childcare, Head Start, Department of 
Social Services, and the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, as well as representatives from local school 
system administrators and classroom teachers. The standards 
were designed to address the needs of all children in all 
settings. There are a number of principles that guided the 
development of the document. [These Guiding Principles 
were reprinted with permission from the Connecticut State 
Department of Education Preschool Curriculum Framework 
and Benchmarks for Children in Preschool Programs (May 
1999).] 

1. Early learning and development are 
multidimensional; developmental domains are highly 
interrelated. Development in one domain influences the 
development in other domains. For example, children's 
language skills impact their ability to engage in social 
interactions. Therefore, developmental domains cannot be 
considered in isolation of each other. The dynamic 
interaction of all areas of development must be considered. 

2. Young children are capable and competent. All 
children are capable of positive developmental outcomes. 
Therefore, there should be high expectations for all young 
children. 

3. There are individual differences in rates of 
development among children. Each child is unique in the 
rate of growth and the development of skills and 
competencies. Some children may have a developmental 
delay or disability that may require program staff to adapt 
expectations of individual children or adapt experiences so 
that they will be successful in attaining the performance 
standard. Additionally, each child is raised in a cultural 
context that may impact a child's acquisition of certain skills 
and competencies. 

4. Children will exhibit a range of skills and 
competencies in any domain of development. Preschool age 
children will exhibit a range of skills and competencies in 
any area of development. All children within an age group 
should not be expected to master each skill to the same 
degree of proficiency at the same time.  

5. Knowledge of child growth and development and 
consistent expectations are essential to maximize 
educational experiences for children and for program 
development and implementation. Early care and education 
program staff must agree on what it is they expect children 
to know and be able to do, within the context of child growth 
and development. With this knowledge, early childhood staff 
can make sound decisions about appropriate curriculum for 
the group and for individual children. 

6. Families are the primary caregivers and educators 
of their young children. Families should be aware of 
programmatic goals and experiences that should be provided 
for children and expectations for children's performance by 

the end of the preschool years. Program staff and families 
should work collaboratively to ensure that children are 
provided optimal learning experiences. Programs must 
provide families with the information they may need to 
support children's learning and development. 

7. Young children learn through active exploration of 
their environment through children-initiated and teacher-
selected activities. The early childhood environment should 
provide opportunities for children to explore materials and 
engage in concrete activities, and to interact with peers and 
adults in order to construct their own understanding about 
the world around them. There should therefore be a range of 
approaches to maximize children's learning. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§103. Louisiana Content Standards Foundation Skills 

A. The Louisiana Content Standards Task Force has 
developed the following foundation skills, which should 
apply to all students in all disciplines. 

CitizenshipCthe application of the understanding of the 
ideals, rights, and responsibilities of active participation in a 
democratic republic that includes working respectfully and 
productively together for the benefit of the individual and 
the community; being accountable for one's choices and 
actions and understanding their impact on oneself and 
others; knowing one's civil, constitutional, and statutory 
rights; and mentoring others to become productive citizens 
and lifelong learners. 

CommunicationCa process by which information is 
exchanged and a concept of "meaning" is created and shared 
between individuals through a common system of symbols, 
signs, or behavior. Students should be able to communicate 
clearly, fluently, strategically, technologically, critically, and 
creatively in society and in a variety of workplaces. This 
process can best be accomplished through use of the 
following skills: reading, speaking, listening, viewing, and 
visually representing. 

Linking and Generating KnowledgeCthe effective use 
of cognitive processes to generate and link knowledge across 
the disciplines and in a variety of contexts. In order to 
engage in the principles of continual improvement, students 
must be able to transfer and elaborate on these processes. 
"Transfer" refers to the ability to apply a strategy or in-
content knowledge effectively in a setting or context other 
than that in which it was originally learned. "Elaboration" 
refers to monitoring, adjusting, and expanding strategies into 
other contexts. 

Problem-SolvingCthe identification of an obstacle or 
challenge and the subsequent application of knowledge and 
thinking processes, which include reasoning, decision-
making, and inquiry in order to reach a solution using 
multiple pathways, even when no routine path is apparent. 

Resource Access and UtilizationCthe process of 
identifying, locating, selecting, and using resource tools to 
help in analyzing, synthesizing, and communicating 
information. The identification and employment of 
appropriate tools, techniques, and technologies are essential 
to all learning processes. These resource tools include pen, 
pencil, and paper; audio/video materials, word processors, 
computers, interactive devices, telecommunication, and 
other emerging technologies. 
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NOTE: These foundation skills were developed by the 
Louisiana Content Standards Task Force in 1997. This task 
force developed the State Standards for Curriculum 
Development for kindergarten through grade 12. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§105. Information Literacy Model for Lifelong 

Learning 
A. Students must become competent and independent 

users of information to be productive citizens of the 21st 
century. They must be prepared to live in an information-rich 
and changing global society. Due to the rapid growth of 
technology, the amount of information available is 
accelerating so quickly that teachers are no longer able to 
impart a complete knowledge base in a subject area. In 
addition, students entering the workforce must know how to 
access information, solve problems, make decisions, and 
work as part of a team. Therefore, information literacy, the 
ability to recognize an information need and then locate, 
evaluate, and effectively use the needed information, is a 
basic skill essential to the 21st century workplace and home. 
Information literate students are self-directed learners, who, 
individually or collaboratively, use information responsibly 
to create quality products and to be productive citizens. 
Information literacy skills must not be taught in isolation; 
they must be integrated across all content areas, utilizing 
fully the resources of the classroom, the school library media 
center, and the community. The Information Literacy Model 
for Lifelong Learning is a framework that teachers at all 
levels can apply to help students become independent 
lifelong learners. 

1. Defining/Focusing. The first task is to recognize 
that an information need exists. Students make preliminary 
decisions about the type of information needed based on 
prior knowledge. 

2. Selecting Tools and Resources. After students 
decide what information is needed, they then develop search 
strategies for locating and accessing appropriate, relevant 
sources in the school library media center, community 
libraries and agencies, resource people, and others as 
appropriate. 

3. Extracting and Recording. Students examine the 
resources for readability, currency, usefulness, and bias. This 
task involves skimming or listening for key words, 
"chunking" reading, finding main ideas, and taking notes. 

4. Processing Information. After recording 
information, students must examine and evaluate the data in 
order to utilize the information by categorizing, analyzing, 
evaluating, and comparing for bias, inadequacies, omissions, 
errors, and value judgments. Based on their findings, they 
either move on to the next step or do additional research. 

5. Organizing Information. Students effectively sort, 
manipulate, and organize the information that was retrieved. 
They make decisions on how to use and communicate their 
findings. 

6. Presenting Findings. Students apply and 
communicate what they have learned (e.g., research report, 
project, illustration, dramatization, portfolio, book, book 
report, map, oral/audio/visual presentation, game, 
bibliography, hyper stack). 

7. Evaluating Efforts. Throughout the information 
problem solving process, students evaluate their efforts. This 
assists students in determining the effectiveness of the 
research process. The final product may be evaluated by the 
teacher and other qualified or interested resource persons.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§107. Definitions 

AccommodationsCchanges in the curricular material and 
experiences to accommodate a child's particular needs. 
Adaptations are not intended to alter the difficulty of the 
skill or area of development addressed. Such adaptations 
may enable children with disabilities to have experiences 
similar to those of their peers. 

Child-Initiated ActivitiesCchildren are able to select their 
own centers, activities, materials, and companions, and are 
able to manage their own play independently. There is adult 
interaction in response to the children's developmental 
needs, as well as to introduce and reinforce concepts. This is 
also called free play. (Note: When children are assigned to 
centers by staff or the staff selects the activities, materials, 
etc., for the children, this is not considered a child-initiated 
or free play activity.) 

Concrete Hands-On Learning ExperiencesClearning 
experiences that emphasize choice, free exploration, 
interaction, and authenticity within a relevant and 
meaningful context. Such experiences emphasize the 
development of children's thinking, reasoning, decision-
making and problem-solving abilities. Curriculum areas and 
skills are integrated in the context of the learning activities 
and experiences as opposed to being taught in isolation. 

Content Practice StandardsCdescribes the broad 
outcomes that children should achieve through a high-
quality preschool experience. Each Content Practice 
Standard is aligned with the Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards and other relevant state and national standards. 

Developmental ProfileCspecifies what most preschool 
children should be able to know and be able to do by the end 
of their preschool experiences. 

Developmentally Appropriate PracticeCquality care and 
education of young children based on:  

1. knowledge of how children develop and learn. This 
includes information about ages and stages of development 
as well as what materials, activities and interactions are 
important for each;  

2. knowledge of the individual child, including 
disabilities; and  

3. knowledge about the social, cultural and familial 
cultural context in which children are growing up. 

DomainCdescribe the aspect of development for each 
standard. content areas are specified for each domain. 

Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale-Revised 
(ECERS-R)Ca reliable and valid research based program 
quality assessment instrument. This scale is designed for use 
in classrooms serving children 2 1/2 to 5 years of age. It is 
used to evaluate classroom environment as well as 
programmatic and interpersonal features that directly affect 
children and adults in the early childhood setting. The seven 
sub-scales of the ECERS-R include: Space and Furnishings,
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Personal Care Routines, Language-Reasoning, Activities, 
Interactions, Program Structure, and Parents and Staff. 

Emerging SkillsCskills or abilities, which are not shown 
as being mastered but are present in a modified or limited 
form. Attention to emerging skills allows teachers to assess 
the developmental process and progress of students. 
Additionally, a focus on emerging skills is important in the 
planning of the environment and activities to facilitate 
development of skills. 

ExamplesCtips on how to structure the curriculum and 
environment to assist a child's optimal performance. 

Free PlayCsee Child-Initiated Activity. 
GraphemeCthe smallest part of written language that 

represents a phoneme in the spelling of a word. 
Head Start Child Outcomes FrameworkCthis framework 

is intended to guide Head Start Programs in the ongoing 
assessment of the progress and accomplishments of children. 
The eight general Domains serve as building blocks that are 
important for school success. The domains include: 
Language Development, Literacy, Mathematics, Science, 
Creative Arts, Social and Emotional Development, 
Approaches to Learning and Physical and Health 
Development. 

Head Start Performance StandardsCthese standards used 
in Head Start Programs are based on sound child 
development principles about how children grow and learn. 
The varied experiences provided by the program support the 
continuum of children's growth and development in all 
domains.  

IndicatorsCdefine a Content Practice Standard more 
specifically so that it can be measured. Each indicator is 
coded by domain, content area and skill. For example, PK-
CM-N1 means Pre-Kindergarten-Cognitive Math-Number 1. 

Interest CenterCan area in the classroom used during free 
play/ child-initiated activities. In each area, the materials are 
organized by type and are stored so that they are accessible 
to the children, shelves have picture/word labels, and the 
area is appropriately furnished. Interest centers can also be 
established outdoors. 

Louisiana Literacy ProfileCprovides teachers of children 
in grades K-3 with the means of observing and recording 
progress in a continuum of growth that is based on literacy 
behaviors. It informs instruction and promotes development 
of literacy behaviors. 

ManipulativesCmaterials that allow children to explore, 
experiment, and interact by using their hands or by 
mechanical means. These learning materials promote 
dexterity and eye-hand coordination while promoting 
problem-solving and higher levels of critical thinking. Such 
items include, but are not limited to, beads and laces, 
puzzles, small blocks, playdoh, lacing cards, and items that 
can be snapped, zipped or hooked together to name a few. 

ModificationsClimiting, restricting, or altering materials, 
the environment or experiences without fundamentally 
changing the outcome or use of such. Modifications may 
enable children who are experiencing difficulty with a 
particular skill or an area of development to successfully 
achieve competence in these areas. Examples of 
modifications include offering a variety of levels of puzzles 
such as interlocking and pegged puzzles. 

Multisensory ExperiencesCexperiences that allow 
children to respond to physical stimuli relating to more than 
one of the five senses. Included in these types of experiences 
would be cooking activities where the senses of sight, smell, 
taste, touch and hearing would all be involved. 

National Association for the Education of Young Children 
(NAEYC)Clinks to the Louisiana Standards for Programs 
Serving Four-Year Olds are related to NAEYC's Guide to 
Accreditation (1998) which is a compilation of self-studies 
designed to guide programs through the accreditation 
process. 

Non-Standard Units of MeasurementCmethods of 
measurement that do not include traditional means such as 
rulers, scales, clocks, etc. Non-standard units of 
measurement allow children to explore and thus understand 
the concept of measurement without being tied to exact  
numerical data. Items such as pieces of string, rows of 
blocks or pencils may serve as non-standard units to measure 
length; balances may help promote understanding of varying 
weights, and picture-graphs of daily routines allow children 
to understand the concept of time and passage of time. 

Non-Textual InformationCinformation expressed through 
the use of pictures, symbols or icons. Such information may 
be used by children to process information and to create 
mental images symbolic of real-world situations without the 
use of written text. 

OnsetCthis is a part of spoken language that is smaller 
than a syllable but larger than a phoneme. It is the initial 
consonant sound of a syllable (The onset of bag is b-; of 
swim, sw-). 

Open-Ended QuestioningCquestioning that promotes a 
child's development as opposed to mere information 
gathering. This method of questioning is used to motivate 
children to learn, inquire about and discover their world. 
Open-ended questioning prompts students to think about 
their responses and requires a more in-depth level of critical 
thinking in order to respond. These questions help the 
student to recognize a problem, analyze contributing factors 
and to consider a choice of optimal solutions. Open-ended 
questions are characterized by the words "What if?", 
"How?" , "What would happen if?", "Why do you think?", 
"Is there another way?" etc. 

PhonemeCthe smallest part of spoken language that 
makes a difference in the meaning of words. 

Phonemic AwarenessCthe ability to hear, identify, and 
manipulate the individual sounds (phonemes) in spoken 
words. A child who possesses phonemic awareness can 
segment sounds in words and blend strings of isolate sounds 
together to form recognizable words. 

Phonological AwarenessCa broad term that includes 
phonemic awareness. In addition to phonemes, phonological 
awareness activities can involve work with rhymes, words, 
syllables, and other onsets and rimes. 

Play-Based EnvironmentCa teaching-learning interactive 
environment through which play is the medium that children 
learn and make sense of their world. It provides a forum for 
children to learn to deal with the world on a symbolic level – 
the foundation for all subsequent intellectual development. 
In a play-based environment, children have the opportunity 
to gain a variety of social, emotional and physical skills.
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This type of environment is in contrast to the environment 
where learning is compartmentalized into the traditional 
content areas and children have little opportunity to actively 
explore, experiment and interact. 

Print ConceptsCmaterials, activities, and props, etc. that 
prompt the ongoing process of becoming literate; that is, 
learning to read and write. Print concepts include exposure 
to textual information through books, stories, field trips, 
notes, labels, signs, chants, etc., and should be part of the 
emergent-literacy environment of all preschool classrooms. 

PropsCmaterials used throughout the classroom to extend 
learning in any one of the interest areas or centers. Props 
added to an interest center are generally placed in the area in 
addition to standards items. Examples of props include: 
puppets that correlate with stories in the library center or 
phone books and recipe cards in the dramatic play center. 
Such props allow children to engage in activities in which 
they can interact with other children, share and take turns, 
role-play and exercise their imaginations. Additionally, 
props added to interest centers help children accept 
responsibility for clean-up, break barriers for sex/culture 
stereotyping, and deal with age/stage personal relations. 

RimeCthe part of a syllable that contains the vowel and all 
that follows it (the rime of bag is –ag; of swim, -im). 

Self-help Tasks or SkillsCthese skills or tasks comprise a 
large portion of a young child's daily living tasks and are 
important in all areas of development. These skills include 
toileting, serving and eating meals and snacks, cleaning up 
their environment and grooming and dressing. 

Skill AreaCdefines each content area more specifically. 
Spatial Sense or Spatial AwarenessCthe sense of orienting 

to one's environment. A sense of awareness of directionality 
as well as the child's relationship to self, the environment 
and others in that environment. 

Substantial Portion of the DayCfree play/child-initiated 
activities are available to the children at least one third or 35 
percent of the instructional day. Example: During a 6 hour 
instructional day, these activities are available at least 2 
hours of the instructional day. 

SyllableCa part of a word that contains a vowel or, in 
spoken language, a vowel sound. 

Teacher-Directed ActivityCthe activities and/or materials 
are chosen for the children by the teacher to engage in 
educational interaction with small groups and individual 
children as well as with the whole group. (Examples: read a 
story, cooking activity, or science activity.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

Chapter 3. Pre-Kindergarten Program Standards 
§301. Program Standards 

A. Program Standards have been developed to provide 
recommendations to guide the ongoing development, 
evaluation, and improvement of early childhood center-
based programs serving four-year-old children. The goals 
and standards are based on research in developmentally 
appropriate practice for preschool children. In developing 
the goals and standards, the Accreditation Standards of the 
National Association for the Education of Young Children 
(NAEYC) and the Head Start Performance Standards were 
reviewed. The Early Childhood Environment, Revised 
Edition (ECERS-R) was also reviewed and linked to the 
appropriate program standards. 

B. The standards are intended to provide and maintain 
safe, welcoming, age-appropriate and culturally-sensitive 
learning environments for young children and their families. 
While not all items in the Program Standards are regulation 
or requirements for pre-kindergarten programs, it is 
recommended that programs strive to meet and/or exceed 
these standards in order to ensure the quality of the 
programs. 

C. The Program Standards address the following areas: 
1. physical environment; 
2. transportation; 
3. group size and ratio; 
4. health and safety practices; 
5. nutrition and food service; 
6. family involvement and support; 
7. staff qualifications and staff development; 
8. interactions between staff and children, and among 

children; 
9. curriculum; 
10. assessment; 
11. collaboration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§303. Area: Physical Environment 

A. Goal. Both indoor and outdoor space will be safe and 
accessible to all children, including those with disabilities. 
The indoor and outdoor physical environment will reflect 
children's interests and offer opportunities for varied play 
experiences and exploration that will foster children's 
learning, growth and development. The following checklist 
for physical environment is provided for your self-
assessment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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A. The outdoor play area is safely maintained and encourages play and learning. 
  1. The program maintains or has access to an outdoor play area, accessible to all young children including children with disabilities, with a minimum of 

75 usable square feet per child for the number of children who are outside at any one time. Outdoor play for groups may be scheduled at alternating time 
periods to allow for space.  

  2. There is play equipment of sufficient quantity and variety and appropriate to the needs and ages of the children. 
  3. There is an appropriate safety surface material under all playground equipment as recommended by the consumer products safety commission. 
  4. Equipment that encourages active physical play (trampolines are prohibited) and quiet play or activity is available. 
  5. All play equipment and equipment necessary for the operation of pre-kindergarten programs is maintained in good repair. 
  6. There is a play space that is accessible from the classroom building without the necessity of crossing a street. 
  7. The outdoor play space is enclosed with a fence or other barrier to protect the children from traffic hazards, to prevent children from leaving the 

premises without proper supervision, and to prevent contact with animals or unauthorized persons. 
  8. The area of the facility and yard that children may access is clean and free from hazards. 
  9. Crawlspaces and mechanical, electrical and other hazardous equipment are inaccessible to children. 
  10. Fencing is around areas where there are open cisterns, wells, ditches, fishponds, and swimming pools or other bodies of water. 
  11. There is a shady area available for children's play. 
  12. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 7, 8, and 29, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a 

minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
B. The indoor environment is safely maintained. 
  1. There is a minimum of 35 square feet per child of usable indoor classroom activity space, exclusive of hallways, lockers, bathrooms, kitchens, 

closets, offices, and areas regularly used for other purposes, such as sleeping or dining. (Recommended for LA 4 pre-kindergarten program funding.) 
  2. The indoor environment is safe, clean and physically accessible to all young children, including those with disabilities. 
  3. The area of the facility that children may access is clean, free from hazards, and in good repair. 
  4. There is access to ample storage/file space, and there is convenient storage for personal belongings. 
  5. There is satisfactory space for conferences and adult group gatherings. 
  6. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 1, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
C. The environment protects the health and safety of children. 
    1. The pre-kindergarten program site meets each of the annual fire prevention and safety requirements (the Office of State Fire Marshal and/or City Fire 

Department) for schools. For immediate reference, refer to the school/district policy. 
    2. All areas of the site used by the children, including sleep areas, are properly heated, cooled, ventilated, and lighted to prevent extreme conditions. 
    3. The pre-kindergarten bathrooms and handwashing areas are located within the classroom. If not, the bathrooms and handwashing areas are in close 

proximity and easily accessible to the classroom. 
    4. Secure railing is provided for flights of more than three steps and for porches more than three feet from the ground. 
    5. Gates are provided at the head or foot of each flight of stairs to which children have access. 
    6. Accordion gates are prohibited unless there is documentation on file that the gate meets requirements as approved by the Office of Public Health, 

Sanitation Services. 
    7. There is a working and readily available telephone at each site that is accessible to the teacher, teacher assistant, and/or administrative staff. (Coin 

operated phones are not allowed for this purpose.) 
    8. Appropriate emergency numbers for the local fire department, police department, poison control, and local medical facility are prominently posted on 

or near the telephone. 
    9. The exact geographical location and address of each pre-kindergarten classroom is posted with the emergency numbers.  
    10. Prescription and over-the-counter medications, poisons, cleaning supplies, harmful chemicals, equipment, tools and any substance with a warning 

label stating it is harmful is locked in a room or in cabinets inaccessible to children.  
    11. Refrigerated medication is in a secure container to prevent access by children and to avoid contamination of food. 
    12. First aid supplies are available at the site. 
   13. The LEA prohibits the use of alcohol and the use or possession of illegal substances or unauthorized potentially toxic substances, firearms, pellet, or 

BB guns (loaded or unloaded) in the classroom, on the playground, and on any pre-kindergarten class field trip. 
    14. The LEA prohibits the use of tobacco in any form in indoor areas, on the playground, and on any sponsored field trips. 
    15. The entire site is checked after the last child departs to ensure that no child is left unattended at the end of each day. Documentation includes date, 

time, and signature of staff conducting the visual check and is reviewed periodically and signed/initialed by the school principal (or the person of highest 
authority) to ensure that the procedure is consistently followed. 

D . There are rest or sleep periods. 
    1. The daily schedule allows for adequate nutrition and rest, with alternating periods of active and quiet activity. The recommended rest period is one 

hour or not more than 20% of the day except to address the specific needs of individual children. (See Bulletin 741, Standard 2.090.03 for suggested 
minimum time requirements for preschool.) 

    2. A space and quiet activities are provided for children who do not sleep. 
    3. Each child is provided with a cot, mat, or crib (cribs may be necessary for children with specific disabilities) of appropriate size, height, and material, 

sufficient to ensure his/her health and safety. 
   4. If mats are used, they are of adequate size and material to provide for the health and safety of the child. 
   5. Either the school or the parent provides labeled sheets for children to lie on, unless the cots or mats are covered with vinyl or another washable 

surface. 
   6. Either the school or the parent provides a labeled sheet or blanket for covering the child. 
   7. Cots, mats, or cribs are spaced at least 18 inches apart when in use, with a head/toe arrangement so that no two children's heads are adjacent. 
   8. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 11, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
E. There is a defined classroom arrangement that offers appropriate play and storage areas. 
   1. Indoor play areas are defined clearly by spatial arrangement. 
   2. There is sufficient child-sized furniture for routine care, play and learning. 
   3. There are low, open shelves, bins or other open containers within easy reach of the children for the storage of play materials in each play area. Toy 

chests with attached lids are prohibited. 
   4. Shelves and containers are clearly labeled for independent use by children. 
   5. There is space set aside for children to play alone or with a friend, protected from intrusion from other children. 
   6. There is an individual, labeled space for each child's personal belongings. 
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   7. There are child-related displays that show work done by the children and that relate to the current activities. 
F. There is physical access for persons with disabilities. 
   1. The program ensures access for persons with disabilities by compliance with Title 2 of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973. 
   2. The program makes reasonable accommodations for children with disabilities and provides access to the full range of activities provided by the 

program. 
   3. A child who is identified as eligible for special education and/or related services under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 

through Louisiana Bulletin 1706 and Louisiana's IEP Handbook for Students with Disabilities – is NOT denied access to pre-kindergarten classes and/or 
before-and-after school care. The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) and the Division for Early Childhood (DEC), 
Council for Exceptional Children have identified inclusive programs as the preferred service delivery option for most young children with disabilities. 
However, the most appropriate placement should be determined through the Individualized Education Program (IEP) process. (See Louisiana's IEP 
Handbook for Students with Disabilities, July 2000, pages 20 and 21 and Bulletin 1706, Subpart A, Regulations for Students with Disabilities Act, July 
2000, page 41, 52.) The child having an IEP placement in a pre-kindergarten class with typically developing peers should not be removed from the class 
roster for any reason without the IEP team reconvening to determine the most appropriate placement. 

   4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 37, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 
score of at least 5 for each item. 

 
§305. Area: Transportation 

A. Goal. Transportation is provided in a safe and 
efficient manner. The following checklist for transportation 
is provided for your self-assessment. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:

 
A. Transporting pre-kindergarten students, including those with disabilities. 
   1. Transportation is provided to pre-kindergarten students to ensure that each child is present for the educational/instructional portion of the day. 

(Requirement for receiving LA 4 pre-kindergarten program funding.) 
   2. Transportation to and from the before-and-after school care site may be provided. 
   3. The teachers and staff, in cooperation with parents, work to ensure the health and safety of children while being transported. 
   4. Pre-kindergarten students who are provided bus transportation are dropped off to the parent or a designated individual. 
   5. A communication device (i.e., cell phone, walkie talkie, etc.) is provided and in working order. 
   6. For children with disabilities, transportation services meet the requirements of the child's Individual Education Plan. 

 
§307. Area: Group Ratio and Size  

A. Goal. The program will have the number of staff 
necessary to provide adequate group supervision and to 
provide individual attention to children in order to promote 
their development in all domains. The following checklist 
for group ratio and size is provided for your self-assessment. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:

 
A. The program maintains at least minimum staff/child ratios. 
   1. Children are supervised at all times. 
   2. Each classroom has no more than a maximum of 20 children enrolled. 
   3. Each class has a child-to-adult staff member ratio of no more than 10 to 1, which is maintained at all times. 
   4. The staffing in each class is adequate to meet the needs of all children, including children with disabilities. 

 
 

§309. Area: Health and Safety Practices 
A. Goal. The program will be operated in a way that fosters 

healthy development and safety of children. The following 
checklist for health and safety practices is provided for your self-
assessment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

 
A. Health Care and Safety Policy 
   1. The program has a written health care policy that ensures that the appropriate actions are taken to ensure that the health requirements of all children 

are met, including those with disabilities and specifically identified health needs. 
   2. The written health care policy includes, but is not limited to, plans and procedures to address the following areas. 
   • Appropriate emergency numbers for the local fire department, police department, poison control, and local medical facility are 

prominently posted on or near the telephone. 
   • Using and maintaining first aid equipment. 
   • Meeting individual children's specific health needs, including, but not limited to, identifying children's allergies and ensuring that children 

are not exposed to foods, chemicals or other materials to which they are allergic. (An individual plan should be developed with a medical professional.) 
   3. The program has a written plan concerning the management of children who become ill while at school, including notification of parents. 
   4. The program staff members are trained in CPR and Pediatric First Aid and refresher courses are provided once a year. 
   5. The program has a plan for the prevention of injuries, including but not limited to, monitoring the program daily to remove or repair any facility, 

equipment, or materials that may cause injury. 
   • All toxic substances, medications, sharp objects and other hazardous objects are stored in a secure/locked place out of reach of the 

children. 
   • Labeling of all containers with contents in order to facilitate contacting the Poison Control Center. 
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   6. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 43 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 
score of at least 5 for each item. 

B. Child Health Records 
   1. A written, confidential health record is maintained for each child as part of the child's individual record. 
   2. Individual child health records include, but are not limited to, the following. 
   • Record of immunizations or current religious or medical exemption 
   3. Individual child health records include, but are not limited to, the following. 
   • Record of immunizations or current religious or medical exemption 
   • Pertinent health history (such as allergies or chronic conditions) 
   • Log of medications administered and permission form for administration of medications 
    • Log or copy of injury reports 
   • Vision, hearing, developmental, and dental screening results and health-related referrals 
C. Child Abuse and Neglect 
   1. The program has written procedures for protecting children against abuse and neglect, including, but not limited to, the following. 
   • Each staff member is provided with a written statement clearly defining child abuse and neglect. 
   • All staff receives training regarding policies, procedures, and legal and professional responsibilities about reporting suspected child 

abuse/neglect. 
D. Medical Emergency/Evacuation Plan 
   1. The program has plans for medical emergencies and evacuation procedures. 
   2. First aid supplies are adequate in variety and quantity and do not have outdated expiration dates. A plan exists for regularly checking for 

completeness and outdated expiration dates. 
   • The first aid supply kit includes, but is not limited to: adhesive tape, Band-Aids, bandage compress, gauze pads, gauze roller bandage, 

disposable gloves, instant cold pack, syrup of ipecac, water, scissors, tweezers, and thermometer. 
   3. The program has an evacuation plan which includes, but is not limited to, the following. 
   • Specific procedures for any children who may need additional assistance during evacuation, including those children with disabilities. 
   • Evacuation procedures are practiced with all teachers and staff, and all groups of children at least every other month, or more often if 

required by local guidelines. 
E. Children's Clothing 
   1. Children are dressed appropriately for indoor and outdoor activities. 
   2. An adequate supply of dry indoor and outdoor clothing in a variety of appropriate sizes is available at the pre-kindergarten site. 
F. Cleaning 
   1. All cleaning supplies and disinfectants are stored in a secure place and out of reach of children. 
   2. Trash is removed from all indoor spaces daily. 
   3. Stuffed animals and other fabric toys are used only if machine washable and cleaned monthly. 
   4. Toys and materials used by the children are cleaned and sanitized at least once a week or more frequently if needed. 
G. Personal Hygiene of Staff/Children 
   1. All staff is trained in infection control procedures. 
   2. Staff educates children about and promotes hand washing and universal precautions. 
   3. Bodily fluids and accompanying tools are cleaned and disinfected immediately. 
   4. Toileting is done in a sanitary and appropriate manner to meet the emotional and physical needs of each individual child, including those with 

disabilities. 
   5. Children's personal items and clothing that are soiled are sealed in a plastic bag and sent home for laundering. 
   6. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 13 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
H. Pets 
   1. Before introducing a pet to the program, teachers and staff consider the effect on all children's health and safety, including but not limited to, 

allergies. 

 
§311. Area: Nutrition and Food Service 

A. Goal. Children will be provided with experiences that 
promote adequate nutrition and good eating habits. The 
following checklist for nutrition and food service is provided 
for your self-assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

 
A. Food is served in positive, relaxed, social atmosphere. 
   1. Children are given sufficient time at mealtimes and snacks for each child to eat at a reasonable, leisurely rate. 
   2. Food is not used as a reward or punishment. 
   3. Children are not forced to finish all their food. 
   4. No child is denied a meal for any reason other than written medical direction. 
   5. Children are encouraged without coercing or negative consequences to eat a well-balanced diet. 
   6. Foods that are representative of the children's cultural backgrounds are served periodically. 
   7. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 10 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 

 
§313. Area: Family Involvement and Support 

A. Goal: The staff will coordinate the provision of 
support services for all enrolled pre-kindergarten children 
and their families to support maximum early education and 
care benefits to children so that they are well prepared for 

formal schooling, and therefore, more likely to experience 
later academic success. The following checklist for family 
involvement and support is provided for your self-
assessment. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

 
A. Written information is provided to parents. 
  1. Written information about the program is given to parent(s) or guardian(s) upon admission. 
  2. Information is provided to parent(s) or guardian(s) in the form of a parent handbook or other appropriate mechanism. 
  3. Parents/guardians and the LEA have signed a Home and School Compact. The Local Education Agency (LEA) has collaborated with parent 

representatives to develop this compact. Each party has received a copy of the signed document. 
  4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
B. The program provides an orientation process. 
   1. The program has conducted a Program Orientation for Families for parents/guardians of children entering pre-kindergarten before (or not later than 

20 working days after) the school system commences the pre-kindergarten program. 
   2. The orientation process includes the opportunity to visit the classroom, meet the on-site-administrator, review written material, and observe and talk 

with teachers and staff prior to enrollment. 
   3. Programs assist families whose primary language is other than English or who require use of alternative communication methods to understand the 

program. 
   4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
C. The program has a system to gather family/child information. 
   1. There is a process that enables the program to learn about the child's and the family's interests and needs. 
   2. There is a process for completing pre-testing for every child within two weeks of program commencement. 
   3. There is a process for completing post-testing for every child within two weeks of end of the school year.  
   4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
D. The program provides parenting support. 
   1. Parents' knowledge of child development and involvement with their children's educational experiences are enhanced through a variety of 

informational parenting seminars, volunteer opportunities at the school, parent/teacher conferences, etc. 
   2. Seminars and conferences are flexibly scheduled to accommodate working parents/guardians. 
   3. Parents/guardians suspected of experiencing emotional difficulties which impede their positive parenting abilities are provided with referrals for 

appropriate services, including crisis intervention services. 
   4. Parents or guardians of children enrolled in pre-kindergarten are informed of all locally available adult education opportunities (such as Even Start, 

GED programs, vocational/technical schools) to increase literacy levels. 
   5. Parents or guardians of children enrolled in pre-kindergarten are informed of all locally available employment counseling services related to 

available opportunities, training requirements for these positions, and counseling to support the employment interview process. 
    6. Opportunities are provided for parents to enhance their knowledge of child development, positive parenting, educational, employment, and health 

resource information through workshops in collaboration with the pre-kindergarten teachers and school administrators. 
   7. Regularly scheduled meetings are held with pre-kindergarten teachers to discuss relevant information concerning support for children and families. 
   8. There is a process for assisting with transition activities, such as locating and obtaining all necessary documentation and health-related requirements 

for kindergarten entry the following year. 
    9. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
E. There are mechanisms in place for parent participation. 
   1. A variety of opportunities are provided for parents to participate in the pre-kindergarten program activities, facilitating their success as partners in 

promotion of the academic success of their children.  
   2. The program permits and encourages unannounced visits by parents while their child is present; however, all school policies for visitors must be 

followed. 
   3. The program has a process for allowing parents to provide input in the development of program policy. 
   4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 

F. There are mechanisms in place for parent/staff communication. 
   1. There is a verbal and/or written system of communication in the parent's preferred language, when reasonable, for sharing information between 

parent and staff. 
   2. Staff uses arrival and departure as a time to share information with parents. 
   3. Changes in a child's physical or emotional state, special problems or significant developments are brought to the parent's attention as soon as they 

arise. 
   4. Parents are informed about the program through regular means such as newsletters, postings on bulletin boards, frequent notes, telephone calls, and 

other similar measures. 
   5. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 9 and 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a 

minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
G. There are reports and conferences offered to parents. 
   1. A minimum of two individual conferences per year between the teacher and the parent/guardian are offered and documented in each child's file. 
   2. Portfolios are kept up-to-date in the classroom and available for review by the child's parent/guardian. 
   3. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 38, through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 

 
§315. Area: Staff Qualifications and Staff 

Development 
A. Goal. The program will be sufficiently staffed by 

well-qualified adults who understand child development and 
who recognize and provide for children's individual needs 

and differences. Staff will participate in ongoing staff 
development. The program will encourage staff to further 
their education and training. The following checklist for staff 
qualifications and staff development is provided for your 
self-assessment. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

 
A. There are common requirements for all staff. 
   1. The program ensures that high quality staff is hired for all positions, including support and custodial staff, teacher assistants, teachers, and 

administrative staff. 
   2. The program keeps the appropriate registration, certification, or license in the personnel file for all staff. 
   3. All personnel having contact with children enrolled in the program's pre-kindergarten programs have had a criminal background check and must 

comply with all other hiring procedures required by the school system. Documentation is on file with the school system. 
B. The program is in compliance with requirements for a teacher.  
   1. All teachers possess one of the following credentials (required for all programs). 

a. A valid and current Louisiana teaching certificate in Nursery School Education, Kindergarten, or Early Intervention. 
b.  A valid and current Louisiana teaching certificate in Elementary Education and an Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT) in 

Kindergarten, Nursery School, or Early Intervention. 
c. An uncertified teacher with a baccalaureate degree and a Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT), Temporary Employment Permit (TEP), or 

an Out-of-State Provisional Certificate (OP). 
   2. For teachers, employed from categories B and C above, employed for the second and any additional years, documentation that s/he is working 

toward obtaining a Louisiana teaching certificate in one of the areas of certification listed above has been provided. Documentation that the teacher has 
taken at least 6 hours from a college/university has been submitted to the Department of Education. (Required for all programs.) 

C. The program is in compliance with the requirements for teacher assistant/teacher aide/paraprofessional. 
   1. The program abides by the requirements listed below. 
   a. Possess at least a CDA (Child Development Associate) certificate or an Associate's Degree in a closely related field. 
   b. Has extended experience in assuming responsibility and caring for a group of preschool age children (children younger than five years of 

age). 
  c. Possess proficient oral and written communication skills. 
  d. All other school system, state, and federal requirements for employment. 
D. The program is in compliance with requirements for the resource coordinator (resource coordination is a requirement for  
LA 4 pre-kindergarten funding.). 
  1. The program has access to a person to coordinate the provision of support services for all enrolled pre-kindergarten children who would benefit 

from such assistance and their families. These services are intended to support maximum early education and care benefits to children so that they are well 
prepared for formal schooling, and therefore, more likely to experience later academic success. 

  2. Persons providing resource coordination services shall meet the following requirements. 
   a. Possesses a baccalaureate degree in Social Work, Psychology, Child Welfare, or other field closely related to providing social services to 

families of young children. 
   b. Possesses proficient oral and written communication skills. 

E. There are opportunities for staff development. 
   1. All pre-kindergarten teachers, teacher assistants, and caregivers providing services in participating school systems shall be required to attend 

curriculum training in order to effectively implement the pre-kindergarten curriculum model selected by the school system. 
   2. Annual professional development for continuing education is required for all staff working directly with pre-kindergarten children. This continuing 

education includes no less than 18 clock hours annually.  
   3. Continuing education opportunities include various early childhood education topics, including, but not limited to, the following: early language 

and literacy development, brain research, technology, health and safety, child growth and development, curriculum planning, guidance and discipline 
techniques, community collaboration, communication/relations with families, working with culturally and/or linguistically diverse children and families, 
detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect, advocacy for early childhood programs and the profession, and the profession's code of ethical conduct. 

   4. Staff development programs include a variety of experiences, such as classroom observations, individual consultations, group workshops, visits to 
other programs, and attendance at conferences. 

   5. Documentation of the required professional development for the teacher and assistant is kept on file at the pre-kindergarten program site. 

   6. At least three hours of training time is dedicated to inclusion of children with disabilities. 

   7. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 43 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 
score of at least 5 for each item. 

F. The program has a process for staff orientation. 
   1. All pre-kindergarten teachers, teacher assistants, and caregivers providing services should have attended curriculum training prior to 

commencement of the program each school year, in order to effectively implement the pre-kindergarten curriculum model selected by the school system.  
   2. The LEA has collaborated with other governmentally funded and interested private providers of early education and care to children in the school 

system's jurisdiction who may benefit from the curriculum training opportunity. 

 
§317. Area: Interactions Between Staff and Children, 

and Among Children 
A. Goal. Each child's unique identity, language and 

cultural background are respected through warm, personal 
interactions between staff and children. Staff is supportive 
and responsive to children and facilitates interactions among 
children. Staff promotes the development of social skills, 
language, intellectual and emotional growth. Discipline is 

designed to develop self-discipline and problem-solving 
strategies. The following checklist for interactions between 
staff and children, and among children is provided for your 
self-assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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A. There are opportunities for positive peer interactions. 
   1. The classroom environment and activities are designed to promote peer interaction for a major part of the child's day. 
   2. Staff models and encourages cooperation and responsible behaviors among children. 
   3. Children are given opportunities to choose from a variety of activities in which they can play alone or with one or several peers. 
   4. Children appear comfortable, relaxed, happy, and involved in play and other activities. 
   5. Staff assists children in dealing with emotions such as anger, sadness, and frustration by comforting, identifying feelings, and helping children use 

words to solve their problems. 
   6. Staff encourages pro-social behaviors among children, including cooperating, helping, sharing, and taking turns. 
   7. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 16 and 33 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a 

minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
B. There are positive staff/child interactions. 
  1. Staff greets children and parents warmly. 
  2. Staff has frequent meaningful conversations with children and is responsive to children's needs, temperaments, learning styles, and interests. 
  3. Staff assists children and encourage them to be involved and to share experiences, ideas, and feelings. 
  4. Staff is physically at the child's level when communicating with them most of the time. 
  5. Staff talks to individual children rather than to the whole group most of the time. 
  6. Staff frequently uses open-ended questions and statements when conversing with children. 
  7. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 9, 16, 18, 32 and 33 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has 

obtained a minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
C. The staff relates fairly and equitably to all children and adults. 
  1. Staff treats all children and adults with equal respect and consideration regardless of race, age, language, religion, culture, and family composition. 
  2. Staff provides all children with equal opportunities to participate in all activities, including those with disabilities and whose primary language is not 

English. 
  3. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 28 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 

score of at least 5 for each item. 
D. The staff fosters Independence in all children. 
  1. Staff provides guidance to assist children in solving problems and making decisions. 
  2. Opportunities are provided to all children to develop self-help skills such as dressing, personal hygiene, tying shoes and using eating utensils 

appropriately. Accommodations are provided for children with disabilities, as needed. 
  3. Materials and equipment are arranged in a manner that is visible and readily accessible to children, so that children may select, remove and replace 

the materials independently or with minimal assistance. 
  4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 4 and 13 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a 

minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
E. Children's Behavior is managed in a positive manner. 
  1. Discipline is based on an understanding of each child's individual needs and development. 
  2. The program has written procedures for behavior management appropriate for four-year-olds, including positive techniques, such as modeling, 

redirection, positive reinforcement and encouragement. The procedures are provided to and discussed with parents at the time of enrollment. 
  3. Staff and children develop clear, consistent and developmentally appropriate rules. 
  4. Facility arrangement, daily scheduling and allowing children to solve their own conflicts with appropriate guidance, are used to facilitate the 

development of self-discipline in children. 
  5. Punishment is not discipline or guidance. The following punishments are never used: abusive or neglectful treatments of children, including corporal 

punishment, isolation, verbal abuse, humiliation and denial of outdoor time, food or basic needs; punishment of soiling, wetting or not using the toilet, 
including forcing a child to remain in soiled clothing, to remain on the toilet, or any other unusual or excessive practices for toileting. 

  6. If a child without an IEP continually causes physical harm to himself/herself or others or continually impedes the learning of himself/herself and 
others because of other challenging behavior, the following procedure is followed. 

a. The pre-kindergarten teacher has implemented appropriate interventions and consulted with the parent/guardian and other appropriate 
consultants, including the resource coordinator, if one is available. 

b. A referral to the School Building Level Committee has been made. If a decision is made to request emergency removal of the child from 
the classroom, then the child is also suspected of being in need of special education services and is due the same safeguards as a child receiving special 
education services. (These procedures are specified in Bulletin 1706, Subpart A, Regulations for Students with Disabilities Act, July 2000, page 78 and 
83, part L and in Louisiana's IEP Handbook for Students with Disabilities, July 2000, pages 129-133.) 

  7. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 31 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 
score of at least 5 for each item. 

 
§319. Area: Curriculum (General Curriculum 

Standards) 
NOTE: See also Pre-Kindergarten Content Practice Standards 

A. Goal. Curriculum is defined as everything the staff 
does with children. The curriculum should be 
developmentally appropriate and designed for active 
involvement by children in the learning process. Young 
children learn through play, active manipulation of the 
environment, concrete experiences, and communicating with 
peers and adults. The curriculum should provide a well-
balanced variety of activities and materials that encourage 
these behaviors and are appropriate to each child's age, 

background, and stage of development and individual 
considerations, including disabilities. This Section addresses 
general curriculum standards for preschool programs, 
including daily routines and broad curriculum goals. 
Programs are expected to meet the following general 
curriculum standards, and also to document the use of the 
Pre-kindergarten Content Practice Standards. The following 
checklist for curriculum is provided for your self-
assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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A. The program provides opportunities for curriculum planning. 
  1. The program has a complete educational program directed toward the development of cognitive, social, emotional, physical, and communication 

skills in a manner and at a pace consistent with the needs and capabilities of the individual child. 
  2. There is documentation that the program utilizes the Pre-kindergarten Content Practice Standards, evidenced through written plans that demonstrate a 

wide range of activities designed to support a developmentally appropriate instructional program/curriculum. 
  3. Written plans describe whole group activities (teacher-initiated activities), as well as interest area/activity center plans (child-initiated activities) for 

engaging children in the thematic exploration/study that provides for developmentally appropriate and integrated learning experiences to address 
development.  

  4. The daily group time and activity center plans indicate appropriate adaptations/modifications that are necessary for children with disabilities to meet 
their IEP goals. 

  5. At least weekly, classroom staff discusses the curriculum and plans for individual children's needs and growth. 
  6. The program uses a pre-kindergarten curriculum that is research-based, supports interrelated development and addresses the Pre-kindergarten Content 

Practice Standards in the following domains. 
a. Cognitive (Math, Science, and Social Studies) 
b. Creative Arts 
c. Health and Physical 
d. Language and Literacy 
e. Social and Emotional 

  7. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Item 41 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a minimum 
score of at least 5 for each item. 

B. There are a variety of activity areas. 
  1. Areas are provided to accommodate and facilitate developmentally appropriate learning activities, including but not limited to, block building, 

dramatic play, art, music, science, technology, math, literacy, sand/water play, woodworking, and manipulatives. 
  2. Activity areas are accessible and modified/adapted to accommodate the needs of children with disabilities. 
  3. Time and space are available both indoors and outdoors for physical skill development and gross motor activities. 
  4. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 15, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 through self-assessment and on-site 

monitoring, and has obtained a minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
C. Goals are adapted to meet individual needs. 
  1. Curriculum goals allow for a variety of learning styles and diverse abilities and are based on the individual needs and interests of children enrolled. 
  2. Experiences are provided that support the lifestyle, cultural, and linguistic background of the children enrolled while increasing their knowledge of 

other backgrounds. 
  3. Activities and routines are designed to accommodate Individualized Educational Program (IEP) services and therapies within the classroom as 

integrated services. 
  4. Each child is viewed as having an individual pattern and timing of development and activities and materials increase in complexity and challenge as 

the children's understanding and skills develop. 
  5. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 28 and 37 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained a 

minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 
D. There is a structure that provides opportunities for activities that meet the variety of learning needs of young children. 
  1. The daily schedule provides the following activities in accordance with LA State Bulletin 741: 
  a) indoor/outdoor including both gross and fine motor activities; 
  b) quiet/active; 
  c) individual/small group/ large group; 
  d) child-initiated/staff-directed. 
  2. Most materials are visible and readily accessible so children can remove and replace materials independently or with minimal assistance. 
  3. The amount of time spent in large-group, teacher-directed activity is limited. 
  4. Children have opportunity to play alone or with several chosen peers, if preferred. 
  5. A private area is available for children who need time alone. 
  6. There is a regular daily routine/schedule posted. 
  7. Children are prepared for transitions, which occur in a timely, predictable manner to meet individual needs.  
  8. Children are not always expected to move as a group from one activity to another. 
  9. The program has addressed the requirements of ECERS-R, Items 3, 34, 35, and 36 through self-assessment and on-site monitoring, and has obtained 

a minimum score of at least 5 for each item. 

 
 

§321. Area: Assessment 
A. Goal. Assessment of pre-kindergarten students should 

be used to plan for and modify program activities to address 
the specific needs of individual children. To help determine 
the needs of the individual students when planning for 
instruction, classroom teachers should maintain a portfolio 
on each student. Children of this age should not be given a 

pencil and paper test. The following checklist for assessment 
is provided for your self-assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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A. Student assessment should be used to plan for and modify the instructional program. 
  1. Any assessment instruments used are valid, reliable, culturally sensitive and individually administered by trained personnel.  
  2. Information from assessments is used to plan/modify program activities to address the specific needs of individual children.  
  3. To help determine the needs of the individual students when planning for instruction, classroom teachers are required to maintain a portfolio on each 

student. The portfolio will contain, but not be limited to, the following: 
  • work samples, including items such as photos or tapes of child created products (e.g., block creations, sculptures, dramatizations, child 

interviews), actual (or copies of) developmental writing samples, or other items to document child development; 
  • anecdotal records, including informal notes on the child's problem solving and critical thinking behaviors related to classroom, social, and 

academic interactions; 
  • checklist and inventories for recording observations of child behaviors and skills that are research-based, such as the Creative Curriculum 

Developmental Continuum, High/Scope Child Observation Record (COR), Work Sampling Systems (WSS); 
  • parent conferences, including information on the child provided by the parent and conference notes; 
  • health screening reports; 
  • referral records for support services. 
  4. Portfolios are kept up-to-date in the classroom and are available for review by the child's parent/guardian and appropriate LEA and state department 

personnel. 

 
§323. Area: Collaboration 

A. Goal. Collaboration implies that responsibility for the 
care and education of young children extends beyond the 
immediate family and beyond any one agency. The providers 
of early childhood programs and related family services 
differ in each local community. Successful collaborations 
support activities across public and private domains. 
Collaboration can serve to start and build a local network of 

programs that support the diverse needs of pre-kindergarten 
children and their families. The following checklist for 
collaboration is provided for your self-assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

 
A . Collaboration is enhanced among the local school system and community programs and services that serve pre-kindergarten age children and their 
families. 
  1. The LEA holds meetings at least quarterly to collaborate with all other governmentally funded and privately funded providers of early childhood 

education (such as Head Start) and care serving children residing within jurisdiction of the LEA.  
  2. The program has a plan to maximize existing services in the community to meet the specific needs of four-year-old children in the areas of 

education, health, and support services.  
  3. The interagency meetings provide a forum to ensure interagency communication and coordination, (i.e., share ideas and concerns, problem solve to 

arrive at solutions to meet the early education and care needs of the community). 
  4. The interagency meetings provide a forum for discussing age, individually, and culturally appropriate curriculum and assessment. 
  5. The interagency meetings develop a plan to provide cross-programmatic professional development opportunities to acquire continuing education in 

areas related to early education and care. 
  6. The group plans family involvement and appropriate educational opportunities.  
  7. The interagency group plans to provide smooth transitions for children from one setting to another. 
B. Collaborating partners share a mission and commitment. 
  1. Members representing a range of community interests and different provider agencies are included in the collaboration. 
  2. Members have discussed their differences in orientation and philosophy and the missions of all partner agencies. 
  3. The LEA and the collaboration have completed a needs assessment that includes demographics, an analysis of existing resources and a description 

of unmet needs of children and families within the jurisdiction of the LEA. 
  4. The collaborating partners have developed a shared vision and mission to which all member agencies and groups are committed. 
  5. The collaborating partners have written a mission statement. 
  6. The members have identified long-term and short-term goals for their collaborative efforts. 

  7. Member agencies and other groups have committed resources and time to facilitate the goals of collaboration.  

C. Procedures have been developed to facilitate the goals of the collaboration. 
  1. Formal, written interagency agreements have been developed with all collaborating partners. 
  2. Guidelines for resolving conflicts have been developed. 
  3. There is a clearly defined decision-making process in the collaboration. 
  4. Leadership roles are well defined and shared. 
  5. Regular meetings are held on at least a quarterly basis. 
  6. Scheduling and location of the meetings are accessible to all members. 
  7. There is a process for raising issues and concerns to be included in the meeting agendas. 
  8. New efforts are "piggybacked" on other ongoing activities as much as possible. 
  9. Tasks are defined in concrete and doable terms. 

  10. Working groups are established to address specific projects. 
  11. A set of bylaws has been adopted to govern group membership and meetings. 
D. Communication is enhanced within the collaboration and to the community. 
  12. An effort is made to document and monitor progress to report to the community. 
  13. A formal process for internal communication, including documentation of decision-making has been established. 
  14. Collaborating partners share contacts and resources to improve communication with the community. 
  15. Conflicts are acknowledged and addressed, in order to keep communication open. 
  16. Plans are developed to do regular outreach and share information with non-partner agencies in the community. 
  17. A variety of means is used to communicate with families about available services. 
  18. Attention is paid to issues of language and literacy in any publicity. 
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  19. Communication has been established with other nearby communities. 
E. There is open communication between the collaboration and the State Department of Education. 
  20. The LEA and collaborating partners share information about progress or challenges with personnel at the Louisiana Department of Education. 

  21. The LEA and collaborating partners receive technical assistance from the Louisiana Department of Education to enhance collaboration and improve 
quality of programs and services.  

 
Chapter 5. Pre-Kindergarten Content Standards 
Subchapter A. General  
§501. Content Standards 

A. This Section contains content standards, which are 
organized alphabetically into five domains of development. 

1. Cognitive development: 
a. Mathematical development; 
b. Science development; 
c. Social Studies development; 

2. Creative Arts development; 
3. Health and Physical development; 
4. Language and Literacy development; 
5. Social and Emotional development. 

B. The five developmental domains are designed to be 
interdependent and must be considered as a whole when 
considering the development of pre-kindergarten children. 
Each developmental domain includes the following. 

1. Content Practice StandardsCdescribes the broad 
outcomes that children should achieve a high-quality 
preschool experience.  

2. Developmental Profile IndicatorsCspecifies what 
most pre-kindergarten children should be able to do by the 
end of their pre-kindergarten experience. 

3. LinksCEach content practice standard is aligned 
with the Louisiana K-4 Content Standards and other relevant 
state and national standards.  

C. The content practice standards provide the pre-
kindergarten personnel with a common understanding of 
what young children should know and do. It is designed to 
be a guide for designing and implementing a curriculum that 
will facilitate learning and skill acquisition in each pre-
kindergarten child. Skills such as letter, numbers, shapes, 
colors, etc., should not be taught in isolation, but integrated 
throughout the curriculum. 

D. The content practice standards and developmental 
profile indicators are based on research in developmentally 
appropriate practice for preschool children. In developing 
these standards, the Accreditation Standards of the National 
Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) 
and the Head Start Performance Standards were reviewed. 
The Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Revised 
Edition (ECERS-R) was also reviewed and linked to the 
appropriate content practice standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:  

§503.  Developmentally Appropriate Practices 
 

Developmentally Appropriate 
Practices Include: 

Developmentally Appropriate 
Practices Do Not Include: 

• Learning centers/Free choice 
centers 

• Timed rotation/Teacher selected 

• Concrete learning experiences 
with real items 

• Workbooks or ditto sheets 

• Balance of student-initiated and 
teacher-directed activities in 
instructional day 

• Teacher-directed activities more 
than 35% of the instructional day 

• Actively engaged learners • Passive quiet learners  
• Language and talking  
encouraged daily 

• Classrooms quiet most of the day 

• Cozy inviting environments • Sterile cold environments 
• Daily outdoor gross motor 
time/Adults interacting with the 
children to facilitate learning 

• Recess/Adults are On Duty 

• Individual creative art 
expressions 

• Patterned art/Uniform Art 
projects (all look the same) 

• Language/Literacy rich 
activities encourage phonological 
awareness 

• Alphabet letters taught through 
rote drill or Letter of the week 

• Hands-on math activities • Rote drill of numbers, shapes, 
colors, etc. 

• Use a variety of materials 
changed frequently to meet the 
needs and interests of the children 

• Same materials and equipment 
used daily throughout the school 
year 

• Adult-Child Interactions 
encourage learning through open-
ended questions, extending 
conversations, reasoning, etc. 

• Adult-Child Interactions minimal, 
unpleasant, non-responsive, 
inappropriate, or only to control 
behavior 

• Use of TV, videos and 
computers related to classroom 
events, appropriate, limited to short 
periods of time and adult 
interaction occurs 

• TV, videos, and computers not 
related to classroom events, used 
inappropriately, no alternative 
activities are used, and no adult 
interaction occurs 

• Teacher uses a variety of 
strategies and meaningful activities 
to develop skills and concepts 

• Teacher uses direct instruction to 
teach and isolates the skills and 
concepts 

• Assessment ongoing/Portfolios  
used that include anecdotal records, 
work samples, photographs, etc. 

• Isolated testing/Worksheets 

NOTE: For more Developmentally Appropriate Practices 
refer to ECERS-R, NAEYC guidelines, and Bulletin 741. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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Subchapter B. Mathematics 
§505. Mathematical Development 

A. Young children develop mathematical concepts 
through meaningful and concrete experiences that are 
broader in scope than numerals and counting. In an 
inclusive, developmentally appropriate play-based 
environment, pre-kindergarten children will have 
opportunities to acquire and understand mathematical skills 
and concepts using hands-on experiences. They will have 
access to a wide variety of tools and technologies that foster 
the understanding of mathematics in real-life situations. 

B. Early childhood teachers must be flexible during daily 
routines and strive to capture teachable moments using 
open-ended questioning techniques to expand mathematical 
concepts. These teachers must also facilitate activities that 
address and extend young children's developmental levels. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. simplify a complicated task by breaking it into 

smaller parts or reducing the number of steps; 
2. use shorter but more frequent activities and 

routines; 
3. add new activities and specific activities as needed 

to meet individual needs. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§507. Stages of Math Development 

A. 2-3 Year-Olds: 
1. begin to understand the use of numbers as they hear 

others using them; 
2. understand the use of numbers through exploring 

objects; 
3. work large-piece puzzles; 
4. understand direction and relational words; 
5. recognize geometric shapes, like a circle; 
6. sequence up to three items. 

B. 3-4 Year-Olds: 
1. recognize and express quantities like some, more, a 

lot, and another; 
2. begin to have a sense of time; 
3. recognize familiar geometric shapes in the 

environment; 
4. sort objects by one characteristic; 
5. rote count to 5; 
6. notice and compare similarities and differences; 
7. use words to describe quantity, length, and size. 

C. 4-5 Year-Olds: 
1. play number games with understanding; 
2. count objects to 10 and sometimes to 20; 
3. identify the larger of two numbers; 
4. answer simple questions that require logic; 
5. recognize more complex patterns; 
6. position words; 
7. sort forms by shape; 
8. compare sizes of familiar objects not in sight; 
9. work multi-piece puzzles. 

D. 5-6 Year-Olds: 
1. begin to understand concepts represented in 

symbolic form; 
2. can combine simple sets; 
3. begin to add small numbers in their heads; 
4. rote count to 100 with little confusion; 
5. count objects to 20 and more; 
6. understand that the number is a symbol that stands 

for a certain number of objects; 
7. classify objects by multiple attributes; 
8. can decide which number comes before, or after, 

another number. 
Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 

Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:
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§509. Cognitive Math Development 
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, NAEYC, 
Head Start, etc. 

Mathematical Development 
Number Concepts: 
Understand numbers, ways of 
representing numbers and relationships 
between numbers and numerals 

PK-CM-N1* Compare numbers of objects 
Examples: 
• Compare objects in groups such as: shoes which tie and do not tie 
• Compare number of boys to girls 
• Compare unifix towers to each other 
• Begin to use names of numbers in play such as: "I need two more blocks." 
PK-CM-N2 Perform one-to-one correspondence 
 Examples: 
• Put pegs in each hole of pegboard 
• Set the table 
• Hand out snacks to each child 
PK-CM-N3 Count by rote 
Examples: 
• Sing counting songs 
• Count in rhymes, fingerplays, poems, stories, etc. 
PK-CM-N4* Begin to count objects 
Examples: 
• Count manipulatives 
• Count days on the calendar 
• Count children to line up for field trip 
• Count the number of children present each day 
PK-CM-N5 Begin to recognize numerals 
Examples: 
• Identify some numerals in their environment 
• Discriminate between letters and numerals by sorting 
• Play number games 
PK-CM-N6 Begin to demonstrate estimation skills 
Examples: 
• Estimate how many scoops of sand will fill a pail 
• Place a small number of items in a see-through container and ask children to 
estimate number and record the estimate 
• Estimate how many eggs fit in a strawberry basket 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
 N-1-E 
 N-9-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
26(5.1), 26(5.4), 26(7.1), 
26(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21 (a) (4) (iv)  
1304.21 (c) (1) (ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 3 
 

*PK-CM-N –- Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Number Concepts  

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 

NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Mathematical Development 
Measurement:  
Uses non-standard units to measure and 
make comparisons 
 

PK-CM-M1* Experience, compare, and use language relating to time 
Examples: 
• Use different types of timers 
• Participate in discussions about the daily schedule 
• Begin to use words to describe time intervals such as: yesterday, today, 
and tomorrow 
PK-CM-M2 Anticipate, remember, and describe sequences of events  
Examples: 
• Recall daily schedule 
• Count down days to an event 
• Retell sequential events in a story and/or activity 
PK-CM-M3 Use mathematical language to describe experiences involving 
measurement 
Examples: 
• Use comparison terms such as: heavy/light; long/short; more/less; 
big/little, etc. 
PK-CM-M4 Measure objects in the physical world using non-standard units of 
measurement 
Examples: 
• Use hands to measure objects 
!  Use string to measure child's height or circumference of an object such 
as: pumpkin, watermelon, orange, etc. 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
 M-1-E 
 M-2-E 
 M-3-E 
 M-4-E 
 M-5-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
 26(5.1), 26(7.1), 26(7.2) 
  
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
 None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 
 

*PK–CM-M -- Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Measurement 
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Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Mathematical Development 
Geometry and Spatial Sense: 
Develop an understanding of geometrical 
and spatial concepts 

PK-CM-G1* Recognize, name, describe, compare, and create basic 
shapes. 
Examples: 
• Combine unit blocks to make shapes 
• Go on shape scavenger hunt 
• Use shapes to make pictures 
PK-CM-G2 Identify shapes to describe physical world 
Examples: 
• Identify shapes of objects in the environment such as: the 
classroom door is a rectangle, etc. 
• Identify roof in photo of house as a triangle 
PK-CM-G3 Describe and interpret spatial sense: positions, 
directions, distances, and order 
Examples: 
• Describe the position of people or things in relation to self 
or other objects 
• Give and follow directions using positional words 
!  Describe the movement of objects such as: "The dog 
jumped over the fence." 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 G-1-E 
 G-2-E 
 G-4-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d  
ECERS-R Items: 
 None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21 (a) (1) (iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 

 PK–CM-G -- Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Geometry and Spatial Sense 

  
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Mathematical Development 
Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation: 
Investigates, organizes, responds, and 
creates representations 

PK-CM-D1* Sort and classify materials by one or more characteristics 
Examples: 
• Sort buttons by color 
• Group items with common characteristics  
• Return materials to shelf by matching objects to labels 
PK-CM-D2 Collect and organize data about themselves, their 
surroundings, and meaningful experiences 
Examples: 
• Create simple graphs (picture, bar, representational, venn 
diagrams) such as: leaves by type, favorite ice cream, etc. 
• Use webbing to collect information 
PK-CM-D3 Interpret simple representations in data 
Examples: 
• Participate in discussion about the calendar 
• Participate in discussion using information from child- created 
graphs 
• Participate in discussion about charts 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 P-1-E 
 P-2-E 
 P-3-E 
 D-1-E  
 D-2-E  
 D-3-E  
 D-4-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-5d, B-7c, B7-d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
 None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 

 PK–CM-D -- Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation 
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Mathematical Development 
Patterns and Relationships:  
Identify and create patterns PK-CM-P1* Recognize patterns in the physical world 

Examples: 
• Go on shape walks to identify patterns in environment 
• Recognize patterns in snack kabobs 
• Identify patterns on common objects such as: flag, clothes,  
environmental patterns, etc. 
PK-CM-P2* Describe, copy, extend, create patterns and make  
 predictions about patterns 
Examples: 
• Line up boy, girl, boy, girl … 
• Clap out patterns 
•  Make patterns with manipulatives such as: lacing beads, 
•  unifix cubes, links, etc. 
• Tell what comes next in a pattern 
• Create musical patterns playing music on cans 
PK-CM-P3 Seriate objects 
Examples: 
• Place blocks in order from shortest to tallest 
• Place colored bears in order from smallest to largest 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 P-1-E 
 P-3-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d 
ECERS-R Items:  
 None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21 (a) (1) (iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 

PK–CM-P –- Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Patterns and Relationships 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Science 
§511. Scientific Development 

A. Young children are natural scientists. They easily 
become mesmerized by everyday happenings. Through 
varied and repeated opportunities to predict, observe, 
manipulate, listen, experiment with, reflect, and respond to 
open-ended questions, pre-kindergarteners make inferences 
and become higher-level thinkers. 

B. Quality early childhood science programs require a 
balance of content and process, using multi-sensory 
experiences. In addition to science inquiry skills, pre-
kindergarteners can begin to acquire a foundation of science 
concepts and knowledge on which they can build a clear 

understanding of their world. Early childhood teachers 
should look for opportunities to explore scientific concepts 
in all content areas. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. simplify a complicated task by breaking it into 

smaller parts or reducing the number of steps; 
2. use shorter but more frequent activities and 

routines; 
3. add new activities and specific activities as needed 

to meet individual needs. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:
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§513. Cognitive Science Development 
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 

NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Scientific Development 
Science As Inquiry: 
Begin to engage in partial and full 
inquiries. 

PK-CS-I1* Use prior knowledge and experiences to hypothesize, 
predict, generate questions, and draw conclusions about organisms 
and events in the environment. 
Examples:  
• Generate questions about insects (KWL or Experience 
Charts) 
• Engage in spontaneous discussion (teachable moments) 
• Engage in discussion through questioning, after reading a 
nonfiction science book 
• Hypothesize or predict why certain phenomenon occurred 
PK-CS-I2 Conduct simple scientific investigations 
 Examples:  
• Observe ice melting 
• Compare cars rolling down a ramp 
• Compare objects that sink and float 
PK-CS-I3 Make observations using senses 
 Examples: 
• Taste test a variety of foods and describe tastes 
• Describe objects in feely box 
• Describe changes in weather 
PK-CS-I4 Employ equipment and tools to gather data and extend 
sensory observations 
 Examples: 
• Sift soil with sieve to find organisms in soil 
• Observe objects using color paddles 
! Balance objects in scale to determine which is heavier, 
lighter,  etc. 
PK-CS-I5 Collect, interpret, communicate data and findings from 
observations and experiments in oral and written formats  
 Examples: 
• Communicate scientific information in a variety of ways 
(graph, tally, web, draw pictures, oral report)  
• Create models of objects in the environment 
• Participate in discussions where points of view are openly 
shared 
PK-CS-I6 Use appropriate scientific vocabulary related to topics 
 Examples: 
• Describe the common physical changes of melting, freezing, 
and evaporating.  
• Identify life cycle of butterfly using scientific terms (egg, 
chrysalis etc.) 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6 
SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items 
 25 (3.3), 25 (5.2), 25 (5.3), 
25 (5.4), 25 (7.1), 25 (7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(1)(i) 
 1304.21(a)(1)(iv) 
 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(B) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 4 

*PK-CS-I – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Inquiry 
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Scientific Development 
Physical Science: 
Begin to acquire scientific knowledge 
related to physical science 

PK-CS-P1* Begin investigating states of matter: solids, liquids, and 
gases 
Examples: 
• Sort and classify objects by their state of matter 
• Participate in block play using a variety of types of blocks  
(wooden unit blocks, cardboard blocks, foam blocks) 
• Participate in a variety of sand and water activities 
• Observe what happens to objects when filled with gases 
• Explore three states of water: ice (solid), water (liquid), and steam 
(gas) 
PK-CS-P2 Describe objects by their physical properties 
Examples: 
• Describe objects according to size, shape, color, or state of matter 
• Describe characteristics of sand and water during sand and water 
play  
• Describe what happens when bottles filled with objects suspended 
in liquids are moved in various ways such as: dirt in water, confetti in 
Karo syrup, etc. 
PK-CS-P3 Explore the physical world using five senses 
 Examples: 
• Take a walk exploring the environment using the senses of 
•  sight, touch, smell, and/or sound -- describe findings 
• Match things during a tasting, touching, smelling party 
• Listen to and identify environmental, animal, or voice sounds 
PK-CS-P4 Explore simple machines, magnets, and sources of energy 
Examples: 
• Explore magnets, magnifying glasses, balance scales, gears, 
pulleys, mirrors, wind-up toys, etc. 
• Discuss what makes things run by answering open-ended 
questions (car-gas, waterwheel-water, lamp-electricity) 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 
 S1-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 
 PS-E-A1, A2, A3, A4  
 PS-E-C6, C7 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
25(5.3), 25(5.4), 25(7.1), 25(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 4 

*PK-CS-P – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Physical Science 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Scientific Development 
Life Science: 
Begin to acquire scientific knowledge 
related to life science 

PK-CS-L1* Explore, observe, and describe a variety of living things 
Examples: 
• Catch insects and place in bug catchers 
• Use magnifying glass to observe insects 
• Keep a class pet and/or plants in the classroom 
Observe the effect of darkness and light on growing plants 
PK-CS-L2 Explore, observe, and describe a variety of non-living things 
Examples: 
• Compare live insects to plastic insects 
• Make collections of non-living things such as: rocks, sea shells, 
buttons, etc. 
• Sort examples of living and nonliving things 
PK-CS-L3 Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a variety of 
 activities related to preserving their environment 
 Examples: 
• Participate in constructing a compost heap 
• Participate in planting a tree 
• Participate in a campus cleanup day 
• Participate in collecting items to recycle 
PK-CS-L4 Begin to develop an awareness and understanding of plant and 
animal life cycles and how the life cycles vary for different reasons 
Examples: 
• Plant and maintain a butterfly garden 
• Read non-fiction age appropriate books about life cycles  
• Observe life cycles of larvae, tadpoles, or mealworms 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 
 SI-E-B1, B2, B3 
 PS-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 
PS-E-C6, C7 
LS-E-A1, A2, A6 
LS-E-B1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
25(5.3), 25(5.4), 25(7.1), 25(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(1)(i) 
 1304.21(a)(1)(iv) 
 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(B) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 4 

 PK-CS-L – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Life Science 
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Scientific Development 
Earth and Space Science:  
Begin to acquire scientific knowledge 
related to earth science PK-CS-ES1* Investigate, compare, and contrast seasonal changes in their immediate 

environment 
Examples: 
• Draw, write, and/or dictate a message in journal about what they see, feel, and do 
in certain kinds of weather or over a period of time 
• Dress-up in a variety of seasonal clothing in the dramatic play center 
• Play a lotto game about the seasons 
PK-CS-ES2 Discover through observation that weather can change from day to day 
Examples: 
• Graph each day's weather 
• Keep weather journal 
• Read a thermometer to determine temperature 
• Keep a record of the day's temperature either from the newspaper, home, or outside 
thermometer 
PK-CS-ES3 Use vocabulary to describe major features of the earth and sky 
Examples: 
• Listen to and retell stories about the earth, sky, land formations, and bodies of 
water such as: In the Night Sky, Happy Birthday Moon, Good Night Moon, In a Small, 
Small Pond, In the Tall, Tall Grass, Swimmy, Big Al, The Tiny Seed 
• Discuss things in the day and night time sky 
• Observe and discuss shadows at various times of the day 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 
 SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, 
B5  
 ESS-E-A1, A4 
 ESS-E-B1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
 25(5.3), 25(5.4), 
25(7.1), 25(7.2) 
Head Start 
Performance 
Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(1)(i) 
 1304.21(a)(1)(iv) 
 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(B) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 
Head Start Child 
Outcomes: 
Domain 4 

*PK-CS-ES – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Earth and Space Science 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§515. Social Studies Development 

A. For young children the foundation for learning in 
social studies and history begins with the child's personal 
experiences and understanding of the relationship of self to 
home and family. Their understanding then gradually 
expands to include the people they meet in school, 
neighborhood, community, and the larger world. Teachers 
need to identify children's current knowledge and 
understanding. The pre-kindergarten curriculum needs to 
focus on concepts that are related to the child's immediate 
experience. 

B. Accommodations: 

1. provide adaptive equipment and materials where 
needed to accommodate children's special needs; 

2. assure that the classroom and school environments 
are handicapped accessible and meet the needs of all 
children; 

3. use appropriate verbal, visual, and physical cues in 
all the activities to meet the special needs of individual 
children. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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Subchapter D. Social Studies 
§517. Cognitive Social Studies Development 
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Social Studies Development 
Civics: 
Develop community and career awareness PK-CSS-C1* Recognize community workers and increase awareness 

of their jobs  
Examples: 
• Identify different community workers by the uniform worn or 
the equipment used 
• Participate in field trips to observe community workers 
• Listen to guest speakers, such as: a firefighter, a police officer, 
etc. 
• Dress-up and role play different types of community workers 
PK-CSS-C2 Identify his/her role as a member of family/class 
Examples: 
• Participate in classroom duties 
• Describe experiences shared within the family 
• Participate in role playing 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards 
C-1D-E3, E4  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-4a, A-9, B-7a, B-7h 
ECERS-R Items: 
33(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

*PK-CSS-C – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - Civics 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Social Studies Development 
Economics: 
Develop an understanding of how basic 
economic concepts relate to their everyday 
lives 

PK-CSS-E1* Demonstrate an awareness of money being used to purchase 
things 
Examples: 
• Use pretend money to purchase things in a dramatic play grocery 
store, bank, post office, etc. 
 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards 
E-1A-E3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
None Applicable  
ECERS-R Items: 
None Applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
None Applicable 

*PK-CSS-E – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies -Economics 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Social Studies Development 
Geography: 
Develop an understanding of location, 
place, relationships within places, 
movement, and region 

PK-CSS-G1* Include representations of roads, bodies of water, and 
 buildings in their play 
Examples: 
• Use blue paper for a lake in the block area 
• Drive toy cars on roads made from blocks 
PK-CSS-G2 Use words to indicate directionality, position, and size 
Examples: 
• Correctly use and respond to words such as: left, right, first, last, big, little, 
top, bottom, etc. 
• Verbalize location of objects that are hidden during a Hide and Seek game 
PK-CSS-G3 Develop awareness of the world around them 
Examples: 
• Recognize some common symbols of state and country, such as the shape of 
Louisiana or United States, the Louisiana or American flag, etc. 
• Observe the path a letter travels when teacher shows route on the map 
• Answer questions about where they went on a trip or other places they have 
lived  

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards 
G-1B-E1  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7h 
ECERS-R Items: 
22(7.1) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

*PK-CSS-G – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - Geography 
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Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Social Studies Development 
History: 
Develop an understanding of the concept 
of time 

PK-CSS-H1* Use words to describe time (yesterday, today, tomorrow)  
Examples: 
• Use statements like, "I'm getting a bike today!" or "My birthday is 
tomorrow!" 
• Use statement like, "The field trip was yesterday." 
 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
H-1A-E1  
NAEYC Criterion: 
None applicable 
ECERS-R Items: 
None applicable 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
None Applicable 

*PK-CSS-H – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - History 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter E. Creative Arts 
§519. Creative Arts Development 

A. Creative development opens an avenue for the 
application of individual ideas, feelings, and expressions. In 
the pre-kindergarten classroom, creative development will 
be integrated into all curriculum areas to develop an 
appreciation for the arts and as a way to conduct classroom 
activities to meet the expectations in all content areas. 

B. In a developmentally appropriate classroom, creative 
development fosters creative and individual expression, self-
esteem, imagination, and appreciation of cultural diversities. 
With the introduction of the various components, 
music/movement, dramatic expression, and visual arts, the 
pre-kindergarten child is encouraged to explore and express 
him/herself creatively. 

C. On a daily basis, young children are given 
opportunities for creative endeavors, emphasizing the 
experience rather than the outcome. These endeavors should 
be concrete, hands-on learning activities, offered in a risk-
free environment where all children are encouraged to 
express themselves freely. 

D. Accommodations for Children with Special Needs 
1. Provide materials that can be easily adapted for 

independent participation. 
2. Materials should be easily accessible to encourage 

participation. 
3. Adapt the environment to promote participation, 

engagement, and learning. 
4. Provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§521. Stages of Art Development 

A. Scribbling Stage (3 to 4 years of age). Child use 
crayons, markers and paint in zigzag fashion and circular 
motions. Later, the scribbles become more controlled. Their 
work is exploratory. Color is unrealistic. The child begins to 
draw symbols like circles, crosses and lines. 

B. Preschematic Stage (4 to 7 years of age) 
1. Age 4Cthe child begins to show definite forms in 

representing a person, making a circle for the head and two 
vertical lines for legs. Sometimes there is a mouth, arms, 
hands, feet or shoes. Objects are drawn at random and they 
are not in sequence or proportion. At this stage, form is more 
important than color. As children progress through this stage, 
size becomes more proportional, and they gain more brush 
control as their paintings begin to look more like 
illustrations. 

2. Age 7Cchild has established a mental picture of an 
object that is repeated with each painted repetition of the 
object. For example, each time the child paints a house, it 
will look very much like all the other houses he/she painted.  

C. Schematic Stage (6 to 9 years of age). At this stage, 
sky lines (usually blue) and base lines (usually green) appear 
on the top and bottom of drawings. Items drawn between 
these lines usually are proportional, and they are on the base 
line as appropriate. 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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§523. Creative Arts Development 
 

Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Music and Movement 
Music Appreciation: 
Develop an appreciation for music PK-MM-MA1* Listen to a variety of musical genre – 

jazz, classical, country, lullaby, patriotic, 
instrumental, vocal, etc. 
 Examples: 
• Hear a variety of diverse music throughout the 
day (arrival time, circle time, transitions, lunch, nap, 
snacks) 
• Participate in musical listening games to hear 
differences in sounds (vocal, instrumental, sounds of 
instruments, and other genre types) 
• Attend and view live performances 
• Become aware of the lives and art forms of 
various musical artists 
PK-MM-MA2 Respond to variations in music – 
pitch, volume, tempo, beat, rhythm, and pattern 
 Examples: 
•  Observe a musician demonstrating different 
musical variations 
•  Reproduce a musical variation heard with 
rhythm instruments, computer program, or vocally 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1M-E1, E3, E4, E5 
 AP-2M-E1, E3, E4 
 HP-3M-E1, E3, E4 
 CA-4M-E1, E2, E3, E5 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, B-4, B-5d,  
 B-7g, B-9, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
21(5.1), 21(5.2), 21(7.1), 21(7.2), 21(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.53  
 Head Start Child Outcomes:  
Domain 5  
  

*PK-MM-MA – Pre-Kindergarten – Music and Movement – Music Appreciation 

 
Creative Arts Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Music and Movement 
Music Expression:  
Become involved in musical expression 
 

PK-MM-ME1* Use music as an avenue to express 
thoughts, feelings, and energy 
Examples: 
• Use props (scarves, streamers, instruments) to 
respond with expression to music 
• Record original songs that become part of a 
listening center 
• Draw a picture in response to how they feel as 
they listen to a variety of music 
PK-MM-ME2 Participate in group singing, fingerplays, 
rhymes, poetry, and rhythm 
Examples: 
• Participate in daily musical activities, games, 
instruments, singing, and books 
• Use musical instruments and props outdoors as an 
additional experience 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1M-E1, E3, E4, E5 
 HP-3M-E1, E3, E4 
 CA-4M-E1, E2, E3, E5 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8, A-6a, A-11, B-4,  
B-5d, B-7g, B-9, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
21(5.1), 21(5.2), 21(7.1), 21(7.2), 21(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(D) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 5 

*PK-MM-ME – Pre-Kindergarten – Music and Movement – Music Expression 
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Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Music and Movement 
Creative Movement: 
Develop an appreciation for creative 
movement through observation, 
communication, and participation 

PK-MM-CM1* Observe various forms of movement 
Examples: 
• View people, animals, and various objects that 
move in the world around them 
PK-MM-CM2 Communicate words or concepts through 
movement 
Examples: 
• Develop movements that express concepts 
(feelings and directions), words, and ideas  
• Play charades with prompts from teacher (stop, 
go, walk, come, angry, sad, hurry, surprise) 
PK-MM-CM3 Show creativity using their bodies (dance, 
march, hop, jump, sway, clap, snap, stomp, twist, turn) 
Examples: 
• Respond freely to music 
• Imitate various environmental movements such as 
animals, trees, water, etc. 
• Exhibit a variety of ways to move (forward, 
backward, sideways, etc.) 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1M-E1, E3, E4, E5 
 CE-1D-E1, E3 
 HP-3D-E2 
 AP-2D-E1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-9, A-11, B-4,  
B-5d, B-7, B-7e, B-7g,  
B-8, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
 16(7.1), 16(7.2)  
 21(5.1), 21(5.2), 21(7.1),  
 21(7.2), 21(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 5 

*PK-MM-CM – Pre-Kindergarten – Music and Movement – Creative Movement 

 
Creative Arts Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Visual Arts 
Visual Arts Appreciation: 
Develop an appreciation for visual arts PK-VA-VA1* Observe various forms of art expression 

(paintings, drawings, sculpture, prints, collages, and other 
art forms) 
 Examples: 
• View exhibits, books, Internet activities, and 
photographs of various art forms 
• Observe various artists who demonstrate different 
techniques and art media 
PK-VA-VA2 Share various forms of art (sculpture, pencils, 
watercolors, clay, collage, pen and ink, etc.) found in their 
environment 
Examples: 
• Point out various forms of media found in books, 
photographs/prints, on school site and on field trips  
• Experience various media in the classroom 
• Tell about an observation of an artist/crafter (quilter, 
taxidermist, illustrator, wood carver, ice sculptor, sculptor, 
designer) displaying/demonstrating his/her work 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1VA-E1, E2, E4, E5 
 AP-2VA-E2, E3 
 HP-3VA-E3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, A-8b, A-9, B-4,  
B-5a, B-7, B-7e, B-7g,  
G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
15(5.1), 20(5.1), 20(5.2), 20(7.1), 
27(5.3), 27(7.1), 28(5.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.21(b)(3)(ii) 
 1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 5 
 

*PK-VA-VA – Pre-Kindergarten – Visual Arts – Visual Arts Appreciation 
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Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Visual Arts 
Creative Expression: 
Develop confidence in their own creative 
expression through process-oriented 
experiences  

PK-VA-CE1* Participate in individual and group art 
activities 
Examples: 
• Participate daily in creative art opportunities using 
water colors, collage materials, paints, paper, scissors, glue, 
crayons, stamp pads, templates, stencils, markers, and clay  
• Use a computer program and create a piece of art  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1VA-E1, E2, E4, E5 
AP-2VA-E2, E3 
HP-3VA-E3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, A-8b, A-9, B-4,  
B-7, B-7e, B-7g, B-8,  
G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
20(5.1), 20(5.2), 20(7.1), 20(7.2), 
20(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 1304.21(b)(3)(ii) 
1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 5 

*PK-VA-CE – Pre-Kindergarten – Visual Arts – Creative Expression 

 
Creative Arts Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Dramatic Arts 
Dramatic Appreciation: 
Develop an appreciation for the dramatic 
arts 

PK-DA-DA1* Attend a variety of dramatic performances  
Examples: 
• View various forms of dramatic expression (puppetry, 
story-telling, dance, plays, pantomime, theater) 
PK-DA-DA2 Participate in discussions of dramatic 
performances  
Examples: 
• Engage in discussion during language experience story 
after attending a dramatic performance 
 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1TH-E1, E2, E3 
AP-2TH-E1, E2, E3 
HP-3TH-E1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, A-8b, A-9, B-4,  
B-5a, B-7, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
24(5.1), 24(5.3), 24(7.1), 24(7.2), 
24(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21 
1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 5 

*PK-DA-DA – Pre-Kindergarten – Dramatic Arts – Dramatic Arts Appreciation 
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Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Dramatic Arts 
Dramatic Expression:  
Explore roles and experiences through 
dramatic play 

PK-DA-DE1* Role play or use puppets to express feelings, 
dramatize stories, try out social behaviors observed in adults, re-
enact real-life roles and experiences 
Examples: 
• Play in various interest centers with a variety of props, such 
as: home-living, fire station, police station, beauty parlor, 
grocery/department store, circus, fast food restaurant, doctor's 
office/hospital, bakery, gas station, florist, etc. 
• Role play problem solving in classroom situations, such as: 
taking turns, sharing, playing cooperatively, expressing feelings, 
appropriate behaviors and manners, etc. 
• Participate in various forms of dramatic expression from 
different cultures 
PK-DA-DE2* Participate in activities using symbolic materials and 
gestures to represent real objects and situations 
Examples: 
• Exhibit free expression and imagination in songs, stories, 
poems, and fingerplays, such as: scarves to represent birds; hands 
as thunder, raindrops, footsteps; sticks for wands, pointer, a horse, 
or a walking cane, etc. 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards 
CE-1TH-E1, E2, E3 
AP-2TH-E1, E2, E3 
HP-3TH-E1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-8a, A-8b, A-9,  
B-4, B-5a, B-7, B-8, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
15(5.2), 15(5.4) 24(5.1), 24(5.3), 
24(7.1), 24(7.2), 24(7.3), 24(7.4) 
28(5.1), 28(5.2), 28(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(1)(iii) 
1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 5 

*PK-DA-DE – Pre-Kindergarten – Dramatic Arts – Dramatic Expression 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter F. Health and Physical Development 
§525. Health and Physical Development 

A. Physical development and health and safety activities 
should be integrated into all curriculum areas. Activities 
should be structured to encourage pre-kindergarten children 
to explore their world, promote agility and strength, enhance 
neural processing, and develop general body competence 
and overall autonomy. Young children should be introduced 
to concepts that promote a healthy lifestyle, and they should 
be provided adequate age-appropriate indoor and outdoor 
space and facilities that allow them to experience a variety 
of developmentally appropriate physical activities. 

B. The development of gross motor and fine motor skills 
is an integral part of the development of the pre-kindergarten 
child. These skills serve as the foundation for the 

development of the future academic skills such as writing 
and reading. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. Provide adaptive equipment and materials where 

needed. 
2. Assure that the classroom and school environments 

are easily accessible. 
3. Use appropriate verbal, visual, and physical cues in 

all the activities. 
4. Provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:
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§527. Health and Physical Development 
 

Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Health Development 
Health and Hygiene: 
Develop appropriate health and hygiene 
skills 

PK-HP-HH1* Show awareness of healthy lifestyle practices 
Examples: 
• Understand that germs affect our daily lives 
• Understand that healthy bodies require rest, exercise, 
and good nutrition 
• Use napkin, tissue and other objects of hygiene 
• Wash hands before meals and snacks, and after 
toileting 
PK-HP-HH2 Show awareness of good hygiene and personal 
care habits 
Examples: 
• Use proper hand washing techniques 
• Use appropriate dental hygiene practices 
• Practice proper use of tissue 
• Use appropriate toileting skills 
• Demonstrate autonomy in personal care such as: self-
dressing, taking care of personal belongings, cleaning up 
after activities 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
1-E-1, E-2 
3-E-1, E-2 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7f, B-11, H-17c 
ECERS-R Items: 
10 (3.3) 
13 (3.1), 13(7.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(1)(V) 
1304.23(b)(3) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 
 

*PK-HP-HH – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Health and Hygiene 

 
Health and Physical Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Health Development 
Nutrition: 
Become aware of good nutritional practices PK-HP-N1* Exhibit knowledge that some foods are better for 

your body than others 
Examples: 
• Engage in discussions about healthy and unhealthy foods 
• Make selections of foods that are healthy and recognize 
that some foods are not healthy 
• Participate in nutritious cooking activities 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards 
1-E-2, E-5 
3-E-1 
6-E-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
I-3 
ECERS-R Items: 
10(7.1), 10(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(iii) 
1304.23(c)(1) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 

*PK-HP-N – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Nutrition 
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Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, NAEYC, 
Head Start, etc. 

Health Development 
Safety:  
Demonstrate safe behaviors in all situations PK-HP-S1* Identify potentially harmful objects, substances, or 

behaviors 
Examples: 
• Know the difference between a medicine and harmful drugs 
• Know that objects such as weapons, syringes, matches, etc. can 
be dangerous and should not be touched 
PK-HP-S2 Be aware of and follow universal safety rules  
Examples: 
• Follow classroom and school rules 
• Practice appropriate emergency drills (fire, tornado, bomb, 
911, bus) 
• Follow basic safety rules: bus, bicycle, playground, crossing 
street, stranger awareness 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
1-E-2 
3-E-2, E-3, E-4 
5-E-4 
6-E-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7f 
ECERS-R Items: 
14(5.1), 14(7.1), 14(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(6) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 

*PK-HP-S –  Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development C Safety 

 
 

Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Physical Development 
Gross Motor: 
Develop coordination, balance, spatial 
awareness and strength through gross motor 
activities 

PK-HP-GM1* Exhibit body coordination and strength 
Examples: 
• Engage in large motor activities such as: climbing stairs 
(alternating feet), marching, hopping, running, jumping, dancing, riding 
tricycles, pulling wagons, pushing wheelbarrows, and riding scooters 
• Use outdoor gross motor equipment (climbing apparatus, swings, 
tunnels, slide, etc.) safely and appropriately 
• Use open-ended materials (planks, wooden boxes, hollow blocks, 
etc.) to move about, build and construct 
PK-HP-GM2 Exhibit balance and spatial awareness 
Examples: 
• Engage in large motor activities that promote basic non-
locomotion skills, spatial awareness and balance 
• Engage in manipulative activities that develop skills with a ball: 
bouncing, kicking, throwing, catching, rolling, etc. 
• Play simple group games 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards 
1-P-1, P-2, P-3 
3-P-1 
5-P-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-4c, B-5d, B-7e 
ECERS-R Items: 
7(7.1), 8(5.2), 8(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(5)(i) 
1304.21(b)(3)(i) 
1304.21(c)(1)(vii) 
Head Start Child 
Outcomes: 
Domain 8 
 

*PK-HP-GM – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Gross Motor 
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Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Physical Development 
Fine Motor: 
Develop coordination, spatial awareness, 
and strength through fine motor activities 

PK-HP-FM1* Strengthen and control small muscles in hands 
Examples: 
• Work with play dough and clay 
• Squeeze wet sponges or use tongs to pick up objects 
• Tear paper 
PK-HP-FM2 Exhibit manual coordination 
Examples: 
• Use hands and fingers to act out fingerplays and songs 
• Use scissors and art materials  
• Snap, button, zip, etc. 
PK-HP-FM3 Participate in eye-hand coordination activities 
Examples: 
• Use beads, laces, and pegs 
• Cut paper with scissors 
• Complete simple puzzles 
• Use computer mouse 
• Scoop dry sand and pour into a bottle 
• Use a variety of items/textures 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
1-P-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-4c, B-5d, B-7e 
ECERS-R Items: 
19(5.1), 19(5.3), 19(7.1) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(5)(ii) 
1304.21(b)(3)(iii) 
Head Start Child 
Outcomes: 
Domain 8 
 

*PK-HP-FM – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Fine Motor 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter G. Language and Literacy  
§529. Language and Literacy Development 

A. Language and literacy are composed of listening, 
speaking, writing, thinking, and reading. The foundations of 
language and literacy are critical to all other curriculum 
areas as well as to the individual's social and emotional 
development. Children develop the basis for communication 
in the early childhood years, beginning with nonverbal and 
social exchanges, then developing spoken language, moving 
to an understanding of how oral language is translated into 
written symbols, and finally learning to decode and create 
written symbols to develop literacy. A solid foundation in 
language development in the years before a child enters 
school will promote success in reading and writing in the 
future. Young children who have rich language and literacy 
experiences are less likely to have difficulties learning to 
read. 

B. Accommodations for Children with Special Needs 
1. Provide good models of communication. 
2. Use special or adaptive devices to increase level of 

communication and/or participation. 
3. Use a favorite toy, activity or person to encourage 

communication and/or participation. 
4. Provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§531. Beginning Reading Skills 
A. Scientifically based reading research shows that it is 

important for preschool age children to experience the 
following language, cognitive, and early reading skills for 
continued school success. 

1. Phonological Awareness includes: 
a. identifying and making oral rhymes; 
b. identifying and working with syllables in spoken 

words through segmenting and blending; 
c. identifying and working with "onsets" (all sounds 

of a word that come before the first vowel) and "rimes" (the 
first vowel in a word and all the sounds that follow) in 
spoken syllables; 

d. identifying and working with individual sounds 
in spoken words (phonemic awareness). 

2. Oral Language: development of expressive and 
receptive language, including vocabulary, the contextual use 
of speech and syntax, and oral comprehension abilities. 

3. Print Awareness: knowledge of the purposes and 
conventions of print. 

4. Alphabet Knowledge: recognize letters of the 
alphabet (not rote memory).  

Source: Early Reading First Guidelines 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§533. Stages of Written Language Development 

A. Children learn to write through a natural 
developmental progression. Each child should be allowed to 
progress at their own pace. There are at least six different 
stages of writing. 

 

Stage 1CRandom Scribbling: (2 and 3 years old) 
Children make marks on paper with little muscular control. 

Stage 2CControlled Scribbling: (3 years old) 
Children "write" across the paper in linear fashion, repeating patterns over 
again, showing increased muscular control. 
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Stage 3CLetter-like Forms: (3 and 4 year olds) 
Children make mock letters. These are written lines of letters that have 
letter characteristics, but they are misshapen and written randomly, even 
covering the page. They pretend they are writing; in their work they 
separate writing from drawing. They have purpose to their letter-like 
forms. 

Stage 4CLetter and Symbol Relationship: (4 year olds) 
Children write letters to represent words and syllables. They can write 
their names. They know the word that represents their names. They can 
copy words. Reversals are frequent. 

Stage 5CInvented Spelling: (4 and 5 year olds) 
Children make the transition from letter forms to invented spelling. This 
requires organization of letters and words on the page. They use a group 
of letters to form a word. Many of the letters will be consonants. They 
understand that letters relate to sounds. Some punctuation appears. They 
can copy words from their environment. 

Stage 6CStandard Spelling: (5, 6, and 7 year olds) 
Most of the words the children use are written correctly; some add 
punctuation. They organize their words in lines with spaces between the 
words; they move from left to right, and from the top of the to the bottom. 
 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

 
§535. Language and Literacy Development 

Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, LA 
Literacy Profile, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Listening: 
Develop and expand listening skills PK-LL-L1* Listen with understanding to directions and conversations 

Examples: 
• Respond to stories read to the whole class  
• Understand changes in the morning activity schedule being 
described by the teacher 
• Carry on a conversation with another person that develops a 
thought or idea expressed by the group earlier 
• Listen to tapes or CD's and show understanding through body 
language or by interacting with such 
PK-LL-L2 Follow directions that involve two- or three-step sequence 
of actions 
Examples: 
• Repeat an instruction to a friend 
• Follow these instructions, "Wash your hands, then sit at the table." 
• Follow these instructions, "Get your coat, put it on, then sit next to 
your friend." 
• Follow directions given to the class, such as: "Take this note about 
our class trip home, have a family member sign it, and bring it back to 
me." 
PK-LL-L3 Hear and discriminate the sounds of language in the 
environment to develop beginning phonological awareness 
Examples: 
• Listen to and participate in many nursery rhymes, chants poems, 
fingerplays, and songs 
• Make up silly rhymes, such as: funny bunny or silly willy 
• Clap hands for each syllable in a word, such as: clap hands three 
times when saying Su-zan-na 
• Sing songs that segment words or accent beginning sounds, and 
with teacher, clap to the syllables 
• Play with sounds to create new words, such as: "Pass the bapkin 
napkin." (rimes) 
• Notice words that begin the same way, such as: "My name begins 
the same as popcorn and pig." (onsets) 
PK-LL-L4 Demonstrate understanding of new vocabulary introduced 
in conversations, activities, stories or books 
 Examples: 
• Listen to a variety of literature genre, including narratives, nursery 
rhymes, other poems, and informational books 
• Listen to read-aloud books that are characterized by less common 
vocabulary, more complex sentences, and concepts 
PK-LL-L5 Engage in activities that offer the opportunity to develop 
skills associated with technology by viewing, comprehending, and 
using non-textual information. 
Examples: 
! Listen to a story on a tape or a CD 
! Listen to recordings of age-appropriate stories while looking at a 
book 
! Use age-appropriate and interactive software programs when 
available 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
ELA-1-E1 
ELA-4-E2, E3, E5, E6, E7 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
1-10 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-1, A-2, A3a, A-3b 
B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
18 (7.1) (7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iii) 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domains 1 and 2 
 

*PK-LL-L – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development -- Listening 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1171

 
 

Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, LA 
Literacy Profile, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Speaking: 
Communicate experiences, ideas, and 
feelings through speaking 
 

PK-LL-S1* Develop and expand expressive language skills 
Examples: 
• Use different voices for characters in stories read aloud or told: 
such as The Three Bears and The Three Billy Goats Gruff 
• Role play activities where different levels of volume would be 
used, such as: when a baby is sleeping or when calling to someone 
standing far away 
• Participate as an equal partner in conversations by responding to 
others, making relevant comments, or providing more information 
when message is not understood 
• Talk through or explain reasoning when problem-solving 
(classroom materials, behaviors, etc.)  
PK-LL-S2* Use new vocabulary in spontaneous speech 
Examples: 
• Incorporate words and phrases from books, stories, and 
activities into play 
• Incorporate story elements into play 
• Participate in class discussions of books, stories, and activities 
• Use new vocabulary introduced in a thematic study during play 
PK-LL-S3 Ask and answer relevant questions and share experiences 
individually and in groups 
Examples: 
• Dictate stories during small group time about experiences they 
have had 
• Ask simple questions, such as: "What's for lunch?" or "Can we 
play outside today?" 
• Ask questions to further their understanding, such as: "Where 
does the snow go when it melts?" or "Why does that man wear a 
uniform?" 
• Answer questions with a complete thought, such as: "I took a 
bus to school." or "I want purple and blue paint." 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards 
ELA-2-E1, E2 
ELA-4-E1, E2, E5, E6, E7 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
11-23, 44-45, 48 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7d 
 
ECERS-R Items: 
15(7.1), 15(7.2), 17(5.1), 17(5.2),  
17 (7.1), 17 (7.2) 
 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(4)(iii) 
1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domains 1 and 2 

 PK-LL-S – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development – Speaking 
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Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, 
LA Literacy Profile, ECERS-
R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Reading:  
Engage in activities that promote the 
acquisition of emergent reading skills 

PK-LL-R1* Actively engage in reading experiences 
Examples: 
• Listen with interest to a story read or told by an adult or another 
child 
• Track along and verbalize as teacher points to individual words in 
shared reading (big books, songs, poems, recipes, etc.) 
• Retell familiar stories 
• Complete phrases about familiar stories 
• Ask questions about the illustrations in a book or about details in a 
story just heard 
• Choose and look at books independently 
• Act out familiar stories with props 
PK-LL-R2 Retell information from a story 
Examples: 
• Use words or pictures to begin to retell some story events in 
sequence 
• Dramatize familiar stories, such as: Caps for Sale; Brown Bear, 
Brown Bear; etc. 
• Relate the main thought of a story read several days before  
• Stage a puppet show based on a story read or told to the group 
PK-LL-R3 Demonstrate an understanding of print concepts and 
beginning alphabetic knowledge 
Examples: 
• Recognize and begin writing their own name, demonstrating that 
letters are grouped to form words 
• Pretend to read by pointing with a finger while reciting text 
• Look at books appropriately, turning one page at a time, left to 
right over text, going from top to bottom, front to back of book 
• Recognize familiar logos, such as McDonald's, Wal-Mart, etc. 
• Recognize book by cover 
PK-LL-R4 Use emerging reading skills to make meaning from print 
Examples: 
• Use illustrations to predict printed text, such as saying, "And the 
wolf blew down the pig's house." 
• Make predictions about print content by using prior knowledge, 
pictures, text heard, and story structure skills 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards 
ELA-2-E1, E2 
ELA-4-E1, E2, E5, E6, E7 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
11-23, 44-45, 48 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
15 (5.1), 15(7.1), 15(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iii) 
1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domains 1 and 2 

 *PK-LL-R – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development – Reading 
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Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

LA K-4 Content 
Standards, LA Literacy 
Profile, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Writing: 
Engage in activities that promote the 
acquisition of emergent writing skills 

PK-LL-W1* Experiment with a variety of writing tools, materials, and 
surfaces 
Examples: 
• Draw or write using pencils, crayons, chalk, markers, rubber stamps, and 
computers 
• Draw or write using materials such as, brushes and water, feathers, roll-
on bottles, shaving cream, and zip-lock bags filled with hair gel or paint  
• Draw or write on paper, cardboard, chalkboard, dry erase boards, wood, 
and concrete 
PK-LL-W2 Use forms of shapes and letter-like symbols to convey ideas 
Examples: 
• Use scribble writing and letter-like forms, especially those letters in their 
own name 
• Begin to represent ideas and experiences through drawing and early 
stages of writing, such as: "I ms u." 
• Attempt to connect the sounds in words with their written letter forms 
PK-LL-W3 Participate in a variety of writing activities focused on  
 meaningful words and print in the environment 
Examples: 
• Use a variety of writing utensils and props to encourage writing in 
different centers such as: 
• Journals, sign-in sheets, name cards, cards with words and pictures in the 
writing center 
• Counter checks, grocery store advertisements with paper to make grocery 
list in the dramatic play center 
• Materials to make books, cards, or write messages in the art center 
• Paper, tape, dowels, and play dough to make signs or enhance structures 
in the block center 
• Paper or blank books to record observations of animals or results of 
experiments in the science center 
PK-LL-W4 Demonstrate an interest in using writing for a purpose 
Examples: 
• Pretend to write a prescription while playing clinic 
• Scribble writes next to picture 
• Tell teacher, "Write it down so everyone can read it." 
• Ask teacher, "How do I write Happy Birthday?" 
• Write own name on a drawing for a friend 
• Make deliberate letter choices during writing attempts 
• Draw a representation of a school bus getting a flat and explains picture. 
Make a book from the paper and write the school bus story using scribbles, 
letter-like symbols or letters to retell the school bus incident. 
• Create a recipe for a favorite snack 
• Compose notes/invitations to family/friends 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
ELA-1-E5 
ELA-2-E1, E2, E6 
ELA-3-E1 
Louisiana Literacy 
Profile: 
51-55 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
16 (7.2) 
19 (5.1) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child 
Outcomes: 
Domain 2 

*PK-LL-W – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development C Writing 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter H. Social and Emotional 
§537. Social and Emotional Development 

A. One of the primary goals of a quality early childhood 
program is to foster social and emotional development in 
young children. Pre-kindergarten children need proper 
guidance to develop the ability to negotiate issues that occur, 
to take turns, to lead and follow, and to be a friend. They 
also need to learn how to deal with their feelings in a 
socially acceptable manner.  

B. The social and emotional development of young 
children is strengthened when they feel good about 
themselves and have secure relationships with their parents, 
teachers, and peers. Other influences on this development 

are the relationships young children have with their families, 
their communities, their culture and their world. Since social 
and emotional development is such an important aspect of a 
pre-kindergarten child's development, it has been included as 
a separate section. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. Plan for and support appropriate social behaviors. 
2. Provide opportunities for social interactions with 

typically developing peers. 
3. Utilize peers as models and helpers, or to provide 

praise and encouragement. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1174

§539. Social and Emotional Development 
 

Social and Emotional Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Self-Esteem: 
Develop a sense of one's own self-worth PK-SE-SE1* Respond to own name 

Examples: 
• Look up, and/or make eye contact when called 
• Respond verbally when name is called 
PK-SE-SE2 Stand up for own rights in an appropriate manner 
Examples: 
• Say, "Stop! I had that first!" if toy is taken away 
• Say, "I didn't get one," or "I need one," if he/she needs or 
wants something 
• Say, "I want a turn," or "I didn't get a turn." 
PK-SE-SE3 Recognize and express own feelings and respond 
appropriately (all emotions, happiness, surprise, anger, etc.) 
Examples: 
• Be able to calm self down when angry and use words to 
express why – "I'm mad. You took my toy." 
PK-SE-SE4 Demonstrate appropriate behaviors when completing 
a task or solving a problem 
Examples: 
• Smile, express self verbally, or make eye contact with teachers 
or another child upon completion of task 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
None applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-2, A-8b, A-9, A-11, 
B-7a, B-7b 
ECERS-R Items: 
None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(b)(2)(i) 
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(v) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

*PK-SE-SE – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development – Self-Esteem 

 
Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Attitude: 
Develop a positive attitude toward life 
 

PK-SE-A1* Separate easily from parent  
Examples: 
• Show pleasure in seeing teacher and other children upon arrival 
• Say goodbye to parent without undue stress 
• Engage in classroom activities when parent is gone 
PK-SE-A2 Play well with other children 
Examples: 
• Offer to help child carry something that is heavy 
• Participate with a group when deciding what roles to play in 
dramatic play 
• Share a book with a friend 
PK-SE-A3 Respond sympathetically to peers who are in need 
Examples: 
• Give a pat, friendly word or toy to a distressed child 
• Help someone find something he/she has lost 
• Invite another child to play when other children have rejected 
him/her 
PK-SE-A4 Recognize the feelings of others and respond 
appropriately 
Examples: 
• Laugh or smile when others are happy 
• Tell someone a child is sad because her mom left 
• Bring a truck book to someone who loves trucks 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
None applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-9, A-11, B-7a, 
B-7b  
ECERS-R Items: 
31(7.2) 
32(5.1), 32(5.3), 32(7.2) 
33(5.1), 33(5.2), 33(7.1), 33(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(b) 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(d)  
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(v) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

 * PK-SE-A – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Attitude 
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Social and Emotional Development 
Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Cooperation: 
Develop skills which will teach them to 
cooperate 

PK-SE-C1* Develop increasing abilities to give and take in interactions 
Examples: 
• Take turns in games or when using materials 
• Listen to others while they are speaking 
• Work with others to complete a task 
• Play cooperatively alongside other children  
PK-SE-C2 Work or play cooperatively with other children with minimal 
direction 
Examples: 
• Become involved with classroom materials without teacher 
prompting 
• Participate in group activities such as singing 
• Try new activities such as a new nursery rhyme or a fingerplay 
PK-SE-C3 Respond appropriately during teacher-guided and child-
initiated activities 
Examples: 
• Respect others' feelings within the context of group play 
• Use acceptable ways of joining in an on-going activity or group 
• Wait his/her turn in playing games or using materials 
PK-SE-C4 Use conflict resolution strategies 
Examples: 
• Trade one toy for another 
• Ask teacher for help when dealing with others who are less able to 
resolve a conflict 
PK-SE-C5 Develop appropriate listening skills 
Examples: 
• Wait turn to speak 
• Demonstrate emerging ability to show sensitivity to peers and 
teacher as they speak in large or small settings 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
Not applicable 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-3b, A-10, A-11,  
B-7a, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
29(7.3), 
31(7.1), 
 33(5.1), 33(7.1), 33(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(b) 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(c) 
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes:  
Domain 1 and 6 
  

*PK- SE- C – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Cooperation 

 
Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, NAEYC, 
Head Start, etc. 

Pro-Social Behavior: 
Develop self-control and understand that 
actions have consequences 

PK-SE-PB1* Show progress in expressing feelings, needs and opinions in 
difficult situations and conflicts without harming self, others, or property 
Examples: 
• Begin to use socially acceptable means to resolve conflict 
• Move from physical to verbal responses in their interactions with 
other children 
! Express frustrations and anger effectively 
PK-SE-PB2 Develop a growing understanding of how their actions affect 
others and begin to accept consequences of their actions 
Examples: 
• Begin to demonstrate remorse 
• Leave a learning center or choose another learning center without 
protest when asked, due to inappropriate behavior 
PK-SE-PB3 Demonstrate increasing capacity to follow rules and routines 
and use materials purposefully, safely and respectfully 
Examples: 
• Respect and care for classroom environment and materials 
• Participate in snack time, nap or other routine activities without much 
delay or protest 
• Begin to verbalize and understand the reason for class rules 
• Return materials to appropriate place when task is complete 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
C-1A-E1  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-8b, A-9,  
ECERS-R Items: 
19(7.2) 
22(7.2) 
24(5.4) 
 31(7.1) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(c) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 

PK-SE-PB – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development – Pro-Social Behavior 

 
 
 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1176

Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Family:  
Develop a knowledge and understanding 
of self and family 

PK-SE-F1* Demonstrate knowledge of personal information  
Examples: 
• Demonstrate or verbalize their age in a variety of ways 
• Say name when asked or sing name during name song 
• Share their gender verbally or demonstrate it in a variety of ways 
PK-SE-F2 Identify family composition and describes roles of family members 
Examples: 
• Discuss family members who live in and out of the home such as: 
"I live with my grandma, but I stay with my dad on the weekends." 
• Act out family roles in dramatic play center 
PK-SE-F3 Discuss family traditions, practices and cultural roots of family 
members 
Examples: 
•  Share information about family celebrations 
• Tell stories, draw pictures, and/or verbally express family practices 
such as: "My family eats rice with every meal." 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards 
None Applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7a, 7h 
ECERS-R Items: 
32(7.2) 
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(e) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 6 

 PK-SE-F– Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Family 

 

Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards Developmental Profile Indicators Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Diversity:  
Develop a respect for differences in 
people 

PK-SE-D1* Recognize themselves as unique individuals and become aware of 
the uniqueness of others 
Examples: 
• State, "I have blue eyes. Jennifer has brown eyes." 
• Graph hair color or style, eye color, transportation to school, etc. 
PK-SE-D2 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for culture and 
 ethnicity 
Examples: 
• Show interest in how people in different cultures live 
• Show pride in own culture and accept peers of different ethnicity 
• Participate in various cultural activities (stories, cooking. etc.) 
PK-SE-D3 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for abilities and 
 disabilities 
Examples: 
• Show interest in how people with differing abilities live 
• Accept peers with different abilities 
• Participate in discussions and story telling experiences which deal 
with people with differing abilities 
PK-SE-D4 Begin to demonstrate an understanding of social justice and 
 social action issues 
Examples: 
• Understand and join in discussion about charities and/or charitable 
events the class can become involved in 
• Contribute to the penny drive for the homeless or bring cans for the 
food bank 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
None applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7h  
ECERS-R Items: 
24(7.2)  
28(5.1), 28(5.2), 28(7.1), 
28(7.2)  
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
1304.21(a)(1)(iii) 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(d) 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(e) 
Head Start Child 
Outcomes: 
Domain 6 

 PK-SE-D – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Diversity 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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Chapter 7. Pre-K Standards at-a-Glance 
§701. Cognitive Development 
 

Cognitive Development – Mathematical 
Number Concepts 

PK-CM-N1 Compare numbers of objects 

PK-CM-N2 Perform one-to-one correspondence 

PK-CM-N3 Count by rote 

PK-CM-N4 Begin to count objects 

PK-CM-N5 Begin to recognize numerals 

PK-CM-N6 Begin to demonstrate estimation skills 

Measurement 

PK-CM-M1 Experience, compare, and use language relating to 
time 

PK-CM-M2 Anticipate, remember, and describe sequences of 
events 

PK-CM-M3 Use mathematical language to describe experiences 
involving measurement 

PK-CM-M4 Measure objects in the physical world using non-
standard units of measurement 

Geometry and Spatial Sense 

PK-CM-G1 Recognize, name, describe, compare, and create 
basic shapes 

PK-CM-G2 Identify shapes to describe physical world 

PK-CM-G3 Describe and interpret spatial sense: positions, 
directions, distances, and order 

Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation 

PK-CM-D1 Sort and classify materials by one or more 
characteristics 

PK-CM-D2 Collect and organize data about themselves, their 
surroundings, and meaningful experiences 

PK-CM-D3 Interpret simple representations in data 

Patterns and Relationships 

PK-CM-P1 Recognize patterns in the physical world 

PK-CM-P2 Describe, copy, extend, create patterns and make 
predictions about patterns 

PK-CM-P3 Seriate objects 

Cognitive DevelopmentCScience 
Science as Inquiry 

PK-CS-I1 

Use prior knowledge and experiences to 
hypothesize, predict, generate questions, and draw 
conclusions about organisms and events in the 
environment 

PK-CS-I2 Conduct simple scientific experiments 

PK-CS-I3 Make observations using senses 

PK-CS-I4 Employ equipment and tools to gather data and 
extend sensory observations 

PK-CS-I5 
Collect, interpret, communicate data and findings 
from observation and experiments in oral and 
written format 

PK-CS-I6 Use appropriate scientific vocabulary related to 
topics 

Physical Science 

PK-CS-P1 Begin investigating states of matter: solids, liquids, 
and gases 

PK-CS-P2 Describe objects by their physical properties 

PK-CS-P3 Explore the physical world using five senses 

PK-CS-P4 Explore simple machines, magnets, and sources of 
energy 

Life Science 

PK-CS-L1 Explore, observe, and describe a variety of living 
things 

PK-CS-L2 Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a 
variety of non-living things  

PK-CS-L3 
Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a 
variety of activities related to preserving their 
environment 

PK-CS-L4 
Begin to develop an awareness and understanding 
of plant and animal life cycles and how the life 
cycles vary for different reasons 

Earth and Space Science 

PK-CS-ES1 Investigate, compare, and contrast seasonal 
changes in their immediate environment 

PK-CS-ES2 Discover through observation that weather can 
change from day to day 

PK-CS-ES3 Use vocabulary to describe major features of the 
earth and sky 

Cognitive Development – Social Studies 
Civics 

PK-CSS-C1 Recognize community workers and increase 
awareness of their jobs 

PK-CSS-C2 Identify his/her role as a member of family/class  

Economics 

PK-CSS-E1 Demonstrate an awareness of money being used to 
purchase items 

Geography 

PK-CSS-G1 Include representations of roads, bodies of water, 
and buildings in their play 

PK-CSS-G2 Use words to indicate directionality, position, and 
size 

PK-CSS-G3 Develop awareness of the world around them 

History 

PK-CSS-H1 Use words to describe time (yesterday, today, 
tomorrow) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§703. Creative Arts Development 

 
Creative Arts DevelopmentCMusic and Movement 

Music Appreciation 

PK-MM-
MA1 

Listen to a variety of musical genre – jazz, 
classical, country, lullaby, patriotic, instrumental, 
vocal, etc. 

PK-MM-
MA2 

Respond to variations in music – pitch, volume, 
tempo, beat, rhythm, and pattern 

Music Expression 

PK-MM-ME1 Use music as an avenue to express thoughts, 
feelings, and energy 

PK-MM-ME2 Participate in group singing, fingerplays, rhymes, 
poetry, and rhythm 

Creative Movement 
PK-MM-
CM1 Observe various forms of movement 

PK-MM-
CM2 

Communicate words or concepts through 
movement 

PK-MM-
CM3 

Show creativity using their bodies (dance, march, 
hop, jump, sway, clap, snap, stomp, twist, turn) 

Creative Arts Development – Visual Arts 
Visual Arts Appreciation 

PK-VA-VA1 
Observe various forms of art expression (paintings, 
drawings, sculpture, prints, collages, and other art 
forms) 

PK-VA-VA2 
Share various forms of art (sculpture, pencils, 
watercolors, clay, collage, pen and ink, etc.) found 
in their environment 

Creative Expression 

PK-VA-CE1 Participate in individual and group art activities 
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Creative Arts Development – Dramatic Arts 
Dramatic Appreciation 

PK-DA-DA1 Attend a variety of dramatic performances 

PK-DA-DA2 Participate in discussions of dramatic 
performances 

Dramatic Expression 

PK-DA-DE1 
Role play or use puppets to express feelings, 
dramatize stories, try out social behaviors observed 
in adults, re-enact real-life roles and experiences 

PK-DA-DE2 Participate in activities using symbolic materials 
and gestures to represent real objects and situations 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§705. Health and Physical Development 
 

Health and Physical Development - Health 
Health and Hygiene 

PK-HP-HH1 Show awareness of healthy lifestyle practices 

PK-HP-HH2 Show awareness of good hygiene and personal 
care 

Nutrition 

PK-HP-N1 Exhibit knowledge that some foods are better for 
your body than others 

Safety 

PK-HP-S1 Identify harmful objects, substances, or behaviors 

PK-HP-S2 Be aware of and follow universal safety rules 

Health and Physical DevelopmentCPhysical 
Gross Motor 

PK-HP-GM1 Exhibit body coordination and strength 

PK-HP-GM2 Exhibit balance and spatial awareness 

Fine Motor 

PK-HP-FM1 Strengthen and control small muscles in hands 

PK-HP-FM2 Exhibit manual coordination 

PK-HP-FM3 Participate in eye-hand coordination activities 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§707. Language and Literacy Development 
 

Language and Literacy Development 
Listening 

PK-LL-L1 Listen with understanding to directions and 
conversations 

PK-LL-L2 Follow directions that involve two- or three-
step sequence of actions 

PK-LL-L3 
Hear and discriminate the sounds of language 
in the environment to develop beginning 
phonological awareness 

PK-LL-L4 
Demonstrate understanding of new vocabulary 
introduced in conversations, activities, stories 
or books 

PK-LL-L5 

Engage in activities that offer the opportunity 
to develop skills associated with technology by 
viewing, comprehending, and using non-
textual information 

Speaking 

PK-LL-S1 Develop and expand expressive language skills 

PK-LL-S2 Use new vocabulary in spontaneous speech 

PK-LL-S3 Ask and answer relevant questions and share 
experiences individually and in groups 

Reading 

PK-LL-R1 Actively engage in reading experiences 

PK-LL-R2 Retell information from a story 

PK-LL-R3 Demonstrate an understanding of print 
concepts and beginning alphabetic knowledge 

PK-LL-R4 Use emerging reading skills to make meaning 
from print 

Writing 

PK-LL-W1 Experiment with a variety of writing tools, 
materials, and surfaces 

PK-LL-W2 Use forms of shapes and letter-like symbols to 
convey ideas 

PK-LL-W3 
Participate in a variety of writing activities 
focused on meaningful words and print in the 
environment 

PK-LL-W4 Demonstrate an interest in using writing for a 
purpose 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§709. Social and Emotional Development 
 

Social and Emotional Development 
Self-Esteem 

PK-SE-SE1 Respond to own name 

PK-SE-SE2 Stand up for own rights in an appropriate manner 

PK-SE-SE3 
Recognize and express own feelings and respond 
appropriately (all emotions - happiness, surprise, 
anger, etc.) 

PK-SE-SE4 Demonstrate appropriate behaviors when 
completing a task or solving a problem 

Attitude 
PK-SE-A1 Separate easily from parent 

PK-SE-A2 Play well with other children 

PK-SE-A3 Respond sympathetically to peers who are in need 

PK-SE-A4 Recognize the feelings of others and respond 
appropriately 

Cooperation 

PK-SE-C1 Develop increasing abilities to give and take in 
interactions 

PK-SE-C2 Work or play cooperatively with others with 
minimal direction 

PK-SE-C3 Respond appropriately during teacher-guided and 
child-initiated activities 

PK-SE-C4 Use conflict resolution strategies 

PK-SE-C5 Develop appropriate listening skills 

Pro-Social Behavior 

PK-SE-PB1 
Show progress in expressing feelings, needs and 
opinions in difficult situations and conflicts without 
harming self, others, or property 

PK-SE-PB2 
Develop a growing understanding of how their 
actions affect others and begin to accept 
consequences of their actions 

PK-SE-PB3 
Demonstrate increasing capacity to follow rules and 
routines and use materials purposefully, safely and 
respectfully 

Family 

PK-SE-F1 Demonstrate knowledge of personal information 
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PK-SE-F2 Identify family composition and describe roles of 
family members 

PK-SE-F3 Discuss family traditions, practices and cultural 
roots of family members 

Diversity 

PK-SE-D1 Recognize themselves as unique individuals and 
become aware of the uniqueness of others 

PK-SE-D2 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for 
culture and ethnicity 

PK-SE-D3 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for 
abilities and disabilities 

PK-SE-D4 Begin to demonstrate an understanding of social 
justice and social action issues 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Interested persons may submit written comments until 

4:30 p.m., September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 105CLouisiana Standards for 

Programs Serving Four-Year-Old Children 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
adopted Bulletin 105, which contains both program and content 
standards needed for the effective operation of a quality early 
childhood program. It is estimated that approximately $20,000 
will be required to print and mail copies of the bulletin to each 
school within the state as well as other interested groups. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The adoption of these standards will provide for better 
accountability and quality early childhood programs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#100  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCForeign Language Immersion Program 

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 741CLouisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). The 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(SBESE) at its May 2003 meeting approved as Notice of 
Intent, the adding of a procedural block to Bulletin 741CThe 
Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators, Standard 
2.090.07, referencing foreign language immersion program 
guidelines developed by the Louisiana Consortium of 
Immersion Schools for students enrolled in foreign language 
immersion programs in grades kindergarten through 8 which 
are found in A Guide for Administrators of Elementary Level 
Second Language and Immersion Programs in Louisiana 
Schools (Formerly Bulletin 1536) (Revised 2003). The 
changes will assist districts in implementing foreign 
language immersion programs as proposed by the Louisiana 
Consortium of Immersion Schools. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269 (February 2002), LR 28:272 (February 2002), 
LR 28:991 (May 2002), LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29: 

Foreign Language Immersion Program 
2.090.07  An articulated elementary foreign language 
program for 30 minutes daily in grades 4 through 6 shall be 
required for academically able students and shall be optional 
for all others. 
 

An academically able student is defined as one who is Functioning at 
grade level as determined by the local school System. For special 
education students identified in accordance with The Pupil Appraisal 
Handbook (formerly Bulletin 1508), the IEP Committee shall 
determine the student's eligibility to receive foreign language 
instruction. 

 
Guidelines developed by the Louisiana Consortium of Immersion 
Schools for students enrolled in foreign language immersion programs 
in grades kindergarten through 8 are found in A Guide for 
Administrators of Elementary Level Second Language and Immersion 
Programs in Louisiana Schools (Formerly Bulletin 1536) (revised 
2003). 

 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 
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2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook  

for School AdministratorsCForeign  
Language Immersion Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed revision to Bulletin 741 will have no savings 

to state or local governmental units. The revision adds a 
procedural block referencing foreign language immersion 
guidelines which assist local school districts that elect to offer 
foreign language immersion programs. Local school districts 
do currently offer second language as well as foreign language 
immersion programs to meet the SBESE foreign language 
mandate requiring that all academically able students in grades 
4-8 be offered the opportunity to learn a foreign language 30 
minutes daily in grades 4 through 6 and 150 minutes per week 
in grades 7 and 8. This action will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $34.00 for advertising in the 
Louisiana Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no effects on costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no effects on costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no effects on competition and employment. 
 

Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#037  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCHigh School Diploma and Endorsements 

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 741CLouisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). The 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(SBESE) at its May 2003 meeting approved revisions to 
Bulletin 741CThe Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, Standard 2.099.02, to add to the graduation 
requirements a computer related course and an area of 
concentration as required by Career Options Law, and to add 
an optional Academic Endorsement and Career/Technical 
Endorsement to the standard diploma. The purpose of the 
diploma endorsements is to offer incentives to students to 
maximize their junior and senior years of high school and to 
encourage schools to offer more advanced courses as well as 
school-to-work opportunities to students. Also included in 
the revised policy are changes in the requirements for a 
standard diploma that are part of the Career Options Law. 
These changes require students to take a one-unit computer-
related course and complete an area of concentration. These 
changes will be effective for freshmen in 2003-04 and 
beyond. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269-271 (February 2002), LR 28:272-273 
(February 2002), LR 28:991-993 (May 2002), LR 28:1187 (June 
2002), LR 29: 

High School Diploma and Endorsements 
2.099.02  Standard Diploma 

Incoming freshmen 2003-2004 and thereafter meeting the 
Minimum Requirements for High School Graduation listed 
below and the requirements listed in 2.099.00 and 2.099.01, 
and completing four Carnegie units in an area of 
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concentration, including one course that incorporates 
computer applications, shall be eligible for a standard 
diploma. An area of concentration shall be courses selected 
to prepare students for postsecondary education and/or a 
career. 

The 23 units required for graduation shall include 16 
required units and 7 elective units; the elective units can be 
earned at technical colleges as provided in Standard 
2.103.35. 
Academic Endorsement 

Students meeting the requirements for a standard diploma, 
and satisfying the following performance indicators shall be 
eligible for an academic endorsement to a standard diploma. 

1. Students shall meet the current course requirements 
for the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) 
Opportunity Award. 

2. Students shall complete one additional Carnegie 
unit in mathematics, science, or social studies. 

3. Students shall pass all four components of the GEE 
21 with a score of Basic or above, or one of the following 
combinations of scores with the English Language Arts 
score at Basic or above: 

• One Approaching Basic, 1 Mastery or Advanced, 
Basic or above in the remaining two 

• Two Approaching Basic, 2 Mastery or above. 
4. Students shall complete one of the following 

requirements:  
• Senior Project 
• One Carnegie unit in an AP course with a score of 3 

or higher on the AP exam 
• One Carnegie unit in an IB course with a score of 4 or 

higher on the IB exam 
• Three college hours of non-remedial, articulated 

credit in mathematics, social studies, science, foreign 
language, or English Language Arts. 

5. Students shall meet the current minimum grade-
point average requirement for the TOPS Opportunity Award. 

6. Students shall achieve an ACT Composite Score of 
23. 
Career/Technical Endorsement 

Students meeting the requirements for a standard diploma, 
and satisfying the following performance indicators shall be 
eligible for a career/technical endorsement to a standard 
diploma. 

1. Students shall meet the current course requirements 
for the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) 
Opportunity Award or the TOPS Tech Award. 

2. Students shall pass the English Language Arts, 
mathematics, science, and social studies components of the 
GEE 21 at the Approaching Basic level or above. 

3. Students shall complete a minimum of ninety work 
hours of work-based learning experience (as defined in the 
SDE Diploma Endorsement Guidebook) and complete one 
of the following requirements: 

• Industry-based certification from the list of industry-
based certifications approved by BESE 

• Three Carnegie credits in a Career/Technical area that 
articulate to a postsecondary institution, either by 
actually obtaining the credits and/or being waved 
from having to take such hours. 

 
 

Industry-based certification is a portable, recognized credential 
(tangible evidence) that an individual has successfully demonstrated 
skill competencies on a core set of content and performance standards 
in a specific set of work-related tasks, single occupational area, or a 
cluster of related occupational areas. 
 
Articulated credit/dual enrollment is a program of study allowing high 
school students to earn credits toward a high school diploma and a 
postsecondary degree or certification simultaneously. Written 
agreements formalize programs of study, the transfer of academic and 
vocational credits among institutions, and the role of secondary and 
postsecondary instructors. 
 

4. Students shall meet the current minimum grade-
point average requirement for the TOPS Opportunity Award 
or the TOPS Tech Award. 

5. Students shall achieve the current minimum ACT 
Composite Score (or SAT Equivalent) for the TOPS 
Opportunity Award or the TOPS Tech Award. 

Minimum Requirements for High School Graduation 
(Effective for Incoming Freshmen 2003-2004 and thereafter) 
ENGLISH                    4 units 

Shall be English I, II, and III, in consecutive order; and 
English IV or Business English. 

MATHEMATICS                 3 units 
Shall be selected from the following courses and may 
include a maximum of 2 entry level courses (designated 
by E): Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), Algebra I-Part 
1 (E), Algebra I-Part 2, Integrated Mathematics I (E), 
Integrated Mathematics II, Integrated Mathematics III, 
Applied Mathematics I (E), Applied Mathematics II, 
Applied Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), Geometry, 
Algebra II, Financial Mathematics, Advanced 
Mathematics I, Advanced Mathematics II, Pre-Calculus,  

SCIENCE                    3 units 
Shall be 1 unit of Biology I; 
1 unit of Physical Science or Integrated Science (but not 
both), or Chemistry I, Physics I, or Physics of Technology 
I; 
1 unit from Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, 
Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics 
of Technology II, Agriscience I, Agriscience II, or any 
other course not already taken from the Physical Science 
cluster, or a locally designed elective. 

• If a student takes Physical Science or Integrated 
Science, s/he may then take Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I as the required science 
course. If a student takes Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I to fulfill the Physical Science 
requirement, s/he may not then take Physical Science 
or Integrated Science as the third required science 
course but may take such courses as one of the eight 
allowed elective graduation requirements. 

• Both Agriscience I and II must be completed for one 
unit of science credit. 

All Advanced Placement Science Courses will be accepted 
for credit. 

SOCIAL STUDIES                3 units 
Shall be American History, one-half unit of Civics, one-
half unit of Free Enterprise; and one of the following: 
World History, World Geography, or Western Civilization. 

HEALTH EDUCATION             1/2 unit 
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PHYSICAL EDUCATION          1 1/2 units 
Shall be Physical Education I and Physical Education II, 
or Adaptive Physical Education for eligible special 
education students. 

NOTE: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. A 
maximum of four units may be used toward graduation. 

COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY           1 unit 
Shall be taken from the following: 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 credit) 
Computer Applications or Business Computer 

Applications (1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1 credit) 
Computer Science I, II (1 credit each) 
Computer Systems and Networking I, II (1 credit each) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Multimedia Presentations (1 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications (1 credit) 
Word Processing (1 credit) 
Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications ( 1 credit) 
Technology Education Computer Applications (1 credit) 
Advanced Technical Drafting (1 credit) 

ELECTIVES                   8 units 
TOTAL                      23 units 

Refer to Standards 2.037.02 and 2.058.02 relative to 
appropriate student scheduling and counseling. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

I. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook  
for School AdministratorsCHigh School  

Diploma and Endorsements 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Bulletin 741, the Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, would be revised to add to the graduation 
requirements a computer related course and an area of 
concentration as required by Career options law, and to add an 
optional Academic Endorsement and Career/Technical 
Endorsement to the standard diploma. The proposed revision to 
Bulletin 741 will cost the Louisiana Department of Education 
approximately $20,000 to provide professional development to 
district personnel regarding Diploma Endorsements and $5,000 
for the production of materials. There should be no impact on 
local governmental units because of this proposed action. Some 
parts of the proposed policy, such as training Advanced 
Placement teachers or acquiring industry-based certification 
may require funds, but they are optional and the cost cannot be 
estimated. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no effects on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no effects on costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no effects on competition and employment. 
 

Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#038  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for  
School AdministratorsCNonpublic Schools 

(LAC 28:LXXIX.Chapters 1-37) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revision of Nonpublic Bulletin 741, Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators. The revised 
Nonpublic Bulletin 741 will be printed in codified format as 
Part LXXIX of the Louisiana Administrative Code. The 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education at its 
April 2003 meeting approved the revision of this bulletin 
which contains policies regulating the administration of 
nonpublic pre-K through 12 schools. Nonpublic Bulletin 741 
was revised to change or delete outdated information, to 
clarify language, and to bring policies in line with what is
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currently required for public schools. The document had not 
been revised since 1997. Some policy changes are as 
follows. 

The revised document allows for the flexible use of 
instructional time as is allowed for public schools. This 
policy allows secondary schools to use block scheduling. 
The policies regarding GEE 21 for schools awarding a state 
diploma are updated. The requirements for the BESE Honors 
Curriculum are revised to reflect the course requirements for 
nonpublic school students. The High School Program of 
Studies is updated to include recent changes. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Louisiana Handbook for  
Nonpublic School Administrators 

Chapter 1. Operation and Administration 
§101. General Authority 

A. The nonpublic school board or governing body shall 
pass a resolution establishing the nonpublic school and 
setting forth its goals and objectives. 

B. Nonpublic schools are designed to meet the needs of a 
specific group of students. Each nonpublic school will 
evaluate itself on the basis of its stated goals and objectives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§103. School Administration 

A. The educational program shall be designed to 
implement the stated goals and objectives and shall be 
directly related to the unique educational requirements of its 
student body. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§105. Philosophy and Purposes of School 

A. Each nonpublic school shall develop and maintain a 
written statement of its philosophy and/or mission statement 
and the major purposes to be served by its program. The 
statement shall reflect the individual character of the school 
and the characteristics and needs of the students it serves. 

B. The statement of philosophy and/or mission statement 
shall be reviewed annually and shall be revised as necessary. 

C. Written evidence that these requirements are being 
met shall be on file. 

D. Copies of the philosophy and/or mission statement 
shall be furnished to all staff members and made available to 
interested persons on request. 

E. Each school shall maintain on the file the following:  
1. written statement of philosophy and/or mission 

statement;  
2. goals and objectives for the current year; and  
3.  plan for implementation of these goals and 

objectives.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§107. School Approval 
A. In order to benefit from state and federal funds, each 

school shall have a state approval classification and shall be 
in compliance with Brumfield vs. Dodd. 

B. Each state-approved nonpublic school receiving state 
and/or federal funds shall permit all colleges, universities 
and branches of the military to have equal access to the 
schools for the purpose of college recruitment. 

C. When applying to the State Department of Education 
for a classification category, all nonpublic schools seeking 
state approval shall include all grades/programs taught at the 
school. 

1. Classification Categories. Schools shall be 
classified according to the following categories. 

a. Approved (A)Cschool meets all standards 
specified in Standards for Approval of Nonpublic Schools. 

b. Provisionally Approved (PA)Cschool has some 
deficiencies in standards, such as: class size and number(s) 
of the faculty teaching in an area of which qualifications 
specified are not met, etc. 

c. Probationally Approved (P)Cschool has one or 
more of the following deviations from standards: 
 i. principal does not hold a master's degree or 
principalship certification; 
 ii. non-degreed teacher with fewer than five years 
teaching experience is employed; 
 iii. school has been on provisional approval for the 
previous two years for the same deficiency. 

d. Unapproved (U)Cschool maintains any of the 
above-mentioned deviations from standards which placed it 
in the probationally approved category the preceding year. A 
school may not maintain a probationally approved category 
for two consecutive years. A school which loses annual 
school approval shall become ineligible for state and federal 
funding. 

D. The Department of Education shall submit to the 
SBESE a yearly report recommending the classification 
status of the nonpublic schools in accordance with the 
nonpublic school standards. 

E. After the Annual School Reports are submitted by the 
State Department of Education to the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) for approval, 
all nonpublic schools seeking to change their classification 
category must submit their request to the SBESE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§109. Initial Classification 

A. Schools seeking initial approval must be qualified to 
be classified as either approved or provisionally approved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§111. Re-Applying for State Approval 

A. An unapproved school reapplying for state approval 
must qualify as either approved or provisionally approved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§113. Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten 

A. The local educational governing authority shall have 
the option of establishing a pre-kindergarten and/or 
kindergarten program on a half-day or full-day schedule. 

B. The pre-kindergarten program shall be listed on the 
annual school report when operated as a developmental 
program within the total school program. 

C. Any other program which operates in a school as a 
childcare program shall follow the day care standards as 
prescribed by the appropriate state agency and is not to be 
listed on the annual school report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§115. Minimum Session/Instructional Day 

A. Each school shall adopt a calendar for a minimum 
session of 180 days, of which at least 175 days consisting of 
330 minutes of instructional time, or the equivalent, shall be 
scheduled. 

1. If a daily schedule must be abbreviated, the class 
schedule must be abbreviated in such a manner to ensure 
that all classes are taught during partial days, except in self-
contained classrooms. 

2. Each school may include in its calendar a provision 
for dismissal of senior students prior to the end of the school 
year. This provision is not to exceed 10 days of instructional 
time. 

B. If a local school does not meet at least 175 school 
days, the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (SBESE) shall require the school to adjust its 
calendar to meet the minimum days of required instructional 
time by such means as Saturday classes, reduced holidays, 
expanded calendar length, etc. 

1. A school system and/or independent school shall 
notify the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (SBESE) immediately when the minimum 
number of days of required instructional time cannot be met 
in crises such as fire, natural disasters, and so forth. 

2. An alternate proposal to the original school 
calendar which meets the minimum number of 175 days or 
annual instructional minutes shall also be provided by the 
school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§117. Written Policies 

A. Each school system and/or independent school shall 
have written policies and/or regulations governing the 
general operation of the school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§119. Emergency Planning and Procedures 

A. Each school system and/or independent school shall 
have written plans and procedures that address the 

immediate response to emergency situations that may 
develop in the school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§121. Personnel 

A. No person who has been convicted of or has plead 
nolo contendere to a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(c) shall be 
hired by a nonpublic school for a position of supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over school children unless approved 
in writing by a district judge of the parish and by the district 
attorney. 

B. Any employee hired after September 30, 1987, must 
request in writing, a criminal history review through the 
Department of Public Safety on the form prepared by the 
Bureau of Criminal Identification.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 3. Certification of Personnel 
§301. Principal 

A. A nonpublic school principal, assistant principal, or 
headmaster must hold a master's degree in any area from an 
accredited institution or have principalship on his Louisiana 
teaching certificate. The principal is to be a full-time, on-site 
employee. (The principal may be a teacher as well as the 
educational administrator of the school.) 

B. Assistant principals who do not meet minimum 
qualifications may be retained in a school provided they 
were employed in that school during the 1992-93 school 
year as an assistant principal. 

C. A list of these assistant principals is to be maintained 
on file in the State Department of Education. Upon their 
retirement or replacement, these assistant principals must be 
replaced with properly qualified personnel under the 
nonpublic school standards. These individuals may not be 
transferred or employed by another school unless they meet 
the requirements stated in the above standard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§303. Instructional Staff 

A.1. All members of the instructional staff teaching 
secular subjects, pre-kindergarten through 12, shall have 
received a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited 
institution. 

2. They shall also have completed a minimum of 12 
semester hours of professional education courses. A 
beginning teacher shall have a two-year period in which to 
meet this 12-semester hour standard. The teacher shall be 
required to have a certificate or college major in the field of 
work for which the teacher is responsible during one half or 
more of the school day or shall have earned credits in the 
required specific specialized academic courses as described 
in Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for State Certification 
of School Personnel. A teacher may work in areas other than 
the major field for a period of time that is less than one-half
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of the school day provided that he has earned at least 12 
semester hours in each such area. (Exception may be made 
for teachers in Trade and Industrial Education classes.) 

a. Teachers of the pre-kindergarten class shall be 
qualified in either elementary, kindergarten, or nursery 
school or have earned 12 hours in child growth and 
development. The 12 hours in child growth and development 
may be earned through the College of Education or the 
Department/School of Family and Consumer Sciences. 

b. Teachers of the kindergarten class shall be 
qualified in either elementary or kindergarten or have earned 
12 hours in child growth and development. The 12 hours in 
child growth and development may be earned through the 
College of Education or the Department/School of Family 
and Consumer Sciences. 

c. Staff members teaching religion at the high 
school level (9-12) for Carnegie units must have a minimum 
of a bachelor's degree. Staff members teaching religion that 
do not meet minimum qualifications may be retained in a 
school provided they were employed during the 1995-96 
school year as teachers of religion. 

B. Professional and/or technical personnelCe.g., C.P.A.s, 
doctors, college or university professors, lab technicians, 
lawyers, and so forth, may teach less than one-half of a 
school day in their area of expertise. 

C. Non-degreed teachers having taught for a period of at 
least five years prior to September 1, 1977, may be rehired 
in a school provided their teaching performance was 
satisfactory; however, these teachers are eligible to teach 
only in the subject areas as listed prior to September 1, 1977. 
Upon retirement or replacement, these teachers must be 
replaced with degreed teachers eligible under the nonpublic 
school standards. 

D. Credentials for graduates of foreign universities or 
colleges may be accepted by the local administrator, as 
qualified to teach in nonpublic schools subject to the review 
by the Nonpublic School Commission. 

1. Applicants with foreign credentials seeking state 
certification should follow procedures as outlined by the 
State Department. 

E. Teachers in nonpublic schools seeking state 
certification shall follow the approved procedure.  

1. Secondary and elementary personnel may teach 
grades pre K-12 in their qualified areas.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§305. Professional Staff Development 

A. Regular and planned faculty meetings on professional 
issues shall be held. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

Chapter 5. Records and Reports 
Subchapter A. Maintenance and Use of School Records 

and Reports 
§501. General 

A. The school shall maintain accurate and current 
information on students, personnel, instructional programs, 
facilities, and finances. 

B. There shall be procedures in place to ensure 
confidentiality and parental access to records, in accordance 
with applicable law.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§503. School Records 

A. Each school shall maintain necessary records for the 
effective operation of the school.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§505. Student Records 

A. Each school shall keep records which shall provide 
for the registration and attendance of students and shall 
maintain an up-to-date permanent record of individual 
students showing personal data and progress through school. 

B. Schools shall not reveal a student's confidential 
records, except by his or her parents/guardian consent, or for 
the purpose of the state's conduct of other activities, e.g., 
Department of Health and Human Resources surveying and 
monitoring of personnel, or use by other educational 
institutions and law enforcement officials, or by the order of 
a court, or pursuant to the Family Educational Rights and 
Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. 1232g, et seq., and 34 CFR, et seq. 

C. If a school discontinues its operation, it must provide 
the parent or receiving school with an up-to-date copy of the 
permanent student record, if requested. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§507. Use of School Records 

A. Student records shall be reviewed regularly, and 
results shall be used for instructional planning, student 
guidance, and placement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§509. Transfer of Student Records from Approved 

Schools 
A. A student transferred from a state-approved school, 

in- or out-of-state, will be allowed credit for work completed 
in the former school. When a student transfers from one
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school to another, a properly certified transcript, showing the 
students record of attendance, achievement, and the units of 
credit earned are required. 

B. Every nonpublic school, approved or nonapproved, 
shall provide written notification directly to the public 
school in which the student was previously enrolled. This 
notification shall take place within 10 days of enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§511. Transfer of Student Records from Schools That 

Are Not State Approved 
A. Local school principals from any state-approved 

school receiving a student from an unapproved school, in- or 
out-of-state, will determine the placement and/or credits for 
the student. The principal and/or superintendent may require 
the student to take an entrance examination on any subject 
matter for which credit is claimed. The school issuing the 
high school diploma shall account for all the credit required 
for graduation, and its records will show when and where the 
credit was earned. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§513. Students Transferring from Home Study 

A. The school shall adhere to the policies and procedures 
established by the school system/school for students entering 
the system from an approved home study program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§515. Students Transferring from Foreign Schools 

A. The school shall determine placement of students 
transferring from foreign schools. This determination shall 
be accepted by the State Department of Education (SDE). 

B. Credits earned by students in American schools in 
foreign countries shall be accepted at face value. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§517. Textbook Records 

A. A record of all state-purchased textbooks shall be 
kept. This shall include textbooks on hand at the beginning 
of the session, those added, and those lost or worn-out.  

B. State funds allocated for buying textbooks shall be 
used to buy books on the state-adopted textbook lists and 
academically related ancillary materials according to the 
state guidelines. 

1. Local schools may use state textbook dollars for the 
purchase of non-adopted instructional materials, when they 
are purchasing instructional materials for grades K-3 that are 
manipulative concrete materials, or gross motor materials; or 
when they do not exceed 10 percent of the total state 
textbook allocation. 

2. Schools may petition in writing the State 
Department of Education for permission to spend in excess 
of the 10 percent allowance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§519. Health Records 

A. A health record shall be maintained on each student 
from pre-kindergarten through grade 12. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter B. School Reports 
§525. General 

A. Reports required by the State Department of 
Education and BESE shall be made on appropriate forms, 
shall contain accurate information, and shall be returned by 
the specified date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§527. Annual School Report 

A. Each nonpublic school shall submit an annual school 
report to the appropriate division within the State 
Department of Education, according to the established time 
line. 

B. By October 15, the principal shall forward a report 
through the nonpublic superintendent's or administrator's 
office, to the State Department of Education, on forms 
provided for that purpose. This report shall be signed by the 
administrative head of the school. One copy shall be filed 
with the nonpublic school superintendent's or administrator's 
office and another copy shall be filed in the principal's 
office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§529. Annual Financial and Statistical Report 

A. Information required for the completion of the annual 
financial and statistical report shall be recorded on forms 
furnished by the State Department of Education. 

B. A copy of this report shall be filed in the principal's 
office and a copy forwarded to the appropriate office in the 
State Department of Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§531. Reports of High School Credits 

A. Before a student may graduate from a nonpublic high 
school, a certificate of high school credits (transcript) shall 
be submitted to and approved by the State Department of 
Education. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§533. Other Reports 

A. Any other records and reports applicable to nonpublic 
schools that may be required by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) or the State 
Department of Education shall be submitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 7. Scheduling 
§701. General 

A. The purpose of scheduling within available time 
frames and staff resources shall be to meet educational needs 
of students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§703. Secondary Scheduling 

A. The minimum length of periods for any high school 
class in which a Carnegie unit is earned shall be no less than 
55 minutes of instructional time in a six-period day and no 
less than 50 minutes of time in a seven-period day. 

B. The minimum length of any high school class in 
which one-half Carnegie unit of credit is earned shall be no 
less than one-half of the total minutes required for one full 
Carnegie unit of credit. 

C. Any high school class scheduled for a 90 minute per 
period block of instructional time must meet for a minimum 
of one full semester, or the equivalent, in order to earn a 
Carnegie unit. 

D. The schedule of subjects offered in the program of 
studies may be arranged by school principals in order to 
reduce or increase the number of class periods per week 
provided that the yearly aggregate time requirements are 
met. 

E. Significant accommodations and/or modifications 
may be made for special education students in accordance 
with the Individualized Education Program (IEP), provided 
that the integrity of the Carnegie unit is not diminished. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§705. Length of the School Day 

A. The minimum instructional day for a full-day 
kindergarten program shall be 330 minutes and for a one-
half day kindergarten program, the minimum instructional 
day shall be 165 minutes. 

B. For grades 1-12, the minimum school day shall 
include 330 minutes of instructional time exclusive of 
recess, lunch, and planning periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§707. Class Size and Ratio 
A. The maximum enrollment allowed in any class or 

section shall not exceed 35 students except in certain activity 
classes such as physical education, music, art, etc. 

B. The class size for pre-kindergarten developmental 
programs shall not exceed 20 children for one teacher. 
Schools that choose to use the assistance of a full-time aide 
may have a maximum of 30 children per class. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 9. Reporting Student Progress 
§901. Reporting Student Progress to Parents 

A. Reports covering the students' achievement and 
progress shall be made to parents or guardians periodically. 
These reports shall contain an evaluation of the pupil's 
scholastic achievement and conduct. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 11. Review and Evaluation 
§1101. School Self-Evaluation 

A. School self-evaluation shall be used to effect 
improvement in the purposes of the school and in the 
understanding of pupils, instructional methods, and 
educational outcomes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 13. Student Services 
§1301. Attendance 

A. Students who have attained the age of seven years 
shall attend a public or private day school or participate in an 
approved home study program until they reach the age of 17 
years; however, a student between the ages of 16 and 17 
years of age may withdraw from school with the written 
consent of his parent, tutor, or legal guardian. 

B.1. A student is considered to be in attendance when he 
or she: 

a. is physically present at a school site or is 
participating in an authorized school activity; and  

b. is under the supervision of authorized personnel. 
2. This definition for attendance would extend to 

students who are homebound, assigned to and participating 
in drug rehabilitation programs that contain a state-approved 
education component, or participating in school-authorized 
field trips. 

a. Half-Day Attendance. A student is considered to 
be in attendance for one-half day when he or she: 
 i. is physically present at a school site or is 
participating in an authorized school activity; and  
 ii. is under the supervision of authorized 
personnel for more than 25 percent but not more than half 
(26 percent-50 percent) of the student's instructional day. 

b. Whole-Day Attendance. A student is considered 
to be in attendance for a whole day when he or she:  
 i. is physically present at a school site or is 
participating in an authorized school activity; and  
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 ii. is under the supervision of authorized 
personnel for more than 50 percent (51 percent-100 percent) 
of the student's instructional day. 

C. In order to be eligible to receive grades, high school 
students shall be in attendance a minimum of 80 days per 
course each semester or 160 days per course during a school 
year for schools not operating on a semester basis. 
Elementary students shall be in attendance a minimum of 
160 days a school year. 

1. Students attending high school classes operating in 
90 minute blocks of instructional time shall be in attendance 
80 days, or its equivalent, in order to be eligible to receive 
grades. 

D. Each school shall develop and implement a system 
whereby a student's parent, tutor, or legal guardian is given 
notice when that student has been excessively absent from 
school and at intervals thereafter. This notification shall be 
provided each semester for those high schools operating on a 
semester basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§1303. Extenuating Circumstances 

A. Exception to the attendance policy can be made only 
in the event of extended personal illness, verified by a 
physician, or at the discretion of the principal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§1305. Entrance Requirements 

A. All students, upon entering Louisiana schools for the 
first time, shall present: 

1. an official birth certificate; 
2. a record of immunization; and 
3. an official Social Security Card. 

B. If no official Social Security Card is available, the 
student shall be assigned an identification number by the 
school. Other official records may be used for verification 
upon the discretion of appropriate school officials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§1307. Age Requirements 

A. The minimum age for kindergarten shall be one year 
younger than the age requirement for that child to enter first 
grade. 

B. Each school system and/or independent school may 
adopt by rule and enforce ages for entrance into first grade in 
school. It is recommended that a child entering first grade be 
six years of age on or before September 30 of that school 
year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

Chapter 15. Health 
§1501. Immunization 

A. The school principal of each school shall be 
responsible for checking student records to ensure that 
immunization requirements are enforced. Refer to R.S. 
17:170. 

B. After parental notification that a student's 
immunization schedule is not up-to-date, the student shall be 
excluded from school until evidence has been presented that 
the required immunization program is in progress or unless 
Section E of R.S. 17:170 is invoked. Refer to R.S. 17:170 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 17. Preventive Programs 
§1701. Substance Abuse 

A. Each school is encouraged to include in the 
curriculum a program of substance abuse prevention.  

B. Each school shall develop a method by which to mark 
drug free zones, including the use of signs or other markings 
suitable to the situation. Signs or other markings shall be 
located in a visible manner on or near each school and on 
and in each school bus indicating that such area is a drug 
free zone, that such zone extends to one thousand feet of 
school property, and that a felony violation of the Uniform 
Controlled Dangerous Substances Law will subject the 
offender to severe penalties under law. Refer to R.S. 17:405. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§1703. Abuse 

A. Any school employee having reasonable cause to 
believe that a student has been mentally, physically, or 
sexually abused shall report these facts to the appropriate 
authorities. 

B. Any person making a report in good faith regarding 
child abuse shall have immunity from civil liability that may 
be otherwise incurred. Refer to R.S. 14:403. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§1705. Weapons 

A. Carrying a firearm or dangerous weapon, as defined 
in R.S. 14:2(3), by a student or non-student on school 
property, at a school function, or in a firearm-free zone is 
unlawful and shall be defined as possession of any firearm 
or dangerous weapon, on one's person, at any time while on 
a school campus, on school transportation, or at any school-
sponsored function in a specific designated area including, 
but not limited to, athletic competitions, dances, parties, or 
any extracurricular activities, or within one thousand feet of 
any school campus. Refer to R.S.14:95.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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§1707. Search and Seizure 
A. It is recommended that each school shall adopt a 

policy to provide for reasonable search and seizure by school 
teachers, by principals, and by other school administrators, 
of students' desks, lockers, or other school areas for illegal 
drugs, weapons, alcohol, stolen goods, or other material or 
objects. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 19. Building Operation and Maintenance 
§1901. Building and Maintenance 

A. The school site and building shall include appropriate 
physical facilities and custodial services to meet the needs of 
the education program and to safeguard the health and safety 
of the pupils in each school. 

B. Each school system/independent school must be in 
compliance with any state or local regulations regarding 
health and safety. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 21. Instructional Support 
§2101. School Libraries/Media Centers 

A. It is recommended that all school libraries and media 
centers provide students access to information through 
monitored electronic formats. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2103. Elementary Libraries/Media Centers 

A. It is recommended that elementary schools with a 
centralized library/media center have a trained 
librarian/media specialist for at least 20 hours per week. This 
person does not have to be a certified librarian, but should 
have at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited 
institution. 

B. It is recommended that elementary schools have 
library books at the ratio of 10 volumes per pupil. Three 
subscriptions per 100 students are recommended for 
elementary schools.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2105. Secondary Libraries/Media Centers 

A. Secondary schools with more than 350 students are 
required to have a full-time librarian with at least 18 hours of 
library science or certification in library science. Secondary 
schools with fewer than 350 students are required to have a 
part-time librarian with at least 12 hours of library science or 
certification in library science. 

B. Secondary schools are recommended to have library 
books at the ratio of 10 volumes per pupil. Three 
subscriptions per 100 students are recommended for 
secondary schools.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 23. Support Services 
§2301. Transportation 

A. If transportation is not provided by the public school 
board, parents of students attending nonpublic schools shall 
be reimbursed for transportation, provided funds are 
appropriated. Refer to R.S. 17: 158.C, D, H. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2303. School Food Service 

A. Any recognized school of high school grade or under 
shall be eligible to participate in the school food service 
programs administered by the State Department of 
Education, provided that requirements set forth in the 
agreements with the local educational governing authority 
are met. 

B. Reimbursement payments shall be made only to 
schools operating under an agreement between the school's 
governing body, called "school food authority" in the 
agreement and the State Department of Education (SDE). 
Agreements shall be signed by the designated representative 
of each school's governing body. Agreements shall be 
renewed by a signed statement annually unless an 
amendment is necessary. These agreements may be 
terminated by either party or may be canceled at any time by 
the State Department of Education upon evidence that terms 
of agreements have not been fully met. 

C. Participating schools shall adhere to conditions of 
agreement as stipulated in Louisiana Food and Nutrition 
Programs, Policies of Operation, Bulletin 1196, and all other 
applicable State and Federal laws regulations, policies, and 
requirements established for the school food service 
program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 25. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter A. General 
§2501. Curriculum 

A. The school shall plan and implement a continuous 
program of skills, concepts, and instruction in a learning 
environment designed to promote excellence in order that 
every individual may be afforded an equal opportunity to 
develop to his/her potential. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter B. Elementary Program of Studies 
§2503. Minimum Time Requirements 

A. Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten 
1. The pre-kindergarten and/or kindergarten should be 

planned to meet the developmental needs of young children 
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and should be informal in nature, with teacher-directed and 
student-initiated activities. 

2.a. Suggested time requirements for pre-kindergarten 
are as follows. 

 
Teacher-directed activities  
(whole or small group) 

  
35 percent 

Student-initiated activities 
(learning center) 

  
35 percent 

Snack and restroom time 10 percent 
Lunch, rest period and/or quiet activities 20 percent 

 
b. The above suggested time requirements shall be 

flexibly scheduled to meet the developmental needs of 
young students. 

3.a. Suggested Time Requirements for Kindergarten 
are as follows. 

 
Teacher-directed activities 
(whole or small group)  

  
40 percent 

Student-initiated activities 
(learning center)  

  
35 percent 

Snack and restroom time  10 percent 
Lunch, rest period and/or quiet activities 15 percent 

 
b. The above minimum suggested time 

requirements shall be flexibly scheduled to meet the 
developmental needs of young students. 

B. Elementary Schools 
1. Nonpublic elementary schools shall devote no less 

than 50 percent of the school day to the skill subjects: 
reading, language arts, and mathematics. The remainder of 
the school day may be devoted to such subjects as social 
studies, arts, religion, science, physical education, or other 
electives. 

2. The following elementary program of studies will 
be followed for nonpublic elementary schools. 

 
Program of Studies 

for Nonpublic Elementary Schools 
Self-Contained Classrooms 

Subject Percent of School Day 
Reading 50% (minimum) 
Language Arts   
Mathematics   
    
Social Studies   
Fine Arts   
Science 50% (maximum) 
Physical Education/Health   
Religion and/or Electives   

 
3. An articulated elementary foreign language 

program is recommended for academically able students and 
optional for all others. 

4. The above minimum time requirements shall apply 
to all students performing at or above grade levels in 
language arts and mathematics. Subject to review and 
approval of the principal, teachers may vary the daily 
schedule for the various subject time requirements as long as 
the weekly aggregate of time for each subjects is in 
accordance with the above. 

5. For students performing below grade level in 
language arts or mathematics, teachers may increase the 

daily/weekly time in language arts or mathematics by 
reducing instructional time in other subjects. 

 
Departmental Classes 
6-Period Day Option 

  Periods per Week Minimum 
Language Arts 5 55 
Mathematics and Introduction 
to Algebra 5 55 
Social Studies (LA Studies & 
Am. History) 5 55 
Science 5 55 
Health and Physical Education, 
Religion and/or Electives 10 10 
  330 minutes per day 

 
Departmental Classes 
6-Period Day Option 

  Periods 
per Week 

Minimum 

Language Arts 5 50 
Mathematics and Introduction to 
Algebra 5 50 
Social Studies (LA Studies & Am. 
History) 5 50 
Science 5 50 
Health and Physical Education, 
Religion and/or Electives 5 50 
  330 minutes per day 

 
6. Grades 7 and 8 (including grade 6 when grouped 

with grades 7 and 8) may offer electives from the following: 
a. Reading; 
b. Mathematics; 
c. Writing; 
d. Social Studies; 
e. Exploratory Agriscience; 
f. Exploratory Technology Education Science: 

 i. Construction; 
 ii. Manufacturing; 
 iii. Communication;  
 iv. Transportation;  
 v. Production; 

g. Exploratory Family and Consumer Sciences;  
h. Art; 
i. Foreign Languages;  
j. Instrumental or Vocal Music; 
k. Keyboarding/Typing;  
l. Speech;  
m. Computer Literacy/Computer Science. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2505. Adding Electives to the Program of Studies for 

Middle Schools 
A. A school choosing to add an elective course to its 

program of studies shall apply to the director of the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessments, State Department of 
Education (SDE), at least 30 days prior to the anticipated 
date of implementation. 

B. The application for an elective course shall be signed 
by the school principal and superintendent, if applicable, and 
shall contain the following information: 
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1. detailed outline of course content; 
2. time requirements (minutes per day; days per year 

or semester); 
3. detailed course objectives and how they shall be 

measured; 
4. qualifications of the instructor; 
5. when the course is to begin; 
6. approximate number of students; 
7. criteria for enrollment. 

C. If the course is to be offered for the succeeding school 
year, an end-of-the-year evaluation shall be sent, along with 
the second and third year applications, to the Division of 
Student Standards and Assessments, for determining its 
continuation. 

D. After an elective course has been in effect for three 
successive school years and the school wants the course to 
be a permanent part of its curriculum, the school principal 
and/or superintendent, if applicable, shall apply by letter to 
the Director of the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments, Department of Education for permission to 
include it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Secondary Schools 
§2507. Unit of Credit 

A. The basic unit of high school credit shall be the 
Carnegie unit. One unit of credit shall be equivalent to one 
Carnegie unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2509. High School Graduation Requirements 

A. A student shall complete a minimum of 23 Carnegie 
units of credit in an individual program which shall be 
cooperatively planned by the student, the student's parents, 
and the school to meet high school graduation requirements. 

B. The 23 units required for graduation shall include 15 
required units and 8 elective units. 

C. Minimum Requirements (Effective for Incoming 
Freshmen 1999-2000 and Thereafter). 

1. EnglishC4 units, shall be English I, II, and III, in 
consecutive order; and English IV or Business English. 

2. MathematicsC3 units, shall be selected from the 
following courses and may include a maximum of 2 entry 
level courses (designated by E): 

a. Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), Algebra I-
Part 1 (E); 

b. Algebra 1-Part 2, Integrated Mathematics I (E), 
Integrated; 

c. Mathematics II, Integrated Mathematics III, 
Applied; 

d. Mathematics 1 (E), Applied Mathematics II, 
Applied; 

e. Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), Geometry, 
Algebra II, Financial; 

f. Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I, 
Advanced Mathematics II; 

g. Pre-Calculus, Calculus, Probability and Statistics, 
and Discrete Mathematics. 

3. ScienceC3 units, shall be 1 unit of Biology I; 1 unit 
of Physical Science or Integrated Science (but not both), 
Chemistry I, Physics I, or Physics of Technology I; 1 unit 
from Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Earth 
Science, Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics of 
Technology II, Agriscience I, Agriscience II, or any other 
course not already taken from the Physical Science cluster, 
or a locally designed elective.  

a. If a student takes Physical Science or Integrated 
Science, s/he may then take Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I as the required science course. 

b. If a student takes Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I to fulfill the Physical Science 
requirement, he may not then take Physical Science or 
Integrated Science as the third required science course but 
may take such courses as one of the eight allowed elective 
graduation requirements. 

c. Both Agriscience I and II must be completed for 
one unit of science credit. 

4. Social StudiesC3 units, shall be American History; 
one-half unit of Civics, one-half unit of Free Enterprise or 
one full unit of Civics; and one of the following: World 
History, World Geography, or Western Civilization. 

5. Health and Physical EducationC2 units, shall be 
Health and Physical Education I and Health and Physical 
Education II, or Adapted Physical Education for eligible 
special education students. 

Note: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. A maximum 
of four units may be used toward graduation. 

6. Electives (Including a maximum of four credits in 
religion)C8 units. 

7. TotalC23 units. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2511. Graduation Exit Examination 

A. Any approved nonpublic school may award a school 
diploma to any student who meets the state minimum high 
school graduation requirements. 

B.1. Any approved nonpublic school that participates in 
the state Graduation Exit Examination (GEE 21) shall award 
a state and/or school diploma to a student who successfully 
completes the state's minimum graduation requirements and 
successfully pass English/Language Arts and Mathematics 
and either Science or Social Studies components of the 
examination. 

2. A student who attends a school that opts to 
administer the test but who does not successfully complete 
the state's minimum graduation requirements and required 
components of the examination shall not be eligible for 
either a state or a school diploma. 

C.1. Any state-approved nonpublic school that wishes to 
award the state diploma to its students shall contact the state 
department for time lines and other administrative guidelines 
for administering the State Exit Testing Program. 

2. Any nonpublic school that opts to give the 
graduation exit examination shall follow rules and 
regulations set by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 
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D. Any approved nonpublic school that does not choose 
to administer the state graduation exit examination to its 
students may grant a school diploma, which shall carry the 
same privileges as one issued by a state-approved public 
school. 

E. The awarding of high school diplomas shall in no way 
effect the school approval classifications of any school (see 
Addendum for The State Test Security Policy). 

F. Honors Curriculum (Effective for incoming freshmen 
1997-98 and thereafter) 

1. EnglishC4 Units 
a. English I, II, III, IV (No substitutions) 

2. MathematicsC4 Units 
a. Algebra I or Applied Mathematics I and II; 
b. Algebra II;  
c. Geometry or Applied Geometry; and  
d. one additional unit to be selected from Pre-

Calculus, Calculus, Advanced Mathematics I or II. 
3. Natural ScienceC3 Units 

a. Biology; 
b.  Chemistry; and  
c. Environmental Science; 
d. Physics or Physics of Technology. 

4. Social StudiesC3 Units 
a. United States History;  
b. World History; and  
c. World Geography or Western Civilization. 

5. Free Enterprise (1/2 unit) and Civics (1/2 unit), or 
Civics (1 unit)C1 Unit  

6. Fine Arts SurveyC1 Unit, any two units of credit in 
band, orchestra, choir, dance, art or drama may be 
substituted for one unit of Fine Arts Survey. 

7. Foreign Language (in same language)C2 Units. 
8. Health and Physical EducationC2 Units. 
9. ElectivesC4 Units. 
10. TotalC24 Units. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2513. State Diplomas 

A. A nonpublic high school choosing to issue a state 
diploma shall meet state requirements.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2515. Special Requirements 

A. Each school shall follow established procedures for 
special requirements for high school graduation that will 
allow each school to address individual differences of all 
students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2517. High School Credit for Elementary Students 

A.1. An elementary student shall be eligible to receive 
high school credit in a course listed in the program of studies 
provided that: 

a. the time requirement for the awarding of a 
Carnegie unit is met; 

b. the teacher is qualified at the secondary level in 
the course taught; and 

c. the student has mastered the set standards of the 
course taken; or 

d. the student has passed the credit examination in 
the subject taken, mastering the set standards for the course. 

2. Credit 
a. The school system may grant credit on either a 

letter grade or a pass or fail (P/F) basis, provided there is 
consistency system wide. The course title, year taken, P/F 
(pass or fail) or the letter grade and unit of credit shall be 
entered on the Certificate of High school Credits (transcript). 
High School Credit (H.S.C.) must be indicated in the 
remarks column. 

b. Credit shall be granted on a pass or fail (P/F) 
basis only. The course title, year taken, P/F (pass or fail), and 
unit of credit earned shall be entered on the certificate of 
high school credits (transcript). Credit examination (C.E.) 
must be indicated in the remarks column. 

c. If a credit examination has not been developed in 
a subject area, the school may submit an examination 
developed locally. The testing instrument and the passing 
score must be approved by the Division of Student Standards 
and Assessments, State Department of Education. Credit or 
credit examinations may be given in the following subjects:  
 i. Computer Literacy;  
 ii. Computer Science I-II; 
 iii. English I-IV; 
 iv. Advanced Mathematics I-II; 
 v. Algebra I-II; 
 vi. Calculus; 
 vii. Geometry; and 
 viii. Keyboarding. 

d. Additionally, credit may be given in all courses 
listed in the Program of Studies in Foreign Languages, 
Science, and Social Studies. The Bureau of Secondary 
Education Division of Student Standards and Assessments, 
State Department of Education may make exceptions, upon 
request of the school principal. 

B. A request for the state examination shall be made by 
the school principal, prior to the close of the school term to 
the Department of Education. The test shall be administered 
within one week after it has been received from the 
Department of Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2519. Proficiency Examination for High School 

Students 
A. High school credit shall be granted to a student 

following the students passing of a proficiency examination 
for the eligible course. Refer to §513 for students 
transferring from an approved Home Study Program. 

1. A proficiency examination shall be made available 
to a student when a school official believes that a student has 
mastered eligible subject matter and has reached the same or 
a higher degree of proficiency as that of a student who 
successfully completed an equivalent course at the regular 
high school or college level. 
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2. The testing instrument and the passing score shall 
be submitted for approval to the State Department of 
Education. The course title, year taken, P/F (pass or fail) and 
unit of credit earned shall be entered on the certificate of 
high school credits (transcript). Minimum proficiency 
standards (M.P.S.) must be indicated in the remarks column. 

B. Students shall not be allowed to take proficiency 
examinations in courses previously completed in high school 
or at a level below that which they have completed. 

1. Proficiency examinations may be given in the 
following subjects: Computer Literacy, Computer Science I-
II, English I-IV, Advanced Mathematics I-II, Algebra I-II, 
Calculus, Geometry, and Keyboarding/Keyboarding 
Applications. 

2. Additionally, credit may be given in all courses 
listed in the Program of Studies in foreign languages, science 
and social studies. Exceptions may be made by the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessment, State Department of 
Education, upon request of the local superintendent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2521. Advanced Placement Program 

A. High school credit shall be granted to a student 
successfully completing an advanced placement course or a 
course designated as advanced placement regardless of his 
test score on the examination provided by the college board.  

B. Courses Listed in the Program of Studies 
1. Procedures established by the college board must 

be followed. 
2. Courses listed in the Program of Studies may be 

designated as advanced placement courses, without 
permission from the State Department of Education, by 
inserting the words advanced placement in parentheses 
following the title on the certificate of high school credits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2523. Service Credit 

A. Two units of elective credit toward high school 
graduation shall be awarded to any member of the United 
State Armed Forces, their reserve components, the National 
Guard, or to any honorably discharged veteran who has 
completed his/her basic training, upon presentation of a 
military record attesting to such completion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 27. High School Program of Studies 
§2701. General 

A. The high school shall provide a comprehensive 
college preparatory and/or vocational curriculum. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§2703. General and Academic Course Offerings 
A. One-half unit of credit may be awarded by the local 

school authority for all one-unit courses listed in the 
academic and vocational course offerings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2705. Art 

A. Art course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Art I, II, III, IV 1 each 

 
B. Fine Arts Survey (Art). Fine arts survey shall be 

taught by a certified art teacher and the other semester by a 
certified music teacher. If one or both of these teachers is not 
available, the principal is authorized to select the most 
qualified teacher, preferably one with a strong liberal arts or 
humanities background.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2707. Computer Education  

A. Computer education/technology course offerings shall 
be as follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Computer Applications 1 
Computer Architecture Occupations 1 
Computer Science I 1 
Computer Science II 1 
Computer Systems and Networking 1 
Computer Systems and Networking I 1 
Computer/Technology Literacy 1/2 
Desktop Publishing 1/2 
Digital Graphics and Animation 1/2 
Multimedia Productions 1 
Web Mastering 1/2 
Independent Study in Technology Application 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2709. Driver Education 

A. Driver Education course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Driver Education and Traffic Safety 1/2 

 
B. English. Four units of English shall be required for 

graduation. They shall be English I, II, and III in consecutive 
order; and English IV or Business English. The English 
course offerings shall be as follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

English I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Business English 1 
Reading I, II 1 each 
English as Second Language (ESL) I, II, III 1 each 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2711. English as a Second Language (ESL) 

A. Only students who have limited English proficiency 
are permitted to enroll in English as a Second Language 
(ESL) courses.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2713. Foreign Languages 

A. The foreign language course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Chinese I, II, III, IV 1 each 
French I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
German I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Greek I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Hebrew I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Italian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Latin I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Russian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Spanish I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2715. Health and Physical Education  

A. Two units of Health and Physical Education shall be 
required for graduation. They shall be Health and Physical 
Education I and Health and Physical Education II, or 
Adapted Physical Education for eligible special education 
students. The Health and Physical Education course 
offerings shall be as follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Adapted Physical 1 each 
Health and Physical Education I-IV 1 each 

 
1. It is recommended that Physical Education I and II 

be taught in the ninth and tenth grades. 
2. A minimum of 30 hours of Health Instruction shall 

be taught in each of the two required Health and Physical 
Education units. 

3. Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) is required. 
B. No more than four units of Health and Physical 

Education shall be allowed for meeting high school 
graduation requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2717. Substitute Credit for Health and Physical 

Education 
A. In schools having approved Junior Reserve Officer 

Training Corps (R.O.T.C.) training, credits may, at the 
option of the local school board, be substituted for the 

required credits in Health and Physical Education, including 
required hours in health instruction.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2719. Non-Credit Activities 

A. Extra- or co-curricular experiences such as 
intramural, athletics, band, majorettes, drill team, dance 
team, cheerleaders, or any other kind of extra activities 
cannot be counted for credit toward the required Health and 
Physical Education units. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2721. Exemptions from Health and Physical Education 

A. Students shall be exempted from the requirements in 
Health and Physical Education for medical reasons only; 
however, the minimum number of credits required for 
graduation shall remain 23. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2723. Journalism 

A. Journalism course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Journalism I, II 1 each 
Publications I, II (Yearbook) 1 each 
Publications I, II (Newspaper) 1 each 

 
1. Teachers must be qualified in journalism to teach 

journalism. 
2. Teachers qualified in the areas of journalism, 

English, and/or business education are qualified to teach 
Publications I and II (Yearbook). 

3. Teachers qualified in the areas of journalism, and/or 
English are qualified to teach Publications I and II 
(Newspaper). 

4. Publications I is a prerequisite to Publications II. 
5. A maximum of two Carnegie units within the 23 

required for graduation may be earned from the six courses 
listed under journalism. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2725. Mathematics 

A. Effective for 1998-99 incoming freshmen and 
thereafter, three units of Mathematics shall be required for 
graduation. They shall be selected from the following 
courses and may include a maximum of 2 entry level courses 
(designated by E): Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), 
Algebra I-Part 1 (E); Algebra I-Part 2; Integrated 
Mathematics 1 (E), Integrated Mathematics II, Integrated 
Mathematics III, Applied Mathematics I (E), Applied 
Mathematics II, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), 
Geometry, Algebra II, Financial Mathematics, Advanced 
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Mathematics I, Advanced Mathematics II, Pre-Calculus, 
Calculus, Probability and Statistics, and Discrete 
Mathematics. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Advanced Mathematics I 1 
Advanced Mathematics II 1 
Algebra I 1 
Algebra I-Part I 1 
Algebra 1-Part II 1 
Algebra II 1 
Applied Mathematics I 1 
Applied Mathematics II 1 
Applied Mathematics III 1 
Calculus 1 
Discrete Mathematics 1 
Financial Mathematics 1 
Geometry 1 
Introductory Algebra/Geometry 1 
Integrated Mathematics I 1 
Integrated Mathematics II 1 
Integrated Mathematics III 1 
Pre-Calculus 1 
Probability and Statistics 1 

 
B. For incoming freshmen prior to 1998-99, three units 

of Mathematics shall be required for graduation.  
1. They shall be Algebra I and one of the following 

options:  
a. Algebra II and either Geometry or Applied 

Geometry (effective 1996-97 school year); or  
b. Algebra II and either Geometry or Applied 

Geometry (effective 1996-97 school year) and one of the 
following:  
 i. Advanced Mathematics; 
 ii. Calculus;  
 iii. Consumer Mathematics;  
 iv. Business Mathematics; or  
 v. Integrated Algebra/Geometry.  

2. The Mathematics course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Advanced Mathematics 1 
Algebra I 1 
Applied Algebra IA  
Applied Algebra IB 1 
Business Mathematics 1 
Calculus 1 
Consumer Mathematics 1 
Geometry 1 
Applied Geometry 1 

(1996-97 school year) 
Integrated Algebra/Geometry 1 
Trigonometry        1/2 
 
3. Business/Financial Mathematics may be taught by 

the Business Education Department. 
4. Students may not earn a unit in both Business 

Mathematics and Consumer Mathematics. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2727. Music 

A. Music course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Beginning Band 1 
Beginning Choir 1 
Beginning Orchestra 1 
Composition 1 
Conducting 1 
General Music 1 
Guitar Class 1 
Intermediate Band 1 
Intermediate Choir 1 
Intermediate Orchestra 1 
Instrument Technique Class 1 
Jazz Ensemble 1 
Jazz Improvisation 1 
Music Appreciation 1 
Music History 1 
Music Theory I, II 1 each 
Piano class 1 
Sectional Rehearsal 1 
Studio Piano, I, II, III 1 each 
Advanced Band 1 
Advanced Choir 1 
Advanced Orchestra 1 
Applied Music 1 
Small Vocal Ensemble 1 
Wind Ensemble 1 

B. Advanced Choir, Advanced Band, Advanced 
Orchestra, Small Vocal Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, Applied 
Music, Jazz Ensemble, and Studio Piano III are performance 
classes with new literature each year; they may be repeated 
more than once. 

C. Refer to §2741 for credit for private piano and studio 
strings instruction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2729. Reserve Officer Training 

A. Reserve Officer Training course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

JROTC I, II, III, IV 1 each 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2731. Science 

A. Effective for incoming freshmen 2002-03 and 
thereafter, graduation requirements shall be as follows. 

1. Three units of Science. They shall be the following: 
a. 1 unit of Biology I;  
b. 1 unit of Physical Science or Integrated Science 

(but not both), Chemistry I, Physics, I, or Physics of 
Technology I; and 
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c. 1 unit of Aerospace Science, Biology II, 
Chemistry I (may be taken after Physical Science or 
Integrated Science), Chemistry II, Earth Science, 
Environmental Science, Physics I (may be taken after 
Physical Science or Integrated Science), Physics II, Physics 
of Technology I, Physics of Technology II, or both 
Agriscience I and II to meet one required unit of science.  

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Aerospace Science 1.0 
Agriscience I and II 
(Both courses are required for one unit in science; 
however, two units can be counted as vocational 
electives when not counted together as a science 
course.) 

1.0  

Biology I, II 1.0 each 
Chemistry I, II 1.0 each 
Earth Science 1.0 
Environmental Science 1.0 
General Science  
(Allowed only for incoming freshmen 1998-99 or 
earlier.) 

1.0  

Integrated Science 1.0 
Physical Science 1.0 
Physics I, II 1.0 each 
Physics of Technology I, II 1.0 each 

 
2. Effective for incoming freshmen, 1997-98 and 

prior, three units of science shall be required for graduation. 
They shall be Biology and two of the following: General 
Science or Physical Science, but not both; Earth Science, 
Chemistry, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, Aerospace 
Science, Environmental Science, Physics for Technology, 
Biology II, or both Vocational Agriculture I and II for one 
requirement of science. Science course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Aerospace Science 1 
Biology 1 
Biology II 1 
Chemistry 1 
Chemistry II 1 
Earth Science 1 
Ecology 1 
Environmental Science 1 
General Science 1 
Physical Science 1 
Physics 1 
Physics II 1 
Physics for Technology 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§2733. Social Studies 
A. Three units of Social Studies shall be required for 

graduation. They shall be American History; Civics or 1/2 
unit of Civics and 1/2 unit of Free Enterprise; and one of the 
following: World History, World Geography, or Western 
Civilization. Social Studies course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
American Government 1 
American History 1 
Civics 1 (or 1/2) 
Economics 1 
Free Enterprise System 1/2 
Law Studies 1 
Psychology 1 
Sociology 1 
Western Civilization 1 
World Geography 1 
World History 1 

 
B. Economics may be taught by a teacher certified in 

Business Education. 
C. Free Enterprise shall be taught by teachers qualified 

in Social Studies, Business Education, or Distributive 
Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2735. Speech 

A. Speech course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Speech I (Fundamentals) 1 
Speech II 1 
Speech III 1 
Speech IV 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2737. Course Credit for Religion 

A. A maximum of four units in religion shall be granted 
to students transferring from state-approved private and 
sectarian high schools who have completed such course 
work. Those credits shall be accepted in meeting the 
requirements for high school graduation. 

 
Course Title Units 

Religion I 1 Unit 
Religion 2 1 Unit 
Religion 3 1 Unit 
Religion 4 1 Unit 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2741. Course Credit for Private Piano and Studio 

Strings Lessons 
A. Approval by the State Department of Education shall 

be granted before private piano and studio strings instruction 
can be given for credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 29. Vocational Education Course Offerings 
§2901. Vocational Agriculture/Agribusiness 

A. Vocational Agriscience course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Level Unit(s) 

Exploratory Agriscience 7-8 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness I 9-12 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness II 10-12 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness III 11-12 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness IV 12 1 
Agricultural Entrepreneurship 11-12 1/2 
Agricultural Construction 11-12 1/2 
Agriculture and Environmental       
Applications 11-12 1/2 
Animal Production 11-12 1/2 
Crop Production 11-12 1/2 
Equine Science 11-12 1/2 
Food and Fiber Systems 11-12 1/2 
Horticulture 11-12 1/2 
Introduction to Aquiculture 11-12 1/2 
Introduction to Agribusiness 11-12 1/2 
Personal Development 11-12 1/2 
Small Engines 11-12 1/2 
Welding 11-12 1/2 
Ag. Lab III 11-12 1 
Ag. Lab IV 12 1 
Cooperative Agriscience       
Education (CAE) 11-12 2 

 
B. Ag. Lab III and Ag. Lab IV are offered only to 

students who are also enrolled in Agriscience/Agribusiness 
III or IV for two consecutive semester courses during the 
year. 

C. Semester courses are designed to be offered in the 
place of or in addition to Agriscience/Agribusiness III and/or 
IV. Required prerequisites are to be determined by local 
board policy for course sequencing. 

1. Three units of credit in Cooperative 
Agriscience/Agribusiness Education (CAE) are granted to 
students who successfully complete both the classroom 
phase of instruction and the on-the-job training phase. These 
courses are available only to students who have completed 
Agriscience/Agribusiness I and Agriscience/ Agribusiness II. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2903. Business Education  

A. Business Education course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) 

Accounting I 10-12 1 
Computerized Accounting 11-12 1 
Administrative 11-12 1 
Support Occupations   
Business Mathematics 9-12 1 
Business English 11-12 1 
Business Law 11-12 1/2 
Cooperative Education (COE) 12 3 
Business Computer Applications I 10-12 1/2 
Business Computer Applications II 10-12 1/2 

Economics 11-12 1 
Exploratory Business 7-8  
Introduction to Business 9-12 1 
Keyboarding 9-12 1/2 
Keyboarding Applications 9-12 1/2 
Keyboarding Productions 10-12 1/2 
Keyboarding Productions II 10-12 1/2 
Office Machines 10-12 1/2 
Record keeping 9-12 1 

Shorthand/Speedwriting 10-12 
1 or 
1/2 

Word processing 11-12 
1 or 
1/2 

 
1. Keyboarding and Keyboarding Applications shall 

be a prerequisite to administrative support occupations and 
word processing. Keyboarding shall be a prerequisite to 
Shorthand/Speedwriting. 

2. Level I courses shall be prerequisite to Level II 
courses. 

3. Cooperative Office Education shall be limited to 
seniors. The students shall have successfully completed 
Keyboarding and have maintained an overall "C" average. 
The students' attendance records should also be considered. 
Other prerequisites may be required by the individual school 
system.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2905. General Cooperative Education 

A. General Cooperative Education course offerings shall 
be as follows. 

 

Course Title 
Grade 
Level Unit(s) 

General Cooperative Education I 11-12 3 
General Cooperative Education II 12 3 
 

1. General Cooperative education courses shall be 
limited to students who meet the specific prerequisites and 
requirements of one of the specialized cooperative education 
programs.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2907. Health Occupations 

A. Health Occupations course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title Grade 
Level Unit(s) 

Allied Health 9-12 1/2 or 3 
Dental Assistant I 10-12 1, 2, or 3 
Dental Assistant II 11-12 2 or 3 
Nursing Assistant and Geriatric Aide 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Pre-Nursing (Introd. to Nursing) 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Medical Office Assistant  
(Physician's Office) 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Home Health Aide 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Hospital Ward Clerk 9 -12 1 or 2 
Medical Terminology for the  
Health Professional 9 -12 1 or 2 
Health Occupations 12 2 or 3 
Health Services I 10 –12 1, 2, or 3 
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Health Services II 11-12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Occupations I 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Occupations II 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Science I 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Science II 10-12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Science III 
(Respiratory Therapy Assistant, 
Occupational Therapy Assistant,  
Physical Therapy Assistant) 12 1/2 or 3 
Introduction to Emergency  
Medical Technician (CPR) 9 -12 1/2, 1 
Introduction to Health Insurance as a 
Career 10-12 

1/2, 1, or 
2 

Psychiatric Aide 
9 –12 

1/2, 1, or 
2 

Medical Specialties 9-12 1/2 or 3 

 
1. Dental Assistant I shall be prerequisite to Dental 

Assistant II. Level I courses shall be prerequisite to Level II 
courses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2909. Family and Consumer Sciences Education 

A. Family and Consumer Sciences Education course 
offerings shall be as follows. 

 

Course Title 
Recommended 

Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Family and Consumer 9-12 1 1810 
Sciences I    
Family and Consumer 10-12 1  
Sciences II    
Food Science 9-12 1 1911 
Adult Responsibilities 10-12 1/2 1710 
Child Development 10-12 1/2 1664 
Clothing and Textiles 10-12 1/2 1700 
Family Economics 10-12 1/2 1949 
Family Life Education 10-12 1/2 1821  1949 
Housing 10-12 1/2 1680 
Nutrition and Food 10-12 1/2 1595 
Parenthood Education 10-12 1/2 1695 
Advanced Child 
Development* 10-12 1/2 

1775 

Advanced Clothing 
and Textiles 10-12 1/2 

1700 

Advanced Nutrition 
and Food* 10-12 1/2 

1595 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2911. Family and Consumer Sciences-Related 

Occupations (HERO) 
A. Course offerings for Family and Consumer Sciences-

related occupations shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Child Care I-II 11-12 1-3 1775 
Clothing and Textile Services I-II 11-12 1-3 1897 
Food Service I-II 11-12 1-3 1897 
Housing and Design Services 11-12 1-3 1897 
Home/Institutional 11-12  1897 
Support Services 12 3 1897 

1. The units of credit for cooperative courses shall be 
determined by the number of class periods for which the 
students are scheduled per day for instruction in the service 
area. 

2.a. Family and consumer sciences cooperative 
education shall be limited to seniors who meet one or more 
of the following prerequisites:  
 i. one unit in a service course;  
 ii. two specialized semester courses in the same 
area; or  
 iii. one specialized semester course and the 
teacher-coordinator's consent.  

b. Job placement shall be in the same area of 
training as the prerequisite. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2913. Technology Education 

A. Technology education course (formerly industrial 
arts) offerings shall be as follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

General Technology 
Education 9-12 1  
Basic Wood 
Technology 9-12 1 1684  1752 
Advanced Wood 
Technology 10-12 1 1752 
Communication 
Technology I** 9-12 1/2 1777 
Communication 
Technology II** 9-12 1/2 1777 
Construction 
Technology 10-12 1 1856 
Basic 
Electricity/Electronics 
Technology 9-12 1 1724 
Advanced 
Electricity/Electronics 
Technology 10-12 1 1778  1808 
Basic Metal 
Technology 9-12 1 1685 
Advanced Metal 
Technology 10-12 1 1750 
Welding Technology 10-12 1 1859 
Power and Energy* 9-12 1/2 1723 
Transportation* 9-12 1/2 1723 
Power Mechanics 9-12 1 1813 
Manufacturing 
Technology 9-12 1  
Basic Technical 
Drafting I 9-12 1/2 1686 
Basic Technical 
Drafting II 9-12 1/2 1686 
Advanced Technical 
Drafting 10-12 1 1751 
Architectural Drafting 10-12 1 1779 
Principles of 
Technology I 11-12 1 1812 
Principles of 
Technology II 11-12 1 1878 
Materials and Processes 10-12 1  

 
1. The power and energy course and the transportation 

course may be combined into one course, Power, Energy, 
and Transportation, for one unit of credit 
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Note: Technology education courses must follow the 
sequences as outlined in the technology education curricular 
guides. 

2. All courses shall be taught in sequence. Safety must 
be taught in all courses. Refer to Bulletin 1647 for safety 
information. 

3. The communication courses may be combined into 
one course for one unit of credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2915. Marketing Education 

A. Marketing Education course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Introduction to 
Marketing 9-10 1 1669 
General Marketing 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  
Retailing and 
Merchandising 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3 1740 
Advertising and Sales 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  
Promotion    
Entrepreneurship 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3 1815 
Marketing Management 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  
Marketing Research 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  
Insurance Marketing 11-12  1 or 3 
Tourism and Lodging 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  
Speciality Marketing 
Education 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  

 
1. Three units of credit are granted only to cooperative 

marketing education students who successfully complete 
both classroom and on-the-job training. One unit of credit is 
granted to students enrolled in Marketing Education for the 
classroom phase only. 

2. Students may receive a maximum of six 
cooperative Marketing Education credits and three, one-unit 
course credits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2917. Trade and Industrial Education 

A. Trade and Industrial Education course offerings shall 
be as follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Air Conditioning/ 
Refrigeration I-II 11-12 2 or 3 1916* 
Auto Body Repair I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Automotive Technician I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Masonry I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Cabinetmaking I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Carpentry I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Culinary Occupations I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Custom Sewing I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Computer Electronics I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Commercial Art I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Trade and Industrial 
Cooperative  
Education (TICE) I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Cosmetology I-II 11-12 2 or 3  

Diesel Mechanics I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Drafting and  
Technology I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Basic Electricity I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Electronics I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Industrial Electronics I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Electrician I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Graphic Arts I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Horticulture I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Industrial Engines I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Laboratory Technology I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Industrial Machine Shop I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Marine Operations I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Photography 11-12 2 or 3  
Plumbing I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Printing I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Sheet Metal I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Outdoor Power Equipment  
Technician I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Television Production I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Upholstery I-II 11-12 2 or 3  
Welding I-II 11-12 2 or 3  

 
1. Bulletin 1916 contains curricular guides for all 

trade and industrial courses. 
2. All courses shall be taught in sequence. 
3. Trade and Industrial Education Programs may be 

offered in two consecutive class periods, five days per week, 
for 36 weeks each year for two units of credit, or may be 
offered with three consecutive class periods for three units of 
credit in the selected Trade and Industrial Education 
Program. 

4. School systems that operate a vocational career 
center or comprehensive high school may award1 1/2 units 
of credit to students enrolled in a two-hour block for 36 
weeks, or 2 1/2 units of credit to students enrolled in a three-
hour block for 36 weeks in approved Trade and Industrial 
Education Programs. This scheduling allows students to be 
excused from class for one hour each day for one semester to 
take the required course in Free Enterprise at either the tenth, 
eleventh, or twelfth grade level. 

5. With annual, in-advance, written permission from 
the Division of Student Standards and Assessment, a school 
system may offer a one-hour Trade and Industrial Education 
Program for one unit of credit at the ninth or tenth grade 
level as a prerequisite to enrollment in a related Trade and 
Industrial Education Program at the tenth, eleventh, or 
twelfth grade level. The course shall be in the programmatic 
area in which the trade and industrial education instructor is 
certified to teach. 

6. Any local education governing authority offering a 
new Trade and Industrial Education Program shall first have 
the individual program approved by the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessment. Teachers in Trade and Industrial 
Education Programs shall use curricular outlines approved 
by the Division of Student Standards and Assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2919. Credit for Vocational Education Courses 

A. Credits for partial completion of two- or three-hour 
blocks of vocational education courses shall be granted for 
unusual or extenuating circumstances only. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1200

B. Request for partial credit because of unusual or 
extenuating circumstances shall be made as follows. 

1. Written requests from the local school principal and 
approved by the local superintendent (if applicable) shall be 
made to the State Department of Education. 

2. A copy of the written responses shall accompany 
the student's transcript when it is sent to the Department of 
Education prior to his/her graduation if the request for partial 
credit has been granted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2921. Secondary Students Attending Postsecondary 

Technical College 
A. Secondary students attending a postsecondary 

technical college may receive credit for instruction in any 
program area offered in the technical college, if time 
requirements for Carnegie units are met and if an equivalent 
course is not offered by the local school system. 

1. If the course content is equivalent to the content of 
a vocational education course offering listed under §§2901-
2917, the unit(s) of credit shall be reported on the student's 
transcript by that title. 

2. If the course content is not equivalent to a course 
listed under §§2901-2917, the unit(s) of credit shall be 
reported by the postsecondary title. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2923. Adding Electives Course to the Program of 

Studies 
A. A school choosing to add an elective course to its 

program of studies shall apply to the Director of the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessment, State Department of 
Education (SDE) through the local superintendent, (if 
applicable) at least 30 days prior to the anticipated date of 
implementation. 

B. The application for an elective course shall be signed 
by the school principal and superintendent (if applicable) 
and shall contain the following: 

1. detailed outline of course content; 
2. units of credit to be granted; 
3. detailed course objectives and how they shall be 

measured; 
4. qualifications of the instructor; 
5. when the course is to begin; 
6. approximate number of students; 
7. criteria for enrollment. 

C. If the course is to be offered for the succeeding school 
year, an end-of-the-year evaluation shall be sent with the 
second and third year application to the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments for determining its continuation. 

D. After an elective course has been in effect for three 
successive school years and if the school/system wants the 
course to be a permanent part of its curriculum, the school 
principal through the local superintendent (if applicable) 
shall apply by letter to the Director of the Division of 
Student Standards and Assessment for permission to include 
it. 

E. Approved elective courses shall not be used as 
required courses for meeting graduation requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2925. Approval of Experimental Programs 

A. Experimental programs are programs which deviate 
from established standards. Such programs shall be 
approved by the State Department of Education and carried 
out under controlled conditions. 

B. Approval of experimental programs shall be granted 
on a yearly basis not to exceed three years, after which time 
permanent approval shall be considered using the following 
procedures. 

1. A letter of intent containing the following 
information shall be submitted to the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments, State Department of Education, 
at least 90 days prior to the anticipated date of 
implementation: 

a. proposed title of program; 
b. name and address of school; 
c. name and address of local school system; 
d. name and signature of principal/superintendent; 
e. name, title, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting proposal; 
f. units of credit to be granted; 
g. source of funding. 

2. A brief narrative report stating the intent of the 
program and how the program will be conducted and 
evaluated, and the following: 

a. a statement documenting support for the intended 
program; 

b. a statement outlining the exact guideline 
deviations necessary to implement the program; 

c. a statement outlining specific time lines for the 
planning implementing phases of the program, including 
intended procedures; 

d. a statement of the evaluation procedures to be 
used in determining the program's effectiveness (these 
procedures should spell out specific objectives to be 
accomplished); 

e. a statement indicating approximate number of 
students to be involved in the project; 

f. a statement of qualifications or certification of 
instructional personnel; and 

g. a statement stipulating that applicable local, state, 
and federal regulations will be followed. 

C. An evaluation by the local governing authority shall 
be submitted annually at the close of the school year to the 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments until 
permanent status is granted. 

D. Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
member schools should comply with appropriate Southern 
Association Standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1201

§2927. Correspondence Study Courses 
A. Credit toward high school graduation should be 

earned through correspondence work from the General 
Extension Division of Louisiana State University. 

B. An application to the General Extension Division for 
correspondence study courses shall be approved by the local 
superintendent, (if applicable) and the high school principal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2929. High School Credit for College Credit Courses 

(Applies to Student Attending College Part 
Time) 

A. The principal of the school shall approve the 
advanced offering to be taken by the student in college. 

B. The student shall meet the entrance requirements 
established by the college. 

C. The student shall earn at least two or three college 
hours of credit per semester. A course consisting of at least 
two college hours shall be counted as no more than one unit 
of credit toward high school graduation. 

D. The high school administrator shall establish a 
procedure with the college to receive reports of the student's 
class attendance and performance at six or nine-week 
intervals. 

E. College courses shall be counted as high school 
subjects for students to meet eligibility requirements to 
participate in extracurricular activities governed by 
voluntary state organizations. 

F. Students may participate in college courses and 
special programs during regular or summer sessions. High 
school credit for summer courses is subject to §2929.A-E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2931. High School Credit for College Courses for 

Evaluated Gifted Students 
A. Secondary students shall be in attendance in at least 

one high school class while enrolled in college classes. 
B. An elementary or secondary student shall have at least 

a 3.0 cumulative average on a 4.0 scale for all subjects taken 
during the previous two years. 

C. Entry into a college course of credit shall be stated in 
the student's Individualized Education Program (IEP). 

D. The student shall earn at least two or three college 
hours of credit per semester. A course, consisting of at least 
two hours, shall be counted as no more than one unit of 
credit toward high school graduation. 

E. The school administrator shall establish a procedure 
with the college to receive reports of the student's class 
attendance and performance at six- or nine-week intervals. 

F. College courses shall be counted as high school 
subjects for students to meet eligibility requirements to 
participate in extracurricular activities governed by 
voluntary state organizations. 

G. After 12 Carnegie units have been earned, students 
shall follow §2929.A-E.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2933. High School Credit for College Courses in 

Vocational Education (Applies to Students 
Attending College Part Time) 

A. The student shall meet the entrance requirements 
established by the college. 

1. The principal of the school shall approve the 
advanced offering to be taken by the student in college. 

2. The high school administrator shall establish a 
procedure with the college to receive reports of the student's 
class attendance and performance at six or nine-week 
intervals. 

3. The awarding of the Carnegie units of credit will be 
in accordance with individual program requirements as 
stated in Bulletin 741. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§2935. Early College Admissions Policy (Applies Only 

to High School Students Attending College Full 
Time) 

A. High school students of high ability may be admitted 
to a college on a full-time basis. 

B. A student shall have maintained a "B" or better 
average on all work pursued during the preceding three years 
(six semesters) of high school. 

C. The student shall have earned a minimum composite 
score of 25 on the ACT or a SAT score of 1050; this score 
must be submitted to the college. 

D. A student shall be recommended by his high school 
principal. 

E. Upon earning a minimum of 24 semester hours at the 
college level, the student shall be eligible to receive a high 
school diploma. 

F. The high school principal shall submit to the State 
Department of Education the following: 

1. forms provided by the State Department of 
Education and completed by the college registrar, certifying 
that the student has earned 24 semester hours of college 
credit; and 

2. a certificate of high school credits in duplicate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 31. Summer Schools 
Subchapter A. Elementary Summer Schools 
§3101. General 

A. An elementary summer school shall be organized and 
operated under the administrative and supervisory control of 
the chief administrative officer of the school system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
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§3103. Administration 
A. A summer school with seven or more teachers shall 

have a principal with at least a master's degree. 
B. The principal of the school shall apply to the State 

Department of Education for approval of each summer 
school program. 

C. An application for approval of the offerings of each 
summer school shall be filed no later than the end of the first 
week after the summer session begins. 

D. The application forms, provided by the State 
Department of Education, shall be submitted to the 
appropriate office. 

E. The application shall carry the approval of the chief 
administrative officer of the school system and the principal 
of the summer school, if applicable. 

F. In order for summer schools to be approved, an on-
site visit shall be made by personnel from the SDE to verify 
information submitted on the report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3105. Faculty 

A. The eligibility of the faculty shall be equal to that 
required during the regular session. 

B. The teaching load shall not exceed 20 students per 
class. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3107. Instruction 

A. A teacher will be allowed to teach only one subject 
for removal of deficiencies during a single period. 

B. A student attending summer school for promotional 
purposes shall not enroll for more than two subjects. 

C. The library or library books as well as all regular 
teaching aids and equipment shall be available for summer 
school use. 

D. Textbooks, supplementary materials, and supplies 
adequate for effective instruction shall be provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3109. Attendance 

A. The minimum attendance for all elementary students 
to receive credit or pass a subject shall be 60 hours for one 
subject. 

1. The school may impose a more strict minimum 
attendance policy. 

B. Students attending summer school for promotional 
purposes must have written consent by the principal of the 
last school they attended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§3111. Time Requirements 
A. Elementary summer schools shall offer a minimum of 

70 hours of instruction per subject for removal of 
deficiencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3113. Classification Categories 

A. Summer schools shall be given one of the following 
classification categories: 

1. approvedCmeets all summer school standards; 
2. unapprovedCdeviates from one or more of the 

summer school standards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3115. Sanctions 

A. Any unapproved summer school cannot operate a 
summer school the following year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Subchapter B. Secondary Summer Schools 
§3119. General 

A. Schools which offer summer school may do so to 
enable students to schedule courses which tend to enrich 
their experiences, to take new subjects, and to enable 
students who have failed in subjects to remove deficiencies. 
Local school systems which offer summer school shall 
adhere to the following standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3121. Administration 

A. A summer school must be organized and operated 
under the administrative and supervisory control of the chief 
administrative office of the school system. 

B. A summer school with seven or more teachers shall 
have a principal with at least a master's degree. 

C. The summer school administrator shall have written 
permission from the principal of the student's home school 
for the student to attend summer school if credit is to be 
awarded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3123. Application 

A. All summer schools must apply to the State 
Department of Education for approval. 

B. An application for approval of summer school 
offerings must be filed no later than the end of the first week 
after school is in session. 
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C. The application forms provided by the State 
Department of Education, shall be submitted to the 
appropriate office. 

D. The application must carry the approval of the chief 
administrative officer of the school system, principal of the 
school for the regular session, and the principal of the 
summer school, if applicable. 

E. An on-site visit shall be made by personnel from the 
State Department of Education to verify information 
submitted on the report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3125. Faculty 

A. The eligibility of the faculty shall be equal to that 
required during the regular session. 

B. Teaching load and class size shall not exceed that of 
the regular session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3127. Instruction 

A. No teacher shall be allowed to teach more than two 
subjects during one period. 

B. Library, laboratory, and audiovisual aids shall be 
available in the facilities used for summer school. 

C. Textbooks, supplementary materials, and supplies 
adequate for effective instruction shall be provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3129. Attendance 

A. In order to be eligible to receive grades, summer 
school students shall be in attendance a minimum of 70 
hours for 1/2 unit of new credit, or 47 hours for 1/2 unit of 
repeat credit. 

B. The school system or independent school may impose 
a stricter minimum attendance policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§3131. Time Requirements 
A. Summer schools shall offer 90 hours of instruction for 

1/2 unit of new credit and 60 hours of instruction for 1/2 unit 
of repeat credit in all subjects. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3133. Classification Categories 

A. Summer school shall be given one of the following 
classification categories: 

1. approvedCmeets all summer school standards; 
2. unapprovedCdeviates from one or more of the 

summer school standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3135. Sanctions 

A. Any unapproved summer school cannot operate a 
summer school the following year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3137. Instruction by Private Teachers 

A. Credit may be allowed for high school work 
completed under private instructors, subject to the following 
conditions. 

1. The instruction must be under the direction of a 
private tutor only when the tutor is eligible for regular 
employment in an approved nonpublic high school. 

2. The time requirements for credits in a regular high 
school will apply. 

3. The necessary facilities peculiar to a particular 
subject must be available for instructional purposes. 

4. Prior to enrolling a privately tutored course, a 
student must obtain written approval from the principal of 
the high school in which he/she is enrolled. 

B. Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
members school should comply with Principle D, Standard 
6. (Member schools shall not give credit for private 
tutoring.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 35. Standards for Approval of Alternative 

Schools/Programs 
Subchapter A. Operation and Administration 
§3501. Philosophy and Need for Alternative 

Schools/Programs 
A. If alternative school programs are to be developed and 

established, they shall respond to particular educational 
needs within the community. 

B. Thee local educational governing authority shall pass 
a resolution establishing the need for the alternative 
school/program and setting forth its goals and objectives. 

C. Each alternative school/program shall develop and 
maintain a written statement of its philosophy and the major 
purposes to be served by the school/program. The statement 
shall reflect the individual character of the school/program 
and the characteristics and needs of the students it serves. 

D. The educational school/program shall be designed to 
implement the stated goals and objectives which shall be 
directly related to the unique educational requirements of its 
student body. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3503. Approval of Alternative Schools/Programs 

A. Alternative schools/programs shall comply with 
prescribed policies and standards for regular schools, except 
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for those deviations granted by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

B. Approval shall be obtained from the State Department 
of Education prior to the establishment of the alternative 
school/program. 

C. A narrative proposal describing the alternative 
school/program shall be submitted and shall include the 
following information: 

1. purpose; 
2. needs assessment; 
3. type (alternative within regular education or 

alternative to regular education placement); 
4. list of the Bulletin 741: Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators, policy and standard deviations; 
5. anticipated date of implementation; 
6. student eligibility; 
7. entrance and exit criteria; 
8. total number of students; 
9. individual class sizes; 
10. detailed outline of curriculum; 
11. methods of instruction to meet individual student 

needs; 
12. type and number of staff including 

qualifications/certification; 
13. plan for awarding Carnegie units, when applicable; 
14. grading and reporting procedures; 
15. plan for parental and community involvement; 
16. educational support services; 
17. in-service (professional development for 

personnel); 
18. type and location of physical facility; 
19. procedure for program evaluation. 

D. A school system choosing to implement an alternative 
school/program shall submit the above proposal to the 
Division of Family, Career and Technical Education by May 
1 for fall semester implementation and November 1 for 
spring semester implementation 

E. Refer to the Alternative Education Handbook. 
F. The State Department of Education will provide the 

SBESE with a listing of approved alternative 
schools/programs twice annually, in June and December of 
each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3505. Final Approval to Operate 

A. Prior to final approval, the school shall be visited by 
State Department of Education (SDE) representatives, who 
will determine the school's suitability for SDE approval. 

B. An annual school report based upon the standards for 
approval of alternative schools shall be made to the State 
Department of Education (SDE) on or before the date 
prescribed by the department. Final approval is contingent 
upon review and satisfactory compliance with the 
requirements of the annual school report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§3507. Special Education 
A. Special Education programs within an alternative 

school shall comply with all applicable State and Federal 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3509. The Earning of Carnegie Units for Use in 

Meeting Graduation Requirements 
A. Students enrolled in an alternative school/program 

shall be allowed to earn Carnegie units when possible. 
B. The integrity of the Carnegie unit shall not be 

diminished by any alternative school/program. 
C. The Carnegie units shall be granted by regular or 

special education teachers certified in the subject matter 
areas in which they are teaching. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3511. Program Evaluation 

A. The education program of the alternative school shall 
be evaluated on the basis of its stated goals and objectives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§3513. Operation and Administration 

A. Each nonpublic school that desires State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) approval and 
has students receiving special education services shall 
comply with all applicable federal and state law and 
regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 37. Addendum 
§3701. Test Security Policy 

A. The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
holds the test security policy to be of utmost importance and 
deems any violation of test security to be serious. 

B. Test Security 
1. Tests administered by or through the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education shall include, but not 
be limited to: 

a. all criterion-referenced tests (CRTs) and norm-
referenced tests (NRTs); 

b. all alternate assessments. 
2. For purposes of this policy, school districts shall 

include local education agencies; special school districts; 
approved special schools such as the Louisiana School for 
the Visually Impaired and Louisiana School for the Deaf, 
laboratory schools, charter schools, Louisiana School for 
Math, Science and the Arts; and participating 
nonpublic/other schools that utilize tests administered 
through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education or the Louisiana Department of Education. 
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3. It shall be a violation of test security for any person 
to do any of the following: 

a. administer tests in a manner that is inconsistent 
with the administrative instructions provided by the 
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) that would give 
examinees an unfair advantage or disadvantage; 

b. give examinees access to test questions prior to 
testing; 

c. examine any test item at any time (except for 
students during the test or test administrators while 
providing the accommodations "Tests Read Aloud" or 
"Communication Assistance" for students determined to be 
eligible for those accommodations); 

d. copy, reproduce, discuss or use at any time in a 
manner inconsistent with test regulations all or part of any 
secure test booklet, answer document, or supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks); 

e. coach examinees in any manner during testing or 
alter or interfere with examinees' responses in any manner; 

f. provide answers to students in any manner during 
the test, including provision of cues, clues, hints, and/or 
actual answers in any form, written, printed, verbal, or 
nonverbal; 

g. administer published parallel, previously 
administered, or current forms of any statewide assessment 
(e.g., Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), Graduation Exit Examination for 
the 21st Century (GEE 21), Graduation Exit Examination 
("old" GEE), LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA), or Forms 
K, L, M, and all new forms of The Iowa Tests) as a practice 
test or study guide; 

h. fail to follow security regulations for distribution 
and return of secure test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), as well as overages as directed; or fail to 
account for and secure test materials before, during, or after 
testing; 

i. conduct testing in environments that differ from 
the usual classroom environment without prior written 
permission from the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments; 

j. fail to report any testing irregularities to the 
district test coordinator (a "testing irregularity" is any 
incident in test handling or administration that leads to a 
question regarding the security of the test or the accuracy of 
the test data), who must report such incidents to the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessments; 

k. participate in, direct, aid, counsel, assist in, 
encourage, or fail to report any of the acts prohibited in the 
section. 

4. Each school district as described in this policy shall 
develop and adopt a district test security policy that is in 
compliance with the state's test security policy. A "Statement 
of Assurance" regarding the LEA's test security policy must 
be submitted annually to the Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Student Standards and Assessments. 
This statement must include the name of the individual 
designated by the district superintendent or institution to 
procure test material. The policy shall provide: 

a. for the security of the test materials during 
testing, including test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 

science tasks), video tapes, and completed observation 
sheets; 

b. for the storage of all tests materials, except 
district and school test coordinator manuals and test 
administration manuals, in a predetermined, secure, locked 
area before, during, and after testing; all secure materials, 
including any parallel forms of a test, must be kept in locked 
storage at both the district and school levels; secure 
materials must never be left in open areas or unattended; 

c. a description and record of professional 
development on test security, test administration, and 
security procedures for individual student test data provided 
for all individuals with access to test materials or individual 
student test data ("access" to test materials by school 
personnel means any contact with or handling the materials 
but does not include reviewing tests or analyzing test items, 
which are prohibited); 

d. a list of personnel authorized to have access to 
the locked, secure storage area; 

e. procedures for investigating any testing 
irregularities, including violations in test security, such as 
plagiarism and excessive wrong-to-right erasures identified 
through erasure analysis; 

f. procedures for the investigation of employees 
accused of irregularities or improprieties in the 
administration of standardized tests, as required by the 
amended R.S. 17:81.6;  

g. procedures for the investigation of any missing 
test booklets, answer documents, or supplementary secure 
material (e.g., writing projects, science tasks); 

h. procedures for ensuring the security of individual 
student test data in electronic and paper formats. 

5. Procedures for investigating missing secure 
materials, any testing irregularity (including cheating), and 
any employees accused of improprieties must, at a 
minimum, include the following. 

a. The district test coordinator shall initiate the 
investigation upon the district's determination of an 
irregularity or breach of security or upon notification by the 
State Department of Education. The investigation shall be 
conducted by the district test coordinator and other central 
office staff as designated by the district superintendent. 

b. The location of the predetermined, locked, secure 
area for storage of materials shall be examined, and the 
individuals with access to secure materials shall be 
identified. 

c. Interviews regarding testing administration and 
security procedures shall be conducted with the principal, 
school test coordinator(s), test administrator(s), and 
proctor(s) at the identified schools. All individuals who had 
access to the test materials at any time must be interviewed. 

d. Interviews shall be conducted with students in 
the identified classes regarding testing procedures, layout of 
the classroom, access to test materials before the test, and 
access to unauthorized materials during testing. 

e. After completion of the investigation, the district 
shall provide a report of the investigation and a written plan 
of action to the state superintendent within 30 calendar days 
of the initiation of the investigation. At a minimum, the 
report shall include the nature of the situation, the time and 
place of occurrence, and the names of the persons involved 
in or witness to the occurrence. Officials from the Louisiana 
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Department of Education are authorized to conduct 
additional investigations. 

6. Test materials, including all test booklets, answer 
documents, and supplementary secure materials (e.g., 
writing prompts, science tasks) containing secure test 
questions, shall be kept secure and accounted for in 
accordance with the procedures specified in the test 
administration manuals and other communications provided 
by the Louisiana Department of Education. Secure test 
materials include test booklets, answer documents, and any 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks). Procedures described in the test manuals shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following. 

a. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be kept in a predetermined, secure, 
locked storage area prior to and after administration of any 
test; test administrators are to be given access to the tests and 
any supplementary secure materials only on the day the test 
is to be administered, and these are to be retrieved 
immediately after testing is completed for the day and stored 
in a locked, secure location each day of testing. 

b. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be accounted for and written 
documentation kept by test administrators and proctors for 
each point at which test materials are distributed and 
returned. 

c. Any discrepancies noted in the serial numbers of 
test booklets, answer documents, and any supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks), or the 
quantity received from contractors must be reported to the 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments (LDE) by 
the designated institutional or school district personnel prior 
to the administration of the test. 

d. In the event that test booklets, answer documents, 
or supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) are determined to be missing while in the 
possession of the institution or school district or in the event 
of any other testing irregularities or breaches of security, the 
designated institutional or school district personnel must 
immediately notify by telephone the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments (LDE) and follow the detailed 
procedures for investigating and reporting specified in this 
policy. 

7. Only personnel trained in test security and 
administration shall be allowed to have access to or 
administer any standardized tests. 

8. Each district superintendent or institution must 
annually designate one individual in the district or institution 
as district test coordinator who is authorized to procure test 
materials that are utilized in testing programs administered 
by or through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education of the Louisiana Department of Education. The 
name of the individual designated must be provided in 
writing to the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments (LDE) and included on the statement of 
assurance. 

9. Testing shall be conducted in class-sized groups. 
Bulletin 741 (2.038.01–.02) states that K-3 classroom

enrollment should be no more that 26 students, and in grades 
4-12, no more than 33, except in certain activity types of 
classes in which the teaching approach and the material and 
equipment are appropriate for large groups. For grades K-8, 
the maximum class size for Health and Physical Education 
classes may be no more than 40. Class size for exceptional 
students is generally smaller (Bulletin 741, 2.038.05). 
Permission for testing in environments that differ from the 
usual classroom environment must be obtained in writing 
from the Louisiana Department of Education, Division of 
Standards and Assessments, at least 30 days prior to testing. 
If testing outside the usual classroom environment is 
approved by the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments, the LEA must provide at least one proctor for 
every 30 students. 

10. The State Superintendent of Education may 
disallow test results that may been achieved in a manner that 
is in violation of test security. 

11. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
establish procedures to identify: 

a. improbable achievement of test score gains in 
consecutive years; 

b. situations in which collaboration between or 
among individuals may occur during the testing process; 

c. a verification of the number of all test distributed 
and the number of tests returned; 

d. excessive wrong-to-right erasures for multiple-
choice tests; 

e. any violation to written composition or open-
ended responses that involves plagiarism; 

f. any other situation that may result in invalidation 
of test results. 

12. In cases in which test results are not accepted 
because of a breach of test security or action by the 
Louisiana Department of Education, any programmatic, 
evaluative, or graduation criteria dependent upon the data 
shall be deemed not to have been met, but individuals will 
be allowed to retake the test at the next test administration. 

13. Individuals shall adhere to all procedures specified 
in all manuals that govern mandated testing programs. 

14. Any individual knowingly engages in any activity 
during testing that results in invalidation of scores derived 
from the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), graduation exit examination for the 
21st Century (GEE 21), or graduation exit examination 
("old" GEE) shall forfeit the test results but will be allowed 
to retake the test at the next test administration. 

15. Anyone known to be involved in the presentation of 
forged, counterfeit, or altered identification for the purposes 
of obtaining admission to a test administration site for any 
test administered by or through the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education or the Louisiana 
Department of Education shall have breached test security. 
Any individual who knowingly causes or allows the 
presentation of forged, counterfeited, or altered identification 
for the purpose of obtaining admission to any test 
administration site must forfeit all test scores but will be 
allowed to retake the test at the nest test administration. 

16. School districts must ensure that individual student 
test data are protected from unauthorized access and
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disclosure. District test coordinators, principals, school test 
coordinators and other authorized users of the LEAPweb 
reporting system and LEAPdata system must ensure the 
security of passwords, any disks or CDs with downloaded 
individual student test data, and student-level test data open 
on a computer screen. All users must sign a statement 
guaranteeing they will not share the password with 
unauthorized individuals and maintain the confidentiality of 
student data. A copy of the signed statement should be sent 
to the district test coordinator to be kept on file. Users who 
have access to these systems and leave their positions at a 
district or school site must not use or share the password. 
district test coordinators are responsible for providing 
training regarding the security and confidentiality of 
individual student test data (in paper and electronic format) 
and of aggregated data of fewer than ten students. 

17. Louisiana Department of Education staff will 
conduct site visits during testing to observe test 
administration procedures and to ensure that appropriate test 
security procedures are being followed. Schools with prior 
violations of test security or other testing irregularities will 
be identified for visits. Other schools will be randomly 
selected. 

18. Any teachers or other school personnel who breach 
test security or allow breaches in test security shall be 
disciplined in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:416 
et seq., R.S. 17:441 et seq., R.S. 17:81.6 et seq., policy and 
regulations adopted by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, and any and all laws that may be 
enacted by the Louisiana Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit comments until 4:30 p.m., 
September 8, 2003, to Nina Ford, State Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, P. O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for  

School AdministratorsCNonpublic Schools 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The implementation of changes requires no cost or savings 
to state or local governmental units. Nonpublic Bulletin 741 
was revised to change or delete outdated information, to clarify 
language, and to bring policies in line with what is currently 
required for public schools. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no effect on revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no effects on costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or nongovernmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no effects on competition and employment. 
 

Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#039  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCPolicy for  

One-Year Authorization on a Certificate 
(LAC 48:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746CLouisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This Rule abolishes the 
Bulletin 746 policy allowing a one-year authorization on a 
certificate. This Rule works to align Bulletin 746 policy for 
temporary certification under the state's new licensure 
structure. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990-
991 (May 2002), LR 29: 

* * * 
Repeal the "One Year Authorization on a Certificate" 

policy from Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, as follows: 

One-Year Authorization on a Certificate 
Authorization to teach one or two subjects in 
addition to the major subject on the secondary 
level may be added to a valid certificate if the 
applicant lacks not more than six semester hours 
to meet the minimal requirements in the teaching 
field or fields, provided that this authorization is 
good for one year only. The applicant is given 
one year in which to meet the requirements in 
full. 

* * * 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
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kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School PersonnelCPolicy for  
One-Year Authorization on a Certificate 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This Rule abolishes the Bulletin 746 policy allowing a one-

year authorization on a certificate. The adoption of this policy 
will cost the Department of Education approximately $700 
(printing and postage) to disseminate the policy.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#040  
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School PersonnelCCertificate Renewal Requirements and 
Validity Terms for Those Called to Active Military Duty 

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746CLouisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy specifies 
certificate renewal guidelines and validity term adjustments 
for those who are employed on renewable certificates and 
who are called to active military duty. Temporary certificates 
have strict annual renewal guidelines specifying successful 
completion of coursework and/or Praxis exams. Renewable 
regular certificates require completion of Continuing 
Learning Units (CLUs) of professional development for 
renewal. This policy suspends certificate renewal guidelines 
and does not count elapsed time for certificate holders 
during periods of active military duty. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29: 

Certificate Renewal Requirements and Validity Terms 
for Those Called to Active Military Duty 

A teacher employed on a temporary or a regular 
certificate, and who is called to active military duty, will not 
be penalized for the time spent in active service. He or she 
must present copies of official documents indicating 
beginning and ending dates of active military duty when 
applying for renewal or extension of the certificate. 

For the period of military service: 
1. renewal guidelines specifying required coursework 

and/or Praxis exams for temporary certificates will be 
waived; 
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2. renewal guidelines specifying Continuing Learning 
Units (CLUs) for Level 2 and Level 3 certificates will be 
waived; and 

3. additional time commensurate with the amount of 
time spent in active duty will be allowed on the temporary or 
regular certificate, in terms of the school year(s) or portion 
thereof spent in active military service. 

Once the time spent has been restored to an individual 
who was called to active duty, the renewal guidelines for 
temporary and/or regular certificates will be effective. 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Certificate Renewal Requirements and 

Validity Terms for Those Called to Active Military Duty 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This policy specifies certificate renewal guidelines and 
validity term adjustments for those who are employed on 
renewable certificates and who are called to active military 
duty. The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#041  
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel 

Practitioner Teacher Licensure Policy  
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746CLouisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy adds the 
Practitioner License 4 category to the current Practitioner 
License policy, allowing individuals other than those in the 
new alternate teacher certification programs to pursue full 
teacher credentialing under a licensure type that does not 
penalize schools and districts for Annual School Report and 
accountability reporting purposes. This policy outlines 
regulations for those who are not in the new alternate teacher 
education programs to qualify for a Practitioner License 
(category 4). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002); LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29: 

Practitioner Teacher Licensure Policy 
Adopted by SBESE October 2002 

Individuals with PL1, PL2, PL3, or PL4 credentialing who 
are actively enrolled in the Practitioner Teacher Program, the 
Master's Degree Program, or the Non-Master's/Certification-
Only Program, or are otherwise in the process of completing 
all requirements for full certification will be granted special 
employment status so that districts will not have these 
individuals count for or against the district on the Annual 
School Report or for District accountability purposes. 
Practitioner License 1, Practitioner License 2, 
Practitioner License 3 

A Practitioner Teacher license (PL), renewable yearly for a 
maximum of three years, will be granted to those candidates 
who meet all entrance requirements and who are accepted 
into and enrolled in a State-approved Practitioner Teacher 
Program (PL1), Master’s Degree Program (PL3), or  
Non-Master's/Certification-Only Program (PL2). Issuance of 
Practitioner Teacher licenses will require verification from 
the program provider and the employing system/school. 
Minimum admission requirements for the Practitioner
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Teacher Program and the Non-Master's/Certification-Only 
Program stipulate that the candidate hold an undergraduate 
degree from a regionally accredited university, possess a 
minimum of a 2.2 grade point average (GPA), and pass the 
Pre-Professional Skills Test and Content Specialty Exam of 
the PRAXIS. The same admission standards apply to the 
Master’s Degree Program, with one exception, that the 
undergraduate GPA requirement is 2.50 for admission. 
Additionally, Practitioner Teacher Program participants must 
have a teaching assignment in a State-approved Louisiana 
school in the area of certification being studied.  

Practitioner Teacher Program candidates will complete an 
intensive summer training experience prior to assuming a 
full-time teaching position in a Louisiana classroom. To 
allow for the summer training experience, employing 
systems/schools may offer contracts to Practitioner Teacher 
candidates as early as the spring preceding the school year in 
which the practitioner will assume a full-time position. It is a 
responsibility of the employing system/school, working in 
close collaboration with the program provider, to facilitate 
and coordinate the placement of practitioner teachers in 
State-approved schools in teaching areas in which there is an 
identified need. The participant signs a one-year renewable 
contract with the school system and/or approved school. The 
practitioner teacher would be placed, at a minimum, on the 
same salary schedule as a regularly certified, salaried 
teacher. 

Practitioner Teacher Program (PL1), Master's Degree 
Program (PL3), and Non-Master/Certification-Only Program 
(PL2). Practitioner teachers are issued a one-year 
Practitioner Teacher license, renewable yearly for a 
maximum of three years. If a candidate withdraws or is 
dropped from the new alternate program, the Practitioner 
Teacher license is no longer valid. A practitioner teacher 
must remain enrolled in the alternate program and fulfill all 
coursework, teaching assignments (if applicable), and 
prescribed activities as identified by the program provider. 
All program requirements must be completed within the 
three-year period of the license. A practitioner teacher may 
complete all requirements of the alternate program in fewer 
than three years.  

Once a practitioner teacher has completed all requirements 
of the alternate program and has been recommended by the 
program provider, he may apply for a Level 1Teaching 
Certificate. A practitioner teacher's teaching experience, 
while holding a Practitioner Teacher license, will count 
toward the three years of teaching experience requirement 
that is needed to move from a Level 1 certificate to a Level 2 
certificate.  
Practitioner License 4 

A Practitioner License (PL4) may be issued to a teacher 
who is not in one of the three new alternate certification 
programs, has an undergraduate grade point average of at 
least 2.50, has passed the Praxis Pre-professional Skills Tests 
(PPSTs), has passed the specialty area content exam or has 
completed 31 semester hours in the specific content area of 
certification, and still lacks full requirements for 
certification. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a

Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards  

for State Certification of School Personnel  
Practitioner Teacher Licensure Policy 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This policy adds the Practitioner License 4 category to the 

current Practitioner License policy, allowing individuals other 
than those in the new alternate teacher certification programs to 
pursue full teacher credentialing under a licensure type that 
does not penalize schools and districts for Annual School 
Report and accountability reporting purposes. The adoption of 
this policy will cost the Department of Education 
approximately $700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the 
policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy should result in increased employment 
opportunities for individuals pursuing alternate certification, 
making those in situations other than the new alternate teacher 
certification programs eligible for a license that is attractive to 
school districts in that it will not be a detriment to the districts 
for Annual School Report or accountability purposes. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#042  
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1536CA Guide for Administrators of Elementary 
Level Second Language Programs in Louisiana Schools 

(LAC 28:I.Chapter 9) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education approved for advertisement the following revision 
to Title 28, Education. The revision will change the status of 
Bulletin 1536CA Guide for Administrators of Elementary 
Level Second Language Programs in Louisiana Schools, 
from a regulatory bulletin to non-regulatory program 
guidelines. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
 

List of Bulletins to be Removed from the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. 

 
Bulletin 
Number Bulletin Name 

1536 A Guide for Administrators of Elementary Level Second 
Language Programs in Louisiana Schools 

 
Family Impact Statement 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit comments until 4:30 p.m., 
September 8, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1536CA Guide for 
Administrators of Elementary Level Second  

Language Programs in Louisiana Schools 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Bulletin 1536 is a non-regulatory document, intended to 
assist local school districts with the implementation of 
elementary level foreign language programs. Repealing 
Bulletin 1536 will have no savings cost to state or local 

governmental units. This action will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $34.00 for advertising in the 
Louisiana Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no effects on costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no effects on costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no effects on competition and employment. 
 

Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#036  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Services 

Louisiana Business Development Program  
(LAC 13:III.Chapter 13) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and 
R.S. 51:2341(B) and in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its 
intent to adopt the following Rules for the Louisiana 
Business Development Program (Supplemental EDAP 
Rules). The purpose of the Rules is to provide assistance to 
and attraction for retention, expansion and recruitment of 
industrial and business projects through funding, lending, or 
enhancing the credit of industrial and development projects 
that are not presently eligible for funding under the 
Economic Development Award Program and Opportunity 
Fund Rules. These Rules are being adopted in response to 
the needs of public entities to provide infrastructure to 
support business activity that cannot be otherwise supported 
under the Economic Development Award Program rules. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs 
Chapter 13. Louisiana Business Development 

Program (Supplemental EDAP Rules) 
§1301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this program is to provide assistance 
to and attraction for retention, expansion and recruitment of 
industrial and business projects through funding, lending, or 
enhancing the credit of industrial and development projects 
that are not presently eligible for funding under the 
Economic Development Awards Program and Opportunity 
Fund Rules, in order to promote and enhance Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development's cluster 
development, the goals of Vision 20/20, Louisiana's long-
term plan for economic development, and related public 
policy for the introduction, growth and retention of 
Louisiana businesses by providing funding for defined 
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business projects that fulfill these goals. In doing so, these 
rules will more fully implement the provisions of R.S. 
51:2341 providing for the Economic Development Awards 
Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Services, LR 29: 
§1303. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe public entity requesting funds under this 
program. The public entity may be joined in the application 
by any other entity. 

AwardCthe funding of money, the lending of money or the 
enhancement of credit under this program for eligible 
applicants. 

Award AgreementCthe agreement of contract hereinafter 
referred to between the public entity, LED and LEDC, and 
where applicable, any other entity through which the parties 
by cooperative endeavor or otherwise, set forth the terms, 
conditions and performance objectives of the award 
provided pursuant to these rules. 

DEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

LEDC BoardCthe board of directors of the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation and when referred to 
herein in terms of approval of an award, shall mean that the 
award has been approved in accordance with the by-laws 
and procedures of the board of directors whether such 
approval requires or does not require board approval under 
those by-laws and procedures. 

ProjectCa proposal by a public entity for which an award 
is sought under this program. The program seeks to fund 
awards for projects that may not be defined as "basic 
infrastructure" or "infrastructure" under the present EDAP 
Rules or which are defined as "basic infrastructure" or 
"infrastructure" under the EDAP Rules, but for which, 
because of the nature of the business, eligibility for funding 
under those rules is not available. Projects subject to these 
rules may be eligible for funding when it can be established 
to the satisfaction of the LEDC Board that the project for 
which an award is sought promotes and enhances LED's 
cluster development, and the goals of Vison 20/20, the state's 
Master Plan for Economic Development. 

Public EntityCthe applying public or quasi-public entity 
that will be responsible for receiving and administering the 
performance and oversight of the project and for supervising 
compliance with the terms, conditions and performance 
objectives of the award agreement. 

SecretaryCthe secretary of the Department of Economic 
Development, who is also the president of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Services, LR 29: 
§1305. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Louisiana Business Development 
Program. 

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
companies locating or located in Louisiana and are subject to 

the discretion of the LED, the secretary of the LED and the 
LEDC. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in improving or enhancing economic 
development, including cluster development, whether in a 
particular circumstance, or overall. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4. Awards that promote retention and strengthening of 
cluster development of existing businesses will be evaluated 
using the same procedures and with the same priority as the 
recruitment of new businesses to the state. 

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 

6.  Whether or not an award will be made is entirely at 
the discretion of the LED, its cluster directors, the secretary 
and the LEDC board and shall depend upon the facts and 
circumstances of each case, funds available, funds already 
allocated, and other such factors as the board may, in its 
discretion deem to be pertinent. The grant or rejection of an 
application for an award shall not establish any precedent 
and shall not bind the LED, its cluster directors, the 
secretary, or the LEDC board to any future course of action 
with respect to any application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Services, LR 29: 
§1307. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for an award pursuant to this 
program, the applicant must demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the board that the award sought must be consistent with 
the principles set forth above, and the applicant must 
demonstrate a need for the project funding consistent with 
the requirements set forth below. Where it is represented that 
certain contingent actions will be taken in order to comply 
with these conditions, then the LEDC may, upon 
recommendation of the LED and its contract monitor, 
withhold funding until there is substantial performance of 
the contingencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Services, LR 29: 
§1309. Application For Louisiana Business 

Development Program 
A. In order to be eligible for this program, an applicant 

must submit the following to the LED for consideration by 
its staff and the applicable cluster director: 

1.a. a detailed description of the project to be 
undertaken, particularly: 
 i. the nature of the assistance for which the 
funding is sought and the economic scope of the investment 
involved in the project;  
 ii. the goals, objectives and performance 
measures of the project providing detailed support for the 
use of the funding provided; 
 iii. the nature of the treatment of the funding in the 
plan for the project; 
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b. where a loan or credit enhancement is being 
sought, a cash flow analysis must be submitted together with 
a payment schedule for the loan that is consistent with the 
projected revenues generated by the project. 

2. A description as to how the project furthers and 
promotes the development of cluster industries and 
businesses and will enhance the economic viability of the 
state and region of the state in which the project is located. 

3. Where the application seeks direct funding for the 
project then a description must be provided that sets forth 
the benefit to the state and shall contain such other 
provisions and conditions, as may, in the opinion of the LED 
and the LEDC board protect and preserve the interest of the 
state in the investment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Services, LR 29: 
§1311. Award Funding 

A. All funding applications must be considered by the 
board after review by the assigned staff and upon 
recommendation of the relevant cluster director and the 
secretary. Thereafter, the LEDC board upon such review as 
may be necessary to make the determination as to the 
application in accordance with these Rules shall either 
approve or disapprove the application. Upon approval by the 
LEDC board: 

1. the award shall be funded pursuant to the award 
agreement; 

2. any line of credit provided shall be drawn down in 
accordance with the schedule provided as approved by the 
cluster director, secretary and LEDC and incorporated into 
the loan agreement; 

3. the award agreement shall include appropriate 
enforceable provisions for the monitoring of the contract; 

4. the award agreement shall include such 
conventional provisions as may be appropriate to protect and 
secure the funding provided by the LEDC board pursuant to 
these Rules; 

5. the secretary of the LED shall designate the 
contract monitor for the loan agreement, and the contract 
monitor shall, on a semi-annual basis, report to the LEDC on 
the status of the contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Services, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of Rules for 13:III. Chapter 13 

regarding the Louisiana Business Development Program 
(Supplemental EDAP Rules), should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972.D or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically there should be no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 

5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 
children; 

6. the ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Interested persons should submit written comments on the 
proposed Rules to Daryl Manning through the close of 
business on August 20, 2003, at P.O. Box 94185, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9185; 1051 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802; FAX (225) 342-9448; or email to 
manning@lded.state.la.us. 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Business  

Development Program  
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no incremental cost or savings due the 
implementation of this program. The staff that processes all 
LEDC programs will be sufficient to process and monitor this 
program. Since LEDC is funded through a statutory dedicated 
fund, there will be no increase or savings. The funding for the 
program will come from the regular authorized appropriation 
LEDC receives. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no expected incremental revenue for the state or 
local government. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated additional costs to persons or non-
governmental groups. The benefit of this investment will be to 
public entities since the program requires the funds be spent on 
publicly owned infrastructure. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Since this program is an amendment to the regular 
Economic Development Awards program, it is expected that it 
will promote and cause an increase in private sector 
employment. 

 
Michael Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Director General Government Section Director 
0307#096 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Louisiana Project Equity Fund 
(LAC 13:III.Chapter 15) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to adopt the 
following Rules for the Louisiana Project Equity Fund. The
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purpose of the Rules is to provide loan funding to companies 
on a project basis for the purchase of capital equipment, and 
accompanying necessary inventory and/or technology that 
introduce innovative development or production of products 
in Louisiana and that serve to enhance industry cluster. 
These Rules are being adopted in response to a market 
failure for businesses that have opportunities to perform on 
contracts with Louisiana companies but cannot receive 
favorable terms from the private sector financial institutions. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs 
Chapter 15. Louisiana Project Equity Fund 
§1501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this program is to promote and 
enhance Louisiana Department of Economic Development's 
cluster development, the goals of Vision 20/20, Louisiana's 
long-term plan for economic development, and related 
public policy for the introduction, growth and retention of 
Louisiana businesses by providing loan funding for defined 
business projects. The Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation ("LEDC") in accordance with R.S. 51:2301 et 
seq. and R.S. 51:2341 and these Rules may provide loan 
funding to companies on a project basis for the purchase of 
capital equipment, and accompanying necessary inventory 
and/or technology that introduce innovative development or 
production of products in Louisiana and that serve to 
enhance industry clusters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1503. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe public entity requesting the loan funding 
from the Louisiana Project Equity Fund for equipment and 
other materials to be owned by the public entity during the 
pendency of the loan and to be utilized by the company for 
the project. 

AwardCthe funding of the loan from the LEDC under this 
program to eligible applicants. 

CompanyCa legal entity that is duly authorized to do and 
doing business in Louisiana in need of loan funding for a 
project pursuant to these Rules. 

LEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development charged by statute with administering the 
Project Equity Fund and the LED cluster directors and 
assigned staff shall administer the fund provided for by these 
Rules. 

LEDC BoardCthe board of directors of the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation and when referred to 
herein in terms of approval of an award, shall mean that the 
award has been approved in accordance with the by-laws 
and procedures of the board of directors whether such 
approval requires or does not require board approval under 
those by-laws and procedures. 

Loan AgreementCthe loan agreement of contract 
hereinafter referred to between DED, LEDC, company and 
applicant through which the parties by cooperative endeavor 
or otherwise, including attached or referenced promissory 
notes, securitization, lease or other appropriate 
documentation necessary to conventionally protect the 
interest of the LEDC in the funding of the loan, set forth the 

terms, conditions and performance objectives of the award 
provided pursuant to these Rules. 

ProjectCthe undertaking of the applicant and company for 
which a loan pursuant to these Project Equity Fund Rules are 
sought and includes introduction of innovative development 
or production of products to the state of Louisiana that 
furthers and promotes the development of cluster industries 
and businesses through the loan funding of capital 
equipment, accompanying necessary inventory and/or 
technology that causes and/or enhances the operation of such 
equipment and results in increased economy and efficiency 
in Louisiana products. 

SecretaryCthe secretary of the LED, who is also the 
president of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1505. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Louisiana Project Equity Fund. 

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
companies locating or located in Louisiana and are subject to 
the discretion of the LED, the secretary of the LED and the 
LEDC. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in improving or enhancing economic 
development, including cluster development, whether in a 
particular circumstance, or overall. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4. Awards that promote retention and strengthening of 
cluster development of existing businesses will be evaluated 
using the same procedures and with the same priority as the 
recruitment of new businesses to the state. 

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 

6. Whether or not an award will be made is entirely at 
the discretion of the LED, its cluster directors, the secretary 
and the LEDC board and shall depend upon the facts and 
circumstances of each case, funds available, funds already 
allocated, and other such factors as the board may, in its 
discretion deem to be pertinent. The grant or rejection of an 
application for an award shall not establish any precedent 
and shall not bind the LED, its cluster directors, the 
secretary, or the LEDC board to any future course of action 
with respect to any application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1507. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for a Project Equity Funding 
Award pursuant to this program, the applicant and company 
must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that the 
award sought must be consistent with the principles set forth 
above, and the applicant and company must demonstrate a 
need for the project funding consistent with the requirements 
set forth below. Where it is represented that certain 
contingent actions will be taken in order to comply with 
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these conditions, then the LEDC may, upon recommendation 
of the LED and its contract monitor, withhold funding until 
there is substantial performance of the contingencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1509. Application For Project Funding 

A. The applicant and the company must jointly submit an 
application to the LED through its assigned staff and cluster 
director(s) responsible for the business area that will be 
subject to the project for which the lending is being sought, 
in proposal form which shall contain the following 
information: 

1. a business plan providing: 
a. a detailed description of the project to be 

undertaken, particularly: 
 i. the project manufacturing materials and 
equipment; and/or 
 ii.  technology for which the funding is sought; 
and  
 ii. the economic scope of the investment involved 
in the project; 

b. cash flow analysis of the project providing 
detailed support for the use of the funding provided; 

c. the nature of the treatment of the funding in the 
business plan and cash flow analysis for the project, 
including a payment schedule for the loan that is consistent 
with the revenues generated by the innovative manufacturing 
or technology that is funded for the project. 

2. A description of the project: 
a. the capital equipment, accompanying necessary 

inventory and/or technology that causes and/or enhances the 
operation of the equipment; 

b. the product being produced in the state of 
Louisiana as a result of the Project; 

c. the innovative, efficient and/or economical nature 
(to Louisiana) of the process of production that will result 
from the project; 

d. a description as to how the project furthers and 
promotes the development of cluster industries and 
businesses and will enhance the economic viability of the 
state and region of the state in which the project is located. 

3. A description of the applicant local government 
entity and the company and the nature of the ownership by 
the applicant and agreed to by the company, including a 
schedule for the transfer of ownership from the applicant to 
the company upon fulfillment of the repayment obligations 
of the company to the LEDC.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1511. Loan Funding 

A. All funding applications must be considered by the 
board after review by the assigned staff and upon 
recommendation of the relevant cluster director and the 
secretary. Thereafter, the LEDC board upon such review as 
may be necessary to make the determination as to the 
application in accordance with these rules shall either 

approve or disapprove the application. Upon approval by the 
LEDC Board. 

1. The loan shall be funded pursuant to the loan 
agreement. 

2. The credit provided shall be drawn down in 
accordance with the schedule provided as approved by the 
cluster director, secretary and LEDC and incorporated into 
the loan agreement. 

3. The loan agreement shall include appropriate 
enforceable provisions for the monitoring of the contract. 

4. The loan agreement shall include such conventional 
provisions as may be appropriate to protect and secure the 
loan funding provided by the LEDC board pursuant to these 
Rules. 

5. The cluster director making the recommendation 
for the loan funding shall be designated by the LEDC as the 
contract monitor for the loan agreement, and the contract 
monitor shall, on a semi-annual basis, report to the LEDC 
board on the status and progress of the project. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of Rules for 13:III.Chapter 15 

regarding the Louisiana Project Equity Fund Program should 
not have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, stability 
and autonomy. Specifically there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Daryl Manning through the close of 
business on August 20, 2003, at P.O. Box 94185, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9185; 1051 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802; FAX (225) 342-9448; or email to 
manning@lded.state.la.us. 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Project Equity Fund 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no incremental cost or savings due the 

implementation of this program. The staff that processes all 
LEDC programs will be sufficient to process and monitor this 
program. Since LEDC is funded through a statutory dedicated 
fund, there will be no increase or savings. The funding for the 
program will come from the regular authorized appropriation 
LEDC receives. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This is a new program with no history to determine if there 
will be any positive increase in revenue to state or local 
government. Since businesses are expected to expand with the 
use of this program it could be expected that sales taxes and 
payroll taxes may be increased. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated additional costs to persons or  
non-governmental groups except for the repayment of the loan 
with interest over time. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This program is open to all Louisiana businesses and 
therefore does not impact competition. 

 
Michael Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Director General Government Section Director 
0307#095 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

University Foundation Investment Program 
(LAC 19:VII.Chapter 27) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to adopt the 
following Rules for the University Foundation Investment 
Program. The purpose of the Rules is to fulfill a need in the 
university systems of Louisiana to transfer technologies 
developed in the universities in order to build Louisiana 
businesses and commercialize these technologies. 
Universities that form foundations and/or other vehicles to 
form seed investment funds need commitments of funding or 
funding to start-up these seed funds. The intent of this 
program is to provide up front funding for university-formed 
seed funds that are well thought out, with sound business 
plans, and privately managed with experienced investors that 
bring funds in keeping with traditional venture capital fund 
structures, as well as other private funds from institutional 
relationships. 

Title 19 
CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part VII.  Economic Development Corporation 
Subpart 2.  Louisiana Venture Capital Program 

Chapter 27. University Foundation Investment 
Program 

§2701. Purpose 
A. The purpose of this program is to promote and 

enhance Louisiana Department of Economic Development's 
cluster development, the goals of Vision 20/20, Louisiana's 
long-term plan for economic development, and related 
public policy for the university systems of Louisiana to 
transfer technologies developed in the research universities 
in order to build Louisiana businesses and commercialize 
these technologies. Universities that form technology 

transfer foundations and/or other vehicles to form seed 
investment funds need commitments of funding or funding 
to start-up these seed funds. The intent of this program is to 
provide initial funding for university-formed seed fund 
investments that include sound business plans and private, 
independent management that is attractive to experienced 
institutional and private investors in keeping with traditional 
venture capital fund structures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 
§2703. Definitions 

Agreement—the funding agreement of contract hereinafter 
referred to between DED, LEDC, and applicant through 
which the parties by cooperative endeavor or otherwise, 
include appropriate documentation necessary to 
conventionally protect the interest of the LEDC in the 
funding of the award, and set forth the terms, conditions and 
performance objectives of the award provided pursuant to 
these Rules.  

Applicant—the University Research and Technology 
Foundation and its subsidiary entity requesting the funding 
from the Louisiana University Foundation Investment 
Program for seed funds that provide early stage funding for 
the statewide development of University research based 
companies that seek to commercialize the results of their 
work through technology transfer in accordance with sound 
business strategies. In order to be eligible for this program, 
the applicant must provide a program for engagement of all 
research universities in the state. The program must indicate 
that it is seeking inclusion and coordination of effort on a 
statewide basis and is proceeding in accordance with a sound 
business plan in a manner consistent with the Rules 
hereinafter provided. 

Award—the funding of the project by the LEDC under this 
program to eligible applicants. 

LED—the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development charged by statute with administering the 
Louisiana University Foundation Investment Program and 
the relevant LED Cluster and Service Directors and assigned 
staff shall administer the program provided for by these 
Rules. 

LEDC Board—the Board of Directors of the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation and when referred to 
herein in terms of approval of an award, shall mean that the 
award has been approved in accordance with the by-laws 
and procedures of the Board of Directors whether such 
approval requires or does not require board approval under 
those by-laws and procedures. 

Secretary—the Secretary of the LED, who is also the 
President of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 
§2705. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Louisiana Project Equity Fund. 

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
Louisiana University Foundations or their subsidiary entities 
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locating and are subject to the discretion of the LED, the 
Secretary of the LED and the LEDC. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in improving or enhancing economic 
development, including cluster development, whether in a 
particular circumstance, or overall. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4.. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 

5. Whether or not an award will be made is entirely at 
the discretion of the LED, its Cluster and Service Directors, 
the secretary and the LEDC board and shall depend upon the 
facts and circumstances of each case, funds available, funds 
already allocated, and other such factors as the board may, in 
its discretion deem to be pertinent. The grant or rejection of 
an application for an award shall not establish any precedent 
and shall not bind the LED, its Cluster Directors, the 
secretary, or the LEDC board to any future course of action 
with respect to any application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 
§2707. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for an award pursuant to this 
program, the applicant and company must demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the board that the award sought must be 
consistent with the provisions set forth above, and the 
applicant and company must demonstrate a need for the 
award consistent with the requirements set forth below. 
Where it is represented that certain contingent actions will 
be taken in order to comply with these conditions, then the 
LEDC may, upon recommendation of the LED and its 
contract monitor, withhold funding until there is substantial 
performance of the contingencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 
§2709. Qualification for an Award 

A. Applications for awards may be made in phases that 
are representative of the applicant's overall business plan and 
design. The application shall state whether or not funds are 
sought for a phase of operation, or whether it represents the 
total amount sought by the applicant from the fund. 

B. Each application must set forth the following: 
1. the establishment or plan for establishment of the 

subsidiary investment entity; 
2. the hiring or plan for hiring, including 

qualifications, of the chief executive officer of the subsidiary 
entity; 

3. the establishment or plan for establishment of an 
Investment Advisory Board, including qualifications of its 
members and scope of its authority; 

4. the hiring or plan for hiring, including 
qualifications of an investment fund manager; 

5. a preliminary business plan for the subsidiary 
entity, including therein a plan for statewide inclusion and 

coordination of the economic development of technology 
transfer initiatives; 

6. the amount of funding being sought by the 
applicant, and if phased, the total amount of funding that the 
applicant anticipates will be sought; 

7. the goals and objectives of the funding, and the 
performance measures to be met by the applicant in order to 
obtain the funding. 

C. Depending upon the nature of the funding being 
sought, applications for funding shall include goals, 
objectives and performance measures that to the satisfaction 
of the department and the LEDC, provide for the following: 

1. the amount of funding being sought by the 
applicant; 

2. the business plan of the applicant and the 
relationship between the funding sought and the plan; 

3. the minimum and maximum total amount of capital 
to be raised including the commitment by the state as 
evidenced by the funding for which the application is being 
made and a timetable for raising funds and including goals 
and objectives for funding and milestones for completion of 
raising capital; 

4. the plan for cluster development, proposed markets 
for the use of the funds sought, the industry and business 
development sought by the fund and any new areas for 
development of the funding; specific involvement of the 
appropriate department cluster directors in the formation of 
the plan is recommended; 

5. the plan for technology commercialization and 
transfer and/or the commercialization and transfer of other 
University-based research that will be implemented through 
use of the funds; 

6. the proposed market of the applicant including the 
types of businesses that the fund will finance, the extent to 
which the fund intends to specialize in certain industries, or 
if special circumstances will be addressed; 

7. a survey of the possible avenues of rural 
development; actual and potential uses of the fund in 
enhancing the quality of life in the areas of the state most 
affected by poverty; 

8. financing instruments that are intended to be 
utilized for investments, e.g., debentures, notes, preferred 
stock, royalties, etc., and a plan reflecting flexibility and 
adjustment to economic opportunity that may arise from the 
use of the funds; 

9. whether applicant anticipates taking in all of the 
committed capital investment at closing, or whether 
applicant plans a phase in. If a phase-in is planned, specify 
the proposed schedule. It is permissible to have different 
scenarios based on the actual amount of capital raised; 

10. applicant's plans for the fund to provide 
management and/or technical assistance to companies for 
which the fund provides financing; 

11. plans and procedures for monitoring its financing, 
and enforcing provisions of loan or investment agreements 
and the handling of problem loans and investments; 

12. plans for the management of any idle funds, long-
term plans and strategies for providing a tangible return to 
the investors, and relevant tax and accounting issues for the 
fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 
§2711. LEDC Investment Criteria 

A. In considering applicant's application for funding, 
LEDC may require, but not be limited to the following 
considerations: 

1. that the secretary or his designee sits upon the 
Foundation's Board of Directors; and that another 
representative of the department, designated by the LEDC, 
sit upon the Board of Investment Advisors; 

2. that LEDC's funding be accompanied by other 
investment; and that future funding be conditioned upon the 
ability of the applicant to attract other investment and that 
applicant provide a specific business plan and time table for 
raising those funds; 

3. that LEDC's funds shall be considered equity in the 
fund with any funds that were used for initial expenses to be 
counted as equity for carry and distribution purposes; 

4. that LEDC shall participate in the distributions in 
its pro-rate share; 

5. that If there are any other investors that receive 
state tax credits, then LEDC's return on investment shall be 
calculated on an equal basis; 

6. that the professional fund manager or the chief 
executive officer of the applicant provide the LEDC board 
with semi-annual reports detailing the investments made, 
return on investment, and the applicant's meeting of the 
goals and objectives and performance measures under which 
the application was approved; 

7. that LEDC may condition the applicant's use of 
investment capital as up-front operating funding upon 
submission of a quarterly accounting for the use of funds 
and a quarterly budget. Additionally, applicant may be 
required to submit quarterly and annual financial and 
narrative reports on the use of monies and all investments 
made by the fund during the reporting period. The narrative 
report shall include the number of applications received in 
addition to other activities. The narrative report shall include 
a listing of all investors in each business and all subsequent 
financings. Additionally, the reports shall contain 
information on the number of jobs created by the portfolio 
business, the payroll figures, the amount of any state tax 
incentive or other incentives utilized, and state taxes paid by 
the businesses; 

8. that LEDC may condition applicant's funding as 
may be appropriate and may require such securitization or 
other documentation as may be appropriate to the investment 
goals and objectives and performance measures; 

9. that LEDC may condition investment upon 
performance of such additional requirements as may be 
negotiated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 
§2713. Contract between LEDC and Applicant 

A. LEDC and applicant shall enter into such terms of 
agreement as may be customary in the industry for the 
creation and maintenance of Venture Capital Funding, 
provided that the agreement shall fully reflect the 
representations made by applicant as provided in 

Qualification for Award and Investment Criteria as set forth 
above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of Rules for 19:VII.Chapter 27 

regarding the University Foundation Investment Program 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Daryl Manning through the close of 
business on August 20, 2003, at P.O. Box 94185, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9185; 1051 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802; FAX (225) 342-9448; or email to 
manning@lded.state.la.us. 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  University Foundation  

Investment Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no incremental cost or savings due the 
implementation of this program. The staff that processes all 
LEDC programs will be sufficient to process and monitor this 
program. Since LEDC is funded through a statutory dedicated 
fund, there will be no increase or savings. The funding for the 
program will come from the regular authorized appropriated 
LEDC receives. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no expected impact on revenue of state or local 
governmental units within the first five years. There will an 
expectation of returns on the investments as liquidity events 
take place within the portfolio of the fund. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated additional costs to persons or non-
governmental groups. The benefit of this investment will be to 
universities and the businesses that they are trying to grow 
utilizing the technologies developed in the universities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are other investment funds in Louisiana but none are 
investing in the earliest stage of business development that this 
fund is targeted to fund. The early investments by these funds 
will make attractive later business stage investments for the 
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other Louisiana venture capital funds and thereby increase their 
value. 

 
Michael Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Director General Government Section Director 
0307#097 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Capital Companies Tax Credit ProgramCNotes Receivable 
(LAC 10:XV.325) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:1929 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to adopt the 
following Rule for the Capital Companies Tax Credit 
Program. The Rule is being adopted to provide additional 
guidance to certified Louisiana capital companies on the 
application of R.S. 22:1068.(E)(1)(b). This Rule provides for 
certain issues regarding premium tax reductions when 
certified Louisiana capital companies issue notes receivable 
to insurance companies that invest certified capital. It 
provides that the minimum period until maturity of the note 
shall be five years, and provides for minimum required 
repayment terms. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES, AND UCC 
Part XV.  Other Regulated Entities 

Chapter 3. Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
§325. Notes Receivable 

A. The provisions of R.S. 22:1068(E)(1)(b) will be 
satisfied with respect to a note receivable issued by a 
certified Louisiana capital company or its investment pool to 
an investing insurance company if: 

1. the note receivable has a stated final maturity date 
of not less than five years from the date on which the 
certified Louisiana capital company or its investment pool 
issues the note receivable; and 

2. either: 
a. the note receivable is repaid in a manner which 

results in the note receivable being fully repaid or otherwise 
satisfied in equal amounts over the stated maturity of the 
note receivable; or 

b. the duration of the note receivable is no shorter 
than the duration of a hypothetical note that: 
 i. is issued on the same date as the note issued by 
the certified Louisiana capital company or its investment 
pool; 
 ii. has the same maturity date as the note issued 
by the certified Louisiana capital company or its investment 
pool; 
 iii. has a price and yield the same as that of the 
note issued by the certified Louisiana capital company or its 
investment pool, calculated in the same manner (i.e., with 
respect to compounding, 360 vs. 365 day per year 
calculations, etc.); and 

 iv. is fully amortized by equal daily payments, 
which amounts are calculated as follows: 

(a). the aggregate of all amounts scheduled to be 
paid or otherwise credited to the holder of the note 
receivable issued by the certified Louisiana capital company 
or its investment pool for the entire term of the note 
receivable divided by; 

(b). the total number of days scheduled to elapse 
from the date on which the certified Louisiana capital 
company or its investment pool issues its note receivable 
through and including the stated maturity date thereof, 
calculated on a 365 or 360 day year, consistent with the 
calculation of interest on the note receivable. 

B. For purposes of this Section, a note receivable's 
"duration" shall mean the weighted-average time to receipt 
of the present value of the amounts used to repay or 
otherwise satisfy the note receivable obligation. For 
purposes of this Section, a note receivable's duration shall be 
calculated in a manner that is typical in the industry for 
publicly-traded debt instruments. 

C. Each certified Louisiana capital company or its 
investment pool that issues notes to insurance companies 
other than those described in A.2.a of this Section shall 
submit to the Office of Financial Institutions, in writing, the 
duration for each such note issued by it (or one 
representative note, if all notes are similar except for the face 
amount) and the duration for the note described in A.2.b of 
this Section. Each calculation shall show: 

1. all information required to make the duration 
calculation; and 

2. all interim worksheets and formulae used in the 
duration calculation, reasonably sufficient to allow the 
Office of Financial Institutions to duplicate the calculation. 
A copy of the actual spreadsheet model used by the certified 
Louisiana capital company or its investment pool for its 
duration calculation in a Microsoft Excel software format 
shall satisfy the requirements of the preceding sentence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1929. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of Rules for LAC 10:XV:325, 

Capital Companies Tax Credit Program should not have any 
known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rule amendments to Richard House through the 
close of business on August 20, 2003, at P.O. Box 94185,
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Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9185; 1051 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802; FAX 225-342-9448; or email 
house@led.state.la.us. 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Capital Companies Tax Credit 

ProgramCNotes Receivable 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated costs or savings to implement 
proposed Rules to state or local governmental units. This Rule 
will be implemented by existing staff administering this 
program. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is estimated this Rule will have no effect on revenue 
collections of the state. This Rule merely clarifies existing law 
and rules. This Rule does not effect local government. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

No significant costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups are anticipated. 
This rule merely clarifies existing law and rules. Louisiana 
Certified Capital Companies will realize an intangible  
non-economic benefit in that they will be able to structure their 
investment transactions with more certainty as to the effect of 
the specific structure. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is estimated there will be no effect on competition and 
employment. This Rule merely clarifies existing law and Rules. 

 
Daryl K. Manning Robert E. Hosse 
General Counsel General Government Section Director 
0307#098 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Definition of Building Enclosure  
(LAC 33:III.2156)(AQ232) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.2156 (Log 
#AQ232). 

LAC 33:III.Chapter 21, Subchapter N, provides capture 
efficiency test procedures for temporary or permanent 
enclosures. The definition of building enclosure (BE), as 
used in these regulations, is being amended to correct the 
federal reference cited in the definition. The basis and 
rationale for this Rule are to clarify the federal citation in the 
definition of building enclosure (BE), as used in the 
regulation. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic 

Compounds 
Subchapter N. Method 43CCapture Efficiency Test 

Procedures 
§2156. Definitions 

A. For purposes of this regulation, the following 
definitions and abbreviations apply. 

BECa building or room enclosure that contains a 
process that emits VOC. If a BE is to serve as a PTE or TTE, 
the appropriate requirements given in 40 CFR, Part 51, 
Appendix M, Method 204 must be met. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:653 (July 1991), amended 
LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 23:1679 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:1223 (August 2001), LR 
29:  

A public hearing will be held on August 26, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Room C111, 602 N. Fifth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Interested persons are 
invited to attend and submit oral comments on the proposed 
amendments. Should individuals with a disability need an 
accommodation in order to participate, contact Lynn 
Wilbanks at the address given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by AQ232. Such 
comments must be received no later than September 2, 2003, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, 
Regulation Development Section, Box 4314, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-4314 or by e-mail to lynnw@ldeq.org.. Copies of 
this proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Records Management Section at (225) 765-0843. 
Check or money order is required in advance for each copy 
of AQ232. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 
546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 Evans Road, Building 
4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 111 New Center 
Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo Drive, Raceland, 
LA 70394 or on the Internet at http://www.deq.state.la.us/ 
planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Definition of Building Enclosure 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units for this proposed Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of this Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs and/or economic benefits to persons 
or non-governmental groups as a result of this Rule. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed Rule will have no effect on competition or 
employment. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary General Government Section Director 
0307#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment  

Environmental Planning Division 

Penalty Determination Methodology 
(LAC 33:I.705)(OS051) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Office of the Secretary regulations, 
LAC 33:I.705 (Log #OS051). 

The proposed Rule will clarify the portion of the 
regulations on penalty calculations that requires the 
department to take into account any monetary benefits the 
violator may have realized through noncompliance. The 
Rule change was suggested by EPA as a result of a Water 
Program audit. The basis and rationale for this rule are to 
incorporate the language suggested by EPA to clarify the 
regulations. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 7. Penalties 
§705. Penalty Determination Methodology 

A. - F. … 
G. The department shall consider the monetary benefits 

realized through noncompliance. Any monetary benefits 
calculated may be added to the penalty subtotal. However, 

the amount calculated may not cause the penalty subtotal to 
exceed the maximum penalty amount allowed by law. A cash 
penalty should be collected unless it has been demonstrated 
and documented that the violator cannot pay the cash 
penalty. 

H. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2050.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:658 (April 
1999), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2400 (December 1999), 
LR 29: 

A public hearing will be held on August 26, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Room C111, 602 N. Fifth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Interested persons are 
invited to attend and submit oral comments on the proposed 
amendments. Should individuals with a disability need an 
accommodation in order to participate, contact Lynn 
Wilbanks at the address given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by OS051. Such 
comments must be received no later than September 2, 2003, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, 
Regulation Development Section, Box 4314, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-4314 or by e-mail to lynnw@ldeq.org. Copies of 
this proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Records Management Section at (225) 765-0843. 
Check or money order is required in advance for each copy 
of OS051. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 
546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 Evans Road, Building 
4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 111 New Center 
Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo Drive, Raceland, 
LA 70394 or on the Internet at http://www.deq.state.la.us/ 
planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Penalty Determination Methodology 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This rule revision will result in no implementation costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
This rule revision will have no effect on revenue 

collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule revision will have no costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. This rule change has no impact on the methodology for 
calculating a penalty. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition or employment 
associated with this rule revision. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary General Government Section Director 
0307#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Removal of Interim Fee Amounts for FY02-03 
(LAC 33:I.1409, 4707; III.223; V.5111, 5119, 5120,  

5123, 5125, 5135, 5137, 5139, 5141, 5143, 5145;  
VII.525, 527, 529; IX.1309, 1507; XI.307,  
1305; and XV.579 and Chapter 25)(OS049) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Environmental Quality fee 
regulations, LAC 33:I.1409, 4707; III.223; V.5111, 5119, 
5120, 5123, 5125, 5135, 5137, 5139, 5141, 5143, 5145; 
VII.525, 527, 529; IX.1309, 1507; XI.307, 1305; and 
XV.579 and Chapter 25, Appendix A (Log #OS049). 

No fee changes are being made in this proposed Rule. It is 
merely a housekeeping measure to remove obsolete 
language. The proposed Rule will remove from the 
regulations the fee amounts that were effective for July 1, 
2002 - June 30, 2003. The remaining fee amounts are the 
fees that are effective beginning July 1, 2003. Act 134 of the 
2002 Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
provided for a 20 percent increase in fees effective for 
FY02-03 and a 10 percent increase in fees above that, to be 
effective beginning in FY03-04. Fee increases for both fiscal 
years were promulgated in rule OS041 in the May 20, 2003, 
issue of the Louisiana Register. This Rule removes from the 
regulations the text that set forth the fee amounts that were 
effective only during FY02-03, and leaves the text that sets 
forth the fee amounts that are effective July 1, 2003. The 
basis and rationale for this proposed Rule are to clarify the 
fee regulations by removing the fee amounts that are no 
longer in effect. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 14. Groundwater Fees 
§1409. Groundwater Protection Fees 

A. Assessment Oversight (Annual). The fee listed below 
covers the cost of reviewing, evaluating, and approving

plans and/or reports that assess groundwater contamination 
and draw conclusions as to the need for further assessment 
and/or corrective action. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $10,395 
Solid Waste Facilities $6,930 
Nonregulated Facilities $3,465 

 
B. Corrective Action Oversight (Annual). The fee listed 

below covers the cost of reviewing, evaluating, and 
approving plans and/or actions to cleanup groundwater that 
has been contaminated by a facility. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $13,860 
Solid Waste Facilities $10,395 
Nonregulated Facilities $3,465 

 
C. Annual Report Review Fee. The fee listed below 

covers the cost of reviewing the groundwater annual report 
required by both the Hazardous and Solid Waste regulations. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $1,386 
Solid Waste Facilities $346 

 
D. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Installation. The 

fee listed below covers the cost of reviewing the geology 
and design of proposed groundwater monitoring systems to 
ensure compliance with department specifications. 

 
Each well $660 

 
E. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Surveillance Fee 

(Annual). The fee listed below covers the cost of inspecting 
monitoring systems to ensure that they are functioning 
properly and continue to maintain their integrity. The cost 
also includes other activities, such as the analysis of boring 
logs and site geology (cross sections, isopachs, etc.). The 
maximum fee that can be charged for this category is $6,600. 

 
Each well $330 

 
F. Facility Inspection Fee (Annual). The fee listed below 

covers the cost of inspecting the various facilities to ensure 
compliance with the groundwater protection aspects of the 
facilities' permits. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $1,320 
With sampling $9,900 
Solid Waste Facilities $660 
With sampling $1,980 

 
G. Oversight of Abandonment Procedures. The fee listed 

below covers the cost of reviewing plans to plug and 
abandon all nonpermitted groundwater monitoring systems 
(monitoring wells, piezometers, observations wells, and 
recovery wells) to ensure that they do not pose a potential 
threat to groundwater. 

 
Casing pulled $132 each well 
Casing reamed out $264 each well 
Casing left in place $660 each well 
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H. Maximum Total Fee Per Facility. The maximum fee 
that can be assessed a facility under these regulations is 
$41,580. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, Ground Water 
Protection Division, LR 18:729 (July 1992), amended LR 21:797 
(August 1995), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:671 (May 
2003), LR 29: 

Subpart 3.  Laboratory Accreditation 
Chapter 47. Program Requirements 
§4707. Fees 

A. - C. … 
D. The following basic fee structure will be used in 

determining the initial or annual fees due to the department. 
 
Accreditation application fee payable every 
three years 

$660 

Per major test category payable every year $330 

Minor conventional category payable every 
year 

$264 

Annual surveillance and evaluation applicable 
to minor conventional facilities and facilities 
applying for only one category of accreditation 

$330 

Proficiency samples biannually to be purchased 
by the laboratory 

Bioassay/biomonitoring annually to be purchased 
by the laboratory 

Third-party audit to be billed 
directly to the 
laboratory 

 
E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:920 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1436 (July 2000), LR 
29:672 (May 2003), LR 29: 

 
 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 2. Rules and Regulations for the Fee System 

of the Air Quality Control Programs 
§223. Fee Schedule Listing 

 

 

Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee Number Air Contaminant Source SICC 
Annual 

Maintenance 
Fee 

New Permit 
Application Fee Modified Permit Fees 

          Major Minor 
0010 Reserved        
0015 

*Note 20* 
Iron Ore Processing per Million Dollars in Capital 
Cost 

1011 52.80 264.00 158.00 52.00 

0020 Bituminous Coal and Lignite Mining 1211 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
0030 Coal Preparation 1211 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 
0040 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production (Less than 

100 T/Yr Source) 
1311 90.00 449.00 269.00 90.00 

0041 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production (equal to or 
greater than 100 T/Yr and less than 250 T/Yr 
Source) 

1311 150.00 756.00 454.00 151.00 

0042 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production 250 T/Yr to 
500 T/Yr Source 

1311 467.00 2,335.00 1,400.00 467.00 

0043 Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production Greater 
than 500 T/Yr Source 

1311 777.00 3,113.00 2,335.00 777.00 

0050 Natural Gas Liquids Per Unit 1321 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
0060 Construction Sand and Gravel 1442 150.00 756.00 454.00 151.00 
0070 Industrial Sand 1446 150.00 756.00 454.00 151.00 
0080 Salt Mining 1476 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 
0090 Sulfur Mining 1477 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 
0100 Commercial Rice Milling 2044 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
0110 Animal Feed Preparation 2048 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
0120 Cane Sugar, Except Refining Only 2061 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 
0130 Cane Sugar Refining per 1,000 Lb/Hr Rated 

Capacity 
2062 
MIN. 

15.11 
1,866.00 

75.65 
9,340.00 

45.38 
5,603.00 

15.11 
1,866.00 

0140 Cottonseed Oil Mill 2074 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
0150 Soybean Oil Mill 2075 265.00 1,324.00 795.00 265.00 
0160 Animal and Marine Fats and Oil (Rendering) 

10,000 or More Ton/Yr 
2077 906.00 4,538.00 2,722.00 906.00 

0170 Animal and Marine Fats and Oil (Rendering) Less 
than 10,000 Ton/Yr 

2077 454.00 2,270.00 1,362.00 454.00 

0180 Shortening, Table Oils, Margarine, and Other 
Edible Fats and Oils 

2079 187.00 946.00 566.00 187.00 

0190 Malt Beverages 2082 187.00 946.00 566.00 187.00 
0200 Coffee Roasting Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 

Capacity 
2095 
MIN. 
MAX. 

150.48 
359.00 

9,495.00 

756.36 
1,795.00 

47,480.00 

452.76 
1,077.00 

28,488.00 

150.48 
359.00 

9,495.00 
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Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee Number Air Contaminant Source SICC 
Annual 

Maintenance 
Fee 

New Permit 
Application Fee Modified Permit Fees 

          Major Minor 
0210 

*Note 9* 
Sawmill and/or Planing Less than 25,000 Bd 
Ft/Shift  

2421 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 

0220 
*Note 9* 

Sawmill and/or Planing More than 25,000 Bd 
Ft/Shift  

2421 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 

0230 
*Note 9* 

Hardwood Mill 2426 680.00 3,404.00 2,042.00 680.00 

0240 
*Note 9* 

Special Product Sawmill N.E.C. 2429 680.00 3,404.00 2,042.00 680.00 

0250 Millwork with 10 Employees or More 2431 680.00 3,404.00 2,042.00 680.00 
0260 Hardwood Veneer and Plywood 2435 1,513.00 7,564.00 4,538.00 1,513.00 
0270 Softwood Veneer and Plywood 2436 1,513.00 7,564.00 4,538.00 1,513.00 
0280 Wood Preserving 2491 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
0290 Particleboard/Waferboard Manufacture (O.S.B.) 2492 1,513.00 7,564.00 4,538.00 1,513.00 
0300 Hardboard Manufacture 2499 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
0310 Furniture and Fixtures: A) 100 or More 

Employees 
2511 478.00 2,394.00 1,436.00 478.00 

0320 Furniture and Fixtures: B) More than 10 and Less 
than 100 Employees 

2511 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 

0330 Pulp Mills Per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2611 
MIN. 

5.65 
3,892.00 

28.35 
19,459.00 

17.03 
11,675.00 

5.65 
3,891.00 

0340 
*Note 1* 

Paper Mill Per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2621 
MIN. 

5.65 
3,892.00 

28.35 
19,459.00 

17.03 
11,675.00 

5.65 
3,891.00 

0350 Paperboard Mills Per Ton Daily Rated Capacity 2631 
MIN. 

5.65 
3,892.00 

28.35 
19,459.00 

17.03 
11,675.00 

5.65 
3,891.00 

0360 Paper Coating 2641 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 
0365 Paper Bag Manufacture 2643 288.00 1,436.00 862.00 288.00 
0370 Insulation Manufacture 2649 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
0375 Folding Paper Board Boxes Per Packaging Press 

Line 
2651 
MIN. 

379.00 
1,866.00 

1,892.00 
9,340.00 

1,134.00 
5,603.00 

379.00 
1,866.00 

0380 Corrugated Boxes: Converters (with Boilers) 2653 566.00 2,835.00 1,703.00 566.00 
0381 Corrugated Boxes: Sheet Plant 2653 239.00 1,197.00 718.00 239.00 
0390 Building Board and Tile 2661 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 
0400 Commercial Printing: Black and White Per Press 2752 

MIN. 
226.00 

1,089.00 
1,134.00 
5,448.00 

680.00 
3,268.00 

226.00 
1,089.00 

0410 Commercial Printing: Color Per Press 2752 
MIN. 

378.00 
1,866.00 

1,890.00 
9,340.00 

1,135.00 
5,603.00 

378.00 
1,866.00 

0420 
*Note 2* 

Caustic/Chlorine Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Cap 
Posed on Chlorine 

2812 
MIN. 

3.79 
1,866.00 

18.92 
9,340.00 

11.34 
5,603.00 

3.79 
1,866.00 

0440 Industrial Gases 2813 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
0450 Inorganic Pigments 2816 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
0460 Aluminum Sulfate Production Per 100 Ton/Yr 

Rated Capacity 
2819 
MIN. 

1.87 
1,556.00 

9.46 
7,783.00 

5.65 
4,670.00 

1.87 
1,556.00 

0470 Alumina Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2819 
MIN. 

7.54 
1,556.00 

37.80 
7,783.00 

22.68 
4,670.00 

7.54 
1,556.00 

0480 Catalyst Mfg. and Cat. Regeneration Per Line 2819 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 
0490 Fluosilicates 2819 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
0500 Industrial Inorganic Chemicals Mfg. N.E.C. Per 

1,000,000 Lb/Yr  
2819 
MIN. 

1.87 
1,089.00 

9.46 
5,448.00 

5.65 
3,268.00 

1.87 
1,089.00 

0510 Industrial Inorganic Acids N.E.C. Per 1,000,000 
Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

2819 
MIN. 

18.92 
1,866.00 

94.55 
9,340.00 

56.73 
5,603.00 

18.92 
1,866.00 

0520 Nitric Acid Manufacture Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

2819 
MIN. 

7.54 
1,866.00 

37.80 
9,340.00 

22.68 
5,603.00 

7.54 
1,866.00 

0530 Phosphoric Acid Mfg. Per Ton Daily Rated 
Capacity 

2819 
MIN. 

1.87 
1,556.00 

9.46 
7,783.00 

5.65 
4,670.00 

1.87 
1,556.00 

0540 Sulphuric Acid Manufacture Per Ton Daily Rated 
Capacity 

2819 
MIN. 

1.87 
1,556.00 

9.46 
7,783.00 

5.65 
4,670.00 

1.87 
1,556.00 

0550 Polyethylene/Polypropolene Manufacture Per 
1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

2821 
MIN. 

15.11 
1,866.00 

75.65 
9,340.00 

45.38 
5,603.00 

15.11 
1,866.00 

0560 PVC Manufacture Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

2821 
MIN. 

18.92 
1,866.00 

94.55 
9,340.00 

56.73 
5,603.00 

18.92 
1,866.00 

0570 Synthetic Resins Manufacture N.E.C. Per 
1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

2821 
MIN. 

18.92 
1,866.00 

94.55 
9,340.00 

56.73 
5,603.00 

18.92 
1,866.00 

0580 Rubber Mfg. Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 2822 
MIN. 

18.92 
1,866.00 

94.55 
9,340.00 

56.73 
5,603.00 

18.92 
1,866.00 

0585 Paint Manufacturing and Blending 2851 704.00 3,518.00 2,111.00 704.00 
0590 Charcoal Per Oven 2861 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
0600 Gum and Wood Chemicals Per Unit 2861 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
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Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee Number Air Contaminant Source SICC 
Annual 

Maintenance 
Fee 

New Permit 
Application Fee Modified Permit Fees 

          Major Minor 
0610 Styrene Monomer Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr Rated 

Capacity 
2865 
MIN. 

7.54 
1,866.00 

37.80 
9,340.00 

22.68 
5,603.00 

7.54 
1,866.00 

0620 Halogenated Hydrocarbons Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 
Rated Capacity 

2869 
MIN. 

11.34 
1,866.00 

56.73 
9,340.00 

34.04 
5,603.00 

11.34 
1,866.00 

0630 Organic Oxides, Alcohols, Glycols Per 1,000,000 
Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

2869 
MIN. 

7.54 
1,866.00 

37.80 
9,340.00 

22.68 
5,603.00 

7.54 
1,866.00 

0635 Olefins and Aromatics N.E.C. Per 1,000,000 
Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

2869 
MIN. 

7.54 
1,866.00 

37.80 
9,340.00 

22.68 
5,603.00 

7.54 
1,866.00 

0640 Ammonia Manufacture Per Ton Daily Rated 
Capacity 

2873 
MIN. 

3.78 
1,866.00 

18.92 
9,340.00 

11.34 
5,603.00 

3.78 
1,866.00 

0650 Fertilizer Manufacture Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

2873 
MIN. 

1.87 
1,089.00 

9.46 
5,448.00 

5.65 
3,268.00 

1.87 
1,089.00 

0660 Urea and Ureaform Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

2873 
MIN. 

3.78 
1,089.00 

18.92 
5,448.00 

11.34 
3,268.00 

3.78 
1,089.00 

0670 Pesticides Mfg. Per Train 2879 1,513.00 7,564.00 4,538.00 1,513.00 
0680 Carbon Black Manufacture Per 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 

Rated Capacity 
2895 
MIN. 

22.68 
1,866.00 

113.44 
9,340.00 

68.09 
5,603.00 

22.68 
1,866.00 

0690 Chemical and Chemical Prep. N.E.C. Per 
1,000,000 Lb/Yr 

2899 
MIN. 

18.92 
1,556.00 

94.55 
7,783.00 

56.73 
4,670.00 

18.92 
1,556.00 

0695 Chemical and Chemical Prep. N.E.C. with Output 
Less than 1,000,000 Lb/Yr 

2899 1,077.00 5,388.00 3,233.00 1,077.00 

0700 Drilling Mud-Storage and Distribution 2899 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
0710 Drilling Mud-Grinding 2899 1,513.00 7,564.00 4,538.00 1,513.00 
0715 Salt Processing and Packaging Per 1,000,000 

Lb/Yr 
2899 
MIN. 

0.30 
467.00 

1.54 
2,335.00 

0.92 
1,400.00 

0.30 
467.00 

0720 
*Note 3* 

Petroleum Refining Per 1,000 BBL/Day Rated 
Capacity Crude Thruput 

2911 
MIN. 

94.55 
1,866.00 

472.77 
9,340.00 

284.00 
5,603.00 

95.55 
1,866.00 

0730 
*Note 4* 

Asphaltic Concrete Paving Plants Per Ton/Hr 
Rated Capacity 

2951 
MIN. 

2.85 
777.00 

14.22 
3,891.00 

8.53 
2,335.00 

2.85 
777.00 

0740 Asphalt Blowing Plant (Not to be Charged 
Separately if in Refinery) 

2951 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 

0760 
*Note 5* 

Blending, Compounding, or Refining of 
Lubricants Per Unit 

2992 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 

0770 Petroleum Coke Calcining Per 1,000 Ton/Yr 
Rated Capacity 

2999 
MIN. 

15.11 
1,866.00 

75.65 
9,340.00 

45.38 
5,603.00 

15.11 
1,866.00 

0773 Fiberglass Swimming Pools N/A 265.00 1,324.00 795.00 265.00 
0775 Plastics Injection Moulding and Extrusion Per 

Line 
3079 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 

0780 Glass and Glass Container Mfg. Natural Gas Fuel 
Per Line 

3229 566.00 2,835.00 1,703.00 566.00 

0790 Cement Manufacture Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

3241 
MIN. 

11.34 
1,556.00 

56.73 
7,783.00 

34.04 
4,670.00 

11.34 
1,556.00 

0800 Glass and Glass Container Mfg. Fuel Oil Per Line 3241 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
0810 Brick Manufacture Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 

Capacity 
3251 
MIN. 

5.65 
777.00 

28.35 
3,891.00 

17.03 
2,335.00 

5.65 
777.00 

0815 Concrete Products 3272 383.00 1,915.00 1,148.00 383.00 
0820 

*Note 12* 
Ready-Mix Concrete 3273 946.00 2,874.00 1,892.00 946.00 

0830 Lime Manufacture Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

3274 
MIN. 

11.34 
1,089.00 

56.73 
5,448.00 

34.04 
3,268.00 

11.34 
1,089.00 

0840 Gypsum Manufacture Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Rated 
Capacity 

3275 
MIN. 

11.34 
1,089.00 

56.73 
5,448.00 

34.04 
3,268.00 

11.34 
1,089.00 

0850 Asbestos Products Per Site or Per Production Unit 3292 2,270.00 11,347.00 6,809.00 2,270.00 
0860 Clay Kiln 3295 454.00 2,271.00 1,362.00 454.00 
0870 Rock Crusher 3295 416.00 2,080.00 1,249.00 416.00 
0880 Gray Iron and Steel Foundries: A) 3,500 or More 

Ton/Yr Production 
3321 606.00 3,024.00 1,815.00 606.00 

0890 Gray Iron and Steel Foundries: B) Less than 3,500 
Ton/Yr Production 

3321 301.00 1,513.00 906.00 301.00 

0900 Malleable Iron Foundries: A) 3,500 or More 
Ton/Yr Production 

3322 606.00 3,024.00 1,815.00 606.00 

0910 Malleable Iron Foundries: B) Less than 3,500 
Ton/Yr Production 

3322 301.00 1,513.00 906.00 301.00 

0920 Steel Investment Foundries: A) 3,500 or More 
Ton/Yr Production 

3324 606.00 3,024.00 1,815.00 606.00 

0930 Steel Investment Foundries: B) Less than 3,500 
Ton/Yr Production 

3324 301.00 1,513.00 906.00 301.00 
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0940 Steel Foundries N.E.C.: A) 3,500 or More Ton/Yr 

Production 
3325 606.00 3,024.00 1,815.00 606.00 

0950 Steel Foundries N.E.C.: B) Less than 3,500 
Ton/Yr Production 

3325 301.00 1,513.00 906.00 301.00 

0960 Primary Smelting and Refining of Copper Per 
100,000 Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

3331 
MIN. 

7.54 
1,866.00 

37.80 
9,340.00 

22.68 
5,603.00 

7.54 
1,866.00 

0970 Aluminum Production Per Pot 3334 
MIN. 

37.80 
1,866.00 

189.12 
9,340.00 

113.00 
5,603.00 

37.80 
1,866.00 

0980 Refining of Non-Ferrous Metals N.E.C. Per 1,000 
Lb/Yr Rated Capacity 

3339 
MIN. 

0.04 
1,866.00 

0.36 
9,340.00 

0.21 
5,603.00 

0.04 
1,866.00 

0990 Secondary Smelting of Non-Ferrous Metals Per 
Furnace 

3341 
MIN. 

1,134.00 
2,335.00 

5,673.00 
11,675.00 

3,404.00 
7,005.00 

1,134.00 
2,335.00 

1000 Wire Manufacture 3357 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
1010 Aluminum Foundries (Castings) Per Unit 3361 301.00 1,513.00 906.00 301.00 
1020 Brass/Bronze/Copper-Based Alloy Foundry Per 

Furnace 
3362 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 

1030 Metal Heat Treating Including Shotpeening 3398 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 
1040 Metal Can Manufacture 3411 757.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
1050 Drum Manufacturing and/or Reconditioning 3412 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
1059 Fabricated Structural Steel with 5 or More 

Welders 
3441 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 

1060 Fabricated Plate Work with 5 or More Welders 3443 957.00 4,789.00 2,874.00 957.00 
1070 Electroplating, Polishing and Anodizing with 5 or 

More Employees 
3471 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 

1080 Sandblasting or Chemical Cleaning of Metal: A) 
10 or More Employees 

3471 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 

1090 Sandblasting or Chemical Cleaning of Metal: B) 
Less than 10 Employees 

3471 566.00 2,835.00 1,703.00 566.00 

1100 Coating, Engraving, and Allied Services: A) 10 or 
More Employees 

3479 416.00 2,080.00 1,249.00 416.00 

1110 Coating, Engraving, and Allied Services: B) Less 
than 10 Employees 

3479 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 

1120 Galvanizing and Pipe Coating Excluding All 
Other Activities 

3479 454.00 2,270.00 1,362.00 454.00 

1130 Painting Topcoat Per Line 3479 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
1140 Potting Per Line 3479 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 
1150 Soldering Per Line 3479 227.00 1,134.00 680.00 227.00 
1160 Wire Coating Per Line 3479 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
1170 Oil Field Machinery and Equipment 3533 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 
1180 Power Chain Saw Manufacture Per Line 3546 566.00 2,835.00 1,703.00 566.00 
1190 Commercial Grain Dryer 3559 454.00 2,270.00 1,362.00 454.00 
1193 Commercial Laundry, Dry Cleaning, and Pressing 

Machines 
3582 566.00 2,835.00 1,703.00 566.00 

1195 Electric Transformers Per 1,000 Units/Year 3612 
MIN. 

175.92 
478.00 

879.56 
2,394.00 

527.74 
1,436.00 

175.92 
478.00 

1200 Electrode Manufacture Per Line 3624 529.00 2,645.00 1,588.00 529.00 
1210 Telephone Manufacture Per Line 3661 1,324.00 6,618.00 3,971.00 1,324.00 
1220 Electrical Connector Manufacture Per Line 3678 680.00 3,404.00 2,042.00 680.00 
1230 Battery Manufacture Per Line 3691 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
1240 Electrical Equipment Per Line 3694 454.00 2,270.00 1,362.00 454.00 
1245 Automobile, Truck, and Van Assembly Per 1,000 

Vehicles Per Year Capacity 
3711 
MIN. 
MAX. 

189.12 
1,197.00 

37,829.00 

945.50 
5,998.00 

189,145.00 

567.30 
3,592.00 

113,487.00 

189.12 
1,197.00 

37,829.00 
1250 Ship and Boat Building: A) 5001 or More 

Employees 
3732 5,673.00 28,365.00 17,020.00 5,673.00 

1260 Ship and Boat Building: B) 2501 to 5000 
Employees 

3732 3,780.00 18,912.00 11,347.00 3,780.00 

1270 Ship and Boat Building: C) 1001 to 2500 
Employees 

3732 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 

1280 Ship and Boat Building: D) 201 to 1000 
Employees 

3732 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 

1290 Ship and Boat Building: E) 200 or Less 
Employees 

3732 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 

1300 Playground Equipment Manufacture Per Line 3949 566.00 2,835.00 1,703.00 566.00 
1310 Grain Elevators: A) 20,000 or More Ton/Yr 4221 1,208.00 6,050.00 3,630.00 1,208.00 
1320 Grain Elevators: B) Less than 20,000 Ton/Yr 4221 606.00 3,025.00 1,815.00 606.00 
1330 

*Note 6* 
A) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and 
Terminal (over 3,000,000 BBL Capacity)  

4226 11,347.00 56,732.00 34,040.00 11,347.00 
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1340 

*Note 6* 
B) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and 
Terminal (1,000,000- 3,000,000 BBL Capacity) 

4226 7,564.00 37,821.00 22,692.00 7,564.00 

1350 
*Note 6* 

C) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and 
Terminal (500,001- 1,000,000 BBL Capacity) 

4226 3,780.00 18,912.00 11,347.00 3,780.00 

1360 
*Note 6* 

D) Petroleum, Chemical Bulk Storage and 
Terminal (500,000 BBL Capacity or Less) 

4226 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 

1361 
*Note 8* 

Wholesale Distribution of Coke and Other Bulk 
Goods Per 1,000 Ton/Yr Capacity 

4463 
MIN. 

0.77 
1,866.00 

3.79 
9,340.00 

2.24 
5,603.00 

0.77 
1,866.00 

1362 Crude Oil Pipeline: Facility with Less than 
100,000 BBLS Storage Capacity 

4612 838.00 4,191.00 2,515.00 838.00 

1363 Crude Oil Pipeline: Facility with 100,000 to 
500,000 BBLS Storage Capacity 

4612 1,197.00 5,988.00 3,592.00 1,197.00 

1364 Crude Oil Pipeline: Facility with Over 500,000 
BBLS Storage Capacity 

4612 1,676.00 8,382.00 5,029.00 1,676.00 

1366 Refined Oil Pipeline: Facility with Less than 
100,000 BBLS Storage Capacity 

4613 718.00 3,592.00 2,154.00 718.00 

1367 Refined Oil Pipeline: Facility with 100,000 to 
500,000 BBLS Storage Capacity 

4613 957.00 4,789.00 2,874.00 957.00 

1368 Refined Oil Pipeline: Facility with Over 500,000 
BBLS Storage Capacity 

4613 1,436.00 7,185.00 4,310.00 1,436.00 

1370 Railcar/Barge/Tank Truck Cleaning Heavy Fuels 
Only 

4742 379.00 1,892.00 1,134.00 379.00 

1380 Railcar and Barge Cleaning Other Than Heavy 
Fuels 

4742 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,892.00 

1390 Tank Truck Cleaning Other Than Heavy Fuels 4742 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
1400 A) Electric Power Gen. Per MW (Over 0.7 

Percent S in Fuel) 
4911 
MIN. 

17.57 
3,580.00 

87.94 
17,902.00 

52.76 
10,741.00 

17.57 
3,580.00 

1410 
*Note 7* 

B) Electric Power Gen. Per MW (0.7 Percent S or 
Less in Fuel) 

4911 
MIN. 

10.53 
1,712.00 

52.76 
8,562.00 

31.65 
5,137.00 

10.53 
1,712.00 

1420 C) Electric Power Gen. Per MW (Natural Gas 
Fired) 

4911 
MIN. 

5.29 
1,245.00 

26.39 
6,226.00 

15.83 
3,736.00 

5.29 
1,245.00 

1430 
*Note 11* 

Natural Gas Comp Per 100 H.P. (Turbines)  4922 7.54 37.80 22.68 7.54 

1440 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp Per 100 H.P.: A) 50,000 
H.P. 

4922 34.06 170.21 102.12 34.06 

1450 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp Per 100 H.P.: B) 20,000 to 
50,000 H.P. 

4922 37.80 189.12 113.44 37.80 

1460 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp Per 100 H.P.: C) 5,000 to 
20,000 H.P. 

4922 45.38 226.92 136.12 45.38 

1470 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp Per 100 H.P.: D) 2,500 to 
5,000 H.P. 

4922 52.96 264.71 158.84 52.96 

1480 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp Per 100 H.P.: E) 1,000 to 
2,500 H.P. 

4922 56.73 283.65 170.21 56.73 

1490 
*Note 11* 

Recip. Nat Gas Comp: F) Less than 1,000 H.P. 4922 756.00 1,892.00 756.00 756.00 

1500 
*Note 10* 

Coal Gassification Per $100,000 Capital Cost 4925 
MIN. 
MAX. 

7.54 
1,197.00 

60,558.00 

37.80 
5,988.00 

302,788.00 

22.68 
3,592.00 

181,672.00 

7.54 
1,197.00 

60,558.00 
1510 

*Note 10* 
Co-Generation Per $100,000 Capital Cost 4939 

MIN. 
MAX. 

7.54 
1,197.000 
37,829.00 

37.80 
5,988.00 

189,145.00 

22.68 
3,592.00 

113,487.00 

7.54 
1,197.00 

37,829.00 
1520 Incinerators: A) 1,000 Lb/Hr and Greater Capacity 4953 478.00 2,394.00 1,436.00 478.00 
1521 Incinerators: B) Less than 1,000 Lb/Hr Capacity 4953 154.00 777.00 467.00 154.00 
1525 Sanitary Landfill Per Million Mg of Planned 

Capacity 
4953 
MIN. 

132.00 
264.00 

660.00 
1,320.00 

396.00 
792.00 

132.00 
264.00 

1530 Municipal Incinerators 4953 3,780.00 18,912.00 11,347.00 3,780.00 
1532 Commercial Hazardous Waste Incinerator Per 

1,000,000 BTU Per Hour Thermal Capacity 
4953 
MIN. 

217.95 
4,789.00 

1,089.73 
23,950.00 

653.84 
14,370.00 

217.95 
4,789.00 

1533 Noncommercial Hazardous Waste Incinerator (Per 
1,000,000 BTU/Hr Thermal Capacity) 

4953 
MIN. 

108.97 
3,113.00 

545.61 
15,567.00 

326.91 
9,340.00 

108.97 
3,113.00 

1534 Commercial Hazardous Waste Disp. Facility 
N.E.C. 

4953 31,135.00 155,676.00 93,405.00 31,135.00 

1535 Commercial Hazardous Waste Underground 
Injection (Surface Facilities) Per Location 

4953 6,226.00 31,135.00 18,681.00 6,226.00 

1536 Recoverable/Re-usable Materials Proc. Facility 
(Per 1,000,000 BTU/Hr Thermal Capacity) 

4953 
MIN. 
MAX. 

108.97 
3,113.00 

15,567.00 

544.86 
15,567.00 
77,838.00 

326.91 
9,340.00 

46,702.00 

108.97 
3,113.00 

15,567.00 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1228

Table 1 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Fee Number Air Contaminant Source SICC 
Annual 

Maintenance 
Fee 

New Permit 
Application Fee Modified Permit Fees 

          Major Minor 
1540 Steam Gen. Units Per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: 

Natural Gas or Comb Non-Fossil Fuels 
4961 
MIN. 

1.87 
310.00 

9.46 
1,556.00 

5.65 
933.00 

1.87 
310.00 

1550 Steam Gen. Units Per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: 
Fuels with 0.7 Percent S or Less 

4961 
MIN. 

3.79 
777.00 

18.92 
3,891.00 

11.34 
2,335.00 

3.79 
777.00 

1560 Steam Gen. Units Per 1000 Lb/Hr Steam Cap: 
Fuels with More than 0.7 Percent S 

4961 
MIN. 

5.65 
1,089.00 

28.35 
5,448.00 

17.03 
3,268.00 

5.65 
1,089.00 

1570 Cement (Bulk Distribution) 5052 1,513.00 7,564.00 4,538.00 1,513.00 
1580 Wholesale Distribution of Coal Per 1,000 Ton/Yr 

Throughput 
5052 
MIN. 

0.36 
1,089.00 

1.87 
5,448.00 

1.11 
3,268.00 

0.36 
1,089.00 

1590 Automobile Recycling Scrap Per 1000 Ton/Yr 5093 
MIN. 
MAX. 

15.56 
777.00 

37,829.00 

77.83 
3,891.00 

189,145.00 

46.70 
2,335.00 

113,487.00 

15.56 
777.00 

37,829.00 
1600 Bulk Loader: Over 100,000 Ton/Yr Throughput 5153 3,780.00 18,912.00 11,347.00 3,780.00 
1610 

*Note 14a* 
Bulk Loader: Less Than or Equal to 100,000 and 
More Than 25,000 Ton/Yr Throughput 

5153 1,892.00 9,455.00 5,673.00 1,829.00 

1611 
*Note 14a* 

Bulk Loader: 25,000 Ton/Yr or Less Throughput 5153 1,077.00 5,388.00 3,233.00 1,077.00 

1612 
*Note 14a* 

Bulk Loader: No Grain or Dusty Materials 
Transfer 

5153 718.00 3,592.00 2,154.00 718.00 

1620 Grain Elevators-Terminal Per 10,000 BU/Yr 
Throughput 

5153 
MIN. 

0.36 
1,712.00 

1.87 
8,562.00 

1.11 
5,137.00 

0.36 
1,712.00 

1630 Wholesale Distribution of Chemicals and Allied 
Products Per Facility 

5161 946.00 3,780.00 2,835.00 946.00 

1640 Petroleum Bulk Plants 5171 77.00 379.00 227.00 77.00 
1650 Petroleum Bulk Terminal 5171 756.00 3,780.00 2,270.00 756.00 
1660 Petroleum Bulk Station 5171 77.00 379.00 227.00 77.00 
1670 Storage Tank 5171 0.00 756.00 379.00 379.00 
1680 Crude Oil Distribution 5172 1,134.00 5,673.00 3,404.00 1,134.00 
1690 Tire Recapping Plant 7534 154.00 777.00 467.00 154.00 
1700 Chemical Waste Disposal Facility for 

Nonhazardous Waste  
9998 3,518.00 17,592.00 10,555.00 3,518.00 

1710 Negotiated Fee 9999 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 
1711 Research Fee for Alternate Disposal of Hazardous 

Waste 
9999 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 

1720 
*Note 15* 

Small Business Sources N/A 143.00 713.00 428.00 143.00 

1722 Small Source Permit N/A 143.00 713.00 428.00 143.00 

 
 

Table 2 
Additional Fees 

Fee Number Fee Description Amount 
2000 Company Ownership/Operator Change or Name Change Transfer of an Existing Permit 150.00 
2010 The Issuance or Denial of Relocation, Administrative Amendments, Variances, Authorization to Construct, 

Change of Tank Service, Research & Development, and Exemptions 
300.00 

2015 
*Note 15* 

The Issuance or Denial of Relocation, Administrative Amendments, Variances, Authorization to Construct, 
Change of Tank Service, Research & Development, and Exemptions for Small Business Sources 

143.00 

2020 The Issuance of an Asbestos Demolition Verification Form (ADVF) - (at least 10 working days notification 
given) 

66.00 

2030 The Issuance of an Asbestos Demolition Verification Form (ADVF) - (less than 10 working days notification 
given) 

99.00 

2040 Agent Accreditation for Asbestos: Includes Contractor/Supervisor, Inspector, Management Planner, or Project 
Designer-Normal Processing (greater than 3 working days after receipt of required documentation and fees) 

264.00 

2050 Agent Accreditation for Asbestos: Includes Contractor/Supervisor, Inspector, Management Planner, or Project 
Designer-Emergency Processing (less than or equal to 3 working days after receipt of required documentation 
and fees) 

396.00 

2060 Worker Accreditation for Asbestos-Normal Processing (greater than 3 working days after receipt of required 
documentation and fees) 

66.00 

2070 Worker Accreditation for Asbestos-Emergency Processing (less than or equal to 3 working days after receipt of 
required documentation and fees) 

99.00 

2080 Duplicate Certificate 33.00 
2090 Training Organization Recognition Plus Trainer Recognition Per Trainer-Normal Processing (greater than 3 

working days after receipt of required documentation and fees) 
396.00 

66.00 
2100 Training Organization Recognition Plus Trainer Recognition Per Trainer-Emergency Processing (less than or 

equal to 3 working days after receipt of required documentation and fees) 
594.00 

99.00 
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2200 
*Note 13* Air Toxics Annual Fee Per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis:   

  Class I Pollutants 142.56 
  Class II Pollutants 71.28 
  Class III Pollutants 35.64 

2300 
*Note 14* 

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee Per Ton Emitted on an Annual Basis: 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) 

12.83/ton 

2400 An application approval fee for Stage II Vapor Recovery 
An annual facility inspection fee for Stage II Vapor Recovery 

132.00 
198.00 

2600 
*Note 16* 

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 1 264.00 

2620 
*Note 16* 

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 2 528.00 

2630 
*Note 16*  

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 3 3,300.00 

2800 An application fee for mobile sources emissions banking (auto scrappage) 66.00 
2810 An application fee for point source emissions banking (not applicable when filing application with a new 

permit or permit modification) 
66.00 

2900 
*Note 19* 

Lead Contractor License Evaluation Fee 500.00 

2901 
*Note 19* 

Lead Project Supervisor Accreditation Fee 250.00 

2902 
*Note 19* 

Lead Project Designer Accreditation Fee 500.00 

2903 
*Note 19* 

Risk Assessor Accreditation Fee 250.00 

2904 
*Note 19* 

Lead Inspector Accreditation Fee 150.00 

2905 
*Note 19* 

Lead Worker Accreditation Fee 50.00 

2906 
*Note 19* 

Accreditation Fee for Louisiana Lead Training Organizations, Application Processing Fee 500.00 

2907 
*Note 19* 

Accreditation Fee for Louisiana Lead Training Organizations, Processing Fee Per Instructor 50.00 

2908 
*Note 19* 

Accreditation Fee for Out of State Training Organizations, Application Processing Fee 750.00 

2909 
*Note 19* 

Accreditation Fee for Out of State Training Organizations, Processing Fee Per Instructor 100.00 

2910 
*Note 19* 

Lead Abatement Project Notification Fee, 2000 Square Feet and Under 200.00 

2911 
*Note 19* 

Lead Abatement Project Notification Fee for Each Additional Increment of 2000 Square Feet or Portion 
Thereof 

100.00 

2912 
*Note 19* 

Revisions to Lead Abatement Project Notification Fee 50.00 

2913 
*Note 19* 

Soil Lead Abatement Project Notification Fee, Half Acre or Less 200.00 

2914 
*Note 19* 

Soil Lead Abatement Project Notification Fee, Each Additional Half Acre or Portion Thereof 100.00 

Explanatory Notes for Fee Schedule 
Notes 1. – 10. … 
Note 11. The maximum annual maintenance fee for categories 1430 - 1490 is not to exceed $37,829 total for any one gas transmission 
company. 
Note 12. The maximum annual maintenance fee for one location with two or more plants shall be $1,711. 
Note 13. Fees will be determined by aggregating actual annual emissions of each class of toxic air pollutants (as delineated in LAC 
33:III.Chapter 51.Table 51.1) for a facility and applying the appropriate fee schedule for that class. Fees shall not be assessed for emissions of a 
single toxic air pollutant over and above 4,000 tons per year from a facility. The minimum fee for this category shall be $132. 
Note 14. Fees will not be assessed for emissions of a single criteria pollutant over and above 4,000 tons per year from a facility. Criteria fees 
will be assessed on actual annual emissions that occurred during the previous calendar year. The minimum fee for this category shall be $132. 
Notes 14a. – 20. … 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054, 30:2341, and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:613 (September 1988), LR 15:735 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:1205 (December 1991), repromulgated LR 18:31 
(January 1992), amended LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 
(November 1992), LR 19:1373 (October 1993), LR 19:1420

(November 1993), LR 19:1564 (December 1993), LR 20:421 
(April 1994), LR 20:1263 (November 1994), LR 21:22 (January 
1995), LR 21:782 (August 1995), LR 21:942 (September 1995), 
repromulgated LR 21:1080 (October 1995), amended LR 21:1236 
(November 1995), LR 23:1496 (November 1997), LR 23:1499 
(November 1997), LR 23:1662 (December 1997), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:267 (February 2000), LR 26:485 (March 2000), 
LR 26:1606 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:192 (February 
2001), amended LR 29:672 (May 2003), LR 29: 
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Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

QualityCHazardous Waste 
Chapter 51. Fee Schedules 
§5111. Calculation of Application Fees 

A. … 
B. Application Fee Schedule 
 

Item Fee 
Site analysis—per acre site size $   3301 
Process and plan analysis $ 1,320 
Facility analysis—per facility2 $    660 
Management/financial analysis $ 1,320 

[Note: Fee equals total of the four items.] 
1 Up to 100 acres, no additional fee thereafter. 
2 Incinerator, land farm, treatment pond, etc. each counted as a 
facility. 

 
C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:318 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 18:724 (July 1992), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:287 (March 2001), LR 29:685 (May 
2003), LR 29: 
§5119. Calculation of Annual Maintenance Fees 

A. Fee per Site 
 
Off-Site Disposer (Commercial) $105,336 
Reclaimer (compensated for waste removed) $  46,200 
Reclaimer (uncompensated for waste removed or pays 
for waste removed) 

$  33,000 

Off-Site Disposer (Noncommercial) $  26,400 
On-Site Disposer $  13,200 

[NOTE: The higher fee for off-site disposal is due to the cost 
of the manifest system and emergency response to transport 
spills (neither cost is applicable to on-site disposers).] 

 
B. Fee per Hazardous Waste Facility Type 
 

Unit Type Fee 
Storage:   

Container/Tank/Waste Pile/etc. $ 4,320 
Treatment:   

Incinerator/Boiler/Industrial Furnace/Filtration 
Unit/etc. 

$ 6,956 

Disposal:   
Landfill/Miscellaneous Unit/etc. $10,916 

 
C. Fee Based on Volume 
 

Less than 1,000 tons $  2,577 
Less than 10,000 tons $  6,473 
Less than 100,000 tons $10,370 
Less than 1,000,000 tons $14,267 
More than 1,000,000 tons $18,163 

 
D. - E. … 
F. Land Disposal Prohibitions Fee. Treatment, 

processing (including use, reuse, recycling), and/or disposal 
facility annual fee (not on storage facilities). This fee applies 
to facilities handling wastes subject to the land disposal 
prohibitions in LAC 33:V.Chapter 22. 

 
On-Site $1,320 
Off-Site Noncommercial $2,640 
Reclaimer $3,300 
Off-Site Commercial $6,600 

 
G. - K. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:318 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 
16:684 (August 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 18:723 
(July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, 
LR 29:685 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5120. Land Disposal Prohibition Petition Fees 

A. Petitions submitted in accordance with R.S. 
30:2193(E)(2) and/or LAC 33:V.Chapter 22 are subject to 
additional fees as noted below for each petition submitted. 
These fees must be submitted at the time a petition is 
submitted. 

 
Variance $13,200 
Exemption $59,400 
Extension $6,600 

No-Alternatives Determinations: 
Original Petition $13,200 
Renewal Petition/Request $13,200 
Request for determination for addition of a 
hazardous waste(s) not covered by existing 
determination 

$1,320 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR 
17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1803 
(October 1999), LR 29:686 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5123. Registration Fees, HW-1 

A. An initial registration fee is charged for each 
generator, transporter, or TSD facility obtaining an EPA 
Identification Number from the department. There is no fee 
for modifying an existing registration based on any change 
of information submitted on Notification Form HW-1. 

 
Initial Fee $12.50 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:319 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 14:622 (September 1988), 
LR 18:725 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:686 (May 
2003), LR 29: 
§5125. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee 

A. Fee will annually be $375, plus the prohibited waste 
fee. 
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B. Annual prohibited waste fee is $132 for each 
generator who generates for land disposal as provided in 
LAC 33:V.Chapter 22. The generator will be subject to this 
fee if any waste generated is prohibited from disposal at any 
time during the year for which the fee is assessed. 

C. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:533 (May 1985), LR 12:321 (May 1986), LR 12:676 (October 
1986), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 
17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of Management and 
Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:18 (January 1996), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:686 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5135. Transporter Fee 

A. All transporters of hazardous waste with a facility in 
Louisiana shall pay a fee of $264 per year to the department. 
There will be only one fee regardless of the number of 
vehicles in the service of the transporter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 14:622 (September 1988), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 29:686 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5137. Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator 

Fee 
A. Conditionally exempt small quantity generators (see 

LAC 33:V.108) shall pay a fee of $66 per year to the 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 14:622 (September 1988), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:716 (May 2001), LR 29:687 (May 2003), 
LR 29: 
§5139. Groundwater Protection Permit Review Fee 

A. Permit Review Fee. This fee covers the cost of 
reviewing permits for geology, geotechnical design, and 
groundwater protection aspects. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities 
(1 time) 

$6,600 each 

Permit Modifications:   
Class 1 and 2 $264 each 
Class 3 $990 each 

Solid Waste Facilities 
(1 time) 

$6,600 each 

Permit Modifications:   
Major $660 each 
Minor $264 each 

 
B. Oversight of Abandonment Procedures. This fee 

covers the cost of reviewing plans to plug and abandon all 
permitted groundwater monitoring systems (monitoring 
wells, piezometers, observations wells, and recovery wells) 
to ensure that they do not pose a potential threat to 
groundwater. 

 

Casing pulled $132 each 
Casing reamed out $264 each 
Casing left in place $660 each 

 
C. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Installation Permit. 

This fee covers the cost of reviewing the geology and design 
of proposed groundwater monitoring systems to ensure 
compliance with department specifications for units subject 
to permitting under these regulations. 

 
Each Well $660 

 
D. Groundwater Monitoring Systems Inspection Fee 

(Annual). This fee covers the cost of inspecting monitoring 
systems for units subject to permitting under these 
regulations, to ensure that they are functioning properly and 
continue to maintain their integrity. 

 
Each Well $330 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Groundwater Division, LR 14:621 (September 1988), amended LR 
16:685 (August 1990), amended by the Hazardous Waste Division, 
LR 18:725 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:687 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5141. Incinerator and Boiler/Industrial Furnace 

Inspection and Monitoring Fee 
A. … 

1. This fee will be $660 for each day of the test burn 
or trial burn. 

2. … 
B. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee for 

Incinerators, Boilers, Industrial Furnaces, and Commercial 
Recycling Furnaces. This is an annual fee applied to defray 
the cost of annually inspecting the required continuous 
monitors and recording devices for each incinerator, boiler, 
or industrial furnace to determine whether they are being 
properly maintained and calibrated. This fee will annually be 
a flat $1,320. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the Office of 
Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:18 
(January 1996), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2510 
(November 2000), LR 29:687 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5143. Annual Landfill Inspection and Monitoring Fee 

A. An annual fee shall be charged for the inspection of 
the regulatory requirement for leak detection and leachate 
collection systems associated with hazardous waste landfills 
to determine operational status and degree of proper 
maintenance. For each landfill unit or cell with a separate 
leak detection and leachate collection system, the annual fee 
will be $132. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2014 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended LR 18:725 (July 1992), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
29:688 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§5145. Annual Land Treatment Unsaturated Zone 

Monitoring Inspection Fee 
A. Semiannual Zone of Incorporation (ZOI) Inspection 

Fee. This fee covers the cost of inspection and random 
sampling and laboratory analysis of the zone of 
incorporation. 

 
ZOI soil samples $1,320 each acre 
Soil-pore liquid monitors (Lysimeters) $3,300 each monitor 

 
B. Annual Land Treatment Unit Report Review Fee. 

This fee covers the cost of reviewing the report required by 
final permits for land treatment. Included in the annual land 
treatment unit report are the results of the unsaturated zone 
monitoring. Included are the semiannual soil core sample 
analyses and the quarterly soil-pore liquid quality analyses 
from below the treatment zone. Also included are soil 
moisture tensiometer readings of the ZOI. 

 
Hazardous Waste Facilities $1,320 each report 

 
C. Permit Review Fee. This fee covers the cost of 

reviewing permits for geology, geotechnical design, and 
hydrological separation requirements of these regulations. 

 
Initial Permit $6,600 each 
Permit Modifications:   

Class 1 $264 each 
Class 2 or 3 $990 each 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2014 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29: 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 5. Solid Waste Management System 
Subchapter D. Solid Waste Fees 
§525. Standard Permit Application Review Fee 

A. Applicants for Type I, I-A, II, and II-A standard 
permits shall pay a $3,300 permit application review fee for 
each facility. The fee shall accompany each permit 
application submitted. 

B. Applicants for Type III standard permits or beneficial-
use permits shall pay a permit application review fee of $660 
for each facility. The fee shall accompany each permit 
application submitted. 

C. Permit holders providing permit modifications for 
Type I, I-A, II, and II-A facilities shall pay a $1,320 permit-
modification review fee. The fee shall accompany each  

modification submitted. Permit holders providing 
mandatory modifications in response to these regulations 
shall pay a $660 permit-modification fee. The fee shall 
accompany each mandatory modification submitted. Permit 
modifications required by LAC 33:VII.709.E.1 will not be 
subject to a permit modification fee. 

D. Permit holders providing permit modifications for 
Type III facilities or beneficial use facilities shall pay a $330 
permit-modification review fee. The fee shall accompany 
each modification submitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§527. Closure Plan Review Fee 

A. Applicants for Type I, I-A, II, and II-A closures shall 
pay a $1,320 closure-plan review fee. The fee shall 
accompany each closure plan submitted. 

B. Applicants for Type III or beneficial-use facilities 
closures shall pay a $330 closure-plan review fee. The fee 
shall accompany each closure plan submitted. 

C. Permit holders providing closure-plan modifications 
for Type I, I-A, II, and II-A facilities shall pay a $660 
closure-plan modification review fee. The fee shall 
accompany each modification submitted. 

D. Permit holders providing closure-plan modifications 
for Type III or beneficial-use facilities shall pay a $165 
closure-plan modification review fee. The fee shall 
accompany each modification submitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29: 
§529. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee 

A. An initial fee is charged for the processing of 
transporter notifications.  

1. The fee shall be calculated by the following 
formula: 

Initial fee per notification + Fee based on each vehicle 
owned by the transporter = Notification fee 

2. No fee is assessed for modifying an existing 
notification form. The fee shall accompany the notification 
form at the time of its filing. 

 
Initial fee $132 
Fee Per Vehicle $ 33 

 
B. – B.1. … 

a. $7,920 for Type I facilities (including facilities 
that handle both industrial and nonindustrial waste); 

b. $1,980 for Type II facilities; and 
c. $660 for Type I-A, II-A, III, and beneficial-use 

facilities. 
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2. … 
a. for industrial wastes (Type I facilities, except 

surface impoundments), $0.79/ton; 
b. for nonindustrial wastes (Type II facilities, except 

surface impoundments), $0.20/ton for amounts exceeding 
75,000 tons; 

c. - e. … 
3. The maximum annual monitoring and maintenance 

fee per facility for Type I facilities (including facilities that 
handle both industrial and nonindustrial solid wastes) is 
$105,600. The maximum fee per facility for Type II facilities 
is $26,400. Surface impoundments, as noted above, are 
assessed only the base fee. 

C. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 
22:18 (January 1996), LR 25:427 (March 1999), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 29: 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Chapter 13. Louisiana Water Pollution Control Fee 

System Regulation 
§1309. Fee System 

A. - M. … 
N. Other Fees 
 

Permit Type Amount 
Gen-LAG11-Concrete/Asphalt $  322 
Gen-LAG33-Coastal $2,640 
Gen-LAG47-Auto Repair/Dealers $  264 
Gen-LAG119-Concrete/Asphalt (SW) $  387 
Gen-LAG78-C&D Landfills $  660 
Gen-LAG89-Type D Truck Maintenance $  660 
Gen-LAG75-Exterior Vehicle Wash $  264 
Gen-LAG-Animal Waste $  300 
Gen-LAR-Baseline $    99 
Gen-LAG87-Bulk Terminals $  322 
Gen-LAR10-Construction $  264 
Gen-LAG67-Hydrostatic Test $  300 
Gen-LAG48-Light Commercial $  345 
Gen-LAR05-Multi-Sector $    99 
Gen-LAG38-Potable Water $  345 
Gen-LAG949-GW Remediation (SW) $  990 
Gen-LAG49-Sand and Gravel $  660 
Gen-LAG26-Territorial Seas $2,640 
Gen-LAG30-UST Dewatering $    99 
Gen-LAG94-GW Remediation $  990 
Gen-LAG679-Hydrostatic Test (SW) $  792 
Gen-LAG759-Mobile Vehicle/Equipment Wash $  317 
Gen-LAG83- Petroleum UST Remediation $  990 
Gen-LAG839-Petroleum UST (SW) $2,640 
Gen-LAG14-RR Classified Yards $  322 
Gen-LAG53-Sanitary Class I $    99 
Gen-LAG54-Sanitary Class II $  264 
Gen-LAG56-Sanitary Class III $  495 
Gen-LAG57-Sanitary Class IV $  594 
Gen-LAG309-UST Dewatering (SW) $  851 
Gen-LAG98-Vermilion Basin Sanitary $  323 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular 2014(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 11:534 
(May 1985), amended LR 14:626 (September 1988), LR 18:731 
(July 1992), LR 21:798 (August 1995), amended by the Office of 
Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 
(January 1996), amended by the Office of Water Resources, LR 
24:326 (February 1998), amended by the Office of Management 
and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 25:427 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 29: 
Chapter 15. Water Quality Certification Procedures 
§1507. Procedures for Issuance of Water Quality 

Certification 
A. - A.2. … 

a. A one-time processing fee will be assessed all 
applicants to help defray the costs of this expanded program. 
The fee schedule will be as follows. 

 
Noncommercial Activities $33/application 
Commercial Activities $350/application 

 
A.2.b. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2074(A)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 10:496 
(July 1984), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 22:345 
(May 1996), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2550 (November 2000), 
LR 29:690 (May 2003), LR 29: 

Part XI.  Underground Storage Tanks 
Chapter 3. Registration Requirements, Standards, and 

Fee Schedule 
§307. Fee Schedule 

A. - B. … 
1. Fees are assessed according to the following 

schedule. 
 

Fee 
Number Annual Registration Fee Amount 

001 All registered UST systems $54 
  Annual Maintenance and Monitoring Fees   

002 UST systems containing any substance 
defined in Section 101(14) of the 
Comprehensive Environmental Response, 
Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) 
of 1980 (but not including any substance 
regulated as a hazardous waste under the 
department's Hazardous Waste Regulations, 
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1) 

$660 

003 UST systems at federal facilities (all 
categories except USTs defined in Fee 
Number 002, which shall be assessed the 
higher fee) 

$158 

004 UST systems containing petroleum products 
not meeting the definition of motor fuels 

$158 

005 UST systems containing new or used motor 
oil (except USTs identified in LAC 
33:XI.1101.C and D) 

$275 

 
B.2. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001, 2014, 2195, and 2195.3 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 11:1139 (December
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1985), amended LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), 
LR 18:727 (July 1992), amended by the Office of Management and 
Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 22:19 (January 1996), LR 
25:427 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2400 
(December 1999), LR 29:690 (May 2003), LR 29: 
Chapter 13. Certification Requirements for Persons 

Who Install, Repair, or Close 
Underground Storage Tank Systems 

§1305. Categories of Certification and Requirements 
for Issuance and Renewal of Certificates 

A. - C. … 
D. Fees. The following fees are hereby established for 

certification and renewal: 
1. examination fee for individual certification, $132; 

and 
2. certification renewal fee, $132. 

E. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 
16:614 (July 1990), amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2562 (November 2000), LR 29:691 (May 2003), 
LR 29: 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 
Chapter 5. Radiation Safety Requirements for 

Industrial Radiographic Operations 
Subchapter B. Personal Radiation Safety Requirements 

for Radiographers 
§579. Identification (I.D.) Cards for Radiographers or 

Radiographer Trainees 
A. - A.3. … 

4. Any individual who wishes to replace his/her I.D. 
card shall submit to the Office of Environmental Services, 
Permits Division a written request for a replacement I.D. 
card, stating the reason a replacement I.D. card is needed. A 
non-refundable fee of $26 shall be paid to the department for 
each replacement of an I.D. card. The prescribed fee shall be 
submitted with the written request for a replacement I.D. 
card. The individual shall maintain a copy of the request in 
his/her possession while performing industrial radiographic 
operations until a replacement I.D. card is received from the 
department. 

B. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 20:1000 (September 
1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2584 (November 2000), 
LR 29:36 (January 2003), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29: 

 
 
 
Chapter 25. Fee Schedule 

Appendix A 
 

Appendix A 
Radiation Protection Program Fee Schedule 

  
Application 

Fee 
Annual 

Maintenance Fee 
I. Radioactive Material Licensing 
 A. Medical licenses:    
  1. Therapy:    
   a. Teletherapy 733 733 
   b. Brachytherapy 733 733 
  2. Nuclear medicine diagnostic only 904 904 
  3. Nuclear medicine diagnostic/therapy 970 970 
  4. Nuclear pacemaker implantation 363 363 
  5. Eye applicators 363 363 
  6. In-vitro studies or radioimmunoassays or calibration sources 363 363 
  7. Processing or manufacturing and distribution of radiopharmaceuticals 1,426 1,214 
  8. Mobile nuclear medicine services 1,426 1,214 
  9. "Broad scope" medical licenses 1,426 1,214 
  10. Manufacturing of medical devices/sources 1,663 1,386 
  11. Distribution of medical devices/sources 1,247 1,036 
  12. All other medical licenses 403 403 
 B. Source material licenses:    
  1. For mining, milling, or processing activities, or utilization which results in 
concentration or redistribution of naturally occurring radioactive material 

7,207 7,207 

  2. For the concentration and recovery of uranium from phosphoric acid as 
"yellow cake" (powered solid) 

3,604 3,604 

  3. For the concentration of uranium from or in phosphoric acid 1,802 1,802 
  4. All other specific "source material" licenses 363 363 
 C. Special nuclear material (SNM) licenses:    
  1. For use of SNM in sealed sources contained in devices used in measuring 
systems 

554 554 

  2. SNM used as calibration or reference sources 363 363 
  3. All other licenses or use of SNM in quantities not sufficient to form a 
critical mass, except as in I.A.4, I.C.1, and 2 

363 363 

 D. Industrial radioactive material licenses:    
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Appendix A 
Radiation Protection Program Fee Schedule 

  
Application 

Fee 
Annual 

Maintenance Fee 
  1. For processing or manufacturing for commercial distribution 7,128 5,366 
  2. For industrial radiography operations performed in a shielded radiography 
installation(s) or permanently designated areas at the address listed in the license 

1,214 957 

  3. For industrial radiography operations performed at temporary jobsite(s) of 
the licensee 

3,577 2,693 

  4. For possession and use of radioactive materials in sealed sources for 
irradiation of materials where the source is not removed from the shield and is less than 10,000 Curies 

1,802 904 

  5. For possession and use of radioactive materials in sealed sources for 
irradiation of materials when the source is not removed from the shield and is greater than 10,000 Curies, or 
where the source is removed from the shield 

3,577 1,789 

  6. For distribution of items containing radioactive material 1,802 1,802 
  7. Well-logging and subsurface tracer studies:    
   a. Collar markers, nails, etc. for orientation 363 363 
   b. Sealed sources less than 10 Curies and/or tracers less than or 
equal to 500 mCi 

1,076 1,076 

   c. Sealed sources of 10 Curies or greater and/or tracers greater 
than 500 mCi but less than 5 Curies 

1,802 1,802 

   d. Field flood studies and/or tracers equal to or greater than 5 
Curies 

2,706 2,706 

  8. Operation of a nuclear laundry 7,141 3,577 
  9. Industrial research and development of radioactive materials or products 
containing radioactive materials 

904 904 

  10. Academic research and/or instruction 733 733 
  11. Licenses of broad scope:    
   a. Academic, industrial, research and development, total activity 
equal to or greater than 1 Curie 

1,802 1,802 

   b. Academic, industrial, research and development, total activity 
less than 1 Curie 

1,076 1,076 

  12. Gas chromatographs, sulfur analyzers, lead analyzers, or similar laboratory 
devices 

363 363 

  13. Calibration sources equal to or less than 1 Curie per source 363 363 
  14. Level or density gauges 554 554 
  15. Pipe wall thickness gauges 733 733 
  16. Soil moisture and density gauges 554 554 
  17. NORM decontamination/maintenance:    
   a. at permanently designated areas at the location(s) listed in the 
license 

4,158 3,465 

   b. at temporary jobsite(s) of the licensee 4,158 4,158 
  18. Commercial NORM storage 3,465 3,465 
  19. All other specific industrial licenses except as otherwise noted 733 733 
  20. Commercial NORM treatment  16,632 13,860 
 E. Radioactive waste disposal licenses:    
  1. Commercial waste disposal involving burial 935,550 935,550 
  2. Commercial waste disposal involving incineration of vials containing 
liquid scintillation fluids 

7,128 3,577 

  3. All other commercial waste disposal involving storage, packaging and/or 
transfer 

3,577 3,577 

 F. Civil defense licenses 436 363 
 G. Teletherapy service company license 1,802 1,802 
 H. Consultant licenses:    
  1. No calibration sources 178 103 
  2. Possession of calibration sources equal to or less than 500 mCi each 264 178 
  3. Possession of calibration sources greater than 500 mCi 363 264 
  4. Installation and/or servicing of medical afterloaders 482 416 
II. Electronic Product Registration 
  1. Medical diagnostic X-ray (per registration) 117 117 
  2. Medical therapeutic X-ray (per registration):    
   a. below 500 kVp 277 277 
   b. 500 kVp to 1 MeV (including accelerator and Van deGraaf) 554 554 
   c. 1 MeV to 10 MeV 832 832 
   d. 10 MeV or greater 1,109 1,109 
  3. Dental X-ray (per registration) 104 96 
  4. Veterinary X-ray (per registration) 104 104 
  5. Educational institution X-ray (teaching unit, per registration) 172 104 
  6. Industrial accelerator (includes Van de Graaf machines and neutron 
generators) 

554 554 

  7. Industrial radiography (per registration) 277 277 
  8. All other X-ray (per registration) except as otherwise noted 125 125 
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Appendix A 
Radiation Protection Program Fee Schedule 

  
Application 

Fee 
Annual 

Maintenance Fee 
III. General Licenses 
 A. NORM (Wellhead fee per field shall not exceed $2,079 per operator. Operators 
reporting contamination by field will be invoiced for all wellheads in the field. Operators reporting 
contamination by wellhead will be invoiced only for contaminated units.) 

   

  1. 1-5 contaminated wellheads 139 139 
  2. 6-20 contaminated wellheads  693 693 
  3. >20 contaminated wellheads 2,079 2,079 
  4. Stripper wells-contaminated ($693 maximum for strippers per field): 139 139 
   a. 1 to 5 contaminated stripper wells 139 139 
   b. > 5 contaminated stripper wells 693 693 
  5. NORM locations (other than fields):    
   a. gas plants, pipeyards, chemical plant, refinery 416 416 
   b. warehouses, pipeline, manufacturing plant, NORM equipment 
storage site, etc. 

416 416 

  6. Interim container storage per NORM Waste Management Plan of an 
approved location 

  1,386 

  7. NORM location as otherwise defined in LAC 33:XV.1403 and not 
exempted by LAC 33:XV.1404, not included in III.A.1-6 of this Appendix 

139 139 

 B. Tritium sign 99 0 
 C. All other general licenses which require registration 139 139 
IV. Reciprocal Recognition 
 The fee for reciprocal recognition of a license or registration from another state or the NRC is the annual fee of the applicable category. 
The fee covers activities in the state of Louisiana for one year from the date of receipt. 
V. Shielding Evaluation (per room) 
 A. Diagnostic 139 * 
 B. Therapeutic (below 500 kVp) 209 * 
 C. Therapeutic (500 kVp to 1 MeV) 343 * 
 D. Therapeutic (1 MeV to 10 MeV) 482 * 
 E. Therapeutic (10 MeV or greater) 1,043 * 
 F. Industrial and industrial radiography 482 * 
VI. Device, Product, or Sealed Source Evaluation 
 A. Device evaluation (each) 970 * 
 B. Sealed source design evaluation (each) 627 * 
 C. Update sheet 209 * 
VII.  Testing  
 Testing to determine qualifications of employees, per test administered 178 * 
VIII. Nuclear Electric Generating Station 
 Located in Louisiana   393,360 
 Located near Louisiana (Plume Exposure Pathway Emergency Planning Zone - includes area in 
Louisiana) 

  285,120 

 Uranium Enrichment Facility   69,300 
IX. La. Radiation Protection Program Laboratory Analysis Fees 

Sample Type Analysis Unit Price 
 A. Air filters:    

  1. Particulate Gross beta 77 
  2. Charcoal cartridge Gamma 218 

  Gamma/I-131 218 
 B. Milk Gamma 231 
  I-131 250 
 C. Water Gamma 250 
  I-131 250 
  H-3 92 
 D. Sediment Gamma 264 
 E. Vegetation Gamma 250 
 F. Fish Gamma 264 
 G. Leak test Gamma 218 
  H-3 92 
 H. NORM sample:    
  1. Soil Gamma 231 
  2. Produced water Gamma 250 
* Fees are charged one time 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:719 (July 1992), 
repromulgated LR 18:956 (September 1992), amended LR 19:624 
(May 1993), LR 21:792 (August 1995), repromulgated LR 21:944 
(September 1995), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2607 
(November 2000), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29: 

A public hearing will be held on August 26, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Room C111, 602 N. Fifth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Interested persons are 
invited to attend and submit oral comments on the proposed 
amendments. Should individuals with a disability need an 
accommodation in order to participate, contact Lynn 
Wilbanks at the address given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by OS049. Such 
comments must be received no later than September 2, 2003, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, 
Regulation Development Section, Box 4314, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-4314 or by e-mail to lynnw@ldeq.org.. Copies of 
this proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Records Management Section at (225) 765-0843. 
Check or money order is required in advance for each copy 
of OS049. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 
546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 Evans Road, Building 
4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 111 New Center 
Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo Drive, Raceland, 
LA 70394 or on the Internet at http://www.deq.state.la.us/ 
planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Removal of Interim Fee  

Amounts for FY02-03 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No implementation costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units are expected as a result of this Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of implementation of this 
Rule. No fee changes are being made in this proposed Rule. It 
is merely a housekeeping measure to remove obsolete 
language. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There should be no costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of the implementation of this rule. No fee changes are 
being made in this proposed Rule. It is merely a housekeeping 
measure to remove obsolete language. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition and employment are not expected to be 
affected as a result of the implementation of this Rule. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary General Government Section Director 
0307#030 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Associated Branch Pilots Board of Examiners  

of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans 

Retirement and Drug and Alcohol Policy  
(LAC 46:LXXVI.Chapters 11-16) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, and R.S. 34:941, 
that the Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of 
New Orleans, intends to amend its existing Rules respecting 
its Drug and Alcohol Policy. The board further intends to 
add a provision requiring compulsory retirement at age 68. 

The Louisiana legislature formed the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans for the purpose of 
establishing Rules, Regulations and requirements for holding 
examinations for all applicants who have registered with 
them for the posts of bar pilots; to establish standards for 
recommendation by the Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for 
the Port of New Orleans to the governor of the state of 
Louisiana for appointment as bar pilots who, pursuant to 
R.S. 34:941 et seq., have the duty to pilot sea-going vessels 
into and out of the entrances of the Mississippi River and 
into and out of the entrances of all other waterways 
connecting the Port of New Orleans with the outside 
waterways of the Gulf of Mexico; to establish procedures in 
conformity with the requirements of the Administrative 
Procedure Act for investigating and conducting hearings 
relative to incidents and/or complaints of pilot misconduct; 
to establish certain minimum standards of conduct, including 
conduct relative to neglect of duty, drunkenness, 
carelessness, habitual intemperance, substance abuse, 
incompetency, unreasonable absence from duty, and general 
bad conduct of bar pilots; to provide a uniform set of Rules 
and regulations for the proper and safe pilotage of sea-going 
vessels upon the waterways under the jurisdiction of the 
Associated Branch Pilots for the Port of New Orleans; and to 
insure compliance by the Board of Examiners with the 
Public Meetings Law. These Rules and regulations are 
enacted to accomplish those purposes required by the
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legislature and to protect the public by ensuring available, 
safe and competent pilotage of vessels on the waterways 
under the jurisdiction of this board of examiners. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXXVI.  Steamship Pilots 

Subpart 3.  Bar Pilots of the Port of New Orleans  
Chapter 11. General Provisions 
§1101. Authority 

A. As mandated by R.S. 34:945.C.1., these rules and 
regulations are issued by the Board of Examiners of bar 
pilots for the Port of New Orleans in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq. for 
the purpose of adopting rules, regulations and requirements 
for holding examinations for all applicants who have 
registered with them for the posts of bar pilots. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:350 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1102. Purpose 

A. The purposes of these rules and regulations are as 
follows:  

1. to establish standards for recommendation by the 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans to the governor of the State of Louisiana for 
appointment as bar pilots who, pursuant to R.S. 34:941 et 
seq., have the duty to pilot sea-going vessels into and out of 
the entrances of the Mississippi River and into and out of the 
entrances of all other waterways connecting the Port of New 
Orleans with the outside waterways of the Gulf of Mexico. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:350 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1103. Definitions 

A. The following terms as used in these rules and 
regulations, unless the context otherwise requires or unless 
redefined by a particular part hereof, shall have the 
following meanings. 

Administrative Procedure ActCthe Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

Application-the written application supplied by the 
Board of Examiners to an applicant who desires to become a 
bar pilot for the Port of New Orleans. 

Board of Examiners or BoardCthe Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, established in R.S. 
34:942. 

Bar Pilot or PilotCa bar pilot for the Port of New 
Orleans as designated in R.S. 34:943. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29: 
§1104. Severability 

A. If any provision of these rules and regulations is held 
to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions 
or applications which can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application, and to this end, provisions of these 
Rules and regulations are declared to be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:351 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1105. Effective Date 

A. These Rules and regulations shall be in full force and 
effective 90 days after final publication in the Louisiana 
Register. All bar pilots and bar pilot candidates shall be 
provided with a copy of these rules and regulations as well 
as any amendments, after the rules and regulations are 
adopted by the Board of Examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:351 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1106. Qualifications of Pilots 

A. No person shall be recommended to the governor for 
appointment as a Pilot unless the applicant: 

1. is a qualified elector of the state of Louisiana; 
2. has served at least 12 months next preceding the 

date of his application in a pilot boat at the mouth of the 
Mississippi River or other entrances into the Gulf of Mexico 
or other outside waters from the Port of New Orleans; 

3. has successfully passed the examination given by 
the board of examiners, as required by R.S. 34:948; 

4. owns or has made a binding legal agreement to 
acquired as owner or part owner of at least one decked pilot 
boat of not less than 50 tons burden, which is used and 
employed exclusively as a pilot boat, as required by R.S. 
34:930; 

5. is a high school graduate or, in lieu thereof, holds a 
third mate's license; 

6. has served at least 1 year at sea on a sea-going 
vessel of not less than 1,600 gross tons in the deck 
department; 

7. has successfully passed a physical examination 
which in the judgment of the Board of Examiners includes 
those standards, such as vision, color perception and hearing 
tests, to perform duties as a bar pilot; 

8. is of good moral character; and 
9. shall have completed satisfactorily an 

apprenticeship program which culminates in a cubbing 
period of not less than 9 months duration handling vessels 
over the routes of the bar pilots under the supervision of not 
less than 25 licensed state bar pilots. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:351 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1107. Minimum Requirements 

A. The Board of Examiners shall review, and if found 
satisfactory, approve the apprenticeship program of the 
applicant, the minimum requirements of which shall be as 
follows: the applicant must set forth in detail the names of 
the vessels handled, dates handled, the direction of travel, 
size, draft, and type of vessel, and the name of the 
supervising bar pilot. During the period of apprenticeship the 
applicant shall handle vessels on not less than 650 occasions, 
two-thirds of which shall be at night. 

B. The board of examiners will review the number and 
times of vessels handled, the size, draft, and type of vessels 
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and the conditions under which the applicant has performed 
the apprenticeship in order to determine if the applicant has 
had sufficient exposure as to enable the board of examiners 
to make a determination of the applicant's competence and 
ability to perform the duties of a bar pilot. 

C. The Board of Examiners shall prescribe the form of 
the application and required documentary proof of the 
applicant's eligibility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:351 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1108. Bond 

A. No person shall assume the position of bar pilot until 
he shall have first taken the oath prescribed by law and has 
furnished a bond in favor of the governor in the amount of 
$2,000 conditioned on the faithful performance of his duties 
imposed upon him as a bar pilot. This bond shall be 
approved by the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New 
Orleans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:351 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1109. Compulsory Retirement 

A. A state commissioned bar pilot for the Port of New 
Orleans shall be required to retire on or before the date of 
his/her 68th birthday. It shall be the pilot's responsibility to 
insure that his/her pension begins in a timely fashion.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29: 
Chapter 13. Pilots 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1301. Authority 

A. As mandated by R.S. 34:945.C.l, these Rules and 
regulations are issued in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq. for the purpose of 
establishing minimum standards of conduct for bar pilots 
and for the proper and safe pilotage of sea-going vessels into 
and out of the entrance of the Mississippi River and into and 
out of the entrances of all other waterways connecting the 
Port of New Orleans with outside waters of the Gulf of 
Mexico, including the entrance of the New Orleans 
Tidewater Channel at the western shore of the Chandeleur 
Sound off Point Chicot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:351 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1302. Purpose 

A. The purposes of these Rules and regulations are as 
follows: 

1. to establish certain minimum standards of conduct, 
including conduct relative to neglect of duty, drunkenness, 
carelessness, habitual intemperance, substance abuse, 
incompetency, unreasonable absence from duty, and general 
bad conduct of bar pilots; 

2. to provide a uniform set of Rules and regulations 
for the proper and safe pilotage of sea-going vessels upon 
the waterways referred to in §1101. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:352 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1303. Definitions 

A. The following terms as used in these Rules and 
regulations, unless the context otherwise requires or unless 
redefined by a particular part hereof, shall have the 
following meanings. 

Administrative Procedure ActCthe Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Bar Pilot or PilotCa bar pilot for the Port of New 
Orleans, as designated in RS. 34:943. 

Board of Examiners or BoardCthe Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, established in R.S. 
34:942. 

Services of a Bar PilotCany advice or assistance with 
respect to pilotage by the commissioned bar pilot or by his 
authorized representative, including but not limited to advice 
concerning weather, channel conditions, or other 
navigational conditions. 

WaterwaysCthe entrance into and out of the Mississippi 
River and into and out of the entrances of all other 
waterways connecting the Port of New Orleans with the 
outside waters of the Gulf of Mexico, including the entrance 
of the New Orleans Tidewater Channel at the western shore 
of the Chandeleur sound off Point Chicot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:352 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1304. Investigations And Enforcement 

A. All complaints reported to the board shall be 
considered for investigation. A complaint under the 
provisions of §1304.A-F is defined as: 

1. any written complaint involving a bar pilot 
commissioned for the Port of New Orleans; 

2 any reported incident involving a bar pilot 
commissioned for the Port of New Orleans while piloting a 
vessel; or 

3. any other event involving a bar pilot commissioned 
for the Port of New Orleans that, in the discretion of any 
member of the board, justifies further investigation. 

B. The board may appoint an investigating officer to 
investigate the complaint and report to the board. 

C. If the board, or its designated investigating officer, is 
of the opinion that the complaint, if true, is sufficient to 
justify a further investigation, it shall appoint an 
investigating officer, or authorize its designated investigating 
officer to conduct a full investigation of the complaint. 

D. Once authorized under §1304.C, the investigating 
officer, who may be an active or retired member of the 
Associated Branch Pilots of the Port of New Orleans, 
Louisiana, and who may be a member of the board, shall 
make a full and complete investigation of the complaint. He 
shall be assisted by an attorney, named as independent 
prosecutor by the board. In the event that the investigating 
officer, as contemplated by either §1304.B or §1304.C, is an 
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active member of the board, he shall be recused from any 
participation in the decision of the case. 

E. If the investigating officer is of the opinion that the 
conduct in question is not sufficient to justify further 
proceedings, he shall make a reasoned report to the board, 
which may accept or reject his recommendation. 

F. If the investigating officer is of the opinion that the 
conduct complained of is sufficient to justify further 
proceedings and the board has accepted his 
recommendations, or if the board has rejected his 
recommendation to dismiss the complaint, he shall give 
notice to the respondent, by registered mail, of the facts or 
conduct on which the complaint is based, and offer the 
respondent an opportunity to show compliance with the laws 
or regulations allegedly violated. If, in the opinion of the 
investigating officer, the respondent is able to demonstrate 
such compliance, then the investigating officer shall make a 
report to the board, recommending to the board that the 
complaint be dismissed. The board may accept or reject the 
recommendation of the investigating officer. 

G. If the respondent is unable to demonstrate such 
compliance, or if the board rejects the recommendation of 
the investigating officer to dismiss the complaint, the 
investigating officer shall initiate proceedings by filing a 
written administrative complaint with the board, which shall 
be signed by the investigating officer. 

H. The administrative complaint shall name the accused 
bar pilot as respondent in the proceedings. It shall also set 
forth, in separately numbered paragraphs, the following: 

1. a concise statement of material facts and matters 
alleged and to be proven by the investigating officer, 
including the facts giving rise to the board's jurisdiction over 
the respondent; 

2. the facts constituting legal cause under law for 
administrative action against the respondent; 

3. the statutory or regulatory provisions alleged to 
have been violated by respondent. 

I. The administrative complaint shall conclude with a 
request for the administrative sanction sought by the 
investigating officer, and shall state the name, address, and 
telephone number of administrative complaint counsel 
engaged by the board to present the case at the evidentiary 
hearing before the board. 

J. The board may either accept or reject the 
administrative complaint. 

K. If it rejects the administrative complaint, the case may 
be either dismissed or referred back to the investigating 
officer for further investigation. 

L. If the board accepts the administrative complaint, the 
board shall docket the administrative complaint and schedule 
the administrative complaint for hearing before the board not 
less than 45 days nor more than 180 days thereafter; 
provided, however, that such time may be lengthened or 
shortened as the board determines may be necessary or 
appropriate to protect the public interest or upon motion of 
the investigating officer or respondent pursuant to a showing 
of proper grounds. In the event the respondent's commission 
as a bar pilot for the port of New Orleans has been 
suspended by the board pending hearing, the evidentiary 
hearing on the administrative complaint shall be noticed and 
scheduled not more than 45 days after the filing of the 
administrative complaint. 

M. A written notice of the administrative complaint and 
the time, date and place of the scheduled hearing thereon 
shall be served upon the respondent by registered, return 
receipt requested mail, as well as by regular first class mail, 
at the most current address for the respondent reflected in 
the official records of the board, or by personal delivery of 
the administrative complaint to the respondent. The notice 
shall include a statement of the legal authority and 
jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held, and shall 
be accompanied by a certified copy of the administrative 
complaint.  

N. The case shall be prosecuted by the independent 
prosecutor, also referred to administrative complaint 
counsel, who shall handle the case to its conclusion. He shall 
be entirely independent of the authority of the board in going 
forward with the matter, and may conduct such further 
investigation, and prepare and try the case in such manner as 
he may deem appropriate. 

O. Within 15 days of service of the administrative 
complaint, or such longer time as the board, on motion of the 
respondent, may permit, the respondent may answer the 
administrative complaint, admitting or denying each of the 
separate allegations of fact and law set forth therein. Any 
matters admitted by respondent shall be deemed proven and 
established for purposes of adjudication. In the event that the 
respondent does not file a response to the administrative 
complaint, all matters asserted therein shall be deemed 
denied. 

P. Any respondent may be represented in an 
adjudication proceeding before the board by an attorney at 
law duly admitted to practice in the state of Louisiana. Upon 
receipt of service of an administrative complaint pursuant to 
these rules, or thereafter, a respondent who is represented by 
legal counsel with respect to the proceeding shall, personally 
or through such counsel, give written notice to the board of 
the name, address, and telephone number of such counsel. 
Following receipt of proper notice of such representation, all 
further notices, administrative complaints, subpoenas or 
other process related to the proceeding shall be served on 
respondent through his or her designated counsel of record. 

Q. All pleadings, motions or other papers permitted or 
required to be filed with the board in connection with a 
pending adjudication proceeding shall be filed by personal 
delivery at or by mail to the office of the board and shall by 
the same method of delivery be concurrently served upon 
administrative complaint counsel designated by the 
administrative complaint, if filed by or on behalf of the 
respondent, or upon respondent, through counsel of record, 
if any, if filed by administrative complaint counsel. 

1. All such pleadings, motions or other papers shall be 
submitted on plain white letter-size (8 1/2" x 11") bond, with 
margins of at least one inch on all sides, and double spaced 
except as to quotations and other matters customarily single 
spaced, shall bear the caption and docket number of the case 
as it appears on the administrative complaint, and shall 
include the certificate of the attorney or person making the 
filing that service of a copy of the same has been effected in 
the manner prescribed by Subsection A of this Section. 

2. The board may refuse to accept for filing any 
pleading, motion or other paper not conforming to the 
requirements of this section. 
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R. Motions for continuance of hearing, for dismissal of 
the proceeding and all other prehearing motions shall be 
filed not later than 30 days following service of the 
administrative complaint on the respondent or 15 days prior 
to the hearing, whichever is earlier. Each prehearing motion 
shall be accompanied by a memorandum which shall set 
forth a concise statement of the grounds upon which the 
relief sought is based and the legal authority therefor. A 
motion may be accompanied by an affidavit as necessary to 
establish facts alleged in support of the motion. Within 10 
days of the filing of any such motion and memorandum or 
such shorter time as the board may order, the investigating 
officer, through administrative complaint counsel, may file a 
memorandum in opposition to or otherwise setting forth the 
investigating officer's position with respect to the motion. 

S.1. A motion for continuance of hearing shall be filed 
within the delay prescribed by §1304.R of these rules, 
provided that the board may accept the filing of a motion for 
continuance at any time prior to hearing upon a showing of 
good cause not discoverable within the time otherwise 
provided for the filing of prehearing motions. 

2. A scheduled hearing may be continued by the board 
only upon a showing by respondent or administrative 
complaint counsel that there are substantial legitimate 
grounds that the hearing should be continued, balancing the 
right of the respondent to a reasonable opportunity to 
prepare and present a defense to the complaint and the 
board's responsibility to protect the public health, welfare 
and safety. Except in extraordinary circumstances evidenced 
by verified motion or accompanying affidavit, the board will 
not ordinarily grant a motion to continue a hearing that has 
been previously continued upon motion of the same party. 

3. If an initial motion for continuance is not opposed, 
it may be granted by the presiding office. 

T.1. Any prehearing motion, other than an unopposed 
initial motion for continuance of hearing which may be 
granted by the chairman of the board, shall be referred for 
decision to the board member designated by the board as the 
presiding officer of the board designated with respect to the 
proceeding for ruling. The presiding officer, who shall be a 
member of the board designated as presiding officer by the 
board in each matter before the board, in his discretion, may 
refer any prehearing motion to the board for disposition, and 
any party aggrieved by the decision of a presiding officer on 
a prehearing motion may request that the motion be 
reconsidered by the entire panel. 

2. Prehearing motions shall ordinarily be ruled upon 
by the presiding officer or the board, as the case may be, on 
the papers filed, without hearing. On the written request of 
respondent or of administrative complaint counsel, however, 
and on demonstration that there are good grounds therefor, 
the presiding officer may grant opportunity for hearing by 
oral argument, on any prehearing motion. 

U.1. Upon request of the respondent or administrative 
complaint counsel and compliance with the requirements of 
this section, any board member shall sign and issue 
subpoenas in the name of the board requiring the attendance 
and giving of testimony by witnesses and the production of 
books, papers, and other documentary evidence at an 
adjudication hearing. 

2. No subpoena shall be issued unless and until the 
party who wishes to subpoena the witness first deposits with 

the board a sum of money sufficient to pay all fees and 
expenses to which a witness in a civil case is entitled 
pursuant to R.S. 13:3661 and R.S. 13:3671. Witnesses 
subpoenaed to testify before the board only to an opinion 
founded on special study or experience in any branch of 
science, or to make scientific or professional examination, 
and to state the results thereof, shall receive such additional 
compensation from the party who wishes to subpoena such 
witnesses as may be fixed by the board with reference to the 
value of time employed and the degree of learning or skill 
required. 

V.1. In any case of adjudication noticed and docketed for 
hearing, counsel for respondent and administrative 
complaint counsel may agree, or the presiding officer may 
require, that a prehearing conference be held among such 
counsel, or together with the board's independent counsel 
appointed pursuant to §1304.W hereof, for the purpose of 
simplifying the issues for hearing and promoting stipulations 
as to facts and proposed evidentiary offerings which will not 
be disputed at hearing. 

2. Following such prehearing conference the parties 
shall, and without such conference the parties may by 
agreement, agree in writing on a prehearing stipulation 
which should include: 

a. a brief statement by administrative complaint 
counsel as to what such counsel expects the evidence to be 
presented against respondent to show; 

b. a brief statement by respondent as to what the 
evidence and arguments in defense are expected to show; 

c. a list of the witnesses to be called by 
administrative complaint counsel and by respondent, 
together with a brief general statement of the nature of the 
testimony each such witness is expected to give; 

d. any stipulations which the parties may be able to 
agree upon concerning undisputed claims, facts, testimony, 
documents or issues; and 

e. an estimate of the time required for the hearing. 
W.1. Unless otherwise requested by the respondent, 

adjudication hearings, being the hearing conducted on the 
merits of the administrative complaint, shall be conducted in 
closed session. 

2. At an adjudication hearing, opportunity shall be 
afforded to administrative complaint counsel and respondent 
to present evidence on all issues of fact and argument on all 
issues of law and policy involved, to call, examine and 
cross-examine witnesses, and to offer and introduce 
documentary evidence and exhibits as may be required for 
full and true disclosure of the facts and disposition of the 
administrative complaint. 

3. Unless stipulation is made between the parties and 
approved by the board, providing for other means of 
recordation, all testimony and other proceedings of an 
adjudication shall be recorded by a certified stenographer 
who shall be retained by the board to prepare a written 
transcript of such proceedings. 

4. During evidentiary hearing, the presiding officer 
shall rule upon all evidentiary objections and other 
procedural questions, but in his discretion may consult with 
the entire panel in executive session. At any such hearing, 
the board may be assisted by legal counsel retained by the 
board for such purpose, who is independent of 
administrative complaint counsel and who has not 
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participated in the investigation or prosecution of the case. If 
the board or panel is attended by such counsel, the presiding 
officer may delegate to such counsel ruling on evidentiary 
objections and other procedural issues raised during the 
hearing. 

5. The record in a case of adjudication shall include: 
a. the administrative complaint and notice of 

hearing, respondent's response to the complaint, if any, 
subpoenas issued in connection with discovery, and all 
pleadings, motions, and intermediate rulings; 

b. evidence received or considered at the hearing; 
c. a statement of matters officially noticed except 

matter so obvious that statement of them would serve no 
useful purpose; 

d. offers of proof, objections, and rulings thereon; 
e. proposed findings and exceptions, if any; 
f. the decision, opinion, report or other disposition 

of the case made by the board. 
6. Findings of fact shall be based exclusively on the 

evidence and on matters officially noticed. 
X.1. In an adjudication hearing, the board may give 

probative effect to evidence which possesses probative value 
commonly accepted by reasonably prudent men in the 
conduct of their affairs. Effect shall be given to the rules of 
privilege recognized by law. The board or panel may exclude 
incompetent, irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitious 
evidence. Objections to evidentiary offers may be made and 
shall be noted in the record. Subject to these requirements, 
when a hearing will be expedited and the interests of the 
parties will not be prejudiced substantially, any part of the 
evidence may be received in written form. 

2. All evidence, including records and documents in 
the possession of the board which administrative complaint 
counsel desires the board to consider, shall be offered and 
made a part of the record, and all such documentary 
evidence may be received in the form of copies or excerpts 
or by incorporation by reference, the materials so 
incorporated shall be available for examination by the 
respondent before being received in evidence. 

3. Notice may be taken of judicially cognizable facts 
and generally recognized technical or scientific facts within 
the board's knowledge. Parties shall be notified either before 
or during the hearing of the material noticed or sought by a 
party to be noticed, and they shall be afforded an opportunity 
to contest the material so noticed. The board's experience, 
technical competence and knowledge may be utilized in the 
evaluation of the evidence. 

4. Any member of the board serving as presiding 
officer in an adjudication hearing shall have the power to 
and shall administer oaths or affirmations to all witnesses 
appearing to give testimony, shall regulate the course of the 
hearing, set the time and place of continued hearings, fix the 
time for the filing of briefs and other documents, if they are 
required or requested, and may direct the parties to appear 
and confer to consider simplification of the issues. 

5. Except as otherwise governed by the provision of 
these rules, adjudication hearings before the board shall be 
governed by the Louisiana Code of Evidence, insofar as the 
same may be applied. 

Y. The board may make informal disposition, by default, 
consent order, agreement, settlement or otherwise of any 
adjudication pending before it. A consent order shall be 

considered by the board only upon the recommendation of 
the investigating officer. 

Z.1. The final decision of the board in an adjudication 
proceeding shall, if adverse to the respondent, and otherwise 
may be, in writing, shall include findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, and shall be signed by the presiding 
officer of the hearing panel on behalf and in the name of the 
board. 

2. Upon issuance of a final decision, a certified copy 
thereof shall promptly be served upon respondent's counsel 
of record, or upon respondent personally in the absence of 
counsel, in the same manner of service prescribed with 
respect to service of administrative complaints. 

AA.1. A decision by the board in a case of adjudication 
shall be subject to rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration 
by the board pursuant to written motion filed with the board 
within ten days from service of the decision on respondent 
or on its own motion. A motion for rehearing, reopening, or 
reconsideration shall be made and served in the form and 
manner prescribed by §1304.Q and shall set forth the 
grounds upon which such motion is based, as provided by 
Subsection B of this Section. 

2. The board may grant rehearing, reopening, or 
reconsideration if it is shown that: 

a. the decision is clearly contrary to the law and the 
evidence; 

b. the respondent has discovered since the hearing 
evidence important to the issues which he or she could not 
have with due diligence obtained before or during the 
hearing; 

c. other issues not previously considered ought to 
be examined in order properly to dispose of the matter; or 

d. there exists other good grounds for further 
consideration of the issues and the evidence in the public 
interest. 

BB. Pursuant to R.S. 34:945(C)(3), the board of 
Examiners shall have the authority to impose a fine of not 
more than $500 on any bar pilot, to reprimand or remove 
from a vessel any bar pilot, or to recommend to the governor 
that the commission of any bar pilot be suspended or 
revoked, if after a hearing conducted in accordance with 
these Rules and regulations and the administrative procedure 
act a bar pilot is found in violation of any rule or regulation 
adopted by the board of examiners. 

CC. The authority established in these rules is in 
addition to and in no way limits the authority of the board to 
seek to remove or to remove a pilot from a vessel pursuant 
to the provisions of R.S. 34: 947 and RS. 49:961(C). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:352 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1305. Severability 

A. If any provision of these Rules and regulations is held 
to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions 
or applications which can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application, and to this end, provisions of these 
Rules and regulations are declared to be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1243

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:355 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1306. Effective Date 

A. These Rules and regulations shall be in full force and 
effective 90 days after final publication in the Louisiana 
Register. All bar pilots and bar pilot candidates shall be 
provided with a copy of these Rules and regulations, as well 
as any amendments, after the Rules and regulations are 
adopted by the board of examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:355 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 14. Standards of Conduct: Proper and Safe 

Pilotage 
§1401. Adoption of Inland Navigational Rules 

A. For those waters on which the Inland Rules apply 
within the jurisdiction of the bar pilots, the board of 
examiners hereby adopts, by reference and in its entirety, the 
Inland Navigational Rules at 33 U.S.C. Section 2001 et seq. 
The Board of Examiners also adopts the navigation safety 
standards set forth in Title 33 CFR part 164(p). All bar pilots 
and bar pilot applicants shall be subject to these Inland 
Navigational Rules and safety standards as adopted herein 
by reference. 

 
Title 33 CFR Part 164(p) 

(p) The person directing the movement of the vessel sets the 
vessel's speed with consideration for  

(1) The prevailing visibility and weather conditions; 
(2) The proximity of the vessel to fixed shore and marine 

structures; 
(3) The tendency of the vessel underway to squat and 

suffer impairment of maneuverability when there is small 
underkeel clearance; 

(4) The comparative proportions of the vessel and the 
channel;  

(5) The density of marine traffic; 
(6) The damage that might be caused by the vessel's wake; 
(7) The strength and direction of the current; and 
(8) Any local vessel speed limit; 

NOTE: These rules CFR 110.195 and 16\.402 have not been 
adopted but should be reviewed by all pilots and applicants. 
 

Title 33 CFR 110.195 
(a) The Anchorage Grounds. Unless otherwise specified, all 

anchorage widths are measured from the average low water 
plane (ALWP). 

(1) Pilottown Anchorage. An area 5.2 miles in length 
along the right descending bank of the river from mile 1.5 to 
mile 6.7 above Head of Passes, extending in width to 1600 
feet from the left descending bank of the river. 

 
Title 33 CFR 161.402 

(c) Navigation of South and Southwest Passes. 
(1) No vessel, except small craft and towboats and tugs 

without tows, shall enter either South Pass or southwest Pass 
from the Gulf until after any descending vessel which has 
approached within two and one-half (2 1/2) miles of the outer 
end of the jetties and visible to the ascending vessel shall have 
passed to sea. 

(2) No vessel having a speed of less than 10 mph shall 
enter South Pass from the Gulf when the state of the 
Mississippi Rive exceeds 15 feet on the Carrollton Gage at 
New Orleans. This paragraph does not apply when Southwest 
Pass is closed to navigation. 

(3) No vessel, except small craft and towboats and tugs 
without tows, ascending South Pass shall pass Franks Crossing 
Light until after a descending vessel shall have passed Depot 
Point Light. 

(4) No vessel, except small craft and towboats and tugs 
without tows, shall enter the channel at the head of South Pass 
until after an ascending vessel which has reached Franks 
Crossing Light shall have passed through into the river. 

(5) When navigating South Pass during periods of 
darkness no tow shall consist of more than one towed vessel 
other than small craft, and during daylight hours no tow shall 
consist of more than two towed vessels other than small craft. 
Tows may be in any formation, When towing on a hawser, the 
hawser shall be as short as practicable to provide full control 
at all times. 

(6) When towing in Southwest Pass during periods of 
darkness no tow shall consist of more than two towed vessels 
other than small craft, and during daylight hours no tow shall 
consist of more than three towed vessels other than small craft. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

34:945.C.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 

Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:355 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1402. Ships Required To Take Pilots  

A. All ships and vessels inward or outward bound 
throughout the entrances of the Mississippi River or other 
inland waterway connecting the Port of New Orleans with 
the Gulf of Mexico, or other outside waters, except those of 
100 tons or less lawfully engaged in the coasting trade of the 
United States, shall take a bar pilot when one is offered; and 
any ship or vessel refusing or failing to take a pilot shall be 
liable to the pilot thus offering for pilotage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1403. Pilots' Duty of Remain on Board Ship until 

Crossing Bar 
A. When boarding an outward bound ship or vessel at 

the boarding stations bar pilots shall remain on board the 
ship until she crosses the bar, unless permission is given by 
the master for the pilot to absent himself from the ship or 
vessel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1404. Acting as Pilot without License; Penalty 

A. No person who is not commissioned a bar pilot shall 
board any ship or vessel required to take a bar pilot, for the 
purpose of piloting, or to pilot or attempt to pilot the same; 
and no person or pilot shall board any such ship or vessel for 
the purpose of piloting, except from the pilot boats on the 
bar pilot stations. Whoever violates the provisions of this 
Section shall be fined not less than $1,500 nor more than 
$5,000, or may be imprisoned for not more than 6 months, 
or both.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1405. Pilot's Duty to Exhibit License 

A. Whoever offers to pilot a ship or other vessel shall, if 
required, exhibit to the commander thereof this identification 
card as a bar pilot, attested to by the chairman of the board 
of examiners; and if he refuses or neglects to do so, he shall 
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not be entitled to any remuneration for any service he may 
render as pilot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1406. Employing Pilot without Licenses; Liability of 

Vessel, Master or Owner 
A. When a vessel, inward or outward bound to or from 

the Port of New Orleans employs as a pilot a person who is 
not a state commissioned bar pilot, when a bar pilot offers 
his services, the vessel, her captain and owners, shall be 
liable for a civil penalty of and shall forfeit to the state of 
Louisiana the sum of $15,000 with privilege on the vessel, to 
be recovered before any court of competent jurisdiction. An 
action for forfeiture under this Section may be brought by 
the attorney general of Louisiana or by the Associated 
Branch Pilots of the Port of New Orleans. If the Associated 
Branch Pilots of the Port of New Orleans obtains a judgment 
hereunder, the court shall include in its judgment a 
reasonable attorney's fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1407. Employing Pilot without a State Commission; 

Penalties 
A. No master, owner, or agent of a vessel required under 

R.S. 34:953 to take a state commissioned bar pilot shall, 
when a state commissioned bar pilot offers his services, 
employ as a pilot a person who is not a state commissioned 
bar pilot. 

B. Whoever violated this Section shall be subject to a 
fine of not less than $1,500 nor more than $5,000, or 
imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1408. Offering of Services 

A. As used in this Subpart, reference to the offering of a 
bar pilot or the offering of services by a bar pilot shall mean 
any offering of any advice or assistance with respect to 
pilotage by the commissioned bar pilot or by his authorized 
representative, including but not limited to advice 
concerning weather, channel conditions, and other 
navigational conditions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1409. Prohibition of Interest of Members of Board of 

Commissioners of Port of New Orleans, in Pilot 
Boat or Pilotage 

A. The members of the Board of Commissioners of the 
Port of New Orleans shall not be interested, directly or 
indirectly, in any bar pilot boat or pilotage.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1410. Report by Pilot 

A. In any case where a vessel being piloted by a bar pilot 
shall go aground, or shall collide with any object, or shall 
meet with any casualty, which causes injury to persons or 
damage to property, the pilot shall, as soon as possible report 
such incident to the board. The pilot shall also complete a 
written Incident Report form provided by the board within 
24 hours after the Incident. 

B. The board, with or without complaint made against 
said pilot, shall investigate the incident. 

C. The pilot shall make a complete report to the board 
within 10 days after the incident. This report may either be 
an oral or a written report as the board deems necessary. 

D. These rules shall apply to any bar pilot engaged in 
piloting within the operating territory as defined by R.S. 
34:941 et seq., whether the vessel be subject to compulsory 
pilotage or elective pilotage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§141l. Pilots Duty to Report 

A. Pilots, when notified, shall report in person to the 
board at the time and place so designated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1412. Pilots Summoned to Testify 

A. Any bar pilot summoned to testify before the board 
shall appear in accordance with such summons and shall 
make answer under oath to any question put to him, touching 
any matter connected with the pilot's service or of the pilot 
grounds over which he is commissioned to pilot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 15. Drug And Alcohol Policy 
§1501. Application 

A. The Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of 
New Orleans, Louisiana (hereinafter Aboard") hereby adopts 
the following Rules and regulations relating to a drug and 
alcohol abuse policy applicable to all state licensed bar pilots 
pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 34:941 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1502. Statement of Findings and Purposes 

A. The board of has always had a strong commitment to 
the safety of the public. In order to carry out its mission, the 
board has established this policy regarding drug and alcohol 
abuse. The board's goal will continue to be one of 
establishing and maintaining a work environment that is free 
from the effects of alcohol and drug abuse. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1245

B. While the board has no intention of intruding into the 
private lives of bar pilots, the board does expect bar pilots to 
report for work in a condition capable of performing their 
duties. The board recognizes that off-the-job, as well as on-
the-job, involvement with alcohol and drugs can have an 
impact on the work place and on a bar pilot=s ability to 
perform his duties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1503. Bar Pilots' Assistance Program 

A. The board recognizes that the Associated Branch 
Pilots for the Port of New Orleans established a Bar Pilot's 
Assistance Program (BPAP) to provide help for any bar pilot 
whose personal alcohol or drug abuse problems may 
seriously affect his or her ability to function on the job, at 
home and in society. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:357 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1504. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter: 
Alcoholic BeverageCany fluid, or solid capable of being 

converted into fluid, suitable for human consumption, which 
contains ethanol. 

DrugCall controlled dangerous substances as defined in 
R.S. 40:961.7. and R.S. 40:964. 

Non-Prescription MedicationCany medication sold or 
dispensed without a prescription that is not a drug as defined 
in drug above. 

Prescription MedicationCany drug as defined in 
1504A.Drug distributed by the authorization of a licensed 
physician as defined in R.S. 40:961.31. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:358 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1505. Prohibitions and Requirements of the Policy 

A. A bar pilot who is under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs, or who possesses or uses alcohol or drugs on the job, 
has the potential for interfering with his own safety as well 
as that of the ship he is piloting and other vessels in the area, 
property and personnel. Consistent with existing board 
practices, such conditions shall be probable cause for 
disciplinary action up to and including recommendation for 
revocation of a bar pilot commission. 

B.1. Off-the-Job drug or alcohol abuse use that could 
adversely affect a bar pilot's job performance or could 
jeopardize the safety of others shall be proper cause for 
administrative or disciplinary action up to and including 
recommendation for revocation of a bar pilot's commission. 

2. Bar pilots who are arrested for off-the-job drug or 
alcohol activity may be considered to be in violation of this 
policy. In deciding what action to take, the board will take 
into consideration the nature of the charges, the bar pilot's 
overall job performance as a pilot, and other factors relative 
to the impact of the bar pilot's arrest upon the conduct of bar 

pilotage and the safety threat posed to the public by the 
specific activity. 

3. The abuse of non-prescription medication by a bar 
pilot also has the potential for interfering with his own safety 
as well as that of others. A bar pilot shall not abuse non-
prescription medication which may impair his or her ability 
to perform his duties as a bar pilot. Abuse of non-
prescription mediation by a bar pilot which impairs his or 
her ability to perform his duty may subject the pilot to 
administrative or disciplinary action. A bar pilot shall not use 
non-prescription medication if it impairs his competence as a 
pilot in the discharge of his duties.  

C.1. A bar pilot shall be free of use of any drug as 
defined in §1504.A.Drug, but excluding prescription 
medication as defined in §1504.A.Prescription Medication, 
so long as such use of prescription medication does not 
impair the competence of the pilot to discharge his duties. 

2. Bar pilots shall report to the chairman of the board 
the use of any drug, as defined in §1504.A.Drug, including 
prescription medication .  

D. A bar pilot who voluntarily requests assistance in 
dealing with personal drug or alcohol abuse under the 
Associated Branch Pilots BPAP program may do so without 
the board taking action for his voluntary participation. 
Volunteering to participate in the BPAP will not prevent 
administrative or disciplinary action for a violation of this 
policy which has already occurred or which may occur while 
in the program. 

E.1. Narcotics or any other controlled dangerous 
substance made illegal by the laws of the United States or 
the state of Louisiana shall not be brought aboard or caused 
to be brought aboard any vessel no matter by whom owned, 
or property owned or leased by the Associated Branch Pilots. 

2. Persons, or property, coming aboard any such 
vessel or property will be subject to inspection. 

3. The board will cooperate fully with appropriate law 
enforcement agencies by reporting information with respect 
to the violation of laws regarding illegal substances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:358 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1506. Drug Testing 

A. Testing. All bar pilots shall be subject to testing for 
the presence of any drug, as defined in §1504.A.Drug, 
above. 

B. Types of Testing 
1. All bar pilots shall submit to reasonable scientific 

testing for drugs when directed by the board. All procedures 
and activities conducted in connection with such testing 
shall comply with R.S. 49:1001-1015, except that certain 
terms contained therein are redefined because there is no 
employer-employee relationship. §1001(7) shall read  
"Pilot"Cany person who holds a commission from the 
Governor of the State of Louisiana as an Associated Branch 
Pilot for the Port of New Orleans. The word "Pilot" shall be 
used wherever the terms "employee" is used in §1001-1015. 
§1001(8) shall read "Board" which is the Board of 
Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, 
Louisiana. The word "board" shall be used whenever the 
term "employer" is used in §1001-1015. 
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2. A bar pilot shall be required to submit a urine 
specimen to be tested for the presence of drugs under the 
following circumstances: 

a. prior to recommendation for appointment, as a 
part of the physical exam required in these Rules and 
Regulations; 

b. after recommendation, whenever the pilot is 
required by the board to undergo a physical examination; 

c. upon written sworn complaint signed by the 
complainant in accordance with Chapter 16 of the Rules and 
regulations of the Board of Review of Bar Pilots for the Port 
of New Orleans; 

d. when the pilot is reasonably suspected of using 
drugs in violation of this policy; 

e. at random at the discretion of the board; and 
f. when the pilot is determined to be directly 

involved in a marine casualty or accident during the course 
of his activities as a pilot that results in: 
 i. one or more deaths; 
 ii. injury to any person which requires 
professional medical treatment beyond first aid; 
 iii. damage to property in excess of $100,000; or 
 iv. actual or constructive loss of any vessel. 

C. The board may designate a testing agency to perform 
any scientific test(s) necessary to detect the presence of 
drugs or their metabolites in a pilot's system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:358 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1507. Alcohol Testing 

A. The board of examiners may require a pilot to submit 
to a blood alcohol test under the following circumstances: 

1. upon written complaint signed by the complainant 
in accordance with Chapter 16 of the Rules and regulations 
of the Board of Review of Bar Pilots of the Port of New 
Orleans; 

2. when there exists reasonable suspicion that a pilot 
is performing his duties while under the influence of alcohol; 
or  

3. when the pilot is determined to be directly involved 
in a marine casualty or accident of the type described in 
§1506B.2.f. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:359 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1508. Violations of the Policy 

A. Any Pilot found to be in violation of this policy may 
be reprimanded, fined, evaluated, and treated for violations 
of this policy and have his commission suspended or 
revoked as provided by R.S. 34:945 and 962. 

B. Any bar pilot reasonably suspected of bringing on 
board any vessel, no matter by whom owned, or property 
owned or leased by the Associated Branch Pilots for the Port 
of New Orleans, or causing to bring on board a vessel or 
property owned or leased by the Associated Branch Pilots 
for the Port of New Orleans, any narcotic or any other 
controlled dangerous substance made illegal by the laws of

the United States or the state of Louisiana will be subject to 
disciplinary action either by the board or, upon 
recommendation of the board, by the Governor of the State 
of Louisiana. 

C. A pilot shall be suspended from performing the duties 
of a pilot pending a hearing pursuant to R.S. 34:945 and 962 
if: 

1. he tests positive for any drug covered by 
§1504.A.Drug; 

2. he uses any drug in violation of §1505.C; 
3. he refuses to submit to reasonable scientific testing 

for drugs, fails to cooperate fully with the testing procedures, 
or intentionally tries to alter the test results; 

4. he test positive for alcohol; or 
5. he refuses to submit to a blood alcohol test, fails to 

cooperate fully with the testing procedure, or intentionally 
tries to alter the test results. 

D. Any pilot who is required to undergo evaluation or 
treatment for alcoholism or drug abuse shall do so at his own 
personal expense and responsibility. The physician, as well 
as the evaluation and treatment facility, must be approved by 
the board. 

E. Any pilot who believes he would be in violation of 
these Rules if he were to perform his duties as a bar pilot is 
obligated to remove himself from duty. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:359 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1509. Test Results 

A. All drug test results shall be reviewed by a medical 
review officer in accordance with R.S. 49:1007. 

B. Any pilot, confirmed positive, upon his written 
request, shall have the right of access, within seven working 
days of actual notice to him of his test results, to records 
relating to his drug tests and any records relating to the 
results of any relevant certification, review, or 
suspension/revocation-of-certification proceedings. 

C. The results of the drug testing conducted pursuant to 
this policy and all information, interviews, reports, 
statements and memoranda relating to the drug testing shall, 
in accordance with R.S. 49:1012, shall be confidential and 
disclosed only to the board of examiners and the pilot tested, 
except that: 

1. the board of examiners may report the results to the 
governor, the president of the Associated Branch Pilots for 
the Port of New Orleans, the United States Coast Guard; and 

2. in the event that the board of examiners determines 
that a hearing is required pursuant to R.S. 34:947 or 962, 
there shall be no requirement of confidentiality in 
connection with such hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:356 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 16. Administrative Policy 
§1601. Application 

A. The purpose of this section is to ensure compliance by 
the Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans with the provisions of the Louisiana Public Meeting 
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Law and the records maintenance requirements of the 
provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:359 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1602. Meetings of Examiners 

A. All meetings and notices thereof of the board of the 
board of examiners shall be conducted in accordance of the 
Open Meetings Law (R.S. 42:4 et seq.). The board shall 
meet at least once each quarter and meetings shall be called 
in accordance with R.S. 42:7.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:359 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 
§1603. Record Keeping 

A. The board of examiners shall maintain records and 
conduct its hearings in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 
29:359 (May 2003), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
Although the family of a pilot subject to the disciplinary 

process set forth in the proposed Rules and Regulations for 
the Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans could potentially be impacted by the process and the 
possible discipline against the pilot, the proposed Rules and 
Regulations should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on the family as defined by R.S. 49:972(D) in terms 
of the general public, or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically, there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. a family's earnings and budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the family's ability or that of the local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rules. 
Inquiries concerning the proposed Rules amendments and 

rules may be directed in writing to Captain Thomas L. 
Ittmann, Chairman, Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the 
Port of New Orleans, at the address set forth below. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments, 
information, comments or inquiries on the proposed rules 
amendments and rules, in writing, to the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, 3813 North 
Causeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Metairie, LA 70002. 
Written comments must be submitted to and received by the 
Board within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request 
pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, 
argument or public hearing must be made in writing and 
received by the Board within 20 days of the date of this 
notice. 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Retirement and Drug and Alcohol Policy 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans anticipates that there will be no additional costs 
associated with the implementation of the proposed Rules. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans anticipates that there will be no effect on revenue 
collection of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans anticipates that the only costs to directly affected 
persons may be a reduction in income due to mandatory 
retirement at the age of 68. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans anticipates that the proposed Rules will result in 
reduced competition and employment for Bar Pilots, as the 
mandatory retirement age is now set at 68 years. 

 
Thomas L. Ittman Robert E. Hosse 
Chairman General Government Section Director 
0307#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 

River Port Pilots (LAC 46:LXXVI.Chapters 31-36) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and R.S. 34:991(B)(3), the Board of River 
Port Pilot Commissioners hereby gives notice of intent to 
promulgate Rules and to repeal and reenact its Rules. The 
proposed Rules restate existing Rules and are will be 
reenacted for the purpose of codification. New Rules are in 
the public's interest and will promote public safety by 
enhancing additional education qualifications for River Port 
Pilots. The Rules are in the public's interest and promote 
public safety by establishing: age restrictions, a requirement 
to perform marine incident investigations, a requirement for 
pilots to be certified after an absence, and a method for the 
public to file complaints against pilots. The board has 
conducted several meetings to receive comments from 
interested parties and undertook some revisions. The purpose 
of this rulemaking is to put the Rules in a proper format for 
codification as follows. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part.  LXXVI.  River Pilots 

Subpart 4.  Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 
Chapter 31. General Provisions 
§3103. Definitions 

A. The following terms shall have the following meaning 
as used in these Rules. 
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ApplicantCone who submits an application to become a 
River Port Pilot. 

ApprenticeCone who has been selected to become a 
River Port Pilot pending successful completion of the 
apprenticeship program. 

BoardCthe Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners as 
defined in R.S. 34:991. 

CandidateCone whose application has been certified by 
the board. 

CommissionCthe appointment by the governor 
authorizing one to perform the duties of a River Port Pilot. 

CommissionerCa member of the Board of River Port 
Pilots Commissioners for the Port of New Orleans as 
appointed and serving in accordance with state law. 

ConvictionCfound guilty by judgment or by plea and 
includes cases of deferred adjudication (no contest, 
adjudication withheld, etc.) or where the court requires a 
person to attend classes, make contributions of time or 
money, receive treatment, submit to any manner of probation 
or supervision, or forgo appeal of a trial court finding. 
Expunged convictions must be reported unless the 
expungement was based upon a showing that the court's 
earlier conviction was in error. 

DrugCall controlled dangerous substances as defined in 
R.S. 40:961(7). 

Marine IncidentCa personal injury, loss of life, 
discharge of pollution, collision and/or allision, wave wash 
or suction resulting in an injury or damage, or hard 
grounding in which the vessel is damaged or needs 
assistance to be re-floated. 

PilotCRiver Port Pilots as defined in R.S. 34:992. 
Prescription MedicationCmedication which can only be 

distributed by the authorization of a licensed physician as 
defined in R.S. 40:961(30). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3103. Board of River Pilot Commissioners for the Port 

of New Orleans 
A. The duties of the board are established pursuant to 

R.S. 34: 991. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

34:991(B)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3105. Application 

A. Any person wishing to submit an application to 
become an apprentice candidate must submit a written 
request for an application to the commission at its address. 
The commission’s current address is: 

 
Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 
c/o Application Request 
P. O. Box 848 
Belle Chasse, LA 70037 
 

B. All applications to become an apprentice candidate 
must be in writing, must be signed by the applicant, and 
presented to the secretary of the board. All applications must 
be notarized and accompanied by satisfactory evidence of 
compliance of the board's requirements. 

C. The board shall maintain the application of applicants 
in its files for a period of two years from January 1 of the 
year the application was dated. All applicants are required to 
update and maintain their application and to re-file the 
application as needed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
Chapter 32. Licensing, Qualifications, and 

Apprenticeship 
§3201. General Qualifications 

A. Applicant must be of good moral character. Evidence 
of a clear police record will be considered, but the board 
reserves the right to examine other sources of information as 
to the applicant's character. 

B. Applicant has been a voter of the state of Louisiana 
continuously for at least two years before submitting an 
application to become an apprentice candidate. 

C. The applicant must not have reached his fortieth 
birthday prior to the first day of balloting on apprentices by 
the River Port Pilots. 

D. The applicant must possess a high school diploma, or 
equivalent. 

E. A person applying for an appointment under this 
section shall not have been convicted of a felony offense 
involving either drugs or the personal consumption of 
alcohol in the 60 months prior to the date of application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3202. Licensing Qualifications 

A. Before being accepted as a candidate to become a 
River Port Pilot, each applicant must meet the below listed 
requirements. 

1. Each applicant must hold a United States Coast 
Guard First Class Pilot License of Steam or Motor Vessel of 
any gross tons for the Mississippi River from Southport Mile 
104.7 to the Head of Passes Mile 0.0 and for the Inner 
Harbor Navigation Canal (Industrial Canal) from the 
Mississippi River to Lake Pontchartrain, and for the 
Intracoastal Waterway (ICW) from the intersection of the 
Industrial Canal and the ICW to and including Michoud 
Canal, and for the Mississippi River Gulf Outlet, from the 
intersection of the ICW to Mile 28.3, the present location of 
Beacon #78. In the event the Inner Harbor Navigation Canal 
is closed and or navigation on the canal is severely 
restricted, the board in its discretion may waive the 
requirement of a First Class Pilot License on all or part of 
the Inner Harbor Navigation Canal. 

2. Commencing July 1, 2006, the applicant must have 
held the license described in §3202A.1 for a period of one 
year prior to submitting an application to become an 
apprentice candidate. 

3. Each applicant must meet one of the following 
requirements: 

a. a United States Coast Guard Masters' License of 
Steam or Motor Vessels of any gross tons upon Inland 
Waters, Rivers or Western Rivers; or 

b. a United States Coast Guard Second Mate's 
License (or any upgrade thereof) of Steam or Motor Vessels 
of any gross tons upon oceans; or  
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c. a United States Coast Guard Third Mate's 
License of Steam or Motor Vessels of any gross tons upon 
oceans, and a Master's License of Steam or Motor Vessels of 
not less than 1,600 gross tons upon Inland Waters, Rivers or 
Western Rivers. The applicant, as a condition of the 
apprenticeship, must upgrade the Master's License of Steam 
or Motor Vessels of not less than 1,600 gross tons upon 
Inland Waters, Rivers or Western Rivers to a Masters' 
License of Steam or Motor Vessels of any gross tons upon 
Inland Waters, Rivers or Western Rivers prior to being 
commissioned as a River Port Pilot; or 

d. a bachelors degree or diploma granted by a 
college or university accredited by the American Association 
of Colleges and Secondary Schools, and the applicant must 
hold a Master's License of Steam or Motor Vessels of not 
less than 1,600 gross tons upon Inland Waters, Rivers or 
Western Rivers. The applicant, as a condition of the 
apprenticeship, must upgrade the Master's License of Steam 
or Motor Vessels of not less than 1,600 gross tons upon 
Inland Waters, Rivers or Western Rivers to a Masters' 
License of Steam or Motor Vessels of any gross tons upon 
Inland Waters, Rivers or Western Rivers prior to being 
commissioned as a River Port Pilot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3205. Education Qualifications 

A. In addition to the requirements described herein the 
applicant must complete the following educational 
requirements. To successfully complete the educational 
requirements the applicant must attend a college or 
university accredited by an accreditation association or 
society approved by the board, and the applicant must have a 
minimum grade point average of "2.0" on a "4.0" system, in 
non-remedial courses. 

1. Applicants graduating from high school or 
receiving a high school equivalent after 5/01/95 will be 
required to successfully complete 30 credit hours. 

2. Applicants graduating from high school or 
receiving a high school equivalent after 1/01/96 will be 
required to successfully complete 60 credit hours. 

3. Applicants graduating from high school or 
receiving a high school equivalent after 1/01/97 will be 
required to successfully complete 90 credit hours. 

4. Applicants graduating from high school or 
receiving a high school equivalent after 1/01/98 will be 
required to acquire a bachelors degree or diploma. 

5. After July 1, 2006 all applicants must have a 
bachelors degree or diploma. 

B. Applicants shall document the aforementioned 
requirements by providing the board with a transcript of the 
mandatory educational requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3207. Physical Qualifications 

A. The applicant, when requested, must be examined by 
a physician, clinic or group of physicians of the board's 
choosing to determine the applicant's physical condition. 
The examination report must reflect to the board's 
satisfaction that the applicant's physical condition is 

satisfactory and commensurate with the work and 
responsibilities of the duties of a pilot, and will enable him 
to safely perform the duties of pilotage. The board shall have 
no responsibilities for the examinations or their results. The 
applicant submitting to such examinations will hold the 
board harmless from any responsibility for any injury or 
loss, including attorneys' fees and the costs of defense, 
incurred as a result of the examination or the reliance by the 
board or any others on the results of such examination. 

B. The applicant, when requested, shall submit to an 
examination by a mental health professional or group 
composed of such mental health professionals of the board's 
choosing. The report of this examination must reflect, to the 
board's satisfaction, that the petitioner's mental condition and 
aptitude is satisfactory and commensurate with the work and 
responsibilities of the duties of a pilot, and will enable him 
to safely perform the duties of pilotage. The board shall have 
no responsibility for the examinations or their results. The 
applicant submitting to such examinations will hold the 
board harmless from any responsibility for any injury or 
loss, including attorneys' fees and the costs of defense, 
incurred as a result of the examination or the reliance by the 
board or any others on the results of such examination. 

C. The applicants shall submit to drug screening in the 
same manner as pilots and apprentices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3209. Apprenticeship 

A. The apprentice must serve a minimum of 12 months 
of apprenticeship in his proposed calling, handling deep 
draft vessel over the operating territory of the River Port 
Pilots under the tutelage of not less than 40 commissioned 
River Port Pilots. The apprentice must set forth in detail the 
names of the vessels handled, dates handled, draft, tonnage, 
between what points so moved, and the names of the 
supervising commissioned River Port Pilots. No apprentice 
shall be permitted to be examined for commissioning who 
has not made at least 18 trips on the operating territory of the 
River Port Pilots between Pilottown and Southport during 
each of the 12 months of his apprenticeship and serve at 
least 1 week of each month of the apprenticeship engaged in 
harbor shifting, docking, undocking and piloting on the 
Mississippi River Gulf Outlet. The apprenticeship work must 
be certified by the board during the apprenticeship program. 
The board reserves the right to substitute work requirements 
and to require satisfactory completion of additional trips, 
extended the apprenticeship, or terminate the apprenticeship 
when deemed necessary. 

B. The board of commissioners shall examine those 
apprentices who have complied with all the requirements. 
The apprentices will be examined as to their knowledge of 
pilotage and their proficiency and capability to serve as 
commissioned River Port Pilots. This examination shall be 
given in such manner and shall take such form as the board 
may, in its discretion from time to time, elect. 

C. The board of commissioners shall certify to the 
governor for his consideration for appointments to 
commissions as River Port Pilots those apprentices who 
satisfactorily complete all requirements established by state 
law and these Rules and who complete and pass the 
examination given by the board. Should the apprentice fail 
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the examination, the board, at its discretion, may terminate 
the apprenticeship, or may designate additional 
apprenticeship requirements to be satisfied by the apprentice 
before he may again petition the board for examination. 

D. The apprentice shall submit to drug screening in the 
same manner as pilots. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3211. Age Restrictions 

A. A pilot shall be required to resign his pilot 
commission in the calendar year in which the pilot attains 
the age of 70. This provision shall take effect on July 1, 
2004. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
Chapter 33. Duties 
§3301. Restricted Duties Guidelines 

A. The board has established the following guidelines, 
which shall be adhered to whenever possible. The failure to 
strictly adhere to these guidelines will not subject the pilot to 
disciplinary action. 

1.a. After being commissioned a River Port Pilot by 
the governor of Louisiana, the newly commissioned pilot 
shall be allowed to pilot the following vessels in the first 
four months subsequent to the issuance of the pilot's 
commission: 
 i. vessels up to 35 feet in draft; 
 ii. vessel up to 50,000 deadweight tons; 
 iii. vessels up to 700 feet in length. 

b. After the newly commissioned pilot has served 
the first four months as a pilot subject to the restrictions of 
this Section, the board shall evaluate the newly 
commissioned pilot with regard to his ability and 
competence to handle the above classes of vessels. Upon 
such examination, the board shall determine whether, and if 
so, for what time period, the newly commissioned pilot shall 
continue to be subject to any or all of the restrictions of the 
Section before being reexamined. 

2.a. The newly commissioned pilot shall be allowed to 
pilot the following vessels in the second four months 
subsequent to the issuance of the pilot's commission: 
 i. vessels up to 40 feet in draft; 
 ii. vessels up to 75,000 deadweight tons; 
 iii. vessels up to 800 feet in length. 

b. After the newly commissioned pilot has served 
the second four months as a pilot subject to the restrictions 
of this Section, the board shall evaluate the newly 
commissioned pilot with regard to his ability and 
competence to handle the above classes of vessels. Upon 
such examination, the board shall determine whether, and if 
so, for what time period, the newly commissioned pilot shall 
continue to be subject to any or all of the restrictions of the 
Section before being reexamined. 

3. The newly commissioned pilot shall be allowed to 
pilot the following vessels in the third four months 
subsequent to the issuance of the pilot's commission: 

a. vessels up to 45 feet in draft; 
b. vessels up to 100,000 deadweight tons; 
c. vessels up to 900 feet in length. 

4. The newly commissioned River Port Pilot shall be 
prohibited from piloting the following vessel during the first 
12 months he holds a commission as a River Port Pilot: 

a. passenger vessels regardless of draft, tonnage or 
length; 

b. tank vessels with explosive, combustible, 
petroleum, or chemical cargo aboard, regardless of the draft, 
tonnage or length. Gas-free tank vessels are not subject to 
this prohibition. 

5. After the newly commissioned pilot has served the 
third four months as a pilot subject to the restrictions of this 
Section, the board shall evaluate the newly commissioned 
pilot with regard to his ability and competence to handle the 
above classes of vessels. Upon such examination, the board 
shall determine whether, and if so, for what time period, the 
newly commissioned pilot shall continue to be subject to any 
or all of the restrictions of this Section before being 
reexamined. 

6. For the first year as a pilot, no persons are allowed 
on the bridge with the pilot with the exception of the bridge 
team, U.S. Coast Guard representatives, government 
officials, and the vessel's crew. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
Chapter 34. Drug and Alcohol Policy 
§3401. Drug Use 

A. A pilot shall be free of use of any drug as defined in 
§3101, but excluding prescription medication as defined in 
§3101 so long as use of such prescription medication does 
not impair the physical competence of the pilot to discharge 
his duties. 

B. The board shall designate a testing agency to perform 
scientific test or tests to screen for the presence of drugs. 
These tests shall be conducted at random, post incident, and 
for reasonable suspicion at the discretion of the board. 

C. All pilots shall submit to reasonable scientific testing 
and screening for drugs when directed by the board. 

D. The results of drug testing and screening shall be 
confidential and disclosed only to the board and the pilot 
tested, except that: 

1. the board may report the results to the governor, the 
Board of Directors of the Crescent River Port Pilot 
Association and the United States Coast Guard; 

2. in the event that the board determines that a hearing 
is required there shall be no requirement of confidentiality in 
connection with the hearing. 

E. Any pilot testing positive for drugs or any residual 
thereof, shall be suspended from performing the duties of a 
pilot pending a hearing. 

F. Any pilot who refuses to submit to reasonable 
scientific testing or screening for drugs, fails to cooperate 
fully with the testing procedures, or in any way tries to alter 
the test results shall be suspended from performing the 
duties of a pilot pending a hearing. Such refusal shall be 
considered as a positive test. 

G. Any pilot found to be in violation of this Section may 
be reprimanded, fined, evaluated, and/or treated for drug use 
and/or have his commission suspended or revoked. 

H. Any pilot who is required to undergo evaluation 
and/or treatment for drug use shall do so at his own personal 
expense and responsibility; the physician, as well as the 
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evaluation and treatment facility, must be approved by the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3403. Alcohol Use 

A. No pilot shall consume any alcohol of any nature 
whatsoever within six hours before, or during, the 
performance of his pilotage duties. 

B. No pilot shall perform his duties as a River Port Pilot 
if his blood alcohol content is .04 or greater. 

C. Any pilot who believes he would be in violation of 
any of these Rules if he were to perform his duties as a River 
Port Pilot is obligated to remove himself from duty. The 
pilot is the absolute insurer of his or her state of mind, 
physical abilities, and overall well being. 

D. The board may request a pilot to submit himself to a 
blood alcohol test upon complaint or reasonable suspicion 
that a pilot is performing his duties as a River Port Pilot 
while under the influence of alcohol. 

E. Any pilot who refuses to submit to reasonable 
scientific testing or screening for alcohol, fails to cooperate 
fully with the testing procedures, or in any way tries to alter 
the test results shall be suspended from performing the 
duties of a pilot pending a hearing. Such refusal to cooperate 
will be considered as a positive test. 

F. Any pilot found to be in violation of this Section may 
be reprimanded, fined, evaluated and/or treated for 
alcoholism and/or have his commission suspended or 
revoked. 

G. Any pilot who is required to undergo evaluation 
and/or treatment for alcoholism shall do so at his own 
personal expense and responsibility; the physician, as well as 
the evaluation and treatment facility must be approved by 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
Chapter 35. Continuing Education 
§3501. Continuing Professional Education 

A. Every pilot seeking to maintain a pilot's commission 
must attend 40 hours of professional education classes and 
programs every 5 years. In addition the pilot must attend a 
ship simulator training program every five years. This 
requirement is effective December 31, 2000. 

B. The professional education classes and programs 
approved by the board include but are not limited to: 

1. electronic ship simulation training; 
2. small scale ship simulation training; 
3. ARPA training; 
4. VTS/VTIS simulator training; 
5. bridge resource management training for pilots; 
6. Any other course or program that the board deems 

appropriate. 
C. Any pilot who fails to attend the required professional 

education classes or programs may be reprimanded, fined, 
and/or suspended until the pilot complies with this Section. 

D. It shall be the responsibility of the pilot to file with 
the board proof that the pilot has attended the required 
professional education classes and programs. 

E. It shall be the responsibility of the pilot to attend the 
professional education classes and programs approved by the 
board. 

F. The board, for good cause shown, may grant a waiver 
or extend the time for a pilot to complete the continuing 
professional education requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
Chapter 36. Investigation, Competence, Complaints 

and Criminal Convictions 
§3601. Marine Incident Investigation 

A. Any pilot piloting a vessel involved or allegedly 
involved in a marine incident shall as soon as practical 
notify the board of the incident by telephone however said 
notice must occur within four hours of the incident. 

B. The pilot shall provide the board a Marine Incident 
Report on the form provided by the board within two days 
after the marine incident was first reported. 

C. The pilot shall make himself available to the board 
and cooperate with the board during the board's investigation 
of the marine incident. 

D. The pilot shall provide the board a detailed written 
statement of the marine incident if requested by the board. 
The report shall be provided to the board with 10 days of the 
board's request. 

E. A pilot failing to comply with these regulations may 
be reprimanded, fined and /or suspended. 

F. After its investigation of the Marine Incident, the 
board may render a findings and conclusion. The findings 
and conclusions is solely and exclusively the opinion of the 
board relative to the conduct of the pilot and is not intended 
to be introduced as evidence in legal proceeding. Pursuant to 
R.S. 34:1005 all communications between the pilot and the 
commission are deemed confidential, and the findings and 
conclusions of the board shall not be deemed discoverable or 
relevant in any civil proceeding. 

G. The board may, under the procedure herein set out, 
examine into such cases of dereliction of duty of a pilot as 
come to their attention, and on the basis of such examination 
make recommendations to the governor relative to the pilot's 
commission. The pilot may elect to consent to such 
corrective or remedial steps as may be suggested by the 
board under the circumstances, waiving executive review. 
All violations of the regulations of any governmental agency 
by a pilot shall come within the purview of this Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3603. Competence 

A. Any pilot who has not performed his duties as a pilot 
for a period of 12 months shall be required to report said 
absence to the board. Prior to returning to the duties and 
responsibilities of a pilot, the pilot must satisfy the return to 
duty requirements set forth by the board. 

B. Any pilot or apprentice who for any reason becomes 
physically or mentally incompetent to perform the duties of 
a pilot is required to immediately notify the board of the 
their condition. 

C. The pilot is the absolute insurer of his state of mind, 
physical abilities, and overall well being. 
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D. Any pilot, who lacks the competency to perform the 
duties of a pilot, shall be suspended from performing the 
duties of a pilot pending a hearing. 

E. Any pilot found to be incompetent may be evaluated 
and/or have his commission suspended or revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3605. Complaints 

A. Any person having cause to file a complaint against a 
pilot may file such complaint with the board.  

B. The complaint must be sworn and in writing. The 
complaint may be sent to the board at its address. The 
commission's current address is: 

 
Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 
c/o Pilot Complaint 
P.O. Box 848 
Belle Chasse, LA 70037 
 

C. The board shall investigate all sworn complaints and 
take all appropriate action based on the nature of the 
complaint. 

D. The board shall review all anonymous complaints and 
shall investigate those complaints, which have merit and will 
take all appropriate action based on the nature of the 
complaint. 

E. Any person wishing to make an anonymous 
compliant against a pilot may do so by calling the 
commission at its telephone number or by forwarding an 
anonymous letter to the above address. The commission's 
current telephone number is (504) 392-5015. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 
§3607. Criminal Convictions 

A. Any pilot or apprentice convicted of the following 
must immediately notify the board: 

1. a conviction of a felony; 
2. a conviction of any offense in which the use of 

drugs or alcohol is involved. 
B. The board shall conduct a hearing to review the 

competency of any pilot who has been convicted of any 
offense described in §3607.A and the board in its discretion 
may find the pilot by virtue of the conviction incompetent to 
perform his pilot duties. 

C. Any pilot or apprentice who fails to comply with 
these regulations may be reprimanded, fined, and/or 
suspended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rules of the Board of River Port Pilot 

Commissioners should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on a

family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights or parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. the family's earnings and budget 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the family's ability or that the local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rules. 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments 
must be received no later no later than July 30, 2003, at 4:30 
p.m. and should be sent to Captain Scott Loga, President, 
Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, P.O. Box 848, 
Belle Chasse, LA 70037. 

A public hearing will be held on July 31, 2003, at 8712 
Highway 23, Belle Chasse, LA at 9:30 a.m. Persons wishing 
to speak at the hearing must submit a written comment. The 
proposed regulation is available for inspection at the Office 
of the State Register website: http://www.doa.state.la. 
us/osr/osr.htm. 

 
Captain Scott Loga 
President 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  River Port Pilots 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no implementation costs or savings to state or 

local government units. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
The Rule will have no effect on revenue collections of state 

or local government units. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The Rule change may result in an accelerated effort by 
applicants to obtain a college degree and therefore, may 
increase costs to those individuals in the short term. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed Rule will in decreased competition and 
employment opportunities for river pilots. This is due to 
mandatory retirement at age 70, a requirement that by July 
2006 that all applicants must hold a college degree, and a 
requirement that by July 2006, all applicants must have held the 
pilot license for one year. The Board of River Pilots anticipates 
that this Rule change will lead to safer pilotage on the 
Mississippi River. 

 
Captain Scott Loga Robert E. Hosse 
President General Government Section Director 
0306#007 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Commission 

Post Licensing and Continuing Education Vendors 
(LAC 46:LXVII.5515, 5519 and 5545) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate License 
Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, 
et seq., notice is hereby given that the Real Estate 
Commission has initiated procedures to amend LAC 
46:LXVII.5515, 5519 and 5545. The amendments are 
housekeeping in nature and (1) serve to better define 
distance education course approval procedures/delivery 
methods; and (2) reduce the minimum credit requirement for 
post licensing courses to 3-hour increments so as to make 
them more conducive to the overall 30-hour requirement. 

In accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a)(viii) and 972, the 
following Family Impact Statement is submitted with the 
Notice of Intent for publication in the July 20, 2003 
Louisiana Register. The proposed Rules have no known 
impact on family formation, stability, or autonomy. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXVII.  Real Estate 

Chapter 55. Real Estate Post Licensing and 
Continuing Education Vendors  

§5515. Eligibility of Courses 
A. Post Licensing 

1. Approved post licensing courses must be open to 
all licensees subject to post licensing requirements, 
regardless of broker affiliation. Each course acceptable for 
credit toward fulfillment of the 30-hour post licensing 
requirements for salespersons or brokers must be a minimum 
of 3 hours in length and require passage of an examination 
on course contents as conditions for receiving a post 
licensing certificate. 

2. … 
3. Approved schools and vendors shall not incorporate 

post licensing instruction and hours with prelicensing 
education instruction and hours. 

4. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1431 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:60 
(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 
Estate Commission, LR 29: 
§5519. Post Licensing and Continuing Education 

Course Work by Correspondence or Other 
Distance Learning Methods 

A. The commission may approve continuing and post 
licensing courses offered through correspondence or other 
distance education delivery methods. As used in this 
Chapter, a correspondence or distance education/ learning 
course delivery method is defined as a course of study in 
which instruction takes place in other than a classroom 
setting, the instructor and the student are in physically 
separate locations, and interactive instructional methods may 
be required by the commission. 

B. Approved education vendors shall apply for and 
receive approval of correspondence or other distance 
learning study course(s) prior to any public offering. Each 
correspondence/distance education course for which credit is 
granted toward post licensing and/or continuing education 
requirements must be approved by the commission for 
course content and by the Association of Real Estate License 
Law Officials (ARELLO) for course delivery standards. The 
vendor must apply for and receive course approval from the 
commission prior to applying for ARELLO certification. 

C. Passage of an examination on course content is a 
requirement for all correspondence or other distance learning 
courses. Each correspondence course application shall be 
accompanied by the following items:  

1. applicable filing fees;  
2. complete information on proposed course, 

including title, course description, length of course, outline, 
and a copy of the required test.  

D. Applications for approval of correspondence courses 
shall comply with the following where applicable.  

1. Written Correspondence Courses 
a. A workbook consisting of a minimum of 20 

typed pages, not smaller than 8 1/2" x 11" in size, per 2 
hours of continuing education correspondence study credit 
or a workbook consisting of a minimum of 40 typed pages, 
not smaller than 8 1/2" x 11" in size, per 4 hours of post 
licensing education is required. If the course meets only the 
minimum of pages, the type cannot be larger than 12 point. 
Minimum standards require that paragraphs may be indented 
not more than 10 spaces and a maximum of 1 line of space 
may appear between paragraphs. Charts and graphs are not 
to be included in the required minimum page total. The top 
margin of the page cannot exceed 12", the bottom margin 
12", and the side margin 1". The commission reserves the 
right to approve an offering which marginally meets the 
minimum page requirement. Such approval will be based on 
a determination that the time period required to complete the 
course exceeds the credit hours requested based on the 
technical nature of the subject matter.  

2. Audio/Visual Correspondence Courses  
a. Videotaped material may be submitted for 

approval as a complete course offering or in conjunction 
with written correspondence. The applicant shall provide a 
complete written transcript of any videotaped material 
submitted for approval.  

b. Audio only courses shall be formatted in 
segments consisting of taped lecture of at least two hours for 
continuing education purposes or at least three hours for post 
licensing purposes. The applicant shall submit a written 
transcript of the taped lecture with each request for audio 
approval.  

3. Computer Generated Correspondence Courses  
a. Computer generated correspondence courses will 

be considered for approval provided the applicant submits 
course materials in the exact format to be offered for 
education credit.  

E. Every correspondence or distance learning course for 
post licensing or continuing education shall require students 
to complete a test consisting of a minimum of 20 multiple 
choice questions with four possible choices (a, b, c and d) 
for each two hours of continuing education credit or a 
minimum of 30 multiple choice questions with 4 possible 
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choices (a, b, c and d) for each 3 hours of post licensing 
credit. The test a student submits for grading shall include 
the following statement.  

I certify that I have personally completed this course and test. 

_____________________ _______________ 
Student's Name Date  

F. All courses submitted for approval shall be in the 
exact format in which they will be sold to licensees for post 
licensing or continuing education credit.  

G. No changes will be made to approved correspondence 
course material without the prior written approval of the 
commission.  

H. Education vendors shall:  
1. have the student's name, Social Security Number, 

address and payment prior to the student receiving the 
course;  

2. not grade any written assignment or examination if 
it is presented for grading before the time frame for course 
completion has been reached; 

3. not grade any test which does not contain the 
signed certification required by Subsection C, above;  

4. certify students as successfully completing a course 
only if the student completes any required written 
assignments and passes the required examination on course 
content;  

5. issue certificates containing the following 
information to students completing education by 
correspondence:  

a. complete name of approved vendor and LREC 
vendor code;  

b. name and social security number of student 
completing course;  

c. specific course title;  
d. number of hours of education received;  
e. date of course completion;  
f. signature of verifier of course completion;  
g. indication that student successfully completed 

examination on course content; 
h. correspondence study completion noted with the 

notation, "correspondence" or "C".  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1431 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:60 
(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 
Estate Commission, LR 29:  
§5545. Minimum Length of Courses 

A. Courses of instruction for continuing education 
purposes will not be approved by the commission if the total 
instruction time is less than two hours. Courses of 
instruction for post licensing purposes will not be approved 
by the commission if the total instruction time is less than 
three hours. Time devoted to breakfasts, luncheons, dinners 
or other refreshments shall not be counted as instruction 
time.  

B. Credit shall not be given for any classroom hour 
consisting of less than fifty minutes of instruction and/or 
study. A classroom hour is defined as 60 minutes, of which 
fifty minutes are instruction. The prescribed number of 
classroom hours may include time devoted to examinations 
if a required part of the course. Vendors shall not grant credit 

to any student for completing more than eight hours of 
instruction in one calendar day.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1431 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:60 
(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 
Estate Commission, LR 29: 

Interested parties are invited to submit written comments 
on the proposed regulations through August 8, 2003, 4:30 
p.m., to Stephanie Boudreaux, Louisiana Real Estate 
Commission, P.O. Box 14785, Baton Rouge, LA, 70898-
4785 or 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA, 70809. 

 
Julius C. Willie 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Post Licensing and Continuing 

Education Vendors 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated implementation costs (savings) to 
state or local governmental units. The proposed language 
represents amendments to existing Rules and is housekeeping 
in nature. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The reduction in required post licensing hours from 4-hour 
increments to 3-hour increments is more conducive to the 
overall 30-hour requirement and may serve to reduce costs to 
affected real estate licensees. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated impact on competition and 
employment. All real estate vendors may submit courses for 
review using any of the approved delivery methods. 

 
Julius C. Willie Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director General Government Section Director 
0307#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Commission 

Prelicensing Courses 
(LAC 46:LXVII.5305) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate License 
Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Louisiana 
Real Estate Commission has initiated procedures to amend 
LAC 46:LXVII.5305. The amendments are housekeeping in 
nature and serve to better define the distance learning course 
delivery method and procedures for course approval. 

In accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a)(viii) and 972, the 
following Family Impact Statement is submitted with the 
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Notice of Intent for publication in the July 20, 2003 
Louisiana Register. The proposed Rules have no known 
impact on family formation, stability, or autonomy. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXVII.  Real Estate 

Chapter 53. Real Estate Schools 
§5305. Prelicensing CoursesCCourse Content and 

Delivery Method 
A. – C. … 
D. In addition to traditional in-class prelicensing course 

offerings, the commission may approve prelicense courses 
offered through distance education delivery methods. As 
used in this Chapter, a distance education or distance 
learning delivery method is defined as internet-based 
instruction in which instruction takes place in other than a 
classroom setting, the instructor and the student are in 
physically separate locations, and interactive instructional 
methods are provided. The commission will approve only 
those prelicensing courses through distance 
education/distance learning delivery methods that are 
Internet-based instruction. Each course must meet the 
following standards: 

1. – 6. … 
E. Each distance education course for which credit is 

granted toward prelicensing educational requirements must 
be approved by the commission for course content and by 
the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials 
(ARELLO) for delivery standards. The school must apply 
for and receive course content approval from the 
commission prior to applying for ARELLO certification. 

F. Loss of ARELLO certification for a prelicensing 
course offered via Internet-based education will 
automatically suspend commission approval of the course. 

G. – I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1432 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:52 
(January 2000); amended by the Office of the Governor, Louisiana 
Real Estate Commission, LR 28:486 (March 2002); amended LR 
29:  

Interested parties are invited to submit written comments 
on the proposed regulations through August 8, 2003, 4:30 
p.m. to Stephanie Boudreaux, Louisiana Real Estate 
Commission, Box 14785, Baton Rouge, LA, 70898-4785 or 
9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA, 70809. 

 
Julius C. Willie 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Prelicensing Courses 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no estimated implementation costs (savings) to 

state or local governmental units. The proposed language 
represents amendments to existing Rules and is housekeeping 
in nature. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or nongovernmental groups. The 
proposed language is relative to state real estate schools and the 
education programs that they offer; however, it should have no 
impact on costs and/or economic benefits. The related 
programs are already fully implemented and the proposed 
language is merely housekeeping in nature. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated impact on competition and 
employment. All real estate schools may submit courses for 
review using any of the approved delivery methods. 

 
Julius C. Willie Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director General Government Section Director 
0307#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Certified Social Work Examiners 

Social Work (LAC 46:XXV.Chapters 1-9) 

The Louisiana Board of Social Work Examiners intends to 
amend Rules, Standards and Procedures adopted in February 
2000, which implement the Louisiana Social Work Practice 
Act, R.S. 37:2701-2721. The proposed amendments will 
apply to all credentialed social workers and amend 
§113.Social Work Relationships, §117.Conduct, 
§303.Practice, §305.Qualifications for Registration, 
Certification Licensure, §307.Administration of 
Examination, §309.Application Procedure, §311. Renewals 
and Cancellations, §313.Fees, §315.Board Members, §317. 
Continuing Education Requirements, §505.GSWs Seeking 
the LCSW Credential, §701.Impaired Professional Program, 
and Chapter IX. Procedural Rules. 

The proposed Rules have no known impact on family 
formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXV.  Certified Social Workers 

Chapter 1. Standards of Practice 
§113. Social Work Relationships 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. Hiring or bartering for services of a personal nature 

with the client, supervisee or student at the social worker’s 
office, home or other location.  

4. - 7. ... 
B. Dual Relationships. Social workers have an 

affirmative duty to maintain the best interest of clients and 
former clients as the predominant consideration during the 
existence of the social worker/client relationship and 
thereafter. While clients and former clients with whom the 
social worker has or had a clinical/therapeutic relationship 
are at greater risk, any relationship with a client or a former
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client exposes clients and former clients to a risk of 
exploitation. Social workers shall be aware, even in those 
instances where other relationships are not specifically 
prohibited, that the social worker by promoting, 
encouraging, or participating in any relationship with a client 
or former client runs a risk of exploitation. 

1. Personal relationships with clinical/therapeutic 
clients. A social worker shall not engage in a personal 
relationship with a clinical/therapeutic client. When a social 
worker may not avoid a personal relationship with a 
clinical/therapeutic client, the social worker shall take 
necessary protective measures consistent with the best 
interests of the clinical/therapeutic client.  

2. Personal relationships with former 
clinical/therapeutic clients. A social worker may engage in a 
personal relationship, except as prohibited by Rule 113.B.4., 
with a former clinical/therapeutic client, if the former 
clinical/therapeutic client was notified of the termination of 
the professional relationship. The social worker has a 
continuing duty to safeguard the best interests of the former 
clinical/therapeutic client. 

3. Sexual contact with a client, supervisee or student. 
A social worker shall not engage in or request sexual contact 
as defined in §113.B.5., with a client, a client’s spouse or 
former spouse, any member of the client’s immediate family 
or with any person with whom the client has a sexual 
relationship. The prohibition of this rule extends to 
supervisees and students during such times and under such 
circumstances where the social worker is in a supervisory or 
teaching relationship. This Rule also expressly prohibits 
social workers from engaging in any behavior which a 
reasonable person would find sexually stimulating, seductive 
or sexually demeaning when such behavior is either directed 
toward or exhibited in the presence of any person with 
whom sexual contact is otherwise prohibited by this Rule. 
Social workers shall not sexually harass a client, supervisee 
or student. 

4. Sexual contact with a former client. A social worker 
who has provided clinical/therapeutic social work services to 
a client shall not engage in or request sexual contacts as 
defined in §113.B.5, with the former client under any 
circumstances. A social worker who has provided other 
social work services to a client should not engage in or 
request sexual contact as defined in §113.B.5, with the 
former client at any time if such contact exposes the former 
client to exploitation or harm. 

5. Sexual contact defined. Sexual contact means 
sexual touching, sexual intercourse, either genital or anal, 
cunnilingus, fellatio, or the handling of the breasts, genital 
areas, buttocks, or thighs, whether clothed or unclothed, by 
either the social worker or the client. 

6. Business relationship with a client, supervisee or 
student. A social worker shall not engage in any type of 
business relationship other than the provision of social work 
services, including social work supervision. Business 
relationships do not include purchases made by the social 
worker from the client, supervisee or student when they are 
providing necessary goods or services to the general public. 

7. Business relationship with a former client. The 
social worker has a continuing duty to safeguard the best 
interests of the former client. 

8. Prior personal or business relationships. A social 
worker should exercise caution before engaging in a 
professional relationship with an individual with whom the 
social worker had a previous personal or business 
relationship. 

9. Social worker responsibility. A social worker shall 
be solely responsible for acting appropriately in regard to 
relationships with clients or former clients. A client or a 
former client’s initiation of a personal, sexual, or business 
relationship shall not be a defense by the social worker for a 
violation of §113.B.1.-8. 

C. - C.9. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:297 (February 2000). 
§117. Conduct 

A. - C. ... 
D. Responsibility to the Public. A social worker shall not 

knowingly participate in any activity or practice (including 
hiring, supervising, or concealing) by which activity or 
practice an individual engages or continues to engage in a 
practice of social work which is prohibited by R. S. 37:2709 
or which activity or practice aids or abets any violation of 
R.S. 37:2720. A social worker who becomes aware of an 
activity or practice as described herein or of conduct 
prohibited by R.S. 37:2709 or R.S. 37:2720 shall report such 
information to the board at the earliest opportunity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:299 (February 2000). 
Chapter 3. General Provisions 
§303. Practice 

A. - E. ... 
F. An applicant who meets all the requirements of R.S. 

37:2706, 2707, or 2708 and who has worked more than 120 
days as a social worker in the State of Louisiana and who 
has not otherwise violated any part of R.S. 37:2701-2723 or 
its Rules, shall be offered the following in the form of a 
consent order and agreement in order to process the 
application: 

1. Completion of five pre-approved continuing 
education hours in ethics to be completed within 90 days of 
issuance of the registration, certification or license, in 
addition to the 20 clock hours of continuing education 
required for the annual renewal of the registration, 
certification or license, and 

2. Passing score on an open book examination on the 
Louisiana Social Work Practice Act and the Rules, 
Regulations and Procedures, which include the Standards of 
Practice for Social workers within 90 days of the date the 
Consent Order and Agreement is signed. 

F.3. - G. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:301 (February 2000). 
§305. Qualifications for Registration, Certification, 

Licensure 
A. - -A.1. ... 
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2. The applicant shall have his/her university submit 
official transcript indicating the receipt of a bachelor of 
social work, bachelor of arts, or bachelor of science degree 
from an undergraduate social work program, accredited by 
the Council on Social Work Education, or a master’s degree 
of social work from a graduate social work program, 
accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

B. - C.3. ... 
4. The Provisional Graduate Social Work who does 

not pass the credentialing examination for the GSW 
certification within three years from the date of issuance of 
the original certification may apply for the Registered Social 
Work 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:301 (February 2000). 
§307. Administration of examination. 

A. - A.1. ... 
2. The Louisiana State Board of Social Work 

Examiners recognizes the examinations of the Association of 
Social Work Boards as the national examination for social 
workers. 

A.3. - B.4. ... 
C. Examination Review Policy. The board may allow 

candidates to review failing examinations, at applicant’s 
expense, in accordance with the rules of the Association of 
Social Work Boards. 

D. - D.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:302 (February 2000). 
§309. Application Procedure 

A. ... 
B. A new application must be submitted for any change 

in social work credentials. 
C. Applications for license, certification or registration 

are reviewed and approved by the board at regularly 
scheduled board meetings.  

D. Applications must be submitted to the board office at 
least seven days prior to the board’s meeting to be eligible 
for consideration. 

E. The board shall refuse to consider any application not 
complete in every detail, including submission of every 
document required by the application form. At the board's 
discretion a more detailed or complete response to any 
request for information set forth on the application form may 
be required. 

F. The application fee for licensure, certification, 
provisional certification, or registration must be submitted in 
the form of a money order or certified check. 

G. Applicants for the LCSW license must submit an 
Employer Verification Affidavit for each place of 
employment in Louisiana after receipt of the MSW degree. 

H. Applicants for the LCSW license must submit proof 
of 24 months of accumulated supervised experience on the 
forms provided by the board. 

I. Non-resident applicants may submit proof of 24 
months of accumulated supervised experience completed 

out-of-state on the forms provided by the board and given by 
a social worker licensed at a level equivalent to the LCSW 
license. 

J. Non-resident applicants may submit verification of 
out-of-state accumulated social work employment to qualify 
for the LCSW license. 

K. The application for licensure, certification, 
provisional certification and registration requests the 
applicant's social security number for identification 
purposes; however, submission is optional. 

L. The official transcript from a university accredited by 
the Council on Social Work Education verifying receipt of a 
master's degree must be received directly from the 
university. 

M. An applicant shall be deemed to have abandoned the 
application if the requirements for the credential are not 
completed within one year of the date on which the 
application was received. An application submitted 
subsequent to the abandoned application shall be treated as a 
new application. 

N. Initial social work credentials issued during the last 
quarter of the fiscal year, (i.e., April, May or June) will not 
be required to renew for the next fiscal year. 

O. Procedure for Social Workers with Felony 
Convictions. 

1. The burden of proof for submitting the requested 
documentation is the responsibility of the BSW or MSW 
applicants in order to convince the Louisiana State Board of
 Social Work Examiners that he/she has good moral 
character and fitness to practice social work. 

2. The BSW or MSW applicant should collect and 
deliver the following documents to the board office 
promptly: 

a. copies of all court records containing information 
of the conviction and the imposition of sentence; 

b. the current name, address, and telephone number 
of the judge who imposed sentence and who presided at the 
trial and/or accepted any plea upon which the felony 
conviction was based; 

c. any documentation or records which reflect the 
term of any probationary period, the conditions of probation 
and the fulfillment and completion of all terms and 
conditions of probation; 

d. the current name(s), addresses and telephone 
numbers of any probation officers or persons of similar title 
or job function to whom the applicant has reported or who 
has any information concerning the applicant's conduct 
during any probationary period; 

e. if any form of restitution to a victim or victims 
was part of a sentence imposed or a condition of probation 
the applicant must provide the names, current addresses and 
telephone numbers of any such victim or victims and an 
affidavit of the applicant that affirms that all required 
restitution has been completed; 

f. if the sentence included any form of 
imprisonment, residence at a half-way house, other forms of 
correctional and/or treatment facilities, the applicant must 
provide the complete address, names and current addresses 
of any persons having information relating to the satisfactory 
completion of any such prison term, residence or treatment, 
and any related documents. In the event that medical, 
psychiatric, psychological, substance or alcohol abuse 
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evaluation, treatment and rehabilitation was in any way part 
of the sentence or a term or condition of probation, the 
applicant will execute any releases which may be required 
for the board to obtain information. Such information 
obtained will be maintained by the board on a confidential 
basic; 

g. all records or documents relating to any arrest or 
conviction of any felony or misdemeanor which has 
occurred at any time since the applicant's original felony 
conviction or which occurs at any time during which the 
application is pending or being investigated; (This 
requirement is an ongoing responsibility of the applicant.) 

h. any documents, records, or information which the 
applicant wishes to present in support of his or her 
application which shows or evidences rehabilitation, positive 
social contributions, awards, commendations, social or 
lifestyle adjustments, positive treatment outcomes, 
employment or academic evaluations, volunteer work or any 
other area in which the applicant participated which would 
reflect on the applicant's good moral character and fitness to 
practice social work. (The applicant should provide the 
names, current addresses and telephone numbers of any 
references or persons having information in support of the 
application. While information in support of an application 
which occurred prior to the conviction may be submitted, the 
board will place greater emphasis on supporting 
documentation and information concerning events which 
have occurred since the felony conviction). 

i. true copies of any licenses, certificates to practice 
or similar documents issued by any board or licensing 
authority of any other state or the state of Louisiana obtained 
by the applicant since the date of the felony conviction. The 
applicant should provide a complete listing of any college, 
graduate school, trade or business school and employers to 
whom he or she has made application since the date of the 
felony conviction. This request includes any applications 
which were denied for any reason, including the felony 
conviction. 

3. BSWs and MSWs should be aware of the 
following: 

a. any delay in providing the requested information 
will delay the board's action on the application; 

b. providing any false or misleading information, 
being evasive, concealing or making material omissions, or 
failing to cooperate shall form a basis for the denial of the 
application; 

c. in the event that the application is denied by the 
board, the applicant may request a Compliance Hearing 
provided the application for such a hearing is made in 
writing within thirty days after the applicant receives the 
notice of the denial of the application. The request shall 
contain the applicant's receipt of the notice of the denial of 
the application, and the applicant's grounds for opposition to 
the denial of the application. The applicant is further aware 
that at such a hearing the applicant may be represented by 
legal counsel and the applicant bears the burden to establish 
that he or she meets the criteria for licensure; 

d. the intent of the above enumerated items is to 
obtain the information upon which the Board will evaluate 
the application. 

P. Additional Requirements for International 
Applicants/Speakers of English as a Second Language 

1. Any document required to be submitted to the 
board with an application for license, certification or 
registration shall be in the English language, or accompanied 
by a certified translation thereof into the English language. 

2. As a condition of the board’s consideration of the 
application of a graduate of a foreign college or university, 
the applicant shall provide the board with a statement from 
the Council on Social Work Education that the applicant’s 
degree is equivalent to an accredited social work degree in 
the United States. 

3. Applicants moving into the United States from out 
of the country may have 120 days to complete the 
application process to allow time to complete the additional 
requirements for foreign graduates/speakers of English as a 
second language. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:302 (February 2000). 
§311. Renewals and Cancellation 

A. Renewal notices are mailed on June 20 of each year. 
The renewal fee must be postmarked on or before November 
30, to avoid late renewal fee. 

B. ... 
C. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 

programs approved by the Board shall be obtained prior to 
June 30 of each year. See §317 for rules on acceptable 
continuing education. 

D. ... 
E. Without payment of the lapsed fee, the license, 

certification or registration is canceled after February 28, 
and a certified notice of cancellation is mailed. Payment 
must be postmarked on or before February 28. 

F. It is the social worker's responsibility to keep the 
board informed of his/her current mailing address. 

G. - I. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:304 (February 2000). 
§313. Fees 

A. ... 
 

Late Renewal Fee for LCSW (postmarked after 
November 30,) 

150.00 

Late Renewal Fee for GSW (postmarked after November 
30,) 

100.00 

Late Renewal Fee for RSW (postmarked after November 
30,) 

50.00 

* * * 
Fee for mailing lists 
per label plus postage and handling 

$0.05 

* * * 
Fee for Open Book Examination on Social Work Practice 
Act and Rules, Standards and Procedures 

$25.00 per 
administration 

* * * 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:304 (February 2000). 
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§315. Board Members 
A. Board Member Appointments 

1. Whenever possible the board office shall notify all 
social workers of vacancies that occur on the board at least 
45-days prior to the vacancy. 

a. The notice to all social workers shall state the 
requirements for the vacant board position(s) and the date by 
which social workers or members of the public must submit 
a letter of interest and resume. 

b. The notice to all social workers shall also include 
the names and addresses of all qualified social work 
membership organizations who meet the legal requirements 
to submit names for service on the board. 

B. Officers. The board shall elect annually at the June 
board meeting, a chairman, vice-chairman, and 
secretary/treasurer whose responsibilities are included in the 
Policy Manual. 

C. Meetings 
1. The board shall schedule monthly meetings in 

December for the following calendar year. 
2. A schedule of meeting dates shall be published in 

the board newsletter. 
3. Any board member who misses three board 

meetings, barring extenuating circumstances approved by 
the board, during the course of one calendar year shall resign 
from the board. 

4. Special travel requests, other than regularly 
monthly meetings, must be approved by the board at regular 
monthly meetings. 

D. Expense Reimbursement 
1. Expenses charged to the board must be consistent 

with the time frame and mission of board meetings and other 
function. Expenses which are exceptions to this policy may 
be paid with justification and approval by the board. 

2. Board members shall be reimbursed for actual 
traveling, incidental, and clerical expenses incurred while 
engaged in official duties. 

a. Mileage expenses shall be reimbursed at the 
official state rate. 

b. Airfare expenses must be at the state contract rate 
or economy class rate when contract rates are not available. 

c. Lodging and meals shall be reimbursed at actual 
cost if receipts are submitted. Without receipts, lodging and 
meals shall be reimbursed at the appropriate state rate. 

d. Incidental expenses are defined as telephone 
calls, fees for storage and handling of equipment, tips for 
baggage handling, parking fees, ferry fees, and road and 
bridge tolls. 

3. Registration fees for conferences and room rental 
for a conference meeting are reimbursed at actual cost, but 
must be approved by the board at a regular monthly meeting. 

4. Clerical expenses for individual board members 
shall be pre-approved by the board at a regular monthly 
board meeting. 

E. Vacancies. The board shall notify all social workers 
and professional social work organizations of vacancies on 
the board, the qualifications required to serve, and the 
process for nominations by placing a notice in the board’s 
newsletter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§317. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. The purpose of continuing education is to protect the 
public by: 

1. ensuring that the practitioner has formal 
opportunities to upgrade and update professional knowledge 
and skills; and 

2. encouraging the practitioner to learn from other 
professionals; and 

3. assisting the professional to expand his/her 
expanded professional resource network. 

B. Consequently, approved learning situations emphasize 
opportunities for professional interaction and relationship-
building. 

C. Any credentialed social worker may be audited. It is 
important to keep good records of continuing education 
experiences for at least one year and to be able to explain the 
nature of the content covered. 

D. Random audits are done to ensure that the continuing 
education mandate is applied fairly to all credentialed social 
workers. 

E. For audit purposes, only certificates of attendance, 
sign-in sheets signed by a representative of the sponsoring 
organization, or an original letter from the sponsoring 
organization will be accepted as proof of attendance for 
continuing education events. 

F. The collection period for continuing education hours 
is July 1, through June 30 of each fiscal year. 

G. Continuing education hours are pro-rated as follows 
during the initial year of registration, certification or 
licensure. 

 
Month Received Hours Required 

April, May, June -0- 
July, August, September 20 
October, November, December 15 
January, February, March 10 

 
H. Continuing education hours collected in the month of 

June may be used for the current collection period or may be 
carried over to the next collection period. 

I. In the case of extenuating circumstances, when the 
individual does not fulfill the continuing education 
requirements, the individual shall submit a written request 
for extension to the Board for consideration. 

J. Continuing Education Requirements for the 
Registered Social Worker 

1. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 
programs approved by the Board shall be obtained prior to 
each renewal date including three clock hours in social work 
ethics once every two years. 

K. Continuing Education Requirements for Graduate 
Social Worker 

1. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 
programs approved by the Board shall be obtained prior to 
each renewal date, including three clock hours in social 
work ethics once every two years. 

L. Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed 
Clinical Social Worker 
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1. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 
programs approved by the board shall be obtained prior to 
each renewal date to include: 

a. Three clock hours in social work ethics once 
every two years, 

b. Ten clock hours in social work supervision, once 
every five years to maintain the board approved supervisor 
status, and 

c. Ten clock hours each year shall be clinical 
content including diagnosis and treatment. 

2. For the collection period July 1, 1999 through June 
30, 2000 only, LCSWs must collect twenty clock hours of 
continuing education in programs approved by the board to 
include: 

a. Three clock hours in social work ethics once 
every two years. 

b. Ten clock hours in social work supervision, once 
every five years to maintain the board approved clinical 
supervisor status, and 

c. Five clock hours of clinical content, including 
diagnosis and treatment. 

M. The following learning forums are approved for 
continuing education and must contain content applicable to 
social work practice: 

1. Educational offerings (workshops, conferences, 
courses, seminars, teleconferences, telecourses, and Internet 
courses) sponsored by professional organizations such as: 
Louisiana Council for Social Work Education, National 
Association of Social Workers, Clinical Social Work 
Federation, Council on Social Work Education, American 
Medical Association, American Psychiatric Association, 
American Psychological Association, American Hospital 
Association and Association of Social Work Boards or other 
appropriate professional entities. Workshops with content 
applicable to social work practice which are offered by 
appropriate professional entities or individuals and approved 
by one of the approval organizations for continuing 
education credits are also acceptable. 

2. Should the individual social worker make the 
determination that an education offering which is not pre-
approved by one of the approval organizations has content 
applicable to social work practice, the social worker may 
complete and submit the Guide for Assessment of Continuing 
Education (§317. P.) to the Board for consideration. 

3. Distance learning (teleconferences, telecourses, and 
Internet courses sponsored by entities listed in §317. L.1, or 
an accredited university) cannot exceed a total of 8 clock 
hours of the required 20 clock hours of continuing education 
required annually for renewal of social work credentials. 

4. Continuing education activities or academic courses 
provided by accredited schools of social work. Academic 
course work counts per actual class hour. 

5. Presentations of content applicable to social work 
practice at professional conferences, staff development 
meetings, and other appropriate forums in which you are the 
primary presenter. These presentations count 1 1/2 times the 
actual time of the presentation, in order to give credit for 
preparation time. (Example: You prepare a presentation on 
Holiday Stress that last one hour. You will receive 1 1/2 
hours continuing education credit for this presentation.) 
Presentation and preparation time may only be counted once 
for each topic. Academic preparation and teaching of social 

work content (undergraduate or graduate) may be counted 
once in the same manner, unless the course has been revised 
to include substantially new content and text books. Please 
be prepared to provide the exact nature of the content and 
presentation. 

6. Teleconferences which deal with content applicable 
to social work practice, are presented by a creditable and 
knowledgeable presenter, and are aimed at a professional 
audience. 

7. Attendance at staff development presentations with 
content applicable to social work practice (such as staff 
meeting with a formal and in-depth presentation on working 
with clients who present borderline symptoms, etc.). Please 
be prepared to provide the dates and nature of the content 
covered. Case based staffing meetings are not included as 
appropriate continuing education experiences. 

8. Attendance at professional social work meetings, 
Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) item writing 
workshops, symposiums, panel discussions, or conferences 
sponsored by the professional associations suggested in 
§317.L.1. Please be prepared to provide the dates and nature 
of content or consultation covered. 

9. Formal study groups of three or more participants. 
Must submit name, address, telephone number and 
credentials of group members to the board office. Study 
groups should maintain records of topics, attendance, 
meeting times, and presenters for audit purposes. 

10. Contracted professional consultation which the 
credentialed social worker receives. Must provide the paid 
consultants name, address, telephone number, credentials, 
and the dates and focus of consultation. 

11. Preparation of substantial written material with 
content applicable to social work practice which requires 
literature search, research, and explication of social work 
content (such as writing a social work article or book for 
publication, or a major grant application). Please provide 
specific information about the nature of the written work, the 
effort required, and the publisher or funding agency. These 
activities may be counted for no more than five hours 
continuing education. 

12. Social workers should be doing consistent 
independent study. However, such study does not meet the 
goal of increasing professional relationships and networks. 
Consequently self-study programs are approved only for 
rural areas or if the licensee is physically incapacitated. All 
self-study programs must receive pre-approval from the 
board. 

N. The intent of the continuing education requirement is 
to enhance competence, not to cause undue expense or 
burden to the credentialed social worker. The board 
encourages social workers to develop learning options which 
enhance their abilities to do their various social work roles. 
For instance: 

1. a study group might have presentations from 
professionals who represent different community resources 
for clients, or might have formal book reviews and 
discussions of substantial social work books; 

2. a staff development meeting might examine recent 
federal or state policies which affect social work services, or 
ways to increase cultural diversity and sensitivity among 
staff; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1261

3. a social work faculty meeting might have a formal 
presentation on how to work with students who have 
diagnosed mental health conditions; 

4. an administrator might contract for consultation on 
how to deal with staff who are drug or alcohol impaired. 

O. The following learning situations will not be 
accepted: 

1. banquet speeches; 
2. non-social work content courses not directly related 

to enhancement of social work skills or performance as a 
social work employee. (Example: Computer, financial or 
business management courses designed to enhance the 
business of private practice); 

3. staff orientation, administrative staff meetings and 
case management meetings; 

4. book reports or critiques of professional journal 
articles. 

P. Guide for Assessment of Continuing Education. As 
continuing education events vary across the categories listed 
below, the appropriateness of considering them as acceptable 
continuing education also varies. An event must receive a 
total score (combination of all three sections) of 10 to be 
"clearly acceptable" for continuing education to renew your 
social work credential. 

 
PROGRAM CONTENT: 

(Clearly Acceptable) 
_____4)Mainstream social work knowledge, skills and values 
_____4)Specialized social work knowledge, skills and values 
_____3)Information from related fields that is useful for social 

work practice 
_____1)Developing areas that may lack strong research, support 

or clear application 
_____0)Content that is specifically not acceptable or not related 

to social work practice 
(Clearly Not Acceptable) 
 

PROGRAM PRESENTER: 
(Clearly Acceptable) 

_____4)Social worker with appropriate expertise in content area 
_____3)Related professional with ability to connect content to 

social work practice 
_____2)Lay-person (e.g. client) on the impact of 

needing/receiving services 
_____0)Presenter with no apparent professional qualifications 

nor link to social work practice 
(Clearly Not Acceptable) 

 
PROGRAM AUDIENCE: 

(Clearly Acceptable) 
_____6)Social work practitioners/students 
_____5)Interdisciplinary professional audience that may include 

social workers 
_____3)Audience presumed to be primarily from another 

profession (e.g. nursing) 
_____1)Audience open to the general public 
_____0)Audience presumed to be primarily the general public 

(Clearly Not Acceptable) 
 

Total Score _____(add score from each section to get Total Score) 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.(C) and (G) and 37:2714. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:305 (February 2000). 
Chapter 5. Minimum Supervision Requirements 
§503. GSWs Seeking the LCSW Credential 

A. Supervision for the LCSW license can begin after the 
MSW obtains Graduate Social Work or Provisional Graduate 
Social Work certification. 

B. GSWs seeking the LCSW credential must receive a 
minimum of 24 accumulated calendar months of supervised 
full-time postgraduate social work practice under the 
supervision of a Board Approved Clinical Supervisor 
(BACS). 

C. MSW applicants who began their supervised 
experience on or before December 31, 1999 and filed a 
Contract for Supervision at the board office postmarked on 
or before December 31, 1999, shall be required to submit 
only 24 accumulated months of supervised post graduate 
social work experience in accordance with the board’s 
supervision rules and on the forms provided by the board to 
qualify for the LCSW examination and license. 

D. A calendar month is counted from the first working 
day of the month to the last day of that month.  GSWs may 
obtain a list of Board-Approved Clinical Supervisors 
(BACS) from the board office. 

E. Face-to-face supervision for licensure must total at 
least 96 hours. 

F. Supervision segments of no fewer than 30 minutes 
will be counted toward meeting the supervision requirement. 

G. The requirement for supervision is at least 4 hours per 
calendar month with at least two different supervision 
contacts per month. 

H. One-half (48 hours maximum) of the supervision 
requirement may be met through group supervision, 
occurring in increments of no more than two hours per 
group. No more than five supervisees may be involved in 
supervision groups. 

I. The supervisee and supervisor must keep accurate 
records of both the dates of supervision times and the hours 
spent in supervision for potential audit of records. This 
information must be submitted to the board office on the 
supervision form entitled Record of Supervision.  

J. Supervised work experience eligible to be counted 
towards licensure begins on the first working day of the first 
full calendar month after the first supervisory session.   

K. School social workers may only count supervision 
that occurs during the full months in which they are 
employed in a social work position. 

L. The original Plan of Supervision must be submitted to 
the board office within 60 days of the first supervision 
session. A Plan of Supervision shall be submitted on each 
supervision experience. 

M. The individual completing supervision toward the 
LCSW supervised experience requirement must use the 
following forms to submit their supervision to the board 
office: 

1. Registration of Supervision; 
2. Employer Verification Affidavit; 
3. Plan of Supervision; 
4. Record of Supervision; 
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5. Evaluation of Supervision; 
6. Termination of Supervision; 
7. Professional Experience Verification Affidavit. 

N. Form must be legible. Preferably, material on forms 
should be typed, but if not typed, the forms must be printed 
neatly and legibly. Forms which are not legible will be 
returned. 

O. Only original, unaltered supervision forms may be 
submitted to the board office.  Copies, faxes, or forms with 
any alterations (such as white-out or mark-outs) will not be 
accepted. 

P. To register her/his intent to initiate supervision, the 
GSW must submit the completed Registration of 
Supervision, with the registration fee of $35.00. 

Q. The Plan for Supervision will be reviewed and 
revisions may be required. Revisions shall be submitted to 
the board office within 30 days of receipt by the 
supervisee/supervisor. 

R. The supervisee shall submit an Employer Verification 
Affidavit form from each place of social work employment 
after she/he receives the MSW degree.  The form shall be 
completed by the employer, not the supervisor (unless the 
employer and the supervisor are one and the same). 

S. Termination and Evaluation forms shall be submitted 
to the board office at the end of the supervisory period, and 
must clearly designate the beginning and ending dates of 
supervision. 

T. Sometimes it is necessary for a supervisor to 
discontinue supervising a GSW for licensure.  When this 
occurs, no matter what length of time the supervisor actually 
supervised the supervisee, the supervisor must submit an 
Evaluation and Termination form. 

U. `The Professional Experience Verification Affidavit 
shall be submitted to the board office at the end of the 36 
accumulated months of work experience from each place of 
employment. 

V. The supervisor has a professional responsibility to 
honor his/her commitment to supervise responsibly, which 
includes submitting forms on a timely basis.  Should the 
supervisor fail to submit forms appropriately, legibly, and on 
a timely basis, the board reserves the right to withdraw the 
BACS designation from the supervisor.   

W. When supervision is provided to a GSW by a LCSW-
BACS supervisor, not an agency employee, social work 
ethics require that the LCSW-BACS take responsibility for 
securing agency agreement to the Plan of Supervision, 
whether the fee for supervision is paid by the agency or the 
supervisee. 

1. The LCSW-BACS is responsible for clarifying with 
the agency administration, the supervisory role 
responsibilities and the content of supervision.   

2. Under such a plan the supervisee’s written 
evaluation is made available to the agency if the agency is 
paying for the supervision.  If the supervisee is paying the 
fee, the evaluation is the supervisee’s property. 

X. If the GSW receives supervision outside of the state 
of Louisiana, that supervision will be accepted if: 

1. the supervisor has completed the authorized forms 
of the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners; 

2. the supervisor was licensed at the time of 
supervision in the other state and submits the License 

Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor form (available from 
board office); 

3. the supervisor was certified by the Academy of 
Certified Social Workers (ACSW) at the time of supervision, 
which the supervisor must verify. 

Y. A supervisory record shall include: 
1. plan for supervision, 
2. learning assessment of supervisee 
3. record of all supervisory sessions, and any canceled 

or missed appointments, 
4. overview of cases discussed, as well as significant 

decisions made, 
5. any ethical concerns, 
6. significant problems arising in supervision, and 

how they were resolved, 
7. memos and correspondence, 
8. for all above data, dates completed and person 

completing the item. 
Z. The board’s publication, Supervision for Professional 

Development and Public Protection: A Guide, provides more 
information relative to supervision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:307 (February 2000). 
§507. Board-Approved Clinical Supervisor 

A. To qualify for the Board-Approved Clinical 
Supervisor (BACS) designation, a social worker must: 

1. hold the LCSW license; 
2. verify at least 3 years of full-time social work 

experience at the LCSW level; 
3. submit two letters of reference to the board from 

other professionals (one of whom should be an LCSW) who 
are familiar with the licensee’s work, including supervision 
skills; 

4. participate in a Board Orientation Workshop; 
5. participate in a board pre-approved workshop on 

the theory and techniques of supervision as well as 
procedures used in supervision toward licensure of at least 
10 hours duration; 

6. all requirements must be met before the social 
worker becomes a BACS. 

B. To continue the BACS designation in good standing, 
the social worker must:  

1. maintain LCSW licensure; 
2. appropriately conduct all supervisory duties 

explicated in Rule No. 503.  Failure to comply with all 
regulations may result in the board lifting the BACS 
designation from the LCSW License.   

3. participate in a board pre-approved workshop on 
the theory and techniques of supervision as well as 
procedures used toward licensure of at least 10 hours 
duration once every five years effective July 1, 1995.  This 
means those BACS supervisors who achieved their BACS 
status before July 1, 1995 must attend another supervision 
workshop before June 30, 2000 and every five year period 
thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:308 (February 2000). 
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Chapter 7. Impaired Professional Program Authority 
§701. Authority 

A. The Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners 
recognizes that impairments in the functioning of persons 
licensed, credentialed or registered to practice under the 
auspices of the Louisiana Social Work Practice Act can 
affect competent delivery of social work services and impair 
professional judgment. 

B. Therefore, in order to safeguard the public health, 
safety, and welfare of the people of this state, as mandated 
by R.S. 37:2701, the Louisiana State Board of Social Work 
Examiners establishes the Social Work Impaired 
Professional Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§703. Purpose and Scope 

A. The goal of the Social Work Impaired Professional 
Program is to provide for public protection through 
monitoring and a remediative course of action applicable to 
social workers who are functionally impaired in their ability 
to safely practice social work. Impairments include, but are 
not limited to mental, physical, and addictive disorders or 
other conditions. The program also supports recovery 
through preventive measures and allows entrance into the 
program before harm occurs. 

B. A social worker who meets the requirements of R.S. 
37:2706, 2707 or 2708 may enter the program subsequent to 
voluntary disclosure of impairment via an initial or renewal 
application for a credential. Entrance into the program may 
also occur by determination of the board, following 
involuntary disclosure of impairment in accordance with 
R.S. 37:2717(A)(2) or R.S. 37:2717(B)(4), or by other 
circumstances deemed appropriate by the board. 
Participation in the program may hence be required as a 
prerequisite to continued social work practice in accordance 
with the conditions of any consent order, compliance or 
adjudication hearing. 

C. Professionals who participate in evaluation, 
monitoring or treatment and who are approved or designated 
by the Board to render these services are afforded the 
immunity provisions of the Social Work Practice Act, R.S. 
37:2723. The social worker will be responsible for executing 
all required releases of information and authorizations 
required for the Board or its designees to obtain information, 
from any monitor, treatment or service provider concerning 
the social workers progress and participation in the program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§705. Program Implementation 

A. The board may utilize its discretionary authority to 
require or exclude specific components of this program for 
participants based upon determination of the nature and 
severity of the impairment. Participation in the Social Work 
Impaired Professional Program may consist of all or part of 
the following components. 

1. The program participant will submit to an 
assessment relative to the impairment: 

a. This assessment will be completed by a licensed 
professional who is pre-approved by the board.  

b. The format and content of this assessment will 
meet the requirements designated by the board, but will at a 
minimum contain information concerning previous 
inpatient/outpatient treatment episodes; relapse history; an 
assessment of the participant's psychosocial, physical and 
other needs relative to the impairment, and 
recommendations for future treatment. 

c. The assessment will be forwarded to the board by 
the professional completing the assessment, and received by 
the Board no later than 30 days following the board’s 
determination of the participant’s eligibility or requirement 
to participate in the program. 

2.The participant may be required to submit to ongoing 
monitoring for a period of up to five years. 

a. The beginning date of the monitoring period will 
be the date upon which a consent order is formally signed by 
the social worker and the board, or the date of the board's 
official decision to require program participation in the event 
of an adjudication hearing. 

3. During the monitoring period the social worker will 
submit to random bi-monthly drug and/or alcohol screenings 
as determined appropriate by the board, or other monitoring 
requirements which are pertinent and relative to the 
documented impairment. 

a. The interval and timing of the required screening 
will be directed by a Monitor who is pre-approved by the 
board. This monitor will be considered to have been duly 
selected by the board as its agent for the purposes of 
directing the required screens. 

b. The results and reports of the results of all 
screens will be submitted to the board before the final 
business day of the month following the date of the screen. 

4. Receipt by the board of any positive, unexplained 
substance abuse/drug screen or reports of non-compliance or 
complications relative to the impairment during the 
monitoring period may result in suspension, or other 
appropriate action pertaining to the social workers credential 
as determined appropriate by the board. 

5. When the impairment is substance related, the 
social worker is required to attend Twelve Step meetings on 
a regular basis as determined appropriate by the designated 
licensed substance abuse professional, and as approved or 
required by the board, but should be no less than four times 
monthly. 

a. A pre-approved monthly log must be submitted 
to and received by the board before the final business day of 
the month following completion of the required meetings. It 
is the social worker’s responsibility to ensure that these logs 
are properly completed and received by the Board by the 
designated date. 

b. The log requires documentation of the name of 
the sponsor, and meeting dates and times. 

c. Submission of logs will be required for at least 
one year of program participation, but may be required for 
any period of time up to and including the entire term of 
monitoring as determined by the designated licensed 
substance abuse professional and as approved or required by 
the Board.  

6. During the monitoring period the social worker 
may be required to participate in professional supervision 
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with a board approved and designated LCSW at a frequency 
determined by the board for a period of time up to and 
including the entire five year period of monitoring. 

7. In the event that a social worker relocates to 
another jurisdiction, the social worker will within five days 
of relocating be required to either enroll in the other 
jurisdiction’s impaired professional program and have the 
reports required under that agreement sent to the Louisiana 
State Board of Social Work Examiners, or if the other 
jurisdiction has no impaired professional program, the social 
worker will notify the licensing board of that jurisdiction 
that the social worker is impaired and enrolled in the 
Louisiana Social Work Impaired Professional Program. 
Should the social worker fail to adhere to this requirement, 
in addition to being deemed in violation of the program 
requirements and corresponding consent order or 
adjudication, the social worker’s social work credential will 
be suspended. 

8. The social worker shall notify the board office by 
telephone within 48 hours and in writing within five working 
days of any changes of the social worker’s home or work 
address, telephone number, employment status, employer 
and/or change in scope or nature of practice. The social 
worker may satisfy the notice by telephone requirement by 
leaving a voice message at the board office at times when 
the office is closed. 

9. Other requirements for participation in the program 
may include but are not limited to limitations of social work 
practice. 

10. The board, in addition to other conditions, may 
require that the social worker obtain regularly scheduled 
therapy (at a prescribed interval). 

a. The type and interval of therapy may be 
recommended by the designated pre-approved licensed 
professional responsible for program monitoring, as 
approved by the board. 

b. The type and interval of therapy may be required 
by the board. 

c. The social worker may choose the licensed 
substance abuse professional, or other qualified professional 
to provide this therapy, subject to board approval and 
designation. 

11. Notification of a violation of the terms or 
conditions of this agreement, consent order or adjudication 
order may result in the immediate suspension of the 
individual's social work credential to practice in the State of 
Louisiana. 

12. The social worker shall be responsible for all costs 
incurred in complying with the terms of this agreement, 
including but not limited to therapy, assessments, 
supervision, drug/alcohol screens and reproduction of 
treatment or other records. 

13. The social worker must submit to the board an 
appropriately notarized statement indicating acceptance of 
the required conditions of participation in the Social Work 
Impaired Professional Program as mandated by the board, 
along with all initial (or updated) releases or authorizations 
for the board or its designees to obtain information 
concerning the social worker’s participation and progress in 
the program. This statement and the required releases and 
authorizations must be submitted prior to the issuance of any 
initial credential or re-issuance of a renewal of a credential.  

14. The board will, to the full extent permissible under 
R.S. 44:4(26), maintain an agreement or consent order 
relating to the social worker's participation in the Social 
Work Impaired Professional Program as a confidential 
matter. The board retains the discretion to share information 
it deems necessary with those persons providing 
evaluation/assessment, therapy, treatment, supervision, 
monitoring or drug/alcohol testing or reports. Violation of 
any terms, conditions or requirements contained in any 
consent order, or Board decision can result in a loss of the 
confidential status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
Chapter 9. Procedural Rules 
§901. Authority 

A. Consistent with the legislative purpose specified in 
R.S. 37:2701 through 2723, and to protect the safety and 
welfare of the people of this state against unauthorized, 
unqualified and improper practice of social work, the 
following rules, standards, and procedures are established 
under the board's rule making authority of R.S. 37:2705(C), 
37:2717(C)(E) and R.S. 49:952. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§903. Complaint Origination 

A. The board is authorized to receive from any person a 
complaint or complaints against social workers licensed, 
certified, provisionally certified, or registered under R.S. 
2701 et seq., (hereinafter referred to as social workers), as 
well as complaints against any level of social work 
applicant. Throughout these rules, the term license or 
licensed includes the term certification, provisional 
certification, and registration and also applies to any social 
workers who are certified, provisionally certified, or 
registered. The board is also authorized to initiate such 
complaint(s) when the board otherwise possesses or obtains 
information which satisfies the board that such a complaint 
is warranted. 

B. Any complaint bearing on a social worker’s 
professional competence, conviction of a crime, 
unauthorized practice, the assisting of unauthorized practice, 
mental competence, neglect of practice, or violation of the 
Social Work Practice Act (including these rules and 
standards), or for any of the causes specified for disciplinary 
action in R.S. 37:2717 shall be submitted to the board in a 
timely manner and in writing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§905. Investigation Procedures 

A. When the board receives a written complaint, report, 
or other information which, if established as being true, 
would constitute just cause under the law for revocation, 
suspension, denial of license, or any other form of discipline 
specified in R.S. 37:2717(B), the board may refer the 
complaint, report or information to the board administrator 
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and/or to the board’s designated complaint investigation 
officer (hereinafter referred to as the CIO). The CIO may be 
an employee of the board or provide investigation services 
under contract with the board. The board’s administrator and 
staff and/or the CIO shall conduct such investigation or 
inquiry as the board deems appropriate to determine whether 
there is probable cause to initiate formal administrative 
proceedings against the involved social worker. To assist in 
the investigation, the board is authorized to issue, as 
necessary or upon request, such investigative subpoenas as 
may be required to obtain documents, the appearance of 
witnesses, or sworn statements or testimony. 

B. Except for the notice required by §711.B. and 
§737.C., all other notices, correspondence or written 
communication relating to complaints, investigations, 
notices of investigations, conferences, decisions, orders, etc., 
may be served on or delivered to the involved social worker, 
complainant(s), or witnesses by regular mail or, when 
deemed appropriate or necessary by the board or its 
administrator, by personal delivery (service) or other 
available means. Notices shall be delivered with the 
designation "personal and confidential" clearly marked on 
the outside of the envelope. 

C. Under normal circumstances, the involved social 
worker will receive prompt written notice from the board's 
administrator of the initiation or pendency of an 
investigation. The notice shall contain sufficient detail of the 
nature and the basis of the complaint or other information 
giving rise to the investigation, as well as a preliminary 
statement of the possible violations involved. The notice 
shall also provide the social worker with an opportunity to 
respond in writing to the complaint or to provide other 
information relating to the investigation. When such notice, 
in the judgment of the CIO and/or the board’s administrator, 
is likely to prejudice the investigation, the notice may be 
delayed. Any delay in the notice to the involved social 
worker beyond the first 20 days of the investigation will 
require the board’s administrator to obtain board approval 
for any additional delay. 

D. Board members as members assigned by the agency 
to make findings of fact and conclusions of law will not and 
may not participate in the investigation. No board member 
shall accept contact or communicate with a social worker 
involved in an investigation, any person on behalf of the 
social worker, legal counsel for any party, the complainant, 
witness, or potential witness. If any of these persons attempt 
to contact a board member, the board member shall promptly 
refer the matter to the board’s administrator and/or the 
board's legal counsel. This restriction conforms with R.S. 
49:960(A) and is not intended to restrict those routine 
communications which are in no way related to a case under 
active investigation or adjudication. 

E. The investigation and recommended action or report 
should be completed within 60 days following the date of 
the board’s written referral for investigation. If the board's 
administrator and/or CIO shows good cause, the board may 
extend the time for investigation for a reasonable time not to 
exceed an additional 60-day period. 

F. The board will not authorize a delay in notice to the 
involved social worker or an extension of time for 
concluding an investigation if this action would be 
inconsistent with the limitations set out in R.S. 37:21. The 

board shall schedule hearings and provide notice of hearings 
consistent with those statutory limitations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§907. Disposition of Investigation 

A. The board may, before, during, or following an 
investigation, or after the filing of an administrative 
complaint, dispose of any complaint informally through 
correspondence or conference with the social worker and/or 
the complainant. This action may occur whether requested 
by the involved social worker or recommended by the CIO, 
or at any time as deemed appropriate by the board. Such 
informal resolution may take the form of any informal 
disposition recognized in R.S. 49:955(D) or any other form 
of agreement which adequately addresses the complaint or 
the matter under investigation. Such agreement is binding 
upon the involved social worker and the board. When an 
informal disposition occurs after an administrative complaint 
is filed with the board, the agreement requires the 
concurrence of the assistant attorney general handling the 
case. This concurrence further requires a certification by the 
assistant attorney general that the social worker’s conduct as 
specified in the informal disposition documents is consistent 
with the known evidence which could be presented at an 
adjudication hearing. 

B. Any attempt by the board to resolve a complaint by 
informal disposition which does not result in a disposition of 
the complaint or matter under investigation, will in no way 
preclude further investigation of that matter or complaint. 
The participation in any such attempt by the board or any of 
its members will in no way disqualify the board or any of its 
members from serving on an adjudication hearing panel 
dealing with an administrative complaint on the same 
subject matter as the attempted informal resolution. The 
board and the hearing panel is authorized to obtain waivers 
related to their participation in informal disposition 
procedures signed by the involved social worker and the 
social worker's legal counsel, if any, prior to its participation 
in such informal procedures. 

C. At the conclusion of the investigation, the board’s 
administrator will receive a written report from the CIO 
and/or the board’s administrative staff. The written report 
shall provide a summary of the complaint or basis for the 
investigation, a general statement of the evidence relating to 
the investigation and the investigator’s determination and 
recommendation. If the report contains a recommendation 
that the complaint be dismissed due to a lack of evidence, 
inadequate legal cause for the filing of an administrative 
complaint, or for any other reason, the administrator 
promptly shall notify the board chairperson who will, on a 
rotating basis, designate a board member to review the 
complaint, the complete investigative materials of the CIO 
or the board’s administrative staff, and any investigative 
reports and recommendations. This review shall include an 
assessment of the quality and thoroughness of the 
investigation and the legal and/or factual basis for the 
recommended dismissal. The reviewing board member shall 
promptly report to the board his or her assessment of the 
investigation and the basis for the recommended dismissal. 
Unless the complaint is the subject of an informal 
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disposition as specified in Subsection A above, no complaint 
may be dismissed without board member review of the 
investigation and a vote of the board on the recommendation 
of the investigator’s report. The board may accept the 
recommendation of the report and dismiss the complaint or 
may refer the matter back to the board’s administrator for 
further investigation as it deems necessary. In the event the 
board votes to dismiss the complaint, both the involved 
social worker and the complainant will be notified in writing 
concerning the board's action. Notwithstanding §705.D., no 
board member will be disqualified from serving on a hearing 
panel on a complaint merely because the board member was 
designated to review the complaint or participated in a vote 
related to the recommendation of the dismissal of any 
complaint.  

D. If the investigation report contains a determination 
that there is probable cause to believe that the involved 
social worker has engaged or is engaging in conduct, acts, or 
omissions constituting legal cause under the law, these rules 
and regulations, or ethical standards for any form of 
disciplinary action as specified in R.S. 37:2717, then the 
administrator shall promptly notify the attorney general or 
the assistant attorney general assigned to prosecute such 
matters on behalf of the state pursuant to R.S. 37:2717(C). 
The notice shall deliver to the assistant attorney general all 
investigative reports, statements, notes, recordings, court 
records, and other data obtained in the course of the 
investigation. It will also request the preparation of a draft of 
an administrative complaint regarding any violations which 
are disclosed in or suggested by the investigation. The 
assistant attorney general prosecuting the matter may request 
and obtain other information from the board's administrator, 
including access to consultants to assess the results of the 
investigation and prepare a draft of the administrative 
complaint. The draft of the administrative complaint shall 
identify the involved social worker and be prepared in the 
same form and content as the administrative complaint 
specified in §709.B of these rules. The draft of the 
administrative complaint shall be signed by the assistant 
attorney general and delivered to the board’s administrator 
within 30 days of the notice and delivery to the assistant 
attorney general of the investigation, report and specified 
materials. The board's administrator is authorized to extend 
the time for the submission of the draft of the administrative 
complaint for a reasonable time as requested by the assistant 
attorney general, provided that such extensions do not 
foreclose action on the complaint or the scheduling of a 
hearing due to the limitations contained in R.S. 37:21. 

E. Upon receiving a signed draft of the administrative 
complaint, the administrator shall mail a copy of the draft 
complaint together with a notice letter to the involved social 
worker. The letter will advise of the intent to file the 
administrative complaint and give the social worker a 
reasonable opportunity pursuant to R.S. 49:961(C) to show 
compliance with all legal requirements of the social worker’s 
license, or to show that the complaint is unfounded. 

F. Should the involved social worker fail to respond 
within the time provided (which time may be extended by 
the administrator upon good cause shown), or if the social 
worker’s response does not satisfactorily demonstrate that 
the social worker is in lawful compliance or that the 
complaint is unfounded; the administrator shall in 

consultation with the assistant attorney general prepare an 
original complaint in the form of the draft complaint for 
filing with the board. In determining the adequacy of any 
response submitted by the social worker, the administrator 
should consult with the assistant attorney general. The 
administrator may also consult with its general legal counsel 
(also referred to in these procedural rules as independent 
counsel) on any legal issues relating to the response 
submitted by the social worker.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§909. Administrative Complaint Procedure 

A. An original of the administrative complaint shall be 
signed and approved by the assistant attorney general and 
delivered to the board's administrator prior to being filed 
with the board. The board’s administrator shall place the 
administrative complaint on the board agenda for the next 
scheduled meeting of the board. When the board receives the 
administrative complaint, the board will docket the 
complaint under its designated numbering system and 
schedule a hearing. 

B. The administrative complaint shall identify the 
involved social worker and any license, provisional license, 
certificate or registration number. In separately numbered 
paragraphs, the complaint shall concisely state the material 
facts and the matters alleged to be proven, including the 
facts giving rise to the board's jurisdiction over the 
respondent social worker, the facts constituting legal cause 
for the complaint against the respondent under law 
(including the specification of the Practice Act, the 
Administrative Procedures Act, the Board's Rules, 
Standards, and Procedures, or any other statutory law alleged 
to have been violated by the respondent social worker). The 
complaint shall request an administrative sanction or relief 
which the assistant attorney general seeks in the name of the 
State of Louisiana. It shall bear the name, address and 
telephone number of the assistant attorney general. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§911. Notice of Administrative Complaint and Hearing 

Scheduling 
A. Upon the docketing of the administrative complaint, 

the board should schedule the complaint for a hearing before 
a hearing panel of the board. This hearing shall take place 
not less than 30 days nor more than 150 days of the 
docketing of the complaint, provided that the time for the 
hearing may be lengthened as the board deems necessary or 
appropriate, or upon good cause shown by motion of the 
attorney general or respondent. Any requests for extension of 
time to schedule the hearing beyond 150 days after 
docketing shall be considered the filing of a procedural 
motion under R.S. 37:21(A)(5). 

B. If the board finds that public health, safety, or welfare 
imperatively requires emergency action and incorporates a 
finding to that effect in its order, the board may enter an 
order of summary suspension of the respondent social 
worker’s license pending proceedings for revocation or other 
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action in accordance with R.S. 49:961(C). In that event, the 
scheduled hearing on the summary suspension shall be 
noticed and scheduled not more than 45 days after the order 
of such summary suspension. Scheduling may extend 
beyond the 45 day period if requested by the involved social 
worker. 

C. The respondent social worker will be served written 
notice of the administrative complaint; the time, date, and 
place of the scheduled hearing; and a copy of the board's 
Rules, Standards, and Procedures by registered, return-
receipt-requested mail, as well as by regular first class mail. 
The notice will be sent to the most current address for the 
respondent social worker as reflected in the official records 
of the board. The notice shall include a statement of the legal 
authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be 
held and shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the 
administrative complaint. If the hearing panel of the board 
has been designated at the time of the notice, the notice shall 
contain the names of the panel members. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§913. Response to Complaint, Notice of 

Representation 
A. Within 15 days of service of the complaint (or such 

longer time as the board may permit, on motion of the 
respondent social worker, hereafter called respondent), the 
respondent may answer the complaint, admitting or denying 
each of the separate allegations of fact or law. The 
respondent may offer any explanation or assert whatever 
defense(s) are applicable. Any matters admitted by 
respondent shall be deemed proven and established for 
purposes of adjudication. In the event that respondent does 
not file a response to the complaint, all matters asserted in 
the complaint shall be deemed denied. 

B. In any adjudication proceeding before the board, 
respondent may be represented by an attorney at law duly 
admitted to practice in this state. Respondent who is 
represented by legal counsel shall personally or through such 
counsel give written notice to the board of the name, address 
and telephone number of the attorney. Following the board’s 
receipt of proper notice of representation, all further notices, 
complaints, subpoenas, orders, or other process related to the 
proceedings shall be served on respondent through his or her 
designated counsel of record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§915. Pleadings, Motions; Service 

A. All pleadings, motions, and other papers permitted or 
required to be filed with the board in a pending adjudication 
shall be filed by personal delivery at or by mail to the board 
office. Concurrent service by mail or personal delivery shall 
be filed with the assistant attorney general, if filed by or on 
behalf of the respondent, or upon respondent or respondent’s 
counsel of record (if any), if filed by the assistant attorney 
general. 

B. All pleadings, motions, discovery, or other papers 
shall be submitted on plain white letter-size (8 1/2" x 11") 

bond, with margins of at least 1" on all sides. The text shall 
be double-spaced, except for quotations and other matter 
customarily single-spaced. Submitted materials shall bear 
the caption and docket number of the case as it appears on 
the complaint, and shall include a certificate of the attorney 
or person making the filing that service of a copy of the 
materials has been effected in the same manner by regular 
mail or by personal delivery. 

C. The board may refuse to accept for filing any 
pleading, motion or other paper not conforming to the 
requirements of this section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§917. Pre-Hearing Motions 

A. Pre-hearing motions, including a motion to dismiss, 
shall be filed not less than 30 days following the service of 
the complaint on the respondent or 15 days prior to the 
hearing, whichever is earlier. Each pre-hearing motion shall 
be accompanied by a memorandum which sets forth a 
concise statement of the grounds upon which the relief 
sought is based and the legal authority therefor. A motion 
may be accompanied by an affidavit(s) as necessary to 
present or support factual content of the motion. Within 10 
days of the filing of any such motion and memorandum or 
such shorter time as the board may order, the party opposing 
the motion (whether the opposing party is the assistant 
attorney general or the respondent or respondent’s counsel), 
may file a memorandum which may be supported by 
affidavit(s) in opposition to or setting forth the opposing 
party’s position on the motion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§919. Motions for Continuance of Hearing 

A. A motion for continuance of hearing shall be filed 
within the delay prescribed by §317 of these rules, provided 
that the board may accept the filing of a motion for a 
continuance at any time prior to hearing upon a showing of 
good cause not discoverable within the time otherwise 
provided for the filing of pre-hearing motions. 

B. A scheduled hearing may be continued by the board 
only upon a showing by respondent or the assistant attorney 
general that there are substantial legitimate grounds that the 
hearing should be continued. These grounds must balance 
the respondent’s right to a reasonable opportunity to prepare 
and present a defense, with the complaint and the board’s 
responsibility to protect the public health, welfare, and 
safety. Except in extraordinary circumstances evidenced by 
verified motion or accompanying affidavit, the board 
ordinarily will not grant a motion to continue a hearing that 
has been previously continued upon motion of the same 
party. The board may, but is not required to continue a 
scheduled hearing, where both respondent and/or 
respondent's legal counsel and the assistant attorney general 
jointly request continuance. 

C. If an initial motion for continuance is not opposed, it 
may be granted by the board's administrator. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§921. Disposition of Pre-Hearing Motions 

A. Any pre-hearing motion, other than an unopposed 
initial motion for continuance of hearing which may be 
granted by the Administrator, shall be referred for decision 
to the presiding officer of the hearing panel designated for 
that proceeding. The presiding officer may make a ruling or, 
at his or her discretion, may refer any pre-hearing motion to 
the entire panel for disposition. Any party aggrieved by the 
decision of the presiding officer on a pre-hearing motion 
may request that the motion be reconsidered by the entire 
panel. 

B. The presiding officer or the hearing panel shall 
ordinarily rule on pre-hearing motions on the papers filed, 
without a hearing. On written request by the respondent or 
the assistant attorney general, however, and on grounds 
satisfactory to the presiding officer of the hearing panel, the 
presiding officer may grant opportunity for hearing, by oral 
argument, on any pre-hearing motion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 

923. Rules of Evidence; Official Notice; Oaths and 
Affirmations; Subpoenas; Depositions and Discovery; 
Confidential Privileged Information, and Executive Session 

A. Rules relating to evidence, notice, authority to 
administer oaths, issue subpoenas, conduct depositions and 
discovery, and the control of confidential and privileged 
information will be applied in adjudication proceedings 
before the board as specified in R.S. 49:956, or as may be 
modified by R.S. 13:3715.1(J) and R.S. 44:4(25). 

B. To the extent applicable, the testimonial privileges set 
out in the Social Work Practice Act, R.S. 37:2718 and the 
Louisiana Code of Evidence will apply to the hearings 
before the board. By bringing a complaint against his or her 
social worker, the client waives the privilege of 
confidentiality for the purposes of the hearing. 

C. The hearing panel and its designated presiding officer 
shall take reasonable steps to protect patient/client identity 
on any medical/psychotherapy records or similar records as 
required by R.S. 13:3715.1(J), and to the extent that any 
information presented at a hearing involves peer review 
material within the meaning of R.S. 13:3715.3. If protection 
of peer review material is required, the board is authorized to 
conduct that portion of the hearing in executive session to 
preserve the confidentiality of peer review privilege 
materials, including information, data, reports, and records 
in compliance with R.S. 13:3715.3(G). The board may also 
go into executive session for the limited purpose of 
discussing the character, professional competence, or 
physical or mental health of a license, pursuant to R.S. 42:6 
and 6.1 and Op. Atty. Gen. No. 94-561, Dec. 8, 1994. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 

§925. Designation of Hearing Panel, Disqualification 
and Replacement 

A. At the time the administrative complaint is docketed 
with the board or within 30 days thereafter, the board 
chairperson will designate five members of the board (one of 
whom may, but is not required to be, the board chairperson) 
to serve as the hearing panel for that complaint. The selected 
board panel members shall elect from the membership a 
person to serve as presiding officer. The presiding officer at 
the hearing may make rulings on objections and the 
admissibility of evidence, and will insure that the conduct of 
the hearing proceeds without delay and pursuant to law. The 
other panel members may not delegate any of their  
decision-making or fact-finding duties to the presiding 
officer, nor shall the presiding officer have any greater 
weight in the decision-making process. 

B. In the event that a board member is disqualified or 
recused from a complaint or hearing, the board should 
immediately contact the governor to appoint a board 
member pro tem to replace the disqualified member for the 
complaint or hearing in progress only. 

C. Any panel member having reason to believe that he or 
she is biased or prejudiced either for or against one of the 
parties to the proceeding, or who has a personal interest in 
the outcome, shall immediately notify the remaining board 
members and request to be disqualified. Likewise, any party 
to such a hearing or a compliance hearing as provided in 
§743, may file with the board a motion supported by an 
affidavit requesting disqualification because of bias, 
prejudice or personal interest. Motion for disqualification 
shall be filed with the board and the opposing party within 
15 days following the notice of the composition of the 
hearing panel. Absent good cause shown, motions for 
disqualification filed more than 15 days following such 
notice will not be considered. As soon as possible, but not 
later than 10 calendar days preceding the beginning of the 
hearing, the majority of the hearing panel will consider the 
merits of the disqualification request and any opposition to 
that request filed by the opposing party. The concerned 
board member shall not participate in the action to disqualify 
and shall not vote on that issue. If the board hearing panel 
determines there is no merit to the request for 
disqualification, the board will proceed with the hearing 
before the designated panel. However, any doubt as to the 
merits of the request for disqualification should be resolved 
in favor of disqualification, and the board chairperson shall 
immediately appoint one of the remaining board members as 
the replacement to the hearing panel. 

D. Ordinarily, the composition of a hearing panel is five 
members of the board. However, in the event that the 
respondent social worker and the assistant attorney general 
agree to a hearing panel of three board members, the 
chairperson may designate three of the five designated panel 
members to serve as the hearing panel. Any stipulation 
regarding a three-board-member hearing panel must be in 
writing and signed by the respondent and/or respondent’s 
attorney and the attorney general. Such stipulation further 
provides that the three member hearing panel may 
completely adjudicate all issues specified in the complaint, 
render findings of fact, conclusions of law, decision and 
sanction, and that no appeal of any decision or sanction will
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be based on a challenge to the board's jurisdiction to 
adjudicate the matter with a three member hearing panel. 
Any such stipulation to a three-member hearing panel shall 
be delivered to the board at least 15 days prior to the 
scheduled hearing. The written stipulation shall be filed in 
the adjudication record and shall constitute a waiver of the 
application of and the need to comply with R.S. 49:957. 

E. At least one member of the hearing panel including 
the panel members of a compliance hearing specified under 
§734 shall have the same social work credential as the 
respondent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§927. Board's Independent Legal Counsel 

A. The board may designate its general counsel to serve 
as independent counsel relating to complaints and 
adjudication and compliance hearings. 

B. The board's independent counsel may provide the 
board, any hearing panel member, or the board's 
administrator with advice on the issues of legal sufficiency, 
notice, procedural and substantive due process of law 
(constitutional, statutory and rules), interpretations relating 
to any complaint, or the investigation or adjudication 
thereof. Such independent counsel may not participate in the 
investigation or prosecution of any case pending before the 
board or board hearing panel. 

C. The board's independent counsel may also provide 
other services relative to the complaint or adjudication 
which the board or the hearing panel deems necessary, 
except as may be expressly limited by these rules, standards, 
and procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§929. Pre-Hearing Conference 

A. In any case of adjudication noticed and docketed for a 
hearing before the board, the respondent and/or respondent’s 
legal counsel and the assistant attorney general may agree, 
or the board chairperson or the presiding officer of the 
hearing panel may require, that a pre-hearing conference be 
held among such counsel or together with the board’s 
independent legal counsel. This conference will be held for 
the purpose of simplifying the issues for the hearing, and 
promoting stipulations as to facts and proposed evidentiary 
offerings which will not be disputed at the hearing. 

B. If the parties and/or their legal counsel reside in 
different cities within the state, or if for other reasons it is 
inconvenient for parties to appear in person at a pre-hearing 
conference, the conference may be conducted by telephone. 

C. Following the pre-hearing conference, the parties 
shall (and without such conference the parties may) agree in 
writing on a pre-hearing order which should include:  

1. a brief statement by the assistant attorney general 
about what such counsel expects the evidence presented 
against the respondent to show;  

2. a brief statement by respondent as to what the 
evidence and arguments in defense are expected to show;  

3. a list of witnesses to be called by the assistant 
attorney general and/or respondent, together with a brief 
general statement of the nature of the testimony each witness 
is expected to give;  

4. any stipulations which the parties may be able to 
agree upon concerning undisputed claims, facts, testimony, 
documents or issues; and  

5. an estimate of the time required for the hearing. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§931. Consolidation of Cases 

A. The board shall have the discretion to consolidate one 
or more cases for hearing when they involve the same or 
related parties, or substantially the same questions of law or 
of fact. The board may also grant separate hearings if a joint 
hearing would be prejudicial to one or more of the parties. If 
hearings are to be consolidated, notice must be given to all 
parties in advance of the hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§933. Conduct of Hearing; Record 

A. Adjudication hearings are generally conducted in 
open session, except where closed or executive session is 
specifically authorized by law, as identified in these rules. 

B. At the adjudication hearing, the assistant attorney 
general and the respondent and respondent’s counsel shall be 
afforded the opportunity to present evidence on all issues of 
fact and argument on all issues of law and policy involved. 
They will also have opportunity to call, examine, and  
cross-examine witnesses, and to offer and introduce 
documentary evidence and exhibits as may be required for a 
full and true disclosure of the facts and disposition of the 
complaint. 

C. The board through its administrator shall arrange for a 
certified court reporter/stenographer who shall be retained 
by the board to prepare a written transcript of the 
proceedings. 

D. During the hearing, the presiding officer of the 
hearing panel shall rule upon all evidentiary objections and 
other procedural questions, but in his or her discretion may 
consult with the entire hearing panel in executive session. 
The independent counsel may assist the presiding officer and 
the hearing panel, either in open session or executive 
session, in ruling on evidentiary objections and other 
procedural issues raised during the hearing. 

E. The record in an adjudication shall include the items 
specified in R.S. 37:2717 and R.S. 49:955. The record shall 
also contain the administrative complaint, the notice of 
hearing, the respondent's response to the complaint (if any), 
copies of subpoenas issued in connection with the case or 
the hearing of the adjudication, as well as all pleadings, 
motions and intermediate rulings. 

F. The order of presentation in adjudication proceedings, 
unless the parties stipulate otherwise and the hearing panel 
approves, is first the presentation of evidence by the 
assistant attorney general, the presentation of evidence by 
the respondent, rebuttal by the assistant attorney general (if 
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any). Rebuttal should be directed to issues raised by the 
evidence and defenses presented by respondent's case. 
Should the hearing panel determine, in the interest of 
fairness, that respondent be provided a limited opportunity to 
present additional evidence following rebuttal, the panel 
may so order. 

G. Hearing panel members may direct questions to any 
witness at any time during the hearing process. Should 
questions posed by the hearing panel members suggest the 
need for additional direct examination, cross-examination or 
redirect examination by either party, the hearing panel will 
allow such additional examination as it deems appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§935. Evidence; Burden of Proof 

A. In an adjudication hearing, the board or the 
designated board hearing panel may give probative effect to 
evidence which possesses probative value commonly 
accepted by reasonably prudent people in the conduct of 
their affairs. To the extent applicable or not subject to 
exception, effect will be given to the rules of privilege 
recognized by law. The panel may exclude incompetent, 
irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitious evidence. 
Objections to evidentiary offers may be made and shall be 
noted in the record. Subject to these requirements, when a 
hearing will be expedited and the interest of the parties will 
not be prejudiced, any part of the evidence may be received 
in written form. 

B. Any records and documents in the board's possession 
which either party desires the board to consider may be 
offered and made a part of the record. Such materials may be 
received into the record in the form of copies or excerpts and 
shall be available for the respondent's legal counsel to 
examine before being received into evidence. 

C. To the extent not prohibited by law, the hearing panel 
will honor and receive written stipulations arrived at 
between the parties as a proven fact at the hearing. The 
hearing panel, as appropriate, will also accept verbal 
stipulations arrived at between the parties during the hearing 
as proven fact, provided both parties and/or their respective 
legal counsel acknowledge the factual content of the 
stipulation on the record. The hearing panel may use 
stipulations as well as other evidence in arriving at any 
decision. 

D. The hearing panel may take notice of judicially 
cognizable facts and of generally recognized technical or 
scientific facts within the hearing panel’s social work or 
clinical social work knowledge. The parties shall be notified 
either before or during the hearing of any material noticed or 
sought by any party to be noticed. All parties will be 
afforded an opportunity to contest any materials so noticed. 
The hearing panel may draw upon its knowledge of social 
work, social work methodology, and clinical social work 
methods in evaluating any evidence presented. 

E. The presiding officer at the hearing shall have the 
power to administer oaths or affirmations to all witnesses 
appearing to give testimony. The presiding officer shall 
regulate the course of the hearing, set the time and place of 
continued hearings, fix the time for the filing of briefs and 
other documents (if any are required or requested), and may 

direct the parties to appear and confer to consider 
simplifying issues. 

F. In adjudication hearings before the board or any board 
hearing panel, the Louisiana Code of Evidence may be used 
as a reference by the panel for admissibility of evidence and 
other evidentiary issues. The provisions of the Code of 
Evidence relating to hearsay are not strictly applicable to 
adjudication hearings. 

G. At an adjudication hearing, the burden of proof rests 
with the attorney general or the assistant presenting the 
evidence before the hearing panel. No sanction shall be 
imposed or order issued except upon consideration of the 
entire record as supported by and in accordance with 
reliable, probative and substantial evidence. The burden of 
proof related to any issue is a preponderance of evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§937. Decisions; Notice 

A. Following the presentation of evidence and any 
arguments, submission of briefs or written memorandum (if 
requested by the hearing panel), the hearing panel shall 
deliberate and reach its findings of fact and conclusions of 
law as soon as practicable after the hearing concludes. The 
hearing panel shall render its decision in writing within 60 
days of the last hearing date, unless the hearing panel 
extends time for submission of any post-hearing briefs, 
memoranda or suggested findings of fact and conclusions of 
law. 

B. The hearing panel's findings of fact and conclusions 
of law, including any sanction if applicable, shall be signed 
by the presiding officer of the hearing panel on behalf of and 
in the name of the board. In any decision in which the 
hearing panel's decision was not unanimous, those hearing 
panel members deciding with the majority shall also sign the 
decision. Any panel member disagreeing with the findings of 
fact and conclusions of law or sanction should note his/her 
dissent on the decision and may record thereon any reasons 
for his/her dissent. 

C. A certified copy of the final decision shall be served 
promptly upon respondent’s counsel of record, or on 
respondent personally in the absence of counsel, and on the 
assistant attorney general in the same manner of service 
prescribed for the service of complaints. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§939. Rehearings 

A. A decision by the board or a board hearing panel in 
the case of adjudication shall be subject to rehearing, 
reopening, or reconsideration by the board as provided for in 
R.S. 49:959, provided the board receives such a request at its 
office within 10 days of the entry of the board's final 
decision. If the board receives such a written request by mail 
after 10 days of the entry of its final decision, the request 
will be considered timely if the request is post-marked 
within the 10-day period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§941. Miscellaneous Rules 

A. Social workers have a continuing obligation to keep 
the board informed about their current addresses. 
Accordingly, if notice of an investigation, service of an 
administrative complaint, or notice of a hearing cannot be 
delivered by mail or by personal delivery, the board shall 
make reasonable efforts to contact the social worker and 
obtain the social worker’s new address. If, after the board 
makes reasonable efforts to locate the social worker, notice 
or service cannot be made because the social worker cannot 
be located, then the board or any designated hearing panel is 
authorized to proceed with the investigation, complaint 
procedure, and adjudication of the complaint, 
notwithstanding the social worker's absence, lack of 
participation in the process, or failure to appear. 

B. If the social worker receives due notice of an 
adjudication hearing and fails to appear and participate, and 
does not notify the board of good cause for the social 
worker’s absence, the board and its designated hearing panel 
may proceed with the adjudication notwithstanding the 
social worker’s absence. 

C. If a social worker is unable to attend an adjudication 
hearing because the social worker is incarcerated as the 
result of the conviction of any criminal conduct recognized 
as a felony under either state or federal law, or is under 
federal detention subject to a removal or deportation order, 
the board and its designated hearing panel may proceed with 
the adjudication hearing after providing the incarcerated or 
detained social worker reasonable opportunity to participate 
in the hearing. That participation may be through legal 
counsel authorized to practice in this state, participation by 
telephone at the social worker’s expense, and the 
opportunity to present evidence through deposition, 
affidavit, or such other reasonable means as the board and/or 
the hearing panel deems fair and appropriate. 

D. Social workers who are subject to an investigation 
and/or are named as a respondent in an administrative 
complaint filed with the board are entitled to defend 
themselves with or without the benefit of legal counsel. If a 
social worker chooses not to defend and instead surrenders 
his/her license, certificate, provisional certificate, or 
registration at any time during an investigation, complaint or 
adjudication hearing, but prior to the hearing panel’s 
decision thereon, the board will deem such surrender as an 
attempt to avoid the disciplinary process. The board will 
then subject the involved social worker to the revocation of 
the license, certificate, provisional certificate, or registration, 
or impose other sanction or disposition which the board 
deems appropriate, based on the information available to the 
board. Such board action may also impose restrictions on 
any subsequent application to the board which the involved 
social worker may make. Such restrictions may include 
restricting the social worker from making subsequent 
application for as much as five years following the surrender 
or resignation by the social worker. The board is also 
authorized to report in its newsletter a summary of the 
circumstances surrounding the social worker’s surrender or 
resignation of license, certificate, or registration while under 
investigation or subject to an administrative complaint. 

E. The board shall have authority to delegate to the CIO 
or the board administrator the investigation of any alleged 
violations of R.S. 37:2720 or prior to bringing any injunctive 
proceedings under R.S. 37:2721. Following the board's 
review of any investigation conducted thereon, the board 
shall contact the appropriate district attorney or bring 
injunctive proceedings through the attorney general, or both. 
Final authority for appropriate action rests solely with the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§943. Compliance Hearing 

A. Any applicant whose application is rejected may seek 
a compliance hearing as provided for in R.S. 37:2710, 
provided that the request for such compliance hearing is 
submitted to the board in writing within 30 days after the 
applicant receives notice of rejection. In the request for a 
compliance hearing, the applicant shall state the specific 
reasons for the opposition to the rejected application. 

B. After receiving a request for a compliance hearing, 
the board’s administrator shall contact the board chairperson, 
who will designate three board members to sit on a hearing 
panel for the compliance hearing. The purpose of the 
compliance hearing is to provide a forum for the applicant or 
licensee to present documentary evidence through affidavits, 
court records, official records, letters, etc., along with under-
oath testimony to establish that the applicant in fact meets 
the lawful requirements for the application or for the 
retention or renewal of the license, certificate, provisional 
certificate, or registration. The hearing panel shall elect from 
its membership one board member to serve as the presiding 
officer. The presiding officer shall administer oaths, maintain 
order at the hearing, fix new hearing dates as required, and 
rule on other matters relating to the hearing. A record of the 
hearing will be maintained by the board's administrator, 
although a court reporter or stenographer is not required. The 
applicant may be represented by counsel or may represent 
himself/herself. If the applicant requests a court reporter, a 
court reporter may be provided at the applicant's expense. 

C. In any compliance hearing, the burden shall be on the 
applicant to establish that he or she meets the criteria for the 
application renewal or retention of license or that the 
renewal was timely. 

D. An applicant whose license, certificate, provisional 
certificate, or registration is deemed lapsed under R.S. 
37:2714 may request a compliance hearing provided the 
applicant requests the hearing in writing within 10 days after 
receiving the notice of the lapsed license, certificate, 
provisional certificate, or registration. In the event that the 
applicant did not receive such notice, then the applicant must 
request a compliance hearing within 30 days of the date 
upon which the license, certificate, provisional certificate, or 
registration would have lapsed by operation of law. 

E. Whenever possible, the compliance hearing shall be 
conducted within 30 days after the board receives the request 
for the compliance hearing. In the event that the board is 
unable to schedule a compliance hearing within 30 days of 
the request, the board may schedule the hearing at its next 
regularly scheduled board meeting. 
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F. At the compliance hearing, the hearing panel may 
consult with its general counsel (independent counsel) on 
any legal issues emerging from the evidence submitted. 
Within 15 days after the compliance hearing concludes, the 
hearing panel will render its final decision, including 
findings of fact and conclusions of law. The decision will be 
delivered by registered mail, return receipt requested, to the 
applicant requesting the compliance hearing. In the event 
that the hearing panel’s decision is adverse to the applicant, 
the applicant may apply for rehearing before the entire board 
by submitting a written request within ten days as provided 
in R.S. 49:959, subject to further judicial review pursuant to 
R.S. 49:964, 965. Any rehearing before the board will be 
conducted on the record made before the hearing panel, 
including the hearing panel’s findings of fact, conclusions of 
law, and recommendations. To the extent practicable, the 
rehearing will be held at the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting. The board will review the findings of fact and 
conclusions of law of the hearing panel and the evidence and 
exhibits as submitted, as well as any written submissions or 
assignments of error. Unless requested by the board, oral 
presentations or arguments will not be permitted on 
rehearing. The board will render its decision on rehearing 
within 30 days of its hearing the matter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 
§945. Declaratory Ruling 

A. Any person or entity deemed to be governed by or 
under the jurisdiction of LSA-R.S. 37:2701-2723 may apply 
to the board for a declaratory order or ruling in order to 
determine the applicability of any of the above statutory 
provisions or any of the rules of this board. The board shall 
issue the declaratory order or ruling in connection with the 
request by majority vote of the board, signed and mailed to 
the requesting party within thirty days of the request.
 However, the board may seek legal counsel or an attorney 
general’s opinion in connection with the request for such a 
declaratory ruling, in which case the board’s decision on that 
ruling or order may be issued within sixty days of the 
request. Any judicial review of the validity or 
applicability of any of these rules shall be in conformity with 
R.S. 49:963. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29: 

A public hearings on the proposed rules will be held at 
10:00 AM, Saturday, August 30, 2003 in the Conference 
Room at the Board office located at 18550 Highland Road, 
Suite B., Baton Rouge, Louisiana.  

Interested parties may review the proposed amendments 
on the Board’s web site located at: http://www.labswe.org. , 
or you may request a copy of the proposed amendments by 
mail at the address above or by contacting the Board office 
at 800-521-1941.  

Interested persons may submit comments in writing to 
Suzanne L. Pevey, Administrator, Louisiana Board of Social 
Work Examiners, 18550 Highland Road, Suite B, Baton 
Rouge, Louisiana 70809, by fax at 225-756-3472, or by 

email at social work@labswe.org. All comments must be 
postmarked by 4:30 PM, Saturday, August 30, 2003. 

 
E. Taylor Aultman, Jr., LCSW 
Chairperson 

0307#007 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Electrolysis Examiners 

Electrologists Instructors Requirements  
(LAC 46:XXXV.103, 105, 301, 503, 701, 707, 905,  
909, 1301, 1303, 1305, 1307, 1309, 1313, and 1503) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and R.S. 37:3051-3077, 
the Board of Electrolysis Examiners (hereinafter referred to 
as "Board") proposes to amend the operating Rules and 
Regulations as follows. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXV.  Electrologists 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. General Definitions 

A. ... 
ApprenticeCan individual engaged in learning the 

theory and practice of electrology in an electrologist 
apprenticeship program.  

BoardCState Board of Electrolysis Examiners.  
ElectrologistCany person who for compensation 

practices electrolysis for the permanent removal of hair, 
except a physician licensed to practice medicine who 
performs electrolysis in his practice or a person who 
engages, on behalf of a manufacturer or distributor, solely in 
demonstrating the use of any machine or other article for the 
purpose of sale, without charge to the person who is the 
subject of the demonstration.  

Electrologist Apprenticeship ProgramCan establishment 
which teaches or offers to teach the theory and practice of 
electrology and which teaches or offers to teach instructors 
the theory and practice of teaching electrology, without 
financial remuneration from the apprentice or the student 
instructor.  

Electrologist TechnicianCan individual who for 
compensation practices electrolysis for the permanent 
removal of hair under the direct supervision of a licensed 
electrologist and who has completed a two hundred-hour 
course of instruction at an approved electrology school or 
electrologist apprenticeship program.  

ElectrologyCthe art and practice of removing hair from 
the normal skin of the body by the application of an electric 
current to the hair papilla by means of a needle or needles so 
as to cause growth inactivity of the hair papilla and thus 
permanently remove hair.  

ElectrolysisCthe process by which hair is removed from 
the normal skin by the application of an electric current to 
the hair root by means of a needle or needles being inserted 
into the hair follicle, whether the process employs direct 
electric current or short wave alternating electric current.  
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School, School of Electrology, or Electrology 
SchoolCan establishment which teaches or offers to teach 
students the theory and practice of electrology and which 
teaches or offers to teach student instructors the theory and 
practice of teaching electrology, for financial remuneration 
from the student, student instructor, or both.  

StudentCan individual engaged in learning the theory 
and practice of electrology at a school of electrology.  

Student InstructorCan individual learning the theory 
and practice of teaching electrology in an electrology school 
or an electrologist apprenticeship program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:329 (April 1984), amended LR 11:534 (May 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 19:1144 (September 1993), amended 
LR 27:193 (February 2001), LR 29: 
§105. Exceptions and Rights 

A. - B. ... 
C. A health history shall be completed on each patient 

prior to any treatment. No patient with a history of diabetes 
and no cardiac patient with a pacemaker shall be treated 
without the consent of a physician. Persons suspected of 
having a communicable disease shall not be treated without 
first having been examined by a physician. No electrologist, 
electrologist technician, instructor, apprentice, or student 
shall knowingly treat a person who is infected with 
impetigo, any contagious disease, skin malignancy, or any 
disease dangerous to the public.  

D. - E.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:330 (April 1984), amended LR 11:534 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 27:193 
(February 2001), LR 29: 
Chapter 3. Board Composition, Conflict Provision 

and Reimbursement 
§301. Composition 

A. The State Board of Electrolysis Examiners is created 
within the Department of Health and Hospitals. It shall be 
composed of five members, all to be appointed by the 
governor to serve at his pleasure. Four members shall be 
licensed electrologists who have been engaged in the 
practice of electrology for at least the five years prior to their 
appointment. Of these four, two members shall be appointed 
from a list of four names submitted to the governor by the 
Louisiana Electrologist Association and two members shall 
be appointed from a list of four names submitted to the 
governor by Regional Electrologists Association of 
Louisiana. One member shall be appointed from a list of 
three physicians licensed to practice in this state and 
recommended by the Louisiana State Medical Society. If the 
governor determines that the nominees of the Louisiana 
Electrologist Association, the Regional Electrologists 
Association of Louisiana, or of the Louisiana State Medical 
Society are not suitable, he may decline to appoint from the 
list submitted and shall call upon the associations or the 
society to nominate an additional list of persons. He may 
repeat such call until a list containing a qualified person or 

persons meeting his approval is submitted. If the Louisiana 
State Medical Society does not submit a list of physicians to 
the governor within 30 days of any such request, the 
governor may appoint an additional nominee of either the 
Louisiana Electrologist Association or the Regional 
Electrologists Association of Louisiana in lieu of the 
licensed physician. Members serving on the board shall 
remain in office until their successors are appointed and take 
office. Members of the board shall be residents of this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:330 (April 1984), amended LR 11:535 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 29: 
Chapter 5. Organization of Board, Quorum, 

Meetings, Records 
§503. Meetings 

A. The board shall hold regular meetings at least four 
times each year for the purpose of examining applicants and 
any other time the board or its chairman deems necessary, at 
a time and place designated by the chairman. Special 
meetings may be called by the chairman upon giving at least 
72 hours notice thereof by registered or certified mail to the 
post office address of each member of the board and of 
persons who previously have indicated that they have 
business before the board. Any board member who misses 
three consecutive meetings without just cause may be 
removed from the board by an affirmative vote of three 
board members, and replaced by the governor on the board’s 
initiation. All meetings of the board shall be conducted in 
accordance with Roberts Rules of Order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:330 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:535 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 29: 
Chapter 7. General Powers and Duties of the Board 
§701. Issuance of Licenses 

A. The board shall be the sole and exclusive authority in 
the state to issue licenses to practice electrolysis and to 
administer the provisions of R.S. 37:3051 et seq. The board 
shall have authority to examine for, grant, deny, approve, 
revoke, suspend and renew the licenses of electrologists and 
shall review applications for licenses of electrologists at 
least four times each calendar year. It may conduct hearings 
on charges for the revocation or suspension of a license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:330 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:535 (May 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 29: 
§707. Licenses to Apprenticeship Programs 

A. ... 
B. No apprenticeship program approved by the board 

may receive monetary compensation from an apprentice or 
student instructor.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 29: 
§905. Licensure of Instructor 

A. - C.1. ... 
2. has successfully completed the curriculum for 

instructor training in electrolysis in an instructor training 
program that maintains the standards established and 
approved by the board and is part of either an approved 
school of electrology or an approved apprenticeship 
program. Such curriculum shall be under the supervision of 
a licensed instructor of electrology, shall include a course of 
study and practice over a period of not less than four months 
and shall include 125 hours of teaching skills, 75 hours of 
facilitating/managing skills, and 150 hours of clinic-
supervised practice teaching; 

3. successfully achieves a minimum test score on an 
examination administered and approved by the board. The 
examination shall be given four times each calendar year at 
such time and place and under such supervision as the board 
determines and specifically at such other times as in the 
opinion of the board the number of applicants warrants. The 
board shall designate the date, time, and place of 
examination and give public notice thereof and, in addition, 
shall notify each person who has made application for 
examination to the board. 

D. Within 10 days after each examination, the official in 
charge shall deliver the question and answer papers to the 
board. The board shall examine and rate the answers and 
shall transmit an official report to each applicant for license 
stating the rating of the candidate in each subject and 
whether or not the board approves the candidate for a 
license. If a candidate fails one or more parts of an 
examination, the candidate may take the parts which he has 
failed in a subsequent examination upon payment of a 
fifteen-dollar examination fee. If after two attempts the 
examination is not satisfactorily completed, the candidate 
thereafter shall be required to repeat and take the entire 
examination within one year of the date of the original 
examination.  

E. An instructor training program may grant credit for 
the 125 hours of teaching skills and 75 hours of 
facilitating/managing skills to an individual who possesses a 
valid teaching certificate. 

F. The board may provide by rule for granting credit for 
all or part of the 125 hours of teaching skills, the 75 hours of 
facilitating/managing skills, or any combination thereof for 
college-level courses in teaching skills and 
facilitating/managing skills. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:331 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:536 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:194 (February 2001), LR 29: 
§909. Examination Schedule 

A. The examination shall be given at least four times 
each year at a time and place as is determined by the board. 
Should the number of applicants warrant, additional 
examinations may be scheduled at the discretion of the 
chairman and public notice shall be given.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:331 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:536 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 29: 
§1301. Requirements for Licensure of Schools of 

Electrolysis 
A. - A.2. ... 

3. a surety bond approved by the board in the amount 
of $1,000 per student, or a sum amount not to exceed 
$10,000 per school in favor of the state of Louisiana. 

B. - E. ... 
F. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:331 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:536 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 29: 
§1303. Sanitary Requirements for Schools, 

Apprenticeship Programs, and Electrology 
Offices 

A. - C. ... 
D. Vinyl, latex, or any other protective medical 

examination gloves shall be used while attending electrology 
procedures. Hands shall be thoroughly washed with soap and 
water after removal of gloves. Unused gloves shall be used 
for each patient procedure and discarded after each use or if 
practitioner leaves patient’s side or touches anything. 

E. - K. ... 
L. No electrologist, electrologist technician, instructor, 

apprentice or student in an apprenticeship program or school 
shall knowingly treat a person who is infected with 
impetigo, any contagious disease, skin malignancy, or any 
disease dangerous to the public. 

M. No electrologist, electrologist technician, instructor, 
apprentice or student in an apprenticeship program or school 
shall treat a diabetic person without written authorization of 
the patient's treating physician. 

N. All electrologists, electrologist technicians, 
instructors, apprentices and students, must place probe in 
holder of epilator when not in use. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:331 (April 1984), amended LR 11:536 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:194 (February 2001), LR 29: 
§1305. Additional Requirements for Schools 

A. ... 
B. Every school shall furnish to each student upon 

enrollment a true signed copy of the school contract and a 
copy of the school manual text covering the complete school 
curriculum as approved by the board. 

C. ... 
1. the name, address, date of enrollment, telephone 

number and specification of day or evening class of each 
student, recorded on the board's record of enrollment form; 

2. ... 
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3. a signed copy of the student's permission to receive 
electrolysis treatment, and any restrictions thereof. 

D. Every school shall provide each student with adequate 
storage space for the student's clothes and effects. 

E. - K. ... 
L. Repealed.  
M. - N. ... 
O. Repealed. 
P. Repealed. 
Q. - T. ... 
U. Repealed. 
V. A professional lamp will be focused on the treatment 

area at all times. 
W. Repealed. 
X. ... 
Y. Smoking is prohibited by electrologists, electrologist 

technicians, instructors, students, lecturers or patients during 
treatment. 

Z. All electrologists, electrologist technicians, 
instructors, and students shall wear appropriate clothing, 
with clean fingernails, clean stockings and clean uniform, or 
clean smock or clean laboratory jackets. 

AA. - FF.11. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:332 (April 1984), amended LR 11:537 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 29: 
§1307. Additional Requirements for Offices 

A. Every electrology office shall have a separate 
entrance away from residential rooms. 

B. Separate toilet facilities must be made available 
without entering residential rooms. 

C. Separate facilities for hand washing shall be provided 
separate from residential rooms. 

D. - I.5. ... 
J. Smoking is prohibited by electrologists, electrologist 

technicians, instructors, apprentices, students, lecturers or 
patients during treatment. 

K. All electrologists, electrologist technicians, 
instructors, apprentices, and students shall wear appropriate 
clothing, with clean fingernails, and clean uniform, smock, 
or laboratory jacket. 

L. - N. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:333 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:537 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 29: 
§1309. Regulations for Apprenticeship Programs 

A. - B.3. ... 
a. the owner shall provide proof of a surety bond 

approved by the board in the amount of $1,000 per student, 
or a sum not to exceed $10,000 per apprenticeship program 
in favor of the State of Louisiana  

B.3.b. - C.7. ... 

D. Each supervisor of an electrologist apprentice shall 
furnish the apprentice with a signed copy of the contract and 
a copy of the text to be used.  

E. ... 
1. the name, current address, date of enrollment, 

telephone number, and specification day or evening class of 
each apprentice recorded on the board’s record of enrollment 
form; 

2. … 
3. Repealed. 

E.4. - K. ... 
L. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:333 (April 1984), amended LR 11:538 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 29: 
§1313. Additional Requirements for Apprenticeship 

Programs 
A. ... 
B. Every apprenticeship program shall furnish to each 

apprentice upon enrollment a true signed copy of the 
apprentice contract and a copy of the apprenticeship 
program manual text covering the complete apprenticeship 
program. 

C. ... 
1. the name, current address, date of enrollment, 

telephone number, and specifications of day or evening 
classes of each apprentice, as recorded on the board’s record 
of enrollment form; 

2. ... 
3. Repealed. 
4. ... 

D. Every apprenticeship program shall provide each 
apprentice with adequate storage space for the apprentice’s 
clothes and effects. 

E. - K. ... 
L. Repealed. 
M. - R. ... 
S. Separate toilet facilities must be made without 

entering residential rooms. 
T. Separate facilities for handwashing shall be provided 

on the premises of the office separate from residential 
facilities. 

U. Every office of electrolysis shall comply with 
Louisiana statutes and ordinances and be subject to Public 
Health and Safety standards for treating patients. 

V. - Z. ... 
AA. Smoking is prohibited by electrologists, electrologist 

technicians, instructors, apprentices, students, lecturers, or 
patients during treatment. 

BB. All electrologists, electrologist technicians, 
instructors, apprentices, and students shall wear appropriate 
clothing, with clean fingernails, clean stockings and clean 
uniform, or clean smock or clean laboratory jackets. 

CC. - DD.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:333 (April 1984), amended LR 11:538 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 29: 
§1503. Renewal of License 

A. - B.2. ... 
C. Failure to Register 

1. When any electrologist, instructor, electrolysis 
school, or electrologist apprenticeship program licensed 
hereunder fails to register and pay the annual registration fee 
within 30 days after the registration fee becomes due, the 
license or certificate of such person, school, or electrologist 
apprenticeship program shall be revoked automatically at the 
expiration of 30 days after the registration was required, 
without further notice or hearing. However, any person, 
school, or electrologist apprenticeship program whose 
license or certificate is automatically revoked as provided 
herein may, within three years of the date of revocation, 
make application in writing to the board for the 
reinstatement of such license or certificate and, upon good 
cause being shown, the board in its discretion may reinstate 
such license or certificate upon payment of all past due 
renewal fees and the payment of an additional sum of $50. 
The board may require as a condition of reinstatement that 
the person complete all or some of the past continuing 
education requirements within 12 months of reinstatement of 
the license. 

2. Any person, electrolysis school, or electrologist 
apprenticeship program who fails within three years after 
revocation of a license or certificate to make written 
application to the board for reinstatement must reapply to the 
board and pay all fees required under the provisions of the 
rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Any 
electrologist, instructor, or electrologist technician who fails 
within three years after revocation to make written 
application for reinstatement must successfully complete a 
written and practical examination prior to reinstatement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:335 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:540 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:196 (February 2001), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Estimated Effect on the Stability of the Family. 

There is no estimated effect on the stability of the Family. 
2. Estimated Effect on the Authority and Rights of 

Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their 
Children. There is no estimated effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. Estimated Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
There is no estimated effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Estimated Effect on Family Earnings and Family 
Budget. There is no estimated effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. Estimated Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. There is no estimated effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Estimated Effect on the Ability of the Family or a 
Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained in 
the Proposed Rule. There is no estimated effect on the ability 
of the family or a local government to perform the function 
as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Interested parties may submit written comments on this 
proposed rule through June 30, 2003, to Cheri Miller, Board 
of Electrolysis Examiners, P.O. Box 67, DeRidder, LA 
70634-0067. 

 
Cheri L. Miller 
Chairperson 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Electrologists Instructors Requirements 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is estimated that there will not be any programmatic 

impact to the board as a result of these Rules. It is anticipated 
that the board will expend $864 for FY03 for promulgation of 
the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no impact 
on the revenue of state or local government. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of proposed Rule will not have a material 
impact on affected persons. The proposed changes are 
procedural in nature, and are intended to revise teaching 
requirements for electrologists instructor's. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that there will be no effect on competition 
and employment and employment. 

 
Cheri L. Miller H. Gordon Monk 
Chairperson Staff Director 
0307#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Licenses (LAC 46:LXIII.901) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to adopt LAC 
46:LXIII.901.E. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Chapter 9. Licenses 
§901. Renewal of Lapsed Licenses 

A. - D. … 
E. A lapsed license shall be reinstated as of the date all 

applicable requirements of R.S. 37:2357 have been met. 
However, the board retains the right to reinstate licenses 
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retroactively in unusual circumstances as specified in the 
policy and procedures of the LSBEP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
R.S. 37:2357. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, LR 6:489 (August 1980), amended LR 10:795 
(October 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 29: 

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be 
directed in writing to Brenda C. Ward, Executive Director, 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists, 8280 YMCA Plaza 
Drive, Building 8-B, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments, 
information or comments on the proposed Rules, in writing, 
to the Board of Examiners of Psychologists. Written 
comments must be submitted to and received by the board 
within 20 days from the date of this notice. 

 
Brenda C. Ward 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licenses 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The only cost anticipated to implement this Rule is the $80 

cost (from agency self-generated revenues) of publishing it in 
the Louisiana Register. The Louisiana State Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists (LSBEP) publishes a newsletter 
which is distributed to all Louisiana licensed psychologists. 
This proposed Rule change will be published in the next edition 
of that newsletter. No adjustment is necessary in the workload 
or printing of this Rule in that publication. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule will have no financial effect upon state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no 
significant effect on costs and/or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or nongovernmental groups. 

The proposed Rule clarifies that a lapsed license shall be 
considered reinstated on the date all requirements for 
reinstatement have been fulfilled (including payment of all late 
and current fees.) 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no effect 
on competition and employment in the public and/or private 
sectors. 

 
Brenda C. Ward H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Staff Director 
0307#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Reciprocity 
(LAC 46:LXIII.201) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq, the 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to amend LAC 
46:LXIII.201.A.2 and adopt LAC 46:LXIII.201A.3. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Chapter 2. Reciprocity 
§201. Licensure of Psychologists through Reciprocity 

A. - A.1.e. ... 
2. he/she is a psychologist licensed in another state or 

territory of the U.S. or a Canadian province who has met the 
requirements for and holds a current Certificate of 
Professional Qualification in Psychology (CPQ) issued by 
the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards 
(ASPPB); or 

3. that he/she is a psychologists licensed in another 
state or territory of the U.S. or a Canadian province who is a 
current Diplomat of the American Board of Professional 
Psychology (ABPP) in good standing. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
23:861 (July 1997), amended LR 27:723 (May 2001), LR 29: 

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be 
directed in writing to Brenda C. Ward, Executive Director, 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists, 8280 YMCA Plaza 
Drive, Building 8-B, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments, 
information or comments on the proposed rules, in writing, 
to the Board of Examiners of Psychologists. Written 
comments must be submitted to and received by the board 
within 20 days from the date of this notice. 

 
Brenda C. Ward 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Reciprocity 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The only cost anticipated to implement this Rule is the $80 

cost (from agency self-generated revenues) of publishing it in 
the Louisiana Register. The Louisiana State Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists (LSBEP) publishes a newsletter
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which is distributed to all Louisiana licensed psychologists. 
This proposed Rule change will be published in the next edition 
of that newsletter. No adjustment is necessary in the workload 
or printing of this Rule in that publication. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule will have no financial effect upon state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no 
significant effect on costs and/or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or nongovernmental groups. 

Applicants for licensure as psychologists in Louisiana who 
are current Diplomates of the American Board of Professional 
Psychology (ABPP) and in good standing may be licensed in 
Louisiana based upon verification of their ABPP. Candidates 
would still be required to pay the licensure application fee, but 
may or may not be required to sit for an oral examination. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no effect 
on competition and employment in the public and/or private 
sectors. 

 
Brenda C. Ward H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Staff Director 
0307#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Supervised Practice 
(LAC 46:LXIII.703) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to amend LAC 
46:LXIII.703.A.2. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Chapter 7. Supervised Practice Leading toward 
Licensure 

§703. Duration and Setting of Supervised Practice 
A. - A.1. ... 

2. To be credited toward the two years full-time 
requirements each assignment in a setting or integrated 
program shall be of at least 500 hours in duration and at least 
half-time for that setting or integrated program. Supervised 
practice must be completed within five calendar years, and 
for cause shown, the board may grant extensions. 

3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, LR 5:249 (August 1979), amended LR 7:187 (April 
1981), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 13:180 (March 1987), LR 29: 

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be 
directed in writing to Brenda C. Ward, Executive Director, 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists, 8280 YMCA Plaza 
Drive, Building 8-B, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments, 
information or comments on the proposed rules, in writing, 
to the Board of Examiners of Psychologists. Written 
comments must be submitted to and received by the board 
within 20 days from the date of this notice. 

 
Brenda C. Ward 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Supervised Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The only cost anticipated to implement this Rule is the $80 

cost (from agency self-generated revenues) of publishing it in 
the Louisiana Register. The Louisiana State Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists (LSBEP) publishes a newsletter 
which is distributed to all Louisiana licensed psychologists. 
This proposed Rule change will be published in the next edition 
of that newsletter. No adjustment is necessary in the workload 
or printing of this Rule in that publication. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule will have no financial effect upon state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no 
significant effect on costs and/or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or nongovernmental groups. 

The proposed Rule clarifies the old Rule, without changing 
the purpose or intent, regarding the required number of post 
doctoral supervised hours leading toward licensure as a 
psychologist. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no effect 
on competition and employment in the public and/or private 
sectors. The wording of the old Rule is being changed for 
clarity purposed only. 

 
Barbara C. Ward H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Staff Director 
0307#050 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Community Supports and Services 

Home and Community Based Services Waiver Program 
Elderly and Disabled Adult Waiver 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
promulgates the following Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
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The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in August 1993 establishing the Home Care for the 
Elderly Waiver Program to provide community based 
services to individuals who are age 65 and older and meet 
the medical certification and financial eligibility 
requirements for nursing facility care (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 19, Number 8). The August 1993 Rule was amended 
by a Rule promulgated in January 1998 to: 1) redefine the 
target population served by the Home Care for the Elderly 
waiver and rename the waiver as the Elderly and Disabled 
Adult (EDA) waiver; 2) establish an average cost per day 
limit for each participant of the waiver; 3) establish and 
define new services; 4) establish methodology for the 
assignment of slots; and 5) clarify admission and discharge 
criteria, mandatory reporting requirements and the 
reimbursement requirement for the prior approval of the plan 
of care (Louisiana Register, Volume 24, Number 1). The 
department subsequently adopted a Rule that transferred 
responsibility for the Elderly and Disabled Adult waiver 
waiting list to the Bureau of Community Supports and 
Services and established a single state-wide request for 
services registry (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 4). 
In order to facilitate the efficient management of the Elderly 
and Disabled Adult waiver, the department now proposes to 
amend the January 20, 1998 and April 20, 2002 Rules. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on the family 
as it will enhance the efficiency of the management of the 
request for services registry and facilitate the allocation of 
waiver slots. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
amends the provisions contained in the January 20, 1998 and 
April 20, 2002 Rules governing the Elderly and Disabled 
Adult (EDA) Waiver. 
General Provisions 

A. All agencies providing case management services to 
participants in the Elderly and Disabled Adult (EDA) Waiver 
must comply with the policies contained in the Medicaid 
Case Management Services Provider Manual issued March 
1, 1999 and revised July 1, 2002 and all subsequent changes. 
All waiver service provider agencies providing direct 
services to participants in the Elderly and Disabled Adult 
Waiver must comply with policies contained in the Elderly 
and Disabled Adult Waiver Direct Service Provider Manual 
issued September 1, 2001 and all subsequent changes. 
Waiver Admission Criteria 

A. Admission to the EDA Waiver shall be determined in 
accordance with the following criteria. 

1. - 4. ... 
5. If the onset of disability was prior to age 22 (the 

definition of developmental disability cited in R.S. 
28:381(12)) and the individual is on the Mentally 
Retarded/Developmentally Disabled (MR/DD) Request for 
Services Registry, he/she must agree to remove their name 
from the MR/DD registry in order to meet the nursing home 
level of care required for the EDA waiver. This action will 
be required prior to being certified into the waiver. The 

individual and BCSS must agree that it would be appropriate 
to place the individual in a nursing facility and that he/she 
does not require the treatment services of an ICF/MR, i.e., 
does not have a need for treatment that exceeds the level of 
services that can be delivered through nursing facility 
services alone. 
Request for Services Registry 

1. Individuals age 21 and over who are requesting 
waiver services under the disabled adult category must 
submit information to document their disability prior to 
being added to the request for services registry. 

2. Individuals age 65 and over who are requesting 
waiver services under the elderly adult category shall be 
placed on the registry and must provide documentation of 
age. Additional criteria will be requested when the 
individual's date is near the top of the registry for offers of 
service.  

3. Individuals must notify BCSS of all changes of 
address and/or telephone numbers in order to keep the 
registry current and must respond timely as indicated in 
notices and correspondence in order to remain on the 
registry. Individuals shall be removed from the registry if 
after two contacts, BCSS is unable to locate the individual 
based on the information provided by the requestor of 
waiver services. 

4. Failure to cooperate and participate in the 
admission process by not returning requested documentation 
to BCSS within 35 days of offer shall result in removal of 
the individual from the registry and revocation of the slot 
offer. Exception: a waiver slot/certification shall be kept 
open for up to 90 days from the offer for individuals 
hospitalized or in rehabilitation with an intent to return to 
their home. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Barbara Dodge at the Bureau of Community Supports and 
Services, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. 
She is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. A public hearing on this proposed Rule is 
scheduled for Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the 
Wade O. Martin Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 
Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested 
persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, 
views or arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline 
for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the 
next business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Home and Community Based Services 
Waiver ProgramCElderly and Disabled Adult Waiver 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

Rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact for SFY 2003-
2004, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. It is anticipated that $272 
($136 SGF and $136 FED) will be expended in SFY 2003-
2004 for the state=s administrative expense for promulgation of 
this proposed Rule and the final Rule. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not impact federal revenue collections for SFY 2003-
2004, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. $136 is included in SFY 
2003-2004 for the federal administrative expenses for 
promulgation of this proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will not have 
estimable costs and/or economic benefits for directly affected 
persons or non governmental groups for SFY 2003-2004, 2004-
2005 and 2005-2006. This Rule amends procedures for the 
administration of the Elderly and Disabled Waiver. The 
proposed Rule will insure that agencies providing case 
management services to participants in the Elderly and 
Disabled Waiver comply with established policies. The 
proposed Rule will also facilitate the efficient management of 
the Elderly and Disabled Waiver request for services registry. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Bean A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0307#082 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
Motorized Wheelchairs 

(LAC 50:VII.14821-14825) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for manual and motorized 
wheelchairs under the Durable Medical Equipment Program. 
The bureau promulgated an Emergency Rule to adopt new 
policy governing recipient qualifications for motorized 
wheelchairs (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 9). 
This Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions 
contained in the September 21, 2002 Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed Rule will have a positive 
impact on family functioning, stability, and autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972 as it will promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by facilitating access to 
medically necessary motorized wheelchairs and thereby 
avoiding further deterioration of their physical functioning. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing establishes 
provisions governing recipient criteria and prior 
authorization for motorized wheelchairs. In addition, the 
bureau amends the August 20, 1998 Rule to clarify the 
provisions governing the repair of motorized wheelchairs. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHBMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XVII.  Durable Medical Equipment 
Subpart 1.  Prosthetics 

Chapter 148. Wheelchairs/Wheelchair Accessories and 
Strollers 

Subchapter A. (Reserved) 
Subchapter B. Wheelchairs, Motorized and/or Custom 

Motorized 
§14821. Recipient Criteria 

A. Motorized Wheelchairs 
1. For purposes of this Rule, the term motorized shall 

have the same meaning as power, electric or any means of 
propulsion other than manual. The recipient must meet all of 
the following criteria in order to be considered for a 
motorized wheelchair: 

a. the recipient must be non-ambulatory and have 
severe weakness of the upper extremities due to a 
neurological or muscular disease/condition; 

b. the recipient's condition is such that without the 
use of a wheelchair, he/she would otherwise be bed or chair 
confined; 

c. the recipient's condition is such that a wheelchair 
is medically necessary and he/she is unable to operate a 
wheelchair manually; and 

d. the recipient is capable of safely operating the 
controls for a motorized wheelchair. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§14823. Prior Authorization 

A. All wheelchairs and modifications required to meet 
the needs of a particular recipient are subject to prior 
authorization. In addition, all requests must include the 
following documentation: 

1. a completed PA-01 form; 
2. a physician's prescription for the wheelchair. The 

physician must specifically state whether the prescription is 
for a motorized wheelchair or a custom motorized 
wheelchair. Medical documentation from a physician is 
required to support the modifications for wheelchairs with 
specialized seating or individualized features; 

3. a seating evaluation performed in cooperation with 
a physical therapist or occupational therapist. The seating 
evaluation must include the following documentation: 

a. the appropriateness of the specific wheelchair 
requested and all modifications and/or attachments to the 
specific wheelchair and its ability to meet the recipient's 
long-term medical needs. Options that are primarily 
beneficial in allowing the recipient to perform leisure or 
recreational activities are not covered; 
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b. documentation that the recipient does not have 
the upper extremity function necessary to operate a manual 
wheelchair; and 

c. the dated signature of the physician who 
prescribed the motorized wheelchair and the dated signature 
of the physical or occupational therapist that participated in 
the seating evaluation; 

4. documentation that the recipient can safely operate 
the controls for a motorized wheelchair: 

a. the ability to safely operate the controls of a 
motorized wheelchair shall be verified by the notes and 
recommendation of the recipient's physician, physical 
therapist, or occupational therapist; 

b. such documentation shall be dated and include 
the name and signature of the physician, physical therapist 
or occupational therapist who has determined that the 
recipient can safely operate the controls of the motorized 
wheelchair; 

c. it is not sufficient for a Medicaid provider of 
motorized wheelchairs to indicate that a recipient can safely 
operate the controls for a motorized wheelchair. 

B. A motorized wheelchair is covered if the recipient's 
condition is such that the requirement for a motorized 
wheelchair is long term (at least six months). Approval will 
be made for only one wheelchair at a time. Backup chairs, 
either motorized or manual, will be denied as not medically 
necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§14825. Repairs 

A. Repairs to motorized wheelchairs will be considered 
if the request is for basic repairs only, not for major 
modifications or reconstruction of the chair. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. 
Martin Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen 
Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline for the 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next 
business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Durable Medical Equipment 
ProgramCMotorized Wheelchairs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

Rule will increase state program costs by approximately 
$85,848 for SFY 2002-2003, $112,364 for SFY 2003-2004 and 
$115,489 for SFY 2004-2005. It is anticipated that $476 ($238 
SGF and $238 FED) will be expended in SFY 2003-2004 for 
the state's administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$210,590 for SFY 2002-2003, $282,088 for SFY 2003-2004 
and $290,306 for SFY 2004-2005. It is anticipated that $238 
will be expended in SFY 2003-2004 for the federal share of the 
expense for promulgation of this proposed Rule and the final 
Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will adopt new 
policy governing recipient qualifications for motorized 
wheelchairs. It is anticipated that the implementation of this 
proposed Rule will promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients (approximately 51 per year) by facilitating access to 
medically necessary motorized wheelchairs and thereby 
avoiding further deterioration of their physical functioning. It is 
anticipated that the implementation of this proposed Rule will 
increase expenditures to providers of motorized wheelchairs by 
approximately $296,438 for SFY 2002-2003, $393,976 for 
SFY 2003-2004 and $405,795 for SFY 2004-2005. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition or employment.  
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0307#086 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Family Practice Examination 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 34:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 
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The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing is the single 
state agency responsible for the administration of the 
Medicaid Program, including the determination of eligibility. 
Eligibility for the Medicaid Program is limited to certain 
groups of individuals as authorized by Congress. Specific 
requirements must be met in order to qualify as a member of 
these groups. Categorical eligibility for members of certain 
groups is based on a medical determination of a physical or 
mental defect, illness or impairment that meets established 
criteria. Medical documentation obtained from licensed 
physicians, clinics, hospitals and other sources is reviewed 
in making this eligibility determination. If documentation is 
not available for the medical eligibility determination, the 
bureau may assist the applicant by providing reimbursement 
to an enrolled Medicaid provider for a medical examination. 
The bureau has determined that it is necessary to increase 
the reimbursement for these examinations (also referred to 
as family practice examinations) in order to ensure 
continued access to medical examinations for those 
applicants who do not have medical documentation. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability, or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 as it will assist applicants who have no other means 
to obtain the medical documentation necessary for the 
determination of Medicaid eligibility.  

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement fee for the family practice examination to 
$100. The family practice examination consists of a medical 
examination and a written report describing the Medicaid 
applicant's medical condition. Reimbursement is only 
available to Medicaid enrolled physicians, clinics and 
hospitals.  

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. 
Martin, Jr. Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen 
Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline for the 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next 
business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility 

Family Practice Examination 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 
will increase state program costs by approximately $196 for 

SFY 2003-2004, $114 for SFY 2004-2005 and $114 for SFY 
2005-2006. It is anticipated that $204 ($102 SGF and $102 
FED) will be expended in SFY 2003-04 for the state's 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed Rule 
and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 
will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$340 for SFY 2003-2004, $286 for SFY 2004-2005 and $286 
for SFY 2005-2006. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have an economic benefit to directly affected persons 
as they will not have to incur the expense of obtaining the 
medical documentation necessary for the eligibility 
determination process. Implementation of this proposed Rule 
will increase expenditures for family practice examinations 
(increase of $40 per examination for approximately 10 
examinations per year) by $332 in SFY 2003-2004, $400 in 
SFY 2004-2005 and $400 in SFY 2005-2006. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment.  
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0307#083 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Personal Care ServicesCLong Term Care 
(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 129) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule to establish the provisions governing coverage of 
personal care services as an optional service under the 
Medicaid State Plan (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, 
Number 6). The bureau now proposes to amend the June 20, 
2003 Rule to establish provisions governing staffing 
requirements for personal care providers and the recipient's 
rights when changing providers. In addition, the bureau 
proposes to clarify the provisions governing the 
authorization of services and the place of service. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed Rule will have a positive 
impact on family functioning, stability, and autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972 as it will enhance the quality of 
services by ensuring that employees of personal care 
services agencies are qualified to provide services. 
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Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
June 20, 2003 Rule to establish provisions governing 
staffing requirements for personal care services providers 
and changing of providers. In addition, the bureau clarifies 
the provisions governing the authorization of services and 
place of service. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHBMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long Term Care 
§12901. General Provisions 

A. .... 
B. An assessment shall be performed for every recipient 

who requests personal care services. This assessment shall 
be utilized to identify the recipient's long term care needs, 
preferences, the availability of family and community 
supports and to develop the plan of care. The Minimum Data 
Set-Home Care (MDS-HC) System will be used as the basic 
assessment tool. However, other assessment tools may be 
utilized as a supplement to the MDS-HC to address the 
needs of special groups within the target population. 

C. Authorization. Personal Care Services (PCS) shall be 
authorized by the Bureau of Health Services Financing or its 
designee. The Bureau of Health Services Financing or its 
designee will review the completed assessment, supporting 
documentation from the recipient's primary physician, plan 
of care and any other pertinent documents to determine 
whether the recipient meets the qualifications for personal 
care services and the quantity of services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:911 (June 2003), amended LR 29: 
§12907. Recipient Rights 

A. - A.9. .... 
B. Changing Providers. Recipients may request to 

change PCS providers without cause once during every 90 
days of the service authorization period. Recipients may 
request to change PCS providers with good cause at any 
time during the service authorization period. Good cause is 
defined as the failure of the provider to furnish services in 
compliance with the service plan. Good cause shall be 
determined by the bureau or its designee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 29: 
§12909. Standards for Participation 

A. - B.2. ... 
3. ensure that a physical examination to determine 

good health, drug screening test and criminal background 
check are conducted for all direct care staff prior to an offer 
of employment; 

4. ensure that the direct care staff is qualified to 
provide personal care services. Assure that all new staff 
satisfactorily complete an orientation and training program 
within the first 30 days of employment; 

5 - 10. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 29: 
§12911. Staffing Requirements 

A. Personal care services agencies participating in the 
Medicaid Program must ensure that all staff providing direct 
care to the recipient meet the qualifications for furnishing 
personal care services. The PCS worker should demonstrate 
empathy toward the elderly and persons with disabilities, an 
ability to provide care to these recipients, and the maturity 
and ability to deal effectively with the demands of the job. In 
addition, all supervisors of direct care staff must meet 
qualifications set forth in this §12911. 

B. Personal Care Services Worker Qualifications 
1. Age. The worker must be at least 21 years old or 

older at the time the offer of employment is made. 
Verification of age must be maintained in each worker's 
personnel record. 

2. Education and Experience. All PCS workers must 
meet one of the following minimum education and 
experience qualifications: 

a. a high school diploma or general equivalency 
diploma (GED) and one year of documented experience 
providing direct care services to the elderly and/or persons 
with disabilities; or 

b. successful completion of a home health aide 
training program and competency evaluation; or 

c. successful completion of a certified nursing 
assistant training program and competency evaluation 
approved by the Department of Health and Hospitals; or 

d. five years of documented experience providing 
direct care services to the elderly and/or persons with 
disabilities. 

3. The PCS worker must have the ability to read and 
write in English as well as to carry out directions promptly 
and accurately. 

4. Prior to an offer of employment being finalized, the 
PCS worker must have: 

a. a physical examination that verifies that he/she is 
in good health and free from contagious disease; 

b. a drug screening test performed by an 
independent laboratory: 
 i. the worker shall not be assigned to provide 
services to a recipient until the results have been received 
from the physical examination and the drug screening test; 
and 

c. a criminal background check: 
 i. the worker may be assigned to provide services 
pending the results of the criminal background if the 
recipient or his/her responsible representative gives written 
consent. 

C. Restrictions. A legally responsible relative is 
prohibited from being the paid PCS worker for a family 
member. Legally responsible relative is defined as a 
recipient's spouse or a parent of a minor child. 

D. Supervisor Qualifications 
1. Age. The supervisor must be at least 23 years old or 

older at the time the offer of employment is made. 
Verification of age must be maintained in each worker's 
personnel record. 
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2. Education and Experience 
a. All supervisors of PCS workers must meet one of 

the following minimum education and experience 
qualifications: 
 i. a bachelor's degree in a human service- related 
field such as social work, psychology, sociology, physical 
therapy, recreational therapy or counseling from an 
accredited college or university and two years of paid 
experience in a human service-related field providing direct 
services to the elderly and/or persons with disabilities; or 
 ii. a licensed registered nurse (RN) or a licensed 
practical nurse (LPN) with one years of paid experience as 
an RN or LPN providing direct services to the elderly and/or 
persons with disabilities; or 
 iii. a high school diploma or GED and five years 
of paid experience providing direct care services to the 
elderly and/or persons with disabilities. 

b. Thirty hours of graduate level course credit in 
any of the referenced human service-related fields may be 
substituted for the one year of required paid experience. 

E. Training. Training for PCS workers and supervisors 
must be provided or arranged for by the personal care 
services agency at its own expense. 

1. A minimum of eight hours of orientation must be 
provided to new direct care and supervisory employees 
within one week of employment. The orientation provided to 
staff shall include, but is not limited to: 

a. agency policies and procedures; 
b. staff duties and responsibilities; 
c. ethics and confidentiality; 
d. record keeping; 
e. a description of the population served by the 

agency; and 
f. a discussion of issues related to providing care 

for these individuals, including physical and emotional 
problems associated with aging and disability. 

2. New direct care staff must also receive training in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and basic first aid 
within one week of employment. A current, valid 
certification for CPR and first aid may be accepted as 
verification of training. 

3. A minimum of 16 hours of training must be 
furnished to new employees within 30 days of employment. 
The PCS agency training curriculum must, at a minimum, 
include the following components: 

a. communication skills; 
b. observation, reporting and documentation of the 

recipient status and the care or service furnished; 
c. basic infection control procedures; 
d. basic elements of body functioning and changes 

in body function that must be reported to a worker's 
supervisor; 

e. safe transfer techniques and ambulation; 
f. appropriate and safe techniques in personal 

hygiene and grooming that include: 
 i. bed bath; 
 ii. sponge, tub, or shower bath; 
 iii. sink, tub, bed shampoo; 
 iv. nail and skin care; 

 v. oral hygiene; and 
 vi. toileting and elimination; 

g. recognizing emergencies and knowledge of 
emergency procedures; 

h. maintenance of a clean, safe and healthy 
environment; and 
 i. treating the recipient with dignity and respect, 
including the need to respect his/her privacy and property. 

4. PCS workers and supervisors must satisfactorily 
complete a minimum of 20 hours of annual training related 
to the provision of personal care services. This training may 
include updates on the subjects covered in orientation and 
initial training. The eight hours of orientation required for 
new employees are not included as part of the hours required 
for the annual training. 

5. Documentation. All required training must be 
documented in the employee's personnel record, including 
the date, time spent in the training sessions, subjects covered 
and the name of the individual who conducted the training. 
Verification of training shall be furnished to the bureau or its 
designee upon request. 

F. Supervisory Responsibilities 
1. Each supervisor shall be responsible for assessing 

the job performance of each staff member, reviewing 
individual cases, providing constructive feedback, and 
assisting staff to provide services in a more effective manner 
and to resolve problems using the following methods: 

a. routine face-to-face meetings with individual 
staff; 

b. routine face-to-face group meetings with all staff; 
or 

c. periodic visits to the recipient's residence to 
ensure his/her satisfaction with services being provided. 

2. Each supervisor shall be responsible for the 
supervision of no more than 10 PCS workers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§12913. Place of Service 

A. Personal care services may be provided in the 
recipient's home or in another location outside of the 
recipient's home if the provision of these services allows the 
recipient to participate in normal life activities pertaining to 
the IADLs cited in the plan of care. The recipient's home is 
defined as the recipient's place of residence including his/her 
own house or apartment, a boarding house, or the house or 
apartment of a family member or unpaid primary care-giver. 
A hospital, institution for mental disease, nursing facility or 
an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, are 
not considered to be the recipient's home. 

B. - D. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003), amended LR 29: 

Implementation of the provisions of this rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of  
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Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. 
Martin Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen 
Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline for the 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next 
business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Personal Care Services 

Long Term Care 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact for SFY 2003-
2004, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. It is anticipated that $816 
($408 SGF and $408 FED) will be expended in SFY 2003-
2004 for the state's administrative expense for promulgation of 
this proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect federal revenue collections for SFY 2003-
2004, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. It is anticipated that $408 will 
be expended in SFY 2003-2004 for the federal share of the 
expense for promulgation of this proposed Rule and the final 
Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will not have 
estimable cost or economic benefits for directly affected 
persons or non governmental groups. Implementation of this 
proposed Rule will amend provisions contained in the June 20, 
2003 Rule pertaining to staffing requirements for personal care 
services and the recipient's rights when changing providers. 
The proposed Rule will also clarify provisions governing the 
authorization of services and the places where services may be 
provided. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition or employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0307#081 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program  
Prescription Limit 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing administers 
the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program under the 
Medicaid Program in accordance with federal and state 
regulations which govern Medicaid coverage of prescription 
drugs. Although federal regulations permit states to establish 
recipient service limits with a provision for exemption of 
certain recipient groups, the bureau has not established any 
limits on the number of prescriptions allowed to Medicaid 
recipients. In compliance with Executive Order MJF 02-29, 
the department established a limit of eight prescriptions per 
calendar month with provisions for exemption of federally 
mandated eligibles and for the prescriber to override the 
limit in medically necessary cases (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 3). This Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions contained in the March 3, 2003 Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
could possibly have an impact on family functioning, 
stability, or autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. In some 
instances, this proposed Rule could result in financial 
hardship if the prescriber does not exercise the override 
provision for prescriptions exceeding the eight limit with the 
required documentation to support the override. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following regulations governing the provision of 
prescription drug benefits offered to Medicaid recipients 
under the Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits Management 
Program. 

1. The Department of Health and Hospitals will pay 
for a maximum of eight prescriptions per calendar month for 
Medicaid recipients. 

2. The following federally mandated recipient groups 
are exempt from the eight prescriptions per calendar month 
limitation: 

a. persons under 21 years of age; 
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b. persons who are residents of long-term care 
institutions, such as nursing homes and ICF-MR facilities; 
and 

c. pregnant women. 
3. The eight prescriptions per month limit can be 

exceeded when the prescriber determines an additional 
prescription is medically necessary and communicates the 
following information to the pharmacist in his own 
handwriting or by telephone or other telecommunications 
device: 

a. "medically necessary override"; and 
b. a valid ICD-9-CM Diagnosis Code that directly 

relates to each drug prescribed that is over the eight 
prescription limit. (No ICD-9-CM literal description is 
acceptable.) 

4. The prescriber should use the Clinical Drug Inquiry 
(CDI) Internet web application developed by the fiscal 
intermediary in his/her clinical assessment of the patient's 
disease state or medical condition and the current drug 
regime before making a determination that more than eight 
prescriptions per calendar month is required by the recipient. 

5. Printed statements without the prescribing 
practitioner's signature, check-off boxes or stamped 
signatures are not acceptable documentation. 

6. An acceptable statement and ICD-9-CM are 
required for each prescription in excess of eight for that 
month. 

7. Pharmacists and prescribers are required to 
maintain documentation to support the override of a 
prescription limitation. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule shall be contingent 
upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. 
Martin, Jr. Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen 
Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline for the 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next 
business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Benefits Management 

Program Prescription Limit 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 
will result in estimated savings to the state of $3,634,397 for 
SFY 2002-2003, $11,036,259 for SFY 2003-2004 and 
$11,367,487 for SFY 2004-2005. It is anticipated that $272 
($136 SGF and $136 FED) will be expended in SFY 2003-04 

for the state=s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 
will reduce federal revenue collections by $8,915,318 for SFY 
2002-2003, $27,742,088 for SFY 2003-2004 and $28,574,491 
for SFY 2004-2005. $136 is included in SFY 2003-2004 for the 
federal administrative expenses for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule establishes a limit of eight prescriptions 
per calendar month with provisions for exemption of federally 
mandated eligibles (persons under 21 years of age, residents of 
long term care facilities and pregnant women) and for the 
prescriber to override the eight prescription limit in medically 
necessary cases. It is anticipated that implementation of this 
proposed Rule will decrease spending on prescription drugs for 
Medicaid recipients by $12,549,715 for SFY 2002-2003, 
$38,778,619 for SFY 2003-2004 and $39,941,978 for SFY 
2004-2005. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that there will be no effect on competition 
or employment as a result of the implementation of this 
proposed Rule. 

 
Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0307#085 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Private HospitalCOutpatient Services 
Reimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in January of 1996 which established the 
reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital services 
at an interim rate of 60 percent of billed charges and cost 
settlement adjusted to 83 percent of allowable costs 
documented in the cost report, except for laboratory services 
subject to the Medicare Fee Schedule and outpatient 
surgeries (Louisiana Register, Volume 22, Number 1). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the Bureau amended 
the provisions contained in the January 1996 Rule governing 
the reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital 
services. Reimbursement for those surgical procedures that 
were not included on the Medicaid outpatient surgery list 
was set at the highest flat fee in the four Medicaid 
established outpatient surgery payment groups when the
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procedure is performed in an outpatient setting. In addition, 
the interim reimbursement rate for all other outpatient 
hospital services was changed to a hospital specific cost to 
charge ratio calculation based on filed cost reports for the 
period ending in state fiscal year 1997 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 26, Number 12). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the bureau 
promulgated a Rule that adjusted the interim reimbursement 
rate for hospital outpatient services in private hospitals to a 
hospital specific cost to charge ratio calculation based on the 
latest filed cost reports (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, 
Number 3). This Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions contained in the March 1, 2003 Emergency Rule.  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana legislature, the impact of this proposed Rule 
on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule has 
no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
December 20, 1997 Rule governing the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services by adjusting the 
interim rate to a hospital specific cost to charge ratio 
calculation based on the latest filed cost report. These cost to 
charge ratio calculations will be reviewed on an ongoing 
basis as cost reports are filed and will be adjusted as 
necessary. The final reimbursement for these services will 
continue to be cost settlement at 83 percent of allowable 
costs. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. 
Martin Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen 
Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline for the 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next 
business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Private HospitalCOutpatient 

ServicesCReimbursement Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 
will result in estimated savings to the state of $2,066,117 for 
SFY 2002-2003, $12,548,047 for SFY 2003-2004 and 
$12,524,593 for SFY 2004-2005. It is anticipated that $204 
($102 SGF and $102 FED) will be expended in SFY 2003-04 

for the state's administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 
will reduce federal revenue collections by $5,068,264 for SFY 
2002-2003, $31,542,224 for SFY 2003-2004 and $32,488,596 
for SFY 2004-2005. $102 is included in SFY 2003-2004 for the 
federal administrative expenses for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule adjusts the interim reimbursement rate 
for private hospital outpatient services to a specific cost to 
charge ratio calculation, based on the most recently filed cost 
report. It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
Rule will result in improved cash flow and will more accurately 
reimburse hospitals for outpatient services by approximately 
$7,134,381 for SFY 2002-2003, $44,090,475 for SFY 2003-
2004 and $45,413,189 for SFY 2004-2005. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that there will be no effect on competition 
or employment as a result of the implementation of this 
proposed Rule. 

 
Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0307#084 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacists (LAC 46:LIII.Chapters 1-29) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Louisiana 
Pharmacy Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana 
Board of Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to repeal 
the entire contents of Chapters 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 
17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, and 35, and adopt the 
following proposed Rule. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 1. Introduction 
§101. Preamble 

A. Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 37:1182, and 
in the interest of promoting the public health, safety, and 
welfare, the following rules and regulations are hereby 
adopted by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy (board). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 1988), 
amended LR 29: 
§103. Pharmacy Board Organization 

A. Board Officers 
1. President. The president shall preside at all board 

meetings. 
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2. Vice-Presidents. In the absence of the president, the 
vice-presidents shall preside in descending order at all board 
meetings. 

3. Secretary. The secretary shall conduct the 
nomination procedure for board candidates and report the 
results of the balloting to the governor for his appointments. 

B. Election 
1. General Election. The board shall annually elect 

officers from its membership. 
2. Special Election. The president may call a special 

election of the board to fill vacancies of elected officers. 
C. Officers' Terms. Officers elected by the board shall 

serve one-year terms and their terms shall end upon the 
election of their successors. An officer elected to a vacant 
position shall serve for the remainder of that term, at which 
time an election shall occur commensurate with the annual 
election. 

D. Per Diem. A per diem, as authorized by R.S. 37:1178, 
is defined as compensation to be received by a board 
member for each day of service while attending regular or 
called board meetings, while attending to official business of 
the board, or while attending a board related or board 
sanctioned conference, including travel days for members to 
and from these meetings, conferences, and related business. 
This per diem shall not serve as reimbursement for meals, 
lodging, and other expenses incurred as a result of these 
meetings, conferences, and related business. 

E. Board Budget. The board is a self-sustaining body 
that shall generate sufficient revenues funded by fees, 
appropriations, and/or assessments in order to maintain 
efficient operations. 

1. Administrative Costs. The board may assess 
administrative costs as it deems necessary to facilitate the 
proper implementation of its rules and regulations. 

2. Annual Operating Budget. The board has the 
responsibility to perfect an annual operating budget.  

3. Annual Capital Budget. The board has the 
responsibility to establish a capital budget, when applicable. 

F. Executive Director. The executive director shall carry 
out functions of the board relative to its statutory 
requirements and other duties as defined by the board. With 
the board’s approval, the executive director serves as the 
appointing authority and may appoint additional employees 
for professional, clerical, and special duties necessary to 
carry out the board's functions and may establish standards 
for the conduct of employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§105. Board Procedures 

A. All board procedures and operations shall adhere to 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Open Meetings Law, R.S. 42:4.1 et seq., and the Public 
Records Act, R.S. 44:1 et seq. 

B. Order. Robert's Rules of Order shall govern all 
proceedings unless otherwise provided. 

C. Public Comments. A public comment period shall be 
held during each board meeting. 

1. Persons desiring to present public comments shall 
notify the board chairman or executive director no later than 
the beginning of the meeting. However, to assure that an 

opportunity is afforded to all persons who desire to make 
public comments, the chairman shall inquire at the beginning 
of the meeting if there are additional persons who wish to 
comment. The chairman shall allot the time available for the 
public comments in an equitable manner among those 
persons desiring to comment, limiting each person to a 
maximum of three minutes, with the total comment period 
not to exceed thirty minutes. Each person making public 
comments shall identify himself and the group, organization, 
company, or entity he represents, if any. 

2. Unless otherwise provided by law, public comment 
is not part of the evidentiary record of a hearing or case 
unless sworn, subject to cross-examination, offered by a 
party as relevant testimony, and received in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§107. Board Committees and Subcommittees 

A. Board committees are working bodies created by the 
board comprising members appointed or removed by the 
president to address and deliberate specific pharmacy 
matters referred by the board for specified periods consisting 
of the following. 

1. Standing Committees. Standing committees are 
permanent bodies and are created by the board comprising 
members appointed by the president with the duty to address 
and deliberate specific subject matters referred by the board. 

2. Special Committees. Special committees are 
appointed by the president for a particular period to address 
or deliberate special matters. 

3. Board Subcommittees. Board subcommittees are 
created by the board comprising members and ex-officio 
non-voting members appointed by the president that are 
ancillary to a standing or special committee to address or 
deliberate a limited committee subject matter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§109. Standing Board Committees 

A. Executive Committee. The executive committee, 
comprised of the president, vice-presidents, and secretary 
shall function to address interim administrative board 
matters that require immediate attention between regularly 
scheduled board meetings. 

B. Regulation Revision Committee. The regulation 
revision committee, consisting of at least three board 
members appointed at the discretion of the president, shall 
function to preliminarily draft rules, regulations, and policies 
to be considered by the full board for promulgation and/or 
resolution or order. 

C. Reciprocity Committee. The reciprocity committee, 
consisting of at least three board members appointed at the 
discretion of the president, shall function to document the 
qualifications, compliance, and credentials of reciprocity 
candidates. 

D. Impairment Committee. The impairment committee, 
consisting of at least three board members appointed at the 
discretion of the president, shall function to study, recognize, 
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address the need to identify, and monitor the recovery of 
impaired persons in order to protect the public and the 
practitioner. Additionally, the impairment committee shall 
function to investigate, review, and interview impaired or 
allegedly impaired persons practicing or assisting in the 
practice of pharmacy and tender findings and 
recommendations to the board. 

E. Violations Committee. The violations committee shall 
consist of at least three board members appointed at the 
discretion of the president. Board-designated staff shall 
preliminarily determine the disposition of complaints and 
alleged offenses. Thereafter, the violations committee shall 
function to receive complaints, receive staffs’ reports, and 
evaluate and review findings. The disposition of alleged 
offenses shall be determined by conducting an informal 
inquiry conference, an interlocutory hearing, and/or referring 
the matter to special counsel for formal hearing by the full 
board. 

F. Reinstatement Committee. The reinstatement 
committee, consisting of at least three board members 
appointed at the discretion of the president, shall function to 
receive complaints, receive staffs' reports, evaluate and 
review findings, interview applicants, deliberate, and tender 
recommendations to the full board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§111. Official Journal 

A. The official journal of the board is the Louisiana 
Board of Pharmacy Newsletter. The newsletter may be used 
in administrative hearings as proof of notification to 
pharmacists, interns, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy 
technician trainees, and holders of pharmacy permits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 3. Board Hearings 
§301. Board Hearing Procedures and Jurisdiction 

A. Person. The board has jurisdictional authority over the 
person practicing pharmacy, assisting in the practice of 
pharmacy, operating a pharmacy, or otherwise licensed, 
registered, certified, or permitted by the board. A person is as 
defined in R.S. 37:1164(33) of the Pharmacy Practice Act. 

B. Subject Matter. The board has jurisdiction over any 
subject matter related to the practice of pharmacy or any 
other matter regarding the dispensing or selling of 
prescription drugs in a safe manner so as not to endanger the 
public health, safety, or welfare. 

C. Board Authority. The board has authority to adopt 
rules pursuant to the Pharmacy Practice Act, R.S. 37:1161 et 
seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 
seq., regarding due process disciplinary hearings. 

D. Venue. A due process hearing shall convene in a 
designated Louisiana parish at a regularly called board 
meeting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§303. Summons 

A. A summons shall represent a complaint of an alleged 
violation directed to a respondent. 

B. Hearing Notice. The board shall initiate a hearing by 
issuing a notice summons. The notice summons shall be 
forwarded to the respondent commanding his presence to 
appear before the board for a due process hearing setting 
forth the following. 

1. Name. The notice shall include the respondent’s 
name and address. 

2. Time. The notice shall state the designated time, 
date, and place. 

3. Allegation. The notice shall recite the alleged 
violation(s) establishing a cause of action and the nature of 
the hearing. 

4. Authority. The notice shall make references to 
specific board, state, or federal statutes, regulations, rules, 
policies, or code of ethics involved in the alleged 
violation(s). 

5. Citation. The notice shall cite legal or jurisdictional 
authority constituting an alleged violation(s). 

6. Documents. The notice may include supporting 
documents, reports, and/or other relevant material. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§305. Service 

A. Method. Service of a summons shall be made either 
by regular, registered, or certified mail, with a return receipt 
requested, or board or court designated process servers 
confected by tendering the summons to the respondent 
personally or domiciliary at the last known address. 

B. Time. Service shall be made at least thirty days prior 
to the date of the hearing as per R.S. 37:1245. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1245. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§307. Default Proceedings 

A. The board may proceed with a hearing in the event 
the respondent fails to appear after due notice was perfected 
or a diligent effort had been made to perfect service on the 
respondent at the last known address of record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§309. Joinder 

A. Several complaints may be joined or incorporated and 
the respondents may be joined in the same or similar 
complaints based on the same or similar acts or transactions 
that are connected in a common plan or scheme. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
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§311. Consolidation 
A. Hearings may be held jointly to assure a fair due 

process hearing. Any alleged violations may be consolidated 
for an administrative hearing of respondents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§313. Severance 

A. A severance of complaints is permitted when a fair 
due process hearing will not be satisfied. Otherwise, 
complaints may be heard jointly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§315. Motions 

A. Hearing Motions. Motions are directed to the board or 
presiding officer for particular relief or action before, during, 
or after a hearing and shall be in writing when applicable, 
and allege specifically the grounds upon which the relief is 
based, and filed with the board five days before hearing or 
within ten days post-hearing or timely filed during the 
hearing. At an appropriate time to be decided by the hearing 
officer, oral or written motions may be directed to the 
presiding hearing officer during a hearing. Hearing motions 
are directed to the presiding hearing officer and disposed of 
appropriately. 

B. Continuance Motions.  
1. Postponement Motions. The board may grant or 

deny a continuance based upon critical or extenuating 
circumstances that could jeopardize a fair and expeditious 
due process hearing. 

2. Time. Continuance motions shall be filed in writing 
at least five days prior to the scheduled hearing with specific 
grounds for postponement. This requirement may be waived 
by the board under emergency circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 
§317. Recusation 

A. A board member or special counsel may be recused 
by one’s own motion because of an inability to contribute to 
a fair and impartial hearing or may be recused by a majority 
vote of the board members present based on the following 
grounds: 

1. Prejudicial or personal interest in a case that might 
prevent one from participating in an impartial hearing. 

2. The board may recuse the presiding administrative 
hearing officer on his own motion or he may be disqualified 
based upon his own inability to contribute to or conduct an 
impartial hearing by the respondent filing an affidavit of 
specific grounds at least five days prior to the scheduled 
hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 

§319. Sequestration 
A. Upon request by either respondent or special counsel 

or by direction of the hearing officer, witnesses shall be 
sequestered and not allowed in the hearing chambers or 
permitted to discuss their testimony with other witnesses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 1988), 
amended LR 29: 
§321. Sanction Guidelines 

A. The sanctions imposed by the board pursuant to R.S. 
37:1241 of the Pharmacy Practice Act shall be based on the 
following guidelines. 

1. Nature. The nature or seriousness of the violation. 
2. Degree. The degree of culpability, knowledge 

and/or intent, or the responsibility to have knowledge. 
3. Scope. The scope of circumstances involved. 
4. Demeanor. Honesty and truthfulness of respondent. 
5. History. History of prior offenses. 
6. Sanctions. Prior sanctions. 
7. Cooperation. Willingness of respondent to comply 

with applicable laws and regulations and avoid future 
violations. 

8. Sufficiency. Sanctions are sufficient to remedy the 
problem. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§323. Administrative Investigation 

A. Upon the receipt of a written complaint, board staff 
shall initiate and conduct an investigation. 

1. Grounds. The investigative report shall be reviewed 
by board-designated staff and forwarded to the violations 
committee or legal counsel to determine sufficient grounds 
for proceeding either informally or formally. 

2. The report shall include: 
a. respondent's name and address; and 
b. a concise statement of facts and circumstances 

indicating the basis of the routine or specific complaint or 
cause of action; and 

c. supporting documents and/or materials. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§325. Violations Committee 

A. Purpose. Board-designated staff shall receive reports 
and complaints and review and evaluate findings to 
determine the nature and disposition of the alleged 
violation(s). The alleged violation(s) may then be directed 
to: 

1. violations committee for informal hearing; 
2. violations committee for interlocutory hearing; 

and/or 
3. special counsel for institution of a formal 

administrative hearing. 
B. Guidelines. If determined appropriate by board-

designated staff, the violations committee shall receive and
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review complaints and determine the disposition of the 
pending matters based on the following: 

1. Seriousness. The seriousness of the alleged offense. 
2. Degree. The extent of the alleged violations. 
3. History. The history of prior violations. 
4. Record. Prior sanctions. 
5. Cooperation. Willingness to obey the prescribed 

laws and regulations. 
6. Deterrent. Consider the sanctions as a deterrent to 

future violations. 
7. Remedy. The sanctions are sufficient to remedy the 

problem. 
C. Informal Hearings. The violations committee may 

conduct an informal non-adversarial hearing with the 
respondent properly noticed of the inquiry regarding the 
issues to be discussed. The committee shall receive 
information and deliberate as to a cause of action regarding a 
potential violation. The committee may recommend a course 
of action to the full board or dismiss the allegations by an 
affirmative majority vote of the committee. Should the 
violations committee recommend a course of action to the 
full board, the following shall apply: 

1. Disclosure. Respondent’s testimony or the work 
product from the informal hearing of any staff or committee 
member may not be introduced at any subsequent formal 
hearing. 

2. Recusal. Violations committee members shall not 
be permitted to participate in subsequent formal board 
hearings pertaining to complaints or alleged violations heard 
by the violations committee, unless respondent allows 
otherwise. 

D. Interlocutory Hearings. By interlocutory (or 
summary) hearing, the violations committee may summarily 
suspend a license, permit, certification, and/or registration 
prior to a formal administrative board hearing wherein, 
based upon the committee’s judgment and reflected by 
adequate evidence and an affirmative majority decision, a 
person poses a danger to the public’s health, safety, and 
welfare, and the danger requires emergency action. 

1. Summons Notice. A summary proceeding summons 
notice shall be served at least five days before the scheduled 
hearing to afford the respondent an opportunity to be heard 
with respect to a potential summary suspension action. The 
notice shall contain a time, place, nature, and the grounds 
asserted relative to the alleged conduct warranting summary 
suspension. 

2. Burden of Proof. Legal counsel shall have the 
burden of proof to support the contention that the public’s 
health, safety, or welfare is in danger and requires summary 
or emergency action. 

3. Evidence. The respondent shall have the right to 
appear personally and/or be represented by counsel to 
submit affidavits, documentary evidence, or testimony in 
response to the cause of action asserted as the basis for the 
summary suspension. 

4. Decision. The committee shall determine whether 
to grant or deny the summary suspension based upon 
adequate evidence with an affirmative majority vote 
substantiated by finding(s) of fact and conclusion(s) of law 
that the public's health, safety, or welfare is in danger and 
requires emergency or summary action. 

5. Report. The committee shall submit their findings 
and interlocutory decree to the board when rendered. 

6. Suspensive Duration. The summary suspension 
decree shall be followed by a formal administrative hearing 
within thirty days from receipt of notice by the respondent. 

E. Probation Violation Hearings. Probation violation 
proceedings shall be initiated upon receipt of the compliance 
officer's findings indicating that a respondent is in violation 
of any of the terms or conditions of his probation. 

1. Review. Board-designated staff shall receive and 
review the compliance officer’s report and then determine 
whether a probation violation proceeding is warranted. 
Should a probation violation hearing be determined 
warranted, the violations committee shall proceed by 
interlocutory hearing or informal hearing as deemed 
appropriate. 

2. Notice. Notice shall be afforded the respondent of 
the allegation(s) forming the basis of the alleged violation 
status, and the time and place of the appropriate hearing to 
be conducted. 

3. Disposition. Disposition of the hearing shall be 
according to the appropriate procedures to informal hearings 
or interlocutory hearings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§327. Impairment Committee 

A. Impairment. Impairment means a condition that 
causes an infringement on the ability of an individual to 
practice, or assist in the practice, of pharmacy sufficient to 
pose a danger to the public. Impairment may be caused by, 
but is not limited to, alcoholism, substance abuse or 
addiction, mental illness, or physical illness. 

B. The impairment committee shall have the following 
responsibilities: 

1. supervise the Practitioner Recovery Program; 
2. recommend for board consideration any 

addictionists or other professionals utilized by the program; 
3. recommend for board consideration any action for 

reinstatement of recovering persons; 
4. any other related responsibilities deemed 

appropriate by the board. 
C. Practitioner Recovery Program. The board may 

establish and maintain a recovery program to assist impaired 
persons through the recovery process so that they may safely 
return to practice. The board may utilize the services of 
outside agencies to assist in the recovery of the impaired 
person. 

D. Informal Hearing 
1. The board may convene an informal administrative 

hearing to identify an impaired person and to take 
appropriate action. The board may require the appearance of 
any persons deemed necessary to properly conduct an 
informal hearing. This process shall be conducted by the 
impairment committee chairman or any other member(s) of 
the board or staff as the president deems necessary. 

2. Any knowledge acquired by any board member or 
staff in identifying and assisting an allegedly impaired 
person shall not automatically be grounds for recusal at any 
later hearing on that same matter. 
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3. An impaired or allegedly impaired person may 
enter into a preliminary consent agreement that shall include 
a mandatory surrender of that person’s license, permit, 
certification, or registration, which shall be delivered to the 
board office and shall effectively prohibit that person from 
practicing, or assisting in the practice of, pharmacy. Such 
person shall agree to enter into an approved treatment and 
monitoring program as determined by the board. This 
consent agreement shall not restrain the board from 
conducting violations proceedings in the matter as it deems 
necessary. 

4. The impairment committee may make 
recommendations to the full board and/or the violations 
committee as it deems appropriate on an impaired or 
allegedly impaired person. 

E. Impaired Reinstatement. An application for 
reinstatement of an impaired person shall be filed with the 
impairment committee for consideration and 
recommendation to the violations committee and/or the full 
board. 

1. An impaired person may petition the board for 
reinstatement of his license, permit, certification, or 
registration, provided he has: 

a. documented proof from an attending physician 
that he has successfully completed an alcohol or substance 
abuse recovery program; and 

b. a current post-treatment evaluation from a board-
approved addictionist; and 

c. successfully completed any requirements the 
board deems necessary with respect to the particular type of 
impairment. 

d. The impairment committee may waive the above 
requirements for impairments not related to alcohol or 
substance abuse. 

2. After the above stipulations have been met, the 
person applying for reinstatement may be scheduled for an 
interview with the impairment committee for consideration 
of any recommendation to the reinstatement committee 
and/or the full board. 

3. Upon reinstatement, the board may place the 
reinstated person on probation for a specified length of time 
and may assign conditions of the probation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§329. Formal Hearing 

A. Authority. The board shall provide a formal 
administrative hearing pertaining to the proprietary rights or 
privilege to practice pharmacy, or operate a pharmacy, or 
hold a certificate or registration, in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., with 
authority to take disciplinary action pursuant to R.S. 37:1241 
of the Pharmacy Practice Act. 

B. Ex-Parte Communication. Once a formal hearing has 
been initiated and notice served, board members 
participating in the decision process shall not communicate 
with a respondent or a respondent’s attorney concerning any 
issue of fact or law involved in the formal hearing. 

C. Notice. A formal disciplinary public proceeding may 
be initiated upon proper notice to a respondent and held at a 
designated time and place based upon the following 
grounds: 

1. violationCsufficient evidence or a serious 
complaint of an alleged violation to require a formal hearing 
shall be directed to legal or special counsel for 
administrative prosecution to justify a formal hearing; or 

2. failure to respondCa failure by the respondent to 
respond to the violations committee informal inquiry; or 

3. irresolvable issuesCa violations committee 
informal hearing fails to resolve all issues and requires 
further formal action; or 

4. irreconcilable issuesCan interlocutory hearing fails 
to resolve all pertinent pending issues thus requiring further 
formal action; or 

5. reaffirmationCreaffirmation of an interlocutory 
decree; or 

6. requirementCa formal administrative hearing 
requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§331. Formal Hearing Procedures 

A. Hearing Officers 
1. Administrative Hearing Officer. The presiding 

hearing officer may be the board president, a vice-president, 
or other individual appointed by the president or his 
successor. The hearing officer has the responsibility to 
conduct a fair and impartial proceeding with the 
administrative duty and authority to: 

a. convene an administrative board hearing; 
b. rule on motions and procedural questions arising 

during the hearing such as objections or admissibility of 
evidence or examination of witnesses; 

c. issue or direct staff to issue subpoenas; 
d. declare recess; 
e. maintain order; 
f. enforce a standard of conduct to insure a fair and 

orderly hearing; 
g. remove disruptive person(s) from a hearing. 

2. Oaths. The presiding hearing officer, executive 
director, or other board designee may administer oaths. 

B. Administrative Jury. The board, comprised of a 
quorum of members, shall serve as an administrative jury to 
hear and determine the disposition of the pending matter 
based on the finding(s) of fact and conclusion(s) of law by 
receiving evidence and reaching a decision and/or ordering 
sanctions with an affirmative majority record vote of board 
members participating in the decision process. 

C. Administrative Hearing Clerk. The board’s executive 
director shall serve as the administrative hearing clerk and 
shall maintain administrative hearing records. 

D. Administrative Prosecutor. The legal or special 
counsel shall prosecute the pending matter and bear the 
burden of proof to be presented to the board. 

E. Administrative Reporting. The board-designated 
stenographer shall record all testimony dictated and evidence
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received at the hearing. The utilization of recording 
equipment may be employed. 

F. Hearing Order 
1. Docket. Contested matters shall be identified by 

reference docket number and caption title. The 
administrative hearing clerk or other staff or board member 
designated by the presiding hearing officer shall announce 
the docket and identify persons present or absent in the 
hearing chambers. 

2. Complaint. The complaint may be read at an open 
hearing unless waived by the respondent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§333. Pre-Hearing Conference 

A. Respondents and/or their legal counsel in matters 
pending before the board may be directed by the presiding 
administrative hearing officer to appear at a pre-hearing 
conference to consider the simplification of the issues, 
admission of facts, or stipulations to documents which may 
avoid unnecessary proof and such other items as may aid in 
the disposition of the matter(s) pending. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 1988), 
amended LR 29: 
§335. Consent Agreements 

A. Respondents may enter into consent agreements with 
the board on any matter pending before the board. A consent 
agreement is not final until the board approves the consent 
agreement by majority vote of the administrative jury. If the 
consent agreement is rejected in full or part, the matter shall 
be heard at the next regularly scheduled board hearing. 
However, nothing herein shall limit the board from 
modifying a consent agreement, with respondent’s approval, 
to include less severe sanctions than those originally agreed 
to in a pending consent agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§337. Opening Statement 

A. An opening statement by legal or special counsel may 
present a brief position comment with an outline of evidence 
to be offered. Respondent or respondent’s legal counsel may 
present an opening defense position statement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§339. Evidence 

A. Testimony Received. Testimony shall be received 
under oath administered by the presiding hearing officer, the 
executive director, or other staff or board member designated 
by the hearing officer. 

B. Evidence Introduction. All parties shall be afforded an 
opportunity to present evidence on all issues of fact and 
argue on all issues of law and respond by direct testimony, 
followed with cross examination as may be required for a 

full and true disclosure of the facts. The direct presentation 
of evidence shall be introduced by the legal or special 
counsel and shall be followed by the respondent in proper 
person or by legal counsel by direct and/or cross-
examination and/or rebuttal. 

C. Examination. Witnesses may be directly examined 
and cross-examined. Additionally, witnesses and/or 
respondents may be questioned during an administrative 
hearing by members of the administrative jury on matters for 
clarification. 

D. Rule Interpretation. Liberal rules of evidence shall be 
employed by the presiding hearing officer to provide 
adequate facts and law necessary for the board to deliberate 
and decide each case. The board’s administrative hearing 
shall not be bound to strict rules of evidence. 

E. Admissibility. Admissibility of evidence and 
testimony shall be determined by the presiding hearing 
officer as provided by law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§341. Closing Arguments 

A. Closing arguments may be made by respondent in 
proper person or by legal counsel followed by closing 
arguments from prosecuting legal or special counsel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§343. Board Decisions 

A. The board's decision shall be based on finding(s) of 
fact and conclusion(s) of law. The board’s decision shall be 
based on clear and convincing evidence presented at a 
formal hearing, together with the board’s determination of 
any appropriate sanctions, by an affirmative majority record 
vote of the board members participating in the decision 
process. Decisions shall be recorded and made part of the 
record. 

1. Board Order. The board's order shall be rendered at 
the open hearing or taken under advisement and rendered 
within thirty days of the hearing and then served personally 
or domiciliary at the respondent’s last known address by 
regular, registered, or certified mail, or by a diligent attempt 
thereof. 

2. Finality of Board Order. The board's order becomes 
final eleven days after receipt of notification of the board’s 
decision by respondent, provided an appeal is not filed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§345. Complaint Dismissal 

A. The board, in their discretion and based upon lack of 
evidence, may orally dismiss at an open hearing a pending 
matter or parts thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1294

§347. Transcripts 
A. A complete record of all formal hearing proceedings 

shall be transcribed, maintained, and available upon written 
request with sufficient costs of the preparation of the 
transcript for a minimum of three years from the date the 
pertinent order(s) is final. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§349. Contempt 

A. A failure of a respondent or witness to comply with a 
board order, after being duly served, constitutes contempt 
and the board may petition a court of competent jurisdiction 
to rule the witness or respondent in court to show cause why 
he should not be held in contempt of court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§351. Administrative Review 

A. Rehearing. An aggrieved respondent may file within 
ten days a rehearing motion in proper form requesting 
reconsideration or a rehearing by the board or by the 
interlocutory hearing panel. 

B. Grounds. The board or an interlocutory hearing panel 
may reconsider the motion for rehearing at the next regularly 
scheduled board meeting. The grounds for such action shall 
be either that: 

1. the board's decision was clearly contrary to the law 
or evidence; or 

2. newly discovered evidence not available at the time 
of the hearing which may be sufficient to reverse the board’s 
decision; or 

3. issues not previously considered ought to be 
examined; or 

4. it is in the public interest to reconsider the issues 
and the evidence. 

C. Time. The board or an interlocutory hearing panel 
shall grant or deny the petition for rehearing within thirty 
days after its submission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§353. Judicial Review 

A. An aggrieved respondent may appeal the board’s 
decision to a court of appropriate jurisdiction within thirty 
days from the board order or rehearing motion denial. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1248. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§355. Reporting 

A. The board may publish in the board’s newsletter the 
sanctions imposed by the board that are of public interest 
and the public’s right to know. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§357. Reinstatement 

A. An application for reinstatement based on revocation 
or suspension of a pharmacist license, pharmacy permit, 
certification, registration, or any other designation 
authorized by the board shall be filed with and heard by the 
reinstatement committee for consideration and 
recommendation to the full board. The board may then hold 
a formal hearing whereby the burden of proof shifts to the 
applicant to demonstrate and support with substantial 
evidence respondent’s rehabilitation and that the 
reinstatement of the license, permit, certification, 
registration, or other board-authorized designation at issue 
would not pose a danger to the public’s health, safety, or 
welfare. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§359. Declaratory Statements and Advisory Opinions 

A. The board may issue declaratory rulings in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. These may include a declaratory statement or 
an advisory opinion, in the form of a ruling which has the 
same status as board decision in adjudicated cases, in 
response to a request for clarification of the effect of rules 
and regulations or of R.S. 37:1161 et seq. Advisory opinions 
as a statement of the board’s ruling are generally rendered in 
cases that relate to specific situations. Declaratory 
statements contain the board’s ruling relative to the petition, 
with the principles and rationale that support the ruling. 
Declaratory statements are generally rendered in situations 
that relate to widespread situations. Neither an advisory 
opinion nor a declaratory statement has the binding force of 
law, but they represent the board’s expert opinion relative to 
the matter in question. 

B. A request for a declaratory statement or for an 
advisory opinion is made in the form of a petition to the 
board. At a minimum, the petition shall include: 

1. the name and address of the petitioner; 
2. specific reference to the statutes or rules and 

regulations to which the petition relates; 
3. a concise statement of the manner in which the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the rule, regulation, or statute, or 
by its potential application to the petitioner, or in which the 
petitioner is uncertain of its effects, 

4. a statement of whether an oral hearing is desired; 
and 

5. other information appropriate for the board’s 
deliberation on the request. 

C. Said petition shall be considered by the board at its 
next regularly scheduled meeting provided that the petition 
has been filed at least 60 days prior to the next scheduled 
board meeting. 

D. The declaratory statement/advisory opinion of the 
board on said petition shall be in writing and mailed to 
petitioner at the last address furnished to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 5. Pharmacists 
Subchapter A. Licensure Procedures 
§501. Application 

A. An application for initial pharmacist licensure, 
whether by examination or reciprocity, shall be submitted, 
with appropriate fee, to the board at least 30 days prior to 
any examination. An application shall expire one year after 
the date of receipt in the board office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§503. Examination 

A. Examination. A board-approved licensure 
examination shall consist of integrated pharmacy subject 
matters and any other disciplines the board may deem 
appropriate in order to demonstrate competence. An 
applicant shall achieve a passing score, as determined by the 
board, in the pharmacy examination. 

B. Re-Examination 
1. Following the first or second unsuccessful attempt 

of an examination for licensure, an applicant may be 
permitted to attempt that examination for licensure. 

2. Following the third unsuccessful attempt of an 
examination for licensure, an applicant shall not be 
permitted to attempt that examination for licensure until one 
year from the date of the last examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§505. Licensure 

A. The board shall issue a license upon payment of 
appropriate fees when the board is satisfied the applicant is 
competent to practice pharmacy in the state. 

1. License Display. A pharmacist’s license shall be 
displayed in a conspicuous place in the principal location 
where the pharmacist is engaged in the practice of pharmacy 
and in such a manner that said license may be seen by 
patrons. 

2. Identification Card. The board shall issue an 
identification card to a pharmacist who completes the 
licensure process. A pharmacist shall have this identification 
card on his person when practicing outside of his principal 
practice site in order to show proof of licensure. 

3. Renewal. The board shall mail the annual 
pharmacist license renewal application to all currently 
licensed Louisiana pharmacists prior to November 1. The 
completed application along with the appropriate fee shall be 
submitted to the board by December 31 of each year. A 
pharmacist's renewal of licensure shall be displayed in the 
principal location where the pharmacist is engaged in the 
practice of pharmacy and in such a manner that said renewal 
may be seen by patrons. A renewal of licensure shall serve as 
proof of licensure and a pharmacist’s license to practice 
pharmacy for that year of issuance. 

a. Active. A pharmacist applicant shall pay the 
annual renewal fee, attain minimum continuing pharmacy 

education (CPE) as required, and complete and submit the 
annual renewal form to the board office before December 31 
of each year. 

b. Inactive. A pharmacist applicant may make a 
written request for inactive status from the board. The 
inactive pharmacist must complete the annual renewal form 
furnished by the board and submit it with the appropriate fee 
to the board before December 31 of each year. An inactive 
pharmacist shall not engage in the practice of pharmacy and 
is not required to obtain CPE. In order to upgrade an inactive 
license to active status, an inactive pharmacist shall petition 
the board and meet requirements of the reinstatement 
committee and the board. The board shall set the 
requirements necessary to assure competency for each 
individual applying for active status. 

D. Expired License. A pharmacist license that has not 
been renewed by December 31 of each year shall expire and 
be null and void. The holder of an expired license may 
submit a written request, complete with any supporting 
documentation, for reinstatement to the board. The request 
may be referred preliminarily to the board’s reinstatement 
committee for an informal hearing and recommendation that 
may be considered by the board at its next regularly 
scheduled meeting. The board may reinstate an expired 
license upon payment of applicable annual, delinquent, and 
lapsed license fees pursuant to R.S. 37:1184, as amended, 
and other conditions as the board deems appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§507. Continuing Education Program 

A. The board, recognizing that professional competency 
is a safeguard for the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public, shall require continuing pharmacy education as a 
prerequisite for annual licensure renewal for pharmacists. 

B. Definitions 
1. ACPECAmerican Council on Pharmaceutical 

Education. 
2. CPECcontinuing pharmacy education, a structured 

postgraduate educational program for pharmacists to 
enhance professional competence. 

3. CPE unitCa standard of measurement adopted by 
the ACPE for the purpose of accreditation of CPE programs. 
One CPE unit is equivalent to 10 credit hours. 

C. Requirements 
1. A minimum of one and one-half ACPE or board-

approved CPE units, or 15 hours, shall be required each year 
as a prerequisite for pharmacist licensure renewal. 

2. Pharmacists shall maintain copies of individual 
records of personal CPE activities at their primary practice 
site for two years and present them when requested by the 
board. 

3. When deemed appropriate and necessary by the 
board, some or all of the required number of hours may be 
mandated on specific subjects. When so deemed, the board 
shall notify all licensed pharmacists prior to the beginning of 
the year in which the CPE is required. 

D. Compliance 
1. Complete compliance with CPE rules is a 

prerequisite for pharmacist licensure renewal. 
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2. Non-compliance with the CPE requirements shall 
be considered a violation of R.S. 37:1241(A)(2), and shall 
constitute a basis for the board to refuse licensure renewal. 

3. The failure to maintain an individual record of 
personal CPE activities, or falsification of CPE documents, 
shall be considered a violation of R.S. 37:1241(A)(22). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 23:1306 (October 1997), amended LR 29: 
§509. Address Change 

A. A licensed pharmacist shall notify the board within 
ten days, with documentation, attesting to any change of 
mailing and/or home address. This documented notice shall 
include the pharmacist's full name and license number, and 
the old and new address. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§511. Employment Change 

A. A licensed pharmacist shall notify the board within 
ten days, with documentation, attesting to any change in 
employment. This documented notice shall include the 
pharmacist's full name and license number, the name and 
address of old and new employment, and the permit numbers 
of those pharmacies involved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§513. Certified Pharmacist Preceptor Program 

A. Qualifications for Certified Pharmacist Preceptor 
Applicants 

1. The applicant shall be currently licensed and shall 
have been actively practicing for not less than two 
consecutive years prior to the date of application. 

2. The applicant shall not be on probation with the 
board at the time of application. 

B. Certified Pharmacist Preceptor Requirements 
1. The applicant shall complete a board-approved 

certified pharmacy preceptor training program. 
2. The applicant shall complete an Application for 

Pharmacist Preceptor Certification. The board may issue a 
Pharmacist Preceptor Certification after verification that all 
requirements have been satisfied. 

a. The Pharmacist Preceptor Certificate shall expire 
five years after the date of issue, and may be renewed upon 
application to the board and verification by the board that all 
requirements have been satisfied. 

b. The board shall reserve the right to refuse to 
issue or terminate any Pharmacist Preceptor Certification for 
cause. 

c. The Pharmacist Preceptor Certification shall be 
conspicuously displayed at the primary preceptor pharmacy 
location. 

C. A Certified Pharmacist Preceptor Program shall meet 
all requirements established by the board. 

D. A certified pharmacist preceptor shall not supervise 
more than one intern at any given time. Interns satisfactorily 

progressing in their final academic year in a board-approved 
college of pharmacy shall not be counted in that 1:1 ratio. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1211. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 26:2286 (October 2000), amended LR 29: 
Subchapter B. Professional Practice Procedures 
§515. Prospective Drug Utilization Review 

A. A pharmacist shall review the patient record and each 
prescription presented for dispensing for purposes of 
enhancing pharmacy care and therapeutic outcomes by 
recognizing the following potential situations: 

1. drug over-utilization or under-utilization; 
2. therapeutic duplication; 
3. drug-disease contraindications; 
4. drug-drug interactions; 
5. inappropriate drug dosage or treatment duration; 
6. drug-allergy interactions; or 
7. clinical abuse/misuse. 

B. Upon recognizing any of the above situations, the 
pharmacist, using professional judgment, shall take 
appropriate actions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§517. Patient Counseling 

A. Patient counseling means the effective 
communication by a pharmacist of information to the patient 
or caregiver, in order to ensure proper use of drugs and 
devices.  

B. Minimum Requirements. At a minimum, the 
pharmacist should be convinced that the patient or caregiver 
is informed of the following: 

1. name and description of the medication; 
2. dosage form, dosage, route of administration, and 

duration of therapy; 
3. special directions and precautions for preparation, 

administration, and use by the patient; 
4. common severe side effects or adverse effects or 

interactions and therapeutic contraindications that may be 
encountered, including their avoidance, and the action 
required in the event of their occurrence; 

5. techniques for self-monitoring drug therapy; 
6. proper storage of the medication; 
7. prescription refill information, if any; and 
8. the action to be taken in the event of a missed dose. 

C. The pharmacist may supplement oral information 
with written information, but shall not use written 
information alone to fulfill the counseling requirement. 

D. Patient Information 
1. The pharmacist shall make a reasonable effort to 

obtain, record, and maintain the following information: 
a. name, address, and telephone number; 
b. date of birth (or age) and gender;  
c. allergies/drug reactions, disease state(s); and 
d. current list of all medications. 

E. Communication to the Patient 
1. A pharmacist shall counsel the patient or caregiver 

"face-to-face" when possible or appropriate. If it is not 
possible or appropriate to counsel the patient or caregiver 
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"face-to-face," then a pharmacist should counsel the patient 
or caregiver by using alternative methods. The pharmacist 
shall exercise his professional judgment in the selection of 
alternative methods, including but not limited to, telephonic 
or electronic communication with the patient or caregiver. 

2. A pharmacist shall provide patient counseling to 
patients discharged from hospitals and/or other institutions, 
where applicable. However, counseling shall not be required 
for inpatients of a hospital or institution where a nurse or 
other licensed health care professional is authorized to 
administer medication(s). 

3. The pharmacist shall maintain appropriate patient-
oriented drug information materials for use by the patient 
upon request. 

F. Waiver. No pharmacist or pharmacy may solicit or 
encourage blanket waivers for patient counseling. However, 
nothing in this regulation shall prohibit the patient or 
caregiver from declining patient counseling. 

AUHTORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§519. State of Emergency 

A. When the governor issues, or renews, a state of 
emergency pursuant to the Emergency Assistance and 
Disaster Act of 1993, R.S. 29:721 et seq.: 

1. a pharmacist may work in the affected parish(es) 
and may dispense a one-time emergency prescription of up 
to a thirty day supply of a prescribed medication if: 

a. in the pharmacist’s professional opinion the 
medication is essential to the maintenance of life or to the 
continuation of therapy; and 

b. the pharmacist makes a good faith effort to 
reduce the information to a written prescription marked 
"Emergency Prescription," then file and maintain the 
prescription as required by law; 

2. a pharmacist not licensed in Louisiana, but 
currently licensed in another state, may dispense prescription 
medications in those affected parish(es) during the time that 
a state of emergency exists if: 

a. the pharmacist has some type of identification to 
verify current licensure in another state; and 

b. the pharmacist is engaged in a legitimate relief 
effort during the emergency period. 

B. The authority provided for in this section shall cease 
with the termination of the state of emergency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§521. Prescription Orders to Administer Medications 

A. Purpose. The rules of this section describe the 
minimum requirements for the administration of medications 
to patients by Louisiana-licensed pharmacists. 

B. A licensed pharmacist may administer medication 
directly to a patient upon the prescription or order of a 
practitioner. Such a prescription or order shall be known as 
an "Authority to Administer." 

1. An Authority to Administer is valid only for the 
pharmacist meeting the requirements herein and is not 
transferable. 

2. An Authority to Administer, once granted, is valid 
for a period of time not to exceed one year, unless revoked 
sooner by the practitioner granting the order. 

C. A properly executed Authority to Administer shall: 
1. identify the licensed practitioner’s name, office 

address, and telephone number; 
2. bear the patient’s name, address, gender, and date of 

birth; 
3. identify the medication, dose, and route of 

administration; 
4. identify the pharmacist authorized to administer the 

medication; and 
5. bear the date of the original order and the date of 

any authorized subsequent dose administrations. 
D. Requirements. Unless otherwise specifically 

authorized by the board, a pharmacist shall meet the 
following minimum standards to qualify for an Authority to 
Administer: 

1. obtain and maintain a license to practice pharmacy 
from the board; 

2. successfully complete a board-approved course of 
study from a board-approved provider that: 

a. requires documentation by the pharmacist of 
current certification in the American Heart Association’s 
Basic Cardiac Life Support for Healthcare Providers, its 
successor, or board-approved equivalent; 

b. is an evidence-based didactic course that meets 
current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 
training guidelines, or other guidelines as designated by the 
board, and provides a minimum of twenty hours of 
instruction and experiential training in the following content 
areas: 
 i. standards for medication administration 
practices; 
 ii. basic immunology; 
 iii. recommended medication administration 
schedules; 
 iv. vaccine storage and management; 
 v. informed consent; 
 vi. physiology and techniques for medication 
administration; 
 vii. pre- and post-administration assessment and 
counseling; 
 viii. medication administration record management; 
and 
 ix. management of adverse events, including 
identification and appropriate response, as well as 
documentation and reporting; and 

c. provides documentation of the successful 
completion of the course to the participant. 
 i. The pharmacist shall display the certificate of 
completion in the primary practice site. 
 ii. The pharmacist shall submit a copy of said 
certificate to the board office for placement in the 
pharmacist’s permanent file. 

E. The pharmacist shall maintain continuing competency 
to accept an Authority to Administer, as evidenced by: 

1. a current certification by the American Heart 
Association’s Basic Cardiac Life Support for Healthcare 
Providers, its successor, or board-approved equivalent; and 

2. successful completion of at least one hour of 
continuing education per year related to this area of practice. 
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F. Vaccines. The pharmacist shall maintain and furnish 
the following information to the practitioner within 24 hours 
of the administration: 

1. name and address of the patient; 
2. age of the patient, if under fourteen years of age; 
3. name of the patient’s primary care physician as 

provided by the patient or patient’s agent; 
4. name, manufacturer, and lot number of the vaccine 

administered; 
5. amount administered; 
6. date of vaccine administration; 
7. site of vaccine administration; 
8. route of administration; and 
9. name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmacist administering the vaccine. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 7. Pharmacy Interns 
§701. Definition 

A. A pharmacy intern is an individual who is not yet 
licensed as a pharmacist in any jurisdiction, and is: 

1. engaged in the practice of pharmacy while under 
the direct and immediate supervision of a pharmacist for the 
purpose of obtaining practical experience for licensure as a 
pharmacist, and is satisfactorily progressing in a board-
approved college of pharmacy; or 

2. a graduate of a board-approved college of 
pharmacy awaiting examination for licensure; or 

3. a graduate who has established educational 
equivalency through a program approved by the board; or 

4. an individual participating in a residency or 
fellowship. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1211. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 23:1306 (October 1997), amended LR 26:2284 
(October 2000), amended LR 29: 
§703. Registration 

A. All pharmacy interns shall meet the following 
requirements for registration. 

1. All pharmacy interns shall register with the board. 
The failure to register may result in disciplinary action by 
the board. 

a. The applicant shall submit to the board office a 
properly completed application no later than the end of the 
first semester of the first academic year at a board- approved 
college of pharmacy. 

b. The board may issue an Intern Registration to the 
applicant, upon receipt of a properly completed application, 
appropriate fee, and any other documentation required by the 
board office. 

c. The Intern Registration shall expire one year 
after the certification of graduation from a board-approved 
college of pharmacy. 

d. The Intern Registration shall be conspicuously 
displayed at the preceptor site. 

e. The board shall reserve the right to recall or 
refuse to issue any Intern Registration for cause. 

2. A pharmacy intern shall wear appropriate attire and 
be properly identified with his name and intern status while 
on duty at the preceptor site. 

3. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing 
within ten days of a change of address. This notice shall 
include the pharmacy intern’s name, registration number, 
and old and new addresses. 

4. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing 
within 10 days of a change in location(s) of employment. 
This notice shall include the pharmacy intern’s name and 
registration number, the name and address of old and new 
employment, and the permit numbers of those pharmacies 
involved. 

5. The pharmacy intern shall be non-impaired. 
a. The pharmacy intern is subject to confidential 

random drug screen testing and/or evaluations. 
b. A positive drug screen may be self evident as 

proof of improper drug use. For the purposes of this chapter, 
a missed screen, a screen submitted beyond the mandated 
period, and/or any screen submitted indicating the sample 
provided is diluted, substituted, or in any way adulterated is 
considered to be a positive drug screen. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1211. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 26:2285 (October 2000), amended LR 29: 
§705. Practical Experience 

A. All applicants for licensure by examination shall earn 
practical experience in the practice of pharmacy concurrent 
with attending or after graduation from a board-approved 
college of pharmacy. 

B. The practical experience shall be predominantly 
related to the provision of pharmacy primary care and the 
dispensing of drugs and medical supplies, the compounding 
of prescriptions, and the keeping of records and making of 
reports as required under federal and state law. 

1. The practical experience earned shall have been 
under the direct and immediate supervision of a certified 
pharmacist preceptor. 

2. A pharmacy intern shall not earn hours in a 
permitted pharmacy site that is on probation with the board 
or under the supervision of a pharmacist who is on probation 
with the board. 

C. Practical Experience Hours. Interns shall supply, on 
an affidavit form supplied by the board office, evidence of 
earning at least 1,500 hours of practical experience. Interns 
may submit their affidavit(s) to the board office for credit 
approval either prior to, or concurrent with, their application 
for pharmacist licensure.  

1. In order to receive credit for the 1,500 hours of 
practical experience upon certification of graduation, a 
pharmacy intern shall comply with the following: 

a. prior to beginning his final academic year in a 
board-approved college of pharmacy, the intern shall earn a 
minimum credit of 500 hours under the supervision of a 
certified pharmacist preceptor at a permitted pharmacy site; 
and 

b. during his final academic year in a board-
approved college of pharmacy, the intern shall earn a 
minimum credit of 1,000 hours within the school's 
professional experience curriculum; and further, of the 1,000
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hours within that professional experience curriculum, not 
less than 300 hours shall be earned in a traditional 
community pharmacy dispensing practice, and not less than 
300 hours shall be earned in a traditional hospital pharmacy 
dispensing practice, as certified by the dean of the college of 
pharmacy.  

2. If credit is not received for the total required 1,500 
hours upon certification of graduation pursuant to the 
provisions of §705.C.1, the intern shall earn 1,500 hours of 
practical experience under the supervision of a certified 
pharmacist preceptor at a permitted pharmacy site after 
certification of graduation from a board-approved college of 
pharmacy. 

3. Practical experience hours earned either prior to the 
final academic year, or after certification of graduation from 
a board-approved college of pharmacy, that are submitted to 
the board for credit consideration shall be listed on an 
affidavit form supplied by the board office, and signed by 
the certified pharmacist preceptor and pharmacy intern. 

a. A pharmacy intern may receive credit for a 
maximum of 50 hours per week. 

b. A separate affidavit shall be required from each 
permitted pharmacy site. 

c. No credit shall be awarded for hours earned 
within the professional experience curriculum of a board-
approved college of pharmacy, nor for hours earned outside 
the professional experience curriculum but at the same time 
and location as hours earned for that professional experience 
curriculum. 

4. Certification of Hours To and From Another 
Jurisdiction. 

a. Interns enrolled in a board-approved college of 
pharmacy in Louisiana who earn hours of practical 
experience in another jurisdiction, as well as interns enrolled 
in a board-approved college of pharmacy in another 
jurisdiction who earn hours of practical experience in 
another jurisdiction, may transfer those hours to Louisiana 
under the following conditions: 
 i. the hours of practical experience shall be listed 
on an affidavit form supplied by the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, signed by the preceptor pharmacist and the intern, 
and submitted to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy for 
consideration of credit; and 
 ii. the board of pharmacy in the jurisdiction where 
the hours were earned shall certify those hours to the 
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy; 
 iii. the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy may grant 
credit for all hours that comply with the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy’s requirements as delineated in this section. 

b. Upon written request by the pharmacy intern, the 
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy may certify practical 
experience hours earned in Louisiana to a board of pharmacy 
in another jurisdiction. 

5. Credited hours of practical experience shall expire 
on the expiration date of the Intern Registration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1211. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 26:2285 (October 2000), amended LR 29: 

Chapter 9. Pharmacy Practice 
Repealed. 

Chapter 11. Pharmacies 
Subchapter A. General Requirements 
§1101. Pharmacy 

A. Qualification. Individuals, partnerships, corporations, 
limited liability companies, or associations desiring to 
operate a pharmacy in Louisiana, or outside the state where 
prescriptions drugs/devices are dispensed and delivered to 
Louisiana residents, shall execute an application for a 
pharmacy permit for their particular classification of 
pharmacy. 

B. Appearance. The applicants, including the 
pharmacist-in-charge, may be required to personally appear 
before the board prior to a board decision on the permit 
application. 

C. Pharmacy Permit 
1. Initial. A completed pharmacy permit application 

shall be signed by the pharmacist-in-charge and the owner of 
the pharmacy and submitted to the board for approval. 

2. Renewal. A pharmacy permit that has not been 
renewed by December 31 of each year shall expire and be 
null and void. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 23:1310 (October 1997), amended LR 29: 
§1103. Prescription Department Requirements 

A. A prescription department of a pharmacy shall 
provide sufficient floor space allocated to ensure that drugs 
are compounded and dispensed in a well lighted, ventilated, 
climate controlled, and safely enclosed structure. 

B. Restricted. A prescription department is a restricted 
area. 

C. Square Footage. A prescription department that is new 
or remodeled on or after January 1, 2004 shall be not less 
than 300 total square feet, and shall be inaccessible to the 
public. 

D. Prescription Counter. A prescription counter on which 
to compound or dispense medications shall have a working 
surface of not less than a minimum of 24 total square feet. 
The minimum unobstructed free working surface shall be 
kept clear at all times for the compounding or dispensing of 
prescriptions. 

E. Prescription Aisle Space. The aisle space behind the 
prescription counter shall be not less than 30 inches in width. 

F. Prescription Department Plumbing. A sink equipped 
with hot and cold running water shall be located within the 
prescription department. A sink located in a pharmacy 
restroom shall not be sufficient to satisfy this requirement. 

G. Electronic Record Keeping System. An electronic 
record keeping system shall be utilized in a pharmacy 
department and shall be a complete, accurate, and readily 
retrievable prescription record keeping and storage system. 

H. Drug Inventory 
1. Storage. The pharmacy shall provide sufficient 

space on-site for proper storage of labels, prescription 
containers, and an adequate prescription inventory in order 
to compound and dispense prescription orders. Drugs that 
require special storage shall be properly stored. 
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2. Missing or Damaged Inventory. When drug 
inventory is missing or damaged for any reason, the 
pharmacy owner and/or pharmacist-in-charge shall 
immediately file with the board a signed statement of the 
circumstances of such occurrence and evidence that the 
appropriate law enforcement authorities were notified as 
required by law. 

3. Equipment. The pharmacy shall provide sufficient 
fixtures, equipment, and utensils to ensure that drugs are 
properly compounded and dispensed. 

I. Pharmacy Security. The prescription department shall 
be adequately secured by a security alarm system, the 
installation of partitions and secured entrances, which shall 
be locked by a pharmacist and made inaccessible when the 
prescription department is closed. 

J. Emergency Access. An additional key to the 
prescription department may be maintained in a secure 
location outside the prescription department for use during 
an emergency. A log shall be maintained with the key, 
indicating the name of each non-pharmacist using this key, 
the date and time of entry, and the nature of the emergency. 

K. References. A printed copy of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy Laws, Rules, and Regulations shall be maintained 
and readily available within the prescription department of a 
pharmacy. The pharmacy shall maintain access to current 
and appropriate reference materials pertinent to the 
pharmacy practice, including but not limited to, 
pharmacology, drug interactions, dosing, toxicity, and patient 
counseling. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1310 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1105. Pharmacist-in-Charge 

A. An initial and renewal pharmacy permit application 
shall designate and identify the licensed pharmacist-in-
charge. 

B. Authority and Accountability. The pharmacist-in-
charge shall be ultimately responsible for complete 
supervision, management, and compliance with all federal 
and state pharmacy laws and regulations pertaining to the 
practice of pharmacy of the entire prescription department. 
This responsibility necessarily includes accountability for 
any violation involving federal or state laws or regulations 
occurring within the prescription department supervised by a 
pharmacist-in-charge. 

C. Policy and Procedure Manual. The pharmacist-in-
charge shall be responsible for the development and 
maintenance of policies regarding quality pharmacy services 
including drug control, distribution, patient compliance 
accountability, inspection, and record keeping. 

D. Circumvention. It is a violation of the pharmacy 
permit for any person to subvert the authority of the 
pharmacist-in-charge by impeding the management of the 
prescription department in the compliance of federal and 
state pharmacy laws and regulations. 

E. Records. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be 
responsible for the proper maintenance of all prescription 
records. This necessarily includes electronic prescription 
records and the system's compliance and capacity to produce 
the required records. 

F. Recall. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be responsible 
for the development and implementation of a recall 
procedure that can be readily activated to assure patient 
safety. 

G. Discontinued and Outdated Drugs. The pharmacist-in-
charge shall be responsible for the development, 
maintenance, and implementation of policies and procedures 
to ensure that discontinued or outdated drugs, or containers 
with worn, illegible, or missing labels are withdrawn from 
the pharmacy inventory. 

H. Change of Pharmacist-in-Charge. Written notice to 
the board shall be required when the pharmacist-in-charge 
designation for a pharmacy has changed. 

1. The permit holder shall notify the board within 10 
days of the prior pharmacist-in-charge's departure date. The 
permit holder shall designate a new pharmacist-in-charge 
within 10 days of the departure of the prior pharmacist-in-
charge. 

2. The new pharmacist-in-charge shall afford the 
board written notice of his newly designated pharmacist-in-
charge status within 10 days of the departure of the prior 
pharmacist-in-charge. 

3. A pharmacist-in-charge who voluntarily leaves a 
pharmacy shall give written notice to the board and the 
owner of the permit at least ten days prior to this voluntary 
departure, unless replaced in a shorter period of time. 

I. Affidavit of Responsibility and Duties. The 
designated pharmacist-in-charge shall sign an affidavit on a 
form supplied by the board indicating his understanding and 
acceptance of the duties and responsibilities of a pharmacist-
in-charge. This notarized document shall be submitted to the 
board for inclusion in the pharmacy’s record in the board 
office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1310 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1107. Pharmacy Operation 

A. A pharmacist shall be on duty at all times during 
regular open hours of the pharmacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1310 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1109. Pharmacist Temporary Absence 

A. A pharmacist shall be considered to be temporarily 
absent from the prescription department when not within the 
confines of the prescription department but remains on-site. 

B. The pharmacist may be temporarily absent from the 
prescription department for breaks and meal periods without 
closing the prescription department and removing pharmacy 
personnel providing the following conditions are met: 

1. at least one certified pharmacy technician or 
pharmacy intern remains in the prescription department; 

2. the pharmacist is available for emergencies; 
3. the temporary absence does not exceed 30 minutes 

at a time and a total of sixty minutes in a 12-hour period; 
4. the pharmacist reasonably believes that the security 

of the prescription department will be maintained in his 
absence; and 
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5. a notice is posted that includes the following 
information: 

a. the fact that the pharmacist is taking a break; and 
b. the time the pharmacist will return. 

C. If the pharmacist, in his professional judgment, 
determines it necessary, all personnel shall be removed from 
the pharmacy and the pharmacy shall be secured for the 
duration of the temporary absence, and notice shall be 
posted indicating the pharmacy is closed. 

D. During a temporary absence, certified pharmacy 
technicians or pharmacy interns may continue to process 
prescription orders, provided that no orders processed during 
the pharmacist’s temporary absence be removed from the 
prescription department prior to the final check by the 
pharmacist. 

E. If the pharmacist is absent less than five minutes from 
the prescription department, this absence is not considered a 
"temporary absence" within the meaning of this chapter and 
will not require a posted notice, provided the prescription 
department's security is not compromised. 

F. If at any time the pharmacist deems it necessary to 
leave the on-site facility, the pharmacy shall be closed in 
accordance with §1111. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1311 (October 
1997), amended LR 27:2237 (December 2001) effective January 1, 
2002, amended LR 29: 
§1111. Pharmacist Absence 

A. A pharmacist is considered absent from the 
prescription department when he is not in the prescription 
department and is off-site. 

B. When a pharmacist is absent from the prescription 
department, the prescription department must be securely 
closed and made inaccessible. A sign shall be displayed in a 
conspicuous position in front of the prescription department 
giving notice of closure. The sign shall be at least 8 1/2 x 11 
inches with the following wording in black letters at least 
one inch high: PRESCRIPTION DEPARTMENT CLOSED. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1311 (October 
1997), amended LR 24:692 (April 1998), amended LR 29: 
§1113. Mechanical Drug Dispensing Devices 

A. Dispensing of prescription drugs directly to a patient 
or caregiver by mechanical devices or machine is prohibited. 
This prohibition shall not apply to automated medication 
systems as defined and provided for in Chapter 12 of these 
regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1311 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1115. Advertising 

A. False, fraudulent, deceptive, or misleading advertising 
as prohibited by R.S. 37:1241 of the Pharmacy Practice Act 
and this section shall include, but is not limited to, any 
public misrepresentation done or made with the knowledge, 
whether actual or constructive, that is untrue or illegal, or is 
said to be done falsely when the meaning is that the party is 
in fault for its error. Actual or constructive knowledge as 

used in this context shall include intentionally, negligently, 
mistakenly, or accidentally representing an untrue fact. 

B. No person shall carry on, conduct, or transact 
business under a name which contains a part thereof the 
words "pharmacist", "pharmacy", "apothecary", "apothecary 
shop", "chemist's shop", "drug store", "druggist", "drugs", or 
any word or words of similar or like import, or in any 
manner by advertisement, circular, poster, sign, or otherwise 
describe or refer to a place of business by the terms of 
"pharmacy", "apothecary", "apothecary shop", "chemist's 
shop", "drug store", "drugs", or any word or words of similar 
or like import, unless the place of business is a pharmacy 
validly permitted by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1311 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1117. Centralized Prescription Processing 

A. Centralized prescription processing is the processing 
by a pharmacy of a request from another pharmacy to fill or 
refill a prescription drug order or to perform processing 
functions such as dispensing, drug utilization review, claims 
adjudication, refill authorizations, and therapeutic 
interventions. 

B. Labeling. All drugs dispensed to a patient that have 
been filled via a centralized prescription processing system 
shall bear a label containing an identifiable code that 
provides a complete audit trail of the dispensing of the drug 
and pharmacy primary care activities. 

C. Requirements 
1. A pharmacy may only perform or outsource 

centralized prescription processing services provided the 
parties involved: 

a. have the same owner; or 
b. have a written contract outlining the services to 

be provided and the responsibilities and accountabilities of 
each party in fulfilling the terms of said contract in 
compliance with federal and state laws and regulations, and 
share a common electronic file or have appropriate 
technology to allow access to sufficient information 
necessary or required to fill or refill a prescription drug 
order. 

2. The parties performing or contracting for 
centralized prescription processing services shall maintain a 
policy and procedure manual and documentation that 
implementation is occurring in a manner that shall be made 
available to the board for review upon request and that 
includes the following: 

a. the maintenance of appropriate records to 
identify the responsible pharmacist(s) in the dispensing and 
counseling processes; 

b. the maintenance of a mechanism for tracking the 
prescription drug order during each step in the dispensing 
process; 

c. the maintenance of a mechanism to identify on 
the prescription label all pharmacies involved in dispensing 
the prescription drug order; 

d. the provision of adequate security to protect the 
confidentiality and integrity of patient information; and 

e. the maintenance of a quality improvement 
program for pharmacy services designed to objectively and 
systematically monitor and evaluate the quality and 
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appropriateness of patient care, pursue opportunities to 
improve patient care, and resolve identified problems. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1312 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
Subchapter B. Pharmacy Records 
§1119. Availability and Inspection 

A. Pharmacy records shall be available and readily 
retrievable upon request for board inspection and review. 

B. All records required by the laws and regulations of 
the board shall be provided to the board, or its agent, within 
72 hours of request, unless a shorter period is required, as 
determined by the board or its agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1312 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1121. General Record Keeping 

A. Requirements. A pharmacy shall maintain complete, 
accurate, and readily retrievable prescription drug records. 
All prescription drug records shall be available for board 
review upon request. 

B. Accountability. The holder of the pharmacy permit 
and the pharmacist-in-charge shall account for all 
prescription drug transactions, consisting of: 

1. acquisition recordsCinvoice receipts of drugs 
acquired; 

2. disposition recordsCprescription orders dispensed 
or drugs sold; and 

3. inventory recordsCdrugs in current possession. 
C. Retention. All records required in this section and by 

Louisiana law shall be retained for a minimum of two years. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1312 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1123. Records 

A. Acquisition Records. Prescription drug acquisition 
records shall be required, and shall consist of documented 
invoices from manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors, 
brokers, or other sources of supply. 

B. Inventory Records. Accurate and readily retrievable 
records regarding prescription drug acquisition invoices, 
distribution, and inventories shall be maintained and 
available for accountability and retained at the pharmacy 
premises. Inventories of controlled dangerous substances 
shall be required, where applicable, and maintained at the 
pharmacy. 

C. Prescription Records 
1. Dispensing Prescription Files. Dispensed 

prescription orders shall be required and maintained for a 
minimum of two years from the last transaction/fill date by 
the pharmacy, constituting proof of dispensing by adequate 
prescription files properly documented with the proper 
medical practitioner's authority and the following 
information: 

a. patient's name, address, and telephone number; 
b. prescriber's name, address, and if applicable, the 

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration 
number and signature; 

c. drug name, dosage form, strength, and quantity 
prescribed, as well as quantity dispensed when in variance 
with the original order; 

d. number of prescription refills authorized by the 
prescriber; 

e. prescription number; 
f. original dispensing date; and 
g. pharmacist’s name or initials. 

2. Prescription Refill Records. The following 
information shall be readily retrievable from the electronic 
record keeping system: 

a. date of refill; 
b. quantity dispensed when in variance with original 

order; and 
c. pharmacist's name, initials, or identification code. 

D. Electronic Record Keeping System. An electronic 
record keeping system shall be utilized in a pharmacy and 
shall be a complete, accurate, readily retrievable prescription 
record keeping and storage system. An electronic record 
keeping system shall meet the following requirements. 

1. Retrieval. The system shall provide on-line retrieval 
via screen or hard-copy printout of original prescription 
order information for those prescription orders that are 
currently authorized for refilling. 

2. Summary. The system shall be capable of 
producing a daily hard-copy summary of controlled 
dangerous substance transactions. 

3. Refills. The system shall be capable of recording 
and providing the dates of prescription refills and the 
identity of the pharmacist refilling those prescriptions. 

4. Patient Profile. The system shall be capable of 
producing a patient profile that shall contain the following 
minimum information: patient's name and address/location, 
name of drug, dosage form, strength, route and frequency of 
administration, and pharmacist's identification. 

5. Original Prescription Records. The prescription 
hard copy shall represent the original written order or 
original oral prescription reduced to written form manually 
or electronically produced by the pharmacist, and shall meet 
the record keeping requirements of this chapter. 

6. Maintenance. The original written prescription, or 
the written form of an oral prescription, shall be retained on 
file, in numerical order, for a minimum of two years from 
the date of dispensing or the date of the last refill dispensed. 

7. Prescription Refill Information. Records of refills 
shall be entered into the electronic record keeping system. 

8. Record. A report of all original or refilled 
prescriptions dispensed shall be maintained, and shall 
include the following: 

a. prescription number; 
b. date of initial dispensing of the original 

prescription and the date(s) of refilling; 
c. total number of prescription refills dispensed to 

date or retrievable refill history on a visual mode of display 
as an alternative to appearing on the hard-copy printout; 

d. patient's name; 
e. patient’s address, if required; 
f. the authorized prescriber’s name; 
g. authorized prescriber’s address, if required; 
h. the name, strength, dosage form, and quantity of 

the drug dispensed; and 
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i. the last name and initial of the dispensing 
pharmacist. 

9. Backup Support System. The electronic record 
keeping system shall be capable of being reconstructed in 
the event of an electronic or computer malfunction or 
unforeseen accident resulting in the destruction of the 
system or the information contained therein. To prevent the 
accidental loss of electronic records, an adequate backup 
system shall be maintained. Backup support systems shall be 
updated at least once daily. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1312 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1125. Security 

A. The electronic record keeping system shall provide 
adequate safeguards against improper, illegal, or 
unauthorized manipulation or alteration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1312 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1127. Register 

A. The pharmacy shall maintain a register in which each 
individual pharmacist dispensing a prescription shall sign a 
log each day, attesting to the fact that the information 
entered into the electronic record keeping system has been 
reviewed that day, and is correct as stated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1312 (October 
1997), amended LR 29: 
§1129. Confidentiality 

A. A pharmacist shall provide adequate security to 
prevent indiscriminate or unauthorized access to confidential 
records. If confidential health information is not transmitted 
directly between a pharmacist and a practitioner, but is 
transmitted through a data communication device, the 
confidential health information may not be accessed or 
maintained by the operator of the data communication 
device, unless specifically authorized to obtain confidential 
information by this section. 

B. Confidential records are privileged and may be 
released only to: 

1. the patient, or the patient's legally authorized agent; 
2. practitioners and other pharmacists when, in the 

pharmacist’s professional judgment, such release is 
necessary to protect the patient’s health and well-being; 

3. other persons, the board, or other state or federal 
agencies authorized by law to receive such information; 

4. authorized law enforcement agencies engaged in 
the investigation of suspected violations of the Uniform 
Controlled Dangerous Substances Law; 

5. employees of any state agency that licenses a 
practitioner, if such employee is engaged in the performance 
of his official duties; and/or 

6. an insurance carrier or other third party payor 
authorized by a patient to receive such information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Pharmacy Opening, Closing, Change of 

Ownership, and Change of Location 
Procedures 

§1131. Pharmacy Opening Procedures 
A. The board has established the following procedures as 

a prerequisite to the opening of any pharmacy. 
1. Application Form. The applicant shall obtain a 

Pharmacy Permit Application and Louisiana Controlled 
Dangerous Substance License Application from the board. 
The completed form(s) shall be signed by the pharmacist-in-
charge and returned to the board office, with appropriate 
fees, not less than thirty days prior to the anticipated opening 
of the pharmacy. 

2. Inspection. After the board has reviewed and 
approved the application, a board compliance officer shall 
conduct an on-site inspection of the premises. 

3. Compliance. Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence 
that the applicant is in complete compliance, the board shall 
issue a pharmacy permit and, if requested, a Louisiana 
Controlled Dangerous Substance License. 

D. DEA Registration. If applicable, the applicant shall 
obtain the appropriate application from the DEA, and then 
return said form, with appropriate fees, to the DEA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1133. Pharmacy Closing Procedures 

A. A pharmacy permit holder shall notify the public and 
the board prior to discontinuing a prescription department 
operation, or upon petitioning for bankruptcy. 

1. Public Notice. The holder of a pharmacy permit 
shall post a closing notice in a conspicuous place in the front 
of the prescription department, and at all public entrance 
doors to the pharmacy. The closing notice to the public shall 
be posted not less than ten days prior to the anticipated date 
of closure, and the notice shall contain the following 
minimum information: 

a. the anticipated date of closure of the prescription 
department; 

b. the anticipated date of transfer or relocation of 
prescription files, if different than closure date; 

c. the name and address of the pharmacy to which 
the prescription files will be transferred; and 

d. a statement that if a patient objects to the transfer 
of their prescription files to the intended recipient pharmacy, 
the patient shall make alternative arrangements for the 
transfer of their prescription files to another pharmacy prior 
to the anticipated file transfer date. 

2. Board Notice. The holder of a pharmacy permit 
shall send written notice to the board not less than ten days 
prior to the anticipated date of closure, and the notice shall 
include the following minimum information: 

a. the anticipated date of closure of the prescription 
department; 

b. the name and address of the permitted pharmacy 
operating within a reasonably close proximity of the closing 
pharmacy that shall be the custodian of the transferred 
prescription files; and 
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c. any prescription drug sale or transfer, with a 
complete drug inventory including recipient's name and 
address and/or seizure action, sequestration, executory 
process, public auction, liquidation, creditor assignment, and 
bankruptcy. 

3. Disposition of Inventory 
a. Drugs Listed in Schedule II. These drugs shall be 

either returned to the supplier or transferred to an authorized 
registrant, accompanied by an executed DEA Form 222, or 
its successor. Alternatively, these drugs shall be inventoried 
on the DEA Form 41 (Registrants Inventory of Drugs 
Surrendered), or its successor, and then either returned to the 
regional DEA office, or destroyed pursuant to permission 
from the DEA or agent of the board. The permit holder shall 
retain triplicate copies of returns, transfers, and/or 
destructions. 

b. Drugs Listed in Schedules III, IV, or V. These 
drugs shall be either returned to the supplier or transferred to 
an authorized registrant, accompanied by appropriate 
inventory records. Alternatively, these drugs shall be 
inventoried on the DEA Form 41, or its successor, and then 
either returned to the regional DEA office, or destroyed 
pursuant to permission from the DEA or agent of the board. 

c. All Other Prescription Drugs. These drugs shall 
be returned to the supplier, transferred to an authorized 
registrant, or destroyed. 

4. Surrender of Pharmacy Permit and Louisiana 
Controlled Dangerous Substance License. The holder of the 
permit and license shall surrender same to the board upon 
closing, accompanied by written confirmation of the: 

a. surrender of unused DEA order forms and the 
DEA registration certificate to the regional DEA office with 
a memorandum indicating the closing date of the 
prescription department;  

b. location of applicable records of controlled 
dangerous substance and other prescription drugs, order 
forms, inventories, acquisitions, and purchase records, with 
commitment to store such records for not less than two 
years, and to make such records available for inspection by 
an agent of the board; and 

c. removal of all pharmacy signage from the 
property. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1135. Pharmacy Change of Ownership Procedures 

A. The holder of a pharmacy permit shall notify the 
board, in writing, prior to the transfer of ownership, in order 
for the board to complete an inspection of the pharmacy 
premises. 

1. A change of ownership of a pharmacy is evident 
under the following conditions: 

a. sale of a pharmacy; 
b. death of a sole proprietor; 
c. the addition or deletion of one or more partners 

in a partnership; 
d. bankruptcy sale; or 
e. a 50 percent, or more, change in ownership of a 

corporation, limited liability company, or association since 
the issuance of the original permit or the last renewal 
application. 

2. The new owner(s) of the pharmacy shall submit a 
properly completed pharmacy permit application, with 
appropriate fee, to the board. 

3. Upon receipt of the new permit, the seller shall: 
a. notify the board of the transaction, including the 

identity of the new owner(s); 
b. surrender the DEA registration certificate to the 

regional DEA office, indicating the date of the change in 
ownership of the prescription department; and 

c. surrender the voided pharmacy permit and voided 
Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance License to the 
board. 

4. Pharmacy permits are not transferable from the 
original holder(s) of the permit to the new owner(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1137. Pharmacy Change of Location Procedures 

A. The board has established the following procedures 
for changing the location of any pharmacy that does not 
involve a change of ownership or divestiture of that 
pharmacy. 

1. The permit holder shall notify the board in writing 
prior to relocating a prescription department operation. 

2. The proper notice procedures for the relocation 
shall include the notice requirements applicable to pharmacy 
closing procedures noted in this subpart. However, a permit 
cancellation is not required for a permit holder that is 
moving to a location in reasonably close proximity to the 
original location and planning to continue pharmacy 
operations without a transfer of ownership. The permit 
holder shall notify the board for the proper re-designation of 
permit address and re-issuance of that same permit. 

3. Inspection. A board compliance officer shall 
conduct an on-site inspection of the premises following 
receipt of written notice in the board office and prior to the 
opening of a prescription department in a new location. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Chapter 13. Community Pharmacy 
§1301. Definition 

A. A community pharmacy is a pharmacy located in a 
non-institutional environment, and is licensed by the board 
to conduct professional pharmacy practice activities in the 
state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1303. Permit 

A. A community pharmacy permit shall be required to 
operate a pharmacy in this state, and to dispense prescription 
drugs to patients in Louisiana. The permit shall be applied 
for, and renewed, in the manner prescribed by the board in 
Chapter 11 of these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
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§1305. Compliance 
A. A community pharmacy shall comply with all 

applicable federal and state pharmacy laws and regulations, 
including Chapter 11 of these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 15. Hospital Pharmacy 
§1501. Cross References 

A. For all regulations that apply to permitted hospital 
pharmacies concerning pharmacy practices not specifically 
stated in this chapter, refer to Chapter 11.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:808 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1503. Definitions 

A. As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have 
the meaning ascribed to them in this Section. 

Hospital PharmacyCa pharmacy department permitted 
by the board and located in a hospital licensed pursuant to 
R.S. 40:2100 et seq. For the purposes of this chapter, a 
hospital pharmacy is one example of a primary care 
treatment modality pharmacy. 

Registered PatientCa person receiving health care 
services within a hospital facility. 

Unit DoseCthe packaging of individual prescription 
doses in a suitable container that have been properly labeled 
as to the identity of the generic, chemical, or trade name of 
the drug; strength; lot number; and expiration date. All unit 
doses qualify as "prepackaging" as used in this chapter. 
However, all prepackaging is not necessarily in “unit dose” 
packaging. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1505. Hospital Pharmacy Permit 

A. A hospital pharmacy permit shall be required to 
operate a pharmacy department located within a hospital for 
registered patients in that hospital. The permit shall be 
applied for, and renewed, in the manner prescribed by the 
board in Chapter 11 of these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1507. Pharmacist-in-Charge 

A. The pharmacist-in-charge of a hospital pharmacy 
permit shall have had at least two years of experience as a  
licensed and practicing pharmacist prior to accepting the 
appointment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1509. Drug Distribution Control 

A. The hospital pharmacist-in-charge shall be 
responsible for the safe and efficient procurement, receipt, 

distribution, control, accountability, and patient 
administration and management of drugs. The staff of the 
hospital facility shall cooperate with the pharmacist-in-
charge in meeting drug control requirements in ordering, 
administering, and accounting for pharmaceuticals. 

1. Procedure Manual. The pharmacist-in-charge shall 
maintain written procedures for the safe and efficient 
distribution of pharmaceutical products and delivery of 
pharmacy care. An updated copy shall be available for board 
inspection upon request. 

2. Inventories. The pharmacist-in-charge shall: 
a. perform an annual inventory on all controlled 

dangerous substances; and 
b. maintain a perpetual inventory of Schedule I and 

II controlled dangerous substances. 
3. Records. The pharmacist-in-charge shall maintain 

adequate records regarding the use and accountability of 
controlled dangerous substances. Proof of use records for 
controlled dangerous substances shall be maintained 
separately and in such a manner as to be readily retrievable. 
These records shall specify the following minimum 
information: 

a. drug name, strength, and quantity; 
b. dose; 
c. full name of patient; 
d. date and time of administration; and 
e. name of person administering the drug. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1511. Prescription Drug Orders 

A. The pharmacist shall review the practitioner’s medical 
order prior to dispensing the initial dose of medication, 
except in cases of emergency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1513. Labeling 

A. All drugs dispensed by a hospital pharmacy, intended 
for use within the facility, shall be dispensed in appropriate 
containers and adequately labeled as to identify patient name 
and location, drug name(s) and strength, and medication 
dose(s). Additionally, compounded preparations and sterile 
preparations shall be labeled with the expiration or beyond-
use date, initials of the preparer, and the pharmacist 
performing the final check. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1515. Ambulance Service Drugs 

A. Hospital pharmacies that supply prescription drugs, 
including any controlled dangerous substances, to any 
authorized ambulance service or emergency medical service 
shall maintain proper records to ensure control, proper 
utilization, inventory, and accountability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
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§1517. Pharmacist Absence/Drug Cabinet 
A. Pharmacist Absence. In the absence of a licensed 

pharmacist, admittance to the pharmacy by unauthorized 
persons is prohibited. When the pharmacy is closed, a 
pharmacist shall be on emergency call. 

B. Drug Cabinets. In the absence of a licensed 
pharmacist, arrangements shall have been formulated in 
advance by the pharmacist-in-charge to provide drugs for the 
patients by the use of drug cabinets. 

1. Emergency Use. A drug cabinet is solely intended 
for the proper and safe storage of needed drugs when the 
pharmacy is closed and shall be available for emergency use 
by authorized hospital personnel only. 

2. Security. The drug cabinet shall be a securely 
constructed and locked enclosure located outside the 
permitted pharmacy ensuring access to authorized personnel 
only. 

3. Inventory. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be 
responsible for the selection and quantity of the drugs to be 
maintained in the drug cabinet and shall maintain a perpetual 
inventory of any controlled dangerous substances stored in 
the drug cabinet. 

4. Labeling. Medications stored in a drug cabinet shall 
be properly labeled. 

5. Quantities. Prepackaged drugs shall be available in 
amounts sufficient for immediate therapeutic or emergency 
requirements. 

6. Accessibility. Written medical practitioner’s orders 
and proof of use, if applicable, shall be provided when a 
drug cabinet inventory is utilized. 

7. Inspection. Medications stored in a drug cabinet 
shall be inspected every thirty days. 

8. Policy Manual. A policy and procedure manual 
shall be maintained to implement the drug cabinet 
requirements and is to be made available to the board upon 
request for inspection and approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1519. Drug Returns 

A. In a hospital with a permitted hospital pharmacy on 
site, drugs may be returned to the pharmacy in accordance 
with good professional practice standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1521. Off-Site Pharmacy Services 

A. Availability. Pharmacy services may be procured 
contractually from outside the hospital for inpatient 
administration. 

B. Contractual agreements shall provide for: 
1. emergencyCthe pharmacy provider shall be 

available for on-call for emergency pharmacy services; 
2. storageCadequate drug storage facilities shall be 

provided to the pharmacy provider; 
3. labelingCprescription drugs supplied to hospital 

inpatients shall be properly labeled to ensure that adequate 
control, supervision, and recall of medication are monitored; 

4. contractual pharmacy serviceCoff-site contractual 
pharmacy services rendered to the hospital shall be in 

accordance with federal and state laws, rules, and 
regulations. 

C. A pharmacy providing off-site contractual pharmacy 
services to a hospital shall not be considered a hospital 
pharmacy. 

D. Medications. Prescription medications independently 
supplied to registered patients shall comply with all 
appropriate board regulations and statutes and/or hospital 
rules, regulations, and policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1523. Outpatient Pharmacy Dispensing 

A. Hospital outpatient dispensing shall require a separate 
pharmacy permit for the specialty classification(s) under 
these regulations. All records including the annual inventory 
of controlled dangerous substances for the outpatient 
pharmacy shall be maintained and kept separate and apart 
from that of the inpatient pharmacy, as the outpatient 
pharmacy may not acquire drugs through the hospital 
pharmacy permit under the provisions of the Robinson-
Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §13(c). 

B. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the dispensing of 
certain prescriptions from the hospital pharmacy, as allowed 
under the Robinson-Patman Act, 15 U.S.C. §13, including: 

1. dispensing to the hospital inpatient for use in his 
treatment at the hospital; 

2. dispensing to the patient admitted to the hospital’s 
emergency facility for use in the patient’s treatment at that 
location; 

3. dispensing to the hospital outpatient for personal 
use on the hospital premises; 

4. dispensing in the context of a genuine take-home 
prescription, intended for a limited and reasonable time as a 
continuation of, or supplement to, the treatment that was 
administered at the hospital to the recipient while an 
inpatient, an outpatient, or an emergency facility patient if 
the patient needs that treatment; or 

5. dispensing to the hospital's physicians, employees, 
or its students for their personal use or for the personal use 
of their dependents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Chapter 17. Institutional Pharmacy 
Subchapter A. General Requirements 
§1701. Cross References 

A. For all regulations that apply to permitted institutional 
pharmacies concerning pharmacy practices not specifically 
stated in this chapter, refer to Chapter 11. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1703. Definitions 

A. As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have 
the meaning ascribed to them in this section: 

Institutional FacilityCany organization whose primary 
purpose is to provide a physical environment for a patient to 
obtain health care services, including but not limited to a(n): 
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a. convalescent home; 
b. nursing home; 
c. extended care facility; 
d. mental health facility; 
e. rehabilitation center; 
f. psychiatric center; 
g. developmental disability center; 
h. drug abuse treatment center; 
i. family planning clinic; 
j. penal institution; 
k. hospice; 
l. public health facility; 
m. athletic facility. 

Institutional PharmacyCthat physical portion of an 
institutional facility where drugs, devices, and other 
materials used in the diagnosis and treatment of an injury, 
illness, and disease are dispensed, compounded, and 
distributed and pharmacy primary care is provided, and is 
permitted by the board and is devoted exclusively to 
providing professional services to a patient in that 
institutional setting, other than a hospital. 

Long Term Care FacilityCa nursing home, retirement 
center, mental care, or other facility or institution that 
provides extended health care to a residential patient, 
including but not limited to health care facilities licensed by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1705. Institutional Pharmacy Permit 

A. An institutional pharmacy permit shall be required to 
operate a pharmacy department located within an 
institutional facility, other than a hospital, for residents or 
patients of that institutional facility. The permit shall be 
applied for, and renewed, in the manner prescribed by the 
board in Chapter 11 of these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1707. Drug Cabinet 

A. In the absence of a licensed pharmacist, arrangements 
shall have been formulated in advance by the pharmacist-in-
charge to provide drugs for the residents/patients by the use 
of drug cabinets. When the pharmacy is closed, a pharmacist 
shall be on emergency call. 

1. Emergency Use. A drug cabinet is solely intended 
for the proper and safe storage of needed drugs when the 
pharmacy is closed and shall be available for emergency use 
by authorized facility personnel only. 

2. Security. The drug cabinet shall be a securely 
constructed and locked enclosure located outside the 
permitted pharmacy area ensuring access by authorized 
personnel only. 

3. Inventory. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be 
responsible for the selection and quantity of drugs to be 
maintained in the drug cabinet and shall maintain a perpetual 
inventory of any controlled dangerous substances. 
Medications shall be available in quantities sufficient only 
for immediate therapeutic needs. 

4. Labeling. Medications stored in a drug cabinet shall 
bear a label with the following minimum information: 

a. drug name; 
b. dosage form; 
c. strength; 
d. name of manufacturer and/or distributor; 
e. manufacturer's lot or batch number; 
f. pharmacist’s initials; and 
g. expiration date, according to United States 

Pharmacopeia guidelines. 
5. Accountability. Documented medical practitioner’s 

orders and proof of use shall be provided when any of the 
drug cabinet inventory is utilized. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Subchapter B. Emergency Drug Kits 
§1709. Definitions 

A. As used in this subchapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning ascribed to them in this section: 

Emergency Drug Kit (EDK)Cfor long-term care 
facilities or other board-approved sites, other than a hospital, 
means a drug kit containing designated emergency drugs 
which may be required to meet the immediate therapeutic 
needs of a resident or patient. 

Emergency DrugsCthose drugs which may be required 
to meet the immediate therapeutic needs of patients and 
which are not available from any other authorized source in 
sufficient time to prevent risk of harm to patients or residents 
because of delay resulting from obtaining such medications 
from such other source. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1711. Emergency Drug Kit Permit 

A. A long-term care facility, institutional facility without 
an institutional pharmacy, or other board-approved site, 
other than a hospital, that desires to maintain an Emergency 
Drug Kit shall obtain an EDK permit from the board. 

B. Permit Application and Requirements. Application for 
an EDK permit shall be made on a form provided by the 
board. 

1. The provider pharmacy shall apply to the board for 
an EDK permit. The administrator of the applicant facility 
shall also sign the application for said permit. Upon 
compliance with the required provisions, the provider 
pharmacy shall be issued a permit by the board for the 
provider pharmacy to establish and maintain an EDK in the 
facility. 

2. The provider pharmacy shall be a Louisiana-
licensed pharmacy. 

3. Only one provider pharmacy shall be assigned to 
and be responsible for each EDK. 

4. EDK permits are institutional facility-specific and 
not transferable. 

5. A separate permit is required for each EDK. 
6. The original EDK permit shall be conspicuously 

displayed at the provider pharmacy. A copy of the EDK 
permit shall be maintained in the room where the EDK is 
located. 
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C. Pharmacist-in-Charge. The pharmacist-in-charge of 
the provider pharmacy shall be the pharmacist-in-charge of 
the EDK. The maintenance of the EDK shall at all times 
remain the responsibility of the pharmacist-in-charge. 

D. Renewal. Each EDK permit issued by the board shall 
be renewed annually by the provider pharmacy, at the time 
designated by the board. If an EDK permit is not renewed 
within a period determined by the board, the existing permit 
shall expire and become null and void. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1713. Emergency Drug Kit Requirements 

A. Emergency Use. An EDK is solely intended for the 
immediate therapeutic emergency needs of a resident or 
patient. 

B. Security. The EDK shall be tamper-evident and shall 
be maintained in a secure enclosure located within the 
institutional facility and shall be available for emergency use 
by authorized personnel only. 

C. Exterior Identification and Labeling. The EDK shall 
be clearly labeled to indicate that it is an emergency drug kit. 
In addition, the attached exterior label shall have an 
inventory of contents and contact information of the 
provider pharmacy. 

D. Labeling. Medications stored in an EDK shall bear a 
label with the following minimum information: 

1. drug name; 
2. dosage form; 
3. strength; 
4. name of manufacturer and/or distributor; 
5. manufacturer’s lot or batch number; and 
6. expiration date, according to United States 

Pharmacopeia guidelines. 
E. Storage. All drugs in an EDK shall be stored to ensure 

a proper environment for the preservation of the drugs. If 
federal or state laws or regulations require adequate storage 
outside the EDK, documentation shall be kept with the EDK 
properly identifying this special storage requirement and 
drug(s) involved. 

F. Policies and Procedures. Policies and procedures shall 
be maintained by the provider pharmacy and the applicant 
facility to implement the EDK requirements. 

G. Accountability. Documented medical practitioner’s 
orders and proof of use shall be provided when an EDK 
inventory is utilized. Medication administered to patients 
from the EDK shall be documented with the following 
information, in accordance with the institutional facility 
policy manual, that shall be immediately reduced to writing 
and a copy delivered to the provider pharmacy: 

1. name of the resident patient; 
2. drug name, strength, and quantity; 
3. nature of the emergency; 
4. time and date of administration; 
5. name of person administering the medication; and 
6. name of prescriber authorizing the medication. 

H. Records. Records shall be readily retrievable and 
comply with applicable federal and state laws and 
regulations. 

I. Inspection 
1. The provider pharmacy shall inspect the EDK 

between the first and fifteenth day of every month. Proper 

documentation of these inspections, EDK inventory, and all 
records of use shall be maintained and made available to the 
board upon request. 

2. The EDK shall be available for inspection by the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Drug Abuse Treatment Center 

Pharmacies 
§1715. Purpose 

A. The board may issue a pharmacy permit for a drug 
abuse treatment center operating in the state of Louisiana 
where drugs are dispensed and pharmacy primary care is 
provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1717. Cross References 

A. For all regulations that apply to drug abuse treatment 
center pharmacies concerning pharmacy practices not 
specifically stated in this subchapter, refer to Chapter 11. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1719. Definitions 

A. As used in this subchapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning ascribed to them in this section: 

Administer or AdministrationCthe direct application of 
a drug to the body of a patient or research subject by 
injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other means. 

Authorized PersonnelCindividuals who, within the 
scope of their authority granted by mutual agreement of the 
drug abuse treatment center’s pharmacist-in-charge and 
director, are granted access to the drug abuse treatment 
center’s pharmacy department as part of his duties. 

Dispense or DispensingCthe interpretation, evaluation, 
and implementation of a prescription drug order, including 
the preparation and delivery of a drug or device to a patient 
or patient’s agent in a suitable container appropriately 
labeled for subsequent administration to, or use by, a patient. 
"Dispense" necessarily includes a transfer of possession of a 
drug or device to the patient or the patient's agent. 

Drug Abuse Treatment CenterCany establishment, 
facility, or institution, public or private, whether operated for 
profit or not, which primarily offers, or purports to offer, 
maintain, or operate facilities for the residential or outpatient 
diagnosis, care, treatment, or rehabilitation of two or more 
non-related individuals, who are patients as defined herein, 
excluding, however, any hospital or mental hospital 
otherwise licensed by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals. 

Patient or ClientCa person who is dependent on, or 
otherwise suffering physically or mentally from the use of, 
or abuse of, controlled dangerous substances and who 
requires continuing care of a drug abuse treatment center. 

Perpetual InventoryCa computer record of inventory 
kept continuously up to date by detailed entries of all 
incoming and outgoing items. This includes inventory on 
hand, purchases, and dispensing. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1721. Drug Abuse Treatment Center Pharmacy Permit 

A. A drug abuse treatment center pharmacy permit shall 
be required to operate a pharmacy department located within 
a drug abuse treatment facility for patients of that facility. 
The permit shall be applied for, and renewed, in the manner 
prescribed by the board in Chapter 11 of these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1723. Minimum Security Controls for Drug Abuse 

Treatment Centers 
A. Persons enrolled in a drug abuse treatment center 

shall wait for their prescriptions in an area physically 
separated from the controlled dangerous substance (CDS) 
storage and dispensing area. This requirement shall be 
enforced by the drug abuse treatment center physician(s), 
pharmacist(s), and employees. 

B. All CDS used in a drug abuse treatment center shall 
be securely locked and accessible to authorized personnel 
within that facility only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§1725. Records and Reports of Drug Abuse Treatment 

Centers 
A. All persons licensed by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals to operate a drug abuse treatment center and who 
possess a Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 
registration to purchase, possess, and use CDS shall keep the 
following records: 

1. records of CDS received by approved persons, 
including date of receipt, name and address of distributor, 
type and quantity of such drugs received, and the signature 
of the individual receiving the CDS. A duplicate invoice or 
separate itemized list furnished by the distributor will be 
sufficient to satisfy this record requirement, provided it 
includes all required information and is maintained in a 
separate file. In addition, duplicate copies of federal order 
forms for CDS listed in Schedule II must be retained; and 

2. records of CDS administered or dispensed, 
including date of administration or dispensing, name of 
patient, signature of person administering or dispensing, type 
and quantity of drug, and such other information as may be 
required by state and federal laws and regulations. 

B. Records of perpetual inventories shall be kept at the 
permitted site as prescribed by law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Chapter 19. Nuclear Pharmacy 
§1901. Cross References 

A. For all regulations that apply to permitted nuclear 
pharmacies concerning pharmacy practices not specifically 
stated in this chapter, refer to Chapter 11. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1903. Definitions 

A. As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have 
the meaning ascribed to them in this section. 

Nuclear PharmacyCa board-approved facility limited to 
procuring, possessing, compounding, or dispensing 
radiopharmaceuticals or any interventional drug used in 
conjunction with nuclear medicine procedures. This 
definition shall not apply to hospital nuclear medicine 
departments and nuclear medicine clinics operating under 
the auspices of a licensed practitioner of medicine. 

RadiationCany electromagnetic or ionizing radiation 
including gamma rays, X-rays, alpha and beta particles, 
high-speed electrons, neutrons, protons, and other nuclear 
particles. 

Radioactive MaterialCany solid, liquid, or gas that 
emits radiation spontaneously. 

RadiopharmaceuticalCa drug that is a radioactive 
material and includes any drug that is intended to be made 
radioactive, as defined by the appropriate federal agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1905. Nuclear Pharmacy Permit Requirements 

A. A nuclear pharmacy permit shall be required to 
operate a nuclear pharmacy department. The permit shall be 
applied for, and renewed, in the manner prescribed by the 
board in Chapter 11 of these regulations. 

1. A nuclear pharmacy shall have a Louisiana 
Radioactive Material License. 

2. Nuclear Pharmacist-in-Charge. A pharmacist-in-
charge of a nuclear pharmacy operation shall be a qualified 
nuclear pharmacist, as defined in §1907, and shall be 
responsible for the entire nuclear pharmacy operation. 

3. Structural Requirements. A nuclear pharmacy shall 
provide adequate space separate and apart from other areas 
commensurate with the scope of service and with the 
following space requirements. 

a. Dispensing Area. The radiopharmaceutical 
compounding or preparation area shall be separate and apart 
from other facility areas and shall be not less than 300 
square feet, which may include storage and decay areas. The 
pharmacy area shall be sufficient to provide a work 
environment for the safe handling, compounding, and 
dispensing of radiopharmaceuticals. This area shall be 
separate and inaccessible to non-pharmacy personnel. 

b. Delivery and Receipt Area. An area designated 
for the delivery and receipt of materials requiring after-hours 
handling by non-pharmacy personnel. This area shall be 
separate from the dispensing area of the pharmacy. 

c. Storage Area. A storage area sufficient to 
maintain the scope and content of unused and returned 
material for decay and disposal commensurate with the 
compounding and dispensing requirements of the facility. 

d. Maintenance. A nuclear pharmacy shall be well 
maintained, clean, orderly, lighted, and properly ventilated. 

e. Plumbing. A sink equipped with hot and cold 
running water shall be located within the nuclear pharmacy. 
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A sink located in a pharmacy lavatory or restroom shall not 
be sufficient to satisfy this requirement. 

4. Equipment. There shall be adequate equipment 
commensurate with the scope of services required and 
provided by the facility. 

5. Supplies. There shall be adequate supplies 
commensurate with the compounding and dispensing needs 
of the facility, as well as any other services provided for by 
the facility, including appropriate shielding and safety 
devices and any other supplies necessary for the safe and 
legal transport of materials compounded or dispensed from 
the facility. There shall be appropriate supplies for the safe 
handling and disposal of used and unused material by 
employees and staff of the facility. The appropriateness of 
personal protective equipment shall be reviewed on an 
annual basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1907. Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist 

A. A qualified nuclear pharmacist shall be a currently 
licensed pharmacist in the state of Louisiana who is listed on 
a Louisiana Radioactive Material License. 

B. Continuing Education. Nuclear pharmacists shall 
obtain at least five hours of the total required hours of 
American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) or 
board-approved continuing education on those applications 
and procedures specific to nuclear pharmacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1909. Labeling 

A. Immediate Container. The immediate container that 
comes into direct contact with the radiopharmaceutical shall 
be labeled with: 

1. the standard radiation symbol; 
2. the words "CautionCRadioactive Material"; 
3. the prescription control number; 
4. the name of the radionuclide; and 
5. the amount of radioactive material contained, in the 

appropriate unit of measure. 
B. Outer Container. In addition to any labeling 

requirements of the board for non-radiopharmaceuticals, the 
outer container of a radiopharmaceutical to be dispensed 
shall also be labeled with: 

1. the standard radiation symbol; 
2. the words "CautionCRadioactive Material"; 
3. the name of the radionuclide; 
4. the chemical form; 
5. the amount of material contained, in the appropriate 

unit of measure; 
6. the liquid volume expressed in cubic centimeters or 

milliliters, where applicable; and 
7. the calibration time and date for the amount of 

radioactivity contained. 
C. The labeling requirements in this section shall not 

apply to transport containers. 
D. Practitioner Administered Compounds Labeling. All 

practitioner administered compounds, as defined in Chapter 

25 of these regulations, shall be dispensed or delivered in a 
suitable container with a label containing the following 
information: 

1. pharmacist's name or initials; 
2. pharmacy's name, address, and telephone number; 
3. preparation name; 
4. prescription number or pharmacy-assigned 

identification number; 
5. lot number; 
6. beyond-use date; 
7. strength and concentration; 
8. practitioner’s name; and 
9. special storage requirements, if applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§1911. Quality Control and Quality Assurance 

A. Quality control of radiopharmaceuticals is required on 
all radiopharmaceuticals compounded in a nuclear 
pharmacy. Appropriate quality assurance procedures shall be 
developed and followed for the procurement, compounding, 
and dispensing of all pharmaceuticals in a nuclear pharmacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 21. Charitable Pharmacy 
§2101. Cross References 

A. For all regulations that apply to permitted charitable 
pharmacies concerning pharmacy practices not specifically 
stated in this chapter, refer to Chapter 11. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2103. Definitions 

A. As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have 
the meaning ascribed to them in this section. 

Charitable PharmacyCthe practice of pharmacy at a site 
where prescriptions are dispensed by a charitable 
organization free of charge to appropriately screened and 
qualified patients. For the purposes of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code and the Pharmacy Practice Act, a 
"charitable pharmacy" may at times also be referred to as a 
"provisional permitted pharmacy." 

Qualified PatientsCthose patients who are without 
sufficient funds to obtain medications as determined by strict 
screening guidelines based on needs assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2105. Charitable Pharmacy Permit Requirements 

A. A charitable pharmacy permit shall be required to 
operate a pharmacy in the state to dispense free prescription 
drugs to qualified patients in Louisiana. This permit shall 
only be granted to an organization qualified as a charitable 
organization by the U. S. Internal Revenue Code under 26 
U.S.C. §501(c)(3), or its successor. 
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B. Compliance. The charitable pharmacy shall be in 
compliance with applicable federal, state, and local laws 
and/or regulations pertaining to the practice of pharmacy. 

C. Guidelines. Strict screening guidelines based on needs 
assessment shall be developed by the charitable pharmacy to 
determine who is eligible as a qualified patient. 

D. Review. All screening guidelines, needs assessments, 
and revisions shall be submitted to the board upon request. 

E. Patient Dispensing. Prescriptions filled in a charitable 
pharmacy may only be dispensed to qualified patients of that 
pharmacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2107. Prescription Drug Samples 

A. A charitable pharmacy shall not sell, purchase, or 
trade prescription drug samples. 

B. A charitable pharmacy shall only possess and 
dispense prescription drug samples if the following 
conditions are satisfied: 

1. the prescription drug samples are dispensed at no 
charge to qualified patients of that charitable pharmacy; and 

2. the prescription drug samples are possessed in 
compliance with the Federal Prescription Drug Marketing 
Act of 1987, 21 U.S.C. §301 et seq., or its successor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 23:1307 (October 1997), amended LR 29: 
§2109. Medication Transfers 

A. In facilities licensed by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals where United States Pharmacopeia (USP) storage 
requirements can be assured, prescription drugs, except 
controlled dangerous substances, dispensed in unit dose or in 
individually sealed doses may be transferred to a permitted 
charitable pharmacy for relabeling and dispensing to 
indigent patients, free of charge, pursuant to a valid 
prescription order. 

1. The pharmacist-in-charge of the permitted 
charitable pharmacy shall be responsible for determination 
of suitability of the product for reuse. 

a. No product where integrity cannot be assured 
shall be accepted for re-dispensing by the pharmacist. 

b. A re-dispensed prescription medication shall be 
assigned the expiration date stated on the package. 

c. No product shall be re-dispensed more than one 
time. 

2. Pursuant to a voluntary agreement between the 
facility licensed by the Department of Health and Hospitals 
and a pharmacy holding a charitable pharmacy permit from 
the board, prescription drugs, except controlled dangerous 
substances, may be transferred from the facility to the 
pharmacy provided the following procedures are satisfied; 

a. The physical transfer shall be accomplished by 
an individual authorized to do so by the charitable pharmacy. 

b. The patient from whom the prescription 
medication was obtained shall document their consent for 
the donation; the consent shall be maintained on file at the 
facility. 

c. The patient’s name, prescription number, and any 
other identifying marks, shall be obliterated from the 
packaging prior to removal from the facility. 

d. The drug name, strength, and expiration date 
shall remain on the medication package or label. 

e. An inventory list of the drugs shall accompany 
the drugs being transferred. The list shall contain, at a 
minimum, the medication name, strength, quantity, and 
expiration date. 

f. Expired drugs shall not be transferred. In the 
event expired drugs are received by a charitable pharmacy, 
the pharmacist-in-charge shall destroy them as required by 
law. 

B. Under no circumstances may these transferred 
medications be re-distributed to another location. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2111. Prohibitions 

A. A charitable pharmacy shall not purchase, possess, 
trade, distribute, or dispense controlled dangerous 
substances. 

B. A charitable pharmacy shall not be operated, or in any 
way associated, with any for-profit pharmacy permitted in 
this state or any other jurisdiction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29 
Chapter 23. Out-of-State Pharmacy 
§2301. Purpose 

A. Out-of-state pharmacies shall comply with the 
provisions of this chapter in order to be and remain 
permitted to operate in Louisiana as an out-of-state 
pharmacy. 

B. This chapter applies to any place physically located 
outside the state of Louisiana that provides services in the 
state of Louisiana where prescription drugs are dispensed 
and/or pharmacy care is provided to residents of the state of 
Louisiana. This includes, but is not limited to, pharmacies 
providing goods and services via U.S. mail carrier, 
commercial carrier, the Internet, and/or directly to Louisiana 
residents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1380 (December 1992) effective January 1, 
1993, amended LR 29: 
§2303. Out-of-State Pharmacy Requirements 

A. The out-of-state pharmacy shall hold a current 
pharmacy permit in good standing in the state(s) in which it 
is located and/or practicing pharmacy. 

B. Each pharmacist dispensing drugs into Louisiana shall 
be licensed as a pharmacist in good standing in the state(s) 
where he practices. 

C. Every out-of-state pharmacy doing business in 
Louisiana by dispensing and delivering prescription drugs 
and devices to Louisiana residents shall designate a resident 
agent and a registered office in Louisiana for the service of 
process. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1380 (December 1992) effective January 1, 
1993, amended LR 29: 
§2305. Out-of-State Pharmacy Permit Requirements 

A. The out-of-state pharmacy shall apply for a permit 
and annual permit renewals on forms provided by the board. 
The board may require such information as reasonably 
necessary to carry out the provisions of R.S. 37:1232, 
including, without limitation, the name, address, and 
position of each officer and director of a corporation or of 
the owners, if the pharmacy is not a corporation. 

B. The out-of-state pharmacy shall pay an annual permit 
fee as defined in R.S. 37:1184. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1380 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2307. Pharmacist-in-Charge 

A. Designation. A pharmacist licensed by the Louisiana 
Board of Pharmacy shall be named in the application as the 
pharmacy’s pharmacist-in-charge for the Louisiana permit 
and shall be responsible for the pharmacy permit’s 
compliance. Said Louisiana-licensed pharmacist shall be a 
full-time employee of the out-of-state pharmacy and shall be 
present at the pharmacy's physical location indicated on the 
out-of-state pharmacy permit. 

B. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be currently licensed 
and in good standing in the state in which he is practicing. 

C. Authority and Accountability. The designated 
pharmacist-in-charge of the pharmacy and the pharmacy 
owner(s), or partners, or corporate officer(s) of the permit 
holder, where applicable, shall be responsible for the 
complete supervision, management, and compliance with all 
federal and state pharmacy laws and regulations pertaining 
to the practice of pharmacy of the entire prescription 
department. This responsibility necessarily includes 
accountability for any violation involving federal or state 
laws or regulations occurring within the prescription 
department supervised by a pharmacist-in-charge. 

D. Policy and Procedure Manual. The pharmacist-in-
charge shall be responsible for the development and 
maintenance of policies regarding quality pharmacy services 
including drug control, distribution, patient compliance 
accountability, inspection, and record keeping. 

E. Circumvention. It is a violation of the pharmacy 
permit for any person to subvert the authority of the 
pharmacist-in-charge by impeding the management of the 
prescription department in the compliance of federal and 
state pharmacy laws and regulations. 

F. Records. The pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for 
the proper maintenance of all prescription records. This 
necessarily includes electronic prescription records and the 
system's compliance and capacity to produce the required 
records. 

G. Recall. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be responsible 
for the development and implementation of a recall 
procedure that can be readily activated to assure patient 
safety. 

H. Discontinued or Outdated Drugs. The pharmacist-in-
charge shall be responsible for the development and 
implementation of policies and procedures to ensure that 
discontinued drugs, outdated drugs, or drug containers with 
worn, illegible, or missing labels are withdrawn from the 
pharmacy inventory. 

I. Change of Pharmacist-in-Charge. Written notice to 
the board shall be required when the pharmacist-in-charge 
designation for a pharmacy has changed. 

1. The permit holder shall notify the board within 10 
days of the prior pharmacist-in-charge’s departure date. The 
permit holder shall designate a new pharmacist-in-charge 
within 10 days of the departure of the prior pharmacist-in-
charge. 

2. The new pharmacist-in-charge shall afford the 
board written notice of his newly designated pharmacist-in-
charge status within 10 days of the departure of the prior 
pharmacist-in-charge. 

3. A pharmacist-in-charge who voluntarily leaves a 
pharmacy shall give written notice to the board and the 
owner of the permit at least 10 days prior to this voluntary 
departure, unless replaced in a shorter period of time. 

J. Affidavit of Responsibility and Duties. The 
designated pharmacist-in-charge shall sign an affidavit on a 
form supplied by the board indicating his understanding and 
acceptance of the duties and responsibilities of a pharmacist-
in-charge. This notarized document shall be submitted to the 
board for inclusion in the pharmacy’s record in the board 
office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2309. Applicable Laws and Regulations 

A. Louisiana pharmacy laws and regulations shall be 
applicable to regulate the practice of pharmacy for that 
portion of the out-of-state pharmacy’s Louisiana pharmacy 
practice or operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2311. Inspection 

A. The facilities and records of the out-of-state pharmacy 
shall be subject to inspection by the board or its designated 
agent(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2313. Records 

A. Records shall be maintained for not less than two 
years. 

B. The pharmacy shall maintain records of drugs 
dispensed to Louisiana residents in such a manner so as to be 
identifiable, readily retrievable, and available upon request. 
Said records shall be made available for inspection by  
the board. The pharmacy permit holder or the  
pharmacist-in- charge shall produce within 72 hours any
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information, documentation, and/or records requested by the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2315. Counseling Services 

A. The pharmacy shall maintain an incoming toll-free 
telephone number for use by Louisiana consumers during 
regular office hours. Readily available telephone counseling 
services shall be provided that are consistent with the 
reasonable standard of due care. This telephone number, plus 
other numbers available for use, shall be printed on each 
container of drugs dispensed to Louisiana residents. The toll-
free telephone number shall have sufficient extensions to 
provide reasonable access to incoming callers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2317. Out-of-State Pharmacy Closure Procedures 

A. Notice. Notice shall be afforded the board not less 
than ten days prior to the anticipated closure date of an out-
of-state pharmacy. Said notice shall include the location of 
all transferred prescription files for Louisiana residents. 

B. Permit. The out-of-state pharmacy permit holder shall 
surrender the pharmacy permit to the board upon closure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
§2319. Jurisdiction 

A. Out-of-state pharmacies soliciting, receiving, and 
dispensing and delivering prescription drugs and devices, 
including controlled dangerous substances as defined in 21 
U.S.C. 1, et seq. and 21 CFR 1 et seq., or their successors, 
and delivered to residents in Louisiana constitutes doing 
business in Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 18:1381 (December 1992), LR 29: 
Chapter 25. Prescriptions, Drugs, and Devices 
Subchapter A. General Requirements 
§2501. Prescription Drugs and Devices 

A. Prescription Drugs or Devices. A prescription drug or 
device is a medication or mechanism that may only be 
dispensed by a pharmacist on the order of a licensed 
practitioner and shall bear the “Rx Only” notation or any 
other designation of similar import required by law on the 
label of a commercial container. 

1. Dispensing. Prescription drugs or devices shall be 
dispensed only by a Louisiana-licensed pharmacist. 

2. Possession. Prescription drugs or devices shall be 
procured and possessed in the course of the practice of 
pharmacy by a permitted pharmacy. 

3. Storage. Prescription drugs or devices shall be 
stored in a permitted pharmacy under the immediate control 
and responsibility of a pharmacist. 

B. Misbranded Drugs 
1. Misbranded drugs are: 

a. those drugs whose labeling is false or misleading 
in any particular manner; or 

b. those drugs whose label does not bear the name 
and address of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor, and 
does not have an accurate statement of the quantities of the 
active ingredients; or 

c. those drugs without an accurate monograph; or 
d. those drugs meeting the qualifications for 

misbranded drugs as noted in the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act, or its successor. 

2. It is unlawful to possess or dispense misbranded 
drugs. 

C. Adulterated Drugs 
1. Adulterated drugs are contaminated medicinal 

substances having deleterious foreign or injurious materials, 
which fail to meet safety, quality, and/or purity standards. 

2. It is unlawful to possess or dispense adulterated 
drugs. 

D. Expired Drugs. Expired drugs shall not be dispensed 
and shall be removed from the pharmacy drug inventory. 

E. Recalled Drugs. Recalled drugs shall be removed 
from the pharmacy inventory immediately upon notice. 
Recalls are classified as: 

1. Class ICa situation in which there is a strong 
likelihood that the use of, or exposure to, a violative product 
will cause serious adverse health consequences or death; 

2. Class IICa situation in which use of, or exposure to, 
a violative product may cause temporary or medically 
reversible adverse health consequences or where the 
probability of serious adverse health consequences is 
remote; 

3. Class IIICa situation in which the use of, or 
exposure to, a violative product is not likely to cause adverse 
health consequences. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2503. Drug Returns 

A. Drugs dispensed on prescription to a patient shall not 
be accepted for return, exchange, or re-dispensing by any 
pharmacist or pharmacy after such drugs have been removed 
from the pharmacy premises where they were dispensed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2505. Investigational Drugs 

A. All investigational drugs stored or dispensed by any 
pharmacy shall conform to appropriate and applicable 
federal and state laws and regulations pertaining to their use. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2507. Veterinary Prescription Drugs 

A. Veterinary prescription drugs are prescription 
medications for animal use prescribed by a licensed
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veterinarian pursuant to a valid veterinarian-client-patient 
relationship and dispensed by a licensed pharmacist to the 
veterinarian's client, for a legitimate medical purpose, that 
are unsafe for unsupervised use as defined in 21 CFR 
§201.105, or its successor. 

B. Dispensing Requirements. Veterinary prescription 
drugs shall be exclusively dispensed by a duly licensed 
pharmacist upon the order of a licensed veterinarian, unless 
otherwise provided by law.  

C. Labeling Requirements. Veterinary prescription drugs 
shall be dispensed in an appropriate container, and in 
addition to the labeling requirements in Chapter 11 of these 
regulations, shall contain the following information: 

1. the commercial label inscription "Caution: Federal 
law restricts this drug to use by or on the order of a licensed 
veterinarian"; and  

2. the client's name and patient's animal species. 
D. Prescription Form Requirements. Prescriptions issued 

by a licensed veterinarian shall conform to §2511 of these 
regulations. 

E. Storage. Veterinary prescription drugs shall be 
maintained in the prescription department of a pharmacy, 
and shall be kept separate and apart from drugs intended for 
human use. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2509. Prescription Devices 

A. In the interest of public health, safety, and welfare, the 
board may, from time to time, restrict the sale of certain 
devices to be dispensed only by a licensed pharmacist after a 
legitimate medical need has been demonstrated. A legitimate 
medical need includes the prevention of the transmission of 
communicable diseases. 

B. Pharmacy Device. A pharmacy device is an 
instrument, apparatus, implement, machine, contrivance, 
implant, in vitro reagent, or other similar or related article, 
including any component or accessory, which is required 
under federal law to bear the label "Caution: Federal or State 
law requires dispensing by or on the order of a physician." 
and/or "Rx Only", or other designation of similar import. 

1. Hypodermic Apparatus. Hypodermic means any 
syringe, needle, instrument, device, or implement intended 
or capable of being adopted for the purpose of administering 
drugs by subcutaneous, intramuscular, or intravenous 
injection. 

a. Sale. Hypodermic syringes and/or needles shall 
be sold or distributed only by a licensed pharmacist, 
physician, dentist, veterinarian, podiatrist, embalmer, drug 
wholesaler, surgical supplier, or other legally authorized 
distributor. 

b. Storage. Hypodermic syringes and/or needles 
shall be stored in the prescription department or in another 
secure area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 

Subchapter B. Prescriptions 
§2511. Prescriptions 

A. Definitions. As used in this chapter, the following 
terms shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this 
section: 

Electronic PrescriptionCa prescription transmitted in 
electronic form. 

Practice AffiliationCa practice relationship, 
collaboration, or practice under the supervision of a 
physician licensed to practice medicine. 

Prescription or Prescription Drug OrderCan order from 
a practitioner authorized by law to prescribe for a drug or 
device that is patient specific and is communicated by any 
means to a pharmacist in a permitted pharmacy, and is to be 
preserved on file as required by law or regulation. 

B. Written Prescriptions. A written prescription shall 
conform to the following format. 

1. The prescription form shall not be less than four 
inches by five inches, and shall bear a single printed 
signature line. 

2. The prescription form shall clearly indicate the 
authorized prescriber's name, licensure designation, address, 
telephone number, and, if applicable, Drug Enforcement 
Administration (DEA) registration number. In the event that 
multiple practitioners are identified on the prescription form, 
the authorizing prescriber's specific identity shall be clear 
and unambiguous. This identification may be indicated by 
any means, including but not limited to, a marked check box 
next to, or circling the authorizing prescriber's printed name. 

3. If the authorized prescriber is a non-physician, the 
prescription form shall clearly indicate the authorized 
prescriber's practice affiliation. The affiliated physician’s 
name, address, and telephone number shall appear on the 
prescription form. 

4. No prescription form shall contain more than four 
prescription drug orders. Each prescription drug order on the 
form shall provide the following: 

a. check box labeled "Dispense as Written", or 
"DAW", or both; and 

b. the number of refills, if any. 
5. Forms used by pharmacists to record telephoned or 

transferred prescriptions are exempt from the format 
requirements listed above. 

6. Equivalent Drug Product Interchange 
a. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent 

drug product when the prescriber handwrites a mark in the 
check box labeled "Dispense as Written", or "DAW", or 
both, and personally handwrites his signature on a printed 
single signature line. Otherwise, the pharmacist may select 
an equivalent drug product, provided the patient has been 
informed of, and has consented to, the proposed cost saving 
interchange. 

b. In the event an authorized prescriber has 
indicated that an equivalent drug product interchange is 
prohibited by handwriting a mark in the check box labeled 
"Dispense as Written", or "DAW", or both, then a non-
licensed, non-certified, or non-registered agent of the 
pharmacy shall not inquire as to a patient’s desire for an 
equivalent drug product interchange. 
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c. For prescriptions reimbursable by Medicaid or 
Medicare, the authorized prescriber may only prohibit 
equivalent drug product interchange by handwriting the 
words "brand necessary" or "brand medically necessary" on 
the face of the prescription order or on a sheet attached to 
the prescription order. 

C. Oral Prescriptions 
1. Upon the receipt of an oral prescription from an 

authorized prescriber, the pharmacist shall reduce the order 
to a written form prior to dispensing the medication. 

2. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent drug 
product when the authorized prescriber or his agent has 
verbally indicated a specific brand name drug or product is 
ordered. 

3. The pharmacist may select an equivalent drug 
product if the authorized prescriber or his agent has given 
his approval to the equivalent drug product interchange. The 
patient shall be informed of, and consent to, the proposed 
cost saving interchange. 

D. Electronic Prescriptions 
1. The prescription shall clearly indicate the 

authorized prescriber's name, licensure designation, address, 
telephone number, and if applicable, DEA registration 
number. 

2. If the authorized prescriber is a non-physician, the 
prescription form shall clearly indicate the authorized 
prescriber's practice affiliation. The affiliated physician’s 
name, address, and telephone number shall appear on the 
prescription form. 

3. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent drug 
product when the prescriber indicates in the check box 
labeled "Dispense as Written", or "DAW", or both, and 
electronically transmits his signature on the formatted single 
signature line. Otherwise, the pharmacist may select an 
equivalent drug product, provided the patient has been 
informed of, and consents to, the proposed cost saving 
interchange. 

4. Facsimile Prescription 
a. The receiving facsimile machine of a prescription 

transmitted by facsimile shall be located within the 
pharmacy department. 

b. The prescription transmitted by facsimile shall be 
on a non-fading legible medium. 

c. All requirements applicable to written 
prescriptions in Subsection B shall apply to facsimile 
prescriptions, except Subparagraph B.6.c. 

E. Exclusion. The provisions of this section shall not 
apply to medical orders written for patients in facilities 
licensed by the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2513. Prescription Receipt and Verification 

A. Receipt of a Prescription 
1. Written. A pharmacist may receive and dispense a 

prescription that has been written and/or signed by the 
practitioner. 

2. Oral. A pharmacist may receive and dispense a 
prescription that has been orally communicated by the 
practitioner when the prescription has been reduced to hard 
copy. 

3. Electronic Transmission. A pharmacist may receive 
a prescription via electronic or other means, and then reduce 
to hard copy, if necessary. 

B. Verification. Verification of the accuracy and 
authenticity of any prescription is the responsibility of the 
pharmacist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2515. Prescriptions Based Upon Electronic 

Questionnaires 
A. A prescription issued solely on the results of answers 

to an electronic questionnaire, in the absence of a 
documented patient evaluation including a physical 
examination, is issued outside the context of a valid 
physician-patient relationship, and is not a valid prescription. 

B. If a pharmacist has reasons to suspect that a 
prescription was authorized solely on the results of an 
electronic questionnaire and in the absence of a documented 
patient evaluation including a physical examination, the 
pharmacist shall ascertain if that practitioner’s standard of 
practice allows that practitioner to authorize a prescription 
under such circumstances. Reasons to suspect that a 
prescription may have been authorized in the absence of a 
valid physician-patient relationship, or in violation of the 
practitioner's standard of practice, include: 

1. the number of prescriptions authorized on a daily 
basis by the practitioner; 

2. the manner in which the prescriptions are 
authorized by the practitioner or received by the pharmacy, 
i.e., electronically; 

3. the geographical distance between the practitioner 
and the patient(s); 

4. knowledge by the pharmacist that the prescription 
was issued solely as a result of answers to an electronic 
questionnaire; or 

5. knowledge by the pharmacist that the pharmacy he 
works for directly or indirectly participates in an internet site 
that markets prescription drugs to the public. 

C. A pharmacist who has reasons to suspect that a 
prescription may have been authorized in the absence of a 
valid physician-patient relationship, or otherwise in violation 
of the prescriber's standard of practice, shall not fill such 
prescription until he has obtained proof to a reasonable 
certainty of the validity of such prescription. 

D. A pharmacist who dispenses prescription drugs in 
violation of this section is not acting in the best interest of 
the patient and is dispensing outside the course of the 
professional practice of pharmacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2517. Prescription Dispensing 

A. Prescription dispensing means the issuance, by a 
licensed pharmacist, of one or more doses of medication in a 
suitable container, properly labeled for subsequent 
administration, and shall consist of the following procedures 
or practices: 
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1. receiving and interpretation of the prescription 
order; 

2. assembling the drug products and an appropriate 
container; 

3. preparing the prescription by compounding, 
mixing, counting, or pouring; 

4. affixing the proper label to the final container; 
5. patient counseling as required; and 
6. transfer of possession. 

B. Unless otherwise allowed by law, drugs dispensed on 
prescription to a patient shall not be accepted for return, 
exchange, or re-dispensing by any pharmacist or pharmacy 
after such drugs have been removed from the pharmacy 
premises where they were dispensed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2519. Prescription Refills 

A. Refill Authorization. Prescription refills may be 
dispensed only with the prescriber’s authorization, as 
indicated on the original prescription order. In the absence of 
the authorized practitioner’s instructions on the original 
prescription, the prescription shall be considered non-
refillable. When all refills authorized on the original 
prescription have been dispensed, then authorization from 
the prescribing practitioner shall be obtained prior to 
dispensing. 

B. Controlled Dangerous Substances 
1. The refilling of a prescription for a drug listed in 

Schedule II is prohibited. 
2. A prescription for a drug listed in Schedule III, IV, 

or V may be refilled up to five times, if so indicated at the 
time issued.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2521. Emergency Refills 

A. Using sound professional judgment, a pharmacist may 
dispense adequate medication for a 72-hour regimen when 
an emergency for medication has been adequately 
demonstrated and the prescribing practitioner is not 
available. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2523. Transfer of Prescription Information 

A. The transfer of original and subsequent prescription 
information, for the purpose of refill dispensing, is 
permissible between pharmacies, subject to the following 
requirements and/or limitations: 

1. The transfer of original prescription information for 
controlled dangerous substances listed in Schedules III, IV, 
or V between pharmacies is permissible on a one-time basis. 

2. The transfer of prescription information for drugs 
not listed on Schedules II, III, IV, or V is permissible 
between pharmacies. 

B. The required electronic record keeping system shall 
have a mechanism to prohibit the transfer of prescriptions 

for controlled dangerous substances that have been 
previously transferred, unless the pharmacy can 
electronically access the prescription drug records at the 
pharmacy from which the transfer is requested. 

C. The original prescription that has been transferred 
shall be invalidated in the system for purposes of refilling, 
unless other pharmacies may electronically access the 
prescription drug records for purposes of transfer. All 
required information shall be maintained for a minimum of 
two years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2525. Prescription Expiration 

A. A prescription for a drug other than a controlled 
dangerous substance shall expire one year after the date 
written, or when its originally indicated refills have been 
dispensed, whichever occurs first. 

B. A prescription for a controlled dangerous substance 
listed in Schedule II, III, IV, or V shall expire six months 
after the date written. 

C. Expired prescriptions shall not be refillable or 
renewable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2527. Prescription Labeling 

A. An appropriate label shall be affixed to a proper 
container, and shall bear the following minimum 
information: 

1. pharmacy's name, address, and telephone number; 
2. prescription number; 
3. authorized prescriber's name; 
4. patient's name; 
5. date dispensed; 
6. drug name and strength; 
7. directions for use, as indicated; 
8. pharmacist's name or initials; and 
9. cautionary auxiliary labels, if applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2529. Pharmacy Prepackaging 

A. Prepackaging is the preparation of medication in a 
unit-of-use container by a pharmacist in a pharmacy prior to 
the receipt of a prescription for ultimate prescription 
dispensing by a pharmacist in Louisiana. 

B. Labeling. The label on the prepackaged container 
shall contain the following minimum information: 

1. drug name; 
2. dosage form; 
3. strength; 
4. quantity; 
5. name of manufacturer and/or distributor; 
6. manufacturer's lot or batch number; 
7. date of preparation; 
8. pharmacist's initials; and 
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9. expiration date according to United States 
Pharmacopeia (USP) guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Compounding of Drugs 
§2531. Purpose and Scope 

A. Purpose. The rules of this subchapter describe the 
requirements of minimum current good compounding 
practices for the preparation of drug products by Louisiana-
licensed pharmacists for dispensing and/or administration to 
patients. 

B. Scope. These requirements are intended to apply to all 
compounded products, sterile and non-sterile, regardless of 
the location of the patient, e.g., home, hospital, nursing 
home, hospice, or physician’s office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2533. Definitions 

A. As used in this subchapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning ascribed to them in this section. 

Biological Safety CabinetCa containment unit suitable 
for the preparation of low to moderate risk agents where 
there is a need for protection of the product, personnel, and 
environment, according to National Sanitation Foundation 
(NSF) Standard 49, or its successor. 

Class 100 EnvironmentCan atmospheric environment 
that contains fewer than 100 particles, of the size 0.5 
microns or less in diameter, per cubic foot of air, according 
to Federal Standard 209E, or its successor. 

ComponentanC ingredient used in the compounding of 
a drug product. 

CompoundingCthe preparation, mixing, assembling, 
packaging, or labeling of a drug or device by a pharmacist 
for his patient as the result of a practitioner’s prescription 
drug order or initiative based on the 
practitioner/patient/pharmacist relationship in the course of 
professional practice, or including the preparation of drugs 
or devices in anticipation of prescription orders to be 
received by the compounding pharmacist based on routine, 
regularly observed prescribing patterns. Compounding does 
not include the compounding of drug products that are 
essentially copies of a commercially available product. 

CytotoxicCany pharmaceutical that has the capability of 
killing living cells. 

Practitioner Administered CompoundsCproducts 
compounded by a licensed pharmacist, upon the medical 
order of a licensed prescriber for administration by a 
prescriber for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 

Sterile CompoundingCcompounding performed using 
established aseptic technique and utilizing a laminar air flow 
hood or other device capable of providing a sterile 
compounding environment. Sterile compounding shall be 
used when compounding parenteral medications or products, 
ophthalmic preparations, or any other preparation requiring 
sterile techniques. 

Sterile ProductCany dosage form devoid of viable 
microorganisms including, but not limited to, parenterals, 
injectables, and ophthalmics. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2535. General Standards  

A. Compounding Practices. Compounded medications 
may be prepared using prescription medications, over-the-
counter medications, chemicals, compounds, or other 
components. 

1. A pharmacy shall have written procedures as 
necessary for the compounding of drug products to assure 
that the finished products have the identity, strength, quality, 
and purity they are represented to possess. 

2. All compounding shall be accomplished utilizing 
accepted pharmacy techniques, practices, and equipment. 

3. Products or duplicates of products removed from 
the market for the purposes of safety shall not be used to 
compound prescriptions for human use. 

B. Beyond Use Date. Compounded medications shall be 
labeled with a beyond use date of no more than 180 days, 
unless documentation on file supports a longer beyond use 
date. 

C. Records and Reports. Any procedures or other records 
required to comply with this section shall be maintained for 
a minimum of two years. 

D. Compounding for Prescriber's Use. Pharmacists may 
prepare practitioner administered compounds for a 
prescriber's use with the following requirements: 

1. an order by the prescriber indicating the formula 
and quantity ordered to be compounded by the pharmacist; 

2. the product is to be administered by the prescriber 
and not dispensed to the patient; and 

3. the pharmacist shall generate a label and sequential 
identification number for the compounded drug. 

E. Anticipated Use Products. The pharmacist shall label 
any excess compounded product so as to reference it to the 
formula used and the assigned lot number and estimated 
beyond use date based on the pharmacist’s professional 
judgment and/or other appropriate testing or published data. 

F. Labeling of Compounded Products 
1. For patient-specific compounded products, the 

labeling requirements of R.S. 37:1225, or its successor, as 
well as this chapter, shall apply. 

2. All practitioner administered compounds shall be 
packaged in a suitable container with a label containing, at a 
minimum, the following information: 

1. pharmacy’s name, address, and telephone number; 
2. practitioner’s name; 
3. name of preparation; 
4. strength and concentration; 
5. lot number; 
6. beyond use date; 
7. special storage requirements, if applicable; 
8. assigned identification number; and 
9. pharmacist’s name or initials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 23:1316 (October 1997), amended LR 29: 
§2537. Requirements for Compounding of Sterile 

Products 
A. Board Notification. An applicant or pharmacy permit 

holder who wishes to engage in the practice of sterile 
product compounding shall notify the board prior to 
beginning that practice, and shall receive approval from the 
board.  

B. Personnel 
1. The pharmacist-in-charge shall be responsible for 

the following: 
a. procurement, storage, compounding, labeling, 

dispensing, and distribution of all prescription drugs, 
devices, and related materials necessary in compounding and 
dispensing sterile products; 

b. establishment of policies and procedures for the 
compounding and dispensing of sterile products. The policy 
and procedure manual shall be current, accessible to all staff, 
and available for inspection by the board upon request. The 
policy and procedure manual shall, at a minimum, include: 
 i. policies and procedures for the compounding 
and dispensing of sterile products; 
 ii. a quality assurance program for the purpose of 
monitoring patient care, adverse drug reactions, personnel 
qualifications, training and performance, product integrity, 
equipment, record keeping, facilities, infection control; 
 iii. guidelines regarding patient education; and 
 iv. procedures for the handling and disposal of 
cytotoxic agents, waste, and spills; 

c. documentation of competency in aseptic 
techniques. The aseptic technique of each individual 
compounding and dispensing sterile products shall be 
observed and evaluated as satisfactory during orientation and 
training, and at least on an annual basis thereafter. 

2. Training and Education. All individuals 
compounding and preparing sterile products shall: 

a. obtain practical and/or academic training in the 
compounding and dispensing of sterile products; 

b. complete a minimum of one hour of American 
Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) or board-
approved continuing education, on an annual basis, related 
to sterile product compounding, dispensing, and utilization; 

c. use proper aseptic technique in all sterile product 
compounding as defined by the pharmacy practice site’s 
policy and procedure manual; 

d. qualify through an appropriate combination of 
specific training and experience to operate or manipulate any 
item of equipment, apparatus, or device to which such 
persons will be assigned to use to compound and dispense 
sterile products; and 

e. maintain in the pharmacy practice site a written 
record of initial and subsequent training and competency 
evaluations. The record shall contain the following minimum 
information: 
 i. name of the individual receiving the 
training/evaluation; 
 ii. date of the training/evaluation; 
 iii. general description of the topics covered; 
 iv. signature of the individual receiving the 
training/evaluation; and 

 v. name and signature of the individual providing 
the training/evaluation. 

C. Physical Requirements 
1. The pharmacy shall have a designated area with 

entry restricted to designated personnel for preparing sterile 
products, and the designated area shall be: 

a. structurally isolated from other areas with 
restricted entry or access and shall be configured in such a 
manner so as to avoid unnecessary traffic and airflow 
disturbances from activity within the controlled facility; 

b. used only for the preparation of these sterile 
products; and 

c. sufficient in size to accommodate a laminar air 
flow hood or other device capable of providing a sterile 
compounding environment and to provide for the proper 
storage of drugs and supplies under appropriate conditions 
of temperature, light, moisture, sanitation, ventilation, and 
security. 

2. The pharmacy where sterile products are prepared 
shall have: 

a. a sink with hot and cold running water that shall 
be located in, or adjacent to, the area where sterile products 
are compounded; 

b. appropriate environmental control devices 
capable of maintaining at least Class 100 environment in the 
workplace where critical objects are exposed and critical 
operations are performed. These devices, e.g., laminar air 
flow hoods, and other zonal laminar flow hoods utilizing 
High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filters, shall be 
capable of maintaining Class 100 conditions during normal 
activity; 

c. appropriate refrigeration for storing supplies and 
sterile products requiring refrigeration subsequent to their 
preparation and prior to their dispensing or administration to 
patients. The pharmacy shall maintain documentation of 
refrigeration integrity, in accordance with its policies and 
procedures. 

d. appropriate disposal containers for used needles, 
syringes, and other sharps, and if applicable, for cytotoxic 
waste from the preparation of chemotherapy agents and 
infectious wastes from patients’ homes; and 

e. temperature-controlled delivery containers, when 
required. 

3. The pharmacy shall maintain supplies adequate to 
ensure an environment suitable for the aseptic preparation of 
sterile products. Within the sterile compounding area, 
prescription drugs, devices, and related materials shall not be 
stored in shipping containers constructed of corrugated 
cardboard or other high particulate-producing materials. 

4. The pharmacy shall maintain current reference 
materials related to sterile products accessible to all 
personnel. 

D. Drug Handling. Any sterile compounded product shall 
be shipped or delivered to a patient in appropriate 
temperature-controlled delivery containers as defined by 
USP standards and appropriately stored. 

E. Cytotoxic Drugs. In addition to the minimum 
standards for a pharmacy established by the board, the 
following requirements are established for pharmacies that 
prepare cytotoxic drugs, to insure the protection of the 
personnel involved. 
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1. All cytotoxic drugs shall be compounded in a 
vertical flow, Class II Biological Safety Cabinet. Other 
products shall not be compounded in this cabinet. 

2. Personnel compounding cytotoxic drugs shall wear 
protective apparel, including disposable masks, gloves, and 
gowns with tight cuffs. 

3. Personnel compounding cytotoxic drugs shall use 
appropriate safety and containment techniques. 

4. Prepared doses of cytotoxic drugs shall: 
a. be dispensed and labeled with proper precautions 

on the inner and outer containers or other device capable of 
providing a sterile environment; and 

b. be shipped in a manner to minimize the risk of 
accidental rupture of the primary container. 

5. Disposal of cytotoxic waste shall comply with all 
applicable federal, state, and local requirements. 

6. A "Chemo Spill Kit" shall be readily available in 
the work area, and shall consist of appropriate materials 
needed to clean up spills of hazardous drugs. Personnel shall 
be trained in its appropriate use for handling both minor and 
major spills of cytotoxic agents. 

F. Quality Control 
1. An ongoing quality control program shall be 

maintained and documented that monitors personnel 
performance, equipment, and facilities. Appropriate samples 
of finished products shall be examined to assure that the 
pharmacy is capable of consistently preparing sterile 
products meeting specifications. 

a. All clean rooms and laminar flow hoods shall be 
certified by an independent contractor according to federal 
standards for operational efficiency at least every six 
months. Appropriate certification records shall be 
maintained. 

b. Written procedures shall be developed requiring 
sampling if/when microbial contamination is suspected. 

c. When bulk compounding of sterile solutions is 
performed using non-sterile chemicals, extensive end-
product testing shall be documented prior to the release of 
the product from quarantine. This process shall include 
appropriate tests for particulate matter and testing for 
pyrogens. 

d. Written justification shall be maintained of the 
chosen "beyond use" dates for compounded products. 

e. Documentation shall be maintained of quality 
control audits at regular, planned intervals, including 
infection control and sterile technique audits. 

G. Labeling 
1. All practitioner administered sterile compounds 

shall be packaged in a suitable container, and shall bear a 
label with the following minimum information: 

a. pharmacy's name, address, and telephone 
number; 

b. preparation name; 
c. strength and concentration; 
d. lot number; 
e. beyond use date; 
f. practitioner’s name; 
g. assigned identification number; 
h. special storage requirements, if applicable; and 
i. pharmacist's name or initials. 

2. The labeling for all other sterile compounds shall 
be in accordance with the prescription labeling requirements 
in §1125 of this chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Subchapter D. Controlled Dangerous Substances 
§2539. Controlled Dangerous Substances (CDS) 

A. Purpose. The purpose of this section is to prevent the 
diversion of controlled dangerous substances by prohibiting 
the manufacturing, distributing, dispensing, or administering 
of controlled dangerous substances not in the usual course of 
professional practice. 

B. Classification. Controlled dangerous substances are 
specifically identified by reference, as provided in R.S. 
40:961 et seq., or its successor, and 21 CFR §1308 et seq., or 
its successor. Schedules I, II, III, IV, and V shall, unless and 
until added to pursuant to R.S. 40:961 et seq., or its 
successor, consist of the drugs or other substances, by 
whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical 
name, or trade name designated, listed in R.S. 40:961 et seq., 
or its successor. 

C. Definition and Composition. Controlled dangerous 
substances are categorized into various schedules based 
upon the degrees of potential for abuse, as follows: 

1. Schedule I: 
a. the drug or other substance has a high potential 

for abuse; 
b. the drug or other substance has no currently 

accepted medical use in treatment in the United States; and 
c. there is a lack of accepted safety for use of the 

drug or other substance under medical supervision. 
2. Schedule II: 

a. the drug or other substance has a high potential 
for abuse; 

b. the drug or other substance has a currently 
accepted medical use in treatment in the United States, or a 
currently accepted medical use with severe restrictions; and 

c. abuse of the drug or other substance may lead to 
severe psychological or physical dependence. 

3. Schedule III: 
a. the drug or other substance has a potential for 

abuse less than the drugs or other substances listed in 
Schedules I and II; 

b. the drug or other substance has a currently 
accepted medical use in treatment in the United States; and 

c. abuse of the drug or other substance may lead to 
moderate or low physical dependence or high psychological 
dependence. 

4. Schedule IV: 
a. the drug or other substance has a low potential 

for abuse relative to the drugs or other substances listed in 
Schedule III; 

b. the drug or other substance has a currently 
accepted medical use in treatment in the United States; and 

c. abuse of the drug or other substance may lead to 
limited psychological or physical dependence relative to the 
drugs or other substances listed in Schedule III. 
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5. Schedule V: 
a. the drug or other substance has a low potential 

for abuse relative to the drugs or other substances listed in 
Schedule IV; 

b. the drug or other substance has a currently 
accepted medical use in treatment in the United States; and 

c. abuse of the drug or other substance may lead to 
limited psychological or physical dependence relative to the 
drugs or other substances listed in Schedule IV. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2541. CDS License Requirements 

A. A pharmacy shall apply to the board in order to 
receive a license to dispense controlled dangerous 
substances. 

1. Initial Application. The Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy Controlled Dangerous Substance license shall be 
applied for by an applicant on the board application form 
and approved by the board prior to opening any pharmacy 
having controlled dangerous substances. 

2. Renewal. The CDS license shall be renewed 
annually. A CDS license that has not been renewed by 
December 31 of each year shall expire and be null and void. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2543. CDS Prescription/Order Requirements 

A. Controlled Dangerous Substance Prescription Form. 
1. Prescriptions for controlled dangerous substances 

shall be written or reduced to writing with ink, indelible 
pencil, printed, or electronically generated, and shall bear the 
following minimum information: 

a. patient information: 
 i. full name; and 
 ii. address; 

b. practitioner information: 
 i. full name; 
 ii. address; 
 iii. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 
registration number; and 
 iv. original handwritten signature for drugs listed 
in Schedule II; 

c. drug information: 
 i. name; 
 ii. dosage form; 
 iii. strength; 
 iv. quantity prescribed; and 
 v. directions for use. 

2. All prescriptions for controlled dangerous 
substances shall be dated as of, and signed on, the day when 
issued. 

B. Prescriptions for Drugs Listed in Schedule II 
1. Prescriptions for drugs listed in Schedule II shall be 

signed by an authorized practitioner. 
2. Prescriptions for drugs listed in Schedule II shall 

not be filled beyond six months after the date of issue. 
3. Authorization for Emergency Dispensing. A 

pharmacist may dispense a prescription for a drug listed in 

Schedule II in the case of an emergency situation upon a 
prescribing practitioner’s verbal authorization within the 
following limitations: 

a. Emergency. An emergency situation exists when: 
 i. administration is necessary for immediate 
treatment; 
 ii. an appropriate alternate treatment is not 
available; and 
 iii. the prescribing practitioner cannot reasonably 
provide a written prescription. 

b. Adequate Regimen. The pharmacist shall 
dispense a limited amount of the drug required to treat the 
patient during the emergency period. 

c. Reduced to Writing. An oral prescription in an 
emergency situation shall be immediately reduced to writing, 
in proper form, with the required information, by the 
dispensing pharmacist with the dispensing pharmacist’s 
signature. 

d. Verification. A pharmacist shall verify the 
authenticity of an oral prescription for a drug listed in 
Schedule II. If the prescribing practitioner is not known to 
the pharmacist, he shall make a reasonable effort to 
determine that the oral authorization came from an 
authorized practitioner. Such efforts may include, but are not 
limited to, a callback to the prescribing practitioner, and/or 
other good faith efforts to insure the practitioner’s authority 
is valid. 

e. Prescription Retrieval. A written prescription for 
the drug listed in Schedule II, signed by the authorized 
practitioner, in proper form with the required information, 
shall be delivered to the dispensing pharmacist from the 
practitioner within seven days from the date the oral 
prescription was issued. The written prescription may be 
delivered to the pharmacist in person or by mail, but if 
delivered by mail it shall be postmarked within the seven-
day period. Upon receipt, the dispensing pharmacist shall 
attach this prescription to the oral emergency prescription 
that had earlier been reduced to writing. The pharmacist 
shall notify the nearest office of the DEA if the prescribing 
practitioner fails to deliver a written prescription within the 
specified time frame. 

4. Refills Prohibited. The refilling of a prescription for 
a drug listed in Schedule II is prohibited. 

5. Prescriptions Received Via Facsimile. A 
practitioner or the practitioner’s agent may transmit a 
prescription written for a drug listed in Schedule II to a 
pharmacy via facsimile equipment, provided that the original 
signed prescription is presented to the pharmacist for review 
prior to the actual dispensing of the prescription, unless one 
of the following exceptions applies: 

a. A prescription written for a drug listed in 
Schedule II to be compounded for direct administration to a 
patient by parenteral, intravenous, intramuscular, 
subcutaneous, or intraspinal infusion may be transmitted by 
the practitioner or practitioner’s agent to the dispensing 
pharmacy by facsimile. The facsimile may serve as the 
original written prescription. 

b. A prescription written for a drug listed in 
Schedule II for a resident of a long-term care facility may be 
transmitted by the practitioner or practitioner’s agent to the 
dispensing pharmacy by facsimile. The facsimile may serve 
as the original written prescription. 
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c. A prescription written for a drug listed in 
Schedule II for a hospice or terminally ill patient may be 
transmitted by the practitioner or practitioner’s agent to the 
dispensing pharmacy. The practitioner or the practitioner’s 
agent shall note on the prescription that the patient is a 
hospice or terminally ill patient. The facsimile may serve as 
the original written prescription. 

6. Partial Filling. The partial filling of a prescription 
for a drug listed in Schedule II is permissible if the 
pharmacist is unable to supply the full quantity prescribed in 
a written or emergency oral prescription and the pharmacist 
makes a notation of the quantity supplied on the face of the 
written prescription or written record of the oral emergency 
prescription. 

a. The remaining portion of the prescription may be 
filled within seventy-two hours of the first partial filling. 
However, if the remaining portion is not filled within the 
seventy-two hour period, the pharmacist shall notify the 
prescribing practitioner. 

b. No further quantity may be supplied beyond 
seventy-two hours without a new prescription. 

c. Partial Filling for Patient of Long-Term Care 
Facility or for Patient with Terminal Illness. A prescription 
for a drug listed in Schedule II for a patient in a long-term 
care facility or for a patient with a terminal illness may be 
filled in partial quantities.  
 i. For each partial filling, the dispensing 
pharmacist shall record on the prescription whether the 
patient resides in a long-term care facility or has a terminal 
illness, and then record on the back of the prescription (or on 
another appropriate record, uniformly maintained, and 
readily retrievable) the following information: 

(a). the date of the partial filling; 
(b). quantity dispensed; and 
(c). name or initials of the dispensing 

pharmacist. 
 ii. The remaining portion may be filled within 
sixty days of the first partial filling. However, if the 
remaining portion is not filled within the sixty-day period, 
the pharmacist shall notify the prescribing practitioner. 
 iii. No further quantity may be supplied beyond 
the sixty-day period without a new prescription. 

7. Completion of Prescription. After consultation with 
the prescribing practitioner, and the appropriate 
documentation thereof, a pharmacist may complete, but not 
alter, a prescription. 

a. A pharmacist may complete the following 
information on a prescription: 
 i. patient's address; 
 ii. drug strength; 
 iii. drug quantity; and/or 
 iv. directions for use. 

b. A pharmacist may add the following information 
to a prescription: 
 i. patient's address; 
 ii. drug dosage form; and/or 
 iii. prescriber's DEA registration number. 

c. A pharmacist shall not make changes to the 
following information on a prescription: 
 i. patient's name; 
 ii. date of issue; 

 iii. drug name, except for generic interchange as 
allowed by law; or 
 iv. practitioner signature. 

C. Prescriptions for Drugs Listed in Schedules III, IV, or 
V. Prescriptions for drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, or V 
may be dispensed upon receipt of oral, written, or electronic 
prescriptions of an authorized practitioner. 

1. Oral Prescriptions for Drugs Listed in Schedules 
III, IV, or V. Oral prescriptions shall be promptly reduced to 
writing with the required information. 

2. Refilling of Prescriptions for Drugs Listed in 
Schedules III, IV, or V. Such prescriptions are refillable, with 
appropriate authorization. 

3. Prescription Form for Drugs Listed in Schedules 
III, IV, or V. Such prescriptions shall conform to the 
following requirements. 

a. Refill Authority. A practitioner shall orally 
approve or inscribe refill instructions on the face of the 
prescription. In the absence of specific refill instructions, the 
prescription is not refillable. 

b. Refill Period. Such prescriptions shall not be 
refilled more than the number of times authorized by the 
prescribing practitioner, and in no case shall they be refilled 
more than five times within six months of the date of issue. 
Such prescriptions shall expire and become null and void six 
months after the date of issue, or after five authorized refills, 
whichever occurs first. 

c. Partial Filling. Partial filling of such prescriptions 
is permissible, provided that: 
 i. each partial filling is recorded in the same 
manner as a refill; 
 ii. the total quantity dispensed in all partial 
fillings does not exceed the total quantity prescribed; and 
 iii. no dispensing shall occur after six months 
beyond the date of issue. 

d. Refill Records. The dispensing pharmacist shall 
note in the required electronic record keeping system refill 
information, indicating the date, with quantity or variation of 
quantity dispensed, and pharmacist’s name or initials. 

D. Labeling of Dispensed Controlled Dangerous 
Substances. In addition to the labeling requirements 
enumerated in Chapter 11 of these regulations, a prescription 
label for a controlled dangerous substance shall include the 
federal transfer caution label. 

E. CDS Prescription Files. Prescription files for 
controlled dangerous substances shall be maintained on the 
pharmacy premises. 

1. Prescription Files for Drugs Listed in Schedule II. 
Such prescriptions shall be maintained separately from other 
prescriptions, and shall contain the name or initials of the 
dispensing pharmacist. 

2. Prescription Files for Drugs Listed in Schedules III, 
IV, or V. Such prescriptions shall be maintained separately 
from other prescriptions, or in the alternative, may be filed 
in numerical sequence with either prescriptions for drugs 
listed in Schedule II, or all other prescriptions. The name, or 
initials, of the dispensing pharmacist, as well as the 
dispensing date, shall be placed on, or attached to, the 
prescription. 

3. Prescription files for all controlled dangerous 
substances shall be maintained in readily available and 
retrievable manner. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2545. CDS Dispensing 

A. Controlled dangerous substances shall only be 
dispensed by a licensed pharmacist at a permitted pharmacy 
in the usual course of professional practice pursuant to a 
valid prescription or order. A valid prescription or order is a 
prescription or order issued for a legitimate medical purpose 
by a practitioner acting in the usual course of his 
professional practice. 

B. Professional Conduct. A license, registration, 
certification, permit, or any other designation deemed 
necessary to practice, or assist in the practice, of pharmacy 
may be subject to discipline when deviating from primary or 
corresponding responsibility to avert the following 
prohibited acts. 

1. Primary Responsibility 
a. Drug Diversion. Attempted, actual or conspired 

dispensing, distributing, administering, or manufacturing of 
a controlled dangerous substance not pursuant to a valid 
prescription or order while acting in the course of 
professional pharmacy practice is prohibited. 

b. Possession. Actual or conspired possession of a 
controlled dangerous substance not pursuant to a valid 
prescription or order issued for a legitimate medical purpose 
by an authorized practitioner in the usual course of 
professional practice. 

2. Corresponding Responsibility 
a. Medical Purpose. The prescribing practitioner 

has the primary responsibility to issue a prescription for a 
controlled dangerous substance for a legitimate medical 
purpose, but a corresponding responsibility rests with the 
pharmacist dispensing said prescription to ascertain that said 
prescription was issued for a legitimate medical purpose in 
the usual course of professional practice. 

b. Authenticity. A pharmacist shall exercise sound 
professional judgment to ascertain the validity of 
prescriptions for controlled dangerous substances. If, in the 
pharmacist's professional judgment, a prescription is not 
valid, that pharmacist shall not dispense said prescription. 

3. Forged Prescriptions. It is unlawful for a pharmacist 
to forge a prescription, or to dispense a forged prescription, 
for a controlled dangerous substance. The pharmacist shall 
exercise professional diligence in determining the validity of 
a prescription as to the practitioner’s authority and/or 
patient's identity, in order to prevent misrepresentation, 
fraud, deception, subterfuge, conspiracy, or diversion of 
controlled dangerous substances. 

4. Altered Prescriptions. It is unlawful for a 
pharmacist to personally alter a prescription, or to dispense 
an altered prescription, for a controlled dangerous substance, 
except as provided by law or this chapter. 

C. Accountability. The pharmacist-in-charge, the 
registrant/permittee, and/or other designated responsible 
parties, shall be accountable for shortages of controlled 
dangerous substances or inconsistencies indicated in an 
audit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2547. CDS Record Keeping 

A. The permittee shall maintain readily retrievable, 
complete, and accurate transaction records, as follows: 

1. DEA order forms; 
2. receiving invoices such that invoices for drugs 

listed in Schedule II shall be maintained separately, but 
invoices for drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, and V may be 
maintained with general records provided they are readily 
retrievable; 

3. prescription files; and 
4. inventory records of all controlled dangerous 

substances, including the initial, annual, and current 
inventory. 

B. Inventory Records. Such records shall be complete 
and reflect an accurate accounting of all transactions 
involving controlled dangerous substances. 

1. Content. The record shall reflect the following 
information: 

a. drug name, strength, and correct accounting 
supported with invoices, prescriptions, and/or transfers; 

b. permittee name; 
c. permittee’s DEA registration number; 
d. date of inventory, including whether taken at 

opening or close of business; 
e. time period; 
f. available prior inventory; 
g. signature of pharmacist-in-charge; and 
h. inventory records shall be maintained for two 

years. 
2. Initial Inventory Record. An initial inventory of all 

controlled dangerous substances shall be conducted when 
the permittee commences to dispense prescriptions for 
controlled dangerous substances. 

3. Annual Inventory Record 
a. A complete and accurate physical inventory shall 

be conducted of all drugs listed in Schedule II. 
b. An estimated physical inventory shall be 

conducted of all drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, and V, 
unless the container holds more than 1,000 tablets or 
capsules, in which case an exact inventory shall be made. 

c. The annual inventory may be taken on any date 
that is within one year of the previous inventory date. 

4. Business Termination Inventory. An inventory of all 
controlled dangerous substances shall be taken when a 
permittee’s pharmacy is sold, exchanged, assigned, closed, 
or transferred, with a copy of said inventory mailed to the 
board and the DEA. 

5. Pharmacist-in-Charge Termination Inventory. An 
inventory of all controlled dangerous substances shall be 
conducted by the departing pharmacist-in-charge and 
verified by the succeeding pharmacist-in-charge. 

6. Central Records. A central records depository shall 
be permitted, if approved by both the DEA and the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
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§2549. CDS Theft or Loss 
A. The unexplained substantial loss, disappearance, or 

theft of controlled dangerous substances from a pharmacy 
shall be documented by the permittee. 

1. Inventory. The permittee shall conduct a physical 
inventory of all controlled dangerous substances. 

2. Report. The permittee shall substantiate the loss or 
theft of controlled dangerous substances by completing the 
DEA Form 106CReport of Theft or Loss of Controlled 
Substances, or its successor. 

3. Notice. The permittee shall file the above-
referenced report to the DEA and to the board within 10 days 
of discovery of the theft or loss. 

4. Drug Diversion. The permittee shall report 
diversion of controlled dangerous substances to the board 
within ten days of discovery of the diversion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2551. CDS Returns 

A. A permittee is authorized to return drugs listed in 
Schedule II to a legally authorized supplier or reverse 
distributor, provided that an executed DEA 222 form, or its 
successor, shall be completed by said supplier or reverse 
distributor and maintained by the permittee. 

B. A permittee is authorized to return drugs listed in 
Schedules III, IV, or V to a legally authorized supplies or 
reverse distributor, provided that a written record is 
maintained, including the following information: 

1. the date of the transaction; 
2. the drug name, dosage form, strength, and quantity; 
3. the name, address, and DEA registration number of 

the supplier or reverse distributor; and 
4. the name, address, and DEA registration number of 

the permittee. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 
§2553. CDS Destruction 

A. Destruction. Deteriorated, outdated, recalled, or 
nontransferable drugs shall be inventoried on DEA Form 
41CRegistrants Inventory of Drugs Surrendered, or its 
successor. The registrant shall forward three copies of the 
completed form to the regional DEA office and await DEA's 
instructions on proper procedures. A copy of the inventory 
sent to the regional DEA office shall be sent to the board. 

B. Record Retention. The registrant shall maintain all 
applicable records for a minimum of two years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2555. Pharmacy Termination or Transfer 

A. A permittee discontinuing dispensing of controlled 
dangerous substances shall notify the board and then remove 
the drugs, through return or transfer, to legally authorized 
recipients. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2557. CDS Transfers 

A. Transfer to Practitioner's Office. A permittee may 
dispense or distribute controlled dangerous substances to a 
DEA-registered practitioner for the purpose of administering 
said drug for office use, provided that the following 
conditions are met. 

1. The transfer of drugs listed in Schedule II to a 
DEA-registered practitioner for office use shall require the 
completion of a DEA Form 222, or its successor. 

2. The transfer of drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, or 
V to a DEA-registered practitioner for office use shall 
require a written order, or an oral order reduced to written 
form, and the order shall be maintained with the receiving 
invoices for said drugs. 

B. Transfer Between Pharmacies 
1. The transfer of drugs listed in Schedule II to 

another pharmacy shall require the completion of a DEA 
Form 222, or its successor. 

2. The transfer of drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, or 
V to another pharmacy shall require a written record, 
containing at a minimum, the drug name, strength, and 
dosage form; quantity of drug transferred; and the name, 
address, and DEA registration number of the recipient  
pharmacy. 

C. Limitations. The total number of dosage units of all 
controlled dangerous substance distributed by a permittee 
during a calendar year shall not exceed 5 percent of the total 
number of dosage units of controlled dangerous substances 
procured by the permittee during the same calendar year. 
Should the permittee desire to exceed the 5 percent 
limitation, the permittee shall apply for a distributor's permit 
from the Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 27. Illegal Payments; Required Disclosures of 

Financial Interests 
Subchapter A. General Information 
§2701. Scope and Purpose of Chapter 

A. Scope of Chapter. The rules of this chapter interpret, 
implement, and provide for the enforcement of R.S. 37:1744 
and R.S. 37:1745, or their successors, requiring disclosure of 
a pharmacist's financial interest in another health care 
provider to whom or to which the pharmacist refers a patient 
and prohibiting certain payments in return for referring or 
soliciting patients. 

B. Declaration of Purpose; Interpretation and 
Application. Pharmacists owe a fiduciary duty to patients to 
exercise their professional judgment in the best interests of 
their patients in providing, furnishing, recommending, or 
referring patients for health care items or services. The 
purpose of these rules and the laws they implement is to 
prevent payments by or to a pharmacist as a financial 
incentive for the referral of patients to a pharmacist or other 
health care provider for healthcare services or items. These 
rules shall be interpreted, construed, and applied so as to 
give effect to such purposes and intent. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2703. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms have the 
meaning ascribed to them by this section. 

BoardCthe Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. 
Financial InterestCa significant ownership or 

investment interest established through debt, equity, or other 
means and held, directly or indirectly, by a pharmacist or a 
member of a pharmacist’s immediate family, or any form of 
direct or indirect remuneration for referral. 

Group PracticeCa group of two or more pharmacists 
and/or other health care providers legally organized as a 
general partnership, registered limited liability partnership, 
professional medical corporation, limited liability company, 
foundation, nonprofit corporation, faculty practice plan, or 
similar organization or association: 

a. in which each pharmacist who is a member of the 
group provides substantially the full range of services which 
the pharmacist routinely provides; 

b. for which substantially all of the services of the 
pharmacists who are members of the group are provided 
through the group and are billed under a billing number 
assigned to the group and amounts so received are treated as 
receipts of the group; 

c. in which no pharmacist who is a member of the 
group directly or indirectly receives compensation based on 
the volume or value of referrals by the pharmacist, except 
payment of a share of the overall profits of the group, which 
may include a productivity bonus based on services 
personally performed or services incident to such personally 
performed services, so long as the share of profits or bonus 
is not determined in any manner which is directly related to 
the volume or value of referrals by such pharmacist; and 

d. in the case of a faculty practice plan associated 
with a hospital, institution of higher education, or pharmacy 
school with an approved training program in which 
pharmacist members may provide a variety of different 
specialty services and provide professional services both 
within and outside the group, as well as perform other tasks 
such as research, solely with respect to services provided 
within such faculty practice plan. 

Health Care ItemCany substance, product, device, 
equipment, supplies, or other tangible good or article 

which is or may be used or useful in the provision of 
health care. 

Health Care ProviderCany person, partnership, 
corporation, or association licensed by a department, board, 
commission, or other agency of the state of Louisiana to 
provide, or which does in fact provide preventive, 
diagnostic, or therapeutic health care services or items. 

Immediate FamilyCas respects a pharmacist, the 
pharmacist’s spouse, children, parents, siblings, 

stepchildren, stepparents, in-laws, grandchildren and 
grandparents. 

Investment InterestCa security issued by an entity, 
including, without limitation, shares in a corporation, 
interests in or units of a partnership or limited liability 
company, bonds, debentures, notes, or other debt 
instruments. 

PaymentCtransfer or provision of money, goods, 
services, or anything of economic value. 

PersonCas defined in R.S. 37:1164(33). or its successor. 
PharmacistCany individual currently licensed by the 

board to engage in the practice of pharmacy in the 
state of Louisiana. 
PharmacyCany place where drugs are dispensed and 

pharmacy primary care is provided. 
ReferralCany direction, recommendation, or suggestion 

given by a health care provider to a patient, directly or 
indirectly, which is likely to determine, control, or influence 
the patient’s choice of another health care provider for the 
provision of health care services or items. 

Remuneration for ReferralCany arrangement or 
scheme, involving any remuneration, directly or indirectly, 
in cash or in kind, between a pharmacist, or an immediate 
family member of such pharmacist, and another health care 
provider that is intended to induce referrals by the 
pharmacist to the health care provider or by the health care 
provider to the pharmacist, other than any amount paid by an 
employer to an employee who has a bona fide employment 
relationship with the employer, for employment in the 
furnishing of any health care item or service. 

Significant Financial InterestCan ownership or 
investment interest shall be considered "significant," within 
the meaning of §2713, if such interest satisfies any of the 
following tests: 

a. such interest, in dollar amount or value, 
represents five percent or more of the ownership or 
investment interests of the health care provider in which 
such interest is held; or 

b. such interest represents 5 percent or more of the 
voting securities of the health care provider in which such 
interest is held. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Subchapter B. Illegal Payments 
§2705. Prohibition of Payments for Referrals 

A. A pharmacist or pharmacy shall not knowingly and 
willfully make, or offer to make, any payment, directly or 
indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, to induce 
another person to refer an individual to the pharmacist for 
the furnishing, or arranging for the furnishing, of any health 
care item or service. 

B. A pharmacist or pharmacy shall not knowingly and 
willfully solicit, receive, or accept any payment, directly or 
indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, in return for 
referring a patient to a health care provider for the 
furnishing, or arranging for the furnishing, of any health care 
item or service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2707. Prohibited Arrangements 

A. Any arrangement or scheme, including cross-referral 
arrangements, which a pharmacist or pharmacy knows or 
should know has a principal purpose of ensuring or inducing 
referrals by the pharmacist to another health care provider, 
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which, if made directly by the pharmacist or pharmacy 
would be a violation of §2713, shall constitute a violation of 
§2713. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2709. Exceptions 

A. Proportionate Return on Investment. Payments or 
distributions by an entity representing a direct return on 
investment based upon a percentage of ownership, shall not 
be deemed a payment prohibited by R.S. 37:1745(B), or its 
successor, or §2705 of these regulations. 

B. General Exceptions. Any payment, remuneration, 
practice, or arrangement which is not prohibited by or 
unlawful under §1128(b) of the Federal Social Security Act 
(Act), 42 U.S.C. §1320a-7b(b), or its successor, with respect 
to health care items or services for which payment may be 
made under Title XVIII or Title XIX of the Act, including 
those payments and practices sanctioned by the secretary of 
the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services, through the Office of the Inspector General, 
pursuant to §1128B(b)(3)(E) of the Act, through regulations 
promulgated at 42 CFR §1001.952, or its successor, shall not 
be deemed a payment prohibited by R.S. 37:1745(B), or its 
successor, or by §2705 of these rules with respect to health 
care items or services for which payment may be made by 
any patient or private or governmental payor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
§2711. Effect of Violation 

A. Any violation of, or failure of compliance with, the 
prohibitions and provision of §2705 of this chapter shall be 
deemed a violation of the Pharmacy Practice Act, R.S. 
37:1161 et seq, providing cause for the board to sanction a 
person culpable of such violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Disclosure of Financial Interests in Third-

Party Health Care Providers 
§2713. Required Disclosure of Financial Interest 

A. Mandatory Disclosure. A pharmacist or pharmacy 
shall not make any referral of a patient outside the 
pharmacist’s or pharmacy's group practice for the provision 
of health care items or services by another health care 
provider in which the referring pharmacist has a financial 
interest, unless, in advance of any such referral, the referring 
pharmacist or pharmacy discloses to the patient, in 
accordance with §2713 of this chapter, the existence and 
nature of such financial interest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 17:780 (August 1991), LR 29: 
§2715. Form of Disclosure 

A. Required Contents. The disclosure required by §2713 
of this chapter shall be made in writing, shall be furnished to 
the patient, or the patient’s authorized representative, prior to 
or at the time of making the referral, and shall include: 

1. the pharmacist's or pharmacy's name, address, and 
telephone number; 

2. the name and address of the health care provider to 
whom the patient is being referred by the pharmacist or 
pharmacy; 

3. the nature of the items or services which the patient 
is to receive from the health care provider to which the 
patient is being referred; and 

4. the existence and nature of the pharmacist’s or 
pharmacy’s financial interest in the health care provider to 
which the patient is being referred. 

B. Permissible Contents. The form of disclosure required 
by §2713 of this chapter may include a signed 
acknowledgment by the patient or the patient’s authorized 
representative that the required disclosure has been given. 

C. Approved Form. Notice to a patient given 
substantially in the form of Disclosure of Financial Interest 
prescribed in the Appendix to this rule shall be 
presumptively deemed to satisfy the disclosure requirements 
of this subchapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
§2717. Effect of Violation; Sanctions 

A. Effect of Violation. Any violation of, or failure of 
compliance with, the prohibitions and provision of §2713 of 
this chapter shall be deemed a violation of the Pharmacy 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1161 et seq., providing cause for the 
board to sanction a pharmacist or pharmacy culpable of such 
violation. 

B. Administrative Sanctions. In addition to the sanctions 
provided for by R.S. 37:1241, upon proof of violation of 
§2713 by a pharmacist or pharmacy, the board may order 
that all or any portion of any amounts paid by a patient, 
and/or by any third-party payor on behalf of a patient, for 
health care items or services furnished upon a referral by the 
pharmacist or pharmacy in violation of §2713, be refunded 
by the pharmacist or pharmacy to such patient and/or third-
party payor, together with legal interest on such payments at 
the rate prescribed by law calculated from the date on which 
any such payment was made by the patient and/or third-party 
payors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
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§2719. Disclosure of Financial Interest 
 

[Name of Pharmacist/Group] 
[Address] 

[Telephone Number] 
 

DISCLOSURE OF FINANCIAL INTEREST 
As Required by R.S. 37:1744 and LAC 46:LIII.613-615 

 
TO:______________________________    DATE:____________________ 
 
_________________________________ 
(Name of Patient to Be Referred) 
_________________________________ 
(Patient Address) 
 
Louisiana law requires pharmacists and other health care providers to make 
certain disclosures to a patient when they refer a patient to another health 
care provider or facility in which the pharmacist has a significant financial 
interest. [I am/we are] referring you, or the named patient for whom you are 
legal representative, to: 
_____________________________________________________________ 
(Name and Address of Provider to Whom Patient is Referred) 
 
to obtain the following health care services, products, or items: 
_____________________________________________________________ 
(Purpose of the Referral) 
 
[I/we] have a financial interest in the health care provider to whom we are 
referring you, the nature and extent of which are as follows: 
_____________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 

 
PATIENT ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

I, the above-named patient, or legal representative of such patient, hereby 
acknowledge receipt, on the date indicated and prior to the described 
referral, of a copy of the foregoing Disclosure of Financial Interest. 
________________________________________ 
Signature of Patient or Patient's Representative) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 29: 
Chapter 29. Severability 
§2901. Severability 

A. In the event any rule, sentence, clause, or phrase or 
any of these rules and regulations may be construed by any 
court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, illegal, 
unconstitutional, or otherwise unenforceable, such 
determination or adjudication shall in no manner affect the 
remaining rules or portions thereof, and such remaining rules 
or portions thereof shall remain of full force and effect, as if 
such rule or portions thereof so determined, declared, or 
adjudged invalid or unconstitutional were not originally a 
part hereof. It is the intent of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy to establish rules and regulations that are 
constitutional and enforceable so as to safeguard the health, 
safety, and welfare of the people of the state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with §953 of Title 49 of the Revised 

Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Family Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, repeal, or 
amendment. The following statements will be published in 
the Louisiana Register with the proposed agency Rule.  

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no known 
effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no known 
effect on the authority and rights of parents regarding the 
education and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no known 
effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no known 
effect on family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no known effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule have no known effect 
on the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule.  

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Malcolm J. Broussard, Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, 5615 
Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8-E, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-
2537. He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
this proposed Rule. A public hearing on this proposed Rule 
is scheduled for Tuesday, August 26, 2003 at 9 a.m. in the 
board office. At that time, all interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, 
either orally or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all 
written comments is 4 p.m. that day. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacists 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is estimated that implementation of the proposed Rule 

will cost the agency $16,200 ($14,200 for printing Notice of 
Intent and final Rule, plus $2,000 for increased per diem 
payments) during the first fiscal year, and then $2,000 for 
increased per diem payments in successive fiscal years. The 
agency has sufficient self-generated funds available to 
implement the proposed Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed Rule 
will result in a net increase in revenues to the agency of 
$125,500 ($135,000 for increased pharmacist licensure fees 
less $9,500 for decreased pharmacy permit renewal fees) 
during the first fiscal year, and then $13,000 ($22,500 renewal 
for increased pharmacist licensure renewal fees less $9,500 in 
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decreased pharmacy permit renewal fees) in successive fiscal 
years. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is possible some affected persons may experience an 
increase in costs for computers, alarm systems, additional space 
in prescription departments, or additional pharmacist licensure 
fees; it is also possible some affected persons may experience 
significant cost savings from reduced mandatory hours of 
operation, reduced minimum equipment supplies and reference 
materials, and avoidance of duplicate permit fees. Since many 
of the changes provide options for license holders, it is not 
possible to estimate the fiscal impact without knowing which 
option the license holder will exercise. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimable effect on competition or employment 
in the public or private sector. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Staff Director 
0307#008 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 33CMedicare Supplement  
Insurance Minimum Standards  

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 5) 

This Regulation is authorized by R.S.22:22:3, 22:224 and 
amends existing laws that pertain to the Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards. These standards 
are required to bring existing laws into compliance with the 
new federal standards created by the Benefits Improvement 
and Protection Act (hereinafter referred to as BIPA). The 
Medicare, Medicaid and SCHIP Benefits Improvement and 
Protection Act was enacted on December 21, 2000. The 
Department of Insurance is adopting the NAIC Model 
Regulation in order to implement the NAIC Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards Model Act, 
which comply with Federal law. Additionally, technical 
corrections are grammatical in nature and adjustments were 
made to the Outline of Coverage Charts to address the 
current amounts mandated by the federal government. 

The department is clarifying existing laws in reference to 
notice requirements, rate increase requirements, grievance 
procedures and premium requirements. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 5. Regulation 33CMedicare Supplement 

Insurance Minimum Standards 
§501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 
1. to provide for the reasonable standardization of 

coverage and simplification of terms and benefits of 
Medicare supplement policies; 

2. to facilitate public understanding and comparison 
of such policies; 

3. to eliminate provisions contained in such policies 
which may be misleading or confusing in connection with 

the purchase of such policies or with the settlement of 
claims; and 

4. to provide for full disclosures in the sale of accident 
and sickness insurance coverages to persons eligible for 
Medicare. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 29: 
§502. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in §§510, 
540, 545, 560 and 585, this regulation shall apply to: 

1. all Medicare supplement policies delivered or 
issued for delivery in this state on or after the effective date 
of this regulation; and 

2. all certificates issued under group Medicare 
supplement policies which certificates have been delivered 
or issued for delivery in this state. 

B. This regulation shall not apply to a policy or contract 
of one or more employers or labor organizations, or of the 
trustees of a fund established by one or more employers or 
labor organizations, or combination thereof, for employees 
or former employees, or a combination thereof, or for 
members or former members, or a combination thereof, of 
the labor organizations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§503. Definitions 

A. For purpose of this regulation: 
ApplicantC 

a. in the case of an individual Medicare supplement 
policy, the person who seeks to contract for insurance 
benefits; and 

b. in the case of a group Medicare supplement 
policy, the proposed certificateholder. 

BankruptcyCwhen a Medicare+Choice organization that 
is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed against it, a petition 
for declaration of bankruptcy and has ceased doing business 
in the state. 

CertificateCany certificate delivered or issued for 
delivery in this state under a group Medicare supplement 
policy. 

Certificate FormCthe form on which the certificate is 
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer. 

Continuous Period of Creditable CoverageCthe period 
during which an individual was covered by creditable 
coverage, if during the period of the coverage the individual 
had no breaks in coverage greater than sixty-three (63) days.  

Creditable CoverageC 
a. means with respect to an individual, coverage of 

the individual provided under any of the following: 
 i. a group health plan; 
 ii. health insurance coverage; 
 iii. Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act (Medicare); 
 iv. Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
(Medicaid), other than coverage consisting solely of benefits 
under section 1928; 
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 v. Chapter 55 of Title 10 United States Code 
(CHAMPUS); 
 vi. a medical care program of the Indian Health 
Service or of tribal organization; 
 vii. a State health benefits risk pool; 
 viii. a health plan offered under chapter 89 of Title 
5 United States Code (Federal Employees Health Benefits 
Program); 
 ix. a public health plan as defined in federal 
regulation; and 
 x. a health benefit plan under Section 5(e) of the 
Peace Corps Act (22 United States Code 2504(e)). 

b. creditable coverage shall not include one or 
more, or any combination of, the following: 
 i. coverage only for accident or disability income 
insurance, or any combination thereof; 
 ii. coverage issued as a supplement to liability 
insurance; 
 iii. liability insurance, including general liability 
insurance and automobile liability insurance; 
 iv. workers compensation or similar insurance; 
 v. automobile medical payment insurance; 
 vi. credit-only insurance; 
 vii. coverage for on-site medical clinics; and 
 viii. other similar insurance coverage, specified in 
federal regulations, under which benefits for medical care 
are secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits. 

c. creditable coverage shall not include the 
following benefits if they are provided under a separate 
policy, certificate or contract of insurance or are otherwise 
not an integral part of the plan: 
 i. limited scope dental or vision benefits; 
 ii. benefits for long-term care, nursing home care, 
home health care, community-based care, or any 
combination thereof; and 
 iii. such other similar, limited benefits as are 
specified in federal regulations. 

d. creditable coverage shall not include the 
following benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated 
benefits: 
 i. coverage only for a specified disease or illness; 
and 
 ii. hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity 
insurance. 

e. creditable coverage shall not include the 
following if it is offered as a separate policy, certificate or 
contract of insurance: 
 i. Medicare supplemental health insurance as 
defined under section 1882 (g)(1) of the Social Security Act; 
 ii. coverage supplemental to the coverage 
provided under chapter 55 of title 10, United States Code; 
and 
 iii. similar supplemental coverage provided to 
coverage under a group health plan. 

Employee Welfare Benefit PlanCa plan, fund or program 
of employee benefits as defined in 29 U.S.C. Section 1002 
(Employee Retirement Income Security Act). 

InsolvencyCinability to pay its obligations when they 
are due, or a condition when its admitted assets do not 
exceed its liabilities plus the greater of: 

a. any capital and surplus required by law for its 
organization; and 

b. the total par or stated value of its authorized and 
issued capital stock. 

c. for purposes of this subsection, liabilities shall 
include but not be  limited to reserves required by statute, by 
general regulations of the Department of Insurance or by 
specific requirements imposed by the commissioner upon a 
subject company at the time of admission or subsequent 
thereto. 

IssuerCincludes insurance companies, fraternal benefit 
societies, health care service plans, health maintenance 
organizations, and any other entity authorized to deliver or 
issue for delivery in this state Medicare supplement policies 
or certificates. 

MedicareC"Health Insurance for the Aged Act," Title 
XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 1965, as then 
constituted or later amended. 

Medicare+Choice PlanCa plan of coverage for health 
benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in Section 1859 
found in Title IV, Subtitle A, Chapter 1 of P.L. 105-33, and 
includes: 

a. coordinated care plans which provide health care 
services, including but not limited to health maintenance 
organization plans (with or  without a point-of-service 
option), plans offered by provider-sponsored organizations, 
and preferred provider organization plans; 

b. medical savings account plans coupled with a 
contribution into a Medicare+Choice medical savings 
account; and 

c. Medicare+Choice private fee-for-service plans. 
Medicare Supplement PolicyCa group or individual 

policy of health insurance or a subscriber contract of hospital 
and medical service associations or health maintenance 
organizations, other than a policy issued pursuant to a 
contract under Section 1876 of the federal Social Security 
Act (42 U.S.C. Section 1395 et. seq.) or an issued policy 
under a demonstration project specified in 42 U.S.C. 
§1395ss(g)(1), which is advertised, marketed or designed 
primarily as a supplement to reimbursements under 
Medicare for the hospital, medical or surgical expenses of 
persons eligible for Medicare. Also, it includes those plans 
commonly known as health care prepayment plans (HCPPs). 

Policy FormCthe form on which the policy is delivered 
or issued for delivery by the issuer. 

Qualified ActuaryCan actuary who is a member of 
either the Society of Actuaries or the American Academy of 
Actuaries. 

SecretaryCthe Secretary of the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 43 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§504. Policy Definitions and Terms 

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited 
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless the policy or certificate contains 
definitions or terms, which conform to the requirements of 
this section. 

Accident, Accidental Injury, or Accidental MeansCto 
employ "result" language and shall not include words, which 
establish an accidental means test or use words such as 
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"external, violent, visible wounds" or similar words or 
description or characterization. 

a. The definition shall not be more restrictive than 
the following: 

"Injury or injuries for which benefits are provided 
means accidental bodily injury sustained by the 
insured person which is the direct result of an 
accident, independent of disease or bodily 
infirmity or any other cause, and occurs while 
insurance coverage is in force." 

b. The definition may provide that injuries shall not 
include injuries for which benefits are provided or available 
under any workers' compensation, employer's liability or 
similar law, or motor vehicle no-fault plan, unless prohibited 
by law. 

Benefit Period or Medicare Benefit PeriodCshall not be 
defined more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare 
program. 

Convalescent Nursing Home, Extended Care Facility, or 
Skilled Nursing FacilityCshall not be defined more 
restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program. 

Health Care ExpensesCexpenses of health maintenance 
organizations associated with the delivery of health care 
services, which expenses are analogous to incurred losses of 
insurers. Expenses shall not include: 

a. home office and overhead costs; 
b. advertising costs; 
c. commissions and other acquisition costs; 
d. taxes; 
e. capital costs; 
f. administrative costs; and 
g. claims processing costs. 

HospitalCmay be defined in relation to its status, 
facilities and available services or to reflect its accreditation 
by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals, but 
not more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare 
program. 

MedicareCin the policy and certificate. Medicare may 
be substantially defined as "The Health Insurance for the 
Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 
1965 as Then Constituted or Later Amended," or "Title I, 
Part I of Public Law 89-97, as Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth 
Congress of the United States of America and popularly 
known as the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then 
constituted and any later amendments or substitutes thereof," 
or words of similar import. 

Medicare Eligible ExpensesCexpenses of the kinds 
covered by Medicare, to the extent recognized as reasonable 
and medically necessary by Medicare. 

PhysicianCshall not be defined more restrictively than 
as defined in the Medicare program. 

SicknessCshall not be defined to be more restrictive 
than the following: 

a. Sickness means illness or disease of an insured 
person which first manifests itself after the effective date of 
insurance and while the insurance is in force. 

b. The definition may be further modified to 
exclude sicknesses or diseases for which benefits are 
provided under any workers' compensation, occupational 
disease, employer's liability or similar law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1482 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§505. Policy Provisions 

A. Except for permitted preexisting condition clauses as 
described in §510.A.1. and §515.A.1 of this regulation, no 
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or issued 
for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement policy if 
the policy or certificate contains limitations or exclusions on 
coverage that are more restrictive than those of Medicare. 

B. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate may use 
waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits for 
specifically named or described preexisting diseases or 
physical conditions. 

C. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate in force 
in the state shall contain benefits, which duplicate benefits 
provided by Medicare. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§506. Premium Increase Requirements 

A. Every insurer issuing or renewing a Medicare 
Supplement policy shall notify the policyholder and each 
member of an association in writing at least forty-five days 
before any premium increase.  

B. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 
policy or certificate stating in substance that policyholder or 
certificateholder will be notified at least forty-five days 
before any premium increase.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29: 
§507. Rate Increases Requirements 

A. Every insurer issuing a Medicare Supplement policy 
shall not increase their premium rates during the initial 
twelve months of coverage and not more than once in any 
six-month period following the initial twelve-month period 
for any policy, certificate, rider, or amendment issued in or 
for residents of the state, no matter the date of 
commencement or renewal of coverage. This Subsection 
does not affect increases in the premium amount due to the 
addition of a newly covered person or change in age or 
geographic location of an individual insured or policyholder 
or an increase in the policy benefit level. 

B. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 
policy or certificate stating in substance that the premium 
rates will not increase during the initial twelve-months of 
coverage and not more than once in any six-month period 
following the initial twelve-month period. The notice may 
include that this requirement does not affect increases in the 
premium amount due to the addition of a newly covered 
person or change in age or geographic location of an 
individual insured or policyholder or an increase in the 
policy benefit level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29: 
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§508. Reserved. 
§509. Reserved. 
§510. Minimum Benefit Standards for Policies or 

Certificates Issued for Delivery Prior to  
July 20, 1992 

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited 
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the following 
minimum standards. These are minimum standards and do 
not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or benefits 
which are not inconsistent with these standards. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 
addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 
six months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
shall not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 
within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 
under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 
with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible 
amount and copayment percentage factors. Premiums may 
be modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. A noncancellable, guaranteed renewable, or 
noncancellable and guaranteed renewable Medicare 
supplement policy shall not: 
 i. provide for termination of coverage of a spouse 
solely because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium; or 
 ii. be cancelled or nonrenewed by the issuer 
solely on the grounds of deterioration of health. 

e.i. Except as authorized by the Commissioner of 
this state, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate for any reason 
other than nonpayment of premium or material 
misrepresentation. 
 ii. If a group Medicare supplement insurance 
policy is terminated by the group policyholder and not 
replaced as provided in §510.A.1.e.iv, the issuer shall offer 
certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement policy. 
The issuer shall offer the certificateholder at least the 
following choices: 

(a). an individual Medicare supplement policy 
currently offered by the issuer having comparable benefits to 
those contained in the terminated group Medicare 
supplement policy; and 

(b). an individual Medicare supplement policy 
which provides only such benefits as are required to meet 
the minimum standards as defined in §515.A.2 of this 
regulation.  

(c). Group contracts in force prior to the 
effective date of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
(OBRA) of 1990 may have existing contractual obligations 

to continue benefits contained in the group contract. This 
section is not intended to impair those obligations. 
 iii. If membership in a group is terminated, the 
issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 
opportunities described in §510.A.1.e.ii; or 

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 
the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy. 
 iv. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 
covered under the old group policy on its date of 
termination. Coverage under the new group policy shall not 
result in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would 
have been covered under the group policy being replaced. 

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous 
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 
policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the maximum 
benefits. 

2. Minimum Benefit Standards. 
a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare 
benefit period; 

b. Coverage for either all or none of the Medicare 
Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount; 

c. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 
incurred as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's 
lifetime hospital inpatient reserve days; 

d. Upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital 
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days, 
coverage of 90 percent of all Medicare Part A eligible 
expenses for hospitalization not covered by Medicare subject 
to a lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days; 

e. Coverage under Medicare Part A for the 
reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or equivalent 
quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 
regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 
regulations or already paid for under Part B; 

f. Coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the 
case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount, of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year 
out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B 
deductible ($100); 

g. Effective January 1, 1990, coverage under 
Medicare Part B for the reasonable cost of the first three 
pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood 
cells, as defined under federal regulations), unless replaced 
in accordance with federal regulations or already paid for 
under Part A, subject to the Medicare deductible amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1103 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
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§511. Reserved. 
§512. Reserved. 
§513. Reserved. 
§514. Reserved. 
§515. Benefit Standards for Policies or Certificates 

Issued or Delivered on or After July 20, 1992 
A. The following standards are applicable to all 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or 
issued for delivery in this state on or after July 20, 1992. No 
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered 
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit 
standards. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 
addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 
six months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 
within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 
under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 
with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible 
amount and copayment percentage factors. Premiums may 
be modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 
because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium. 

e. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be 
guaranteed renewable. 
 i. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the 
policy solely on the ground of health status of the individual; 
 ii. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the 
policy for any reason other than nonpayment of premium or 
material misrepresentation; 
 iii. If the Medicare supplement policy is 
terminated by the group policyholder and is not replaced as 
provided under §515.A.5.e.v, the issuer shall offer 
certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement policy 
which (at the option of the certificateholder): 

(a). provides for continuation of the benefits 
contained in the group policy; or 

(b). provides for benefits that otherwise meet the 
requirements of this subsection. 
 iv. if an individual is a certificateholder in a group 
Medicare supplement policy and the individual terminates 
membership in the group, the issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 
opportunity described in §515.A.1.e.iii; or 

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 
the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy. 

v. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 
covered under the old group policy on its date of 
termination. Coverage under the new policy shall not result 
in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have 
been covered under the group policy being replaced. 

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be conditioned upon the continuous 
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 
policy benefit period, if any, or payment of the maximum 
benefits. 

g.i. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or 
certificate shall be suspended at the request of the 
policyholder or certificateholder for the period (not to 
exceed 24 months), or upon discovering thereof by the 
insurer in which the policyholder or certificateholder has 
applied for and is determined to be entitled to medical 
assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, but 
only if the policyholder or certificateholder notifies the 
issuer of the policy or certificate within 90 days after the 
date the individual becomes entitled to assistance. 
 ii. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 
certificateholder loses entitlement to medical assistance, the 
policy or certificate shall be automatically reinstituted 
(effective as of the date of termination of such entitlement) 
as of the termination of entitlement if the policyholder or 
certificateholder provides notice of loss of entitlement within 
90 days after the date of loss and pays the premium 
attributable to the period, effective as of the date of 
termination of entitlement. 
 iii. Each Medicare supplement policy shall provide 
that benefits and premiums under the policy shall be 
suspended (for any period that may be provided by federal 
regulation) at the request of the policyholder if the 
policyholder is entitled to benefits under Section 226 (b) of 
the Social Security Act and is covered under a group health 
plan (as defined in Section 1862 (b)(1)(A)(v) of the Social 
Security Act). If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 
certificateholder loses coverage under the group health plan, 
the policy shall be automatically reinstituted (effective as of 
the date of loss of coverage) if the policyholder provides 
notice of loss of coverage within 90 days after the date of the 
loss and pays the premium attributable to the period, 
effective as of the date of termination of enrollment in the 
group health plan. 
 iv. Reinstitution of coverage as described in 
Clauses g.ii and iii: 

(a). shall not provide for any waiting period with 
respect to treatment of preexisting conditions; 

(b). shall provide for coverage which is 
substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the date 
of suspension; and 

(c). shall provide for classification of premiums 
on terms at least as favorable to the policyholder or 
certificateholder as the premium classification terms that 
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would have applied to the policyholder or certificateholder 
had the coverage not been suspended. 

2. Standards for Basic (Core) Benefits Common to All 
Benefit Plans. Every issuer shall make available a policy or 
certificate including only the following basic core package 
of benefits to each prospective insured. An issuer may make 
available to prospective insureds any of the other Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in addition to the basic 
core package, but not in lieu of it. 

a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 
for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare 
benefit period; 

b. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 
incurred for hospitalization to the extent not covered by 
Medicare for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 
used; 

c. Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital 
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days, 
coverage of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization paid at the diagnostic related group (DRG) 
day outlier per diem or other appropriate standard of 
payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an 
additional 365 days; 

d. Coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the 
reasonable cost of the first three (3) pints of blood (or 
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined 
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance 
with federal regulations; 

e. Coverage for the coinsurance amount (or, in the 
case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount) of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B 
deductible; 

3. Standards for Additional Benefits. The following 
additional benefits shall be included in Medicare 
Supplement Benefit Plans "B" through "J" only as provided 
by §520 of this regulation. 

Medicare Part A DeductibleCcoverage for all of the 
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period. 

Skilled Nursing Facility CareCcoverage for the actual 
billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 21st 
day through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for 
posthospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 
Medicare Part A. 

Medicare Part B DeductibleCcoverage for all of the 
Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year 
regardless of hospital confinement. 

Eighty Percent of the Medicare Part B Excess 
ChargesCcoverage for 80 percent of the difference between 
the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed 
any charge limitation established by the Medicare program 
or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

One Hundred Percent of the Medicare Part B Excess 
ChargesCcoverage for all of the difference between the 
actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed any 
charge limitation established by the Medicare program or 
state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug 
BenefitCcoverage for 50 percent of outpatient prescription 

drug charges, after a two hundred fifty dollar ($250) 
calendar year deductible, to a maximum of $1,250 in 
benefits received by the insured per calendar year, to the 
extent not covered by Medicare. 

Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug 
BenefitCcoverage for 50 percent of outpatient prescription 
drug charges, after a $250 calendar year deductible to a 
maximum of $3,000 in benefits received by the insured per 
calendar year, to the extent not covered by Medicare. 

Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign 
CountryCcoverage to the extent not covered by Medicare for 
80 percent of the billed charges for Medicare-eligible 
expenses for medically necessary emergency hospital, 
physician, and medical care received in a foreign country, 
which care would have been covered by Medicare if 
provided in the United States and which care began during 
the first 60 consecutive days of each trip outside the United 
States, subject to a calendar year deductible of $250, and a 
lifetime maximum benefit of $50,000. For purposes of this 
benefit, emergency care shall mean care needed immediately 
because of an injury or an illness of sudden and unexpected 
onset. 

Preventive Medical Care BenefitCcoverage for the 
following preventive health services: 
 i. an annual clinical preventive medical history 
and physical examination that may include tests and services 
from Subparagraph ii. and patient education to address 
preventive health care measures; 
 ii. any one or a combination of the following 
preventive screening tests or preventive services, the 
frequency of which is considered medically appropriate: 

(a). digital rectal examination; 
(b). dipstick urinalysis for hematuria, bacteriuria 

and proteinuria; 
(c). pure tone (air only) hearing screening test, 

administered or ordered by a physician; 
(d). serum cholesterol screening (every five (5) 

years); 
(e). thyroid function test; 
(f). diabetes screening. 

 iii. tetanus and diphtheria booster (every ten (10) 
years). 
 iv. any other tests or preventive measures 
determined appropriate by the attending physician. 

Reimbursement shall be for the actual charges up to 100 
percent of the Medicare-approved amount for each service, as 
if Medicare were to cover the service as identified in 
American Medical Association Current Procedural 
Terminology (AMA CPT) codes, to a maximum of 120 
annually under this benefit. This benefit shall not include 
payment for any procedure covered by Medicare. 

At-Home Recovery BenefitCcoverage for services to 
provide short term, at-home assistance with activities of 
daily living for those recovering from an illness, injury, or 
surgery. 
 i. For purposes of this benefit, the following 
definitions shall apply: 

Activities of Daily LivingCinclude, but are not 
limited to bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, transferring, 
eating, ambulating, assistance with drugs that are normally 
self-administered, and changing bandages or other dressings. 

Care ProviderCa duly qualified or licensed home 
health aide or homemaker, personal care aide or nurse 
provided through a licensed home health care agency or 
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referred by a licensed referral agency or licensed nurses 
registry. 

HomeCany place used by the insured as a place 
of residence, provided that such place would qualify as a 
residence for home health care services covered by 
Medicare. A hospital or skilled nursing facility shall not be 
considered the insured's place of residence. 

At-Home Recovery VisitCthe period of a visit 
required to provide at home recovery care, without limit on 
the duration of the visit, except each consecutive four hours 
in a twenty-four-hour period of services provided by a care 
provider is one visit. 
 ii. Coverage Requirements and Limitations 

(a). At-home recovery services provided must be 
primarily services, which assist in activities of daily living. 

(b). The insured's attending physician must 
certify that the specific type and frequency of at-home 
recovery services are necessary because of a condition for 
which a home care plan of treatment was approved by 
Medicare. 

(c). Coverage is limited to: 
 (i). no more than the number and type of 
at-home recovery visits certified as necessary by the 
insured's attending physician. The total number of at-home 
recovery visits shall not exceed the number of Medicare 
approved home health care visits under a Medicare approved 
home care plan of treatment; 
 (ii). the actual charges for each visit up to a 
maximum reimbursement of forty dollars ($40) per visit; 
 (iii). one thousand six hundred dollars 
($1,600) per calendar year; 
 (iv). seven (7) visits in any one week; 
 (v). care furnished on a visiting basis in the 
insured's home; 
 (vi). services provided by a care provider as 
defined in this section; 
 (vii). at-home recovery visits while the 
insured is covered under the policy or certificate and not 
otherwise excluded; 
 (viii). at-home recovery visits received 
during the period the insured is receiving Medicare approved 
home care services or no more than eight (8) weeks after the 
service date of the last Medicare approved home health care 
visit. 
 iii. Coverage is excluded for: 

(a). home care visits paid for by Medicare or 
other government programs; and 

(b). care provided by family members, unpaid 
volunteers, or providers who are not care providers. 

New or Innovative BenefitsCan issuer may, with the 
prior approval of the Commissioner, offer policies or 
certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to the 
benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise 
complies with the applicable standards. The new or 
innovative benefits may include benefits that are appropriate 
to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not 
otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered in a manner 
which is consistent with the goal of simplification of 
Medicare supplement policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1104 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1484 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
§516. Reserved. 
§517. Reserved. 
§518. Reserved. 
§519. Reserved. 
§520. Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans 

A. An issuer shall make available to each prospective 
policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or 
certificate form containing only the basic core benefits, as 
defined in §515.A.2. of this regulation. 

B. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 
supplement benefits other than those listed in this section 
shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be 
permitted in §515.A.3 New and Innovative Benefits and in 
§525 of this regulation. 

C. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, 
designation and format to the standard benefit plans "A" 
through "J" listed in this subsection and conform to the 
definitions in §503 of this regulation. Each benefit shall be 
structured in accordance with the format provided in 
§§515.A.2 and 515.A.3 and list the benefits in the order 
shown in this subsection. For purposes of this section, 
"structure, language, and format" means style, arrangement 
and overall content of a benefit. 

D. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan 
designations required in Subsection C, other designations to 
the extent permitted by law. 

E. Make-up of Benefit Plans 
1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "A" 

shall be limited to the basic (core) benefits common to all 
benefit plans, as defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation. 

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "B" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible as defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A 
Deductible. 

3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "C" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B 
deductible and medically necessary emergency care in a 
foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3. Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B 
Deductible and Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a 
Foreign Country, respectively. 

4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "D" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 
recovery benefit as defined in §515.A.3.Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medically 
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, and At-
Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. 

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "E" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and preventive medical
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care as defined in §515.A.3.Medicare Part A Deductible, 
Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medically Necessary 
Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, and Preventive 
Medical Care Benefit, respectively. 

6. Standardized Medical supplement benefit plan "F" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, the Part B 
deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess 
charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a 
foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B 
Deductible, One Hundred Percent (100%) of the Medicare 
Part B Excess Charges, and Medically Necessary 
Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, respectively. 

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 
deductible plan “F” shall include only the following: 100% 
of covered expenses following the payment of the annual 
high deductible plan “F” deductible. The covered expenses 
include the core benefit as defined in §515.A.2 of this 
regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 
nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, 100 
percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 
medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 
defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled 
Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible, 100 
Percent of the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, and 
Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country 
respectively. The annual high deductible plan "F" deductible 
shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than 
premiums, for services covered by the Medicare supplement 
plan "F" policy, and shall be in addition to any other specific 
benefit deductibles. The annual high deductible Plan "F" 
deductible shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be 
based on the calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually 
thereafter by the Secretary to reflect the change in the 
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the 
twelve-month period ending with August of the preceding 
year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "G" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 80 percent of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 
recovery benefit as defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Eighty Percent 
(80%) of the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Medically 
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, 
respectively. 

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "H" 
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 
defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic 
outpatient prescription drug benefit, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3 
Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, 
Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit and Medically 
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, 
respectively. 

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "I" 
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 
defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100 percent 
of the Medicare Part B excess charges, basic outpatient 
prescription drug benefit, medically necessary emergency 
care in a foreign country and at-home recovery benefit as 
defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled 
Nursing Facility Care, 100 Percent of the Medicare Part B 
Excess Charges, Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit, 
Medically Necessary Care in a Foreign Country and  
At-Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. 

11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "J" 
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 
defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part 
B deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess 
charges, extended prescription drug benefit, medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, preventive 
medical care and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 
§515.A.3 Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing 
Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible, 100 Percent of 
the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Extended Outpatient 
Prescription Drug Benefit, Medically Necessary Emergency 
Care in a Foreign Country, Preventive Medical Care Benefit 
and At-Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. 

12. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 
deductible plan "J" shall consist of only the following: 100 
percent of covered expenses following the payment of the 
annual high deductible plan "J" deductible. The covered 
expenses include the core benefit as defined in §515.A.2 of 
this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 
nursing facility care, Medicare Part B deductible, 100 
percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, extended 
outpatient prescription drug benefit, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, preventive medical care 
benefit and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 
§515.A.3.Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing 
Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible, 100 Percent of 
the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Extended Outpatient 
Prescription Drug Benefit, Medically Necessary Emergency 
Care in a Foreign Country, Preventive Medical Care Benefit 
and At-Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. The annual 
high deductible plan "J" deductible shall consist of out-of-
pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services covered 
by the Medicare supplement plan "J" policy, and shall be in 
addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The annual 
deductible shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be 
based on a calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually 
thereafter by the Secretary to reflect the change in the 
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the 
twelve-month period ending with August of the preceding 
year, and rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1106 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1487 (August 1999),  LR 29: 
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§521. Reserved. 
§522. Reserved. 
§523. Reserved. 
§524. Reserved. 
§525. Medicare Select Policies and Certificates 

A.1. This section shall apply to Medicare Select policies 
and certificates, as defined in this Section. 

2. No policy or certificate may be advertised as a 
Medicare Select policy or certificate unless it meets the 
requirements of this Section. 

B. For the purposes of this Section: 
ComplaintCany dissatisfaction expressed by an 

individual concerning a Medicare Select issuer or its 
network providers. 

GrievanceCdissatisfaction expressed in writing by an 
individual insured under a Medicare Select policy or 
certificate with the administration, claims practices, or 
provision of services concerning a Medicare Select issuer or 
its network providers. 

Medicare Select IssuerCan issuer offering, or seeking to 
offer, a Medicare Select policy or certificate. 

Medicare Select Policy or Medicare Select 
CertificateCrespectively a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate that contains restricted network provisions. 

Network ProviderCa provider of health care, or a group 
of providers of health care, which has entered into a written 
agreement with the issuer to provide benefits insured under a 
Medicare Select policy. 

Restricted Network ProvisionCany provision, which 
conditions the payment of benefits, in whole or in part, on 
the use of network providers. 

Service AreaCthe geographic area approved by the 
Commissioner within which an issuer is authorized to offer a 
Medicare Select policy. 

C. The Commissioner may authorize an issuer to offer a 
Medicare Select policy or certificate, pursuant to this section 
and Section 4358 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
(OBRA) of 1990 if the Commissioner finds that the issuer 
has satisfied all of the requirements of this regulation. 

D. A Medicare Select issuer shall not issue a Medicare 
Select policy or certificate in this state until its plan of 
operation has been approved by the commissioner. 

E. A Medicare Select issuer shall file a proposed plan of 
operation with the commissioner in a format prescribed by 
the commissioner. The plan of operation shall contain at 
least the following information: 

1. evidence that all covered services that are subject to 
restricted network provisions are available and accessible 
through network providers, including a demonstration that: 

a. services can be provided by network providers 
with reasonable promptness with respect to geographic 
location, hours of operation and after-hour care. The hours 
of operation and availability of after-hour care shall reflect 
usual practice in the local area. Geographic availability shall 
reflect the usual travel times within the community; 

b. the number of network providers in the service 
area is sufficient, with respect to current and expected 
policyholders, either: 
 i. to deliver adequately all services that are 
subject to a restricted network provision; or 
 ii. to make appropriate referrals; 

c. there are written agreements with network 
providers describing specific responsibilities; 

d. emergency care is available 24 hours per day and 
seven days per week; 

e. in the case of covered services that are subject to 
a restricted network provision and are provided on a prepaid 
basis, there are written agreements with network providers 
prohibiting the providers from billing or otherwise seeking 
reimbursement from or recourse against any individual 
insured under a Medicare Select policy or certificate. This 
paragraph shall not apply to supplemental charges or 
coinsurance amounts as stated in the Medicare Select policy 
or certificate; 

2. a statement or map providing a clear description of 
the service area; 

3. a description of the grievance procedure to be 
utilized; 

4. a description of the quality assurance program, 
including: 

a. the formal organizational structure; 
b. the written criteria for selection, retention and 

removal of network providers; and 
c. the procedures for evaluating quality of care 

provided by network providers, and the process to initiate 
corrective action when warranted; 

5. a list and description, by specialty, of the network 
providers; 

6. copies of the written information proposed to be 
used by the issuer to comply with §525.I; 

7. any other information requested by the 
commissioner. 

F.1. A Medicare Select issuer shall file any proposed 
changes to the plan of operation, except for changes to the 
list of network providers, with the Commissioner prior to 
implementing the changes. Changes shall be considered 
approved by the Commissioner after 30 days unless 
specifically disapproved. 

2. An updated list of network providers shall be filed 
with the Commissioner at least quarterly. 

G. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall not 
restrict payment for covered services provided by non-
network providers if: 

1. the services are for symptoms requiring emergency 
care or are immediately required for an unforeseen illness, 
injury or a condition; and 

2. it is not reasonable to obtain such services through 
a network provider. 

H. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall provide 
payment for full coverage under the policy for covered 
services that are not available through network providers. 

I. A Medicare Select issuer shall make full and fair 
disclosure, in writing, of the provisions, restrictions, and 
limitations of the Medicare Select policy or certificate to 
each applicant. This disclosure shall include at least the 
following: 

1. an outline of coverage sufficient to permit the 
applicant to compare the coverage and premiums of the 
Medicare Select policy or certificate with: 

a. other Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates offered by the issuer; and 

b. other Medicare Select policies or certificates; 
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2. a description (including address, phone number and 
hours of operation) of the network providers, including 
primary care physicians, specialty physicians, hospitals and 
other providers; 

3. a description of the restricted network provisions, 
including payments for coinsurance and deductibles when 
providers other than network providers are utilized; 

4. a description of coverage for emergency and 
urgently needed care and other out-of-service area coverage; 

5. a description of limitations on referrals to restricted 
network providers and to other providers; 

6. a description of the policyholder's rights to 
purchase any other Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate otherwise offered by the issuer; 

7. a description of the Medicare Select issuer's quality 
assurance program and grievance procedure. 

J. Prior to the sale of a Medicare Select policy or 
certificate, a Medicare Select issuer shall obtain from the 
applicant a signed and dated form stating that the applicant 
has received the information provided pursuant to 
Subsection I of this section and that the applicant 
understands the restrictions of the Medicare Select policy or 
certificate. 

K. A Medicare Select issuer shall have and use 
procedures for hearing complaints and resolving written 
grievances from the subscribers. The procedures shall be 
aimed at mutual agreement for settlement and may include 
non-binding arbitration procedures. 

1. The grievance procedure shall be described in the 
policy and certificates and in the outline of coverage. 

2. At the time the policy or certificate is issued, the 
issuer shall provide detailed information to the policyholder 
describing how a grievance may be registered with the 
issuer. 

3. Grievances shall be considered in a timely manner 
and shall be transmitted to appropriate decision-makers who 
have authority to fully investigate the issue and take 
corrective action. 

4. If a grievance is found to be valid, corrective action 
shall be taken promptly. 

5. All concerned parties shall be notified about the 
results of a grievance. 

6. The issuer shall report no later than each March 
31st to the Commissioner regarding its grievance procedure. 
The report shall be in a format prescribed by the 
Commissioner and shall contain the number of grievances 
filed in the past year and a summary of the subject, nature 
and resolution of such grievances. 

L. At the time of initial purchase, a Medicare Select 
issuer shall make available to each applicant for a Medicare 
Select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate otherwise offered 
by the issuer. 

M.1. At the request of an individual insured under a 
Medicare Select policy or certificate, a Medicare Select 
issuer shall make available to the individual insured the 
opportunity to purchase a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate offered by the issuer which has comparable or 
lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted 
network provision. The issuer shall make such policies or 
certificates available without requiring evidence of 

insurability after the Medicare Select policy or certificate 
has been in force for six months. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have 
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more 
significant benefits not included in the Medicare Select 
policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this 
Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the 
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs, 
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part 
B excess charges. 

N. Medicare Select policies and certificates shall provide 
for continuation of coverage in the event the Secretary of 
Health and Human Services determines that Medicare Select 
policies and certificates issued pursuant to this Section 
should be discontinued due to either the failure of the 
Medicare Select Program to be reauthorized under law or its 
substantial amendment. 

1. Each Medicare Select issuer shall make available to 
each individual insured under a Medicare Select policy or 
certificate the opportunity to purchase any Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate offered by the issuer which 
has comparable or lesser benefits and which does not contain 
a restricted network provision. The issuer shall make the 
policies and certificates available without requiring evidence 
of insurability. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have 
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more 
significant benefits not included in the Medicare Select 
policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this 
Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the 
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs, 
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part 
B excess charges. 

O. A Medicare Select issuer shall comply with 
reasonable requests for data made by state or federal 
agencies, including the United States Department of Health 
and Human Services, for the purpose of evaluating the 
Medicare Select Program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1108 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1488 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
§526. Reserved. 
§527. Reserved. 
§528. Reserved. 
§529. Reserved. 
§530. Open Enrollment 

A. An issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance or 
effectiveness of any Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate available for sale in this state, nor discriminate in 
the pricing of a policy or certificate because of the health 
status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical 
condition of an applicant in the case of an application for a 
policy or certificate that is submitted prior to or during the 
six month period beginning with the first day of the first 
month in which an individual is enrolled for benefits under 
Medicare Part B. Each Medicare supplement policy and 
certificate currently available from an insurer shall be made
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available to all applicants who qualify under this Subsection 
without regard to age. 

B. 1. If an applicant qualifies under Subsection A and 
submits an application during the time period referenced in 
Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a 
continuous period of creditable coverage of at least six 
months, the issuer shall not exclude benefits based on a 
preexisting condition. 

2. If the applicant qualifies under Subsection A and 
submits an application during the time period referenced in 
Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a 
continuous period of creditable coverage that is less than six 
(6) months, the issuer shall reduce the period of any 
preexisting condition exclusion by the aggregate of the 
period of creditable coverage applicable to the applicant as 
of the enrollment date. The Secretary shall specify the 
manner of the reduction under this Subsection. 

C. Except as provided in Subsection B and §590, 
Subsection A shall not be construed as preventing the 
exclusion of benefits under a policy, during the first six 
months, based on a preexisting condition for which the 
policyholder or certificateholder received treatment or was 
otherwise diagnosed during the six months before the 
coverage became effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§531. Reserved. 
§532. Reserved. 
§533. Reserved. 
§534. Reserved. 
§535. Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons 

A. Guaranteed Issue 
1. Eligible persons are those individuals described in 

Subsection B who seek to enroll under the policy during the 
period specified in Subsection C, and who submit evidence 
of the date of termination or disenrollment with the 
application for a Medicare supplement policy. 

2. With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall not 
deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of a 
Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection E that 
is offered and is available for issuance to new enrollees by 
the issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a 
Medicare supplement policy because of health status, claims 
experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and 
shall not impose an exclusion of benefits based on a 
preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement 
policy. 

B. Eligible Persons. An eligible person is an individual 
described in any of the following paragraphs. 

1. The individual is enrolled under an employee 
welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits that 
supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan 
terminates, or the plan ceases to provide some or all such 
supplemental health benefits to the individual; or the 
individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit 
plan that is primary to Medicare and the plan terminates or 
the plan ceases to provide some or all health benefits to the 
individual or the individual leaves the plan; 

2. The individual is enrolled with a Medicare+Choice 
organization under a Medicare+Choice plan under part C of 
Medicare, and any of the following circumstances apply, or 
the individual is 65 years of age or older and is enrolled with 
a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
provider under Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, and 
there are circumstances similar to those described below that 
would permit discontinuance of the individual's enrollment 
with such provider if such individual were enrolled in a 
Medicare + Choice plan. 

a. The certification of the organization or plan has 
been terminated, or The organization has terminated or 
otherwise discontinued providing the plan in the area in 
which the individual resides; 

c. The individual is no longer eligible to elect the 
plan because of a change in the individual’s place of 
residence or other change in circumstances specified by the 
Secretary, but not including termination of the individual’s 
enrollment on the basis described in Section 1851(g)(3)(B) 
of the federal Social Security Act (where the individual has 
not paid premiums on a timely basis or has engaged in 
disruptive behavior as specified in standards under section 
1856), or the plan is terminated for all individuals within a 
residence area; 

d. The individual demonstrates, in accordance with 
guidelines established by the Secretary, that: 
 i. the organization offering the plan substantially 
violated a material provision of the organization’s contract 
under this part in relation to the individual, including the 
failure to provide an enrollee on a timely basis medically 
necessary care for which benefits are available under the 
plan or the failure to provide such covered care in 
accordance with applicable quality standards; or 
 ii. the organization, or agent or other entity acting 
on the organization's behalf, materially misrepresented the 
plan’s provisions in marketing the plan to the individual; or 

e. The individual meets such other exceptional 
conditions as the Secretary may provide. 

3.a. The individual is enrolled with: 
 i. an eligible organization under a contract under 
Section 1876 of the Social Security Act (Medicare cost); 
 ii. a similar organization operating under 
demonstration project authority, effective for periods before 
April 1,1999; 
 iii. an organization under an agreement under 
Section 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (health care 
prepayment plan); or 
 iv. an organization under a Medicare Select 
policy; and 

b. the enrollment ceases under the same 
circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an 
individual's election of coverage under §535.B.2. 

4. The individual is enrolled under a Medicare 
supplement policy and the enrollment ceases because: 

a.i. of the insolvency of the issuer or bankruptcy of 
the nonissuer organization; or 
 ii. of other involuntary termination of coverage or 
enrollment under the policy; 

b. the issuer of the policy substantially violated a 
material provision of the policy; or 
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c. the issuer, or an agent or other entity acting on 
the issuer's behalf, materially misrepresented the policy’s 
provisions in marketing the policy to the individual; 

5.a. The individual was enrolled under a Medicare 
supplement policy and terminates enrollment and 
subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any 
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice 
plan under part C of Medicare, any eligible organization 
under a contract under Section 1876 of the Social Security 
Act (Medicare cost), any similar organization operating 
under demonstration project authority, any Pace provider 
under Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, or a Medicare 
Select policy; and 

b. the subsequent enrollment under Subparagraph a 
is terminated by the enrollee during any period within the 
first 12 months of such subsequent enrollment (during which 
the enrollee is permitted to terminate such subsequent 
enrollment under Section 1851(e) of the federal Social 
Security Act); or 

6. the individual, upon first becoming enrolled for 
benefits under Medicare part B, enrolls in a 
Medicare+Choice plan under part C of Medicare, or with a 
PACE provider under Section 1894 of the Social Security 
Act, and disenrolls from the plan by not later 12 months 
after the effective date of enrollment. 

C. Guaranteed Issue Time Periods 
1. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 

B.1, the guaranteed issue period begins on the date the 
individual receives a notice of termination or cessation of all 
supplemental health benefits (or, if a notice is not received, 
notice that a claim has been denied because of such a 
termination or cessation) and ends 63 days after the date of 
the applicable notice; 

2. In the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 
B.2, 3, 5 or 6 whose enrollment is terminated involuntarily, 
the guaranteed issue period begins on the date that the 
individual receives a notice of termination and ends 63 days 
after the date the applicable coverage is terminated; 

3. In the case of an individual described in 
Subparagraph B.4.a, the guaranteed issue period begins on 
the earlier of:  

a. the date that the individual receives a notice of 
termination, a notice of the issuer's bankruptcy or 
insolvency, or other such similar notice if any; and  

b. the date that the applicable coverage is terminated, 
and ends on the date that is 63 days after the date the 
coverage is terminated; 

4. In the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 
B.2, 4.b, 4.c, 5 or 6 who disenrolls voluntarily, the 
guaranteed issue period begins on the date that is 60 days 
before the effective date of the disenrollment and ends on the 
date that is 63 days after the effective date; and 

5. In the case of an individual described in Subsection 
B but not described in the preceding provisions of this 
Subsection, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 
effective date of disenrollment and ends on the date that is 
63 days after the effective date. 

D. Extended Medigap access for interrupted trial periods 
1. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 

B.5 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 
paragraph) whose enrollment with an organization or 
provider described in Paragraph B.5.a is involuntarily 

terminated within the first 12 months of enrollment, and 
who, without an intervening enrollment, enrolls with another 
such organization or provider, the subsequent enrollment 
shall be deemed to be an initial enrollment described in 
Section 12B(5); 

2. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 
B.6 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 
paragraph) who enrollment with a plan or in a program 
described in Paragraph B.6 is involuntarily terminated 
within the first 12 months of enrollment, and who, without 
an intervening enrollment, enrolls in another such plan or 
program, the subsequent enrollment shall be deemed to be 
an initial enrollment described in Section 12B(6); and 

3. For purposes of Paragraphs B.5 and 6, no 
enrollment of an individual with an organization or provider 
described in Subparagraph B.5.a, or with a plan or in a 
program described in Paragraph B.6, may be deemed to be 
an initial enrollment under this paragraph after the two-year 
period beginning on the date on which the individual first 
enrolled with such an organization, provider, plan or 
program. 

E. Products to Which Eligible Persons are Entitled. The 
Medicare supplement policy to which eligible persons are 
entitled under: 

1. Section 535.B.1.2.3 and 4 is a Medicare supplement 
policy which has a benefit package classified as Plan A, B, 
C, or F offered by any issuer; 

2. Section 535.B.5 is the same Medicare supplement 
policy in which the individual was most recently previously 
enrolled, if available from the same issuer, or, if not so 
available, a policy described in §535.C.1; 

3. Section 535.B.6 shall include any Medicare 
supplement policy available by any issuer. 

F. Notification Provisions 
1. At the time of an event described in Subsection B 

of this Section because of which an individual loses 
coverage or benefits due to the termination of a contract or 
agreement, policy, or plan, the organization that terminates 
the contract or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy, 
or the administrator of the plan being terminated, 
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 
under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of 
Medicare supplement policies under Subsection A. Such 
notice shall be communicated contemporaneously with the 
notification of termination. 

2. At the time of an event described in Subsection B 
of this Section because of which an individual ceases 
enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, 
the organization that offers the contract or agreement, 
regardless of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the 
issuer offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan, 
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 
under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of 
Medicare supplement policies under §535.A. Such notice 
shall be communicated within ten working days of the issuer 
receiving notification of disenrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
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§536. Reserved. 
§537. Reserved. 
§538. Reserved. 
§539. Reserved. 
§540. Standards for Claims Payment 

A. An issuer shall comply with section 1882(c)(3) of the 
Social Security Act (as enacted by section 4081(b)(2)(C) of 
the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) 
1987, Pub. L. No. 100-203) by: 

1. accepting a notice from a Medicare carrier on 
dually assigned claims submitted by participating physicians 
and suppliers as a claim for benefits in place of any other 
claim form otherwise required and making a payment 
determination on the basis of the information contained in 
that notice; 

2. notifying the participating physician or supplier and 
the beneficiary of the payment determination; 

3. paying the participating physician or supplier 
directly; 

4. furnishing, at the time of enrollment, each enrollee 
with a card listing the policy name, number, and a central 
mailing address to which notices from a Medicare carrier 
may be sent; 

5. paying user fees for claim notices that are 
transmitted electronically or otherwise; and 

6. providing to the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services, at least annually, a central mailing address to 
which all claims may be sent by Medicare carriers. 

B. Compliance with the requirements set forth in 
Subsection A above shall be certified on the Medicare 
supplement insurance experience reporting form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1111 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1491 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§541. Reserved. 
§542. Reserved. 
§543. Reserved. 
§544. Reserved. 
§545. Loss Ratio Standards and Refund or Credit of 

Premium 
A. Loss Ratio Standards 

1.a. A Medicare Supplement policy form or certificate 
form shall not be delivered or issued for delivery unless the 
policy form or certificate form can be expected, as estimated 
for the entire period for which rates are computed to provide 
coverage, to return to policyholders and certificateholders in 
the form of aggregate benefits (not including anticipated 
refunds or credits) provided under the policy form or 
certificate form: 
 i. at least 75 percent of the aggregate amount of 
premiums earned in the case of group policies; or 
 ii. at least 65 percent of the aggregate amount of 
premiums earned in the case of individual policies. 

b. Calculated on the basis of incurred claims 
experience or incurred health care expenses where coverage 
is provided by a health maintenance organization on a 
service rather than reimbursement basis and earned 
premiums for the period and in accordance with accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. 

2. All filings of rates and rating schedules shall 
demonstrate that expected claims in relation to premiums 
comply with the requirements of this Section when 
combined with actual experience to date. Filings of rate 
revisions shall also demonstrate that the anticipated loss 
ratio over the entire future period for which the revised rates 
are computed to provide coverage can be expected to meet 
the appropriate loss ratio standards. 

3. For purposes of applying Paragraph A.1 of this 
Section and §550.C.3. only, policies issued as a result of 
solicitations of individuals through the mails or by mass 
media advertising (including both print and broadcast 
advertising) shall be deemed to be individual policies. 

4. For policies issued prior to January 20, 1991, 
expected claims in relation to premiums shall meet: 

a. the originally filed anticipated loss ratio when 
combined with the actual experience since inception; 

b. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from 
§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. when combined with actual experience 
beginning with January 1, 1998 to date; and 

c. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from 
§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. over the entire future period for which 
the rates are computed to provide coverage. 

B. Refund or Credit Calculation 
1. An issuer shall collect and file with the 

Commissioner by May 31 of each year the data contained in 
the applicable reporting form contained in Appendix A for 
each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. 

2. If, on the basis of the experience as reported, the 
benchmark ratio since inception (ratio 1) exceeds the 
adjusted experience ratio since inception (ratio 3), then a 
refund or credit calculation is required. The refund 
calculation shall be done on a statewide basis for each type 
in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. For 
purposes of the refund or credit calculation, experience on 
policies issued within the reporting year shall be excluded. 

3. For the purposes of this Section, policies or 
certificates issued prior to January 20, 1991, the issuer shall 
make the refund or credit calculation separately for all 
individual policies (including all group policies subject to an 
individual loss ratio standard when issued) combined and all 
other group policies combined for experience after January 
1, 1998. The first report shall be due by May 31, 2000. 

4. A refund or credit shall be made only when the 
benchmark loss ratio exceeds the adjusted experience loss 
ratio and the amount to be refunded or credited exceeds a de 
minimis level. The refund shall include interest from the end 
of the calendar year to the date of the refund or credit at a 
rate specified by the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services, but in no event shall it be less than the average rate 
of interest for thirteen-week Treasury notes. A refund or 
credit against premiums due shall be made by September 30 
following the experience year upon which the refund or 
credit is based. 

C. Filing of Rates and Rating Schedules. All filings of 
rates and rating schedules shall demonstrate that expected 
claims in relation to premiums comply with the requirements 
of this Section when combined with actual experience to 
date. Filings of rate revisions shall also demonstrate that the 
anticipated loss ratio over the entire future period for which 
the revised rates are computed to provide coverage can be 
expected to meet the appropriate loss ratio standards. 
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1. Each Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
form shall be accompanied, upon submission for approval, 
by an original and one copy of an actuarial memorandum. 
The memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a 
qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 
least the information listed in the following Subparagraphs: 

a. the form number that the actuarial memorandum 
addresses; 

b. a brief description of benefits provided; 
c. a schedule of rates to be used; 
d. a certification that the anticipated lifetime loss 

ratio is at least 65 percent (for individual coverage) or at 
least 75 percent (for group coverage); 

e. a table of anticipated loss ratio experience for 
each year from issue over a reasonable number of years; 

f. a certification that the premiums are reasonable 
in relation to the benefits provided; and  

g. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate;  
h. any additional information requested by the 

Commissioner. 
2. Subsequent rate adjustments filings, except for 

those rates filed solely due to a change in the Part A calendar 
year deductible, shall also provide an original and one copy 
of an actuarial memorandum, prepared, signed and dated by 
a qualified actuary, in accordance with generally accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 
least the following: 

a. the form number addressed by the actuarial 
memorandum;  

b. a brief description of benefits provided; 
c. a schedule of rates before and after the rate 

change; 
d. a statement of the reason and basis for the rate 

change; 
e. a demonstration and certification by the qualified 

actuary showing that the past plus future expected 
experience after the rate change will result in an aggregate 
loss ratio equal to, or greater than, the required minimum 
aggregate loss ratio: 
 i. this rate change and demonstration shall be 
based on the experience of the named form in Louisiana 
only, if that experience is credible; 
 ii. the rate change and demonstration shall be 
based on experience of the named form nationwide, if the 
named form is used nationwide and the Louisiana 
experience is not credible, but the nationwide experience is 
credible; 

f. for policies or certificates in force less than three 
years, a demonstration shall be included to show that the 
third-year loss ratio is expected to be equal to, or greater 
than, the applicable percentage; 

g. a certification by the qualified actuary that the 
resulting premiums are reasonable in relation to the benefits 
provided;  

h. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 
i. any additional information requested by the 

Commissioner.  
3.a. An issuer of Medicare supplement policies and 

certificates issued before or after the effective date of 
Regulation 33 (Revised, 1992) in this state shall file 
annually no later than December 31 its rates for the 

upcoming calendar year. Also, supporting documentation 
including ratios of incurred losses to earned premiums by 
policy duration shall be submitted for approval by the 
Commissioner. The supporting documentation shall also 
demonstrate in accordance with actuarial standards of 
practice using reasonable assumptions that the appropriate 
loss ratio standards can be expected to be met over the entire 
period for which rates are computed. The demonstration 
shall exclude active life reserves. An expected third-year loss 
ratio which is greater than or equal to the applicable 
percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates 
in force less than 3 years. 

b. The filing for purposes of this Subsection shall 
contain all Medicare supplement plans issued by the issuer 
and shall not include rate adjustments. An actuarial 
memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a 
qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 
least the following: 
 i. the form number for each plan; 
 ii. plan type designation (for example: Plan A, 
Plan B, Pre-standardized); 
 iii. the rates for each plan; 
 iv. yearly loss ratios for each plan; 
 v. lifetime expected loss ratios for each plan; 
 vi. identify filing as "ANNUAL MEDICARE 
SUPPLEMENT FILING" on the face page of the memorandum; 
 vii. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 
 viii. any additional information requested by the 
Commissioner. 

4. As soon as practicable, but prior to the effective 
date of enhancements in Medicare benefits, every issuer of 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates in this state 
shall file with the commissioner, in accordance with the 
applicable filing procedures of this state: 
 i. appropriate premium adjustments necessary to 
produce loss ratios as anticipated for the current premium for 
the applicable policies or certificates. The supporting 
documents necessary to justify the adjustment shall 
accompany the filing. 
 ii. an issuer shall make premium adjustments 
necessary to produce an expected loss ratio under the policy 
or certificate to conform to minimum loss ratio standards for 
Medicare supplement policies and which are expected to 
result in a loss ratio at least as great as that originally 
anticipated in the rates used to produce current premiums by 
the issuer for the Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates. No premium adjustment which would modify 
the loss ratio experience under the policy other than the 
adjustments described herein shall be made with respect to a 
policy at any time other than upon its renewal date or 
anniversary date. 
 iii. if an issuer fails to make premium adjustments 
acceptable to the Commissioner, the Commissioner may 
order premium adjustments, refunds or premium credits 
deemed necessary to achieve the loss ratio required by this 
Section. 

b. any appropriate riders, endorsements or policy 
forms needed to accomplish the Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate modifications necessary to eliminate benefit 
duplications with Medicare. The riders, endorsements or 
policy forms shall provide a clear description of the 
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Medicare supplement benefits provided by the policy or 
certificate. 

D. Public Hearings. The Commissioner may conduct a 
public hearing to gather information concerning a request by 
an issuer for an increase in a rate for a policy form or 
certificate form issued before or after the effective date of 
Regulation 33 as revised July 20, 1992 if the experience of 
the form for the previous reporting period is not in 
compliance with the applicable loss ratio standard. The 
determination of compliance is made without consideration 
of any refund or credit for the reporting period. Public notice 
of the hearing shall be furnished in a manner deemed 
appropriate by the Commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1112 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1492 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
§546. Reserved. 
§547. Reserved. 
§548. Reserved. 
§549. Reserved. 
§550. Filing and Approval of Policies and Certificates 

and Premium Rates 
A. An issuer shall not deliver or issue for delivery a 

policy or certificate to a resident of this state unless the 
policy form or certificate form has been filed with and 
approved by the commissioner in accordance with filing 
requirements and procedures prescribed by the 
commissioner. 

B. An issuer shall not use or change premium rates for a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate unless the rates, 
rating schedule and supporting documentation have been 
filed with and approved by the commissioner in accordance 
with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by 
the Commissioner. 

C.1. Except as provided in Paragraph C.2 of this 
Subsection, an issuer shall not file for approval more than 
one form of a policy or certificate of each type for each 
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. 

2. An issuer may offer, with the approval of the 
Commissioner, up to four additional policy forms or 
certificate forms of the same type for the same standard 
Medicare supplement benefit plan, one for each of the 
following cases: 

a. the inclusion of new or innovative benefits; 
b. the addition of either direct response or agent 

marketing methods; 
c. the addition of either guaranteed issue or 

underwritten coverage; 
d. the offering of coverage to individuals eligible 

for Medicare by reason of disability. 
3. For the purposes of this Section, a "type" means an 

individual policy, a group policy, an individual Medicare 
Select policy, or a group Medicare Select policy. 

D.1. Except as provided in Subparaph D.1.a, an issuer 
shall continue to make available for purchase any policy 
form or certificate form issued after the effective date of this 
regulation that has been approved by the Commissioner. A 
policy form or certificate form shall not be considered to be 
available for purchase unless the issuer has actively offered 
it for sale in the previous 12 months. 

a. An issuer may discontinue the availability of a 
policy form or certificate form if the issuer provides to the 
Commissioner, in writing, its decision at least 30 days prior 
to discontinuing the availability of the form of the policy or 
certificate. After receipt of the notice by the Commissioner, 
the issuer shall no longer offer for sale the policy form or 
certificate form in this state. 

b. An issuer that discontinues the availability of a 
policy form or certificate form pursuant to Subparagraph (a) 
shall not file for approval a new policy form or certificate 
form of the same type for the same standard Medicare 
supplement benefit plan as the discontinued form for a 
period of 5 years after the issuer provides notice to the 
Commissioner of the discontinuance. The period of 
discontinuance may be reduced if the Commissioner 
determines that a shorter period is appropriate. 

2. The sale or other transfer of Medicare supplement 
business to another issuer shall be considered a 
discontinuance for the purposes of this Subsection. 

3. A change in the rating structure or methodology 
shall be considered a discontinuance under Paragraph D.1 
unless the issuer complies with the following requirements: 

a. The issuer provides an actuarial memorandum, in 
a form and manner prescribed by the Commissioner, 
describing the manner in which the revised rating 
methodology and resultant rates differ from the existing 
rating methodology and existing rates. 

b. The issuer does not subsequently put into effect a 
change of rates or rating factors that would cause the 
percentage differential between the discontinued and 
subsequent rates as described in the actuarial memorandum 
to change. The Commissioner may approve a change to the 
differential, which is in the public interest. 

E.1. Except as provided in Paragraph E.2, the experience 
of all policy forms or certificate forms of the same type in a 
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan shall be 
combined for purposes of the refund or credit calculation 
prescribed in §545 of this Regulation. 

2. Forms assumed under an assumption reinsurance 
agreement shall not be combined with the experience of 
other forms for purposes of the refund or credit calculation. 

F.1. An issuer that fails to implement an approved rate 
increase within six months after the approval date shall be 
prohibited from implementing such increase on future dates. 
The issuer shall notify the Commissioner when any 
approved rate increase has not been implemented.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1113 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
§551. Reserved. 
§552. Reserved. 
§553. Reserved. 
§554. Reserved. 
§555. Permitted Compensation Arrangements 

A. An issuer or other entity may provide commission or 
other compensation to an agent or other representative for 
the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only 
if the first year commission or other first year compensation 
is no more than 200 percent of the commission or other 
compensation paid for selling or servicing the policy or 
certificate in the second year or period. 
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B. The commission or other compensation provided in 
subsequent (renewal) years must be the same as that 
provided in the second year or period and must be provided 
for no fewer than 5 renewal years. 

C. No issuer or other entity shall provide compensation 
to its agents or other producers, and no agent or producer 
shall receive compensation greater than the renewal 
compensation payable by the replacing issuer on renewal 
policies or certificates if an existing policy or certificate is 
replaced. 

D. For purposes of this Section, "compensation" includes 
pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration of any kind 
relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate 
including, but not limited to, bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards 
and finders fees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§556. Reserved. 
§557. Reserved. 
§558. Reserved. 
§559. Reserved. 
§560. Required Disclosure Provisions 

A. General Rules 
1. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 

include a renewal or continuation provision. The language or 
specifications of the provision shall be consistent with the 
type of contract issued. The provision shall be appropriately 
captioned and shall appear on the first page of the policy, 
and shall include any reservation by the issuer of the right to 
change premiums and any automatic renewal premium 
increases based on the policyholder's age. 

2. Except for riders or endorsements by which the 
issuer effectuates a request made in writing by the insured, 
exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare 
supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate 
benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all riders 
or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement policy 
after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal which 
reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the policy shall 
require a signed acceptance by the insured. After the date of 
policy or certificate issue, any rider or endorsement which 
increases benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase 
in premium during the policy term shall be agreed to, in 
writing, signed by the insured, unless the benefits are 
required by the minimum standards for Medicare 
supplement policies, or if the increased benefits or coverage 
is required by law. Where a separate additional premium is 
charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or 
endorsements, the premium charge shall be set forth in the 
policy. 

3. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall 
not provide for the payment of benefits based on standards 
described as "usual and customary," "reasonable and 
customary" or words of similar import. 

4. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
contains any limitations with respect to preexisting 
conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate 
paragraph of the policy and be labeled as "Preexisting 
Condition Limitations." 

5. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 
policy or certificate stating in substance that the policyholder 
or certificateholder shall have the right to return the policy 
or certificate within 30 days of its delivery and to have the 
premium refunded if, after examination of the policy or 
certificate, the insured person is not satisfied for any reason. 

6.a. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or 
certificates which provide hospital or medical expense 
coverage on an expense incurred or indemnity basis to 
persons eligible for Medicare shall provide to those 
applicants a Guide to Health Insurance for People with 
Medicare in the form developed jointly by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners and the Health 
Care Financing Administration and in a type size no smaller 
than 12 point type. Delivery of the Guide shall be made 
whether or not the policies or certificates are advertised, 
solicited, or issued as Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates, as defined in this regulation. Except in the case 
of direct response issuers, delivery of the Guide shall be 
made to the applicant at the time of application, and 
acknowledgement of receipt of the Guide shall be obtained 
by the issuer. Direct response issuers shall deliver the Guide 
to the applicant upon request but not later than at the time 
the policy is delivered. 

b. For the purposes of this Section, form means the 
language, format, type size, type proportional spacing, bold 
character, and line spacing. 

B. Notice Requirements. 
1. As soon as practicable, but no later than 30 days 

prior to the annual effective date of any Medicare benefit 
changes, an issuer shall notify its policyholders and 
certificateholders of modifications it has made to Medicare 
supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format 
acceptable to the Commissioner. The notice shall: 

a. include a description of revisions to the Medicare 
program and a description of each modification made to the 
coverage provided under the Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate; and 

b. inform each policyholder or certificateholder as 
to when any premium adjustment is to be made due to 
changes in Medicare. 

2. The notice of benefit modifications and any 
premium adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear 
and simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension. 

3. The notices shall not contain or be accompanied by 
any solicitation. 

C. Outline of Coverage Requirements for Medicare 
Supplement Policies. 

1. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all 
applicants at the time application is presented to the 
prospective applicant and, except for direct response 
policies, shall obtain an acknowledgement of receipt of the 
outline from the applicant; and 

2. If an outline of coverage is provided at the time of 
application and the Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate is issued on a basis which would require revision 
of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage properly 
describing the policy or certificate shall accompany the 
policy or certificate when it is delivered and contain the 
following statement, in no less than twelve (12) point type, 
immediately above the company name: "NOTICE: Read this 
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outline of coverage carefully. It is not identical to the outline 
of coverage provided upon application and the coverage 
originally applied for has not been issued." 

3.a. The outline of coverage provided to applicants 
pursuant to this Section consists of four parts: 
 i. a cover page; 
 ii. premium information; 
 iii. disclosure pages, and 
 iv. charts displaying the features of all benefit 
plansavailable by the issuer. 

b. The outline of coverage shall be in the language 
and format prescribed below in no less than 12 point type. 

All plans A-J shall be shown on the cover page, and each 
Medicare supplement policy and certificate currently 
available by an issuer shall be prominently identified. 
Premium information for plans that are available shall be 
shown on the cover page or immediately following the cover 
page and shall be prominently displayed. The premium and 
mode shall be stated for all plans that are available to the 
prospective applicant. All possible premiums for the 
prospective applicant shall be illustrated. 

4. The following items shall be included in the outline 
of coverage in the order prescribed below. 

 
 
 
 

[COMPANY NAME] 
Outline of Medicare Supplement Coverage-Cover Page: 

 
Benefit Plan(s)_____[insert letter(s) of plan(s) available from the issuer] 

 
Medicare supplement insurance can be sold in only ten standard plans plus two high deductible plans. This chart shows the benefits included in each plan. Every 
company must make available Plan A. Some plans may not be available in your state. 

 
BASIC BENEFITS: Included in all plans. 
Hospitalization: Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional days after Medicare benefits end. 
Medical Expenses: Part B coinsurance (Generally, 20% of Medicare-approved expenses), or, in the case of hospital outpatient department services under a 
prospective payment system, applicable copayments.  
Blood: First three pints of blood each year. 

 
A B C D E F F* G H I J J* 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

    Skilled 
Nursing Co- 
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co- 
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Co-
Insurance  

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

  Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A  
Deductible 

Part A  
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A  
Deductible 

    Part B 
Deductible 

    Part B 
Deductible 

      Part B 
Deductible 

          Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 
(80%) 

  Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

    Foreign  
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign  
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

      At-Home 
Recovery 

    At-Home 
Recovery 

  At-Home 
Recovery 

At-Home 
Recovery 

              Basic Drugs 
($1,250 
Limit) 

Basic 
Drugs 
($1,250 
Limit) 

Extended 
Drugs 
($3,000 
Limit) 

        Preventive 
Care 

        Preventive 
Care 

*Plans F and J also have an option called a high deductible Plan F and a high deductible Plan J. These high deductible plans pay the same or offer the same benefits 
as Plan F and J after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from high deductible Plans F and J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are 
[$1650]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. These expenses include the Medicare deductibles for 
Part A and Part B, but does not include, in Plan J, the plan’s separate prescription drug deductible or, in Plans F and J, the plan’s separate foreign travel emergency 
deductible. 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1344

PREMIUM INFORMATION [Boldface Type] 
We [insert issuer's name] can only raise your premium if we raise the premium for all policies like yours in this State. [If the premium is based on the increasing 
age of the insured, include information specifying when premiums will change.] 

 
DISCLOSURES [Boldface Type] 

Use this outline to compare benefits and premiums among policies. 
 

READ YOUR POLICY VERY CAREFULLY [Boldface Type] 
This is only an outline describing your policy's most important features. The policy is your insurance contract. You must read the policy itself to understand all of 
the rights and duties of both you and your insurance company. 

 
RIGHT TO RETURN POLICY [Boldface Type] 

If you find that you are not satisfied with your policy, you may return it to [insert issuer's address]. If you send the policy back to us within 30 days after you 
receive it, we will treat the policy as if it had never been issued and return all of your payments. 

 
POLICY REPLACEMENT [Boldface Type] 

If you are replacing another health insurance policy, do NOT cancel it until you have actually received your new policy and are sure you want to keep it. 
 

NOTICE [Boldface Type] 
This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs. 

 
[for agents:] 
Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected with Medicare. 

 
[for direct response:] 
[insert company's name] is not connected with Medicare. 

 
This outline of coverage does not give all the details of Medicare coverage. Contact your local Social Security Office or consult The Medicare Handbook for more 
details. 

 
COMPLETE ANSWERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT [Boldface Type] 

When you fill out the application for the new policy, be sure to answer truthfully and completely all questions about your medical and health history. The company 
may cancel your policy and refuse to pay any claims if you leave out or falsify important medical information. [If the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this 
paragraph need not appear.] 
 
Review the application carefully before you sign it. Be certain that all information has been properly recorded. 
 
[Include for each plan prominently identified in the cover page, a chart showing the services, Medicare payments, plan payments and insured payments for each 
plan, using the same language, in the same order, using uniform layout and format as shown in the charts below. No more than four plans may be shown on one 
chart. For purposes of illustration, charts for each plan are included in this regulation. An issuer may use additional benefit plan designations on these charts 
pursuant to §520.D of this Regulation.] [Include an explanation of any innovative benefits on the cover page and in the chart, in a manner approved by the 
Commissioner.] 
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Plan A 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and  
miscellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
All but $[420] a day 
$0 
$0 

$0 
$[210] a day 
$[420] a day 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$0 
$0 
$0 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day $0 

$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

$0 
100% 

3 pints 
$0 

$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for out-
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan A 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100 (Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100 (Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100 (Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1347

Plan B 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 
  
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan B 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
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Plan C 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

$0 
100% 

3 pints 
$0 

$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 
 

Balance 
 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan C 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 
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Plan D 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan D 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
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Plan D (continued) 
Parts A and B 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not 
Covered By Medicare 
Home care certified by your 
doctor, for personal care 
during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare 
approved a Home Care Treatment 
Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 
 --Calendar year maximum 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a visit 
 
 
 
Up to the number of Medicare 
Approved visits, not to exceed 7 
each week 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
 

 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 
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Plan E 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 
 

 
Balance 
 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan E 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

Parts A and B 
 

Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

 
 

Plan E (Continued) 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

***Preventive Medical Care 
Benefit--Not Covered By 
Medicare 
Some annual physical and preventive tests 
and services such as: digital rectal exam, 
hearing screening, dipstick urinalysis, 
diabetes screening, thyroid function test, 
tetanus and diphtheria booster and 
education, administered or ordered by your 
doctor when not covered by Medicare 
 
 First $120 each calendar year 
 Additional charges 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$120 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
All Costs 

 
***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare. 
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Plan F Or High Deductible Plan F 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1580] deductible. Benefits from the high 
deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1580]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by 
the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan’s separate foreign travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays 
After You Pay$1650 

Deductible,** 
Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible,** 

You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare 
would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the 
balance on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan F Or High Deductible Plan F (Continued) 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from the high 
deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1650]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by 
the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan’s separate foreign travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays 

After You Pay 
$1650 

Deductible,** 
Plan Pays 

In Addition To 
$1650 

Deductible,** 
You Pay 

Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
100% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
 

Parts A and B 
 

Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
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Plan F Or High Deductible Plan F (Continued.) 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 

Services Medicare Pays 

After You Pay 
$1650 

Deductible,** 
Plan Pays 

In Addition To 
$1650 

Deductible,** 
You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

 
 

Plan G 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 
 

 
Balance 
 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy’s “Core Benefits.” During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan G 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
20% 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
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Plan G (Continued) 
Parts A and B 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not 
Covered By Medicare 
Home care certified by your 
doctor, for personal care 
during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare 
approved a Home Care Treatment 
Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 
 --Calendar year maximum 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a visit 
 
Up to the number of 
Medicare Approved visits, not to 
exceed 7 
each week 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
 

 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 
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Plan H 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous services 
and supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan H 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 

 
$0 

 
$0 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

100% 
$0 
80% 

$0 
$0 
20% 

$0 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
$0 
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Plan H (Continued) 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

Basic Outpatient Prescription 
Drugs--Not Covered By Medicare 
First $250 each calendar year 
Next $2,500 each calendar year 
 
Over $2,500 each calendar year 

 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
$0 
50%--$1,250 calendar 
year maximum benefit 
$0 

 
 
$250 
50% 
 
All Costs 

 
Plan I 

Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 
 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan I 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
100% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 

 
$0 

 
$0 

 
Plan I (Continued) 
Parts A and B 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not 
Covered By Medicare 
Home care certified by your 
doctor, for personal care 
during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare 
approved a Home Care Treatment 
Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 
 --Calendar year maximum 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
$0 
 
80% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
20% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a 
visit 
 
Up to the number of 
Medicare Approved visits, 
not to exceed 7 
each week 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
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Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 
 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

Basic Outpatient Prescription 
Drugs--Not Covered By Medicare 
First $250 each calendar year 
Next $2,500 each calendar year 
 
Over $2,500 each calendar year 

 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
$0 
50%--$1,250 calendar 
year maximum benefit 
$0 

 
 
$250 
50% 
 
All Costs 

 
Plan J Or High Deductible Plan J 

Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 
 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from high deductible 
Plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1650]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. 
This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan’s separate prescription drug deductible or the plan’s separate foreign 
travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least 
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care 
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out- 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare 
would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the 
balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan J Or High Deductible Plan J (Continued) 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from high deductible 
Plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1650]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. 
This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan’s separate prescription drug deductible or the plan’s separate foreign 
travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services, 
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
100% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care 
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical  
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts* 
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
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Plan J Or High Deductible Plan J (Continued) 
Medicare (Part B) - Medical Services - Per Calendar Year 

Parts A and B (Continued) 
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Home Health Care(Cont'd) 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not Covered By 
Medicare 
Home care certified by your  
doctor, for personal care 
beginning during recovery from 
an injury or sickness for which 
Medicare approved a Home Care 
Treatment Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 --Calendar year maximum 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a 
visit 
Up to the number of 
Medicare Approved visits, 
not to exceed 7 each week 
 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
 

 
Plan J Or High Deductible Plan J (Continued) 

Parts A And B (Continued) 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare 

 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 

Extended Outpatient 
Prescription Drugs--Not Covered By 
Medicare 
First $250 each calendar year 
 
Next $6,000 each calendar year 
 
Over $6,000 each calendar year 

 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
$0 
 
50%--$3,000 calendar 
year maximum benefit 
$0 

 
 
 
$250 
 
50% 
 
All Costs 

***Preventive Medical Care Benefit--Not 
Covered By Medicare 
Some annual physical and preventive tests and 
services such as: digital rectal exam, hearing 
screening, dipstick urinalysis, diabetes 
screening, thyroid function test, tetanus and 
diphtheria booster and education, administered 
or ordered by your doctor when not covered by 
Medicare 
 First $120 each calendar year 
 Additional charges 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$120 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
All Costs 

 
***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare. 
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D. Notice Regarding Policies or Certificates Which Are 
Not Medicare Supplement Policies. 

1. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or 
certificate, other than a Medicare supplement policy; a 
policy issued pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of 
the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. §1395 et seq.), 
disability income policy; or other policy identified in §502.B 
of this regulation, issued for delivery in this state to persons 
eligible for Medicare shall notify insureds under the policy 
that the policy is not a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to 
the first page of the outline of coverage delivered to insureds 
under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is delivered, to 
the first page of the policy, or certificate delivered to 
insureds. The notice shall be in no less than 12 point type 
and shall contain the following language: "This [policy or 
certificate] is not a medicare supplement [policy or contract]. 
If you are eligible for Medicare, review the Guide to Health 
Insurance for People with Medicare available from the 
company." 

2. Applications provided to persons eligible for 
Medicare for the health insurance policies or certificates 
described in Paragraph D.1 shall disclose, using the 
applicable statement in Appendix C, the extent to which the 
policy duplicates Medicare. The disclosure statement shall 
be provided as a part of, or together with, the application for 
the policy or certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1495 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 
§561. Reserved. 
§562. Reserved. 
§563. Reserved. 
§564. Reserved. 
§565. Requirements for Application Forms and 

Replacement Coverage 
A. Application forms shall include the following 

questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of 
the date of the application, the applicant has another 
Medicare supplement or other health insurance policy or 
certificate in force or whether a Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate is intended to replace any other accident and 
sickness policy or certificate presently in force. A 
supplementary application or other form to be signed by the 
applicant and agent containing such questions and 
statements may be used. 

B. An application for a Medicare Supplement policy 
shall not be combined with an application for any other type 
of insurance coverage. The application may not make 
reference to or include questions regarding other types of 
insurance coverage except for those questions specifically 
required under this section. 

1. [Statements] 
a. You do not need more than one Medicare 

supplement policy. 
b. If you purchase this policy, you may want to 

evaluate your existing health coverage and decide if you 
need multiple coverages. 

c. You may be eligible for benefits under Medicaid 
and may not need a Medicare supplement policy. 

d. The benefits and premiums under your Medicare 
supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, during 
your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid for 24 months. 
You must request this suspension within 90 days of 
becoming eligible for Medicaid. If you are no longer entitled 
to Medicaid, your policy will be reinstituted if requested 
within 90 days of losing Medicaid eligibility. 

e. Counseling services may be available in your 
state to provide advice concerning your purchase of 
Medicare supplement insurance and concerning medical 
assistance through the state Medicaid program, including 
benefits as a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a 
Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB). 

2. [Questions] 
a. To the best of your knowledge, 

 i. Do you have another Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate in force? 

(a). If so, with which company? 
(b). If so, do you intend to replace your current 

Medicare supplement policy with this policy [certificate]? 
 ii. Do you have any other health insurance 
coverage that provides benefits similar to this Medicare 
supplement policy? 

(a). If so, with which company? 
(b). What kind of policy? 

 iii. Are you covered for medical assistance 
through the state Medicaid program: 

(a). As a Specified Low-Income Medicare 
Beneficiary (SLMB)? 

(b). As a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary 
(QMB)? 

(c). For other Medicaid medical benefits? 
C. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies 

they have sold to the applicant. 
1. List policies sold which are still in force. 
2. List policies sold in the past five years, which are 

no longer in force. 
D. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the 

application or supplemental form, signed by the applicant, 
and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the 
applicant by the insurer upon delivery of the policy. 

E. Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement 
of Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer, other than a 
direct response issuer, or its agent, shall furnish the 
applicant, prior to issuance or delivery of the Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate, a notice regarding 
replacement of Medicare supplement coverage. One copy of 
the notice, signed by the applicant and the agent, except 
where the coverage is sold without an agent, shall be 
provided to the applicant and an additional signed copy shall 
be retained by the issuer. A direct response issuer shall 
deliver to the applicant, at the time of the issuance of the 
policy, the notice regarding replacement of Medicare 
supplement coverage. 

F. The notice required by Subsection D above for an 
issuer shall be provided in substantially the following form 
in no less than 12 point type: 
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NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT 
OF MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

[Insurance company's name and address] 
 

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO YOU IN THE FUTURE. 
 

According to [your application] [information you have furnished], you intend to terminate existing Medicare supplement insurance and replace it 
with a policy to be issued by [Company Name] Insurance Company. Your new policy will provide thirty (30) days within which you may decide 
without cost whether you desire to keep the policy. 
 
You should review this new coverage carefully. Compare it with all accident and sickness coverage you now have. If, after due consideration, you 
find that purchase of this Medicare supplement coverage is a wise decision, you should terminate your present Medicare supplement coverage. 
You should evaluate the need for other accident and sickness coverage you have that may duplicate this policy. 

 
STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY ISSUER, AGENT [BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]: 

 
I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance coverage. To the best of my knowledge, this Medicare supplement policy will not 
duplicate your existing Medicare supplement coverage because you intend to terminate your existing Medicare supplement coverage. The 
replacement policy is being purchased for the following reason (check one): 
 

_____ Additional benefits. 
_____ No change in benefit, but lower premiums. 
_____ Fewer benefits and lower premiums. 
_____ Other. (please specify) 
_______________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________ 
 
1. Health conditions which you may presently have (preexisting conditions) may not be immediately or fully covered under the new 

policy. This could result in denial or delay of a claim for benefits under the new policy, whereas a similar claim might have been 
payable under your present policy. 

 
2. State law provides that your replacement policy or certificate may not contain new preexisting conditions, waiting periods, 

elimination periods or probationary periods. The insurer will waive any time periods applicable to preexisting conditions, waiting 
periods, elimination periods, or probationary periods in the new policy (or coverage) to the extent such time was spent (depleted) 
under the original policy. 

 
3. If, you still wish to terminate your present policy and replace it with new coverage, be certain to truthfully and completely answer 

all questions on the application concerning your medical and health history. Failure to include all material medical information on 
an application may provide a basis for the company to deny any future claims and to refund your premium as though your policy 
had never been in force. After the application has been completed and before you sign it, review it carefully to be certain that all 
information has been properly recorded. [If the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.] 

 
Do not cancel your present policy until you have received your new policy and are sure that you want to keep it. 
 
______________________________________________________ 
(Signature of Agent, Broker or Other Representative)* 
 
[Typed Name and Address of Issuer, Agent or Broker] 
 
______________________________________________________ 
(Applicant's Signature) 
 
______________________________________________________ 
(Date) 
 
*Signature not required for direct response sales. 
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G. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the replacement notice 
(applicable to preexisting conditions) may be deleted by an 
issuer if the replacement does not involve application of a 
new preexisting condition limitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1130 (June 1999). 
repromulgated LR 25:1510 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 29: 
§566. Reserved. 
§567. Reserved. 
§568. Reserved. 
§569. Reserved. 
§570. Filing Requirements for Advertising 

A. An issuer shall provide a copy of any Medicare 
supplement advertisement intended for use in this state 
whether through written, radio or television medium to the 
Commissioner of Insurance of this state for review and 
approval by the Commissioner to the extent permitted under 
the Insurance Code, particularly under R.S. 22:1215. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:11512 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 29: 
§571. Reserved. 
§572. Reserved. 
§573. Reserved. 
§574. Reserved. 
§575. Standards for Marketing 

A. An issuer, directly or through its producers, shall: 
1. establish marketing procedures to assure that any 

comparison of policies by its agents or other producers will 
be fair and accurate; 

2. establish marketing procedures to assure excessive 
insurance is not sold or issued; 

3. display prominently by type, stamp or other 
appropriate means, on the first page of the policy the 
following: "Notice to buyer: This policy may not cover all of 
your medical expenses." 

4. inquire and otherwise make every reasonable effort 
to identify whether a prospective applicant or enrollee for 
Medicare supplement insurance already has accident and 
sickness insurance and the types and amounts of any such 
insurance; 

5. establish auditable procedures for verifying 
compliance with this Subsection A. 

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in Louisiana 
Revised Statutes 22:1211 et seq. the following acts and 
practices are prohibited: 

1. Twisting. Making any misleading representation or 
incomplete or fraudulent comparison of any insurance 
policies or insurers for the purpose of inducing, or tending to 
induce, any person to lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate, 
retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or convert any insurance 
policy or to take out a policy of insurance with another 
insurer. 

2. High pressure tactics. Employing any method of 
marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the 
purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether 
explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or 
recommend the purchase of insurance. 

3. Cold lead advertising. Making use directly or 
indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to disclose 
in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of 
marketing is solicitation of insurance and that contact will be 
made by an insurance agent or insurance company. 

C. The terms Medicare Supplement, Medigap, Medicare 
Wrap-Around and words of similar import shall not be used 
unless the policy is issued in compliance with this 
regulation. 

D. No insurer providing Medicare supplement insurance 
in this state shall allow its agent to accept premiums except 
by check, money order, or bank draft made payable to the 
insurer. If payment in cash is made, the agent must leave the 
insurer's official receipt with the insured or the person 
paying the premium on behalf of the insured. This receipt 
shall bind the insurer for the monies received by the agent. 
Under this section, the agent is prohibited from accepting 
checks, money orders and/or bank drafts payable to the 
agent or his agency. The agent is not to leave any receipt 
other than the insurer's for premium paid in cash. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 29: 
§576. Reserved. 
§577. Reserved. 
§578. Reserved. 
§579. Reserved. 
§580. Appropriateness of Recommended Purchase and 

Excessive Insurance 
A. In recommending the purchase or replacement of any 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate an agent shall 
make reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of 
a recommended purchase or replacement. 

B. Any sale of Medicare supplement coverage that will 
provide an individual more than one Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate is prohibited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 29: 
§581. Reserved. 
§582. Reserved. 
§583. Reserved. 
§584. Reserved. 
§585. Reporting of Multiple Policies 

A. On or before March 1 of each year, an issuer shall 
report the following information for every individual 
resident of this state for which the issuer has in force more 
than one Medicare supplement policy or certificate: 
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1. policy and certificate number; and 
2. date of issuance. 

B. The items set forth above must be grouped by 
individual policyholder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§586. Reserved. 
§587. Reserved. 
§588. Reserved. 
§589. Reserved. 
§590. Prohibition Against Preexisting Conditions, 

Waiting Periods, Elimination Periods and 
Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or 
Certificates 

A. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate, 
the replacing issuer shall waive any time periods applicable 
to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination 
periods and probationary periods in the new Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate to the extent such time was 
spent under the original policy. 

B. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
which has been in effect for at least six months, the replacing 
policy shall not provide any time period applicable to 
preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods 
and probationary periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25.1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§591. Reserved. 
§592. Reserved. 
§593. Reserved. 
§594. Reserved. 
§595. Separability 

A. If any provision of this regulation or the application 
thereof to any person or circumstance is for any reason held 
to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the 
application of such provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999), LR 29: 
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§596. Appendix A 
 

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM 
FOR CALENDAR YEAR __________________ 

 
Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 

LINE  (a) 
Earned Premium3 

(b) 
Incurred Claims4 

1. Current Year's Experience     
   a.  Total (all policy years)     
   b.  Current year’s issues5     
   c.  Net (for reporting purposes = 1a-1b     
2. Past Year's Experience (all policy years)     
3. Total Experience 

(Net Current Year + Past Year) 
    

4. Refunds Last Year (Excluding Interest)   
5. Previous Since Inception (Excluding Interest)   
6. Refunds Since Inception (Excluding Interest)   
7. Benchmark Ratio Since Inception (wee worksheet for Ratio 1)   
8. Experienced Ratio Since Inception (Ratio 2) 

 Total Actual Incurred Claims (line 3, col.b) 
 Total Earned Prem. (line 3, col. a)-Refunds Since Inception 

(line 6) 

  

9. Life Years Exposed Since Inception 
If the Experienced Ratio is less than the Benchmark Ratio, and 
there are more than 500 life years exposure, then proceed to calculation of refund. 

  

10. Tolerance Permitted (obtained from credibility table)   
 

Medicare Supplement Credibility Table 
 

   Life Years Exposed 
        Since Inception     Tolerance 

10,000+ 0.0% 
5,000 – 9,999 5.0% 
2,500 – 4,999 7.5% 
1,000 – 2,499 10.0% 
500 - 999 15.0% 

       If less than 500, no credibility. 
 

1. Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2. "SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan – Use “P” for pre-standardized plans. 
3. Includes Modal Loadings and Fees Charged 
4. Excludes Active Life Reserves 
5. This is to be used as "Issue Year Earned Premium" for Year 1 of next year's "Worksheet for Calculation of Benchmark Ratio" 
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MEDICARE SUPPLMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM 
FOR CALENDAR YEAR 

 
Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 
11. Adjustment to Incurred Claims for Credibility 

Ratio 3 = Ratio 2 + Tolerance 
  

 
If Ratio 3 is more than Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1), a refund or credit to premium is not required. 
If Ratio 3 is less than the Benchmark Ratio, then proceed. 
 
12. Adjusted Incurred Claims 

[Total Earned Premiums (line 3, col. a)-Refunds Since Inception (line 6)] x Ratio 3 (line 11) 
  

13. Refund = 
Total Earned Premiums (line 3, col. a)-Refunds Since Inception (line 6) -[Adjusted Incurred Claims (line 12) / Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1)] 

  

 
If the amount on line 13 is less than .005 times the annualized premium in force as of December 31 of the reporting year, then no refund is 
made. Otherwise, the amount on line 13 is to be refunded or credited, and a description of the refund or credit against premiums to be used 
must be attached to this form. 
 
I certify that the above information and calculations are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 

____________________________________ 
Signature 
____________________________________ 
Name – Please Type 
____________________________________ 
Title 
_____________________________________ 
Date 
 
 
 

 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1374

REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF BENCHMARK 
RATIO SINCE INCEPTION FOR GROUP POLICIES 

FOR CALENDAR YEAR __________________ 
 

Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 

(a)3 (b)4 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5 
Year Earned 

Premium 
Factor (b)x(c) Cumulative 

Loss Ratio 
(d)x(e) Factor (b)x(g) Cumulative 

Loss Ratio 
(h)x(i) Policy Year 

Loss Ratio 
1   2.770   0.507   0.000   0.000   0.46 
2   4.175   0.567   0.000   0.000   0.63 
3   4.175   0.567   1.194   0.759   0.75 
4   4.175   0.567   2.245   0.771   0.77 
5   4.175   0.567   3.170   0.782   0.80 
6   4.175   0.567   3.998   0.792   0.82 
7   4.175   0.567   4.754   0.802   0.84 
8   4.175   0.567   5.445   0.811   0.87 
9   4.175   0.567   6.075   0.818   0.88 
10   4.175   0.567   6.650   0.824   0.88 
11   4.175   0.567   7.176   0.828   0.88 
12   4.175   0.567   7.655   0.831   0.88 
13   4.175   0.567   8.093   0.834   0.89 
14   4.175   0.567   8.493   0.837   0.89 
15   4.175   0.567   8.684   0.838   0.89 
Total:     (k):   (l):   (m):   (n):   

 
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (l + n)/(k + m): _______________________________ 

 
___________________________________________________ 
1Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for pre-standardized plans 
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 is 1989, 
etc.) 
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium earned during that year for policies issued in that year. 
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the cumulative 
loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for informational purposes only. 
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REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF BENCHMARK 
RATIO SINCE INCEPTION FOR INDIVIDUAL POLICIES 

FOR CALENDAR YEAR ________________ 
 
 

Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 

(a)3 (b)4 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5 
Year Earned 

Premium 
Factor (b)x(c) Cumulative 

Loss Ratio 
(d)x(e) Factor (b)x(g) Cumulative 

Loss Ratio 
(h)x(i) Policy Year 

Loss Ratio 
1   2.770   0.442   0.000   0.000   0.40 
2   4.175   0.493   0.000   0.000   0.55 
3   4.175   0.493   1.194   0.659   0.65 
4   4.175   0.493   2.245   0.669   0.67 
5   4.175   0.493   3.170   0.678   0.69 
6   4.175   0.493   3.998   0.686   0.71 
7   4.175   0.493   4.754   0.695   0.73 
8   4.175   0.493   5.445   0.702   0.75 
9   4.175   0.493   6.075   0.708   0.76 
10   4.175   0.493   6.650   0.713   0.76 
11   4.175   0.493   7.176   0.717   0.76 
12   4.175   0.493   7.655   0.720   0.77 
13   4.175   0.493   8.093   0.723   0.77 
14   4.175   0.493   8.493   0.725   0.77 
15   4.175   0.493   8.684   0.725   0.77 
Total:    (k):   (l):   (m):   (n):   

 
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (l + n)/(k + m): _______________________________ 

 
1Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for pre-standardized plans 
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 is 1989, 
etc.) 
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium earned during that year for policies issued in that year. 
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the cumulative 
loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for informational purposes only. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance 

with R.S. 22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 
(June 1999), repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 29: 
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§597. Appendix B 
 

FORM FOR REPORTING 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICIES 

 
Company Name: __________________________________ 
Address:  __________________________________ 
Phone Number:  __________________________________ 
 

Due: March 1, annually 
 

The purpose of this form is to report the following information on each resident of this state who has in force more than one Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate. The information is to be grouped by individual policyholder. 
 
 

Policy and  
Certificate # 

Date of  
Issuance 

   
    
    
    

 
__________________________________ 
Signature 
________________________________________ 
Name and Title (please type) 
________________________________________ 
Date 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 29: 
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§598. Appendix C 
 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS 
 

Instructions for Use of the Disclosure Statements for 
Health Insurance Policies Sold to Medicare Beneficiaries 

that Duplicate Medicare 
 

1. Section 1882(d) of the federal Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395ss] prohibits the sale of a health insurance policy (the term policy 
includes certificates) to Medicare beneficiaries that duplicates Medicare benefits unless it will pay benefits without regard to a beneficiary's 
other health coverage and it includes the prescribed disclosure statement on or together with the application for the policy. 

 
2. All types of health insurance policies that duplicate Medicare shall include one of the attached disclosure statements, according to the 

particular policy type involved, on the application or together with the application. The disclosure statement may not vary from the attached 
statements in terms of language or format (type size, type proportional spacing, bold character, line spacing, and usage of boxes around 
text). 

 
3. State law and federal law prohibits insurers from selling a Medicare supplement policy to a person that already has a Medicare supplement 

policy except as a replacement policy. 
 
4. Property/casualty and life insurance policies are not considered health insurance. 
 
5. Disability income policies are not considered to provide benefits that duplicate Medicare. 
 
6. Long-term care insurance policies that coordinate with Medicare and other health insurance are not considered to provide benefits that 

duplicate Medicare. 
 
7. The federal law does not pre-empt state laws that are more stringent than the federal requirements. 
 
8. The federal law does not pre-empt existing state form filing requirements. 
 
9. Section 1882 of the federal Social Security Act was amended in Subsection (d)(3)(A) to allow for alternative disclosure statements. The 

disclosure statements already in Appendix C remain. Carriers may use either disclosure statement with the requisite insurance product. 
However, carriers should use either the original disclosure statements or the alternative disclosure statements and not use both 
simultaneously. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that result from accidental injury. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 

 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 
 
• hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated in the policy 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for specified limited services.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific services listed in the policy. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 

 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 
 

• any of the services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare 
 

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that reimburse expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified impairments. 
This includes expense-incurred cancer, specified disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit reimbursement to 
named medical conditions.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only when you are treated for one of 
the specific diseases or health conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for 
Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 
 

• hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated in the policy 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This 
includes cancer, specified disease, and other health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or specific payment based on 
diagnosis of the conditions named in the policy.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the specific diseases or health 
conditions named in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement 
insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits because Medicare generally pays for most of the expenses for the diagnosis and treatment of 
the specific conditions or diagnoses named in the policy. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for indemnity policies and other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding long-term care 
policies.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It does not pay your 
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 

 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 

 
• any expenses or services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare 
 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 

 
• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity basis] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed amount, regardless of 
your expenses, if you meet other policy conditions. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 
Supplement insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 
 

• any expenses or services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare; or 
• it pays the fixed dollar amount stated in the policy and Medicare covers the same event.  

 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for other health insurance policies not specifically identified in the preceding statements.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS 

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance 
and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 
 

• the benefits stated in the policy and coverage for the same event is provided by Medicare 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that result from accidental injury. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for specified limited services.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits under this policy. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific services listed in the policy. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that reimburse expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This 
includes expense-incurred cancer, specified disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit reimbursement to named medical 
conditions.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. Medicare generally pays for 
most or all of these expenses. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only when you are treated for one of 
the specific diseases or health conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for 
Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 07   July 20, 2003 1388

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This includes 
cancer, specified disease, and other health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or specific payment based on diagnosis of the 
conditions named in the policy.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the specific diseases or health 
conditions named in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement 
insurance. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for indemnity policies and other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding long-term care 
policies.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It does not pay your 
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity basis] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed amount, regardless of 
your expenses, if you meet other policy conditions. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 
Supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for other health insurance policies not specifically identified in the preceding statements.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance 
and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

• hospitalization 
• physician services 
• hospice 
• other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 

√ Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
√ For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
√ For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999), LR 29: 
§599 Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1142 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1522 (August 1999), amended LR 29: 

A public on this proposed regulation will be held on 
August 29, 2003 at 10:00 am in the Poydras Fourth Floor 
Conference Room of the Poydras Building located at 1702 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. All interested persons 
will be afforded with an opportunity to submit and make 
comments. The comment period will end on the close of 
business of August 29, 2003. 

Interested persons may obtain a copy of this proposed 
regulation, a may submit oral or written comments Claire 
Lemoine, Chief Health Attorney, Department of Insurance, 
P.O. Box 94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214, (225)  
342-4242. 

 
J. Robert Wooley 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Regulation 33CMedicare Supplement  
Insurance Minimum Standards 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is not anticipated that the Department of Insurance will 

incur any costs or savings as a result of implementing this 
regulation; no new duties are imposed upon DOI by the 
regulation. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Adoption of this regulation revision will not have any 
effect on revenue collections by local governmental units.   No 
provision in the regulation calls for fines or other fees; 
therefore, there would be no additional revenue generated for 
the state. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The Department of Insurance does not anticipate any fiscal 
impact on insurers or policyholders as a result of the 
amendment(s) to Regulation 33. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that this regulation would have any 
effect on employment or competition. 

 
Chad M. Brown Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Commissioner General Government Section Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0307#052  
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Collection of Tax on Vehicles (LAC 61:I.4307) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:303 and R.S. 47:1511 and 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to amend LAC 
61:I.4307 relative to the collection of sales and use tax on 
the sale of vehicles. 

This proposal repeals LAC 61:I.4307.B.4.h.ii.(a) through 
(d)(ii), which pertain to the Local Sales Tax Recovery 
Surcharge. This surcharge, provided for under R.S. 
47:303(B)(6), allows automobile lessors or renters subject to 
the Automobile Rental Tax levied by R.S. 47:551 to transfer 
the cost of local sales and use tax paid on automobiles 
purchased for lease or rental to their customers by allocating 
the local taxes to each automobile rental contract. 
Previously, the Rule accomplished this by allowing dealers 
to charge two dollars per rental day per contract as 
reimbursement for the local sales and use tax paid on their 
rental fleet. Since 1996, automobiles have been excluded 
from local sales and use tax when purchased for subsequent 
lease or rental and therefore the Local Sales Tax Recovery 
Surcharge is obsolete. 

The repealed Subclauses have been replaced with LAC 
61:I.4307.B.5. This proposal also renumbers the remainder 
of Subsection B as LAC 61:I.4307.B.6 through 9.b. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 43. Sales and Use Tax 
§4307. Collection 

A. - B.4.h.ii. … 
5. R.S. 47:303(B)(6) allows automobile lessors or 

renters that are subject to the Automobile Rental Tax 
imposed by R.S. 47:551 to transfer to their customers any 
local sales or use tax paid on automobiles purchased for their 
rental fleet. However, since July 1, 1996, R.S. 
47:301(10)(a)(iii) has excluded automobiles purchased for 
subsequent lease or rental from local sales or use tax. 
Therefore, the transfer of local sales and use tax allowed by 
R.S. 47:303(B)(6) is obsolete and automobile lease or rental 
dealers are no longer allowed to collect this surcharge. 

6. The sales tax exemption for isolated or occasional 
sales of tangible personal property provided by R.S. 
47:301(10)(c)(ii) does not apply to sales of motor vehicles. 
R.S. 47:303(4) provides that isolated or occasional sales of 
vehicles are specifically defined to be sales at retail and 
subject to the sales tax. 

7. The vehicle commissioner may require any dealer 
engaged in the business of selling motor vehicles, 
automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, truck-tractors, trailers, 
semi-trailers, motor buses, house trailers, or any other 
vehicle subject to the vehicle registration license tax law or 
the title registration law to furnish information relative to 
their sales on any periodic basis designated by the vehicle 
commissioner. The statements shall include the serial 
number, motor number, type, year, model of the vehicle sold, 

the total sales price, any allowance for trade-in, a description 
of the trade-in, the total cash difference to be paid by the 
purchaser, and any sales or use taxes to be paid. The vehicle 
commissioner is also authorized to secure whatever other 
additional information is necessary for proper administration 
of this Subsection. 

8. R.S. 47:303(A)(3) allows a credit against the use 
tax for taxes paid to another state provided the other state 
allows a similar credit for taxes paid to Louisiana. 

9.a. Generally, a certificate of title or vehicle 
registration will not be issued to any purchaser for any 
vehicle on which the sales taxes have not been paid. 
However, R.S. 47:303(B)(5) provides an exception for 
purchasers who paid the proper taxes due to the vehicle 
dealer at the time the vehicle was purchased, but the dealer 
did not remit the taxes to the vehicle commissioner. Under 
this provision, a motor vehicle purchaser who has not been 
issued a certificate of title or vehicle registration license 
within six months after the date of the sale, may submit a 
written request to the secretary showing that: 
 i. all state and local sales taxes and fees due by 
the purchaser were paid in good faith to the motor vehicle 
dealer at the time of purchase; 
 ii. the motor vehicle dealer has not yet remitted 
the taxes and fees to the vehicle commissioner; 
 iii. the motor vehicle dealer has refused or is 
unable to respond to a written demand by the purchaser for 
payment of the taxes and fees to the vehicle commissioner; 
and 
 iv. the certificate of title or vehicle registration 
license has not been issued within the six months after the 
date of the sale. 

b. If the purchaser's request appears reasonable and 
the facts represented are found to be accurate, the secretary 
may authorize the vehicle commissioner to issue a certificate 
of title or a vehicle registration license. If the secretary 
denies the purchaser's request, the denial will be in writing 
and the purchaser may file an appeal with the Board of Tax 
Appeals within 60 days after the date of denial by the 
secretary. 

C. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:303 and R.S. 47:1511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Revenue 

and Taxation, LR 13:107 (February 1987), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Division, LR 
20:316 (March 1994), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Policy Services Division, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature the following Family Impact 
Statement is submitted to be published with the notice of 
intent in the Louisiana Register. A copy of this statement 
will also be provided to our legislative oversight committees. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 
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3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 
in writing to Raymond E. Tangney, Senior Policy 
Consultant, Policy Services Division, P.O. Box 44098, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 219-2759. All 
comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, 
August 27, 2003. A public hearing will be held on Thursday, 
August 28, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. at the Department of Revenue 
Headquarters Building, 617 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. 

 
Raymond E. Tangney 
Senior Policy Consultant 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Collection of Tax on Vehicles 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There would be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local authorities for this proposal. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 

local governmental units as a result of this proposed 
amendment. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed amendment should have no effect on 
automobile rental dealers’ costs or revenues. This proposed 
amendment clarifies that automobile rental dealers required to 
collect the automobile rental tax imposed by R.S. 47:551 
cannot collect the local sales tax recovery surcharge from their 
customers to recover the local sales taxes paid on the purchase 
of the vehicles since this tax is no longer paid by the dealers. 
Automobile rental customers who would have been charged 
this fee will benefit by not having this fee added to their rental 
charges. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed amendment should ensure equal competition 
among automobile rental dealers because it notifies all dealers 
that customers may not be charged the local sales tax recovery 
surcharge. This proposed amendment should have no effect on 
employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges H. Gordon Monk 
Secretary Staff Director 
0307#066 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Sales and Use TaxCFor-Hire Carriers 
(LAC 61:I.4353) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:301 and R.S. 47:1511, in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to amend LAC 
61:I.4353 relative to the apportionment method provided to 
for-hire carriers under R.S. 47:306.1 for reporting sales and 
use taxes. 

These proposed amendments provide guidance regarding 
the application of the for-hire apportionment method 
allowed by R.S. 47:306.1. Specifically, they describe the 
proper procedure for calculating the mileage factor to be 
used in the apportionment ratio and the types of purchases 
that qualify for this method. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 43. Sales and Use Tax 
§4353. Collection from Interstate and Foreign 

Transportation Dealers 
A. Revised Statute 47:306.1 allows interstate for-hire 

carriers to register as dealers and pay the taxes imposed by 
R.S. 47:302(A) on an apportionment basis. Since the intent 
of the statute is apparent, this option also applies to the tax 
imposed by R.S. 47:321(A), R.S. 47:331(A), and Section 
2(A) of the Louisiana Tourism Promotion District 
Ordinance. 

1. Interstate for-hire carriers may use this 
apportionment method for purchases and importations of 
tangible personal property used directly in interstate or 
foreign commerce activity. 

2. Tangible personal property that is not used directly 
in interstate or foreign commerce activity, such as truck, bus, 
or airport terminal equipment or office equipment and 
supplies may not be apportioned. Sales or use tax must be 
paid on these purchases or importations in the manner 
prescribed by R.S. 47:306. 

3. An interstate for-hire carrier engaged in activities 
other than transporting passengers or property for-hire in 
interstate or foreign commerce cannot apply this 
apportionment method to the purchases and importations of 
tangible personal property for those activities. Sales or use 
tax must be paid on these purchases or importations in the 
manner prescribed by R.S. 47:306. 

B. Carriers that do not elect to report and pay Louisiana 
sales and use taxes under the optional formula provided by 
R.S. 47:306.1 must pay Louisiana sales tax on all purchases 
made within the state of Louisiana and report and pay use 
tax on all tangible personal property imported into Louisiana 
when it becomes part of the mass of the taxpayer's property 
located within this state in the manner prescribed by R.S. 
47:306. 

C. Interstate for-hire carriers that elect to report and pay 
Louisiana sales and use taxes under the optional formula 
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provided by R.S. 47:306.1 must conform to the provisions of 
LAC 61:I.4353.D-J. 

D. For purposes of this regulation, the following 
definitions apply. 

Apportionment Basis for Sales and Use Tax 
PurchasesCthe gross importations and gross purchases, 
however no transaction shall be included more than once, 
less those gross purchases or gross importations that are 
exempt or excluded from sales and use tax in Louisiana by a 
provision of law other than R.S. 47:306.1. 

Gross ImportationsCall tangible personal property on 
which no Louisiana sales or use tax has been paid that is 
imported into Louisiana subsequent to the effective date of 
this regulation and used directly in interstate or foreign 
commerce activity. 

Gross PurchasesCall tangible personal property 
purchased within and beyond this state that is used directly 
in interstate or foreign commerce activity. 

Interstate For-Hire CarrierCa person engaged in the 
transportation of goods or passengers in interstate or foreign 
commerce for compensation. Persons that transport goods or 
passengers in intrastate commerce in addition to transporting 
goods or passengers in interstate commerce are interstate 
for-hire carriers for the purposes of this regulation. This 
designation does not apply to any other activity engaged in 
by an interstate for-hire carrier. 

Louisiana MileageCall miles traveled by a for-hire 
carrier within the State of Louisiana while transporting 
goods or passengers for compensation in intrastate, 
interstate, or foreign commerce. 

Louisiana Taxable BaseCthe apportionment basis for 
sales and use tax purchases multiplied by the ratio of 
Louisiana mileage to total mileage. The miles traveled in 
Louisiana for purpose of this calculation include all 
Louisiana miles, regardless of whether a part of intrastate 
trips or part of interstate trips. 

Tangible Personal Property Used Directly in Interstate 
or Foreign Commerce ActivityCproperty purchased or 
acquired by an interstate for-hire carrier that is intended for 
movement between states of the United States, the United 
States and foreign nations, or states of the United States and 
offshore areas beyond the territorial limits of any state. This 
definition includes, but is not limited to, aircraft, trucks, 
trailers, rail cars, the fuel (except for fuel that is exempt from 
sales tax by Article VII, Section 27 of the Constitution of the 
State of Louisiana), parts, and supplies used in the 
maintenance and operation of these vehicles, and food items 
served to passengers during the trip. Property that is not 
intended for movement between states, such as truck 
terminal equipment, office equipment or supplies, or airport 
equipment is not tangible personal property used directly in 
interstate or foreign commerce activity and does not qualify 
for apportionment under R.S. 47:306.1. Sales or use tax must 
be paid on these purchases or importations in accordance 
with R.S. 47:306.  

Total MileageCall miles traveled by a for-hire carrier 
within and beyond the State of Louisiana while transporting 
property for compensation in intrastate, interstate, or foreign 
commerce. 

E. Interstate for-hire carriers that have not previously 
registered with the secretary to use this optional formula, 
may apply to the secretary for an interstate or foreign carrier 
dealer's number. Applicants must submit satisfactory proof 
to the secretary that they are engaged in the transporting of 
passengers or property for-hire in interstate or foreign 
commerce. Documentation showing that the for-hire carrier 
is subject to the authority of the United States Department of 
Transportation will be treated as prima facie proof of 
qualification. The secretary will issue to the interstate for-
hire carrier a registration number that may be used to make 
purchases or importations in this state of tangible personal 
property without the payment of sales or use taxes at the 
time of purchase or importation. 

F. Interstate for-hire carriers registered with the 
secretary to use the formula allowed by R.S. 47:306.1 as of 
the effective date of this Rule will be presumed to have 
chosen to continue to remit sales and use taxes under the 
formula unless they make a specific election and receive 
consent from the secretary not to report under the formula. 
Interstate for-hire carriers that are not registered with the 
secretary to use this optional method as of the effective date 
of this Rule that wish to do so must expressly signify their 
election, in writing, and receive consent from the secretary 
before they can purchase or import tangible personal 
property tax-free and apportion the taxes under this formula. 
All carriers who do not expressly so elect to report under the 
optional formula shall be presumed conclusively to have 
elected not to report under the formula. 

G. Interstate for-hire carriers must obtain approval from 
the secretary before reporting and paying taxes under the 
formula provided by R.S. 47:306.1. A written request must 
be submitted to the secretary and once approved, the carrier 
must report under the formula for all subsequent reporting 
periods. If a carrier wishes to discontinue using the formula 
method, a written request must be submitted to the secretary 
for approval. 

H. Vendors may sell tangible personal property used 
directly in interstate or foreign commerce activity to 
interstate for-hire carriers without charging sales tax if the 
buyer submits a blanket certificate, Form LGST 12, to the 
vendor. The form must be signed by the buyer (or an 
authorized representative) and include the buyer's name, 
address and registration number. When a buyer provides this 
form to vendors, he is asserting that the property purchased 
will be used directly in foreign or interstate commerce 
activity and the he will pay the taxes owed directly to the 
secretary under the provisions of R.S. 47:306.1. Blank 
certificates may be obtained from the secretary. Sellers will 
be responsible for the collection of tax on all sales made to 
persons who have not secured the proper registration 
number. Any dealer who fails to obtain or keep for the 
secretary exemption certificates signed by the buyer will be 
liable for and must pay the tax himself. 

I. On or before the twentieth day of each month, the 
carrier must file, on forms furnished by the secretary, returns 
showing the Louisiana taxable base of gross purchases and 
gross importations. This amount is determined as follows. 
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1. The apportionment basis for sales and use tax 
purchases is determined by subtracting purchases or 
importations of tangible personal property that are not 
subject to sales and use tax in Louisiana from gross 
purchases and gross importations. 

(Gross purchases and gross importations) – (Purchases and 
importations of tangible personal property that are exempt or 
excluded from sales and use tax in Louisiana) = 
(Apportionment basis for sales and use tax purchases) 

2. The Louisiana taxable base is calculated by 
multiplying the apportionment basis for sales and use tax 
purchases by the ratio of Louisiana mileage divided by total 
mileage. This amount is reported on Line 2 of the Louisiana 
General Sales Tax return. 

(Apportionment basis for sales and use tax purchases) x 
(Louisiana mileage ÷ Total mileage) = (Louisiana taxable 
base) 

J. Revised Statute 47:306.1 applies only to the tax 
imposed on the sales and use of tangible personal property 
as set forth in R.S. 47:301(A), R.S. 47:321(A), R.S. 
47:331(A), and Section 2(A) of the Louisiana Tourism 
Promotion District Ordinance. The tax imposed on the lease 
or rental of tangible personal property under R.S. 47:302(B), 
R.S. 47:321(B), R.S. 47:331(B), and Section 2(B) of the 
Louisiana Tourism Promotion District Ordinance and the tax 
on sales of services under R.S. 47:302(C), R.S. 47:321(C), 
R.S. 47:331(C), and Section 2(C) of the Louisiana Tourism 
Promotion District Ordinance may not be paid and reported 
under the optional method provided by R.S. 47:306.1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:306.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Divisions LR 13:107 (February 
1987), amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services 
Division, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature the following Family Impact 
Statement is submitted to be published with the Notice of 
Intent in the Louisiana Register. A copy of this statement 
will also be provided to our legislative oversight committees. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 
in writing to Raymond E. Tangney, Senior Policy 
Consultant, Policy Services Division, P.O. Box 44098, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 219-2759. All 
comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., Monday, August 
25, 2003. A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, 
August 27, 2003, at 10 a.m. at the Department of Revenue 
Headquarters Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA. 

 
Raymond E. Tangney 
Senior Policy Consultant 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Sales and Use TaxCFor-Hire Carriers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There would be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local authorities for this proposal. This proposed amendment 
only clarifies the method of apportioning sales and use taxes 
under R.S. 47:306.1 and will have no impact on the agency's 
costs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no impact on state sales tax revenue as a 
result of this proposed amendment, which clarifies how for-hire 
carriers engaged in interstate or foreign commerce must report 
sales and use taxes under R.S. 47:306.1. Because R.S. 47:306.1 
only applies to state sales taxes, the proposed amendment 
would have no impact on local sales and use tax revenues. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed amendment should have no effect on 
economic benefits or costs of for-hire carriers engaged in 
interstate or foreign commerce that elect to report their state 
sales and use taxes under the method authorized by R.S. 
47:306.1. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed amendment should have no effect on 
competition or employment by "for-hire" carriers engaged in 
foreign or interstate commerce that report state sales and use 
taxes under the method allowed in R.S. 47:306.1. 

 
Cynthia Bridges H. Gordon Monk 
Secretary Staff Director 
0307#099 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Ships and Ships' Supplies (LAC 61:I.4403) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:305.1 and R.S. 47:1511 and 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to amend LAC 
61:I.4403 relative to the exemption for ships and ships' 
supplies. 

These proposed amendments are necessary due to changes 
made to R.S. 47:305.1 by Acts 40 and 41 of the 2002 
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Regular Legislative Session and legal jurisprudence since 
the Rule's adoption. These proposed amendments supersede 
any previously issued internal Policy and Procedure 
Memoranda or other oral or written instructions issued to 
taxpayers. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 44. Sales and Use Tax Exemptions 
§4403. Ships and Ships' Supplies 

A. To qualify for exemption under R.S. 47:305.1(A), 
materials, machinery, and equipment that become 
component parts of ships, vessels, or barges of 50 tons load 
displacement and over built in Louisiana must be added 
during construction. Materials, machinery and equipment 
that replace original components after construction are not 
exempt under R.S. 47:305.1(A). 

B.1. For the purposes of the exemption provided in R.S. 
47:305.1(B), vendors may assume that ships supplies and 
materials delivered to the dock will be loaded upon the 
vessel for use or consumption in the maintenance of the 
vessel. 

2. The exemption provided in R.S. 47:305.1(B) for 
repair services performed upon ships and vessels operating 
exclusively in foreign or interstate coastwise commerce also 
applies to component parts removed from those ships, 
vessels, or barges and repaired elsewhere. 

C. For the purposes of the exemption granted under R.S. 
47:305.1, the following definitions apply. 

CommerceCthe transporting of goods or persons by 
ship, vessel, or barge for profit. 

Load DisplacementCthe weight of the volume of water 
displaced by a ship, vessel, or barge when loaded to its 
maximum capacity. 

Owner or OperatorCany person who has title to or 
possession of, or control over the operation of, any ship, 
vessel, or barge defined in R.S. 47:305.1. 

Ship, Vessel, or BargeCany craft used primarily for 
transporting persons or property by water, or any craft 
designed or altered to perform specialized marine-related 
services, such as dredging, fleeting, geological surveying, 
cargo transferring, and which possesses all of the following 
characteristics: 

a. performs its services in navigable waters; 
b. is capable of being moved by floatation from one 

location to another in navigable waters; and 
c. is registered as a vessel with the United States 

Coast Guard or is eligible for registration. 
Ships' Supplies and MaterialsCall tangible personal 

property loaded on and used or consumed in the 
maintenance or operation of a ship, vessel, or barge and its 
crew. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:305.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Section, LR 13:107 (February 
1987), amended by Department of Revenue, Policy Services 
Division, LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 
in writing to Raymond E. Tangney, Senior Policy 
Consultant, Policy Services Division, P.O. Box 44098, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 219-2759. All 

comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., Monday, August 
25, 2003. A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, 
August 27, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. at the Department of Revenue 
Headquarters Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA. 

Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature the following Family Impact 
Statement is submitted to be published with the notice of 
intent in the Louisiana Register. A copy of this statement 
will also be provided to our legislative oversight committees. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

 
Raymond E. Tangney 
Senior Policy Consultant 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Ships and Ships' Supplies 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There would be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local authorities for this proposal. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no impact on state or local sales tax 

revenues as a result of this proposed amendment, which 
implements the amendments to R.S. 47:305.1 enacted by Acts 
2002, Nos. 40 and 41 and judicial interpretations of the statute. 
However, it was estimated that Acts 2002, Nos. 40 and 41, 
which amended the definition of "foreign or interstate 
coastwise commerce," resulted in a significant although 
indeterminable state and local sales and use tax revenue loss. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There should be no economic costs or benefits to builders 
of ships of 50 tons load displacement and over and vendors that 
sell to vessels engaged in foreign or interstate commerce. These 
amendments only reflect the changes that have been made to 
R.S. 47:305.1 by Acts 2002, Nos. 40 and 41 and court rulings 
involving the statute. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

These proposed amendments should have no effect on 
employment or competition between builders of vessels of 50 
tons load displacement and vendors that sell to vessels 
operating in foreign or interstate commerce. 

 
Cynthia Bridges H. Gordon Monk 
Secretary Staff Director 
0307#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2004 Turkey Season 
(LAC 76:XIX.113, 115, and 117) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend the turkey rules and regulations 
for the 2004 season. 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the fiscal and economic impact statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§113. Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler, two gobblers per season. 
Taking of hen turkeys, including bearded hens, is illegal. 
Still hunting only. Use of dogs, baiting, electronic calling 
devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys may be hunted 
with shotguns, including muzzleloading shotguns, using shot 
not larger than #2 lead or BB steel shot, and bow and arrow 
but by no other means. Shooting turkeys from a moving or 
stationary vehicle is prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding 
more than three shells prohibited. 

B. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. 

C. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, shucked 
or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other feed 
capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is directly or 
indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed or 
scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. 

D. Wildlife agents are authorized to close such baited 
areas and to place signs in the immediate vicinity 
designating closed zones and dates of closure. 

E. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries strongly 
discourages feeding agricultural grains to wild turkeys as

this practice increases the risk of birds contracting 
potentially lethal diseases. Repeatedly placing grain in the 
same area may expose otherwise healthy birds to disease 
contaminated soils, grain containing lethal toxins and other 
diseased turkeys using the same feeding site. Properly 
distributed food plots (clovers, wheat, millet and chufa) are 
far more desirable for turkeys and have the added benefit of 
appealing to a wide variety of wildlife. 

F. It is unlawful to take from the wild or possess in 
captivity any live wild turkeys or their eggs. No pen raised 
turkeys from within or without the state shall be liberated 
(released) within the state. 

G. All licensed turkey hunters are required to have a 
Turkey Stamp in their possession while turkey hunting in 
addition to basic and big game hunting licenses. 
Additionally, a WMA Hunting Permit is required of any 
person (age 18-59) who hunts on land administered by the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, including Wildlife 
Management Areas, Wildlife Refuges, and Habitat 
Conservation Areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), LR 29: 
§115. Statewide Turkey Hunting Areas-Resident Game 

Birds and Animals 
A. Shooting hoursCone-half hour before sunrise to one-

half hour after sunset. 
 
Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit 
Turkey See Schedule 1 2/Season 

 
B. Turkey season will open in designated areas on the 

fourth Saturday in March. The Area A turkey season will be 
30 consecutive days in length, the Area B turkey season will 
be 23 consecutive days in length, and the Area C turkey 
season will be 9 consecutive days in length. Wildlife 
Management Areas, National Forests, National Wildlife 
Refuges, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land may vary 
from this framework. 

C. Statewide Youth Turkey Season on private lands shall 
be the weekend prior to the statewide turkey season. Only 
youths younger than 16 years of age may hunt. Youth must 
possess a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course. Each youth must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm or 
bow. Youths may possess only one firearm or bow while 
hunting. Legal weapons and shot are the same as described 
for the turkey season. The supervising adult shall maintain 
visual and voice contact with the youth at all times. An adult 
may supervise only one youth during this special hunt. Only 
one gobbler per day may be taken and any gobbler taken by 
the youth during this special season counts towards their 
seasonal bag limit of 2. 

D. 2004 Turkey Hunting Schedule 
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Area Season Dates 
A March 27-April 25 
B March 27-April 18 
C March 27-April 4 

Private Lands Youth Hunt March 20-21 

 
E. 2004 Turkey Hunting SeasonCOpen Only in the 

Following Areas 
1. Area ACMarch 27-April 25 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Beauregard; 
 ii. East Baton Rouge; 
 iii. East Feliciana; 
 iv. LaSalle; 
 v. Livingston; 
 vi. Natchitoches (ExceptionCSee Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 vii. Sabine; 
 viii.  St. Helena; 
 ix. St. Tammany; 
 x. Tangipahoa; 
 xi. Vernon (ExceptionCSee Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 xii. Washington; 
 xiii.  West Baton Rouge; 
 xiv. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island); 
 xv. Winn (ExceptionCSee Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open. 
 i. AllenCNorth of LA 104, west of LA 26 south 
of junction of LA 104 to US 190, north of US 190 east of 
Kinder, west of US 165 south of Kinder; 
 ii. AvoyellesCThat portion bounded on the east 
by the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
levee southward; 
 iii. CalcasieuCNorth of I-10; 
 iv. CaldwellCWest of Ouachita River southward 
to Catahoula Parish line, east of LA 165 from LaSalle Parish 
line to the junction of LA 126, north of LA 126 westward to 
the Winn Parish line; 
 v. CatahoulaCWest of Ouachita River southward 
to LA 559 at Duty Ferry, north of LA 559 to LA 124, south 
and west of LA 124 from Duty Ferry to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg and north of LA 8 to LA 126, north and east of 
LA 126. ALSO that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. ConcordiaCThat portion east of LA 15 and 
west of US 65 from its juncture with LA 15 at Clayton; 
 vii. EvangelineCNorth and west of LA 115, north 
of LA 106 from St. Landry to LA 13, west of LA 13 from 
Pine Prairie to Mamou and north of LA 104 west of Mamou; 
 viii. FranklinCThat portion lying east of LA 17 and 
east of LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 ix. GrantCAll of the parish except that portion of 
land that lies north of the Red River between US 71 and LA 
8. ExceptionCSee Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates; 
 x. IbervilleCWest of LA 1. ExceptionCsee 
Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all state, federal 
and private lands within Sherburne boundaries; 

 xi. Jefferson DavisCNorth of US 190 from 
junction with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of 
I-10 west from junction of US 165; 
 xii. MadisonCThat portion lying west of US 65 
and south of US 80; 
 xiii. Pointe CoupeeCAll of the parish except that 
portion bounded on the north by LA Hwy. 1, from Innis to 
the junction of LA Hwy 417, on the west by LA Hwy. 417 
southward toward McCrea, on the south by LA Hwy. 417 
from McCrea to its junction with Delhi Lane, then by Delhi 
Lane to LA Hwy. 418, then LA Hwy. 418 northward to LA 
Hwy. 1 at Innis. ExceptionCsee Sherburne WMA for special 
season dates on all state, federal and private lands within 
Sherburne boundaries; 
 xiv. RapidesCAll of the parish except that portion 
of lands that lies north of the Red River and south of US 71 
from its juncture with the Red River northward to the Grant 
Parish line. ExceptionCSee Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Kisatchie National Forest season dates; 
 xv. RichlandCThat portion south of US 80 and 
east of LA 17; 
 xvi. St. LandryCThat portion bounded on the west 
by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River. ExceptionCthe Indian Bayou 
Area, see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for Indian Bayou 
Area dates; 
 xvii. Upper St. MartinCAll within the Atchafalaya 
Basin. ExceptionsCSherburne WMA and Indian Bayou 
Area, see WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season 
dates on all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne 
WMA boundaries and see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Indian Bayou dates; 
 xviii. TensasCThat portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 
3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry. Also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River. 

2. Area BCMarch 27-April 18 
a. All of the following parishes are open. 

 i. Bienville; 
 ii. Bossier; 
 iii. Caddo; 
 iv. Claiborne; 
 v. DeSoto; 
 vi. Jackson; 
 vii. Lincoln; 
 viii. Red River; 
 ix. Union; 
 x. Webster (ExceptionCSee Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open. 
 i. East CarrollCEast of US 65 from Arkansas 
state line to Madison Parish line; 
 ii. OuachitaCEast of LA 143 from Union Parish 
line to US 80 in West Monroe, north of US 80 to LA 139, 
west of LA 139 to the Morehouse Parish line; 
 iii. MadisonCSouth of US 80 and east of US 65 to 
Tensas Parish line and all lands lying east of the main 
channel of the Mississippi River; 
 iv. MorehouseCWest of US 165 from the 
Arkansas line to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to 
junction of LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 
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to US 165, north of US 165 to LA 139, west of LA 139 to 
Ouachita Parish line. 

3. Area CCMarch 27-April 4 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open. 

 i. AscensionCAll east of the Mississippi River; 
 ii. CatahoulaCThat portion lying south of Deer 
Creek to Boeuf River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to 
LA 8 at Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 
913 and LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 iii. ConcordiaCNorth and east of Sugar Mill Chute 
(Concordia Parish) from the state line westward to Red 
River, east of Red River northward to Cocodrie Bayou, east 
of Cocodrie Bayou northward to US 84, south of US 84 
eastward to LA 15 (Ferriday), east of LA 15 northward to 
US 65 (Clayton), east of US 65 northward to Tensas Parish 
line; 
 iv. FranklinCThat portion lying west of LA 17, 
from Richland Parish line to LA 577 at Crowville, north of 
LA 577 to LA 15 at Baskin, east of LA 15 to Big Creek, and 
south and east of Big Creek to Richland Parish line; 
 v. IbervilleCAll east of the Mississippi River; 
 vi. RichlandCWest of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Rd., south of Ringle Rd. to Ferguson Rd., 
south of Ferguson Rd. to Little Rd., south of Little Rd. to 
Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
 vii. TensasCEast and south of US 65 from 
Concordia Parish line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. 
Joseph, east and south of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward 
to Port Gibson Ferry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
2002), LR 29: 
§117. 2004 Wildlife Management Area 

TurkeyCHunting Regulations 
A. General 

1. The following rules and regulations concerning 
management, protection and harvest of wildlife have been 
officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject the individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

2. Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed are 
open to turkey hunting. 

3. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles cannot be left 
overnight on WMAs EXCEPT in designated camping areas. 
ATVs are prohibited from two hours after sunset to 3:00 
AM. All roads including trails and roads designated as ATV 
only trails shall be closed to ATVs from March 1 through 
August 31 unless otherwise specified. ATV off-road or off-
trail travel is prohibited. Certain trails may be open during 
this time period to provide access for fishing or other 
purposes. These trails will be marked by signs at the 
entrance of the trail. Otherwise, only walk-in hunting is 
permitted (bicycles permitted). 

4. Bag limits on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey is allowed to be taken during special 
lottery hunts. 

B. Permits 
1. Self-Clearing Permits. All turkey hunts, including 

lottery hunts, are self-clearing. Hunters must check in daily 
by obtaining a permit from a self-clearing station prior to 
hunting. The self-clearing permit must be in the hunter's 
possession while hunting. Upon completion of each days 
hunt, the hunter must check out by completing and 
depositing the hunter report portion of the permit in the 
check-out box at a self-clearing station before exiting the 
WMA. 

2. Lottery Hunts. Bayou Macon, Boise-Vernon, Loggy 
Bayou, Sabine, Sherburne, Sicily Island, Tunica Hills, Union 
and West Bay WMAs are restricted to those persons selected 
as a result of the pre-application lottery. Special youth only 
lottery hunts will be held on Big Lake, Bens Creek, Fort 
Polk/Peason Ridge, Jackson-Bienville, Loggy Bayou, 
Sherburne, and West Bay WMAs. Deadline for receiving 
applications for all lottery hunts is February 13, 2004. An 
application fee of $5 must be sent with each application. 
Applicants may submit only one application and will be 
selected for one WMA Turkey Lottery Hunt annually. 
Submitting more than one application will result in 
disqualification. Contact any district office for applications. 
Hunters must abide by self-clearing permit requirements. 
Youths chosen for special youth only hunts will be guided by 
members of the Louisiana Chapter of the National Wild 
Turkey Federation. One family member may accompany the 
youth and guide, but may not hunt. 

C. Wildlife Management Area Turkey Hunting 
Schedule* 

 
WMA Season Dates Permit 

Requirements 
Lottery 
Dates** 

Bayou Macon April 10-11 Self-Clearing April 10-11 
Bens Creek1 March 27-April 18 Self-Clearing None 
Big Lake March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Bodcau March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Boeuf March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Boise Vernon March 27-28 

April 3-25 
Self-Clearing March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Camp 
Beauregard 

March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 

Fort Polk March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 
Grassy Lake March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Hutchinson 
Creek 

March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 

Jackson-
Bienville 

March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 

Lake Ramsey March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Little River March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Loggy Bayou April 17-18 Self-Clearing April 17-18 
Pearl River March 27-April 18 Self-Clearing None 
Peason Ridge March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 
Pomme de 
Terre 

March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 

Red River March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Sabine March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Self-Clearing March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Sandy Hollow1 March 27-April 18 Self-Clearing None 
Sherburne2 March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing March 27-28 

March 29-31 
Sicily Island March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing March 27-29 

March 30-
April 1 
April 2-4 
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Three Rivers March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Tunica Hills 
South Tract 

March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Self-Clearing March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Tunica Hills 
Angola Tract3 

March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Self-Clearing March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Union April 10-11 Self-Clearing April 10-11 
Walnut Hills March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 
West Bay March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Self-Clearing March 27-28 

April 3-4 

 
*Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed have a turkey 
hunting season. All other areas are closed. 
**The deadline for receiving applications for all turkey 
Lottery Hunts on WMAs is February 13, 2004. 
1No turkey hunting within 100 yards of food plots identified 
by two yellow paint rings around the nearest tree. 
2All turkeys harvested on Sherburne WMA must be weighed 
and checked at WMA headquarters. 
3Scouting access limited. Contact Region 7 office for details 
(225) 765-2360. 

 
D. Wildlife Management Area Youth Hunts 
 

WMA Lottery Youth Hunt Date 
Bens Creek March 20 
Big Lake March 20 
Fort Polk/Peason Ridge March 20 
Jackson-Bienville March 20 
Loggy Bayou April 10 
Sherburne March 20 
West Bay March 20 

 
E. Federal Lands Turkey Hunting Schedule 

1. Kisatchie National Forest (KNF) Turkey Hunting 
ScheduleCCaney Ranger District, March 27-April 11; all 
remaining KNF lands, March 27-April 18 (including 
Catahoula and Red Dirt National Wildlife Management 
Preserves). 

2. Indian Bayou Area (U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers), Turkey Hunting ScheduleCMarch 20 handicap 
only hunt, March 27- April 4, lottery hunt only on March 27-
28 and March 29-31. Contact USCOE at 337-585-0853 for 
further information. 

3. National Wildlife RefugesCBogue Chitto NWR, 
March 27BApril 25; Lake Ophelia NWR, March 27-29 
(lottery only), April 3-25; Tensas NWR, March 20-21 (youth 
lottery only), March 27BApril 11. Contact the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service for information regarding NWR hunts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
25:2265 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2636 (November 
2000), LR 27:2272 (December 2001), LR 28:2377 (November 
2002), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent

will have no impact on the six criteria set out at  
R.S. 49:972(B). 

Interested persons may submit written comments relative 
to the proposed Rule to Mr. Tommy Prickett, Administrator, 
Wildlife Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 
Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, until Thursday, 
September 4, 2003. 

Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  2004 Turkey Season 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Establishment of hunting regulations is an annual process. 

The cost of implementing the proposed Rules to the state, aside 
from biologist staff time, is the production of the turkey 
regulation pamphlets and the issuance of turkey stamps. 
Implementation cost is estimated at $14,346. The state agency 
currently has sufficient funds to implement the proposed action 
and local governmental units will incur no implementation 
costs or savings from the proposed Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

License revenue from the sale of the turkey stamps is 
estimated to be $53,350. Failure to adopt this Rule would result 
in no turkey hunting seasons and loss of state revenue 
collections from the sale of turkey stamps. In addition, loss of 
tax revenues of an undeterminable amount may occur to both 
state and local governmental units from the sale of supplies and 
equipment used in the pursuit of turkeys. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Approximately 15,000 resident and nonresident sportsmen 
and an undeterminable amount of sporting goods distributors, 
retail outlets and landowners are directly affected by this 
proposal. Turkey hunters in Louisiana generate income to retail 
outlets, landowners and commercial operations that cater to the 
hunting public through hunting leases and the sale of outdoor 
related equipment and associated items (food, fuel, clothing 
shotgun shells, etc.). These land and business owners will be 
negatively impacted if turkey hunting seasons, rules and 
regulations are not established and promulgated. The actual 
amount of this impact is not estimable at this time. Both 
resident and nonresident turkey hunters who do not have a 
lifetime license or who are not exempt from purchasing a Wild 
Turkey Stamp will incur an additional cost of $5.50 and 
$20.50, respectively. This Rule merely sets the 2004 Wild 
Turkey hunting season. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Hunting supports approximately 9,184 full and part-time 
jobs in Louisiana of which a proportion is directly related to 
turkey hunting. Failure to establish turkey hunting seasons may 
have a negative impact on some of these jobs. It is anticipated 
that there will be little or no effect on competition in both the 
public and private sectors resulting from the proposed action. 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary General Government Section Director 
0307#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Harvest Area Grid System 
(LAC 76:VII.519) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice to amend the oyster harvest area grid system pursuant 
to R.S. 56:430.1. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oysters 
§519. Establishment of an Oyster Harvest Area Grid 

System 
A. For the purpose of submission of oyster leaseholder 

production information, as required in R.S. 56:430.1, the 
oyster harvest area grid system is established as those grid 
areas detailed on the map which is attached hereto and made 
a part hereof.  

 

 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:430.1.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
28:524 (March 2002), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Interested persons may submit comments relative to the 
proposed Rule to Ms. Heather Warner-Finley, Marine 
Fisheries Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,  
P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, prior to 
Thursday, September 4, 2003. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Oyster Harvest Area Grid System 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No implementation costs or savings to sate or local 
governmental units are anticipated. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No effects to state or local governmental revenue 
collections are anticipated. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

No costs or economic benefits to directly affected persons 
or non-governmental groups are anticipated as a result of the 
proposed Rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No effects on competition or employment are anticipated. 
 

James L. Patton Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary General Government Section Director 
0307#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Responsibilities and Powers of Enforcement Officers 
(LAC 76:I.305) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend the responsibilities and powers 
of enforcement officers within the department. 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the fiscal and economic impact statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part I.  Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and  
Agencies Thereunder 

Chapter 3. Special Powers and Duties 
Subchapter B. Enforcement Officers 
§305. Responsibilities and Powers of Enforcement 

Officers 
A. - B.2.  … 
C. Nets, Traps, Guns, Boats, Lights and other Equipment 

1. - 3. … 
4. Rods, Reels, Tackle and Nets. In addition to the 

other allowable methods of disposal provided for in this 
Subsection, and notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Subsection, all rods, reels, fishing poles, tackle and nets 
may, upon the passage or occurrence of all pertinent time 
periods or events provided for in Subparagraph C.1.a supra, 
be donated to bona fide charitable organizations, youth 
groups or schools. This disposition may be exercised in lieu 
of other dispositions when the secretary determines it is in 
the best interest of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:60. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
15:554 (July 1989), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Interested persons may submit written comments relative 
to the proposed Rule to Col. Winton Vidrine, Administrator, 
Enforcement Division, Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, until 
Thursday, September 4, 2003. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Responsibilities and Powers of 

Enforcement Officers 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No implementation costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units are anticipated. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed Rule will reduce annual revenues to the 
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) and 
to the Louisiana Property Assistance Agency (LPAA) by an 
estimated $1,996 and $499, respectively. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Under the proposed Rule, charitable organizations and/or 
youth groups will annually receive fishing gear with an 
estimated value of $29,700 (new)/$2,495 (salvage). These non-
governmental organizations will not incur any additional costs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No effects on competition or employment are anticipated. 
 

James L. Patton Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary General Government Section Director 
0307#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

 



Administrative Code Update 
CUMULATIVE:  JANUARY – JUNE 2003 

 
LAC 
Title 

LAC 
Title Part.Section Part.Section Effect Effect 

Location  Location  
LR 29 LR 29 
Month Page Month Page 

4 I.303 Amended Mar. 372 
 XVII.Chapters 1-9, 13-15 Adopted June 951 
     
7 XV.321 Amended June 859 
     

10 XV.303 Amended Mar. 343 
     

13 III.101-117 Amended June 860 
 III.119-123 Adopted June 860 
     

19 II.Chapters 1-13 Amended Apr. 542 
 VII.7303,7305 Amended June 859 
     

22 I.314 Adopted Mar. 360 
 XIII.503 Amended Apr. 577 
     

28 I.901 Amended Jan. 33 
 I.901 Amended Feb. 117 
 I.901 Amended Mar. 286 
 I.901 Amended Mar. 287 
 I.901 Amended Mar. 287 
 I.901 Amended Mar. 299 
 I.901 Amended Apr. 552 
 I.901 Amended May 670 
 I.901 Amended Apr. 552 
 I.901 Amended June 865 
 I.903 Amended Feb. 117 
 I.903 Amended Feb. 119 
 I.903 Amended Feb. 121 
 IV.301 Amended Apr. 555 
 IV.301,701,805,1703,1705 Amended June 879 
 IV.501, 503, 803 Amended Apr. 554 
 IV.703, 1103, 1705, 2103 Amended Feb. 125 
 VI.107 Amended Apr. 556 
 XXXIII.305, 311, 503, 507, 701 Amended Feb. 124 
 XXXVII.503,701,901 Amended Apr. 553 
 XXXIX.503, 505, 1301 Amended Feb. 123 
 XLIII.105,130,201,240,302,369 Amended June 867 
 XLIII.260,509-511 Repealed June 867 
 XLIII.401,405,411,413,415,416 Amended June 867 
 XLIII.410, 861-870 Adopted June 867 
 XLIII.417,418,431,433,434 Amended June 867 
 XLIII.436,437,438,440,441 Amended June 867 
 XLIII.444-451,460,462,491,494 Amended June 867 
 XLIII.503-508,512-519 Amended June 867 

 XLIII.602,690,711,716,830,904 
XLIII.1001 

Amended 
Amended 

June 
June 

867 
867 

 LXIII.Chapters 1-7 Adopted Mar. 306 
     

32 III.101 Amended Mar. 340 
 III.101 Amended Mar. 342 
 III.301, 321, 601, 701, 703 Amended Mar. 339 
 III.301, 701 Amended Mar. 343 
 III.323, 701 Amended Mar. 341 
 III.701 Repromulgated Apr. 577 
 V.101 Amended Mar. 336 
 V.101 Amended Mar. 338 
 V.301, 601, 701, 703 Amended Mar. 334 
 V.301, 701 Amended Mar. 338 
 V.325, 701 Amended Mar. 337 
 V.10303 Amended May 711 
 IX.Chapters 1-7 Adopted June 883 
     

33 I,III,V,VII,IX,XI,XV Amended May 670 
 I.2303-2309 Amended May 701 
 I.3931 Amended May 697 
 I.Chapter 41 Adopted May 696 
 I.4501, 4719 Amended Mar. 311 
 III.507,2160,3003,5116,5122 Amended May 697 
 III.1432 Amended May 697 
 III.2132 Amended Apr. 557 

33 III.3003 Amended Mar. 316 
 III.5311,5901 Amended May 697 
 V.105, 109, 321, 529, 535, 537 Amended Mar. 317 
 V.2001, 2219 Adopted Mar. 317 
 V.2603, 3001, 3105 Amended Mar. 317 
 V.Chapter 30 Amended May 697 
 V.3115, 4513, 4901, 4903 Amended Mar. 317 
 VII.Chapters 151-169 Repealed Mar. 312 
 IX.1105,1109 Amended Apr. 556 
 IX.2301,2531,2533 Amended May 697 
 IX.2341 Amended May 701 
 XV.503, 573, 575, 577, 578, 579 Amended Jan. 33 
 XV.590 Amended Jan. 33 
 XV.1517 Amended May 697 
     

35 III.5737 Adopted Jan. 36 
 III.5738 Repromulgated Jan. 36 
     

37 III.109, 111, 303, 507, 509, 511 Amended Mar. 344 
 III.515, 517, 701, 705, 711 Amended Mar. 344 
 III.517 Repromulgated Apr. 579 
 III.519 Repealed Mar. 344 
 III.715, 901, 1101 Amended Mar. 344 
 III.1401, 1403, 1405 Adopted Mar. 344 
 III.1501, 1503, 1505, 1507 Amended Mar. 344 
 XI.901 Amended Jan. 41 
 XI.2501 Adopted Jan. 41 
     

42 VII.1701, 2101, 2325 Amended Mar. 362 
 IX.2101, 4103 Amended Mar. 362 
 XI.2405 Amended Mar. 362 
 XIII.1701, 2101, 2325, 3305 Amended Mar. 362 
     

43 XV.105,1105-1107,2111,2113 Amended June 939 
 XV.1109, 5424, 5425 Adopted June 939 
 XV.2311,2323,2731,2733,3103 Amended June 939 
 XV.3115,3705,5423 Amended June 939 
 XVII.Chapter 31 Adopted June 914 
 XIX.Chapter 5 Amended June 914 
 XIX.703 Amended Mar. 350 
     
     

46 I.101,103,301,309,311, Repromulgated Apr 558 
 I.303,305,307,313,315,317 Amended Apr 558 
 I.Chapters 5-23 Adopted Apr. 558 
 V.3005 Adopted May 703 
 XXXI.Chapters 1-17 Adopted Mar. 325 
 XLVII.303 Amended Feb. 127 
 XLVII.3308 Adopted Apr. 581 
 XLVII.4507 Amended Apr. 580 
 LX.Chapters 1-47 Adopted Feb. 128 
 LX.3503 Repromulgated Apr. 581 
 LXIII.1301 Amended May 703 
 LXIII.1303-1319 Repealed May 703 
 LXVI.705, 1109 Amended Feb. 182 
 LXVII.2501 Amended Feb. 127 
 LXVII.3703, 3705 Amended Mar. 349 
 LXVII.3703, 3705 Repromulgated Apr. 579 
 LXVII.10311, 10313 Amended Feb. 126 
 LXXVI.Chapters 11-16 Adopted Mar. 350 
     

48 I.Chapter 44 Adopted May 705 
 I.Chapter 44 Repromulgated June 902 
     

50 I.Chapter 29 Adopted June 908 
 I.Chapter 41 Repromulgated Apr. 583 
 II.10155 Amended June 911 
 II.10167 Amended Jan. 40 
 XV.Chapters 65-87 Adopted Feb. 175 
 XV.Chapter 77 Adopted Jan. 39 
 XV.Chapter 129 Adopted June  911 
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LAC 
Title Part.Section Effect 

Location  
LR 29 
Month Page 

LAC 
Title Part.Section Effect 

Location  
LR 29 
Month Page 

50 XXI.11523 Repromulgated Jan. 38 
 XXI.11703 Amended May 704 
     

51 IX.303, 333 Repromulgated Feb. 173 
     

55 III.187 Amended Apr. 604 
 III.325,327,383 Amended Apr. 605 
 V.103 Repromulgated Feb. 183 
     

61 I.1306 Adopted Jan. 42 
 I.2903 Amended June 951 
 I.4301 Amended Feb. 186 
 I.4420 Adopted Feb. 188 
 III.301-335 Adopted Mar. 363 
 III.2101 Amended June 950 
 V.303, 703, 907, 1503 Amended Mar. 367 
 V.2503, 2705, 2707 Amended Mar. 367 
     

67 III.1235 Amended Jan. 44 
 III.1917,1932,1949,1953,1961 Amended Apr. 605 
 III.1965,1966,1980,1983,2013 Amended Apr. 605 
 III.Chapters 35, 37 Repealed May 714 
 III.5102, 5103, 5107 Amended Jan. 42 
 III.5102, 5107 Amended Feb. 189 
 III.5501,5505,5513 Amended May 715 
 III.5503,5515,5517,5519 Repealed May 715 

67 III.5507 Amended Jan. 44 
 III.5521 Amended Mar. 373 
 III.5533 Amended Feb. 190 
 III.5555 Adopted Jan. 44 
 III.5559 Adopted Jan. 44 
 III.5561-5571 Adopted Feb. 190 
 V.501,515 Amended May 712 
 V.503-513 Adopted May  712 
 VII.Chapter 1 Amended Jan. 46 
     

70 I.101, 103 Amended Feb. 192 
 I.317 Amended Jan. 48 
 XXIII.Chapter 3 Amended Apr. 607 
     

71 I.Chapter 5 Repromulgated Feb 192 
 III.Chapters 21-23 Repromulgated Feb. 192 
 VII.Chapter 1 Repromulgated Feb. 192 
     

76 V.107 Amended Feb. 196 
 V.125 Repromulgated Jan. 51 
 VII.149 Amended Mar. 373 
 VII.500 Repealed Mar. 373 
 VII.505 Amended Mar. 373 
 VII.701 Amended Jan. 48 
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Legislation 
 
 

LEGISLATION 

Concurrent Resolution 

Regular Session 2003CSenate Concurrent  
Resolution Number 104 

To suspend various sections of Title 37 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950 and those portions of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code as they may impose certain mandatory 
requirements for the continuation of any licensure or 
certification for any individual while in the active military 
service of the United States or any of its allies. 

Whereas, the Legislature of Louisiana has enacted various 
statutes which require individuals to meet certain mandatory, 
periodic requirements for the continuation of their 
professional or occupational license or certification; and  

Whereas, the Legislature of Louisiana has directed various 
professional and occupational board or commissions to 
require these individuals to fulfill these requirements on an 
annual basis in order to maintain their license or certification 
in good standing; and 

Whereas, the various boards and commissions may 
require a minimum amount of continuing education, 
payment of fees, and the completion of an annual application 
for licensure; and 

Whereas, many Louisiana citizens who maintain a 
professional or occupational license in this state are 
currently involved in active military service for the United 
States or any of its allies; and 

Whereas, it has become necessary that these brave men 
and women must forsake their normal, daily careers in order 
to serve in the active military service of the United States or 
any of its allies; and 

Whereas, it would be an injustice for these individuals to 
have their professional or occupational license or 
certification suspended or terminated due to their inability to 
meet certain mandatory requirements; and 

Whereas, under the authority of R.S. 49:969 and Article 
III, Section 20 of the Constitution of Louisiana, the 
legislature may suspend any law, rules, or regulation. 

Therefore, be it resolved that the Legislature of Louisiana 
herby suspend those portions of Title 37 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950 and those portions of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code as they may pertain to various 
mandatory, periodic requirements for the continuation of any 
professional or occupational license or certification for any 
individual in the active military service of the United State 
of any of its allies. 

Be it further resolved that every professional or 
occupational board or commission is hereby directed not to 
enforce any provision which would require any individual in 
active military service of the United States or any of its allies 
to meet certain mandatory requirements for the continuation 
or renewal of their license or certification, including the 
payment of any fees, application for renewal, or continuing 
education requirements. 

Be it further resolved that a license or certificated holder 
who is in the active military services of the United States or 
any of its allies shall notify the appropriate board or 
commission of his current military status as soon as is 
reasonably possible after he receives notice of this 
suspension. 

Be it further resolved that a copy of this Resolution be 
transmitted to each professional or occupation board or 
commission in the state of Louisiana. 

 
John J. Hainkel, Jr. 
Senate President 
and 
Charlie DeWitt 
Speaker of the House of Representatives 

0307#026 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors 

Embalmer/Funeral Director Examinations  

The Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors will give 
the National Board Funeral Director and Embalmer/Funeral 
Director exams on Saturday, September 6, 2003, at Delgado 
Community College, 615 City Park Ave., New Orleans, LA. 

Interested persons may obtain further information from 
the Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, P.O. Box 
8757, Metairie, LA 70011 (504) 838-5109. 

 
Dawn Scardino 
Executive Director 

0307#043 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Veterinary Medicine 

Fall/Winter Examination Dates 

The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine will 
administer the State Board Examination (SBE) for licensure 
to practice veterinary medicine on the first Tuesday of every 
month. Deadline to apply for the SBE is the third Friday 
prior to the examination date desired. SBE dates are subject 
to change due to office closure (i.e., holiday, weather). 

The Board will accept applications to take the North 
American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) 
which will be administered through the National Board of 
Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME), formerly the 
National Board Examination Committee (NBEC), as 
follows. 

Test Window Date Deadline to Apply 
November 17 through 
December 13, 2003 Tuesday, September 16, 2003 

 
The Board will also accept applications for and administer 

the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) for 
state registration of veterinary technicians as follows. 

 
Test Date Deadline to Apply 

Friday, January 16, 2004 Friday, November 21, 2003 
 
Applications for all examinations must be received on or 

before the deadline. No late application will be accepted. 
Requests for special accommodations must be made as early 
as possible for review and acceptance. Applications and 
information may be obtained from the board office at 263 N. 
Third Street, Suite 104, Baton Rouge, LA 70801, by request 
via telephone at (225) 342-2176, or by e-mail at 
lbvm@eatel.net. Application forms and information are also 
available on the website at www.lsbvm.org. 

 
Wendy D. Parrish 
Administrative Director 

0307#025 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well Number Serial Number 
Tribal Oil Company Eola L Glaze et al. 3 023089 (30) 
H. J. Henry, Sr. West Hackberry L Gray et al.. 1 068917 
Core Exploration & Prod. Corp. Dorcyville L CIB H 4 RA SUA; Murrell 4-ALT 207899 (30) 
Whitestone Petroleum Corp. Manila Village L E. A. Maier/B/ 2 126353 
U. S. Oil of Louisiana, Inc. Bay St. Elaine L SL 2995 LL&E Unit 3 12-D 121159 
U. S. Oil of Louisiana, Inc. Bay St. Elaine L SL 2995 LL&E Unit 3 12 119856 
Arkansas Fuel Oil Co. WildcatCSo. LA L Louisiana FURS A 1 068186 
Kilroy Co. of Texas, Inc. WildcatCSo. LA L Eugenie A. Green 1 085564 
Kilroy Co. of Texas, Inc. Boston Bayou L John Nugier et al. 3 091226 
Lamson, Bennett & Cole WildcatCSo. LA L Nugier Unit 1 057150 
Mccormick-Bintliff-Pettit Live Oak L 13800 RA SUA; F. Stovall 2 150368 (30) 
Cody Energy, Inc. Sherburne L SHE 9300 RA SU; Kurzweg 5 143399 (30) 
Cody Energy, Inc. Sherburne L SHE 9300 STR RA SU; Kurzweg 5-D 144215 (30) 
D. B. Braddock Shongaloo S TOK RA SUE; Adkins C 1 189258 
R. T. "Ronnie" King, Sr. Tew Lake M VUA; KnappCKing B 1 103696 
R. T. "Ronnie" King, Sr. Tew Lake M VUA; KnappCKing C 2 105776 
R. T. "Ronnie" King, Sr. Tew Lake M King 1 220363 
R. T. "Ronnie" King, Sr. Tew Lake M Knapp SWD 1 970192 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 1 046576 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L Gulf Refining Co. Fee 1 046969 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L W. C. Gilbert et al. 1 048700 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L Gulf Refining Co. Fee 2 049229 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 3 049547 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 5 124973 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 6 128718 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L Gulf Refining Fee SWD 3 130753 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 7 132894 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 8 150649 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Edgerly L J. F. Lillard 9 162247 
Legendary Oil Co., Inc. Iota L Emar Lejeune 1 179958 
Hgh Energy, Inc. Bayou Fordoche L Kramer U11 1 047563 (30) 
Hgh Energy, Inc. Bayou Fordoche L J. R. Reuter SWD 4 049634 (30) 
Hgh Energy, Inc. Bayou Fordoche L J. R. Reuter 5 180584 (30) 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. South Bancroft L Boise Southern 1 169131 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Northwest Bivens L Justice Neely 1 202284 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Carterville S Roberson 1 142689 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Carterville S Roberson A SWD 1 149323 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Indian Lake M Chicago Mill B 1 173251 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Little Cheniere L 5300 RA VUA; A. Nunez 1 157782 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Little Cheniere L Mermentau Mineral Land Co. 2 197469 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Little Cheniere L 7100 RA SUA; Merm. Min. Land Co. 1 215824 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Little Cheniere L 6400 RA SUA; J. P. Boudoin 1 216843 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. New Quarters M Chicago Mill S 2 167972 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. New Quarters M Bsl. Tusc. S RA SUC; Cml. Co. D 3 185801 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Newlight M Tensas SWD 1 166533 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Newlight M Chicago Mill & Lbr. Co. B 2 168815 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Oakley L 10700 RA SUA; J. A. Blanchard 2 177330 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S G. W. Roberson 1 059560 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S G. W. Roberson 3 060618 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S G .W. Roberson 5 064534 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S Roberson 1 173096 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S Roberson 2 173097 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S Roberson 3 175042 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S Roberson 4 175065 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S PET. RC. SUG; Roberson A 1 190792 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Redland S Roberson B 1 192374 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Skinner Lakes L U WX RA SUD; Columbia LD 1 190329 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Skinner Lakes L U WX RA SUB; Columbia LD B 1 193749 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Skinner Lakes L U WX RA SUC; Columbia LD A 1 197506 
Jimmy Roberson Energy Corp. Skinner Lakes L THOM RA SUA; Webb B 1 160410 
Rolf Resources, Inc. Darrow  L Morgan C. Many et al. 1 990448 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

0307#059 
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1 - 87 .................................................... January 
88 - 259................................................. February 
260 - 514............................................... March 
515 - 656............................................... April 
657 - 818............................................... May 
819 - 1039............................................. June 
1040 - 1413........................................... July 
 
EOCExecutive Order 
PPMCPolicy and Procedure Memoranda 
ERCEmergency Rule 
RCRule 
NCNotice of Intent 
CRCCommittee Report 
GRCGovernor's Report 
LCLegislation 
PCPotpourri 

Pesticides and Environmental Programs Division 
Icon, 264ER 

Seed Commission 
Fees/Penalties/Hearings, 1138N 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Termite baiting, 375N 

 
 
 
 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Civil Service Commission 

Gainsharing and exceptional performance, 964N 
Market grade adjustment, 964N 
Demotion, 964N 
Job correction or grade assignment, 964N 
Promotion, 964N 
Reallocation, 964N 

  
 ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
 Cumulative 
 January 2002CDecember 2002, 79 
 January 2003CMarch 2003, 644 
 January 2003CJune 2003,  

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM  
Atchafalaya Trace Commission  

Development Zone, 717N  
 AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
 Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
 Boll Weevil, 82P, 252P, 198N,859R 
 Fees for termite contracts, 1040ER 
 Pesticide registration, certification, fees, 1041ER 
 Termite baiting systems, 1062R 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Agro-Consumer Services, Office of  
Business Development, Office of Chloramphenicol, 90ER, 1041ER 

Award Program, 860R, 1045ER Taxi meter registration/annual fee, 3ER, 660ER 
Linked Deposit Program, 378N, 859R Animal Health Services, Office of 
Matching Grants Program, 1068R Quarantine, 252P 
Project equity fund, 1213N Commissioner, Office of the 
Supplemental EDAP rules, 1211N Chloramphenicol, 515ER, 831ER 
University Foundation Investment Program,  Contagious diseases, 52N 
 834ER, 1216N Pesticides, 518ER 
Workforce Development and Training Program, Forestry, Office of 
 265ER, 379N, 1064R Timber stumpage values, 82P 

Secretary, Office of the Horticulture Commission 
Small and Emerging Business Development Examination fees, 1040ER, 1136N 
 Program, 542R Landscape architect registration exam, 252P 
Capital Companies Tax Credit Program, 519ER, Nursery certificate permit fees, 1137N 
 966N, 1047ER, 1219N Quarantine listing, 645P 

 Retail floristry examination, 252P, 810P 
 Sweet potato quarantine, 1137N 
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EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 104 
Technology Standards, 967N 

Bulletin 105 
 Programs serving 4 year olds, 1140N 
Bulletin 741 

Accountability, 287R, 299R, 552R, 719N, 971N 
Adult education, 33R 
Assessment procedures, 383N, 1070R 
Curriculum, 1179N 
High school diploma, 1180N 
Home school, 53N, 286R 
Instructional program standards, 117R 
Financial literacy, 287R 
Nonpublic school administrators, 1182N 
Principal/Assistant Principal, 199N, 865R 
Test security, 383N, 1070R 
Time requirements, 552R 
Transfer, 53N, 286R 
Unsafe school choice option, 730N 

Bulletin 746 
 Active military duty, 1208N 

Alternate certification, 393N, 1079R 
Criminal offenses, 117R 
Educational leadership, 119R, 121R 
Extension of certificate, 977N 
Grade 7-12 certification, 390N, 1073R, 1077R 
Non-Masters Certification, 392N, 1077R 
Out of field teaching, 387N, 1074R 
One year authorization on certificates 
 Abolishing policy, 1207N 
Practitioner teacher, 1209N 
Teacher education, 394N, 396N, 1079R 
Reinstatement, 977 

Bulletin 1196 
Operation, 979N 

Bulletin 1536 
 Removal from the LAC, 1211N 
Bulletin 1566 

LEAP waiver for disabilities, 123R,  
LEAP waiver for LEP, 622N 

Bulletin 1573 
Complaint management, 397N, 1080R 

Bulletin 1706 
Disabilities, 200N, 867R 

Bulletin 1794  
Textbook adoption, 124R 

Bulletin 1943 
Certification, 553R 
Licensure, 553R 

Bulletin 1965 
Curriculum development, 306R 

 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Scholarship/Grants, 54N, 125R, 269ER,  
 401N, 554R, 660ER, 732N, 879R, 996N 
Definitions, 555R 
Military service, 520ER 

Tuition Trust Authority 
START Program, 55N, 405N 
Definitions, 556R 
Interest rates, 272ER 

 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Environmental Assessment, Office of 

Environmental Planning Division 
10 CFR 20, 1006N 
10 CFR 71, 405N, 697R 
40 CFR Part 60, 58N, 316R 
40 CFR Part 63, 1003N 
40 CFR Part 93, 409N, 697R 
Bayou Courtableau, 1004N 
Bayou Chinchuba, 1014N 
Bayou Teche, 1004N 
Building enclosure definition, 1220N 
Commercial laboratories,, 273ER, 311R 
Concentrated animal feeding operations, 998N 
Contamination, public notification, 274ER, 624N,  
 1048ER 
DeMinimis concentration, 622N 
Fee increases for FY 02-03, 93ER 
Fee increases for FY 03-04, 56N, 670R 
Fees/risk/cost/benefit statement, 810P 
Hazardous waste site cleanup fund, 57N, 696R 
Interim fee amounts FY02/03-removal, 1222N 
Motiva Enterprises delisting petition, 410N, 1084R 
Naturally dystrophic waters performance, 556R 
Oil and gas construction, 274ER, 413N, 701R 
Penalty determination, 1221N 
Public records requests, 214N, 701R  
Radiation protection, 1012N 
Radiographer trainee, 33R 
RCRA XII package, 59N, 317R 
RECAP, 2, 253P 
SIP, 509P 
Solid waste regulations reorganization, 312R 
Tchefuncte River Wetlands, 1014N 
Vapor recovery systems, 557R 
Vermilion River, 1004N 
Waste tires, 662ER, 1016N 
West Atchafalaya Borrow Pit Canal, 1004N 

Secretary, Office of the 
Fee increase, 93ER 
Waste tires, 3ER 
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
MJF 02-73CLouisiana Domestic Terrorism Advisory  
 Committee, 1EO 
MJF 02-74CCarry-Forward Bond Allocation-Louisiana  
 Housing Finance Agency, 2EO 
MJF 03-01CBond Allocation-Industrial Development  
 Board of the City of Donaldsonville, Louisiana,  
 Inc.,  88EO 
MJF 03-02CGovernor's DWI/Vehicular Homicide Task  
 Force, 88EO 
MJF 03-03CAdditional 2002 Carry-Forward Bond  
 AllocationCLouisiana Housing Finance Agency,  
 260EO 
MJF 03-04CExecutive BranchCExpenditure Freeze,  
 260EO 
MJF 03-05CExecutive BranchCAppropriations Cuts,  
 262EO 
MJF 03-06CRegional TraumaCPatient Care Statewide  
 System Task, 657EO 
MJF 03-07CBond AllocationCLouisiana Housing  
 Finance Agency, 658EO 
MJF 03-08CLouisiana Drug Control and Violent Crime  
 Policy Board, 659EO 
MJF 03-09CBond AllocationCIndustrial District No. 3 
 of the Parish of West Baton Rouge, State of  
 Louisiana,  819EO 
MJF 03-10CProhibited Expenditure of State Monies,  
 819EO 
MJF 03-11CBond AllocationCLouisiana Public  
 Facilities Authority, 820EO 
 
 
 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Community Development, Office of 
Public hearing, 254P, 649P 
Review of FY 2004 plan, 647P 

Cosmetology, Board of 
Revision of LAC 46:XXXI, 325R 

Financial Institutions, Office of 
CAPCO definitions, 343R 

Group Benefits, Office of 
EPO Plan of Benefits 

Deductibles, 334R 
Co-Insurance, 334R 
Employer, 275ER, 837ER, 1017N 
Out of pocket expenses, 334R 
Pre-existing conditions, 336R 
Prescription drugs, 337R 
Retiree coverage, 338R 
Well-adult care expenses, 338R 

MCOCManaged Care Option  
Benefits, 414N, 883R 

PPO Plan of Benefits 
Accumulation of deductibles, 339R 
Co-Insurance, 339R 
Comprehensive medical, 577R 
Employer, 276ER, 837ER, 1018N 
Out of pocket expenses, 334R 
Pre-existing conditions 
Effective dates/limitations, 340R 
Prescription drugs, 341R 
Retiree coverage, 342R 
Well-adult care expenses, 343R 

Racing Commission 
Slot machine proceeds, 36R 
Worker's compensation, 5ER, 217N 

State Purchasing, Office of 
Computer equipment, 276ER, 434N 
Computer Services, 276ER, 434N 
LaMAS, 109ER, 216N 

State Travel, Office of 
General travel PPM 49, 822PPM 

Architectural Examiners, Board of 
Architects, 558R 

Bar Pilots Port of New Orleans, Board  
of Examiners for the 
Bar pilot regulations, 350R 
Retirement and drug/alcohol policy, 1237N 

Certified Public Accountants, Board of 
Computer-based exam, 733N 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 
Compensation, 577R 

New Orleans/Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots,  
Board Examiners for the 
Conduct/Investigation standards, 17ER, 235N 
Drug and alcohol policy, 14ER, 232N 

Oil Spill Coordinator, Office of 
Public meetings, 1029P 
Plaquemines Parish North Pass oil spill, 1029P 

Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board 
Eligible healthcare providers, 344R, 579R 
Practice groups, 344R, 579R 
Qualification/enrollment, 344R, 579R 

Real Estate Commission 
Agency disclosure, 349R, 579R 
Appraiser certification, 126R 
Post licensing/continuing education, 1253N 
Prelicensing courses, 1254N 
Real estate names and/or trade names, 127R 
Transactions, 218N, 1087R 

River Port Pilot Commissioners, Board of 
 River port pilots, 1247N 
Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners of 

Examinations, 626N, 1086R 
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 

Hearings, 736N 
Repossession of vehicles, 218N, 703R 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Certified Social Work Examiners, Board of 
 Social work, 1255N 
Dentistry, Board of 

Laser requirements, 627N 
Licensure, 627N 

Electrolysis Examiners, Board of 
Electrologists instructors requirements, 1272N 

Embalmers/Funeral Directors, Board of 
Examinations, 811P, 1406P 

Licensed Professional Counselors, Board of  
Examiners 

Licensure, 128R 
Continuing education, 581R 

Management and Finance, Office of 
Grants, 1030 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Continuing medical education, 68N, 1088R 
Podiatric reinstatement, 68N, 1088R 

Nursing, Board of 
Detention facilities, 1019N 
Definitions, 1020N 
Licensure, 68N, 580R 
Public comment, 581R 

Pharmacy, Board of 
Pharmacists, 1287N 

Practical Nursing Examiners, Board of 
Appointing authority, 127R 

Psychologists Board of Examiners  
Ethical standards, 219N, 628N, 703R, 1088R 
Licenses, 1276N 
Reciprocity, 1277N 
Supervised practice, 1278N 

Public Health, Office of 
Neonatal screening, 784N 
BEACH Grant Report, 811P 
Corrections Title 51, 1098R 
Maternal and Child Health Section 

Block grant application, 812P 
Sanitary Code 

Seafood, 173R 
Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners 

Informal proceeding, 182R 
Consent order, 182R 
Licensure, 182R 

Secretary, Office of the 
Capital Area Human Services District, 631N, 1092R 

Community Supports and Services, Bureau of 
Home/Community Based Waiver Program 

Children's choice, 38R 
Crisis designation, 220N, 704R  
Elderly/disabled waiver, 1278N 
New opportunities waiver, 838ER 
Standards of participation, 738N 

Mentally Retarded/Developmentally Disabled Waiver 
skilled nursing services, 113ER, 846ER, 1096R 

Targeted case management services, 38R 
Nurse Family Partnership Program, 743N 

 
Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

Abortion Facility Licensure, 221N, 705R, 902R 
Adult Denture Program, 1048ER 
Durable Medical Equipment Program 

Motorized wheelchairs, 664ER, 1280N 
Nebulizers reimbursement reduction, 521ER 
Vagus nerve stimulators, 227N, 280ER, 1049ER 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis/Treatment 
Dental Program reimbursement, 110ER, 852ER, 
 1050ER 
Early intervention/disabilities, 1052ER 
LAC codification, 175R 
Psychological and behavioral services, 39R 
Rehabilitation reimbursement, 112ER 

Medicaid 
Annuities, 6ER, 444N, 523ER 
Application date, 1021N 
Burial fund exclusion, increase of, 780N 
Family practice examination, 1281N 
Incurred deductions, 5ER 
Incurred medical expenses, 73N, 710R 
Insurance cash surrender value, 779N 
Low income pregnant women 

Expansion of coverage, 440N, 521ER, 910R 
Income disregards, 442N, 522ER, 910R 

Medically Needy Program 
Incurred deductions, 5ER, 523ER 

Medicare Part B buy-in, 13ER, 281ER, 853ER 
Pregnant unmarried minors, 443N 
Temporary assistance to needy families 

Elimination of work related sanctions, 1022N 
Unborn child inclusion, 441N, 910R 

Freedom of choice waivers, 908R 
Home health, 112ER, 534ER 
Hospitals 

Payment methodologies, 39R, 847ER 
Final payment, 39R, 435N 
Small rural hospitals, 39R, 435N 

Inpatient Hospitals 
 Private hospitals, 10ER, 111ER, 447N, 528ER,  

  529ER, 854ER, 914R, 1055ER 
 Psychiatric services, 283ER, 529ER, 857ER, 

 1055ER 
 Public hospital reimbursement, 12ER, 533ER 

Licensing standards, 744N 
Out of State hospitals 
 Services reimbursement, 524ER, 525ER,  
  1053ER, 1054ER 
Outpatient hospitals 
 Clinic services, 8ER, 637N, 665ER, 1097R 
 Laboratory services, 526ER, 635N, 1096R 
Private hospitals 

Reimbursement reduction, 855ER, 1055ER, 
1055ER, 1286N 

 Rehabilitation services, 112ER, 526ER,  
 534ER, 636N, 1056ER, 1097R 
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State hospitals, 1056ER 
Laboratory and X-ray 

Prenatal lab panels, 778N 
Mental Health Rehabilitation Services 

HIPAA implementation, 781N 
Mentally Retarded/Developmentally Disabled 

Private intermediate care facilities, 530ER, 858ER 
Skilled nursing services, 445N, 846ER 
Upper payment limit, 113ER, 666ER 

Non-Emergency medical transportation, 1053ER 
Nursing Facilities Services 

Public reimbursement, 12ER, 533ER 
Reimbursement, 7ER, 110ER, 283ER, 531ER 
Sanctions, appeals, 40R 
Ventilator dependent care, 446N, 911R 

Personal Assistant Services 
Employment support, 638N 

Personal Care Services 
Long Term Care, 229N, 911R, 1282N 

Pharmacy Program 
Catheters/catheter trays, 41R 
Prescription limit, 8ER, 111ER, 282ER, 853ER, 
 1285N 

Professional Services Program 
Anesthesia services 

HIPAA implementation, 782N 
Physician services 

Antibiotic injections reimbursement, 11ER,  
 531ER 
Cardiology reimbursement, 9ER, 527ER 
Maternal fetal reimbursement, 9ER, 527ER 
HIPAA implementation, 783N 
Orthopedic reimbursement, 11ER, 532ER 
Reimbursement increase, 532ER 

Rehabilitation Services 
Reimbursement fee increase, 112ER, 534ER,  
 856ER 

Surveillance systems, 583R 
Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Board nominations, 82P 
Continuing education, 737N 
Examination dates, 1406P 

Wholesale Drug Distributors, Board of 
License procedure, 629N 

 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Forms/Documents transmission/Rule 12, 41R 
Records management/Rule 14, 41R 
Regulation 33-Medicare supplement insurance, 1327N 

 
 

LABOR 
Plumbing Board 

Definition of plumbing, 786N 

LEGISLATION 
House of Representatives 

Committee on Administration of Criminal Justice  
Video Draw Poker Code of Conduct of Licensees,  
 251CR 

State Legislature, 2003 Regular Session  
 Senate Concurrent Resolution Number 104C 
 Continuation of license while on active  
  military duty, 1405L 
 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Disposal of exploration and production waste, 914R 
Fees, 350R 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 82P, 254P, 509P, 649P, 812P,  
 1032P, 1406N 
Master meter systems, 255P 
Pipeline safety, 448N, 1106R 
School systems, 255P 
Special class systems, 255P 
Surface mining, 449N, 939R 
Underwater obstructions, 460N 

Secretary, Office of the 
Fisherman's Gear Compensation Fund, 

Loran Coordinates 84P, 651P, 813P, 1032P 
Oyster Lease Acquisition Program 

CWPPRA, 535ER 
 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Correction Services, Office of 

Telephone use, 360R 
Fire Marshal, Office of the State 

NFPA Codes, 183R 
Gaming Control Board 

Age restrictions, 1023N 
Application/License, 362R 
Casino Operator/Manager, 1023N 
Definitions/General provisions, 362R 
Division authority, 362R 
Division room requirements, 362R 
Electronic gaming devices, new, 1023N 
Enforcement actions of the board, 362R, 1023N 
Imposition of sanctions, 362R 
Licensees/Permittees, 1023N 
Minors in gaming area, 1023N 
Surveillance, 362R, 1023N 

Motor Vehicles, Office of 
Driver's license, 604R 
License plates, 605R 

Secretary, Office of the 
Medications to children in detention facilities, 1019N 

State Police, Office of 
Motor carrier, 242N, 711R 
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REVENUE AND TAXATION 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Responsible Vendor Program 
Servers, 462N 
Training, 463N 
Vendors, 464N 

Tobacco permits, 465N 
Unfair business practices, 461N 

Policy Services Division 
Alternative dispute resolution, 363R 
Collection of tax on vehicles, 1392N 
Corporation franchise undivided profits, 787N 
Corporation franchise tax surplus, 787N 
Exemption from tax, various, 806N 
Individual income tax tables, 788N 
Property used in interstate commerce, 188R 
Sales and tax use exemptions, 537ER 
Sales/use tax for-hire carriers, 1393N 
Severance tax payout, 243N, 951R 
Ships/ship supplies, 1395N 
Tangible personal property, 186R 
Tax refund offset, 42R 

Secretary, Office of the 
Penalty waiver, 114ER, 466N, 950R 

Tax Commission 
Ad valorem tax, 367R 
Timber stumpage values, 84P 

 
 

SOCIAL SERVICES 
Community Services, Office of 

Anticipated funds availability notice, 85P 
Child and family services plan report, 256P 
Emergency Shelter Grants Program 2003, 85P 
Refugee resettlement, 24ER, 244N, 666ER, 712R 
Block grant intended use report, 509P 

Family Support, Office of 
Child Care Assistance Program 

Activity hours, 1026N, 1057ER 
Community Supervision Program, 1059ER 
Eligibility, 1026N 
Grant program repair and improvement, 42R 
Incentive bonuses, 26ER, 189R 
Increased activity hours and adjustment of 
 agency payments, 538ER, 1026N, 1057ER 

Food Stamp Program 
Alien eligibility, restoration, 540ER 
Farm bill 2002, 27ER, 75N, 605R 

Refugee Case Assistance Program Repeal, 28ER, 247N,  
 540ER, 714R 
Social Security number proof, 641N, 1106R 
Support enforcement recovery action, 642N, 1107R 
Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) 

Adult education basic skills training, 44R 
Caseload reduction report, 813P 
Early Childhood Supports/Services Program, 44R 

Individual development account, 44R 
Initiatives, 29ER, 190R, 248N, 715R 
Job skills training/retention, 44R 

Women's and Children's Residential and Prevention  
 Treatment Program, 115ER, 373R 

Rehabilitation Services, Office of 
Vocational rehabilitation services, 46R 

Secretary, Office of the 
Child day care/class A, 467N, 1107R 

 
 

STATE 
Secretary of State, Office of the 

Non-statutory fee schedule, 372R 
Archives, Division of 

Records management policies and practices, 482N,  
 951R 

 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Purchasing, Office of 

Purchasing, 607R 
Sabine River Compact Administration 

Meeting notice, 1033P 
Secretary, Office of the 

Cash management plan, 192R 
Tree treatment within right-of-way, 48R 

 
 

TREASURY 
Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System 

Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP) 
Legislative required changes, 77N, 1121R 
Restructure of Title 71, 192R 

 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Fisheries, Office of 

Experimental Fisheries Program 
Permits, 48R 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
Alligator, 1061ER 
Black bass, 373R 
Boating safety, 808N 
Enforcement officers, 1402N 
King mackerel, 30ER 
Oyster harvest area grid system, 1401N 
Oyster lease moratorium, 284ER, 373R 
Red snapper, 31ER, 32ER, 2003 
Resident game hunting, 494N, 1122R 
Shrimp, 541ER, 115ER, 668ER, 1059ER, 1060ER 
Turkey, 285ER, 1397N 
Waterfowl, 1061ER 
Wild nuisance quadrupeds, 51R, 196R 
WMA hunting, 496N, 1124R 
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